Pedego 24" Trail Tracker Review

Pedego 24 Trail Tracker Electric Bike Review
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker 500 Watt Dapu Hub Motor
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker Removable Mid Frame 36 Volt Battery Pack
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker Twist Throttle
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker Lcd Display With Buttons
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker Avid Bb7 Mechanical Disc Brakes
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker Shimano Acera Seven Speeds
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker Mid Mount Extra Long Kickstand
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker Ebike Charger Manual Pedals Touch Up Paint
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker Electric Bike Review
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker 500 Watt Dapu Hub Motor
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker Removable Mid Frame 36 Volt Battery Pack
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker Twist Throttle
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker Lcd Display With Buttons
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker Avid Bb7 Mechanical Disc Brakes
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker Shimano Acera Seven Speeds
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker Mid Mount Extra Long Kickstand
Pedego 24 Trail Tracker Ebike Charger Manual Pedals Touch Up Paint

Summary

  • One of the only 24" sized fat e-bikes I have ever seen, it's easier to approach, stand over, and handle for short to mid-sized riders, Pedego also offers a 20" fat model for kids
  • Large comfortable tires that work well on sand or snow when deflated to 5-8 PSI, an integrated aimable headlight keeps you visible and lights the way, pedal assist and throttle operation
  • Large 180 mm mechanical disc brakes with tool-free adjustable calipers, motor inhibitors, and an integrated bell, updated frame design with shorter wheelbase improves handling
  • Fairly expensive but you get a large network of dealers for in-person support, heavy but powerful and well balanced, the bike comes with an extra fuse, touch up paint, and a quick 3 Amp charger

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Pedego

Model:

24" Trail Tracker

Price:

$2,895

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Sand and Snow, Trail, Youth

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia, New Zealand, Europe

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

58.6 lbs (26.58 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.5 lbs (2.94 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.36 lbs (3.79 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16 in (40.64 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

16" Seat Tube, 22" Reach, 27.5" Stand Over Height, 71.5" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Blue or Black Rims

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Steel, 9 mm Axle Diameter with Nuts

Frame Rear Details:

9 mm Axle Diameter with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7, Shimano Acera Derailleur, CS-HG20-7 Cassette, 12-32T

Shifter Details:

Shimano SIS Index Shifter on Right, Model FT55

Cranks:

170 mm, 3Piece Aluminum Alloy, 38 Tooth Chain Ring with Alloy Bash Guard

Pedals:

Pedego Branded Wellgo, Aluminum Alloy Platform, Black

Headset:

Neco, 1-1/8"

Stem:

Four 4 mm Spacer Stacks, 40 mm Length

Handlebar:

640 mm Width, 9° Rise, Low-Rise Aluminum Alloy, Black

Brake Details:

Avid BB7 Mechanical Disc Brakes with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Brake Levers with Rubberized Edges and Integrated Motor Inhibitors and Bell

Grips:

Pedego Branded Velo Flat Rubber with Lockers

Saddle:

Pedego Branded Velo, Black

Seat Post:

EXA Form, Aluminum Alloy, Suspension

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

28.6 mm

Rims:

3" Width, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 12G Black

Tire Brand:

VEETIRE CO, 24″ x 4″

Wheel Sizes:

24 in (60.96cm)

Tire Details:

5 to 20 PSI

Tube Details:

Shrader Valve, Pre-Slimed

Accessories:

Adjustable Length Kickstand, Integrated LED Headlight 15 Lux, Neoprene Slap Guard on Right Chain Stay, Optional Rim Accent Colors: Matte Black, Blue

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 18 Amp Controller (21 Peak), Shimano HG20 Chain, VPBC63 Sealed Bottom Bracket 100 mm x 151.5 mm, 1.9 lb 3 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Dapu

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

864 watts

Motor Torque:

35 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Panasonic, 18650

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

417.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

36 miles (58 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Monochrome, Backlit LCD with USB Charging Port

Readouts:

Speed, Cadence Sensing Assist (1-5), Throttle Mode (6), Battery Charge Percentage, Battery Charge Cycles, Battery Voltage, Time, Odometer, Trip Meter

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle, Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist (12 Magnet Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Pedego is offering something very special with the new 24″ Trail Tracker. It’s a medium sized fat tire electric bicycle that makes mounting, standing over, and controlling a lot easier for small and mid-sized riders. This is a large, relatively heavy, electric bike after all. The last thing you want is an off-balance stopped position or struggle even getting on. Amazingly, the company also offers a kid-sized 20″ Trail Tracker, and of course, they have the full sized 26″ model which is shown in the video review above to sort of contrast the size differences and show off a suspension fork add-on. All of these bikes share a similar look and have seen incremental improvements since 2013 when Pedego was using rear-rack batteries. By contrast, the newest models have downtube integrated packs that keep weight low and center and free up the back of the bike for swinging your leg over or adding your own aftermarket disc brake compatible rack like this. While this and other Trail Tracker models do not come cheap, they do offer excellent dealer support so you can get fitted and have somewhere to go if and when you need maintenance or upgrades. This is sort of a niche product, fat tire bikes were originally designed for use on sand or snow, but more and more people are buying them just for fun riding around the neighborhood. I love that Pedego opted for disc brakes given the larger size and continues to offer pedal assist and throttle so you get full power or efficiency based on your ride preference. They even threw on an integrated headlight to help you manage nighttime riding conditions… but you’ll have to use your own backlight. I often clip one onto my backpack or helmet. As a medium sized guy measuring ~5’9″ this bike felt great, and I had plenty of leg clearance. Note the 27.5″ effective standover height and measure your own inseam with shoes on to determine whether it would work for you.

The drive system consists of a powerful, high-end, hub motor from Dapu rated at 500+ watts. What makes it nice is how compact and quite it is despite being so powerful. It can peak out at over 850 watts and offers a max torque rating of 35 Newton meters which is a lot for a hub. Many companies are now offering mid-drive motors in place of or in addition to hub motors (which tend to cost less), the advantage is that you can leverage motor power more effectively… but they tend to wear the chain and gears down more quickly and rarely have throttle operation as an option. With the Dapu hub motor, Pedego offers both drive modes and it really doesn’t matter what gear you pedal with, the motor offers a smooth steady output. I think it blends in nicely between the large disc brake rotor on the left and the seven-speed cassette on the right. Seven gears isn’t a lot but the top assisted speed here is 20 mph so it’s good enough and the derailleur is two steps up from the base Shimano offering. In all truth, it’s a low/mid level setup and the shifter is not performance oriented, but the larger thumb levers make it easier to use when wearing gloves. There’s also a large window with clear readout for what gear is in use. This choice was probably a cost saving, snow or cold weather capable, entry-level friendly choice and it performed well enough during my tests. The cockpit is clean and easy to understand. I love that both brake levers have motor inhibitors built in so that when you pull, they instantly cut power to the motor as well as stop the wheels.

Powering the motor, backlit display, integrated USB charging port, and headlight is a custom designed downtube-inset battery pack. You can charge this thing on or off the bike, it has a little handle at the top for easy carrying, and while it does lock into the frame… you don’t have to leave the keys in to get it going (as some of the older Pedego models required). You get 36 volts, 11 amp hours to play with and I’d say that’s a touch above average in terms of capacity. The full sized Trail Tracker offers a 48-volt system which transfers electricity slightly more efficiently but that model also costs more and weighs about five pounds more. You’ll probably get a lot of attention and interest with the fat tires on their own so I like that the electric-bike aspect of this model is toned down a little, it just looks clean. The design also improves frame stiffness and spreads weight out evenly front to rear, making it feel more stable. Paul, the product manager, and designer for this bike, told me that they managed to shorten the wheelbase a bit for their 2017 Trail Tracker lineup and that the result was a tighter turning radius and more nimble handling.

