Pedego City Commuter Review

2015 Pedego City Commuter Electric Bike Review 1
2015 Pedego City Commuter
2015 Pedego City Commuter 500 Watt Geared Dapu Hub Motor
2015 Pedego City Commuter Locking Removable Lithium Battery Pack
2015 Pedego City Commuter Gull Wing Handlebar And Lcd Display
2015 Pedego City Commuter Twist Throttle Padded Grips
2015 Pedego City Commuter Tool Free Adjustable Angle Stem
2015 Pedego City Commuter Full Length Aluminum Fenders Mudflaps
2015 Pedego City Commuter Matching Aluminum Chain Guard
2015 Pedego City Commuter Oversized Kickstand
2015 Pedego City Commuter Oversized Padded Saddle Bumpeers Suspension Post
2015 Pedego City Commuter Battery On Off And Fuse
2015 Pedego City Commuter 7 Speed Shimano Acera
2015 Pedego City Commuter Electric Bike Review 1
2015 Pedego City Commuter
2015 Pedego City Commuter 500 Watt Geared Dapu Hub Motor
2015 Pedego City Commuter Locking Removable Lithium Battery Pack
2015 Pedego City Commuter Gull Wing Handlebar And Lcd Display
2015 Pedego City Commuter Twist Throttle Padded Grips
2015 Pedego City Commuter Tool Free Adjustable Angle Stem
2015 Pedego City Commuter Full Length Aluminum Fenders Mudflaps
2015 Pedego City Commuter Matching Aluminum Chain Guard
2015 Pedego City Commuter Oversized Kickstand
2015 Pedego City Commuter Oversized Padded Saddle Bumpeers Suspension Post
2015 Pedego City Commuter Battery On Off And Fuse
2015 Pedego City Commuter 7 Speed Shimano Acera

Summary

  • A sturdy and powerful electric bike that's a bit more active than the cruisers (more forward body position, narrower handlebars) and is available in several frame sizes for improved fit
  • Lots of great extras including full length aluminum fenders, chain guard, puncture resistant tires with reflective sidewalls, suspension seat post, integrated lights and a sleek bell
  • Responsive pedal assist with throttle override, large capable disc brakes, solid warranty, rear heavy design

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Pedego

Model:

City Commuter

Price:

$2,595 USD (Up to $3,295)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive, 3 Year Limited

Availability:

United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia, New Zealand, Europe

Model Year:

2015

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

60 lbs (27.21 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg) (9 Lbs for 48 V 15 Ah)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

14.5 in (36.83 cm)16 in (40.64 cm)17 in (43.18 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Small 14.5" (43.5" Axle to Axle), Medium 16" (44" Axle to Axle), Large 17" (47" Axle to Axle)

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, High-Step

Frame Colors:

Black, White, Steel Blue, Taupe

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Acera M360, 12-32T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Tourney FT55 SIS Index Shifter on Right Bar

Cranks:

175 mm 3-Piece Aluminum Alloy, 46 Tooth Chainring

Pedals:

Pedego Aluminum Alloy Platform

Stem:

Tool-Free Adjustable Angle

Handlebar:

27" Aluminum Alloy, Gull Wing Style

Brake Details:

Avid BB7 Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitor

Grips:

Padded, Stitched

Saddle:

Padded, Oversized

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy with Basic Suspension

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Spokes:

12 Gauge Stainless Steel

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Fat Frank, Balloon, 28" x 2"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall, Puncture Protection

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve, Pre-Slimed

Accessories:

Integrated Spanninga MICRO FF LED Headlight and LED Backlight, Integrated Bell on Left Brake Lever, Matching Full-Length Aluminum Alloy Fenders with Mud Flaps, Matching Aluminum Alloy Chain Guard, Integrated Carry Rack with Spring Latch, Oversized Kickstand

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Replaceable Fuse on Battery Pack, Tool-Free Quick Adjust on Brake Calipers (Red Twist Disc)

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Dapu

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

48 volts (Optional 36 V)

Battery Amp Hours:

15 ah (Optional 10 Ah)

Battery Watt Hours:

720 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Backlit LCD on Left Bar

Readouts:

Current Speed, Ride Time, Odometer, Trip Distance, Pedal Assist Level (0-5), Battery Power

Display Accessories:

USB Charge Outlet

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist (12 Magnet Pedelec Sensor)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The City Commuter has long been a favorite ebike model for me, especially from the Pedego lineup. It’s comfortable but more active than some of the cruisers they sell with a shorter handlebar and lighter frame. In recent years they’ve improved the way the throttle works (letting you override pedal assist) and introduced a smaller size playfully referred to as the “Mini Commuter” for petite riders. This new version has a shorter frame that also sits lower to the ground thanks to 26″ wheels vs. the standard 700c ~28″ available on both the standard high-step and step-thru models. Pedego still offers the professional black and white color schemes but now has a metallic blue (that sort of changes color when the light hits it) as well as metallic taupe that looks handsome. On the positive side, the City Commuter is feature rich with integrated LED lights, full length fenders, a chain guard, puncture resistant tires and an integrated rack but there are some trade offs. The bike is rear heavy and the saddle isn’t as comfortable to pedal on as it is to just sit on. I love the seat post suspension, padded grips and adjustable angle stem and appreciate the warranty (which is comprehensive for the first year and then pro-rates the cost of a replacement battery for two additional years). The other neat thing about this ebike is the battery choice options which let you maximize range and power or save some money and reduce the overall weight of the bike.

Driving this bike is a 500 watt planetary geared hub motor that’s made by Dapu (the same company that Easy Motion uses for many of their electric bikes). It’s one of the zippier, more powerful geared motors I’ve tested and on the City Commuter it delivers a lot of strength for overcoming wind or climbing moderate hills. It does produce some whirring noise, especially under full power, but that hasn’t bothered me as much as some other models and almost feels satisfying because the bike rides more like a moped. This is an important point… even though the bike offers seven speeds to pedal with and is one of the most active rides (ergonomically speaking) in the Pedego lineup, it is still heavier and less comfortable to pedal with than some other electric bicycles I’ve tested. For this reason, the more powerful motor, cadence sensing pedal assist, twist-type throttle and louder operation feel right. This is a great bike for cruising around the neighborhood or commuting short distances without over exerting yourself. It’s one of the best options for throttle-only operation that I’ve tested.

Powering the motor, the backlit LCD display and the front and rear LED lights is a beautiful Lithium-ion battery pack that uses high quality Lithium-ion cells from Samsung. The pack is available in four configurations with either 36 or 48 volts of power and either 10 or 15 amp hours of capacity. Basically, the larger the pack, the more you pay and the more it will weigh! A question I hear a lot about these battery sizes is “should I buy the 36 volt 15 amp hour or the 48 volt 10 amp hour?” and the answer is that it depends on the weight you intend to move. If you weigh (or plan to have a maximum load) over 180 lbs, I believe it is more efficient to go with the 48 volt system so that the motor will get full power and operate at optimal efficiency. Still, if you’re getting one of the smaller sized bikes and don’t weigh a lot then the 36 volt packs should perform just fine. Whichever configuration you choose, the pack offers some great conveniences like being able to charge on or off the frame, having an integrated replaceable fuse and offering a toggle on/off switch to reduce phantom draw while storing. The on/off switch can actually be annoying at times given that you have to click it before the display will turn on and this may require dismounting the bike after you just hopped on… basically, it’s a second step that you should really take every time you get on or off of the bike. It will help deter tampering with the display while you’re not at your bike for example. I like that the pack features an LED charge level indicator (great for checking status when it’s not on the bike) and that it locks to the frame. You are not required to leave the key in while riding which is actually a big deal because panniers may otherwise collide with the key and bend it (I recommend taking them out in this case especially). The big drawback to this battery is now it’s mounted to the frame (high and towards the back). With weight ranging from eight to nine pounds, it can create a bit of a “crack the whip” feel with aggressive riding and makes transport and parking less stable. Thankfully, the oversized kickstand works great.

