A2B Metro Review

A2b Metro Electric Bike Review 1
A2b Metro Review
A2b Metro 500 Watt Hub Motor
A2b Metro Rear Shock
A2b Metro Throttle And Brakes
A2b Metro Tires And Disc Brakes
A2b Metro Seat
A2b Metro Electric Bike Review 1
A2b Metro Review
A2b Metro 500 Watt Hub Motor
A2b Metro Rear Shock
A2b Metro Throttle And Brakes
A2b Metro Tires And Disc Brakes
A2b Metro Seat

Summary

  • Full suspension, forward positioned pedals and comfort seat make this bike feel like a Vespa scooter
  • High power 500 watt gearless rear hub motor provides torque and speed without a lot of noise
  • Unique frame design and extra wide tires make parking and locking the bike a bit challenging at times
  • Integrated fenders, front and rear lights and computer display work well and look great

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

A2B

Model:

Metro

Price:

$2,700 USD

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

5 Year Frame, 2 Year Electronics and Battery

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2013

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

72 lbs (32.65 kg)

Frame Material:

TIG Welded 6061 Aluminum Alloy

Geometry Measurements:

61" Long x 47" High x 23" Wide

Frame Types:

Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

White, Black, Silver, Red

Frame Fork Details:

Suspension

Frame Rear Details:

Spring Suspension Arm

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Alivio

Shifter Details:

Grip Twist on Left Bar

Pedals:

Aluminum Alloy Platform with Rubber Grips

Brake Details:

Avid BB5 Mechanical Disc

Grips:

Flat Rubber

Saddle:

Ultra Motor Comfort

Rims:

Alex DX32

Tire Brand:

Kenda Kraze, 20" x 3"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Accessories:

Double Leg Kickstand, Aluminum Alloy Bash Guard, Two Chain Tensioners to Support Long Chain, Oversize Plastic Fenders, Front and Rear LED Lights, Bar-End Mirror, Optional Second Battery for Rear Rack Arm

Other:

Some Older Models Have Key on Downtube, Newer Models Have a Display Panel with Speed and Battery Capacity Near the Stem, Battery is Not Easily Removable, Maximum Weight 325 Pounds

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

750 watts

Battery Brand:

Sanyo

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

410.4 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Display Accessories:

Keyed Ignition

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The A2B Metro is one of the most iconic electric bikes out there. Its unique design turns heads because unlike other electric bikes, it resembles a scooter and has full suspension. It was one of the earlier entries into the US market, arriving in September 2008, and features top of the line battery, motor and computer system… but it will cost you. The bike is powerful, ergonomic and easy to mount with the low step design which has evolved over the years. It isn’t perfect for every application but it’s one of my favorite bikes for cruising around town because it’s so comfortable and cool.

Worth noting real quick is that Ultra Motor, the UK based company that created the A2B Metro, was acquired by India based Hero Eco in January 2012. For this reason some people refer to the bike as an Ultra Motor, others by just A2B and still others as a Hero Eco. Hope that helps ;)

Back to the bike! The downsides of this design are weight, challenge in locking at bike racks and noise created by the chain running through the spring loaded chain guide. Most electric bikes weigh in around 50 pounds while the Metro is 72. This isn’t a deal killer because the motor is so strong and efficient but lifting the bike and even pedaling can be a challenge.

The vast majority of electric bikes out there use 26″ or 29″ wheels but the A2B Metro uses much smaller 20″ wheels. One benefit is increased torque and the other is lower center of gravity. The rear wheel on this bike needed room to travel up and down because of the built in shock. Had the bike been designed with larger wheels like it’s sister the A2B Velociti, the rider would have been positioned much higher and the relaxed position would have been compromised.

The wheels themselves work well but the distance between the rear hub and bottom bracket (where the pedals connect to the frame) is quite far. In order to keep the chain from falling off or whacking the frame, a spring loaded chain guide has been added and that makes a bit more noise with added friction when pedaling. I do feel like there’s one downside to the current design and that is ground clearance. Look at the picture below real quick, even though the chain is elevated way up out of the way, the kickstand still hangs down and can hit curbs and other elevated obstacles. To me this is a miss and I wish the kickstand was placed more out of the way. In my time riding this bike the kickstand also bounced when going over bumps which is annoying. I’m not a big fan of these motorcycle-style double sided kickstands. I usually take them off and replace with a side folding design but with the Metro, since weight is such a factor, it’s worth leaving on.

The tires on this bike are a blessing and a curse. The upside is that they absorb energy and shock because they are wider and contain more air than traditional tires. They corner well, grip the road and look amazing. The downside is that the increased surface area exposes them to more punctures and many riders have expressed frustration in the overall quality of the tire material itself. They work fine for streets but considering the dual suspension setup and temptation of going off road, flats could be an issue and they aren’t as easy to fix at a bike shop because the tubes are an untraditional size.

My favorite part about this bike is the seat and upright positioning. It feels a lot like riding a Vespa, and that’s a good thing! The seat is soft and comfortable, the handles are close so you don’t have to lean forward and strain your neck and back. You’re kept relatively low to the ground so leaning sideways isn’t physically demanding. Check out the picture again, see how the pedals are further forward? This makes for a more comfortable ride. Your feat easily reach the pedals and feel relaxed. None of this really helps you pedal the bike but that’s not really one of the strong suites of this model, it doesn’t even have pedal assist.

In terms of parking and locking this bike, there are a few challenges worth noting. The tires are extra large which makes them harder to squeeze into some racks. The frame is thick and doesn’t incorporate a large triangle, like most standard bicycles, which means you have to be creative and use a cable to lock up. The good news is, this bike requires a key to start and it’s heavy so that makes it much harder to steal. While we’re on the topic of keys I should note, on the first generation design of the A2B Metro the key was actually placed on the top side of the downtube vs. the handlebars. This made it susceptible to getting kicked when mounting or dismounting. The design has been changed in subsequent generations but it’s one way to tell older models apart. Now the ignition switch is positioned on handlebars and a fancy speedometer has also been added.

This bike does well on range with the stock battery which is mounted inside the downtube. This positioning helps to distribute weight evenly from front to rear and keep the center of gravity low, making it natural to handle. The downside here is that the battery is harder to remove for charging; it’s really designed to be charged on the bike. If your commute is extra long, there is an option for a second battery pack that mounts to the rear rack portion of the frame. This changes the weight distribution a little bit, and makes the shock more bouncy, but looks good and is much easier to remove for charging.

If you’re looking for a smooth ride with comfortable seating position and powerful motor, this is a great choice. The A2B Metro is a very capable bike and it’s fun to ride. The cables are all integrated into the frame, the speedometer is sleek and the keyed ignition creates good security, especially paired with the weight. If you’re shopping for a stylish, efficient transporter ,this is a good choice. But if you want to blend in a bit more and take advantage of traditional bicycle racks and accessories, this bike may not be right for you.

