Raleigh Misceo iE Review

2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Electric Bike Review
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie 250 Watt Middrive Motor Shimano Steps
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Shimano Steps 36 Volt Downtub Battery
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Lcd Console Electronic Button Pads
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Flat Rubber Grips
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Carbon Fiber Fork
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Shimano Alfine Internal 8 Speed Chain Tensioner
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Shimano M445 Hydraulic Disc Brakes 160 Mm
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Kickstand
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Shimano Steps Charger
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Electric Bike Review
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie 250 Watt Middrive Motor Shimano Steps
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Shimano Steps 36 Volt Downtub Battery
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Lcd Console Electronic Button Pads
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Flat Rubber Grips
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Carbon Fiber Fork
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Shimano Alfine Internal 8 Speed Chain Tensioner
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Shimano M445 Hydraulic Disc Brakes 160 Mm
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Kickstand
2016 Raleigh Misceo Ie Shimano Steps Charger

Summary

  • A sporty, light weight electric bicycle with automatic electronic shifting, improved geometry and motor mount since 2015, carbon fiber fork
  • Shimano hydraulic disc brakes with two-finger levers for nimble operation, quick release front wheel for easier transport, removable display and battery pack
  • Available in four frame sizes for improved fit (one color and frame style, high-step), nine speed drivetrain with well-protected internally geared Shimano Alfine hub
  • the battery pack has to be removed from the frame to be charged, power transfer is great but the frame is stiff, the display panel is small but highly adjustable and backlit

Search EBR

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Raleigh

Model:

Misceo iE

Price:

$2,699

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Road

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

43.5 lbs ( 19.73 kg )

Battery Weight:

5.8 lbs ( 2.63 kg )

Motor Weight:

7.05 lbs ( 3.19 kg )

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Sizes:

15 in ( 38.1 cm )17 in ( 43.18 cm )19 in ( 48.26 cm )21 in ( 53.34 cm )

Geometry Measurements:

30" Stand Over Height and 72" Length on the Medium 17" Frame

Frame Material:

6061 Custom Butted Aluminum Alloy

Frame Colors:

Metallic Blue with Black Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Carbon Fiber

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Alfine Internally Geared Hub with Di2 Electronic Shifting and Auto-Shift, 18T Sprocket

Shifter Details:

Shimano Di2 Electronic

Cranks:

38T Chainring

Pedals:

Welgo R200 Aluminum Alloy Platform, Track Style

Headset:

FSA Integrated Cartridge Bearings

Stem:

3D Forged, 31.8 mm Diameter, Lengths: 80 / 90 mm

Handlebar:

Aluminum Alloy 31.8 mm Diameter, 640 mm Length

Brake Details:

Shimano M445 Hydraulic Disc with 160 mm Rotors

Grips:

Raleigh Flat Rubber, Black

Saddle:

Velo Active, Raleigh Branded, Black

Seat Post:

2014 Aluminum Alloy with Quick Release Collar

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

Weinmann XM25 Double Wall, Aluminum Alloy

Spokes:

Stainless Steel 14 Gauge, Black

Tire Brand:

Kenda Kwick Bitumen, 700 x 40c

Wheel Sizes:

28 in ( 71.12 cm )

Tire Details:

60 TPI, Folding, 50 to 85 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Single Side Adjustable Length Kickstand, Plastic Chain Guide

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 3.1 Amp 1.7 Pound Charger, KMC X9E Chain, Shimano Center Lock Front Hub 36 Hole

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Shimano STePs

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Shimano STePs

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

417.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles ( 48 km )

Estimated Max Range:

50 miles ( 80 km )

Display Type:

Fixed, Adjustable Angle, Monochrome, Backlit LCD, Model SC-E6000

Readouts:

Speed (mph or km/h), Average Speed, Max Speed, Odometer, Trip Meter, Battery Level (5 Bars), Assist Mode (Eco, Normal, High), Time Clock

Display Accessories:

Independent Control Switches near Left and Right Grips

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50%, Normal 100%, High 200%)

Top Speed:

20 mph ( 32 kph )

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The 2016 Raleigh Misceo iE is a sporty city bike that could be used for road riding or commuting. The geometry is a bit more aggressive with a flatter handle bar, standard round grips and a firm saddle but it comes in four sizes and offers a carbon fiber fork to improve fit and address vibration (the frame is all Aluminum). Compared to the 2015 version you now get automatic shifting by default (people who have a 2015 model can take their ebike into a certified Shimano dealer to get the firmware upgrade) along with a thicker seat post, longer frame with box tubing on the seat stays and chain stays for improved lateral stiffness, the motor has been tipped down and is now horizontal like the other Shimano STePs powered Raleigh bikes vs. a 45 degree angle in 15″ and you get a pare of bottle cage braze-ons on the seat tube!

