A2B Kuo+ Review

A2b Kuo Plus Electric Bike Review
A2b Kuo Plus
A2b Kuo Plus Shimano Alivio And Motor
A2b Kuo Plus Removable Lithium Battery
A2b Kuo Plus Lcd Display Ergo Grips
A2b Kuo Plus Bottle Cage Mounts
A2b Kuo Plus Chainring Bash Guard
A2b Kuo Plus Headlight Fenders
A2b Kuo Plus Rear Carry Rack
A2b Kuo Plus Electric Bike Review
A2b Kuo Plus
A2b Kuo Plus Shimano Alivio And Motor
A2b Kuo Plus Removable Lithium Battery
A2b Kuo Plus Lcd Display Ergo Grips
A2b Kuo Plus Bottle Cage Mounts
A2b Kuo Plus Chainring Bash Guard
A2b Kuo Plus Headlight Fenders
A2b Kuo Plus Rear Carry Rack

Summary

  • Improves on the standard Kuo with smoother cadence sensing pedal assist, a larger motor and battery and upgraded drivetrain using Shimano Alivio vs. Shimano Tourney
  • Low weight distribution, removable battery is easy to access, fenders rack and lights look good and perform well
  • The display isn't as easy to reach and adjust while riding, the trigger throttle seems flipped and is mounted to the left bar vs. the right which is more traditional

Search EBR

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

A2B

Model:

Kuo+

Price:

$1,699 USD

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

5 Year Frame, 2 Year Electronics and Battery

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

43 lbs ( 19.5 kg )

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, Folding

Geometry Measurements:

Folded Dimensions 12" x 25" x 33"

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Colors:

Black, White, Silver

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Alivio

Shifter Details:

Triggers on Right Bar

Cranks:

Aluminum Alloy, Full Sized

Pedals:

Folding Plastic, Platform

Stem:

Folding Quick Release

Handlebar:

Flat

Brake Details:

Tektro V-Brakes, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitor

Grips:

Rubber, Ergonomic

Saddle:

Velo Plush

Tire Brand:

Kenda Kourier 20" x 1.95"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in ( 50.8 cm )

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Stripe, K-Shield Puncture Resistant

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Front and Rear Fenders, Rear Carry Rack with Spring Latch, LED Headlight and Taillight, Adjustable Kickstand, Metal Bash Guard and Chain Guide, Bell on Right Bar, Magnetic Clasp to Stay Folded

Other:

Removable Battery Pack

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

9 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

324 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles ( 24 km )

Estimated Max Range:

25 miles ( 40 km )

Display Type:

Monochrome LCD Display on Left Bar

Readouts:

Speed, Odometer, Battery Level, Assist Level (0-5)

Drive Mode:

Trigger Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist (12 Magnet Sensor Disc)

Top Speed:

18 mph ( 29 kph )

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The 2015 A2B Kuo+ is a much improved version of the 2013/2014 Kuo. While it does cost several hundred dollars more, you get a more powerful motor, more consistent pedal assist, longer crank arms for a more natural ride, a rear carry rack, better LED lights and nicer drivetrain components (Shimano Alivio vs. Tourney). It’s totally worth the money in my opinion and easily one of the best folding electric bikes I’ve tested for the price. A2B is known for their iconic Metro electric bike which launched in 2008 and has since expanded their line of ebikes to include models like this folding bike which could be perfect for those with boats, RV’s or limited housing space. At 43 pounds with the battery attached and closer to 38 without, it’s not too difficult to lift and maneuver. The folding points are all reinforced with locking quick release hinges and the chainging is protected with a nice aluminum bash guard. There’s even a flat metal block below the bottom bracket designed to stabilize the bike when it’s completely folded and a pair of magnetic discs connect at the front and rear to keep it from coming unfolded. There are a few quirks here including a trigger throttle on the left bar that was flipped on the model I tested and an LCD display that’s a bit small with difficult to reach buttons, there’s also no suspension fork to counteract the bumpy ride that smaller wheels tend to create but overall it’s a winner and comes with a generous two year electronics warranty.

Driving the Kuo+ is a 250 watt geared hub motor located in the rear wheel. Being geared, the motor is relatively small (you can hardly see it behind the seven speed Shimano Alivio cassette in the picture below). It operates fairly quietly but has a noticeable whir when driving at full power. I wasn’t able to weigh it, but geared motors tend to be lighter than gearless and for a folding application like the Kuo Plus that’s a welcomed attribute. One thing that both the front and rear wheel lack is a quick release skewer for easier maintenance and flat fixes. I like that the tires are designed with K-Shield puncture protection and that they feature a reflective sidewall stripe to keep riders safe. Between the three colors (Black, White and Silver) the two lighter tones might offer the best visibility and be worth seeking out if you’ll be riding this bike in foreign lands on vacation or business travel.

The battery has also been upgraded for the A2B Kuo+ and now offers 36 volts of power instead of just 24. This improves the range and power that riders will experience. The cells use a Lithium-ion chemistry that’s light weight and long lasting and I was impressed with how compact the pack is. It’s mounted just behind the set tube and between the seat stays and chain stays for excellent protection in the event of a tip. It’s not as centrally located as some folding ebikes which have a top-tube integrated pack, but I still appreciate the lower weight distribution found here and love how easy the battery is to access and remove. It blends in with the frame nicely and can be charged on or off the bike.

