Evelo Galaxy TT Review

Evelo Galaxy Tt Electric Bike Review
Evelo Galaxy Tt
Evelo Galaxy Tt Bafang Max Drive 350 Mid Motor
Evelo Galaxy Tt Stand Alone Infini Backlight Rear Rack Pannier Blockers
Evelo Galaxy Tt King Meter Lcd Display Panel
Evelo Galaxy Tt Plastic Fenders Led Headlight
Evelo Galaxy Tt Rigid Alloy Fork 180 Mm Mechanical Disc
Evelo Galaxy Tt 36 Volt 13 Ah Rack Battery
Evelo Galaxy Tt Nuvinci N380 Continuously Variable Transmission
Evelo Galaxy Tt 2 Amp Ebike Charger
Evelo Galaxy Tt Electric Bike Review
Evelo Galaxy Tt
Evelo Galaxy Tt Bafang Max Drive 350 Mid Motor
Evelo Galaxy Tt Stand Alone Infini Backlight Rear Rack Pannier Blockers
Evelo Galaxy Tt King Meter Lcd Display Panel
Evelo Galaxy Tt Plastic Fenders Led Headlight
Evelo Galaxy Tt Rigid Alloy Fork 180 Mm Mechanical Disc
Evelo Galaxy Tt 36 Volt 13 Ah Rack Battery
Evelo Galaxy Tt Nuvinci N380 Continuously Variable Transmission
Evelo Galaxy Tt 2 Amp Ebike Charger

Summary

  • A comfortable but sturdy cruiser style electric bike with premium aesthetic, the mid-drive motor is powerful but quiet and offers responsive pedal assist plus throttle
  • EVELO has always offered great customer service and even has a trade-in program, the Galaxy line is more refined and satisfying than earlier products in my opinion
  • Long plastic fenders with mud flaps keep you clean and dry, large mechanical disc brakes with motor-inhibiting levers help you stop quickly, you can upgrade to hydraulic brakes
  • The sprung saddle, padded grips, swept-back handlebar, and larger tires improve comfort but there is no suspension fork, the belt drive and CVT hub are quiet and durable, you can upgrade to electronic auto-shifting

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Evelo

Model:

Galaxy ST

Price:

$3,499 ($3,899 Fully Loaded)

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 4 Year (20,000 mile) Frame, Battery, Motor, Controller

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

58.8 lbs (26.67 kg)

Battery Weight:

7.4 lbs (3.35 kg) (Larger Pack 9 lbs)

Motor Weight:

7.5 lbs (3.4 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

20.25" Seat Tube, 23.75" Reach, 28" Stand Over Height, 27.25" Width, 72.5" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Deep Space Blue

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Aluminum Alloy, 100 mm Hub, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

135 mm Hub, 10 mm Axle with Nuts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

1 Speed 1x∞ NuVinci N380 Mechanical Continuously Variable Transmission, Optional NuVinci N380 Harmony HI8 (Fully Automatic Electronic Shifting System), 22T Rear Sprocket

Shifter Details:

C8s or H8 Grip Twist on Right Bar (Optional NuVinci Grip Twist on Right Bar)

Cranks:

8Fun AC08-2 Alloy Crank Arms, 170 mm Length, 50T Chainring

Pedals:

Wellgo C235 Aluminum Alloy Platform with Rubber Tread

Headset:

1-1/8" Threadless Internal Cups, One 10 mm Headset Spacer, One 5 mm Headset Spacer

Stem:

Tonaro TDS-C215, Adjustable Angle, 90 mm Length, 15° Angle

Handlebar:

Swept Back, Aluminum Alloy, 50 mm Rise, 35° Back Sweep, 680 mm Length

Brake Details:

Shimano BR-M375 Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitor, Optional Tektro Auriga E-Comp Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro 3-Finger Levers with Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Padded, Stitched, Faux Leather, Brown

Saddle:

Selle Royale Ondina, Sprung, Faux Leather, Brown (Optional Upgrade Program)

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy, Double Wall, 36 Hole, Reinforcement Eyelets

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 13 Gauge, Silver with Adjustable Brass Nipples

Tire Brand:

CST Caldera, 27.5" x 2.0"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

40 to 65 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Double Leg Kickstand, Aluminum Alloy Rear Rack with Spring (25 kg 55 lb Max Weight), Stand Alone Dosun SF300 USB-Rechargeable Front Light, Stand Alone Infini Back Light, Plastic Fenders with Mud Flaps, Optional Comfort Package (Ergon GP2-L Ergonomic Locking Grips, Suspension Seat Post, Extra Large Saddle for $200), Optional Safety Package (High Powered Lights, Bar-End Mirror, Bell, Reflective Light Band for Pants $99), Optional Commuter Package (Teflon Lubricant, Tire Levers, Patch Kit, Mini-Pump, Hex Key Wrench Set $99), Optional Security Package (Heavy Duty Chain Lock, Pinhead Security Hardware System $199)

Other:

Locking Removable Rear Rack Mounted Battery, 1.1 lb 2 Amp Battery Charger, 300 lb Max Weight Rating, Gates Carbon Belt Drive with CDX:EXP

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang Max Drive

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung (A, B Rated Cells) (Optional Panasonic)

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

468 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

6 hours (Up to 6 With Larger Pack)

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

55 miles (89 km)

Display Type:

Evelo Branded King Meter, Fixed, Monochrome, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Battery Level (5 Bars), Odometer, Trip Meter, Speed, Average Speed, Max Speed, Mode (None, Eco, Standard, Power, Speed), Watt Output

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Left, Backlight (Hold Up Arrow), Walk Mode (Hold Down Arrow), Trip to Odometer (Press M Button), Speed to Avg Speed to Max Speed (Hold Up and M Button), Settings Menu (Hold Up and Down)

