Raleigh Redux iE Review

Raleigh Redux Ie Electric Bike Review
Raleigh Redux Ie
Raleigh Redux Ie Alloy Chain Guide Bash Guard
Raleigh Redux Ie 500 Watt Hour Downtube Battery Pack
Raleigh Redux Ie Cockpit Handlebar Locking Grops
Raleigh Redux Ie Removable Lcd Display By Brose
Raleigh Redux Ie Schwalbe Big Ben Quck Release Wheel
Raleigh Redux Ie Selle Royale Shadow Saddle
Raleigh Redux Ie 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Raleigh Redux Ie Portable 2 5 Amp Battery Charger
Raleigh Redux Ie Electric Bike Review
Raleigh Redux Ie
Raleigh Redux Ie Alloy Chain Guide Bash Guard
Raleigh Redux Ie 500 Watt Hour Downtube Battery Pack
Raleigh Redux Ie Cockpit Handlebar Locking Grops
Raleigh Redux Ie Removable Lcd Display By Brose
Raleigh Redux Ie Schwalbe Big Ben Quck Release Wheel
Raleigh Redux Ie Selle Royale Shadow Saddle
Raleigh Redux Ie 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Raleigh Redux Ie Portable 2 5 Amp Battery Charger


  • A sleek, quiet, all-black, speed-pedelec with excellent weight distribution and smooth quiet power transfer, 10-speed drivetrain and powerful hydraulic disc brakes to match
  • Stiff thru-axles and a rigid Aluminum alloy fork are balanced out by fatter 2.0" Schwalbe tires and TranzX Antishock stem and seat post for comfort
  • Available in three frame sizes for improved fit, durable chain-guide doubles as a bash guard, oversized pedals, locking grips and upgraded kickstand, quality charger with magnetic plug
  • Limited reflective surfaces and no integrated lights (though I believe dealers can add them), solid mid-level drivetrain from Shimano with 10 speeds, extensive dealer network and good warranty

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers





Redux iE



Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Road

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

48.6 lbs (22.04 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.8 lbs (3.08 kg)

Motor Weight:

6.61 lbs (2.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy, Custom Butted

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)21 in (53.34 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Small: 17" Seat Tube, 23.5" Reach, 28.5" Stand Over Height, 71.5" Length

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Satin Black with Blue and Grey Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Aluminum Alloy, 100 mm / 15 mm Thru-Axle with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

142 mm / 12 mm Thru-Axle Release Skewer

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore Two-Way Triggers on Right


FSA 170 mm Alloy Crank Arms, 48T Chainring with Alloy Guide


Generic Aluminum Alloy Platform


Alloy 1-1/8", Four 5 mm Risers


TranzX Antishock, Aluminum Alloy, 90 mm Length, -3° Rise


Aluminum Alloy, Low-Rise, 27.5" Length

Brake Details:

Shimano Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Back Rotor, Shimano Three-Finger Levers with Adjustable Reach


Raleigh, Flat Rubber, Locking


Selle Royale Shadow

Seat Post:

TranzX Antishock, Aluminum Alloy with Quick Release Collar

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm


Double Wall, Aluminum Alloy, 32 Hole, Black


Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Ben, 27.5" x 2.0"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

Active Line K-Guard Puncture Protection, 35 to 70 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta Valve


Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.9 Pound 2.5 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:


Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

530 watts

Motor Torque:

90 Newton meters

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13.8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

496.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

60 miles (97 km)

Display Type:

Brose, Removable, Backlit LCD


Speed, Assist Level (Off, Cruise, Tour, Sport), Battery Level (10 Bars), Odometer, Trip Meter, Timer, Clock

Display Accessories:

Integrated Button Pad on Display (On/Off, Light, Menu), Independent Button Pad on Left (Up, Select, Down), 5 Volt Full Sized USB Port on Display Mount

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Cadence and Torque Sensing)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Redux iE has quickly become my favorite electric bike in the Raleigh lineup… but it feels like an abusive relationship because the high speed and rigid all-Aluminum frame take a toll on my wrists, arms, back, neck and backside when the terrain gets rough. This isn’t unique to the Redux, and in fact the fatter tires and anti-shock seat post and stem all aim to address it, but you still feel it at times. Thankfully, there are plenty of suspension seat post options to explore out there that would further reduce jar and the bike is otherwise, awesome! I loved how sleek and stealthy the frame looked before I even hopped on. The motor and battery are integrated into the tubing very well and practically disappear. Its all-black color scheme (all the way down to the spokes and rims) help the cables blend in at the entry points and most of them are internally routed. A lot of manufacturers have tried to imitate and beat Stromer (a brand known for sexy high-speed urban electric bikes) and for me, the Redux iE comes very close. By comparison, it’s lighter weight, offers better balance and is much more affordable despite being a little louder and not offering regenerative braking, fenders, a rack or lights. So perhaps the price difference on the Redux iE and some of the lower-level Stromer ST1 models is to be expected. But you do get the attachment points for fenders, bottle cage and a rack here if you want to add them yourself. And the display interface is very nice looking and removable, it even has a full sized USB port near the base that could power a headlight, music player or other electronic device mounted to the handlebar. In short, I’d probably add that light and consider upgrading the tires to a model with reflective sidewall stripes and even adding some black reflective stickers to the frame because this electric bicycle is so fast and quiet you might surprise automobile drivers.

Driving the bike is a Brose mid-drive motor that is seamlessly integrated at the bottom bracket area of the frame. It’s one of the most compact e-bike motor systems around right now and also one of the smartest. Its controller measures rear wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque to deliver quick power. And it offers up to 90 Newton meters of torque which is the more than the Bosch CX and Yamaha drives despite having a 250 watt nominal output rating. It peaks above 500 watts as the highest assist level is selected and your RPM climbs. I had no problem hitting the 28 mph top assisted speed and yet I didn’t hear the same whining or electronic whirring noises that other systems produce. Brose uses a belt drive to transfer power from a planetary gearing system inside the casing which removes vibration and limits sound. You can see this in the video review above and frankly, I couldn’t believe how quiet it was after watching the footage. Even when the camera was close and I was pedaling hard, the motor sounded soft. Without fenders and a rack, there isn’t much else to rattle around and the battery has rubber interface points to keep it from rattling as well (though I did notice one of the pieces was coming unseated during my test, it was easy enough to squish back in and did not look like it would fall out easily).

The battery pack is equally impressive aside from weight. At roughly 6.8 pounds it’s average and I’m guessing the Aluminum casing is what raises it above some of the 5.7 lb 500 watt hour packs offered by other manufacturers. It seats into the downtube from the top vs. the bottom which seems safer to me. It clicks in easily and locks automatically without using the key. At the base, there’s a pair of ridges that help you pull the pack up and this is also where the circular power button is. towards the very top of the pack, a charging interface with magnetic cap can be found and BE CAREFUL not to lose this little cap. It doesn’t have a string or rubber connection leash like most others and is very easy to misplace. This charging location is excellent because it keeps the sensitive pins far away from water, dust and mud. You use the same port to charge the pack whether it’s on or off the bike and the 2.5 Amp charger is slightly faster than average and reasonably light at just under two pounds. The magnetic Energy Bus charging standard is cool because the plug pops out if you trip on the cord… which could prevent the bike from tipping. And I do like that they included a kickstand here and that it’s mounted far out of the way towards the rear wheel near the disc brake on the left. When you’ve got a fast ebike like this, even though it’s relatively light weight at ~58 lbs, you want good brakes and the Shimano hydraulic 180/160 mm setup here does just fine.

