e-Joe Epik Lite Review

Ejoe Epik Lite Electric Bike Review 1
E Joe Epik Lite
E Joe Epik Lite 350 Geared Hub
E Joe Epik Lite Removable Battery
E Joe Epik Controller And Throttle
E Joe Epik Chain Guide And Pedelec
E Joe Epik Lite Rear Light
E Joe Epik Lite Computer Console
E Joe Epik Green
E Joe Epik Headlight And Fender
E Joe Epik Lite Console Trigger Throttle
E Joe Epik Lite Front Chainring Pedelec
E Joe Epik Lite Front Fender
E Joe Epik Lite Led Headlight
E Joe Epik Rear Light
E Joe Epik Removable Battery
E Joe Epik Single Speed
E Joe Epik
Ejoe Epik Lite Electric Bike Review 1
E Joe Epik Lite
E Joe Epik Lite 350 Geared Hub
E Joe Epik Lite Removable Battery
E Joe Epik Controller And Throttle
E Joe Epik Chain Guide And Pedelec
E Joe Epik Lite Rear Light
E Joe Epik Lite Computer Console
E Joe Epik Green
E Joe Epik Headlight And Fender
E Joe Epik Lite Console Trigger Throttle
E Joe Epik Lite Front Chainring Pedelec
E Joe Epik Lite Front Fender
E Joe Epik Lite Led Headlight
E Joe Epik Rear Light
E Joe Epik Removable Battery
E Joe Epik Single Speed
E Joe Epik

Summary

  • Affordable, well balanced with integrated battery and light-weight (37 pound) folding electric bike
  • Comes standard with fenders, lights, a rear rack, removable battery pack and is available in four colors
  • Offers three levels of pedal assist in addition to a trigger throttle that can be used in conjunction with pedelec

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

e-Joe

Model:

Epik Lite

Price:

$1,349 USD

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Commuting, Travel, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive, 30 Day Refundable

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

37 lbs (16.78 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Types:

Folding, Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Matte Black, British Racing Green, Blue, Red, Titanium Gray

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

1 Single Speed (Optional 7 Speed 1x7 Shimano Tourney TX)

Pedals:

Aluminum Alloy Platform

Handlebar:

Aluminum Alloy Flat

Brake Details:

Dia Compe V-Brake with Motor Cut-Off

Saddle:

Velo Comfort Wide

Tire Brand:

Kenda 20" x 1.75"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

Thorn Resistant

Accessories:

Bell on Right Bar, Front and Rear Fenders with Mud Flaps, Front and Rear LED Lights, Rear Rack with Spring Latch

Other:

300 Pound Maximum Payload Capacity,

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

520 watts (Pre-2014 Models Had 250 Watt Nominal with 430 Watt Peak Output)

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

7 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

252 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Nickel Cobalt Manganese (LiNCM)

Charge Time:

3 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Display Type:

Fixed LED

Readouts:

Power, Battery Level, Pedal Assist Level (3 Levels), Throttle to Pedal Assist Mode Switch

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The e-Joe Epik Lite is one of my favorite folding electric bikes. That’s because it’s very affordable, light weight (at just 37lbs), well balanced with a low center of gravity (it doesn’t use a rear rack for the battery) and offers both pedal assist and throttle mode! Even the little details are impressive on this bike. You get front and rear fenders with mud flaps for extra coverage, front and rear lights (though only the front light is powered from the main battery pack), the battery pack itself is removable and can be charged off of the bike if you’re riding to the office or need a quick charge during an island excursion away from your boat. Folding ebikes are really useful on RV’s, boats or up at the winter cabin. You can toss it in your trunk, store it in a closet and quickly unfold and adjust to accommodate nearly anyone (albeit not as comfortably as a full sized bike) as long as they weigh under 300lbs… including any cargo you strap to the rear rack.

Most folding electric bikes use smaller sized motors, it keeps them light weight and easier to stow. That’s also the case for the Epik here but the motor is geared and located in the rear hub which is ideal for gaining traction. The motor size is 350 watts but peak output is 520 watts and during my ride tests it felt pretty strong and peppy. Top speed is limited at 15.5 miles per hour which is low compared with the 20mph legal limit for ebikes in the USA but that’s probably because the 20″ wheels are less stable at high speed. It also likely helps to extend the range and keep the motor from overheating if you are hauling a lot of cargo.