The frame improvements seem to have added ~2 pounds over the 2015 model but this is still a light weight electric bike at just 43.5 lbs (depending on the frame size you get, I was riding the Medium ~17″). Amazingly, the price tag is lower than 2015 as well with a listed price of $2,699 and you still get the two year comprehensive lifetime frame warranty. Other highlights for me are the quick release front wheel, removable battery and display (and just how easy the display is to navigate for things like disabling backlighting or the beeps) and the carbon fork. Some of the challenges I encountered include having to remove the battery for charging vs. leaving it on the frame.

The motor driving this bike is plenty powerful with a peak output at 500 watts and 50 Nm of torque, it responds proportionally to your pedaling input but also senses cadence so it’s not just as tiring to use and can be operated at slower speeds if you just pedal more gently (perhaps in crowded areas). With three levels of assist the range can per charge can be upwards of 50 miles if you’re on paved surfaces with higher tire pressure (up to 85 PSI) but the ride is stiffer… I’d probably grab a Body Float seat post suspension and 27.2 mm to 30.9 mm shim to make it work (Thudbuster also has a short travel suspension post that’s less expensive but also less responsive). There’s no throttle on this bike, you always have to pedal but that keeps it Class 1 (legally permitted in more locations) and this is the only Shimano STePs powered electric bicycle I’ve tested with shift detection! That’s due to the electronic shifting which is powered by the same battery and interacts with the motor. Similar shift sensing technology comes stock on Bosch and Impulse powered ebikes and helps to reduce chain, sprocket and gear wear. You can hear it in action during the test ride in the video review above.

Pros:

  • Fast and efficient wheels and tires, a more aggressive geometry with low-rise straight bar and carbon fiber fork for a sporty responsive feel
  • Improved frame geometry over 2015, the bike has been slightly elongated, the motor is horizontal vs. 45° angle and the rear stays have been transitioned from circular tubing to box which is stiffer – reducing lateral flex (side to side)
  • The Shimano Alfine 8 speed internally geared uses a compact electronic shifter that does not protrude beyond the frame so it’s more protected if it tips or is scraped against other bikes at the rack
  • Nice looking paint (but only available in one color, metallic blue) with black accents on the frame and black hubs, spokes, rims, bar, saddle and grips, the cables are internally routed for improved aesthetic and fewer snags
  • The carbon fiber fork should reduce vibration when riding and helps to keep the overall weight down, I also like that the front wheel uses quick release for easy transport
  • Plenty of mounting points for adding a rear rack, fenders and a bottle cage, folding lock or mini-presta pump to adapt to your environment and ride style (road riding vs. commuting)
  • Excellent two year comprehensive warranty and with lifetime on the frame, the price has been dropped since the 2015 model and is now more inline with competing offerings
  • Very light weight at ~43.5 pounds… though it’s a bit heavier than 2015 due to the reinforced, elongated frame and larger seat post diameter
  • The battery pack is locking, removable and only weighs ~5.8 pounds! I love that it fits on the downtube keeping weight low and centered but they still made room for bottle cage braze-ons
  • Quick release front and seat post for doing maintenance or adjusting fit on the go, I’d remove the front wheel and turn the bars sideways to fit in a car or smaller elevator
  • Quality hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano with medium sized 160 mm rotors for easy smooth stops, should reduce wrist fatigue, two-finger pull levers
  • Available in four frame sizes to suit a range of rider heights and leg lengths, I noticed the top tube is more nicely curved than it was in 2015 and the geometry is slightly less aggressive (seat tube and head tube seem more forward angled than before)
  • I was told that the bike comes with a kickstand and the demo model I reviewed had one! As someone who parks at shops and leaves his bike in the garage I like having it… it’s easy to take off but can be tricky to find a good matching kickstand to start
  • Just like the battery pack, the display panel is removable for safe storage… I like that it’s also easy to adjust (hold the up and down arrows simultaneously to enter the menu) so you can mute the beeping noise or turn off back lighting
  • Automatic shifting is a neat feature and I love that the 2015 model can get it with a firmware upgrade! It’s cool that you can also set the default gear to switch back to at rest and use manual shifting easily with the black button on the right button pad
  • It’s neat that the two electronic button pads are basically the sam and can be swapped right or left based on your preference, I found the menus simple to navigate and understand (hold the up and down arrows to ender settings to disable the beep, disable backlighting and change auto shift rpm activation)

Cons:

  • This ebike is more efficient and offers great power transfer but the tires are high pressure (50 to 85 PSI) so bumpy streets can feel a bit jarring, the fork is carbon fiber which helps with vibration but the saddle is firm, consider an aftermarket seat post suspension like the Body Float or Thudbuster with 30.9 mm diameter
  • The battery pack has an on/off button that is used to power cycle the bike vs. doing it up at the button pad and you have to completely remove the battery in order to charge it which increases the potential for drops and just takes extra time
  • Pedal assist only electric bike with no way to add a boost button or twist throttle, this keeps it rated at Class 1 which is usable in the most locations and also extends range by making you contribute to the ride and reducing air resistance at higher speeds compared with a speed-pedelec
  • The Shimano STePs display panel uses a smaller LCD display unit than Bosch, Yamaha, TranzX and some other leading suppliers so reading your speed and settings isn’t quite as easy for near-sighted folks like myself

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Raleigh Reviews

Raleigh Sprint iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A stealthy, fully-integrated speed pedelec (capable of hitting ~28 mph in pedal assist) with bosses for adding fenders, a rack or wiring in 6 volt lights to build a capable commuter. The M25GTS mid-drive motor from TranzX is smooth, relatively quiet and relies on a combination…...