Operating the e-bike systems is pretty easy on the City Commuter. Once the battery is charged, mounted and locked to the rear rack you press the toggle on/off there and then again on the display panel. I like the LCD unit that Pedego is using now because it combines the LCD unit with four interface buttons that are large and reachable while riding. It swivels up and down but is not easily removable which means that it could take more weather wear over time. Using the “Set” button you can see your trip distance, time and odometer and access a bunch of different settings if you hold “Set” for a few seconds. I was able to change from Miles to Kilometers, edit the wheel size and adjust the top speed (which defaults at 20 mph). The other two buttons are “Up” and “Down” which let you navigate through five levels of pedal assist and a zero “throttle mode”. The lowest assist level felt smooth and quite which would be perfect for navigating crowds or conserving battery while the highest felt exciting and powerful. At any time you can twist the throttle and override assist and this is handy for boosting up a hill or getting started from rest. The bike uses a cadence sensor to activate pedal assist which means that once the bike is up to speed you really don’t have to push to get the motor to help out (which is the case with torque sensors). The drawback to cadence sensors is that starting from zero requires all rider power because the motor hasn’t “woken up” yet and this can be a pain if you’re in a higher gear. Again, this is where the twist throttle override comes in super handy. I found myself riding in level two or three assist and gear level six most frequently and I did use the throttle regularly :)

At the end of the day, the City Commuter still honors the relaxed cruiser style that Pedego is known for (large saddle, powerful motor, twist throttle) but offers a slightly more aggressive body position with narrower handle bars that are responsive and easier to fit through doors. When it first launched, this was one of the only models that offered integrated lights and fenders but Pedego has since added them to all of the others as well. I like the adjustable stem, sleek integrated bell, modern diamond frame (vs. the cantilever curved style on the cruisers) and all of the sizing and color options here. I have had great success actually commuting with one of the older City Commuter models and while it can sometimes feel stiff and bouncy at speed (especially if your tires are extra full) the seat post suspension shock, padded saddle and grips really help. The spring latch on the rack isn’t incredibly useful but there are lots of ways to mount your own bag or panniers. If you like the style then this ebike could be a great choice because of the solid warranty and excellent dealer network that is now global. Pedego electric bikes are also commonly used as rentals and tend to hold up well. If you get the chance to rent one for a fun tourist ride it could help you choose between this or one of the more relaxed cruiser designs.

Pros:

  • Neat integrated USB charging port built right into the LCD display panel mounted to the left bar, charge your portable electronics while riding
  • The swept back handlebars, padded grips, oversized saddle with suspension seat post and large balloon tires help to smooth out bumps for a more comfortable ride
  • Available in four frame sizes with two wheel sizes and two frame styles for a truly comfortable fit (smaller wheels bring the frame closer to the ground, step-thru frame is easier to mount and stand over)
  • Integrated LED lights and backlit display are powered by the main battery pack so you don’t need to worry about purchasing additional cells or having them run out independently
  • Several professional and fun color schemes to choose from including the classic black and white or a metallic blue and taupe
  • Nice safety extras including the integrated bell, lights, reflectors and reflective sidewall stripe painted on the tires
  • Very zippy and powerful ride (especially with the 48 volt battery which is recommended if you plan to transport 180lbs or more in rider weight or rider+gear)
  • Variable speed twist throttle can be used in level zero as “throttle only mode” or override one of the five levels of assist offering full power
  • Rear rack surrounds and protects the battery and is useful for adding a trunk bag or panniers (I like the Elements from Basil)
  • The battery locks to the frame for security but is removable for convenient charging and to reduce the overall weight of the bike during transport
  • Integrated motor inhibitors cut power immediately when activated, oversized 180 mm disc brakes are smooth and powerful
  • Threaded eyelets are included on each model (even the smallest!) so you can mount a portable pump, folding lock or water bottle cage

Cons:

  • The battery pack must be activated independently from the LCD display, this might deter tampering but requires extra time and may be forgotten (leaving the battery pack on to drain slowly)
  • Rear heavy design with the hub motor and battery pack mounted at the back of the bike, the battery is also fairly high and the rack weighs more because it is reinforced
  • The padded saddle is a bit wide and for active riders may not feel as comfortable, on long rides my inner thighs have felt a bit tender
  • Tubing on the rear rack is wider and thicker than I see on most standardized racks which means it may not work with some clip-on panniers
  • Chain guard looks nice and is functional but may be bent easily if kicked or stepped on, be extra careful on the step-thru models

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Pedego Reviews

Pedego Platinum Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $3,795
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A premium cruiser style electric bike with upgraded suspension fork, suspension seat post, integrated LED lights, a sturdy rack and hydraulic disc brakes. Powerful 500 to 1,000+ watt hub motor from Dapu with high-torque rating and durable protected…...

Pedego Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A custom designed electric trike with large plastic cargo bin at the back, three-speed internally geared hub can be shifted at standstill and is more durable than a traditional derailleur. Two mechanical disc brakes provide good stopping power, max speed limited to 7 mph in…...

Pedego 20″ Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sturdily built, lower speed electric bike with seven gears and throttle-only operation designed primarily for kids and youth but also a good fit for short riders. Max weight of 350 lbs, bosses in the rear for adding a rack and hauling…...

Pedego Latch Review

  • MSRP: $2,595
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sturdy folding electric bike with a full-sized feel, the extra long seat post and telescoping stem fit a wider range of body types than most folders I've tested. Premium drivetrain features and accessories including a Gates belt drive, Shimano Nexus internally geared hub,…...

Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $3,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fined fat tire electricbike with balanced down tube battery and purpose-built "extrawide" hub motor for improved drive train operation and torque. Nice LCD display panel with integrated buttons and swivel, includes a USB port for charging…...

Pedego Ridge Rider Review

  • MSRP: $3,395
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A delightfully capable and refined 27.5" hardtail electric mountain bike with powerful 500 watt motor and 48 volt battery pack. Nice upgrades on the adjustable air fork with lockout, 15 mm thru-axle, locking grips, hydraulic…...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A smaller version of the Interceptor that's easier to mount, it offers great power thanks to its smaller wheels paired with a 500 watt geared hub motor and 48 volt battery. Offers twist throttle and five levels of assist for increased range, throttle override puts you…...

Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stripped down comfort cruiser with easy-mount step-thru frame, throttle on demand only, optional fenders, multiple color choices and multiple battery size options from 36v 10ah up to 48v 15ah. Locking removable battery pack is protected in the color-matched rear rack, mechanical disc brakes are…...

Pedego Classic Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A sturdy, powerful cruiser style electric bike with large 500 watt geared motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery. Balloon tires, comfort saddle, suspension seat post and oversized handlebars create a relaxed upright ride...

2015 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A fat style ebike with zippy 500 watt geared motor and powerful 48 battery (available in 10ah or 15ah for extended range). Four fun color options, integrated headlight, pedal assist and throttle mode, quality mechanical disc brakes...

