Magnum Mi5 Review

Magnum Mi5 Electric Bike Review
Magnum Mi5
Magnum Mi5 350 Watt 8fun Motor By Bafang
Magnum Mi5 36 Volt 13 Amp Hour Samsung Battery Pack
Magnum Mi5 No Rise Bar Grips Shifter Control Pad
Magnum Mi5 180 Mm Tektro Disc Brake
Magnum Mi5 Fixed Monochrome Lcd Display Panel
Magnum Mi5 Large Adjustable Kickstand
Magnum Mi5 Shimano Dual Sis Index Crankset
Magnum Mi5 Shimano Tourney Tx Derailleur
Magnum Mi5 Sr Suntour Xct Suspension Fork Qr
Magnum Mi5 Portable 2 Amp Battery Charger
Magnum Mi5 Electric Bike Review
Magnum Mi5
Magnum Mi5 350 Watt 8fun Motor By Bafang
Magnum Mi5 36 Volt 13 Amp Hour Samsung Battery Pack
Magnum Mi5 No Rise Bar Grips Shifter Control Pad
Magnum Mi5 180 Mm Tektro Disc Brake
Magnum Mi5 Fixed Monochrome Lcd Display Panel
Magnum Mi5 Large Adjustable Kickstand
Magnum Mi5 Shimano Dual Sis Index Crankset
Magnum Mi5 Shimano Tourney Tx Derailleur
Magnum Mi5 Sr Suntour Xct Suspension Fork Qr
Magnum Mi5 Portable 2 Amp Battery Charger

Summary

  • A value priced hardtail electric bike that's trail ready with a basic suspension fork, knobby tires and 21 speeds
  • Average sized 350 watt motor paired with slightly larger 36 volt 13 amp hour battery pack, offers pedal assist and throttle mode but throttle is limited in power to whichever assist level you choose
  • The cockpit is a bit crowded, only one brake lever includes a motor inhibitor, battery is difficult to charge on-bike due to the port location at the base of the pack
  • Beautiful purpose built frame with integrated battery design, only one color and size, one year warranty

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Magnum

Model:

Mi5

Price:

$1,699 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, , Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2015

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

52 lbs (23.58 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

19 in (48.26 cm)

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Blue and Gray Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Basic SR Suntour XCT Suspension with 100 mm Travel

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

21 Speed 3x7 Shimano Tourney TX

Shifter Details:

Shimano SIS Index Triggers on Left and Right Bar

Cranks:

Shimano

Pedals:

Wellgo C127, Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Neco, Oversized, Tapered

Stem:

Promax

Handlebar:

No-Rise

Brake Details:

Tektro Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Artek Levers with Motor Inhibitor

Grips:

Flat Rubber

Saddle:

Selle Royal (Magnum Branded)

Seat Post:

Promax

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

Double Walled

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Smart Sam, 27.5" x 2.25"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Optional Metal Fenders ($29), Optional Metal Carry Rack ($39) with 25 kg Max Weight, Single Side Adjustable Length Kickstand, Integrated USB Charging Port

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Quick Release Front Wheel, Replaceable Fuse on Battery

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

8Fun

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

600 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung 18650 26F

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

468 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Manganese (Li-NCM)

Charge Time:

6 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

55 miles (89 km)

Display Type:

Fixed Backlit Monochrome LCD

Readouts:

Power (Current), Battery Level (6 Bars), Speed, Assist Level (0-6), Odometer, Trip Distance, Trip Time

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

22 mph (35 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Magnum electric bikes are relatively new to the US but they’ve been successful in Israel and parts of Europe for several years. The Mi5 is an “mountain” model with “integrated battery” offering “5th generation” technology… to call it a true mountain bike is a bit of a stretch in my mind because many of the components are entry level (Tektro mechanical disc brakes, Shimano Tourney drivetrain, Suntour XCT fork). It works great for light trails and zipping around town… thanks to the seat stay bosses you could easily add a carry rack and commute with this thing. You’re not getting a super powerful motor or battery here but it’s kept relatively light weight, similar in size and power to the very popular line of 2015 trail and mountain models from Easy Motion but for half the price. There are a few issues with the bike including limited access to the charging port and USB outlet (specifically when the battery is mounted), only one brake lever with a motor cutoff switch (the left lever), and a crowded cockpit that limits the viewing angle of the LCD display and forces you to reach pretty far to press the trigger throttle. Also, the control systems on this e-bike cap power output in throttle mode based on the level of assist you choose. Still, given the very reasonable ~$1,699 price point, purpose built frame, balanced weight distribution, clean wire integration and solid one year warranty this could be a great fit.

