Magnum Classic Review

Magnum Classic Electric Bike Review
Magnum Classic
Magnum Classic 350 Watt 8fun Motor Derailleur Guard
Magnum Classic Removable 36 Volt 13 Amp Hour Battery
Magnum Classic Stitched Ergo Grips Bell
Magnum Classic Das Kit Lcd Display Panel
Magnum Classic Zoom Suspension Fork Integrated Light Fenders
Magnum Classic Aluminum Alloy Chain Guide Plastic Folding Pedals
Magnum Classic 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Drivetrain
Magnum Classic Ebike Folded In Car Trunk
Magnum Classic Folded In The Back Of An Suv
Magnum Classic Electric Bike Charger
Magnum Classic Electric Bike Review
Magnum Classic
Magnum Classic 350 Watt 8fun Motor Derailleur Guard
Magnum Classic Removable 36 Volt 13 Amp Hour Battery
Magnum Classic Stitched Ergo Grips Bell
Magnum Classic Das Kit Lcd Display Panel
Magnum Classic Zoom Suspension Fork Integrated Light Fenders
Magnum Classic Aluminum Alloy Chain Guide Plastic Folding Pedals
Magnum Classic 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Drivetrain
Magnum Classic Ebike Folded In Car Trunk
Magnum Classic Folded In The Back Of An Suv
Magnum Classic Electric Bike Charger

Summary

  • A feature-packed folding electric bike with lots of accessories and multiple color options, great price point and warranty, available through dealers or the Magnum online store
  • Sturdy folding mechanisms with security locks emphasize safety, reflective tires and LED lights keep you seen in dark riding conditions, alloy chain guide and derailleur guard protect the drivetrain
  • Adjustable handlebar and seat height accommodate tall or short riders and the suspension fork and suspension seat post, while basic, make it comfortable to ride
  • At nearly 53 lbs it's heavy for a folding ebike, independent lights are more of a hassle and can be left on accidentally then run out, key must be left in to ride, battery is heavy and not hidden

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Magnum

Model:

Classic

Price:

$1,299

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53.8 lbs (24.4 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.6 lbs (3.44 kg)

Motor Weight:

8 lbs (3.62 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

15 in (38.1 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

15" Seat Tube, 21.5" Reach, 22.5" Stand Over Height, 65.5" Length

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, Folding

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Blue Accents, Matte Black with Orange Accents

Frame Fork Details:

ZOOM Aria Suspension with Preload Adjustment, 40 mm Travel, 9 mm QR Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shimano RevoShift Grip Twist on Right

Cranks:

SOLID 85, 165 mm Length, 52T Chainring with Aluminum Alloy Guide

Pedals:

Wellgo K20410, Folding Plastic Platform

Headset:

Neco 1 1/8"

Stem:

Aluminum Alloy, Folding with QR Telescoping Height (10" to 13")

Handlebar:

Low-Rise, 24" Length, Aluminum Alloy

Brake Details:

Tektro Front: Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotor, Rear: Linear Pull, Artek Levers with Rubberized Edge and Motor Inhibitor

Grips:

Ergonomic Stitched

Saddle:

Selle Royal, Oversized with Rubber Bumpers

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, Basic Suspension, Flip-Up Saddle Clamp

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled, Color Matched (Metallic Blue or Orange)

Spokes:

12G Stainless Steel

Tire Brand:

CST, 20" x 2.125"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Stripes, 40-65 PSI, Nylon

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Flick Bell, Rear Rack with Pannier Blockers and Spring Latch 25 kg Max Weight (55 lbs), Single Side Adjustable Length Kickstand, Metal Derailleur Guard, Aluminum Alloy Fenders with Mud Flaps, Independent Spanninga GaLeo Headlight (2 AA Batteries), Independent Spanninga Back Light (2 AA Batteries), Folding Support Bar on Bottom Bracket

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 6 Mosfet 12 Amp Current Controller, 1.5 lb 2 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

8Fun

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

550 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung, Panasonic or LG

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

468 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Manganese (Li-NCM)

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Display Type:

Das-Kit Fixed Backlit Monochrome LCD

Readouts:

Power Indicator, Charge Level (6 Bars), Speed, Assist Level (0-6), Timer, Odometer, Max Speed, Trip Time, Trip Meter, (Press Power Button Once for Backlight)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad (Power, Set, +, -)

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Magnum Classic is one of my favorite folding electric bikes because it delivers so many features at such a reasonable price. Not all of those features are perfect, the independent lights for example, require you to swap AA batteries out occasionally and can be accidentally left-on to drain while you’re in class or at work vs. integrated lights that shut themselves off. The seven-speed drivetrain uses an entry level Shimano Tourney derailleur and the battery pack requires the key be left in to operate (which means the keys can jingle or be forgotten). But this thing looks beautiful and it comes in several color choices that you can see and test ride at a growing network of dealers. It’s not just the frame but also the fork, fenders, battery pack and rims that match and it’s not just dealers but also the Magnum online store that sells it. Sometimes companies will try to do “everything” and succeed at nothing but I feel that the Magnum Classic gets the important parts right and if you aren’t satisfied with the standard 20 mph top speed on this model, $600 more will get you the Magnum Premium with 28 mph performance, two disc brakes vs. one here and sturdier cast wheels. Personally, given the smaller wheel size on both of these ebikes, I’m comfortable and satisfied with 20 mph.

Driving this bike is a mid-level, widely known and used, geared hub motor from 8Fun. It’s compact, relatively light weight and surprisingly zippy compared to smaller 250 watt options. The motor produces a bit of electronic whirring noise at full power but with six levels of assist to choose from and a throttle-override, it can be quiet too. I love that the motor spins independently from any pedaling and shifting because that reduces wear on the chain, sprockets and derailleur but of course, it’s less efficient. Mid-drive ebikes have gained in popularity in recent years but I still enjoy the instant power (especially for starting from rest) that a throttle offers. I feel like you get full control with this setup and was very impressed with how responsive the cadence sensor was. I didn’t have to pedal even a half-stroke before the motor kicked in and the left brake lever had an inhibitor built in so I could cut power just by squeezing the brake. Unfortunately, the right lever did not have an inhibitor and I’m not sure this was a mistake with the demo model or some sort of cost savings approach because the output plug was there to be used? Both wheels are bolted on vs. using quick release and the rear axle has a lot going on including the shifter cables, derailleur and motor power cord all coming out the right side. A lot of mid-level products do this and it can be a point of vulnerability if the bike tips or you ride close to branches or walls where snagging or bashing could occur. For this reason, Magnum installed a metal derailleur guard to protect the sensitive bits and opted away from a rear disc brake. You get a mechanical disc in the front (where most of the stopping force is distributed anyway) and a more basic rim brake at the rear. Note that the wheels use thicker spokes to help handle the forces of electric motor power and any additional cargo strapped onto the rear rack.

