Raleigh Redux iE Review

Raleigh Redux Ie Electric Bike Review
Raleigh Redux Ie
Raleigh Redux Ie Alloy Chain Guide Bash Guard
Raleigh Redux Ie 500 Watt Hour Downtube Battery Pack
Raleigh Redux Ie Cockpit Handlebar Locking Grops
Raleigh Redux Ie Removable Lcd Display By Brose
Raleigh Redux Ie Schwalbe Big Ben Quck Release Wheel
Raleigh Redux Ie Selle Royale Shadow Saddle
Raleigh Redux Ie 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Raleigh Redux Ie Portable 2 5 Amp Battery Charger
Raleigh Redux Ie Electric Bike Review
Raleigh Redux Ie
Raleigh Redux Ie Alloy Chain Guide Bash Guard
Raleigh Redux Ie 500 Watt Hour Downtube Battery Pack
Raleigh Redux Ie Cockpit Handlebar Locking Grops
Raleigh Redux Ie Removable Lcd Display By Brose
Raleigh Redux Ie Schwalbe Big Ben Quck Release Wheel
Raleigh Redux Ie Selle Royale Shadow Saddle
Raleigh Redux Ie 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Raleigh Redux Ie Portable 2 5 Amp Battery Charger

Summary

  • A sleek, quiet, all-black, speed-pedelec with excellent weight distribution and smooth quiet power transfer, 10-speed drivetrain and powerful hydraulic disc brakes to match
  • Stiff thru-axles and a rigid Aluminum alloy fork are balanced out by fatter 2.0" Schwalbe tires and TranzX Antishock stem and seat post for comfort
  • Available in three frame sizes for improved fit, durable chain-guide doubles as a bash guard, oversized pedals, locking grips and upgraded kickstand, quality charger with magnetic plug
  • Limited reflective surfaces and no integrated lights (though I believe dealers can add them), solid mid-level drivetrain from Shimano with 10 speeds, extensive dealer network and good warranty

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Raleigh

Model:

Redux iE

Price:

$3,199

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Road

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

48.6 lbs (22.04 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.8 lbs (3.08 kg)

Motor Weight:

6.61 lbs (2.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy, Custom Butted

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)21 in (53.34 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Small: 17" Seat Tube, 23.5" Reach, 28.5" Stand Over Height, 71.5" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Satin Black with Blue and Grey Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Aluminum Alloy, 100 mm / 15 mm Thru-Axle with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

142 mm / 12 mm Thru-Axle Release Skewer

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore Two-Way Triggers on Right

Cranks:

FSA 170 mm Alloy Crank Arms, 48T Chainring with Alloy Guide

Pedals:

Generic Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Alloy 1-1/8", Four 5 mm Risers

Stem:

TranzX Antishock, Aluminum Alloy, 90 mm Length, -3° Rise

Handlebar:

Aluminum Alloy, Low-Rise, 27.5" Length

Brake Details:

Shimano Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Back Rotor, Shimano Three-Finger Levers with Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Raleigh, Flat Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Selle Royale Shadow

Seat Post:

TranzX Antishock, Aluminum Alloy with Quick Release Collar

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Double Wall, Aluminum Alloy, 32 Hole, Black

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Ben, 27.5" x 2.0"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

Active Line K-Guard Puncture Protection, 35 to 70 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.9 Pound 2.5 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Brose

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

530 watts

Motor Torque:

90 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Brose

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13.8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

496.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

60 miles (97 km)

Display Type:

Brose, Removable, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Off, Cruise, Tour, Sport), Battery Level (10 Bars), Odometer, Trip Meter, Timer, Clock

Display Accessories:

Integrated Button Pad on Display (On/Off, Light, Menu), Independent Button Pad on Left (Up, Select, Down), 5 Volt Full Sized USB Port on Display Mount

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Cadence and Torque Sensing)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Redux iE has quickly become my favorite electric bike in the Raleigh lineup… but it feels like an abusive relationship because the high speed and rigid all-Aluminum frame take a toll on my wrists, arms, back, neck and backside when the terrain gets rough. This isn’t unique to the Redux, and in fact the fatter tires and anti-shock seat post and stem all aim to address it, but you still feel it at times. Thankfully, there are plenty of suspension seat post options to explore out there that would further reduce jar and the bike is otherwise, awesome! I loved how sleek and stealthy the frame looked before I even hopped on. The motor and battery are integrated into the tubing very well and practically disappear. Its all-black color scheme (all the way down to the spokes and rims) help the cables blend in at the entry points and most of them are internally routed. A lot of manufacturers have tried to imitate and beat Stromer (a brand known for sexy high-speed urban electric bikes) and for me, the Redux iE comes very close. By comparison, it’s lighter weight, offers better balance and is much more affordable despite being a little louder and not offering regenerative braking, fenders, a rack or lights. So perhaps the price difference on the Redux iE and some of the lower-level Stromer ST1 models is to be expected. But you do get the attachment points for fenders, bottle cage and a rack here if you want to add them yourself. And the display interface is very nice looking and removable, it even has a full sized USB port near the base that could power a headlight, music player or other electronic device mounted to the handlebar. In short, I’d probably add that light and consider upgrading the tires to a model with reflective sidewall stripes and even adding some black reflective stickers to the frame because this electric bicycle is so fast and quiet you might surprise automobile drivers.

Driving the bike is a Brose mid-drive motor that is seamlessly integrated at the bottom bracket area of the frame. It’s one of the most compact e-bike motor systems around right now and also one of the smartest. Its controller measures rear wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque to deliver quick power. And it offers up to 90 Newton meters of torque which is the more than the Bosch CX and Yamaha drives despite having a 250 watt nominal output rating. It peaks above 500 watts as the highest assist level is selected and your RPM climbs. I had no problem hitting the 28 mph top assisted speed and yet I didn’t hear the same whining or electronic whirring noises that other systems produce. Brose uses a belt drive to transfer power from a planetary gearing system inside the casing which removes vibration and limits sound. You can see this in the video review above and frankly, I couldn’t believe how quiet it was after watching the footage. Even when the camera was close and I was pedaling hard, the motor sounded soft. Without fenders and a rack, there isn’t much else to rattle around and the battery has rubber interface points to keep it from rattling as well (though I did notice one of the pieces was coming unseated during my test, it was easy enough to squish back in and did not look like it would fall out easily).

