Populo Sport Review

Populo Sport Electric Bike Review
Populo Sport
Populo Sport 250 Watt Internally Geared Hub Motor
Populo Sport 36 Volt Samsung Battery Pack
Populo Sport Flat Rubber Grips Low Rise Bar
Populo Sport H500 Monochrome Display Control Pad
Populo Sport Tektro Ebike Levers
Populo Sport Mid Dish Double Wall Rims Black 36h
Populo Sport 46 Tooth Chainring
Populo Sport Electric Bike
Populo Sport Electric Bike Review
Populo Sport
Populo Sport 250 Watt Internally Geared Hub Motor
Populo Sport 36 Volt Samsung Battery Pack
Populo Sport Flat Rubber Grips Low Rise Bar
Populo Sport H500 Monochrome Display Control Pad
Populo Sport Tektro Ebike Levers
Populo Sport Mid Dish Double Wall Rims Black 36h
Populo Sport 46 Tooth Chainring
Populo Sport Electric Bike

Summary

  • An affordable, fairly stylish, surprisingly peppy single speed electric bike that would be great for urban riding, available in five frame sizes and four colors
  • Very affordable at just under $1k, especially considering the wires are internally routed through the frame, the torque sensor is so compact and there are two USB charging ports
  • Nice looking battery, locks securely to the frame but can be removed for charging or reduced weight... the bike only weighs ~37 lbs with everything attached!
  • Wish the display was removable for protection, no suspension and all-Aluminum frame with narrow tires can be a little stiff, no rack or fender mounts, basic brakes

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Populo

Model:

Sport

Price:

$999

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Electronics, 3 Year Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

37 lbs (16.78 kg)

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Sizes:

19.29 in (48.99 cm)20.47 in (51.99 cm)21.65 in (54.99 cm)22.83 in (57.98 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

30.5" Standover Height

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Colors:

Matte Black, Silver Polish, Satin Orange, Gloss Blue

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Aluminum Alloy

Frame Rear Details:

12 mm Axle with Bolts

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

1 Single Speed, 14T

Cranks:

YD 110 Alloy, 46T

Pedals:

HI Alloy Platform with Rubber Tread

Headset:

4.5 cm Riser Stack, 1-1/8"

Stem:

4" Length, 2° Rise

Handlebar:

Low-Rise Alloy, 23" Length

Brake Details:

Promax Linear Pull, Tektro Ebike Brake Levers with Rubber Edge and Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Flat Rubber, Black

Saddle:

Velo Active

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, Black

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Alloy Double Wall, Mid Dish, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14G, Black

Tire Brand:

CST Super HP, 700 x 28c

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Full Size USB Charger on Battery Pack and Display, Walk Mode (Hold + Button), Hold Set to Adjust Power Mode, Press Power Button for Backlight, Park Branded Kickstand

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Plated Stainless Steel Horizontal Dropout with Torque Washers

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

HLGE

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

374.4 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Display Type:

H500 Fixed, Monochrome, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Amperage Meter, Power Level (Eco, Normal, Power), Speedometer, Assist Level (0-8), Voltage, Battery Level (5 Bar), Time, Odometer, Trip Distance

Display Accessories:

Integrated Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

I’ve been reviewing electric bikes now for several years and I got into it because my knee is a bit sensitive. I wanted to commute to work in Austin, Texas but struggled with pain towards the end of the week as I had several hills along the way. So, with a little Internet searching I discovered ebikes then quickly felt overwhelmed by the price and possibility of damage or theft. The Populo Sport addresses these two latter concerns perfectly by being affordable and super tough. Having only one gear, you don’t have to worry about adjusting a bent or broken derailleur or cracked shifter levers. This is key for crowded bike racks. Also, the frame looks simple which helps it blend in and the battery is removable so it’s easy to protect and recharge when you’re at work or school. Taking it off also means you’ve got portable energy because there’s a USB port built in (and they placed it well along the lower edge of the pack so you can still use it while riding without getting in the way of your feet or crank arms). Amazingly, there’s even a second charging port on the bike located just under the control pad / display panel. This is perfect for keeping a smart phone topped off if you’re using it for GPS directions or music. I guess it’s not really amazing to have two USB ports but it is kind of rare, especially at this price point :)

As much as I like the display, it’s easy to reach and large enough to see clearly when seated upright, I do wish it was removable and some of the settings are a bit more involved than other e-bikes. The display is really the one vulnerable spot on the bike, especially when parked outside at a public rack. It’s the one thing that might attract unwanted attention from a thief and given the size and nature of the LCD screen it could get worn down more by weather weather and other handle bars coming into contact over time than a simpler LED readout. This isn’t the only non-removable LCD display out there on the market and people make it work (some cover theirs with little cloth pouches or plastic bags), just an area for consideration and improvement by Populo. Frankly, given that this was the first time I’d even heard of the company, I thought they did a great job with most of the bike and I love having more readouts about battery capacity, how far I’ve ridden and how fast I’m going than with the simpler displays.

