Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Review

Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Electric Bike Review
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Crystalyte Gearless Motor
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Aluminum Battery Box
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Led Console Throttle Regen Button
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Large Led Headlight Inverted Suspension Option
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Single Speed Drivetrain Standard Kickstand
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker 203 Mm Hydraulic Disc Brake Thru Axle
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Classy Leather Saddle Metal Fenders
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Speed Plug And Wires
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Lightweight Aluminum Frame
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Chromoly Steel Dropouts For Strength
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Electric Bike Review
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Crystalyte Gearless Motor
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Aluminum Battery Box
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Led Console Throttle Regen Button
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Large Led Headlight Inverted Suspension Option
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Single Speed Drivetrain Standard Kickstand
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker 203 Mm Hydraulic Disc Brake Thru Axle
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Classy Leather Saddle Metal Fenders
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Speed Plug And Wires
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Lightweight Aluminum Frame
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Chromoly Steel Dropouts For Strength

Summary

  • A powerful, high speed, heavier electric bike akin to a moped with limiter settings for around town use (750 watt, 20 mph in Street Mode) and optional Race Mode (2800 watt 36 mph)
  • Popular as a pit bike on race courses, used frequently in Indonesia because it stays cooler than internal combustion powered mopeds
  • Single speed drivetrain, available in one size high-step only, large comfortable tires with Kevlar lining, integrated LED lights, optional rear rack and optional pedal assist
  • Custom Aluminum alloy frame with color matched fender and rims, oversized hydraulic disc brakes for great stopping power vs. older versions, solid warranty and good customer support to keep the bike on the road
Warning, in some configurations this electric bike is classified as a moped or motorcycle and may not be ridden on cycling trails or paths. It may require licensing, insurance and lights when used on public roads.

Search EBR

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Vintage Electric Bikes

Model:

Tracker

Price:

$4,995 (Up to $6,845 with Accessories and Upgrades)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Moped or Motorcycle (Class 4)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive, 30k Miles

Availability:

United States, Worldwide

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

78.5 lbs ( 35.6 kg ) (74 with Rear Rack)

Battery Weight:

20 lbs ( 9.07 kg )

Motor Weight:

16 lbs ( 7.25 kg )

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Sizes:

18 in ( 45.72 cm )

Geometry Measurements:

18" Seat Tube, 24" Reach, 31" Stand Over Height, 73.5" Length

Frame Material:

Hydroformed Aluminum Alloy

Frame Colors:

Indian Red, Excelsior Blue, Slate Grey, Racing Green, Custom (~$600 Extra) (High Grade Powder Coat)

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Tig Welded Steel with Hand Crafted Leather Frame Bumpers, CNC Machined High Grade Billet Aluminum Triple Clamp (Optional Inverted 60 mm Suspension Fork $1,145)

Frame Rear Details:

Stainless Steel Dropout Inserts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

1 (Single Speed)

Cranks:

F. Gimondi, 36 Tooth Chainring

Pedals:

MKS, Aluminum Alloy Platform, Silver

Handlebar:

Stainless Steel, Hand Made, Swept Back

Brake Details:

Shimano Alfine Hydraulic Disc with 203 mm Front Rotor and 180 mm Rear Rotor, Shimano Alfine Levers

Grips:

Leather with Lockers

Saddle:

Brooks, Hand Crafted Leather, Sprung

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

200 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy, Color Matched

Spokes:

36 Spoke, Hand Laced and Tensioned, 14 Gauge Front, 12 Gauge Rear

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Fat Frank, 26" x 2.35"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in ( 66.04 cm )

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Stripe, Available in Black or Creme Colors, Active Line K-Guard Puncture Protection

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Single Side Kickstand on Left, Aluminum Alloy Rear Fender Color Matched, CREE LED Headlight, Optional Rear Carry Rack with Integrated Leather Accents ~$290, Optional Rear Carry Rack with Integrated Leather Accents and Two Saddlebags ~$800, Optional Rear Light Integrated with Brooks Saddle $75 Extra, Optional Brooks Challenge Bag ~$100 Extra

