Evelo Galaxy ST Review

Evelo Galaxy St Electric Bike Review
Evelo Galaxy St
Evelo Galaxy St Bafang 350 Watt Max Drive Gates Carbon Belt
Evelo Galaxy St Rear Rack 36 Volt Ebike Battery
Evelo Galaxy St King Meter Lcd Display Padded Grips Trigger Throttle
Evelo Galaxy St Plastic Fenders With Mud Flaps Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Evelo Galaxy St Rigid Alloy Fork Blizzard Blue Color
Evelo Galaxy St Step Thru Frame Bottle Cage Bosses Wellgo C235 Pedals
Evelo Galaxy St Nuvinci N380 Cvt Harmony Electronic Shifting
Evelo Galaxy St Selle Royale Ondina Sprung Faux Leather Saddle
Evelo Galaxy St Compact 2 Amp Electric Bike Charger
Evelo Galaxy St Electric Bike Review
Evelo Galaxy St
Evelo Galaxy St Bafang 350 Watt Max Drive Gates Carbon Belt
Evelo Galaxy St Rear Rack 36 Volt Ebike Battery
Evelo Galaxy St King Meter Lcd Display Padded Grips Trigger Throttle
Evelo Galaxy St Plastic Fenders With Mud Flaps Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Evelo Galaxy St Rigid Alloy Fork Blizzard Blue Color
Evelo Galaxy St Step Thru Frame Bottle Cage Bosses Wellgo C235 Pedals
Evelo Galaxy St Nuvinci N380 Cvt Harmony Electronic Shifting
Evelo Galaxy St Selle Royale Ondina Sprung Faux Leather Saddle
Evelo Galaxy St Compact 2 Amp Electric Bike Charger


  • A powerful cruiser style electric bike with smooth, responsive, multi-sensing pedal assist and trigger throttle operation, throttle only works above 6 mph and is limited by assist level
  • Optional hydraulic disc brakes and automatic electric shifting would be great for riders with limited hand strength or sensitive wrists, all brakes have motor inhibitors for safety
  • Available in two beautiful colors (kind of a his and hers setup), full length plastic fenders, independent lights for safety, and a clean, quiet belt drive system that won't fall off or mash
  • The bike is expensive and fairly heavy, the battery weight is positioned up high and towards the back which contributes to frame flex and speed wobble if you take your hands off the bar

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers





Galaxy ST


$3,499 ($3,899 Fully Loaded)

Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Year Comprehensive, 4 Year (20,000 mile) Frame, Battery, Motor, Controller


United States, Canada

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

57.9 lbs (26.26 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.4 lbs (3.35 kg) (Larger Pack 9 lbs)

Motor Weight:

7.5 lbs (3.4 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

18.5 in (46.99 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

19.5" Seat Tube, 23.5" Reach, 18" Stand Over Height, 27.25" Width, 73.5" Length

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Blizzard Blue, Toasted Almond

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Aluminum Alloy, 100 mm Hub, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

135 mm Hub, 10 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

1 Speed 1x∞ NuVinci N380 Mechanical Continuously Variable Transmission, Optional NuVinci N380 Harmony HI8 (Fully Automatic Electronic Shifting System), 22T Rear Sprocket

Shifter Details:

C8s or H8 Grip Twist on Right Bar (Optional NuVinci Grip Twist on Right Bar)


8Fun AC08-2 Alloy Crank Arms, 170 mm Length, 50T Chainring


Wellgo C235 Aluminum Alloy Platform with Rubber Tread


1-1/8" Threadless Internal Cups, One 10 mm Headset Spacer, One 5 mm Headset Spacer


Tonaro TDS-C215, Adjustable Angle, 90 mm Length, 15° Angle


Swept Back, Aluminum Alloy, 50 mm Rise, 35° Back Sweep, 680 mm Length

Brake Details:

Shimano BR-M375 Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitor, Optional Tektro Auriga E-Comp Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro 3-Finger Levers with Motor Inhibitors


Padded, Stitched, Faux Leather, Brown


Selle Royale Ondina, Sprung, Faux Leather, Brown (Optional Upgrade Program)

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm


Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, 36 Hole, Reinforcement Eyelets


Stainless Steel, 13 Gauge, Silver with Adjustable Brass Nipples

Tire Brand:

CST Caldera, 27.5" x 2.0"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

40 to 65 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Double Leg Kickstand, Aluminum Alloy Rear Rack with Spring (25 kg 55 lb Max Weight), Stand Alone Dosun SF300 USB-Rechargeable, Stand Alone Infini Back Light, Plastic Fenders with Mud Flaps, Optional Comfort Package (Ergon GP2-L Ergonomic Locking Grips, Suspension Seat Post, Extra Large Saddle for $200), Optional Safety Package (High Powered Lights, Bar-End Mirror, Bell, Reflective Light Band for Pants $99), Optional Commuter Package (Teflon Lubricant, Tire Levers, Patch Kit, Mini-Pump, Hex Key Wrench Set $99), Optional Security Package (Heavy Duty Chain Lock, Pinhead Security Hardware System $199)


Locking Removable Rear Rack Mounted Battery, 1.1 lb 2 Amp Battery Charger, 300 lb Max Weight Rating, Gates Carbon Belt Drive with CDX:EXP

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang Max Drive

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung (A, B Rated Cells) (Optional Panasonic)

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

468 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

6 hours (Up to 6 With Larger Pack)

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

55 miles (89 km)

Display Type:

Evelo Branded King Meter, Fixed, Monochrome, Backlit LCD


Battery Level (5 Bars), Odometer, Trip Meter, Speed, Average Speed, Max Speed, Mode (None, Eco, Standard, Power, Speed), Watt Output

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Left, Backlight (Hold Up Arrow), Walk Mode (Hold Down Arrow), Trip to Odometer (Press M Button), Speed to Avg Speed to Max Speed (Hold Up and M Button), Settings Menu (Hold Up and Down)

