2013 Evelo Aries Review

Evelo Aries Electric Bike Review 1
Evelo Aries Electric Bike
Evelo Electric Bike Unboxing
Evelo Aries Electric Bike Battery
Evelo Aries Bike Arrival
Evelo Aries Mid Drive Motor
Evelo Aries Full Suspension Ebike
Evelo Aries Electric Bike Package
Evelo Aries Box
Evelo Aries Electric Bike Review 1
Evelo Aries Electric Bike
Evelo Electric Bike Unboxing
Evelo Aries Electric Bike Battery
Evelo Aries Bike Arrival
Evelo Aries Mid Drive Motor
Evelo Aries Full Suspension Ebike
Evelo Aries Electric Bike Package
Evelo Aries Box


  • Affordable full suspension electric bike with mid-grade Lithium polymer battery
  • Decent strength (36 Volts of power) and range (10 amp hour capacity)
  • Heavier design paired with rear shock makes bike floaty and unstable at high speeds or power-pedaling
  • Mid-drive motor puts pressure on chain and changes pedal cadence vs. hub motor or independent chain drive

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers





2013 Aries


$1,995 USD

Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


18 Month Comprehensive, Add 6 Months for $99


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

65.5 lbs (29.71 kg) (67.5 lbs with NuVinci CVT)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

White, Black

Frame Fork Details:

RockShox RX28 Suspension with Lockout

Frame Rear Details:

Basic Suspension

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Alivio or NuVinci CVT ($400 Upgrade)


Aluminum Alloy Platform


Adjustable Angle

Brake Details:

Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Cutoff

Tire Brand:


Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Single Side Kickstand, Rear Rack with Spring Latch, Front and Rear LED Lights, Front Fender, LCD Bicycle Computer (Separate from LED Console)


Removable Battery Pack

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

360 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Polymer

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

LED Console


Battery Level, Assist Level (25%, 50% or 100%)

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The EVELO Aries delivers range, style and flexibility at a reasonable price point. You might have to assemble it yourself and the ride style takes some getting used to with the mid-drive system but it looks cool and can take bumps. The Aries wasn’t built for speed, its motor is just 250 Watts which is low compared to ebikes of similar size and weight available in the USA. In Europe however, this is more standard. The up side here is that the 36 Volt battery paired with 10 amp hours of juice will help you up hills (albeit slowly) and take you pretty far, especially in pedal assist mode.

This bike takes advantage of a mid-drive system that actually pulls the chain and leverages whichever gear the rider is pedaling on (there are 8 gears total). In my experience, choosing a gear with comfortable pedaling cadence that will also take advantage of the motor’s default speed can be tough. Often times I was pedaling much slower than I would have liked to reach higher speeds with the motor. Keep in mind, you are pulling the same chain as the motor but you don’t have to pedal if you don’t want. You can use throttle mode and keep your feed still, the bottom bracket has a special freewheeling system that lets the motor pull the chain without requiring your input. In this case, your pedals will be freewheeling and you’ll hear a quiet clicking noise.

I’ve used this bike on many different types of terrain and while the design begs to be taken off road, I found it to be a bit bouncy. The front shock is pretty great offering preload, rebound and lock out settings. The rear shock however, is very basic and feels more like a big spring than a dampener. This bouncy feeling is exacerbated by the heavy battery pack hanging off the rear end of the bike. Any time you ride off a curb or go over a rock the whole tail end of the bike bobs up and down causing instability and loss of traction. Having the mid-drive motor mounted lower on the bike stabilizes the center of gravity a little bit but also exposes the motor to bumps by rocks, it’s a tough trade off.

This bike frame is not built for speed. Most of the weight is positioned towards the back and that destabilizes the front, making it easier to slide out. The feeling gets worse when riding fast or pedaling standing up; the entire body flexes with a sort of sway that can resonate and ultimately create speed-wobble. This can even happen at relatively low speeds and basically eliminates the ability to ride with no-hands which is something I like to do occasionally to stretch out my arms and back. Whenever I tried to ride with no hands on the Evelo Aries I felt the front wheel begin to wobble and I had to grab the bars to course correct.

In terms of style, the Aries resembles an off road motorcross bike with its wide front fender and angled rear rack. It’s got cool looking lights, a decent computer for tracking speed and distance and a nice decal scheme. In many ways, I think this is the best part about the bike, it’s style. It just looks cool and despite the bounce, it is fun to take off road. Keep in mind however, this bike is made in China and sold over the internet so if you break it going off a jump, there might not be a local shop ready to help you with a quick fix. Also note, the front grip shift throttle is setup European style on the left whereas most of the time, US style ebikes have it on the right.