The battery running that motor is a decent sized 36 volt 7 amp hour Lithium polymer pack. It comes with a one year warranty and I estimate that based on the chemistry you’ll get ~800 charge cycles (given you keep it topped off and out of extreme temperatures). Keep this in mind if you are a traveler who plans to leave your bike for long periods of time. You should really top it off once every month to maximize use. This is easily done however because the battery pack is removable and can be charged off of the bike! I can’t stress how awesome this is, it makes the bike lighter weight to lift if you take the pack out, it makes installing a replacement easy and it means you can bring your charger with you to the office and top the battery off if you’re using it to commute.

The control system on the Epik Lite is very intuitive, easy to access when riding and includes all of the critical info you’ll need to enjoy the bike. There’s a battery capacity indicator and a button to select from three levels of pedal assist as well as an on off switch for activating the throttle. The bike uses a basic pedelec sensor in pedal assist mode which isn’t as smooth or responsive as a torque sensor but I actually enjoy it for easy cruising, you don’t have to push as hard to activate the motor. I love that you can use the trigger throttle in conjunction with the pedal assist mode because that makes starting from stops easier (which is the hardest part for people with hurt knees). I really feel like they nailed the electric drive system with this bike and it makes riding more enjoyable.

Folding electric bikes have to compromise in terms of size, ride quality and features but e-Joe chose well for the Epik. It comes in three colors which is fun and it’s just a functional bike that’s amazingly affordable. The standard setup is a single speed bike which can be tiring if you’re around hills but they do offer an upgrade to a seven speed Shimano cassette in the rear. The front ring includes a nice chain guide to keep it on track and avoid snags on your pants. The biggest complaint I have is that the rear light runs on its own batteries instead of being tied in to the main pack but at least the front light is. Just remember to check that the back light is off when you park the bike.

The pedals fold flat for storage but don’t offer the best traction or rigidity when pedaling… they are simple and light. The rear rack has a spring clasp for carrying jackets and stuff but you’ll probably want a bag or panniers to really put it to work. You might also want to put a bungee cord on the rear rack, for cargo but also to secure the bike itself when folded. Unlike some of the other options out there this folder doesn’t have magnets or bands to keep the bike from coming unfolded. The Epik Lite only comes in one size but is pretty adjustable in terms of handle bar and seat height. This version has medium sized Kenda tires that are puncture resistant and offer a bit of give on bumps and cracks (along with the seat) but the Epik SE actually has a front shock which I really enjoy to smooth out the ride.

Pros:

  • Lots of great features built right in (fenders, rear rack, lights, bell and kickstand)
  • Easy and fast to fold for storage, rides well when unfolded – doesn’t feel loose
  • Simple control box shows battery capacity and provides easy access to three levels of pedal assist
  • Trigger throttle is easy to reach, responsive and can be used in conjunction with pedal assist – perfect for getting started after a stop sign or light
  • Avalable in four colors including racing green, bright red, light blue and black
  • Front chain ring has built in guides that keep the chain from falling off and protect your pants from getting snagged or dirty, also doubles as a bash guard
  • Battery pack is removable and can be charged on or off the bike
  • Fenders are high quality and include mud flaps that keep you extra clean
  • 20″ wheels use medium sized tires that offer a bit of cushion, seat is also medium soft
  • Great value in terms of features, performance and low price

Cons:

  • Maximum top speed of 15.5 mph vs. 20 mph on full sized ebikes
  • Lithium polymer battery may not last as long as some other chemistries but does include one year warranty and is removable/replaceable
  • Only one speed (upgradable to 7 speed with Shimano components for more money)
  • Rear light is powered independently of the front light which runs off the main battery, this makes it easier to forget and leave on and requires more batteries which is inefficient
  • Uses a pedelec system vs. torque sensing for pedal assist making it less responsive
  • No magnets or clasps to keep the bike in folded position
  • Wires are not routed internally but stay out of the way pretty well

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More e-Joe Reviews

e-Joe Gadis Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An active step-thru electric bike with a stiffer frame, excellent weight distribution and decent price point, great for commuters given the rack integration and fenders. Available in two color choices (black and vanilla) with matching suspension, clean integrated wires and…...

