e-Joe Epik Lite Review

Ejoe Epik Lite Electric Bike Review 1
E Joe Epik Lite
E Joe Epik Lite 350 Geared Hub
E Joe Epik Lite Removable Battery
E Joe Epik Controller And Throttle
E Joe Epik Chain Guide And Pedelec
E Joe Epik Lite Rear Light
E Joe Epik Lite Computer Console
E Joe Epik Green
E Joe Epik Headlight And Fender
E Joe Epik Lite Console Trigger Throttle
E Joe Epik Lite Front Chainring Pedelec
E Joe Epik Lite Front Fender
E Joe Epik Lite Led Headlight
E Joe Epik Rear Light
E Joe Epik Removable Battery
E Joe Epik Single Speed
E Joe Epik
Ejoe Epik Lite Electric Bike Review 1
E Joe Epik Lite
E Joe Epik Lite 350 Geared Hub
E Joe Epik Lite Removable Battery
E Joe Epik Controller And Throttle
E Joe Epik Chain Guide And Pedelec
E Joe Epik Lite Rear Light
E Joe Epik Lite Computer Console
E Joe Epik Green
E Joe Epik Headlight And Fender
E Joe Epik Lite Console Trigger Throttle
E Joe Epik Lite Front Chainring Pedelec
E Joe Epik Lite Front Fender
E Joe Epik Lite Led Headlight
E Joe Epik Rear Light
E Joe Epik Removable Battery
E Joe Epik Single Speed
E Joe Epik


  • Affordable, well balanced with integrated battery and light-weight (37 pound) folding electric bike
  • Comes standard with fenders, lights, a rear rack, removable battery pack and is available in four colors
  • Offers three levels of pedal assist in addition to a trigger throttle that can be used in conjunction with pedelec

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers





Epik Lite


$1,349 USD

Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Commuting, Travel, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


1 Year Comprehensive, 30 Day Refundable


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

37 lbs (16.78 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Types:

Folding, Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Matte Black, British Racing Green, Blue, Red, Titanium Gray

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

1 Single Speed (Optional 7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney TX)


Aluminum Alloy Platform


Aluminum Alloy Flat

Brake Details:

Dia Compe V-Brake with Motor Cut-Off


Velo Comfort Wide

Tire Brand:

Kenda 20" x 1.75"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

Thorn Resistant


Bell on Right Bar, Front and Rear Fenders with Mud Flaps, Front and Rear LED Lights, Rear Rack with Spring Latch


300 Pound Maximum Payload Capacity,

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

520 watts (Pre-2014 Models Had 250 Watt Nominal with 430 Watt Peak Output)

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

7 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

252 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Manganese (LiNCM)

Charge Time:

3 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Display Type:

Fixed LED


Power, Battery Level, Pedal Assist Level (3 Levels), Throttle to Pedal Assist Mode Switch

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The e-Joe Epik Lite is one of my favorite folding electric bikes. That’s because it’s very affordable, light weight (at just 37lbs), well balanced with a low center of gravity (it doesn’t use a rear rack for the battery) and offers both pedal assist and throttle mode! Even the little details are impressive on this bike. You get front and rear fenders with mud flaps for extra coverage, front and rear lights (though only the front light is powered from the main battery pack), the battery pack itself is removable and can be charged off of the bike if you’re riding to the office or need a quick charge during an island excursion away from your boat. Folding ebikes are really useful on RV’s, boats or up at the winter cabin. You can toss it in your trunk, store it in a closet and quickly unfold and adjust to accommodate nearly anyone (albeit not as comfortably as a full sized bike) as long as they weigh under 300lbs… including any cargo you strap to the rear rack.

Most folding electric bikes use smaller sized motors, it keeps them light weight and easier to stow. That’s also the case for the Epik here but the motor is geared and located in the rear hub which is ideal for gaining traction. The motor size is 350 watts but peak output is 520 watts and during my ride tests it felt pretty strong and peppy. Top speed is limited at 15.5 miles per hour which is low compared with the 20mph legal limit for ebikes in the USA but that’s probably because the 20″ wheels are less stable at high speed. It also likely helps to extend the range and keep the motor from overheating if you are hauling a lot of cargo.

The battery running that motor is a decent sized 36 volt 7 amp hour Lithium polymer pack. It comes with a one year warranty and I estimate that based on the chemistry you’ll get ~800 charge cycles (given you keep it topped off and out of extreme temperatures). Keep this in mind if you are a traveler who plans to leave your bike for long periods of time. You should really top it off once every month to maximize use. This is easily done however because the battery pack is removable and can be charged off of the bike! I can’t stress how awesome this is, it makes the bike lighter weight to lift if you take the pack out, it makes installing a replacement easy and it means you can bring your charger with you to the office and top the battery off if you’re using it to commute.

