Cannondale Mavaro Performance Review

Cannondale Mavaro Performance Electric Bike Review
Cannondale Mavaro Performance
Cannondale Mavaro Performance Bosch Performance Centerdrive
Cannondale Mavaro Performance Bosch Rear Rack Mounted Powerpack 400
Cannondale Mavaro Performance Ergonomic Grips Bosch Intuvia Display Adjustable Angle Stem
Cannondale Mavaro Performance H Diver Led Light Alloy Fenders Headshock Fatty
Cannondale Mavaro Performance Adjustable Kickstand And Trelock Cafe Lock
Cannondale Mavaro Performance 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Cannondale Mavaro Performance 4 Amp Bosch Charger
Cannondale Mavaro Performance Electric Bike Review
Cannondale Mavaro Performance
Cannondale Mavaro Performance Bosch Performance Centerdrive
Cannondale Mavaro Performance Bosch Rear Rack Mounted Powerpack 400
Cannondale Mavaro Performance Ergonomic Grips Bosch Intuvia Display Adjustable Angle Stem
Cannondale Mavaro Performance H Diver Led Light Alloy Fenders Headshock Fatty
Cannondale Mavaro Performance Adjustable Kickstand And Trelock Cafe Lock
Cannondale Mavaro Performance 10 Speed Shimano Deore
Cannondale Mavaro Performance 4 Amp Bosch Charger


  • An electric bike that blends in while offering a lot of utility as a commuter or even trekking touring platform, sturdy integrated rack, tight and extra long fenders with mud flaps
  • Available in five frame sizes across two styles (traditional diamond high-step and lower step-thru), adjustable angle stem and swept back handle bar further improve fit and comfort
  • High end Shimano drivetrain, Magura brakes and Bosch drive system ensure performance and longevity, Cannondale is known for their advanced Aluminum engineering
  • Rear mounted battery raises weight and these Bosch Powerpacks aren't as common or plentiful in the US if you want a second one to go further, missed opportunity for second bottle mount, neat head shock but it's not adjustable and doesn't offer lock out

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers





Movaro Performance



Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Touring

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Year Comprehensive, 3 Year Frame


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

49.5 lbs (22.45 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.7 lbs (2.58 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

16 in (40.64 cm)18 in (45.72 cm)20.47 in (51.99 cm)22.05 in (56 cm)24.2 in (61.46 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

33" to 35" Stand Over Height on High-Step

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, High-Step

Frame Colors:

Silver, Metallic Grey

Frame Fork Details:

Headshock Fatty DL50, 50 mm Travel, Isolated Damper Technology, OPI, 9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses, Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 Shimano Deore, 11-38T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore Triggers on Right


FSA Metropolis Alloy 170 mm Crank Arms, 18T Chainring


QUICK Reinforced Resin Platform wtith Non-Skid Rubber


Oversized Tange Seiki


Cannondale 6061 T6 Aluminum, Adjustable Angle, 94 mm Length


Cannondale 6061 T6 Aluminum, Swept Back, 25.5" Length

Brake Details:

Magura MT4 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor, Magura MT4 Levers with Adjustable Reach


Rubber, Ergonomic


Selle Royal ARjEL

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm


E-DISC Maddux, Mid-Dish, 6061 T6 Alloy, Double Wall 700x16C, 32H


Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Little Big Ben, 28" x 1.5"

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

Performance Line RaceGuard, LiteSkin, Reflective Sidewall Stripe

Tube Details:

Presta Valve


Trelock RS 450 Protect-O-Connect Cafe Lock, Alloy Coated Plastic Chain Cover, Thin Alloy Fenders, Integrated H Diver LED Headlight, Rack-Integrated LED Backlight, Welded Touring Rack 25 kg (55 lb) Max Load with Pannier Rails and RackTime Integration, Cannondale Adjustable Length Kickstand


Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.7 lb 4 Amp Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:


Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

570 watts

Motor Torque:

63 Newton meters

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

3.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

70 miles (113 km)

