Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Review

Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Electric Bike Review
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Crystalyte Gearless Motor
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Aluminum Battery Box
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Led Console Throttle Regen Button
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Large Led Headlight Inverted Suspension Option
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Single Speed Drivetrain Standard Kickstand
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker 203 Mm Hydraulic Disc Brake Thru Axle
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Classy Leather Saddle Metal Fenders
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Speed Plug And Wires
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Lightweight Aluminum Frame
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Chromoly Steel Dropouts For Strength
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Electric Bike Review
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Crystalyte Gearless Motor
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Aluminum Battery Box
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Led Console Throttle Regen Button
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Large Led Headlight Inverted Suspension Option
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Single Speed Drivetrain Standard Kickstand
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker 203 Mm Hydraulic Disc Brake Thru Axle
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Classy Leather Saddle Metal Fenders
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Speed Plug And Wires
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Lightweight Aluminum Frame
Vintage Electric Bikes Tracker Chromoly Steel Dropouts For Strength

Summary

  • A powerful, high speed, heavier electric bike akin to a moped with limiter settings for around town use (750 watt, 20 mph in Street Mode) and optional Race Mode (2800 watt 36 mph)
  • Popular as a pit bike on race courses, used frequently in Indonesia because it stays cooler than internal combustion powered mopeds
  • Single speed drivetrain, available in one size high-step only, large comfortable tires with Kevlar lining, integrated LED lights, optional rear rack and optional pedal assist
  • Custom Aluminum alloy frame with color matched fender and rims, oversized hydraulic disc brakes for great stopping power vs. older versions, solid warranty and good customer support to keep the bike on the road
Warning, in some configurations this electric bike is classified as a moped or motorcycle and may not be ridden on cycling trails or paths. It may require licensing, insurance and lights when used on public roads.

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Vintage Electric Bikes

Model:

Tracker

Price:

$4,995 (Up to $6,845 with Accessories and Upgrades)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Moped or Motorcycle (Class 4)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive, 30k Miles

Availability:

United States, Worldwide

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

78.5 lbs (35.6 kg) (74 with Rear Rack)

Battery Weight:

20 lbs (9.07 kg)

Motor Weight:

16 lbs (7.25 kg)

Frame Material:

Hydroformed Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

18 in (45.72 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

18" Seat Tube, 24" Reach, 31" Stand Over Height, 73.5" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Indian Red, Excelsior Blue, Slate Grey, Racing Green, Custom (~$600 Extra) (High Grade Powder Coat)

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Tig Welded Steel with Hand Crafted Leather Frame Bumpers, CNC Machined High Grade Billet Aluminum Triple Clamp (Optional Inverted 60 mm Suspension Fork $1,145)

Frame Rear Details:

Stainless Steel Dropout Inserts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

1 (Single Speed)

Cranks:

F. Gimondi, 36 Tooth Chainring

Pedals:

MKS, Aluminum Alloy Platform, Silver

Handlebar:

Stainless Steel, Hand Made, Swept Back

Brake Details:

Shimano Alfine Hydraulic Disc with 203 mm Front Rotor and 180 mm Rear Rotor, Shimano Alfine Levers

Grips:

Leather with Lockers

Saddle:

Brooks, Hand Crafted Leather, Sprung

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

200 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy, Color Matched

Spokes:

36 Spoke, Hand Laced and Tensioned, 14 Gauge Front, 12 Gauge Rear

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Fat Frank, 26" x 2.35"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Stripe, Available in Black or Creme Colors, Active Line K-Guard Puncture Protection

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Single Side Kickstand on Left, Aluminum Alloy Rear Fender Color Matched, CREE LED Headlight, Optional Rear Carry Rack with Integrated Leather Accents ~$290, Optional Rear Carry Rack with Integrated Leather Accents and Two Saddlebags ~$800, Optional Rear Light Integrated with Brooks Saddle $75 Extra, Optional Brooks Challenge Bag ~$100 Extra

Other:

High Speed 6 Amp Charger, Can Run at 40 Amps Continuous, Spokes and Hubs by Phil Wood (CNC Machined from Aluminum Alloy)

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Crystalyte

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Motor Peak Output:

3000 watts

Motor Torque:

60 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

52 volts (60 Amp Continuous)

Battery Amp Hours:

13.5 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

702 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

2 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Display Type:

Fixed LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level (Green, Yellow, Red)

Display Accessories:

Regeneration Button on Left

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist (Pedal Assist is Optional and Costs ~$130, 12 Magnet King Meter)

Top Speed:

36 mph (58 kph) (Default 20 mph Mode, Race Mode Pin ~$150 Extra)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Vintage Electric Bikes designs and assembles high power, high speed ebikes in Northern California. I got to visit their headquarters and meet with the founder, Andrew, to learn about their new Tracker model which is basically a refined version of the E-Tracker which I reviewed in mid 2015. The biggest improvement in my mind is larger more powerful brakes… where the E-Tracker had mechanical 160 mm disc brakes the Tracker has hydraulic 203 mm and 180 mm disc brakes (front and rear respectively). There’s still really only one frame size (about medium with a 31″ stand over height and 18″ seat tube). I was able to ride it comfortably and I’m about 5’9″ weighing in at ~135 lbs. These Tracker bikes have always been heavy and the version I tested was about 78 pounds but had an upgraded suspension fork so the default model could be slightly lighter. Other upgrades include custom paint (they’ve matched cars and even hand bags before), a rear rack and Race Mode which is activated by screwing in a special pin to complete a circuit. Vintage Electric Bikes sells this pin separately because it changes the class of the bike from barely being Class 2 to being an illegal moped. Illegal on most city streets in the US and elsewhere but not as a pit bike on race tracks or off road. The Tracker has become popular in countries like Indonesia where there are fewer regulations and people appreciate the quiet and low temperature operation (when it’s 100+ degrees and super humid outside sitting on an internal combustion engine adds even more heat vs. an EV).

Just to hit the specs real quick, with standard Street Mode the motor puts out 750 watts nominal up to 1800 watts max and in Race Mode with that pin it puts out 2600 watts to 2800 watts and operates at 40+ Amps continuous. My preference for operating the bike is using their basic variable speed trigger throttle that’s mounted near the right grip. It’s smooth and can be used from standstill so you don’t have to push hard on the single speed drivetrain to get yourself moving. Not only is the bike heavy but when you’re limited to a single pedaling speed it’s just not fun to start with… Andrew explained that they actually chose a larger chainring with more teeth (36 to be exact) to make it easier and more comfortable to pedal at higher speeds. The company has been experimenting with a cadense sensor in addition to the trigger throttle but I didn’t like the limited and less responsive six magnet design I tried. While I was told they will probably use a 12 magnet sensor there was still no way to disable assist altogether and unlike the variable speed throttle assist operates more like on/off and made me feel uncomfortable when trying to stop because the brake levers didn’t have a motor inhibitor built in. So there’s no LDC display to adjust assist or turn it off and no inhibitors and the bike is heavy and fast… that’s just dangerous.