Powering the bike is an efficient but larger-than-average 36 volt 13 amp hour battery. It’s housed in a “Silverfish” box that slides down behind the seat tube. Sometimes this same battery box mounts using plastic guides but Magnum went with metal and the pack is surrounded by frame tubing and encased in Aluminum so it really feels secure. At the top is a flip-up handle and LED power indicator so you can see how full it is even if you’ve got it stored away from the bike. The best way to keep this pack going is to charge it up every month or so when not in use and store it in a cool, dry location. On the left side of the pack is the keyed ignition and on the right side is a USB charging port. This could be handy for filling your phone or running additional lights (even holiday lights on the frame!) and it’s close to the rack so consider storing your stuff in a cargo bag while riding vs. running a long wire up to your handlebars. The battery is good but not great in the sense that it’s a 36 volt system vs. many that are now 48 (transmitting electricity more efficiently). You can flip the saddle up to slide the pack up and off the bike and weighing in at 7.6 lbs vs. 6 on packs with similar capacity I think the casing and possibly lower-density cells take their toll. 53.8 lbs can be a lot to lift (the total weight of the bike with the pack on) so I love how convenient it is to remove and would probably do so regularly. Note that the charger is very generic and standard, putting out 2 Amps and weighing under 2 pounds. Toss it in that trunk bag to extend your rides ;)

Once the battery is charged and the key is inserted, just twist to the right to power it on. From here, press the gray power button on the display pad and watch it flicker to life with a six-bar battery indicator, speed readout and six levels of pedal assist. Many ebikes only show four bars for the battery and offer four or five levels of assist so the Magnum system (using a Das-Kit display) is a bit more advanced. I like having the choices but didn’t feel overwhelmed and could appreciate the simplicity of a display with integrated buttons vs. an independent button pad with a larger center-mount display like Bosch and Yamaha offer. The one area to be careful is when folding and transporting the bike because I didn’t see bungee cords or magnets to keep it folded and if the display gets bonked around it could get scratched up or worse. Reaching over to the display to click up or down isn’t difficult but it’s less intuitive than fancier systems, with four buttons there it might require a quick look down. The biggest redeeming quality of the display and buttons is actually the throttle on the right side of the handlebar. This thing is easy to reach, offers variable power output and overrides assist at all levels! As mentioned earlier, hub motors aren’t as efficient as mid-drives because they can’t leverage your gears… but you can still extend range by pedaling along in one of the lower levels of assist with only occasional bursts of energy from the throttle to top a hill or pass another cyclist. I use the throttle to start from rest most of the time because my knee is sensitive but this uses the most power of all. Ease into it if you’re going for range. I did appreciate that the display is backlit but could also be left dark, this is handy if you get distracted easily or if it’s very dark and you’re trying to be sneaky ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

I really hope you watch the review video above because it goes into depth for each of the areas discussed here. For such an affordable and seemingly simple electric bike, there’s a lot to cover. Magnum went above and beyond to think through the accessories they chose and it really shows to me. They aren’t top-level parts but they all make sense and look great. Trying to find and add fenders post-purchase, especially for smaller bikes, can be a real pain. Same thing goes for racks and there are other parts like the suspension fork and telescoping stem that can be near-impossible to order one-off for a bike like this. If you’re willing to deal with the extra frame and battery weight and the occasional annoyance of battery replacement for the lights then the rest of the bike is very easy for me to recommend. It’s not quiet as balanced as some products with mid-frame batteries but you get more capacity and it’s way better than a rack-mount battery system. Having seen Magnum enter the US over the past several years, I’ve gained a trust for them (dealers have also shared positive comments). This is part of why I added them as a sponsor here. They round out the affordable level of bikes without cutting into quality of experience. Big thanks to Magnum for partnering with me on this post, they paid for my trip to Salt Lake City to see the bikes in person vs. doing reviews at dealers and we had a great time discussing the products. I hope this helps you discover the right bike for your lifestyle and budget and welcome feedback in the comments.

Pros:

  • For an electric bike that comes complete with fenders, lights and a rear rack… this thing is priced pretty well at $1,300 and you can find it at dealers vs. only online like a lot of other value bikes
  • This is a great looking bike and even though it only comes in one frame size, you do get color options! The paint looks good and even the battery pack and fenders are colorized for a more complete look, it’s nice to have variety if you’re considering a set for you and your partner or friend
  • Many folding electric bikes forego suspension because it adds weight but with smaller wheels, you sometimes feel the bumps more so I like that the Magnum Classic has a suspension fork and seat post
  • The battery mount felt solid and putting the pack on or taking it off the frame is less time consuming than some others that use the “Silverfish” pack design because the saddle flips forward out of the way
  • Electric bikes can suffer from chain drop (where the chain falls off the front chainring when you’re riding fast over bumpy terrain), I like that this ebike comes with a sturdy Aluminum chain guide (one plate on either side of the ring) to keep it on track
  • Independent lights keep you visible but cut down on the hassle (and theft potential) of aftermarket lights but still run on AA batteries vs. being wired-in. It’s cool that the bike comes with a flick bell and tires with reflective sidewall tape to enlarge your visual footprint and keep you seen and heard
  • On the right side near the top of the battery box there is a standard sized female USB port so you could charge additional lights or other portable electronics, this works whether the battery is on or off the bike as long as you turn it on with the key… it could double as a backup battery power source
  • Complimenting that chain guide piece mentioned earlier is a metal derailleur guard which keeps the sensitive bits of the bike from getting snagged or bent easily (including the motor cable which is routed through the rear axle there)
  • The rear rack is pretty decent and I love that it’s free from holding the battery which reduces hauling capacity and raises the weight of your gear, consider putting a trunk bag on this rack and looking for one with reflectors and a bottle holster like this
  • I think backlighting on the display is manually controlled (just press the power button once to enable it), this is my preference vs. having the bright light distracting you while riding, since the headlight and taillight are manually controlled too, you can set things however you want
  • The Magnum Classic uses the latest generation of cadence sensors at the bottom bracket, it’s super small so it won’t get bumped and felt very responsive to me, I love that the bike has throttle override as well so you can get going without straining your knees

Cons:

  • At nearly 54 pounds, this is not the lightest folder around… it’s on the heavier side and that makes folding and lifting it a chore, I’d recommend taking the 7.6 lb battery off first
  • I love how the stem telescopes up for taller riders but don’t stretch it too far or the brake lines, shifter cables and electronic wiring can get damaged as you steer
  • The display panel works well but isn’t removable so be extra careful when folding and transporting the bike, it would be a bummer to scratch or damage the display and that could happen easier on folding platforms
  • The suspension isn’t very adjustable (and you can’t lock the fork out) so depending on your weight and ride style it might be annoying and just add weight vs. being useful and effective
  • Since both the headlight and backlight are independent (running off of AA batteries vs. being wired into the ebike battery) they require more effort and time to keep going… don’t forget to turn them off after your ride or you might have to ride home in the dark :/
  • I don’t love folding plastic pedals because they bend easier and don’t offer much surface area or traction… they get the job done but might be worth replacing for heavier riders with larger feet, or those riding in wet conditions frequently, here are some folding Aluminum pedals that might work better
  • As with most generic “Silverfish” battery packs, you have to leave the key inserted and twisted to “on” in order to operate this e-bike and that can result in jingling or lost keys
  • The left crank arm collides with the kickstand (this happens frequently if you move the bike around and back it up while the stand is down), not a huge deal but it would be nice if the stand was just slightly further back and out of the way

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Magnum Reviews

Magnum Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A handsome, cruiser style electric bike with neatly integrated cables, strong alloy fenders, a clean plastic chain cover, and uniquely designed rear cargo rack, everything matches. Emphasis on comfort for the rider with soft Big Ben balloon tires, an extra-wide saddle…...

Magnum Metro Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An approachable, mid-step, high-speed, urban electric bike with six levels of pedal assist plus throttle mode that can override with full power. Fairly comfortable with larger tires, a basic suspension fork, and cheap seat post shock... the…...

Magnum Peak Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high speed electric hardtail with with throttle on demand, hydraulic disc brakes and an extra large battery for $2k, all around good value with a 24 speed drivetrain. Optional rear rack for $50 transform the Peak into a sporty commuter, only one frame…...

Magnum Premium Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A folding speed pedelec (capable of ~25 mph) that also offers throttle on demand, you get plenty of power from a 500 Watt hub motor and 48 Volt 13 amp hour battery pack. Two frame styles and four color choices let you personalize the product a bit, folding…...

Magnum Ui5 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A beautifully designed, purpose built, affordable electric bike well suited to urban riding or commuting. Step-thru frame is easy to mount but relatively stiff thanks to a double tube mid-section,…...

Magnum Mi5 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A value priced hardtail electric bike that's trail ready with a basic suspension fork, knobby tires and 21 speeds. Average sized 350 watt motor paired with slightly larger 36 volt 13 amp hour battery…...


Carl
6 months ago

Magnum does not show this bike on their website. Has it been discontinued?

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

Hi Carl! I think they are currently out of stock. It’s a very popular ebike in parts of Europe from what I’m told and I think they just didn’t order enough for this first shipment to the US. I believe they will be restocking soon, might be worth asking about :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Deafcat
4 days ago

Biktrix Juggernaut Classic with the 1000Wh (48V 20Ah) battery will get you 50 miles no problem: https://www.biktrix.com/collections/bikes/products/biktrix-juggernaut-classic-2017?variant=53478014933

You could swap the tires out for a 26x3" street tire and increase range even more!

I bet the Monte 1000 w/ 20Ah would be another good Biktrix long-range option, if there's any of those left :D

roshan
7 days ago

Biktrix Juggernaut Classic with the 1000Wh (48V 20Ah) battery will get you 50 miles no problem: https://www.biktrix.com/collections/bikes/products/biktrix-juggernaut-classic-2017?variant=53478014933

You could swap the tires out for a 26x3" street tire and increase range even more!

ROJA
2 weeks ago

Classic. I think he might be quoting some of your responses in his next column!

CoachDennisGreen
4 weeks ago

They do make torque sensor in mid drive and just because you saw it on you tube don't mean shiot. Sorry but I have to agree, mid drives are the way to go. J.S.
So a mid drive with torque sensor and thumb throttle would also be an option. I'm having trouble finding that. I like the Biktrix EMoose 1.0 and Juggernaut Classic HD but neither have a torque sensor. Can you point me to a few to look at before making final decision?

Timpo
4 weeks ago

Timpo-These are some really cool pics. I had no idea that Japan was that far ahead of the market back in 1979!! Wow. Great pics!
Yea, Japan has been producing ebikes for a long time...so many manufactures too. Here are some more classic Japanese ebikes.

2000 Kawasaki Rakusupo

1994 Suzuki Love 26

1990 Sanyo Enercle

1991 Bridgestone Assista

zap016VOLTAGE
1 month ago

Evolution?

I'm excited by companies such as Delfast and Juiced Bike for their wiliness to move the industry forward.
Both companies are "Pushing the Envelope."
To better serve the needs of riders, electric bikes will have to evolve.
Witness dedicated ebike specific components i.e. Frames, Forks, Tires, Hydraulic Brakes et al
In doing so, their appearance is likely to change from that of classic bicycles.
Where I live, fun events occur in different areas/communties. Weekend commuting by public transit has been hampered by weekend construction.
It's PAINFULL to commute on the weekends!
If a person's commute is 30 miles daily, should that person purchase a vehicle which can travel just 30 miles?
• Ebike owners tend to ride further distances than those riding classic bicycles.
• Greater range might encourage ebike owners to travel even greater distances.
• The need to charge the battery will be less frequent perhaps extending the battery's life.

Juiced Bikes - Let's Talk About Battery Packs

BikeMike045
1 month ago

We ride kitted classic mopeds in the second largest city in KY, some of my friend's single-gear bikes can hit 70+ mph, yet the police don't care unless you are on an unregistered shifty, or doing something stupid. Individual bike trails should restrict whatever they want, but we don't need nanny-state laws like in Europe or CA. What we need is to eliminate dependence on fossil fuels however we can. If I have to pay motorcycle insurance on the Hyperfat (doubtful) it is a small price compared to all the expenses of owning a car. The hand-wringing is pretty funny to me.

Mark Peralta
1 month ago

Thank you everyone who replied. A bit more information. I have always ridden big bikes. I am only 6' tall, but the height is in my legs. 37" inseam. So I always needed a man's bike frame. My tall daughter now has my 1970's vintage 10-speed Raleigh that has a classic Brooks saddle. I bought that bike in England, rode it through Nederland at tulip time, rode it through the Bordeaux one summer, from wine chateau to wine chateau. I can't ride in the classic low position anymore, not since I broke my wrist 10 years ago stupidly trying to be the figure skater I once was. My hands and arms just don't like the weight anymore. I need long cranks and a high perch for my legs, but I also now need a more upright position. 30-speed was my latest bike, but I now hate it because it never fit me well. The frame is too small and the handlebars are too low. So chains and sprockets and all that are fine with me. My knees are now my weakness. Three arthroscopic surgeries have left me bone-on-bone in both knees. The last one, in 2016, was the killer. Doc said 40% chance he could make things better, 10% chance things would be worse, 50% no change. Things are worse.

