Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S Review

Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Electric Bike Review
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S 8fun 650 Watt Internally Geared Hub Motor
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S 48 Volt Lithium Ion Battery Pack Removable Two Bottle Cage Mounts
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Clean Handlebar Trigger Throttle On Left
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Velo Ergonomic Grips Liandian Lcd Display
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Sr Suntour Nex Coil Suspension Fork With Lockout
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S External Wiring And Cables For Serviceability
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Tektro Hydraulic Disc Brakes With 180 Mm Rotors
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S 9 Speed Shimano Altus Drivetrain
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Custom Rear Rack With Rear Reflector
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Selle Royal Lookin Gel Saddle
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Electric Bike Review
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S 8fun 650 Watt Internally Geared Hub Motor
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S 48 Volt Lithium Ion Battery Pack Removable Two Bottle Cage Mounts
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Clean Handlebar Trigger Throttle On Left
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Velo Ergonomic Grips Liandian Lcd Display
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Sr Suntour Nex Coil Suspension Fork With Lockout
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S External Wiring And Cables For Serviceability
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Tektro Hydraulic Disc Brakes With 180 Mm Rotors
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S 9 Speed Shimano Altus Drivetrain
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Custom Rear Rack With Rear Reflector
Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S Selle Royal Lookin Gel Saddle

Summary

  • A high-speed, feature complete, value priced electric bike that comes in four frame sizes, high-step and mid-step frame style, and three colors
  • Relatively comfortable thanks to fatter tires, a suspension fork with compression slider and lockout, Velo ergonomic grips, and a Selle Royal gel saddle
  • Full-length plastic fenders with mud flaps and a custom rear rack with pannier hangers, blockers, and bungee loops add utility but also stay fairly quiet
  • Heavier than I expected at ~57.4 lbs but the powerful 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes also include motor inhibitors to cut power instantly, multiple battery size options let you go further, custom-tuned geared motor is compact but powerful, smooth, and quiet

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Juiced Bikes

Model:

CrossCurrent S

Price:

$1,699

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Battery, 2 Year Mechanical, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20172018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

57.4 lbs (26.03 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.2 lbs (3.26 kg) (11.3 lb for 17.4 and 21.0)

Motor Weight:

8.4 lbs (3.81 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16.5 in (41.91 cm)18 in (45.72 cm)20 in (50.8 cm)22 in (55.88 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

High-Step 16.5: 16.5" Seat Tube, 23" Reach, 28.5" Stand Over Height, 27.25" Width, 74" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step, Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Brushed Aluminum, Gloss Red, Matte Black

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour NEX Coil Suspension, 63 mm Travel, Compression Adjust with Lockout, 100 mm Hub Length, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

138 mm Hub Length (142 Dropout), 10 mm Threaded Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Two Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

9 Speed 1x9 Shimano Altus Derailleur, 11-32T Cassette

Shifter Details:

Shimano Altus Mega-Lite Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Prowheel Forged Alloy Cranks, 175 mm Length, 52 Tooth Chainring, Alloy Outer Guard

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform, Black

Headset:

Neco, Sealed Cartridge, Threaded 1-1/8"

Stem:

Promax, 80 mm Length, 7° Rise, 31.8 mm Handlebar Clamp

Handlebar:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy, Low-Rise, 680 mm Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Dual Piston Calipers, Tektro 3-Finger Levers with Motor Inhibitors and Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Velo Ergonomic Grips, Locking

Saddle:

Selle Royal Lookin Gel

Seat Post:

Promax Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Stars, Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, 36 Hole, Reinforcement Eyelets, Flat Black

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 12 Gauge Rear Spokes, 13 Gauge Front Spokes, Black with Adjustable Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda K1088, 28" x 1-5/8" x 1-3/4" (700x45c)

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

50 to 85 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Bikeman Plastic Fenders with Rubber Mud Flaps, Custom Alloy Rack with Pannier Hangers (25kg / 55 lb Max Weight), Integrated Custom LED Headlight (1050 Lumens), Independent Selle Royal Saddle Connection Backlight, Optional 20 mph Speed Limiter for Class 2 (Canada, Australia), Optional 8 Amp Quick Charger from Grin Technologies ($299, Only for Big Battery Options)

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.7 lb 2 Amp Charger, 15 Amp Controller Output, 20 Amp Pure Sine Wave Controller, Threaded Sealed Electronic Connectors

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

8Fun

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

650 watts

Motor Peak Output:

960 watts

Battery Brand:

LG 18650

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

12.8 ah (Optional 17.4 or 21.0)

Battery Watt Hours:

614.4 wh (Optional 835.2 or 1008)

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

6.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Estimated Max Range:

100 miles (161 km)

Display Type:

Liandian, Fixed, Monochrome, Matrix LCD

Readouts:

Voltage, Battery Capacity (9 Bars), Current Speed, Assist Level (Eco, 1, 2, 3, Sport), Watts, Odometer, (Advanced Menu: Amps, Watt Hours, Amp Hours, Temperature)

Display Accessories:

Integrated Button Pad (Power, +, -), Hold + for Lights, Hold - for Walk Mode, Hold + and - for Settings, Press Power and + for Advanced Menu

