Raleigh Misceo iE Review

2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Electric Bike Review
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie 250 Watt Middrive Motor Shimano Steps
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Shimano Steps 36 Volt Downtub Battery
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Lcd Console Electronic Button Pads
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Flat Rubber Grips
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Carbon Fiber Fork
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Shimano Alfine Internal 8 Speed Chain Tensioner
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Shimano M445 Hydraulic Disc Brakes 160 Mm
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Kickstand
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Shimano Steps Charger
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Electric Bike Review
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie 250 Watt Middrive Motor Shimano Steps
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Shimano Steps 36 Volt Downtub Battery
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Lcd Console Electronic Button Pads
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Flat Rubber Grips
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Carbon Fiber Fork
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Shimano Alfine Internal 8 Speed Chain Tensioner
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Shimano M445 Hydraulic Disc Brakes 160 Mm
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Kickstand
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Shimano Steps Charger


  • A sporty, light weight electric bicycle with automatic electronic shifting, improved geometry and motor mount since 2015, carbon fiber fork
  • Shimano hydraulic disc brakes with two-finger levers for nimble operation, quick release front wheel for easier transport, removable display and battery pack
  • Available in four frame sizes for improved fit (one color and frame style, high-step), nine speed drivetrain with well-protected internally geared Shimano Alfine hub
  • the battery pack has to be removed from the frame to be charged, power transfer is great but the frame is stiff, the display panel is small but highly adjustable and backlit

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers





Misceo iE



Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Road

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

43.5 lbs (19.73 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.8 lbs (2.63 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.05 lbs (3.19 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Custom Butted Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

15 in (38.1 cm)17 in (43.18 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)21 in (53.34 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

30" Stand Over Height and 72" Length on the Medium 17" Frame

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Metallic Blue with Black Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Carbon Fiber

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Alfine Internally Geared Hub with Di2 Electronic Shifting and Auto-Shift, 18T Sprocket

Shifter Details:

Shimano Di2 Electronic


38T Chainring


Welgo R200 Aluminum Alloy Platform, Track Style


FSA Integrated Cartridge Bearings


3D Forged, 31.8 mm Diameter, Lengths: 80 / 90 mm


Aluminum Alloy 31.8 mm Diameter, 640 mm Length

Brake Details:

Shimano M445 Hydraulic Disc with 160 mm Rotors


Raleigh Flat Rubber, Black


Velo Active, Raleigh Branded, Black

Seat Post:

2014 Aluminum Alloy with Quick Release Collar

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm


Weinmann XM25 Double Wall, Aluminum Alloy


Stainless Steel 14 Gauge, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda Kwick Bitumen, 700 x 40c

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

60 TPI, Folding, 50 to 85 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta Valve


Single Side Adjustable Length Kickstand, Plastic Chain Guide


Locking Removable Battery Pack, 3.1 Amp 1.7 Pound Charger, KMC X9E Chain, Shimano Center Lock Front Hub 36 Hole

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Shimano STePs

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Shimano STePs

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

417.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Adjustable Angle, Monochrome, Backlit LCD, Model SC-E6000


Speed (mph or km/h), Average Speed, Max Speed, Odometer, Trip Meter, Battery Level (5 Bars), Assist Mode (Eco, Normal, High), Time Clock

Display Accessories:

Independent Control Switches near Left and Right Grips

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50%, Normal 100%, High 200%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The 2016 Raleigh Misceo iE is a sporty city bike that could be used for road riding or commuting. The geometry is a bit more aggressive with a flatter handle bar, standard round grips and a firm saddle but it comes in four sizes and offers a carbon fiber fork to improve fit and address vibration (the frame is all Aluminum). Compared to the 2015 version you now get automatic shifting by default (people who have a 2015 model can take their ebike into a certified Shimano dealer to get the firmware upgrade) along with a thicker seat post, longer frame with box tubing on the seat stays and chain stays for improved lateral stiffness, the motor has been tipped down and is now horizontal like the other Shimano STePs powered Raleigh bikes vs. a 45 degree angle in 15″ and you get a pare of bottle cage braze-ons on the seat tube!

The frame improvements seem to have added ~2 pounds over the 2015 model but this is still a light weight electric bike at just 43.5 lbs (depending on the frame size you get, I was riding the Medium ~17″). Amazingly, the price tag is lower than 2015 as well with a listed price of $2,699 and you still get the two year comprehensive lifetime frame warranty. Other highlights for me are the quick release front wheel, removable battery and display (and just how easy the display is to navigate for things like disabling backlighting or the beeps) and the carbon fork. Some of the challenges I encountered include having to remove the battery for charging vs. leaving it on the frame.

