Gocycle G3 Review

Gocycle G3 Electric Bike Review
Gocycle G3
Gocycle G3 Custom 250 Watt Gearless Front Motor
Gocycle G3 On Off Switch Charging Port
Gocycle G3 Led Console Display Handlebar Ergo Grips Twist Controls
Gocycle G3 Proprietary Hydraulic Disc Brakes Adjustable Levers
Gocycle G3 Vredestein Tires Reflective Sidewalls
Gocycle G3 Adjustable Qr Stem Inverted Headset
Gocycle G3 Lockshock Bumper Shock 1 Inch Travel
Gocycle G3 Three Speed Shimano Nexus Igh
Gocycle G3 Injection Molded Magnesium Wheelset Pitstop Quick Release
Gocycle G3 Velo D2 Comfort Saddle
Gocycle G3 Electric Bike Review
Gocycle G3
Gocycle G3 Custom 250 Watt Gearless Front Motor
Gocycle G3 On Off Switch Charging Port
Gocycle G3 Led Console Display Handlebar Ergo Grips Twist Controls
Gocycle G3 Proprietary Hydraulic Disc Brakes Adjustable Levers
Gocycle G3 Vredestein Tires Reflective Sidewalls
Gocycle G3 Adjustable Qr Stem Inverted Headset
Gocycle G3 Lockshock Bumper Shock 1 Inch Travel
Gocycle G3 Three Speed Shimano Nexus Igh
Gocycle G3 Injection Molded Magnesium Wheelset Pitstop Quick Release
Gocycle G3 Velo D2 Comfort Saddle


  • A futuristic folding electric bike with lightweight Magnesium frame, mid-body suspension bumper and enclosed chain and wires for clean transport and storage, the chan is not exposed
  • Now available in four color choices, a 25% larger battery pack and improved wheel locking system vs. the older G2 model from Gocycle, three-speed internally geared hub with auto electronic shifting
  • A daytime running light "tube" helps keep you seen along with reflective tires and optional Bush & Müller LED Lights, optional fenders, front bag and water-resistant "docking station" for travel
  • You get what you pay for and this product costs a pretty penny (especially with accessories), the gearless motor produces some cogging drag when unpowered and whirring noise when operating

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers








Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban, Commuting, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1), Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


3 Year Frame, 2 Year Components, 1 Year Battery


United States, Europe, Worldwide

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

35.9 lbs (16.28 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.5 lbs (2.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

2.2 lbs (0.99 kg)

Frame Material:

Injection Molded Magnesium

Geometry Measurements:

Stem Angle 70°, Seat Tube Angle 68°, Wheelbase Length 1065mm (42 in), Bottom Bracket Height 275mm (11.5 in), Folded Dimensions 600mm x 760mm x 300mm (With Optional Folding Pedals)

Frame Types:

Compact, Folding

Frame Colors:

So White, Stealth Black, Electric Blue

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid 6061 T6 Aluminum Alloy, Detachable Side-Mounted Wheel with Pitstop Lock System

Frame Rear Details:

Gocycle Lockshock™ 25 mm (1 in) Travel, Detachable Side-Mounted Wheel with Pitstop Lock System

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Lock Bosses, Pannier Bosses

Gearing Details:

3 Speed 1x3 Internally Geared Shimano Nexus Hub Cleandrive®

Shifter Details:

Electronic Predictive Shifting™ or Manual Shifting


Alloy 170 mm


Plastic Platform with Non-Skid Surface


Integrated Steerer, 1-1/8", Upside-Down (Adjustment on Bottom)


Alloy, Height and Reach Adjustment


Flat, Aluminum and Plastic, Integrated Display

Brake Details:

Proprietary Hydraulic Disc with 138 mm Rotors, Adjustable Reach Levers


Proprietary Ergonomic, Rubber, Rotary Shifters


Velo D2 Comfort

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

400 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.8 mm


Injection Molded Magnesium Wheelset, Three Quick Release Levers

Tire Brand:

Gocycle Performance by Vredestein, 20" x 1.75" (50-406)

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Stripes

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Integrated Daytime Running Light (DRL) with Light Tube Design (4 Modes), Optional Integrated Busch & Müller LED Lights ($140), Optional Front Pannier Bag ($200), Optional Fold Leg ($20), Optional Shocklock (Coil Bike Lock, $30), Optional Anti-Theft Bolt Kit for Wheels ($30), Optional Folding Plastic Pedals ($32), Optional Schwalbe Big Ben Tyre ($40), Optional Front Mudguard ($60), Optional Rear Mudguard ($60), Optional Abus Lock with Holster ($150), Optional Docking Station Bag ($350)


Maximum Rider Weight 220 lbs (99.8 kgs), Gear Sizing: 1st 39.1 in, 2nd 53.3 in, 3rd 72.5 in, Universal Vgonomic™ Frame Size (Reach and Height Adjustment), 1.5 lb 4 Amp Charger, Proprietary Battery Management System (BMS) with Sleep Power Management, Internally Routed Cables

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:


Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Gearless Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

22 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13.5 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

297 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Aluminium (LiNiCoAlO2)

Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Display Type:

LED Console in Handlebar, GocycleConnect® Bluetooth App (Android and iOS)


Ride Mode (City, Eco, On-Demand, Custom), Fuel Gauge, Speed, Gear (1-3), Efficiency, Trip Odometer, Calories Burned, Equivalent MPG

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (Torque and Cadence)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph) (15.5 mph in Some Geographies)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

Gocycle, or Karbon Kinetics Limited, was created by a former McLaren automotive design engineer named Richard Thorpe in 2002 with the mission “develop the world’s most innovate and technologically advanced electric bicycle” which sounds pretty ambitious to me… and expensive. The G3 is Richard’s third-generation product with refinements to the control interface, a brand new smartphone app and 25% larger battery! Oh, and there’s a new Electric Blue color option, all of the cables are internally routed (not just 95% of them) and the unique quick-release wheels gained a twist-lock feature to visually communicate that YES these wheels are locked!! It’s a fantastic product, folding in on itself vs. folding in half and it’s extremely light, weighing just 36 lbs. The frame and rims consist of light weight but durable extruded magnesium vs. steel, aluminum or carbon fiber and the geometry can accommodate a wide range of riders. This because the stem angles forward in two positions as well as telescoping upwards and the seat tube angle pushes the saddle back away from the handlebar as it goes up. In short, if I had to be stranded on a desert island that just happened to have paved sidewalks and a solar charger of some sort but could only bring along one electric bicycle… yes, it would probably be the Gocycle! And that’s because it’s easy to haul around, the drivetrain is completely enclosed with a maintenance free internally geared hub and the hardware is rust resistant. Yes, rust resistant, and if it was a rainy desert island I’d surely option the fenders to keep me dry, lights to help spot rogue monkeys and leopards and the front-mounting cargo bag to collect coconuts :D The best part is, if I was eventually rescued by a small boat, aircraft or helicopter, the Gocycle would fit so I could bring it back to civilization for a tuneup!

So are three gears enough? In my experience, yes… and they shift automatically as the bike gains speed. When you stop, the Shimano Nexus hub drops back down to first gear to make starting easy. You can hear the servos activating in the video review above (sorry for the wind). And if you want, you can override this electronic auto-shift feature and navigate the gears using the circular grip shifter on the right side of the handlebar. There’s a symmetrical grip shifter on the left that cycles through headlight brightness if you twist forward and activates the throttle if you twist down. But note, the throttle will only work if the bike is moving. And in some geographies, the throttle may be disabled to comply with local law. In the US, the Gocycle G3 can reach 20 mph and can have the throttle mode activated while some European models will only go 15.5 mph. So perhaps you can schedule a boat trip to New York City and visit Greenpath Electric Bikes (where I did this review) to grab the high-speed version for your world travels? Teasing aside, I had a blast riding this bike with some of the shop employees and was impressed when one of them (Johnathan) took it off-road up a medium-sized hill! We were experimenting with the mid-frame suspension and the bike had no problem in the grass or with the hill. The motor on the Gocycle G3 operates at 250 watts nominal but peaks above 500 watts. I believe it’s a gearless canister motor and it turns the front wheel. The rear wheel is reserved for human pedal power so you can effectively get all-wheel-drive operation with this bike. It’s a bit noisier than expected given how compact it is, but I’d rather have a little whirring than a weak electric bicycle. The motor should be very durable because it’s gearless and I would expect the drivetrain to stay in tune and the chain to require little to no maintenance because it’s separate from the motor.

Powering the bike is an upgraded 297 watt hour battery pack consisting of Lithium-ion Panasonic cells. These are best in class batteries that are known for reliability and light weight. The energy density of battery cells has increased over the past several years and it’s cool that Gocycle has taken advantage of this to add range to their bike. The pack is not easily removable but shops can pull it out for service or replacement. This is one area of consideration… many times I’ll store my ebike in one place and bring the battery inside to charge it. Removing the battery would also reduce weight, making it easier to lift and load into a car or other transporter. But that’s the beauty of the Gocycle, at 36 lbs with the battery installed, it’s much lighter than a lot of ebikes are without their batteries. I had no problem lifting it and was impressed with the snap-on wheel design. Each wheel has three quick release levers and there’s a spinning disc that secures the levers. Just behind the seat tube is a little charging plug port with a rubberized on/off button (hold for a couple seconds) and an LED charge level indicator with four dots. These same four dots are replicated on the handlebar dashboard. And this is where we start to see compromises in operation and understanding for simplicity and style. Four dots means 25% increments… which is a lot different than a percentage indicator.

