Magnum Classic Review

Magnum Classic Electric Bike Review
Magnum Classic
Magnum Classic 350 Watt 8fun Motor Derailleur Guard
Magnum Classic Removable 36 Volt 13 Amp Hour Battery
Magnum Classic Stitched Ergo Grips Bell
Magnum Classic Das Kit Lcd Display Panel
Magnum Classic Zoom Suspension Fork Integrated Light Fenders
Magnum Classic Aluminum Alloy Chain Guide Plastic Folding Pedals
Magnum Classic 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Drivetrain
Magnum Classic Ebike Folded In Car Trunk
Magnum Classic Folded In The Back Of An Suv
Magnum Classic Electric Bike Charger
Magnum Classic Electric Bike Review
Magnum Classic
Magnum Classic 350 Watt 8fun Motor Derailleur Guard
Magnum Classic Removable 36 Volt 13 Amp Hour Battery
Magnum Classic Stitched Ergo Grips Bell
Magnum Classic Das Kit Lcd Display Panel
Magnum Classic Zoom Suspension Fork Integrated Light Fenders
Magnum Classic Aluminum Alloy Chain Guide Plastic Folding Pedals
Magnum Classic 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Drivetrain
Magnum Classic Ebike Folded In Car Trunk
Magnum Classic Folded In The Back Of An Suv
Magnum Classic Electric Bike Charger

Summary

  • A feature-packed folding electric bike with lots of accessories and multiple color options, great price point and warranty, available through dealers or the Magnum online store
  • Sturdy folding mechanisms with security locks emphasize safety, reflective tires and LED lights keep you seen in dark riding conditions, alloy chain guide and derailleur guard protect the drivetrain
  • Adjustable handlebar and seat height accommodate tall or short riders and the suspension fork and suspension seat post, while basic, make it comfortable to ride
  • At nearly 53 lbs it's heavy for a folding ebike, independent lights are more of a hassle and can be left on accidentally then run out, key must be left in to ride, battery is heavy and not hidden

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Magnum

Model:

Classic

Price:

$1,299

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53.8 lbs (24.4 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.6 lbs (3.44 kg)

Motor Weight:

8 lbs (3.62 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

15 in (38.1 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

15" Seat Tube, 21.5" Reach, 22.5" Stand Over Height, 65.5" Length

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, Folding

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Blue Accents, Matte Black with Orange Accents

Frame Fork Details:

ZOOM Aria Suspension with Preload Adjustment, 40 mm Travel, 9 mm QR Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shimano RevoShift Grip Twist on Right

Cranks:

SOLID 85, 165 mm Length, 52T Chainring with Aluminum Alloy Guide

Pedals:

Wellgo K20410, Folding Plastic Platform

Headset:

Neco 1 1/8"

Stem:

Aluminum Alloy, Folding with QR Telescoping Height (10" to 13")

Handlebar:

Low-Rise, 24" Length, Aluminum Alloy

Brake Details:

Tektro Front: Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotor, Rear: Linear Pull, Artek Levers with Rubberized Edge and Motor Inhibitor

Grips:

Ergonomic Stitched

Saddle:

Selle Royal, Oversized with Rubber Bumpers

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, Basic Suspension, Flip-Up Saddle Clamp

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled, Color Matched (Metallic Blue or Orange)

Spokes:

12G Stainless Steel

Tire Brand:

CST, 20" x 2.125"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Stripes, 40-65 PSI, Nylon

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Flick Bell, Rear Rack with Pannier Blockers and Spring Latch 25 kg Max Weight (55 lbs), Single Side Adjustable Length Kickstand, Metal Derailleur Guard, Aluminum Alloy Fenders with Mud Flaps, Independent Spanninga GaLeo Headlight (2 AA Batteries), Independent Spanninga Back Light (2 AA Batteries), Folding Support Bar on Bottom Bracket

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 6 Mosfet 12 Amp Current Controller, 1.5 lb 2 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

8Fun

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

550 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung, Panasonic or LG

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

468 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Manganese (Li-NCM)

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Display Type:

Das-Kit Fixed Backlit Monochrome LCD

Readouts:

Power Indicator, Charge Level (6 Bars), Speed, Assist Level (0-6), Timer, Odometer, Max Speed, Trip Time, Trip Meter, (Press Power Button Once for Backlight)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad (Power, Set, +, -)

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Magnum Classic is one of my favorite folding electric bikes because it delivers so many features at such a reasonable price. Not all of those features are perfect, the independent lights for example, require you to swap AA batteries out occasionally and can be accidentally left-on to drain while you’re in class or at work vs. integrated lights that shut themselves off. The seven-speed drivetrain uses an entry level Shimano Tourney derailleur and the battery pack requires the key be left in to operate (which means the keys can jingle or be forgotten). But this thing looks beautiful and it comes in several color choices that you can see and test ride at a growing network of dealers. It’s not just the frame but also the fork, fenders, battery pack and rims that match and it’s not just dealers but also the Magnum online store that sells it. Sometimes companies will try to do “everything” and succeed at nothing but I feel that the Magnum Classic gets the important parts right and if you aren’t satisfied with the standard 20 mph top speed on this model, $600 more will get you the Magnum Premium with 28 mph performance, two disc brakes vs. one here and sturdier cast wheels. Personally, given the smaller wheel size on both of these ebikes, I’m comfortable and satisfied with 20 mph.

