AddMotoR MOTAN M-5800 Review

Addmotor Motan M 5800 Electric Bike Review
Addmotor Motan M 5800
Addmotor Motan M 5800 Bafang Mid Motor Neco Alloy Pedals
Addmotor Motan M 5800 Mozo Spring Suspension Fork With Lockout
Addmotor Motan M 5800 Control Panel Ergo Grips Bell
Addmotor Motan M 5800 Bafang C961 Lcd
Addmotor Motan M 5800 Blaze Lite Headlight Fat Tires
Addmotor Motan M 5800 48 Volt Battery Pack
Addmotor Motan M 5800 1000w 48v Ebike
Addmotor Motan M 5800 46 Tooth Chainring With Alloy Guard
Addmotor Motan M 5800 Tektro Aries Mechanical Disc Brakes
Addmotor Motan M 5800 7 Speed Shimano Tourney
Addmotor Motan M 5800 Blaze Lite Rear Fender
Addmotor Motan M 5800 Plastic Rear Fender Mud Flap Punched Out Rims
Addmotor Motan M 5800 Electric Bike Review
Addmotor Motan M 5800
Addmotor Motan M 5800 Bafang Mid Motor Neco Alloy Pedals
Addmotor Motan M 5800 Mozo Spring Suspension Fork With Lockout
Addmotor Motan M 5800 Control Panel Ergo Grips Bell
Addmotor Motan M 5800 Bafang C961 Lcd
Addmotor Motan M 5800 Blaze Lite Headlight Fat Tires
Addmotor Motan M 5800 48 Volt Battery Pack
Addmotor Motan M 5800 1000w 48v Ebike
Addmotor Motan M 5800 46 Tooth Chainring With Alloy Guard
Addmotor Motan M 5800 Tektro Aries Mechanical Disc Brakes
Addmotor Motan M 5800 7 Speed Shimano Tourney
Addmotor Motan M 5800 Blaze Lite Rear Fender
Addmotor Motan M 5800 Plastic Rear Fender Mud Flap Punched Out Rims

Summary

  • Powerful and fast electric fat bike with fun color scheme and capable 4-inch wide tires that help float through mud, snow, sand, gravel and other loose terrain
  • Bafang 1,000 watt mid-drive motor offers a top throttle speed of ~30 mph and the larger-than-average downtube battery gives you the juice to enjoy it and go a bit further
  • Entry-level front suspension with lockout, fat tires and wide saddle make for a comfortable ride (especially if you lower the PSI), good weight distribution with the motor and battery low and center
  • Good ebike option for hunters who want to go deep into the woods without getting slowed down by soggy terrain, the smell of gasoline, and the noise of an ICE motor, only sold online so expect some DIY and limited support
Warning, in some configurations this electric bike is classified as a moped or motorcycle and may not be ridden on cycling trails or paths. It may require licensing, insurance and lights when used on public roads.

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

AddMotoR

Model:

MOTAN M-5800

Price:

$2,699

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Sand and Snow, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Moped or Motorcycle (Class 4)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Worldwide

Model Year:

2018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

67 lbs (30.39 kg)

Battery Weight:

8.5 lbs (3.85 kg)

Motor Weight:

12.35 lbs (5.6 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

19 in (48 cm) Measurements: 19” Seat Tube, 23.5” Reach, 28” Stand Over Height, 25” Width, 73.5” Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Black with Orange or Red Accents

Frame Fork Details:

MOZO Spring Suspension, 100 mm Travel, Compression Adjust with Lockout, Preload Adjust, 135 mm Hub Spacing, 9 mm Skewer with Bolts

Frame Rear Details:

170 mm Hub Spacing, 9 mm Skewer with Bolts

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses,

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney Derailleur, Shimano CS-HG20C-7 Cassette 12-28 Tooth

Shifter Details:

Shimano SIS Index Thumb Shifter on Right

Cranks:

Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length, 46 Tooth Chainring with Alloy Guard

Pedals:

Neco Aluminum Alloy Platform with Raised Teeth

Headset:

Neco, Threadless, Internal Cups, 1-1/8” to 1/12” Tapered

Stem:

Neco, Alloy, 110 mm Length, 31.8 mm Clamp Diameter, Three 10 mm Risers

Handlebar:

Alloy, Flat, 640 mm Length

Brake Details:

Tektro Auriga Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Three-Finger Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Ergonomic, Stitched Faux Leather, Black

Saddle:

AddMotoR Branded, Relaxed with Foam, Black

Seat Post:

Alloy

Seat Post Length:

340 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.8 mm

Rims:

Alloy, Double Wall, Punched Out, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 12 Gauge, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda, 26” x 4.0” (98-559)

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

5 to 30 PSI, 0.4 to 2.1 BAR

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Plastic Mud Flaps, Steel Derailleur Guard, Adjustable Length Kickstand at Rear, Blaze-Lite Independent Headlight (Three AAA Batteries), Blaze-Lite Independent Detachable Seat Post Mounted Backlight (Three AAA Batteries), Independent Bell on Left

Other:

Locking Removable Downtube Mounted Battery Pack, 1.6 lb 2.5 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

1000 watts

Motor Peak Output:

1250 watts

Motor Torque:

160 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

17.5 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

840 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

6 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Display Type:

Bafang C961, Backlit LCD Control Panel with Independent Button Pad on Left, (Tap Power to Cycle Through Readouts, Hold + to Activate Backlight, Hold - to activate Walk Mode)

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (0-5) Battery Level (4 Bars), Trip Distance, Total Distance

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Left, Buttons: Up, Power, Down, USB Type A Port Beneath Display (5 Volt, 500 mA)

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Cadence, Torque, and Speed)

Top Speed:

