Stromer ST1 X Review

Stromer St1 X Electric Bike Review
Stromer St1 X
Stromer St1 X 500 Watt Cyro Drive Ultra Motor
Stromer St1 X Integrated Downtube Battery With Bottle Cage Bosses
Stromer St1 X Integrated Lcd Touch Screen Display
Stromer St1 X Roxim Led Headlight
Stromer St1 X Racktime Rear Rack With Bm Toplight Mini Led
Stromer St1 X 11 Speed Shimano Slx Dyna Sys11
Stromer St1 X Tektro Dorado Hydraulic Disc Brakes 180mm
Stromer St1 X Inside Removable Battery 48 Volt
Stromer St1 X Battery Compartment Energybus Charging Port Cover
Stromer St1 X Electric Bike Review
Stromer St1 X
Stromer St1 X 500 Watt Cyro Drive Ultra Motor
Stromer St1 X Integrated Downtube Battery With Bottle Cage Bosses
Stromer St1 X Integrated Lcd Touch Screen Display
Stromer St1 X Roxim Led Headlight
Stromer St1 X Racktime Rear Rack With Bm Toplight Mini Led
Stromer St1 X 11 Speed Shimano Slx Dyna Sys11
Stromer St1 X Tektro Dorado Hydraulic Disc Brakes 180mm
Stromer St1 X Inside Removable Battery 48 Volt
Stromer St1 X Battery Compartment Energybus Charging Port Cover


  • A more affordable Stromer electric bike that still offers regenerative braking and speed pedelec performance with ~28 mph top speeds, available in high-step and mid-step frames
  • Beautifully integrated touch display and companion mobile app can be used to track the bike if lost or stolen, lighted button pad is easy to reach and use while riding but stays out of the way
  • Three beautiful colors, wonderfully hidden battery pack that can be upgraded to increase range, thru-axles on both wheels provide stiffness and strength, premium fenders and cargo rack
  • Heavier and still more expensive than some competing models, can be jarring at high speed without a suspension seat post upgrade, weaker motor than ST2 models

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers








Body Position:

Forward Aggressive

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Year Battery (Or 1,000 Full Charge Cycles), 2 Year Motor, 3 Year Frame


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

59 lbs (26.76 kg)

Battery Weight:

8.03 lbs (3.64 kg)

Motor Weight:

10.6 lbs (4.8 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)20 in (50.8 cm)22 in (55.88 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Medium 20" Frame: 20" Seat Tube Length, 21.75" Reach, 31.5" Stand Over Height, 70" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step, Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Copper, Matte Charcoal, Gloss White

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Aluminum Alloy, 15 mm Proprietary Axle

Frame Rear Details:

12 mm Proprietary Axle

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

11 Speed 1x11 Shimano SLX with Dyna-Sys11, 11-42T

Shifter Details:

Shimano SLX Triggers on Right


FSA Omega D2 Crank Arms, 175 mm Length, 52T Chainring with Narrow Wide Teeth


Plastic Platform


Threadless Tapered 1-1/8" x 1-1/2" Integrated Cartridge


Aluminum Alloy, 100 mm Length


Flat Tapered, 25"

Brake Details:

Tektro Dorado HD-E715 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Dorado HD-E717 Levers with Motor Inhibitors and Regen Activation


Rubber Ergonomic with Lockers


Ergon SM3, Special Edition

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, Black

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm


Alexrims, Alloy Double Wall, 559" x 23"


Stainless Steel, 13 Gauge, Silver

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Ben, 26" x 2.15"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

30 to 55 PSI, Energizer Compound PunctureGuard, Reflective Branding

Tube Details:

Presta Valve


Tubular Aluminum Alloy Fenders, RackTime EN14872 Rear Rack 17 kg (37.5 lb) Max Weight, Integrated Roxim X4 EP LED Headlight, Integrated B&M Toplight Mini LED Rear Light, Flick Bell, Hebie Sprung Kickstand, Optional SR Suntour Epixon Air Fork with Fender $600


Locking Removable Battery Pack, Enhanced Security Features (Electronic Motor Lock, GPS Location Tracking Within GSM Network), Rosenberger Standard Energy Bus Charging Port with Magnetic Cover, 2 Amp 1.4 lb Battery Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

CYRO Drive (Ultra Motor)

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

750 watts SYNO drive gearless direct drive rear hub motor weighs 11 pounds (5kg) offers 42 Newton meters of torque

Motor Torque:

35 Newton meters

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

12.8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

618 wh (Optional Upgrade 814 Wh, 983 Wh)

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

5 hours hours for a full charge from empty

Estimated Min Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Estimated Max Range:

75 miles (121 km)

Display Type:

Integrated, Backlit, Touch Screen LCD on Top Tube


Touch Screen on Bike: Speed, Battery Voltage, Assist Level (1-3), Odometer, Trip Time, Mobile App for iOS and Android: Battery Percentage, Trip Distance, Average Trip Speed, GPS Map, Motor Tuning (Speed, Torque, Agility)

Display Accessories:

Independent Backlit Button Pad on Right, Rubberized Power Button Below Top Tube, Omni Cloud Mobile App (View and Enter Service Records, Update Firmware, System Status, Location Tracking, Motor Block, Lock and Unlock, Performance Tuning)

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (TMM4 Torque Sensor with Accelerometer and Gyroscopic Incline Sensor)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph) Speed Pedelec

