Populo Scout Review

Populo Scout Electric Bike Review
Populo Scout Right Profile
Populo Scout Motor
Populo Scout Battery
Populo Scout Gear Shifter Bell
Populo Scout Control Center
Populo Scout Hud
Populo Scout Headlamp
Populo Scout Suspension
Populo Scout Battery Close
Populo Scout Battery Level
Populo Scout Derailleur
Populo Scout Disc Brake
Populo Scout Seat
Populo Scout Kick Stand
Populo Scout Pedal
Populo Scout Left Profile
Populo Scout Profile Right Angled
Populo Scout Electric Bike Review
Populo Scout Right Profile
Populo Scout Motor
Populo Scout Battery
Populo Scout Gear Shifter Bell
Populo Scout Control Center
Populo Scout Hud
Populo Scout Headlamp
Populo Scout Suspension
Populo Scout Battery Close
Populo Scout Battery Level
Populo Scout Derailleur
Populo Scout Disc Brake
Populo Scout Seat
Populo Scout Kick Stand
Populo Scout Pedal
Populo Scout Left Profile
Populo Scout Profile Right Angled


  • A relatively affordable, surprisingly powerful eight-speed electric bike with a comprehensive HUD and front suspension that feels like a great fit for urban commuting, it also comes in two frame sizes, 49cm and 54cm to accommodate a wide range of rider heights
  • Extremely accurate torque sensors and quiet 350-watt mid-drive motor allows for a 27-mile real-world range and 20-mph top assisted speed, making riding the Scout an enjoyable experience
  • mid-frame battery fits nicely into the downtube and keeps weight relatively low and center, can be removed in a matter of seconds, has a power button on top to quickly check level and a USB port to charge accessories while riding or on the go
  • While the Scout performed well overall, there were some issues with the tightness of the stem and poor finish with the loose grip and missing screw, basic derailleur, grips, and fenders

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers








Body Position:


Suggested Use:


Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Years Comprehensive, 3 Years Frame


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

54.6 lbs (24.76 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.5 lbs (3.4 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

19.29 in (48.99 cm)21.26 in (54 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Small 49 cm Measurements: Seat Tube Length, Reach, 32.5" Stand Over Height, Width, Height

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Matte Black with White Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Suntour NEX E25 Spring Suspension, 50 mm of Travel, Rebound Adjust, 100 mm Hub Spacing, 9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

135 mm Hub Spacing, 10 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Tourney TX (Or Shimano Altus), 11-32T Cassette

Shifter Details:

Shimano M310 Triggers on Right


Bafang CKA05, Alloy, 170 mm Length, 38T Chainring


VP Plastic Platform with Rubber Tread


Threadless, Internal Cups, 1-1/8" to 1-1/2" Tapered


Zoom, Forged Alloy, 90 mm Length, 17-Degree Rise, 31.8 mm Clamp


Zoom, Low-Rise, Forged Alloy, 560 mm Length

Brake Details:

Tektro HD-T285 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Dual-Piston Calipers, Tektro Levers with Adjustable Reach


Synthetic Leather, Ergonomic, Black


Velo Sport, Black

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, Black

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm


Alloy, Double Wall, Mid Dish, 36 Hole, Reinforcement Eyelets


Stainless Steel, 13G, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

CST Classic Zeppelin, 28" x 2.0" (700 x 48c)

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Stripes

Tube Details:

Presta Valve


Plastic Fenders, Plastic Chain Cover, Integrated LED Headlight, Adjustable Rear-Mounted Kick Stand, Flick Bell


Locking Removable Downtube-Mounted Battery Pack, 1.5 lb 2 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang MM G521.500 Max Drive

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Gearless Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

120 Newton meters

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

468 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

27 miles (43 km)

Estimated Max Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Display Type:

Bafang HMI, High-Contrast Backlit LCD, Adjustable Angle, (Double Tap i for Settings)


Current Speed, Max Speed, Average Speed, Tripometer, Odometer, Battery Level (10 Bars), Lights, Pedal-Assist Level (1-5)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Left, (Buttons: Lights, Power, Info, +, -)

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Pedal Torque, Cadence and Wheel Speed)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

At $1,699, the Populo Scout is a relatively affordable electric bike that feels like it was designed with the urban commuter in mind. It boasts a 350-watt Bafang mid-drive motor that affords a top pedal-assisted speed of 20 mph, a removable battery that provides an estimated 28-mile range, a surprisingly good HUD and front suspension to help soften the impact from those less-than-perfect city streets. Some of the Bafang powered e-bikes I have seen out there offer throttle mode but the Populo Scout does not, I found that pedal-assist only was more than enough to help me power through longer-than-normal rides and it felt really smooth because of the multi-sensor setup vs. pure cadence sensor. In fact, after putting nearly 50 miles on the Scout, the pedal-assist turned out to be my favorite feature. The torque sensor is incredibly accurate and power comes on almost instantly after applying pressure to the crank. Furthermore, the motor shuts off just as quickly once I stopped pedaling. As a 200-pound rider – by the way this is Brent, not Court writing this review – and I consider myself to be in average shape, the Scout made me feel like I had boundless energy and power, which of course is a common feature with most electric bikes. The torque sensor felt very fluid and natural and felt more like it was smoothly helping me up hills and when I pushed on the pedals I got more power more quickly than on some other electric bikes. I also greatly appreciated the expansive HUD, which includes all the pertinent information I like to see at a glance while riding, including current speed, top speed, average speed, a tripometer, odometer, battery level and more on a big LCD that is easy to see and read. The Scout feels like a well-rounded electric bike with tons of great features and only a handful of flaws.

