Juiced Bikes OceanCurrent Review

Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent Electric Bike Review
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent 500 Watt 8fun Motor
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent 48 Volt Battery
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent Comfortable Cruiser Handlebar
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent Trigger Throttle Led Console Display
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent 180 Mm Mechanical Disc Brake
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent Plastic Chain Guide
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent Motor Cable Cassette Torque Sensor
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent 8 Speed Shimano Acera
Juiced Bikes Ocean Current Step Thru
Juiced Bikes Ocean Current 500 Watt Planetary Geared Hub Motor
Juiced Bikes Ocean Current Removable Downtube Battery Step Thru
Juiced Bikes Ocean Current Rubber Grips Low Step Frame
Juiced Bikes Ocean Current Shimano Revo Grip Shifter
Juiced Bikes Ocean Current Rigid Alloy Fork
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent Kickstand Wellgo Platformpedals
Juiced Bikes Ocean Current Velo Comfort Saddle
Juiced Bikes Ocean Current High Definition Hall Sensor Tmm4 Torque Sensor
Juiced Bikes Ocean Current Kenda Small Block Eight Tires
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent Electric Bike Review
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent 500 Watt 8fun Motor
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent 48 Volt Battery
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent Comfortable Cruiser Handlebar
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent Trigger Throttle Led Console Display
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent 180 Mm Mechanical Disc Brake
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent Plastic Chain Guide
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent Motor Cable Cassette Torque Sensor
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent 8 Speed Shimano Acera
Juiced Bikes Ocean Current Step Thru
Juiced Bikes Ocean Current 500 Watt Planetary Geared Hub Motor
Juiced Bikes Ocean Current Removable Downtube Battery Step Thru
Juiced Bikes Ocean Current Rubber Grips Low Step Frame
Juiced Bikes Ocean Current Shimano Revo Grip Shifter
Juiced Bikes Ocean Current Rigid Alloy Fork
Juiced Bikes Oceancurrent Kickstand Wellgo Platformpedals
Juiced Bikes Ocean Current Velo Comfort Saddle
Juiced Bikes Ocean Current High Definition Hall Sensor Tmm4 Torque Sensor
Juiced Bikes Ocean Current Kenda Small Block Eight Tires

Summary

  • An affordable high-speed cruiser electric bike, available in traditional cantilever high-step or relaxed mid-step for easy mounting, choice of five fun colors including traditional black or red
  • Excellent frame balance, the downtube battery keeps weight low and center, the compact hub motor blends in and offers immediate throttle on demand power as well as torque sensing assist
  • Impressive low price, you can find the OceanCurrent at some dealers to test ride or order online, optional rack and fender set adds utility, solid Wellgo pedals and plastic chain guide
  • Decent mechanical disc brakes, externally routed cables don't look as nice but are easier to work with, limited readouts on the LED display panel vs. LCD computer

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Juiced Bikes

Model:

OceanCurrent

Price:

$1,299

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Cruising

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Battery, 2 Year Mechanical, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

51 lbs (23.13 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.5 lbs (2.49 kg) (6.9 for 10.4 Ah)

Motor Weight:

8.4 lbs (3.81 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

18 in (45.72 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Step-Thru: 18" Seat Tube, 25.5" Reach, 23" Stand Over Height, 76" Length, Cantilever High-Step: 18" Seat Tube, 25.5" Reach, 29" Stand Over Height, 76" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step, Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Gloss Sea Foam, Gloss Greenery, Flat Black, Gloss Red, Matte Army Green

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Aluminum Alloy, 9 mm Axle with Nuts

Frame Rear Details:

10 mm Threaded Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Acera Derailleur, 11-32T Cassette

Shifter Details:

Shimano Revo Grip Shifter on Right

Cranks:

Prowheel Forged Alloy, 170 mm Length, 48 Tooth Chainring, Plastic Chain Guide

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Neco, Threaded 1-1/8"

Stem:

Frank Alloy, Quill, 180 mm Height, 100 mm Length

Handlebar:

Frank Alloy, Cruiser, 27" Length

Brake Details:

Shimano BR-M375 Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotor in Front, 160 mm Rotor in Back, Wuxing Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Flat Rubber

Saddle:

Velo Comfort

Seat Post:

Promax Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Wall, 36 Hole, Flat Black

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 12 Gauge Rear Spokes, 13 Gauge Front Spokes, Silver with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda Small Block Eight, 26" x 2.35"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

30 to 50 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Optional 20 mph Speed Limiter for Class 2 (Canada, Australia), Optional 8 Amp Quick Charger from Grin Technologies ($299)

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.7 lb 2 Amp Charger, 15 Amp Controller Output

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

8Fun

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

720 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung or LG

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8.8 ah (Optional 10.4)

Battery Watt Hours:

422.4 wh (Optional 499.2)

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

King Meter, Fixed LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level (5 Dots), Assist Level (Eco, 1-4, Sport)

Display Accessories:

Sport Button (Jumps to Highest Power), 5 Volt Standard USB Port on Battery

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (TMM4 Torque Sensor, High Definition Hall Cadence Sensor)

Top Speed:

