FLX Blade Review

Flx Blade Review
Flx Blade Profile Right
Flx Blade Bafang Ultra 1000 Watt Mid Drive Motor
Flx Blade Spank Handlebars Bafang Control Center Shimano Ex1 Shifters
Flx Blade Spank Handelbars Magura Mtx Brake Levers
Flx Blade Bafang Control Center
Flx Blade Button Pad Throttle
Flx Blade Shimano Ex1 Trigger Shifters
Flx Blade 17.5ah Battery Rock Shox Fs Pike Rct3 Suspension
Flx Blade Rock Shox Fs Pike Rct3 Suspension Maxxis Tires
Flx Blade Funn Saddle Angled
Flx Blade Funn Saddle Seat Post
Flx Blade Cranks Funn Pedals
Flx Blade Shimano Ex1 Derailleur
Flx Blade Front 100mm Hub
Flx Blade Rear 135mm Hub
Flx Blade Profile Left
Flx Blade Sans 5ah Battery Charger
Flx Blade Review
Flx Blade Profile Right
Flx Blade Bafang Ultra 1000 Watt Mid Drive Motor
Flx Blade Spank Handlebars Bafang Control Center Shimano Ex1 Shifters
Flx Blade Spank Handelbars Magura Mtx Brake Levers
Flx Blade Bafang Control Center
Flx Blade Button Pad Throttle
Flx Blade Shimano Ex1 Trigger Shifters
Flx Blade 17.5ah Battery Rock Shox Fs Pike Rct3 Suspension
Flx Blade Rock Shox Fs Pike Rct3 Suspension Maxxis Tires
Flx Blade Funn Saddle Angled
Flx Blade Funn Saddle Seat Post
Flx Blade Cranks Funn Pedals
Flx Blade Shimano Ex1 Derailleur
Flx Blade Front 100mm Hub
Flx Blade Rear 135mm Hub
Flx Blade Profile Left
Flx Blade Sans 5ah Battery Charger

Summary

  • Purpose-designed electric made for extreme off-road use with a 1000-watt mid-drive motor, 17.5 ah battery and top speed upwards of 40 mph, it looks like a bicycle but is classified more as a moped
  • Extra large 203 mm, quad piston, hydraulic disc brakes provide ample stopping power, which is great for an electric bike that goes as fast as this one, good weight distribution with the motor and battery mid-frame
  • The control center can be easily seen in direct sunlight and offers tons of pertinent information like speed, range, wattage output and more, with no rear suspension or seat post suspension it could get a little bumpy
  • Given the heavier weight and higher possible speeds here, plus sized tires and wider boost hub spacing would have been nice, but at least the thru-axles are made to be stiff and sturdy
Warning, in some configurations this electric bike is classified as a moped or motorcycle and may not be ridden on cycling trails or paths. It may require licensing, insurance and lights when used on public roads.

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

FLX Bike

Model:

Blade

Price:

$3,999 ($4,269 for Touring Edition)

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Moped or Motorcycle (Class 4)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Mexico, New Zealand, Australia, Canada, Europe, Japan, Singapore

Model Year:

2018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

58.8 lbs (26.67 kg)

Battery Weight:

8.6 lbs (3.9 kg)

Motor Weight:

11.7 lbs (5.3 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

19" Seat Tube, 24" Reach, 29" Stand Over Height, 30" Width, 73" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Raw Metal, Gloss Black

Frame Fork Details:

Rock Shox FS Pike RCT3 with 160 mm Travel and Two-Position Compression Adjustment, Lockout, Rebound Adjustment, 15 mm Thru Axle with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

12 mm Thru Axle with Quick Release, 135 mm Hub Spacing

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses in Rear, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Sram EX1, 11-48T

Shifter Details:

Sram EX1 Triggers

Cranks:

SAMCX, Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length, 44T Chainring with Narrow-Wide Tooth Pattern and Aluminum Alloy Guard and Frame-Mounted Guide

Pedals:

Funn, Plastic Platforms with Raised Teeth

Headset:

Threadless, Internal Cups, 1-1/8" to 1-1/2" Tapered

Stem:

Spank, Aluminum Alloy, 106 mm Length, 31.6 mm Clamp Diameter, One 10 mm Spacer, One 5 mm Spacer

Handlebar:

Spank, Low-Rise, 770 mm Width

Brake Details:

Magura MT5e 4-Piston Hydraulic Disc Brakes with 203 mm Rotors, Magura MT5 Adjustable Reach Levers with Integrated Motor Cutoff

Grips:

Spank Flat Rubber with Lockers

Saddle:

Cionlli Funn

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Spank 345 Trail, Aluminum Alloy, Double Walled, 32 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 13G, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Maxxis Minion DHF, 27.5" x 2.5" (650B)

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

35 to 5o PSI, 2.5 to 3.4 BAR, EXO Protection, Tubeless Ready

Tube Details:

Presta

Accessories:

USB Charging Port on Control Center, Optional Rear Cargo Rack ($55), Optional Front and Rear Fenders ($55), Optional Suspension Seatpost ($40), Optional Smartphone Mount ($20), Optional Integrated Headlight and Taillight ($100)

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack with USB Port, FLX Branded Bafang Control Center

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang Ultra

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

1000 watts

Motor Peak Output:

1350 watts

Motor Torque:

160 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

LG

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

17.5 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

840 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

90 miles (145 km)

Display Type:

FLX Branded Bafang DP C18, Fixed Backlit LCD, (Double Press i for Settings Menu and Password)

Readouts:

Current Speed, Max Speed, Average Speed, Odometer, Tripometer, Range, Calories, Trip Timer, Clock, Mode, Watts or Amps, Battery in Percentage or Bar, Assist Level (0-5)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

40 mph (64 kph) (35 MPH with Throttle Only in Sport Mode, 20 MPH with Pedal Assist in Eco Mode with Limiter Enabled, 35 MPH with Throttle Override, Larger Gearing Required for 60 MPH)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

FLX is a relatively new electric bike company that sprung up late in 2016. They started with an Indiegogo campaign, offering three different electric bikes – the Roadster, Trail and Attack – with a funding goal of $50,000. They got $1.7 million! Now, FLX has a new model: the Blade. The Blade is a purpose-built electric mountain bike that was designed from the ground up with extreme riding in mind. The pricing starts at $3,999, which is definitely a pretty penny, and jumps up to to $4,269 for the Touring Edition, which features a rear rack, fenders, and integrated front and rear lights. This was an incredibly fun bike to test thanks to its top speed of around 40 mph and a 1,000 watt Bafang mid-drive motor. I had the opportunity to tear through some trails with this thing and needless to say, it has power to spare.

