FLX Trail Review

Flx Trail Electric Bike Review
Flx Trail
Flx Trail 170mm Cranks Angled
Flx Trail 13ah Battery Suntour Xcr Suspension
Flx Trail Flx Branded Bafang Control Center
Flx Trail Button Pad Throttle On Left
Flx Trail Flx Branded Bafang Control Center Close
Flx Trail Shimano Alivio Trigger Shifters On Right
Flx Trail Spank Handlebars
Flx Trail Shimano Alivio Derailleur
Flx Trail 13ah Battery Kenda 27.5 Inch Tires
Flx Trail Rear 135mm Hub Spacing
Flx Trail Bafang 350 Watt Mid Drive Motor
Flx Trail 180 Mm Tektro Auriga Hydraulic Disc Brake
Flx Trail Flx Branded Saddle
Flx Trail 170mm Cranks
Flx Trail Front 100mm Hub Spacing
Flx Trail Electric Bike Review
Flx Trail
Flx Trail 170mm Cranks Angled
Flx Trail 13ah Battery Suntour Xcr Suspension
Flx Trail Flx Branded Bafang Control Center
Flx Trail Button Pad Throttle On Left
Flx Trail Flx Branded Bafang Control Center Close
Flx Trail Shimano Alivio Trigger Shifters On Right
Flx Trail Spank Handlebars
Flx Trail Shimano Alivio Derailleur
Flx Trail 13ah Battery Kenda 27.5 Inch Tires
Flx Trail Rear 135mm Hub Spacing
Flx Trail Bafang 350 Watt Mid Drive Motor
Flx Trail 180 Mm Tektro Auriga Hydraulic Disc Brake
Flx Trail Flx Branded Saddle
Flx Trail 170mm Cranks
Flx Trail Front 100mm Hub Spacing

Summary

  • A hardtail cross country style electric mountain bike with quiet Bafang Max Drive 350-watt mid-drive motor, adjustable top speed upwards of 35 mph position it for private property or OHV use only
  • Three different colors to choose from - White Lightning, Carbon Black, and Gun Metal Gray - with several different upgradable options including a larger battery, rear rack, fenders, and integrated lighting
  • Custom designed frame with sturdy rear-end, internally routed cables keep it looking clean and reduce snags, large LCD display, powerful 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes with motor inhibitors
  • Offers pedal assist and trigger throttle operation, excellent weight distribution, only sold direct at the time of this review but comes with a one-year warranty and FLX has been around since 2016
Warning, in some configurations this electric bike is classified as a moped or motorcycle and may not be ridden on cycling trails or paths. It may require licensing, insurance and lights when used on public roads.

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

FLX

Model:

Trail

Price:

$1,899 ($2,198 for Optional 17ah Battery, $2,169 for Optional Touring Package, $2,469 for Optional Touring Package + Optional 17ah Battery)

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Moped or Motorcycle (Class 4)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States, Worldwide

Model Year:

2018

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

50.3 lbs (22.81 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.8 lbs (3.08 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.5 lbs (3.85 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

19" Seat Tube, 24" Reach, 28.5" Standover, 24.75" Width, 73.5" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

White Lightning, Carbon Black, Gun Metal Gray

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCR Spring Suspension with 120 mm Travel, Lockout, Preload Adjust, 9 mm Skewer, 100 mm Hub Spacing

Frame Rear Details:

135 mm Hub Spacing, 9 mm Skewer with Quick Release

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

9 Speed 1x9 Shimano Alivio Derailleur, Shimano CS-HG200-9 11-34T Cassette

Shifter Details:

Shimano Alivio Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Prowheel EB01, Aluminum Alloy, 170 mm Length, 40T Chainring with Narrow Wide Teeth, Aluminum Alloy Bash Guard

Pedals:

Wellgo KC005 Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Neco, Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2", Threadless, Internal Cups

Stem:

Neco, 6061 Aluminum Alloy, 80 mm Length, Two 10 mm Risers, 31.8 mm Clamp Diameter

Handlebar:

Aluminum Alloy, 630 mm Length, Low-Rise

Brake Details:

Tektro Auriga Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Dual Piston Calipers, Tektro Three-Finger Levers with Adjustable Reach and Motor Inhibitors

Grips:

Velo Flat Rubber with Lockers

Saddle:

FLX Branded Velo, Active

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.8 mm

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy, Double Walled, 25.6 mm Width, 32 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 13G, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda Nevegal, 27.5" x 2.1" (25-584)

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

40 to 65 PSI, 2.8 to 4.6 BAR

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

USB Charging Port on Control Center, Optional Rear Cargo Rack ($55), Optional Front and Rear Fenders ($55), Optional Suspension Seatpost ($40), Optional Smartphone Mount ($20), Optional Integrated Headlight and Taillight ($100)

Other:

Locking Removable Downtube Mounted Battery Pack with USB Port, FLX Branded Bafang Control Center

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

750 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

LG

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

13 ah (Optional 17.5 ah)

Battery Watt Hours:

468 wh (Optional 630 wh)

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Display Type:

FLX Branded Bafang DP C18, Fixed Backlit LCD, (Double Press i for Settings Menu and Password)

Readouts:

Current Speed, Max Speed, Average Speed, Odometer, Tripometer, Range, Calories, Trip Timer, Clock, Mode, Watts or Amps, Battery in Percentage or Bar, Assist Level (0-5)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Left, USB Type A Port on Display Panel

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (Measures Pedal Torque, Cadence and Wheel Speed)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph) (25 MPH with Throttle Only)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Trail is the second bike in FLX’s lineup I’ve reviewed so far, and like the Blade, the Trail is a fun, purpose-built electric mountain bike designed with dirt trails in mind. It only comes in one frame size, 19”, but offers three different colors: Electric White, Carbon Black and Gun Metal Gray. It also comes in a few different configurations. The base model of the Trail runs for $1,899, the Touring Package runs for $2,169 and includes a rear rack, integrated front and rear lights and fenders, and there’s also the option of upgrading the 13ah battery to a 17.5ah battery for an additional $299. The Trail has a higher-than-normal top speed, upwards of 40 mph, placing it squarely outside the typical classes of electric bikes. The high top speed is cool for tearing through the trails, but it also means it’s likely illegal to ride in most places, making the Trail more of an off-highway vehicle (OHV) or private property experience as opposed to general cross country and trail riding. Riding this bike on the road could pose some legal issues, especially in the case of an accident, so please be careful. Because the Trail can be considered an unregistered vehicle (due to its top speed), there may be some serious legal ramifications if you were to hit another biker, pedestrian, vehicle or even damage public or private property. That being said, given the Trail only has a 350 watt mid-drive motor, I don’t think it’s likely I could hit the top advertised speed of 40 mph unless I was on level pavement in some sort of super aero position. However, I was able to get it close to 30 mph relatively easily and have ranked it as a 35 mph bike in the stats here. FLX started as FLUX back in 2016. They launched an Indiegogo campaign, asking for $50,000 and raked in an incredible $1.7 million from the campaign, plus an additional $400,000 from their website. Needless to say, they crushed it. FLX has dropped the “U” and now they have some second-generation models being added to the lineup. So let’s dive into the Trail and see what this bike is all about.

