Pedego City Commuter Review

2015 Pedego City Commuter Electric Bike Review 1
2015 Pedego City Commuter
2015 Pedego City Commuter 500 Watt Geared Dapu Hub Motor
2015 Pedego City Commuter Locking Removable Lithium Battery Pack
2015 Pedego City Commuter Gull Wing Handlebar And Lcd Display
2015 Pedego City Commuter Twist Throttle Padded Grips
2015 Pedego City Commuter Tool Free Adjustable Angle Stem
2015 Pedego City Commuter Full Length Aluminum Fenders Mudflaps
2015 Pedego City Commuter Matching Aluminum Chain Guard
2015 Pedego City Commuter Oversized Kickstand
2015 Pedego City Commuter Oversized Padded Saddle Bumpeers Suspension Post
2015 Pedego City Commuter Battery On Off And Fuse
2015 Pedego City Commuter 7 Speed Shimano Acera
2015 Pedego City Commuter Electric Bike Review 1
2015 Pedego City Commuter
2015 Pedego City Commuter 500 Watt Geared Dapu Hub Motor
2015 Pedego City Commuter Locking Removable Lithium Battery Pack
2015 Pedego City Commuter Gull Wing Handlebar And Lcd Display
2015 Pedego City Commuter Twist Throttle Padded Grips
2015 Pedego City Commuter Tool Free Adjustable Angle Stem
2015 Pedego City Commuter Full Length Aluminum Fenders Mudflaps
2015 Pedego City Commuter Matching Aluminum Chain Guard
2015 Pedego City Commuter Oversized Kickstand
2015 Pedego City Commuter Oversized Padded Saddle Bumpeers Suspension Post
2015 Pedego City Commuter Battery On Off And Fuse
2015 Pedego City Commuter 7 Speed Shimano Acera

Summary

  • A sturdy and powerful electric bike that's a bit more active than the cruisers (more forward body position, narrower handlebars) and is available in several frame sizes for improved fit
  • Lots of great extras including full length aluminum fenders, chain guard, puncture resistant tires with reflective sidewalls, suspension seat post, integrated lights and a sleek bell
  • Responsive pedal assist with throttle override, large capable disc brakes, solid warranty, rear heavy design

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Pedego

Model:

City Commuter

Price:

$2,595 USD (Up to $3,295)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive, 3 Year Limited

Availability:

United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia, New Zealand, Europe

Model Year:

2015

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

60 lbs (27.21 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg) (9 Lbs for 48 V 15 Ah)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

14.5 in (36.83 cm)16 in (40.64 cm)17 in (43.18 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Small 14.5" (43.5" Axle to Axle), Medium 16" (44" Axle to Axle), Large 17" (47" Axle to Axle)

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, High-Step

Frame Colors:

Black, White, Steel Blue, Taupe

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Acera M360, 12-32T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Tourney FT55 SIS Index Shifter on Right Bar

Cranks:

175 mm 3-Piece Aluminum Alloy, 46 Tooth Chainring

Pedals:

Pedego Aluminum Alloy Platform

Stem:

Tool-Free Adjustable Angle

Handlebar:

27" Aluminum Alloy, Gull Wing Style

Brake Details:

Avid BB7 Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitor

Grips:

Padded, Stitched

Saddle:

Padded, Oversized

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy with Basic Suspension

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Spokes:

12 Gauge Stainless Steel

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Fat Frank, Balloon, 28" x 2"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall, Puncture Protection

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve, Pre-Slimed

Accessories:

Integrated Spanninga MICRO FF LED Headlight and LED Backlight, Integrated Bell on Left Brake Lever, Matching Full-Length Aluminum Alloy Fenders with Mud Flaps, Matching Aluminum Alloy Chain Guard, Integrated Carry Rack with Spring Latch, Oversized Kickstand

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Replaceable Fuse on Battery Pack, Tool-Free Quick Adjust on Brake Calipers (Red Twist Disc)

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Dapu

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

48 volts (Optional 36 V)

Battery Amp Hours:

15 ah (Optional 10 Ah)

Battery Watt Hours:

720 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Backlit LCD on Left Bar

Readouts:

Current Speed, Ride Time, Odometer, Trip Distance, Pedal Assist Level (0-5), Battery Power

Display Accessories:

USB Charge Outlet

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist (12 Magnet Pedelec Sensor)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The City Commuter has long been a favorite ebike model for me, especially from the Pedego lineup. It’s comfortable but more active than some of the cruisers they sell with a shorter handlebar and lighter frame. In recent years they’ve improved the way the throttle works (letting you override pedal assist) and introduced a smaller size playfully referred to as the “Mini Commuter” for petite riders. This new version has a shorter frame that also sits lower to the ground thanks to 26″ wheels vs. the standard 700c ~28″ available on both the standard high-step and step-thru models. Pedego still offers the professional black and white color schemes but now has a metallic blue (that sort of changes color when the light hits it) as well as metallic taupe that looks handsome. On the positive side, the City Commuter is feature rich with integrated LED lights, full length fenders, a chain guard, puncture resistant tires and an integrated rack but there are some trade offs. The bike is rear heavy and the saddle isn’t as comfortable to pedal on as it is to just sit on. I love the seat post suspension, padded grips and adjustable angle stem and appreciate the warranty (which is comprehensive for the first year and then pro-rates the cost of a replacement battery for two additional years). The other neat thing about this ebike is the battery choice options which let you maximize range and power or save some money and reduce the overall weight of the bike.

Driving this bike is a 500 watt planetary geared hub motor that’s made by Dapu (the same company that Easy Motion uses for many of their electric bikes). It’s one of the zippier, more powerful geared motors I’ve tested and on the City Commuter it delivers a lot of strength for overcoming wind or climbing moderate hills. It does produce some whirring noise, especially under full power, but that hasn’t bothered me as much as some other models and almost feels satisfying because the bike rides more like a moped. This is an important point… even though the bike offers seven speeds to pedal with and is one of the most active rides (ergonomically speaking) in the Pedego lineup, it is still heavier and less comfortable to pedal with than some other electric bicycles I’ve tested. For this reason, the more powerful motor, cadence sensing pedal assist, twist-type throttle and louder operation feel right. This is a great bike for cruising around the neighborhood or commuting short distances without over exerting yourself. It’s one of the best options for throttle-only operation that I’ve tested.

Powering the motor, the backlit LCD display and the front and rear LED lights is a beautiful Lithium-ion battery pack that uses high quality Lithium-ion cells from Samsung. The pack is available in four configurations with either 36 or 48 volts of power and either 10 or 15 amp hours of capacity. Basically, the larger the pack, the more you pay and the more it will weigh! A question I hear a lot about these battery sizes is “should I buy the 36 volt 15 amp hour or the 48 volt 10 amp hour?” and the answer is that it depends on the weight you intend to move. If you weigh (or plan to have a maximum load) over 180 lbs, I believe it is more efficient to go with the 48 volt system so that the motor will get full power and operate at optimal efficiency. Still, if you’re getting one of the smaller sized bikes and don’t weigh a lot then the 36 volt packs should perform just fine. Whichever configuration you choose, the pack offers some great conveniences like being able to charge on or off the frame, having an integrated replaceable fuse and offering a toggle on/off switch to reduce phantom draw while storing. The on/off switch can actually be annoying at times given that you have to click it before the display will turn on and this may require dismounting the bike after you just hopped on… basically, it’s a second step that you should really take every time you get on or off of the bike. It will help deter tampering with the display while you’re not at your bike for example. I like that the pack features an LED charge level indicator (great for checking status when it’s not on the bike) and that it locks to the frame. You are not required to leave the key in while riding which is actually a big deal because panniers may otherwise collide with the key and bend it (I recommend taking them out in this case especially). The big drawback to this battery is now it’s mounted to the frame (high and towards the back). With weight ranging from eight to nine pounds, it can create a bit of a “crack the whip” feel with aggressive riding and makes transport and parking less stable. Thankfully, the oversized kickstand works great.

Operating the e-bike systems is pretty easy on the City Commuter. Once the battery is charged, mounted and locked to the rear rack you press the toggle on/off there and then again on the display panel. I like the LCD unit that Pedego is using now because it combines the LCD unit with four interface buttons that are large and reachable while riding. It swivels up and down but is not easily removable which means that it could take more weather wear over time. Using the “Set” button you can see your trip distance, time and odometer and access a bunch of different settings if you hold “Set” for a few seconds. I was able to change from Miles to Kilometers, edit the wheel size and adjust the top speed (which defaults at 20 mph). The other two buttons are “Up” and “Down” which let you navigate through five levels of pedal assist and a zero “throttle mode”. The lowest assist level felt smooth and quite which would be perfect for navigating crowds or conserving battery while the highest felt exciting and powerful. At any time you can twist the throttle and override assist and this is handy for boosting up a hill or getting started from rest. The bike uses a cadence sensor to activate pedal assist which means that once the bike is up to speed you really don’t have to push to get the motor to help out (which is the case with torque sensors). The drawback to cadence sensors is that starting from zero requires all rider power because the motor hasn’t “woken up” yet and this can be a pain if you’re in a higher gear. Again, this is where the twist throttle override comes in super handy. I found myself riding in level two or three assist and gear level six most frequently and I did use the throttle regularly :)

At the end of the day, the City Commuter still honors the relaxed cruiser style that Pedego is known for (large saddle, powerful motor, twist throttle) but offers a slightly more aggressive body position with narrower handle bars that are responsive and easier to fit through doors. When it first launched, this was one of the only models that offered integrated lights and fenders but Pedego has since added them to all of the others as well. I like the adjustable stem, sleek integrated bell, modern diamond frame (vs. the cantilever curved style on the cruisers) and all of the sizing and color options here. I have had great success actually commuting with one of the older City Commuter models and while it can sometimes feel stiff and bouncy at speed (especially if your tires are extra full) the seat post suspension shock, padded saddle and grips really help. The spring latch on the rack isn’t incredibly useful but there are lots of ways to mount your own bag or panniers. If you like the style then this ebike could be a great choice because of the solid warranty and excellent dealer network that is now global. Pedego electric bikes are also commonly used as rentals and tend to hold up well. If you get the chance to rent one for a fun tourist ride it could help you choose between this or one of the more relaxed cruiser designs.

