Haibike SDURO ALLMTN Plus Review

Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus Electric Bike Review
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus Yamaha Mid Drive Ebike Motor
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus Yamaha Battery 36v 11ah
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus Removable Lcd Display Panel Yamaha
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus Rockshox Lyrik Air Suspension Fork
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus Magura Mt5 Hydraulic Disc Brakes 203 Mm
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus Shimano Deore Xt Derailleur 10 Sprocket Cassette
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus Two Chainrings Shimano Deore Xt
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus 150 Mm Rockshox Monarch Rt
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus Electric Bike Review
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus Yamaha Mid Drive Ebike Motor
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus Yamaha Battery 36v 11ah
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus Removable Lcd Display Panel Yamaha
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus Rockshox Lyrik Air Suspension Fork
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus Magura Mt5 Hydraulic Disc Brakes 203 Mm
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus Shimano Deore Xt Derailleur 10 Sprocket Cassette
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus Two Chainrings Shimano Deore Xt
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Plus 150 Mm Rockshox Monarch Rt

Summary

  • A beautiful and capable all mountain style ebike with premium components from Schwalbe, Shimano, Magura and RockShox, the frame, fork and saddle are paint matched
  • The drive system is surprisingly powerful, delivering 80 Newton meters of peak torque output, it is also one of the quieter mid-drive systems and you get a wider range of gears (20 in this case)
  • Available in four frame sizes, adjustable suspension, sturdy thru-axles and quick release on both wheels, the frame is purpose-built with internal routing for all wires and cables including the dropper seat post
  • You pay more for the premium parts, the charger is bulky and heavy, I find that the motor has a limited RPM range which requires frequent shifting to achieve the maximum 20 mph top speed and there is no shift sensing protection system

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Haibike

Model:

SDURO ALLMTN Plus

Price:

$4,899

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Motor and Battery, 5 Year Frame

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53.2 lbs (24.13 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.5 lbs (2.94 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.6 lbs (3.44 kg)

Frame Material:

Hydroformed Aluminum Alloy 6061

Frame Sizes:

15.75 in (40 cm)17.32 in (43.99 cm)18.9 in (48 cm)20.47 in (51.99 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

32.5" Standover Height

Frame Types:

Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Pearlescent White with Black and Yellow Accents

Frame Fork Details:

RockShox Lyrik Air Suspension with Rebound Adjust, Compression and 150 mm Travel, 15 mm Thru Axle

Frame Rear Details:

RockShox Monarch RT Air Shock with Rebound Clicker, 142 / 12 mm Thru Axle

Gearing Details:

20 Speed 2x10 Shimano Deore XT , 11-36T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore XT Triggers on Left and Right

Cranks:

FSA CK-745 Cranks, FSA X-10 Chainring, 32/42T

Pedals:

XLC Freeride, Plastic Platform with Alloy Pins

Headset:

FSA No. 57, A-Head, Semi-Integrated, Tapered

Stem:

Xduro Aluminium, A-Head

Handlebar:

Sduro Lowriser Aluminum, 31" Length

Brake Details:

Magura MT5 Hydraulic Disc with 203 mm Rotor in Front and 180 mm Rotor in Back, Magura MT-5 Levers

Grips:

XLC Ergo Sport, Rubber, Lock On

Saddle:

Selle Royal Sirio

Seat Post:

XLC Pro, Remote Drop, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Alexrims, Alloy-Double Wall

Spokes:

Stainless Steel 14G, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Nobby Nic Performance, 3"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

Foldable, EVO, Tubeless Easy Snakeskin, Trail Star 3, 15-35 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta

Accessories:

Neoprene Slap Guard

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Quick Release Wheels and Seat Tube, Cable Inlets, Replaceable Plastic Skid Plate, Gravity Casting Motor Mount Interface with CNC Milled Connection and Bearing Seat Points, Zero Cadence Assist

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Yamaha

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

60 miles (97 km)

Display Type:

Removable, Backlit LCD Console

Readouts:

Trip Distance, Total Distance, Current Time, Trip Time, Maximum Speed, Average Speed, Current Speed, Charge Level (10 Bars), Range, Cadence, Assist Level (Off, Eco+, Eco, Std, High)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Cadence and Torque, Eco+: 50%, Eco: 100%, Std: 180%, High: 280%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Haibike makes beautiful, purpose built electric bikes that tend to cost more but deliver premium components and drive systems. The SDURO line runs on Yamaha mid-drive motors that can accommodate multiple chainrings, two in this case, providing a wider range of gears. Given the all-mountain design, with longer travel suspension and aggressive trail/mountain geometry, those gears come in handy for climbing and reaching the top assisted speed of 20 mph. Perhaps my largest complaint with the bike is that you truly need to switch gears in order to reach top speed. Unlike some of the other motors I have tested, the Yamaha drive seems to have a limited RPM range. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing as there are plenty of riders I’ve met with who love the design. And Yamaha celebrates the zero-cadence start feature of their motors (basically, they are supposed to start faster with electric-assist from standstill vs. making you slog through using your legs). This is a Class 1 electric bike meaning there is no throttle and that makes it permissible on the largest number of trails. It worked great for me in softer sandy terrain at low PSI and I enjoyed the comfort of the plus sized 3″ tires combined with 150 mm travel air suspension by RockShox. You end up with a tire circumference close to 29″ with these larger tires and that improves rolling momentum and gap spanning while reducing deflection off rocks and other obstacles. In short, this is an electric bike that is easy to work on, balanced and stable to ride, relatively lightweight but capable of steep climbs and longer range if ridden properly. There is no shift sensing technology as you’d find with Bosch or Impulse but the price is slightly lower and with a bit of practice you can shift without issue.

Driving the bike is a compact, relatively quiet internally geared mid drive motor from Yamaha. It interfaces with the frame beautifully and does not protrude as much to the sides or down as some other centerdrive systems. Despite a modest 250 watt nominal rating, you get 80 Newton meters of torque which has been plenty to get me up even the steepest climbs, while pedaling in low gears, to the point where the tire would lose traction but the motor would still be trying to go. As a lighter weight guy, weighing about 135 lbs, that might not impress you… but the owner of the Electric Bicycle Center in Fullerton, Sam Townsend, was using this as a demo and reported excellent performance even for his 250 lb body weight. I love that the bike comes in four frame sizes and that the battery design is optimized to slide out from the side vs. pop up because it results in a lower top tube and lower stand over height. It all works to keep weight low and center on the frame and that makes handling easier.

The battery pack itself offers 36 volts and 11 amp hours which is just a touch above average… but ver capable given the way it operates. You can charge it on or off the frame but the plug is an insert, twist and lock style which means it could get broken off, bent or tip the bike if tripped over. Many other premium e-bikes have been opting for the EnergyBus Rosenberger standard in recent years because it pops out easily in these situations without causing harm. The charger itself is kind of large and heavy so I’d be less excited to toss it in my backpack and there are no rack, fender or bottle cage bosses on the ALLMTN Plus so you literally have to wear a hydration pack or backpack to bring gear along. I understand why this is the case given the two longer travel suspension elements and battery but it does come at a cost and some other electric mountain bikes like the Specialized Turbo Levo FSR have made it all fit, even with full suspension and at the same price point. I do appreciate the charge indicator on the battery pack and the way it powers a Micro USB port on the button pad (which is mounted conveniently near the left grip).