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Stromer ST1 X is really a stripped down ST2… it’s built around the same frame, a very similar motor and uses the exact same battery, albeit lower capacity. For a price, you can upgrade the capacity to match either the ST2 or ST2 S which might be useful for distance commuters or people who want to ride with full power at top speed frequently. Stromer estimates up to 80 miles per charge but that’s for a 170 lb rider on a smooth street using the first level of assist. In practice, I rarely ever use the lowest assist level with this bike because it’s heavier and less peppy than competing bikes. Relying on a TMM4 torque sensor and a gyroscopic accelerometer, the bike is responsive but performs best with slow powerful pedal strokes. For me, as someone who likes to spin, this took some getting used to and there’s a wall at the higher speeds where you have to exert yourself and then BAM it really kicks in. It’s an active electric bike, a speed pedalec capable of 28 mph top speeds and one of the more stealthy and cool looking designs out there. I frequently hear the phrase “Stromer killer” when other companies share their street bikes with me and yes… they have larger tires, integrated batteries, fenders and a rack usually. Sometimes they even have integrated lights! But I haven’t really found a worthy opponent for this niche yet. The other bikes usually cost less but their fenders aren’t as nice, the frames and forks don’t blend perfectly and the drive systems aren’t as silent or sophisticated. This is an electric bike with regenerative braking, wireless GSM software updates, app-based locking and GPS theft recovery. It’s a street bike with thru-axles on both wheels and 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes and it comes in three sizes with a 17″ mid-step for people with shorter inseams. Finally, it comes in three beautiful colors and offers an impressive two year warranty. To compete with the imitators of the ST1 and newer ST2 products, Stromer has introduced this new X model at a much lower (though still relatively high) price point.

Driving the ST1X is a brand new hub motor called the Cyro Drive. It looks about the same as the older Syno Drive used on the ST2 and ST2 S but is rated for lower torque at 35 Nm vs. 40 Nm. I rode the ST1X back to back with the ST2S and they felt similar. Both were silent and offered regen… but I didn’t have an opportunity to weigh the motors side by side or really get that up-close look I’d need to make further claims. From a marketing perspective, I imagine the motors are the same but one has been nerfed a bit to create levels and justify a higher price point with the ST2. Whatever the case (and I welcome your feedback and data) this is a gearless direct drive motor from Ultra Motor that’s larger, heavier and tougher than a 500 watt gearless equivalent. And if you’re riding unassisted, it’s going to create some drag due to cogging. That’s the downside to having regenerative braking but it’s not really a deal killer. These days, many companies are switching to mid-drives (including Specialized with their upcoming Vado street model). There’s something to be said for the integrated look, improved balance and separation from wheels as well as the efficiency gained from leveraging the cassette to optimize motor performance… but the trade off is that those systems wear the chain, sprockets and derailleur much quicker. With the Stromer bikes, motor power is independent from shifting and you’re not going to mash gears as much. My friend Chris Nolte from Propel Bikes in NY described the sensation of the Stromer bikes as more of a boost or push from behind than what the mid-drives offer. I found that it cut out less responsively when I eased off pedaling, likely to reduce the feeling of surge with each pedal stroke, so overall it feels fluid but when you really put your legs into it, the bike responds quickly and that’s very satisfying.

Powering the ST1 X is a 48 volt, 12.8 amp hour battery pack that slides into the downtube from the left side. It has an EnergyBus charging port at the base which is replicated on the outside top left area of the downtube so you can charge the pack on or off the bike easily using the exact same 2 Amp charger. Now be careful with the little black cover on the outside EnergyBus port because I frequently see this missing on demo bikes. Some ebikes now offer 3, 4 and even 5 Amp chargers which would fill faster but I wasn’t able to confirm the exact time required here given the lower 2 Amp rating. What I do know is that you can upgrade the pack from stock 618 Watt hours to 814 Wh or 983 Wh if you’re willing to pay. This is one way to approximate the ST2 and ST2 S which cost $7k and $10k and have that torquier motor. I like that their battery packs don’t latch onto the side door the way the older ST1 models did; this always had me worried that it would bend the door because the batteries weigh a lot (about 8 lbs in this case). Still, as clean and well-sealed as the neat side-door concept appears I found that the locking core on the right side was a little tight and the door popped out abruptly when unlocked (as shown in the video review above). It’s an area to take extra care with so you don’t drop a pack or tip the bike when struggling with the lock… use two hands!

Operating the Stromer ST1X feels clever because the power button is hidden under the top tube. This may deter thieves and confuse interested bystanders who become curious at the bike rack. Once pressed, the integrated LCD display panel comes to life showing your speed, assist level (1-3) and your battery capacity in a percentage based info-graphic. I LOVE that they show percentage here because it can be frustrating to only have five or ten bars that disappear in chunks. Duplicating some of these stats and adding a tuning mode is the smart phone app which runs on Android and iOS. With this app, you can edit and customize assist level 2 to perform however you want… zippier at start or optimized for efficiency etc. I love the visuals they chose which actually demonstrate how more power and zip will limit range. Any time you’re accelerating quicker off the line and riding above 20 mph you’re significantly tapping the battery but given the slightly lower torque rating of the ST1 X I’m guessing that it will get better range than the ST2 models with equivalent battery size. The other cool feature of the app is an ability to lock your bike, get feedback on tampering and report it stolen. The locking feature can also be activated using the touch display on the bike but you’ll need your phone to track and unlock later. What it does is use regenerative braking to immobilize the rear wheel then flash the lights if someone begins moving it. One downside to these theft deterrents is that they cease to work as the battery becomes depleted. Coming back to how the display relates to the bike, I want to call out that it’s beautiful looking but not removable… This poses a trade off in terms of durability. When parking, I think I’d consider tying a bandana around the top tube to cover the display quite honestly but then you don’t want it holding in water and messing up the screen if it rains either. Because of how low the touch screen is mounted you have to spend more time looking way down vs. just a bit down to the handle bars like many other ebikes. Sure, you could mount your phone to the bars and use it as your display but that will sap your phone’s battery and unlike the ST2 and ST2 S models, the X doesn’t have a USB charging port in the head tube which could keep it charged. Most of the time I use the control pad button ring which is mounted flush with the right grip and brake lever. It’s easy to reach, backlit, has a clicking response and also activates the lights. In this way, I don’t have to take my hands off the bars or look down in order to control how the bike responds.

