A2B Ferber Review

A2b Ferber Electric Bike Review 1
A2b Ferber
A2b Ferber Shimano Alivio
A2b Ferber Rear Rack
A2b Ferber Display Panel Grips Button Pad
A2b Ferber Chain Guard
A2b Ferber Disc Brake Rotors Front
A2b Ferber Kickstand Pedals
A2b Ferber Remote Button Pad
A2b Ferber Removable Battery Pack
A2b Ferber Electric Bike Review 1
A2b Ferber
A2b Ferber Shimano Alivio
A2b Ferber Rear Rack
A2b Ferber Display Panel Grips Button Pad
A2b Ferber Chain Guard
A2b Ferber Disc Brake Rotors Front
A2b Ferber Kickstand Pedals
A2b Ferber Remote Button Pad
A2b Ferber Removable Battery Pack


  • Relaxed urban cruiser with quiet resposive motor, removable battery pack and excellent warranty
  • Premium upgrades including ergonomic grips, fenders, chain guard, suspension fork with lockout, rack and integrated LED lights
  • Rear heavy design, rear wheel is more permanently fixed (lacks quick release for maintenance), display panel is not removable

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers







$2,399 USD

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Commuting, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes


5 Year Frame, 2 Year Electronics and Battery


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

48.5 lbs (21.99 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.2 lbs (2.35 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)20 in (50.8 cm)

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

White, Silver, Black

Frame Fork Details:

HL CH-140 Suspension with 75 mm of Travel and Lockout

Attachment Points:

Fenders, Rear Rack

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Alivio

Shifter Details:

Trigger Shifter on Right Handle Bar


Aluminum Alloy Platform with Rubber Grips


Adjustable Angle


Upright Townie, North Road Style

Brake Details:

Tektro Aurigia E-Comp Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotor on the Front and 160 mm Rotor on the Rear


Ergon GP1 with Lockers


Comfort with Rubber Bumpers


Double Walled, Aluminum Alloy

Tire Brand:

Kenda, 26" x 1.95"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewalls


Full Length Fenders with Mud Flaps, Chain Guard, Rear Carry Rack, Front and Rear LED Lights, Bell on Left Handle Bar, Kickstand on Left Side


Removable Battery Pack Charges on or off Bike and Includes Lock, Brake Levers Cut Power to the Motor, Named after Ferdinand Ferber, a pivotal contributor to aviation development in Europe.

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Ultra Motor

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

35 Newton meters

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8.8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

316.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

5 hours (Reach 80% in Two Hours)

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

55 miles (89 km)

Display Type:

Backlit LCD


Speed, Odometer, 3 Levels of Assist, Battery Voltage

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad (On Left Handle Bar) (On Left Handle Bar)

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist Three Levels: Economy, Standard, High, Uses a TMM4 Torque Sensor

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Ferber is new A2B electric bike model for 2015 that comes at a more affordable price point but still delivers quality components, efficient motor systems and chic design features that the company is known for. A2B has been a pioneer in the American electric bike space since 2008 when it launched the iconic A2B Metro (Jay Leno and Leonardo DiCaprio even picked them up). By comparison, the Ferber is less powerful but much lighter and easier to mount. It uses standard sized 26″ wheels, a traditional rear rack that accommodate most bags and panniers and is available in two sizes including 17″ and 20″ to suit a wide range of users. To me, the bike looks very ordinary at first glance but upon closer inspection the Ergon ergonomic grips, slim display panel with break-out button console, hydraulic disc brakes, suspension fork with lockout, removable battery, LED lights (which run off the battery), adjustable stem and stylized chain guard leave an satisfying impression.

The motor driving the A2B Ferber is a 350 watt gearless direct drive hub located in the rear wheel. Its aluminum casing is wider than equivalent sized geared hub motors which diminishes the stealthy look that the rest of the bike maintains, but the benefit is very-quiet operation. It’s made by Ultra Motor, produces 35 Newton meters of torque and feels quite good when riding. During the video review shoot I was suprised just how good it does feel despite the average size watt rating of 350. I think the TMM4 torque sensor adds to the powerful, zippy feel it offers because it’s a higher-end responsive sensor. A downside to this whole setup is that if you get a flat tire or need to work on the rear wheel there’s no quick release system in place and the torque sensor makes re-installing the wheel a bit more delicate than a standard hub.