I want this bike because I NEED to keep my knees moving in a circular motion. I could go to the gym every day, but it's 25min in the car each way. What a waste of time. A great new bike! I would ride. Only 6 months of the year, because I live in a snow belt. I live 'centrally isolated' in the middle of New York State, in a town with 2 great universities. And hills and gorges. The other thing I want this bike for is to join my athletic (Olympic) daughter and my husband on their summer bike weekends. Daughter does those 110-mile rides. Husband does a shorter circuit. I'm left at home because I can't negotiate even a small hill with these knees. I want to go along!

I bought the Kindle ebook "A Practical Guide to Electric Bikes", and I'm getting smarter. Weight counts. My weight is usually 170, but today it's 20# higher due to inactivity. The weight will be back down to under 170 by the time I figure out what ebike I need. I will buy locally, as local as possible, twisting the arm of a local bike dealer if necessary. I'm pretty good with mechanical things, took car mechanics and used to do all the maintenance on my first car. But I don't want to invest in bike tools. Don't want to do my own tinkering, except for the occasional fix on the road. I'm not the dottering 76-yr-old you might imagine. I still actively run a computer software business. And as I never let those Agway assistants carry out the 40# or 50# bags of birdseed I buy (I do it myself), I know I could lift a 40# bike onto the front of a bus - that would take me part way up the hill on the way home.

I'm soaking in all your recommendations! Thank you!

As for $$$, all OK. This is an investment in my health.

I just looked up the altitude of my grocery store and library. Approx 400'. I live at 1500'. That's a fair old hill to climb.

You might want to consider the nuvinci transmission, it has been thoroughly developed over the years. You'll never be in the wrong ratio anymore, you just set the cadence and focus on something else more worthwhile. Like enjoying the ride and the scenery or just give more attention to your safety, . It is also maintenance free.

Amflautist
1 month ago

Thank you everyone who replied. A bit more information. I have always ridden big bikes. I am only 6' tall, but the height is in my legs. 37" inseam. So I always needed a man's bike frame. My tall daughter now has my 1970's vintage 10-speed Raleigh that has a classic Brooks saddle. I bought that bike in England, rode it through Nederland at tulip time, rode it through the Bordeaux one summer, from wine chateau to wine chateau. I can't ride in the classic low position anymore, not since I broke my wrist 10 years ago stupidly trying to be the figure skater I once was. My hands and arms just don't like the weight anymore. I need long cranks and a high perch for my legs, but I also now need a more upright position. 30-speed was my latest bike, but I now hate it because it never fit me well. The frame is too small and the handlebars are too low. So chains and sprockets and all that are fine with me. My knees are now my weakness. Three arthroscopic surgeries have left me bone-on-bone in both knees. The last one, in 2016, was the killer. Doc said 40% chance he could make things better, 10% chance things would be worse, 50% no change. Things are worse.

I want this bike because I NEED to keep my knees moving in a circular motion. I could go to the gym every day, but it's 25min in the car each way. What a waste of time. A great new bike! I would ride. Only 6 months of the year, because I live in a snow belt. I live 'centrally isolated' in the middle of New York State, in a town with 2 great universities. And hills and gorges. The other thing I want this bike for is to join my athletic (Olympic) daughter and my husband on their summer bike weekends. Daughter does those 110-mile rides. Husband does a shorter circuit. I'm left at home because I can't negotiate even a small hill with these knees. I want to go along!

I bought the Kindle ebook "A Practical Guide to Electric Bikes", and I'm getting smarter. Weight counts. My weight is usually 170, but today it's 20# higher due to inactivity. The weight will be back down to under 170 by the time I figure out what ebike I need. I will buy locally, as local as possible, twisting the arm of a local bike dealer if necessary. I'm pretty good with mechanical things, took car mechanics and used to do all the maintenance on my first car. But I don't want to invest in bike tools. Don't want to do my own tinkering, except for the occasional fix on the road. I'm not the dottering 76-yr-old you might imagine. I still actively run a computer software business. And as I never let those Agway assistants carry out the 40# or 50# bags of birdseed I buy (I do it myself), I know I could lift a 40# bike onto the front of a bus - that would take me part way up the hill on the way home.

I'm soaking in all your recommendations! Thank you!

As for $$$, all OK. This is an investment in my health.

I just looked up the altitude of my grocery store and library. Approx 400'. I live at 1500'. That's a fair old hill to climb.

Deafcat
1 month ago

Compared to that Hyperfat bike, the Juggernaut Classic with the 1200W BBS02B is more in line, except lower cost ($2100) and more power.

Juiced Hyperfat is a 30A current geared MAC rear hub, not even close to the same level of performance as a BBS02B mid drive. Never mind the performance level of this Juggernaut HD, which is more likely to output 40A peak (or closer to 2000W power)

Tora Harris
2 months ago

All I can say is I ordered a ocean current that was advertised clearly as having 500 to 720 watts not 350 to 500 watts and in order to get what I paid for they wanna send me a new frame and me send mine back, I do all the work of swapping everything around, then I pay for a new controller and LCD display, who knows what that will cost, all in order to get the LCD that I originally ordered and they discontinued. I'm not spending another dime on this P.O.S. clearly false advertising and your mouth overloading your butthole. They will never get another dime from me and I'm in the process of talking to my lawyer but I doubt it does me any good, probably wind up just taking the loss. Good for them that I live across country or I would really be a pain in the ass. From now on I will make sure I know what I'm buying.

Ok, just to clarify on the open forum. Rooster, we apologize for this issue. As stated in the many support exchanges: it may appear that our designers were intentionally trying to make your bike obsolete at the moment you bought the bike, this is not the case.

When the OceanCurrent was originally designed it was spec to use a 6-Transistor controller. The downtube has a bend at the top in keeping with the classic lines of a beach cruiser. The bend makes it difficult to fit the controller which is rectangular in shape.

We moved to the 9 Transistor controller for some Current-Series e-bikes as it is easier to manage it thermally since some 6-Transistor controllers could struggle with heat. But the 9 Transistor controller is physically even bigger. And could not fit the OceanCurrent frame.

The CrossCurrent S and CrossCurrent Airs do not have much difficulty to fit the longer controller as the downtube is straight.

We later asked the frame company to adjust the tooling used to make the bend in the downtube. After a bunch of tries they managed to get the 9-transistor controller to fit and still maintain the cruiser look.

Now with all the Current-Series e-bikes using the EXACT same controller, it makes it much easier to stock parts and service bikes in the field.