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (8 Pole Cadence Sensor, Torque Sensor)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The EVELO Galaxy line offers something very unique, a mid-drive motor combined with a carbon belt and continuously variable transmission. This is a combination of parts that offer efficiency, shifting at anytime (even standstill), and durability. The belt is clean, won’t fall off as easily as a chain, and will last longer. The NuVinci continuously variable transmission hub is completely sealed and doesn’t rely on a vulnerable external derailleur to change gears. The Bafang Max Drive motor is not only responsive, because it relies on a torque sensor, but also exceedingly quiet and efficient. The Galaxy TT is the “top tube” high-step model which is slightly larger than the ST “step-thru” frame and only comes in one size and color. It’s the best choice for taller riders, those who want a more masculine look, and those who value stiffness and performance. The frame doesn’t flex as much as the ST and it may be easier to lift and hang on some car and bus racks. The bike isn’t perfect however, it’s pretty heavy at ~58.5 lbs and kind of expensive starting at $3,499, but that custom drivetrain is not cheap. Rather than using a stock frame, this one has a cutaway section in the right chainstay to accommodate the belt. In order to still hit their 300 lb max weight rating, the frame has to be reinforced… but they also managed to route most of the cables internally through the frame tubing, add bottle cage bosses onto the seat tube, and implement a precision horizontal dropout system to tighten the belt. In short, I feel that they did a good job and that the end result justifies the higher price. This is about the furthest you can come from a do-it-yourself electric bike or a basic hub motor design, it’s the kind of thing that only a company with buying power and engineering expertise could pull off. And Evelo has been around for many years doing just that. They offer renowned customer service and now have a physical outlet in Seattle (where I filmed the video review) so you can drop by and test one out yourself. Before digging in too much deeper, the other trade-offs I discovered were the basic tires, limited throttle functionality, and mechanical disc brakes. For an additional $400, you can get upgraded hydraulic disc brakes with adjustable reach levers and an electronic auto-shifting NuVinci harmony drivetrain vs. the stock mechanical one. It’s pretty amazing to ride a bike and have it automatically adjust the gearing so you can pedal comfortably at a set cadence without even thinking, and that’s what the Harmony offers…

Propelling this electric bike is a Bafang Max Drive internally geared mid-motor. It’s relatively compact, impressively powerful (producing up to 80 Newton meters of torque), and ranges from 350 to 750 watts of power output. It’s a beast, but a quiet one, very quiet. Seriously, I have tested all of the mainstream mid-drive motors that are out right now in the USA (mid 2017) and the Max drive strikes a balance between responsiveness, affordability, and quiet-smooth operation. I like it a lot, even though it doesn’t have shift detection like Bosch… and with the single-sprocket belt system here and the internally geared CVT drivetrain, you really don’t need shift detection. As you pedal, the motor controller measures rear wheel speed and pedal torque. The more torque you apply, and the higher level of assist that you select, the more power and speed produced by the motor. It’s up to you to shift thoughtfully in order to reach higher speeds or climb more effectively, but as you do, the motor benefits and becomes more efficient. It’s a fancier design than a hub motor and this is part of what makes the bike cost more. The NuVinci N380 continuously variable transmission hub in the rear wheel uses orbs to pivot and translate sprocket spinning speed into wheel movement speed. It’s smooth and durable (because there’s no derailleur sticking out the side) but it weighs and costs more too. If you get the upgraded Harmony electronic NuVinci, the system looks to you for guidance on pedal speed and then automatically shifts to keep your input constant. The speed of the bike will change but you won’t have to change how hard you’re working or think about shifting with the right grip as you ride. Both systems look similar but the electronic Harmony hub has a plastic box on the right side to house electronics.

Powering the bike is a 36 volt 13 amp hour Lithium-ion battery pack that slides into the rear rack. I was told that the cells inside are made by Samsung and are of A and B quality so they should age well and maintain a higher average capacity. And Evelo backs this up with a solid two-year comprehensive warranty. In fact, they offer up to four years for everything except the battery pack which is an industry leading plan. I visited their shop and saw several returned products and those which were undergoing service, and I came away very impressed. It is not cheap or trivial to offer this level of service but they pull it off and instill a level of trust that most other brands just don’t reach. Evelo is a mid-sized company, they answer the phone when you call and jump on issues as they come up… even going so far as to service competing products that use similar systems like older iGO models. So anyway, the battery design and size isn’t the world’s most impressive setup, but it’s still above average and should work well for most customers. The position of the battery isn’t ideal, up high and towards the back of the bike, but I understand that they used the same battery and rack for both the TT and ST models which makes it cheaper and easier to service. It wouldn’t have made sense to use a mid-mount battery on the ST because that would have gotten in the way of the wave step-thru frame. The rear rack design felt solid and had pannier side blockers and a nice bungee attachment hole near the bottom which made it seem very useful and versatile. It’s a capable rack, and only a portion of the 53 lb max capacity is used by the 7.4 lb battery pack, so you could use it for books, groceries, or riding gear like a lock and the battery charger. Range will vary depending on whether you use pedal assist or rely on the throttle, how much weight is being moved, what the terrain is like, and what level of assist you choose. But, you can bring the compact 1.1 lb charger along for a fill-up very easily. It’s a standard 2 Amp design and should offer 50% in just a couple of hours if the pack is near empty.

Operating the Galaxy TT electric bike is pretty simple. You charge and mount the battery (the pack can be charged on or off the frame for convenience) and there’s no on/off switch or key that has to be left in here, you just seat it into the rack until it clicks and then press and hold the M button on the control ring, located near the left grip. The King Meter display comes to life pretty quickly and shows many stats. It’s large, backlit, and easy to read, and even pivots to reduce glare. This display is not removable, but it is well sealed against rain and light water contact. The basic interaction is to press the up or down arrow on the control ring to add or remove assist power. Level zero allows you to ride along like a normal, albeit heavy, bicycle. Levels 1 through 5 provide increasing power and this setting applies to both pedal assist and throttle operation. And this is where I have a big gripe, the throttle only becomes active after you’ve reached six miles per hour! At that speed, it kind of feels like why even have a throttle? I mostly use electric bike throttles to accelerate from stops so I don’t have to work as much and stress my knee. Thankfully, the Bafang motor torque sensor is responsive enough that I wasn’t straining too much, but it just meant that I rarely used the throttle once the bike was moving. A few times, when climbing a hill, I tried using the throttle to see how powerful the motor was on its own, but in order to climb I had set the gearing to low… and this has the consequence of reducing the speed of the bike… So guess what, the motor cut out in throttle mode and I had to pedal again. I believe this is a factory setting that Bafang configures and it is not my favorite. I would prefer a throttle that did not cutout at all or if it had to (for safety concerns about bumping the throttle while the bike is parked) at least make it 2 miles per hour vs. 6 mph and then let the throttle offer full speed vs. limiting it! This is a variable speed trigger throttle with a range of motion that can be used to control speed, so why cap it electronically by the assist level. Bafang!!! Okay, anyway, there are still times that it’s nice to sit back and give your feet a rest when you aren’t climbing a steep hill and are able to maintain 6+ mph, and for those moments, this throttle works okay. It does however, push the control ring further in towards the center of the bars, making changing assist levels less comfortable with your thumb. There are other settings you can control with the button ring as well, such as walk mode (hold the down arrow) or cycling through trip stats (press up and M simultaneously). I did not see a USB charging port anywhere, which is another minor opportunity for adding utility that Evelo could consider in the future.

