Haibike SDURO ALLMTN RC Review

Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Electric Bike Review
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Yamaha 500 Watt Ebike Motor
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Yamaha Lithium Ion Ebike Battery
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Yamaha Removable Ebike Lcd Console
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Yamaha Ebike Button Pad
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Rochshox Remote Lockout
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Rockshox Sektor Gold Solo Air 150 Mm Travel
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Rockshox Monarch Rt Rear Suspension
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Xlc Pro Seat Post Dropper
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc 11 36t Cassette
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Quick Release Taurus Wheelset
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Side Slide In Battery Pack
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Yamaha Motor Skid Plate
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Yamaha Ebike Battery Charger Big
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Ebike
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Electric Bike Review
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Yamaha 500 Watt Ebike Motor
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Yamaha Lithium Ion Ebike Battery
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Yamaha Removable Ebike Lcd Console
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Yamaha Ebike Button Pad
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Rochshox Remote Lockout
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Rockshox Sektor Gold Solo Air 150 Mm Travel
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Rockshox Monarch Rt Rear Suspension
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Xlc Pro Seat Post Dropper
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc 11 36t Cassette
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Quick Release Taurus Wheelset
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Side Slide In Battery Pack
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Yamaha Motor Skid Plate
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Yamaha Ebike Battery Charger Big
Haibike Sduro Allmtn Rc Ebike

Summary

  • An all mountain trail + downhill mid drive powered electric bike with 150 mm air suspension, rigid thru axles (15 mm front 142 x 12 mm rear)
  • Impressive 20 speed drivetrain with quality Shimano Deore XT groupset, capable Shimano M615 hydraulic disc brakes (203 mm front 180 mm rear)
  • Ebike specific frame with internally routed cables and wires, custom motor interface and downtube side-slide battery keeps weight low and center for balance
  • No shift sensing with the Yamaha drive system but it relies more on torque so easing off while pedaling reduces mashing, large heavier charging unit

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Haibike

Model:

SDURO ALLMTN RC

Price:

$4,299

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Motor and Battery, 5 Year Frame

Availability:

United States, Europe

Model Year:

2016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

51.5 lbs (23.35 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.5 lbs (2.94 kg)

Motor Weight:

7.6 lbs (3.44 kg)

Frame Material:

Hydroformed Aluminum Alloy 6061

Frame Sizes:

15.75 in (40 cm)17.32 in (43.99 cm)18.9 in (48 cm)20.47 in (51.99 cm)

Frame Types:

Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Blue and Yellow Accents

Frame Fork Details:

RockShox Sektor Gold Solo Air Suspension with Rebound Adjust, Remote Lockout and 150 mm Travel, 15 mm Thru Axle

Frame Rear Details:

RockShox Monarch RT Air Shock with Rebound Clicker, 142 / 12 mm Thru Axle

Gearing Details:

20 Speed 2x10 Shimano Deore XT , 11-36T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore triggers on Left and Right

Cranks:

FSA CK-745 Cranks, FSA X-10 Chainring, 42T

Pedals:

XLC Freeride, Plastic Platform with Alloy Pins

Headset:

FSA No. 57, A-Head, Semi-Integrated, Tapered

Stem:

Xduro Aluminium, A-Head

Handlebar:

Sduro Lowriser Aluminium

Brake Details:

Shimano M615 Hydraulic Disc with 203 mm Front and 180 mm Rear Rotors, Shimano M615 Levers

Grips:

XLC Ergo Sport, Rubber, Lock On

Saddle:

Selle Royal Sirio

Seat Post:

XLC Pro, Remote Drop, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

300 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Taurus, 584 x 21c, Alloy-Double Wall

Spokes:

Sapim Leader, Stainless Steel 14G, Black

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Nobby Nic Performance, 27.5" x 2.36"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

Foldable

Tube Details:

Presta

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, Quick Release Wheels and Seat Tube, Cable Inlets, Replaceable Plastic Skid Plate, Gravity Casting Motor Mount Interface with CNC Milled Connection and Bearing Seat Points, Zero Cadence Assist

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Yamaha

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

80 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

60 miles (97 km)

Display Type:

Removable, Backlit LCD Console

Readouts:

Trip Distance, Total Distance, Current Time, Trip Time, Maximum Speed, Average Speed, Current Speed, Charge Level (10 Bars), Range, Cadence, Assist Level (Off, Eco+, Eco, Std, High)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Cadence and Torque, Eco+: 50%, Eco: 100%, Std: 180%, High: 280%)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The ALLMTN group is one of my favorite SDURO (Yamaha powered) electric bike lines from Haibike. It comes in four trim levels with varying levels of component groupsets and I tested the RC which is one step up from the bottom, priced at $4,299. That’s $600 more than the entry level SL model and the biggest difference is a 20 speed drivetrain vs. just 10 on the SL. For my ride test I climbed a very steep dirt path and those extra gears really came in handy. I wasn’t sure how shifting would perform because the Yamaha system does not offer shift detection the way that the more expensive XDURO (Bosch powered) Haibikes do. What I’ve found during my ride tests is that Yamaha relies more on torque and seems to have a shorter range of RPM which results in less mashing if you ease off while shifting but requires more shifting to happen in order to really leverage the motor’s power.

Driving this ebike is a 250 watt nominal… 500 watt peak internally geared motor that is custom mounted to the area of the frame normally reserved for the bottom bracket tube. Haibike touts their Aluminum frames as being hydroformed with a gravity cast interface at the motor mount. Basically, it looks beautiful, is strong and saves weight. What you get out is up to 80 Newton meters of torque… which is a lot for a production electric bike that follows US law for classification as a Class 1 model (permissible for use in the most environments and trials). There’s no throttle here, you just pick an assist level, pedal and the motor automatically kicks on based on your cadence and pedal torque. I had no issues climbing and was able to use the lowest two gears to reach my destination at the top of a peak on the outskirts of Simi Valley, CA where some other ebikes had struggled in days prior. The one complaint I had (and this applies for all Yamaha powered ebikes I’ve tried) is that in order to get full power from the motor I had to slow my cadence and often shifted up. With similarly specced Bosch powered models I was able to spin a bit faster while getting similar power.

Powering the bike is an impressive 36 volt 11 amp hour battery that slides in from the side and can be charged on or off the frame. The long slim design and unique mounting feature means the top tube on the bike can angle down more delivering a lower stand over height. This makes the bike accessible and when combined with the four frame size options, means more people can handle and enjoy it. Another feature I liked was the seat post dropper with remote (you can click a button, sit down and the seat post will slide down). This is super useful for transitioning from spinning on smooth terrain to bounding across bumpy terrain or bombing down a large hill. A high saddle can interfere with your leg motion to absorb bumps and kick you in the butt painfully if you drop a large bump or rock and squat suddenly.

A couple of other highlights with this and all ALLMTN models are the low-rise bars and negative-angle stem designed to protect the LCD display. The console itself is removable so you could pop it off on rough descents… just in case. Stiff thru-axles are used front and rear with 15 mm and 12 mm respectively and that’s part of what makes this a capable “all mountan” platform for use on challenging downhill terrain. Both suspension elements use air on the RC model so they weigh less and the bike comes in at ~51 lbs which is decent, both suspension shocks offer quick release and rebound adjust and the fork has remote lockout. My favorite part of this model is the bike itself, it feels great off-road and the brakes, while not top of the line, were solid on my short descent. There’s plenty of room to upgrade with the ALLMTN Pro and Plus models but the cost is quite high. I think I’d consider switching to the XDURO Bosch powered drive system for the extra money first because it suites me more… I have sensitive knees and prefer to spin faster vs. harder pressure with slow cadence. All Haibike ALLMTN models are limited to 20 mph assisted which is easy to hit on paved surfaces but feels thrilling off-road or while climbing medium grades.