To up the safety this bike comes with a beautiful and large headlight, LED tail light mounted in a special saddle bracket (which can also be used with their optional rack) and of course the fender and oversized tires with Kevlar lining to reduce flats and reflective sidewall stripes. The emphasis is on beauty and durability here and Andrew explained that they help customers fix and upgrade older models including electronics and batteries. The battery box was modeled after the engines on vintage board track racer bikes (old fashioned bicycles used to race around circular tracks in the 1920’s) and is not easily removable but appears to protect the battery and controller inside very well against the elements and physical impact. I love that the motor power cable has a quick disconnect option and that it enters the axle from the side vs. the end because this protects it from getting bent or snagged. The cables and wires mostly blend in with the frame but there is a bit of a mess just below the battery box where everything goes in and out (more with the bike I reviewed since it also featured pedal assist).

For the right situation the Tracker can be an amazing and beautiful electric bike. I’d want to have a truck or trailer to move it around given the weight and I’m not sure how much I’d actually pedal given the lower seating position and single speed drivetrain but the acceleration is amazing, even if you leave it at 20 mph for Street Mode it’s a rush and feels very responsive. It is however, very quiet so watch out for traffic and pedestrians. Cruising around Indonesia on one of these things at high speed, the wind in your hair and the beautiful sights and sounds unobstructed would be pretty awesome and I love the enthusiasm and genuine approach that Andrew brings. He got to hang out with Jay Leno a while back to share his creation in the famed garage, check that out here for more fun footage.

Pros:

  • This electric bike feels very solid and comfortable… in large part because it weighs nearly 80 pounds and has oversized balloon tires, the thru-axle on the front fork helps keep it stiff
  • The brakes have been vastly improved from earlier versions, they are now extra large hydraulic disc which feel smooth and powerful (very important given the heavier build and higher possible speeds)
  • The Tracker looks beautiful, from the old-fashioned circular headlight to the leather accents and thick frame, it’s great for zipping around on but less practical for pedaling if the seat is kept low
  • The power regen button is very cool, efficiency is probably only ~10% but it helps to save your brake pads and definitely recoups energy… especially with the greater weight of this electric bicycle
  • I absolutely love the inverted suspension option because it looks great, feels solid and improves the ride at high speed but it costs a lot at ~$1,100
  • The color-matched fender looks awesome, doesn’t rattle and keeps you dry and clean while riding (I also like that it’s bent on the side to accommodate the chain), the rear rack is a great option as well but costs more than an average bicycle rack, the panniers they sell are also very cool and work perfectly with the rack
  • Extremely quiet because there are no gears inside the motor, even in Speed Mode opening the throttle up completely it remains silent so be extra careful because cars and pedestrians might not hear you
  • Uses the EnergyBus charging standard with Rosenburger port that is magnetic (like an Apple laptop charger) and sends both power and data for software upgrades
  • The motor is extremely powerful (limited to 750 nominal for street legal use by default but peaks around 2800 watts with the optional speed pin) you get a 52 volt battery and 40 Amps of continuous current for amazing acceleration from standstill, most ebikes I test send ~20 Amps
  • The rims are colormatched and the spokes are painted black to match the motor… it all looks great together, the rear spokes are 12 gauge which is super strong for the added weight and forces of the bike frame and motor

Cons:

  • The power cables and wires are mostly hidden (zip tied below the downtube) but there is a sort of messy bundle at the base of the battery box that isn’t as nice looking as internally routed designes
  • I didn’t love the default pedal assist setting when using the Tracker in high speed mode because you can’t adjust the power level and it just takes off… also the brake levers don’t have motor inhibitors so you might be fighting the system between the start/stop delays of the pedelec (at least it has 12 magnets for faster response)
  • The battery isn’t designed to be easily removed from the frame for charging separately, you’ll have to bring the bike inside or near an outlet in the garage to charge, avoid extreme cold and heat to prolong life
  • Single speed drivetrain, pedaling isn’t much fun at low speed because the bike is so heavy but they’ve used a larger chainring with more teeth to make it comfortable to pedal past 20 mph if you’re using speed mode
  • Very limited system feedback, no LCD with speed or assist level just three colored LED’s indicating an approximate voltage on the battery
  • Only available in one frame size and one high-step style which might be difficult for shorter riders to mount and stand over, I’m 5’9″ and was able to handle it comfortably

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Vintage Electric Bikes Reviews

Vintage Electric Bikes Cruz Review

  • MSRP: $4,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A robust, high powered and potentially high-speed cruiser style electric bike styled to resemble the board track racing bikes of the 1920's, optional Race Mode pin for 30+ mph. built on a custom steel frame that dampens vibration but flexes more than the Tracker…...

Vintage Electric Bikes E-Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $4,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A beautifully styled single speed electric bike that functions like a moped and can reach ~36 mph with the optional "Race Edition" upgrade or function as street legal at the default 20 mph. Good weight distribution and heat dissipation thanks to a custom made aluminum alloy battery box…...

m l
1 year ago

hi there and aloha from Hawaii, thanks for your reviews, I think they are fair and balanced and very informative. I really like the look and the attention to detail that has been given to this bike, I wonder if the gearless but powerful hubmotor is a descent climber without overheating… I am also wondering about reliability and maintenance for this particular setup. I have very little experience with ebikes (tried two middrive models and did not like the sounds from the shifters), but never had a chance to ride a hubmotor. do you think this bike would make a good commuter (20 miles total, in 80 Fahrenheit) and would it last me for a couple of years (battery, charger, motor)

I can bring the bike up to my apartment in an elevator, at work it is covered under a roof. I love riding my surly crosscheck a lot but get to work sweaty even riding at a slower pace (15mph) because my ride is around midday. this might be great to avoid getting too hot and get a tiny workout at the same time. I do not have a car for 8 years already and think this bike might be worth the extra cost since it has been “crafted so nicely”. what are your thoughts? mahalo and best regards

Court Rye
1 year ago

Aloha! Wow, you get to live in such a beautiful place, I’ve always wanted to visit Hawaii but I’m sure it does get hot ;) I think this bike or their new Cruz model would be great for your intended use and yes, the motor is powerful enough to climb even moderately steep hills in my opinion… even with more weight. Many people who live in Indonesia buy this bike because of its power, speed and ability to stay cool in the heat while traditional motorcycles do not (and are loud). It would definitely help you arrive at work not sweaty but it’s almost more like a moped than bicycle because the seat and pedals aren’t setup perfectly for pedaling and it’s so heavy. The Surly Crosscheck is a more active bicycle and if you like that and still want to pedal and keep the bike lighter weight but also ride fast then check out the Stromer ST2 and Specialized Turbo models. They also have the sturdy gearless hub motor (which is very durable and should last) but these bikes are more fun to actually pedal. I love the Vintage Electric Tracker but it’s more like a vehicle than a bicycle with only one gear. I hope this helps you!

Huey
1 year ago

Court, is the Tracker’s battery user replaceable or would it be necessary to return the bike to Vintage Electric for replacement? Thanks, I really enjoy your website and YouTube channel.