Also located at the rear of the bike is a removable Lithium-ion battery pack that’s sandwiched between a lower set of rack rails and an upper rack platform. it offers 36 volts of power and 8.8 amp hours of capacity which is about average in the world of ebikes. I love that the battery pack is removable, can be charged on or off the frame for convenience (or to lighten the frame during transport) and includes a keyed locking core for security. The other neat thing about the battery setup is that it powers the front and rear LED lights. That means you won’t need to waste individual AA cells or worry about charging multiple items on the bike.

Operating the Ferber and navigating through its three levels of pedal assist is intuitive and physically easy thanks to an independent button pad located on the right side of the handlebar. This pad has three buttons that let you turn the bike on, change display modes and navigate assist levels all the way down to zero which keeps the display active (like a cycle computer) but turns the motor off. The brake levers also turn the motor off whenever you pull them and this is a nice safety feature even though the system is torque activated and most people cease pedaling when they need to stop. The display panel that shows your speed, distance, battery level and assist settings is located front and center just above the adjustable stem. the size is impressive and I love how thin it and the button pad are. It swivels forward and back to help you reduce glare on sunny days and it’s backlit for evening and nighttime use. The one downside is that it’s not easily removable which means increased wear and tear.

To be completely honest, the first time I saw the Ferber I was unimpressed. It seemed kind of generic… another entry into an already crowded (and price competitive) section of the ebike market. Sure, it’s from a reputable brand but how much would it cost? Urban and city style ebikes are plentiful but the five year warranty (two year on battery and motor systems) and all of the nice features, colors and sizes convinced me that the Ferber really does offer something special. I think it’s worth paying a little bit extra to get these kinds of features and support vs. a budget model and considering that A2B is now a part of HeroEco (a larger ebike conglomerate) it’s a safe bet. There are ebikes out there that offer better climbing and wheel accessibility with mid-drive systems but most are significantly more expensive. The real benefit of this rear-hub design is just how quiet it is and how zippy it feels no matter which gear you’re riding in. I also enjoyed the comfort saddle, hybrid tires and suspension fork with lockout.


  • Solid warranty with five years on the frame and two years on everything else including the battery pack
  • Available in three colors including black, white and silver as well as two frame sizes including 17″ and 20″
  • Uses standard sized 26″ tires (replacements and tubes are more plentiful and affordable) and comes with upgraded Kendas that feature reflective sidewalls
  • Front and rear LED lights are positioned well, the headlight is aimable, and are powered off of the main battery pack for convenience
  • Full length plastic fenders include mud flaps, chain guard is of higher quality, rear rack uses standard gauge tubing for widest compatibility and has little metal loops welded to the bottom bars for latching down panniers (great attention to detail)
  • Battery pack is fully removable and includes a keyed lock, the pack can be charged on or off the frame for convenience
  • The display panel is large, backlit, easy to read and convenient to interact with thanks to the button pad
  • Overall satisfying ride, the eight speed Shimano Alivio cassette isn’t the highest end component group but it climbs well enough and provides good cadence at 20 mph
  • Motor feels powerful and responsive thanks to the TMM4 torque sensor, it operates very quietly and is durable due to the gearless direct drive configuration


  • The gearless direct drive motor is larger and heavier than an equally rated geared offering and this weight adds to the rear-mounted battery for an overall rear-heavy design
  • The rear wheel requires wrenches and tools to remove for servicing wheels and tires, the TMM4 torque sensor is also located at the rear dropout so re-installing the wheel can be more sensitive and possibly require a shops help
  • The display panel is not removable which means it is may take more damage from natural elements or vandalism depending on where you park


More A2B Reviews

A2B Kuo+ Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Improves on the standard Kuo with smoother cadence sensing pedal assist, a larger motor and battery and upgraded drivetrain using Shimano Alivio vs. Shimano Tourney. Low weight distribution, removable battery is easy to access, fenders rack and lights look good…...

A2B Galvani Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High-step urban cruiser with quiet resposive motor, removable battery pack and excellent warranty. Premium upgrades including ergonomic grips from Ergon, fenders with double supports, alloy chain guard and…...

A2B Shima Review

  • MSRP: $3,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy step-through frame, strong smooth motor and higher top speed of ~28 miles per hour. Commuter ready with front and rear LED lights, fenders, rear rack and lots of reflectors...