The motor driving this bike is plenty powerful with a peak output at 500 watts and 50 Nm of torque, it responds proportionally to your pedaling input but also senses cadence so it’s not just as tiring to use and can be operated at slower speeds if you just pedal more gently (perhaps in crowded areas). With three levels of assist the range can per charge can be upwards of 50 miles if you’re on paved surfaces with higher tire pressure (up to 85 PSI) but the ride is stiffer… I’d probably grab a Body Float seat post suspension and 27.2 mm to 30.9 mm shim to make it work (Thudbuster also has a short travel suspension post that’s less expensive but also less responsive). There’s no throttle on this bike, you always have to pedal but that keeps it Class 1 (legally permitted in more locations) and this is the only Shimano STePs powered electric bicycle I’ve tested with shift detection! That’s due to the electronic shifting which is powered by the same battery and interacts with the motor. Similar shift sensing technology comes stock on Bosch and Impulse powered ebikes and helps to reduce chain, sprocket and gear wear. You can hear it in action during the test ride in the video review above.


  • Fast and efficient wheels and tires, a more aggressive geometry with low-rise straight bar and carbon fiber fork for a sporty responsive feel
  • Improved frame geometry over 2015, the bike has been slightly elongated, the motor is horizontal vs. 45° angle and the rear stays have been transitioned from circular tubing to box which is stiffer – reducing lateral flex (side to side)
  • The Shimano Alfine 8 speed internally geared uses a compact electronic shifter that does not protrude beyond the frame so it’s more protected if it tips or is scraped against other bikes at the rack
  • Nice looking paint (but only available in one color, metallic blue) with black accents on the frame and black hubs, spokes, rims, bar, saddle and grips, the cables are internally routed for improved aesthetic and fewer snags
  • The carbon fiber fork should reduce vibration when riding and helps to keep the overall weight down, I also like that the front wheel uses quick release for easy transport
  • Plenty of mounting points for adding a rear rack, fenders and a bottle cage, folding lock or mini-presta pump to adapt to your environment and ride style (road riding vs. commuting)
  • Excellent two year comprehensive warranty and with lifetime on the frame, the price has been dropped since the 2015 model and is now more inline with competing offerings
  • Very light weight at ~43.5 pounds… though it’s a bit heavier than 2015 due to the reinforced, elongated frame and larger seat post diameter
  • The battery pack is locking, removable and only weighs ~5.8 pounds! I love that it fits on the downtube keeping weight low and centered but they still made room for bottle cage braze-ons
  • Quick release front and seat post for doing maintenance or adjusting fit on the go, I’d remove the front wheel and turn the bars sideways to fit in a car or smaller elevator
  • Quality hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano with medium sized 160 mm rotors for easy smooth stops, should reduce wrist fatigue, two-finger pull levers
  • Available in four frame sizes to suit a range of rider heights and leg lengths, I noticed the top tube is more nicely curved than it was in 2015 and the geometry is slightly less aggressive (seat tube and head tube seem more forward angled than before)
  • I was told that the bike comes with a kickstand and the demo model I reviewed had one! As someone who parks at shops and leaves his bike in the garage I like having it… it’s easy to take off but can be tricky to find a good matching kickstand to start
  • Just like the battery pack, the display panel is removable for safe storage… I like that it’s also easy to adjust (hold the up and down arrows simultaneously to enter the menu) so you can mute the beeping noise or turn off back lighting
  • Automatic shifting is a neat feature and I love that the 2015 model can get it with a firmware upgrade! It’s cool that you can also set the default gear to switch back to at rest and use manual shifting easily with the black button on the right button pad
  • It’s neat that the two electronic button pads are basically the sam and can be swapped right or left based on your preference, I found the menus simple to navigate and understand (hold the up and down arrows to ender settings to disable the beep, disable backlighting and change auto shift rpm activation)


  • This ebike is more efficient and offers great power transfer but the tires are high pressure (50 to 85 PSI) so bumpy streets can feel a bit jarring, the fork is carbon fiber which helps with vibration but the saddle is firm, consider an aftermarket seat post suspension like the Body Float or Thudbuster with 30.9 mm diameter
  • The battery pack has an on/off button that is used to power cycle the bike vs. doing it up at the button pad and you have to completely remove the battery in order to charge it which increases the potential for drops and just takes extra time
  • Pedal assist only electric bike with no way to add a boost button or twist throttle, this keeps it rated at Class 1 which is usable in the most locations and also extends range by making you contribute to the ride and reducing air resistance at higher speeds compared with a speed-pedelec
  • The Shimano STePs display panel uses a smaller LCD display unit than Bosch, Yamaha, TranzX and some other leading suppliers so reading your speed and settings isn’t quite as easy for near-sighted folks like myself


More Raleigh Reviews

Raleigh Tristar iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A purpose-built electric trike with integrated cables, a low mounted battery with a secondary slot to double your range, and a mid-drive motor that's powerful and efficient. Beautiful chrome fenders and a paint-matched chain cover keep you clean and dry, a large…...

