Magnum Classic Review

Magnum Classic Electric Bike Review
Magnum Classic
Magnum Classic 350 Watt 8fun Motor Derailleur Guard
Magnum Classic Removable 36 Volt 13 Amp Hour Battery
Magnum Classic Stitched Ergo Grips Bell
Magnum Classic Das Kit Lcd Display Panel
Magnum Classic Zoom Suspension Fork Integrated Light Fenders
Magnum Classic Aluminum Alloy Chain Guide Plastic Folding Pedals
Magnum Classic 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Drivetrain
Magnum Classic Ebike Folded In Car Trunk
Magnum Classic Folded In The Back Of An Suv
Magnum Classic Electric Bike Charger
Magnum Classic Electric Bike Review
Magnum Classic
Magnum Classic 350 Watt 8fun Motor Derailleur Guard
Magnum Classic Removable 36 Volt 13 Amp Hour Battery
Magnum Classic Stitched Ergo Grips Bell
Magnum Classic Das Kit Lcd Display Panel
Magnum Classic Zoom Suspension Fork Integrated Light Fenders
Magnum Classic Aluminum Alloy Chain Guide Plastic Folding Pedals
Magnum Classic 7 Speed Shimano Tourney Drivetrain
Magnum Classic Ebike Folded In Car Trunk
Magnum Classic Folded In The Back Of An Suv
Magnum Classic Electric Bike Charger

Summary

  • A feature-packed folding electric bike with lots of accessories and multiple color options, great price point and warranty, available through dealers or the Magnum online store
  • Sturdy folding mechanisms with security locks emphasize safety, reflective tires and LED lights keep you seen in dark riding conditions, alloy chain guide and derailleur guard protect the drivetrain
  • Adjustable handlebar and seat height accommodate tall or short riders and the suspension fork and suspension seat post, while basic, make it comfortable to ride
  • At nearly 53 lbs it's heavy for a folding ebike, independent lights are more of a hassle and can be left on accidentally then run out, key must be left in to ride, battery is heavy and not hidden

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Magnum

Model:

Classic

Price:

$1,299

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53.8 lbs (24.4 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.6 lbs (3.44 kg)

Motor Weight:

8 lbs (3.62 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

15 in (38.1 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

15" Seat Tube, 21.5" Reach, 22.5" Stand Over Height, 65.5" Length

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, Folding

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Blue Accents, Matte Black with Orange Accents

Frame Fork Details:

ZOOM Aria Suspension with Preload Adjustment, 40 mm Travel, 9 mm QR Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

11 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney, 11-28T

Shifter Details:

Shimano RevoShift Grip Twist on Right

Cranks:

SOLID 85, 165 mm Length, 52T Chainring with Aluminum Alloy Guide

Pedals:

Wellgo K20410, Folding Plastic Platform

Headset:

Neco 1 1/8"

Stem:

Aluminum Alloy, Folding with QR Telescoping Height (10" to 13")

Handlebar:

Low-Rise, 24" Length, Aluminum Alloy

Brake Details:

Tektro Front: Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotor, Rear: Linear Pull, Artek Levers with Rubberized Edge and Motor Inhibitor

Grips:

Ergonomic Stitched

Saddle:

Selle Royal, Oversized with Rubber Bumpers

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, Basic Suspension, Flip-Up Saddle Clamp

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled, Color Matched (Metallic Blue or Orange)

Spokes:

12G Stainless Steel

Tire Brand:

CST, 20" x 2.125"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Stripes, 40-65 PSI, Nylon

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Flick Bell, Rear Rack with Pannier Blockers and Spring Latch 25 kg Max Weight (55 lbs), Single Side Adjustable Length Kickstand, Metal Derailleur Guard, Aluminum Alloy Fenders with Mud Flaps, Independent Spanninga GaLeo Headlight (2 AA Batteries), Independent Spanninga Back Light (2 AA Batteries), Folding Support Bar on Bottom Bracket

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 6 Mosfet 12 Amp Current Controller, 1.5 lb 2 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

8Fun

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

550 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung, Panasonic or LG

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

468 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Manganese (Li-NCM)

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Display Type:

Das-Kit Fixed Backlit Monochrome LCD

Readouts:

Power Indicator, Charge Level (6 Bars), Speed, Assist Level (0-6), Timer, Odometer, Max Speed, Trip Time, Trip Meter, (Press Power Button Once for Backlight)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad (Power, Set, +, -)

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Magnum Classic is one of my favorite folding electric bikes because it delivers so many features at such a reasonable price. Not all of those features are perfect, the independent lights for example, require you to swap AA batteries out occasionally and can be accidentally left-on to drain while you’re in class or at work vs. integrated lights that shut themselves off. The seven-speed drivetrain uses an entry level Shimano Tourney derailleur and the battery pack requires the key be left in to operate (which means the keys can jingle or be forgotten). But this thing looks beautiful and it comes in several color choices that you can see and test ride at a growing network of dealers. It’s not just the frame but also the fork, fenders, battery pack and rims that match and it’s not just dealers but also the Magnum online store that sells it. Sometimes companies will try to do “everything” and succeed at nothing but I feel that the Magnum Classic gets the important parts right and if you aren’t satisfied with the standard 20 mph top speed on this model, $600 more will get you the Magnum Premium with 28 mph performance, two disc brakes vs. one here and sturdier cast wheels. Personally, given the smaller wheel size on both of these ebikes, I’m comfortable and satisfied with 20 mph.