So in short, there are some bikes in the field that would be very difficult to fit the longer controller, less than 200 units. Of all the bikes in the field only one customer requested a 9-Transistor upgrade from the 6-Transistor controller. This is one of your support tickets and we have a Tech following it to completion.

All this was made clear in many support exchanges and we decided the only way would be to change the frame of the bike and you agreed as you stated to be a mechanic and comfortable with the swap.

We put in a very special order of 1 black OC frame to the factory that can fit the 9-Transistor controller. It is understood that it will take some time to work its way through the supply chain to you, but we would eventually make this right.

I hope this helps clarify this issue.

Deafcat
1 month ago

https://www.biktrix.com/products/biktrix-juggernaut-classic-hd

Finally! BBSHD integrated into frame, production Fat Bike! Shares the battery integrated into frame as his other latest bikes, and two suspension fork options are available. The lower cost fork actually performs very well, for harder terrain riders the Wren is there too.

No specific details yet on the amperage limit of the controller, if it's anything like Biktrix BBS02's configurations it has probably been custom tailored to push extra power (at least 35 amps I would assume by default). In theory, 40 amps continuous can be thrown at this motor without any heat or reliability issues, up to 50 has been done but that seems to be pushing it. 48 volts and 40 amps yields just shy of 2,000W... Good times!

edit: I have already preordered one and will report further about it once test drive time comes :D

Ravi Kempaiah
2 months ago

Unfortunately, they are rare on the street. I saw only very few and did not have the chance to chat with the riders.I've heard, the Pinion is not as fast as the Di2 and has some disadvantages under load. Is this true?

Regarding the ST5, I expect a classic drivetrain - but something like this on the brakes:

I agree. I don't expect the Gates carbon drive on the production model either. There are lots of problems with Gates drive and the torque sensor.
I have heard good things about the Pinion. I have not used one myself for a long time but I did try one. Many traditional mountain bikes are spec'ing the Pinion to reduce the clutter near the rear wheel.
My concern is, big manufacturers like Trek offer bikes starting $2K and stop at $6 or $7k. But, Stromer starts at $5k and goes upto $10K. They are standing true to their tag line "We start where others stop"... :D

bluecat
2 months ago

Pinion is one of the most durable gear boxes.

Unfortunately, they are rare on the street. I saw only very few and did not have the chance to chat with the riders.I've heard, the Pinion is not as fast as the Di2 and has some disadvantages under load. Is this true?

Regarding the ST5, I expect a classic drivetrain - but something like this on the brakes:

1/1
ELIDO DE LEON
2 months ago

Good News!

Replacement Batteries from E-Bike Vision

ALZENAU, Germany – E-Bike Vision GmbH, located close to Frankfurt launches new replacement batteries for the Bosch Classic drive system as well as Gazelle Innergy (XT) drive systems.

E-Bike Vision allready delivers replacement batteries for the Panasonic 26V drive system which will be extended with the ones for the Panasonic 36V drive system, later this year. The Power Packs for the Panasonic 26V drive system are available with 18 Ah, 21 Ah and 25 Ah and the Power Packs for the Panasonic 36V drive system will be available with 13 Ah and 17 Ah.

The Power Packs for the Innergy (XT) drive system are available with 10,4 Ah and 13,6 Ah. The Power Packs for the Bosch Classic drive system are avilable with 468 Wh and 612 Wh.

Production in Germany
All E-Bike Vision batteries are developed and produced in Germany. All employees have years of experience in the e-bike battery market and this experience is used for the new intelligent batteries. All batteries have an integrated Battery Management System with all safety features for Lithium batteries. All batteries are backwards compatible to the existing chargers of the different drive systems, but have an additional integrated charge socket for the E-Bike Vision fast chargers with charge current of 6 Amps (for 26V Power Packs) and with charge current of 7 Amps (for 36V PowerPacks).

E-Bike Vision offers a 24 months warranty and a 48 hour service for their Power Packs.

by JACK OORTWIJN (Bike Europe) 8:40 last update:18 Jun 2015

Very good news!!
I never thought this much would be possible! Can all Bosch lines be far behind? At least there's hope...
https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/Hot-sale-36V-11-6A-ebike_60685731714.html?spm=a2700.7724857.main07.360.2bd13975Ts6xeY

ace20ri
2 months ago

Here are some pics! Some of my mods are replaced APT LCD display with Cycle Analyst (CA3-DP), replaced stock controller with Phaserunner by Grin Technologies (Dimensions 99mm x 40mm x 34mm), DNP 7spd 11-30 Freewheel (11T helps with the higher speeds I can go now), potentiometer (assigned to control overall power level), digital aux 2 button input (I have it assigned to control PAS levels), Momentary On/Off Switch by PerfecTech, Lifeproof Bike Handlebar Mount for my iPhone 7+, longer 720mm OUTDAD handlebar, Ergon GP5 grips, EM3EV Power Switch with horn button (switch wired to LED spotlight), 48V Uxcel horn, YITAMOTOR 36W LED spotlight, Classic 2.0 Garment pannier for commuting (https://www.twowheelgear.com/products/commuter-garment-pannier), Suntour SP12-NCX Seat post, Pro-Bikegear slap guard, Venzo side mirrors, Blusmart Wireless rear light and Zefal DT Armor frame guard.

1/9
Alberto Orchansky
2 months ago

Is the drive the sole element binding the seatpost tube to the downtube.? If so that might be the issue. Here in Switzerland a company called Flyer produces ´classic shaped frames' (i.e Dutch style bikes) for many of its models. In a TV interview, a rep. explained that this is the most difficult type of frame to produce because the structures need to be reinforced in order to resist increased loads. This comes from a company that has produced Dutch style frames for over 15 years. Now, looking at the design of your bike, it almost looks like the drive is a single porting element that bears the loads coming from the down tube and seat tube.

I just happen to have a Flyer bike with me, so I took a picture. Looking at the frame design below, you can see that it's structurally reinforced in 3 places: headtube, bottom bracket drive assembly, and under the seat post. It's a very stiff bike. There's nothing I can do to induce any torsion and I weigh 210 pounds. I've pushed it pretty hard going uphill.

I appreciate so much your contribution. Yes, the drive is the sole element binding the seatpost tube to the downtube, being 'reinforced' with the gusset pointed by @JRA in two of his comments. It is unfortunate there is no other Lacuba Wave owner joining this thread. His/her comment and ability to replicate the issue would be of extreme help for everybody.
In the meantime, I am in contact with Bulls through my vendor. I had the bike professionally inspected twice, (at a cost of CDN 300, not too bad considering it's CND 5,500 brand new bike). As reported previously, nothing but an adjustment for my weight on the fork's air pressure was required. Now I am requested to have the front spokes checked since Bulls believe that may also explain the issue.
I envy so much your Flyer bike...!
Thanks

JayVee
2 months ago

Is the drive the sole element binding the seatpost tube to the downtube.? If so that might be the issue. Here in Switzerland a company called Flyer produces ´classic shaped frames' (i.e Dutch style bikes) for many of its models. In a TV interview, a rep. explained that this is the most difficult type of frame to produce because the structures need to be reinforced in order to resist increased loads. This comes from a company that has produced Dutch style frames for over 15 years. Now, looking at the design of your bike, it almost looks like the drive is a single porting element that bears the loads coming from the down tube and seat tube.