24 mph (39 kph) (Optional 20 mph Limit with LCD)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Juiced Bikes, which used to be called Juiced Riders, is an electric bike company with humble origins and a wicked smart founder. Tora, who helped me with this review, is a former Olympic athlete, multi-language speaking, mechanical engineer, businessman who bounces between Asia and the US to create products like the OceanCurrent we see here. It’s a cruiser style electric bicycle with balanced mid-frame battery, high-speed operation, and pedal assist plus throttle override modes. Many other cruisers in the space have heavy rack-mounted batteries that cause frame flex or feature mid-drive motors that often lack throttle mode. And all of them tend to cost more. Tora describes the Ocean Current cruiser as sporty, which isn’t what you’d expect from a beach cruiser. The large saddle, swept-back bars, and fat tires are all present as expected, but the zippy motor and responsive frame set it apart. It’s a unique take on the category and I thoroughly enjoyed the test ride. One the one hand, it feels like Juiced Bikes tried to do everything with this model… but then again, it doesn’t come standard with fenders or a rear rack (they do offer some basic aftermarket options that are guaranteed to fit for a little extra money). And there are no lights here. What the Ocean Curren lacks in bells and whistles, it makes up for with an extremely low price. And it’s not just an online bike, many shops actually carry this thing! That’s especially useful considering the one-size frame that comes in either cantilever high-step or easier to approach mid-step wave. The bikes are not overly heavy like some other cruisers but the frames are completely rigid, all-Aluminum with a solid fork. At high-speed, they feel steady and solid, in part thanks to the oversized spokes, but they can also pass the bumps of the road through to your body. Consider a seat post suspension to smooth out the ride but note that it will raise the minimum seat height about three inches, which could be too much for petite riders, padded grips might be another comfort option.

Driving the bike is a 500-watt nominal, 720-watt peak, planetary geared hub motor. It’s compact and well supported in the rear wheel with thick 12 gauge spokes. You can really hear it zipping in the video review above as I near the 28 mph top assisted speed in Sport mode… but later on, when riding in the lower three levels of assist, it operates much quieter. Geared hub motors tend to be light and compact, freewheel when coasting and open to throttle operation (as we see here) but aren’t as powerful when starting at low speed. You’ll need to pedal a bit if you weigh more or are starting on an incline. And this is where the advanced torque + cadence sensor comes in. Rather than relying on one type of sensor, Juiced Bikes has combined two to create a fluid feel. It was one of the better pedal assist setups that I have ever seen. Having used TMM4 sensors only, and cadence sensors only… this combination was both quick and less tiring than some competing offerings. And the motor operates completely separate from the drivetrain that you pedal through. That means, there’s less wear happening when you shift gears and the bike can work even if the chain falls off or the pedals get broken somehow. That shouldn’t be an issue however because the chainring has a plastic guide to keep the chain on track and your pants or dress clear and clean. With an eight-speed mid-level Shimano Acera drivetrain, the bike offers a good enough range to climb or accelerate with. Note the larger 48 tooth chainring that slows the cadence, allowing you to pedal comfortably above 20 mph. One vulnerability with the motor is that its power cable protrudes through the right axle. This is also where the shifter cable is passing by. Be careful not to snag or bend those wires, if the bike tips to the right side for example. One mixed thing about the bike is that most of the cables are tacked onto the frame vs. routed through as seen on more expensive bikes. Mechanics appreciate this because it makes service easier (and it can actually make shifting easier if the cables don’t bend as much when going through the frame) but it also doesn’t look as clean and could snag your clothes more readily.

Powering the motor is a 48 volt 8.8 amp hour battery pack. The design is sleek but not as hidden as fully-integrated batteries on the most expensive polished electric bicycles. It brings weight down and forward, balancing out the motor, and allows the top tube on the step-thru model to be lower making it easier to mount. The default battery can be upgraded for even higher capacity if you plan to ride further or use more energy hauling a heavier load. Notice how the black battery casing matches the saddle, bars, grips and fork. I was a little surprised that the forks are all painted black vs. matching the bright fun colors of the frame… but it probably saves money and does blend well enough. Anyway, the battery can be charged on or off the bike and automatically locks when pressed into place. There’s a lever on the left side that pulls out in order to unclip the pack (once the locking core is unlocked) and I found that this lever is useful as a handle to carry it around. Lithium-ion batteries like this tend ot last a long time and offer a good weight to power ratio. The battery is the single most expensive part of the bike so make sure you order the appropriate size the first time. The larger packs don’t add much weight and will tend to last longer as they may not be fully cycled with each ride. Store your battery in a cool, dry location and keep it at ~80% if you plan to not use it for a month or two.

Operating the OceanCurrent is quick and easy. Some of the older ebikes required a two-step on/off process where you’d insert and turn the key or press a power button on the pack before pressing a second button on the display… but that’s not the case here. Once the battery is mounted and charged, just press the power button on the LED control panel. This panel is compact and simple, likely costing less, but mounted close enough to the left grip that it can be reached while riding. It controls the level of pedal assist being put out which influences how fast the bike will go. I tend to enjoy the lower three levels but appreciate that there’s also a Boost button which jumps up to the highest level with just one press. This is useful for passing other riders or ascending inclines. And at any time, you can press the variable-speed trigger throttle for extra power up to 20 mph. It is also very easy to reach and I find the design to be intuitive… but a little dangerous. I don’t mean to freak you out… but once the bike is on, this throttle is active even at standstill. If you bump it while moving the bike or getting on, the motor will kick in and potentially startle you. For this reason, the motor inhibitors brake levers are especially useful and warranted. Any time that either one of the levers is pulled, all of the motor systems will be stopped (or prevented from starting). So the display shows you a rough indication for how full the battery is (five dots) as well as the six levels of assist. There’s no easy way to tell how fast the bike is traveling, how far you’ve gone, what time it is etc. unless you pay a bit more for the optional LCD panel that Juiced Bikes sells. it’s great to have choice, and I suppose they prevent waste for people who don’t want the distraction of an LCD… and the LCD option is not removable so it could attract unwanted attention and get scratched up in some situations. One complaint with either display and control system is that people can tamper with this bike fairly easily. They could turn it on and press the throttle even while the bike is locked to a rack, and this could spin the rear tire or cause other damage. It’s a good reason to consider bringing the 5.5+ lb battery with you when parking.