Display Type:

Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD


Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50%, Tour 120%, Sport 190%, Turbo 275%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph) (15 mph in Some Markets)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

Honestly, the first time I saw the Cannondale Mavaro Performance electric bike I didn’t feel or think a lot. It just looked like a regular bike with a nice cargo rack on the back… and that’s the beauty here, this is a mainstream electric bicycle from a company that many people in the United States already know and trust. The motor, battery, control unit, display panel and accompanying wires don’t stand out. Everything has its place and match the professional silver and gray color schemes well. Upon closer inspection, the carry rack becomes a stand-out features because it has RackTime compatible slots, extended pannier rails and bungee clip loops. Of course, the rack is also where the Bosch Powerpack 400 battery pack mounts and this is where we start to see some mixed results.

Instead of positioning battery weight low and center with the more popular downtube mounted Bosch Powerpack battery, this one is mounted up high. It increases frame flex BUT frees up the main triangle for adding bottle cage bosses. Only, for some reason, Cannondale opted for just one pair of bosses on the downtube when there seems like plenty of room for a second pair on the seat tube. Furthermore, I cannot say whether the step-thru frame has bottle cage bosses at all. At least you’ll have an opportunity for gear with a trunk bag and won’t hear the ratting of a bolt-on rack, but for me this is an area that could have been done better. For those who plan to ride further or live in a hot region where multiple bottles are a necessity, consider a clamp adapter like this. If you do opt for panniers, the battery will be mostly obscured and the bike will look even more bike-like.

Adding to the utility of the rack are full length, almost extra-long fenders that are tight and light weight. The front fender doesn’t get in the way as much when you turn and pedal simultaneously and it extends lower than average so your shoes and shins should stay dry and clean. You get integrated LED lights, an adjustable angle stem, comfortable swept back handle bars and a decent saddle with this bike. And you pay for all of that, coming in at $4,460 this is a more expensive commuter electric bike. But for all of that money you do get something lighter and more durable, something with a dash of added comfort (a 50 mm head shock integrated into the fork) and the option for front racks using the fork bosses. This could clearly become a touring or trekking bike but you might want an extra battery in that case, and it might not be easy to find. As mentioned earlier, the downtube Bosch Powerpack batteries are much more popular in the US than the rear rack ones.

A lot of what you’re paying for with this bike is the premium Bosch drive system. It’s compact, efficient and very responsive. I’ve tested the same motor on e-mountain bikes and had great success climbing mountain trails but it does require some shifting. The motor relies on your bike speed, pedal speed and pedal force to activate and de-activate and it measures these signals up to 1,000 times per second. Once the battery is mounted to the rack, press the power button there if it hasn’t been used for a while. Otherwise, you only have to press a power button on the Intuvia display panel to get it started. This display is large, easy to read, adjustable (angle wise to reduce glare) and it even has a Micro USB charging port on the right side so you can keep your phone topped off. Near the left grip, a control pad lets you cycle through menu readouts like average speed, top speed and range. Range is cool because it gives you much better feedback than the five bar battery level info-graphic. It dynamically adjusts depending on your last five miles of riding, the chosen level of assist (of which there are four) and the remaining battery capacity.

While the Cannondale Mavaro is not the most flashy electric bike, it blends in and delivers an excellent riding experience. With Little Big Ben premium tires (capable of lower PSI riding for comfort), an integrated shock absorber, adjustable stem and relaxed bars it’s a step above many other city style ebikes. Electric bike shops frequently tell me that their customers ride more frequently and for longer distances than non electric cyclists. It’s easy to jump into an affordable bike only to realize later that suspension would have been nice… or that it’s time to get a different stem so you’re not bent so far over. The Mavaro incorporates high quality versions of each of these minor upgrades and it is reflected in the price, but it looks a long nicer and works seamlessly this way. The fact that you can get this in two styles and five frame sizes means it’s great for a his and hers setup. I enjoyed riding the bike and was impressed with the extra large frame size because frequently people comment here about being over six feet tall and needing a larger electric bike, one meant for tall people. The Mavaro Performance isn’t specifically made for tall people but it’s one of the better options out there that works because of the sizing. I only wish they would have made better use of the triangle space there with extra bosses.


