Juiced Bikes ODK U500 V3 Review

Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3 Electric Cargo Bike Review
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3 Gearless Front Hub Drive Motor
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3 Extra Long Rear Rack Mounting Platform
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3 Riser Bars Twist Throttle
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3 Sram Gri Shifter Led Control Panel
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3 Front View Plastic Fenders
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3 Panasonic Large Battery Pack
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3 Sram I 3 Internal Hub
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3 Prowheel Cranks Adjustable Kickstand
Juiced Riders Odk V3
Juiced Riders Odk V3 500 Watt Motor
Juiced Riders Odk V3 Battery And Light
Juiced Riders Odk V3 Controller Shifter
Juiced Riders Odk V3 Rear Rack
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3 Electric Cargo Bike Review
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3 Gearless Front Hub Drive Motor
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3 Extra Long Rear Rack Mounting Platform
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3 Riser Bars Twist Throttle
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3 Sram Gri Shifter Led Control Panel
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3 Front View Plastic Fenders
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3 Panasonic Large Battery Pack
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3 Sram I 3 Internal Hub
Juiced Bikes Odk U500 V3 Prowheel Cranks Adjustable Kickstand
Juiced Riders Odk V3
Juiced Riders Odk V3 500 Watt Motor
Juiced Riders Odk V3 Battery And Light
Juiced Riders Odk V3 Controller Shifter
Juiced Riders Odk V3 Rear Rack

Summary

  • A sturdy, high torque, cargo style electric bike with enormous range thanks to a 48 volt 15 amp hour battery pack with premium Panasonic Lithium-ion cells
  • Powerful 500 watt internally geared front hub motor by 8Fun, benefits from a smaller wheel diameter for climbing and hauling, updated to start more smoothly and avoid spinning out
  • Oversized rear rack is welded directly onto frame and is compatible with a wide range of accessories (child seats, cargo baskets, platform seats), hydraulic disc brakes provide ample stopping power under heavy load
  • Three speed internally geared hub makes shifting at stop possible, fenders keep you clean and dry, battery does not easily detach for charging or reducing weight (65 lb total bike weight with pack), no suspension, basic LED console with limited readouts

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Juiced Riders

Model:

ODK V3

Price:

$1,995 ($2,500 for 23 ah Battery, $3,199 for 32 ah Battery)

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Urban, Cargo

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Frame, 1 Year Battery

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2013201420152016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

67 lbs (30.39 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16 in (40.64 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

70.2” x 29” x 44” (178 cm x 73 cm x 112 cm), 17" Stand Over Height, 20" Reach

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Cargo

Frame Colors:

Red, Black, Silver, Blue, Green, Metallic Orange

Frame Fork Details:

JMF02 Steel, 6 mm Anti-Torque Dropouts, 10 mm Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

10 mm Skewer

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Front Basket Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

3 Speed 1x3 SRAM i-3 Internally Geared Rear Hub

Shifter Details:

SRAM i-3 Twist Grip on Left Bar

Cranks:

Prowheel ATIA, 52T Chainring, Metal Chain Guide

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Neco

Stem:

Promax 180 mm, Quill

Handlebar:

High Rise Moto Style, 28" Length, 6" Height

Brake Details:

Tektro Dorado Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Dorado Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Velo Lock On

Saddle:

Velo Comfort, Wide

Seat Post:

Promax, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

370 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Double Wall, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Front: 12G, Rear: 13G, Stainless with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda, 20" x 2.125"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

Extra Thick

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve, Extra Thick

Accessories:

Heavy Duty Welded Rear Rack, Plastic Fenders with Mud Guards, Spanninga Lineo Rear LED Light, USB Charging Port on Battery, Adjustable Side Kickstand, Five Cross Rear Rack, Chain Guide, Aluminum Alloy Chain Guide, (Optional Two-Legged Center Kickstand), Optional Front and Rear Baskets, Optional Cycle Analyst LCD Display

Other:

400 lb Maximum Weight Capacity, 2.5 Amp stock Charger, Optional Programmable Grinn Fast Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

8Fun (Bafang BPM)

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

15 ah (Optional 23, 32)

Battery Watt Hours:

720 wh (Optional 1104, 1536)

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

100 miles (161 km)

Display Type:

LED Console on Left Bar

Readouts:

Battery Level (5 Dots), Cruise Control

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The original Juiced Riders ODK U500 V3 review was done in fall of 2013 at Interbike and you can watch that video review here and see images in the gallery (they are the blue ones towards the end). Over the past two years the company has changed its name to Juiced Bikes and made some minor adjustments and improvements to the ODK U500 which is still in its third generation. The green images in the gallery show this newer model with those updates which include: the handle bar does not sweep back so much but still offers a six inch rise, the controller has been refined for smoother starts (to reduce spinning the front wheel), the brakes have been upgraded from mechanical to hydraulic for less effort in activation. And so, without further ado, here’s the written review.

The Juiced Riders ODK line of electric bikes offer unsurpassed cargo hauling capability. Whether you’ve got a child seat rack, storage box or insulated food storage container this bike will get the job done. The frame is custom designed with oversized tubing that’s welded at all points instead of bolted on. The weight is distributed fairly well and kept low to the ground thanks to 20″ wheels (as compared with traditional 26″ or 24″ wheels). Originally offering an entire kilowatt-hour of battery capacity at 48 volts, 23 amp hours and now offering three sizes at 15 ah, 23 ah and 32 ah, this bike can deliver excellent range. Hydraulic disc brakes make stopping a breeze, even with heavier loads, and the 500 watt motor makes starting again feel like no problem at all. By leveraging a three speed SRAM internally geared hub, the chain is kept tight and thus won’t fall off and you can switch gears even at standstill. It’s a focused offering that really delivers something special.

While I opened this review focused on the hauling strength of this bike, that doesn’t mean it won’t work for commuting or cruising. The soft seat is pretty comfortable and the upright body position puts less strain on the back and neck while keeping your head up and alert for other bikes and cars. Pedaling this bike feels pretty average, it’s not setup for racing and it doesn’t offer pedal assist. It’s really setup to drive and the twist throttle works great for this but could get tiresome on longer journeys. Thankfully, there’s a cruise control feature built into the display that you can press while holding the throttle to engage.

The ODK V3 is a relatively heavy bike. That’s due in large part to the big motor, enormous battery pack (that’s protected by a metal case) and oversized super-tough frame. This means that in order to move it effectively, a large motor was required. The 500 watt geared design they chose works very well and really helps to balance the weight of the bike out because it’s mounted in the front wheel. In some cases a front-mounted motor can seem vulnerable (adding stress to the dropouts, suspension and headset) but the fork on the ODK V3 does not use a shock and is reinforced very well with an extra long head tube. By keeping the motor up front, the rear hub is be freed up for use as a three speed pedaling hub which avoids the maintenance, wear and noise of a cassette. It also means you can change gears at rest, making the first few starting strokes much easier. The one concern I have about the hub motor is that the power cable protrudes from the end of the axle and might be vulnerable to snags or bends if the bike tips. Thankfully, the included kickstand feels solid and you can also upgrade to an even more stable double-leg design that splays very wide, making loading a lot easier as well.