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Huey! I can’t say for sure but I did get to peek inside during my visit to their headquarters in the Bay Area. Maybe?! There were several complete bikes that had been sent back for upgrades and improvement so that definitely seems like an option but could get expensive. I’ll ask Andrew to chime in and clarify for us ;)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

mrgold35
13 hours ago

I would also factor into your search cargo and water bottle attachments. My Radrover has 3 water bottle attachments and they really come in handy (two on either side of upper tube frame and one on the down tube facing the ground). I use one of the upper for water and the lower one for my GPS Boomerang tracker. Others used the extra bottle cage for beer openers, securing locks with bottle cage attachments, or just adding a second water bottle.

I find it might be harder to add a rear rack or have a wider choice of options for storage with full suspension bikes sometimes. You might be limited to the type that secures to the seatpost with no panniers for extra storage. It can be a pain to use a backpack if you don't have easy storage on your bike. You can never have too much space on a bike and adding a rear rack and bag with fold out panniers have taken care of me during work, fun, and errands rides year round.

JayVee
17 hours ago

@JayVee Good job, love the great scenery, may I ask what kind of camera you're using? Like the clarity of the recording and the information that it records.

GoPro4 Hero Black edition - The GPS overlays are made with Dashware because it's an older model and doesn't have GPS. So the overlays take a bit of work and are not part of the original package. I can share how they are made in my GPS thread (see bel0w). But if you buy a newer cam (GoPro or Garmin) it has software for the overlays.

My GPS experiments thread:

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/my-gopro-4-gps-dashboard-experiments-using-a-smartphone-as-a-tracker.13786/

Over50
3 days ago

... The problem occurs when trying to then relock using the key to set the metal tabs into place. Maybe there is a spring out of alignment?... Additionally, lubricating the lock to get things working did not appear to help. Will be reaching out to Litelok shortly...On other notes: I found this review on Sweethome Article (the best bike lock) http://thesweethome.com/reviews/best-bike-lock/
At the bottom of the article they mention that bolt cutters can defeat the lock quite easily at the keyed point, which is a bit disappointing, but it makes sense when you look at the metal locking tabs on the interior. I hope they find a way to make this more hardy in future versions...

Ugh. Now you've gone and ruined my day. According to the article you linked, all of my expensive locks are crap. I have 3 Abus locks (Bordo, Granite Extreme... and Mini) and it sounds like they are easily defeated. And furthermore, as you point out, the Litelok is easily defeated. And in addition my Boomerang GPS Tracker failed. I've been locking my ebike in a busy downtown area with 2 of the Abus locks. Now come to find out a novice bike thief could probably defeat them? Argggh.

I haven't used my Litelok much and I was thinking of posting it here for sale. Now the value is probably nil thanks to this news.

The Litelok's mechanism was really sticky for me when I first received it but a small drop of oil solved that. Sounds like that solution didn't work for you.

JayVee
8 hours ago

The newer Garmin VIRB Ultra 30 and GoPro Hero 5 models have GPSes included that allow you to overlay GPS data (speed, direction, etc.) on videos. But I have an older GoPro HERO 4 and I wanted to put some GPS overlays on it using only the GPS data from my smartphone. It’s not that complicated, but it took me a while to figure out.

I watched several YouTube videos where it was explained that you could use Virb Edit to merge GPS data and video data together. I tried several different GPS loggers but couldn’t get Virb Edit to interpret the GPX tracks from any of them. As the YouTube videos weren’t that recent, it’s possible that Garmin has since locked down their software so that it only works with their devices.

After roaming around on the UAV/drone forums, I found that a lot of hobbyists were using Dashware to overlay GPS data. I tried, and sure enough, it works. You can import your video directly in Dashware, add the overlays, and produce the final output. But there’s another method which I prefer. You can create a separate video with the GPS overlays and then composite them into your favourite video editor.

It gives the results shown in the videos below. Given the amount of money I’ve invested in GoPro accessories, I’m happy that it’s not totally obsolete and can be coerced into doing what the newer action cams do. The first video is a rather mellow climb, the second one is a 9-15% grade climb (starts around 2:27). And if you think I’m in the wrong gear at the bottom of the hill in the second video, you’re ABSOLUTELY right. I hate starting hills in a granny gear. If you want to get my speed, you have to rip it away from my bare hands! And so, because I’m a hard head, I had to go through most of the gears to climb the steeper 15% grade section… Yeah, yeah, I know folks… I should know better… But I’m really not made for mid-drives… :D

More seriously, it’s difficult to get the GPS data and video synchronised, and the best tip I could give is to start the app and your video recording at the same time. The heading gauge gives important clues. In Clip 2, at 1:22 - 1:23 the bike turns and so does the heading. So we know we’re not way off the plate, but the reaction is perhaps a little too immediate for it to be accurate. And in Clip 1, which is part of the same master clip, the heading seems to jump the gun at 1:25 so I’d say the GPS data is slightly ahead of the video. Next time I’ll have to be more careful about small clues like this.

Overall I’m happy with the result. FREE stuff absolutely rocks!

Some explanations on how to do this:

What you’ll need:

A smartphone
An action cam.
A Windows 7 PC or higher
Dashware. Get it while it’s still free!
A GPS logger app that can export GPX tracks. I used a free iPhone app called Map Tracks for this demo.

Step 1 - Capture video and data

Dashware has an option that allow you to synchronise your video with the GPS tracks, but you can simplify your life if you start the video recording at approximately the same time as you start recording the GPS tracks with your smartphone app.

When you’ve finished your tour, stop your GPS and video recordings at approximately the same time.

Step 2- Upload the data to your computer

Upload the GPX app to your computer. Most apps have an option so that you can email it to yourself.

Step 3 - Load the video and GPX files into Dashware

Open Dashware.
If your action cam splits a video into multiple files, you need to merge them together first. Dashware has a tool to do this. Select Merge Video files, and add the files that are part of your video sequence with the + icon. Once you have them all, click on Merge Files and wait for the merge to complete.
Select File-> New Project. You will see an ‘Imperial GoPro’ template selected. Use the defaults for your first attempt and click OK.
You will be presented with a screen such as the one below. Under Input Settings, add your merged video file and your data logger file. This will bring up a preview of your video.

Click on the ’Synchronisation’ tab. You should see your video on the left and a map of your tour on the right. Set the cursor in your Video and Synchronisation tabs to the the beginning. After you do that, the ‘Current’ time should be 0:00.000 for the video and GPS data timeline.

In the Synchronisation tab, click ‘sync with video’ as shown below. You can now skip through your video and the GPS data will become animated. Skim through the video to see if the data makes sense. The compass heading can help with this as it should turn for changes in direction.

Step 4 - Create the video in Dashware or skip to Step 5 to use your favourite editor

You have now finished. Go ahead and click on Create video.

Know problems

After you install Dashware, if it crashes when creating a video, you might have to install this from Microsoft:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/confirmation.aspx?id=48145

1/3
mrgold35
2 weeks ago

The best lock are always the heaviest and bulky to carry. Even if you lock your bike, there is always the issue with a "crackhead" stealing the quick release front tire, seat with seatpost, rack bag, or any accessories not nailed down. I end up adjusting my security and adding additional layers to the base level security depending on the area, my distance from the bikes, and duration being unattended. I usually take my Osprey backpack when riding to remove anything worth stealing in a few seconds.

