Gazelle Avenue C8 Review

Gazelle Avenue C8 Electric Bike Review
Gazelle Avenue C8
Gazelle Avenue C8 Finura Plastic Chain Cover
Gazelle Avenue C8 36 Volt Lithium Ion Battery Pack Rack With Bungee
Gazelle Avenue C8 Removable Transflective Shimano Steps Ebike Display
Gazelle Avenue C8 Ergon Gp1 Ergonomic Grips Magura Hs11 Brake Levers
Gazelle Avenue C8 Alloy Fork With Spring Suspension
Gazelle Avenue C8 Deep Wave Step Thru Frame
Gazelle Avenue C8 Sks Plastic Fenders With Rubber Mud Flaps
Gazelle Avenue C8 Shimano Steps Rear Rack Ebike Battery
Gazelle Avenue C8 Shimano Ebike Battery Charger With Adapter
Gazelle Avenue C8 Large 4 Amp Electric Bike Charger By Shimano
Gazelle Avenue C8 Electric Bike Review
Gazelle Avenue C8
Gazelle Avenue C8 Finura Plastic Chain Cover
Gazelle Avenue C8 36 Volt Lithium Ion Battery Pack Rack With Bungee
Gazelle Avenue C8 Removable Transflective Shimano Steps Ebike Display
Gazelle Avenue C8 Ergon Gp1 Ergonomic Grips Magura Hs11 Brake Levers
Gazelle Avenue C8 Alloy Fork With Spring Suspension
Gazelle Avenue C8 Deep Wave Step Thru Frame
Gazelle Avenue C8 Sks Plastic Fenders With Rubber Mud Flaps
Gazelle Avenue C8 Shimano Steps Rear Rack Ebike Battery
Gazelle Avenue C8 Shimano Ebike Battery Charger With Adapter
Gazelle Avenue C8 Large 4 Amp Electric Bike Charger By Shimano

Summary

  • A durable, streamlined, wave style step-thru electric bicycle from an established European brand with an excellent track record of quality and service, available in three frame sizes for improved fit
  • Uses one of the lightest, quietest, and most efficient mid-drive motors from Shimano with an updated display panel and high-capacity 504 watt hour rear-rack battery, adjustable swept-back handlebar
  • Purpose-built frame routes cables internally but has cutouts for serviceability, reinforced main-tube reduces frame flex, smaller 26" tires bring the frame closer to the ground, gel saddle and seat post suspension feel great
  • Integrated LED lights and reflective tires keep you visible and safe, fully encased chain stays clean and won't drop easily, internally geared hub can be shifted at standstill and won't get dirty or go out of true as easily as a derailleur

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Gazelle

Model:

Avenue C8

Price:

$2,999

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Cruising, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Motor and Battery, 5 Year Frame

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

2018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

52.5 lbs (23.81 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.8 lbs (2.63 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.05 lbs (3.19 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

17.72 in (45 cm)20.08 in (51 cm)22.44 in (56.99 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Step-Thru Small 45 cm Stats: 17.9" Seat Tube, 21.5" Reach, 15.5" Stand Over Height, 25.5" Width, 72.5" Length

Frame Types:

Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Saturn Blue Mat

Frame Fork Details:

Aluminum Fork with Headset Spring Suspension, ~30 mm Travel, 100 mm Hub Spacing, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

135 mm Hub Spacing, 10 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Nexus Inter8, Internally Geared Hub, Freewheel, SG-C6011-8R, 18 Tooth Cog

Shifter Details:

Shimano Nexus Half-Grip Shifter on Right

Cranks:

Miranda Delta, Alloy, 160 mm to 170 mm Length, 38 Tooth Chainring

Pedals:

Gazelle Light Edge, Aluminum Alloy and Plastic Platform with Rubber Tread

Headset:

VP-Z051AD Straight 1-1/8", 68.5° Head Tube Angle

Stem:

Gazelle Switch Tool-Free Adjustable Angle (Steplessly Adjustable), 110 mm Length

Handlebar:

Aluminum Alloy, Swept Back, 630 mm Length

Brake Details:

Magura HS11 Hydraulic Rim Brakes, Four Finger Levers with Tool-Free Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Ergon GP1 Ergonomic, Locking

Saddle:

Selle Royal Loire Gel

Seat Post:

Spring Suspension, 40 mm Travel, 27.2 mm to 29.8 mm Shim

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

RYDE X-Plorer Safety Line, Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14G Front 13G Rear, Black with Adjustable Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Marathon, 26" x 1.75" (47-559)

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Performance Line GreenGuard, 45 to 70 PSI, Reflective Sidewall Stripe, E-Bike Ready 50 km

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Finura Plastic Enclosed Chain Cover, Gazelle Steps Aluminum Alloy Rear Rack with Pannier Guards and Triple-Bungee Strap (25 kg / 55 lb Max Weight), SKS Plastic Fenders with Rubber End-Flaps (Gloss Black), Busch+Müller Upp T Integrated LED Headlight (6 Volt DC), Spanninga Integrated LED Backlight, Gazelle Axis Rotary Bell, AXA Defender Frame Lock Keyed-Alike, Massload CL-KA36 Adjustable Center-Mount Kickstand, Rubberized Tube Protector at Step-Thru

Other:

Locking Removable Rack Mounted Batter Pack, 2.3 lb 4 Amp Battery Charger, 70° Seat Tube Angle

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Shimano STePs E6000

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Shimano STePs, Rear Rack, BT-E6001

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

14 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

504 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Estimated Max Range:

70 miles (113 km)

Display Type:

Shimano STePs SC-E6010, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Transflective Grayscale, Backlit LCD, (Hold Up and Down for Settings Menu)

Readouts:

Clock, Battery (Infographic and Percentage), Speed, Assist Level (OFF, ECO, NORM, HIGH), Shifting (Manual, Auto), Trip Time, Avg Speed, Max Speed, Trip Distance, Odometer, Range, Detail Range

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Rotation Sensor, Speed Sensor, Pedal Force Sensor, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 70% 30 Nm, Normal 150% 40 Nm, High 230% 50 Nm)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Gazelle Avenue C8 is a wave style step-thru electric bike with a very low main-tube (combined top tube and downtube). It’s actually still comprised of two metal tubes in order to maximize stiffness and strength, but they are joined with some beautifully smooth welding and gusset plates along the upper and lower portions. Because the bike uses smaller 26-inch sized wheels vs. 27.5″ or standard 28″ 700c, the entire frame is lower to the ground and that means the absolute saddle height can be lower, even with the stock suspension seat post! Approachability, stability, and comfort are all important in the world of electric bicycles because riders tend to travel at slightly higher average speeds, over longer distances, and possibly get out more frequently. I searched for a definition of the word “avenue” and found the following: a broad road in a town or city, typically having trees at regular intervals along its sides. And, I think this really suites this Gazelle ebike because it’s designed for neighborhood and city use. The tires offer a blend of efficiency, comfort, safety, and durability because of their 1.75″ width (slightly wider than average), their reflective sidewall striping, and their puncture protective lining. This is a feature-complete electric bicycle with fenders, a fully enclosed chain case, a cargo rack, and LED lights that run off of the main rechargeable battery (the same battery powering the motor and display). I love how the headlight has windows cutouts along the sides to allow for light to shine out and increase your visual footprint, however, the light is mounted on the moving portion of the fork which means it could bounce and vibrate a bit more than if it had been mounted higher on the steering tube or handlebar. The rear light is positioned above the fender and below the battery, out of the way if you put a trunk bag or side pannier bags onto the frame. The frame color is a unique semi-metallic dark blue matte that matches throughout, even on the chain case, and you can get this bike in three sizes to fit your body and leg length. I noticed that on the smallest frame size (the one I reviewed) the crank arms were extra-short 160 mm vs. the standard 170 mm and that’s the sort of attention to detail that you don’t get with some cheaper products. In a lot of ways, $3k is an excellent price for a more premium build with a name-brand motor and high capacity battery. Gazelle has been around for over 100 years and is part of the PON Group in Europe, an automotive company that has really been investing in the ebike space in recent years, acquiring Focus, Kalkhoff, and Faraday.

