2014 EVELO Aurora Review

2014 Evelo Aurora Video Review 1
2014 Evelo Aurora
2014 Evelo Aurora Mid Drive Canister
2014 Evelo Aurora Lithium Battery Pack
2014 Evelo Aurora Display Shifter Throttle
2014 Evelo Aurora Tail Light Led
2014 Evelo Aurora Rear Rack Clamp
2014 Evelo Aurora Nuvinci Cvt Hub
2014 Evelo Aurora Headlight Led
2014 Evelo Aurora Chain Tensioner
2014 Evelo Aurora Chain Drive Motor
2014 Evelo Aurora Cadence Sensors
2014 Evelo Aurora Backlit Display
2014 Evelo Aurora Video Review 1
2014 Evelo Aurora
2014 Evelo Aurora Mid Drive Canister
2014 Evelo Aurora Lithium Battery Pack
2014 Evelo Aurora Display Shifter Throttle
2014 Evelo Aurora Tail Light Led
2014 Evelo Aurora Rear Rack Clamp
2014 Evelo Aurora Nuvinci Cvt Hub
2014 Evelo Aurora Headlight Led
2014 Evelo Aurora Chain Tensioner
2014 Evelo Aurora Chain Drive Motor
2014 Evelo Aurora Cadence Sensors
2014 Evelo Aurora Backlit Display

Summary

  • Value driven but well rounded mid-drive ebike with upgradable motor, battery and drivetrain options
  • Great features include backlit LCD display with built in USB charger, front and rear LED lights and fenders
  • Low-step frame is easy to mount and disc brakes provide great stopping power but battery weight is mounted high vs. low/center and the motor isn't sophisticated enough to let up when shifting which can mash gears

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

EVELO

Model:

Aurora

Price:

$2,079 USD (Add $400 for NuVinci N360, Add $500 for Larger Battery, Add $675 for Larger Motor)

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

18 Month Comprehensive, Add 6 Months for $99

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

55 lbs (24.94 kg)

Battery Weight:

8 lbs (3.62 kg) (Larger Pack 9 lbs)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

20 in (50.8 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Overall Length: 70"

Frame Types:

Step-Thru

Frame Colors:

Black, White

Frame Fork Details:

RockShox XC28 Suspension with Lockout

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack, Fender Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Alivio or NuVinci CVT

Shifter Details:

Shimano RM410 Grip Twist on Right Bar (Optional NuVinci Grip Twist on Right Bar)

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform

Stem:

Tonaro TDS-C215, Adjustable Angle

Brake Details:

Tektro Novelo Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Cutoff

Grips:

Rubber, Ergonomic

Saddle:

Velo (Optional Upgrade Program)

Tire Brand:

Kenda

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Accessories:

Single Side Kickstand, Rear Rack with Spring Latch, Front and Rear LED Lights by Spinnga, Front Fender

Other:

Removable Battery Pack, 12 Magnet Pedelec Sensor, Quick Release Front and Rear Wheel

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts (Optional 250 w)

Battery Brand:

Samsung (Optional Panasonic)

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10 ah (Optional 17 ah)

Battery Watt Hours:

360 wh (Optional 612 wh)

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours (Up to 6 With Larger Pack)

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

60 miles (97 km)

Display Type:

Backlit Monochrome LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Odometer, Battery Level, Assist Level

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Left Bar

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Evelo Aurora is a value driven mid-drive electric bike which means it benefits from the strengths of centerdrive (improved climbing ability, balance and range) but suffers from a couple of technical issues (slower pedal cadence and rougher shifting). These issues can be be addressed if you’re willing to pay a bit extra for the 500 watt motor and NuVinci continuously variable transmission (CVT) but that will also add some weight to an already solid 55 pound bike. The core of this bike hasn’t changed since version one but in 2014 several improvements were made including the addition of a large backlit LCD display panel with included USB charger, tighter battery case that no longer rattles, stiffer front fender that reduces bouncing motion in the headlight and a 12 magnet cadence sensor with smoother assist activation.