While you don’t get the fancier lights, highest-end drivetrain or electronic shifting with the ST1X you do get the heart of the ST2 frame and battery systems. And as cool as the LED headlight thing is on the ST2, I actually know some people who dislike how it looks and use electrical tape to hide it and blend in more. The ST1 X weighs nearly 60 lbs which is on the higher end, even with the weaker motor, but it still gets you up to that ~27 mph top speeds (it was windy so I wasn’t consistently hitting 28 in the video). At $5k this is not an affordable electric bike but to me it’s obvious that it’s still better than the cheaper knockoffs and worth paying for. Stromer does one type of bike and they do it very well… If you want more comfort, they sell a customized SR Suntour Epixon suspension fork with matching fender and you can always add a suspension seat post (I’m told by some of the shops I visit that most people get one of these accessories when buying the ST1 and ST2 models). Whether you’re short, tall, like classic professional colors (black and white) or want something more sporty looking… they have you covered. It’s worth noting that the tires on the ST1X don’t have reflective sidewall stripes like the ST2 and this might be an argument for the white frame so cars see you easier from the sides. Also, the rear light does not go extra-bright when the brake levers are activated and the fork is Aluminum vs. Carbon fiber which feels stiffer and weighs more. On the surface, this bike is an ST2 but after careful study, the differences make their way out. If you’re buying a bike like this to replace your car (or if you never had a car) it’s wonderful to have shop support and a company that has been selling ebikes in the US longer than many of the other major brands. If you know it’s going to get banged up at the rack and you don’t need the extra torque or fancy lights and USB then this cheaper model could be the way to go. In any case I’d use good locks and consider bicycle insurance. Stromer is a European company but one that has invested heavily in the US and their products seem to hold up well over time. The ST1 X is set to go on sale in the United States in March 2017. Big thanks to Stromer for partnering with me for this review.


  • Solid, durable frame with internally routed cables and a beautifully integrated (and hidden) battery… it’s a stealthy electric bike, especially if you go for black
  • Available in three frame sizes and two frame styles so you get a comfortable fit, I especially like the mid-step frame for people with shorter legs
  • The tubular fenders are very sturdy and well supported on the sides by struts, they don’t rattle even at higher speeds and hug the tires close which keeps them out of the way
  • While the rack doesn’t support as much weight as some others, it’s slim and aerodynamic so it stays out of the way when not in use, I like that it supports the rear fender and has an integrated light
  • Even though the ST1 X doesn’t have the fancy LED running light or USB port at the front and the headlight is a plastic Roxim brand vs. the superior Aluminum Supernova… it still works well and runs off the main battery (just like the backlight) which is great
  • Both wheels attach with thru-axles for improved strength and stiffness in handling, that’s a nice upgrade considering the weight of the frame and higher top speeds
  • Decent Tektro hydraulic disc brakes with large 180 mm rotors front and rear, I like that both brake levers have motor inhibitors that activate regenerative braking
  • Integrated wireless technology lets the bike receive software updates on the fly so you don’t have to go into a bike shop and wait or pay extra to get the latest versions
  • Uses a TMM4 torque sensor in combination with a gyroscopic accelerometer to provide fluid acceleration, it’s more consistent than just a TMM4 as I’ve tested with some other models
  • The ST2 battery design is used here and seems to slide into the downtube easier (relying on the frame for support vs. the door), the shell of the battery pack is made with colored Aluminum which looks cool and you can charge it on or off the bike using the same EnergyBus magnetic plug… Older ST1 models relied on a dongle adapter which was easier to lose and more prone to bending pins or tipping the bike over if tripped on vs. the magnetic one here that just pops out
  • If you want to go further, Stromer offers two upgraded battery pack options for 814 Watt hours or 983 Watt hours… the ST2 and ST2 S feature these packs standard but cost a lot more
  • Stromer is an established brand dating back to 2009 with global distribution, the ST2 models (which the ST1 X is largely based on) received a Eurobike Gold award, Red Dot Quality Seal award, two Testsieger awards, an Outside magazine award, a Taipei Cycle show award and an iF design award
  • Every battery that is shipped with a Stromer electric bike, including the ST2, is charged with solar power (which also powers the myStromer AG headquarters in Oberwangen, near Bern / Switzerland)
  • I love that the bike has a kickstand and that it’s not the auto-sprung design that many speed pedelecs have! This one stays up or down as you set it and isn’t as prone to letting the bike tip if bumped
  • The chainring sprocket uses a narrow to wide tooth configuration that creates a tighter fit with the chain, reducing slippage and drops… I like that the downtube is tapered in near the bottom bracket to allow the chainring to be closer and that there’s a sturdy bash guard on the outside of the ring to protect your pants when pedaling