Driving the Avenue C8 is one of the lightest, most efficient electric bike motors I have tested in recent years. It’s the Shimano STePs E600 mid-drive which delivers 250 watts nominal, up to 500 watts peak, with a maximum torque rating of 50 Newton meters. It’s responsive, smooth, and so compact that it hides behind the chain casing and blends nicely with the downtube design. This motor is also fairly quiet, especially in the lower two assist levels. I could imagine that with some panniers on the rear rack, hiding the battery, people might not even notice that it’s electric. A real highlight for me on this bike is that it uses an 8-speed internally geared hub, also from Shimano, that can be shifted at standstill. When you pair a mid-motor with a decent range of gearing, you can maximize climbing power and efficiency to get incredible range. The Shimano display panel has a range estimator readout that was saying 47+ miles for me, even in the highest assist level, and up to 70 miles in the lowest. That’s pretty incredible, but it does depend on how you leverage the gears. Shifting is intuitive with the half-twist grip shifter on the right portion of the handlebar, there’s even a little window showing which gear you’re in (lower gears are excellent for starting, climbing, and riding slowly). One of the other benefits of internally geared hubs is how clean and durable they tend to be. There’s only one sprocket in the rear and one chainring up front so the chain itself isn’t moving around and probably won’t fall off or rattle, and if the bike tips over onto its side, there’s no derailleur hanging down that could get bent! The downsides however, are that internally geared hubs tend to cost a bit more, weight a bit more, and shift more slowly. In fact, if you try to shift while pedaling hard, you might hear some clicking and not get a result. The Nexus Inter8 is a mid-level component that tries to protect itself and won’t allow shifting if the forces are too high. And of course, because this is an electric bike with 20 mph top assisted speeds and the additional weight of that motor and battery, it’s important to have reliable braking power. And that’s exactly what you get here… some very nice Magura HS11 hydraulic rim brakes with big comfortable levers. The lever position can be adjusted to make them easier to reach for people with petite hands and the hydraulic lines, verses mechanical wires, tend to require less hand strength.

Powering this bike is an upgraded 36 volt 14 Amp hour Lithium-ion battery pack that slides into the rear rack. The older Shimano battery offered 36 volt 11 Amp hour capacity, and was still great, but the industry has been moving towards the half Kilowatt-hour size because the affordability of energy dense cells has gone up (meaning you can put the same number of batteries into a box but each battery has more power). Weight hasn’t increased much either, maybe one half of a pound, so this is a big win in my book. You can charge the battery while mounted to the frame or take it off, perhaps bringing it into your workplace for a top-off during the day. And, I love how quick the Shimano STePs battery charger is, offering 4 Amp out put vs. just 2 Amps on many cheaper products. The gripes I do have however, are that the charger is a bit bulky and heavy… and that it requires a little plug adapter to charge the battery directly when off of the frame. This block does not attach securely to the end of the charger plug, nor does it have a leash or other attachment feature. So it would be easy to set down, drop, or just misplace and then lose permanently. In that case, you would only be able to charge the battery when mounted to the bike frame, and that means you need to bring your bike close to an outlet. For people who live in upstairs apartments or don’t have space in their garage, this would be a bummer. So, keep track of the little charger dongle thing! And Shimano, please improve this design… Bosch and other companies have been able to use the same charging port on their bikes and the battery so you don’t need a dongle at all. To really maximize the life of this and other Lithium-ion battery packs I have heard that you should store them in a cool, dry location and avoid extreme heat and cold. The battery could cost over $800 to replace but is very secure when locked to the frame, and I like that the rear wheel lock uses the same key. I do have a gripe here however too, the key must be left in the frame lock to have it in the open position. If you have a keychain connected to the ebike key there, it could jingle around and even scratch up the frame or get snagged on your pant leg or dress. Other frame locks I have seen allow you to remove the key in the open or locked position, so this was a bit quirky and frustrating to me. I suppose you could lock the frame every time you stop and take the battery off, but with the key not on a keychain, what if you misplace the key! It’s like the charger adapter plug situation all over again, two small and important parts that could just be floating around if you don’t keep your wits about you.

Operating Shimano STePs powered electric bikes that use the new E6010 display panel is easier than ever! This display is larger than the old model, uses a transflective LCD that is easy to read in direct sunlight, and only requires one on/off press whereas the old display wouldn’t power up until you pressed a button on the battery pack first. Sometimes that meant reaching way back or even getting off the bike and then back on. I love almost everything about this display and the accompanying three-button control pad, which is mounted within reach of the left grip. You can remove the display for safe keeping just like the battery pack, adjust its brightness, and even invert the font color from black text on a white background to white text on a black background. It beeps sometimes when you change assist levels or navigate through menus and that can even be turned off in the settings menu. The basic operation begins when you press the power button on the display and then press either the up or down arrows on the control pad to raise or lower assist power. Getting more advanced, you can press the center button on the control pad to cycle through trip stats like average speed, maximum speed, distance, odometer, and then range. As mentioned before, range is really cool because it can help you plan rides so you don’t run out of power half way. Range is dynamically calculated based on the battery charge level and whatever assist setting you are in (Eco, Normal, or High). There is also a battery infographic at the top right corner of this display which uses a percentage vs. five or ten bars like so many competing ebike systems. If and when you want to get more advanced and change the font color or brightness stuff, just hold the up and down arrows to enter the settings menu.

This Gazelle Avenue C8 does so many things right and I recognize and appreciate lots of little things about it that might go unnoticed by someone who doesn’t study bikes all day… The frame design and wheel sizing, the longer front fender to keep your shoes and shins dry, the rubber pad at the base of the main tube to protect the paint, the minimalist suspension fork, tool-free adjustable stem, name-brand locking ergonomic grips, color-matched chain casing, nicer flick bell, and internally routed (but still accessible) cables and wires. Even though they did not included bottle cage bosses on the seat tube or main tube, you can easily add a trunk bag with a bottle holster for under $25 like this. The rear rack uses standard gauge tubing that will be compatible with most clip-on or velcro panniers, and it’s got really nice tubing supports on both sides that will keep bags from rubbing against the tires. It even comes with a triple-bungee cord for securing lightweight items quickly. Most of the areas that I feel could be improved rely on third party vendors like Shimano (for the charger weight and dongle adapter) and AXA (for the frame lock key design). Bosch now offers an Active Line motor that produces less torque, less noise, weighs less, and would be a good option to compete with the Shimano E6000, but I still like this motor and prefer the Shimano display (especially compared to the minimalist Bosch Purion seen on the Bulls Cruiser E). Compared to that ebike, the Avenue C8 is lower to the ground, lighter weight, less expensive, and it has eight speeds vs. just seven. I hope this deep review and video ride test help you to learn more about ebikes and consider the trade-offs between drive systems. Big thanks to Gazelle for partnering with me on this post and to Chris Nolte at Propel Bikes in Brooklyn for letting me review one of his demo models and proving some insights. As always, the comments are open below and I’ll try to help you with any questions. You can also connect with other customers and enthusiasts in the Gazelle Ebike Forums.