The display interface is very unique. It uses LED dots to communicate charge level, speed, light mode and gear chosen. You can figure it out with a little trial and error but here’s a breakdown: four red dots on the far left side for battery level, four blue dots on the mid left side for headlight (low, bright), three dots on the right hand side for your gears and a bunch of dots in between for how fast you’re going. When you’re not using the bike but it’s still turned on, there’s an interesting dance where the dots go back and forth like a Cylon from Battlestar Galactica and the whole thing reminded me of Hal from Space Odyssey. The thing has personality and accomplishes a lot with dots… I’m guessing they chose red because it’s less distracting in dark conditions? Your pupils won’t dilate as much as with blue, green or white. The real interesting features come with the optional smartphone app and Gocycle offers a basic rubber strap thing to connect it to the handlebar (covering part of the standard display). I’m not sure I’d ever use the smartphone app to be honest. I own a Specialized Turbo Levo electric mountain bike which also has a very minimalist display (with only battery and assist level shown) and I never use the app. The big tradeoff of using an app is that it runs your phone down and may distract you… and without a charging port on this ebike, I’d rather guess how fast I’m going and how much battery was left (or check the app periodically) than use it nonstop. The motor on the Gocycle appears to operate without any assist level choices, it just does its thing unless you use the throttle which appears to be more variable in terms of power output (giving you the option to scoot around slowly or more quickly).

I’ve tried to joke around a bit with this review becaue the Gocycle is such a precision high-end product on paper and in marketing but the reality is, it’s just fun. You get out there with your SO or some friends, cruise around a new city and do it in style, without getting messy and in comfort. The suspension is basic but it does make a difference and the fatter tires give you stability and cushion. I rode the bike with no hands for quite a while and did not feel unsteady. That’s a great accomplishment for any 20″ folding ebike. And really, this bike tucks, it doesn’t fold. It feels sturdy and the vented saddle and ergonomic grips give you a solid but comfortable point of contact. The official Gocycle website is very well done with lots of wonderful videos demonstrating how the product works. The wheels on this bike won’t need truing the way spoked wheels would and apparently they were used on a bike that set a speed record. Perhaps this is one of the “world’s most innovate and technologically advanced electric bicycles”, it’s definitely at the top of the list for folding ebikes. Richard and his team have been doing a wonderful job with this product, working out of the UK for over a decade now. I got to meet him at the Interbike trade show in Las Vegas a couple years back and he was very patient, I could tell he was smart and dedicated. I’d highly recommend the Gocycle for its reliability, comfort and utility. It’s expensive because it’s the best.


  • This bike has electronic auto-shifting so you don’t even need to think about changing gears! for those who prefer manual, you can override using the right grip shifter
  • The body and wheels are Magnesium which is known for being rigid and light weight, apparently it’s more environmentally friendly than Carbon fiber and also more resilient
  • The chain is completely enclosed in the rear portion of the frame so you won’t get your pants dirty or snagged when pedaling AND you won’t get greasy when folding and lifting the bike
  • The stem can be angled forward as well as telescoped upwards… it’s a unique design that can accommodate shorter and taller riders alike and it did not feel loose or wiggly during my test rides
  • Gocycle introduced an “always on” daytime running light just like a lot of automobiles have, it’s quite large and visible from the front and front sides of the bike which should improve safety
  • The hydraulic disc brakes on this bike work as expected, easy to actuate and quite powerful, they have adjustable reach levers to fit large and small hands (or those who ride with gloves)
  • Mid-suspension design balances weight and simplicity with comfort and foldability, the bike doesn’t feel flexy but you do get a cushioned feel because of the bumper shock and medium-width tires
  • Clever wheel attachment makes changing flats a breeze and removes the challenge of alignment and over-tightening that standard quick release presents, the Gocycle Pitstop lock system is very cool
  • I love the optional docking station bag, it secures the bike, protects it from rain and dust and makes it very easy to lift and carry… I think it’s the coolest bicycle bag I have ever seen
  • The G3 has a cleaner cockpit than the G2 with ergonomic grips that blend right into the twist-selectors and LED display section, you have the option of downloading an app for more features but I was just fine without and appreciated that it wasn’t distracting
  • The G3 introduced a new color, Electric Blue, which replaces the So Grey on the G2 and you can still get black or white… I like the white best in terms of visibility for night riding
  • The wheels have a sliding ring that shows a lock icon in the locked or unlocked position so you can quickly tell if the bike is ready to ride… and there’s a threaded hole for adding a screw to secure the wheel if you don’t plan on removing them frequently
  • Because the Gocycle G3 uses a torque and cadence sensor combination it feels both smooth and responsive, not jerky and surprising like cadence only or finicky like some cadence-only designs
  • The wheelbase is longer so the bike feels steady and can accommodate taller riders (as the seat post angles up and back), many other folding ebikes with 20″ wheels feel more squirrely when riding, especially at higher speeds
  • The wires are all internally routed, this is one area where the Gocycle has improved over the G2 which had a bit more wiring exposed that could snag and just didn’t look as nice


