IZIP E3 Dash Review

2017 Izip E3 Dash Electric Bike Review
2017 Izip E3 Dash
2017 Izip E3 Dash Tranzx M16 Mid Motor
2017 Izip E3 Dash 48 Volt Panasonic Battery
2017 Izip E3 Dash Currie Electro Drive Lcd Display Ergonomic Grips
2017 Izip E3 Dash Rockshox Paragon Air Suspension Fork
2017 Izip E3 Dash 42t Chainring With Chain Guide
2017 Izip E3 Dash Alloy Rack And Kickstand
2017 Izip E3 Dash Sks Plastic Fenders And Spanninga Solo Led Light
2017 Izip E3 Dash 10 Speed Sram X7 Drivetrain
2017 Izip E3 Dash Portable 2 Amp Battery Charger
2017 Izip E3 Dash Electric Bike Review
2017 Izip E3 Dash
2017 Izip E3 Dash Tranzx M16 Mid Motor
2017 Izip E3 Dash 48 Volt Panasonic Battery
2017 Izip E3 Dash Currie Electro Drive Lcd Display Ergonomic Grips
2017 Izip E3 Dash Rockshox Paragon Air Suspension Fork
2017 Izip E3 Dash 42t Chainring With Chain Guide
2017 Izip E3 Dash Alloy Rack And Kickstand
2017 Izip E3 Dash Sks Plastic Fenders And Spanninga Solo Led Light
2017 Izip E3 Dash 10 Speed Sram X7 Drivetrain
2017 Izip E3 Dash Portable 2 Amp Battery Charger


  • A value-priced urban electric bike that includes fenders, integrated LED lights, a rear rack, and hydraulic disc brakes, it's available in three frame sizes but only high-step
  • This is a high-speed Class 3 ebike that can reach ~28 mph assisted and because it relies on a cadence sensor, you don't have to push as hard to get there, excellent weight distribution
  • Custom frame with internally routed cables and a bottle cage mounting point, turning the bike on and off requires extra steps, the display panel is not removable
  • Only one color choice but the silver looks cool and keeps you visible at night, the cadence sensing motor does not have shift sensing and the brake levers don't have motor inhibitors

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers





E3 Dash



Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3), Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53 lbs (24.04 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.8 lbs (2.63 kg)

Motor Weight:

9.5 lbs (4.3 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

15 in (38.1 cm)17 in (43.18 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Medium 17": 17" Seat Tube, 31" Stand Over Height, 73" Length

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Silver with White and Black Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rock Shox Paragon Air Suspension, 65 mm Travel, Lockout, 9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

Alloy 142 / 12 mm Thru-Axle with Quick Release

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 SRAM X7, 11-32T Cassette

Shifter Details:

SRAM X7 Triggers on Right


Lasco EB05 Crank Arms, 175 mm Length, Chainring with Alloy Guide, 42T


Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform, Black


FSA 1-1/8"


Promax, 7° Angle, 95 mm Length, Two 10 mm Stacks, One 5 mm Stack


Tranz-X DB Alloy 31.8 mm Diameter, 650 mm x 25 mm Low Rise

Brake Details:

Shimano M355 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor


Velo Dual Density, Ergonomic Rubber, Locking


Velo Street

Seat Post:

Tranz-X Alloy with Quick Release Collar

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm


Alex DH19 Doublewall, Aluminum Alloy, 36 Hole


Stainless Steel, 13 Gauge, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda Kuick Bitumen, 700 x 45c (28" x 1-5/8")

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

50 to 85 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta Valve


Integrated Front and Rear LED Lights (AXA Blueline50 and Spanninga Solo), SKS Plastic Full Length Fenders with Rubber Mud Guards, Aluminum Alloy Rack (18 kg, 40 lb Max Load), Single Side Adjustable Length Kickstand


Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.8 Pound 2 Amp Charger, Hold + Button to Activate Lights, Hold the Page Button to Swap Metric and Standard, Hold + and Page Buttons for 10 Seconds for Options

