BionX D-500 Review

Bionx D 500 Electric Bike Conversion Kit Review
Bionx D Series
Bionx D 500 Gearless Motor
Bionx D 500 48v Lithium Battery
Bionx D 500 Display Throttle Console
Bionx D 500 Cable Connection
Bionx D 500 Downtube Removable Battery
Bionx D 500 Disc Brake Compatible
Bionx D 500 Front View
Bionx D 500 Plus Minus Throttle
Bionx D 500 Green Demo
Bionx D 500 Green
Bionx D 500 Electric Bike Conversion Kit Review
Bionx D Series
Bionx D 500 Gearless Motor
Bionx D 500 48v Lithium Battery
Bionx D 500 Display Throttle Console
Bionx D 500 Cable Connection
Bionx D 500 Downtube Removable Battery
Bionx D 500 Disc Brake Compatible
Bionx D 500 Front View
Bionx D 500 Plus Minus Throttle
Bionx D 500 Green Demo
Bionx D 500 Green

Summary

  • Top of the line 500 watt electric bike kit with a focus on acceleration and low end torque for climbing
  • Unique center-spoked design for improved comfort and wheel durability, narrow casing accommodates a larger cassette for wide range of pedaling gears
  • Offers regenerative braking and four levels of pedal assist and regen mode (for exercise or descending)
  • Larger visual footprint with wide diameter, experiences some cogging due to direct-drive setup, increased unsprung weight

Search EBR

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

BionX

Model:

D-500

Price:

$2,499 USD

Suggested Use:

Urban, Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Covering Manufacturer Defects (1,000 Charge Cycles)

Availability:

United States, Canada, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Australia, UAE, India, Columbia, Mexico, South Korea

Model Year:

20152016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

17 lbs ( 7.71 kg ) (Motor, Battery, Display, Button Pad and Controller)

Battery Weight:

8 lbs ( 3.62 kg )

Motor Weight:

9 lbs ( 4.08 kg )

Gearing Details:

10 Compatible with 8, 9 and 10 Speed Cassettes

Brake Details:

Magnetic Sensor to Cut Power and Activate Regenerative Braking (Attaches to Stock Brake Levers)

Wheel Sizes:

20 in ( 50.8 cm )27.5 in ( 69.85 cm )28 in ( 71.12 cm )

Other:

Comes Spoked Into Multiple Wheel Sizes (700c, 650b 27.5", with 26" Planned), Motor Mounts to Internal Metal Spokes Not the Black Composite Plastic Casing, 6 Volt DC Output, Removable Battery Charges on or off Frame, Motor Locks for Security when Display is Removed, Deep Sleep Protects Battery from Discharge Damage After Two Months (Or Two Weeks at < 10%) of Inactivity

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

BionX

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

50 Newton meters (25 Nm Nominal)

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Manganese Cobalt

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

55 miles ( 89 km )

Estimated Max Range:

75 miles ( 121 km )

Display Type:

Removable, Backlit LCD (Symmetrical Integrated Buttons for Right or Left Handed Users) (Removable, Symmetrical Integrated Buttons for Right or Left Handed Users)

Readouts:

4 Proportional Assist and Generate Modes, Lighting Controls, Battery Voltage, Trip Distance, Odometer, Chronometer, Average Speed, Clock

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Right with Variable Speed Throttle (With Variable Speed Throttle)

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph ( 32 kph ) (Unless Otherwise Specified in Specific Jurisdictions)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The D Series is a fifth generation electric bike motor kit from BionX that offers higher power (500 watts) and more torque than the older PL, SL and S series kits. In this review I test the BionX D 500 DV (the D stands for downtube and V stands for 5th generation). BionX was started in 2000 as EPS (Electric Propulsion Systems) and was acquired by Magna (a Canadian automotive company) around 2008. Since then it has grown into one of the largest high-end manufacturers of drive systems for electric bicycles in the world. I like this kit because it’s quiet, works with nearly any bike and is well balanced. The downtube battery design is more balanced than a rear rack. This system offers regenerative braking, four levels of regen and assist as well as light integration (so you can run everything off of one main power source) and a Deep Sleep mode to protect itself from complete discharge (which is harmful for Lithium-batteries). It’s due out around late August 2014 and can be ordered and installed bike by ebike dealers.

The motor itself is contained inside a plastic composite shell that is thinner than other BionX kits but has a larger diameter. This is because the magnets are distributed further out from the axle to provide more torque through mechanical advantage. The magnets and drive system on the D-Series don’t mount to the shell at all, they are built onto an aluminum wheel attached with four spokes that meet at the axle (this is where the torque sensor lives). In addition to improved low end torque for accelerating and climbing, this narrow design provides more room for a cassette in the rear. It’s ideal for hardtail mountain bikes that need power and gears to really perform as well as responsive power that will start and stop quickly. Another interesting quality of this design is that the wheel containing the motor is center-spoked meaning the spokes are setup like a normal bicycle wheel vs. connecting to the hub motor itself. This provides more flex and give when riding, it feels comfortable and is easier on the rim and tires when going over bumps.

The battery pack I used to test the D-Series is one of the largest and most powerful in the BionX line with 555 watt hours of capacity. It uses trusted Lithium Manganese Cobalt 18650 cells from Panasonic (should last 1,000+ cycles if cared for). BionX offers a solid two year warranty on this part and is known for good service (responding well to an issue in 2012 with a batch of batteries that had a circuit board issue). It’s a big company that’s in it for the long haul, working towards quality and partnering with brands like Smart and BMW as an OEM supplier. Interesting fun fact here, you can see the sticker on the side of the battery that shows three white bars right? These relate to its size whereas smaller packs will just have one or two bars for a quick visual guide on size. This black plastic with honeycomb pattern and bars is their new style for 2014 and I like that they’re also going with simpler names. I asked about heat (black absorbing more than white or silver) and they assured me that the system has been rigorously tested (both the motor and battery) to perform well in all conditions. I was able to tour their factory near Toronto and was amazed that they actually assemble the motors by hand in Canada! That’s pretty rare and awesome in this space where most are assembled in Asia and then shipped across the world.