Other:

High Speed 6 Amp Charger, Can Run at 40 Amps Continuous, Spokes and Hubs by Phil Wood (CNC Machined from Aluminum Alloy)

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Crystalyte

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Peak Output:

3000 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

52 volts (60 Amp Continuous)

Battery Amp Hours:

13.5 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

702 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

2 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles ( 40 km )

Estimated Max Range:

25 miles ( 40 km )

Display Type:

Fixed LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level (Green, Yellow, Red)

Display Accessories:

Regeneration Button on Left

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist (Pedal Assist is Optional and Costs ~$130, 12 Magnet King Meter)

Top Speed:

36 mph ( 58 kph ) (Default 20 mph Mode, Race Mode Pin ~$150 Extra)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Vintage Electric Bikes designs and assembles high power, high speed ebikes in Northern California. I got to visit their headquarters and meet with the founder, Andrew, to learn about their new Tracker model which is basically a refined version of the E-Tracker which I reviewed in mid 2015. The biggest improvement in my mind is larger more powerful brakes… where the E-Tracker had mechanical 160 mm disc brakes the Tracker has hydraulic 203 mm and 180 mm disc brakes (front and rear respectively). There’s still really only one frame size (about medium with a 31″ stand over height and 18″ seat tube). I was able to ride it comfortably and I’m about 5’9″ weighing in at ~135 lbs. These Tracker bikes have always been heavy and the version I tested was about 78 pounds but had an upgraded suspension fork so the default model could be slightly lighter. Other upgrades include custom paint (they’ve matched cars and even hand bags before), a rear rack and Race Mode which is activated by screwing in a special pin to complete a circuit. Vintage Electric Bikes sells this pin separately because it changes the class of the bike from barely being Class 2 to being an illegal moped. Illegal on most city streets in the US and elsewhere but not as a pit bike on race tracks or off road. The Tracker has become popular in countries like Indonesia where there are fewer regulations and people appreciate the quiet and low temperature operation (when it’s 100+ degrees and super humid outside sitting on an internal combustion engine adds even more heat vs. an EV).

Just to hit the specs real quick, with standard Street Mode the motor puts out 750 watts nominal up to 1800 watts max and in Race Mode with that pin it puts out 2600 watts to 2800 watts and operates at 40+ Amps continuous. My preference for operating the bike is using their basic variable speed trigger throttle that’s mounted near the right grip. It’s smooth and can be used from standstill so you don’t have to push hard on the single speed drivetrain to get yourself moving. Not only is the bike heavy but when you’re limited to a single pedaling speed it’s just not fun to start with… Andrew explained that they actually chose a larger chainring with more teeth (36 to be exact) to make it easier and more comfortable to pedal at higher speeds. The company has been experimenting with a cadense sensor in addition to the trigger throttle but I didn’t like the limited and less responsive six magnet design I tried. While I was told they will probably use a 12 magnet sensor there was still no way to disable assist altogether and unlike the variable speed throttle assist operates more like on/off and made me feel uncomfortable when trying to stop because the brake levers didn’t have a motor inhibitor built in. So there’s no LDC display to adjust assist or turn it off and no inhibitors and the bike is heavy and fast… that’s just dangerous.

To up the safety this bike comes with a beautiful and large headlight, LED tail light mounted in a special saddle bracket (which can also be used with their optional rack) and of course the fender and oversized tires with Kevlar lining to reduce flats and reflective sidewall stripes. The emphasis is on beauty and durability here and Andrew explained that they help customers fix and upgrade older models including electronics and batteries. The battery box was modeled after the engines on vintage board track racer bikes (old fashioned bicycles used to race around circular tracks in the 1920’s) and is not easily removable but appears to protect the battery and controller inside very well against the elements and physical impact. I love that the motor power cable has a quick disconnect option and that it enters the axle from the side vs. the end because this protects it from getting bent or snagged. The cables and wires mostly blend in with the frame but there is a bit of a mess just below the battery box where everything goes in and out (more with the bike I reviewed since it also featured pedal assist).

