Populo Sport Review

Populo Sport Electric Bike Review
Populo Sport
Populo Sport 250 Watt Internally Geared Hub Motor
Populo Sport 36 Volt Samsung Battery Pack
Populo Sport Flat Rubber Grips Low Rise Bar
Populo Sport H500 Monochrome Display Control Pad
Populo Sport Tektro Ebike Levers
Populo Sport Mid Dish Double Wall Rims Black 36h
Populo Sport 46 Tooth Chainring
Populo Sport Electric Bike
Populo Sport Electric Bike Review
Populo Sport
Populo Sport 250 Watt Internally Geared Hub Motor
Populo Sport 36 Volt Samsung Battery Pack
Populo Sport Flat Rubber Grips Low Rise Bar
Populo Sport H500 Monochrome Display Control Pad
Populo Sport Tektro Ebike Levers
Populo Sport Mid Dish Double Wall Rims Black 36h
Populo Sport 46 Tooth Chainring
Populo Sport Electric Bike


  • An affordable, fairly stylish, surprisingly peppy single speed electric bike that would be great for urban riding, available in five frame sizes and four colors
  • Very affordable at just under $1k, especially considering the wires are internally routed through the frame, the torque sensor is so compact and there are two USB charging ports
  • Nice looking battery, locks securely to the frame but can be removed for charging or reduced weight... the bike only weighs ~37 lbs with everything attached!
  • Wish the display was removable for protection, no suspension and all-Aluminum frame with narrow tires can be a little stiff, no rack or fender mounts, basic brakes

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers








Body Position:


Suggested Use:


Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Years Electronics, 3 Year Frame


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

37 lbs (16.78 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

19.29 in (48.99 cm)20.47 in (51.99 cm)21.65 in (54.99 cm)22.83 in (57.98 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

30.5" Standover Height

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Matte Black, Silver Polish, Satin Orange, Gloss Blue

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Aluminum Alloy

Frame Rear Details:

12 mm Axle with Bolts

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

1 Single Speed, 14T


YD 110 Alloy, 46T


HI Alloy Platform with Rubber Tread


4.5 cm Riser Stack, 1-1/8"


4" Length, 2° Rise


Low-Rise Alloy, 23" Length

Brake Details:

Promax Linear Pull, Tektro Ebike Brake Levers with Rubber Edge and Motor Inhibitors


Flat Rubber, Black


Velo Active

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, Black

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm


Alloy Double Wall, Mid Dish, 36 Hole


Stainless Steel, 14G, Black

Tire Brand:

CST Super HP, 700 x 28c

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tube Details:

Presta Valve


Full Size USB Charger on Battery Pack and Display, Walk Mode (Hold + Button), Hold Set to Adjust Power Mode, Press Power Button for Backlight, Park Branded Kickstand


Locking Removable Battery Pack, Plated Stainless Steel Horizontal Dropout with Torque Washers

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:


Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10.4 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

374.4 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

3 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Display Type:

H500 Fixed, Monochrome, Backlit LCD


Amperage Meter, Power Level (Eco, Normal, Power), Speedometer, Assist Level (0-8), Voltage, Battery Level (5 Bar), Time, Odometer, Trip Distance

Display Accessories:

Integrated Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

I’ve been reviewing electric bikes now for several years and I got into it because my knee is a bit sensitive. I wanted to commute to work in Austin, Texas but struggled with pain towards the end of the week as I had several hills along the way. So, with a little Internet searching I discovered ebikes then quickly felt overwhelmed by the price and possibility of damage or theft. The Populo Sport addresses these two latter concerns perfectly by being affordable and super tough. Having only one gear, you don’t have to worry about adjusting a bent or broken derailleur or cracked shifter levers. This is key for crowded bike racks. Also, the frame looks simple which helps it blend in and the battery is removable so it’s easy to protect and recharge when you’re at work or school. Taking it off also means you’ve got portable energy because there’s a USB port built in (and they placed it well along the lower edge of the pack so you can still use it while riding without getting in the way of your feet or crank arms). Amazingly, there’s even a second charging port on the bike located just under the control pad / display panel. This is perfect for keeping a smart phone topped off if you’re using it for GPS directions or music. I guess it’s not really amazing to have two USB ports but it is kind of rare, especially at this price point :)

As much as I like the display, it’s easy to reach and large enough to see clearly when seated upright, I do wish it was removable and some of the settings are a bit more involved than other e-bikes. The display is really the one vulnerable spot on the bike, especially when parked outside at a public rack. It’s the one thing that might attract unwanted attention from a thief and given the size and nature of the LCD screen it could get worn down more by weather weather and other handle bars coming into contact over time than a simpler LED readout. This isn’t the only non-removable LCD display out there on the market and people make it work (some cover theirs with little cloth pouches or plastic bags), just an area for consideration and improvement by Populo. Frankly, given that this was the first time I’d even heard of the company, I thought they did a great job with most of the bike and I love having more readouts about battery capacity, how far I’ve ridden and how fast I’m going than with the simpler displays.

The battery pack on this bike resembles some other downtube styles and is curved and streamlined without being gaudy. It’s narrow enough that you don’t clip it with your shoes or legs and it has an integrated loop ledge at the top that works like a handle. You get a very average 36 volt 10.4 amp hour capacity but I was told the cells inside are made by Samsung… Upgrade! Unfortunately I didn’t get to see the charger to see how many amps it puts out or take the battery off to weigh it (feel free to chime in with comments about this below if you get the bike). The motor used here is a real superstar, it’s rated at just 250 watts but performs more like a zippy 350 and it compact and discrete, blending in with the black spokes and rims. It did produce a bit more noise than some others I’ve tested but it was mounted well with stainless hardware and a torque arm on the horizontal rear droput. This is another area that seems nice but could be improved with a screw tensioner. And I love that the bike has a kickstand but wish it was rear mounted vs. center to stay clear of the left crank arm.

At the end of the day, this thing is priced well, it performs and it looks good. In fact, it looks better than most of the other low-priced single speeds I’ve tried. I cannot understate the five frame sizes they offer or the four color options. Possibly the biggest win is just how light and well balanced the Populo Sport is. At just ~37 lbs it’s easy to lift and carry up stairs and that’s key if you live in an apartment. Sure, I wish it had fender bosses and rear rack bosses so I wouldn’t have to wear my backpack to carry gear but at least it has bottle cage bosses (or so I was told it would by the rep). Yeah, lights would be nice but many helmets now have them and in the city there are street lights. Please consider reflective clothing and the silver frame if you ride in the dark a lot because it will help keep you safe. I guess we’ll see how well this thing holds up as customers chime in but my experience was good and Populo has an entire line of ebikes now so I hope to review more soon. It’s neat that they are selling through shops too, so people can take test rides and get warranty coverage. I could hardly believe they offer two years comprehensive warranty for this thing at this price. Big thanks to Populo for partnering with me for this review.