Driving this bike is a mid-level, widely known and used, geared hub motor from 8Fun. It’s compact, relatively light weight and surprisingly zippy compared to smaller 250 watt options. The motor produces a bit of electronic whirring noise at full power but with six levels of assist to choose from and a throttle-override, it can be quiet too. I love that the motor spins independently from any pedaling and shifting because that reduces wear on the chain, sprockets and derailleur but of course, it’s less efficient. Mid-drive ebikes have gained in popularity in recent years but I still enjoy the instant power (especially for starting from rest) that a throttle offers. I feel like you get full control with this setup and was very impressed with how responsive the cadence sensor was. I didn’t have to pedal even a half-stroke before the motor kicked in and the left brake lever had an inhibitor built in so I could cut power just by squeezing the brake. Unfortunately, the right lever did not have an inhibitor and I’m not sure this was a mistake with the demo model or some sort of cost savings approach because the output plug was there to be used? Both wheels are bolted on vs. using quick release and the rear axle has a lot going on including the shifter cables, derailleur and motor power cord all coming out the right side. A lot of mid-level products do this and it can be a point of vulnerability if the bike tips or you ride close to branches or walls where snagging or bashing could occur. For this reason, Magnum installed a metal derailleur guard to protect the sensitive bits and opted away from a rear disc brake. You get a mechanical disc in the front (where most of the stopping force is distributed anyway) and a more basic rim brake at the rear. Note that the wheels use thicker spokes to help handle the forces of electric motor power and any additional cargo strapped onto the rear rack.

Powering the bike is an efficient but larger-than-average 36 volt 13 amp hour battery. It’s housed in a “Silverfish” box that slides down behind the seat tube. Sometimes this same battery box mounts using plastic guides but Magnum went with metal and the pack is surrounded by frame tubing and encased in Aluminum so it really feels secure. At the top is a flip-up handle and LED power indicator so you can see how full it is even if you’ve got it stored away from the bike. The best way to keep this pack going is to charge it up every month or so when not in use and store it in a cool, dry location. On the left side of the pack is the keyed ignition and on the right side is a USB charging port. This could be handy for filling your phone or running additional lights (even holiday lights on the frame!) and it’s close to the rack so consider storing your stuff in a cargo bag while riding vs. running a long wire up to your handlebars. The battery is good but not great in the sense that it’s a 36 volt system vs. many that are now 48 (transmitting electricity more efficiently). You can flip the saddle up to slide the pack up and off the bike and weighing in at 7.6 lbs vs. 6 on packs with similar capacity I think the casing and possibly lower-density cells take their toll. 53.8 lbs can be a lot to lift (the total weight of the bike with the pack on) so I love how convenient it is to remove and would probably do so regularly. Note that the charger is very generic and standard, putting out 2 Amps and weighing under 2 pounds. Toss it in that trunk bag to extend your rides ;)

Once the battery is charged and the key is inserted, just twist to the right to power it on. From here, press the gray power button on the display pad and watch it flicker to life with a six-bar battery indicator, speed readout and six levels of pedal assist. Many ebikes only show four bars for the battery and offer four or five levels of assist so the Magnum system (using a Das-Kit display) is a bit more advanced. I like having the choices but didn’t feel overwhelmed and could appreciate the simplicity of a display with integrated buttons vs. an independent button pad with a larger center-mount display like Bosch and Yamaha offer. The one area to be careful is when folding and transporting the bike because I didn’t see bungee cords or magnets to keep it folded and if the display gets bonked around it could get scratched up or worse. Reaching over to the display to click up or down isn’t difficult but it’s less intuitive than fancier systems, with four buttons there it might require a quick look down. The biggest redeeming quality of the display and buttons is actually the throttle on the right side of the handlebar. This thing is easy to reach, offers variable power output and overrides assist at all levels! As mentioned earlier, hub motors aren’t as efficient as mid-drives because they can’t leverage your gears… but you can still extend range by pedaling along in one of the lower levels of assist with only occasional bursts of energy from the throttle to top a hill or pass another cyclist. I use the throttle to start from rest most of the time because my knee is sensitive but this uses the most power of all. Ease into it if you’re going for range. I did appreciate that the display is backlit but could also be left dark, this is handy if you get distracted easily or if it’s very dark and you’re trying to be sneaky ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

I really hope you watch the review video above because it goes into depth for each of the areas discussed here. For such an affordable and seemingly simple electric bike, there’s a lot to cover. Magnum went above and beyond to think through the accessories they chose and it really shows to me. They aren’t top-level parts but they all make sense and look great. Trying to find and add fenders post-purchase, especially for smaller bikes, can be a real pain. Same thing goes for racks and there are other parts like the suspension fork and telescoping stem that can be near-impossible to order one-off for a bike like this. If you’re willing to deal with the extra frame and battery weight and the occasional annoyance of battery replacement for the lights then the rest of the bike is very easy for me to recommend. It’s not quiet as balanced as some products with mid-frame batteries but you get more capacity and it’s way better than a rack-mount battery system. Having seen Magnum enter the US over the past several years, I’ve gained a trust for them (dealers have also shared positive comments). This is part of why I added them as a sponsor here. They round out the affordable level of bikes without cutting into quality of experience. Big thanks to Magnum for partnering with me on this post, they paid for my trip to Salt Lake City to see the bikes in person vs. doing reviews at dealers and we had a great time discussing the products. I hope this helps you discover the right bike for your lifestyle and budget and welcome feedback in the comments.

