Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Review

2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Electric Bike Review
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Torque Arm Adapter
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Magnetic Rosenburger Charger Port On Off Switch
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Smartphone App Handlebar Mount
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel App
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Top View Skinny
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Axle Attachment Torque Arm
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Custom Spokes
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Ebike Conversion
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel 2 Amp Battery Charger
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Electric Bike
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Electric Bike Review
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Torque Arm Adapter
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Magnetic Rosenburger Charger Port On Off Switch
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Smartphone App Handlebar Mount
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel App
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Top View Skinny
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Axle Attachment Torque Arm
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Custom Spokes
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Ebike Conversion
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel 2 Amp Battery Charger
2018 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Electric Bike

Summary

  • An advanced all-in-one electric bike wheel with the motor and battery combined in a sturdy red case, provides near-silent pedal assist based on four signals, measures rider input 100+ times per second
  • Offers three levels of assist with adjustable speed from 10 to 25 mph (in some geographies), allows you to regenerate energy with Exercise Mode or by pedaling backwards to trigger regen braking
  • Available in two wheel diameters and five rim widths to fit a range of bike frames and tire types, rims come in black or silver and utilize reinforcement eyelets for strength, uses sturdy 14 gauge curved spokes
  • Slightly increased battery capacity over prior generations, not the lightest conversion choice at ~16.8 lbs but it's durable and quiet (as most gearless motors are), rear-heavy design, can be pre-built into a wide selection of bikes

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Superpedestrian

Model:

Copenhagen Wheel

Price:

$1,499 ($1,999 Preinstalled in Select Bicycles)

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Cruising, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1), Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive with 70% Battery Storage Capacity

Availability:

United States, Canada, Europe

Model Year:

20172018

Bicycle Details

Motor Weight:

16.8 lbs (7.62 kg)

Frame Colors:

Gloss Red

Frame Rear Details:

Compatible with 120 mm or 135 mm Rear Hub Spacing

Gearing Details:

10 Single Speed or 7, 8, 9 or 10 Speed Free Hub (SRAM or Shimano Compatible)

Brake Details:

Regenerative Braking (Pedal Backwards or Coast), Rim Brake Compatible (Not Disc Brake Compatible)

Rims:

559 mm or 622 mm Diameter, Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, Machined Sidewall, Reinforcement Eyelets (Optional Silver or Black Color)

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, Silver Color, 14 Gauge Thickness, Proprietary Curved Spoke Design

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)28 in (71.12cm)

Accessories:

Includes Appropriate Tire (25c Road, 35c Hybrid, 50c Mountain) and Chosen Cassette

Other:

Developer Kit with Open API for Creating New Apps, Cafe Style Motor Lock Using the App, ROSA Safety and Self-Diagnostic System, 1.7 lb 2 Amp Charger with Magnetic EnergyBus Rosenberger Connector

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts (250 Watt, European Version)

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

5.8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

279 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Display Type:

Mobile App (iOS 9+ or Android 4.3+), Bluetooth Low Energy 4.0

Readouts:

Battery Capacity (Bar Infographic and Percentage), Speed (MPH or KPH), Wheel Power Output Bar, Human Power Output Bar, Assist Level (Exercise, Off, Eco, Standard, Turbo), Distance, Wheel Lock, Trip History (Distance, Duration, Avg Speed, Calories, Map, Power Output for Motor and Rider, Share)

Display Accessories:

Charge Indicator (5 White LED

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Pedal Torque, Pedal Power, Pedal Speed, and Pedal Position Over 100 Times Per Second

Top Speed:

25 mph (40 kph) (Adjustable Top Speed, Limited to 15.5 mph in Europe)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

It has taken some time to get here, but Superpedestrian appears to be rolling ahead at full speed with their latest iteration of the all-in-one smart electric bike wheel called the Copenhagen Wheel! Dating back to 2011, this concept has been internationally praised and excitedly backed by individuals who put down deposits through crowd-funding websites like Kickstarter. Initially, it sounds like some backers were waiting over a year to get their wheels, but the company has caught up and now it’s fully available. So, whether you buy this as a stand-alone ebike conversion kit for your favorite existing bike (with 26″ or 28″ 700c sized wheels), or choose from one of the many pre-converted frames available from partner companies like Fyxation, Marin or Public, you’re going to get simplicity, intelligence, and fun. This thing is a lot cleaner than most of the other hub motor kits I have tested and reviewed in recent years, in large part because it’s completely wireless. It relies on Bluetooth and requires a smart phone to operate (iOS or Android). It will fit 135 mm or 120 mm rear dropout spacing (for single speed, 7 to 9 speed cassettes, or fixies), and I was told that in late 2018 or early 2019 they plan on supporting disc brakes! This is one of the big trade-offs with current gen Copenhagen wheels which only support rim brakes. The demo bike shown in the video review above only had a front rim brake and we relied on the regenerative braking feature to slow the rear wheel… which worked surprisingly well. My favorite parts of this system are how sleek it looks, the attention to detail in design and manufacturing of the hardware and the app, and how quiet but fluid it feels to ride. Some of my gripes include the overall weight of the system and that it’s rear-heavy vs. spread out across the frame, that the battery capacity is much lower than average (279 watt hours vs. 500+ wh on many new products), that it only comes in one color, and that the app must be open to change assist levels (and would slowly drain your battery and possibly create a large bright visual distraction in low lighting conditions). Like so many of the best products out there, this thing focuses in vs. on a few use cases vs. trying to do everything. And I must say, for city riding applications, it does very well.