Raleigh Sprite iE Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable neighborhood style electric bike with smaller wheels to lower the frame and slightly wider tires to improve comfort and stability. Available in four frame sizes and two styles (high-step and step-thru), the paint jobs are…...

Raleigh Detour iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A classy, comfortable, lightweight city ebike available in high-step and step-thru frame styles, choose from light blue or black, and three sizes. Swept-back handlebar, ergonomic grips, comfort saddle, fenders, and a combination chain guide plus cover offer…...

Raleigh Retroglide iE Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A classically styled electric cruiser with efficient and powerful mid-drive motor system, available in cantilever high-step and step-thru frame designs (two sizes), metallic blue or pink. Sturdy rear rack protects the battery and offers standard gauge rails for clip-on panniers, paint-matched…...

Raleigh Superbe iE Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A vintage-styled electric bicycle with beautiful alloy paint-matched fenders, rack and chain cover, you get several frame size choices and two styles (high-step and step-thru). Lots of little upgrades and accessories like an alloy chain guide to keep the chain…...

Raleigh Redux iE Review

  • MSRP: $3,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sleek, quiet, all-black, speed-pedelec with excellent weight distribution and smooth quiet power transfer, 10-speed drivetrain and powerful hydraulic disc brakes to match. Stiff thru-axles and a rigid Aluminum alloy fork are balanced out by fatter 2.0" Schwalbe…...

Raleigh Sprint iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A stealthy, fully-integrated speed pedelec (capable of hitting ~28 mph in pedal assist) with bosses for adding fenders, a rack or wiring in 6 volt lights to build a capable commuter. The M25GTS mid-drive motor from TranzX is smooth, relatively quiet and relies on a combination…...

Raleigh Tekoa iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A hardtail 29er electric mountain bike with powerful mid-drive motor (offering 73 Nm of torque and relatively quiet operation) driving a 10 speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain. Light weight RockShox XC32 Air suspension fork with 100 mm travel, lockout and preload adjust,…...

Raleigh Route iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high-speed urban electric bike with thru-axles for strength and a suspension for with lockout for improved comfort or efficiency. Larger wheelset and tires balance efficiency with comfort, three frame sizes deliver a range of…...

Raleigh Misceo Sport iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A feature complete, light weight commuter style electric bike (aluminum frame, carbon fiber fork) with great power transfer and an efficient, smooth mid-drive motor. Shimano hydraulic disc brakes with two-finger levers for nimble operation, quick wheels for easier transport,…...

2016 Raleigh Detour iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An efficient, light weight commuter electric bike available in two frame sizes and high-step or low-step styles, the swept back bars and ergonomic grips support an active upright body position. Narrower tires, firm saddle and all-Aluminum frame and fork provide great power transfer when pedaling…...

2016 Raleigh Sprite iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An approachable electric bike with deep low-step frame, adjustable stem, swept back handle bars and a large comfortable saddle. Simple linear pull brakes work well and are easy to adjust, quick release skewers on…...

2015 Raleigh Misceo iE Review

  • MSRP: $3,200
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A light weight, super efficient, city style electric bike with electronic shifting in addition to motorized pedal assist. Available in four frame sizes (small through extra large), fairly comfortable to ride given the…...

2015 Raleigh Tekoa iE Review

  • MSRP: $3,300
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Well-balanced 29er style electric mountain bike capable of 28 mph in speed pedal assist mode. Quick release front and rear wheels, hydraulic 180 mm disc brakes, air suspension with lockout...

Raleigh Venture iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,400
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A comfortable, quiet city cruiser available in high-step and low-step frame configurations as well as multiple sizes for improved fit. Swept back handlebars, ergonomic grips and pedals, suspension fork and suspension seat post with oversized…...

2015 Raleigh Detour iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Urban style electric bike with functional rear rack and fenders available in high-step and step-thru. Two frame sizes for better fit, swept-back handlebars and sprung saddle for comfortable upright position...

Jack Tyler
2 years ago

Court, you are obviously on a real ‘roll’ right now with the many iZip & Raleigh reviews you are pumping out. I especially appreciated you explaining, in the Dash review, the ‘brand differentiation’ between the almost identical iZip and Raleigh models. Takes me back to those Dodge vs. Plymouth or Oldsmobile vs. Buick days, which didn’t produce much product differentiation but rather just added overhead. Two Q’s about the Misceo iE please: There’s much that appeals for my intended purposes (around town + maintained trails with some elevation changes): decent mileage, the protected internal hub gearing, shift sensing and, perhaps most important, lighter weight. Q1: Being an older guy, I favor an ebike with a front suspension, even an inexpensive one, to help mitigate joint pain on longer rides. How much difference would the carbon fiber fork really make in helping me avoid cumulative shock loading on elbows/wrists/hands? Or more generally, does it in reality boil down to ‘front suspension’ or ‘no front suspension’? And Q2: Alpine’s IGH looks like a pretty specialized piece of gear, while I expect to be riding in a somewhat remote community (Bozeman, MT), not unlike your Uncle in CO. How reliable are these Alpine IGH units proving to be…and if a problem develops, is it likely I could ship off just the wheel/hub assembly for service or repair? There’s no nearby Alpine expertise available where I’ll be located.