Pros:

  • For an electric bike that comes complete with fenders, lights and a rear rack… this thing is priced pretty well at $1,300 and you can find it at dealers vs. only online like a lot of other value bikes
  • This is a great looking bike and even though it only comes in one frame size, you do get color options! The paint looks good and even the battery pack and fenders are colorized for a more complete look, it’s nice to have variety if you’re considering a set for you and your partner or friend
  • Many folding electric bikes forego suspension because it adds weight but with smaller wheels, you sometimes feel the bumps more so I like that the Magnum Classic has a suspension fork and seat post
  • The battery mount felt solid and putting the pack on or taking it off the frame is less time consuming than some others that use the “Silverfish” pack design because the saddle flips forward out of the way
  • Electric bikes can suffer from chain drop (where the chain falls off the front chainring when you’re riding fast over bumpy terrain), I like that this ebike comes with a sturdy Aluminum chain guide (one plate on either side of the ring) to keep it on track
  • Independent lights keep you visible but cut down on the hassle (and theft potential) of aftermarket lights but still run on AA batteries vs. being wired-in. It’s cool that the bike comes with a flick bell and tires with reflective sidewall tape to enlarge your visual footprint and keep you seen and heard
  • On the right side near the top of the battery box there is a standard sized female USB port so you could charge additional lights or other portable electronics, this works whether the battery is on or off the bike as long as you turn it on with the key… it could double as a backup battery power source
  • Complimenting that chain guide piece mentioned earlier is a metal derailleur guard which keeps the sensitive bits of the bike from getting snagged or bent easily (including the motor cable which is routed through the rear axle there)
  • The rear rack is pretty decent and I love that it’s free from holding the battery which reduces hauling capacity and raises the weight of your gear, consider putting a trunk bag on this rack and looking for one with reflectors and a bottle holster like this
  • I think backlighting on the display is manually controlled (just press the power button once to enable it), this is my preference vs. having the bright light distracting you while riding, since the headlight and taillight are manually controlled too, you can set things however you want
  • The Magnum Classic uses the latest generation of cadence sensors at the bottom bracket, it’s super small so it won’t get bumped and felt very responsive to me, I love that the bike has throttle override as well so you can get going without straining your knees

Cons:

  • At nearly 54 pounds, this is not the lightest folder around… it’s on the heavier side and that makes folding and lifting it a chore, I’d recommend taking the 7.6 lb battery off first
  • I love how the stem telescopes up for taller riders but don’t stretch it too far or the brake lines, shifter cables and electronic wiring can get damaged as you steer
  • The display panel works well but isn’t removable so be extra careful when folding and transporting the bike, it would be a bummer to scratch or damage the display and that could happen easier on folding platforms
  • The suspension isn’t very adjustable (and you can’t lock the fork out) so depending on your weight and ride style it might be annoying and just add weight vs. being useful and effective
  • Since both the headlight and backlight are independent (running off of AA batteries vs. being wired into the ebike battery) they require more effort and time to keep going… don’t forget to turn them off after your ride or you might have to ride home in the dark :/
  • I don’t love folding plastic pedals because they bend easier and don’t offer much surface area or traction… they get the job done but might be worth replacing for heavier riders with larger feet, or those riding in wet conditions frequently, here are some folding Aluminum pedals that might work better
  • As with most generic “Silverfish” battery packs, you have to leave the key inserted and twisted to “on” in order to operate this e-bike and that can result in jingling or lost keys
  • The left crank arm collides with the kickstand (this happens frequently if you move the bike around and back it up while the stand is down), not a huge deal but it would be nice if the stand was just slightly further back and out of the way

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Magnum Reviews

Magnum Peak 29 Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A powerful, relatively affordable, hardtail cross country style electric bike that's capable of 28 mph pedal assist and 20 mph trigger throttle operation, offers 24 gears vs. 10 or 11 on most competing products. This particular model (with 29" wheels) is available in one large frame size and color,…...

Magnum Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A handsome, cruiser style electric bike with neatly integrated cables, strong alloy fenders, a clean plastic chain cover, and uniquely designed rear cargo rack, everything matches. Emphasis on comfort for the rider with soft Big Ben balloon tires, an extra-wide saddle…...

Magnum Metro Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An approachable, mid-step, high-speed, urban electric bike with six levels of pedal assist plus throttle mode that can override with full power. Fairly comfortable with larger tires, a basic suspension fork, and cheap seat post shock... the…...

Magnum Peak Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high speed electric hardtail with with throttle on demand, hydraulic disc brakes and an extra large battery for $2k, all around good value with a 24 speed drivetrain. Optional rear rack for $50 transform the Peak into a sporty commuter, only one frame…...

Magnum Premium Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A folding speed pedelec (capable of ~25 mph) that also offers throttle on demand, you get plenty of power from a 500 Watt hub motor and 48 Volt 13 amp hour battery pack. Two frame styles and four color choices let you personalize the product a bit, folding…...

Magnum Ui5 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A beautifully designed, purpose built, affordable electric bike well suited to urban riding or commuting. Step-thru frame is easy to mount but relatively stiff thanks to a double tube mid-section,…...

Magnum Mi5 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A value priced hardtail electric bike that's trail ready with a basic suspension fork, knobby tires and 21 speeds. Average sized 350 watt motor paired with slightly larger 36 volt 13 amp hour battery…...


Carl
8 months ago

Magnum does not show this bike on their website. Has it been discontinued?

Reply
Court Rye
8 months ago

Hi Carl! I think they are currently out of stock. It’s a very popular ebike in parts of Europe from what I’m told and I think they just didn’t order enough for this first shipment to the US. I believe they will be restocking soon, might be worth asking about :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

BikeMike045
5 days ago

On my classic moped, at stoplights, cars line up behind me and think it's their sovereign right to pass. They will go thorough parking spots, bike lanes, whatever it takes to pass me, while I slowly build momentum. On this, 0-30 they eat my dust. It's so fun to shut them down, and actually safer to get out in front.

mal robot
1 week ago

Production changes such as the spoke modification are done for the company benefit. The cost of having to do warranty repair for the business is more expensive then making the change at time of manufacture . This is not some wonderful thing being done.