Pedego Stretch Review

  • MSRP: $3,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stylish and comfortable cruiser style electric cargo bike with removable tubing supports that extend the carrying platform or double as a back rest and running boards to accommodate a second rider. Offers two battery options for extended range and two drive modes including pedal assist (1-5)…...

Pedego Boomerang Review

  • MSRP: $2,495.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the easiest electric bikes to mount with extra low step-thru design, frame stiffness reduced as a result. Powerful 500 watt geared motor is quiet to operate and blends in well with cassette…...

Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Iconic cruiser style frame is sturdy, provides a relaxed seating position and comes in multiple colors. Powerful 500 watt direct drive (gearless) rear hub motor is durable, fast and relatively quiet...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

A smaller step-through electric bike with 24" wheels for riders who are petite. Very powerful for its size, uses a 500 watt direct drive hub motor with three…...

Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,795
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the only purpose-built electric bikes that is setup to be a tandem for two adult riders. Sturdy frame, fun classic design, reliable drive system with six speeds, great support and warranty...

2014 Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy cruiser style electric bike with simple twist throttle operation and upgradable battery pack. Large tires, swept back handlebars, plush seat and padded grips dampen vibration to smooth out…...

Pedego Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Great power for acceleration, climbing or moving heavier riders with a 500 watt geared rear hub motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery combination. Offers twist throttle and five levels of pedal assist for increased range, removable battery for…...

2013 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,975
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Off-road design with 4" wide tires, increased contact patch enables the bike to ride on sand, snow and other rugged terrain, larger tires also provide cushion for improved riding comfort. Ultra powerful 600 watt geared motor and 48 volt battery pack for improved torque and…...

2014 Pedego Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Stable three wheel design with battery, motor and controller mounted low under the cargo bin. No pedal assist option with this bike but the twist throttle is intuitive to use…...

2013 Pedego Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Powerful combination of 500w motor and 48v Lithium battery. Durable and proven frame is borrowed from the Pedego Comfort Cruiser...

2013 Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,675
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

One of the only tandem style electric bikes available anywhere, large 500 watt motor offers good power. Built on the time tested, super simple, Pedego Cruiser cantilever style aluminum alloy frame...

2013 Pedego City Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Classic upright commuter frame is quiet, sturdy and functional with welded rear rack. Integrated seat post shock, lights, bell, and computer with clean wire management...

2013 Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Solid, durable and extremely quiet to ride due to gearless rear hub motor. Casual design looks like a laid back cruiser and comes in many fun color choices...


Luis
1 year ago

So quick question, can you remove the display? If you cant easily do it is it at least possible with a bit of work? Thanks

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Luis, I don’t think the display is designed to come off easily… maybe with a screw driver or hex wrench you could actually unscrew it and use the disconnect point to take it inside (which probably wouldn’t be that difficult) but it’s not like a quick slide on/off like the Easy Motion design. If you live where the weather is an issue (like lots of rain) maybe put a plastic sack over it with a rubber band to keep water out?

Luis
1 year ago

Ok, great! Thank you Court.

Michael Rhodes
1 year ago

Thanks for a great review. I just bought a City Commuter 28 inch 48V / 10. Will pick it up next week. I had a total knee replacement on my left knee and wanted to be able to ride again, but with the added benefit of the motor should the knee start to hit its limits – to make sure I can get back home. The added assist should be very helpful. One thing I haven’t seen in any of the reviews is how the e-bike performs if the motor is turned totally off and you must peddle full force to get back home should the battery run out or something happens. Guess I will find out next week, as I wanted to have a good feel for what its like to peddle without any assistance. Your reviews are very helpful since you cover a wide range of features, and include riding the bike. I like the hill section and the bike seemed to perform really well. Thanks again, your reviews really helped me come to a decision despite not taking an actual ride before purchase.

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hey Michael! Great suggestion… I don’t usually perform an unpowered ride test because my knees are also sensitive, it’s how I got into ebikes actually ;) one thing that is listed here for each review is the bicycle weight. Most are heavy ~50lbs and it’s not fun to pedal them unless you’re in a lower gear to make it easy. Pedal assist is a wonderful feature on bikes like the City Commuter because it almost makes the bike perform like a light weight normal bicycle and then if you need extra help for a hill just twist that throttle! Not all of the electric bikes I’ve tested have throttles but the City Commuter does and in my opinion it’s a great bike! Hope it works well for you, feel free to comment with an update once you’ve tested it out.

Michael Rhodes
1 year ago

Court, I picked up the City Commuter today from Irvine and am very impressed with it. With power off, I could peddle it, but not without some difficulty. Didn’t appear to be any resistance from the motor, but simply the weight as you noted. But even when only at “Assist Level 1” I was able to peddle just fine, and of course moving to 2 or above was very little effort at all. Amazed at the hill climbing. Now that I have used the Throttle – I couldn’t imagine not having that feature. The bike is very well made, bigger than I was expecting, and of course heavier. About the only complaint I have, is that for $3K I would have expected a better light. I added a 320 lumens USB rechargeable light which solved the problem for $24. But still, Pedego could have included a more powerful light for very little more. The integrated taillight and fender mounted lights are nice, just not bright enough for me and lack a strobe feature. Other than that, the bike is making me smile.

Sue Smith
11 months ago

I am keen to purchase a Pedego city community since riding my friend’s city commuter in NZ. Is there a store in Sydney that sells them. I went to Sydney Electric Bikes but they do not stock Pedego

Court Rye
11 months ago

Hmm… I’m not sure Sue? I believe Pedego has been expanding globally and they have a special “dealer locator map” on their website here. Looks like there might be a Pedego dealer in Sydney according to this other map that seems to list more points. Hope this helps! Wish I could be more concrete :)

Michael M
10 months ago

I bought my City Commuter last week and I have to say I am very impressed. It rides more like a moped than a bike, which I love as I use it to commute the 10 miles each way to work and back home. I purchased the 36V/15amp battery and have yet to see an end to its charge on an outing. I spent an entire Sunday just driving along the beaches (Siesta Key Fl) and ultimately put 25 miles on it. Great bike.

My question is at what point do I take it in to have it serviced and tweaked after the breaking in period i.e. spoke tightening and other adjustments to the components? I’m am pretty much clueless with ebikes let alone bikes in general. Also, if I were to upgrade to the 48V/10amp battery, would I really get that much increase in acceleration/torque? I’m pretty lightweight ~150lbs. Thanks Court!

Court Rye
10 months ago

Hi Michael! Sounds like the standard 36 volt 15 amp hour battery is working well for you… 15ah is actually above average compared to most ebikes I test. You might feel some torque improvement with a 48 volt battery but I’m not sure you can make that upgrade because it requires a different controller and even motor in some cases… can’t say for sure. Batteries are expensive so if you’re doing well with the 36v option just stick with it ;)

As for tuneups, it really depends on the riding conditions you encounter like water, mud and even how you ride like how much braking is happening and whether you shift gears a lot and know to ease off pedaling when shifting so the sprockets and chain don’t get beat up. For me, it’s usually time for a tune when I hear the bike making scratchy or clinking noises as I pedal… the chain probably needs to be lubed in that case and maybe the frame cleaned. I also pay attention to my brake levers and if they are being squeezed way down I try to tighten the cables using the twist wheel on the calipers but eventually new pads are a requirement as well. Tightening spokes isn’t something I do or hear about very often but yes, sometimes the wheel needs to be trued if the bike tips or is being transported in a car on its side. Being proactive about tuneups could make the bike last longer and honestly, the shop should be able to give you feedback about this so if you just stop by and ask (or ask the place you bought it from) about what they recommend that could be a great place to start :)

Jennifer C.
9 months ago

Hi Court – thanks for the in-depth reviews! I’m considering buying one of these Pedego Commuters, and I actually asked the same question as Michael about upgrading to a 48V battery, and the dealer told me that the whole bike is wired for either 36V or 48V, so you can’t just switch from one to another.
Keep up the good work!

