Zeitgeist City Review

Zeitgeist City Electric Bike Review
Zeitgeist City 8fun 500 Watt Geared Hub Motor
Zeitgeist City Integrated Downtube Battery Protanium Samsung
Zeitgeist City Removable Magnetic Cycle Computer
Zeitgeist City 180 Mm Disc Brakes Qr Front Wheel
Zeitgeist City Carbon Fiber Seat Post 31 6
Zeitgeist City Front View Carbon Fork
Zeitgeist City Kickstand Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Zeitgeist City Custom Carbon Stem Integrated Display Lcd
Zeitgeist City Removable 48 Volt Battery
Zeitgeist City Torque Cadence Sensing Bottom Bracket
Zeitgeist City Tubro Ergonomic Grips Bar Ends
Zeitgeist City Electric Bike Review
Zeitgeist City 8fun 500 Watt Geared Hub Motor
Zeitgeist City Integrated Downtube Battery Protanium Samsung
Zeitgeist City Removable Magnetic Cycle Computer
Zeitgeist City 180 Mm Disc Brakes Qr Front Wheel
Zeitgeist City Carbon Fiber Seat Post 31 6
Zeitgeist City Front View Carbon Fork
Zeitgeist City Kickstand Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Zeitgeist City Custom Carbon Stem Integrated Display Lcd
Zeitgeist City Removable 48 Volt Battery
Zeitgeist City Torque Cadence Sensing Bottom Bracket
Zeitgeist City Tubro Ergonomic Grips Bar Ends

Summary

  • A Class 3 speed pedelec made entirely from Carbon fiber including the frame, fork, seat post, stem and handle bars
  • Powerful 500 watt planetary geared motor, 48 volt Lithium-ion downtube mounted battery (removable) with premium Samsung cells
  • Custom integrated LCD display panel that's removable paired with a wireless control pad, oversized hydraulic disc brakes with ebike specific levers to cut power and premium tires with Kevlar lining for durability
  • One of the more expensive electric bikes I've tested at nearly $8k, only available in one size, color and frame style, quality Shimano Deore XT ten speed drivetrain for a comfortable range of pedaling and nine levels of assist to match

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Zeitgeist

Model:

City

Price:

$7,999

Body Position:

Forward Aggressive

Suggested Use:

Road, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Worldwide

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

43.5 lbs (19.73 kg)

Battery Weight:

5 lbs (2.26 kg)

Frame Material:

Carbon Fiber Nano Tubes (Kevlar Inner Lining)

Frame Sizes:

18.9 in (48 cm)

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

White with Matte Black Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid, Carbon Fiber

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore XT

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore XT Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Lasco FR 660, Aluminum Alloy Bash Guard

Pedals:

VP-882 Plastic Platform, Black

Headset:

FPD

Stem:

Custom Carbon Fiber

Handlebar:

Flat, Carbon Fiber

Brake Details:

Tektro Auriga Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Dorado Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Tubro TS420 Ergonomic, Locking with Bar Ends

Saddle:

Selle Royal, Vented Gel Active

Seat Post:

Carbon Fiber

Seat Post Length:

250 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Brass Nipples

Spokes:

14 Gauge, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Energizer Plus, 28" x 1.75"

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

GreenGuard Puncture Protection, Reflective Sidewall Stripe

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Adjustable Length Kickstand, Front and Rear Racks from Thule, Thule Pannier Bags, Thule Front Basket, Optional LED Headlight, Aluminum Alloy Bash Guard

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Quanta Quick Release Front Skewer

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung, Protanium

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8.7 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

417.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

6 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

Integrated LCD (Removable Magnetic)

Readouts:

Pedal Assist (0-9), Battery Level, Speed, Odometer, Trip Distance

Display Accessories:

Wireless Remote Button Pad, LED Indicator on Battery

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist (Rides Like Cadence Sensing Assist)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Zeitgeist City is a premium, all-Carbon fiber speed pedelec. It’s an electric bike that can high 28 mph and only weighs ~43 lbs which is impressive given the 500 watt hub motor and 48 volt battery pack. At one point, I believe this model was being called the Zeitgeist by Karma Bikes but the company may have adjusted due to confusion with the Fisker Karma electric car… My experience testing this ebike was great because I could tell they put a lot of thought into the design (which is comfortable and well balanced). I especially liked the removable magnetic LCD display and optional wireless button pad because the bike still operates without it if you want to go for a minimal look and reduced weight but using it makes navigating the nine levels of assist possible without taking your left hand off the grip. The grips are also a highlight for me with a locking ergonomic design and unique Aluminum bar ends for changing hand position. The Zeitgeist City is a cross between a city and road bike from my point of view, the addition of rear rack bosses is great for those who plan to commute and want to add a set of panniers or trunk bag.

