e-Joe Anggun 3.0 Review

E Joe Anggun 3 0 Electric Bike Review 1
E Joe Anggun 3 0
E Joe Anggun 3 0 Shimano Tourney Tx
E Joe Anggun 3 0 Removable Lithium Battery
E Joe Anggun 3 0 Xt Lcd Display
E Joe Anggun 3 0 Bolt On Carry Rack
E Joe Anggun 3 0 Chain Guard Cranks
E Joe Anggun 3 0 Removable Battery
E Joe Anggun 3 0 Tgs Suspension Fork
E Joe Anggun 3 0 Electric Bike Review 1
E Joe Anggun 3 0
E Joe Anggun 3 0 Shimano Tourney Tx
E Joe Anggun 3 0 Removable Lithium Battery
E Joe Anggun 3 0 Xt Lcd Display
E Joe Anggun 3 0 Bolt On Carry Rack
E Joe Anggun 3 0 Chain Guard Cranks
E Joe Anggun 3 0 Removable Battery
E Joe Anggun 3 0 Tgs Suspension Fork


  • Step-thru frame with adjustable stem, swept back handle bars and high to extra-low seat tube positioning options fits a wide range of riders, including those with shorter inseams
  • Lots of drive options including five power modes for pedal assist and a twist throttle with toggle cut-off switch
  • Lower end components including plastic pedals, entry-level derailleur and grips but you get lots of extras including fenders, rear carry rack, LED lights and a comfort gel saddle

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers





Anggun 3.0


$1,899 USD

Body Position:

Upright Relaxed

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Commuting, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


1 Year Comprehensive, 30 Day Refundable


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

55 lbs (24.94 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Pearl White, Stealth Black

Frame Fork Details:

TGS TopGun Suspension with Rebound Adjustment

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney TX

Shifter Details:

Shimano SIS Intex on Right Bar


Wellgo Plastic Platform




Neco, Hex-Wrench Adjustable


Zoom Aluminum Alloy, Swept Back

Brake Details:

Tektro Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Dia Compe Levers with Integrated Motor Cutoff




Selle Royal Gel Comfort

Seat Post:


Seat Post Length:

300 mm


Power Circle, Double Walled Aluminum Alloy


2.3 mm (13 Gauge)

Tire Brand:

Kenda, 26" x 1.75"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Puncture Resistant, Reflective Sidewall


Adjustable Kickstand, Removable Battery Pack, Chain Guard, Removable Battery, LED Lights by Bell, Front and Rear Composite Plastic Fenders with Mud Flaps, Rear Carry Rack with Pannier Blockers


Maximum Payload Capacity 300 Pounds

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

530 watts

Motor Torque:

40 Newton meters

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

15 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

540 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Manganese Cobalt (LiNCM)

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Display Type:

Fixed, Backlit Grayscale XT-LCD W108


Speed, Battery Capacity, Odometer, Pedal Assist Level (5 Modes)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (12 Magnet Cadence Sensor)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The e-Joe Anggun 3.0 is an entry level “all around” electric bike that could be useful for commuting, going to school or just doing some relaxed neighborhood cruising. It’s extremely versatile thanks to the fenders, rear rack and LED lights but goes even further in the utility direction with a nice chain guard, adjustable stem and kickstand and a new ultra-low seat tube that will allow shorter riders to mount and stand over this bike easily. While it only comes in one frame size, 17 inches, the quick adjust seat post and aforementioned stem combined with swept back handlebars can be made comfortable for most riders.