A2B Alva+ Review

  • MSRP: $3,400
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Stylish frame with front and rear fenders, disc brakes, lights and a suspension fork for added comfort. Powerful 500 watt direct drive (gearless) rear hub motor is quiet and durable...

A2B Kuo Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Light weight, affordable and feature rich with fenders, light and computer. Offers both twist throttle and pedal assist mode for increased range...

A2B Octave Review

  • MSRP: $3,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Smooth, strong ride with solid frame, dual suspension and large gearless hub motor. Beautiful design featuring integrated cables, matching fenders and front and rear lights...

A2B Velociti Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Elegant design features integrated wires, fenders and lights with matching seat and grips. Front shock and larger tires smooth out the ride, adjustable neck for varied positioning...

A2B Metro Review

  • MSRP: $2,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Full suspension, forward positioned pedals and comfort seat make this bike feel like a Vespa scooter. High power 500 watt gearless rear hub motor provides torque and speed without a lot…...

Martin Van Nostran
3 years ago

Great review as always, Court. Thanks! Saw this in the local bike shop and enjoyed the ride but could find very little on it on the web until your fine review. Thanks again!

3 years ago

Thanks Martin! I’ve got some more A2B reviews in the works that should be out soon. Glad the review helped you, ride safe out there!

3 years ago

A2B are the most dishonest, careless companies I have ever encountered. Those bikes are death traps! Literally. They go out of control when the torque sensor repeatedly fails. Lucky I wasn’t thrown onto a busy road. They don’t care about fixing it. You have to pay to send it back, then comes back just as broke. Give a load of guff about their bikes being sold on websites they don’t approve of, eg Amazon, means they can totally void all warranty. Liars. They’re running a dangerous and illegal scam. Cheap faulty rubbish from the far east. Everything on it failed. Literally, everything. At least once.

3 years ago

Wow! That really sucks Coran, thanks for sharing your experience here. I had a negative experience with A2B recently myself and it’s disappointing to see one of the earliest most iconic electric bike companies (at least in the US) falling short :(


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

2 weeks ago

Interesting; I thought, A2B was a trademark of UltraMotor. Then it seems as Ultra Motor ran into bankruptcy, their business was taken over by TDCM. The firmware used by UltraMotor made me the impression to be a legacy of the BionX firmware. In the beginning, Stromer used such firmware.

So, a non-Stromer replacement motor could work with the Stromer display unit (because the 36V battery is free accessible). Does this fit with your experiences?

Ann M.
2 weeks ago

Glad to help, Lisa. Even though Bike Mart is not a Stromer dealer, they should be able to connect with Stromer about parts & technical details. Although a visit to Austin at this time of year is pretty, I do suggest you skip it this weekend and the next. We're in the midst of a huge set of conferences & music with SXSW held in the downtown district and by LadyBird Lake, so finding somewhere to park or even manage the IH35 traffic near there is going to be difficult. Also, Rocket Electric is going to be on overdrive handling ebike rentals during the festival.

At this time, Electric Avenue does not have an on staff electric bike repair person, they send out the work to someone else, their focus is really more on the gas scooters they sell. Rocket Electric has several techs on their repair team, a couple that I've spoken with that are quite knowledgeable.

You can also call Stromer and see if they could arrange a repair via a Velotech repair team in your area; however, I think this would be more expensive than finding a competent electric bike shop to do the work. Please feel free to reach out to me if you need help on this; I've been working in the ebike industry for 17 years in the Austin area.

As a former A2B/UltraMotor dealer, we had the same issue come up years ago and the replacement motor was a significant improvement.

3 weeks ago

you will to need to send the fob in along with display to A2b - the fob has a sealed battery and they cost £25 each to replace and pair with the display

Ann M.
3 weeks ago

Court travelled to London to visit Fully Charged, a phenomenal electric bike shop. Started 4 years ago by Ben, looking for alternative way to get around, this London shop is located in a unique building full of charm & history and a kick butt coffee shop. Many of the top brands that we know and some American brands like Vintage Electric grace the showroom with lots of test ride bikes.

Fully Charged has been selling electric bikes in London (and other parts of the UK) since 2014. We were invited to visit their main stor and take a tour. In this video, I fly from Denver Colorado USA to London, take a train, and meet Ben at the store to look at some of their ebikes and film reviews. The very first Fully Charged outlet was in a tube station (the subway) and they have since expanded and brought on more brands.