The brakes are both setup with kill switches that shut the motor off and this is handy because pedal assist on this bike is not torque sensing. Instead, whenever you turn the pedals forward about one and a half rotations the motor kicks in and then it takes about the same amount of time for the motor to shut off… unless you use the break for more precise shut-off control. This is typical of crank-sensing pedal assist but might surprise you if this is a first time electric bike because it can buck a little. I found myself gently activating the brakes during pedal assist in order to smooth out gear changing as well. This is something that would be less of an issue if you chose the NuVinci hub shifter but that’s expensive and adds more weight. I’ve also heard from bike shops that the NuVinci can break easily if over-shifted, which happens quite often.

In terms of speed, the reality of this bike is you will only hit 20 miles per hour using the highest gears on flat surfaces with a bit of pedal input. In order to optimize pedal input you actually have to match speeds with the motor as described above and for this reason I felt myself working to maximize the bike’s performance instead of feeling it compliment mine. The perfect combination for me is the third hardest gear where I pedal slow strong reps and the motor kicks in to push towards those higher speeds.

Overall, this bike looks much cooler than it feels to ride and despite being offered at a reasonable price point, the extra work in assembly, low quality rear shock and heavy-floaty feeling of riding leaves much to be desired. 65.5lbs is a decent weight for a dual suspension electric bike but by no means is it truly “light” and it’s not easy to mount to car racks or even regular bicycle racks because of the unique design with no top tube. Given the unique components and some lower end parts, the Aries may also be a challenge to get repaired at your local bike shop, though their customer support is decent and you can even chat with a support rep directly through their website. If you’re looking for a good off road ebike at a decent price I recommend the single-suspension Volton Elation.


  • This bike looks really cool and absorbs bumps with dual suspension
  • Relatively inexpensive for a complete electric bicycle including mid-grade Lithium battery and controller
  • Mid-drive motor lowers center of gravity and allows for versatility during pedal assist and hill climbing
  • Quiet motor, built in fenders and high quality pedals by Wellgo that provide great foot support when pedaling
  • Built in LED lights and computer for speed and range


  • No water bottle mounts, have to use the saddle rack with a bag or a camel back
  • 6 lbs heavier than Aurora (front suspension only model from EVELO)
  • Optional NuVinci hub gear system adds 5 lbs to the overall weight and costs a lot
  • Longer panniers could rub on the rear wheel without using a pannier frame
  • Rear suspension does not have a lock out and may absorb some pedaling energy “bobbing” as a result. On pavement this may equate to ~1 mph difference in speed compared with front suspension only models such as the Aurora
  • Taller mid-section of frame may create difficulty in mounting the bike for some users or those wearing dresses or other loose clothing
  • Unstable and wobbly at higher speeds 20+
  • The lights that come with the bike are pretty cheap, the on/off switch is handy and they shine bright but they could easily break and the front light bounces a lot because it’s mounted on the plastic fender.
  • The plastic battery container at the rear of the bike is not secured very well and bounces around quite a bit creating a lot of noise if not secured with extra zip-ties or other method.
  • Standard tires offer decent grip for off road travel but are not as thick as some other bikes and may be more susceptible to thorns and other puncture causing encounters.
  • The rear magnet and sensor are easy to bump out of sync and then you hear a click, click, click as the magnet touches the sensor arm.
  • If the bike is wheeled backwards there is a grinding noise and at times it even locks up which had me concerned that the motor could be getting damaged.
  • Battery pack and rear plastic container is noisy when riding over bumps


More EVELO Reviews

Evelo Quest Max Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A feature rich, powerful, folding electric bike with extendable stem and long seat post option for taller riders, it's easy to mount and handle, weight is positioned low and center. The Bafang Max mid-motor is powerful but efficient, you can adjust pedal speed gearing at…...

Evelo Galaxy ST Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A powerful cruiser style electric bike with smooth, responsive, multi-sensing pedal assist and trigger throttle operation, throttle only works above 6 mph and is limited by assist level. Optional hydraulic disc brakes and automatic electric shifting would be great for riders with limited…...

Evelo Quest One Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A folding electric bike that's fairly lightweight at ~41 lbs, clean and simple thanks to a Gates Carbon belt drive, and still feature rich with fenders and integrated lights. Available in two color choices, offers pedal assist and throttle on demand, highly adjustable extra-long…...

Evelo Delta Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the more powerful purpose-built electric mountain bikes I have tested to date, possibly the only setup like this with a trigger throttle that overrides assist 1-5, unlockable higher speeds. Unique combination of trail capable and urban oriented features such as rear rack bosses and…...

Evelo Galaxy TT Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable but sturdy cruiser style electric bike with premium aesthetic, the mid-drive motor is powerful but quiet and offers responsive pedal assist plus throttle. EVELO has always offered great customer service and even has a trade-in program, the Galaxy…...