Driving this bike is a mid-level, widely known and used, geared hub motor from 8Fun. It’s compact, relatively light weight and surprisingly zippy compared to smaller 250 watt options. The motor produces a bit of electronic whirring noise at full power but with six levels of assist to choose from and a throttle-override, it can be quiet too. I love that the motor spins independently from any pedaling and shifting because that reduces wear on the chain, sprockets and derailleur but of course, it’s less efficient. Mid-drive ebikes have gained in popularity in recent years but I still enjoy the instant power (especially for starting from rest) that a throttle offers. I feel like you get full control with this setup and was very impressed with how responsive the cadence sensor was. I didn’t have to pedal even a half-stroke before the motor kicked in and the left brake lever had an inhibitor built in so I could cut power just by squeezing the brake. Unfortunately, the right lever did not have an inhibitor and I’m not sure this was a mistake with the demo model or some sort of cost savings approach because the output plug was there to be used? Both wheels are bolted on vs. using quick release and the rear axle has a lot going on including the shifter cables, derailleur and motor power cord all coming out the right side. A lot of mid-level products do this and it can be a point of vulnerability if the bike tips or you ride close to branches or walls where snagging or bashing could occur. For this reason, Magnum installed a metal derailleur guard to protect the sensitive bits and opted away from a rear disc brake. You get a mechanical disc in the front (where most of the stopping force is distributed anyway) and a more basic rim brake at the rear. Note that the wheels use thicker spokes to help handle the forces of electric motor power and any additional cargo strapped onto the rear rack.

Powering the bike is an efficient but larger-than-average 36 volt 13 amp hour battery. It’s housed in a “Silverfish” box that slides down behind the seat tube. Sometimes this same battery box mounts using plastic guides but Magnum went with metal and the pack is surrounded by frame tubing and encased in Aluminum so it really feels secure. At the top is a flip-up handle and LED power indicator so you can see how full it is even if you’ve got it stored away from the bike. The best way to keep this pack going is to charge it up every month or so when not in use and store it in a cool, dry location. On the left side of the pack is the keyed ignition and on the right side is a USB charging port. This could be handy for filling your phone or running additional lights (even holiday lights on the frame!) and it’s close to the rack so consider storing your stuff in a cargo bag while riding vs. running a long wire up to your handlebars. The battery is good but not great in the sense that it’s a 36 volt system vs. many that are now 48 (transmitting electricity more efficiently). You can flip the saddle up to slide the pack up and off the bike and weighing in at 7.6 lbs vs. 6 on packs with similar capacity I think the casing and possibly lower-density cells take their toll. 53.8 lbs can be a lot to lift (the total weight of the bike with the pack on) so I love how convenient it is to remove and would probably do so regularly. Note that the charger is very generic and standard, putting out 2 Amps and weighing under 2 pounds. Toss it in that trunk bag to extend your rides ;)

Once the battery is charged and the key is inserted, just twist to the right to power it on. From here, press the gray power button on the display pad and watch it flicker to life with a six-bar battery indicator, speed readout and six levels of pedal assist. Many ebikes only show four bars for the battery and offer four or five levels of assist so the Magnum system (using a Das-Kit display) is a bit more advanced. I like having the choices but didn’t feel overwhelmed and could appreciate the simplicity of a display with integrated buttons vs. an independent button pad with a larger center-mount display like Bosch and Yamaha offer. The one area to be careful is when folding and transporting the bike because I didn’t see bungee cords or magnets to keep it folded and if the display gets bonked around it could get scratched up or worse. Reaching over to the display to click up or down isn’t difficult but it’s less intuitive than fancier systems, with four buttons there it might require a quick look down. The biggest redeeming quality of the display and buttons is actually the throttle on the right side of the handlebar. This thing is easy to reach, offers variable power output and overrides assist at all levels! As mentioned earlier, hub motors aren’t as efficient as mid-drives because they can’t leverage your gears… but you can still extend range by pedaling along in one of the lower levels of assist with only occasional bursts of energy from the throttle to top a hill or pass another cyclist. I use the throttle to start from rest most of the time because my knee is sensitive but this uses the most power of all. Ease into it if you’re going for range. I did appreciate that the display is backlit but could also be left dark, this is handy if you get distracted easily or if it’s very dark and you’re trying to be sneaky ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

I really hope you watch the review video above because it goes into depth for each of the areas discussed here. For such an affordable and seemingly simple electric bike, there’s a lot to cover. Magnum went above and beyond to think through the accessories they chose and it really shows to me. They aren’t top-level parts but they all make sense and look great. Trying to find and add fenders post-purchase, especially for smaller bikes, can be a real pain. Same thing goes for racks and there are other parts like the suspension fork and telescoping stem that can be near-impossible to order one-off for a bike like this. If you’re willing to deal with the extra frame and battery weight and the occasional annoyance of battery replacement for the lights then the rest of the bike is very easy for me to recommend. It’s not quiet as balanced as some products with mid-frame batteries but you get more capacity and it’s way better than a rack-mount battery system. Having seen Magnum enter the US over the past several years, I’ve gained a trust for them (dealers have also shared positive comments). This is part of why I added them as a sponsor here. They round out the affordable level of bikes without cutting into quality of experience. Big thanks to Magnum for partnering with me on this post, they paid for my trip to Salt Lake City to see the bikes in person vs. doing reviews at dealers and we had a great time discussing the products. I hope this helps you discover the right bike for your lifestyle and budget and welcome feedback in the comments.