When you look at this thing from the side it almost looks like a normal bicycle, in large part due to the two-tone paint job, the battery disappears and the white glossy highlights create a safe visual footprint. It’s definitely an active geometry and there’s no suspension but to me Carbon fiber rides nicely and absorbs more road vibration than Aluminum and is lighter than steel. It comes with large hydraulic disc brakes and e-bike specific levers that cut power to the motor… my only complaint is the higher price point. I’m not sure I’ve seen anything out there with similar specs, high speed, low weight and cool appearance so the price is founded but a bit excessive. The other limitation is that it only comes in one sort of medium frame size with a relatively straight top tube that can make mounting and standing over difficult for shorter riders. This thing would be a blast to own for road cycling with friends in hilly or mountainous regions and could make an excellent commuter, rather than going with thin narrow tires they upgraded to ebike specific Schwalbe Energizer Plus that are puncture resistant and a bit more forgiving due to larger 1.75″ radius which makes a lot of sense to me.

Pros:

  • One of the only electric bikes I’ve tested that is almost completely made from carbon fiber! That includes the seat post, stem, handlebar and of course the fork
  • Considering the large 48 volt battery pack and 500 watt motor this bike is pretty light weight and handles very well because that weight is kept low and relatively centered across the frame
  • I really like the custom stem with integrated LCD display panel… that’s removable! I’m seeing more custom panels these days but very few let you take them out (to prevent tampering and exposure to the weather), well thought out design
  • Pedal assist is very responsive, I was told it’s torque based but it responded almost like a cadence sensor for me (not requiring as much force when pedaling) maybe it’s just dialed in to be very sensitive
  • Class 3 speed pedelec capable of hitting 28 mph fairly easily due to the light weight efficient design and larger 700c wheelset, it’s satisfying to accelerate or cruise at top speed
  • Quality tires with reflective sidewalls for safety and integrated puncture protection, the quick release front wheel makes changing flats or moving the bike in vehicles easier
  • Large, powerful hydraulic disc brakes with ebike specific extended levers that cut power to the motor instantly when activated, they worked well and felt sturdy at high speed
  • Zeitgeist offers optional Thule rack accessories but the City frame also features threaded eyelets on the seat stays for adding a more traditional rack that could work with a trunk bag and panniers for commuting, I like that the bike also comes with a kickstand (which is removable if you want)
  • Almost all of the wires are run directly through the frame on this bike and it looks great, they are exposed at the bottom bracket but this might make tuneups and maintenance easier, there’s a convenient disconnect point near the motor for rear wheel maintenance
  • Quality drivetrain (shifters and derailleurs), Shimano Deore XT components are light weight, designed to stay tuned and offer high performance

Cons:

  • Currently the Zeitgeist City is only available in one frame size with high-step design so this might not be a fit for super tall or petite riders
  • Extremely expensive at nearly $8k but it does perform well, look great and is likely a very exclusive ebike, there are regular pedal powered bikes that cost this much which are also custom carbon fiber frames so I get it
  • No drop bar option for those who prefer an even more aggressive body position but it did ride more like a road bike, I like the ergonomic locking grips and bar ends for changing hand position
  • No integrated lights on this bike, considering the frame is custom designed it would have been cool to see an LED based lighting system running off the main battery vs. having to add your own
  • The wireless button pad is easy to reach (to adjust assist level or cycle through display modes) but requires its own batteries vs. being run off the main pack with one tiny extra wire, I was told the battery should last two years and is easy to change, you can completely remove the buttons if you want and use a single button below the stem as a backup which is cool
  • The included pedals are very basic, not as wide or rigid as some of the magnesium platforms I’ve seen from Wellgo but this choice might have been made because many people have their own or use clip in options at higher speed

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Zeitgeist Reviews

Zeitgeist Cargo Review

  • MSRP: $5,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sleek and stylish city style electric bike with high-end aftermarket racks by Thule (Pack N' Pedal series) available in one 19" high-step frame size and one metallic gold color. Larger than average hydraulic disc brakes are smooth and offer good stopping power if you're…...

Cameron Newland
2 years ago

No rating for this bike?