The motor driving the Anggun is a basic 350 watt geared design that offers decent torque but doesn’t weigh a whole lot or make much noise. During my tests it was quiet, smooth and pretty zippy. It’s not designed to carry you and a heavy load (up to 300 pounds) up large hills and will automatically cut out if pushed too hard to protect itself. The best way to use it for climbing or to extend range is in one of four pedal assist modes that are activated with the pedalec sensor mounted on the bottom bracket. The Angun 3.0 has an upgraded sensor system with 12 magnets instead of the six used on earlier models. Some of the fancier electric bikes out there are using torque sensors or advanced multi-sensor systems but for a bike like this the 12 magnet setup is great. In the video review above you can see how responsive it is and note that because it’s cadence only, you don’t have to push hard when pedaling in order to activate the motor. I also like that the hub motor sort of blends in at the rear of the bike but people will still know it’s an ebike due to the oversized battery pack.

The battery on this bike is a highlight because it’s mounted in a balanced, sturdy position right behind the seat post tube and is also removable. This makes it easier to transport the bike because the pack weighs ~10 pounds. Depending on your storage situation, it’s also nice that the pack could be charged inside while the bike is locked up outside. Keeping the pack topped off regularly and avoiding extreme heat and cold will extend its life. The pack locks to the bike for security which is great when you’re commuting and has a built in handle at the top for when you do remove it. Offering 36 volts of power and 15 amp hours of capacity this is a larger battery and should be enough for at least 30 miles, up to 50, but that depends on the total weight of the rider and cargo (up to 300 pounds).

Once this bike is on, it’s easy to navigate between five modes (0, 1, 2, 3, Turbo) and at any time you can activate or de-activate the throttle with a red toggle button on the right side. I love that assist and throttle can be used concurrently and also that they’ve included a button pad for cycling through assist levels so you don’t have to take your hands off the grips when riding. The LCD display panel is a proven design that’s easy to read and understand but unfortunately not removable. That means it could be exposed to more weather and vandalism when left at the bike rack. Thankfully, it’s modular and could be replaced if something were to happen.

The updated 3.0 Anggun is pretty similar to the previous 2.0 and regular “Anggun” dating back to ~2012 but that’s not a bad thing. The price is relatively good at just under $2K and depending on your needs, the basic plastic pedals and grips could be upgraded. You could even add quick release adapters to the skewers to make the wheels easier to work with. It would be nice if the lights ran off the main battery and could be operated through the console vs. independent buttons but at least the battery pack on this bike is extra large with 15 amp hours of capacity (that’s 50% larger than most standard packs). The seven speed cassette provides good range and the large shifters, operations pad and upgraded LCD display panel all work very well. E-Joe offers a one year warranty and they’ve been around doing good business for several years. This could be an excellent first ebike or a solid choice for shoppers on a budget who want a step-above generic and value the accessories.


  • Five drive modes including four levels of pedal assist with easy to reach button panel on left handle bar
  • Tektro mechanical disc brakes front and rear provide good stopping power, 160 mm rotors stay cleaner than rim brakes when riding in wet conditions
  • Suspension fork smoothes out the ride but is pretty basic, no lockout just a rebound adjustment
  • Wheelset is standard sized at 26″ which means tubes and tires will be less expensive to replace, the Kenda puncture resistant tires that come with the bike are decent and the reflective sidewall is nice
  • Step-through frame is easy to mount and the extra-low seat tube accommodates shorter riders, the chain guard keeps pants or dresses clean
  • Brake levers are pretty basic but do include an electronic cutoff switch that stops the motor when activated
  • Rear rack offers a bit of extra storage capacity, includes pannier blockers on the sides to keep bags from touching the wheels and spokes
  • Mid-mounted battery keeps weight relatively low and distributed across the frame, can be charged on or off the bike for convenience
  • Red toggle switch connected to the the right bar allows you to activate or de-activate the throttle at any time which offers more flexibility in powering the bike as well as predictability in how it will respond
  • Cadence sensing pedal assist uses 12 magnets for a smoother more instantaneous activation compared with the older 6 magnet setups
  • Plastic fenders with mud flaps look great, are durable and don’t weigh much but they can rattle a bit more over time so check the bolts every once in a while
  • Upright design with swept back handle bars is easy on the back and keeps your head in the alert position for city riding


