Magnum Ui5 Review

Magnum Ui5 Electric Bike Review
Magnum Ui5
Magnum Ui5 350 Watt 8fun Geared Hub Motor
Magnum Ui5 Downtube Samsung Battery 36v 13ah
Magnum Ui5 Grips Shifter Lcd Console
Magnum Ui5 2 Amp Charger 1 5 Lbs
Magnum Ui5 Combined Display Button Console
Magnum Ui5 Optional Rear Rack Selle Royal Saddle
Magnum Ui5 Prowheel Cranks Aluminum Bash Guard
Magnum Ui5 Schwalbe Big Ben Cruiser Tires
Magnum Ui5 Spanninga Integrated Led Headlight
Magnum Ui5 Sr Suntour Xct Suspension Fork
Magnum Ui5 Tool Free Adjustable Angle Stem By Promax
Magnum Ui5 Electric Bike Review
Magnum Ui5
Magnum Ui5 350 Watt 8fun Geared Hub Motor
Magnum Ui5 Downtube Samsung Battery 36v 13ah
Magnum Ui5 Grips Shifter Lcd Console
Magnum Ui5 2 Amp Charger 1 5 Lbs
Magnum Ui5 Combined Display Button Console
Magnum Ui5 Optional Rear Rack Selle Royal Saddle
Magnum Ui5 Prowheel Cranks Aluminum Bash Guard
Magnum Ui5 Schwalbe Big Ben Cruiser Tires
Magnum Ui5 Spanninga Integrated Led Headlight
Magnum Ui5 Sr Suntour Xct Suspension Fork
Magnum Ui5 Tool Free Adjustable Angle Stem By Promax

Summary

  • A beautifully designed, purpose built, affordable electric bike well suited to urban riding or commuting
  • Step-thru frame is easy to mount but relatively stiff thanks to a double tube mid-section, integrated battery pack keeps weight low and centered - it seems well protected in case of tips and is easy to remove
  • The charging port and USB power outlet can be tricky to reach, the throttle is limited in power by the pedal assist level you choose
  • Solid one year warranty, quality Samsung battery cells, longstanding international presence with good performance (this is a fifth generation build even though it's new to the US)

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Magnum

Model:

Ui5

Price:

$1,699 USD

Body Position:

Upright, Forward

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2015

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

51 lbs (23.13 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)

Frame Types:

Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

White with Blue, Gray and Black Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Basic SR Suntour XCT Suspension with 100 mm Travel

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney TX

Shifter Details:

Shimano Triggers on Right Bar

Cranks:

Prowheel Ounce

Pedals:

Wellgo C127, Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Oversized, Tapered

Stem:

Promax, Tool-Free Adjustable Angle

Handlebar:

Mid-Rise

Brake Details:

Tektro Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Artek Levers with Motor Inhibitor

Grips:

Flat Rubber

Saddle:

Selle Royal (Magnum Branded)

Seat Post:

Promax

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Walled

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Ben, 26" x 2.15

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Kevlar Lined, Reflective Sidewall Stripe

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Optional Metal Fenders ($29), Optional Metal Carry Rack ($39) with 25 kg Max Weight, Integrated Spanninga Kendo LED Headlight, Independent Spanninga Solo LED Backlight, Aluminum Alloy Bash Guard, Single Side Adjustable Length Kickstand, Sticker Slap Guard, Integrated USB Charging Port

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Quick Release Front Wheel

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

8Fun

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

600 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung 18650 26F

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

468 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Manganese (Li-NCM)

Charge Time:

6 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

55 miles (89 km)

Display Type:

Fixed Backlit Monochrome LCD

Readouts:

Power (Current), Battery Level (6 Bars), Speed, Assist Level (0-6), Odometer, Trip Distance, Trip Time

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

22 mph (35 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Magnum electric bikes are relatively new to the US but they’ve been successful in Israel and parts of Europe for several years. The Ui5 is an “urban” model with “integrated battery” offering “5th generation” technology… It’s one of my favorite ebikes from their line because it looks great, is well suited to city riding or commuting with an average sized motor and battery and has a relatively clean cockpit that’s easy to use. There are a few issues with the bike including limited access to the charging port and USB outlet (when the battery mounted), only one brake lever with a motor cutoff switch, an independent rear light that requires AA batteries vs. being wired in and limited throttle control (you can only get as much power as the level of assist you’re in so it’s not really an override). Still, given the very reasonable ~$1,699 price point, purpose built frame, balanced weight distribution, clean wire integration, disc brakes, suspension fork, cheap fender and rack upgrades and the solid one year warranty this is definitely a winner in my book.

The motor is a 350 watt internally geared hub mounted in the rear wheel. It’s extremely normal, a piece of hardware I see more and more on value priced electric bikes because it’s produced in such large quantities by Bafang in China. I like that for the Ui5 they chose a black version to match the spokes, rims and battery. The motor whirs a bit depending on the level of power you’re applying but it’s not super loud, nor is it very heavy. I like that this e-bike has a quick release on the front wheel but you’ll need tools to access the rear. There’s a seven speed cassette with entry-level Shimano Tourney TX derailleur there and a quick-disconnect in the power cable so you can completely remove the wheel and motor together without any loose wires getting in the way. Seven speeds is decent for neighborhood or city riding and if you keep the chain lubed and drop in for an occasional tuneup everything should last. I especially like the aluminum alloy bash guard on the front chainring because it protects your pants or dress from getting greasy or snagged.

