Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Air Review

Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air Electric Bike Review
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air 350 Watt 8fun Motor Speed Pedelec
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air 48 Volt Samsung Battery Pack
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air Led Button Console Trigger Shifters
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air Integrated 5 Volt Usb Port On Battery
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air 9 Speed Shimano Altus
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air Plastic Chainring Guard
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air Rigid Alloy Fork 180 Mm Mechanical Disc Brake
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air Selle Royale Saddle Kickstand Wellgo Pedals
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air 1 7 Lb 2 Amp Ebike Battery Charger
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air Electric Bike Review
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air 350 Watt 8fun Motor Speed Pedelec
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air 48 Volt Samsung Battery Pack
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air Led Button Console Trigger Shifters
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air Integrated 5 Volt Usb Port On Battery
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air 9 Speed Shimano Altus
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air Plastic Chainring Guard
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air Rigid Alloy Fork 180 Mm Mechanical Disc Brake
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air Selle Royale Saddle Kickstand Wellgo Pedals
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent Air 1 7 Lb 2 Amp Ebike Battery Charger

Summary

  • An affordable speed pedelec with high-definition cadence sensor, mechanical disc brakes and a nine-speed Shimano Altus drivetrain, it's well balanced and relatively light weight
  • Removable battery and quick release front wheel make it easier to lock securely and fill-up at your place of work or possibly in class if you're a student, integrated USB charging port for portable electronics
  • Fairly stealth with a compact planetary geared hub motor and tiny LED display console, might not attract as much attention... optional LCD display, torque sensor and battery upgrades
  • All-Aluminum frame without suspension can mean back and neck stiffness at higher speeds, mid-step model does not have bottle cage bosses, cables are exposed vs. internally routed

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Juiced Bikes

Model:

CrossCurrent Air

Price:

$1,195

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Road

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3), Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive, 2 Year Mechanical, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

48 lbs (21.77 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.5 lbs (2.49 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.4 lbs (3.81 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in (41.91 cm)17.5 in (44.45 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

step-thru: 16.5" Seat Tube, 23" Reach, 27" Stand Over Height, 71" Length, High-Step Medium: 17.5" Seat Tube, 23" Reach, 30" Stand Over Height, 71" Length, High Step Large: 19" Seat Tube, 23" Reach, 31" Stand Over Height, 71" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step, Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Flat Black

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid 6061 Aluminum Alloy, Custom Geometry (Interchangeable with Suspension Fork), 9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

135 mm Length, 10 mm Threaded Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Rear Fender Boss, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

9 Speed 1x9 Shimano Altus Derailleur, 11-34T Cassette

Shifter Details:

Shimano Triggers on Right

Cranks:

170 mm Length, 52 Tooth Chainring with ABS Plastic Guard

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Neco, Threadless Integrated 1 1/8"

Stem:

Frank Alloy 80 mm, 6° Rise

Handlebar:

Frank Alloy Low-Rise, 27" Length

Brake Details:

Shimano BRM375 Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotor Front, 160 mm Rotor Back, Wuxing Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Generic Flat Rubber

Saddle:

Selle Royal Free Way

Seat Post:

Frank Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Wall, Alloy with Reinforcement Eyelets, 36 Hole, Flat Black

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 12 Gauge Rear Spokes, 13 Gauge Front Spokes, Silver

Tire Brand:

Kenda, 700 x 45c (28" x 1.75")

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

50 to 95 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Optional Trigger Throttle ($99), Optional 20 mph Speed Limiter for Class 2 (Canada, Australia), Optional 8 Amp Quick Charger from Grin Technologies ($299), Optional Torque Sensor Upgrade ($199)

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.7 lb 2 Amp Charger, 13 Amp Controller Output

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

8Fun

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

624 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung or LG, 3C Discharge Rating

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8.8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

422.4 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

King Meter, Fixed LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level (5 Dots), Assist Level (Eco, 1-4, Sport)

Display Accessories:

Sport Button (Jumps to Highest Power), 5 Volt Standard USB Port on Battery

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist (High Definition Hall Cadence Sensor)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph) (Optional 20 mph Limit with LCD)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Juiced Bikes started out in 2013 with electric cargo bikes designed to haul loads and go far… they offer some of the highest capacity battery packs in the space and tend to be popular with delivery cyclists. In 2016 they launched the CrossCurrent, a sporty city bike with more traditional battery integration, a suspension fork and hydraulic disc brakes at an impressive $1,500 price point and now, they’ve got the CrossCurrent Air. This is an even more affordable, stripped-down version of the CrossCurrent that still comes in three frame sizes and a mid-step for people with shorter inseams. You get mechanical disc brakes, no suspension fork and a slightly less sexy frame (boxier tubing vs. smooth rounded) for just over $1k. Yes, it’s still a 28 mph capable Class 3 speed pedelec and you can purchase a throttle accessory if you prefer that kind of riding (the throttle will cut out at 20 mph). This bike rides comfortably with nine gears and a low but not lowest-level Shimano Altus derailleur. Just like the regular CrossCurrent, you can pay more for larger battery capacity if you plan to ride further and you get a solid one year warranty (two year components and lifetime on the frame) and it can be purchased through dealers! Many of the other “affordable” electric bikes I see and review only ship direct. That means you spend more time unpacking, dealing with trash, tuning the bike up and possibly pulling the trigger on purchase without test riding and knowing exactly what frame size is best. Big props to Juiced Bikes for working with dealers and hitting a price point that can still support them.

Driving the CrossCurrent Air is the exact same 8Fun internally geared hub motor used on the standard CrossCurrent. It offers 350 to 600+ watts output and is zippier than most motors this size based on a higher 3C rating for battery current output. While the motor does produce a bit of whirring noise, it’s not too bad with the lower levels of assist and it really does get you up to 28 mph. Perhaps my only complaints here are the same complaints that most hub motors get which is the lack of quick release and a wire coming out the right side of the axle where the shifter cables and derailleur are. It’s not as tucked in as the latest fanciest ebikes and could get bent or snagged more easily. Just be careful with that wire and enjoy the fact that this hub motor is compact, built from a mainstream supplier (Bafang/8Fun) and much lighter than a 500 or 750 watt option. Note also that the spokes are slightly thicker and the rims (painted black to match the frame and hub motor) use reinforcement eyelets so they won’t crack as easily under pressure. Sometimes these speed pedelec models can be uncomfortable to pedal at higher speeds if they aren’t geared correctly but those nine options felt good to me and I liked how clean the cockpit was with trigger shifters only on the right. Note that the chainring has a plastic guard to keep your pants or dress from getting dirty or snagged but it’s just plastic and only on the outside so you could still drop the chain towards the inside if the terrain gets really bumpy.