The Scout comes in one color, flat black, and in two frame sizes, 49 cm and 54 cm. The frame is constructed from double-butted 6061 aluminum alloy with smooth welds, giving the 49 cm version a curb weight of 47.6 pounds without the battery, and 54.6 pounds with the battery, which is a bit heavier than average considering that it doesn’t have a rear rack. The official Populo website says the frame can support tires up to 38c, however my Scout came with larger 48c tires, which fit alright and didn’t rub but did seem a bit large for the bike. They helped to improve stability and comfort, so it’s neat that you could also decide to upgrade tires and feel confident that they would fit and not drag on the frame or fenders. The frame feels sturdy, even with a 200-pound rider, and the only downside I found was that the stem seemed overly tight. I tried loosening the screw on the top cap that connects the stem to the steering tube, but that failed to alleviate the pressure. I even took the Scout into a local bike shop and had them take a look at it. They mentioned the star nut that sits inside the stem was slightly askew, which may be the culprit, but in the end there was no easy fix and even after 50 miles the stem didn’t loosen at all. It wasn’t so tight that it made turning impossible, but it was noticeable and it did causes a fair amount of resistance when riding… so hopefully that’s not something that a lot of people will experience. I’m not sure if this is an issue with my specific unit, or if this is a stylistic or manufacturing issue with Populo? Feel free to chime in with your own experiences in the comments below. Either way, it’s not the worst thing in the world, but definitely something I wanted to note.

The handlebars are fitted with ergonomic grips made from what feels like synthetic leather. The grips are comfortable and the stitching looks nice, but out of the box I noticed the right grip on my Scout was loose and moved around when I put pressure on it. A little bit of tape or superglue would probably fix this in a few seconds, but again, just something I wanted to note because the grips were not locking. These are not the kinds of grips with lockers where you can just tighten a screw or clamp to keep them straight. On the right side of the handlebars is a thumb-activated bell to alert passersby that you’re, well, passing by. Also, on the right side of the handlebars is the thumb-activated Shimano M310 eight-speed gear shifter that connects to the Shimano Tourney derailleur, which is a pretty basic derailleur (entry level from the Shimano brand). The official Populo website says the Scout comes with a Shimano Altus derailleur, which is one step above the Tourney, but the model I received came with the Tourney. Shifting on the Scout was smooth enough, though I did experience some issues getting into top gear. It felt like the derailleur kept hanging onto 7th gear and just didn’t want to find 8th, this is something that a good tuneup from a bike shop cold possibly alleviate if you ever experience it, but that can cost $60 to $100 to do in my experience. I found that if I switched back and forth from 6th to 8th a few times it eventually hit top gear. Shifting also felt a bit laggy and clunky when trying to shift under heavy load and I actually had the chain pop off during this phase of testing. I suspect a bit of fine-tuning might alleviate this issue, but these were the issues I found with the Scout out of the box. The last thing on the right side of the handlebars is the brake lever, which leads down to the rear 180 mm hydraulic disc brake. The Scout has disc brakes in the front and rear, giving the bike ample stopping power without requiring too much hand strength. There was no disc rattle with the brakes and zero play or sponginess in the levers themselves.

In the middle of the handlebars is the Scout’s LED backlit HUD. The HUD itself isn’t interactive, but instead serves only as a screen from which you can see your current speed, max speed, average speed, how far you’ve gone during a trip, how far you’ve gone during the life of the Scout, how much battery power is left, what level of pedal-assist you’re on and whether the front headlamp is on or off. The information on the HUD is cleanly laid out and the fact that’s it backlit makes it easy to see during the day and at night. I really appreciate the level of detail that went into the Scout’s HUD, as I much prefer to use an integrated to HUD on my electric bikes as opposed to having to hook up my phone in order to see speed, distance, etc. On the left side of the handlebars is a brake lever that activates the front 180 mm hydraulic disc brake and the rubberized button control pad which allows you to switch between pedal-assist modes one through five, turn the front headlamp on and off and toggle between display settings. The tactile feedback on the control center’s buttons are good, providing an audible click and physical feedback when they’re depressed, and I think they would probably work well even with gloves on. The control center is secured to the handlebars via a clamp that is locked in place with a screw. This screw was missing out of the box, so the control center on my Scout frequently comes loose and falls off. Bummer, this is one of the trade-offs if you order a bike online vs. being able to find it in a shop… but Populo is building relationships with new dealers regularly, so not everyone will have to deal with the damage that can happen in shipping.

On the front of the Scout sits the integrated headlamp, which can be toggled on and off from the control center on the left side of the handlebars. It’s great that the Scout has a headlamp to help increase visibility in low-light conditions, but it does little in the way of actually illuminating my path. The headlamp isn’t particularly bright to begin with, and with the striated beam pattern it looks more like a bar code than an actual headlamp. I really enjoy riding at night so a good headlamp is important to me – I was disappointed the quality here. I ended up using my Bright As Day headlamps, which I use on pretty much all my electric scooters and bikes, and that allowed me to comfortably ride at night. The downside of lights like this is that you have to take them off when parking or risk losing them to a quick thief. I’d love to see a better headlamp in future models of the Scout, or at the very least, an option to upgrade to one because it’s handy to have lights attached more permanently and wired into the battery pack vs. having to charge a second one or two. Beneath the headlamp is the Suntour NEX E25 adjustable spring suspension, which offers 50 mm of travel. The shock worked well enough for hopping up and down curbs and dampening rougher roads and uneven terrain, but I wouldn’t necessarily say the Scout is a mountain bike. It has limited adjustability and is more of a street design to take the bite out of cracks in the road. The Populo Scout really feels like an urban electric bike to me, so I guess you could scout out your neighborhood? I stiffened the suspension a bit to compensate for my weight by using the compression dial and after they were properly adjusted there was minimal dive with heavy braking. If we keep going down from the suspension, we get to the 28″ smooth tires and stainless-steel spoked double walled rims. Pretty standard stuff here.

