Magnum Classic Review

Magnum Classic Electric Bike Review
Magnum Classic
Magnum Classic 350 Watt 8fun Motor Derailleur Guard
Magnum Classic Removable 36 Volt 13 Amp Hour Battery
Magnum Classic Stitched Ergo Grips Bell
Magnum Classic Das Kit Lcd Display Panel
Magnum Classic Zoom Suspension Fork Integrated Light Fenders
Magnum Classic Aluminum Alloy Chain Guide Plastic Folding Pedals
Magnum Classic 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Drivetrain
Magnum Classic Ebike Folded In Car Trunk
Magnum Classic Folded In The Back Of An Suv
Magnum Classic Electric Bike Charger
Magnum Classic Electric Bike Review
Magnum Classic
Magnum Classic 350 Watt 8fun Motor Derailleur Guard
Magnum Classic Removable 36 Volt 13 Amp Hour Battery
Magnum Classic Stitched Ergo Grips Bell
Magnum Classic Das Kit Lcd Display Panel
Magnum Classic Zoom Suspension Fork Integrated Light Fenders
Magnum Classic Aluminum Alloy Chain Guide Plastic Folding Pedals
Magnum Classic 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Drivetrain
Magnum Classic Ebike Folded In Car Trunk
Magnum Classic Folded In The Back Of An Suv
Magnum Classic Electric Bike Charger


  • A feature-packed folding electric bike with lots of accessories and multiple color options, great price point and warranty, available through dealers or the Magnum online store
  • Sturdy folding mechanisms with security locks emphasize safety, reflective tires and LED lights keep you seen in dark riding conditions, alloy chain guide and derailleur guard protect the drivetrain
  • Adjustable handlebar and seat height accommodate tall or short riders and the suspension fork and suspension seat post, while basic, make it comfortable to ride
  • At nearly 53 lbs it's heavy for a folding ebike, independent lights are more of a hassle and can be left on accidentally then run out, key must be left in to ride, battery is heavy and not hidden

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers








Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


1 Year Comprehensive


United States, Canada

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53.8 lbs (24.4 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.6 lbs (3.44 kg)

Motor Weight:

8 lbs (3.62 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

15 in (38.1 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

15" Seat Tube, 21.5" Reach, 22.5" Stand Over Height, 65.5" Length

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, Folding

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Blue Accents, Matte Black with Orange Accents

Frame Fork Details:

ZOOM Aria Suspension with Preload Adjustment, 40 mm Travel, 9 mm QR Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shimano RevoShift Grip Twist on Right


SOLID 85, 165 mm Length, 52T Chainring with Aluminum Alloy Guide


Wellgo K20410, Folding Plastic Platform


Neco 1 1/8"


Aluminum Alloy, Folding with QR Telescoping Height (10" to 13")


Low-Rise, 24" Length, Aluminum Alloy

Brake Details:

Tektro Front: Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotor, Rear: Linear Pull, Artek Levers with Rubberized Edge and Motor Inhibitor


Ergonomic Stitched


Selle Royal, Oversized with Rubber Bumpers

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, Basic Suspension, Flip-Up Saddle Clamp

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm


Double Walled, Color Matched (Metallic Blue or Orange)


12G Stainless Steel

Tire Brand:

CST, 20" x 2.125"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Stripes, 40-65 PSI, Nylon

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Flick Bell, Rear Rack with Pannier Blockers and Spring Latch 25 kg Max Weight (55 lbs), Single Side Adjustable Length Kickstand, Metal Derailleur Guard, Aluminum Alloy Fenders with Mud Flaps, Independent Spanninga GaLeo Headlight (2 AA Batteries), Independent Spanninga Back Light (2 AA Batteries), Folding Support Bar on Bottom Bracket


Locking Removable Battery Pack, 6 Mosfet 12 Amp Current Controller, 1.5 lb 2 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:


Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

550 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung, Panasonic or LG

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

468 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Manganese (Li-NCM)

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Display Type:

Das-Kit Fixed Backlit Monochrome LCD


Power Indicator, Charge Level (6 Bars), Speed, Assist Level (0-6), Timer, Odometer, Max Speed, Trip Time, Trip Meter, (Press Power Button Once for Backlight)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad (Power, Set, +, -)

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Magnum Classic is one of my favorite folding electric bikes because it delivers so many features at such a reasonable price. Not all of those features are perfect, the independent lights for example, require you to swap AA batteries out occasionally and can be accidentally left-on to drain while you’re in class or at work vs. integrated lights that shut themselves off. The seven-speed drivetrain uses an entry level Shimano Tourney derailleur and the battery pack requires the key be left in to operate (which means the keys can jingle or be forgotten). But this thing looks beautiful and it comes in several color choices that you can see and test ride at a growing network of dealers. It’s not just the frame but also the fork, fenders, battery pack and rims that match and it’s not just dealers but also the Magnum online store that sells it. Sometimes companies will try to do “everything” and succeed at nothing but I feel that the Magnum Classic gets the important parts right and if you aren’t satisfied with the standard 20 mph top speed on this model, $600 more will get you the Magnum Premium with 28 mph performance, two disc brakes vs. one here and sturdier cast wheels. Personally, given the smaller wheel size on both of these ebikes, I’m comfortable and satisfied with 20 mph.