Once again, congrats on these super helpful reviews. I feel like I’m getting much closer to what I really should be purchasing due to these reviews and these follow-on ‘discussions’ you offer.

2 years ago

Hi Jack, glad you found some value in the crossover comparisons, I’m trying to be respectful to the companies and allow each bike to stand on its own but my real goal is to help potential buyers navigate the space and find the right fit for their budget and intended use.

Q1: I personally would only ever ride the Misceo iE or Sport iE on paved surfaces… and they would have to be smooth. You really feel the bumps and a suspension fork and larger tires goes a long way. This is why I appreciate the Raleigh Route iE and IZIP E3 Dash so much. These models offer suspension, cost about the same as the Misceo iE but don’t have the shift sensing or internally geared hub. For me, the body comfort outweighs the cool internal gearing and shift sensing… you can replace your chain and derailleur if they wear down prematurely due to lack of shift sensing but you can’t replace your back, neck headache etc.

Q2: I have way less experience and feedback here… I’ve heard that the NuVinci variable speed transmission can work well on ebikes since there are no gears inside (just a slide and range of “gears”) and also that the Rohloff Speedhub often used on Optibikes is sturdy. Here’s a conversation from the EBR forums about this topic (though it’s a bit outdated).

Glad the site and my feedback has helped, if you have any feedback about the videos, writeups or other work I do please chime in. I’m always trying to evolve and adapt the work I do. Recently I’ve emphasized more pro/con bullets and shorter writeups letting the video do more of the discussion. My aim is to continue doing a higher number of reviews to help convey the landscape vs. just a handful of bikes.

Bill Ostrowski
2 years ago

Court, I picked up my Misceo iE and the 2016 is pretty nice to look at. There are a lot of changes over the 2015. I do have a question about bike stems. After riding it for a while a realized I would like a more relaxed ride. Any high rise stems you might recommend? Maybe something with suspension?

2 years ago

Hi Bill! Glad you’re enjoying the latest Misceo iE… I also prefer a more relaxed (comfortable) ride and have purchased seat post suspensions like Thudbuster in the past (Body Float makes one that’s a bit more expensive) but I have not heard of suspension stems? Maybe a suspension fork could useful, I’m not sure on the measurements or details, consider contacting Raleigh for help, their website has live chat :)

Bill Ostrowski
2 years ago

Court here is a suspension stem that is coming out. It sounds like it’s releasing in May-June 2016. If you could get a demo unit, it might make an interesting YouTube video.

2 years ago

This looks awesome! Excellent suggestion Bill, thank you. I just reached out to the company and offered to buy one at cost for review and am hoping to test it for commuting and do a full review this summer :D

Ray T
2 years ago

I really like this bike because it looks like a standard fitness hybrid bike. I’m glad you reviewed it, I like the overview of the Shimano StePs system.

The only thing I wish is that they didn’t have that chain tensioner in the back that looks like a derailleur. Other regular bikes that have a Shimano internal hub manage to avoid it. That’s one of the advantages of internal hubs because it’s doesn’t have a derailleur hanging out to get bent.

The fact that it has DI2 electronic shifting for this kind of price is pretty amazing. The Alfine Di2 hub is a pretty expensive part by itself that are usually on bikes $1000+ and it seems that Raleigh’s MSRP has been lowered this year making it even better value.

As a guy that owns a few regular bicycles, I tend to like e-bikes that are based off regular models of bikes, because 1) they usually offer them in more sizes 2) they tend to look more like regular bicycles and don’t stand out as much. This Raleigh looks like any other $700 hybrid, rather than something that screams e-bike.

2 years ago

Good points, I agree with you about the sizes and style. Not sure why they felt it was critical to include a chain tensioner? Perhaps it’s more important with a mid-drive system to prevent chain slip or maybe they were having trouble with the chain coming off which I’ve experienced on a lot of cheaper ebikes.