Powering the Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Air is an efficient, high output 48 volt 8.8 amp hour battery by default but you can get more amp hours with two battery upgrade options and that will take you further. Range depends on a lot of things including how actively you pedal, whether you ride above 20 mph frequently as wind resistance takes a lot of energy to power through and if you’ve got the throttle accessory. For me personally, I’d probably stick with the smaller two options since the goal here is to keep the price low and I like lighter weight ebikes for carrying up stairs and bringing into my room for storage vs. leaving outside overnight. With the mid-step frame option, the largest battery simply will not fit so that’s a consideration also. I do like that Juiced made an option for petite riders but was a little bummed that it didn’t have bottle cages like the diamond frame seen in the video review above. This frame would be the easiest to lift, put on car or bus racks and have the bottle cage but all frames have threaded bosses at the rear for adding a traditional rack and that can be a real back-saver if you’re a student with books, laptops and other gear trying to get across campus on a budget. Note that the Air does not have that suspension fork so your body and gear might get a little jarred around at those higher speeds.

Operating this electric bike is about as easy as it gets. Once the battery is charged and locked ot the frame (you can charge it on or off the bike) just press the power button on the little LED console and watch it light up and dance through the different power levels and charge readouts before staying solid to let you know the bike status. You can press plus and minus to navigate through eco, 1, 2, 3 and sport with the higher levels going faster and feeling zippier. Once you decide on a comfortable level, say level 2 or 3, you can instantly jump up to sport for the most power (perhaps to pass someone or ascend a hill) with just one button press on the console. The red sport button jumps you right up and then back down when pressed a second time and makes riding a little safer than if you had to press several plus or minus steps and look down. The display is compact, mostly black to blend in with the bar and grips and close enough to reach without taking your hand all the way off. It does of course lack speed and odometer readouts but Juiced Bikes offers an upgrade for that as well. You can pay extra to get an LCD console that’s more thorough. Another option is a cadence + torque sensor that will respond to how hard you push in addition to pedal rotation. I wasn’t disappointed with the standard torque-only sensor that the Air came with because it responded quickly and was tucked into the rear dropout vs. using a plastic disc with magnets at the bottom bracket. Again, if you’re going to get this bike… the more basic version, and save $400 off the standard CrossCurrent then why spend hundreds more to upgrade one area or another when you could get those hydraulic disc brakes, suspension fork etc. all at once? I guess the big reason is that the standard CrossCurrent also does not come with an LCD display, both bikes require an upgrade to get that.

All things considered, Juiced Bikes has done an impressive job balancing value with quality for the CrossCurrent Air. Little upgrades like Wellgo platform pedals, sealed threaded electrical connectors and textured brake levers usually aren’t found on the other $1k range e-bikes. You might not be able to see how fast you’re going or get a perfectly accurate charge level readout with the basic display and the motor might not be as robust as some of the larger hubs or mid-drive options on the market now but they still work well. The drive system spreads weight out across the bike and the hub motor does not impede gear shifting or pedaling the way some mid-drives do… requiring more finesse to use without damaging the chain, sprockets and derailleur. Tora, the founder of Juiced Bikes, speaks multiple languages and lives part time overseas to ensure that his products are made to the correct specifications and this is a company that has been in operation for several years now. He and his team have taken their time to add products to the fold and the Air really speaks to me as a useable electric bike that wouldn’t break just from getting banged up a little at the rack and wouldn’t be as devastating if stolen as some of the $2k+ models out there. I see it as a great option for students and other commuters with a limited budget. Big thanks to Juiced Bikes for partnering with me on this review and driving to meet me with a whole van full of models to compare back to back and show on camera :)

Pros:

  • One of the most affordable electric bikes I’ve reviewed that can be purchased through dealers, Juiced Bikes also sells direct but it’s great if you can test the sizes and have the bike setup in person… that’s a great value at this $1,095 price point
  • Solid warranty for the price, you get one year on the battery and basically two years on everything else including components (lifetime on the frame)
  • Even though the motor is rated at 350 watts, it peaks out above 600 watts and the controller has been tuned to feel zippy and go faster… it actually works pretty well but doesn’t weigh as much or look as obvious as some huge motors
  • I love the matte black color scheme, this electric bike blends in because the battery, wires and hub motor are all black and the display panel is super small and compact, it might not attract as much unwanted attention at bike racks
  • The display has a cool “sport” feature that lets you jump from any of the three assist levels up to the highest speed and then back down with just one press vs. a bunch of clicks up then back down
  • The battery capacity isn’t huge at 48 volts 8.8 amp hours and will deplete more quickly when you ride above 20 mph due to air resistance but they do offer upgrade options and frankly… I like that they used higher quality Samsung cells with a 3C discharge rating (faster for charging and discharging to give you torque and power) and included a 5 Volt USB charging port on the side of the pack, consider a right angle adapter like this to charge your phone, lights or other electronic devices
  • Great pedals, they match the bike, offer good traction and are large and stiff enough to accommodate taller and heavier riders who might have big feet and need the support
  • Even though this electric bike uses a more basic rear-mounted hub motor drive system, they balanced out the weight by bringing the battery forward and keeping it low, impressively, they were able to squeeze in a mounting point for a water bottle cage along the seat tube (at least on the high-step models), so many ebikes don’t include this but it’s very useful even for things like folding locks and mini pumps
  • There are three frame sizes to choose from including a mid-step which will be easier to mount and stand over for people with a shorter inseam… that’s incredible for such an affordable product in my opinion
  • Despite the lower price, you get a solid nine-speed drivetrain with Shimano Altus groupset (one step up from the lowest Tourney groupset) so you can climb or ride at higher speeds with a comfortable cadence
  • The wheelset is bolstered with reinforcement eyelets to help spread weight out and handle the higher speeds and different rider weights, the spokes are upgraded to 13 gauge which is thicker and sturdier
  • The bike comes with threaded holes along the seat stays (the bars that come off the seat tube and go down to the rear wheel dropout) and these can be used to add a rack! Juiced Bikes even sells a rack that will fit the bike so you could carry your gear more comfortably than using a backpack
  • While the bike comes stock with a cadence-only sensor that isn’t quite as fluid and responsive as the torque + cadence sensor on the higher level CrossCurrent, Jucied Bikes does let you upgrade this part for $199 more if you wish, they also let you buy a throttle so you don’t have to pedal if you prefer not to
  • The cadence sensor in use here measures hub rotation as you pedal with a hall sensor and seemed more responsive and better protected than some of the plastic magnet rings that I often see on the bottom bracket of cheaper electric bicycles
  • Both brake levers have motor inhibitors so they cut power when pulled and that’s a nice safety option, especially if you get the optional throttle accessory
  • Even though cadence sensors aren’t as dynamic and smooth feeling as a torque sensor, they don’t require that you push actively to make the bike go faster, it’s more like a throttle activated with your feet and for people with sensitive knees that could be a good thing

Cons:

  • Since this is a Class 3 speed pedelec that can reach ~28 mph with pedal assist, the ride can get a little bumpy… especially since there is no suspension fork, the medium sized tires and gel saddle help a little, I would definitely consider a 27.2 mm seat post suspension like one of these
  • The kickstand is positioned just under the bottom bracket and if you back the bike up while it’s in the down position the left crank arm will collide with it, would be better if it was mounted slightly towards the rear and out of the way (also so you could pedal the cranks backwards while servicing the drivetrain without need for a full stand)
  • The power cable running to the motor protrudes from the end of the right side of the axle where the derailleur and shifter cables are, this is a little crowded and more vulnerable than if it were tucked into the left side as some newer Dapu motors offer, also there’s no quick release on the rear wheel, just the front
  • I like that they included a plastic chainring guard but would love a full guide (plastic walls on both sides of the chainring to keep from dropping the chain on bumpy terrain)
  • The display panel is not removable so it could take wear from the weather and sunshine a bit more when parked outside (as well as being scratched or banged up) but it’s so small and relatively simple that maybe a few scratches aren’t a big deal compared with a fancy LCD
  • The shifter cables and electronic wires aren’t internally routed and hidden the way they are on some more expensive e-bikes but I was told they are more serviceable this way and since they are black, they blend in with the frame pretty well, the top tube is kept bare at least which makes it easier to lift and put on racks without snags
  • Since you only get an LED console display by default, you won’t see as many readouts or trip stats but they do offer an upgrade to LCD if you want that stuff… nice to have the option
  • I’m not a fan of the little rubber nipple that fits into the charging port on the battery, it’s tricky to get in and since it’s low by your left crank arm it could get dust and water inside if you’re not careful… I do like that you can at least take the battery off the bike for charging or cleaning
  • No slap guard on the chainstay, consider using a piece of clear packing tape there to reduce nicks and dings when riding on bouncy terrain or buy a Neoprene wrap like this

Resources:

More Juiced Bikes Reviews

Juiced Bikes RipCurrent S Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An affordable yet feature-rich electric fat bike with higher speed operation, advanced torque + cadence pedal assist, trigger throttle power on demand, and a great display panel. Available in three frame sizes and three color options! You get large plastic fenders and…...

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A high-speed, feature complete, value priced electric bike that comes in four frame sizes, high-step and mid-step frame style, and three colors. Relatively comfortable thanks to fatter tires, a suspension fork with compression slider and lockout, Velo…...

Juiced Bikes OceanCurrent Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable high-speed cruiser electric bike, available in traditional cantilever high-step or relaxed mid-step for easy mounting, choice of five fun colors including traditional black or red. Excellent frame balance, the downtube battery keeps weight low and center, the compact hub motor…...

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An affordably priced speed pedelec that's well balanced, not too heavy and available in three frame sizes for a good fit, you can also upgrade the battery size. Comes stock with a powerful 48 volt battery but lower 7.8 amp hours, uses a…...

Juiced Bikes ODK U500 V3 Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

A sturdy, high torque, cargo style electric bike with enormous range thanks to a 48 volt 15 amp hour battery pack with premium Panasonic Lithium-ion cells. Powerful 500 watt internally geared front hub motor by 8Fun, benefits from a smaller wheel…...

Juiced Bikes ODK U500 Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

A sturdy, thoughtfully designed cargo bike with a low center of gravity that's easy to mount and handle. Super strong 500 watt front hub motor paired with 48 volt Lithium Manganese battery pack...


Liz
12 months ago

It makes me feel like I am going down hill both ways! Today when I took it out I thought, wow, this hill will be hard to climb back up again when I come back this way. But when I rode back I felt like I was going downhill for the most part. This was my experience the other day too.

It makes my ride so fun to go fast and not have to work overly hard. If I was in really good shape it would still be a lot of fun and I could go faster I bet. Without the pedal assist, I would have to get off the bike to go up a hill because I am not in super good shape. It gets me out to cycle and get some exercise while at the same time it makes it fun to ride and makes me look cool. So far I am only going about six miles but I want to work up to longer trips.

I had to take it into the bike shop to get it assembled but it was well worth it to get the brakes tuned exactly right. It is a great buy with a lot of bikes being in this price range or maybe a little more than an annual gym membership. But I prefer to be outdoors for exercise. If you are looking for something to make riding fun, fast and make the hills easy then this is a great bike. I haven’t done any super long, steep hills yet – kind of need more confidence for a longer trip over a mountain pass but it brings the idea into the realm of possibility.

Reply
court
12 months ago

Hi Liz! I enjoyed reading about your experience with the Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Air. Made me smile… hope it works well for a long time and good luck with that mountain pass goal. Great job getting it setup correctly to start, that will help it last longer and of course, more enjoyable along the way :)

Reply
Rob
11 months ago

I am really looking hard at this one however really wish I could get even a pre-production model of the hyper fat due to most of the roads in South Louisiana have sub-standard shoulders so looking for beefy tires.

Reply
court
11 months ago

Hi Rob! I agree, the Hyper Fat looks very cool and I’ll be reviewing it at some point… I think that Juiced is double checking the parts, making sure it’s perfect before they really start pushing it :)

Reply
Greg
11 months ago

Hi Court. First up I love your detailed and informative reviews. Keep up the great work! Question, how would you rate the Air .vs the Cross Current? It will be my first e-bike. I was going to get a refurbished Cross Current but they ran out. Also, what size frame do you recommend for me – Medium or Large? I’m 5’8 – 5’9. Thanks

Reply
court
11 months ago

Hi Greg! I travel all around so the streets range from smooth to very bumpy… so the regular CrossCurrent with suspension would be my first pick. For the price savings, the Air is an excellent deal and I enjoyed testing it. Sounds like we’re the same height so Medium would be a good fit. The frame difference isn’t huge, you could fit a large if you prefer a more leaned-forward body position. I hope this helps :)

Reply
Greg
11 months ago

Thanks Court. I really appreciate your input. I decided to go with the Cross Current Air. The order is in for the next shipment which should arrive later this month. I’m really looking forward to my first e-bike. I will post my impressions when it arrives.

Reply
court
11 months ago

Awesome! Thanks for the update Greg, hope it works out well for you and I’ll be excited to hear back :D

Reply
Jerry chen
10 months ago

I am wondering how they ship the bikes out and how long that process takes?

Reply
court
10 months ago

Hi Jerry, I’ll reach out to the team and see if they can comment (or maybe a customer will chime in). I have no idea how long it takes to be honest with you, and timing may vary depending on which model is chosen and if a shipment is available or coming in.

Reply
BK
10 months ago

I can’t speak for other builds, but I ordered this CC Air on May 30th. I read somewhere they were shipping them sometime in June. I received an order confirmation the day I ordered, but no email, status update, or communication has been received since. I’m sure they’re busy and some things take time, but a simple email would set my mind at ease. I’ll be sure to update when the bike arrives.

