Magnum Classic Review

Magnum Classic Electric Bike Review
Magnum Classic
Magnum Classic 350 Watt 8fun Motor Derailleur Guard
Magnum Classic Removable 36 Volt 13 Amp Hour Battery
Magnum Classic Stitched Ergo Grips Bell
Magnum Classic Das Kit Lcd Display Panel
Magnum Classic Zoom Suspension Fork Integrated Light Fenders
Magnum Classic Aluminum Alloy Chain Guide Plastic Folding Pedals
Magnum Classic 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Drivetrain
Magnum Classic Ebike Folded In Car Trunk
Magnum Classic Folded In The Back Of An Suv
Magnum Classic Electric Bike Charger
Magnum Classic Electric Bike Review
Magnum Classic
Magnum Classic 350 Watt 8fun Motor Derailleur Guard
Magnum Classic Removable 36 Volt 13 Amp Hour Battery
Magnum Classic Stitched Ergo Grips Bell
Magnum Classic Das Kit Lcd Display Panel
Magnum Classic Zoom Suspension Fork Integrated Light Fenders
Magnum Classic Aluminum Alloy Chain Guide Plastic Folding Pedals
Magnum Classic 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Drivetrain
Magnum Classic Ebike Folded In Car Trunk
Magnum Classic Folded In The Back Of An Suv
Magnum Classic Electric Bike Charger

Summary

  • A feature-packed folding electric bike with lots of accessories and multiple color options, great price point and warranty, available through dealers or the Magnum online store
  • Sturdy folding mechanisms with security locks emphasize safety, reflective tires and LED lights keep you seen in dark riding conditions, alloy chain guide and derailleur guard protect the drivetrain
  • Adjustable handlebar and seat height accommodate tall or short riders and the suspension fork and suspension seat post, while basic, make it comfortable to ride
  • At nearly 53 lbs it's heavy for a folding ebike, independent lights are more of a hassle and can be left on accidentally then run out, key must be left in to ride, battery is heavy and not hidden

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Magnum

Model:

Classic

Price:

$1,299

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53.8 lbs (24.4 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.6 lbs (3.44 kg)

Motor Weight:

8 lbs (3.62 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

15 in (38.1 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

15" Seat Tube, 21.5" Reach, 22.5" Stand Over Height, 65.5" Length

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, Folding

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Blue Accents, Matte Black with Orange Accents

Frame Fork Details:

ZOOM Aria Suspension with Preload Adjustment, 40 mm Travel, 9 mm QR Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shimano RevoShift Grip Twist on Right

Cranks:

SOLID 85, 165 mm Length, 52T Chainring with Aluminum Alloy Guide

Pedals:

Wellgo K20410, Folding Plastic Platform

Headset:

Neco 1 1/8"

Stem:

Aluminum Alloy, Folding with QR Telescoping Height (10" to 13")

Handlebar:

Low-Rise, 24" Length, Aluminum Alloy

Brake Details:

Tektro Front: Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotor, Rear: Linear Pull, Artek Levers with Rubberized Edge and Motor Inhibitor

Grips:

Ergonomic Stitched

Saddle:

Selle Royal, Oversized with Rubber Bumpers

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, Basic Suspension, Flip-Up Saddle Clamp

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled, Color Matched (Metallic Blue or Orange)

Spokes:

12G Stainless Steel

Tire Brand:

CST, 20" x 2.125"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Stripes, 40-65 PSI, Nylon

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Flick Bell, Rear Rack with Pannier Blockers and Spring Latch 25 kg Max Weight (55 lbs), Single Side Adjustable Length Kickstand, Metal Derailleur Guard, Aluminum Alloy Fenders with Mud Flaps, Independent Spanninga GaLeo Headlight (2 AA Batteries), Independent Spanninga Back Light (2 AA Batteries), Folding Support Bar on Bottom Bracket

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 6 Mosfet 12 Amp Current Controller, 1.5 lb 2 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

8Fun

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

550 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung, Panasonic or LG

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

468 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Manganese (Li-NCM)

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Display Type:

Das-Kit Fixed Backlit Monochrome LCD

Readouts:

Power Indicator, Charge Level (6 Bars), Speed, Assist Level (0-6), Timer, Odometer, Max Speed, Trip Time, Trip Meter, (Press Power Button Once for Backlight)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad (Power, Set, +, -)

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Magnum Classic is one of my favorite folding electric bikes because it delivers so many features at such a reasonable price. Not all of those features are perfect, the independent lights for example, require you to swap AA batteries out occasionally and can be accidentally left-on to drain while you’re in class or at work vs. integrated lights that shut themselves off. The seven-speed drivetrain uses an entry level Shimano Tourney derailleur and the battery pack requires the key be left in to operate (which means the keys can jingle or be forgotten). But this thing looks beautiful and it comes in several color choices that you can see and test ride at a growing network of dealers. It’s not just the frame but also the fork, fenders, battery pack and rims that match and it’s not just dealers but also the Magnum online store that sells it. Sometimes companies will try to do “everything” and succeed at nothing but I feel that the Magnum Classic gets the important parts right and if you aren’t satisfied with the standard 20 mph top speed on this model, $600 more will get you the Magnum Premium with 28 mph performance, two disc brakes vs. one here and sturdier cast wheels. Personally, given the smaller wheel size on both of these ebikes, I’m comfortable and satisfied with 20 mph.

Driving this bike is a mid-level, widely known and used, geared hub motor from 8Fun. It’s compact, relatively light weight and surprisingly zippy compared to smaller 250 watt options. The motor produces a bit of electronic whirring noise at full power but with six levels of assist to choose from and a throttle-override, it can be quiet too. I love that the motor spins independently from any pedaling and shifting because that reduces wear on the chain, sprockets and derailleur but of course, it’s less efficient. Mid-drive ebikes have gained in popularity in recent years but I still enjoy the instant power (especially for starting from rest) that a throttle offers. I feel like you get full control with this setup and was very impressed with how responsive the cadence sensor was. I didn’t have to pedal even a half-stroke before the motor kicked in and the left brake lever had an inhibitor built in so I could cut power just by squeezing the brake. Unfortunately, the right lever did not have an inhibitor and I’m not sure this was a mistake with the demo model or some sort of cost savings approach because the output plug was there to be used? Both wheels are bolted on vs. using quick release and the rear axle has a lot going on including the shifter cables, derailleur and motor power cord all coming out the right side. A lot of mid-level products do this and it can be a point of vulnerability if the bike tips or you ride close to branches or walls where snagging or bashing could occur. For this reason, Magnum installed a metal derailleur guard to protect the sensitive bits and opted away from a rear disc brake. You get a mechanical disc in the front (where most of the stopping force is distributed anyway) and a more basic rim brake at the rear. Note that the wheels use thicker spokes to help handle the forces of electric motor power and any additional cargo strapped onto the rear rack.

Powering the bike is an efficient but larger-than-average 36 volt 13 amp hour battery. It’s housed in a “Silverfish” box that slides down behind the seat tube. Sometimes this same battery box mounts using plastic guides but Magnum went with metal and the pack is surrounded by frame tubing and encased in Aluminum so it really feels secure. At the top is a flip-up handle and LED power indicator so you can see how full it is even if you’ve got it stored away from the bike. The best way to keep this pack going is to charge it up every month or so when not in use and store it in a cool, dry location. On the left side of the pack is the keyed ignition and on the right side is a USB charging port. This could be handy for filling your phone or running additional lights (even holiday lights on the frame!) and it’s close to the rack so consider storing your stuff in a cargo bag while riding vs. running a long wire up to your handlebars. The battery is good but not great in the sense that it’s a 36 volt system vs. many that are now 48 (transmitting electricity more efficiently). You can flip the saddle up to slide the pack up and off the bike and weighing in at 7.6 lbs vs. 6 on packs with similar capacity I think the casing and possibly lower-density cells take their toll. 53.8 lbs can be a lot to lift (the total weight of the bike with the pack on) so I love how convenient it is to remove and would probably do so regularly. Note that the charger is very generic and standard, putting out 2 Amps and weighing under 2 pounds. Toss it in that trunk bag to extend your rides ;)