The battery pack is equally impressive aside from weight. At roughly 6.8 pounds it’s average and I’m guessing the Aluminum casing is what raises it above some of the 5.7 lb 500 watt hour packs offered by other manufacturers. It seats into the downtube from the top vs. the bottom which seems safer to me. It clicks in easily and locks automatically without using the key. At the base, there’s a pair of ridges that help you pull the pack up and this is also where the circular power button is. towards the very top of the pack, a charging interface with magnetic cap can be found and BE CAREFUL not to lose this little cap. It doesn’t have a string or rubber connection leash like most others and is very easy to misplace. This charging location is excellent because it keeps the sensitive pins far away from water, dust and mud. You use the same port to charge the pack whether it’s on or off the bike and the 2.5 Amp charger is slightly faster than average and reasonably light at just under two pounds. The magnetic Energy Bus charging standard is cool because the plug pops out if you trip on the cord… which could prevent the bike from tipping. And I do like that they included a kickstand here and that it’s mounted far out of the way towards the rear wheel near the disc brake on the left. When you’ve got a fast ebike like this, even though it’s relatively light weight at ~58 lbs, you want good brakes and the Shimano hydraulic 180/160 mm setup here does just fine.

Operating the bike is very intuitive, just charge and mount the battery then press the circular power button at the base. For me, the display turned on instantly without having to press the second rubber power button located on the top edge. Perhaps this is a sleep button because it did turn off the display temporarily during my experimentation… but then it came back on as I started to pedal? In any case, you have a menu button on the side of the display and on the control pad near the left grip. This cycles through trip stats like odometer, trip meter, timer and clock but I did not see a range estimator. Too bad because thosse are fun to experiment with (Bosch and Yamaha usually have them). What you do get is a ten bar battery graphic which is much more precise than the four or five bar readouts on most models. Battery percentage would be even more useful but I’ll take what I can get! The primary interaction with this display is using the up and down arrows on the control pad, cycling through Off, Cruise, Tour and Sport assist levels. Sport will get you up to speed faster but draws down the battery quicker as well. I found myself riding in Tour most of the time when not filming. It felt natural and I was expecting to maximize range this way by hovering in the low 20’s. Any time you ride above ~20 mph the efficiency of the bike drops way down due to air resistance. It’s like an exponential drop… but you should still expect a decent range thanks to the larger battery capacity, rigid fork and efficient tires… especially if you wear a helmet like this!

Kudos to Raleigh for designing one of the more attractive and capable urban speed pedelecs I’ve seen on the market this year. Hovering around the $3k mark, this feels like a more affordable option but doesn’t cut corners. For me, it’s important to have a removable display panel and so many ebikes don’t offer that. I don’t want the sun, rain or fellow cyclists damaging my stuff at the rack and I don’t want to damage it myself by tripping over a cable etc. Comfort and road control at higher speeds are the two areas where you compromise with the lack of suspension. The tires, suspension post and stem make a difference but it’s not enough for me… so I’d definitely explore some options. Had it come with a suspension fork, weight would have gone up, power transfer down and the price wouldn’t be so tempting. A younger version of me would have been floored by this bike, and even now, I see how awesome it would be on smooth pavement… it’s worth noting that I don’t ride on road bikes as much now either, for the same reasons. The Redux delivers on a range of ride experiences and is one of a limited mid-drive Class 3 ebikes available right now. It’s also easier to find because Raleigh dealers are widespread and their two year warranty is solid. Big thanks to Raleigh for partnering with me on this review and the Accell Group for hosting me at their headquarters so I could test ride it and other models back to back.

Pros:

  • The Redux is a great starter platform for sporty urban commuting, it has bottle cage bosses and mounting points for a rear rack, you could also add fenders
  • As a Class 3 electric bike, you get motor assist up to 28 mph which is perfect for people who enjoy faster rides or have a tight schedule
  • Relatively light weight at ~48 lbs considering it has a 500 watt hour battery pack, the triangle on the frame is very wide and open making it easier to lift and carry
  • I was amazed at how quiet it rides, the motor, the battery mount, the chain etc. don’t produce a lot of humming or rattling
  • Thru-axles keep the wheels stiff and support larger tires, this allows you and the motor to transfer energy more efficiently into the bike but also get some comfort on bumpy terrain
  • You get an anti-shock stem and seat post which are designed to reduce vibration and discomfort because of the all-Aluminum frame and rigid fork
  • Minor detail, but I like the kickstand they chose because it stays out of the way and looks nice,
    it’s slightly fatter than other stands and holds the bike well
  • The battery, display panel and both wheels are easy to remove which is great for transporting the bike, fixing flats on the go or charging / protecting sensitive parts away from the bike rack
  • Some electric bicycles are notorious for dropping the chain while riding on rough terrain (my Uncle owns the Stromer ST1 Limited and it falls off all the time for him) but Raleigh has used a chain guide (two plates sandwiching the chainring to keep the chain on track)
  • The pedals are large, stiff and have metal nubs on top to improve traction, as a guy with medium-sized feet I appreciate these over cheaper cage style platform pedals
  • Three frame sizes to choose from to improve fit and ride comfort, I was on the small frame for this review, there is only one frame style (high-step) so consider stand-over height, Raleigh has a large dealer network in the US so you can probably find and test ride this bike easier than some other brands
  • Excellent weight distribution and a sweet appearance thanks to mid-drive motor and downtube-integrated battery, they blend in perfectly with the black color scheme
  • Hydraulic disc brakes offer good stopping power and the adjustable reach levers are good for large and small riders with different length fingers (or if you wear gloves)
  • The Brose motor is relatively quiet and smooth thanks to a transfer belt inside, it’s not just plastic and metal gears next to each other
  • The battery can be charged on or off the bike, the port is magnetic so the plug will pop out without tipping the frame and won’t damage the interface and it’s located in a spot that isn’t in the way of the crank arms like a lot of other electric bicycles I test and review
  • Full sized USB port the base of the display mount would allow you to charge a mobile phone, music player or headlight while riding
  • I like that the battery pack seats in from the top vs. the bottom because it’s less likely to drop and generally easier to work with here
  • The display panel is large, easy to read and comfortable to use because of the remote button pad located near the left grip, you can adjust assist without looking down as you get some practice

Cons:

  • While the antishock stem and seat post reduce vibration a little bit, I’d consider getting a longer-travel 31.6 mm seat post suspension like those offered by BodyFloat to improve comfort further
  • I like that the bash guard / chain guide plates are punched out to reduce weight but my shoe lace got caught in there at one point and nearly tripped me up, perhaps a different pattern with larger holes would prevent this sort of thing?
  • Be careful with ebike in dark riding conditions because it’s all black, the tires don’t have reflective sidewall stripes and it doesn’t come with lights (you do get standard plastic reflectors in the pedals and wheel spokes)
  • Considering that you don’t get any of the accessories that this bike could use (fenders, lights,
    rear rack) I was a little surprised at the price point, it seems slightly high
  • Keep an eye on the little rubber cap used to cover the magnetic charging interface at the top of the battery, this rubber protector doesn’t have a leash and can easily be set down and lost if you don’t keep an eye on it
  • The battery pack weighs more than some competing 500 watt hour packs, 6.8 lbs vs. 5.7 lbs on the Bosch Powerpack 500, this may be due to the metal casing and unique in-frame design
  • I did not see a range estimator menu like some of the other ebikes are offering but do appreciate the 10-bar battery infographic, it’s more precise than the 4 or 5-bar menus that are common
  • Brose mid-drive motors do not offer shift sensing at this time so it’s best to reduce pedal pressure when changing gears, this reduces mashing and wear on the chain, sprockets and derailleur
  • The larger pedals are great for power transfer and traction but if you turn while pedaling or leave your inside crank arm down you can make contact with the ground so be careful

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Raleigh Reviews

Raleigh Tristar iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A purpose-built electric trike with integrated cables, a low mounted battery with a secondary slot to double your range, and a mid-drive motor that's powerful and efficient. Beautiful chrome fenders and a paint-matched chain cover keep you clean and dry, a large…...

Raleigh Sprite iE Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable neighborhood style electric bike with smaller wheels to lower the frame and slightly wider tires to improve comfort and stability. Available in four frame sizes and two styles (high-step and step-thru), the paint jobs are…...

Raleigh Detour iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A classy, comfortable, lightweight city ebike available in high-step and step-thru frame styles, choose from light blue or black, and three sizes. Swept-back handlebar, ergonomic grips, comfort saddle, fenders, and a combination chain guide plus cover offer…...

Raleigh Retroglide iE Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A classically styled electric cruiser with efficient and powerful mid-drive motor system, available in cantilever high-step and step-thru frame designs (two sizes), metallic blue or pink. Sturdy rear rack protects the battery and offers standard gauge rails for clip-on panniers, paint-matched…...

Raleigh Superbe iE Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A vintage-styled electric bicycle with beautiful alloy paint-matched fenders, rack and chain cover, you get several frame size choices and two styles (high-step and step-thru). Lots of little upgrades and accessories like an alloy chain guide to keep the chain…...

Raleigh Sprint iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A stealthy, fully-integrated speed pedelec (capable of hitting ~28 mph in pedal assist) with bosses for adding fenders, a rack or wiring in 6 volt lights to build a capable commuter. The M25GTS mid-drive motor from TranzX is smooth, relatively quiet and relies on a combination…...

Raleigh Tekoa iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A hardtail 29er electric mountain bike with powerful mid-drive motor (offering 73 Nm of torque and relatively quiet operation) driving a 10 speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain. Light weight RockShox XC32 Air suspension fork with 100 mm travel, lockout and preload adjust,…...

Raleigh Route iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high-speed urban electric bike with thru-axles for strength and a suspension for with lockout for improved comfort or efficiency. Larger wheelset and tires balance efficiency with comfort, three frame sizes deliver a range of…...

Raleigh Misceo Sport iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A feature complete, light weight commuter style electric bike (aluminum frame, carbon fiber fork) with great power transfer and an efficient, smooth mid-drive motor. Shimano hydraulic disc brakes with two-finger levers for nimble operation, quick wheels for easier transport,…...

Raleigh Misceo iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty, light weight electric bicycle with automatic electronic shifting, improved geometry and motor mount since 2015, carbon fiber fork. Shimano hydraulic disc brakes with two-finger levers for nimble operation, quick release front wheel for…...

2016 Raleigh Detour iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An efficient, light weight commuter electric bike available in two frame sizes and high-step or low-step styles, the swept back bars and ergonomic grips support an active upright body position. Narrower tires, firm saddle and all-Aluminum frame and fork provide great power transfer when pedaling…...

2016 Raleigh Sprite iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An approachable electric bike with deep low-step frame, adjustable stem, swept back handle bars and a large comfortable saddle. Simple linear pull brakes work well and are easy to adjust, quick release skewers on…...

2015 Raleigh Misceo iE Review

  • MSRP: $3,200
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A light weight, super efficient, city style electric bike with electronic shifting in addition to motorized pedal assist. Available in four frame sizes (small through extra large), fairly comfortable to ride given the…...

2015 Raleigh Tekoa iE Review

  • MSRP: $3,300
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Well-balanced 29er style electric mountain bike capable of 28 mph in speed pedal assist mode. Quick release front and rear wheels, hydraulic 180 mm disc brakes, air suspension with lockout...

Raleigh Venture iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,400
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A comfortable, quiet city cruiser available in high-step and low-step frame configurations as well as multiple sizes for improved fit. Swept back handlebars, ergonomic grips and pedals, suspension fork and suspension seat post with oversized…...

2015 Raleigh Detour iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Urban style electric bike with functional rear rack and fenders available in high-step and step-thru. Two frame sizes for better fit, swept-back handlebars and sprung saddle for comfortable upright position...


Shaggy
6 months ago

Court, can you comment on the pedal cadence of this vs the Bosch system? Does Brose allow you to spin enough for your needs?

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

Hi Shaggy! Yeah, the Brose system offers a higher supported cadence than Yamaha in my experience, I currently own a Specialized Turbo Levo with the same drivetrain and don’t feel like I have to shift in order to get maximum power and speed… if anyone else here knows the actual RPM rating I’d love to hear. I haven’t seen it anywhere and have explored their website (here’s an interesting page with some cool render videos).

Reply
Carter
5 months ago

Hey, Court. Great review, wish the Redux had integrated lights and fenders, tho. Hey, there’s a forum thread on your site where a number of folks have suggested that the Brose mid-drive provides noticeably less assist than motors from other manufacturers. They’re talking about mountain bikes, and maybe those motors are tuned differently than those on road bikes (which is where my interest lies.) But after reading your favorable review of the Redux with a Brose motor, and with the Brose-powered Specialized Vado to be released soon, I wonder if you might weigh in on this issue.