  • Most of the Stromer electric bikes I’ve tested feel stiff and jarring because they don’t come stock with suspension, that’s especially true with the ST1 X because the fork is Aluminum vs. Carbon fiber… but at least it’s tough and they offer a replacement SR Suntour suspension fork if you want, consider adding a 31.6 mm seatpost suspension from BodyFloat
  • The flip side of regenerative braking is cogging drag that affects the bike whenever you’re costing unpowered, Gearless hub motors are quiet but don’t always freewheel
  • As fancy as the touch screen display is, you can’t remove it when parking which may result in wear or damage, it’s also located lower on the frame so you have to look down more than handlebar displays which could be distracting for some… you can use your phone as a display and mount it on the handlebars but without the USB charging port on the ST1 X vs. the ST2 you might wear your battery down if you leave it on for long rides
  • In some ways I like the torque sensor but it definitely requires more effort than cadence sensors and some multi-sensors, it seems to favor slower pedaling with more force and I prefer to spin fast so it’s a mixed feeling for me
  • There’s a little plastic shield covering the charging port on the left side of the downtube and it’s easy to break off… then your charging port will get dirty :/
  • Rather than using the same Syno drive motor that the ST2 models have, Stromer has opted for a slightly lower torque Cyro drive, it’s still large and heavy but just not quite as zippy
  • Some of the cables stick out going from the handle bar to the top of the downtube… they are internally routed which is great but the wide bend sort of bumped into my knee when pedaling standing up at times, perhaps they could route them differently?
  • It’s great that the bike has a rack and bottle cage bosses on the downtube but I really feel like they could have added a second pair on the seat tube for the high-step diamond frame and that would have been useful
  • While the kickstand is nice to have, I wish it was rear-mounted instead of placed near the bottom bracket because it’s easier to collide with the crank arms there
  • They key fits well into the lock but I found it tight to unlock, maybe that’s just because this was a brand new bike but it took both Chris and I extra time and effort to lock and unlock


More Stromer Reviews

Stromer ST1 Limited Edition Review

  • MSRP: $3,990
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A limited run (only 399 produced) speed pedelec with premium integrated lights from Supernova and Toplight, Aluminum fenders, rear carry rack from Racktime and Magura hydraulic disc brakes. High end Shimano Deore XT drive train with nine sprockets geared for 28+ mph riding…...

Stromer ST2 S Review

  • MSRP: $9,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

An urban racer with smooth electronic shifting, app-driven performance tuning, ultra-bright dynamic lighting that responds to braking, five levels of power regen and regenerative braking. Available in three high-step frame sizes for improved fit, impressive weight distribution for a hub-powered…...

Stromer ST1 S Review

  • MSRP: $4,790
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high speed urban electric bike emphasizing sport riding (flatter handle bar, no rack) available in two frame sizes, one high-step style and one color (metallic lime green). Carbon fiber fork reduces weight and dampens vibration, oversized road tires cushion the ride and…...

Stromer ST1 T Review

  • MSRP: $4,790
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A solid, high speed city ebike with purpose built Aluminum frame, custom fenders and minimalist rack, premium integrated lights and hidden downtube battery. Available in two frame sizes and with an optional suspension fork for $350 more, the…...

Stromer ST2 Review

  • MSRP: $6,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016, 2017

Extremely polished, high performance urban style electric bike available in two frame sizes and configurations. One of the most responsive and satisfying electric bikes I've tested, speed pedelec can reach…...

Stromer ST1 Platinum Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

High quality components, beautiful clean aesthetic, pedal assist only. Powerful 500 watt gearless rear hub motor with regenerative braking...

Stromer ST1 Elite Review

  • MSRP: $3,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

High performance components, beautiful aesthetic, pedal assist only. Strong 500 watt gearless hub motor with regenerative braking...

Stromer Sport Review

  • MSRP: $3,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2012, 2013

Beautiful design integrates the battery, controller and wires while evenly distributing weight from front to rear. Powerful, near-silent, 500 watt gearless rear hub motor can reach 25 mph in pedal assist…...

Roger Aasen
1 year ago

Hi Court, You do a really great job on your bike reviews, we enjoy watching them. My wife and I each have a Stromer ST2 and we just watched your video review of the ST1 X. It was very well done. Some comments: we find that the noise from the motor is very small, it’s hard to hear in fact. During your test ride there were a lot of clicking noises, which I think occurred when you were shifting and going through the gears. The battery you showed when the ST1 X was opened is the one (814 Wh) that comes standard on the ST2. The emphasis in your report (and Stromer does this too) is that the bikes are great for commuting and riding in the city. I wish that reviews of the Stromer bikes would also state that they are really great for longer rides and for recreational riding too. It’s not that hard for us to get 50 to 60 miles of range when using assist levels 2 and 3 as much as we need to. When I use assist level 1 more, pedal more and shift into the lower gears more (and as a result go slower), the range is even better. We also enjoyed your video about car camping in your Prius. Very well done! Thanks and keep up the good work!

1 year ago

Hey Roger! I especially enjoy hearing from owners such as yourself… It’s great to get some real-world perspective and insights that get lost or glossed over in “reviews”. You know, I do my best to cover things on the fly with a bit of riding and talking to reps and shops but it’s not the same as owning it. Thank you so much, keep enjoying your bikes :D


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

21 hours ago

It depends what kind of a bike you have. With respect to batteries, we have several companies over here in the EU that refurb these. It’s usually expensive (same price as new battery), except for the Stromer refurbs that are a “bargain” (up to 40% less than the price of an original ST2 battery).