Operating the bike is a simple two-step process and there are a couple of fun tricks and extras that the display offers this time around. Once the battery is charged and mounted, just press the silver circle button near the top of the pack and then click the power button on the LCD display panel. The screen flickers to life and shows your basic speed, assist level, and battery capacity readouts. I love that you can click set and + together to switch from battery voltage to cycle count and percentage because the five bar infographic just isn’t as precise as I prefer, percentage is definitely useful for a bike that’s heavier and less efficient like these fat tire models tend to be. The bike powers on in level zero which is what Pedego calls “freeride mode” and that’s just basically “no support” but you do get the display showing stats and the headlight going. As you press the plus button up through levels 1-5 the pedal assist sensor activates and starts listening for crank arm rotation. The new cadence sensor is compact and less likely to get bumped or thrown off with mud and water accumulation. In any of these five levels you can use the half-grip twist throttle on the left grip for instant power. This is a wonderful tool for starting after a stop sign or adding power to climb a hill or catch up to a friend. Why not have a throttle?! Well, it does change the bike from Class 1 to Class 2 which is technically not allowed on some trails but in my experience, the motor is not powerful enough to spin out or cause trail damage so the distinction is a little silly. The top speed here is 20 mph but you can certainly pedal or coast faster than that… to a degree. The seven speed cassette is only going to let you pedal so fast. Anyway, the final setting is level six which is throttle only. This is nice if you get spooked with pedal assist and don’t want to be surprised when accidentally forgetting and moving the cranks. Note the USB charging port at the base of the control panel, this is great fo use with a smartphone GPS, extra lights (some users string Christmas lights on their bikes for fun) or a portable bluetooth speaker system.

Pedego tries to preserve the simple, clean look of their original bikes and create a sort of nostalgia for some classic beach cruisers. The Trail Tracker models look simple and sturdy to me but they don’t lack bottle cage bosses, rear rack bosses, fender bosses, drive mode options, or high-end drive systems. This is a capable ebike that offers on and off-road fun. You do pay a bit of a premium for the Pedego name, strong two-year warranty, and friendly network of dealers… but it’s worth it in a lot of ways in my opinion. Pedego shops often have ebike rental programs so you could try the bikes out and enjoy seeing a new city. They have some color options (in this case just the rim color) and they use standard bicycle parts that will be easy to work with for years to come. Their battery design is proprietary but uses high-end Panasonic cells with reliable Lithium-ion chemistry. And the bike will charge quickly thanks to a 3 Amp charger whereas most other electric bikes only offer 2 Amp chargers. If you’re on the market for a fun “go anywhere” electric bike that has a bit of comfort and stability mixed in, any of these fat tire bikes would fit the bill. With the 24″ Trail Tracker you get a suspension seatpost to further smooth out the ride and that sloping top tube and unique wheel size provides an awesome experience. It’s a solid electric bike.

Pros:

  • The battery and motor are well hidden and spread weight across the frame vs. keeping it high up in the rear
  • Large 4″ wide tires provide excellent traction, a bit of comfort, and can be deflated slightly (5 to 8 PSI) to work on sand or snow
  • Threaded electrical connectors keep water from getting into the sensitive bits but make maintenance and damage replacement easier
  • Pedego has one of the largest dealer networks in the US and is growing globally, you can often test ride and get fitted as well as serviced in person
  • Strong 180 mm mechanical disc brakes offer good stopping power for this 58+ lb ebike, they stay clear of water and mud much better than rim brakes
  • You get an aimable integrated headlight to help you navigate paths in the dark and keep you visible to cars and other riders
  • I really appreciate the suspension post upgrade, the rigid Aluminum frame is stiff and sturdy but the vibration dampening steel fork, large tires, and suspension post help to reduce the motion and discomfort of a bumpy trail transferring into your body
  • Angled top tube and smaller 24″ diameter wheels lower the standover height of this bike, making it easier to mount and handle for people with short inseams
  • Nice solid pedals with great traction, a neoprene slap guard to protect the chainstay, alloy bash guard to clear pants, and locking grips for a solid hold
  • The removable battery pack can be charged on or off the frame for convenience, if you wanted to commute with the bike or maybe park the frame in the garage but protect the battery inside, the charger is fairly portable and quick offering 3 Amps vs. the standard 2 Amp I see on a lot of others
  • Pedego redesigned the frame to create a shorter wheelbase which improves handling and makes the frame stiffer in general for efficiency
  • They managed to squeeze in bottle cage bosses on the seat tube! This is useful for carrying fluids or a folding lock or mini-pump, whether you use it or not, it’s nice to have the option there and the back of the bike has provisions for adding a cargo rack if you want even more hauling capacity
  • I love that Pedego includes a thorough manual with their bikes, a small tool set, an extra fuse, and touch-up paint, it just feels like you’re getting more for your money and keeps the bike going
  • The brakes have motor inhibitors built in so that anytime you pull, the motor immediately cuts out for safety, I like the integrated bell on the left lever
  • Cadence sensing pedal assist allows you to pedal softly but still get full power, I like it because I have sensitive knees, Pedego upgraded the sensor to be small and stay out of the way which makes it more durable
  • You get throttle on demand performance which is great for starting or powering up a hill without having to adjust assist level (which can be distracting), the twist throttle is easy to use and overrides assist
  • Pedego now offers a two-year comprehensive warranty and lifetime warranty on the frame
  • The power cable that runs to the motor is mounted to the left chainstay vs. the right which keeps the drivetrain less crowded, it is also tucked in near the frame better than the older cheaper motor cables that could get snagged or bent if the bike tipped
  • The Shimano Acera drivetrain is two steps up from the base level component group and has a large thumb-shifter that is easy to use if you’re wearing gloves (which makes sense on a fat e-bike like the Trail Tracker)
  • The battery seats into the frame really well, it clicks so you know it’s connected, and you don’t have to leave the key in while riding like you did on the older models
  • If you want to charge your phone or an extra light while riding, you can plug directly into the base of the display because it has a 5 Volt USB port which pulls power from the main battery, very cool!
  • I love how the display shows battery percentage as well as a battery infographic with bars, it’s just more precise with the percentage (press Set and + at the same time to cycle through to battery cycles and battery voltage from percentage)
  • Pedego has a list of recommended accessories that will work with each bike such as a wide rack and wide fenders for the Trail Tracker here
  • The spokes are slightly thicker at 13 gauge vs. 14 gauge and because the wheel diameter is smaller, they tend to be stronger and provide a higher weight/force rating, the hub motor also gets a mechancal advantage

Cons:

  • The headlight is great but I wish Pedego also offered a backlight that was wired in, you can always add a clip-on light at your seat post or on a backpack/helmet
  • This is a heavy electric bike at 58.5 lbs and both wheels use nuts vs. quick release systems so servicing, storing, and transporting often requires a tool and some extra time
  • As great as the disc brakes are, with a tool-free adjustable caliper setup, the mechanical design isn’t as fluid or easy to pull as hydraulic which usually also has adjustable-length levers
  • The kickstand works well enough, it is extra large and adjustable, but is positioned at the bottom bracket where it can collide with the left crank if you walk the bike backward
  • For nearly $3k I feel like the bike is on the expensive side… that said, it’s the only 24″ fat electric bike I know of at this time and the warranty is great
  • To power on the bike you have to take two steps (first press the power ring on the battery and then the power button on the display), it takes a bit of extra time but at least the two buttons are easy to reach if you have already mounted the bike
  • Cadence sensors aren’t as fluid or quick to let the motor kick in so there was some delay as I was testing…
    but being able to override with the throttle basically solves this

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Pedego Reviews

Pedego Platinum Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $3,795
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A premium cruiser style electric bike with upgraded suspension fork, suspension seat post, integrated LED lights, a sturdy rack and hydraulic disc brakes. Powerful 500 to 1,000+ watt hub motor from Dapu with high-torque rating and durable protected…...