Reply
Court Rye
5 months ago

Hi Carter, my experience with Brose has been great. It’s quiet, smooth and very powerful if you shift gears appropriately. Though, now the Bosch CX drive offers an eMTB mode which is very zippy. It’s quick and offers a wide range from low power to high power without arrowing up and that’s pretty cool. The downside is more noise and the unique smaller sprocket which is designed to reduce drops but can also suffer from chain suck. Given your stated needs for on-road, I think the Vado or other Brose powered model would be great.

Reply
mike
4 months ago

I’ve put about 330 miles on this bike so far, so figured I’d drop some thoughts for anyone else considering

Background: Male, 5’9, 150 lbs, 30 y/o, no real biking since teenage years. I liked this bike because its a speed pedelec, has better than average range, has the nicely integrated battery and has low profile color.

The short of it is that I’m enjoying this bike. It needs to get a tuneup as my front wheel has a small wobble (and a creaking noise is coming from the front fork area). I actually find it difficult to get up to 28 MPH…..very easy to quickly get to 18-21 MPH and cruise along….23-25 MPH definitely takes some effort….and beyond that I’m working really hard to get to 26 MPH+ (even in Sport mode). Riding uphill is when I feel like superman and appreciate the motor the most. It’s nice to even drop it down to Cruise mode and get a workout in those scenarios. The motor does seem somewhat inconsistent sometimes, especially in the 13 MPH range–I can feel some jolting when it feels like I’m pedaling consistently. I’ve felt it a couple times around 20 MPH as well, but not as much.

As far as range, my longest ride so far is 47 miles, almost entirely on Tour mode pedaling around 20 MPH (although my average speed for the trip was more like 16)….I had one bar of battery remaining and possibly could have squeezed 50 total miles out of it.

I find myself really digging the 1×11 drivetrain….shifting is easy and generally really smooth. I’ve hit some downhills where I wish I had another gear or two, and find myself riding in mostly the highest three or four gears. My chain popped out once but has generally held on well considering the bumpy riding i’ve done (including a big up/downhill very gravel-y stretch).

I definitely find the bike to feel very stiff, I have one particular stretch of road that I find myself dreading and standing up to brace for lots of bumps (the saddle is pretty comfortable though).

Was kind of surprised to find that the battery makes a pretty decent “whirring” sound as it charges. My guess is most e-bikes are like this. One of my biggest gripes about this bike though is that the battery does NOT satisfyingly click into place on the bike, although Cort’s seems to have (kind of) in the video. I have to give mine an extra push into place and it weakly clips in (seems secure once it does). Also one of my bottle cage bosses seems to have come damaged–will have LBS look at it. The manuals that come with the bike aren’t worth much, either.

Anyway, it’s a lot of fun being able to go out for a few hours and not really worry about being too worn out to get back home (although my legs are certainly getting a workout). Will update after a tuneup and a couple hundred more miles.

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Nice! Thanks for sharing your personal details and the range, speed, and battery mounting bits Mike. This was awesome for me to read, real-world riding is often a bit different than reviews with brand new bikes and limited time… but I hope my writeup and video were close to accurate and again, really enjoyed your post and look forward to any updates you want to do down the line :)

Reply
Jonathon Simon
3 months ago

I am so glad to have read Mike’s comment. My eval is so similar at 80mi. Generally love the bike, but it clearly has some general design and build flaws. My experience is quite similar to Mike’s:

  • Sometimes (although rare so far) I feel a weird slight drag, seemly by the motor
  • My bike arrived with a tiny warp in the front wheel rotor, but the shop fixed it in 2 seconds. You could hear a slight brake pad rub, the warp wasn’t visually observable.
  • My chain ring guards are not trued – you can observe a distinctive wobble as it spins. It just bugs me that at over 3 grand the build quality is lacking there, but there is no rubbing. Anyone else have this very wobbly effect when you look down on the rotating crank. Raleigh did say they would “set me up” with another guard. I wasn’t sure how to interpret that, as I noticed the warranty pretty much says you are own your own for service charges – I think that’s ridiculous right out of the box to have to have to pay for major service like swapping a chain guard.
  • The battery does not have a secure click like in Court’s demo, nor does it pop up a bit when released as in the demo. I had the battery pop-up on its own one time on a big bump. Wrote to Raleigh about this battery issue. They say it can be adjusted by the dealer (“at the terminal”).
  • I have the same squeaking out of the box that Mike described on the front wheel. Dealer fixed it, and the squeak came back 11 miles later. Raleigh’s response is that it is likely from the O-ring at the thru axle end cap – a drop of tri-flow should take care of the noise, but the bike shouldn’t have to be lubed every 10mi?
  • There are bottle cage bosses advertised, but Raleigh could not recommend a bottle cage that would fit and still allow battery removal. I think the Topeak Modulo EX will do the trick. In the worst case, the front of this cage can be removed within a few secs – way faster than unbolting the whole cage. But i suspect in the cages contracted state, the battery will just clear it. Have one on order arriving next Thu.
  • Manual is too general and (yes I agree with Mike) it was worthless for any questions I had
  • Seems like customers can order the bikes direct but are not welcome to order parts (per my Raleigh email exchange) – this is for a dealer to do
  • I’m not really into going fast, but really haven’t had any issue on flat getting it up to 28mph in Sport. But like Mike, the Brose motor saved me from cramping on a steep hill at the end of my ride – that’s when I want that extra power.
  • Besides the Brose controller missing a bike walk feature and an estimated mileage, I was really surprised to learn that it only tracks mph and distance in whole numbers, no fractions. It seems that all this would have been so easy and cost effective for Brose to include – its just software/firmware. I hope Brose has a better controller in the future that is backward compatible with this bike, or that COBI comes through with a Brose user installable kit for their system. I was tempted to get the Izip Protour, but I preferred the Browse motor of its Raleigh ReduxIE cousin.

Note: Mike, did you mean your battery makes a sound charging – I thinks it the charger – it has a microprocessor controlled fan in it.