Pros:

  • Neat integrated USB charging port built right into the LCD display panel mounted to the left bar, charge your portable electronics while riding
  • The swept back handlebars, padded grips, oversized saddle with suspension seat post and large balloon tires help to smooth out bumps for a more comfortable ride
  • Available in four frame sizes with two wheel sizes and two frame styles for a truly comfortable fit (smaller wheels bring the frame closer to the ground, step-thru frame is easier to mount and stand over)
  • Integrated LED lights and backlit display are powered by the main battery pack so you don’t need to worry about purchasing additional cells or having them run out independently
  • Several professional and fun color schemes to choose from including the classic black and white or a metallic blue and taupe
  • Nice safety extras including the integrated bell, lights, reflectors and reflective sidewall stripe painted on the tires
  • Very zippy and powerful ride (especially with the 48 volt battery which is recommended if you plan to transport 180lbs or more in rider weight or rider+gear)
  • Variable speed twist throttle can be used in level zero as “throttle only mode” or override one of the five levels of assist offering full power
  • Rear rack surrounds and protects the battery and is useful for adding a trunk bag or panniers (I like the Elements from Basil)
  • The battery locks to the frame for security but is removable for convenient charging and to reduce the overall weight of the bike during transport
  • Integrated motor inhibitors cut power immediately when activated, oversized 180 mm disc brakes are smooth and powerful
  • Threaded eyelets are included on each model (even the smallest!) so you can mount a portable pump, folding lock or water bottle cage

Cons:

  • The battery pack must be activated independently from the LCD display, this might deter tampering but requires extra time and may be forgotten (leaving the battery pack on to drain slowly)
  • Rear heavy design with the hub motor and battery pack mounted at the back of the bike, the battery is also fairly high and the rack weighs more because it is reinforced
  • The padded saddle is a bit wide and for active riders may not feel as comfortable, on long rides my inner thighs have felt a bit tender
  • Tubing on the rear rack is wider and thicker than I see on most standardized racks which means it may not work with some clip-on panniers
  • Chain guard looks nice and is functional but may be bent easily if kicked or stepped on, be extra careful on the step-thru models

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Pedego Reviews

Pedego 24″ Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the only 24" sized fat e-bikes I have ever seen, it's easier to approach, stand over, and handle for short to mid-sized riders, Pedego also offers a 20" fat model for kids. Large comfortable tires that work well on sand or snow when deflated to 5-8 PSI,…...

Pedego Platinum Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $3,795
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A premium cruiser style electric bike with upgraded suspension fork, suspension seat post, integrated LED lights, a sturdy rack and hydraulic disc brakes. Powerful 500 to 1,000+ watt hub motor from Dapu with high-torque rating and durable protected…...

Pedego Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A custom designed electric trike with large plastic cargo bin at the back, three-speed internally geared hub can be shifted at standstill and is more durable than a traditional derailleur. Two mechanical disc brakes provide good stopping power, max speed limited to 7 mph in…...

Pedego 20″ Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sturdily built, lower speed electric bike with seven gears and throttle-only operation designed primarily for kids and youth but also a good fit for short riders. Max weight of 350 lbs, bosses in the rear for adding a rack and hauling…...

Pedego Latch Review

  • MSRP: $2,595
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sturdy folding electric bike with a full-sized feel, the extra long seat post and telescoping stem fit a wider range of body types than most folders I've tested. Premium drivetrain features and accessories including a Gates belt drive, Shimano Nexus internally geared hub,…...

Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $3,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fined fat tire electricbike with balanced down tube battery and purpose-built "extrawide" hub motor for improved drive train operation and torque. Nice LCD display panel with integrated buttons and swivel, includes a USB port for charging…...

Pedego Ridge Rider Review

  • MSRP: $3,395
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A delightfully capable and refined 27.5" hardtail electric mountain bike with powerful 500 watt motor and 48 volt battery pack. Nice upgrades on the adjustable air fork with lockout, 15 mm thru-axle, locking grips, hydraulic…...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A smaller version of the Interceptor that's easier to mount, it offers great power thanks to its smaller wheels paired with a 500 watt geared hub motor and 48 volt battery. Offers twist throttle and five levels of assist for increased range, throttle override puts you…...

Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stripped down comfort cruiser with easy-mount step-thru frame, throttle on demand only, optional fenders, multiple color choices and multiple battery size options from 36v 10ah up to 48v 15ah. Locking removable battery pack is protected in the color-matched rear rack, mechanical disc brakes are…...

Pedego Classic Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A sturdy, powerful cruiser style electric bike with large 500 watt geared motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery. Balloon tires, comfort saddle, suspension seat post and oversized handlebars create a relaxed upright ride...

2015 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A fat style ebike with zippy 500 watt geared motor and powerful 48 battery (available in 10ah or 15ah for extended range). Four fun color options, integrated headlight, pedal assist and throttle mode, quality mechanical disc brakes...

Pedego Stretch Review

  • MSRP: $3,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stylish and comfortable cruiser style electric cargo bike with removable tubing supports that extend the carrying platform or double as a back rest and running boards to accommodate a second rider. Offers two battery options for extended range and two drive modes including pedal assist (1-5)…...

Pedego Boomerang Review

  • MSRP: $2,495.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the easiest electric bikes to mount with extra low step-thru design, frame stiffness reduced as a result. Powerful 500 watt geared motor is quiet to operate and blends in well with cassette…...

Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Iconic cruiser style frame is sturdy, provides a relaxed seating position and comes in multiple colors. Powerful 500 watt direct drive (gearless) rear hub motor is durable, fast and relatively quiet...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

A smaller step-through electric bike with 24" wheels for riders who are petite. Very powerful for its size, uses a 500 watt direct drive hub motor with three…...

Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,795
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the only purpose-built electric bikes that is setup to be a tandem for two adult riders. Sturdy frame, fun classic design, reliable drive system with six speeds, great support and warranty...

2014 Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy cruiser style electric bike with simple twist throttle operation and upgradable battery pack. Large tires, swept back handlebars, plush seat and padded grips dampen vibration to smooth out…...

Pedego Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Great power for acceleration, climbing or moving heavier riders with a 500 watt geared rear hub motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery combination. Offers twist throttle and five levels of pedal assist for increased range, removable battery for…...

2013 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,975
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Off-road design with 4" wide tires, increased contact patch enables the bike to ride on sand, snow and other rugged terrain, larger tires also provide cushion for improved riding comfort. Ultra powerful 600 watt geared motor and 48 volt battery pack for improved torque and…...

2014 Pedego Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Stable three wheel design with battery, motor and controller mounted low under the cargo bin. No pedal assist option with this bike but the twist throttle is intuitive to use…...

2013 Pedego Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Powerful combination of 500w motor and 48v Lithium battery. Durable and proven frame is borrowed from the Pedego Comfort Cruiser...

2013 Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,675
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

One of the only tandem style electric bikes available anywhere, large 500 watt motor offers good power. Built on the time tested, super simple, Pedego Cruiser cantilever style aluminum alloy frame...

2013 Pedego City Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Classic upright commuter frame is quiet, sturdy and functional with welded rear rack. Integrated seat post shock, lights, bell, and computer with clean wire management...

2013 Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Solid, durable and extremely quiet to ride due to gearless rear hub motor. Casual design looks like a laid back cruiser and comes in many fun color choices...


Luis
2 years ago

So quick question, can you remove the display? If you cant easily do it is it at least possible with a bit of work? Thanks

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Luis, I don’t think the display is designed to come off easily… maybe with a screw driver or hex wrench you could actually unscrew it and use the disconnect point to take it inside (which probably wouldn’t be that difficult) but it’s not like a quick slide on/off like the Easy Motion design. If you live where the weather is an issue (like lots of rain) maybe put a plastic sack over it with a rubber band to keep water out?

Reply
Luis
2 years ago

Ok, great! Thank you Court.

Reply
Michael Rhodes
2 years ago

Thanks for a great review. I just bought a City Commuter 28 inch 48V / 10. Will pick it up next week. I had a total knee replacement on my left knee and wanted to be able to ride again, but with the added benefit of the motor should the knee start to hit its limits – to make sure I can get back home. The added assist should be very helpful. One thing I haven’t seen in any of the reviews is how the e-bike performs if the motor is turned totally off and you must peddle full force to get back home should the battery run out or something happens. Guess I will find out next week, as I wanted to have a good feel for what its like to peddle without any assistance. Your reviews are very helpful since you cover a wide range of features, and include riding the bike. I like the hill section and the bike seemed to perform really well. Thanks again, your reviews really helped me come to a decision despite not taking an actual ride before purchase.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hey Michael! Great suggestion… I don’t usually perform an unpowered ride test because my knees are also sensitive, it’s how I got into ebikes actually ;) one thing that is listed here for each review is the bicycle weight. Most are heavy ~50lbs and it’s not fun to pedal them unless you’re in a lower gear to make it easy. Pedal assist is a wonderful feature on bikes like the City Commuter because it almost makes the bike perform like a light weight normal bicycle and then if you need extra help for a hill just twist that throttle! Not all of the electric bikes I’ve tested have throttles but the City Commuter does and in my opinion it’s a great bike! Hope it works well for you, feel free to comment with an update once you’ve tested it out.