Scott Tucker
2 years ago

Hey Court, do you know how to go about the firmware update? I don’t see any computer compatible plugs on the controller? Also, I love my Misceo except am interested in a little more top speed. Looking at the Specialized turbos and wondering how you would compare the Misceo vs. the Turbo for commuting. I have a rolling 18 miles commute each way. Thanks for your knowledge. Scott

2 years ago

Hi Scott! I believe you’ll need to take the bike into a Raleigh dealer so they can hook it up to their diagnostics system for a firmware update. There might be a special dongle and software required that consumers can’t get themselves :/ as far as the Turbo… I really like that bike, it looks cool and goes faster (between 26 and 28 mph depending on the model you get) which can shorten commute times but also drain the battery faster. Another consideration is the lack of suspension with the Turbo and some other road-oriented Class 3 ebikes. You’ve probably already experienced the sportier rigid feel with your Misceo. The Turbo is cool because it operates very quietly thanks to a gearless hub motor vs. mid-drive and that motor re-captures some energy with regenerative braking. Same with the Stromer ebikes.


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

1 day ago

Since you mentioned the Raleigh Redux iE Step Thru , it's on sale on Raleigh's web site , $3k , MSRP $3750
Doesn't look like it's set up for light off road .

2 days ago

Hello EBR forum members! I am Alan from east central Iowa and a newbie on e-bikes. I just traded in my conventional Giant 24-speed bike for a Gazelle Arroyo step thru. I am 71 and ride for leisure and exercise on streets and paved or packed limestone trails. I was finding myself avoiding longer rides and hills so I am hoping the e-bike will give me more confidence and more exercise in the long run. My wife has a Blix Aveny that she bought last summer, so the Arroyo should make it possible for me to keep pace with her.

I was looking at the Raleigh Detour, but my local cycle shop had this 2017 Arroyo at a special close-out price. After checking the EBR reviews and looking at both bikes, I just couldn't pass up the comfort and elegance of the Arroyo :). It is still a little chilly in Iowa to do much riding (for me anyway), but I hope to get the Arroyo out on the trail in the next couple of weeks.

3 days ago

I don’t think it’s possible to gear/wind a hub motor for high speed without sacrificing low speed torque. If a hub motor is geared/wound for torque it can be a decent climber. So yes, if the manufacturer specs the right motor the bike can climb well. On the other hand, virtually all mid-drives are going to climb well. I rode a fairly low power mid-drive Raleigh bike two years ago that climbed a steep kicker of a hill with ease.

4 days ago

I have 2 Raleigh detour ie's luv them.

6 days ago

Really good explanation from Tora on the advantages of having a throttle in stop start urban riding. For the past 18 months I have been using a bafang BBS01 kit as a pedelec motor without the throttle, but I've experienced issues Tora mentioned a couple of times I've struck my derailleur or my right pedal against a curbstone at low speed passing cars curbside, or found myself in the wrong gear at a stop light facing uphill, so I'm swapping out my derailleur for an IGH so I can shift down when stationary and fitting the throttle so I can coast without pedalling when necessary. I appreciate the versatility of a kit motor that lets me switch over from a Class 1 to a Class 2 by simply adding a throttle, the optional boost button on Raleigh and Izip ebikes does the same thing.

I also find walk assist useful when pushing my heavy ebike up ramps when towing a trailer or up the 3 steps into my backyard. Trek and other manufacturers are wrong not to activate walk assist on Bosch powered ebikes in the US. I know it's not legal in New York state at present to have a throttle but walk assist is capped to like 3mph so this is just stupid corporate BS. On the bright side I'm encouraged the People for Bikes model ebike legislation is being adopted by more and more states that legalizes both Class 1 and 2 riding on bike paths and sidewalks.

1 week ago

Very Curious why a Nexus hub isn't being utilized more on e-bikes. The EG Zurich has a Nexus 7 speed hub which compliments the 36v 350 watt front hub nicely. It is my understanding that the Nexus 8 speed can handle the torque output of a crank motor set-up.

Nova Haibike
1 week ago

Maybe never? Raleigh USA and Raleigh UK offer completely different bikes.

1 week ago

When Will The Raleigh Motus With The Nexus 8 Speed Hub Become Available In The USA?

1 week ago

How do I change wheel size on a Brose system? The actual speed and indicated speed do not match. I had two GPS systems with my on my 2017 Raleigh Redux eBike with a Brose system. The GPS indicated around 26 MPH when the Brose controller indicates 28 MPH. Many controllers can be calibrated by changing the wheel size, sometimes by using circumference which would be most accurate.

1 week ago

I am looking at the Raleigh Sprite and the Detour (both step-through versions) and it looks like the biggest technical difference is the motor, one has torque and one has Candice sensing PAS. I think the Candice can have a throttle attachment installed, but am unsure if the torque one can? Which one would be the better bang for the buck, and how often is throttle really used if you have something that is Torque generated. I am new to biking and would be using it for about a 16mile Round trip commute 4x a week.


Ravi Kempaiah
2 weeks ago

I woulds say so. At $2500, this is a great bike. A similar bike from Trek or other manufacturer would easily cost you $4000.