Pros:

  • Haibike is touting their Yamaha powered electric bikes as offering “uncompromising performance” geared for a younger demographic, zero cadence assist is meant to be more immediate (verses the Bosch Centerdrive which requires 20 rpm for the motor to kick in), in my experience both systems start extremely quickly and Yamaha is more torque responsive with a stronger but slower feel
  • With the ALLMTN series (anything above the SL) you get two front chain rings for a total of 20 gears, this offers a wider range of operation 455% vs. 420% and I could feel it when climbing the steepest inclines during my ride test
  • The Selle Royal saddle matches the frame, feels pretty good (but firm for active riding) and has an integrated light or bag clip for Selle Royal compatible accessories
  • The display panel is large, easy to read, backlit and removable! I’d probably take it off when doing tricky downhill stuff in case of a crash), I like that the button pad is easy to reach, well sealed and has an integrated Micro USB port for charging accessories
  • The Yamaha mid-drive motor operates fairly quietly in high and mid level gears (when it’s not spinning super fast)
  • You can charge the battery pack on or off the frame and since it slides on from the side vs. straight down like Bosch and other brands, it allows the top tube of the frame to angle down lower for more accommodating stand over height
  • Fun color scheme, the matte black with blue and fluorescent yellow accents looks rad and even the battery decals, saddle and fork are color matched!
  • Nice suspension fork with 150 mm travel, a stiff 15 mm thru axle, remote lockout and rebound adjust to handle a wide variety of terrain
  • The rear suspension is also light weight air and has a rebound adjust with two settings that almost behaved like a light lockout
  • Excellent weight distribution, the motor and battery are positioned low and center improving handling, both wheels have quick release for easier transport or trail maintenance and the motor is well protected with a replaceable plastic skidplate (also color matched!)
  • Offered in four frame sizes for improved fit whether you’re tall or short and if you’re female check out the similar FullLife model from Haibike for a different color scheme and shorter reach or downgrade to hardtale with the HardLife models

Cons:

  • Limited motor speed range, I found that when switching down to lower gears the motor support dropped out significantly (even in the highest pedal assist mode) because it relies so heavily on torque as an input, this was a bummer when approaching hills at high speed riding off-road
  • No shift sensing or shift detection built into the drive system, this could lead to more mashing, banging and premature wear on the chain, cassette and derailleur
  • Large battery charger with cables that don’t come unplugged so it’s extra long even when the cables are tied up, it also weighs more than some other chargers I’ve seen
  • I found that the battery pack can rattle a bit at times and that you really need to make sure it’s clicked in before riding off, you could turn and remove the key but then push to hear the click of the battery

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Haibike Reviews

Haibike XDURO AllMtn 8.0 Review

  • MSRP: $6,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

The highest specced all mountain electric model from Haibike, longer 150 mm travel on front and rear air suspension by Magura and Fox paired with a steeper fork angle and plus sized tires let you handle most terrain. Premium Magura hydraulic disc brakes 203/180 size with adjustable lightweight carbon levers and quad piston…...

Haibike SDURO HardFour 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high performance, purpose built electric mountain bike for kids or petite adults... but mostly kids! Limited top speed of 15 mph for safety, full 9-speed Shimano drivetrain. Capable 160 mm hydraulic disc brakes with adjustable-reach levers for smaller hands, only available in…...

Haibike SDURO HardNine 4.0 Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the most affordable Haibikes in the line, available in four frame sizes, relatively lightweight, large 29er tires provide float and momentum at speed for cross country riding. Very capable mid-drive system (the same motor and battery as some higher-priced Haibike models), zero…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty, 28 mph, commuter-ready, electric bicycle made in six frame sizes across two styles, a stiffer high-step and easy approach step-thru. Reinforced fenders stay quiet, oversized rack with spring latch and Racktime connector, integrated LED lights…...

Haibike XDURO FullSeven Carbon Ultimate Review

  • MSRP: $16,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high-performance electric mountain bike available in four frame sizes, stiff carbon frame for improved power transfer and handling, carbon accents include seat post, saddle, handlebar, wheelset and more. Eleven speed Shimano Deore XTR drivetrain with Di2 electronic shifting for faster, more precise gear…...

Haibike SDURO AllMtn 6.0 Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A trail worthy, full suspension electric mountain bike with stiff lightweight frame construction, optimized suspension and a tightly integrated mid-drive motor from Yamaha. Upgraded 500 watt hour battery pack delivers 60+ miles on medium assist, powerful hydraulic disc…...

Haibike SDURO ALLMTN Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautiful and capable all mountain style ebike with premium components from Schwalbe, Shimano, Magura and RockShox, the frame, fork and saddle are paint matched. The drive system is surprisingly powerful, delivering 80 Newton meters of peak torque output, it…...

Haibike XDURO Urban S RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high speed road bike with electric assist up to 28 mph (45 km/h), available in five frame sizes for improved fit and a vibration dampening seat post and shock stem for improved comfort. Efficient low-resistance tires with deep-dish aero rims and bladed spokes, keep the tire pressure up…...

Haibike SDURO Full FatSix Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only full suspension fat electric bikes I've seen, quality hardware including 20 speed Shimano Deore XT drivetrain, solid 2 year motor and battery warranty with 5 years on the frame. Powered by the Yamaha mid-drive ebike system with 500 watt motor, Zero Cadence pedal assist,…...

Haibike SDURO FullNine RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension 29er with mid-drive motor, slim battery and removable display by Yamaha, offers 80 Nm of torque and zero-cadence pedal assist response. The RX trim level is top of the line with light weight hardware from Shimano,…...

Haibike XDURO DWNHLL Pro Review

  • MSRP: $8,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the only true downhill ready electric bikes being made in series production, delivers a worldcup ready chassis and pro level components. Shimano Saint drivetrain and brakes (top of the line downhill groupset), with two piece Ice-Tech…...

Haibike XDURO FullLife RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Custom geometry with shorter reach to accommodate women (who tend to have shorter arms and torso but longer legs), shorter saddle with wider back, adjustable position brake levers for smaller hands. plush 120 mm front and rear Fox air suspension with 15 mm thru-axle front and…...

Haibike SDURO HardSeven SM Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable Haibike in the 2016 line, features the Yamaha drive system with a basic fixed LED display console, basic saddle, heavier oil suspension fork and cheaper Kenda tires without liners. Solid nine-speed SRAM X-4 drivetrain, no shift sensing or motor inhibitors, large 180 mm hydraulic…...

Haibike SDURO HardLife SL Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

The most affordable women's specific electric bike from Haibike, leverages the Yamaha mid-drive, features an upgraded LCD screen with USB charging port. Excellent weight distribution, battery and motor are mounted low and center, the top tube is…...

Haibike XDURO Fullseven RX Review

  • MSRP: $5,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A high performance full suspension electric mountain bike with quality components from Shimano, RockShox, and Fox. Responsive, durable and intuitive drive systems powered by Bosch, solid two year comprehensive warranty, five…...