Most manufacturers would change the next batch; not the current batch that's already done. That's what I'm praising. I also haven't heard of widespread problems - I believe I'm the only person reporting broken CCS spokes so far.

I believe this is a startup having growing pains. You're not going to sink because your orders are growing 20% month-over-month - it's the classic "no one goes there anymore, it's too crowded" scenario. I agree that in the long term whether or not they get over these hurdles will determine the success of the company, but it's far too early to tell.

JohnT
3 weeks ago

I’m surprised no one has responded.

I found specs on the Thule DoubleTrack Pro, and it’s rated for only 35 lbs per bike.
https://www.thule.com/en-us/us/bike-rack/hitch-bike-racks/thule-doubletrack-pro-_-1691160

For ebikes, we sell the Thule T2 Classic, the Thule EasyFold, and the Hollywood Sportrider Ebike.

The T2 clamps the tire, leaving your paint untouched, but it’s not ideal with fenders. The Sportrider needs an adapter for step-throughs. The EasyFold doesn’t fold up against the back of the vehicle, but it goes on and for off the vehicle easily, so we recommend it for people who want to keep the rack in their garage and only put it on when you need it.

Echos
4 weeks ago

Weiterstadt, Germany - Riese & Müller - www.r-m.de - a maker of luxury eBikes sold worldwide has introduced the stylishly minimal and clean Roadster that will change how you look at eBikes. The Roadster’s sleek frame and traditional aesthetics combined with the best new e-technology are sure to catch the eye as you navigate urban areas or head out of the city and into the countryside.

Stylish, clean and minimal define the approach and lines of the redesigned Roadster while offering all of the technology and performance expected from Riese & Müller. The Roadster factors in concepts of classic bicycle frames: diamond frame construction, narrow rounded tube cross-sections, almost horizontal top-tube and delicate seat stays. The result is a clean, lightweight and sporty appearance that Riese & Muller have dubbed E-sthetics for those who love the classic construction and feel the technical elements of an eBike detract from the overall look of a bicycle. The Roadster incorporates a new, lighter Bosch Active Plus motor, the Gates belt drive, and Suntour NCX fork, bringing the total weight to just below 44 pounds. The Roaster is a perfect city rocket built for those who want all the benefits of an eBike in a classic look.

Features:

Bosch Performance CX Motor

36V / 500 watt battery

Shimano Deore 10-speed drivetrain

Magura MT4 hydraulic brakes

Suntour NCX Suspension Front Fork

Three Available Sizes

Mixte Model Available

Available colors: Electric Green Metallic, Black Matte, White

MSRP: $3879 (starting price)

Landing Page

Echos
4 weeks ago

Weiterstadt, Germany - Riese & Müller - www.r-m.de - a maker of luxury eBikes sold worldwide has introduced the stylishly minimal and clean Roadster that will change how you look at eBikes. The Roadster’s sleek frame and traditional aesthetics combined with the best new e-technology are sure to catch the eye as you navigate urban areas or head out of the city and into the countryside.

Stylish, clean and minimal define the approach and lines of the redesigned Roadster while offering all of the technology and performance expected from Riese & Müller. The Roadster factors in concepts of classic bicycle frames: diamond frame construction, narrow rounded tube cross-sections, almost horizontal top-tube and delicate seat stays. The result is a clean, lightweight and sporty appearance that Riese & Muller have dubbed E-sthetics for those who love the classic construction and feel the technical elements of an eBike detract from the overall look of a bicycle. The Roadster incorporates a new, lighter Bosch Active Plus motor, the Gates belt drive, and Suntour NCX fork, bringing the total weight to just below 44 pounds. The Roaster is a perfect city rocket built for those who want all the benefits of an eBike in a classic look.

Features:

Bosch Performance CX Motor

36V / 500 watt battery

Shimano Deore 10-speed drivetrain

Magura MT4 hydraulic brakes

Suntour NCX Suspension Front Fork

Three Available Sizes

Mixte Model Available

Available colors: Electric Green Metallic, Black Matte, White

MSRP: $3879 (starting price)

Landing Page

ABOUT RIESE & MÜLLER
It all began with two engineers, a good idea and a garage. But not in California, rather in the south of Hesse. In Darmstadt, to be more precise. In the parent's courtyard. Immediately after the company was founded, it won the Innovation Prize in 1993 and has grown to become an internationally renowned premium manufacturer of E-Bikes and folding bikes. As previously, Riese & Müller manufactures the most innovative bikes of tomorrow with the passion of yesteryear - and still in Weiterstadt, not far from the old garage.

tamszer
4 weeks ago

TL;DR - It is awesome and well worth shopping at Biktrix. Oh and Roshan was very patient at answering questions and helping me out!

I was initially thinking about buying a kit and building my own bike but that was before knowing about "fat bikes". But now that I have one, I don't think that I will go back to those skinny wheels anytime soon.