On the downtube of the Scout is the semi-integrated, detachable Panasonic 36v, 13ah, 468wh battery pack. That was a mouthful. But the battery pack is fantastic on the Scout. It sits nicely on the downtube and while it’s not completely flush with the frame, it’s not overly bulky or an eyesore that sticks out like a sore thumb. It’s also only as wide as the frame itself, so I didn’t have any issues of hitting the battery pack with my knees while pedaling. On the left side of the battery pack is the lock. The key isn’t used to activate the battery, but to remove it from the frame. Just turn the key, lift the lever and boom – the battery pack is free. The battery can be charged while it’s attached or detached from the frame, which is great because that means I can ride to my favorite coffee shop (which is Peet’s if you’re wondering), lock up the Scout and bring the battery inside to charge. There’s also a USB port on the right side of the battery so it can be used as a portable battery bank, which is great! Charging the battery takes about three hours, on the top of the battery itself is the power button, which also doubles as a quick way to check the battery power level. There are four hash marks to indicate 100%, 75%, 50%, and 25% or less. Populo estimates the battery can power the Scout for 28 miles, and to my surprise that’s almost exactly what my real-world testing showed. As a 200-pound rider operating with the highest pedal-assist level, I averaged 27 miles per charge. That totally blew me away and is by far the most accurate range estimation I’ve seen to date. I think a lighter rider or someone who is willing to use a lower pedal-assist setting would likely be able to go even further.

At the bottom of the Scout is the Bafang Max 350-watt mid-drive motor, which uses a torque sensor to determine how much help you need. I was impressed with the accuracy of the torque sensor and with how quickly the power came on when I started pedaling. And thankfully, I never felt like the bike was running away from me when I stopped pedaling, which is a problem I’ve noticed on some other electric bikes that use simple cadence sensors. The Bafang Max Drive motor is also ghostly quiet and I could only hear it running when it was under heavy strain. Because of how smooth the motor is and because of how quiet it is, riding the Scout really made me feel like I was much stronger and more fit than I actually am. Taking hills was easier than I expected, and even with just 350 watts of power I was able to get to the top of most inclines without exerting too much effort. In fact, I don’t think I ever broke a sweat while riding the Scout, but I do feel like it gave me a mild workout – maybe something comparable to a brisk walk, a cardio workout. The Scout is less versatile than some of the other Bafang motor bikes that have a throttle-only option, but honestly, I found that I really enjoyed being forced to pedal as it made me feel like I was at least burning some calories. The Populo website says the Scout comes with a Cionlli Ergonomic saddle, but my Scout came with a Velo Sport. At the bottom of seat post is quick-release lever to adjust the seat height.

Overall I feel like the Scout has some great features, like the comprehensive HUD, removable battery and an effective mid-drive motor, but it definitely has a few drawbacks, like the overly tight stem and somewhat unfinished feel due to the missing screw and loose grip. The derailleur and suspension are pretty basic but I like the hydraulic disc brakes, bottle cage bosses on the seat tube, fenders, bell, and lights (even though they were also kind of basic). The Scout seems like it’s a great electric bike for anyone looking for an urban commuter that won’t break the bank. AT $1,699, you’re definitely paying less than a lot of the higher-end electric bikes, but you’re still getting a decent product that fulfills its purpose… and does so quietly and smoothly ;)


  • The Bafang 350-watt motor is extremely quiet and the torque sensors do a great job of detecting exactly how much pedal assist to deliver
  • The real-world range of 27 miles (in my experience) is incredibly close to Populo’s estimated 28-mile range, and the range could probably be extended even further for riders who weigh less than 200 pounds and/or who are willing to use a lower pedal-assist setting
  • Impressive and easily navigable HUD with tons of pertinent information, it’s also backlit so it’s easy to see during the day and at night
  • Front suspension does a good job of dampening minor bumps and rough roads, making for an all-around smoother ride experience than if there was no suspension at all
  • Battery locks into place and can only be removed with a key, so it’s relatively secure if you have to leave the Scout unattended, it also has a USB outlet so you can charge accessories while riding the Scout or use it as a portable battery bank
  • Front and rear 180mm disc brakes give the Scout more than ample stopping power, there’s also no brake rattle out of the box and the brake levers themselves are very responsive and have no play in them
  • Having eight different gears to choose from makes finding the right one for climbing hills and cruising an easy task
  • Five different levels of pedal assist allows riders to choose between getting a good workout, or feeling like Lance Armstrong
  • Relatively low price of $1,699 is less than a lot of higher end electric bikes, but doesn’t sacrifice too much in terms of quality


  • The stem on my Scout was overly tight to the point that it made riding for long distances somewhat tiring and uncomfortable, even the folks at my local bike shop weren’t able to diagnose the issue
  • There were some issues with the finish on my Scout, like the loose grip and the missing screw for the control center, as well as some discrepancies between the included components Populo advertises on their website vs. the actual components on the bike, like the Velo saddle as opposed to the Cionlli, Tourney derailleur vs the advertised Altus
  • Shimano Tourney derailer struggled to find 8th gear, even when repeatedly switching back and forth from 6th to 8th, some tuning might fix this but out of the box there were definitely some issues
  • The plastic chain cover is nice but I found that the derailleur was more basic and the chain fell off when riding at times, the Bafang Max Drive doesn’t provide any shift detection so it could put more wear on the drivetrain
  • The Scout only comes in one color, flat black, but at least the tires have reflective stripes on them to keep you visible from the side
  • The chain guard feels like it’s low quality – I struggled to get it back on after fixing the chain derailment during testing


More Populo Reviews

Populo Lift V2 Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An approachable step-thru electric bike with basic suspension for and seat-post suspension that improve comfort, large display is simple and easy to read, integrated headlight keeps you visible. Efficient 250-watt hub motor drives the Lift V2 to a top pedal-assist or throttle-only speed…...