Raleigh Tekoa iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A hardtail 29er electric mountain bike with powerful mid-drive motor (offering 73 Nm of torque and relatively quiet operation) driving a 10 speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain. Light weight RockShox XC32 Air suspension fork with 100 mm travel, lockout and preload adjust,…...

Raleigh Route iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high-speed urban electric bike with thru-axles for strength and a suspension for with lockout for improved comfort or efficiency. Larger wheelset and tires balance efficiency with comfort, three frame sizes deliver a range of…...

Raleigh Misceo Sport iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A feature complete, light weight commuter style electric bike (aluminum frame, carbon fiber fork) with great power transfer and an efficient, smooth mid-drive motor. Shimano hydraulic disc brakes with two-finger levers for nimble operation, quick wheels for easier transport,…...

Raleigh Detour iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An efficient, light weight commuter electric bike available in two frame sizes and high-step or low-step styles, the swept back bars and ergonomic grips support an active upright body position. Narrower tires, firm saddle and all-Aluminum frame and fork provide great power transfer when pedaling…...

Raleigh Sprite iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An approachable electric bike with deep low-step frame, adjustable stem, swept back handle bars and a large comfortable saddle. Simple linear pull brakes work well and are easy to adjust, quick release skewers on…...

2015 Raleigh Misceo iE Review

  • MSRP: $3,200
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A light weight, super efficient, city style electric bike with electronic shifting in addition to motorized pedal assist. Available in four frame sizes (small through extra large), fairly comfortable to ride given the…...

2015 Raleigh Tekoa iE Review

  • MSRP: $3,300
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Well-balanced 29er style electric mountain bike capable of 28 mph in speed pedal assist mode. Quick release front and rear wheels, hydraulic 180 mm disc brakes, air suspension with lockout...

Raleigh Venture iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,400
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A comfortable, quiet city cruiser available in high-step and low-step frame configurations as well as multiple sizes for improved fit. Swept back handlebars, ergonomic grips and pedals, suspension fork and suspension seat post with oversized…...

2015 Raleigh Detour iE Review

  • MSRP: $2,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Urban style electric bike with functional rear rack and fenders available in high-step and step-thru. Two frame sizes for better fit, swept-back handlebars and sprung saddle for comfortable upright position...


Jack Tyler
11 months ago

Court, you are obviously on a real 'roll' right now with the many iZip & Raleigh reviews you are pumping out. I especially appreciated you explaining, in the Dash review, the 'brand differentiation' between the almost identical iZip and Raleigh models. Takes me back to those Dodge vs. Plymouth or Oldsmobile vs. Buick days, which didn't produce much product differentiation but rather just added overhead. Two Q's about the Misceo iE please: There's much that appeals for my intended purposes (around town + maintained trails with some elevation changes): decent mileage, the protected internal hub gearing, shift sensing and, perhaps most important, lighter weight. Q1: Being an older guy, I favor an ebike with a front suspension, even an inexpensive one, to help mitigate joint pain on longer rides. How much difference would the carbon fiber fork really make in helping me avoid cumulative shock loading on elbows/wrists/hands? Or more generally, does it in reality boil down to 'front suspension' or 'no front suspension'? And Q2: Alpine's IGH looks like a pretty specialized piece of gear, while I expect to be riding in a somewhat remote community (Bozeman, MT), not unlike your Uncle in CO. How reliable are these Alpine IGH units proving to be...and if a problem develops, is it likely I could ship off just the wheel/hub assembly for service or repair? There's no nearby Alpine expertise available where I'll be located.

Once again, congrats on these super helpful reviews. I feel like I'm getting much closer to what I really should be purchasing due to these reviews and these follow-on 'discussions' you offer.

Court Rye
11 months ago

Hi Jack, glad you found some value in the crossover comparisons, I'm trying to be respectful to the companies and allow each bike to stand on its own but my real goal is to help potential buyers navigate the space and find the right fit for their budget and intended use.

Q1: I personally would only ever ride the Misceo iE or Sport iE on paved surfaces... and they would have to be smooth. You really feel the bumps and a suspension fork and larger tires goes a long way. This is why I appreciate the Raleigh Route iE and IZIP E3 Dash so much. These models offer suspension, cost about the same as the Misceo iE but don't have the shift sensing or internally geared hub. For me, the body comfort outweighs the cool internal gearing and shift sensing... you can replace your chain and derailleur if they wear down prematurely due to lack of shift sensing but you can't replace your back, neck headache etc.