Evelo Aries Review

  • MSRP: $2,079
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Full suspension city bike with basic mid-drive system (upgradable motor, battery and drivetrain options). Nice accessories including USB charger, front and rear LED lights, mechanical disc brakes and a…...

Evelo Aurora Review

  • MSRP: $2,079
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Value driven but well rounded mid-drive ebike with upgradable motor, battery and drivetrain options. Great features include backlit LCD display with built in USB charger, front and rear LED…...

2013 Evelo Aurora Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Offers lots of features but isn't particularly strong or fast as an electric bike. Entry level components get the job done and keep the price lower, unique frame flexes...

Boris Mordkovich | Founder & CEO of EVELO
5 years ago

Dear Court and ElectricBikeReview Readers. My name is Boris Mordkovich. I’m the co-founder and CEO of EVELO Electric Bicycle company.

I really appreciate the comments brought up in this review and just wanted to chime in with a few quick comments as well. Of course, if anyone has any further questions, concerns or other feedback, I’m available to address it personally – so please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Panniers: Longer panniers can in fact be used with our rear racks by adding barriers. Many of our customers already do it – this is just one example of a photo that was sent to us: https://www.dropbox.com/s/02bh4vpe04dr1r4/rear%20rack.jpg

Rear Suspension: You are correct and there’s no lockout feature on the rear suspension. We feel that the suspension we use is adequate for the speeds our bikes were designed for. That being said there’s room for improvement and we appreciate the constructive criticism.

Top Speed: I do want to mention that these bikes are not intended for speeds above 20mph due to Federal regulations. They do go up to the limit, but if you wish to go above 20 mph, you’ll definitely need to pedal as well.

Weight: If the Aries feels heavy, our other models are a bit lighter. Aurora, for example, is just 54 pounds (with the battery) or 46 pounds (without the battery).

Pedal-Assist: You are absolutely correct in regards that it takes 1 full rotation of the pedals for the pedal-assist mode to kick in. We went with the speed-sensor setup instead of the torque-sensor, as we’ve found that customers had a lot of “false starts” when they were riding a bike with a torque sensor. In a sense that the bike would start moving as soon as they applied pressure to the pedals, even if they didn’t actually intend to start riding. So, while neither system is perfect, we felt that the speed sensor setup that we adapted was a safer one for our riders.

Feeling Wobbly: If the bike felt wobbly at a higher speed, is it possible that one of the wheels got a bit bent during shipping? In instances like this, we cover all costs involved with truing the wheel or replacing it, so that the customer does not incur any additional expenses.

Battery Box: We appreciate your comments about the sounds the battery box makes when going over bumps. We will be looking into additional ways of securing it to our rear rack besides the current locking mechanism.

Rear Sensor: The magnet sensor on the rear wheel should not be bumping out of sync if tightened properly. Furthermore, it is used as a speed limiter in order to meet some of the local regulations. It is not needed in most of the cities and states and taking it off will result in higher speed and more assistance from the motor.

Freewheel: There’s no reason to be concerned about the damage to the motor when going backwards as the motor has an internal freewheel.

Mountain Biking: While this bike can certainly be taken off-road – as I have personally done for 300+ miles during the 4,000 mile Trans-American Electric Bike Tour – it’s not designed to handle hardcore, technical mountain biking. Even with the best shocks and suspension, it’s just not a great idea to subject the electrical components to excessive “abuse” that would be incurred on difficult mountain biking trails. We designed this bike to perform well on the paved roads, as well as give the rider an opportunity to take it on trails – within reason.

Repairs: Even though we do sell quite a bit direct-to-consumer online, we are growing our dealers network very quickly. We should be up to about 25 dealers by the Spring, so there will be a number of shops who will be able to service the bikes for our customers.

Moreover, 85% of the components on the bike are standard bicycle components that can be serviced by any shop. The electrical elements – such as the motor, battery and controller – are designed to be easily removable and swappable. If a customer has any issues whatsoever, all they need to do is report it to us and we’ll send them a replacement part along with detailed instructions on how to remove and swap it. All major parts are covered for free under our 18 month warranty. And we’re continuously making improvements to make it easier for customers in areas with no EVELO dealer to be able to swap the parts quicker and easier.

I hope this was helpful!

And to recap – I’m always available by phone (877-991-7272) or email if anyone has any further questions or concerns.