The only thing I really know about the motor inside this hub is that it’s a gearless direct drive type, rated at 350 watts. That’s about average power in the world of e-bikes, but more companies are moving to 500 or even 750 watts for hub motors to make them better at climbing, accelerating, and being marketed. Those larger motors weigh more and drain the battery quicker… and some of them are physically larger as well, but the extra stat’s don’t mean a lot when you’re cruising on efficient tires through a moderately level city environment. Keep in mind, most cyclists stay below 200 watts when pedaling, so 350 watts nominal is still quite capable. This is a pedal-assist type of motor that requires human input to run, but I was impressed by how smart it was. I didn’t always have to push hard to get it moving. It sensed when I was pedaling lightly and still provided some help (especially in the highest level of assist). I compared the Copenhagen Wheel to the BionX D-Series in the video review because their cases have a similar wide look. The D-Series however, is just a big motor and their battery pack, controller, and display are all separate. Within a similar hub casing space, Superpedestrian has included batteries, a controller, sensor units, and a charging interface, but they rely on your smartphone for the display. I questioned heat dissipation in the conversation we had on camera, but I have no reason to think that it would have issues, despite acting as a generator in regen mode. Extreme heat and cold can impact performance of and degrade Lithium-ion batteries so one thought I had was about storage. Even if the motor stays relatively cool when in use, it may be subject to more extreme conditions if you cannot bring the entire bike inside. Perhaps the complexity of this all-inclusive design, making sure it was durable, is part of why it has taken Superpedestrian a bit longer to deliver a finished product to market? What I can say about the Copenhagen Wheel is that the power output feels very satisfying and zippy. It does surge a bit at low speeds because power output seems closely linked to pedal torque signal once cadence is registered. That is, you feel the motor kick in hard on a forceful downstroke and then ease out between strokes for the first few strokes. The benefit to this higher sensitivity is that the motor stops pushing you almost instantly when you stop pedaling and never feels out of control… it’s a more empowering drive system vs. one that feels like a scooter or on/off with delay. So many cheaper pedal assist systems measure one or two signals and do so with less frequency. Superpedestrian measures four signals more than 100 times per second and does deliver the experience of being a “super-pedestrian” or maybe a “super-cyclist” who is getting a response relative to their pedal actions. Eventually, when you do start slowing down and eventually stop pedaling altogether, there’s an opportunity to recapture energy by pedaling backwards to initiate regeneration with the motor. This is one of the neatest parts of the Copenhagen wheel to me, that pedaling backwards (even slowly), results in smooth deceleration that’s hands-free. A similar experience can be achieved by navigating down from one of the three assist levels into Exercise mode (simulating climbing a hill) or activate the bike lock through the app. Someone could still pick the bike up and carry it away, but riding becomes much more difficult in this locked mode and you receive a notification on your phone about the bike possibly being stolen, so you can check in on the situation. Once the wheel is stolen, it would be difficult to re-configure and re-connect to the wheel so much like smartphones, it’s not a great theft target. As a final thought, gearless motors are known for being durable because there aren’t gears rubbing together to create power from a gearbox but they do suffer from a bit of magnetic drag when coasting (called cogging) and they do weigh more because they require more magnetic material and copper winding inside.

Powering the bike is a slightly improved Lithium-ion battery pack that should provide 15 to 30 miles of range per charge, depending on which level of assist you choose and environmental factors. It’s not a long-distance solution and there does not appear to be a way to expand the capacity or even remove the battery for off-bike charging like a lot of systems that are coming out today, but it’s compact and still quite capable. Lithium-ion batteries have become the standard for e-bikes in recent years because price has gone down and this technology is lightweight and long-lasting. That is, it can endure over 1,000 full charge cycles before the capacity drops significantly. I mentioned that extreme heat and cold can play a role in the lifespan and even day to day use of these cells, and that storage is one consideration that would impact this. Given how clean and compact the Copenhagen Wheel is, and that many riders may already keep their bikes inside apartments in the city, perhaps this is not an issue? I thought about how quick and easy it might be to remove the entire rear wheel for storage, but remembered that the integrated torque arm adds to this complexity, and should be considered when it comes to rear-wheel maintenance. Most people who cycle regularly will advice that you check your tire pressure regularly to avoid dropping too low and getting a “pinch flat” where the rim cuts into the inner-tube when traveling over rough terrain. That’s a great consideration here, again because of the extra steps to remove the wheel. But to be fair, it’s not that much different from a lot of hub motors that have cables running to them… on those systems, you have an extra cable to disconnect and here, you have a torque arm. The included charger offers a standard 2 Amp output, which is fine for the modest capacity here, and has a fancy magnetic connector point that won’t get bent or pull the bike over if snagged. I love the four-LED charge indicator on the side of the wheel near the charging port, the power switch, and the cover device that protects the charging port. It’s all right there, compact and clean, but it does require that you lean down to interact and this is another interaction that makes me think of younger riders who live in the city. Being comfortable with a bit of extra weight to bring the bike inside, bending over to turn it on, dealing with limited brake options etc.