30 mph (48 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Hey guys, this is Brent! The MOTAN M-5800 is the second electric bike from Addmotor that I’ve tested and is by far my favorite so far. Aesthetically, I really appreciate the black with striking orange accents, and I also dig that this electric bike is one of excesses. It has a larger than average battery capacity of 17.5 amp hours, more powerful than average 1,000 watt motor offering up to 160 newton meters of torque, higher top speed of 30 mph with the throttle, huge 4” wide tires and decent suspension with 100 mm of travel and lockout. It’s just all around fun to ride. However, one thing to point out with this bike right off the bat is that because of the “more than” features here, it’s beyond class, which means it’s likely not going to be legal on sidewalks, bike lanes and most trails. If this were my bike, I’d carefully check my local laws to be sure it’s legal to ride where I want, and then I’d also check out my local OHV parks to see about riding there. I hate being a negative nelly, but the reality is that with a bike like this, with so much power and top speed, there’s definitely some potential legal ramifications if I were to get into an accident. Injuries aside, having a lawsuit on my hands would be seriously unfortunate. Another interesting point that comes along with this bike, and all other bikes offered from Addmotor, is that they are a direct order company. This is great when it comes to price as it typically affords companies like Addmotor to shave down the price since they don’t have the overhead of physical shops. I think this is evident with the MOTAN M-5800, which runs for $2,699. That’s definitely not the most affordable price, but I think if I were to pick this electric bike up in a shop it would cost quite a bit more. Now, there’s also a handful of downsides to this setup as well. First and foremost, I’ve found there can be somewhat of a language barrier when trying to communicate with the company. This is of course no fault of there own, but it can make getting specific details about a bike before pulling the trigger to order it a bit difficult. Assembly can be another downfall to ordering direct. Not only can it be time consuming (the first electric bike I put together took me about an hour, but now it takes me only around half an hour) but there’s also the aspect of not having it pro tuned from a shop. Specifically, I find there’s a little bit of rattle in the brakes in almost every bike I put together myself. This can be worked out by carefully adjusting the front wheel, and even the calipers if needed, but it is time consuming and sometimes a pain to get just right. Lastly, and this is something I experience with the MOTAN M-5800, sometimes the accessories don’t fit exactly right. In this case, the included rear rack just didn’t want to fit. The included screws were just a tad too short to thread into the rear rack bosses, and the rear rack itself seemed like it was too narrow overall. I spent about 45 minutes trying to make it work, but just couldn’t get the screws to set. I’m not trying to bag on direct order bikes — actually I think they can be a great money saver — but I just want you guys to be aware of the potential pitfalls, as well as the potential benefits. Getting back to the electric bike at hand, there’s quite a few cool features about this one that I really enjoy. So here we go!

Driving this bike is a super powerful and torquey Bafang 1000 watt mid drive motor with 160 newton meters of torque. Yes, 160. I tested a similar Bafang mid drive motor (the Ultra Max) on the FLX Blade and loved it just as much then as I do now. I think this motor is a good choice for this bike. It almost needs this big of motor to deal with the 4” wide tires and a larger rider like me, who weighs ~200 lbs. Those tires are dope and offer tons of extra suspension thanks to their massive air volume and lots of traction because of the huge surface area. But that extra surface comes at a cost: drag. I can definitely feel the extra resistance with these tires, even when they’re inflated to the maximum recommended 30 PSI (they can go all the way down to 5 PSI for those extra soggy trail conditions), and that 160 newton meters of torque is great for helping get this bike started from a dead stop and for powering through mud, snow, sand, gravel, etc. You’ll still want to shift gears to the lower ones to really empower the motor though. It’s more like a manual transmission car with the mid-motor than hub motor setups like the Surface 604 Hunter that Court reviewed. Anyway, I think this Bafang middrive motor is apt for this particular bike because of how heavy it is. The M-5800 weighs in at 67 pounds and it is a heavy beast. Not only was is difficult for me to load and unload into my truck, but that extra weight means the motor has to work that much harder to drive it. The torque sensor on this motor is effective and does a good job of quickly giving and cutting off power when I start and stop pedaling, respectively. This motor can get the M-5800 up to a top speed of 30 mph with the throttle, or 20 mph with the pedal assist. And again, because there’s so much power on tap, I was able to hit the top speed pretty easily. Given I weigh 200 pounds, that’s a pretty cool feat. Another great aspect of this motor is that it’s a mid drive, so I can really leverage the gearing to be efficient and get decent range. I think this is particular important given the philosophy of use for this bike, which I think is going through slushy terrain like mud, snow, sand, gravel, etc. and for hunting or bikepacking. Being able to really leverage the power against the gearing is important for when I’m trying to get through those extra muddy sections. One thing I worry about with this motor, and all mid drive motors really, is the potential for a rock or log strike. This motor hangs pretty low and there isn’t any sort of protection underneath it. So if I get a strike on a rock, log or whatever, it’s going to come in direct contact with the motor casing itself. This could crack the casing or even potentially damage the internal gearing if it’s severe enough. Granted, this bike isn’t a stump jumper or anything, but it’s definitely something I would keep in mind while riding. The good news is, if I do damage the motor or anything else on this bike, Addmotor offers a 1 year comprehensive warranty… I haven’t tested that out, and given the communication barriers, I welcome your feedback if you have had any issues with the company.

Powering the bike and the backlit LCD display is a 48 volt, 17.5 amp hour battery pack, offering 840 watt hours of power. Waaaay more capacity than the average battery, most are around 500 wh these days. But again, because of how heavy this bike is — 67 pounds — and because of the extra wide 4” fat tires, it really needs a higher than average capacity battery. Anytime you’re riding above 20 mph, air resistance also starts to become a factore. So I’m glad Addmotor went with this setup. The battery itself is pretty hefty, weighing in at 8.5 pounds. This could be great if I’m in the middle of the wilderness and need an improvised bludgeoning tool to fend off a wild animal, but honestly I’m not too keen on lugging this battery around town in my backpack, which is a bummer because it does have a USB port to charge accessories! I do love my USB ports. Of course I’m exaggerating and I could throw this in my bag and walk around without too much trouble, but still, 8.5 pounds is pretty heavy, and it doesn’t make me want to buy a second one. Now, the upside of the battery being this heavy is that I can remove it when loading and unloading this bike to make the process easier. It’s the first time I’ve done this because of the overall weight of a bike, and I can tell you that in this instance it does make a pretty significant difference. Loading this bike into my truck without the battery in is much, much easier. Having a removable battery also means I can charge it up either on or off the bike, and I can keep it stored in a nice, cool, dry environment. The battery is locking and fits nicely into a recess in the downtube and doesn’t bulge out at all on the sides. The other upside to the battery is the location. In conjunction with the mid drive motor, most of the weight is kept centered and low on the M-5800. So, while it’s heavy, at leasts it’s not too unwieldy. It’s hard to estimate the max range on a bike like this that’s often ridden in off-road environments where the terrain is constantly changing, but I think I could easily squeeze 30 miles out of this if I was riding conservatively. Of course, if I were to keep the throttle wide open the entire time and cruise around at that 30 mph top speed, it would drain much, much faster. The charger for this bike has an output of 2.5 amps, which is a bit higher than the average 2 amps output, but it would be nice to have a 4 amp charger just because of how high of a capacity this battery is, expect 7+ hours for a full charge from empty. I’ve heard that it can stress Lithium-ion packs if you let them drain below 20% so maybe an average charge is 6.5 hours?