With optimism,
Boris Mordkovich
EVELO Electric Bicycle Company

Robert Sledge
5 years ago

I have this bike and I can highly recommend it. While I was doing my research for an EBike I came across this model via YouTube, and then further study via this web site and other resources including Evelo.com. I was trying to keep my price around $2000 and I was delighted when I found this bike. In my opinion the frame/motor/battery combo make this bike #1 at this price point. My riding is on prepared surfaces (asphalt and dirt) with some occasional semi-rough surface riding (established trails). In reading some of the concerns in the above article I have the following input that I have experienced myself. I do agree with all of the Pros and here are my thoughts on some of the cons:

– Weight: the full suspension is a great thing to have for any type of riding and well worth a few extra pounds. I myself wasn’t looking for hard-core Mountain bike capabilities, just more comfort.
– The NuVinci hub is a WONDERFUL addition to any bike, not just an EBike. Once again, the extra weight is well worth the benefits. I can absolutely say that if you ride any bike with one, you’ll want one on yours.
– Rear shock – The standard shock does a fine job and I never did feel any stability issues with it as described in the review. I weigh 175 lbs and had the preload set to the firmer settings. I can remove my hands from the handlebars and put them on my knees to “pedal assist” without losing balance. I also have taken the bike (downhill) to 25+ mph with complete control. With all of that said, I have recently replaced the standard shock with a RockShox Monarch RL because I wanted the additional features. This has been a nice upgrade that I can also recommend.
– Battery container noise – I am using a black bungee cord to ensure the battery box doesn’t rattle on rough trails. I hadn’t even noticed it during normal riding until I hit some of the bigger bumps on these “semi-prepared” trails and it’s a non-issue during regular road riding anyway. The bungee cord is a fine solution and it is also used to secure items on the rack as required.
– Standard tires – The Kendas really are nice, but like the shock I have a preference and replaced them with Michelin Pilot Sports. I slip the Kendas back on for planned off-road riding.
– Rear magnet and sensor – my bike doesn’t have such a device.

Bottom line: this bike is really something special at this price. I believe we all like to customize to some degree so if the standard components don’t suit your needs then consider upgraded components to get exactly what you want. This has worked very well for me and made my riding experience even better. Of course, the manufacturer’s warranty must be considered if you want to make more significant modifications.

Gary Dolce
4 years ago

I purchased an Evelo Aries last year, I feel this is a mid priced bike with very low quality value, I would recommend test riding a few bikes before wasting money on an evelo product.


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

12 hours ago

The most important aspect to me as a a long time cyclist is to replicate my relationship to the bikes drivetrain as much as possible under e assist. To me this precludes any type of PAS because at the higher cadence I use on the road and wanting to vary it some without gaining or losing speed necessarily is not possible with even the most sensitive Torque Assist System. You apply more pressure and you go faster and vice versa unless you are constantly adjusting the ratio via a controller of course. The whole "magic legs" thing is lost on me I guess and I like to feel the road via the drivetrain in other words which also transfers well when I ride an analog bike again. It is important to have the gearing necessary to be able to pedal effectively at your projected average speed and more for dh thrills too if possible.

In order to make this happen I use a front hub motor with a throttle and Cycle Analyst III that I can set so that when I reach my desired speed I can let go of the throttle and pedal away in whatever gear/cadence I desire and the assist function fluctuates accordingly but not my speed. I also use the regen function generously as it helps to get the slowing down thing going and most times is all I need. Doesn't add much to the charge but sure saves on brake pads.

My mileage with a 52v/10.5ah/25A controller varies according to all the factors mentioned but as a general rule of thumb I find that my average speed and wh/mi are usually pretty much the same in varied terrain/speeds due to stops starts etc.. Although it is easier to average in the low 20's at a lower wh/mi rate than above that speed due to as mentioned factors above. While my current battery has never made 50 miles it has done 45 and my plan for my next battery is to go up another 1/3 in Ah so that I can do 50 easily.

Where I live I would wager that over 95% of the road/commuter biking communities use a drop bar bike of some sort. I have also found that a drop bar bike works well with assist although it is not as popular as those that use riser bars, big saddles and suspension bits in the e market place. I get plenty of comfort from using 40c tires on >i25 rims set up tubeless at 35psi btw. This also allows me to do gravé as well and even mild trail riding. Just now there are some drop bar models becoming available but are unfortunately not going to work for me as they are mainly EU spec PAS mid drives.

As you say the market is evolving rapidly and that is due to the advancements in technology, but to me the most significant advancement that applies to me is the battery chemistry itself and luckily there is a lot of effort being made towards that end. As the battery is arguably the most expensive and important element of an e bike I have chosen to stay with an open source modular system that is unencumbered by proprietary components so that as new developments happen I can easily adopt them.

In conclusion what works for me on the road is less than popular here as most will say that front hub motors and throttles won't work and that you need PAS and a mid drive. So to that end that is how my mtb is setup and that is another story.

bob armani
19 hours ago

Zoli-So in your opinion, if you do not have the latest and greatest version of Bluetooth on your smartphone, you will not get the best performance from COBI?
My question: If you do not have a newer smartphone, can you just simply download the latest Bluetooth version on an older smartphone. (ie: I have a Motorola Moto E.) So in theory, this may very well explain why some owners of the Urban have connectivity issues and others do not??

rich c
20 hours ago

I don't smoke, I don't need a lighter on my bike.