Pros:

  • Gazelle is over 100 years old and has been recognized with a Royal seal for outstanding products and customer service, they are based in the Netherlands and produce more than 275,000 bicycle per year! You get outstanding customer service and warranty with this product
  • The Avenue C8 step-thru electric bike is available in three frame sizes, it’s one of the most approachable and comfortable electric bikes in its category regardless of your body size
  • The suspension hardware is lightweight and minimal with a monoshock on the fork and a spring seat post, they aren’t super adjustable and you cannot lock them out, but they compliment the swept-back handlebar with adjustable stem, premium ergonomic grips, and gel saddle wonderfully
  • This bike is feature-complete with long plastic fenders that have rubber flaps at the end, a fully enclosed chain cover, paint-matched rear rack for hauling cargo, and integrated LED lights as well as reflective tires
  • Internally routed cables, a reinforced double-tube downtube, and color matched accessories all make this product sleek and beautiful, it’s also fairly stiff and sturdy compared to other wave models I have tried
  • The Shimano STePs display panel is removable, large and easy to read, and uses a transflective LCD which can be read in bright conditions as well as low-light and it has lots of adjustability with the easy menu system (just hold the up and down buttons to get into the menu), you can even change from black text on white to white text on black to improve the contrast
  • Hydraulic braking systems tend to be quicker and require less effort because there isn’t a cable rubbing on a housing and stretching over time, they also offer tool-free adjustable-reach levers which is great if you have large or small hands, or if you like to wear gloves to stay warm when cycling
  • The Shimano Nexus Inter8 internally geared hub tends to be more reliable and stay cleaner than a cassette and derailleur setup, it can be shifted at standstill and only has one external sprocket so your chain stays tighter and is much less likely to fall off
  • The battery pack can be charged on or off the frame and only weighs ~5.8 lbs so it’s relatively easy to carry if you are a commuter, the 4 Amp charger will fill it quicker than most other ebikes that use 2 Amp chargers
  • I like the rear rack design because it’s low, positioned far back from the saddle so it can go all the way down without colliding, uses standard gauge tubing to work with clip-on panniers, has side blockers to keep gear from rubbing on the tires, and even comes with a bungee cord for quick mounting
  • For quick stops, the AXA rear wheel lock secures the bike and most people aren’t going to be able to lift and run off with a 50+ pound bicycle… the front wheel does have quick release by default so consider locking it or keeping en eye out so nobody snatches it
  • Getting a flat tire is no fun, even if you’ve got quick release wheels like the front wheel on this bike, since the rear wheel is bolted on and you’ve got a fancy chain cover setup… it’s really nice that Gazelle included Schwalbe Marathon tires with Performance Line GreenGuard to reduce the possibility of flats, just keep the tires pumped up between the recommended PSI (40 to 70 PSI) so you’ll be less likely to get a pinch flat
  • Considering that the bike uses a deep step-thru frame and offers smaller sizes, I think it was smart that they opted for 26″ wheels vs. 28″ (700c) sizing like most city bikes… these wheels bring the frame closer to the ground, the trade-off is rolling momentum and a higher attack angle which won’t span cracks quite as smoothly
  • I like that Gazelle opted for shorter 160 mm crank arms for their smaller frames because that will reduce pedal strikes and just feel more comfortable riders with shorter legs

Cons:

  • You have to lock the cafe lock in order to remove the key which can take a bit of extra time or encourage you to just leave the key in… which presents a security risk, it would be nice if you could remove the key locked or not locked as is the case with most ABUS frame locks
  • Some of the fancier ebike systems are now offering USB or Micro-USB charging ports for use with portable electronic devices, this ebike does not have that yet
  • The charger is pretty large and weighs ~2.3 lbs while similarly specced hardware from competing brands is in the 1.7 lb to 2 lb range, this charger also requires an adapter plug to charge the battery pack independently (off the bike) and there’s no leash or convenient way to keep the adapter with the charger, I could see this part being misplaced and lost easily
  • The rear rack is pretty great but I was surprised that the frame doesn’t have bottle cage bosses on the seat tube, there appears to be plenty of space and this could be handy for attaching a mini-pump, folding lock, or bottle cage
  • Minor grip here, but the headlight is mounted below the front shock which means it will bounce around more and adds unsprung weight
  • I understand why they chose a rack mounted battery here, to free up the mid-section of the frame for low step-thru, but it does position weight up high and towards the back which isn’t as stable and contributes to some frame flex
  • The kickstand is mounted at the center of the frame, just behind the bottom bracket, and can get in the way of the left crank arm if you leave the stand down and spin the cranks or back the bike up (like out of a garage or shed), I prefer the rear mounted stands that stay out of the way and can provide increased stability for a rack battery and bags
  • The rear fender did not seem to be attached to the underside of the cargo rack and it rattled quite a bit during my ride test… you can see and hear this around 22:24 in the video review above

Resources:

More Gazelle Reviews

Gazelle Arroyo C8 HMB Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A highly adjustable, feature-complete, city style electric bike with long fenders and enclosed chain cover to keep you clean and integrated lights to keep you safe, keyed-alike frame lock adds convenience. Available in four frame sizes and three colorways, premium paint and marine-grade hardware were chosen…...

Gazelle CityZen T10 Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A feature-complete city style electric bike that's lighter than competing models and more sporty, the narrow handlebars let you squeeze through traffic and doorways easily. Premium alloy coated fenders are tough and quiet, plastic chain guard keeps your pants clean,…...

2017 Gazelle Arroyo C8 HMB Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A highly adjustable, feature-complete, city style electric bike with long fenders that have an integrated headlight and enclosed chain cover keep you clean and dry, integrated keyed-alike cafe lock adds convenience. Available in three frame sizes with the small and medium being wave and the large…...

Gazelle NL C7 HMB Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable, stable and capable cargo bike... that's almost like a cruiser with large sweeping bars, an adjustable stem, oversized comfort saddle and puncture-resistant balloon tires. Impressive two-year comprehensive warranty, thoroughly tested against UV and salt water exposure, unique styling and…...

Gazelle CityZen C8 HM Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

An efficient urban style electric bike with tight fenders, integrated LED lights, a cargo rack with bungee cords and a cafe lock for quick stops. Available in four frame sizes (three trapez mid-step and two diamond high-step), the battery pack…...

Gazelle Arroyo C8 HM Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A wonderful commuting platform with full-coverage fenders, premium integrated lights, suspension fork and suspension seat post, adjustable stem and more. Clean single-sprocket drivetrain with fully enclosed chain guard cover, eight speed internally geared hub that…...


Mike
6 months ago

Once again, we have a mid drive that has no throttle. While having no throttle is something that EU regulators shoved down the throats of European ebike riders, and respective OEM’s, the lack of a throttle remains a serious shortcoming of all of these ebikes. Most mid-drives do not have throttles, except for Evelo.

Customers typically demand the throttle, for uses such as having help while navigating from a stop on a hill, to occassionally not wanting to pedal, and other situations that an ebike has an advantage for the user.