  • The battery is not easily removable, so you pretty much have to bring the bike inside or lean it near a power outlet to charge it… and that’s not terrible given the size and weight of the bike but might be inconvenient if you have to park at a bike rack
  • I love the daytime running light and reflective tires but wish you got integrated lights stock instead of spending extra to add them, I can see why fenders, bags and locks aren’t included but lights would be nice considering the hefty price of the bike
  • The motor surprised me a little by how loud it was, nothing excessive compared to other electric bikes but given how small it is (and being gearless) it was noticeable, I think the G3 is quieter overall than the G2
  • The motor is likely a canister drive and I was told it’s gearless which produces a bit of cogging but apparently they also have a freewheel system in there, the bearings are said to be higher quality with tight rubber seals and can produce some drag when new (as shown in the video review)
  • It sounds like some of the first G3 models have a 2 Amp charger while most of the newer ones will have a 4 Amp charger which will fill the bike faster
  • You don’t get speed, odometer and other trip stats by default with this e-bike, you need to download the app and use your smartphone but there isn’t a charging port on the bike (and the bike’s battery isn’t especially large at 300 watt hours) so your phone will drain
  • The front-folding kickstand stays out of the way and holds the bike well but is also a little tricky to get down with your foot… I noticed that one of the plastic caps had come off on our demo bike during the review just from using the kickstand a few times


More Gocycle Reviews

Gocycle GS Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A futuristic, lightweight folding electric bike with a relatively powerful motor and high top speed that performs great in an urban setting. While much more affordable than the G3, the GS doesn't sacrifice quality for price and…...

Gocycle G2 Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A premium folding electric bike with an internally geared three speed hub in the rear and a 500 watt geared hub motor in the front for "all wheel drive" pedaling + motor support. Extremely light weight at ~36 lbs, unique quick-release wheels, lots of upgrade options for added…...

Dan Levy
11 months ago

Great review. Great bicycle. It should be noted that soon there will be another cheaper model called gs, and for the motor I think it’s with gear.

11 months ago

Thanks for the heads up Dan! I passed this review off to Richard asking for feedback and he didn’t say anything about the motor. I believe it’s a gearless canister personally :)

11 months ago

I think this is an entirely fair review, though I had high hopes this would be the “okay, it’s a crazy price, but it’s perfect” bike for me. Well, the crazy price turned out.

Maybe I go back to Plan A now that I’ve seen Specialized roll out their long-awaited April new bikes, I prefer the “old” turbo Levo FSR … same price … but a full suspension balls-out mountain bike … : )

11 months ago

Hey Adam, as much as I like the Specialized mountain bikes, I feel like the Gocycle was designed for an entirely different purpose. It’s great for light weight, limited space situations. I personally own a full suspension Turbo Levo and love it… but I probably wouldn’t take it on a boat or plane with me the way I might with the Gocycle :)

11 months ago

No question — completely different machines and the overlap in purpose is analogous to living in the city and deciding between a Jeep and a Prius.

I remember your purchase of your bike … and I remember my credit card running away and hiding in the sock drawer to help me resist the temptation to swipe a $7500+ Specialized … still the most appealing bike out there, but I’m also very interested to see what Sondors does next — looks like it might have a hinge ane be a folding bike that could appeal (and at a much lower price point.)

Richard LJ
8 months ago

1. Interesting review. Have a Brompton already but am thinking about getting a e-folder. One thing not clear about is how long it takes to fold. Being in the UK this is the most critical piece of info in some respects as getting onto/off trains for the daily commute during rush hour is a nightmare at the best of times.

8 months ago

Hey Richard! Sorry that part was rushed, it folds within a couple of minutes if you don’t break it all the way down. If you actually take the wheels off and want to put it into the bag then it takes at least four minutes in my experience depending on your dexterity and strength. Gocycle has a video with Electric Bike Report on YouTube here where they show it being folded quickly but the founder of Gocycle is the one doing it and he’s strong, unencumbered by bags and in an open environment. Hopefully this helps you out a bit.


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Ann M.
3 weeks ago

Court travelled to London to visit Fully Charged, a phenomenal electric bike shop. Started 4 years ago by Ben, looking for alternative way to get around, this London shop is located in a unique building full of charm & history and a kick butt coffee shop. Many of the top brands that we know and some American brands like Vintage Electric grace the showroom with lots of test ride bikes.

Fully Charged has been selling electric bikes in London (and other parts of the UK) since 2014. We were invited to visit their main stor and take a tour. In this video, I fly from Denver Colorado USA to London, take a train, and meet Ben at the store to look at some of their ebikes and film reviews. The very first Fully Charged outlet was in a tube station (the subway) and they have since expanded and brought on more brands.

Fully Charged carries the following brands:
- Riese & Müller
- Moustache
- Vintage Electric
- Raleigh
- Tern
- Gocycle
- Urban Arrow
- A2B
- Haibike
- Butchers & Bicycles
- BH Easy Motion
- Coboc
- Desiknio

After a tour around the shop, we visited the London Bike Show and met Dan Parsons who was the first employee of Gocycle (doing quality and safety testing) and has been working in the ebike space since 2008. He is head of operations now and will be helping with the Fully Charged Barge initiative, a floating demo station that will give people in London a way to discover and test electric bikes in 2018. Official Website is: https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=P30D7e61TY2OwTFH4zYrffTdAvt8MTUxOTg4MzE5OEAxNTE5Nzk2Nzk4&event=video_description&v=ZNXdmUMVYA0&q=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.fullycharged.com%2FOfficial Instagram: @FullyChargedUK Shop Address is: Globe House, 37 Bermondsey Street, London, SE1 3JW The music used in this video is from Be Svendsen, used with permission. You can visit their Soundcloud page to listen to more tracks at: https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=P30D7e61TY2OwTFH4zYrffTdAvt8MTUxOTg4MzE5OEAxNTE5Nzk2Nzk4&event=video_description&v=ZNXdmUMVYA0&q=https%3A%2F%2Fsoundcloud.com%2Fbesvendsen

Ann M.
3 weeks ago

It's a swift paced overview of new ebikes that haven't made it to the U.S. yet and others that we're already familiar with along with a flash of some nifty accessories. Liked the trippy music overlay and Court lists all of the items he zoomed in on in a list below the video. Don't know how the London Bike Show compares in size to our Interbike; however, it looks like a huge show!