Once the A2B Kuo+ battery is charged and mounted to the frame, you actually have to press a toggle switch on the pack before the main display can operate. This can be confusing if you haven’t used the electric bike for a while, one might wonder if the battery is charged or if there has been another problem with circuitry? Once the main display is powered on using the tiny rubberized on/off button below the screen you’ll see readouts listing speed, battery level, range and assist level. Using the rubberized “i” button to the right of on/off you can navigate through different “information” readouts. Using the rubberized “m” button to the left of on/off you can jump between 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 “modes” of drive output. At zero, only the throttle will work and going from 1-5 pedal assist will work with increasing power output. At any time, in any of the assist modes, the throttle can be actuated to add more power but it is capped with each level. So basically, in pedal assist level five you get more throttle power than zero and pedal assist mode one. Considering the throttle is a slider with variable power output, I’d prefer that it just offered full power at all times. I do like that A2B is now using a cadence sensor instead of the less consistent feeling torque sensor that the standard Kuo had. This pedelec disc features 12 magnets and operates relatively quickly and smoothly.

The Kuo+ is a solid folding electric bike from a reputable company. It offers great utility at a reasonable price and shows that A2B is dedicated to improving their products as it is much better than the original Kuo in almost every way. There are still a few little quirks with the system and areas of improvement to be made but if you’re looking for a folding bike at your local shop and they carry this one, it would be a solid choice. The removable battery, longer crank arms and multiple drive modes (that feel smooth and natural) won me over but the attention to detail on the rack, fenders, lights, tires and solid folding mechanisms reinforced my interest and I like that there are multiple colors. Again, I’d probably choose the lighter colors for improved visual footprint, especially if using for travel. In the future, if they chose to offer a suspension fork option I’d definitely go for that, even if it weighed more, because the smaller 20″ wheels on all folding bikes tend to feel uncomfortable but I’ve got a stiff back and neck. For most people on smooth roads this thing should work just fine.

Pros:

  • Full length matching plastic fenders with mud guards keep the rider clean and dry
  • Rear rack uses standard gauge tubing for use with a wide range of panniers or saddle bags, the reinforced sides block panniers from rubbing on the wheel and spokes, the integrated spring latch is handy for small items
  • Front and rear LED lights blend into the frame and add an element of safety, the front one is aimable
  • Reinforced front chainring has a large metal bash guard that protects the sprocket teeth and helps to block pants from dragging on the greasy chain, it also doubles as a guide to keep the chain on track while riding over rough terrain
  • Easy to fold with locking quick release points on the stem and middle of the top tube, nice metal rest below the seat tube designed to stabilize the bike once folded
  • Offers throttle only mode at level zero with five levels of assist that can be overridden by the throttle at any time, great intuitive design
  • Longer crank arms are comfortable and efficient to pedal with, the original Kuo had short arms that felt awkward at times
  • Good price with an excellent warranty and track record from A2B (which was one of the early ebike companies lauching the A2B Metro in 2008)
  • I like that they included mounting holes for a bottle cage on the top tube, even though the bottle would basically be horizontal
  • Built-in magnetic clasp on front and rear stays to help keep the bike from unfolding during transport
  • Battery is easy to take off for convenient transporting (reduced weight) and for charging away from where the ebike frame is stored

Cons:

  • Weighs about four pounds more than the original A2B Kuo (~43 lbs vs. 39 lbs) due to the larger motor and rear rack, could make it more difficult to lift and transport for some
  • Uses a trigger throttle rather than a twist throttle like the original Kuo had, that’s fine but it’s mounted on the left bar and seems flipped compared with other ebikes I’ve tested (which may be less intuitive or bothersome for some riders)
  • The LCD display pad is mounted further away from the left grip (in part due to the trigger throttle setup) which makes it more difficult to interact with while riding without taking your hand off the grip to change assist modes or information readouts, the buttons are at the bottom of the display and are small instead of the side and large which also makes them trickier to reach and use
  • The plastic folding pedals aren’t as stiff as aluminum ones might be but likely save weight and keep the price low
  • While the battery and motor weight are kept low on the bike frame, they are mounted more towards the rear than some other folding ebikes like the e-Joe Epik SE which place it in the downtube
  • Brake and power cables aren’t integrated into the frame tubing which contributes to a messier aesthetic and may expose them to more damage during transport and riding but will make them easier to service and fix
  • Throttle mode is limited by the level of assist you’re riding in and won’t put out full power if you’re not in level five, even in throttle mode (mode zero)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More A2B Reviews

A2B Galvani Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High-step urban cruiser with quiet resposive motor, removable battery pack and excellent warranty. Premium upgrades including ergonomic grips from Ergon, fenders with double supports, alloy chain guard and…...

A2B Ferber Review

  • MSRP: $2,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Relaxed urban cruiser with quiet resposive motor, removable battery pack and excellent warranty. Premium upgrades including ergonomic grips, fenders, chain guard, suspension fork with lockout, rack and integrated…...

A2B Shima Review

  • MSRP: $3,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy step-through frame, strong smooth motor and higher top speed of ~28 miles per hour. Commuter ready with front and rear LED lights, fenders, rear rack and lots of reflectors...