  • This bike high quality extras that are important for commuting by bike including bottle cage bosses, light weight fenders and chain guard that don’t rattle, a sturdy integrated rack, an integrated cafe lock, compact flick style bell and integrated LED lights that run off the main battery
  • In addition to having LED lights, the tires on the Mavaro are upgraded with reflective sidewall tape to keep you visible from the sides, they also have puncture protective lining
  • I love that the rear rack has pannier support rails and a clip bar towards the bottom, it should work well with trunk bags and a wide range of panniers… the fork has bosses for adding a rack or additional commuter racks and accessories
  • Sometimes it feels like the efficient commuter and touring bikes sacrifice comfort but the Cannondale Mavaro has a suspension element in the fork, swept back bars with ergonomic grips, an adjustable stem and a premium gel saddle that make it enjoyable to ride for longer distances
  • High quality Magura hydraulic disc brakes are sized correctly 180/160 and work well, the levers offer adjustable reach so people with different hand sizes or preferences can use them comfortably
  • This e-bike is available in five frame sizes across two frame styles… high-step for stiffness and easier rack mounting and step-thru for easier rider mounting and confidence
  • I’m a huge fan of the Bosch mid-drive system because it keeps weight low and center while delivering efficiency as you shift gears, the software utilizes shift detection to reduce wear
  • The fenders hug the wheels very tightly so you don’t kick or bump them as easily, the front fender extends far down to keep your feet and shins dry and clean as you ride, they also have flexible mud flaps
  • Cannondale did a great job routing shifter, brake and electronic wires through the frame vs. tacking them on as an afterthought, this keeps them safer and improves the look… especially the rear LED light wires that go through the carry rack
  • I love that it has a kickstand, that it’s adjustable length and rear mounted so you can do drivetrain maintenance without it getting in the way, I also love that both wheels have quick release for easier access on the road and faster stowing
  • The cafe lock which secures the rear wheel for quick errands, utilizes the same key as the battery pack! This is super convenient as you don’t need to deal with clutter and confusion in a hurry, it stays in the lock until you secure the bike so you’ve always got it handy :)
  • The display panel and battery pack are quick and easy to remove so they don’t get scuffed up at the rack, you can charge the battery on or off the frame and the 4 Amp charger is pretty quick


  • The rack mounted battery positions some weight high and towards the back compromising frame stiffness and balance a little but blends in nicely with the rack and frees up space for bags and bottle cages on the downtube
  • I see a lot more mid-frame mounted Bosch Powerpack batteries and know for sure that they are being offered in the US with the higher 500 watt hour capacity… if you are a touring or trekking cyclist and want that larger battery it might be difficult to find in the rear rack style, even a secondary rear rack battery could be harder to find and seems to take more space and weight than the downtube ones
  • At nearly $4,500 this is not an affordable electric bike and to some the higher end components (including Shimano Deore drivetrain, Metropolis cranks, Magura brakes) might not be worth it… conversely, I’m surprised they didn’t go with locking grips considering how much the bike costs, the ones you get are okay but could spin easier when really bearing down
  • The head shock isn’t adjustable and does not offer lockout, I saw some indication that it might on the Cannondale website but in person the shock appeared to be set
  • I could be wrong about this (because I wasn’t able to locate a step-thru Mavaro) but it appears from images that it does not have bottle cage bosses like the high-step
  • Many non-electric commuter bikes I see have two bottle cage mounting points (downtube and seat tube) and even though there is plenty of room for that on the high-step frame of the Mavaro they just didn’t include bosses on the seat tube… kind of a bummer for those who aren’t carrying a bag all the time but want to bring a folding lock, mini pump or just extra water :(


More Cannondale Reviews

Cannondale Moterra 2 Review

  • MSRP: $5,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A Bosch powered Trail style electric mountain bike with custom battery and motor integration, unique batt-strap protection system, high-torque CX motor with eMTB mode. Shimano SLX groupset includes a 1x11 drivetrain with Shadow Plus chain clutch, 180 mm hydraulic…...