Driving the trail is a 350-watt mid-drive motor, called the Max Drive from Bafang. This is the second time I’ve tested a bike with this specific motor and I like it even more this time around. While it’s nowhere near as powerful as the 1,000-watt motor on the Blade, it is far quieter. It’s so quiet, in fact, that I have to strain to hear it running. The motor has a modest 80 newton meters of torque, but thats more than enough to help get me (as a 200 lb rider) climb some steeper hills. Riding the Trail with this motor is an entirely different experience than the Blade (obviously :). With the Blade, it felt almost like the bike could get away from me because of the immense power, but with the Trail, it feels more like it’s assisting me – like I’m in control vs. the bike being in control. I also appreciate the 350-watt motor as it still allows me to get my heart rate up, even when I’m on the highest pedal-assist mode. The torque sensor on the Trail works well with the motor, giving power almost immediately after I apply pressure to the cranks and stopping just as quickly when I let off the gas. Like I mentioned in the FLX Blade review, I deeply appreciate the torque sensor versus a cadence sensor as it allows for a finer degree of control when traveling at low speeds. This is especially important to me when I’m trying to navigate trickier terrain. I like that when I stop pedaling, the motor stops giving power. I’ve run into issues before with cadence sensors where I’m trying to creep along a ridge crest or something and the motor just doesn’t want to shut off. Thankfully, that’s not an issue at all with the Trail. With this particular setup, the motor will technically continue giving pedal assist up to 40 mph, but the top speed with the throttle is limited to 25 mph.

I like the trigger throttle design that FLX went with for this bike because it will stay out of the way compared to a twist throttle and allow you to focus on steering and grip if the terrain gets rough. You cannot activate the throttle at standstill, which can be annoying when you go to start, but this does make it a bit safer to mount and dismount the bike when it’s turned on. I usually try to remember to turn off electric bikes with throttles before doing anything besides riding them, especially messing with the gears, fixing flats, or mounting them to my car rack. The way this throttle works is that you have to be moving upwards of five miles per hour before it goes active… I have tested other ebikes where you only have to go one or two miles per hour, and I preferred those. You may notice that at one point during the ride test in the video review, I was struggling to go fast enough (while climbing) to get the throttle active. It was a bit annoying and perhaps this is a setting that FLX can adjust in the future. Thankfully, the throttle can override all of the assist levels with 100% power once you are going fast enough. It’s a convenient way to zip up to speed or climb a hill without adjusting the assist level using the button pad.

Braking with the Trail is a breeze. It’s equipped with 180 mm, dual-piston Tektro hydraulic disc brakes in the front and rear, with adjustable-reach, three-finger brake levers. Thanks to the motor inhibitors, the motor shuts off whenever the brake levers are depressed. This ensures I’m not fighting against the motor when braking, which could increase my overall stopping distance. There are moments when I have felt a bit of adrenaline and accidentally twisted throttles or kept pedaling even as I pulled the brakes, and motor inhibitors are really nice to cancel out any unwanted or unintended signals like this, especially at higher speeds. I like that FLX opted to go with 180 mm rotors since this is really meant to be an off-road trail blazer (probably why they named it the Trail). The larger rotor diameter helps to improve leverage over the wheels and allows them to cool faster. The brake levers are also adjustable reach, a feature I dig as I sometimes find the levers can pinch my hands when set too close. It’s nice to know I could let them out (or take them in if I was wearing thicker gloves) if I needed to. The Shimano Alivio trigger shifters work well enough, but unlike the Blade, there doesn’t appear to be a shift sensor with the Trail. So the motor will continue to run when you switch through the gears. With only 350 watts of power and 80 newton meters of torque, there will of course be far less strain on the components compared to the much more powerful Blade, but I could still run into problems if I don’t let off the gas before shifting. Over time, the chain, sprockets, and derailleur will take some abuse if you don’t ease off when shifting. The Trail also loses the frame-mounted chain guide featured on the Blade, but retains the aluminum bash guard and narrow-wide chain ring tooth setup as mentioned earlier.

The frame itself is made from aluminum alloy, offering an average curb weight of 50 pounds. And, since the motor is located low on the middle of the frame, and since the battery is on the down tube, it’s pretty well balanced. There’s probably two main reasons this bike is so much lighter than the Blade: It has a much smaller motor and battery. The roughly 10-pound difference between the Trail and Blade is definitely noticeable when riding and I was able to flick the Trail around pretty easily during the ride test. The frame also looks pretty cool (to my eyes) and was custom designed by FLX to take a beating. The Trail I tested was the Electric White color, which stands out nicely against pretty much all backgrounds and would be more visible in dark conditions. While the Electric White color does stand out, I might lean more towards the Carbon Black myself since everything is all one color. With that setup, the battery and cables really disappear into the frame and it has a stealthier look. One of my biggest complaints about the frame though is the lack of rear suspension. While I could add a seat post suspension, it’s not the same as an integrated rear suspension. Additionally, the tires are only 2.1 inches wide, and since this bike doesn’t have boost, I can’t add plus size tires, which would increase the overall air volume and make for a cushier ride. FLX does offer a seat post suspension of their own, but most aftermarket seat post suspensions with a 31.8 mm diameter should also work (or you could use a shim to hit this size, I was a little surprised at my own measurements of 31.8 mm because it seems like 31.6 mm is much more common, feel free to correct me in the comments below). The frame also has fender bosses, water bottle bosses and rear rack bosses, which are great for those who want to pedal through the city on the Trail (but just remember the potential legal issues of doing so). The locking, integrated battery fits snugly to the frame and doesn’t bulge out past the sides. It’s a 36 volt, 13 amp hour battery, but there’s also that option of the larger 17.5 amp hour battery for those who want to ride further (and I love that that pack does not bulge out past the sides).