The motor powering the Magnum Mi5 is a 350 watt internally geared hub mounted in the rear wheel. It’s extremely normal, a piece of hardware I see more and more frequently on value priced electric bikes because it’s produced in such large quantities by Bafang in China. I like that for the Mi5 they chose a black version to match the rims, crankset and battery. The motor whirs a bit depending on the level of power you’re applying but it’s not super loud, nor is it very heavy. I like that this e-bike has a quick release on the front wheel but you’ll need tools to access the rear. There’s a seven speed cassette there with entry-level Shimano Tourney TX derailleur and a quick-disconnect in the power cable so you can completely remove the wheel and motor together without any loose wires getting in the way. With 21 speeds total this bike is very capable around town and even going off road where climbing may become more rigorous. Even though you’re dealing with some lower end parts, if you keep the chain lubed and drop in for an occasional tuneup at the local bike shop everything should last. Because the motor is a hub drive and the wheels are 27.5″ vs. 26″ or smaller you’re just not getting the same kind of torque and low end power so I’d recommend pedaling into hills and shifting down so you can help out. Mid-drives are better for this kind of thing but they aren’t as immediately satisfying or smooth as internally geared hubs and they tend to wear chains, sprockets and derailleurs more quickly.

Powering the Magnum Mi5 electric bike is a beautifully integrated Lithium-ion battery pack. The downtube is cut away in order to sink the pack “inside” part way which provides more security and strength while simultaneously lowering the center of mass. It’s not quite as clean as the packs on Easy Motion or Stromer models but for a “value” offering it’s one of the best I’ve seen to date. Inside the pack are 18650 sized cells manufactured by Samsung. They are known for being long lasting, light weight and efficient in transferring power and I usually see them on mid to high-end models. Not only are you getting quality cells here, you also get more of them… I usually see 36 volt 10 amp hour ebikes at this price level but this one offers 13 amp hours for increased range. A few other “extras” with this battery design include an integrated LED power level indicator (that isn’t especially useful when mounted to the frame because it’s not very bright and is blocked by the downtube) and a USB charging port. I know I’ve stressed this earlier and in the video review above but it would be nice if the outlet was placed at the top of the pack instead of the bottom so it could be reached and used more safely while riding. As it stands, the port is precariously close to the front three chainrings and crank arms. I’m not sure you can even charge the pack on the bike based on how close the port is to the seat tube.

Activating this ebike is a two step process once the battery is charged and securely locked to the frame. First, you press a rubber power button at the top end of the pack and then you press a second power button on the display panel. It takes an extra second or two to do but the big drawback is that it makes forgetting to switch the pack “off” after completing a ride much easier. The display panel is one I’ve seen on other brands including Pedego and features four buttons. Just below power, set allows you to change from odometer to trip distance and trip time while up and down allow you to select different power levels for pedal assist. The higher you go (up to 6) the faster the bike will ride but the more juice you’ll use in the process. To easily go from zero to six you can keep arrowing up and that’s kind of neat because it saves time going from high to low or vice versa. I do like that you’ve got a throttle and pedal assist option with the Mi5 but the throttle just isn’t as useful as it could be. Firstly, it’s difficult to reach because the shifter window on the right bar pushes it in towards the stem. Second, you can only activate power up to the level of assist you’re in which means that level zero is very slow, one is a bit faster, two is decent and so on. It would be nice to be able to set the bike in assist level two (for improved efficiency when pedaling) and then quickly override with extra juice using the throttle for short periods. This sort of control is one of the big benefits of having an ebike and I often use it to climb short hills or pass a fellow cyclist on the trail and with the Mi5 it’s more difficult and time consuming because you have to click up, up, up, up and then throttle. I also found that the pedal assist sensor on this model was a bit delayed. I’d call it average… I do like the design of the sensor because it’s so small and well sealed against dirt and water (great for trail riding) but there must be fewer magnets inside because it just didn’t start or stop as quickly as some 12 magnet designs I’ve demoed recently. It sort of depends on which gear you’re in because your cranks tend to turn slower in high gears at low speed than they would if you were in a lower gear starting out.