Now, the Blade only comes in one frame size, 19”, and while it does have a nice RockShox FS Pike RCT3 suspension in the front, it is a hardtail and there’s currently no option for a full-suspension setup. Thankfully, FLX does offer a seat post suspension upgrade, and of course you could always throw an aftermarket one on there yourself, as long as it offers 31.6 mm diameter like this. The frame itself is made of 6061 aluminum alloy, and the curb weight is a hefty 58.8 pounds. The single frame size could limit the range of rider heights that this bike is suitable for, but the geometry feels like it makes up for that a bit. The plus side of not having rear suspension is that the frame will likely be more rigid, but the vibration is transferred into your legs and back. The Blade also comes in two different colors: Raw Metal and Matte Black. The bike I was able to test came in the Raw Metal color and I personally really dug it. The unfinished looks makes for a very rugged and tough feel that might hide scratches better than a solid glossy color scheme. I did get a chance to see another model with in the Matte Black color and that looked nice as well.

It’s funny… at one point FLX mentioned on their website that the Blade is so dangerous it could kill you (It looks like they may have taken that part down now). But the truth is, because this electric bike is so powerful and fast, it does pose a unique risk to riders. Physically, one could get seriously hurt when pushing this thing to its limits. And there’s also the legal concern of riding this bike on mountain bike trails and public roads. It should be fine to ride the Blade in OHV parks and private property, but public roadways may be a different story and as an electric bicycle review site here, we want to be clear that this thing is neither a Class 1, 2, or 3 electric bike and is also not DOT approved to be licensed as a moped because it doesn’t have the appropriate lights and other safety certifications. All this to say, it’s probably a good idea to use this bike as intended to help minimize risk and maintain a good reputation for the emerging ebike space. Of course, there’s always a degree of inherent risk when riding any bicycle, but after a couple days on the Blade and seeing firsthand just how wild it is, I felt compelled to give you guys this little spiel. Okay, moving on :)

Driving the Blade to its top speed of around 40 mph is the Bafang Ultra geared mid-drive motor. This motor offers 1,000 watts of nominal power with up to 1,350 watts of peak power! But even more impressive is its 160 newton meters of torque. Yes… 160 Nm. It’s the torquiest motor I’ve personally tested and seems to fit the Blade’s philosophy of use quite well. Compared to most Class 1 ebikes which offer 50 to 90 Nm, the 160 here can feel exciting but might also put increased strain on the drivetrain and frame. Powering up moderate hills was a breeze (literally) and for all but the most extreme hills, I was able to rely solely on the throttle without pedaling at all. When tackling real hill climbs – ones where I actually had to get out of the saddle – I found the torque made the difference between me having to get off and walk up. One of the coolest things about this particular motor is that it’s Bafang newest version, which replaces some of the lower power designs that used nylon gears inside, this one uses all steel components. This upgrade in internal parts should help the motor handle the extreme torque being produced and improve its overall longevity. I was told that FLX is the first company to roll out purpose-built electric bikes with this new motor, so that’s pretty cool! They are on the cutting edge with this new Blade bike, yeah? Get it!

Now, I mentioned the top pedal-assist speed is around 40 mph, because technically the motor will continue providing pedal assist up to 60 mph (the throttle-only top speed is limited to 35 mph). Although I sincerely doubt 60 mph is even achievable, or safe for that matter, it is technically possible if you can keep up pedaling. In my testing, I was able to hit pretty close to 40 mph and I suspect stronger and more capable riders could manage to push it even further. And for those riders who are really looking to hit high speeds, FLX offers larger chainrings that do come with their custom CNC’d aluminum chain guards – a nice component that helps protect the chainring teeth and also keep your pants clean. I think it’s great that in addition to the guard plate, there is a guide accessory at the top to keep the chain from bouncing around and coming off at high speed as well as a narrow wide tooth pattern that locks onto the chain more securely. The torque sensor did a nice job of smoothly administering power equal to my output. So when I pushed lightly on the pedals, I got a little bit of assist; when I hammered down on them the motor unleashed all its power. The motor cutoff was also pretty quick, and cut power almost immediately after I stopped applying pressure on the pedals. I appreciate this aspect, especially with the high torque of the motor, as I’ve found that on some cadence sensor designs found on cheaper ebikes, the motor cutoff lags quite a bit, making navigating trails at slow speeds difficult and even a bit unstable and unpredictable.

Powering the motor is a 48 volt, 17.5 amp hour locking, removable battery pack. FLX estimates the range at up to 90 miles in the lowest pedal assist mode, but of course that depends on rider weight, ride style, and terrain being tackled. I’m a 200 pound rider and was able to tool around on this bike for a couple of hours in the highest pedal assist mode with plenty of battery to spare. I cannot say for sure what the range would be and it definitely depends a lot on how fast you ride and whether you rely on the throttle vs. lower levels of pedal assist. I dig that the battery is removable and also has a USB charging port. This means it power your portable electronic devices, whether it’s on or off the bike. You can easily charge it on or off the frame, and I’d suggest taking it off to reduce the weight of the bike if you’re going to put it on a car rack. The charger is a 5 ah charger, a step up from the normal 2 ah chargers I see on cheaper ebikes, and should help fill the massive 17.5 ah (or optional 21 ah that they used to offer) battery relatively quickly, but still expect 6+ hours. The first half of the battery will fill more quickly and then it will slow down in order to balance the cells.