Pedego Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A custom designed electric trike with large plastic cargo bin at the back, three-speed internally geared hub can be shifted at standstill and is more durable than a traditional derailleur. Two mechanical disc brakes provide good stopping power, max speed limited to 7 mph in…...

Pedego 20″ Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sturdily built, lower speed electric bike with seven gears and throttle-only operation designed primarily for kids and youth but also a good fit for short riders. Max weight of 350 lbs, bosses in the rear for adding a rack and hauling…...

Pedego Latch Review

  • MSRP: $2,595
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sturdy folding electric bike with a full-sized feel, the extra long seat post and telescoping stem fit a wider range of body types than most folders I've tested. Premium drivetrain features and accessories including a Gates belt drive, Shimano Nexus internally geared hub,…...

Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $3,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fined fat tire electricbike with balanced down tube battery and purpose-built "extrawide" hub motor for improved drive train operation and torque. Nice LCD display panel with integrated buttons and swivel, includes a USB port for charging…...

Pedego Ridge Rider Review

  • MSRP: $3,395
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A delightfully capable and refined 27.5" hardtail electric mountain bike with powerful 500 watt motor and 48 volt battery pack. Nice upgrades on the adjustable air fork with lockout, 15 mm thru-axle, locking grips, hydraulic…...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A smaller version of the Interceptor that's easier to mount, it offers great power thanks to its smaller wheels paired with a 500 watt geared hub motor and 48 volt battery. Offers twist throttle and five levels of assist for increased range, throttle override puts you…...

Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,295
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stripped down comfort cruiser with easy-mount step-thru frame, throttle on demand only, optional fenders, multiple color choices and multiple battery size options from 36v 10ah up to 48v 15ah. Locking removable battery pack is protected in the color-matched rear rack, mechanical disc brakes are…...

Pedego Classic Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A sturdy, powerful cruiser style electric bike with large 500 watt geared motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery. Balloon tires, comfort saddle, suspension seat post and oversized handlebars create a relaxed upright ride...

2015 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A fat style ebike with zippy 500 watt geared motor and powerful 48 battery (available in 10ah or 15ah for extended range). Four fun color options, integrated headlight, pedal assist and throttle mode, quality mechanical disc brakes...

Pedego City Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $2,595
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A sturdy and powerful electric bike that's a bit more active than the cruisers (more forward body position, narrower handlebars) and is available in several frame sizes for improved fit. Lots of great extras including full length aluminum fenders, chain guard, puncture resistant tires with…...

Pedego Stretch Review

  • MSRP: $3,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A stylish and comfortable cruiser style electric cargo bike with removable tubing supports that extend the carrying platform or double as a back rest and running boards to accommodate a second rider. Offers two battery options for extended range and two drive modes including pedal assist (1-5)…...

Pedego Boomerang Review

  • MSRP: $2,495.99
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the easiest electric bikes to mount with extra low step-thru design, frame stiffness reduced as a result. Powerful 500 watt geared motor is quiet to operate and blends in well with cassette…...

Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Iconic cruiser style frame is sturdy, provides a relaxed seating position and comes in multiple colors. Powerful 500 watt direct drive (gearless) rear hub motor is durable, fast and relatively quiet...

Pedego 24″ Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

A smaller step-through electric bike with 24" wheels for riders who are petite. Very powerful for its size, uses a 500 watt direct drive hub motor with three…...

Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,795
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the only purpose-built electric bikes that is setup to be a tandem for two adult riders. Sturdy frame, fun classic design, reliable drive system with six speeds, great support and warranty...

2014 Pedego Step-Thru Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,095
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy cruiser style electric bike with simple twist throttle operation and upgradable battery pack. Large tires, swept back handlebars, plush seat and padded grips dampen vibration to smooth out…...

Pedego Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Great power for acceleration, climbing or moving heavier riders with a 500 watt geared rear hub motor and 48 volt Lithium-ion battery combination. Offers twist throttle and five levels of pedal assist for increased range, removable battery for…...

2013 Pedego Trail Tracker Review

  • MSRP: $2,975
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Off-road design with 4" wide tires, increased contact patch enables the bike to ride on sand, snow and other rugged terrain, larger tires also provide cushion for improved riding comfort. Ultra powerful 600 watt geared motor and 48 volt battery pack for improved torque and…...

2014 Pedego Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,895
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Stable three wheel design with battery, motor and controller mounted low under the cargo bin. No pedal assist option with this bike but the twist throttle is intuitive to use…...

2013 Pedego Interceptor Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Powerful combination of 500w motor and 48v Lithium battery. Durable and proven frame is borrowed from the Pedego Comfort Cruiser...

2013 Pedego Tandem Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $2,675
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

One of the only tandem style electric bikes available anywhere, large 500 watt motor offers good power. Built on the time tested, super simple, Pedego Cruiser cantilever style aluminum alloy frame...

2013 Pedego City Commuter Review

  • MSRP: $2,495
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Classic upright commuter frame is quiet, sturdy and functional with welded rear rack. Integrated seat post shock, lights, bell, and computer with clean wire management...

2013 Pedego Classic Comfort Cruiser Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Solid, durable and extremely quiet to ride due to gearless rear hub motor. Casual design looks like a laid back cruiser and comes in many fun color choices...


Rejean
2 months ago

thank you very much Court for all your wonderful reviews. I learned so much. But why did Pedigo put the twist throttle on the Left side? my left wrist is very weak because of being broken twice.

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Rejean, my pictures show the twist throttle mounted to the right side, not the left. Did you see something different on their website or in person? Maybe the throttle can be moved to either side… Sorry to hear about your hurt wrist :(

Reply
Rejan
2 months ago

Hello Court, You wrote in the review “You can use the half-grip twist throttle on the left grip” I guess you meant on the right grip. I should have looked at that picture more closely, lol, thanks for all of your amazing reviews, really appreciated!!! Rejean

Rejean
2 months ago

Hello Court, Do you know of other 24″ wheel fat tire electric bikes? You’re very amazing with all of your reviews. I enjoy watching and reading lots of them :)

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Rejean, this is the only one that I’m aware of at the moment, it’s possible that there are others or that you could use a kit on a non-electric 24″ fat bike as well but I don’t have any more info on them. Good luck :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Marceltt
1 month ago

Hi.

Can't speak of the Trail Tracker, don't know much about it.

I have a Teo and cannot say enough good things about it. I have a Red S Limited with fenders, rear rack with light. Very nice paint job.

But I have to admit the Rad Rover is also a good buy, it is very similar to the Teo Fat. Rad customer support is getting lots of praises, good warranty and a very vibrant community with lots of riders helping everyone out, here and on Facebook.