Populo Sport V3 Review

  • MSRP: $999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An affordable, single speed electric bike available in three colors and four frame sizes, driven by an efficient 250-watt hub motor for a top pedal-assist speed of 20 mph, no throttle mode. Extremely basic setup makes for easy operation and potentially lower maintenance than electric bikes with…...

Populo Sport Review

  • MSRP: $999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable, fairly stylish, surprisingly peppy single speed electric bike that would be great for urban riding, available in five frame sizes and four colors. Very affordable at just under $1k, especially considering the wires are internally routed through the…...

4 months ago

I would take the mud gurards off :)

4 months ago

Yeah, it makes sense… I wish he would have shown what they sound like and look like for the review before removing them, but I can understand why he did it ;)


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Thomas Jaszewski
3 weeks ago

More and more cities are making bike lanes a primary thought in urban planning. Until such time as there are protected (enlightened populous) bikeways I ride with a cam mounted on my bikes. Thanks Reid!

Populo Bikes
3 weeks ago

Populo Bikes is a dealer-focused brand with over 130 locations across the United States. Our dealers have close relationships with their local customers. Feedback and services are usually handled directly by the dealers.
If you're interested in test riding one of our products, we would be happy to refer you to an authorized dealer near you. Try it out and see if you like it for yourself!

Let us know if you have any other questions.


Populo Bikes
2 months ago

Today Populo is introducing our newest e-bike, the Lift V2. Lift V2 focuses on comfort with an easy on/off step-through frame, upright riding position, plus suspension fork and seatpost. The Lift V2 is a Class II e-bike with both pedal assist and throttle modes, featuring a 250W rear hub motor, Shimano drivetrain with twist-shifter, and disc brakes for stopping power.

Lift V2 includes thoughtful accessories like a rear rack, lockable battery, backlit display, and headlight powered by the e-bike battery. We've even included a friendly bell!

Our newest model is available now at the 100+ Populo dealers across the USA, and online at Populo.com. We're also proud to launch Affirm on Populo.com, which allows you to pay for your new e-bike over time with easy monthly payments.

Check it out at https://www.populo.com/products/populo-lift-v2-electric-bicycle

A formal press release follows.


- the team at Populo Bikes

Esteban Raposo
Populo Bicycles
(866) 300-3311


Hybrid model at dealers now for just $1,399

CITY OF INDUSTRY, CA - Populo Bicycles announces the immediate availability of the new Lift V2 electric bicycle across their dealer network of independent partner bike shops. Dealers received stock of the new model in mid-January.

The Populo Lift V2 is a Class II electric bicycle featuring both throttle and pedal assist operation with a step-through frame. It is powered by a 250W motor and Samsung 313Wh battery, allowing an estimated range of 30 miles or possibly more.

“Today’s e-bikes are lighter, powerful, and more affordable than ever before,” said Jeremy Griffin, national sales manager for Populo Bicycles. “We are very excited to deliver this exciting new model to our dealers at a great price.”

Populo designed the Lift V2 to be accessible to casual cyclists. Poor flexibility can limit some riders ability to swing a leg over the saddle, so the step-through frame eliminates that concern. The bike also features a suspension fork and seatpost to take the edge off rough pavement, and an upright, swept-back handlebar with ergonomic grips for a more comfortable riding position. Last, but not least, powerful mechanical disc brakes allow for easy stopping.

Lift V2 is offered in matte black or gloss white, comes in two sizes (43cm or 50cm) and retails for $1,399.99.

Populo Bicycles offers a full line of electric bicycles through independent local bike shops and is actively signing up new dealers to add to their network. For more information, contact Jeremy Griffin at jgriffin@avantsports.com.

For all other inquiries, visit populo.com


If you would like more information about this topic, please contact Esteban Raposo, (866) 300-3311 or eraposo@avantsports.com

2 months ago

Court charges a modest fee plus travel expenses, though they have national distribution through Dick’s Sporting Goods so it ought not be too much trouble. The newer Genesis and Phantom models with the frame mounted batteries offer better weight distribution than the older rack mount design. The website has mentioned an upcoming mid-drive model with a torque sensor pedal assist for a while, which would be a change from the direct drive throttle Class 2 ebikes they’re known for, though if it’s using the Bafang max drive 350w $3k seems a bit expensive when compared with other ebikes with the same motor from Biktrix, M2S, Populo, FLX, etc.

bob armani
4 months ago

How about the Rubbee compact portable electric drive system reviewed on this forum: https://electricbikereview.com/rubbee/drive-2-0/

There is also a newer version coming soon also on this forum https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/rubbee-x-introduction.15247/#post-121643

4 months ago

I was accepted to go Study Abroad for Spring 2018 in South Korea. I travel by car to my home university and either walk or use a golf-cart service to my classes. The golf-cart service is provided for those with different disabilities. I have a very mild form of muscular deficiency. I am perfectly capable of walking and performing normal physical activities, but compared to an average human being, I perform these activities at a slower rate. I am perfectly capable of riding a bike as well :).