Once the battery is charged and the key is inserted, just twist to the right to power it on. From here, press the gray power button on the display pad and watch it flicker to life with a six-bar battery indicator, speed readout and six levels of pedal assist. Many ebikes only show four bars for the battery and offer four or five levels of assist so the Magnum system (using a Das-Kit display) is a bit more advanced. I like having the choices but didn’t feel overwhelmed and could appreciate the simplicity of a display with integrated buttons vs. an independent button pad with a larger center-mount display like Bosch and Yamaha offer. The one area to be careful is when folding and transporting the bike because I didn’t see bungee cords or magnets to keep it folded and if the display gets bonked around it could get scratched up or worse. Reaching over to the display to click up or down isn’t difficult but it’s less intuitive than fancier systems, with four buttons there it might require a quick look down. The biggest redeeming quality of the display and buttons is actually the throttle on the right side of the handlebar. This thing is easy to reach, offers variable power output and overrides assist at all levels! As mentioned earlier, hub motors aren’t as efficient as mid-drives because they can’t leverage your gears… but you can still extend range by pedaling along in one of the lower levels of assist with only occasional bursts of energy from the throttle to top a hill or pass another cyclist. I use the throttle to start from rest most of the time because my knee is sensitive but this uses the most power of all. Ease into it if you’re going for range. I did appreciate that the display is backlit but could also be left dark, this is handy if you get distracted easily or if it’s very dark and you’re trying to be sneaky ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

I really hope you watch the review video above because it goes into depth for each of the areas discussed here. For such an affordable and seemingly simple electric bike, there’s a lot to cover. Magnum went above and beyond to think through the accessories they chose and it really shows to me. They aren’t top-level parts but they all make sense and look great. Trying to find and add fenders post-purchase, especially for smaller bikes, can be a real pain. Same thing goes for racks and there are other parts like the suspension fork and telescoping stem that can be near-impossible to order one-off for a bike like this. If you’re willing to deal with the extra frame and battery weight and the occasional annoyance of battery replacement for the lights then the rest of the bike is very easy for me to recommend. It’s not quiet as balanced as some products with mid-frame batteries but you get more capacity and it’s way better than a rack-mount battery system. Having seen Magnum enter the US over the past several years, I’ve gained a trust for them (dealers have also shared positive comments). This is part of why I added them as a sponsor here. They round out the affordable level of bikes without cutting into quality of experience. Big thanks to Magnum for partnering with me on this post, they paid for my trip to Salt Lake City to see the bikes in person vs. doing reviews at dealers and we had a great time discussing the products. I hope this helps you discover the right bike for your lifestyle and budget and welcome feedback in the comments.

Pros:

  • For an electric bike that comes complete with fenders, lights and a rear rack… this thing is priced pretty well at $1,300 and you can find it at dealers vs. only online like a lot of other value bikes
  • This is a great looking bike and even though it only comes in one frame size, you do get color options! The paint looks good and even the battery pack and fenders are colorized for a more complete look, it’s nice to have variety if you’re considering a set for you and your partner or friend
  • Many folding electric bikes forego suspension because it adds weight but with smaller wheels, you sometimes feel the bumps more so I like that the Magnum Classic has a suspension fork and seat post
  • The battery mount felt solid and putting the pack on or taking it off the frame is less time consuming than some others that use the “Silverfish” pack design because the saddle flips forward out of the way
  • Electric bikes can suffer from chain drop (where the chain falls off the front chainring when you’re riding fast over bumpy terrain), I like that this ebike comes with a sturdy Aluminum chain guide (one plate on either side of the ring) to keep it on track
  • Independent lights keep you visible but cut down on the hassle (and theft potential) of aftermarket lights but still run on AA batteries vs. being wired-in. It’s cool that the bike comes with a flick bell and tires with reflective sidewall tape to enlarge your visual footprint and keep you seen and heard
  • On the right side near the top of the battery box there is a standard sized female USB port so you could charge additional lights or other portable electronics, this works whether the battery is on or off the bike as long as you turn it on with the key… it could double as a backup battery power source
  • Complimenting that chain guide piece mentioned earlier is a metal derailleur guard which keeps the sensitive bits of the bike from getting snagged or bent easily (including the motor cable which is routed through the rear axle there)
  • The rear rack is pretty decent and I love that it’s free from holding the battery which reduces hauling capacity and raises the weight of your gear, consider putting a trunk bag on this rack and looking for one with reflectors and a bottle holster like this
  • I think backlighting on the display is manually controlled (just press the power button once to enable it), this is my preference vs. having the bright light distracting you while riding, since the headlight and taillight are manually controlled too, you can set things however you want
  • The Magnum Classic uses the latest generation of cadence sensors at the bottom bracket, it’s super small so it won’t get bumped and felt very responsive to me, I love that the bike has throttle override as well so you can get going without straining your knees

Cons:

  • At nearly 54 pounds, this is not the lightest folder around… it’s on the heavier side and that makes folding and lifting it a chore, I’d recommend taking the 7.6 lb battery off first
  • I love how the stem telescopes up for taller riders but don’t stretch it too far or the brake lines, shifter cables and electronic wiring can get damaged as you steer
  • The display panel works well but isn’t removable so be extra careful when folding and transporting the bike, it would be a bummer to scratch or damage the display and that could happen easier on folding platforms
  • The suspension isn’t very adjustable (and you can’t lock the fork out) so depending on your weight and ride style it might be annoying and just add weight vs. being useful and effective
  • Since both the headlight and backlight are independent (running off of AA batteries vs. being wired into the ebike battery) they require more effort and time to keep going… don’t forget to turn them off after your ride or you might have to ride home in the dark :/
  • I don’t love folding plastic pedals because they bend easier and don’t offer much surface area or traction… they get the job done but might be worth replacing for heavier riders with larger feet, or those riding in wet conditions frequently, here are some folding Aluminum pedals that might work better
  • As with most generic “Silverfish” battery packs, you have to leave the key inserted and twisted to “on” in order to operate this e-bike and that can result in jingling or lost keys
  • The left crank arm collides with the kickstand (this happens frequently if you move the bike around and back it up while the stand is down), not a huge deal but it would be nice if the stand was just slightly further back and out of the way

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Magnum Reviews

Magnum Metro Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An approachable, mid-step, high-speed, urban electric bike with six levels of pedal assist plus throttle mode that can override with full power. Fairly comfortable with larger tires, a basic suspension fork, and cheap seat post shock... the…...

Magnum Peak Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high speed electric hardtail with with throttle on demand, hydraulic disc brakes and an extra large battery for $2k, all around good value with a 24 speed drivetrain. Optional rear rack for $50 transform the Peak into a sporty commuter, only one frame…...

Magnum Premium Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A folding speed pedelec (capable of ~25 mph) that also offers throttle on demand, you get plenty of power from a 500 Watt hub motor and 48 Volt 13 amp hour battery pack. Two frame styles and four color choices let you personalize the product a bit, folding…...

Magnum Ui5 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A beautifully designed, purpose built, affordable electric bike well suited to urban riding or commuting. Step-thru frame is easy to mount but relatively stiff thanks to a double tube mid-section,…...

Magnum Mi5 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A value priced hardtail electric bike that's trail ready with a basic suspension fork, knobby tires and 21 speeds. Average sized 350 watt motor paired with slightly larger 36 volt 13 amp hour battery…...


Carl
4 months ago

Magnum does not show this bike on their website. Has it been discontinued?

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Carl! I think they are currently out of stock. It’s a very popular ebike in parts of Europe from what I’m told and I think they just didn’t order enough for this first shipment to the US. I believe they will be restocking soon, might be worth asking about :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

EddieJ
3 days ago

I have long had a passion for hardtail mtb’s be them analogue or pedal assist, and have found the eMTB version through ownership of the superb KTM Macina Race, to make the perfect bike for wet weather/winter use.

With the Macina Race now sold, it is time to introduce the replacement bike, a KTM Fogo 271
Click to enlarge

I decided a long time ago that whatever the next bike was going to be, that it needed to be 27.5” Plus size, and just as the Macina Race, it also needed to have a good component specification. I was also keen to stay with both the KTM marque and Bosch drive unit system.

As things stand the KTM Fogo 271 exceeds my requirements by a significant margin, so I am more than happy with my choice.