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Great writeup Jonathon, thanks for sharing these detailed points… I hope they help others who might be considering the bike and I’m sorry that the rotor and chainring guard were bent, that’s a bummer for a brand new bike. And the service/parts support sounds a bit confusing or lacking. This is the first year Raleigh has gone online direct but they do still have a network of dealers and it seems like they are pushing to sell the bikes but haven’t nailed down the service part yet. I hope the experience gets better and welcome further comments. I do my best in person to “overview” the bike but my time and miles testing are limited, feedback like yours are truly valuable so thanks :)

Oren Jay
3 months ago

What’s up all. Wanted to add my comments here on this bike. Just purchased one from my local dealer at a great price, and I’m super happy. (They even threw in a rack, some quality USB lights, and a pinhead locking seat guard! I will need to get some fenders for the winter season). I haven’t had any issues with the tires, brakes or chain ring – which may be due to the fact that I got from a dealer who set it up and tuned it for me…

I did a lot of reading on this site and test rode quite a few bikes before getting this one — and I totally love it.

Pros:

  • The bike handles really smoothly; everything flows and feels quite nimble
  • The Brose motor is so quiet I barely hear it; kind of have to listen for it to tell its running
  • At first, I missed that aggressive ‘kick’ of the Bosch mid-drive motor when you first start pedaling, but after riding this bike for just half an hour I’m coming to really appreciate the smooth and seamless way the motor supports my natural pedaling.
  • It’s fast. I got this bike to cut down the time on my commute. It’s a breeze to go 25 mph and not hard to hit 28. With some of the other Class 3 bikes I rode one really needed to work to get up to 28.
  • I like that it comes pre-wired for integrated lights, though I’m just using the USB lights my shop gave me — which I enjoy being able to take on or off depending on my ride.
  • I find the thick tires add a good amount of cushion and give to the ride. I tried the Felt eSport and the narrower tires did not provide nearly the same shock absorption and made for a harder, stiffer ride.
  • Last, but not least, I really enjoy the aesthetics of this bike. The mat finish black frame is very visually appealing to my eye. I like the geometry of the frame, the way the battery is integrated, and the smaller size of the Brose motor.

JONATHAN – you mention it not having a “bike walk” feature. I haven’t actually tried it yet, but the Brose manual does indicate that it has a bike walk/assist feature and provides instructions on how to access it… check it out & lmk if you can’t find it. I don’t personally see any need/use for that feature (it’s easy enough to just roll the bike naturally with motor off), but if I end up playing with it and figure it out I’ll write back.

Cons / Room for improvement: (not much new to add, but will echo what I notice)

  • Yes on controller missing estimated mileage range. Whole numbers bother me less, but sure – would be nice to have more accuracy in mph and distance.
  • When I push down firmly & hardly on the battery, it DOES click into place. It’s subtle, but I can feel/hear it. It would be nice if Raleigh made this locking insert more obvious though.
  • The cage bosses are great – but too low on the frame. I put a normal bottle cage on there, which works fine except that I need to do some fancy maneuvering to get the battery out. Kind of have to angle it to the side and slip it into the cage area for a moment before being to remove or insert the battery. It’s mildly cumbersome… It seems like they might be able to move the bosses up higher on the frame post to avoid this issue)
  • Yeah – the manuals are pretty poorly done. In particular the Brose manual provides enough info but it could be more clear & user friendly. Not a huge deal, but I agree for the kind of $$ one spends they could put a little more energy into that.
  • Software/Firmware updates from Brose for the controller to have more variety / flexibility of programming would be nice down the line. Let’s see if they come through with that!

Overall, I’m super pleased with this bike. No ebike is perfect; each will have its strengths and its shortcomings. For me, I’m real happy overall with the smooth ride of the Brose motor, the easy nimble handling, the fast speed and pleasing aesthetics. Will check back in down the line with another report if anything stands out or changes…

Happy riding!

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Thanks for taking the time to share all of this feedback Oren, I’m glad you found an ebike that works for your commute and welcome any further comments as you use it over the coming months and years. Ride safe out there! Glad to hear your dealer treated you so well, feel free to name them to help build their positive reputation :)

Reply
Kathi
3 months ago

A few days ago I traded my Raleigh Route for the Redux. My experience so far is similar to the other posters. The big selling point for me was the Brose system and styling. I have added and already removed the bottle cage as the fit is just to snug for anything short of a tiny bottle. I also experienced chirping bird syndrome coming from the front wheel which reduced my first ride from 25 to 5 miles. I took it back to the shop yesterday and it was fixed in about a minute. I also hope it doesn’t reoccur every few miles.

Being the owner of a Turbo Levo FSR, I am familiar with the Brose system, but still found the lowest power setting (Cruise) to feel very inadequate when riding on a paved relatively flat trail. I turned the power off and couldn’t really feel a difference. The Tour and Sport modes produced very acceptable power.

Last evening I decided to top off the battery that was only down 10%, but when I plugged in the charger it went from red to solid green in about 3 seconds indicating it had a full charge even though it only shows nine bars on the display unit. Tried it again with the battery removed from the bike with the same result. I will hopefully get a ride in later today and then try to charge it again.

In spite of a my whining, I really do like the Redux ie. I ride a lot of different type trail surfaces and the Levo is great for going off the beaten path but not so great on paved surface roads at higher speeds. I’m looking forward to many happy miles on my new purchase!

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Great writeup Kathi, thanks for sharing your thoughts on the Redux (including the little issues). Was the chirping thing based on the brakes being misaligned or something? I’m curious what the problem was… Also, yeah, it sounds like a bottle cage would just be too tight for some sizes of the bike but maybe a folding lock or other accessory could fit there nicely.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

cbmojo
1 week ago

After test-riding a number eBikes in and around the Atlanta area, I settled on the Raleigh Redux IE. It is impressive up hills despite the seemingly low wattage of the motor (I've learned that more watts doesn't necessarily mean more/better assist). It's also got that stealth look, with a really good fit for me, a good weight at about 48 pounds, and decent price point. Very happy so far.

The Brose system includes two little electric leads, which produce a constant 6 volts, and the computer has a "Light" button. I purchased the Light & Motion Nip 800 on the recommendation of both Raleigh and the bike shop I purchased the Raleigh from. The headlight is tiny, but puts out some amazing light for such a small form factor.

I'm curious if anyone owns this bike (or another Brose-equipped bike) and has successfully installed a headlight system on it? I'm running into some issues with how the lighting system works, including turning it off, and have reached out to both Raleigh and Brose for assistance. Wondering if anyone else has had problems or success installing a headlight on the Brose?

I'll update this thread with any info from the vendors.