2 weeks ago

Thanks for the quick response. My local shop has the Trekking 4.0 for $2500, the Raleigh Redux IE for $2900, and the Sturmvogel Evo for $2500. Is the Trekking the best choice at these prices?

bob armani
3 weeks ago

Surfstar-I agree with you on many of your points and your suggestions in your post. Everyone likes a great deal during the winter/spring sales. Can't beat it! Paying retail sucks when there are bargains out there with much better components. I also have issues with Haibikes missing wanted components. Somehow you'll have to mix and match comparisons on those bikes to get close to what you really want in an ebike. The Urban Plus is great, I just wish it had an option to either use COBI or use a traditional center mount display like an Intuvia or something similar.
Not sure if one can be retrofitted or not??

I also like Surface604 as well. Their full Carbon Oryx for 4k is a real beauty of a bike, however, never discounted. Looks like a very solid company for well built ebikes.

Juiced may not be a bad choice considering Tora has made some improvements and looks like his heart is into making a good product. A lot of bike for the $$$ and you can also make mods later if you see fit. I myself like rear hub drives with a TMM4 torque sensor on any ebike. Mid-drives have their place, but for commuting, that is my preference. Love the zippy feeling off the line in any gear from the powerful 350/500 watt motor. :p

3 weeks ago

I don't mean to be rude but to find one of those %50 mid drive deals, I did a lot of homework and in the end I could have easily gotten "screwed" by at least $600-1000 because no one bothered to decrease even $50 (When I got in touch with one of the dealers on this forums he wasn't even taking one step back from the 2300+tax of a 2016 xduro cross which I eventually got it from another online store "brand new" for $700 less after tax. The same dealer advertised that bike for $1700 after a month,another one ,a lbs, was trying to sell me a 2016 demo fullnine RC for 3000+tax now 2017 fullnine 6.0 (same components + 500W battery) is sold $2200 Brand New.) .

You should understand that you are lucky and having those really nice deals without even having to worry about it, quite frankly for those prices you can just get a non-electric version of those bikes. I understand wanting throttle but I have to say your range with a throttle may not be much. If you are fit and if you don't want to tire yourself out just put it to the highest assist level and you will have a very comfortable ride.

3 weeks ago

Another set of test rides yesterday at a different shop (I wanted to ride my mtb there, but somehow the rear tire has gone completely flat and won't hold air - WTH)

Still trying to find a "cheap" hub motor setup to simulate riding a RadCity. The shop didn't carry the $1550 bike they showed online. Their only hub motor was a $3000 setup (emotion evo street), but I still took that for a spin, and then a couple mid-drive Giant bikes.

This was good, as it cemented a major realization for me:
I prefer the "lazy" ability of a throttle. All of the mid-drive, torque sensors are really just like riding a bike, but faster/easier. They still require a workout, which is not what I'm actually looking for. I want a faster, non-sweaty, biking commute. Its funny, though, as I am someone who prefers to be active - we run, hike, rock climb, surf, etc., and I do like biking; I just want to have the ability to not have to push when pedaling up a slight hill, and the mid-drive torque motors aren't meeting that for my needs - they require too much push on the pedals to give full assist, for me. Also, the mid-drives require you to stay on top of your shifting for best performance - just like riding a real bike. If I wanted to get a workout and everything, I would just buy a hybrid city commuter, for like $500, that was a little bit faster than my current mtb and ride a regular bike to work. That's not what I'm looking for in an ebike, I've realized.

The other conflict, is that I love a great deal (who doesn't!?!) - and all of the crazy 50% off deals I've been finding, are mid-drives!

If I was short, I'd grab the Raleigh Sprint IE - one left on their website for $1499, and you can add a boost (throttle) to it. If I could somehow know that the IZIP/Raleigh boost button would be able to adapt to the Haibike Urban Plus, I'd go that route (same TranzX motor, but Haibike may use a different controller? The Haibike does offer shift detection vs the others). If someone wants to buy this bike, they should click-through ActiveJunky.com for another 3% discount (use this link: https://www.activejunky.com/invite/18072 and you get an extra $10 if its your first time - so figure a small frame Sprint IE for $1450 after discounts!) https://raleighelectric.com/sprint-ie

Then I also see a Misceo IE Sport for half off - again, great price, hydraulic brakes, decent components, but mid-drive, no throttle. For anyone else looking: https://www.bikesourceonline.com/product/raleigh-electric-misceo-sport-ie-255681-1.htm

As, you can see, I'm good at finding deals online, but have yet to find one on a bike that will fit my "wants." Missed a quick deal on a Surface 604 Colt http://www.ebikesofne.com/Colt-Surface604-p/colt-surface-604.htm $1539, but now out of stock. That I should have jumped on.