But the Teo has hydraulic brakes, bigger 17AH battery, 12 magnet cadence sensor, 9 speed derailleur, quick release on front wheel, among others. Worth the $ in my humble opinion.

The Rad Rover does show Watts used on its LCD display, the Téo does not. It also has nipples for a bottle holder on the frame, the Téo does not.

Both are made from pretty standard components, hence will be relatively easy to maintain over the years.

So yes the Teo is a good call. It ships out of Montreal in Canada, bike made in China, as many are, including Rad.

Good luck.
Thanks for your input. Ok now I'm down to the Rad and Teo. This is a tough one

mrgold35
1 month ago

Wow sounds like you love the Rad. The Trail Tracker is an expensive buy but the Teo &a Rad are half the price. Do you find it easy to work on the Rad. I'm a hands on guy and love to do my own work. With the ridge rider I am limited as you need special tools that only Pedego makes to work on certain areas of this bike.

Pretty much everything about the Radrover has standard parts, nut, bolts, allen sizes as a regular bike. I upgraded to an adjustable 0-60 degree stem, added a Suntour NCX SP-12 400mm suspension seat, transfered my handlebar extender from my other bike for my cell phone holder, upgraded the pedals to MTB type, and added a topeak rack+bag to my Radrover.

Another added bonus with the Radrover is you can adjust the motor cut-off in a few minutes to a little under 25 mph if you need some extra mph. The Radrover is not a perfect bike. It only the front tire has a quick-release, the front suspension with lock-out is just a spring, and the rover has cable brakes. I've had zero issues during an emergency stop with the 60 lbs Rover at +20 mph with the cable brakes (I'm 270lbs+25lbs of gear/accessories).

Marceltt
1 month ago

I've had my two his/her 2016 Radrovers for almost a year with 3200 miles between them. The wife doesn't use her Rover as much and I end up using both for work commuting and trail riding equally (I keep the wear/tear/mileage the same for both). The Radrover does a good job of being a "jack of all trades and master of none" type of bike for $1500.

Sounds like you might want more of hardpacked to single track fat tire bike mostly? The fat tire choices you picked will go anywhere your Pedego Ridge Rider can go offroad with the addition of loose sand being added to the mix with the extra wide tires. The Radrover only has 5 levels of PAS (PAS 0-5) that are designed to provide X amount of watts per PAS level until the 20 mph motor cutoff:
PAS 0: 0 watts,
PAS 1: 75 watts,
PAS 2: 175 watts,
PAS 3: 375 watts,
PAS 4: 550 watts,
PAS 5: 750 watts.

PAS 2-3 works best for me when trail riding. I've never had a need to use PAS 5 trail riding or work commuting because PAS 3-4 can get me at or near max speed of 20-21 mph usually.

I like the Radrover twist throttle because it provide full 750 watts of power in any PAS level (even in PAS 0). Full power throttle comes in handy for short inclines, deep sandy spots, walking the bike up inclines, getting across intersection in a hurry, tight trails when pedaling would hit obstacles, etc...

I went with the Radrover because it is a fat tire bike with ebike components added. I can remove, repair, transfer, or replace ebike hardware if they fail after the warranty period to mod the Rover with more power or just turn it into a regular 4" fat tire bike. At the price point of the Rover, it left me a lot of room for accessories, platform bike rack, lights and gear to travel and trail ride in/out of state day or night. The wife and I had a lot of fun and put over +100 miles on each Radrover in a couple of days at the Grand Canyon and Sedona last November.
Wow sounds like you love the Rad. The Trail Tracker is an expensive buy but the Teo &a Rad are half the price. Do you find it easy to work on the Rad. I'm a hands on guy and love to do my own work. With the ridge rider I am limited as you need special tools that only Pedego makes to work on certain areas of this bike.

Falken
1 month ago

Hi guys , I'm thinking of getting a fat bike and I already own the Pedego Ridge Rider. I have nailed it down to three - Trail tracker , Teo or the Rad. I'm torn between the three. Any input. I have read all the posts but still can't decide
Hi @Marceltt

I also have the Teo and am loving it! I can't speak hands on for either of the other bikes you mentioned but there is a Teo owner who's wife owns the Rad. He might be able to share some thoughts between those two bikes? His name is @Dan Edwards .
I can't see anyone regretting buying a Teo. It's been a great bike so far. From what I've read the Rad is a great bike as well. Good luck on your purchase!:)

Denis Shelston
1 month ago

Hi.

Can't speak of the Trail Tracker, don't know much about it.

I have a Teo and cannot say enough good things about it. I have a Red S Limited with fenders, rear rack with light. Very nice paint job.

But I have to admit the Rad Rover is also a good buy, it is very similar to the Teo Fat. Rad customer support is getting lots of praises, good warranty and a very vibrant community with lots of riders helping everyone out, here and on Facebook.

But the Teo has hydraulic brakes, bigger 17AH battery, 12 magnet cadence sensor, 9 speed derailleur, quick release on front wheel, among others. Worth the $ in my humble opinion.

The Rad Rover does show Watts used on its LCD display, the Téo does not. It also has nipples for a bottle holder on the frame, the Téo does not.

Both are made from pretty standard components, hence will be relatively easy to maintain over the years.

So yes the Teo is a good call. It ships out of Montreal in Canada, bike made in China, as many are, including Rad.

Good luck.

Marceltt
1 month ago

Hi guys , I'm thinking of getting a fat bike and I already own the Pedego Ridge Rider. I have nailed it down to three - Trail tracker , Teo or the Rad. I'm torn between the three. Any input. I have read all the posts but still can't decide

Dewey
2 months ago

So, we expand bikeways and MUPS.

A recent analysis noted cyclist injury patterns and severity were similar on roads and bike paths alike. Another analysis of cyclist injury data mentioned problems at intersections include turning vehicles, the presence of bus stops, and length of crossing whereas a median helps. A new report from the Governors Highway Safety Association touched on ebike safety on page 47 mentioning a 2016 German study which reported ebike riders are twice as likely as pedal cyclists to come into conflict with motorists at intersections. The GHSA report points to a need to change the built environment in US cities to be more accommodating for higher speed ebike cyclists, pedal cyclists, and pedestrians alike. Suggested accident prevention measures include protected bike lanes, redesigning intersections along busy bicycle commuting roads with marked bicycle box waiting areas at intersections and separate bicycle signals timed in advance of traffic to give cyclists a fighting chance to get ahead of turning vehicles, redesigning corners to add more sidewalk width and adding medians to shorten intersection crosswalks. I would add widening MUPs so as to be able to separate the bicycle and pedestrian paths, also require/monitor haulage companies to add side protection bars to prevent cyclists being pulled under truck wheels. Future gazing we might anticipate more sophisticated automated collision avoidance systems in cars and trucks perhaps built into autonomous vehicle software, although this article mentions the difficulties software has in identifying cyclists in real-world conditions driving on the street. To enable MUP/bike path access for distance ebike commuters who might prefer the faster Class 3 speed pedelecs but need to slow down when using bicycle infrastructure closer in maybe something phone/gps based using trail geofencing using Google maps, gps tracker chips in bike frames, and bluetooth controllers could be implemented by ebike manufacturers to automatically limit speed of ebikes on MUPs - this type of relatively simple application would support the case for ebike trail access.

Mr. Coffee
2 months ago

Disclainer: I own a Pedego (Interceptor).