All things considered, I was very impressed with the OceanCurrent and appreciate how it balances comfort, an upright body position, and low price with a solid, sporty feel. You don’t get a whole range of sizes but the mid-step frame is adjustable enough to comfortably fit a range of riders and the high-step is very solid and stiff compared to other larger cruisers with rear-rack batteries. I love how the drive systems are integrated and more hidden and well protected here. It’s a bike that you might be able to find and test ride through a dealer who could offer proper assembly, fitting and accessorizing… or you could get one online. To me, even though this is a cheaper product, I don’t view Juiced Bikes as a low-end brand. Their team is smart, hard working and connected to the source. They have more visibility into what is actually being produced and delivered than some of the marketing folks at larger companies. It’s not perfect, you do sacrifice some comfort and get raw power and throttle operation that other companies might purposefully avoid, but for those who are seeking something a bit more… this thing really delivers. Big thanks to Tora, Rich and the rest of the team for partnering with me on this post and meeting me in Irvine, California for the test rides. I welcome owners and shops to chime in here on their experiences with assembly and longevity of the product.

Pros:

  • Five color choices and two frame styles, the step-thru “mid step” model felt stiff and sturdy vs. flexy like a lot of other cruisers, I love that the high-step cantilever frame had room for bottle cage bosses on the seat tube
  • The downtube mounted battery keeps weight low and improves balance on the OceanCurrent compared to a lot of other cruisers with rear-rack batteries
  • The price is excellent and Juiced Bikes are available through some ebike shops so you can actually test ride them before purchase (and know that they have been built properly), this is also a great time to compare other bikes and get feedback on quality from dealers
  • I was impressed with the eight-speed Shimano Acera drivetrain, it’s perfect for neighborhood riding up to 20 mph and a step up in quality from many other value ebikes that use Shimano Tourney
  • There’s a plastic guide on the chainring that keeps your pants from getting snagged and dirty while also preventing chain drops, this is especially important when riding on bumpy terrain and in throttle mode but a lot of ebikes don’t offer it
  • Large, stiff, grippy alloy pedals from Wellgo, these are some of my favorite pedals for low-mid level ebikes and they come standard
  • The rear portion of the frame is setup to work with an aftermarket rack but Juiced Bikes offers their own rack and fender accessories that are guaranteed to fit
  • Advanced pedal assist sensors measure your pedal torque and speed so the bike responds better than just torque or just cadence, I love that the throttle can be used to override assist at any time (to climb or catch up with a friend perhaps)
  • Very few cruiser style e-bikes offer the Class-3 speeds, the Ocean Current can reach ~27 mph in the highest levels of assist or you can limit it down near 20 mph by using the lower levels
  • Solid warranty coverage with a long history of building and selling electric bicycles in the USA, you get a year on the electronics, two years on most of the bike parts and lifetime on the frame
  • High charge and discharge rate on the battery cells, optional larger battery packs for increased range (which fits on both the high-step and step-thru)
  • The battery slides in from the side so it won’t bonk the tubing above and allows the sloped downtube on the mid-step frame to be lower, I like that the locking core on the battery pack is spring loaded so you can click the battery in without the key
  • Thicker spokes, front and rear, which helps to support heavier loads and the added forces of a powerful motor and high-speed operation
  • Both brake levers have a motor inhibitor cutoff switch, anytime you pull the brakes, even if the throttle or pedal assist is active, the motor will shut down for safety
  • The electronic systems are all modular and use water-tight connectors, that means it’s easier to replace the display or throttle if they get damaged but they should hold up well against the elements
  • The cockpit is really clean, the grip shifter is intuitive and seamless compared to trigger shifters (though it’s not as fast and requires more effort), there’s room for a cup holder, speaker mount or phone mount up there

Cons:

  • The 2.35″ tires, comfort saddle, and long cruiser bars reduce vibration somewhat but the all-Aluminum frame and fork feel a bit rigid and stiff, consider adding a 27.2 mm seat post suspension but keep in mind it will raise the minimum saddle height
  • The display is pretty basic, you get five dots for battery level and a readout for assist level but no speed, odometer or trip stats as you would with an LCD, the good news is that the systems turn on quickly with just one step vs. older systems that required the battery to be turned on separately, Juiced Bikes does offer an aftermarket LCD display for those who really want the extra information
  • Mechanical disc brakes get the job done but aren’t as powerful or easy to actuate as hydraulic, the levers aren’t adjustable reach so people have to adapt more… but for this price, they aren’t bad at all
  • The black fork, battery pack, chainring, stem, handlebar and seat all match but aren’t as seamless as if the battery were completely in-frame or the fork was color matched
  • The kickstand is mounted near the bottom bracket and gets in the way of the left crank arm if you pedal backward (to turn the chain) while it’s deployed, I prefer rear-mounted kicksdtands
  • Shifter cables, brake lines and electronic wiring is routed externally which doesn’t look as nice and can snag easier, the motor power cable is vulnerable to bending if the frame tips to the right
  • Sometimes the thicker spokes can come loose over time as the bike experiences vibration,
    consider working with a shop and using Loctite to keep them trued
  • I didn’t see a slap guard on the right chainstay which means you could see chips there over time if you ride on rough terrain, consider using a clear piece of masking tape or buying a neoprene cover like this
  • Since the throttle is always active when the bike is on, it’s easy to accidentally bump it and have the bike lurch forward, I’ve had this happen when parking and loading ebikes before so be careful
  • The bike is easy to turn on but can be tampered with by third parties, they could press the throttle and spin the rear wheel if you leave the battery mounted while parked at a rack for example
  • Despite the presence of a standard sized USB port near the right top corner of the battery pack, I’m told that it is unpowered… If yours works, consider getting a right-angle USB adapter to keep wires out of your way when pedaling

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Juiced Bikes Reviews

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Air Review

  • MSRP: $1,195
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable speed pedelec with high-definition cadence sensor, mechanical disc brakes and a nine-speed Shimano Altus drivetrain, it's well balanced and relatively light weight. Removable battery and quick release front wheel make it easier to lock securely and fill-up…...

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An affordably priced speed pedelec that's well balanced, not too heavy and available in three frame sizes for a good fit, you can also upgrade the battery size. Comes stock with a powerful 48 volt battery but lower 7.8 amp hours, uses a…...

Juiced Bikes ODK U500 V3 Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

A sturdy, high torque, cargo style electric bike with enormous range thanks to a 48 volt 15 amp hour battery pack with premium Panasonic Lithium-ion cells. Powerful 500 watt internally geared front hub motor by 8Fun, benefits from a smaller wheel…...

Juiced Bikes ODK U500 Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

A sturdy, thoughtfully designed cargo bike with a low center of gravity that's easy to mount and handle. Super strong 500 watt front hub motor paired with 48 volt Lithium Manganese battery pack...


Nathan
1 month ago

I just got this bike, and it now has a kickstand that is rear mounted, and does not collide with the pedals.

Reply
Court Rye
1 month ago

Sweet… Juiced Bikes is one of those companies that makes little improvements throughout the year. I appreciate you chiming in with this to help others and I hope it performs great for you :D

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Mark23
4 days ago

Thanks for your reply and suggestions, I'll definitely check them out, Mark.

Juiced OceanCurrent has beach cruiser styling, very wide sweeping back handlebars, both high and mid-step frames, 26" wheels with wide 2.35" tires for a lower riding height and comfort, a 48v rear hub motor, mechanical disk brakes, weighing 51lb, for $1300. It has pedal assist with a torque sensor that modulates power depending on how hard you pedal, and a thumb throttle. The battery is mounted in the center of the bike on the down tube that distributes the weight.

Raleigh Superbe iE has classic bicycle styling, standard width swept back handlebars, both diamond and step-through frames, larger 700c/28" wheels with 1 5/8" regular bicycle tires, a 48v rear hub motor, rim brakes, fenders chainguard and rack, weighing 50.2lb, for $1500. It has pedal assist with a cadence sensing motor on/off switch, no throttle. The battery is mounted on top of the rack and with the motor in the rear wheel hub the handling may feel a little rear heavy. Another model, the Raleigh Retroglide has cruiser styling, 26" wheels with wider 2 1/4" tires for lower riding height and comfort, a 48v Currie mid-drive motor so weight is distributed, an optional boost button throttle, but is slightly heavier at 57.5lb, for $1900.

If you are interested in a crank forward ebike the Luna Smoothie is a conversion of the KHS Smoothie cruiser frame, with 26" wheels and a 3-speed IGH with the step-through frame for $1780. The low adjustable seatpost, 26" wheels, and low step over height of the step-through frame provide an upright riding position, and the powerful BBSHD mid-drive motor is a $100 option that would get you up any hill, but you don't get a warranty unless you spend more, also the photos on the Luna website don't show a chainguard so if desired you would need to contact Luna to ask if the stock KHS chainguard can be made to work with their conversion or try to make one fit using frame clamps as the typical bottom bracket mounts won't work with a BBS motor, also there's no Luna Cycle shop network unlike with Juiced or Raleigh so you would need to find a KHS dealer to test ride the frame, and an independent ebike shop that services bafang mid-drive motors.

Dewey
5 days ago

Juiced OceanCurrent has beach cruiser styling, very wide sweeping back handlebars, both high and mid-step frames, 26" wheels with wide 2.35" tires for a lower riding height and comfort, a 48v rear hub motor, mechanical disk brakes, weighing 51lb, for $1300. It has pedal assist with a torque sensor that modulates power depending on how hard you pedal, and a thumb throttle. The battery is mounted in the center of the bike on the down tube that distributes the weight.