In conclusion, the Galaxy TT is one of my favorite new Evelo electric bicycles… even though it feels like there is a missed opportunity with how the throttle functions. I like that they offer two versions of the bike to keep the base level affordable and understand why it costs as much as it does. This is a special e-bike and it’s a pleasure to ride. Despite not having a suspension fork, it felt comfortable and possibly stiffer and more stable than it would have otherwise. The aesthetics are a big win and even the mechanical disc brakes get the job done. Safety is addressed very well with the motor-inhibiting brake levers and the throttle activation design. The bike is quiet, offers lots of utility with the rack and fenders, and is below average in terms of lighting and reflectiveness, but at least it comes with lights. The rechargeable flashing headlight is a good and somewhat rare choice, just make sure to take it with you so nobody steals it at the bike rack. This happened to my Mom once when we were out for a ride and it really upset me… stealing someone’s cheap light could result in them being killed by a car or accidental collision with another pedestrian during the dark ride home, is it really worth it people? Tire and inner tube upgrades might be a good idea if you live somewhere with thorns or sharp objects on the road because the stock tires don’t have puncture protection lining and I doubt the inner tubes are slimed or extra thick. A suspension seat post is an interesting upgrade option for those with back and neck sensitivity like me, but it will raise the minimum saddle height by a few inches so keep that in mind. I love how Evelo offers a full range of accessories that are guaranteed to work with their bikes like trunk bags, chain locks, and security hardware for the front wheel and seat tube collar. To me, this has always been one of the nicer companies to work with, they are polite and hard working. Big thanks to the Evelo team for partnering with me on this review and providing the TT and ST back to back for comparison in such a beautiful location. I personally like the ST better for how easy it is to mount and love that it comes in two colors (a slightly more feminine light blue and more masculine brown).

Pros:

  • I like the motor that Evelo is using for their Galaxy series of electric bikes, the Bafang Max Drive is powerful, smooth, and incredibly quiet (even compared with Bosch, Yamaha, and Brose)
  • The combination of a mid-drive motor pulling a belt drive and shifting a continuously variable transmission hub is the cleanest, quietest, and most reliable you can get
  • Considering that the Evelo Galaxy ST has such a nice rear rack (with pannier blockers and bungee connector hole), I’m glad that they opted for a heavy-duty double-leg kickstand so you can load it up without tipping the bike
  • I like having fenders for those wet days and the hardware chosen for the Galaxy electric bicycles is a bit longer and has mud flaps at the bottom, I noticed that there are extra support struts for strength but there was still some rattling when riding over bumps
  • The NuVinci CVT hub allows you to shift gears at standstill which is handy if you stop on a hill, it should hold up well even if you shift while the motor is working (though it requires more effort)
  • Gates is a leading producer of carbon belt drive systems and the CDX uses a center track to stay on track, the belt should hold up longer than a chain and won’t make as much noise or be as messy in most cases, note that the frame had to be custom built to work with a belt drive… it has horizontal rear dropouts to keep the belt tight and a cutaway on the right seat stay to get the belt on and off for replacement
  • The saddle and grips match beautifully, overall, the paint job and silver accents blend together nicely to make this look like a more premium product
  • Most geared hub systems are well protected against side tips and banging up against other bikes at the rack because there is no derailleur sticking out of the right side, that’s the case here for sure, it’s just ore durable
  • Evelo was able to fit bottle cage bosses onto the seat tube and I love this, you can reach your bottle easier here than if it’s in a rear bag and if you don’t care about fluids, you can use this spot for mounting a folding lock or mini-pump accessory
  • Evelo has a bunch of accessories on their website including a nice trunk bag that works well with the rear rack on this bike, I like that the bag has reflective accents for safety and some zip-out panniers for increased capacity
  • The bike seemed really sturdy, the diamond frame is stiff and solid, the double walled rims have reinforcement nipples, and the spokes are 13 gauge which is thicker than average
  • There seem to be very few mid-drive electric bikes that have throttle on demand, it’s a neat option for when you want to take a break from pedaling, but I noticed the throttle wasn’t active at zero and is also limited by the level of assist you choose… so, you have to be going 6+ mph to use it and then you can’t go faster than you already were which is useful to catch up or climb a hill, I think Bafang should offer more options for how their throttle operates to make it more useful, or maybe they did this limitation to protect the motor or something? Most other bikes allow you to use the throttle from standstill at full power or limit the the throttle to 2+ mph but 6+ mph is a bit silly to me
  • Minor pro here, it’s great that the bike comes with lights and I like that the headlight is rechargeable, but it’s even nicer to have integrated lights that just run off of the battery and don’t have to be turned on/off every time you use the bike, these independent lights are also easier to get stolen (especially the headlight)… but it’s great that the headlight has a blinking mode (very few integrated lights do that)
  • If you hold the down arrow, walk mode will activate and help you push the bike forward which is really useful for steep inclines, or just hanging out with a friend and navigating a crowded area off the bike

Cons:

  • This e-bike is a bit expensive but I understand why it costs more… the mechanical NuVinci CVT hub, belt drive, and mid-motor are not cheap, I like that they have a $400 upgrade option for nicer hydraulic disc brakes and the electronic NuVinci Harmony drivetrain with automatic shifting
  • The stock mechanical disc brakes are decent, you get 180 mm rotors to handle the heavier weight and motor inhibitors to stop the powerful motor in an instant, but the levers aren’t adjustable for reach unless you pay for the upgrade
  • Weighing in at nearly 59 lbs, this is not a lightweight electric bike, the battery alone is ~7.4 lbs but at least it’s removable for easier transport or charging independently
  • There’s only one frame size and color option for the high-step TT model, but you could always opt for the slightly smaller, slightly lighter step-thru ST model which comes in two colors, the TT frame looks more masculine and is a bit stiffer but I really liked the ST and appreciate the brown color scheme option there
  • The cockpit is a bit crowded with the large display and trigger throttle and there’s some wire clutter up front because of the extra motor inhibitor cables coming out of the brake levers… but this is such a minor thing, the wires route through the frame just after the head tube which looks nice and reduces snags
  • This is a slightly more rear-heavy electric bike because of where the battery is positioned in the rear rack, thankfully, the mid-drive motor brings a lot of weight down and low, but the NuVinci hub also adds weight at the back so overall there’s just more weight there which can cause frame flex and slow the turning speed and handling
  • There’s no suspension fork or seat post suspension present which could smooth out large bumps, but the sprung saddle, padded grips, 2″ high volume tires, and swept-back handlebar all work together to reduce vibration
  • The stock tires are pretty basic, they don’t have reflective sidewall stripes or puncture protection lining and it’s no fun to get a flat tire… so I might use some Slime tubes or just upgrade the tires with a 27.5″ x 2″ model from Schwalbe like the Big Ben with Race Guard or skinnier Marathon Plus
  • Minor grip here but the electronic wires up front use press fit connectors vs. threaded better-sealed connectors that I see sometimes on other expensive ebikes
  • I noticed a bit of speed wobble (where the front wheel jitters side to side as you go faster) in part because of the heavier frame with the rear weight, but it wasn’t a big issue when my hands were on the bars
  • The display is not removable, which means it can take more weather wear if parked outside or get scratched up at a bike rack… but it does angle forward and back and won’t get lost as easily or get loose

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More EVELO Reviews

Evelo Galaxy ST Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A powerful cruiser style electric bike with smooth, responsive, multi-sensing pedal assist and trigger throttle operation, throttle only works above 6 mph and is limited by assist level. Optional hydraulic disc brakes and automatic electric shifting would be great for riders with limited…...

Evelo Quest One Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A folding electric bike that's fairly lightweight at ~41 lbs, clean and simple thanks to a Gates Carbon belt drive, and still feature rich with fenders and integrated lights. Available in two color choices, offers pedal assist and throttle on demand, highly adjustable extra-long…...

Evelo Delta Review

  • MSRP: $3,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the more powerful purpose-built electric mountain bikes I have tested to date, possibly the only setup like this with a trigger throttle that overrides assist 1-5, unlockable higher speeds. Unique combination of trail capable and urban oriented features such as rear rack bosses and…...

Evelo Aries Review

  • MSRP: $2,079
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Full suspension city bike with basic mid-drive system (upgradable motor, battery and drivetrain options). Nice accessories including USB charger, front and rear LED lights, mechanical disc brakes and a…...

Evelo Aurora Review

  • MSRP: $2,079
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Value driven but well rounded mid-drive ebike with upgradable motor, battery and drivetrain options. Great features include backlit LCD display with built in USB charger, front and rear LED…...

2013 Evelo Aries Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Affordable full suspension electric bike with mid-grade Lithium polymer battery. Decent strength (36 Volts of power) and range (10 amp hour capacity)...

2013 Evelo Aurora Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Offers lots of features but isn't particularly strong or fast as an electric bike. Entry level components get the job done and keep the price lower, unique frame flexes...


TN Commuter
4 months ago

Great review, Court. The quality of the customer service at Evelo covers a multitude of small difficulties. The bike is everything a reasonable person could want: mid-mounted motor, no hulking battery between your pumping legs, quiet, long-lasting carbon belt instead of a chain, 350 Watt motor and good torque for the hills, nice swept back handlebars with a not-elaborate display, cushy saddle, and the intriguing NuVinci dial-it-in shifter, nice fenders for the unexpected mud puddle. I’d rather not have the throttle; class one bikes for me all the way. And the front light is not as build-in as I’d like. But this bike is dope, the bomb, great. And a 4-year warranty. Thanks for your perspective. EBR is just what the shopper needs.

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Awesome, thanks for the feedback! I’m glad you enjoy this resource and I appreciate hearing your own perspective :)

Reply
Scrambler
4 months ago

Thanks for the review, I had been waiting for it :)

Regarding your experience with the throttle cutting off when going uphill, I get the feeling that you were in a low gear ratio because of the uphill pedaling start, I suspect/hope that if you had shifted to a higher gear ratio there would have been no cutoff.

That makes me wonder if the Bafang was cutting off because of reaching the max rpm (being in a low gear ratio). But even if that was the case, the motor should have been maxing out but not cutting off. It should only cutoff when you reach the max speed (which was not the case).

It would be interesting to hear from Bafang/Evelo on this as it does not sound right. On that subject, I understand they have an Off Road mode that has a higher limitation, and I was wondering if you tried that and saw a difference.

Last, did you try the Harmony equipped version, and did you experiment with the throttle in automatic mode. In that mode, the bike should shift automatically, and that should alleviate the issue you encountered.

If you tried, it would also be interesting to hear about the difference between manually shifting the NuVinci on the base model, and electronic shifting of the Harmony equipped model in manual mode.

Thanks again for the review.

Reply
Court Rye
4 months ago

Hi Scrambler! Yeah, the throttle cutout issue was a concern and source of confusion for me. At first, I thought it was cutting out as a prevention against heat or damage but then found that it had to do with dropping below the ~6 mph speed. If I shifted down to a lower climbing type of gear, the speed would drop, and if I used a higher and faster gear, the motor would struggle and the speed would drop again. The hill I was testing on was very steep, so this might not be an issue for most everyday use. Perhaps there is a perfect gear that works great with the throttle to stay above 6 mph but also not struggle climbing? I did try the Harmony automatic shifting on the other Galaxy ST and will have a review out shortly ;)

Reply
scrambler
4 months ago

Thank you for the follow up Court. I had not though about the scenario where the speed would fall down below 6 mph and that would cut off the throttle again. This would definitely mean that on steep hill, the throttle could be unusable given the limited power of the motor.

I do agree with you that 6 mph seems rather high as a minimum speed threshold, and I wonder if it could be reprogrammed in the Bafang. Bafang normally has a programming interface, and that could be a question for Evelo to check.

Looking forward to your Harmony review of the ST. Thank you for your great work and site!

David Dye
3 months ago

Hi Scrambler

The throttle does not function below about 6 mph. We are aware of this limitation and working to remove it. For the record, no, you cannot just change it with the normal Bafang programming software. This limit is imposed by Bafang to protect the motor from the stress of dead stop at full power. We believe there is way to have both and are working toward it but do not have concrete solution yet.