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (TMM4 Torque Sensor, High Definition Hall Cadence Sensor)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph) (20 MPH Throttle Only)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Juiced Bikes began as an ebike conversion battery company way back in 2009 but quickly branched into unique long-range cargo bikes and eventually went mainstream with a cruiser, a fat bike and line of active city bikes called CrossCurrent. The CrossCurrent S is their premium model with all the bells and whistles you need to transport cargo, stay dry, and be seen. For this review, I was able to meet with the founder of Juiced, Tora Harris, and pick his brain about the different hardware choices and performance of the product. He explained that the CrossCurrent Air is the most affordable but basic, the standard CrossCurrent is a good value but also brings comfort and improved performance, and they were getting feedback from customers who were trying to add their own lights, fenders, and racks… so they decided to find the best accessories they could, and boost motor power from 500 watts to 650 watts nominal, and call it the S. Perhaps that stands for Speed or Sport, the display system also has an S in it and that’s the highest power mode. What stood out to me about this particular electric bike is that it can be had in four frame sizes, two styles (high-step or an easier to approach mid-step that maybe isn’t quite as stiff and doesn’t have bottle cage bosses), and three colors. I got to test ride and film the Small high-step in brushed Aluminum… but the classic Red and Black are good options too. I love how the fenders, rack, rims, spokes, motor casing, chainring guard, and battery pack are all black and thoughtfully sized and attached. The rear fender, for example, connects with a pair of struts and an anchor beneath the rack. The rack has a flat plate on top so trunk bags won’t sag or slide to one side or another, and it has standard-gauge pannier clip rods, blockers, and bungee loops at the base. There’s a sense that details have been scrutinized with this product, there are hardware parts that I have never seen on other bikes, and they make sense. A good example of this is the combined torque + cadence sensor which provides a smooth, fluid feel vs. an on/off feel. Tora told me that they use a “high resolution” 104 sensor design to measure cadence vs. the 10 or 12 magnet bottom bracket designs I usually see on cheap e-bikes. Juiced put the sensor near the rear wheel and allows you to completely disable torque sensing by using the display panel (enter settings by holding + and – simultaneously) which would allow you to pedal without force to activate the motor… a neat feature for people with sensitive knees. Of course, you can override pedal assist with the trigger throttle at all times and be propelled up to 20 mph. If you pedal, the bike can reach ~28 mph in S mode. For those who do not wish to go so fast, either to conserve power or feel safer, you can set a maximum top speed. In this review, I was able to dig deep into the product because I had the founder of the company, and the designer of the bike (who is a mechanical and aerospace engineer who graduated from Princeton) on hand. In some ways, that’s not fair to other reviews that I do on my own. There are a lot of great products out there and I found many cons or “considerations” with this bike such as no slap guard or chain keeper, a heavier footprint at ~57 lbs for the small, and slightly messier looking externally routed cables. But even that choice, Tora said was made to facilitate easier maintenance. This is an electric bike that you can find at some independent dealers, but Juiced also sells direct. I performed this review at the Electric Bicycle Center in Fullerton during an open house event and the owner, Sam Townsend, has stocked Juiced products for many years and provided his feedback about quality. In 2017, Juiced Bikes did have some issues with their newer CrossCurrent Air and OceanCurrent but the comprehensive one-year warranty and incremental updates to hardware design seem to have resolved that. Tora speaks multiple languages including Mandarin, and spends a lot of time at their factory in China making sure the details are correct. In short, this is one of my top pics for a value priced, do-everything, sort of bike… as long as you don’t mind the physical weight and possibly a time wait too because the product was backordered at the time of this review.

Powering the Cross Current S is a planetary geared hub motor spoked into the rear wheel with thicker 12 gauge spokes. The front wheel uses 13 Gauge spokes, which is still thicker than average, and Tora explained that this was a design choice made to support the higher speed and power of the bikes. The hub motor is apparently custom specced by Juiced and built by 8Fun (the in-house brand from Bafang). It offers 650 watts of nominal power vs. 500 watts on the other CrossCurrent models, and can peak around 960 watts. Visually, it is surprisingly compact and almost hidden behind the 9-speed cassette on the starboard side and 180 mm disc brake rotor on the port side of the bike (right and left sides respectively). You can definitely hear some electronic whirring noises as speed and power are increased. It’s on-par with other geared hub motors I have tested and 8Fun is a brand I know and trust… at least as a mid-level supplier. The benefits of a geared hub are lighter weight, smaller size, and independence from the pedaling systems. You won’t have to worry as much about chain, sprocket, and derailleur wear as shifting gears is independent of the motor. You can even sit back, not pedal, and use the throttle alone to get going or stay moving. Tora explained that in pedal assist mode, you can reach a desired speed and hold the minus key on the control pad to activate cruise control, and the bike will go all on its own. At least until you pull one of the brake levers. Both of them have motor inhibitors which instantly cut power to the drive system. It’s a nice feature to see here considering that a lot of torque or multi-sensing electric bikes are now foregoing this feature. It adds a bit of clutter to the wires at the front of the bike, but I’m glad it’s there. And the brakes are hydraulic, which tend to be easier to actuate and have adjustable levers for smaller or gloved hands. One sensitivity I have about the drive system is that the power cable running to the motor protrudes a bit on the right side near the dropout. This is not at all uncommon, but it could get bent or snagged here vs. being tucked in. I have seen metal derailleur guards used on some electric bikes to shield the derailleur, shifter cable, and motor cables like this, but Juiced does not include that. They do however, offer special tools to help you remove the rear wheel if you need to fix a flat. And this is another area where some improvements could be made. The stock tires seemed average because they do not have reflective sidewall stripes or puncture protection. Juiced does sell upgrades and you can find your own pretty affordably online, I’ve had good experiences with the Schwalbe Marathon Plus, but you’ll still have to install them yourself. At least with the brushed Aluminum paint job, you have a more visible bike even without upgraded tires.

Powering the bike and an ugly but capable 1,000 lumen headlight is one of three battery options! They’re all 48 volts but offer 12.8 amp hours, 17.4 ah or 21.0 ah depending on how much you want to spend. Weight jumps up quite a bit from the stock 7.4 lb pack to something like 11.3 lbs for the larger ones. I like how these packs seat into the downtube, keeping weight low and centered across the frame. And I appreciate the little LED readout for charge level, the sleek handle rod thing on the left side (useful for carrying the battery after it’s off), and I would appreciate the USB charging port on the right side of the pack… if it weren’t disabled. This is one of the finicky sides of the “custom everything” Juiced approach. Tora said he wasn’t happy with the USB ports because he believed that they sometimes allowed the battery to drain slowly when not in use (which can damage the cells) and that some owners of older Juiced products felt that their phones might have been damaged. Whatever the reasons, this port is disabled, which is a bummer considering how much juice is in some of the packs! My other gripe has to do with the charging port location. It’s low and on the left side of the frame which is very close to the left crank arm. This could lead to a snag, tipped bike, and bent charging cord plug. Again, this charging port location, and even the sometimes-difficult rubber cover, is commonly found on electric bikes and in many ways it’s a minor issue. The stock charger puts out a very average 2 Amps which can fill the stock pack in ~6 hours, and the settings menu actually allows you to set a cutoff voltage value for the pack so it won’t undercharge and stress the cells. Apparently the default is 40 volts. This is neat, it’s the kind of thing that also exists with other e-bike systems but that you don’t get access to. Juiced is working with Grin technologies and sells their fancier 8 Amp charger as an upgrade, for those who want extra speed and control when filling the larger batteries.

Operating the CrossCurrent S is intuitive once you find the power button. Juiced Bikes is using an LCD display panel that I have never seen before this review and the on/off rubber button is behind the screen vs. in front where you could see it when looking down. Here, you have a + and – key to raise and lower assist levels from Eco, 1, 2, 3, and S. In any of those levels, and at all times when the bike has been powered on, the throttle is active. And as mentioned before, it gives you full power! So please, be careful not to bump that throttle, pay close attention when you stop the bike to actually turn it off before dismounting or moving it. Keep one hand on the brake to activate that motor inhibitor as another safety precaution. With great power comes great responsibility and I wouldn’t have this throttle design any other way because I love blasting off from stop signs and traffic signals by using the throttle… but I have also had more than one occasion where the bike lurched forward accidentally when I forgot that it was turned on and bumped the throttle. Some other useful tips for this display and control layout are that you can hold the + button to turn on the headlight, hold the – button to activate a slow walk-mode which helps to move a heavily loaded bike, a bike with a flat tire, or just get you up a hill without having to push. If you hold the + and power button, a special “advanced” screen turns on and shows you more technical readouts. I was pretty happy with the default screen which has a 9-bar battery infographic which is much more precise than the usual 4-bar or 5-bar readouts. Assist level, speed, and trip stats are show well but the display is a bit compact and could be difficult for some riders to see. It does not swivel forward and back to reduce glare like many larger center-mounted displays, and it is not removable. This means that it will take more weather wear and scratches at racks over time. But, Juiced has opted for threaded connectors with rubber washers to make screen and brake inhibitor replacement easy… and to keep out water and just hold up better over time.