Raleigh Superbe iE has classic bicycle styling, standard width swept back handlebars, both diamond and step-through frames, larger 700c/28" wheels with 1 5/8" regular bicycle tires, a 48v rear hub motor, rim brakes, fenders chainguard and rack, weighing 50.2lb, for $1500. It has pedal assist with a cadence sensing motor on/off switch, no throttle. The battery is mounted on top of the rack and with the motor in the rear wheel hub the handling may feel a little rear heavy. Another model, the Raleigh Retroglide has cruiser styling, 26" wheels with wider 2 1/4" tires for lower riding height and comfort, a 48v Currie mid-drive motor so weight is distributed, an optional boost button throttle, but is slightly heavier at 57.5lb, for $1900.

If you are interested in a crank forward ebike the Luna Smoothie is a conversion of the KHS Smoothie cruiser frame, with 26" wheels and a 3-speed IGH with the step-through frame for $1780. The low adjustable seatpost, 26" wheels, and low step over height of the step-through frame provide an upright riding position, and the powerful BBSHD mid-drive motor is a $100 option that would get you up any hill, but you don't get a warranty unless you spend more, also the photos on the Luna website don't show a chainguard so if desired you would need to contact Luna to ask if the stock KHS chainguard can be made to work with their conversion or try to make one fit using frame clamps as the typical bottom bracket mounts won't work with a BBS motor, also there's no Luna Cycle shop network unlike with Juiced or Raleigh so you would need to find a KHS dealer to test ride the frame, and an independent ebike shop that services bafang mid-drive motors.

WilliamT
1 week ago

They look very similar to the batteries used by Juiced Bikes for the Cross Current and Ocean Current.

https://shop.juicedbikes.com/collections/batteries/products/battery-pack-for-crosscurrent-oceancurrent

Also similar to the FLX bikes on Luna Cycles

https://lunacycle.com/flx48vbattery/

jharlow77
1 week ago

I wouldn't worry. Best case scenario is that you'll have a great bike that will give you many trouble free miles, as some people have attested to on this forum. Worst case is a spoke breaking problem like some of us have. But anything on a bike is fixable. I paid $1095 for my bike, and $160 for the wheel rebuild, so in real terms my bike cost me $1,255. Even at $1,255 you cannot find any other bike this good. The bike is running great now. I went on a 30 mile ride yesterday and i'll tell you the CC Air is really a pleasure to ride. In assist level 3, (not sport) you cruise at 25 mph. That's unheard of in this price range. The only thing I'm missing is font suspension. I think my LBS can add it for about $200, so maybe in a few months that might be an upgrade.
After my conversation with Juiced Bikes I feel a lot more confident in buying the new Cross Current S. This is an email conversation I just had with Tora at Juiced Bikes...

Me:
I have heard that broken spokes are common with your bikes. Have you addressed this with the new batch of Cross Current S and Air bikes?

Tora:

The CrossCurrent line of bikes travel at much higher speeds (nearing 30mph) than a normal bike and also can accept very high tire pressures of like 85psi, making the tire rock hard, but low ruling resistance. The load on the spokes are much higher than normal.

We have some reports of broken spokes, but the spokes will not just snap off for no reason. For reference we have had no broken spokes reported for the OceanCurrent which uses the same motor, spokes and lacing pattern.

It is recommended that the spokes be checked and tightened more frequently than a normal bicycle. If a very hard bump is hit at high speeds, check the spokes.

We use the spokes supplier which is also used by Giant Bikes. On the CCS we have improved the spokes fit to better match the flange of the hub motor.

We sent the actual motor to the supplier and had them custom fit the spokes. Also the spokes/rim setup can be interchanged with 13G or 12G spokes so any bike shop can service the spokes. We also now include 4 extra spokes and nipples with each CrossCurrent S bike.

We are continuously studying how the bike is used and finding ways to improve every aspect of the bike.

Thanks,
-Tora
Interesting, thanks for sharing. I should be getting my new and improved CrossCurrent AIR this weekend according to the website and will report any problems to this forum if I find any. The new batch of AIRs apparently have black spokes but not sure if this indicates a new brand/type or just a paint job.

AlexNC
1 week ago

Agreed, the Juiced Cross Current is a good value, other than the rear wheel spoke issue I have no complaints. Some folks might be willing to spend considerably for a more established brand. Maintaining build quality and consistency is no easy task, I think many of the newer ebike companies are realizing this. There is still a reluctance from LBS to sell and/or repair ebikes so that isn't going to help either.
After my conversation with Juiced Bikes I feel a lot more confident in buying the new Cross Current S. This is an email conversation I just had with Tora at Juiced Bikes...

Me:
I have heard that broken spokes are common with your bikes. Have you addressed this with the new batch of Cross Current S and Air bikes?

Tora:

The CrossCurrent line of bikes travel at much higher speeds (nearing 30mph) than a normal bike and also can accept very high tire pressures of like 85psi, making the tire rock hard, but low ruling resistance. The load on the spokes are much higher than normal.

We have some reports of broken spokes, but the spokes will not just snap off for no reason. For reference we have had no broken spokes reported for the OceanCurrent which uses the same motor, spokes and lacing pattern.

It is recommended that the spokes be checked and tightened more frequently than a normal bicycle. If a very hard bump is hit at high speeds, check the spokes.

We use the spokes supplier which is also used by Giant Bikes. On the CCS we have improved the spokes fit to better match the flange of the hub motor.