The US doesn’t have to accept this, and nor should consumers accept these very high prices for mid-drives. They are really hard to maintain or service, and will be much more expensive in the long run.

Reply
court
6 months ago

Hi Mike! My experience with mid-drives is that they’re efficient, well balanced, and can be extremely reliable and easy to maintain (basically they are swapped out if a problem arises). That’s not the case for every product, and EVELO uses mostly Bafang mid-drive motors which do tend to encounter breakdowns with throttle activation and that can be very hard on your chain, cassette, and derailleur too… but I’m still a big fan of choice and love that we have so many options to choose from. The Gazelle Avenue C8 comes from a European company that follows their rules. I think they executed very well with this product, but you don’t have to buy it :)

Reply
Dewey
3 months ago

Gazelle have renamed this model, the new name for the Avenue is the EasyFlow

Reply
court
3 months ago

Interesting, thanks for the feedback Dewey! I hope to connect with the Gazelle folks later this year and may get to do an updated review :)

Reply
Dewey
2 months ago

Hi Court, yours is one of the only reviews of this model, and I was confused when Gazelle already sell the superficially similar Arroyo, so I did a comparison of the specs in your reviews to list some of the more significant differences between the Gazelle EasyFlow and Gazelle Arroyo and I thought I’d share:

  • Wheels: 26″ EasyFlow vs 28″ Arroyo.
  • Stand over height: 15.5″ EasyFlow vs 16.5″ Arroyo.
  • Weight: 52.5lb EasyFlow vs 58.7lb Arroyo.
  • Motor torque: 50nm (Steps E6000) EasyFlow vs 63nm (Bosch Performance Line) Arroyo.
  • Brakes: Magura HS11 EasyFlow requires a hex tool to adjust the lever reach vs Magura HS22 Arroyo has finger-adjustable knob instead.
  • Front light: B&M Upp-T 30 lux EasyFlow vs B&M IQ-TEC 60 lux Arroyo.
Reply
court
2 months ago

This is wonderful, Dewey! Thanks for spending a few moments to list these out… I’m sure that you’re not the only one comparing the Gazelle EasyFlow vs. the Gazelle Arroyo. I enjoyed reading through and actually tweaked the Newton meter torque rating of the Bosch Performance Line motor from 65 Nm to 63 Nm (though their CX will reach 75 Nm). I’d love to hear what you ultimately choose as an ebike, and any other deep insights you care to share along the way :)

Reply
Rick Bagley
3 weeks ago

We purchased 2 Gazelle Arroyo (2018 model) bikes in mid-April and were initially pleased with them. Having never owned e-bikes before, it was so great to be able to go all over our hilly area and not feel exhausted at the end of a ride. But almost immediately after getting going on our brand new bikes, we started experiencing full power failures. This occurred more frequently on one bike than the other, but we both experienced it numerous times and with no apparent cause or warning. The power simply cuts out and it takes a few minutes to get it back. We took the bikes in and our dealer (The New Wheel) rewired the computer connections. We rode off and all was fine for a while, but then both bikes started having the same problem. New Wheel brought us loaners and took the bikes back to fully rewire them. The loaners were different bikes, but with the same Bosch motor. For some reason, my wife was able to get this bike up the very steep hill to our home, much easier than she could with the Arroyo. This hill is hard for me as well, even though I’m an experienced cyclist, but I just figured the slope of the hill would be a challenge even for a heavy, pedal-assisted bike. But for my wife, the loaner seemed easier to use on this steep climb. Anyway, our Gazelles were rewired and my wife was told the lowest gear was also somehow adjusted to be even lower than it was, thus supposedly making the climb easier than before. It has only been a day since our bikes have been back with us, so we don’t yet know if the electrical problem has been resolved. But in climbing the hill to our home, my wife actually had to get off and walk the bike up! It was actually harder, not easier, to do the climb. Long story short, we are deeply disappointed in the functionality and reliability of this bike. From our conversations with others, we also now know the electrical issues we’ve experienced are not only known, but they are common with this brand. As for the hill climbing issue, I’m not sure what to say except that it seems the pedal-assist during climbing is not what it is reported to be by Gazelle. My wife is going to ride tomorrow with one of the owners of The New Wheel, so he can see for himself what a struggle our hill now is. Then I’m guessing we will be considering our options for what to do about our purchase of these very expensive, but unreliable, bikes. If I were to do this again, I’d definitely do more research into actual customer reviews as opposed to the many on-line “reviews” by various professional reviewers (e.g. EBR) whose credibility I now fully question. I think the Gazelle Arroyo has the potential to be all it is hyped to be and more, but it’s not there yet and we feel totally taken by all the supposed high praise of Gazelle’s quality control. Do not befooled by the hype.

Reply
court
2 weeks ago

Hi Rick, thanks for your feedback! I’m glad that the New Wheel has been able to help you out and sorry to hear that my reviews felt misleading or limited. I don’t get to ride most ebikes beyond just a day or two and sometimes there aren’t hills nearby. I really appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts here or in the EBR forums so that other people can get a more complete picture. I rely on the New Wheel, Gazelle, and other people to form my own opinions and I try to be as objective and transparent as possible. I’ll take this feedback into consideration with future reviews and continue growing my skills and perspectives :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

John from Connecticut
3 days ago

Ditto on the welcome ! and what a really cool looking bike. Love the color.

David Berry
3 days ago

AM -

Welcome. Can you let us know a bit about your Gazelle which looks like the perfect bike for a European cyclist-friendly environment. It has several intriguing features that are not familiar to most of us: some obvious like the chainguard and others almost hidden like the brakes’ discs that look like they are there for cooling purposes only (drum brakes rather than disc brakes?).

David

altitudeman
4 days ago

My running name is Altitudeman that comes from working in the aerospace industrie.Now retierd and into allsorts but ebike particulary hello to everyone and its nice to be here.I am riding a Gazelle chamonix innergy and love it .Good rides were i live so allways on the go.

JoePah
6 days ago

That is some commute dude!

I would make sure that your bike route would be legal for an Ebike, and specifically what class eBike

You can average 19-20 mph if there isn't any traffic and don't have stop lights.

And I don't know if you want a new bike or not, but have you considered an ebike kit? You could get away with a very light rear geared hub motor, and put a large battery on it... All for less than $1500 + your bike

If you do want a off the shelf electric bike, the STromer is a perfect commuter bike... Comfortable, Reliable fast and overall excellent quality. It is heavy and rear hub motor. You can buy leftover models cheap.

ebubar
6 days ago

Have only seen shades of what I'm wondering covered in here. I currently commute 30-36 miles roundtrip on my adventure bike (Jamis Renegade). I have been doing this 5 days a week for the past 3 years. With starts and stops and a couple decent hills it takes me between an hour 15 and an hour 45 minutes each way. Thus i'm used to 3+ hours in the saddle every day and haven't tired of it for many years. According to Strava, I don't kill myself on my rides and put out around an average of 120 - 130 watts on most rides. Due to her job and the expenses of housing in the area (DC Metro area) I may end up with a 54 mile roundtrip commute. This is a bit far to do daily on my adventure bike. I'm considering the plausibility of getting an ebike to ride the full distance at least a few days a week. I can park the bike in my office and charge in the mornings. I'd hope to average around 20 mph over the 26-27 miles each way so that I'm spending roughly the same time on the bike as I currently am. Rough back of the envelope calculations make me think I can get it done with a Class 3 bike to use a low pedal assist setting to give me some increased acceleration from stops and maintain higher speed on flats and a higher setting to get me up hills faster. I'd endeavor to not run the battery to empty each way, and instead charge at work and in the evenings. Figuring roughly 2 years of good battery performance from daily-ish commuting during the academic year (physics prof so not a strict schedule in the summers).