The battery pack on this bike resembles some other downtube styles and is curved and streamlined without being gaudy. It’s narrow enough that you don’t clip it with your shoes or legs and it has an integrated loop ledge at the top that works like a handle. You get a very average 36 volt 10.4 amp hour capacity but I was told the cells inside are made by Samsung… Upgrade! Unfortunately I didn’t get to see the charger to see how many amps it puts out or take the battery off to weigh it (feel free to chime in with comments about this below if you get the bike). The motor used here is a real superstar, it’s rated at just 250 watts but performs more like a zippy 350 and it compact and discrete, blending in with the black spokes and rims. It did produce a bit more noise than some others I’ve tested but it was mounted well with stainless hardware and a torque arm on the horizontal rear droput. This is another area that seems nice but could be improved with a screw tensioner. And I love that the bike has a kickstand but wish it was rear mounted vs. center to stay clear of the left crank arm.

At the end of the day, this thing is priced well, it performs and it looks good. In fact, it looks better than most of the other low-priced single speeds I’ve tried. I cannot understate the five frame sizes they offer or the four color options. Possibly the biggest win is just how light and well balanced the Populo Sport is. At just ~37 lbs it’s easy to lift and carry up stairs and that’s key if you live in an apartment. Sure, I wish it had fender bosses and rear rack bosses so I wouldn’t have to wear my backpack to carry gear but at least it has bottle cage bosses (or so I was told it would by the rep). Yeah, lights would be nice but many helmets now have them and in the city there are street lights. Please consider reflective clothing and the silver frame if you ride in the dark a lot because it will help keep you safe. I guess we’ll see how well this thing holds up as customers chime in but my experience was good and Populo has an entire line of ebikes now so I hope to review more soon. It’s neat that they are selling through shops too, so people can take test rides and get warranty coverage. I could hardly believe they offer two years comprehensive warranty for this thing at this price. Big thanks to Populo for partnering with me for this review.

Pros:

  • Extremely light weight at just ~37 lbs, this is the sort of electric bike you can easily lift up steps or mount on car and bus racks
  • Super simple and durable single speed drivetrain… much less likely to drop the chain when riding or get damage when parking at the bike rack
  • Low price point of $999 makes it hurt less if/when the bike gets damaged or stolen if you ride in the city but you still get a high quality battery with Samsung cells
  • Impressive torque and pep from the 250 watt geared hub motor, I wasn’t expecting it to feel as zippy as it does… hopefully it holds up over time as I’m not super familiar with HLGE motors?
  • Available in five frame sizes! So even though it’s a high-step, it should fit better than some other affordable city bike models
  • I like the color options, choose from four colors including timeless black or silver, the bright orange and blue look nice and the branding is minimal, I love that the cables and wires are all integrated (this is a purpose built electric bike)
  • Mid-frame battery keeps weight low and center, I like that it locks to the frame but is removable for reduced weight or charging separately (and protection)
  • Reinforced stainless steel horizontal dropout (for tighetining the chain) with a torque arm washer to improve strength and handle motor forces
  • Two full sized USB ports, one on the battery to use for portable power and the other on the display panel for use on the go (phone gps, music or lights)
  • Nice to have brake levers with motor inhibitors that override the motor… especially since this bike uses a cadence sensor for pedal assist that’s sort of average in terms of response time
  • Pretty impressive warranty considering the price, you get two years comprehensive and three years on the frame, being sold through shops so you can test ride and get support vs. online

Cons:

  • I wish the display panel was removable… everything else on the bike is tough and built for the city but that display is vulnerable to weather or getting scratched and broken at the rack
  • All-Aluminum frame and fork make for a stiff ride, especially given the narrower 700c road tires, consider a compact 27.2 mm suspension seat post like this but note that it will still raise the minimum seat height by about three inches (to be honest, the bike felt better than I expected during my ride test, more comfortable)
  • I like that it has a kickstand but prefer the rear-mount design vs. mid-mount because this one gets in the way and collides with the cranks if you walk the bike backwards
  • The brakes are kind of basic, given how light and cheap the bike is they work alright but I’d much prefer v-brakes for more power or disc brakes that stay cleaner
  • I love that it has bottle cage bosses but wish it also had rack and fender bosses for those who commute with gear or have to ride in the rain… lots of aftermarket fenders, racks and lights to choose from but it’s nice when they aren’t piling up on your seat post and mount stronger (note that Sam was wearing an LED Torch helmet which is a great way to be seen without the hassle of on-frame lights)
  • The three drive modes and eight levels of assist just seemed like a lot compared with most other ebikes I test (that only have for our five levels)… it almost seems like you could miss the modes entirely but I do see their purpose (less power use but still capable of higher speeds), hold set to enter the modes and change them with plus or minus for eco, normal and power)
  • In order to tighten the chain you have to manually pull the rear wheel backwards in the horizontal dropouts whereas other bikes with a similar setup often have a screw tightener tool that’s easier to work with, this just means extra screwing around and possibly a two person job if you have to take the wheel off to fix a flat
  • Narrow high pressure tires need to be checked and topped off a lot more regularly, it’s way easier to get a “snake bite” or “pinch” flat, no quick release so changing flats is more work
  • The motor makes a bit more noise than some of the other geared motors, especially in higher power modes

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

bikerjohn
4 months ago

Nice review, Court! That Populo has a clean look. Hoping to see a review of the Populo Peak, soon.

Court Rye
4 months ago

Thanks! Yeah, I'm excited to check out some of their other models in the future and learn more about the company :)

Susan
4 months ago

This bike checks off everything on my list except for the stupid non-removable display. I have had countless parts stolen off my bikes when forced to lock up outside. Even if the thief couldn't remove the display, there's a good chance they would just smash it out of frustration- so then that leaves you with a non-operational motor. Wonder if Populo would replace it.

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hey Susan! Unfortunately part of my girlfriend's bike rack was just stolen the other day... for no reason! Now she can only put one bike on it and I'm guessing that somewhere out there, possibly in a bush, is the extra bar. Sometimes people are lame... Anyway, I do think that Populo would be likely to have replacement parts for sale. They seem like a bigger company with their act together but you might want to reach out and ask first (and check the price). I'm guessing the displays will be $100 a pop. The other approach would be to actually unscrew the display and re-mount it with velcro then unplug at the end of each ride when parking. Hope this helps... None of the more affordable electric bicycles seem to have removable displays.

Susan
2 weeks ago

Hey Court, After several months of debating and a current order in to Electron wheel that I'm planning on cancelling, I think I'm going to get this bike. I agree with your DIY modification recommendation. It looks like they sell extra batteries and I'm thinking this one is designed in a way that you can upgrade and modify it on your own even if Populo decides to discontinue the model. My only problem is figuring out what to do with my 8 month old Fuji Feather.

Diego Carrington
3 months ago

Hi Court! I just left a message on the voltbike elegant and I thank you very much for your response and even going further getting a code for a better price, you are really awesome.

Your website is so detailed and extensive that when you think you found a great option, you come across to a different great review.

That made me come across this model, populo sport. As I mentioned before, my budget aims for a cheap and reliable option and from what I can read this one hits good points. It looks discrete enough to not get unwanted attention (hopefully saving it from robery) and I think that the accessories missing (fenders, rack and light) can be covered with around 100 bucks using the options you provided. Also... 2 year warranty!

I promise I won't be jumping on any more reviews asking if they are "my new best option" but knowing that the voltbike elegant might be small for me (6'2, 200 lb), what do you think comparing this Populo Sport with the radcity and its $1450 price? (which the sweet 50$ off).

I'm just a little concerned about the 250w not being powerful enough for me and from my Ebike lack of experience I don't know if the lack of throttle is a must when buying one.