1 day ago

I am developing a new bike light (800 Lumens) which you can use for more than 150 minutes.

Now I am working on the design part, could you help me to choose which design is better: https://goo.gl/forms/ejYDdSA2IYt9ZOwZ2

I will appreciate your input :)

2 days ago

Hello Banzai,

Thanks for the helpful review of the RPB Stepthru. I also come from a motorcycling background, but haven't ridden for several years. I'm 68 years old, over weight and out of shape at 265 pounds. I have a Voltbike Yukon 750 Limited with a 500 watt geared hub motor and it is great at hill climbing, but I need a bike that I can fit into my 2016 Hyundai Tucson. I think that Radcity or a Radcity Stepthru with the front wheel removed should fit. Now, I like the looks of both bikes, but I would prefer to get the high step, because I think that there would be less frame flexing; however, I just wonder how accurate the stand over height of the high step frame is on the Radcity website. My inseam is 29 inches and I wonder if I would be able to stand over the frame without touching it. With my Yukon, the top tube is right in my crotch and I shudder to think what would happen if I had to stop hard and come off the seat onto the top tube (OUCH!!!) I like the idea of a stepthru because of what I just mentioned, but worry about it flexing under hard pedaling because of my weight. Also, I wonder if the motor on either version of the bike with the gearless direct drive motor would have enough power to carry me (while pedaling) up hills (on road).

The temperature up here in Port Perry, Ontario (NE of Toronto) is still a bit too cold for riding, but hopefully, I will be able to get out on the Yukon in another week or so.

So, if anyone who has the direct drive motor on their bike could comment, I would appreciate it.


2 days ago

SoCal has some excellent trails to ride on the sands of the Mojave Desert. Fortunately a lot of it is hard packed but there are soft spots the equivalent of soft beach sand. The typical trail ride here will have you running thru portions of each, but it is not impossible for any bike to traverse as shown by the road bikes and their narrow tires that travel on some of them. The two RAD Power Bikes I have do exceptionally well, each performing a little differently, but certainly able to tackle any terrain the desert has to offer. I rode thru the desert for years on motorcycles tricked out for desert racing. Can't do that anymore because the desert has been closed off to offroading except for designated areas and occasional sanctioned events. But I can still have fun riding on secluded back roads and trails on a 2017 RAD Rover and my new 2018 Rad City Step Thru. That's fine because the potential to bonzai down these trails needs to be reined in somewhat because afterall, they are not mountain bikes and won't hold up to the harsh treatment those bikes normally get. The two bikes that are quite different structurally, but since the Step Thru is new I'll be talking about it most and will mention first that there is no need to be timid about riding trails just because your new Step Thru is a city commuter bike, it is also equipped for trail rides and holds its own with its power and its 26'x2.3" dual purpose tires.

The RAD City Step Thru is powered by a Shengyi rear hub motor and although not having the low end thrust of the Rover, when in throttle mode it gradually gains power as speed increases, but gains full power quickly when pedaling in power assist mode. The rider never has to be concerned about a sudden thrust forward on the Step Thru. It behaves very well and can still be ridden everywhere the Rover can travel, and while getting accustomed to riding it, ran it thru different areas of difficulty just to see how well it performs. It blasts thru patches of soft sand that would stop a road bike in it's tracks. This is because the tires are the same tread and width found on many mountain bikes, and they are built for traction on all sorts of surfaces. They are not intended for all-day riding in soft sand, but regardless the Step Thru will still develop power quickly from a dead stop in first gear in power assist mode. Getting started in soft sand just using the throttle takes a little coaxing for it to finally develop sufficient power. This is when shifting down before needing the low end boost helps to keep from getting bogged down unnecessarily in a difficult situation. Each push of the gear shift button raises the gear to the next higher gear, and pushing the lever switches gears down to the next lower gear. Button Up, Lever Down.

Riding offroad in pedal only mode with no help from the motor entirely blew away my original thinking. It is quite easy, and it's nice knowing that if somehow all the power gets used up, the bike can still be pedaled just like a real bicycle. 90% of the trails I ride can be ridden easily and without any real effort using pedal power only. That is unless it is pushing against the wind, in which case when climbing steep sandy hills its best to be in at least step 3 of power assisted mode or risk stalling out halfway up the hill. Afterall, that is why we buy e-bikes - for the POWER! Otherwise on an excellent day for riding with no wind, I can take either bike and never use any power at all to ride the 15 miles into town on a trail that runs up and down hills and through washouts. The ride back is even easier with some fast downhills.