Operating this and other Yamaha powered electric bikes from Haibike is fairly straight forward. The All Mountain Plus model comes with an upgraded display panel LCD that shows ride stats, speed and battery charge level. I LOVE that you get 10 tics on the battery info graphic as well as a percentage indicator because it helps you plan rides more effectively. As fun as this ebike is, I still wouldn’t want to run out of battery and have to climb long distances with its ~52 pound weight. To turn it on you simply mount the charged battery then press a power button on the top edge of the button pad. This pad is easy to reach and memorize so you won’t always have to look down when riding. The buttons seem well sealed against water and the pad itself is relatively compact. The display however, is large, making it easy to see but also a bit vulnerable. For this reason, it’s great that they made it removable. Whether you’re stopping for lunch or bombing a large difficult section, being able to take the display off and store it safely could be a big deal. The bars however, are low-rise and help to protect it if you do crash but the stem is angled down slightly so the overall geometry works as expected. This thing is built with performance in mind all the way around and aside from the weight, doesn’t feel dumbed down.

There’s a lot to celebrate about the Haibike SDURO ALLMTN Plus, it’s one of the higher-end offerings with a Yamaha drive system that I’ve tested and I think the larger tires make sense for this sort of application. I love the sturdy and stiff thru-axles, the name brand suspension with full adjustability and especially the seat post dropper. Despite having a front and rear derailleur (which means two sets of shifters), the cockpit stays manageable… You can still reach the dropper switch and the button pad and I like the locking grips they chose. For me personally, the lack of shift sensing was easy to overcome but given how powerful the motor is and what I have heard from owners of Bosch systems (which do have shift sensing) I suspect the chain, sprockets, and derailleurs will need more frequent tuning and I’d approach this bike carefully, perhaps riding on paved surfaces, to get used to it all before charging up steep hills. I don’t love having to shift frequently through a range of gears to hit a certain desired speed but in practice, maybe speed isn’t as much of a focus as instant power and smooth quiet delivery? There are a lot of people who like this setup and are happy to save the $500 to $1,000 vs. Bosch. Ultimately, it’s the kind of thing you might want to try by visiting a local shop if you can. For those who have never ridden an electric bike, this will probably feel amazing… but as someone who tests regularly and likes to spin faster (due to a knee sensitivity) this is not my first choice.

Pros:

  • Plus sized tires (those over 2.8″ wide) have caught on with electric mountain bikes because they can run at lower PSI, provide better traction and cushion and reduce deflection and slipping on rocky surfaces, the SDURO ALLMTN Plus uses higher quality Schwalbe tires that are 3″ wide
  • Available in four frame sizes, this electric bike offers higher performance and fit, I love how the top tube is angled down for lower stand over height (the battery slides out sideways to help achieve this
  • Excellent weight distribution with both the motor and battery mounted towards the center of the frame and kept low
  • The motor is powerful and responsive offering smooth starts and stops (measuring pedal cadence and torque to activate), you get up to 80 Nm of torque which makes it an excellent climber if you shift gears appropriately
  • Beautiful paint and graphics… Haibike has long been a favorite of mine because they just look cool and professional, notice the fork and saddle are tied in, non-ebikers seem more interested because it looks legit
  • Higher-end lightweight air suspension front and rear offers a ton of travel so you can handle a bit of downhill and use it as a true all mountain electric bike
  • The battery can be charged on or off the bike frame and is easy to remove (though it does not rattle or feel loose when mounted to the frame), it weighs about 6.5 lbs so taking it off could make mounting the bike to car racks safer and easier (more space in the triangle)
  • The Yamaha display system is a real standout to me, this is their upgraded model with a larger LCD which is removable and you also get a remote button pad which is easy to reach while riding and it has a Micro USB port built in
  • I’m a big fan of dropper seat posts and love that the ALLMTN Plus comes with one that is preinstalled with internally routed cabling (frankly, most of the cables and wires are internally routed through the custom purpose-built frame)
  • Powerful hydraulic disc brakes from Magura offer the precise, smooth stopping power required for true off-road riding, note the four piston calipers and adjustable reach levers
  • I’m not sure if this is stock but the ebike I got to test had a kickstand that was rear-mounted, keeping it clear of the crank arms… if you do commute with this thing it could be useful
  • Sturdy thru-axles with quick release for easy trail maintenance and quick compact transportability, one big advantage of a mid-drive is that the drivetrain itself is more traditional and easy to work with for regular bike shops
  • The Yamaha motor produces less noise than Bosch and Impulse 3.0 in my opinion, it’s a bit less noticeable (especially when riding on a dirt trail where the tires are already making noise just from rolling)
  • The pedals you get with this Haibike aren’t half bad… I prefer the wide platform with metal pins to smaller cages which seem to get bent, it’s a minor thing but great for test rides at least
  • The cockpit is well thought out, notice the negative angle stem and low-rise bars meant to approximate a flat bar while protecting the display panel in the event of a crash
  • Rather than showing your battery percentage by default, the Yamaha display uses little bars on an info-graphic but I love that they have 10 bars (for 10% steps) vs. many other bikes that show just 5 or 6, if you flip through the readouts you can also get percentage which is fantastic but that same display area can be used for odometer, trip distance etc. so I love that you have a choice

Cons:

  • Shifting gears is a big part of this electric bike system because it enables the motor to climb or hit higher gears… but I found that the range of motor RPM felt limited so even if I was comfortable pedaling at a higher cadence, I couldn’t achieve top speeds without shifting because the motor would cut out
  • Unlike the Bosch and Impulse drive systems, the Yamaha mid-drive doesn’t offer shift sensing which could lead to chain and sprocket mashing, learn to shift as the motor cuts out (when you stop pedaling momentarily)
  • The battery charger seems unnecessarily large and bulky compared with some of the other options out there, I wish Yamaha would consider the magnetic EnergyBus port vs. their plug which could get bent or knock the bike over if tripped on
  • Haibikes tend to be more expensive and are frequently out of stock in popular sizes, I feel like they spread the line thin with so many options which can be disappointing if you visit a dealer and fall in love with a specific model
  • While it’s neat to have 20 gear combinations, I don’t change the front very often and have become a fan of the lighter, less complex 1×11 setups… especially given the non shift sensing mid-drive motor systems
  • I like how smooth the motor winds down as you stop pedaling but it isn’t as instantaneous as some other systems, notice how it continues rotating a bit during the ride test in the video review above
  • Despite being a more athletic-oriented sporty electric bike, there are no bosses for adding a water bottle, you’ll probably need a hip pack or hydration backpack

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Haibike Reviews

Haibike XDURO AllMtn 8.0 Review

  • MSRP: $6,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

The highest specced all mountain electric model from Haibike, longer 150 mm travel on front and rear air suspension by Magura and Fox paired with a steeper fork angle and plus sized tires let you handle most terrain. Premium Magura hydraulic disc brakes 203/180 size with adjustable lightweight carbon levers and quad piston…...

Haibike SDURO HardFour 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high performance, purpose built electric mountain bike for kids or petite adults... but mostly kids! Limited top speed of 15 mph for safety, full 9-speed Shimano drivetrain. Capable 160 mm hydraulic disc brakes with adjustable-reach levers for smaller hands, only available in…...

Haibike SDURO HardNine 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the most affordable Haibikes in the line, available in four frame sizes, relatively lightweight, large 29er tires provide float and momentum at speed for cross country riding. Very capable mid-drive system (the same motor and battery as some higher-priced Haibike models), zero…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty, 28 mph, commuter-ready, electric bicycle made in six frame sizes across two styles, a stiffer high-step and easy approach step-thru. Reinforced fenders stay quiet, oversized rack with spring latch and Racktime connector, integrated LED lights…...