I love the matching paint, integrated wires and upgraded batteries on this bike but if it wasn’t so cheap the score would be lower. It works and it looks good but it’s not as easy to use or as enjoyable to ride due to the pedal assist throttle interaction and far reach and view angle drawbacks discussed earlier. I much prefer the urban Ui5 from Magnum because it includes lights and isn’t trying to be an off-road machine like this. In truth, it’s probably just a style play (and I do like this style) but the Mi5 will be best suited to urban rides with some packed dirt trails here and there. The frame is only available in one size at ~19 inches but I like the sloped top tube and unique tube designs. The suspension fork adds a lot of comfort but isn’t especially adjustable, a lockout for city riding would be nice here. At 52 pounds the Mi5 is about average in terms of weight and the removable battery and front wheel help if you’re taking it to a trail or using it to commute with busses or trains. I do like that disc brakes were included but feel that a second motor inhibitor is warranted and if they upgraded the cadence sensor to a 12 magnet unit it would be a little tighter in terms of drive performance. This is the first year that Magnum electric bikes are available in the US and I’m sure they will optimize some of their features over time.

Pros:

  • The battery secures to the frame well, looks good and is easy to take on and off, secure and protected by the frame in case of tips
  • Oversized tapered head tube adds strength, it looks beautiful with the internally routed cables and color matched fork
  • Very affordable for a purpose built electric bike with a one year warranty, upgraded battery size and brand name Samsung cells
  • Optional carry rack and fender set are sturdy and very well priced, the rack mounts to the top of the seat stays to keep the rear dropout area clean
  • Basic suspension fork adds comfort and the rebound adjust could be handy but requires extra effort to setup correctly (two dials should be adjusted similarly for even response)
  • Nice color, even the suspension fork and grips match, this is not always the case with lower priced electric bikes
  • The motor and battery offer “average” power for a US electric bike but the battery is actually slightly larger than standard with 13 amp hours vs. just 10 on most models

Cons:

  • The battery charging port and USB charging port are located at the lowest end of the battery pack very near where the downtube intersects with the seat tube, it is difficult to plug anything in here while the battery is on the frame, basically you have to take it off to charge and can use it as a backup battery for portable electronics but they would not connect easily while riding and the wires would be dangerously close to the crankset
  • The throttle can be difficult to reach while riding due to the shifter placement, it pushes the throttle ring out but Magnum is working to improve this design
  • Only available in one standard size with one color option, it fit me alright and I’m ~5’9″
  • Throttle mode can work in tandem with pedal assist but does not fully override assist because power output is still limited by the assist level you select, in zero the throttle is very weak and slow
  • No bottle cage bosses, you can add storage by purchasing the fitted rear carry rack for $39 and getting a trunk bag or panniers
  • Because there are two sets of trigger shifters (for a total of 21 speeds) the cockpit gets a bit more crowded, the display panel was tipped forward on the demo model because its mounting bracket was colliding with the shifter window
  • The battery pack has to be switched on before the bike is turned on, this takes extra time and makes it easy to forget to tun off the battery which can slowly drain the battery due to an LED indicator built in, this LED indicator isn’t visible when riding due to a dark filter cover
  • Only the left brake lever features an integrated motor inhibitor, if you squeeze the right lever to stop it will still activate the rear disc brake but the motor may continue because pedal assist is a bit delayed

Resources:

More Magnum Reviews

Magnum Metro+ Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sturdy high-step commuter style electric bike offering up to 28 mph pedal assist and 20 mph throttle on demand, uses the same 500 watt motor and 48 volt battery as Magnum's Peak mountain bike. Mid-level eight speed drivetrain with Shimano Acera derailleur, metal guard protects the derailleur and motor…...