Fully Charged carries the following brands:
- Riese & Müller
- Moustache
- Vintage Electric
- Raleigh
- Tern
- Gocycle
- Urban Arrow
- A2B
- Haibike
- Butchers & Bicycles
- BH Easy Motion
- Coboc
- Desiknio

After a tour around the shop, we visited the London Bike Show and met Dan Parsons who was the first employee of Gocycle (doing quality and safety testing) and has been working in the ebike space since 2008. He is head of operations now and will be helping with the Fully Charged Barge initiative, a floating demo station that will give people in London a way to discover and test electric bikes in 2018. Official Website is: https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=P30D7e61TY2OwTFH4zYrffTdAvt8MTUxOTg4MzE5OEAxNTE5Nzk2Nzk4&event=video_description&v=ZNXdmUMVYA0&q=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.fullycharged.com%2FOfficial Instagram: @FullyChargedUK Shop Address is: Globe House, 37 Bermondsey Street, London, SE1 3JW The music used in this video is from Be Svendsen, used with permission. You can visit their Soundcloud page to listen to more tracks at: https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=P30D7e61TY2OwTFH4zYrffTdAvt8MTUxOTg4MzE5OEAxNTE5Nzk2Nzk4&event=video_description&v=ZNXdmUMVYA0&q=https%3A%2F%2Fsoundcloud.com%2Fbesvendsen

1 month ago

I bought a Pedego Interceptor with the larger, 48v 13 ah battery three weeks ago and love it. Great power, great fit and finish and quality parts. Put over 100 miles on it. Only issue is I accidentally twisted the throttle once, so I bought the Crampbuster, which lessens that possibility. Very I,pressed with Pedego’s customer service; the shop owner drove the bike to my home in his cargo van. Also, Pedego mailed me a nice goodie bag with reflective wear, water bottle, rain poncho and a license plate holder that says, ”My other ride is a Pedego Electric Bike.”

1 month ago

Yeah Ann is right . Shifters especially those entry level ones are very cheap. You can ask from a2b and if they ask you to pay for shifter i advise you to look on ebay or if time isn't an issue you can search on aliexpress too (guess will be cheaper there) .

Ann M.
1 month ago

Actually, lot's of them, @rich c ;). BionX, Ohm, Voltbike, Emmo, Daymak just to mention a few.

@JohnCO, from what I can find; Court hasn't done a review of the current Velec ebikes; however, there is some info at https://electricbikereport.com/tag/velec-electric-bikes/ from Sept. 2017 that includes the Velec products. It appears that Velec became a distributor for the Hero Eco ebikes, the A2B and intro level Fast4Ward bikes for Canada in 2012. Since A2B ceased business in the US a year or two ago, I don't know if Velec is still selling them in Canada.

Big Possum
1 month ago

I have a 2 yr. Old a2b alva+ that the handlebar twist gear shifter has failed. Having trouble finding parts. Any help appreciated. No dealer near me Ft. Lauderdale, Fl.

2 months ago

Gday mate
Are u from A2B ?
I emailed your office in UK asking if you have a mod to remove the speed limit on my bike but didn't get a reply? Is there any way to remove the speed limit ?

3 months ago

I was not fan of where the assist levels are located the turbo levo (along the side of the down tube),so I invested in a garmin remote so that I could change the assist level from the handle bars. It worked fine except there was no visual of the assist level to be observed. I solve that problem by downloading a piece of Garmin software (for my Garmin 1000 Edge cycle computer) that picked up the visual of eco, trail, etc. as well as providing whatever else I chose to display on that screen (speed, distance, etc). The remaining button on the remote allowed me to move forwards and backwards thru different screens. I also found a beam rack that fit my seat tube while still allowing me to control the dropper and clearing the rear tire. Here are some links for same:


Amazon: https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N6F41E1/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o06_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

5 months ago

Ohh lucky i read it. I am newbie to e-bike and love the looks of a2b but seems bike isn't as goods as it looks. I find a second hand a2b and owner tells me similar situation about being careful when climbing hills. I still want to buy but now i feel little bit worried.

Josh Levinson
1 year ago

Would you recommend the a2b bikes (specifically the metro)?

86 and still kicking
1 year ago

We have a used A2B Ferber and Galvani that is under $2K. I can make you a good deal as these are demo units but with very low mileage and in great condition. Visit our website at http://www.velocitycommuting.com to see info on the bikes. 1K is a very tough budget for a quality ride.