Pros:

  • Built in front and rear LED lights
  • Built in front and rear fenders
  • Keyed on/off switch to prevent tampering at the bike rack
  • Integrated cables for a clean design
  • Dual shocks smooth out the ride without creating flex in frame or wobbling
  • Super comfortable seat and upright riding position
  • Powerful, smooth and quiet 500 watt rear hub motor is brushless and gearless

Cons:

  • Harder to attach on bike racks or car racks
  • Larger surface area on mid-grade tires susceptible to flats
  • Pedals don’t offer as much traction as some with spikes, be careful in the rain
  • Louder pedaling because of chain guide and extended chain
  • Low hanging kickstand, bounces when going over bumps

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More A2B Reviews

A2B Kuo+ Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Improves on the standard Kuo with smoother cadence sensing pedal assist, a larger motor and battery and upgraded drivetrain using Shimano Alivio vs. Shimano Tourney. Low weight distribution, removable battery is easy to access, fenders rack and lights look good…...

A2B Galvani Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High-step urban cruiser with quiet resposive motor, removable battery pack and excellent warranty. Premium upgrades including ergonomic grips from Ergon, fenders with double supports, alloy chain guard and…...

A2B Ferber Review

  • MSRP: $2,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Relaxed urban cruiser with quiet resposive motor, removable battery pack and excellent warranty. Premium upgrades including ergonomic grips, fenders, chain guard, suspension fork with lockout, rack and integrated…...

A2B Shima Review

  • MSRP: $3,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy step-through frame, strong smooth motor and higher top speed of ~28 miles per hour. Commuter ready with front and rear LED lights, fenders, rear rack and lots of reflectors...

A2B Alva+ Review

  • MSRP: $3,400
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Stylish frame with front and rear fenders, disc brakes, lights and a suspension fork for added comfort. Powerful 500 watt direct drive (gearless) rear hub motor is quiet and durable...

A2B Kuo Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Light weight, affordable and feature rich with fenders, light and computer. Offers both twist throttle and pedal assist mode for increased range...

A2B Octave Review

  • MSRP: $3,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Smooth, strong ride with solid frame, dual suspension and large gearless hub motor. Beautiful design featuring integrated cables, matching fenders and front and rear lights...

A2B Velociti Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Elegant design features integrated wires, fenders and lights with matching seat and grips. Front shock and larger tires smooth out the ride, adjustable neck for varied positioning...


Mike
5 years ago

Central Ontario Canada — 2013-01-11
Nice review… Thank you! — I would like to add that smaller diameter 20″ wheels put a lot more torque (power) on the road! :-) — I assume your review is on the much improved Gen.2 Metro? (Can’t find date on your review !?)
I always pedal assist my Metro and find it very easy/comfortable and completely silent… Here Gen.2 Metros are delivered without upper chain guide and it works just fine. I’m average weight/height 73kg/1.73m. Very happy with my Metro… just over one year and over 5000 km totally trouble free.

Reply
paul8bee
3 years ago

Had the A2B for 2 weeks now. So far so good.March 01 2014 Bike handles well and has amazing power. It will do 31-33 km/hr on the flat, and still do 24-27 km/hr on the one incline I have on the way. The seat is a bit low for me, and am looking to get an extension to make pedalling easier. I am relying on this machine to get me to work and back each day. 7.8 km x 4 trips/day. First week was just rain rain, and freezing cold. I am wondering how the machine will hold up to all that west coast Vancouver island water> The shop techs tell me the bike is sealed up pretty well. The hydrolic brakes feel a bit spongy, and I would rather have a simple cable system.

Reply
paul8bee
3 years ago

may 15. 2000 km’s in 2 1/2 months. So far so good. 250 one way trips made. The front disc pad wore out but was easy to replace by myself. I have ridden in cold, and wind and rain, rain, rain. The rain kicks up road dirt that wears down the brakes. Also the pedal assist sensor that is mounted on the crank sprocket quit. Too much road dust. Velec told me it was a design flaw, and to just leave it. I think that I need to hose the thing down more during rainy weather. This bike is my MAIN transportation, and it has to get me through the next 12 months. Thumbs up so far.

Reply
Rusty Turner
3 years ago

I’ve got almost 10,000 miles on a first-generation A2B and have had very few issues. The auxiliary battery died while under warranty, and I’m on my 3rd set of tires. I changed the brakes out for BB7s early on and have only replaced the pads a couple times. I’ve looked far and wide for alternative tires, because the originals do poorly in the wet…and it rains a lot in Portland. Thus far, I’ve found no workable replacements. Oh, and I replaced the short seat post with a longer one and fitted a Hobson seat. Now it fits AND is more comfortable. I’m VERY happy with the A2B.

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Awesome testimonial Rusty, thanks for sharing. I was just checking the review of the A2B Octave (which is similar to the Metro, just re-named) and commenter “joepah” said that he was able to use 16″ moped tires to replace the stock ones that came on the bike. He said they were more durable and I found some on Amazon (the first ones, Shinko SR714) look promising. Hope this helps you out!

Reply
Erik
3 years ago

I own two first gen a2b metros that I bought used. I put around 150 miles a week on either or of these bikes and here is what I do and don’t like about them and you will see that I have more likes then dislikes but the dislikes for particularly the first generation metro’s are fairly big complaints.

LIKES
– solid feel, very comfortable I can ride them everyday for several miles and show up to work not tired or with achy joints
– 3 inch wide tires are very stable and I find they work great in the rain. I used to get a lot of flats now I use sealant in the tubes and the problem is fixed
– Great battery longevity, The batteries in both of the used first gen metros I bought hold a strong charge and they are several years old. Amazing.
– Great quality charger with XLR connection and it makes sense cause the chargers cost around 150$
– very good kickstand heavy duty durable and will stand the bike up even on sloped ground
– has handled the heat and the rain great so far. I have ridden it in over 90 degree heat and in the rain several times no issues yet
– BB5 brakes do the job great for me. Easy to adjust with the turn of a wheel. Takes like 5 seconds to adjust each one and I do it at stoplights frequently.
– wide Alex rims are good and only seem to need truing about once every 5 thousand miles
– bike looks great

DISLIKES
-first gen motor is not compatible with second gen a2b metro bikes and vise verse because the controller was relocated from the motor and put into the frame on newer metro models and the octave. First gen motors may be getting hard to find. I had to replace a hub motor on one out of two of my a2b bikes and I couldn’t get a warranty with it because its already an old part that’s not in production anymore . I think i got a cheaper price because it was a first gen motor with no warranty but not really sure what a second gen one costs. It would have been nice if they got the motor/controller design right the first time but they didn’t.
-The rear fender is a very poor design that hits against the tire on even small bumps making a lot of loud plastic slapping noises. I noticed they have a different fenders on the second gen metro and octave models which was a good move. Hopefully that one doesn’t hit the tire. I have the rear fenders off both of my bikes even riding in the rain cause i can’t stand how much (broken plastic noise) the rear fender makes when it hits the tire literally on small bumps in the road. The front fender however works great and is very tough as well.