Turning the bike on is simple enough with a long press of the power button on the independent button pad, mounted to the left side of the handlebars – within reach of the left grip. For the display, Addmotor opted for the Bafang C961, which is a backlit LCD display that shows most of the pertinent information, including speed, assist level (0-5), battery level (1-4), trip distance and total distance. Unfortunately, the display isn’t removable without a tool so it can’t be swiveled to adjust for glare, and it also means the screen could get scratched up if the bike tips or you’re riding through low hanging branches and sticks. Maybe you’re just walking the bike through or pushing it up a hill? The display is large and subject to more damage than some of the other off-road displays and control pads on other products I’ve seen. Tapping the power button cycles through the readouts, holding the – button sets the bike into walk mode (but the twist throttle is also convenient for walking the bike or pushing it up steep paths that are unrideable), and holding the + activates and deactivates the backlight. The M-5800 does come with a headlight and taillight, but they are both independent of the control center and are push button operated. They each require three AAA to run and don’t offer too much in terms of actually illuminating my path, but should help to increase visibility at night. Since the headlight is mounted to the arch of the front suspension, it may also bounce around and come loose easier than if it were on the stem or handlebar and “sprung”. Depressing the brake levers activates the motor inhibitors, which shuts off from the motor and ensure I’m not fighting against it when braking. This is great for emergency situations, especially with a powerful bike like this that has a throttle, where I might forget to stop pedaling or let off the throttle.

I really enjoyed testing the MOTAN M-5800 and think this would be a great pick for those looking for an electric bike that can handle extra muddy terrain, sand, snow or taking long trips in the backwoods… but there are lots of fat bikes to choose from now, and some of the companies have excellent support. For this specific bike (with the higher top speed), I’m thinking of hunters who might need an electric bike to get way into the woods in places where ATV’s and other off-road vehicles are allowed. This bike feels pretty stable, even at the max throttle only speed of 30 mph, but I can definitely feel the decreased mobility from the 4” wide tires compared to a bike with thinner tires. The axles are standard 9 mm compared to the thicker 15 mm and 12 mm thru-axles on a lot of nicer fat ebikes. I was happy with the fact this bike could actually get me up to that advertised top speed without too much trouble and I like the style and reduced weight of the double walled punched out rims. Again, for a 200 pound rider, the bike performed pretty well overall. I dislike the large plastic thumb shifters because they take more flexibility to reach and can compromise the already unstable half-grip twist throttle hand position on the right grip… but sometimes these big shifters are easier to use if you’re wearing gloves. The plastic fenders do rattle a bit on this bike, the rear rack was tricky install and I wish the front and rear headlight were wired into internal electronics, but overall I had a lot of fun with this one and appreciate the “more than” mentality that comes along with the M-5800. Big thanks to AddMotoR for patterning with me on this review, and if you have any questions, drop them in the comments either here, on YouTube, or in the AddMotoR Forums and I’ll do my best to answer them! Just to be completely clear, assist level zero has no throttle and no pedal assist active… each step up in pedal assist gives you more power and speed for both assist and the throttle, and at level 5 (the highest level) you get 20 mph in pedal assist and 30 mph with the throttle.

Pros:

  • The black color scheme helps to hide cables, the battery, and motor casing but I like the sporty orange and yellow accents (reminds me of the Toyota Prerunner paint job that Ivan Stewart drove)
  • Comes standard with front and rear fenders and a rear cargo rack, and since most of the weight is kept in the middle of the bike, adding weight to the rear shouldn’t make it too unbalanced
  • Larger four-inch wide fat tires add more cushion because of their increased air volume and add tons of extra traction thanks to the increased surface area, making traveling over mud, sand, snow and gravel a breeze (especially with lowered tire pressure)
  • Includes an independent headlight and taillight to increase visibility in low light conditions, improving overall safety for those who like to ride at night
  • Front suspension coupled with the large tires makes for a cushy ride overall, and the wide seat adds further to the comfort but you could take an additional step by adding a seat post suspension
  • Powerful middrive motor gets the bike moving fast if you’re in a low gear and allows the gearing to be leverage agains the power of the motor as you shift (these tend to be more efficient than hub motors), the low and centered location of the motor is ideal for handling and stability
  • Larger than average capacity battery means the bike can travel further if you don’t max out the speed (it will still lose some efficiency because of the tires), hunters could always bring a second charger to go deep into the woods or buy a solar charger like one of these
  • 180 mm hydraulic disc brake rotors do a good job of stopping this bike, which is important given its very heavy curb weight of 67 pounds and higher top speed, the hydraulic brake levers allow for adjustable reach (which could be handy if you’re wearing gloves and want to bring them in)
  • Aluminum chain guard should help keep the chain from popping off towards the outside, as well as provide some protection to the chainring itself (acting as a bash guard)
  • The control center is backlit and easy to operate, the screen is large and easy to see (which is nice if you’re wearing glasses or goggles), I appreciate the independent button pad because it’s easy to reach without taking your left hand off the grip
  • 1 year comprehensive warranty is nice for those “just in case” scenarios, especially with the motor hanging so low on the bike
  • Throttle-only ability means the bike can fill more roles, it can be used as a traditional bike with no power, pedal assist, or using the throttle like a moped or scooter, the throttle is also live at 0 mph so starting from a standstill is easy (especially useful in deep snow or sand, or if you have to push the bike up a hill)
  • Torque sensor is accurate and does a good job of starting and stopping power when pedaling starts and stops, this is particularly important for powerful bike like this especially when navigating tricky terrain at slow speeds
  • Bike feels overall well balanced despite its heavy weight, and because the battery is removable it makes it easier to load and unload into a truck or onto a bike rack, no quick release on the wheels, so bring some tools if your truck bed or cargo space is limited
  • Steel derailleur guard extends over the derailleur to add protection against strikes, this piece should also help protect the power cable that feeds into the motor
  • Even though the frame only comes in one size and style, the top tube is angled down (because the battery sort of comes out the side vs. straight down), so the standover height of the bike is a little lower and you won’t get hung up if you have to hop off
  • Many off-road ebikes and electric mountain bikes skip kickstands because they add weight and can bounce and be noisy, but I like that the MOTAN M-5800 product comes with a stand that is both adjustable and positioned far back (clear of the left crank arm) because it is easy to remove if you don’t want it but difficult to buy and position a stand like this on your own
  • The motor controller responds to shifting by pausing motor power to decrease wear on the chain, sprockets, and derailleur, it seems like very few motors offer shift detection but it’s super important for such a powerful drive system on this particular bike