So, I'm now leaning towards the Juiced CrossCurrent S - but, I hate to pay full retail, plus tax (CA). That puts it into the same price range as all of the Haibikes I've been looking at. And those seem like a better bike, although I would prefer the hub motor and throttle. As part of my deal finding knack - I hate paying full price for something ;) and feel that the RadCity and CCS would suit me well, IF I snagged a deal on one - like $200 off or something - lol. Just hard for me to pay the same price for a direct to consumer RadCity/CCS, when the fit and finish of a Haibike is much better! I do enjoy getting a good value for my dollar, but the lack of throttle is preventing me from the Haibikes. I realize that I'm such a sucker for a good deal / value, and that is strongly pulling me towards the Urban Plus. If only it could adapt the boost-throttle!

Just some more insight into my thought process as I figure this thing out. Ironically, I may go full circle and just get the RadCity which is what originally got me looking at ebikes...!

7 months ago

I just did a demo ride of a 2016 Misceo IE in Missoula (I live in Hamilton) today. What a nice bike! It's very quiet and smooth. The gears shift nicely and quietly. I didn't have a chance to get it out to try anything other then ECO mode. The guys at the shop didn't know anything about the auto shifting but it probably would have needed a software update anyway. I plan to give it some thought over the weekend but I think I'll get it. I just want it for riding around Hamilton running errands. I'm 78 so I'm not going to go conquer mountains anymore . I understand the issue with the front fork and lack of suspension but it's a class 1 pedelec so probably can get away without the front suspension but I will get a ThudBuster suspension seat post straight away. With a nice Topeak rack and MTX trunk bag, fenders, kickstand, larger size pedals, and Ergo grips, it should be a great commuter/urban bike. I'm sorry there are no bosses for a bottle cage and/or pump.

Oops! Just did a little more research and discovered that the Misceo IE that I test rode was actually a 2015 model. The Raleigh dealer didn't know the difference. No bottle bosses, no kickstand, narrower tire (I think), and smaller diameter seat post. Won't be buying a Misceo IE. Raleigh says that it's the end of the model. I'll have to keep an eye out for what's shown at the upcoming InterBike expo.

1 year ago

I rode the Trek XM700+, the Raleigh Misceo iE with the Alfine hub, and the Raleigh Detour IE. I liked them in that order, although none of them were an XL frame. Hoping to ride a Juiced Cross Current next week.

2 years ago

I tried all the Stromers, some Raleigh's and Kalkofes and Easy Motions 2016 650b. It's a great event, everyone was cool and getting a chance to ride every type of ebike in succession is nice for comparison. The DI2 electronic shifting is a game changer. On the St2s and one of the Raleigh Misceo iE, I mean words can't describe the smoothness, and flow that they bring to shifting gears. A lot of the problem with eBikes right now is meshing of gears and with shift sensing devices like e-rad kits are solving that problem, but not in comparison to what the Di2 brings to the table. By far the 3 best bikes I tried Friday and Saturday were the St2s, Misceo iE, and the 27.5 EM.

Iam going again on Sunday night though. I'm going to try some folding bikes, and some other brands like BESV and TEMPO, because I haven't tried any of their bikes yet.

Jack Tyler
2 years ago

For those missed it, Court did a follow-up review of the https://electricbikereview.com/raleigh/misceo-ie/ and found a number aspects more refined. 700 x 40c wheels & tires, tho'...so definitely not like the gorgeous MTB pictured above. (There's also ahttps://electricbikereview.com/raleigh/misceo-sport-ie/, more of a city commuter but without Di2 shifting or IHG.)

"STePS MTB is projected to be available to consumers from October 2016, so we expect to see it get spec’ed on a number of e-bikes that we will seen debuted at the autumn trade shows." http://www.bikerumor.com/2016/04/28/shimano-takes-ebikes-off-road-xt-level-steps-mtb/.

2 years ago

@otostrano, you guys have 2 Misceo iE bikes listed on your page under Home > E-Bikes > Raleigh Electric Bikes. Just wanted to make sure they're the same. Would like to know how much shipped to 20032 and also if you're able to update to 2016 firmware (auto shift) before shipping. Thanks!!

P.S. please let me know if you guys offer any other discounts, i.e. military.