Pros:
- Very, very impressed with Roshan and how he answered most of my questions and provided resources where I could do my own research.
- Packaging was top notch. All pieces were wrapped carefully and tightly. Thank you very much for your attention to this. There weren't any scratches (outside of the box) when I picked up this baby!
- Bike is built very well
- Nice paint job and subtle lettering
- Rear fender and rack came installed
- Front fender was packaged

Cons
- No instruction manual of any sort and the online video could have been updated. But I encourage you to be patient and you'll get it installed easily.
- Included charger is noisy compared to my Cycle Satiator
- Apparently the barrel jack of the battery is _not_ compatible with my Cycle Satiator. Cycle Satiator has a 2.5x5.5 DC barrel but doesn't seem to recognize when plugged in to the battery

Thoughts
- You definitely will need tools. If you have your own set of bike tools you'll be golden. Definitely get that 15mm pedal tool
- Also a 5mm will go a long way toward ensuring that your front brakes are lined up and tidy
- I got the biggest battery possible (20ah) so my first commute 25km round trip went very well
- I had a Shimano 7-spd IGH previously so it was different shifting with the 9-speed Deore. I still need to practice shifting
- Oh and my Kryptonite lock is way too small to fit around the 4" tires! Yikes!

- Packaging is quite large on all dimensions so if you plan on hauling it by yourself you'll definitely need some trunk space.
- If you have access to a bike repair stand, I suggest you use it otherwise it will help to have a buddy hold the bike when you are assembling it.

Hope the photos help :)

Once again, thank you very much to Biktrix and Roshan for a wonderful riding experience. I never thought I would spend more on bikes that some spend on cars!

1/10
bob armani
1 month ago

Although the powertube is more aesthetic, the 2018 trek with classic battery is not far behind. I still prefer the later since a spare battery would easily fit in a back pack or big saddle bag (easier to carry a spare).

Yes the Trek Super Commuter8 is my ebike of choice also. They have tuned the Bosch motor quite well to match with the great build quality of Trek bicycles! Test rode at the Expo and it was superior to other models in the price range ($5000.00 Usd) Hope the pricing comes down a bit though.

fourday
1 month ago

Hello I have been lurking, researching E bikes for the last 6 months or so, since I realized I will not be able to ride as I used to, due to a recent medical issue. I have been riding bikes all my life, since retiring, wife and I would load bikes on motor home and go. I am 68 years old, and my wife is 69. Retired from the fire service after 35 years, and was recently diagnosed with cancer, which has affected my endurance but not my will to get out and ride. wife was a nurse for 40 years, and knees are not as strong. E bikes seem to be the answer for us. some must have's include throttle and assist . looking at the 3 to 4 k range, but must admit i rode a classic ebike scrambler and loved it, but 7 k is too much especially when i am looking for 2 bikes. I have been looking specifically at the Evelo galaxy, for my wife and the delta for myself. We have also been looking at the Luna brand. my wife likes the Evelo due to the ease of mounting,and the Nuvinci N380 transmission. some riding includes dirt roads bike trails, no extreme mountain biking any more. especially looking for quality and good service. thanks Bob

Rooster
1 month ago

Yes he can of course, actually the OceanCurrent can easily take a front electric hub driven motor; maybe another five hundred watt motor in the front to give oneself two wheel drive for a combined total 1,000 watts of electric hub driven e-biking; one could even re-use the front brake inhibitors, disc brake rotors, disc brake calipers and front brake levers; though one could definitely probably use a second additional 12.8ah lithium ion battery pack mounted to an additional front rack; well if one really had the "need for speed"; with that said it is definitely not impossible but highly doable and would definitely make ones Juiced Bikes OceanCurrent; now as a result it would be the first officially certified one kilowatt electric motor pedalac infused "beach cruiser" styled Juiced Bikes "1Kw e-bike" floating along on its massive classic looking 2.35" big balloon Schwalbe "Fat Frank" beach cruiser whitewall tires; violating all known laws of cycling propulsion physics naturally of course as it flies by like a speed demon!
Yes but this ocean current already has vee tire co. Speedster 2.80x26 fat tires and looks the roll

daniel58
1 month ago

Other than the problems I have had with trying to upgrade I must say that I am quite happy with my ocean current. Very good design just would like a little more power but I guess one can't have everything, or can he?

Yes he can of course, actually the OceanCurrent can easily take a front electric hub driven motor; maybe another five hundred watt motor in the front to give oneself two wheel drive for a combined total 1,000 watts of electric hub driven e-biking; one could even re-use the front brake inhibitors, disc brake rotors, disc brake calipers and front brake levers; though one could definitely probably use a second additional 12.8ah lithium ion battery pack mounted to an additional front rack; well if one really had the "need for speed"; with that said it is definitely not impossible but highly doable and would definitely make ones Juiced Bikes OceanCurrent; now as a result it would be the first officially certified one kilowatt electric motor pedalac infused "beach cruiser" styled Juiced Bikes "1Kw e-bike" floating along on its massive classic looking 2.35" big balloon Schwalbe "Fat Frank" beach cruiser whitewall tires; violating all known laws of cycling propulsion physics naturally of course as it flies by like a speed demon!

Va. Bch. Electric Bike Center
2 months ago

Hey, new here, well not really. I've been a long time visitor of EBR but I'm new to the forums.

Anyway I just got a bike from someone and it's not running at the moment. The battery seems to have a very small charge on it enough to make the horn sound very low. But nothing else works. It appears to be a very old e-bike from R Martin.

I don't have a charger for it and I would like to be able to charge it somehow. I'm experienced with electronics and have some capabilities to charge it already depending on battery chemistry and voltage but I'm new to e-bikes. It's a very heavy and large battery, seems like lead acid. And I tested the voltage which sits currently at about 14.70v. So that's in line with a lead acid battery (on charge) but its also kind of high for a low resting voltage. So I suspect it might not be...

I'll add some photos on here, I'm hoping someone can lead me in the right direction for a charger or at least tell me more about this bike. I don't even know it's wattage. But I do know it appears to be a rear geared hub motor.