At the of end the day very few of these systems have throttle at all but we felt It was important. Even if the throttle does stop working, the torque sensor is incredibly sensitive and requires only a tiny bit of force to set the motor turning. If this is a deal breaker for you, take a look at the Delta instead.

David Dye
EVELO Customer Service

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Thanks for chiming in on this David! I prefer the advanced torque + cadence sensing that the Max Drive offers but love how the throttle works on the Delta. It’s nice that you offer some choices and I really appreciate the feedback to help Scrambler and others here. Nice to know that you’re exploring options with how the throttle works :)

scrambler
3 months ago

One more question if I may :) The Bafang Max is supposed to have a bit more torque and power than the Bosch. During the review and hill testing, did you have a way to validate if that is noticeable? Thanks

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Scrambler, I haven’t compared the two motors back to back but I would tend to agree that with the Bafang motors you get a higher brute force because they rely on cadence and have that throttle option. Bosch is still very capable, but they are rated from 250 watts to 600+ watts where Bafang has a BBS01 offering 350+ watts and then the BBS02 in 500 watts, 750 watts, and even 1,000 watts now. I realize this is a sort of vague answer, my qualitative feedback would be that Bosch motors are smarter right now and smoother but don’t offer as much power because I think they are designed primarily for a European market where the power and top speeds can be more limited.

Reply
John ODonnell @ EVELO
3 months ago

Hi Scrambler and Court,

The throttle cutoff is something on which we have been working with Bafang for the last several months. To their credit, they have actually been very responsive in working with us to provide a throttle that starts at 0, but they are also pretty rigorous in their standards (which is a good thing, IMO). They insist on 10,000 KM’s of field testing before releasing the programming. While there are ways to accelerate testing, it’s still a manual process and takes quite a bit of time.

We don’t yet have a time line on it, but when the 0 mph throttle is introduced, it should be backwards-compatible and will be able to be downloaded to existing bikes.

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Wow, that’s a cool update John! So, if someone purchased a Galaxy model now and there was a software update from Bafang in the future, maybe the dealer could help them get an upgrade for enhanced throttle operation? Is this something that individual owners could maybe do too if they ordered direct from you?

Reply
scrambler
3 months ago

Thank you for the information John, that sounds good indeed. In case they decide a zero start causes too much stress on the motor, you should at least suggest allowing a lower value than the 6 miles per hour.

Reply
John ODonnell @ EVELO
3 months ago

Hi Court, Yes, if and when (I’m relatively confident that it will be “when”) it’s available, we’re also looking at potential solutions to update in the field. The Bafang Max uses a bit different communication protocol than BBS02 and it’s a bit more “closed loop”, but we’re pretty confident we’ll be able to have a solution for those existing customers who want to update the throttle.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Dewey
20 hours ago

Corratec Lifebike

Blix Komfort Prima

Evelo Galaxy ST

Gazelle Arroyo C8 (personal favorite)

Kalkhoff Agattu

EasyMotion Evo City Wave Pro

Riese & Muller Homage Nuvinci HS (the only full suspension step through ebike)

fourday
4 weeks ago

Hello I have been lurking, researching E bikes for the last 6 months or so, since I realized I will not be able to ride as I used to, due to a recent medical issue. I have been riding bikes all my life, since retiring, wife and I would load bikes on motor home and go. I am 68 years old, and my wife is 69. Retired from the fire service after 35 years, and was recently diagnosed with cancer, which has affected my endurance but not my will to get out and ride. wife was a nurse for 40 years, and knees are not as strong. E bikes seem to be the answer for us. some must have's include throttle and assist . looking at the 3 to 4 k range, but must admit i rode a classic ebike scrambler and loved it, but 7 k is too much especially when i am looking for 2 bikes. I have been looking specifically at the Evelo galaxy, for my wife and the delta for myself. We have also been looking at the Luna brand. my wife likes the Evelo due to the ease of mounting,and the Nuvinci N380 transmission. some riding includes dirt roads bike trails, no extreme mountain biking any more. especially looking for quality and good service. thanks Bob

Mark Peralta
1 month ago

I have a Eflow E3 Nitro which I love it has regen braking, throttle, torque sensor .
Unfortunately I developed arthritis in my hip and I can no longer swing my leg over the bike so I am selling it with only ~900 miles on it.

So I am looking at an a stepthru .

My possible's that I have narrowed down to are the Evelo Galaxy ST(has a throttle and torque sensor. Disadvantage rear battery , speed wobble., has Nuvinci and Belt drive.
Reise and Muller also has Nuvinvi and Belt drive and Kalkhoff again belt drive and internally geared .

I am also considering the old St1 Platinum step thru as I really like the ride on those but they have the older chain drives.

Non but the Evelo have a throttle which admittedly I use very infrequently.

Any advice would be appreciated
While you are waiting for your next ebike, you might as well try this mounting method on the youtube which is the second (2nd) one, the under-and-up method.
If you have a rear rack, you might also want to remove it for better clearance in case you want to swing your leg backward again.

Dfstarman
2 months ago

I have a Eflow E3 Nitro which I love it has regen braking, throttle, torque sensor .
Unfortunately I developed arthritis in my hip and I can no longer swing my leg over the bike so I am selling it with only ~900 miles on it.

So I am looking at an a stepthru .

My possible's that I have narrowed down to are the Evelo Galaxy ST(has a throttle and torque sensor. Disadvantage rear battery , speed wobble., has Nuvinci and Belt drive.
Reise and Muller also has Nuvinvi and Belt drive and Kalkhoff again belt drive and internally geared .

I am also considering the old St1 Platinum step thru as I really like the ride on those but they have the older chain drives.

Non but the Evelo have a throttle which admittedly I use very infrequently.

Any advice would be appreciated

PCDoctorUSA
2 months ago

I have a Eflow E3 Nitro which I love it has regen braking, throttle, torque sensor .
Unfortunately I developed arthritis in my hip and I can no longer swing my leg over the bike so I am selling it with only ~900 miles on it.

So I am looking at an a stepthru .

My possible's that I have narrowed down to are the Evelo Galaxy ST(has a throttle and torque sensor. Disadvantage rear battery , speed wobble., has Nuvinci and Belt drive.
Reise and Muller also has Nuvinvi and Belt drive and Kalkhoff again belt drive and internally geared .