Driving this bike is a mid-level, widely known and used, geared hub motor from 8Fun. It’s compact, relatively light weight and surprisingly zippy compared to smaller 250 watt options. The motor produces a bit of electronic whirring noise at full power but with six levels of assist to choose from and a throttle-override, it can be quiet too. I love that the motor spins independently from any pedaling and shifting because that reduces wear on the chain, sprockets and derailleur but of course, it’s less efficient. Mid-drive ebikes have gained in popularity in recent years but I still enjoy the instant power (especially for starting from rest) that a throttle offers. I feel like you get full control with this setup and was very impressed with how responsive the cadence sensor was. I didn’t have to pedal even a half-stroke before the motor kicked in and the left brake lever had an inhibitor built in so I could cut power just by squeezing the brake. Unfortunately, the right lever did not have an inhibitor and I’m not sure this was a mistake with the demo model or some sort of cost savings approach because the output plug was there to be used? Both wheels are bolted on vs. using quick release and the rear axle has a lot going on including the shifter cables, derailleur and motor power cord all coming out the right side. A lot of mid-level products do this and it can be a point of vulnerability if the bike tips or you ride close to branches or walls where snagging or bashing could occur. For this reason, Magnum installed a metal derailleur guard to protect the sensitive bits and opted away from a rear disc brake. You get a mechanical disc in the front (where most of the stopping force is distributed anyway) and a more basic rim brake at the rear. Note that the wheels use thicker spokes to help handle the forces of electric motor power and any additional cargo strapped onto the rear rack.

Powering the bike is an efficient but larger-than-average 36 volt 13 amp hour battery. It’s housed in a “Silverfish” box that slides down behind the seat tube. Sometimes this same battery box mounts using plastic guides but Magnum went with metal and the pack is surrounded by frame tubing and encased in Aluminum so it really feels secure. At the top is a flip-up handle and LED power indicator so you can see how full it is even if you’ve got it stored away from the bike. The best way to keep this pack going is to charge it up every month or so when not in use and store it in a cool, dry location. On the left side of the pack is the keyed ignition and on the right side is a USB charging port. This could be handy for filling your phone or running additional lights (even holiday lights on the frame!) and it’s close to the rack so consider storing your stuff in a cargo bag while riding vs. running a long wire up to your handlebars. The battery is good but not great in the sense that it’s a 36 volt system vs. many that are now 48 (transmitting electricity more efficiently). You can flip the saddle up to slide the pack up and off the bike and weighing in at 7.6 lbs vs. 6 on packs with similar capacity I think the casing and possibly lower-density cells take their toll. 53.8 lbs can be a lot to lift (the total weight of the bike with the pack on) so I love how convenient it is to remove and would probably do so regularly. Note that the charger is very generic and standard, putting out 2 Amps and weighing under 2 pounds. Toss it in that trunk bag to extend your rides ;)

Once the battery is charged and the key is inserted, just twist to the right to power it on. From here, press the gray power button on the display pad and watch it flicker to life with a six-bar battery indicator, speed readout and six levels of pedal assist. Many ebikes only show four bars for the battery and offer four or five levels of assist so the Magnum system (using a Das-Kit display) is a bit more advanced. I like having the choices but didn’t feel overwhelmed and could appreciate the simplicity of a display with integrated buttons vs. an independent button pad with a larger center-mount display like Bosch and Yamaha offer. The one area to be careful is when folding and transporting the bike because I didn’t see bungee cords or magnets to keep it folded and if the display gets bonked around it could get scratched up or worse. Reaching over to the display to click up or down isn’t difficult but it’s less intuitive than fancier systems, with four buttons there it might require a quick look down. The biggest redeeming quality of the display and buttons is actually the throttle on the right side of the handlebar. This thing is easy to reach, offers variable power output and overrides assist at all levels! As mentioned earlier, hub motors aren’t as efficient as mid-drives because they can’t leverage your gears… but you can still extend range by pedaling along in one of the lower levels of assist with only occasional bursts of energy from the throttle to top a hill or pass another cyclist. I use the throttle to start from rest most of the time because my knee is sensitive but this uses the most power of all. Ease into it if you’re going for range. I did appreciate that the display is backlit but could also be left dark, this is handy if you get distracted easily or if it’s very dark and you’re trying to be sneaky ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

I really hope you watch the review video above because it goes into depth for each of the areas discussed here. For such an affordable and seemingly simple electric bike, there’s a lot to cover. Magnum went above and beyond to think through the accessories they chose and it really shows to me. They aren’t top-level parts but they all make sense and look great. Trying to find and add fenders post-purchase, especially for smaller bikes, can be a real pain. Same thing goes for racks and there are other parts like the suspension fork and telescoping stem that can be near-impossible to order one-off for a bike like this. If you’re willing to deal with the extra frame and battery weight and the occasional annoyance of battery replacement for the lights then the rest of the bike is very easy for me to recommend. It’s not quiet as balanced as some products with mid-frame batteries but you get more capacity and it’s way better than a rack-mount battery system. Having seen Magnum enter the US over the past several years, I’ve gained a trust for them (dealers have also shared positive comments). This is part of why I added them as a sponsor here. They round out the affordable level of bikes without cutting into quality of experience. Big thanks to Magnum for partnering with me on this post, they paid for my trip to Salt Lake City to see the bikes in person vs. doing reviews at dealers and we had a great time discussing the products. I hope this helps you discover the right bike for your lifestyle and budget and welcome feedback in the comments.


