A2B Ferber Review

A2b Ferber Electric Bike Review 1
A2b Ferber
A2b Ferber Shimano Alivio
A2b Ferber Rear Rack
A2b Ferber Display Panel Grips Button Pad
A2b Ferber Chain Guard
A2b Ferber Disc Brake Rotors Front
A2b Ferber Kickstand Pedals
A2b Ferber Remote Button Pad
A2b Ferber Removable Battery Pack
A2b Ferber Electric Bike Review 1
A2b Ferber
A2b Ferber Shimano Alivio
A2b Ferber Rear Rack
A2b Ferber Display Panel Grips Button Pad
A2b Ferber Chain Guard
A2b Ferber Disc Brake Rotors Front
A2b Ferber Kickstand Pedals
A2b Ferber Remote Button Pad
A2b Ferber Removable Battery Pack

Summary

  • Relaxed urban cruiser with quiet resposive motor, removable battery pack and excellent warranty
  • Premium upgrades including ergonomic grips, fenders, chain guard, suspension fork with lockout, rack and integrated LED lights
  • Rear heavy design, rear wheel is more permanently fixed (lacks quick release for maintenance), display panel is not removable

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

A2B

Model:

Ferber

Price:

$2,399 USD

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Commuting, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

5 Year Frame, 2 Year Electronics and Battery

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2015

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

48.5 lbs (21.99 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.2 lbs (2.35 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)20 in (50.8 cm)

Frame Types:

Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

White, Silver, Black

Frame Fork Details:

HL CH-140 Suspension with 75 mm of Travel and Lockout

Attachment Points:

Fenders, Rear Rack

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Alivio

Shifter Details:

Trigger Shifter on Right Handle Bar

Pedals:

Aluminum Alloy Platform with Rubber Grips

Stem:

Adjustable Angle

Handlebar:

Upright Townie, North Road Style

Brake Details:

Tektro Aurigia E-Comp Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotor on the Front and 160 mm Rotor on the Rear

Grips:

Ergon GP1 with Lockers

Saddle:

Comfort with Rubber Bumpers

Rims:

Double Walled, Aluminum Alloy

Tire Brand:

Kenda, 26" x 1.95"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewalls

Accessories:

Full Length Fenders with Mud Flaps, Chain Guard, Rear Carry Rack, Front and Rear LED Lights, Bell on Left Handle Bar, Kickstand on Left Side

Other:

Removable Battery Pack Charges on or off Bike and Includes Lock, Brake Levers Cut Power to the Motor, Named after Ferdinand Ferber, a pivotal contributor to aviation development in Europe.

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Ultra Motor

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

35 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Sony

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8.8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

316.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours (Reach 80% in Two Hours)

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

55 miles (89 km)

Display Type:

Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Odometer, 3 Levels of Assist, Battery Voltage

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad (On Left Handle Bar) (On Left Handle Bar)

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist Three Levels: Economy, Standard, High, Uses a TMM4 Torque Sensor

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Ferber is new A2B electric bike model for 2015 that comes at a more affordable price point but still delivers quality components, efficient motor systems and chic design features that the company is known for. A2B has been a pioneer in the American electric bike space since 2008 when it launched the iconic A2B Metro (Jay Leno and Leonardo DiCaprio even picked them up). By comparison, the Ferber is less powerful but much lighter and easier to mount. It uses standard sized 26″ wheels, a traditional rear rack that accommodate most bags and panniers and is available in two sizes including 17″ and 20″ to suit a wide range of users. To me, the bike looks very ordinary at first glance but upon closer inspection the Ergon ergonomic grips, slim display panel with break-out button console, hydraulic disc brakes, suspension fork with lockout, removable battery, LED lights (which run off the battery), adjustable stem and stylized chain guard leave an satisfying impression.

The motor driving the A2B Ferber is a 350 watt gearless direct drive hub located in the rear wheel. Its aluminum casing is wider than equivalent sized geared hub motors which diminishes the stealthy look that the rest of the bike maintains, but the benefit is very-quiet operation. It’s made by Ultra Motor, produces 35 Newton meters of torque and feels quite good when riding. During the video review shoot I was suprised just how good it does feel despite the average size watt rating of 350. I think the TMM4 torque sensor adds to the powerful, zippy feel it offers because it’s a higher-end responsive sensor. A downside to this whole setup is that if you get a flat tire or need to work on the rear wheel there’s no quick release system in place and the torque sensor makes re-installing the wheel a bit more delicate than a standard hub.

Also located at the rear of the bike is a removable Lithium-ion battery pack that’s sandwiched between a lower set of rack rails and an upper rack platform. it offers 36 volts of power and 8.8 amp hours of capacity which is about average in the world of ebikes. I love that the battery pack is removable, can be charged on or off the frame for convenience (or to lighten the frame during transport) and includes a keyed locking core for security. The other neat thing about the battery setup is that it powers the front and rear LED lights. That means you won’t need to waste individual AA cells or worry about charging multiple items on the bike.

Operating the Ferber and navigating through its three levels of pedal assist is intuitive and physically easy thanks to an independent button pad located on the right side of the handlebar. This pad has three buttons that let you turn the bike on, change display modes and navigate assist levels all the way down to zero which keeps the display active (like a cycle computer) but turns the motor off. The brake levers also turn the motor off whenever you pull them and this is a nice safety feature even though the system is torque activated and most people cease pedaling when they need to stop. The display panel that shows your speed, distance, battery level and assist settings is located front and center just above the adjustable stem. the size is impressive and I love how thin it and the button pad are. It swivels forward and back to help you reduce glare on sunny days and it’s backlit for evening and nighttime use. The one downside is that it’s not easily removable which means increased wear and tear.

To be completely honest, the first time I saw the Ferber I was unimpressed. It seemed kind of generic… another entry into an already crowded (and price competitive) section of the ebike market. Sure, it’s from a reputable brand but how much would it cost? Urban and city style ebikes are plentiful but the five year warranty (two year on battery and motor systems) and all of the nice features, colors and sizes convinced me that the Ferber really does offer something special. I think it’s worth paying a little bit extra to get these kinds of features and support vs. a budget model and considering that A2B is now a part of HeroEco (a larger ebike conglomerate) it’s a safe bet. There are ebikes out there that offer better climbing and wheel accessibility with mid-drive systems but most are significantly more expensive. The real benefit of this rear-hub design is just how quiet it is and how zippy it feels no matter which gear you’re riding in. I also enjoyed the comfort saddle, hybrid tires and suspension fork with lockout.

Pros:

  • Solid warranty with five years on the frame and two years on everything else including the battery pack
  • Available in three colors including black, white and silver as well as two frame sizes including 17″ and 20″
  • Uses standard sized 26″ tires (replacements and tubes are more plentiful and affordable) and comes with upgraded Kendas that feature reflective sidewalls
  • Front and rear LED lights are positioned well, the headlight is aimable, and are powered off of the main battery pack for convenience
  • Full length plastic fenders include mud flaps, chain guard is of higher quality, rear rack uses standard gauge tubing for widest compatibility and has little metal loops welded to the bottom bars for latching down panniers (great attention to detail)
  • Battery pack is fully removable and includes a keyed lock, the pack can be charged on or off the frame for convenience
  • The display panel is large, backlit, easy to read and convenient to interact with thanks to the button pad
  • Overall satisfying ride, the eight speed Shimano Alivio cassette isn’t the highest end component group but it climbs well enough and provides good cadence at 20 mph
  • Motor feels powerful and responsive thanks to the TMM4 torque sensor, it operates very quietly and is durable due to the gearless direct drive configuration

Cons:

  • The gearless direct drive motor is larger and heavier than an equally rated geared offering and this weight adds to the rear-mounted battery for an overall rear-heavy design
  • The rear wheel requires wrenches and tools to remove for servicing wheels and tires, the TMM4 torque sensor is also located at the rear dropout so re-installing the wheel can be more sensitive and possibly require a shops help
  • The display panel is not removable which means it is may take more damage from natural elements or vandalism depending on where you park

Resources:

More A2B Reviews

A2B Kuo+ Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Improves on the standard Kuo with smoother cadence sensing pedal assist, a larger motor and battery and upgraded drivetrain using Shimano Alivio vs. Shimano Tourney. Low weight distribution, removable battery is easy to access, fenders rack and lights look good…...

A2B Galvani Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High-step urban cruiser with quiet resposive motor, removable battery pack and excellent warranty. Premium upgrades including ergonomic grips from Ergon, fenders with double supports, alloy chain guard and…...

A2B Shima Review

  • MSRP: $3,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy step-through frame, strong smooth motor and higher top speed of ~28 miles per hour. Commuter ready with front and rear LED lights, fenders, rear rack and lots of reflectors...

A2B Alva+ Review

  • MSRP: $3,400
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Stylish frame with front and rear fenders, disc brakes, lights and a suspension fork for added comfort. Powerful 500 watt direct drive (gearless) rear hub motor is quiet and durable...

A2B Kuo Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Light weight, affordable and feature rich with fenders, light and computer. Offers both twist throttle and pedal assist mode for increased range...

A2B Octave Review

  • MSRP: $3,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Smooth, strong ride with solid frame, dual suspension and large gearless hub motor. Beautiful design featuring integrated cables, matching fenders and front and rear lights...

A2B Velociti Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Elegant design features integrated wires, fenders and lights with matching seat and grips. Front shock and larger tires smooth out the ride, adjustable neck for varied positioning...

A2B Metro Review

  • MSRP: $2,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Full suspension, forward positioned pedals and comfort seat make this bike feel like a Vespa scooter. High power 500 watt gearless rear hub motor provides torque and speed without a lot…...


Martin Van Nostran
4 years ago

Great review as always, Court. Thanks! Saw this in the local bike shop and enjoyed the ride but could find very little on it on the web until your fine review. Thanks again!

Reply
court
4 years ago

Thanks Martin! I’ve got some more A2B reviews in the works that should be out soon. Glad the review helped you, ride safe out there!

Reply
Coran
3 years ago

A2B are the most dishonest, careless companies I have ever encountered. Those bikes are death traps! Literally. They go out of control when the torque sensor repeatedly fails. Lucky I wasn’t thrown onto a busy road. They don’t care about fixing it. You have to pay to send it back, then comes back just as broke. Give a load of guff about their bikes being sold on websites they don’t approve of, eg Amazon, means they can totally void all warranty. Liars. They’re running a dangerous and illegal scam. Cheap faulty rubbish from the far east. Everything on it failed. Literally, everything. At least once.