Haibike XDURO AMT RX Review

  • MSRP: $6,350
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A high performance all-mountain electric bike with premium suspension from Fox and hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano. Thru axles on front and rear wheel for improved stiffness and durability, seat post dropper…...

Haibike XDURO Nduro Pro Review

  • MSRP: $9,100
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Premium downhill capable electric bike with 180 mm travel on front and rear Fox air suspension, available in four frame sizes for improved fit. Excellent weight distribution, Bosch-made Centerdrive motor and battery kept low and center on the frame,…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking Pro Review

  • MSRP: $4,650
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

A long-range capable touring our commuting style electric bike that climbs well, has a balanced weight distribution and offers 27 speeds for a steady cadence at most speeds. Excellent accessories including LED lights, full-length fenders and sturdy rear-rack with spring latch...

Haibike XDURO Nduro RX

  • MSRP: $7,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The entry-level performance downhill electric bike from Haibike with 26" wheels , long travel 180 mm air suspension by Fox with CTD adjust and hydraulic Shimano SLX disc brakes. Excellent frame balance with motor and battery mounted low and center, quick release wheels with…...

Haibike XDURO Urban Review

  • MSRP: $4,450
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An efficient, light weight road style electric bike with a perfectly balanced all-aluminum frame and electric drive system. Convenient quick release wheels, integrated LED lights, quality hydraulic disc brakes and a removable battery…...

Haibike XDURO Fatsix Review

  • MSRP: $5,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

The only Bosch powered electric fat bike I've seen with a suspension fork, RockShox air with remote lockout. Burly 15 mm front and 12 mm rear thru axles, extended bottom bracket and spindle…...

Haibike XDURO Race Review

  • MSRP: $6,700
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

An extremely well balanced, light weight, high speed electric road bike - one of the only ebikes with drop bars that I've seen. Efficient centerdrive from Bosch can reach speeds of 28 mph and distance in excess of…...

Haibike XDURO FS RX 27.5″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High performance, well balanced, full suspension electric mountain bike with motor and battery kept low and center. Available in four frame sizes for good fit, larger 27.5" wheels improve traction, momentum and…...

Haibike XDURO RX 29″ Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Capable and sturdy eMountain bike with great frame balance, motor and battery (mounted low and center). Available in four frame sizes for good fit, large 29" wheels provide improved traction, momentum…...

Haibike XDURO Trekking RX Review

  • MSRP: $4,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Ultra efficient centerdrive motor leverages nine speed cassette and three speed SRAM hub for climbing and distance. Top of the line commuting accessories including dynamo powered LED lights, rear rack with pump,…...

Haibike XDURO Superrace Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the lightest weight, most efficient and fastest riding electric road bikes available. Premium components including Magura MT4 hydraulic disc brakes, Integrated LED lights and SRAM X0 drivetrain...

Haibike XDURO AMT Pro Review

  • MSRP: $7,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Top of the line all mountain style electric bike with full suspension and middrive motor. Light weight, high end frame and components keep bike under 50 pounds...


Greg
2 years ago

Court, in your opinion is the Bosch system worth the price difference between the sduro and xduro lines?

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Yes absolutely.

Reply
Tom
2 years ago

Hi Court, great review once again! I’m about to purchase one of these Haibikes, but I’m torn between the sduro SL and sduro RC. I noticed you have mentioned the main difference is the double chainring vs single. I’m not a crazy off roader or would be taking the bike to its limit so I don’t think the upgraded components between the SL to RC would matter much. But for the extra $, do you think the double chainring and drop post is worth it? I can get the RC for $475 more then the SL at my local shop. Do you know if the single chainring is upgradable to double on the SL? to be honest I prefer the color combo of the SL over the RC.

Another option is the xduro fullseven rc, I can get that for $700 more then the SL. You seem like a big fan of the Bosch motor, but just not sure if an extra $700 for that motor would really be noticeably to me. Since I mainly be using my bike on paved roads and occasional dirt/gravel trails. Let me know what you think about the SL vs the RC or go the extra mile and get the xduro fullseven rc? If the SL single chainring is upgradable to the double that would be ideal. As I could save some $ and still get the double chainring and have my preferred color combo. Thanks

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Tom! Great questions, I think the SL would be a solid bike if it truly has the large removable LCD and the remote button pad. I reviewed an SL model from the women’s collection that had a very basic LED console with the buttons built in and lacked a USB port and the Eco+ level of assist… It actually worked fine but was a definite downgrade. My understanding is that the SDURO ALLMTN SL does have the nicer LCD but double check that (please let me know if you’ve seen it in person). The SL would be fine for what you’re describing and ~$500 is a solid savings… Having tried both XDURO and SDURO models I definitely prefer the Bosch drive system but that’s because I prefer to spin and enjoy the cadence feel vs. torque sensing feel of Yamaha. I also love the Intuvia display panel and the tighter battery integration. In my mind, it’s just better… but I still love the SDURO models and $700 could go a long ways towards buying something else. Since my focus is all about ebikes I’d pay more and upgrade but I know I would still be very happy with the SDURO and given your position I think the SL model sounds fine, I usually never shift the front gears anyway ;)

Reply
Dane
2 years ago

I’m having the same dillema, ALmnt RC or Almnt SL. I haven’t been able to find a dealer that has both to compare in person. In fact dealer in Venice CA had only two hardtails with yamaha motors which is not what I’m interested. They said they will get back to me when the ALLMNT gets shipped. Let me know what was your final decision?

Reply
Hassan
2 years ago

Hi please help me, I’m located at Toronto and very close to pull the trigger to buy ebike full suspention, I can’t decide what I should get, I’m 135 kg and 180 cm. But away I can spend $5800 Canadian. I’m going to use it to go downtown and 33 km mild uphill coming back from downtown, I had knee surgery so this going to best option I guess.

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Hassan, I hope my reply reached you soon enough! I love the Haibike line but would recommend spending more for the XDURO Bosch powered bikes because they don’t take as much pressure to activate and if you have a sensitive knee that would be ideal. You may look for the 45 cm frame size as you and I are very similar in height and this is what fit me best. There is also a 50 cm frame size for most that works well. Any of the full suspension models would work for you in the correct size if you’re just riding around town (but probably not the downhill model). Check out the Haibike XDURO FullSeven. Also, here is a video of my uncle talking about using a full suspension Haibike to commute to work just like you’re talking about doing!

Reply
Lutz
6 months ago

Court, have you ridden the SDURO? The Yamaha motor has the zero cadence, torque NOW system, Bosch does not. In fact, the Yamaha torque and control unit is so good that I leave the bike in one gear, the highest, and find that this covers 80% of the terrain. No stress on knees, and even spinning like a dervish the Yamah motor does not cut out. This all-terrain riding though where I rarely go over 20mph. The Bosch is fine on a trekking bike I ran in Germany on a bike path tour, but for bad knees starting in a gear that’s two numbers too high only the Yamaha will do.