  • For an electric bike that comes complete with fenders, lights and a rear rack… this thing is priced pretty well at $1,300 and you can find it at dealers vs. only online like a lot of other value bikes
  • This is a great looking bike and even though it only comes in one frame size, you do get color options! The paint looks good and even the battery pack and fenders are colorized for a more complete look, it’s nice to have variety if you’re considering a set for you and your partner or friend
  • Many folding electric bikes forego suspension because it adds weight but with smaller wheels, you sometimes feel the bumps more so I like that the Magnum Classic has a suspension fork and seat post
  • The battery mount felt solid and putting the pack on or taking it off the frame is less time consuming than some others that use the “Silverfish” pack design because the saddle flips forward out of the way
  • Electric bikes can suffer from chain drop (where the chain falls off the front chainring when you’re riding fast over bumpy terrain), I like that this ebike comes with a sturdy Aluminum chain guide (one plate on either side of the ring) to keep it on track
  • Independent lights keep you visible but cut down on the hassle (and theft potential) of aftermarket lights but still run on AA batteries vs. being wired-in. It’s cool that the bike comes with a flick bell and tires with reflective sidewall tape to enlarge your visual footprint and keep you seen and heard
  • On the right side near the top of the battery box there is a standard sized female USB port so you could charge additional lights or other portable electronics, this works whether the battery is on or off the bike as long as you turn it on with the key… it could double as a backup battery power source
  • Complimenting that chain guide piece mentioned earlier is a metal derailleur guard which keeps the sensitive bits of the bike from getting snagged or bent easily (including the motor cable which is routed through the rear axle there)
  • The rear rack is pretty decent and I love that it’s free from holding the battery which reduces hauling capacity and raises the weight of your gear, consider putting a trunk bag on this rack and looking for one with reflectors and a bottle holster like this
  • I think backlighting on the display is manually controlled (just press the power button once to enable it), this is my preference vs. having the bright light distracting you while riding, since the headlight and taillight are manually controlled too, you can set things however you want
  • The Magnum Classic uses the latest generation of cadence sensors at the bottom bracket, it’s super small so it won’t get bumped and felt very responsive to me, I love that the bike has throttle override as well so you can get going without straining your knees


  • At nearly 54 pounds, this is not the lightest folder around… it’s on the heavier side and that makes folding and lifting it a chore, I’d recommend taking the 7.6 lb battery off first
  • I love how the stem telescopes up for taller riders but don’t stretch it too far or the brake lines, shifter cables and electronic wiring can get damaged as you steer
  • The display panel works well but isn’t removable so be extra careful when folding and transporting the bike, it would be a bummer to scratch or damage the display and that could happen easier on folding platforms
  • The suspension isn’t very adjustable (and you can’t lock the fork out) so depending on your weight and ride style it might be annoying and just add weight vs. being useful and effective
  • Since both the headlight and backlight are independent (running off of AA batteries vs. being wired into the ebike battery) they require more effort and time to keep going… don’t forget to turn them off after your ride or you might have to ride home in the dark :/
  • I don’t love folding plastic pedals because they bend easier and don’t offer much surface area or traction… they get the job done but might be worth replacing for heavier riders with larger feet, or those riding in wet conditions frequently, here are some folding Aluminum pedals that might work better
  • As with most generic “Silverfish” battery packs, you have to leave the key inserted and twisted to “on” in order to operate this e-bike and that can result in jingling or lost keys
  • The left crank arm collides with the kickstand (this happens frequently if you move the bike around and back it up while the stand is down), not a huge deal but it would be nice if the stand was just slightly further back and out of the way


More Magnum Reviews

Magnum Metro+ Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sturdy high-step commuter style electric bike offering up to 28 mph pedal assist and 20 mph throttle on demand, uses the same 500 watt motor and 48 volt battery as Magnum's Peak mountain bike. Mid-level eight speed drivetrain with Shimano Acera derailleur, metal guard protects the derailleur and motor…...

Magnum Peak 29 Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A powerful, relatively affordable, hardtail cross country style electric bike that's capable of 28 mph pedal assist and 20 mph trigger throttle operation, offers 24 gears vs. 10 or 11 on most competing products. This particular model (with 29" wheels) is available in one large frame size and color,…...

Magnum Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A handsome, cruiser style electric bike with neatly integrated cables, strong alloy fenders, a clean plastic chain cover, and uniquely designed rear cargo rack, everything matches. Emphasis on comfort for the rider with soft Big Ben balloon tires, an extra-wide saddle…...

Magnum Metro Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An approachable, mid-step, high-speed, urban electric bike with six levels of pedal assist plus throttle mode that can override with full power. Fairly comfortable with larger tires, a basic suspension fork, and cheap seat post shock... the…...

Magnum Peak Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high speed electric hardtail with with throttle on demand, hydraulic disc brakes and an extra large battery for $2k, all around good value with a 24 speed drivetrain. Optional rear rack for $50 transform the Peak into a sporty commuter, only one frame…...

Magnum Premium Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A folding speed pedelec (capable of ~25 mph) that also offers throttle on demand, you get plenty of power from a 500 Watt hub motor and 48 Volt 13 amp hour battery pack. Two frame styles and four color choices let you personalize the product a bit, folding…...

Magnum Ui5 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A beautifully designed, purpose built, affordable electric bike well suited to urban riding or commuting. Step-thru frame is easy to mount but relatively stiff thanks to a double tube mid-section,…...

Magnum Mi5 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A value priced hardtail electric bike that's trail ready with a basic suspension fork, knobby tires and 21 speeds. Average sized 350 watt motor paired with slightly larger 36 volt 13 amp hour battery…...

11 months ago

Magnum does not show this bike on their website. Has it been discontinued?

11 months ago

Hi Carl! I think they are currently out of stock. It’s a very popular ebike in parts of Europe from what I’m told and I think they just didn’t order enough for this first shipment to the US. I believe they will be restocking soon, might be worth asking about :)


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

4 days ago

Have you checked out Magnum bikes? My magnum bike is 500W and it's plenty (non-fat tire kind). I am a 6'2" 250lb guy and I can get around just fine with 500W. Why do you need 750W?