Reply
Michael Rhodes
2 years ago

Court, I picked up the City Commuter today from Irvine and am very impressed with it. With power off, I could peddle it, but not without some difficulty. Didn’t appear to be any resistance from the motor, but simply the weight as you noted. But even when only at “Assist Level 1” I was able to peddle just fine, and of course moving to 2 or above was very little effort at all. Amazed at the hill climbing. Now that I have used the Throttle – I couldn’t imagine not having that feature. The bike is very well made, bigger than I was expecting, and of course heavier. About the only complaint I have, is that for $3K I would have expected a better light. I added a 320 lumens USB rechargeable light which solved the problem for $24. But still, Pedego could have included a more powerful light for very little more. The integrated taillight and fender mounted lights are nice, just not bright enough for me and lack a strobe feature. Other than that, the bike is making me smile.

Sue Smith
2 years ago

I am keen to purchase a Pedego city community since riding my friend’s city commuter in NZ. Is there a store in Sydney that sells them. I went to Sydney Electric Bikes but they do not stock Pedego

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hmm… I’m not sure Sue? I believe Pedego has been expanding globally and they have a special “dealer locator map” on their website here. Looks like there might be a Pedego dealer in Sydney according to this other map that seems to list more points. Hope this helps! Wish I could be more concrete :)

Reply
Michael M
2 years ago

I bought my City Commuter last week and I have to say I am very impressed. It rides more like a moped than a bike, which I love as I use it to commute the 10 miles each way to work and back home. I purchased the 36V/15amp battery and have yet to see an end to its charge on an outing. I spent an entire Sunday just driving along the beaches (Siesta Key Fl) and ultimately put 25 miles on it. Great bike.

My question is at what point do I take it in to have it serviced and tweaked after the breaking in period i.e. spoke tightening and other adjustments to the components? I’m am pretty much clueless with ebikes let alone bikes in general. Also, if I were to upgrade to the 48V/10amp battery, would I really get that much increase in acceleration/torque? I’m pretty lightweight ~150lbs. Thanks Court!

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Michael! Sounds like the standard 36 volt 15 amp hour battery is working well for you… 15ah is actually above average compared to most ebikes I test. You might feel some torque improvement with a 48 volt battery but I’m not sure you can make that upgrade because it requires a different controller and even motor in some cases… can’t say for sure. Batteries are expensive so if you’re doing well with the 36v option just stick with it ;)

As for tuneups, it really depends on the riding conditions you encounter like water, mud and even how you ride like how much braking is happening and whether you shift gears a lot and know to ease off pedaling when shifting so the sprockets and chain don’t get beat up. For me, it’s usually time for a tune when I hear the bike making scratchy or clinking noises as I pedal… the chain probably needs to be lubed in that case and maybe the frame cleaned. I also pay attention to my brake levers and if they are being squeezed way down I try to tighten the cables using the twist wheel on the calipers but eventually new pads are a requirement as well. Tightening spokes isn’t something I do or hear about very often but yes, sometimes the wheel needs to be trued if the bike tips or is being transported in a car on its side. Being proactive about tuneups could make the bike last longer and honestly, the shop should be able to give you feedback about this so if you just stop by and ask (or ask the place you bought it from) about what they recommend that could be a great place to start :)

Reply
Jennifer C.
1 year ago

Hi Court – thanks for the in-depth reviews! I’m considering buying one of these Pedego Commuters, and I actually asked the same question as Michael about upgrading to a 48V battery, and the dealer told me that the whole bike is wired for either 36V or 48V, so you can’t just switch from one to another.
Keep up the good work!

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Thanks for chiming in Jennifer! That’s my understanding as well, the bike is either setup for 36 volt or 48 volt and that’s it… so you can upgrade on capacity of amp hours but just not voltage which is more of a power thing.

Reply
Mike
1 year ago

I weigh about 275 and am 6′ tall. Any thoughts or suggestions?

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Mike! I really like the Pedego Interceptor for heavier, larger riders because it can have many of the same features as the Commuter here (lights, fenders) but provides a more upright, relaxed layout and you can even get cast rims vs. spokes which hold up better under weight. I also feel like it fits taller riders better without stretching them forward and in my experience the frame just isn’t as stiff which makes it feel smoother.

Reply
Kirk
1 year ago

Thanks for a great and thorough review. Do you have any idea what the replacement cost is for the battery? Thanks again.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Kirk! Thanks, glad the review helped you out. I believe the replacement costs for Pedego batteries varies depending on which size you get ie. 36 volt or 48 volt and the number of amp hours but it might be in the range of $700 just based on what I’ve heard from shops and seen online. I’d love to hear back from you if you figure out a more detailed answer?

Reply
Mark
3 months ago

Hi Court, Wondering if you might be planning to refresh this review of the City Commuter since it was first reviewed over 2 years ago. I’m currently comparing it to the Magnum Metro (and the Metro +) and have benefited greatly from your fantastically detailed recent review of the Metro). Thanks for all you do (including those YouTube videos!)
– Mark

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Mark! Yes, I try to update every model each year… but it has become a bit too much to keep up with, Pedego is an important company and I do plan on visiting their headquarters in Fountain Valley, California again later this year or early next. Thanks for the feedback and support :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Dewey
1 week ago

how well does the enduro really perform as a commuter bike?...I am hesitant to cancel my suspended order of the enduro for a different ebike...Are there some other class 1 ebikes you would recommend more than the enduro that remain with in the same price range of 1000 - 2500 CAD?

Regarding comfort, for the Enduro there aren't any rack or fender bosses, Court's review suggested a couple of racks that might work, you could rig up some clip on splash guards mounted on the downtube and under a rear rack. As for another Voltbike model, the Elegant has those accessories and a chain guard and uses a rear Bafang hub motor, it has a throttle but it would be very easy to simply unplug and remove it from the handlebar, voila your ebike is now a Class 1 pedelec. There's a Surface 604 dealer in Calgary, the Colt or Rook models also use Bafang rear hub motors, they must remove the throttle because the owner in this video says the ebikes they sell are pedelec only no throttle to comply with Calgary city bylaws. I live in the US and have a Bafang BBS01 mid-drive kit motor that I use as a pedelec, I simply left off the throttle and it came with a plastic blank that covers the connector or you could use duct tape or silicone.

PCDoctorUSA
2 weeks ago

Is this even possible in the US at the moment? Unlike Asia and Europe where bikes are actually seen as a legitimate means of transportation most of what I've seen in the States is that biking is seen more as a recreational activity with only a tiny number (relatively speaking) of users. This isn't just limited to ebikes, when I ride a bike in my small town for every 5 persons who actually seem to be using their bikes to go to the market or work or whatever there seem to be 15 bikers riding high-end road bikes with the spandex getup which I just can't see being apoted by non-entusiasts. Even in places like Washington DC and Portland that are seen as super-bike friendly the number of bikers you see are a very small number compared to car users. So long as gas costs are so low here and the use of cars so high what little infrastructure there is for bikes seems to be, at best, an afterthought. Hopefully I'm totally wrong but seeing how the bikes that are talked about the most are high priced, very top of the line bikes it seems that the bike makers are looking to become the next Ferrari and not too concerned about building the next Toyota Corolla.
My apologies for the very late response, but I just came across this thread today. I completely agree with your observations. I had to travel to Portland a couple of months ago on business and it was my first time to the area. As a daily bike commuter in Honolulu (very pro-car here), I was excited to see the City's bike infrastructure that I've read about and seen videos of on YouTube, so you can imagine my disappointment to see very few cyclists actually using it. While the infrastructure needs to be in place to allow bicycle commuting to flourish, there also needs to be a welcoming spirit from those bicycle purists who see ebikes as nothing more than another form of mopeds to be banned from bike lanes. That's the sentiment here from the President of the Hawaii Bicycling League. Then there's the problem of bike theft. I wouldn't consider for a second of commuting on my non-ebike in Honolulu if I couldn't keep it in my work cubicle. If I had to lock it outside it would be gone before I got to my desk. If I change jobs, one of my questions will be, "Is there a secure place to keep my bike?" Cities need to look at secure bike facilities like they have in Japan to encourage more bike use whether ebike or not. A lot of things to consider, and it takes leaders with the vision, passion and real guts to move forward.

Over50
3 weeks ago

All pleasure riding only, including my Erie Canal transit trip back in October. Love the bike, wondering if I can do 4000 next year...To Over 50, just a note re my experiences getting my wife interested. We made the mistake of getting too heavy a bike for her, a Pedego City Commuter at 62 pounds. While she liked it in theory, in practice it is just too much and intimidates her, especially after it tipped over on her when she tried to dismount on a small uphill...

I forgot to add that one of my 2018 goals is to try some weekend bike touring perhaps in Ontario.