Magnum Peak 29 Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A powerful, relatively affordable, hardtail cross country style electric bike that's capable of 28 mph pedal assist and 20 mph trigger throttle operation, offers 24 gears vs. 10 or 11 on most competing products. This particular model (with 29" wheels) is available in one large frame size and color,…...

Magnum Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A handsome, cruiser style electric bike with neatly integrated cables, strong alloy fenders, a clean plastic chain cover, and uniquely designed rear cargo rack, everything matches. Emphasis on comfort for the rider with soft Big Ben balloon tires, an extra-wide saddle…...

Magnum Metro Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An approachable, mid-step, high-speed, urban electric bike with six levels of pedal assist plus throttle mode that can override with full power. Fairly comfortable with larger tires, a basic suspension fork, and cheap seat post shock... the…...

Magnum Classic Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A feature-packed folding electric bike with lots of accessories and multiple color options, great price point and warranty, available through dealers or the Magnum online store. Sturdy folding mechanisms with security locks emphasize safety, reflective tires and LED lights keep you…...

Magnum Peak Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high speed electric hardtail with with throttle on demand, hydraulic disc brakes and an extra large battery for $2k, all around good value with a 24 speed drivetrain. Optional rear rack for $50 transform the Peak into a sporty commuter, only one frame…...

Magnum Premium Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A folding speed pedelec (capable of ~25 mph) that also offers throttle on demand, you get plenty of power from a 500 Watt hub motor and 48 Volt 13 amp hour battery pack. Two frame styles and four color choices let you personalize the product a bit, folding…...

Magnum Ui5 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A beautifully designed, purpose built, affordable electric bike well suited to urban riding or commuting. Step-thru frame is easy to mount but relatively stiff thanks to a double tube mid-section,…...


Mike Harman
7 months ago

Hi Court, Great work with the website and reviews, the most comprehensive I have found to date. I’m looking to get an entry level bike for a commuting to work, currently with a 20 min uphill return trip. I’ve been looking at the Magnum Mi5, Ui5, Juiced CrossCurrent and Cross Current Air, and BH Evo Jet as they are all around the same price point for me in NZ (2300-2600 NZD). Could you give your thoughts on which bike would be the best for hill work out of these? I’ve talked to a couple of bike shops here and anecdotally the Magnum’s have been favoured for hills but I’m wondering whether the lighter Juiced options would be better. I’ve been riding for 20 years, MTB and road, and commute on a Cannondale Quick, so I’m used to pushing, but would like to have the option of an easier ride home once in awhile!! Keep up the great work, Mike.

Reply
Court Rye
7 months ago

Hi Mike! Honestly, I think any of these could work for you but I’d probably lean towards the CrossCurrent for the comfortable fork, the Evo Jet is sweet and has a nice step-thru design and Magnum is relatively new to NZ but has a large and growing network of dealers in the US and globally. I feel like they are going to be the most stable in the short run because they are focused on your market… AND they have a new more powerful bike called the Metro that’s just like the UI5 but more powerful and slightly nicer. I’m going to review it very soon on the site so keep an eye out :D

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Rosco
13 hours ago

GreenBike USA does now have a GB500 fat tire model. I have 2 regular GB500's and we love them.

excellence111
1 day ago

So I decided to go with the Magnum Classic ebike however I can't seem to find anywhere and the ebike is out of stock on the Magnum site. Gee Wiz. So my second option may be the Oyama CX E8D unless anyone has other options for me. I looking for around the same price range and same style type

bob armani
2 days ago

Vicki-Good question. Got me curious also. Your best bet is to shoot Magnum an email asking them to clarify...

Vicki
3 days ago

I don't understand one thing with Magnum. the battery brand is mentioned as "Samsung / DLG / Panasonic ". So do they use random batteries or mixed ones as i see no way to choose one of them.

osman1
4 days ago

Thanks guys. I went the with the Magnum Peak after I test rode it. Seemed perfect for me. Minor quibbles - no lights built in, or a rack, seat it came with wasn't great but it handles some of the crappy roads and it gets to 25-28 in no time. Thanks again!