For the right situation the Tracker can be an amazing and beautiful electric bike. I’d want to have a truck or trailer to move it around given the weight and I’m not sure how much I’d actually pedal given the lower seating position and single speed drivetrain but the acceleration is amazing, even if you leave it at 20 mph for Street Mode it’s a rush and feels very responsive. It is however, very quiet so watch out for traffic and pedestrians. Cruising around Indonesia on one of these things at high speed, the wind in your hair and the beautiful sights and sounds unobstructed would be pretty awesome and I love the enthusiasm and genuine approach that Andrew brings. He got to hang out with Jay Leno a while back to share his creation in the famed garage, check that out here for more fun footage.

Pros:

  • This electric bike feels very solid and comfortable… in large part because it weighs nearly 80 pounds and has oversized balloon tires, the thru-axle on the front fork helps keep it stiff
  • The brakes have been vastly improved from earlier versions, they are now extra large hydraulic disc which feel smooth and powerful (very important given the heavier build and higher possible speeds)
  • The Tracker looks beautiful, from the old-fashioned circular headlight to the leather accents and thick frame, it’s great for zipping around on but less practical for pedaling if the seat is kept low
  • The power regen button is very cool, efficiency is probably only ~10% but it helps to save your brake pads and definitely recoups energy… especially with the greater weight of this electric bicycle
  • I absolutely love the inverted suspension option because it looks great, feels solid and improves the ride at high speed but it costs a lot at ~$1,100
  • The color-matched fender looks awesome, doesn’t rattle and keeps you dry and clean while riding (I also like that it’s bent on the side to accommodate the chain), the rear rack is a great option as well but costs more than an average bicycle rack, the panniers they sell are also very cool and work perfectly with the rack
  • Extremely quiet because there are no gears inside the motor, even in Speed Mode opening the throttle up completely it remains silent so be extra careful because cars and pedestrians might not hear you
  • Uses the EnergyBus charging standard with Rosenburger port that is magnetic (like an Apple laptop charger) and sends both power and data for software upgrades
  • The motor is extremely powerful (limited to 750 nominal for street legal use by default but peaks around 2800 watts with the optional speed pin) you get a 52 volt battery and 40 Amps of continuous current for amazing acceleration from standstill, most ebikes I test send ~20 Amps
  • The rims are colormatched and the spokes are painted black to match the motor… it all looks great together, the rear spokes are 12 gauge which is super strong for the added weight and forces of the bike frame and motor

Cons:

  • The power cables and wires are mostly hidden (zip tied below the downtube) but there is a sort of messy bundle at the base of the battery box that isn’t as nice looking as internally routed designes
  • I didn’t love the default pedal assist setting when using the Tracker in high speed mode because you can’t adjust the power level and it just takes off… also the brake levers don’t have motor inhibitors so you might be fighting the system between the start/stop delays of the pedelec (at least it has 12 magnets for faster response)
  • The battery isn’t designed to be easily removed from the frame for charging separately, you’ll have to bring the bike inside or near an outlet in the garage to charge, avoid extreme cold and heat to prolong life
  • Single speed drivetrain, pedaling isn’t much fun at low speed because the bike is so heavy but they’ve used a larger chainring with more teeth to make it comfortable to pedal past 20 mph if you’re using speed mode
  • Very limited system feedback, no LCD with speed or assist level just three colored LED’s indicating an approximate voltage on the battery
  • Only available in one frame size and one high-step style which might be difficult for shorter riders to mount and stand over, I’m 5’9″ and was able to handle it comfortably

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Vintage Electric Bikes Reviews

Vintage Electric Bikes Cruz Review

  • MSRP: $4,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A robust, high powered and potentially high-speed cruiser style electric bike styled to resemble the board track racing bikes of the 1920's, optional Race Mode pin for 30+ mph. built on a custom steel frame that dampens vibration but flexes more than the Tracker…...