Operating the Copenhagen Wheel is simple once everything is setup, but it’s a system that requires a bit more up front work. You need to install the wheel, charge it, lean over and turn it on, then make sure the app has been downloaded to your phone, that you have paired the wheel over Bluetooth, and that your personal information has all been entered into the app. Now, you are ready to go. From this point, it’s pretty simple and satisfying to use. The main screen shows your assist level in the center (allowing you to swipe up or down to change) and your battery percentage on the left. I LOVE that they went with a big infographic and percentage for the battery considering that the capacity is a bit lower than on other ebikes. Even though the current lot of pre-made bikes seem to be efficient, the extra 16.8 lbs of weight here and the cogging factor wouldn’t make it super fun to pedal the Copenhagen Wheel up a hill or for long distances. It’s the curse of any electric bike, that the weight added for motor support can become a weight challenge if you run out of juice… Consider bringing the 1.7 lb charger in your backpack? Keep an eye on the battery level and swipe down for less assistance if you are running low and use the backwards-pedaling regen feature as much as possible. But be safe! And note that regen seems to deliver a very small percentage of actual refill potential. You’ll burn way more energy on calories trying to charge the bike on exercise mode than you would by simply plugging it in. But, you will get exercise! Yes, the app is neat, but it does add to the cost of owning this bike in that you need a compatible smartphone. Most people have one, it’s not a huge deal, but you will drain the battery on your phone if you leave the app open while riding around and it could get distracting at night with a big bright screen facing you. Yes, you can close your phone, but then you cannot change assist levels or see the battery readout. It’s a bit of a compromise, and there’s no way to charge your phone off of the e-bike battery because there are no wires running along the bike. This is one area where I’d consider getting creative with a case+battery for your phone or a portable energy bank. Like so many products, when you try to get super clean and simple, you end up making trade-offs. The optimal use for this bike system in my mind is for under 20 mile rides through the city with a more fit and active rider. This is when it becomes fun and empowering, it helps with hills when you need it, gives you a “tail wind” feel, and won’t become a drag because you’re really not going too far… and your phone won’t run out of juice either ;)

I’m told that one other update coming in late 2018 or early 2019, in addition to disc brake compatibility, is an 11-gear option. For now, you get 1-10 gears and rim brake support. I test rode a single speed bike because it keeps the chain tight and simple, it won’t fall off and the bike is lighter because there’s only one rear cog and no derailleur or shifter. In so many ways, the single speed option is best, because you get support from the motor to make up for a lack of gears. You can configure a bike like this to weigh in the mid 40 lbs (or less depending on the frame) which is lower than the average electric bike. Yes, it’s a bit rear heavy and you’re stuck with red unless you feel like getting creative with spray paint. In a lot of ways, this seems like the same Copenhagen Wheel that I have seen and been excited about before… but the app is always getting better and their hardware seems really solid and durable. I welcome feedback from newer customers, people who have bought the late 2017 model or through 2018. It would be neat to hear from someone who has had an earlier version and now upgraded to the latest and greatest. As someone who only has space for one electric bike in my apartment, this could be a great option for keeping an old favorite bicycle frame but breathing some new fun into the daily commute routine. Perhaps the biggest consideration then is range. Is there a spot to charge at work? The battery cannot come in, the wheel is not easy to remove, and leaving your fancy charger out near a public rack (perhaps in a parking garage) might not feel that safe. I would love to see a removable battery from Superpedestrian someday, or some other way to extend this product so people who have further commutes, or need to pickup groceries after work will not be stuck pedaling part way unassisted… and worse, fighting the additional weight and slight drag produced by the gearless motor. And please also chime in about the app locking feature, we found that it did not lock initially and that we had to turn off auto-pairing and even close the app… so perhaps that’s a software update or we had something mixed up. Big thanks to Superpedestrian for partnering with me on this post, coordinating the opportunity to see a converted bike at Propel Bikes in New York City and providing some insights into future improvements and features. It’s rare to get that from companies because they do not want to cannibalize current sales, but I think it makes sense here because many compatible bikes are not using disc brakes and 10 speeds vs. 11 speeds isn’t a huge deal in many cases.

Pros:

  • You can set the top speed as low as 10 mph and as high as 25 mph with one mile increments in between, this is great for people who have kids and want to limit their speed for safety or maybe just want to help extend range… in my experience, anything over 20 mph starts to see a big hit due to air resistance
  • You can set the power save timeout at one minute or up to 30 minutes, which is good because the gyroscope seems to be active and pulsing the motor power of the bike when it’s on and this could slowly sap the power
  • I like that they offer a range of wheel size choices, gearing options (which should include 11 speeds in late 2018), and even bikes now! You don’t have to build this yourself or get help from a shop, you can simply choose one of their bikes and they are all reasonably priced
  • Unlike many electric bicycle systems in this price range, the Copenhagen Wheel is constantly getting better because it receives over-the-air software updates and new app releases, it also has localized support depending on what country you live in
  • The charging interface uses a standardized magnetic clasp called Rosenberger which pops out easily if tripped over by accident, vs. bending or tipping the bike, it costs more but works pretty well (just avoid getting the plug end dirty or it can pick up metal filings and debris from garage floors
  • I really like the app that Superpedestrian designed, it’s clear and simple when riding but provides LOTS of supporting information and stats about how and where you traveled in the sub menus and even includes a profile system to make it more personal and relevant, and easy to share
  • The wheel seems pretty well made, both the hub and spoke integration but also the rim which has reinforcement eyelets to improve strength
  • Even though the price hasn’t risen, you now get a slightly higher battery capacity with the Copenhagen Wheel, it’s rated at 5.8 amp hours vs. just 5.5 and still runs at 48 volts for increased efficiency and peak power
  • The unique backward-pedal system, to activate regenerative braking, is so fun to use and made me miss it when I switched back to traditional bikes, it’s so cool to slow down using this approach vs. your hands and will limit wear on your brake pads over the long run while slowly re-charging the battery
  • The motor controller is very responsive, it provides power when you push and eases back when you release, there’s a bit of surge feeling at first (when making those first few pedal strokes) but quickly smooths out and just seems smarter and more active than a lot of sensors I have tested on other electric bikes and kits
  • The Copenhagen Wheel comes with a torque arm that connects to the left chain stay to spread force into the frame vs. the dropout, it’s a thoughtful and sturdy design, a nice little attention to detail
  • Gearless motors are known for being very durable and quiet, I can attest to how quiet the Copenhagen Wheel is and was impressed with the torque and zippy feel despite being so quiet
  • Customer support seems to be very good at the company now, they have built out the website and hired a team who are engaged to answer questions and provide support, they now offer a one year comprehensive warranty
  • Even though the Copenhagen Wheel is mostly sold direct, it appears that the company is now working with dealers as well, so it’s easier to take a test ride, get the wheel installed on your bike, and get post-purchase support