Cannondale Contro E-Rigid Review

  • MSRP: $3,490
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sturdy, tough looking, urban electric bike that uses smaller 24" wheels paired with fat 2.35" tires providing quick steering, a lower standover height, and improved strength. Unique Lefty fork adds to the artistic quality of the frame and tight metal fenders,…...

1 year ago

The rack mounted battery on a factory ebike is a deal killer for me. Add rear bags and the bike becomes extremely rear heavy. Even kits can now be had with down tube mounted batteries. Also, 20 MPH is too slow given the price. On the plus side, the weight is low for a fully featured bike. Where I the market for a bike like this, id spend a few extra bucks on the beautifully engineered Kalkhoff speed pedelec.

1 year ago

I year ya, they did a good job keeping this bike light but for commuting it’s nice to have Class 3 speed performance :)

1 year ago

Hi Court, have you reviewed this bike yet, I can’t find it on your website. It is called ELBY.

1 year ago

Hi Terry! I got to see it at Interbike a couple years ago and then again at a shop called Electric Cyclery in Laguna Beach, CA but they told me not to review it because the unit was not production ready. You can see a video overview of the bike here from the show :)

1 year ago

I have the step through model and it is a dream, but it is definitely a LOT of bike with the hydraulic disc brakes, headshok, etc. Nice for longer errands with lots of hills! The battery on the back doesn’t make the bike unstable because it is so well built. I like that the battery comes off so I can easily take it inside for charging. Cannondale recommends that the battery not be left in extreme cold or hot conditions. And love that the battery also operates the lights, though I think the back light could be better. Everything is just beautifully integrated. Is Cannondale marketing the Mavaro in 2017 in the U.S.? It isn’t in their catalog. Mine is the 2016 model, and it was purchased on sale. Made in the Netherlands according to the sticker on it.

1 year ago

Great feedback Heidi, thanks for taking time to share what you like about the bike. I like the style and tight integration of the rear light but see how it could be better (perhaps brighter) if designed differently or just made as a separate component. I’m not sure about 2017 but I’m going to keep an eye out. Hope yours holds up very well and you get to enjoy it for a good long time :)

Chris @ Propel Electric Bikes
1 year ago

I don’t think the Mavaro will be continuing for 2017. They will have two city style bikes, the Contro and the Kinneto and their mountain bike called the Moterra. I agree that the Mavaro is an excellent bike though! It was a little pricey, but it’s definitely high quality.

1 year ago

Thanks for chiming in on this Chris! You’re really knowledgeable and I enjoy your comments :)

Tony Chinn
1 year ago

The current price for the Cannondale Mavaro at REI is $3350.93. The step through version that I test rode had no provision for a water bottle holder. I feel the battery location did not affect the handling. The guy at REI said the 2017 is the same as the 2016 model. The price ending in .93 indicates the item is not eligible for end of the year REI 10 % rebate. I was going to buy it but I like the Bulls Lacuba EVO E8 better with the belt drive, internal 8 speed and higher capacity battery. I enjoy your reviews very much. Thanks for doing it!

1 year ago

Hey Tony! Thanks for sharing your sharp observations (I used to work at REI in the shoe department!!) yeah, Bulls has delivered some awesome ebikes and the Lacuba is an exciting one. Glad the site here has helped you and I appreciate you takign the time to add a comment :)

1 year ago

I am 6 foot tall and of average proportions. What size of this bike would be a good “rule of thumb” size. I can’t seem to find a local store to try the size out. I’m thinking the 57 would the middle of the road and probably my best bet. Any thoughts on this? Thanks so much!