External link to all photos in high res: http://digitalecho.ga:8000/d/d9859d05ad/

Thanks
Classic Chinese super crap..wouldn't waste my time

daniel58
2 months ago

I Have the ocean current and it to has the spokes installed in the same direction but I have not broken a spoke. This could be because either the spokes are shorter or the the tires have a lot more cushion but you are right about the front rim, as it has alternating spokes.

Yes it can not be definitely overlooked or ruled out that the Ocean Current uses not only a substantially larger cushioning footprint beach cruiser tire but also uses a much less substantial electric hub motor of only 500 watts versus 650 watts; which is automatically at least 30% more additional powerful highly destructive stressful twisting torque forces being introduced about ones electric hub motor flanges' for ones potential spoke elbows and spoke head combination to metal fatigue flex up and down; until the expected premature eventual catastrophic spoke elbow joint metal fatigue failure occurs;

I have read in the forum responses of other users who have also taken the precaution of switching out the default CCS Kenda supplied rear tire(one can always use them on the front tire) and using the Schwalbe Marathon Plus HS348 in the 38mm width; which has the classic famous Schwalbe blue smartguard puncture protection layer; that even prevents and stops literally any and all punctures by goathead thorns penetration; when used in combination with the equally robust protection offered by Sunlite thorn puncture resistant tubes;

(https://www.amazon.com/Sunlite-Thorn-Resistant-Bicycle-Tube/dp/B000AO9PY8/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1508531038&sr=8-3&keywords=thorn+tubes&th=1&psc=1);

so much so that one can regularly routinely have a few dozen 2mm plus sized goat head thorns buried within the tread without nary a goat head puncture(nicely durable and puncture resiliant indeed); though they do and can regularly fall prey to sharp metal road litter so one still needs to be quite careful, on guard and cautious still; by also getting a tire guard that basically is a curved tire formed piece of flexible adjustable light metal that continuously brushes the surface of ones tires of any potential tire surface clinging metal and organic puncture debris also as well; Sunlite even makes their own tire patch kit also as well in case you actually get a puncture also as well; or one can just use the well known and regarded traditional Rema self vulcanizing puncture tube patch kit also as well;

now the truly funny thing is the Schwalbe integrated blue puncture proof layer strip not only makes ones ride truly more plush and comfortable feeling but it also effectively doubles and acts as a small effective road shock absorption device also as well; those Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires are truly bulletproof indeed in more ways than one; plus one will indeed in time grow to love the quality tire ride and tire durability aspects in particular;

now whether one is using the Schwalbe tire for commuting and/or extended weekend long mileage bicycle touring; these Schwalbe Marathon plus tires are so tested durable and tough; that cyclists regularly use them as the default safe conservative choice; for even extended long distance fully loaded bicycle tandem bicycle touring.

Deafcat
2 months ago

Biktrix Juggernaut Classic with the 1000Wh (48V 20Ah) battery will get you 50 miles no problem: https://www.biktrix.com/collections/bikes/products/biktrix-juggernaut-classic-2017?variant=53478014933

You could swap the tires out for a 26x3" street tire and increase range even more!

I bet the Monte 1000 w/ 20Ah would be another good Biktrix long-range option, if there's any of those left :D

roshan
2 months ago

Biktrix Juggernaut Classic with the 1000Wh (48V 20Ah) battery will get you 50 miles no problem: https://www.biktrix.com/collections/bikes/products/biktrix-juggernaut-classic-2017?variant=53478014933

You could swap the tires out for a 26x3" street tire and increase range even more!

ROJA
3 months ago

Classic. I think he might be quoting some of your responses in his next column!

CoachDennisGreen
3 months ago

They do make torque sensor in mid drive and just because you saw it on you tube don't mean shiot. Sorry but I have to agree, mid drives are the way to go. J.S.
So a mid drive with torque sensor and thumb throttle would also be an option. I'm having trouble finding that. I like the Biktrix EMoose 1.0 and Juggernaut Classic HD but neither have a torque sensor. Can you point me to a few to look at before making final decision?

Timpo
3 months ago

Timpo-These are some really cool pics. I had no idea that Japan was that far ahead of the market back in 1979!! Wow. Great pics!
Yea, Japan has been producing ebikes for a long time...so many manufactures too. Here are some more classic Japanese ebikes.

2000 Kawasaki Rakusupo

1994 Suzuki Love 26

1990 Sanyo Enercle

1991 Bridgestone Assista

zap016VOLTAGE
3 months ago

Evolution?

I'm excited by companies such as Delfast and Juiced Bike for their wiliness to move the industry forward.
Both companies are "Pushing the Envelope."
To better serve the needs of riders, electric bikes will have to evolve.
Witness dedicated ebike specific components i.e. Frames, Forks, Tires, Hydraulic Brakes et al
In doing so, their appearance is likely to change from that of classic bicycles.
Where I live, fun events occur in different areas/communties. Weekend commuting by public transit has been hampered by weekend construction.
It's PAINFULL to commute on the weekends!
If a person's commute is 30 miles daily, should that person purchase a vehicle which can travel just 30 miles?
• Ebike owners tend to ride further distances than those riding classic bicycles.
• Greater range might encourage ebike owners to travel even greater distances.
• The need to charge the battery will be less frequent perhaps extending the battery's life.

Juiced Bikes - Let's Talk About Battery Packs

BikeMike045
3 months ago

We ride kitted classic mopeds in the second largest city in KY, some of my friend's single-gear bikes can hit 70+ mph, yet the police don't care unless you are on an unregistered shifty, or doing something stupid. Individual bike trails should restrict whatever they want, but we don't need nanny-state laws like in Europe or CA. What we need is to eliminate dependence on fossil fuels however we can. If I have to pay motorcycle insurance on the Hyperfat (doubtful) it is a small price compared to all the expenses of owning a car. The hand-wringing is pretty funny to me.