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (8 Pole Cadence Sensor, Torque Sensor)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Evelo Galaxy is a mixed bag because it delivers a unique belt drive and continuously variable transmission that works seamlessly with the quiet Bafang Max Drive motor… it gives you lights, fenders, a sturdy rear rack, and even comes in two colors for a his/hers setup. But, the lights are independent vs. wired in, the fenders rattle a bit despite having extra support struts, the step-thru frame flexes a bit (especially because the battery pack is mounted high up and in the rear vs. low and center), and it just costs a lot. The base model is $3,499 which gets you everything but hydraulic disc brakes and fancy electronic shifting. For people with wrist sensitivity or limited hand strength, the “Fully Loaded” upgrades are worth it. Stopping is easier, the brake levers are adjustable so you can bring them in a bit, and the grip shifter is sending electrical signals vs. pulling a wire. In addition to the Fully Loaded option, Evelo also sells a range of accessories like bags and locks. This is a company that really stands out for their customer support and post-purchase service, especially for an online-mostly business model. Yes, they do have a physical store in Seattle, Washington (which I visited for this review) but most of their sales happen online. You get a comprehensive two year warranty along with four years of extended coverage and a special battery replacement plan where you pay based on a sliding scale for how long you’ve had the bike vs. full MSRP. I was amazed to see some of the earliest Evelo electric bicycle models still being supported when I visited the shop, even being refurbished and sold at a discount. This behavior is inspiring, and full of effort at times I am sure, but they keep on going. The company has been around since what I would consider the early days in the US, around 2012.

Driving the Evelo Galaxy Step-Thru is a Bafang Max Drive, one of my favorite new motors to hit the ebike space… sort of. Just like the bike, this motor comes with a strong list of likes as well as a couple of missed opportunities. It’s powerful, putting out 350 to 750 watts, and it can definitely climb, with peak torque rated at 80 Newton meters. For those who are new to the space, that’s in the upper range, what you would normally see on electric mountain bikes. It’s also very compact, quiet, and responsive. I never felt like the motor was running longer than expected or delaying to start (which can cause muscle and knee pain if you’re sensitive like me). The motor is right there when you need it, measuring a combination of rear wheel speed and pedal torque. But stopping is important too, so it’s great that Evelo has opted for the fancier brake levers with integrated switches that cut power to the motor whenever they are pulled. This results in a bit of clutter near the front of the bike (brake lines, motor inhibitor lines, shifter lines, display lines, throttle lines) but almost immediately after, they are channeled through the frame and hidden from view. So what are the misses? The biggest one for me is actually how the throttle performs. Instead of being active all the time, you need to have the assist in levels 1-5 and the amount of power you have access to is related to which level you choose. This is frustrating considering that the throttle offers a variable signal output, like you push it further and get more power… just not all of the power you might without first arrowing up to the highest level of assist. And, once you do arrow up in assist, your pedaling experience is going to be a lot different. I frequently use the throttle system on other e-bikes to add power for hills, catch up to friends, or zip across a street… and then return to my lower assist level to save power or slow down to a more comfortable pace. This is still possible with the Evelo Galaxy, it just takes more clicks on the button pad. The other frustrating thing about the throttle is that it will not engage unless the bike is already going 6+ miles per hour. This means that there are times when riding in a low gear and climbing, that the bike just won’t go fast enough to use the throttle… and yet, if you shift to a higher gear, it could strain the motor. I wish the limit was more like 2 miles per hour vs. 6 mph as that is the setting on most other systems that opt for a speed limitation.

Powering the bike and backlight display panel, but not the lights, is a rack mounted Lithium-ion battery pack. It offers slightly higher than average capacity at 36 volts 13 amp hours, and can be charged on or off the bike with the basic 2 Amp charger. When you mount the battery to the rack, you have to use the key to lock it in place. I noticed that during some of my ride tests, on very bumpy streets, the battery and plastic fenders made some rattling noise. Not a whole lot, but more than some Aluminum fenders and mid-mounted or downtube-integrated battery packs I have seen on other products. The battery position is not ideal for handling, and I did notice some speed wobble when riding with no hands during part of the test. Speed wobble happens in some cases based on weight distribution, frame stiffness, and headtube angle. Basically, the front wheel can start to shake a bit from side to side and become unstable, but this doesn’t seem to be an issue at slower speeds and if you hold the handlebar like a responsible rider ;) The best part of the battery for me, is that it is covered by that great warranty and is positioned out of the way so mounting and standing over the frame is a cinch. This e-bike is very approachable, but it only comes in one frame size, so I guess the approachability is dependent on your body size. An adjustable-angle stem or even a shorter stem could make a big difference in fit and would be relatively affordable. The saddle height is very easy to adjust up and down, and I love the faux leather sprung saddle and padded grips.

Powering on and controlling the electric drive systems is pretty easy with this bike and the display is large and crisp. Once the battery pack is charged and mounted, simply press the M button at the base of the control pad and the LCD will blink to life, showing your current speed, assist level, odometer and other stats. The control ring also has an up and down arrow, which let you navigate from 0 to 5 for different levels of assist and throttle power. The throttle does not work at level zero, and as mentioned earlier, you need to be going at least six miles per hour for it to function at all in levels 1-5. A few quick tips for using this control system: hold up and M to switch from average speed to max speed readouts, hold up on its own to activate the display backlight, and hold the down arrow to initiate walk mode. This last one can be useful if the bike is loaded up with groceries or you’re in grass or a hill but preferring to walk vs. ride. Note that the display panel can be swiveled forward and back to reduce glare, but is not removable. So there could be some weather exposure and scratches from parking outside and at bike racks. Also note, the throttle and control ring are both mounted to the left part of the handle bar, and reaching the buttons requires that you reach over the throttle mount which can be a stretch for smaller hands. Some people prefer having the throttle on the right side, but that isn’t possible due to the grip shifter for the NuVinci N380. All in all, the cockpit works well enough and the swept-back handlebar is comfortable and relaxed.