  • Quick-release saddle is nice but the front and rear wheels use standard nut and bolt hardware that requires more time and effort to adjust if you get a flat
  • Overall lower-end components including the seven speed Shimano Tourney TX drivetrain, may require more tuneups
  • Rear light requires additional batteries while front light is wired right into the battery pack
  • LED lights have to be activated with a switch on the light vs. using the LCD computer
  • Adjustable stem requires a hex tool to set and can get loose if riding over lots of bumps and curbs
  • Pedals are small and less rigid than alloy options, the plastic surface can become slippery if they get wet


More e-Joe Reviews

e-Joe Epik SE Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A comfortable, highly adjustable, value-priced folding electric bike that's a third generation build with lots of little improvements and refinements like a more durable battery connection point. Color-matched suspension fork and swept-back handlebar with adjustable height improves comfort, integrated plastic fenders, a…...

e-Joe Gadis Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An active step-thru electric bike with a stiffer frame, excellent weight distribution and decent price point, great for commuters given the rack integration and fenders. Available in two color choices (black and vanilla) with matching suspension, clean integrated wires and…...

e-Joe Koda Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A well priced urban-commuter style electric bike that offers lots of useful accessories including fenders, carry rack and LED lights. Purpose built frame is light weight and well balanced thanks to a downtube mounted battery…...

2015 e-Joe Epik SE Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Folding electric bike offering a great combination of utility (fenders, rack, lights, suspension fork) at a low price. Relatively powerful geared motor combined with an impressive battery capacity for good climbing and range...

e-Joe Anggun Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

A well rounded, smooth riding, upright electric bike with both pedal assist and twist throttle mode. Step-through frame design is easy to approach and offers fenders, a chain guard and lights…...

2014 e-Joe Epik SE Review

  • MSRP: $1,549
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Affordable, durable, well balanced and smooth with built in front suspension fork. Sporty fenders keep the mud off and stay out of the way but don't offer…...

e-Joe Epik Lite Review

  • MSRP: $1,349
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Affordable, well balanced with integrated battery and light-weight (37 pound) folding electric bike. Comes standard with fenders, lights, a rear rack, removable battery pack and is available in…...

Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

3 weeks ago

Thank you for your thorough post. I have seen the video review and that's how i was able to find this great site. I will definitely do more reading on my bike. Thank you again.

Bruce Arnold
3 weeks ago

[*]1. If your battery has enough watt-hours to handle the round trip, leave the charger at home. Some E-Joe vendors claim 40 miles per charge, some claim 30. Whichever it is, it should be plenty for a 16 mile round trip. For any ebike, charging it after every single ride does nothing to "optimize the battery cells." Full charges are not necessarily better than partial charges, and can be worse as far as battery life is concerned. The battery pack will benefit from at least an occasional full charge, to balance (not optimize) the charge across all the cells, as there are variations in how fast the individual cells re-charge themselves. By occasional, I mean once a month. Me personally, I charge mine when it gets down to a half-charge, as the performance of the bike starts to drop off at that point, and I do charge it up to full, because I'm more concerned about optimizing performance than I am about getting the longest possible battery life. Batteries are expensive, and I don't want to have to replace it any time soon, but this will give me many years and thousands of miles of enjoyable riding before needing to replace the battery. There are different opinions on this, BTW, all based on good solid information about battery chemistry. Some read the data one way, some read it another. My view is not the "right one." It works for me. YMMV.
[*] Your 2.0A charger is fine. Stick with it. I looked your bike up and it has a 48 volt system. That Ebay charger is a 42 volt charger. It won't charge your battery. It could even damage the battery if it is not well-made. Don't mess around with this. If you really needed a charger both at home and at work, you still wouldn't want this one.
[*]Using throttle and pedaling at the same time? The http://www.electricstar.org/2018-ejoe-epik-se.html says "With an independent throttle and 5 levels of pedal assist, I can pedal it like a regular bike, power it like a motorcycle, do any combination of both -- or just let it add assistance to my pedaling." So yeah, you can pedal and use the throttle at the same time, assuming that their website is accurate. Whether there's any benefit in that depends on how the system is configured. My bike gives a boost of power when using pedals and throttle at the same time, but that power comes with a cost: the battery drains faster. So I only use it when I need to cross a busy street, get started from a stop light, moments like that.
[*]There is a review of your bike on Electric Bike Reviews. Court does a very good job of getting down to the details. If you've already read the materials and watched the videos, great! If not, it's highly recommended. You will learn so much about your bike. Don't let your eyes glaze over the part where Court gives detailed information about the specs. There is very useful information there. Do a Google search on any terms you don't recognize -- if you're willing to pay this kind of money for an ebike, then you ought to be willing to spend some time doing some homework. You will be so glad you did. It will pay off in getting the most out of your purchase.