In conclusion, I love what Juiced has done with this product. I hope it doesn’t have the little issues that some CrossCurrent Air and OceanCurrent models die. It’s great to hear that they updated their packaging to offer more protection, and that you only have to mount the front wheel (which uses quick release) if you order this and receive it direct from the company vs. a shop. For me, it was a delighter to see two bottle cage bosses on the high-step frame, but it sounds like this is not present on the step-thru. I would love to have an integrated rear light (like the headlight which runs off the battery pack) but at least they give you a clip-on saddle mounted light. I mentioned earlier that to me, the headlight is a bit ugly, but it’s also mounted to the suspension post arch, the part of the suspension that goes up and down vs. the head tube or handlebars which are steadied, and this could lead to bouncier lighting and possibly loosening of the light over time. It could be a non-issue, especially on smooth terrain, but it’s something I think about given the speed of the bike and my own tendency to ride across grass and packed dirt trails on occasion. Not only has Juiced Bikes made a lot of great choices on the hardware for this product, they invented new solutions to fit the utility and pricing goals set out. This is still what I would consider to be an affordably priced electric bike at under $2k given all of the accessories. You could certainly buy the CrossCurrent Air and suffer without suspension, but adding your own fenders, rack, lights etc. probably won’t look as good or work as well as this… and not everyone wants to get their hands dirty or spend their free time setting stuff up verses enjoying it. With the addition of a decent seat post suspension like the Suntour NCX, I could see myself enjoying this product and getting to work more quickly and more enjoyably than by car. The long-range batteries make it possible and the reasonable price makes me more willing to deal with scratches and wear than a super-fancy $3k+ electric bike (of which there are many). Big thanks to Tora for partnering with me on this review, meeting me at the special ebike event, and being willing to take some direct questions about quality and design. He’s a smart, honest guy from what I can tell and his company seems to be growing a lot since the early days in 2013 when I first saw his products.

Pros:

  • I feel that this bike offers incredible value, whether you get the stock battery or upgrade, you always have a rack, fenders, lights, and a solid year-long warranty from a company that has been around since 2009
  • Juiced Bikes tends to refine their products over time, even throughout the season, and I noticed with the CrossCurrent S that electrical connectors were threaded with rubber seals for better durability and water protection, the seat tube is one inch lower to accommodate seat post suspension units (which add ~3 inches of height”
  • So many electric bikes have mid-mounted kickstands that get in the way of the left crank arm (and there is a mounting plate on this bike if you want that, or maybe add a double-leg kickstand like this, aftermarket), but I like how the CrossCurrent S has a more rear mounted stand by default, it is positioned far enough back to stay clear but not so far that it sticks out the back or gets in the way of the disc brake caliper mount, the stand itself is adjustable length and seemed higher quality
  • Unique and functional rear rack with pannier rods and blockers, a bungee loop at the base, and a flat plate on top for supporting a trunk bag like this
  • I almost couldn’t believe that the high-step Cross Current S has two sets of bottle cage bosses?! More and more ebikes are adding these, but so many bikes only have room for one set and I think they are very useful for putting a mini-pump, folding lock, or easily accessible liquids without having to buy and load up a bag, note that their mid-step frame does not have room for these bosses
  • Available in four frame sizes, high-step and accessible mid-step frame styles, as well as three sporty colors! I like the brushed Aluminum silver look but red is fun and the black will mesh with the wires and battery a bit nicer
  • The combination of battery size options and high-speed Class 3 ~28 mph pedal assist performace as well as throttle override makes this bike versatile, functional for commuters, and just plain fun… go for a larger pack if you plan on riding fast frequently because air really resistance cuts into range above 20 mph
  • You get a 1,000 lumen integrated LED headlight stock! that’s nice for utility and safety, a lot more convenient than an aftermarket light that you have to remember to turn on/off or risk getting stolen because it’s not bolted down
  • The 8Fun hub motor used here was custom specced by Juiced Bikes and offers a whopping 650 to 960 watts of power, even though the casing is so small and compact, I was really impressed with how fluid and powerful it felt (though I only weigh ~135 lbs), it did feel like an upgrade over the standard CrossCurrent which uses a 500 watt motor
  • The plastic fenders used on this bike are wide, have flexible rubber flaps at the ends, and didn’t rattle as much as I had expected because they have additional struts and attachment points (specifically, on the rear rack for the rear fender)
  • I didn’t get to see the rear light, but apparently it comes with and clips into the Selle Royal saddle, this is nice to have but be careful that your long shirt or coat doesn’t drape down over it, or that you forget to turn it off because it’s an independent light vs. the headlight which is wired in, it’s nice that you get two lights here but consider adding a light to the back of your backpack, helmet, or trunk bag like this that clips on
  • The bike rode comfortably because of the slightly fatter tires, suspension fork (with compression slider and lockout), ergonomic locking grips from Velo, and the name-brand gel saddle from Selle Royale, consider swapping out the seat post with a 27.2 mm suspension post from Suntour or BodyFloat for added comfort on your back and neck, and maybe a ShockStop stem for your wrists and arms if you ride fast and travel on a lot of bumpy terrain or are just sensitive like me
  • In recent years, it seems like more brands are foregoing motor inhibitors on their brake levers… because fancier sensor systems, the Juiced CrossCurrent S does have a torque + cadence sensor and yet they also still include motor inhibitors for an added level of control over the bike, the levers also provide adjustable reach which is nice if you have smaller hands or wear gloves sometimes
  • The bike felt really solid, notice the reinforcement eyelets on the rims so they don’t crack, and the slightly thicker 12 and 13 gauge spokes, the larger BMX style alloy platform pedals which feel stiff and won’t let you slip off as easily, I appreciate the black rims, spokes, and motor casing that all match and just look more refined and polished
  • The drivetrain is pretty good for a value priced electric bike, nine speeds with a lower-end Shimano Altus derailleur (but not the lowest) and you a stronger chain, trigger shifters with a double-click downshifter, and a sturdy alloy chain guard to protect the massive 52 tooth chainring and keep your pants clear and clean
  • I love that Juiced Bikes offers an optional 8 Amp battery charger because the larger packs would otherwise take 7+ hours with the standard 2 Amp charger
  • There are nine ticks on the battery infographic which is more than the standard 4 or 5 I usually see, and this provides more insight into how full the battery actually is, the finer increments give you like ~11% jumps vs. 25% or 20%
  • If you have to walk the bike (like if you’ve got the rack loaded with groceries, the terrain gets bumpy, or maybe you get a flat tire) the walk mode becomes very useful, this is a ~57 lb e-bike after all! Just hold the minus button on the control pad to activate it
  • It’s neat that you can adjust so much in the settings menu of this electric bicycle, just hold the + and – buttons to enter settings and then choose the top speed (you could lower it from 28 to 20 mph for efficiency or safety), power limit, even have the ability de-activate the torque sensor so you only have to turn the cranks and not push in order to activate assist, and you can also set the low voltage cutoff to save the battery from completely discharging (the default is 40 volts according to Tora
  • Apparently, the cadence sensor is built into the rear torque plate and has 104 measure points vs. just 12 on most ebikes, the cadence and torque sensors on this bike make it very responsive and fluid feeling