While abroad, I will not have a car with me and even though South Korea has a good transportation system, I would like to invest in an e-bike. The university I will be attending is known to be in a 'hilly' location. The e-bike will give me a little boost for those hills and at the same time, I will have a way of transportation. I plan to use the e-bike as a normal bike and use assistance for hills or longer travels.

I am looking for an e-bike that is not too heavy, but my main goal is to find an e-bike that can get me up those steep hills. I have been looking at models such as:

- Populo Sport Electric Bicycle V3
- Faraday Cortland
- Gazelle NL C7 HMB

I understand that all of these models are quite different, but I am new at this and not sure where to start. Please keep in mind that I am a university student and these e-bikes are not cheap. However, I am open to any suggestions! I am open to ALL recommendations :)

4 months ago

Single speed ebikes like the E-Glide SS, Populo Sport, Sondors Thin, and EasyGo Race are some of the lightest weight affordable complete ebikes. Court has mentioned some can be geared high so you don't spin out and for that reason he likes a throttle or more sensitive PAS sensor so the motor can help you get moving from stationary or up hill.

4 months ago

Court raises this point in his reviews of lower priced ebikes, typically he suggests comparing retailers that offer customer service and warranty parts support out of a US physical location with others that offer no or crowd-sourced support. Other 'tells' are whether a low-price ebike retailer is making the effort to redesign their product in light of customer feedback, for example Populo redesigned the battery mount on their $1k Sport model after customers complained of the battery rattling around on the bike, the 2017 Sport's with the redesigned battery mount are reportedly much quieter.

5 months ago

Wow, you picked some real interesting choices! Are you even aware that GenZ is Manhindra (sp) one of the largest manufacturers of heavy equipment and automobiles in the world. Don't think they are going anywhere.
Bulls is one of the real success stories of Ebikes, Specialized(!), Scott (HUGE in Europe), Stromer!!, Haibike!!!!!!!!!!! LOL, you're killing me here. You do realize you've listed all of the biggest, most successful Ebike companies out there as going to be gone............... Trek?? If it doens't go well? ALL the "New" big boys have been selling Ebikes in other countries for YEARS, including Trek. Scott and others have said they may be Ebike ONLY in the future. Sales are PROPPING UP REGULAR BIKE COMPANIES....
Flip your idea 180 degrees and You've made a pretty good list of the companies that will be kicking ass with Ebikes in the next 10 years.

86 and still kicking
5 months ago

Serious disagreement with the assumptions and the list. Direct to consumer, online, and mobile delivery are the future of the market. Pedego is a tiny little brand that just happens to be the largest seller of eBikes in the United States. Companies like Stromer, Reise and Muller, KTM and others have very marginal operations in North America. Genze is a tiny little international company that happens to be larger than just about all the vendors combined.

Mike's E-Bikes
5 months ago

Hard to predict what brands will stick around, but the brands that survive will have the best business model, and not necessarily the best product.

What will surprise people the most, is that many brands that SEEM to have popularity now, are most likely NOT the ones that will survive. Precisely because their business models don't allow dealers to make enough to even live on, or are just poor, or they are naively going direct to market on-line.

These brands in no particular order that will most likely struggle:
Van Moof

There's at least 50 more, than aren't worth even mentioning.

Survivors could be, IF they even decide to keep doing e-bikes:
Reise & Muller
Trek (though the name may stay, they may dump ebikes if it doesn't go well)

Some names may survive and get bought out, if they have some sort of unique niche they've captured.

None of the above matters anyway, as I predict hundreds more new names will be forthcoming, until the market gets this right. Its WAY too early to speculate on any of this, but it might be interesting to look back in 5 years to see if any of this was right, or wrong.

6 months ago


My dad will be celebrating his 70th birthday next month and my siblings and I are looking to get him an electric bike for a birthday/retirement gift. He's about 6'2" and he definitely prefers an upright ride and really values comfort.

Our budget is around $1,500 (which I know doesn't go too far in this arena), but we're looking for suggestions on what might be the best fit for him. I've done some research, but I'm having a tough time pulling the trigger on anything since I'm brand new to electric bikes and I've never really heard anything of the available brands in that price range.

Some we're considering:

[*]Populo Lift
[*]Crosscurrent Air (replacing the stem wth an adjustable stem to make it more upright)
[*]VoltBike Elegant

Any suggestions would be awesome! Thanks!

2 months ago

I just received my Lithium Cycles Scout Rose Ave...

It's been pretty cold here, but I've done a couple runs around the neighborhood over the past couple days. It's fun and living up to my expectations. This is my second electric bike, my first is a Japanese family bike (Bridgestone Bikke), which my wife and I got when we had our second child. We love it and used it like the family stationwagon, but the kids are now on their own bikes more and more.

Anyways, back to Rose. Top speed on flat ground is a little above 20mph without pedaling, though at that speed with a single gear bike, pedaling looks pretty silly. I live in Pittsburgh, and there are lots of hills here, but it climbs the big hill near my house without any issue. I haven't ridden it through a complete battery cycle yet, so I'm not sure what the range is, I'll update once I've got some more time on it. It's heavy, and I think it rides more like an electric scooter or motorbike, so maybe it's more useful compare it to those.

It came nicely packed. I ended up swinging by my LBS to give it a final checkup before riding it, mine needed significant adjustment to the front bearings and disc brakes. Other than that, everything went smoothly.

5 months ago

If you contact Juiced directly they have the 1095 Crosscurrent Air in stick with the smaller batt. Keep in mind this is a before tax price AND be sure you are comfortable with the reliability concerns that have been raised. M2S 350 Scout seems solid at 1200. And a 2 year warranty

6 months ago

Does anybody have any reviews or information regarding the Scout S1?