One of the coolest things about BionX is their cloud computing platform that lets batteries, motors and consoles “check in” when they are connected for diagnostics. It makes troubleshooting, upgrading and warranty service much easier for shops because it can pinpoint issues vs. guess and check. The D 500 uses their second generation console that has a symmetrical design with four buttons built in (thoughtfully created for left or right hand use). Either of the two top buttons activate the display, if you hold down on the top right it activates your lights (if you’ve wired a set in) and you can arrow up or down from there to choose a performance level from -4 to 0 to +4. There’s also a neat break-out console that can be mounted separately with a +, – and variable speed trigger throttle. The entire thing is sleek, flexible and easy to use when riding. I also love that the console itself is powered by the main battery, removable and backlit for use in low light conditions. It’s one of the best display / control systems I’ve ever used, especially for off-road use because the trigger is better than twist throttle on bumpy terrain.

The D-Series motor and associated DV battery pack offer great performance, high quality and excellent balance (for a hub motor system). It’s sleek, smooth and very powerful (the most powerful 500 watt kit I’ve tested to date). I like how zippy it is in any gear vs. mid-drive and appreciate the smooth, efficient torque sensing technology in use. It does take up more visual real estate in the rear wheel and increase unsprung weight compared with a centerdrive but is much quieter and offers regeneration. The downtube style battery pack keeps weight low and centered and is removable for convenient charging or transport which I love. It does take up the space where water bottle cages might otherwise mount but that’s not so uncommon. It can be charged on or off the bike and fits on a range of frames including recumbents, tandems, cruisers and mountain bikes. This is a big step forward in technology from a company that has been around since 2000 and sells products all around the world. Whether you get the kit and work with a shop to have it installed or wait for a third party complete (which will be available in Europe first from Wheeler) this is solid choice.

Pros:

  • Disc brake compatible (narrow hub motor design accommodates larger cassettes as well)
  • Very quiet thanks to the gearless design and sound dampening system (quieter than most mid-drives)
  • Unique center-spoked design dampens vibration and absorbes shock to improve ride quality and reduce wheel/tire maintenance
  • Excellent low-end torque for starting and climbing thanks to wider hub motor design
  • Offers regenerative braking as well as four levels of regen mode and four assist levels
  • Removable display panel deters tampering and vandalism, display runs off main battery pack
  • System will work with wired-in lights so you don’t need to rely on separate batteries
  • Display is back-lit and right or left hand accessible (symmetrical design with buttons on both sides)
  • Small break-out tactile button pad makes changing assist levels or using the throttle easy
  • Solid two year warranty, larger established company (in business since 2000)
  • Uses one of the largest and most powerful BionX batteries to date 48 volt 11.5 amp hours (555 watt hours)
  • Rear-wheel hub motor exerts force onto the part of the frame that is designed to handle it vs. front hub designs, great if you mount to a bike with a front shock
  • Deep Sleep technology senses if battery is getting low or hasn’t been used and completely shuts down to avoid damage (after 2 months of inactivity or 2 weeks if battery is >= 10%
  • The D-series will work with any BionX battery but is recommended for >= X (eXtra Long range)

Cons:

  • In kit-form, the wire from your console to the battery and motor may not be concealed as well as a purpose-built ebike
  • Increased unsprung weight 8.9 lb motor (4kg) as compared with a centerdrive (mid-drive) electric bike
  • Direct-drive setup enables regen but also creates cogging drag compared with geared freewheel designs (this somewhat reduced given the large diameter and flat disc design compared to smaller diameter hub motors)
  • Throttle and computer may not mount as easily to road bikes with drop handle bars due to shape and size of tubes and grip tape
  • This kit is only compatible with 135 mm axle size so check your mountain bikes carefully or bikes with thru axles. Also, given the larger radius of the motor it is not available in quite as many wheel sizes… other BionX kits come in 20″ and 24″ but this one does not
  • Battery pack takes up space where you might otherwise fit a bottle cage, consider a CamelBak
  • One of the most expensive electric bike kits around (due to high power, regen and battery size)

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More BionX Reviews

BionX S-350 Review

  • MSRP: $2,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Versatile electric bike conversion set with four levels of assist, four levels of regen and throttle mode. Available with five battery pack configurations including two rear mount and three downtube mounted...

BionX P-350 Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A more affordable, less powerful electric drive kit from BionX with rear-mount battery design only. G2 console offers four levels of assist, four levels of regen and throttle mode with…...

BionX SL 350 Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Top of the line kit, 350 watt motor is ~2.5 lbs lighter than the older PL 350 model, includes advanced security features. Available in two designs to fit most bikes: mount to down tube or integrated into…...

BionX PL 350 Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

A line of three 350 watt, 37 volt electric bike conversion kits. Available in mid-frame or rear rack styles to fit just about any bike...

BionX PL 250 Review

  • MSRP: $1,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

One of the lightest electric bike conversion kits available anywhere, just 7.3kg (16.1 lbs). Mounts to water bottle eyelets on downtube of, distributes weight evenly front to rear...


clbpdx
3 years ago

Bionx dealers currently offer kits that fit 20 inch wheels. Do you think that non-structural shell's large diameter will preclude anything smaller than 26 inch wheels, due to spoke interference with the shell?

Court Rye
3 years ago

Yeah, I'm almost sure it does. Just checked with the team there and they told me the D-series will be available in 650b/27.5" and 700c/29" (with 26" in the near future), the wheel sizes for all of the other systems are 20", 24", 26", 700c/29"

Ken Sanders
3 years ago

How are the spokes attached to the plastic casing on the motor? Do we have a close up image of that?

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Ken! Great question, the spokes are actually attached to a metal plate near the axle, not the plastic motor casing like older BionX kits. The motor itself is mounted to a separate metal plate in the center of the wheel so this provides what they call a "center-spoked" design that is more flexible and performs like a regular bike. I did get some closeup images that you can see in the Google+ album here.

Ken Sanders
3 years ago

Thanks Court, the pictures you sent via email clear up all my questions and concerns Looks like a great product. Keep me posted with what ever info you have specially when they do come out with the 26″ unit.

I have a keen interest in Bion X as I have been a Dealer for there product since 2006 in central Saskatchewan Canada. For now Ken Sanders

Peter Weinberger
3 years ago

Court: Are the mileage claims for the battery correct? Or am I missing something with this technology? Regen braking is nice, but it doesn't help THAT much. I'm trying to figure how a battery with 555 watt hours is going to take an 170 lb rider 94 miles. Optibike batteries are much larger and don't do close to that. Thoughts?

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Peter, I agree that the 50 to 80 mile range estimation seems high. I've heard that 48 volt systems are more efficient (electricity flows better at higher voltage) and given the four levels of assist offered here I could see a 170 pound rider on flat smooth terrain on a still day using the lowest level and making it 80 miles. I haven't tested this (and purposely included a wide range here), I agree that regen won't offer much range extension. I would do more extensive testing but am more focused on reviews, site updates and forum support where real world owners are able to share experience with range etc. Here's the BionX forum in case you get one of these and want to contribute!