e-Joe Koda Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A well priced urban-commuter style electric bike that offers lots of useful accessories including fenders, carry rack and LED lights. Purpose built frame is light weight and well balanced thanks to a downtube mounted battery…...

e-Joe Epik SE Review

  • MSRP: $1,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Folding electric bike offering a great combination of utility (fenders, rack, lights, suspension fork) at a low price. Relatively powerful geared motor combined with an impressive battery capacity for good climbing and range...

e-Joe Anggun 3.0 Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Step-thru frame with adjustable stem, swept back handle bars and high to extra-low seat tube positioning options fits a wide range of riders, including those with shorter inseams. Lots of drive options including five power modes for pedal assist and a twist throttle…...

e-Joe Anggun Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

A well rounded, smooth riding, upright electric bike with both pedal assist and twist throttle mode. Step-through frame design is easy to approach and offers fenders, a chain guard and lights…...

2014 e-Joe Epik SE Review

  • MSRP: $1,549
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Affordable, durable, well balanced and smooth with built in front suspension fork. Sporty fenders keep the mud off and stay out of the way but don't offer…...


Carla
3 years ago

Can the e-Joe support a bicycle seat for a toddler?

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hey Carla, great question… I think it really depends on the child seat you use? Since the Epik Lite is a folding electric bike the front handlebars may not be as sturdy as a full sized ebike. It does have a rear rack that might work but I’m not sure what it’s rated for. You might be better off with a full sized ebike like the e-Joe Anggun for use with a child seat.

IEC
3 years ago

Hey man — could you remark on sizing for this bike. I’m 6’2″, 245lb, and I’m considering this bike for the convenience of the folding factor, but I just realized the shape of the frame might not be suited to someone who’s on the taller side? Not sure how tall you are. The other bike I’m considering if I don’t go folding is the larger (and much more expensive) Pedego Interceptor, which there’s a lot more info for online and I’ve heard would fit me fine.

Court Rye
3 years ago

Glad you asked… The Interceptor is going to be much more comfortable given your height and weight. The frame is sturdier, the handle bars feel more natural and the larger wheels and oversized tires really smooth out the ride. Depending on how far you plan to ride, the e-Joe Epik could work fine and it will be much lighter, easier to transport and less expensive. I’m 5’9″ at ~135 so keep that in mind with all of the reviews you see here… is there possibly a shop nearby where you could test ride some of these ebikes? I know the Pedego costs more but the founders of that company are both relatively large and all of their ebikes tend to fit that body type a little better. Trying it out and maybe comparing it to any folding bike could help a lot.

IEC
3 years ago

Good idea, I’ll try to find a way to an ebike shop and see if I can test some stuff out before deciding. Folding bike is kind of major, so if I can fit on one I want to go with it (need to be able to throw it in a trunk if I get a ride with roommates/other people). Thanks for the input!

Raju Subbanna
3 years ago

I just bought easy motion. Its a great bike but the folding is clumsy. Not sure how this bike folds? What is its dimension after folding? After folding what is the length of the widest part? We need another bike with easy folding and carrying.

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Raju! The folding design of the E-Joe Epik Lite is decent but still a little bit awkward. I think the biggest difference between it and the Neo Volt design is that it weighs much less (37 lbs vs 45 on the Volt Sport and 49 lbs for the Volt). Unfortunately I don’t know the exact folded dimensions for these bikes but the Epik Lite should be shorter and fatter while the Neo Volt is taller and perhaps longer. Given the price, removable battery, assist and throttle modes of the Epik Lite it’s definitely one of my favorite folding ebikes. If you want something that’s quieter and a bit higher quality then I’d recommend the Tern folding ebikes.

Tom
3 years ago

Hey there — it looks like the Epik Lite 2015 is out, are there any notable differences or improvements to take into consideration, even just on paper? I’m looking at ordering something soon to catch potential Cyber Monday deals. Thanks Court!

Court Rye
3 years ago

I think it has been polished a bit, definitely one of the better and most affordable folding ebikes I’ve tried. I do have some video but it’s going to be a short while before I can publish. I’ll try to get this out soon for you though Tom. Keep an eye on the YouTube Channel.