The motor on the Aurora is a 250 watt mid-drive canister that pulls the same chain you do when pedaling. By doing this, it is able to leverage the rear cassette cogs to improve mechanical efficiency when climbing or gaining speed. The logic here is “why make the motor only use one gear when there are eight available” and it makes a lot of sense. The downside is increased stress on the chain and rear chain ring teeth. Another tradeoff is pedal cadence because the motor tends to spin slow and steady while you may prefer to pedal at a higher RPM. These issues can be addressed with the upgraded 500 watt motor that will also improve power for climbing with heavier loads and the NuVinci hub which doesn’t use gears at all. I love these options but together they will cost over $1,000. There are other drive systems available that actually sense when you shift and cut the motor off and automatically spin at higher RPM’s for a smoother more natural ride. These bikes (including the IZIP Peak) use your cadence, torque and speed to direct the motor while the Evelo mid-drive system only uses cadence.

The battery design on the Aurora has been improved from the first generation and no longer rattles when riding which is great. The pack consists of either Samsung or Panasonic Lithium ion cells in a 36 volt configuration at 10 or 17 amp hours respectively or 48 volt 10 amp hour with the upgraded 500 watt motor. These packs are high quality and come with a year and a half long warranty which is great. I love that you can charge the pack on or off the bike and that removing it reduces the overall weight of the unit for transport. Still, the way it’s mounted high and in the rear isn’t my favorite in terms of balance. I like that they’ve included a basic metal rack on top for a bag or panniers but there aren’t guards along the sides so make sure your panniers aren’t too long or they could bump into the tire and spokes.

One of the biggest areas of improvement for this version of the Aurora is a large backlit LCD display panel mounted right at the center of the handle bars. It’s easy to read and offers information about speed, distance, pedal assist level and battery capacity. I’ve seen this display in use on other ebikes and am a big fan, you can even swivel it forward or back to reduce glare. As mentioned before, it includes a USB port along the backside to make charging your portable electronics easy and the main battery is also wired into the front and rear light so basically you can run everything from one central location. Using the display panel is easy thanks to a small control pad located near the grip on the left handle bar. From here you can turn the bike on and navigate up or down through different levels of assist. All in all the cockpit on this ebike is easy to use and the grip shifter on the right compliments the twist throttle on the left. I appreciate the Tektro brake levers which activate the mechanical disc brakes and simultaneously cut power to the motor (which can be useful when shifting gears).

The Aurora isn’t a perfect bike, it only comes in one size and costs a bit extra to really get right, but it’s one of my favorite EVELO models due to the lighter weight rigid frame. The RockShox suspension fork really smoothes things out and includes a lockout for improved efficiency by reducing energy loss through “bobbing” as a result of heavy pedaling. The ergonomic grips add a bit of comfort but don’t have lockers at the end and may spin if you grip them tightly when riding. It’s great that they offer black and white color options and the oversized Wellgo platform pedals are stiff and grippy… This is one of the more affordable mid-drive ebikes (especially if you pass up on the NuVinci and motor upgrades). This bike can take some getting used to and isn’t as immediately satisfying as a hub motor design but it does offer increased range and climbing ability and Evelo offers excellent customer service. They are very responsive and committed to ongoing improvement (as evidenced through all of the improvements shown here).

Pros:

  • Mid-drive motor system offers efficient power use by leveraging the rear cassette (good for climbing and extended range)
  • Upgraded LCD display panel is backlit and includes a break-out button pad for easy input when riding
  • Optional NuVinci continuously variable transmission hub is smooth, can be changed at rest and won’t mash when pedaling
  • Battery pack doubles as a fender and includes a spring rack on top for mounting a bag, battery can be removed for charging off the bike or to make the unit lighter during transport
  • Tires and wheels are easier to service on a mid-drive bicycle because you don’t have extra wires and the weight of a hub motor to deal with
  • Solid RockShox suspension fork with long travel and lockout for use on hard pavement to reduce bobbing
  • Good mechanical disc brakes with Tektro levers that cut power to the motor when used
  • The cadence sensor uses 12 magnets which smoothes out assist (old units used just 5 sensors)
  • Front and rear LED lights work well and are wired right into the main battery, there is also a USB charger for use with portable electronics like mobile phones or mp3 players
  • Comfort saddle and adjustable stem improve ergonomics for riders of different sizes
  • Solid year and a half warranty on everything including frame, motor and battery pack
  • Lithium-ion battery cells are from higher end manufacturers (Samsung and Panasonic) offering higher energy density and increased number of charge cycles
  • Solid kickstand is easy to use and stays high out of the way when riding

Cons:

  • Front fender design has been improved (stiffer than 1st gen) but the LED light can still bounce a bit and the fender doesn’t offer the same water protection as a closer and longer one might
  • In its base form this bike is a good value but the price can really add up with the NuVinci, 500 watt motor and extended range 17 amp hour battery pack
  • The motors used for this bike can’t sense when you’re shifting gears and thus, will not ease up which can cause mashing and strain the chain
  • The battery pack is mounted high up and in the rear which is not ideal for balance
  • The rear spring rack is decent but doesn’t work very well for longer panniers
  • There are no water bottle mounts, have to use the saddle rack with a bag or a camel back

Resources:

More EVELO Reviews

EVELO Aurora Hub-Drive Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2019

A value priced ebike with a focus on comfort with wider tires, hub-motor, gel saddle, approachable low stand over height, and front suspension. Along with the suspension and tires, there is even more comfort here like locking grips,…...

EVELO Aries Mid-Drive Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2019

A full suspension, super powerful, super smooth and comfortable all purpose ebike with comfortable wider tires, mid-drive motor, integrated lights, and a lot of attention to detail in engineering to get the most comfort and performance out of the system. Besides the suspension and tires, there is even more comfort here like ergonomic grips, swept…...

EVELO Aries Hub-Drive Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2019

A full suspension powerful yet comfortable all purpose ebike with comfortable wider tires, hub-motor, integrated lights, and a lot of attention to detail in engineering to get the most comfort and performance out of the system. Besides the suspension and tires, there is even more comfort here like ergonomic grips, swept…...

EVELO Galaxy 24 Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018, 2019

A small sized cruiser electric bike with 24-inch wheels, it's easy to approach, has a comfortable sprung saddle, adjustable angle stem, and wide 2.4" tires for stability and vibration dampening. Optional hydraulic disc brakes and automatic electric shifting are great for riders with limited hand…...

EVELO Delta X Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A powerful, purpose-built, urban electric bike that was built around a sturdy mountain bike frame, this unique product offers a trigger throttle that overrides assist 1-5 and unlockable higher speeds. Unique combination of trail capable and urban oriented features such as rear rack bosses and…...

EVELO Compass Review

  • MSRP: $3,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A heavy duty electric trike with five levels of pedal assist, instant-power trigger throttle, adjustable top speed (the default is 16 mph for safety), large 180mm disc brakes, motor inhibitors on both brake levers. Comes with durable plastic fenders on all three wheels, a full-surround chain cover, three integrated…...

EVELO Aurora Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A powerful and durable mid-drive electric bike with approachable stable step-thru frame design in two sizes, thicker spokes allow for heavier 300lb max weight limit, optional hydraulic disc brake upgrade. Available in black or white, sold predominantly online with free shipping to the contiguous USA…...

EVELO Quest Max Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A feature rich, powerful, folding electric bike with extendable stem and long seat post option for taller riders, it's easy to mount and handle, weight is positioned low and center. The Bafang Max mid-motor is powerful but efficient, you can adjust pedal speed gearing at…...

EVELO Galaxy ST Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A powerful cruiser style electric bike with smooth, responsive, multi-sensing pedal assist and trigger throttle operation, throttle only works above 6 mph and is limited by assist level. Optional hydraulic disc brakes and automatic electric shifting would be great for riders with limited…...

EVELO Quest One Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A folding electric bike that's fairly lightweight at ~41 lbs, clean and simple thanks to a Gates Carbon belt drive, and still feature rich with fenders and integrated lights. Available in two color choices, offers pedal assist and throttle on demand, highly adjustable extra-long…...

EVELO Delta Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the more powerful purpose-built electric mountain bikes I have tested to date, possibly the only setup like this with a trigger throttle that overrides assist 1-5, unlockable higher speeds. Unique combination of trail capable and urban oriented features such as rear rack bosses and…...

EVELO Galaxy TT Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable but sturdy cruiser style electric bike with premium aesthetic, the mid-drive motor is powerful but quiet and offers responsive pedal assist plus throttle. EVELO has always offered great customer service and even has a trade-in program, the Galaxy…...

EVELO Aries Review

  • MSRP: $2,079
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Full suspension city bike with basic mid-drive system (upgradable motor, battery and drivetrain options). Nice accessories including USB charger, front and rear LED lights, mechanical disc brakes and a…...

2013 EVELO Aries Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Affordable full suspension electric bike with mid-grade Lithium polymer battery. Decent strength (36 Volts of power) and range (10 amp hour capacity)...

2013 EVELO Aurora Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Offers lots of features but isn't particularly strong or fast as an electric bike. Entry level components get the job done and keep the price lower, unique frame flexes...