The control system on the Epik Lite is very intuitive, easy to access when riding and includes all of the critical info you’ll need to enjoy the bike. There’s a battery capacity indicator and a button to select from three levels of pedal assist as well as an on off switch for activating the throttle. The bike uses a basic pedelec sensor in pedal assist mode which isn’t as smooth or responsive as a torque sensor but I actually enjoy it for easy cruising, you don’t have to push as hard to activate the motor. I love that you can use the trigger throttle in conjunction with the pedal assist mode because that makes starting from stops easier (which is the hardest part for people with hurt knees). I really feel like they nailed the electric drive system with this bike and it makes riding more enjoyable.

Folding electric bikes have to compromise in terms of size, ride quality and features but e-Joe chose well for the Epik. It comes in three colors which is fun and it’s just a functional bike that’s amazingly affordable. The standard setup is a single speed bike which can be tiring if you’re around hills but they do offer an upgrade to a seven speed Shimano cassette in the rear. The front ring includes a nice chain guide to keep it on track and avoid snags on your pants. The biggest complaint I have is that the rear light runs on its own batteries instead of being tied in to the main pack but at least the front light is. Just remember to check that the back light is off when you park the bike.

The pedals fold flat for storage but don’t offer the best traction or rigidity when pedaling… they are simple and light. The rear rack has a spring clasp for carrying jackets and stuff but you’ll probably want a bag or panniers to really put it to work. You might also want to put a bungee cord on the rear rack, for cargo but also to secure the bike itself when folded. Unlike some of the other options out there this folder doesn’t have magnets or bands to keep the bike from coming unfolded. The Epik Lite only comes in one size but is pretty adjustable in terms of handle bar and seat height. This version has medium sized Kenda tires that are puncture resistant and offer a bit of give on bumps and cracks (along with the seat) but the Epik SE actually has a front shock which I really enjoy to smooth out the ride.


  • Lots of great features built right in (fenders, rear rack, lights, bell and kickstand)
  • Easy and fast to fold for storage, rides well when unfolded – doesn’t feel loose
  • Simple control box shows battery capacity and provides easy access to three levels of pedal assist
  • Trigger throttle is easy to reach, responsive and can be used in conjunction with pedal assist – perfect for getting started after a stop sign or light
  • Avalable in four colors including racing green, bright red, light blue and black
  • Front chain ring has built in guides that keep the chain from falling off and protect your pants from getting snagged or dirty, also doubles as a bash guard
  • Battery pack is removable and can be charged on or off the bike
  • Fenders are high quality and include mud flaps that keep you extra clean
  • 20″ wheels use medium sized tires that offer a bit of cushion, seat is also medium soft
  • Great value in terms of features, performance and low price


  • Maximum top speed of 15.5 mph vs. 20 mph on full sized ebikes
  • Lithium polymer battery may not last as long as some other chemistries but does include one year warranty and is removable/replaceable
  • Only one speed (upgradable to 7 speed with Shimano components for more money)
  • Rear light is powered independently of the front light which runs off the main battery, this makes it easier to forget and leave on and requires more batteries which is inefficient
  • Uses a pedelec system vs. torque sensing for pedal assist making it less responsive
  • No magnets or clasps to keep the bike in folded position
  • Wires are not routed internally but stay out of the way pretty well


More e-Joe Reviews

e-Joe Epik SE Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A comfortable, highly adjustable, value-priced folding electric bike that's a third generation build with lots of little improvements and refinements like a more durable battery connection point. Color-matched suspension fork and swept-back handlebar with adjustable height improves comfort, integrated plastic fenders, a…...

e-Joe Gadis Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An active step-thru electric bike with a stiffer frame, excellent weight distribution and decent price point, great for commuters given the rack integration and fenders. Available in two color choices (black and vanilla) with matching suspension, clean integrated wires and…...

e-Joe Koda Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A well priced urban-commuter style electric bike that offers lots of useful accessories including fenders, carry rack and LED lights. Purpose built frame is light weight and well balanced thanks to a downtube mounted battery…...

2015 e-Joe Epik SE Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Folding electric bike offering a great combination of utility (fenders, rack, lights, suspension fork) at a low price. Relatively powerful geared motor combined with an impressive battery capacity for good climbing and range...

e-Joe Anggun 3.0 Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Step-thru frame with adjustable stem, swept back handle bars and high to extra-low seat tube positioning options fits a wide range of riders, including those with shorter inseams. Lots of drive options including five power modes for pedal assist and a twist throttle…...

e-Joe Anggun Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

A well rounded, smooth riding, upright electric bike with both pedal assist and twist throttle mode. Step-through frame design is easy to approach and offers fenders, a chain guard and lights…...

2014 e-Joe Epik SE Review

  • MSRP: $1,549
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Affordable, durable, well balanced and smooth with built in front suspension fork. Sporty fenders keep the mud off and stay out of the way but don't offer…...