Vintage Electric Bikes E-Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $4,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A beautifully styled single speed electric bike that functions like a moped and can reach ~36 mph with the optional "Race Edition" upgrade or function as street legal at the default 20 mph. Good weight distribution and heat dissipation thanks to a custom made aluminum alloy battery box…...

m l
1 year ago

hi there and aloha from Hawaii, thanks for your reviews, I think they are fair and balanced and very informative. I really like the look and the attention to detail that has been given to this bike, I wonder if the gearless but powerful hubmotor is a descent climber without overheating... I am also wondering about reliability and maintenance for this particular setup. I have very little experience with ebikes (tried two middrive models and did not like the sounds from the shifters), but never had a chance to ride a hubmotor. do you think this bike would make a good commuter (20 miles total, in 80 Fahrenheit) and would it last me for a couple of years (battery, charger, motor)

I can bring the bike up to my apartment in an elevator, at work it is covered under a roof. I love riding my surly crosscheck a lot but get to work sweaty even riding at a slower pace (15mph) because my ride is around midday. this might be great to avoid getting too hot and get a tiny workout at the same time. I do not have a car for 8 years already and think this bike might be worth the extra cost since it has been "crafted so nicely". what are your thoughts? mahalo and best regards

Court Rye
1 year ago

Aloha! Wow, you get to live in such a beautiful place, I've always wanted to visit Hawaii but I'm sure it does get hot ;) I think this bike or their new Cruz model would be great for your intended use and yes, the motor is powerful enough to climb even moderately steep hills in my opinion... even with more weight. Many people who live in Indonesia buy this bike because of its power, speed and ability to stay cool in the heat while traditional motorcycles do not (and are loud). It would definitely help you arrive at work not sweaty but it's almost more like a moped than bicycle because the seat and pedals aren't setup perfectly for pedaling and it's so heavy. The Surly Crosscheck is a more active bicycle and if you like that and still want to pedal and keep the bike lighter weight but also ride fast then check out the Stromer ST2 and Specialized Turbo models. They also have the sturdy gearless hub motor (which is very durable and should last) but these bikes are more fun to actually pedal. I love the Vintage Electric Tracker but it's more like a vehicle than a bicycle with only one gear. I hope this helps you!

Huey
10 months ago

Court, is the Tracker's battery user replaceable or would it be necessary to return the bike to Vintage Electric for replacement? Thanks, I really enjoy your website and YouTube channel.

Court Rye
10 months ago

Hi Huey! I can't say for sure but I did get to peek inside during my visit to their headquarters in the Bay Area. Maybe?! There were several complete bikes that had been sent back for upgrades and improvement so that definitely seems like an option but could get expensive. I'll ask Andrew to chime in and clarify for us ;)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Over50
3 days ago
PTFC Brian
...I can't tell you how many family members and friends that are amazed when they take their first ride, and are shocked at how much fun biking can be ...
Congrats on the new bike. I've experienced a similar phenomena with my Riese and Muller. I was never stopped by strangers regarding my regular bikes. But I constantly get stopped when I have the ebike. At the grocery store, on the sidewalk at at the coffee shop. Last Saturday, I let a stranger at the coffee shop take a test ride (bike has a GPS tracker) after I spent a good deal of time answering his questions. My neighbor and a couple of other friends have tried the bike. Each time they return with the biggest smiles. Its fun to see their reactions which so far have been overwhelmingly positive.
JohnT
3 months ago
Kevinst123
The original trail tracker cruiser style is what caught my attention about e bike styles awhile ago. But they discontinued that model.
Do you not like the current gen Trail Trackers? If not, maybe you can find a used one. We have an old one in our Pedego store that we use for rentals. Maybe one of the Canada stores has one, too.