Given the top speed of around 40 mph here, I was thankful that the Blade comes with massive 203 mm, quad-piston, hydraulic disc brakes. The stopping power on this bike is immense. I also dig the adjustable brake levers as I found that in their current position they crunched my fingers a bit when braking, so it’s cool I could let them out a little if I chose to. This is also something that could be fine tuned by a shop as you have the brakes bled and normalized. Having adjustable reach brake levers is also good for those riders with extra large or small hands, or when wearing gloves, which could be a good idea when riding fast on rough terrain or in cold conditions. Seriously, you might want to wear padding and a full face helmet here. The brakes also have built-in motor inhibitors which cut power to the drive system whenever the brake levers are depressed. I wasn’t able to actually test this aspect of the bike as Rob, one of FLX’s owners, had disconnected them. Still, I would imagine they work fine given that everything else on the bike worked as intended. To me, safety is always paramount, and having the motor inhibitors is a good feature to help ensure the rider isn’t fighting against the motor when braking. With a lot of electric bikes, it may not really be that big of a deal if the motor is still cranking out power while trying to brake, but with 1,350 watts of peak power and those 160 newton meters of torque, it’s definitely important here. The motor also cuts power when shifting gears thanks to the shift sensor. While this may not add a whole lot in the area of safety, it should prevent unnecessary strain on the components, which was a big concern of mine. And on that note, the SRAM EX1 trigger shifter and derailleur worked extremely well. The EX1 is designed specifically for e-bikes with a strong chain and sprockets, so it should be able to soak up extra stress compared to a normal setup. Shifting was incredibly crisp and quick with this system and the gear range is very wide with an 11 to 48 tooth spread. The jump between each sprocket is wider and the idea is that with motor assist, you don’t need as many gears, and those gears can be made from stronger heavier material. Normally on an electric mountain bike I would expect to see a 10 or 11 speed drivetrain but the 8 sprocket setup worked fine and is part of what boosts the price here. The EX1 is not cheap.

Another area worth mentioning here is the control center. I’m kind of a control center geek and I always love to see comprehensive stats while riding. The FLX branded Bafang control center on the Blade does just that. It displays pretty much everything, including current speed, top speed, average speed, range, battery level, pedal assist mode, wattage output and more. More importantly, I could read it in direct sunlight! The only downside to this display was that it’s not removable, so I might worry about it getting dinged up when the bike is being parked or transported and just taking more sun and rain damage over time. There’s less concern for scratches at the bike rack or theft because presumably, you wouldn’t be riding this in public places unless you live somewhere with no laws. On the plus side though, it does have the ability to enable a passcode, adding another layer of security to the bike which is a bigger deal if you have kids around or are just concerned about safety. I think of this thing as more of a motorcycle or car equivalent. If you damage property or hurt another person, you could be liable for operating an unregistered unlicensed vehicle. Please be safe!

The Blade is clearly designed to take a beating and deliver some spectacular performance with the purpose-built frame, good front suspension and overall build quality. One of my few gripes with the Blade however, is the hub spacing. With 100 mm in the front and 135 mm in the rear, I wonder if that’s going to be enough for some of the most extreme riders pushing this beast to its max. Wider hubs would allow for a stronger bracing angle and fatter tires that would absorb vibration and shock… which is a big deal considering there’s o rear suspension. Of course, this would add to the cost of the frame and accompanying components. Boost and plus sized tires are a newer trend and cost more. The hefty 15 mm thru axle in the front and a 12 mm thru axle in the rear are great and the 2.5″ wide tires do offer above average surface contact and traction. This was a seriously fun bike to test and I’d like to thank FLX and especially Rob for partnering with me on this review and for coming all the way out to California to hang out! As always, please post your questions and feedback below or connect with others in the FLX ebike forums.

Pros:

  • Incredibly powerful and torquey Bafang Ultra motor with 1000 watt nominal output and 160 newton meters of torque makes climbing even the steepest hills possible, it also drives the bike to speeds upwards of 40 mph
  • Sram EX1 trigger shifters and derailleur are specifically designed for e-bikes and should be able to handle the power and torque coming out of the motor, they also shift incredibly smoothly and have built in shift sensors to cut power to the motor when shifting, preventing the components from enduring unnecessary strain
  • Massive 203 mm, quad piston, hydraulic disc brakes provide ample stopping power, which is extremely important for an electric bike like this that can reach speeds upwards of 40 mph
  • Locking Spank grips should ensure the grips stay in place even when tackling the most extreme trails,
    a nice little feature that in my opinion falls under the category of safety
  • Motor inhibitors cut power to the motor whenever the brakes are the levers are depressed, ensuring the rider isn’t fighting agains the motor when trying to stop, another great safety feature
  • Control center is easily visible even in direct sunlight and offers a plethora of information including current speed, max speed, average speed, battery level, range, pedal assist mode, wattage output and more
  • Rock Shox FS Pike RCT3 front suspension does a great job of soaking up hard hits and making for an overall pretty smooth ride, they also have lockout and rebound and compression adjust
  • Frame is designed from the ground up with extreme mountain biking in mind, has virtually no frame flex and offers tons of rigidity
  • Funn plastic platform pedals are extra wide and grippy and help keep my feet in place even when hitting extra bumpy terrain
  • Torque sensor starts and stops power very quickly and accurately, matching the power output against my own, this is great for trying to ride slowly over tricky terrain
  • Battery has above average capacity of 17.5 ah, and FLX also offer a 21 ah battery, battery is locking and removable and even has a USB port to charge accessories while it’s on or off the bike
  • Gearing is good for high speed thanks to the 11-48 teeth cassette in the rear and 44 teeth chainring up front, FLX also has larger chainrings for riders who want to hit even higher speeds
  • Custom CNC’d chain guard protects the chainring from damage and looks cool, frame-mounted chain guide and narrow-wide teeth setup on the chainring helps ensure the chain stays locked in place
  • Overall beastly looking bike and the Raw Metal color looks especially good

Cons:

  • Normal hub spacing is underwhelming given the extremely high speeds the Blade can hit, having boost would be a good option to add even more strength and structural integrity as well be able to equip plus size tires
  • The optional 21 ah battery pack bulges out past the frame and could get in the way during pedaling, it also probably won’t look as clean as the flush 17.5 ah battery
  • Lack of full-suspension means riders only have the option of adding a seat post suspension, the hardtail setup also adds extra stress on the chain and motor
  • No kickstand included, and while riders can install an aftermarket one it appears it can only be mounted in the back
  • No fender bosses in the front so the only way to mount a fender is to find one that compression fits inside the stem, while FLX offers their own it could be difficult to find other aftermarket ones
  • Control center can’t be removed, leaving it vulnerable to theft and scratching when the Blade is left at a public bike rack
  • Only one frame size may limit the range of rider heights the Blade can accommodate
  • At $3,999 for the standard version and $4,269 for the Touring Edition, the Blade is definitely an expensive electric bike and might not offer the utility of around town commuting because of it’s unclassified power and performance

Resources:

More FLX Reviews

FLX Roadster Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An affordable high-speed electric road bike with efficient narrow tires, no suspension by default but FLX does offer a seat post upgrade along with optional fenders, rack, and lights for safer night riding. Three different colors to choose from: White Lightning, Carbon Black, and Gun Metal Gray, only…...