Part of the layers would be:

- check into a bluetooth and/or cell system tracker/alarm. I use Boomerang mounted to the downtube and it used the Verizon network to track on the internet, arm with smartphone, and it has a 110 dB alarm on the unit. I use Tile for my car keys; but, it is a Bluetooth system. Hard to track your bike once it gets +30 feet away with bluetooth systems.

- check homeowners/renter insurance to see if you are covered. I'm covered at $500 per incident with my USAA homeowner's policy home or away. You could also check into additional insurance just for the bike if you want a lower deductible or better coverage (like maint also).

- Register the bike with city/state law enforcement (with pics and S/N). Enter bike on national databases like National Bike Registry, Bike Index, Project529, or Bike Registry

What I like about security cables with locks are they are light, easy to use, and easy to carry. What I hate about cables are they can be defeated with one snip from a bolt cutter small enough to fit in backpack. I still have a 12 foot plastic covered security cable w/ lock because sometimes an U-bolt/chain just can't be used. Wife and I rode to Flying Star Cafe for dinner and only a tree was available to lock the bikes. The extra long cable was long enough to wrap around the tree and front/back tires (we ate outside to keep an eye on the bikes). A cable is better than nothing and I would have one on hand if only light security is needed.

From what I've read, most U-bolts or chains +14mm thick are large enough to require more time, larger bolt cutters, or loud grinder to defeat. I would check out YouTube videos on how to defeat any particular U-lock you are thinking about to see if they are worth the risk-vs-cost-ease of daily use. I have two Xena U-locks and one 14mm Xena chain (XSU-310 & XUL-210 & XC-14). Extremely heavy and I usually only take the longest U-bolt to lock both bikes together along with cable when riding around town. I figure the Boomerang alarm will give me time to get to the bikes as someone is messing around with the cable and U-bolt.

dwilliams62
4 weeks ago

Hi! Does anyone here have GPS tracker devices or anti theft devices on their bikes? Looking for opinions on the subject. Thanks!

Matt A
4 weeks ago

I have two his/her Radrovers. The wife hardy rides hers and I use both to work commute (switch off weekly to keep the wear/tear/mileage about the same). I'm lucky to be able to store my RR in my server room on the 2nd floor and charge the battery during the day. I do travel with my RR and sometimes have to leave the bikes on the vehicle racks overnight at hotels if I can't take them inside the room. I use a layered security approach depending on what I can carry and how worried I am about a location.

CycolTrac Boomerang GPS: https://boomerangbike.com/
I have the two units on the down-tube of both Radrovers with a Zefal DT down-tube armor frame guard (Amazon, $18) protecting them from water and road debris. Boomerang uses the Verizon cell network to track both bikes on your smartphone or internet. You can also arm with an audible alarm with email/text alerts with the smartphone app (cant do with computer webpage). Alarm is pretty sensitive and you will be getting a lot of alerts if you secure at a busy bike rack. I even remove the GPS tracker and place in my car as a poor man's LoJack when traveling without the bikes (+20,000 miles per year on avg traveling in southwest).

15 foot 12mm plastic coated cable with round discus Master Lock. I use this if I need to make a quick stop and the bikes are never out of sight. It is very light and fits in my rack bag or back pack and it is long enough to secure 2-3 bikes together. I run the cable in-between front and rear tires because of the quick release tires and through the hole of the bike helmets so I don't have to carry helmets around.

Two OnGuard Rottweiler Armored cable locks: http://www.onguardlock.com/armoredcables/
They are too large and bulky to try and use on a normal ride unless you drape it over your shoulder. I had these for several years and secure the (e)bikes to each other on the vehicle bike rack when making a longer stop (out of sight stop) or when traveling out of town. Very easy to put on and I like they are so large and visible. Just a pain to store anywhere except in the trunk of a vehicle.

Xena XUL 210 with 110 dB alarm & Xena XSU-310 18mm u-locks
XUL-210: https://www.xenasecurity.com/xena-products/bullett-locks/xul102-alarmed-u-lock/
XSU-310: https://www.xenasecurity.com/xena-products/u-locks/xsu-310/

Most major U-bolt brands made for bikes all had an u-tube video on how to defeat them (picking locks, bold cutters, freezing locks, hammers, etc...). I couldn't find any info during my search for defeating the Xena U-bolts. It has a plastic coating to prevent scratching the paint and you must cut it twice to remove because of the lock design. Took my time on eBay and purchased both locks for around the same price of one Kyptonite New York Fahgettaboudit 18mm.

Xena XC-14 14mm 5 foot security chain: https://www.amazon.com/Xena-XC14-Xc14-150-14Mm-Chain/dp/B00GPBSO06/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1496149878&sr=8-2-fkmr0&keywords=Xena+security+chain

Way too thick and heavy for daily use around town. I whip this out if I'm really worried about an overnight stay at a hotel with the bikes on the rack (sometimes thieves target out of state vehicles at hotels). Any chain in the +14mm size seems to stop every tool in the thief's arsenal except a grinder. I figure the 14mm chain secured with the two 18mm Xena U-bolts along with the Boomerang GPS would give me time and alert me if there was an issue.

Dual Bike Cover (Amazon, $46): https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000WENDUS/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
I use this only with the bike rack if:
- I run into bad weather on the hwy
- keep the dew/frost off the bikes in the morning when on the vehicle rack
- if I need drive a ways on really dusty roads
- out of sight, out of mind overnight at a hotel

It only takes a few minutes to put on, large enough to encase both RR and Saris bike rack completely, and has translucent panels near both wheels for your brake lights. It also folds pretty small for easy vehicle storage (about the space of small twin size pillow). No way to secure the cover to the bike or rack unless to wrap everything in a +20ft cable lock.
Very nice post. You do a lot to secure your bike. I've heard nothing but bad things about the Boomerang, and given Court's video demonstration of it, it is pretty awful. I hope when I get my Sherlock tracker in a couple weeks that it works the way it was advertised, it is far cheaper than the Boomerang, with features that make the Boomerang obsolete. I equate the boomerang to a cable lock, it doesn't do much for someone actually willing to steal your bike. It is so simply unscrewed off the bike and tossed aside, and looks like it would take 1-2 whacks with a small wrench to destroy it.

The plastic coated cable you know is definitely not secure, but is certainly great for when you can see your bike since you can lock it to really anything with such a cable. Unfortunately even Masterlock's highest end locks are easily defeated. You can check out the Youtube channel of Wayne Winton to see a lot of security items tested including Abus. Through his testing, it can be seen that Abus is the best at creating hardened steel with the best weight to strength ratios. The only security chains that are tougher are double the weight if not more!

The Armored Cables you mentioned look pretty cool for a similar situation where you can see your bike. Unfortunately, they are easily defeated and while it may deter some thieves, it definitely won't have your mind at ease.

Unfortunately for Xena, this customer's experience ended in a swiftly and easily stolen motorcycle and no response from Xena customer service about the lock left behind in 2 pieces. Definitely not a company I would give my money to: https://mandrado.wordpress.com/2013/02/24/don-t-buy-xena-disc-lock-with-alarm/

With regards to the Xena U-lock, I did not do a ton of research, but I don't think they had the best security in mind. The U-lock is made of Stainless steel, which is great for corrosion resistance, but not much else in security. Stainless Steel is brittle, and they don't harden their Stainless Steel locks either. To me, it seems like it would be very susceptible to ice spray attacks and bolt cutters, despite their marketing. Stainless Steel works great for many things, but case hardened steel using a high end process is going to be stronger than Stainless Steel, by a ton.