Kurt in CT
5 days ago

I am also looking at Giant and will test one soon. Also had a long talk with a local lbs about them. Great guy.
Was also struck by how narrow and thin the lbs inventory was. Of the hundreds of bikes, they had.2 ebikes in stock, both Giant. When I asked why he didn't have more... and my interest in say "Magnum", he said Giant restricted who he could bring in. Also sited that ebikes are still not hot here (CT), and the high cost of them...

My point is, it's a pain to have to shop around so much. No central aspect to this search what so ever!

Still real curious to see the Magnum Navigator discussed earlier.

Motodaddy
6 days ago

I was recently your position looking for an ebike that fit my commuting needs (10 miles, some hills but nothing crazy). I tried hub drives and mid drives. Hub drives I tried were cross current, Stromer st1 and magnum. As soon as I stepped on a mid drive with a bosch cx system I didn’t look back at the hub drives. The responsiveness and natural feel of this is perfect for the stop and go of real life commuting. Also the emtb mode is great for traffic because you can “set it and forget it” and the system will adjust assist to your needs leaving you able to concentrate on traffic. Turbo mode is just mental. Anyways try this system before you buy anything else. There are a 2017 cube bikes available, I got my cross pro for equivalent of 2100usd.

bob armani
1 week ago

Seems like Magnum bikes are beginning to grow in popularity. They have a nice price point on their bikes and their scooters look RAD as well and quality built IMHO. The Navigator is a nice addition to their current line of bikes.

Kurt in CT
1 week ago

Thanks Bob. My thought exactly. For my narrow criteria, it seems to be the perfect candidate. Unfortunately it's not here yet and therefore not real yet.

bob armani
1 week ago

Kurt-The Magnum Navigator on your list looks like a candidate and a good pick. At Interbike was listed at $2500.00 price point with a 500Watt mid-drive Dapu with a throttle. Sweet!

John from Connecticut
2 weeks ago

Hello Kurt in CT, ( And others )

If the 'CT' in your name is for Connecticut and you live in central CT, as I do, I strongly suggest you visit Bicycles East
located in Glastonbury.... https://bicycleseast.com/

I've purchased two e-bikes from Bicycles East, a Trek XM 700+ Commuter and a Powerfly 7 MTB and I absolutely
love both.

I realize the Trek Powerfly 7 is above $2,500 but they have others.
They carry Giant and Specialized e-Bikes as well. The folks at Bicycles East will not try to sell you, but rather offer info
and guide you through the process....Good folks and fantastic service and support which I have used.

Good luck,
John from CT

Kurt in CT
2 weeks ago

Hi folks, need your opinion please. I’ve been researching for several months and plan to pull the trigger the spring on my first E bike. I’m an older guy, and buying a bike for fun, recreation, trails, roads etc. Basically, trying to get some fun back in my life. So, I want a mountain bike. Not looking to build one from scratch, so looking to either buy online or from a retailer. Below are the criteria I’m looking for:

- Under $2500
- Mid Drive: it appears this is best for hills. I could be talked out of it though.
- Existence of a Throttle: I want this just for the fun of it
- Up to 50 mile range
- Stealth: I do not want to see the battery (much). I don’t know where this eBike thing is going, and I don’t want the authorities, other bikers, or anybody else to know what I’m riding
- Gears: at least 10, preferably 20: I plan to pedal a lot, so the gears matter
- Good instruments
- Reliability
- Serviceability: When it breaks, an easy way to fix it

So far the following two bikes I’m looking at are:

FLX - trail: looks decent, but, it’s online so serviceability could be an issue.

Magnum Navigator: a new bike for them, has all of above, great stealth, supposedly will be ready this spring.

Any others jump out at you? Anything I’m missing?

Thank you!

Sent from my iPhone

John from Connecticut
3 months ago

Hello Fred,
I believe your initial post was a request for info from the members of this forum on the selection of an e-bike. To that end members respectfully
responded with thoughts, opinions and their personal e-bike experiences.