And have fun! Looks like a great little bike!

Alex M
3 weeks ago

There must be more of these batteries on other under 2K ebikes.
Rather common form-factor. E-joe Gadis comes to mind, Biktrix Jaggernaut and others. Ask them to tell you exact dimensions and compare to those others.

4 weeks ago

I bought a Pedego Interceptor with the larger, 48v 13 ah battery three weeks ago and love it. Great power, great fit and finish and quality parts. Put over 100 miles on it. Only issue is I accidentally twisted the throttle once, so I bought the Crampbuster, which lessens that possibility. Very I,pressed with Pedego’s customer service; the shop owner drove the bike to my home in his cargo van. Also, Pedego mailed me a nice goodie bag with reflective wear, water bottle, rain poncho and a license plate holder that says, ”My other ride is a Pedego Electric Bike.”

2 months ago

Last August my wife had a very serious accident on her 2015 E-JOE EPIK SE, on a downhill at 29mph, common in the Boulder area. Her steering started to wobble uncontrollably and caused her to fall. She had originally bought it on 6/30/15 in Denver. “Originally” because we had returned the first E-JOE EPIK SE because of the flimsy and inadequate brakes and a very rough headset, both of which we considered serious safety problems. The owner offered us an identical brand-new bike in exchange. We should have rejected this second bike, especially after we found that it, too, had the same flaws as the first bike, but having always put safety first, we wanted to make sure that the bike would be safe to ride and had an experienced local Boulder mechanic replace both brakes and headset on 1/20/16. No motor vehicle was involved; the weather was fine. The day before we had ridden to Erie over similar hills. The luggage rack carried a wire basket, a 5-lb Oxygen tank, and panniers. She received the 2nd bike on 9/15/15 and logged 925 miles by 8/31/17. We had our mechanic check the bike: he, like another shop later, found no “smoking gun” but did note that the stem quick-release folding mechanism was not quite tight, among other things (see his findings at
https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/known-issues-problems-with-evelo-products-help-solutions-fixes.13136/ , which he posted on the EVELO forum under https://electricbikereview.com/forum/members/freedombikes.1909/, https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/known-issues-problems-with-evelo-products-help-solutions-fixes.13136/#post-122497 instead of the E-JOE forum).
After FreedomBikes’ findings, the other shop also commented that perhaps this bike should not be ridden at over 20 mph, and that the bike’s configuration, with very high handle bars, may impair the bike’s balance and stability. Additional research suggests that incorrect weight distribution could be a factor, i.e. that this bike, with most of the weight in back (see above), was perhaps back-heavy, with insufficient weight in front which would make the bike harder to control.
In all, there is also evidence of poor manufacturing and assembly of bike components
(see https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/epik-se-steering-stem-keeps-coming-loose.12950/;
Quick Release Latch Issue;
My biggest gripe with the bike is the brakes (Gurt: My 2015 Epik SE)),
and possibly poor design:
very high handlebars and upright position, affecting balance, stability, turning.
Both are folding bikes; both have 20-inch wheels; they have a
similar, but not identical geometry. The steering on the two
bikes is totally different and likely contributes to the different
weight distribution on the bikes. The BF’s frame is somewhat
closer to the ground, with a lower center of gravity.
I have ridden BFs many years and miles, without a problem.