Powering the Magnum Ui5 electric bike is a beautifully integrated Lithium-ion battery pack. The downtube is partially cut away in order to sink the pack “inside” which provides more security and strength while simultaneously lowering the center of mass. It’s not quite as clean as the pack on Easy Motion or Stromer models but for a “value” offering it’s one of the best I’ve seen to date. Inside the pack are 18650 sized cells manufactured by Samsung. They are known for being long lasting, light weight and efficient in transferring power and I usually see them on mid to high-end models. Not only are you getting quality cells here, you also get more of them… I usually see 36 volt 10 amp hour ebikes at this price level but this one offers 13 amp hours for increased range. A few other “extras” on the battery include an integrated LED power level indicator (that isn’t especially useful when mounted to the frame because it’s not very bright and is blocked by the downtube) and a USB charging port. I know I’ve stressed this earlier and in the video review above but it would be nice if the outlet was placed at the top of the pack instead of the bottom so it could be reached and used more safely while riding. As it stands, the port is precariously close to the chainring and crank arms.

Activating this ebike is a two step process once the battery is charged and securely locked to the frame. First, you press a rubber power button at the top end of the pack and then you press a second power button on the display panel. It takes an extra second or two to do but the big concern is that it makes forgetting to switch the pack “off” much easier once you park the bike. The display panel is one I’ve seen on other brands including Pedego and features four buttons. Set allows you to change from odometer to trip distance and trip time while up and down allow you to select different power levels for pedal assist. The higher you go (up to 6) the faster the bike will ride but the more juice you’ll use in the process. I do like that you’ve got a throttle and pedal assist option with the Ui5 but the throttle isn’t as useful as it could be. You can only activate power up to the level of assist you’re in which means that level zero is very slow, one is a bit faster, two is decent and so on. It would be nice to set the bike in assist level two (for improved efficiency when pedaling) and then be able to override this using the throttle for short periods in order to climb a hill or pass a fellow cyclist on the trail. I also found that the pedal assist sensor on this model was a bit delayed. I’d call it average… and I do like the design of the sensor because it’s so small and well sealed against dirt and water but there must be fewer magnets inside because it just didn’t start or stop as quickly as some 12 magnet designs I’ve demoed recently.

To sum everything up… the price really makes this bike shine but even if it weren’t so affordable the matching paint, integrated wires, upgraded batteries and other extras like the lights really set it apart. Sure, you have to manually activate those lights but they are actually fairly high quality coming from Spanninga. The suspension fork adds a lot of comfort but you don’t get lockout or any kind of rebound adjust. For me, that’s completely fine and at 51 pounds I’d actually consider the bike light given the larger tires and that fork. I love the color and the adjustable stem, this ebike will fit a wider range of riders and for those who want to commute or run errands the rack was very impressive for just $40. It attaches to the top of the seat stays while many similar racks come in on the sides which adds clutter to the derailleur and disc brake mounting points. I do like the disc brakes on the Ui5 but was a little surprised that they only include one lever with a motor inhibitor. I’m not sure how much money that saves, it probably decreases clutter up front but I’d opt for two and then upgrade to a 12 magnet cadence sensor if I could change anything here. Overall it’s an impressive product and clearly refined (being a fifth generation design) even if it’s new to the United States.

Pros:

  • The battery secures to the frame well, looks good and is easy to take on and off even though it’s fairly snug beneath the top tube (since it slides out to the side), seems well protected by the frame in case of tips
  • The frame is fairly stiff due to the double tube top tube + down tube design and oversized tapered head tube, it looks beautiful with the internally routed cables and color matched fork
  • Very affordable for a purpose built electric bike with a one year warranty, upgraded battery size and brand name Samsung cells
  • Offers throttle and pedal assist, the controls are fairly compact and reachable in the cockpit, moreso than the Mi5 which has two shifter units
  • Optional carry rack and fender set are sturdy and very well priced, the addition of LED lights here adds great utility for commuting
  • Comfortable ride given the larger Schwalbe Big Ben tires, Suntour suspension fork and Selle Royale saddle
  • Nice colors, even the suspension fork and grips match, this is not always the case with lower priced electric bikes
  • The motor and battery offer “average” power for a US electric bike but the battery is actually slightly larger than standard with 13 amp hours vs. just 10 on most models

Cons:

  • The USB charging port is located at the lowest end of the battery pack very near where the downtube intersects with the seat tube, it is difficult to reach for use while riding and any wires extending out here may get snagged in pedaling or come into contact with the chainring
  • Only available in one standard size with one color option but the adjustable angle stem helps to broaden support for people of different heights
  • Throttle mode can work in tandem with pedal assist but does not fully override assist because power output is still limited by the assist level you select, in zero the throttle is very weak and slow
  • No bottle cage bosses, you can add storage by purchasing the fitted rear carry rack for $39 and getting a trunk bag or panniers
  • The LED lights are great but it would be nice if both were integrated (the rear light requires two AA batteries), each one also has to be manually turned on vs. using the display to do it
  • The battery pack has to be switched on before the bike is turned on, this takes extra time and makes it easy to forget to tun off the battery which can slowly drain the battery due to an LED indicator built in, this LED indicator isn’t visible when riding due to a dark filter cover and the top tube
  • Only the left brake lever features an integrated motor inhibitor, if you squeeze the right lever to stop it will still activate the rear disc brake but the motor may continue because pedal assist is a bit delayed

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Magnum Reviews

Magnum Classic Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A feature-packed folding electric bike with lots of accessories and multiple color options, great price point and warranty, available through dealers or the Magnum online store. Sturdy folding mechanisms with security locks emphasize safety, reflective tires and LED lights keep you…...