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Currie Electro-Drive® (TranzX, Model M16)

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

68 Newton meters

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8.7 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

417.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

16 miles (26 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

Currie Electro Drive, Fixed Monochrome, Backlit LCD, Adjustable Angle


Speed, Odometer, Trip, Battery Capacity (5 Bars), Assist Level (0-4), Range

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Left (+, -, Page, On/Off), Hold Page to Change Units, Hold + to Activate Lights, Hold + and Page for Menu

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist (Optional Boost Button Throttle)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph) (20 mph Throttle Only)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The E3 Dash has long been one of my favorite IZIP electric bike models. It looks great, is value priced, offers great urban accessories (fenders, integrated lights, and a rear rack in this case) and comes in several sizes for improved fit. While the 2017 version does not come in multiple colors, I feel like the silver and black looks professional and approaches unisex while also improving your visual footprint from the side. This is a Class 3 Speed Pedelec capable of reaching ~28 mph top speeds and it uses a cadence sensor so you don’t have to work as hard to hit and maintain top speeds. Most other mid-drive ebikes I’ve been seeing form premium brands use Bosch, Yamaha, or Brose but the E3 Dash has gone with TranzX, probably to keep the cost down. The motor is compact, relatively quit but not as quiet as Brose or Yamaha, and uses a standard sized chainring. I like that they added alloy guides on this chainring to keep the chain from bouncing off if you take the bike across a bumpy section of road. And the new Dash has a 65 mm air fork along with medium-width tires to really improve the comfort of your ride. This is a huge deal for people like me who have a sensitive back and neck but also want a light weight frame. The 2017 IZIP E3 Dash weighs about 53 lbs, which I would consider good for having the fenders, rack, and a larger 48 volt battery pack. My biggest gripes center on the lack of shift sensing and brake lever motor inhibitors as well as the two-step on and off process. If you’re unable to shift smoothly, the chain, cassette, and derailleur will wear out faster and that goes for the display panel as well because it’s not removable. Now the battery pack is removable and both wheels use quick release so maintenance and flat fixes aren’t such a hassle… so it’s a mixed bag. For the price, I see this is a very capable electric bicycle, and if you ride it thoughtfully, it should hold up well over time. Plus, you get a comprehensive two-year warranty from the Accell Group (which owns IZIP) and their systems use CAN bus which allows for fast, easy diagnostics by shops who sell the product.

Driving this bike is a powerful mid-drive from TranzX called the M16. It offers up to 63 Newton meters of torque and can be powered through cadence sensing pedal assist (by default) or a boost button throttle which is sold separately. The boost button sounds neat, but because it doesn’t become active until the bike is moving ~2 mph, I feel that it loses a lot of its potential value. I like to use throttles to help get me started… especially on cadence sensing electric bikes which take a pedal rotation or two before the motor kicks in. Thankfully, the TranxZ motor responds fairly quickly in pedal assist mode and also cuts out fast when you stop. It produces a bit of whirring noise when operating, more at the higher RPM, but if you shift gears effectively I feel like it fades away with the sound of the tires on the road, through the sound of air passing, and a bit of fender rattle. Yes, the fenders do rattle a little bit… the rear one especially. It is not connected to the rack the way that some other fenders are and it doesn’t have an extra set of support arms at the middle which would keep it quieter. The fenders are plastic and won’t rust or bend the way that Steel and Aluminum might. Visually, the motor looks good with a silver metal base that matches the frame color. It does bulge out a bit towards the front but doesn’t hang down lower than the 42 tooth chainring. And the 10-sprocket SRAM X7 drivetrain on this bike is a great choice because it offers enough steps to pedal comfortably at a range of speeds. It’s roughly equivalent to Shimano Deore and is considered to be the upper end of entry level or the lower end of mid-level which fits the value pricing of the bike. You get trigger shifters on the right that are easy to actuate and those Shimano M355 hydraulic disc brakes to slow things down. The brake levers are fairly large and easy to reach with adjustable reach settings to accommodate small or large hands and people who ride with gloves.