The battery pack on this bike really steals the show. It offers 48 volts of power which is on the very high end along with 15 to 32 amp hours of capacity which is quite a bit more than other ebikes offer! This thing is custom designed and uses trusted Panasonic cells. Not only is it large, it’s well protected and feature rich. Built right into the aluminum casing is the charge port, a rear light and a female USB jack for charging your phone or other electronic device. I love that everything here is integrated! I wouldn’t mind if it had a headlight in addition to the rear brake light but that can easily be added later if required, even wired in with help from a shop as discussed in the video. One downside to this battery pack design is that it’s not easily removable. That could make charging at work or transporting the bike (which weighs nearly 70 lbs using the smallest battery) a bit arduous. thankfully, the pack is so large that most trips won’t require a half-way top off.

There are lots of little extras on this bike that really take it to the next level in my mind. The front and rear fenders work great, the chain guide doubles as a bash guard to protect the front ring from contact with curbs and other obstacles which is very nice considering the frame rides lower with the small wheels. The oversized disc brakes are almost required with large loads but the fact that they are hydraulic makes them easier to use and more responsive, the cruise control is neat and comes in very handy on long rides, the enormous kickstand stabilizes the bike and any attached racks very well, the double-thick tubes help avoid flats, the high quality Wellgo metal pedals are stiff and grippy and they even managed to add braze-ons for mounting a water bottle cage to the V3! This is wonderful in my opinion but try not to kick the cage since it’s exposed more with this low-step frame design.

This is one of the best electric powered cargo bikes that I’m aware of and the price is very reasonable considering the high end specs… Just under $2k! The founder of Juiced Riders is responsive and continuously improving the lineup (this is V3 after all) and should be available to address any questions or concerns that come up. The bike also comes with an amazing two year warranty which should put your mind at ease. Whether you’re interested in the bike for personal transportation and appreciate the ultra-high power and low-step design or you’re a food delivery person looking to make the ride easier for yourself, this would be a great choice.

Pros:

  • Now offered with three battery pack sizes 48 volt 15 amp hour and 23 ah or 32 ah for maximum range, considering this is a throttle-only ebike, which tend to use more power than pedal assist, it’s impressive that you can still get up to 100 miles per charge with the largest battery option
  • Low center of gravity thanks to the smaller wheel diameter (which also tends to be stronger), the frame is easy to mount thanks to the step-thru design so it’s stable (the optional two-leg kickstand makes it easy to load)
  • Fairly well balanced front to rear since the battery is in the back and the hub motor is up front, the frame feels pretty stiff thanks to the extra tubing at the step-thru point
  • Tough metal chain guide on the chainring, helps to reduce chain drops and also protects the sprocket teeth if you come into contact with a curb or rock (more likely given the lower frame of the bike due to smaller wheels)
  • Beautiful custom front and rear basket options made by Ivan Stewart in San Diego, CA that are functional and light-weight, I like that the front basket is frame-mounted so it doesn’t impact steering
  • I LOVE that the bike includes a bottle cage mount on the downtube… there’s enough room to step-thru but be careful not to kick it since the design is a bit more exposed, consider a bar mounted cage and using the frame mount for a mini-pump to allow more space
  • It sounds like Juiced Riders will help to recycle your old battery or even give you a discount on a new one (perhaps by re-packing the shell)
  • Extra thick tires and tubes are designed to be durable, more thorn resistant and longer lasting than basic bike tires but they do add a bit of weight
  • This electric cargo bike is rated for 400 pounds (passenger and cargo combined), the rear rack provides numerous top mounting points that work seamlessly with the Yepp child seat, mobile food boxes, seat pads, the official Yuba baskets, a passenger seat and other accessories
  • The cargo rack area also features side-mounted narrow gauge tubing for use with standard bicycle panniers that clip on and there’s a hook point below to keep them secure
  • Ultra durable aluminum alloy battery box is protected on all sides by the rear rack in case the bike tips or you lean it against a wall, note that the motor cable is a bit exposed and vulnerable on the side
  • Internal SRAM hub gear can be shifted from standstill which is helpful when hauling large loads, having to stop and start (especially when climbing)
  • Solid Welgo platform pedals, high end Tektro ebike brakes (with motor inhibitors to reduce accidents and offer you control) and quality fenders that match and don’t rattle
  • Hydraulic disc brakes are easy to activate without using so much hand strength, I find that they are also very smooth and responsive vs. mechanical
  • Built in “cruise control” button on the display panel allows for twist-free riding over long distances, helping to reduce strain and fatigue

Cons:

  • This is a sturdy bike but it doesn’t offer a lot of extra cushion aside from the oversized saddle and can thus feel jarring at high speed when the road or sidewalk gets rough (smaller wheel diameter, rigid fork feel hard)
  • The stock LED console is pretty basic, doesn’t list your speed, odometer, trip distance, precision battery level or other nice details the way an LCD does but you can upgrade to a Cycle Analyst LCD if you’d like
  • Because the battery is more permanently fixed to the frame it’s not easy to take off for charging separately or reducing weight when you want to transport the bike
  • Twist throttle only operation, you don’t get pedal assist here but there is a cruise control feature to reduce wrist fatigue
  • The wires on this bike aren’t internally routed and don’t look as nice as some of the other ebikes around (they are just run below the downtube) and can get even messier if you add your own aftermarket lights and accessories
  • It’s not easy to pop the front wheel up curbs on this bike because of the heavy hub motor, I tried to do this (and made it barely) but kind of got bounced off and cut my shin… so be careful ;)
  • A rear light is included but you must buy and mount a separate front light and power it independently (though it is possible to wire it into the main battery along with other electronics as shown in the video, like a USB hub for speakers or charging your phone, mp3 player etc.)

Resources:

More Juiced Bikes Reviews

Juiced Bikes RipCurrent S Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An affordable yet feature-rich electric fat bike with higher speed operation, advanced torque + cadence pedal assist, trigger throttle power on demand, and a great display panel. Available in three frame sizes and three color options! You get large plastic fenders and…...

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A high-speed, feature complete, value priced electric bike that comes in four frame sizes, high-step and mid-step frame style, and three colors. Relatively comfortable thanks to fatter tires, a suspension fork with compression slider and lockout, Velo…...

Juiced Bikes OceanCurrent Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable high-speed cruiser electric bike, available in traditional cantilever high-step or relaxed mid-step for easy mounting, choice of five fun colors including traditional black or red. Excellent frame balance, the downtube battery keeps weight low and center, the compact hub motor…...