Cons:

  • Very heavy at 67 pounds, especially considering that it has punched out rims, the weight makes transporting and servicing the bike more difficult, but most fat tire ebikes weigh more (the high capacity battery and spring fork add to the weight)
  • Rear rack was difficult to install, which is one of the potential pitfalls for bikes that are direct order, brakes also rattle slightly since they weren’t pro tuned in a shop (a complete tuneup can cost $100 at mainstream shops)
  • Both the front and rear lights are independently powered by AAA batteries, you have to remember to press the button to turn on and off which can be tedious and easy to forget, it’s nice to have integrated lights (especially with such a high capacity battery pack) but those can get damaged easier in shipping, installation, and rugged use
  • Powerful motor and high top speed is great, but this makes the bike a class 4, which means that using it on the roads, bike paths, and sidewalks is probably illegal in most areas and could be a liability if someone gets hurt or property is damaged
  • The motor hangs low on the frame and has no skid plate or roll cage to protect it from strikes, leaving it vulnerable to being smacked by rocks, logs and other obstacles if you truly are riding through the woods
  • Big 4-inch tires are great, but they come with much more rolling resistance and reduced maneuverability compared to normal sized tires, you don’t want to run out of juice and have to pedal home with these, they also create a bit more noise on paved roads
  • No chain guide leaves the chain vulnerable to popping off towards the inside, especially since the chainring doesn’t have a narrow-wide tooth pattern, the rear cassette and derailleur are entry-level components with larger steps between and a limited gear ratio range
  • I struggled a bit communicating with this company and had to build the bike which takes additional time and effort, there was some technical detail that I just couldn’t get from them that I have with other companies
  • Control center isn’t removable or adjustable without a tool so angling it to eliminate glare or removing it when parking isn’t convenient, for off-road use it could be exposed to more scratches or damage if the bike crashes, smaller sturdier displays are being used for higher-end off-road models from other companies
  • Price tag of $2,699 isn’t particularly affordable, although the bike still feels like a good value overall because of the powerful motor and high-capacity semi integrated battery pack
  • Twist throttles are comfortable and familiar to people who ride motorcycles and do other power sports, but there’s a reason that jet skis and some ATV’s use triggers, they are less likely to get activated if you panic-grip when the bike is out of control… but at least the brakes both have motor inhibitors
  • The AddMotoR website can be a little overwhelming and confusing, so many choices and slight variations, this particular model only comes in one frame size and color option (which helps keep the price low)
  • It may be difficult to replace the stock suspension fork with a lighter (and nicer) air fork because it uses a straight 1-1/8″ headset vs. tapered 1-1/8″ to 1-1/2″ and 9 mm skewer vs. 15 mm thru-axle
  • The grips aren’t locking, so they might twist and spin if you really bear down, and the ergonomic stitched design feels pretty hard, they’re just cheaper parts
  • I guess there wasn’t room for bottle cage bosses on the seat tube, but it would have been nice on the top tube or below the downtube just to bring an accessory… especially since the rack didn’t work with the bike (screws were too short and the rack seemed tight and too small to really fit securely), finding a fat bike specific rear rack can be difficult
  • I wish that the throttle power and speed wasn’t dependent on which level of pedal assist was in use, and I would like to have a throttle only mode so I could just use it like a scooter and not worry about activating the motor with any stray pedal strokes

Resources:

More AddMotoR Reviews

AddMotoR MOTAN M150-P7 Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

Fat tire folding electric bike that comes in four different color schemes with steel fenders that are less likely to rattle when riding but could rust if scratched. Integrated headlight provides ample illumination, 750 watt fatbike specific hub motor offers good power and…...

AddMotoR HITHOT H1 Sport Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A cheap full suspension electric mountain bike built with light trails in mind that comes in one main color but offers four different color accents, blue, orange, yellow and green. Bafang 500 watt hub motor motor drives the bike to a top throttle only or…...

ima
4 weeks ago

Hey, great review but you should know that riding on wet meadows is really damaging. The grass won’t grow back in the tire ruts until burrowing critters dig up the underlying dirt. Please use some ecological awareness in these off-road test drives. Otherwise, thanks for the demonstration of this bike. I’m totally interested in massive torque.

Reply
court
4 weeks ago

Thanks for the feedback ima, I’ll pass it along to Brent. We want to set a good example and there were plenty of spaces in the video that were more like roads or less sensitive habitats. Thanks again :)

Reply
John
4 weeks ago

A much more insightful review of this bike than the previous two value reviews of the Addmotor HitHot and Juiced RipCurrent. I have the 2017 hub motor 500 W Motan, same color scheme, which I have retired to being my local go-to-coffee-shop bike. One thing I will say is that its a real head turner and I get lots of questions from people who see me riding it. Some the of build quality issues are the same as identified in this review, including the fastener tolerances, crappy front light, and useless fenders.

After about 1 week of use, I just ripped off the light and the fenders got shredded so I trashed those too. Have to say I much prefer the mid drive to hub motor, just because the weight is better balanced and less complexity on the rear wheel. Would have been nice to point out some of the cost compromises, like no quick release hubs. As a town bike, it’s a beast and if in a legal jurisdiction, then have a great time. But it’s bikes like this that give eMTB a bad name on MTB trails – the weight and tires chew up the trails and then all ebikes get banned. I take exception with AddMotor’s product description that states “Bike Is Perfect For All-Terrain, Effective On The Road, Trail, Mountain, City, Beach or The Snow Etc.” Road, City – yes, Mountain – maybe but not welcome in many places, Snow – maybe, Beach – no, will just sink like quicksand. The price is now $2,549.00 including shipping, which is a real bargain for the battery and drive system spec. Keep up the great work and check out the coming Skydio R1 which should make those drone shots even more awesome.