Marcel
1 year ago

Hi there , I’m really worried about the range you get on the bike. What are your honest estimates with range. I weigh 172lbs. Are there better ebikes out there with better range. I will be doing mostly paved roads , some gravel and the weekend trail in the woods ? Thanks

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Marcel! In my experience the mid-drive units from Bosch XDURO can truly get 60+ miles per charge if you’re using the lowest assist level and are riding on flat paved surfaces (without a lot of wind). The estimates are based on a 160 lb rider… Unfortunately I don’t have as much in-depth experience with the Yamaha SDURO but their lowest assist seems to offer less power so you could get as much or even more range. Yes, there are higher capacity further ranged electric bicycles out there and one company to consider is Focus (or Kalkhoff, both part of the Pon group but Kalkhoff is more on-road vs. Focus being a bit of off-road too). They also use mid-drive motors but the output is 250+ vs. 350+ on Bosch and Yamaha. Hope this helps! I have a lot of love for Haibike for their style, value and warranty, my preference is the Bosch XDURO but Yamaha is decent too :)

Reply
o.c rider
1 year ago

I actually own this bike and have put a few hundred miles on it. I also own a 2015 Xduro FullSeven RX (same bike Court owns I think), and a Felt Dual-e, (also with the Bosch system). I have quite a few miles on the Bosch system under my belt and on the Yamaha system, which is rare, so I think it would be helpful to share what I’ve learned. I’ve ridden both down super steep, technical, trails and hammered them hard. Through creeks, loose rocks, mud, tree roots, you name it. I’ve been mountain biking since 1992.

Here in orange county we have a riding area called Whiting Ranch and there’s a trail called Mustard. At the end of Mustard is a pretty steep hill, most average to below average guys walk up for the last 20 ft to give you a mental picture, its the end of a pretty long climb to the top. I did back to back to back comparison tests up the last 100 feet of this trail, Bosch vs. Yamaha. They feel different. By different I mean different. The Bosch makes you feel like you’re moving faster, cause like Court says you’re spinning a little lower gear on the Bosch. The reality is that the Yamaha actually has a lower final gear ratio, you can spin if you want just like on the Bosch. But on the Yamaha it’s easy to push a little higher gear and thus travel a lot faster, and BTW this is Bosch Turbo mode vs. Yamaha High (both systems at the highest settings). I’m not talking about blow out your knees pushing up a hill, the bikes are on the highest boost mode, you’re not gonna kill yourself of anything let’s get real. If you raced your friend and your skills were equal, I believe the Yamaha bike is a bit faster up hills, just a bit, like one bike length over a 100 foot race up a hill faster. It’s a faster bike up hills was my conclusion, but not by much, either bike you’re still basically lance armstrong compared to any other rider on the trail. But this is not the full story.

By the way, on the Yamaha system I see no reason to ever shift the front into the large chain ring. You could take it off really. You just never need it. Re-reading I’m wondering if Court test rode the bike in the large chain ring in the front, maybe leaving him with the impression that you had to really push the bike to get speed? (the bike is on the large front in the video picture?) The boost stops at 20mph and that’s right about where the smaller front chain ring leaves you. To shift up to the large front chain ring would be in situations where you’re pedaling over 20mph, and that’s where the computer fights you and resists going over 20, totally pointless to fight the system to get to 25 or whatever. I’m sure they spec’d the 2×10 drive just to save dollars, the Yamaha system should be a 1×10, or 1×11 just like the Bosch in my opinion.

Anyways, the full story with the Yamaha bike is that it costs less than the Bosch system. Quite a bit less. And the Sduro AllMtn’s have 150mm of suspension vs my other bikes 120mm. Big huge fat difference. 150mm is so much better, especially on a 50lbs bike. I’ll never go back. Also here’s the biggest dirty secret on Bosch bikes: the 16t front sprocket + wet/sand/mud = Chain suck. Lock the cranks cold, chain suck. Ruin your ride chain suck. Get so frustrated you dip your drivetrain in a creek to try to fix it chain suck.

16t front is just too small, plain and simple. Bosch could’ve spec’d at least a 18t or maybe a 20t and changed the internal gearing. But for some reason they didn’t. Ok on BOTH my Bosch bikes, it’s the same story. The SES pulley on the Haibike might help, but I’ve got the suck on both very annoyingly so. It’s when the chain gets dirty basically. Look at the bosch equipped bike, it’s pretty simple, combine Lance Armstrong on PED’s amount of torque, a regular mid-grade $20 bike chain, and a smaller-than-even-a-singlespeed 16t front sprocket and the numbers don’t add up. Something’s gotta give. I’ve replaced the chain with X01 and it helped but when it gets wet and muddy or sandy look out, it’ll ride around the front sprocket like a merry go round and lock the cranks on you. In every gear. I’ve troubleshot it. There’s no escape. Bring a can of aerosol spray chain clean/lube with you if you ride bosch in wet. I’ve talked to Bosch people. They have no solution other than keep it clean, replace chain, replace sprocket.

The Yamaha system is so simple in contrast, it reminds me of a toyota truck. It just works. Nothing fancy, just plain works. Bosch is like VW – meaning it leaves me wondering if German engineering is so amazing, why aren’t they the most reliable cars on the road? I’m exaggerating a bit, but seriously Bosch is nice but I’m more of a Honda guy than a Mercedes guy.

So to sum up this stupidly long post, if the Bosch bikes and Yamaha bikes from Haibike were equipped exactly the same and priced exactly the same I’d still choose the Yamaha for its drivetrain simplicity. But the fact that the Yamaha bikes are priced almost a $1000 less? No brainer, Yamaha.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Great feedback, excellent points! Thanks for taking the time to share it all… I may have been in the larger ring for this review as you suggest but have ridden other SDURO (Yamaha) bikes where there was only a 1×10 drivetrain and it still felt like a lower RPM activation range with lower speed outputs which just wasn’t as satisfying for me as Bosch. I’ve heard 80 RPM for Yamaha and 95-100 for Bosch? It’s totally a style thing and I was indeed impressed with Yamaha and their lower price. As for the smaller sprockets and chain suck… yeah, I’ve heard about this from other high-level riders, here’s a thread where EddieJ shows his muddy bike and talks about it. Apparently Bosch lets each bike maker decide on sprocket size and they range from like 16T to 20T which might help. It’s a trade off, glad both are in the space working to make their stuff even better :)

Reply
John Watts
1 year ago

Hi Court. I have been reading your reviews and have enjoyed them. I would like some input on making a selection of an ebike. I have looked at and had a short test ride on Pedego’s Ridge Rider 27.5 Mountain Bike, Specialized Turbo Levo FSR Comp 6Fattie and Haibike”s AllMtnSL. I am an above knee amputee and when I ride i get about fourth the power on my down ward stroke out of my artificial leg than my good leg. When i road the Haibike i was watching the power bar on the left of their screen and really noticed the lack of power my artificial leg produced it was down about a fourth or less of my other leg. So my question considering most of my power comes out of one leg which ebike system would recommend for me. I saw that you mentioned the Bosch system for some one with a bad knee. I am leaning tward Haibike’s AllMRsl right now of the bikes I have tested, they did not have any of the Bocsh system bikes to try. The Specialized bike I tried seem to slow down fast when you stoped pedealing, not much glide, maybe its the faty tires. Thank you

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi John, great to hear your thoughts on this… my own experience with the SDURO Yamaha system is that it makes you push harder than with the higher levels of XDURO Bosch models. You can still get a workout (and possibly struggle with your artificial leg) if you use the lowest assist but the higher ones are awesome. I feel that the system balances cadence and torque for power output vs. relying more heavily on torque. Another model I’ve been hearing about that might put power out for longer even if you’re not pushing as hard is the new Stromer ST2 X but I haven’t tried it yet. I have tested several Easy Motion bikes and they have some lag with assist and a throttle so you could switch to that if you needed a break. The only downside is that the throttle does not override assist… so you have to adjust it with the left button pad then twist. I hope this helps to guide you! I’d love to hear what you decide on or further feedback as you test more bikes.