A2B Alva+ Review

  • MSRP: $3,400
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Stylish frame with front and rear fenders, disc brakes, lights and a suspension fork for added comfort. Powerful 500 watt direct drive (gearless) rear hub motor is quiet and durable...

A2B Kuo Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Light weight, affordable and feature rich with fenders, light and computer. Offers both twist throttle and pedal assist mode for increased range...

A2B Octave Review

  • MSRP: $3,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Smooth, strong ride with solid frame, dual suspension and large gearless hub motor. Beautiful design featuring integrated cables, matching fenders and front and rear lights...

A2B Velociti Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Elegant design features integrated wires, fenders and lights with matching seat and grips. Front shock and larger tires smooth out the ride, adjustable neck for varied positioning...

A2B Metro Review

  • MSRP: $2,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Full suspension, forward positioned pedals and comfort seat make this bike feel like a Vespa scooter. High power 500 watt gearless rear hub motor provides torque and speed without a lot…...


Scott
2 years ago

Hey Court! Love your reviews, I've read about 75 of them! Question on this bike, I love the idea of a folder, but I'm 5' 11" and 240 pounds. Will this bike work for me ok? Also you mention that this edition of the Kuo+ has a 350 watt motor, but every website I visit including the A2B website state it's still a 250 watt motor. Which is correct? Thanks, Scott

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Scott, great question here... In the video I said 350 and the A2B team actually gave me that spec again via email after Interbike. I've reached out to them for confirmation but you are correct about their website listing 250. I think the bike would be okay with your height and weight for relatively level terrain and if it's smooth that will keep the rattling down. These folding ebikes do tend to be less stiff but A2B has historically made beefier bikes. If you want something a little sturdier but still compact, check out the Kalkhoff Sahel Compact Impulse 8 here and prepare to spend a bit more and give up the throttle.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi again Scott, I just heard back from A2B about the Kuo+ and they confirmed the 250 watt motor size and apologized for the original misinformation. I've updated the written portion of the review to reflect the proper specs. Sorry for the confusion and thank you for calling it out!

Harry Liang
1 year ago

Thanks for this review. I wanted to add my thoughts since I got this bike and rode about 1k miles on it already.

This bike really has great components. Much better than the e-Joe. The neck joint, and folding latch is heavy duty. I only had to grease it every now and then to avoid the squeaky sounds. I fold it twice a day for work and I park under my desk so this was very important in the decision. The motor is smooth and so is the pedal assist. Mine came with a twist throttle and the digital display and they both work great. The motor is smooth. Brakes good enough, I thought disc brakes were too clunky on a fold up.

My ideas for improvement about the bike is that I only get about 18mph flatland at full charge. At halfway on the battery you can only throttle to 15-16 mph. Though you can go farther, I would prefer higher speed and wish they added the 350 watt motor instead of 250. Ejoe is more powerful in that regard. But as a bike I use everyday, it was more important to have quality components. But I do wish I can get up to 20mph on the greenways of New York.

I only use the 3 highest gears really, so I think they should change to higher gearing ratio and maybe have one big low gear for steep climbs.

The battery is in a great spot that makes the bike feel really balanced but the plastic battery holder can break easily. I had to get another plastic holder. Now I support that battery with additional velcro straps just in case I go off a curb, it won't crack. I recommend this to anyone getting this bike.

The company did do a good job building this bike out of the box BUT, I wish they had put Loctite on all the bolts and screws. I already lost the front fork magnet and 2 bolts flew off the backrack. I decided to take off all the bolts and put thread adhesive on so the vibrations won't shake it off.

This bike I think can be designed to fold and balance even better (though it folded much better than the e-joe). When folded, the bike tends to lean in weird ways with the handlebar where you have to fidget to get it balanced correctly. I think it has to do with the magnet size on the fork and the way the body is shaped. TIP: if you need to move this bike around, I fold it and push it like a cart with the handlebars up like I'm pushing a shopping cart (with my right hand on the seat and left hand on the handlebar as the bike is tilted back). Though this bike is lighter than most fold up electrics it is still too heavy to just carry it around. On the next version I hope the design team would work on how this bike folds quickly and securely to latch to the magnet without wiggle. It is important for people like me to cart around. And when folded it should maintain it's balance easier without too much work.

Wishful thinking: I ended up getting a padded seat and a thud buster. Would love to see them replace the seat with something softer and maybe add a seat shock.

Other than my thoughts for improvement, this is still a great bike compared to its competition and I'm really happy I got it. I still haven't had it long enough to see how long the battery will last but I do love the the build quality in the battery, the meters, the frame, and all the folding components are excellent for the price. For a compact little bike this thing is a tank. I definitely recommend it and I hope they sell a kit to increase the speed as I think this bike can handle it no problem.

Court Rye
1 year ago

Awesome feedback Harry! I especially appreciate your tips about securing the battery with Velcro and being careful with curbs... sorry to hear your original plastic holder broke, I've heard about this happening before on some other ebikes. The upgraded saddle and Thudbuster sound nice. Many folding ebikes go a bit under 20 mph and I think it's just the wheel size relating to the set RPM of hub motors. You get extra torque but the speed is decreased and usually this is okay given that handling can be a bit less stable. In any case, feel free to chime in as the bike continues to get use and ride safe out there :)

Harry Liang
1 year ago

Just an update... The battery holder cracked again after glue and velcro straps. I've come to the conclusion that the major design flaw of this bike is that they made the battery holder out of 1mm plastic. It should be at least 1/4 inch thick all around to withstand the shock of riding and carrying a heavy battery. Though drastic, I added another 1/4 inch to the plastic using 6 packs of super glue and baking soda around the plastic casing. You can youtube plastic welding with super glue to see how it's done. This is the only thing that seems to keep it together. It's only a matter of time before you hit a bump and crack that plastic battery holder but other than that this bike is holding up a daily 35 mile round trip commute in NYC where I fold it everyday.