Reply
court
3 years ago

Wow! That really sucks Coran, thanks for sharing your experience here. I had a negative experience with A2B recently myself and it’s disappointing to see one of the earliest most iconic electric bike companies (at least in the US) falling short :(

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Amish David
3 weeks ago

Is this a manual speedometer odometer? I would guess it's what it would be I don't see how a digital could go out like that. If it is a manual speedometer the gears or mostly made of plastic and it's possible they were stripped out causing it to stop working. If it is hooked up to your wheel hub and there was something wrong with it I would assume the speedometer would not work either. Because the speedometer is what turns the gears on the odometer to tell the mileage. However if it's digital someone else would definitely have to step in because I do not know much on LCD digital display

I was wondering sort of the same thing somebody messed with my wheel sensor moved it 1/8 of an inch, it still showed how many miles I went but O MPH.. I moved the sensor back closer now no problem I also placed a small rubber pad behind it so it is much harder to move again. However this is a external one like you described, not sure if he has the same set up. This happened today.

FerberUser
3 weeks ago

I'm on my 2nd e-bike. My first was a tank of a bike, the Powacycle Cambridge, with throttle and PAS. Far too small for me, even with an extended seatpost and layback seatpost, and SO heavy.

My 2nd is an A2B Ferber, which feels like luxury after the first bike. I have had it over 2 years now and absolutely love it. It only has PAS, but the pedal sensors are so good I do not miss the throttle at all and only use the lowest of the 3 power modes. It comes in 2 sizes, so I have the larger one - okay, it's still a little too small with, again, an extended and layback seatpost! The battery pack recharges in an evening and I charge it about once a week. It doesn't like freezing temperatures, though - I sometimes get an error code and the battery gives out on my ride unless it is fully charged beforehand.
I use my bike every day for commuting to work.

Anyone else got an A2B Ferber?

FerberUser
3 weeks ago

I am on my 2nd electric bike. This is a A2B Ferber, with torque sensor PAS. I've had it over 2 years, so out of warranty.
After the worst set of pot-holes this winter (I'm in the UK) of my cycling life, the odometer suddenly stopped working. I still get speed info, but not trip or total distance.
Any ideas? Is this going to be a component within the hub motor?

Dewey
3 weeks ago

I understand and agree it is frustrating given the benefit I get from being able to use the throttle at low speeds. I've been contributing a US perspective to the lively http://www.pedelecs.co.uk/forum/threads/uk-legality-of-thumb-throttles-in-diy-conversions.31413/ on the UK pedelecs forum about this.

Another suggestion I have is to consider a folding bike with an EU compliant 6kph throttle. A shop in London, Fully Charged, sells the http://www.fullycharged.com/A2B-Kuo-Plus. The description says the thumb throttle is programmed for 6mph but ask and they can probably reprogram the controller to make the throttle cut out at 6kph. With small 20" wheels there is a low stand over height, the battery is mounted behind the seatpost, so there is plenty of clearance over the rear rack to attach your Travoy trailer. Court Rye https://electricbikereview.com/a2b/kuo-plus/ the US market version of the Kuo+ and he https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZNXdmUMVYA0 Fully Charged earlier this year and it looks like a nice shop and they provide international shipping and VAT/Tax free shopping for international customers.

Ann M.
1 month ago

@dean1, I think you might be misunderstanding what Ravi wrote. As an ebike dealer & repair center for 17 years, we've dealt with pre-order issues that are a result of the time it takes to ramp up production and deal with the initial bugs that pop up in first run bikes. It's not a dealer's inventory issue. How could it be an inventory issue if it's a new product? I've dealt with design & production delays for new products from ebike companies like IZip/Currie Tech/Accell, Haibike, A2B and others. There are no giant ebike companies like there are motorcycle & car companies.

Please remember, too that all of the parts that go into any electric bike are sourced from a number of different companies, some who may have been part of a new design motor or battery, etc. So delays from parts sources or their ability to ramp up production can also factor into delays.

Pre-orders also help the manufacturers gauge interest in a particular new product and be fair to those with the greatest interest & desire for the new product. The downside of that comes when interest is so strong that an initial production run can't match the desire. Then it's a matter of some patience. Additionally, a partial or full prepayment guarantees the commitment of a buyer since there are costs for both the manufacturer & a dealer once an order is placed.

As an example, when Haibikes were first introduced to the US market, everyone waited 3 to 5 months for the first batches. That was rough! but Haibike was trying to address the issue of chain suck and problems with the short lifespan of the small gear inside the first Bosch mid drive motors. So patience and now Haibike has grown with a lot of capital investment and can better meet demand. One final note, new models coming from European manufacturers generally are months later before arriving in the US partially because the European market is more predictable and open to electric bikes than we are.

I don't personally know what all the delays are concerning Juiced Bikes but Tora Harris is a decent person working to meet the demands of an incredibly fast growing business and we all hope he's able to succeed.

Court
2 months ago

Following are some of the original comments that were made on that post:

MARCO
Hello, I write from Italy and I would like to know if you have any information on the mid kit Sunstar SO3 Japanese production, which should be the first and original engine Befang.

COURT
Hi Marco! I’ll keep an eye out for the Sunstar motor you mentioned, so far I have not seen nor heard of the company or the motor itself, which bikes did you see it on or is it just a kit?

JOHN VERRILLI
Hi Court, If you had to choose between the Shamino and Bosch motors do you have a preference on the two bikes I mentioned on the Cannondale Kinneto and the Felt sport-e with the Bosch motor. Thanks, John

COURT
Hi John, my preference with the 2015 and 2016 models would be for Bosch but I hear there’s a new Shimano system coming soon (maybe for 2017 in the US?) so I can’t speak further until I try it. Bosch has long been a leader in the space and they seem to be some of the most thought out, durable and widely available ebike drive systems around. In terms of brands, I feel that Felt does a good job and having tested the Sport-E I’d say it’s a solid bike :)

MARCO
Here’s http://ebikemag.com/sunstar-aggiorna-il-kit-s03-per-la-conversione-in-bici-elettrica/ worth checking out.

COURT
Thanks Marco, have you test ridden this or known anyone who has? It looks similar to the Bafang BBS0 mid drive motors I have seen here in America.

HONG QUAN
Hey Court,
You should write about the new Bafang mid-drive system. I know there aren’t many bikes using it yet, but the MAX motor is a huge improvement over the prior generation BBS motors. Let me know if you want a test ride!
Cheers,
Hong

COURT
Hi Hong, I’d love to check it out more in-depth. My time in SoCal doing reviews is limited but I’ll be heading to Colorado soon… Do you guys have a demo unit you could send out so I could review your bikes and learn more about the MAX motor? Use the contact form here and let’s work something out :)

HONG QUAN
Hi Court,
We don’t have any demo units right now, just beta bikes in some customers hands. Are you coming up for the EBike Expo in Palo Alto? I have your number so we’ll be in touch next month when our production bikes arrive.

JACK
Hi Court, Fifty cycles, an English bike store has an article http://www.50cycles.com/blog/kalkhoff-impulse-and-bosch-electric-bike-comparison/ comparing the Impulse and Bosch motors. On paper, it seems like the Impulse is the clear winner. The Impulse has greater torque, greater battery capacity and range-125 miles in eco mode, and 1100 charges on its battery compared to only 500 on the Bosch. I would be interested in reading your take on this debate. Thanks. Jack

COURT
Hi Jack, cool! I don’t have time to read the article right now because I’m traveling for reviews but I agree that the Impulse system (especially the high-speed version) is awesome! I still like the smaller sprocket and more powerful feel of the Bosch system compared to Impulse but can’t deny that their shift sensing is superior (and adjustable). The battery durability thing isn’t something I’ve been able to thoroughly test, though I have only heard great things about the longevity of Bosch packs. In the US, more people seem to have Bosch so far but as Impulse becomes more available (with Kalkhoff and Focus expanding) that may change and I’d welcome more input :)

RONI
Hello. I’m from Israel, sorry for bad english. I have a KTM bike, with Panasonic hub Motor. My trip is an urban area with hills, and the system of Panasonic a little weak. I would like to buy a bike of Haibike.
[LIST=1]
[*]I am debating between: Yamaha or Bosch. In My area, no service these systems, so I need a reliable system. Which system do you recommend?
[*]Panasonic’s system has Pedaling resistance When engine stops working, above the 25 mph speed, and when the battery runs out, so also is it in Yamaha and Bosch?

Thanks Roni

COURT
Hi Roni, you may get less pedaling resistance from Yamaha because there is no conversion to match the sprocket size to cadence (notice how Bosch uses a slightly smaller sprocket in the front, it spins at a 2:1 ratio for what you pedal at). It’s not much extra resistance but there is some. You will also save some money with the Yamaha and that could be useful if you have to replace the system at some point given that they are not carried where you live. Yamaha has not been in the USA long enough for me to comment on durability but my guess is that it’s very good similar to Bosch. All ebike systems experience some slowdown as you ride faster because of air resistance and just the weight of the battery and motor vs. pedaling on a normal bike. I hope my answer helped you a bit and I wish you luck! Please let me know what you choose and how you like it so we can help others in a similar spot!

RONI
Hi Court, Thanks for the quick and detailed reply. I think the Yamaha and Bosch have magnetic resistance of the motor, I read the Brose has a detachment of the motor when the speed reaches 25 mph. (Speed limit), to prevent the magnetic resistance. Thanks Roni

COURT
Hi Roni, all of the Bosch powered ebikes I’ve tested have a traditional freewheel in the rear so you can definitely coast past 20 mph without any interference. I haven’t pedaled past 25 mph enough to comment on how the gearing responds in the centerdrive but my guess is that it works fine. I don’t think there’s much cogging since it’s geared but cannot say for sure. It sounds like you’re set on Yamaha or Brose, both systems work pretty well in my experience and I’ll be reviewing the Turbo Levo Comp and Expert soon which use Brose so keep an eye out :)

DAN NISSENBAUM
Can you purchase the Bosch motor just as a kit and install it on any bike?