86 and still kicking
1 year ago

Look at an A2B Galvani or Ferber at $2K. Great comfortable bikes, well built, with good warranties. Customers of ours who have purchased them from us have been very very pleased.

Ann M.
1 year ago

@heather muller, I took a look at the Ferber manual link (I'm assuming that this is the A2B bike that you have) and the "C" is a controller error related to how the torque sensor reads your pressure on the pedals, thus effects the speed. I'd check all of the basic connections to the motor & console & battery and make sure you're not leaning on the pedals before the system boots up. So do a basic reset. If that doesn't solve the issue then contact your shop or http://www.wearea2b.com/us/contact, you may need to get service on the torque sensor.

heather muller
1 year ago

I went down to ride my A2B to work this morning but there was an error code in the display and I couldn't get it to turn on. Under speed it said, "16E" and there was a large "C" in the center.

I some information on the Ferber manual (http://www.wearea2b.com/assets/files/uploads/Ferber_EN_September_2014_screen.pdf page 16) but nothing of how to fix it.

The bike is about 10-11 months old - of course the bike shop where I purchased it is closed today and I leave for out of town tomorrow.

Any ideas what's wrong? How to clear?

Tara D.
3 years ago

Very neat stuff from A2B-
The Entz will be for sale in January 2016 and has a 250 watt continental drive system with belt drive and NuVinci Harmony automatic shifting variable transmission! Very nice that the tail light is on the battery so no additional wiring to the back.
Two new prototypes A and B which are more about affordability with a standard chain drive, cassette and a Shengyi moto and a rack!
Alva+ featuring a new slimmer 17 ah battery which dealers can upgrade to
A2B is still continuing some of their most popular models Octave, Galvani, Ferber, Alva+ and Kuo+
A testament that the A2B bikes are very well made and durable in fact the Octave Alva+ and the Ferber have been used as rental bikes. Really nice 2 year warranty on the bikes. This year they are using a mounting system on the bikes and were able to mount an ABUS folding lock.
Here is Courts video from Interbike with Kyle from A2B

Melissa M
3 years ago

Thanks to both of you for the advice. I was actually at The New Wheel yesterday afternoon but didn't try out the Kahlkoff, bummer! I'll head back there again to give it a try.

I'm not sure if I'd want a low step but I'm open to it. I tried out the A2B Ferber and liked it because it was so comfortable and easy to ride but I feel like I may prefer something that feels more like my roadbike, which is why I enjoyed the Felt Sport-e so much.

I'll check out the Kahlkoffs and Pedegos over the next week and report back. Thanks again for the suggestions and explanations, it's been a huge help!

3 years ago

If you like modern design, we have 2 great vendors who will be on hand this Saturday with their high end e-bikes. One of them is BESV who will be with us in full force showing their PS1 and LX1 e-bikes from South Korea.

A2B e-Bikes will be with us as well with their SHIMA, OCTAVE , GALVANI, FERBER AND ALVA+ models.

perf b
1 year ago

I have had an A2B 2015 Galvani and 2016 Ferber, and like the design and rideability, however the reliability of the electrical is not great. The control would go into error mode if you were standing with the bike and rolled it backwards slightly, and error mode would popup randomly while riding. Each time you have to stop and reset the battery on the back. Then a battery died and the dealer tells me there is a 6 month wait on getting a replacement! Unbelievable. Am looking at Kalkhoff/Bosch now.

3 years ago

Have you ever considered reviewing some of the direct from China electric bikes on aliexpress? I would think a company there would be open to sending you one for review. There are torque sensing pedal assist bikes for under $1,500 after shipping which is less than anything available in the U.S. as far as I can tell.

3 years ago

+Mickey Mouska Great point, ProdecoTech delivers higher quality components at relatively low prices but their frame balance isn't great (that will change soon) and they lack assist right now. I'm excited to see what they've got in store and agree that their warranty is solid. It's also nice that they do a lot of their work here in the US vs. importing which allows them to continually adjust and improve the designs.

George Sears
3 years ago

+griswald You'd have to go with a kit at that price. Falco has a kit. I think Electric Cyclery sells it. There's a cheap XMK kit sold through Aliexpress. People do these kits, but you might find a shop to do some of it. 

Find an ebike dealer, rather than fixing a price or setting down a list of requirements. There are used bikes, Demo bikes, sales, etc. 