Hi guys, I was visiting London to film some reviews with a shop called Fully Charged and happened to wind up at the London Bike Show. This video is a quick overview of interesting products I saw. Each shot takes a moment to highlight the electric bike or accessory and then show the name of the company who produced it. One of the highlights for me was the new Electric Brompton. I have not gotten a chance to ride it yet. The music used in this review is from Be Svendsen, used with permission. You can visit their Soundcloud page to listen to more tracks at: https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fsoundcloud.com%2Fbesvendsen&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description you can learn more about the London Bike Show at their official website: https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fthelondonbikeshow.co.uk%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description

Highlights in order of appearance: - Air to the Throne (freeride mountain bike jumpers) https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fthelondonbikeshow.co.uk%2Fair-to-the-throne&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Métier Cycling Clothing https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.metiercycling.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Gocycle premium folding ebikeshttps://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fgocycle.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Navigata Pedibal Bikes https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.pedibal.com%2Fnavigata%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Brompton Electric https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.brompton.com%2FBrompton-Electric&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Kalkhoff electric bikes https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.kalkhoff-bikes.com%2Fen.html&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Velosock bike cover https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fvelosock.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Orange bicycles, model: Alpine 6 E https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.orangebikes.co.uk%2Fbikes%2Falpine-6-e-le&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Focus bikes https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.focus-bikes.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description-
Bar [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.clifbar.co.uk%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']http://www.clifbar.co.uk/[/URL]-
Tern bicycles, model: GSD [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ternbicycles.com%2Fca%2Fbikes%2F471%2Fgsd&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://www.ternbicycles.com/ca/bikes...[/URL]-
Hummingbird lightweight folding bicycle [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fhummingbirdbike.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://hummingbirdbike.com/[/URL]-
ARCC Innovations [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Farccinnovations.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://arccinnovations.com/[/URL]-
KwikFold folding ebikes [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.kwikfold.co.uk%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://www.kwikfold.co.uk/[/URL]-
Batribike electric bicycles [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.batribike.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://www.batribike.com/[/URL]-
Neomouv electric bikes [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fneomouv.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://neomouv.com/[/URL]-
Ezee Bike [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fezeebike.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']http://ezeebike.com/[/URL]-
L-BOW Safety Light for bicycles [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fl-bow.co%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://l-bow.co/[/URL]-
Furo Systems carbon electric bikes [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.furosystems.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://www.furosystems.com/[/URL]-
Closca bike helmets, model: Fuga [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fclosca.com%2Fproducts%2Ffuga-helmet%3Fvariant%3D53832191509&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://closca.com/products/fuga-helm...[/URL]-
FlyKly e-bike motor [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fflykly.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']http://flykly.com/[/URL]-
Tailfin bike rack [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.tailfin.cc%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://www.tailfin.cc/[/URL]-
Coboc electric bikes [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.coboc.biz%2Fen%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']https://www.coboc.biz/en/[/URL]-
Fully Charged bike shop in London [URL='https://www.youtube.com/redirect?redir_token=3GdrBGQO29UveTv4uxHV_yS9ALt8MTUxOTg4MjcyOEAxNTE5Nzk2MzI4&q=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.fullycharged.com%2F&v=J6DG-OkXZ_Y&event=video_description']http://www.fullycharged.com/[/URL]
I rushed to get this video processed and posted because the event continues tomorrow (Sunday February 25th). Check it out if you're in town, the bicycle ramp riders were amazing.

4 weeks ago

Absolutely LOVE the YT video. Sent this to my boss and told him to show it to the next employee that blames IT for something not working as intended.

4 weeks ago


I'm selling all my e-bikes below but would like to add to the discussion.

First off, with all small companies making niche products, expect long response times and bad customer service. It's also true of my experience with BESV which I think makes the best e-bikes of all.

I have the G2 and is the best e-bike you can find for it's aesthetics, size, weight and for maintenance free riding due to no chain or Derailleur to mess with. I fixed a flat with zero tools in just a few minutes as well as I carry a spare inter tube and mini hand pump in my backpack.

Do you really want to go 25 mph on a city bike with balloon tires? I did until I tried turning. I ended up taking the delimiter off myself in fact.

I only have two criticisms:

1) The gear drive isn't smooth and very mechanical feeling compared to hub motors which takes away the fun. I actually prefer my BESV LX1 and PS1 better as the assist feels more like an extension of your legs thus more fun to ride.
2) Turning is awkward due to the front wheel drive.