The Magura Boltron T-20x110 front forks is an interesting one for me, as I have read so many reports both good and bad, which made me keen to own a bike that had them fitted, just so that I could come to my own conclusion about them. I have also previously been asked privately about the forks and what I knew about them, so at least I finally get to discover for myself, and can offer opinion accordingly, and not just based from hearsay. I shall post more about the front forks as time passes, but from handling them off the bike, and checking them over thoroughly, it is a promising start. Clearly performance in use and durability are key, so time will tell, but from research that I have completed, I have already worked out that poor set up from end users, plays a major role in reported seal failure.
Click to enlarge

My preferred choice of front mudguard has long been the Rapid Racer Neoguard, (thanks guys) but after discussion, there are currently no plans to introduce a guard for USD front forks. There is no way that I could bring myself to install a guard that utilizes the steerer tube, and with that in mind I already have my own neoprene design waiting to fit to the bike.

The full bike/component specifications are detailed below, but as things stand, there is very little that I intend to change. I shall be replacing Intuvia with Purion, fit a Ragley Tracker saddle, Ritchey Foam grips, a 70mm Easton stem, and change what I believe to be a KS LEV Integra dropper post, in favour of a Rockshox Reverb Stealth. These four listed items are just personal preference and nothing more. The dropper post is simply being changed as I have one that I removed from the Macina Race, so the rebadged KS can be squirreled away.

I have chosen 27.5” Plus for a very specific reason, but just as with the front forks, I shall detail how things work out, as time passes. Briefly though, as many will be aware, I ride throughout the year and in all conditions. I treat my bikes very much as tool to do a job, and to date KTM bikes have filled this role very well, but with slight limitation. I now want to go one stage further and 27.5” plus is going to enable this. The plus size will fulfill the role of providing superb low-pressure grip in respect of riding wooded knarly terrain and also over rocks etc, then come the winter months, I intend to drop the tyre size down to 2.25-2.3 to optimize rear chain stay clearance. Running 2.25 for example, will give me a full 27mm of clearance all round, so close to zero issue of potential mud/leaf build up.

Having received the bike today, I cannot yet add ride specific details and data, but as with any bike that I receive, the first job is to strip the bike down to the component stages, then re assemble studying parts and construction as I go. By doing so I gain a greater insight into the construction of a bike, and can see what if anything in my opinion could or should be changed. Also, if anything fails whilst riding, having already stripped and rebuilt the bike, I have a head start on how to repair things. I get as much pleasure from working on bikes, as I do riding them.
Click to enlarge

This is where it gets interesting for me, as after having pulled the bike down, I am already very impressed by the frame. The build quality and paint finish is superb, but it is what is behind all that, that I am interested in. The shape and tube sizing has been improved, and just turning the first screw to remove the motor covers, revealed the first thought out design feature. A small banana shaped cover which when removed, gives clear and easy access to main connectors of the Bosch CX drive unit. That in itself was a simple, but welcome change. KTM have also now chosen to use an additional two motor mounting points. This again impressed me, not because the standard three wasn’t enough, but more from the potential that it may prevent any motor creaking, as the loading on the mounts is now more equal.

Turning the frame upside down gave the biggest and most pleasant surprise from the point of view of working on a bike. KTM have chosen to redesign the cable routing and internal cast mounts to the frame. Routing cables, wiring, hydraulic brake and dropper post hose, is now effortlessly easy and simple to do. I’m very impressed that such R&D has been put into this side of things, but I guess that it must save valuable seconds during the factory assembly stage. Speaking of cable and hose routing, I was also pleased to note that the frame entry points for routing, are now fractionally larger as well. A lot of thought has gone into the production of this frame.

Removal of the two tyres was next on the list, and it was yet another pleasant surprise to see that the rims are tubeless ready, not just compatible. That’ll save a bit of time and money when setting them up to run tubeless. Once the wheel set has been returned from a friend’s bike shop, after giving them to him to check and adjust spoke tension should it be required, it’ll then just be a simple job to install Stans valves and Effetto Mariposa CaffeLatex sealant. A sealant that I have no hesitation in using or recommending.

Whilst in its knock down stage, I decided to take advantage of the situation, and fitted an AMS XL Honeycomb frame guard kit. It seemed silly to pass up the opportunity to test a kit, so time will tell as to how effective that it is. It was certainly easy enough to apply, although the frame colour doesn’t really mask any slight air bubbles very well. I have also added 3M clear film to several areas of the frame as well.

Finally, the lad that purchased the Macina Race hardtail has indicated that he wants to start to ride off road as well, so that being the case, I should be able to format some interesting bike comparisons.

As well as regular updates to this forum, further updates and photographs will be posted at the following places.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/313908402329634/permalink/451984891855317/

https://www.facebook.com/edwardpeterjefferies/posts/474559259568509

https://www.instagram.com/eddiejefferies/?hl=en

Thanks to KTM Bike Industries, The Little Bike Shop, Bikegoo, Effetto Mariposa, Fork Juice, and Magicshine UK.

Full component specification

2017 KTM Macina Fogo 271 8s EX1Frame

:- Macina MTB 27.5"+ BOOST, Alloy for Bosch, with semi-integrated battery
Frame sizes :- 43cm, 48cm and 53cm.
Bike colour :- Matt light grey, black + toxic orange.
Front fork :- MAGURA Boltron inverted, T-20x110 120mm travel, weight 2,200g
Headset :- KTM Team B303AM drop/in-tapered, +10
Headset bearing numbers :- MH-P28 and MH-P08M
Stem :- KTM Team KT-6 7° 95mm Weight 133g
Handlebar :- KTM Team HB-RB12L riser, rise 15°, Width 720mm
Handlebar grips :- KTM Team VLG--775-12D2 Diamond fin with end Clamps
Brake rotors :- Shimano RT86 6-bolt, 180mm front, 180mm rear. 260.4g pr
Brakes :- Shimano Deore XT M8000 Weight 554g pr including caliper/hose/lever assembly
Trigger shifter :- SRAM SL EX1 8speed Weight 122g
Rear derailleur :- SRAM RD EX1 8speed. Weight 289g
Front sprocket size as supplied 16T
Cassette :- SRAM XG899 11-48 ( 11, 13, 15, 18, 24, 32, 40, 48) Weight 360g
Chain :- SRAM EX1 Weight 273g
Pedal cranks :- SRAM EX1, ISIS for Bosch. Length 170mm. Weight 510g pr
Pedals :- VP components VP-539 black platform, with replaceable pins. Weight 370g pr
Wheel set :- KTM Line 27-5" plus B/B Tubeless ready
Wheel rims :- Ryder edge 35, 32 spoke hole, suitable for 2.3 to ‘plus’ size of 3.0. Weight 580g
Front hub :- 20mmThrough axle DT Swiss 350 classic-6-bolt 20/110/TA BOOST. Weight 239g
Rear hub :- 12mm Through axle DT Swiss 350 classic-6-bolt 12/148/TA BOOST. Weight 305g
Tyres :- Schwalbe Nobby Nic 70-584 TL-easy, Snake skin, Apex. Weight 910g per tyre.
Saddle :- Fizik Gobi M7 with Manganese rails. Weight 255g
Seat post :- KTM Comp JD-YSP12L hydraulic adjustable 100-370, diameter 30.9mm Weight 560g
Display :- Intuvia LCD, with Walk assist
Drive unit :- Bosch Performance Line CX 36V-250W, 25km/h 75NM of torque, four assist levels,
Eco giving 50% Tour giving 120% Sport giving 210% Turbo 300% Maximum torque available
per assist level, Eco 40Nm Tour 50Nm Sport 60Nm Turbo 75Nm
Battery :- Bosch Powerpack 13.8Ah - 500WH
Motor weight :- 4kg
Battery weight :- 2.6kg, dimensions 325mm x 92mm x 90mm
Overall Bike weight :- 21.4kg

https://www.instagram.com/eddiejefferies/

And now 'Electric Mountain Bike Collective' on Facebook.

.

1/3
Mark23
4 days ago

Thanks for your reply and suggestions, I'll definitely check them out, Mark.

Juiced OceanCurrent has beach cruiser styling, very wide sweeping back handlebars, both high and mid-step frames, 26" wheels with wide 2.35" tires for a lower riding height and comfort, a 48v rear hub motor, mechanical disk brakes, weighing 51lb, for $1300. It has pedal assist with a torque sensor that modulates power depending on how hard you pedal, and a thumb throttle. The battery is mounted in the center of the bike on the down tube that distributes the weight.