Haibike XDURO FullSeven Carbon Ultimate Review

  • MSRP: $16,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high-performance electric mountain bike available in four frame sizes, stiff carbon frame for improved power transfer and handling, carbon accents include seat post, saddle, handlebar, wheelset and more. Eleven speed Shimano Deore XTR drivetrain with Di2 electronic shifting for faster, more precise gear…...

Haibike SDURO AllMtn 6.0 Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A trail worthy, full suspension electric mountain bike with stiff lightweight frame construction, optimized suspension and a tightly integrated mid-drive motor from Yamaha. Upgraded 500 watt hour battery pack delivers 60+ miles on medium assist, powerful hydraulic disc…...

Haibike XDURO Urban S RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high speed road bike with electric assist up to 28 mph (45 km/h), available in five frame sizes for improved fit and a vibration dampening seat post and shock stem for improved comfort. Efficient low-resistance tires with deep-dish aero rims and bladed spokes, keep the tire pressure up…...

Haibike SDURO Full FatSix Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only full suspension fat electric bikes I've seen, quality hardware including 20 speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain, solid 2 year motor and battery warranty with 5 years on the frame. Powered by the Yamaha mid-drive ebike system with 500 watt motor, Zero Cadence pedal assist,…...

Haibike SDURO FullNine RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension 29er with mid-drive motor, slim battery and removable display by Yamaha, offers 80 Nm of torque and zero-cadence pedal assist response. The RX trim level is top of the line with light weight hardware from Shimano,…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN RC Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all mountain trail + downhill mid drive powered electric bike with 150 mm air suspension, rigid thru axles (15 mm front 142 x 12 mm rear). Impressive 20 speed drivetrain with quality Shimano Deore XT groupset, capable Shimano M615 hydraulic disc…...

Haibike XDURO DWNHLL Pro Review

  • MSRP: $8,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only true downhill ready electric bikes being made in series production, delivers a worldcup ready chassis and pro level components. Shimano Saint drivetrain and brakes (top of the line downhill groupset), with two piece Ice-Tech…...

Haibike XDURO FullLife RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Custom geometry with shorter reach to accommodate women (who tend to have shorter arms and torso but longer legs), shorter saddle with wider back, adjustable position brake levers for smaller hands. plush 120 mm front and rear Fox air suspension with 15 mm thru-axle front and…...

Haibike SDURO HardSeven SM Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable Haibike in the 2016 line, features the Yamaha drive system with a basic fixed LED display console, basic saddle, heavier oil suspension fork and cheaper Kenda tires without liners. Solid nine-speed SRAM X-4 drivetrain, no shift sensing or motor inhibitors, large 180 mm hydraulic…...

Haibike SDURO HardLife SL Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable women's specific electric bike from Haibike, leverages the Yamaha mid-drive, features an upgraded LCD screen with USB charging port. Excellent weight distribution, battery and motor are mounted low and center, the top tube is…...

Haibike XDURO Fullseven RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high performance full suspension electric mountain bike with quality components from Shimano, RockShox, and Fox. Responsive, durable and intuitive drive systems powered by Bosch, solid two year comprehensive warranty, five…...

Haibike XDURO AMT RX Review

  • MSRP: $6,350
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A high performance all-mountain electric bike with premium suspension from Fox and hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano. Thru axles on front and rear wheel for improved stiffness and durability, seat post dropper…...

Haibike XDURO Nduro Pro Review

  • MSRP: $9,100
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Premium downhill capable electric bike with 180 mm travel on front and rear Fox air suspension, available in four frame sizes for improved fit. Excellent weight distribution, Bosch-made Centerdrive motor and battery kept low and center on the frame,…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking Pro Review

  • MSRP: $4,650
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A long-range capable touring our commuting style electric bike that climbs well, has a balanced weight distribution and offers 27 speeds for a steady cadence at most speeds. Excellent accessories including LED lights, full-length fenders and sturdy rear-rack with spring latch...

Haibike XDURO Nduro RX

  • MSRP: $7,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The entry-level performance downhill electric bike from Haibike with 26" wheels , long travel 180 mm air suspension by Fox with CTD adjust and hydraulic Shimano SLX disc brakes. Excellent frame balance with motor and battery mounted low and center, quick release wheels with…...

Haibike XDURO Urban Review

  • MSRP: $4,450
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An efficient, light weight road style electric bike with a perfectly balanced all-aluminum frame and electric drive system. Convenient quick release wheels, integrated LED lights, quality hydraulic disc brakes and a removable battery…...

Haibike XDURO Fatsix Review

  • MSRP: $5,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The only Bosch powered electric fat bike I've seen with a suspension fork, RockShox air with remote lockout. Burly 15 mm front and 12 mm rear thru axles, extended bottom bracket and spindle…...

Haibike XDURO Race Review

  • MSRP: $6,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An extremely well balanced, light weight, high speed electric road bike - one of the only ebikes with drop bars that I've seen. Efficient centerdrive from Bosch can reach speeds of 28 mph and distance in excess of…...

Haibike XDURO FS RX 27.5″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High performance, well balanced, full suspension electric mountain bike with motor and battery kept low and center. Available in four frame sizes for good fit, larger 27.5" wheels improve traction, momentum and…...

Haibike XDURO RX 29″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Capable and sturdy eMountain bike with great frame balance, motor and battery (mounted low and center). Available in four frame sizes for good fit, large 29" wheels provide improved traction, momentum…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Ultra efficient centerdrive motor leverages nine speed cassette and three speed SRAM hub for climbing and distance. Top of the line commuting accessories including dynamo powered LED lights, rear rack with pump,…...

Haibike XDURO Superrace Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the lightest weight, most efficient and fastest riding electric road bikes available. Premium components including Magura MT4 hydraulic disc brakes, Integrated LED lights and SRAM X0 drivetrain...

Haibike XDURO AMT Pro Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Top of the line all mountain style electric bike with full suspension and middrive motor. Light weight, high end frame and components keep bike under 50 pounds...


Bicyclista
10 months ago

Wait! That’s my bike! I love it! (Both the review and my bike, that is.)

Court got the character of the bike right. I know the bike well, having ridden it for over half a year now. This review gives me confidence in Court’s judgement about ebikes in general.

In relation to the need to shift to keep the motor in its sweet spot, I like the choices Haibike made because it replicates what I had to do with my conventional, non-electric bikes, i.e. I had to shift to keep the cadence and the speed I liked. I recognize that this is probably different for each individual cyclist, so YMMV, and Court clearly has a different preference.

Speaking about personalizing the bike, I felt the handlebars were too wide, so I had the dealer cut one inch off from each side; I got ergonomic handles; better metal pedals; a more comfortable (for me) saddle; mini lights; a bell; replaced the inner tubes with thicker ones after successive punctures. I understand the bike is tubeless-ready, by the way.

The kickstand is not standard. Mine did not come with one. It would be nice to have one.

But most of all I love the stable and fun ride quality, the enormous ability of the bike (far exceeding mine, yet forgiving of my shortcomings), the 3-inch tires, the dropper seatpost (not only for downhills, but also for stopping and starting at red lights, the power of the motor despite its modest rating, and the surprisingly long range. I get 50 miles on HIGH, a mix of flat, steep downhills, and long climbs, with a gentle headwind one way and a gentle tailwind the other. Granted, I only weigh 150 lbs.

The Haibike Sduro AllMtn Plus is highly recommended!