Powering the bike is a 48 Volt 8.7 Amp hour battery pack with premium Panasonic cells inside. I’d call it average in terms of capacity and appreciate the clean, aerodynamic aesthetic of the plastic pack. Note that the downtube is flat on top to bring the battery lower and help it blend into the frame. At the base, a metal cup supports the dock interface and continues the bulge look of the pack into the bottom bracket. This is mostly aesthetic but I like how it looks much better than a big black box just hanging out with no smoothing on either side. The pack seats in from the left side vs. down from the top and this makes it easier to get on and off. Note that IZIP was able to squeeze in a pair of bottle cage bosses near the base of the seat tube. If you do add an accessory here, the pack won’t bump into it and get scratched as easily as if it were to seat from the top down. And I love that the battery has a rigged handle type design at the top because I often take my batteries into the office for charging during the day. One thing to note is that IZIP estimates a low range for this bike at 16 to 30 miles per charge. This really depends on your weight, the terrain, and even the wind speed, temperature outside, and speed that you’re riding at. Anything above 20 mph significantly cuts into range because of air resistance. Thankfully, the display panel has a range estimate readout that’s dynamic so you can arrow through the four levels of assist and make sure you’ve got enough juice to get to your destination. Even if you do run out, those 10 speeds, efficient 700c tires, and active geometry make the bike reasonable to pedal unassisted. I want to call out the ergonomic grips and large, grippy platform pedals as being nice upgrades while we’re focused on pedaling.

Operating the bike is not as intuitive as I’d like because there’s a two-step power on and off process. First, you have to press the power button at the base of the battery (on the left side) and then you press power on the control pad (mounted near the left grip). The display comes to life and shows a bunch of trip stats that you an explore by pressing the box “page” button. If you hold this button for a couple of seconds, it will switch from Miles to Kilometers and if you hold Page and + together for 10 seconds or so, you can open the menu. This area allows you to adjust screen brightness, backlighting sensitivity, and even power output. To change power output, navigate to the SU are and adjust from -15 to 15 to remove or add three Amps to create a smoother or zippier feel. Note that shops can also adjust the maximum speed that this ebike can reach, which is cool for people who don’t want to go so fast in order to feel safer or maximize range. So, you can arrow up from assist level one through four to increase power and speed, and you will need to actively shift gears to reach the maximum speed of the bike but this is part of what makes a mid-drive efficient. It leverages the same gears that you do to pedal with. And there is one extra drive mode buried in there as well, if you hold the power button for a couple of seconds while the bike is on, you will see the display change to assist level zero… which allows you to ride as a normal bicycle while still having access to the display readouts (like speed, trip distance, odometer) and power the lights. Why they didn’t just allow the minus button to go down from level one to level zero is a mystery to me. This would have been easier to do while riding and saved a bunch of time when powering off the bike (because you have to press power once… and then again for a full shutoff) The plus button also has a second feature which is to activate the headlight and backlight during the day, just hold plus for a couple of seconds to turn it on. All things considered, the display delivers the features I like but is annoying to use after seeing so many other simpler, more intuitive designs. It doesn’t remove which means it will take more weather wear and potentially tampering at racks, but it does swivel to reduce glare. Many of my friends put their helmets over their displays or a glove to hide it. There’s not USB or Mini-USB charging port to fill your phone or other portable electronics even though the lower-end TranzX display does have this. It’s the one area of the bike that seems a little outdated, but at least the button pad is easy enough to reach and seems well sealed against water.