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Air Review

  • MSRP: $1,195
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable speed pedelec with high-definition cadence sensor, mechanical disc brakes and a nine-speed Shimano Altus drivetrain, it's well balanced and relatively light weight. Removable battery and quick release front wheel make it easier to lock securely and fill-up…...

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An affordably priced speed pedelec that's well balanced, not too heavy and available in three frame sizes for a good fit, you can also upgrade the battery size. Comes stock with a powerful 48 volt battery but lower 7.8 amp hours, uses a…...

Juiced Bikes ODK U500 Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

A sturdy, thoughtfully designed cargo bike with a low center of gravity that's easy to mount and handle. Super strong 500 watt front hub motor paired with 48 volt Lithium Manganese battery pack...


Jose
5 years ago

This new version is actually retailing for $3,199 , not $2,199 as stated, and $1,000 more than last years model the ODk v2…

Reply
Jose
5 years ago

Hey Court,

Thanks for the quick fix on the price.

Cheers,

-Jose

Reply
Kevin
4 years ago

Is this bike a good choice for taller riders (6’4″)? thanks

Reply
court
4 years ago

Good question Kevin, it’s certainly one of the more powerful ebikes with a geared rear hub motor and 48 volt Lithium pack. If you were climbing big hills the three gears would provide decent enough range that you could help the bike out without straining the motor and heating the battery pack up (it would auto shut-off in that case to protect itself anyway). So power wise yeah, I think it would be fine for a taller (presumably heavier) rider. But the other question is really the fit and feel of the frame. This ebike only comes in one size to my knowledge and is designed with a more upright feel. The big soft seat and swept back handlebars make it easy to reach for even medium sized riders so it could feel a little short to you but because you will be upright, I bet it will feel fine.

The founder of Juiced Riders is a taller gentleman as I recall and he test rides these bikes relentlessly and really puts in a lot of care and attention. I’ll try to get him on here to answer your question more directly but my thoughts are that it would be fine for you and that most ebikes are going to feel a bit cramped. Adding a taller seat post could help to extend your legs and then positioning the handlebars pointed more up vs. in might also help.

Reply
Kevin
4 years ago

Thanks!

Reply
court
4 years ago

Hi Kevin, here’s the official response from Juiced Riders, they also included some updated images which I’ve added to the Google+ album linked at the end of the review above.

For the rider that is 6’4” will be at the upper end of the height range. But it should not be too much of an issue. If a taller seat height is needed, a longer seat post can be used. The adjustable handlebar stem is the longest available at 180mm. New for 2014 are taller handle bars were custom designed especially for the ODK platform. This setup will give a wider range for different body types.

The other thing to note is that the seat tube angle is quite relaxed compared to a mountain bike. The result is that the crank is more forward. In this situation, the seat does not need to be super high or super optimal position to be able to pedal comfortably.

Everything Court stated is correct. Additionally, we will offer the Cycle Analyst upgrade which lets you read the Voltage, Watts and exactly how many Ah drawn from the pack. Additionally, the 1000-Lum pack powered LED is now an upgrade (Grin Tech).

We have moved to a new facility and the additional space gives us the ability to do more customization and add upgrades to this cargo e-bike before shipping. The first of the production bikes will arrive just before the end of January 2014.

For the new pictures, notice the new taller handle bars customized for the ODK platform. The chain tensioner is gone, front accessory frame mounts added, lower minimum seat height, and new battery casing design with a darker color. Lots of minor changes add up for a cleaner final product.

Reply
Jennifer
4 years ago

I think you mentioned this both here and in your review of their 2013 model, but I just wanted to iterate how great the customer support from Juiced Riders is. After poking around on their website a bit, I had some questions and went ahead and submitted an email from their contact page. I received a detailed response in mere hours, and Tora kept up a prompt, informative email correspondence with me pretty much throughout the few weeks that I was researching and test-riding ebikes up and down the California coast in search of my “perfect” bike. By the time I placed my order for my ODK, I was very confident that I was not only getting a great bike, but that I was also buying from a company that would help me out if any problems arose.

Also, you have a great website here. Both your written and video reviews were incredibly helpful for me in my search. I started out with a google search on a whim, knowing almost nothing about electric bikes aside from the fact that they existed, and I ended up feeling like I was making a well-informed purchase a month later, largely thanks to this website. My ODK just arrived this afternoon, and I’m going to make it a point to keep an eye out for your reviews on upcoming ebikes in the future. Keep it up!

Reply
Ian
4 years ago

Any thoughts on how to adapt it to winter riding? I’m in Minnesota so that’s about half of the year here :)

Reply
3-Ply
3 years ago

You could decrease the latitude by about 15 degrees.

Reply
Ian
4 years ago

I do a lot of riding on paved bike trails that advertise “no motor vehicles” on them. Do you think one could get away with using this bike on those kinds of trails going 20-30 mph as long as you slowed down when near other riders?

I personally would not have a problem with a rider on an electric bike going fast around me as long as they were respectful about it. I have never seen any kind of bike police around that would be able to enforce the signage so I do not think fines would be an issue, more the public opinion.

Just curious for your thoughts on this with regards to this model of e-bike since it’s more conspicuous with the huge battery pack!

Reply
court
4 years ago

Hi Ian, great question… I’ve seen a few products designed to make riding in snow and ice easier. One of them is called Grip Studs, these are little metal spikes that you can screw into your tires to add traction. Another option is to add a ski to the front wheel of your bike but you might still need a grippier rear tire to make it work. Of course, you can always try regular stock studded 20″ tires for the ODK V3 before moving on to these more extreme solutions.

You’ll notice that the ski/board product I shared above is featured on a fat tire bike which is already somewhat optimized for snow and sand riding. The larger surface area provides improved grip and keeps the tires from sinking in and getting stuck on this kind of terrain. A bike like the Pedego Trail Tracker or Surface 604 Element Electric could be a good fit for your neck of the woods. They have a more limited range than the Juiced Riders bikes but are fairly comfortable and perform well enough on normal dry pavement surfaces.

Reply
court
4 years ago

Hi Ian! I understand your concern about riding on bike paths with the “no motorized vehicles” sign posted. There are paths like that where I live and I usually shut my bike off and pedal when using them. At the very least I’ll only use the motor to get up to speed and then shut it off. You may be risking legal action if an accident happens and you’re breaking the posted laws. I’m not a lawyer and really can’t offer professional advice but I hope this at least gives you a feel for how I behave. I also bought bicycle insurance in case something bad ever does happen (or the bike gets stolen). One other thing I do is ring my bell when passing other riders or pedestrians and I always slow down. My behavior changes a lot when riding on streets (I go faster and am more aggressive). Almost everyone I meet on the path responds to my ebike with interest and favor because I’m friendly and polite as I ride. I learned a lot about manners and right of way surfing in Northern California and I think respect goes a long way. It doesn’t matter so much what your bike looks like, people will just think it’s funky, it matters how you act :)

Reply
walter
4 years ago

Hey, killer review! Do you think this bike can go up a 5% grade for 5 minutes?