The premium you pay on a Pedego bike is paying for the large dealer network and the fairly generous warranty. If you plan on riding the bike hard and depending on it those things are valuable to you. If you aren't doing those things the value of said premium is more questionable.

In general all Pedego bikes I've tried have an "overbuilt" feel to them compared to other ebikes I have tried. The downside of "overbuilt" is that it makes the bikes heavy monsters to haul around and the upside is they can take quite a bit of abuse (and use).

One question: you are focused on the 24" trail tracker here. Is that because that bike is more likely to fit you? I agree that there are very few options for a fat-tire ebike in that particular wheel size.

Brooklyn Tony
2 months ago

Thanks. I just wanted this bike but it wasn't meant to be I guess.

Fret not! Here's a couple of other fat tire options from low to high pricepoints:
Sondors Original, X, Fold, and Fold X,
Voltbike Yukon, and Mariner,
RadPower Rad Rover and Rad mini,
Pedego trail tracker
Luna cycles homebrewed stuff
iZip E3 Sumo
Emotion Big Bud
Bulls Monster

Cristina
2 months ago

Thanks for the replies. I did look at the Radmini and Mariner but they're not quite what I was looking for, though it did offer some advantages with a lower stand over height. Also great to see that the RadRover works for someone who is 4'11". I am 5'4" so hopefully it won't be too much of a struggle. I am guessing that the RadRover and Yukon are pretty similar in size, but the RadRover seems to have a more upright position for riding.

Pedego Trail Tracker looks very nice, but it is out of my budget at the moment, especially for a first e-bike. It is too bad because they are local for me.

I saw that M2S Bikes (https://m2sbikes.com/) offer different frame sizes which is nice, but it seems they are already out of pre-orders next month, and I haven't really seen a lot of reviews online about their bikes.

The touring saddle is a good idea. I have read some people trim the post of their bike, but I would rather not do that right away since I'm sure it would void the warranty. I am thinking maybe wearing boots with a heel might help out a little bit too. Really leaning towards the Voltbike Yukon at the moment, for all of the features for the price.

Ravi Kempaiah
3 months ago

Everyone tells me the $2,900 Pedego 24" Trail Tacker is too expensive for what it is but they can't tell me an alternative to compete with this bike.

24" Fat Bike.
Throttle Override at any level
Integrated battery.
https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/24-trail-tracker/

What other bike in this size with wider tires can do throttle override and especially the integrated battery? Such a clean look.

https://electricbikereview.com/magnum/ui5/

https://electricbikereview.com/eg/milan-500-ex/

Juiced HyperFat

Moonshine
3 months ago

Everyone tells me the $2,900 Pedego 24" Trail Tacker is too expensive for what it is but they can't tell me an alternative to compete with this bike.

24" Fat Bike.
Throttle Override at any level
Integrated battery.
https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/24-trail-tracker/

What other bike in this size with wider tires can do throttle override and especially the integrated battery? Such a clean look.

mrgold35
3 months ago

I'm new to ebiking and have his/her Radrovers since Sept/2016 with +2600 miles between them. I enjoyed riding so much, I parked my car and ebike work commute 3-4 times a week (switch off both bikes to keep wear/tear/mileage the same). I put around half my mileage trail riding single tracks. Things I've learned:

- factor in about 20%-40% at a minimum above the cost of the ebike for gear, maint, tools, accessories, cold/wet/warm weather clothing, bike rack, etc...
- check out the max weight and utility. The Radrover can handle 275lbs with the rider weight and gear. I also added a rear rack+bag w/ foldout panniers when needed. Some bikes may have wight restrictions or no mounting points for a full rear rack.
- bottle cage points. My Radrover has 3 pre-drilled bottle cage mounting points. Comes in handy for securing locks, extra water bottles, or I use the downtube bottle cage mounting point for my Boomerang GPS tracker.
- regular tires, plus size tires (around 2"-3"), or fat tire (+4"). I like my 4" fat tires because they smooth out the ride and I can transition between pavement, dirt trails, uneven surfaces, and sand smoothly.
- storage and charging at work and home
- public transportation friendly; fat tire bikes are too big for bus racks, some utility cargo ebikes too long, folding ebike might work better.
- Commute range, hills, wind, weight, weather, (cold) temp: Everything lessens your range except riding downhill and/or a stiff tailwind. May need a larger battery, spare battery, or bring a charger if environmental conditions take too much of a hit on your range (I have another charger I leave at work to top off).
- any local bike and/or ebike restrictions (bike paths, parks, no bike lanes on main roads, etc...)
- front suspension with either springs or hydraulic forks help smooth out the ride at +20 mph. Some folks prefer locking out the front suspension; but, all that vibration has to go somewhere? I rather have the suspension vibrate instead of my arms.
- full suspension or hard tail. Some full suspension bikes may not have points for adding a rear rack for a bag with panniers. Sucks wearing a backpack when it is hot outside.
- with or without throttle. I rather have it and not need it compared to need it and not have it. I use my throttle on every ride and I wouldn't want to ride an ebike without one because of the way I ride.
- Hub or mid-drive. Hubs can be cheaper, always tail heavy, average hill climbing depending on grade and weight, easier to fix/upgrade, can have throttle+PAS, take 10 seconds to learn how to operate, and usually less range in the 20-40 mile range. Mid-drives can be 2X-4X more expensive, a lot more range of choices, much longer range, better at inclines, less weight, more balanced, hard to find with throttle, and ebike components can be more $$ to fix.

I would plan a weekend to test ride different ebikes depending on how far you are from the closest ebike store. I would mostly compare hub-vs-mid, narrow-vs-plus-vs-fat tires, with or without suspension, and eMTB-vs-cargo-vs-city bikes.

mrgold35
3 months ago

I have a black and white (his and her) 16 Radrovers since Sept of 2016. I have about 1200-1300 miles per Rad with a good mix of work commuting (13 miles roundtrip) and fun/trail riding. I've added, replaced, and upgraded over the months and I now have the Radrover the way I like it. The next upgrade will be the convert the brakes to the TRP HY/RD hydraulic brakes.

Bike
- Luna Cycle triangle bag
- 1 Spare Radrover battery
- BC wide platform MTB pedals (black with red versions)
- Zefal lower downtube frame guard
- Arundel Looney adjustable water bottle holder
- Topeak Uni Super rear rack with Topeak MTX DTP Quicktrack rack bag
- RRP neoguard MTB mudguard
- Planet Bike Big Buck front fat tire fender
- Lizard Skin top tube protector (clear for white RR, Carbon fiber for Black RR)
- Problem solvers bottle cage height adaptor

Handlebars
- Sunlite 95mm 0-60 degree adjustable handlebar stem
- four 2.5mm spacers for Sunlite stem (two per bike)
- BM Works handlebar speed extenter
- GOTD plastic ebike thumb throttle
- Vibrelli Universal iPhone holder (work perfectly for my iPhone 6S Plus with Mophie battery case)
- Xlarge Bar Mitts (winter only)

Seat/seatpost
- Cloud9 11.5X12.5 suspension seat
- ISM Touring saddle (for wife to help with standover straddle)
- Suntour SP12 NCX 400mm seatpost
- Bodyfloat 350mm v2.0 orange spring

Wheels
- Vee8 120 tpi tires
- Mr. Tuffy 3XL liners
- Stans tire sealant
- red chrome valve stem cap

Helmets
- Fox Flux (his)
- Louis Garneau LG Roaota (her)
- AirStreamz noise reducer
- Bike Peddler helmet mount rear view mirror
- Light and Motion Vis 180
- Niterider 2200 and 1800 lights