Court Rye
1 year ago

Nice! Sounds like there's a bit of Frankenstein style happening with your bike surgery but glad to hear you're getting solid use out of it. The feedback about the plastic being too thin is great (hopefully A2B sees it) and I appreciate the tips on plastic welding, might help others who have similar issues :P

Pete
12 months ago

Hey everybody. I got a black Kuo+ about a month ago and am loving it! As far as I can tell from reviews and research, it seems like the best balance of design, power, and price as compared to other folding bikes I have seen.

I wanted to chime in on the battery holder issue. I had the same issue within days of buying my Kuo+. I contacted the dealer and mentioned this issue and they requested a replacement part from A2B. While at the shop today I saw the old part and the replacement part, and I can tell you that it looks like A2B has become aware of the issue and made improvements to the battery holder. Specifically, the replacement part has some internal plastic ribs/bracing which I assume will better manage the load of the battery as compared to the original part, which had no internal bracing.

Other than that I think that the review and Harry's additional comments are spot on. I weigh about 165 lbs. so I don't have a lot of issue with the 250W of power the bike provides. I've replaced the pedals with Forte Boulevard dual platform (clipless/flat) pedals which make riding the bike (or any bike) a lot easier when clipped in. Since they are flat on one side, it makes it easy to use regular shoes as well. I don't think the stock folding pedals really folded all that much, although I liked them. These pedals add maybe one inch to the drive side as compared to the stock pedals which is worth it in my opinion. I've also added a Cygolite Dash 350 & Hotshot SL 30 for real lights. The built-in lights are best considered running lights, since they really don't put out as many lumens as the Cygolites.

Even with a lot of hills in the DC area, for range I think I can comfortably say that I could do 25 miles on one charge based on the 100+ miles I've put on my Kuo+ so far. This is on max assist (PAS: 5). I assume I could squeeze out a few more miles on a lower level of assist or if my ride was flatter. For example, my return commute is 3.7 miles with an ascent of 350+ feet at an average speed of 12 mph and that uses up 19% of the battery. That equates to a range of 20 miles but with a significant ascent for that distance. My morning commute is 3.7 miles, mostly downhill/flat (ascent: 75 feet), at an average speed of 12.5-13 mph and uses up 9% of the battery. That comes out to a range of 41 miles, but it's with a lot of coasting downhill. So unless I'm climbing a mountain (which I don't recommend), I would say that 25 miles is a near-guarantee range for a mixed elevation ride/commute. Keep in mind these range come with a reasonable amount of pedaling. YMMV (your mileage may vary).

Some final notes about comments made in the review. The throttle is now on the right where you would expect it to be. This means the display box can be moved closer to the left grip to make it easier to use. The cables are not integrated into the frame, although they are all wrapped up quite nicely in a black mesh material as you can see in Court's pictures. This looks a lot better than many of the e-bikes out there with unbundled cables, although of course it would be nice if they were integrated. But a very minor point. I think they did a nice job.

Final words: I think it's great and highly recommend it to anyone, especially if you're looking for a folding bike.

Court Rye
12 months ago

Awesome! Thanks for the great overview and updates Pete, sounds like you're really enjoying the Kuo+ and getting excellent range. I love it when companies refine their bikes and fix little things and I'm sure they appreciate you recognizing them and pointing them out to others, thanks also for the light and pedal recommendations ;)

Pete
12 months ago

Thanks Court! Yeah, the Kuo+ is great!

Adding another point to add to my comments from earlier. Today, I biked 13.3 miles (825 ft. total ascent) in a mixed downhill/uphill/flat environment and used up 53% (47% remaining) of my battery life. If you do the math that comes out to a range of almost exactly 25 miles. I would make to clarify one point: to anyone who reads this, when I mentioned average MPH above it's with starts & stops in the city. I did not mean to imply that the top speed is 12-13 MPH (in case anyone read it like that).

Also, Court, I would like to thank you for all of the work you put into this site and doing these reviews. They were extremely helpful as I was doing my research into what e-bike to get. I have one suggestion regarding folding bikes: please try to fold the bike in your video reviews. For some you do (like the Kuo+ review), and for some you don't (like the recent ElectroBike Magnos review). From a reader's perspective, if I'm looking at a folding bike specifically, the folding aspect is really important to see how to fold it and how it manages while folded. Some other bikes I've seen in your reviews would be immobile while folded and that's an important consideration to me (and I assume other buyers of folding bikes).

As for the Kuo+, it manages pretty well folded. I could see this would be the case in your video review. :) On that note, today I took in with me into the DMV when I was registering my car (ironic, isn't it? :) ) and just rolled it in. It separated a few times but after I got used to it, I was able to roll it folded just fine.

Thanks again Court!