Reply
court
4 years ago

Hi Walter, I reached out to Tora, the CEO of Juiced Riders and he provided the following answer for you “The bike can go up a 5% climb for 5 min with no problem. However like all bikes, the speed that it will go up the hill depends on the payload weight and some other factors. The battery will discharge about 18 Amps under this kind of incline and can sustain this level for over 1 hour. In fact, every battery is tested at 15 Amps for 1.5 hours before it leaves the factory!”

Reply
James
4 years ago

This bike is a candidate for my landscape photography legs and porter but I would like to hear other opinions on using it like that. Presently I use a mountain bike with a rack but it just doesn’t have the capacity. I would be hauling only perhaps ten or fifteen pounds of equipment but one of the pieces is a tripod, famous for nonportability, and a couple of medium sized cases together with some diversions such as books, tunes and games since landscape photography can be a waiting game. While the stuff isn’t heavy, it is bulky and needs sorting so the gear is at hand when needed. I like the design of the brute and can see using it recreationally which I can’t imagine with some of the other cargo bikes. I like the radio in one of the bike scooters, but an iPod would work, I guess. Perhaps a Pelican case could be screwed down to the rear rack. Any thoughts would be golden.

Reply
court
4 years ago

Sounds like a creative way to use this bike. The frame definitely feels sturdy and the battery pack is designed to get you excellent range. The drive system is very simple and the ride can be bumpy given the smaller wheel size but it offers a lot of utility. I’m sure you could mount a little bike speaker system or something and this one even has a USB port so you could run your phone or MP3 player off the bike battery :)

Reply
Jim W
3 years ago

I talked to Tora two weeks ago. He said that the price for the ODK version 3 with 48 V/15 Ah is $2,199; the cost for the 48 V/23 Ah is $2,499; and the cost for the 48 V/32 Ah (when it becomes available in the Fall in limited numbers) is $3,199. He said that since 2014 there was a tremendous price drop, so he is able to offer the prices I mentioned for 2015.

Reply
court
3 years ago

That’s awesome! Thanks for bringing this to light Jim. I’m excited to check out his new models (I saw a few updates at Interbike 2014 but have been holding to post until things are finalized).

Reply
Wayne
3 years ago

I live in St.Augustine Florida and ordered the new ODK U 500 / V3 / 32ah with front basket from local dealer to be here in the fall , I would like to put a lg. heavy duty hard shell storage trunk with lock & key on the back of this bike.Please tell me where to get the best product to fit this bike. Thanks , Wayne

Reply
court
3 years ago

Hi Wayne! I spoke with the founder of Juiced Riders and he recommended the Emgo Travel Trunk saying “It works very well with our frame” so yeah, give that one a try and feel free to post here or in the forum based on your experience with it :D

Reply
Bob
3 years ago

I love the design and look of this bike. I live in a pretty hilly town (Scranton, PA.) and believe this will be perfect for my work commute and on the way home errands. My concern is about the lack of any shock. If you’ve known or dealt with Pennsylvania roads you’ll know why I’m asking. Not exactly a California bike path. Is this a good candidate for my region?

Reply
court
3 years ago

Hi Bob! Good question… I’m a little sensitive to bumps and jolts due to a car accident and concussion when I was younger. My back and neck have whiplash now and the added weight of a helmet can agitate me when there’s any kind of bumpy terrain. For this reason I prefer full suspension bikes and even opt for suspension seat posts like the Thudbuster (there are other more affordable suspension posts but this one has the longest travel). I guess what I’m saying is I’m on the extreme sensitivity end of the scale. Most people are fine but you are considering an ebike with smaller diameter wheels here so they can “fall into” potholes vs. spanning them. The tires have a decent diameter which means more air and cushion and you get excellent power and range with this bike but yeah, it can be rougher. If you like the design, price, branding etc. just know there are things you can do later to add some cushion and maybe ride a traditional bike around for a bit and imagine going faster on average and further because that’s what most ebike owners report. Hope this helps :)

Reply
Chris Stratton
2 years ago

Court, looks like currently the $3199 price is for the 32-ah, 1536-wh version, not the 22-ah version as listed. I know because I just bought one based in large part on your review. :) Thanks!

Reply
court
2 years ago

Thanks for the heads up Chris! Some of the details are off due to the site migration recently (and also companies sometimes change prices or features). I’m glad you found a great bike and that the reviews helped :D

Reply
Bike_on
2 years ago

Court riding on the rack and Sam in boots. What a hoot! My fav review yet! That is a truly unique bike offering.

Topology: Juiced is one of the few companies to make the front hub look and function well. The best COG (center of gravity) appears to be the mid drive motor and center battery. For a large battery in the back, moving the motor to the front is a nice balance.

Reply
court
2 years ago

We had fun with it, was awesome to see what some of the customers had done to customize the bike!

Reply
Ian
2 years ago

I bought mine a few days ago and it should be here by the end of the week – very much looking forward to it! I plan on making some videos on my YouTube channel – Pioneer7777777 of test rides, accessories, add-ons, etc. Also looking to outfit it for winter when that comes so I will detail how that works. Looking forward to doing my 44 mile round trip commute on this bad boy!

Reply
court
2 years ago

That sounds awesome Ian! You’ve got an impressive commute but the Juiced Bikes definitely offer the battery size you’d need to get it done. I can’t wait to see your videos :D

Reply
Chris Stratton
2 years ago

My wife and I got the 32ah model and love it. It’s SO versatile. It’s got room for an adult passenger along with dropped pannier rails. And the front basket! Is immense and sturdy. Can also tow — we use it with a Burley trailer and a Bikes at Work trailer. I once hauled 600 lbs of lumber 4 miles with it — no sweat. Customer service is very responsive. We were having some trouble with the throttle and contacted them. Heard back from Tora directly, sent us a new wiring kit right away. It’s been fine since. Couldn’t be happier with this bike. And we heard about it from you, Court. Thanks again.

Reply
court
2 years ago

Chris! Thanks so much for sharing feedback about how you use the bike AND the customer service from Tora. That’s awesome… glad you’re enjoying it and definitely happy I could help you discover it :D

Reply
Kendo
10 months ago

My wife doesn’t know how to ride a bike so seeing that video of you and Sam got me interested.

Thinking of getting this bike in case of an emergency (like an earthquake or zombie attack)  and we need to bug out of town. Combined with my wife and two babies and minimal luggage, I estimate our weight to be just over 400 pounds. Would this bike serve that purpose well? Are there other bikes in that price range that we might/should consider?