Reply
Court Rye
10 months ago

Wonderful comment! I enjoyed reading all of your little tips and upgrades. Glad you felt my review was on point… I do my best to explain what I’m feeling or seeing but not be too judgemental because as you said, each person has a unique riding style :)

Awesome to confirm that the kickstand may not be standard and that yours didn’t come with it. I hadn’t seen it on many other Haibikes before this one (at least on the mountain models). And I also use the seat post dropper sometimes when stopped at signs or red lights, that’s a great point :P

Reply
Alex
10 months ago

I got this bike few weeks ago. I agree with the review, and I want to add my personal experience with the bike. I usually ride 2016 Stumpjumper FSR Comp 29er. I am All MTN rider and LOVE downhills. I was skeptical about this bike’s ability to go down as well as my Stumpy. However, this bike blew my socks off. The suspension is even better and the handling is absolutely fantastic. The plus tires make a huge difference and there is no downside in getting them, because you can aways mount a smaller size tire if you wanted to. The Motor works great too and this bike opened up for me completely new horizons. There were sections of the trails that I could never climb, this bike made it possible, so I can go to places I’ve never been before and explore new trails. I thought I would never do that, but I am putting my Stumpy on Craigslist. And the biggest tip: right now it’s on sale some places for the 2016 model. I am 5’7″ and I got a 40cm but I would recommend anyone over 5”7 to go with 44.

Reply
Court Rye
10 months ago

Great feedback Alex! Glad to hear you’re enjoying the ALLMTN Plus, it’s a nice looking bike and the performance is solid. Great to hear your height and thoughts on sizing too ;)

Reply
Bob Armani
8 months ago

Hello Court, Love your videos as usual. I test drove a few ebikes, however, I think my final choices are down to the 2016 AllMtn SL or the Hardseven SL. I am trying to obtain the front chainring specs for each bike, but I am unable to find them? Any idea how large they are and how many teeth?

Reason I ask: I test rode the Tubo Levo Hardtail and found the front chainring (24t) to be too small. When peddling in the highest PAS setting, I did not get enough speed and resistance as I would with a larger front sprocket. A little disappointing at that. I had higher hopes for this bike thinking it would be a prime candidate for purchase. Thanks a lot and regards!

Reply
Court Rye
8 months ago

Hi Bob! This particular model (the Haibike SDURO AllMtn Plus) has a double chainring with 32/42T and I usually list this under the “cranks” section of the bicycle details specs. I hope this is what you’re looking for and that it’s available on other reviews. I do not usually comment on e-bikes that I have not tested in person and even then, sometimes the bikes vary over a season and small things change. Perhaps this and other reviews of mine can serve to help you make educated guesses :)

Reply
Bob Armani
8 months ago

Hi Court- For some reason, I do not see my first post/ comment and your response posted in this section??

Sorry, I was referring to the All MTN **SL ** front chain ring teeth count and not the plus model in this review. I know the SL has 1 ring up front and not 2 like the plus model has. If you had a link to Haibike 2016 specs that would help too. I tried to go to the Haibike site, but could not find specs on their 2016 bikes.

I also noticed that some dealers are carrying 2017 models using a kind of cheap/cheesy new interface (Mylar board) that is mounted to the left next to the grip. I was a bit disappointed when I tried it at my LBS. The sales person claimed it is to save costs on these new production models. I much prefer the Yamaha center display interface. Thanks again Court!

Reply
Court Rye
8 months ago

Right, there are some models using an LED interface without the big LCD and it probably was chosen to save money as the dealers suggested to you. Unfortunately, I don’t have access to any other 2016 specs. I try to review as many models as possible but with so many Haibike variations it’s just not possible at this stage. I wish I could help more, would love to hear back on what you find out or decide on and wish you luck!

Reply
Bob Armani
8 months ago

Thanks Court, you are ALWAYS a great help! I will keep you posted on my findings with a new ebike purchase. I have been spending countless hours with research before I pull the trigger on a new ebike. What a great and fun education it has been with new discoveries of these awesome machines. We are all so grateful to have someone like you that has started an awesome community of people!
I am also looking forward to the Ebike Expo coming to town in June for the first time! I cannot wait. My favorite brands are going to be there. Best Regards!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

LimboJim
2 weeks ago

Anyone using the
KMC X10e Sport Bicycle Chain?

Yes, for about 250 hard trail miles so far on my Sduro AllMtn+ with no problems! I bought several at an EU site that sells a lot of ebike-specific parts for far less than anyone I've found in the US - $25-30 shipping but I save more than that with each $100 I spend there: https://www.bike-discount.de/en/buy/kmc-x10e-e-bike-chain-10-speed-32293

Marc Webster
4 weeks ago

I haven't experienced the latest eMTB-specific Bosch CX, Yamaha PW-X or Brose-S motors, so I can't compare them to the E8000. I do own three Haibikes (2014 Xduro FS RX, 2015 Xduro rx29 & 2016 Sduro AllMtn+) however, and will say that the overall build quality and finish on all three are noticeably superior to my 2018 Motobecane eBoost Pro (pivots, motor bash guards, PAINT etc.). So I'd jump on that deal for the "lower-specced" Haibike AllMtn 7.0; I think you might be happier in the long run (you can always upgrade componentry later).

I have ridden a BBS02-fitted Biktrix offroad extensively, as well, and the low overhang sent me flying off the bike when I tried to clear a 4-5" log that every other MTB or eMTB I've ever ridden cleared with ease. Also, IMO, Bafang's power is far too binary, and it's way to torquey at its lowest assist level for traversing technical singletrack. The lag time after pedal disengagement is also a liability on tight turns etc.
Thanks Limbojim,

I have ridden a BBS02 converted bike and while it did have a ton of speed and power it was not refined and easily controllable in singletrack as you mentioned. That is why when I converted my commuter I chose a small Q128 hubmotor from BMS. I wanted a bike under 40lbs that still felt like a bike. Also on the off chance I lose power I wanted it to not have too much drag and the geared hubmotos hardly have any. I pedaled my dads BBS02 bike and it was abysmal to pedal with all the drag. I did pedal the All Mountain 7 with the motor off and it was even worse than the BBS02. I had read the shimano system pedals a bit better and the Brose system completely decouples. Some of the points newfydog mentions sound good and also seems the shimano bikes batteries are a bit less then the Bosch. I do like that you have experience on both so that puts the All mountain 7 more on top for me and if needed I can take the money I save on the used All Mountain 7 to buy an extra battery one day.

I will think this all over and do more research over the holiday.

LimboJim
4 weeks ago

Hello All,

First post here.

I am currently commuting on an electric bike that I made by adding low power hubmotor (Q128 from BMS) and it works so well I now want to replace my 2008 Specialized FSR 29er with an electric bike. I test rode the Haibike all mountain 6.5 and 7, Specaialized Revo and the Giant. I was considering converting my FSR that I own with a BBSHD and using my commuter battery but don't want the liability of a motor hanging below. Now I see Motobecane has made what looks to be a really nice bike. I have no familiarity with the Shimano E drives but did find I liked the Bosch over the Yamaha. Before finding the Motobecane I was pretty much settled on the 2017 All mountain 7 and my LBS has it for roughly 3800 out the door so its very similar in price to the Motobecane. Yet the motobecane is better specked and unsure if i want ot take the chance site unseen and no demo ride when I know I like the All mountain 7.

If anyone on here has experience with the bike vs Haibike I would love to hear it. Also a Bosch CX vs Shimano comparison. Limbojim would love more info...