Reply
court
4 weeks ago

Great feedback John, thanks for sharing your experiences as an AddMotoR ebike owner. I agree with most of what you wrote but believe that fat bikes can actually do very well in sand. You can see an example of this in my review for the Bulls Monster E FS filmed at a beach in California. The key is to really drop the air pressure down to 5-8 PSI. At that range, it truly does float on even the soft dry sand. It seemed to work for me as a 135 lb rider but also the 180 lb rider friend I had with me. I’m open to hearing about your experiences with this sort of thing and what has been an issue for you before with sand (it certainly is messy).

Reply
John
4 weeks ago

I tried the Motan on a sandy beach (North Kaanapali, Maui) and it just sunk in and was very hard to peddle. Perhaps its works better on harder sand near the water and in places like Florida. Other consideration is getting sand grains in the drive train. I don’t think beach sand riding is a very good use case for this bike. Like I mentioned in my comments, perhaps best just to ride to local coffee shop instead. Just to add, I did buy a Turbo Levo (alum frame), which I am finding to be just so much better. Downside: 2x price. But I think worth it. I recently ordered a 2017 Hai Bike Sduro 7 from my wife. We’ll see how that goes.

Ken Maruska
4 weeks ago

I continue to struggle to understand the merit of fat tire ebikes. I assuming that it’s either the cosmetics or the super cushy ride quality that is the appeal (riding in the snow or sand is arguably going to remain an enthusiast thing), but the trade-offs of poor (potentially unsafe) handling on roads (+ the added tire noise) and packed trails seem to great to me. I also understand that on loose trails the traction of fat tires is superior but on loose trails no bike tires are really that great.

That said if I were young and really enjoyed snow riding I would seriously consider a fat tire if I had the cash to have a dedicated use bike.

Too many eBike brands are putting on accessories like these fenders and lights to check box a feature list but in reality they’d be better off not having them and dropping the price of the bike $20 and let customers pick some accessories that have some tangible value.

Reply
court
4 weeks ago

Hey Ken, it is indeed a niche… but cosmetically appealing product. When visiting Colorado, I went snowshoeing with some friends on a nearby foothills trail and we actually saw a non-electric fat tire cyclist cruise past. I was so stoked! Cheered the guy on and was just amazed to see it. Felt like spotting a rare wild animal or something, but it worked well and he was having a blast, even with the hard pedaling work. The snow wasn’t super deep and the path was semi-packed so it must have been like riding on wet sand or a soft leafy trail. He was definitely pedaling in a low gear :)

John
4 weeks ago

I completely agree with Ken regarding fat tires. They are mostly a cosmetic option. Looks cool riding around. For real performance, I much prefer “fattie” or plus tires around 2.8. Lighter, more easy maneuverable, trail friendly, less resistence on roads.

ken
4 weeks ago

I ride virtually exclusively on streets so I’ve not ridden the plus sized mtn bike tires or fattie tires. I have 27.5 x 2.4 Schwalbe Moto X tires on one of my urban bikes and without a doubt they improve ride quality and handling (thus improve safety in my opinion) and from what I have read these wider street tires achieve this without much increase in rolling resistance. Seem to make great sense that virtually all urban commute bikes would migrate towards tire widths in the 2.0 – 3.0 range given the benefits of that extra air volume and rubber on the road, but putting 4 inch and wider tires with knobbies for the limited applications where they really provide benefit seems a bit “over-focused” to me. While I don’t think that many are riding in sand and loose gravel that often, I can see why the winter snow riders (including hunters) would want fattie tire bikes. In other words, in some use cases the merits justify it but it seems most of the fattie interest in being driven by the cosmetics.

Reply
Steve
4 weeks ago

I just took out my Addmotor MOTAN 1000W Electric bike for the first time on the trails around me. I have to say-where i was riding, which was hillly, some mud bogs, my feeling is the 4″ tires were really helping me with stability. i was also hitting snow and ice patches…. so again the confidence of having the extra rubber made me think it was a nice feature. Now I did notice some drag– so iall in all this bike is definitely leaning towards the rider who wants to hit the throttle and less the rider who is just looking for pedal assist. So far I LOVE the bike. I haven’t run across anything too horrifying yet- but if I do, I’ll post here. I’m also looking for that step down 2.75 inch tire for other types of riding. I’m very thankul for all the choices. None of the State or local park/trails around me are rigidly enforced…. so I’m going to go about my business as low profile as possible and if I get stopped for some reason, I’ll just have to deal with it then. My feeling is if I approached any of the park officials around here and started asking questions, it would probably lead into a giving them some reasons to just BAN everything. I really doubt they are going to spend the time an effort to try to understand the technical differences between different electric bikes.

Reply
court
4 weeks ago

Great feedback on the tires Steve. I’m glad the bike has been working well for you, especially on the more difficult terrain it sounds like you’ve got. Have fun out there and ride safe :)

Reply
Peter
2 weeks ago

This bike does not seem to be full suspension.

Reply
court
2 weeks ago

Thanks Peter! You’re totally correct, that was my mistake… It’s fixed now ;)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Dewey
2 weeks ago

The https://www.biktrix.com/collections/bikes/products/biktrix-stunner?variant=54785500053 with the 52V 14ah battery would have a 728 Wh capacity, it has a BBS02 motor that can go 28mph, and a 7-speed IGH so you could shift gear when stationary at stop lights. Biktrix's https://www.biktrix.com/collections/bikes/products/biktrix-juggernaut-classic-hd?variant=51251405013 has the more powerful BBSHD motor and 960 Wh battery option but would be a very different riding experience on 4" wide tires and a heavy frame, other bikes like the Juggernaut include the Juiced RipCurrent S and AddMotoR MOTAN M-5800.

Mike's E-Bikes
1 month ago

I would go with the Magnum Ui5. You should be able to find it on sale for around $1500. (msrp$1699) It has everything you want, and they've been around longer than any of the folks you mention. For that short of a trip, you don't need anything more. Has a rack, lighting, integrated battery, tires slightly over 2" wide. If you advise where you are located, can suggest a shop. Otherwise I'd sell you one if you were close to Chicago. (p.s. they are transitioning to the Ui6, which has a 500,48v watt motor, but otherwise everything else is staying the same, which is great and since the Ui5 is a proven and high selling model.) Stay away from Addmotor, and the others. You aren't getting value with those where you need it, in terms of reliability, and paying extra for stuff on the others you don't need. I could show you the differences in person, which are obvious when you physically see the bikes. Hard to do that over the internet. Ui5 is also a very comfortable ride.

bob armani
1 month ago

Xeon- I agree with Chris regarding the Juiced bikes in either a step thru or a size small frame. The Voltbike looks like it fits also. Not sure where you are located, but there are some shops that stock Juiced for a test ride to see how the geometry on the bike fits your stand over and reach to the handlebars.