Court Rye
9 months ago

Thanks for chiming in Jennifer! That’s my understanding as well, the bike is either setup for 36 volt or 48 volt and that’s it… so you can upgrade on capacity of amp hours but just not voltage which is more of a power thing.

Mike
7 months ago

I weigh about 275 and am 6′ tall. Any thoughts or suggestions?

Court Rye
7 months ago

Hi Mike! I really like the Pedego Interceptor for heavier, larger riders because it can have many of the same features as the Commuter here (lights, fenders) but provides a more upright, relaxed layout and you can even get cast rims vs. spokes which hold up better under weight. I also feel like it fits taller riders better without stretching them forward and in my experience the frame just isn’t as stiff which makes it feel smoother.

Kirk
6 months ago

Thanks for a great and thorough review. Do you have any idea what the replacement cost is for the battery? Thanks again.

Court Rye
6 months ago

Hi Kirk! Thanks, glad the review helped you out. I believe the replacement costs for Pedego batteries varies depending on which size you get ie. 36 volt or 48 volt and the number of amp hours but it might be in the range of $700 just based on what I’ve heard from shops and seen online. I’d love to hear back from you if you figure out a more detailed answer?

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Over50
1 day ago

I am in the Detroit area and I bought my ebike from Propel in Brooklyn. I really wanted to stay local but there just isn't much selection in my area. I was close to choosing the Trek XM700+ but the bike didn't fit me well. I have a local Focus/Kalkhoff dealer and I really liked the Integrale 11 speed. But that particular dealer didn't seem too concerned with getting my business inclusive of not returning a couple of phone calls. Also, I visited one local ebike shop that didn't seem very interested in helping me find the bike I wanted but rather only seemed interested in selling me on what they had on the floor. That dealer also let his bias against pedal assist bikes come out loud and clear when I mentioned a few makes/models I had researched. Finally, I visited a local traditional bike shop that sells some brands that also have ebikes like Scott or Felt (if I recall correctly). I inquired about the possibility of them ordering an ebike in one of those brands even though they only retailed traditional bikes. They steered the conversation to kit bikes and only seemed interested in building a kit bike for me (promising I could do 40mph on one of their kit bikes). So in summary, I had a really bad local experience on the shopping end (and conversely I found that Propel was eager to get me all the info I needed and respond to all of my silly inquiries). And I can report that now that I have had the bike for a few months, I've had it in to 2 different shops for brake adjustments. One is the Trek dealer where I almost opted for an XM700+. I have to say both places were very good about helping me out with service which was a pleasant surprise. It makes me optimistic that I can find someone to work on the bike should it become necessary.

I had a similar experience with one of my regular bikes. I did my research and kind of knew what I wanted but I couldn't find anything locally. I opted for a Spot Brand Champa because I was shopping for a steel frame city commuter with a belt drive. There were no Spot dealers near me so I purchased from a dealer in Chicago. The local Trek shop did the bike build for me, ordered and installed the fenders and now, over a year later, are building a front wheel/dynamo hub for me. So I have been pleasantly surprised that I've been able to get pretty good service from 2 different shops even though I didn't buy their bikes. Hopefully a good businessman sees those as opportunities to win customers if/when that customer decides to make another purchase.

Matt A
3 days ago

Wow this is intriguing. When you say the shop fixed it was that Propel? Or did you take it somewhere else? Did they give you a full explanation? I'm very curious as to what the problem was, what caused it to occur and how it was fixed. Any more info you have would be greatly appreciated. I haven't had any trouble with my Nuvinci yet but I'm only at 500 miles. I asked my LBS if they had ever worked on them. The mechanic told me he had successfully repaired the mechanical Nuvinci without too much trouble but had an electronic/automatic Nuvinci that was a major pain in the rear. And with that he said the Fallbrook Technologies was really hard to work with. Just one mechanic's feedback.

Regarding the speed: I'm still glad I got the 28mph version but I have learned that I could have lived with the 20mph bike for commuting. My commute has so much start/stop that I rarely find myself over 20mph. The other day I hit 27mph but it was for only a very short stretch. When I do have open road, I find myself usually cruising right around 20mph in Tour mode. I find myself wondering whether the higher torque but lower speed Bosch motor would have been a better choice for my commuter bike just in terms of efficiency and battery range. The HS Charger is a blast to ride so no regrets at all so I was just referring to what the most "efficient" choice would have been. Over my last few commutes, I've averaged about 2 hours and 10 to 20 minutes for the 35-36 miles or about 15+mph. I'd say I have a few sections where I can get the speed up and cruise but for the most part it is start/stop commuting.
I will certainly get some more information on what went wrong with the NuVinci. I had it fixed at Propel and spent the day in Brooklyn with family so when I picked up the bike I was very tired. I asked about what was wrong and everything but I will ask again in a way that will allow me to explain it to you. Initially I went to Firth & Wilson in Philly and he re-aligned the gear range rings of the Nuvinci which were out of alignment. For some reason, this actually made it worse and instead of spinning like a clown at 24mph i was doing it at 20mph. That guy told me the Nuvinci had to be reset internally but he didnt have time to do it. I had propel fix it so I will ask when I go there in a week or so to pick up my girlfriends bike, she got the same as you I believe. Charger GT Nuvinci HS in matte black, but she got dual battery as well. Can never have too much lithium!

It works great now at least! I am almost at 1000 miles now, but I ride the bike really really hard sometimes. Since my Nuvinci was messed up I was discouraged from working since speed helps me make more money, so I took it up and down some rough terrain and in the city at night was jumping off all of the driveway curbs like I did when I was a kid, only this time I was going 20+ mph. It was so much fun, the bike really can take a beating but I am not sure why this Nuvinci thing happened to me. I was thinking about the electronic Harmony Nuvinci one day, but Kyle at propel told me it isnt smooth and feels glitchy. My only motivation for it was the fact that my cables were frayed multiple times for seemingly no reason. The 2nd time it happened it was from over tightening the cable into the metal piece at the end.

I drive through Center City Philadelphia constantly, but I ride quickly and pedal hard/fast so I end up hitting over 20mph even if I am stopping and starting 1 block at a time. I just like the ability to travel at a speed that cars behind me really cant complain when there is only one lane or the million other situations that require riding in the car lane. Honestly, I mostly travel in the middle of the car lane because I jump red lights, only yield at stop signs, and don't want to get doored. Cars never complain, it usually only takes a couple seconds off the line to hit 15-20mph, I can be at 25+ by half a block when actually putting in real effort.

