A2B Kuo Review

A2b Kuo Electric Bike Review 1
A2b Kuo
A2b Kuo 250 Watt Motor
A2b Kuo 24 Volt Battery
A2b Kuo Light And Computer
A2b Kuo Folded Side
A2b Kuo Folded
A2b Kuo Folding Lock
A2b Kuo Electric Bike Review 1
A2b Kuo
A2b Kuo 250 Watt Motor
A2b Kuo 24 Volt Battery
A2b Kuo Light And Computer
A2b Kuo Folded Side
A2b Kuo Folded
A2b Kuo Folding Lock


  • Light weight, affordable and feature rich with fenders, light and computer
  • Offers both twist throttle and pedal assist mode for increased range
  • Overall ride quality suffers from soft folding pedals and shorter crank arms

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers







$1,399 USD

Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Urban, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


5 Year Frame, 2 Year Electronics and Battery


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

39.5 lbs (17.91 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Geometry Measurements:

Folded Dimensions 12" x 25" x 33"

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, Folding

Frame Colors:

Black, White, Silver

Frame Fork Details:


Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney

Shifter Details:

Triggers on Right Bar


Folding Plastic, Platform


Folding Quick Release



Brake Details:

Tektro V-Brakes


Velo Plush

Tire Brand:

20" x 1.95"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Front and Rear Fenders, LED Lights (Independent Batteries), Adjustable Kickstand, Metal Bash Guard, Newer Models Include Carry Rack and Ergonomic Grips


Removable Battery Pack

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Battery Voltage:

24 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

9 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

216 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

3 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Display Type:

Monochrome LCD Display on Left Bar


Speed, Odometer, Battery Level

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

15.5 mph (25 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Kuo is the first folding electric bike in the A2B lineup of electric bikes but in truth, it’s actually the re-branded F4W Edge. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, A2B and F4W were merged into Hero Eco in 2011 and both have benefitted from lower prices, broader distribution and upgraded parts.The Kuo offers great features, a solid warranty and comes at a decent price point.

The Kuo, like most folding electric bikes, doesn’t offer a whole lot of power. It’s got a 250 watt geared hub motor in the rear that runs off of a 24 volt 9 amp hour Lithium-ion battery pack. If you’re a larger rider or someone who expects this to push you up hills without pedaling along then you’ll be disappointed. That said, it works well on the flats and is better than having no motor at all, especially because it’s relatively lightweight at just under 40lbs and offers both twist throttle and pedal assist!

This isn’t the kind of bike you’d want to ride for long distances, but that’s not really the point right? This will get you to and from the train, bus, subway etc. and be easy to fold up and carry onboard. Note that because the pedals fold up they aren’t as stiff and solid as normal metal pedals and the crank arms are shorter so you don’t get as much power with each push. This is true of most folding ebikes but still worth mentioning. On the plus side, the battery pack is well protected and very easy to remove making the bike even lighter to lift if you’re a smaller person. Note that you can charge the battery on or off the bike.

The Kuo folds easily and includes a magnetic clasp to keep it from coming undone during transport. The v-brakes offer decent stopping power and are appropriate for a smaller bike, keeping the overall price lower than if they would have gone with disc brakes. I like the kickstand they chose as it stays out of the way when riding. The fenders also work well and don’t make too much noise. All in all, this bike offers a lot of value and comes at a good price. A2B has a solid reputation and even though the Kuo is brand new to their line, it has actually benefitted from being around as the F4W Edge for many years.


  • Has holes for mounting a water bottle cage
  • Includes fenders to keep you dry when riding in wet conditions
  • don’t have to leave the keys in when riding
  • Magnetic clasp keeps the bike folded for easier transport
  • Plastic chain guide on front ring keeps chain aligned and pants clean
  • Offers twist throttle and pedal assist mode for extended range and hill climbing, can both be used at the same time
  • Battery is very easy to remove and can be charged on or off the bike
  • Good price with a solid warranty on the frame and battery pack


  • Pedals aren’t very stiff (since they also fold up)
  • Crank arms are shorter, aren’t as comfortable to pedal as a normal sized bike
  • Overall ride quality suffers from this being a folding bike, wouldn’t want to use for long distances
  • Weaker motor and battery won’t push you up hills or offer as much strength for larger riders
  • No rear light
  • Computer is separate after-market vs. integrated
  • Cables aren’t integrated into the frame, messier looking


More A2B Reviews

A2B Kuo+ Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Improves on the standard Kuo with smoother cadence sensing pedal assist, a larger motor and battery and upgraded drivetrain using Shimano Alivio vs. Shimano Tourney. Low weight distribution, removable battery is easy to access, fenders rack and lights look good…...