You need fenders? lights? rack?

6 days ago

I just bought a new Magnum Metro and have a helmet and under-seat G Keni light/alarm and a Kryptonite New York lock to start out. What other accessories do folks recommend? I don't think mine has a bell, so need that for passing pedestrians, what about bags that will go on this rear rack for the Metro? I'd like some kind of handlebar mount to hold my phone for GPS or whatever. Is there anything to carry a small dog safely?

Any ideas/recommendations on common/useful accessories or farkles (as we call them in the motorcycle world, maybe the same here) welcome. Thanks!

6 days ago

I got the 27.5 not sure about the height guess around 30" or so. Tires performing pretty well so far and I ride it on pretty rough roads on occasion. This is the first super heavy bike I've ridden and it takes some getting used to - can't make turns as sharply as I can on my non electric. Overall pretty happy with it, feels sturdy and gets up to 25 with little effort.

6 days ago

I'm looking at the Magnum Peak now too. Waiting to hear back on shipping charge to Honolulu. Their Shipping Calculator doesn't seem to update the price for any zip code. Did you go with the 27.5 or 29" wheels and what's the standover height? How do the stock Schwalbe Smart Sam tires perform on the road?

6 days ago

What's the standover height with the 29" wheels? I couldn't find any measurements on the Magnum site.

Kurt in CT
1 week ago

Magnum peak

Mike's E-Bikes
1 week ago

The Ui6 is the same frame, components, tires, brakes, as the Ui5, but it comes with a 500 watt motor (instead of the Ui5's 350 watt), and a 48 Volt, 13 AH Samsung battery. It also has a newer display from Magnum. It's priced (MSRP $1799) at only $100 more than the previous Ui5, so its a pretty good value. The motor has a peak output of 700 watts.

Vs, The Metro is a different ebike , priced at $1999. It has the same wattage motor, but its Das-Kit versus Bafang, and the ebike is capable of a higher speed at 28 mph (assist only). (versus 22 mph for Ui6). The display is different too, a bit nicer and larger. It'll have a slightly higher grade derailleur (Shimano Altus), and better trigger shifter. And hydraulic brakes vs mechanical brakes on Ui6. Also has a better quality suspension fork than the Ui6. Lastly, they are including a suspension seat post. Functional but won't be the higher quality of a Thud Buster or Body Float.

Mike's E-Bikes
1 week ago

I would go with the Magnum Ui5. You should be able to find it on sale for around $1500. (msrp$1699) It has everything you want, and they've been around longer than any of the folks you mention. For that short of a trip, you don't need anything more. Has a rack, lighting, integrated battery, tires slightly over 2" wide. If you advise where you are located, can suggest a shop. Otherwise I'd sell you one if you were close to Chicago. (p.s. they are transitioning to the Ui6, which has a 500,48v watt motor, but otherwise everything else is staying the same, which is great and since the Ui5 is a proven and high selling model.) Stay away from Addmotor, and the others. You aren't getting value with those where you need it, in terms of reliability, and paying extra for stuff on the others you don't need. I could show you the differences in person, which are obvious when you physically see the bikes. Hard to do that over the internet. Ui5 is also a very comfortable ride.

Jim Mass
1 week ago

Yes you are both correct. Yesterday we took a trip to Newport Beach and rented 3 RAD's - City step-thru, Rover, and the folding model with the geared motor. The "City step-thru" does 90% of what the Magnum "cruiser" does and its $400 less expensive. We rode for two hours and received a $50 cash back on our $75 rental bill for 2 units). My friend got $50 cash back on his rental. My new favorite so far - RAD City Step-thru.

1 week ago

Any updates on this topic? I watched the video and it was a bit disheartening and affecting my decision to buy an ebike since I live in NJ and I've had a motorcycle stolen before by someone just putting it in the back of a truck, locked wheels/frame and all. I don't want to carry a heavy assortment of locks to lock down the wheels, frame, seat, etc every time I have to run to the grocery store or something. Considering a Magnum Metro if there's any brand-specific options. The smart locks with a motion sensing alarm and app notification sounded good though, have any good ones come to fruition yet?

Kurt in CT
1 week ago

I just bought a Magnum bike a week or so ago off a local bike shop. No discount for me. (though i didnt press as hard as i probably could have..)

2 weeks ago

Before I pull the trigger, does anyone know if Magnum has any discount coupons or sales? I see a place on the online order form to enter a coupon code (doesn't mean there is one, but just in case...). The local bike shop said they're having a Trek sale end of march/beginning of April, not sure if that's just them or Trek doing that. So I wondered if Magnum is doing something similar to kick off spring, or if there's a coupon code or veterans discount, etc.

22 hours ago

It depends what kind of a bike you have. With respect to batteries, we have several companies over here in the EU that refurb these. It’s usually expensive (same price as new battery), except for the Stromer refurbs that are a “bargain” (up to 40% less than the price of an original ST2 battery).

There is also a battery aftermarket for certain bikes. Finding a battery for a Bosch classic is not a problem. There’s a 3rd party battery for the Yamaha PW system as well, which is quite cheap. Availability of parts is actually why it’s a good idea to stay away from stuff that’s too proprietary. Finding a 26V Panasonic battery is not a problem. It’s not cheap but it’s available. And then there are the bikes which use pretty standard stuff out of the box. Even in 6 years time, you’ll be able to find a battery for a CC...