COURT
Hi Dan, unfortunately I do not think you can. Bosch is particular about finding bicycle manufacturers and partnering with them at the B2B level. They don’t sell direct and are very protective of even showing the inside of the motor… Plus, even if you could get the motor battery, display etc. you’d need a custom frame to install it on because the mounting configuration is very specific and proprietary. The best bet to get Bosch would be to purchase a more affordable pre-made bike from Cube, Haibike or Felt. The only mid-drive kits I see as aftermarket are the BBS02 from Bafang and I like the E-Rad versions best because the width of bottom bracket can be customized and they offer shift sensing like Bosch and Impulse :)

DAN NISSENBAUM
Thanks very much for the comments and insight. Here is why I asked: Do you have a sense of how to judge https://igg.me/at/bimoz/x arranged as an Indiegogo campaign? Dan

JACK TYLER
For those of you reading this thorough guide on mid-drive motors (Thanks, Court!) you might want to see an equally thorough demo of the display systems on the two most common systems: Yamaha & Bosch. A Utah ebike store – Blue Monkey – has done a nice job of producing those demos and the links are below. While Court covers these displays in each of his reviews, the close-ups and screen annotations used in these demos make things crystal clear. Enjoy! https://youtu.be/QRukpu02qoQ and
https://youtu.be/UWYgCvlLez4 overivews. -Jack

COURT
Awesome, great links Jack! Thanks for including those, I love the guys at Blue Monkey, they produce some cool videos including these display guides :D

JOHN
Hi, john in texas, i have a bafang 750 on a road bike and i love it. looking for off road mountain bike not sure to make one with the bafang or buy one all made like the hibike, then which one, bosch or yamaha?

COURT
Hi John, with both Bosch and Yamaha you’ll get a Class 1 ebike that’s allowed in more places because you have to pedal in order to make it go. Building your own might not look as nice (with cables and bolt-on battery) but you’ll get a throttle. It also probably won’t be as smooth and responsive as Bosch followed by Yamaha. My personal favorite is Bosch or the new Brose motor system. I don’t miss the throttle so much and like blending in and using the bike in more places. Keep in mind, the top speed is 20 mph for these commercial ebikes vs. building your own, you can get more power and go faster. It depends on the laws, how you want to use it and where you plan to go :)

MARIO
Hi Court, Could you tell me a bit more about the engine used in Stromer ST1 bikes, I haven’t seen them mentioned in the article?

COURT
Hi Mario, I believe they use a 500 watt gearless, direct drive TDCM motor which is similar to what you’d find on A2B or some of the Specialized Turbo bikes (not the LEVO, just their road bikes). Specialized actually uses a GoSwiss Drive but it’s still gearless, offers regen and is very powerful but possibly lighter than Stromer. All of these motors are known for being durable because there are no gears moving around inside. This is a very basic intro, hope it helps you find more information, feel free to ask about it in the forums as some people really like the motors and build their own conversion with them :)

JOSH
I suggest you also check out the MPF drive, reputed for being quiet. I cannot speak to their responsiveness, but plan to test drive one this weekend, on the Butchers and Bicycles Mk1-E.

COURT
Nice, I’d love to hear how it works for you! Appreciate the heads up Josh :)

TOM MILAN
I own a Giant Trance 1, 2016. At age 72, I’ve decided to get some power assist in order to keep up with my buddies. I can get pretty good deals on a Specialized Levo and on the Giant electric mtb. Being a frugal sort, I am also thinking about converting my Trance using a Sabang BBSHD 1,000 watt system. I ride about 30 off-road miles per week. What is a good choice for my needs? Thanks for your help and your insightful reports.

COURT
Hi Tom! There’s a lot to consider here including style. I prefer to buy purpose built ebikes just because the wires are integrated and you get a warranty. Kits are alright and E-Rad makes one of the best Bafang BBSHD motor variants (in different sizes and with shift sensing). Of the two stock bikes you mentioned I have only tried the Turbo Levo to date and I love how quiet and good looking it is… it totally blends in which is nice.

JOHN VERRILLI
How does the Shamino motor in the Cannondale Kinneto compare with the Bosch motor in the Felt Sport-e 95 for top end speed on a flat road. Which bike will go further under the same conditions. Thanks, John Verrilli

COURT
Hi John! It looks like the Cannondale Kinneto is using the Shimano mid-drive… I haven’t tested that specific bike but I did try https://electricbikereview.com/raleigh/misceo-ie/ earlier this year and I believe it uses the same drive system. From my experience the battery design was disappointing because it couldn’t be charged on the bike and the motor was alright. It worked well enough for urban riding on paved streets and such. Hope this helps!

JENE GALVIN
Court, I’ve owned an Easy Motion Neo Carbon, Felt Sporte and Izip e3 Peak, the last two currently. But I’m thinking of selling them if I can find a replacement that combines most of their combined features: 28MPH, battery life and weight. I’m looking at the Raleigh Redux ie, but I’m wondering if the 250 watt Brose motor has enough power. I live in the hill country of Northern Kentucky. Do you know much about the power of that smaller wattage motor? Thanks for all the great e bike info you provide to us enthusiasts.

COURT
Hi Jene, sounds like you’ve got lots of experience with ebikes! I really enjoy th eBrose motor and have found that both it and the 250 watt rated Bosch motor from Europe still perform well. I’m not super heavy and I enjoy pedaling along but even climbing in the mountains, these motors have done a good job. I can understand why you’d be excited about the Class 3 bikes to go a little faster. If you’ like the Raleigh Redux ie then I’d say go for it! I haven’t tested the latest version yet and am excited to hopefully later this year :)

THOMAS JASZEWSKI
One more low priced kit is the BEWO. Not very common but decently supported but weak compared to the eRad. After three years of kits, primarily mid drive BBSxx series, I’m looking forward to a purpose built bike. I didn’t mind all the wires and such at first, but have come to be frustrated with the mess they can be. Also the maintenance. Every so often I snag a wire on something. The only kits that excite me these days are the BMC and MAC gear drive hub motors and their increased ability to handle some hills.. But with the external controllers they are definitely not neat. One thing we seldom mention when selling kits are the real costs of upgrading a frame to electric. By the time the fenders, lighting, rack, and other upgrades are done one can easily have spent the cost of a frame with integrated wiring. It’s easy to spend $2500-$3000. There are quite a few very nice prebuilts for those dollars. The only reasons I can see for kits are, cost, there are some really cheap kits. Next is speed and there seems to be a large market of folks that want to exceed the braking capacity of their bikes. The BBSHD is a great kit but like several others here it’s best detuned in my opinion, but it’s being souped up to run at much higher speeds. For me an unfortunate direction.

COURT
Hey Thomas! I’m with you, the purpose built ebikes feel more complete and I like they way they look. It usually costs a bit more up front but they tend to hold up well over time and I’m less excited about tinkering these days with work and other busy life stuff. Interesting point about “braking ability”. When you start looking at mainstream speed pedelecs they often upgrade the brakes to hydraulic and some even go from 9 mm skewers to thru-axles and other DOT approved hardware. In Europe they are much more strict and you can see the safety features sort of trickle down to the US markets. I’d love to hear what bike you end up focusing on and eventually getting. Are you in the market for a trail bike or more of an urban commuter type thing? I really liked the Stromer ST1 Limited which has lights, fenders, a quiet motor, regenerative braking, a hidden battery with all of the wires internally routed and decent support. I believe they have been on sale lately with the launch of the ST1 X coming up.

ROSS MOORE
I can’t find a review of the bafang bbs02. Have you done one? please reply to my email address. Thank you.

COURT
Hi Ross, I have indeed reviewed that motor but listed it under 8Fun vs. Bafang (same company, Bafang sells direct as 8Fun) https://electricbikereview.com/8fun/bbs02/.

GERRY
As I read through your mid drive motor comments i wonder if you still would put the Brose motor so far below the Bosch because the Brose does not have shift sensing. You seemed to speak well of the Bulls bikes using the Brose mid drive motor this year (2017). Also it sounds like the Impulse motor won’t be used any more, that group reportedly has gone only to Bosch.
Since i live 300 miles from any ebike stores what i buy has to have a long life system. So if I’m interested in a long life quality motor, is Bosch really the only choice?
Thanks Court.

COURT
Hi Gerry! My personal favorite is Bosch for the features and durability (all dealers speak well of it) but Yamaha is also very reliable and trusted… Brose is probably on a similar level but the battery packs are not standardized like most Bosch and Yamaha which makes them more expensive. They look great, the motor is quiet and seems very well engineered, I trust it because big brands like Specialized, Easy Motion and Bulls use it. I think you are safe with any of those, or even one of the Shimano motors (they are coming out with some new ones at Interbike this year). I hope this helps, now should be a good time to get a deal on a 2017 electric bike since the 2018 stuff is just around the corner :)

RON
I’m looking to get a recumbent trike, I’m thinking the Trekker from Trident since it folds and seems to be a good value. Have you any other recommendations? I really like the idea of having a portable trike if I’m jumping on public transportation or going up stairs. With that in mind, I’m undecided about installing a rear hub or mid drive motor on this trike. Trident installs a rear hub but I’ve read and I think you’ve interviewed someone who says mid drives are more efficient with mix terrains. I’m in California and I currently have a Day 6 Dream 7 bike and I’m struggling with these gradual slopes. Do you know of any shops who sell drive kits? Oh, and do I know have to concern myself with class drives?
Thank you!
Ron

COURT
Hi Ron, I believe Day 6 sells converted electric bikes, but you could try to install a kit on your own too, they use E-RAD which I have done some reviews for https://electricbikereview.com/brand/e-rad/. As for trikes, the mid-drive is not used as often because there are usually two rear wheels, so it would only turn one of the two and getting it to work with the chain and mount properly at the often unique bottom bracket could prove difficult. It’s something you could ask about in the EBR forums or maybe ask the guys at E-RAD about. I hope this helps! I’d love to hear what you end up doing :)

JEFF MUELLER
I think I’d like a bike that gives me features I see in the Bafang BBS02. I’d like to be able to pick a setting that gives me over 20mph… I like the throttle feature. Sounds like competitors have other inputs they measure in their motors but don’t allow users higher speeds and a throttle.