1 year ago

Hi Pete! I’m not a fitting expert but the 56 cm or 57 cm size sounds close. I’m 5’9″ and usually go for a 54 cm road bike but it really depends on the style of riding and manufacturer. For a true athletic fit I always get the bike adapted to my ride style (I tend to prefer a more upright body position due to some shoulder and back injuries). In the past, I was told that a range of frame sizes would work for me because the saddle, stem and bars can be adjusted. Weight isn’t usually much different between sizes so it comes down to things like reach. I tend to prefer slightly smaller frames as long as my knees don’t feel too squished… remember, I like upright riding so a smaller seat tube (which is the measurement 54 cm) usually comes with a shorter reach and positions me upright. I hope this general feedback helps you but it might be worth visiting a local bike shop. But then again, you could get locked in on a size for one company and end up feeling slightly different on the brand you buy.

1 year ago

Court, Thank you so much. I have a Cannondale CAAD 9 56cm and I found it to be a shade too big but it has a longer stem. I think with the geometry of the Mavaro, the 57 would be about right. Thanks!!

9 months ago

The video shows riding 20 miles per hour in a door zone bike lane. That’s a fatality waiting to happen. Car doors can reach out five feet. You cannot stop if one pops in front of you. If it clips your handlebar you get thrown left down into the traffic lane. Do not ride there.

9 months ago

Thanks for the feedback Rob, I agree that some of the riding we did was dangerous. I do not mean to be a bad example, I do always wear my helmet, and I have taken some hard falls (and even been knocked out) when participating in sports like this in the past.


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Nova Haibike
2 days ago

Schwinn bike of the 80's? Made by Giant. Specialized bike? Made by Merida. Cannondale brakes? Made by Tektro. Shimano chain? Made by KMC. There is a lot of rebranding in the industry.

Nova Haibike
3 days ago

Of the four you listed, I would not recommend the Cannondale, because of the proprietary fork. While their Headshok is pretty reliable and easy to work on, it is still proprietary. Also, it is an ugly bike. LOL. The R&M is more expensive relative to the other two. The Bulls is the best value; it is the only one with an air fork.

A couple of other bikes that look good to me are the Moustache Friday 27 Speed and the Trek Crossrip+. I like the Moustache for its bulletproof wheels. It is a rigid bike, but to me that is a plus; it is lighter and there is no suspension to service...the tires will offer plenty of cush on their own. I like the Trek because (for me) there is nothing more comfortable for longer rides than a good set of drop bars.

Ravi Kempaiah
3 days ago

3 days ago

Hi Everyone!

Thank you, in advance, for reading this through and providing any insight or advice!

About 4 years ago, frustrated with the rising cost of public transportation, I decided to eliminate my dependence on it as much as possible and purchased a bike. It's a folder; Tern P24h and I've loved it. It's a workhorse and has taken all the that abuse I, and nature, could through at it. It also manages our many hills like a champ.

My ride is about 12 miles round trip. I use one form of public trans to get me in the City. It's a regretful compromise and also the reason I have a folder.

Lately I've been thinking about getting an upgraded ride for my commute and discovered the cost of a higher-end folder is close to that of an e-bike! Why pay for folding, when I could pay for power? :)

And this brings us to one of the main reasons I'd like to go electric: to exchange my current route for a picturesque, pub-trans-free route which goes up and down the Hudson River (for those who know the area). It's a 40 mile round-trip journey. I have taken this route with my folder and found that life keeps getting in the way of being able to build the endurance needed to make this a typical weekday commute.

Other reasons include just being able to take longer trips, pick up more groceries, visit friends with ease...normal stuff that probably most of us here want to do.

My budget is about $5k.

I've tried the Bosch CX, Performance, and Active line. I like Performance the best (if that's the one that reaches 28 mph).

These are four bikes I'm considering and I'd love your opinion about them, and am open to suggestions if you have a better option:

[*]Cannondale Contro-E 2017
[*]Bulls Urban Evo 2018
[*]Kalkhoff Endeavour Advance B10 Speed
[*]Riese & Muller Roadster HS

The main issue that concerns me is durability. I could put 10,000 miles on the bike in a year, in all kinds of weather and in all temperatures. Will these engines last? Which bikes are the easiest to maintain? Which need it the least?