It’s a choice you have to make at purchase time. I’m fairly confident that Yamaha parts will be available a long time. It’s one of the reasons I bought into that system.

As for your Pedego, you might be surprised what it’s possible to do in 5 years. A rear drive is always almost replaceable. And even solutions to replace old mid-drives exist. A fellow on the German Pedelec forum made custom mounting brackets for an old Panasonic drive so that he could fit a BBS01 (edit) onto it...

Original thread:

(skip to post 20 for a picture of the Baflyer = Bafung + Flyer)

7 days ago

For reliability, you can take a look here:

Translate with Chrome. There's not much data on the PW-X so far. The Bosch versus Yamaha reliability varies, because the author periodically removes bikes for which there hasn't been an update in a while. But generally, the two systems seem fairly reliable with the exception of the Bosch Classic 45, for which all riders had at least one failure.

2 weeks ago

For fatbike fenders, I recommend and

3 weeks ago

WEITERSTADT, Germany - March 5, 2018 - Riese & Müller - ( - manufacturer of premium E-Bikes, kicks off the 2018 season with the launch of the New Charger and Supercharger models in North America.

The New Charger and Supercharger are the first, fully integrated E-Bikes from Riese & Müller, and incorporate the Bosch PowerTube battery into the successful Charger lineup. The integration of the Bosch PowerTube creates a seamless aesthetic, with the battery blending into the downtube.

All New Charger and Supercharger models can be fitted with an optional DualBattery delivering a total of 1,000 Wh and up to 100 miles of range on a single charge. The Supercharger can house the second Bosch PowerTube battery in the top tube; the Charger DualBattery option sits atop the down tube, with no impact on performance or handling due to the unique frame shape. Riese & Müller was among the first E-Bike companies to offer DualBattery technology, ideal for all-day excursions as well as long-distance commuters and anyone who requires greater range and wants to avoid frequent charging.
“With the full integration of the Bosch PowerTube battery, the New Charger and Supercharger are new generation E-Bikes, both technologically and aesthetically,” said Heiko Müller, co-founder and CEO of Riese & Müller. “The success of our Charger range is its combination of sporty design and comfortable riding, and we've brought that to the redesign of the New Charger and Supercharger as well.”

The New Charger is Riese & Müller’s first fully integrated E-Bike design, with a Bosch PowerTube battery incorporated into the down tube and internally routed cables, preserving the classic bike look yet with all the quality and high-performance for which Riese & Müller are known. The combination of a sleek design with the signature kink in the seat stays, high performance, and comfortable riding position has earned the Charger awards from Eurobike and Red Dot. The New Charger is available in Touring (20 mph) and HS (high-speed - 28 mph) configurations, as well as Charger mountain, equipped with the Bosch Performance CX motor, 500 Wh PowerTube battery, Fox suspension fork, and off-road tires. The New Charger is available in seven different configurations and in electric red metallic, black and pearl white.

The Supercharger is a completely new E-Bike design concept, evolving the successful Charger line by incorporating not one but two Bosch PowerTube batteries into the tubes of the ultra-rigid frame. Internally routed cables and signature two-tone frame coating create a bold, seamless appearance. The Supercharger GT touring - also available in an HS (high-speed) model - offers a sporty 11-speed Shimano Deore XT derailleur. The model is also available as Supercharger mountain, featuring the 11-speed Shimano Deore XT derailleur, a Fox suspension fork and off-road tires. The Supercharger is available in electric blue metallic and urban silver metallic and in seven different configurations.

The elevated chainstays of the New Charger and Supercharger allow the addition of the quiet and low-maintenance carbon belt drive with options of adding a NuVinci or Rohloff gear hub. The New Charger is also available in a version. and

Available Configurations:

New Charger GT touring: Ultimate riding pleasure: Bosch Performance CX motor (assistance up to 20 mph), Shimano Deore XT 11-speed, Shimano Deore XT disc brakes, suspension fork
New Charger GT touring HS*: Like the New Charger GT touring with a Bosch Performance Speed motor, Magura MT4 disc brakes, and assistance up to 28 mph
New Charger GH nuvinci: Bosch Performance CX motor (assistance up to 20 mph), NuVinci hub gear, Gates belt drive, Shimano Deore disc brakes, Supernova lighting system
New Charger GT nuvinci HS*: Like the New Charger Nuvinci, with Bosch Performance Speed motor, Magura MT4 disc brakes, assistance up to 28 mph
New Charger mountain: Bosch Performance CX motor (assistance up to 20 mph), Shimano Deore XT 11-speed, Shimano Deore XT disc brakes

New Charger Features:

[*]Bosch Performance CX or Bosch Performance Speed Motor
[*]36V / 500-watt battery
[*]Three Available Sizes
[*]4 Models Available
[*]Available colors: Electric Blue Metallic, Urban Blue Metallic
[*]MSRP: $5469 (starting price)

Available Configurations:

Supercharger GT touring: Ultimate riding pleasure: Bosch Performance CX motor, Shimano Deore XT 11-speed, Shimano Deore XT disc brakes, suspension fork, assistance up to 20 mph
Supercharger GT touring HS*: Like the Supercharger GT touring with a Bosch Performance Speed motor, Magura MT4 disc brakes, and assistance up to 28 mph
Supercharger GH nuvinci: Bosch Performance CX motor (assistance up to 20 mph), NuVinci hub gear, Gates belt drive, Magura MT4 disc brakes
Supercharger GT nuvinci HS*: Bosch Performance CX motor (assistance up to 28mph), NuVinci hub gear, Gates belt drive, Magura MT4 disc brakes
Supercharger GX rohloff: For trips and expeditions: Bosch Performance CX motor (assistance up to 20 mph), Rohloff 14-speed hub gear, Gates belt drive, Shimano Deore XT disc brakes
Supercharger GX rohloff HS*: Like the Supercharger GX Rohloff with Bosch Performance Speed motor (assistance up to 28 mph), Magura MT4 disc brakes Bosch Performance CX motor (assistance up to 20 mph), Shimano Deore XT 11-speed, Fox suspension fork, Shimano Deore XT disc brakes