I am skeptical about the chain as well, it is also not made of hardened steel, so no matter how thick it is, it will be cut. Also, having that chain is useless without an extremely high end lock to loop them together. I did a lot of research on Padlocks, and there weren't any that had my confidence. With that chain, all you need is to defeat the padlock. Even Masterlock's highest security padlock is easily cropped, and the locking core can be picked by anyone who spends 5 minutes on youtube, really simple and a joke among locksmiths.

The bike cover is cool, I thought about getting one but too much hassle for me.

Overall though, for someone on an average budget, you gave some great suggestions. Not everyone is willing to spend almost $300 per lock and a couple hundred on security bolts like I did. But really, in efficient markets and industries, you always get what you pay for. Locks and security is a huge industry, so discount options will discount the security level as well, irregardless of what their marketing department claims.

With the Abus locks, the Extreme chain is indeed quite heavy, but the chain with the integrated lock is highly secure compared to ones without integrated locks. The locking cores on Abus are great, very hard to pick. There is a youtube video of someone picking the U-lock, but it took him over 5 minutes with an extremely specialized tool specifically for that exact lock. Also, he used the key to the lock first to help him pick it.

In my opinion, if you Pitlock your components, you could use just the Extreme U-lock from Abus, and know that your bike will be the most secure one at least in your area. The U-lock can only be cut with an angle grinder or something else crazy like that, both sides have to be cut, so really it is just as plausible for someone to take an angle grinder to the bike rack as it is for them to take it to your U-lock. The bike rack, sign, or pole, would likely be faster to cut through. The U-lock is heavy, but my girlfriend uses it no problem and she is like 110 pounds. We do have electric bikes here, so hauling that U-lock is quite easy.

When I ride alone, I use the CityChain as it is secure enough for being left alone for short periods, and not too heavy. When she rides alone she uses the U-lock which is the most secure. When we ride together, we bring along the 68 inch Extreme chain so we can lock both of our bikes together to those huge telephone poles for the best security. If we were to ever leave the bikes for more than an hour or so out of sight, I would likely use all 3 of my locks.

mrgold35
4 weeks ago

I have two his/her Radrovers. The wife hardy rides hers and I use both to work commute (switch off weekly to keep the wear/tear/mileage about the same). I'm lucky to be able to store my RR in my server room on the 2nd floor and charge the battery during the day. I do travel with my RR and sometimes have to leave the bikes on the vehicle racks overnight at hotels if I can't take them inside the room. I use a layered security approach depending on what I can carry and how worried I am about a location.

CycolTrac Boomerang GPS: https://boomerangbike.com/
I have the two units on the down-tube of both Radrovers with a Zefal DT down-tube armor frame guard (Amazon, $18) protecting them from water and road debris. Boomerang uses the Verizon cell network to track both bikes on your smartphone or internet. You can also arm with an audible alarm with email/text alerts with the smartphone app (cant do with computer webpage). Alarm is pretty sensitive and you will be getting a lot of alerts if you secure at a busy bike rack. I even remove the GPS tracker and place in my car as a poor man's LoJack when traveling without the bikes (+20,000 miles per year on avg traveling in southwest).

15 foot 12mm plastic coated cable with round discus Master Lock. I use this if I need to make a quick stop and the bikes are never out of sight. It is very light and fits in my rack bag or back pack and it is long enough to secure 2-3 bikes together. I run the cable in-between front and rear tires because of the quick release tires and through the hole of the bike helmets so I don't have to carry helmets around.

Two OnGuard Rottweiler Armored cable locks: http://www.onguardlock.com/armoredcables/
They are too large and bulky to try and use on a normal ride unless you drape it over your shoulder. I had these for several years and secure the (e)bikes to each other on the vehicle bike rack when making a longer stop (out of sight stop) or when traveling out of town. Very easy to put on and I like they are so large and visible. Just a pain to store anywhere except in the trunk of a vehicle.

Xena XUL 210 with 110 dB alarm & Xena XSU-310 18mm u-locks
XUL-210: https://www.xenasecurity.com/xena-products/bullett-locks/xul102-alarmed-u-lock/
XSU-310: https://www.xenasecurity.com/xena-products/u-locks/xsu-310/

Most major U-bolt brands made for bikes all had an u-tube video on how to defeat them (picking locks, bold cutters, freezing locks, hammers, etc...). I couldn't find any info during my search for defeating the Xena U-bolts. It has a plastic coating to prevent scratching the paint and you must cut it twice to remove because of the lock design. Took my time on eBay and purchased both locks for around the same price of one Kyptonite New York Fahgettaboudit 18mm.

Xena XC-14 14mm 5 foot security chain: https://www.amazon.com/Xena-XC14-Xc14-150-14Mm-Chain/dp/B00GPBSO06/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1496149878&sr=8-2-fkmr0&keywords=Xena+security+chain

Way too thick and heavy for daily use around town. I whip this out if I'm really worried about an overnight stay at a hotel with the bikes on the rack (sometimes thieves target out of state vehicles at hotels). Any chain in the +14mm size seems to stop every tool in the thief's arsenal except a grinder. I figure the 14mm chain secured with the two 18mm Xena U-bolts along with the Boomerang GPS would give me time and alert me if there was an issue.

Dual Bike Cover (Amazon, $46): https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000WENDUS/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
I use this only with the bike rack if:
- I run into bad weather on the hwy
- keep the dew/frost off the bikes in the morning when on the vehicle rack
- if I need drive a ways on really dusty roads
- out of sight, out of mind overnight at a hotel

It only takes a few minutes to put on, large enough to encase both RR and Saris bike rack completely, and has translucent panels near both wheels for your brake lights. It also folds pretty small for easy vehicle storage (about the space of small twin size pillow). No way to secure the cover to the bike or rack unless to wrap everything in a +20ft cable lock.

Over50
1 month ago

I think putting under the seat or in a conspicuous location can really deter wanna-be thieves. Although, there are exceptions and some are fearless enough to yank it off, usually with tools to do so.
If it is hidden under the seat then it isn't a deterrent. If it is visible and is a deterrent then it needs to be locked to the bike. Ideally the hidden tracker also needs to be locked to the bike. If it is just a matter of a thief checking under the saddle for a tracker and removing it (velcro, magnetic) and tossing it then obviously it isn't going to be of much use.

LarsChr
1 month ago

Hi, I would just like to mention that I am currently using a RFV16 for my emotion EVO. It fits nicely in the place designated for GPS tracker in the EVO frame below the battery. GPS+GSM+GPRS. Needs clear view to get accurate position, if no GPS signal it provides coordinates for the connected base station. Can be controlled by sms, app or website. Batterytime not so good, but I am working on a solution as the evo model already have a cable from the battery made for this purpose.