Raleigh Superbe iE has classic bicycle styling, standard width swept back handlebars, both diamond and step-through frames, larger 700c/28" wheels with 1 5/8" regular bicycle tires, a 48v rear hub motor, rim brakes, fenders chainguard and rack, weighing 50.2lb, for $1500. It has pedal assist with a cadence sensing motor on/off switch, no throttle. The battery is mounted on top of the rack and with the motor in the rear wheel hub the handling may feel a little rear heavy. Another model, the Raleigh Retroglide has cruiser styling, 26" wheels with wider 2 1/4" tires for lower riding height and comfort, a 48v Currie mid-drive motor so weight is distributed, an optional boost button throttle, but is slightly heavier at 57.5lb, for $1900.

If you are interested in a crank forward ebike the Luna Smoothie is a conversion of the KHS Smoothie cruiser frame, with 26" wheels and a 3-speed IGH with the step-through frame for $1780. The low adjustable seatpost, 26" wheels, and low step over height of the step-through frame provide an upright riding position, and the powerful BBSHD mid-drive motor is a $100 option that would get you up any hill, but you don't get a warranty unless you spend more, also the photos on the Luna website don't show a chainguard so if desired you would need to contact Luna to ask if the stock KHS chainguard can be made to work with their conversion or try to make one fit using frame clamps as the typical bottom bracket mounts won't work with a BBS motor, also there's no Luna Cycle shop network unlike with Juiced or Raleigh so you would need to find a KHS dealer to test ride the frame, and an independent ebike shop that services bafang mid-drive motors.

Dewey
5 days ago

Juiced OceanCurrent has beach cruiser styling, very wide sweeping back handlebars, both high and mid-step frames, 26" wheels with wide 2.35" tires for a lower riding height and comfort, a 48v rear hub motor, mechanical disk brakes, weighing 51lb, for $1300. It has pedal assist with a torque sensor that modulates power depending on how hard you pedal, and a thumb throttle. The battery is mounted in the center of the bike on the down tube that distributes the weight.

Raleigh Superbe iE has classic bicycle styling, standard width swept back handlebars, both diamond and step-through frames, larger 700c/28" wheels with 1 5/8" regular bicycle tires, a 48v rear hub motor, rim brakes, fenders chainguard and rack, weighing 50.2lb, for $1500. It has pedal assist with a cadence sensing motor on/off switch, no throttle. The battery is mounted on top of the rack and with the motor in the rear wheel hub the handling may feel a little rear heavy. Another model, the Raleigh Retroglide has cruiser styling, 26" wheels with wider 2 1/4" tires for lower riding height and comfort, a 48v Currie mid-drive motor so weight is distributed, an optional boost button throttle, but is slightly heavier at 57.5lb, for $1900.

If you are interested in a crank forward ebike the Luna Smoothie is a conversion of the KHS Smoothie cruiser frame, with 26" wheels and a 3-speed IGH with the step-through frame for $1780. The low adjustable seatpost, 26" wheels, and low step over height of the step-through frame provide an upright riding position, and the powerful BBSHD mid-drive motor is a $100 option that would get you up any hill, but you don't get a warranty unless you spend more, also the photos on the Luna website don't show a chainguard so if desired you would need to contact Luna to ask if the stock KHS chainguard can be made to work with their conversion or try to make one fit using frame clamps as the typical bottom bracket mounts won't work with a BBS motor, also there's no Luna Cycle shop network unlike with Juiced or Raleigh so you would need to find a KHS dealer to test ride the frame, and an independent ebike shop that services bafang mid-drive motors.

JayVee
2 weeks ago

Now that you are able to shift more easily by easing up on the pedals, do you see some benefit to the Continuous gear ratio shift versus the stepping up and down if an IGH, or overall, you find the stepping up and down of the IGH easier?

Also, imagining a harmony controller, where it is electronic so no effort twisting it, and shorter twisting range, Would you then see more benefit to the CVT versus the IGH?

I see great potential, but there are a couple of things that would prevent me from buying a Nuvinci today:

Start/stop situations. Maybe a shorter travel distance for the twists would help. I’d have to try it out.
The weight of the system. I need to carry my bike up a flight of stairs every day. I’m really struggling to carry this bike up a flight of stairs due to the Nuvinci.
Hill climbing ability. Below are 2 videos of the same hill climb. One with a Nuvinci drive and the other with a typical derailleur. Video 1 with the Nuvinci + Bosch Performance, Video 2 with my Sduro Trekking.

Over 12% grade things start to get difficult for me with the Nuvinci. When I reached the 14-15% grade section of the hill my speed had dropped to 7km/h and I decided to bail out and turn on to a side road to gain some momentum again (which caused the GPS in my phone to go a little haywire). To be fair, I think if I had insisted a bit I might have been able to make the climb but at 14% grade I’m stretching the ability of man and machine here. As for the climb with the Sduro Trekking and the classic derailleur, I made 7 gear changes... It takes practice to climb with a classic derailleur.

An important note: It should be pointed out that these videos are misleading as far as sound goes because they were made with different microphones. The first video was made with an external microphone whereas the second one was made with the GoPro’s internal mic. The internal mic amplifies the drive noise and doesn’t pick up my breathing, whereas the external mic accentuates the breathing sound and doesn’t pick up the drive noise as much. So you shouldn’t assume that the bike in video 1 is ultra quiet and the one in video 2 ultra noisy. You also shouldn’t assume that in video 1 I’m struggling because you can hear me breathing whereas in video 2 everything is easy. All this has to do with microphone placement. I also realise the sound quality isn’t that great in video 2. I’m having some trouble with my external mic.

Video 1 Hill Climb with the Bosch Performance & N380

Video 2 Trekking Sduro hill climb (skip to 2:30 for the hill climb)

sanglee007
2 weeks ago

RadRover + North Road (sunlite)

Puts my hands close to my knees but it's comfortable for me and lets me sit up straighter. I also have the same bars setup for my Sondors Thin so I decided to try it with the rover and I've been riding it for a week+ and I like it.

Also a flipped north road option (http://www.bikeforums.net/classic-vintage/534842-show-me-your-flipped-north-road-bars.html)

Sang

1/3
bob armani
2 weeks ago

Although the powertube is more aesthetic, the 2018 trek with classic battery is not far behind. I still prefer the later since a spare battery would easily fit in a back pack or big saddle bag (easier to carry a spare).

Oh yeah, the Super Commuter8 by Trek. One of my absolute favorite class 3 ebikes I have test rode. So Trek is going to get on board with a more integrated look to their battery design? That is even a better selling point for that model at around 5Gs IMHO. ;)

Mark Peralta
3 weeks ago

Although the powertube is more aesthetic, the 2018 trek with classic battery is not far behind. I still prefer the later since a spare battery would easily fit in a back pack or big saddle bag (easier to carry a spare).

1/1
Mark Peralta
3 weeks ago

Still prefer the classic battery shape over the power tube since a spare battery fits nicely in a back pack and is easier to carry. Here's the 2018 Trek with the classic battery.

1/1
Dewey
4 weeks ago

That's only true if you purchase items that don't break...potentially have factory defects or suddenly stops working prematurely, then it's hard to go after the seller from outside the country.

Or if the manufacturer suddenly decides to switch product line without warning its distributers making getting spare parts for older models difficult, like Bafang - it's only the responsible US retailers that built up a stock of spares just in case that keep us going. By comparison look at Bosch, when they replaced their Classic 300 battery with the 400wh pack they used a different charger plug, but they acted on feedback from European owners of the older Classic models by supplying a cable adapter and they've clearly learned from the experience as their new 500wh battery is a simple plug in replacement for the previous 400wh pack.

bob armani
4 weeks ago

For all of you followers, the Electric Bike Expo is making its second stop in the Midwest! this time we are heading to the Burnsville Center Mall outside of Minneapolis on July 21-23, 2017.

This location offers us a well-known place where locals shop in the more than 1.1 million square feet, with ample flat surface and free parking. The track design will offer a number of straightaways and a large outside loop for the speed pedelecs.