Operating the bike is very intuitive, just charge and mount the battery then press the circular power button at the base. For me, the display turned on instantly without having to press the second rubber power button located on the top edge. Perhaps this is a sleep button because it did turn off the display temporarily during my experimentation… but then it came back on as I started to pedal? In any case, you have a menu button on the side of the display and on the control pad near the left grip. This cycles through trip stats like odometer, trip meter, timer and clock but I did not see a range estimator. Too bad because thosse are fun to experiment with (Bosch and Yamaha usually have them). What you do get is a ten bar battery graphic which is much more precise than the four or five bar readouts on most models. Battery percentage would be even more useful but I’ll take what I can get! The primary interaction with this display is using the up and down arrows on the control pad, cycling through Off, Cruise, Tour and Sport assist levels. Sport will get you up to speed faster but draws down the battery quicker as well. I found myself riding in Tour most of the time when not filming. It felt natural and I was expecting to maximize range this way by hovering in the low 20’s. Any time you ride above ~20 mph the efficiency of the bike drops way down due to air resistance. It’s like an exponential drop… but you should still expect a decent range thanks to the larger battery capacity, rigid fork and efficient tires… especially if you wear a helmet like this!

Kudos to Raleigh for designing one of the more attractive and capable urban speed pedelecs I’ve seen on the market this year. Hovering around the $3k mark, this feels like a more affordable option but doesn’t cut corners. For me, it’s important to have a removable display panel and so many ebikes don’t offer that. I don’t want the sun, rain or fellow cyclists damaging my stuff at the rack and I don’t want to damage it myself by tripping over a cable etc. Comfort and road control at higher speeds are the two areas where you compromise with the lack of suspension. The tires, suspension post and stem make a difference but it’s not enough for me… so I’d definitely explore some options. Had it come with a suspension fork, weight would have gone up, power transfer down and the price wouldn’t be so tempting. A younger version of me would have been floored by this bike, and even now, I see how awesome it would be on smooth pavement… it’s worth noting that I don’t ride on road bikes as much now either, for the same reasons. The Redux delivers on a range of ride experiences and is one of a limited mid-drive Class 3 ebikes available right now. It’s also easier to find because Raleigh dealers are widespread and their two year warranty is solid. Big thanks to Raleigh for partnering with me on this review and the Accell Group for hosting me at their headquarters so I could test ride it and other models back to back.


  • The Redux is a great starter platform for sporty urban commuting, it has bottle cage bosses and mounting points for a rear rack, you could also add fenders
  • As a Class 3 electric bike, you get motor assist up to 28 mph which is perfect for people who enjoy faster rides or have a tight schedule
  • Relatively light weight at ~48 lbs considering it has a 500 watt hour battery pack, the triangle on the frame is very wide and open making it easier to lift and carry
  • I was amazed at how quiet it rides, the motor, the battery mount, the chain etc. don’t produce a lot of humming or rattling
  • Thru-axles keep the wheels stiff and support larger tires, this allows you and the motor to transfer energy more efficiently into the bike but also get some comfort on bumpy terrain
  • You get an anti-shock stem and seat post which are designed to reduce vibration and discomfort because of the all-Aluminum frame and rigid fork
  • Minor detail, but I like the kickstand they chose because it stays out of the way and looks nice,
    it’s slightly fatter than other stands and holds the bike well
  • The battery, display panel and both wheels are easy to remove which is great for transporting the bike, fixing flats on the go or charging / protecting sensitive parts away from the bike rack
  • Some electric bicycles are notorious for dropping the chain while riding on rough terrain (my Uncle owns the Stromer ST1 Limited and it falls off all the time for him) but Raleigh has used a chain guide (two plates sandwiching the chainring to keep the chain on track)
  • The pedals are large, stiff and have metal nubs on top to improve traction, as a guy with medium-sized feet I appreciate these over cheaper cage style platform pedals
  • Three frame sizes to choose from to improve fit and ride comfort, I was on the small frame for this review, there is only one frame style (high-step) so consider stand-over height, Raleigh has a large dealer network in the US so you can probably find and test ride this bike easier than some other brands
  • Excellent weight distribution and a sweet appearance thanks to mid-drive motor and downtube-integrated battery, they blend in perfectly with the black color scheme
  • Hydraulic disc brakes offer good stopping power and the adjustable reach levers are good for large and small riders with different length fingers (or if you wear gloves)
  • The Brose motor is relatively quiet and smooth thanks to a transfer belt inside, it’s not just plastic and metal gears next to each other
  • The battery can be charged on or off the bike, the port is magnetic so the plug will pop out without tipping the frame and won’t damage the interface and it’s located in a spot that isn’t in the way of the crank arms like a lot of other electric bicycles I test and review
  • Full sized USB port the base of the display mount would allow you to charge a mobile phone, music player or headlight while riding
  • I like that the battery pack seats in from the top vs. the bottom because it’s less likely to drop and generally easier to work with here
  • The display panel is large, easy to read and comfortable to use because of the remote button pad located near the left grip, you can adjust assist without looking down as you get some practice


  • While the antishock stem and seat post reduce vibration a little bit, I’d consider getting a longer-travel 31.6 mm seat post suspension like those offered by BodyFloat to improve comfort further
  • I like that the bash guard / chain guide plates are punched out to reduce weight but my shoe lace got caught in there at one point and nearly tripped me up, perhaps a different pattern with larger holes would prevent this sort of thing?
  • Be careful with ebike in dark riding conditions because it’s all black, the tires don’t have reflective sidewall stripes and it doesn’t come with lights (you do get standard plastic reflectors in the pedals and wheel spokes)
  • Considering that you don’t get any of the accessories that this bike could use (fenders, lights,
    rear rack) I was a little surprised at the price point, it seems slightly high
  • Keep an eye on the little rubber cap used to cover the magnetic charging interface at the top of the battery, this rubber protector doesn’t have a leash and can easily be set down and lost if you don’t keep an eye on it
  • The battery pack weighs more than some competing 500 watt hour packs, 6.8 lbs vs. 5.7 lbs on the Bosch Powerpack 500, this may be due to the metal casing and unique in-frame design
  • I did not see a range estimator menu like some of the other ebikes are offering but do appreciate the 10-bar battery infographic, it’s more precise than the 4 or 5-bar menus that are common
  • Brose mid-drive motors do not offer shift sensing at this time so it’s best to reduce pedal pressure when changing gears, this reduces mashing and wear on the chain, sprockets and derailleur
  • The larger pedals are great for power transfer and traction but if you turn while pedaling or leave your inside crank arm down you can make contact with the ground so be careful


More Raleigh Reviews

Raleigh Tristar iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A purpose-built electric trike with integrated cables, a low mounted battery with a secondary slot to double your range, and a mid-drive motor that's powerful and efficient. Beautiful chrome fenders and a paint-matched chain cover keep you clean and dry, a large…...

Raleigh Sprite iE Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable neighborhood style electric bike with smaller wheels to lower the frame and slightly wider tires to improve comfort and stability. Available in four frame sizes and two styles (high-step and step-thru), the paint jobs are…...