Q2: I have way less experience and feedback here... I've heard that the NuVinci variable speed transmission can work well on ebikes since there are no gears inside (just a slide and range of "gears") and also that the Rohloff Speedhub often used on Optibikes is sturdy. Here's a conversation from the EBR forums about this topic (though it's a bit outdated).

Glad the site and my feedback has helped, if you have any feedback about the videos, writeups or other work I do please chime in. I'm always trying to evolve and adapt the work I do. Recently I've emphasized more pro/con bullets and shorter writeups letting the video do more of the discussion. My aim is to continue doing a higher number of reviews to help convey the landscape vs. just a handful of bikes.

Bill Ostrowski
11 months ago

Court, I picked up my Misceo iE and the 2016 is pretty nice to look at. There are a lot of changes over the 2015. I do have a question about bike stems. After riding it for a while a realized I would like a more relaxed ride. Any high rise stems you might recommend? Maybe something with suspension?

Court Rye
11 months ago

Hi Bill! Glad you're enjoying the latest Misceo iE... I also prefer a more relaxed (comfortable) ride and have purchased seat post suspensions like Thudbuster in the past (Body Float makes one that's a bit more expensive) but I have not heard of suspension stems? Maybe a suspension fork could useful, I'm not sure on the measurements or details, consider contacting Raleigh for help, their website has live chat :)

Bill Ostrowski
11 months ago

Court here is a suspension stem that is coming out. It sounds like it's releasing in May-June 2016. If you could get a demo unit, it might make an interesting YouTube video.

Court Rye
11 months ago

This looks awesome! Excellent suggestion Bill, thank you. I just reached out to the company and offered to buy one at cost for review and am hoping to test it for commuting and do a full review this summer :D

Ray T
11 months ago

I really like this bike because it looks like a standard fitness hybrid bike. I'm glad you reviewed it, I like the overview of the Shimano StePs system.

The only thing I wish is that they didn't have that chain tensioner in the back that looks like a derailleur. Other regular bikes that have a Shimano internal hub manage to avoid it, example here. That's one of the advantages of internal hubs because it's doesn't have a derailleur hanging out to get bent.

The fact that it has DI2 electronic shifting for this kind of price is pretty amazing. The Alfine Di2 hub is a pretty expensive part by itself that are usually on bikes $1000+ and it seems that Raleigh's MSRP has been lowered this year making it even better value.

As a guy that owns a few regular bicycles, I tend to like e-bikes that are based off regular models of bikes, because 1) they usually offer them in more sizes 2) they tend to look more like regular bicycles and don't stand out as much. This Raleigh looks like any other $700 hybrid, rather than something that screams e-bike.

Court Rye
10 months ago

Good points, I agree with you about the sizes and style. Not sure why they felt it was critical to include a chain tensioner? Perhaps it's more important with a mid-drive system to prevent chain slip or maybe they were having trouble with the chain coming off which I've experienced on a lot of cheaper ebikes.

Scott Tucker
9 months ago

Hey Court, do you know how to go about the firmware update? I don't see any computer compatible plugs on the controller? Also, I love my Misceo except am interested in a little more top speed. Looking at the Specialized turbos and wondering how you would compare the Misceo vs. the Turbo for commuting. I have a rolling 18 miles commute each way. Thanks for your knowledge. Scott

Court Rye
9 months ago

Hi Scott! I believe you'll need to take the bike into a Raleigh dealer so they can hook it up to their diagnostics system for a firmware update. There might be a special dongle and software required that consumers can't get themselves :/ as far as the Turbo... I really like that bike, it looks cool and goes faster (between 26 and 28 mph depending on the model you get) which can shorten commute times but also drain the battery faster. Another consideration is the lack of suspension with the Turbo and some other road-oriented Class 3 ebikes. You've probably already experienced the sportier rigid feel with your Misceo. The Turbo is cool because it operates very quietly thanks to a gearless hub motor vs. mid-drive and that motor re-captures some energy with regenerative braking. Same with the Stromer ebikes.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Kaldeem
8 months ago
JayVee
What bikes did you try? Curious to hear about your thoughts...
I tried all the Stromers, some Raleigh's and Kalkofes and Easy Motions 2016 650b. It's a great event, everyone was cool and getting a chance to ride every type of ebike in succession is nice for comparison. The DI2 electronic shifting is a game changer. On the St2s and one of the Raleigh Misceo iE, I mean words can't describe the smoothness, and flow that they bring to shifting gears. A lot of the problem with eBikes right now is meshing of gears and with shift sensing devices like e-rad kits are solving that problem, but not in comparison to what the Di2 brings to the table. By far the 3 best bikes I tried Friday and Saturday were the St2s, Misceo iE, and the 27.5 EM.