FLX Trail Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A hardtail cross country style electric mountain bike with quiet Bafang Max Drive 350-watt mid-drive motor, adjustable top speed upwards of 35 mph position it for private property or OHV use only. Three different colors to choose from - White Lightning, Carbon Black, and Gun Metal Gray…...

2016 FLX Trail Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A mid drive, hardtail electric mountain bike with pedal assist and throttle mode, capable of higher top speeds with assist ~25 mph. Funded through Indiegogo in March 2016 at a discounted price, available to ship worldwide with…...


Roy Gustaveson
5 months ago

You mention in the review that because of its speed it is illegal to ride on the street. If you were to set the max speed at 20-28 mph would that make it street legal?

Reply
court
5 months ago

Hi Roy! My understanding is that ebikes are rated by their motor nominal output. Anything under 750 watts could qualify as Class 1, 2, or 3 in the US and then they are sorted out by max speed and pedal assist vs. throttle so that 1 and 2 go up to 20 mph and 3 can reach ~28 with pedal assist only. I doesn’t seem like there’s a lot of enforcement going on with electric bicycles… but that doesn’t mean that a lawyer wouldn’t dig into the exact details of your bike and use that in a lawsuit if something unfortunate happened. I tend to stay on the very safe side (this is Court writing this comment) whereas Brent really likes the high speed stuff and enjoys the off-road private use. I hardly ever ride on OHV trails and very frequently commute on city streets so I would not feel comfortable buying this bike for myself. I just wouldn’t want to bend the rules and thus, would not use it very much.

Reply
Gary Alexander
3 weeks ago

What Court said is true. However, with the use of a $25 programming cable, anyone who is not comfortable riding this bike on public roads / bike paths as it ships, can, in 5 minutes neuter the bike cown to 750 wats, 20 mph max throttle and 28 mph max PAS. This would make it totally legal for class 3 approved paths.

Additionally you could neuter it all the way down to class II if you really wanted to ride ONLY in class II approved areas. Personally, mine is arriving tomorrow and I will ride it as delivered!

Reply
court
3 weeks ago

Cool! Do you have a link or more information on the programming cables? I haven’t ever installed one and have limited experience with ebike tuning. Thanks for sharing the tips and options for people who might not be aware. I hope yours arrives in great condition and you’re able to get out for some fun rides very soon :D

Reply
Gary Alexander
3 weeks ago

Court,

Here is a link on where to purchase the cable https://amzn.to/2L9DtwO This cable also works for the Ultra Max 1000. Or just do a search for BBSHD programming cable. Next you need to download the software for free from Bafang for use on windows. Very easy!

For actual programming values, look for the article by Karl called programming the BBSHD. The maximum amps for 750 watts would be 15 amps. You can also set maximum speed etc. Karls article goes thru every setting choice.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

jasonatepaint
19 hours ago

I recently purchased the FLX Blade and couldn't be happier. After spending the last 8 months dealing with a different, terrible buying experience from another vendor, I got in touch with FLX. Rob, one of the founders, called me back immediately and answered my questions and confirmed that the bike was in stock and ready to ship. I made the purchase on a Thursday and had the bike the following Tuesday morning.

This is the third eBike in my personal fleet. The others are an Easy Motion Evo Cross 48v 500w hub and a Juiced OceanCurrent 48v hub, so I was excited to transition into a mid-drive system. All of the specs listed on the website were 100% accurate. It was packaged and secured perfectly in a box (inside another box) with padding and other instruments to make sure no component on the bike could be damaged in shipping. Following the youtube video for assembling the bike, I had it put together in less than 30 minutes.

This bike is fast. It is scary-fun fast. I mostly ride in eco mode as I'm trying to actually get a workout when I bike, but man... when you put it in SPORT mode and set it to assist-level 5, it's insane. I put on https://www.schwalbetires.com/bike_tires/road_tires/super-moto-x on it for a smoother ride in town... they're great for the road and the hike/bike trails.

I've put on about a 130 miles on it so far and it's been an amazing time! I am in bike-love. Austin is pretty hilly and the Blade just tears it up and is so much more battery-efficient when it comes to drivetrain power. Something that would eat 20% or more battery on the hubs, takes a 1-2% hit to the battery on the same given path. That's not a scientific study, just an observation of riding the same paths everyday.

If you're questioning or considering the Blade, feel free to reach out and I'll give my honest answers to your questions. I'm not affiliated with any eBike company... just became a fan of FLX with this purchase. :)

jasonatepaint
20 hours ago

In an attempt to make a tl;dr, here's the highlights:

[*]Purchased the Juggernaut Ultra 8 months ago.

[*]Paid for upgraded suspension and got the standard suspension.
[*]Brakes were listed as hydraulic and I got mechanical
[*]I had this bike for a couple weeks with quality control issues and required several trips to my local eBike shop to have them make adjustments.

[*]Continuous issues and ultimately the motor fails and I contact Roshan to get it replaced. There are none in stock, so I have to wait for a new batch.

[*]I notice they have "limited stock" for the Juggernaut Ultra FS. I inquire about it and told it's not actually in stock, but that I could upgrade to it and it would be available in February.
[*]The bike is shipped back to Roshan

[*]In late May, the bike is finally making it's way to me. Before it ships, I verify with Roshan (multiple times) the specs of the Ultra FS to make sure, namely, that it had hydraulic brakes. I am assured they are hydraulic brakes.
[*]The bike arrives to my local UPS depot. They contact me because the box is so poorly packed and is damaged. They bring it out for inspection and the entire bottom of the box is blown out and the front forks are hanging out.