Pros:

  • For an electric bike that comes complete with fenders, lights and a rear rack… this thing is priced pretty well at $1,300 and you can find it at dealers vs. only online like a lot of other value bikes
  • This is a great looking bike and even though it only comes in one frame size, you do get color options! The paint looks good and even the battery pack and fenders are colorized for a more complete look, it’s nice to have variety if you’re considering a set for you and your partner or friend
  • Many folding electric bikes forego suspension because it adds weight but with smaller wheels, you sometimes feel the bumps more so I like that the Magnum Classic has a suspension fork and seat post
  • The battery mount felt solid and putting the pack on or taking it off the frame is less time consuming than some others that use the “Silverfish” pack design because the saddle flips forward out of the way
  • Electric bikes can suffer from chain drop (where the chain falls off the front chainring when you’re riding fast over bumpy terrain), I like that this ebike comes with a sturdy Aluminum chain guide (one plate on either side of the ring) to keep it on track
  • Independent lights keep you visible but cut down on the hassle (and theft potential) of aftermarket lights but still run on AA batteries vs. being wired-in. It’s cool that the bike comes with a flick bell and tires with reflective sidewall tape to enlarge your visual footprint and keep you seen and heard
  • On the right side near the top of the battery box there is a standard sized female USB port so you could charge additional lights or other portable electronics, this works whether the battery is on or off the bike as long as you turn it on with the key… it could double as a backup battery power source
  • Complimenting that chain guide piece mentioned earlier is a metal derailleur guard which keeps the sensitive bits of the bike from getting snagged or bent easily (including the motor cable which is routed through the rear axle there)
  • The rear rack is pretty decent and I love that it’s free from holding the battery which reduces hauling capacity and raises the weight of your gear, consider putting a trunk bag on this rack and looking for one with reflectors and a bottle holster like this
  • I think backlighting on the display is manually controlled (just press the power button once to enable it), this is my preference vs. having the bright light distracting you while riding, since the headlight and taillight are manually controlled too, you can set things however you want
  • The Magnum Classic uses the latest generation of cadence sensors at the bottom bracket, it’s super small so it won’t get bumped and felt very responsive to me, I love that the bike has throttle override as well so you can get going without straining your knees

Cons:

  • At nearly 54 pounds, this is not the lightest folder around… it’s on the heavier side and that makes folding and lifting it a chore, I’d recommend taking the 7.6 lb battery off first
  • I love how the stem telescopes up for taller riders but don’t stretch it too far or the brake lines, shifter cables and electronic wiring can get damaged as you steer
  • The display panel works well but isn’t removable so be extra careful when folding and transporting the bike, it would be a bummer to scratch or damage the display and that could happen easier on folding platforms
  • The suspension isn’t very adjustable (and you can’t lock the fork out) so depending on your weight and ride style it might be annoying and just add weight vs. being useful and effective
  • Since both the headlight and backlight are independent (running off of AA batteries vs. being wired into the ebike battery) they require more effort and time to keep going… don’t forget to turn them off after your ride or you might have to ride home in the dark :/
  • I don’t love folding plastic pedals because they bend easier and don’t offer much surface area or traction… they get the job done but might be worth replacing for heavier riders with larger feet, or those riding in wet conditions frequently, here are some folding Aluminum pedals that might work better
  • As with most generic “Silverfish” battery packs, you have to leave the key inserted and twisted to “on” in order to operate this e-bike and that can result in jingling or lost keys
  • The left crank arm collides with the kickstand (this happens frequently if you move the bike around and back it up while the stand is down), not a huge deal but it would be nice if the stand was just slightly further back and out of the way

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Magnum Reviews

Magnum Peak Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high speed electric hardtail with with throttle on demand, hydraulic disc brakes and an extra large battery for $2k, all around good value with a 24 speed drivetrain. Optional rear rack for $50 transform the Peak into a sporty commuter, only one frame…...

Magnum Premium Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A folding speed pedelec (capable of ~25 mph) that also offers throttle on demand, you get plenty of power from a 500 Watt hub motor and 48 Volt 13 amp hour battery pack. Two frame styles and four color choices let you personalize the product a bit, folding…...

Magnum Ui5 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A beautifully designed, purpose built, affordable electric bike well suited to urban riding or commuting. Step-thru frame is easy to mount but relatively stiff thanks to a double tube mid-section,…...

Magnum Mi5 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A value priced hardtail electric bike that's trail ready with a basic suspension fork, knobby tires and 21 speeds. Average sized 350 watt motor paired with slightly larger 36 volt 13 amp hour battery…...


Carl
2 months ago

Magnum does not show this bike on their website. Has it been discontinued?

Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Carl! I think they are currently out of stock. It’s a very popular ebike in parts of Europe from what I’m told and I think they just didn’t order enough for this first shipment to the US. I believe they will be restocking soon, might be worth asking about :)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Over50
4 hours ago

...And it was nice to get more of both toes on the ground. Guess my 30" inseam has shrunk a little with age. ;->
Sorry to resurrect this thread but I just wanted to get some Xduro Trekking owners' confirmation: I'm leaning towards purchasing the XDuro Trekking 4.0 2017 as my 2nd/backup commuter. Although it is a class 1, I've really fallen for the elegance of the battery and motor integration and like how that CX motor is compact and angled up. I think the class 1 won't cost me too much time off of my commute since I've got so much start/stop in the commute. And when I am cruising it is usually between 18mph to 23mph. Rarely do I ever hit 25mph.

Anyway, its again the situation as with many top brands where the Haibikes are not available locally for me to try/test and since their frames are a bit unique, I'm having to guess a bit on the correct size. I've read through all the available threads including everything above and am leaning towards a Small 52cm frame:
I'm 5'9" with about 29.5-30" inseam, 165 pounds and 9.5" shoe size (in case shoe size impacts wheelbase decisions). I have the R&M Charger in Medium (49cm) which I feel is a really good fit for both standover and reach. The Charger has a much longer wheelbase. One of my human powered bikes is a Spot Brand 52cm frame (classic diamond frame). At times I feel perhaps it is a bit small and my toes will clip the front wheel on turns if I am not careful.