Cons:

  • The shifter cables, electrical wires, and hydraulic brake lines are all tacked onto the bottom of the downtube vs. internally routed, this means the bike isn’t as clean looking and there’s a bit more potential for snags but Tora explained that it makes their products much easier to service
  • I have heard from some customers in 2017 that the Juiced CrossCurrent Air and OceanCurrent arrived with some issues… but I asked Tora about this on camera and I though this response was very honest and aware, he said they have improved their packaging and are are working to resolve and eliminate this sort of thing in the future (issues had to do with shifter cables, disc brake mount consistency, and maybe a crank/bottom bracket thing)
  • As nice as the light is, the design is a bit less stylish than the rounded Aluminum-cased Supernova and Spanninga lights I have seen, it is also mounted to the suspension post arch which travels up and down… the light is not suspended on the bike and therefore may bounce as you travel over rough terrain
  • Apparently the 5 Volt USB A port near the top right side of the battery pack has been disabled, I asked Tora about this and he said there had been concerns about phantom power draw and they wanted to protect the cells… as a consumer, this would have been nice to have if it could be made to work, USB ports are handy for charging phones, lights, and music players while on the go, or used for backup power when parked at home if the lights go out or something
  • The tires seemed kind of basic to me… no puncture protective lining or reflective sidewall stripes, consider upgrading to something like the Schwalbe Marathon Plus eventually if you’re into that, changing a flat on an ebike is no fun and only the front wheel offers quick release
  • The CrossCurrent S is heavy, at 57.4 lbs for the smaller 16.5″ frame (which I tested and weighed) you can really tell that the larger battery, coil fork, and overbuilt rack add weight… but at least the battery and front wheel are removable
  • Minor consideration, there’s inner chain guide plate or chain catcher so it sounds like over time if the derailleur goes out of tune, you could have the chain drop off occasionally, Tora said there wasn’t room for a chain guide because of the shorter “RC” or chainstay lengths which make the bike handle quicker and feel more nimble vs. a long stretched out bike
  • Take extra care when charging the battery while it’s mounted to the bike frame because the charging port is located very close to the left crank arm and could be snagged or bent if the pedals got turned, also, the rubber cap that covers the charging port on this type of pack can sometimes be difficult to seat (though it was not for this particular model during my review)
  • Minor complaint, there’s no slap guard on the right chainstay! Tora said they might add it in the future when I pointed this out during the video, note that you can use clear masking tape or buy a sticker slap guard inexpensively online like this, if you have the red or black frame, nicks from the chain might appear silver because of the Aluminum underneath as the paint chips over time in this spot
  • As with most planetary geared hub motors, there was some electronic whirring noise produced when the motor was really working, I wouldn’t call it especially loud but it does deliver higher speeds and more power than average so the sound can become noticeable (as shown in the video review ride test above)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Juiced Bikes Reviews

Juiced Bikes OceanCurrent Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable high-speed cruiser electric bike, available in traditional cantilever high-step or relaxed mid-step for easy mounting, choice of five fun colors including traditional black or red. Excellent frame balance, the downtube battery keeps weight low and center, the compact hub motor…...

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Air Review

  • MSRP: $1,195
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable speed pedelec with high-definition cadence sensor, mechanical disc brakes and a nine-speed Shimano Altus drivetrain, it's well balanced and relatively light weight. Removable battery and quick release front wheel make it easier to lock securely and fill-up…...

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An affordably priced speed pedelec that's well balanced, not too heavy and available in three frame sizes for a good fit, you can also upgrade the battery size. Comes stock with a powerful 48 volt battery but lower 7.8 amp hours, uses a…...

Juiced Bikes ODK U500 V3 Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

A sturdy, high torque, cargo style electric bike with enormous range thanks to a 48 volt 15 amp hour battery pack with premium Panasonic Lithium-ion cells. Powerful 500 watt internally geared front hub motor by 8Fun, benefits from a smaller wheel…...

Juiced Bikes ODK U500 Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

A sturdy, thoughtfully designed cargo bike with a low center of gravity that's easy to mount and handle. Super strong 500 watt front hub motor paired with 48 volt Lithium Manganese battery pack...


Dewey
2 weeks ago

Thank you Court for describing the features and improvements over the earlier models. I think it would be helpful to mention the user can change power settings in the LCD display between Class 2, 3 and an “off-road mode” that on pavement can propel the Cross Current S to over 30mph as illustrated in this promotional video. Without a VIN number an ebike usually cannot be registered or titled at the DMV and would not be insurable, so even if it were legal to ride on the street >30mph a rider may still be in violation of state motor vehicle code/traffic/driving regulations that were written to require mopeds and motorcycles meet federal motor vehicle safety standards, be titled, registered, and insured, in order to be legally operable on street.

Reply
Court Rye
2 weeks ago

Interesting, we only talked about the 28 mph to 20 mph (or lower) adjustability. Thanks for the clarification that this bike can go even faster in some cases and that they have some great video resources. It was neat to speak directly with Tora and I am wishing them the best with these new models and shipping process.

Reply
John G.
1 week ago

I’m probably going to go for this model once I have saved the necessary funds, as it seems like the perfect commuter/weekend joyrider ebike, and I love the colors and shape. However, you would think an eight-year-old company that has been in the ebike game for quite some time now would have the means of meeting customer demand in a much more timely fashion, and not have people willing to fork over nearly $2000 of their hard-earned money waiting for two to three months for their bike. Essentially, Juiced should have had many more times the available stock of CC-S models than were ordered prior to their August 2017 delivery. As it stands now, an order placed today is slated (liberally) for delivery in November. Other ebike manufacturers are offering very similar products available on-demand. I work for a small company, but we must have millions of dollars of credit available to us so that we can purchase against our future invoiced services. It boggles my mind that Juiced isn’t ordering at least twice as many bikes as have been ordered. I suspect that they will HAVE to do this in the future. I met a stranger a few weeks ago who’d been on an ebike research campaign very similar to my own, and we independently arrived at the CC-S as the ideal bike, and but for the multiple-month period (Fall being PRIME biking weather in the mid-Atlantic), it very much is. C’mon Juiced, get your shipping/stocking issues together!