Raleigh Detour iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A classy, comfortable, lightweight city ebike available in high-step and step-thru frame styles, choose from light blue or black, and three sizes. Swept-back handlebar, ergonomic grips, comfort saddle, fenders, and a combination chain guide plus cover offer…...

Raleigh Retroglide iE Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A classically styled electric cruiser with efficient and powerful mid-drive motor system, available in cantilever high-step and step-thru frame designs (two sizes), metallic blue or pink. Sturdy rear rack protects the battery and offers standard gauge rails for clip-on panniers, paint-matched…...

Raleigh Superbe iE Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A vintage-styled electric bicycle with beautiful alloy paint-matched fenders, rack and chain cover, you get several frame size choices and two styles (high-step and step-thru). Lots of little upgrades and accessories like an alloy chain guide to keep the chain…...

Raleigh Sprint iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A stealthy, fully-integrated speed pedelec (capable of hitting ~28 mph in pedal assist) with bosses for adding fenders, a rack or wiring in 6 volt lights to build a capable commuter. The M25GTS mid-drive motor from TranzX is smooth, relatively quiet and relies on a combination…...

Raleigh Tekoa iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A hardtail 29er electric mountain bike with powerful mid-drive motor (offering 73 Nm of torque and relatively quiet operation) driving a 10 speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain. Light weight RockShox XC32 Air suspension fork with 100 mm travel, lockout and preload adjust,…...

Raleigh Route iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high-speed urban electric bike with thru-axles for strength and a suspension for with lockout for improved comfort or efficiency. Larger wheelset and tires balance efficiency with comfort, three frame sizes deliver a range of…...

Raleigh Misceo Sport iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A feature complete, light weight commuter style electric bike (aluminum frame, carbon fiber fork) with great power transfer and an efficient, smooth mid-drive motor. Shimano hydraulic disc brakes with two-finger levers for nimble operation, quick wheels for easier transport,…...

Raleigh Misceo iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty, light weight electric bicycle with automatic electronic shifting, improved geometry and motor mount since 2015, carbon fiber fork. Shimano hydraulic disc brakes with two-finger levers for nimble operation, quick release front wheel for…...

2016 Raleigh Detour iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An efficient, light weight commuter electric bike available in two frame sizes and high-step or low-step styles, the swept back bars and ergonomic grips support an active upright body position. Narrower tires, firm saddle and all-Aluminum frame and fork provide great power transfer when pedaling…...

2016 Raleigh Sprite iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An approachable electric bike with deep low-step frame, adjustable stem, swept back handle bars and a large comfortable saddle. Simple linear pull brakes work well and are easy to adjust, quick release skewers on…...

2015 Raleigh Misceo iE Review

  • MSRP: $3,200
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A light weight, super efficient, city style electric bike with electronic shifting in addition to motorized pedal assist. Available in four frame sizes (small through extra large), fairly comfortable to ride given the…...

2015 Raleigh Tekoa iE Review

  • MSRP: $3,300
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Well-balanced 29er style electric mountain bike capable of 28 mph in speed pedal assist mode. Quick release front and rear wheels, hydraulic 180 mm disc brakes, air suspension with lockout...

Raleigh Venture iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,400
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A comfortable, quiet city cruiser available in high-step and low-step frame configurations as well as multiple sizes for improved fit. Swept back handlebars, ergonomic grips and pedals, suspension fork and suspension seat post with oversized…...

2015 Raleigh Detour iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Urban style electric bike with functional rear rack and fenders available in high-step and step-thru. Two frame sizes for better fit, swept-back handlebars and sprung saddle for comfortable upright position...

11 months ago

Court, can you comment on the pedal cadence of this vs the Bosch system? Does Brose allow you to spin enough for your needs?

11 months ago

Hi Shaggy! Yeah, the Brose system offers a higher supported cadence than Yamaha in my experience, I currently own a Specialized Turbo Levo with the same drivetrain and don’t feel like I have to shift in order to get maximum power and speed… if anyone else here knows the actual RPM rating I’d love to hear. I haven’t seen it anywhere and have explored their website (here’s an interesting page with some cool render videos).

10 months ago

Hey, Court. Great review, wish the Redux had integrated lights and fenders, tho. Hey, there’s a forum thread on your site where a number of folks have suggested that the Brose mid-drive provides noticeably less assist than motors from other manufacturers. They’re talking about mountain bikes, and maybe those motors are tuned differently than those on road bikes (which is where my interest lies.) But after reading your favorable review of the Redux with a Brose motor, and with the Brose-powered Specialized Vado to be released soon, I wonder if you might weigh in on this issue.

10 months ago

Hi Carter, my experience with Brose has been great. It’s quiet, smooth and very powerful if you shift gears appropriately. Though, now the Bosch CX drive offers an eMTB mode which is very zippy. It’s quick and offers a wide range from low power to high power without arrowing up and that’s pretty cool. The downside is more noise and the unique smaller sprocket which is designed to reduce drops but can also suffer from chain suck. Given your stated needs for on-road, I think the Vado or other Brose powered model would be great.

9 months ago

I’ve put about 330 miles on this bike so far, so figured I’d drop some thoughts for anyone else considering

Background: Male, 5’9, 150 lbs, 30 y/o, no real biking since teenage years. I liked this bike because its a speed pedelec, has better than average range, has the nicely integrated battery and has low profile color.

The short of it is that I’m enjoying this bike. It needs to get a tuneup as my front wheel has a small wobble (and a creaking noise is coming from the front fork area). I actually find it difficult to get up to 28 MPH…..very easy to quickly get to 18-21 MPH and cruise along….23-25 MPH definitely takes some effort….and beyond that I’m working really hard to get to 26 MPH+ (even in Sport mode). Riding uphill is when I feel like superman and appreciate the motor the most. It’s nice to even drop it down to Cruise mode and get a workout in those scenarios. The motor does seem somewhat inconsistent sometimes, especially in the 13 MPH range–I can feel some jolting when it feels like I’m pedaling consistently. I’ve felt it a couple times around 20 MPH as well, but not as much.

As far as range, my longest ride so far is 47 miles, almost entirely on Tour mode pedaling around 20 MPH (although my average speed for the trip was more like 16)….I had one bar of battery remaining and possibly could have squeezed 50 total miles out of it.

I find myself really digging the 1×11 drivetrain….shifting is easy and generally really smooth. I’ve hit some downhills where I wish I had another gear or two, and find myself riding in mostly the highest three or four gears. My chain popped out once but has generally held on well considering the bumpy riding i’ve done (including a big up/downhill very gravel-y stretch).

I definitely find the bike to feel very stiff, I have one particular stretch of road that I find myself dreading and standing up to brace for lots of bumps (the saddle is pretty comfortable though).

Was kind of surprised to find that the battery makes a pretty decent “whirring” sound as it charges. My guess is most e-bikes are like this. One of my biggest gripes about this bike though is that the battery does NOT satisfyingly click into place on the bike, although Cort’s seems to have (kind of) in the video. I have to give mine an extra push into place and it weakly clips in (seems secure once it does). Also one of my bottle cage bosses seems to have come damaged–will have LBS look at it. The manuals that come with the bike aren’t worth much, either.

Anyway, it’s a lot of fun being able to go out for a few hours and not really worry about being too worn out to get back home (although my legs are certainly getting a workout). Will update after a tuneup and a couple hundred more miles.