I really thank you for your time and attention!
Diego

Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Diego! The bikes each offer something unique and I find myself justifying each... whether based on price or the specific use case scenario. I find that shops and companies promote their own as "the best" and people often use power as a deciding factor but you've kept a really open mind and that shows a lot of wisdom. Professional long distance cyclists put out around 200 watts from what I've read so if you get an ebike that can offer up to 250... and usually beyond that with peak output, you're going to have a good experience. In parts of Europe they limit ebikes to 250 watts and people like them just the same. That said, since you have option and are a taller and heavier rider who wants something that will last and work with accessories I'd still push you towards the RadCity. The rack is sturdy, the fenders fit and won't rattle as much, the tires will provide some cushion (along with the suspension). The Populo and other bikes like E-Glide are awesome for being minimalist but that's not what I hear you describing as the use case. I have been in the position of trying to save money and then disappointed later when the bike didn't perform (and I hear that a lot about ebikes, buyer's remorse for not going higher quality). If you're in this for a tool, get the right tool. The Rad Power bikes are still very affordable value oriented products, saving $400 or even just $300 after you get fenders, rack, lights etc. might leave you feeling like the extra power and strength and size would have been worth it. But again... any of these bikes can be GREAT if you work with them and look on the bright side of the base technology :)

JW ZHANG
2 months ago

Hey Susan, You are right, you are not the only one mentioned about the removable LCD screen since we released the product two months ago. We started design process a week ago for removable version for future production, for the time being we will send free replacement to customers who got their screen stolen or smashed whatever reason until we have upgrade.

Court Rye
2 months ago

Wow, that's a neat offer. Thanks for sharing the news JW! I'm excited to see your improvements on future reviews.

Benjie
1 month ago

Hi, I just want to thank you Court for the awesome reviews you do. I purchased the Populo sport Dec. Of 2016, i'm getting to know the ebike and still learning how I can apply it with my cycling hobby. I normally ride average of 15-25 miles for recreational and exercise proposes. Just wanna share a small feedback about the range from this ebike. Ridden it from Fullerton to Huntington beach and back on single charge. Approximately 50miles, on eco mode, averaged 18mph. From a bellow average cyclist, which I use to do with my single-speed none ebike 5 years ago. I'm just happy I'm able do this again.

Court Rye
1 month ago

That's awesome Benjie! Sounds like you're really enjoying the Populo Sport... I love hearing real-world stats on distance per charge so thanks for sharing that. Would you mind sharing your height and weight so others can approximate their own performance?

Rai
2 weeks ago

Do you ship to Niagara region, Canada? How much for shipping cost?

Susan
2 weeks ago

I noticed your stats on the battery are different than what is listed on Populo's site. They state it is a Panasonic, not a Samsung, although both produce great batteries, and their site states 8.7ah instead of the 10.4ah. I don't know if that makes an overall difference in the performance however I am curious why they would change battery companies only after a few short months. Do you have any info on that? I just purchased the bike today and will definitely report back on performance!

Court Rye
2 weeks ago

Hi Susan, thanks for the update... I'm actually visiting a shop right now and pulled a battery off one of the Populo Sport models. It says 36 volt 8.7 amp hours so yeah, I guess they changed it or I was given inaccurate information for the review. Thanks for pointing this out. Maybe the different battery size meant that they needed to change brands? Either way, I agree with you that both offer solid products that should last well. I'm excited to hear your updates after some ride time :D

Noel
1 week ago

Hey, I'm pretty confused and I don't know if this is the bike that would meet my needs or not. I'm a student and I don't have a lot OF money. Thing is I need to go about 20 miles to get to university and go all the way back home every day. I was wondering if this bike has that much range (40-50 miles) on power mode and if not, then what would be a good option for me ?? Thank you !!

Court Rye
6 days ago

Hi Noel! I like the Populo Sport but am not sure it would go as far as you're talking about... The cool thing about the bike is that it's relatively light and efficient so even if you run out of juice it's still going to be easier to pedal than some others out there. Given the kind of daily use you're talking about however, I'd consider a Bosch powered electric bike because they are super efficient, reliable and the batteries are higher capacity than Populo but still very compact and light (so you can bring them into class for protection or easy charging). There are more Bosch ebikes available now from a wide range of companies. I haven't finished my review yet but the BULLS Cross E is going to be $2,499 and comes out later this year in a step-thru design. I realize that sounds like a lot more money but the bike will definitely go further and last longer based on my experience. Maybe look around for deals on last-season Bosch powered ebikes by using the sale section in the EBR forums here.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

John B
1 week ago

I am looking to get my first electric bike. Been doing a bit of research but the permutations and options coupled with the wide range in price seem to be many. I have gone to test ride a handful of bikes but haven't gotten hooked on anything. I am not a bike rider, in fact I'm not a person who does much in the world any exercise. I am looking to potentially use this bike to commute to work 1 or 2 times a month and ride on weekends. My work commute would be 18-21 miles with a big mountain in between. For anyone familiar with Los Angeles, this is the valley to west side. The commute would be half fire roads (dirt roads) and half pavement (through city) so a mountain bike seems to be best option. So, here are the specs I'm looking for in this bike...