There is also a battery aftermarket for certain bikes. Finding a battery for a Bosch classic is not a problem. There’s a 3rd party battery for the Yamaha PW system as well, which is quite cheap. Availability of parts is actually why it’s a good idea to stay away from stuff that’s too proprietary. Finding a 26V Panasonic battery is not a problem. It’s not cheap but it’s available. And then there are the bikes which use pretty standard stuff out of the box. Even in 6 years time, you’ll be able to find a battery for a CC...

It’s a choice you have to make at purchase time. I’m fairly confident that Yamaha parts will be available a long time. It’s one of the reasons I bought into that system.

As for your Pedego, you might be surprised what it’s possible to do in 5 years. A rear drive is always almost replaceable. And even solutions to replace old mid-drives exist. A fellow on the German Pedelec forum made custom mounting brackets for an old Panasonic drive so that he could fit a BBS01 (edit) onto it...

Original thread:

(skip to post 20 for a picture of the Baflyer = Bafung + Flyer)

1 day ago

Here is my dilemma my LBS has no major hills nearby that would be similar to my daily commute. I like the Stromer ST1 Elite how does this compare to the more powerful motor of the Radcity hill climbing? If I go the mid-drive route I would most likely look for an internal hub or Nuvinci system bike both of which I have not ridden as of yet. Am I asking too much? Please do tell.


Chris Hammond
2 days ago

If you choose to recharge at the office, you could very easily use the recommended 20-80% charge cycle that will dramatically extend battery life. Basically if you don't charge the battery to more than 80% of capacity or discharge it lower than 20%, you will likely see usable battery life increase by 200 to 400%.
Buying a bike with the largest capacity you can reasonably afford will make this easier to accomplish.
It seems you are primarily interested in higher end bikes that are mid-drives. I would suggest you also look at a few hub drive bikes. Hub drives are likely going to be lower maintenance machines overall just by design. Mid-drives increase wear on all drivetrain components. A good choice to look at in the high end hub drive market is Stromer. For the prices you are likely considering, you can also get a larger battery with the Stromer, exception being the R&M.

Frank D
2 days ago

l have not trouble to believe what you say about the flooded downtube. l just went in a bike store to see how the Strömer's where built and that's one thing l've noticed on the ST1x: the door would not fit perfectly the downtube and the gap was really visible. Water would no doubt infiltrate that space. Doors on the ST1 where better for what l saw. it's a weak point for Stromer ST1 x's....

For the your brake issue, for me it's not a problem. My bike is equiped with Magura hydrolic brake and they work good in all conditions.

2 days ago

The downtube can get flooded in torrential rain, and it may damage the controller. Common problem with the ST1X and ST2...

I ride my Yamaha powered bike in the rain but stay away from heavy downpours. Nevertheless there’s sometimes lots of water on the ground and the brake calipers get flooded which makes it difficult to brake. That’s more of a problem than anything else. Oddly no one ever mentions it.

Frank D
2 days ago

l do have a Bosch ebike. Someone told me that the o ring in the bottom bracket is weak. And not only the center drive motor does get sprayed, but the battery connection to. That's why l thought about a Strömer because the system is more integrated to the frame...

Nova Haibike
2 days ago

When you're riding through the wet and muck, unless you have good long mudguards fitted to the bike, the bottom bracket area get hit with a fair amount of water. A hub is much more protected from the elements, as spray is directed away from it.

Frank D
3 days ago

What system would you recommend for winter riding in Canada/Montreal ? Bosch or Strömer ?

Frank D
3 days ago

Thanks for that info.
In your opinion, what would be the best ebike system against winter elements (cold, rain, snow but specially potential problems caused by salt) between the Bosch and the Strömer system ?

3 days ago

One of our former salesmen who has two young children and runs a daycare went car free about 4 years ago. I do not see him very frequently any more but last time I saw him he said it was working very well for him. Both him and his wife own Stromer ST2 they use Burley and custom made trailers. The also have a Spicy curry. He said he would never go back to owning a car. Madison is a very bike friendly city with an extensive trail system, much easier to get around with a bike. The weather is not so bike friendly but I know a lot of year round riders even with children. I see him riding around and he sure looks happy with his decision.

4 days ago

Stromer ST1 or Haibike Urban Plus can be had for the same price as a CCS, but would require a battery recharge at work (packs won't be as large as the CCS).

4 days ago

The Swedish Bike Show in Stockholm this weekend wasnt much to write home about.

It was the big swedish retailers showing off their bikes and only some ebikes from standard brands like Scott, Merida, ecoRide, Wallerang, Crescent, Monark etc.

No smaller retailer with any for me more exciting and interesting brands where there like Bulls, R&M, Haibike, Stromer, Cube or Moustache.

I will go to Elovelo (ebike store in Stockholm) this week and test ride and compare R&M and Moustache.

The search continues!

7 months ago

Here is a picture of the horn button on the handlebars (taken from

Also, Stromer said this about the new OMNI interface (on their FB page):

The E-Bikes model year 2018 all come with the new OMNI interface. For ST1 X and ST2 (model year older than 2018) it is planned that these can be retrofitted.