In addition to the introduction of a new style of city bike, 2018 at RPB also saw some changes in bike design and new power components. The 5 power assist modes on the new City limit the bike's speed while pedaling so I always put it on step 5 as I start up the hill to my residence. I would guess the mile long hill to be about a 10% grade, and I have no problem topping it in 7th gear and PAS 5 at 20 MPH. Topping the hill just using the throttle is slower, but the bike wants to FLY UP THAT HILL when pedaling using power assist! The watts indicator shows about 550 watts whereas powering the bike without pedaling jumps immediately up to 750 watts while sadly bogged down at around 15 MPH.

The new City bike requires keeping the key close by and must be used to allow it to power up. To turn the battery power off now also requires using the key. That's probably a new safety feature that works for many riders, but I prefer the older push button on/off instead. Ah well, such is progress.

Overall I am really impressed with the design and performance of the new RAD City Step Thru and that it is even suitable for some youngsters to ride. It's an excellent bike for running errands, and for even taking a trip out on a secluded trail to get away from the noisy city and its traffic.

2 days ago

I'm a bike enthusiast and also a software developer so for me COBI's opensource API is a great test-ground for ideas. In deed I'm currently making a couple of customized 'Modules' for my rides via COBI API.

I think the issues that were experienced early 2016/17 was regarding Bluetooth connectivity dropouts. I have the a latest Android phone with Bluetooth version 4.2 and its is very fast without lagtime. So yes u will need latest iPhone or Android to be sure u don't experience lagtime etc.

As a footnote even without carrying your smartphone, your COBI.bike can still function as a front and rear light and you can still switch through the different modes of the AmbiSense Light System. Also, the electronic bell is still functioning. If you own an eBike you can choose the motor support levels using the thumb controller.
Looking at COBI development.docs the system is made to fall back to no GPS signals etc. So the bike should not come to a grinding halt if GPS etc. is not avail.

Why would Haibike risk destroying their reputation selling off a bunch of troublesome bikes to make a few bucks?! not...and the dealers hate low margin SALE bikes so they will always try to up-sell to their highest margin sales, just to keep in mind.

Just my 2cents..

3 days ago

I am Rich Kemnitz currently head tech and former part owner of Crazy Lenny's Ebikes in Madison Wisconsin. This is my second profile on this forum having forgot my credentials for the original. We are one of the largest exclusively electric assist bicycle dealers in the nation. I hold a doctorate in Physics and a masters in mathematics. I have over 50 years on hands experience in various technical fields working for many different private and governmental concerns. I also run a part time business (Rich's Rides) focusing on vehicle design and fabrication since 1972. I have personally assembled close to 10,000 Ebikes and serviced hundreds more of many different brands as well as fabricating many custom machines. Many manufactures consult with me in product development and troubleshooting. I offer my experience and knowledge to this forum to encourage others to experience and enhance their enjoyment of electric assist bikes. Looking towards retirement and exploring other ventures I apologize ahead of time for any delays in replying to questions but invite you to pick my brain. Keep up the good work Court it was nice meeting you in Colorado I wish my health would have allowed me more time. Current projects include designing an affordable private lighter than air craft and various alternate propulsion systems. Thanks for your time and attention.

Thomas Jaszewski
3 days ago

Why should a club that built a single track with volunteers and donated funds suddenly allow these machines on their developed track. Join the clubs and convert the members from within. Or stick to the off road vehicle trails.

3 days ago

i bought a Js1 BesV bike around 2 years ago. the bike is a great around town commuter for me but recently the battery has severly dropped in its ability to hold a charge.
after bringing it to the local Besv dealer/repair shop (Pacific Ebike/Berkeley) they called Besv and told me it was still under warranty and Besv would send me a replacement battery.

so glad i brought this in under the 2 year mark for the warranty.

so Besv said i would be sent a temporary battery until the replacement arrives, i thought that was great but it has been a month and no temporary battery yet. So, great initial response but the follow through has so far been nonexistent as the shop had no contact from Besv regarding shipment of temporary battery as well as an eta for the replacement.

Currently i'm having the shop chase down what's going on with the battery with Besv.

i haven't heard or read of others experience with customer service with Besv so i thought i would share mine as it develops.

these are expensive bikes. i hope the warranty is honored in a timely manner.

does anyone else have an experience or advice to share?

J Miller
3 days ago

The black 19Ah model was finally (briefly) in stock earlier today, so I went ahead and pulled the trigger on it! I still plan to do a DIY eventually for fun, but now that will be a hobby project I can take lots of time on, while the CCS should work reliably right out of the box for years.

That's impressively cheap, and I admit I really liked the feel of the Stromer I tried out, but it wasn't quite the right choice for me - I wanted a throttle as backup, I was worried about the 630Wh being enough for me, and I plan to haul more weight than the rack was rated for, and I really wanted to be able to manually set the speed limit easily for legal reasons in a certain part of town I've had some close calls in.