This 2015 E-JOE EPIK SE is not a safe bike for all speeds and conditions—buyer beware!

Mark Peralta
3 months ago

-Bulls Outlaw
-The new generation Easy Motion hub drives
-Juicebikes CCS - Torah names his power assist as "dynamic assist", no jerky on-off propulsion.
-Magnum- some riders report jerky on-off feel at low speeds.

3 months ago

I recently test rode some hub drives .
I ride for transport on paved roads , and can see their advantage .
But the ones I rode were surgey and laggy .
One was an 8fun on an e-Joe , the other was an Easy Motion City Pro .
I tried some Stromer in the past and no hub issue for me there .
So , what are some other top brands , or major brands to try ?

4 months ago

My wife is 5 foot and I am 6 ft tall, so we need a bike that will accommodate our different sizes. We currently have Benelli classicas which I really like other than it can't go off road at all and it doesn't fold. So far I've considered the G-bike, the vello Rocky Mountain and the e-joe spik. We would like all features fenders, carrier, lights, Bells, disc brakes, kick stand, travel suitcase, everything we need to be able to ride and fly. I would appreciate your best recommendation?

4 months ago

Wow, you picked some real interesting choices! Are you even aware that GenZ is Manhindra (sp) one of the largest manufacturers of heavy equipment and automobiles in the world. Don't think they are going anywhere.
Bulls is one of the real success stories of Ebikes, Specialized(!), Scott (HUGE in Europe), Stromer!!, Haibike!!!!!!!!!!! LOL, you're killing me here. You do realize you've listed all of the biggest, most successful Ebike companies out there as going to be gone............... Trek?? If it doens't go well? ALL the "New" big boys have been selling Ebikes in other countries for YEARS, including Trek. Scott and others have said they may be Ebike ONLY in the future. Sales are PROPPING UP REGULAR BIKE COMPANIES....
Flip your idea 180 degrees and You've made a pretty good list of the companies that will be kicking ass with Ebikes in the next 10 years.

86 and still kicking
5 months ago

Serious disagreement with the assumptions and the list. Direct to consumer, online, and mobile delivery are the future of the market. Pedego is a tiny little brand that just happens to be the largest seller of eBikes in the United States. Companies like Stromer, Reise and Muller, KTM and others have very marginal operations in North America. Genze is a tiny little international company that happens to be larger than just about all the vendors combined.

Mike's E-Bikes
5 months ago

Hard to predict what brands will stick around, but the brands that survive will have the best business model, and not necessarily the best product.

What will surprise people the most, is that many brands that SEEM to have popularity now, are most likely NOT the ones that will survive. Precisely because their business models don't allow dealers to make enough to even live on, or are just poor, or they are naively going direct to market on-line.

These brands in no particular order that will most likely struggle:
Van Moof

There's at least 50 more, than aren't worth even mentioning.

Survivors could be, IF they even decide to keep doing e-bikes:
Reise & Muller
Trek (though the name may stay, they may dump ebikes if it doesn't go well)

Some names may survive and get bought out, if they have some sort of unique niche they've captured.

None of the above matters anyway, as I predict hundreds more new names will be forthcoming, until the market gets this right. Its WAY too early to speculate on any of this, but it might be interesting to look back in 5 years to see if any of this was right, or wrong.

5 months ago

Looks good, but should one wear white after Labor Day?;)

Tara D.
2 years ago

I like the a2b Metro its no longer made but you might be able to find one used in your price range. Now I believe its the Octave which is higher then you mentioned you would like to spend.
Here is Courts review of the bike. http://electricbikereview.com/a2b/metro/

I really like this bike paired with the Bobike child seat. It looks like she is using the http://bobike.com/product/detail/exclusive-maxi . The bike stays still while loading the child, which is great when you are loading and unloading by yourself, thanks to the Double Leg Kickstand. The Volt bike and the E-Joe Anggun 3.0 does not have that so if you went with either of those options I would get a different stand for it.