FLX estimates the range at around 60 miles in the lowest pedal assist setting with the 13ah battery, but I think realistically I would get around 20 miles with the way I ride. I really appreciate that the battery and display console up at the handlebars have USB ports for charging accessories on the go! You could use this to maintain the charge of your smartphone while using GPS and then take the battery pack off and use it to power other portable electronics while camping etc. Mounted in the middle of the handlebar is the FLX-branded Bafang control center, which offers tons of information. This control center displays current speed, top speed, average speed, range, battery level, pedal assist mode, wattage output and quite a bit more. More importantly, I can see it in direct sunlight! The only downside to this display is that it’s not easily removable, so leaving it unattended in a public place could subject it to tampering. Another cool thing about this control center is the extensive configuration options. I can set up a passcode to keep children or anyone else from accessing the electronics. I can also change the top speed to whatever I like. So if I want to tone this bike down, that’s an option.

I think the Trail is a good choice for those looking for a fun off-road electric mountain bike that’s capable of reaching higher top speeds. While there’s a few compromises to hit that lower price, like boost and rear suspension, it still feels more than capable of tackling pretty serious trails. This was a fun bike to test and I’d like to thank FLX and especially Rob for partnering with me on this review and for coming all the way out to California to hang out! As a closing thought, it appears that the fork used here is a spring design vs. air, this increases the weight and limits adjustability but also saves costs. It does offer preload adjust, but no rebound, so it could feel bouncy and is just a bit cheaper than you’d get from a nicer mountain bike suspension fork. Had they gone with an air fork or a more adjustable spring with hydraulic damping, the overall weight of the bike would be lower or the performance might be more fine-tuneable. I would consider the 50 lb weight of this e-bike to be a bit high considering that the bike we reviewed didn’t have the rack or lights. For a naked hardtail with standard width hubs and average sized tires, it’s not super lightweight, but even the stock sized battery is a touch above average in terms of capacity and the weight is all centrally located and fairly low on the frame. I love that it has room for a bottle cage on the seat post, and that they included bosses here to mount one easily.

Pros:

  • With a base price of $1,899, the Trail is much more affordable than the FLX Blade, which starts at $3,999, as well as many other high-speed ebikes, it’s very capable and has a great motor/battery setup from Bafang
  • The frame is purpose-built for off-road use, offering tons of rigidity and the weight of the motor and battery are positioned low and center to improve handling
  • The LCD control center offers tons of information and is easily visible even in direct sunlight, you can angle it a bit to reduce glare, navigating through the different display features is intuitive and I was able to reach the button pad without taking my left hand off the grip
  • With a max speed of 35 mph, this thing is much faster than most electric bikes, but the top speed can also be toned down through the options in the control center
  • Bafang’s Max Drive motor is incredibly quiet and smooth but still very responsive, the motor controller relies on a multi-sensor to gauge rear wheel speed, pedal cadence, and pedal torque
  • Locking integrated battery pack fits snugly into the frame and doesn’t bulge out past the sides, it also has a full sized USB Type A port at the bottom to charge accessories (just be careful not to bump this when pedaling, you might want to use it as an energy bank off the bike)
  • 180 mm, dual piston, hydraulic disc brakes offer ample stopping power, which is especially important for an electric bike that can reach these kinds of speeds, the brake levers have motor inhibitors which make the bike safer to stop
  • Aluminum bash guard on the chainring should help protect the sprocket ring teeth from damage during log and rock strikes if you take the FLX Trail into the woods
  • The chain ring has a narrow-wide tooth pattern to help keep the chain securely locked on, this is really nice for riding at high speed on bumpy terrain, especially since there isn’t a chain guide
  • Locking screws on the end-cap of the grips ensure they won’t spin around when you bear down hard on the handlebars, this is a great safety feature and a little upgrade compared to cheaper products
  • Suntour XCR suspension works well enough to absorb moderate bumps and jumps, but isn’t as lightweight or adjustable as an air fork, it offers adjustable rebound and lockout however and both wheels have quick release skewers for easy trail maintenance
  • FLX offers several different variations to the base model, including upgraded battery and the Touring Package which includes a rear rack, fenders, and front and rear lights

Cons:

  • No rear suspension makes for a stiff bouncy ride which can buck the chain off track, you may also lose traction and control compared to full suspension… especially at higher speed, consider a 31.8 mm seat post suspension to make the bike more comfortable
  • The tires are relatively standard and don’t offer puncture protection, without Boost hub spacing there isn’t the option of swapping them out for much wider tires which would add a little bit more cushion and compensate for the lack of rear suspension
  • Shimano Alivio derailleur is nice enough, but it’s not e-bike specific and without shift sensing it may struggle to handle the power of the motor over time, so shift gears thoughtfully by easing off as you pedal
  • Control center isn’t removable, which means it could get scratched up if you crash the bike or if it’s left out in the open at a public bike rack, it also means that if a passcode isn’t enabled then anyone, including children, could potentially operate the bike or tamper with the throttle at a rack
  • The handlebars feel a little narrow for a mountain bike, especially when compared to the very wide handlebars on the FLX Blade
  • No chain guide means the chain has a higher chance of popping of towards the inside, but at least the narrow-wide teeth are there to keep it tight
  • Higher potential top speed limits where the FLX Trail ebike can legally be ridden, since this is technically a Class 4 vehicle, there could be some legal liability in the event of a crash or property damage
  • Base price of $1,899 is good, but adding the Touring Package and upgraded battery adds more than $500 to the purchase which seems like much more than the cost of the upgrades
  • Skewers are used instead of thru axles, and this coupled with the standard hub spacing seems like it may not be enough structural integrity to handle the highest top speed of 35+ mph
  • The throttle does not become active until you’re pedaling upwards of five miles per hour, which can take several pedal strokes to achieve… I understand and appreciate the safety of not having it active when the bike is completely still but would prefer a one or two mile per hour activation vs. five because there are times when climbing steep sections that the bike just won’t go as fast and the throttle could cut out even though you really need it to help you up, most other ebikes with throttle limiters are set at ~2 mph in my experience

Resources:

More FLX Reviews

FLX Roadster Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An affordable high-speed electric road bike with efficient narrow tires, no suspension by default but FLX does offer a seat post upgrade along with optional fenders, rack, and lights for safer night riding. Three different colors to choose from: White Lightning, Carbon Black, and Gun Metal Gray, only…...

FLX Blade Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

Purpose-designed electric made for extreme off-road use with a 1000-watt mid-drive motor, 17.5 ah battery and top speed upwards of 40 mph, it looks like a bicycle but is classified more as a moped. Extra large 203 mm, quad piston, hydraulic disc brakes provide ample stopping power, which is…...