Iam going again on Sunday night though. I'm going to try some folding bikes, and some other brands like BESV and TEMPO, because I haven't tried any of their bikes yet.
TrevorB
9 months ago
I
Scott Tucker
Hello all. I have a Misceo for commuting and I love it. The only thing I'd like to tweek is the 19.5mph cuttoff. Not looking for 40 mph, but maybe 25-28 for those gentle downhill grades. Does anyone know if there is a way to cheat the wheel size?
You don't know how lucky you are, I dream of 20mph cutoff. My STEPs is set to Europe 25km/h (15mph) limit and it is pain in inner city traffic. Ask local shop to look into increasing it as NZ only has power limit (300W) but no speed limit yet.
Scott Tucker
9 months ago
Hello all. I have a Misceo for commuting and I love it. The only thing I'd like to tweek is the 19.5mph cuttoff. Not looking for 40 mph, but maybe 25-28 for those gentle downhill grades. Does anyone know if there is a way to cheat the wheel size?
Ann M.
9 months ago
JayVee, the Shimano Steps 250watt mid drive has less torque to begin with than any of the Bosch motors, 50 Nm (see stats from Court's Raleigh Misceo review); however, I agree with J.R. that tweaking how responsive the motor is, faster engagement, etc. might go a long way to create a better ride. You're fortunate to live in a town with such an amazing free loaner ebike program.
Jack Tyler
10 months ago
For those missed it, Court did a follow-up review of the 2016 review of the Misceo Sport iE, more of a city commuter but without Di2 shifting or IHG.)

"STePS MTB is projected to be available to consumers from October 2016, so we expect to see it get spec’ed on a number of e-bikes that we will seen debuted at the autumn trade shows." Or so says this short article on Bike Rumor.
n1smo
10 months ago
@motostrano, you guys have 2 Misceo iE bikes listed on your page under Home > E-Bikes > Raleigh Electric Bikes. Just wanted to make sure they're the same. Would like to know how much shipped to 20032 and also if you're able to update to 2016 firmware (auto shift) before shipping. Thanks!!

P.S. please let me know if you guys offer any other discounts, i.e. military.
Jack Tyler
11 months ago
@MLB, thanks. Just the kind of detailed perspective I was looking for. I posted a somewhat similar Q to Court below his most recent Misceo review and he said something very similar (WRT the Misceo) altho' he put it in the context of which road surfaces on which it was comfortably capable of being used. Bottom line: smoother pavement. That's certainly not the only surface I'm going to be riding on in/around Bozeman. I've had a front suspension on my 'features' requirements list for about as long as I've been researching ebikes. Now I know there are options even after I choose a specific ebike model and get what it comes with. Lots of different head tube sizes...or is that fairly standardized?

And yes, the move to BZN is going to be both a cultural shock over Florida (in a good way, IMO) and a real weather change. OTOH we've already lived there 3 months of one winter and have also lived in CT, NJ, MD and near the Sierras in NV, so this won't quite be the shock it would otherwise have been. Thanks again.

Jack
MLB
11 months ago
Jack Tyler
Court's review of the updated, lower priced 2016 Misceo iE was just recently posted. It seems to meet most of my requirements with two exceptions, and I'm especially impressed that all this capability can be found in a 43# bike. One of my two reservations has to do with the lack of a front fork suspension, which I prefer because I'm an older guy who wants to mitigate elbow/wrist/hand shock loading on longer (20 mi) rides. Can I please ask for some comments about what's involved in swapping out the fork assembly. The added weight (the amount depending on the kind of fork) and cost (air suspensions are more costly than spring types, yes?) both argue against doing this. A non-starter? I'm not sure that carbon fork is going to make that much difference on worn paved roads and maintained trails of mixed composition. Any thoughts about that, too? Thanks, everyone!

Jack
Two weeks out from moving to Montana...

I used to say/think suspension wasn't needed unless you were 'gimpy' in some area. Then I got one. Wow. I'll probably not buy another bike without suspension.
It's a simple swap in most cases, but check first with Raleigh. Then don't buy the fork new from a LBS!! ($$$) Ebay or Craigs list for 1/4-1/2 the price. Or see if the LBS has "take offs" they've kept. (dont' know if they do that)
LOTS of lower end forks taken off the bike when purchased to upgrade and never used. Cheap.
If you aren't over 200lbs, spring forks with the proper springs are still the best in use. Air forks do great on the occasional pothole type impact but can't respond quickly to small inputs like whoop de doo's off road (think wake up strips in the roads) nearly as well.
You can buy a nice lower end but perfectly functional Roxshox or Fox for $100-150, get the spring for your weight and you love it. You can pay $1,000+ for a top of the line fork now! And it won't be "that" much better than that $300 fork you buy on ebay for $100.
You can also put the cartridge (tuning part) of a "better" fork into the tubes of a "cheaper" fork (has to be sized the same!) and get dramatically better results.
I had a low end Giant mtb with a Rockshox 32(?) and with the hd spring (200+lbs) and a cartridge from a much more expensive Rockshox (Reba?) it was fabulous. I had $75 in the spring and cartridge.
I have air fork now on my Haibike and it's impressive as heck, especially given my 225lbs.
I also had a carbon fiber fork on a Stromer ST1 and it made a noticeable difference over a steel fork but wasn't near a suspension fork in ride quality. Carbon fiber = Good Suspension = WOW!
JMO