Even though I’ve expressed some complaints here, the Evelo Galaxy ST is still one of the more approachable, powerful, and dynamic cruiser style electric bikes I have seen. The belt drive is clean, quiet, and more reliable than a chain. The continuously variable transmission is not as vulnerable to the forces of a mid-drive motor as an internally geared hub or traditional cassette+derailleur would be, especially because the Bafang Max Drive motor does not have shift detection. The addition of bottle cage bosses, a sturdy double-leg kickstand, thicker spokes and rims with eyelets, and a max weight rating of 300+ lbs makes this a great platform for many uses and types of people. And, because it comes in light blue or light brown, it can fit your personality better while enabling you to be comfortable. Big thanks to Evelo for partnering with me on this review and taking me to such a cool spot to film in Seattle! There were people swimming, the day was beautiful, and we really got to stress test the bikes on some steep hills. It was incredible just how strong the bikes were when climbing, and I was relatively comfortable on the sprung saddle despite there being no suspension fork or seat post suspension. The tires, swept back bar, padded grips, and saddle provide good enough comfort while keeping weight and flex down.


  • Evelo has been in business selling electric bikes in the United States longer than most of the other brands I have reviewed for, since 2012, they offer one of the best warranties and proactive customer service that I would rank close to the top
  • I really like the motor they chose for the Galaxy line of electric bikes, the Bafang Max Drive unit is powerful, efficient, and super quiet, if you opt for the belt drive and continuously variable transmission (shown in the images and video above) it performs near perfectly because you don’t have to worry about mashing gears or the chain falling off
  • The frame and wheelset on this bike felt very solid, considering it is built around a deep wave “step-thru” design, it’s rated to 300+ lbs, the benefit is that it’s approachable; easier to mount and stand over
  • The faux leather saddle and matching grips look nice but are also soft and comfortable, the swept back bar and spring design on the saddle offer just enough cushion to help smooth out vibration and bumps, note that this e-bike does not have a suspension fork… you could further smooth out the ride by swapping the rigid seat post with a 27.2 mm suspension post like this but keep in mind, it will raise the minimum saddle height by ~3 inches
  • Even though this electric bicycle only comes in one frame size for the step-thru setup, you can get a slightly larger high-step frame called the Galaxy TT, I like that at least you get two colors here which reflect a sort of his and hers setup (light blue or light brown)
  • It’s really expensive to develop a frame that can work with belt drives, so that’s a big deal and something that really sets the Evelo Galaxy models apart, they had to engineer a cutout on the rear right seat stay for the belt to go through since it cannot be unlinked like a chain
  • The motor is very capable, offering up to 80 Newton meters of peak torque, it should be able to climb anything as long as you shift down to a lower gear, I like that both brake levers have motor inhibitors that cut power instantly when pulled so you don’t feel overwhelmed by the power of the bike
  • Stable double-leg kickstand makes the bike easy to load up (like the rack at the rear) if you’re someone who commutes or would ride this to the store for groceries etc.
  • Minor pro, they bike has bottle cage bosses on the main tube! This could get in the way and possibly kicked because there is no tubing over them, but you could always use this for a folding lock or mini-pump which wouldn’t stick out as far
  • It’s cool that Evelo has some “guaranteed to fit” accessory options like the quicklock chain and the trunk bag with zip-out panniers, I like the bag a lot because it’s reflective and has some Evelo branding on it
  • I was told that Evelo uses A and B rated high-quality cells and I like that their battery pack can be charged on or off the bike because that means you can store it inside away from the cold or heat to help protect it and last longer
  • Very few electric bikes offer the Harmony electronic shifting and I noticed that the grip shifter was so easy to turn with this option, it didn’t require the same hand strength to use and that could be a big win for someone with sensitive wrists or strength limitations


  • The frame only comes in one size and the stem is a bit long and forward, I think this electric bike would be a good candidate for a quality adjustable angle stem (or you could just replace the stem with a shorter one if you’re a smaller person with shorter reach)
  • Priced at $3,899 for the “fully loaded” model, this is definitely one of the more expensive electric bikes that isn’t from one of the big brands like Trek or Specialized, but it does really pack in the features (electronic shifting, belt drive, continuously variable transmission) so I think it’s actually worth it
  • Evelo has done the right thing by adding motor inhibitors on both brake levers, but the extra wires up front can get a bit cluttered and messy looking, thankfully, once they curve back towards the frame they are mostly internally routed
  • I wish the throttle would activate at 2 mph instead of 6 mph because in the lower gears for climbing, the bike just isn’t going to go as fast and the throttle might not work… so you’ll have to pedal
  • The Galaxy models are definitely on the heavy side, this one weighing in at about 58 pounds, and some of that is due to the reinforced frame, fenders, and rack, as well as the continuously variable transmission hub, note also that some of the weight is high up and towards the back (in that battery pack) which is not ideal for handling and stability, I did experience some speed wobble when riding with no hands because of the weight distribution, but at least it opens up the main section of frame for easier mounting
  • I like that the bike has LED lights, but I wish they were running off of the main rechargeable battery vs. being independent battery powered because this requires more time to turn on/off and disposable cells
  • The kickstand hangs down a bit low, I didn’t have and issue with it dragging at all when I turned sharp, it just made me wonder if there would be times when it bangs on curbs or other obstacles
  • I don’t know a lot about the tires on this bike but it appears they do not have puncture protection lining or reflective sidewall stripes, considering how expensive this electric bike is, that sort of bums me out… fixing a flat tire on an electric bike is no fun, especially with the fancy NuVinci CVT and belt drive, consider upgrading to something like this from Schwalbe
  • The throttle power is limited by whatever pedal assist level you choose, in some ways, this bothers me because I often use the throttle to get extra help up a hill or pass a slow rider… but this system would require me to arrow up to a higher level and then use the throttle even though the throttle has a full range of motion built in, I wish I could just push further for more power


More EVELO Reviews

Evelo Quest Max Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

A feature rich, powerful, folding electric bike with extendable stem and long seat post option for taller riders, it's easy to mount and handle, weight is positioned low and center. The Bafang Max mid-motor is powerful but efficient, you can adjust pedal speed gearing at…...