Cons:

  • The current wheel system is not compatible with a rear disc brake setup (late 2018 that is planned for release), at present you have to use rim brakes but at least the system does offer some regenerative braking, you backpedal to activate this
  • Only works with specific wheel size options including 26″ and 700c 28″ but not 20″, 24″, or fat bike which limits some of the possible use cases for the wheel, at least they provide several choices for different tire sizes with rim widths in addition to the two 26″ and 28″ diameters
  • Let’s hope you are okay with glossy red, because at this time, Superpedestrian only offers their wheel in one color, it seems like a branding decision, which makes sense, and they do let you choose the rim color (silver or black) but I might add a few stickers or even consider spray painting this product to better match my bike
  • It’s awesome that everything is contained in this one wheel, there are no wires running across the frame or extra things to setup but it also makes the bike rear heavy and might shake the batteries more than competing products that are frame mounted, the shorter spokes may not provide as much flex in the rear wheel which also makes it feel a bit stiffer
  • You must own a smartphone with iOS or Android in order to operate the Copenhagen Wheel vs. many other systems that have a stand-alone display panel and control pad, and there’s no way to physically connect your phone to any sort of charger that draws from the rechargeable e-bike battery
  • As with most of the direct-drive gearless hub motor ebikes I have tested and reviewed, there is some cogging drag which occurs because of the magnets repelling the stater inside the wheel, this adds a bit of work when pedaling unassisted or when coasting but also generates a small amount of electricity that goes back into the battery
  • The phone display has a battery percentage readout and realtime power charts (showing your power and how much power the motor is putting out) which is all great but the background is white and could be very bright and distracting at night, we were able to turn down the phone brightness but I think a night mode would be cool… maybe that’s already built in or coming with a software update

Resources:

More Superpedestrian Reviews

2016 Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Review

  • MSRP: $1,200
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

A near-silent electric wheel system available in 26" or 700c size, it converts traditional bicycles into ebikes and uses a smartphone app compatible with iOS or Android devices. No wires to deal with (uses Bluetooth 4.0 wireless connectivity), activates with a secure connection…...

Prototype Superpedestrian Copenhagen Wheel Review

  • MSRP: $799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

All in one smart wheel electric bike kit for 26" or 700c wheels, works with single speed or cassette. Removable Lithium-ion battery for convenient charging or extended rides (with optional second pack)...

Allan
4 months ago

I agree with the charging comment. Seeing the design of the new Orbea Gain, perhaps the solution is to have a port that allows a second battery to be used. This would allow for greater range and also allows for a removable battery that could be charged independent of the wheel itself.

I like the idea of the wheel, but I feel it is a bit pricey for what you get and it actually does not work on any of the bikes in my garage. I have a road and cross bike, both with 130 mm spacing and 10 speed, so the Copenhagen wheel doesn’t work with those. My wife has a hybrid with 135 mm spacing, but with disc brakes.

I would consider one for my wife once the disc brake model is released.

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Allan, I’ll have to keep an eye out for the Orbea Gain. It’s neat to see more of the dual-battery options from Bosch and even Faraday has been toying with the idea of an expansion pack for their bikes (to connect under the saddle). The beauty of the CW here is that it’s wireless and simple, but there are definitely some trade-offs with that. It’s pretty good for what it is, but range could be a factor for some people with longer commutes and the whole on-bike charging only situation.

Reply
Allan
4 months ago

Good point Court, the whole wireless nature and simplicity of the CW would be diminished if a 2nd battery option were integrated in that manner.

I have my eye on the Orbea or anything with the Fazua system. I like the Fazua system more because I could use it as my weekend road rider and simply remove the motor and battery. But I can also throw in the motor and battery to make my work commute a bit speedier.

Oh well, getting too far ahead of myself. I have a Crosscurrent S on the way. Hoping to have it within the next 4 weeks. Pretty excited about that!

Tom Reed
3 months ago

Allen,

I just purchased the Copenhagen Wheel yesterday off the Superpedestrian website and was researching the dropout spacing on my bike and found the Superpedestrian website to be a little confusing in regards to dropout spacing.

If you click on the Copenhagen Wheel link and scroll down to Tech Specs Superpedestrian says this…120 mm (single-speed); 135 mm (single-speed & multi-speed)

If you go to their support page and type in “dropout” you are sent to a page that says the following…

Dropout spacing is the measure of the space between the two supports on which your rear axle sits.
The Copenhagen Wheel comes in two versions – single-speed and multi-speed.
The single-speed version is designed to fit dropouts which are between 120 mm (4.72 inches) and 135 mm (5.31 inches).
The multi-speed version is designed to fit dropouts which are between 130 mm (5.12 inches) and 135 mm (5.31 inches).

Maybe Court can weigh in on this too. I can’t remember if he mentioned the dropout space on the bike he was reviewing in the video but I seem to remember the wheel comes with spacers to adjust the fit between the dropouts.

Reply
Tom Reed
3 months ago

After watching Court’s video review and reading up a little more I decided to get the Copenhagen Wheel.