I'm selling both my LX1, PS1 and GoCycle G2 in San Diego for local pickup only. I now ride a unicycle :) much happier.



4 weeks ago

Less keen on GoCycle after reading this...

1 month ago

Great question! My LBS has this one and while it looks cool, I know nothing about it: https://electricbikereview.com/gocycle/gs/

Lots of reviews here on EBR that you can use to start narrowing it down: https://electricbikereview.com/category/folding/

I would definitely make sure you can actually get the bike in and out of your car without too much difficulty. Even a light e-bike can easily be 35 lbs or more and there is some leaning/stretching required to get a bike in and out of a hatchback. It might be no issue, but you should definitely give it a try before spending $xxxx on a bike!

Good luck - ebikes are so fun to ride!

Ann M.
1 month ago

@nyderkv, is the gocycle still for sale? Just cleaning up the threads :)

Brian Goolsby
3 months ago

Hey guys,

New to the forum as I am now a distributor for Gocycle Brand. The GS model is a great bike. When comparing it to the recent G3 model it is hard to justify purchasing the G3. The main changes are the automatic gear in the G3 along with the LED dashboard.

Virtually everything else is identical..

Wanted to see your thoughts on G3 to the GS?

Brian Goolsby
3 months ago

Give me a call/email
The Gocycle GS version is a much better price for just about all of the same features!

4 months ago

150 miles on the odo. A few scuffs on the belt plate but otherwise great condition.


Local pickup in downtown San Diego 92101. MSRP is $4900 but street price is around $3500.


5 months ago

Wow, you picked some real interesting choices! Are you even aware that GenZ is Manhindra (sp) one of the largest manufacturers of heavy equipment and automobiles in the world. Don't think they are going anywhere.
Bulls is one of the real success stories of Ebikes, Specialized(!), Scott (HUGE in Europe), Stromer!!, Haibike!!!!!!!!!!! LOL, you're killing me here. You do realize you've listed all of the biggest, most successful Ebike companies out there as going to be gone............... Trek?? If it doens't go well? ALL the "New" big boys have been selling Ebikes in other countries for YEARS, including Trek. Scott and others have said they may be Ebike ONLY in the future. Sales are PROPPING UP REGULAR BIKE COMPANIES....
Flip your idea 180 degrees and You've made a pretty good list of the companies that will be kicking ass with Ebikes in the next 10 years.

86 and still kicking
5 months ago

Serious disagreement with the assumptions and the list. Direct to consumer, online, and mobile delivery are the future of the market. Pedego is a tiny little brand that just happens to be the largest seller of eBikes in the United States. Companies like Stromer, Reise and Muller, KTM and others have very marginal operations in North America. Genze is a tiny little international company that happens to be larger than just about all the vendors combined.

5 months ago

Nope. They are just using BBS02

6 months ago

Purchased a gocycle G3 recently! After a couple of rides (commuting around 33 km each day) I have to say: This thing is freaking amazing!
Fast, lightweight, awesome design details, very good overall quality, high flexibility through app configuration, good portability, amazing looks and powerful when needed.

Never used the full capacity of the battery in one ride but I estimate the range at 20mph around 25-32 miles in city mode (without a lot of steep hills) .

If you use the Gocycle on mixed terrain (street/gravel) I recommed using Tioga Powerblock S-Spec tyres instead of the mounted ones. They are also low weight but have a fast and slip-proof design.

6 months ago

hello every body
many ask how to change the G3 Speed limit .
here is the answer.
move on the display, move the mode to 3 . press and hold the brake lever and throotel for 5 sec.
after this the speed will change to the next speed.
the g3 have 3 speed : 12 , 20 , 26. (36v battery)
for 48v the speed is about 20% more .
change the speed of mode 4 : same as the change of 3 .
thats is all.


bob armani
7 months ago

One of the folding ebikes may also be another good option being you are mobile for flat tarmac like the Go Cycle G3 @ approx 35lbs.: https://gocycle.com/design/ A bit pricey but some of the most state of the art tech in folding bikes. Perhaps get a 2nd bike for all other uses if needed from Ravi's list.

8 months ago

Hi there, I am new to this forum but had wanted to post my terrible experience and customer service from Gocycle as it seems to ring true here.

I had purchased a Gocycle G3 electric bike off a website called gumtree and upon delivery the bike was boxed but I had checked the serial number against all of the 3 police bike databases and all stated that the bike was not stolen nor had been registered as, so I completed the transaction. Upon assembly I realised that the bike was in reseller mode and so needed to be registered via an app, which I had attempted to do but to no avail. The seller was no longer answering calls or texts so I called Karbon Kinetics ltd (gocycle) and spoke with their tech team who informed me that the bike had been registered stolen by themselves and they had subsequently claimed the loss from their insurance company a year ago. You can imagine my shock at the news especially as one would expect that a bike company that portrays themselves as a RESPONSIBLE organisation would have registered the bike as stolen on the police databases as a matter of principle with immediate effect, something which i found absolutely astounding as surely any reasonable person would do so. They stated that there was an open police investigation and although claimed via insurance, they would need police direction before any decisions could be made on their side, at which point they gave me the details of the investigative officer.