2 years ago

I used to say/think suspension wasn't needed unless you were 'gimpy' in some area. Then I got one. Wow. I'll probably not buy another bike without suspension.
It's a simple swap in most cases, but check first with Raleigh. Then don't buy the fork new from a LBS!! ($$$) Ebay or Craigs list for 1/4-1/2 the price. Or see if the LBS has "take offs" they've kept. (dont' know if they do that)
LOTS of lower end forks taken off the bike when purchased to upgrade and never used. Cheap.
If you aren't over 200lbs, spring forks with the proper springs are still the best in use. Air forks do great on the occasional pothole type impact but can't respond quickly to small inputs like whoop de doo's off road (think wake up strips in the roads) nearly as well.
You can buy a nice lower end but perfectly functional Roxshox or Fox for $100-150, get the spring for your weight and you love it. You can pay $1,000+ for a top of the line fork now! And it won't be "that" much better than that $300 fork you buy on ebay for $100. ;)
You can also put the cartridge (tuning part) of a "better" fork into the tubes of a "cheaper" fork (has to be sized the same!) and get dramatically better results.
I had a low end Giant mtb with a Rockshox 32(?) and with the hd spring (200+lbs) and a cartridge from a much more expensive Rockshox (Reba?) it was fabulous. I had $75 in the spring and cartridge.
I have air fork now on my Haibike and it's impressive as heck, especially given my 225lbs.
I also had a carbon fiber fork on a Stromer ST1 and it made a noticeable difference over a steel fork but wasn't near a suspension fork in ride quality. Carbon fiber = Good Suspension = WOW!

PS - Lucky you! Are you going to stay there in winter? Culture shock? LOL

Jack Tyler
2 years ago

Court's review of the updated, lower priced https://electricbikereview.com/raleigh/misceo-ie/ was just recently posted. It seems to meet most of my requirements with two exceptions, and I'm especially impressed that all this capability can be found in a 43# bike. One of my two reservations has to do with the lack of a front fork suspension, which I prefer because I'm an older guy who wants to mitigate elbow/wrist/hand shock loading on longer (20 mi) rides. Can I please ask for some comments about what's involved in swapping out the fork assembly. The added weight (the amount depending on the kind of fork) and cost (air suspensions are more costly than spring types, yes?) both argue against doing this. A non-starter? I'm not sure that carbon fork is going to make that much difference on worn paved roads and maintained trails of mixed composition. Any thoughts about that, too? Thanks, everyone!

Two weeks out from moving to Montana...

2 years ago

The E-Bike store - 809 N. Rosa Parks Way, Portland, Or 97217 503-360-1432
Their website shows the Raleigh Misceo iE that your looking for. Call and see if they have it in stock.
The Portland Ebike Expo will be in Portland on May 20th. It is mentioned that they will have 80 bikes on hand to test.

Cameron Newland
2 years ago

It might be worth it to fly down to either San Francisco or Los Angeles for a day. That way, you can test out bikes to your heart's content at Motostrano/EBIKELANE, The New Wheel, The IZIP Store (which carries Raleigh), or Bike Attack Electric. Seattle also has a few shops to choose from, and is only a quick train ride away. Then you'd probably have a better idea of what you'd ultimately want to buy.

Gibran Ramos
2 years ago

Do you know if the beeping (shift indicator) can be turned off?

2 years ago

great review. That auto shift if neat. I might have to wait to find a more upright bike with this combo.

2 years ago

Yeah, I am sure there will be more in 2017 and that Shimano will improve their battery design ;)

Thordur Hognason
2 years ago

is Raleigh from US or UK?

Bill Ostrowski
2 years ago

Great reviews. I bought this bike after watching your videos. Because of your video I schooled the bike shop on the differences between the 2015 and 2016. They ordered in the 2016 for me and were thankful for info. Thanks Cort.

Raleigh Electric
7 months ago

That's awesome! We're happy the review helped you. Hope you love it!

Mark Elford
2 years ago

Impressive machine.

Raleigh Electric
7 months ago

Thank you!

2 years ago

Such a nice bike!

Raleigh Electric
7 months ago

Thanks! We like it, too!

Jone Gomez
2 years ago

I was living under a rock coz didn't know Shimano had their own e-bike system, sweet bike!

Jone Gomez
2 years ago

+brighton dude accidentally deleted the previous comment. That's a sweet alternative, unfortunately don't have the space. And yes bicycles suffer in this Finnish weather, but is almost the rule to leave them outside (unless you have the space). Thanks for replying.

brighton dude
2 years ago

+Juan Nieve - Do you have room for something like the Trimetals bike store?


I think any bicycle will be better protected from the elements.

Tanish Skanda G
2 years ago

can u do a Audi ebike review please I want to see it

2 years ago

just checked your review of last years model this is $500 less than last years and better.

2 years ago

Great review - do they make a bike with all the features you listed - plus a throttle control and bigger digital screen as well - Class 2?

Brentt Moore
2 years ago

Love the automatic shifting!

Bao Dang
2 years ago

I'm loving these daily reviews. keep it up!

2 years ago

Electronic shifting, awesome. Now I wait for an internally geared hub in the back(also electronic) and a band instead of a chain. When those two come to a nice mountain bike like the Haibike, I'll look to purchase. I like the Haibike completely carbon rims to have even less maintenance(truing) but the price is already high enough...

2 years ago

thats a very good bike.

Sita van Waarde
2 years ago

Love your reviews thanks man !

Sita van Waarde
2 years ago

Nice Bike ! ,... Ian from Holland where can i buy this .??!