  • Extremely light weight at just ~37 lbs, this is the sort of electric bike you can easily lift up steps or mount on car and bus racks
  • Super simple and durable single speed drivetrain… much less likely to drop the chain when riding or get damage when parking at the bike rack
  • Low price point of $999 makes it hurt less if/when the bike gets damaged or stolen if you ride in the city but you still get a high quality battery with Samsung cells
  • Impressive torque and pep from the 250 watt geared hub motor, I wasn’t expecting it to feel as zippy as it does… hopefully it holds up over time as I’m not super familiar with HLGE motors?
  • Available in five frame sizes! So even though it’s a high-step, it should fit better than some other affordable city bike models
  • I like the color options, choose from four colors including timeless black or silver, the bright orange and blue look nice and the branding is minimal, I love that the cables and wires are all integrated (this is a purpose built electric bike)
  • Mid-frame battery keeps weight low and center, I like that it locks to the frame but is removable for reduced weight or charging separately (and protection)
  • Reinforced stainless steel horizontal dropout (for tighetining the chain) with a torque arm washer to improve strength and handle motor forces
  • Two full sized USB ports, one on the battery to use for portable power and the other on the display panel for use on the go (phone gps, music or lights)
  • Nice to have brake levers with motor inhibitors that override the motor… especially since this bike uses a cadence sensor for pedal assist that’s sort of average in terms of response time
  • Pretty impressive warranty considering the price, you get two years comprehensive and three years on the frame, being sold through shops so you can test ride and get support vs. online


  • I wish the display panel was removable… everything else on the bike is tough and built for the city but that display is vulnerable to weather or getting scratched and broken at the rack
  • All-Aluminum frame and fork make for a stiff ride, especially given the narrower 700c road tires, consider a compact 27.2 mm suspension seat post like this but note that it will still raise the minimum seat height by about three inches (to be honest, the bike felt better than I expected during my ride test, more comfortable)
  • I like that it has a kickstand but prefer the rear-mount design vs. mid-mount because this one gets in the way and collides with the cranks if you walk the bike backwards
  • The brakes are kind of basic, given how light and cheap the bike is they work alright but I’d much prefer v-brakes for more power or disc brakes that stay cleaner
  • I love that it has bottle cage bosses but wish it also had rack and fender bosses for those who commute with gear or have to ride in the rain… lots of aftermarket fenders, racks and lights to choose from but it’s nice when they aren’t piling up on your seat post and mount stronger (note that Sam was wearing an LED Torch helmet which is a great way to be seen without the hassle of on-frame lights)
  • The three drive modes and eight levels of assist just seemed like a lot compared with most other ebikes I test (that only have for our five levels)… it almost seems like you could miss the modes entirely but I do see their purpose (less power use but still capable of higher speeds), hold set to enter the modes and change them with plus or minus for eco, normal and power)
  • In order to tighten the chain you have to manually pull the rear wheel backwards in the horizontal dropouts whereas other bikes with a similar setup often have a screw tightener tool that’s easier to work with, this just means extra screwing around and possibly a two person job if you have to take the wheel off to fix a flat
  • Narrow high pressure tires need to be checked and topped off a lot more regularly, it’s way easier to get a “snake bite” or “pinch” flat, no quick release so changing flats is more work
  • The motor makes a bit more noise than some of the other geared motors, especially in higher power modes
  • I’ve seen several comments recently about battery failure and frustration with low quality parts such as the wheels, hubs, and bottom bracket


More Populo Reviews

Populo Lift V2 Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An approachable step-thru electric bike with basic suspension for and seat-post suspension that improve comfort, large display is simple and easy to read, integrated headlight keeps you visible. Efficient 250-watt hub motor drives the Lift V2 to a top pedal-assist or throttle-only speed…...

Populo Sport V3 Review

  • MSRP: $999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An affordable, single speed electric bike available in three colors and four frame sizes, driven by an efficient 250-watt hub motor for a top pedal-assist speed of 20 mph, no throttle mode. Extremely basic setup makes for easy operation and potentially lower maintenance than electric bikes with…...

Populo Scout Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A relatively affordable, surprisingly powerful eight-speed electric bike with a comprehensive HUD and front suspension that feels like a great fit for urban commuting, it also comes in two frame sizes, 49cm and 54cm to accommodate a wide range of rider heights. Extremely accurate torque sensors and quiet 350-watt mid-drive motor allows for a 27-mile real-world range…...

1 year ago

Nice review, Court! That Populo has a clean look. Hoping to see a review of the Populo Peak, soon.

1 year ago

Thanks! Yeah, I’m excited to check out some of their other models in the future and learn more about the company :)

1 year ago

This bike checks off everything on my list except for the stupid non-removable display. I have had countless parts stolen off my bikes when forced to lock up outside. Even if the thief couldn’t remove the display, there’s a good chance they would just smash it out of frustration- so then that leaves you with a non-operational motor. Wonder if Populo would replace it.

1 year ago

Hey Susan! Unfortunately part of my girlfriend’s bike rack was just stolen the other day… for no reason! Now she can only put one bike on it and I’m guessing that somewhere out there, possibly in a bush, is the extra bar. Sometimes people are lame… Anyway, I do think that Populo would be likely to have replacement parts for sale. They seem like a bigger company with their act together but you might want to reach out and ask first (and check the price). I’m guessing the displays will be $100 a pop. The other approach would be to actually unscrew the display and re-mount it with velcro then unplug at the end of each ride when parking. Hope this helps… None of the more affordable electric bicycles seem to have removable displays.

1 year ago

Hey Court, After several months of debating and a current order in to Electron wheel that I’m planning on cancelling, I think I’m going to get this bike. I agree with your DIY modification recommendation. It looks like they sell extra batteries and I’m thinking this one is designed in a way that you can upgrade and modify it on your own even if Populo decides to discontinue the model. My only problem is figuring out what to do with my 8 month old Fuji Feather.

Diego Carrington
1 year ago

Hi Court! I just left a message on the voltbike elegant and I thank you very much for your response and even going further getting a code for a better price, you are really awesome.

Your website is so detailed and extensive that when you think you found a great option, you come across to a different great review.