Reply
court
10 months ago

Thanks BK, I hope they send you an update soon and appreciate your feedback here. Eventually, once you receive the bike, definitely chime in about how you like it and if there are any other details that might help others who are researching the product :)

Cesar Gordillo
9 months ago

I’m having the same issue. I ordered my CC Air on July 11th and they will send me the bike by late August. Electronic Bike City is not sending me any status on my order. I wish I would know this before I placed my order. Big letter said delivery in 7 days. This order is taking more time than a car manufacturing.

court
10 months ago

Hi Jerry, I reached out to Juiced with your question and they said: “In a box, UPS and about 4 days to Connecticut” so hopefully that holds true and I welcome your ongoing feedback about the product :)

Reply
Cesar Gordillo
8 months ago

45 days after my order I got this : *We are still waiting for the tracking number on your bike. There have been delays because they have to add racks to some bikes or add fenders and it really slows down the shipment or Fedex just decides to not show up some days. We will send you tracking by email as soon as your order ships out *

Peter Bilton
10 months ago

So the Crosscurrent Air is my second electric bike. The first was an Emazing Artemis, which I absolutely loved, but unfortunately it was stolen. I must say after owning this bike for a week I can understand why they sell out so quick. This bike feels like it was cleverly designed, well constructed, and boy is it fast! It looks stealthy in matte black , and the juiced decal on the down tube looks understated and elegant. My experience out of the box was very good. After putting on the front wheel, handlebar and peddles. I checked the front and rear discs to see if they needed truing up. Both discs were perfectly straight. The brakes will need adjusting, which you can probably do yourself with the allen tool that juiced provides. Watch a Youtube video for instruction on how to adjust the disc brakes. The gears did not require any adjustment. All I need do was lubricate the chain. As I am tall and like a more upright riding position I replaced the stem with a Sunlite adjustable, 125 mm stem. After ordering the bike I was concerned there may not be enough play on the electrical cables to add the stem, but it was no problem. You will also need a bag of 1-1/8 inch spacers. I added 2 x 2.5 mm. I also added an SP12 NCX suspension seat post. You could get by without a fancy suspension seat post, as the 700c x 45c tires do help to absorb road bumps. Inflate the tires to 50 psi, rather than the max 85 psi, for a more comfy ride. The reention battery is a really snug fit and at first i thought Juiced had given me the wrong key as I could not remove the battery. I then realized i didn’t have my battery removing technique down. The best way I found is to ignore the toggle on the battery case. Insert the key with your left hand and grab the top of the battery with your right, giving it a good yank toward you, whilst turning the key to the open position. The battery itself feels solid to hold and there is nothing loose or rattling inside. When you place the battery back on the bike you hear a clunk as it clicks into place and you know for sure its not going anywhere. I have the 11.6 ah battery. My commute is a 12 mile round trip which hardly touches the capacity of this battery. I also like the fact that the throttle overrides peddle asist regardless of which peddle asist level you are in. With my Artemis you had to be in asist level 5 to use the throttle which meant taking your eyes off the road to make the adjustment, not so with the Crosscurrent Air.

Reply
Peter Bilton
10 months ago

Just to add to my comments about raising the hight of the handlebars on the Crosscurrent Air for tall riders, and, or those who like a more upright riding position. Today I changed the Promax handle bar for an Atomlab pimplite 3 inch riser bar. So the original hight of the handle bars was 41.5 inches. With the riser stem and 3 inch riser bar the hight is now 48 inches. But that’s it folks, there is no more length on the electrical cables to go any higher. However that is the perfect hight for me at 6 feet 1 inch, 33 inch inseam.

Reply
court
10 months ago

Very cool, thanks for sharing this Peter! I linked to the bar you mentioned, which color did you get? I really appreciate the tip about how the wires won’t go any further. That’s the kind of detail that is very easy to overlook when you’re excited and shopping online for solutions ;)

Reply
Peter Bilton
10 months ago

You’re welcome Court. I figured I owe it to you for pointing me in the right direction, and to Juiced Bikes for a great product. I got the handle bar in black. The Atomlab Pimplite is about 2 inches longer and is slightly more swept back than the stock handle on the bike. I was fortunate in that the brake levers were too close to the end of the handle bar. That gave me about 4 extra inches of play after moving the brake levers back on the new handle bar. Aside from the handle bar and stem I have also added the Planet Bike Versa rack from Juiced Bikes and the SP 12 NCX suspension post. I plan to add schwalbe Marathon plus tires and Spank Spoon 110 peddles.

dan
9 months ago

Was the model you were riding the 17.5″ or 19″ frame? I was looking to purchase the step through model but it’s not in stock. Wondering if you were able to stand over the frame comfortably or not. Thanks for the awesome content!

Reply
court
9 months ago

Hi Dan, I don’t remember exactly which model is shown on film but I believe it was the Large because that is what my pictures show. In any case I did measure each of the two high-step models as follows: High-Step Medium: 30″ Stand Over Height, High Step Large: 31″ Stand Over Height.

I’m 5’9″ with a ~31.5 inseam and believe that either of the two models would have worked but it was probably the Large. There’s only an inch of difference between the two after alland I measure stand over height from just in front of the saddle nose for what a real-life bar height would be vs. down by the seat tube where it’s often lower. I hope this helps you and am sorry that I cannot guarantee for certain which I had.

Reply
Clement tsang
9 months ago

Heya,

Update: The Juiced Crosscurrent Air is now $1,195, but comes with a 500w motor.

Also, could you do a review on the Crosscurrent S?

Best, Clem

Reply
court
9 months ago

Hi Clem! I’d love to review the CrossCurrent S, will definitely be keeping an eye out for it and I appreciate your feedback on the price changes :)

Reply
mike rohfeld
7 months ago

Hello Court,

I’ve decided to purchase my first E bike and really want to thank you for all of your reviews. They have been extremely informative and very helpful in learning about ebikes. The last time I owned a bike was several years ago and I don’t recall ebikes existing back then.

I’ve since learned a lot about different features and so far, I am leaning toward the Cross Current Air, mostly because of the features and its price point which is really at the max of my intended purchase price.

I live in Orange County and will plan to visit Sam at some point in the near future. I called him last week to see if he had one of the CC Airs in stock (new or used) but he didn’t and the Juiced website looks like they are backordered, presumably because of their popularity?

My question however has to do with something I’ve not seen so far. With ebikes becoming more and more popular, there seems to be a growing market for used ebikes. I’m looking for information or a guide on purchasing a used ebike. I called one shop and they only had a 30 day warranty which isn’t enough for me, given the cost.

Have you written or are there any guides or places you can recommend discussing what considerations to consider in purchasing a used ebike?

Also, in looking for an ebike (either new or used) at around the $1000 range, are there any brands you can recommend? In going through your reviews, most of the bikes in that price range are made by either start up companies or offered over the web which is something I don’t want to do..