PS - Lucky you! Are you going to stay there in winter? Culture shock? LOL
Jack Tyler
11 months ago
Court's review of the updated, lower priced 2016 Misceo iE was just recently posted. It seems to meet most of my requirements with two exceptions, and I'm especially impressed that all this capability can be found in a 43# bike. One of my two reservations has to do with the lack of a front fork suspension, which I prefer because I'm an older guy who wants to mitigate elbow/wrist/hand shock loading on longer (20 mi) rides. Can I please ask for some comments about what's involved in swapping out the fork assembly. The added weight (the amount depending on the kind of fork) and cost (air suspensions are more costly than spring types, yes?) both argue against doing this. A non-starter? I'm not sure that carbon fork is going to make that much difference on worn paved roads and maintained trails of mixed composition. Any thoughts about that, too? Thanks, everyone!

Jack
Two weeks out from moving to Montana...
Tom
12 months ago
The E-Bike store - 809 N. Rosa Parks Way, Portland, Or 97217 503-360-1432
Their website shows the Raleigh Misceo iE that your looking for. Call and see if they have it in stock.
The Portland Ebike Expo will be in Portland on May 20th. It is mentioned that they will have 80 bikes on hand to test.
Cameron Newland
1 year ago
Cbehba
I live in Portland, OR and there are just a few ebike shops here, but they don't have the best selection of bikes. They have the popular EMotion bikes, but not ones I'm interested in.

I'm liking the EMotion Xenion Cross and the Raleigh Misceo iE.

I wish I could test ride these bikes, but there isn't really any way I could. I don't want to order one and end up not liking it. Any advice?
It might be worth it to fly down to either San Francisco or Los Angeles for a day. That way, you can test out bikes to your heart's content at Motostrano/EBIKELANE, The New Wheel, The IZIP Store (which carries Raleigh), or Bike Attack Electric. Seattle also has a few shops to choose from, and is only a quick train ride away. Then you'd probably have a better idea of what you'd ultimately want to buy.
GregS
1 year ago
Thank you for your concern, J. R. My dream ebike lies somewhere between a Raleigh Misceo and a Canondale Contro E Rigid if you include a throttle/boost (or joy) button for the same price that Tim sells his bikes. But that is not going to happen. Besides, next year it may be a completely different bike that I lust after.

I rode the bikes that piqued my interest and I visited most of the shops. I found Tim's bikes to be solid and at a price point that allows me to enter into the world of electric bikes at a level that I am comfortable with. Not only that but when he didn't exactly have what I wanted he worked with me to make modifications at cost in many cases. Tim is more than accommodating to my needs. Yes, his bikes are custom builds from components he puts together from outside suppliers. His bikes are not as shiny and new-fangled as some of the ebikes that I've ridden. But I am confident that he knows and has tested himself every component that goes on his ebikes, which I can assure you is not the case with the majority of the shops I visited. With the exception of two other shops in Santa Monica, BM E-Bike shop was the only other shop I visited dedicated solely to electric bikes. In addition, Tim's shop was the only shop I visited that actually built the bikes they were selling. No, he doesn't have the resources of a corporation with a team of engineers in the home factory with a worldwide network of vendors. He has a shop that a person can visit in real life, or virtually online, where you can talk to the owner and builder of the bike you want. I find Tim's entrepreneurial spirit to be admirable especially especially in our society where we expect things to have known and recognizable labels of large brands.

I became interested in ebikes for two reasons. One, to help myself get more active as I get older and am faced with health conditions I didn't have when I was younger. Secondly, I felt really wasteful every time I started a gas motor to drive a car or ride a Vespa/motorcycle to work a short commute away. I couldn't ride a regular bike so I became really happy to find the world of ebikes (much cheaper than the Zero motorcycles I was looking at from afar). My goal is to better my health and to lower my carbon footprint. My girlfriend and I don't have children but we want to do our part to save our part of the environment for future generations. Riding an ebike in Los Angeles takes another car or motorcycle off the road for that day. If I can do that 100, 200 or even 300 days a year I'll be a happy guy. If by doing so, I can show a friend or coworker to do likewise, even better.

In closing, ebikes are a really fast growing and innovative technology that will see growth by leaps and bounds (hopefully). An older guy like me has a few bucks to be an early adopter and hopefully the newer products down the line will be affordable and ridden by a new generation of kids who don't want the hassle of driving anyway (according to nephews and nieces I talk to). And most importantly, if I really want my bike to be efficient, cost-effective and to increase the range of a single charge.... well, all I have to do is pedal harder
Steve Ryu
1 year ago
David Barovian
I found link of Volt Infinity e-bike specs. It looks like Misceo iE.