COURT
Yeah, I think you’ve got it right mostly. There are mid-drive motors from Bosch and Brose that can reach ~28 mph but none of the big names (Bosch, Yamaha, Shimano, Brose) have throttle options because they are focused on the larger European markets right now.

NOEL
Hi Court, thanks much for the reviews!! Just out curiosity for Performance Line of Bosch mid-drives, are there significant differences between the internals for the 20mph and 28mph models… or is it just the difference in the cutoff speeds?

COURT
Hi Noel! My understanding is that the hardware is very similar (possibly the same) between Performance Line Cruise and Performance Line Speed but if you go up to the CX, there might be more copper winding. I think a lot of the difference is in software settings :)

TOM
Hi Court, how would you judge https://www.back2green.ch/produkt/fat-m-drive/ (components: battery, motor,..)? In your opinion is it well assembled? Many thanks, Tom

COURT
Hi Tom! I can’t really say, the details are not written in English and at first glance, none of the motor or battery hardware is stuff that I recognize. A big part of my own buying and rating decision has to do with warranty and customer support. If this is a trusted brand where you live, perhaps it could be a good fit. It does interest me to see a belt drive on a fat tire bike. I wonder how they hold up in snow, mud, etc. and whether you’d be riding on that sort of terrain? If you do buy it, I’d love to hear your feedback and maybe see some closeup pictures in the https://electricbikereview.com/forum/forums/other-brands/ and perhaps I’ll get a chance to see and test this thing some day too ;)

Court
2 months ago

Hi guys! I'm moving some content off of the main site and into the most relevant categories of the forum. This post was originally made on September 24th 2012:

This is the second year for Electric Bike Review to be on site at Interbike in Las Vegas covering all things fun, interesting and ebike related. This year the show moved to the Mandalay Bay but the Outdoor Demo days (first two days of the week) remained at Boulder City. This is also the first year that bicycle fans were invited to participate by attending on the fifth day of the show, Friday September 20th, for an event called Interbike by Invitation!

Video from day 1 – Outdoor Demo Day, Interbike 2013

Started off with registration and badge-getting then hopped over to the bus lines near Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay. Half hour bus ride, arrived at Boulder City where exhibitors were setup. Checked out the Easy Motion https://electricbikereview.com/easy-motion/neo-jumper/ and a prototype bike with Bosch mid-drive system. Cruised around, found the Felt booth and they also have several models that use the Bosch drive system. WD40 is launching a line of products for cleaning bikes including a protectant that will keep your paint nice almost like car wax.

Was getting hungry so I cruised by the https://www.skratchlabs.com/ truck and got a veggie curry burrito and tried their electrolyte drink (loved it). Checked out the new Stromer bikes, ST1 Platinum and Elite, which only offer pedal assist mode but can go up to 28 miles per hour. Confirmed there are new signs at the Golden Gate bridge urging bikers to “turn off electric motors”. Cruised over to the Sea Sucker tent and ogled the suction cup bike racks they have (these are awesome! less wind resistance when taken off vs. regular racks). Made it to the Specialized area and asked about the Turbo… all bikes were checked out but I was told they made the bike weaker to be street legal in the US. Dahon has a new folding electric bike that’s powered by BionX motor, battery and controller. Met with the ProdecoTech guys and saw three of their demo bikes. Saw an Elliptigo (elliptical machine style stand-up bicycle). Finished the day at the Currie booth eyeing the Zuma which has upgraded battery positioning and is lighter overall than last year’s model.

Video from day 2 – Outdoor Demo Day, Interbike 2013

Started the day at 2am because the internet at the Excalibur hotel is so slow… decided to hit the hay. Woke up about four hours later and the video was done! 11 people had viewed it, worth it! Headed out for the show and got off the bus to find an awesome Toyota Tacoma tricked out for the Skratch Labs company (who I had seen on Day 1). Love it! even though it’s not electric… Spotted a remote controlled quadcopter, waiting for the https://ride2recovery.com/ race to finish. A bunch of people were hanging around to cheer these folks on. Many are veterans recovering from injuries and the race is meant to honor American armed forces. After 25 minutes of waiting however, I decided to get on with the show and ran into some folks from Bennett’s Bike and Fitness in Mason City Iowa wearing funky POC helmets (love their designs) we played around and I gave the cute girl a ride in the front basket of an https://electricbikereview.com/izip/e3-metro/ I borrowed from the Currie booth. PS. cute girl from the shop, call me! You’re awesome :D

A little while later I ran into Pete Prebus from http://electricbikereport.com/ and we chatted about past shows and his time working at bike shops as a kid. The wind started to pick up and dust was getting everywhere. I grabbed one of the new Felt Bosch powered ebikes and headed up the mountain where I saw a few riders catching air then I cruised down by the Power Bar tents and chilled at the BMX pump track sponsored by Bell helmets. I wanted to try it out but accidentally got on going the wrong direction and then Bell made me try one of their helmets… which was sweaty. I was still trying to avoid the wind so I cruised up to the https://actionwipes.com/ booth and spoke with the founder Martha who told me a funny story about an old boyfriend who had purchased a great white shark, crashed his car then charged people at the boardwalk $1 to look at it. It’s what inspired her to become an entrepreneur. And yes, killing sharks is bad and Action Wipes are environmentally friendly. Win!

I cruised back down to the main show area and spoke with Frederick about the POC helmets and he showed me the super-aerodynamic model and explained how they made it for the olympic games in Beijing. They wind kept blowing and stuff was starting to fall over. I suggested he put the helmet on for safety. The day was ending so I started back for the busses and met the friendliest booth attendant ever, he was using a spray bottle to mist people as they walked by. Awesome. Got back in line and boarded the bus!

Video from day 3 – Exhibition Hall, Interbike 2013

I arrived at the show, stopped by the Pedego booth and saw the new https://electricbikereview.com/ford/supercruiser/ Electric bike then cruised over to the http://www.jtreelife.com/ booth and tried on some face stick sunscreen stuff… cool. Took a lap around the showroom floor and saw the media booth (which probably has good WiFi) and decided to keep exploring. After a bit I saw a unique bottle cage designed to fit between the seat post and downtube and be super aerodynamic called the http://www.mywedgie.com/cgi-sys/suspendedpage.cgi.

A bit later I ducked into the “Women’s Lounge” area and met with an endurance athlete brand called https://www.coeursports.com/ which just launched out of LA. They have stuff designed for long distance bicycling. A bit later I stopped by the Easy Motion booth and saw the new Neo Jet which is a stepthrough version of the https://electricbikereview.com/easy-motion/neo-cross/ presumably for women or smaller riders, it looked great. Easy Motion is also working on a few bikes that will utilize the Bosch mid-drive motor system and have 27.5″ wheels. I kept cruising and met Dwayne from [URL='http://www.bluemonkeybicycles.com/']Blue Monkey Bicycles[/URL] which is the first Pedego dealer out of Utah. We talked about putting skis on an electric bikes and ironically just after this I discovered [URL='http://www.gripstuds.com/']Grip Studs[/URL] which are tiny metal bits that screw into bicycle tires to give them more traction on snow and ice. I was told that larger tires like those on the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/trail-tracker/']Trail Tracker[/URL] also help… awesome! Then I saw the razor scooters booth and a bigwheel tricycle for adults. I also passed by the Brompton folding bicycle booth, while I did not see any electric bikes being showcased there I do know that [URL='http://www.nycewheels.com/brompton-electric-bike.html']NYCeWheels[/URL] offers some converted Brompton ebikes.

A bit later I cruised over to the ProdecoTech booth and saw the new Oasis, several Outlaw models, a full sized folding electric bike and the Scorpion which uses water-bottle sized batteries. Apparently these are being used by police forces and can come with two hub motors (front and rear). ProdecoTech also has a new Rebel bike with oversized tires that can be built with two 750 watt motors!

I discovered a new company called [URL='http://www.cycledog.com/']CycleDog[/URL] which is an earth friendly pet company that offers some neat chew toys. They use old tubes to make some of their plastic and rubber stuff. Kept exploring and found [URL='http://www.hi-powercycles.com/']Hi-Power Cycles[/URL] which has a bike called the Revolution offering a 5,000 watt motor with air cooling and regenerative braking. I saw the new IZIP E3 Peak on display with custom mid-drive motor system from Currie.

Jumped outside to check out the outdoor test track. Back inside I saw a new hub motor by BionX which was super wide and narrow. The [URL='http://www.cyclelogicalgear.com/']Cyclelogical[/URL] booth had some cool t-shirts and racks for tablets and stuff. They also have a cool spoke reflector thing which makes you much more visible at night. By this time I was getting hungry so I decided to keep walking and find the cafeteria. I met an interesting fellow who was eating a banana and asked if I had seen Pulp Fiction.

Back on the test track I made friends with the security guy named Bob and offered to let him ride the new Electra Townie Go! bike. He said he’d get in trouble so I just kept riding. For some reason they were doing jackhammer work outside which was very loud. I found the [URL='http://www.ondaride.com/']Onda Ride[/URL] booth and checked out some of their neat lockable bike boxes and trailers (they even have one that glows in the dark!) The Clif Bar booth had a neat flower setup with fun egg beater chandelier hanging above (and free samples, yum). Discovered a new company called [URL='http://rocket44.com/']Rocket 44[/URL] which has a portable bicycle pump with pressure gauge and high pressure and high volume setting for road vs. mountain bikes. They also offer a hydration pack with two reservoirs (one for sports drink and one for water). Back on the show floor I found the Basil booth and saw a few new bags and a fun bell!

I floated back outside and found a company called [URL='http://www.realxgear.com/']Real X Gear[/URL] that makes cooling hats and towels, you just get them wet and wear around your neck or on your head, neat. PowerBar has some new “real fruit” gu stuff that I tried out, actually tastes pretty good and they told me it was magic :D

Video from day 4 – Exhibition Hall, Interbike 2013

I’m dubbing this day “Cute Girls at Interbike”. Started things out with some $17.00 sunscreen then a long walk to the tram followed by a long walk to the Mandalay Bay convention center. Was enjoying a Pro Bar for breakfast and avoided the long line at Starbucks. Spent a little bit more time at the map this time figuring out who I hadn’t seen.