4 years ago

Can the e-Joe support a bicycle seat for a toddler?

4 years ago

Hey Carla, great question… I think it really depends on the child seat you use? Since the Epik Lite is a folding electric bike the front handlebars may not be as sturdy as a full sized ebike. It does have a rear rack that might work but I’m not sure what it’s rated for. You might be better off with a full sized ebike like the e-Joe Anggun for use with a child seat.

4 years ago

Hey man — could you remark on sizing for this bike. I’m 6’2″, 245lb, and I’m considering this bike for the convenience of the folding factor, but I just realized the shape of the frame might not be suited to someone who’s on the taller side? Not sure how tall you are. The other bike I’m considering if I don’t go folding is the larger (and much more expensive) Pedego Interceptor, which there’s a lot more info for online and I’ve heard would fit me fine.

4 years ago

Glad you asked… The Interceptor is going to be much more comfortable given your height and weight. The frame is sturdier, the handle bars feel more natural and the larger wheels and oversized tires really smooth out the ride. Depending on how far you plan to ride, the e-Joe Epik could work fine and it will be much lighter, easier to transport and less expensive. I’m 5’9″ at ~135 so keep that in mind with all of the reviews you see here… is there possibly a shop nearby where you could test ride some of these ebikes? I know the Pedego costs more but the founders of that company are both relatively large and all of their ebikes tend to fit that body type a little better. Trying it out and maybe comparing it to any folding bike could help a lot.

4 years ago

Good idea, I’ll try to find a way to an ebike shop and see if I can test some stuff out before deciding. Folding bike is kind of major, so if I can fit on one I want to go with it (need to be able to throw it in a trunk if I get a ride with roommates/other people). Thanks for the input!

Raju Subbanna
3 years ago

I just bought easy motion. Its a great bike but the folding is clumsy. Not sure how this bike folds? What is its dimension after folding? After folding what is the length of the widest part? We need another bike with easy folding and carrying.

3 years ago

Hi Raju! The folding design of the E-Joe Epik Lite is decent but still a little bit awkward. I think the biggest difference between it and the Neo Volt design is that it weighs much less (37 lbs vs 45 on the Volt Sport and 49 lbs for the Volt). Unfortunately I don’t know the exact folded dimensions for these bikes but the Epik Lite should be shorter and fatter while the Neo Volt is taller and perhaps longer. Given the price, removable battery, assist and throttle modes of the Epik Lite it’s definitely one of my favorite folding ebikes. If you want something that’s quieter and a bit higher quality then I’d recommend the Tern folding ebikes.

3 years ago

Hey there — it looks like the Epik Lite 2015 is out, are there any notable differences or improvements to take into consideration, even just on paper? I’m looking at ordering something soon to catch potential Cyber Monday deals. Thanks Court!

3 years ago

I think it has been polished a bit, definitely one of the better and most affordable folding ebikes I’ve tried. I do have some video but it’s going to be a short while before I can publish. I’ll try to get this out soon for you though Tom. Keep an eye on the YouTube Channel.

3 years ago

Thanks Court, will do. I don’t see a lot of online retailers carrying these — pretty much just Rakuten and eBay, although I think both are just ads for another online reseller/retailer, Sports by Sager. Anywhere else I should check? There are no local shops where I currently reside (Gainesville, FL) that seem to carry them.

3 years ago

Hi Tom! I am Cristine with e-JOE Bike. Thanks for checking out our e-bikes on Electric Bike Review! e-JOE currently has a dealer in Tampa called Street Fit 360 Bike Shop, and you can also make online purchases from shopebike.com. We just added a dealer map at ejoebike.com/dealers to make it easier to find a dealer near you! Please let me know if you have any more questions. I will be more than happy to assist you.

3 years ago

Hi Tom! Yesterday E-Joe launched a new Dealer Locator Tool on their website and it looks like there’s one dealer in Florida called Street Fit 360 at 3311 W. Gandy Blvd Tampa, FL 33611 (813) 319-3735. If you’re specifically trying to order from an online shop I might be able to help you find one, use the contact form to provide your details if so.

3 years ago

Yeah I used the tool and unfortunately, that dealer is a bit of a drive away from here, though I have an email out to them anyway. But I filled out and submitted your form with more details as well. Thanks again!

3 years ago

Good review. I’m glad to know it support riding with high heels. lol.

john burton
2 years ago

I purchased an epic lite a month ago. the battery connections are poorly designed and the power shuts down without notice.. I am not the only one who has had this problem. (see amazon reviews). apparently, e-joe recognizes this and has redesigned the frame for next year. now, to get someone in the delivery chain to stop kicking the can down the road, and fix this problem…

2 years ago

Thanks for the feedback John, I’ll be visiting e-Joe early next year to check out updated designs and I’ll ask about the connection issues you’ve mentioned.

john burton
2 years ago

Court…the problem was handled professionally and I love riding the bike.