So I have two very educated opinions that I would be best on the Small 52cm frame for the XDuro Trekking 4.0 (one Chris at Propel and the other a Haibike representative). I say very educated because both of these opinions are from people that have seen and ridden the bike as well as other Haibikes. Then I have opinions from my two local dealers that I should order the 56cm Medium. Neither of these dealers has ever seen the bike. My LBS took some "x/y" measurements from my Charger and said I should order the the M. The other shop said I might not be happy with the short reach on the 52cm. I guess this speaks to the wisdom of riding before you buy but that will require a lengthy trip and once again make it harder for me to buy locally. So for current Haibike Trekking owners, do you find your frame sizes are a good fit for you in terms of reach and standover? Also, it seems as if the seat tube lengths on these bikes might be a bit short. Do you know if they are long enough, particularly on the Small, to allow for a BodyFloat replacement?

Blisandt
2 days ago

Raleigh Retroglide iE 2017

It's Red. I have had this bike for 60 days. I just had it tuned up and it is a gem! I am selling because I want to do MORE biking than I could have imagined, but this is a GREAT commuter bike! Not a thing wrong with it!

Raleigh's Retroglide iE sports classic retro styling with a modern, technological twist. A classically styled aluminum frame is morphed with a pedal-assist motor that helps you go farther, faster, and with less effort.

Whenever you need a boost, the Currie Electro-Drive Centerdrive motor lets you zip along at up to 20 miles per hour, for up to 35 miles! Sturdy wheels, and a smooth-shifting 7-speed drivetrain to help on the hills, the Retroglide iE is ready for endless cruising. Keeping with the throwback theme, there's a springer seat for superb comfort on every adventure, fat balloon tires, cool fenders, and a stamped Raleigh chain guard to add to the classy looks. And a COMFY SEAT!

Pictures available upon request.

Selling with no sales tax... $1500 It's located in BOSTON Area and I will not ship it... but we can meet if you are in N. E. It's in "excellent used" condition because my pannier and basket have made marks on the paint job. Those are the only blemishes!

Additional Information
FRAME Aluminum 6061, Comfort Geometry
FORK High Tensile Steel w/Fender Mounts
MOTOR SPECS Currie Electro-Drive Centerdrive 350W
DRIVE SYSTEM Currie Electro-Drive Centerdrive 350W
BATTERY TYPE/WEIGHT 48V Lithium-ion, 8.7Ah, 417Wh
RANGE ON FULL CHARGE 16-35 miles
MAX. ASSISTED SPEED 20 mph (32 kph)
RIMS/WHEELS Weinmann XTB26 Double Wall 36h
HUBS Modus 36h w/QR
TIRES Kenda 26×2.25", 30TPI
CRANKSET Centerdrive
CHAINRING 42T
REAR DERAILLEUR Shimano Altus
REAR COGS Shimano 7spd (12-32t)
SHIFTERS Shimano SL-TX50 7spd
BRAKES Tektro Linear Pull
HANDLEBARS Alloy 25.4, W:630mm
TAPE/GRIPS Raleigh Grips
STEM Alloy quill, 80mm
SADDLE Velo Raleigh
SEATPOST Alloy 27.2x350mm

JohnT
1 week ago

I'm not very familiar with those bikes, but I've been Facebook friends with someone from Ariel for a while now. I don't really know him, but he seems like a stand-up guy.

I hope I'm not going too far off-topic, but Pedego has a few bikes capable of handling 400 pounds or more. With the mag wheel option, an Interceptor Classic, Interceptor Step Thru, or Boomerang can handle 400 pounds. The Stretch is made to carry cargo and will do 600 pounds out of the box.

windmill
3 weeks ago

Well, Rovers fall into the obsolete/classic/vintage/oddball category because the contemporary-sized tool doesn't work. It's strange because I've been using that tool on my other bikes for over a decade. But my newest bike (2016 Rover) uses an old-timey sizing??? Go figure.

Btw, I wasn't trying to denigrate you...I just didn't want anybody to make the same mistake I did.
Rad power bikes uses standard Shimano freewheels on all their bikes, and my park tool works fine on them. Perhaps you're not aware they can sometimes be a tight fit with a new freewheel, and need a little coaxing? When I retrofitted a Shimano mega range freewheel, I needed to tap it in with a small soft blow hammer.
If not, your issue must be particular to your tool or freewheel.

FYI, This tool will work without modification. https://www.amazon.com/DNP-Freewheel-Remover-Epoch/dp/B007AI1LGW/ref=sr_1_26?ie=UTF8&qid=1496844853&sr=8-26&keywords=freewheel+tool

Doug Devine
3 weeks ago

My reference was to contemporary freewheels, and cassettes. There's several obsolete, classic, vintage, and oddball sizes.
Well, Rovers fall into the obsolete/classic/vintage/oddball category because the contemporary-sized tool doesn't work. It's strange because I've been using that tool on my other bikes for over a decade. But my newest bike (2016 Rover) uses an old-timey sizing??? Go figure.

Btw, I wasn't trying to denigrate you...I just didn't want anybody to make the same mistake I did.

windmill
3 weeks ago

Unfortunately, this is not true.

I just drilled my Shimano cassette removal tool (to fit around the 15mm Rover axle) and hacksawed it in half (cuz the 18mm axle bolt is too wide for a tool to slip over) and it doesn't work because the tool is too big. Just slightly. Grrrrrrr....

The Park Tool website (http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-help/cassette-and-freewheel-removal-and-installation#article-section-2) makes reference to three, 12-spline Shimano freewheel removal tools: FR-1.2, FR-1.3, and FR-5.2. The FR-1.3 has a listed diameter of 22.6mm and the FR-5.2 is 23.4mm. The diameter for the FR-1.2 isn't given but it does say that certain type of freewheels require this tool...yet it's discontinued and its page refers one to the FR-1.3. Kinda confusing. Especially since it appears that the Rover's freewheel looks like it meets the criteria for needing the FR-1.2. I'm guessing that the FR-1.2 is the same diameter as the FR-1.3 but with deeper splineage.
My reference was to contemporary freewheels, and cassettes. There's several obsolete, classic, vintage, and oddball sizes.