Instead of celebrating the value price point of the IZIP E3 Dash I found myself nitpicking the minor inconveniences and feeling concerned about the lack of shift sensing and motor inhibitors on the cadence sensing drive system. As a reviewer, I get hyperfocused on details because many of these electric bikes are so similar and polished now. You save money with the IZIP E3 Dash, get the support of a larger international company (the Accell Group), have access to a wide network of dealers, get the multiple frame sizes and all of the safety and utility extras that you could want that look great and work pretty well. I think the systems actually work quite well and while the chain may wear a bit faster, this is not a difficult part to replace. I feel like the boost button is a missed opportunity and has been nerfed, taking away the value of starting from standstill, but at least it’s an option at all. For someone who commutes, this would be a solid platform and I suppose the final gripe is that the rack doesn’t accommodate as much weight (about 40 lbs vs. 55 lbs on a lot of others) but again, it looks good and uses standard gauge tubing. It’s good enough. With the addition of a suspension seatpost and proper use of the RockShox Paragon Air fork, this can be a comfortable, enjoyable ebike. I’d like to thank IZIP for partnering with me on this post and inviting me to their headquarters to ride different models back to back. I believe I was riding the size Medium 17″ frame for this review.


  • The IZIP E3 Dash has long been a favorite electric bike model for me because the price is reasonable and you get a lot of useful accessories like fenders and lights, this model is a Class 3 speed pedelec so it’s useful for commuters who need to get to work quickly
  • The IZIP ebikes use a CAN bus system that allows the different electronic components to communicate with each other, making maintenance much easier for shops because the system can tell if something is wrong
  • The display has deeper settings which allow you to raise or lower the amperage which increases or decreases the feeling of power (and in turn, uses more or less electricity from the battery)
  • Considering that this is a speed pedelec, it’s great to see a suspension fork with decent travel (65 mm) and it’s an air fork so it doesn’t raise the weight of the bike very much, it can be locked out
  • The Kenda Kuick Bitumen tires are wider than road tires which improve traction and increases air volume for comfort… but they run at a higher PSI which means that you might want to swap the saddle or add a 31.6 mm seat post suspension to further improve comfort
  • Being seen is increasingly important if you ride on streets with cars frequently and since this is designed for urban environments, I love that they went with a silver paint color and have integrated front and rear lights (the headlight has windows on the side so you can be seen easier as well as see where you’re going)
  • The bike comes in three different frame sizes to dial in fit for a range of riders (tall or short)
    and the top tube and seat tube are fairly low for a diamond “high-step” frame
  • Because the motor controller uses cadence sensing instead of torque, you don’t have to push very hard to get it going but you might not get the same range and fluid feel that some other ebikes offer… it’s a trade off but their system works pretty well
  • I like that IZIP is offering a 10-speed drivetrain here given the wide range of speeds (up to 28 mph assisted) and that the chainring has an alloy guide to reduce chain drops and keep your pants from touching the chain
  • Excellent frame balance with both the motor and battery positioned low and center, this improves handling and since the battery is removable it also makes it easier to mount on center-hang racks
  • The center of the frame is fairly open and they managed to squeeze in a pair of bottle cage bosses along the seat tube, so many ebikes (especially mid-level products) don’t have these and I find them useful for fluids, mini-pumps, and locks
  • The rear rack uses standard gauge tubing and should be compatible with a wide range of trunk bags and panniers, the fenders look great and offer good coverage, and I love the kickstand choice and mounting position because it stays clear of the pedals
  • I like that the battery pack has a sort of built-in handle at the top so you can carry it more securely, this is useful if you bring the pack inside to charge during the day if you work in an office etc.
  • At ~53 lbs with the battery, I would consider this to be a relatively light weight electric bike because it does have a suspension fork, fenders, alloy platform pedals, and a rack
  • Both wheels have quick release and the drivetrain is not changed by this being an electric bike (the way hub motor powered ebikes are) so you can do maintenance and change flats a lot easier, shops may feel more comfortable working on this bike as well
  • Custom tubing work with internally routed cables and some extra supports at the base of the battery mount, it looks very nice and I like that the battery slides out from the side vs. clipping-in up and down because you’re less likely to bump the frame when mounting/removing it
  • The rear wheel uses a 12 mm thru-axle that’s stronger and stiffer than a standard 9 mm skewer and I noticed that the spokes are slightly thicker as well, 13 gauge
  • One of the menus in the display panel is range estimate and I think this is much more useful than the five bar battery infographic, it’s cool to change power levels and see how it impacts range on the fly
  • I think you can work with your local IZIP dealer to actually change the top assisted speed on this bike so you don’t have to go the full 28 mph if you don’t want to… of course you can always just use a lower level of assist and not shift gears which will influence how fast you go as well