Had plans to meet Jason from [URL='http://www.ebikekit.com/']e-bike[/URL] kit but we missed each other.. in part because we’ve never met in real life and don’t know what each other look like. Spotted one of those huge tired bikes and found out [URL='http://www.oldmanmountain.com/']Old Man Mountain[/URL] makes heavy duty custom racks for them. The GoPro booth had a Porsche rally car setup and just a bunch of neat extreme stuff.

Cruised by the [URL='http://ortliebusa.com/']Ortlieb[/URL] booth and called out some of the neat panniers they have with quick-lift release systems. I went back to the Electra booth and tried to ask a rep where to buy them but he basically referred me to the website, meow. Found the Dahon booth and saw their folding ebike along with a new prototype that the rep didn’t know about. Saw some of the new [URL='http://www.timbuk2.com/']Timbuk2[/URL] backpacks then cruised over to the Burley area where they were showcasing the Flatbed, Nomad and a seat-post rack carrier.

[URL='http://www.striderbikes.com/']Strider[/URL] had a huge booth setup with two sizes of bikes for teaching kids how to ride (they don’t have pedals, just coasting and foot rests). I snuck into a high-up booth for a better view then bailed. Found a new company called [URL='https://www.hybikes.com/']HyBikes[/URL] with scooter-esque ebikes using Lead Acid batteries, they were inexpensive but heavy. Kept exploring and found the e-joe booth which had a few models out for show (but not testing). I met the founder who told me that [URL='http://ejoebike.com/']e-joe[/URL] is for “everybody joes” which made me smile.

I met back up with the girl at [URL='http://www.eprodigybikes.com/']EPik bikes[/URL] (out of Canada) which I had tested during Outdoor Demo Day, saw a new model with a built in basket. Just after this I ran into Turbo Bob who runs a [URL='https://turbobobbicycleblog.wordpress.com/']bicycle blog[/URL]! We chatted about the industry a bit and then parted ways. Picked up and saw a tandem called [URL='http://buddybike.com/']BuddyBike[/URL] which looked neat and is actually designed to take kids with special needs out for rides! So cool.. There was an interesting bike setup called “purely custom” for dialing in seating and stuff.

Thule has a couple of rack systems designed to fasten directly to bike frames (no braze ons required) and they felt really solid! I also checked out the EasyFold rack which is capable of carrying electric bikes. It can carry 130lbs of bikes and has a little ramp and also folds so you can open your tailgate. Yakima also has a platform bike rack called the Hold Up capable of holding 120lbs of bikes (but has no ramp) and another rack called the Rack and Roll for towing several bikes.

I was hoping to speak with the [URL='http://chamoisbuttr.com/her-chamois-buttr/']Chamois Butt’r[/URL] folks about their creams and powders for helping to avoid chafing when riding bikes but I went to the wrong booth, oops! Finally fond the right one and saw a new product “for her” designed for women with lavender scent, yum. Kept exploring and saw lots of candy, shiny colorful stuff and these cute little light up squids. I also met the dudes at [URL='http://therimskin.com/']rimskin[/URL] which can print custom stickers for deep dish rims or glow in the dark stickers which look awesome. Saw some fishes at the [URL='http://www.lifeproof.com/']LifeProof[/URL] booth where they make waterproof cases and stuff.

I met a nice lady at the Peg Perego booth which has seats for kids that attach to bikes, seemed legit and also had thermo-form padding for comfort and is weather proof. I saw a few ladies riding on rollers which was pretty cool. Later I found the [URL='http://www.pedalpushersclub.com/']Pedal Pushers Club[/URL] booth with lots of fun t-shirts. One had a bicycle and lots of little hearts. Suddenly there were people cruising around on Yike Bikes and they now have a two wheel rear so you can carry a second passenger. Out in the lobby I saw a cute girl who looked like Taylor Swift so I asked and yes, she gets that all the time..

Video from day 5 – Exhibition Hall, Interbike 2013

Final day of interbike! and the first year of a special program called Interbike by Invitation that let shops bring their most loyal and interested customers (who still had to pay $50 to get in). Not sure how successful it was as I didn’t see one person who came for this program?

Made my way through the lobby of the Excalibur, past the inactive people movers.. taunting me. I tried the buffet at the Excalibur and Luxor and the Luxor is way, way better.. but still not that great. On the walk to the show a guy named Richard showed me the [URL='http://www.cherubim.jp/']Cheribim[/URL] which is a Japanese bike company, it had a fancy pair of tubes acting a the downtube. I have no idea how that makes it better or lighter or what?

Got into the event center right when it opened so things were very quiet. Found a booth for [URL='http://www.sevenstarbicycle.com/']Sevenstar Cycles[/URL], a new ebike company I haven’t heard of, then went outside to the test track. I met with a rep from [URL='https://optibike.com/']Optibike[/URL] and learned about their new mid-drive motor and battery system. Met with the founder of High Roller tricycles for adults. He excitedly gave me a product overview and pulled a power slide on his way out.

I kept doing rounds at the outdoor track and visited the Currie tents including IZIP, eFlow and Haibike. Hopped on the “Green Bike” from Pete’s Electrics and then spoke with Dean about their rental offering and the different shops across the US including Boulder, CO. Was really impressed with the lights that run off of capacitors and work even if the main battery is out. They also stay lit for five minutes after the bike is parked.

Saw a band playing at the outdoor event, ran back into Turbo Bob who was also having slow internet at the Travelodge. Then I spent some time with the founder of Juiced, Toro, who told me about their newest model which has a 48 volt 22 amp hour battery along with lights and hydraulic disc brakes. They have new colors including black, gray and blue. He also showed me the Yepp baby seat, box and a food container that work with the rack.

Walking through the hall I saw a guy who I met on day 4 who had a neat scooter thing for his broken ankle. I swung by the Stinger booth and got some honey snack samples. Cruised back over to the indoor Currie booth and saw some new colors for the IZIP bikes. I also spoke with the president of Currie about the new eFlow Fit folding bike. It features regenerative braking and a battery built right into the seat post.

I went back to the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/category/bionx/']BionX[/URL] booth to look into that wide hub motor I saw on Day 3. It’s a new “D” series motor that offers 25 newton meters of nominal torque. It also has a peak of 50 newton meters. It’s more efficient and can be used with a rear cassette and disc brake. Drifted around at the Topeak booth and even spoke with a product manager there who covered the new mountain bike fenders which are AWESOME! They beak away, adapt to multiple wheel sizes and are adjustable to different seat post sizes as well.

Back outside I visited the A2B booth and learned about how Hero Eco was formed. The reps told me about the new names for their bikes (Metro is now the Octave, Velociti is now the Alva) and the key fobs that start the bikes which are pretty cool. I also checked out the Kuo folding ebike from A2B. I met back up with a friendly security guard outside who liked the pretty A2B Alva I was testing.

At the test track I saw some guys speeding around on the Stealth electric bike.. going way too fast for the safety of other riders, and I Saw Turbo Bob AGAIN testing out a custom chopper style ebike. I also discovered a [URL='http://solarelectricscootersinc.com/']solar powered electric scooter[/URL] that is made from a solar panel! To ride it you stand on the solar panel, it was pretty neat. A little while later I found the [URL='http://ecorecoscooter.com/']EcoReco scooters[/URL] which almost looked like tiny regular razor scooters. I met a guy from TheChallengeSite.com which is a site designed for companies to do marketing by creating challenges, the guy at the booth had some scratches on his hand from crashing on his longboard.

At another booth I met this very sexy girl wearing waterproof socks by [URL='http://www.sealskinz.com/US/']SealSkinz[/URL]. She explained that they can be used for biking in wet conditions and come in several sizes. Even though they are waterproof she said they are still breathable.. and she winked at me, yay!

At another booth some guys were showcasing [URL='http://www.ledbylite.com/']LED light strips[/URL] to make bicycles more visible at night. The strips can be set to pulse slowly and greatly increase visibility for riders. That was the last thing I saw before rushing off to the airport! Great times at Interbike, hope to see you there next year :D

Court
2 months ago

Hi guys! I'm moving some content off of the main site and into the most relevant categories of the forum. This post was originally made on November 1st 2012:

This is the third year I’ve been able to attend Interbike in Las Vegas, NV USA and ebikes were more plentiful and sophisticated than ever! There’s more at the show than just new or upgraded electric bikes though, this is a showcase for the latest gadgets and services that cater to the cycling world (electric or otherwise). I saw lots of cool brands, old friends and participated in some interesting events at the show and tried to capture video of stuff I found interesting. Posted below are updates from the show in video and written form with links to the people and products referenced. Feel free to add your own memories or questions and suggestions in the comment section below or the https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/interbike-2014-coverage.204/.

Video from day 1 :: Outdoor Demo Day, Interbike 2014

Started out a bit slow after arriving in Vegas late Sunday night, my Sister was married the day before and I caught a red-eye in from St. Paul Minnesota and shared a cab with a girl from https://qbp.com/ who I also chatted with on the flight. Registration at the Luxor hotel was smooth and the line wasn’t too large. While waiting I met a guy from https://www.boardmanbikes.com/ who was coming from the UK and had just attended Eurobike… we were all pretty tired, I finally got to bed around 3am.

The next day I caught a shuttle from the Mandalay Bay to Bootleg City (about a half hour drive) where the Outdoor Demo Day events take place. On this bus ride I met a guy who works with http://en.wellgopedal.com/ and also has his own startup called http://bmxican.net/. We talked about pedals… which was cooler than it sounds.
The first thing I noticed at Outdoor Demo Day 1 was a custom “urban camouflage” painted fat bike from http://www.feltbicycles.com/ with the Bosch Gen 2 Centerdrive system. There were lots of fat ebikes arriving this year including models from https://electricbikereview.com/category/surface-604/, https://electricbikereview.com/category/izip/and https://electricbikereview.com/category/polaris/. I’ll be posting reviews soon.