10 months ago

don't scare the new generation now!

Denis Shelston
10 months ago

Oh, geez. That store is where my mom got me my first scout uniform, like 55 years ago. Crap I feel like a dinosaur all of a sudden

jaromir Jagr
10 months ago

SALT RIVER FIELDS—Two Colorado Rockies pitchers who are recovering against Tommy John surgical treatment https://www.shoptherockies.com/German_Marquez_Jersey-29, Greg Holland and Jairo Díaz, threw simulated video games in direction of little league hitters upon Sunday.Inserting upon my newbie scout cap, I principle Holland early pitches appeared in the direction of be thrown demanding and with respectable destination, nevertheless they had been in addition lovely basic for me in the direction of look at and monitor. As he threw extra, his pitches looked in the direction of keep their speed, still they turned more durable in direction of perspective, suggesting a little bit a lot more stream upon the pitches. In just overall, Holland was about the hit zone and gave up merely 2 strike balls for the duration of his effort and hard work. Holland as well finished a form of twitchy flexing of his entrance leg throughout his windup. It not crystal clear if this incorporates normally been a element of his action, or if it particularly some thing I acknowledging at the moment. The flow distracted me as an observer, and I ponder if it would moreover disrupt a batter timing. Diaz, who experienced his medical procedures additional not long ago than Holland, appeared a little bit fewer complex at the outset. His fastball was challenging toward visually monitor, and he didn seem to be towards consist of the manage of his pitches. He bounced a number of inside the dust at the starting up, and Díaz looked a tad little bit pissed off early upon inside of the outing given that of it. Whilst I didn retain depend, it looked excess of his pitches had been swung at and disregarded than Holland https://www.shoptherockies.com/Jason_Motte_Jersey-14. Via the close of his consultation, his deal with solved down and his personality greater.

11 months ago

I like it! I'm probably going to avoid heavy rain for the first few weeks. Once summer gets going we're been surprisingly rain-free. But I'll definitely start scouting up some materials to cobble up something like that for mine.

Thomas Jaszewski
1 year ago

I'd not "take a chance " with a random company. But scouting forums and asking for recommendations you'll find there are China resellers that are not a high risk. Or no more than some USA discounters that have 30 days warrantees. I've been using ne for 3 years now as well as a few fellow builders. All with excellent results. Some resellers will do the same as the China seller and ask customer to make repairs. I always order a backup BMS with a China pack. Last year I had a friends USA pack and my pack form China, and they were identical BMS. Indicating to me both came from the same builder.

I think the risk is minimal with the right vendor, and have had no failures personally ought of a dozen batteries between myself and friends. With two resellers. One is budget with less support, the other is stellar and with very robust builds for a higher price. The higher price gets better warranty and advanced build techniques.

A 52V battery (A highly trusted British expat in China calls it 50V) needs a charger capable of 58.8V, 48V battery needs a charger with a top end of 54.6V

Thomas Jaszewski
1 year ago

I scout sierratradingpost.com often. I managed to hit some panniers that listed for $90 each for under $25 each. Worth checking from time to time. Google can be set up to make daily searches as well. I also found Connex chains, great lubricants, some hardware and lights all on very low closeout prices. I never mind the last years model unless the current upgrade corrected some horrible problem. Easy to sort with Google.

James Kohls
1 year ago

I think many consider riding your bike in a frozen winter setting more akin to ice skating than cycling. Here is all of my knowledge and wisdom passed on to you.

I am a 43 year old Minnesota native with 5 winter seasons of biking experience.

Advice Lesson #1: Don’t get into winter biking if you aren’t willing to commit to the expense.

Winter biking is expensive, if you do it right. You can easily spend as much on winter gear as you would on a decent road bike. Only committing part way means compromises. Compromising means you will either A) quit riding and thus forgo any investment you’ve already made, B) create an unsafe environment for you and others, and/or C) die because you knew the risks and didn’t prepare for them. Seriously. Winter biking is dangerous. It only takes seconds for a perfectly normal ride to become a nightmare.

How far do you plan on biking?

This is an important question you should know the answer to before committing. Are you just biking down the street to a friends house or the store? Are you commuting to work? Frequent trips within 3 miles is a completely different scenario than a 10-20+ mile trip. The farther you travel, the more likely one of those worst-case-scenarios will come up.

Imagine your route

If you are new to the area, be sure to scout out your route on snowy days—preferably in a car or on the bus. Learn what roads get plowed quickly and which stay snowy. If you take bike trails, try to find out if they get cleared and how soon. If you ride on the road, do the plows clear all the way to the curb? Is the shoulder clear? Can you see blacktop? Is their rock salt scattered about? If a plow goes around a car, would the snow trails force a cyclist to swerve into the street? Do people put their trash cans and recycling out in the shoulder instead of on their lawns? While driving a car, imagine a cyclist on the shoulder or bike lane next to you. If that cyclist slipped, could you avoid them? Do you have hills to overcome? Are they steep? Imagine they are covered in ice. Or worse yet…patchy black ice (there is help for this, so keep reading).

Realistically, you should already be a comfortable spring, summer and fall rider on the routes you plan to take for at least a full year. The route and obstacles should be second nature to you.