Magnum Peak Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high speed electric hardtail with with throttle on demand, hydraulic disc brakes and an extra large battery for $2k, all around good value with a 24 speed drivetrain. Optional rear rack for $50 transform the Peak into a sporty commuter, only one frame…...

Magnum Premium Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A folding speed pedelec (capable of ~25 mph) that also offers throttle on demand, you get plenty of power from a 500 Watt hub motor and 48 Volt 13 amp hour battery pack. Two frame styles and four color choices let you personalize the product a bit, folding…...

Magnum Mi5 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A value priced hardtail electric bike that's trail ready with a basic suspension fork, knobby tires and 21 speeds. Average sized 350 watt motor paired with slightly larger 36 volt 13 amp hour battery…...


Kaldeem
2 years ago

Um, The heading for this review is called Magnum Ui5, but the video is the review of the Velo KS bike.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Thanks for the heads up! I accidentally used the wrong video code and will fix it ASAP!

John Carey
2 years ago

Magnum Ui5 and others which have a battery turn on before the computer works. In turning them off why not just switch off the battery , that would solve the two step problem. But with separate lights, you have to remember to turn them off also, especially if you use them for safety in the day time. I would love to have a Kalkhoff but for money reasons I think I will order a Ui5. thanks for all your hard work, and great reviews. I’m sure you have helped many find their best bike for them.- JLC

Court Rye
2 years ago

Great points John! I think you’re correct that simply turning the battery off will also de-activate the display. The Magnum Ui5 was a solid bike and I feel like the company is doing a lot to offer good support. I realize that even a relatively “cheap” electric bike can seem expensive, it actually amazes me how much regular bicycles can cost. Ride safe out there :)

Nirmala
2 years ago

I just ordered one of these based on your review. Thanks for all of the information on this site which was invaluable in helping me decide which bike to buy. If we like this Ui5 as much as I think we will, we plan to buy a second one for my wife!

Court Rye
2 years ago

Awesome! Glad the review helped you Nirmala, I do my best but time is often limited so it ends up being more of an informed “overview” than a true deep dive. I’d love to hear about your experience with the bike, feel free to follow up with comments here good or bad to help others :)

Jeff
2 years ago

I think you are a little hard in your cons: Do not care about the following: Only one size, it either fits or not! Anyone who cannot turn on of off lights is lazy. USB port is in wrong place — how many $1499 bikes have a USB port! Left brake cuts motor – a point but no big deal. You already discussed turning off main battery you do not have a two step process. Based on my analysis this is a 9.5 bike and for the price probably a 10!

Court Rye
2 years ago

Great points! I do my best to be complete and over-share on pros and cons to help people consider and re-consider which ebike is best for their needs. Admittedly, some “cons” are more just considerations and reminders about what was covered in the full writeup. I agree that an excellent price can create a lot of value even if systems aren’t perfectly refined :)

Jeff
2 years ago

I appreciate your fair response.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Thanks, I do this because I care… I realize my reviews are subjective and based on my opinion so it’s great to have differing opinions shared in the comments and I appreciate critical feedback. I want to do a great job with this and be fair :)

Nirmala
2 years ago

So, our Ui5 arrived today. I had a few hiccups setting it up: I was not familiar with the Neco headset and so at first I had no idea how to get the fork attached properly – you tighten a hex bolt inside the stem to connect the stem to the tube coming up through the headset from the fork.

Also the adjustable stem still has about 1/2 inch of play in it even after I tightened it up very firmly. This means the handlebars move up and down 1/2 an inch as I ride. It is a little annoying, but it is still very ride-able. So far Magnum has been very helpful over the phone and I am still hoping to work with them to solve the up and down play in the stem. I will report back on how that gets resolved.

In the meantime, I was able to take it for a couple of nice long spins. Here are my first impressions:
1-Size is a little small for me. I am 6’0″ and I have a 32 inch pant inseam. With the seatpost all the way up to the maximum allowed, my legs were still a little too bent while pedaling. Fortunately, I had a different saddle (this one) and that gave me a few more inches of height than with the stock saddle, which is now almost enough. The stock seat post is only about 300 mm, so it seems to me that Magnum could give you a bit longer seatpost to accommodate taller riders. I am also thinking of getting a Thudbuster suspension seatpost, and I know they have a 450 mm extra long version in the 27.2 diameter, so with that seat post, I will have more than enough height.
2-The fenders are included now in the base price (rack is still $39 extra), but I immediately removed them as they were rubbing a bit, and here in Arizona, I will probably never need them. I do not commute to work, so I will not head out on rainy days which are few and far between in this climate.
3-I used the trick of turning off the bike by only using the power switch on the battery. That way, everything gets turned off for sure, so I intend to make that a habit when shutting it off.
4-Now for the fun part: this bike was a joy to ride. It handles very nicely, is much lighter than some other electric bikes I have rented by the day, and boy, is it fun to have that assist helping me along. I rode up some moderate hills and with full assist and low gear, I made it up pretty easily. There were a few steeper stretches where I still had to work a bit, but even then, the electric assist made it doable. The hills around here will mean that I still get some exercise even if I use a lot of electric power.
5- I am about 180 lbs and I was riding up and down hills and sometimes against the wind for over an hour, and the battery is still showing about 2/3rds of its charge, so I think the 13 amp hour battery is going to be plenty for the kinds of moderate rides I intend to do on this.
6-Someone at Magnum said that most people end up leaving their bike in power assist level 6. And again for a nice 1-3 hour joy ride where conserving battery is not an issue, I can see why that might be true for me. I quickly got spoiled by the effortless speed on the flats and also not having to think about upping the assist when approaching a hill. I guess it would be nice to have a full power throttle override in all assist levels, but when riding in the top level (6), it becomes a moot point. I also found that I quickly got the hang of adjusting the assist on the fly to a lower level whenever I wanted a more relaxed pace, and actually used the throttle less than I thought I would. Pedaling was generally so easy that I tended to forget about the throttle. Note: Pedal assist is a new experience for me as the ebikes I have ridden in the past were throttle only. I did go off road for just a little bit, and there I could see using the lower levels of power assist as it gets tricky to have the motor surging when you are navigating rougher terrain. But the Ui5 is not really a mountain bike, so I will probably stick to smoother dirt trails.
7-This bike looks really good in person. I like the color scheme and the brown tires are classy. They also are a good compromise between a thicker tire for cushioning and a fairly smooth tread for easy rolling. I intend to add some slime to the tubes, and between that and the kevlar puncture resistance, I am hoping to not have to worry too much about flats. When these tires wear out, I am thinking of trying a pair of the Tannus tires that never go flat and never need pumping up: http://www.tannus.com/#intro