Lights
- Niterider Pro 3600 lights
- Brightz LED 5 color lights (side illumination)
- Light and Motion Vis 180 on Topeak rack

Security
- Boomerang GPS tracker and alarm
- Xena XC-14 5 foot 14mm chain
- Xena XSU-310 18mm U-bolt
- Xena XUL-210 18mm alarmed U-bolt
- 15 foot security cable with lock

Misc Accessories
- Osprey Radial 34 Commuter Backpack (his)
- Osprey Comet Daypack (hers)
- Saris SuperClamp Freedom 4 bike rack
- Bike Hand Pro bike stand
- Extra RR battery charger to leave at work

1/11
PedegoElectricBikes
3 months ago

Longtime pedal bike shop owners choose Number 1 electric bike brand for new store

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., July 6, 2017 — The world’s 100th Pedego® Electric Bikes store is now open in Simsbury, Conn. Owned by Mike and Rachel Wolf, Pedego Simsbury is the fifth Pedego store in New England. Pedego also has stores in Boston, Rhode Island, Cape Cod and South Norwalk. Pedego Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. There will be ribbon cutting ceremony by the Main Street Partnership on July 6th to celebrate the opening.

“We're pleased to announce that Pedego Simsbury is our 100th Pedego electric bike store in the world,” said Pedego Electric Bikes CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. “Opening the 100th Pedego store is a testament to the growing popularity of electric bikes, and we’re delighted to be leading the revolution.”

THE PUBLIC IS INVITED TO JOIN THE RIBBON CUTTING CELEBRATION

WHAT: Ribbon Cutting Ceremony by the Main Street Partnership including refreshments and free test rides

WHERE: Pedego Simsbury store, 528 Hopmeadow Street, Simsbury, Conn.

WHEN: Thursday, July 6 at 4:30 p.m.

WHO: Store co-owners Mike and Rachel Wolf, plus representatives from the Main Street Partnership, Simsbury Chamber of Commerce, and City of Simsbury as well as Pedego representative Cassidy Castleman

Store owners Mike and Rachel Wolf, 77 and 71 years old respectively, are well-known in the area for their two long-established cycling shops. Nearly 67 years ago, Mike’s father established Connecticut's oldest bike shop, Bloomfield Bicycle & Repair Shop. Mike has worked there for 64 years, since he was 13 years old, and today, it is the oldest bike store in the region. It also carries the largest inventory of electric bikes in the area, with 150 electric bikes in stock. Of the nine electric bicycle brands Wolf carries at his Bloomfield bike shop, Pedego is the leading brand, which led him to open the Pedego Simsbury store. The Wolfs also own the Bike Cellar in Simsbury, which specializes in pedal bikes.

“Electric bikes are a game changer, enabling people of all ages to ride bikes,” Mike said. “We firmly believe that 60 percent of all bike sales in the future will be electric bikes, and we’ve decided to go with Pedego, the Number 1 electric bike brand, as Pedego is devoted to delighting its customers and empowering its dealers.”

The Wolfs are not only Pedego electric bikes salespeople, they are big fans themselves. An avid Pedego rider, Mike lost 54 pounds and lowered his cholesterol and blood pressure over the past 18 months with his Pedego electric bike. Weather permitting, the septuagenarian rides more than 20 miles every morning. He said, “Not only have I gained back my health, I’ve also gotten better looking, thanks to my electric bike.”

Pedego Simsbury’s opening is the culmination of Mike’s decade-long friendship with Pedego CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. They met when DiCostanzo owned an electric bike shop in Newport Beach, Calif., long before he co-founded Pedego. DiCostanzo said, “We are thrilled to welcome Mike and Rachel to the Pedego family. They share a passion for bringing electric bikes to the region and getting Baby Boomers back on bikes.”

Pedego Simsbury offers sales of all 12 Pedego Electric Bikes models that empower riders to zoom up hills and through headwinds. All Pedego bikes have a 500-watt hub motor that helps riders cruise distances of 30 to 60 miles without getting tired and sweaty. Now available at the new Simsbury store are California-styled cruisers, including the Pedego Platinum Interceptor, a fully loaded cruiser bike; the Pedego Interceptor, which boasts a 48-volt battery that propels riders with extra power; and Pedego’s Comfort Cruiser, which is powered by a 36-volt battery for gentle help with hills. Also available are the Trail Tracker fat-tire bike for riding on gravel and snow; the Ridge Rider electric mountain bike; the sleek City Commuter; the sturdy Stretch cargo bike and the Latch, an ingenious folding bike, designed for portability and convenience. Pedego also recently introduced the Airstream model for camping devotees.

Rentals and sales of Pedego bikes are available. Located near the Pedego Simsbury store are the Farmington Canal Heritage Trail and Farmington River Trail, two scenic trails that meet in the town. The Farmington River Trail is part of the rail-to-trail bike path network that takes riders up into Massachusetts or down into New Haven, Conn. The store provides maps so renters can enjoy riding through the beautiful countryside. Simsbury was recently voted the most bike-friendly community in Connecticut.

Pedego Simsbury also offers top-notch service for Pedego electric bikes. Everything from maintenance to customizations can be handled by the team.

About Pedego Simsbury

Pedego Simsbury has the distinction of being the 100th Pedego Electric Bikes store in the world and is the region’s premier dealer in Pedego Electric Bikes. Pedego Simsbury offers a large selection of Pedego electric bikes sales, rentals, accessories and service. Free test rides are available. Located at 528 Hopmeadow Street in Simsbury, Conn., Pedego Simsbury is close to the Farmington Canal Heritage Trail and Farmington River Trail, two trails that combine for a scenic ride through a forest. The store is open seven days per week: Monday through Friday, 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Saturdays 9:00 am. to 5:00 p.m., and Sundays 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. To learn more and reserve a test ride, call 860-413-2543 or email info@pedegosimsbury.com. Follow us on Facebook and visit our website at http://www.pedegoelectricbikes.com/dealers/simsbury/

About Pedego

Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 12 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at 100 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

1/1
PedegoElectricBikes
3 months ago

Electric Bikes energize the town with fun and fanfare

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., July 5, 2017— A Pedego® Electric Bikes store is now open in Petoskey, Mich., bringing an exhilarating new activity to town. Pedego Petoskey co-owners Bryan Newman and husband-wife team Bill and Pat Anton are excited to introduce the nation’s Number 1 electric bike brand with a party that includes free test rides on the elegant electric bikes. It is the 99th Pedego store worldwide. Pedego’s enormous popularity grew from the brand’s stylish designs and quality components. Every Pedego bike features a 500-watt motor that empowers riders to conquer hills, headwinds and long distances with ease.

THE PUBLIC IS INVITED TO JOIN THE GRAND OPENING & RIBBON-CUTTING CELEBRATION

What: Grand Opening and Ribbon-cutting Ceremony will include free test rides and snacks

Where: Pedego Petoskey, 438 East Mitchell Street, Petoskey, MI, 49770

When: Thursday, July 13 from 4:00 to 8:00 p.m. Ribbon-cutting Ceremony at 4:45 p.m.

Who: Store co-owners Bryan Newman and Bill & Pat Anton, store manager Dawn Marie Hansen, Friends & Family, Petoskey Chamber and various City Ambassadors will be present as well as Pedego California representatives Tom Bock and Cassidy Castleman.