Terry Doyle
3 years ago

Hey Court

Thanks for the review, it is very helpful. I have an opportunity to buy a SL 350 HT on a cargo bike. Should I wait for the 500 or go ahead with the purchase and swap out the wheel/motor later on? I am assuming that the battery/controller etc for the 350 will also work with the 500 motor. Is that correct?

Terry

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Terry, I'd actually just stick with the 350 if you're using it for a cargo bike. That's a solid motor system, especially the High Torque (HT) version with a 48 volt battery. I think you'd spend a lot of money upgrading to a 500 watt and end up with similar performance at the end of the day. Yes, the torque would be higher on a 500 but these are both powerful drive systems and the top speed is still limited to 20mph. Maybe the best thing is to see how the SL 350 performs and then go from there :)

Barry Sahd
3 years ago

Hi Court, I am a big guy 250lbs. Looking for a powerful offroad bike that I can go fishing with....speed not an issue. Your advice please?

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hello Barry, the BionX D-Series is one of the most powerful kits around and would certainly power you along well off-road. There are many factors to consider here like how steep the trails are, whether you're willing to pedal along and if you want a full suspension bike vs. a hardtail since the BionX kits use a hub motor that performs best with a hardtail. This is one of the most powerful and torquey motors around with a 48 volt battery system so it's going to tough to beat it. It's nice that it also has a throttle for those moments when you don't want to pedal and are trying to balance. Since you have to get this kit installed on a bike it frees you up to choose the best size and style for your intended use but if you wanted to get something similar (that also has assist and throttle and is also powerful) I'd recommend checking out the IZIP E3 Peak or the Volton Alation 500.

clbpdx
3 years ago

I see the D 500 hub is compatible with disc brakes. Is the rim compatible ONLY with disc brakes, or is there a surface on the rim that's usable with rim brake pad (V-brakes, whatever) as well ??

Court Rye
3 years ago

Good question, from what I can tell the rim is fairly standard. Here are some closeup images that might help you determine whether standard rim brakes would work.

clbpdx
3 years ago

Thanks -- both image #2 and image #7 appear to have rounded surfaces where rim brake pads would make contact. I think this would be an excellent addition to your CONS list -- would it be possible for you to confirm this with your buddies at Bionx?

Court Rye
3 years ago

Great point... I'm not sure whether they offer different rims that would be compatible with rim brake pads but will try to ask at Interbike in a couple of weeks. For the time being I'm sure the team is very busy with Eurobike. I may see other BionX demos at the event and will report on them with reviews in the coming months.

Greg Miller
2 years ago

Hi: I am 250 lbs and want some assist especially for the hills when we bike across Canada. What do you recomend? At this point I will use a specialized road bike and thinking of a lightweight urban cruiser for the sore back for back up.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Greg, the BionX D-Series conversion kit might work for your Specialized road bike, you'll have to work with a shop to have them order and install it. As far as good options for a light-weight urban cruiser (with a more upright position) I'd suggest checking out the Pioneer City from Optibike. I like that it uses a mid-drive motor to keep weight lower and more balanced. None of the cruiser bikes are as light as city or road setups but another good option to explore would be the Path+ from IZIP. Hopefully this helps, feel free to be more specific about what you're looking for and get advice in the forums here from other users.

Ken Haner
2 years ago

Court, If you had $2,500 to spend on an electric bike, would you buy a BionX kit or spend it. On a complete bike?? What could you buy for the same amount of money? Thanks, Ken

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Ken, that's a great question... For the money a kit like this D-Series is going to offer the best performance and features if you've already got a frame you like. It requires extra energy and cost to have it installed properly but it's an amazing setup. The thing is, this is one of the highest end BionX kits for powerful climbing etc. and may not be necessary for relaxed cruising so you could look at some of the other BionX kits or you could focus on the type of bike you want using these sections I setup which are listed out in the Top 10 List here. for a complete ebike in the $2,500 price range I like the Volton Alation 500 because I do some on-road and some off-road riding. For an around-town sort of bike I really like the Easy Motion EVO Eco because it comes with so many accessories like fenders, rack, lights etc.

Paul DeGarie
2 years ago

Hello Court, You mentioned that the BionX D-Series Motor is Compatible with a BionX 48V X Series battery? If this is true then I should be able to order separately the D-Series Motor for a 26in.wheel when available... Then the only modification I would make on My 26in Townie 21Spd Townie with factory front fork shock is to install a disk brake kit to compensate for the extra torque of The D-Motor... Thanks Paul

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Paul, that sounds correct but honestly... I have never ordered a BionX system through a shop. All of the ebikes I've tried it on have been pre-built (either by BionX or another brand as OEM like the SMART eBike). I hesitate to confirm this but will ask a rep from BionX to chime in here and see if they can help you out :)

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi again Paul! I just heard back from BionX and they said "All parts except the 26 volt / 250 watt system in North America are interchangeable. So you can indeed use the 48V X Series Battery.

Paul DeGarie
2 years ago

Thanks Court, Regards Paul

John Floyd
2 years ago

Court, I appreciate this review. I have a recumbent tadpole that I've been considering converting to an electric assist. Two questions:

  1. Which of the two systems would you recommend? The D series 500 watt, or the 350 SL HT. I'm 215 lbs and the trike is around 35 lbs.
  2. I ride the trike on the local rails to trails (mostly compacted gravel surface) and have changed the tires from the original "skinny" road tires to a wider "mountain bike" tire. What is the maximum width tire this rim will take?
Court Rye
2 years ago

Great question John, I've really enjoyed the torque and power of the D-Series. The wider diameter of the motor creates mechanical advantage and you can really tell a difference vs. the older PL and SL model sizes. It's also a bit more flexible as a wheel because the spokes run from t he hub to the rim vs. the outside of a motor casing. I believe the spokes are standard size and that may make the wheel easier to service as well. I believe the D-Series will also stay cooler because the plastic casing contains more air inside vs. being compact. It should perform better all around and that includes regenerative braking. The big question mark might be, do you mind the unique aesthetics of it? Also, due to the larger diameter of the motor, this kit only comes in 26, 27.6 and 28 or 700c wheel sizes. Will that fit your trike? I wish I had more information to offer regarding tire sizes but unfortunately I just don't right now. I'll try to get something from BionX for you :)