Looking at 250 Watt, middrive and 500-ish Wh.

1) Am I crazy? Most topics like this that I've seen have assumed the time in the saddle would be impossible. I'm already putting in that time so I know its not too much saddle time, though i'm not used to that time at such speeds.

2) I've got my eye on the Raleigh Redux iE Step Over (from a local shop that specializes in ebikes). Tried that one, a Specialized Vado (nice, but the cruiser-ish positioning doesn't seem good for the distance i'm planning) and another that I don't recall (it was a weaker midrive model with a lower torque motor). Those were the only models in my $3k-ish price range that the shop recommended. They have some that were $5k+ (nope) and some Gazelle bikes (which were limited to Class 2 - so they didn't recommend those).

3) I haven't cared for suspension forks, but are they really nice to have at sustained higher ebike speeds?

Just seeking thoughts from the wider ebike community to confirm my research thus far is sound.

FYI - 5'8", 160 lbs. Thanks in advance for any tips!

AlanDB
1 week ago

I posted this in another thread, but will repeat the story here as it is more relevant in this thread.

I have a new Gazelle Arroyo that has the Bosch/Intuvia Performance motor and 500 Powerpack battery. I recently made a 21 mile ride on a paved rail trail that is fairly flat. The day started quite windy with sustained winds of about 15 mph and higher gusts, mostly from the side, but slightly head on. As you might know, the wind subsided for the return part of the ride where it may have been a slight advantage. I am fairly heavy ... total weight of me, bike and gear would be close to 300#. I rode the entire 21 miles with the eco assist mode. It was a casual ride with just a few stops. My average moving speed was about 12 mph, based on the Garmin Oregon GPS I had with me.

This range analysis is based solely on the Intuvia range estimate in Eco mode. I started the ride with the battery fully topped off. The Intuvia calculated my range in Eco mode at 62 miles as I started the ride. As I continued on the first part of the ride, the range calculation continued to increase. About 8 miles in, it topped out with an estimated range of 84 miles, and then started to gradually go down. At the end of my 21 mile ride, the Intuvia showed that I still had a range of 72 miles. The battery meter still had all 5 bars.

So ... 72 miles plus the 21 I rode gives 93 miles. I realize that this is not a very scientific test for range, and I wouldn't really expect to be able to go 93 miles under assist. But all-in-all I was quite impressed and it gives me some confidence that I could take a much longer ride without worrying about losing assist.

drmorison
2 weeks ago

Thank you everyone for you excellent advice. I went ahead and purchased a new Gazelle Arroyo HMB.

Dewey
3 weeks ago

Court listed a few ebikes that might better fit the shorter person: https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/the-best-electric-bikes-for-small-people.22762/ The list is a few years old and there are others, I'm currently test riding a https://www.gazellebikes.com/en-us/gazelle-easyflow-v2 with 26" wheels and a low step over height, it comes in three sizes and the small 45 frame would fit you, Gazelle fit shorter crank arms that are a better length for shorter riders, and the handlebar adjusts easily by lifting a lever to change the position to suit you. But it is almost twice the price of the Blix Aveny, on that ebike you only need the bigger battery if you want to ride further or want to recharge the battery less often, the standard 400wh battery will go at least 20 miles on one full charge, probably further depending on how much you pedal vs use the throttle, the larger 630wh battery would go at least 30 miles and again probably further, calculate the total distance you need to go there and back again. ebike batteries are usually rated for a certain number of recharging cycles before they need to be replaced, my county accepts them for recycling, you can then buy a replacement battery no need to throw the whole ebike away.

Other ebikes that are similar to the Blix include the small frame size Raleigh Electric https://www.raleighusa.com/superbe-ie-step-thru ie step through, here is Court's https://electricbikereview.com/raleigh/superbe-ie/ but Raleigh suggest it fits riders from 5'3" because it uses larger 28" wheels. The https://www.radpowerbikes.com/products/radcity-step-thru-electric-commuter-bike Step-Thru uses 26" wheels and claims it can fit riders from 4'10", here is Court'shttps://electricbikereview.com/rad-power-bikes/radcity-step-thru/.

AlanDB
3 weeks ago

I think on cruiser or traditional shaped handlebars that bend toward the rider it can be a little tricky to get an arm angle and position that allows good visibility without being in the way. My LBS had a little difficulty installing the Mirrycle on my Gazelle Arroyo because the plastic endcap on the grip was oval shaped instead of round, making it difficult to know where exactly to drill in the oval to match up with the handlebar opening. They removed the grip and took great care in measuring ... got a perfect fit and I really like the Mirrycle mirror.

AlanDB
3 weeks ago

Definitely not a good weather day for riding in Iowa Susan! If you have trouble shifting with the Deraileur, you might want to look at a bike that has internal hub gears, although that will probably add some cost. My Gazelle Arroyo has a 8 speed internal geared hub and so far I really like it. It seems like with the Deraileur I was always forgetting to down shift before stopping. Then I had a heck of a time starting up in a high gear. That will not be quite as much of a problem with the hub drive/throttle system on the Blix Aveny though. With the internal geared hub pn my Gazelle, I can shift to whatever gear I want when the bike is stopped.

AlanDB
3 weeks ago

Hello SusanaSchmitzana from a fellow Iowan! I am just a few miles north of you in the Cedar Rapids area. My wife and I are in our 70's and recent e-bike owners. My wife has had the Blix Aveny for a year and loves it. She has multiple health issues, and has said getting her Blix is one of the best decisions she has ever made. I just recently traded my Giant bicycle for a Gazelle Arroyo step thru e-bike but haven't used it much yet. We like to ride on the paved trails in east central IA, especially the Cedar Valley Nature Trail. I know they are working on connecting the corridor trails between Ia. City and CR, so maybe we will meet on the trail some day.

Not sure if you have visited the local bike shop in north CR, but they have a nice selection of e-Bikes and were very helpful and knowledgeable in helping my wife and I select our bikes. I am not sure I am allowed to mention the name of the shop in the forum, but would be happy to share more information if you want to PM me.

In the meantime, welcome to the forum and to the world of e-biking.

Dewey
4 weeks ago

I picked up the Gazelle Ami today but Metro delays made me late for work so I was unable to ask about Bosch walk assist. My first impressions of the Ami are that it is much lighter than my steel bike and the torque + cadence pedal assist does start the motor quickly once I began pedalling, the Nexus 8 IGH is very well set up, much tighter and more precise shifting than my bike's Nexus 8, I attribute this to the Ami's frame being designed for this type of drivetrain and the well engineered axle torque arm bolt tensioners on either side of the rear drop outs vs my bike's lash up using a derailleur style Alfine chain tensioner to compensate.

Court
2 months ago

Following are some of the original comments that were made on that post:

TENBLINKERS
Under bikes for overweight riders – what about the rest of the cargo bikes? https://electricbikereview.com/rad-power-bikes/radwagon/, https://electricbikereview.com/yuba/elmundo/, https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/stretch/, https://electricbikereview.com/xtracycle/edgerunner-10e/, https://electricbikereview.com/hi-power-cycles/hpc-supermundo/, etc. Most if not all of them can handle over 300lbs.