To sum up: I think this bike offers a lot for the money based on having read a lot of the reviews on here, although I have not tried many other ebikes, so my opinion is based on very limited actual experience. It easily blows away the rental ebikes I have tried, and I have enjoyed the Ui5 a lot so far. I did have a few problems with the setup and assembly, even though I worked on a lot of bikes in my younger days. I spoke to someone at Magnum and they explained that they will be mostly selling through dealers once they get their network established, so anyone buying an assembled bike will avoid that issue.

I hope this is helpful to anyone considering this bike.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Very helpful Nirmala! Thanks for taking the time to share your in-depth experience about assembly, the fenders and your preferred saddle. It’s always great to get this kind of honest constructive feedback and hope the bike works well for your intended use. Also glad to hear that Magnum was responsive when you reached out :)

Derek kerton
1 year ago

Nirmala. I’ve got the same loose problem you have with the handlebars on the Ui5, but since it’s later than your post, I was able to find a video that solved the problem completely here.

Turns out Magnum *hid* an important pair of screws under a sticker on the headset. Watch the video, and you’ll see the location of these, and a third hidden bolt. With that video, my problems were quickly solved. You probably figured that out by now, so I am posting this for others.

Court Rye
1 year ago

Awesome tip Derek, thank you for sharing it :D

Nirmala
1 year ago

Hi Derek, Yes I did find my way to that video, and it worked, although I found I needed to use Loctite on those screws or they would just work themselves loose again. I guess this is a common problem with adjustable handlebar stems.

CJ
2 years ago

Thanks for your review. I bought a UI5 after doing a lot of research on your site. I just put mine together but it didn’t come with instructions. Do you know what the little lever on the right side, forward of the gear switcher switch and under the right brake lever, is for? I can’t figure it out. It doesn’t seem to do anything. BTW, Thanks for your all your hard work! [EDIT] Nevermind, I figured it out. Both the levers are part of the gear switcheroo.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Awesome! Glad you figured it out and sorry to hear there were no instructions? I think Magnum is planning to sell through dealers so customers won’t have to assemble. Would love to hear how it works for you after some real world rides :D

CJ
2 years ago

Definitely! Initial impressions are very good. It’s a very fun ride. My first ebike, so the power is really surprising. Will be putting it through its paces in the following weeks.

Nirmala
2 years ago

Some more observations to report:
1-I definitely need a longer seatpost, so I am going to order the 450mm long Thudbuster. Even my wife who is 5’9″ found that she needs every inch of available seatpost as well as the added height provided by the cushier saddle we added to the bike. So anyone who is a bit taller may need to plan on at least getting a longer seatpost than the 300 mm post that comes with the bike.
2-I put slime in the tires and added some other weight ( a rack, bag, toolkit, etc) but the motor is still plenty peppy enough for me. Very occasionally I need to work a bit on really steep hills, but that is also a chance to get some good exercise. The motor still makes a big difference on the steeper hills, compared to no electric assist, and more moderate hills are a piece of cake. I may someday upgrade the rear cogs to a wider range freewheel. Currently, the rear cogs are 14-28 and the front chainring is pretty big for a single chainring at 48 teeth. I think a 11-34 tooth freewheel set would work a bit better for the hills around here.
3- Magnum has continued to be very helpful with the problems that showed up. They posted a youtube video that explains how the handlebars and stem are mounted and adjusted and I strongly recommend anyone who is interested in this bike to take a look: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8IZc9MC6-Bc This video also showed me how to fix the problem with the 1/2 inch of play in the handlebars.
4-Mount your handlebars right away when the bike arrives as otherwise the fork will fall out of the headtube and the bearings might get lost. If you are not particularly handy, you might want to take the bike in its box to a bike shop as the assembly is a bit challenging, or wait until Magnum gets more dealers up and running, and buy your bike assembled.
5- A couple of other problems that showed up: My rack must have gotten slightly bent in shipping (it was in the box with the bike) and so it was a bear to get it on the bike. The good news is that it will probably never come off as the screws holding it on are under a bit of pressure. Also the charger that came with my bike was defective (the light should turn red when charging and green when fully charged) but Magnum took care of that with a replacement.
6-I am quickly getting used to the controls on this bike. While the throttle override is limited to the assist level you are in, it is not at all difficult to change assist levels on the fly. It is no more complicated to operate than a typical multi-speed bike with both front and rear derailleurs, only instead of a front derailleur, you select different assist levels with your left hand. I am still surprised at how little I use the throttle on this bike. I just shift gears and power levels to adjust to the terrain and keep a nice easy cadence most of the time. Someday, I would like to try a mid-drive bike to see what it is like to have the motor drive the chain, but for now, I think I prefer having the motor input and my own pedaling input function separately to drive the rear wheel.
Overall, I am very happy with my purchase. Now that we have both had a chance to ride this bike, we are definitely going to buy another Ui5 so my wife and I can ride together.