Hey DS...where are the light leads located on the Redux? How do I get to them? Thanks

Ravi Kempaiah
2 weeks ago
Ravi Kempaiah
1 month ago

I am a 5'5 male 160 lbs.

A 17" comfort frame ST2 would work well. The bike has massive range and power but it does have occasional electronic glitches. If there is a dealer willing to support you, you will immensely enjoy the bike.

Other options.

41cm BULLS Six50 E2 Street - $3800

45cm Trek Super Commuter - $4999 ( I can imagine the standover height could be an issue here but lots of dealers to test it out)

Specialized Turbo Vado - $4800 (small frame size)

Raleigh Redux IE - $3000 (small frame would work well)

Someone in Atlanta area got one from @Chandlee EBS at Electric Bike Specialists (http://www.electricbikespecialists.com/) and you can read about the experience here.

Mark Peralta
1 month ago

Raleigh Redux IE. Not that light but very light on its feet, you don't notice the weight when you ride it.
https://raleighelectric.com/redux-ie-diamond-frame

1/1
art newcomer
1 month ago

Thanks Art - good to hear from you!

I tried out a few bikes yesterday -- the Bulls Lacuba EVO E8 (is this the bike your wife has?), a Stromer platinum, and a Raleigh Redux. I'm curious what you think about the belt drive as opposed to the chain? and how does the Bulls Lacuba fare on the hills in Colorado? The shops only let us ride around in a flat parking lot. Did you try Stromers? Were there any other bikes that you felt were contenders?
Stromers were nice
I like the Gates belt drive no maintenace and no derailer
Our Bulls climb hills at 15+ mph
They are up to the task
If you spend some time reading about these motors its about dc voltage and torque, so thebest hill climbers are the mountain ebikes
we werent going to be going crazy on mountain trails so I stayed with a more hybrid style
You should be able to rent an ebike for a day and give it a real test

little bee
1 month ago

Thanks Art - good to hear from you!

I tried out a few bikes yesterday -- the Bulls Lacuba EVO E8 (is this the bike your wife has?), a Stromer platinum, and a Raleigh Redux. I'm curious what you think about the belt drive as opposed to the chain? and how does the Bulls Lacuba fare on the hills in Colorado? The shops only let us ride around in a flat parking lot. Did you try Stromers? Were there any other bikes that you felt were contenders?

BernieS
1 month ago

Try this discussion thread regarding installing lighting on the Redux iE.

BernieS
2 months ago

Thanks, Chris. The Redux looks sharp with the fenders. I appreciate the information. I missed the post on lights. Lots of good info there.

Chris Nolte
2 months ago

I'm not sure if you found what you were looking for, but I recently sold one of these bikes and I think I might be able to provide some insight.

1. For the lights. I would check out this recent thread here, you should be able to use any ebike lights that accept a 6v DC lead. Here is a thread I started to give you some background.

2. I installed a set of Specialized Roll Fenders on the bike here and I think it came out really nice. They match the satin black finish well. I didn't get too many pics, but I listed one below. I had to notch out the rear fender at the seat stays a bit and I also drilled a hole to install the screw at the seat stay bridge, other than that it was pretty straight forward.

3. We usually recommend Busch & Muller Mirrors, they are German made and many are made specifically for ebikes. I plan to make a post about mirrors eventually, but let me know if you need help sourcing one. Peter White Cycles is the main distributor in the US, but we stock every style.

4. The Topeak rack is a nice choice. Recently we have been experimenting with the Ortlieb QL3 racks, it's a really nice system if you're planning on adding panniers. It's a cleaner look too.

5. The chain guard is going to be tough, but you could try the SKS Chainboard or something similar. They have a lot of products, but they're not all available in the US.

I hope this helps.

1/1
dsvogel
2 months ago

It IS possible to make head/tail lights that are wired into the battery turn OFF and STAY OFF. I wanted to take some time before posting an update to make sure my assessment of the functioning of lights on the Raleigh Redux IE was accurate. I purchased a Light & Motion Nip 800 headlight and Tuck tail light, and wired them into the existing female blade connectors that come with the bike. The headlight connector is coming out of the top of the downtube, and the other was located on the left chainstay of my bike.

I had emailed Raleigh's electric bike division about this issue, eventually communicating with President Larry Pizzi, who was extremely helpful and interested in this problem. I also emailed Light&Motion support, Brose GmbH who couldn't help and suggested I contact BMZ GmbH (the battery manufacturer)... but got nowhere with them.

I ultimately discovered that my propensity to always turn the bike off at the battery was causing the erratic blinking light behavior. So to make this a quick explanation, here are the three things to know about turning off your lights on this particular bike:

The Light button on the computer doesn't work. Like you, I really wanted this to work. Larry indicated that they were following the European standard of having the lights always on for Class 3 eBikes, and therefore the Light button on the computer would not have any effect on the lights at all. There won't be a firmware update or any kind of "fix" to make this button work on the bike. I find it pretty easy to reach down and adjust the Nip 800 light directly without looking. I did let Larry know that the Brose manual that comes with the bike has a section about the functionality of this Light button that they need to be aware of.

You must turn the computer off FIRST. So the trick is to turn off the computer first. Hitting the power button at the top of the computer also turns off the lights. When you then turn off the battery (if you are so inclined) the lights stay off. No more blinking. This is the only way to get the lights to stay off, short of removing the battery altogether.

Moving the bike can cause the lights to blink. You get the lights turned off, move your bike, and now what the heck?! They are blinking again!! I think this may be triggered by the wheel magnet on the back tire moving past the sensor. When this happens, you have to turn the bike ON at the battery, and then turn the computer off again.

Not the most ideal solution, but I'm happy that it no longer looks like I'm keeping an aircraft parked in my garage at night. I've been VERY happy with the Nip/Tuck system and the amount of light they both provide. I also rather like that the lights come on without me thinking about it.

Lastly, if you are interested in using proper male blade connectors to fit the female connectors know that these are 2.8mm or 0.110 inch wide connectors. I purchased item #MST1620 from Cycle Terminal (link to the 0110 connectors page), and wound up snipping the ends of the blade to shorten it a bit. Worked like a charm! They are so cheap that I got a few extra in case I screwed one up. And I did. I also used dielectric grease and heat shrink tubing for the ultimate weather proofing. There are ample videos you can find that show you how to properly crimp a blade on a wire.