I really like the metro’s unique style and stable robust ride. I hope that a2b keeps the new bike parts compatible with older bike parts.. For example if I buy an octave in 2015. I want to be able to still find a motor or battery brand new that will fit the bike in 2020

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Great feedback Erik, thanks for sharing your experience with the A2B Metro and discussing some of the things you liked and some of the things that have been improved. I agree that it delivers one of the more comfortable and stable rides on electric bikes and even though the fenders could drag a bit on first generation, it’s nice that they fixed it for newer models because I liked the feeling that you would stay dry and could almost use it like a scooter or car to get around no matter the weather.

Reply
paul
3 years ago

Nov 01 2014. Now 8 months on the road @800/km per month (6500 km total) and have plugged the charger in 850 times to ride the 8 km x 4 trips a day to work. (1/2 charge each time @ 2 hr per/charge) (the bike shop says that is the same as 425 full charges)

So far not one mechanical Issue with the bike. Last month alone a foot of rain came down, but did not affect the bike any. My dislikes are the stock Kenda tires. I’ve had 6 flats so far (I guess I ride on a busy hy-way and lots of debries). On my bike, you have to remove the Back Shiftier/derailleur, to get the back wheel off. I’ve spoken with Parker Ross at head office http://www.wearea2b.com/en_ca/contact and he told me that they changed the back arm design, and they are working on a new Mounting bracket for the shifter. (wish they got it right the first time, but this bike is still in its pioneering stages).

Then he suggested a tire change. he wrote “One of the popular replacement tire options is a DOT rated motorcycle tire, which gives it a very hard casing and flats seem to disappear. This specific tire is a Shinko SR714 in size 2.25-16, making it narrower then stock. This tire is sized much differently because it is for motorcycles, which makes it tough to install, but is a great tire once mounted… another tire that we have used is the Odyssey Hawk in 20″ x 2.4“, which is a BMX bicycle tire. This tire has a nice sticky outer layer, great for wet conditions, and is dual ply, so highly puncture resistant. It is also narrower then stock, and can hold up to 100 psi, so it is a much smoother rolling tire…”

I ordered the shinko sr714 p-speed rating, There are two models, the L speed rating (good for 75 mph) and the P speed rating( good for 93 mph) I did not know the difference when I ordered. Hope I got the right one. I wish I had ordered the l speed tire, but I’ll have to wait and see, when the tire gets here in a week.

My next issue was the battery temperature. The weather here is getting colder, and cold seems to slow down the battery. Since I can not store the bike indoors, I bought a heat lamp and am going to make some kind of mini garage for it to get through this winter. I go to work at 3:30 am each morning and that is the coldest time of the day. I find the red battery indicator light comes on much more when the temp goes below 50 degrees F. I appreciate all comments of links that relate to this bike. This bike is my only transportation, and It just has to keep on rolling.

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

This is such great feedback Paul! Thank you for sharing the official tips from A2B about replacement tires, I’ve heard others express that the stock ones can get flats but your advice actually says which ones to go for. I wish you luck with the heat lamp and garage (be careful not to start a fire!) is there any way you can just remove the battery and save electricity and cost? This was one of the big negative points with the Metro, the battery in the down tube isn’t so easy to get off :/

Reply
Erik
3 years ago

Update : After a good luck run with not getting flat tires and thinking that sealant was saving the day I did start getting a number of flats shortly after. I think it is just the width of the tires, the fact they are still a bicycle tire and not really that thick especially in the lines of the tread pattern which is where i usually get punctures, and this is a heavy bike to be on bicycle tires. The sealant only seems to plug slow leaks and tiny punctures of that nature. I recently patched a couple of tubes for the metro. I will be testing them soon and hope it works, and it should work. I bought a patch kit that came with glue, 8 patches and sandpaper for 2 dollars. This will be a great way to keep the tubes alive because they do get punctured a lot. I think anyone who purchases a bike like this needs to be able to change a flat well or its not really worth it. I change a back tire flat in about 25 minutes now because I’ve done it so many times. Everything else on the bike works well and I love that they barely need any maintenance. The Avid BB5 brake pads are easy to change out. I’m glad the wheels on the metro stay in true for a while because I’m not any good at truing wheels yet. I read the post where someone said they put shinko scooter tires on the metro. I think that sounds like a good idea but scooter tires are probably going to be quite difficult to get on or off the rim and I would be a bit concerned with using steel tire levers on the A2B metro’s aluminum rims. One good thing about the Kenda Kraze bicycle tires on the metro is that they are very easy to get off the rim with a single plastic tire lever. I may still try the shinko scooter tires in the future but for now I will just stick with trying out the patches. Sometimes I ride regular road cycles to work but often times I ride my a2b metro to work only and I’m putting around 500 miles a month on it in the bike lane where there is a lot of debris so flat tires will happen. I love having electric bikes in addition to my regular bicycles.

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Great update, thanks Erik! I saw your duplicate post and will delete that one :)

Reply
joe
3 years ago

Guys it good to read you have had a very reliable A2B metro. EXCEPT those g.d. Kenda Tires!

Owned mine for around 5 years and must have repaired or replaced flats 15 times. It was crazy. The distributor got so sick of hearing me complain he actually mailed me the latest double thick Kenda tires gratis.. Didn’t make one bit of difference!

Then I found out from the distributor at the time the best fix was to scrap the bicycle tires for Moped Tires.

So I bought Shinko SR714s with bicycle thorn resistant tubes.. I believe the size was 16″x2.25″… The 16″ tires were a snug fit on the A2B rims because it was a stiffer sidewall.. needed both tire irons.. 2 ply DOT tire rated for 75 MPH. Remember that MC or Moped tire size is based on the rim, while bicycle tires are based on the Tire OD.

Not only did I not have any more flats, I didn’t even need to add air any more… Downside is the tire OD is a little smaller and the width is obviously less (2.25 vs 3.0″w). Price at the time was $20 per tire… Wears like iron.

If I had a Metro today I would probably buy the Pirelli ML75 Scooter tire 2.5″width. Or go to a real motorcycle shop and ask them to fit your ebike up with something around 2.5″ wide.