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hello again John, I just heard back from BionX regarding tire sizes for their different kits. Here is what they had to say about the min and max tire sizes that would work with the rims the BionX motor systems come spoked into:

D-Series Sizes:
- 700c / 29” (622) – ERD 601, width 23mm // Min/Max tire: 700 x 32C / 700 x 60C (29 x 1.5 / 29 x 2.3)
- 650b / 27.5” (584) – ERD 565, width 27mm // Min/Max. tire: 650 x 38B / 650 x 60B (27.5 x 1.5 / 27.5 x 2.3)
- 26” (559) – ERD 540, width 30mm // Min/Max. tire: 26 x 2.1 / 26 x 2.75

All Other BionX Kits have rims that are 20 mm wide:
- 700 x 28C / 700 x 45C (29 x 1.25 / 29 x 2.1)
- 20, 24, 26 x 1.25 / 20, 24, 26 x 2.1

John
2 years ago

Craig: Thanks for the research and replies. The rear wheel on the trike is a 26" wheel (it was an option that I specified when I bought the Trike).

Currently I am running a 26"x2.125" tire so my understanding is the ERD 540 should fit the bill. I think that the only other concern I might have is frame strength dealing with rhe increased torque from the electric setup. The frame is CR-Moly so I believe it should be.

Bob
2 years ago

I have the Bionx 250 kit, I ride an recumbment easy sport , can I just replace the battery with the BionX D series or do I also need to replace the wheel as well. I'm trying to extend my mileage .

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Bob! I've reached out to BionX for comment regarding your 250 and which batteries would work best. This is their reply: "if the user has a 250 watt system in North America it has a 26 volt battery and the D-series motor is a 500 watt system and will drain the battery very quickly. In the EU, even the D-Series is limited to 250 watts and it is likely he has a 37 volt battery or higher, in which case it is all good and the systems are interchangeable. Also, it works vice versa in that the DV battery will be ok on a 250 watt EU system, but not on a 250 watt NA system. He has to stay with 26V in NA." So from what I understand based on their feedback, you cannot buy a D-Series battery to use with your 250 watt kit, you will need to buy a ~26 volt battery. Hope this helps!

tulsundur
2 years ago

how the broken spoke changes?

Court Rye
2 years ago

Great question... Because the D-Series motor from BionX uses a standard hub and the spokes don't attach to the outer portion of the motor casing I believe changing spokes on these wheels is the same as changing spokes on a regular bicycle wheel (meaning the spokes don't have to be shortened or use custom sizes). I believe you just thread the spoke into the hub and rim then tighten it as usual. I am not an expert unfortunately and have never spoked or trued a wheel myself, only done minor adjustments and then taken it to my local shop for the real tricky stuff :)

Ethan Gilson
2 years ago

I have a fat bike and wanted to know if the BionX D-500 would be able to fit some how on my bike. The Rear Hub is a 190mm Quando Sealed Alloy Hub, I don't know if the the word "hub" means the same thing as "axle," thanks. Ethan

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Ethan! I reached out to BionX for comment on axle width and received the following information "The D-series, like all BionX motors at this time, is 135 mm. The best option for a fat bike with our system would be a Norco Bigfoot-E". I hope this helps you out, sorry it's probably not the news you were hoping to get... I think as far as axle vs. hub, the actual rod that goes through the middle of the wheel and gets fastened to the droputs is the axle while the larger piece in the center of the wheel that is attached at the axle is the hub, this is where the spokes attach on a bicycle wheel :)

Sam Jones
2 years ago

I'm considering the D 500 system for my Ventana ECDM full suspension Off Road Tandem with 26" wheels and 135MM rear spacing. The rear triangle is aluminum and the aluminum dropouts are approx. 9MM thick. I assume that a torque arm would be required at least on the left side. My questions are: Is the power output only to the left end of the axle or to both the left and right ends? Is there enough axle length to accommodate the 9MM thick aluminum dropout plus a torque arm? THANKS for your great review and your help!

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Sam! I wasn't sure about the answer to your question so I reached out to BionX and received the following reply "The rear dropouts have to be 12 mm minimum... sorry." so it sounds like your 9 mm dropouts won't work :/

Sam Jones
2 years ago

Thanks for your quick response BUT I think something got lost in translation. The 9MM measurement is the THICKNESS of the aluminum (not the length or width of the dropout notch where the axle goes) thus the 9MM is THINNER than the THICKNESS would be on any steel framed bike dropout. Thus it can't be correct that 12MM is the minimum THICKNESS. Could you ask again with this clarification info. My concern is the horizontal length of the axle that is extending out of the hub and through the dropout and any torque arm. THANKS!

Court Rye
2 years ago

Thanks for the clarification Sam, I guess there was just a misinterpretation. This time when I shared your question along with the follow-up note I received the response "Yes the thickness is fine." so it sounds like maybe it could work with your bike after all!

Tom
2 years ago

I've heard that, generally, mid-drive motors (Bosch, for example) are better for hill climbing. How would the BionX D-500 hold up in, say, the hills of San Francisco (compared with a Bosch mid-drive system)?

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Tom, that would be a fun side-by-side test. Bothe of these motor systems are powerful, with excellent torque output. I like how quiet the BionX D-Series is and love how quiet it is as well (beats Bosch there hands down). I was only able to test it mostly on flats but it did climb off-road fairly well and since it offers a throttle mode (which Bosch does not) I got a better feel for the power of "just the motor". I think either system could handle SF for people that are in the ~150 lb weight range. Note that the D-Series also has pedal assist and the regen can help improve range but I still think Bosch is more efficient for that. The biggest difference is when you share the mechanical advantage of the rear cassette with the mid-drive from Bosch while the D-Series is always just powering directly through the wheel. So power output will actually vary given the wheel diameter (more torque for smaller diameter wheels). I hope this helps, the D-Series is an amazing motor and I loved the zippy feel it offered.

Ivan
2 years ago

Hi Court... Do you know when the 26" model Will be available? Can't seem to find it in any online shops. Thanks.

Court Rye
2 years ago

That's a great question, BionX has a dealer locator tool here which should be able to order and install for you. Alternatively, you could reach out to their support team at service.bike.na@ridebionx.com

Dave
2 years ago

In reading the owners manual for the new D-Series motors I came across a section that recommended not to exceed 38 MPH. I frequently hit speeds in excess of 40 MPH on my Catrike EXP when coasting downhill. Do you know what the concerns are? Will coasting at high speed damage the motor?