1. Mountain bike (not fat tire) with suspension on the front forks at least but better with full suspension.
2. Preferably a mid-drive motor (as I understand they are more efficient) with 500watts or better.
3. Enough power to get my unfit self up a lot of hills (like 8-10 miles of them) with not a lot of effort.
4. A battery option (thinking 14aH or better)that could cover my unfit self using the max setting on PAS (turbo, sport...) through most of my ride.
5. Class 2 or better class 3.
6. Here is the unicorn of the list... something $3000 or less.

Overall I need a lot of power, torque and battery life to get me over a pretty big hill without running out of power. I'm OK with just hearing thoughts on the best option with most of my dream list. I'm not opposed to getting earlier year models if they do what I need. I am also good with taking a good base and adding to it.

america94
1 week ago

Hi @america94, we do stock both fat tires and inner tubes Kenda for both our Voltbike Yukon and Voltbike Mariner series. In fact we also offer either free helmet or free inner tube if you decide to purchase Voltbike Yukon or Voltbike Mariner.
I understand is hard to find in Canada, but I can assure you we have enough of those in-stock.
Here is the direct page of the Kenda Krusde 20x4" Tire.
http://www.voltbike.ca/replacement-parts/electric-bike-parts/kenda-krusade-sport-tire-20-x-4.html
thanks for the info. I wrote to @Voltbike a while ago to inquire about the tires but did not hear back. I don't believe they were showing on the website either at the time (although the tube was). I find that 75$ for a tire and 28$ for a tube quite expensive (before tax and shipping) compared to regular 26X2 wheels, but it is nice to know you have both in stock.

Voltbike
2 weeks ago

Hi @america94, we do stock both fat tires and inner tubes Kenda for both our Voltbike Yukon and Voltbike Mariner series. In fact we also offer either free helmet or free inner tube if you decide to purchase Voltbike Yukon or Voltbike Mariner.
I understand is hard to find in Canada, but I can assure you we have enough of those in-stock.
Here is the direct page of the Kenda Krusde 20x4" Tire.
http://www.voltbike.ca/replacement-parts/electric-bike-parts/kenda-krusade-sport-tire-20-x-4.html

joshuagore
2 weeks ago

I got my CrossCurrent over the summer with the 7.8aH battery. It's my first electric bike, and I had decided to go with it after test riding several other brands, including doing my commute (which is about 13 miles long in one direction). I weigh around 250 lbs, and have a pannier with a 6 lbs laptop. The bike is able to make it ok alternating between sport and level 3. I have ordered the 17.4aH battery and hopefully it will arrive soon so I can go the commute entirely in sport mode and ditch riding in Los Angeles traffic for 50 minutes in the morning and evening each day.

What kind of information would be useful to track and share as I test out the new battery? I expect to put on around a hundred miles a week, give or take and will be happy to help share real world numbers with everyone.

I'm thinking about getting a Cycle Analyst, which I assume will help for tracking data, and maybe give me an easy way to hardwire lights in. Anyone else hardwired lights in using a Cycle Analyst?

R D
1 week ago

This is one of the coolest looking bike 👍🏻🇨🇦 and the price is value for money .

xstickyricex
2 months ago

Where can I get one if those cool helmets?

Haseeb2
2 months ago

Nice bike, the only issue I have is that the wheels are too thin for an electric bike. Even if it is used on the road, you never know when you may run over a pot hole or bump in the road. If you damage the rear wheel, you are pretty much screwed until you can take the hub motor off and put in in a new wheel.

Haseeb2
3 months ago

Do you have to pedal extremely fast and hard to keep it around 20 mph?