Reply
Erik
2 years ago

Hey I would like to leave another follow up. I finally went and had moped tires put on one of my a2b metro’s. I visited a small scooter store that was full of everything from cheap children’s scooters to 350 cc freeway legal scooters to motorized gas bicycles. They did not have a matching set of tires so I had to settle with 2 different ones on the bike. There is a 2.75″ Hutchinson moped tire on the back and a Shinko SR 714 2.25″ on the front. I paid 15 dollars for each tire to have them put on and around 50 dollars for both tires. I think i can get the tires on myself next time but it didn’t look that easy. The moped tires are a lot heavier then the kenda’ kraze and I am noticing less range in the bike now. At least a couple of miles per battery less. Where as before I could get to work with very little pedaling if i wanted to, now I have to pedal majority of the time to make it there and back. Pedaling the a2b metro with throttle assist is still much easier work then riding a regular bicycle though. I have only put about 300 miles on the bike since I got the new moped tires put on but i have a lot of confidence in them. They are worth the sacrifice of a bit of range due to the weight. I had moped tubes installed as well and they have an all metal valve with a supporting cuff. Not only do they look more durable, they are. The shinko SR 714’s can be bought for about 20 dollars a piece. The heavy duty motorcycle tubes for around 10 dollars a piece. I also noticed they do have 3″ wide moped tires that will fit the metro as well. I’m keeping both tires at there max psi of 35 or even slightly over because I cant afford to lose anymore range then these tires have already subtracted. There is always more debris in the bike lane to cause flats but at least now Ive got motorcycle tires on my bike and they will surely be much harder to puncture then the kenda’s. Another thing to consider is that the moped tires would be very difficult to change on the side of the road if a flat occurred but I cant see many flats happening with the moped tires unless some really nasty stuff is ran over. I would like to point out something about the battery chargers. They are a good quality charging brick with a nice XLR connector but I do believe they can get too hot and stop working. I got both of my metro’s and there chargers used. One of them I used for about a year and I got a lot of use out of it. I usually put a fan over the charger but a few times i forgot. Last time i forgot to put a fan over it, and I charged both battery s back to back. I noticed the charger had shut itself off.. when I felt the charger it was very hot and this had happened before but this time it wouldn’t turn back on and its dead. Luckily I had another charger ready to go but now I feel like i need to buy a spare charger. Use a fan on your charger if its hot or even warm in your building. The charger has a small computer fan built into it but its not really up to the job of cooling this beast. It can take some abuse with getting too hot but eventually a circuit will fry. That’s just my opinion. Anyways I’ve got 2 used first gen metro bikes and they both still work. One has a replaced motor and now has about 3-4 k miles.. the other bike has the original motor and has around 5-6 k miles. Both have the original internal frame battery’s going strong. By the way 2nd gen metro’s are going down in price a lot now that the octave has been out for a while. I think this seems like a fairly hassle free bike once the tires are changed.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Great update Erik, I’m glad the moped tires are working out in terms of durability and appreciate the feedback about ~2 miles of range decrease. I’ve heard about some chargers overheating and am glad that nothing more serious happened but sorry to hear that you’re down to just one now. The Metro has always been attractive to me in terms of style and it does seem rugged. I hope you get even more miles and am impressed with the 3-4k that you report already having! Ride safe and I look forward to the next update :)

Reply
Joshua Dovey
2 years ago

Can anyone send me a wiring diagram got a bone project using the parts off a UltraMotor 500watt Metro can get power to Cycle Analyst but no power out the controller to motor not sure on make of controller either please someone email me

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Joshua, I wish I could help you with this but I don’t have access to the wiring diagram for A2B bikes (I actually don’t have this type of thing for most of the bikes I’ve reviewed). If you post in the A2B forums however, someone might be able to help you or direct you to a good resource. Maybe someone else owns the same bike and can offer advice. Look for Ann M. there, she used to own one I think.

Reply
Erik
2 years ago

Putting the motorcycle tires on the metro was the best upgrade to make and i wish i would have made it sooner. I have an estimated 1800 miles on these tires. Ive pulled out goat heads , a staple, and a bit of glass. All stuff that would have probably popped the kenda kraze tires like they were a balloon. These motorcycle/moped tires are available in many different widths.. they take special heavy duty tubes. These upgraded tires and tubes were actually a little bit cheaper than the kenda stuff that was failing left and right on the metro. The moped tires can be pretty difficult to get on the rim but some shops will install them. I have noticed a little bit of a decrease in range since upgrading the tires. They are way thicker and heavier tires than the kenda kraze and they add rotational weight. I would say I have noticed a loss of around 2 miles per battery charge which is about 10-15 percent. These tires have a small loss in range and a big gain in reliability.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Great feedback Erik! I’m glad the moped tires are working well. Where did you buy them or do you know where others might find them if they want to buy online?

Reply
Erik
2 years ago

I got the moped/scooter tires at a scooter store here in San Jose but they can be ordered online from a few different sites. The guy that owns that scooter shop suggested a company called TREATLAND TV for ordering moped tires. The tires are working out so great i must have roughly 5000 miles on them now with no flats They are basically motorcycle tires and do need to be installed with steel tire levers. I just went ahead and paid to have mine installed (30 bucks). Now the only problem ive been having with my 1st gen metro is overheating on hot days and it seems to take about a full hour for the bike to be able to turn back on. I believe this problem has been fixed with the metro 2nd gen a good 3 or 4 years ago when they moved the controller from the motor to the frame and hopefully it did fix the problem completely cause it is a big one.

Like Joe up there said. Moped/scooter tires are listed by rim size. The a2b metro has a rim diameter size of 16″. As far as width of the tire goes.. The Shinko sr714 2.25″ works and is a considerably skinnier tire than the stock kenda’s but do look ok in my opinion. The Hutchinson gp1 tire that I have installed on the rear is the tire i would recommend it is 2.75″ and looks very fat (only 1/4 inch Skinner than the kenda’s) Search the “Hutchinson GP1 16×2.75″ and there are also more options than the two tire types that Ive listed.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Awesome details Erik, the tires sound like a sweet upgrade. I think I’d also get help from a shop putting them on, glad you found one that would do it and that you’re getting great use out of your Metro :)

Reply
JuneR
2 years ago

My husband is a fairly large man, and he wasn’t happy on hills, so I inherited the Metro (purchased 11/2011-store closed in Medford, MA). I have only used it a few times-not worth selling because the value was lost, so I decided to keep it. I recently went to use it and recharged it, but the panel is “dead” so I assume the battery is dead-we hadn’t done the regular recharging required. I now find that a battery costs over $800. what a rip off. Any workarounds on batteries? Thanks for any thoughts.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Bummer… Yeah, batteries are expensive for these things. Maybe ask around in the A2B forums? There are some shop owners who hang out there and some individuals who might have tips for you on trying to revive the pack or buying an aftermarket pack that’s more affordable.