Kerfuffle
I was on the Biktrix site and used the chat function and Roshan (the founder) jumped on and answered a bunch of my questions. Seems really solid
Yes, Roshan was who I was talking about. Is it 3rd or 4th gen already? Seems like just yesterday the 1st gen came out!
Kevinst123
3 months ago
The original trail tracker cruiser style is what caught my attention about e bike styles awhile ago. But they discontinued that model. So now Il try and find a comfortable fat tire e-bike and modify to a semi cruiser style. A lot of that style in the states but not many Canadian made.
Kathy Puryear
5 months ago
Hi! I am an owner of the Pedego Store in Scottsdale, AZ. We have sold several of the Topeak MTX Beamracks for both the Trail Tracker and Ridge Rider. These racks are "floating" racks that attach to the seatpost in a second or two and can be removed as easily. Topeak has a large variety of bags that will slide right onto the rack track. Here is a link: https://www.amazon.com/Topeak-QR-Be...d=1475784582&sr=8-4&keywords=topeak+bike+rack
Marceltt
5 months ago
mrgold35
I first found the Youtube video when I was looking for a GPS tracker. Search youtube using "Boomerang Cyclotrac":

:
Thanks for the video
mrgold35
5 months ago
Marceltt
Hi there sounds like you got your bike covered well against theft. Is there a video on that boomerang alarm ?
I first found the Youtube video when I was looking for a GPS tracker. Search youtube using "Boomerang Cyclotrac":

:
pxpaulx
6 months ago
You could check out the SmartHalo on Kickstarter - I have one on order (supposed to start shipping in Sept) - it is a start up though, so risks involved there, however it is also a ride tracker (syncs with an app), gps guide and light in addition to having a 105db alarm. The alarm is triggered if the bike is being tampered with.

The advantage of getting in now is you can sign up for their emails and get a 25% off coupon (at least you could when I bought, which was after the kickstarter campaign ended).
Jan
8 months ago
I, too had issues with exactly the same thing. My shipping box was damaged and I couldn't get the front wheel on. To their credit, Customer Support was ready to pick up the bike and refund all my money. I got it though crowd funding, so I just worked with it. The battery wouldn't lock down, and it fell off when I did my first test ride. Here's the thing, though: the bike is bulletproof. Once I got it working, it was the most reliable e-bike I've ever owned (I've had many, and this was the cheapest price). I liked it so much, I sold my Pedego Trail Tracker. I rode that bike every day to work (30 miles, no problems). I go up a 7% grade hill, and the bike was really great. Not the fastest bike, but definitely worth the money. The kickstand did break, but I got a new one from Rad Rover within two days (no charge). Also my charger went out. Once again, customer service was on it.

I put 2000 miles on the bike in less than one year. I just sold mine. The reason: mid drive, baby. Yep, I got the mid drive bite and got rid of all my hub motors. My Bosch has just arrived and I really like my Currie Trans-x mid drive.

I have to admit, my eyes were a bit moist when I saw my 'Big Bear" going off with his new owner. Maybe it's me, but I actually form a relationship with my E-bikes. I know it sounds silly, but they bring me so much joy!

I have nothing but positive things to say about the bike and the Rad Rover company, and I am one tough customer. You will love your bike, but more importantly, it will love you.
George S.
9 months ago
With a GPS ride tracker (like Ride with GPS) you could give the slope as a %. That is more helpful. Honestly, a 5 mile ride is pretty short, and the ride is OK except for the hill?

I'd start at the least expensive end. A front Smart Pie is around $325. It does OK with 8% grades if you just pedal moderately. Couple that with a basic battery like the Mini for $250. These are Luna prices.