Reply
Court Rye
1 week ago

I hear you John… and it must be frustrating to see that demand (from Juiced Bike’s perspective) but not meet it. Maybe they are being cautious due to some of the issues on the CrossCurrent Air and OceanCurrent models? Maybe Tora doesn’t want to take on debt or investors? Difficult to say, but I have found myself choosing other products based on availability before, even if the bike isn’t as good, at least I can enjoy it while the weather is good etc. I’m wishing them the best of luck and feel that their designs and product choices are great as you and your friend thought as well.

Reply
Bill L
1 week ago

Over the summer we researched the Ebikes and watched so many of your reviews which gave us a sense of what’s available and what questions to ask. Locally, test drove many of the big name Ebikes. We were disappointed in the power and uneven delivery power. SO, In the end, we decided to buy the CrossCurrent S sight unseen. We watched all of Tora’s videos which gave us a good idea what to expect.

The most important point you made in the review is the combination of the “Torque sensor and high resolution cadence sensor” providing a smooth bike like ride which is so true. Also, the bike is really quiet. I believe your camera microphone was picking up more sound than what you’re really hearing in person. The bike is actually fairly quiet. My wife and I ordered two bikes in mid July. They had plenty bikes sizes and colors to choose from. Tora is making a feature rich bike that people want at an affordable price. I think there sales have recently mushroomed.

Our CrossCurrent S arrived today. It took me about 30+ minutes (each) to assemble them. It was a fairly straight forward process. This evening my wife and I chased each other up some steep grades in our Colorado neighborhood. It was a real blast. Our first impression is an “A” for awesome. I appreciate your advice here at EBR. You were a big help.

Reply
Court Rye
1 week ago

Hi Bill! Thanks for expanding on how fluid and quiet the drive system is. I agree that the torque and cadence combination really produces a sweet ride. I visit Colorado frequently, there are indeed some steep grades if you’re in the foothills or mountains. So glad my work here has helped out out, thank you so much for chiming in to share… and you are invited to continue sharing as the products are used long-term and more insights pop up :)

Reply
Nick
1 week ago

Your reviews are incredibly helpful and I am highly impressed by the quality and price of the CrossCurrent S! One feature I would like to learn more about is the available option” of GPS Integration for the Super and Hyper Extended Battery Packs, allowing the owner to track the bikes location and recover it if stolen. This sounds amazing! Could you comment more on this and let folks know if this feature is included automatically with the extended batteries, needing only activation, or is it a feature that must be requested at the time of purchase, and how does that process work?

Reply
Court Rye
4 days ago

Hi Nick, I just heard back from Tora about the GPS thing and he said: “The GPS system is the same one that we use on some of our delivery e-bikes. Because we make our own battery packs we made room to fit the GPS module inside the battery. Sorry we just have not had enough time to promote it, but all the big battery packs have the hardware connection to do it already. The GPS has a SIM card and sends data over the cell network. It send live updates of the location every min when the bike is moving. You can see this information on a map in real time. It also has an app. You can set geo fence notifications, speed limit notification, motion trigger notification. You can find the bike if it gets stolen since it pinpoints like down to 10 feet. The Cost is not set yet, but in the $200 something dollar upgrade. You get one year free monitoring, with unlimited notifications. After the first year its 5 bucks a month.” Hope that helps! Great question Nick :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

James Sorenson
5 hours ago

I quick note for a spoke test: just run your fingers across them like you are strumming a guitar. If you hear any spokes with excessively high or low tones, then you need to "level the load" with their neighboring spokes so that the rim stays true but the tension load is distributed properly. My CrossCurrent had a few poorly adjusted spokes that I needed to redistribute. Now I've been riding it since February without snapping a single one.

Now...flat tires. I'd love to hear how to solve THAT issue. I need stronger tires to protect the tubes, it seems.

BallzOne
9 hours ago

If anyone wants an extra charger I'll sell the one that comes standard with the CCS for $50 shipped fedex 2-day. I have and only use the Grin charger.

https://shop.juicedbikes.com/collections/accessories/products/juiced-bikes-crosscurrent-charger-2a

4magoo
1 day ago

Hi everyone anyone living in south california that would be interested in meeting up with the owner of sirraebike in California for juice bike upgrades controller motor lcd etc. I recently purchased a sondors fold x and found a site that sold such upgrades and purchased them. I spoke to him via email and he would be interested in seeing if he can provide the upgrades for the juice crosscurrent and air. But he would like to look at a bike first crosscurrent or crosscurrent air with the 350 motor. He's in south Cali any takers that would like to meet with the owner so he can see the bike.

The place is sierraebike
The owners name is kyle
Location South California

By the way im a crosscurrent air owner with a 350 motor i dont believe its fair to the buyer that the next batch had the upgraded motors controllers and lcds the buyers should have had been informed that these upgrades were occurring . Im in the Northeast

4magoo
1 day ago

Hi everyone would anyone be interested in finding a company in California for juice bike upgrades controller motor lcd etc. I recently purchased a sondors fold x and found a site that sold such upgrades and purchased them. I spoke to him via email and he would be interested in seeing if he can provide the upgrades for the juice crosscurrent and air. But he would like to look at a bike first crosscurrent or crosscurrent air with the 350 motor. He's in south Cali any takers that would like to meet so he can see the bike.

The place is sierraebike and the persons name is kyle

By the way im a crosscurrent air owner with a 350 motor i dont believe its fair to the buyer that the next batch had the upgraded motors controllers and lcds the buyers should have had informed that these upgrades were occurring .

SorenK
2 days ago

Hi all-
I'm getting close to purchasing my first ebike, likely Crosscurrent S. I'm 6'1" and looking at their sizing chart, I would get either a Large or X-Large. Any suggestions on which one to pick? I'd rather have a more 'relaxed' ride than aggressive riding position if that makes a difference.
Any feedback greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Rooster
2 days ago

finally cxld my order - they're not even on the website anymore, yet they are standard on the CC-S now as well as the HyperFat..... what's up with that???

This display was one of the reasons I bought a CrossCurrent - now it's not available???
Mike, did you ever get the new controller and LCD display?

jml
4 days ago

Hey!

My dad will be celebrating his 70th birthday next month and my siblings and I are looking to get him an electric bike for a birthday/retirement gift. He's about 6'2" and he definitely prefers an upright ride and really values comfort.

Our budget is around $1,500 (which I know doesn't go too far in this arena), but we're looking for suggestions on what might be the best fit for him. I've done some research, but I'm having a tough time pulling the trigger on anything since I'm brand new to electric bikes and I've never really heard anything of the available brands in that price range.