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

LimboJim
2 weeks ago

Anyone using the
KMC X10e Sport Bicycle Chain?

Yes, for about 250 hard trail miles so far on my Sduro AllMtn+ with no problems! I bought several at an EU site that sells a lot of ebike-specific parts for far less than anyone I've found in the US - $25-30 shipping but I save more than that with each $100 I spend there: https://www.bike-discount.de/en/buy/kmc-x10e-e-bike-chain-10-speed-32293

Marc Webster
4 weeks ago

I haven't experienced the latest eMTB-specific Bosch CX, Yamaha PW-X or Brose-S motors, so I can't compare them to the E8000. I do own three Haibikes (2014 Xduro FS RX, 2015 Xduro rx29 & 2016 Sduro AllMtn+) however, and will say that the overall build quality and finish on all three are noticeably superior to my 2018 Motobecane eBoost Pro (pivots, motor bash guards, PAINT etc.). So I'd jump on that deal for the "lower-specced" Haibike AllMtn 7.0; I think you might be happier in the long run (you can always upgrade componentry later).

I have ridden a BBS02-fitted Biktrix offroad extensively, as well, and the low overhang sent me flying off the bike when I tried to clear a 4-5" log that every other MTB or eMTB I've ever ridden cleared with ease. Also, IMO, Bafang's power is far too binary, and it's way to torquey at its lowest assist level for traversing technical singletrack. The lag time after pedal disengagement is also a liability on tight turns etc.
Thanks Limbojim,

I have ridden a BBS02 converted bike and while it did have a ton of speed and power it was not refined and easily controllable in singletrack as you mentioned. That is why when I converted my commuter I chose a small Q128 hubmotor from BMS. I wanted a bike under 40lbs that still felt like a bike. Also on the off chance I lose power I wanted it to not have too much drag and the geared hubmotos hardly have any. I pedaled my dads BBS02 bike and it was abysmal to pedal with all the drag. I did pedal the All Mountain 7 with the motor off and it was even worse than the BBS02. I had read the shimano system pedals a bit better and the Brose system completely decouples. Some of the points newfydog mentions sound good and also seems the shimano bikes batteries are a bit less then the Bosch. I do like that you have experience on both so that puts the All mountain 7 more on top for me and if needed I can take the money I save on the used All Mountain 7 to buy an extra battery one day.

I will think this all over and do more research over the holiday.

LimboJim
4 weeks ago

Hello All,

First post here.

I am currently commuting on an electric bike that I made by adding low power hubmotor (Q128 from BMS) and it works so well I now want to replace my 2008 Specialized FSR 29er with an electric bike. I test rode the Haibike all mountain 6.5 and 7, Specaialized Revo and the Giant. I was considering converting my FSR that I own with a BBSHD and using my commuter battery but don't want the liability of a motor hanging below. Now I see Motobecane has made what looks to be a really nice bike. I have no familiarity with the Shimano E drives but did find I liked the Bosch over the Yamaha. Before finding the Motobecane I was pretty much settled on the 2017 All mountain 7 and my LBS has it for roughly 3800 out the door so its very similar in price to the Motobecane. Yet the motobecane is better specked and unsure if i want ot take the chance site unseen and no demo ride when I know I like the All mountain 7.

If anyone on here has experience with the bike vs Haibike I would love to hear it. Also a Bosch CX vs Shimano comparison. Limbojim would love more info...

Also I want a PAS type bike over the high powered Luna bikes as I want to keep the bie fele over more the motorcycle feel. Not ot put down what they are doing s I think its amazing but for my Mtn biking tastes I only want some help in climbing mostly...

Thanks,

Marc
I haven't experienced the latest eMTB-specific Bosch CX, Yamaha PW-X or Brose-S motors, so I can't compare them to the E8000. I do own three Haibikes (2014 Xduro FS RX, 2015 Xduro rx29 & 2016 Sduro AllMtn+) however, and will say that the overall build quality and finish on all three are noticeably superior to my 2018 Motobecane eBoost Pro (pivots, motor bash guards, PAINT etc.). So I'd jump on that deal for the "lower-specced" Haibike AllMtn 7.0; I think you might be happier in the long run (you can always upgrade componentry later).

I have ridden a BBS02-fitted Biktrix offroad extensively, as well, and the low overhang sent me flying off the bike when I tried to clear a 4-5" log that every other MTB or eMTB I've ever ridden cleared with ease. Also, IMO, Bafang's power is far too binary, and it's way to torquey at its lowest assist level for traversing technical singletrack. The lag time after pedal disengagement is also a liability on tight turns etc.

bob armani
2 months ago

Hi,
I am a German guy currently visiting the Bay Area for a while.
Riding Haibike eMTBs since 2012, got divorced after I bought my 8th Haibike o_O. I've got lots of experience with the Bosch motors, riding them a lot and even repair the motors if necessary.

These are my bikes here in the US:
My German 2015 Haibike FatSix

My US version 2017 Haibike Cross 4.0

My German 2015 Haibike Sduro AllMtn Pro

And if I don't know what to do, I just cruise around with another 2017 FatSix which is so much fun using the eMTB mode :D

Here are some of my threads in the German Pedelec forum:
Repair broken Bosch motor
https://www.pedelecforum.de/forum/index.php?threads/performance-motor-innenleben-so-sollte-es-eigentlich-nicht-aussehen-o.40234/

My current activities
https://www.pedelecforum.de/forum/index.php?threads/the-orange-thing-geht-auf-reisen.47919/page-9

My 2015 trip across Eastern Europe
http://www.pedelecforum.de/forum/index.php?threads/radreise-nach-osteuropa-mit-dem-haibike-fatsix-vorbereitung-tourbilder-etc.34651/

You go German guy! You are an inspiration to all of us ebikers here in the US. Those are some nice ebikes you own. When it will cost you a divorce, you know where your passion is. Just like owning too many rebuilt muscle cars her in the US which may make the wifey a little pissed off...LOL
It seems like most of all the best engineered bikes come out of Germany IMHO. Love the designs and the styling of most of the brands. Bulls, Focus, KTM, Haibike etc. Enjoy and ride safe!!:cool:

E-Wheels
2 months ago

Hi,
I am a German guy currently visiting the Bay Area for a while.
Riding Haibike eMTBs since 2012, got divorced after I bought my 8th Haibike o_O. I've got lots of experience with the Bosch motors, riding them a lot and even repair the motors if necessary.