After reporting the fraud (in my instance) to the police I had discussions with the police who then wrote to Karbon Kinetics advising them that although the investigation into the original theft was still ongoing there are no lines of inquiry left relating to the bike itself and requesting that they unlock it. At this point I feel as though Karbon Kinetics began to treat me in a very unprofessional manner and after chasing them each day for weeks on end they informed me that they now had to contact the insurance company as they were worried about liability and possible defamation from my part if something went wrong? Again following weeks of chasing and having drafted a non-liability and non-defamation agreement which I had hoped would allay the concerns of the MD Richard Thorpe, i was then told that the bike is the property of the insurance company and that they (the insurance company) would write to me at some point, which obviously they haven't done. I had requested the details of the insurance company numerous times to sort things out with them, but they have refused to provide this. As such I am now in limbo as the bike is unusable nor can i negotiate with the insurance company directly as they refuse to assist me any further.

I have never been treated in such a way by a company before in my life and I find the fact that Gocycle would not report a stolen bike as stolen and let an innocent consumer purchase one after following all relevant procedure as astonishing and the lack of assistance on their part seems totally unreasonable. As such I have been advising all of friends and colleagues to avoid this company at all costs as it seems they have no empathy nor any desire to help.

Eduardo Domingues de Jesus
8 months ago

Thanks for the link!

Thanks for the link, thanks for your view as well.
I frankly don't remember ever hitting near 40 km/h with my Gocycle G2, maybe once to check it. As a civilised adult, I drive prudently and in respect to laws, I understand that at those speeds the whole bike should also have a better/safer setup. The matter was the invasion, the arrogance and full mistrust of the whole thing, also that if they are this much unprepared about privacy rights, digital rights and law, what quality of encryption, security and what type of use of the personal data they would use from it?

Please don't laugh but I am very much interested on these: http://www.fullycharged.com/a-bike-electric-bike-clive-sinclair.
These are (declared) 25 km/h, so faster than a Gocycle G3 purchased in the USA.

I assume that whoever sells a bike with a declared top speed, he/she has no rights to invade it and change it afterwards.
I paid 8000€ so, why one should pay that much and be treated as a in North Korea?

8 months ago

@Eduardo: oh ok well it sounds like a lot of hassle you has and I agree that is very disturbing that karbon kinetcs has access to gocycle data that much!
Maybe have a look at this ebike https://www.coboc.biz/products/one-rome/
It just has a button for switching on/off the assistance. If you like there is a speed kit available which enables up to 35 km/h but it isn't road legal in most/some regions.

However maybe someone who purchased a gocycle g3 recently can comment on whether it is possible to select the region/max speed by oneself?
In my usecase it would be sufficent if it is possible to select 20mph by hand (don't need the 25 mph). Or does the gocycle select the region/speed limit by itself because it checks the region and legal max assistance by itself as soon as it is connected to the internet throug the app?

Eduardo Domingues de Jesus
8 months ago

Hello. Yes, the case have been sorted.

I own 2 Gocycles G2 and only now I got them back AS I PURCHASED with its 40 km/h top speeds, but not after a long and stressful mess with Gocycle's brand owner/designer himself and the assistance of a formidably nice 3rd party e-bikes retailer in UK, that kindly sorted it out.

I don't know the 2017 G3 model, I only know that this super overpriced latest model bike declares now a 20 km/h, max 25 km/h top speed limit at the purchase by its original app. However is the reason to it, it just makes no sense, eBay is filled with items that does far better that that, the e-vehicles are getting better and better, nicer design solutions, far more featured and for a fraction of the price.

I really strongly regret ever buying a Gocycle, and probably it is my duty to explain.

Gocycle (Karbon Kinetics) suddenly produced an app "upgrade" from its v4.0 to v5.0 (there's absolutely no other way to access and set this bike) giving for granted that its customers should jump of joy, under this "improvement", to have their paid, purchased product top speed option 40 km/h killed to half. Gocycle furthermore didn't accept any customer unhappy at that. As I communicate with them complaining that they simply had no right to do that with my paid property (I've thrown 8000€ for the two of them at once and in trust), justly asking them to revert this "feature" as I've paid, or refund me. Their reply where insults, threats and they shut down my customer assistance that, in the case of such app-dependent bike, my two items became worth of nothing.

So no Gocycles, thanks.

I honestly appreciate the features of the bike as I bought, but this experience alerted me of a very, much serious matter than just a bike. Their capacity of invading it, collecting my bike's usage info, interacting as they please with my property without my permission, their arrogance on doing as they please whatever they liked with something that didn't belong to them anymore was simply inadmissible, besides of truly illegal in USA and European law. So, this bike is an item that has all to do with security, privacy, technological safety and in a world where everything IoT (internet of Things) is hacked, the attitude of the Brand's management lost totally any reasonable customer respect and trust. Never a retract, and apology, a respectful admission like "hey sorry, we really screwed up and didn't know how to get away with that". So, they can keep their bikes in their box, and I was almost upgrading, buying 4 more new ones for the family.