Comments (17) YouTube Comments

Bike On
5 years ago

Is that update date correct, 7/21/13? I am surprised by the 3.5 rating. I have not ridden this bike, nor advocate for it. However, it is a low-powered mid drive and checks all the right boxes in my view:

– Good battery with optional upgrade
– Rockshock forks are better than many hub offering
– Nuvinci option is bold and novel
– 48V 500W option is a ++
– While hubs balance the bike with the center battery and get kudos, this bike is opposite, but the same effect: Center motor for rear battery.

This is a comfort, under 20 mph, long range, well equiped mid drive ebike that will outperform under 500W hubs on hills and range efficiency. Regarding the weight of 55 lbs.. if the Specialized Turbo had shock forks, it would be in the 50’s. Perception about weight has changed with good lithium packages. For me, under 65lb is required for all bike-like models. Under 55 is preferred and under 45 is exceptional. As always, trade offs between power, range, speed, type, and safety drive the differences.

  Reply
Liz Stuart
5 years ago

Ouch, you’ve pretty much trashed this bike with your 3.5 out of 5 rating. And, here I was ready to buy an Orion.

I must say that after reading the review, I was surprised that you disliked this bike so much. I will note that at $2,400 with the Nuvinci CVT, it’s still less expensive than every bike you list in your top 10, except for the e-Joe Epik. In fact, you could buy 2 or 3 of these for the price of many in your top 10.

If I take your rating seriously, at 3.5, no one with any sense would buy an Evelo. Is that really what you intended? To warn people off buying an Evelo? P. S. Perhaps, you could review an Evelo with the 500W motor and Nuvinci CVT. By my calculation, that combination would still be less than the price of half the bikes in your top 10.

  Reply
Court
5 years ago

Hi Liz! I appreciate your feedback and agree that the 3.5 rating stings a bit with this one. It might be worth a 4/5 given the solid customer support that EVELO offers. For me, the basic mid-drive system in use here just isn’t that satisfying and there are a lot of other bikes that perform better, offer improved balance weigh less. The Aurora is one of my favorites in the EVELO line because it’s simple, more rigid and light weight but for the money I’d prefer an e-Joe Anggun at $1,699, IZIP E3 Zuma at $2,199, Easy Motion Neo Street at $2,699 or if you really like the mid-drive system an IZIP Peak at $3,000. Keep in mind the 3.5 rating = 70% which is a C in the grading scale. That means average and to me this describes how the bike performs even with the neat accessories. In its most affordable form the Aurora suffers from gear mashing and a weak drive system and if you spend the extra money to upgrade it definitely improves but is suddenly in a price range where better designs are available. This is all just my opinion and again, I really like the EVELO team and believe their products can perform just fine but I’m offering a critical review here and have actually offered a better score on this bike vs. the near-identical iGo Urban which doesn’t have the same upgrade options (NuVinci, 500 watt motor, 48 volt battery) but is much more affordable. I hope this helps you understand my thinking a bit more and seems fair, feel free to share any other thoughts and don’t let my opinions hang you up if this is the bike for you :)

  Reply
Court
5 years ago

You make some excellent points Dan, there is a lot to appreciate with this bike but I feel it is very limited by the mid-drive motor they chose (even the 500 watt version) and am not a fan of the battery design. The bike definitely works and with the upgraded motor and NuVinci hub it works well… but the bike is still average in my mind. It’s heavy, not very satisfying to ride and fairly expensive given the availability of near-identical models from iGo for a lot less. I’m not trying to hate on mid-drive systems and have been fair from one brand to another (see the eProdigy Whistler review for 3.5 here). I gave the Optibike Pioneer Allroad a 4.5 which felt very generous but honored their legendary support, improved balance and power. These cheaper systems are just average in my opinion and that’s where the 70% score 3.5/5 star rating comes from. It’s not a bad bike and EVELO is a great company, It’s tough being critical but I’m trying to offer an honest view and I always appreciate your feedback :)

  Reply
Dan
5 years ago

Hi Court,

I do not doubt your attempt of fairness, so long as you can be objective with your sponsors. You have the blessing to ride all these bikes, and I do not . There is a certain feel and ride that stays with you and makes the mark I assume .

Here are a couple points that surprised me.

1. The 2014 Evelo improved in several categories and appeared to check off the boxes . Yet, its rating bumped from 3.0 to 3.5? I am trying to understand that. If the final rating is determined by ride experience , then that is it.