Some we're considering:

Populo Lift
Crosscurrent Air (replacing the stem wth an adjustable stem to make it more upright)
VoltBike Elegant

Any suggestions would be awesome! Thanks!

Mark Peralta
4 days ago

My budget is pretty high, since I use my bike more than my car. I'd love something that will last a long time. I bought a Sonders ebike for Burning Man and fell in love. It was only $700 and was the most fun I've ever had on a bicycle. So I'm ready to buy one for daily use now. Of course I'd like to spend as little as necessary but would like something nice.

Me: 220 lbs, 6'1", commute about 5 miles round trip daily. I will likely pedal most of the time unless I'm late for a meeting. On weekends is when I'd like to turn on the power, will be riding through the hills on 20 mile rides. Pedal assist would be ideal but would like full power possibly for the ride home.

Any recommendations?
I think you can get 2 ebikes. One hub driven speed pedelec commuter with fenders, and one mid drive full suspension for bombing trails, for a full spectrum of ebike experience. If you can get both with the the same battery the better since you automatically have a spare battery whichever one you use. Like the Volt bike enduro.

https://electricbikereview.com/voltbike/enduro/
and Crosscurrent S

https://electricbikereview.com/juiced-bikes/crosscurrent-s/
Just make sure that the batteries are interchangeable.

Mark Peralta
5 days ago

> the best bang for your buck is a SmartMotion Pacer. Screaming fast,.....

A 500w geared-hub motor can be "screaming fast"? It's as fast as a 500w motor, which isn't. The way mid-drive technology is evolving, hubs are beginning to appear like old school dinosaurs.
Or the $2,700 Smartmotion Catalyst with standard front suspension.

Now, we are coming into a full circle for best value speed pedelec. If the above choices were presented, then I cannot help myself but think that the best value is still the $1,700 Crosscurrent S. Kudos to Tora Harris for making it a reality. However, this is not for the faint of heart since these are all new (new production, new model line up, new equipments, new etc...). Meaning all these "new" things has yet to be fully tested as a whole product.

It's true that the mid drives are making tremendous leap forward and leaving the hub drives like dinosaurs. However, hub drives have their values appreciated on paved roads with small hills for it's drive train durability, ease of shifting, high speed efficiency, and raw speed. With more advanced programming of the controller, the hub drive can be as good as a mid drive in overall efficiency.

1/2
nelzea
5 days ago

Amflautist, I think with your budget you will be able to get an e-bike that you absolutely love.
One thing I will say is that you do need to try out a fair number to find the fit and motor that you like. I tried a number of e-bikes out - Lekkie (bafang mid-drive conversion kit), Moustache (Bosch), Merida, Avanti (Shimano), Kalkhoff, Magnum, Juiced. They all feel very different, especially when it comes to hills - I prefer a more natural feeling pedal assist rather than oomph-off-we-go!! I live at the top of a big hill. It really put me off cycling. No problem with an e-bike.
Anyway, for a number of reasons I ended up with a Juiced Crosscurrent, which is a lot of fun and handles the hills beautifully. I suspect it's not the bike for you - but I'm sure there is one out there.

Edited to add - take a look at Focus bikes - not the older ones which I understand have motor issues - but the newer ones with the Bosch motor. They run very large! I was a Small in the older styles - and the Juiced is a Large and just fits me (is almost too big).

Clay
7 days ago

I canceled my order for a CrossCurrent S yesterday and got a full refund. I decided I can't wait two months for the bike. I also think I'm going to buy something with a mid drive system. I have watched Court's YouTube channel every night for the last few weeks and I still don't know which way to go. I want to stay around 3k. I know interbike is next week and I might find some good deals if I hold out a couple weeks and pick up one of last years models. I would love to get everyone's thoughts on what I should consider. A few things I would like is 28MPH, front fork suspension, decent range. I know that's a lot to ask for the price range but I would love to get your feedback.

I'm going to my local Trek dealer this weekend because they are doing demos all week and have $500 off the powerful 5,7&8.

Clay
7 days ago

Hello all,

I'm Clay, I just recently have gone down the rabbit hole that is electric bikes. I don't currently own an e-bike but had ordered a CrossCurrent S a couple weeks ago. After I thought about it I decided I can't wait two more months for the bike to arrive so I canceled the order. I also decided I think I want a bike with a Bosch mid drive system. So it's back to the drawing board. I look forward to chatting with all of you because I can tell there is a wealth of knowledge in this forum.

Best regards,
Clay

Fran Fabrizio
1 week ago

I think it's pretty apparent at this point that they did not expect to sell out the entire first container as pre-orders. All the language they had on their site during the pre-order period and all that has happened since points to this. They said that all pre-orders would arrive late August and ship soon thereafter, and that all pre-orders would have the upgraded brakes. Clearly they were expecting that pre-orders would only be a fraction of that first shipment. Oops. Growing pains. Will be interesting to see if the company learns from this, which will be shown both in how they handle rollouts of future generations of bikes but also in how they treat those of us who do not have our bikes yet and feel excluded from the brake upgrade that was described.

There's some business 101 going on here. They have a product and price point that has generated high demand and currently has little competition in the market. This is why we're all willing to put up with the headaches - because we want the bike we've decided is the right bike for us and there's nowhere else to go get it at this price. So that's opened an opportunity where a company can currently do things like work connections in China and do some thoughtful design and sourcing of parts and put together a compelling bike package that seriously undercuts the competitor's pricing and entices people to pre-order and be early adopters. That gap will close, it always does - e-bikes will continue to get more popular, tech will get better, part prices will come down as manufacturing increases, and that market opportunity will be harder and harder to exploit. Of course there are companies right now looking at the CrossCurrent S and figuring out how can I assemble that cheaper or build a better bike for the same price? They'll eventually figure it out, then Juiced will need to either have to find a different, less mature segment of the market to attack, or find other ways to differentiate themselves.

This is where good customer service now could pay dividends later. As consumers that's what would make us loyal repeat buyers. On the other hand, it could be a perfectly valid business plan to decide that generating repeat buyers is not a priority and that they're always going to look to ride that wave of bringing the first truly affordable well-spec'ed bikes to different segments of the e-bike market, or some other market altogether, such that they aren't competing with many other products in the marketplace and therefore they will continue to have a customer stream. As a company, they have limited resources and although of course most companies want to do well in all aspects of their business, these niche companies in immature markets rarely have the resources and experience to pull it all off, so they play to their strengths (which in Juiced's case is clearly on the design side). As consumers, we of course want it all - great designs at a great price with great customer service sooner than everyone else. There are very few companies who figure out how to do that well consistently while in immature markets. Once things become more commodity it's relatively easier to do that, and you see lots of market consolidation at that point. There are way too many small e-bike companies right now - the marketplace will work itself out and it will be interesting to observe how that plays out over the next several years.

jharlow77
1 week ago

I had the same battery issue with my Crosscurrent S, with a 21 amp/hour battery, and seem to have come up with a solution. One that has worked for me anyway.