Most of the ebikes are ridiculously expensive. A basic bike with a throttle does 95% of what an ebike offers. But you want good tires, brakes and wheels, a good frame. Batteries are expensive and kits don't tend to include the batteries.

Most people who become motivated to try ebikes find a way to do it, if they like riding an ebike. The expensive bikes really blur the appeal. Most people will say "That is just out of reach". But there are good ways to do it on a budget and you learn more by just taking the time and doing it. 

And there are basic ebikes around $1500. There are problems going too low. You want to know what you are buying, whether kit or compete ebike. Home Depot and Sams sell a really cheap ebike, Yukon Trail, but there is no info on it anywhere. Someday there may be a decent bike at Costco or Walmart, but the focus now is expensive bikes. I don't know how they will sell bikes like this for $2500 if Walmart ever carries a decent bike for $1000.

3 years ago

That's a good idea! Currently I'm overloaded with domestic bikes to review but I would like to get more of the affordable models into the mix including some of these online import ones. It comes down to time and hassle. I spend a lot of energy on reviews and nobody really pays me for that... I have some advertisers (I invite companies I trust) but it only goes so far. If I review a bike and it goes out of business that's no fun or if someone imports it and has issues that's a bummer too so I mostly stick to proven US companies.

3 years ago

Where are there US dealers that sell pedal-assist (torque sensing) bikes for $1,200, with lipo battery included? I don't want to become an importer, but when the price from China appears to be 50% cheaper, it becomes pretty hard to justify buying in the U.S. Lots of people have been happy with the throttle wheel-conversion kits that are around $200 to $500 (mostly depending on battery type)... but I'd really prefer pedal assist with a quieter and more efficient rear hub motor. Right now the only U.S. domestic options appear to start at $2,500, but mostly average in the $3,000 to $5,000 range. The ~$1,200 versions direct from China seem pretty appealing in comparison.

George Sears
3 years ago

You can get US dealer or online bikes for about that price. If you want to go really low consider a kit and conversion. Not really worth it to be your own importer. What if some little part is Chinese proprietary and you have to track it down?

This is a nice bike but the US market has so many bikes like this, at this price, something has to give. I guess we are all waiting for millions of units a year in the US. It's not like the web reviewers are  Consumer Reports, where they buy the products and have no ties to the companies. It would be nice If Consumer Reports did review electric bikes, and compile reliability ratings for them, but this is a tiny little industry with way too many companies involved given the units sold. Most buyers should look for a company with half a chance to be around in 18 months. 

I like my electric bike, but it's basic, throttle only, and low end. I'll wait and see what has worked out in two years, or go back to a non-powered bike. 

Zed Bowman
3 years ago

This bike looks a lot like my kit bike.  I have a black women's Manhattan Smoothie with a Golden Motors 1000 watt gear less motor,  I powered the motor with the 48 volt battery.  I have neurological problems and my balance is poor.  This low step style of bike is very, very easy to mount and has kept me riding on two wheels. My bike is not pedal assist but has a throttle with a cruise control.

Zed Bowman
3 years ago

+Electric Bike Review I agree the frames are very large and with the wide beach cruiser type handlebars I think they are just too big and heavy for me.  Ditto on the battery...it would be better if it were lower.

3 years ago

+Zed Bowman Wow, that's awesome! I've rented the Cruisers and owned a Step-Thru City Commuter. The frames are just so large... but also beautiful. If they could bring the batteries down and into the frame like the Faraday Porteur I'd be very impressed :)

Zed Bowman
3 years ago

+Electric Bike Review
Yes, I have and it looks pretty nice.  In the past I have owned two Pedego's and the best thing about them is their frame designs.  I had a men's Comfort Cruiser and then I bought a women's Comfort Cruiser frame and switched the components.  I personally think the Pedego are the best looking.

3 years ago

Sounds like a cool setup Zed! I agree that the low-step design improves accessibility... Have you seen this new one from Pedego? http://electricbikereview.com/pedego/boomerang/

Max Pizarro
3 years ago

Great review!  What are your top 5 commuter electric bikes? 

3 years ago

Hi Max, I was impressed with the Ferber but also like the Easy Motion EVO Eco and their Neo City and Street from last year. There's a bike called the E-Joe Anggun that's pretty nice and more affordable. One of the most beautiful is the Faraday Porteur and one of the meanest looking is the new Grace MX II Urban. Here's the full list that I've reviewed: http://electricbikereview.com/tag/city/