Just Google RF v16 and you'll find it. It's also cheap.

mrgold35
1 month ago

I have two Boomerangs and one unit occasionally drops communications. It seems to work as normal after I hit the reset button. I just got in the habit of pressing the button once a week. I only put around 2000 miles on my bike; but, 20,000 on my vehicle. I sometimes remove my GPS tracker on my bike and place it inside my car (I have a 12v plug in my SUV hatch). I figure I'm paying for nation wide 24/7 coverage and I get multiple use from a single use item to make it cost effective insurance policy.

Over50
1 month ago

I looked into Trackimo's 3G GPS device and they included a belt strap and a magnetic attachment for this device. But I think it would suffice because of how tiny the tracking device is and how easily you can conceal it from the eyes of the thief. hehe ;);):cool::cool:

I'm not so sure. You can't hide it inside aluminum tubing as I understand that dampens the signal. Seems you'd have to stick it under the seat which is the first place a thief would look. An experienced thief is probably looking for obvious trackers. They just put a bike share program in place in my area and it is clearly marked that they are tracked via gps - I'll try to find out how/what device. I'm not sure I trust a magnetic only attachment either over rough terrain. I still think they need a device that locks the tracker on the bike.

By the way, my Boomerang stopped communicating for an unknown reason and I think they are sending me a new one - I'll post more once I know for sure.

Matt A
1 month ago

Matt - I was wondering if you received your GPS tracker yet? I think you were ordering from an Italian startup? My Boomerang has died so if I can't resolve it I might be looking for another option. If you have received it do you have any feedback/impressions on the product? Thanks
Hey, sorry to hear your boomerang died. I actually have not received my tracker yet but should be within the next couple weeks. My last update said it will be sent End of May/Early June. I ordered 2 of them, 1 for each R&M. I will let you know how it goes, when I get it I will certainly test it out and have someone 'steal' it so I can test everything out, as well as the motion detection

Over50
1 month ago

Matt - I was wondering if you received your GPS tracker yet? I think you were ordering from an Italian startup? My Boomerang has died so if I can't resolve it I might be looking for another option. If you have received it do you have any feedback/impressions on the product? Thanks

Barbara
2 months ago

Yes, I agree that needing a key to start would be a good idea. Maybe next year's model! The power switch definitely does help. I'm thinking of an alarm instead of a tracker. I also live in a very safe area/small town and don't really expect it to ever be out of my sight for any length of time in an area where other people aren't around. And I'm getting a Kryptonite noose, so really my question was more rhetorical than practical.

Mr. Coffee
2 months ago

A better design for the pedego battery pack would be if you needed to use the key to turn the battery on. The fact that there is a separate (and well-hidden) power switch on the battery pack makes it kind of challenging for someone who doesn't know how the bike works to do what you described.

And a GPS tracker for your bike is an excellent idea.

Oh, and I live in a pretty low-theft area (very small town) so all I use to lock my bike are hiplok z-loks http://www.hiplok.com/product/z-lok-grey/

Matt A
2 months ago

Wow this is intriguing. When you say the shop fixed it was that Propel? Or did you take it somewhere else? Did they give you a full explanation? I'm very curious as to what the problem was, what caused it to occur and how it was fixed. Any more info you have would be greatly appreciated. I haven't had any trouble with my Nuvinci yet but I'm only at 500 miles. I asked my LBS if they had ever worked on them. The mechanic told me he had successfully repaired the mechanical Nuvinci without too much trouble but had an electronic/automatic Nuvinci that was a major pain in the rear. And with that he said the Fallbrook Technologies was really hard to work with. Just one mechanic's feedback.

Regarding the speed: I'm still glad I got the 28mph version but I have learned that I could have lived with the 20mph bike for commuting. My commute has so much start/stop that I rarely find myself over 20mph. The other day I hit 27mph but it was for only a very short stretch. When I do have open road, I find myself usually cruising right around 20mph in Tour mode. I find myself wondering whether the higher torque but lower speed Bosch motor would have been a better choice for my commuter bike just in terms of efficiency and battery range. The HS Charger is a blast to ride so no regrets at all so I was just referring to what the most "efficient" choice would have been. Over my last few commutes, I've averaged about 2 hours and 10 to 20 minutes for the 35-36 miles or about 15+mph. I'd say I have a few sections where I can get the speed up and cruise but for the most part it is start/stop commuting.
I will certainly get some more information on what went wrong with the NuVinci. I had it fixed at Propel and spent the day in Brooklyn with family so when I picked up the bike I was very tired. I asked about what was wrong and everything but I will ask again in a way that will allow me to explain it to you. Initially I went to Firth & Wilson in Philly and he re-aligned the gear range rings of the Nuvinci which were out of alignment. For some reason, this actually made it worse and instead of spinning like a clown at 24mph i was doing it at 20mph. That guy told me the Nuvinci had to be reset internally but he didnt have time to do it. I had propel fix it so I will ask when I go there in a week or so to pick up my girlfriends bike, she got the same as you I believe. Charger GT Nuvinci HS in matte black, but she got dual battery as well. Can never have too much lithium!

It works great now at least! I am almost at 1000 miles now, but I ride the bike really really hard sometimes. Since my Nuvinci was messed up I was discouraged from working since speed helps me make more money, so I took it up and down some rough terrain and in the city at night was jumping off all of the driveway curbs like I did when I was a kid, only this time I was going 20+ mph. It was so much fun, the bike really can take a beating but I am not sure why this Nuvinci thing happened to me. I was thinking about the electronic Harmony Nuvinci one day, but Kyle at propel told me it isnt smooth and feels glitchy. My only motivation for it was the fact that my cables were frayed multiple times for seemingly no reason. The 2nd time it happened it was from over tightening the cable into the metal piece at the end.

I drive through Center City Philadelphia constantly, but I ride quickly and pedal hard/fast so I end up hitting over 20mph even if I am stopping and starting 1 block at a time. I just like the ability to travel at a speed that cars behind me really cant complain when there is only one lane or the million other situations that require riding in the car lane. Honestly, I mostly travel in the middle of the car lane because I jump red lights, only yield at stop signs, and don't want to get doored. Cars never complain, it usually only takes a couple seconds off the line to hit 15-20mph, I can be at 25+ by half a block when actually putting in real effort.

I don't think efficiency is changed much between motors, just depends more on how you ride I guess. Really I think the dual battery gives more than double the range of a single battery. I took a test ride one night in all Turbo to see how far I could go. Mind you, I was riding in all Turbo, with about a 225lb load on the bike between me and all my tools, water, supplies, and my 10lb Abus chain. I went 52 miles before the range said 1 mile left, I didnt run it to dead but stopped when the range said 1 mile. Also, I have the Supernova M99 Pro, and used it on high beam for most of the ride but pointed down because my tail light only turns on right now if I turn the high beam on the light. Remedying that with the M99 tail light. Anyway, with all that weight, electronic usage (including phone charging), and I frequently travel 25+, and also this was all in busy city stop/start riding, I amazingly went over 50 miles!