These are my bikes here in the US:
My German 2015 Haibike FatSix

My US version 2017 Haibike Cross 4.0

My German 2015 Haibike Sduro AllMtn Pro

And if I don't know what to do, I just cruise around with another 2017 FatSix which is so much fun using the eMTB mode :D

Here are some of my threads in the German Pedelec forum:
Repair broken Bosch motor
https://www.pedelecforum.de/forum/index.php?threads/performance-motor-innenleben-so-sollte-es-eigentlich-nicht-aussehen-o.40234/

My current activities
https://www.pedelecforum.de/forum/index.php?threads/the-orange-thing-geht-auf-reisen.47919/page-9

My 2015 trip across Eastern Europe
http://www.pedelecforum.de/forum/index.php?threads/radreise-nach-osteuropa-mit-dem-haibike-fatsix-vorbereitung-tourbilder-etc.34651/
@wildtrak Welcome to the forum
Your post reminds me of the formula N+1 which is used in calculating the ideal number of bikes one should own in a lifetime
N being the number of bikes you currently own

wildtrak
2 months ago

Hi,
I am a German guy currently visiting the Bay Area for a while.
Riding Haibike eMTBs since 2012, got divorced after I bought my 8th Haibike o_O. I've got lots of experience with the Bosch motors, riding them a lot and even repair the motors if necessary.

These are my bikes here in the US:
My German 2015 Haibike FatSix

My US version 2017 Haibike Cross 4.0

My German 2015 Haibike Sduro AllMtn Pro

And if I don't know what to do, I just cruise around with another 2017 FatSix which is so much fun using the eMTB mode :D

Here are some of my threads in the German Pedelec forum:
Repair broken Bosch motor
https://www.pedelecforum.de/forum/index.php?threads/performance-motor-innenleben-so-sollte-es-eigentlich-nicht-aussehen-o.40234/

My current activities
https://www.pedelecforum.de/forum/index.php?threads/the-orange-thing-geht-auf-reisen.47919/page-9

My 2015 trip across Eastern Europe
http://www.pedelecforum.de/forum/index.php?threads/radreise-nach-osteuropa-mit-dem-haibike-fatsix-vorbereitung-tourbilder-etc.34651/

1/3
Robert Stevens
5 months ago

I've had the same problem with my Haibike sduro Yamaha. The lock latching is not holding the battery tight to the lock as it should. Three friends have the same bike without this issue. The problem can be solved as described in this thread but I wonder if there is a way of adjusting the lock mechanism so that the battery is held tight to the lock? I've previously used foam to force the battery upward towards the lock. I thought a more elegant solution would be a product called Sugru. This is a mouldable silicone rubber-like material. I formed two discs (pads) of Sugru and stuck them to the underside of the battery close to the position of the lock. Unforunately, Sugru cures too hard and therefore has very little flexibility -- unlike true silicone rubber. So while you can reduce the rattle, it is still present. A solution may be to glue a thin pad of foam to the pads that you form from the Sugru. None of this should be necessary on a quality bike. I will next attempt to open up the lock or replace it with another mechanism. I've had quite a few issues, both electronic and mechanical, with Haibike (which I love regardless). So I can't say I find the bike reliable. I'll post problems and solutions in other threads.
I have a Haibike AllMtn 6.0, and love it. My battery latch is working properly, although as a reminder, when transporting your bike, make sure the battery is fully seated in the latch. I thought mine was, but I lost it in transit to my favorite bing venue. A new 500 Wh battery cost around $900...............needless to say, a major bummer!

Bicyclista
5 months ago

I second what Chris Nolte said, although some of it requires translation if you're a newbie. "Plus size bikes" are not oversized bikes! Rather, they are bikes whose frames allow using (around) 3-inch-wide tires, i.e. wider than most mountain bikes (around 2.25 inches) and thinner than fat bikes (4 inches wide or more). For me, plus-size tires are the sweet all-terrain tires, allowing you to ride anything from pavement to gravel to sand.

You should ALWAYS get a frame that is the right size for you.

As the owner of a full-suspension Haibike Sduro AllMtn Plus, which uses a mid-drive Yamaha motor, I can tell you that Bosch is not the only good motor around. My bike can climb hills really well, and it matches my 60-90 rpm cadence. If, however, you're a high cadence rider you would probably be better served by Bosch. Court Rye, the owner of this site, has noted in his reviews that Yamaha motors' power output goes down at high cadence whereas Bosch motors' power band continues on. However, bikes with Yamaha motors are substantially less expensive than those with Bosch motors, at least in the Haibike line.

If you need to have a rack to take things with you, a hard tail with front suspension might be better. I have yet to find a good rack for my full-suspension, plus-size tire bike, i.e. a rack that attaches to the moving seat stays AND is wide enough to clear the plus-sized tires. (I don't like cantilever racks that attach only to the seat post; they are inherently weak.) But I would definitively recommend a suspension seat post if you get a hardtail.

Bicyclista
5 months ago

This is a small issue, but it could lead to an accident if a cable gets tangled with your wheel. I have a Haibike Sduro AllMtn Plus. I've ridden it about a year and 1600 miles, mostly pavement, some dirt, nothing extreme. Overall a great bike!

This is the first issue I've had so far: the small, black plastic clip that holds the speed sensor cable secured to the frame fell off during a ride a couple of days ago. Haibike uses the same kind of clip or clamp to secure other cables as well, such as disc brake cables. (I was going to attach photos but I see that pictures have to be hosted by an external server, and I've cancelled all my accounts in photo-hosting sites.) The clips appear to be specific to Haibike. They attach to tiny cradles or bosses in the frame. A neat solution, as long as they don't fall off!

I emailed my dealer, @San Diego Fly Rides, asking whether the clip was readily available and whether its replacement would be covered under warranty. This is their reply:

"Hi... its not covered under warranty as its lost but we'll see if we have one around here otherwise we'd have to order some - will keep you posted, thnx"

I do not follow their reasoning, that because it's "lost" it is no covered under warranty. It fell off during a normal ride, and perhaps it fell off because it was loose or because the design is faulty.

In the meantime I wrapped the cable to the frame with black tape and I am waiting to hear back from @San Diego Fly Rides.

Ariche
5 months ago

I just got my new bike yesterday, my first ebike.

What a blast. I haven't been for any major rides yet, just about town, which has a few hills.

I am recovering from a medial ligament knee injury and justified the expense on that basis. But I was hoping it was going to be a hoot and it sure is.

The bike quality is excellent. The Yamaha PW system has such smooth delivery. Town traffic is speed limited to 30kph an I now have no qualms about pulling into traffic and taking a genuine slot in the traffic. It's much easier to get up to speed and not feel "in the way".

For an entry level full suspension bike it's very functional.

I will report back in a week or two with an update. I'm very glad I went for a Haibike.

PS. Thanks for all the bike reviews. They really helped choosing this bike.

Trampus
5 months ago

My first post, EBR has been a great resource, thanks.

I just got my 2016 SDURO ALLMTN and having a lot of fun. Question, anyone have a fix for the battery rattle? I knew it was coming this way because Court mentioned it, I think on a 29" he tested, and I read it somewhere else. I believe the Bosch has a pad between frame and battery, so I was thinking of making a Neoprene one, or just wrapping a velcro strap around it.

I've had the same problem with my Haibike sduro Yamaha. The lock latching is not holding the battery tight to the lock as it should. Three friends have the same bike without this issue. The problem can be solved as described in this thread but I wonder if there is a way of adjusting the lock mechanism so that the battery is held tight to the lock? I've previously used foam to force the battery upward towards the lock. I thought a more elegant solution would be a product called Sugru. This is a mouldable silicone rubber-like material. I formed two discs (pads) of Sugru and stuck them to the underside of the battery close to the position of the lock. Unforunately, Sugru cures too hard and therefore has very little flexibility -- unlike true silicone rubber. So while you can reduce the rattle, it is still present. A solution may be to glue a thin pad of foam to the pads that you form from the Sugru. None of this should be necessary on a quality bike. I will next attempt to open up the lock or replace it with another mechanism. I've had quite a few issues, both electronic and mechanical, with Haibike (which I love regardless). So I can't say I find the bike reliable. I'll post problems and solutions in other threads.