I picked up a http://theprobar.com/ then ran into Justin from http://justins.com/ and got to hear about how his company was started in Boulder Colorado. He also gave me a sample of the newest flavor “Vanilla Almond Butter” which was pretty amazing. Next I ran into [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/community/members/wojtek.236/']Wojtek[/URL] who’s a fellow video blogger and we chatted for a bit. Sounds like he’s become a brand ambassador for [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/category/stromer/']Stromer[/URL] which is neat. A bit later I came across a Sony booth that had [URL='http://www.sony.com/electronics/action-camera']Action Cameras[/URL] which they were loaning out. I decided to take one and film for a bit to do a comparison of audio and video quality. At this booth I got the chance to meetup with [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/community/members/chandlee-ebs.603/']Chandlee[/URL] from [URL='http://www.electricbikespecialists.com/']Certified Electric Bike Specialists[/URL] in Chattanooga, TN. He and I chatted a bit and experimented with different camera adapters for helmets and bikes.
Later on, Chandlee and I saw some new paint on a Surly Karate Monkey bike which was semi-clear (called spray tan) and showed off the weld points. Chandlee has been talking about converting his own Karate Monkey to electric and debating between the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/8fun/bbs02/']8Fun BBS02[/URL] or the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/bionx/d-500/']BionX D-Series[/URL]. Sounds like you need a special drop out adapter to convert from thru-axle to standard skewer to make it work with the BionX system. Later we ran into a random dude who was demoing the new Nine-E electric bike from Felt and Chandlee geeked out about it for a while.

We then metup with a rep from Rhinomed who were showing off the [URL='http://www.theturbine.com/']Turbine[/URL] which is a nose expansion plug thing that makes it easier to breathe when doing sports. Chandlee tried one out for the camera and was impressed. Basically, these things have a built in ratchet so you can flare your nostrils more or less depending on your comfort and air intake needs. The package comes with a medium and a large and the guy suggested that you start with the medium, we were also told that Rhinomed is working on a slow-release fragrance that will help clear your sinuses.

A little while later we ran into a rep from [URL='http://www.xtracycle.com/']Xtracycle[/URL] that was showing off the Edgerunner with an [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/8fun/bbs01/']8Fun mid-drive BBS01[/URL]motor attached as well as a NuVinci N360 continuously variable transmission CVT. The motor and CVT are items that you can add yourself to an Xtracycle (and many other ebikes) but there is also a new purpose-built edgerunner with the Bosch system built right in. The nice thing about the Bafang/8Fun motors is that they offer pedal assist and throttle mode vs. Bosch which is only pedal assist.

Later I met some reps from [URL='http://www.santanatandem.com/']Santana[/URL] which is a well established tandem bicycle company. They had a [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/category/bionx/']BionX electric drive system[/URL] installed on one of their tandems which offers good balance and regeneration models. One of their tandems had some extra large tires and 10 inch (254 mm) disc brakes for off road riding. Looked awesome, we thought about riding it but passed.

I scooted over to the [URL='http://polarisebikes.com/']Polaris[/URL] tent and asked their lead product manager, Carey, about the new “Shift Speed” technology that listens to which gear you’re in as well as how fast you’re pedaling. It’s a neat setup and I reviewed several of their bikes which will be up on the site [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/category/polaris/']here[/URL] soon. Just next door was the [URL='http://www.elliptigo.com/']ElliptiGO[/URL] tent and I asked about their updated models. I was told that with one of their bikes you actually get more cardio (33% more cardiovascular workout). It’s a blend of running, cycling and elliptical training. with these you don’t have to sit and you also don’t get the same knee impact as with running. You can get an ElliptiGO with 8 or 11 speed internally geared Shimano hub that can be shifted at standstill.

Next I visited the https://electricbikereview.com/category/surface-604/ booth and learned a bit about their name. The 604 stands for the Vancouver phone area code which has beach and snow features that their fat bikes can handle. Places like Tofino for beach riding and Whistler for skiing. Their old bike was called the “Element” and the new model (while similar) comes in several different flavors and motor sizes and is called the Boar.

A bit later I ran into Chris Nolte from [URL='http://propelbikes.com/']Long Island Electric Bikes[/URL] and we talked about [URL='http://www.ktm-bikes.at/en.html']KTM[/URL] (which had some European model ebikes with the 250 watt Bosch centerdrive) as well as his trip to Eurobike where he had already seen a lot of the new stuff… I teased him for this. Chris arrived to Vegas a little early and toured the [URL='http://www.zappos.com/']Zappos[/URL] factory for fun. Later Chandlee told us about the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/beaverdam-blitz-electric-bike-rally-aug-22-23-in-georgia.662/']Beaverdam Blitz[/URL] which is an annual ebike ride for East Coast enthusiasts (it happens in Georgia). Last year was the first ride and I was unable to make it but I’ll be there next time :D last year it happened in August and this year it will probably happen in July and is put on by [URL='http://www.electricbikespecialists.com/']Certified Electric Bike Specialists[/URL].

Next I visited the [URL='http://www.brompton.com/']Brompton[/URL] booth and while they didn’t have an electric bike on display they did mention that NYCeWheels offers a [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/brompton/nycewheels-electric/']pretty good conversion[/URL]. Richard and Kathryn mentioned that Brompton may have an ebike in the future but is primarily known for their light weight designs that fold extremely small, have great accessories, a rear bumper suspension element and several handle bar styles. They also showed off the braze work with their “raw lacquer” premium finish that’s a powder coat you can see through. Brompton ebikes are designed, built and assembled – they ship it completely ready to go in a box. Brompton was founded in the late 1970’s.

Towards the end of the day I ran into Pete prebus from [URL='http://electricbikereport.com/']ElectricBikeReport.com[/URL] walking back to the busses and we swapped stories about the show. We both got rained on but it felt good because the day was so hot and dry. That was it for day 1!

Video from day 2 :: Outdoor Demo Day, Interbike 2014

Day 2 was much hotter than Day 1 but I got a bunch more electric bike reviews in. I was losing my voice from being up so late both nights and traveling but I soldiered on! Got some cool footage of the bus ride there as well as [URL='https://ride2recovery.com/']Ride 2 Recovery[/URL]which was on its way to the show.

My first stop was the [URL='http://gopro.com/']GoPro[/URL] booth where I spoke with a rep about future improvements and how their hardware differs from the Sony Action camera I had tried the previous day. He talked about a new “fetch mount” that Kaya was demoing around the show. They’ve also got some new dive filters and a three way mount (grip, tripod and sportsman). Sounds like they are working on processing power, lens improvement and battery life. He told me that GoPro usually offers higher resolution and frame rate than Sony’s product right now.

Just after I left the GoPro booth I saw a Scratch cooler (which makes a Gatorade style drink mix… but way better). Then I noticed that the GoPro booth was powered on Solar using a [URL='http://www.goalzero.com/']Goal Zero[/URL] setup. It was impressive to see a TV going as well as multiple GoPro chargers all being powered by the sun and a large battery pack. The setup was using four 30 watt panels (120 watt total). The company does sell smaller setups for $500 with just one 30w panel as well as a backpack designed to charge your accessories.

Next I visited the http://theprobar.com/ booth and was told that they’re introducing some new bars. I really love these bars because they are vegan, organic and non-GMO. They taste great and don’t have extra sugar or unhealthy stuff. In fact, I brought some of these with me to the show to carry around.

Later on I ran into Peter from [URL='http://www.nycewheels.com/']NYCeWheels[/URL] and we talked about the [URL='http://www.ternbicycles.com/us/']Tern[/URL] electric bikes that were being showcased at Interbike. This year they have two models that are purpose built and can fold without having to remove the battery. This was Peter’s first show and I saw him several times exploring different models. Their store is in Manhattan NY.

Next I chatted with a Magura representative who explained what their relationship with Bosch as a service partner would mean. They train dealers and help deal with returns etc. at the show they had some training clinics. A bit later I found the GoPro puppy and enjoyed petting her. Then I saw a beautiful LOOK bicycle (non electric) and helped a guy who was stranded on a [URL='http://www.highrollerusa.com/']High Roller[/URL] adult-sized big wheel tricycle by pushing him up the rest of a hill.

Just after that I swung by the BionX booth and hung out with Michael DeVisser who founded [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/category/ohm/']OHM bicycles[/URL]. They primarily build frames and work with drive system manufactures like [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/category/bionx/']BionX[/URL]. He’s been working in the space since 2005 when he first tried an ebike in Asia. OHM is a Canadian company and there are lots of hills in and around Vancouver where Michael is from.

A bit later I met [URL='https://www.facebook.com/stevenpeacefans']Steve Peace[/URL] who was riding a tricycle style road bike with aero wheels. He had just completed the ride to recovery and was relaxing in the shade. steve started riding trikes around 2009 after he suffered a stroke. He has been working with Dave Levy and [URL='http://www.bmc-switzerland.com/us-en/']BMC[/URL] to craft these custom rides and is the owner of two test bikes. It sounds like more trikes are used in England but the US is beginning to see growth in this segment. They are trying to get Dave to build some more :)

Next I visited the FreeCross booth which also makes outdoor elliptical bicyles (similar to Elliptigo but with three wheels instead of two). Their products are very high quality and work with a program in Europe to reduce insurance costs through physical activity. This is where I metup with [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/community/members/ravi-kempaiah.20/']Ravi Kempaiah[/URL] who is a member of the EBR Community forums. He was excited about the new Felt electric bikes as well as those from Haibike and others.

Video from days 3-5 :: Exhibition Hall, Interbike 2014

With so many ebikes to cover this year I decided not to do separate videos for day 1, 2 and 3 of the Exhibition Hall portion of Interbike. Instead, I’ve compiled footage from all three days here with a few references to which day specific footage was captured. It is all shown in order. The footage at the very beginning was actually shot the day I flew in but I forgot to include it there so I stuck it on this video :p

I kept bumping into Joe from [URL='http://ashlandelectricbikes.com/']Ashland Electric Bikes of Oregon[/URL] and he actually helped me shoot some footage which was very nice. We chatted for a bit on our way to the convention center area of Mandalay Bay. Joe was staying in the Motel 6 and loving it! Or… at least saving some cash money by doing so.

To start off I just filmed everything I saw while walking through. I passed the J&B Importers booth then saw an exhibit on the history of fat bikes. Randomly after that I saw Jason Kraft from [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/category/e-bikekit/']E-BikeKit[/URL] and we spoke a bit. I had tried one of his [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/e-bikekit/e-trike-kit/']trike kits[/URL] on this fat tire trike called the Atlas from Sun Bicycles the day before at Outdoor Demo Day 2.