Any advice you can give regarding purchasing used bike or a new bike at that price will be most appreciated and I’m sure appreciated by others. BTW – I’m looking to purchase the bike for recreation only, mostly trails and bike paths, no off road use and not for commuting.

Thank you again Court, I really appreciate your help and all the advice you’ve given…
Mike

Reply
court
7 months ago

Hi Mike! If I were in your position, I would try to add a bit more money to your budget and then go to Sam’s shop to see if there are any last-year models that could be on sale. I have seen some great deals on Haibikes in particular and feel that their drive systems are very reliable. The CrossCurrent Air is indeed back ordered (the last time I checked with Tora) and that’s a reflection of the value and quality + support that they offer. I am always careful when buying a used electric bike because it can be difficult to tell how many charge cycles the battery has been through and a replacement can be $600+ often $800 for a Bosch battery. I realize these things can be expensive… I wish there was more I could offer you, but there is a used section of the EBR forums and I think Craigslist can also be worth exploring, especially in your area, California has a lot of electric bikes because of population density, weather, and wealth in some areas :)

Reply
Troy Kimberlin
5 months ago

Hi – does the battery lock into place with a key? How do you keep it from getting stolen when parked?

Reply
court
5 months ago

Hi Troy! Yes, the battery locks to the frame and I have a picture of it if you scroll through to the third image above. You can see where the battery interfaces in the downtube and the silver circle there near the top (on the left side of the frame) this is what keeps it from getting stolen and keeps it secure in place :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Bruce Arnold
1 day ago

Look at the Grin Technologies http://www.ebikes.ca/shop/electric-bicycle-parts/cycle-analysts.html and see if it's an accessory you'd like to add on. It provides all kinds of information, and some functionality (like a cruise control feature) that most bikes don't have.

We're lucky, in Juiced Bikes-land, that Tora has provided us a system that provides so much information, has cruise control, etc., at no additional cost. But the Cycle Analyst is not the most expensive accessory you might buy.

bruceT
2 days ago

A couple of things that may have effected it..

[*]The only place I could demo the bike was at a giant dealer in Boston / Fenway - lots of traffic but I tried my speed run on a quiet side street over a city block and a couple of stretches on a parkway - but always had to be mindful of traffic so perhaps I was backing off.
[*]The bike was a large and I need an XL - leg extension was poor
[*]I typically ride clipless peddles and didn't feel comfortable getting out of the saddle with flats and running shoes - with clipless I also pull on the upstroke
[*]I didn't use the top gear since the front derailleur was rubbing
[*]Didn't want to break a 3k bike I had no intention of buying - just demo

Lenny7118
3 days ago

Hi, I’m looking to get a HyperFat 1000, I hope that they will get stock soon like Juiced Bikes said, late May! They said that the bikes are made and that they are just waiting for batteries.
What model IBERA rack did put on the bike ? Also are you having any issues with your bike such as the bikes power dying after a few minutes and also the bike studdering at low speeds ?
Thanks

Bruce Arnold
3 days ago

That top end of 22 mph puzzles me. The Quick E is advertised as a 28 mph bike. Flat road, high gear, pedalling hard - strange.

It's not the your size and it's not wind resistance, although those are important factors. But today I maintained an easy 23-25 mph, 2nd level of assist (or "Level 1" as we call it in Juiced Bikes-land - the lowest level is "Eco"), on a flat road, in 8th gear, pedalling moderately. Kicking it up to Level 3 to beat a light, I momentarily clocked 30 mph, pedalling hard. I weigh about 60 lbs more than you.

I'm not sure how to account for this. Were you in the lowest level of assist? Tires underinflated? Battling a headwind?

I'm trying to avoid saying the Quick E might be underpowered (and over-advertised), never having ridden one, but all other things being equal, I've gotta wonder.

Look at the Juiced Bikes RipCurrent S. Ought to be good on gravel roads, and I guarantee you'll get a fast bike. Good price too.

Rooster
5 days ago

I haven't been on this forum in a few months and don't plan on being back for a while. Tora,you have no idea who I am, all I'm saying is from my personal experience juiced bikes isn't the most transparent company I ever dealt with. I built my own bike and it's far better than the ocean current for half the money with a 24ah Panasonic ga battery. I have no personal problem with Tora Harris.

Tora Harris
5 days ago

Rooster/ Irwin Tellar, A few customers we have will never be satisfied no matter what we do or don’t do. Of this group there are some who have a lot of free time. Of this unsatisfiable with loads of free time subset are the ones that go onto the internet at every opportunity to throw mud into just a about every conversation on every platform which allows for free discussion.

Lenny7118
6 days ago

Glad to hear that. Did Juiced say that your motor studdering was from a bad controller?

hurricane56
6 days ago

Update: Juiced bikes just responded to both of my open service tickets and are sending a replacement fork and motor controller. I'll keep everyone posted on how it works out.

Rooster
6 days ago

When and if you get it any time soon you'll figure out why you should have cancelled. I bought the ocean current and and can't hardly give it away. Customer service, I won't even go there. I already told everyone what I thought of juiced bikes and was banned from the forum for a few months so I'll tell you again, they suck but don't say anything bad about juiced on here or they will ban you, boy I almost didn't survive that. WHAT GOOD IS A FORUM IF YOU CAN'T LET PEOPLE KNOW THE BAD NEWS AND ONLY THE GOOD? They're probably gonna ban me again but I just call it like I see it. Still haven't received proper customer service, imagine that. Bye

Bruce Arnold
1 week ago

I'd email Juiced Bikes support pronto about the battery not locking in. You definitely don't want it falling out.

Because they are designed to seat tightly, it does sometimes take a push down on the battery to get it seated properly. I find that putting the bottom of the battery in first, and then inserting the top at about a 30 degree angle down and in, works well for me. At first I had to use the key to get it to seat well, but the locking mechanism became broken-in after a few times and I don't have to do this any more.

Hard to say why the battery level dropped that much on a ten mile ride, even if you rode level S the whole time. Did you charge the battery before taking your first ride? Also, ambient temperature will affect battery performance. If it was cold where you live, that would be a factor.

Either way, run that battery down to 44 volts or so and then charge it fully a couple of times before deciding that your battery life is too low. It's not uncommon for lithium ion batteries to benefit from this kind of treatment when new. The first time I charged my battery, it only went up to 51.something volts. The next time it went up to 52.something. Now it has leveled out at around 53.2V. Tora has stated that the 2 amp standard charger only takes these batteries up to 95%, which is about right if I'm getting 53.2V.

Also note that the voltage read-out is a more accurate indicator than the 9 dots on the battery level indicator. I can run my battery down to under 46V before noticing any lessened performance. I've taken it as low as 42V -- it got pretty sluggish at that point. I now consider 48V to be half.

You're not hurting the battery or the motor by using the bike as it is designed to be used.