I bought a Electric Bike Company Newport Beach cruiser for my wife back in August and she has been quite happy with that e-bike so far. She has bad knees and really disliked riding regular bikes for some time. The e-bike converted her from a non bike rider to someone who now enjoys riding a bike again. I have owned a Jamis Coda Sport (non e-bike) for a little over a year and I really enjoy riding it but there are just some days I don’t want to workout so hard (we live in Atlanta and there are hills in the city) and just go on a leisurely ride. I am hoping the Copenhagen Wheel can convert my bike into something of a hybrid bike that I can use for both exercise when I feel like getting a workout in and a more laidback pedelec when I just want to have a nice weekend ride with my wife and don’t want to end up sweating when I get to our destination.

I do have some concerns about adding twenty extra pounds to my already 35 pound bike and also the battery capacity of the Copenhagen Wheel. Most of my rides have been 25 miles or less so I am not too concerned about the battery completely discharging but I would like to not go below 20% capacity on my rides and I think I can make adjustments to my riding style to try and prolong the battery life. I have mixed feelings about the color. It is a little eye catching and I am not sure I want all the attention it might bring but on the other hand my wife works for Coca-Cola and we can always slap the Coca-Cola logo on it and make it look like one of those old Coke signs.

One thing I would like to mention about the Superpedestrian ordering process is that there are two ways to order. The one I used was for me to fill in all the specs of my 2016 Jamis Coda Sport to make sure I was buying the version of the Copenhagen Wheel that would be compatible with my bike. It isn’t too difficult but if that is not your style you can just use the other option which is to purchase the wheel then Superpedestrian will contact you and have an expert walk you through the selection process. Originally I was going to have it shipped to a what Superpedestrian calls a “Hub partner” (a local bike shop) to have them install it and make any chain and derailleur adjustments but the Superpedestrian website did not give me pricing for the shop to do the install so it didn’t make much sense to ship it there not knowing what I could actually be charged for the installation. If I have issues with the installation process I can just bring it up to them at that point.

That being said I am looking forward to the wheel arriving in a week or two and installing it myself.

Reply
Allan
3 months ago

Tom, that is quite interesting. After you get the wheel and use it for a while I’d love to hear your impressions of the product, what you like, don’t like, etc …….

Please post your experience in the forums.

Reply
Joel
2 months ago

I went to the Electric Bike Expo in Costa Mesa California on December 2nd to check out the CW and ride it on their closed course. It worked as advertised, and Will Lendway expertly answered my questions. I had previously checked it out at the local Electric Cyclery and determined that the wheel would be a good match for an aluminum road bike that I have not ridden in a decade. (Two others get regular use). I have no practical purpose for an ebike other than experimenting and satisfying my curiosity; I don’t commute to work or run errands in town, and regular bikes are already sufficiently fast and fun.

I like bikes because they are simple machines that afford me freedom and outdoors exercise. Which is why I have reservations about the CW’s suitability for my personal use. Aside from the usual concerns about weight, durability, and range, there is one other problem which might sound quirky to Superpedestrian designers and their customers: needing a phone to operate it is, for me, a bug, not a feature. What distinguishes the CW is its integrated all-in-one-unit simplicity and the fact it is designed and manufactured in America. I don’t want a Chinese phone stuck to the handlebars. It adds complexity and monitors where I go. I look at a screen enough, I don’t want one on a bike. I know I can stuff it in a pocket, but it’s still a nuisance and a liability, something to get stolen or damaged or run out of battery power. I probably don’t represent a popular opinion, but I would prefer a small, lightweight, purpose-built unit that remains attached to the bike, akin to a cyclometer that displays essential speed and distance numbers, plus battery reserve and current electric-assist mode. It could shift modes with a push button or lever that wouldn’t require looking at it or fiddling with a touch-screen while riding.

Pardon the snark, but an iPhone on a fixie is like the ultimate hipster fashion statement.

Otherwise the CW is fabulous and I would like to actively support Superpedestrian. Their design is a brilliant hybrid of cutting-edge electrical technology with already-perfected human-powered bicycle technology. If it’s not cost-effective for them to engineer their own no-phone alternative, maybe they could adapt or license a pre-existing device from another company.

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Thanks for sharing your experience and feedback about the Copenhagen Wheel Joel, I see your points and agree that a simple control pad (even if optional) could be a welcome addition… the challenge would be in doing so affordably, because I think it would need to incorporate a wireless receiver to connect with the wheel. Part of how Superpedestrian keeps the price low on the CW is by leveraging the power and sophistication of smartphones, which most people already have. Maybe a simpler, cheaper, wired version could eventually be offered with a control pad like you’ve described?

Reply
Jayni
2 months ago

What is the conventional wisdom comparing the Copenhagen Wheel and standard electric bikes for baby-boomer commuters? I have really enjoyed embedding exercise into my life via bicycle commuting. I live in the mountain west, and have an (average) 10 mile commute that includes considerable elevation loss & gain. I’m in decent shape, 60 years old and getting tired. The commute also takes longer than I’d like. The idea of an “assist,” especially on the hills, is really attractive. I’m checking into all options. Any thoughts or advice?

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Jayni! I love the technology that Superpedestrian is building but usually rely on shops to help install kits and tune my bikes. For this reason, I usually opt for purpose-built electric bikes (which Superpedestrian also offers, like a pre-built bike with their wheel). There are definitely trade-offs with their product such as range and the hub motor vs. mid-drives that have grown in popularity. I hear good things about the Electra Townie Go! for people who want comfort, reliability, and a more balanced weight distribution.

Reply
Bill F
3 weeks ago

I purchased a hollandia ole guippa bike and would like to know which coppenhagen wheel I need?