I get what you're saying on the bike weight. Maybe me buying the GSD is kind of like Homer Simpson buying Marge a bowling ball for Christmas but: I figure that is a big plus of the GSD (one size fits all). And I'll definitely be using if for grocery and Home Depot runs. Yes, the GSD is really heavy at about 70 pounds but I'm hoping with small wheels that she wont have any tipping or dismount issues. One of our weekend routines is to ride our bikes somewhere for lunch and then on the way home load them up with groceries. She currently rides a Tern with 24 inch wheels. So I'll definitely have to carry the bike in/out for use but I'm hoping she takes to it for the usual weekend riding we do and as well provide a good option for a weekend tour. If she doesn't like it I was previously considering a Faraday for her which I would reconsider.

Saratoga Dave
3 weeks ago

3001 miles on my Trek xm700+ since I bought it in late May, another 200 or so on the bike it replaced before that. The Trek was sitting at 2987 until the other day when we got a nice little weather window of about 20 degrees and some sun, so I got to break that 3000 mile mark.

All pleasure riding only, including my Erie Canal transit trip back in October. Love the bike, wondering if I can do 4000 next year.

To Over 50, just a note re my experiences getting my wife interested. We made the mistake of getting too heavy a bike for her, a Pedego City Commuter at 62 pounds. While she liked it in theory, in practice it is just too much and intimidates her, especially after it tipped over on her when she tried to dismount on a small uphill. When I can actually get her out on it, she enjoys it after a few miles, but after almost a year and a half, it still has less than 300 miles on it. I’m thinking about finding her the lightest, most maneuverable bike I can come up with next spring and seeing if she likes that... I’d love to ride more with her.

Best to all, especially the regulars that have been my virtual biking group companions the past year and a half.

e-boy
1 month ago

OHM City Comfortable Commuter
https://ohmcycles.com/e-bikes/city/

Paul Cavasino
1 month ago

Today I went to the local Pedego shop and rode the City Commuter and the Interceptor. I wanted to ride the Platinum Interceptor as well, but they said that they didn't carry that, though they could order it for me. That was kinda disappointing because I wanted to try an ebike with hydraulic brakes and compare them to the normal disc ones.

Maybe because it was my first time on an ebike but I was rather nervous at first due to the speed but also neither bike felt like it had stopping power. I was struggling to stay still on a hill and wound up falling by accident (at walking speeds). At the end of the hour period I did feel alot better but just disappointed about the brakes. Or maybe it was totally normal.

This could be due to a few reasons:

Haven't ridden a bike in a while (though this was on the second bike at around 40 minutes into riding)
I test rode the bikes that they use for rental so they were a little beat up.

TL;DR

I couldn't try a bike with hydraulic breaks and i wanted to see if anyone felt that it was worth it. If it is then I will probably wind up buying the Juiced CrossCurrent S since that has the hydraulic breaks and it has a torque sensor (which i couldn't test out) although i'm taking a risk since the forums seem to have mixed feelings about the quality and service of the CCS. If normal brakes are fine then I will just by the Pedego City Commuter since I can take it to the local shop for maintenance and issues.

Thanks!
Yes,...We own 2 Pedegos, his & hers,...( City Commuter & Step thru-Interceptor),...& Have Immensely Enjoyed Our Biking Adventures for 2 Years Now !! GO PEDEGO,...they're rated one of the most reliable EBIKES out there !!

JohnT
1 month ago

Big news! I’m at our Pedego dealer meeting this week, and we were introduced to a few interesting new models! I’m not going to get into details, but I thought people would be interested in a quick overview. I’m going from my notes and from memory, so don’t be surprised if I get something wrong.

“Elevate” - A full suspension eMTB with Shimano Steps mid-drive, and plus size knobby tires. Class 1, pedal assist only, no throttle.

“Conveyer” - A solid street ride with a Brose mid-drive, Gates carbon belt drive (Conveyer belt, get it?), Shimano Nexus 8 IGH, and plus size street tires. No chain and no derailleur! Class 1, PA only, no throttle.

City Commuter Mid-Drive - Basically what I said, it’s a City Commuter with a mid-drive. The interesting thing is that it has a throttle, but it only activates while the pedals are moving. Like all City Commuters, it has PA. I’m not sure whether this makes it Class 1 or 2.

City Commuter Black Edition - This upgrades the regular City Commuter similarly to how the Platinum Edition upgrades the Interceptor. This means front suspension, torque sensing pedal assist, hydraulic disc brakes, and Shimano SLX for smooth shifting. The trim is blacked out.

Dual Motor Stretch - The Stretch is our cargo bike. In this version, a unique controller splits power variably between a torque wound rear motor and a speed wound front motor, resulting in both more torque and better efficiency while keeping the total power under 750w!

Another exciting development is that we’re going to be integrating some “smart” technology into our bikes. I’m not sure which are are going to be available when, so I won’t discuss them today, but at least one model will have built in GPS for anti-theft and navigation!

Most of this is available now, and some will be available soon. I can’t wait to see Court review the new bikes!

Paul Cavasino
1 month ago

My 2015 PEDEGO City Commuter is The Most fun on 2 Wheels !!

1/4
Paul Cavasino
1 month ago

My City commuter & Her step thru Interceptor have had the Plastic Battery sleeves crack @ Various points along the Mid-seam & the Screw nodules in the casing actually breaking apart. The problem was initially noticed while riding along & Hearing a "Slapping" Noise coming from the back Of the bike. Upon closer examination I Stooped down & jiggled the Battery in an up & down motion when I noticed that the seam in the casing actually separated. That was causing the "Plastic Slapping Noise". My remedy was to Connect 2 Medium length ZIP TIES together, loop them around the Back of the casing & Draw it tight !! In Her case I additionally cut & taped along the seams on both sides of the casing with "Gaffers Tape". So far, so good until I decide to call Pedego Tech. Dept & see if they can send us another Battery Casing for each Bike.

John from Connecticut
1 month ago

I just wanted to chime in, I asked which Bike advice on the forum and for all sorts of gibberish advice telling me I had to spend thousands of dollars on an to get anything decent to ride around town as a commuter. I've come to find out that total rubbish. I bought a used 2017 Magnum MI5 with 200 miles on it for $625. Original MSRP on the bike is $1,700. I've ridden this bike around rides great does everything I needed to do. I recently ran across a guy who has a 2017 Ancheer that is basically the exact same specs as my bike MSRP under $800.

If you're not doing some heavy-duty off-road racing these name brand bikes are total waste of money.

My bike the Juiced bike all made at the same Factory in the same city in China as the Ancheer.

I hear all the bikes knobs talk about who's going to put your bike together or where you going to get a replacement battery half these outfits can't get parts from the quote unquote manufacturers as they all seem to be waiting for the shipment to come in the container from China.

Then I hear about the warranty my bike has 200 miles on it over the course of a year not a single problem I took it in for a tune-up batteries is in fine shape.

Then I looked at the battery and it's made by a battery supplier who you can buy the battery from on Alibaba.

Seems like all the guys on this form like to hang out in there locally-owned bike shop to shoot the stuff.

I would have been pissed had I paid full price for the bike I bought knowing I could have bought direct from China for half the cost.

Don't fall for all the bull malarkey on the site save yourself a ton of money and buy it online.

Hello Fred,
I believe your initial post was a request for info from the members of this forum on the selection of an e-bike. To that end members respectfully
responded with thoughts, opinions and their personal e-bike experiences.

After reading your reply it became very apparent that your position differs significantly from the members that took the to time to
pass along what they've experienced and where they stand....I completely agree with your right to have an 'opposing view' from what was presented.

While I support that right to reject the opinions presented, I completely and strongly oppose that no member ever should
be allowed to rant in the manor as seen in the following quotes.....

"I hear all the bikes knobs talk about who's going to put your bike together..."

"Seems like all the guys on this form like to hang out in there locally-owned bike shop to shoot the stuff."

"I would have been pissed had I paid full price for the bike I bought knowing I could have bought direct from China for half the cost."

"Don't fall for all the bull malarkey on the site save yourself a ton of money and buy it online. "

I take offense to anyone telling me how to send my money.... It's my money, I earned. I know what is important to me and
and I know best how to spend my money. I know what brings me great joy in my cycling endeavor. I found that joy in a 15 minute test ride
on a Trek XM700+ at my local bike shop. I bought the XM700+ on the spot....It's tough to test ride over the Internet.

As for spending my money, do I think the $3,500 I spent on the Trek XM700+ was worth it...every penny and would I do it again
if I could ? Yes and I did....I bought a Trek Powerfly 7 . See I told you I knew how best to spend my money : )

I've always maintained that cycling, if done with genuine interest, drive and enthusiasm is a very personal endeavor.
It gets down to the rider and the bike.

I hope this was helpful,
John from CT

bob armani
1 month ago

I just wanted to chime in, I asked which Bike advice on the forum and for all sorts of gibberish advice telling me I had to spend thousands of dollars on an to get anything decent to ride around town as a commuter. I've come to find out that total rubbish. I bought a used 2017 Magnum MI5 with 200 miles on it for $625. Original MSRP on the bike is $1,700. I've ridden this bike around rides great does everything I needed to do. I recently ran across a guy who has a 2017 Ancheer that is basically the exact same specs as my bike MSRP under $800.

If you're not doing some heavy-duty off-road racing these name brand bikes are total waste of money.