Court Rye
12 months ago

Great feedback about folding in reviews Pete! I skipped it for the ElectroBikes because I was off on my own with very limited time. I've tried folding with one hand before but struggled and have also tried setting the camera down, I'll work to make it happen in the future and appreciate your points about rolling the bike while folded etc. Thank you :D

Harry Liang
8 months ago

Adding my final points to this bike after well over 7k miles. I have finally found the best solution for this flimsy battery holder. Because even with the improved ribbed holder it managed to crack because the plastic is just not thick enough to handle the shock of hitting potholes in the NYC streets. After glueing it back together again with baking soda and super glue, i realized what the real problem is. There's nothing holding up the weight of the battery from the bottom. Luckily the frame has a kickstand hole not being used because the kickstand is mounted on the side. So since this hole is directly underneath the battery, I used it to mount a bouncy ball as a shock absorber. I had to cut out a corner to fit the battery just right. I used a 4 dollar Amazing PINKY Hi- Bounce Ball and screwed it down using the kickstand hole. The ball is spongy so its easy to cut out a corner using a steak knife. This prevents the battery from breaking off when you hit a bump. Another thing I did was I took the the handle on the battery and tied it to the top of the bike frame so that it is supported above and below using plastic ties. I even used velcro straps to prevent sliding sideways. Though I think the last 2 is overkill but I really ride this as if it was a bmx bike sometimes. Hope this helps anybody else out there looking for a serious solution.

Also note, my battery was replaced under 1 year warranty when battery teeth started to chip off due to the cracked battery holder. So customer service was on point. kudos for that.

Court Rye
8 months ago

Hi Harry, cool tips! You're very creative and I bet this will help to inspire ideas in others as well. The bouncy ball idea is just great ;) glad to hear A2B customer service took care of you. Here's to 7k+ more miles, ride safe out there!

Paul Cernik
3 months ago

The battery has also been upgraded for the A2B Kuo+ and now offers 36 volts of power instead of just 24. FYI Volts are units of voltage not power

Court Rye
3 months ago

Thanks Paul! And great point... I realize my phrasing is a bit sloppy and I don't write this way in newer reviews. Amps seems to be a better measure of power and motor torque for how zippy and what kind of climbing incline is possible. Still, lower voltage bikes tend to be weaker than higher in my experience.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

EriderM
15 mins ago
Unless I'm mistaken, the old OMNIs are not 3/4G compatible and the new ines are.

John, I wonder if the reboots are due to an installation error. Have you tried the wiggle and tap test? (Old Ford troubleshooting method of tapping an item to see if it reproduces the issue.)
Thomas Brohl
58 mins ago
I also watched Court's video reviews, he does a great job and I thank him! I might not be interested in either if it wasn't for him.
They both look good and come from good companies that answer the phone. These are some of the pluses for me. I'm sure there are more or less for others.
Pluses for Mini
The Mini's spec shows a more powerful motor and maybe a little quieter(probably doesn't matter), a little nicer display with USB powered port(handy for plugging in your phone or GPS), black spokes(just an appearence thing), derailleur guard, I like the handlebar shape and grips a little more, front rack vs no front rack(not sure if this is a big deal), 7-speed vs 6-speed(not sure if this matters)
Pluses for Mariner
The Mariner is a little lighter in weight, has suspension seat post, comes with fenders and costs less, rear rack is spring loaded, has a lower step over(doesn't matter for me as I'm 6'1" but might for my wife if she wants to try it), I think the frame design looks a little more attractive but totally subjective.
The Mini is $1659 with optional fenders including free shipping
The Mariner is $1329 with included fenders including $70 shipping
So we have a $330 difference, which is a good chunk but willing to spend it if it's the right choice. I have a couple of weeks to think about it while I'm on vacation.
opimax
2 hours ago
+1
Mark Peralta
2 hours ago
MLB
And if you have such a strong e motor that you don't even have to work, I question what the good is in riding it?
Some of us love to bicycle and we only want and need a slight extra shove to be very happy.
Why do so many have to have the "strongest" or 'it's not good'.
Different strokes......................................
I"ve had expensive and I've had cheap and the good ones are WAY, way better.
If the cheapies that help you not have to work are satisfying for you, then good for you.

PS - I paid less than 2k for the best system (IMO) out there. Haibike.
It is very similar to buying a car, you have the bragging rights and the sense of security that power is there when you need it. But you rarely use it since you consume more fuel, get speeding ticket, get an accident, etc.. On my electric bike (BBSHD), I normally use the low PAS setting for better battery consumption (more miles per charge).
upguy
2 hours ago
Rincon
Hello all! I just bought an ST2 and am enjoying it immensely. I typically ride street and dirt roads. The street ride is smooth with the standard fork, but I'm finding the ST2 pretty harsh on unimproved county roads. I've always ridden mountain bikes with front suspension before the Stromer. I have a Body Float installed, but it isn't enough. I'm going to add a front shock and I'd like to hear opinions from ST2 riders on the Stromer shock and other brands like Fox and RockShox. I searched for a discussion on shocks but couldn't find much. Thanks!
before you do that make sure the body float is tuned properly for your weight and height. I bought my at Lenny's and had them tune it for me ...big difference
upguy
2 hours ago
223coyote
I got a pair of axiom dlx 30 panniers that won't fit the standard rack is there some accessory that I have to buy to make it fit ? Also I would like to order a body float for it but don't know what diameter post ant what post length I need to get, can anyone help me ?
I have an St1 and just purchased a body float. I bought it through Lenny's and worked with Conner their sales rep. The body float is outstanding on the stromer.It keeps you in control on bumpy roads and the comfort you can't beat. I actually think it better than dual suspension. I have about 300 miles on my body float with my longest ride of 70 miles (I carry an extra battery). You wont be disappointed
E-Wheels
3 hours ago
karlos
We do not have any Bulls agents in Australia at this time. We are currently selling direct into Australia from our website www.bullsbikes.co.nz
Karlos,
Any ideas how buyers in Australian will be supported after the sale without local BULLS representation
Do you have, or can you arrange alliances with local bike shops for Brose firmware upgrades, servicing & maintenance etc
Larry Ganz
4 hours ago
Jeff, very nice mods. Thanks for sharing.