I am also considering the old St1 Platinum step thru as I really like the ride on those but they have the older chain drives.

Non but the Evelo have a throttle which admittedly I use very infrequently.

Any advice would be appreciated
How about the E3 Zuma from IZIP?

Dfstarman
2 months ago

I have a Eflow E3 Nitro which I love it has regen braking, throttle, torque sensor .
Unfortunately I developed arthritis in my hip and I can no longer swing my leg over the bike so I am selling it with only ~900 miles on it.

So I am looking at an a stepthru .

My possible's that I have narrowed down to are the Evelo Galaxy ST(has a throttle and torque sensor. Disadvantage rear battery , speed wobble., has Nuvinci and Belt drive.
Reise and Muller also has Nuvinvi and Belt drive and Kalkhoff again belt drive and internally geared .

I am also considering the old St1 Platinum step thru as I really like the ride on those but they have the older chain drives.

Non but the Evelo have a throttle which admittedly I use very infrequently.

Any advice would be appreciated

fredi
2 months ago

Seriously considering purchasing one of these myself. fredi, any updates on how yours is going after another couple of months' use?
I still love her! The torque sensor and the the NuVinci Harmony Automatic Transmission makes riding the Galaxy so natural and the battery life is amazing. I don't think I would have been happy with any thing else.

pjtait
2 months ago

This weekend I took her out to the steep hill that got me serious about getting an ebike. According to my GPS the hill had a max grade of 13%. Riding the Galaxy up the hill was no problem and I easily maintained 10 mph. Kind of made me wonder what all the fuss was about.

Seriously considering purchasing one of these myself. fredi, any updates on how yours is going after another couple of months' use?

scrambler
3 months ago

If she wants and internal gear hub with electronic shifting, you may also want to test / consider one with the NuVinci N380 + Harmony system. It is a continuously variable transmission ( no actual gears), and automatic shifting of the gear ratio.
There are a few bikes with that configuration available like:
EVELO Galaxy ST
http://www.evelo.com/electric-bicycles/galaxy-st/
FELT Verza E 10
http://www.feltbicycles.com/International/2016/Bikes/electric/road/verzae-10.aspx

scrambler
4 months ago

Personally I think I would prefer a Harmony hub interface with the H8 controller rather than the H|sync. The H8 gives you a quick way to use the NuVinci either in Manual mode (still electronic shifting) or automatic cadence mode.
It seems like it would gives more/easier flexibility than the fully integrated H|sync system.
But I do not have experience with both, so this is just a theoretical preference :)

Keep us posted on your test ride experiences.

FYI: Evelo has a NuVinci with Harmony automated system and a Gates Carbon belt called the Galaxy, check them out too.
They have two models TT and ST depending if you need a step through or not
http://www.evelo.com/electric-bicycles/galaxy-st/

Over50
4 months ago

Thanks for the photos. I have a Galaxy S7 Edge as my note was recalled twice (can't wait for the Note 8). So far, it doesn't look like they can find another one. Did the case come with the stem cap fixture to clip the bag on?
Yes, the Serfas came with the stem cap/receiver for the bag (attachment shown in my pictures). My LBS put it on for me when they were installing my fenders (Portland Design Works).

fredi
4 months ago

You can’t use a detailer with a belt drive so you either go with a hub gear or single speed. My Evelo Galaxy TT has the Gates carbon belt drive and combined with the NuVinci Harmony automatic transmission they provide a smooth and quiet riding experience. It probably helps that the Bafang motor doesn’t have the annoying high pitched wine of the Bosch.

86 and still kicking
4 months ago

Thanks for the photos. I have a Galaxy S7 Edge as my note was recalled twice (can't wait for the Note 8). So far, it doesn't look like they can find another one. Did the case come with the stem cap fixture to clip the bag on?

Over50
4 months ago

Correction. Head of product at Serfas called me and said this is an old old product as it does not show up in inventory or catalogs. They believe they may have one or two lounging somewhere in the warehouse and are looking for them. Leave it to me to like a totally discontinued product....

Glad they found it but nevertheless I attached a couple of photos for you. It is just slightly short for my Galaxy 8. Prior I had the Galaxy Note and no way that would fit. It is handy for my wallet and keys but if I want to bring my phone and I am traveling light I use a sling bag (Patagonia Atom 8 I think). I can often go without my phone as I have a Samsung watch from which I can make or receive calls and texts. Overall this bag has been handy but still is pretty limited in use due to its small size.

1/3
86 and still kicking
4 months ago

Stem bag is a Serfas found at my Trek shop. A little small for my phone (Samsung Galaxy). Wallet, keys and maybe a couple of individual hex wrenches is about all I can carry there.
Serfas has never seen or heard about the stem case. Can you give me the contact info for the trek store and I can follow up with them for further info. Many thanks

fredi
4 months ago

My Evelo Galaxy has a Bafang motor with the NuVinci Harmony Automatic hub and I absolutely love it.

fredi
4 months ago

This weekend I took her out to the steep hill that got me serious about getting an ebike. According to my GPS the hill had a max grade of 13%. Riding the Galaxy up the hill was no problem and I easily maintained 10 mph. Kind of made me wonder what all the fuss was about.

Over50
4 months ago

Where did you get your stem bag?
Stem bag is a Serfas found at my Trek shop. A little small for my phone (Samsung Galaxy). Wallet, keys and maybe a couple of individual hex wrenches is about all I can carry there.

fredi
4 months ago

This is my first ebike and my decision to buy her was based on getting the best ebike for me at the best price. First a little about me, I’m 60 years old, 6’1” and 230 lbs. A have a 34” Class-A RV and travel the east coast. On long trips I normally tow a Jeep Wrangler with a tray-style bike rack loaded with two or three mountain bike from a big box store. On short trips I leave the Jeep at home and mount the bike rack to the RV. Typical use of the bikes is for recreational riding in National and State parks. I thought it was time for a better bike and was intrigued with the idea of using ebikes and leaving the Jeep at home more.