SuperCharger Features:

[*]Bosch Performance CX or Performance Speed Motor
[*]Two 36V / 500-watt batteries
[*]Three Available Sizes
[*]4 Models Available
[*]Available colors: Electric Blue Metallic, Urban Blue Metallic
[*]MSRP: $5699 (starting price)

3 weeks ago

This reminds me of a point I forgot to make in my response. While the bike feels small to me (48), the standover height is perfect. I can straddle flat footed and I'm barely clearing the top tube (I'm 5'8 1/2). I have about the same amount of clearance on the R&M (a 49). I see on Haibike's description they mention something about a revised geometry (of the XDuro 4.0 Trekking). So I imagine that foremost they are referring to that scrunched up top tube you mention.

And as an aside, I mentioned to the LBS that the bike felt small to me but that it might just be the contrast with the other bike: they just offered up a possible experiment of trying a slightly longer stem to stretch me out a bit more. Said I could try it for a few commutes and they would switch it back if I didn't like the change. Not sure if I'll try this or not since I'm not having any discomfort on the rides.

3 weeks ago

I would add to pay close attention to the difference between the ‘classic’ Haibike frame and the newer Xduro 4.0 or Sduro 9.5 frame.

For example, I have the classic Trekking in size 52. It has a horizontal top tube of 600mm, which is the same as some L sized frames I’ve owned. Moreover, it comes with 3 spacers which place the handlebars quite high. The standover height of 790 mm makes it easy to straddle, so I took the 52 (size S) even though I’m slightly under 6ft1. No regrets.

But the newer frames have a top tube measurement of 580mm. So you have to look at the geometry very carefully. If I got the newer style frame, I’d probably go with size 56.

4 weeks ago

So I decided to go with the Magnum Classic ebike however I can't seem to find anywhere and the ebike is out of stock on the Magnum site. Gee Wiz. So my second option may be the Oyama CX E8D unless anyone has other options for me. I looking for around the same price range and same style type

1 month ago

I'm currently looking at the 2017 Juggernaut Classic 750W and the 2018 Voltbike Yukon 750 Limited. I'm curious how you're liking the Juggernaut? Assuming you got the Classic model, did you get the 750W or 1000W mid-drive? Any issues? If so, any problems getting help from Biktrix? If you had to do it all over again, would you make the same choice? If not, why? Thanks.

1 month ago


2 months ago

Thousand Helmets (, creators of classically-designed and innovative bicycle helmets, are proud to introduce their Epoch helmet line.

Embodying the spirit of heritage design, the Epoch product line is elevating the brand’s current offerings with advanced colors, materials and finishes. The Epoch line tells a story in design as well as a story in Thousand’s evolution as a brand.

From what started as a mission to simply get more people wearing helmets and a fascination with heritage design and iconic stories from our past, Thousand quickly positioned itself as the brand for modern urban cyclists. Thousand continues to pay homage to their signature Heritage Collection of helmets that are the crossroads of vintage moto and modern minimal.

“We wanted to tell our story authentically and felt that our second anniversary was an opportunity to progress our brand,” notes Gloria Hwang, co-founder of Thousand. “We believe that the story behind the product is as important as the product.”

The Epoch line embodies an expression of a time in history or a person’s life, with the new collection inspired by the past tales of Steve McQueen and the iconic Bel Air Cadillac as well as the Nordic Modernism. These stories are a nod to the past and were influential and aspirational to the product development team.

The new Epoch colors are Speedway Creme, Willowbrook Mint, and Nordic Wood, which is created by a color water dipped technology. Advanced features include vegan leather straps, copper hardware and the signature PopLock system that allows the cyclists to easily lock the helmet to the bike as well as a magnetic buckle for a one-hand fastener that’s pinch-free.

Thousand is committed to helping curb the impact of bike accidents, promote active and community living, and make a quality product without causing unnecessary harm to the planet. Thousand is proud to be a member and is committed to the “1% for the Planet” organization(, where the proceeds go towards environmental causes that help create a healthy planet.

2 months ago

New Mid-Drive and Black Edition electric bikes bring “new” to the New Year

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., Jan. 17, 2018 — The has reached new heights of innovation this year as reveals two exciting new versions of its popular electric bike model: The City Commuter Mid-Drive Edition, the industry’s only 48-volt, 500-watt mid-drive commuter bike; and the City Commuter Black Edition. Both are now available at more than 110 Pedego stores worldwide. Pedego is the Number 1 electric bike company in the United States.

The City Commuter’s Dutch street-style design has always been a favorite among Pedego fans, featuring a complete-coverage chain guard that protects clothing as commuters enjoy their rides to work. Now, the City Commuter is available with even more choices in style, assistance and premium upgrades.

Pedego City Commuter Mid-Drive Edition

Pedego’s new groundbreaking bike delivers best-in-class performance:

[*]The Mid-Drive motor offers a more natural riding experience that appeals to fit riders who want a controlled workout with steady, gentle assist while pedaling.