[*]The bike was put into a very thin, single-walled box. Nothing tied down and no padding.
[*]While inspecting the bike, I notice that on top of minor damage (that I could visually see), it also had mechanical brakes on it... AGAIN!

[*]I refused the shipment and began the refund process.

Eight months ago I started looking for a new “fast” eBike. It was going to be my third and I wanted to go all out on something. After a lot of searching, I realized that many companies were using the same motor/controller (Bafang Ultra) systems and frames. I figured all parts equal, that good customer service could make the sale. And that’s exactly what happened. After a weekend chat with Roshan Thomas, the owner of Biktrix, which was almost rapid fire (at all hours of the day/night) to answer every single question I had. There was never a “No”, it was always, “Sure. We can do that”. I was smitten and immediately pulled the trigger and bought the Juggernaut Ultra with the 20ah battery. At $3659, It checked almost all of my boxes.

Eight months later, what I learned was that quick responses does NOT equal a great customer experience. At first I really was amazed with Biktrix. I thought this was a guy who really loved eBikes. But what I experienced was someone who would say what ever he had to, to make the sale... A used car salesman.

I was given false information often... beyond shipping dates. I understand dealing with shipments from China and Customs can slow things down, but the false statements and lies through omission were outrageous. They included:

[*]Website showed the Juggernaut Ultra with hydraulic brakes. According to Roshan:
[*]Website had a $160 upgrade for Top Gun suspension. Showed up w/stock suspension. When I ask, Roshan tells me:
[*]Website showed that the Juggernaut Ultra FS has "limited stock". When I inquire about upgrading, Roshan tells me:
[*]Website STILL shows that the Ultra FS has hydraulic brakes. It arrived with mechanical brakes. According to Roshan:

[*]First thing.... no, they were not in the box. Although I told him I did not look thru the entire box, I did (to see what sort of lie I would get at this point)... and they were NOT in the box. It's possible they fell out of the box as it had holes in it. See attached picture.
[*]Secondly, others noted that the China factory pictures that showed the Ultras had mechanical brakes. Roshan noted that the bikes are shipped to Canada and they put on all the upgrades. So if that was the case, WHY would the hydraulic brakes not be installed instead of shoved in a box?

[*]The Shipment dates shifted every month.

[*]February - Original ship date
[*]March - Roshan says:
[*]April - Roshan says:
[*]May - After asking again and telling Roshan the original date was February, I am told:

[*]It's true, I did switch to the Ultra FS... but as he already stated previously, both bikes were shipping at the same time.

Bottom Line
I'm a reasonable person and understand a business like this can be difficult and competitive. Roshan is very easy to work with. You'll never get a "No, we can't do that" response. While I always got a fast response from him, I never knew what was actually true. It always felt like a "Will he notice?" approach to pushing his product. The most important part is to get the bike into someone's hands and deal with the fallout/lies later.

That was the bizarre part, for me, as a business model.... instead of marketing and selling a product w/accurate specs, his website over promises w/inaccurate specs and hopes that only a percentage will notice/speak up. For the ones that do, he's willing to spend hours wheeling and dealing to find a way to fix the problem.

I ended up buying an FLX Blade (not a fat tire that I was originally going for), but uses the same Bafang Ultra. I ordered on a Thursday and had the bike shipped to Austin by the following Tuesday. It was double-boxed with everything tied down. Additionally, the website's information was 100% accurate... including it's 203mm rotors and quad piston hydraulic brakes... something you REALLY need for a bike w/this motor on it. The Blade has been amazing and the buying experience exactly what I had hoped the Biktrix would be.
------

NOTE: To the person in the US that got my used 20ah battery, I hope it was sold to you as a used battery. Instead of shipping everything back to Canada, I was given a FedEx form to ship the battery and charger to another customer in the US to avoid the cost/customs charges. This seemed shady to me, but I complied to speed the processing of my refund.

P.S. Here's how the Ultra FS showed up before I ultimately refused the shipment

Diarmuid
1 week ago

I rented a https://www.r-m.de/en-us/e-bike/charger/charger-nuvinci-hs-us/#17Z04US_050108 with the dual batteries and after using it for two days... I wasn't impressed. It seemed really under powered for what it costs. My wife's https://www.radpowerbikes.com/products/radcity-electric-commuter-bikehad more pep and it felt like it would maintain its speed more consistently. For now I'm leaning towards the https://www.juicedbikes.com/products/crosscurrent-s, a FLX https://flx.bike/collections/bikes/products/blade w/ touring package and city tires like the roadster has, or a https://lunacycle.com/ebike-kit-1000-watt-waterproof-connectors-hub-motor-conversion/. Anyone have feedback on either or? Right now the XXL CCS is not available so I have time.

I've toyed with the idea of doing a full build but I haven't found a naked frame like the FLX Blade with the mid drive housing that will accept a Gates drive. Maybe https://www.rodbikes.com/index.html will be able to help me out.

Mark Peralta
3 weeks ago

The FLX blade is a highly capable ebike but as a daily high speed commuter with a very powerful mid drive, you would be looking at frequently replacing the chain, every 800 miles or less.

Mattlow165
3 weeks ago

Get a flx blade and be done with it if you want speed and realizability and great support

Rooster
1 month ago

Oh I don't think the sur Ron boys are the only one's that are gonna screw up the ebike industry. You got a lot of companies out there that are building bikes that are clearly outside the guide lines but they find ways around it like off road mode, etc.etc. At least the sur Ron is clearly an off road bike and not meant for the street like some I've seen. They don't even come with pedals and clearly not trying to be a bicycle. Juiced, Biktrix, flx, they all build "bicycles" that do well over the legal limit. J.S. Luna definitely opened a can of worms with the 52v battery but the others don't mind jumping on the bandwagon. No reason to go any more than 48v if you're looking to keep it legal but almost everyone wants that speed. 28 mph or ride a motor cycle.

Reid
1 month ago

I will have a pair of 2.35" wide Schwalbe G-One Speed tires in a week and will let you know if this size will fit the rear of a CCS. We know beyond doubt it works fine in the front, thanks to Asher! Well, he has a different fork there, but....I know it will fit my CCS fork!