That said, the Stromer had the best feeling assist of any bike I've ridden, including other torque-sensor equipped bikes. I almost bought one then and there after riding it because of that haha. And I like direct drives better than geared... Still, I think I made the right choice with the CCS.

Chris Nolte
4 days ago

The Jump bike headquarters is across the street from me in the Brooklyn Navy Yard and it’s been cool talking with the guys and watching them progress. I do hope that they’re able to work out those bugs described above as I agree that it could have a real impact on the growth of the ebike market.

We were working on developing an ebike with another share company a couple of years ago. The conditions of use and logistics around charging can be quite challenging. The other big obsticale is there aren’t really many parts made specifically for this use scenario, so you have to just go with the best you can get. Hopefully some of the manufacturers will introduce parts more suited for these environments, but many are actually divesting in these areas, Shimano is discontinuing their roller brakes, SRAM is stopping their internal hub business. Their big challenges is having the quantities necessary.

Nuvinci seems a little more ambitious here and I think we’ll see more share bikes in the future with their system. But ultimately I think we’ll see systems that doesn’t require shifting by the user.

Some bike shops are against bike share, we welcome and embrace it as one piece of the bigger pie. Continuing with that metaphor I think we haven’t even begun baking the pie, it seems we’re just testing ingredients for freshness and taste at this point ;)

stanley cartwright
1 month ago

I have a tonaro enduro which is very similar. It has a 10 tooth on the derailier which gives 20 mph if you move the magnet on the back wheel. A chinese copy of a yamaha motor. very heavy bike

stanley cartwright
7 months ago

I like your electric bike reviews. I've had a tonaro enduro for 5 years. The uk guy I bought it from, power pedals, went bust.
The tonaros are ok but the controllers fail. I also have a Bewo bike I built. ie added motor/controller/battery to a mongoose.
Bewo is like Bafang/8Fun but less known. Very nice motor add on unit. The posh bosch bikes don't appeal to me, I'd just like a good throttle potentiometer. The Tonaro actually has 8 positions in it's 0 to 5V range. I'm fitting a higher voltage controller to my Tonaro as it's said to work on 48V and then is 350W not rated 250W. I think it will be retro classic one day so keeping it.

8 months ago

Hey bro do you still have the Evelo bike that you do this review on? My Evelo folding e bicycle is so awesome I dont even need a car this works great for me thanks for all the review of different brands of e bikes first I thought it cost way too much but after seeing your video save me so much in money in the long run. Also what you say on most video is never go too cheap on e bike what you buy what you get right. So far I been using it for 5 days now and still happy with the purchase. You Rock Bro !!

1 year ago

Why would they put the throttle on the left?

2 years ago

You should review the Orion!!!!

2 years ago

I'd love to! Haven't seen one in person yet...

2 years ago

Why this company/bike constantly changed their brand names?

3 years ago

I like all your reviews as they are well thought out and spoken from an experienced rider, however your close up shots are blurry and the wind noise once you start to ride is drowning our your voice

3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Thanks for the reply and yes way superior now with your new gimbal. Thanks

3 years ago

+TNSProject Thanks for the feedback! This was one of my earliest videos (shot on my iPhone 4S). I have since purchased three GoPro's and added some wind screen along with a three axis gimbal to smooth things out. Took a while to save up for these parts but I think they really helped. Here's a newer review: http://electricbikereview.com/specialized/turbo-x/

dennis critcher
3 years ago

thanks for info

dennis critcher
3 years ago

why twist throttle on the left?

3 years ago

+dennis critcher I believe they chose this layout because the right grip was used for shifting gears. I don't think this bike uses trigger shifters like some other models and as such, they had to have a half-grip twist on both sides so they put the gears on the right since it has a display and would really appear upside down if they put it on the left.

Darren Brown
3 years ago

thanks Court

Ted Night
4 years ago

Wow. I find your reviewing very inconsistent.The Evelo Aries according to you has a "cool set up". It has a "nice cargo rack"and overall you seem to have a very positive attitude about the components. Meanwhile, for the Igo Urban review you say your not a fan of the gear drive,which is the same, you claim it has a "cheap" saddle rack and overall you claim it has low quality components. THEY ARE THE SAME COMPONENTS. IT HAS THE SAME SETUP. Therefore, although I appreciate you giving a review, I find it hard to take it seriously.

3 years ago

I'm in touch with these guys, hoping to spend some time with their production prototype later this month 50/50 on whether it will happen, thanks for the heads up!