My bike the Juiced bike all made at the same Factory in the same city in China as the Ancheer.

I hear all the bikes knobs talk about who's going to put your bike together or where you going to get a replacement battery half these outfits can't get parts from the quote unquote manufacturers as they all seem to be waiting for the shipment to come in the container from China.

Then I hear about the warranty my bike has 200 miles on it over the course of a year not a single problem I took it in for a tune-up batteries is in fine shape.

Then I looked at the battery and it's made by a battery supplier who you can buy the battery from on Alibaba.

Seems like all the guys on this form like to hang out in there locally-owned bike shop to shoot the stuff.

I would have been pissed had I paid full price for the bike I bought knowing I could have bought direct from China for half the cost.

Don't fall for all the bull malarkey on the site save yourself a ton of money and buy it online.

Fred-Do not listen to anyone-go with your own instincts and research and find out what bike best suits your needs and spend within your budget. There are plenty of great ebikes out there for under $1000 dollars that will work just fine as long as you do not abuse it and beat on it. I purchased a brand new ebike for $450.00 (entry level) but it works fantastic as a second commuter ebike. Its all about your personal needs and preferences IMHO! Ride safe!

FredE
1 month ago

I just wanted to chime in, I asked which Bike advice on the forum and for all sorts of gibberish advice telling me I had to spend thousands of dollars on an to get anything decent to ride around town as a commuter. I've come to find out that total rubbish. I bought a used 2017 Magnum MI5 with 200 miles on it for $625. Original MSRP on the bike is $1,700. I've ridden this bike around rides great does everything I needed to do. I recently ran across a guy who has a 2017 Ancheer that is basically the exact same specs as my bike MSRP under $800.

If you're not doing some heavy-duty off-road racing these name brand bikes are total waste of money.

My bike the Juiced bike all made at the same Factory in the same city in China as the Ancheer.

I hear all the bikes knobs talk about who's going to put your bike together or where you going to get a replacement battery half these outfits can't get parts from the quote unquote manufacturers as they all seem to be waiting for the shipment to come in the container from China.

Then I hear about the warranty my bike has 200 miles on it over the course of a year not a single problem I took it in for a tune-up batteries is in fine shape.

Then I looked at the battery and it's made by a battery supplier who you can buy the battery from on Alibaba.

Seems like all the guys on this form like to hang out in there locally-owned bike shop to shoot the stuff.

I would have been pissed had I paid full price for the bike I bought knowing I could have bought direct from China for half the cost.

Don't fall for all the bull malarkey on the site save yourself a ton of money and buy it online.

Ike582
2 months ago

My Turbo Vado 6.0 arrived at my LBS in Essex, CT, on November 14th. Weather hasn't been great to take it for a ride. I love road bikes and ride an S-Works Roubaix SRAM eTap. Wife bought a Pedego City Commuter last Summer and loves it. Figured I get an eBike to ride with her. As a Specialized fan, I went for the new Turbo Vado 6.0 for features, setup and quality.

Great pics, thanks for sharing! Hope you get some mild weather before Winter sets in. It's been wet and cold in Chicago, temps in the 30's so not much opportunity for me to use the 6.0 since I received it.

Nducoff
2 months ago

My Turbo Vado 6.0 arrived at my LBS in Essex, CT, on November 14th. Weather hasn't been great to take it for a ride. I love road bikes and ride an S-Works Roubaix SRAM eTap. Wife bought a Pedego City Commuter last Summer and loves it. Figured I get an eBike to ride with her. As a Specialized fan, I went for the new Turbo Vado 6.0 for features, setup and quality.

1/18
Dunbar
2 months ago

I see some 700C Como models for Europe but everything on the US webpage is listed with 650B wheels. Specialized may not have completely updated the US Como page yet.

There aren’t many 28mph upright city commuter bikes. I was considering Bulls but a Como 4.0 or 5.0 looks like a better spec’d bike for the money and Specialized dealer support has a much bigger footprint than your average e-bike brand.

Rooster
2 months ago

I've ridden my CCS with the 17.4 Ah battery/default tires around 700 miles now, almost all commuting 28.8 mi round trip (1h35m riding time) along 80% beach path/protected bike path and 20% paved roads with no recharge from work. Observations.

Good:

My coworkers are still amazed that I commute 4 out of 5 days a week such a distance on a bike.
Overall feeling of the bike is very solid and controllable. My wife who is not very confident on bikes in general was able to ride a mile at 18 MPH with confidence, probably due to the increased weight and low center of mass of the bike.
About half a mile of my commute is along a 40 MPH speed limit car street with a couple stop lights. At assist level 3/S with some effort or if I unlock the top speed, I'm able to cruise at 30 MPH which is high enough that car traffic hasn't gotten annoyed at yet for taking a lane.
When I'm tired riding home, I just go ahead and turn on the cruise control on the bike at a low speed (15-18 MPH) for a couple miles to relax.
It rained on Thursday and the fenders did a good job of keeping the water/dirt off of me.
Being on the beach path/protected bike lanes for most of my ride is a great commute, because a) it's really pretty and b) there are few enough other riders/pedestrians so I can wear headphones and listen to music, which wasn't the case on my previous city street bike commute. Also, very few people ride the beach path after 8:30PM, probably due to lack of power/lights, so I can take my time and just relax. Occasionally I see some wildlife!

Neutral:

In assist, I'm probably at 15% eco, 35% level 1, 35% level 2, 8% level 3, 7% level S usage.
I'm averaging somewhere between 15-20 Wh/mi depending on how eco I go (~19 MPH for the 15 Wh/mi, ~24 MPH for the 20 Wh/mi). If I'm using 80% of my pack at 20 Wh/mi, my theoretical range is 33 mi or so.

I think I need a bike fitting, as my hands sometimes cramp up and I sometimes lose sensation in my nether regions for a while after riding. I'm wearing gloves/bike shorts, so it must be my riding position or something.
I'm pumping the tires up about once a week to 60 psi. They're only probably losing 3-4 psi per week so I could probably wait longer. No flats so far!

Bad:

Range anxiety is real. Problem with the 33 mi range is that I have some steep hills at the end of my ride home so I like to save some voltage for them. Higher voltage = better: at 700 watts on these hills, I'm huffing and puffing at 8 MPH, but at 900 watts, it's smooth sailing at 10 MPH. I also didn't realize that I often go out with coworkers after work so I put in an order with Juiced for an extra charger for work so I can roll to whatever restaurant/house we're going to instead of taking Lyft. Unfortunately they're sold out of regular chargers but customer service was able to place a special order for me.
Out of the box the front disk brake needed adjustment as did the derailleur. I've also got some unevenly pitched motor sound that happens about 50% of the time that I engage the motor. Not sure what's going on there.
At about 500 mi, I started getting front disk brake squeal (very loud) that comes and goes and some play in the chain (I think I need to regrease it).
It's unfortunate that the electric motor has to be turned on in order for you to use the front light of the bike. I know Tora said that he'd rather people always use the electric assist of the bike because otherwise it feels like a heavy bike, but if this is your only vehicle and you're trying to eke out some extra battery life for a later event (hills, event later that day), it's unsafe to ride with the bike off at night as you can't use the front light. Please add a "Mode 0" to the bike, even if it's disabled by default (have to turn it on in the options)!

Overall I'm very happy with the bike. I would've put about $375 into my car (at IRS rates) plus $144 of parking at this point, so the bike is about 25% done paying for itself, excluding the exercise I'm getting :).

If I were building a future perfect commuter bike for myself, I would use a totally internally geared + protected chain system to reduce the maintenance burden of the bike. If I could somehow protect the brakes too, that would be ideal.
You don't have to rely on juiced for a battery charger and I don't think it should effect the warranty as long as it is a 2 or 3 amp charger. It shouldn't effect the warranty anyway even up to 4 amp with the 17ah battery but you are better off with the slow charge but I would check with juiced. Of course they would rather you buy it from them but pretty much a charger is a charger given it has the right connectors. J.S. You may wanna make sure it's a 48v charger to. And for li ion

daniel58
2 months ago

I've ridden my CCS with the 17.4 Ah battery/default tires around 700 miles now, almost all commuting 28.8 mi round trip (1h35m riding time) along 80% beach path/protected bike path and 20% paved roads with no recharge from work. Observations.

Good:

My coworkers are still amazed that I commute 4 out of 5 days a week such a distance on a bike.
Overall feeling of the bike is very solid and controllable. My wife who is not very confident on bikes in general was able to ride a mile at 18 MPH with confidence, probably due to the increased weight and low center of mass of the bike.
About half a mile of my commute is along a 40 MPH speed limit car street with a couple stop lights. At assist level 3/S with some effort or if I unlock the top speed, I'm able to cruise at 30 MPH which is high enough that car traffic hasn't gotten annoyed at yet for taking a lane.
When I'm tired riding home, I just go ahead and turn on the cruise control on the bike at a low speed (15-18 MPH) for a couple miles to relax.
It rained on Thursday and the fenders did a good job of keeping the water/dirt off of me.
Being on the beach path/protected bike lanes for most of my ride is a great commute, because a) it's really pretty and b) there are few enough other riders/pedestrians so I can wear headphones and listen to music, which wasn't the case on my previous city street bike commute. Also, very few people ride the beach path after 8:30PM, probably due to lack of power/lights, so I can take my time and just relax. Occasionally I see some wildlife!