A2B Galvani Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High-step urban cruiser with quiet resposive motor, removable battery pack and excellent warranty. Premium upgrades including ergonomic grips from Ergon, fenders with double supports, alloy chain guard and…...

A2B Ferber Review

  • MSRP: $2,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Relaxed urban cruiser with quiet resposive motor, removable battery pack and excellent warranty. Premium upgrades including ergonomic grips, fenders, chain guard, suspension fork with lockout, rack and integrated…...

A2B Shima Review

  • MSRP: $3,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy step-through frame, strong smooth motor and higher top speed of ~28 miles per hour. Commuter ready with front and rear LED lights, fenders, rear rack and lots of reflectors...

A2B Alva+ Review

  • MSRP: $3,400
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Stylish frame with front and rear fenders, disc brakes, lights and a suspension fork for added comfort. Powerful 500 watt direct drive (gearless) rear hub motor is quiet and durable...

A2B Octave Review

  • MSRP: $3,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Smooth, strong ride with solid frame, dual suspension and large gearless hub motor. Beautiful design featuring integrated cables, matching fenders and front and rear lights...

A2B Velociti Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Elegant design features integrated wires, fenders and lights with matching seat and grips. Front shock and larger tires smooth out the ride, adjustable neck for varied positioning...

A2B Metro Review

  • MSRP: $2,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Full suspension, forward positioned pedals and comfort seat make this bike feel like a Vespa scooter. High power 500 watt gearless rear hub motor provides torque and speed without a lot…...

4 years ago

Mudguards? Not present on the UK version. WHich is stupid as we really need them with our weather…

Magnetic clasp holding the bike folded? Sorry, can’t find it at all…

Chain ring n the front gear is not enough, needs to be a proper full length chain gaurd…. When folded and trying to pick it up, the chain is exposed and will get your clothes dirty…

otherwise, I’m having fun with mine. Got some decent pannier backets to got with the aftermarket pannier rack and also got a trailer to tow behind for a proper weekly shop.. :) I can easily get to my local supermarket and back up the hill with my weekly shopping in tow on less than a full charge using the Hard setting ( 2.3 miles there, 2 3 miles back)

4 years ago

Hey Paul! I’m glad to hear the Kuo is working for you but bummed that it doesn’t come with the same accessories as the US version I reviewed. Thanks for the heads up and the quick testimonial :)

3 years ago

Paul: I’m looking for panniers to go with my Kuo. What brand and size did you get?

3 years ago

Well, it seems like there are 2 models, Kuo and Kuo+, the cheaper Kuo (which Im about to buy) doesnt have the magnetic thing nor the mudguard, perhaps your site should specify this!

3 years ago

Great feedback Angel! I tried these two models quite a ways apart and appreciate your clarification on these extra differences between the two :)

1 year ago

Hi, I really need your help, I purchased a fast4ward egde ebike that I believe is the same model as the kuo. After left unused for one month, now every time I use the bike it turns off after 5 minutes of riding. The battery reminds full charged. I just realized that the computer screen has a voltage reader. At the beginning is 38.7V; but when the motor starts then the number goes down, 36,35, 34 … when it arrives at 33.5V the motor and the screen shuts off. I have to restart the battery again in order to get power. Hope you can help me. Thanks, Hector

1 year ago

Hi Hector! Bummer to hear that your bike is having some issues :/ I have heard that over time batteries can wear out and that it can be dangerous to mess around with them too much… like some people try to overcharge or reverse charge them and that can result in fires. I think your best bet would be to search for a replacement (perhaps directly from Fast4Ward or the shop you bought it at) and if that doesn’t work contact a company that repacks batteries. I wrote an article about it here, hope this helps! Sometimes it’s cheaper to simply start from scratch with a new bike unfortunately.