Reply
court
10 months ago

Hi Kendo! I do think that this would be a good choice because of the smaller, stronger wheels, and also the extra large battery pack and longer cargo frame-rack at the rear. If your wife is new to bicycle riding, maybe share this video. I created it while teaching my adult friend who had also never ridden and he picked it up surprisingly quickly. If she were to ride the Juiced ODK, she might have an even easier time because the frame is so low to the ground and stable :)

Reply
Jeffrey Wong
10 months ago

FYI, I just saw refurbished Juiced! cargo bikes, the U350 on their website , but with a free upgrade to a 500 w motor for $1049! Same warranty, same features as new. I pulled the trigger. Yes, only one speed, but I’m going to make it work for me, even on my house on the hill (of the three ways to get to my house, I know which will be gentlest on the single speed.

I have a Bike Friday with a 250 W motor which will help me climb a 35% grade with minimal sweat. That was a spendy bike, but I love it, too.

Cheers!

Reply
court
10 months ago

Awesome! I’m excited for you Jeffrey, I hope it works great for you, that is a good deal! And I’d love to hear about it as you receive and take it out for some test rides.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Bruce Arnold
18 hours ago

Welcome to the forum.

https://electricbikereview.com/category/speed/ for a compendium of reviews of Class 3 speed pedelecs. First run through, you might look at battery size. If you want to ride 50+ miles, you're going to want a bike with a fairly large battery.

Having narrowed the field, then you can look at other factors, such as weight, accessories, etc. You might compare the ones that interest you to the forums here on EBR. Some brands have tons of user input here, which is so valuable. Some have very little. That matters to a lot of people; it did to me when I was choosing. Are they available at a store near you, or can they be bought direct-to-consumer? (Some prefer one, some prefer the other. I was happy to buy a bike online and have not regretted the choice.)

Folks will chime in with specific suggestions and here's mine: I'm really happy with the Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S. This bike is offered in several different sizes, three colors, and with a great choice of battery sizes. Mine has a 48 volt, 17.4 amp-hour battery, and I have ridden over 50 miles on a charge a number of times. They no longer offer the 17.4 Ah battery, but have now have a 19.2 Ah battery that fits your requirements. With higher voltage and larger capacity you can ride faster and farther. Hard to beat that. If you have any interest in a fat-tire bike, Juiced makes the RipCurrent S, with much that same specs as the CCS but with a slightly more powerful motor and a 52 volt, 21 Ah battery.

Bruce Arnold
4 days ago

I wish there was a way to do a search on the EBR database for battery size. I've looked; there isn't. That would be a great way to narrow down your search.

You could look at the Category tab on the home page, and look at 28 mph Speed Pedelecs. Some of those bikes have options for larger batteries -- the Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S being a prime example -- and might fit your other needs as well.

Too bad Juiced Bikes isn't making the ODK any more -- huge battery, lots of torque for those hills -- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bim53Gzhxk

Reid
1 week ago

My overall ebike experience is life-changing in an extraordinarily good way.

I first had an ebike a little over ten years ago. It was not very good, a cheap commercially produced bike with lead acid battery. It was not very satisfactory. A year later I got a front wheel geared hub motor kit from Canada, bought locally a basic cruiser bike, and ordered direct from China, a Ping brand battery.

I soon crashed the bike! I did not know how to ride a cruiser bike! Went head over the bars when I foolishing pedaled while going through a roundabout, and the low-hung cruiser bike pedal hit the pavement and pogo'd me a number of feet though the air, landing me on grass and then the bike went just over me and landed on the grass too. Well! That caused me to lose interest in ebiking.

But I watched and waited many years. I knew what I wanted to wait for: A lithium battery bike with pedals that will never accidentally touch the pavement. I recognized the value and performance of the Juiced Bikes https://www.juicedbikes.com/products/crosscurrent-s.

My CCS arrived late last December. I have ridden it every day since. I gave up driving the car and use the bike for most all my needs. For the occasions when I cannot ride I will very reluctantly use our family car. When I go and tune and repair pianos I may summon a rideshare.

But, daily I ride my ebike manually for exercise. And when I want to go fast or far and not break a sweat, electric assist is there.

I have ridden manual bicycles casually since 1960 when I was six.

With an ebike I can confidenly state I will ride a bike productively and for my health, for my remaining life.

We all just want to get by. An ebike and some fortitude, enjoying that car traffic can be ridden around, and yes, recognizing that car drivers today are particularly dangerous because they are less attentive to their death dealing vehicles than ever before, I will still ride my ebike for health and for practicality, and extoll its virtues to every person I meet while rolling the bike.

"What a beautiful bike," is the universal compliment I get from every person who sees the bike, whether I am cresting a bridge and they are on foot looking at the bridge view, or in the store like our local Home Depot, where the bike and its fold-out basket in the rear serves as a shopping cart, "What a beautiful bike. Is it an ebike? I am afraid to ride a bike because of the traffic, it's crazy."

The more of us who exemplify the the lifestyle of the Dutch and just ride a bike, manual or electric assist, the more we help those poor drivers understand that yes, they can do it too.

I am trying to encourage other riders. Do you agree with my posting of this video?

The more people will ride a bike, the healthier we all will become emotionally and otherwise. There is safety in numbers of more people riding bikes.

Jeffrios
1 week ago

This is a very unscientific and inaccurate way to measure problems/quality issues.

PCDoctorUSA
1 week ago

With several companies doing the "pre-order" dance and failing to keep projected delivery dates, and at the very least communicate with the customer it seems any one of them could be a crap shoot. Companies like Voltbike, Rad Power Bikes, Juiced Bikes, and Biktrix all have their satisfied and dissatisfied customers. All bikes being equal, which they're not, it would be much easier to choose a company to go with if they either consistently delivered bad service or good service. Unfortunately, it's a roller coaster of experiences.

Bruce Arnold
1 week ago

For a while it said on the Juiced website that they would no longer be putting the Marathon Plus upgrades on the wheels for us. My CCS was the last one shipped from the November-December 2017 batch (per my request, I was out of town for all of December/early January), so it may have been the last one shipped with the Marathon Pluses installed. Now they are no longer supplying the Marathon Pluses, so you just might have been the last customer to get them from Juiced Bikes in any way, shape or form.

If I were in your shoes, I'd ride the Kendas for a while. May as well get your money's worth. But I can see wanting to have the Marathons on your bike. Since mine came installed, I have no basis for comparison.

Bruce Arnold
1 week ago

I ride a Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S. I'm a heavy guy so that has to be factored in.

I'm careful in most situations to accelerate under my own power as much as I can, because acceleration uses a lot of battery, especially with a lot of weight. It takes a little longer to get up to speed but makes a measurable difference in mileage. (How did I measure it? I tried going from 0-15 mph in all five levels of assist. Not surprisingly, it used up more watts at the higher levels.)

Last week I got 50 miles on a charge, using mostly Eco but also 1, 2, cruise control, and Throttle Assist Boost. The latter two aren't dependent on what level of assist you are in. Cruise control uses more current than Eco or 1, but less than 2, 3, and Sport. Throttle Assist Boost uses more than Sport -- it's kind of a rush really. At the end of the ride, the resting voltage read 44.8 V. Since I avoid going below 44 V (roughly 30% of battery), I figure I still had another 5 miles left at the same rate of usage. Probably another 10 miles if I had used only Eco the whole time; it really makes a difference. More, if I went down to 42 V, which is 20% of the battery.