With regards to your speed, it sounds like you go faster than you think! At 2 hours and 20 minutes for 36 miles, thats an average of about 15mph if you never stop and just do 15 the entire time. With all the stopping and starting you are doing you must be going faster :)

I ordered a Nyon a while back and it took 4 weeks for German Customs to just cancel it and send it back. I tried again using Ebay this time for an extra $100 compared to the bike-discount.de price, and in just 4 days since shipment its already just a couple towns away! The guy shipped it the day after I ordered, and it went through the exact same German facility. With the Nyon I will have a ton more stats to help decipher where the wattage really goes! After I get that, my final 'upgrade' will be the Sherlock bike tracker when it ships in a few weeks. I am very excited to have the Nyon though, I feel like for a $7000 bike, it should have more than the Intuvia. The Intuvia is great, but minimalist. The Nyon is feature rich, but most likely still has some glitches. I just feel like it really completed the whole feel of having spent car money on a bike if the bike has a serious headlight, and a serious smart computer with GPS. Other than that everything has been great on the bike, the only thing I ever get jealous of is the suspension setup and fenders on the Moustache Starckbike, even though the bike as a whole is something I'd never choose.

P.S. The day after I did that 52 miles all turbo test, I had charged the bike fully and it showed a crazy 154 mile range in Eco.

Oh I forgot one thing to mention but then I remembered you have only 1 battery. Charging on the bike is weird, no matter how much I charge it, my Range in Turbo will only go up to like 38-40. When I charge the batteries separately off the bike using 2 chargers, it will then show me a 5-54 mile range estimate. However, when I begin a ride 'fully' charged but only showing 38 miles of range, I can go 20 miles and the range will still say 30. Really weird, can't figure out why! At first I thought the batteries were only charging to 80% on the bike, but now I'm see the range is just inaccurate, can't imagine why....

Jamfan
2 months ago

good device details. cheers! but still im good with my tracker now..im using a Trackimo 3G GPS tracker :)
think of getting this device....where do you attach it?

JayVee
2 months ago

I'd get the Sduro Hardnine 8.0 (rather than 7.0) because it has a GPS tracker included with E-Connect.

In any case, let us know what you end up buying. It's always interesting to hear about people's experiences.

mavis
3 months ago

Hi
Does anyone know which if any bluetooth .
fitness trackers are compatible with the Bosch Nyon system
Am aware that the polar H7 chest strap works but would like a waterproof wrist unit
that i can also use while swimming
rgds
ken

Robert W Green
3 months ago

Protecting our awesome and value electric bikes is always an issue so I wanted to share this info. There is a pretty cool device by a UK company available for direct purchase online called Spybike: http://www.integratedtrackers.com/GPSTrack/Spybike.jsp

Spybike cost $150-160 and comes in either a seat post installation, a taillight, or top cap in the handle bars. I have pasted info below on the handlebar version.

The Skybike is cool in that you can use you own SIM card with a pay as you go fee (not a monthly fee…as it is unlikely to use much data)

There is also a start-up out of Chicago (where I am from) called BikeSpike. It is a similar concept but looks like a water bottle cage….and with the BikeSpike you have a monthly fee for tracking….which can add up ($5 a month I think, but unit costs $129) http://bikespike.com

If theft is a concern for you…like in downtown Chi-town…you may want to consider one. I live in the burbs, and have accidentally left my garage open all night a few times without issue :)

Whenever I am in the city however I am totally paranoid because I know bike theft there is a big problem.

HERE IS THE INFO ON SPYBIKE:

What is it

Spybike is a covert tracking device that is hidden inside your bicycle steerer tube. The device is disguised to look like a normal head set cap to avoid suspicion. If someone steals your bike, you can use SpyBike to track their movements online and on your mobile

Free Online Tracking Service

Should your bicycle be stolen, this vibration activated tracker will begin uploading its coordinates to our free online service. You can log into the Tracking page and see where your bicycle was taken

Cheap to run

Install a pay-as-you-go SIM from your country. We do not charge for our tracking service. It is free to use.
The tracker does not send an SMS each time it uploads. Tracking is very cheap with only a small amount of data being sent during tracking

Anti-theft key

Spybike comes with a special installation key. This lets you install and remove the tracker

Vibration armed

When you lock your bicycle up, you can arm the tracker with your arming keyring. Should the bicycle then detect movement, it will send you an SMS to alert you. It will then automatically start uploading its position. You can then logon and track your bike.

GSM fallback

Should your bicycle be inside a building it may not be able to obtain a GPS lock. In this case it will fall back to GSM positioning. This is less accurate but will give you an indication of where your bicycle is until it can obtain a better lock

Battery

The tracker contains a rechargable lithium battery and comes with a charger. The tracker can go for months between charges so long as you remember to disarm the tracker before riding your bike

Covert

The trackers main defence is disguise. It is designed to look inconspicuous. It appears as a regular headset cap.

Configuration

Initial configuration is done by sending the unit SMS text messages. Once it is installed, you should not need to send it SMS messages again. It is armed and disarmed with your Spybike Keyring

SIM

Your tracker requires a SIM card. Since it will use very little credit it is usually most cost effective to buy a pay-as-you-go SIM and just top it up occasionally

Fitting

The Spybike tracker fits inside the steerer tube of your bicycle. You bike must have an "AHeadset" (it has a cap similar to the above photo). The tracker has a diameter of 23.5mm which fits steel, aluminiumm and most carbon fibre steerers. The tracker is 110mm long. This typically means your steerer must be minium 250mm long.
I have one of these and was never able to get it to get gps lock on. Only gsm data. The company is located in England so calling them was out of the question and my emails were never replied to. It is now doing a good imitation of a paper weight on my desk. If Court would like to have a go at it I'll send it to him to review. Maybe he'll get it to work. I really wanted it to work! Very disappointed!

mrgold35
3 months ago

I'm always torn between hidden compared to exposed GPS trackers. I would like to think an exposed GPS tracker with alarm would be less of a target for the average "opportunistic" thief. I really wouldn't want to confront a bike thief on the street or their home turf without law enforcement present. Considering the cost of some of these ebike, I'm surprised they don't offer cellular GPS tracking options hidden inside the bike and run power off the ebike battery. The GPS unit can have its own internal battery source (1-2 weeks of power); but, gets topped off when the main battery is connected and/or charging.

Matt A
3 months ago

Wondering if anyone has purchased a GPS tracking device in case some A-Hole decides to steal your bike? If so what is the best device out there? I'm looking into getting the SpyBike but seems a little too pricey.. ANy help would be appreciated.

http://www.spybike.com/

I bought a Riese & Muller Delite and want to do whatever I can to keep it from being stolen, so I researched gps devices for a long time, but no real solid product exists. Most of them have crappy tracking or have to text the device to find out its location.

I found a GPS tracker that goes inside your handlebar, and the head is an end cap to your bar so it can get a signal. They give you a matching one to put on your other end so it isnt suspicious to a thief (he'd have to be one smart thief). So the device charge lasts about 10 days, but that is because it does so many things right. The battery readout is on the app and to charge it you dont have to remove it! You just flip off the end cap piece and theres the port, so you can even charge it on your bike while riding if you had to.

https://www.sherlock.bike/en/

When you leave your bike you can put it into lock mode and it will tell you of any motion detection with your bike, and of course tell you if it has been moved. So you will know right away if it has been stolen and it gives real time satellite tracking when you turn on "theft mode" from the app. Essentially you could get in a car and find the bike even at it is going down the highway.