We sent the actual motor to the supplier and had them custom fit the spokes. Also the spokes/rim setup can be interchanged with 13G or 12G spokes so any bike shop can service the spokes. We also now include 4 extra spokes and nipples with each CrossCurrent S bike.

We are continuously studying how the bike is used and finding ways to improve every aspect of the bike.

Thanks,
-Tora

keyboardmashing
1 month ago

I have a new step through Oceancurrent in box, $1000 USD

1/1
George S.
2 months ago

http://www.voltbike.ca/voltbike-yukon.html

https://shop.juicedbikes.com/collections/e-bikes/products/2017-oceancurrent

Voltbikes have done well enough to open a US warehouse. Bafang is a solid motor. Both have interesting models. There are others in the price range. Something like this. For 5 miles with two short hills and a couple of rough spots, you don't need much.

You don't need to shift with hub motors, if they will handle the hill. Check the grade.

WilliamT
2 months ago

I would also check out bikes from Juiced Bicycles.

https://shop.juicedbikes.com/collections/e-bikes/products/2017-oceancurrent-step-thru?variant=29237980498

The Ocean Current step though would fit you. It has a 22" stand over height and similar to the Townie Go.
With the 21 ah battery, you shouldn't have any problems getting 80-100 miles depending on the assist level.

1/1
E-Wheels
2 months ago

I just ordered an Juiced oceancurrent and an additional battery, and plan on going on extended rides out of the country. I'd like to put some sort of "get home" kit on my bike so I can get home in the case of a flat or other small breakdown. Any ideas?

Thanks.
It makes sense to only carry the spares you know how to fit with the tools you know how to use
Anything other than that will be a waste of time
Carrying a cell phone and taxi fare will cover all emergencies

keyboardmashing
2 months ago

I just ordered an Juiced oceancurrent and an additional battery, and plan on going on extended rides out of the country. I'd like to put some sort of "get home" kit on my bike so I can get home in the case of a flat or other small breakdown. Any ideas?

Thanks.

Hagrid
3 months ago

Juiced Bikes Announced Upgrades to the HyperFat on their blog 5/3/2017 (3rd of May 2017)
http://www.juicedbikes.com/updates/2017/5/3/hyperfat-hf1000-update-for-pre-orders.html

I wanted to discuss the upgrades and see if any of you would chime in on my questions, confirm my stance on the upgrades, or provide alternative views for or against.

Suspension Fork:
Con: Added weight.
Pro: Free. Deals with variation better?
Comments: Its a free upgrade everyone gets so I don't see the harm. I'm working on getting a Hitch Bike Rack for two e-bikes and the added couple pounds or so shouldn't make or break it for me.

More Torque:
Quote: "The production HyperFat is set up with a 9T winding which was selected to target a top speed performance of 30+ mph with pedal assist, yet provide good hill climbing performance."
"For riders who are heavier or have more hills, we have a 12T motor winding option which provides more torque performance, but reduced top speed. The estimated top speed of around 25-26 mph with the 12T setup. With this option chosen, only the motor is changed everything else remains that same. "
Comments: I live around a lot of hills. I've ordered the OceanCurrent and the HyperFat. My understanding is the OceanCurrent has the same 500W Bafang motor as the U500 Utility bike, but in the rear wheel so its not going to potentially spin out on hills. If the OceanCurrent I get this month can deal with all the hills in my area shouldn't the 1000w normal 9T winding also suffice?

Hydraulic Disc Brakes:
Quote: "We have sourced Tektro Dorado HD-E715 which are regarded as one of the best Hydraulic disc brake systems designed for e-bikes."
"Upgrade to Tektro Hydrulic HD-E715 Disc Brakes (+$249)"
Comments: Everyone I've talked to in person is all about the Hydraulic Disc Brakes, but is it worth the $250? (~10% more for the bike if you're getting the bike with the 21Ah Battery for $2,198 - $2,347.00.)

Frame Sizes:
I'm 6'2" so I should be fine with the stock frame (that fits most) and since I've already purchased the bike, I'm not sure this does much for me.

Rear Racks:
Yup I want them.

Mud Guards/Fenders:
Yup I want them.

Revised LED Headlight:
I'm glad it comes with a waterproof headlight and Juiced Bikes is taking care of the wiring.

Price increase and Crowd-Funding Campaign:
I'm sure glad I already ordered the HyperFat!

Test Rides:
Since I live in the South-East of USA I really doubt I'll get my hands on this pre-production model. I would much rather @Court provide a review of the pre-production than put my hands on it! What am I really going to gain from riding it around a test track? If I can't try it in my environment I'm not sure what the test ride is really going to do for me.

SimonMTL
4 months ago

"Planet Bike Cascadia ATB Fenders."

I always figured that the Cascadia ATB fenders were for the OceanCurrent, and the Cascadia II hybrid fenders were for the CrossCurrent.

Anyone know?