I just happen to have a Flyer bike with me, so I took a picture. Looking at the frame design below, you can see that it's structurally reinforced in 3 places: headtube, bottom bracket drive assembly, and under the seat post. It's a very stiff bike. There's nothing I can do to induce any torsion and I weigh 210 pounds. I've pushed it pretty hard going uphill.

1/1
Dewey
2 months ago

It seems like not many electric bicycles have belt drives. Motorcycles have more engine vibration but still, are there not noise, weight, and vibration advantages to a belt drive that would benefit electric bicycles? But if so, why do they seem rare?

Belt drives don't work with derailleurs.

The cheapest belt drive ebikes would be either an IKEA Sladda 2-speed, or a Priority Classic single speed or 3-speed, converted with a front wheel hub motor.

eVox is a Quebec subsidiary of Miele, a German washing machine company with experience designing belt driven motors, their Dyname drive uses a flywheel and belt on the left side separate from the chain and gears and is considered robust enough to have found application in some bikeshare systems. Court reviewed the City and KAB models.

Gates has a list of pedal bicycles and ebikes that use their belt drive, and earlier this year boasted their technology is used by 500 bicycle manufacturers. If you wanted to convert a belt drive equipped pedal bicycle some might be suitable for front wheel hub motor conversion which would be the simplest way to do it, otherwise I don't know how easy it is to find parts to make a belt drivetrain work with a mid-drive or rear hub motor. Typically a mid-drive replaces the front chainring while rear wheel hub motors accept an IGH chain sprocket, you would need to find belt adapters to work with the motor and rear hub plus the right length belt. A more radical conversion involving cutting the frame on a standard IGH bike has been attempted by some belt drive conversions.

Alexander T.
2 months ago

My wife and I bought Pedego City Commuter Classic bikes in early 2014; they are 2013 models rated at 48V, 15AH. They have been fun to ride but we have had issues. I had to have my handlebars replaced within the first year because they wouldn't stay firmly in place. This was done under warranty. We have found that the bikes sometimes derail when hitting potholes. One time my sensor got knocked out of position when I hit a pothole, disabling the pedal assist feature; it had to go to a dealer to be repaired, at my cost. My wife's computer failed when the bike was about 2 and half years old and had to be changed out at her cost. My entire power system failed a few weeks ago and now it is in the shop being diagnosed. The batteries have lost some of their power. Pedego says on their website that the batteries are supposed to last 2-4 years. I got a quote from a Pedego dealer for a replacement battery at $1,095. I have been checking on battery replacement costs for other brands and after 4 quotes from other brands I saw a range of $499 (Emazing) to $780 (Kalkhoff). So $1,095 for a new battery is high. Also, an Electra rep stated to me in an e-mail that the Bosch battery their Townie Go! uses will work at optimum capacity for 5,000 charges, which Bosch states is typically 8-9 years. The Electra/Bosch replacement battery is $750. While Pedego offered a good bang for the buck in early 2014, they would not be my first choice for a new bike in 2017.

EddieJ
2 months ago

I have long had a passion for hardtail mtb’s be them analogue or pedal assist, and have found the eMTB version through ownership of the superb KTM Macina Race, to make the perfect bike for wet weather/winter use.

With the Macina Race now sold, it is time to introduce the replacement bike, a KTM Fogo 271
Click to enlarge

I decided a long time ago that whatever the next bike was going to be, that it needed to be 27.5” Plus size, and just as the Macina Race, it also needed to have a good component specification. I was also keen to stay with both the KTM marque and Bosch drive unit system.

As things stand the KTM Fogo 271 exceeds my requirements by a significant margin, so I am more than happy with my choice.

The Magura Boltron T-20x110 front forks is an interesting one for me, as I have read so many reports both good and bad, which made me keen to own a bike that had them fitted, just so that I could come to my own conclusion about them. I have also previously been asked privately about the forks and what I knew about them, so at least I finally get to discover for myself, and can offer opinion accordingly, and not just based from hearsay. I shall post more about the front forks as time passes, but from handling them off the bike, and checking them over thoroughly, it is a promising start. Clearly performance in use and durability are key, so time will tell, but from research that I have completed, I have already worked out that poor set up from end users, plays a major role in reported seal failure.
Click to enlarge

My preferred choice of front mudguard has long been the Rapid Racer Neoguard, (thanks guys) but after discussion, there are currently no plans to introduce a guard for USD front forks. There is no way that I could bring myself to install a guard that utilizes the steerer tube, and with that in mind I already have my own neoprene design waiting to fit to the bike.

The full bike/component specifications are detailed below, but as things stand, there is very little that I intend to change. I shall be replacing Intuvia with Purion, fit a Ragley Tracker saddle, Ritchey Foam grips, a 70mm Easton stem, and change what I believe to be a KS LEV Integra dropper post, in favour of a Rockshox Reverb Stealth. These four listed items are just personal preference and nothing more. The dropper post is simply being changed as I have one that I removed from the Macina Race, so the rebadged KS can be squirreled away.

I have chosen 27.5” Plus for a very specific reason, but just as with the front forks, I shall detail how things work out, as time passes. Briefly though, as many will be aware, I ride throughout the year and in all conditions. I treat my bikes very much as tool to do a job, and to date KTM bikes have filled this role very well, but with slight limitation. I now want to go one stage further and 27.5” plus is going to enable this. The plus size will fulfill the role of providing superb low-pressure grip in respect of riding wooded knarly terrain and also over rocks etc, then come the winter months, I intend to drop the tyre size down to 2.25-2.3 to optimize rear chain stay clearance. Running 2.25 for example, will give me a full 27mm of clearance all round, so close to zero issue of potential mud/leaf build up.