I am right now looking for another e-bike brand and I wont go anymore for anything that has an app talking to it, the lesson had been learned. I just want to ride in peace from A to B the way I like, without anyone messing with my property.

Good luck.

8 months ago

Have those issues been resolved with the app? Currently I am considering to buying a gocycle g3. When configurating the gocycle the first time does it check where you are located and chooses the top speed accordingly or is it possible to select USA1,USA2 ore europe by oneself?

8 months ago

Hi there,

for quite some time I plan to buy a pedelec for commuting around 30 km but really can't decide between two awesome bikes.

The first one is the Gocycle G3. I like the design, the lightweight(!) and the technical innovation a lot on this bike.
Because the drivedrain is enclosed there should be very little maintanace to do and it is easy to transport in trains an small cars if needed.
My only concern is the limited range (300 wh) and the small front wheel motor.
So I thought that someone who already owns a Gocycle G3 could share his experiences about real life performance.
I have read quite a lot reviews but no one seems to measure the real life range of this bike. Intead there is always the 80 km mentioned from the datasheet which is the best case scenario with very little assistance.
In addition I am wondering whether the little front hub motor performce compared to other bikes with a front hub motor.

Thanks for your help!

1 month ago

Yeah, I really loved this bike when I got it. I love how it took someone less than 30 seconds to cut through the supplied cable and take it. Well that was $7k well spent

1 month ago

and they should make some more durable tyres. They pop going over the slightest sharp pebble, slip out on road paint markings & if you do pop one, you carry the puppy home because you will be rolling on your rims real soon

1 month ago

I wonder how easy for this wheels to get stolen

John Flowers
1 month ago

where did you show it folding up? do the wheels have to come off to fold?

Isaiah Yhomas
3 months ago

I feel sorry for anyone who gets this bike stolen

Robert Ho
4 months ago

FYI: $3660 with lights, fenders, docking station, rear rack. Without docking station you will be left with pieces.

truman jensen
5 months ago

This bike is using many design features from the 50 yr old Moulton.

5 months ago

I like just about everything about this bike, save for the goofy handlebar "dashboard." Just give it a proper display, for gosh sakes. The only other thing I would wish for personally would be a drop bar option.

Bestoink Dooley
6 months ago

It looks like you can't install a cargo rack? HOW DO YOU CARRY YOUR STUFF?
Oh, I get it, this thing is just for amusement.

Bestoink Dooley
6 months ago

ElectricBikeReview- Beam racks have a very limited capacity, not enough support. And I'm supposed to lumber around with pounds of stuff on my back? Yeah, a bike designed to be pretty, without provision for a cargo rack is a recreation toy. Some of us use a bike for TRANSPORTATION. This bike..fuggetaboutit.

6 months ago

There are beam racks which allow you to carry gear by attaching to the seat post. Gocycle may have their own proprietary racks too, I often wear a backpack but there are moments where I leave stuff at work and it's not a big deal to ride without my gear, I think this bike is a bit more for recreation, it's light and fancy but doesn't have fenders or rack by default like this one: https://electricbikereview.com/evelo/quest-one/

George Standers
7 months ago

You pronounce the name like 'Go-sikul', I always thought it was more like GoCycle (pron: Gokikul) . Which is correct?

7 months ago

My co-worker has one of these and I got to test ride it. It's a cool bike, and I like the fact that there are no exposed cables or battery packs, and the wheels are easy to remove for flat repair or transport. It's probably fine for riding in a city with good bike lane surfaces, but not on the rough asphalt patches I have to contend with on my commute. There are definitely better ebike choices for a lot less than $4500.

7 months ago

this dude talks too much.

Invisible Prison
8 months ago

Would this be safe for air travel (check bag) inside the portable docking station and cover?

9 months ago

I love it but..... it's a bit expensive for me!! :D But very amazing!!

hari alli
3 months ago

riverjohnny got one for you for £2200 I am from the United kingdom

Gery Teague
10 months ago

How was throttle response and top speed?

willie bezo
10 months ago

good to see Jonathan and cory together in brooklyn, Jonathan's one of the best and smartest ebike mechanic on the east coast, and cory is a smart ebike guy,"hey jonathan" the neon prox is still running great..

Jonathan Browne
5 months ago

thats great to hear.lets link up.Hit me up. custombikes@evrmoreadventure.com

willie bezo
10 months ago

good to see Jonathan and cory together in brooklyn, Jonathan's one of the best and smartest ebike mechanic on the east coast, and cory is a smart ebike guy,"hey jonathan" the neon prox is still running great..

willie bezo
10 months ago

good to see Jonathan and cory together in brooklyn, Jonathan's one of the best and smartest ebike mechanic on the east coast, and cory is a smart ebike guy,"hey jonathan" the neon prox is still running great..

Wiz Kid
11 months ago

I find myshelf shifting to lololololo!

Carlos Tobon
11 months ago

I love this bike

11 months ago

Looks like it needs more gears, black guys legs were pumping like crazy to get up to speed