9 months ago

Nice! Thanks for sharing your personal details and the range, speed, and battery mounting bits Mike. This was awesome for me to read, real-world riding is often a bit different than reviews with brand new bikes and limited time… but I hope my writeup and video were close to accurate and again, really enjoyed your post and look forward to any updates you want to do down the line :)

Jonathon Simon
8 months ago

I am so glad to have read Mike’s comment. My eval is so similar at 80mi. Generally love the bike, but it clearly has some general design and build flaws. My experience is quite similar to Mike’s:

  • Sometimes (although rare so far) I feel a weird slight drag, seemly by the motor
  • My bike arrived with a tiny warp in the front wheel rotor, but the shop fixed it in 2 seconds. You could hear a slight brake pad rub, the warp wasn’t visually observable.
  • My chain ring guards are not trued – you can observe a distinctive wobble as it spins. It just bugs me that at over 3 grand the build quality is lacking there, but there is no rubbing. Anyone else have this very wobbly effect when you look down on the rotating crank. Raleigh did say they would “set me up” with another guard. I wasn’t sure how to interpret that, as I noticed the warranty pretty much says you are own your own for service charges – I think that’s ridiculous right out of the box to have to have to pay for major service like swapping a chain guard.
  • The battery does not have a secure click like in Court’s demo, nor does it pop up a bit when released as in the demo. I had the battery pop-up on its own one time on a big bump. Wrote to Raleigh about this battery issue. They say it can be adjusted by the dealer (“at the terminal”).
  • I have the same squeaking out of the box that Mike described on the front wheel. Dealer fixed it, and the squeak came back 11 miles later. Raleigh’s response is that it is likely from the O-ring at the thru axle end cap – a drop of tri-flow should take care of the noise, but the bike shouldn’t have to be lubed every 10mi?
  • There are bottle cage bosses advertised, but Raleigh could not recommend a bottle cage that would fit and still allow battery removal. I think the Topeak Modulo EX will do the trick. In the worst case, the front of this cage can be removed within a few secs – way faster than unbolting the whole cage. But i suspect in the cages contracted state, the battery will just clear it. Have one on order arriving next Thu.
  • Manual is too general and (yes I agree with Mike) it was worthless for any questions I had
  • Seems like customers can order the bikes direct but are not welcome to order parts (per my Raleigh email exchange) – this is for a dealer to do
  • I’m not really into going fast, but really haven’t had any issue on flat getting it up to 28mph in Sport. But like Mike, the Brose motor saved me from cramping on a steep hill at the end of my ride – that’s when I want that extra power.
  • Besides the Brose controller missing a bike walk feature and an estimated mileage, I was really surprised to learn that it only tracks mph and distance in whole numbers, no fractions. It seems that all this would have been so easy and cost effective for Brose to include – its just software/firmware. I hope Brose has a better controller in the future that is backward compatible with this bike, or that COBI comes through with a Brose user installable kit for their system. I was tempted to get the Izip Protour, but I preferred the Browse motor of its Raleigh ReduxIE cousin.

Note: Mike, did you mean your battery makes a sound charging – I thinks it the charger – it has a microprocessor controlled fan in it.

8 months ago

Great writeup Jonathon, thanks for sharing these detailed points… I hope they help others who might be considering the bike and I’m sorry that the rotor and chainring guard were bent, that’s a bummer for a brand new bike. And the service/parts support sounds a bit confusing or lacking. This is the first year Raleigh has gone online direct but they do still have a network of dealers and it seems like they are pushing to sell the bikes but haven’t nailed down the service part yet. I hope the experience gets better and welcome further comments. I do my best in person to “overview” the bike but my time and miles testing are limited, feedback like yours are truly valuable so thanks :)

Oren Jay
8 months ago

What’s up all. Wanted to add my comments here on this bike. Just purchased one from my local dealer at a great price, and I’m super happy. (They even threw in a rack, some quality USB lights, and a pinhead locking seat guard! I will need to get some fenders for the winter season). I haven’t had any issues with the tires, brakes or chain ring – which may be due to the fact that I got from a dealer who set it up and tuned it for me…

I did a lot of reading on this site and test rode quite a few bikes before getting this one — and I totally love it.


  • The bike handles really smoothly; everything flows and feels quite nimble
  • The Brose motor is so quiet I barely hear it; kind of have to listen for it to tell its running
  • At first, I missed that aggressive ‘kick’ of the Bosch mid-drive motor when you first start pedaling, but after riding this bike for just half an hour I’m coming to really appreciate the smooth and seamless way the motor supports my natural pedaling.
  • It’s fast. I got this bike to cut down the time on my commute. It’s a breeze to go 25 mph and not hard to hit 28. With some of the other Class 3 bikes I rode one really needed to work to get up to 28.
  • I like that it comes pre-wired for integrated lights, though I’m just using the USB lights my shop gave me — which I enjoy being able to take on or off depending on my ride.
  • I find the thick tires add a good amount of cushion and give to the ride. I tried the Felt eSport and the narrower tires did not provide nearly the same shock absorption and made for a harder, stiffer ride.
  • Last, but not least, I really enjoy the aesthetics of this bike. The mat finish black frame is very visually appealing to my eye. I like the geometry of the frame, the way the battery is integrated, and the smaller size of the Brose motor.

JONATHAN – you mention it not having a “bike walk” feature. I haven’t actually tried it yet, but the Brose manual does indicate that it has a bike walk/assist feature and provides instructions on how to access it… check it out & lmk if you can’t find it. I don’t personally see any need/use for that feature (it’s easy enough to just roll the bike naturally with motor off), but if I end up playing with it and figure it out I’ll write back.

Cons / Room for improvement: (not much new to add, but will echo what I notice)

  • Yes on controller missing estimated mileage range. Whole numbers bother me less, but sure – would be nice to have more accuracy in mph and distance.
  • When I push down firmly & hardly on the battery, it DOES click into place. It’s subtle, but I can feel/hear it. It would be nice if Raleigh made this locking insert more obvious though.
  • The cage bosses are great – but too low on the frame. I put a normal bottle cage on there, which works fine except that I need to do some fancy maneuvering to get the battery out. Kind of have to angle it to the side and slip it into the cage area for a moment before being to remove or insert the battery. It’s mildly cumbersome… It seems like they might be able to move the bosses up higher on the frame post to avoid this issue)
  • Yeah – the manuals are pretty poorly done. In particular the Brose manual provides enough info but it could be more clear & user friendly. Not a huge deal, but I agree for the kind of $$ one spends they could put a little more energy into that.
  • Software/Firmware updates from Brose for the controller to have more variety / flexibility of programming would be nice down the line. Let’s see if they come through with that!

Overall, I’m super pleased with this bike. No ebike is perfect; each will have its strengths and its shortcomings. For me, I’m real happy overall with the smooth ride of the Brose motor, the easy nimble handling, the fast speed and pleasing aesthetics. Will check back in down the line with another report if anything stands out or changes…

Happy riding!

8 months ago

Thanks for taking the time to share all of this feedback Oren, I’m glad you found an ebike that works for your commute and welcome any further comments as you use it over the coming months and years. Ride safe out there! Glad to hear your dealer treated you so well, feel free to name them to help build their positive reputation :)

8 months ago

A few days ago I traded my Raleigh Route for the Redux. My experience so far is similar to the other posters. The big selling point for me was the Brose system and styling. I have added and already removed the bottle cage as the fit is just to snug for anything short of a tiny bottle. I also experienced chirping bird syndrome coming from the front wheel which reduced my first ride from 25 to 5 miles. I took it back to the shop yesterday and it was fixed in about a minute. I also hope it doesn’t reoccur every few miles.