Having received the bike today, I cannot yet add ride specific details and data, but as with any bike that I receive, the first job is to strip the bike down to the component stages, then re assemble studying parts and construction as I go. By doing so I gain a greater insight into the construction of a bike, and can see what if anything in my opinion could or should be changed. Also, if anything fails whilst riding, having already stripped and rebuilt the bike, I have a head start on how to repair things. I get as much pleasure from working on bikes, as I do riding them.
Click to enlarge

This is where it gets interesting for me, as after having pulled the bike down, I am already very impressed by the frame. The build quality and paint finish is superb, but it is what is behind all that, that I am interested in. The shape and tube sizing has been improved, and just turning the first screw to remove the motor covers, revealed the first thought out design feature. A small banana shaped cover which when removed, gives clear and easy access to main connectors of the Bosch CX drive unit. That in itself was a simple, but welcome change. KTM have also now chosen to use an additional two motor mounting points. This again impressed me, not because the standard three wasn’t enough, but more from the potential that it may prevent any motor creaking, as the loading on the mounts is now more equal.

Turning the frame upside down gave the biggest and most pleasant surprise from the point of view of working on a bike. KTM have chosen to redesign the cable routing and internal cast mounts to the frame. Routing cables, wiring, hydraulic brake and dropper post hose, is now effortlessly easy and simple to do. I’m very impressed that such R&D has been put into this side of things, but I guess that it must save valuable seconds during the factory assembly stage. Speaking of cable and hose routing, I was also pleased to note that the frame entry points for routing, are now fractionally larger as well. A lot of thought has gone into the production of this frame.

Removal of the two tyres was next on the list, and it was yet another pleasant surprise to see that the rims are tubeless ready, not just compatible. That’ll save a bit of time and money when setting them up to run tubeless. Once the wheel set has been returned from a friend’s bike shop, after giving them to him to check and adjust spoke tension should it be required, it’ll then just be a simple job to install Stans valves and Effetto Mariposa CaffeLatex sealant. A sealant that I have no hesitation in using or recommending.

Whilst in its knock down stage, I decided to take advantage of the situation, and fitted an AMS XL Honeycomb frame guard kit. It seemed silly to pass up the opportunity to test a kit, so time will tell as to how effective that it is. It was certainly easy enough to apply, although the frame colour doesn’t really mask any slight air bubbles very well. I have also added 3M clear film to several areas of the frame as well.

Finally, the lad that purchased the Macina Race hardtail has indicated that he wants to start to ride off road as well, so that being the case, I should be able to format some interesting bike comparisons.

As well as regular updates to this forum, further updates and photographs will be posted at the following places.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/313908402329634/permalink/451984891855317/

https://www.facebook.com/edwardpeterjefferies/posts/474559259568509

https://www.instagram.com/eddiejefferies/?hl=en

Thanks to KTM Bike Industries, The Little Bike Shop, Bikegoo, Effetto Mariposa, Fork Juice, and Magicshine UK.

Full component specification

2017 KTM Macina Fogo 271 8s EX1Frame

:- Macina MTB 27.5"+ BOOST, Alloy for Bosch, with semi-integrated battery
Frame sizes :- 43cm, 48cm and 53cm.
Bike colour :- Matt light grey, black + toxic orange.
Front fork :- MAGURA Boltron inverted, T-20x110 120mm travel, weight 2,200g
Headset :- KTM Team B303AM drop/in-tapered, +10
Headset bearing numbers :- MH-P28 and MH-P08M
Stem :- KTM Team KT-6 7° 95mm Weight 133g
Handlebar :- KTM Team HB-RB12L riser, rise 15°, Width 720mm
Handlebar grips :- KTM Team VLG--775-12D2 Diamond fin with end Clamps
Brake rotors :- Shimano RT86 6-bolt, 180mm front, 180mm rear. 260.4g pr
Brakes :- Shimano Deore XT M8000 Weight 554g pr including caliper/hose/lever assembly
Trigger shifter :- SRAM SL EX1 8speed Weight 122g
Rear derailleur :- SRAM RD EX1 8speed. Weight 289g
Front sprocket size as supplied 16T
Cassette :- SRAM XG899 11-48 ( 11, 13, 15, 18, 24, 32, 40, 48) Weight 360g
Chain :- SRAM EX1 Weight 273g
Pedal cranks :- SRAM EX1, ISIS for Bosch. Length 170mm. Weight 510g pr
Pedals :- VP components VP-539 black platform, with replaceable pins. Weight 370g pr
Wheel set :- KTM Line 27-5" plus B/B Tubeless ready
Wheel rims :- Ryder edge 35, 32 spoke hole, suitable for 2.3 to ‘plus’ size of 3.0. Weight 580g
Front hub :- 20mmThrough axle DT Swiss 350 classic-6-bolt 20/110/TA BOOST. Weight 239g
Rear hub :- 12mm Through axle DT Swiss 350 classic-6-bolt 12/148/TA BOOST. Weight 305g
Tyres :- Schwalbe Nobby Nic 70-584 TL-easy, Snake skin, Apex. Weight 910g per tyre.
Saddle :- Fizik Gobi M7 with Manganese rails. Weight 255g
Seat post :- KTM Comp JD-YSP12L hydraulic adjustable 100-370, diameter 30.9mm Weight 560g
Display :- Intuvia LCD, with Walk assist
Drive unit :- Bosch Performance Line CX 36V-250W, 25km/h 75NM of torque, four assist levels,
Eco giving 50% Tour giving 120% Sport giving 210% Turbo 300% Maximum torque available
per assist level, Eco 40Nm Tour 50Nm Sport 60Nm Turbo 75Nm
Battery :- Bosch Powerpack 13.8Ah - 500WH
Motor weight :- 4kg
Battery weight :- 2.6kg, dimensions 325mm x 92mm x 90mm
Overall Bike weight :- 21.4kg

https://www.instagram.com/eddiejefferies/

And now 'Electric Mountain Bike Collective' on Facebook.

.

1/3
Jon Neet
1 month ago

I like this Magnum Classic a lot, and it seems to have the range I need. If I decide to get an ebike, I need at least a reliable 30 mile range.
I am wondering if there are solar battery chargers that would work on the ebikes? And, do they take longer to charge a battery than using a regular plug in charger?

Danny Lo
2 months ago

Great review! Can you please do a comparison with this and the premium? Thanks!

matthew e
2 months ago

1500$ ? no thanks.

ThunderGirl95.2
3 months ago

I hope somebody can help me. I'm looking for a electric folding bike. but I have some things what I want on it. thats that the battery in the frame and that it has a display (digital) so I can see what my speed is etc. and with suspension. But I wonder of is there one for cheap. I saw Enzo en Ejoe ebike but they are expensive. So I hope that somebody can help me out.

ThunderGirl95.2
3 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com thanks for the response but I want a bike with the battery in the frame and a lcd display. I dont know of that is possible that you can recommand me?

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

The Magnum Classic has all of the features you want and is relatively affordable at $1,299 coming from a company with good support and some dealers https://electricbikereview.com/magnum/classic/ but if you can't spend that much, you could get something off of Amazon like the Vilano Ion which has been updated, here's a review I did a while back https://electricbikereview.com/vilano/ion/

Michelle Jordan
5 months ago

can you do a review on the genesis commuter electric bike, please?