Court Rye
2 years ago

Interesting question Dave, I'll reach out to BionX and see if they can provide some insight here for you :)

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Dave, I just heard back from BionX and they said "With the original motors, extremely high speed could cause damage to the motor PCB. This is much less likely to occur to a D-Series system, but still a precaution that we pass on to end consumers." so I'm not sure if there's a particular speed where damage is more likely but it seems like this is a gentle nod to the D-Series being more durable.

Michael
2 years ago

Court, Please help me to find actual information about battery range. I want to convert my Surly touring bike with a D500 system. I do multi day tours, like San Francisco to San Diego along coast hi way. I need a system to carry me and gear (total 170 lbs). Average 100 mikes a day. I do this trip often and do between 80 and 120 miles now with no electric assist. My goal with the Bionx kit is to do the same milage but with a little less effort from me. I will carry one spare battery so each battery needs to do 50 miles. I have searched the Internet for weeks looking for actual range data and have found nothing concrete. It's all heresay and speculation. I can't believe that actual data is not available. Until I get actual data I'm not willing to spend up to $4,000 on a kit and 2 batteries. I know there are a lot of variables but a controlled test with a average size rider in a real life terrain should be doable by someone at Bionx. PS, if I do convert to electric, I plan to document and post with great detail all my findings. Hopefully this could help other people thinking of touring with assist. Michael

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Michael, a general rule of thumb with ebike batteries for ~170 lbs (which is the actual weight many companies use as a standard for measurement) is to divide the watt hours of the battery (in this case 48 x 11.6 = ~555) by 20 which offers 27.75 miles in this case. This estimate is based on throttle power up to 20 mph. If you were using the D-Series in pedal assist mode (which relies on a torque sensor and therefore requires more input from you) and you also configured the regenerative braking lever activation then I could easily see 50 miles per battery. I don't have any true data for you... sorry, but I have tested other bikes and received a lot of feedback from shops. This is my best guest, I welcome you to share the same question in the forums and then post your results if you decide to move forward.

Jim
2 years ago

I have an tour easy (easyracer) recumbent. This is a LWB recumbent. My question is would I be better off placing the motor on the 20" front wheel as there is less weight on the front, or would the rear 700mm wheel be a better option?

Court Rye
2 years ago

Interesting question... the smaller diameter wheel will offer a hub motor better mechanical advantage (it will spin faster but provide more torque for you) but if the front wheel doesn't have much weight on it, you might spin and wear the tire more. Increasing weight on your front wheel may also influence steering (less nimble and responsive) and change your unsprung weight if the bike has a suspension fork. I usually prefer a rear mounted kit but front can work alright. Given the larger diameter of the BionX D-Series I think rear might be your best option, it's a very powerful motor in large part because it's so wide :)

Anne Poe
2 years ago

I ride a tadpole trike with 16 inch wheels. I tour with luggage in mountains. I love the concept of pedal assist and I believe Bionx makes the best e kits...but not for 16 inch wheels. Suggestions?

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Anne, interesting question... There are other BionX kits with smaller diameters than the D-Series and also kits from other brands that might work if you were willing to spoke the wheel into a 16" rim yourself? I don't think this is an easy process (especially without the right tools) but maybe a shop could help you to get it done? Honestly, I'm not sure here... another alternative could be to modify your bike to accept larger wheels or consider a tadpole trike with larger wheels like the one used in this review. For more advice or suggestions you might have luck in the forums here.

Anne Poe
2 years ago

Great help thanks so much. I have a trike and have tried to get dealer to modify for 20 inch wheel. Says he has to manufacture the part and has not gotten it done. The S 350 for 20 inch wheel looks perfect especially the 48 V, 11.5 ah, 423W for touring with luggage in mountains. How complicated is it to convert the wheel to 20 inch!

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Anne, that sounds like a cool project! I honestly have no idea on modifying to fit a 20" wheel (that's about the same size as the hub itself!) I've heard that lacing wheels (manually setting up the spokes) can be very difficult and time consuming. Maybe there is someone else in the forums who could help you with this and then ship it to you?

Mitch
2 years ago

I'm looking for hard data and facts about the D-series --now in its 3-rd yr.-- actual performance on hills: How many vertical m/feet on a single charge (48V, 11A batt.) for a typical 150-lbs rider on max. assist level? Or how many km/miles of a 15-20% incline, w/o headwind, no pedal (to simplify the matter) before the battery is ~5% ?

I love the BionX (also Xion and goSwiss) EM brake on hard downhills, not for the 12-15% max. recovery, but for cooler brakes and unwarped disks...

My daily commute involves 500m (1500 feet) vertical across 15Km (10miles), which we (also my wife) normally do on regular bikes; we're neither spandex racers, nor unfit bikers, yet middle age shows :-). The Bionx P/250W with 24V NIMh battery oldie (new pack installed) has neither torque at low speed (under 8mph), nor battery energy for this trip; it's invariably worse than riding a good racer that's half- to a third of its bulk.

I expect improvements of ca. 2x from the 48V LiIon + 2x better torque of the large D rotor (itself problematic on rough downhills as shock/vibration/dead torque) to do better, though not competing uphill and MTB with the best Bosch/Impulse/Step/Panasonic of 2015. Is this good enough for a 2.5K$ kit?

Based on simple engineering, the lack of solid tests and reviews on inclines (quantifiable, yet not done in 3 yrs) and Bionx's reliability track, I doubt it's good enough and hope to be proven wrong...!

Also not encouraging is the scarcity of bike makers still using Bionx, numbers falling abruptly since '13 (e.g., Trek is listed by Bionx's outdated WWW, while there's actually no '15 Trek/Bionx bike), while the prices for kits and batteries remain arguably non-competitive.

Hence I question not only the lack of hard tech data, but also the future of Bionx - that may or not recover. Nonetheless, I'd appreciate if somebody could report their vertical experiences in figures - total mass displaced, speed, vertical elevation travelled with battery use (bars start/end), ideally no pedal and no wind. Kinda 1-100Kmph performance for ebikes :-)

Ideally Bionx and its testers could publish such key data, in stead of vaxing lyrical about feelings and intangibles - though to be fair, it seems the industry standard :-)

Court Rye
2 years ago

Great thoughts Mitch, I'm trying to improve the quality of my reviews and get more technical but given the volume of bikes and continued interest in more general "overview" type reviews (and the fact that I'm using demos... often at company HQ) it has been dificult to become more objective. If you'd like to chat about the D-Series with people who actually own one or share more of your calculations I'd suggest checking out the EBR BionX Forums.