[*]Pedego’s PedalSense™ (PAS) pedal-assist technology supports the Mid-Drive model’s natural riding experience. Pedego’s proprietary 6-level PAS is engineered to include the best of torque sensor programming that delivers an ultra-responsive electric bike.

[*]A twist-and-go throttle boosts the speed when a little extra assist is desired. All PAS levels work with throttle override, so riders can twist and go even faster than pedaling alone.

The Pedego City Commuter Mid-Drive Edition is available in a 28-inch Classic frame or a Step-thru frame in 28- or 26-inch sizes. Available starting at $2,995.

Pedego City Commuter Black Edition all-black styling brings it to the level of haute couture. Top-of-the-line amenities that make it truly exceptional include:

[*]Deluxe 10-speed drive train, offering smooth shifting and extra-confident pedaling down the path;
[*]Tektro Dorado hydraulic front and rear disc brakes with four-finger lever controls, providing the ultimate in stopping power with quiet, comfortable control and easy-grip braking;
[*]RST Air Shock front suspension, delivering a comfortable fit that welcomes more riders to the bike path;
[*]PedalSense technology, ensuring the bike senses the rider’s pedaling needs. Pedego’s proprietary 6-level PAS is engineered to include the best of cadence and torque sensor programming that delivers an ultra-responsive electric bike; and
[*]500-watt motor, providing the power to climb hills and breeze through headwinds.

The City Commuter Black Edition comes in a 28-inch Classic frame or a Step-thru frame in 28- or 26-inch sizes. This bike will outpace all others on the path with a 48-volt, 15-amp-hour battery. Available starting at $3,795.

“The Pedego City Commuter has always been a hallmark of cutting-edge design,” said Pedego Electric Bikes CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. “And now, with the new innovations of a Mid-Drive edition and the high-end Black Edition, the City Commuter zooms miles ahead of the rest.”

Pedego Electric Bikes come in 12 distinctive models. Pedego bikes have 500-watt hub motors that help riders cruise distances of 20 to 60 miles without getting tired and sweaty. The twist-and-go throttle gives riders instant manual control over their speeds while Pedal Assist automatically adds power to their pedaling. Riders love Pedego’s California-style cruisers, including the Pedego Platinum Interceptor, a fully loaded cruiser bike with a 48-volt battery that propels riders with extra power; the Pedego Interceptor, which boasts the same powerful 48-volt battery; and Pedego’s Comfort Cruiser, which is powered by a 36-volt battery for gentle help with hills.

Also available are the sleek City Commuter; the sturdy Stretch cargo bike; the Trail Tracker fat-tire bike for riding on sand, gravel and snow; the Ridge Rider electric mountain bike; and the Latch, an ingenious folding bike, designed for portability and convenience. Other models include the electric tandem bike for two and the accessible Pedego Boomerang with an ultra-low step-thru frame. Pedego also offers the Airstream model for camping devotees. Free test rides are available at every Pedego store.

About Pedego Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Pedego manufactures 12 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at more than 110 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”


Teri Sawyer, T&Co.

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.

Bike Mike
2 months ago

Thanks for the quick reply Bernie!

The bike I purchased has Ortlieb Back Roller Classic panniers on the OEM rear rack. They seem to be working fine, but I'll report back when I've had enough time to try them myself, with various loads and distances.

I would still like to know what the hold-up on this Giant rack is, seem strange that it would take so long. It's a few bent pieces of aluminum tubing, welded in a few spots.

I'll get some photos and share them on here over the weekend too.

John Vas
4 months ago

Missing Battery Keys! Help! Not pertaining to this bike. I bought a ebike with the same frame design (Nicom bikes) 36v 10ah battery. The previous owner lost the keys and has no charger. I can't find any info on replacing the keys or if there is a code on the battery for the key pattern. If you or anyone knows of how to find replacement keys, please let me know. My only recourse would be a locksmith as of yet.

Jon Neet
6 months ago

I like this Magnum Classic a lot, and it seems to have the range I need. If I decide to get an ebike, I need at least a reliable 30 mile range.
I am wondering if there are solar battery chargers that would work on the ebikes? And, do they take longer to charge a battery than using a regular plug in charger?

Danny Lo
7 months ago

Great review! Can you please do a comparison with this and the premium? Thanks!

matthew e
7 months ago

1500$ ? no thanks.

9 months ago

I hope somebody can help me. I'm looking for a electric folding bike. but I have some things what I want on it. thats that the battery in the frame and that it has a display (digital) so I can see what my speed is etc. and with suspension. But I wonder of is there one for cheap. I saw Enzo en Ejoe ebike but they are expensive. So I hope that somebody can help me out.

Wilson Yuen
2 months ago

ThunderGirl95.2 check out the Joulvert Stealth bike. The battery is removable but installs inside the frame when being used. I bought mine directly from the company, but online retailers carry it also, including Amazon.

David Keenan
5 months ago

Try the new Sondors fold

9 months ago thanks for the response but I want a bike with the battery in the frame and a lcd display. I dont know of that is possible that you can recommand me?
9 months ago

The Magnum Classic has all of the features you want and is relatively affordable at $1,299 coming from a company with good support and some dealers but if you can't spend that much, you could get something off of Amazon like the Vilano Ion which has been updated, here's a review I did a while back

Michelle Jordan
10 months ago

can you do a review on the genesis commuter electric bike, please?

Mauricio Andrade
11 months ago

Does anyone know which brand of the front light of this ebike? I have a folding ebike and my light stays on the handlebar, I would put in this same position.

Chris King
11 months ago

That battery really needs to be integrated into the bike... I hate the dangling key! Price is amazing though...