Being the owner of a Turbo Levo FSR, I am familiar with the Brose system, but still found the lowest power setting (Cruise) to feel very inadequate when riding on a paved relatively flat trail. I turned the power off and couldn’t really feel a difference. The Tour and Sport modes produced very acceptable power.

Last evening I decided to top off the battery that was only down 10%, but when I plugged in the charger it went from red to solid green in about 3 seconds indicating it had a full charge even though it only shows nine bars on the display unit. Tried it again with the battery removed from the bike with the same result. I will hopefully get a ride in later today and then try to charge it again.

In spite of a my whining, I really do like the Redux ie. I ride a lot of different type trail surfaces and the Levo is great for going off the beaten path but not so great on paved surface roads at higher speeds. I’m looking forward to many happy miles on my new purchase!

7 months ago

Great writeup Kathi, thanks for sharing your thoughts on the Redux (including the little issues). Was the chirping thing based on the brakes being misaligned or something? I’m curious what the problem was… Also, yeah, it sounds like a bottle cage would just be too tight for some sizes of the bike but maybe a folding lock or other accessory could fit there nicely.

Randy Stortroen
4 months ago

There is a term common in the motorcycle press that should be adopted for electric two wheelers: naked. In this case, you might describe the Redux IE as a “naked commuter.” The optimist’s view is that by introducing consumers to their quality ebike range at reasonable price points, Raleigh is showing it is not afraid of the aftermarket and in fact wants it to flourish. So should consumers.

At first blush, this may not seem a very productive stance but the ultimate health of the industry depends on a lot of factors, and a healthy aftermarket is one of them. Thea Redux is nicely finished ebike that will get you around in style out of the box and I think well worth the premium over a kit but still leaves some things you can do to upgrade and modify it more to your liking after you ride it off the showroom floor and ride it around for awhile. You don’t have to commit extra money to someone else’s idea of what you want or need.

The ebike press has not done much to elucidate matters concerning the incredible aftermarket potential of the platform but the case of bike lights is a great place to start. Integrated lighting systems utilizing the onboard batteries on ebikes are a no-brainer and may well make it into the coming ISO standard for them (ISO 4210-10) but until that time, big manufacturers like Raleigh can offer a wide variety of bikes outfitted according to the tastes and buying power of consumers around the country and the world. It is not unreasonable from that perspective that people will want to get out the door at a lower price and add “commuter” accessories later that may or may not conform to the typical “commuter” form factor. That is why, on most if not all of their late model ebikes, they have incorporated a standard connector from the battery to an aftermarket lighting system. (Note to manufacturers and dealers: accessory connector types should be a line item in any spec sheet.)

Getting long here so I’ll finish on this subject. What is interesting about integrated bike lights is that they have long been widely available for conventional bikes as an aftermarket product and mostly powered by hub dynamos, here’s a great resource for lights. The essential feature is that the lights don’t depend on battery cells integrated into the light enclosure as distinguished from lights powered by the large battery packs on ebikes. If you shop around for quality aftermarket lights for your “naked” ebike, you will mostly find them being sold by makers of dynamo systems, and for a stiff price because they are not yet made in large numbers.

All of this is both relative and changing – what I will say is if you buy an ebike as an alternative daily driver (aka car substitute) that does not have a lighting system, you would be wise to get down to your nearest IBD and have him or her set you up the next chance you get. Happy trails!

4 months ago

Wow, that’s a great concept Randy, thanks for sharing your perspective from the motorcycle industry and linking to the lights resource on that other website. I agree that integrated lights can be very useful but leaving it up to the end consumer can save on cost. I have created spaces in the EBR Forums for people to sell their used ebikes and even discuss parts and upgrads so I am onboard with the idea of a healthy aftermarket space. Thanks again!

Randy Stortroen
4 months ago

Thanks, Court. Happy to make your acquaintance. I am not from the motorcycle world just aware of it througha few friends who ride a ton. In fact my experience with two-wheelers as an adult has been concentrated in the last four years, during which time I have ridden about a dozen ebikes over 45,000 miles in an effort to sort out the impact of the technology on the riding experience firsthand.

At the same time, I have been reviewing the considerable international literature on bikes, ebikes, and low-speed vehicles in general, including reviews and comments that categorize ebike types, and it is clearly a work in progress. For a short survey of the standard categories (in European “pedelec” market), go here. “Naked” seemed to be a good way to jump in to the conversation, pardon the pun!

To my wider point, as much as the form has proven ideal for my mobility needs in navigating Bay Area traffic as if in a car, I am just as interested in the ebike as an innovation platform, with an emphasis on improving safety for all of us early adopters. At the bottom of the above linked page, you will see a reference to V2X, which is the underlying communications technology that will connect and enable automated vehicles (also a work in progress, so many unsettled questions there as well), but here it is in the ebike context.

What has not dawned on the urban and transportation planning community, who are ultimately responsible for providing a safe environment for all road users, is that equipping automobiles with V2X capabilities that will make bicycles “conspicuous” and keep cyclists safe is a much more difficult and expensive proposition than equipping bicycles with V2X capabilities that will achieve the same end. A smart phone powered by a large format lithium ion battery pack that comes standard on ebikes has most of what you need to run a hypothetical “V2X-kitted or “instrumented” bike, whereas the instrumented cars (prototype automated vehicles) that are starting to proliferate on streets and highways are very expensive to equip and operate.

This last comparison is a little misleading in the real world because many new car models are coming out with what I call precursor technology that makes them safer on the road generally, but cyclists should take note because on a bicycle they are generally not visible to the present state of the art in electronic collision avoidance. The good news is that it is much easier for the exact same technology to “see” a car, truck, or bus. Although it works independent of your smart phone, the Varia rearview radar unit by Garmin is an early example of the innovation/miniaturization that is needed, so V2X for bikes is definitely on the horizon.

Oren Jay
4 months ago

Hey y’all – I’ve had the Raleigh for about 4 months now and want to give a little report / update now that I know the bike a bit better. All of the Pro’s outlined in court’s review & mine above stand. The bike is super fun to ride and handles beautifully. I haven’t had any issues with the battery or motor. Very reliable.

The most significant thing is that chain kept dropping when I hit bumps going over 18 mph. Each time, the chain would get wedged between the front chain ring and the guard on the outside of the spider, actually bending the guard a little. I took it back to the bike shop once – no difference. Finally, the second time after bringing it back the mechanic (who must have spent more time on it) fixed the issue. He said:

  1. the chain was too long. Whoever installed it at the factory had not cut the chain to the right length. He took out 4 chain links and said that should solve the issue.
  2. He also noted that the rear derailleur had no “clutch,” which usually keeps a chain from bouncing & dropping on bumps. Hopefully shortening the length of the chain itself will fix this issue.