Because so many of the attendees that came to the Chicagoland event had never ridden an electric bike prior to the event (more than 66%) we have adjusted our marketing and are working with the largest classic rock radio station in the city to market this to the non-cycling community. KQRS will be promoting the event for 2 weeks prior to the Expo and Lisa Miller (afternoon DJ) will be riding a new electric bike for a week prior to the event to report on how it works and where she went on the bike. Then the KQRS team will be broadcasting love from the event on Saturday morning from 10 am to 12 noon.

At this event, NBDA will be jointly hosting our industry peer-to-peer roundtable conversation with dealers from the surrounding area and manufacturers. As with these events in the past, the attendance gets up to 20+ and the discussion is lively. This will happen on Friday afternoon. If you are going to be near the Burnsville area and are involved with the industry and would like to participate, reach out to Melissa Balmer and let her know you would like to participate. There will be some food and beverages and of course, test rides right after!

In Chicago, we ended up with more than 150 different bikes to test ride and we had one individual that was recorded test riding 40 bikes over the weekend.

if you plan to come (it's free), register in advance to cut through the line: www.ebikeexpos.com will take you right to the page.

I know I test rode quite a few at the Chicago Expo, but I lost count. Perhaps not 40 bikes, but at least half of that. You want to be in ebike heaven? Go to this Expo and you will not be disappointed! Great group and a fun crowd running it IMHO. So many models to choose from, you would need Jay Leno's Garage to fit them all and to have them in your own personal collection. Hope the Expo is a big success in the Midwest region. We really need to get the word out here in this neck of the woods. I am now ebike riding here on a regular basis and the general biking community are intrigued by the look and whole concept. Most riders are oblivious to the fact that they even exist. It is great to get the word out to the locals. Such a gas without having to burn any! LOL :D

Airwheel2016
4 weeks ago

In summer, many people become lazy and they prefer to stay at air-conditioning room, which will have side effect on their health. Actually, the main reason that they are reluctant to go out is not because of hot or cold weather, but because of no fascination. If there is a plaything that is cool, fashionable and interesting, people may be lured out of room and to challenge the weather. Airwheel R8 hybrid bike, flowing R5, R3 and R6 has such a charm.

Cool and fashionable appearance of Airwheel R8 comes very first. It is quite classic and tasteful. The workmanship of R8 triangle frame electric bike is very delicate and the aluminum alloy triangle frame is an innovative design. The label of Airwheel is printed on the right side of R8 strikingly. It is also equipped with 26-inch tire, which makes its figure more charming. Meanwhile, large-size tire has stronger adaptability to different road conditions and also gives rider higher safety.

Powerful performance of Airwheel R8 attracts many people, especially young people. Relying on three ride modes: man-powered, power-assisted and electricity-assisted modes, R8 lightweight trekking bike is to give riders totally different riding experience. For example, riders can control the speed and range by altering different ride modes freely. The imported lithium-ion battery provides strong power and Airwheel R8 has the 247.9WH battery capacity. According to test, it only takes the 3h to be fully charged. The range of R8 triangle electric bike is very considerable. If you choose the power-assisted mode, riders can enjoy the long enough range.

Then, what Airwheel electric hoverboard can be used for? Actually, it can be applied to many different occasions, such as sightseeing, taking exercise in the park, going shopping, attending a party or going to library. People can ride it to anywhere. To know more about the fourth model in R series, please visit its website.

EBike Expo
1 month ago

Latest Burnsville/Minneapolis Expo News-
We now have 5 major retailers participating in the 2017 Electric Bike Expo - Burnsville/Minneapolis. Erik's Bike; Penn Cycle, Evolve Segway, Excelr8 e-Bikes, and Perennial Cycle. They are joining a full tent of manufacturers as well as Bosch and Trek in their Pavilions. BMW will be showcasing their commuter bike along with 2 electric cars. One will feature their new custom bike rack. Minneapolis's own Gocycle will be showing off their compact folding bike.

The Classic Rock station KQRS has DJ Lisa Miller who is riding a new electric bike all this week and reporting on it during her afternoon broadcasts. Lisa will select her own official bike after testing riding a bunch on Saturday morning. The KQRS team will be broadcasting live from the Expo from 10 am until 12noon. Our Charity Raffle program sponsored by Tempo will benefit the Ronald McDonald House in the MN area and the winner will be picked at 3 pm on Sunday.

Speaking of test riding, we have 176 different bikes registered for attendees to ride. Cargo Bikes, Road Bikes, Fat Tire and Mountain Bikes, Compact Folding Bikes, Trikes, Speed Pedelecs, and Cruisers will all be available throughout the weekend. Some brand new models will be introduced at the event as well, so even the hardcore regulars will have something new to check out.

Our education program will run on Friday afternoon before the event opens to the public and this will be moderated by Todd Grant (president of the NBDA, as well as Charlie Gandy, CalBike Coalition). This is open to shop owners (existing and prospective) and bike and parts manufacturers (especially within the electric bike community). Reach out to Melissa Balmer for more details and to reserve your space. melissa@pedallove.org

Phrodos
1 month ago

@Andrea Corongiu That is very harsh words. How do you know this? Those who now have received them seem very much satisfied, and those who are unhappy have not received them yet and are classic backers who doesn't understand what crowdfunding is. Which seem to be many, but in reality are very few. I've backed almost 50 projects on Indiegogo and Kickstarter, including two ebikes and an e-scooter, and delivery time is an issue 80-90% of the time, and in my experience you cannot judge the projects in general on if they deliver at said time at project start. The projects that failed has always been small electronic stuff, in my experience. Mate, from my point of view, has a very solid take on this and even had the prime minister of Denmark riding one. I sat on the fence for a while on this bike, but ordered one bike for me and one for my girlfriend. I trust my fellow Scandinavians!

redalexx
1 month ago

Hello,

I updated the mileage and the motor failures in several motor systems.

Bosch
Impulse
XION

Panasonic
AEG

Yamaha
Shimano

https://pedelecmonitor.wordpress.com/mittelmotoren/

In addition I got several new motor failures in May and June from Bosch Classic, Active and CX. There are as usual new failuresfrom Kalkhoffs bikes with Impulse 2.0 and 2.2 system.

J.R.
1 month ago

The Worksman Stretch trike is rated to 550lb.

The Pedego Interceptor and Boomerang Plus models with the optional 26" magnesium wheels are rated to 400lb.
Yes, good options and quality brands. They are included with other ebikes by Zize Bikes noted above. The owner of Zize is a dealer of those brands and has both personal and business understanding of what the bigger rider needs for a good experience biking. With many models, they fine tune or customize the bikes with robust parts/accessories for the larger rider. I think saddles, bars/grips, tires and pedals are the most common items. They've been doing this for a long time. It's great customer service, few dealers would be willing to do. I ran accross them while doing research for a recommendation a couple years ago. Interesting story too.

Dewey
1 month ago

The Worksman Stretch trike is rated to 550lb.

The Pedego Interceptor and Boomerang Plus models with the optional 26" magnesium wheels are rated to 400lb.

EBs_are_fun
1 month ago

I am looking for similar bikes, and I like the Magnum Classic as well. Another thing I found helpful was to go to the folding bikes section, sort by price, and do some side-by-side comparisons of bikes that looked like they might match what I'm looking for.

EBs_are_fun
1 month ago

I will be using an ebike for a 20 mile round trip commute on country roads with no bike lane.

I like the Magnum Classic because I can test ride and buy it at a local shop.

I like the Voltbike Mariner for its larger motor and fat tires. I am wondering if the 4" tires would make it easier for me to go along the shoulder for awhile when cars are passing me.

Is it crazy to get 4" tires for a 10 mile ride mostly on roads? Or would it be safer?

I am in NE Ohio. I have not decided whether I would try to ride on snow days or not. If I did want to, that would be another advantage for the Mariner, but there is a good chance I will just choose to drive those days.

EBike Expo
1 month ago

For all of you followers, the Electric Bike Expo is making its second stop in the Midwest! this time we are heading to the Burnsville Center Mall outside of Minneapolis on July 21-23, 2017.

This location offers us a well-known place where locals shop in the more than 1.1 million square feet, with ample flat surface and free parking. The track design will offer a number of straightaways and a large outside loop for the speed pedelecs.