Let me know if you have questions, or "Like" this post if you found it helpful. ;)

offradar
2 months ago

Hi,

I've watched a few YouTube reviews of this bike and am considering buying it, but just have a couple questions I'm hoping members who own it or have tested it can help with.

Do the breaks have a motor inhibitor?

I heard one YouTube reviewer mention that it is pre-wired for front light system. What does this mean? Is there a port other than the USB port at the front of the bike to connect a light to?

Does the USB port provide enough power for a decent light? What light is recommended? Also can a back light be wired to the main bike battery?

Any answers or suggestions will be much appreciated.

Thanks!

BernieS
2 months ago

I like the Redux IE a lot and am thinking of getting one from a nearby LBS. But I have a few questions regarding accessorizing the bike.

1. Lights — I would like a headlight and taillight that are integrated into the electrical system rather than being separately charged through a USB connection. I like the idea of the light always being on when the bike is under power (daytime running light) so that’s not an issue for me. Has anybody had any success with this kind of set up? Any other lighting ideas?

2. Fenders — I was thinking of getting a set of SKS Commuter 2 fenders. What other plastic fenders might I consider?

3. Mirror — I wanted a bar end type mirror. Any suggestions from experience? I don’t want to use a helmet mirror. Done that before.

4. Rear rack — I am considering a Topeak UNI Explorer (Disc) rack in order to carry grocery panniers and a trunk bag. Any thoughts?

5. Chainguard — I wanted a chain guard so I wouldn’t have to be rolling up my pant leg every time I ride. My dealer thinks it might be difficult finding a suitable chain guard that wasn’t very flimsy. Any ideas on this?

So those are the main accessories that I wanted to get input about from people experienced with the Redux IE. Thank you in advance.

samiaE
3 months ago

I am also in love with my new Redux ie! But I do wish I had control of the lights. They are even on when I am charging the bike. I heard that Raleigh can fix this with a firmware update. Anyone heard of that before? Are your lights on when charging too?

OJS
3 months ago

Hey @Colorado Colin - thanks so much for your input & comments. Sounds like a great bike! The Juiced bikes seem sweet, but a lot of the dealers I spoke to discouraged me from getting one because of: a) the lower quality of components and b) poor experiences with getting replacement parts from the manufacturer. One guy basically cautioned me against getting it saying that if I am planning to use it for commuting (which I am) that he'd be very concerned about the reliability...

In the end, I stretched my budget quite a bit and ended up getting a Raleigh Redux on sale. The dealer threw in a rack & lights (USB), and i'm super happy with the bike so far... See my comments at the end of Court's Redux Review.

Best wishes!

Chandlee EBS
3 months ago

Thanks for the praise, @dsvogel!

We've installed that lighting on a couple of Redux IEs now. I believe you were the one that informed us that the Redux uses European programming so its always on when the bike is on.

Being in Atlanta, I would recommend putting secondary blinker on the left side of the front fork facing left. Too many turning cars don't pick up on the straight forward lights, especially when you're at a cross walk. Serfas is my favorite light brand, but there's tons of good stuff. Check out https://www.bikelightdatabase.com for in-depth reviews.

Happy riding, man!

dsvogel
3 months ago

I bought mine at Electric Bike Specialists in Chattanooga. Those guys were awesome to work with, and really know their stuff. I wound up working with Lewis, who is very knowledgeable and friendly and spent a lot of time with me as I tried to figure out what I liked and wanted. There was absolutely no sales pressure. I spent half the day there trying out different models of their bikes, including some of their aftermarket kit builds. When my Redux IE bike came in, Lewis called me and said he just so happened to be coming down to Atlanta, and wanted to know if I'd like it delivered. Totally didn't expect that. Great guys, highly recommended.

I've got a few hundred miles on the Redux IE and it's rock solid AWESOME!

Jtb
3 months ago

Hi!
I’ve been looking for a redux ie for quite some time. Can you please let me know where you bought yours? I live in Atlanta as well.

Thanks much!
B

samiaE
4 months ago

I just test drove the Raleigh Redux and love it! I am wondering if i could replace the forks with front suspension? Then it would be ideal for me! Not a bike person so I do not know if only certain bikes can take front shocks...

Mark Peralta
4 months ago

Same battery capacity, power, number of assist levels.

Giant's advantages:
Cheaper by 100 bucks
Comes with fenders and lights
Dual chain rings (20 speed)
https://electricbikereview.com/giant/quick-e-plus/

Raleigh's Advantages:
Lighter by 1.5 pounds
Stealth appearance
https://electricbikereview.com/raleigh/redux-ie/

Giant appears more utilitarian and more of a commuter setup. Raleigh appears more for fun and sport with lesser practicality (no fenders, no lights).

1/1
Moonshine
4 months ago

Both bikes feel great. Both are powerful. The Quick E+ Yamaha motor is like a rocket engine. The Redux IE Brose motor is 'softer' in it's activation. Both get the job done. If you were to ignore rider preferences and look at both bikes for what they are, which one is a better pick?

Both Raleigh and Giant are 'giants' of the industry but who makes the better ebike?

dsvogel
5 months ago

Headlight for a Brose system?

Has anyone successfully installed a headlight on a Brose system that can be controlled by the "light" button on the computer? I have a Raleigh Redux IE, and installed a Light & Motion NIP 800, but it is always on, the switch on the computer doesn't turn the light off. The Nip also only cycles between light settings, but does not turn off. Even if I power down the bike, the light quickly flashes (at like 3 lumens) every two seconds. If I put the bike on the charger, the headlight comes on and stays on.

The voltage on the power leads from the bike are always 6 Volts, no matter what setting the computer light indicator is set at (on, off, or auto). I expected that maybe the voltage would go to 0 when the light is set to "off" on the computer.

dsvogel
5 months ago

After test-riding a number eBikes in and around the Atlanta area, I settled on the Raleigh Redux IE. It is impressive up hills despite the seemingly low wattage of the motor (I've learned that more watts doesn't necessarily mean more/better assist). It's also got that stealth look, with a really good fit for me, a good weight at about 48 pounds, and decent price point. Very happy so far.

The Brose system includes two little electric leads, which produce a constant 6 volts, and the computer has a "Light" button. I purchased the Light & Motion Nip 800 on the recommendation of both Raleigh and the bike shop I purchased the Raleigh from. The headlight is tiny, but puts out some amazing light for such a small form factor.