One more comment that might apply to any ebike: I found that when maneuvering at very slow speeds, such as when making a tight u-turn in a cul-de-sac, it helps to lightly apply the left brake. This cuts the motor and allows me to pedal through the turn without the electric assist kicking in and surging me forward at the wrong time. It seems easier to balance also when pedaling through tight maneuvers at slow speed, and the motor surging can really mess you up if you are not careful. So the motor cutoff on the left brake lever has proven to be a very helpful feature.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Awesome feedback Nirmala! Thank you for sharing in such a complete and organized way. I’m sure this will help others who are considering the Magnum Ui5 and I’m excited to hear that you’re planning to get another one so you and your wife can take rides together :D

Nirmala
2 years ago

Some more real world experience with our Ui5’s to report: I wanted to condition the new battery of our second bike, so I ran it all the way down. In doing so, I covered 45 miles, and I was not babying the battery at all, riding mostly in the 3 to 6 pedal assist levels and doing lots of hills and using level 6 on the uphills. This is pretty impressive range. Unfortunately, our second bike has a problem with the controller so it only made it 4 miles or so and then the motor would not work. Magnum is taking very good care of us so far with these problems as they show up. I have no idea if these kinds of issues are typical, and it would not be fair to come to any conclusions regarding the reliability of their bikes given that we have only ridden two of them. The first bike is actually running great and the problems with that bike were all very minor and easy to correct. Magnum is saying they will fix the issue with the second bike even if it means shipping us a completely new ebike. This is a reassuring level of customer service when dealing with buying a bike online. I am still enjoying this bike immensely. I ride around for hours with a big grin on my face.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Awesome! Thanks for sharing your time to report this… Always good to hear positive feedback, glad the Magnum team is helping you out and standing behind their product so well :)

Nick
2 years ago

Hi Court, what do you think the usability of the Ui5 is for light trail use? My primary use will be commuting (hills, but not super steep grades), but I’m thinking that if I get into it I might like to try out some of the trails around here, which are basically pretty groomed. Overall, I’d like an e-bike that is still a bike: I want to get some real exercise while taming the hills a bit, then maybe explore the wilds. Any others beside the Ui5 that come to mind? This one seems to stand out for value. Thanks so much for your efforts!

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Nick! Great question… Aside from the tires, this ebike is very similar to those offered by Easy Motion and other companies (standard frame, basic suspension and an efficient hub motor). I would choose it based on the lower price, aesthetic and step-thru frame (if that’s something you want). Have you seen the other Magnum ebike? The Mi5 model comes with studded tires, a sloping high-step frame (which will be stiffer for off-road) and is the same price. The Mi5 is just a 19″ frame vs. 17″ so the standover height is taller and the reach might be longer, I’m 5’9″ and felt great on it. Coming back to the Ui5, if you like the style and mostly want on-road riding then the tires will be a bit better for that. I hope this helps, either bike would do fine on groomed trails and they are very similar ;)

Nick
2 years ago

Thanks so much Court. Sounds like the the main differences (aside from lights) would be the frame size (i’m 5’10”, so not sure it’s too much of an issue, tho I keep Nirmala’s comments above in mind) and some difference in the controls due to more speeds on the Mi5, which seems to add up to superior usability for the Ui5. And the knobbies. The style of either I find attractive. I hunted up and down on your site, and apart from some material on the high end, couldn’t find really anything that seemed distinctly better for my needs. I think I may have found a match in the Ui5. Thanks again.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Awesome! Well I hope you have a great experience with the bike and invite you to report in your thoughts after spending some time in the saddle. I also really like the look that Magnum has chosen for their bikes, both look great and the team seems dedicated to offering good customer service :)

Nirmala
2 years ago

So we got our replacement bike, and I think we now have two working Ui5s! It is great that Magnum was so quick to replace the bike with the motor controller that failed. Good customer service is a a real treasure.

Jeff
2 years ago

I have had my UI5 for 2 weeks and just love this bike..I trail ride in large forest preserve with some modest hills. generally use pedal assist 1 or 2. I can also confirm that the battery gets about 45 to 50 miles. Very smooth riding and very well built. My bike came with fenders and a back rack for $1499, but now price is $1699, still a very good value. No mechanical issues.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Awesome feedback Jeff! Glad to hear the bike is working well for you out there, the forest sounds like a wonderful place to ride. You’re getting excellent range, do you mostly ride with pedal assist? Which levels?