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

2 weeks ago

Interesting; I thought, A2B was a trademark of UltraMotor. Then it seems as Ultra Motor ran into bankruptcy, their business was taken over by TDCM. The firmware used by UltraMotor made me the impression to be a legacy of the BionX firmware. In the beginning, Stromer used such firmware.

So, a non-Stromer replacement motor could work with the Stromer display unit (because the 36V battery is free accessible). Does this fit with your experiences?

Ann M.
2 weeks ago

Glad to help, Lisa. Even though Bike Mart is not a Stromer dealer, they should be able to connect with Stromer about parts & technical details. Although a visit to Austin at this time of year is pretty, I do suggest you skip it this weekend and the next. We're in the midst of a huge set of conferences & music with SXSW held in the downtown district and by LadyBird Lake, so finding somewhere to park or even manage the IH35 traffic near there is going to be difficult. Also, Rocket Electric is going to be on overdrive handling ebike rentals during the festival.

At this time, Electric Avenue does not have an on staff electric bike repair person, they send out the work to someone else, their focus is really more on the gas scooters they sell. Rocket Electric has several techs on their repair team, a couple that I've spoken with that are quite knowledgeable.

You can also call Stromer and see if they could arrange a repair via a Velotech repair team in your area; however, I think this would be more expensive than finding a competent electric bike shop to do the work. Please feel free to reach out to me if you need help on this; I've been working in the ebike industry for 17 years in the Austin area.

As a former A2B/UltraMotor dealer, we had the same issue come up years ago and the replacement motor was a significant improvement.

3 weeks ago

you will to need to send the fob in along with display to A2b - the fob has a sealed battery and they cost £25 each to replace and pair with the display

Ann M.
3 weeks ago

Court travelled to London to visit Fully Charged, a phenomenal electric bike shop. Started 4 years ago by Ben, looking for alternative way to get around, this London shop is located in a unique building full of charm & history and a kick butt coffee shop. Many of the top brands that we know and some American brands like Vintage Electric grace the showroom with lots of test ride bikes.

Fully Charged has been selling electric bikes in London (and other parts of the UK) since 2014. We were invited to visit their main stor and take a tour. In this video, I fly from Denver Colorado USA to London, take a train, and meet Ben at the store to look at some of their ebikes and film reviews. The very first Fully Charged outlet was in a tube station (the subway) and they have since expanded and brought on more brands.

Fully Charged carries the following brands:
- Riese & Müller
- Moustache
- Vintage Electric
- Raleigh
- Tern
- Gocycle
- Urban Arrow
- A2B
- Haibike
- Butchers & Bicycles
- BH Easy Motion
- Coboc
- Desiknio

After a tour around the shop, we visited the London Bike Show and met Dan Parsons who was the first employee of Gocycle (doing quality and safety testing) and has been working in the ebike space since 2008. He is head of operations now and will be helping with the Fully Charged Barge initiative, a floating demo station that will give people in London a way to discover and test electric bikes in 2018. Official Website is: https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=P30D7e61TY2OwTFH4zYrffTdAvt8MTUxOTg4MzE5OEAxNTE5Nzk2Nzk4&event=video_description&v=ZNXdmUMVYA0&q=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.fullycharged.com%2FOfficial Instagram: @FullyChargedUK Shop Address is: Globe House, 37 Bermondsey Street, London, SE1 3JW The music used in this video is from Be Svendsen, used with permission. You can visit their Soundcloud page to listen to more tracks at: https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=P30D7e61TY2OwTFH4zYrffTdAvt8MTUxOTg4MzE5OEAxNTE5Nzk2Nzk4&event=video_description&v=ZNXdmUMVYA0&q=https%3A%2F%2Fsoundcloud.com%2Fbesvendsen

1 month ago

I bought a Pedego Interceptor with the larger, 48v 13 ah battery three weeks ago and love it. Great power, great fit and finish and quality parts. Put over 100 miles on it. Only issue is I accidentally twisted the throttle once, so I bought the Crampbuster, which lessens that possibility. Very I,pressed with Pedego’s customer service; the shop owner drove the bike to my home in his cargo van. Also, Pedego mailed me a nice goodie bag with reflective wear, water bottle, rain poncho and a license plate holder that says, ”My other ride is a Pedego Electric Bike.”