2016 FLX Trail Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A mid drive, hardtail electric mountain bike with pedal assist and throttle mode, capable of higher top speeds with assist ~25 mph. Funded through Indiegogo in March 2016 at a discounted price, available to ship worldwide with…...


Ken
5 months ago

The FLX ebikes look impressive from a small start-up. The Blade and Trail look like the same basic frame that Magnum uses on their Magnum Peak but it’s a rear geared hub drive. I just have the impression the mid-drive system is best for slower speeds and lower speed climbing and that hub drives are superior when riding long distances at high speeds (15 – 30 mph) because the torque is directly applied to the rear wheel (mid drives benefit from gear ratios at low speeds but once your riding at high speeds the front to rear chain ring ratios effectively reduce torque delivery to the rear wheel).

I still like how there is room in the market for some innovative companies like FLX that want to push the legislative boundries that limit the adoption of eBikes for transportation in the US (time is money so anyone commuting on an bike is going to want to sustain speeds in the 25-35mph when the road is smooth and clear).

I my opinion, anyone commuting on a bike sharing the road with cars that isn’t going at least 20mph is just an organ donar in the making. The danger of going fast reduces the likelihood of being hit by a car and thus improves safety overall. Sure, a biker can still wreck on his own but most wrecks under 35mph aren’t going to be be that seriously injured (it’s the impact with autos that kill most bikers).

Reply
court
5 months ago

Thanks for your input and feedback Ken! I have heard similar arguments about going “with the speed of traffic” and feeling more safe and respected. I like that there are options for mopeds and electric motorcycles that truly fit in and are designed to handle the added forces of speed and offer the appropriate signaling tools. I feel that these higher speed ebikes are neat, but should be treated with caution from a legal standpoint, or if the basic 9 mm skewers get worn down etc. I have heard of people breaking bones because their regular bicycle had a loose front wheel and they did a nosedive. I take safety pretty seriously (this is Court btw.) because I have been knocked out a couple of times while wearing a helmet doing non motorized sports. I don’t want to see anyone get seriously hurt or sued if something goes wrong. But again, I appreciate your feedback and do agree with the convenience of higher speed and personal freedom to make ones own choices :)

Reply
Skot
3 months ago

Hey guys, Thanks for the great review on the FLX Trail here. I am considering this bike for my wife, who is 5’4″ tall. Unfortunately, the Trail only comes in one frame size (19″). Can you offer any opinion regarding how you think it will fit her?

She currently rides a 2012 Cannondale Flash 29er, Medium frame size. I’m having trouble interpreting the specs wording in order to accurately compare the two bikes sizes. For what it’s worth, she does a variety of riding but nothing ever aggressive; low key paved bike trails, hard packed dirt trails and a blue or green single track every once in a while. Do you think the FLX Trail frame size will work for her?

Reply
court
3 months ago

Hi Skot! Great question, thanks for sharing the details about her height and current bicycle, that really helps. The main thing to look at is frame stand over height, which Brent measured at ~28.5″ for the FLX Trail. If this is taller than the current stand over, then your wife may struggle to mount and control the bike at stops. We measure this by going from the ground up to the top tube just in front of the saddle nose. This is how high you need to be to “stand over” the frame without hitting your crotch.

The FLX Trail has 27.5″ tires vs. 29″ tires on the Cannondale, so the entire frame is about an inch lower… which lowers the standover height if the Cannondale is also a high-step diamond style frame. Is that the case or is it a mid-step or step-thru model? If the standover is similar, you can always slide the saddle forward to decrease reach, lower the seat height by adjusting the seat post, and even get a shorter stem or swept back handlebar pretty inexpensively (just make sure to get a matching 31.8 mm stem and bar). I hope this helps you make a decision and I welcome your feedback if you do go for the bike, it might help others who are in a similar position :)

Reply
dean
2 months ago

According to FLX top speed of Trail is 28mph. The Blade is 35 mph on with throttle, 40+ in pedal assist

Reply
court
2 months ago

Thanks for the feedback, I just updated the review. This ebike was covered by Brent and I didn’t interface with the company directly, my apologies for some rough edges and possible incorrect details, Dean.

Reply
Mike
2 months ago

Sorry folks, but anyone thinking a 350 watt motor, with only a 36 volt design is going to allow them to hit 28 mph on a regular basis, is kidding themselves. Unless of course you are going downhill all the time. the claimed ‘750 watt peak’ is what is known as an instantaneous measure of power when the motor is drawing a higher level of amps such as in a sudden hill climbing situation. Its really sort of false advertising , as all motors have peak draws above their nominal wattage rating. If you want to go 28 mph on a regular basis, you will want for sure a 48 volt motor, battery combination.

Reply
court
2 months ago

Thanks for the feedback, Mike! I speak with different companies often, and some purposefully limit speed in order to help make their motors last longer. I cannot speak to FLX performance directly because this review was conducted by Brent… and he was still learning when he did it. I have tried to edit and touch up the written portion but comments like yours go a long way to set expectations. Do you own one of these ebikes or have you had experiences with similar builds?

Reply
Alan
2 days ago

The thumb throttle top speed is 20 MPH, maybe it was once 25 but mine is 20, Inoticed this error was made a couple time on the video too, for what it’s worth.
thanks, great reviews Court, kepp up the good work :)

Reply
court
1 day ago

Interesting, thanks for the feedback Alan! Hope you’re still enjoying the FLX Trail and I welcome any further corrections or additions here and in the FLX Fourms :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

jasonatepaint
19 hours ago

I recently purchased the FLX Blade and couldn't be happier. After spending the last 8 months dealing with a different, terrible buying experience from another vendor, I got in touch with FLX. Rob, one of the founders, called me back immediately and answered my questions and confirmed that the bike was in stock and ready to ship. I made the purchase on a Thursday and had the bike the following Tuesday morning.

This is the third eBike in my personal fleet. The others are an Easy Motion Evo Cross 48v 500w hub and a Juiced OceanCurrent 48v hub, so I was excited to transition into a mid-drive system. All of the specs listed on the website were 100% accurate. It was packaged and secured perfectly in a box (inside another box) with padding and other instruments to make sure no component on the bike could be damaged in shipping. Following the youtube video for assembling the bike, I had it put together in less than 30 minutes.

This bike is fast. It is scary-fun fast. I mostly ride in eco mode as I'm trying to actually get a workout when I bike, but man... when you put it in SPORT mode and set it to assist-level 5, it's insane. I put on https://www.schwalbetires.com/bike_tires/road_tires/super-moto-x on it for a smoother ride in town... they're great for the road and the hike/bike trails.