Dewey
3 weeks ago

what brands of trailer and ebike? This would be a good question to ask on the two wheeling tots Facebook page and the pedal parents Facebook group. Most trailers use a hitch cup, receiver, or coupler, you can bolt onto either a quick release or nutted axle, you don't have to use the through-axle skewer. If you have a recessed dropout you can use a stack of spacers until the mounting plate is clear like this. Or this hitch for Burley trailers clamps onto the seatstay. And there are special hitches for long-tail cargo bikes.

Ravi Kempaiah
3 weeks ago

I've been looking for a cargo bike / better commuter for a while. I commute 10mi each way here in MPLS roughly once a week and through the winter. Sold my Fargo and picked up an ST2 from Crazy Lenny this week and had the first ride today.

It's like hills don't exist any more. Mode 3 and I'm able to maintain 27-30 mph and keep up with traffic! This thing is incredible. Commute to work shaved 10 whole minutes, 10 miles in 24 mins! Total of 28 miles today with 20 mph average used about 65% of the battery with probably 70% in mode 3 and the balance in mode 2.

Need to get panniers and trailer hookup for the Burley. I'm looking at Ortlieb front rollers or sport rollers - anyone use them with their Stromer?

I have Ortleib's on my ST2. Back Roller Classic.
Any of the Ortleib's work fine.

1/1
fxr3
1 month ago

Sorry to hear that, I am guessing BULLS/Brose has a conservative motor regime to protect the internal belt for reliability. Firmware update to make each of the sensors more responsive (literally more sensitive) to rider input would solve the problem so why don't they do it? The belt. Good news is your fitness level will go up and your legs will get stronger and stronger with the Brose "classic bike" feel.
Are tou suggesting the belt wont hold up?

RoadWrinkle
1 month ago

It seems the manufacturers are pulling a fast one on the consumer by marketing these bikes as something they're not.
I Agree, if you check the websites of nearly all ebike manufacturers that sell brose systems (and the other motors as well) you will find the word "powerful" somewhere to describe their 250w/36-37v/15a systems. IMO, for most ebike riders, BULLS/Brose went too far with the "classic bike" feel design objective; these bikes seem like they were built for very fit MTB riders only; if you feel over worked, your not fit enough for their PAS sensors.

RoadWrinkle
1 month ago

I got the software upgrade, marginal difference, kinda sad, still no huevos on grades greater than 10%. So sad!!!!
Sorry to hear that, I am guessing BULLS/Brose has a conservative motor regime to protect the internal belt for reliability. Firmware update to make each of the sensors more responsive (literally more sensitive) to rider input would solve the problem so why don't they do it? The belt. Good news is your fitness level will go up and your legs will get stronger and stronger with the Brose "classic bike" feel.

Peter Polling
1 month ago

Not sure we can think of torque and power as separate aspects. You can measure torque with a meter, but power is a product of torque and the motors rpm's, as with the equation for horsepower ( hp=T x rpm/ 5252). Torque at the wheels is the torque at the motor combined with the additional leverage given by the chain through gearing. With a 10-speed cassette and dual chain rings, the BULLS "transmission" definitely has the climbing torque 'potential'; but the drive train receives only the power coming from the motor and your pedaling, even though the rear wheel gets the resulting force combination. So if you lack power, you lack torque.

Bottom line, I was not getting the amount of assist I need to even get up to 15-20mph on flat ground with no headwind. However, the bike climbs well as long as you are working the pedals fairly hard. I have discussed this at length with BULLS USA and they explain the design is for "riders" who want help getting up hills, as well as the look and feel of a classic bike. Their website reads in part: "The E-STREAM EVO models are classic bikes with a little extra push, whether you’re pedaling on or off road."

My point is that I think they went a little too far with the classic bike feel to the point that the e-assist is so weak it does not justify the 52 lbs overall weight of the bike. I am a large 6-2" 250 lbs rider in fairly good shape and this bike is just more of a workout than I want on an electric bike. I have owned a 350w Bosch CX Haibike and, although it does not have the power of my older 500w/48v/20a motiv cruiser with a hub motor; I never felt like it did not have enough assist. The BULLS/Brose bike is noticeably under powered as compared to my old stuff; and this was a surprise to me. The bike performs extremely well in terms of overall design and components, my problem is with the Brose 250w/37v/20a system. So I have learned by this experience that the larger riders like me really need a minimum 500w/48v/30a configuration. Also, the manufacturers should not be advertising these 250w/36-37v systems as "powerful"...that is a misrepresentation.

I disagree. I can get to 40-42 kmph without wind when I work with the bike. My wifes Flyer works a little bit harder, so she doesnt have to work as hard, both have 250 watt motor.

RoadWrinkle
1 month ago

is it power or torque you feel is lacking
Not sure we can think of torque and power as separate aspects. You can measure torque with a meter, but power is a product of torque and crank/motor shaft RPM (hp=T x rpm/ 5252). Torque at the rear wheel is the torque at the motor combined with the additional leverage given by the chain through gearing. The BULLS 29er has a 10-speed cassette and dual chain rings, so the "transmission" definitely has the climbing torque potential; but the drive train receives only the power coming from the motor and your pedaling, even though the rear wheel gets the resulting force combination. So if you lack power, you lack torque.