1 month ago

Yeah Ann is right . Shifters especially those entry level ones are very cheap. You can ask from a2b and if they ask you to pay for shifter i advise you to look on ebay or if time isn't an issue you can search on aliexpress too (guess will be cheaper there) .

Ann M.
1 month ago

Actually, lot's of them, @rich c ;). BionX, Ohm, Voltbike, Emmo, Daymak just to mention a few.

@JohnCO, from what I can find; Court hasn't done a review of the current Velec ebikes; however, there is some info at https://electricbikereport.com/tag/velec-electric-bikes/ from Sept. 2017 that includes the Velec products. It appears that Velec became a distributor for the Hero Eco ebikes, the A2B and intro level Fast4Ward bikes for Canada in 2012. Since A2B ceased business in the US a year or two ago, I don't know if Velec is still selling them in Canada.

Big Possum
1 month ago

I have a 2 yr. Old a2b alva+ that the handlebar twist gear shifter has failed. Having trouble finding parts. Any help appreciated. No dealer near me Ft. Lauderdale, Fl.

2 months ago

Gday mate
Are u from A2B ?
I emailed your office in UK asking if you have a mod to remove the speed limit on my bike but didn't get a reply? Is there any way to remove the speed limit ?

3 months ago

I was not fan of where the assist levels are located the turbo levo (along the side of the down tube),so I invested in a garmin remote so that I could change the assist level from the handle bars. It worked fine except there was no visual of the assist level to be observed. I solve that problem by downloading a piece of Garmin software (for my Garmin 1000 Edge cycle computer) that picked up the visual of eco, trail, etc. as well as providing whatever else I chose to display on that screen (speed, distance, etc). The remaining button on the remote allowed me to move forwards and backwards thru different screens. I also found a beam rack that fit my seat tube while still allowing me to control the dropper and clearing the rear tire. Here are some links for same:


Amazon: https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N6F41E1/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o06_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

5 months ago

Ohh lucky i read it. I am newbie to e-bike and love the looks of a2b but seems bike isn't as goods as it looks. I find a second hand a2b and owner tells me similar situation about being careful when climbing hills. I still want to buy but now i feel little bit worried.

Harry L
5 months ago

This ticket was awhile ago, they gave me the bike back because the cops didn't legally write the ticket correctly. They left out the part of how much the fine was so I was able to contest it, get off and get my bike back. I don't think they know what the official penalty is. It was really annoying because I had to go to 3 different buildings to get signatures, go to court and go through a lot of red tape. My bike is a pedal assist A2B Kuo+ with a throttle. But they didn't really care about the throttle or no throttle pedal assist issue. They said they were told to take any bike with a motor. I think they just needed to get people during the VisionZero Publicity blitz in the Spring. It's all up on the precinct's twitters. They tend to set up around upper east side and upper west side because there's a lot of old people complaining in those parts I guess. I now avoid the uptown streets by taking the westside greenway all the way. Which by the way, the laws are a bit nebulous because it's illegal "to ride on the street" so I don't think they'll be confiscating in the park.

Ravi Kempaiah
6 months ago


I know of a bike that is very high quality and comes with a belt drive. Because it has the Bosch drive system, you will lose the throttle feature but if you enjoy pedaling, it won't be an issue. The big plus is that it is just 32lbs. it would be super easy for you to carry it around.
Someone I know runs the US distribution and I will be happy to put you in touch with him. The bike is made by Gepida, a Hungarian company and they work very closely with Bosch.
Here is a video

Ravi Kempaiah
7 months ago

Lunacycle has one

but if you are someone who needs help with maintenance, perhaps talk to your LBS and see if they can help you down the road.