I've put on about a 130 miles on it so far and it's been an amazing time! I am in bike-love. Austin is pretty hilly and the Blade just tears it up and is so much more battery-efficient when it comes to drivetrain power. Something that would eat 20% or more battery on the hubs, takes a 1-2% hit to the battery on the same given path. That's not a scientific study, just an observation of riding the same paths everyday.

If you're questioning or considering the Blade, feel free to reach out and I'll give my honest answers to your questions. I'm not affiliated with any eBike company... just became a fan of FLX with this purchase. :)

jasonatepaint
19 hours ago

In an attempt to make a tl;dr, here's the highlights:

[*]Purchased the Juggernaut Ultra 8 months ago.

[*]Paid for upgraded suspension and got the standard suspension.
[*]Brakes were listed as hydraulic and I got mechanical
[*]I had this bike for a couple weeks with quality control issues and required several trips to my local eBike shop to have them make adjustments.

[*]Continuous issues and ultimately the motor fails and I contact Roshan to get it replaced. There are none in stock, so I have to wait for a new batch.

[*]I notice they have "limited stock" for the Juggernaut Ultra FS. I inquire about it and told it's not actually in stock, but that I could upgrade to it and it would be available in February.
[*]The bike is shipped back to Roshan

[*]In late May, the bike is finally making it's way to me. Before it ships, I verify with Roshan (multiple times) the specs of the Ultra FS to make sure, namely, that it had hydraulic brakes. I am assured they are hydraulic brakes.
[*]The bike arrives to my local UPS depot. They contact me because the box is so poorly packed and is damaged. They bring it out for inspection and the entire bottom of the box is blown out and the front forks are hanging out.

[*]The bike was put into a very thin, single-walled box. Nothing tied down and no padding.
[*]While inspecting the bike, I notice that on top of minor damage (that I could visually see), it also had mechanical brakes on it... AGAIN!

[*]I refused the shipment and began the refund process.

Eight months ago I started looking for a new “fast” eBike. It was going to be my third and I wanted to go all out on something. After a lot of searching, I realized that many companies were using the same motor/controller (Bafang Ultra) systems and frames. I figured all parts equal, that good customer service could make the sale. And that’s exactly what happened. After a weekend chat with Roshan Thomas, the owner of Biktrix, which was almost rapid fire (at all hours of the day/night) to answer every single question I had. There was never a “No”, it was always, “Sure. We can do that”. I was smitten and immediately pulled the trigger and bought the Juggernaut Ultra with the 20ah battery. At $3659, It checked almost all of my boxes.

Eight months later, what I learned was that quick responses does NOT equal a great customer experience. At first I really was amazed with Biktrix. I thought this was a guy who really loved eBikes. But what I experienced was someone who would say what ever he had to, to make the sale... A used car salesman.

I was given false information often... beyond shipping dates. I understand dealing with shipments from China and Customs can slow things down, but the false statements and lies through omission were outrageous. They included:

[*]Website showed the Juggernaut Ultra with hydraulic brakes. According to Roshan:
[*]Website had a $160 upgrade for Top Gun suspension. Showed up w/stock suspension. When I ask, Roshan tells me:
[*]Website showed that the Juggernaut Ultra FS has "limited stock". When I inquire about upgrading, Roshan tells me:
[*]Website STILL shows that the Ultra FS has hydraulic brakes. It arrived with mechanical brakes. According to Roshan:

[*]First thing.... no, they were not in the box. Although I told him I did not look thru the entire box, I did (to see what sort of lie I would get at this point)... and they were NOT in the box. It's possible they fell out of the box as it had holes in it. See attached picture.
[*]Secondly, others noted that the China factory pictures that showed the Ultras had mechanical brakes. Roshan noted that the bikes are shipped to Canada and they put on all the upgrades. So if that was the case, WHY would the hydraulic brakes not be installed instead of shoved in a box?

[*]The Shipment dates shifted every month.

[*]February - Original ship date
[*]March - Roshan says:
[*]April - Roshan says:
[*]May - After asking again and telling Roshan the original date was February, I am told:

[*]It's true, I did switch to the Ultra FS... but as he already stated previously, both bikes were shipping at the same time.

Bottom Line
I'm a reasonable person and understand a business like this can be difficult and competitive. Roshan is very easy to work with. You'll never get a "No, we can't do that" response. While I always got a fast response from him, I never knew what was actually true. It always felt like a "Will he notice?" approach to pushing his product. The most important part is to get the bike into someone's hands and deal with the fallout/lies later.

That was the bizarre part, for me, as a business model.... instead of marketing and selling a product w/accurate specs, his website over promises w/inaccurate specs and hopes that only a percentage will notice/speak up. For the ones that do, he's willing to spend hours wheeling and dealing to find a way to fix the problem.

I ended up buying an FLX Blade (not a fat tire that I was originally going for), but uses the same Bafang Ultra. I ordered on a Thursday and had the bike shipped to Austin by the following Tuesday. It was double-boxed with everything tied down. Additionally, the website's information was 100% accurate... including it's 203mm rotors and quad piston hydraulic brakes... something you REALLY need for a bike w/this motor on it. The Blade has been amazing and the buying experience exactly what I had hoped the Biktrix would be.
------

NOTE: To the person in the US that got my used 20ah battery, I hope it was sold to you as a used battery. Instead of shipping everything back to Canada, I was given a FedEx form to ship the battery and charger to another customer in the US to avoid the cost/customs charges. This seemed shady to me, but I complied to speed the processing of my refund.

P.S. Here's how the Ultra FS showed up before I ultimately refused the shipment

Diarmuid
1 week ago

I rented a https://www.r-m.de/en-us/e-bike/charger/charger-nuvinci-hs-us/#17Z04US_050108 with the dual batteries and after using it for two days... I wasn't impressed. It seemed really under powered for what it costs. My wife's https://www.radpowerbikes.com/products/radcity-electric-commuter-bikehad more pep and it felt like it would maintain its speed more consistently. For now I'm leaning towards the https://www.juicedbikes.com/products/crosscurrent-s, a FLX https://flx.bike/collections/bikes/products/blade w/ touring package and city tires like the roadster has, or a https://lunacycle.com/ebike-kit-1000-watt-waterproof-connectors-hub-motor-conversion/. Anyone have feedback on either or? Right now the XXL CCS is not available so I have time.

I've toyed with the idea of doing a full build but I haven't found a naked frame like the FLX Blade with the mid drive housing that will accept a Gates drive. Maybe https://www.rodbikes.com/index.html will be able to help me out.