I also recommend Easy Motion -The Easy Go bikes listed on their website in the Prior Models category. I particularly like the 'Easy Go Street' which would be a candidate in your price range. We own one and is a great bike for the $$ and carries a great warranty if needed. https://emotionbikesusa.com/easygo-street/

bob armani
1 month ago

Xeon- I agree with Chris regarding the Juiced bikes in either a step thru or a size small frame. Not sure where you are located, but there are some shops that stock them for a test ride to see how the geometry on the bike fits your stand over and reach to the handlebars.

I also recommend Easy Motion -The Easy Go bikes listed on their website in the Prior Models category. I particularly think the Easy Go Street would be a candidate in your price range being we own one and it is a great bike for the $$

.

Nova Haibike
1 month ago

Of the bikes on your list, I think the Volt is the best choice. The Radcity is slightly better bike, but the size might be an issue (and they are out of stock of the step-thru). I would stay away from the Addmotor, and in my experience, the folding mechanisms on a lot of folding bikes is sketchy, so I would rule out the Ness as well.

If you could stretch the budget to $2K, the Prodecotech Genesis step-thru is spec'd incredibly well for its price.

XenoLily
1 month ago

Looking to purchase an ebike as a car alternative- I live only 3.5 miles from work, and rarely go anywhere else farther than that, so buying a ebike makes more sense to me than a car. I also work extremely early in the morning, so riding the bus isn't an option.

My budget is 1000-1500 MAX$ [monthly financing is a plus!]

I'm not very mechanically inclined, and while enjoy bike riding haven't owned one since I was in middle school, so understanding the various components has me at a loss, but here's some of the things I'd like:

-Throttle!! [my 3 mile ride to work is essentially a giant hill, would take mostly bike path/side walk, also would be good if I get ambushed in the dark, sounds paranoid but seriously you never know]
-Weather [my city is notorious for drastic weather changes, so being waterproof is necessary, be cool if it was good for snow]
-I'm 5'4" and about a 105lb so not something that's massive and ultra heavy
-Fenders and chain guards
-I think 2" tires would be good. The sidewalks are in somewhat disrepair. Should I go for fat tires?
-Reliability! I don't wants chains coming off and whatnot as I probably don't know how to put them back on without youtube assistance, so a brand with great customer service a plus!!!
-Bonus points for something vaguely stylish
- Front light!!!! I will be night riding and absolutely need light, and something powered by the main battery would be awesome!
-bonus points for a small rack to stash my work uniform or something
- I mean, folding would be useful but I'd prefer reliability over that.
-Bonus points for pre-assembled, but I do have a handyman who has built bikes before as backup

Things I don't care about:
-noise
-fancy gizmos like usb ports
-cargo [no kids, no heavy grocery shopping, I only buy what i can walk with]
-super fast speeds [I'm a small girl I just want to get to work without dying]

I was looking at the Ness Icon, Radcity/Rover, and the Addmotor Motan bikes a bit.

I thought about springing for the Motan but hardly see any reviews outside of Amazon, and honestly would prefer not to buy from Amazon. Thought about Radcity but is it just hype?
What about this one" http://www.voltbike.ca/voltbike-elegant-46.html

Really could use some help as I am out of my depth. It's something I've been considering for a very long time and I think I have read enough reviews to be ready to commit to a bike. Any suggestions or recommendations would be wonderful.

Addmotor
2 months ago

Hi RIck_Jo,
Thanks for your message.
We are sorry to tell you and we don't know FUJIANG VEHICLE.
We have a similar bike frame as EZbike's.
Although we are from China,there will be difference to each other.
Because Addmotor company has his own factory and assembles some bike
accessories from other reliable and trustworthy manufacturer.
However,Addmotor company keeps designing for the controller box and the
electric system.
That makes difference in comparing other ebikes,but it is just special for
the Addmotor electric bikes.
Maybe you can contact EZbike technical support team from where you get the
bike or the other manufactures and ask for their help on Alibaba website.
Good luck to you.
Best Regards.
Addmotor

Rick_jo
2 months ago

Thanks for your reply Addmotor, appreciated.
Yes for the price my bike is of good quality, I love my bike and I would love more to keep it going.
If I may reply to your comment without sounding rude. Your bikes are that of the EZbike FUJIANG VEHICLE company of the JiangSu Province, China so to claim you are the manufacture is a bit of a stretch. Is Addmotor owned by FUJIANG VEHICLE? If not, putting a sticker on a product does not make you the manufacture. An iPhone is still an iPhone even when bought from a different distributor. Do you redo all of the wiring that comes with the bikes from EZbike?
I have contacted FUJIANG VEHICLE but as yet have not had a reply. Do you have a reliable contact at the Changzhou FUJIANG VEHICLE Co I could get in touch with?

Addmotor
2 months ago

Hi RIck_Jo,
Addmotor is a trustworthy manufacturer of products good quality.
Addmotor HitHot H2 fat tire e bike with special design and provides good technical support.
Addmotor's bikes have some differences in personality and function to the EZbike.
It's a pity that we can not help you to solve this problem.
Please contact EZbike's technical support team and ask for their help.
Best Regards.
Addmotor

Addmotor
2 months ago

Hi,
Addmotor is a trustworthy manufacturer of products good quality.
Addmotor HitHot H2 fat tire ebike with special design and provides good technical support.
Addmotor's bikes have some differences in personality and function to the EZbike.
It's a pity that we can not help you to solve this problem.
Please contact EZbike's technical support team and ask for their help.
Best Regards.
Addmotor

Rick_jo
2 months ago

Hi,
I have the Hithop h2 fat tire ebike (tde18) not from addmotor but bought direct from the Chinese manufacturer, ezbikes as I live in Australia. The bike has been great, love it! I have been getting alot of use out of it. However this last week the motor has been cutting out, the computer contoller is still on but no power is going to motor. To fix it I have to take out the battery and put it back in, (turning it on and off with the key does not work). I thought it may have been a battery connection issue as it is fixed when the battery is put back in, the battery and bike housing does not sit flush so I thought maybe the battery / bike conector pins but after reading the forum it sounds like it could be the brake sensor? Maybe taking the battery out is resetting it? The issue occurs at random and not after brakes have been applied. Could this be a brake sensor issue or something else? Anyone been having this issue?