Peter
2 years ago

The Bionx D500 says that it has "lighting integration" that can run off the main battery. As near as I can tell this is a myth. I have looked and cannot find any lights that say they can connect ti the Bionx battery. Either they are well hidden or do not exist.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hmm... I'll reach out to them for feedback on this Peter, thanks!

Peter
2 years ago

Thanks, I'd really appreciate it. I have the D500 kit on a Surly Straggler and really like it. Now I just need a reason to go out when it's dark.... :)

Court Rye
2 years ago

Just heard back from BionX! Here's the official word: "All North American BionX systems (except the S-350 DL) have a 6V DC output that will work with a large selection of lights available in the marketplace - just about any hub dynamo light will work. The light must be equipped with a 2.1 mm 5.5OD DC plug, and you can use a Y splitter to run both front and rear on downtube systems. The lighting system turns on by holding the power button for a few seconds, the backlight comes on the console and "Light On" appears on screen."

Peter
2 years ago

Many thanks...

Carl
12 months ago

I have the d500 installed on my topend force-3 handcycle and watched your video. I was trying to figure out how you had the headlamp mounted. This post clarifies and now I feeling much more confident on adding a headlamp.

Robin Rourke
2 years ago

Will the 500 system work for a Ti Areo recumbent. It has 650 with standard brakes, What is the full recharge time and range with on going peddeling?

Martin Diotte
2 years ago

Hey Court! I have a 2014 Yuba Mundo that i consider upgrading with a BionX system. Either the D500DV or the S350DV. Is the 300$ difference worth it? I'm a 250lbs rider and i love to really load that thing up any chance i get! keep up the good work!

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Martin! Great question... yeah, given the extra weight and "cargo style" of that platform I think the D-Series would be worth the extra cash. It delivers more torque and power than the S-Series just based on the width, leverage created by the design. It also delivers more wattage with 500 watts vs. 350. Once you've pulled the trigger on a kit like this, there is still a lot of work to install it and I feel like BionX stuff lasts and they offer replacement batteries but once your motor is all setup you can't really upgrade or change it (and it should last a LONG time given that it's gearless). I realize it's extra money, these are just the thoughts that would be going through my mind. You're recycling an existing bike that I assume you've had for a while so you must take care of your stuff. If you take care of the nicer motor in the same way I feel like you'll be happier with it long term :)

Martin Diotte
2 years ago

Yeah i've had it for about a year now and i really like it so far. The capacity and overall feel is great. It rides like a normal bike (through traffic especially) I do plan on taking good care of it as i do with all my toys lolll and i'm glad to hear the 500DV will last me a long time given good care. I actually took a test drive yeaterday. A 500DV installed on a mundo. It really is a beast of a system. Really smooth too. I took my g/friend in the back and was very pleased by the performance. I wanted to see how it would handle climbing the hills "loaded up" here in Montréal and seriously, i was laughing! Great feeling. I kept reading about how the bionx makes the bike still feel like a bike and i couldnt understand what it meant till that day out. I'm sold. Can't wait to have it now. Have a great summer everyone!

Court Rye
2 years ago

Great post Martin! Thanks for sharing your recent experience, sounds like you and your girlfriend were having a blast :D

N. E Buwono
2 years ago

How I can buy this for Jakarta /Indonesia area? Battery Shipping become an Issue, but I believe not sea freight.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Howdy! I checked with BionX and it sounds like they don't have a distributor in Indonesia yet and don't sell direct. They are slowly growing their base however and it might be possible to get one of their systems in the future. In the meant time, I believe this company will ship internationally and their electric bike kits are pretty good in my opinion :)

Craig Vandeleur
1 year ago

Hi Court.. surely unsprung weight on a Hardtail is not unsprung weight... or are there other factors in the equation ?? Regards

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Craig! You're correct that without a rear suspension "spring" system there would be no impact on unsprung weight. I probably overdid it in this review talking about unsprung weight but wanted to emphasize to off-road users that a mid-drive would handle better for those with full suspension. In my comments here I wasn't as clear, sorry for the confusion and thanks for speaking up ;)

Manuel
11 months ago

Hi Court. just a question, how much clearance do i need to set up the battery on a mtb hardtail small frame?

Court Rye
11 months ago

Hi Manuel, I wish I could give you an answer but I have no idea... BionX has pretty good customer support and would have the latest battery dimensions so maybe reach out to them. Feel free to post what they share as another comment to help others out :)

Manuel
11 months ago

I found the templates on their website, very helpful. By the way can you still J-hop or bunny hop with this setup? how to you approach a curb with this thing?

Court Rye
11 months ago

Hi Manuel, glad you found what you needed! Depending on your strength and the bike frame chosen for the kit yes, you can bunny hop but it requires more effort. The D-Series motor isn't especially heavy even though visually it's big. Having the battery mid-frame improves balance so you can hop and slide the bike more easily. If you get one of these or do a test ride and have a chance to share your thoughts on hopping I'd love to hear about it :D

Manuel
11 months ago

I was about to get one but it got me thinking "what if the kit runs low on battery in the middle of a trip in the middle of loooong steep hill?" I checked reviews online and none of them mentioned the kit's behavior at certain level, most reviewers like yourself test the kit at 50ish-full charge. I wonder how it behaves at let say 10%? will it still help you climb steep hills? will it still give you power / assist as it was in full charge?

Court Rye
11 months ago

Hi Manuel, in my experience the battery charge level doesn't make a huge difference from 10% up to 100%... Yes, at peak charge some throttle controlled ebikes feel zippier and fresher but you usually get excellent performance throughout and then it drops drastically just before running out (usually way less than 10%). This isn't something I'd worry too much about, especially when operating with pedal assist.

Al Manzer
10 months ago

Thanks Court for your efforts in answering all questions. You're doing a great job. Here's one more question. For years, I have been extending my travel distance on my 350W BionX bike by adding auxiliary batteries on long trips. When my BionX battery is depleted. I can switch the power source to eight 18V Ryobi batteries, mounted in 2 banks of 4 batteries on the cross bar. This gives 36V output which can drive my motor. Now if I get the D500 system and eventually add auxillary Ryobi batteries, will it work when the output is 3X18= 54V? Will the extra 6 V be an issue with the D500 electronics? Al

Court Rye
10 months ago

Wow! I'm amazed that you were able to wire in the Ryobi batteries with your 36 volt system, how did you connect them? I'm guessing it could work the same way for the 48 volt system with the D500 but this is one area where you want to be very careful so as to avoid potential fires. Just did an article about this with an expert friend the other day here. It sounds like using the incorrect charger can be an issue, not sure about powering an incorrect source?!