2 years ago

Hello, I'm in the market to buy my first e-bike and I'm so glad I found this site and forum.
Hope you can offer recommendations and suggestions - I'm looking for an e-bike under 2K, and ideally even under 1.5K.

Expected use:
-Short (up to 5 miles) rides from house to train station and around town, in a fairly hilly area (some steep hills, some long gradual inclines) so will need a motor that can handle hills (although I would mostly use 'pedal assist')
-In the future, if possible, I would like to mount a child seat on the back and take my toddler with me for short rides. Does anyone know whether the e-bikes with racks can indeed be fitted with a child seat?
-I'm an 5'8/140 lbs female, relatively fit

I have looked at the reviews in the 'affordable e-bikes' category and so far thought of the following:

-Voltbike Elegant - looks great and the price is right - will the motor be strong enough to handle the hills?
-EZ Pedaler T350 - looks good as well, any thoughts on this model vs the Voltbike for example?
-E-Joe Anggun 3.0 - also goods good but also quite a bit more expensive than the other two models I saw

I wanted to buy from a local bike shop in my home town, but they have a fairly limited selection so it looks like I'll have to travel to find a dealer that sells any of those, or order only, so hoping for some advice as to what might be solid choices - many thanks in advance for any suggestions!

2 years ago

Well, this is a tidbit aimed at a very specific audience (possibly only me), but it is now confirmed the e-Joe Anggun 3.0 fits inside a second generation (2011) Honda Fit subcompact with saddle removed and front wheel removed (quick release). There's even room left over for an Epik SE, folded up of course. :D

3 years ago

Thank you very much. We will look into these. We also came across Evelo Electric Bikes last night, any thoughts on those?

Tara D.
3 years ago

Here are a few options that I think meet your list,
They are all in your price range, have the pedal assist and throttle, step through frames, and all appear to have a good range.

3 years ago

As long as I've been on the forums, I haven't had a chance to test ride any ebikes. Most likely why I still don't own one, but that has changed as of today. I found a bike shop that is much closer to home and today I got to test ride a few bikes.

I want to give a shout out to my new favorite ebike shop; E spokes 4 folks in Denver Co. You guys are killing it!

http://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/2014-epik-se/: Honestly, I was surprised at the zippyness of this bike. Especially for my 5'11 276 lb frame sitting on it. It handled very well and felt pretty balanced. I like the design and color, and overall performance of the E-Joe.

http://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/anggun-3-0/: Although this bike has more features and an LCD display, it didn't feel as zippy as the Epik, and I felt kinda cramped on it.

http://electricbikereview.com/izip/e3-dash/: Wow, this bike is fast, but I wasn't super impressed with the overall feel of the bike. It's super sleek though.

http://electricbikereview.com/pedego/classic-interceptor/: I now know why they are one of the top dealers in electric bikes. This thing is like an old time American muscle car. It handles superbly and has the look and feel of quality made bike. However, I do not care for the super cruiser handlebars...ugh.

http://electricbikereview.com/pedego/city-commuter/: All the same as above. As well as having the slightly less curved cruiser handlebars makes this bike top notch.

http://electricbikereview.com/haibike/xduro-fs-rx-27-5/: I will admit, that I wasn't able to test this bike as well as I would have liked. I was kinda intimidated by the price tag, and the bike itself. Not to mention the owner of the bike store said that this was his actual bike, and he likes to leave it on the floor. Okay, so there must be some getting used to the Bosch system, as I didn't feel the responsiveness that is reported by @t . Granted, I still enjoyed the ride, the physicality of the mid-drive system is appealing and I can imagine that once I get my own bike, and it's dialed in, and I get used to the interface and shifting, I'll feel the hype that is widely reported. Other than that I assume it's most likely it's user error, but I plan on giving it another test before I commit to the Haibike Xduro Trekking RX. Additionally, for being such an expensive bike, the stock saddle is terrible. It's like sitting on a busted up cinder block.