Lenny7118
1 week ago

Full disclosure, I currently own a Juiced Bikes CCS so I’m not bashing the company, I just wish that they would step up the supply.

Hello, I am interested in the HyperFat and my question is to the current buyers/owners of the HyperFat.
When did you order the HyperFat and was your order from the first and what appears to be the only production of the HyperFat?
When did you receive your HF after ordering it?

The following is my observation:
It appears that the Juiced Bikes HyperFat is only being produced Once a year? Recently I learned that all the batteries are being used for All the other Juiced Bike models!
That’s a shame and disappointment to customers that want to purchase a HF and reading about the constant delays and that Juiced can’t keep batteries for other Juiced Bikes.

It’s not even known if the HyperFat’s are built and just waiting for the batteries? From what I was told last night from Juiced online chat is that it takes 5 months to build and ship to a customer any e bike from Juiced.

Lenny7118
2 weeks ago

Hello, Thanks replying to me thread. I like and wish to purchase a Juiced Bikes HyperFat 1000 but when I emailed them asking about a sales date they are dancing around the answer. So I kept pressing and than they said that they are waiting for batteries to arrive! So are the HyperFat’s being made now or are they going to start to build them once the batteries arrive! If that’s the case than people interested in buying one could be looking at a July or later delivery, that’s my thoughts. I can only speculate when Juiced Bikes won’t give a straight answer. I will for full disclosure say that I have a CrossCurrent S and it’s very good but I am interested in the HyperFat too.
I am also considering the Biktrix Juggernaut because of the sales and delivery dates. First they will have a Pre order for a month than the sales, like I said that could take a delivery date into the mid summer. Come on Juiced !! Produce the bikes you have customers waiting. Lastly , I hope you ironed out the issues with the controller, Motor and torque sensors.

Which Biktrix bike did you get ? Are you happy with it and do you like the Mid Drive Motor ?

Thanks,

Lenny

Bruce Arnold
1 week ago

The Air and the CCS are very similar, especially with the most recent upgrades to the Air. The CCS comes standard with a larger battery, hydraulic vs. mechanical disc brakes, torque/cadence sensor, fenders, rack and lights. For several hundred $$$ less, the Air has much the same basic performance as the CCS, but without some of those nice additions that make the CCS such a superb ride. I don't think your size is that important in choosing between these two bikes. Just my take.

Darrin NC
1 week ago

6' 2" 235lb guy here. Will I be happy with crosscurrent air or should I go with the XL S?
Using the bike for short commutes and just to have fun. Big guy like me need the performance of the S or will the Air do a similar job for me?

Steve2014
3 weeks ago

Howdy folks. I bought a Crosscurrent Air last summer. I was in the early August 2017 delivery batch, right after they slightly upgraded the battery. This was also the last batch where the throttle was a paid option rather than included. I did opt for the throttle, along with the torque sensor option. If I recall correctly the total cost was around $1340. I had the bike sent to a local shop for set-up and tuning. It went together fine, although the technician did note that the included plastic or rubber handlebar gasket (I’m not exactly sure what you call this part) wasn’t the correct size. Wasn’t a big deal though. The shop used one of their own at no extra charge.

I’m not a “serious” bike rider, and I’ve only put 600 miles on this bike since I bought it. So, please take that into consideration. Frankly, I still don’t know enough about ebikes to nit-pick too much. Although that might not be a bad thing, because in that regard I probably represent the average consumer.

So for the review, the TL : DR version is: I still very much love this bike! I haven’t had any problems with it so far, although again keep in mind I am not a hard-core rider. Most of my mileage has involved commuting back and forth to work when the weather is nice. My office is only 4 miles away so it’s a pretty short commute. And I was pleasantly surprised to discover that, if I leave for work after 8:30AM, it takes about the same amount of time to drive or bike. If I have to be at work earlier it’s actually faster to ride a bike (due to traffic). In addition to my work commute I do some occasional weekend or evening joy riding around the neighborhood. My longest ride to-date has been a 30-mile loop trail. I didn’t run out of battery on that trail, but I was also using the Eco setting for most of it and there weren’t any significant hills. On almost all of my other rides I use the Sport mode. I know some people have been concerned with the battery size on these bikes, and that’s a legit concern if your trips are longer than mine tend to be. For my riding however I haven’t had any “battery anxiety” issues nor have I ever run out of juice. I would have upgraded the battery if I needed to, but I knew that since 95%+ of my rides would be under 10 miles there wasn’t any need to do so.

As far as the frame and tires go, I haven’t had any issues. But one more time, I’m only at 600 miles on this bike. I would hope I didn’t have any issues in that amount of riding! I didn’t think I’d need a suspension on my bike, but honestly I now kind of wish the bike had it. I did buy a Thudbuster ST suspension post seat and I can’t say it provided much improvement. I had wanted the LT model but since my bike was already bordering on being too large for me I opted for the ST. If I had to do it over again I definitely would have gone with the LT model. I hear it provides more cushion for your cushion.

The brakes still work fine, although here too I kind of wish I had hydraulic brakes. I haven’t had any issues with these standard brakes, but given the speed this bike is capable of one does get the sense that hydraulic brakes would make a lot more sense.

Speaking of speed and power, I remain impressed. When Juiced announced they were upgrading the motor (just a few months after I bought the bike, of course), I was initially bummed that I had missed out on the larger motor. But that said, my CC Air has never felt particularly underpowered. On the contrary I remain surprised that I can conquer pretty decent hills with much, much less effort than I would need to exert on a regular bike. And on flat ground I can cruise along at 24-25mph with minimal effort. The bike will go faster but beyond about 25mph you need to work for it.

I hadn’t ridden all winter and just got my bike back out two weeks ago during our first warm day. After not having ridden this bike since November, riding after this four-month hiatus brought back the joy of that first ride. My first thought was, “Oh yeah, I had forgotten how much I like this bike!”

So, that’s it. Take it for what it’s worth. I guess the ultimate question is, “Would you buy this bike again?” Well, yes and no. Knowing what I now know, I think I might have spent a little more money for the extra features on the CC S model; particularly its suspension and hydraulic brakes. That said, I don’t at all have buyer’s remorse. At the time I was more concerned with price point, and I do still think I got good value for the money. I know some people have had a few problems with their Gen 1 CC Airs, and if I had those same problems I might feel different myself. But I haven’t had those problems, so…I’m happy. I think Juiced generally makes a good bike at a very competitive price point. And after riding my CC Air for 600 miles it would be really hard for me to plop down $2,500+ for another ebike. For my use case, any additional utility likely wouldn’t be worth the extra money. YMMV.

Funny thing though…even though I’m very happy with this bike, I still find myself “window shopping” on occasion. There’s always that allure of “more this, better that”. I have to remind myself that sometimes it’s OK to just be grateful for and enjoy what you already have, rather than always wanting the “better” thing. That can become a trap because “better” often doesn’t have an end point!