2 years ago

Love your reviews. Newbie needs a pair of folding ebikes for motorhome to avoid towing a car. Like to ride a few miles to scout potential campsites prior to driving in the motorhome. Want to ride to town for groceries or coffee without moving the motorhome. Like to ride and exercise but not looking to climb or ride anything too rough. I'm having trouble determining the essential components. I looked at all your TOP rated videos and read reviews. I like the Pedego LATCH but not sure why. Pros are the belt drive, quality, dealers, LCD display but I'm confused. There are many things that bother you about this bike but you seem to accept them. Is 250 W OK w 20" wheels? Is front wheel drive OK? Is aluminum frame with no suspension of any kind OK? (can retrofit something on the seat post?) Is 3 gears enough? Is 6 magnet cadence sensor enough? You seem to appreciate these areas when they are upgraded on other bikes but find them acceptable on the LATCH. AND its $pricey.
They still have no bag. I did find a Samsonite roof bag at Costco today for $32. (38"X38"X18") Waterproof, rugged and almost perfect size. No carrying straps but ok to cover it inside the motorhome.

I too love all the LATCH's Latches. They look solid. I have an aluminum road bike w carbon fiber seat stay, rear stay, fork and its still a bit chattery Hate to spend $3K on the LATCH and vibrate to death. I'd appreciate some guidance to help w the decision. Moving from Alaska June 17 to pick up the motorhome in Iowa. Then a year long adventure planned around US and Canada.



Ron Bez
2 years ago

Hi Doug,

I can answer a couple of your questions. I too am a new owner of a 2016 base model, I have had it a couple if months.....approaching 1,300 miles. I am also a road biker coming from vintage steel racing bikes all Camy. The Turbo was the only ebike that felt anything like what I was used to and enjoyed riding. I also thought the base model was a really good deal considering the quality.

1. I had the same problem trying to set the computer but found mine was already set to mph, and the backlight was on. You can't see the backlight unless it is dark, and when it is dark it works well for me.

2-3. I am not sure if there is newer firmware, but I did talk to a guy that is supposed to be one of the Turbo expert in the US. He said the base model we have was not designed to go faster than what we are experiencing. The marketing department is misleading us on the 28 mph speed, and shouldn't be promoting that.
After living with the bike a while I decided that I didn't care. I love the ergonomics of the bike, I still want to work out when I ride it, and a couple of miles per hours don't matter to me. I find mine starts easing off power at between 27 and 28 mph. I do often hit higher speeds than 28 on flat ground and I like the way it doesn't seem to just stop at 26, but rather eases off. I really feel ebiker's are way to hung up on top speed. I am much more interested in the experience of riding and don't focus solely on speed. Some days I feel like going like hell, working myself as hard as I can. Others I just want to putt along and enjoy the surroundings. Either way, I like the feel and fluidity of the Turbo.

4. The Mission Control app will not work on our bikes, even with the big bluetooth battery, at least according to the web site. I read a lot before my purchase and knew the computer was very basic. I too like having some additional info sometimes and am considering an additional cycle computer at some point. It's not a priority for me, someday maybe. I use apps on my phone for more info when wanted for now.

5. Can't help you on the chainring questions, though I know chain dropping is a big problem without the guide. Make sure you can position the guide properly if you do change rings.

Couple of other things. I love the mirror with it repositioned downward (see photo). I do catch a little of my leg when scouting way behind me, but it is still by far the best view I have ever had from a bike mirror. I like that it isn't wide angle and I can actually tell how close cars are to me without looking back.
Having come from road bikes like me, you might consider different tires. I had no idea how slow the oversized slicks were until I switched to Schwalbe tires. Even the Heavy Marathon's i tried first are faster, and with the current Energizer Pros on, it as if a ball and chain has been removed. There are also other fender options if you don't wish to spend the big bucks on the factory stuff, just an option. I love the way the SKS's look and work on my bike.

Enjoy the bike and be safe! Keep us posted on your experiences.

Ron [ATTACH=thumb]

SKS fenders, perfect color, warm super dark gray, not black

Mirror mounted downward.......I'm really thin and catch a little of my leg.

These are 700x38 Marathon's Puncture resistant brutes.........still faster than the fat slicks! [ATTACH=thumb]

This photo is with the 700x35 Energizer Pros

2 weeks ago

Brent did a good job! Hope he stays on!

Baron Of Hell
4 months ago

Brent was great. Stop being mean to Brent. You wish you were Brent. Brent has tiger blood. Brent and the bike are one, is he man or machine? The world may never know. Thank you Brent. Thank God for Brent.

Michael Sprinzeles
4 months ago

A decent review by Brent but your commentary at the end was needed to fill in some very important information.
If you can't build your own, Populo makes some fairly practical e-bikes. This one, with 100 more watts, a mid drive and gears should be able to tackle any road which may challenge a hub on a single speed, making it a better value for riders that can't avoid hills.

4 months ago

Cool, glad that little endnote was appreciated. I don't want to cramp Brent's style but there was some confusion and complaints on his first review of the Gocycle so I tried to fill this one in a bit more :)

Michael Sprinzeles
4 months ago

Most e-bikes actually do register accurate battery levels (while not consuming power) . The reason they shut off while still registering power is that the BMS shuts the battery down at around 20% to prevent a full drain of the battery which can be damaging.

4 months ago

Interesting, that's a great point. Maybe this one took that into account and still reserves 20% but just makes the battery infographic match the "usable power" or maybe it actually fully drains? would be interesting to test with a voltmeter :D

run home
4 months ago

Hey Court,
Can you give Brent his own handle no pun intended. Each reviewer should be set a part for his own work. A you tube channel like TFL car has many reviewers but each has his own handle.
Thanks again for all your hard work and keep growing the channel.

run home
4 months ago

Hey Court,
I guess it's a nic name with a logo. You need to have a writers stamp like on a book or articles. So your peps know it's your work under the umbrella of EBR. I would also get a specialist in each area of biking like bike mech., brands, electric and none electric so on. Each giving a take on different types of reviews. I hope this is helpful.