I am awaiting delivery of my XM700+ next week (also ordered a Neko+ for my wife), and I need to ask if you can help point me in the right direction to do the Rock Shox upgrade first, and then maybe later where to get the Nyon controller/computer and how to program it?

I just don't know what part numbers to get the right parts to fit my bike. Also, can I keep the factory brakes with the Rock Shox? Thanks in advance.
Nebster
6 hours ago
Yes, Stromer has decided to simply replace Omnis rather than wait. While it is somewhat ominous that they don't quite know why the units are failing, I guess for now it is a best-case outcome to simply swap them out. I fear that this overly-complex part will eventually be an issue for long time ST2 owners, however. (I for one would be really happy if they would ship an optional firmware set up so that the entire bike fails safe and remains functional if there is no network connectivity.)
John ware
6 hours ago
Just a quick update - Stromer contacted me last week and sent out a new Omni unit to my local Stromer dealer who installed it on Saturday. I'm happy to report my ST2 is once again finding a signal and communicating. A couple of glitches seem to be introduced in that I'm getting a fair amount of intermittent communication errors and the Omni reboots and powers up again when it attempt to power down the bike. I suspect I'm going to need to re download the app and the bike software but overall I continue to be very impressed and delighted with the after sale support from Stromer. My bike is now 18 months old and has close to 3000 miles on it and they still stand by their product! And I still love this ebike! That's impressive on both counts.
WMW
7 hours ago
Thanks all. I went to the Electric Bike Expo in Long Beach today and NONE of the bikes I wanted to try were there. The Rook and the e-Joe Gaddis weren't there. I've tried the Pedego a few times already and I like it. I did try the Stromer today. Wow, what an amazingly tight ride. Felt like a BMW. I tried a bunch of other completely forgettable bikes but the Stromer was amazing. Also very costly.

Still need to try the Rook and now an e-Joe. Dangit, I really wanted to buy a bike today.
Sai Kodi
7 hours ago
wildtrak
There is a Y-cable you can get from your dealer. Using this and the current software in motor and battery, you can use 2 batteries at the same time on one motor. I am pretty sure you can use this kind of setup on any Performance Line or Active Line motor (latest software required).
As soon as I get three of these cables, I will test using four batteries connected to one motor.
In the source code of the diagnostic software I found that this software is able to read the data from five (5!) connected batteries.
Awesome dude! Where did you find the diagnostic software? I dont think it is open sourced. Is it? You are getting me interested...
Barkme Wolf
7 hours ago
I took the bike into a LBS right after I got it and had it set up right. Rode 120-150 miles got both tires trued. Spokes started breaking at about 1000 miles. Except for tire upgrades I didn't have much else done to the wheels. Have had to replace a few of the cables though. 40 mile daily commute 180 lbs max including rider.
Ravi Kempaiah
8 hours ago
E-Wheels
Ravi,
Thanks for your prompt reply
I did read somewhere that the Brose and Yamaha systems would be more like riding a normal bike without motor assist due to the bigger chain wheels giving the over dive ratio
I couldn't find anything about the Bosch system but thought that as the Bosch sprocket spins approx 2x the pedal cadence with power assist that it might compensate some how by increasing the ratio in the drive mechanism by the same factor without power assist
What ever drive system I decide on it will be limited to 25km/hr max pedal assist in Australia
As I manage an average of 32km/hr on my non assist road bike for most of my commute I wanted an ebike drive that I can still pedal like a normal bike but have the motor assist kick in when I hit a hill or travel against a strong wind when my speed drops below 25km/hr
Looks like I will have to go with a drive system like Brose, Yamaha or Shimano with the bigger chain wheel to complement my style of riding
This is one area where Bosch design could be improved.
Most dealers aren't engineers or real riders, so they buy into many marketing blurbs.
Riding a Bosch CX or performance motor unassisted is Def more energy taxing than geared hub motors like BH EVO race.

Trying to maintain 25kph/17mph on a Bosch bike without assist, you'll be spinning a LOT. I think it's still doable if you have lighter bike like Urban S Rx.
E-Wheels
8 hours ago
Ravi Kempaiah
If it's eMTB with sprocket equalizing system, then it's going to be tough.

I'm fairly fit but pedaling a Haibike Full Seven S Rx without any assist for 5 miles took fairly high amount of work compared to my Easy motion Jumper.

Yes, if you put it on 30t granny gear, you'll do ok but your speed will be something like 10mph.
It would lot more easier on a hardtail without SES.
Yamaha or Brose systems freewheel better than Bosch.
So, on a CX motor, using 18t, 30t combination you can certainly do 5-10 miles without assist.