Because so many of the attendees that came to the Chicagoland event had never ridden an electric bike prior to the event (more than 66%) we have adjusted our marketing and are working with the largest classic rock radio station in the city to market this to the non-cycling community. KQRS will be promoting the event for 2 weeks prior to the Expo and Lisa Miller (afternoon DJ) will be riding a new electric bike for a week prior to the event to report on how it works and where she went on the bike. Then the KQRS team will be broadcasting love from the event on Saturday morning from 10 am to 12 noon.

At this event, NBDA will be jointly hosting our industry peer-to-peer roundtable conversation with dealers from the surrounding area and manufacturers. As with these events in the past, the attendance gets up to 20+ and the discussion is lively. This will happen on Friday afternoon. If you are going to be near the Burnsville area and are involved with the industry and would like to participate, reach out to Melissa Balmer and let her know you would like to participate. There will be some food and beverages and of course, test rides right after!

In Chicago, we ended up with more than 150 different bikes to test ride and we had one individual that was recorded test riding 40 bikes over the weekend.

if you plan to come (it's free), register in advance to cut through the line: www.ebikeexpos.com will take you right to the page.

BurbManDan
1 month ago

... I put together a table of sunrise/sunset times and avg rainfall throughout the year...

Weather is a huge factor in staying safe and upright, but the challenge of commuting long term is mental - just the challenge of biking instead of taking the easy route of the car or train. I rode an epic amount in 2015, missing only a few days due to travel or family events requiring driving. I gave up nothing for weather, and it took a toll, on me and my bike. However, I learned a lot about what gear is important, and how to setup the bike to satisfy my commuting needs. I also realized that I can keep myself fit and happy and ease up a bit - so I don't insist on riding in blizzards or when there's likely to be lots of crusty snow (video) ice (video) or flooding (video), even though I have the gear to do so.

One of the things I've learned in over 30k miles on Bosch bikes, is that the workout isn't directly dependent on the power level used. Running the bike on a higher power level just means that for the same level of work on the rider's part, you will just go faster. This will result in a shorter duration workout, but if your ride is long, it doesn't make that much difference. For example, without the electric bike my commute would take about 2.25 hours each way. With the R&M Charger with two batteries running on Turbo mode all the time, it takes 1.5 hours each way. I push just as hard either way, but the difference is about 90 minutes more workout without an electric bike, which is a huge difference in the amount I have to eat and sleep in order to commute every day. It's much more sustainable to run the bike on Turbo than push myself longer - I'm still achieving a high level of fitness.

Another big difference is comfort and gear for everything. On a less powerful bike, I'd try to keep things a light as possible, meaning thinner tires, less gear, less comfort. With two batteries, fat tires, substantial frame, I comfortably carry a spare tube, small pump, toolkit, spare spokes, raincoat, supplemental rechargeable lights, actioncam, small bluetooth speaker for podcasts, and in cold weather - spare gloves, spare socks, and additional thin wool layers. This is in addition to daily clothes, laptop, and lunch, all stuffed into one (two in winter) Ortlieb classic panniers. All this preparation and creature comfort would be pared down substantially if it weren't for the E-bike. Also, in winter I ride on studded snow tires, which are heavy and slow. And most important for safety is a charged cell phone (and a cable to power from the Bosch head unit if needed). In 2.5 years, I've had to call for help only a couple times! However, one of the most important bits of gear is an app called Road ID that tracks my whereabouts and will automatically text my location to my family if I'm not moving, because you never know if you'll be able to call for help. As a bike commuter, always make sure people know your whereabouts, and when to expect you, because no matter how good your bike and gear and preparation is, crap happens. :p

AguassissiM
1 month ago

Thanks for those 1st impressions.
Quick questions...
1. Did you have screws for the derailleur guard? If so where?
2. Did you stick the top front fender bracket behind the light bracket or behind the fork?
3. Benoit is sending me a Téo sticker for the battery's left side, you should drop him a note too.
4. Plastic reflectors in spoke: useless.
5. Love you Nutcase helmet, ordered a similar one, my old bike helmet is no longer comfortable.
You`re welcome. @Denis Shelston
1. one was holding the fender support and the other was in the frame, look inside the big box it may have come loose
2.behind the light
3.something to ponder about...
4.100% Agree
5. MEC has one like this and now i`m sorry i did not picked it instead:

Marleen
1 month ago

Court thanks for your feedback, as always very much appreciated!
And for your kind words! You must know my mom is equally if not much cooler than I am ;-) and I am just as happy and proud for having her in my life and riding bikes.
I always say she is The Original I am 'just' The Remix ;-) She disagrees, of course ;-)
But ok I shall stop this shameless pouring of love now for this is after all a bike forum!

Although you are quite right to point out that I have a deep and rather strong love for Electra too, the feeling just hasn't been completely reciprocated yet ;-) but I remain optimistic!
I actually am in contact now with the freshly appointed manager for the Benelux area so that's a start ;-)
While he still has to set up shop here properly, as he only started this brandnew(!) job last monday, he seems like a nice guy and willing to help us.
Besides trying to answer the already mentioned questions / issues raised here, he actually promised to try and get one demo bike (most probably the Loft Go!) from Hamburg to the Third World Bicycle Country that is The Netherlands ;-) Hallelujah! ;-)
I am of course still trying, as hard as I can, with all my super powers, to persuade him to ship all three! For naturally I would still very much prefer for us to be able to check out and test ride all of the available models before actually buying one.

Especially because, while we are familiar with all the different cruiser models from Electra, neither of us have ever taken a ride on an actual Townie model! And the Townie is quite different compared with the classic cruiser. I mean with its much smaller and straight steer you just have to end up being in a very different seating position than on a cruiser while cycling? To me it seems you would be in a less laid back position? I am now actually trying to hunt down a regular Townie somewhere in the neighborhood asap so we could at least try the fit of this bike first. I mean it would help a lot were we to find out we could eliminate the Townie from the options. Or if it turned out to be the complete opposite of course.

Which leads me to another interesting question; why is there actually no electric version of the cruiser model? So an Electra Classic Cruiser Go! It seems pretty odd right, especially considering all of the different new ebike models Electra has now presented. And considering that, to me at least, the cruiser is still the ultimate embodiment of what Electra is.

So all in all chances are still pretty big we shall head to Hamburg in the near future to be able to check out and test the entire Go! family ourselves. So yes I guess that is how far (pun unintended sorry) our Electra love goes ;-) In which case btw we shall of course report on our findings extensively right here!

Weird story about leaving out the walk assistance option btw.
Now the rules on the European market are of course different to those in the US. Here in The Netherlands there are f.e. no such classifications or legal limitations to enabling a function like walk assist. But I was told that the first generation Bosch Go! bikes form Electra indeed also didn't have this feature in Europe. I am still waiting for a final answer from Electra Benelux about whether they have in the meantime altered this for the European market; meaning this function could now indeed be enabled in Europe. To be continued!

The point you made Court about the potential risk of the moving pedals with walk assist is indeed something to take into account. On the other hand most bikes here that actually have walk assist don't have their pedals moving when it is turned on. I think that depends on the type of gears you have on the bike? My guess is the only plausible explanation for it being disabled Stateside is out of fear for legal liability. In Europe we have completely different legislation when it comes to this. Then again chances are slim they will make an exception for Europe for all the bikes are imported from the US here if I am right? Much easier of course to make just one type per model bike for the whole market.

Quite an eyeopener btw to point out here that the Townie Loft actually sports a different, less powerful, model Bosch motor (the Active line) Whereas both the Townie Go and the Commute Go! actually sport the more powerful Bosch Performance line. I actually have printouts of the different specs on the Electra website so my mum and myself could visualize the differences better, but on these the difference between active and performance line motor is not mentioned. It is on the website but somehow just not on these? (These print-outs appear after you click on the small specs plus print icon top left on the picture of any choosen bike on the Electra website)

But I like your thoughts on why they might have opted for this less powerful motor on the Loft model. ("slower to start, weaker overall so it will expand battery range and feel safer and more predictable to riders maybe") Therefore it might even end up being a better option when more safety and stability are your absolute priorities!
But then again on paper the overall position just seems less relaxed, less laid back. It somehow reminds me of the citybikes the Italians ride. I don't know if anybody else knows what I am talking about here? Plus the saddle doesn't have the shock absorbing elastomers like the Townie and Commute, it does have a spring though. Curious what kind of an effect that has.