The app is really user friendly and simple. The product is made in Italy and is available for pre-order. It ships in May and I already paid for mine the other day. I have been tracking this product and it has great beta test results as well. I was watching it before the price was revealed and truly thought it would be a $250-$350 device. In total I paid $145ish but shipping was about $25.

I can't give a user review of course but it is definitely worth checking out. All the other products are pretty useless in the event a professional bike thief takes it. Spybike and Boomerang and others might work for if the town drunk steals your bike or some drug addict. I believe the Sherlock is the only device that would stand a chance, and still may be discovered by a good thief.

PedegoElectricBikes
3 months ago

Pedego’s growing family of fat-tire electric bikes are brash and bold as ever — with a size for almost everyone

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., March 22, 2017 — The original Pedego® Trail Tracker fat-tire trail bikes roared into the electric bike world two years ago bringing extra excitement to electric cycling. Pedego Electric Bikes today announced two new smaller-sized models of the Pedego Trail Tracker that will make bike riding on terrain as wild as sand, gravel or snow an exciting excursion for the whole family.

Available at Pedego stores and select electric bike dealers worldwide, the smaller Trail Trackers are specially sized and designed for smaller riders. These smaller 20” and 24” bikes round out the Trail Tracker line, which includes the original 26” Trail Tracker, a powerful bike that takes riders through all kinds of terrain for extra-exciting fun.

The Trail Tracker family is now available in three sizes to fit every member of the family:

· The 20” Trail Tracker — Designed for riders who are 4’11” to 5’3”. This bantam-sized Trail Tracker empowers smaller riders to zoom up and down the trail on exciting bike trips. Yet, the smallest of the Trail Tracker family is designed with safety in mind. It boasts a 36-volt, 11.6 amp-hour battery and is governed to a top speed of 12MPH — plenty of power to add thrills and fun while gentle enough for a less-experienced cyclist to manage. The bike’s throttle-only system allows riders to maintain manual control over their speeds. Available in striking matte black with neon orange rims, this rugged bike appeals to anyone seeking adventure.

· The 24” Trail Tracker — Designed for riders who are 5’4” to 5’9”. This feisty Trail Tracker is a little larger than the 20” Trail Tracker yet is designed to be more accessible than the larger 26” model. This size boasts the same advanced features as the larger bike, including a Pedal Assist LCD featuring Pedego’s exclusive PedalSense Technology™ — six levels of power that make automatic control of the bike more responsive than ever. The bike also has a throttle for easy manual control. Governed to a top speed of 20 MPH, the 36-volt, 11.6 amp-hour battery is a great fit for teens or smaller adults, providing plenty of power to keep up with bigger bikes while zooming up and down trails. Available in superhero-style matte black with matte black or shiny blue rims, this model is eye candy to all thrill seekers.

· The Original 26” Trail Tracker IV — Designed for riders over 5’5”. This sporty fat-tire bike is designed for riders over 5’5” tall who want to glide over sand, gravel or snow. This bike boasts 500 watts of acceleration and hill-climbing strength fueled by an integrated, down-tube 48-volt, 14 amp-hour lithium ion battery. Complete with LCD display and USB charging port, the Trail Tracker includes Pedego’s exclusive PedalSense Technology with six levels that make digital control of the bike more responsive than ever. The twist-and-go throttle adds instant speed for maximum command, and top-of-the-line SRAM disc brakes provide reliable stopping power. The bike’s enhanced frame geometry offers sporty handling and a relaxed, forward-riding position while leading the pack. Available in matte black with a choice of black, blue, red or green rims for extreme path appeal.

Riders will love the power and fun of these more-accessible Trail Tracker family additions. These high-quality electric bikes allow energetic riders to hop on and pedal away for exciting exploration and exercise, enabling smaller riders to zoom along with their taller friends and family members. Now couples and families can thrill to great journeys of discovery that will bring them closer. As cycling parents say, Families that tour together, endure together.

“Pedego is one of the only companies to offer smaller bikes. We aim to delight all our customers — of every size,” said Don DiCostanzo, CEO and co-founder, Pedego Electric Bikes. “The new low-set Pedego Trail Trackers are opening up the bike trails to more riders as everyone can ride along and make it a real family adventure.”

Pedego Electric Bikes also offers 10 “pedal or not” electric bike models, including cruisers, commuters, mountain bikes and specialty bikes including the Latch folding electric bike and Stretch cargo bike.

About Pedego
Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 10 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at more than 90 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

Hazzard0
2 weeks ago

Form over function. What a stupid bike!

Matt Walls
3 weeks ago

Indian red? racist!!!!!

Dianne Rosales
2 months ago

love it if only i could afford one I would get one in a heartbeat >.<

Viktoria
2 months ago

Every video of yours I watch, I see you always put your hand on their shoulder blade

Michigan Mister
2 months ago

do you provide lights like this "vintage" that have LED's, and I can incorporate (hardwired) into my e-bike? been searching all over without success. thank you!

Ed E.J.Shonka@cox.net
2 months ago

I love that bike I wish I could afford it

One Punch Man
4 months ago

What type of model is this?

Chemtrail Dreams
5 months ago

Anyone know where I can buy a headlight like that to wire into my bike?

Akbary Septianto
5 months ago

Indonesiaaaaaaaaa

Ван Ваныч
6 months ago

Красивейшая вещь. Просто восторг Молодцы ребята.

El Capitan
7 months ago

all e bikes are overpriced. buy a kit and DIY. buy an aftermarket front fork. don't be a sucker

adam damstr
7 months ago

available in uk??

ALI TURI
8 months ago

Hello how much this saycel

Ivan Zhong
9 months ago

5000 dollars really man just a motocyle

ElectricBikeReview.com
9 months ago

I don't make these, just create videos to help people understand and make a good decision. If you want to ride without a license and insurance, prefer a lighter weight bike, appreciate quiet and want to go on paths and places motorcycles aren't allowed then this is a good option. If you like unlimited distance and want off-road then a dual sport would be great, they make electric motorcycles now that are pretty cool too: http://amzn.to/2e0iFLN

Kiefer Shanks
10 months ago

I definitely will be considering one of these as my next city runabout. Amazing design and performance in a practical, sexy package. Will have to finance it though probably haha

Sean McAleavy
10 months ago

This guy is the most informed reviewer I have ever seen. Very well done. This kind of review should be the standard. Unfortunately, it seems to be an anomaly. Pity.

Kelvin Grover
11 months ago

do they sell these at walmart?

halfbrainj
5 months ago

Screw Walmart. They only sell cheap, one time use, and throw away stuff!!

Homey D. Clown
10 months ago

Fuck no! They're hand made/assembled.

Kim Wiltz
11 months ago

Love the video . What the cost?

Homey D. Clown
10 months ago

Pricing starts at $5000 plus add ons, which will increase to almost $7000!

ッ Dusken ッ
12 months ago

It says yes but the price says no.

John Kate
1 year ago

5000$ hahahah why not buy a motorbike instead then

Reece Lindquist
5 months ago

John Kate electric, bike lane, easier to transport, all the advantages of having a bicycle