That made me come across this model, populo sport. As I mentioned before, my budget aims for a cheap and reliable option and from what I can read this one hits good points. It looks discrete enough to not get unwanted attention (hopefully saving it from robery) and I think that the accessories missing (fenders, rack and light) can be covered with around 100 bucks using the options you provided. Also… 2 year warranty!

I promise I won’t be jumping on any more reviews asking if they are “my new best option” but knowing that the voltbike elegant might be small for me (6’2, 200 lb), what do you think comparing this Populo Sport with the radcity and its $1450 price? (which the sweet 50$ off).

I’m just a little concerned about the 250w not being powerful enough for me and from my Ebike lack of experience I don’t know if the lack of throttle is a must when buying one.

I really thank you for your time and attention!

1 year ago

Hi Diego! The bikes each offer something unique and I find myself justifying each… whether based on price or the specific use case scenario. I find that shops and companies promote their own as “the best” and people often use power as a deciding factor but you’ve kept a really open mind and that shows a lot of wisdom. Professional long distance cyclists put out around 200 watts from what I’ve read so if you get an ebike that can offer up to 250… and usually beyond that with peak output, you’re going to have a good experience. In parts of Europe they limit ebikes to 250 watts and people like them just the same. That said, since you have option and are a taller and heavier rider who wants something that will last and work with accessories I’d still push you towards the RadCity. The rack is sturdy, the fenders fit and won’t rattle as much, the tires will provide some cushion (along with the suspension). The Populo and other bikes like E-Glide are awesome for being minimalist but that’s not what I hear you describing as the use case. I have been in the position of trying to save money and then disappointed later when the bike didn’t perform (and I hear that a lot about ebikes, buyer’s remorse for not going higher quality). If you’re in this for a tool, get the right tool. The Rad Power bikes are still very affordable value oriented products, saving $400 or even just $300 after you get fenders, rack, lights etc. might leave you feeling like the extra power and strength and size would have been worth it. But again… any of these bikes can be GREAT if you work with them and look on the bright side of the base technology :)

1 year ago

Hey Susan, You are right, you are not the only one mentioned about the removable LCD screen since we released the product two months ago. We started design process a week ago for removable version for future production, for the time being we will send free replacement to customers who got their screen stolen or smashed whatever reason until we have upgrade.

1 year ago

Wow, that’s a neat offer. Thanks for sharing the news JW! I’m excited to see your improvements on future reviews.

1 year ago

Hi, I just want to thank you Court for the awesome reviews you do. I purchased the Populo sport Dec. Of 2016, i’m getting to know the ebike and still learning how I can apply it with my cycling hobby. I normally ride average of 15-25 miles for recreational and exercise proposes. Just wanna share a small feedback about the range from this ebike. Ridden it from Fullerton to Huntington beach and back on single charge. Approximately 50miles, on eco mode, averaged 18mph. From a bellow average cyclist, which I use to do with my single-speed none ebike 5 years ago. I’m just happy I’m able do this again.

1 year ago

That’s awesome Benjie! Sounds like you’re really enjoying the Populo Sport… I love hearing real-world stats on distance per charge so thanks for sharing that. Would you mind sharing your height and weight so others can approximate their own performance?

1 year ago

Do you ship to Niagara region, Canada? How much for shipping cost?

1 year ago

I noticed your stats on the battery are different than what is listed on Populo’s site. They state it is a Panasonic, not a Samsung, although both produce great batteries, and their site states 8.7ah instead of the 10.4ah. I don’t know if that makes an overall difference in the performance however I am curious why they would change battery companies only after a few short months. Do you have any info on that? I just purchased the bike today and will definitely report back on performance!

1 year ago

Hi Susan, thanks for the update… I’m actually visiting a shop right now and pulled a battery off one of the Populo Sport models. It says 36 volt 8.7 amp hours so yeah, I guess they changed it or I was given inaccurate information for the review. Thanks for pointing this out. Maybe the different battery size meant that they needed to change brands? Either way, I agree with you that both offer solid products that should last well. I’m excited to hear your updates after some ride time :D

1 year ago

Hey, I’m pretty confused and I don’t know if this is the bike that would meet my needs or not. I’m a student and I don’t have a lot OF money. Thing is I need to go about 20 miles to get to university and go all the way back home every day. I was wondering if this bike has that much range (40-50 miles) on power mode and if not, then what would be a good option for me ?? Thank you !!

1 year ago

Hi Noel! I like the Populo Sport but am not sure it would go as far as you’re talking about… The cool thing about the bike is that it’s relatively light and efficient so even if you run out of juice it’s still going to be easier to pedal than some others out there. Given the kind of daily use you’re talking about however, I’d consider a Bosch powered electric bike because they are super efficient, reliable and the batteries are higher capacity than Populo but still very compact and light (so you can bring them into class for protection or easy charging). There are more Bosch ebikes available now from a wide range of companies. I haven’t finished my review yet but the BULLS Cross E is going to be $2,499 and comes out later this year in a step-thru design. I realize that sounds like a lot more money but the bike will definitely go further and last longer based on my experience. Maybe look around for deals on last-season Bosch powered ebikes by using the sale section in the EBR forums here.

1 year ago

Ok, so I finally got around to un-boxing yesterday and it took me only an hour to assemble with my limited knowledge and confidence of assembling bikes-gotta make sure all the bolts are on tight and that you’ve put bike grease on the right parts as well as oiling the chain which they forgot to add in their video.

I rode it for the first time on my way to work straight through Boston and into Cambridge and from the first moment I began pedaling I could not stop laughing at what an incredible feeling it is!!! “Pedal-assist” should really be called “throttle pedal” because I only had to do a quarter of a rotation before the motor kicked in and zipped me off.

It is heavier than my steel single speed Fuji Feather but I was able to carry it down five flights out of my apartment building. Some minor adjustments I’ll make will be adding ESI bar grips for a more comfortable ride and possibly a shorter stem because even at 5’8″, the reach is a bit aggressive for my back.

I tried both normal and high mode but I didn’t really notice a difference as I think I was able to achieve 33kmh (20pmh) in both modes. I saw some youtubers get it up to 28mph so I’ll have to experiment.

As someone who has commuted to work nearly every day in Boston for the last 10 years on single speed bikes, this was a perfect transition into the electric bike world. I like the fact that I can just order another battery rather than say sending a Copenhagen or Electron wheel back to the factory when the battery dies. I love the simple design without permanent clunky racks or other items in order to keep the lightness of the bike. I also think because of its minimal design, it will be much easier for myself or a local bike shop to maintenance. I’m counting on Populo to stay committed to this model by offering upgrades and other accessories that will keep the bike running for years to come.