And then there are the 28 inch tires, not as fat as the 26 inch fat franks on the Townie Go! plus they do bring up the whole bike just that tad bit higher. When you look at the pictures of the different models next to each other, it even looks like the distance between the crank and the upper tube is a bit bigger with both the Commute and the Loft. This seems irrelevant but when you are older and/or smaller this could just turn out to be that tad bit annoying when mounting/ dismounting your bike.

Plus your conclusion that the less powerful motor must effect battery range must be apt too, for the accu still has the same power as on the bikes with the stronger more powerful motors. Then again this is not mentioned by Electra. The specs when it comes to distances are the same for all the different Go! types: "20-100 miles / 40-120 km depending on your mode and terrain"

On a side note; as much as I really enjoy and love the happy, colorful and flashy Electra website for it seems completely in sync with the whole brand/ 'cycling as a lifestyle' idea. When it comes to the tech specs they could maybe improve it a little. Moustache f.e. has this cool drawn model of each specific bike type with all the measurements mentioned. And no that wouldn't just be cool for so called 'geeky bike nerds' (nothing but love and respect there) but it could really help out anyone while trying to narrow down the exact type of bike of your preference. Especially since there sadly is not an Electra (e)bike shop or showroom on every street corner, which makes the online availability of relevant and correct information, be it technical, just practical or visual all the more important!

Ok enough said for now.
I shall return here as soon as I get some interesting new info thru the Benelux manager. And of course as soon as I have managed to get my hands on one, or even better, on all of the new Go! models myself.
In the meantime I shall be dreaming of the apparently impossible combination; an actual electric classic cruiser bike by Electra. Or as Court said quite rightly; why to his surprise they (just) haven't put larger beach bars on the Townie Go?

Over50
2 months ago

...And it was nice to get more of both toes on the ground. Guess my 30" inseam has shrunk a little with age. ;->
Sorry to resurrect this thread but I just wanted to get some Xduro Trekking owners' confirmation: I'm leaning towards purchasing the XDuro Trekking 4.0 2017 as my 2nd/backup commuter. Although it is a class 1, I've really fallen for the elegance of the battery and motor integration and like how that CX motor is compact and angled up. I think the class 1 won't cost me too much time off of my commute since I've got so much start/stop in the commute. And when I am cruising it is usually between 18mph to 23mph. Rarely do I ever hit 25mph.

Anyway, its again the situation as with many top brands where the Haibikes are not available locally for me to try/test and since their frames are a bit unique, I'm having to guess a bit on the correct size. I've read through all the available threads including everything above and am leaning towards a Small 52cm frame:
I'm 5'9" with about 29.5-30" inseam, 165 pounds and 9.5" shoe size (in case shoe size impacts wheelbase decisions). I have the R&M Charger in Medium (49cm) which I feel is a really good fit for both standover and reach. The Charger has a much longer wheelbase. One of my human powered bikes is a Spot Brand 52cm frame (classic diamond frame). At times I feel perhaps it is a bit small and my toes will clip the front wheel on turns if I am not careful.

So I have two very educated opinions that I would be best on the Small 52cm frame for the XDuro Trekking 4.0 (one Chris at Propel and the other a Haibike representative). I say very educated because both of these opinions are from people that have seen and ridden the bike as well as other Haibikes. Then I have opinions from my two local dealers that I should order the 56cm Medium. Neither of these dealers has ever seen the bike. My LBS took some "x/y" measurements from my Charger and said I should order the the M. The other shop said I might not be happy with the short reach on the 52cm. I guess this speaks to the wisdom of riding before you buy but that will require a lengthy trip and once again make it harder for me to buy locally. So for current Haibike Trekking owners, do you find your frame sizes are a good fit for you in terms of reach and standover? Also, it seems as if the seat tube lengths on these bikes might be a bit short. Do you know if they are long enough, particularly on the Small, to allow for a BodyFloat replacement?

Blisandt
2 months ago

Raleigh Retroglide iE 2017

It's Red. I have had this bike for 60 days. I just had it tuned up and it is a gem! I am selling because I want to do MORE biking than I could have imagined, but this is a GREAT commuter bike! Not a thing wrong with it!

Raleigh's Retroglide iE sports classic retro styling with a modern, technological twist. A classically styled aluminum frame is morphed with a pedal-assist motor that helps you go farther, faster, and with less effort.

Whenever you need a boost, the Currie Electro-Drive Centerdrive motor lets you zip along at up to 20 miles per hour, for up to 35 miles! Sturdy wheels, and a smooth-shifting 7-speed drivetrain to help on the hills, the Retroglide iE is ready for endless cruising. Keeping with the throwback theme, there's a springer seat for superb comfort on every adventure, fat balloon tires, cool fenders, and a stamped Raleigh chain guard to add to the classy looks. And a COMFY SEAT!

Pictures available upon request.

Selling with no sales tax... $1500 It's located in BOSTON Area and I will not ship it... but we can meet if you are in N. E. It's in "excellent used" condition because my pannier and basket have made marks on the paint job. Those are the only blemishes!

Additional Information
FRAME Aluminum 6061, Comfort Geometry
FORK High Tensile Steel w/Fender Mounts
MOTOR SPECS Currie Electro-Drive Centerdrive 350W
DRIVE SYSTEM Currie Electro-Drive Centerdrive 350W
BATTERY TYPE/WEIGHT 48V Lithium-ion, 8.7Ah, 417Wh
RANGE ON FULL CHARGE 16-35 miles
MAX. ASSISTED SPEED 20 mph (32 kph)
RIMS/WHEELS Weinmann XTB26 Double Wall 36h
HUBS Modus 36h w/QR
TIRES Kenda 26×2.25", 30TPI
CRANKSET Centerdrive
CHAINRING 42T
REAR DERAILLEUR Shimano Altus
REAR COGS Shimano 7spd (12-32t)
SHIFTERS Shimano SL-TX50 7spd
BRAKES Tektro Linear Pull
HANDLEBARS Alloy 25.4, W:630mm
TAPE/GRIPS Raleigh Grips
STEM Alloy quill, 80mm
SADDLE Velo Raleigh
SEATPOST Alloy 27.2x350mm

matthew e
5 days ago

1500$ ? no thanks.

ThunderGirl95.2
1 month ago

I hope somebody can help me. I'm looking for a electric folding bike. but I have some things what I want on it. thats that the battery in the frame and that it has a display (digital) so I can see what my speed is etc. and with suspension. But I wonder of is there one for cheap. I saw Enzo en Ejoe ebike but they are expensive. So I hope that somebody can help me out.

ThunderGirl95.2
1 month ago

ElectricBikeReview.com thanks for the response but I want a bike with the battery in the frame and a lcd display. I dont know of that is possible that you can recommand me?

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 month ago

The Magnum Classic has all of the features you want and is relatively affordable at $1,299 coming from a company with good support and some dealers https://electricbikereview.com/magnum/classic/ but if you can't spend that much, you could get something off of Amazon like the Vilano Ion which has been updated, here's a review I did a while back https://electricbikereview.com/vilano/ion/

Michelle Jordan
3 months ago

can you do a review on the genesis commuter electric bike, please?

Mauricio Andrade
4 months ago

Does anyone know which brand of the front light of this ebike? I have a folding ebike and my light stays on the handlebar, I would put in this same position.

キングクリストファー
4 months ago

That battery really needs to be integrated into the bike... I hate the dangling key! Price is amazing though...

Slowbro
4 months ago

Is it no longer possible to buy this bike through their site? I didnt see it listed along with the rest of the bikes, just the $1,900 Premium model.

Also:

What do you think about the Voltbike Yukon compared to the RadRover? Both are fairly closely priced ($1570 for Yukon and $1660 for the radrover with fenders+shipping for both) and outwardly appear very similar. A rack for the voltbike would only be 30 more (due to the bundle) while its $80 more on the radrover, im not so sure if I need a rack though.

I'm also looking into the radcity a lot. Cant quite decide between the geared motor of yukon/radrover vs the radcity with the direct drive motor (city also has the benefit of included fenders with splash guards and a rack, a 160+ savings compared to the rover).

My use will be mostly for going to school/the gym (about 6 miles each way, flat land). The fat tire bikes would give me the benefit of having some fun at the beach or all the park trails nearby, but this is not a major selling point either.