Evelo Quest One Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A folding electric bike that's fairly lightweight at ~41 lbs, clean and simple thanks to a Gates Carbon belt drive, and still feature rich with fenders and integrated lights. Available in two color choices, offers pedal assist and throttle on demand, highly adjustable extra-long…...

Evelo Delta Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the more powerful purpose-built electric mountain bikes I have tested to date, possibly the only setup like this with a trigger throttle that overrides assist 1-5, unlockable higher speeds. Unique combination of trail capable and urban oriented features such as rear rack bosses and…...

Evelo Galaxy TT Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A comfortable but sturdy cruiser style electric bike with premium aesthetic, the mid-drive motor is powerful but quiet and offers responsive pedal assist plus throttle. EVELO has always offered great customer service and even has a trade-in program, the Galaxy…...

Evelo Aries Review

  • MSRP: $2,079
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Full suspension city bike with basic mid-drive system (upgradable motor, battery and drivetrain options). Nice accessories including USB charger, front and rear LED lights, mechanical disc brakes and a…...

Evelo Aurora Review

  • MSRP: $2,079
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Value driven but well rounded mid-drive ebike with upgradable motor, battery and drivetrain options. Great features include backlit LCD display with built in USB charger, front and rear LED…...

2013 Evelo Aries Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Affordable full suspension electric bike with mid-grade Lithium polymer battery. Decent strength (36 Volts of power) and range (10 amp hour capacity)...

2013 Evelo Aurora Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Offers lots of features but isn't particularly strong or fast as an electric bike. Entry level components get the job done and keep the price lower, unique frame flexes...

Mike H
5 months ago

Why is the battery so high? Why is there so much space betweeen the fenders and battery/rack? I thought a lower center of gravity would be desirable. I understand the explanation why it is above the rear wheel but it appears that the battery is higher than it needs to be. Was the rack/battery holder chosen before the wheel size?

5 months ago

Those are all good observations Mike, perhaps the rack could be optimized a bit more than what was shown in these photos and video… do you see the two holes on the lower support arm for the rack, near the rear wheel mount? It seems like the rack could slide down and use one of those two lower holes to bring weight down. I’m assuming they would have done this already if not for some other reason? And my guess is that yeah, they are just using an aftermarket rack (a decent one with nice pannier blockers and bungee attachment with battery bay) but still a generic part. Other reasons for this rack might be that it works with that rear light or maybe they had to raise the rack to fit the light there? Optimally, the battery bay would connect directly to the fender for extra support and reduced noise, and the light would be built into the back of the battery pack. This e-bike from Gazelle does a better job with the rear rack design in my opinion, incorporating the frame tubing for extra strength and using a light that can still fit above the fender and make room for the pack to slide out.


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Nova Haibike
13 hours ago

No, because bicycles are not considered (motor) vehicles.

Yeah, without documentation it's just a tall tale. Maybe if you get it you can take it onto Antiques Roadshow and let them tell you about it? :p

14 hours ago

Yes....the VIN# i found interesting....do ebikes normally have vins.....i was told that the bike may have been in development with input from US Army but did not put much into that.....i temped power into controller(12v) and dashboard came alive...lights and accessories worked....odometer showed 300miles

23 hours ago

"...still some models"
XM700 is listed on Trek website as 2018 ; has it been discontinued ?
I think new model line up is announced late summer ?
I'd like to see the XM700 develop into something similar to the Bulls Urban EVO ; 500 Wh battery , 700c x50 tires , Suntour fork .

Tora Harris
2 days ago

Here is what I wrote over on the youtube comments:

From the video, this particular demo bike does not appear to be running quite correctly. I did notice the cables are twisted in the images and I would check the barrel connectors on the throttle side. These things are transported around rather roughly and may have some damage from getting bumped around, hard to tell. We have been testing it for several months now with 48V and 52V with GPS and its an absolute rocket.

It is running the exact same assist algorithms and torque and cadence sensors as the CrossCurrent S so we are confident in the product. On the road it matches the performance of the CCS at 48V. With the 52V pack the RCS runs away from the CCS. Sometimes when new things are getting demoed they might not work optimally. On top of this we are working on a extremely limited time schedule with lots of orders to get out and production to ramp up here in China.

I think Court is very fair and we have to do a better job on the time schedule and not rush things out. But to be honest, we are working flat-out and this is a extremely aggressive product in terms of development done on it.

It is the only class 3 geared hub fat bike available on the market, one of the few torque sensing pedal assist in this category, the only bike to properly leap to the 52V platform, the fastest recharging battery, while simultaneously having the capability to carry the most battery range of just about any e-bike available. This is capped off by being totally redesigned to be very serviceable and very affordable. It’s a lot to process and there are loads of similar looking products out on the market. It will take a little bit of time before it becomes clear what we have achieved with the RCS.

2 days ago

My V2 bike has a hub motor that is thru axle compatible and developed by Grin @ ebikes.ca so no fork swapping necessary. Although I haven't gotten a fork yet to take advantage of this feature the integral torque arm of the AnyAxle motor works really well and there has been no movement in the dropouts at all which can happen without a proper torque arm system. The thru axle feature pretty much negates that happening however.

It really depends on how much you want to be involved in the spec of your bike. There are plenty of off the shelf models out that will service the needs of most but as always in the bike world if you want custom, custom it is. Doesn't have to be any more expensive and is a great way to learn about the actual nuts and volts of e bike systems.

Here is a pic of my V2 bike.

Schlumpf High Speed drive provides a 150" plus gear thru an Alfine Di2 11spd IGH, you spend a good amount of time in the higher ratios so it is important to have them aboard. It is not that important to me to have an integrated and stealthy looking bike obviously because I don't really care if someone notices I'm riding an e bike.

3 days ago

The most important aspect to me as a a long time cyclist is to replicate my relationship to the bikes drivetrain as much as possible under e assist. To me this precludes any type of PAS because at the higher cadence I use on the road and wanting to vary it some without gaining or losing speed necessarily is not possible with even the most sensitive Torque Assist System. You apply more pressure and you go faster and vice versa unless you are constantly adjusting the ratio via a controller of course. The whole "magic legs" thing is lost on me I guess and I like to feel the road via the drivetrain in other words which also transfers well when I ride an analog bike again. It is important to have the gearing necessary to be able to pedal effectively at your projected average speed and more for dh thrills too if possible.