Reply
Court Rye
3 weeks ago

Hi Bill! I’m not as familiar with the Hollandia Ole Guippa, and don’t want to misdirect you. This might be a good opportunity to reach out to Superpedestrian directly. Alternatively, you could read the tire size and try to get a measurement so you know which size wheel to use. My guess is that it will say something like 26″ x 1.75″ or maybe 700x48c (which would equate to 28″ diameter). I hope this helps! I believe that this is their direct line if you wish to call (617) 945-1604

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Mike's E-Bikes
2 weeks ago

You are clearly one of the few people out there (that I've learned of anyway) who is actually a great candidate for the GeoOrbital. https://www.geoo.com/ I sell electric bikes, and also do many kit conversions, and while investigating many kits,over the years, and looking at this Geo, I never thought I'd meet anyone who would be a candidate. But your needs described are an exact match. 1. You don't need long distance. (Perfect for GEO, as battery is light and small, and for shorter ranges) 2. You want to pick your bike up, and put in van, by taking off wheel and battery. (Again perfect for GEO. In fact its the only product I'd recommend for both a front wheel, and regular removal. Since the battery is built into the wheel, there are no cords to disconnect. Regular kits are not meant for this type of regular disconnection, and in fact I'd advise against it.) (dont worry about what the person says who indicates you need torque arms. Thats only for real high power, and this is not that. Your needs dont require that.). This will help you up those hills. 3. The GEO wheel is designed to be mounted upfront, and provide the balance you want/need. Its very lightweight for any kit, and for the power and range it delivers for that weight not too bad. You have a very good idea and grasp of how it'd work. You'll get both drive from the front (motor assist), and from your rear wheel (your pedaling). Hence AWD ! Balance for weight distribution, and balance for traction and drive. So you are right on ! Its cost effective. You seriously will not find any kit at this low of price, that has all the features and convenience you want and need. (there are cheap kits out there for $400 or $500 but I wouldn't touch those with a 100 ft pole.) Check out GEO's videos. you can see how they even carry their regular bike wheel around. You don't need to do that, but the important thing is you can actually convert back to your regular bike anytime you want, and as frequently as you want. No other regular kit is going to do that. Even the Copenhagen Wheel or SuperPedestrian really isn't designed to be taken off and easily put back on frequently. The GEO is. Wow. I'm impressed. Someone is actually out there who might like and be able to use the GEO. I decided against carrying it bc I didn't think it would fit very many people. Plus they wouldn't provide any margin, bc they have it priced so low on their website. Of course their CEO says its for all the people who have regular bikes, but are not buying ebikes. 95% of the population. Maybe he is on to something ? Good luck. report back if you buy it. Tell us how it works out !

Llallall
2 weeks ago

Thanks to both of you! The Greenway is aluminum and since weight was a consideration then (2014) as now I am sorry to hear that my bike (like many others) is not a good candidate for conversion. From what I have read on EBR as well as other websites including Superpedestrian, ElectronWheel, Leeds etc. almost any bicycle can be converted. Is this just hype?

Nora Borso
3 months ago

Do you have any information about transporting a bike with the Copenhagen Wheel/Superpedestrian Wheel?

e-boy
3 months ago

Anyone have a single speed ?

e-boy
3 months ago

MLB
3 months ago

Wow, you picked some real interesting choices! Are you even aware that GenZ is Manhindra (sp) one of the largest manufacturers of heavy equipment and automobiles in the world. Don't think they are going anywhere.
Bulls is one of the real success stories of Ebikes, Specialized(!), Scott (HUGE in Europe), Stromer!!, Haibike!!!!!!!!!!! LOL, you're killing me here. You do realize you've listed all of the biggest, most successful Ebike companies out there as going to be gone............... Trek?? If it doens't go well? ALL the "New" big boys have been selling Ebikes in other countries for YEARS, including Trek. Scott and others have said they may be Ebike ONLY in the future. Sales are PROPPING UP REGULAR BIKE COMPANIES....
Flip your idea 180 degrees and You've made a pretty good list of the companies that will be kicking ass with Ebikes in the next 10 years.

86 and still kicking
4 months ago

Serious disagreement with the assumptions and the list. Direct to consumer, online, and mobile delivery are the future of the market. Pedego is a tiny little brand that just happens to be the largest seller of eBikes in the United States. Companies like Stromer, Reise and Muller, KTM and others have very marginal operations in North America. Genze is a tiny little international company that happens to be larger than just about all the vendors combined.

Mike's E-Bikes
4 months ago

Hard to predict what brands will stick around, but the brands that survive will have the best business model, and not necessarily the best product.

What will surprise people the most, is that many brands that SEEM to have popularity now, are most likely NOT the ones that will survive. Precisely because their business models don't allow dealers to make enough to even live on, or are just poor, or they are naively going direct to market on-line.

These brands in no particular order that will most likely struggle:
Evelo
Pedego
Juiced
GoCycle
BigCat
BikTrix
BionX
Dillenger
E-Joe
E-Rad
Prodigy
eVox
Ez-Pedelar
Genze
Grace
Igo
IZip
IES
Jetson
Leed
Motiv
OHM
OptiBike
Populo
Prodecotech
Riide
Sondors
Stealth
SuperPedestrian
VoltBike
Wallerang
Van Moof

There's at least 50 more, than aren't worth even mentioning.

Survivors could be, IF they even decide to keep doing e-bikes:
Bulls
Specialized
Giant
Scott
Worksman
Stromer
Haibike
Schwinn
KTM
Focus
Emotion
Cube
Reise & Muller
Benelli
Yamaha
Trek (though the name may stay, they may dump ebikes if it doesn't go well)

Some names may survive and get bought out, if they have some sort of unique niche they've captured.