When I see that I'm running out of charge, I use ECO and that really takes the weight off.
Ravi,
Thanks for your prompt reply
I did read somewhere that the Brose and Yamaha systems would be more like riding a normal bike without motor assist due to the bigger chain wheels giving the over dive ratio
I couldn't find anything about the Bosch system but thought that as the Bosch sprocket spins approx 2x the pedal cadence with power assist that it might compensate some how by increasing the ratio in the drive mechanism by the same factor without power assist
What ever drive system I decide on it will be limited to 25km/hr max pedal assist in Australia
As I manage an average of 32km/hr on my non assist road bike for most of my commute I wanted an ebike drive that I can still pedal like a normal bike but have the motor assist kick in when I hit a hill or travel against a strong wind when my speed drops below 25km/hr
Looks like I will have to go with a drive system like Brose, Yamaha or Shimano with the bigger chain wheel to complement my style of riding
will706
9 hours ago
just got my sondors custom 2 days ago, white frame, black wheels, front suspension, aluminum frame , upgraded battery...looks sexy as hell, but unfortunately its currently a huge paper weight.... one of the connectors was trashed out of the box .... and instead of waiting for sondors to get back to me , i just just ordered the luna cycle control box and lcd bolt on upgrade kit. Hope its makes it to canada by friday lol.

first impressions is wow i didnt realize how fat the fat tires are lol its stance is mean. heavy, and big. I did the basic assembly myself, but once i get the lunacycle parts ill take it to my local shop and have em do a once over and tighten and lube everything, and tune the brakes since they are rubbing....even if i wanted to use it a normal pedal bike right now i cannot because the brakes are rubbing and the wheels only get about 3 rotations after a hard spin before they stop lol...
Dunbar
9 hours ago
Lyle Johnston
Came here to see if anyone else had experienced this exact issue. In my experience it seems to fix itself within a couple of seconds and doesn't always seem to happen when riding over a bump. Apart from this issue, I'm really loving this bike so far!
Trying e-mailing Juiced Bikes support. They can show you how to add velcro inside the battery enclosure to tighten up the fit.
Dunbar
9 hours ago
I did my first range test with the 840Wh battery and got 36.4 miles on 'S' mode before the bike starting chugging. I did notice the bike feels slower towards the end of the ride with the bigger battery. The battery voltage was down to 43.7V which is probably why it was more noticeable (about 3-4V lower than my 500Wh battery.) The flip side of this is that the bike seems to accelerate faster on a full charge with the bigger battery.
Lyle Johnston
9 hours ago
Itsmejson
40 miles on the bike and loving it. My bike commute to work avg 17 mins vs 12 mins driving.

One thing that came up today on the way in to work is I hit a bump and the power shutoff. I pulled over turned the bike back on and it was fine. On the last stop to work the power shut off again.

Anyone know what I should check on the bike or have an idea of what might have happened?
Came here to see if anyone else had experienced this exact issue. In my experience it seems to fix itself within a couple of seconds and doesn't always seem to happen when riding over a bump. Apart from this issue, I'm really loving this bike so far!
Ravi Kempaiah
9 hours ago
E-Wheels
Hi EBR Forum,
I'm just wondering how the Bosch CX motor works without any pedal assist
If for some reason I have to pedal with zero motor assist (as you would a normal bike) with a small 17 tooth motor sprocket and say a larger 30 tooth rear cassette sprocket it appears to be an under drive ratio
Does this mean that I will have a very high cadence and will be pedalling like a hamster in a wheel with these ratios or is there some sort of increased ratio mechanism in the motor even when no battery power is available to the motor
Thanks in advance
If it's eMTB with sprocket equalizing system, then it's going to be tough.

I'm fairly fit but pedaling a Haibike Full Seven S Rx without any assist for 5 miles took fairly high amount of work compared to my Easy motion Jumper.

Yes, if you put it on 30t granny gear, you'll do ok but your speed will be something like 10mph.
It would lot more easier on a hardtail without SES.
Yamaha or Brose systems freewheel better than Bosch.
So, on a CX motor, using 18t, 30t combination you can certainly do 5-10 miles without assist.

When I see that I'm running out of charge, I use ECO and that really takes the weight off.
Ravi Kempaiah
9 hours ago
Maggie
which model of axiom panniers work?
Axiom Seymour DLX 30 or 45.
I use 45.
will706
9 hours ago
hey thanks, i figured eff it lol and just bought the lunacycle "hotrod" control box and lcd screen combo you linked to, it's a bolt on upgrade, for just a little more to fix my current issue....$80 for a shop to look at it, and w.e parts were needed..... so ill just bolt that on, and try to re-coup some of the cost by selling the sondors lcd screen,,, thanks for the info and help....not the cheapest solution but it works ,,and hey its an upgrade lol
Rincon
10 hours ago
The Stromer carbon forks provide little comfort, certainly far from enough if you have any kind of challenging roads. I replaced them on my two ST2 bikes with real shock absorber forks. I'm happy with the ride now, especially at speed. Rest assured that you are giving nothing up by foregoing inadequate carbon forks.