Kathy Smith
7 months ago


I've had an A2B Edge bike since April 2013 and it just gave up a week ago. No one wants to fix the bike as they claim they can't get the parts any more and they wouldn't know what really broke. I was happy with the bike but would have liked to have it be a bit lighter as I had to carry it daily up and down the stairs every day in a narrow staircase and it was challenging. I'd like to get a new bike and I could just pick up it's successor the Kuo or Kuo+ but it would be fun to try something new and perhaps better. I don't mind spending more money if I'm getting something better but I don't want to spend more than $3500. I've checked all the bikes I could find on this website and I couldn't find a single bike that would fit my criteria. I don't think I'm that demanding but I'm surprised that I can't find the following:
Less than 40lb
20" wheels
speed at least 15miles/hr
looks like a normal bike (GoCycle for example is too weird looking and would draw attention).
and not as important but would be nice to have belt drive rather than chain as on my old bike the chain would fall off quite often.
Now, I did find a few bikes that sort of fit my criteria but they are just advertised and ready to preorder or Kickstarter projects but none really in existence today.
Is anyone aware of a bike that fits my criteria?

86 and still kicking
8 months ago

Hey, we sell two different folders. The A2B Kuo+ and the SmartMotion Vista. You should take a look. While we don't sell them if you want a supercharged folder look at the Electron model by Tern.

8 months ago

It appears to be working perfectly normally again.

Ann M.
8 months ago

@Nickbaldeagle, what ever became of the A2B Kuo battery that you were trying to revive? Did it hold a charge for very long after you took it off the charger? Just curious.

Andrea Corongiu
8 months ago

Agree with you. I decided to believe in them and I was wrong. If I could I would sell it and get a A2B Kuo+ for the same price.

9 months ago

I have just today reverse charged a dead A2b Kuo battery that has not been charged for a year or so. A 5V 2A charger with spade terminals direct to the battery connectors, 4 hours later connected the official charger. It blinked red/green for a while then went steady red. Took the dogs for a walk, returned to find 1 red light's worth of charge on the battery. I think it's going to get a good charge.

9 months ago

I have just today reverse charged an A2b Kuo battery that was dead. Used a 5V 2A charger with spade terminals on the wires, slotted them into the battery connectors, waited 4 hours then tried the official charger. It's charging.

Josh Levinson
1 year ago

Thanks for your advice and information! However, my budget is pretty strictly capped at $1k as an upper limit.

Gordon Woodroffe
2 years ago

nice could be better in some ways lol

Raul Ramirez
3 years ago

Hi. Do you recommend this bike for a hilly town like Austin,Tx.?

3 years ago

+Raul Ramirez Hi Raul, I think it could work alright... you're basically doubling your own power here and the smaller wheels create a mechanical advantage for the hub motor vs. something with larger wheels. I've reviewed some other folding ebikes and there's a local shop called Rocket Electrics that might be able to order something for you and offer assembly and warranty support. Check them out, it could be a much better experience in the long run vs. ordering online if that was your plan. If they don't carry any folding ebikes you like, just explore this list to make sure you like the Kuo best: http://electricbikereview.com/tag/folding/

mike Bones
3 years ago

How would this handle in the rain?

2 years ago

+mike Bones did u ever find out xd?

mike Bones
3 years ago

Would the rain damage the bike?

3 years ago

+mike Bones Probably very similar to a normal bicycle... just a bit heavier. The fenders will help keep you dry, the motor isn't powerful enough to spin the rear wheel out or anything. The battery is low and fairly center which is good for balance but most of the weight will be towards the back on this bike so the front wheel could slide out more easily (especially given the smaller diameter which offers a smaller contact patch).

max gu
4 years ago

Will it fit into a luggage bag?

4 years ago

I guess that depends on how large the luggage bag is but this is definitely one of the smaller folding electric bikes out there, not the lightest though. Check out the VeloMini or Yike Bike for ultra compact. All of the folder's that I've reviewed are listed at http://electricbikereview.com/tag/folding/ including those two :)

4 years ago

Hi Bryan, yes! The set goes very low on these bikes. In fact, when you fold them, the seat slides all the way down to rest at the top of the white tubing of the frame. Watch the video around 23 seconds to see that part of the frame up close :)

Bryan Siegfried
4 years ago

That does look pretty nice, but does the seat go any lower?

4 years ago

Yeah, I agree! There are several nice folding ebikes that are out now including the iZip E3 Compact and a new one coming from Dahon (review almost done) that will be out early next year.

Péter Kálmán
4 years ago

great bike