Agreeing too with your choice of the medium step through. I do think I would have been better off getting that, or a medium diamond frame, because I can always raise the seat post. And the lower top tube, the easier it may be to mount or to straddle a bike...to let it be tried out by others.

dean1
1 month ago

I decided on the CCS and ordered the medium step-thru last night. Deciding factors were: easy to hop on and off bike, esp in tight places, compared to my prodeco I am sure it will be faster for longer range, relatively light and easier to hoist onto a rack. Runners up were from FLX, Biktrix and iZip.

If I ever get the to the JB warehouse before shipping I will try the diamond frame and possibly switch models

While I wait I'll spruce up my dusty Prodeco and sell it or make it a "guest bike."

Thanks everyone for all the thoughts

dean1
1 month ago

HUH??? I can buy a FLX right now withour pre-ordering. Bikes are in stock and ship in 7 days.

devhead
1 month ago

FLX bikes stopped taking pre-orders because it led to horrible customer satisfaction when the supply chain failed outside of their control. JB/Tora take a hit for every bad battery, manufacturing defect, late shipment, etc...

Fishwater
1 month ago

So after extensive searching online here's what I've come up with, please correct me if I'm wrong.

There's either the mid drive Bosch, Brose, Yamaha units built into "real style" mountain bikes, ie traditional mountain bike brand components with full frame geometry specs listed. Pros are quality components, LBS support, trail geometry & most bike like feel. Cons the class 1 20 mph limit, 350w output, proprietary batteries, 36V low watt hour batteries (400-500WH max) & cost.

Or there's the internet brands like Biktrix, FLX, Rad power, etc. Pros are 28mph pedal assist at minimum, throttles, non proprietary batteries & adjustable motor output, ie 500w, 750 or 1000. Cons are no frame specs given, many share the same exact frame with only some components differing between brands, possible quality concerns depending on vendor, possible support based on vendor & sustainability of the company long term for warranty.

I'm not knocking the internet guys since I really don't need local support for tuning & repairs.
But it seems that I can't find a big wattage drive unit with a throttle in a frame that lists geometry or is most like traditional bikes unless I build one correct?

Bruce Arnold
1 month ago

It's the Reention Dorado. Next question.

bob armani
3 days ago

Sounds like an efficient system. I would expect a great company like Easy Motion to design something that has the rider in mind. This kind of system reminds me of my electric lawnmower with twin power. The system automatically transfers power to the blade that endures the most load which in turn, cuts more efficiently. Thanks for sharing.

MisterM
4 days ago

I have rarely heard anyone mention problems with moisture - it's certainly not a common complaint - hear more about dirt/grime preventing blades on battery terminals contacting tightly. If it were a big problem, there would be an avalanche of complaints and dissatisfied customers. Think the industry long-ago figured out how to handle water.

As for more criticism, that's difficult - most buyers are first-time buyers w/o necessary experience to offer informed criticism. And it seems most people are genuinely satisfied with their purchases - it's rare to see someone hate on ebikes who's actually owned one (and it's usually because they ended up with a lemon). Frankly, I'm amazed how many people buy multiple ebikes.

Bruce Arnold
2 weeks ago

Reid, that motor is built like a Russian dump truck! Do you think our motors are equally over-engineered? (Which is not a bad thing BTW.)

Reid
2 weeks ago

My opinion is that cool running can perpetuate a motor's lifespan indefinitely. This is a nominal 110VDC motor, the first mains-powered appliance motor ever marketed, whose original purpose for this example was likely to drive a sewing machine in a tailor shop.

Here it is run at very low power, about 10% of its rated voltage. 1887 original and unrestored,

I think the first ebike motor system was patented in the 1890s...and while this is not on-topic, the topic is life extension for our ebike motors of today.

Nothing lasts forever

(not a D cell, anyway, grin)

The lifespan of properly closely-fitted plain bearings, properly lubricated, run without dirt or water in the bearings, is nearly virtually forever.

The lifespan of ball bearings run clean with oil and not heavily loaded is also virtually forever.

The life of a motor winding depends on many variables, right? Yep.

There is thermal expansion stress, repeated countless times during its operating life, and that very thin layer of enamel or varnish that, if it fails at any one small spot where one turn crosses another, ends things.

Also, the higher the operating voltage design of a small motor, the finer is its magnet wire. And if hydrolysis, due to very high sustained operating temperature is acting as a slow, corrosive poison, the more certain it is that the wire will break somewhere and open circuit the motor.

I do not know if the hydrolysis mechanism (if it is even present) counts for much in the brief operating lifespan of an ebike motor. It may require thousands of hours to produce that effect. I have no experience or intuitive feel for hydrolysis failure and no actual case histories to refer to. Personally I have doubt hydrolysis, even if present, would harm your ebike motor in the bike's service lifetime.

Ten years ago, with my first ebike, a Currie with the outboard chain drive motor, I ran it overvolted, 36V instead of 24. Even with a healthy forced air ventilation of the little, brushed motor, it ran great and drove the bike at 25mph nearly, for....about 10 miles of a deliberate torture test. Then it suddenly fried.

The motor was about the same physical size as the little motor inside our Bafang cases, I suppose.

But the Currie failure is not indicative of what our Bafang hub motor can handle. Clearly, the Bafang, made in vast numbers, survives higher power outputs and passes away the resultant internal waste heat a lot better than that old Currie system, which was intended for only 15mph ebikes.

Does our Bafang and controller combination limit current if the motor temperature rises too high?

BTW, sidebar: that 1887 motor had accumulated many operating hours at full rated voltage, as evidenced by the deeply grooved (yet still very thick) commutator. The only "restoration" I did to the motor was to lathe level the commutator bar with a hand held blade, letting the motor run, cutting down the copper bars to get a flat working surface again. The laminated shim brass brushes were squared and trued. Why were the brushes made of such a relatively abrasive material then? Because graphite brushes were not yet invented. It was a few years more before graphite, still the brush standard today, was found to be the solution to the sole wear point of these early electric motors.

Thomas Jaszewski
4 weeks ago

Jeez, they all sell the funky blade connector Hailong cases! If the above is the solution, consider some silicon on the back side of the receiving slot, to create some back pressure. Also, those connectors really do need ACF50 or Boeshield treatments every 6 months or so. They corrode and fry too.

JayVee
1 month ago

I did that. But it didn't help that much. I suspect that the problem is that these decals have been laying in a warehouse for months...