Reply
June
2 years ago

Thanks for your reply! I’ll try removing it using the video link that Kyle at K2B sent me, and I’ll see if it can be revived. That would be the optimal solution. I was trying not to sell it since you lose such value, but if the expense is so high, it may not be worth the expense for the minimal use. Best, June

Reply
paul binder
2 years ago

Update: Its been a year since my last post. I put the Shinko sr714 tires on and they lasted 12 days before I took on a Nail. All round a great tire thou. It got me through the winter quite nicely. The Shinko’s seem to stick to black ice and were great going through the week or so of snow we had. A couple of weeks of -5 degree weather did not slow me down either. Bottom line on tires is this, “There is not one tire in the world that is immune to a NAIL” Problems started at 8000 km. The bike just went dead, then would work for a bit, on and off. We thought it was the battery so I ordered a new one. “That was believe it or not 295 days ago”.. Still no battery. First there was a problem with customs and that took 90 days t clear up, and when the battery eventually came, it was defective, so they had to send that one back. So now I am waiting for the shop to try and find some sort of replacement. They said they would put something together, but it has not happened yet. The bike has now been in the shop longer than I originally rode it for. Very disappointing to say the least. The Metro is a good reliable stable comfortable bike, but, the problem is that there is “ZERO” service. I paid $1150.00 cnd up front for the battery 10 months ago and still no battery. The bike is pretty much useless without a battery. To make matters worse I bought a second metro as a backup. This was because I did not have a drivers licence and was absolutely dependent on the bike to get to work. The new bike now has 4,500 km and I guess when this battery goes I will be stuck with 2 useless metros. Now I am into it for about $9,150.00 to cover 12,500 kms over 16 months, and basically “zero” resale value. Bottom line for me is this. The Metro was a great bike until something goes wrong and I was pretty much on my own.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Wow, Paul… that’s a tough story to read man, you’ve got a great attitude! So sorry to hear that they haven’t delivered the battery you paid for. I’m glad the experience of riding an electric bike (that works) has been a good one for you but bummed to hear about the business support issues. There are lots of other brands to choose from and I try to select these as advertisers for the site. I trust Haibike and IZIP as well as Pedego (among others). I hope you’re able to get something that works long term if/when the battery on your second Metro expires. Maybe they’ll finally deliver on the first battery owed to you but with older models even if you get a “new” battery it can be worn down just from sitting in storage :/

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Mark Peralta
2 days ago

I think the link you provided might be the different motor. Amego says Das-kit R4 motor, but that one says RX2C.
Also Amego link says 60nm of torque and RX2C says 38nm.

It doesn't show anything on the spec sheet, but when you clink on "Benefits" on right hand side of Amego Elevate, it says 60nm of torque.

You're right, I stand corrected. It's a different spec.
Interestingly, I found another site that sells Magnum with the same Hub motor (Das kit R4) and it is rated at 28 mph. 27.5 and 700c cannot explain the 5 kph difference.
https://www.magnumbikes.com/product/magnum-metro-plus/
The display looks like this

This video shows that the speed limit can be adjusted. 0.42 on the video is the max speed on PAS and 0.44 is the max throttle speed.

If the Amego Elevate has the same C7 display then there's no reason it cannot be done.
This one is the C6 version, setting up speed limit.

addendum:
Just found this review of the Amego Elevate and it has a different control display. So your dealer maybe right in saying that the speed limit cannot be adjusted.
https://www.meetup.com/it-IT/Electric-Bicycles/messages/boards/thread/50931242

1/1
Lost
4 weeks ago

So my current setup is a cygolight 850 lumen that I use mostly for a strobe function and "low beam" around town. http://www.ebay.com/itm/CYGOLITE-METRO-850-LUMENS-USB-RECHARGEABLE-BIKE-BICYCLE-FRONT-HEADLIGHT-NEW-/291939528400?_trksid=p2385738.m2548.l4275
But the most amazing light (for output and price) is my $10 ebay light, modified with a switch on the back and wired to the 48 volt battery: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Universal-12V-80V-20W-Black-LED-Headlight-Lamp-Motorcycle-E-bike-6000K-X6MB/301821806442?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649
It is as bright (imho) as a car headlight, and does not impact the main battery at all, relatively speaking. Down a country road, or path, highbeam on, and no one would tell you it is not enough light, it lights up EVERYTHING. in the city or oncoming traffic, the cygolight is pretty dang good in and of itself. The strobe function during the day is worth carrying it around just for that. But it is plenty fine on its own at night. At the back I have a wired in Luna tailight, it turns on whenever the battery is turned on, and has come in handy to remind me to turn the battery off.
To top it off, I have one of these stuffed into the back of my helmet, flashing and VERY BRIGHT: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01NCPSQV3/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

David Spangenberg
1 month ago

David, that voltage reading doesn't sound bad. You may have an issue with the controller or secondary electronics connected to the controller that are located just below the battery. Depending upon the version of Metro you may have a motor with the controller inside the motor which would be more vulnerable to overheat issues during climbs, especially if you're not pedaling enough. Have you spoken with the tech staff at A2B in San Francisco? Kyle and his team are quite knowledgeable.

Technically, you could add a rear rack battery; your bike should already be wired for that. The challenge is the unique connector coming from the bike to the battery. A2B has one that is designed to slide onto the rear rack and lock in.
Ann, Thank you! That is great news about the voltage. I called A2B in San Francisco before I posted and got a disconnect for the showroom number. Do you know how to get in touch with Kyle in S? I'm in Healdsburg, about an hour or so north of SF.

Ann M.
1 month ago

David, that voltage reading doesn't sound bad. You may have an issue with the controller or secondary electronics connected to the controller that are located just below the battery. Depending upon the version of Metro you may have a motor with the controller inside the motor which would be more vulnerable to overheat issues during climbs, especially if you're not pedaling enough. Have you spoken with the tech staff at A2B in San Francisco? Kyle and his team are quite knowledgeable.

Technically, you could add a rear rack battery; your bike should already be wired for that. The challenge is the unique connector coming from the bike to the battery. A2B has one that is designed to slide onto the rear rack and lock in.

David Spangenberg
1 month ago

@JRA & @David Spangenberg, the A2B Metro with the internal battery cannot easily be uninstalled & remounted; it's inside the frame, pushed in from the bottom of the bike after removing part of the controller; not a quick process! It's possible that the battery you got sat on a shelf for a while before you received it and was built with older style cells that lack the capacity that current ones have. Even with maintenance charging it still ages. If you let that battery sit for a few months it starts to degenerate. When new in good condition, it should read approximately 41.5 Volts; if it's much below that then you're more likely to experience the motor bogging down or cutting out due to low voltage, particularly on hills. Better to choose a smaller or easier to pedal gear; you can damage the motor or controller from overheating & low voltage.

Getting the battery rebuilt is a reasonable option; you'll have better range and maybe a little more speed depending upon how the pack is built.
I put a volt meter on a fully charged battery and it read 41.7 volts. What do you think of that reading? Does that sound like a bad cell? Also, do you know if there is an after market battery pack I can attach to the external battery port? Thank you for all your help on this.