2 years ago

That’s so great to hear John! I do my best to stay independent and create a place for people to report the good and bad of bikes. No hardware is perfect but customer support can go a long way and it sounds like e-Joe really came through for you here. Thanks for the update, ride safe out there :D


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

3 weeks ago

Thank you for your thorough post. I have seen the video review and that's how i was able to find this great site. I will definitely do more reading on my bike. Thank you again.

Bruce Arnold
3 weeks ago

[*]1. If your battery has enough watt-hours to handle the round trip, leave the charger at home. Some E-Joe vendors claim 40 miles per charge, some claim 30. Whichever it is, it should be plenty for a 16 mile round trip. For any ebike, charging it after every single ride does nothing to "optimize the battery cells." Full charges are not necessarily better than partial charges, and can be worse as far as battery life is concerned. The battery pack will benefit from at least an occasional full charge, to balance (not optimize) the charge across all the cells, as there are variations in how fast the individual cells re-charge themselves. By occasional, I mean once a month. Me personally, I charge mine when it gets down to a half-charge, as the performance of the bike starts to drop off at that point, and I do charge it up to full, because I'm more concerned about optimizing performance than I am about getting the longest possible battery life. Batteries are expensive, and I don't want to have to replace it any time soon, but this will give me many years and thousands of miles of enjoyable riding before needing to replace the battery. There are different opinions on this, BTW, all based on good solid information about battery chemistry. Some read the data one way, some read it another. My view is not the "right one." It works for me. YMMV.
[*] Your 2.0A charger is fine. Stick with it. I looked your bike up and it has a 48 volt system. That Ebay charger is a 42 volt charger. It won't charge your battery. It could even damage the battery if it is not well-made. Don't mess around with this. If you really needed a charger both at home and at work, you still wouldn't want this one.
[*]Using throttle and pedaling at the same time? The http://www.electricstar.org/2018-ejoe-epik-se.html says "With an independent throttle and 5 levels of pedal assist, I can pedal it like a regular bike, power it like a motorcycle, do any combination of both -- or just let it add assistance to my pedaling." So yeah, you can pedal and use the throttle at the same time, assuming that their website is accurate. Whether there's any benefit in that depends on how the system is configured. My bike gives a boost of power when using pedals and throttle at the same time, but that power comes with a cost: the battery drains faster. So I only use it when I need to cross a busy street, get started from a stop light, moments like that.
[*]There is a review of your bike on Electric Bike Reviews. Court does a very good job of getting down to the details. If you've already read the materials and watched the videos, great! If not, it's highly recommended. You will learn so much about your bike. Don't let your eyes glaze over the part where Court gives detailed information about the specs. There is very useful information there. Do a Google search on any terms you don't recognize -- if you're willing to pay this kind of money for an ebike, then you ought to be willing to spend some time doing some homework. You will be so glad you did. It will pay off in getting the most out of your purchase.

And have fun! Looks like a great little bike!

Alex M
3 weeks ago

There must be more of these batteries on other under 2K ebikes.
Rather common form-factor. E-joe Gadis comes to mind, Biktrix Jaggernaut and others. Ask them to tell you exact dimensions and compare to those others.

1 month ago

I bought a Pedego Interceptor with the larger, 48v 13 ah battery three weeks ago and love it. Great power, great fit and finish and quality parts. Put over 100 miles on it. Only issue is I accidentally twisted the throttle once, so I bought the Crampbuster, which lessens that possibility. Very I,pressed with Pedego’s customer service; the shop owner drove the bike to my home in his cargo van. Also, Pedego mailed me a nice goodie bag with reflective wear, water bottle, rain poncho and a license plate holder that says, ”My other ride is a Pedego Electric Bike.”