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Cameron, I’ve been testing the site without ratings because I feel that a single number/stars isn’t deep enough to communicate the variety and year differences between bikes. I’m focusing on deeper videos with more pros/cons instead :)

Reply
Stu Berman
1 year ago

Hi Court, the more that I look at all the e-bikes out there, the more interested I am in the Zeitgeist, but the one size fits all approach does concern me. I’m 5’8″ and I think you said elsewhere that you’re 5’9″. How well do you think the Zeitgeist fit you, especially as compared to other e-bikes?

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Stu! It’s difficult to remember exactly as the review was done quite a while back and I test so many bikes. As average sized people I feel like both of us would fit this bike just fine, there are little adjustments you can make with the seat post height and handlebar but if you start replacing stuff it could interfere with the electronics or weight (the included Carbon fiber stem and bars are much lighter). If you like the bike I think you could make it work… it’s designed to fit the highest number of people, the peak of the bell curve and I feel like you’re right there.

Reply
Fencible
1 year ago

Hi Court, Thanks for a great site and awesome reviews. Did you notice if it looked possible to fit fenders to the Zeitgeist?

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Fencible! I bet it’s possible but may require some custom work… and even then, finding parts that match and can be attached without too much rattling while still being solid (especially important at high speeds) could be difficult and expensive. I looked closely at some of the pictures and didn’t see support arm bosses or the standard holes often used for bolts and mounting tabs (perhaps I was missing them). Hope this helps guide you, I think the short answer is no, it’s not really optimized for adding fenders but you could use a seat post mounted rear fender like this or a carry rack to keep water off your back since it does appear to have seat stay bosses.

Reply
Robert Crivelli
11 months ago

Where can I purchase a zeitgeist city electric bike? Any information is gladly appreciated

Reply
Court Rye
11 months ago

Hey Robert! I’m not sure which shops have it but you could reach out to one of the team leads at the company. His name is Kartik and his email is kartik@zeitgeist.bike hope this helps!

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

BallzOne
3 hours ago

17.4 minimum. ($1,998) I can't get more than 15 good miles (2hrs) out of my 12.8 ah battery. I've disabled the S mode and usually need to ride in 1 or 2 mode at speeds 15-18mph to avoid burnout. Battery level 90-70% ticks down faaast from home to bike path. The motor starts to sputter under 4 bars. It makes it hard to take it on a long weekend ride or even a little embarrassing when the motor quits out on you in traffic. At 12.8ah it's a toy/entry level and only good for city commuting half day at most.

atm, Juiced is out of stock of 17.4 ah (@ $999 or +$350) I wished these were compatible at these prices. https://www.biktrix.com/collections/accessories/products/integrated-battery?variant=54012486165

That seems odd to me. If you're saying that 7.5mph for 2 hours drains your battery to empty then I'd say you have a battery or charger issue. Or you're climbing mountains in Colorado with throttle only.

I'm in Texas on flat ground and weigh 150lbs but here's my stats on the 12.8. 19 miles @18mph avg all in eco used 2.9Ah, 17 miles @22mph avg all in #1 Boost used 4.3Ah, 17 miles @24mph avg all in #2 Boost used 5.3Ah, 9 miles @27mph avg all in S Boost used 4Ah, and 29 miles @21mph avg in 1/2 eco and 1/2 #1 Boost used 7Ah. By my estimate I should be able to ride ~80 miles at 18mph avg in all eco mode on a full battery. Hardly a toy to me.

itsaulgoodman
3 hours ago

beleive it or not, we have a design that is about 40ish pounds 20kmph with suspension that is street legal for EU, with smartphone connection, gps and all those gizmos, that with slight adjustment (in the user configuration) can switch between a bike for the city and open roads.

Color me interested! Please do provide more info when available.

Filip
3 hours ago

Very lofty goal your team has set there, designing a bike that "will fill most if not all of everyone's needs and desires". Sounds like you are in the marketing department! I'll pass on the survey, but my desire would be a 30 pound, 28mph full suspension road bike, 75 mile range, for around $1,000. LOL
beleive it or not, we have a design that is about 40ish pounds 20kmph with suspension that is street legal for EU, with smartphone connection, gps and all those gizmos, that with slight adjustment (in the user configuration) can switch between a bike for the city and open roads

I would like to add that the lofty goal is not really possible, but it grabs the attention. We are not trying to do something that is going to revolutionize the industry (although it could be nice if we did), the goal is to combine the features people enjoy the most. The questions themselves may not seem that they give us the needed information, but I assure you that we have plans and calculations and ideas on how to transfer those seemingly meaningless questions in to concrete work.
Thank you for your time.

bluecat
5 hours ago

Here the detailed description:

There are varieties of the Twinner E1:

City (as shown)

Hardtail (with FOX fork)

Lady frame

Blue colour

I'm surprised about the echo after my post. This bike will be only sold at Thömus HQ in the mountains near Bern / Switzerland. But as mentioned above, Thömus Veloshop it the "mother" - company of myStromer. Magnus Almgren, the designer of the first Stromer, works still at Thömus. The distance between Thömus HQ and Stromer HQ is only a few minutes, if you ride a Stromer. No doubt, people know each other. With all this in mind, I've published the Twinne E1 to show how ideas float and grow.