David Spangenberg
1 month ago

@JRA & @David Spangenberg, the A2B Metro with the internal battery cannot easily be uninstalled & remounted; it's inside the frame, pushed in from the bottom of the bike after removing part of the controller; not a quick process! It's possible that the battery you got sat on a shelf for a while before you received it and was built with older style cells that lack the capacity that current ones have. Even with maintenance charging it still ages. If you let that battery sit for a few months it starts to degenerate. When new in good condition, it should read approximately 41.5 Volts; if it's much below that then you're more likely to experience the motor bogging down or cutting out due to low voltage, particularly on hills. Better to choose a smaller or easier to pedal gear; you can damage the motor or controller from overheating & low voltage.

Getting the battery rebuilt is a reasonable option; you'll have better range and maybe a little more speed depending upon how the pack is built.
I got a price yesterday of $530 plus shipping to rebuild the battery from a place in Las Vegas. She said to see if I could not juice out the battery this year and send it in the winter and I am going to give that a try. I need to track down my volt meter and give that reading a try. Thank you for the correct number - very helpful.

Do you know if there is an after market external battery that will attach to the back of that bike and does that also need its own controller?

Ann M.
1 month ago

@JRA & @David Spangenberg, the A2B Metro with the internal battery cannot easily be uninstalled & remounted; it's inside the frame, pushed in from the bottom of the bike after removing part of the controller; not a quick process! It's possible that the battery you got sat on a shelf for a while before you received it and was built with older style cells that lack the capacity that current ones have. Even with maintenance charging it still ages. If you let that battery sit for a few months it starts to degenerate. When new in good condition, it should read approximately 41.5 Volts; if it's much below that then you're more likely to experience the motor bogging down or cutting out due to low voltage, particularly on hills. Better to choose a smaller or easier to pedal gear; you can damage the motor or controller from overheating & low voltage.

Getting the battery rebuilt is a reasonable option; you'll have better range and maybe a little more speed depending upon how the pack is built.

Dewey
1 month ago

Justin Lemire Elmore's Geanie prototype he took to Unicon looks terrific. I've seen a couple of students using balance boards and electric skate boards on campus and one commuter gets off the metro at my stop and uses a sit-down e-unicycle, sorry don't know the model. Electric kick scooters like these appear to be more popular with public transit commuters to get from their stop to work/home.

Over50
2 months ago

I would say buy in Denver so you don't have to move the bike and more importantly, as you mention, you have the service after the sale from a Denver area shop with the associated local knowledge. But on the other hand, if you have an idea of what makes/models you are interested in and there isn't availability in Denver then you should buy in Seattle. I would think the Seattle area would be rich in e-bike representation and you'd be able to get most of the top brands there. The issue where I live is that many of the top end manufacturers are not represented. Despite living in a major metro area, I have pretty limited access to brands and to try something like an Ohm or a Haibike I pretty much have to plan a long drive to someplace like Chicago, Toronto etc.

Dewey
2 months ago

Some good statistics and info on the website of the Bicycle Helmet Safety Institute with the pros and cons weighed up. As a teenager I fell off a BMX at 0mph on the road on loose gravel under a nearly bald tire, I wasn't wearing a helmet and my head hit the curb stone - hurt like hell at the time and I still have the scars from the road rash on my elbow. Nowadays I sometimes commute into work on a Class 1 ebike wearing a helmet, but sometimes when I take the DC Metro and it craps out I bail and take Capital Bikeshare the rest of the way into work and don't wear a helmet. I've been thinking about carrying a folding helmet but most of the designs I've seen are relatively expensive (>$100) or too bulky to fit in my backpack with my work gear. I like the concept of a disposable folding helmet for bikeshare systems, but cardboard doesn't work when it gets wet.

Bformosan
2 months ago

Hi guys,
it is my first post on the forum and i would like to promote you our new 12 inches foldable e-bicycle.
we are a manufacturer based in Taiwan with factories both in Taiwan and China.
I will try to be fast :D

here are our main advantages:

in a way that you can still push it when folded ( practical in metro etc...)
250w power
battery in inside the frame ( samsung)
12 inches weels ( 16 inches next month)
25km/h ( charging time 2.5 to 3 hours)
maximum weight 120kg
weight 19.45 kg
distance per charge is 30 to 55 km, depending on how you use it-
using only the motor or pedaling meanwhile

price is 600US$ per piece - if distributor price is negotiable - if 10 persons decide to get it ( we can arrange a price too)- for information, a 20 ft containers can be filled with 63 pieces ( cost around 1500us$ depending on the forwarder which is equal to 24us$ per piece)

if you have any question, do not hesitate to ask wether on this forum or directly to my email
bronek<AT>btc.com.tw

1/4
iGo Owner
2 months ago

I purchased an iGo Metro Ergofit. For one blissful month it ran perfectly. Then, one morning the bike wouldn't turn on. The battery had shown a half-full status the last time I had ridden it (2 days prior). When I put the battery on the charger, it showed as being charged. Customer service advised me to plug the battery in while on the bike, but still the bicycle wouldn't turn on. iGo can't seem to find a dealer to work on it in my area, and although they were willing to send me a new bike (!) they apparently are out of stock. Has anyone else had this issue? What else can I try? (I did check that that brake levers are not partially pulled so as to deploy the motor cutoff.)

Over50
2 months ago

I have friends who work as bike planners and in bike infrastructure, the animosity of car drivers towards cyclists who take their territory away by bike lanes or street quieting is often unbelievably hostile. I've seen city employees become afraid for their personal safety after taking an excess, under used car lane out and replacing it with a bike lane.
Adding bike infrastructure is waaaay easier said than done

I'm in the Motor City but I am a transplant not a native so the car culture is not one I feel close to. Over the last few years I've seen some good progress in the metro area at adding bike lanes. But nevertheless, I also hear complaints from strangers in the barbershop, the coffee shop or wherever - and even from coworkers about bike lanes and cyclists. From some it seems to border on being a true hatred. So I know what you are saying is true. Sad but true. I see plenty of motorists driving in the bike lanes or double parking in the bike lanes. I pass through Wayne State University on my commute. They have bike lanes and purport to be bike friendly but the lanes on campus are mostly used for dormitory loading/unloading or for double parking by the pizza delivery guys. I rarely use them and instead stay in the road - its safer. I see and hear animosity to the bike lanes and I witness a lot of bad behavior or lack of understanding by drivers who drive or park in the lanes. On trash collection days, I am dodging trash bins that residents set out in the bike lane. Getting the lane is a first step but it is a long way from ensuring the lanes are a safe place for cyclists.