2 months ago

Last August my wife had a very serious accident on her 2015 E-JOE EPIK SE, on a downhill at 29mph, common in the Boulder area. Her steering started to wobble uncontrollably and caused her to fall. She had originally bought it on 6/30/15 in Denver. “Originally” because we had returned the first E-JOE EPIK SE because of the flimsy and inadequate brakes and a very rough headset, both of which we considered serious safety problems. The owner offered us an identical brand-new bike in exchange. We should have rejected this second bike, especially after we found that it, too, had the same flaws as the first bike, but having always put safety first, we wanted to make sure that the bike would be safe to ride and had an experienced local Boulder mechanic replace both brakes and headset on 1/20/16. No motor vehicle was involved; the weather was fine. The day before we had ridden to Erie over similar hills. The luggage rack carried a wire basket, a 5-lb Oxygen tank, and panniers. She received the 2nd bike on 9/15/15 and logged 925 miles by 8/31/17. We had our mechanic check the bike: he, like another shop later, found no “smoking gun” but did note that the stem quick-release folding mechanism was not quite tight, among other things (see his findings at
https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/known-issues-problems-with-evelo-products-help-solutions-fixes.13136/ , which he posted on the EVELO forum under https://electricbikereview.com/forum/members/freedombikes.1909/, https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/known-issues-problems-with-evelo-products-help-solutions-fixes.13136/#post-122497 instead of the E-JOE forum).
After FreedomBikes’ findings, the other shop also commented that perhaps this bike should not be ridden at over 20 mph, and that the bike’s configuration, with very high handle bars, may impair the bike’s balance and stability. Additional research suggests that incorrect weight distribution could be a factor, i.e. that this bike, with most of the weight in back (see above), was perhaps back-heavy, with insufficient weight in front which would make the bike harder to control.
In all, there is also evidence of poor manufacturing and assembly of bike components
(see https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/epik-se-steering-stem-keeps-coming-loose.12950/;
Quick Release Latch Issue;
My biggest gripe with the bike is the brakes (Gurt: My 2015 Epik SE)),
and possibly poor design:
very high handlebars and upright position, affecting balance, stability, turning.
Both are folding bikes; both have 20-inch wheels; they have a
similar, but not identical geometry. The steering on the two
bikes is totally different and likely contributes to the different
weight distribution on the bikes. The BF’s frame is somewhat
closer to the ground, with a lower center of gravity.
I have ridden BFs many years and miles, without a problem.

This 2015 E-JOE EPIK SE is not a safe bike for all speeds and conditions—buyer beware!

Mark Peralta
4 months ago

-Bulls Outlaw
-The new generation Easy Motion hub drives
-Juicebikes CCS - Torah names his power assist as "dynamic assist", no jerky on-off propulsion.
-Magnum- some riders report jerky on-off feel at low speeds.

4 months ago

I recently test rode some hub drives .
I ride for transport on paved roads , and can see their advantage .
But the ones I rode were surgey and laggy .
One was an 8fun on an e-Joe , the other was an Easy Motion City Pro .
I tried some Stromer in the past and no hub issue for me there .
So , what are some other top brands , or major brands to try ?

4 months ago

My wife is 5 foot and I am 6 ft tall, so we need a bike that will accommodate our different sizes. We currently have Benelli classicas which I really like other than it can't go off road at all and it doesn't fold. So far I've considered the G-bike, the vello Rocky Mountain and the e-joe spik. We would like all features fenders, carrier, lights, Bells, disc brakes, kick stand, travel suitcase, everything we need to be able to ride and fly. I would appreciate your best recommendation?

5 months ago

Wow, you picked some real interesting choices! Are you even aware that GenZ is Manhindra (sp) one of the largest manufacturers of heavy equipment and automobiles in the world. Don't think they are going anywhere.
Bulls is one of the real success stories of Ebikes, Specialized(!), Scott (HUGE in Europe), Stromer!!, Haibike!!!!!!!!!!! LOL, you're killing me here. You do realize you've listed all of the biggest, most successful Ebike companies out there as going to be gone............... Trek?? If it doens't go well? ALL the "New" big boys have been selling Ebikes in other countries for YEARS, including Trek. Scott and others have said they may be Ebike ONLY in the future. Sales are PROPPING UP REGULAR BIKE COMPANIES....
Flip your idea 180 degrees and You've made a pretty good list of the companies that will be kicking ass with Ebikes in the next 10 years.

86 and still kicking
5 months ago

Serious disagreement with the assumptions and the list. Direct to consumer, online, and mobile delivery are the future of the market. Pedego is a tiny little brand that just happens to be the largest seller of eBikes in the United States. Companies like Stromer, Reise and Muller, KTM and others have very marginal operations in North America. Genze is a tiny little international company that happens to be larger than just about all the vendors combined.

Mike's E-Bikes
5 months ago

Hard to predict what brands will stick around, but the brands that survive will have the best business model, and not necessarily the best product.

What will surprise people the most, is that many brands that SEEM to have popularity now, are most likely NOT the ones that will survive. Precisely because their business models don't allow dealers to make enough to even live on, or are just poor, or they are naively going direct to market on-line.

These brands in no particular order that will most likely struggle:
Van Moof

There's at least 50 more, than aren't worth even mentioning.

Survivors could be, IF they even decide to keep doing e-bikes:
Reise & Muller
Trek (though the name may stay, they may dump ebikes if it doesn't go well)

Some names may survive and get bought out, if they have some sort of unique niche they've captured.

None of the above matters anyway, as I predict hundreds more new names will be forthcoming, until the market gets this right. Its WAY too early to speculate on any of this, but it might be interesting to look back in 5 years to see if any of this was right, or wrong.

5 months ago

Looks good, but should one wear white after Labor Day?;)

Son Nguyen
2 years ago

I have the ejoe epik lite and it is great. My only complaint is the pedal assist being too powerful. In PAS1, i want less help so i can use more leg power. Is there anyway to do that? Would covering up half of the cadence sensor (6 out of 12) give me half the assist?