Also I want a PAS type bike over the high powered Luna bikes as I want to keep the bie fele over more the motorcycle feel. Not ot put down what they are doing s I think its amazing but for my Mtn biking tastes I only want some help in climbing mostly...

Thanks,

Marc
I haven't experienced the latest eMTB-specific Bosch CX, Yamaha PW-X or Brose-S motors, so I can't compare them to the E8000. I do own three Haibikes (2014 Xduro FS RX, 2015 Xduro rx29 & 2016 Sduro AllMtn+) however, and will say that the overall build quality and finish on all three are noticeably superior to my 2018 Motobecane eBoost Pro (pivots, motor bash guards, PAINT etc.). So I'd jump on that deal for the "lower-specced" Haibike AllMtn 7.0; I think you might be happier in the long run (you can always upgrade componentry later).

I have ridden a BBS02-fitted Biktrix offroad extensively, as well, and the low overhang sent me flying off the bike when I tried to clear a 4-5" log that every other MTB or eMTB I've ever ridden cleared with ease. Also, IMO, Bafang's power is far too binary, and it's way to torquey at its lowest assist level for traversing technical singletrack. The lag time after pedal disengagement is also a liability on tight turns etc.

bob armani
2 months ago

Hi,
I am a German guy currently visiting the Bay Area for a while.
Riding Haibike eMTBs since 2012, got divorced after I bought my 8th Haibike o_O. I've got lots of experience with the Bosch motors, riding them a lot and even repair the motors if necessary.

These are my bikes here in the US:
My German 2015 Haibike FatSix

My US version 2017 Haibike Cross 4.0

My German 2015 Haibike Sduro AllMtn Pro

And if I don't know what to do, I just cruise around with another 2017 FatSix which is so much fun using the eMTB mode :D

Here are some of my threads in the German Pedelec forum:
Repair broken Bosch motor
https://www.pedelecforum.de/forum/index.php?threads/performance-motor-innenleben-so-sollte-es-eigentlich-nicht-aussehen-o.40234/

My current activities
https://www.pedelecforum.de/forum/index.php?threads/the-orange-thing-geht-auf-reisen.47919/page-9

My 2015 trip across Eastern Europe
http://www.pedelecforum.de/forum/index.php?threads/radreise-nach-osteuropa-mit-dem-haibike-fatsix-vorbereitung-tourbilder-etc.34651/

You go German guy! You are an inspiration to all of us ebikers here in the US. Those are some nice ebikes you own. When it will cost you a divorce, you know where your passion is. Just like owning too many rebuilt muscle cars her in the US which may make the wifey a little pissed off...LOL
It seems like most of all the best engineered bikes come out of Germany IMHO. Love the designs and the styling of most of the brands. Bulls, Focus, KTM, Haibike etc. Enjoy and ride safe!!:cool:

E-Wheels
2 months ago

Hi,
I am a German guy currently visiting the Bay Area for a while.
Riding Haibike eMTBs since 2012, got divorced after I bought my 8th Haibike o_O. I've got lots of experience with the Bosch motors, riding them a lot and even repair the motors if necessary.

These are my bikes here in the US:
My German 2015 Haibike FatSix

My US version 2017 Haibike Cross 4.0

My German 2015 Haibike Sduro AllMtn Pro

And if I don't know what to do, I just cruise around with another 2017 FatSix which is so much fun using the eMTB mode :D

Here are some of my threads in the German Pedelec forum:
Repair broken Bosch motor
https://www.pedelecforum.de/forum/index.php?threads/performance-motor-innenleben-so-sollte-es-eigentlich-nicht-aussehen-o.40234/

My current activities
https://www.pedelecforum.de/forum/index.php?threads/the-orange-thing-geht-auf-reisen.47919/page-9

My 2015 trip across Eastern Europe
http://www.pedelecforum.de/forum/index.php?threads/radreise-nach-osteuropa-mit-dem-haibike-fatsix-vorbereitung-tourbilder-etc.34651/
@wildtrak Welcome to the forum
Your post reminds me of the formula N+1 which is used in calculating the ideal number of bikes one should own in a lifetime
N being the number of bikes you currently own

wildtrak
2 months ago

Hi,
I am a German guy currently visiting the Bay Area for a while.
Riding Haibike eMTBs since 2012, got divorced after I bought my 8th Haibike o_O. I've got lots of experience with the Bosch motors, riding them a lot and even repair the motors if necessary.

These are my bikes here in the US:
My German 2015 Haibike FatSix

My US version 2017 Haibike Cross 4.0

My German 2015 Haibike Sduro AllMtn Pro

And if I don't know what to do, I just cruise around with another 2017 FatSix which is so much fun using the eMTB mode :D

Here are some of my threads in the German Pedelec forum:
Repair broken Bosch motor
https://www.pedelecforum.de/forum/index.php?threads/performance-motor-innenleben-so-sollte-es-eigentlich-nicht-aussehen-o.40234/

My current activities
https://www.pedelecforum.de/forum/index.php?threads/the-orange-thing-geht-auf-reisen.47919/page-9

My 2015 trip across Eastern Europe
http://www.pedelecforum.de/forum/index.php?threads/radreise-nach-osteuropa-mit-dem-haibike-fatsix-vorbereitung-tourbilder-etc.34651/

1/3
Robert Stevens
5 months ago

I've had the same problem with my Haibike sduro Yamaha. The lock latching is not holding the battery tight to the lock as it should. Three friends have the same bike without this issue. The problem can be solved as described in this thread but I wonder if there is a way of adjusting the lock mechanism so that the battery is held tight to the lock? I've previously used foam to force the battery upward towards the lock. I thought a more elegant solution would be a product called Sugru. This is a mouldable silicone rubber-like material. I formed two discs (pads) of Sugru and stuck them to the underside of the battery close to the position of the lock. Unforunately, Sugru cures too hard and therefore has very little flexibility -- unlike true silicone rubber. So while you can reduce the rattle, it is still present. A solution may be to glue a thin pad of foam to the pads that you form from the Sugru. None of this should be necessary on a quality bike. I will next attempt to open up the lock or replace it with another mechanism. I've had quite a few issues, both electronic and mechanical, with Haibike (which I love regardless). So I can't say I find the bike reliable. I'll post problems and solutions in other threads.
I have a Haibike AllMtn 6.0, and love it. My battery latch is working properly, although as a reminder, when transporting your bike, make sure the battery is fully seated in the latch. I thought mine was, but I lost it in transit to my favorite bing venue. A new 500 Wh battery cost around $900...............needless to say, a major bummer!

Bicyclista
5 months ago

I second what Chris Nolte said, although some of it requires translation if you're a newbie. "Plus size bikes" are not oversized bikes! Rather, they are bikes whose frames allow using (around) 3-inch-wide tires, i.e. wider than most mountain bikes (around 2.25 inches) and thinner than fat bikes (4 inches wide or more). For me, plus-size tires are the sweet all-terrain tires, allowing you to ride anything from pavement to gravel to sand.

You should ALWAYS get a frame that is the right size for you.

As the owner of a full-suspension Haibike Sduro AllMtn Plus, which uses a mid-drive Yamaha motor, I can tell you that Bosch is not the only good motor around. My bike can climb hills really well, and it matches my 60-90 rpm cadence. If, however, you're a high cadence rider you would probably be better served by Bosch. Court Rye, the owner of this site, has noted in his reviews that Yamaha motors' power output goes down at high cadence whereas Bosch motors' power band continues on. However, bikes with Yamaha motors are substantially less expensive than those with Bosch motors, at least in the Haibike line.