After reading your reply it became very apparent that your position differs significantly from the members that took the to time to
pass along what they've experienced and where they stand....I completely agree with your right to have an 'opposing view' from what was presented.

While I support that right to reject the opinions presented, I completely and strongly oppose that no member ever should
be allowed to rant in the manor as seen in the following quotes.....

"I hear all the bikes knobs talk about who's going to put your bike together..."

"Seems like all the guys on this form like to hang out in there locally-owned bike shop to shoot the stuff."

"I would have been pissed had I paid full price for the bike I bought knowing I could have bought direct from China for half the cost."

"Don't fall for all the bull malarkey on the site save yourself a ton of money and buy it online. "

I take offense to anyone telling me how to send my money.... It's my money, I earned. I know what is important to me and
and I know best how to spend my money. I know what brings me great joy in my cycling endeavor. I found that joy in a 15 minute test ride
on a Trek XM700+ at my local bike shop. I bought the XM700+ on the spot....It's tough to test ride over the Internet.

As for spending my money, do I think the $3,500 I spent on the Trek XM700+ was worth it...every penny and would I do it again
if I could ? Yes and I did....I bought a Trek Powerfly 7 . See I told you I knew how best to spend my money : )

I've always maintained that cycling, if done with genuine interest, drive and enthusiasm is a very personal endeavor.
It gets down to the rider and the bike.

I hope this was helpful,
John from CT

bob armani
3 months ago

Fred-Do not listen to anyone-go with your own instincts and research and find out what bike best suits your needs and spend within your budget. There are plenty of great ebikes out there for under $1000 dollars that will work just fine as long as you do not abuse it and beat on it. I purchased a brand new ebike for $450.00 (entry level) but it works fantastic as a second commuter ebike. Its all about your personal needs and preferences IMHO! Ride safe!

FredE
3 months ago

I just wanted to chime in, I asked which Bike advice on the forum and for all sorts of gibberish advice telling me I had to spend thousands of dollars on an to get anything decent to ride around town as a commuter. I've come to find out that total rubbish. I bought a used 2017 Magnum MI5 with 200 miles on it for $625. Original MSRP on the bike is $1,700. I've ridden this bike around rides great does everything I needed to do. I recently ran across a guy who has a 2017 Ancheer that is basically the exact same specs as my bike MSRP under $800.

If you're not doing some heavy-duty off-road racing these name brand bikes are total waste of money.

My bike the Juiced bike all made at the same Factory in the same city in China as the Ancheer.

I hear all the bikes knobs talk about who's going to put your bike together or where you going to get a replacement battery half these outfits can't get parts from the quote unquote manufacturers as they all seem to be waiting for the shipment to come in the container from China.

Then I hear about the warranty my bike has 200 miles on it over the course of a year not a single problem I took it in for a tune-up batteries is in fine shape.

Then I looked at the battery and it's made by a battery supplier who you can buy the battery from on Alibaba.

Seems like all the guys on this form like to hang out in there locally-owned bike shop to shoot the stuff.

I would have been pissed had I paid full price for the bike I bought knowing I could have bought direct from China for half the cost.

Don't fall for all the bull malarkey on the site save yourself a ton of money and buy it online.

bob armani
3 months ago

Hi Fred- That is a nice price for an MI5 as long as it was not too beat up @ 200 miles. I was looking at the website and the bike looks like a quality build with a 13 amp battery to boot. Looks like you can also get some good distance and the 8Fun motor has had some good ratings/reviews that I have seen. Is the 350watt motor zippy enough for you and does it have good pickup speed? Just curious what your personal take was on this bike . Ride Safe!

FredE
3 months ago

So I bought a used magnum mi5 for $625 with 200 miles on it, fingers crossed.

WilliamT
4 months ago

I never heard of Spark bikes. The only big difference I see is the 48v motor one Spark vs a 36v 13ah battery. You'll get better acceleration on the Spark but your range is going to be much shorter than the Magnum. I have a 10.4ah battery and the range isn't that good. I get around 28 miles on a 48v kit and that's running Level 2/5 which puts out about 200 watts. I also have a 36v 13.6 ah geared hub kit and that gives me about 45 miles of range using similar assist.