I don't think efficiency is changed much between motors, just depends more on how you ride I guess. Really I think the dual battery gives more than double the range of a single battery. I took a test ride one night in all Turbo to see how far I could go. Mind you, I was riding in all Turbo, with about a 225lb load on the bike between me and all my tools, water, supplies, and my 10lb Abus chain. I went 52 miles before the range said 1 mile left, I didnt run it to dead but stopped when the range said 1 mile. Also, I have the Supernova M99 Pro, and used it on high beam for most of the ride but pointed down because my tail light only turns on right now if I turn the high beam on the light. Remedying that with the M99 tail light. Anyway, with all that weight, electronic usage (including phone charging), and I frequently travel 25+, and also this was all in busy city stop/start riding, I amazingly went over 50 miles!

With regards to your speed, it sounds like you go faster than you think! At 2 hours and 20 minutes for 36 miles, thats an average of about 15mph if you never stop and just do 15 the entire time. With all the stopping and starting you are doing you must be going faster :)

I ordered a Nyon a while back and it took 4 weeks for German Customs to just cancel it and send it back. I tried again using Ebay this time for an extra $100 compared to the bike-discount.de price, and in just 4 days since shipment its already just a couple towns away! The guy shipped it the day after I ordered, and it went through the exact same German facility. With the Nyon I will have a ton more stats to help decipher where the wattage really goes! After I get that, my final 'upgrade' will be the Sherlock bike tracker when it ships in a few weeks. I am very excited to have the Nyon though, I feel like for a $7000 bike, it should have more than the Intuvia. The Intuvia is great, but minimalist. The Nyon is feature rich, but most likely still has some glitches. I just feel like it really completed the whole feel of having spent car money on a bike if the bike has a serious headlight, and a serious smart computer with GPS. Other than that everything has been great on the bike, the only thing I ever get jealous of is the suspension setup and fenders on the Moustache Starckbike, even though the bike as a whole is something I'd never choose.

P.S. The day after I did that 52 miles all turbo test, I had charged the bike fully and it showed a crazy 154 mile range in Eco.

Oh I forgot one thing to mention but then I remembered you have only 1 battery. Charging on the bike is weird, no matter how much I charge it, my Range in Turbo will only go up to like 38-40. When I charge the batteries separately off the bike using 2 chargers, it will then show me a 5-54 mile range estimate. However, when I begin a ride 'fully' charged but only showing 38 miles of range, I can go 20 miles and the range will still say 30. Really weird, can't figure out why! At first I thought the batteries were only charging to 80% on the bike, but now I'm see the range is just inaccurate, can't imagine why....

ROCebike
1 week ago

Im looking for an Ebike for riding around town. I want something that looks fairly like a regular bike but after a top speed of at least 28mph. It would be nice to take it off-road also but my main priority is city commuter riding

Ive got a budget of about 5k US.

If anyone can suggest the best bike for me it would be greatly appreciated! Thanks :)
I have a Pedego Ridge Rider and upgrading it with a Body Float and new saddle. This is an amazing bike for versatility, the torque sensor is very smooth engaging, and 20 gears of mountain biking provides lots of options. I love the throttle override for pushing off at intersections and a quick hit as needed. It's not a speed pededelec, but I can peddle over 22mph still with motor. Good battery (now using Panasonic) and stealthy MTB appearance. I might change the tires to Marathons next as I'm really 80/20 road and packed trails. Other than speed, this is a great bike for your specs and under budget.

Options I considered were the Riese and Meuller Charger Series. Great machines, not as stealthy with Bosch mid drives, but I really like the concept of belt drive and Rohlhoff geared hub. These bikes are built to order in Germany and I didn't want to wait. It's more expensive than your budget but I'll probably buy one in the future for a touring bike. Propel Bikes would be a great dealer for you.

Other option I considered was the Bulls Outlaw. It's got both speed and high torque, a rare combo since its usually a trade off between the two. Not at all stealthy with the battery case frame mounted, but it can meet your specs.

Lastly, a fabulous deal is available from Amego in Toronto. Virginia has been in the ebike business for over seven years and she really know her stuff. They got a deal on prior model Stomers which are still better than most competitors new best models. A great deal in CDN $ can be had with online order shipped to your home. Amego has just launched their own branded bike. The Infinity is really well spec'd and a great price. Available in May.

BTW, I'm 6'2" and now 220 lbs.. Down 5 lbs since owning the Ridge Rider. The benefit of riding a 60 lb bike with and without the motor. I m very satisfied. It does everything well and kitted out for $4k. I haven't needed service but I know Pedego is best in class for support. With your budget of $5k, don't underweight dealer Support in your list of requirements. It's a lot of money to potentially sit unused while waiting for a part delivery.

Barbara
1 week ago

My wife's City Commuter has a Walk mode, I expect yours would as well. I think you hold the Down selector button down for about five seconds and it kicks in.

Wow, now that is really interesting. Various manuals I have seen don't mention that, or say holding Down for several seconds does something else. How did you discover that? What year is your wife's bike? I can't wait to try that!

Saratoga Dave
1 week ago

My wife's City Commuter has a Walk mode, I expect yours would as well. I think you hold the Down selector button down for about five seconds and it kicks in.

bike_nut
1 week ago

Im looking for an Ebike for riding around town. I want something that looks fairly like a regular bike but after a top speed of at least 28mph. It would be nice to take it off-road also but my main priority is city commuter riding

Ive got a budget of about 5k US.

If anyone can suggest the best bike for me it would be greatly appreciated! Thanks :)

america94
2 weeks ago

I'm on the South Shore MTL. Just after the first ride I wanted to buy the bike. The only thing holding me back is another one I've had my eyes on for a while: Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent. It's a city commuter that will also hit top speed, but is lighter and I would think feels more bike-like in moving and turning. Plus, it's available in an XL frame. I hate having my knees going higher than my waist when I pedal (hurts after 10 km), and I hate being at max length with a seat post, feels awkward.

So yeah, hesitating now between an electric commuter, and an electric fat bike commuter! :) Both at the same price... The Crosscurrent will probably be easier to maintain at high speed versus the TEO, but you can probably tell me about your experience with this. Laval is pretty flat too! I have a 25 km trip to work (50 km total per day). Wish I could just rent one to test it out on my daily commute.

I can recommend the Oka Trails (http://www.velo.qc.ca/sentier/centre?ID=284) for fat bike. Did those with my fattie last fall and winter, and it was superb! Same thing with Mont Oak (http://www.velo.qc.ca/sentier/centre?ID=127) in Bromont.

All I can say is that the TEO was fantastic enough to even be in that final list of contenders ahahah!

I looked at the Crosscurrent as well @SimonMTL . But only saw it at $3000CAD with the 17.4ah battery in Canada. Do you see it at $2200?

At first, I was certain I wanted only a commuter or MTB style bike, thinking I would not go offroad 99% of the time. Now I find myself wanting to go offroad more than anything! What made me pull the trigger with the Teo is the ability to transform it rather easily in a "commuter" with these tires, that fit right on the 26x4 wheels: https://www.amazon.ca/Maxxis-Hookworm-Urban-Beaded-26x2-5-Inch/dp/B000A8NQQC/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1492017358&sr=8-3&keywords=Maxxis+Maxxis+Hookworm If you select other sellers, you can get them at $41 shipped by amazon.ca.

They fit right on the RadRover 26x4 wheels, I don't see why they would not on the Teo. I am very tempted to order them right now for when I want to do long paved rides this summer for entire week-ends... Check out this thread for more details (page 2): https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/new-tires-and-rotating-tires-on-rad-rover.9443/

I can only imagine how quiet and "frictionless" these tires would be compared to the stock ones! Must affect the range and PAS quite a bit! The full wheel diameter goes from 29" to 27" though. Not as smooth for bumps, but must improve turning radius.