1/1
ebikeHIgh
5 hours ago

17.4 minimum. ($1,998) I can't get more than 15 good miles (2hrs) out of my 12.8 ah battery. I've disabled the S mode and usually need to ride in 1 or 2 mode at speeds 15-18mph to avoid burnout. Battery level 90-70% ticks down faaast from home to bike path. The motor starts to sputter under 4 bars. It makes it hard to take it on a long weekend ride or even a little embarrassing when the motor quits out on you in traffic. At 12.8ah it's a toy/entry level and only good for city commuting half day at most.

atm, Juiced is out of stock of 17.4 ah (@ $999 or +$350) I wished these were compatible at these prices. https://www.biktrix.com/collections/accessories/products/integrated-battery?variant=54012486165

JayVee
7 hours ago

25 km
Also, anyone else think that rear cassette is a little odd for a commuter style of e-bike? Why would one a large climbing ring that large on a city commuter with a powerful pedelec motor? I barely ever use the largest one on mine, and it's much smaller than that. In fact, I had to increase the size of my front ring because I was finding the gear spacing was too tight and shifting all the time was getting annoying.

Because it's designed for use in a country that's located in the heart of the Alps...

itsaulgoodman
7 hours ago

Also, anyone else think that rear cassette is a little odd for a commuter style of e-bike? Why would one a large climbing ring that large on a city commuter with a powerful pedelec motor? I barely ever use the largest one on mine, and it's much smaller than that. In fact, I had to increase the size of my front ring because I was finding the gear spacing was too tight and shifting all the time was getting annoying.

Filip
14 hours ago

Hello everyone.
What makes an electric bike smart, well me and my colleagues decided that we need to tackle that question and that is why I am writing this post, because me and my colleagues need your help. We are working on an electric bicycle that will fill most if not all of everyone's needs and desires when it comes to ebikes. The survey is part of the project at the Mechanical Engineering Faculty of Skopje.
We are developing at least an idea for better ebikes, different versions for individually owned bikes, and at the same time we are developing a city wide system with power grids, bike parks, renting and so on....

I would like to note that I want to focus everyone's attention to the matter of the survey, not the way its conducted, because it is a little buggy, and to improve what the characteristics and give people what they really want and need.

https://form.jotformeu.com/72855963719372

(alternative survey version https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdpn3TYh647v76eQtwLF-FNpFA0NOWU64LfYerELVX-NU_XIw/viewform?usp=sf_link

P.S. If there is any questions you do not understand you can just skip it (sometimes the site mixes the languages up, it is multilingual after all)
P.S. 2 The last question is really a free comment, any ideas are welcome. Anything and everything will be considered
P.S. 3 It would also be great if we can start a discussion here as far as any ideas you could give us. It would really mean a lot to us all.
P.S. 4 if you choose the first link just click on the text that seems Russian (it's actually Macedonian), it will go to the next question.

Beyizzer
16 hours ago

Hey!!! I'm pretty new to ebikes, just kinda bought a convert-to-ebike kit on a whim, and weeks later figured out a way to buy a battery. bike worked fine for a week with minor complications but now the bike suddenly stopped working and even in a big city i guess no one wants to help fix it for money, so i've dived into something that is completely do-every-single-little-thing-completely-by-yourself. For anything else like that, forums are always my go to, and once i got stuff figured out i'll help everyone else along as well.