Other minor things I’ve noticed:

  • the bike does come with leads for integrating lighting system in front & back. I taped these up with some electrical tape to keep from getting dust, grime, or rain in them.
  • The Brose motor is awesome. Sometimes I can hit 28mph easily, other times I find I have to play with the combination of gear and assist mode to hit 28mph. It’s odd- I can be in Sport (highest) mode and only get up to 22/23. Then, if I down-grade to Turbo (middle) mode and maybe shift down a gear, I’ll stay at 22mph. Then when boosting back up to Sport mode it’ll get up to 25+. Not sure if this is about the program/tune in the Brose system, or if its due to other variable factors like wind resistance on a given day, how much weight I’m carrying, or even how fully charged the battery is… I find it odd, though it’s not much of an issue.
  • the little battery cap is only held on by small magnets and can easily get knocked off and lost. (As happened last night taking my bike off a bike rack). I would recommend Raleigh change this in future models to a firmly seated cap that clicks into place.
  • also, on the aesthetic side, the top of the battery has very narrow ridges which easily collect dust/dirt, especially in the rain. I would suggest they redo the top of the battery to a simpler, smooth surface.
  • hard to find fenders that match the black matte finish; I am following lead of another user and buying Specialized Roll Fender set, which requires a little customization to fit but which match the bike.

Overall, I’m still super happy with the bike. If shortening the chain solves the problem with it dropping, I’m good to go. Court – do you know how I can submit feedback to Raleigh? I’d like to pass some of this on.

4 months ago

Very insightful feedback Oren! I love your points about the ridges on the battery pack accumulating dust and also the magnetic cap, how it can get bumped off and lost because there is no leash. Check out what the new Specialized Como has done, they use the same Rosenberger magnetic charging type but have a plastic cover with a leash to keep better track of it.

If you want, I can send your comment on to the folks at Raleigh or have them visit EBR and read it and maybe respond to you. It’s great that you have spent this time to provide some insights after much riding. It adds color to the review and will undoubtedly help others who already own or are considering this product. Thank you!

Oren Jay
4 months ago

Hey Court – yes, that’d be great; please pass my comments on to Raleigh or have them visit the page… Thx!

Larry Pizzi
4 months ago

Thanks, Court for forwarding Oren’s comments.

Oren – I am pleased that you are happy with your bike and understanding of some of the Gen-1 issues that you presented. Personally, I love the Redux too and have put many miles on various iterations that we have developed and refined. In mid-September, we introduced the Gen-2 Redux and I believe we have addressed every one of the issues you call out. Additionally we introduced a drop-bar version.

On the chain length, we addressed this on the second production, so you must have received a first production bike. Regarding the motor performance, Brose has updated the model-s that addresses all those issues and provides superior performance all around. This update begins with first production on the 2018, which will arrive in our warehouses and will begin shipping to dealers and consumers within the next few weeks. You will see that the Redux iE is now fully equipped with structural fenders, rack and lights, subtle frame change improvements (now with a step through version) and subtle component change improvements. The battery pack is exactly the same but we are working on a fully integrated version for 2019.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I’ll look forward to hearing more about your journey. Please enjoy looking at the ’18’s here for the high-step, here for the step-thru, and here for the Tamland with drop bars.

Best regards,
Larry Pizzi
President, Raleigh Electric

Ken H
4 months ago


I am interested in the Redux iE that is on sale now, and I am wondering if you can tell me exactly what I would get. Would it be Gen-2?


Larry Pizzi
4 months ago

Hi Ken,

The 2017 Raleigh Redux iE that is currently on sale is the original model at a fantastic price ($2699). The 2018, (Gen-2) model will be available in the coming days and you can check them out here. There is also a step-thru version here.

All the best,

Oren Jay
4 months ago

Hey Larry – the Gen-2 models look great; congrats! Glad to hear you guys have addressed all of the issues I mentioned. Since my 2017 is only a few months old I’m going to stick with it for a couple of years & maybe upgrade when the 2019s come out.

**One question:** Are the issues I described with the Brose hardware or software based? In other words, could some of it be addressed with a software update? And, if so, where can my bike shop download/get that?

Happy Thanksgiving!
~ Oren

Larry Pizzi
4 months ago

Hi Oren,

Because I have not heard the Brose drive issues described in this way, I’d suggest that you contact our service techs. They can work with a servicing dealer to diagnose the system. They are back in the office by 8:00 AM Pacific time on Monday and you can reach them by chat or email (bottom left on home page) raleighelectric.com.

Thanks and enjoy the remainder of the holiday weekend!


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

2 days ago

Really good explanation from Tora on the advantages of having a throttle in stop start urban riding. For the past 18 months I have been using a bafang BBS01 kit as a pedelec motor without the throttle, but I've experienced issues Tora mentioned a couple of times I've struck my derailleur or my right pedal against a curbstone at low speed passing cars curbside, or found myself in the wrong gear at a stop light facing uphill, so I'm swapping out my derailleur for an IGH so I can shift down when stationary and fitting the throttle so I can coast without pedalling when necessary. I appreciate the versatility of a kit motor that lets me switch over from a Class 1 to a Class 2 by simply adding a throttle, the optional boost button on Raleigh and Izip ebikes does the same thing.

I also find walk assist useful when pushing my heavy ebike up ramps when towing a trailer or up the 3 steps into my backyard. Trek and other manufacturers are wrong not to activate walk assist on Bosch powered ebikes in the US. I know it's not legal in New York state at present to have a throttle but walk assist is capped to like 3mph so this is just stupid corporate BS. On the bright side I'm encouraged the People for Bikes model ebike legislation is being adopted by more and more states that legalizes both Class 1 and 2 riding on bike paths and sidewalks.

4 days ago

Very Curious why a Nexus hub isn't being utilized more on e-bikes. The EG Zurich has a Nexus 7 speed hub which compliments the 36v 350 watt front hub nicely. It is my understanding that the Nexus 8 speed can handle the torque output of a crank motor set-up.

Nova Haibike
4 days ago

Maybe never? Raleigh USA and Raleigh UK offer completely different bikes.

5 days ago

When Will The Raleigh Motus With The Nexus 8 Speed Hub Become Available In The USA?

5 days ago

How do I change wheel size on a Brose system? The actual speed and indicated speed do not match. I had two GPS systems with my on my 2017 Raleigh Redux eBike with a Brose system. The GPS indicated around 26 MPH when the Brose controller indicates 28 MPH. Many controllers can be calibrated by changing the wheel size, sometimes by using circumference which would be most accurate.

7 days ago

I am looking at the Raleigh Sprite and the Detour (both step-through versions) and it looks like the biggest technical difference is the motor, one has torque and one has Candice sensing PAS. I think the Candice can have a throttle attachment installed, but am unsure if the torque one can? Which one would be the better bang for the buck, and how often is throttle really used if you have something that is Torque generated. I am new to biking and would be using it for about a 16mile Round trip commute 4x a week.


Ravi Kempaiah
1 week ago

I woulds say so. At $2500, this is a great bike. A similar bike from Trek or other manufacturer would easily cost you $4000.

1 week ago

Thanks for the quick response. My local shop has the Trekking 4.0 for $2500, the Raleigh Redux IE for $2900, and the Sturmvogel Evo for $2500. Is the Trekking the best choice at these prices?

1 week ago

Hi All, I'm looking for a commuter focused ( 5 days a week, 20 miles round trip) ebike, with standard commuter features like lights, fenders, and comfortable seat. I'd also like to use the bike on the weekends to play around off road or on minor trails (nothing too hardcore). With the short commute, I'm open to fatter tires to allow for the weekend getaways.
I like the look of the Raleigh Redux IE stepover, Juiced Cross/Rip Current, and HaiBikes (in general). Love the German brands but most are too expensive. My budget is up to around $3000, but like everyone else in the world, I'm looking for the most bang for my bike.