Max Person Weight: Max 100 Kg (220 lbs)
Max Weight (rider + luggage): 125 Kg (275)

http://www.voltbikes.co.uk/infinity-hybrid-e-bike.php
250lbs should be a good approx estimate for the Misceo iE. Industry standard weight capacity for carbon forks is about 280. I'm about 240 and can get around on the Misceo fine.

David, to clarify what's been said earlier, weights will be determined based on frames vs. drive systems. I do remember you asked about the Raleigh Detour iE which is a completely different built than the Misceo. The Misceo iE is 43lbs after pedals are installed, definitely on the lighter spectrum, the Raleigh Detour iE will be a little heavier and also have a beefier rear end to support the rear rack battery.
David Barovian
1 year ago
I found link of Volt Infinity e-bike specs. It looks like Misceo iE.

Max Person Weight: Max 100 Kg (220 lbs)
Max Weight (rider + luggage): 125 Kg (275)

http://www.voltbikes.co.uk/infinity-hybrid-e-bike.php
Steve Ryu
1 year ago
David Barovian
Change Shimano Steps mid-size motors for 2016 new Raleigh bikes. No longer to make Currie hub wheel motors. Why? I plan to buy 2015 Raleigh Route IE and some sale about $1800. Cheap price but it s heavy weight as 55 lbs. I like 2016 Route IE (mid-motor) and lightweight but little expensive as $2600. I will wait for low cost next spring. Do you know Shimano Steps mid-motor is better than Currie hub motor?
@David Barovian I think you may mean the Detour iE as that is the only bike that is changing to the Shimano STEPS. The Route iE will have a Currie Drive mid drive motor similar to that of the Tekoa iE. If you're curious about what STEPs feels like, see if you local shop as the Misceo iE and test ride that. The Misceo iE has the same Shimano STEPS motor, and that should let you know if it's worth it or not.
Cameron Newland
1 year ago
Tom G
I purchased a Raleigh Misceo IE for my wife about a month ago after a careful comparison to the Specialized turbo. THe Raleigh was the clear winner for her - it rides much more like a 'real' bike, is considerably lighter with better weight distribution, and has much longer effective range. I'll put some more comments here:
Steve Ryu
1 year ago
Logan Gogarty
http://www.motostrano.com/Raleigh-Misceo-iE-Sport-Electric-Bike-Motostrano-p/misceoiesport.htm is this the IE Sport Raleigh? It says it goes 28 mph online. I'm not familiar with the Shimano STEPs system is it reliable?

Here is the diamondback http://www.diamondback.com/bikes-ebike-ecity-trace-exc

Any suggestions on front fork suspension? Is that a critical component for a lot of ebike riders or are rigid frames bearable?

I'm trying to decide how important fenders, lights, and the the bike cargo tray are. I know I can get these things aftermarket and bolt them on or I can find a bike that already has it. I know the bike rack is essential to keep my back from getting sweaty from a backpack. I also would like the ease of having lights that I don't forget to turn off and drain the batteries on. Fenders are not the most important if I'm changing my clothes anyways but I may not have to now with an e bike. Just a bunch of random thoughts I have the
@Logan Gogarty The Diamondback Trace is the exact bike I was referring to. Due to the additional weight of a hub motor, it's always nice to have a shock, as sometimes going over bumps can be a bit jarring, especially with 700c tires that tend to ride at a higher PSI (tire pressure). An additional $150 would get you outfitted with both front and rear quality fenders (SKS), a rack as well as some rechargeable lights that are very commuter friendly

The Misceo doesn't have a suspension because it's a lighter bike and rides very similar to a road bike. The Misceo iE is 43 lbs with battery and pedals. Shimano is still new to the eBike game. Their benefit is that their entire motor drive system is made by Shimano (motor, battery, chain, derailleur...) I haven't had one break down on me yet, but this is quite a different ride than the Dash/Trace EXC. Just to be very clear, the Shimano STEPs motors are NOT 28mph capable.

Depending on how much you want to spend, you may want to look at a 2016 Dash. The 2016 Dash now comes stock with Fenders, wired in lighting and a rack and now comes in a mid-drive configuration.

I'm at the IZIP Store in Santa Monica feel free to give me a shout if you want to talk it out.
Logan Gogarty
1 year ago
http://www.motostrano.com/Raleigh-Misceo-iE-Sport-Electric-Bike-Motostrano-p/misceoiesport.htm is this the IE Sport Raleigh? It says it goes 28 mph online. I'm not familiar with the Shimano STEPs system is it reliable?

Here is the diamondback http://www.diamondback.com/bikes-ebike-ecity-trace-exc

Any suggestions on front fork suspension? Is that a critical component for a lot of ebike riders or are rigid frames bearable?