Thanks for the trail tips! I found out about Oka a few weeks ago and can't wait to go!

SimonMTL
2 weeks ago

Where are you located? I am in Laval myself. Found several fat bike tracks around my neighborhood already and the Velo Quebec website has a list of fat bike trails to use in both summer and winter - so many places to visit soon! Feel free to contact me if you have questions, I'll be glad to help :)

I'm on the South Shore MTL. Just after the first ride I wanted to buy the bike. The only thing holding me back is another one I've had my eyes on for a while: Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent. It's a city commuter that will also hit top speed, but is lighter and I would think feels more bike-like in moving and turning. Plus, it's available in an XL frame. I hate having my knees going higher than my waist when I pedal (hurts after 10 km), and I hate being at max length with a seat post, feels awkward.

So yeah, hesitating now between an electric commuter, and an electric fat bike commuter! :) Both at the same price... The Crosscurrent will probably be easier to maintain at high speed versus the TEO, but you can probably tell me about your experience with this. Laval is pretty flat too! I have a 25 km trip to work (50 km total per day). Wish I could just rent one to test it out on my daily commute.

I can recommend the Oka Trails (http://www.velo.qc.ca/sentier/centre?ID=284) for fat bike. Did those with my fattie last fall and winter, and it was superb! Same thing with Mont Oak (http://www.velo.qc.ca/sentier/centre?ID=127) in Bromont.

All I can say is that the TEO was fantastic enough to even be in that final list of contenders ahahah!

Abdul Taleb-Agha
2 weeks ago

Hi all,

I take the train to work (Amtrak) and I'm getting over taking uber everyday from the train station to work. It's a 6.5 mile ride with about 1.5-2 mile dirt trail. The ride will be mostly flat. I personally like mountain bikes. I am looking for a dual suspension mid-drive mountain ebike that can take a rear rack for holding my 2 laptops. Dual quick release would be a plus. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!

bazzapage
3 weeks ago

I find the weight becomes noticeable on rides of 20+ miles. The turn signals are great tho. I don't really have a way to know that it is making my intent with drivers better known, but I have to believe it helps.
Yeah, I wish it was a bit lighter. Over 400g is a bit much if you have a forward stance on a bike. Probably just fine for a typicall city or commuter bike. The Livall Bling is much lighter but the turn signals and controls on the Bling aren't as good. I found that my intents were well noted on the Lumos - vehicles hung back a bit more - but not so much on the Bling. I did have a motorist say "Wow how did you do that" so it likely is quite visible.

Mark Peralta
3 weeks ago

I think the speed limiters of the other ebikes make's the comparison unfair.
Have you considered the Pedego city commuter in the comparison?
https://www.evolutioncycles.co.nz/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=39240
I would be interested also on how the 2017 BH BIKES EVO 27.5 PRO fares in your comparison.
https://www.evolutioncycles.co.nz/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=71517
I think, to make all the ebikes more comparable, you have to limit the max speed in all of them to 32 kph.

Over50
3 weeks ago

I have the Mirrcycle on my human powered commuter bike. It works ok (I'd give it a 6 on a scale of 1-10). It matches that bike better than some others because it is set up as a city commuter. But when I bought my ebike, Chris at Propel set me up with a Busch and Muller ebike mirror. I think it is this one (image below). It is much better than the Mirrcycle I have. It folds up easier and has a larger field of view. I think Busch and Muller has some other options as well.

Mark Peralta
1 month ago

No, and that would be a deal breaker for me if I was in the market for a commuter. The new Specialized Vado will have suspension.
Dumbar, For the same price of the super commuter,
https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/city-bikes/electric-city-bikes/super-commuter/super-commuter-8s/p/1367000-2017/
you can get this full suspension ebike (STARCKBIKE Asphalt Ebike) with the same other features.
https://www.motostrano.com/MOUSTACHE-Starkbike-Asphalt-Ebike-p/mstarka.htm
This is another worthy alternative with front suspension.
https://www.motostrano.com/BULLS-Six50-E2-Street-Ebike-p/bulls-620e2.htm

WilliamT
1 month ago

I've done several aluminum forks and AL suspension forks with front motors up to 750W. I advised all against. However I was willing to help the builder IF they used two properly fit torque arms. I ALWAYS use the Grin products. No exceptions. The 750W is a daily rider. From April-November, or the first snow and is going into season 3 or 4 very soon. I would't for myself but from my limited experience two sided torque arms have not failed.
These are all commuter/city street bikes.

For me, 350W is about as high as I'm comfortable with on a front hub. At 750w, just a quick google search shows those motors producing on average 80 Nm. With numbers that high, I would definitely use 2 torque arms. One wouldn't be enough.

Thomas Jaszewski
1 month ago

I've done several aluminum forks and AL suspension forks with front motors up to 750W. I advised all against. However I was willing to help the builder IF they used two properly fit torque arms. I ALWAYS use the Grin products. No exceptions. The 750W is a daily rider. From April-November, or the first snow and is going into season 3 or 4 very soon. I would't for myself but from my limited experience two sided torque arms have not failed.
These are all commuter/city street bikes.

mrgold35
1 month ago

The wife and I have several trips planned to Utah, Arizona, and Nevada over the next 6 months. We wanted to check out as many of the "Mighty 5" National Parks in Utah (Zion, Bryce, Arches, Capital Reef, & Canyonlands) since they are only a slight detour on our travel paths. I wanted to find out how friendly are the Parks to bikers and especially ebikers in Utah? I figured we could see more and still be part of the environment on two wheels compared to just driving or hiking the park(s). We do have our Transeo GT 700c commuter bikes that can ride hard packed trails if they are not fat tire ebike friendly.

We took our ebikes to the Grand Canyon and Sedona in Nov/2016. The south rim of the Grand Canyon was ebike friendly and we were able to see more and stay away from the crowded tourist lookout points at bus stops.
In Sedona, no ebikes were allowed on trails shared with walkers, hikers, and MTB in city limits. I could only ride the trails with other motorized vehicles if I wanted to ride off road. High powered gas powered vehicle hauling butt down a twisty dirt road while I'm pedaling at 13-15 mph; what can go wrong. Might as well put up a sign saying "ebikes not welcomed!"

Prefer the paved roads/trails or at most hard packed "bunny trail" levels for the wife. The wife wouldn't want to ride if the local bike/ebike trails are more challenging.

JohnT
2 months ago

Sorry I didn't read the article, but there are plenty of Pedegos that will fit someone 6'3". Some might need a longer seatpost and maybe a handlebar riser, but those are easy to add. I'm sure the same is true for other brands.

Our tallest bike is the Pedego City Commuter Classic with 28" tires. Off the top of my head, I can think of one 6'4" customer who rides it stock. I've put customers about 6'3" on the Pedego Interceptor Classic, but a longer seatpost was needed. The stock bar height was okay, so we didn't use a riser.

Matt A
2 months ago

O.K. Matt, Good idea - I'll post to this thread.