Mark Peralta
3 weeks ago

The FLX blade is a highly capable ebike but as a daily high speed commuter with a very powerful mid drive, you would be looking at frequently replacing the chain, every 800 miles or less.

Mattlow165
3 weeks ago

Get a flx blade and be done with it if you want speed and realizability and great support

Rooster
1 month ago

Oh I don't think the sur Ron boys are the only one's that are gonna screw up the ebike industry. You got a lot of companies out there that are building bikes that are clearly outside the guide lines but they find ways around it like off road mode, etc.etc. At least the sur Ron is clearly an off road bike and not meant for the street like some I've seen. They don't even come with pedals and clearly not trying to be a bicycle. Juiced, Biktrix, flx, they all build "bicycles" that do well over the legal limit. J.S. Luna definitely opened a can of worms with the 52v battery but the others don't mind jumping on the bandwagon. No reason to go any more than 48v if you're looking to keep it legal but almost everyone wants that speed. 28 mph or ride a motor cycle.

Reid
1 month ago

I will have a pair of 2.35" wide Schwalbe G-One Speed tires in a week and will let you know if this size will fit the rear of a CCS. We know beyond doubt it works fine in the front, thanks to Asher! Well, he has a different fork there, but....I know it will fit my CCS fork!

Agreeing too with your choice of the medium step through. I do think I would have been better off getting that, or a medium diamond frame, because I can always raise the seat post. And the lower top tube, the easier it may be to mount or to straddle a bike...to let it be tried out by others.

dean1
1 month ago

I decided on the CCS and ordered the medium step-thru last night. Deciding factors were: easy to hop on and off bike, esp in tight places, compared to my prodeco I am sure it will be faster for longer range, relatively light and easier to hoist onto a rack. Runners up were from FLX, Biktrix and iZip.

If I ever get the to the JB warehouse before shipping I will try the diamond frame and possibly switch models

While I wait I'll spruce up my dusty Prodeco and sell it or make it a "guest bike."

Thanks everyone for all the thoughts

dean1
1 month ago

HUH??? I can buy a FLX right now withour pre-ordering. Bikes are in stock and ship in 7 days.

devhead
1 month ago

FLX bikes stopped taking pre-orders because it led to horrible customer satisfaction when the supply chain failed outside of their control. JB/Tora take a hit for every bad battery, manufacturing defect, late shipment, etc...

Fishwater
1 month ago

So after extensive searching online here's what I've come up with, please correct me if I'm wrong.

There's either the mid drive Bosch, Brose, Yamaha units built into "real style" mountain bikes, ie traditional mountain bike brand components with full frame geometry specs listed. Pros are quality components, LBS support, trail geometry & most bike like feel. Cons the class 1 20 mph limit, 350w output, proprietary batteries, 36V low watt hour batteries (400-500WH max) & cost.

Or there's the internet brands like Biktrix, FLX, Rad power, etc. Pros are 28mph pedal assist at minimum, throttles, non proprietary batteries & adjustable motor output, ie 500w, 750 or 1000. Cons are no frame specs given, many share the same exact frame with only some components differing between brands, possible quality concerns depending on vendor, possible support based on vendor & sustainability of the company long term for warranty.

I'm not knocking the internet guys since I really don't need local support for tuning & repairs.
But it seems that I can't find a big wattage drive unit with a throttle in a frame that lists geometry or is most like traditional bikes unless I build one correct?

Bruce Arnold
1 month ago

It's the Reention Dorado. Next question.

Dewey
1 hour ago

I commute from Arlington to the District of Columbia on a Class 2 ebike and there are no safe on-street road crossings of the Potomac for ebikes or pedal bicycles, all the bridges are fast 45mph arterial roads (not legally of course, that’s just the speed the traffic goes). I am obliged to ride on the bridge sidewalks and I break DC municipal regulations both ways in order to cross the river safely. With Uber/Jump advocating for change there’s a good chance the District will revise its regulations in the next year or two to permit Class 1 & 2 ebikes to ride on sidewalks outside the central business district, although the prohibition from trails and sidewalks on National Park Service land will likely remain in place. On the way home after I cross the river I get off the trails as soon as practical to ride on the street to avoid having to pass pedal bikes going up hill.

jwt355
7 hours ago

I have 100% faith that if you stuck with it Jason that Roshan would of come through big for you. Im a new buyer who just dropped close to 6k on my fully upgraded Juggernaut I have 100% confidence that he will deliver what I ordered. Glad you found a bike that worked out for you. Sometimes these growing pains have to happen in order for companies to work out issues. To bad you had to be the one to be part of that journey. But I take great comfort in the fact that Roshan was working with you to try to make it right. Sometimes things just are not meant to be. This sounds like the situation for you.

Best of luck and hope to see you out on the trails.

Alaskan
10 hours ago

On The Centennial Trail just northeast of Seattle.

mrgold35
12 hours ago

I'm starting to see the sun starting to pop over the Sandia mountains during my 5:30am work commute. Some pics I took when I ride the bike bridge next to the I-40 over the Rio Grande River in ABQ, NM (2016 Radrover). Miles of excellent paved, hardpacked, and single track bike trails running north/south along the Rio Grande river. I sometimes take detours in the afternoon and ride those trails before heading up the bridge to ride home. A lot of folks either ride 2-4 mph or walk their bikes up this bridge because of the steep incline. I can ride 10-15 mph up this incline with my Radrover depending on headwind (10-15 mph, gust +20 mph) and heat (+95 degrees most days in summer).

Reid
1 day ago

Hi John, I am about 165 today (am losing weight by virtue of having no e-assist the past few weeks, grin) and because of the relatively large volume of the present tires there is no fear on streets of rim cutting the tire.

But I think I may stick with 30 or 35PSI, a slightly high sort of pressure for this tire, for the front, anyway.

The tire is still smooth at that pressure front and rear.

The pavement traction of the G-One Speed sort of tire at any pressure is astonishingly good.

Will hazard to say that the proprietary OneStar compound of these Schwalbe tires seems to be very good in the wet. I project this by braking tests only and not by cornering tests that I am afraid to try out at all.

I had a slip-out last November on my other bike with Michelin Protek Urban tires 700 X 38C. Wet concrete patio at a university building. Bike slipped right out from under me, boy was I caught by surprise as I turned at a very low speed. Injured my shoulder, which all these months later still hurts when I exercise.