Xiggy
2 months ago

I actually have the experience of living simultaneously in two extremes of commuting which could be transformed by support for bike infrastructure. During the week I am in Los Angeles. I hate to drive in traffic, I really enjoy getting places on public transit, even if it takes a reasonable amount of time longer. An ebike can often solve the last mile problem for me. Lack of parking at the Metro station, a mile or two between the most efficient train or trolley lines. Unfortunately, Los Angeles and surrounding cities and counties have a long way to go in establishing bike lanes or even traffic enforcement friendly to two wheeled commuters. On the weekends I am in my house in the mountains in San Bernardino County. Even though there are several famous races that take place in the area, there is no cycling infrastructure. No organizations seem to want to set up attractions for the international cycling community that would show up if facilities were in place. I've seen it work in other places. There are not any bike lanes up and down the mountain road so one must really pray all the way! Bicycles are still looked upon as mere recreational vehicles here for the most part. The bike industry in the US also needs to come aboard and start to change their pitch as well. They could do a lot for themselves and riders by changing advertising toward marketing bikes as serious vehicles for car replacement and helping get legislation for lanes and in school rider safety education passed at the grade school level. Whatever they are doing now is not enough. We see money spent for mountain biking on the "Xtreme" end, There is a lot of money left on the table on the commuter end once folks don't have to feel they have to wear special shoes or Lycra shorts just to go five miles to work
There is a huge market of folks in my demographic (50+), who used to ride or even race and would get back out regularly with a modern ebike. Folks like me don't mind paying Stromer or R&M money for a bike if we are getting value for money!. We just don't want to get killed for our troubles if at all possible.

Chic Lasser
3 months ago

My state senator is Rich Funke and I will speak with him this week. As I emailed senator O'Mara last week, I am in support of a more open law allowing at the minimum class 1 and 2 bikes to be used in NYS. If NYC wants further restriction they can pass such legislation, as they have with motor vehicle licensing. New Yorkers can get a driving permit in much of the state at 16 but need to be older in the city and metro NY area. For me any law banning a throttle will literally turn me off. I don't look at our bike as a motorcycle but the throttle is more of a boost mechanism for going up a hill or just getting started. Until battery technology makes the next leap the size and a/h will dictate the use of the throttle to an assist function. NYS should get there act together, and if the city has a problem not peanlize the entire state.

bicycleforthemind
3 months ago

Thanks for the suggestions. Part of my motivation for not spending a lot is if the bike gets stolen or confiscated, I haven't lost as much. Also, it takes less time to pay for itself, when compared to a monthly metro card ($120). If I spend $600 on an ebike that dies in 5 months but I avoid taking the subway, I'm no worse off monetarily, but I will have gotten exercise.

Tbirder
3 months ago

No ebike is perfect, this is a thread dedicated to sharing known issues or problems with electric bikes from A2B as well as any help and solutions you know of. Sometimes that means a DIY fix and other times it can mean a recall, software update or part replacement by a dealer.

Please be respectful and constructive with feedback, this is not a space for hate speech. In many cases, representatives from the company will see feedback and use it to improve their product. In the end, the goal is to enjoy riding and help each other go further and be safer.

Problems with sticky throttles with newer bikes, issues with old style internal batteries & motors for the earlier Metros have popped up in this Forum. What have you found as solutions and resources for parts on the older A2Bs?
No ebike is perfect, this is a thread dedicated to sharing known issues or problems with electric bikes from A2B as well as any help and solutions you know of. Sometimes that means a DIY fix and other times it can mean a recall, software update or part replacement by a dealer.

Please be respectful and constructive with feedback, this is not a space for hate speech. In many cases, representatives from the company will see feedback and use it to improve their product. In the end, the goal is to enjoy riding and help each other go further and be safer.

Problems with sticky throttles with newer bikes, issues with old style internal batteries & motors for the earlier Metros have popped up in this Forum. What have you found as solutions and resources for parts on the older A2Bs?
hi I've been researching and have rode a 2013 metro with intention of buying - but what is concerning me there doesn't seem to be any parts out there . Specifically batteries. I'd like to pick up the external B battery and/or might need to get a new internal one someday So I'm asking what is status of company in terms of will parts ever be available for these bikes down the road? Their website doesn't offer much insight and some of these threads seem to indicate bad experiences . Thanks

Brian Lucas
3 months ago

Hello, I bought a IGO Explore a few months ago and I love this E-Bike. It is powerfull ( I weigh 280 pounds), It is good looking and every component delivers a good quality. I will include a few pictures for the readers. They have 2 other models ( Metro Ti for the city and M29R off road bike), it has a 700W motor and I have the bigger battery ( 13 amp 624watt/hour). To be frank it has everything I want on a EBike. PAS is very flexible with 3 levels of force and 8 assist level per force. It has 2 USB ports for my smartphone and whatever... The disk brakes are very efficient and the suspension front wheel reduces the road bumps very effectively. I love my E-bike.

:):):)20170325_113653a[/url] by Robert Amiot, sur Flickr[/IMG]
Robert, that is a nice looking bike. I live out in Western Canada and travel back and forth between two residences, one in Calgary and one on Bowen Island BC. Like you I am an older guy (67) and heavier than I would like to be. Calgary has some hills but Bowen Island is basically the top of a mountain sticking out of the ocean. It's all hills there. Where I live on Bowen I am at Sea Level. Everywhere I go is uphill from where I live. If I run out of power I can always get home as it is all downhill.

I was not aware of IGO bikes until I came across a review today on YouTube. They look well made and practical. Your 700 Watt Battery and 624 watt/hour package might be what I could use out here on the island. I wonder if they have any dealers in Vancouver?

ramiot
4 months ago

Hello, I bought a IGO Explore a few months ago and I love this E-Bike. It is powerfull ( I weigh 280 pounds), It is good looking and every component delivers a good quality. I will include a few pictures for the readers. They have 2 other models ( Metro Ti for the city and M29R off road bike), it has a 700W motor and I have the bigger battery ( 13 amp 624watt/hour). To be frank it has everything I want on a EBike. PAS is very flexible with 3 levels of force and 8 assist level per force. It has 2 USB ports for my smartphone and whatever... The disk brakes are very efficient and the suspension front wheel reduces the road bumps very effectively. I love my E-bike.

:):):)20170325_113653a[/url] by Robert Amiot, sur Flickr[/IMG]

1/1
Over50
4 months ago

Recently my local Trek shop had an outdoor test ride day. I stopped by for another reason but just happened to notice that their e-bikes were attracting more attention and test riders than anything else. I think the shop sells IZip as well as Trek. Then on a follow-up trip about a week later I noticed one of the employees was delivering a new e-bike to a customer. I was also encouraged that they told me they recently sent a couple of their mechanics to Bosch certification training. So yes, at least my local Trek shop seems to be preparing itself to sell and support the products.

Back last year when I was doing my research, I thought I read that for Specialized you had to go to an e-bike certified Specialized dealer. My local Specialized shop (4 miles from my house) has no e-bikes and isn't listed as an e-bike shop on the Specialized website. And the only shop they listed in my metro area was something like 25 miles from my house. So perhaps this represents a difference in dealer strategy between Trek and Specialized wherein the latter is taking a much more select and cautious approach and perhaps not forecasting the growth of the segment to the extent that Trek is.