Neutral:

In assist, I'm probably at 15% eco, 35% level 1, 35% level 2, 8% level 3, 7% level S usage.
I'm averaging somewhere between 15-20 Wh/mi depending on how eco I go (~19 MPH for the 15 Wh/mi, ~24 MPH for the 20 Wh/mi). If I'm using 80% of my pack at 20 Wh/mi, my theoretical range is 33 mi or so.

I think I need a bike fitting, as my hands sometimes cramp up and I sometimes lose sensation in my nether regions for a while after riding. I'm wearing gloves/bike shorts, so it must be my riding position or something.
I'm pumping the tires up about once a week to 60 psi. They're only probably losing 3-4 psi per week so I could probably wait longer. No flats so far!

Bad:

Range anxiety is real. Problem with the 33 mi range is that I have some steep hills at the end of my ride home so I like to save some voltage for them. Higher voltage = better: at 700 watts on these hills, I'm huffing and puffing at 8 MPH, but at 900 watts, it's smooth sailing at 10 MPH. I also didn't realize that I often go out with coworkers after work so I put in an order with Juiced for an extra charger for work so I can roll to whatever restaurant/house we're going to instead of taking Lyft. Unfortunately they're sold out of regular chargers but customer service was able to place a special order for me.
Out of the box the front disk brake needed adjustment as did the derailleur. I've also got some unevenly pitched motor sound that happens about 50% of the time that I engage the motor. Not sure what's going on there.
At about 500 mi, I started getting front disk brake squeal (very loud) that comes and goes and some play in the chain (I think I need to regrease it).
It's unfortunate that the electric motor has to be turned on in order for you to use the front light of the bike. I know Tora said that he'd rather people always use the electric assist of the bike because otherwise it feels like a heavy bike, but if this is your only vehicle and you're trying to eke out some extra battery life for a later event (hills, event later that day), it's unsafe to ride with the bike off at night as you can't use the front light. Please add a "Mode 0" to the bike, even if it's disabled by default (have to turn it on in the options)!

Overall I'm very happy with the bike. I would've put about $375 into my car (at IRS rates) plus $144 of parking at this point, so the bike is about 25% done paying for itself, excluding the exercise I'm getting :).

If I were building a future perfect commuter bike for myself, I would use a totally internally geared + protected chain system to reduce the maintenance burden of the bike. If I could somehow protect the brakes too, that would be ideal.

Thanks for taking the time and effort to reply and respond with useful CCS user feedback in particular; the feeling of sure footedness is largely primarily due to the somewhat unusual choice for bike frame geometry for the rear chainstays; its length is much shorter than average for a typical bike but that results in a very responsive and solid stable sure footed tracking bike; which feels very good while one is biking in unusual or new biking situations; its also good to hear that this CCS bike is particularly good for kicking back at the end of a long workday once one has set up cruise control at a conservative safe 12mph or so and plugged in some spotify mood lifting music to relax to on the way home without paying to much attention to the road while biking except relaxing and letting the cares of the work day ebb away;

its good to get back some "in the field" reports on actual battery capacity while in use; if one typically rides with 17ah lithium ion battery capacity at pedelac assist level 3 one can expect to get about a maximum mileage of about thirty five miles; which is I guess is a much more realistic evaluation to keep in mind if one is using the CCS to go on longer weekend bicycle touring jaunts; it might actually be worth it to prudently get a spare seventeen amp hour lithium ion battery for the trip back home; in order so that one is not unexpectedly stranded or have a very long bicycle ride home using only pedal power; since it would seem ones lithium ion battery does not actually last that long at all at 15mph one cannot expect it to last much more than about two hours biking going towards one destination; so one would definitely need a spare lithium ion battery pack to take one back home;

though the seventeen amp hour lithium ion batteries are a bit on the expensive side at $1,000 apiece; one that the CCS bike comes with if one upgrades to 17ah lithium ion battery from 12.8ah lithium ion battery capacity for an extra $300; the second spare 17ah lithium ion battery would cost a $1,000; so that would be about; $2,000 total combined for two 17ah lithium ion battery pack for 34ah total lithium ion battery pack capacity; the CCS bike itself costs about $700 with about an additional $300 for the total combined package of torque sensor, hydraulic disk brake upgrade, two bike fenders, powerful led headlight; for about $1,000 for the CCS bike itself without any exclusive without any lithium ion batteries at all; though its not a bad cost breakout as far as electric bikes cost breakdown goes; its just about average and nothing to write home about in reality at the end of the day;

now on the unevenly pitched motor sound that happens about 50% of the time that I engage the motor; that is very likely to be coming from the internals of the gear hub motor itself; typically the internal gear hub motor comes packed very lightly with lubricating white lithium grease that is rather easily flung off due to the massive typical speeds of the internal gearing found inside such typical electric hub motors; its quite easy to take apart the electric hub motor and pack it full with the high viscosity red color dyed heavy duty heat and moisture resistant rated molybdenum grease which is highly resistant to be flung off at any speed; now afterwards one should not hear any noise at all coming from the electric hub motor once it has been fully packed out with the red molybdenum grease packing;

but otherwise I am very glad to hear you are putting the CCS bike to good use with the daily racking up the cycling mileage and getting in some decent cycling mileage totals enjoying the CCS e-biking experiences and sharing that with those who were wondering what it was and/or might be like to own one for themselves; and then trying to decide if it is worth it ultimately for ones given e-biking application scenario; as their are an almost bewildering array of quite ponderous amount of good choices out their in the e-biking community to consider and weigh to see if one is going to actually get the amount of use out of it that they expect their e-bike to provide them in their expected scope and range of enjoyment that their e-biking experiences will hopefully provide them over the longer term use application.

mal robot
2 months ago

I've ridden my CCS with the 17.4 Ah battery/default tires around 700 miles now, almost all commuting 28.8 mi round trip (1h35m riding time) along 80% beach path/protected bike path and 20% paved roads with no recharge from work. Observations.

Good:

My coworkers are still amazed that I commute 4 out of 5 days a week such a distance on a bike.
Overall feeling of the bike is very solid and controllable. My wife who is not very confident on bikes in general was able to ride a mile at 18 MPH with confidence, probably due to the increased weight and low center of mass of the bike.
About half a mile of my commute is along a 40 MPH speed limit car street with a couple stop lights. At assist level 3/S with some effort or if I unlock the top speed, I'm able to cruise at 30 MPH which is high enough that car traffic hasn't gotten annoyed at yet for taking a lane.
When I'm tired riding home, I just go ahead and turn on the cruise control on the bike at a low speed (15-18 MPH) for a couple miles to relax.
It rained on Thursday and the fenders did a good job of keeping the water/dirt off of me.
Being on the beach path/protected bike lanes for most of my ride is a great commute, because a) it's really pretty and b) there are few enough other riders/pedestrians so I can wear headphones and listen to music, which wasn't the case on my previous city street bike commute. Also, very few people ride the beach path after 8:30PM, probably due to lack of power/lights, so I can take my time and just relax. Occasionally I see some wildlife!

Neutral:

In assist, I'm probably at 15% eco, 35% level 1, 35% level 2, 8% level 3, 7% level S usage.
I'm averaging somewhere between 15-20 Wh/mi depending on how eco I go (~19 MPH for the 15 Wh/mi, ~24 MPH for the 20 Wh/mi). If I'm using 80% of my pack at 20 Wh/mi, my theoretical range is 33 mi or so.

I think I need a bike fitting, as my hands sometimes cramp up and I sometimes lose sensation in my nether regions for a while after riding. I'm wearing gloves/bike shorts, so it must be my riding position or something.
I'm pumping the tires up about once a week to 60 psi. They're only probably losing 3-4 psi per week so I could probably wait longer. No flats so far!

Bad:

Range anxiety is real. Problem with the 33 mi range is that I have some steep hills at the end of my ride home so I like to save some voltage for them. Higher voltage = better: at 700 watts on these hills, I'm huffing and puffing at 8 MPH, but at 900 watts, it's smooth sailing at 10 MPH. I also didn't realize that I often go out with coworkers after work so I put in an order with Juiced for an extra charger for work so I can roll to whatever restaurant/house we're going to instead of taking Lyft. Unfortunately they're sold out of regular chargers but customer service was able to place a special order for me.
Out of the box the front disk brake needed adjustment as did the derailleur. I've also got some unevenly pitched motor sound that happens about 50% of the time that I engage the motor. Not sure what's going on there.
At about 500 mi, I started getting front disk brake squeal (very loud) that comes and goes and some play in the chain (I think I need to regrease it).
It's unfortunate that the electric motor has to be turned on in order for you to use the front light of the bike. I know Tora said that he'd rather people always use the electric assist of the bike because otherwise it feels like a heavy bike, but if this is your only vehicle and you're trying to eke out some extra battery life for a later event (hills, event later that day), it's unsafe to ride with the bike off at night as you can't use the front light. Please add a "Mode 0" to the bike, even if it's disabled by default (have to turn it on in the options)!

Overall I'm very happy with the bike. I would've put about $375 into my car (at IRS rates) plus $144 of parking at this point, so the bike is about 25% done paying for itself, excluding the exercise I'm getting :).

If I were building a future perfect commuter bike for myself, I would use a totally internally geared + protected chain system to reduce the maintenance burden of the bike. If I could somehow protect the brakes too, that would be ideal.