Bottom line, I was not getting the amount of assist I need to even get up to 20mph on flat ground with no headwind and brisk pedaling. However, the bike climbs well as long as you are working the pedals fairly hard. I have discussed this at length with BULLS USA and they explain the design is for "riders" who want help getting up hills, as well as the look and feel of a classic bike. Their website reads in part: "The E-STREAM EVO models are classic bikes with a little extra push, whether you’re pedaling on or off road."

My point is that I think they went a little too far with the classic bike feel to the point that the e-assist is so weak it does not justify the 52 lbs overall weight of the bike. In fairness, I am a large 6-2" 250 lbs rider in fairly good shape, but this bike is more of a workout than I want on an electric bike. I have owned a 350w Bosch performance line Haibike and, although it does not have the power of my older 500w/48v/20a motiv cruiser with a hub motor; I never felt like it did not have enough assist. The BULLS/Brose bike is noticeably under powered as compared to my old stuff; and this was a surprise to me. The bike performs extremely well in terms of overall design and components, my problem is with the Brose 250w/37v/20a system. So I have learned by this experience that the larger riders like me really need a minimum 500w/48v/30a configuration. Also, the manufacturers should not be advertising these 250w/36-37v systems as "powerful"...that is a misrepresentation.

Ravi Kempaiah
1 month ago

Have you had a chance to compare the ride between a Bafang bike and your BULLS? Interested in finding out how different the two PAS systems feel. A throttled 1000w/52v/30amp system would address any concerns about power for larger riders, but is that overkill for an ebike? If the low watt bikes produced today are too much like classic bicycles in terms of available power, are the 1000w+ bikes too much like electric mopeds?

I have ridden the BBS-HD motor and it's not too bad but there is a clear difference between its cadence sensing and torque sensing mechanisms. With programming, you can smooth out the BBS-HD system but it simply won't match the refined ride quality of Bosch/Brose/yamaha.
To put it in the crudest way..
Riding a torque-sensing bike is like the viagra pill.. you know it's still you and feel like the man ! ;)
BBS-HD is like watching your wife play with a Hitachi wand. You clearly know it's not you and you could never make her come that quick but hey, both are happy in the end.. :p

RoadWrinkle
1 month ago

Yes, my Bulls is totally quiet, stealthy and beautiful. However, I would not buy one again.
Maybe I'd buy this. Less money and more performance. https://lunacycle.com/luna-giant-anthem-2-ebike/
Have you had a chance to compare the ride between a Bafang bike and your BULLS? Interested in finding out how different the two PAS systems feel. A throttled 1000w/52v/30amp system would address any concerns about power for larger riders, but is that overkill for an ebike? If the low watt bikes produced today are too much like classic bicycles in terms of available power, are the 1000w+ bikes too much like electric mopeds?

fxr3
2 months ago

From BULLS USA website: "The E-STREAM EVO models are classic bikes with a little extra push, whether you’re pedaling on or off road." Check it out for yourself http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/e-stream-evo-fs-3-29-4/.
I stand corrected! I don't think they admitted to less power to attain those results. And don't really think they have noticeably less power, imo. They are for sure silky smooth, quiet and low key and still my choice of mid-drives. Firmware hops em up a bit- aaaawwwwwwww. Sweet

RoadWrinkle
2 months ago

I never recall Brose or mfg. usng their motors suggesting they are designed for those seeking mountan bike experience with a little help up the hils(if you could tell me where to read that- i'll stand corrected).
From BULLS USA website: "The E-STREAM EVO models are classic bikes with a little extra push, whether you’re pedaling on or off road." Check it out for yourself http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/e-stream-evo-fs-3-29-4/.

Barkme Wolf
2 months ago

Sorry you got hit, hope you're ok, a co worker got hit last week too. His bent got totaled, and his foot is broken, classic right hook. They say things come in 3's, I hope I'm not it.
Got it all on helmet cam-

windmill
2 months ago

Got my spokes and nipples! Getting them installed Friday. Good thing, got hit by a car last week. Everything is a little wonky.
Sorry you got hit, hope you're ok, a co worker got hit last week too. His bent got totaled, and his foot is broken, classic right hook. They say things come in 3's, I hope I'm not it.

RoadWrinkle
2 months ago

A production 750w/48v Bafang mid drive with semi integrated motor and battery? Rare and interesting. Has anyone had a chance to ride this? Looks more upright than classic mtb design, with the adjustable stem could be a good commuter. Have not found any video and their website does not list the full specs of their bikes. Can't find anyone that purchased this particular model although their fatbike seems popular.

Ravi Kempaiah
2 months ago

The super commuter will reach the US sometime in June. Meanwhile, Pete at Electric Bike Report was able to shoot this video at Sea Otter Classic and I think Trek is doing a lot of things right.

The new Cross Rip+ looks great and very well priced as well.

Jan1of1
2 months ago

How old is the bike, or rather which drive unit is fitted?

With every Active Line, Performance Line and Performance CX drive unit that I have ever seen that has a frame mounted battery, the battery can be charged whilst still attached to the bike.
I can only assume that you must have a Classic Line, and I can't remember how I used to charge that system, as it was seemingly so long ago.

Well I feel like a horse's ass. I didn't even notice the portal for charging the battery while on the bicycle. For some reason I thought it would be on the battery not on the battery mount so I never looked at the battery mount for a possible connection for charging the battery while on the bike. Because of your posting I went down to the garage and took a look and you were spot on. Thanks!

EddieJ
2 months ago

Charging my battery. I really like my Bosch mid-drive system except for one thing - why did they design it so the PowerPack can't be charged while mounted to the bicycle? No work around for that - one has to disconnect the battery and bring it to the charger vs vice-versa.

How old is the bike, or rather which drive unit is fitted?