COURT
That’s an excellent point! Thanks for adding those bikes in the comments, I’ll update the list above with a cargo bike section because you’re correct that they do tend to offer greater strength for carrying heavy loads and most are adjustable to suite a wide range of rider heights as well :)

ORBIT CITY ELECTRIC BIKES
We have found the Juiced Bikes ODK U500 (Cargo Bike) to be excellent for overweight people. The simplicity of the bike makes it easy to ride. The power is great, too. It holds up to 400lbs with no problem.

COURT
Good call Tom! Thanks for chiming in about this model… I re-reviewed the ODK V3 recently and plan to post it soon. I’m excited to come visit your shop sometime. Hope business is going well!

MIKE
Court, thank you, sincerely for all of your work. I need to get active again and I was going to get a regular mountain bike to use around town and take camping with me for some trail riding. After coming across a review you did on youtube I made the decision to go electric. I love this section for overweight people, as I am 300 lbs, but I noticed that these are all cruisers. Is there anything suited for a big guy that needs to get around hilly atlanta, with dirty ambitions for the weekend??

COURT
Great question Mike! Yeah, I leaned towards cruisers primarily to improve comfort… they offer a more relaxed upright ride and that could reduce strain on the back, shoulders, neck and arms for someone who has more weight. If you’re excited about the mountain bike style and want to go off-road a bit then you could certainly go for a trail bike and even swap the handlebars for mid or high rise or even cruiser to sort of approximate an upright ride. Many ebikes say they limit rider weight to ~250 lbs but I see many people go beyond this (especially with gear). My friend Sam who runs the Electric Bicycle Center in Fullerton, CA is 260 lbs and he rides everything (and takes them off-road too). So it might come down to choosing a good bike with decent power. Here’s https://electricbikereview.com/tag/mountain/ of the site, just explore that and consider your height, whether it has a top-tube that you can clear easily and how much you want to spend. https://electricbikereview.com/izip/e3-peak/ has a really powerful mid-drive motor and smaller 27.5″ wheels (vs. 29ers on many hardtails) and the price is decent. Good luck and report back what you decide and how it works out for you :D

TENBLINKERS
Mountain bikes can be a good choice IMO, as they’re built to take more strain. From what I’ve read, spokes and rims are the critical components to handle extra weight, followed by forks and welds. Low gauge spokes (12 or lower) and double rims would be what to look for, I believe. Perhaps someone can chime in to confirm.
The other good choice is cargo bikes – they’re designed to handle heavier loads. Not as good for off-road though :)

AMY
I appreciate that you did this section. I am over weight and out of shape. I used to exercise all of the time but 4 kids later not so much. I am 5 foot 4, over weight and always found bike riding hurt my butt even when I was in better shape. Any recomendations under $2500-2000? Thanks

COURT
Hi Amy, I really enjoy the Pedego Interceptor and they produce https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/24-step-thru-interceptor/ for shorter riders making it easier to mount and stand over. This bike is tough, sturdy, powerful and well made. It costs a bit more but they do offer https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/24-step-thru-comfort-cruiser/ for those on a budget who don’t mind foregoing pedal assist. Hope this helps! There are other smallish cruisers out there but Pedego has a great network of dealers and it seems like these two fit your budget pretty well. If you pedal a lot I suggest swapping the saddle out for something more narrow so you don’t chaff the inside of your thighs but that might sacrifice the squishy supportive comfort of the saddles they come with stock… decisions, decisions ;)

MITCH
I think this section was well written, and in my case I have been looking for a e-bike to re-energize me back into riding again like I used to. I am 310 lbs. and was more than 100 lbs lighter some time ago ago when I last rode to keep in better shape. I found the Specialized Turbo x (2015 model) has worked well for me. I live in a hilly park of Kansas City where the roads are rough, not too many trail options, so I needed a bike that was up for the job of not just helping me up a hill. Im happy to say in the case of this bike (200W nominal motor) its worked just as I want. It will get me up the large hill and keep me exercising (as the other bikes in this section indicate they would do as well). Thanks Cort, you helped me!

COURT
That’s wonderful Mitch! Thanks for sharing your experience and the compliments, I do my best. Ride safe out there and have a blast ;)

PAT
Hi all. I’m ridiculously out of shape and 350 lbs. I bought a Kalkhoff agattu xxl model in 2013 and absolutely love it. Out on the bike every chance I get. They are rated to 170 kg (374 lbs). At the time there were no Kalkhoff dealers in Atlanta and I ordered from 50 cycles in London (no tax made up for shipping) but there is a kalkhoff USA now. Great quality German bikes. There is another bike coming out now for 2017 season the Staiger ENA (rated to 150 kg (330lbs) again quality bikes. These two come in different sizes too small 45cm, medium 50cm and large 55 cm.

COURT
Nice! Good for you Pat, glad the bike has been working out well and appreciate your specific feedback about the weight rating of the model you chose. I’ve got more Kalkhoff reviews in the works which https://electricbikereview.com/brand/kalkhoff/eventually and the same parent company makes Focus and Gazelle which I’ll be posting on later this year :D

ROBERT
Hi, I really like you reviews, well done and thorough. I have a question I need some help with. I have a cruiser bike I’m comfortable with and want to put a front wheel emotor kit on it. I’m 6’0″ and weigh 220lbs, so which category would I fit in, large people??? Also, what size motor should I be considering, 250, 500, or 750 watts? I have to keep the price as low as possible. Intend to ride neighborhoods and town only.

COURT
Hey Robert! Many electric bikes have a maximum weight load of 250 lbs so I think you’re alright that way but given your height, intended use in neighborhoods and around town along with your budget I’d aim for a 500 watt or stronger kit (https://electricbikereview.com/brand/e-rad/ makes some good ones) or get a fully built cruiser like the ones E-LUX makes ([URL='https://electricbikereview.com/e-lux/newport/']The Newport[/URL] is their most affordable model at under $2k). They are cheaper than Pedego but still very powerful. I always prefer built bikes vs. kits because they look better and kits can be tricky to install… It seems like you always have to make trade-offs because the frames are slightly different from bike to bike. Hope this helps!

FERGUS MCQUICKLY
Hello! I am a 6’6″, 230-pound, 50 year old man. I am in very good shape and I am seeking an electric offroad bike that can handle my size. Thank you! Fergus

COURT
Hi Fergus, I’d suggest asking around [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/forum/forums/choosing/']in the forums[/URL] as well as the comments here. Are you interested in full suspension, a hardtail, or do you have a set budget? Maybe I can list a few options with that info for you ;)

KEN SOBEL
I want to strengthen my heart after significant health problems and an electric bike would be very helpful. I’ve narrowed it down to the RadCity with a 750w gearless hub motor and the Surface 604 Colt with a 500w nominal geared hub motor. I am at the top of the weight capacity for both bikes. I heard that the RadCity 750w is the peak and not the nominal wattage. I also live in an area in the hills of the San Fernando Valley. Which motor would be the better choice?

COURT
Hi Ken, if you can afford it, I’d probably go with a mid-drive ebike given your weight and the hilly conditions. This might be [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/corratec/lifebike/']an ideal platform[/URL]… otherwise, Rad Power Bikes offers great customer support and their gearless motor should be very durable.