Rosco
2 months ago

GreenBike USA does now have a GB500 fat tire model. I have 2 regular GB500's and we love them.

John Durkin
4 weeks ago

A much more insightful review of this bike than the previous two value reviews of the Addmotor HitHot and Juiced RipCurrent. I have the 2017 hub motor 500 W Motan, same color scheme, which I have retired to being my local go-to-coffee-shop bike. One thing I will say is that its a real head turner and I get lots of questions from people who see me riding it. Some the of build quality issues are the same as identified in this review, including the fastener tolerances, crappy front light, and useless fenders. After about 1 week of use, I just ripped off the light and the fenders got shredded and trashed those too. Have to say I much prefer the mid drive to hub motor, just because the weight is better balanced and less complexity on the rear wheel. Would have been nice to point out some of the cost compromises, like no quick release hubs. As a town bike, it's a beast and if in a legal jurisdiction, then have a great time. But its bikes like this that give eMTB a bad name on MTB trails - the weight and tires chew up the trails and then all ebikes get banned. I take exception with AddMotor's product description that states "Bike Is Perfect For All-Terrain, Effective On The Road, Trail, Mountain, City, Beach or The Snow Etc." Road, City - yes, Mountain - maybe but not welcome in many places, Snow - maybe, Beach - no, will just sink like quicksand. The price is now $2,549.00 including shipping, which is a real bargain for the battery and drive system spec. Keep up the great work and check out the coming Skydio R1 which should make those drone shots even more awesome.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

Awesome comment John, would you mind copy/pasting it into the writeup? I feel it's balanced, full of insights and could really help people: https://electricbikereview.com/addmotor/motan-m-5800/#comments

Brent McCluskey — Electrified Reviews
4 weeks ago

Thanks for these insights, John! And good point about not having a quick release hubs. They're also not through axles... just skewers. Cool hearing about your experience with 500 watt version and I feel you on the head turner thing.

howlingwolf125y
3 weeks ago

I like the bike overall .. Love the price, bigger tires, extra speed - but the orange accents (rims) look like crap.. Although Brent is a cool dude, I guess I disagree with him on the rim looks (no offense Brent!!).. I hope you can order rims in other normal (less flashy) colors. (So you don't get very much attention - I like to ride in stealth mode!!). I kinda agree that the tires are nice but maybe a bit too big.

ᅚ ᅚ ᅚ ᅚ  
4 weeks ago

if i had a hub motor with the same torque would it climb the same size hills as this mid drive? just wondering, thanks

specifically i'm looking at "3000W Hub Motor 72V38AH Li-on Battery Powered Electric Bike Conversion Kit + LCD Theebikemotor" on amazon versus this AddMotoR brand

Addmotor electric Bikes
4 weeks ago

MID-MOTOR has higher stability and better center of gravity. In addition, difference is not only in torque. With accurate control of current output, some of the latest products will give you greater surprises. Please pay attention to ADDMOTOR's upcoming new generation of mid-range motor products
Many friends asked if ADDMOTOR has such a kit. Here we confirm will launch such products this year.
We try to meet the needs of most people for electric bikes, thank you.

sam millr
4 weeks ago

AddmotoR's customers would be better served if this were sold as a class 3 with a customer optional program override for customers who want to ride at 30 mph. Fewer legal hassles for customers, fewer liability issues for addmotor I'd assume as well.

sam millr
4 weeks ago

Cool, is there a class 3 setting as well?

Addmotor electric Bikes
4 weeks ago

All of our E-bike are set at the speed limit of 20 MPH at the factory accordance with ONROAD regulations. Of course, in the condition of OFFROAD, maximum power and energy can be released.

kurt hectic
4 weeks ago

Cheapest groupset, motor and 2700$? People wtf?

kght222
4 weeks ago

motor inhibitors on breaking aren't an option or a feature, they are a requirement. if hitting the break doesn't turn your motor off you have a problem.

kght222
4 weeks ago

oh, and depending on the type of pedal assist, motor inhibitors can be more important with pedal assist, because pedal assist doesn't usually stop accelerating just because you stop pedaling, the only way to stop the motor in a hurry is by cracking the brake, not using the brake (although in most cases you would be cracking then using it) but cracking the brake to disable the motor so that you stop accelerating. with a throttle you can at least let go of the throttle in a hurry, but unless you have a way to cut off the motor with your brakes you might be stuck fighting the pedal sensor and motor when braking in a hurry after recently pedaling. just as likely with a throttle, but at least all ya gotta do is release the throttle, with the pedal assist you can only fight the motor until it stops, or you could just use brake levers (and recently a device that you can mount on your brake cable) that can turn off the motor while braking.

kght222
4 weeks ago

i want the fenders from this bike, is there somewhere other than their site?

kght222
4 weeks ago

actually the price on their website is surprisingly reasonable. 35 bucks for the front and rear set of the fenders, and they will fit UNDER A RACK (i saw that before he mentioned the rack that he couldn't get on, been looking for this). this is exactly the fender set i have been looking for: http://www.addmotor.com/fenders-3139.html any idea where they get them?

ima bum
4 weeks ago

Great video, but please don't encourage folks to ride on wet meadows. It's very damaging, especially for meadows in rehabilitation. Even walking on meadows that are semi-wet, like after the snow has just melted, compacts the soil.

redrum murder
4 weeks ago

You're not the same guy I'm used to send what have you done with them... I smell treachery afoot

Brent McCluskey — Electrified Reviews
4 weeks ago

Haha “treachery afoot.” Love it. :)

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

Howdy, this is Court replying to you... Brent and I work together because there are too many ebikes for me to cover alone. He has been doing reviews here and there for the past several months. You'll see a whole bunch more from me in the coming weeks/months/years/forever!!! :P

Alex
4 weeks ago

Great drone camera footage! I liked the slow motion shots too 👍

Brent McCluskey — Electrified Reviews
4 weeks ago

Thanks Alex! Glad you dug it!