Ivan Zhong
3 months ago

How much is this in cad

benjie alcantara
3 months ago

Purchase this bike from Sam awesome ebike! my very first, perfect for riding around town. planning to take it to the beach! great reviews my friend..

chgofirefighter
3 months ago

I stopped watching after the 20mph top speed limit, I love my Stromer ST 2 :)

Diego Carrington
3 months ago

Hi Court!
I just left a message on the voltbike elegant and I thank you very much for your response and even going further getting a code for a better price, you are really awesome.

Your website is so detailed and extensive that when you think you found a great option, you come across to a different great review.

That made me come across this model, populo sport. As I mentioned before, my budget aims for a cheap and reliable option and from what I can read this one hits good points. It looks discrete enough to not get unwanted attention (hopefully saving it from robery) and I think that the accessories missing (fenders, rack and light) can be covered with around 100 bucks using the options you provided. Also... 2 year warranty!

I promise I won't be jumping on any more reviews asking if they are "my new best option" but knowing that the voltbike elegant might be small for me (6'2, 200 lb), what do you think comparing this Populo Sport with the radcity and its $1450 price? (which the sweet 50$ off).

I'm just a little concerned about the 250w not being powerful enough for me and from my Ebike lack of experience I don't know if the lack of throttle is a must when buying one.

I really thank you for your time and attention!

Diego.

Danny Frank
3 months ago

Would you know of any dealers in the NYC area that sell this model?

whenhen
2 months ago

Danny Frank i know this is an older comment, but for anyone still looking, Populo offers free shipping anywhere in the contiguous 48 states.

Bharath Naik L
4 months ago

Hi, How are you ? I'm following your channel and like the content very much. I recently built an fat ebike with 1000w motor, 26A controller, 48V 10ah Battery. The problem is that I'm not get mileage.. It comes nearly 15-18km. Why is that ? Please help!! :(

Bharath Naik L
2 months ago

DJ Vendetta I fixed it. I limited draw current and set max speed as 35kmp. I'm getting around 30km with only throttle.

DJ Vendetta
2 months ago

Bharath Naik L ah capacity is too low for 1000w

Drealmers S
4 months ago

Another affordable bike, Great!!!

Rui Coelho
4 months ago

250w is europe legal...

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Exactly, in much of Europe electric bicycles are limited to 250 watt motors without a license and registration so this model would be allowed there, as long as the top speed was limited to 25 kilometers per hour :)

Mark Elford
4 months ago

Dig it.

cresshead
4 months ago

good price and it looks very decent too.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Yeah, it's a nicer looking bike for sure :D

Mike Suding
4 months ago

It looks similar to the Propella 1.0 bike I bought last year. Their version 1.5 has an intro price of $799. It seems like a good value because it has disc brakes, front quick release, and throttle (in addition to pedal assist). It's a bummer the Propella is the battery is 6.6Amp-Hours. At 4:10 he mentioned the Populo is 10.4Amp-hours (much higher). That probably explains the weight difference of 2lbs. Also very similar as he mentions is the Sondors Thin which is now $598 + $194 shipping. Sondors also has disc brakes and 8.8Ah battery.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

You're right on Mike, I hope to review the latest Propella model sometime next year :)

Jaladhi Pujara
4 months ago

Another nice review! What helmet is Sam wearing? Do you know?

Jaladhi Pujara
4 months ago

Thank you!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

I believe it's a Torch helmet like this: http://amzn.to/2ftnPiS

rccrashburn
4 months ago

Overpriced because there's no suspension, has cheapo brakes, no throttle, no light or reflectors, sorry but I'm just not all that easy to impress like most of you.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

I'm kind of with you... just tend to communicate more constructively and gently since I'm speaking to a wide audience. $1k is still a lot of money but at this time in the industry, it's a low price for a bike with these specs and this kind of finish. Adding $5 to the BOM to add lights and better brakes would be worth it. I believe the final production version has reflectors as it's a legal requirement

alif bagas
4 months ago

road bike have no suspension indeed

Ron Sebastian
4 months ago

Cheaper and cheaper please :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

I'm with ya... and I think we're headed in that direction :D

R D
4 months ago

Cool fixie look 🤘🏼

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Yeah! And they kept it clean and pure without so many stickers or paint stripes, I like that :) and the deeper rims look

smAsPa
4 months ago

It looks great but the lack of a throttle is a huge bummer. I use it every time I start off on my THIN.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Yeah, that's one of the big trade-offs but it also makes the bike Class 1 which is legal in places like NYC