When asked what the differences were, they said:

More computing power, higher storage capacity, a color display and 3G. Furthermore, the Bluetooth interface, allows for seamless locking and unlocking.

S.A.L. 15
10 months ago

Second Update: I finally got to commuting on my ST1x. My commute is a series of undulating hills. Almost immediately, I had a problem with really bad pulsing when going up hills with power cutting out. It was pretty clear (to me) that it was probably a torque sensor issue because it appeared to be directly related to my cycling cadence - and as I hit a hill and my cadence falls off a cliff, the power would cut out. If I increased my cadence, the power came back - but since I was going up hill and unfit from an extended period of not cycling (as a result of an accident) I couldn't sustain the cadence... hence pulsing...

From another forum here on the ST2, it seemed it was either a torque sensor issue, a brake sensor issue or a software issue... I pursued the software option first - there are 3 things you can control in the app - speed, torque and agility. The first 2 are obvious but who knew what agility is???? Still don't quite know what it is, but seems to be about how sensitive your torque sensor is to your cadence. One person worked out that if you crank the agility setting to the far right, it seemed less sensitive... So I did that and voila! Pulsing issue resolved! Now I don't have a pulsing issue. I can go up MOST hills (read on...)

Further to a post above, the issue (I had) on the St1 where you stop on an incline (or flat) and the bike seems to be in regen mode when you try to cycle off unless you quickly change gears (not modes) OR (as I used to do) roll the bike back when you have come to a complete stop to disengage the torque sensor (you feel it disengage when you roll back) does not seem to be an issue on the ST1x - or at least, all the places my old ST1 would do that regen thing from a stop have not been reproduced on the ST1 x. So I am glad that is gone!

But... I do now have an issue on SOME inclines where the power just dies... Doesn't matter which mode I am in, I am getting next to no assist. I have even stopped and turned the bike on and off to see if I can reset it, but now... the bike wants to really make me work and I crawl up the hill, steadily slowing down, seemingly on a an exponential curve ever slower the more effort I put in... Sigh.

Right now. I am missing my first ever Stromer, the model I had before the St1 and the St1x... (purchased in 2010). It worked right out of the shop, it went fast, it gave me sustained power no matter what, there were no torque sensor issues causing unexpected regen modes at stops or power losses going up hills. Sure, the ride was rougher and I had terrible troubles getting the bike serviced back then as no bike shop seemed to know how to work their way around the electronics (which were never an issue, but damn did they always seem to tinker with it and mess it up!), but at this point, I'm beginning to think it was more reliable! Why did I get talked into upgrading???!!!

If I get this hill issue resolved, I am sure the St1x will be an AWESOME bike to ride...The 'turbo' kick you get when you need to overtake a slower cyclist is just amazing and when the power assist is working, it is so effortless and smooth - in that regard, when all is working, this bike is a dream - seriously wonderful. But the whole point of purchasing an e-bike is to get me up hills, so its very annoying when I am not able to reliably get up a hill without nearly having a heart attack. If I work out the solution to this problem, I'll be back to post it for anyone else who ends up having the same issue...

10 months ago

Thank you all for your input. I just ordered a Stromer ST1 X in 22". It will come with the ST2 "gold" 814wh battery and a BodyFloat. It is above my original budget but I feel really good about the price I landed at and all the boxes I checked on my list. Once I have a few hundred miles under my wheels I will post a review if people are interested.

Matt A
11 months ago

If you are considering spending that much for the ST1 X, you may want to try and get a Riese & Muller Charger demo bike from a dealer, if your patient you can probably get it for the same price as the ST1 X, with dual batteries. I have the delite, and weigh almost as much as you, and I get 55 miles in pure Turbo. 150ish in Eco. My girlfriend has the Charger with 2 batteries as well, she gets 88 miles in Turbo and 240 in Eco.... shes only 110 or so, which clearly makes a huge difference. I use panniers, one loaded with tools, and also carry around heavy locks, anywhere from 7-13 pounds depending which I am using that day, 15-25 pounds if I take more than one. I also run the Supernova M99 Pro and the Nyon display, which definitely uses significant power.

I have the NuVinci drivetrain, which I think is likely much more difficult to ride without assist than the regular Touring version. I have ridden it home before without assistance over a bridge with a steep incline, didn't have an issue. One reason I mention this bike to you is because you do not want to replace your batteries for 5 years. If you are going to actually use your bike and not leave it in the garage, you may still have a working battery in 5 years, but you will be under 50% capacity left, so no 50 mile rides. With the Bosch system, your batteries will last much longer because of the characteristics of all lithium ion batteries. Using 2 separate 500 Wh batteries will last longer than 1 battery with 1000 Wh, much much longer from my research. The way the motor switches back and forth using 5% at a time, and charging it the same way, will have a substantial impact on lengthening the life of your batteries.

Also I forgot to mention that we both have the 28mph version, and when I ride I stay at 25-27mph, with plenty of inclines, and some pretty strong winds coming off the river sometimes. Another key thing to remember, is that no matter what type of range you get on your new bike, it will only keep losing more and more capacity until you have to give up and buy a new battery anyway, if you read up on some stuff from battery university, you will see that the Bosch battery system will save you more money in the long run, as well as the fact that you'll be getting a much nicer bike, at least in my opinion. The Stromer is just very clean and doesn't look very electric, which is important to some people. I hope you find the bike that's perfect for you!