Mark Peralta
3 months ago

Thank you everyone who replied. A bit more information. I have always ridden big bikes. I am only 6' tall, but the height is in my legs. 37" inseam. So I always needed a man's bike frame. My tall daughter now has my 1970's vintage 10-speed Raleigh that has a classic Brooks saddle. I bought that bike in England, rode it through Nederland at tulip time, rode it through the Bordeaux one summer, from wine chateau to wine chateau. I can't ride in the classic low position anymore, not since I broke my wrist 10 years ago stupidly trying to be the figure skater I once was. My hands and arms just don't like the weight anymore. I need long cranks and a high perch for my legs, but I also now need a more upright position. 30-speed was my latest bike, but I now hate it because it never fit me well. The frame is too small and the handlebars are too low. So chains and sprockets and all that are fine with me. My knees are now my weakness. Three arthroscopic surgeries have left me bone-on-bone in both knees. The last one, in 2016, was the killer. Doc said 40% chance he could make things better, 10% chance things would be worse, 50% no change. Things are worse.

I want this bike because I NEED to keep my knees moving in a circular motion. I could go to the gym every day, but it's 25min in the car each way. What a waste of time. A great new bike! I would ride. Only 6 months of the year, because I live in a snow belt. I live 'centrally isolated' in the middle of New York State, in a town with 2 great universities. And hills and gorges. The other thing I want this bike for is to join my athletic (Olympic) daughter and my husband on their summer bike weekends. Daughter does those 110-mile rides. Husband does a shorter circuit. I'm left at home because I can't negotiate even a small hill with these knees. I want to go along!

I bought the Kindle ebook "A Practical Guide to Electric Bikes", and I'm getting smarter. Weight counts. My weight is usually 170, but today it's 20# higher due to inactivity. The weight will be back down to under 170 by the time I figure out what ebike I need. I will buy locally, as local as possible, twisting the arm of a local bike dealer if necessary. I'm pretty good with mechanical things, took car mechanics and used to do all the maintenance on my first car. But I don't want to invest in bike tools. Don't want to do my own tinkering, except for the occasional fix on the road. I'm not the dottering 76-yr-old you might imagine. I still actively run a computer software business. And as I never let those Agway assistants carry out the 40# or 50# bags of birdseed I buy (I do it myself), I know I could lift a 40# bike onto the front of a bus - that would take me part way up the hill on the way home.

I'm soaking in all your recommendations! Thank you!

As for $$$, all OK. This is an investment in my health.

I just looked up the altitude of my grocery store and library. Approx 400'. I live at 1500'. That's a fair old hill to climb.

You might want to consider the nuvinci transmission, it has been thoroughly developed over the years. You'll never be in the wrong ratio anymore, you just set the cadence and focus on something else more worthwhile. Like enjoying the ride and the scenery or just give more attention to your safety, . It is also maintenance free.

Wiley Scrapper
4 weeks ago

Missing Battery Keys! Help! Not pertaining to this bike. I bought a ebike with the same frame design (Nicom bikes) 36v 10ah battery. The previous owner lost the keys and has no charger. I can't find any info on replacing the keys or if there is a code on the battery for the key pattern. If you or anyone knows of how to find replacement keys, please let me know. My only recourse would be a locksmith as of yet.

Jon Neet
3 months ago

I like this Magnum Classic a lot, and it seems to have the range I need. If I decide to get an ebike, I need at least a reliable 30 mile range.
I am wondering if there are solar battery chargers that would work on the ebikes? And, do they take longer to charge a battery than using a regular plug in charger?

Danny Lo
4 months ago

Great review! Can you please do a comparison with this and the premium? Thanks!

matthew e
4 months ago

1500$ ? no thanks.

ThunderGirl95.2
6 months ago

I hope somebody can help me. I'm looking for a electric folding bike. but I have some things what I want on it. thats that the battery in the frame and that it has a display (digital) so I can see what my speed is etc. and with suspension. But I wonder of is there one for cheap. I saw Enzo en Ejoe ebike but they are expensive. So I hope that somebody can help me out.

David Keenan
2 months ago

Try the new Sondors fold

ThunderGirl95.2
6 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com thanks for the response but I want a bike with the battery in the frame and a lcd display. I dont know of that is possible that you can recommand me?

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

The Magnum Classic has all of the features you want and is relatively affordable at $1,299 coming from a company with good support and some dealers https://electricbikereview.com/magnum/classic/ but if you can't spend that much, you could get something off of Amazon like the Vilano Ion which has been updated, here's a review I did a while back https://electricbikereview.com/vilano/ion/

Michelle Jordan
7 months ago

can you do a review on the genesis commuter electric bike, please?

Mauricio Andrade
8 months ago

Does anyone know which brand of the front light of this ebike? I have a folding ebike and my light stays on the handlebar, I would put in this same position.

キングクリストファー
8 months ago

That battery really needs to be integrated into the bike... I hate the dangling key! Price is amazing though...

Slowbro
8 months ago

Is it no longer possible to buy this bike through their site? I didnt see it listed along with the rest of the bikes, just the $1,900 Premium model.

Also:

What do you think about the Voltbike Yukon compared to the RadRover? Both are fairly closely priced ($1570 for Yukon and $1660 for the radrover with fenders+shipping for both) and outwardly appear very similar. A rack for the voltbike would only be 30 more (due to the bundle) while its $80 more on the radrover, im not so sure if I need a rack though.