I'm trying to decide how important fenders, lights, and the the bike cargo tray are. I know I can get these things aftermarket and bolt them on or I can find a bike that already has it. I know the bike rack is essential to keep my back from getting sweaty from a backpack. I also would like the ease of having lights that I don't forget to turn off and drain the batteries on. Fenders are not the most important if I'm changing my clothes anyways but I may not have to now with an e bike. Just a bunch of random thoughts I have the
Steve Ryu
1 year ago
Logan Gogarty
Ok I've found some bikes I'm pretty interested in

http://www.motostrano.com/IZIP-Express-Electric-Bike-p/express.htm
http://www.motostrano.com/Izip-Currie-Tech-E3-Dash-Electric-Bike-p/iz-dash-l-gy16.htm
http://www.motostrano.com/Raleigh-Misceo-iE-Sport-Electric-Bike-Motostrano-p/misceoiesport.htm

Has anyone ordered a bike from this Mostostrano store? I think I'm also considering the specialized turbo base model and maybe a diamondback.

Please let me know if there are any red flags with any of these bikes. I did see that the IZIP express has a 7 rating.
The Express is a Monster with a Belt Drive. Definitely different than the rest of the IZIP line with a large capacity battery. It is a heavy bike though but nice components

The Dash is a popular model for commuting (28mph), if you are looking at Diamondback, the Trace EXC is the Diamondback equivalent to the Dash. Trace is a little lighter and uses tires a little more narrow than that of a Dash (They use the same motor). The Trace uses a Dash 2014 Screen and Button pad.

Misceo has a 20mph max using the Shimano STEPs system. Not a speed pedelec, does have the walk assist function that was mentioned earlier. The Misceo Sport is not out yet, although you can purchase the Misceo iE, both are very light bikes.

The guys at Motostrano are very knowledgable.

I currently have the Diamondbacks on special at the shop.
Logan Gogarty
1 year ago
Ok I've found some bikes I'm pretty interested in

http://www.motostrano.com/IZIP-Express-Electric-Bike-p/express.htm
http://www.motostrano.com/Izip-Currie-Tech-E3-Dash-Electric-Bike-p/iz-dash-l-gy16.htm
http://www.motostrano.com/Raleigh-Misceo-iE-Sport-Electric-Bike-Motostrano-p/misceoiesport.htm

Has anyone ordered a bike from this Mostostrano store? I think I'm also considering the specialized turbo base model and maybe a diamondback.

Please let me know if there are any red flags with any of these bikes. I did see that the IZIP express has a 7 rating.
Gibran Ramos
8 months ago

Do you know if the beeping (shift indicator) can be turned off?

MikeZ32TT
8 months ago

great review. That auto shift if neat. I might have to wait to find a more upright bike with this combo.

ElectricBikeReview.com
8 months ago

Yeah, I am sure there will be more in 2017 and that Shimano will improve their battery design ;)

Thordur Hognason
9 months ago

is Raleigh from US or UK?

Bill Ostrowski
10 months ago

Great reviews. I bought this bike after watching your videos. Because of your video I schooled the bike shop on the differences between the 2015 and 2016. They ordered in the 2016 for me and were thankful for info. Thanks Cort.

Mark Elford
11 months ago

Impressive machine.

StereotypedFilms
11 months ago

Such a nice bike!

Juan Nieve
11 months ago

I was living under a rock coz didn't know Shimano had their own e-bike system, sweet bike!

Juan Nieve
11 months ago

+brighton dude accidentally deleted the previous comment. That's a sweet alternative, unfortunately don't have the space. And yes bicycles suffer in this Finnish weather, but is almost the rule to leave them outside (unless you have the space). Thanks for replying.

brighton dude
11 months ago

+Juan Nieve - Do you have room for something like the Trimetals bike store?

http://www.trimetals.co.uk/bicycle-storage.php

I think any bicycle will be better protected from the elements.

Tanish Skanda G
11 months ago

can u do a Audi ebike review please I want to see it

FRANK ROBY
11 months ago

just checked your review of last years model this is $500 less than last years and better.

mikelieber1
11 months ago

Great review - do they make a bike with all the features you listed - plus a throttle control and bigger digital screen as well - Class 2?

Brentt Moore
11 months ago

Love the automatic shifting!

Bao Dang
11 months ago

I'm loving these daily reviews. keep it up!

SchrodingersQuark
11 months ago

Electronic shifting, awesome. Now I wait for an internally geared hub in the back(also electronic) and a band instead of a chain. When those two come to a nice mountain bike like the Haibike, I'll look to purchase. I like the Haibike completely carbon rims to have even less maintenance(truing) but the price is already high enough...

FRANK ROBY
11 months ago

thats a very good bike.

Sita van Waarde
11 months ago

Love your reviews thanks man !

Sita van Waarde
11 months ago

Nice Bike ! ,... Ian from Holland where can i buy this .??!