Tom
3 years ago

Thanks Court, will do. I don’t see a lot of online retailers carrying these — pretty much just Rakuten and eBay, although I think both are just ads for another online reseller/retailer, Sports by Sager. Anywhere else I should check? There are no local shops where I currently reside (Gainesville, FL) that seem to carry them.

Cristine
3 years ago

Hi Tom! I am Cristine with e-JOE Bike. Thanks for checking out our e-bikes on Electric Bike Review! e-JOE currently has a dealer in Tampa called Street Fit 360 Bike Shop, and you can also make online purchases from shopebike.com. We just added a dealer map at ejoebike.com/dealers to make it easier to find a dealer near you! Please let me know if you have any more questions. I will be more than happy to assist you.

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Tom! Yesterday E-Joe launched a new Dealer Locator Tool on their website and it looks like there’s one dealer in Florida called Street Fit 360 at 3311 W. Gandy Blvd Tampa, FL 33611 (813) 319-3735. If you’re specifically trying to order from an online shop I might be able to help you find one, use the contact form to provide your details if so.

Tom
3 years ago

Yeah I used the tool and unfortunately, that dealer is a bit of a drive away from here, though I have an email out to them anyway. But I filled out and submitted your form with more details as well. Thanks again!

DR
2 years ago

Good review. I’m glad to know it support riding with high heels. lol.

john burton
2 years ago

I purchased an epic lite a month ago. the battery connections are poorly designed and the power shuts down without notice.. I am not the only one who has had this problem. (see amazon reviews). apparently, e-joe recognizes this and has redesigned the frame for next year. now, to get someone in the delivery chain to stop kicking the can down the road, and fix this problem…

Court Rye
2 years ago

Thanks for the feedback John, I’ll be visiting e-Joe early next year to check out updated designs and I’ll ask about the connection issues you’ve mentioned.

john burton
2 years ago

Court…the problem was handled professionally and I love riding the bike.

Court Rye
2 years ago

That’s so great to hear John! I do my best to stay independent and create a place for people to report the good and bad of bikes. No hardware is perfect but customer support can go a long way and it sounds like e-Joe really came through for you here. Thanks for the update, ride safe out there :D

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Start a new epik lite thread on the e-Joe Forum page

farzad khadem
6 months ago

I love your reviews. Excellent job. I wish you would give an msrp on the bikes though.

David Sonshine
8 months ago

Thanks Court - I picked up one of these this weekend and your review was spot on accurate. Very fun bike, was quite surprised how much torque it offered.

DoveMeatForDinner
1 year ago

stop saying affordable 1,300 is not affordable for a ebike 600-700 dollars or lower is affordable.

ChickenGiraffe
11 months ago

Nah man. If you decide to upgrade your own bike to elektric, you are easily looking at 500-600 bucks just for the low end battery and the motor. Then it will double the weight of the bike, have low power, low range. A semi decent folding bike will also cost you at least 400 bucks. At least the one that wont fall apart when you change gears a few times and that you can actually pick up with one hand. For the WEIGHT and POWER this bike offers, 1300 is as affordable as it can get.

Stephen Cho
2 years ago

Nice bike, love that it's a single-speed... I don't get why 98% of e-bikes on the market are multi-speed. Low gears are good for starting and hill climbing but the modern e-system replaces all of that and replaces all of that on steroids. Single-speeds are simpler, bulletproof, don't need constant tuning, & lighter.

eFixie Bikes
3 years ago

Now here is a bike I like a lot.  It answers a lot of needs.   I believe 350 watts may not be the best use of weight and demands of the battery, 250 really is an acceptable amount of power.  

My 24 volt fixie has a 180 watt geared hub motor.  I live 1 mile from the grocery store, up a steep hill most of the way.  That bike gets me up that hill with minimal effort.  Riding that bike makes we wonder why people always want the heaviest and most powerful thing available.

The Toyota Prius does not have a big V8 engine, and there's a good reason why it doesn't.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+eFixie Bikes Interesting thoughts from Warren Miller... I've watched many of his films. Grew up skiing a lot in Colorado. Appreciate your thoughts.

eFixie Bikes
3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com That is an insane weight (31.8 pounds) for a large bike.  I'm a big fan of a 250 watt geared hub motor, but not on the front wheel.  I have had issues a few times with a front drive that convinced me I prefer rear drive.