In order to make this happen I use a front hub motor with a throttle and Cycle Analyst III that I can set so that when I reach my desired speed I can let go of the throttle and pedal away in whatever gear/cadence I desire and the assist function fluctuates accordingly but not my speed. I also use the regen function generously as it helps to get the slowing down thing going and most times is all I need. Doesn't add much to the charge but sure saves on brake pads.

My mileage with a 52v/10.5ah/25A controller varies according to all the factors mentioned but as a general rule of thumb I find that my average speed and wh/mi are usually pretty much the same in varied terrain/speeds due to stops starts etc.. Although it is easier to average in the low 20's at a lower wh/mi rate than above that speed due to as mentioned factors above. While my current battery has never made 50 miles it has done 45 and my plan for my next battery is to go up another 1/3 in Ah so that I can do 50 easily.

Where I live I would wager that over 95% of the road/commuter biking communities use a drop bar bike of some sort. I have also found that a drop bar bike works well with assist although it is not as popular as those that use riser bars, big saddles and suspension bits in the e market place. I get plenty of comfort from using 40c tires on >i25 rims set up tubeless at 35psi btw. This also allows me to do gravé as well and even mild trail riding. Just now there are some drop bar models becoming available but are unfortunately not going to work for me as they are mainly EU spec PAS mid drives.

As you say the market is evolving rapidly and that is due to the advancements in technology, but to me the most significant advancement that applies to me is the battery chemistry itself and luckily there is a lot of effort being made towards that end. As the battery is arguably the most expensive and important element of an e bike I have chosen to stay with an open source modular system that is unencumbered by proprietary components so that as new developments happen I can easily adopt them.

In conclusion what works for me on the road is less than popular here as most will say that front hub motors and throttles won't work and that you need PAS and a mid drive. So to that end that is how my mtb is setup and that is another story.

bob armani
3 days ago

Zoli-So in your opinion, if you do not have the latest and greatest version of Bluetooth on your smartphone, you will not get the best performance from COBI?
My question: If you do not have a newer smartphone, can you just simply download the latest Bluetooth version on an older smartphone. (ie: I have a Motorola Moto E.) So in theory, this may very well explain why some owners of the Urban have connectivity issues and others do not??

rich c
3 days ago

I don't smoke, I don't need a lighter on my bike.

3 days ago

I am developing a new bike light (800 Lumens) which you can use for more than 150 minutes.

Now I am working on the design part, could you help me to choose which design is better: https://goo.gl/forms/ejYDdSA2IYt9ZOwZ2

I will appreciate your input :)

4 days ago

Hello Banzai,

Thanks for the helpful review of the RPB Stepthru. I also come from a motorcycling background, but haven't ridden for several years. I'm 68 years old, over weight and out of shape at 265 pounds. I have a Voltbike Yukon 750 Limited with a 500 watt geared hub motor and it is great at hill climbing, but I need a bike that I can fit into my 2016 Hyundai Tucson. I think that Radcity or a Radcity Stepthru with the front wheel removed should fit. Now, I like the looks of both bikes, but I would prefer to get the high step, because I think that there would be less frame flexing; however, I just wonder how accurate the stand over height of the high step frame is on the Radcity website. My inseam is 29 inches and I wonder if I would be able to stand over the frame without touching it. With my Yukon, the top tube is right in my crotch and I shudder to think what would happen if I had to stop hard and come off the seat onto the top tube (OUCH!!!) I like the idea of a stepthru because of what I just mentioned, but worry about it flexing under hard pedaling because of my weight. Also, I wonder if the motor on either version of the bike with the gearless direct drive motor would have enough power to carry me (while pedaling) up hills (on road).

The temperature up here in Port Perry, Ontario (NE of Toronto) is still a bit too cold for riding, but hopefully, I will be able to get out on the Yukon in another week or so.

So, if anyone who has the direct drive motor on their bike could comment, I would appreciate it.


4 days ago

SoCal has some excellent trails to ride on the sands of the Mojave Desert. Fortunately a lot of it is hard packed but there are soft spots the equivalent of soft beach sand. The typical trail ride here will have you running thru portions of each, but it is not impossible for any bike to traverse as shown by the road bikes and their narrow tires that travel on some of them. The two RAD Power Bikes I have do exceptionally well, each performing a little differently, but certainly able to tackle any terrain the desert has to offer. I rode thru the desert for years on motorcycles tricked out for desert racing. Can't do that anymore because the desert has been closed off to offroading except for designated areas and occasional sanctioned events. But I can still have fun riding on secluded back roads and trails on a 2017 RAD Rover and my new 2018 Rad City Step Thru. That's fine because the potential to bonzai down these trails needs to be reined in somewhat because afterall, they are not mountain bikes and won't hold up to the harsh treatment those bikes normally get. The two bikes that are quite different structurally, but since the Step Thru is new I'll be talking about it most and will mention first that there is no need to be timid about riding trails just because your new Step Thru is a city commuter bike, it is also equipped for trail rides and holds its own with its power and its 26'x2.3" dual purpose tires.

The RAD City Step Thru is powered by a Shengyi rear hub motor and although not having the low end thrust of the Rover, when in throttle mode it gradually gains power as speed increases, but gains full power quickly when pedaling in power assist mode. The rider never has to be concerned about a sudden thrust forward on the Step Thru. It behaves very well and can still be ridden everywhere the Rover can travel, and while getting accustomed to riding it, ran it thru different areas of difficulty just to see how well it performs. It blasts thru patches of soft sand that would stop a road bike in it's tracks. This is because the tires are the same tread and width found on many mountain bikes, and they are built for traction on all sorts of surfaces. They are not intended for all-day riding in soft sand, but regardless the Step Thru will still develop power quickly from a dead stop in first gear in power assist mode. Getting started in soft sand just using the throttle takes a little coaxing for it to finally develop sufficient power. This is when shifting down before needing the low end boost helps to keep from getting bogged down unnecessarily in a difficult situation. Each push of the gear shift button raises the gear to the next higher gear, and pushing the lever switches gears down to the next lower gear. Button Up, Lever Down.