Traction on wet surfaces is therefore a super high priority for myself. I feel your pain. I would buy a 500mile lifespan tire if it would guarantee I'd never have a slip and crash. The G-One/Big One lasts a lot longer than 500 miles and I think at this point it is as near a guarantee against slip and crash as I can possibly have on this bike.

On dry and not sandy pavement the front tire simply cannot skid no matter how hard the brake is used. The bike will endo before it would break traction. You expect that, however, of a decent tire. But the very wide contact patch of the present tire, which will only expand and get longer and wider on heavy pressure, inspires the feeling that it cannot slip out from under you on clean pavement. It feels secure, seems very secure on the wet, too. I just don't have the gumption to test it very hard in wet weather cornering.

Yet so far so very good. G-One Speed and LiteSkin for me. My bike these days about pedals itself. Without the electric assist system. I will never have a regular bike tire or heavy duty or puncture resistant reinforced bike tire for my preferred ride again.

PS: I want to make clear that even very low rolling resistance does not make a bike like this keep up with road bikes. It is the wind resistance. This morning I went out early and was passed by all manner of road bikers togged in lycra on aero bikes and in aero postures. The low rolling resistance of a fat tired bike does make a big difference you will feel at low speeds. If my bike at 16mph (which I can easily pedal all day long) is saving me 15W of power over stock tires, I would not be surprised at that. And for a weak cyclist like myself, not having to input 15 more Watts to go 15 or 16mph, is a big plus. The bike just goes up to speed easy and is easy to cruise on level ground I think a couple of mph more than stock tires allow. Definitely much easier to accelerate. These tires are LiteSkin, very light, lower inertia than stock tires. And reducing the mass at the OD of a large wheel like a 700c/622, really does make the thing easier to spin up to speed. Heavy OD of a wheel means you have not only to accelerate mass of the bike forward, but also accelerate ugly mass rotationally. Two different kinds of acceleration, the accomplishment of which absorbs power rather unrecoverably, in direct proportion to how fast you want to, or need to, speed up.

john peck
1 day ago

GGolly. Reid, if you can run on pressure that low, you might consider becoming a jockey :) Anything less than 45 psi, and
I'm riding on rims. Just put 26"x2.35 Kenda Kraniums on the light gasser, fast rolling on firm sand. The heavy one's got a 2.7"
Butcher in front that serves to intimidate anything in it's path. One scary lookin' tire, but I can steer no matter how soft the
sand or mud gets. I'm really beginning to hate the marathons on the CCS. Simply not made for an ebike with a galoot like me
riding. I thought they were dodgy on the wet, but they're worse on hot asphalt. Riding on cinder trails has not improved their grip.
Got some all surface 29" x 2.25s ordered. I'm kinda of tired of trying to keep the bike under me.

Dan Edwards
1 day ago

I didn't think Canadian bikes were allowed over 500 watt?
I can attest to the power of both 500 and 750watt rear hubs.
I frequent pulling my daughter on a trailer bike up and down hills in my area of virginia.
I like the 750 watt much better, it also has throttle enabled.
If I was going full suspension, I would have to look at what " lunacycle" has to offer

WilliamT
2 days ago

I finally decided to put a suspension fork on my Radwagon because the MUP that I take can get pretty rough. Sometimes I take an alternate route that is double the distance but I have to ride over some pretty rough wooden bridges.

So I learned that a suspension fork raises the height of your wagon a bit because it wasn't designed for a cargo frame. LOL
I also learned the pain of removing and installing a crown race. Removal tool $35. Install tool $80 (Park glorified metal pipe). I also had to purchase a star nut installer. Once I got those tools, it was pretty straight forward.

Oh, the fork didn't come with a 1-1/8 inch star nut, so you'll need to get that separately.

I have a grin torque arm on the left (v4) for the 350 geared front hub. I added a second grid torque arm (v2) on the right just as an anchor for fastening the fender.

I don't plan on doing any hard trail riding so this fork (XCT) should be good enough. The fork has a 120mm travel. If I had to do it again, I would have gone with an 80 mm travel. The 120 mm was already opened so I got it for 40% off.

It was a good learning experience. If you look for a fork, the Radwagon has a 1 1/8 inch steerer tube that is 255 mm long. The XCT fork is also 255 mm so there is no need to cut the tube.

rich c
2 days ago

Access to Federal Trails means nothing to me. I'm not even sure there are any within several states. I don't think any bicycles at all are allowed on trails in the Shawnee National Forest. That's the closest to me. A $2,800 demo (150 miles) Full Seven Haibike I bought in November 2016 does really well for me.

From the US Forest Service; Presently, there are no designated bike trails in the Shawnee National Forest. The Forest has restrictions prohibiting mountain bikes from traveling off-road, in natural areas and in other non-motorized areas. This means mountain bikes are allowed only on roads. Generally, roads within the Shawnee National Forest consist of either dirt or gravel. In this area, state highways are narrow and have heavy truck use. Therefore, use extra caution when riding along these routes.

Mr. Coffee
2 days ago

I honestly don't get it.

Any street legal bike (and nearly all e-mtbs are street legal) are allowed on the over 60,000 miles of forest service roads. Most of those roads are very lightly used and quite a few are challenging and spooky enough to satisfy most any adrenaline junkie. According to Wikipedia, the National Park Service has approximately 12,500 miles of maintained trails, many of which would be totally inappropriate for any kind of mountain bike use, electric or not.

Please also keep in mind that relatively few trails on federal lands are open to any kind of bicycle. It isn't like e-mtbs are being singled out.

KenPurcell
2 days ago

Just after my 5th ride, the infamous error 30 showed up. I have not ridden in water, nor on trails. RADCity 2018. Rad Power bikes is sending me a new controller. When I pulled the motor connector apart, and powered up, the error 30 went away. They said it must be the controller.

VALERON Хотабычь
2 weeks ago

Little expansive... But I want 😅

low key
3 months ago

This bike is nice. But I choose radrhino for quality and price. Radpowerbikes are awesome.

World Traveller
4 months ago

Hey amazing Video. Keep Up the great Work

rod22lt
5 months ago

Good review! Thanks

Kobebrine
5 months ago

You got me intrigued with these bikes I'm interested in buying a ebike I just don't know what to buy can you give me some recommendations I'm not gonna pay over 3000 preferably something along the lines of 2300-2500 I need something that has a throttle that goes over 28+ pedal assist can be over 30 something that's light weight that'll last far as being up to date I won't have to buy one in the future, I love innovative the system on the bike is far as the ability password lock it and all that it offers. Can you guys give me the top brands or the whatever fits the description please!!!!!