EBIKE BUYER
Yep, Court, the “Heavy Riders” and “Tall Riders” sections are overdue for an update (when you have the time!)! Love what you do, and really man, THANK YOU! :-D

COURT
Thanks for the reminder… and yeah! I’ve just been buried with travel and new bikes lately. I’ve actually got 35 models filmed but not yet posted. My hope is that these out of date bikes are still a good guide and can expose brands that have done a good job, even if they aren’t the latest models ;)

CORIE STERN
Hi; always wanted a good, sturdy ebike…I’m large gal 267 at 5 foot 8 and 1/2. Goal is to lose weight in a healthy manner…have a bad back & knees. Any ideas on a budget

COURT
Hi Corie! This year especially, it seems like ebikes have dropped in price and you can get a decent product from a shop (who will set it up right and fit you) for $2k to $2.5k but there are some online electric bikes in the $1.5k range which could work for occasional use or if you don’t need the range and support assembling etc. One of my favorite bikes for someone who might need comfort and an easier mounting/riding position if price was not an issue is the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/riese-muller/homage-nuvinci-hs/']Riese & Müller Homage[/URL] but something similar at a lower price is the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/surface-604/rook/']Surface 604 Rook[/URL] which isn’t as efficient but does have a throttle for easier starting and is still fairly comfortable and easy to mount.

ROSY RED
Hi, what do you suggest for a 5’7″ 231 lb gal for an electric bike? I have to go down hills and then back up them. Also, at a real reasonable price. Can the electric bike be used on sidewalks or are they road only? Do the laws differ from stat to state? I’m in Washington state here.

COURT
Hi Rosy! I recommend exploring the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/category/affordable/']affordable ebike reviews section[/URL] to see what jumps out style and price wise. Most ebikes can handle up to 250 lbs so you should be okay but may have to get spokes tightened and more tuneups to keep it rolling perfectly smooth. Going over bumpy terrain with added weight can result in things coming out of alignment. Regarding laws, yes, each state (and even city) can have different rules but I have found that if you ride safely and try to be respectful, you can spend a bit of time on sidewalks to avoid being so close to cars. The key is to pull over for walkers and to try to use bike lanes when they exist. I hope this helps! If there’s a local shop nearby, definitely go in and test ride some bikes. I realize the prices may be a little higher than online bikes but the proper setup and maintenance support could be well worth it because that can cost $100 per hour if you bought the bike somewhere else and the shop might not even be able to get you parts. If you’re going to be riding a lot, it can save you money in the long term to get a bike in person. Also, Rad Power Bikes is in Seattle and they have some good prices but also have their own store.

HEATHER
Hello, what do you suggest for someone who is 6ft, 350 pounds?

COURT
Hi Heather! It depends on what kind of riding you plan on doing, if you want a relaxed cruiser feel then I suggest the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/platinum-interceptor/']Pedego Interceptor[/URL] with the mag wheels upgrade because they will support more weight than spokes without going out of true, but you could also get a more active electric bike like the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/giant/quick-e-plus/']Giant Quick-E+[/URL] which comes in four frame sizes. I don’t know of many ebikes that are rated up to 350 lbs but reps from the companies mention that people in this weight range often do purchase and enjoy their products so I feel like they understate what is possible. Another cool bike that was designed specifically to be approachable but also sturdy and efficient is the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/corratec/lifebike/']Corratec LIFEBIKE[/URL]. I hope this helps and I welcome you to share what you choose or discover. You can also ask around in the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/forum/']EBR forums here[/URL].

GERRY
Howdy! I’m thinking about getting the new CrossCurrent S when to comes out in two weeks. Is JuicedBikes a very reputable manufacturer? I don’t want to be stuck with a lemon. I’m in Moses Lake Washington, a small town without electric bike shops. I ‘d just go to the local bike shop for repairs. Can I trust JuicedBIKES to use quality parts in this new bike? I’m looking for something that will last for a while. And everything I see about the CrossCurrent S seems to hit me in my sweet spot.

COURT
Hi Gerry! I feel like Juiced Bikes is in a transition period… going from lower volume, slightly more expensive and custom e-bikes, to ones like the CrossCurrent S which is super affordable and high volume. I have heard from some shops and commenters that there have been issues and adjustments in some cases but I cannot confirm. In one case, an actual electric bicycle dealer told me that he was concerned about some quality issues. There are systems out there which will probably be much more reliable (like Bosch, Brose, Yamaha) but those do cost more. I feel that Rad Power Bikes has a great reputation for quality and affordability along with Surface 604. Feel free to explore what other people are saying about Juiced Bikes [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/forum/forums/juiced-bikes/']in the foru[/URL]m and whatever you choose, please share your experience back here and I hope that it works out well for you. The first ebike I ever purchased was a disappointment because of quality, handling, and I felt that I should have spent more to get something that was better made.

GERRY
Thank you Court for your quick response. Reading through the comments above, it seems like I ended up exactly where you would suggest. I too thought a mid-drive was a better choice than a rear hub, and ended up really enjoying the giant E plus review you did. I was going to try it out in Portland in the next week. I just wish it had more color and more reflective materials for night riding.
Thank you sincerely for all the work you do putting out these reviews. I thoroughly enjoyed them, and found them to be an invaluable tool as I try to figure out which of the 358,000 bikes I would like to own :)
I realize you’re busy, so no need to reply. But again, thank you.

COURT
Hey Gerry! I hope you enjoy the Giant ebike and welcome your thoughts down the line if it meets, exceeds or falls short on any of the points I shared. As you probably realize, I do my best “reviewing” but the bikes are all brand new and it ends up being more of an overview. It’s always nice to receive a thanks here and your comment made me smile. Ride safe :D

MATT
Court,
I’m 5’11 and nearly 300 lbs, the RIESE MULLER is impressive and expensive. I’m considering the BULLS LACUBA EVO 8 with the belt drive and internal gears in step-thru frame model. ANY CONCERN WITH THAT CHOICE?
best regards, MATT

COURT
Hi Matt, I did hear from one owner that the Bulls Lacuba Evo 8 felt a bit wobbly at speed (the front wheel was getting some speed wobble) but I didn’t experience that during my ride tests. My guess is that either bike would be fine, and I love the deep step-thru on the Bulls and lower price, but the best thing to do is really test ride at a shop if you can. Again, I don’t mean to freak out about stability, if you are riding with both hands on the bar and have the seating and handlebars positioned correctly I would think that both could handle you even though you’d be right near the max weight rating. Maybe ask a shop that carries both models like Propel in New York City to see if they have advice too.

ELIZABETH
Thank you so much for what you do, Court! I am learning a lot watching your reviews. I’m, 5’3″ and 290 lbs. Plus I drive a Fiat 500 so I am looking at possibility of a folding electric bike. Suggestions? I’m looking at RadMini, which says weight limit is 275, and Sondors Fold X with limit of 300. Wonder what you think of those, and any other suggestions? Btw, I test rode a Pedego Interceptor 26″ and I felt a little unsteady steering through tighter spaces with those wide handlebars, so I didn’t love it. Thanks again!

COURT
Hi Elizabeth! I have not yet tried the Sondors X but am hoping to do so (or get my friend to help review it) soon. I did enjoy the RadMini and appreciated the comfort of fat tires and the stability they added. It’s a unique bike, low enough to mount easily, folding so you can save some space (not a lot, since it’s a fat-tire bike) and powerful with assist and throttle modes. I had a nice time test riding it on the beach in Mexico, was very impressed that it actually made it through sand. Whatever you get, feel free to chime in again with a comment about how it works for you :D

VICTOR WHITTED
Hi, I enjoyed looking over your reviews, and I have narrowed it down to 2 choices, both of your recommendations, the Magnum Peak and the E-Glide ST. I am looking for a bike I can take both on and off road. Which is the best bike?