*** On a side note, if you read my status in the last few days you might be wondering about it's cryptic message/meaning. Allow me to disclose a little; on tuesday of this week, I drove to http://espokes4folks.com/Home_Page.html to meet with Terry the owner, and his super nice wife. We chatted about ebikes and cars, and a little business. It's half offical right now, but I am the newest member of their ebike representatives here in CO. I will be working with them on everything for ebikes, especially selling and events. Terry is assembling a young crowd of enthusiastic electric bike minded adults who are up for the challenge of riding an ebike every day and talking about them to complete strangers and giving out demo rides. "So hard!" (sarcasm) I mean wow, really I get commision for selling an ebike, which is really just me sharing my story about how I got involved with ebikes and riding them all day!!! So stoked!!***

3 years ago

This bike would be good for me due to the step thru frame.  Good review.

3 years ago

Yeah, it's very approachable and has lots of little extras to add utility. The price is also great but the quality is lower than a performance model. It's a step above doing an online super cheap bike and their warranty and support is good :)

3 years ago

Got it! Thanks for the quick response! If the bike goes that fast then it may be worth a second look, the price sounds reasonable.

3 years ago

Yeah, it's generic but actually a pretty nice setup if you give it a chance. Versatile sizing, all the drive options you need, solid accessories for under $2K.

3 years ago

6:39 Is that 26 mph or kmh?

3 years ago

I'm not sure to be honest. I caught that during the video edit and have been told by e-Joe that the bike can reach 25 mph but only wrote 20 on the official review because that's the legal top speed.

3 years ago

Its probobly cobolt, not cadmium i would guess.

3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Well, yea, and sadly in the case of batteries they present the lab result as if it is directly apply on any application, and a lot of custamers do think that.

Well, great, it would be really intresting to here if any E-bike uses titanide or iron-phosphate batteries.

The iron-phosfate of cause is not that sexy for a e-bike because they are physically large, very low density, it feels like they filled half the batterypack with air of something. Its the same with sulfur batteries for that case.

So intrestingly a 1kWh titanide battery is physicaly smaler (but heavier) than equivalent iron-phosphate. 

3 years ago

+matsv201 Interesting... you make a good point. Often the lab outcomes are different from real life.

3 years ago

Great, i´m actually not really a battery expert, i know this thins to optimize charging cycle in stationary systems.

But there is a problem, most battery experts are chemists, they know a lot about how the battery works, but often less about how they function in real life.

Boston power, a Boston based battery-manufacture had a lot of problem with this. There idéa was to take standard Lithium-Ion chemistry and optimize it for a lot of cycles.They increased a standard battery from 1200C to 2000C in the lab, the problem was that they didn´t increase to that extent, or even close, in real world use. I don´t know if they manage to increase the real world preformance, i never tryed there cells so i don't know the real performance.

3 years ago

+matsv201 Thanks! I appreciate the clarification here and am happy that others will be able to learn from what you've shared :)

3 years ago

I would say, just clean up the last piece of text,is speculation of my part, other its fine i guess, The fact should be okey...

May note that real use life span is approximation and its not the same number that is marketed. It is possible to get the full marketed performance if you are really careful with the batteries. Some companies have high tech batteries surveillance made to enhance the batteries life getting it closer to the marketed value.

So the value here, 600-800C for traditional Lithium-Ion batteries is for most uses as cellphones, E-bikes, powertools where there is no really intelligent surveillance. In electric cars its more common because the batteriepacks is so expensive. I guess there is really no reason not to have that on a E-bike apart from cost.