Curt Gerston
2 days ago

Yeah that is interesting, and a little frustrating...I’d like more access without concern for annoying the powers-that-be. I did a lot of riding this summer with an emtb, most of it on forest service roads (no issue obviously) and several mtb trails put in unofficially by locals on forest service land that, I guess, is ignored and/or tolerated by the USFS. So again, I guess not really an issue. I tried not to draw attention to myself, but I’m looking forward to a time when I don’t have to feel like I’m trying to ride under the radar. Meanwhile, I’ve found that not only the state, but the local cities and counties all have different rules for trail riding...I can’t ride in King County parks (Seattle) but I can in Pierce County (Tacoma). So I’ve tried to abide by that...with a few early morning exceptions ;-)

Most of those bike stores I mentioned are selling urban/leisure/comfort/hybrid e-bikes, and Seattle seems to be fine with that...WA state is essentially following CA's rules on classifications, though I don’t think it’s been as officially codified into our laws yet. At any rate, I don’t feel I have to hide what I’m doing while riding in the city streets, and most people are curious and friendly. Seeing more and more ebikes in Seattle. Feels like just a matter of time before they seem common here.

TForan
2 days ago

Other than that , the bike seems really good. Total novice to E-bikes but it's a lot of fun. Great in town with bad city streets.

CoachDennisGreen
4 days ago

Holidays, weekends, international shipping all takes time. 10 days works for me.

For the past week, my FedEx tracker has shown it would be here Monday, October 16. However, my Ultra was loaded on the truck just one city away at 6:05am this morning and the tracker changed to arriving today. But it never showed. I guess they loaded the truck for their Monday deliveries. Dang it!!!

bob armani
4 days ago

"only 5'7"?" I'm only about 5'. The EVO Street may be too small for you and in that case the EVO City Step Thru is the next size up.

As for the weight issue, I really don't know what is practical. Some people suggest a 500W motor and 48v battery combo for heavier folks, which is not available in the EVO Street or City versions.
Hello Power Me- Are you discussing the 'Easy Go Street'? Looks like that is the bike displayed in your member photo. Just wanted to clarify. Thanks!

redalexx
6 days ago

My wife and me we bought the bikes in the same month.
While I'm commuting she is using it for short ways in the city with the kids and the trailer.

After 4 month the purion showed the message "CHANGE DISPLAY BATTERY" while shutting of the system.
Well after another 4 or 5 days we coundn't switch on the system any more.

After changing the batteries (2x CR2016) the system worked again ....... for one day. Guess what? System doesn't work again!

So the dealer called the Bosch hotline:
If you change the CR2016 batteries you must wear gloves, else the batteries can go empty or due to greasy skin the batteries can discharge in the purion.

Nice to know, right?

ace20ri
6 days ago

Thanks for those photos.

How many TPI for the Origin8 you installed, 30TPI ?

They are 30TPI

@ace20ri Great looking Yukon! I checked out your post "Customized Voltbikes", and you have definitely taken the bike to a new level. Those Supercell tires would definitely be the first thing I change if I go with the Yukon. How do they hold up against punctures and what PSI are you running them at? What motivated you to go tubeless and where did you get the black liner? Can I also ask what your commute is like? Distance, road surface, grades, etc. Sorry for all the questions.

Thanks for checking out the post. I only have 125 miles on the Origin8 Supercell tires but so far but no punctures yet.. I have had 5 flats on my rear wheel in the past 4 months so this last flat I decided to go tubeless. I am still messing around with the PSI setting, but right now I run them at 18PSI, with a max of 20PSI possible. I ordered the Origin8 liners from Amazon (hyperlink attached). My commute 25mi/day is all paved road (both asphalt and concrete) with about 300 feet of elevation. I live in Silicon Valley in California so we have great bike lanes but depending on the city the lanes can have lots of debris due to the lack of street sweepers. I am itching to try them out on the beaches here.

Alex M
6 days ago

... now I've located a much lighter bike although it is a one-speed. Here is the link: https://ebikebc.com/product/ultra-light-foldable-e-bike/. Goes for about $900 US bucks.
{Ebikebc} It's only 29 lbs with the battery.
Its battery is tiny.
Also, I would stay away from unknown Chinese brands. It does say "BC", but.... Vancouver is where the majority of the BC province is living in, and this beautiful city is populated predominately with Chinese, these days. Several companies selling knock-offs from Taiwan and mainland China.

Mike Nemeth
1 week ago

Hi Roland, I also had problems with the front fork lock out. It work at first but now doesn't seem to lock out. I also disassembled the top and it seems there is nothing you can adjust since it only has a pin or button on the top of the cylinder that is depressed by the switch on the handlebar. I tried to adjust the cable but to no effect. Can I ask you what part Dave sent you? Driving on the city streets I would have it in the lock out position and off road released the lock out. The farthest I've ridden is 38 miles and like you I still had battery left. Thanks.