I've also experimented with turning off the torque sensor and relying on cadence sensing alone. Wow, that really boosts the mileage. On a recent ride, when I had forgotten to charge the battery, I started at 44.6 V and ended at 42.6 V after a 20 mile ride on Eco alone. That's just amazing mileage, especially considering that the lower the voltage, the faster the drop.

I charge my battery to 95%, BTW.

So I'm confident that I could get 60 miles with my usual riding style, making use of various levels of assist, cruise control etc., and even more if I started with 95%, used cadence sensor, and kept it in Eco the whole time. I guess sometime I'll have to try starting at 95% and do the Eco-only, cadence sensor mode, take it down to 42%, and see how many miles that is. Problem is, torque sensing is so much more natural and fun, there's not a lot of motivation to try this. :cool:

Asher
1 week ago

More of a non sequitur admittedly.

Though Tora will be sending them to media, which often means cash or in kind payments, or not. Hard to know unless they disclose.

I hope it succeeds just so it can build more momentum for the actually useful bikes like the CCS :p. Though this would be fun to rent and kick around.

Bruce Arnold
1 week ago

No doubt. I'm not saying it never happens, just that this guy got a loaner, not a give-away, from Juiced. It's the only example I know of involving Juiced Bikes. Thought I'd share it.

Or was your remark simply a non sequitur?

JayOhEn
2 weeks ago

I believe the Scrambler (most Juiced Bikes, for that matter) have the ability to set a speed restriction. So regardless of your local ebike laws, you can adjust your bike to be in compliance (~20mph or whatever). And then when you're off-road and able to go all out, simply set the speed restriction to a level beyond the bike's top speed and you'll be able to run at 100%.

As for the helmet-video, it seems to imply that personally wearing a helmet is a good idea but that mandatory helmet laws that apply to everyone has a net-negative effect. So the best thing would be to wear a helmet for yourself but give everyone the option not to.

And those people saying this isn't really an ebike remind me of the cycling purists who groused when the very 1st ebikes started coming out and the pedal-only crowd raised their noses and looked down upon us like heathens. Now some ebikers are judging who belongs and who doesn't? Is pedal-only > ebikes > whatever ebikes you disapprove of?

Gator
2 weeks ago

I have a lot to learn
I was considering an ebike with a 500 watt Yamaha, 36 volts. It comes with a 500 watt/hour battery with 13.8 AH. My commute is 22 mile round trip and its pretty hilly. I planned on primarily using the eco setting. Should I be looking at a different bike???

Gator
2 weeks ago

I am just a couple of miles North of Cincinnati. I spent a summer in Chillicothe when I was 16. That is a sharp bike. I like that general shape. I would need an XXL.

Shannon
1 year ago

Just wondering if anyone has had any first hand experience with the Ariel Rider bikes? I have been looking at getting an EBike and due to my weight have been looking at the C Class Ariel Rider or potentially the ODK U500 v3 from Juiced Bikes.

I would appreciate any feedback anyone has with these bikes or even other options.

Thanks.

Marc V
1 year ago

Welcome Dave!

What are you using for your capacity tests? I ended up getting the knock off iMaxB6 for a bit cheaper than the official one (truth be told I didn't know it was a knock off till my friend pointed it out lol).

Also, how big will your battery be as well as configuration?

I was going to make a larger spare eBike battery for my 1st eBike but ended up getting the Juiced Bikes ODK U500 V3 eBike with the 48v 32ah battery which is more than enough range for me, so ended up using my harvested lithium cells for my backup solar generator battery bank haha.

Good luck on the build!

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

Marc V
1 year ago

Hey All!

After owning the Juiced ODK U500 V3 for a few weeks and really liking it, I finally got around to doing a full range test.

Long story short I got about 50 miles with the 32ah battery on a single full charge.

Long story even longer see below lol

I chose to ride it in an almost worst case scenario for my "real world" conditions. I live in a city with mostly flat riding a few minor hills here and there and windy days etc.

I finally found a nice enough day where I was free to put it to the test.

I road the bike pretty hard, meaning I did little to no pedaling, using throttle even from dead stop. I know that is a lot to ask of from your motor and battery, but wanted to test it, like I said, in an almost worse case scenario where maybe there might be some days where I am injured and have a hard time pedaling. Bike is pretty heavy so even on normal everyday commuting I need to do a standing pedal down to get going if I don't use the throttle to deal with the weight. Good time to give bike and personal info...

Some info on my setup:
I have the heavier MoPed tires
Rear passenger seat kit from Juiced Bikes (works great! but be aware rpassenger will feel bumps etc so make sure to warn them if possible of upcoming bumps, we learned that the hard way hehe)
Milk Crate mounted on rear rack as well
Some basic accessories (couple of Ulocks with cables, Headlights, speed/odometer, phone mount)

Some info on me:
Around 185 pounds, 190ish with clothing give or take

So that being said i was asking a lot out of the motor and battery hauling that much weight with no assistance from me, but it hauls like a champ as I have ridden it with myself and another adult!

Took it all around northside chicago, down to the lake up to navy pier for those who are familiar with the area and back, I had so much juice left from that 30 mile trip was just cruising around the neighborhoods going down streets I've never been down, trying to remember which are the bad ones to stay away from haha :)

So dealt with traffic, people, stop signs, stop lights, so a lot of stop and goes and again riding it hard with throttle from dead stop and little pedaling. By the lakefront dealt with a lot of front winds so, motor was fighting with that as well. But never needed to pedal because the motor couldn't handle the job, I ended up catching myself pedaling out of pure habit! Had to tell myself, "remember you are doing a no pedal range test!" lol

There was still juice left when I had ridden it for some time on one battery dot/light, I considered the range test done and bike was still moving with this riding style but I did notice reduced performance so I called it then because at that point if I was out and about not in a semi controlled environment, I would be thinking I need to find a place to charge haha. So I might have squeezed more miles, but ~50miles covers almost all, if not all of my possible commutes (round trip! and if this wasn't a range test and I decided to charge in between here and there with the fast charger, forget about it! haha)

So had a great time as I have never seen the city from this perspective, I was an avid city bicycle rider before, but it was mostly point A to B and limited by my endurance/stamina lol. No joke, eBikes has gotten me out more and wanting to go cruise around weather permitting as I stopped riding bicycles for years for whatever reason :)

The ODK U500 V3 handled Chicago like a champ, but if you have researched or even ridden the bike, you will already know there is no suspension, so flats are great but you feel the bumps and if you have a passenger they REALLY feel the bumps lol.

Built in/standard taillight is bright at night and can be seen pretty far away, I added reflector stickers to my milk crate as well as my helmet hehe. Just mounted a LED flashlight DIY style to handle bars and works well at night both for my own visibility and being visible to others.