Thanks for reading. Cheers.

Edit: Obligatory picture below. This was pre-Thudbuster install.

Captain Slow
3 months ago

I keep getting emails from the Canadian distributor inviting me to review the bike, so I guess it worked as I'm providing my initial impressions.

In summary, I think it's a great bike and great value. I would recommend it to most people, but for some people it wouldn't be the right bike. For most though the value is so good that if you want an electric bike I think the overall package of the Crosscurrent S is very appealing.

So if you want a quick snappy review, there it is. For those who don't mind reading a lot or want to know why I like the bike here are the (long) details.

Background - First of all I think it's relevant to know a bit about me because I don't believe that any bike out there is suited for all people. Everyone has different needs. I have been commuting to work by bike for 6 and a half years now. Not every day, but generally commuting 15.5 to 18 km's each way to work depending upon which route I take. I am now 52 years old and lately I have been finding that if I want to make good time to and from work that I get too tired to ride 5 days a week. When weather is good I ride a Cervelo RS and I haven't been crazy about riding it in lousy weather. The Crosscurrent S was to allow me to ride more frequently and to keep my Cervelo out of the bad weather.

Cons
I'll go through the cons first as it's a short list compared to what I like about the bike. I wouldn't really say these are cons about the bike, but more like nits that aren't perfect for me. The bike offers such great value it's hard to criticize it. But I don't like how heavy the bike is. I realize it's a commuter and being electric it's going to be heavy. I guess for me the Crosscurrent Air is better suited to what I want, but the Canadian importer was bringing in the S and once you add the torque sensor, fenders, rack, and lights to the Air you're pretty much up to the cost of the S, so I figured why not.

The other nit is the riding position. You're sitting pretty much straight up, which I realize is normal for this type of bike. But if you're going to make a fast bike then I think the position should be more aero. I've found when I'm hitting 37 km/hr. and faster on the bike that the battery really drains fast. A more aero position would help here a lot.

Pros
There's a lot to like about this bike. I used to have a hybrid with a Bionx system and the Crosscurrent S is so much better than the Bionx system. First of all the torque sensor make the riding experience much more like that of a regular bike, just that you have some boost. That was never the case with my Bionx bike. I also find that the geometry of this bike and having the battery inset into the downtube makes for better weight distribution and the handling difference is night and day. This bike handles so much better.

I was without an electric bike for about 5 years and during that time I looked around at a lot of bikes. The value of this bike was amazing. It's hard to find a bike at this price point with all the features and extras it has. I also wanted a bike that could get me to and from work quickly and I'd say on the highest setting I can get to and from work pretty much just as fast as if I drove.

I also have to give a shout out to Hill Eater bikes who are the Canadian distributor. I found the service to be excellent. I'd happily deal with them again.

I've ridden the bike about 100 km's so far and as everyone knows it's a fast bike. Even on the lower power levels it's pretty fast. You can pretty much ride all day at 22 to 25 km/hr. on the low power settings and the battery drain is pretty low. You can also cruise to work at 35 km/hr. if you're willing to pedal hard and you're flying by other cyclists.

I'll report back at the end of summer and I have a few thousand km's on the bike.

Reid
4 months ago

this email received at 12:55 PM EST (1 minute ago):

Dear Reid Welch,

Thank you for your order from http://juicedbikes.com/! We wanted to let you know that your order (#3117) was shipped via UPS, UPS® Ground on 12/30/2017. You can track your package at any time using the link below.

Shipped To:
Reid Welch
https://maps.google.com/?q=3901+HARDIE+AVE+MIAMI,+FL+33133&entry=gmail&source=g-6437 US

Track Your Shipment: http://email.shipstation.com/wf/click?upn=ZmctxFke0rLdcoRNTP-2FufAG5-2FkZskvjwq15Ry8CcY0y3pr8cYwzx15mt83k8HkOx-2B7-2FEaVqwwvAjb48ZoACMkyMAd-2F-2FIt5QDwD2RdUJDxpfvDZvinEiinMvJt8-2FTt4CvBG1t2Q8ppAgKVil9NA4HYOCBoFyn8t6BAMtZ6v-2F-2FNqNOF70xoIFPYcKYX1M-2Bvo2Y6Vm1wb67WcM71bytnm8p-2BQ-3D-3D_zXhZsvl-2BtXuAbdqluGUBKzGOqv2Rp785xCckul22AwW0kjf3NkVyF4eF7LQSMEQeOI4dHOIZ8slov4EjduPen3IqoqMhpPgSUs4a2Tg6kFw3T1WMr5ceMxwbCkTN4Um0j6CsEfkaj-2BTJfbZvc9urgWsmQhF0Rt4hx2QWyonbAEv7wOJlADSMQ1g8wrtNnoeovL6oDZsEt0X9Q8HeU7Yp0p3SYCcR2GuS471vkUkVuX5apqpUbonk-2BeaUHLdVn5OBcF3HoA-2BnuBq93DpjkMKDVtcRUmCNwoFfXCqrwBJ8B-2B1r-2BfpVQwVTETJ-2BMPlNKn30

This shipment includes the following items:

Item # Description Qty
0S Support 1
Battery Pack for CrossCurrent / CrossCurrent S / CrossCurrent AIR / OceanCurrent - 12.8 Ah - Extended Range 1

Thank you for your business and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Fluffybagel
4 months ago

As I have moved away for college, I'm finding that I need a reliable mode of transport for mid-distance (~20 mile round trip) travel, as the bus system in my new town is extremely unreliable. While I don't usually travel awfully far each way, I am slightly impeded by the steep hills that make me feel discouraged from using my old bike anymore (it's a piece of junk anyway.)

I'm a 5'9 male and weigh 160 pounds, and I don't expect to be carrying anything. Having the option to alternate between pedal-assist and throttle modes is appealing to me, so I'd like any potential candidates to have that capability. In addition, since it snows a lot during the winter here, preferably something that can handle icy roads. My budget is in the below $2000 range, and I'd like to buy it from a site that offers payment in installments (e.g. Amazon.) However, I'm somewhat flexible on these standards, and none of my expectations are set in stone.

I was considering the Juiced Crosscurrent Air, but I'm not sure if that would be the best candidate. In regards to that bike though, I know that the more-expensive torque option matches the output of your pedaling power, so would it be easier to just have a cadence-sensor when biking in places with steep hills where even pedaling at all is difficult? Like I said, I don't have much knowledge in the e-bike industry, so while I'm not dead set on that particular model, I'd like to be as informed as possible.

Any help will be boundlessly appreciated, and I look forward to hearing from the knowledgeable members of this forum!

DMP
5 months ago

Ref CrossCurrent AIR, a few months old

Love this bike (other than the rear brakes), when it works, but unfortunately reliability is an issue and I need something reliable for commuting.

One persistent problem is flaking out in the rain, and I live in the north west, where it rains.