David Elderton
4 months ago

Hello to all the Canadian CrossCurrent/AIR/OceanCurrent owners out there. We have a special on remaining 7.8 batteries! $100.00 off the already great price of $499.00 CAD. Use coupon code J62LPW05T1 on our site www.juicedriders.ca Shipping is dangerous cargo, so will cost an additional 59.00. Shipping to Canada only!
For those of you waiting for the 17.4 and 21 batteries, they are on order, please stay tuned. Pricing is as follows:

17.4 Battery only 1349.00 CAD
21 battery only 1899.00 CAD
Upgrade from 10.4 to 17.4 when purchasing bike add 500.00
Upgrade from 10.4 to 21 when purchasing bike add 999.00

Best Regards,

David Elderton
Owner, Hill Eater Ebikes Ltd
Official Canadian distributor of Juiced Bikes

Tora Harris
5 months ago

Here is what the thumb throttle looks looks like on the Current-Series e-bikes.

On most e-bikes with throttle and pedal assist, the throttle overrides the pedal assist or the pedal assist overrides the throttle. Either case it super counterintuitive and jerky. The rider loses confidence in the throttle and the magic of the pedal assist vanishes.

We have designed our throttle in a very smart way. Basically the throttle and pedal assist systems are always active. The controller (ECU) is comparing which input signal will have the greater effect in real time. It is doing this comparison super fast, like 1,000 times a second. The end result is that you can transition from throttle to pedal assist seamlessly. It works exactly how you expect it to work.

1/1
Doug Wolak
3 weeks ago

I just recieved my ocean current AIR, from what I know the only difference is that the Dual Cadence sensors for pedal-assist are missing and there is only one sensor for pedal assistance on the ocean current AIR, is this correct everybody? I had major problems ordering through through 3rd party online seller (Electric Bike City), but I found the bike for $1,000 USD on Amazon. Was completely stoked for the price and quality of the bike I am very pleased. Still fine tuning adjustments, but overall fantastic value. Only thing is @JuicedBikes, how, when, and where can I order accessories compatible with the Ocean Current AIR (i.e. fenders, racks, baskets, possibly digital display)!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 weeks ago

Cool! Glad you're enjoying it Doug :)

Kevin McCue
4 weeks ago

I've had my green step through for about a week. Manufacture date 3/17. Rear brake needed adjustment. Have added Iberia rack and burley travoy trailer. I love it! I laughed at Tora and his 30 mph videos "crazy man" but I tell you that "sport" button is addictive! I've only got about 15 miles on it but I'm still on 4 dots.

todkapuz
1 month ago

definitely the closest to the style I like.. really like the features on some of the others, but multi-thousand is completely out the window for my current desires.... been looking for a bike off and o for couple months now... primarily to get my butt off the couch .... I've really declined over the last few years in physical activity.... used to bicycle a lot (even took it as PE credit in university) ... but its been maybe a decade.... no doubts in being able to survive on two wheels... motorcycle quite frequently... i dunno... still having a hard time deciding between shelling more than twice what I originally wanted to look at spending for the added electrification.... granted I do think that added money would at least allow for some assist in going further, staying spinning longer..... so torn...

todkapuz
1 month ago

gave in and ordered... Tora on this and many others i watched just gives off the right vibe.

Kevin McCue
1 month ago

66 year old male. Just bought a greenery step through Ocean Current that I will set up as a cargo bike. Grocery runs and haul it to New Mexico for recreational riding. Really in love with the UDK 500 cargo but not sure about throttle only. I can't ride a CrossCurrent because my wrists and elbows won't support me in a lean forward position anymore so comfort bikes are the answer. Step through because I don't want to throw my leg over/around high cargo and I see many step throughs being ridden in Denmark by everybody, not only women. Thanks for your coverage of Juiced Bikes and Tora Harris. It convinced me to support this forward looking company.

Brad Ersly
2 months ago

Well it has been a couple weeks of riding the new ocean current and I could not be happier. The thing I love about the bike which may not be for everyone is the fact that the bike still feels very bike like. On a steep hill, I still have to work, its just that I do not have to kill myself. If you are looking for a bike to power up hills at speed, this may not your bike. Don't get me wrong, it goes up hills just requires your participation at a much reduced level. I very much wanted an e bike that still felt very bike like. On the flats this thing makes a 20 MPH clip pretty effortless. If this sounds like your cup of tea, can not recommend it enough. Thank you juiced bikes, my mileage is wayyyyyy up and it feels like when I used to live on my Schwinn stingray -all day - 50 years ago.

Brad Ersly
2 months ago

Your review along with another helped me decide- Yes I bought one and I love it. My only complaint was that the bike set up as it came out of the box was terrible. Disc brakes really set up badley- front really binding - back no braking at all; also the derailler way out of adjustment , half the gears barely shifting because cable had so much slack in it. Took the bike to a shop paid them 40 and they went through it and got it all working well. With said however, quality product, and I love love love riding the thing. RIDE SAFE and thanks again for your reviews- YES I WOULD STILL HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BIKE BUT they need to ship their bikes in better condition. I have had other bikes and this set up was WAYYYYYY OFF

Jonathan Coath
3 months ago

So the Ocean Current is an exciting bike, but I think the Hyperfat could be a game changer. Will you be reviewing that bike anytime soon?

Sean Roth
3 months ago

The review on the EBR website says top speed of 24mph as well as 28mph, and the Jucided website says 24mph. Which is it?

edwin pringle
1 month ago

Sean Roth 24 on a good day.

Jeff Rothman
3 months ago

Thank you so much for these killer reviews. For the past few weeks I've been binge watching your incredible library and have learned so much. A month ago I wasn't even fully aware that e bikes existed. After taking a test ride at my local pedego store I have been absolutely obsessed with these things. Incredibly fun.