With every Active Line, Performance Line and Performance CX drive unit that I have ever seen that has a frame mounted battery, the battery can be charged whilst still attached to the bike.
I can only assume that you must have a Classic Line, and I can't remember how I used to charge that system, as it was seemingly so long ago.

kenan
2 months ago

hi all this is kenan from turkey I have got bocsh e bike active classic when I open display it doesnt connect I tried many times after connected not alwasy but it make me nervous breakdown if someone can help solution appreciate

Michelle Jordan
1 month ago

can you do a review on the genesis commuter electric bike, please?

Mauricio Andrade
2 months ago

Does anyone know which brand of the front light of this ebike? I have a folding ebike and my light stays on the handlebar, I would put in this same position.

Christopher クリストファー
2 months ago

That battery really needs to be integrated into the bike... I hate the dangling key! Price is amazing though...

Slowbro
2 months ago

Is it no longer possible to buy this bike through their site? I didnt see it listed along with the rest of the bikes, just the $1,900 Premium model.

Also:

What do you think about the Voltbike Yukon compared to the RadRover? Both are fairly closely priced ($1570 for Yukon and $1660 for the radrover with fenders+shipping for both) and outwardly appear very similar. A rack for the voltbike would only be 30 more (due to the bundle) while its $80 more on the radrover, im not so sure if I need a rack though.

I'm also looking into the radcity a lot. Cant quite decide between the geared motor of yukon/radrover vs the radcity with the direct drive motor (city also has the benefit of included fenders with splash guards and a rack, a 160+ savings compared to the rover).

My use will be mostly for going to school/the gym (about 6 miles each way, flat land). The fat tire bikes would give me the benefit of having some fun at the beach or all the park trails nearby, but this is not a major selling point either.

Do you have any other recommendations in the $1500 range (or lower) similar to these? I wouldnt want to go any higher in price than these however. I also am on the heavier side (250lbs) so don't think id want to drop below a 750w model. Radmini was also an option but considering that its more expensive (when you account for fenders) than the city and a lot more than this Magnum, I'm not so sure about it.

oz davidov
3 months ago

hey, i am buying an electric bike soon and i was thinking about asking and getting an advice from you,, i want to buy a bike with the specs:
36v 10ah battery
250w rear geared hub motor (the brand is jobo i think)
comes with a display from jobo too,
5 magnet cadence sensor, which is fine for me
the bike is being sold for 650$ which is kind of a cheap price for an ebike, ive been riding this bike a lot of times and i really liked it, i thought about asking you what you think about the specs and i was hoping that you can give me your advice also about the price
or i can get the exact same bike and pay more 60$ but get an 8fun motor.
please give me your advice, thank you

way2muchNFO
3 months ago

Hey when are you going to review the ultralight folding ebikes? I've had a few over the years that are under 11 pounds! love your amazing reviews!! e

Tracey McNeel
3 months ago

a 24" foldable electric bike would be nice.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Hey Tracey! Tern tried this a year or two back and the bike was cool... it might be difficult to find one now with their Vektron released: https://electricbikereview.com/tern/node-d8-with-bionx/

cuong luu
3 months ago

Great vids! Any recommendation on what bikes would be good for doing food delivery? My area has lots of hills.

cuong luu
3 months ago

thanks, appreciate it

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Sure, I like the Riese & Müller Load because it's a full suspension cargo with great handling and I prefer mid-drive motors. I haven't published my review on it yet but the bike is sweet! Here are some others: https://electricbikereview.com/category/cargo/

Alexis Hadjisoteriou
3 months ago

PLEASE PLEASE more e-MTB bikes. You were the "go-to" resource for pedal assisted mountain bike reviews but have not done one for ages - would love to see Trek Powerfly or Focus Jam2 reviewed or even some updates on your very own Specialized ..

Andy Finnie
3 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com whisper 806 foldiñg bike

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Hi Alexis! I'm a little behind on posting (though trying to publish every other day). Currently in NYC and have 50 bikes shot, waiting to edit and write up and post... Many more eMountain models in there ;)

Mo Poppins
3 months ago

QUESTION: Go for the Magnum Classic, or spend a couple hundred more for the Rad Mini?

Actually, more like about $400 more (not incl. $100 shipping, if purchased during one of their free shipping specials), since I'd definitely get fenders. The Rad Mini does have a more powerful motor, amongst other amenities.

Mo Poppins
3 months ago

Good points. Now I'm wondering whether I actually do "need" the fat tires. Well, I've still got time to think it over. Thanks, Court. :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Totally depends on what you ride and prefer style wise. I like them both but don't need the fat tires. I'd rather have a suspension fork and smaller bike to pack into my trunk :)

Free Cable Guy
3 months ago

$2000!?.....what part of $2K is " CHEAP"?!....and $1,000 for a RAZOR SCOOTER....I thought peopke sropped SMOKING CRACK in the '80s....GTFOH!!!...just get the SONOS e-bike.. PERIOD..END OF SENTENCE!

Free Cable Guy
3 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com yep..SONDORS..thats what i meant...you do a great job BTW...keep up the great work!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

ps. check this video out, fun and really makes the point about how cheaper ebikes perform https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZT2zHRCqzk

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

You must be talking about the Sondors ebike right? Well, it doesn't fold, have gears or suspension. In the world of ebikes there's a range of cheap to expensive and for me, this is on the cheaper side at $1,299

Dwight Finnestad
3 months ago

I just checked their web site and they had it listed at $1899.00, quite at difference than the $1299.00 you mentioned.

Dwight Finnestad
3 months ago

You're right, I didn't notice that when I first checked. Even still that doesn't seem like a $600 upgrade. I went with the RadMini last month, now I'm shopping for a bike for my wife.

robmanueb2
3 months ago

I think the website lists a battery upgrade. 48 volt instead of the 36 mentioned in the video.