I originally looked at Evelo because of their mid-drive with the NuVinci hub. They didn’t offer any local sales but work with local bike shops to provide service in conjunction with their 4-year/20,000-mile warranty. I was drawn to the Delta with the 750 watt mid-drive since all I’ve ever owned was mountain bikes and I wanted to make sure that it would get me up the hills. I soon discovered that where I live they only allow 500 watts and mid-drives are more efficient using the power, so while a 750 watt hub drive may struggle to get me up the hill, a 350 watt mid-drive should have less problems because they have higher performance, more torque and use less battery power. I also have always hated not being in the right gear at the right time and gnashing the gears and an Internally Geared Hub (IGH) like the NuVinci would solve those problems. Since I was planning on adding lots of comfort accessories like a plush seat, road tires, rear rack, fenders, lights, etc. and the Galaxy comes with all of those so I felt it was a better fit for me.

The Galaxy is billed as a comfort cruiser with an upright riding position, 27.5″ wheels and 2” tires on a ridge frame. Evelo makes two models the Galaxy, the GT with a step-through frame and the TT a traditional top tube frame. Each model comes in two versions, Premium or Fully Loaded. The Fully Loaded version upgrades the NuVinci N380 transmission to the Harmony fully automatic transmission and adds hydraulic brakes. So I ordered the Fully Loaded Galaxy TT version with a list price of $3899.

The bike came in about a week. She was double boxed and very well packed. The hardest part was getting the bike out of the box. I recommend having a little help here. Evelo isn’t kidding when they say the bike come almost fully assembled. Install the brake caliper, front wheel and fender, handlebars, headlight, and you’re done. They recommend charging the battery for 12 hours before the first use, so I plugged it in to charge overnight and then set about the process of assembling the bike which took about 30 minutes. They provided several allen wrenches, a couple of “real” boxed end wrenches and armed with the step by step instructions it was much easier to assemble than any bike I’ve ever bought from a big box store. My recommendation is that you put the fender on before you install the front wheel and then attach the brake caliper. The front wheel comes with a “Quick Release” so it’s really not a big deal.

The Galaxy is one of a small number of electric bikes that offer the NuVinci Harmony Automatic Transmission which allows me to enjoy the ride while it takes care of the shifting. In automatic it finds the proper gear while I dial in a comfortable cadence and set the assist level for my perfect ride. No more gnashing the gears and getting stuck on a hill because I was in the wrong gear. A simple button press changes the hub to manual mode, but I mostly I keep it in automatic on the lowest setting. The brushless motor combined with the Gates belt drive and the Harmony makes the ride smooth and virtually silent. I set the tire pressure to 50 lbs for a softer ride.

She comes with a 350 watt Bafang Max mid-drive motor (peak 600 watts) and uses a torque sensor (internal to the motor) and speed to determine how much power is drawn from the battery. The torque sensor uses a strain gauge inside the motor to measure pressure on the pedals. This allows for quick engagement and better sensitivity. I was concerned about the Galaxy’s uphill performance but found that she can easily climb hills at 8-12 mph that would normally bring me to a crawl. On level roads I can quickly reach the 20+ mph limit. At those speeds it’s nice to have the Tektro 180mm hydraulic disc brakes that provide great stopping power and simultaneously cut power to the motor. Once you stop there is a double fork kickstand to keep her upright.

The large backlit LCD display panel (made by King) is mounted center of the handlebars and can swivel forward or back to reduce glare. It’s easy to read and offers information about speed, distance, pedal assist, watts and a five segment battery charge level indicator. The control pad is located near the left grip, from there you can turn the bike on/off and select the level of assist. I really liked that holding the UP button turns on/off the backlight and holding the DOWN button activates “Walk” mode which moves the bike forward at about two mph. Pressing both the UP and DOWN buttons for 3 seconds puts you in the settings menu where you can increase the maximum speed to 25 mph, set the backlight level, and miles or kilometers. I set the wheel diameter to 27.5 inches since it defaulted to 26.

The bike has a thumb throttle but as a safety feature it doesn't engage unless the bike is moving. I originally thought I would need the throttle to get across an intersection or when starting up a hill, but the bike's torque sensor measures pressure on the pedals, so it quickly engages. It is so responsive and natural feeling that I haven't used the throttle much but I certainly have used “walk” mode several times.

The rear tail light is mounted directly beneath the battery rack so it isn’t blocked by my pannier and is powered by a couple of AA batteries. The LED Head Light has five modes and is USB rechargeable. It quickly installs on the handlebars with a rubber strap and the single large button on top makes it easy to turn on and change modes while riding.

Powering the bike is a 36 volt, 13 amp (468 wh) battery pack with an advertised 50 miles of range. I rode for over twenty miles before the charge indicator dropped from five to four bars. The battery weighs 8 lbs, can be charged on or off the bike and has its own level indicator. The small rubber cap protecting the charge terminal opens easily and stays closed. The battery is nicely protected in the full-size cargo rack and has a key lock which keeps it there and provides anti-theft security. You don’t need to leave the key in while riding and there’s a built-in handle to help remove the battery and carry it. Removing the battery makes it easier to lift the 46 lb bike onto my tray style carrier. The battery placement in the rack makes the bike a little heavy in the back, but frees up space for bottle cage bosses on the seat tube and allowed me to mount my folding lock on the down tube. All I did was add my Cloud-9 seat, bottle cage, pannier and a suspension seat post and I was ready to go.

After about a week of riding I took her to a local dealer for a full checkup. They did a minor adjustment to the brakes and gave her a clean bill of health, no charge. They were impressed at how well “I” put the bike together (LOL) and they loved the belt and throttle. I’ll be sure to make the checkup an annual event and return to that dealer.

Let me know if you have any questions

1/1
scrambler
4 months ago

I saw this Flyer bike, it is very similar to the Evelo Galaxy, and it does have a front suspension fork which is a plus.
Unfortunately they do not have any dealers here in the US of A :)

fredi
4 months ago

The Galaxy TT motor uses a torque sensor (internal to the motor) and speed to determine how much power is drawn from the battery. This allows for quick engagement and better sensitivity. The torque sensor uses a strain gauge inside the motor to measure pressure on the pedals.

When I’m riding it feels like the Harmony uses the torque sensor more when the NuVinci is in manual and uses the speed sensor in automatic, but the drive and shifting systems aren't integrated to the point that the motor changes its behavior intentionally. It's probably more likely that as I pedal harder, my crank speed increases. The automatic shifting works is to maintain crank speed and as my crank speed increases, the Harmony will shift, which affects the amount of torque I am putting on the pedals.

We have hills but not really steep hills. I found that she can easily climb our hills at 8-12 mph that would normally bring me to a crawl. On level roads I can quickly reach the 20 mph limit.