Thank you for reading this and for offering any experiences and/or advice you have. I really appreciate it! :)

5 days ago

@rich c I support, advertise and am an all around ambassador for my bike shop. Trust me, I spend more money there than I would like to admit. Why not spend more you ask, everything has a limit. I get your point and I would love to get on a Trek Super Commuter which goes for 3500 MSRP or a Cannondale, but at some point I do have to take my own personal finances into account. Even with a gracious discount from the shop, these bikes that many of you own are stil able to contend in price point and technolodgy. I do have to admit, non of these bikes are even remotely nice to look at compared to the big boys, but I am for form over function anyway. Purchasing an ebike from them is not out the question. I just have not arrived at a point where I can feel confident I am making the best purchase with my money. I appreciate your comment, because supporting your local bike shop and local economy should not be taken lightly.

rich c
5 days ago

I guess you don't care to continue your sponsorship with the local shop either? I can't believe you are even considering buying an on-line bike! When they find out, bet you get the "don't let the door hit you......."

5 days ago

Hello all, thanks for having me. J

I am going to be straight up; I was that guy (being an amateur elite cyclist) who shunned eBike technology and passed judgment faster than Marcel Kittel on a flat 200m. I have seen the light and am looking for an ebike that will allow me to travel to and from work 50mi round trip and avoid taking the coffin on wheels 2-3 days per week. The primary objective for me is to be able to travel farther while using my commute as training. So it appears based on my non-exsistent experience with eBikes that the assist technology is what I need to be focused on most. I am not concerned with high power levels, but having smooth and proportionate application of power based on my output is paramount. I am fortunate enough to be sponsored by a shop that carries Trek and Cannondale, but based on some of the pricing I have seen, it still may be more cost effective for me to go the online route. Maybe in the future I can up my E game and get something nicer, but for my first foray into the dark side I want to keep a few bills in the wallet.
At this point in time, I only have one bike on the list, and that is the Crosscurrent S with a 19.2 AH battery. Are there any others that I should consider? When it comes to price, is there a point of diminishing returns in this market? Based on my searches thus far, it seems like the market is still evolving and technology is advancing rapidly, making it a bit hard for someone like me who likes to know the details of things to not be overwhelmed. I will continue to read reviews and posts in this forum, but for those willing to share some knowledge and time, I would be very grateful. Hope everyone had a great weekend!!!

4 weeks ago

There's an article on about different pads. If you do a lot of high speed breaking you may need to upgrade to discs.

I have a Cannondale hard tail mtb with a head shock and v brakes. I'll probably use that as trial build them decide what to buy while I bottom feed for a used bike. I wanted to leave my mtb plain to ride with my daughter who is 12 and just learning... We'll see if I get an opportune hit on a bike. Looking for a quick it badboy2 or a sirrus, perhaps even a giant fastroad. I'm a former roadie (sort of) whose thinking that lying on aero pads night not be bad for the long quiet stretches of my commute...

4 weeks ago

I'll be interested to get your impressions of the Sirrus at speed on semi smooth roads. I'm torn between a Cannondale
quick 3 and a Badboy2 with a headshock to absorb a bit of the roughness and run on slightly wider tires.

1 month ago

DAHON MATRIX 26" folding ELECTRIC mountain bike with super quality, hill climbing BMC 600watt V2 motor, Cycle Analyst 2.1, upgraded controller, Thudbuster, extras. I bought a Bulls full suspension ebike, so it is time to let this go.

Most ebikes are set to 15-20amps of power with a cheap controller. They will not get you up a hill or be very fun on a trail. My bike's electronics are upgraded to give you lots of power....and 26mph.

If the ad is up, it is still available. $850 CASH ONLY, no trades. In Thousand Oaks. Email me your name and phone number and a day and time you want to see it, and I'l get back to you asap. Will update or delete below items if sold.