If you need to have a rack to take things with you, a hard tail with front suspension might be better. I have yet to find a good rack for my full-suspension, plus-size tire bike, i.e. a rack that attaches to the moving seat stays AND is wide enough to clear the plus-sized tires. (I don't like cantilever racks that attach only to the seat post; they are inherently weak.) But I would definitively recommend a suspension seat post if you get a hardtail.

Bicyclista
5 months ago

This is a small issue, but it could lead to an accident if a cable gets tangled with your wheel. I have a Haibike Sduro AllMtn Plus. I've ridden it about a year and 1600 miles, mostly pavement, some dirt, nothing extreme. Overall a great bike!

This is the first issue I've had so far: the small, black plastic clip that holds the speed sensor cable secured to the frame fell off during a ride a couple of days ago. Haibike uses the same kind of clip or clamp to secure other cables as well, such as disc brake cables. (I was going to attach photos but I see that pictures have to be hosted by an external server, and I've cancelled all my accounts in photo-hosting sites.) The clips appear to be specific to Haibike. They attach to tiny cradles or bosses in the frame. A neat solution, as long as they don't fall off!

I emailed my dealer, @San Diego Fly Rides, asking whether the clip was readily available and whether its replacement would be covered under warranty. This is their reply:

"Hi... its not covered under warranty as its lost but we'll see if we have one around here otherwise we'd have to order some - will keep you posted, thnx"

I do not follow their reasoning, that because it's "lost" it is no covered under warranty. It fell off during a normal ride, and perhaps it fell off because it was loose or because the design is faulty.

In the meantime I wrapped the cable to the frame with black tape and I am waiting to hear back from @San Diego Fly Rides.

Ariche
5 months ago

I just got my new bike yesterday, my first ebike.

What a blast. I haven't been for any major rides yet, just about town, which has a few hills.

I am recovering from a medial ligament knee injury and justified the expense on that basis. But I was hoping it was going to be a hoot and it sure is.

The bike quality is excellent. The Yamaha PW system has such smooth delivery. Town traffic is speed limited to 30kph an I now have no qualms about pulling into traffic and taking a genuine slot in the traffic. It's much easier to get up to speed and not feel "in the way".

For an entry level full suspension bike it's very functional.

I will report back in a week or two with an update. I'm very glad I went for a Haibike.

PS. Thanks for all the bike reviews. They really helped choosing this bike.

Trampus
5 months ago

My first post, EBR has been a great resource, thanks.

I just got my 2016 SDURO ALLMTN and having a lot of fun. Question, anyone have a fix for the battery rattle? I knew it was coming this way because Court mentioned it, I think on a 29" he tested, and I read it somewhere else. I believe the Bosch has a pad between frame and battery, so I was thinking of making a Neoprene one, or just wrapping a velcro strap around it.

I've had the same problem with my Haibike sduro Yamaha. The lock latching is not holding the battery tight to the lock as it should. Three friends have the same bike without this issue. The problem can be solved as described in this thread but I wonder if there is a way of adjusting the lock mechanism so that the battery is held tight to the lock? I've previously used foam to force the battery upward towards the lock. I thought a more elegant solution would be a product called Sugru. This is a mouldable silicone rubber-like material. I formed two discs (pads) of Sugru and stuck them to the underside of the battery close to the position of the lock. Unforunately, Sugru cures too hard and therefore has very little flexibility -- unlike true silicone rubber. So while you can reduce the rattle, it is still present. A solution may be to glue a thin pad of foam to the pads that you form from the Sugru. None of this should be necessary on a quality bike. I will next attempt to open up the lock or replace it with another mechanism. I've had quite a few issues, both electronic and mechanical, with Haibike (which I love regardless). So I can't say I find the bike reliable. I'll post problems and solutions in other threads.

Mark K
7 months ago

I was gonna say, @Mark K, that the quality of your photography is high! As a fellow professional photographer, I wish I had traded a film for my Haibike Sduro FullSeven AllMtn Plus, the way your girlfriend did for her Trekking. I love my bike, although I finally decided to add Mr. Tuffy liners to my tires. On all other fronts, electrically and mechanically, my bike has performed perfectly. I upgraded the pedals, the grips, and the saddle. I cut the handlebars two inches from each side as they were too wide for me. I raised the stem. I added lights and a mirror. I wish I had a kickstand. What kickstand are you using?

I use this kickstand.

Bicyclista
7 months ago

I was gonna say, @Mark K, that the quality of your photography is high! As a fellow professional photographer, I wish I had traded a film for my Haibike Sduro FullSeven AllMtn Plus, the way your girlfriend did for her Trekking. I love my bike, although I finally decided to add Mr. Tuffy liners to my tires. On all other fronts, electrically and mechanically, my bike has performed perfectly. I upgraded the pedals, the grips, and the saddle. I cut the handlebars two inches from each side as they were too wide for me. I raised the stem. I added lights and a mirror. I wish I had a kickstand. What kickstand are you using?

LimboJim
7 months ago

Bob, its "under power and slow," = lack of power with any grade over 10%, we spent most of our time riding in mountain in So Cal. The Brose below 10% rides like all of them, but anything over 10%, the Brose is a dog, anything over 15% be prepare for a workout, over 20%, you better be running a 36t in the rear. In the mountains, we rarely go past 12-15 mph on single track riding, but in certain areas it requires torque to get you out, there were it lacks the power.

Brose stealthy look is my favorite, out of the Big 3, but torque power is my least fav....
My Bulls...FS3 Plus, rated at 90Nm, has at least as much torque as my 80Nm Yamaha-powered SDURO AllMtn Plus, and both eMTBs climb 20% grade hills with relative ease. The Brose motor's definitely more subtle, with its peak power coming at lower cadence than my Bosch, but I've yet to experience a CX. The Yamaha also seems to peak at a lower cadence than Bosch.

FWIW, I posted about a broken chain experience I recently had with my Bulls in its first 120 miles or so, which I believe was caused by large chainring to large sprocket cross-chaining. My concern is that, when the chain broke, the Brose motor spun furiously fast, making a horrible, very high-pitched whining sound for several seconds. I've broken a hi-torque ebike chain before (on my 2015 iZiP Sumo), and its much lower-tech TranzX motor shut right off.

The fact that the Brose kept spinning makes me worry about the long-term - it rode fine after we fixed the chain but it was an AWFUL sound! Barney's put in a query with Bulls' Germany HQ because he's never heard of this happening.

bob armani
8 months ago

Hi.

After long deliberations, tons of on-line reviews I jumped into the pool and bought SDURO ALLMTN PLUS.
I was a bit worried about the negative tester's comments about Haibike upright geometry, it turned out to be a complete bull. The bike is absolutely fantastic. I climbed 3,000ft and blasted down on a steep and technical trail and the bike performed flawlessly. After completing 2.5hour ride my battery was at 50% and the only thing that went through my mind was, let's do it again :)

Anyone out there have the same bike?

Glad to see your excitement about your bike. I was considering the same model without the plus tires or the BULLS EVO FS3. I too am so excited about these bikes after long and thought out research reviews. How has your bike been performing? Does it meet your expectations in quality? Do you recommend this bike to others? Thanks a lot and always ride safe! :D

LimboJim
8 months ago

Wheel spokes: I have two 2015 XDURO Haibikes, an FS RX and an rx29. Both had spokes come loose in the first few trail rides; the FS RX's rear wheel wobbled noticeably during its third or fourth ride and I was lucky it could be trued! The first LBS I brought it to thought it was too far gone, but second opinions can be worth a few hundred bucks, minimum...