If I had one hill killing me on a 5 mile ride, $600 is what I would want to spend. If it's over 10% grade, that's tougher.
Reseg
10 months ago
Thanks Crazy Lenny, you rock

I tried to make the video relate to the average person in a similar situation. The average person living 20 miles outside the city, and commuting daily into the city, likely has a family, living in the suburbs, with a larger vehicle to hold the family. They also aren't likely to have the option of selling their vehicle to use a bike exclusively, like people in the city and single folks. This is why i didn't factor in the cost of ownership of the vehicle (maintenance, registration, depreciation, ect), since they would still retain most of that except depreciation due to miles, which would depend on the vehicle, so I didn't bother. I didn't want to over-complicate it.

I also have a scooter, and scooters get free parking downtown Austin, and better gas mileage, drastically reducing costs vs a car, which I addressed in the last graphic of the video. However, while I was originally going to use the scooter for comparison, by far more are driving a car (in Austin w/ long commute), you don't get exercise with the scooter, it still costs more for daily use, and you're still stuck in the same crappy traffic. So, I don't think it would relate to their current situation nearly as well.

I only listed the direct costs of choosing to drive the Yukon XL that day/commute vs the direct costs of choosing to ride the ebike that day/commute. The daily costs are:
$2.12 toll roads ($1.06 was used, since it's just my ride home)
$24 parking ($12 was used, to fairly split it in half)
$8.18 fuel ($4.09 was used, again, 1-way commute) This was based on my MPG showing in my dashboard for that commute X that day's gas prices. Rush hour stop & go is horrible gas mileage.

I didn't want to confuse anyone by showing the total cost of that day, but the video only showing a 20 mile commute, instead of the full 42, round-trip.

More on the comparison: I very rarely drive and I only drove this day because I wanted to video it for this comparison. I think the haze is because of the dirty windshield, which I thought was clean lol. I considered driving again to retake it, but I just couldn't bring myself to hahah. For the bike video, I always have the GoPro running, and I have faster commutes I could have used, as well as ones where there was more traffic due to wrecks, which would have looked crazy dramatic with constant passing of backed up cars. I used this one because it was close to the same period, same traffic level, and not a crazy tail wind, or head wind, just an average day.

I did ride hard on this commute as you can see from my power and heart rate. 279 ave watts over nearly an hour commute is very hard to average when there's a lot of short stop & go and a few slow-down sections. I would often take my R5 road bike out for 2hr+ on a solo ride (50-60 miles) and average 22-23mph and over 300 watts, yet that same bike on a 20 mile city commute I could never average 300W or even 19mph, no matter how hard I tried. I'm only saying to put things in perspective of how hard I went here, to show you can still get a crazy good workout, if you choose to. The days I average only ~180W, it only adds about 5 minutes to the commute, but it will drop the battery more. The reason is, 180W average means I'm easily riding over 200W, when pedaling, and that's enough input to max the motor assist out, so we're still talking 700W+ (motor & me). When I go harder, like in the video, I actually max the motor out less, because I'm more often pushing the speed limiter, making the motor stay more backed off. However, the extra effort doesn't cut the time much, it just trades battery power for my power, giving me a more intense workout and a fraction of a MPH higher.

On average, I use 422.1 watt hours, out of the 814 watt hours available on each 1-way, 21 mile commute. That puts me at around 48% battery remaining, each commute, while on max assist. It gives me an average potential range of 40.5 miles on a battery. The wind & cold definitely makes a difference, the extremes have left me with the battery at anywhere from the low 20% range to high 60% range.