2 years ago

If you're interested in giving this thing a test ride, PM me. That's an open invitation - I'd be more than happy to give anyone in the Twin Cities area a ride since there are none stock in any stores in the state. I had to "buy blind" but others in the area shouldn't have to!

2 years ago

A fellow Minnesotan! I'm out in carver. I've always been intrigued by the odk, my wife had an ejoe epik lite folder bike that was so minimal and kinda fun to ride. I imagine this bike is similar. Enjoy the new bike!

2 years ago

I believe you are correct on the wheel size, my wife would always pass me on her epik lite when she had it. Too bad it was slow as jerk everywhere else, made our rides less fun. Haibike alleviated that in more ways than one!

2 years ago

I have no doubt. When she was finished riding she said it was nice, just like riding a regular bike, the power is much more seamless than her ejoe epik lite is.

2 years ago

@9Leader: I was just in Newark (Univ. of DE) last week for a conference.

The Enzo looks like a great choice. I watched Court's review of the Enzo, and it uses a variation of the same frame I've seen used on a number of ebike folders, including the Epik Lite and SE. I think it's a nice looking frame style, and I love that the battery is completely concealed within the frame. The Enzo has a pretty awesome look with those unique wheels.

Today I loaded up the Epik in my car and drove to my childhood neighborhood in the Northwood neighborhood of Philadelphia (which is a small pocket within the Frankford section with huge 100+ year old single and twin homes). I road around about 14 miles exploring the old 'hood. Definitely no serious hills to contend with there, as is the case in much of Philly. I was happy to see a number of the main roads had bike lanes, although they are the kind of bike lanes that can put you on a collision course with an opening car door. I definitely stayed on high alert.

I have been on the Michael Castle Trail on foot (summer before last), but I have not biked it yet. A friend of mine lives near that trail, so it will definitely be on the itinerary at some point.

Good luck with the Enzo!

3 years ago

Hi all, I'm about ready to pull the trigger and get an e-Joe bike. Main use is for commuting about three miles to and from work, though I'll also use it to ride around town (finally freeing me from the unwieldy local bikeshare bikes). I'm drawn to the simplicity and slightly lower weight of the Epik Lite, but I worry that I might find myself wanting gears down the line. Am I right that it would be possible to simply add gears to the Epik Lite later on if I decide I need it? What all would I need to purchase and add on--derailer, shifter, cassette? Thanks for the help!

3 years ago

My wife rides the original epik lite, but I have to admit it is allot of fun to hop on! It is also a nice, minimal bike that is still relatively light. Looks like the improvements for the 2015 model make it an even better buy and it is right in your price range. Might be able to configure a holder with the rear rack too.

3 years ago

There might be a few bh easy motion bikes that could fit the bill as far as the design you are looking for. You won't have trouble with the distance given your weight and the distance. Might even be able to look at a folding option like the e-joe epik and epik lite.

4 years ago

My brand new motobecane boris x7 is an extremely nice bike clocking in at $700 - significantly better components than the surface 604 and I expect to build it out nicely for another grand, give (mid drive) or take (hub). Plan is to use for myself in the winter and my wife in the summer while I ride my easy motion neo xtrem; she has an ejoe epik lite but it won't keep up with the neo, so rides aren't as fun as they could be...Sorry for the slight hijack!

and my new upgrades!...

4 years ago

first post, thought i would chime in on electric and fat combinations! what we all really need is a mid drive maker to start making a drive that will fit the 100mm bottom bracket on fat bikes. i have a neo emotion xtrem and it is a ton of fun. i bought my wife an ejoe epik lite, but the first model that is limited to 15.5mph, so riding together isnt as fun as it should be.

i started looking into another bike for her, and started reading about fat bikes. of course, i stumbled onto the 604 which initially seemed like a great deal compared to the other fat electric bike options.

long story short, i decided to build my own. i just got a bikes direct fat bike, their boris x7 in burnt orange, and it was a steal at $700, leaving me with $1300 to build it out electric. i am crossing my fingers for an affordable mid drive option sometime in the next 4 to 6 months, otherwise i will run a front hub motor on it. i think fat bikes and mid drives were made for each other though, so i am holding out hope! for anyone that is willing to build, i would encourage a look at the bikes direct fat options, lots of discussion over at the mtbr forums as well. i feel like i got a $1600 bike at less than half the cost, and a nice platform for a motor addition. they also have a full steel frame option for $900.

4 years ago

Hi everyone,
I've been researching e-bikes for months, and decided to get input from this great community regarding my short list. Ultimately, I'm on my own, but some of you may enjoy helping me think through these parameters.

I have a morning newspaper route. I'd like to maximize the life of my car by not using it on the route every day. If the delivery objective doesn't work, I'll still have a cool e-bike to ride.