Nirmala
2 years ago

I just wanted to add that the most recent time I ran a battery down all the way, I only got about 35 miles. So maybe the other time when I thought I got 45 miles was a fluke, or maybe I miscalculated the mileage :) It was two different batteries, but I doubt there is that much difference in capacity.

Jeff
2 years ago

Court, I use pedal assist all the time. Assist levels 1, 2 and 3. Mostly ride in level 2.

Nirmala
2 years ago

I tend to ride in level 3-4 and sometimes bump it up even higher for big hills, so that probably explains why I am seeing more like 35 miles of range. This is a hilly area also which definitely reduces range. Also, I can report that the bike does fine on smooth dirt trails, but not so good on rougher ground. But then, I am not really an off-road kind of rider.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Nice! Appreciate the feedback Nirmala :)

Jack
2 years ago

Court, Jeff & Nirmala, thanks to each of you for all the helpful info. Together, you’ve created one of best ERB review segments.

Can one of you offer more info on the corporate entity? Yes, I see all the European models on the Magnum webpage and Court mentioned Magnum had a presence in Europe for a few years before being introduced in the U.S. But my impression is that Magnum is a Chinese company that first found a distributor for Europe and then subsequently found one located in Southern California for the USA. The Ui5/Mi5 duo look like they might be a fit for me. I would just appreciate knowing a bit more about who I’m buying from, especially given my relatively distant location in Montana.

Magnum dealer distribution at the moment is interesting. A very few, widely dispersed dealers in only a couple of regions outside of the San Fran-to-San Diego megalopolis. I can appreciate their desire to expand their dealer network…but given the slow growth of ebikes in the U.S., aspirations aren’t the same as practical realities. I notice my closest Magnum dealer is two mountain ranges and a 2.5 hr flight time away. Which made Nirmala’s report on issue resolution very helpful. Thanks, everyone.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Jack! I wish I could provide more information about Magnum for you but I really only know what I’ve been told (that it was started in Israel and is now moving to the US for more customers). This is based on what the founder and the North American rep told me in our face to face meeting when I created this and other Magnum reviews. That said, my understanding is that the vast majority of electric bikes are manufactured in parts of Asia including China. That includes bikes from major brands, maybe they are designed in California (like Pedego and Specialized) but the frames and components are usually produced in China.

Andrew Clifton
2 years ago

I just bought a new MagnumUi5, and I ABSOLUTLY LOVE IT!!!! I bike about 1,000 miles per year(3-4 miles per day, every day). I am 71 years old and have a health condition that made it a BAD idea to be peddling hard up hills. So this bike is perfect for me since I only use the motor assist on hills! It is so much more fun to not have to peddle up those damn hills, but still get good exercise peddling on the level!

I have one question that was mentioned in an earlier comment on the Ui5. How can I make the handle bars not have that 1/2 inch up and down play from the attachment rotating slightly when you pull or push on the handle grips? Any suggestion or remedy will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks, Andrew Clifton

luc
1 year ago

bonjour, superbe vélo mais remarquer qu’il n’y est pas de carde boue imaginez vous avec le vélo en temps de pluie ! pour le prix domage que les ingénieures n’est pas pensée à ce détaille qui as sont importance dans des pays pluvieux!

Court Rye
1 year ago

I translated your comment and found that you were sad that they did not include fenders on the bike to use in wet conditions. I agree that in certain locales it is important to protect from water and mud and one option to help with that is after-market fenders that you can add yourself! I actually think the rear rack would provide good protection against water but for the front it may be difficult because the suspension fork and light are already mounted. I have seen these plastic fenders that can be added to the downtube that you may wish to consider.

Je traduisais votre commentaire et a trouvé que vous étiez triste qu’ils ne comprennent pas les ailes sur le vélo à utiliser dans des conditions humides. Je suis d’accord que, dans certains endroits, il est important de protéger contre l’eau et la boue et une option pour aider à dire après-marché ailes que vous pouvez ajouter vous-même! Je pense en fait le porte-bagages arrière serait une bonne protection contre l’eau, mais pour l’avant il peut être difficile parce que la fourche à suspension et la lumière sont déjà montés. Je l’ai vu ces ailes en plastique qui peuvent être ajoutés à la diagonal que vous pouvez envisager.

Nurse juno
1 year ago

Hi all! Just bought it in NZ after reading all your kindly left, detailed information and reply, and love it! However, just wonder if there has been any change in battery power button as mine does not turned off from battery pack but only from the panel. The seller does not even aware of this web site and doesnt much care as it is not mechanical failure or something. Is it kind of change has been made or different from County to country? One more thing, r u all charging battery everyday regardless of battery left or once it reached some level? I just afraid it kill its capacity due to memory effect. Thx all and sure your kind reply will help so many others to choose a right ebike as it did to me!

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hello! I’ve heard that the 2016 model has been improved and this may include changes to the button or it could be your geography? Hard to say for sure but I intended to review the updated bike soon so we will see. As far as charging, I usually take my battery pack inside to avoid heat and cold and will plug it in for a charge if more than 30% has been used. If storing for a long time I may leave it at 50% to relax the cells.

Brian
1 year ago

Really liked your review on this bike and I’m considering purchasing the ui5, but I’m not certain if the 350w motor will have enough power. I’m 59 years old, 5’7″ and a muscular 220 lbs, so I don’t know if I should go with an ebike with a 500w hub motor instead. I did 1400+ miles last year on my hybrid bikes doing very few hills, but I plan on having hip replacement surgery soon and thought an ebike would be beneficial until I get back in shape. I won’t be riding up any steep hills, but will occasionally need throttle power to help get me up a few low grade hills.