Riding offroad in pedal only mode with no help from the motor entirely blew away my original thinking. It is quite easy, and it's nice knowing that if somehow all the power gets used up, the bike can still be pedaled just like a real bicycle. 90% of the trails I ride can be ridden easily and without any real effort using pedal power only. That is unless it is pushing against the wind, in which case when climbing steep sandy hills its best to be in at least step 3 of power assisted mode or risk stalling out halfway up the hill. Afterall, that is why we buy e-bikes - for the POWER! Otherwise on an excellent day for riding with no wind, I can take either bike and never use any power at all to ride the 15 miles into town on a trail that runs up and down hills and through washouts. The ride back is even easier with some fast downhills.

In addition to the introduction of a new style of city bike, 2018 at RPB also saw some changes in bike design and new power components. The 5 power assist modes on the new City limit the bike's speed while pedaling so I always put it on step 5 as I start up the hill to my residence. I would guess the mile long hill to be about a 10% grade, and I have no problem topping it in 7th gear and PAS 5 at 20 MPH. Topping the hill just using the throttle is slower, but the bike wants to FLY UP THAT HILL when pedaling using power assist! The watts indicator shows about 550 watts whereas powering the bike without pedaling jumps immediately up to 750 watts while sadly bogged down at around 15 MPH.

The new City bike requires keeping the key close by and must be used to allow it to power up. To turn the battery power off now also requires using the key. That's probably a new safety feature that works for many riders, but I prefer the older push button on/off instead. Ah well, such is progress.

Overall I am really impressed with the design and performance of the new RAD City Step Thru and that it is even suitable for some youngsters to ride. It's an excellent bike for running errands, and for even taking a trip out on a secluded trail to get away from the noisy city and its traffic.

4 days ago

I'm a bike enthusiast and also a software developer so for me COBI's opensource API is a great test-ground for ideas. In deed I'm currently making a couple of customized 'Modules' for my rides via COBI API.

I think the issues that were experienced early 2016/17 was regarding Bluetooth connectivity dropouts. I have the a latest Android phone with Bluetooth version 4.2 and its is very fast without lagtime. So yes u will need latest iPhone or Android to be sure u don't experience lagtime etc.

As a footnote even without carrying your smartphone, your COBI.bike can still function as a front and rear light and you can still switch through the different modes of the AmbiSense Light System. Also, the electronic bell is still functioning. If you own an eBike you can choose the motor support levels using the thumb controller.
Looking at COBI development.docs the system is made to fall back to no GPS signals etc. So the bike should not come to a grinding halt if GPS etc. is not avail.

Why would Haibike risk destroying their reputation selling off a bunch of troublesome bikes to make a few bucks?! not...and the dealers hate low margin SALE bikes so they will always try to up-sell to their highest margin sales, just to keep in mind.

Just my 2cents..

Mark Peralta
3 months ago

I think the easiest way (most user friendly) to use a mid drive is to pair it with automatic transmission like the nuvinci harmony (or H/SYNC in the Bosch). It is also the most efficient since it will always keep your cadence at the optimum window, thus extending your battery range. Another advantage is it automatically shifts down to the lowest gear (first gear equivalent) when stopping and then upshifts by itself when you regained speed (just like your typical car with automatic transmission).

The system is so easy to operate. you just set it and forget it. Even a novice can fully appreciate the joy of riding a bicycle.

However, the cost is prohibitive as an aftermarket product (in fact it's not even openly offered as an aftermarket, only the manual version is available in the stores). I inquired FLX if they can offer Nuvinci Harmony and they said it's too pricey and a little heavier compared to the traditional gear cluster.


These are the ebikes that I'm aware of in the US to offer the OEM nuvinci automatic transmission.

1. Corratec Lifebike (H/SYNC). This ebike is originally designed in partnership with "Dr. Ludwig V. Geiger who developed the LIFE concept, aimed at encouraging people who would not normally ride to improve their life style with exercise." The frame is designed to handle heavy riders to almost 350 pounds. (You can use german to english google translator.)
You can change the setting on the youtube below for english caption.


2. CUBE SUV Hybrid SL 27.5 (H/SYNC)


3. Piaggio Wi bike active plus (H/SYNC, 28 mph top speed).

It can also be applied as a fitness trainer using a smartphone app.

4. Evelo Galaxy ST & TT (programamble top speed, I think), it uses the H8 controller.


5. Tempo electric bikes, a company supposedly catered for the ladies, short people (lower seat tube), for seniors with limited flexibility, and also for the novice and the non-mechanically inclined riders. However, you'll be surprised to find premium quality parts in these ebikes. It uses the more simple H3 controller with 3 predetermined cadence settings (low, medium, & high).


There may be other models that I am not aware of.




7. eProdigy Logan (H8 controller)


Mark Peralta
3 months ago

1. Looking further at the hub drive efficiency
2. Exploring for more ways to increase the motor efficiency
3.The pros and cons of positioning the motor at the crank.

A hub motor's efficiency loss at lower speed can be minimized by reducing the limit current from 50A to 30A. The start up torque and and power at low speed is slightly decreased but the peak power is still retained and most especially, the efficiency at lower speed is slightly increased (yellow green curve).

However, if the limit current is further decreased (for the sake of more efficiency), there won't be enough torque that is needed for the motor to start from a dead stop, or to climb hills.

If we really want to prioritize efficiency even if it means sacrificing torque and power output, then it won't be appropriate anymore as the original hub drive. However, it can still work in 2 ways. First is by the use geared hub and increase the gear ratio high enough for adequate start up torque and torque for the hills while sacrificing top speed. The second method is by relocation of the motor to the crank and then take full advantage of the multiple gear ratios from the drive train. We will continue by exploring the second method, which is the mid drive. But first, we will further expand the efficiency of the motor at the expense of decrease in power.