Newman is an experienced Pedego dealer as he also owns Pedego La Quinta and Pedego Palm Springs, both in Southern California. Every winter since opening his other stores, Newman has had visitors from Michigan rave about the electric bikes as the best part of their California vacation, so he decided to bring the fun of Pedego electric bikes to Petoskey, an established vacation destination. “I chose to become a Pedego dealer because it’s all about fun, and now I'm thrilled to bring the fun to Petoskey,” he said.

Pedego riders can cruise for hours enjoying Petoskey’s miles of scenic paths without over-exerting. Located in the Northwest tip of Michigan’s Lower Peninsula, Emmet County offers a variety of paths that blend scenic splendor with rich historical sites. Long stretches of sandy beaches, quaint downtowns and year-round activities beckon outdoor enthusiasts, including families. Little Traverse Wheelway, a re-established turn-of-the-century trail that goes from Walker Road, Charlevoix, to Hoyt Street in Harbor Springs, presents more than 26 miles of pure riding enjoyment. This and several other trails await riders who want to explore the area while having fun on electric bikes.

Pedego Petoskey offers sales of all 12 Pedego Electric Bikes models that empower riders to zoom up hills and through headwinds. All Pedego bikes have a 500-watt hub motor that helps riders cruise distances of up to 60 miles without getting tired and sweaty. Now available at the new store are California-styled cruisers, including the Pedego Platinum Interceptor, a fully loaded cruiser bike; and the Pedego Interceptor, which boasts a 48-volt battery that propels riders with extra power. Also available are the sleek City Commuter; the Trail Tracker fat-tire bike for riding on gravel and snow; the Ridge Rider electric mountain bike; the sturdy Stretch cargo bike and the Latch, an ingenious folding bike, designed for portability and convenience. Pedego also recently introduced the Airstream model for camping devotees.

Available for rent are Pedego’s cruiser-style Interceptors, sporty Ridge Riders, ultra-low step-thru Boomerang Plus bikes, fat-tire Trail Trackers, Stretch cargo bikes, sleek City Commuters and a shiny red Tandem. Helmets and locks are included with rentals.

“Petoskey is such a beautiful place with miles and miles of scenic bike paths to enjoy,” said Pedego Electric Bikes CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. “We're very happy that riders will now be able to see, experience and enjoy Petoskey on Pedego electric bikes.”

About Pedego Petoskey

Pedego Petoskey is the region's premier dealer in Pedego Electric Bikes. Offering a large selection of Pedego electric bikes for sale and rental as well as accessories and service. Riders can cruise near sandy beaches, through quaint downtowns and enjoy year-round activities on Pedego electric bikes. Little Traverse is a local bike path offering more than 26 miles of scenic splendor combined with fascinating historical sites. Open Sunday through Thursday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., and Friday and Saturday, 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Located at 438 E. Mitchell, Petoskey, MI 49770. To learn more and reserve a test ride, call (231) 881-9488 or email info@pedegoPetoskey.com. Follow us on Facebook and visit our website at http://www.pedegoelectricbikes.com/dealers/Petoskey/.

About Pedego

Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 12 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at nearly 100 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

1/1
PedegoElectricBikes
3 months ago

Pedego San Diego brings energetic vibe to Downtown’s fashionable BRIC

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., July 5, 2017 — The first Pedego® Electric Bikes store in Downtown San Diego has opened a pop-up shop in front of their soon-to-be permanent location on the ground floor of the elegant new BRIC center on San Diego Bay. Pedego San Diego offers Pedego’s 12 stylish models of powerful electric bikes that enable riders to enjoy cruising all over town with ease. Pedego Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego San Diego is Pedego’s 98th store worldwide.

The Pedego San Diego pop-up shop offers free test rides, sales and rentals of the popular electric bikes. They're located at BRIC San Diego along with the Marriott Residence Inn, Spring Hill Inn and Suites Bayfront Hotels at Lane Field, just one block from the Santa Fe Depot train station. The store is open Sunday from Noon–6 p.m.; Monday from 10 a.m.–6 p.m.; Closed on Tuesday; and Wednesday through Saturday from 10 a.m.–6 p.m.

Store co-owners husband-and-wife Sean and Chelsea Chavez, and Sean’s dad Celso Chavez, are excited to bring Pedego electric bikes to Downtown San Diego, giving visitors and locals alike an easy, fun and green alternative to cars. “With Pedego electric bikes, you can discover more of this beautiful city without the hassles of parking or worrying about hills or headwinds,” Sean said.

From the store, riders can easily cruise to the city’s great landmarks, including the Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Balboa Park and museums, Old Town and Harbor and Shelter Islands. Riders can also take their bikes on the ferry to Coronado Island or bike to the island via the full 24-mile Bayshore Bikeway, which conveniently begins across the street from the store.

Pedego San Diego offers sales of all 12 Pedego Electric Bikes models that empower riders to zoom up hills and power through headwinds. All Pedego bikes have a 500-watt hub motor that helps riders cruise distances of 20 to 60 miles without getting tired and sweaty. Now available at the new San Diego store are California-styled cruisers, including the Pedego Platinum Interceptor, a fully loaded cruiser bike; the Pedego Interceptor, which boasts a 48-volt battery that propels riders with extra power; Pedego’s Comfort Cruiser, which is powered by a 36-volt battery for gentle help with hills; and the Pedego Tandem, the most stylish and powerful electric tandem available. Also available are the Trail Tracker fat-tire bike for riding on sand and gravel; the Ridge Rider electric mountain bike; the sleek City Commuter; the sturdy Stretch cargo bike that allows for extra cargo or an extra adult or two children to ride along; and the Latch, an ingenious folding bike, designed for portability and convenience. Rentals start at $20 per hour and $75 per day, depending on the model.

“San Diego’s famous sunshine and outdoor lifestyle make it a perfect home for a top-notch Pedego store,” said Pedego Electric Bikes CEO and co-founder Don DiCostanzo. “Pedego riders will enjoy riding longer, farther and faster, seeing more of this great city without having to deal with traffic or parking.”

About Pedego San Diego

Pedego San Diego is the region’s premier dealer in Pedego Electric Bikes, offering a large selection of Pedego electric bikes sales, rentals, accessories and service. Test rides, rentals and sales are available at a nearby pop-up site during construction of the store’s permanent location in the elegant BRIC hotel complex, an exciting lifestyle destination in the heart of Downtown San Diego. Riders can cruise to the city’s great landmarks, including the Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Balboa Park and museums, Old Town and Harbor and Shelter Islands. Open Sunday Noon–6 p.m.; Monday 10 a.m.–6 p.m.; Closed on Tuesday; and Wednesday through Saturday 10 a.m.–6 p.m. Located at 900 Bayfront Ct., Suite 100, San Diego, CA 92101. To learn more and reserve a test ride, call (800) 604-7187 or email info@pedegoSD.com. Follow us on Facebook and visit our website at www.pedegosandiego.com.

About Pedego

Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 12 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at nearly 100 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

1/1
PedegoElectricBikes
7 months ago

Pedego’s growing family of fat-tire electric bikes are brash and bold as ever — with a size for almost everyone

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., March 22, 2017 — The original Pedego® Trail Tracker fat-tire trail bikes roared into the electric bike world two years ago bringing extra excitement to electric cycling. Pedego Electric Bikes today announced two new smaller-sized models of the Pedego Trail Tracker that will make bike riding on terrain as wild as sand, gravel or snow an exciting excursion for the whole family.