PCDoctorUSA
1 week ago

Currently living on O'ahu and have been commuting 8 miles each way into Honolulu on my Trek FX 7.2 fitness bike for the past 2 years due to economic necessity (one-car family) and to preserve my sanity (Honolulu ranks 8th for most traffic-congested city). The terrible roads here have taken a toll on my bike: 3 flats and 3 broken spokes so far. However, I can still beat the city bus home and I never sit in traffic.

Having well exceeded membership age for AARP, my daily bike commute isn't getting any easier and ebike could help keep me in the game longer and hopefully make it more enjoyable. I was looking at the usual fare of commuter ebikes and knew I needed a strong geared hub motor for some of the hills on my route. The last mile home is an average 5% grade ascent, which makes for a great descent going to work (40.8 mph coasting record to date). I was looking at the Prodecotech Phantom XR and more recently Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S, but then I started reading about commuters using fat-tire ebikes.

To make a long story short, the Yukon 750 Limited has made it to the top of my shopping list due to pricing, rider reviews and the quick response I've received from George Krastev to my questions. Now, I'd like to hear back from any Yukon 750 commuters out there to get their feedback and hear of their personal experiences and whether or not they would buy the bike again.

Mark Peralta
1 week ago

Hello!
i have a round trip commute of 34 miles (total). The road is mostly flat. I am looking for a fast class 3 bike that also offer offroad mode, that allows me to ride faster than 28 miles limit.

any recommendations?

thank you

With your kind of application where you ride 34 miles round trip, mostly flat road at speeds faster than 28 mph, that would require enormous energy (30+wh/mile). You will need a 1,000 watt-hour+ battery and you will need a robust hub drive capable of sustained 500+ watts without overheating (a mid drive will just shred your drive train prematurely).

You are right, the ebike that has that potential is the Crosscurrent S with the biggest battery option 1008 watt-hour (42v 21ah)

Or the Stromer with 983 wh battery.

Other ebikes have smaller batteries but they are still capable for the range but you have to slow down a little bit with average speed somewhere in the 22-24 mph to reduce your battery consumption to about 22wh/mile. Or you can bring a charger with you so you can charge up before going back home. These are the other ebike options with smaller batteries.
Magnum cruiser

Ohm

Smartmotion

Bulls outlaw E45

Easy motion Nitro

Magmun Metro plus

Vintage

These are just some of your options. Note that some ebikes will cut the power above 28 mph while other will not.
Source: https://electricbikereview.com/category/speed/

Over50
1 week ago

Hi!

...How are the 24inch wheels? ...
Also, are we missing any possibilities for transporting kids (must be able to haul 2 kids, and we prefer a longtail to a box bike, so that limits us)...

I have a human powered bike with 24 inch wheels (Tern Eclipse with wider Schwalbe tires) and I think they are great for a city bike primarily used for hauling groceries etc (mostly what I use mine for). For two kids and cargo did you check out the Tern GSD videos? From Court's Interbike video, it looks like they thought of just about everything when they designed that bike (dual battery, high weight limit, 2 kid capable, stand-up storage, highly adjustable...).

Stromer2work
1 week ago

Texas, awesome. I moved to ATX from Grosse Pointe in 2007 and moved back in 2016 because my job dried up due to government over-regulation and other economic factors. There's a non-bike path route which are more direct, but I'm going to do the "mostly" bike path route, knowing that the legislature is legalizing Class1, 2, and 3 eBikes on paved trails. I have a couple or three sketchy intersections or roads to navigate thru but what can be done? I'll take it easy and won't scare any pedestrians or other cyclists, as well as signaling when passing but crank hard as I can on the lone stretches. I doubt I'll see any significant traffic on the trails on the way in (6am) except maybe for some early runners, but the way back could have some traffic, especially in the prime weather months.

When I commuted by Mt. Bike back in early 2000 from GPF to SCS, it was all city streets and sidewalks with no bike lanes. ATX was a short 5 mile ride from my house to my office with a large shoulder on Parmer Ln, but traffic was going 50 ~ 65 MPH and I didn't like that. We shall see what this new commute holds for me. It's good to see that Detroit is adding infastructure. The infastructure here in Gainesville FL is incredible, I just don't like the weather and there's many other personal reasons for wanting to come back to MI like family, friends, a home that didn't sell this fall, etc.

Yes we should get together sometime. Also for human powered Mt Biking on the many great state parks and metro parks.