When my bike arrived, I noticed that the hole for where the lock engages on the battery was enlarged, possibly because customers were having issues installing the battery. This may cause the battery to dislodge slightly from the electrical connections on the bike.

After I hit a few bumps on the 1st ride, I lost electric assist. Took the battery out, slammed it back in, hey I have assist again!

Ended up racket strapping the battery to the frame, and this has solved the problem for me. Haven't lost assist again. Im beating the snot out of this battery for a while, THEN complaining to juiced before the warranty runs out and getting a new battery. Don't get angry, get even.
I don't know how it is on the S but the new batch of AIRs have a very tight fitting battery with absolutely no movement when it is installed although since slapping the battery on the side seems to restore power it is possible that this is the culprit. Unfortunately I take the battery off all the time for charging and security when I commute to work so this might be increasing the loose connection and strapping it on would be very inconvenient.

Andrew P.
1 week ago

I had the same battery issue with my Crosscurrent S, with a 21 amp/hour battery, and seem to have come up with a solution. One that has worked for me anyway.

When my bike arrived, I noticed that the hole for where the lock engages on the battery was enlarged, possibly because customers were having issues installing the battery. This may cause the battery to dislodge slightly from the electrical connections on the bike.

After I hit a few bumps on the 1st ride, I lost electric assist. Took the battery out, slammed it back in, hey I have assist again!

Ended up racket strapping the battery to the frame, and this has solved the problem for me. Haven't lost assist again. Im beating the snot out of this battery for a while, THEN complaining to juiced before the warranty runs out and getting a new battery. Don't get angry, get even.

1/1
Official_eBikeSupply
1 week ago

I really like the Crosscurrent S and I'm not familiar with the Magnum. So I'll just offer my 2 cents about pros and cons. I actually think an 8 speed cassette might be a pro over 9 speed cassette. If you're using the motor, you don't need nearly as many gears and as the industry has added gears to the rear cassette they have not made the spacing at the rear wheel wider, so the gears get narrower. That means a 9 speed will wear out faster than an 8 speed. Way back in the day 5 speed cassettes lasted a really long time. Today with 10 speed cassettes they need to be replaced relatively frequently.

I'm not sure I'd agree a suspension seat post is better.

Of course everyone has their own personal preferences. For me, on an electric bike I think a 5 or 6 speed cassette is preferable as it will last a lot longer and with the motor it's a lot easier to find a gear that will allow you to pedal at the cadence you want.

Great Points you have made,

I would say your gearing observation is only true with Mid-Drive Motor Applications. Also the difference in 9 speed vs 8 speed is only 0.3mm. While one could say their is a mechanical advantage to the 8 Speed being wider, 9 Speed is regarded as the most serviceable and best performing platform ever offered in the bike industry.

Both Bikes are great,with a slight preference to the Magnum Metro because of units in circulation & customer satisfaction.

Timpo
1 week ago

I would say Juiced Bikes. I own one and I do not regret it.
I test rode many ebikes, including Stromer ST1 and ST2.

I think the Juiced Bikes offered best bang for buck.
The new CrossCurrent S is awesome for the price and doesn't look bad at all.

BallzOne
2 weeks ago

Are your pictures post tightening fix? I noticed there isn't much space between the front of the rear tire and the back of the crank gear for the 2 cables routed through there and my cables have a little give in that area (although they are not rubbing on either the crank gear nor the rear tire).

I also noticed that my rear cable to the motor has exposed wiring. Is that expected? See picture.

EDIT: I'd be interested to see how the wires on an original CrossCurrent are routed in that area as I can't imagine they made any changes for the S.

My motor wire has the same thing. That's not actually wire showing, it's a spring wrapped around the wire I assume for strain relief as it makes the bend into the axle and hub. I attached a photo of mine with the black plastic cap removed.

My other photo is post-tightening of the cables but I'm still not totally comfortable with it so I may electrical tape the whole bundle together and add an extra zip tie halfway between the two that are already there.

Aside: Mine also came with the E715 brakes.

1/2
mal robot
2 weeks ago

Are your pictures post tightening fix? I noticed there isn't much space between the front of the rear tire and the back of the crank gear for the 2 cables routed through there and my cables have a little give in that area (although they are not rubbing on either the crank gear nor the rear tire).

I also noticed that my rear cable to the motor has exposed wiring. Is that expected? See picture.

EDIT: I'd be interested to see how the wires on an original CrossCurrent are routed in that area as I can't imagine they made any changes for the S.

1/1
Tora Harris
2 weeks ago

I'm trying to find a replacement rim for a crosscurrent. My LBS is having a hard time finding one, and I haven't heard back from juiced. Anyone had any luck finding a rim?

Did you find the rim, we have them in stock?

Nicknick
3 days ago

Received mine (standard battery, Schwalbe tire upgrade). These are my first impressions.

Building the bike

Putting it together was relatively easy using the videos on the juiced site. It's a heavy bike so having someone help while you put on the front tire is nice. Anyone who is comfortable with some basic tools can do this. Don’t forget to tighten the steering.
The front fender and headlight will be added later when Juiced ships the missing parts (in a few days). UPDATE: I put these on, was doable. Headlight is super bright, but does not have any "to the side" visibility like some other headlights do.
I expected this to have a battery operated rear light, but it seems to be a reflector. UPDATE: It has a tiny light in the box. I ordered the Sweethome rec instead which is about 500x more bright.

The good

First of all: this bike looks AWESOME. It is sooo cool. And it looks like a cool bike, not an eBike. The battery design and not having a mid-drive motor helps with that.
All parts you touch feel like high quality. Saddle, shifter, handles, rear rack, bike standard, it's super solid.
Size is perfect for me, so the Juiced size guide seems spot on.
Tires are super wide compared to my regular hybrid bike. They are comfortable, but not as "precise". Great for dealing with potholes, but it'd make me hesitant to get something like the Hyperfat which must have zero “cornering feel".
The brakes are INSANE. So powerful. I've never had disc brakes before, so maybe that's why, but it's easy to skid the tire even though the combined weight of me+bike is like 250lbs.
There is a lot of power. On a straight road I really doubt I’d go above level 2 (levels are ECO,1,2,3,sport). In sport mode I’m flying by everyone at 28mph before I know it. However, I went to find a super steep San Francisco hill (like 25%+) and even in sport mode I’m pedaling hard to help it get up to 10mph, and the throttle does nothing. These are kind of rare hills and on my regular bike I’d have to get off and walk, so I sort of doubt any eBike could do much there. Even electric scooters seem powerless against these hills. UPDATE: I took it up to Twin Peaks (SF tallest point), was doable, though I was still pretty sweaty when I got up there.
The throttle+pedal combo to get a boost when leaving a stoplight is nice. But generally I end up not using the throttle on its own, it just doesn’t give you enough to get that “wheeeeeeee!” feeling, its more fun to pedal and get the boost from that.
No regen, which is awesome. Regenerative braking ruins easy coasting, which the most fun part of biking. :)
You can easily ride this bike with a dead battery. I rode it for a bit while it was turned off, and even though its heavy it would be fine to ride this home for a few miles.