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Brian! That’s a tough call… Given your average height and upcoming surgery it makes sense to get a step-thru like the Ui5 and the value on this bike is great… pretty well priced and well specced. I think you’d still get great performance from the 350 watt motor, human athletes put out ~220 watts continuous on endurance rides so you’re more than doubling your own healthy effort. It does have a throttle and if you dial up pedal assist you’ll get decent power. I personally like the way this ebike looks and have heard from shops that now carry it that customers haven’t had issues. You could check out all of the other step-thru models using this link and consider the BESV JS1 for a bit more or Biktrix Stunner if you’re willing to give up the suspension fork but still want affordable. I hope this helps! Good luck with your surgery, an ebike will be a lot of fun and I admire your drive to stay healthy and active :)

Jensen L
12 months ago

Hello Court! Been reading reviews here for the last few months, finally bet on a Flux bike. I see this model has the same (or extremely close to it) battery pack style, 36v and 11ah. I’m wondering if there is a way to see if the battery pack in the Flux (can’t wait for delivery!) can be changed out with the one in the Ui5. I’m looking to buy a road/cruiser style bike for my wife, and it would be great if we could swap batteries. This seems like a good value bike and has the ‘look’ my wife could go for, and a price she won’t kill me over.

Either way, thanks for the great reviews, this site is a great resource and I appreciate your thoroughness. I’ve been turning folks on to ebikes, and I send them to your site for information and shopping help. Keep it up!

Court Rye
12 months ago

Awesome! Congrats Jensen… I wish I could help and give you some feedback about interchangeable batteries but it’s a very sensitive subject. I don’t want to suggest something that could result in a fire or failed warranty. In my experience it’s best to keep batteries and chargers with the bikes they are designed for. Sometimes you can get two ebikes from the same manufacturer and then it’s more okay but still, manufacturers like Pedego had different voltage batteries for different controllers and motors so interchange is not always possible. Whatever you decide on, I hope your Wife and you enjoy the rides together! I bet she’ll be very excited once she tries your Flux :D

A
9 months ago

hello! I love your reviews. thank you for the hard work. wondering if you’ll review the magnum premium folding bike? thanks!

Court Rye
9 months ago

Hi A! Yes, it’s on my list and I plan to review it eventually but can’t say for sure exactly when. Thanks for expressing your interest :)

Beni
8 months ago

Hi..just bought a new ui5 and do not know how to max speed as the speed is limited to 6km/h..as i understan there is a way in the display panel to change it and to max speed.please advise.thanks

Court Rye
8 months ago

Hey Beni! I don’t have the bike in front of me at the moment but I believe if you try holding the plus and minus keys simultaneously it could launch the settings? Sometimes holding up and power or double pressing power or information can do it. I’ll reach out to a rep from Magnum to see if they can chime in and help :)

Beni
8 months ago

Thanks, ill wait for your answer if you reach Magnum..thanks again…

Anonymous
5 months ago

Hello, thank you very much for the detailed review, Court. Comments of other owners are also valuable and highly appreciated. I am really up to this bike now thanks to all this info.

Just as an addition to the initiated above discussion about Magnum dealer distribution. It seems to me that Magnum is in fact merely a US company representing another holder selling pure Chinese bikes across the world. Take a look at this website and this one.

There are a whole bunch of Magnum Ui5 modifications and various versions of it and Leisger bikes. Moreover, one can read both companies are located in the Hannover airport area (in Germany) and mentioned websites are similarly designed. Unfortunately, the design is a bit amateur and some points struck my eye, such as pictures with technical characteristics instead of normal text and some not working links.

I guess all these bikes are of pure Chinese origin and design, and are therefore sold so cheap under different names in US, Europe, and New Zealand and who knows where else. In no way it makes them worse or inferior. I just wanted to share information I came upon. I personally will buy Ui5 and put it on test :)

Have nice rides,
Igor

Court Rye
5 months ago

Hello Igor, I appreciate your insights… Having met two of the guys who run this company (Magnum and Leisger) I was told that they are actually an Israeli company but I have no doubt that their products are built and mostly assembled somewhere in Asia. That seems the be the case with nearly ever single company I’ve looked into. Designs are made in Europe, the US or elsewhere and that’s where final assembly and sales are made but the physical goods are all from China, Taiwan or even Vietnam. One of my distant relatives fought in the Vietnam war and is completely opposed to any products made overseas… he won’t even ride in some cars. I respect his feelings and perspective but am glad that for the most part, the global economy lets people contribute different parts from different areas and we can all work together. I also tend to be willing to pay more for products sold in local shops because of the service provided and the extra polish of finalized bikes vs. a rejected prototype or last-season model with worn battery etc. those are all risks you run but indeed, the product may be very similar or even the same at times :)

Igor
5 months ago

Thank you for the reply! I was also wondering if you by chance know, whether one can hook up another throttle lever, e.g. half-twist grip? I have never done e-bike assembly before so I am not familiar with the way the throttle is connected to the motor.

Robert
2 months ago

Court, Thanks so much for your articulate and intelligent reviews. Based on your comments, I purchased the Ui5. I finished the assembly with little difficulty. I’ve been an avid biker for years. However, at age 74, with weak knees and a heart condition, I thought I was finished as a cyclist. Then, online, I discovered e-bikes and a new world opened to me. Now, I enjoy a level of appropriate exercise, open air and sunshine. The step-though frame of the Ui5 is ideal for me and likely would be appreciated by others in circumstances similar to mine. So far, Magnum support has been excellent, solving issues by phone. I probably will not subject the bike to extensive use, so I am hoping it will not require professional service. Alas, there are not any sales outlets or service facilities near my city of residence.