I did take her to dealer today for a full checkup. They did a minor adjustment to the brakes and gave her a clean bill of health, no charge. They were impressed at how well “I” put the bike together (LOL) and they loved the belt and throttle. I’ll be sure make the checkup an annual event and to return to that dealer.

I’ve only had the bike for two weeks, well over twenty miles but mostly in PAS 1. The battery gauge still shows full (5 bars) but I’m headed out for a little camping this weekend and some serious riding so I should know more next week when I get back.

fredi
4 months ago

...
Harmony has some glitches and that is why manufacturers are not using them extensively.

EVELO Galaxy won't ship until late October and there is no guarantee of the reliability of the system...

The Galaxy TT is available and I am loving mine! It came with a 4 year warranty and their support has been great so far. What kind of "glitches" should I be watching for with my Harmony?

Ravi Kempaiah
4 months ago

Thank you for the quick answer, I will contact the newwheel to see what they could do and at what price.

I actually have the Tempo on a secondary list, but they only offer the 250W Bosch on that bike, and the fork is not a real suspension fork.
So for cheaper, the Evelo Galaxy looks like a better fit with a more powerful motor.
But other than that it is a great contender too.
The Atom also has a 250W motor and an IGH versus the Harmony, so also on the secondary list :)

Thanks again for your input

Most of the Bosch motors are 250W anyway. Even the speed motors. The US version is spec'd 350W but the hardware is absolutely same.
Going by Watts is the sure fire of completely misjudging a bike's capability. I suggest you visit a bike shop and ride it actually.
Harmony has some glitches and that is why manufacturers are not using them extensively.

EVELO Galaxy won't ship until late October and there is no guarantee of the reliability of the system.

Just like the ATOM Wave, most of the Specialized Levo bikes use the Brose system but most motors whether it is Bosch or Brose or Yamah put out significantly more.

You can't just take the FLX blade and add a NuVinci to it. The chainline won't work and the Bafang system will rip the Gates carbon drive in no time.
You can get the exact same BLADE model for $2000 here but I suggest you to stay away from products like that because down the line, you will end up struggling to find parts.

scrambler
4 months ago

Thank you for the quick answer, I will contact the newwheel to see what they could do and at what price.

I actually have the Tempo on a secondary list, but they only offer the 250W Bosch on that bike, and the fork is not a real suspension fork.
So for cheaper, the Evelo Galaxy looks like a better fit with a more powerful motor.
But other than that it is a great contender too.
The Atom also has a 250W motor and an IGH versus the Harmony, so also on the secondary list :)

Thanks again for your input

FasterThanSoup
1 month ago

1. Introduce the venue
2. Introduce the bike & representative
3. Proceed to ignore and speak over the representative
4. Repeat in next video (except for that girl at the Hybrid booth, hmmmm...)

Fernando Arenas
4 months ago

What a beautiful bike!

Rotormatic
4 months ago

Excellent review!

Lysle Basinger
4 months ago

How much would a spare belt cost?

Tarek Naal
4 months ago

Do you know any affordable electric mountain bikes for 2017 or 2018?

actnowone
4 months ago

I live in the U.K. and we only have pedal assist up to15mph wish it was 20mph plus we are not allowed a throttle which is a real drag. I think this is an expensive bike for what it is as I would expect more for my money.

On a separate note, guy killed a women on a bike in London doing 20mph with no working breaks! The husband of the victim is campaigning to expand current laws so cyclist can be charged in much the same way as a car driver, crazy.

I think you're reviews are now so good I would like to see one on any electric bike I was considering purchasing before I bought it. I enjoy watching these reviews because I've learned a lot, cheers.

actnowone
4 months ago

raptor pome Yes I would but you can't class cycles like cars, I've driven for 40 years in the usual villages, towns, cities in the US and Europe. It's getting ridiculous if you can charge a 10 year old riding a bicycle as a 30 year old driving a car.

raptor pome
4 months ago

actnowone so if this chav who was riding a bike for the track that did not have a front brake fitted to it so was illegal for road use killed your mother err I think you would want him punished .....

Jack Odell
4 months ago

Court, great review. Did you get a chance to try the new Delta with the 750 Bafang? Love your comments about the throttle - Bafang (and others) "give us what we want!" - throttle that overrides and starts from a stop when you need it.

Hackeric
4 months ago

The NuVinci belt drive is a nice combo, i like that bag too. Why do an ebike review on a dock? Kinda risky.

James Mason
4 months ago

why do you think more bikes don't have belt drive

James Mason
4 months ago

Martian Megafauna sounds like belts are better used to keep pants up

Martian Megafauna
4 months ago

Here are some thoughts:
1. Having a belt drive means no rear derailleur or cassette; for many serious cyclists that is bad.
2. Hub gear systems have, even in recent times, not been as useful and durable as people would like.
3. Early Belt drives have not been infallible in terms of usefulness and reliability.
4. Belt drive systems are not inexpensive.
5. Belt drive bikes need to have a breakable dropout to get the belt onto the rear cog. $$

G Philip C
4 months ago

In hilly areas an electric bike must be a Godsend for average weekend riders.

Tarek Naal
4 months ago

Can you test the cube exc400 touring hybrid 2016

Tarek Naal
4 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com thanks

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Hi Tarek, I'll keep an eye out for that model but am definitely covering the CUBE Touring Hybrid Pro 500 soon if that's close at all :)

Daniel S.
4 months ago

Seatle looks nice.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Yeah, I was amazed... super clear water, people swimming and just hanging out walking around. Not this cold rainy place that I had always thought of before

Mr Jhonny
4 months ago

4th like

Mr Jhonny
4 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com i like 14

Mr Jhonny
4 months ago

13

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Nice! Thanks Mr Jhonny, what's your favorite number?

Steve Donovan
4 months ago

Boy that looked like a hard day's work.

Steve Donovan
4 months ago

Right, somehow I suspected it wasn't quite that easy. It was a good review and enjoyable from this end. I lived in that general area most of my adult life with the exception of these last few years. Summer time is the best because there's hardly any gray drizzly days.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

Ha! Well, the difficult part is driving from SF to Seattle, studying the bike closely and memorizing stats, filming four bikes in a day with retakes and stuff, processing and editing the footage and images, writing the article and pros/cons and stuff. The video part is my favorite to do, and it is nice to be outside! But I didn't get to go swimming or relax at the beach, we filmed back to back