SuperGoop
1 week ago

Glad to see someone using a hanging rack for an ebike. I already have a Thule 3-bike rack with a total weight capacity of 105# (3 bikes at 35#). I figured the rack would be just fine supporting just one ebike and keep me from having to buy another expensive rack for ebikes. I'm getting ready to purchase my first ebike and the Yukon 750 Limited is currently at the top of the list. Was considering the Rad Rover, but Rad Bikes wants $400 to ship the back to Honolulu. Voltbike said total shipping for their Yukon to Honolulu would be $120. That's more like it!
Yep, loving the rack also. I have taken my Yukon 750 on this rack many times on highways, bumpy parks, stop-and-go city traffic. Not a single issue with it. It is rock solid. I have a rear dashcam in my car, and I can see that it is rock solid over all driving conditions.

See Post #70 on this thread for more pictures and write-up.

Ravi Kempaiah
2 weeks ago

I have a Haibike Trekking model that came with front forks that I just installed a 29er carbon fork on today (along with a carbon stem and bars). Only a few miles ridden so far but the front feels pretty soft / low on harsh vibrations. I did increase the tire from the 32 or 42mm to 51mm / 2" but have the pressure pretty high right now. I'm just trying to gage if the front suspension forks are more about marketing or real world street riding quality. I understand that large impacts will always be absorbed better by a fork but when urban riding those are infrequent and can be dealt with by just body movement.

A good fork with 35m stanchion/air channel (< 2kg weight) can be very useful if the riding conditions are harsh. But for city riding, not so much.
I ride my Stromer ST2 with Big Ben tires at 29-30psi. They feel better than the cheap Suntour fork on the Haibike trekking model. The non-speed version of the Trekking has RockShox paragon, which is a decent fork but the speed version of the bike has a heavy, useless fork.
I did increase the tire from the 32 or 42mm to 51mm / 2"
Thought you had a Super Moto X tire?! I would say your setup with a carbon fork and 2.4" Super Moto X would be a great choice.

Dewey
2 weeks ago

I'm curious what the community thinks now about their city/town cycling infrastructure. Are we making any progress?

We just had the results of a survey published for cycling in Arlington, VA. I was surprised 90% of female respondents were dissatisfied with the number of bike lanes, Arlington has pretty good bike infrastructure for the US, an active county govt-cyclists advisory group, a community youth bike program, a trail-separated learning loop for children learning to ride, and commuter trail snow removal, but only two short stretches of protected bike lanes so maybe that's what drove that answer. They also asked folks to select what type of bike lane they would like to see more of, the bike lane painted green is relatively new here but I've found it valuable for legitimizing riding through busy intersections and I'm looking forward to it being used to help fix a particularly difficult intersection that once was used by streetcars, then had a roundabout that was removed, and is presently a large open paved game of frogger for pedestrians and cyclists.

Richard Day
2 months ago

Too rich for my blood

Lysle Basinger
2 months ago

Others bikes offer more for less.

MarvFIT
3 months ago

for 8000 i much rather get a stromer

enzo
10 months ago

Can you pop a wheelie on these bikes?

Amit fortus
1 year ago

is this bike actually available or is it just a concept?

Mike Vincent
2 years ago

It's actually on sale right now at touch of modern: https://www.touchofmodern.com/sales/zeitgeist/zeitgeist-city

Question: Is the display readable in the dark? Does it illuminate?

Dmc ScotinCali
2 years ago

where r u? looks amazing

William Lam
2 years ago

Great review. Nice looking bike ... But I really don't see how this thing is priced at $8K. They will sell a ton at $4K, but at $8K, it's only gonna be a store display.

odetoazam
2 years ago

+William Lam It's not gonna be the final price. Its better to price higher and test price points. 4k is too low though.

Rob Schmitt
2 years ago

7999$. This is more expensive than a car. I would ride an electric bike with 45 km/h limit. But these bikes are starting at 4500€.

Christopher Moltisanti
2 years ago

+Rob Schmitt China will clone these soon enough,I predict we'll see versions of this style next year for under $2000.