Also, on the calories, as I said in the YouTube comments, I'm only going off what the Wahoo ELEMNT said. Since there's no official standard that carries from person to person with consideration of all conditions, its all relative. These devices can only predict the calories by applying their algorithm to your data. How accurate 998 calories on the bike and 96 in the car is I don't know. I have no data that tells me it's any more innaccurate than any other calorie tracker someone else is wearing. Since I also used the heart rate monitor and tracker in the car, I would more focus on the indication of the bike burning 10X more calories than driving. The days I back off and let the motor do a higher proportion of the work, it shows in my calories being a few hundred less. The 1k mark is about as high as it ever gets on a commute.
pxpaulx
10 months ago
There are some gps type trackers out already, but the seatpost of theirs seems like a decent option - the light wouldn't be, too easily removed, good likelihood someone might just rip the light itself off as your bike! You could also do something simple like a tile (that is the name of one of the top selling models on amazon) bluetooth tracker. The tile one in particular has a feature where it will ping you location if it hits in range of other tile users anonymously, meaning even if you aren't in the 100ft range, if your bike were in a crowded location you might get a ping to narrow an area to search.
Kaldeem
1 year ago
Logan Gogarty
I paid for an app called cycle tracker. I wanted something that gave me average speed, elevation, and overall time. I would also like to see my top speed but I haven't messed with the app very much to see if it does that.
Okay great thank you!!
Logan Gogarty
1 year ago
I paid for an app called cycle tracker. I wanted something that gave me average speed, elevation, and overall time. I would also like to see my top speed but I haven't messed with the app very much to see if it does that.
Cameron Newland
1 year ago
You really ought to get their new suspension fork. A rigid frame bike that does 35MPH sounds like a nightmare when it comes to potholes.

That Vintage Electric Tracker is a beautiful bike!
Va. Bch. Electric Bike Center
1 year ago
I believe the Trail Tracker will come with Pedego's pedal sense torque sensor. I liked that set up on their mtn bike.
JoePah
1 year ago
vardothiel
I am new to the forum. I appreciate all the good information here.
I just got an Evo 27.5 and I am enjoying it immensely.
Except the speedometer says I am going 35 or 36 mpg, when in actuality my average is around
21 mph.

This was tested with the app on my iPhone called Sports Tracker so keep that in mind.

But no way do I believe I am going 35 mph all the time, these bikes just don't go that fast.
Any tips much appreciated.

Thanks
What eoghan said!

Go back to your dealer or check on line for the bike manual.. It will include the codes to adjust your computer display and a host of other customizable features.... Call you dealer or your distributor for the info if you cannot find it online.. It is a new bike
J.R.
1 year ago
vardothiel
I am new to the forum. I appreciate all the good information here.
I just got an Evo 27.5 and I am enjoying it immensely.
Except the speedometer says I am going 35 or 36 mpg, when in actuality my average is around
21 mph.

This was tested with the app on my iPhone called Sports Tracker so keep that in mind.

But no way do I believe I am going 35 mph all the time, these bikes just don't go that fast.
Any tips much appreciated.

Thanks
@vardothiel welcome,

Is the tire/wheel size set properly in the display? When you power the bike up the first number displayed for a second or two is the tire/wheel size and that should be 27.5. If not hold the + and - buttons down for a couple of seconds and you can set tire size, mph/kph and amp-hour. Toggle through the screens with the middle button, use the + or - buttons to adjust settings and when all is set hold the middle button down for a few seconds to set.
Greg H.
1 year ago
I have a son who is constantly losing his keys. For Christmas, I gave him a "Tile" as a stocking stuffer. Cheap enough, around $25 - less if you buy a larger quantity of these tiles.

https://www.thetileapp.com/blog/find-my-bike-tile-used-as-bike-tracker

Looking for a way to track my bike if stolen, I search on this site for ideas and remembered about the Tile gift. While I feel that a lock, audible alarm, and a tracking device are all important with expensive bikes, this maybe a way to allow GPS tracking that many are looking for in an inexpensive manner.

I have not used one so I don't know how well it would work or any problems associated with it's use. Not a perfect result as you or others with a tile system need to be close for the signal to work, but for $25 - it's something...

I sure hope that something of this type becomes universal for our bikes.
Kakashi Hatake
21 hours ago

What type of model is this?

Chemtrail Dreams
2 weeks ago

Anyone know where I can buy a headlight like that to wire into my bike?