I'd also consider a 2017 on discount.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

1 week ago

Hey guys, today while visiting the Raleigh Electric headquarters in Southern California, I was able to check out the 2018 Tamland iE ebike, which uses the Original LCD-Display from Brose, with the Brose Drive TF (Fast) motor unit. This display is one of my favorites because it's fairly large and easy to read, removable for safe storage, and the mount has a full sized USB Type A (5 volt, 500 milliamp) port built in to charge or maintain your portable electronics. There are two parts to this display: the LCD unit and an independent button pad which can be mounted within reach of either grip. The video below goes into detail but does not explain how to set the clock or how to show range estimates... sorry, I welcome your input in the comments below!

Navigation aids:

[*]How to remove the display at 0:12
[*]How to activate the display at 0:48
[*]How to clear stats at 1:37
[*]How to activate walk mode at 2:32
[*]How to change units (miles to kilometers) at 2:56

Quick tips:

[*]The buttons on the LCD include: Power, Lights, and Menu.
[*]The buttons on the independent button pad include: Up, Menu, Down.
[*]To reset trip distance, average speed, max speed, hold Menu and Lights on the display unit
[*]To activate walk mode, arrow down to no assist (you may see a little triangle next to the speed readout), then hold the down arrow.
[*]To change units from miles to kilometers, turn the battery pack on first, then turn the display off, then hold the menu key and power button on the display. I had to do this one a few times, it seemed inconsistent, but it does work :)

Things I like about the display:

[*]It goes bright for a second when you press any of the buttons... then slowly dims.
[*]It's removable, so it won't get scratched or weather-worn over time if the bike is parked outside.
[*]There's a USB port in the base of the display
[*]This display doesn't require its own coin battery like the Yamah and Bosch Intuvia displays do
[*]I like how the battery will stay active for two hours once you press the power button, this allows you to turn the bike on and off just using the display. After two hours, the battery goes into deep sleep mode.
[*]The display does have a range estimate menu, which I did not go into on this video. You can navigate there by pressing the menu button and it will update automatically as you change assist settings (Cruise, Tour, Sport)

Things that might be improved about the display:

[*]It has more menus that some of the other displays and the manual was a little confusing, do we really need total trip time? It always said zero for my test bike...
[*]The slide design to fit the display onto the mount does not start at the very top, you have to almost put the display down near the middle, then slide for a shorter section to have it click, and this always confuses me.
[*]It seems like you have to manually power on the battery pack with Brose drive systems, which could require a reach down or back, it would be nice if you could activate the bike directly with the on/off switch on the display like most other high-end ebike systems
[*]The Brose battery pack often uses a magnetic Rosenberger charging port which has a little rubber plug... but there's no leash or connector for the plug, and that makes it very easy to misplace and lose.

As mentioned in the video above, I have attached photographs of the official Brose instruction manual below (sorry about the limited quality, I took photos and then cropped them manually with a bit of contrast tweaks to be readable). The http://www.brose-ebike.com/ seems to be short on information about this particular display and it seems like they may open design up to OEM manufacturers like Bulls, Specialized, and others to make custom displays. You can see this on the Specialized https://electricbikereview.com/specialized/turbo-vado-6-0/ (which has two display options, one is a touch screen) and the https://electricbikereview.com/specialized/turbo-levo-fsr-comp-6fattie/ (which just had three buttons and a Bluetooth smartphone app). This particular display panel is Brose branded and is their original layout (as far as I can tell).

2 weeks ago

Thanks Rocky for your reply.
Wow, 7k miles! Amazing. Nope, no warranty coverage, the chain and bearing, I was told, are normal wear and tear items, I guess like brake pads. The cost was reasonable so I didn't get into it.
But the unfortunate part was that it did not fix the noise. It was reduced, but then came back within a 100 miles of riding. The local Haibike dealer (around the corner from where I live, said he contacted Haibike and they said to just keep the chain lubed more often like after every ride.. Not a really satisfying answer as I do keep the chain and gears, and the whole bike for that matter, clean and well lubed where needed. I have been trying to get in touch with Haibike, which it seems is under the Raleigh distributorship company in the US but keep getting a recording that they break for lunch and call back later, only to get the same message.
I intend to stay on this, and will report back here any outcomes.

2 weeks ago

I just shopped (via phone) Stromer at the crazy e bike shop. 2015 v1 elite $1400, 2016 st1 Platinum $1750 $1875 w/ city kit

Sizes may be limited, but there are some great deals right now. I'd skip used and dive right in. That's what I did (need to update my searching thread with details)

bob armani
3 weeks ago

Cartek-Thanks for your reply. I am finding that anyone with an ebike with a Brose' motor (ie:Bulls, Specialized, Easy Motion etc.) have the same report. 'The bike feels like a regular bike with oomph'. Interestingly, I have tested different bikes with the Bosch speed motor, and some of them perform differently than others (ie: Trek SuperCommutter8 vs Specialized Vado). I think it depends on how the motor was tuned by each mfg.

3 weeks ago

I’m really enjoying the 2018 Redux IE, will post a more extensive review when I’ve put more miles on it (Seattle’s been cold, I’ve just taken a couple ~30 mile rides in the past week.) I’d rented a Vado 3.0 a couple times and bought the Redux assuming the Brose motor would feel essentially the same, and that seems to be the case. Nearly silent, and capable of sending me up the steepest hills without making me rise out of the saddle. After each ride I get home feeling like I’ve had a workout- which is exactly what I want. Both friends who’ve taken it for a spin have remarked “it feels just like a regular bike (except for the extra oomph!)” Which, again, is really what I was looking for.

I’ve spent very little time above 25 mph, except when going downhill. I think this is mostly because my focus is on climbing Seattle’s hills without dying ;-) and getting as much range as possible out of the battery. As others have mentioned, the lowest of the 3 assist levels is really pretty meager- I can use it on perfectly flat or downhill stretches- the middle setting is where you really feel the assist. For the most part, I’ve only used the highest setting when going uphill. I rented the Vado in Austin, riding a pretty flat trail, in warmer weather. My experience there was it seemed easy to zip along in the lower/middle twenties, and required some effort to get it past 25 mph. Id guess the Redux will perform similarly.

Sorry for the derail!

bob armani
3 weeks ago

Surfstar-Thanks for sharing. Very informative report-Just what I was waiting for, to see how these bikes compare. Sounds like the Haibike with TransX and Yamaha are the front runners. Hard choices indeed. Good to know that the Urban Plus rides nice with or without COBI if I've got that right?? The best decision maker in this case is to buy one of each LOL... Happy shopping.

3 weeks ago

Had time to test ride some today.
I started at a rental/shop that had Pedego bikes, b/c I wanted to try a hub motor first. It was a rental beach cruiser type model ($2700).
I did enjoy the throttle and realized that shifting was optional if you wanted.