BIKESTER INC.
2 years ago

+Rob Schmitt you're spot on. Our average street price in the US will settle at $5k-$6.5k for the limited edition selling on ToMo. I think the there are two electric bike markets in the US- the value and the designer. This might fit the latter.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Rob Schmitt Yeah, it's one of the pricier options I've seen... I've reviewed a few other speed pedelecs (with a few being cheaper) back at the site: http://electricbikereview.com/tag/speed/ the new 2016 Turbo is ~$3k and goes ~26 mph (~42km/h)

Jappe Kapanen
2 years ago

ok thank you for the answer

Stephen Cho
2 years ago

The cross current from juiced riders has similar specs with the same battery for $1500. You could buy 5 of them plus a spare battery for 8K. The owner of this company certainly ain't thinking about the masses.

odetoazam
2 years ago

+Stephen Cho I dont think advertisers are thinking about the masses either. #thinkniche

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Stephen Cho Yeah, I'm excited to test the Cross Current very soon :D

William Wonder
2 years ago

I'm surprised the electric firms aren't making more recumbents. Logic would dictate this is the real market, older riders who need assistance to ride like a young man and they are going recumbent. Ya, I know about Bionx and it appears to be a good system.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+William Wonder Hi William, here's one amazing recumbent with full suspension and regeneration! Very cool in my opinion: http://electricbikereview.com/hp-velotechnik/scorpion-fs-26-s-pedelec/ maybe we'll see others like it in the future made with Carbon fiber like the Zeitgeist City :D

дмитрий трофимов
2 years ago

Im   sorry! what about price? 7 hundred bhu bhu bhu bhu dollars. HOW MUCH PLZ???

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+дмитрий трофимов The price is $7,999 which I mention in the video and list back on the website: http://electricbikereview.com/zeitgeist/city/ hope this helps :)

Flo Mo
2 years ago

Fascinating! The future of e-bikes? Again a great video. I'll start saving money. :)

Kartik Ram
2 years ago

+Elya Cornovier Get this bike at a limited sale on #Touchofmodern
https://www.touchofmodern.com/sales/zeitgeist/zeitgeist-city

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Elya Cornovier Yeah, neat to see a completely custom frame like this and the attention to detail with the display unit :)

Gardener Rob
2 years ago

Very impressive looking bike,  looks like it would be very light and agile.

Kartik Ram
2 years ago

+Gardener Rob Get this bike at a limited sale on #Touchofmodern
https://www.touchofmodern.com/sales/zeitgeist/zeitgeist-city

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Gardener Rob Yeah, it rode great... very fast and responsive when pedaling.

JeMasLT
2 years ago

Good work dude.
Make some video with Tips How to care electric bikes. When to clean what to change and so on :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+JeMasLT Good tip, I'll work on something like this but here's one I shot a while back with a shop owner: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aFLIGRj2bxU

David Macdonald
2 years ago

it's nice , but just to much cash , make a bike for the masses , out of quality parts , that would do more for E bikes, community.

David Macdonald
2 years ago

Thanks all have a look .

Kartik Ram
2 years ago

+David Macdonald Get this bike at a limited sale on #Touchofmodern
https://www.touchofmodern.com/sales/zeitgeist/zeitgeist-city

David Macdonald
2 years ago

Thanks .

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+David Macdonald I've been trying to list more of the affordable models at the site to make them easier to find, check it out: http://electricbikereview.com/tag/affordable/

Jappe Kapanen
2 years ago

Is that bike able to add some kind of front suspension??
Maybe less than 120mm???

Jappe Kapanen
2 years ago

+Kartik Ram Ok Want to see that when it's finished

BIKESTER INC.
2 years ago

+Jappe Kapanen We are considering putting a SRAM RS-1 front fork with 100mm of travel as it can get pretty bumpy out there.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Kartik Ram Kartik, if you're going to comment on videos please answer the question that the user is asking (in this case about suspension) vs. spamming the flash sale

Kartik Ram
2 years ago

+Jappe Kapanen Get this bike at a limited sale on #Touchofmodern
https://www.touchofmodern.com/sales/zeitgeist/zeitgeist-city

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Jappe Kapanen I would think so, SR Suntour makes a few minimal suspension forks like this... they aren't as light as a carbon fork but they are still slim and you get 100 mm or so. I'm reviewing one other Zeitgeist ebike and it does have a suspension fork (but the frame is Aluminum vs Carbon).

benjamin Ofuasia
2 years ago

RIP wallet

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+benjamin Ofuasia There's room for improvement to get there, especially with similarly priced bikes like the Specialized Turbo S and Stromer ST2 with competing specs and perhaps better performance but not quite as light weight.

benjamin Ofuasia
2 years ago

i see it, but all i can think of it trying to fit in with are bikes like the S-Works Demo 8 or the Santa Cruz V10c

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+benjamin Ofuasia Ha! Yeah... but there are still normal bicycles for this price so I can see how it's trying to fit into the market. Maybe just above what I can afford ;)

benjamin Ofuasia
2 years ago

8 grand

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+benjamin Ofuasia Yep O_O