PCDoctorUSA
2 months ago

Hi, I just wanted to write a little non professional review of the E-Glide ST. This is my first E-bike and my decision was based on price, components compared to comparable priced E-bikes, and the two reviews done by EBR. One on the ST and also one on Dave and the E-Glide outfit in Santa Monica.

I received the bike overnight Fedex and it was pretty simple putting it together as long as you have some allen wrenches and a crescent wrench. I paid an additional 75.00 for the Schwable Marathon Mondial tires and I also received the Maxi Ardent off road tires that where originally on the bike. I wanted a more street orientated tire and I love the highly reflective sidewalls on the Mondials.

Since I received the ST on May 9th I've gone on 4 rides, all of them rides I could not have done on my Giant 15 speed bike due to distance, elevation, and today, heat. I'm 57 years old and I just don't have the endurance I once had. The bike is 52 lbs which is not that heavy for an E-bike and with the electric pedaling assist the additional weight just disappears. I also have a bag I hang on the rack that I keep a igloo cooler full of ice and drinks and don't even think of having to carry the extra weight.

The bike is a joy to ride. I can drive farther now then I could if I was 15 years younger on a standard bike. The cadence assisted power is great but since I never drove a torque assist bike or a mid-drive motor I don't have anything to compare it to. The rear hub drive with the cadence sensor works very well.

Now my three little nitpicks.

(1) The controller speedometer is exaggerated and so then is the odometer. I added my Garmin E-Trex to determine the actual speed. This is something I have run across on both my Suzuki motorcycle and Honda scooter. I don’t know why manufacturers of vehicles do that accept maybe due to liability issues. Today I changed the wheel size on the controller to 26 inch and that brought it closer to the actual speed. Next time I ride I’ll try to reset it to 24 inches and see what happens.

(2) The steering stem is not adjustable. The bike is comfortable right out of the box but being a little older I would like a little more relax position with the handlebars. The ST is designed to handle dirt roads so the riding position is a little more aggressive then a comfort bike. I would like the ability to move the bars a little up and back for my taste. The problem with the control cables are you do not have a lot of extra length to work with. Same as regular bicycles and motorcycles. I think if I could move the bars and inch up and inch back it would work for me. Something you might want to consider on your purchase is what type of riding you will be doing. I also want to point out I purchased the 21 inch frame since I’m 6’ 1” and have a 32 inch inseam.

(3) The gear ratio seems like it should be higher to me. The power assist has 5 levels and I have kept it in normal which there are also eco and power modes. Most of my riding I seem to be in 9th and 10th gear. With the power assist even set on level 1 I don’t seem to use the lower gears. I have to say in level 3 in 10th gear I’m pedaling at 18 mph. Sometime I get to the point where I’m cruising and I wish I had another gear or an overdrive. I have to pedal very fast when I’m going like 24 mph. Yes, depending on the road elevation decline you can go a good clip! Once again it may be a safety thing so you are limited on how fast you can get the bike up to. The lower gears would come in handy if you all of a sudden did not have the electric assist to get you home. I seem to feel I would like to pedal a little more leisurely at 18-20 mph.

So my early impression is I got a great bike for the price and it has opened up a whole new world of riding abilities. I'm just starting out on E-bikes but now I got my foot in the door and can start my learning curve. I was also looking at the Rad City by Rad Power as my 2nd choice and if you check out this EBR site there are a lot of great bikes out there to fit your budget. I did not have to pay any sales tax on the bike being out of state so the bike was 1700.00, tire upgrade 75.00 and overnight shipping 175.00 for a total purchase of 1950.00. I have two E-bike stores in my city and a comparable bike out the door would have been 3000.00.
Thanks for the great review. I'm looking for my first ebike, but am limited with my budget ceiling of $2k and a delivery disadvantage of being in Honolulu. Had planned on going with Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S, but the local ebike shop that was carrying Juiced Bikes has since stopped due to issues with getting replacement parts and poor communication with JB. I've also been following the JB forums, and JB seems to be experiencing some quality control issues that can accompany popular products in high demand. I figured it may be best to look elsewhere while they work out their issues. I also looked at Biktrix and Rad Bikes, but they want $400 to ship their bikes. That left 2 models from Voltbike on my list: Elegant and Yukon 750.

Both models fit comfortably within my budget, but I'm not a fan of Elegant's step-thru design. The Yukon 750 looks awesome, but some have commented it's not the best option for a commuter while others love it. If I go with the Yukon, I know that the first thing I need to change are those aggressive tires. Definitely not a good choice for 100% asphalt riding. I've also had my share of flats along my route, and changing out the tube on a fat tire bike sounds like a bear. Still, I've had good communication with Voltbike, they're a well-respected outfit, and they'll only charge me $120 to ship either bike to Honolulu.

The E-Glide ST definitely meets all my requirements and with only $175 for shipping I'm just under $2k. I just sent an email to E-Glide to confirm the shipping charge along with a couple of other questions. For 100% asphalt travels, I'm thinking of going with the Schwalbe Big Ben Plus tire upgrade. Your thoughts?

Over50
2 months ago

@Over50, Haibike was the first who put the Bosch first generation drive unit into the mountain bikes in 2011...

Thanks Wildtrak. I don't currently do any off-road riding but I'm city commuting on a Haibike XDuro 4.0 Trekking and a R&M Charger (Nuvinci speed pedelec). I'm thinking that if all goes well mid-2018 I'd like to upgrade one of those bikes for a dual-battery capacity commuter. It appears the Haibike Sduro Trekking 9.0 for 2018 is basically the same bike as the XDuro 4.0 (frame and components) but allows for dual-battery with their new rail system and in-tube design. I definitely have my eye on the Trekking 9.0 but I'm also attracted to the Moustache Samedi and XRoads models (hidden battery but not dual-battery). As for a speed pedelec choice I have my eyes on the New Charger by R&M and the Bulls full suspension commuter the Six50 TR Street. Also, I'm pretty certain I'm also going to buy the Tern GSD as a grocery hauler/wife's bike/day tripper. So 2 new bikes for 2018 is the plan: the Tern GSD and a commuter replacement bike (Haibike, R&M or Bulls most likely). For the German brands that sell Bosch powered commuter bikes in the USA, it looks like they use similar specs/components but do you have an opinion coming from Germany, about which brand is better in terms of overall quality, customer service/support and innovation?

Bosch eBike Systems
3 months ago

AUSTIN-BASED ROCKET ELECTRICS OPENS FIRST BOSCH-POWERED RIESE & MÜLLER ELECTRIC BIKE TEST CENTER AT 2ND STREET DISTRICT

Second Location Will Cater to Downtown Dwellers, Commuters, and Businesses

Austin, Texas (Oct. 25, 2017) – ROCKET ELECTRICS, Austin’s first all-electric bike retailer, is thrilled to announce today that it will open doors in downtown Austin on Thursday, Nov. 2, 2017, at 2nd Street District. The new store will specialize in some of the most technologically sophisticated pedal-assist electric bikes (e-bikes) on the market, Riese & Müller. Powered by Bosch drive systems and custom built to customer specification, these bikes are designed to provide an efficient, healthy, comfortable alternative to today’s car commuters.

Founded in 2011 by Nicole Zinn and John Dawson, Rocket Electrics has put tens of thousands of people on e-bikes. This new concept store is a result of an increased demand for commuter solutions into and around downtown Austin. “We opened Rocket Electrics to provide a truly viable and convenient commuter solution to people concerned about their contribution to the growing traffic problem,” said Nicole Zinn, Rocket Electrics cofounder. “We’ve seen firsthand how e-bikes can transform a once hesitant bike commuter into a passionate active transportation advocate. We’re excited to introduce the e-bike experience to downtown businesses and people of all cycling-confidence levels.”

Rocket Electrics will specialize in Riese & Müller e-bikes epowered by Bosch because they combine the best of technology and design, making them highly appealing to commuters who may otherwise resist switching from the comfort of a car to a bike. The Bosch eBike System components are derived from Bosch’s proven automotive and power tool technology, adhering to the company’s rigorous engineering and quality standards. The easy-to-use system seamlessly blends human power with the assistance of a quiet electric motor, enhancing the experience of cycling for transportation by flattening hills and allowing the rider to choose how much assistance they would like to have. “eBikes have helped transform European cities once dominated by vehicles to more livable, bike & pedestrian friendly communities,” said Claudia Wasko, GM for Bosch eBike Systems. “Austin is ripe for a similar transformation.”

In addition to having been awarded numerous international design and innovation awards, they are longer-range riding than a traditional e-bike (up to 100 miles), are easily locked to traditional bike racks, and are charged with a standard electrical outlet.

The e-bike market grew this year by 95% over 2016 and reflects people’s changing attitudes toward transportation solutions and e-bikes as tools. “Electric bikes are a serious transportation option for people of all ages and fitness levels because they remove some of the challenges, such as wind, heat, and hills, that often prevent the average person from embracing bike commuting,” said Robin Stallings, BikeTexas Executive Director. “Rocket Electrics has been leading the e-bike industry in Central Texas and we are excited to see them expand into downtown.”

Rocket Electrics will open to the public at 408 W. 2nd Street on Thursday, Nov. 2, 2017. The 1608 E. Riverside Dr. location will rebrand as Pedego Austin with a focus on value-priced, throttle-powered e-bikes and e-bike city tours.