Then went to the Haibike dealer. Unfortunately they didn't have a Hardnine Street or Trekking 4.0 in stock (which are also contenders near the Urban Plus sale price), so I rode the Urban Plus ($1699) first:
felt like riding a "real" bike, but each pedal stroke was super powerful. Wasn't super fast off the line, or overpowering at all, just smooth power all the way around. With the 2.4" tires you don't miss or need a front suspension fork. I was worried about that before testing.
Then I tried the on sale Sduro Cross 4.0 ($1499) to test out the Yamaha motor. The zero-cadence of the Yamaha was the best system, in my opinion. It was instant on and off. I realized after that, that the TranzX had the slightest delay compared to the Yamaha.
They also wanted me to try out a Raleigh REDUX IE ($3k?) with the Brose motor. That thing definitely put out more torque and wanted to cruise at a higher speed. Pretty cool.
Then I hopped back on the Urban Plus, as that is one of my forerunner picks, to get another back to back comparison. Now I could note the slight delay in the motor turned off when you stop pedaling, but it still felt good overall. I do like that the tail light is a brake light, and it should have turn signals available using COBI (I didn't try to use the app or anything, just rode w/o a display).

So, after all of that - I'm STILL undecided! Ugh. I do like to do my research on purchases, but usually something ends up being a more obvious choice. The thing I did notice though, was that with the mid-drive torque sensor bikes, I kept pedaling hard like I would riding a normal bike. I was still getting a workout, even in highest assist levels - I just wanted to go as fast as possible. Which is good, but for commuting I would have to hold back to make sure I wasn't breaking a sweat. So that makes me think a throttle bike would possibly be a plus. Wish there was a RadCity test ride available near me (~2 hours away). Or I could add a throttle to a Haibike. I know you can "tune" the Yamaha bikes to go over 20 mph, if that was ever an issue.

The RadCity wins on price and battery size for the price. I don't know if I'll like the upright seating more or less, than the Haibikes I rode, though. The Urban Plus wins in speed, components quality, tires, lighting, battery (500wh vs 400wh on the other Haibikes). I did seem to like the Yamaha motor the best, though - and it seems quite reliable from what I've gathered.

Decision overload! Just like that psychological study shows.

3 months ago
5 months ago

Hey DS...where are the light leads located on the Redux? How do I get to them? Thanks

Ravi Kempaiah
6 months ago

A 17" comfort frame ST2 would work well. The bike has massive range and power but it does have occasional electronic glitches. If there is a dealer willing to support you, you will immensely enjoy the bike.

Other options.
[*] http://www.bullsebikes.com/product/six50-e-2-street/ - $3800

[*]45cm https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/electric-bikes/super-commuter/super-commuter-8s/p/1367000-2018/?colorCode=red - $4999 ( I can imagine the standover height could be an issue here but lots of dealers to test it out)

[*]https://www.specialized.com/us/en/men/bikes/turbo/mensturbovado60/133868 (small frame size)

[*]https://raleighelectric.com/redux-ie-diamond-frame (small frame would work well)

Someone in Atlanta area got one from @andlee EBS at Electric Bike Specialists (http://www.electricbikespecialists.com/) and you can https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/2017-raleigh-redux-ie-install-lighting.13604/

Mark Peralta
6 months ago

Raleigh Redux IE. Not that light but very light on its feet, you don't notice the weight when you ride it.

6 months ago
Daniel Seemiller
2 weeks ago

For Mr. Reviewer... the thing that changes gears is a derailleur, pronounced "De-rail-er" not "De-rail-yer".
I purchased this bike in Jan 2018 as a commuter Sweet, fast bike, love it for commuting and trips to the grocery store. A few things to note. The battery lasts at most, half of the rated range. My 10.5 mile commute to work is along a long, flat road at sea level with an elevation gain/loss of three feet. When I get home after 21 mile, round trip, the battery is nearly dead (one bar). I weigh 165 pound and set the assist level to medium or low. I'm disappointed in the range.
I looked at a lot of different racks to add to the back. I settled on the Bontrager BackRack. It's so sturdy that I sat on it while my son rode the bike. Unlike most rack, this the Bontrager has a small metal plate to permanently mount a tail light. There are are wires power the headlight and tail light. There's no documentation on the wiring. I measured the output at 6 volts.
The motor is silent. When switching between assist and off, you can't hear the motor turn on. At high speed you can't hear the motor. It really goes 28 MPH when the battery is fully charged. When the battery is less than 50% top speed begins to reduce. The large 27.5 inch wheels make it easy to pedal, even twit the motor off.
Overall an excellent bike with a good price when on sale. Just wish it had better range.

8 months ago

raleigh and juiced seem to give the best bang for your buck. I'm waiting to see what juiced is going to do with their crosscurrent

8 months ago

i want this so bad!!

9 months ago

Gheez, that's one heck of a good review. Thanks for posting.

10 months ago

Like always, awesome review Court! I am deciding if I am going to get this or the turbo levo HT. I want more speed and I do not mind the suspension. Could you give me an honest opinion between the two. Is this zippier than the levo HT? Thanks in advance. keep it up Court.

10 months ago

Has me wondering if a Fast, Quiet, and Stealthly Full Suspension Bike exist.

Pibbles 'n Bits
11 months ago

I don't know if anyone can hear that at just after 14:25, but that is the exact reason why you don't shift under load like that............Also at 15:41 you can see how the chain guard is bent and moves laterally as it is out of dish. Shame for such a pricey bike.

joes joey
11 months ago

Another great detailed video! this bike is sweeettt. I think every electric bicycle should at least come with a front/rear light and reflectors cause life isnt a joke and lights/reflectors DO AND WILL SAVE YOUR LIFE. i use to think meh i wont put a light to be lighter thats untill got hit at by a car he was going 70 kmh couple years ago .Hey Court have you heard from OHM cycles? tried contacting them but no answer its been a while.Thanks!

Larry Pizzi
9 months ago

All of our bikes come with the required 6-way reflector set and this bike has reflective decals, something that was not pointed out. It's also pre-wired for a lighting set.

Knut Essigsud mit Dill
11 months ago

Do you know the new Raleigh Austin Compact? It seems to be very handy and here in Germany it is only 1699€.
A Review would be so nice :)

Armin von Werner
11 months ago

That would go nice with a belt drive, even more slick. :)

nature albums
11 months ago

I'm in the UK grew up on Raleigh bikes I still remember my metallic blue shadow Raleigh racer. I just went on the raleigh website in the UK guess what they don't do the Redux over here and nothing like it even! maybe its just too expensive to build for our poorer market and low demand.

Dain Oyler
11 months ago

This bike makes me hard! :D

Dain Oyler
11 months ago

LOVE YOUR WORK< YOUR CHANNEL ALL OF IT ! Bought a juiced udk v3 refurb with basket nd 500w motor thanks to you1

Trace zach daniels
11 months ago

nice do you make a cruiser model....kinda like towny bike..?..i have a HPC i love it...

11 months ago

how does this bike do on a hilly terrain? e-bike review? thanks for the sharing your passion with e bikes your channel made me like e bikes and definitely will pick up one in the near future.

Sketti Boi
11 months ago

but over all yeah looks smooth poweful and quiet. if i got one i'd also go straight for integrated lights and suspension seat post.

Sketti Boi
11 months ago

suprised to see what looks like the front sprocket or crank shaft bent as it has a side wobble when turning.

Raven M.
11 months ago

Great review. How would you rate this in a comparison with the Specialized turbo X?

11 months ago

I like

Nisco Racing
11 months ago

WOW this bike is amazing, i am fan of stealth stuff :D