I saw nothing about range but can imagine that is challenged by the rolling resistance, and the 6.2 ah battery.  I would get a second battery for that bike if I bought one.

I think that is a bike with some great features, but for the price ($5,000) I'd buy a lot of other things instead.  Warren Miller, the ski film guy once told me the price of living at the beach is having one bike a year stolen and I think that makes a great point about very expensive bikes when you can get a good one for less than half that.
______________
After thinking about that bike for a few days, it appears to be the equivalent of a $700 Hill Climber conversion kit (with the battery upgrade) on a $1,800 bike.

Front wheel, 250 geared hub motor, external wires wire tied to the frame.  It seems like nothing you can't put together yourself for half the money.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Good point, I actually prefer super light weight ebikes that are efficient and well balanced... l but I'm also fit and light weight myself. For hauling cargo or doing a lot of climbing I could see why some people want more power. That's also true for cruiser bikes that have heavier frames with larger tires to begin with. What do you think of this setup for lightweight: http://electricbikereview.com/prodecotech/titanio-29er/

JustCurtis FromCanada
3 years ago

love this bike! How much lighter is it than the SE geared version?

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Me too, great design! According to their website the Epik SE (sport edition) is actually one pound lighter at 36lb vs. 37lb for the Lite. I think the rack and lights add the extra weight but it's surprising because I would have guessed the front shock on the SE would add some weight. I was not able to weigh them myself so I cannot be sure :)

GiantEnemyCrab
3 years ago

Hi Court, thanks for the reviews, and I've been appreciating all the videos. I just wondered, if e-Joe Epik SE can be equipped with rear rack just like Lite? Lite looks really interesting too. It (as of 2014) now sports 350w just like SE right?

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+GiantEnemyCrab Sure thing! I agree, the fenders are nicer on the Lite and I like that also has the rack and lights :)

GiantEnemyCrab
3 years ago

+Electric Bike Review Thanks for the review. I am happily riding Epik SE now. (LE's fenders are nicer, so I will have to figure out my own creative solution)

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Yeah, I think the Epik SE can be fitted with a rear rack and indeed, it does use the 350 watt geared. I personally love the suspension and extra gears on that bike... I think e-Joe should just make one Epik that has the gears, shock, nicer fenders like the Lite has here and the rack and lights and sell it for $1,500. Just reach out to them through their website and I bet they can help you :)

Nelson Di Salvatore
3 years ago

i thought you already had one of those go-pro cameras?

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Nelson Di Salvatore Great suggestion man, I'll give that a try on my future reviews :)

Nelson Di Salvatore
3 years ago

yeah it feels kind of unsteady, and when you try fast bikes or mountain bikes you can't go full speed, it miss all the fun, something you could do is make a video with the handed camera and then add a video with the Gopros or edited them together

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Nelson Di Salvatore Oh! Yeah, I still prefer to use handheld cameras because it allows for a single review shot and I can show better closeups of the motor, bike frame and computer. The helmet and chest mounts are more stationary and zoomed out due to wide angle lenses on the GoPros. Do you have any suggestions or shots you think I should be getting that I'm missing? Does it feel too unsteady with the handheld?

Nelson Di Salvatore
3 years ago

i mean the cameras that goes on your helmet and allow you to drive with your hands free, every time i see a review you are only driving with one hand and holding the camera with the other

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

I just got two Go Pro's, did it not seem like it in the video? I'm confused...

erehwyrevekool
3 years ago

Very nice e-bike, very smart solution the in-frame battery pack!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

I agree, it takes extra design work and expense to make purpose built ebike frames like this but it looks amazing and manages the weight well :)

americanidlekaraoke
3 years ago

Cool little bike. I think you have the battery spec. wrong in the video description. You said it was 7 amp hour battery in the video but you have 9 amp hour in the description.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Good catch, I've fixed it in the description here and back on the full review where I had it listed as 9 in the specs section! Thanks :D

newstart1651
3 years ago

Great little bike. Also what kind of Oakley's are you wearing? Thanks

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

It's a good one for sure! Those are Oakley Jawbones. You can swap the lenses out super easy and they have vented options which is great for biking. I use them with clear for night riding quite a bit :)