Mauricio Andrade
6 months ago

Does anyone know which brand of the front light of this ebike? I have a folding ebike and my light stays on the handlebar, I would put in this same position.

キングクリストファー
6 months ago

That battery really needs to be integrated into the bike... I hate the dangling key! Price is amazing though...

Slowbro
6 months ago

Is it no longer possible to buy this bike through their site? I didnt see it listed along with the rest of the bikes, just the $1,900 Premium model.

Also:

What do you think about the Voltbike Yukon compared to the RadRover? Both are fairly closely priced ($1570 for Yukon and $1660 for the radrover with fenders+shipping for both) and outwardly appear very similar. A rack for the voltbike would only be 30 more (due to the bundle) while its $80 more on the radrover, im not so sure if I need a rack though.

I'm also looking into the radcity a lot. Cant quite decide between the geared motor of yukon/radrover vs the radcity with the direct drive motor (city also has the benefit of included fenders with splash guards and a rack, a 160+ savings compared to the rover).

My use will be mostly for going to school/the gym (about 6 miles each way, flat land). The fat tire bikes would give me the benefit of having some fun at the beach or all the park trails nearby, but this is not a major selling point either.

Do you have any other recommendations in the $1500 range (or lower) similar to these? I wouldnt want to go any higher in price than these however. I also am on the heavier side (250lbs) so don't think id want to drop below a 750w model. Radmini was also an option but considering that its more expensive (when you account for fenders) than the city and a lot more than this Magnum, I'm not so sure about it.

oz davidov
6 months ago

hey, i am buying an electric bike soon and i was thinking about asking and getting an advice from you,, i want to buy a bike with the specs:
36v 10ah battery
250w rear geared hub motor (the brand is jobo i think)
comes with a display from jobo too,
5 magnet cadence sensor, which is fine for me
the bike is being sold for 650$ which is kind of a cheap price for an ebike, ive been riding this bike a lot of times and i really liked it, i thought about asking you what you think about the specs and i was hoping that you can give me your advice also about the price
or i can get the exact same bike and pay more 60$ but get an 8fun motor.
please give me your advice, thank you

way2muchNFO
6 months ago

Hey when are you going to review the ultralight folding ebikes? I've had a few over the years that are under 11 pounds! love your amazing reviews!! e

Tracey McNeel
6 months ago

a 24" foldable electric bike would be nice.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Hey Tracey! Tern tried this a year or two back and the bike was cool... it might be difficult to find one now with their Vektron released: https://electricbikereview.com/tern/node-d8-with-bionx/

Cuong
6 months ago

Great vids! Any recommendation on what bikes would be good for doing food delivery? My area has lots of hills.

Cuong
6 months ago

thanks, appreciate it

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Sure, I like the Riese & Müller Load because it's a full suspension cargo with great handling and I prefer mid-drive motors. I haven't published my review on it yet but the bike is sweet! Here are some others: https://electricbikereview.com/category/cargo/

Alexis Hadjisoteriou
6 months ago

PLEASE PLEASE more e-MTB bikes. You were the "go-to" resource for pedal assisted mountain bike reviews but have not done one for ages - would love to see Trek Powerfly or Focus Jam2 reviewed or even some updates on your very own Specialized ..

Andy Finnie
6 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com whisper 806 foldiñg bike

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Hi Alexis! I'm a little behind on posting (though trying to publish every other day). Currently in NYC and have 50 bikes shot, waiting to edit and write up and post... Many more eMountain models in there ;)

Mo Poppins
6 months ago

QUESTION: Go for the Magnum Classic, or spend a couple hundred more for the Rad Mini?

Actually, more like about $400 more (not incl. $100 shipping, if purchased during one of their free shipping specials), since I'd definitely get fenders. The Rad Mini does have a more powerful motor, amongst other amenities.

Mo Poppins
6 months ago

Good points. Now I'm wondering whether I actually do "need" the fat tires. Well, I've still got time to think it over. Thanks, Court. :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Totally depends on what you ride and prefer style wise. I like them both but don't need the fat tires. I'd rather have a suspension fork and smaller bike to pack into my trunk :)

Free Cable Guy
6 months ago

$2000!?.....what part of $2K is " CHEAP"?!....and $1,000 for a RAZOR SCOOTER....I thought peopke sropped SMOKING CRACK in the '80s....GTFOH!!!...just get the SONOS e-bike.. PERIOD..END OF SENTENCE!

Free Cable Guy
6 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com yep..SONDORS..thats what i meant...you do a great job BTW...keep up the great work!

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

ps. check this video out, fun and really makes the point about how cheaper ebikes perform https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZT2zHRCqzk

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

You must be talking about the Sondors ebike right? Well, it doesn't fold, have gears or suspension. In the world of ebikes there's a range of cheap to expensive and for me, this is on the cheaper side at $1,299

Dwight Finnestad
6 months ago

I just checked their web site and they had it listed at $1899.00, quite at difference than the $1299.00 you mentioned.

Thizix
2 months ago

You Saw The Magnum Premium... This Is The Magnum Classic36V... Im going to buy the Classic48V...

Dwight Finnestad
6 months ago

You're right, I didn't notice that when I first checked. Even still that doesn't seem like a $600 upgrade. I went with the RadMini last month, now I'm shopping for a bike for my wife.

robmanueb2
6 months ago

I think the website lists a battery upgrade. 48 volt instead of the 36 mentioned in the video.

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
6 months ago

Hey Courtney. Would you happen to know if the double chain guide apparatus is available to be installed on all bikes ? . What I'm saying is, do you know if there are companies that offers those types of chain guides to be installed on any bike (ebike and bicycle) ?.

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
6 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Thanks .

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Great question, I'll ask around but would assume it's part of the chainring and that you could swap to a similar sized ring with a guide pre-installed? Something like this might also work and be easier: https://alexa.design/2nyVopi

David Macdonald
6 months ago

Also noticed the console was in the middle of the handlebars on the bike you got out the box

David Macdonald
6 months ago

Dam good for price.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

I'd agree with that, pretty solid for a cheaper folding ebike :D

Esquimox Pi
6 months ago

Looks like a lot of value-per-dollar, for a small wheeled folder. (I might want to go even heavier than this though -- I have
not been able to get my weight down below 220 for a while now; I would guess that these shocks would get more of a
Workout, if I was aboard this cycle. For a person who is taller than 90 percent of the guys out there, . . . well, we-uns
don't feel real, Real bad; if something is built a little more "robust."
Same Token, though -- a better grade of brakes might be "Indicated," for me.