I’m in love with this bike after only one ride and can’t wait to fly around town this summer!

12 months ago

Hey Susan! I enjoyed reading your testimonial and tips about assembling and enjoying the Populo in Boston. You must be in great shape going up and down all of those stairs :P

Thanks for sharing your enthusiasm, I also hope Populo honors this bike by keeping parts available and offering good support. Feel free to chime in again anytime with updates and ride safe out there!

9 months ago


just so you know, Ferris Wheels in JP has started carrying this bike in their store, so you have now a place to go and fix any issues.

I was pretty sad since I contacted them 6 months ago when I was looking for my first and they told me they didn’t carry any ebikes because they were too expensive and there was no market. So I went with the Eglide-ss (super-happy, but it’s great to have some local physical support). Glad that they have changed their minds. It looks like an awesome ride. They told me they plan to increase their list of ebikes to include multiple gears in the future.

12 months ago

When I saw upgrade referring to the Samsung battery, I had to laugh. Don’t let the 8.7 vs 10.4 amp-hours fool you. Panasonic cells are far superior and degrade VERY SLOWLY over time. Samsungs not so good after a short while. I work with laptops and have even made ebike batteries from their cells. I always prefer Panasonic and Samsung is not close. FYI Sanyo not that great either.

12 months ago

Interesting, thanks for sharing your experience with both brands Tim. I’ve heard that the cell density or quality level can matter as well and that the battery management systems make a difference… and having a fuse. It’s a bit misleading to just go by brand but I try to use it as an indicator for quality here and there. Where do you get your battery cells, pack designs, motor kits etc.? Sounds like you’re really into this :)

11 months ago

I just picked up a barely used (100 miles), large frame Populo Sport (in matte black). It’s aesthetically sleek, its power delivery is smooth, and the LCD’s volt readings are a nice touch. The battery, however, rattles loudly in its mounts going over bumpier pavement.. I wish your review ride (and my *test* ride) wasn’t so brief. and only on smooth pavement. I might have offered a little less for it! Still, I got a great deal on what Court calls a “beater” in the review.

After getting it home and giving it the once-over, I put ten miles on it riding to and from the Post Office with the tires pumped to 100 psi. Sure enough, I hit a small pothole and got a flat, so I promptly ordered new 700x35c tires and self-sealing tubes from Nashbar. Meanwhile, I’m kind of worried about the battery – I’ve experienced 8-9 brands of ebikes from bike industry behemoths as well as crowdfunded startups, and this is the chintziest battery setup I’ve seen thus far.

The bottom battery mount was loose, but tightening it as much as I could did nothing to reduce the pronounced noise when riding over rougher stuff. When I removed the battery and shook it a little I could feel the cells moving around inside, almost liquid-like… should I be nervous? This shaking didn’t produce nearly as much noise as it makes on the bike, so clearly it’s just the mounting system. The Populo battery sure *looks* like a Bosch, but it’s clearly nowhere near the same quality.

I’m wondering if other Populo owners’ batteries rattle etc. I’m also curious if anyone else’s display has a constant full-battery reading, even as you watch the voltage readout and LED indicators on the battery itself drop to lower and lower levels. During Court’s review, I can see a voltage reading of 37.2, but the battery meter’s completely full. At full charge, my voltage reading was 40.3, so maybe it’s a common glitch?

11 months ago

Interesting… thanks for sharing all of these details JimBo. In the past, I have met people who used layers of duct tape to cushion and tighten their battery interface as the plastic mounting points wore down over time and the pack started to rattle but internal rattling is a whole different thing and very concerning. Damaged ebike batteries have been responsible for fires at shops (who are working to repair them) and even during rides on hot days like this. I’m wary of offering any kind of advice but would definitely start with a Populo dealer or even the company itself to see if an exchange / discount could be worked out for a new pack. I did not spend enough time with the Populo Sport to comment on battery readout but it sounds like you’ve identified an issue with their system.

11 months ago

Thanks for the prompt response, Court! I applied Gorilla tape in the spaces of the battery mount where you can see rubbing had occurred, but now I’m especially nervous about the cell movement inside the battery so I doubt I’ll ride this bike again until its battery is replaced. I sent Populo an email over the weekend, and tried calling today at about 10am PST; hopefully they’ll call/write back soon. I’ll post an update if/when they do.

I also want to ask them whether the replacement batteries on their website are made with Panasonic or Samsung (it doesn’t specify but it does say they’re 10.4Ah and I believe the Panasonics were 8.8). I’m always wary of vague ebike specs (especially regarding electronics), but caught flak on the EBR Forum for calling another small ebike company out on their loosey-goosey approach to posting specs… I can understand the need for flexibility, but consumers deserve to know exactly what they’re buying, IMO!

Regardless of cell manufacturer, the Populo’s battery *builder* may be the culprit in the internal cell movement, or it could be that the loose mounts caused this issue over time. I have several other ebikes, however, including a few eMTBs that had seen much rougher terrain over longer periods, and none of them – including the crowdfunded startups – have batteries that did this. So I really hope they’ll replace it under warranty. They don’t specify “original owner” on their generous warranty, but they do limit their liability (understandable), and say, “If a defective part is found during the warranty period and the customer notifies us immediately, **the seller will repair or replace the part based on his sole discretion**.”

11 months ago

Update: I got a replacement battery from Populo, but it also had an unsealed seam in the same spot the original had. Black 3M electrical tape blends right in with the matte black plastic battery case, so I taped the seam and you can barely tell it’s there. After two rides, the tape has held up and the internal cells do not move around inside like to original did. But there’s a small piece of something rattling around in there – I can only conclude that. they’re sourcing cheap batteries from a marginal supplier.

This brings me to Susan’s earlier comment/observation that Court’s review says the Sport’s batteries use Samsung cells while Populo’s specifications on their website say Panasonic. When I looked at their replacement battery offering for $329, I noticed it didn’t mention any brand at all. They have a little “live chat” function, however, so I asked “Panasoic or Samsung cells?” on two different visits a week apart. First time, they siad Samsung and asked where I was getting Panasonic from. I told them it’s specified that way on the Sport web page! The second time, however, they said Panasonic!

Something really sketchy’s going on there…

10 months ago

Jimbo’s battery experience is really alarming. I tried to purchase an extra one but at the moment they’re sold out. The frustrating part is they claim you can’t just find a similar shape and spec battery to use so what’s going to happen when this one dies? My bike dies with it? The fact they can’t truthfully reveal the manufacture is a red flag. I’ve been biking to work every day since I got it back 3 months ago in mid-March and the battery doesn’t quite seem as strong as it was in the beginning (the voltage goes down quickly). If I have trouble getting a replacement from them, I may just look into a whole new power supply for the motor if that is at all possible. I’ve been sealing the battery in saran wrap on rainy days as I don’t want to risk water damage.