11 months ago

Thank you all so much! I don't have an intention to do a 50 mile ride full out at 28 mph, I just want to be able to ride without losing all power. I will check out all the suggestions people gave. But currently I am considering a Stromer ST1 Platinum (in price range) or a ST1 X (over price range). Looks like they ride nearly identical (top speed, motor response/power, etc) with the differences being the technology and range/batter size. The Platinum looks like a pretty good deal and thinking about going that route, but the X has me wondering if it would make me happier. About a $1500 difference so it is significant.

11 months ago

I drove out to a dealer that carries Stromer and rode a ST1 S. I did not like that it cut-off power at 20mph, so a 28 is a must. The dealer said there is a hack to take off the limiter and also turn the power button into a throttle so that sounded interesting.

Are there any opinions on the ST1 Platinum v. ST1 S v. ST1 T v. ST1 X? Obviously some cost differences and enhancements/features but is there a sweet spot in this group?

1 year ago

Hey @leks, if you're looking for a deal I'd recommend Craigslist or local shops that carry last-year models (since we're at the end of 2016). Stromer appears to be carrying many of their ST2 models forward and is introducing the new ST1 X so they might be pushing the other ST1's out. I've had an ST1 Limited for a while as a demo and really enjoyed it, felt zippy, solid and looked great. One thing to note is that Stromer is a manufacturer that does not allow dealers to sell online. It can be bad for a shops reputation if they do and Stromer can even drop them. The best thing to do is look for the nearest shop and go from there. As @nn M. Said, there's a lot of value in buying from a dealer when it comes time for support and it's something I support here on EBR with the local map tool etc.

1 year ago

Thanks guys. I've ridden Pedego Interceptor, City Comm, and Ridge Runner. Also an iZip, Townie, and another Bosch mid drive (forgot name). So far no speed Pedelecs but I have noticed my desire to exceed 20 mph already. Probably coming from my younger years with motorcycles.

Since The first bike I tested was the Pedego with 500 watt rear hub with cadence sensor, everything else is comparing to that 'wonder' moment. The torque sensors are indeed a very different feel. I'm just not getting the oomph that I'd like unless I'm really cranking. Perhaps more time in the saddle would convince me. To be fair the Ridge Runner was my first with air shock forks and it had under inflated tires. It was a lot of work to ride it. Maybe setting it up better would help to feel torque sensor differences.

Regardless I've been reading that speed motors are preferentially wound for speed at the expense of torque. I think I'd like the 28 mph for routine riding on back roads. But if I finish every ride with a groan to get up the final hill, that's when I'd be annoyed. So perhaps I'm specifying a minimum 48V and 14. 0 Ah battery to ride fast with some juice left for the finish.

So @xpaulx i think you get my point well. Machines are differentiated best at the extremes. It's hard to guesstimate a bike's performance when we weigh 1.5 to 2x that of Court. To your point I was considering a DIY with the Bafang 1000W mid-drive. It has convincing specs but I'd rather look for purpose built.

On other Threads there are many references to big guys and broken spokes (rear only) and flats (again rear only). So there is evidence of load on rear hub motors being a factor for heavier riders. Pedego offers mag wheels which would eliminate these problems.

Hey @unchmeister , pardon my crass inquiry but are you over 200 lbs? How's the ST1 holding up? Can you comment on its torque performance for you?

And @imax , did you consider the ST1 X?

Thanks guys.

2 years ago

have 1 of each (wife) st2 power wins , comfort of st1, more "fun" st1, always goes back to 1st point aside but just save more for ST2...have an eye on st1 x 48 volt!

2 years ago

Do you know if the battery pack is compatible with the one on the ST2?

2 years ago

The ST1 x ("crossing") shall be the new entry model of the Stromer.

In Jesus name Knives
3 weeks ago

So what bike is it? The big question which bike is for you, The stromer st1x? or the specialized turbo Vado! If you had to choose, which bike is it for you and why?

john white
2 months ago

Hi, I heard that the new Stromer ST2 for 2018 is using tektro trp brakes instead of Magura. I am just wondering what your thoughts are on those brakes? Are they as good as the Magura? Thanks!

3 months ago

Good thing with the crank arm hitting the kickstand is when you got to ride the bike the crank arm will knock up the kick stand if you forgot to do it yourself, i like that feature and many bikes have it

Honky Tonk
4 months ago

I like rear hub motor better than center drive motor.

Charles Bradley
4 months ago

The Italians sure make a better looking unit !

7 months ago

Funny to see how the perspective is different between the US and the Netherlands. You say "they are kinda made for the urban environment", while I have bought my Stromer ST1 (blue limited edition) for intercity travel :D Within Dutch cities the benefits of such a fast bike compared to a regular bike are almost negligible due to all the traffic lights and bicycle traffic during peak hours. So I have a normal bike for travel within my city.

Manuel Gschwend
7 months ago

German engineering haha, its a swiss bike!! Not quite the same country ;)

11 months ago

Is it possible to input codes into the new ST1's computer? I have the original ST1 Platinum and there's a code to allow throttle up to 21mph over the standard 10mph boost mode.

Alex Slaets
11 months ago

Thank you for this review. I really love your sense of detail, and in fact I am having some humoristic images om German speaking Swiss engineers in white coats viewing your review on a big screen in a meeting room and frantically making notes with pencils on notepads :-)

In Jesus name Knives
11 months ago

Hey, any ideas where I might purchase one of these on payments? I wana purchase the high end model on monthly payments, I checked where I live and there is no dealer in Montana. Thankyou! Have fun on the journey!