Things Juiced could do in future CrossCurrent S models to make it even better

Putting the battery in is kind of hard. You really need to push it hard while holding the key in "open" position and it feels like more of a hassle than it should be, especially since I’ll be having to do this multiple times a week to charge it. I might try to find a way to make this easier (maybe WD40?).

UPDATE: I think I was doing this wrong. I checked out the EBR review video which has come out since I wrote this review and it actually clicks in without using the key. It needs a bit of muscle but it's no longer a hassle.

I used “walk mode” to get my bike up the stairs. You have to hold the minus button for a while to enable it, which means you just have to stand there for a few seconds with the brakes on so it doesn’t roll back. You also have to hold that button to keep it active, which means that if you let it go, you need to wait a few seconds again to get going. It would have been better if walk mode just put a 5pmh limit on the throttle (which gives you direct power).
AFAIK there is no way to have the light (screen backlight+headlight) on by default. I wish it was “always on” when the bike is on, because there is only upside to more visibility, even during the day. Most new cars are this way too.
There is a short jerky feel in the pedals when you go from peddling to coasting and you move the pedals a bit backwards. It’s like the motor isn’t sure whether to help you or not. Not super bothersome though.
Bell, chain guard, integrated rear light would be nice.

Nice-to-have’s I’d pay extra for:

Frame lock (euro style) for quick stops at the store.
Rear rack strong enough to carry a person.
An anti-theft security code to turn on the bike (maybe have the motor lock the rear wheel without it).
For juiced to put on the Schwalbe tires for me (they did for me as I ordered early, but no longer do this, so you'll have to take it to a LBS to get them put on).

Summary

I'm no expert, so I don’t have a ton to compare this to, but I’ve tried a bunch of other eBikes. Short rides on a Haibike, Gazelle, Stromer ST1 and a longer ride on a Bulls Lacuba Evo 8. The Bulls is the only bike I would consider a similarly great commuting alternative (though its not a speed pedelec), which feels a bit more smooth and has some higher quality parts, but it is $4000, which makes this Juiced CCS a fantastic deal at well under 2k. It would still be a great deal at $2500+ actually.

This bike is great and I'd for Juiced to do well. Looking at the forum comments here they could probably do a bit more “underpromise and overdeliver”, i.e., tell your customers to expect the bike in October, so September comes as a nice surprise. But even then, some people will never be pleased. :)

I’ll update this review in a month or so when I get some more miles on it. But in the meanwhile I’ve ordered one for my wife as well.

UPDATE after 100+ miles: definitely love this bike. I'm excited to ride it every day on my commute. I'm surprised how often I go over 20mph. I didn't expect to care this much, but at this point I'd definitely not buy anything that is not a 28mph speed pedelec. I'm also totally happy with the amount of power. It's rare (few super steep hills) that I wish it had more.
The only thing that is bothersome to me at this point is the weight. With the added u-lock I mounted on, I'm guessing we're at 60lbs+. It's no problem at all when biking, but using any ceiling hook style bike racks, or hauling it up stairs, is a hassle. That said, I'm not sure how much less of a hassle it would be at 50lbs or even 40lbs. And with bikes below that weight you're getting into the Faraday style, which is super entry-level on power and battery. So maybe this is just part of eBike life. :)

TLDR: I love this thing. Would buy again in a heartbeat.

Captain Slow
2 weeks ago

I'm in Canada and been wanting a Crosscurrent S, I had no idea your website existed. What Province are you in?

Captain Slow
2 weeks ago

I never realized it had to be a specific rim. What's so unique about the rims for the Crosscurrent?

Francis Marasigan
3 days ago

Just got 150 milage on my S. Last weekend I rode it on Santa Ana Trails from Norco up to the end trail. 19 miles stretch on one way. I was on Eco mode and occasionally use boost throttle on uphill, running at average speed of 18mph. From full charge I was down on 50% when I reach the end trail. Going back I was conservative on speed of 15 to 18 mph and try to run below 200watts. Once I hit the 47volts, I can feel the assist is very less and on 46v its almost gone. Barely made it back. half a mile left, out from 38 miles total, I was manually pedaling. Something to keep in mind about the range from stock battery🔋 size. Love the bike though, just want to share real life milage.

Juiced Bikes
2 days ago

What do you have the Low voltage set at?

hellraizer44
1 week ago

I was browsing last night on juiced bikes website. I had a few questions with the new Cross Current Air 500 watts 21 amp battery and I was able to chat to with Tora himself. He's the founder CEO of juiced bikes and he's here chatting with me (WOW)! Suffice it to say I will be buying the bike. So excited right now can't wait.

ElectricBikeReview.com
7 days ago

Awesome, Tora is a smart and hard working guy, it's neat when you can interface directly with the people who are making this happen... I felt the same way when we were talking for this review (but also tried to press him on the issues etc. to honor you guys)

slappy76
1 week ago

5:27 Correction: Older Crosscurrents and Older CC Air were 350w. The OCEAN currents and CC Air V2 are 500w. These are 650W.

ElectricBikeReview.com
7 days ago

Thanks!

Ari Wilson
1 week ago

Great review. I got one of these the other day and it is fantastic. My co-workers can't believe I'm going to commute 28 miles round-trip on an electric bike until I show them this bike!

Also, for what it's worth I did notice some front brake rub out of the box. I took it to my LBS and also told them to tighten the rear spokes as I've heard of that being an issue on other CrossCurrent bikes.

Neezy Ko
4 days ago

Front brake rub will happen sometimes with a front quick release wheel if you have to play with the tension nut to get it on and off. Unfortunately that moves the wheel left or right a little.

Ari Wilson
6 days ago

Yes, this is Helen's Cycles in Santa Monica, CA. They recently started selling electric bikes and didn't ask any questions when I brought it in for service.

ElectricBikeReview.com
7 days ago

Nice, thanks for that tip Ari! It sounds like tightening your rear spokes helped with rubbing... hopefully the local shop was easy to work with (price and time wise) were they comfortable servicing an ebike?

Chance Buttars
2 weeks ago

I've been waiting for this review, thanks!!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 week ago

Sure thing, I kept the video unlisted because their inventory has been low and Juiced Bikes requested another week or so of wait time... but a lot of people were asking so I'm glad it has helped you out ;)