FWIW, my 2016 SDURO AllMtn Plus has had no such issues, but didn't come with DT Swiss wheels like my XDUROS did. After the above experience, however, I bought a tension meter and now check spoke tension on all my eMTBs regularly. It has proven its worth, as have the few minutes it takes to test the spokes.

Bicyclista
8 months ago

@ahkim, if you're 5'-6" you should probably ride a small frame size. I am 5'-6" and I ride a small Haibike Sduro AllMtn Plus (2016). Before buying you should test ride and you MUST get fitted for the proper size.

I would recommend the 3" tire. The fatter the better off-road capability. In 2016 there was a version of the Sduro that came with 3" tires, such as my bike. They may have changed that for 2017.

Regarding Bosch vs Yamaha, both are good. Read Court's reviews of the different Haibikes that use each motor. In general, if you are a high cadence cyclist, go with Bosch. If you are a low to medium cadence cyclist, go with Yamaha (Court points out that the Yamaha motor tends to cut out at high cadence). For me, the Yamaha motor fits my riding style.

ahkim
8 months ago

Hi Everyone

So I'm ready to pull the trigger on an ebike and I've narrowed it down to a few bikes.

Xduro FullSeven 7.0
Xduro AllMtn 7.0
Sduro All Mtn 6.5
Trek Powerfly FS 8

I'm trying to understand the differences between the bikes, here's what I know:

Xduro has Bosch vs Sduro has Yamaha motor
Xduro has 3" tire vs Sduro 2.8" tire
Obviously there are differences in the components
Xduro FullSeven has an extra cm of standover height over Sduro AllMtn

What I don’t get is the difference between the Xduro FullSeven and Xduro AllMtn. Seems like they are very similar, so why make them different lines?

Some general info:

I'll ride trails on the weekend and ride to work once a week. (14 miles to work)
I'm in Minnesota so we don't have crazy long and steep trails but we do have some good technical trail systems.
I'm 5'6"; shorter inseam so standover is going to be an issue. I'm thinking about a Medium.
I'm considering converting to Di2 XT.
There's a local bike shop that carries Haibike but I want to get some facts before I head in. I haven't tried the Haibike yet.
I've tried the Trek Powerfly and thought it was great but standover was not good.

Are there any other bikes that I should consider?

DanielGlacial
8 months ago

Thanks for answers, i know about e-connect ,and looks fine but i think if it get stolen it still wont be found or it will be broken. The other features i think my iphone will do, like map tracking.

I am 40 so comfort is nice, but still a hefty 1000 euro more then hardtail 7.0.

I wish i knew if the new yamaha engine pw-x is worth it, or if its something i wont notice.

My ride will be work commute 24 miles per day, so the 500 wh battery will be good.

It will also be used in free time for trails and hopefully some downhill tracks close by.

Seems 50/50 when you look youtube, but these are more advanced riders, alot seem to do fine with jumping with hardtail as well.

I wanted the 27.5 plus tires in sduro 7.0 allmtn but they didnt seem to have it home, and still 4300 euro, then this one is better on paper.

I hear about alot of service with read dampers, might be annoying, but what do i know. Its a huge investment, which mean i wont buy a car for a year to save the money used on bike. We have 1 car in family.

Duke em
8 months ago

So I had a 2016 All Mtn Sduro SC bike.
Sold that and just got the newer year version!

Have ridden on the trails twice so far.

I think these are similar spec sduro yamaha bikes (SC 2016 = 6.0 2017).
Both yamaha.

I love the 3" plus sized tires on the 2017! I'm not a skilled rider. Only started mtn bike riding 5 months ago. It sure helps with my poor line choices when on the technical trails!!

I love the improved range on the 2017 battery. I can use the highest assist mode more often and not worry about range as much.

Biggest reason I upgraded so quick was because i'm 5'10" tall with a 33" inseam. That puts me at in between the medium and large frame mtn bikes.

My 2016 was a sized large (48cm). Since I'm now loving more technical riding, I've learned that I'm suppose to go for a bike on the smaller side. So large was not good for technical riding for me.

My 2017 is now a size medium (44cm). It's perfect! It feels so much better when going on sketchy trails where I need to really be in flow to avoid a crash and burn.

That's all i have to report for now. the 2017 All-mtn sduro 6.0 is awesome!
I'm in San Diego. Whoever else has an e-mtn bike, let's ride!

Lenny
8 months ago

Hey guys,

I am about to pull the trigger on a Haibike Sduro AllMtn 6.0. My only concern now is choosing the right frame size. I am 6ft3 or 193 cm tall and my inside leg measurement is 34" or 85 cm. What frame size would you choose, the 19"/48 cm or the 21"/52 cm? The tyre size is 27.5".

Picture is just for attention. :)/QUOTE]

You should definitely go with 52cm frame.

DonWerner
8 months ago

Hey guys,

I am about to pull the trigger on a Haibike Sduro AllMtn 6.0. My only concern now is choosing the right frame size. I am 6ft3 or 193 cm tall and my inside leg measurement is 34" or 85 cm. What frame size would you choose, the 19"/48 cm or the 21"/52 cm? The tyre size is 27.5".

Picture is just for attention. :)

Duke em
9 months ago

Hi Folks,

I've only had my bike for 5 months now. I do quite a bit of technical trail riding that involves jumps, bunny hops, manuals and wipeouts. Haven't had any serious crashes. More of me falling off the bike then the bike crashing thus far.

I've noticed for last number of rides, my display doesn't show my speed correctly. It will show zero at times when I'm actually coasting or sometimes when I'm pedaling as well. It kinda goes down to zero, then back to the speed bike is moving. Back and forth. Like there is a loose connection.

At the times when the display speed shows ZERO, and I'm actually pedaling and moving with momentum, the motor assist provides NO assist at these times when the display shows ZERO mph. Not good when I'm pedaling/climbing uphill, on a trail that goes a long way up. I get NO ASSIST! At these times when I'm pedaling up a climb and the speeds shows ZERO, the assist level digital icon for (econo / std / high) will be blinking. When the speed shows an actual number of my moving speed, the digital icon for the assist level will remain steadily ON (without blinking).

Anyone else have this problem? Or have ideas about how much of a problem this will be to fix?

Duke

Jonathan Brazeau
2 months ago

thing is soooo nice. Thanks for the review.

Michael Vaj
3 months ago

Does this ebike fit a 5'4 person?

Malcolm Bale
5 months ago

What made you choose Specialized over hiabike? Thing that puts me off Bosch motor on hiabike is the little gear they use above the pedals!!

TJHK.DOG
6 months ago

Great review no nonsense talked just the facts...i was really pushed to go for the Bosch system but like you say this Yamaha is a really good all rounder and glad I did it is really good. And you are totally right the Haibikes just look right. Great review.

zzz aa Firmozxxd
9 months ago

awvgw

Ed Meyer
10 months ago

Sucks the US wont get the pw-x motor for 2017. I just bought the 6.0 definitely needs to be chiped for more speed!

Victoria Leid
10 months ago

Help me raise money for my grandma https://www.gofundme.com/3egxy7k?utm_source=internal&utm_medium=email&utm_content=campaign_link_t&utm_campaign=welcome

Finn Wulff Petersen
10 months ago

no LunaCycle BBSHD test?

craig vietor
10 months ago

what Chinese bike is the best?