The hardtail is a different animal entirely. The BBS02 mid drive is going to provide much more power 750w-1000w. If you like to shift, then the gear hub will work better. Shifting on the mid drive takes some technique if you don't want to mash the gears. There are solutions out there but nothing I think is really as good as having assists that don't depend on the chain.

FredE
4 months ago

I've been in the market for an entry-level ebike and I've been watching the forms and searching online visiting local bike dealers.

I have come across two bikes that seem to be the same, just different names.

The Mangnum Mi5
https://www.magnumbikes.com/portfolio-item/magnum-mi5/

And
The Spark
https://gosparkbikes.com/products/spark-mss2

The specs are the same it warranty the same just one is $700 less (USD)

Is the local bikes shop experience worth the $700?

Thanks

John T
4 months ago

Hi everyone,
I sold my moped and bought myself a Magnum Mi5 last week and I am enjoying it. First time I rode to work I did the 7km commute so fast I got to work too early ha ha as I underestimated how fast I would ride.
The e-bike reviews on the EBR youtube channel are so invaluable and the website is such a great resource for those of us wanting to learn more about e-bikes.
It would be good to hear from New Zealand members too.

kevind
7 months ago

I'm with you
Bought my Peak a month ago and they told me they don't even have a manual for it. To use the Mi5 Manual - which doesn't cover that topic either...

Mike's E-Bikes
7 months ago

Ebikes that are priced as Low as these are, you are much more likely to run into issues in terms of requiring a lot of adjustments on the brakes, derailleurs, etc when shipped new. That truly is the one of the best reasons to buy from a LOCAL shop, rather than on-line or rather than from a store far away who can't service you. You can find better quality in all of this with brands such as Blix, or Surface 604, but there are still going to be little things that can crop out, when first getting out of the box, or even after riding for a while that don't show up initially. Could be issues with the throttle, the controller, the LCD, or even in the crank area. Juiced is obviously trying to pack a lot of value for the price points they are selling these at, so it is something to consider before purchasing. I'm a big believer that you don't need to spend $2500, $3000, or $4000 to get a higher quality e-bike, but just know that it does cost a lot to pack them properly, ship them well, and make all the adjustments needed after the immediate build, and then again after it ships. Also, please realize that if you want help from that local bike shop, if you didn't buy it from them, please don't expect them to give a great deal on service, or get you in on a timely fashion, or push them at all. It's really killed the bike industry itself over the years for these bike OEMS to sell on-line or dealers who ship across state lines, at next to no margin. Ultimately the consumer pays, and bears the brunt of losing that local shop forever, or simply having to learn how to do a lot of this themselves. Most people I find aren't even close to being handy or mechanically inclined. In the old days maybe, but now many don't even have tools, or know what to call the tools. The dealers make up for a lot of the flaws in the bike distribution system. Treat them right, patronize them frequently, and you really wont have to worry about these issues you bring up.

Colorado Colin
8 months ago

I was going through a similar dilemma a couple of months back and my decision was really made for me when I went into my local Bicycle Village and they had the 2016 Izip E3 Dash on sale and with everything in I got it for just over $1500. What I liked about this bike was that it had everything I wanted for commuting, rack, fenders, lights, hydraulic disc brakes, mid-drive, nice livery... the only drawback was the battery as I have an 18 mile commute each way. Having done nearly 600 miles in the first month here are my thoughts on the bike. It is a nice well balanced bike that is stable at speed (I have a hill and often reach 35mph+ down it) and will cruise at 24mph easily (having got a Class 3 bike, I cannot imagine riding a Class 2 as I rarely go below 20mph on the flat). For your commute you can easily run it at speed setting 3 (out of 4) in both directions and you will still have battery to spare, this will allow you to cruise at 20mph+ easily. I carry my charger with me as I have about 20% left on my battery when I get to work.

It is a reasonably comfortable bike, but get a suspension seat post ! There is no give in the tires and you will notice EVERY bump in the road without it. I have also added Panniers (I got these https://www.amazon.com/Seattle-Sports-Fast-Pack-Pannier/dp/B0024AVUE4/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1499361926&sr=8-2&keywords=pannier+seattle) and a bell as you do come up on other riders quite quickly. The riding style is quite upright and forward and after about 10 miles or so I have to sit up and shake my hands out because of pins and needles (I think I have to look at the configuration and change some things).