Al Manzer
10 months ago

Thanks Court for your quick reply. Tapping in extra 36V batteries is relatively easy to do by connecting the positive and negative wires from the auxiliary batteries (one battery at a time) to the main terminals of the motor. Over the years, I have added 3 auxiliary batteries to my existing BIONX system (eight Ryobi batteries as one unit mounted on the main tube between the seat and handle bars, and 2 more 36V BIONX batteries, one on each side of the rear wheel near the axle. The bike is heavy, but I have been able to travel 140 miles over hilly terrain in one day without recharging. As a precaution, I do mount the batteries, only when the bike is outside and away from the house. I think I will take your advice and not use a 54 V auxiliary battery on a 48 V BIONX motor. Instead, I may reconfigure the 18650 cells in one of my older 36V BIONX batteries to 48 V and see what happens. I may just blow the fuse or fry the circuit board...to be continued next fall after the fishing season.

Court Rye
10 months ago

Cool! Thanks for sharing your experience modding the kit Al. I just went out for a walk this afternoon near San Antonio, TX and met a bunch of people fishing. Beautiful Spring/Summer day here... nice to see people outside enjoying it :)

Vicki Boyer
7 months ago

Would it be a bad idea to mount a Bionx hub motor on the front wheel of a Manhattan cruiser tricycle? ( Just guessing, but maybe on account of incompatibility with regenerative braking?) I use the trike as a cargo "bike" and would like to haul loads up moderately steep sidewalks. Appreciate any advice - many thanks!

P.S. i live in northern Ontario, and would like to run the trike in cooler weather so am also wondering what i could get away with in that respect . :-)

Court Rye
7 months ago

Hi Vicki, the BionX systems are designed to go in the rear wheel since they activate with a torque sensor in the hub. If the motor was up front it probably wouldn't work properly (maybe throttle mode could be made to work). Have you seen the E-BikeKit trike kit? I'm almost sure it would work and their support is good. Hope this helps! Feel free to seek more feedback in the EBR forums as well :)

Vicki Boyer
7 months ago

thanks for replying to a far-fetched question- BionX is the kit that my local bike shop deals in so thought i would just take a wild guess to start :-) Have actually been eyeing the E-Trike kit for some time, but then saw your interview with the young man who helped put a mid drive motor on a Manhattan trike - the HPC Grub Hauler was what you called it.

I weigh more than i should, about 150 pounds, and at the age of 57 my right knee is starting to give out so am thinking i should opt for more than i need just to have a kind of margin for the future, Would this make the mid-drive a better choice than a hub motor? Finally am also wondering what a Ridekick could do for me-I love the fact that it's detachable!

Keep up all that wonderful work!

Court Rye
7 months ago

Hi Vicki! Thanks for sharing your background, weight and intentions with this bike. I love BionX because their kits are well made, super quiet and offer both pedal assist and throttle mode. HPC and other companies offer nice mid-drive solutions but they tend to be louder and can wear your chain and sprockets if you don't shift carefully. Honestly, at 150 lbs you're not super large and I think any of the BionX kits would work well (you don't have to get the largest D-500). I see why you want to make sure you've got "more than enough" but consider that pro athletes put out 200 to 250 watts of power as they ride long distance, so for you that's like more than doubling your personal leg power and as you go up in power usually weight increases and definitely price does. I'd save the money by getting a 350 watt BionX kit and definitely work with your local shop to have it installed. They will likely install it correctly and be there for you when maintenance has to happen or if there are warranty issues. Installing ebike kits is not fun... even for someone like me with the tools and experience, it takes time and strength to do. The fact that you have any local bike shop willing to help is awesome and considering they carry one of the best brands is spectacular. That's just my opinion, there are LOTS of great ebike solutions out there and many of them would work just fine at the end of the day, especially if you get help installing them :D

Andy
3 months ago

Thanks for the sort of review on the kind of Bionx kit. It was sort of helpful and kind of helped me decide sort of which kit I would like to kind of go with. I sort of appreciate the kind of time and expertise you sort of have. Im sort of a fan of your kind of website.

Court Rye
3 months ago

Are you being sarcastic because I use sort of and kind of a lot?! I'm on to you Andy XD

Andy
3 months ago

Haha! Just messing with you man. In all seriousness, I deeply appreciate all that you do. I too live in Austin and commute to work on my bike. I recently decided to convert my bike to electric and have found your website to be extremely useful. Thanks!

Court Rye
2 months ago

Awesome, thanks Andy! There are a bunch of great sites out there including ElectricBikeReport.com, ElectricBike.com and Endless Sphere. I do my best to represent purpose-built ebikes and offer a community that is constructive and welcoming. I'm glad it has helped you and I hope your bike works great! Be sure to drop an update at some point after you've been riding for a bit, maybe even share pics or something in the forum :D

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Start a new d 500 thread on the BionX Forum page .

Hamilcar Stronginthearm
1 month ago

Hi EBR, great reveiw. Can this hub be laced to other rims? I've been looking for this information all over, but can't seem to find it. It seems to me that hub motors (especially good ones like the Bionx with regen) and 'fat' or 'plus' size wheels address each other's weaknesses: Hub motors work poorly with conventional suspension because they are unsprung weight, but with 'in tire' suspension they would be sprung weight. Fat & plus wheels have huge rotational inertia, making starting and stopping a PITA, but with regen and a motor, starting and stopping beats up your legs (and psyche) less. Thoughts?

ADDICTED TO GEAR
2 months ago

$2500 plus the cost of the bike... May as well buy a bike with a system already integrated at that point.

Will C.
5 months ago

Video length...

TheFonzo
5 months ago

Can you PLEASE review pricing in these videos!!!!

Mike George
4 months ago

2500$

leesmusic
6 months ago

Need more forward facing camera angles, when you were going up the hill i had no concept of the speed because you had the camera focused on the wheel which wasn't helpful. Otherwise great video.