I'm aware of the massive undertaking I'm suggesting; riding up to 22 miles per morning, in darkness at least half of the time, with cargo, and stopping and starting without falling. However, I'm encouraged by the thousands of posties all over the world who ride regular-powered, geared bikes and carry more than I'm proposing. I anticipate a learning curve, lots of adjustments, and a few weeks of misery as I build my endurance. I can use my car whenever I choose; days when the papers are too unwieldy, bad road conditions, or if I feel out of sorts.
Taking my physical fitness into consideration, and the multi-tasking nature of the ride, the bike needs to bear 50% of the propulsion.
Ideally, the bike must be very simple to operate, because I will have my hands full simply riding and delivering. I'm not an experienced cyclist, and not very familiar with shifting. I understand low/high gears, but translating intellectual knowledge into practical application will be another hurdle.
I haven't test ridden any e-bikes yet. There are only a few dealers within driving distance for me, as I'm in north central Ohio, between Cleveland and Columbus. I want a short list before I travel to dealers.
My current short list, in order of preference:
e-Joe Epik Lite
- according to Court's review, the Epik will carry up to 300#
- I can use my car and the bike. I drive a Honda Fit, so it would be easy to stick the bike in the car.
- small diameter wheels for hill climbs and low COG
- 1,500 charge cycles and one year warranty
iGo Metro
- throttle on the left!
- front rack
- adjustable stem
- value for the price
- foreseen problem - not enough power to carry up to 280#?
iZip E3 Metro 2013 (used or on sale)
- all kinds of features I love, but tough to find within my budget

Maximum money outlay, bike and gear: $2000
225 newspapers. Weight (estimated) is from 40-70 lbs. Total weight (estimate with me, papers, bags and racks) would be approximately 280#, to err on the side of caution. Quite a load.
My preference is to carry the papers in a top box on the rear rack, and some in a front rack which I can reload as I progress. Depending on the news day, I could conceivably carry more papers in panniers on a rear rack if the bike allows.
Foreseen problems:
Reloading - I will have to reload from each pannier equally, so I'd like to reload no more than twice.
Kickstand - must be sufficient to stabilize the bike while I arrange and rearrange the load.
Distance/Range and terrain:
Approximately 22 miles. I deliver 225 papers, 5 days/week, in all weather.
Right Hand (RH) deliveries are preferable for safety, and to avoid rousting the police and State Patrols.
The terrain is as mixed as it gets. I estimate my average speed would be 11-11.5 mph (some stretches I can really make time), which conveniently is the average speed of Google's bicycle routing on Maps.
There are two significant 30 degree hill climbs at least 70ft each.
My size:
I'm almost 5'3", and 190#.
No, the height is not a typo.

The following are features I've identified as needs:
Step-through frame
30+ mile range minimum (to account for hilly terrain and getting home after route)
A front rack, or ability to mount something on the front to carry newspapers
Good "center stand", stabilizer, whatever you want to call it.
Rear rack or standard-sized tubing and braze ons for add on rack
Pre-slimed or very durable tires, preferably on the fat side for sure-footedness on berms.

I appreciate any and all feedback. Thanks for tolerating a long post.

Rudell Clark
8 months ago

hi whats a good ebike for a guy 250 pounds to 185 pounds
looking for affordable light weight and less pedaling

farzad khadem
1 year ago

I love your reviews. Excellent job. I wish you would give an msrp on the bikes though.

7 months ago

farzad khadem he does give msrp on many bikes, buy its an easy google search away. Also, many shops will give you a deal. Go to your local bike shop!

David Sonshine
1 year ago

Thanks Court - I picked up one of these this weekend and your review was spot on accurate. Very fun bike, was quite surprised how much torque it offered.

Alan Nez
2 years ago

stop saying affordable 1,300 is not affordable for a ebike 600-700 dollars or lower is affordable.

2 years ago

Nah man. If you decide to upgrade your own bike to elektric, you are easily looking at 500-600 bucks just for the low end battery and the motor. Then it will double the weight of the bike, have low power, low range. A semi decent folding bike will also cost you at least 400 bucks. At least the one that wont fall apart when you change gears a few times and that you can actually pick up with one hand. For the WEIGHT and POWER this bike offers, 1300 is as affordable as it can get.

Stephen Cho
3 years ago

Nice bike, love that it's a single-speed... I don't get why 98% of e-bikes on the market are multi-speed. Low gears are good for starting and hill climbing but the modern e-system replaces all of that and replaces all of that on steroids. Single-speeds are simpler, bulletproof, don't need constant tuning, & lighter.

eFixie Bikes
4 years ago

Now here is a bike I like a lot.  It answers a lot of needs.   I believe 350 watts may not be the best use of weight and demands of the battery, 250 really is an acceptable amount of power.  