Mark K
7 months ago

I was gonna say, @Mark K, that the quality of your photography is high! As a fellow professional photographer, I wish I had traded a film for my Haibike Sduro FullSeven AllMtn Plus, the way your girlfriend did for her Trekking. I love my bike, although I finally decided to add Mr. Tuffy liners to my tires. On all other fronts, electrically and mechanically, my bike has performed perfectly. I upgraded the pedals, the grips, and the saddle. I cut the handlebars two inches from each side as they were too wide for me. I raised the stem. I added lights and a mirror. I wish I had a kickstand. What kickstand are you using?

I use this kickstand.

Bicyclista
7 months ago

I was gonna say, @Mark K, that the quality of your photography is high! As a fellow professional photographer, I wish I had traded a film for my Haibike Sduro FullSeven AllMtn Plus, the way your girlfriend did for her Trekking. I love my bike, although I finally decided to add Mr. Tuffy liners to my tires. On all other fronts, electrically and mechanically, my bike has performed perfectly. I upgraded the pedals, the grips, and the saddle. I cut the handlebars two inches from each side as they were too wide for me. I raised the stem. I added lights and a mirror. I wish I had a kickstand. What kickstand are you using?

LimboJim
7 months ago

Bob, its "under power and slow," = lack of power with any grade over 10%, we spent most of our time riding in mountain in So Cal. The Brose below 10% rides like all of them, but anything over 10%, the Brose is a dog, anything over 15% be prepare for a workout, over 20%, you better be running a 36t in the rear. In the mountains, we rarely go past 12-15 mph on single track riding, but in certain areas it requires torque to get you out, there were it lacks the power.

Brose stealthy look is my favorite, out of the Big 3, but torque power is my least fav....
My Bulls...FS3 Plus, rated at 90Nm, has at least as much torque as my 80Nm Yamaha-powered SDURO AllMtn Plus, and both eMTBs climb 20% grade hills with relative ease. The Brose motor's definitely more subtle, with its peak power coming at lower cadence than my Bosch, but I've yet to experience a CX. The Yamaha also seems to peak at a lower cadence than Bosch.

FWIW, I posted about a broken chain experience I recently had with my Bulls in its first 120 miles or so, which I believe was caused by large chainring to large sprocket cross-chaining. My concern is that, when the chain broke, the Brose motor spun furiously fast, making a horrible, very high-pitched whining sound for several seconds. I've broken a hi-torque ebike chain before (on my 2015 iZiP Sumo), and its much lower-tech TranzX motor shut right off.

The fact that the Brose kept spinning makes me worry about the long-term - it rode fine after we fixed the chain but it was an AWFUL sound! Barney's put in a query with Bulls' Germany HQ because he's never heard of this happening.

bob armani
8 months ago

Hi.

After long deliberations, tons of on-line reviews I jumped into the pool and bought SDURO ALLMTN PLUS.
I was a bit worried about the negative tester's comments about Haibike upright geometry, it turned out to be a complete bull. The bike is absolutely fantastic. I climbed 3,000ft and blasted down on a steep and technical trail and the bike performed flawlessly. After completing 2.5hour ride my battery was at 50% and the only thing that went through my mind was, let's do it again :)

Anyone out there have the same bike?

Glad to see your excitement about your bike. I was considering the same model without the plus tires or the BULLS EVO FS3. I too am so excited about these bikes after long and thought out research reviews. How has your bike been performing? Does it meet your expectations in quality? Do you recommend this bike to others? Thanks a lot and always ride safe! :D

LimboJim
8 months ago

Wheel spokes: I have two 2015 XDURO Haibikes, an FS RX and an rx29. Both had spokes come loose in the first few trail rides; the FS RX's rear wheel wobbled noticeably during its third or fourth ride and I was lucky it could be trued! The first LBS I brought it to thought it was too far gone, but second opinions can be worth a few hundred bucks, minimum...

FWIW, my 2016 SDURO AllMtn Plus has had no such issues, but didn't come with DT Swiss wheels like my XDUROS did. After the above experience, however, I bought a tension meter and now check spoke tension on all my eMTBs regularly. It has proven its worth, as have the few minutes it takes to test the spokes.

Bicyclista
8 months ago

@ahkim, if you're 5'-6" you should probably ride a small frame size. I am 5'-6" and I ride a small Haibike Sduro AllMtn Plus (2016). Before buying you should test ride and you MUST get fitted for the proper size.

I would recommend the 3" tire. The fatter the better off-road capability. In 2016 there was a version of the Sduro that came with 3" tires, such as my bike. They may have changed that for 2017.

Regarding Bosch vs Yamaha, both are good. Read Court's reviews of the different Haibikes that use each motor. In general, if you are a high cadence cyclist, go with Bosch. If you are a low to medium cadence cyclist, go with Yamaha (Court points out that the Yamaha motor tends to cut out at high cadence). For me, the Yamaha motor fits my riding style.

ahkim
8 months ago

Hi Everyone

So I'm ready to pull the trigger on an ebike and I've narrowed it down to a few bikes.

Xduro FullSeven 7.0
Xduro AllMtn 7.0
Sduro All Mtn 6.5
Trek Powerfly FS 8

I'm trying to understand the differences between the bikes, here's what I know:

Xduro has Bosch vs Sduro has Yamaha motor
Xduro has 3" tire vs Sduro 2.8" tire
Obviously there are differences in the components
Xduro FullSeven has an extra cm of standover height over Sduro AllMtn

What I don’t get is the difference between the Xduro FullSeven and Xduro AllMtn. Seems like they are very similar, so why make them different lines?

Some general info:

I'll ride trails on the weekend and ride to work once a week. (14 miles to work)
I'm in Minnesota so we don't have crazy long and steep trails but we do have some good technical trail systems.
I'm 5'6"; shorter inseam so standover is going to be an issue. I'm thinking about a Medium.
I'm considering converting to Di2 XT.
There's a local bike shop that carries Haibike but I want to get some facts before I head in. I haven't tried the Haibike yet.
I've tried the Trek Powerfly and thought it was great but standover was not good.

Are there any other bikes that I should consider?

DanielGlacial
8 months ago

Thanks for answers, i know about e-connect ,and looks fine but i think if it get stolen it still wont be found or it will be broken. The other features i think my iphone will do, like map tracking.

I am 40 so comfort is nice, but still a hefty 1000 euro more then hardtail 7.0.

I wish i knew if the new yamaha engine pw-x is worth it, or if its something i wont notice.

My ride will be work commute 24 miles per day, so the 500 wh battery will be good.

It will also be used in free time for trails and hopefully some downhill tracks close by.

Seems 50/50 when you look youtube, but these are more advanced riders, alot seem to do fine with jumping with hardtail as well.

I wanted the 27.5 plus tires in sduro 7.0 allmtn but they didnt seem to have it home, and still 4300 euro, then this one is better on paper.

I hear about alot of service with read dampers, might be annoying, but what do i know. Its a huge investment, which mean i wont buy a car for a year to save the money used on bike. We have 1 car in family.