None of the above matters anyway, as I predict hundreds more new names will be forthcoming, until the market gets this right. Its WAY too early to speculate on any of this, but it might be interesting to look back in 5 years to see if any of this was right, or wrong.

e-boy
4 months ago

Piaggio wi-Bike listed for upcoming eBike Expo Costa Mesa , Dec 1-3 , 2017

"Brands such as Abus, BMW, Brose, Bulls, Cannondale, Easy Motion, Elby, GeoOrbital, Ohm, Piaggio/wi-Bike, Riese Muller, Schwinn, Smartmotion, Specialized, Stromer, Superpedestrian, and Urban Arrow will be on display. Additional brands available for test rides such as Haibike, Tern, and Electra will be available too."

https://electricbikeassociation.org/events/costamesa/

J.R.
5 months ago

Superpedestrian presold Copenhagen Wheels for 4 or 5 years while in developement. As soon as they started delivering the kits there was a product recall, something was wrong with the axle. It was voluntary, but more trouble for a company that took more than $20 million from investors, on top of all the presales. I don't see how this company survives with the options available today. It's a 2014 design, small battery, modest power in an industry that's moved on.

https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls/2017/superpedestrian-recalls-electric-bicycle-conversion-wheels-recall-alert

http://www.betaboston.com/news/2016/03/04/next-gen-bike-technology-still-peddling-uphill/

Jan1of1
8 months ago

THIS WHEEL HAS BEEN SOLD TO A LUCKY INDIVIDUAL IN MONTANA.

Lightly used Superpedestrian Copenhagen (motor) rear bicycle Wheel. Transform your bicycle into a smart electric hybrid. The wheel, developed by a team from MIT, is a self-enclosed, drop-in solution for nearly any bike. The wheel contains the batteries, sensors, motor, control system, and a wireless system. You select what level of pedal assist you want so you can multiple your power 3-10x. Maximum range prior to need for a recharge is approximately 30 miles. Actual range dependent upon a number of factors including pedal assist mode being used, terrain, and temperature. Does have regenerative charging (pedaling backwards when going down hills or when coasting) which can extend your range.

Purchased from Superpedestrian in 2016 the wheel has 44 miles of use on my Trek bicycle. Super easy installation. Reason for selling: I recently purchased an eBike using the Bosch mid drive motor and want to share Lithium batteries with my spouse who also owns an eBike with a Bosch mid drive motor.

Specifics about this Copenhagen wheel:

· An engineering marvel. To learn more go to the Superpedestrian website: https://content.superpedestrian.com/
· Read support information located on the Superpedestrian website here: https://superpedestrian.com/support/category/Riders
· Color: Red
· Power: 350 W
· Tire Size: 700 x 35C
· Cassette: 7-speed, Shimano
· Brakes: caliper or V-brakes. This wheel does NOT have or support disc brakes.
· This wheel is designed to fit dropouts which are between 130 mm (5.12 inches) and 135 mm (5.31 inches). How to measure your dropout spacing is shown here: https://superpedestrian.com/support/article/How-do-I-know-what-the-dropout-spacing-is-on-my-bicycle
· Includes battery charger. Wheel does not need to be removed from bicycle to use the battery charger
· Battery life: 1000 cycles. This one, with only 44 miles, has been recharged maybe 1-2 times to top up the charge
· No wires! Uses Bluetooth. To change the levels of pedal assist use of a smartphone app is required (Wheel, powered by Superpedestrian) which is compatible with both iOS and Android devices. App allows proximity unlock of your wheel – a nice convenience! Use of the wheel without the smartphone app is possible, but frankly doesn't make much sense
· Once sold the ownership of the wheel will need to be officially transferred from me to new owner via Superpedestrian (see: https://superpedestrian.com/support/article/How-can-I-transfer-ownership-of-my-Wheel-to-someone-else )

New wheels, only available from the Superpedestrian website are selling for $1499. I’m asking $900 (PayPal) + shipping for this lightly used Copenhagen wheel. Contact me at jan1of1@yahoo.com

eric siegel
9 months ago

So, it took some time, but I do have an update. It turns out, my version of the trek 2000, I think from about 2005 or so, has only a 22 mm gap, and a 30-35 mm gap is required. So please check that your bike has the required width where the wheel would drop in before you buy. The upshot was that I returned the wheel (I had ordered it 3 + years ago), and they gave me a refund. Everyone at Superpedestrian was nice and helpful and apologetic, but there it is.

Cecilia Winter
2 months ago

Hi Scooteretti,

Sorry to insist, but can you point me to the wording of the IATA regulation that states that?
From what I´m reading only stand alone units of Lithium Ion Batteries with Cells > 20 Wh and Batteries > 100 Wh are classified UN3480 and forbidden in passager flights.

On the other hand, Lithium-Ion Batteries with Cells >20 Wh and Batteries > 100 Wh Contained in Equipment (the case of Copenhagen wheel) are classified UN3481 and up to 5 kg can travel in passager flights, as long as packed accordingly to PI 967.

I´m also trying to get a hold of American Airlines to clear things up.

Scooteretti
2 months ago

@Cecilia Winter the Copenhagen Wheel operates with a 279Wh lithium battery to which the product MUST be shipped as a DG shipment and in full compliance. These wheels must not be transported on any passenger aircraft and must be packed and labeled in compliance as well as be packed by a certified approved shipper.

Cecilia Winter
2 months ago

Hi, from what I could understand from the IATA regulations (https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.iata.org%2Fwhatwedo%2Fcargo%2Fdgr%2FDocuments%2Flithium-battery-guidance-document-2017-en.pdf&h=ATOtmtsK11eEEre9x477TIGZq88LemNMtleXbkBYAr0A7bFwCe4GD1VoWMTcwZBsviTW4ksanVgsynifgngFCglCvUxCPY3HQnrtcNz9Urb3l-nVWrBhswTpe42epwudJOpjK_G2PgPIpqpSsdw), the Copenhagen Wheel qualifies as Lithium Ion Batteries Contained in Equipment. Up to 5kg could be carried in passenger flights if packed accordingly to the Packing Instruction 966. Is this not correct? Does anyone know what this PI involves? Thanks

bob armani
2 months ago

Thanks so much Chris and Will for helping us ebikers understand this very complicated restriction with shipment of your products. I wanted to take my ebike oversees with my wife to ride and do some urban commutes, however, as Will has indicated, a more viable option would be to perhaps rent locally to save a lot of hassles. As we all know, dealing with airline companies could be dangerous in the event of being dragged off a plane (as in the 'Jimmy Kimmel Airline skit') shown on one of his episodes. LOL! Thanks guys!