Nova Haibike
1 month ago

It helps place the decal face down on a clean surface and rub the backing paper beforehand with soft plastic blade (a credit card works) so that the decal sticks to the transfer sheet and not the paper.

Zac
1 month ago

I ordered one of these bikes. The battery was dead upon arrival. They also put two right-side cranks on the bike.

perrysnopeep
2 months ago

44 tooth chain ring question Is the low gear slow enough in tight trail thru a creek over a knoll type riding ?

Chad Walker
4 months ago

Great job on your review! I’m very interested in this bike and wonder if you think the price is justified with all the quality components and power of the latest Bafang motor? Thank you for any information or advice you can provide! This would be a huge purchase for me for a play bike, lol.

Mike Ski
4 months ago

Hi Brent I got my blade couple weeks ago I have a quick question for you because I contacted them and they kept giving me the runaround I’m inquiring about the rock shox fc rct3 fork it says 160 mm travel and a 2-position compression adjustment , lockout , rebound adjustment OK looking down at the fork on the right side is the rebound adjustment on the bottom and the lockout on top on the left side is just the air valve watching other videos on you tube about this fork there’s a 2 compression air spring adjustment on the air side so what I’m trying to say is then how do you used the 2 position adjustment ??? on this fork when there is none or am I missing something here !!! or did they rip me off with a cheap fork ? But It is a very nice bike super fast !!! Thank's " https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l-pjdC-uOZg "

Konstantin Lazarov
5 months ago

There is no inovation as FLX simply copied the full suspensuion Frey AM1000 and saving money to produce it hard tailed selling it to the US and the world. Price difference is at least $1000 in Frey’s favour. Weight is the same, components same high quality, although Frey even has got dual suspension.
Please see this link then make your opunion. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AExCcTGF2w&sns=em
EBR it will be completely fair to review the original “Blade” - Frey AM1000 althogh their managing director isn’t your friend. Simply because its fair to your viewers. I would call FLX scam wrapped nicely and EBR please don’t get involved. Fray is poorly advertised in the USA But deserve the attention and you owe it to your followers.
I missed to add ridiculous customer service for FLX, complete disgrace....

David Witkowski
5 months ago

Which trails did you use to film the drone segment?

James Choate
5 months ago

I’ve been waiting for the FLX reviews ever since the preproduction overview you guys did. Thank you so much for getting to them. Great job. I would like to see the roadster even though I think it’s essentially the same as the trail just with road tires.

Kit Babcock
5 months ago

https://wholesaler.alibaba.com/product-detail/3rd-Gen-AM1000-Bafang-ULTRA-G510_60700621160.html?spm=a2700.details.maylikehoz.1.7e98cc79PwvO2E

Gee....if you shop, only $2,980 (Gen 3) on Alibaba or direct from China. Not sure if only "one" is available @ this price?!?

Jae C.
3 months ago

Hardtail is ok for the price if you live in the USA. Im out in canada, I would have to pay 13% tariff (8712.00.00 - for complete bikes not assembled in NAFTA countrys), + 13% HST tax. I might as well get a custom FULL suspension from china for the same price! It really blows FLX does not ship from canada

Snickterp
5 months ago

Greg Bauknight, the rear raising up phenomenon also used to happen on motorcycles with a shaft drive, until manufacturers came out with a way to counteract it.

David Witkowski
5 months ago

40 kilos? That's a beefy bike.

Greg Bauknight
5 months ago

I saw a thread somewhere where the buyer of this bike said when you applied throttle the back of the bike raised up. this is poor design engineering and not what you would expect at this price point. Also the shipping is like 600 bucks. Even if the bike is similar to FLX, at least they had the sense to make it a hard tail to handle the torque and also provide free shipping. The shipping price from Frey kills any financial incentive to try your luck on alibaba, not to mention the added weight the rear suspension adds to this already bloated bike. Nope, the hard tail is a way better idea, coupled with quality post suspension.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

That's a nice looking bike, thanks for sharing Kit! I'm a fan of the full suspension setup

ragingbullwinkle Rocky
5 months ago

I have a Gen two trail with a 17ah battery and like it very much. Down side was waiting almost six months for it. IF you order from these people make SURE the bike is in the states. If you do not get a tracking number in two three days get a refund. Next HOPE you do not have an issue. My controller will show <5% left in the battery but still have 2 bars on the battery itself. I have sent videos of both and FLX just keeps asking for more. Once the controler gets down to 1% your pretty much tost even though the battery still has 35-45% charge left. If you do buy this Blade keep it out of the parks a trails PLEASE. So far no one has blinked at my trail and I have even stopped and talked to park rangers and no one has said a thing. I see a hand full of ass holes on blades wrecking what fremdom we have now. The Blade is not an E-Bike and should stay on private property. Thanks in advance for not being a dick.

ragingbullwinkle Rocky
5 months ago

That's great enjoy.

ElectricRemi
5 months ago

ragingbullwinkle Rocky FLX quoted me a wait time without any deception so I happily preordered and they provided terrific tracking info thus far all the way from China.

MattSlinky
5 months ago

This bike is NUTS!
This is a true E Bike! None of this 25mph max speed shiz... I'm finding all these other bikes that are around 3k still can't compete with my simple electric skateboard.. shouldn't all E bikes be able to hit speeds like this one? They have gears as well as pedal assistance and massive wheels! Why do they all seem so pathetic and overpriced? My boardis faster than all these expensive bikes (except this one) at the squeeze of a trigger, no peddling, no gears, small wheels and half the price. What am I missing? Or what are the companies missing?
FLX seems like they are getting close to making proper use of the technology available these days.. but still, that's a big price tag.
On the topic of FLX, can you review their previous models? That'd be swell 👌👌👌

Steve Aldebaran
5 months ago

To expensinve and it is not high quality! Over price! Build your own!