I'm curious if anyone owns this bike (or another Brose-equipped bike) and has successfully installed a headlight system on it? I'm running into some issues with how the lighting system works, including turning it off, and have reached out to both Raleigh and Brose for assistance. Wondering if anyone else has had problems or success installing a headlight on the Brose?

I'll update this thread with any info from the vendors.

TruTru9
5 months ago

You sound like a very nice brother and generous.

I don't think you want to suprise your brother with this.....special needs or not.

Does he currently ride a bicycle on a regular basis? Cause if he doesn't he's going to be overwhelmed by a really fast bicycle..

I wish I could take credit for the idea. It was one of his co-worker's that had the idea to get him an ebike.

He has a single speed bike that he has been riding to work. He is starting to dislike buses. He takes back roads and neighborhoods to avoid the bike lane as much as possible. It takes him hours to get to work. One of his co-workers came up with the idea to hook him up with an electric bike so the commute doesn't have to be so 'hard' and a little bit more 'fun'

I thought I made a decision and ordered the raleigh redux small but the order ended up not going through and of course I'm having second thoughts now.

We have a few special needs customers, and they tend to be hard on their bikes and greatly benefit from having us nearby to help with any issues. If possible, I suggest buying from someone within riding distance.

This is exactly why I wanted to find something that's low maintenance as possible. So I was looking at bikes with internal hubs, nuvinci harmony, belt drives etc etc just so that everything can be as simple as possible and it's not so overwhelming but then I decided to just break the surprise. I TOLD him he is getting an ebike and I regret it so much because now he has a FAVORITE and of course it's the fastest and the super super expensive one. He doesn't understand money :) He wanted the Bulls E-stream FS 45 which doesn't even look like it's street legal. So now, no matter what else I get, it's going to be the 2nd best :(

irenewg13
5 months ago

Hello EBR folks,

My brother is going to get an electric bike for his birthday that's coming up on June 6! He is medium to high functioning. His work is about 9 miles from home and he can't drive. It takes him over 3 hours and two buses to get there. He has to wait like over an hour for the second bus. So after much careful thinking, I'm deciding to get him an electric bike so he can commute back and forth.

Terrain is mostly flat with no real hills. He is probably going to take back roads to avoid being on main roads because that's how he is.

He is short and only 5'4. He weighs 164 lbs. He is in Woodland, WA. I prefer to buy the bike online and have it shipped him fully or as close to fully assembled as possible. There is no budget because he has the best brother in the world - ME! :D As long as I don't have to sell my house to get him a bike, I'm good with it!

Conditions/Requirements.
I don't want it to look like an "electric" bike. I like a stealth frame kinda like the redux IE from Raleigh or some of the specialized turbo's!

Quiet as possible.

Good build quality in the sense that it doesn't break down easily and he doesn't have to take it to the shop every 2 months.

Low maintenance. My brother is the world's best at being the worst at doing maintenance.

That's about it. What should I get him bike lovers?

Hi,

I have started a discussion string, specifically for various needs and disabilities.
Yesturday I was searching online for, "ebike disability modications", and I found quite a few sites that display manufactures and sellers, of bikes and ebikes for a broad range of physical disabilities.

Take a look, and I will see if I can find some of that info.

If you reply, I would appreciate it if you would post on the thread tag, "disability", so that we can accumulate good info in 1 sream.

Irene

MarvFIT
3 months ago

raleigh and juiced seem to give the best bang for your buck. I'm waiting to see what juiced is going to do with their crosscurrent

MarvFIT
3 months ago

i want this so bad!!

RBastien
4 months ago

Gheez, that's one heck of a good review. Thanks for posting.

Rjames
5 months ago

Like always, awesome review Court! I am deciding if I am going to get this or the turbo levo HT. I want more speed and I do not mind the suspension. Could you give me an honest opinion between the two. Is this zippier than the levo HT? Thanks in advance. keep it up Court.

jmit6
5 months ago

Has me wondering if a Fast, Quiet, and Stealthly Full Suspension Bike exist.

Pibbles 'n Bits
6 months ago

I don't know if anyone can hear that at just after 14:25, but that is the exact reason why you don't shift under load like that............Also at 15:41 you can see how the chain guard is bent and moves laterally as it is out of dish. Shame for such a pricey bike.

joes joey
6 months ago

Another great detailed video! this bike is sweeettt. I think every electric bicycle should at least come with a front/rear light and reflectors cause life isnt a joke and lights/reflectors DO AND WILL SAVE YOUR LIFE. i use to think meh i wont put a light to be lighter thats untill got hit at by a car he was going 70 kmh couple years ago .Hey Court have you heard from OHM cycles? tried contacting them but no answer its been a while.Thanks!

Larry Pizzi
4 months ago

All of our bikes come with the required 6-way reflector set and this bike has reflective decals, something that was not pointed out. It's also pre-wired for a lighting set.

Knut Essigsud mit Dill
6 months ago

Do you know the new Raleigh Austin Compact? It seems to be very handy and here in Germany it is only 1699€.
A Review would be so nice :)

Armin von Werner
6 months ago

That would go nice with a belt drive, even more slick. :)

nature albums
6 months ago

I'm in the UK grew up on Raleigh bikes I still remember my metallic blue shadow Raleigh racer. I just went on the raleigh website in the UK guess what they don't do the Redux over here and nothing like it even! maybe its just too expensive to build for our poorer market and low demand.

Dain Oyler
6 months ago

This bike makes me hard! :D

Dain Oyler
6 months ago

LOVE YOUR WORK< YOUR CHANNEL ALL OF IT ! Bought a juiced udk v3 refurb with basket nd 500w motor thanks to you1

Trace zach daniels
6 months ago

nice do you make a cruiser model....kinda like towny bike..?..i have a HPC i love it...

kfekadu55
6 months ago

how does this bike do on a hilly terrain? e-bike review? thanks for the sharing your passion with e bikes your channel made me like e bikes and definitely will pick up one in the near future.

Sketti Boi
6 months ago

but over all yeah looks smooth poweful and quiet. if i got one i'd also go straight for integrated lights and suspension seat post.

Sketti Boi
6 months ago

suprised to see what looks like the front sprocket or crank shaft bent as it has a side wobble when turning.

Raven M.
6 months ago

Great review. How would you rate this in a comparison with the Specialized turbo X?

DogDaysofSanford
6 months ago

I like

Nisco Racing
6 months ago

WOW this bike is amazing, i am fan of stealth stuff :D

Brian Moyers
6 months ago

I need this bike in my life