DAHON MATRIX 2009 med. size 26" folding MTB w/ Thudbuster seat post, front suspension fork, Origin 8 Spacebars for comfortable ride. Rear rack with Topeak MTX bag w/panniers. Heavy duty MTB tires. Quick release front wheel. Folding pedals. Cannondale heavy duty kickstand. Folds easily with included hex wrench tool, I hardly ever folded it.
Converted to ebike. you can easily remove the battery box and still pedal with the 9 lb. motor freewheeling. Disc brakes could use new pads.

Will consider selling bike only (without rear wheel)

BMC V2 speed 600 watt motor purchased from Ilia Brouk ( w/ 7 sp. freewheel. 2 torque arms on rear motor axle.

Great geared rear hub motor. link on BMC motor:
Battery and controller are mounted in center triangle for optimum, low center of gravity. Much better than a rear rack battery mount like Prodeco.
CRYSTALLYTE 36-72v analog controller, upgraded to 35 amp , CLYTE full Twist Throttle (like a motorcycle)
Cycle Analyst 2.1 battery aHr meter/speed computer w/ limit switch to conserve battery.
Ping 15ah 36v Battery with BMS set to 40amps continuous- mounted in custom box in triangle. Comes with charger.
The battery had a good, long life but now goes only about 4-6 miles, depending on how much you pedal. Will need a new battery to go far. I can recommend this : an excellent, matched battery for $485 shipped.

Other good battery options are available too.....Ping still makes very good batteries and will make a high current BMS.

Original cost:
Bike: $750
BMC Motor and controller, throttle, Cycle Analyst 2.1 package: $900
Thudbuster seat post: $120
Spacebars $40
Rack and Topeak bag $125
Cannondale heavy duty kickstand. $40
Ping 15 aHr Battery $450

Sell all for $850 FIRM. Buy the brand new battery for $485 and you have a 26 mph, 30-40 mile range, suspension hill climber for under $1350.

Factory specs for bike: Wheel Size : 26"
Weight : 12.9 kg (28.4 lbs)
Folded Size : 35 × 97 × 85 cm (13.7" × 37.8" × 33.2")
Frame : OAX Series, 7005 aluminum, patented LockJaw hinges, replaceable derailleur hanger, integrated head tube
Fork : Suntour NEX, hydraulic damping, lockout
Handlepost :Kinetix Comp, riser, double butted 6061, 31.8 mm
Drivetrain : Front Derailleur Microshift, forged aluminium, for MTB Rear Derailleur SRAM X7, long cage, black Crankset FSA Dynadrive,
Wheels : Front Hub Formula disk, 32H, double sealed Rear Hub Formula disk, 32H, double sealed Spokes 18/8 stainless steel or Sapim Leader, stainless steel (EU) Rims WTB SX24, disc only,
Brakes : Avid BB5, disc
Rider height : M: 167 - 183 cm (5'6" - 6') L: 183 - 193 cm (6' - 6'4")
Max Rider Weight : 105 kg (231 lbs)

1 month ago

My name is Ronnie. I am a first time e-bike POTENTIAL buyer. I am recently disabled, spinal stenosis, weak legs, weak knees, nerve damage in both legs. I was forced to convert from a traditional touring bike (had a Cannondale Touring 2 bike and was injured on a training ride in preparation for a cross country bike tour). BUT I'm stubborn and found a way (I think) to make my dream come true. I have recently discovered the Pedego Stretch. Lots of space for my gear and a heavy load cap since I have gained lots of weight since my injury. It will also allow me to carry extra batteries to accomplish 80 to 100 miles per day and my 55 pound Triaxe foldable mobility scooter (of course the mobility scooter is for off-the-bike days). First of all... any ideas or input about a cross country e-bike tour? Second... Anyone want to join me for a summer 2019 departure? Thanks for your input! Ronnie, Corpus Christi, Tx.