2. The haibike mid drives seem to command a 4-5 rating for all their bikes. Is this due to the refinement of the Bosch system and how the pas rides? Both the Evelo and Opti Pioneer have more power 500w vs 350. Is that real power detected or not really? More power should result in better acceleration and influence ratings, to a significant degree.

3. I personally think the mid dr motor on the Evelo is gimmick looking compared to Opti and Bosch mid drives. I can’t compare the output drive since I have not ridden all 3.

Again, all these ratings are a judgement and you certainly are in the best position to determine what is better. As an outside observer, I cannot differentiate between these reviews, except for the extreme examples of a Prodeco outlaw for example.

IMO, a new rating system is needed. Rate 0-10 for different categories: drive train performance, quality of components , integration of system, handling/ride, battery for quality and size ( needs it’s own), value (not cost), etc. then add them up.

Good job. Keep it going .
Dan

  Reply
Court
5 years ago

Hi Dan,

1.) The bike definitely improved but still suffers from weight, lack of stiffness and a price that approaches higher performance bikes from other companies when you pay for the upgrades.

2.) Great question about power vs. feel and performance. It seems like the Bosch and Panasonic systems spin at a higher rate and this feels more natural. It actually climbs better than the EVELO / iGo system despite having “less” power. Reminds me of the Specialized turbo which has a “250 watt” motor but is actually one of the strongest systems I’ve tried. And yeah, in that case I realize the rating may just be misleading. I like the Bosch system the best, Panasonic second, Optibike is maybe tied with IZIP for the E3 Peak and then the iGo EVELO stuff at the bottom along with the eProdigy stuff.

3.) Agree.

I agree that a more detailed and separated rating would help people. Unfortunately it would detract from the other time consuming things I do like share comments, interact in the forums, visit trade shows and corporate headquarters. I go with this more general sloppy review because it’s less specific and the actual content of the review is where the details are. Maybe in the future I’ll be able dig in more and I appreciate your support and questions.

  Reply
Boris Mordkovich
5 years ago

Dear Court and ElectricBikeReview Readers:

My name is Boris Mordkovich. I’m the co-founder and CEO of EVELO Electric Bicycle company. I really appreciate the comments brought up in this review and just wanted to let you know that if anyone has any further questions, concerns or other feedback, I’m available to address it personally – so please don’t hesitate to get in touch. To reach me directly, just call 877-991-7272 or email at boris@evelo.com.

I realize that some of the readers may be concerned about the rating in this review. To provide a bit more context, we just wanted to share some of the feedback that we’ve received from our customers over the years:

http://www.shopperapproved.com/reviews/evelo.com/
http://www.facebook.com/iloveevelo (see Reviews section)

More importantly, we encourage anyone considering an electric bike to connect with another EVELO owner through our Ambassador program: http://www.evelo.com/find-dealer/#ambassador – either in person or by phone. It’s a great way to hear more about different people’s experiences with their electric bikes.

If there are any questions or issues that I can address, please don’t hesitate to reach out. Our team and I are here to help! Look forward to hearing from you!

Best Regards,
Boris Mordkovich | CEO & Co-Founder
http://www.evelo.com

  Reply
Bill Hanlon
5 years ago

I took a chance and ordered the bike without ever seeing one. The best move I made. I’m 71 and had five heart attacks and I live at the base of a mountain where all roads are up and down, even the bike trails. When I received my Aurora I was instantly pleased. Now I do three to ten miles a day and the ups and downs ae just one level bike path for me. I walk taller, feel better and sleep well and yest, my heart doctor likes the improvement. The bike is only surpassed by the customer service! I have been made to feel like one of the EVELO family. I am Bill Hanlon of Rancho Cucamonga.

  Reply
Court
5 years ago

Great testimonial Bill! I’m so happy to hear the Evelo Aurora has been working well for you. I hope your heart stays healthy and you keep enjoying the beautiful terrain of Southern California :)

  Reply
Edward White
5 years ago

I also bought an Orion unseen with the NuVinci hub. I am eighty and live in NC mountains in the summer and Central Fla otherwise. The bike is perfect for mountains or flatland with wind. Yesterday I rode twenty miles into a pretty strong wind and kept the motor in “1” except for crossing on overpasses. The battery was barely depleted. I demo the ezip and thought I would like the mid drive and CVT gears better. So far so good. I do like the throttle overdrive for quick starts in traffic. A “C” seems a little unfair.