The other major considerations for me, were the Warranty and customer service. on the Izip the warranty is 1 year on the battery, 2 years on the motor and lifetime on the frame. On the Customer Service, reading various forums / posts, the customer service is meant to be excellent (backed by Raleigh) and this gives me some peace of mind.

My biggest frustration with this bike is that when I start my commute I put it in setting 1 or 2 and get up to 20mph+ and can sustain that quite easily until I get to some hills. I then put it up to setting 3 and I get the boost I need, but when I come to the flats again I want to drop it into 2 again, but it often feels like I fight against the motor (I actually sent my first bike back as it was so annoying) and I don't feel the same boost from that setting as when I first started my ride. This is frustrating because of the length of my commute I do have to conserve my battery and I know in time the battery pack will degrade and I will be pushing the limits of its capacity. I will talk to their technical group to see if this is 'just the way it works' or whether I am doing something wrong.

Overall, I am loving my commute because of the bike. My drive time is normally about 35 minutes in the car, but just over 45 minutes on the bike, largely on dedicated bike trails, so until the snow comes, the car will stay at home !

I hope this helps give you a view on the Izip. I was very close to getting a CrossCurrent because of the company and bike reviews which were all really positive. Good luck on your decision and ultimately joining the Ebike community !

OJS
8 months ago

Right on. It does look good - I'd want to find a local dealer to test ride one first. I was also comparing to the Magnum Mi5 https://electricbikereview.com/magnum/mi5/ which is the same price, though it tops at 22mph. Courts review points out some important drawbacks of the Mi5, including the wonky use of throttle, no lockout on fork, etc. The 350W motor & 36v 13a battery will go a much larger distance (max 55 miles on charge), but I won't get the speed I'm wanting. By contrast, it seems like the 650w motor on the Juiced CC-S will pack a lot more punch, but the w/48v 12.8a battery will burn up a lot faster limiting the range... The Mi5 also has a small delay in pedal assist due to only having a cadence sensor... Also, no integrated lights or fenders... If the new Juiced CC-S rides well it does seem like a better fit for what I'm wanting... Just wish it were coming out sooner!

Very open to any other thoughts, comments or ideas you or anyone else might have on a decent Class 3 Pedelec under $2k!

YANIV SODAI
1 month ago

i am interested to buy this bike but i dont know if i will realy can drive it in the Area
to do some track
with 500w
do you think i will ?
or it is just for pose?

Mike Anda
1 month ago

Bought one of these for my wife. For the $ it was perfect for her to get into mountain biking, I fitted a set of Rockshox 30 air shocks as the XTC Suntours gives a really hard ride. Also put a Thudbuster and upgraded grips. Given the frame size it is not a bike a guy above a medium size would buy. She had a problem with the motor cutting out when down to 2 out of 5 bars. The rear motor was swapped out under warranty but the problem persisted, turns out a faulty battery also swapped under warranty. Broke the thumb throttle when she canned off today but a replacement via eBay delivered for $15. All up great bike for the $.

vasudama
4 months ago

Good enough and gets the job done - that is what my wife keeps telling me too.

David Shur
10 months ago

How do you change the tire?

Edouard Kutchukian
1 year ago

I bought one of these after watching your review. I use it to commute to work and back a few times a week (15 k's each way; ~9 miles). I have a big climb in the end of the day (about 300 metres for just under 2 Kilometres) and it does really well. Strongly recommend this as a commute bike. I'm not sure it would last long enough if you start taking it to trails. The fork doesn't seem to be tough enough.

Spiber1
2 years ago

mate have u try to hold -+ for 10 sec ? at many (ncm bikes) u can make it faster over the hiden menü :)

Thordur Hognason
2 years ago

So the 350w motor is out of the picture for me, thanks.

Thomas Carpenter
2 years ago

Good review. Thanks

I'm strong
2 years ago

Can I exchange to twist the throttle?