After lots of research using your substantial website and videos along with other great resources on the web I went ahead and ordered the Oceancurrent. Still waiting for this bad boy to ship and couldn't be more pumped. Sold my old bike to help pay for this new one so currently bikeless. Can not wait for my new bike to arrive!

Jeff Rothman
3 months ago

Got the email that bike has shipped last night. YES!

What accessories did you get specifically? I've added a ton to my wishlist but don't think I'll pull the trigger till I get a few shakedown rides in.

FlyORdieInAfire
3 months ago

I too have ordered the ocean current. I chose the larger battery which hasn't arrived else my bike would have shipped this past week. Customer service has been very responsive to my emails of questions and concerns. I just keep buying accessories for this bike as I wait for it to ship. ElectricBikeReview very thorough review has helped. Bolts vs Quick disconnects, seat diameter, bike tire size, so much help with getting specific parts which my local shop has to special order. I've ordered a chain guard today which won't show up until middle of next week. I'm hoping the bike has shipped by then. time will tell.

outta reach24
3 months ago

around 6:48 U jump off and can hit ur leg Lol

Alex NC
3 months ago

Damnit man, I can't decide which of their bikes I want. They are are killer bikes for the price. I love the logical approach to the eBike business the CEO has too. Modular is the future, and he is embracing it.

Dr Brown
3 months ago

Could you do a review of the x-treme kona / hanalei bikes. Would be very happy to see a review of those.

chris P
3 months ago

Juiced bikes are awesome. I got the cross-current and love it. got the refurbished and recommended if they still have any left as it was basically brand-new little rust on the brake discs didn't affect performance. anyway they make great bikes at an excellent price. just have to adjust the derailleur little. but that seems to be the case with all bikes I've had at least

USSR APTuCT
3 months ago

Хороший аппарат!

Cuong
3 months ago

for e bikes, people say it's best not to fully charge or discharge the battery. Is it true that it's better to only charge it up to 80-90%?

Phil Eyers
3 months ago

excellent price. That battery looks to be exactly the same as used on Oxygen's s-cross e-bikes.

Phil Eyers
3 months ago

I have now, thanks - looks sick ;)

eBikeSupply
3 months ago

Phil Eyers, you are exactly right. These form factors are the best, they keep the cost inline & don't compromise when it comes to frame flex like the rack mounted atrocities. Have you seen the SmartMotion Pacer & Catalyst. Our favorite bike this year by far. https://www.ebikesupply.com/collections/ecity-electric-bike/products/smartmotion-pacer-electric-bike

Dave Caldwell
3 months ago

I love the look of juiced bikes and the ocean current is my favourite. I'd love the opportunity to buy one purely for leisure but I'm in the UK 🙁. I have a related question that someone may be able to answer though: If I bought an ebike while in the US, what is the best way to ship it to the UK? I'm obviously aluding to the difficulty shipping the battery. I assume I could have it brought over by sea but I'm not sure.

Dave Caldwell
3 months ago

Thanks Court, that's perfect !

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Hi Dave! Some shops specialize in hazardous materials shipping and regularly send abroad from the USA. One that I have heard say that they do this is Motostrano in Northern California http://www.motostrano.com/

Seb K
3 months ago

Word of advice for anyone living in the UK buying a bike from the States . Front brake is on the left NOT the right . Don't want to see anyone flipping over their bars !!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Dang! I read that as "we have lost customers" and I was thinking :O nooooo... they pulled the wrong levers!!1 lol

eBikeSupply
3 months ago

Seb K, we have lost of customers who ride Motorcycles & therefore request to have the breaks set up "Moto Style"

samuel Townsend
3 months ago

As someone that has sold EBikes for quite some time now I would like to express to the public you pay for what you get. I feel the Ocean Current is a good platform that will improve with each batch that comes from the manufacturer let's just say this first batch of 200 units were the beta units. I currently have 5 Ocean Currents on our show room floor I personally road one on a CicLAvia event for 18 miles and it did preform great but each and everyone of these bikes that come out of the box has to be prepped it takes us about 20 to 30 minutes. Some bikes cabling was too short others needed brake calipers bolts shimmed and aligned to your rotor I'm not hating I'm just pointing out on this first batch of Bikes if you have one delivered to your house be prepared to spend some extra time prepping it. As Tora addresses these matters I hope the price remains the same. I know other manufacturers have adjusted their pricing making for a more competitive market thats good for the consumer. I'm just sticking around to see what's going to happen next

edwin pringle
3 weeks ago

ElectricBikeReview.com the bike does not do 28 mph! 25 maybe

Juiced Bikes
3 months ago

Thanks Sam, we have made many improvements based on the feedback we got from the OceanCurrents and will continue to make improvements whenever practical. I have sent the internal document pointing out the changes.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Thanks for your expert hands-on experience Sam. This guy runs the Electric Bicycle Center in Fullerton, CA for those who don't know: https://electricbicyclecenter.com/ I trust him.

Chris Carrington
3 months ago

Have been really liking all your reviews and have used them for the backbone of my research into getting a first ebike. I went ahead and ordered one of these.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Awesome! I hope it works out great for you Chris. Be sure to spend some time setting it up, consider taking it to a shop for fine tuning as Sam mentioned above. My experience with the bikes was really good and I love the balance of performance and price :)