Available at Pedego stores and select electric bike dealers worldwide, the smaller Trail Trackers are specially sized and designed for smaller riders. These smaller 20” and 24” bikes round out the Trail Tracker line, which includes the original 26” Trail Tracker, a powerful bike that takes riders through all kinds of terrain for extra-exciting fun.

The Trail Tracker family is now available in three sizes to fit every member of the family:

· The 20” Trail Tracker — Designed for riders who are 4’11” to 5’3”. This bantam-sized Trail Tracker empowers smaller riders to zoom up and down the trail on exciting bike trips. Yet, the smallest of the Trail Tracker family is designed with safety in mind. It boasts a 36-volt, 11.6 amp-hour battery and is governed to a top speed of 12MPH — plenty of power to add thrills and fun while gentle enough for a less-experienced cyclist to manage. The bike’s throttle-only system allows riders to maintain manual control over their speeds. Available in striking matte black with neon orange rims, this rugged bike appeals to anyone seeking adventure.

· The 24” Trail Tracker — Designed for riders who are 5’4” to 5’9”. This feisty Trail Tracker is a little larger than the 20” Trail Tracker yet is designed to be more accessible than the larger 26” model. This size boasts the same advanced features as the larger bike, including a Pedal Assist LCD featuring Pedego’s exclusive PedalSense Technology™ — six levels of power that make automatic control of the bike more responsive than ever. The bike also has a throttle for easy manual control. Governed to a top speed of 20 MPH, the 36-volt, 11.6 amp-hour battery is a great fit for teens or smaller adults, providing plenty of power to keep up with bigger bikes while zooming up and down trails. Available in superhero-style matte black with matte black or shiny blue rims, this model is eye candy to all thrill seekers.

· The Original 26” Trail Tracker IV — Designed for riders over 5’5”. This sporty fat-tire bike is designed for riders over 5’5” tall who want to glide over sand, gravel or snow. This bike boasts 500 watts of acceleration and hill-climbing strength fueled by an integrated, down-tube 48-volt, 14 amp-hour lithium ion battery. Complete with LCD display and USB charging port, the Trail Tracker includes Pedego’s exclusive PedalSense Technology with six levels that make digital control of the bike more responsive than ever. The twist-and-go throttle adds instant speed for maximum command, and top-of-the-line SRAM disc brakes provide reliable stopping power. The bike’s enhanced frame geometry offers sporty handling and a relaxed, forward-riding position while leading the pack. Available in matte black with a choice of black, blue, red or green rims for extreme path appeal.

Riders will love the power and fun of these more-accessible Trail Tracker family additions. These high-quality electric bikes allow energetic riders to hop on and pedal away for exciting exploration and exercise, enabling smaller riders to zoom along with their taller friends and family members. Now couples and families can thrill to great journeys of discovery that will bring them closer. As cycling parents say, Families that tour together, endure together.

“Pedego is one of the only companies to offer smaller bikes. We aim to delight all our customers — of every size,” said Don DiCostanzo, CEO and co-founder, Pedego Electric Bikes. “The new low-set Pedego Trail Trackers are opening up the bike trails to more riders as everyone can ride along and make it a real family adventure.”

Pedego Electric Bikes also offers 10 “pedal or not” electric bike models, including cruisers, commuters, mountain bikes and specialty bikes including the Latch folding electric bike and Stretch cargo bike.

About Pedego
Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 10 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at more than 90 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

Dmitri Nesteruk
4 months ago

Can you do a review of the 24" kids Haibike (Sduro HardFour 4.0) e-bike?

Tardisius
4 months ago

If the 24' had a chain guard, rear rack, swept back handle bars and mag wheels, I would buy one today =)

David Bledsoe
4 months ago

He always has a bicycle to ride 3mouths to get one wheel and not here yet sucks

Roco Roco
4 months ago

Holy crap... premium price on a bike that's slightly better than sondor lol.... get yourself a rad rover... for 3k you can get a wayyyyy better bike...

Jan Cedric I Ybanez
4 months ago

Been watching your videos lately and I like it! Gonna get an ebike soon, do you have any recommendations with a 1300usd budget? Been checking something with cyrusher

Jose Rodriguez
4 months ago

price?

Jim Hofoss
4 months ago

overpriced

pipeman451
4 months ago

Outstanding review of an outstanding EB. But did you like it 😀!!! Getting better all the time

Lucas Montenegro
4 months ago

Please more videos about conversion kits!!! thanks!

AlexandrosTGreat
4 months ago

Hey, I'm trying to figure out (as a soon to be first time electric bike owner and long-time viewer) which of the new Specialized Turbo Vado bikes to purchase. (I live in Minnesota) Any advice would be appreciated!! :)

Michigan Mister
4 months ago

so what do you mean "500w motor, but up to 850? Pedego rocks, my dealer is great.

fromkentucky
4 months ago

Pretty much, yes. Most motors are programmed to put out around double their power rating for takeoff, then quickly decrease amperage to the rated limit to protect the motor from overheating.

Michigan Mister
4 months ago

hmm, ok. my boomerang has the same deal, 48/500. to me it's "zippy" enough- thanks

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

My understanding is that depending on the Amps put out by the motor controller, some motors have a range of operations but can consistently operate at their nominal rating indefinitely. So this motor is rated at 500 watts but can be pushed up to ~850 because of the way the controller is setup to send more amps. Very few manufacturers share their Amp rating and even the watt listing could be generalized, it's a difficult thing to interpret so I usually just try to explain how the motor feels, like smooth and soft or zippy. And that's also why I "gun it" to see how quickly it reaches the top speed :)

DeadlyDanDaMan
4 months ago

These are INCREDIBLY overpriced. You should check out the Xtreme Grizzly Fat Tire E-Bike. It's got the full 1250w 48v system for HALF the price of these bikes. Pedego is ripping people off.

Steve Donovan
4 months ago

I think the Pedico is arguably the better bike without getting into particulars but your point is one a lot of people make and with most all the manufactures. What we're seeing, right now, is considerable differential in price with respect to quality some consider not that important or more subtle. Nearly identical bikes can differ by a thousand or two because of a better front suspension and/or shift capability. So, if the more refined aspects of the ride along with dependable service/warranty are worth it to you, then you pay. And the best time to buy that really good bike is in December-January with last year's model :)

Michigan Mister
4 months ago

a quick call to Pedego, problem/question solved/answered yesterday. worth MY money...

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

They offer a different set of values. Xtreme is mostly online so you don't get to see and test the bike or get fit, you'll have to deal with maintenance on your own and they may use lower quality parts. That's okay and it's great that we have choices... but it's not a ripoff, just less emphasis on service :)

James Mason
4 months ago

never rode a fat bike don't know if I would like one

James Mason
4 months ago

Maybe I will go to local bike shop and try one out

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

They're kind of neat, the big tires offer comfort and float for sand and snow, they tend to be very stable too :D

Chauncey Smith
4 months ago

take my money. I love this review.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Ha! Awesome man, glad you liked it :D

Theo Valente
4 months ago

i really like this channel,thats what i call a REVIEW

Markus Müller
4 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com i like the long reviews because you need Time to Review. Please stay to them. Do you get stevens ebikes? The e 6x 2017 is very interesting. Greetings From germany!

Lysle Basinger
4 months ago

Neat design

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Thanks Theo, I realize they can run a bit long at times but it's nice to really dig in, I really appreciate your comment :)

AlexandrosTGreat
4 months ago

First!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

XD