Jae C.
3 months ago

Its really not overpriced if you live in the USA. Ive priced out each component seperately. FLX is cheaper. Once you export the bike, you are subjected to tariff 8712.00.00, and dollar conversions making it NOT worth it. Espescially since its NOT full suspension. Imagine doing 50km+ on a hardtail in a MTB trail. lol

ElectricRemi
5 months ago

Steve Aldebaran you can also build a car for cheaper than buying one new .. doesn’t mean everyone wants to or has the skill / time

F r e e l e e
5 months ago

It seems like Bafang could very well take over the motor market for ebikes pretty soon. Their BBS02 and BBSHD mid drive motors both destroy the Bosch and Yamaha mid drives that I tested. You can do 32-35mph on the BBSHD and the 120nm is much more powerful up hills than the others. I am very impressed with their progress and now with the ultra motor that Luna Cycles is now offering, I can see a lot of DIY people hot rodding it to new heights.
Show less
REPLY

sbcfilm
5 months ago

when will you review the sur-ron ebike...thanks..

MRBARBARYCOAST
5 months ago

They have a few videos on youtube and Luna Cycles offers them right now.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Hmm, I haven't heard of them, will keep an eye out though!

ElectricRemi
5 months ago

Been researching FLX for some time. They had issues when they started in 2016 like any new startup. They have seemed to refine their product and customer service and continue to improve. A FLX rider / owner forum seems to be full of happy riders who have had issues at times ( mostly with early gen bikes ) that get resolved by the company. Can’t wait to ride a blade soon.

ElectricRemi
5 months ago

Brent McCluskey — Electrified Reviews I actually have a blade preordered and on its way and def plan on providing feedback !
Loved your review on the works electric scooters btw, I was torn between one of those beasts and the blade.

Brent McCluskey — Electrified Reviews
5 months ago

If you end up getting one of their bikes I'd be interested to hear your feedback. Thanks for the comment!

ElectricRemi
5 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com ride FLX on Facebook has a lot of FLX owners 👍

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Great feedback, the guys who run this company seem very enthusiastic and sporty. I've got an FLX section in the EBR forums but there isn't as much activity there, we leave it very open so there could be more critical feedback there or you could get other perspectives if you wanted: https://electricbikereview.com/forum/forums/flx/ there just isn't much conversation happening there yet

Luke Johnson
5 months ago

Hey, I was wondering if the battery percentage on the display mean how much battery is left on the actual motor battery or the battery for the display.

Luke Johnson
5 months ago

Thanks!

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Hi Luke! I believe the battery readout on the display is communicating how full the primary battery is (that powers the display, the motor, and the optional lights). I believe there is only one battery on this electric bike.

Rejean Paquet
6 months ago

Thanks for reviewing the FLX Blade, an amazing bike, it's a big investment, I want one, so I will wait a few months like spring time, I will keep an eye on reviews and other videos from FLX. I also like the HyperFAT BIKE from Juiced Bikes.

Martin Schmidt
5 months ago

Rejean Paquet haibike is a good choice. Not Sure if you can get a fully in your price range from them but your needs are more road bike. Bulls, Focus are also good companys. I prefere the Bosch mid drive.

Rejean Paquet
5 months ago

Martin Schmidt any suggestion? Haibike? Giant? $3500 range. 60%road/40%off-road

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Hey Rejean! I'd love to check out the HyperFAT too, should be hooking up with Juiced later this year :D

Martin Schmidt
5 months ago

Rejean Paquet i would spend this much money on another bike from an known bike Company. Warranty and Service are important.

Gary Bryan
6 months ago

I agree with you, I too like the finish. Thanks for a great review.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Thanks for the positive feedback Gary!

Brent McCluskey — Electrified Reviews
6 months ago

Gary Bryan Thanks, Gary! Glad you enjoyed it.

stratostear
6 months ago

You'll enjoy rapidly worn chainrings and cogs. Along with broken chains with this bike.

Ron Wilder
2 months ago

I have had to replace my top gear because I was pretty much always in it on roads at level 5 in the beginning. Now, I'm more aware to not be in top gears when riding slowly. Also using level 1 and 2 unless I really need the extra power. Awesome bike!

F r e e l e e
5 months ago

Wrong.

stratostear
6 months ago

That motor has a Max torque of 160 N.m. There's a reason why the other mid drives are rated to 75 M. m. They're limited to what current bike drive trains can handle.

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

That's what crossed my mind... it appears that their shift detection is working well, but all that force is bound to strain the components

Brent McCluskey — Electrified Reviews
6 months ago

stratostear Is this something you’ve experienced? I’d be interested to hear what happened with your model and if you found out any solutions.

benzoesan sodu
6 months ago

This is rebranded Frey ebike which you can buy directly from Alibaba for about 2k. Recipe for bussiness? Buy from China and made your own logo ;) Want this bike cheaper almost 2 times? Just write in Alibaba: "48V 1000W Bafang mid drive electric mountain".

Konstantin Lazarov
5 months ago

Well done, completely agreee please see this:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AExCcTGF2w&sns=em

Jason Hoo
5 months ago

Richard, not true. I got a bike from Alibaba too. Same Magura & EX1 system, however with more upgrade. Including back rack, integrated cable ready for F/R right with USB adapter. 36 Stainless steel spook 13 gauge. Red anodize F/R hub, horse shoe lock, kick stand, beautiful paint red strip on frame. Cost around $2.6K. Excluding Freight shipment that was pretty expensive. As for Frey it is dual suspension, only difference is they use Shimano 11 speed instead of EX1 system. Observation from https://endless-sphere.com/forums/index.php?sid=1ef240d5290124684f65ba6178dea7ca there customer service is top notch. FYI, I was FLX customer too.. for their G! models.

Daniel Jarquio
5 months ago

Magura brake levers, Rock Shox hydraulic 203 mm disc brakes, SRAM EX1 groupset are not cheap parts.

Ddr Hazy
5 months ago

I can buy a bike from bikesdirect.com for $1k that would be similar in performance and attach a BBSHD + 700kW battery for another $1.3k. Tell me again why this bike is $4k?

Richard Lester
5 months ago

I'm afraid that's just not true, the frame is designed and made by FLX, all the components are top end mountain biking parts. The only thing in common between the blade and the frey is it has a bafang motor and two wheels. Completely different machines.

James Mason
6 months ago

40 mph I would get in trouble if I owned this bike

ElectricBikeReview.com
6 months ago

Yeah... or maybe you could outrun trouble?! It looks fun, but perhaps painful, on those service roads in the video

Brent McCluskey — Electrified Reviews
6 months ago

James Mason Haha. Exactly!