Tech support suggested water might be getting into the connectors, so I wanted to ask, has anybody experience with spraying the connectors with a water displacer such as WD 40? Used to work a treat on the spark plugs of my old car when they got damp but that was much higher power. Is there any reason not to try WD40? Any other suggestions or experience with this of note?

Thanks. If I can get this one solved I can ask about the other issues....

FredE
6 months ago

If you contact Juiced directly they have the 1095 Crosscurrent Air in stick with the smaller batt. Keep in mind this is a before tax price AND be sure you are comfortable with the reliability concerns that have been raised. M2S 350 Scout seems solid at 1200. And a 2 year warranty

FA63
6 months ago

Thanks everyone for all the input. I actually went ahead and experimented today with my wife's CrossCurrent Air, the 500W version with the 7.8ah battery. The route I took was slightly longer than what I would usually do (12 miles instead of 11), maybe slightly hillier also. I started with a full charge, riding in Assist Mode 1 except when going uphill I would put it into Sport Mode. By the time I got to my destination, there was about 30 percent left, and the motor was starting to struggle a bit in the last mile or so.

Given the 17.4ah is more than twice the capacity, that probably means it will be plenty for my 22 mile round trip. 12.4 would definitely need to be topped off during the day. So it looks like the 17.4ah battery is a must for me, as most of you were suggesting.

Thanks again!

Klein Rider
7 months ago

Thanks for the video, two observations.

[*]The frame in the video is XL (20"), its smaller than I expected.
[*]The frame design resembles a CrossCurrent Air.

bob armani
7 months ago

Hello Suka- Yes to the answer to your question. I totally got lucky on my 1st choice. I took a risk and had my ebike delivered without a test ride. Price was a great bargain. Thankfully, my decision worked out to be great! I have about 700 miles on it and it has performed incredibly well (2015 BH EM Jet). Now with 2018 coming , I can get a 2nd ebike after a test ride with more bells and whistles and use my current bike as a backup. Ride Safe!

sucka free
7 months ago

Hi all

I went from a CrossCurrent Air (the new 500w version) to an electric folder, Dillenger Opia. I kind of wish I went the folder route first but I didn't have a frame of reference. Do I regret the CrossCurrent? Not really but it isn't what I need for a 4 mile round trip (mainly flat but with a hill descent to start/ascent to end). If anything, it's too much bike for my planned use.

Are there other newbies (or established riders) who felt like their first bike was merely a test bed to determine what was right for them?

LIFE STARTS NOW
4 weeks ago

What do you think the max weight this bike can handle?

The Gee-tah Guy
3 months ago

JOIN THE "JUICED BIKES CLUB" ON GOOGLE GROUPS... This brand new club is run by Juiced ebike owners, ebike advocates and enthusiasts. The club is located at;

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/juiced-bikes-club

The Juiced Bikes Club is totally free to join and to be a member. It's well moderated, so members are protected (as well as possible) against spam, bullying, foul language, etc.

The venue for this brand new club is on Google Groups and is dedicated specifically to owners of Juiced Bikes. If you own a Juiced ebike, you should consider joining. This is the place to ltalk about and learn everything Juiced with people who share your passion of these amazing ebikes. There is also a For Sale, Trading section. Just click on the link above and hit the JOIN button once you get there. Hope to see you there! (This club is not affiliated with Juiced Bikes in any way. We are not a business of any kind. We are simply fans of the company and their ebikes and believe clubs are the best way to bring devoted fans together).
Show less
REPLY

Marlinspike Mate
3 months ago

Test rode this and the S. Both were awesome. Love the simplicity of this, just wish they had some in stock.

Javier
4 months ago

350w? Amazon says its 500w

Marlinspike Mate
3 months ago

Yeah its 500w, even says on their web page.

iQ Denim
7 months ago

Before buying the CrossCurrent Air based on this review, go to Juiced Bikes' FB page and read the reviews there! This is a great review but it's only based on a one-day perspective, as opposed to prolonged use and/or dealing with the company from a customer standpoint.

Aleks Bubyr
7 months ago

I'm gonna buy it

Voodoo Six
7 months ago

When will that display be available?

Jonathan Hudson
8 months ago

My 21 AH battery will not stay in place, it leans to the left and the locking mechanism doesn't work properly...it is easy to pull out of place and I can't get the charge controller to stay on without holding it firmly in place....kind of disappointed, would be curious if others are having similar problems

Andrew Chong
9 months ago

Can I please have a free electric bike to free your storage?

Paintbrush 1962
9 months ago

Is there any way of integrating the batteries into the frame ,like Stromer?

FOXHAN
10 months ago

Where can we get this bike in Europe?

_bermuda
10 months ago

Got mine over the weekend and I'm thoroughly impressed thus far. Ridden about 35 miles so far here in NYC and am pretty thrilled with it. Their warranty made the decision easy.

MarvFIT
10 months ago

juiced is changing the game

Ivan Turniphead
10 months ago

I got mine today....OMG!

Ivan Turniphead
9 months ago

Josiah Harlow I got the torque sensor it seems and a free throttle with mine. I rode probably 18 miles today, I live outside of Pittsburgh, lots of hills and some shitty roads. Suspension would be alright but I don't really care about, still had some battery charhe left. Only problem I had was with the gear shift cable, supposedly it needed to stretch. I like I got it because I got a cool dui so it's pretty great, still would have bought one though. Taking it to a beach or city would probably be nice.

Peter B
10 months ago

Hey Josiah, I have this bike and love it. I wrote my comments on the EBR Crosscurrent Air review page. You made a wise decision ordering this bike. I waited over a month for mine but it was worth it.

Josiah Harlow
10 months ago

Would like to hear your impressions. Did you stick with the stock cadence sensor? I have one on order with the torque sensor upgrade but won't be in stock until mid-august :(

Josiah Harlow
10 months ago

After about a month of researching electric bikes under $2000 I have decided to order this one based heavily on your review. I test rode a regular crosscurrent and decided to get the torque sensor upgrade for the Air. This really does seem to be the best value for a multi speed electric bike.

[__________________]
10 months ago

What a dickhead! You consistently talk over the guy, is that your idea of review? I quickly unsubscribed before the video was over.

Christopher Railwah
11 months ago

Hey where can I pick this up in New York ?

Raarz
11 months ago

Love almost everything about the bike and planning to get one. The only big turnoff for me is the ugly welds. See around 9:57 what I mean. It got me considering the regular CrossCurrent, but I realized it also has those ugly welds. So I will end up going with this and try to not let that little cosmetic issue eat at my OCD.

Maxi Putt
12 months ago

hey can anyone help me please ? i live in europe and i would like to buy this bike ... how can i get this bike? anyone who has bought this bike in europe? thanks for the best review @ electricbikereview

linkguy30
1 year ago

bike looks really awesome but I couldn't understand any of the terminology lol