The Populo web chat help person confirmed that a medium 55 would fit my 5’8″ height. Now, under the new specs for the sizes, they still have a 55 medium but it clearly states it is for those that are 5’10” and over- this would explain why the reach is just too far on mine.

Bottom line is it is still a great and powerful bike but because they needed to meet specific benchmarks for this price, they are not forthcoming about the specifics of the parts. I’m starting to worry that an electrical overhaul may come a lot sooner than I anticipated.

10 months ago

Hi Susan, that’s a frustrating experience but you’ve got a healthy constructive attitude. Your stem could be swapped for a shorter one or higher angle to reduce reach. I can’t speak for Populo batteries but you could reach out to Rechargeable Power Energy in Nevada for a replacement if/when you need a refill. I believe they repack almost any electric bicycle battery :)

9 months ago

I bought a Populo Sport in December and was really getting a lot of use out of it until it abruptly died on a morning commute. I had noticed significant internal rattling in the battery, as another commenter noted, even though my commute is over fairly smooth pavement the whole way. That first bike had about 600 miles on it.

Populo did not question my warranty, although they ignored my multiple requests to discuss it over the phone. They sent me a brand new replacement with a few included improvements to the new model (water bottle cage, rack bosses on the seat/chainstays) and covered return shipping costs. I thought I was back in business, until this second bike failed again during my morning commute. The replacement has less than 100 miles on it.

At this point, they’ve lost any future business from me. If I’m going to use something for my commute, I need reliability.

9 months ago

Wow, thanks for sharing your experience with the Populo Sport here Brucifus, I hope this helps others who might need a sturdier or more reliable mode of transport. I do my best to dig in with the videos and writeup but I cannot communicate longer term use the way you have here. I’m glad Populo at least tried to help you with a replacement but understand why you might need to move on now. The good news is, more and more high-end drive systems are coming down in price. You can get Yamaha, Shimano, Brose, and Bosch for a lot less in 2017 than you used to be able to and I hear good things in terms of reliability from dealers.

7 months ago

Populo recently posted on the Reddit ebikes forum about the battery issues reported with their ebikes. This is the response from Populo’s representative Estaban, reposted here with his permission:

  • Batteries shifting around: when we investigated the “rattle” issue, we found that the mount on the battery was where most of the noise was coming from. The current mount is a metal on metal slide. We are in the process of designing an injection molded mount that will reduce the noise significantly in the next release. From our research, the current mount does not affect the durability or performance of the Sport.
  • Battery cells – In our first production, we had some battery cells that were Samsung and some that were Panasonic. All batteries in our current production are now Panasonic ONLY.
  • Quality Assurance – We have an extensive quality check at our factory and we distribute from our warehouses nationally.
  • Battery availability – At the moment, we have a reserved supply of batteries for warranty replacement. If you need to replace a battery under warranty, contact us at our website or go to your local dealer. If you’re looking for a spare battery to buy as an extra, we have a shipment coming now! Spare batteries should be available at the end of this month.
7 months ago

This is great information Dewey, thank you so much for reposting here… and getting permission! You’re awesome, I hope Populo keeps EBR and the forums in mind for future updates like this. It makes me excited to check out their newer models and I respect that they are in touch with their user base like this, offering an explanation for questions and concerns.


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Thomas Jaszewski
3 weeks ago

More and more cities are making bike lanes a primary thought in urban planning. Until such time as there are protected (enlightened populous) bikeways I ride with a cam mounted on my bikes. Thanks Reid!

Populo Bikes
3 weeks ago

Populo Bikes is a dealer-focused brand with over 130 locations across the United States. Our dealers have close relationships with their local customers. Feedback and services are usually handled directly by the dealers.
If you're interested in test riding one of our products, we would be happy to refer you to an authorized dealer near you. Try it out and see if you like it for yourself!

Let us know if you have any other questions.


Populo Bikes
2 months ago

Today Populo is introducing our newest e-bike, the Lift V2. Lift V2 focuses on comfort with an easy on/off step-through frame, upright riding position, plus suspension fork and seatpost. The Lift V2 is a Class II e-bike with both pedal assist and throttle modes, featuring a 250W rear hub motor, Shimano drivetrain with twist-shifter, and disc brakes for stopping power.

Lift V2 includes thoughtful accessories like a rear rack, lockable battery, backlit display, and headlight powered by the e-bike battery. We've even included a friendly bell!

Our newest model is available now at the 100+ Populo dealers across the USA, and online at Populo.com. We're also proud to launch Affirm on Populo.com, which allows you to pay for your new e-bike over time with easy monthly payments.

Check it out at https://www.populo.com/products/populo-lift-v2-electric-bicycle

A formal press release follows.


- the team at Populo Bikes

Esteban Raposo
Populo Bicycles
(866) 300-3311


Hybrid model at dealers now for just $1,399

CITY OF INDUSTRY, CA - Populo Bicycles announces the immediate availability of the new Lift V2 electric bicycle across their dealer network of independent partner bike shops. Dealers received stock of the new model in mid-January.

The Populo Lift V2 is a Class II electric bicycle featuring both throttle and pedal assist operation with a step-through frame. It is powered by a 250W motor and Samsung 313Wh battery, allowing an estimated range of 30 miles or possibly more.

“Today’s e-bikes are lighter, powerful, and more affordable than ever before,” said Jeremy Griffin, national sales manager for Populo Bicycles. “We are very excited to deliver this exciting new model to our dealers at a great price.”

Populo designed the Lift V2 to be accessible to casual cyclists. Poor flexibility can limit some riders ability to swing a leg over the saddle, so the step-through frame eliminates that concern. The bike also features a suspension fork and seatpost to take the edge off rough pavement, and an upright, swept-back handlebar with ergonomic grips for a more comfortable riding position. Last, but not least, powerful mechanical disc brakes allow for easy stopping.

Lift V2 is offered in matte black or gloss white, comes in two sizes (43cm or 50cm) and retails for $1,399.99.

Populo Bicycles offers a full line of electric bicycles through independent local bike shops and is actively signing up new dealers to add to their network. For more information, contact Jeremy Griffin at jgriffin@avantsports.com.