A huge reduction of the limit current from 50A all the way to 12A further broadens the efficiency band of the motor (peak power goes down from 750W down to 450W). On this new power curve (light blue curve) The peak motor power coincides with the peak efficiency of the motor (in contrast to the 50A and 30A, where the peak motor power and peak efficiency are at different motor speeds). The start up torque and torque at low speed is not that important anymore since it is channeled through the drive train. However, this is in exchange for mandatory downshifts at the stops and hills. All in the attempt to increase efficiency.

In this example, the same hub motor is used and applied as a mid drive. The gear reduction at the crank is strategically chosen so that it will coincide with the cyclist's normal cadence range (~ 70-90PRM) . As long as the rider pedals within the normal cadence range (yellow window), the motor will operate at peak efficiency all the time, conserving energy and increasing the range of the battery. Notice the new power curve at 12A (light blue curve at the chart above) is similar to the Bosch and Shimano power curve on the chart below.

A similar simulation is found here with the hub drive with standard controller

And then the limit current is reduced to 12A and comaparing between the two.

With the new power curve at 12A, the speed is changed to cadence (kph x 2) for mid drive application. (You can play around with the throttle to simulate percentage level of pedal assist)

Using a mid drive to gain efficiency is easier said than done, since in actual application, the most troublesome part of the ride is the mashing of the drive train when changing gears, and the associated loss of momentum and loss of speed in the process. Sometimes, the efficiency gain is lost in actual translation when going uphill and then missed to shift in the right gear and then you slowed down or even come to a full stop. Whatever efficiency gain you had are now all gone.

Cutting the power to gain efficiency results to performance handicap to the mid drives (slow acceleration) when compared to hub drives, most especially noticed in stop and go situations. Just imagine having to downshift especially if the stops are very near apart and very frequent. That would be an unpleasant riding experience with a sore shifting thumb, from a supposedly efficient ebike.

However, the big players are working hard to fine tune their mid drives to make it as user friendly as hub drives. And I think there will be more sophisticated controllers in the future with a "city mode" button or push button dedicated to provide enough start up torque without having to downshift.

Or you can just pair it to a continuously variable transmission (CVT) like the Nuvinci Harmony where it will keep your cadence in the efficient zone automatically and also shifts down to the lowest gear (first gear equivalent) at every stop. However, the price of this Nuvinci Harmony is still prohibitive to most riders, for now.


In the US, the ebikes (that I'm aware of) that offer OEM nuvinci automatic transmission are the following:

1. Corratec Lifebike
2. CUBE SUV Hybrid SL 27.5
3. Piaggio Wi bike active plus (28 mph top speed)
4. Evelo Galaxy ST (programamble top speed, I think)
5. Tempo electric bikes

3 months ago

Corratec Lifebike

Blix Komfort Prima

Evelo Galaxy ST

Gazelle Arroyo C8 (personal favorite)

Kalkhoff Agattu

EasyMotion Evo City Wave Pro

Riese & Muller Homage Nuvinci HS (the only full suspension step through ebike)

Mark Peralta
5 months ago

While you are waiting for your next ebike, you might as well try this mounting method on the youtube which is the second (2nd) one, the under-and-up method.

If you have a rear rack, you might also want to remove it for better clearance in case you want to swing your leg backward again.

5 months ago

I have a Eflow E3 Nitro which I love it has regen braking, throttle, torque sensor .
Unfortunately I developed arthritis in my hip and I can no longer swing my leg over the bike so I am selling it with only ~900 miles on it.

So I am looking at an a stepthru .

My possible's that I have narrowed down to are the Evelo Galaxy ST(has a throttle and torque sensor. Disadvantage rear battery , speed wobble., has Nuvinci and Belt drive.
Reise and Muller also has Nuvinvi and Belt drive and Kalkhoff again belt drive and internally geared .

I am also considering the old St1 Platinum step thru as I really like the ride on those but they have the older chain drives.

Non but the Evelo have a throttle which admittedly I use very infrequently.

Any advice would be appreciated

5 months ago
5 months ago

I have a Eflow E3 Nitro which I love it has regen braking, throttle, torque sensor .
Unfortunately I developed arthritis in my hip and I can no longer swing my leg over the bike so I am selling it with only ~900 miles on it.

So I am looking at an a stepthru .

My possible's that I have narrowed down to are the Evelo Galaxy ST(has a throttle and torque sensor. Disadvantage rear battery , speed wobble., has Nuvinci and Belt drive.
Reise and Muller also has Nuvinvi and Belt drive and Kalkhoff again belt drive and internally geared .

I am also considering the old St1 Platinum step thru as I really like the ride on those but they have the older chain drives.

Non but the Evelo have a throttle which admittedly I use very infrequently.

Any advice would be appreciated

7 months ago

If she wants and internal gear hub with electronic shifting, you may also want to test / consider one with the NuVinci N380 + Harmony system. It is a continuously variable transmission ( no actual gears), and automatic shifting of the gear ratio.
There are a few bikes with that configuration available like:
FELT Verza E 10

3 days ago

Thanks for the amazing review Court, you are not only very competent but such a nice person.
Noticed your "bless you" at minute 18:36

Very honest review.
The Speed Wobble are terrible with this bike.

Gregory Wallace
3 weeks ago

I can’t wait to get mine on Tuesday!

Mr. Officer
5 months ago

I would never ask a fat guy,  how much he weighed.

Matt Capizzi
5 months ago

Hey Cort! Why did you use air quotes around the 300 lb weight limit? I'm a bigger guy (6'1" 350 lbs) and I want a nice bike to commute around the city. And since I've been buying cheap mountain bikes and destroying them, I want one that without maintenance will last for a nice long time.

Blue Monkey Bicycles
5 months ago

Lot of cool components put together. Its got it all!

5 months ago

Yeah, it's a huge improvement over some of the early EVELO models in my opinion, still some minor areas for improvement but good overall :)

minnie saab
5 months ago


5 months ago

This is a beautiful one yeah?