E°Bike Company Mainz
10 months ago

Great Bike from our partner HAIBIKE ! If you want to have much fun - ride AllMtn :)

ForbinColossus
10 months ago

Always love your Haibike reviews, Court! I like your comment on EBR about Haibike spreading its model line out too thinly ---- I tried to buy a 2016 Xduro Haibike when they went on sale (marked down as much as $3000. off MSRP), but were sold out on model after model! Crazy and disappointing. This year, Haibike has complicated their model line up EVEN MORE. They are pissing me off with the confusion and poor availability. As a consumer, don't make it so hard for me to buy a product - that tells me a manufacturer just doesn't care about the actual user.
https://electricbikereview.com/haibike/sduro-allmtn-plus/

ForbinColossus
10 months ago

Off-topic, but I hope ebike makers will offer or make it easier to install rear racks - even on full suspension MTBs. I have a feeling that many MTBs do not see downhill trails - but instead see more pavement use. Wearing a backpack while biking sucks- always sweat where the pack is and high center of grav. Aside from Thule's hundred dollar Pack n Pedal Tour Rack, nobody makes 'em.

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Yeah... imagine trying to review them all and make sense of it for other people. I feel like my job is to de-complicate things but Haibike is one of the deeper lines and on the one hand, it's cool (especially the multiple sizes) but then frustrating when none are available :/

Florida Scot
10 months ago

I'm interested in this bike & will be using it on private land, does anyone have first hand experience on the best way to derestrict the 20 MPH top speed, dongle kit or other tips ?

G Henrickson
4 months ago

But but but...I see no speed box2 for the Yamaha motor.

Florida Scot
10 months ago

+Ed Meyer Ed, thanks

Ed Meyer
10 months ago

Florida Scot speed box2 brother! brings it up to 60km/h plug in play

Simon Colby
10 months ago

There is a "chip" that you put over your speed sensor that will allow you to get up to about 30mph and is undetectable once you take it off. It's called the "badass chip" which is a stupid name but a great product. Works for Bosch and Yamaha and I've heard broad but have any first hand experience with it.

Florida Scot
10 months ago

thanks

Tomos13
10 months ago

I've got over a thousand miles on my Allmountain RC, no problems runs like a champ. Wheelies all the time. Top notch components just like Court stated. Even got removable rear rack with panniers to carry more stuff on longer rides.

Tomos13
10 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Yea I got Thule Pack and Pedal rear rack (but can be used as front also). It's super light, mounts without damaging the swing arm and it doesn't interfere with the rear suspension. The panniers attach with ease and you're ready to go. Those guys from Pedelec Adventures used thule's rack for both front and rear. It seemed like it worked out for them also.

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Wow! What rear rack did you go with? I like the look of the Thule and how it can work with full suspension but haven't tested one thoroughly: http://amzn.to/2kHf8Sf beam racks can be tough to setup with a dropper seat post (unless you're tall) and seem to get knocked side to side

samuel Townsend
10 months ago

Hey Court we just sold the last one of these that were available new from Haibike last week for $3400 that was the MSRP,s closeout price on this 2016 model such a great E-bike. If someone is looking for one they will have to find one on a dealers showroom. Last years Haibikes are going fast at some awesome price points. For those wondering about the area Court was riding in that's the Fullerton loop and it's a great local trail that is right next to our shop.

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Awesome! Thanks for chiming in Sam, I realize this video went out late... I've been trying to mix different brands and styles to keep it interesting. Thanks again for your help :D

cresshead
10 months ago

I think this is the 2016 model looking at the control cluster on the handlebar as Yamaha has changed that and also added a 500W battery option for 2017 (in UK). great bike i tried a few last year renting them for loops around rutland Water in england.

we rented a mix of haibikes both bosch and yamaha powered and for myself i liked the yamaha more as it felt like it had more grunt and i prefer the lower cadence myself.
However both power options from haibike are excellent and i would recommend anyone looking into haibike to go test ride them both to see which you prefer.

Simon Colby
10 months ago

The 2017 models in the US still use the same controller cluster/display, unfortunately. Same with the pw-x motor. You can get the 500wh battery here though

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

You're correct, I shot this a while back and was holding it to mix in. Sam commented above and said he still has some good deals on Haibikes from last year. It seems like they have launched later than expected in some cases so I hope this review is still relevant ;)

CRaul87
10 months ago

Sounds like this Yamaha engine was made for me, I love low cadence, now I just need to win the lotto:P

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Nice! Yeah, it's funny... A lot of people really love it so I try to present what it's like without adding too much opinion (but I clearly prefer Bosch for the higher cadence). Appreciate your constructive comment and yeah, these ones aren't cheap but they are a touch cheaper than Bosch ;)

joelbackman100
10 months ago

Yeah - I bought this bike in January in a black and yellow color mix. It's my dream come true bike, after two other Haibike E-bikes. It's my first fully and after some days experimenting with the suspension setup it drives perfectly. Even without shift sensing, the gears change quickly and smoothly. Just let a little pedal pressure off and everything is ok. What I found interesting, that in Europe where I live, this bike comes with the Rock Shox Yari - not with a Lyric. One of these days the Haibike guys will loose the overview - so much varieties for so many models. I got rid of the plastic pedals right away and replaced them with a pair of solid wide metal flats. Much better.

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Awesome, sounds like you're having a blast! Thanks for the tips on pedal assist and bit about Europe vs. America specs. Congrats on getting your dream bike, it's a good one ;)

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
10 months ago

Excellent cameraman-ship court !. The frontal pedal view was a good angle. The rear view was also very visually affective as well. Do you always shoot these videos independently ? . If you do, then you're the man.

Good job. Keep it up. 😊

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Thanks! Yeah, I shoot these with a couple of GoPros and try to get relevant angles. In this case with the fatter tires, soft terrain and full suspension it was cool to see the front and back going :D appreciate your support

Jim Bo
10 months ago

I just got this 2016 ebike model on clearance, and it's awesome (except for the lower-end XLC dropper). I agree that the bulkier, heavier aspect of ebikes can benefit from wider tires. Several 2017 Haibikes come stocked with plus-size tires now.

edgar lowther
7 months ago

Jim Bo m.

pubcollab
10 months ago

I think the variety will keep expanding as long as folks keep buying! Next up: 36ers? http://mbaction.com/uncategorized/black-sheep-36er-test

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Hey Jim! Yeah, it seems to be catching on and I agree that for any kind of trail or mountain it makes a lot of sense. even the 2.5" tires on the Stromer bikes (and other city models) adds some cushion. I wonder what they will do when batteries and motors get super light? Perhaps stick with large tires because the efficiency doesn't matter as much when you've got assist?!

moinsen mann
10 months ago

Update: The Website loads as quickly as usual again. :)

Also, I am in Russia atm and even here I have seen some Haibikes! <3

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

You're correct, this is a 2016 model but I've noticed that sometimes Haibike releases stuff late in the US. I have had this footage for a while but wanted to space it out. Will be seeking out the 2017 line as well as I travel along :)

Enrico Kitzler
10 months ago

but it is the old version. the newest is 8.0 wit the new yamaha pw-x engine

Enrico Kitzler
10 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com thats cool i asked for the video a few days ago, and there it is.😀

moinsen mann
10 months ago

I am from Germany, but I have a lot of family members in Russia and Eastern Europe :) Actually my family is spread all over the world... Yeah, the fall of the Soviet Union hit us hard

Glad to hear about the updates! :D

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Sweet! Thanks for reporting back on load speed... we are working on a theme update for the forums and some other technical stuff like the dealer map. I let my friend know about the speed issues and we talked about it earlier today :) are you from Russia? I have never been but some of my ancestors are from there, I'd live to visit one day!