COURT
Hi Victor! Both of these models should perform well on road, but the tires on the E-Glide ST are a bit more designed for pavement and could be quieter and offer better traction… however, when you go off-road, the opposite is true. The tires on the Magnum Peak are knobbier and will grip the terrain better. If you intend to ride more off-road, I would suggest the Magnum Peak probably, but you could always get the E-Glide ST and just upgrade the tires if you like it better for some other reason :)

KENT SAWATZKY
I found [URL='http://www.cyrusher.com/en/catalog/Bicycle/electric-bicycle/xf660-green-40-inch-fat-tire-electric-mans-mountain-bike-500w-48v-disc-brake']this one[/URL]. I weigh 350 6’5″ and this was one looks awesome. Good range and Power and it says up tp 350 lbs, Heard of it?

COURT
Nice, it looks exciting and the price is decent. I honestly feel that this bike would be similar to many of the products reviewed here that advertise a lower weight rating. I think the bigger companies are more conservative and careful with that sort of thing, but I have never heard of Cyrusher, maybe someday I can ask or review the bike and try to get more answers vs. speculation. It sounds like you are a taller rider, so the high-step wouldn’t be so much of an issue. When comparing models, think about or try to observe the components between two, because you might be opting for one based on a weight rating that is actually very similar or comparable to another that is available locally or fits your style or budget better. I hope this helps :)

AL TEPPER
Great article. Kent, did you get this bike and if so how did it work out for you?

SARA
Hi Court, I am 5’9″, 275 pounds, and 64 yr young. I am looking at getting an ebike so that I could get back in shape and use it to run errands and commute when traveling with my motor home. I live out in the country where there are a lot of hills and country roads. Having read your reviews I am still not sure whether I should get a middrive motor or a rear hub motor due to the stats above. Can you recommend one that would be under $3000? Also, how does a 350W midrive motor compare with a 500W rear hub motor?

COURT
Hi Sara! Thanks for sharing your details so I can try to help offer some guidance. Sorry this page is a bit outdated with older ebike models… I need to update it at some point ;) If you want the most affordable and bang for your buck, the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/rad-power-bikes/radcity-step-thru/']RadCity Step-Thru[/URL] is a really fun bike that is powerful, has a throttle so you can take a break pedaling, and is very affordable. It has a gearless hub motor that should do alright on hills… but it won’t be as efficient as a mid-drive or as powerful as a geared hub motor (check out the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/rad-power-bikes/radmini/']RadMini[/URL] for that, it has smaller wheels so it’s easier for the motor to turn them and it’s lower to the ground). Most of the premium Bosch, Brose, Yamaha, Shimano mid-motors are very efficient, but don’t offer throttles. I’m a sporty rider and I always pedal, so I don’t miss the throttle much, and I feel that those motors last very well and are so responsive that they become fun to use! If you’re willing to spend a bit more, I would recommend checking out the [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/gazelle/avenue-c8/']Gazelle Avenue C8[/URL] because it offers amazing accessories (lights, fenders, a nice rack) and is quite, but also powerful enough to climb AND you can shift gears at standstill which makes stopping and starting easier. I realize it may be confusing to see 350 watt mid-drive and then 500+ hub motors. In my experience, mid motors can be very effective at a range of speeds and powerful for climbing, if you shift gears thoughtfully. And again, the internally geared hub option with the Avenue C8 helps with that. Just to toss one more option out there, Specialized has a new bike called [URL='https://electricbikereview.com/specialized/turbo-como-2-0-low-entry-650b/']the Turbo Como[/URL] that fits your budget and offers a nice Brose motor and some good step-thru options. I’m assuming that you’re a woman? The Step-Thru frame tends to be more feminine and it’s fun to have some color choices… so I hope this helps! Feel free to share your story here or in the forums, I’d love to hear what you end up with ;)

Bert V
3 weeks ago

The chainguard is just painted in the wrong color. Couldn't stand that. (Proud owner of two Gazelle's)

Rolf620
6 months ago

About the AXA Defender frame lock.
It is a Dutch lock and sins we have more bikes than people you need a good lock in the Netherlands.
Firts of the key retention, it is a insurance requirement the lock is ART 2 certified and has a serial number.
If you claim your bike stolen you have to provide two key's (whit that number) so if you park your bike and don't lock and some one takes of whit your bike they have one of the two key's that way they make sure you lock your bike.
The two hand operation is a child safety device we Dutch tend to take our young kids on the back of the bike to school.
You have to turn the key on one side 1/8 to be able to operate the locking lever on the other side this way a child riding on the back can't push on the leaver during the ride blocking the rear wheel in transit.
On the other side of the key hole there is a hole were a locking pin fits in.
A hardened chain whit a pin and a big end shackle can be looped around some thing solid like a pole pull the pin trough the big end shackle and insert into the lock this way your bike is lock at the rear wheel and locked to the solid world so no one can lift the rear wheel and walk away whit your bike.
Unlocking does retract the locking ring on the rear wheel and releases the locking pin.
One key two security features.

Michael V
6 months ago

Very nice city pedelec. Court you selected the right spot for a navy blue bike!
Noticed the rim break mounts are attached to correct side on frame and bicycle fork so it is pushed not pulled when breaking. If I saw it corectly that chain protector covers all chain right and left side protecting it much better from sand carried by sea wind as they got quite often in the Netherland.
I'm using Shimano Nexus i8 hub since 16000 km and it is a sufficient non-problem hub for pedelecs used in flat and middle hill areas. It needs professional maintenance each 5000 km. The chain tension adjustment screw shows the big experiance Gazelle got.

Wishing all a happy new year!

Eco Hut
6 months ago

Is there a throttle button? If yes, what is the build quality?

Seb K
6 months ago

I have those tyres and they are really good . I have had mine for nearly a year and use my bike daily and they are still perfect .

Ddr Hazy
6 months ago

Rim brakes, small motor and small battery. Expensive at $3k, you are paying roughly $2500 for the non electric parts of the bike and paying a premium price for the "hip" design, not for it's performance.

Chris Till
6 months ago

I much prefer the R&M Nevo to this but it’s still pretty good. But tyres too narrow, rim brakes instead of discs. Rack mounted battery also not great. And the badly positioned kick stand.

It’s cool to see more of the Shimano system. But I haven’t seen that system or the Yamaha being used with a belt drive. Is that possible on either of them?

David Darwall
6 months ago

Do you plan on doing a review on the smart Motion pacer gt?

Douglas Kmiotek
6 months ago

It's freezing in NYC,... when did you get to do this review??? LOL!!!

Douglas Kmiotek
6 months ago

Seb K I actually know that,...I was being humorous. I've chatted with Court on many occasions.

Seb K
6 months ago

He has a lot of videos he has already filmed and is releasing them one by one .

Lysle Basinger
6 months ago

Price?

Seb K
6 months ago

100k

TECH_GEEK10
6 months ago

3k

Kevin Soon
6 months ago

1

trekkeruss
6 months ago

Personally, not a fan of batteries mounted on a rack; too much weight up high. Also, there are good reasons why hydraulic rim brakes are not popular. IMO, better use quality mechanical brakes that are both easier to service and where replacement parts are available everywhere and not only online.

james eagle
6 months ago

Nice