For all other inquiries, visit populo.com


If you would like more information about this topic, please contact Esteban Raposo, (866) 300-3311 or eraposo@avantsports.com

2 months ago

Court charges a modest fee plus travel expenses, though they have national distribution through Dick’s Sporting Goods so it ought not be too much trouble. The newer Genesis and Phantom models with the frame mounted batteries offer better weight distribution than the older rack mount design. The website has mentioned an upcoming mid-drive model with a torque sensor pedal assist for a while, which would be a change from the direct drive throttle Class 2 ebikes they’re known for, though if it’s using the Bafang max drive 350w $3k seems a bit expensive when compared with other ebikes with the same motor from Biktrix, M2S, Populo, FLX, etc.

bob armani
4 months ago

How about the Rubbee compact portable electric drive system reviewed on this forum: https://electricbikereview.com/rubbee/drive-2-0/

There is also a newer version coming soon also on this forum https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/rubbee-x-introduction.15247/#post-121643

4 months ago

I was accepted to go Study Abroad for Spring 2018 in South Korea. I travel by car to my home university and either walk or use a golf-cart service to my classes. The golf-cart service is provided for those with different disabilities. I have a very mild form of muscular deficiency. I am perfectly capable of walking and performing normal physical activities, but compared to an average human being, I perform these activities at a slower rate. I am perfectly capable of riding a bike as well :).

While abroad, I will not have a car with me and even though South Korea has a good transportation system, I would like to invest in an e-bike. The university I will be attending is known to be in a 'hilly' location. The e-bike will give me a little boost for those hills and at the same time, I will have a way of transportation. I plan to use the e-bike as a normal bike and use assistance for hills or longer travels.

I am looking for an e-bike that is not too heavy, but my main goal is to find an e-bike that can get me up those steep hills. I have been looking at models such as:

- Populo Sport Electric Bicycle V3
- Faraday Cortland
- Gazelle NL C7 HMB

I understand that all of these models are quite different, but I am new at this and not sure where to start. Please keep in mind that I am a university student and these e-bikes are not cheap. However, I am open to any suggestions! I am open to ALL recommendations :)

4 months ago

Single speed ebikes like the E-Glide SS, Populo Sport, Sondors Thin, and EasyGo Race are some of the lightest weight affordable complete ebikes. Court has mentioned some can be geared high so you don't spin out and for that reason he likes a throttle or more sensitive PAS sensor so the motor can help you get moving from stationary or up hill.

4 months ago

Court raises this point in his reviews of lower priced ebikes, typically he suggests comparing retailers that offer customer service and warranty parts support out of a US physical location with others that offer no or crowd-sourced support. Other 'tells' are whether a low-price ebike retailer is making the effort to redesign their product in light of customer feedback, for example Populo redesigned the battery mount on their $1k Sport model after customers complained of the battery rattling around on the bike, the 2017 Sport's with the redesigned battery mount are reportedly much quieter.

5 months ago

Wow, you picked some real interesting choices! Are you even aware that GenZ is Manhindra (sp) one of the largest manufacturers of heavy equipment and automobiles in the world. Don't think they are going anywhere.
Bulls is one of the real success stories of Ebikes, Specialized(!), Scott (HUGE in Europe), Stromer!!, Haibike!!!!!!!!!!! LOL, you're killing me here. You do realize you've listed all of the biggest, most successful Ebike companies out there as going to be gone............... Trek?? If it doens't go well? ALL the "New" big boys have been selling Ebikes in other countries for YEARS, including Trek. Scott and others have said they may be Ebike ONLY in the future. Sales are PROPPING UP REGULAR BIKE COMPANIES....
Flip your idea 180 degrees and You've made a pretty good list of the companies that will be kicking ass with Ebikes in the next 10 years.

86 and still kicking
5 months ago

Serious disagreement with the assumptions and the list. Direct to consumer, online, and mobile delivery are the future of the market. Pedego is a tiny little brand that just happens to be the largest seller of eBikes in the United States. Companies like Stromer, Reise and Muller, KTM and others have very marginal operations in North America. Genze is a tiny little international company that happens to be larger than just about all the vendors combined.

Mike's E-Bikes
5 months ago

Hard to predict what brands will stick around, but the brands that survive will have the best business model, and not necessarily the best product.

What will surprise people the most, is that many brands that SEEM to have popularity now, are most likely NOT the ones that will survive. Precisely because their business models don't allow dealers to make enough to even live on, or are just poor, or they are naively going direct to market on-line.

These brands in no particular order that will most likely struggle:
Van Moof

There's at least 50 more, than aren't worth even mentioning.

Survivors could be, IF they even decide to keep doing e-bikes:
Reise & Muller
Trek (though the name may stay, they may dump ebikes if it doesn't go well)

Some names may survive and get bought out, if they have some sort of unique niche they've captured.

None of the above matters anyway, as I predict hundreds more new names will be forthcoming, until the market gets this right. Its WAY too early to speculate on any of this, but it might be interesting to look back in 5 years to see if any of this was right, or wrong.

6 months ago


My dad will be celebrating his 70th birthday next month and my siblings and I are looking to get him an electric bike for a birthday/retirement gift. He's about 6'2" and he definitely prefers an upright ride and really values comfort.

Our budget is around $1,500 (which I know doesn't go too far in this arena), but we're looking for suggestions on what might be the best fit for him. I've done some research, but I'm having a tough time pulling the trigger on anything since I'm brand new to electric bikes and I've never really heard anything of the available brands in that price range.

Some we're considering:

[*]Populo Lift
[*]Crosscurrent Air (replacing the stem wth an adjustable stem to make it more upright)
[*]VoltBike Elegant

Any suggestions would be awesome! Thanks!