11 months ago

What a great review! The only thing I would have appreciated is probably more comparison to the original ST1 rather than the ST2 because I can't afford the top of the line bike - but I know what it's like to ride an ST1  as I own one- so why do I want to upgrade to the ST1x??!

Jinny Braunschweig
12 months ago

Anyone notice the squealing brakes on the ST1X at 25:34? I have had a ST1S for a year. Since day one the brakes have squealed. 9 visits to the workshop and no success. They changed the pads for another make. They renewed the brake mechanisms completely. Then the Axle system broke and the pedals turned around uselessly. The worst was the back wheel suddenly started going around on its own without any pedalling at full speed of 30mph dragging me to the traffic on our main road here in Connecticut. Nearly killed myself trying to hoist this 60 pound bike up above the ground. I would never ever buy another Stromer... Terrible bikes fraught with problems known by the factory but hidden from the buyer....

11 months ago

Strange, I've never had this problem. It might be only with the ST1X and S series then since I have the original ST1.

1 year ago

The ST2 is one amazing electric bike, however. Due to urban enviroments such as Chicago, New York LA, etc these bikes are made for the urban enviroment in Europe which have better streets that better maintained than the U.S. Stromer needs to add suspension on these electric bike, to make the rides a bit more comfortable for riders. I purchased my ST2 new for $4700! No taxes, etc. Locally, they wanted $6,999.99 so $2,200 cheaper, give or take... Still expensive but worth it, now I have to invest on a front suspension from Fox and I'll be set. I also have the bodyfloat seat suspension post. Which works very good too...

4 months ago

I tried to pm you however it did not work, would you be able to share your experience?

Rob Gagliardi
7 months ago

chgofirefighter what was your experience with crazy lennys?

Paul Martin
7 months ago

Any chance of getting more info from you about your purchase? I was looking at the Trek Super Commuter+ 8S through Village Cycle Center ( ) but I'm questioning whether I should give Trek another shot with e-bikes because my previous (Trek FX+) was such a dud. Did you try Kozy Cyclery? I have a few co-workers that now work at CFD and a few CFD guys that left to come out to the suburbs. I'm interested to find out how you like your ST2 after 5 months of use . . .

9 months ago

Crazy lennies ebikes, however. Due to a negative experience with them I wouldn't recommend them. If you wish to know more, PM me and I will gladly share.

Rob Gagliardi
9 months ago

What dealer is selling the ST2 for $4700?

Peter Epstein
1 year ago

I suspect the reason they didn't include water bottle braze-ons is that they would block the seat post, reducing the range of seat heights available with the stock seatpost. In the old days bikes had horizontal top tubes, so the seat tube was longer, so there was less torque transmitted to the frame, and more room for the water bottle braze-ons.

steven medefindt
1 year ago

1:00. He's said $49.99😂

1 month ago

steven medefindt umm. No. U must be foreign.

Ninj N
1 year ago

What gloves do you wear in this video?

Ralph Liniado
1 year ago

I have the ST2. Love it. Chris's comments about how it rides are spot on. I had a hard time justifying it as I bought it sight unseen with suggestions from Ravi who set a world record on the bike. It feels rock solid. Dropped the air in the tires as Ravi suggested and suggested here as well and it rides smooth as glass. Everyone that has one will agree that suspension for most roads is not necessary but the body float is a must and trivial addition at this price level. Battery lasts forever. The big selling points have to be build quality, tech, and the longest lasting batteries. They go forever and are very efficient. Compliments on this bike are endless. It speaks quality from everyone that sees it as it is a big step above. Super cool when you are watching the screen and the bike is automatically updated by Stromer from the cloud. Thanks Chris and Court. Good overview. What kind of helmet is Chris wearing.

5 months ago

What distance do you get on the battery with using maximum assist ?

5 months ago

Also, can the battery be upgraded to a 983W on the ST1x ?

5 months ago

I'm almost sold on the ST1x, I may be visiting Chris in a month or so. I do want to upgrade for the seat shock and fork shock, wondering if these are Stromer only parts? I would like to upgrade the grips as well. I love the anti-theft software. I also need to determine if the rack can handle a double bag.

Propel Electric Bikes
1 year ago

Thanks Ralph! That helmet is actually the Giro Sutton -Chris
1 year ago

That may be the Bern helmet with integrated brim? Chris has some great accessories at his shop. Thanks for sharing your experience with the ST2 Ralph! Glad you're enjoying it :)

1 year ago

no suspension my back, teeth and hands would be seriously aching on British roads they are as rough as a bears arse 😀

Mike B
1 year ago

AIR the tires DOWN!! Makes a huge difference and the small drag it creates is irrelevant with E assist!
1 year ago

Thanks for the tip Mike :) I tend to favor comfort, especially on ebikes and riding at higher speeds...

Martian Megafauna
1 year ago

Good Review as always, EBR.

I have a general question, relevant to this ebike, but also to many others:
Why do they mount their heavy duty rear racks offset so far to the rear?
Being heavy duty they can carry a pretty heavy load, and being so far back
the load is likely to affect the steering quite bit.
If they shifted the racks even 6-8" forward it would make a big difference.

I would prefer the load as far forward as I could get it for that reason, and
the fact that large saddle bags–which are designed to sit on a rack–will not
fit securely on so many of the bikes I have seen.

I suppose that load carrying panniers would require a reward mounting
position to avoid heel strikes from pedaling, but they could use a longer rack.