Steve Donovan
4 weeks ago

It might be worth clarifying with this Bafang mid drive that technically it does not have a torque sensor. It has a kind of semi sensor for torque variation in addition to the cadence sensor. Addmotor describe it as variable gear sensor and it is patented. What it does is detect the action when the rider shifts the gear.

Addmotor electric Bikes
4 weeks ago

We think that this motor is technically without a torque sensor, and of course we will check upcoming new generation of torque sensors. In addition, there is a displacement gear sensor. Its role is to detect the movement of the rider as it moves the gear. This allows the user to feel a smooth shift and improve some noise that the motor has been shifting.

Steve Donovan
4 weeks ago

I have a BBS02 and often go to the Endless-Sphere forum where ebike hobbyists gather. The BBSHD has been out for a couple years now and there are a lot of users but no one has torque sensor capability to my knowledge. There's been a lot of discussion and wishing but in the end, disappointment. There are threads too numerous to filter about the subject but I did a search and found one with this link that I've included below. Apparently Bafang designed this BB around the time the BBSHD came out but didn't include it in any of their motors. Someone in the forum called them asking about a separate purchase and Bafang said they only sell them in lots of 1000, so that ended hope for the enthusiast community. I know the Max motor has the capability but that's much newer and a different design. I also know about the shift sensor capability. I'm now questioning myself regarding the info I read from Addmotor, I may have completely misread it :) Anyway it's possible they've purchased the BB in this lone link I've given which could mean they've removed the stock non-torque bracket Bafang builds.

I enjoyed your review.

http://www.bafang-e.com/en/components/component/sensor/sr-pa2132st.html

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

Interesting, I think there is shift detection in addition to a bottom bracket strain sensor... on top of the basic cadence sensor. The early BBS01 and BBS02 did not have any torque signals, but the newer BBSHD and Max do (please correct me and provide a source if I'm incorrect here). Thanks for the input Steve!

3dkiller
4 weeks ago

bad bike design the motor hangs way to low and IGH is the best way with BB02/BBSHD setup. I dislike the orange color but thats my taste.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

The motor bothers me too, but it looked like the bike performed pretty well

Coffee News Mid-South Vancouver Island
4 weeks ago

I'm confused by how the throttle works on this mid-drive. The throttle does or doesn't rotate the pedals??? It seems like you went up a small hill without pedalling. Is that true?

Coffee News Mid-South Vancouver Island
4 weeks ago

Very interesting. I take it that this only applies to certain mid-drives? The BBSHD. What does that stand for?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

If your feet aren't on the pedals, they may turn slowly because the freewheel has some friction (in my experience with other bikes) but artdrectr is correct that you can hold the pedals constant and let the chainring spin with the motor separately. To use the throttle, you must be in 1-5 pedal assist level (it doesn't work in zero) and Brent said that the power output is limited by the level... which is unfortunate since it's a variable speed trigger.

Brent McCluskey — Electrified Reviews
4 weeks ago

Exactly what artdrectr said! Thanks for chiming in. :)

artdrectr
4 weeks ago

BBSHD mid-drive does not rotate the pedals, only the chainring. You can pedal, pedal with motor (Pedal Assist), or use the throttle and choose to pedal or not. You can easily just throttle everywhere but that is the quickest way to drain the battery. Best to use PAS for longer battery and mileage, with short bursts of throttle when needed.

Woody Bryant
4 weeks ago

Nice country, looks like sacramento area. Where was it filmed?

Woody Bryant
4 weeks ago

Well that was a long time ago. now we are living in the Caribbean. Not bad either. :)

Brent McCluskey — Electrified Reviews
4 weeks ago

Woody Bryant Oh right on. That’s not too far from me at all. Cool to find another biker from my area!

Woody Bryant
4 weeks ago

Cool, I used to live out Greenback ln. I don't miss the traffic and smog but the rolling grass covered hills with Oaks are great old memories. Enjoy !

Brent McCluskey — Electrified Reviews
4 weeks ago

Close! This is in Rocklin. There's some decent trails up Park if you're eve in the area.

jackson outram
4 weeks ago

Also there are no reviews on this E-bike so I’m kinda in the dark ordering one

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

Hopefully Brent gets a chance to do it, I'd love to see that too :)

jackson outram
4 weeks ago

You need to review the addMotoR t-3000 it’s the most expensive and also the fastest e-bike they make I’m planning on getting one to be my main mode of transportation

Brent McCluskey — Electrified Reviews
4 weeks ago

Hi Jackson! I'll see if we can get this one in the queue as well. That 3000 watt motor does sound pretty sweet.

Benjamin Jehne
4 weeks ago

...The only cool thing on this bike is the huuuuuuge battery pack and the motor. But for that amount of money from a direct selling company you can expect a complete Deore XT. We have some brands in Germany where you get a better frame, with overall way better components for around 1600€ incl. taxes. And there for, you get also a 24 month home service, if something goes wrong with the bike. But a 2700$ for that thing even without wired lights? How much cheaper can you build a bike... .

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

Prices are all over the place, with the anti-dumping laws now in Europe, I wonder if it will be more difficult to get stuff like this? Which brands come to mind that are similar Benjamin?

Younes Tenn
4 weeks ago

I want to buy this bike

Brent McCluskey — Electrified Reviews
4 weeks ago

It's pretty sweet. Would love to hear your experience with it if you end up getting one!

Welsh Gaming
4 weeks ago

I have seen these on amazon and the ones I can get are with the 1000w hub motor, looks fast

Brent McCluskey — Electrified Reviews
4 weeks ago

They are! This one tops out at 30 mph with the throttle in the highest pedal assist mode. But just remember this does classify it as a class 4. :)

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
4 weeks ago

Great review. Never heard of this bike before 😮. Kinda expensive too 😟.

"CLOTHED IN SHADOWS"👤

Brent McCluskey — Electrified Reviews
4 weeks ago

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS. Thanks, Shadow! Much appreciated. :)

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
4 weeks ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Yeah, he did a great job ☺.

"CLOTHED IN SHADOWS"👤

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
4 weeks ago

Brent McCluskey — Electrified Reviews I just subbed you buddy 🔔✔💻. I hope to see more bike reviews on your channel.

"CLOTHED IN SHADOWS"👤

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 weeks ago

Yeah, I think Brent did a great job here, fun to see the different angles :)

Brent McCluskey — Electrified Reviews
4 weeks ago

Hi, Clothed in Shadows! Glad you dug it. It's definitely on the pricier side. It was a lot of fun to review though!