  Reply
Court
5 years ago

Hi Edward! Thanks for sharing your experience with this bike. It’s great to hear from someone who owns and rides an Evelo regularly and while it may seem like a low rating from me, the “C” is meant to designate average performance which is definitely how these ebikes perform in the marketplace. That’s the same for eZip electric bikes as well, the trade off is price and you do get excellent support for the money and as you’ve shared, the bikes can do a great job in many situations :)

  Reply
Jim Boutilier
4 years ago

ElectricBikeReview.com is a fantastic resource and I really appreciate your efforts! Having a combination of specifications/facts, written impressions, and a video review across such a large number of ebikes has been incredibly helpful to me in choosing ebikes.

My first ebike transformed me from an occasional, few times a season rider to an everyday rider over distances and terrain I wouldn’t have even attempted before. As I got in better shape and improved my confidence, ability, and experience, I outgrew my first ebike so I was looking for a replacement.

A handful of basic criteria like size, low or step through frame type, powerful/efficient center drive, endurance of 50 miles or more, a good warranty, and local service availability cut the hundreds of potential bikes down to little more than a handful. Even here in “green” Colorado there are surprisingly few ebikes locally in stock to touch and test drive. None that met my basic criteria were locally in stock, and that meant either a long wait, or an online purchase.

As it turned out, the Evelo Aurora had the most compelling combination of meeting all of my basic criteria, offering a lot of additional desirable features, and having enough information and great, responsive customer service available to give me the confidence to make such an expensive online purchase.

There are a number of differences/changes/updates in several areas regarding specs, sizes, pricing etc since your 2014 review, but it’s the same basic bike.

Pro’s:
– My basic criteria
– Standard and small frame sizes available with an attractive step though design and a number of adjustments that can fit a wide range of riders. I ordered the standard frame size that was on the edge for me, but after taking advantage of provided adjustment ranges and the replacement seat program, it’s a good fit. The smaller frame likely would have been more immediately gratifying for my 5’7” height / 29” inseam
– Optional 500 watt center drive motor that offers good power and speed, and extended range battery rated at 30-60 miles of distance
– Optional 2 year full warranty (standard 18 months) and features a simple modular design you can maintain yourself or get support through many local bike shops Evelo will work with. Spectacular customer service – both fast and knowledgable with a great “can do” attitude.
– Bonus features I liked:
– Optional NuVinci continuously variable transmission that (once broken in 50-200 miles) offers seamless full range shifting standing still or under load and with an “internal” hub design thats maintenance free and easy to keep clean.
– Both an independent throttle and several levels of peddle assist to satisfy a variety of users. The latest version offers full off (no throttle or peddle assist), throttle only and 4 levels of assist (aprox 25%, 50%, 75%, and 100%) with throttle available too
– Rockshock front shock with lockout and preload adjustments, help curbs and bumps a lot
– Great mechanical disk brakes with motor cutout feature on levers
– Front and rear lights wired to main battery and controllable from main control on left handlebar.
– Big, bright, tilt-able main display centered on the handlebars with USB charging port for a mobile device
– Handlebars/stem adjustable for height and reach
– Quick release seat
– Quick release front wheel (rear wheel too with standard cassette but not with NuVinci)
– Small rear rack on battery top – limited to 20 pounds but ok for small trunk bag. Has to be very small bag (10-12” long) if you are short like me and have seat most or all the way down.
– Peddle assist is very responsive for a cadence only system. Starts up within a half peddle and stops in about the time it would take to do a half peddle (instantly if you use the brakes). I mostly ride in assist level 1 but it can offer plenty more for those requiring less rider effort or on more extreme terrain.
Con’s:
Initial Issues
– Fit: A recent change to a thicker seat made the bike fit dimensions on the web site off by 1-2” and I had to take advantage of Evelo’s $40 seat replacement offer to get a thiner/shorter seat. Reach was much longer than anticipated but using the bikes adjustment and rotating the bars back and controls forward put it in a doable range with a fairly upright/slightly forward position.
– Versioning: I ended up with last years computer firmware that featured off an 5 levels of peddle assist with throttle, rather then off, throttle only, and 4 levels of peddle assist with throttle. They need to ship and I have to install or have installed the new computer once they are sure they’ve “run out” of last years firmware in a few months.
– Defect: The battery would not charge. Turned out to be a blown fuse in the battery. Was easy enough to fix and they walked me through the process. Its nice they are willing to walk you around inside thier products (10 minute fix) rather than just shipping you a new black box (several days)
– Break in: Evelo says the NuVinci requires 50 to 200 miles of break in before its adjustable full range when stationary or under load. Until then its much like a normal internal cassette that will only shift a limited amount while stationary or under load and requires movement or letting up on load to shift further. Mine is improving but not fully broken in yet so I’m hoping they are right.
– General
– With all the options this is a $3500+ bike – not a $2000+ bike. In my case it was still the best readily available solution for me for the money. But others may find other products in that price range more suitable to them.
– This bike is heavy – weighing in at 69 pounds with all the options. That may make it difficult for some to lift it to store or put on a rack or carry upstairs etc. Thats 5-10 pounds heavier than some more expensive but similarly equipped bikes. On the plus side, this bike is really smooth riding and I don’t notice the weight much even with no assistance.
– The frame shape may make it difficult to put on a bike rack (on a bus or whatever) and also may preclude using just a standard “U-lock” to secure it fully – you may need to supplement a U-Lock with a cable or chain or just use a heavy enough cable or chain.
– To me this really looks like an ebike. With the big honking battery on the back, the highly visable bolt-on motor off the crank, and the external parts of the wiring its obviously an ebike. If you want stealth this isn’t the bike for you.