Nova Haibike
1 day ago

Arthritis and a

Happy Birthday. :D

Tough situation. It does not seem like there are many e-trikes to choose from at all. Of the few I have seen listed on this site, I'd probably recommend the Pedego if only because they have the biggest dealer network to take care of servicing should you need it. Also, Worksman is a well-known manufacturer of bikes and trikes that are often used in industrial settings; they make a more budget friendly e-trike: https://www.worksmancycles.com/pt3cb-hub-eng.html

1 day ago

My name is Sherry and I bought an RV for my 70th me to me birthday present. Have had wanderlust all my live and am not getting any younger so felt if I was ever going to go see the USA there was no better time than the present. Arthritis and spinal stenosis have reared their ugly heads so I am slower than I used to be and can't do as much as I once did. I have had some corrective surgery, generally from sports injuries, that have left me with less than perfect balence. I have chosen not to tow, driving my 25 foot Class A baby behemoth is enough of a challenge so I would like to have a bike to run errands, go see places off the beaten path and go from place to place without always walking. Tried numerous two wheelers, when I have come across a bike store carrying ebikes on my travels, but felt no level of comfort. So being realistic, an etrike and a tilting carrier will probably the best solution for me. But where does one start?
Have spent hours watching reviews but am still lost. To make it more difficult, I live in a small town where we have only one store selling electric bicycles and they have nothing to show me. I do not really want to buy without taking a test drive but might have to. SOOOOOO, what should I be looking for? Lithium Ion battery, re-charge time, reverse, battery that can be charged while in place so I do not have to remove it, emergency (parking) brake, carrying capacity, fenders, chain guard- I get the simple stuff. But I would appreciate help on the things that really matter like the type of motor, the power, throttle type (some say variable speed control-twist throttle or pedal assist), braking system etc. Also, what type of carrier would one recommend? I assume something similar to that for a mobility scooter. Any help will be appreciated. Taking off for the wild blue yonder in mid-June and would like to be ready to roll be then. Thanks for the advise.

2 days ago

Been doing some research and looking around for E-Bikes similar to the Stealth Electric Bikes street-legal model Stealth P-7 and came across the Edge Sport E-Bike by labike.com.

Does anyone have experience or know more about this brand. There doesn't seem to be many results from my google search and the website appears to be tight lipped about the specifications. They do have a great price point compared to Stealth but just wondering about the quality of their products. Stealth quoted their new Stealth P-7 Bike for $10,000 including shipping and taxes to where I live in Canada... so I've been trying to find something similar in quality with lower price (I know there are some China brands out there but I don't trust their quality).

bob armani
2 days ago

Thanks Franklo-
Yeah I hear ya! Every time we get above 50 degrees, I drop everything and go for a ride on the trails and whip around curves at +20mph in sport(75%) mode. I was told that the 2015 bikes were tuned a little higher so I get up to 23-24mph before I hear the motor start to decrease in assistance. I get about 30 miles on a single charge staying in that mode on most of my rides. Yes-'2 higher boost modes are quite addictive'. I rarely use other modes and I do not use too many gears either. Largest chainring in front most of the time. Love the 46t size for great cadence with speed... Ride safe!

Bruce Arnold
3 days ago

Agreed. Let me say that I really, truly appreciate all that Court does. His video and written reviews on hundreds of bikes are an invaluable resource. Helped me pick bikes for my wife and I. We made informed decisions and are happy with our choices. This forum is also a treasure, and as the recent bot attack shows, it takes work to manage.

That being said, the RipCurrent S review was not Court's finest moment. Maybe he was rushed, or just having an off day. Happens to all of us. If you read the written review, it's even more apparent.

My main disagreement with his review is that he focused so much on off-roading during the hands-on portion. If you look at the Juiced website, it advertises the RCS as a fat tire commuter bike, not as an off-road machine. Sure, it can be ridden in the dirt. I ride my CCS on grass and dirt some, but I don't expect it to perform like a mountain bike. Just because the RCS has fat tires doesn't mean that it should be an off-road beast.

Maybe it rides better on gravel paths than the CCS, or sandy conditions, or mud, or snow. One of my favorite ebike YouTubers, https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyY8Ol-BBtdkpDmncXaDMSQ in Finland, might love this bike, alongside his Surly fat tire bike. Lots of snow up there. Maybe it's the additional comfort that fat tires can afford. Maybe it's just for the hell of it.

Regardless, what do we know about Juiced Bikes? They emphasize speed and sporty handling, not low-end torque.

"It doesn't do the job that it wasn't designed or promoted to do." Meh.

3 days ago

Wow! A that is a sport not for the faint of heart! How much do you have to trust your buddy to pull that one off? Thanks for sharing.

bob armani
3 days ago

Franklo-There are default power settings preset at the factory within each power assist level (the levels are low, medium and high) I myself have a similar issue. I do not notice any difference in power from sport mode to boost @100%. I also notice when I am in standard or eco mode, the output is the same (very little). I just ride in sport mode most of the time. If my battery gets below 18%, the system defaults to standard which makes it very hard to pedal the last few miles. Perhaps a diagnostic check at the dealer would reveal the preset settings??
Did you find out what your solution is to your power output? Thanks!

Bruce Arnold
3 days ago

If you're interested in a cargo bike/people mover, you might also consider the Pedego Stretch. Here's Court's review:


There have been upgrades since this review was published. For instance, I saw one recently at a local dealer and it had pads on the seat and back rest, making it more comfortable for a passenger. Built pretty strong and lots of ways to haul stuff on it.

So on the commuting question: My wife and I both use ebikes for commuting and errands. It has been only 2 months but so far so good. We have committed to selling our 2nd car to our daughter when she graduates from nursing school in May, so we are only using one car now to get used to it. We don't have dreadful winters here but have had to contend with freezing temps and precipitation during this time. Not that different from Livermore; I was a bicycle messenger in San Francisco in the 1970s and winter weather in that part of CA was much like it is here in eastern NC. Our summers are a lot hotter and more humid, so we'll have to contend with that. "There is no bad weather, only bad clothing" as they say in Finland.

Her commute is 8 miles round trip, mine is 14. She rides a Pedego City Commuter and I ride a Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S. You might like the CCS if you like that road bike, it's pretty sporty. You could easily knock out that 6 mile commute in 15 minutes, which is not too shabby.

Happy to share more if you have specific questions.

4 days ago

Hollywood Racks Sportrider Se Hitch Rack, Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0076IHB2Y/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_O1rSAbX6W1MBT

Reese Towpower 7022900 1-1/4" to 2" Receiver Adapter - 10" Long https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001IH6WHE/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_o2rSAbPJQ3RVP

Hitch Tightener for 1.25" and 2"Hitches RETECK 304 Stainless Steel Hitch Tightener Anti-Rattle Stabilizer Rust-Free Heavy Duty Lock Down Easy Installation Quiet https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01KZ25Y26/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_d3rSAbX216EBE

Draw-Tite 24847 Class I Hitch for Toyota Prius '10 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002NZWGWK/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_X3rSAbBW2XMT3

I have a Prius and I need to make sure I'm not about to see a bike go flying down the highway. I originally started off with a swagman xc2 but the rack itself is rated at 35lb per bike. Well that won't work bc each bike I have is 45-46 lb without battery. I couldn't find very many racks that support it. So here is a Hollywood rack(problem is it's class 2). So naturally I looked for 1-1/4 to 2" adapter. Problem, class 1 200lb tongue weight. Ok.. so put one bike inside car. Problem.. tongue weight is cut in half with use of adapter. So 100 lb tongue weight.. if you take one bike 46lb, the rack(I think it's 49) and the actual weight of the adapter.. I think it's pushing it. I don't plan on driving rough with it. I just want to make sure I'll be ok. I really like the rack and it supports 50lb per bike. I thought I would have it when I changed vehicles one day.