Gaby
3 months ago

Yes, I know that I need to make sure that the bike or wheel I end up buying is allowed to travel with me :).

rich c
3 months ago

Air travel depends on battery size. Fairly certain I read the Copenhagen Wheel battery exceeds the air travel rules.

Gaby
3 months ago

Thank you for your recommendation! I will definitely research Geo Orbital. I've actually heard of Superpedestrain - Copenhagen Wheel. By any chance would you know if they are different from one another or do they perform about the same?

Gaby
3 months ago

Thank you for your recommendation! I will definitely research Geo Orbital. I've actual heard of Superpedestrain - Copenhagen Wheel. Do they perform differently from one another?

Gaby
3 months ago

Thank you for your recommendation! I will definitely research Geo Orbital. I've actual heard of Superpedestrain - Copenhagen Wheel. Do they perform differently from one another?

Nahim
3 months ago

There are tons of people and that commute on single speed bikes. A great example of that is here in New York City where a vast amount of commuters and messengers are fans of their simplistic single speed/ fixed gear bikes. It makes sense to want one less part (derailleurs and shifters) on your bike to maintain. Even though I've been surrounded by ebikes for the last three years working at Propel Bikes, I still enjoy riding my single speed bike after work and cruising the neighborhood.
The Copenhagen wheel is a cool option for folks that still want to maintain the simplicity of their bike, but with a bit of extra boost. It's a neat package considering if you already have a single speed bike you really love, like a nice Cinelli or Linus, and want to upgrade your commute. I would however like to see more color options, something more stealthy to so it's not as flashy when locking up on the streets of NYC. A neat feature I do like is the regenerative braking when you pedal backwards, which in most other retrofitting cases, requires you to run a brake sensor cable to your brake levers. The Copenhagen wheel takes away the hassle of cables and zipties and leaves that simplistic look it's supposed to have. I hope as ebike technology progresses, the price point will also come down.

ScorpionKing
3 months ago

Thomas, I am a very active member in several other forums. I do my homework as you have eluded to up above in another one of your posts. As a photographer for a bicycle event that goes on once a year I am fortunate enough to interact with many people in the bicycle industry or who their new models with the Shimano step motor, Go-Swiss motor or other E motor build in. I also get to see products like the Copenhagen Wheel, and talk to Distributors/Representatives from companies like Falco and TongSheng.

While I am really nobody special, I do have enough of a background in Mechanic's from my younger days as well as my electronics background from the Military when I worked on Aircraft. Even so I am still learning everyday because every industry is different.

I have benefited from other friends and members experience in regard to what components I decided to choose and put on my list. I could have gone with at Geared Drive from Grin but at the time I was putting together my buy list, the person who was helping me (who by the way is a very experienced builder) had a good experience with a Mac Motor, and although he had also tested an Ezee from Grin, he was unaware that they offered a cassette version. One of the things I wanted was a Cassette version not a freewheel version so that was a deciding factor. Since that time I have discovered there is a Cassette version of the Ezee motor.

Thomas what would be the compelling reason to go to a single source for everything? Should I have bought a Battery from the same source even if they did not offer the type of battery I wanted?

I ended up buying a LiFePO4 battery. In Fact now I own three of them. Should I take advantage when I find a source that has parts I need on sale? What would you do?

Lets talk about the Phase Runner for a moment. I am sure we can agree that the Phase Runner is more expensive to buy than the Infineon Controller. Its smaller in size and its designed to be CA3 friendly. Its tuned to the motor. The Phase runner is also a true Field Oriented Controller (FOC). Noise is reduced because it is a sinewave system.

I know its a good thing I bought my Thun Torque Sensing bottom bracket when I did because it seems vendors ran out of them. I do not know if they still are.

I do not think I am that much different from anyone else that wants to save money where they can. My goal was to build it right the first time if I could.

Thomas, how would you react if you were told by someone you can only buying parts for your car from Autozone or Napa? It really should not matter should it. After all a Grin Torque Arm version 4 is the same no matter where you buy it.

Jason

Alex Paulsen
3 months ago

Too little too late. This thing lost its public interest years ago. If it were released in 2013 it might have gained a significant market share, but instead it's poorly released some many years later after I suspected it to be nothing but vapourware. Funny spoke pattern (patented) doesn't really make any sense to me.

Oh, and disc brakes? Nope.

Electric bike conversions don't need to be fast, they just need to be sensible and dependable. Some years ago before electric bikes were so abundant, I guess this may have had a chance, but it's not cheap, it's not terribly good, and it just seems to be completely uninteresting. It's criminally underpowered and low-range too, which further implies there's no good reason to own this over anything else available.

ForbinColossus
4 months ago

Amazing that the Copenhagen Wheel is back yet still looks identical to design of several years ago! In the meantime, bicycles sold with disc brakes have taken over the market. I want to see Superpedestrian succeed ... It seemed ready to go before, so one wonders what the heck happened behind the scenes. So many new companies crank out bookoo product; it doesn't inspire consumer confidence the way their product delay was handled. Anway, would prefer to see it on a bike with gears. Their website is fairly simple to select the correct size wheel.