My 24 volt fixie has a 180 watt geared hub motor.  I live 1 mile from the grocery store, up a steep hill most of the way.  That bike gets me up that hill with minimal effort.  Riding that bike makes we wonder why people always want the heaviest and most powerful thing available.

The Toyota Prius does not have a big V8 engine, and there's a good reason why it doesn't.

3 years ago

+eFixie Bikes Interesting thoughts from Warren Miller... I've watched many of his films. Grew up skiing a lot in Colorado. Appreciate your thoughts.

eFixie Bikes
3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com That is an insane weight (31.8 pounds) for a large bike.  I'm a big fan of a 250 watt geared hub motor, but not on the front wheel.  I have had issues a few times with a front drive that convinced me I prefer rear drive.

I saw nothing about range but can imagine that is challenged by the rolling resistance, and the 6.2 ah battery.  I would get a second battery for that bike if I bought one.

I think that is a bike with some great features, but for the price ($5,000) I'd buy a lot of other things instead.  Warren Miller, the ski film guy once told me the price of living at the beach is having one bike a year stolen and I think that makes a great point about very expensive bikes when you can get a good one for less than half that.
After thinking about that bike for a few days, it appears to be the equivalent of a $700 Hill Climber conversion kit (with the battery upgrade) on a $1,800 bike.

Front wheel, 250 geared hub motor, external wires wire tied to the frame.  It seems like nothing you can't put together yourself for half the money.

3 years ago

Good point, I actually prefer super light weight ebikes that are efficient and well balanced... l but I'm also fit and light weight myself. For hauling cargo or doing a lot of climbing I could see why some people want more power. That's also true for cruiser bikes that have heavier frames with larger tires to begin with. What do you think of this setup for lightweight: http://electricbikereview.com/prodecotech/titanio-29er/

JustCurtis FromCanada
4 years ago

love this bike! How much lighter is it than the SE geared version?

4 years ago

Me too, great design! According to their website the Epik SE (sport edition) is actually one pound lighter at 36lb vs. 37lb for the Lite. I think the rack and lights add the extra weight but it's surprising because I would have guessed the front shock on the SE would add some weight. I was not able to weigh them myself so I cannot be sure :)

4 years ago

Hi Court, thanks for the reviews, and I've been appreciating all the videos. I just wondered, if e-Joe Epik SE can be equipped with rear rack just like Lite? Lite looks really interesting too. It (as of 2014) now sports 350w just like SE right?

4 years ago

+GiantEnemyCrab Sure thing! I agree, the fenders are nicer on the Lite and I like that also has the rack and lights :)

4 years ago

+Electric Bike Review Thanks for the review. I am happily riding Epik SE now. (LE's fenders are nicer, so I will have to figure out my own creative solution)

4 years ago

Yeah, I think the Epik SE can be fitted with a rear rack and indeed, it does use the 350 watt geared. I personally love the suspension and extra gears on that bike... I think e-Joe should just make one Epik that has the gears, shock, nicer fenders like the Lite has here and the rack and lights and sell it for $1,500. Just reach out to them through their website and I bet they can help you :)

Nelson Di Salvatore
4 years ago

i thought you already had one of those go-pro cameras?

4 years ago

+Nelson Di Salvatore Great suggestion man, I'll give that a try on my future reviews :)

Nelson Di Salvatore
4 years ago

yeah it feels kind of unsteady, and when you try fast bikes or mountain bikes you can't go full speed, it miss all the fun, something you could do is make a video with the handed camera and then add a video with the Gopros or edited them together

4 years ago

+Nelson Di Salvatore Oh! Yeah, I still prefer to use handheld cameras because it allows for a single review shot and I can show better closeups of the motor, bike frame and computer. The helmet and chest mounts are more stationary and zoomed out due to wide angle lenses on the GoPros. Do you have any suggestions or shots you think I should be getting that I'm missing? Does it feel too unsteady with the handheld?

Nelson Di Salvatore
4 years ago

i mean the cameras that goes on your helmet and allow you to drive with your hands free, every time i see a review you are only driving with one hand and holding the camera with the other

4 years ago

I just got two Go Pro's, did it not seem like it in the video? I'm confused...

4 years ago

Very nice e-bike, very smart solution the in-frame battery pack!

4 years ago

I agree, it takes extra design work and expense to make purpose built ebike frames like this but it looks amazing and manages the weight well :)

4 years ago

Cool little bike. I think you have the battery spec. wrong in the video description. You said it was 7 amp hour battery in the video but you have 9 amp hour in the description.

4 years ago

Good catch, I've fixed it in the description here and back on the full review where I had it listed as 9 in the specs section! Thanks :D

4 years ago

Great little bike. Also what kind of Oakley's are you wearing? Thanks

4 years ago

It's a good one for sure! Those are Oakley Jawbones. You can swap the lenses out super easy and they have vented options which is great for biking. I use them with clear for night riding quite a bit :)