5 days ago

I'm looking for advice on selecting the correct chainring for my ebike build.

The base bike will be a Specialized Roll Sport comfort bike. I'm 64 and ride mostly on paved bike trails and secondary streets. Lots of moderate hills around my home. Not a commuter. I also will not be installing the throttle. I want to pedal and want some assistance from the motor, not an electric motorcycle. Battery I'm leaning towards is a dolphin 48v.

Buying a BBS02 kit from Luna and I have a few options regarding the chainring. They are 46/48/52 tooth. Any thoughts and advice would be much appreciated.
I have other questions, but will post those separately.

Furor Bikes
6 days ago

Hello to all lovers of electric transport!
My name is Bogdan Rudenko.
I am a design engineer from the city of Kiev, Ukraine

I want to talk about my new draft frame for a bike with a BLDC motor.

My job is to make a universal frame.

Already, a lot of motors can be installed on the frame.

The battery compartment has three boot options and large dimensions.

Different types of shock absorber suspension.

And there are other modifications.

The frame will be the basis for enduro, street, or sports motorcycle.

Modification is possible due to replaceable plastic panels. The fixing points are the same for the three types.
Material: steel (st3,st20).
Weight: 13.5 kg.
Now the final test stage of the first sample is in progress.

Three individual frame variants will be produced soon under three different engines.
We are already doing frames. Ready e-cycles for sale will be in early summer.
I would be glad to answer your questions. I can be found on facebook, telegram, instargam, or https://furorbikes.jimdo.com/

7 days ago

I had to vote “Other”. My bike is a Merida E-Spresso Sport410 DX with Bosch Performance Line and Novu display. https://www.merida-bikes.com/en_int/bikes/e-bikes/sport/2015/e-spresso-sport-410-dx-2707.html
The standard battery was only 400Wh, but I have bought a 500Wh for the really long trips.

2 months ago

It should be sold in europe...

Major Twang
2 months ago

that bike, with 20" wheels - 500 watt motor - no pedal assist - but with a thumb is what i want.

Bob Sled
2 months ago

2 words - Great product

Is it available in the UK yet?

Major Twang
3 months ago

Build/sell one of these for 699$/799$, with 20" wheels and only thumb power, no torque senser, no computer, no USB ports..and i'll buy 2...

De Cnijf Kris
4 months ago

very cool.to be prrsented on Brussels bike fair next February.

5 months ago

wow. Bicycle Eunich. sounds like the balls fell off. I think I'll go for electric dirty bikes.

Dario Milardovic
5 months ago

Still overpriced. For that think I will pay $450

4 months ago

get a kit for 600$

Zhang Simen
5 months ago

Nakto 26" 300W Fat Tire Electric Bicycle 6-Speed Beach Snow 36V10AH Lithium battery

Nakto ebike is best price with quality, this will be a nice choose!


Jon Neet
7 months ago

I am a 63 year old retired dude. I had been riding a cheap bike, a Thruster Fixie. It had a reversable hub, so it could be a "true" fixie, or with the hub as it came stock, it was a single speed, and the pedals could freewheel backwards. Then, Last August 2016, I took a fall and blew out my right knee. I often walk with a cane as the right knee has not much strength. I sold the bike to my daughter, as no way could I ride it back then. I've been thinking lately about getting an electric bike with the thought that, in power assist mode, I could get by with one weak knee. I would plan on riding it in a lower power pedal assist setting to maximize the range. I would want to run into Hilo and back, which would be at least 30 miles. This Populo and the Everly 202 seem like a good way to get into ebikes for me. Not many hills at all on the roads I would ride on. I know you mention in several reviews that you have a weak knee also. Maybe riding one of these bikes might help my knee. My Doctor said, when I did the injury, it didn't look like I'd need surgery. Does my thinking seem plausible? These two bikes seem like they might be light enough for riding some even without the electrics. I'd rather have the bars from the Everly, but the extra range of the Populo.

Aayush Parmar
7 months ago

You can import giant road E+ from Amazon India at very cheap price like 300dollars

Saqi S
8 months ago

i just bought this today. its amazing. i live and work in the city

Bernardo Diossa
2 weeks ago

How is it on hills?

9 months ago

Nice price point. Nice and good looking design. But the 20 mph cap is not so nice.

Richard Roscoe
9 months ago

It looks like a painted Schwinn Stites. Add the same Chinese components and you have yourself the same exact bike for around $600.

Richard Roscoe
9 months ago

The frame looks 100% identical to the 6KU fixie, though.

Refuso Againo
9 months ago

The kid speaking is well versed but why do all the interviewers seem to think that we want to listen to them? They're supposed to ask questions of the Expert, who is responsible for the bike. Run off at the mouth syndrome dominates this otherwise very informative video.
Bill Maher does that too. Great guest, doesn't allow him to speak.

9 months ago

How fast can it go?

10 months ago

Try it out on New Orleans roads if you wanna see a bike destroyed instantly!

10 months ago

its not as loud as you would expect. its probably so zippy because its prettt light. my old ezip had a 350 watt external geared hub motor and it was sluggish but the bike was heavy. my first was a sealed lead acid battery and the frame was just huge and over built. with regard to the 14 ga spokes, the purchaser should definitely take road contidions, total weight and riding style into account, the ezips had 14 ga spokes and i broke them until i just parked the bike. the wheel was custom with a right side sprocket (special sprocket too reverse threaded freewheel sprocket 11 tooth ), threaded on, so you couldn't just replace the wheel and retain the motor use. so thats a big deal even at 1000$, if the rear wheel is damaged or spokes break, people not in areas where ebikes are common might be able ro easily fix the issue. nice bike though.

10 months ago

cort do you know if you might be able to add on a throttle either as an option or user mod? i have a coworker who is looking for a cheap ride and this is perfect other than not having a throttle.

Michael smith
11 months ago

I'm looking for my first ebike would be better to go with this one or the juiced?

hiber nate
12 months ago

I'm gonna buy this bike soon..I'm just waiting for my local dealer to get the medium black version...hopefully next week.

Enrique Reyes
9 months ago

hiber nate at what assist number?

hiber nate
11 months ago

finally got the bike..I can do about 40miles on eco mode..which is usually enough.