Next I visited the [URL='http://www.topeak.com/']Topeak[/URL] booth which had a bunch of new fenders with lights and a bottle cage with a built in light that makes the entire bottle glow like a lamp. Later in the show I actually met the founder of Topeak and he showed me some cool bicycle pumps that act as a stand for your bike so it won’t tip as you inflate the tube. Cool stuff all around. As I left the booth I saw a bicycle trainer machine that was designed to provide biometric feedback about riding. I also saw another Skratch drink booth.

A few booths away I saw the entire lineup of [URL='http://www.hiplok.com/']Hiplok[/URL] bicycle locks designed to be wearable and easier to carry. They have a small u-lock that latches on to backpack straps across your chest as well as a long chain lock that can be worn as a belt. Then I found the [URL='http://virtuebike.com/']Virtue Bikes[/URL] booth that had several electric bicycles (a normal bike, a cargo bike and a velomobile). One of the booth attendants explained that Virtue had been around since 2010 and was planning to introduce the velomobile ebike I saw in late 2015, it is called the Pedalist and will retail for $3,500+. It reminded me of the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/organic-transit/elf/']Organic Transit ELF[/URL] velomobile ebike.

A bit later I saw some [URL='http://ortliebusa.com/']Ortlieb[/URL] panniers that looked similar to older models. Just clean, durable and highly reflective waterproof designs. Unfortunately I didn’t get to speak with a rep, just explored them on my own. Then I visited the [URL='http://www.hpvelotechnik.com/']HP Velotechnik[/URL] booth which had a bunch of customizable recumbent trikes that could be electric powered. I like that one had a vertically adjustable seat for comfort or users with mobility challenges. It reminded me of the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/outrider/horizon/']Outrider Horizon[/URL] trike.

Cruising over towards the ebike section of the showfloor I ran into Chris and Kyle from Long Island Electric Bikes again and they let me interview the lady from Yepp, egg and Gazelle! She showed me how you can add a “skin” to change the style of a “naked” helmet to make it more fun for kids. Just after this I cruised past the [URL='http://www.leisger.com/']Leisger[/URL] booth (it’s a German ebike company) which had a bunch of new ebikes that I didn’t get to try but looked pretty cool.

Next I saw the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/category/emazing-bike/']eMazing Ebikes[/URL] booth and chatted with the staff. I’ve reviewed these bikes before and they are very light, fairly affordable and available in several sizes for a good fit. Not the most powerful systems but not too bad given their mix of cadence sensing and torque sensing. Next door was the EG Bike booth which is also a more affordable ebike manufacturer and one of the only ones I know of with a full suspension folding ebike called the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/eg/vienna-250-ex/']Vienna[/URL]. I also visited the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/category/juiced-bikes/']Juiced Riders[/URL] booth and saw a bunch of new models (a short cargo bike, a mountain bike and an extra large capacity cargo).

Then a gentleman named Bob said hi to me and took me over to see an electric bike wheelchair add-on for people who are handicapped. His son is a quadriplegic and he was excited to show how this thing adapts to a standard wheelchair. The company is called [URL='http://www.davincimobility.com/']Davinci Mobility[/URL] and their systems go from $3 to $5K.

[URL='http://www.wearea2b.com/us']A2B[/URL] has several new models for 2015 that are designed to be more affordable while still maintaining the hiqh quality that they have built their reputation on. I tested these out and should have reviews up in the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/category/a2b/']A2B section[/URL] of the website soon.

I had some lunch and then visited the Innovation Lab area of Interbike which features products from “up and coming” producers. On my way I saw the [URL='http://revolights.com/']Revolights[/URL] booth and got some footage of their rim-mounted LED lights that automatically sense forward and backwards (using an accelerometer) and cast a headlight and tail light for visibility and rider safety. They are really cool in their current form but I was told that future versions will have stronger mounting points and better batteries with a mobile app as well. This company began on Kickstarter.

I slowly passed the [URL='http://us.besv.com/']BESV[/URL] booth (later got to try their ebikes out, fancy designs but very expensive). Then I saw some [URL='http://kaymanbikes.com/']Kayman[/URL] electric bikes which resembled the new ebike from [URL='http://www.jetsonbike.com/']Jetson[/URL] that I tested out later in the show (review coming soon). I saw some kids helmets and then visited the [URL='http://www.prodecotech.com/']ProdecoTech[/URL] booth where they were displaying a bunch of new, more powerful ebikes. The Outlaw 1200 has a 1,200 watt motor that is for off-road use only. Aside from the motor size, it closely resembled the Outlaw SS that I’ve [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/prodecotech/outlaw-ss/']reviewed here[/URL]. THey also have a new Mariner folding ebike with a rear hub motor vs. front that I really enjoyed.

A bit later I saw the new smaller Sony Action camera and got to say hi to their reps. This was the last thing I saw for day 1. The next day I shot some footage of the Mandalay Bay halls and crowds pouring into the exhibit hall. One of the first things I saw was the [URL='http://www.genze.com/']GenZe[/URL] ebike which is a new affordable bike being built by the Mahindra group (an Indian company) debuting in Northern California. Their bikes cost ~$1,500 and are very basic, reviews coming soon. I had actually wanted to say hi to [URL='http://www.chipfoose.com/ws_display.asp?filter=Home']Chip Foose[/URL] but he left just as I was engaging with GenZe, bummer!

Right across the hall I saw [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/category/motiv/']Motiv[/URL] and was able to speak with Cameron about the “Stout” fat bike. After finishing with Cam I walked back to the Innovation Lab area and toured some startups. One was called [URL='http://fulgaz.com/']FULGAZ[/URL] and they’ve got an app that lets you use a bicycle trainer in tandem with video footage to practice routes or just make training more fun. They showed me some awesome footage from a Bay Area Marin Headlands ride in Northern California and we had fun chatting. For the demo I saw they were using a standard road bike in combination with a [URL='http://www.wahoofitness.com/']Wahoo KICKR[/URL] which costs ~$1,200 and the app uses a monthly subscription rate that gets as low as ~$13/mo if you subscribe for a year.

Some of the other booths I visited in this area include [URL='http://mybell.co/']MYBELL[/URL] which offers two recorded audio messages (digital horn) as well as LED lights (up to 110 lumens) and it mounts to most bike handle bars. Next I saw [URL='https://velosock.com/']Velo Sock[/URL] which has a cool “sock” for your bicycle to keep your carpet clean from dust and dirt and also make the profile of your bike more aesthetically pleasing (you can print anything you want on these so you an match your wallpaper if you want). A bit later I found ZEW and met the founder, Corbin from [URL='https://www.facebook.com/CorbinfiberElectricMotorCycles']Corbin Fiber Electric Cycles[/URL]. Next I visited the [URL='https://www.spinlister.com/']Spinlister[/URL] booth and they showed me their bicycle borrowing service… it’s basically Air B&B for bicycles so you can rent your bike or find one in the community to use vs. having to buy. In addition to bikes they also do surf and snowboard stuff :)

I kept moving through the Innovation Zone and found some adult sized training wheels from a company called [URL='http://www.ez-trainer.com/']EZ Trainer[/URL]. They looked pretty solid but I didn’t get a chance to go for a test ride. For people who might be struggling with mounting their bicycle or balancing this could be a useful product. Next I saw the [URL='http://www.flybar.com/']Flybar[/URL] which is like a giant pogo stick that you can actually do flips on! Pretty amazing product that goes form $150 to $300 depending on the size. You can also adjust the spring for your weight. Just down the aisle was [URL='http://www.boucliervisors.com/']Bouclier[/URL], a company that makes visors that can be attached to most helmets (using a sticker that has a magnet inside). These are designed to be easily removable but when left on, provide excellent protection from harmful sun rays that can lead to skin cancer. The Bouclier visor costs ~$45. Just next door to them was another face protection company that had a product more like giant sunglasses than a visor. This company was called [URL='https://raygear.com/index.php/']Raygear[/URL] and the product is Xshield which comes in full size, helmet size (it cuts off so you don’t bump your hat or helmet) and glasses size that’s just a bit larger than traditional sunglasses.

On the other side of the row I spotted the [URL='http://lock8.me/']Lock8[/URL] which is a fancy bicycle lock designed to mount directly (and semi-permanently) to the frame and then work with a cable. If the cable is tampered with, an alarm goes off and if the bike is completely stolen you can recover it through the use of integrated GPS tracking. This is another company that started on Kickstarter, future models may actually have cables that retract into the bike frame but the one I saw had a removable cable and retails for ~$250.

Back at the main showfloor I stumbled across the [URL='http://www.daymak.com/']Daymak[/URL] booth (a more traditional company that has been using Kickstarter in recent years to explore solar powered ebikes). These guys have a large scooter called the Beast and an all in one wheel which both use solar energy for charging. The all in one wheel actually uses solar panels on the controller and and uses a wireless communicator so it’s very easy to install. I was told this will launch on Kickstarter for ~$699.
Towards the end of the day I met with Don DiCostanzo from [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/category/pedego/']Pedego[/URL] and was allowed to go up onto their booth to shoot the entire showfloor. Interbike 2014 had more electric bikes that I have seen at the two prior shows I attended. Aside from the lack of sleep and last minute travel from my Sister’s wedding it was a lot of fun and I’ll be posting bike reviews here in the following weeks and months.

Award Ceremony Video :: 2014 Interbike E-Bike of the Year Award

On Thursday Interbike held an award ceremony banquet where Gary Fisher announced the Electric Bike of the Year. Above is a short video I shot with the award winner coming up on stage and then a few clips of the winning model. This was the first annual E-Bike of the Year Award to be given out at Interbike in the USA and it was exciting to see a recognized figure such as Gary Fisher voicing support for the industry.

Kathy Smith
2 months ago

Swept back bars will interfere with folding the bike. I tried Evelo Quest One, had to send it back but that bike had other major issues. I currently have Easy Motion Volt and the handlebars are closer than the ones on Evelo One but still a bit far (the bike was cheap for an electric bike so I'm OK with that for now until I find better fitting and faster e-bike). I had A2B Edge (currently Kuo) and that fit me perfectly but it broke after 5 years. I also tried Tern elink di7 and that had an adjustable handlebar so was good but it was too heavy, then I tried EZ Pedaler X350 and that was a also a goot fit in terms of a handlebar but not the rest, mainly the weight was an issue.

bluecat
3 months ago

Interesting; I thought, A2B was a trademark of UltraMotor. Then it seems as Ultra Motor ran into bankruptcy, their business was taken over by TDCM. The firmware used by UltraMotor made me the impression to be a legacy of the BionX firmware. In the beginning, Stromer used such firmware.