John Martinez
5 months ago

I wanna hear about the bike. Not the laws. Not safety. The effing bike. Specs, speed, components, etc.

benzoesan sodu
5 months ago

Next remarked cheap frame from China xd
I dont joking. You can get identical frame for 140 bucks. So that bike have +- 40-50% of margin

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Feel free to link to what you've seen, the challenge with buying direct from China (from what I hear) is that the products may take longer to arrive, be damaged, and probably won't have the upgraded accessories or support like this one has. It's not really the same thing, more of a stripped down version, but that doesn't mean it's bad, thanks for your input :)

manifest 73
5 months ago

I own this bike your not going to hit 30mph with those tires, change to street tires then yes. But your going to have to pedal pretty hard. The draw back is the 350 watt motor, its good but torgue could be better.

pioneer7777777
4 weeks ago

juv mol I would look at Ohm. I have one and love the refinement of the Bionx D500 set up. They have a mountain model that's a speed pedelec. Urban models are on sale right now, that's what I got. I am happy to get away from Bafang motors and their electronics. My other ebike with Bafang cuts out all the time and I just don't trust it anymore.

juv mol
1 month ago

Do you regret spending tath much money for it?
I have the specialized turbo and want to change to mountain e bike cannot make my mind of off this one or the Rad Rover bike.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Thanks for the real-world feedback on this, hope you're enjoying your bike!

roadpanzir
5 months ago

One size frame? that's pretty sad.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

I think the smaller companies have to pick a single "common" size to help reduce their inventory variety and make the price lower so they can be competitive, but at least they offer different colors on most of their bikes :)

David Bradford
5 months ago

Court is so busy he is getting another guy to help do the reviews, glad to see that! Keep up the good work , both of you

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Thanks David, I met Brent because he had been producing some fun ebike related videos on his own channel and we decided to team up. It provides a different perspective and allows us to get all of the specs and make the website compare tool work even better while also reaching more people. Thanks for your well wishes, always open to feedback :D

Light Up The Truth
5 months ago

Is there anyone that can answer a question about the led display. I can't store it inside, when I have really hot or really cold weather will it hurt the display?

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Most electric bike displays are very water resistant, but you can put a bowl or sack over the top to keep water and snow off. The thing is, if you put a sack and some water gets in... and then it warms up outside, the water can evaporate inside the sack area and make its way into the display. In some ways, I have heard it can be best to simply leave it alone and let it get wet, it's designed to be sealed already

F r e e l e e
5 months ago

Another under power e bike .yawn......

F r e e l e e
5 months ago

Any bike with the BBS HD1000 - Bafang Mid Drive

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Which ebikes do you like best?

Emerald Green
5 months ago

I want the blade so baaaad

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

It's an exciting bike... neat to have some options like this in the space now :D

Gary Bryan
5 months ago

Nice drone coverage, thanks for the review much appreciated.

Herbert Torres
5 months ago

You made a very good point about your legal liability if you get into an accident with this class of bike. Even if you are not speeding and get into an accident. This is something that is often over looked by reviewers. And should be stated when applicable. Good for you and thanks.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Thanks Herbert, we are trying to be supportive of different products but also help guide people on how and where to use them appropriately. We love riding but want people to be safe too :)

Marlinspike Mate
5 months ago

Just because this 350w 36v e-bike  (comparatively weak) can have the top speed adjusted to above thirty does not mean it will do it. Many class three e-bikes have the ability to be set above 30mph for "off road mode", but this does not make it illegal to ride in class three or two areas so long as it is configured this way..

Mark Chapman
5 months ago

Hard to believe that any 350w motor goes 35mph. Mid drive or not, how many amps and how miles with out pedaling. Braking system sounds good, and I can shut down motor myself. I can build better than that for less money.

mobgma
5 months ago

Where is the other guy?

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Hey mobgma, this is Court! I'm still here... Brent is helping me to cover more bikes for EBR because I simply cannot get to them all. I realize we have different styles and levels of knowledge, I'm working with him to make these reviews as good as possible but I will still be reviewing A LOT on my own :)

D Danilo
5 months ago

Well done, Brent! I'm glad you addressed the issue of legality with the higher top speeds. It's nice to have these things figured out BEFORE an unhappy incident! Thanks!

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

I agree, this is a topic I have been exploring with Brent, trying to help explain the different scenarios so people could be aware. It's an awesome product, and pretty well priced, but we don't want to see anyone get hurt

Brian Moore
5 months ago

@ ebr The speed limiter is configurable on the controller, If I recall correctly, by default they are configured as a type 3,. You would have to go into the config to change the top speed, this is no different from any bike where you can get into the configuration. You can set up the controller to be a class 1 or class 2 pedelec. I have an attack, but I have removed the throttle, if for no other reason, throttles are stupid on ebikes, and I have configured it to be a type 1, so I can take it on bike trails. So the pro is you can configure the FLX to be a type 1,2 or 3, and technical be unregistered vehicle if you set the governor above the legal classifications, but IMO the benefit is not there vs the potential legal jeopardy, in combination you get very little speed upside.

You are incorrect on the cassette, unless they have recently changed them, it is an 11-34t, IMO this is an area that should be upgraded to a 11-38 or 11-40, it is less than $50 upgrade and if you are in a hilly it is well worth the change.

BTW the their bike is ok but they continue to have challenges on supporting their products, I think you should make that part of your review. IMO they have been trying to improve, but IMO they continue to be challenged. I have created a wiki for FLX bikes to help owners find information that you cant get from flx and how to support their bikes.

Joe N
5 months ago

The forks, the brakes makes this bike dangerous and your asking for your death! Immediately take those horrid horrid Suntour and tektro and throw them in that field. For the wild life to piss on lol

Isaiah Yhomas
5 months ago

Idiot

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

I agree that thru-axles would make the bike sturdier but the brakes looked solid and even though this is heavier than a traditional mountain bike by ~20 lbs, that's not much different from a rider who weighs 20 lbs more... and most bicycles are rated up to 250 lbs. Maybe the big takeaway here is that they saved cost by using some cheaper parts. The spring fork is cheaper and more basic, but not terrible, the 9 mm skewers are basic but can still handle a lot. I have ridden my regular mountain bike upwards of 40 mph on some steep off-road sections and it was fine. Still worth checking your parts and paying closer attention here anytime you plan to ride fast

D Danilo
5 months ago

Yes, Joe N, you really should tell us WHY the forks and brakes are such a danger. We see the same brands and models on dozens of other bikes.

Marlinspike Mate
5 months ago

how so? Aluminum framed road bikes have caliper rim brakes and reach speeds up 40+ mph