Here's the funny thing: You've ridden my new bike, I have not! Just bought it this week (as a demo) totally on faith without a test ride. As you mentioned, there isn't much out there yet re: reviews. I've been looking for an ebike with the right combination of components that would come from a manufacturer with a sterling reputation, purchased from an reputable/knowledgeable dealer. After spending this winter researching, I decided that I'd finally hit on it - contacted Propel and we made the deal. Probably the easiest sale of a high end bike that Chris has made in a while! Actually, I'm in the northern ex-burbs of NYC, so Propel is only a 1 hour drive away, so it is stranger still that I haven't been to the shop (but that's a different story). Yes, a leap of faith - or a very expensive disappointment - but I don't see how you can go wrong with an R&M. Sometimes you just have to roll the dice. Life is too short, etc.

Main motivation for getting this - daily commute and possible long distance touring. My office moved to a "commutable" location a while back. I was doing the commute on my human powered Cannondale, but eventually found it was just a bit too hilly to arrive at work without being too sweaty, etc. Plus, I'm now aged 63 (and counting!), so the body does tend to revolt. Last year, I thought I'd solve that issue by electrifying my Greenspeed trike. I purchased an EcoSpeed boom mount kit for the trike and installed it last spring. Figured that the boost would allow me to neutralize any visibility issues that the low seating position creates by being able to keep up with traffic and accelerating faster. Well, the conversion went well and riding the "enhanced" trike is a total kick (it flies!), but . . . after a few trips to work on it, I realized that I was arriving sweat free but entirely too tense - still not a real street friendly vehicle, at least with the drivers in my area (where Redneck meets the Bronx). So I'm back to using the trike for bike paths and country roads. It did sell me on the ebike concept though.

Having used a Rohloff for over 8 years, forking over the extra bucks for this option on the Delite was a no-brainer. The Rohloff on my trike has 20,000 + rough miles on it and has proven to be bulletproof, even with the addition of the powerful EcoSpeed mid-drive motor. Won't take delivery for another few weeks - Chris needs it on the floor to sell from while waiting for a new one to arrive - not a problem considering that it is 22 degrees outside at the moment (!).

And yes, I hope to eventually do some extended touring on it once I've set up the bike and gotten any kinks ironed out. Having been cross country and through Alaska on two wheels "self contained" without electric assist, this should prove to be an interesting alternative. Yeah, a few extra battery packs in the panniers might be helpful. I may just get spoiled.
I think you made a good purchase, the bike is great, and I like the orange color too. Don't worry you'll love it. I would have went with a Rohloff if I had the experience with it that you do. I just wanted the belt drive though:)

That sounds cool about the trike, I would probably be scared to ride that! I was actually riding yesterday for a few hours and it was absolutely freezing lol. It sounds like you have been on some really cool rides and I hope to take some similar ones on this bike one day. You should post pictures on here of any ebike travels you do once you get your new bike!

GX vs. GT: So Matt, I'm going to be interested in comparing your on-road experience with your GT vs. my GX. As a long time member and advocate for the Rails to Trails Conservancy, I love to get on these paths, which more often than not are ballast. Also, when touring in the West or Alaska, the more interesting roads are gravel/graded dirt. So, in addition to a comfortable commuter, I wanted a touring capable sprung bike with beefier tires. The GX fits the bill w/27.5 x 2.35 Rock Razors standard. I do expect to be swapping them out for a more street friendly tire for the daily commute - most likely Schwalbe Marathon Supreme 27.5 x 2.00 tires. The expectation is that the e-assist will even out the disadvantage of the extra rolling resistance on the road. Will see.

I have enjoyed the GT tires on there, the Super Moto-x, this edition of them has the reflective sidewalls which is great. I did like the GX tires, and with the assist you will have no problem with any tire, it just may affect the range. I did feel I could turn faster and maybe even stop faster with the GX tires, they felt more in control. The GT tires though are great for me in the city and I would take them on light trails no problem. I have ridden on some dirt/muddy trails a little bit, and the tires do fine. I definitely enjoy the GT.

chgofirefighter
2 months ago

We have installed front suspension forks from Stromer with no issues. There are also stem related suspension options that may help. I wrote the review for the Sta-Fast and it was satisfactory for my purposes.

The issue is the ST2 is a heavy bike, yeah its nice, rides superb etc. But it's just too heavy, by adding a front suspension you are adding additional weight, etc. I tested out a few Haibikes today, loved the XDURO Urban SRX, awesome bike~ lightweight, nimble, easy to load, carry, pick up, etc. Also tested the EXDURO Full seven pro, with all around suspension. I felt like I was riding on a cloud, the only thing the bike needs is urban type tires and this bike will be ready to rock. The Urban SRX is nice but it's a rigid frame with a bodyfloat suspension, ergo grips, and maybe a handlebar type suspension this bike would be ideal city urban commuter with lots of power, speed and its very agile too. Look don't get me wrong I love my ST2, but picking up the bike everyday to go up through 2 flights of stairs gets old. They should design this bike with a suspesion, maybe lighten up the bike, make it 30lbs, maybe 35 or 38 but a 60lbs bike plus added components well the bike becomes cumbersome. Asked my girl, she can't even pick up the ST2. But she has an urban bike thats not an electric bike that weighs like 4lbs, lol~

Over50
2 months ago

Not much on advice but just wanted to concur on the Trek sizing. As I posted elsewhere, I tried the XM700+ in the 50 and the 55 and I felt that neither fit me very well (too tall or the reach was too short). I am also 5'9". Not the XM700+ but: when new, I had issues on my regular bike (which is a 52 and in between the XM700+ size offerings) with the hand numbness and an overly aggressive riding position. Also I would slide forward in the seat when riding. I took it to the Trek store and they helped me through the adjustments of the bars and seat (with BodyFloat seatpost added which I ordered directly from BodyFloat). Turns out I didn't need the stem riser. The bike fits really well now and is fun to ride with no more numbness although my rides tend to be 10 miles or less. My regular bike has a similar geometry to the XM700+ so perhaps there is some more adjustment to be made that can alleviate the numbness issue.

Regarding the trail usage: the XM700+ doesn't seem like a trail bike to me but rather optimal as a city commuter which you state will not be your primary usage. So if you have only put down a deposit then perhaps it is best to keep searching for a bike that has a geometry that fits you better and is more suited for your intended use. I started out my shopping with the XM at the top of my list partially because of its suitability for a city commute. I ended up purchasing the Riese and Muller Charger. More expensive than the XM700+ but the comfort level is outstanding. For me at least, I think it strikes the correct balance in riding position. Not as aggressive as my street oriented regular bike but not totally upright in a comfort position either.

JayVee
2 years ago

For Geneva, where I commute, I voted “it’s pretty good”. Over the past 10 years Geneva has constantly been upgrading its road infrastructure to take cyclists into account, so I give the city a lot of credit for effort, even if everything is far from perfect.

I would have gladly taken you guys for a virtual “GoPro” tour of Geneva’s bike lanes, but unfortunately I broke my arm a couple of days ago.

The Good
Geneva has a large bicycling community due to its rather flat topology. Over the past years, the city has progressively been upgrading it's road infrastructure so that every street has a bike lane with dedicated traffic lights and signalization. Bike paths are easy to find: there are signs all over the city which guide you towards them. To encourage cycling, Geneva has made an efficient use of its existing infrastructure by creating bike paths that use underpasses, overpasses, pedestrian zones, back streets, and trails. At large intersections, bike lanes have been laid down in red to make them more visible. Bridges are progressively being widened or redesigned so that they can better accommodate bike traffic. In the peripheral areas of the city where there are high speed transit roads, cycling lanes have been separated from the rest of the traffic for better safety.

** Geneva is both a city and a canton. But the territory is so small, that I have chosen to consider both the city and the canton for this evaluation.