About Rocket Electrics

Rocket Electrics is an innovative provider of electric bicycles for individuals, companies, and municipalities. Our scalable, green, on-demand transportation solutions make it possible to provide simple, efficient transportation that can reduce the number of vehicles on our roads and parking spaces needed. Electric bikes bridge the gap between mass transit and the need for on-demand personal mobility. Founded in 2011, Austin, Texas-based Rocket wants to transform multi-modal transportation networks to include electric two-wheeled transportation options, encouraging people to “ride a Rocket”. Visit www.rocketelectrics.com for more information.

About Bosch eBike Systems

A new generation of bikes is taking town and country by storm and is already a part of everyday life. eBikes are a modern means of transport for modern people: people in a hurry and people who prefer to take it easy, the fit and the comfort lovers, commuters and pleasure cyclists and, of course, young and old. The tailwind of technology-leading eBikes made by what are already more than 70 leading brands in Europe is powered by components that Bosch is developing to perfection. The Bosch portfolio ranges from the highly efficient drive unit (motor and gearbox) and high-quality batteries to a smart on-board and cycle computer that can be used intuitively. Perfect coordination of components holds the key to typical Bosch performance in terms of both comfort and efficiency.

Like other Bosch products, the eBike systems benefit from the Bosch Group’s technology and production know-how. From conception and engineering to manufacturing, marketing and after-sales service, Bosch eBike Systems constantly set new standards for the eBike industry. The Bosch Group’s experience in the areas of electric motors, sensor technology, displays and lithium-ion batteries ensures that Bosch eBike systems use technology that is invented for life and that eBike users have their fun.

For more information please visit www.bosch-ebike.com

###

jml
3 months ago

The Pedego City Commuter was a great choice! We did a 52 mile ride together this week! I don't think his recently replaced knees would have been able to keep up without it!

Thank you all for the insight and help!

1/1
JayVee
3 months ago

25 km
Also, anyone else think that rear cassette is a little odd for a commuter style of e-bike? Why would one a large climbing ring that large on a city commuter with a powerful pedelec motor? I barely ever use the largest one on mine, and it's much smaller than that. In fact, I had to increase the size of my front ring because I was finding the gear spacing was too tight and shifting all the time was getting annoying.

Because it's designed for use in a country that's located in the heart of the Alps...

itsaulgoodman
3 months ago

Also, anyone else think that rear cassette is a little odd for a commuter style of e-bike? Why would one a large climbing ring that large on a city commuter with a powerful pedelec motor? I barely ever use the largest one on mine, and it's much smaller than that. In fact, I had to increase the size of my front ring because I was finding the gear spacing was too tight and shifting all the time was getting annoying.

woodland tomb
5 months ago

Does this ship to the uk? Can't find it anywhere :(

Bigwingrider1800
5 months ago

Let me ask ya bud, do all geared motors free wheel (coasting) or are you moving the gears if the battery goes dead.

Waqar Khan
6 months ago

the front clock water proof, with the starter button?

Mike Turco
9 months ago

I have a 2016 48/14 city commuter and get only 23 mile range.

Iain Hendry
9 months ago

Hi there,

Can't thank you enough for your videos. My husband an I have probably watched 50 of them over the past few weeks! Yesterday, we settled on this bike, the City Commuter, thanks to your videos helping us dial in on what type of assist bike we wanted to get (and several test rides)!

Greetings from Canada,

-Iain

The Pirate
1 year ago

Cool bike, decent review except for the obsessive, superfluous and uncontrolled use of the word "like." Otherwise, very articulate and informative - thank you.

Frank Westgate
1 year ago

the weight limit for these bikes?  saying person size .. weight limit

geoffrey welsby
1 year ago

can I ask. if you were getting an ebike which one would you choose..

Ken Johnson
2 years ago

You convinced me to get my first Pedego City Commuter and I think it's time to get a new one with all the upgrades.

Florida Scot
2 years ago

+Ken Johnson... I've got 6500 miles on mine black 2014 with big apple tire upgrade, these bikes are far from perfect but they work & are quicker .I couldnt go back to 20 MPH bikes sometimes I have to out run the pit bulls, lol

John Migliore
2 years ago

I would like to see you employ an audible warning as you approach slower moving traffic. Like using the bell, or calling out: "Passing on your left."

Lynell A
2 years ago

Amazing video. Im getting one now!

Pablo Taboada
3 years ago

Nice job!  really nice!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Pablo Taboada Hey, thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I've got some new camera stuff and am working to be very thorough and make the videos more comprehensive :D

Christ devera
3 years ago

Its an awesome bike but i just cant afford it

Peacemaker Boy J-RA
3 weeks ago

I Bought a Pedego Stretch last month! Best Decision of my Life. It's my Baby. It's So Much Fun, and so Durable. You Can afford it. As long as your willing to work hard, and save up for one. anyone can get a Pedego Ebike. They are very Reliable & awesome. well I Hope you found the right Ebike for you. Peace. :) #KeepOnCycling

Juan Castro
3 years ago

+kris devera buy a used one and save 30% ! I think I am going to get one of this... in my opinion, a world class electric bike :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+kris devera Yeah, Pedego is an upper mid-priced bike. They seem more affordable now that Haibike, Felt and Specialized are selling for $4K+ but they still aren't cheap. Here's a list of some lower priced options: http://electricbikereview.com/tag/affordable/

cody1b
3 years ago

Court, I have a Citizen Tokyo folding bike with 16 inch tires. I really want to convert it but uncertain if I should go with the 8fun mid drive or leaf bike hub motor. Any recommendations or suggestions?

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+cody1b Hmm... I'd go for a basic 250 watt geared rear motor kit (or front) to just keep it light and use a smaller battery as well. One good option might be the LEED PBJ (they sell a bunch of different battery options): http://electricbikereview.com/leed/pocket-bike-juice/ and for a bit more Dillenger also makes some good kits. It really depends on how you want to mount the battery to your frame and how much you weigh, how far you want to go etc. The 8Fun BBS02 mid-drive is a great kit but might be difficult to fit on a folder. Honestly, adding a rear rack with a simple battery might be best here or you could get a premade folding ebike like the e-Joe Epik: http://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/epik-lite/

Fayez Patel
3 years ago

I can do about 60 miles/day on a carbon road bike in about 5hrs, so 12mph avg speed.  With a lot less effort, I could probably do the same thing on an electric bike.  30-60 miles range for the 48volts 15amp hours 500watt geared motor version, even with the extra 60lb weight of the bike.  I could probably even do it quicker, since max speed is 20mph.  That's not calculating rider weight, terrain, weather, etc.

I just don't know if, compared to my carbon bike, this is what I want: A slighty more costly and heavy e-bike that needs battery replacement every few years and is going to be outdated with drastically better technology soon.

Maybe this is similar to when people used horses and the automobile was introduced. Eventually it become more efficient (cost/convenience), and we accepted the automobile as the standard means of transportation, but at what cost to the environment? The batteries on these bikes have a really destructive impact on our environment, but maybe not as bad as driving alone in a Hummer.

Great reviews nonetheless!! Detailed and great audio/visuals, how do you flip the camera around while riding?

Dooneegomaface Ifinnaspring
5 months ago

If you're looking to reduce your carbon footprint than simply don't reproduce. Humans are a plague to this planet. I can do 60 miles a day on a traditional bike as well if I wanted to do nothing more than eat, sleep, stretch and ease aches and pains 24/7. That is completely impractical though. Just go live off the grid.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Fayez Patel I like the sound of that and appreciate your clarifications about batteries, recycling and electricity generation sources :)

Fayez Patel
3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com I wasn't seriously comparing an e-bike to a Hummer (even with 7 passengers). I just wanted to bring to light that there is an ecological impact with lithium-ion batteries (mining, processing, recharging (most of US is still on fossil fuels) and disposing (even with recycling programs)). But I'm looking forward to improvements in battery technology.

It would be better I think if there were lighter e-bikes with on demand power, days I don't need the battery I can just take it off, or if I'm hauling a heavy trailer with my bike I could add more power. The average carbon bike with tires and everything is about 9kg. Add 3kg for FlyKly. Add 1kg for Litelok bike lock. Total 13kg. :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Fayez Patel "but maybe not as bad as driving alone in a Hummer" not by a long shot... Think about forging all of that extra metal, plastic and foam then shipping that giant car to a dealer and ultimately driving with gasoline that is also mined from a remote location, refined and then delivered (with big trucks) to then be burned locally, emitting toxic fumes that also create health issues. By contrast, an ebike uses a fraction of the materials, does not pollute locally and can use energy that is generated with solar, wind or other renewable processes... the fuel gets cleaner. If batteries are disposed of properly (most Best Buy locations will take them) then they are recycled and materials are reused because they are valuable. Thanks for the props on the review, I use three cameras and just practice a lot to stay balanced. If you like carbon bikes that are light weight, check out this carbon ebike from last year (you could probably find it cheap): http://electricbikereview.com/easy-motion/neo-carbon/

EndtheDrugWarToday.com
3 years ago

Wow.  Great lookin bike.  Great review.

Oh boy you really have improved your audio quality to professional levels.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+EndtheDrugWarToday.com Thanks! I've spent a lot of time practicing and purchased a few new tools that really help, glad you noticed :D

Michael John Battista
3 years ago

A good reveiw

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Michael John Battista Thanks! Doing my best ;)

Z StHope
3 years ago

Excellent review and product; plus you look as if you had fun on a commuter?

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Zavier H Thanks, I enjoyed testing the bike out and was excited to see the little updates that Pedego has made :)