3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com  Check out the new Wave eBikehttps://www.indiegogo.com/projects/wave-electric-28-mph-bike

4 years ago

Yeah, you're correct. These reviews were done at different times and in circumstances that change (like availability of better bikes). I try to provide an optimistic take on bikes but am much more thorough in the full writeups. I've reviewed this bike twice (as well as the iGo Titan) and some specs have changed. I hope that helps you interpret my work here, it's an imperfect process. If you've got a question relating to the two bikes I'll try to provide some clarification. In short, the EVELO bikes offer higher end upgrades but become as expensive as better drive systems (in my opinion) whereas iGo has stuck with low end (no motor upgrade, no LCD display and no NuVinci option) but also keeps the lower price point. I reviewed the Titan before visiting their headquarters in Canada and had a different impression (and a very critical review) which I removed and have since updated here: http://electricbikereview.com/igo/titan/

Edmund Spencer
4 years ago

I got an offer from EVELO to finance for 5 years @ 14.99 AR . The bike may come with Vince shifter? Some type of internal shifting. Forgive me for I am not up on bicycle slang. My question is the bicycle worth it? As of now I ride my motorcycle 32 miles a day to visit my wife who lives in a nursing home. I live in Massachusetts and riding is not year round. I am in my middle 60's and not in tip top shape. What is your opinion. I think it is not worth it but I have been wrong in the past so a informed opinion from a professional Electric bicycle mechanic would be helpful.

John Taylor
4 years ago

Wow, that jump test is proof why you want a full suspension on an ebike!

4 years ago

Hey John, I almost always go with full suspension ebikes but this one was very bouncy (basic suspension). It would be alright for absorbing cracks and potholes in the road. Here's another jump test on a more balanced setup with rebound: http://electricbikereview.com/haibike/xduro-fs-rx-27-5/

henchicken popbutton
4 years ago

No hydraulic disk brakes either!

4 years ago

+henchicken1 Funny you should ask, I'm almost done with the Easy Motion Neo 650b Jumper review, should publish today or tomorrow. The older Jumper has 26" wheels and full suspension http://electricbikereview.com/easy-motion/neo-jumper/ and I also like the Haibike XDURO AMT Pro but it's quite expensive http://electricbikereview.com/haibike/xduro-amt-pro/

henchicken popbutton
4 years ago

Ya i have just been on the progressive brake upgrade that has happened over the years,  and my latest mountain bikes that came with them are just AWESOME  they work real good and i would never go back...anyway thought this was a good review , do you have any tests on electric full suspension mountain bikes?  

4 years ago

+henchicken1 That's cool, maybe it depends on the weight you're carrying? Lots of European bikes use rim brakes and v-brakes which actually provide more stopping leverage but are considered "weaker" by the West... I think we just like the way hydraulic sounds. Here's a good example of an ebike with hydraulic rim brakes; didn't even know these existed: http://electricbikereview.com/kalkhoff/sahel-i8/

henchicken popbutton
4 years ago

+Electric Bike Review I disagree, with the speeds you can obtain on an electric bike you need all the brakes you can get!  

4 years ago

Honestly, for an ebike like this it wouldn't be a good idea to go off road. It's heavy, weight is high, battery would be banging all around, the rear shock is like a spring with limited rebound control and the frame is bendy feeling. I think mechanical disc brakes are fine for on road use and contribute to the lower price point here.

4 years ago

I really like the looks of this bike a lot. The price seems good too. I'm guessing if you just use the throttle you avoid any issues with the power delay. What's the top speed, and usable range? How long does it take to charge?

All Bike Update
4 years ago

Hey! Great questions, the aesthetics and price were what originally attracted me to this bike as well. I've listed the speed, estimated range, charge time, price and more back at the full written review. It's a bit easier to keep updated there: http://electricbikereview.com/evelo/aries/

4 years ago

Was the frame actually flexing or was there no damping of the rear shock? I agree having the battery on the rear rack isn't the best.

4 years ago

I think the frame was actually flexing a bit and the soft suspension and pivot point for the rear arms were bobbing a lot. It has been a long time since I tested this bike but the overall feel was heavy and soft with a bouncy/springy feel in the suspension vs. dampening. I'm in touch with EVELO and plan to see their new 2014 bikes later this year, they've been working to improve them a lot :)

Clément Rodrigue
4 years ago

I like to see action and some exemples man, but I see you talking too much, so nothing is usefull and kool on video.

It is unfortunate. :-)

4 years ago

the people that  make these bike's dont ride them. they are to busy stealing the usa

Pete Stelling
1 year ago

I agree, and try to get one fixed!! They expect you to do it yourself.

4 years ago

Ha! I know, right? I saw their booth this year at Interbike and experimented with one of the cameras. The challenge is that I like to do shots of the bike, riding, myself and pictures and I'm just a one-person team. The wind noise is a bother but otherwise it works alright ;)

Joe G.P.
4 years ago

You my friend need a couple of gopros