Oh also, it took me even longer to do the range test because eBikes are not as popular here in Chicago as compared to other big cities in Cali or NY, etc. I've only seen a handful on the road where I ride, so I kept getting flagged down and getting asked questions about the bike, which was fun lol

So conclusion, for real world city commuting for sub 200lb rider, expect 50+ range on a single charge with the 32ah batt if you ride it like a scooter/moped for days you are injured, tired, or plain LAZY lmao. I can easily see 80-100 mile range on a single charge that others have been reporting if you are lighter, pedal, and have great riding conditions (flat, downhills, tailwinds, etc).

Hope they keep going with this bike with V4, V5, etc!

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

Marc V
1 year ago

I have a Juiced ODK U500 V3 and live in Chicago, I got it towards the end of winter so only road it a few times when there was snow. I mostly use it to commute to work (~20miles round trip) and Chicago is pretty good on clearing the roads when it snows but I felt the bike handles well in both light snow as well as wet conditions, it has been raining heavy the last few days here in Chicago. Of course with any mode of transportation in foul weather, you need to proceed with caution and reduced speed for safety.

I've had similar experiences of dialing in how I ride in certain conditions with braking at stop signs or lights. It varies with different loads, weather, etc. But I am getting the hang of it now.

I have taken my battery out many times messing with different stuff on the rack (easier to get different things mounted with the battery off) and I have done it so many times it doesn't bother me to do it, but everyone is correct, it is not easy to be removed compared to others :) Currently I have the rear passenger seat kit and a milk crate mounted on the rear rack which work well for most of my commutes.

I have the same issues with loading it with cargo, I have the standard kickstand that came with bike. When I go grocery shopping I like to load the bike while it is leaning against the bike lock/park pole thing :) if I am by myself, if I am with someone, I get on the bike and hold it up while they load then they get on. If it is light loading turning the front wheel the opposite direction of the kickstand lean helps a lot surprisingly for me.

Only clocked in a few hundred miles and no major issues, handlebars were loose as others have reported, I tightened them and haven't had a problem since. Did a range test recently and got 50miles in riding around Chicago with virtually no pedaling lol. But when after charging the bike over night I came in to unplug it and the standard charger that came with it was blinking RED, it still charged the bike, and I asked Juiced support and they mentioned that it was most likely the cells being balanced and that cut off the charge port (juiced support is great by the way, so that helps a lot in my book to know they got your back!). Been riding it the last few days and it has been charging and riding as normal and it has been heavy rain lately. Wish it had full suspension as I travel mostly on paved roads, but Chicago like most cities can have bumpy roads with potholes, and rear passenger kit seat rider feels it even worse, which we found out the hard way haha. So on my to do list is get a suspension float seat and look what I can do for my passenger, maybe a thicker heavy cushion or seat with springs/suspension to help with the bumpy rides :)

I park it outside with a couple of locks and try and wipe it down in my garage after it gets wet from riding and parked in the rain, during winter I only brought in the battery a couple of times, during winter. but I mostly leave it in the garage to charge, not heated but it is insulated so pretty cold still.

So to answer your initial question, the bike seems to handle the winter weather ok, you just need to be mindful of the conditions as it will mostly likely change how you ride, I mostly didn't like riding in winter because it got so dang cold lmao! But I'm still alive and the way Chicago is pretty soon I will be complaining that it got so dang hot! haha.

But I agree with everyone else, it aint perfect, but I really REALLY LIKE my Juiced ODK U500!!! hehe

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

Marc V
1 year ago

Traded in my 1st eBike for the Juiced Bikes ODK U500 V3 and so far got a little over 200 miles clocked in and really enjoying the bike! Unfortunately I have not tried the pedego cargo although I was debating that and spicy and other cargo bikes, I eventually chose the ODK U500 because it was a midtail and I wasn't really in need of a full cargo bike. I also chose this for the range.

I got the 32ah battery and just recently did a range test just to see how it was for me. I'm around 185lbs so 190ish with clothing, I also have the heavy moped tires, and a few accessories that added another pound or two. Test was around the city of Chicago as I mostly use the bike for urban commuting to work as well as point A to B for recreational activities, so mostly paved roads, mostly flat, but Chicago does have bumpy terrain and potholes here and there lol.

Anyway was able to get around 50miles! That is riding it hard though lol. Little to no pedaling. Fought some wind by the lakefront and the bike was still moving around 50miles but it was slowing down, so who knows how many more miles I could have squeezed out at reduced performance but I considered the range test done at that point hehe.

I agree on the suspension, I have it stock on that and it can get bumpy, and I have the rear passenger seat kit from them as well and that can feel bumps even more. So I might look into adding a suspension seat as well as more cushion for my passengers lol.

But if you are into these type of eBikes, I recommend the ODK u500, I am really glad I got it.

Of course, if you have the ability to test ride multiple eBikes that will help you decide.

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

Marc V
1 year ago

Wow, sorry to hear and I will keep an eye on this thread as I currently own a Juiced Bike, hope you get it worked out!

I currently own a Juiced ODK U500 V3 (2nd eBike) and have worked with Juiced Support on a few support cases and they have been very helpful (even Tora himself responded to one of my support cases).

I couldn't tell by your post if you already have a current support case with Juiced Bikes? If not, I recommend getting one ASAP so you can nip this in the bud. UPDATE: I see you said Luis called you, which I assume you are talking about Luis from Juiced. Either way I hope it all gets sorted out!

Good luck!

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

Marc V
1 year ago

I was looking at the Mariner as well but decided to go with the Juiced Bikes ODK U500 V3 instead. Let me know how it goes! Take care, ride safe! Marc V

Marc V
1 year ago

I just got the juiced odk u500 v3 ebike over the weekend.

This is my 2nd ebike and so far i am very happy with my purchase!

I got the 32ah battery which is estimated 80+ mile range, have not done a range test though.

Be aware though the battery is heavy and isn't designed to be removed.

With the heavy duty frame and heavy duty battery the ebike is on the heavier side so lifting it going up and down stairs with it is challenging.

Tora of juiced bikes does mention he designed this bike to be a car replacement (or as we are recently saying in other post "car alternative" :) ).

I do use it to commute around my city as well as commute to work. I try to ride as much as possible weather and time permitting.

I average close to 20 miles a day and recommend this bike if it meets your needs.

I would recommend you test ride it and others if possible to get a good feel for what works for you.

Happy hunting!

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

Marc V
1 year ago

Hey Pete12:

I am curious to see what you end up getting as well as if it hits all your needs! I switched from an EZ pedaler X350 to a Juiced ODK U500 V3 for different reasons, but from my initial research the ODK is pretty durable and versatile. I just got it over the weekend so I don't have much personal experience with it in different situations but I did read this couple's experiences with the ODK U500 and they look to be hauling passengers as well as cargo!