Akbary Septianto
3 weeks ago

Indonesiaaaaaaaaa

Ван Ваныч
2 months ago

Красивейшая вещь. Просто восторг Молодцы ребята.

El Capitan
3 months ago

all e bikes are overpriced. buy a kit and DIY. buy an aftermarket front fork. don't be a sucker

adam damstr
3 months ago

available in uk??

Hameed Turi
4 months ago

Hello how much this saycel

Ivan Zhong
5 months ago

5000 dollars really man just a motocyle

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

I don't make these, just create videos to help people understand and make a good decision. If you want to ride without a license and insurance, prefer a lighter weight bike, appreciate quiet and want to go on paths and places motorcycles aren't allowed then this is a good option. If you like unlimited distance and want off-road then a dual sport would be great, they make electric motorcycles now that are pretty cool too: http://amzn.to/2e0iFLN

Kiefer Shanks
6 months ago

I definitely will be considering one of these as my next city runabout. Amazing design and performance in a practical, sexy package. Will have to finance it though probably haha

Sean McAleavy
6 months ago

This guy is the most informed reviewer I have ever seen. Very well done. This kind of review should be the standard. Unfortunately, it seems to be an anomaly. Pity.

Kelvin Grover
7 months ago

do they sell these at walmart?

halfbrainj
3 weeks ago

Screw Walmart. They only sell cheap, one time use, and throw away stuff!!

Arsene Wenger Is Overrated
6 months ago

Fuck no! They're hand made/assembled.

Kim Wiltz
7 months ago

Love the video . What the cost?

Arsene Wenger Is Overrated
6 months ago

Pricing starts at $5000 plus add ons, which will increase to almost $7000!

ッ Dusken ッ
8 months ago

It says yes but the price says no.

John Kate
9 months ago

5000$ hahahah why not buy a motorbike instead then

Reece Lindquist
1 month ago

John Kate electric, bike lane, easier to transport, all the advantages of having a bicycle

aRod 4You
9 months ago

Idk what's going on with me. Yesterday I just got hooked to E-bikes. And I'm hooked to your channel.. Subbed for future vids to come, thanks for the work.

Monica Schwartz
9 months ago

why didn't u bring up the fact that the speed upgrade was a cheap fuse and now is a key that costa 150 dollars? i think ur a sell out!

Tom Jacobs
9 months ago

750watt lol, here its 250w max.

Jake Stimson
8 months ago

it's 3000 watt

reinplat
10 months ago

16:32 Is this some kind of joke I'm not getting?

777
10 months ago

почему не fullsuspension? сзади одна звезда? дорого.

Ronan Carter
12 months ago

Overpriced, but a good design to use as a standard for a home build, I'm planning on a build in this style, but a little more aggressively designed, lifepo4 headway cells, bbshd, similarly place batt, hide a satiator charger in a false tank with a toolkit and lock, I use the shwalbe big apples on my current build and they are the same as this, just different tread pattern (cheaper too) this bike will also cost me less than half the tag to build, do your research and learn how to diy, the reward is far more gratifying!

Ronan Carter
10 months ago

nope, moved on to a cheaper project, lost sight of practicality, once I got beyond a certain price point in the design it became easier to buy a non-working motorbike and restore it myself, thus I dropped the project, but if you want to do it I would recommend a ruff cycles porucho frame running their 65mm rims, a sturmey archer rk5 disc hub, bbshd, lifepo4 10ah batt x2, use one till it dies, still have charge to get home, and a decent sprung saddle alongside a triple clamp front air-fork for adjustability, weight, and for braking force, also, schwalbe 26" big apple/fat frank 2.35 tyres, it would have a similar look to this bike, but again, more aggressive, also a bmx to bsa bottom bracket adapter will work to fit the bbshd to this particular frame, but mount it so the motor it rotated pointed toward the saddle inside the triangle, best of luck!

Arsene Wenger Is Overrated
10 months ago

+Ronan Carter Oh yeah?! Will you build one for $2500-$3000 for me?