The Bad
Unfortunately, Geneva has a rather unhealthy obsession with its trams. In the mid 90s the city had reduced the number of tram lines, and many of us had hoped that this archaic means of transportation would disappear. To the dismay of many cyclists and drivers, several new tram lines have been inaugurated over the past few years. In the commuter landscape, the presence trams is detrimental to cyclists. Tram tracks are extremely slippery in the winter or when it’s raining and, unlike a bus, a tram cannot swerve to avoid you. In the center of Geneva there are several places where bike lanes cross trams lines. At certain intersections cyclists need to yield priority to trams, but the manner in which this has been implemented is often confusing and dangerous. The safest option is to build a small “island” where cyclists can stop. The cheaper and less safe alternative is to paint traffic signalization on the ground. Unfortunately, this is the option which has been chosen in several strategic locations.

The fact that bicycles have to share a lane with Taxis and Buses can also be quite problematic. If you’re riding an S-Pedelec, you can zip along those quite nicely, but if you need to ride a slower type of bike you will feel the pressure of the angry bus drivers behind you.

The Funny
For years, the city council has been promising that all options to widen the Mont Blanc bridge would be studied, so as to better accommodate the (difficult) cohabitation between pedestrians and cyclists. However, these promises have never really became a reality. So a couple of years ago someone decided to paint a fake bike path on the bridge as a form of symbolic protest. The text is in french, but you can look at the pictures here:

http://www.paperblog.fr/4800421/une-vraie-fausse-piste-cyclable-sur-le-pont-du-mont-blanc/

Iain Hendry
3 days ago

Hi there,

Can't thank you enough for your videos. My husband an I have probably watched 50 of them over the past few weeks! Yesterday, we settled on this bike, the City Commuter, thanks to your videos helping us dial in on what type of assist bike we wanted to get (and several test rides)!

Greetings from Canada,

-Iain

The Pirate
6 months ago

Cool bike, decent review except for the obsessive, superfluous and uncontrolled use of the word "like." Otherwise, very articulate and informative - thank you.

Frank Westgate
8 months ago

the weight limit for these bikes?  saying person size .. weight limit

geoffrey welsby
9 months ago

can I ask. if you were getting an ebike which one would you choose..

Ken Johnson
1 year ago

You convinced me to get my first Pedego City Commuter and I think it's time to get a new one with all the upgrades.

Florida Scot
1 year ago

+Ken Johnson... I've got 6500 miles on mine black 2014 with big apple tire upgrade, these bikes are far from perfect but they work & are quicker .I couldnt go back to 20 MPH bikes sometimes I have to out run the pit bulls, lol

John Migliore
1 year ago

I would like to see you employ an audible warning as you approach slower moving traffic. Like using the bell, or calling out: "Passing on your left."

Lynell A
2 years ago

Amazing video. Im getting one now!

Pablo Taboada
2 years ago

Nice job!  really nice!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Pablo Taboada Hey, thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I've got some new camera stuff and am working to be very thorough and make the videos more comprehensive :D

Christ devera
2 years ago

Its an awesome bike but i just cant afford it

Juan Castro
2 years ago

+kris devera buy a used one and save 30% ! I think I am going to get one of this... in my opinion, a world class electric bike :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+kris devera Yeah, Pedego is an upper mid-priced bike. They seem more affordable now that Haibike, Felt and Specialized are selling for $4K+ but they still aren't cheap. Here's a list of some lower priced options: http://electricbikereview.com/tag/affordable/

cody1b
2 years ago

Court, I have a Citizen Tokyo folding bike with 16 inch tires. I really want to convert it but uncertain if I should go with the 8fun mid drive or leaf bike hub motor. Any recommendations or suggestions?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+cody1b Hmm... I'd go for a basic 250 watt geared rear motor kit (or front) to just keep it light and use a smaller battery as well. One good option might be the LEED PBJ (they sell a bunch of different battery options): http://electricbikereview.com/leed/pocket-bike-juice/ and for a bit more Dillenger also makes some good kits. It really depends on how you want to mount the battery to your frame and how much you weigh, how far you want to go etc. The 8Fun BBS02 mid-drive is a great kit but might be difficult to fit on a folder. Honestly, adding a rear rack with a simple battery might be best here or you could get a premade folding ebike like the e-Joe Epik: http://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/epik-lite/

Fayez Patel
2 years ago

I can do about 60 miles/day on a carbon road bike in about 5hrs, so 12mph avg speed.  With a lot less effort, I could probably do the same thing on an electric bike.  30-60 miles range for the 48volts 15amp hours 500watt geared motor version, even with the extra 60lb weight of the bike.  I could probably even do it quicker, since max speed is 20mph.  That's not calculating rider weight, terrain, weather, etc.

I just don't know if, compared to my carbon bike, this is what I want: A slighty more costly and heavy e-bike that needs battery replacement every few years and is going to be outdated with drastically better technology soon.

Maybe this is similar to when people used horses and the automobile was introduced. Eventually it become more efficient (cost/convenience), and we accepted the automobile as the standard means of transportation, but at what cost to the environment? The batteries on these bikes have a really destructive impact on our environment, but maybe not as bad as driving alone in a Hummer.

Great reviews nonetheless!! Detailed and great audio/visuals, how do you flip the camera around while riding?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Fayez Patel I like the sound of that and appreciate your clarifications about batteries, recycling and electricity generation sources :)

Fayez Patel
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com I wasn't seriously comparing an e-bike to a Hummer (even with 7 passengers). I just wanted to bring to light that there is an ecological impact with lithium-ion batteries (mining, processing, recharging (most of US is still on fossil fuels) and disposing (even with recycling programs)). But I'm looking forward to improvements in battery technology.

It would be better I think if there were lighter e-bikes with on demand power, days I don't need the battery I can just take it off, or if I'm hauling a heavy trailer with my bike I could add more power. The average carbon bike with tires and everything is about 9kg. Add 3kg for FlyKly. Add 1kg for Litelok bike lock. Total 13kg. :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Fayez Patel "but maybe not as bad as driving alone in a Hummer" not by a long shot... Think about forging all of that extra metal, plastic and foam then shipping that giant car to a dealer and ultimately driving with gasoline that is also mined from a remote location, refined and then delivered (with big trucks) to then be burned locally, emitting toxic fumes that also create health issues. By contrast, an ebike uses a fraction of the materials, does not pollute locally and can use energy that is generated with solar, wind or other renewable processes... the fuel gets cleaner. If batteries are disposed of properly (most Best Buy locations will take them) then they are recycled and materials are reused because they are valuable. Thanks for the props on the review, I use three cameras and just practice a lot to stay balanced. If you like carbon bikes that are light weight, check out this carbon ebike from last year (you could probably find it cheap): http://electricbikereview.com/easy-motion/neo-carbon/

EndtheDrugWarToday.com
2 years ago

Wow.  Great lookin bike.  Great review.

Oh boy you really have improved your audio quality to professional levels.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+EndtheDrugWarToday.com Thanks! I've spent a lot of time practicing and purchased a few new tools that really help, glad you noticed :D

Michael John Battista
2 years ago

A good reveiw

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Michael John Battista Thanks! Doing my best ;)

Z StHope
2 years ago

Excellent review and product; plus you look as if you had fun on a commuter?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Zavier H Thanks, I enjoyed testing the bike out and was excited to see the little updates that Pedego has made :)