12 months ago

Is it no longer possible to buy this bike through their site? I didnt see it listed along with the rest of the bikes, just the $1,900 Premium model.


What do you think about the Voltbike Yukon compared to the RadRover? Both are fairly closely priced ($1570 for Yukon and $1660 for the radrover with fenders+shipping for both) and outwardly appear very similar. A rack for the voltbike would only be 30 more (due to the bundle) while its $80 more on the radrover, im not so sure if I need a rack though.

I'm also looking into the radcity a lot. Cant quite decide between the geared motor of yukon/radrover vs the radcity with the direct drive motor (city also has the benefit of included fenders with splash guards and a rack, a 160+ savings compared to the rover).

My use will be mostly for going to school/the gym (about 6 miles each way, flat land). The fat tire bikes would give me the benefit of having some fun at the beach or all the park trails nearby, but this is not a major selling point either.

Do you have any other recommendations in the $1500 range (or lower) similar to these? I wouldnt want to go any higher in price than these however. I also am on the heavier side (250lbs) so don't think id want to drop below a 750w model. Radmini was also an option but considering that its more expensive (when you account for fenders) than the city and a lot more than this Magnum, I'm not so sure about it.

oz davidov
12 months ago

hey, i am buying an electric bike soon and i was thinking about asking and getting an advice from you,, i want to buy a bike with the specs:
36v 10ah battery
250w rear geared hub motor (the brand is jobo i think)
comes with a display from jobo too,
5 magnet cadence sensor, which is fine for me
the bike is being sold for 650$ which is kind of a cheap price for an ebike, ive been riding this bike a lot of times and i really liked it, i thought about asking you what you think about the specs and i was hoping that you can give me your advice also about the price
or i can get the exact same bike and pay more 60$ but get an 8fun motor.
please give me your advice, thank you

12 months ago

Hey when are you going to review the ultralight folding ebikes? I've had a few over the years that are under 11 pounds! love your amazing reviews!! e

Tracey McNeel
12 months ago

a 24" foldable electric bike would be nice.
12 months ago

Hey Tracey! Tern tried this a year or two back and the bike was cool... it might be difficult to find one now with their Vektron released:

12 months ago

Great vids! Any recommendation on what bikes would be good for doing food delivery? My area has lots of hills.

12 months ago

thanks, appreciate it
12 months ago

Sure, I like the Riese & Müller Load because it's a full suspension cargo with great handling and I prefer mid-drive motors. I haven't published my review on it yet but the bike is sweet! Here are some others:

Alexis Hadjisoteriou
12 months ago

PLEASE PLEASE more e-MTB bikes. You were the "go-to" resource for pedal assisted mountain bike reviews but have not done one for ages - would love to see Trek Powerfly or Focus Jam2 reviewed or even some updates on your very own Specialized ..

Andy Finnie
12 months ago whisper 806 foldiñg bike
12 months ago

Hi Alexis! I'm a little behind on posting (though trying to publish every other day). Currently in NYC and have 50 bikes shot, waiting to edit and write up and post... Many more eMountain models in there ;)

Mo Poppins
12 months ago

QUESTION: Go for the Magnum Classic, or spend a couple hundred more for the Rad Mini?

Actually, more like about $400 more (not incl. $100 shipping, if purchased during one of their free shipping specials), since I'd definitely get fenders. The Rad Mini does have a more powerful motor, amongst other amenities.

Mo Poppins
12 months ago

Good points. Now I'm wondering whether I actually do "need" the fat tires. Well, I've still got time to think it over. Thanks, Court. :)
12 months ago

Totally depends on what you ride and prefer style wise. I like them both but don't need the fat tires. I'd rather have a suspension fork and smaller bike to pack into my trunk :)

Free Cable Guy
12 months ago

$2000!?.....what part of $2K is " CHEAP"?!....and $1,000 for a RAZOR SCOOTER....I thought peopke sropped SMOKING CRACK in the '80s....GTFOH!!!...just get the SONOS e-bike.. PERIOD..END OF SENTENCE!

Free Cable Guy
12 months ago yep..SONDORS..thats what i do a great job BTW...keep up the great work!
12 months ago

ps. check this video out, fun and really makes the point about how cheaper ebikes perform
12 months ago

You must be talking about the Sondors ebike right? Well, it doesn't fold, have gears or suspension. In the world of ebikes there's a range of cheap to expensive and for me, this is on the cheaper side at $1,299

Dwight Finnestad
12 months ago

I just checked their web site and they had it listed at $1899.00, quite at difference than the $1299.00 you mentioned.

7 months ago

You Saw The Magnum Premium... This Is The Magnum Classic36V... Im going to buy the Classic48V...

Dwight Finnestad
12 months ago

You're right, I didn't notice that when I first checked. Even still that doesn't seem like a $600 upgrade. I went with the RadMini last month, now I'm shopping for a bike for my wife.

12 months ago

I think the website lists a battery upgrade. 48 volt instead of the 36 mentioned in the video.

12 months ago

Hey Courtney. Would you happen to know if the double chain guide apparatus is available to be installed on all bikes ? . What I'm saying is, do you know if there are companies that offers those types of chain guides to be installed on any bike (ebike and bicycle) ?.

12 months ago Thanks .
12 months ago

Great question, I'll ask around but would assume it's part of the chainring and that you could swap to a similar sized ring with a guide pre-installed? Something like this might also work and be easier:

David Macdonald
12 months ago

Also noticed the console was in the middle of the handlebars on the bike you got out the box

David Macdonald
12 months ago

Dam good for price.
12 months ago

I'd agree with that, pretty solid for a cheaper folding ebike :D