Christopher George
5 months ago

Anyone notice the screaming kid in the background

5 months ago

Yeah... like when I was editing the video, kept wondering if the kid was alright but I think they were just having fun :P

Darr Whyask
5 months ago

Classy AF to tell us when the test starts - every channel should be so subscriber focused. Nice job!

5 months ago

Thanks Darr, I just don't want to waste anyone's time, this is why I also only run one opening ad vs. several. Thankfully, I am able to make a living at this without having to worry too much about things that might be annoying to people. Your words and feedback mean a lot to me, thanks

roko 2147
5 months ago

Could you please review Rainbow's Rusty fold-able bikes? I'm considering buying them...

5 months ago

I'll keep an eye out for them, thanks Roko!

Dreamer 111
5 months ago

Totally unrelated... but I have that same Burton backpack as Alex. You can lift it by the zippers even if completely packed. I used and abused it but it is still in perfect condition after 20!!! years.

Regarding these bikes... except the battery placement, they are a dream setup.
They may cost more than others, but if you buy quality, you will be happy a LONG time. Totally worth it.

5 months ago

Great feedback, thanks for sharing Dreamer! Sounds like you might be a happy owner? And yeah, the backpack testimonial is welcome too, lol :P

Steve Donovan
5 months ago

I appreciate that common more minor points of critique appear with less emphasis and more balance to practical usage. That's all ;)

Constance Lovejoy
5 months ago

Are there any self-diving ebikes? Would like to see ebike manufacturers go autonomous 😊

5 months ago

Sweet! Maybe a self driving car with a VR bicycle game inside that maps your ride to the real world turns and performance of the physics in the car?!

5 months ago

Nice to see companies using the Bafang Max drive. these are easily modifiable compaired to the other motor builders.

5 months ago

I really like the Bafang Max Drive, it's quiet, powerful, and fairly compact

Matt Walls
5 months ago

Too expensive for a bike, electric bikes should not exceed 2K. how do you justify the value... you could by a decent used car for 3.5K, the intent should be to manufacture affordable alternatives to cars. Not to mention bikes are much more likely to be stolen than cars, so why the hell would I buy an ebike for the same damn price as a used car?

Mike B
5 months ago

RIGHT, it'd be like people paying more than 25k for a new car. Who would want to pay more for quality or features??

5 months ago

Yeah, those are fair perspectives but there are lots of other electric bikes that cost less... so I'm not sure what the point is? For those who want a belt drive, a custom frame, a specific color or brand etc. the higher price is justifiable. Ebikes let you ride away from cars but make it to work without being sweaty, they don't require licensing or insurance, they are less expensive to repair on average, and they improve fitness and general well being. It's just different than a car, but here's a similarly designed affordable model for those who are more price sensitive https://electricbikereview.com/voltbike/elegant/

5 months ago

Matt Walls it seems to me you are getting more for your dollar with this bike than a comparable 2k bike , belt drive , cvt gears , 300 lb rated frame , pack rack , inbuilt lights , and an inbuilt into the frame motor instead of having one just bolted on to frame like a back yarders kit job .
As for a 3.5k second hand car you mentioned , generally you get what you pay for mate .
Have a nice day .

Reid Welch
5 months ago

Hi Matt, It's a diverse market and some can afford the best, and others like us want the best price point value. It's all good. Were I wealthy I'd buy the costly stuff. It's generally worth it if you can afford it. Money does not cost much if you are rich ; )

5 months ago

Matt Walls it's actually a pretty fair price considering the belt drive, igh, cvt components. Regular bikes with these are generally around $1.5-$2k. Unfortunately Gates belts have a bit of a monopoly in this segment so they can charge a premium for now. eBike prices should also come down as battery cell tech improves. eBikes are safer, more efficient, and more reliable than cheap beater used cars. Most people would avoid buying a used car under $5k unless they enjoy maintaining it themselves.

5 months ago

Love the belt drive, can't wait to try Nuvinci h sync. How's the cadence/gearing feel at max PAS in top gear, any ghost pedaling at max speed? What did you think about the handlebar control buttons? ...I have the same button control on my bafang commuter and feel like it doesn't give good feedback and tends to skip through PAS levels too quickly. It would be great if Evelo could add display/button accessory options. Also I really like their Galaxy TT model, hopefully they'll consider relocating the battery pack to the downtube next year.

Honky Tonk
5 months ago

it just makes logical sense that belt drive has more drag and resistance than chain drive. i'll never get a belt drive system.

5 months ago

I work on hundreds of bikes a year. A 10K belt is not a disadvantage, especially when many people can't get 2K out of a regular chain because of improper lubrication and/or maintenance.

Honky Tonk
5 months ago

Reid Welch . the rep in the video said the belt is rated to last at least 10,000 miles. in another of Court's video, a german guy rides his chain drive tour bike 1,000 miles a month. If the german guy ride this belt drive bike, the bike would only last for 10 months before the belt fails.

Reid Welch
5 months ago

Belts for power transmission are a 200 year old technology still more widely used in the sum total of various machines than are chain drives. Belts are long lasting, cleanly and silent and maintenance free.

Honky Tonk
5 months ago

eBikeaholic . theres a reason ball bearings are made of metal and not rubber.

5 months ago

Honky Tonk I've been running a belt drive on my latest build for about 6 months. Empirically I can't feel any drag difference from my chain drive bbshd build and they get similar max/avg speeds. They both have friction but if anything the belt just feels smoother. Eventually I'll try to do a study comparing the two drives on the same bike/motor setup.

Jon R.
5 months ago

Bellingham? Or did you mean to say Bellevue? Looks like the video starts out behind the Spectrum Dance Theater at Madrona Beach on Lake Washington.

5 months ago

Yeah, I think you're correct and I just had no idea what I was talking about or misunderstood when asking where we were before the filming started :P

Reid Welch
5 months ago

That said, it is so good to see an ebike with Nuvinci transmission and Gates drive! What a classy, ideal ebike combination! Kudos.

5 months ago

Yeah, it's a sweet combination for sure :D