ChgoCPA
6 months ago

I have had this D500 motor on a folding Montague Navigator for almost 2 summers now and about 4,000 miles and commute to and from work about 20 miles per day in one charge. On setting 1 (25%) the entire way it is about 75% battery full after 20 miles. I have a lot of weight on it (about 300lbs total) so I have already broken 4 spokes (it uses 298/299mm straight pull spokes), but that is far fewer than I had with my Bionx 350. I have had to have the console replaced twice because it stopped working. I am also on my 2nd throttle and am giving up on that concept as both of them would increment the assistance without my asking for it (unplugging it fixes the problem, but then I have no regen braking). It would be nice if they had one that only had a throttle and regen braking with no +/- on it. Get it from a local bike shop for easier repair. I had even more problems with my Bionx 350. If you want a full size wheel full frame folding bike, you do not have many choices, but I do wish Bionx has better quality control.
My motor does cut off at 20mph / 32kph, so I never use setting 4 and seldom use the throttle on flat land because it becomes a jerky ride with the motor constantly turning off and on again.

mike v
7 months ago

Good only for short < 25 mile rides. If you want exercise and want to turn the motor on only on steep hills, or on the way home this is not the item. It must be on 25% to overcome the motor. So with the motor in the off position, you must add 150 watts of pedaling power to go normal speed. I wanted it for long rides, but even with hard pedaling on my part (I love exercise) the battery was dead after 25 miles. It is fun to ride as the assist is strong, but that is cheating. Great for those who cannot pedal or have health issues or are out of shape. Those wanting to get in shape and go far, this will not help you.

Thordur Hognason
5 months ago

blablabla

no comment
10 months ago

moving to Australia I see there they only sell the "old" bionx , why ?
trying to dump off old software maybe

IWroteThis
6 months ago

Sorry, gotta slow them Aussie convicts down. lol

Dr Abdalla Alkhashmani
11 months ago

Hi, Nice review ... I like your videos ...
Can I put this on a Giant Talon 3 2016 model that has 27.5x2.2 inch tires.
Thanks

Daily Doggin
2 years ago

I've got the D500 on my Giant Talon 3.0.  I put Schwalbe Super moto X tires. and I use it to go to work everyday.   I can't pedal much faster than 34 KM/H with assist on level 4. I do feel the motor holds you back a bit.   It would be nice is assist was maxed at 40 KM/H and just throttle maxed at 32 KM/H.    I can pedal 40 KM/H as a good cruise speed. so I think it would be much more enjoyable this way.

Dr Abdalla Alkhashmani
11 months ago

Hi Daily
I also have Giant Talon 3 2016 model
So, D500 will fit on it ?
what do u recommend, this D500 or Leeds 500s ?
Thanks anyway

Tom schaffner
2 years ago

Lazy fuck

Tom schaffner
2 years ago

Lazy fuck

lonelycyclist
2 years ago

The trouble with these things is the battery won't take you very far before it runs out.

Simon Drapeau
2 years ago

Imagine on slick tires.

Simon Drapeau
2 years ago

Canadians make things right !

rpmbxdj
2 years ago

So I got my D-500 installed on my Hardrock Sport and it's very torquey and quick as advertised. But my only gripe is that when you hit 20 mph even with pedal assist the system really taps you off at about 21.5 mph. It feels like the motor drags you down so you don't exceed 20mph. Kind of disappointing honestly. I saw some videos on here of riders going up to 28 mph with pedal assist in stage 4, was kind of hoping for the same result. Have you had anyone experience this as well?Thanks for your reviews and posts as always!

rpmbxdj
2 years ago

+Tom T too bad you're too far man

rpmbxdj
2 years ago

+Tim Lewis yes it actively stops you from pedaling faster than 20 mph. It would be nice if it would allow you to hit 28 mph with pedal assist, like the Ohm bike. That's why I bought the system honestly thinking I was going to achieve the same performance, but nope!. I wouldn't mind if the they wanted to limit
The throttle to 20 mph but for Pete sake don't kill us with the restrictive pedal assist too!

Tim Lewis
2 years ago

+rpmbxdj does it actively regenerative brake against further pedaling effort or is it just an odd transition to pedaling unassisted?

Tom T
2 years ago

I offer an unlocking service. It's entirely software-based but requires a piece of hardware to be momentarily connected. I do it here in Phoenix Arizona and it requires shipping your motor and console to me. It's reversible. Technically voids your warranty.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+rpmbxdj You are correct about the top speed limit... BionX systems are locked via software and I don't know anyone who has jailbroken them to go faster. I'm glad that you're enjoying it overall and welcome you to share if you do figure out different settings back at the forum: http://electricbikereview.com/community/forums/bionx/

rpmbxdj
2 years ago

When i install this on my 05 Specialized Hardrock Sport, I will definitely keep you posted! Waiting on Nycewheels to let me know when they get it!

Bike Attack Electric+
2 years ago

Marc adaime, the BIONX D 500 DV is available for 29ers.

Bike Attack Electric+
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Yes we do!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Bike Attack Electric+ Thanks for helping out, do you guys carry the D-Series at your new store in Santa Monica?

bareyb
2 years ago

You mention that this still has that 20 mph limit. Did you verify that to be true? The sales guy today told me there is no speed limiter on the D500. Can you clarify? Thanks for all the great reviews! I just subscribed to your channel. I'm in the market. I may get a Falco 500 watt kit but I'm also considering the BionX D500, but only if it's not speed limited. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+bareyb Hey, thanks! Sounds very exciting, the Falco team is very responsive and I like the open nature of their systems. Feel free to post about your experience including pics etc. as you get the feel for it back in the forums, might help others who are considering the brand: http://electricbikereview.com/community/forums/falco/

bareyb
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Thanks for the update. I put my money down on a Falco 500 Watt, 36V, 11.8 Ah today. It's being installed and I can pick it up in a couple of days. Very excited to get into e-biking. Really enjoyed your review on the Falco systems too. You do a great job with those. :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+bareyb Great question... the unit shown on film here did not have speed restriction setup but that's very rare. It was being demoed at BionX headquarters in Canada. Any unit that you might buy will definitely be limited at 20 mph because that's how shops are required to set them up for legal reasons. If you want a higher speed motor I'd recommend contacting Falco but note the risks and legal liability of using such a device without a license (unless on private property).

Peter Chang
2 years ago

whats the range distance for this bike?

Peter Chang
2 years ago

ok if i do i will let you know thanks :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Hi Peter, since the D-Series is really a kit that comes installed on several bike models it's difficult to estimate expected range. There are also factors like terrain, rider weight and even weather to consider. The company estimates between 65 and 80 miles per charge with the large battery pack. For more details check out the full writeup here: http://electricbikereview.com/bionx/d-500/ and if you get this kit, I'd love to hear your real world feedback in the comments as I'm often unable to fully test bikes for range etc. due to time constraints :)