Duke em
8 months ago

So I had a 2016 All Mtn Sduro SC bike.
Sold that and just got the newer year version!

Have ridden on the trails twice so far.

I think these are similar spec sduro yamaha bikes (SC 2016 = 6.0 2017).
Both yamaha.

I love the 3" plus sized tires on the 2017! I'm not a skilled rider. Only started mtn bike riding 5 months ago. It sure helps with my poor line choices when on the technical trails!!

I love the improved range on the 2017 battery. I can use the highest assist mode more often and not worry about range as much.

Biggest reason I upgraded so quick was because i'm 5'10" tall with a 33" inseam. That puts me at in between the medium and large frame mtn bikes.

My 2016 was a sized large (48cm). Since I'm now loving more technical riding, I've learned that I'm suppose to go for a bike on the smaller side. So large was not good for technical riding for me.

My 2017 is now a size medium (44cm). It's perfect! It feels so much better when going on sketchy trails where I need to really be in flow to avoid a crash and burn.

That's all i have to report for now. the 2017 All-mtn sduro 6.0 is awesome!
I'm in San Diego. Whoever else has an e-mtn bike, let's ride!

Lenny
8 months ago

Hey guys,

I am about to pull the trigger on a Haibike Sduro AllMtn 6.0. My only concern now is choosing the right frame size. I am 6ft3 or 193 cm tall and my inside leg measurement is 34" or 85 cm. What frame size would you choose, the 19"/48 cm or the 21"/52 cm? The tyre size is 27.5".

Picture is just for attention. :)/QUOTE]

You should definitely go with 52cm frame.

DonWerner
8 months ago

Hey guys,

I am about to pull the trigger on a Haibike Sduro AllMtn 6.0. My only concern now is choosing the right frame size. I am 6ft3 or 193 cm tall and my inside leg measurement is 34" or 85 cm. What frame size would you choose, the 19"/48 cm or the 21"/52 cm? The tyre size is 27.5".

Picture is just for attention. :)

Duke em
9 months ago

Hi Folks,

I've only had my bike for 5 months now. I do quite a bit of technical trail riding that involves jumps, bunny hops, manuals and wipeouts. Haven't had any serious crashes. More of me falling off the bike then the bike crashing thus far.

I've noticed for last number of rides, my display doesn't show my speed correctly. It will show zero at times when I'm actually coasting or sometimes when I'm pedaling as well. It kinda goes down to zero, then back to the speed bike is moving. Back and forth. Like there is a loose connection.

At the times when the display speed shows ZERO, and I'm actually pedaling and moving with momentum, the motor assist provides NO assist at these times when the display shows ZERO mph. Not good when I'm pedaling/climbing uphill, on a trail that goes a long way up. I get NO ASSIST! At these times when I'm pedaling up a climb and the speeds shows ZERO, the assist level digital icon for (econo / std / high) will be blinking. When the speed shows an actual number of my moving speed, the digital icon for the assist level will remain steadily ON (without blinking).

Anyone else have this problem? Or have ideas about how much of a problem this will be to fix?

Duke

TWBJ
4 months ago

How do you wash it ?

jny78
4 months ago

Fag bikes. If you can't pedal , then don't ride

Vaidotas Ratkus
4 months ago

fags ride cars.

SkiingPenguin
5 months ago

Is it pedal assist or throttle asist

Kit
6 months ago

i am a little bit oldschool and read the manual how to get into walkassistance mode for my brose motor. now i know.

WilliamPavonRSS
7 months ago

I have the 2017 sduro allmtn 6.0 with the 500wh battery. I know there's not that many range reviews, so here it is.
just rode 37. miles on high setting , mostly flat, mostly high speed gears. From awahtukee foothills Az, to Avondale Az. I have 23% battery left. I weigh 200 lb.
hope that helps. super efficient.

Alexi Thunderbird
7 months ago

what is walk mode? are there any bikes like this that have a "throttle"? like being able to use it as a nonpeddle assist?

YPO6
7 months ago

Is it pedelec?

P
8 months ago

Thank you for a great review. This is one of the best Haibike Reviews I've seen on YouTube. Steady camera shots, very informative. Lots of useful information. Well done sir!

Charlie Tittelbach
9 months ago

Have the same bike really enjoy had it for six months not one problem specially in cold weather in winter snow

Roxlimn
1 year ago

I just got the Giant Dirt-E+ 2 2-16 model. I don't know how they compare exactly, but I think the motor on that and on this bike are fairly similar. They're both the Yamaha PW I think, though mine is limited to 25 kph.

The recommended peak power for which the motor responds well is about 75-80 rpms, but I think the motor responds best to torque - regardless of the rpms, the motor gives a lot when you really push on the pedals, and it's quick to back off when you slack. I've observed the motor still kicking in a bit at 26 kph - which is beyond its supposed limit - when I push hard on the pedals. It's not residual power, either. Even when I'm already cruising at bit over 25 kph, as soon as I give it a kick, the motor responds a bit even beyond the coded limit, so I think they're really leaning on the torque sensor to gauge how the motor responds.

I think Yamaha's new PW-X motor on the top end bikes for 2017 will have a higher rpm range of response, so that's something to look forward to.

Mirko Neitzel
1 year ago

What a cable goes to the seat?

Jean-Marc Fourcade
1 year ago

It's an hydrolic saddle tube, that can go up and down with a remote on the handlebar

Miracle lin
1 year ago

48V 500W Bafang Motor 10.4 AH Samsung Lithium Cell Battery Electric Mountain Bike: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01BGHRVHU/ref=twister_B01BGHRVDY?_encoding=UTF8&th=1

ZATCEP Channel
1 year ago

why can't they make the battery recharge itself on the way down for example, when there's excessive speed that can be utilized?

Content Updating
1 year ago

ZATCEP Channel That is not possible because the wheels do not turn the mid drive motor. Just like any normal bike, the pedals do not turn when the bike is coasting. You can only have regen braking with a direct drive hub motor.

Content Updating
1 year ago

mark brouwer No, a battery can be charged any time. Also, at no point is a battery ever being used and charged at the same time. This cannot happen.

mark brouwer
1 year ago

i think it is bad for the battery because there is power going out of the battery and going in at the same time then. i don't know if it is bad but i think they didn't do that for a reason.

Richard Alpagot
1 year ago

Nice review, thanks!

Shockw4ve
1 year ago

Great review. Thanks.

cresshead
1 year ago

can't wait to see your reviews of the 2017 models from Haibike with their increased battery to 500W and the yamaha motor's adding a 5th top end "turbo boost' type gear.

Thomas Lee
1 year ago

fat people shouldn't be allowed to buy this

P
8 months ago

Well said Thomas

Mavro Tsai
1 year ago

Idiot

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

I think you're confused about how people lose weight... Eat healthier food and less of it, become happier by spending time outside with other people, moderate cardiovascular exercise (certainly provided by a pedal assist only electric bike). This specific bike is an excellent tool for empowering riders who may be struggling with weight to get outside and enjoy losing some of it

Cess Outdoors
1 year ago

Blueberry!!!

MATTHEW davies
2 years ago

had this bike in the uk and i have loved it since Jan when i got it, but the build is terrible and my bike has been with Tredz for around 9 weeks now from simple riding.

Charlie Tittelbach
2 years ago

Just got this bike last week it is GREAT RIDE