If your streets are truly "horrendous" then you'll want shocks. Carbon forks only dampen vibration. Shocks overcome potholes, rocks, washboard, ruts, carpet bombing, and vibration.
Smooth Interpreters
3 months ago

Where is it made in?

Josefwintzent Libot
3 months ago

is it possible for me to acquire this while i am in the philippines?

geoffrey welsby
7 months ago

Hi aAron. you have done great reviews of all sorts of different bikes. but I would like to know. if you were going to buy an ebike which one would you choose..

Christopher Cruise
8 months ago

Super Duper Special Video! Super Hot or Super Cold,that's so Duper Super, Mister!

BBBYpsi
9 months ago

Checking this one out on their site says a range of 37 miles. What speed would that be & do you like this one better or the trail viper fat tires one better. I am still considering the trail viper. But have checking out all your video's & trying to learn about e-bikes. Since I have gotten older & hip & knees have a hard time getting leg over regular frame bikes. I would like to get something that no pedal assist would get me about 25-30 miles for some weekend rides just in case body parts start to hurt. Thanks for your great video's. Roger from Michigan

Josh Cho
9 months ago

getting one at Edinburgh on 8/30 hueh ue hue

Gill Brown
1 year ago

Mine arrived today, a replacement for a demo model i bought , as the demo had an error code 30, which meant no motor. Sydney electric bikes replaced it for me. Very nice of them. Have just taken it for a test ride, easy to pedal, and change gear. Pass 0-5 easy to use. Throttle didnt seem to work when pedalling along, but worked fine when still, it lurched forward. Might just be me.
Packing says made in China, designed in Europe.
Mmmmmm i think most bikes are these days. Warranty is good.
All in all i think i am going to get great use out of this, especially in the hills of Tasmania

Eric Wood
2 years ago

Does the display panel pop off easily?

Eric Wood
2 years ago

You know, like if you want to pop it off intentionally for security?

Aaron Cook
2 years ago

I am having a real hard time deciding which e-bike to purchase. It's up between the e-Joe Epik Lite and this one. I like how this one goes up to 18mph and it shows my speed too but I really like that the battery on the Epik is built into the frame. Which one did you like riding better? Which one seemed more portable? Do the magnets on the Kuo+ keep the bike folded securely and does the epic stay folded without the addition of the magnets? Which one would you choose?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Aaron Cook Hi Aaron, I think the Neo Volt is made a lot better, it feels sturdier and still has the fenders, rack and lights (unless you're looking at the Volt Sport). I'd probably go for Easy Motion at that price: http://electricbikereview.com/easy-motion/neo-volt/

Aaron Cook
2 years ago

Thanks for the reply! I've got a bit of a harder one for you. I've noticed that the Easymotion Neo Volt just lowered their price and i've seen one shop sell it for $1655. Now i'm having a very hard time between the Epik SE and the EasyMotion Neo Volt. For that price is that a steal? or would you recommend sticking with the Epik SE

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Aaron Cook Hi Aaron, I believe the Epik Lite goes up to 20 mph http://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/epik-lite/ One of my favorite design elements of the e-Joe folding bikes is the battery placement and concealment. It keeps the systems stealth while also offering improved ride quality and balance. I think you're correct about there being no magnets or band to secure these bikes vs. the magnets on the A2B Kuo+ but you could always use a bungee cord. Of all the folding bikes I've tried one of my favorites is actually the e-Joe Epik SE because it has a small suspension fork. Between the Kuo+ and Epik Lite it's a closer match and might come down to whether or not there's a dealer nearby that carries them. I hope this helps, I'm striving to be more thorough with new reviews and realize that some older videos don't show folding or mention clasps etc.

brighton dude
2 years ago

It looks like the A2B has 406 (20") wheels. That is a very useful size because today there are so many tyres available for that size.

Personally I would have absolutely no problem with those V type rim brakes. These are extremely powerful. I have them on my bicycles, I have no disc brakes and I don't miss them.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Interesting, I like the size because it offers better leverage to the motor... but knowing that there are lots of tires and tubes available is good too (probably also means they are cheaper to replace). The exact tire that the Kuo+ comes with is the Kenda Kourier 20" x 1.95"

In my experience V-brakes work great, actually stop with more power than disc at times but may require stronger force to activate and may also scrape rims and lose some of their grip in wet trail conditions. It's a toss up but yeah, they aren't bad by any means and there are some ebikes today with hydraulic rim brakes that combine the easy operation of hydraulic disc with the leverage of rim. This bike uses them: http://electricbikereview.com/kalkhoff/agattu-premium-impulse-8/

Brad W
2 years ago

Is the bike a TERN in disguise - revamped at bit by A2B? The folding style and the mechanisms are very similar.....

Christopher Cruise
8 months ago

as he said they are Not the same, the KUO is a Better Product versus the "Tern"

Brad W
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Interesting. A coincidence maybe? The Tern folding systems I have found to be very reliable and I suspect the A2B will be similar looking at the things I saw in your review. Keep up the good work in your reviews!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Interesting question Brad, I really don't think so. Tern introduced two folding ebikes for 2015 and I've reviewed both here: http://electricbikereview.com/category/tern/ neither one has the same battery position or tubing layout as the Kuo+

RadicatTat
2 years ago

Fine folding bike. I had an old Peugeot when I lived on a sailboat. This would have been a dream come true at the time. As you mentioned RVers would love it too. Nice review. Thanks