I'm also looking into the radcity a lot. Cant quite decide between the geared motor of yukon/radrover vs the radcity with the direct drive motor (city also has the benefit of included fenders with splash guards and a rack, a 160+ savings compared to the rover).

My use will be mostly for going to school/the gym (about 6 miles each way, flat land). The fat tire bikes would give me the benefit of having some fun at the beach or all the park trails nearby, but this is not a major selling point either.

Do you have any other recommendations in the $1500 range (or lower) similar to these? I wouldnt want to go any higher in price than these however. I also am on the heavier side (250lbs) so don't think id want to drop below a 750w model. Radmini was also an option but considering that its more expensive (when you account for fenders) than the city and a lot more than this Magnum, I'm not so sure about it.

oz davidov
8 months ago

hey, i am buying an electric bike soon and i was thinking about asking and getting an advice from you,, i want to buy a bike with the specs:
36v 10ah battery
250w rear geared hub motor (the brand is jobo i think)
comes with a display from jobo too,
5 magnet cadence sensor, which is fine for me
the bike is being sold for 650$ which is kind of a cheap price for an ebike, ive been riding this bike a lot of times and i really liked it, i thought about asking you what you think about the specs and i was hoping that you can give me your advice also about the price
or i can get the exact same bike and pay more 60$ but get an 8fun motor.
please give me your advice, thank you

way2muchNFO
8 months ago

Hey when are you going to review the ultralight folding ebikes? I've had a few over the years that are under 11 pounds! love your amazing reviews!! e

Tracey McNeel
8 months ago

a 24" foldable electric bike would be nice.

ElectricBikeReview.com
8 months ago

Hey Tracey! Tern tried this a year or two back and the bike was cool... it might be difficult to find one now with their Vektron released: https://electricbikereview.com/tern/node-d8-with-bionx/

Cuong
8 months ago

Great vids! Any recommendation on what bikes would be good for doing food delivery? My area has lots of hills.

Cuong
8 months ago

thanks, appreciate it

ElectricBikeReview.com
8 months ago

Sure, I like the Riese & Müller Load because it's a full suspension cargo with great handling and I prefer mid-drive motors. I haven't published my review on it yet but the bike is sweet! Here are some others: https://electricbikereview.com/category/cargo/

Alexis Hadjisoteriou
8 months ago

PLEASE PLEASE more e-MTB bikes. You were the "go-to" resource for pedal assisted mountain bike reviews but have not done one for ages - would love to see Trek Powerfly or Focus Jam2 reviewed or even some updates on your very own Specialized ..

Andy Finnie
8 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com whisper 806 foldiñg bike

ElectricBikeReview.com
8 months ago

Hi Alexis! I'm a little behind on posting (though trying to publish every other day). Currently in NYC and have 50 bikes shot, waiting to edit and write up and post... Many more eMountain models in there ;)

Mo Poppins
8 months ago

QUESTION: Go for the Magnum Classic, or spend a couple hundred more for the Rad Mini?

Actually, more like about $400 more (not incl. $100 shipping, if purchased during one of their free shipping specials), since I'd definitely get fenders. The Rad Mini does have a more powerful motor, amongst other amenities.

Mo Poppins
8 months ago

Good points. Now I'm wondering whether I actually do "need" the fat tires. Well, I've still got time to think it over. Thanks, Court. :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
8 months ago

Totally depends on what you ride and prefer style wise. I like them both but don't need the fat tires. I'd rather have a suspension fork and smaller bike to pack into my trunk :)

Free Cable Guy
8 months ago

$2000!?.....what part of $2K is " CHEAP"?!....and $1,000 for a RAZOR SCOOTER....I thought peopke sropped SMOKING CRACK in the '80s....GTFOH!!!...just get the SONOS e-bike.. PERIOD..END OF SENTENCE!

Free Cable Guy
8 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com yep..SONDORS..thats what i meant...you do a great job BTW...keep up the great work!

ElectricBikeReview.com
8 months ago

ps. check this video out, fun and really makes the point about how cheaper ebikes perform https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZT2zHRCqzk

ElectricBikeReview.com
8 months ago

You must be talking about the Sondors ebike right? Well, it doesn't fold, have gears or suspension. In the world of ebikes there's a range of cheap to expensive and for me, this is on the cheaper side at $1,299

Dwight Finnestad
8 months ago

I just checked their web site and they had it listed at $1899.00, quite at difference than the $1299.00 you mentioned.

Thizix
4 months ago

You Saw The Magnum Premium... This Is The Magnum Classic36V... Im going to buy the Classic48V...

Dwight Finnestad
8 months ago

You're right, I didn't notice that when I first checked. Even still that doesn't seem like a $600 upgrade. I went with the RadMini last month, now I'm shopping for a bike for my wife.

robmanueb2
8 months ago

I think the website lists a battery upgrade. 48 volt instead of the 36 mentioned in the video.

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
8 months ago

Hey Courtney. Would you happen to know if the double chain guide apparatus is available to be installed on all bikes ? . What I'm saying is, do you know if there are companies that offers those types of chain guides to be installed on any bike (ebike and bicycle) ?.

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
8 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Thanks .

ElectricBikeReview.com
8 months ago

Great question, I'll ask around but would assume it's part of the chainring and that you could swap to a similar sized ring with a guide pre-installed? Something like this might also work and be easier: https://alexa.design/2nyVopi

David Macdonald
8 months ago

Also noticed the console was in the middle of the handlebars on the bike you got out the box

David Macdonald
8 months ago

Dam good for price.

ElectricBikeReview.com
8 months ago

I'd agree with that, pretty solid for a cheaper folding ebike :D