Court Rye
2 months ago

Good for you Robert! Staying up to date with technology, getting outside, and enjoying the ride. I agree that if you take care of the bike and keep your riding smooth (and store the battery in a cool, dry location at ~80%) it should last a long time. Magnum has decent customer support and their ebikes are simple enough that most regular bicycle shops should feel comfortable adjusting the derailleur, fixing flat tires and cleaning the chain etc. Do check that the tire pressure is within the recommended range each time you go for a ride. I check by squeezing the tires and estimating by their firmness if air is needed. Low tires not only produce drag and inefficiency but also allow the inner tube to get pinched and eventually punctured when riding off curbs and over bumps.

Ken Sobel
1 month ago

I’m interested in getting this bike for my wife. Does the right brake lever stop the motor in its latest iteration?

Court Rye
1 month ago

Hi Ken, I just heard back from Magnum and they say that “yes it does” have the right brake lever motor inhibitor. I hope this helps you out :)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Start a new ui5 thread on the Magnum Forum page

Roxanna Bradford
4 weeks ago

Is this ok for someone short? I'm 5 ft and considering this bike.

Veranda Tales
2 months ago

Great ROI bike, just needs a basket up front, a suspension seat and a 1000 lumen light. Oh before I forget no flat tires. Makes for one sweet ebike, over 1000 happy miles..
fyi i have noticed that the battery recharger brick needs to be disconnected from the AC after each recharge and reconnected before charge, for some reason if you leave the brick connected to AC it seems to remember the battery has been fully charged and does not charge unless you reset it by unplugging on the AC side of the brick which is easy to do

Veranda Tales
2 months ago

go to the Magnum ebike site where there is a dealer locater tab, i suggest a dealer near you if possible in the event you need support. the number one option in my mind is to have them replace the tire inner tube with a solid core, note i got a flat a week after purchase about a quarter mile from home which is no fun at all, so i took the ebike to a nearby local bicycle shop to replace the inner tubes with a solid core which my ebike dealer did not offer, i don't understand why this is not standard practice

NorceCodine
2 months ago

Thanks. Is there anything you want to point out about the bike? In particular, are there licensed dealers out there you can buy from, or just any bike store might have it?

Veranda Tales
2 months ago

yes the motor is still good, you can get the battery from the company. i connect the charger every day after a ride, 8 months and 2300 happy miles so far, the weight distribution is good with the battery mounted on the center down tube which makes for a nice handling ride.

NorceCodine
2 months ago

So, is the electric motor still as good as it was when new? Can you get a new battery pack from the company? I am assuming the battery can handle about 500 recharge.

Frog eBikes
5 months ago

These are indeed great Budget eBikes. I sell a lot of them and have them in my rental fleet, but will be moving to all Bosch next month for a good reason. These come in black or White. They are great fun and ergonomically correct for a range of rider heights. Easy to service. American Company, German designed, but Chinese 8Fun hub as in most budget eBikes. Have seen these eBikes re-badged in as 'Earth' brand in Australia and another brand (Can't remember) in China. The Samsung Cells used in the Battery are well reviewed (Lithium, Magnesium Cobalt). Thanks again Court for the awareness of choice.

NorceCodine
2 months ago

Whats wrong with the Chinese electric motor? They are not going to last?

atalla esen
2 years ago

Do you think energie cycles 2,6 tm is good for me?

atalla esen
2 years ago

And 1 more thing i wont pay more than 1700$

atalla esen
2 years ago

What is the best bike for me? I weight 55 kilos! And i need a bike which can climb hills, and i want it fast what you reccomend to me?

atalla esen
2 years ago

Can you put max speed in your descriptions because its the most important thing usually

John Moura
2 years ago

That tool-free adjustable stem is miraculous!

Zeev Kirsh
2 years ago

court--------when do you think bafang will roll out a torque sensor on their bbs02 mid drive.

do you think doing that will blow bosch out of the water as many more bike makers shift to the mid-drive option?

i know it doesn't look sleek, but i'm still just imagining the perfect mid-drive and it would be this magnum ui5 with a middrive and internal gear hub.

basically the grace one for less than half the price. actually closer to a third. maybe even less!.

Zeev Kirsh
2 years ago

this is not only beautiful, but super duper practical. LOVE IT. the throttle on bikes is slowly getting to where EVERYONE knows it needs to be.

the automatic switch from a full throttle mode simply by pressing the throttle to defaulting back to pedelec mode just by letting off the throttle.

like so many things in the ebike world, it seems SOOOO obvious, and yet takes so long to implement as a standard thing on bikes.

EVERY YEAR these bikes just get so much better. amazing.

morganliu7928111
2 years ago

You said throttle is weak on zero assist mode.  Does that mean weak only on that mode?  If I have it on assist mode 6 and just use throttle will I still get the bike up to 20mph?  I basically want a second bike that I don't have to pedal, but go 20 mph.  Thanks.

morganliu7928111
2 years ago

+morganliu7928111 nm Later on in the review this question is answered.

KaiserFailed
2 years ago

honestly, like, how dare those dogs try to overpower your voice? how rude.

ValhalaFiveSix
2 years ago

First Girlie bike biotches!