So, a non-Stromer replacement motor could work with the Stromer display unit (because the 36V battery is free accessible). Does this fit with your experiences?

Ann M.
3 months ago

Glad to help, Lisa. Even though Bike Mart is not a Stromer dealer, they should be able to connect with Stromer about parts & technical details. Although a visit to Austin at this time of year is pretty, I do suggest you skip it this weekend and the next. We're in the midst of a huge set of conferences & music with SXSW held in the downtown district and by LadyBird Lake, so finding somewhere to park or even manage the IH35 traffic near there is going to be difficult. Also, Rocket Electric is going to be on overdrive handling ebike rentals during the festival.

At this time, Electric Avenue does not have an on staff electric bike repair person, they send out the work to someone else, their focus is really more on the gas scooters they sell. Rocket Electric has several techs on their repair team, a couple that I've spoken with that are quite knowledgeable.

You can also call Stromer and see if they could arrange a repair via a Velotech repair team in your area; however, I think this would be more expensive than finding a competent electric bike shop to do the work. Please feel free to reach out to me if you need help on this; I've been working in the ebike industry for 17 years in the Austin area.

As a former A2B/UltraMotor dealer, we had the same issue come up years ago and the replacement motor was a significant improvement.

ajp
4 months ago

you will to need to send the fob in along with display to A2b - the fob has a sealed battery and they cost £25 each to replace and pair with the display

Josh Levinson
1 year ago

Would you recommend the a2b bikes (specifically the metro)?

86 and still kicking
1 year ago

We have a used A2B Ferber and Galvani that is under $2K. I can make you a good deal as these are demo units but with very low mileage and in great condition. Visit our website at http://www.velocitycommuting.com to see info on the bikes. 1K is a very tough budget for a quality ride.

86 and still kicking
1 year ago

Look at an A2B Galvani or Ferber at $2K. Great comfortable bikes, well built, with good warranties. Customers of ours who have purchased them from us have been very very pleased.

Ann M.
2 years ago

@heather muller, I took a look at the Ferber manual link (I'm assuming that this is the A2B bike that you have) and the "C" is a controller error related to how the torque sensor reads your pressure on the pedals, thus effects the speed. I'd check all of the basic connections to the motor & console & battery and make sure you're not leaning on the pedals before the system boots up. So do a basic reset. If that doesn't solve the issue then contact your shop or http://www.wearea2b.com/us/contact, you may need to get service on the torque sensor.

heather muller
2 years ago

I went down to ride my A2B to work this morning but there was an error code in the display and I couldn't get it to turn on. Under speed it said, "16E" and there was a large "C" in the center.

I some information on the Ferber manual (http://www.wearea2b.com/assets/files/uploads/Ferber_EN_September_2014_screen.pdf page 16) but nothing of how to fix it.

The bike is about 10-11 months old - of course the bike shop where I purchased it is closed today and I leave for out of town tomorrow.

Any ideas what's wrong? How to clear?

Tara D.
3 years ago

Very neat stuff from A2B-
The Entz will be for sale in January 2016 and has a 250 watt continental drive system with belt drive and NuVinci Harmony automatic shifting variable transmission! Very nice that the tail light is on the battery so no additional wiring to the back.
Two new prototypes A and B which are more about affordability with a standard chain drive, cassette and a Shengyi moto and a rack!
Alva+ featuring a new slimmer 17 ah battery which dealers can upgrade to
A2B is still continuing some of their most popular models Octave, Galvani, Ferber, Alva+ and Kuo+
A testament that the A2B bikes are very well made and durable in fact the Octave Alva+ and the Ferber have been used as rental bikes. Really nice 2 year warranty on the bikes. This year they are using a mounting system on the bikes and were able to mount an ABUS folding lock.
Here is Courts video from Interbike with Kyle from A2B

motostrano
3 years ago

If you like modern design, we have 2 great vendors who will be on hand this Saturday with their high end e-bikes. One of them is BESV who will be with us in full force showing their PS1 and LX1 e-bikes from South Korea.

A2B e-Bikes will be with us as well with their SHIMA, OCTAVE , GALVANI, FERBER AND ALVA+ models.

perf b
1 year ago

I have had an A2B 2015 Galvani and 2016 Ferber, and like the design and rideability, however the reliability of the electrical is not great. The control would go into error mode if you were standing with the bike and rolled it backwards slightly, and error mode would popup randomly while riding. Each time you have to stop and reset the battery on the back. Then a battery died and the dealer tells me there is a 6 month wait on getting a replacement! Unbelievable. Am looking at Kalkhoff/Bosch now.

wcp2006
4 years ago

Have you ever considered reviewing some of the direct from China electric bikes on aliexpress? I would think a company there would be open to sending you one for review. There are torque sensing pedal assist bikes for under $1,500 after shipping which is less than anything available in the U.S. as far as I can tell.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

+Mickey Mouska Great point, ProdecoTech delivers higher quality components at relatively low prices but their frame balance isn't great (that will change soon) and they lack assist right now. I'm excited to see what they've got in store and agree that their warranty is solid. It's also nice that they do a lot of their work here in the US vs. importing which allows them to continually adjust and improve the designs.

George Sears
4 years ago

+griswald You'd have to go with a kit at that price. Falco has a kit. I think Electric Cyclery sells it. There's a cheap XMK kit sold through Aliexpress. People do these kits, but you might find a shop to do some of it. 

Find an ebike dealer, rather than fixing a price or setting down a list of requirements. There are used bikes, Demo bikes, sales, etc. 

Most of the ebikes are ridiculously expensive. A basic bike with a throttle does 95% of what an ebike offers. But you want good tires, brakes and wheels, a good frame. Batteries are expensive and kits don't tend to include the batteries.

Most people who become motivated to try ebikes find a way to do it, if they like riding an ebike. The expensive bikes really blur the appeal. Most people will say "That is just out of reach". But there are good ways to do it on a budget and you learn more by just taking the time and doing it. 

And there are basic ebikes around $1500. There are problems going too low. You want to know what you are buying, whether kit or compete ebike. Home Depot and Sams sell a really cheap ebike, Yukon Trail, but there is no info on it anywhere. Someday there may be a decent bike at Costco or Walmart, but the focus now is expensive bikes. I don't know how they will sell bikes like this for $2500 if Walmart ever carries a decent bike for $1000.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

That's a good idea! Currently I'm overloaded with domestic bikes to review but I would like to get more of the affordable models into the mix including some of these online import ones. It comes down to time and hassle. I spend a lot of energy on reviews and nobody really pays me for that... I have some advertisers (I invite companies I trust) but it only goes so far. If I review a bike and it goes out of business that's no fun or if someone imports it and has issues that's a bummer too so I mostly stick to proven US companies.

wcp2006
4 years ago

Where are there US dealers that sell pedal-assist (torque sensing) bikes for $1,200, with lipo battery included? I don't want to become an importer, but when the price from China appears to be 50% cheaper, it becomes pretty hard to justify buying in the U.S. Lots of people have been happy with the throttle wheel-conversion kits that are around $200 to $500 (mostly depending on battery type)... but I'd really prefer pedal assist with a quieter and more efficient rear hub motor. Right now the only U.S. domestic options appear to start at $2,500, but mostly average in the $3,000 to $5,000 range. The ~$1,200 versions direct from China seem pretty appealing in comparison.

George Sears
4 years ago

You can get US dealer or online bikes for about that price. If you want to go really low consider a kit and conversion. Not really worth it to be your own importer. What if some little part is Chinese proprietary and you have to track it down?

This is a nice bike but the US market has so many bikes like this, at this price, something has to give. I guess we are all waiting for millions of units a year in the US. It's not like the web reviewers are  Consumer Reports, where they buy the products and have no ties to the companies. It would be nice If Consumer Reports did review electric bikes, and compile reliability ratings for them, but this is a tiny little industry with way too many companies involved given the units sold. Most buyers should look for a company with half a chance to be around in 18 months. 

I like my electric bike, but it's basic, throttle only, and low end. I'll wait and see what has worked out in two years, or go back to a non-powered bike. 

Zed Bowman
4 years ago

This bike looks a lot like my kit bike.  I have a black women's Manhattan Smoothie with a Golden Motors 1000 watt gear less motor,  I powered the motor with the 48 volt battery.  I have neurological problems and my balance is poor.  This low step style of bike is very, very easy to mount and has kept me riding on two wheels. My bike is not pedal assist but has a throttle with a cruise control.

Zed Bowman
4 years ago

+Electric Bike Review I agree the frames are very large and with the wide beach cruiser type handlebars I think they are just too big and heavy for me.  Ditto on the battery...it would be better if it were lower.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

+Zed Bowman Wow, that's awesome! I've rented the Cruisers and owned a Step-Thru City Commuter. The frames are just so large... but also beautiful. If they could bring the batteries down and into the frame like the Faraday Porteur I'd be very impressed :)

Zed Bowman
4 years ago

+Electric Bike Review
Yes, I have and it looks pretty nice.  In the past I have owned two Pedego's and the best thing about them is their frame designs.  I had a men's Comfort Cruiser and then I bought a women's Comfort Cruiser frame and switched the components.  I personally think the Pedego are the best looking.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Sounds like a cool setup Zed! I agree that the low-step design improves accessibility... Have you seen this new one from Pedego? http://electricbikereview.com/pedego/boomerang/

Max Pizarro
4 years ago

Great review!  What are your top 5 commuter electric bikes? 

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Hi Max, I was impressed with the Ferber but also like the Easy Motion EVO Eco and their Neo City and Street from last year. There's a bike called the E-Joe Anggun that's pretty nice and more affordable. One of the most beautiful is the Faraday Porteur and one of the meanest looking is the new Grace MX II Urban. Here's the full list that I've reviewed: http://electricbikereview.com/tag/city/