4 months ago

Interesting, how does a handle work? Would that be a separate YouTube channel or just a different logo or something? I'm open to your feedback, thanks!

Jacqueline Waters
4 months ago

Missing screws, screwed up headset, cheap ass components..horrible quality control, its basically a walmart bike with a motor...and they want as much as a radrover...no thanks

4 months ago

I'm excited to see what Rad Power Bikes has in store for 2018, visiting them later this month in Seattle!

james eagle
4 months ago

Jacqueline Waters-Manesis exactly it's made in China and it sacrifices good components for a motor, that's how they get you. Just get a normal bike with way better components for the same price for a better quality bike.

Jeff Mueller
4 months ago

The video of the display is poor. How about shooting the video for the display with appropriate lighting. I'd like to actually see what the display is displaying. Edit the video with good display images. Otherwise good stuff!

4 months ago

Thanks for the feedback Jeff! We will work on making this better in the future

james eagle
4 months ago

So let me get this straight, an ebike sacrifices good components for a motor correct?

4 months ago

Kind of, in order to keep the price relatively low?

Andy Lau
4 months ago

Good job for the video review. You can also mention the other competitor in same entry level full sized 700c commuter bike range:
Juiced CrossCurrent S (650w rear hud drive), Voltbike Enduro (same Bafang Max drive $100 more) etc

Also, mention your name dude.

4 months ago

Cool, thanks for the feedback Andy! I also think Surface 604 does a good job in this price range

Mr Jhonny
4 months ago

20 like

4 months ago

350 watts? 20 mph? 27 mile range for 1700$? Looks like they've setup another con....
Seriously? DIY and you could save 1000's of dollars and build a bike that preforms ten times better than this trash.

Le Lu Yan
4 months ago

It all depends what do you want, enjoy riding your bike or fix the little quirks and put up with annoyances from your custom bike.
source: I did build my own Bafang BBS02 and have bought a bosch bike, if i knew from the beginning i would of never built is just not for me.

4 months ago

Yeah, there are some trade-offs with this bike but it's like building a computer vs. buying one from Best Buy or something, there are many people who don't have the knowledge, time, or desire to DIY. I feel like some of the cheaper bikes like this are designed to be an option for that type of consumer, and you can't get the Bafang Max Drive as an aftermarket part. The BBS02 is great, but not as smooth or quiet in my experience

Herbert Torres
4 months ago

Where is Court?

Herbert Torres
4 months ago

Your the best!

Herbert Torres
4 months ago

That's a relief:D

4 months ago

I'm working on a whole bunch of other reviews, have been traveling in NYC and California and Brent is helping to cover a few bikes on the side because that way we can get more variety. I'll have a bunch of new reviews coming soon :)

Lysle Basinger
4 months ago

The single speed was a rear hub drive and seemed like a better value.

4 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com b

Theo Wink
4 months ago

With a nexus8 speed hub even better but the price increases atleast 100 dollar

4 months ago

I agree with you on that, my understanding is that the custom frame interface and the Max Drive unit really increases the price... and can be worth it for range and climbing power for some people. I like that this bike has gears and a higher capacity battery pack

Phil Hogan
4 months ago

It looks like a decent bike; maybe a scaled back version of the Surface 604 Colt which I own and love. I thought it was a good review.

4 months ago

Fantastic, thanks for the positive feedback Phil! Brent is working hard and I talk with him regularly to fill in some of the gaps, he brings up new perspectives and is able to cover ebikes that I am not. I agree that the Surface 604 Colt is a fantastic electric bike, one of my favorites for the money :)

Theo Wink
4 months ago

for me;it was a good clear honest review,you get what you pay for.

Shane Crowley
4 months ago

any chance you could give your current fav entry level hybrid communter bike,is it an impossible task to pick one model thats head and shoulders above the rest,maybe top 3 would be easier:) keep up the good work!!!

4 months ago

Yeah Shane, it took me five and a half years of doing this full time to get here, I'm working with Brent and believe in him, I see him improving but want to give you guys the best reviews we can of course :)

Jacqueline Waters
4 months ago

Actually you could pay less and get a Radrover...go figure.

Shane Crowley
4 months ago

still not up to your high standard of reviews,why mention a bog standard bell for instance

Theo Wink
4 months ago

Ow I was referring to the bike,not to Brent,he did a good job!!,imo

DP ie
4 months ago

You need a microphone which can handle wind. It sounds like crap when you start biking.

4 months ago

Yeah, I think it depends on how the camera is handled but Brent does have a microphone baffle installed. This review was shot some time ago and he is getting better with the equipment. Thanks for sharing your feedback with us!

4 months ago


4 months ago

I reserved my spot  in line though! lol

4 months ago

Haha, well, not quite there yet ;)

DP ie
4 months ago

Kind of ugly. And I really don’t understand why they don’t put on fenders for the wheels and a rear rack. It would make the bike 10 times more practical for every day use.

4 months ago

I believe it does come with fenders but Brent took them off because he thought they looked ugly and rattled... He should have said this in the video review but did not, I am continuously providing him with feedback to become more thorough with reviews. I agree that at least having rack bosses would make the bike more utilitarian for everyday use as you suggest. There are beam racks as an optional accessory from Amazon like this http://amzn.to/2iYLZlL but they don't always stay straight and cannot hold as much weight in my experience

james eagle
4 months ago


4 months ago

Nice ;)

Joey Love
4 months ago


4 months ago

Well done :D