Over50
4 months ago

I have seen that the new mobile bike repair shop van franchises are partnering with internet only sales companies like Canyon. Another (duplex) nail in the B+M coffin it seems.
Personally, I can't wait for my metro area to get a Velofix or similar mobile bike repair franchise (none currently that I've been able to find). I'd be really curious to hear (if anyone knows) whether they are typically turning a profit.

WMW
5 months ago

Hey I'm very interested in getting an e-Joe bike but where I live in Los Angeles there's no dealer even remotely close to my house. The nearest one is 36 miles away in Fullerton. Pretty far for a test drive and ridiculous if I ever needed service. According to the e-Joe website there's supposed to be a dealer in Venice, CA but they don't carry their bikes anymore. So I can't test drive one easily and even if I bought one online I'd have to get it dialed in by an LBS and not an experienced brand tech. The dealer in Fullerton, CA is extremely responsive and his video on here shows that he definitely knows his stuff but I can't shuttle the bike 72 miles every time it needs service.

I'm no bike mechanic and I don't want to buy something that can't be maintained properly. Any suggestions on how I can get e-Joe to add an authorized dealer/service to the San Fernando Valley? Or maybe there's another suggestion?

Thanks.

86 and still kicking
5 months ago

Would you recommend the a2b bikes (specifically the metro)?
I do have a used Kuo+ that I can sell for a great price. Again, check it out on our website. It is a folding bike. The range is short 15-20 miles but a very nice short range commuter for those who want a compact storage form.

86 and still kicking
5 months ago

Another great option is the new Surface 604 Colt. A fantastic deal at $1899. If you call us we'll even schedule a demo test ride on up to 2 bikes at your home or office. I am not a big fan of the Metro as it is dated tech at this point. It was a great bike in its day.

juan colombia
6 months ago

thanks for sharing the video?the 2011 series are good.

Ruslan Negruta
7 months ago

Este grea această bicicletă, cu un motor slab și foarte scumpă.

flitsies
3 years ago

It's a nice bike but the 2.1 is slightly better worked out, the 2.2 having the key on the handle bars means anyone can cut the cable and bypass the key.

The seat is comfortable for about 5 miles then it becomes a real pain, the problem is the front of the seat is too wide, the 2.2 has a different seat.

The latest version of this bike is called the octave why I don't know, but the lines are little smoother.

My 2.1 suffered a little bit on quality control but other than that it was ok, discovered most if not all of the issues and set about fixing them.

flitsies
2 years ago

+leefuji The metro is now called the octave pretty much the same bike but with all new bits such as hydraulic brakes, more rounded frame tubes and so on.

But with all the updates it comes at a price, I think it's now around the £3500 which will be probably around the $4000 mark, and for that price you could probably get something much faster.

But then they have always been an expensive bike, but they are something a bit special in the looks region rather than it just being a normal bike with a motor fitted this bike was purpose built and designed purely as an electric bike, work of art really.

fUjiMaNia
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com can you recommend other E-bikes that are still in production? thanks

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+flitsies Great info! Thanks again for taking the time to share. I'm glad you saved with the 2.1 and were able to get the second battery, sounds like you're putting it to great use. If you feel like sharing pictures or just re-posting some of this great info check out the A2B forums at http://electricbikereview.com/community/forums/a2b/ there's not a lot going on as of yet but a rep from the company has dropped in and made a post. Overall the forum has a bunch of active members who are all excited about ebikes :)

flitsies
3 years ago

+Electric Bike Review The 2.1 also has pedal assist which the 2.0 didn't, to be honest between the 2.1 and the 2.2 the 2.1 is better because of the price, yes the key is in the frame but if you are worried about the key you could always cut the top fit a pin through it and flap it over giving you a fold down flat key, also for the price of the 2.2 I got 2 batteries on my 2.1 giving me twice the range.

The farthest I've ridden it in one go is around 27 miles it was hard going but fun at the same time, because I changed the seat it wasn't too bad, but why it was hard going is because I have found it to be one of those bikes you always want to push to the limit probably due to it being an EU model which is limited to 15 unless you pedal but in general you can stay up with town traffic if you pedal.

The brakes can be a pain to get right on the 2.1 and on the newer 2.2 and octave they fitted hydraulic brakes which is a definite upgrade worth doing for the 2.1.

Just a couple last things, the gears rear set tends to be a bit low in ratio so it may be worth going for a different rear set to improve pedal assist, something on the cards to try when I get the chance, quality control is a slight issue, but after sales is excellent top notch after sales from the company spoken direct to them and always very helpful providing information on request first class after sales.

Just a little add on to mention the 27 miles was not the maximum distance of the bike only the max I could handle, the bike would have gone on a lot further as there was lots and lots of charge still left in the second battery a good 2 thirds unused according to the speedo gauge.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Good call! Thanks for the details, I've ridden this bike a couple of times and noticed the key and seat improvements. Here's my review on the newer Octave http://electricbikereview.com/a2b/octave/ with some of the updates you mentioned.

Taggerung
4 years ago

Am I missing something, or didn't you use the pedal assist? BTW, I also would like to know where the other person got the stealth kit, as well.

Taggerung
4 years ago

+Electric Bike Review No doubt! (about the frame.) Plus, you'd probably want a rear-mount motor, since a front would be VERY stressful, on shocks, if you have them! 

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

+Taggerung Small world... yeah, that's could be it? Maybe he's connected to the company somehow or has friends in the industry and was able to get one direct. Hard to say but if you do find one on eBay let me know, I'd love to hear how a custom setup with this thing would work. Make sure to use a strong frame ;)

Taggerung
4 years ago

+Electric Bike Review I read a little on that page you linked to in your recent response, and "John Bozi" was on there, so I read his review, and in it, he mentions "E-Bay". So perhaps THAT'S where he got the kit? That make sense?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

+Taggerung Oh, got it! The Stealth Bomber uses a 25 pound 5304 Crystallite motor. Here's an overview of this motor compared with some others. I'm not sure how to get it independently or in a kit http://www.electricbike.com/crystalyte-hub-motor/

Taggerung
4 years ago

+Electric Bike Review Sorry I neglected to mention this, but another person you answered a question for on this review, named "John Bozi", had mentioned that "I got a stealth kit but not the actual bike", and I was also curious where they got it. Does that help to straighten things out? I hope so. I didn't want to seem confusing.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Nice! I've been riding the Neo Jumper from Easy Motion and it doesn't cap out at 20mph when you're in pedal assist mode. I'm regularly cruising at 27mph and have even hit 33! How fast does your stealth kit go and where did you get it from?

John Bozi
4 years ago

nice one mate - bit slow for me - but it still would be fun. I got a stealth kit but not the actual bike.