Pretty interesting read if you want to read the whole thing as they go into their experiences trying to get by without a car and using a few different vehicles to try and replace their car :)

http://www.frugalhappy.org/blog/2016/6/20/carfree-experiment-our-new-fleet

Here are pics from their webpage to give you an example of what they're hauling

(Not my personal pics)

Not sure if they are part of this forum community otherwise I would tag them and thank them as their info helped me get mine and so far am happy with my purchase!

bob armani
1 year ago

Hey Marc-Thanks for the heads up. The local Chicago muni-code below seems to be clear that you can be fined if you ride our trails with power assist on over 15mph. Does this mean we actually can ride in like say ECO mode if we do not exceed 15mph? What do you think? Read it and weep LOL!

Did you purchase your new bike locally? Congrats. I'll check it out online.

Take Care Marc!

Motorized Bicycles: Persons may not use or ride within the District any electric or electric assisted bicycle capable of exceeding a speed of fifteen (15) miles per hour. Any violation of this Section 4-3-1.B. shall be fined not less than seventy-five dollars ($75.00) or more than five hundred dollars ($500.00) for each offense. This section is not intended to prohibit any person with mobility impairment(s) from using an electronic personal assistive mobility device.

from: https://www.municode.com/library/il/cook_county/codes/forest_preserve?nodeId=TIT4MOVETR

Marc V
1 year ago

Hey e-boy!

Hope you find an eBike that works for you. I live in Chicago and my daily commute to work is around 20 miles round trip. My 1st eBike was an EZ Pedaler X350 and I put over 600 miles on that sucker since oct 2016 when I bought it. I really enjoyed that eBike and would have been fine just sticking with that, but I needed more weight capacity when hauling cargo (or a passenger :) ) so I now have the Juiced ODK U500 V3 and so far am really liking it!

If you watch some of Juiced Bikes videos on youtube Tora specifically says they designed this eBike to be a car replacement eBike. I ended getting the 48v 32Ah battery which is estimated 80-100mile range but I have not tested that for my average use. Of course those are probably estimated in optimal conditions, so weight, terrain, weather can all play a factor and you do say you will be dealing with hills.

I was also looking at the pedego stretch and yuba spicy curry cargo bikes, but I ended up choosing the Juiced ODK U500 because of the battery and I don't know if I was ready for a full cargo bike :) and the ODK although some consider it a cargo bike is in my opinion an in-between with its mid tail.

Hope that helps, but I agree with everyone else statements on what to consider.

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

Marc V
1 year ago

Hey Bob:

I forgot to mention I asked a few orgs on FaceBook about eBikes and I didn't get official answers but both pages I contacted did get back to me with a response so interpret them as you see fit :)

Also FYI, I got a new eBike, Juiced ODK U500 V3, I am really enjoying it so far. Hopefully you find an eBike you will enjoy as well as I hope you find out for sure what we can and can't do with eBikes on the trails you want to ride on, and please share with us. I don't ride on trails often but it would be good to know what their local law is. Thanks!

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

LIFE STARTS NOW
3 months ago

I sold my car last week. I'm totally getting one of these.

buzifalus
6 months ago

I couldnt get whats the name of the stand

Joey Love
8 months ago

I love this bike. Rides great

Jeffrey Wong
10 months ago

FYI, the U350 ($1499) is the single speed version of this, that is now offered with a free 500 watt motor upgrade (from 350 watts). Other differences between the models, mechanical vs hydraulic disc brakes, the charger, handlebar grips, fenders, rear light. Other big surprise: a refurbished U350 with identical specs goes for $1049.

Jeffrey Wong
10 months ago

Ditto Edgar Rodriguez re: the brake inhibitor. I might be related to Edgar.

I don't know how a bike having a throttle would need a brake inhibitor. The hub motor conversion kits I've seen with throttle Don't have brake inhibitors--pedal assist likely changes that, if the PA doesn't quit on its own soon enough when the rider stops moving the cranks. School me--keep me humble.

Peter Thornton
7 months ago

This bike has a cruise control feature, hitting the brake or touching the throttle again turns it off. Tora is a very good designer. Nothing on this bike that doesn't need to be there. Fresh approach and very good.

Brett
11 months ago

I'm pretty sure I'm selling my truck and giving Juiced Bikes all my money. These are game-changing!

qqq uiop
10 months ago

I like these, but Tern is coming out with a mid-drive cargo bike that's worth checking out: https://www.ternbicycles.com/bikes/471/gsd
I like that the Tern is a mid-drive for better pulling weight up hills, but it will be pricey. I'm waiting until I see some real-world specs and reviews before I buy anything.

ElectricBikeReview.com
11 months ago

Cool! I hope it works out well for you, there's a forum if you have questions or feedback as you use it: https://electricbikereview.com/forum/forums/juiced-bikes/

thenatnatboy
12 months ago

do you remember if it has a lock for the battery compartment so when I park it on the street it would be stolen?

j lin
1 year ago

yuba ? or this ?

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

I'd get the new Yuba Spicy Curry with Bosch personally, it costs more but I like mid-drives for easier wheel service and balance

Queenz Bridge
1 year ago

I have the u350 single speed one can I put a 3 speed like the odk 500 thanks

R D
1 year ago

Cool bike for daily commute black bike is cool👍🏻🇨🇦

John Cunningham
2 years ago

Why use a moped tire?

Andy Casbo
2 years ago

I like this bike, one of the best you ever review. 100 miles pr charge is a winner

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Hey Andy! I agree, the price is decent, it's custom and meant to be an electric bike but done in a way that's rugged. I'd probably put that suspension seat post on but otherwise I really like it!

seckusa
2 years ago

like your reviews but you gotta let other people talk more.

Kevin Chapman
2 years ago

I like Sam's shoes.

Dan M
2 years ago

Great video thanks for that .
Have to say though ..... you guys looked super gay riding together lol :)

ohretyah -
2 years ago

I thought Tora was working on pedal-assist. No doubt it will come. He seems to have honed this bike very well. What is the name of the shop this man owns? I know the interviewer is enthusiastic, which is a good thing, but he might have let the shop owner get a few words in!!!!! Good video this, and a marvellous bike. I like the idea of heavier tyres giving a flywheel effect.

Douglas Shieh
2 years ago

What is the name of Sam's shop?

2D FeelsGood
2 years ago

How much???

joes joey
2 years ago

another great video~~!! these guys are great!!

XVE Charger
2 years ago

Electric Bike Charger/ Hoverboard Charger/Mini Scooter Charger
29.4V 2A Power Adapter Charger for 25.2V battery
42.0V 2A Power Adapter Charger for 36V battery
54.6V 2A Power Adapter Charger for 46.8V battery
67.2V 2A Power Adapter Charger for 57.6V battery

https://xvepower.en.alibaba.com

XVE Professional Electric vehicle battery charger with CE UL FCC CB KC EMC certification

Mob:008613302922006
Skype: xvecharger
Wechat: xvecharger