Dan Dialogue
1 month ago

HI All,

Just roaming around the site and found this thread. I've posted in other threads but never really took the opportunity to introduce myself. My name is Dan and I reside in a suburb of SLC, UT. I currently own two bikes. The first is a 2015 Cannondale Trigger 4. It's my "analog" bike and the one I ride in areas where I can't legally ride my eBike, like Ski resort riding, MTB only trails in Moab, forest and BLM land.

My regular ride is a 2016 Bulls EVO E-Stream FS3 and it has been fantastic. Especially since converting it to a 1X, installing a dropper post and increasing the rotors to 203mm. It has allowed me to ride longer, to keep riding with my 23-yr old son and to ride without knee pain.

I recently bought a couple of Bontrager ION 800 R LED lights and have been night riding. Terrifyingly awesome!

Glenn Watson
4 months ago

Holy moly, you sure got up to speed quickly!

8 months ago

I got this bike, and its the best bike I ever had!

Yu HaDeN
1 year ago


Simon Fransson
1 year ago

Nice bike, clean and elegant

Robert Wetzel
1 year ago

Merry christmas to you and Monica, Court!

Javier Peletier Maura
1 year ago

Hi Court. Nice job. Thankyou.
I would appreciate your opinion about diferent headlights in the market.
The differences between lux and luminem to measure the differences between products, and what are there are in the market of good quality / price. Especially, what are the best products to mount in a speed ebike. Currently, I use a BH Nitro City, with Spanninga Roxeo head light, and does not give enough visibility and more in cases of rain and high speed.

greg harvey
1 year ago

Superbly done video!

1 year ago

I have just a Bosch Active Line on my Corratec (German brand) and I love it. I think the Performance Line might be better for taking off in a high gear.
I think the rack looks cool on this with the integrated rear light. Rack mounted batteries means you get to mount some bottles in your frame which is nice. I have some bottle holder mounts but the battery is too big for a regular sized bottle.

I'm guessing the Bosch Nyon computer isn't available in the US either? I would like one, even though I wouldn't necessarily need it.

Serious SpaceParty
1 year ago

there is a typo on your website review Movaro under introduction

1 year ago

nice bike, perfect for commutes

Steve Petttyjohn
1 year ago

Very nice review and bike. This is definitely can be a car alternative in replacing an automobile for some people. I like it.

David Macdonald
1 year ago

nice bike apart from the Motor size the same system that the cube uses , well worth mentioning the difference for people with weak legs between cadence and torque sensing bikes

David Macdonald
1 year ago

Hi I had the cube very nice bike , I am emphasizing the difference between Cadence and torque sensing bikes because I had to get rid of the cube that I bought and go back to my old EBCO cadence sensor bike as I found the cube just to much work for my legs , and as a lot of people get a E bike because of leg problems I feel it's worth telling them , poor legs cadence sensor , better legs then perhaps a torque sensing bike also I find with the cadence sensor bike I need to batteries to that of the one battery on the torque sensor bike .
1 year ago

This model is from 2016 and it seems like most of the newer ones have tighter plastic casing and blend more with the frame. Functionality wise however, this thing is still very powerful and responsive :)

ᛒåᚱᛏ טייַך
1 year ago

Test the idworx electric touring bike! Top of the line German engineering specifically designed for touring.
1 year ago

Nice! I'd love to test that one, will keep an eye out... The German designers do an excellent job with bikes. I'm thinking Haibike for example too

Ricky Thrower
1 year ago

Very sweet

rama sita
1 year ago

Review the new HUB kit from luna cycles, please. It is really something different. Whish you well
1 year ago

Hi Rama! I might be in LA this coming Spring and will keep an eye out for them. Agree that Luna does some interesting stuff, got to visit them earlier this year and hang out with Eric :)

David Haney
1 year ago

Just noticed ... almost 50,000 subscrbers ... nice job!!!

Casey Neistat
1 year ago

Yes well done
1 year ago

Thanks David! I'm doing my best to listen when people share feedback and just keep going and making EBR better :D