Do you have any other recommendations in the $1500 range (or lower) similar to these? I wouldnt want to go any higher in price than these however. I also am on the heavier side (250lbs) so don't think id want to drop below a 750w model. Radmini was also an option but considering that its more expensive (when you account for fenders) than the city and a lot more than this Magnum, I'm not so sure about it.

oz davidov
4 months ago

hey, i am buying an electric bike soon and i was thinking about asking and getting an advice from you,, i want to buy a bike with the specs:
36v 10ah battery
250w rear geared hub motor (the brand is jobo i think)
comes with a display from jobo too,
5 magnet cadence sensor, which is fine for me
the bike is being sold for 650$ which is kind of a cheap price for an ebike, ive been riding this bike a lot of times and i really liked it, i thought about asking you what you think about the specs and i was hoping that you can give me your advice also about the price
or i can get the exact same bike and pay more 60$ but get an 8fun motor.
please give me your advice, thank you

way2muchNFO
4 months ago

Hey when are you going to review the ultralight folding ebikes? I've had a few over the years that are under 11 pounds! love your amazing reviews!! e

Tracey McNeel
4 months ago

a 24" foldable electric bike would be nice.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Hey Tracey! Tern tried this a year or two back and the bike was cool... it might be difficult to find one now with their Vektron released: https://electricbikereview.com/tern/node-d8-with-bionx/

Cuong
4 months ago

Great vids! Any recommendation on what bikes would be good for doing food delivery? My area has lots of hills.

Cuong
4 months ago

thanks, appreciate it

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Sure, I like the Riese & Müller Load because it's a full suspension cargo with great handling and I prefer mid-drive motors. I haven't published my review on it yet but the bike is sweet! Here are some others: https://electricbikereview.com/category/cargo/

Alexis Hadjisoteriou
4 months ago

PLEASE PLEASE more e-MTB bikes. You were the "go-to" resource for pedal assisted mountain bike reviews but have not done one for ages - would love to see Trek Powerfly or Focus Jam2 reviewed or even some updates on your very own Specialized ..

Andy Finnie
4 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com whisper 806 foldiñg bike

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Hi Alexis! I'm a little behind on posting (though trying to publish every other day). Currently in NYC and have 50 bikes shot, waiting to edit and write up and post... Many more eMountain models in there ;)

Mo Poppins
4 months ago

QUESTION: Go for the Magnum Classic, or spend a couple hundred more for the Rad Mini?

Actually, more like about $400 more (not incl. $100 shipping, if purchased during one of their free shipping specials), since I'd definitely get fenders. The Rad Mini does have a more powerful motor, amongst other amenities.

Mo Poppins
4 months ago

Good points. Now I'm wondering whether I actually do "need" the fat tires. Well, I've still got time to think it over. Thanks, Court. :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Totally depends on what you ride and prefer style wise. I like them both but don't need the fat tires. I'd rather have a suspension fork and smaller bike to pack into my trunk :)

Free Cable Guy
4 months ago

$2000!?.....what part of $2K is " CHEAP"?!....and $1,000 for a RAZOR SCOOTER....I thought peopke sropped SMOKING CRACK in the '80s....GTFOH!!!...just get the SONOS e-bike.. PERIOD..END OF SENTENCE!

Free Cable Guy
4 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com yep..SONDORS..thats what i meant...you do a great job BTW...keep up the great work!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

ps. check this video out, fun and really makes the point about how cheaper ebikes perform https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZT2zHRCqzk

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

You must be talking about the Sondors ebike right? Well, it doesn't fold, have gears or suspension. In the world of ebikes there's a range of cheap to expensive and for me, this is on the cheaper side at $1,299

Dwight Finnestad
4 months ago

I just checked their web site and they had it listed at $1899.00, quite at difference than the $1299.00 you mentioned.

Dwight Finnestad
4 months ago

You're right, I didn't notice that when I first checked. Even still that doesn't seem like a $600 upgrade. I went with the RadMini last month, now I'm shopping for a bike for my wife.

robmanueb2
4 months ago

I think the website lists a battery upgrade. 48 volt instead of the 36 mentioned in the video.

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
4 months ago

Hey Courtney. Would you happen to know if the double chain guide apparatus is available to be installed on all bikes ? . What I'm saying is, do you know if there are companies that offers those types of chain guides to be installed on any bike (ebike and bicycle) ?.

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
4 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Thanks .

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Great question, I'll ask around but would assume it's part of the chainring and that you could swap to a similar sized ring with a guide pre-installed? Something like this might also work and be easier: https://alexa.design/2nyVopi

David Macdonald
4 months ago

Also noticed the console was in the middle of the handlebars on the bike you got out the box

David Macdonald
4 months ago

Dam good for price.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

I'd agree with that, pretty solid for a cheaper folding ebike :D

Esquimox Pi
4 months ago

Looks like a lot of value-per-dollar, for a small wheeled folder. (I might want to go even heavier than this though -- I have
not been able to get my weight down below 220 for a while now; I would guess that these shocks would get more of a
Workout, if I was aboard this cycle. For a person who is taller than 90 percent of the guys out there, . . . well, we-uns
don't feel real, Real bad; if something is built a little more "robust."
Same Token, though -- a better grade of brakes might be "Indicated," for me.

Larry Russell
4 months ago

Overall a great bike except throttle is not yet legal in New York City. There is a bill in the Assembly (in Albany) that's being looking at, but it's stuck there and crawling.

actnowone
2 weeks ago

Seb K I live in the U.K. and can't believe some states in the US consider e-bikes a danger yet they sell guns, fucking crazy 😜

Seb K
4 months ago

It really is ridiculous . The problem is they don't think it's a big deal . I think similar to what Court did needs to be done again to show politicians how successful they are in other countries, how they can help people like yourself get around quicker and how little danger they are to the public . I honestly cannot see how they can allow 2 ton vehicles who kill people to continue using the roads and stop electric bicycles being used .

It's funny because on another video some anti-cyclist fool posted a link of a cyclist killing a pedestrian . This was around 3 years ago . I then replied with about 20 links of people being killed by drivers recently . I still haven't had a response :) !!!

Larry Russell
4 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com NY State Assembly Bill A1018
https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/bills/2017/a1018/amendment/original

Larry Russell
4 months ago

Seb K. All e-bikes are still illegal in New York and could be confiscated at anytime. They (NYPD) just had a major confiscation last month of over 200 e-bikes. The law is pretty much stuck in Albany and is being looked at by the assembly - it still has not been passed by the Senate which seems to be the issue, and the Bill is being slowly tended to. It's the most ridiculous thing I've ever seen in my life. I need it more than most because I'm disabled and having one could really help my Mobility.

Seb K
4 months ago

I thought only pedal assist was legal . That was what I was told . Seriously NYC needs to get its act together . Even our mayor (Sadiq Khan) gets advice (and vice versa) from their mayor and I am so glad he hasn't brought their stupid law over here .

Glendale Walter
4 months ago

I hit like on your videos because u need a paycheck and have bills to pay and I do like all these bikes and videos however I do NOT agree with the price of them tho. Do I dare say price gouging though lol. I sense big oil has something to do with these prices. It will lead to deliberate sabotage of this tech. This market is only for the privileged as usual because of the price. Most people who need these bikes are the ones who cant afford them. They will most likely need to have some sort of subsidy or voucher in order to purchase one of these bikes however that is messed up that these bikes are that expensive that one would need a subsidy or a voucher just to afford them. If the subsidies and voucher will b made available that is and that is a big if.

Mo Poppins
4 months ago

True, Court...it's *_always_* better to avoid having to be a slave to debt, if possible.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Awesome suggestion Mo Poppins, very constructive feedback. But! As someone who tries to avoid debt myself, you just want a cheaper option Glendale, there are some bikes on Amazon for less. I fear they can cost more in the long run if you don't take care of them, but this one wasn't so bad: https://electricbikereview.com/vilano/ion/

Mo Poppins
4 months ago

If you could afford monthly payments, Rad Power Bikes offers a payment plan. https://www.radpowerbikes.com/pages/as-low-as-0-apr-financing-with-affirm

slappy76
4 months ago

Subsidy? Really? How about saving for it and buying it when you have the money? 1300 dollars versus the cost of the average car which is probably pushing 25k. Do you even know much does a normal folding bike cost? A 400 WH battery? A controller? A motor? Buy your Sondors for $700 and see what garbage you get.