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS
3 months ago

Hey Courtney. Would you happen to know if the double chain guide apparatus is available to be installed on all bikes ? . What I'm saying is, do you know if there are companies that offers those types of chain guides to be installed on any bike (ebike and bicycle) ?.

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS
3 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Thanks .

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Great question, I'll ask around but would assume it's part of the chainring and that you could swap to a similar sized ring with a guide pre-installed? Something like this might also work and be easier: https://alexa.design/2nyVopi

David Macdonald
3 months ago

Also noticed the console was in the middle of the handlebars on the bike you got out the box

David Macdonald
3 months ago

Dam good for price.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

I'd agree with that, pretty solid for a cheaper folding ebike :D

Esquimox Pi
3 months ago

Looks like a lot of value-per-dollar, for a small wheeled folder. (I might want to go even heavier than this though -- I have
not been able to get my weight down below 220 for a while now; I would guess that these shocks would get more of a
Workout, if I was aboard this cycle. For a person who is taller than 90 percent of the guys out there, . . . well, we-uns
don't feel real, Real bad; if something is built a little more "robust."
Same Token, though -- a better grade of brakes might be "Indicated," for me.

Larry Russell
3 months ago

Overall a great bike except throttle is not yet legal in New York City. There is a bill in the Assembly (in Albany) that's being looking at, but it's stuck there and crawling.

Seb K
2 months ago

It really is ridiculous . The problem is they don't think it's a big deal . I think similar to what Court did needs to be done again to show politicians how successful they are in other countries, how they can help people like yourself get around quicker and how little danger they are to the public . I honestly cannot see how they can allow 2 ton vehicles who kill people to continue using the roads and stop electric bicycles being used .

It's funny because on another video some anti-cyclist fool posted a link of a cyclist killing a pedestrian . This was around 3 years ago . I then replied with about 20 links of people being killed by drivers recently . I still haven't had a response :) !!!

Larry Russell
2 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com NY State Assembly Bill A1018
https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/bills/2017/a1018/amendment/original

Larry Russell
2 months ago

Seb K. All e-bikes are still illegal in New York and could be confiscated at anytime. They (NYPD) just had a major confiscation last month of over 200 e-bikes. The law is pretty much stuck in Albany and is being looked at by the assembly - it still has not been passed by the Senate which seems to be the issue, and the Bill is being slowly tended to. It's the most ridiculous thing I've ever seen in my life. I need it more than most because I'm disabled and having one could really help my Mobility.

Seb K
3 months ago

I thought only pedal assist was legal . That was what I was told . Seriously NYC needs to get its act together . Even our mayor (Sadiq Khan) gets advice (and vice versa) from their mayor and I am so glad he hasn't brought their stupid law over here .

Larry Russell
3 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com - you're exactly right. But even class 1 is not legal. That means they can confiscate your bike if they want to. Legal is legal. They haven't yet accepted the pedal assist type so I don't think they do accept it unconditionally. I've been monitoring this for a while.

Glendale Walter
3 months ago

I hit like on your videos because u need a paycheck and have bills to pay and I do like all these bikes and videos however I do NOT agree with the price of them tho. Do I dare say price gouging though lol. I sense big oil has something to do with these prices. It will lead to deliberate sabotage of this tech. This market is only for the privileged as usual because of the price. Most people who need these bikes are the ones who cant afford them. They will most likely need to have some sort of subsidy or voucher in order to purchase one of these bikes however that is messed up that these bikes are that expensive that one would need a subsidy or a voucher just to afford them. If the subsidies and voucher will b made available that is and that is a big if.

Mo Poppins
3 months ago

True, Court...it's *_always_* better to avoid having to be a slave to debt, if possible.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Awesome suggestion Mo Poppins, very constructive feedback. But! As someone who tries to avoid debt myself, you just want a cheaper option Glendale, there are some bikes on Amazon for less. I fear they can cost more in the long run if you don't take care of them, but this one wasn't so bad: https://electricbikereview.com/vilano/ion/

Mo Poppins
3 months ago

If you could afford monthly payments, Rad Power Bikes offers a payment plan. https://www.radpowerbikes.com/pages/as-low-as-0-apr-financing-with-affirm

slappy76
3 months ago

Subsidy? Really? How about saving for it and buying it when you have the money? 1300 dollars versus the cost of the average car which is probably pushing 25k. Do you even know much does a normal folding bike cost? A 400 WH battery? A controller? A motor? Buy your Sondors for $700 and see what garbage you get.

brighton dude
3 months ago

When I first looked at it I confess I thought "ugh a cheap little crappy thing" however your closer inspection reveals that it has quite a lot going for it. I really like that the front chain ring has guards on either side. That will make sure the chain stays on the ring. The V type brake at the rear is absolutely fine in my book. No need for a disc on the rear. Actually personally I'm fine with V type brake on the front as well.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Thanks man! I have similar quick-reactions like that but try to give each bike a thorough inspection. This bike is one of the reasons I respect Magnum so much. They are able to hit the lower price points but don't compromise too much. This is a decent product for what it is :)

Mika Riekki
3 months ago

Great reviews, I have really enjoyed watching them.
You also usually mention if tyres have a reflective sidewall stripe. My tires had those too, but after about half a winter, they were compleatly gone. Mine were pretty expensive Schwalbe too, so I wouldn't give too much value for sidewall stripes. Just a FYI.

Mika Riekki
3 months ago

Actually you're right, they were mostly just very dirty, possibly from brake pad residue, but some soap water should clean them. The stripes seem to to be actual reflective material, not just reflective paint. The rear tyre had the stripe partly pealed off at one side.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Wow! Were they just dirty or did they come off? Do you live where it gets cold and hot because maybe the tires expanded and contracted or something and that led to the issue? Interesting... thanks Mika