Overall I’m pretty pleased and think I got the best available product for me for the price. My next best choices were more expensive, had long/uncertain lead times requiring pre-order, and were of a more complex design that meant using a stocking dealer in the manufactures network for service (none of which are conveniently close to me).

Thanks again for you great reviews!

  Reply
Court
4 years ago

Thanks for your feedback Jim! I’m glad you’re enjoying the bike and I’ll keep my eye out for the newer models so I can update the review!

  Reply
Ira Goldberk
4 years ago

I love my Evelo Aurora, It’s very well built and equally as comfortable to ride the Nuvinci N360 hub give me an endless number of gears and it make climbing hills a breeze. I’m 66 years young I usually ride 10 miles now that I have my Aurora I now ride 25- 30 miles

  Reply
Court
4 years ago

That’s awesome Ira! Thanks for sharing your experience with the Aurora electric bike, sounds like the NuVinci CVT is working great for you :D

  Reply
Cliff Harris
2 years ago

Sometimes the real value of any semi complex vehicle is best determined by the reliability of an older unit or the used market. My experience may be interesting to current or future Aurora owners (or their newer replacements). I am a 75 year old mountain biker that finds it increasingly difficult to keep up with my mid 60’s riding buddies.

I bought a used Evelo Aurora that the original owner couldn’t make work. It has the Nuvinci 360 CVT transmission; but, it does not have the 500 Watt motor or the 48 volt LI battery. Before I get too deeply invested, I am running it with two 36 volt 4.4 AH hover board batteries hooked in parallel – so 8.8 AH in application. I use it back and forth to the grocery store and on a mild to moderate trail in Phoenix called “Desert Classic”. While it is not a higher end product, it can do most of what I ask it to do. For range, I may add a third hover board battery in parallel to get to 13.2 AH. But following are my plans to modify it for easy to moderate trails.

I will be replacing the front chain ring with a 36 tooth but still expect it will be be a challenge to pull itself (60 pounds and me – 220 pounds in full riding gear) up the steep sides of the washes (gullies or ravines in other parts of the country) that we have in the Arizona mountains. My second change will be to install a conventional Shimano rear wheel with an 11 speed cassette (with 11 to 42 teeth), derailleur, and shifter. I do expect it to give me spoke trouble since I only have a 32 spoke shimano wheel laying around. If it works as I expect I will likely buy a new battery from Evelo and restring a 36 hole rim with trekking spokes. I know trading out the Nuvinci transmission is inconsistent with the tend, but, I am convinced I can shift it without slapping the 11 speed chain around and will have a reserve granny gear for steep climbs.

The defect that kept it from running was a broken wire and shorted out battery pack. With a multitester and 3 scooter sealed lead acid batteries, It was a pretty easy fix. I will be buying a new electric mountain bike after I experiment with this one. I am convinced that a 36 volt will be marginal for my use and will not consider anything less than a 48 volt system.

  Reply
Court
2 years ago

Thanks for your feedback Cliff! You sound like a handy person, it’s neat that you were able to recycle some old hoverboard batteries and extend the life of this EVELO. Ride safe out there :)

  Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.