  • This model is only available in high-step which means it could be difficult to mount for some people with shorter inseams, especially if you’ve got bags added to the rear rack
  • The TranzX motor is positioned well (low and center on the frame) and it offers good power but it does not deliver shift sensing and could mash the gears if you don’t shift thoughtfully, this is especially true because it uses a cadence sensor vs. a shift sensor
  • It’s neat that IZIP offers a throttle button option but I don’t enjoy using it very much because you have to reach over with your thumb and hold the button constantly to make the motor go, the rubberized buttons appear to be well sealed against water but aren’t super easy to push and my hand gets tired, also, it doesn’t work from standstill (you must be going ~2 mph) so that defeats the point for me
  • You get 180/160 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano which offer solid stopping power but I was surprised to not see motor inhibitors built in, this used to be very common for cadence sensing ebikes but I guess they feel the motor responds quickly enough to not require them now
  • The display panel is fairly large, easy to use, and adjustable in terms of angle but it is not removable which means it could take more abuse when left outside at the rack and people could tamper with the bike if your battery is left in
  • I was a little surprised to see that the maximum recommended weight for the rear rack is 18 kg vs.
    25 kg on most other racks, perhaps this is because it has a light wired in or is paired with fenders? Maybe it has to do with the high-speed operation of the bike?
  • The fenders look great but I noticed a bit of rattling noise during my test ride, I don’t think the rear fender has as many support arms as some others I’ve seen and plastic just isn’t as solid as Aluminum but it also doesn’t bend as easily and won’t rust like Steel
  • Powering the bike on is a two-step process, you have to press a power button near the left base of the battery pack and then press another power button on the display… so if you forget the first step, you might have to get off or strain to reach way down which is annoying
  • If you hold the power button for a second (while the bike is on) it will take you from the 1-4 levels of pedal assist down to zero… which is kind of neat (you could ride with the motor off but the lights on for safety if you’re low on power) but it can also be confusing when you want to turn the bike off… it’s like another two-step process where you have to hold the power button twice just like turning the bike on
  • There’s no USB or Micro-USB port on this display or button pad to charge your phone or other electronic devices, some of the simpler non-LCD displays from TranzX now offer this so it’s a bummer that the really nice display does not


More IZIP Reviews

IZIP E3 ProTour Review

  • MSRP: $3,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An efficient, feature-complete, speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speed with excellent frame balance but limited suspension and comfort options. Alloy fenders and minimalist rear rack stay quiet on bumpy terrain, an alloy chain guide…...

IZIP E3 Peak+ Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A mean looking cross country style hardtail electric mountain bike, beautifully integrated battery pack and motor keep weight low and center, has rear-rack bosses!. Locking removable battery pack can be charged on or off the bike, the display is…...

IZIP E3 Sumo Review

  • MSRP: $3,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A rigid electric fat bike with provisions for front and rear racks, available in two frame sizes for improved fit, designed with a steep top tube for comfortable stand over and steadying. Beautifully integrated Bosch Performance Line CX motor and battery pack, downtube is cut away and…...

IZIP E3 Go Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A purpose-built electric tricycle with efficient and well-balanced middrive motor system, powerful 48 volt battery and optional second battery bay for increased range, rear wheel drive offers good traction. Comfortable swept-back handlebar with ergonomic grips, massive padded saddle with springs and hybrid tires keep…...

IZIP E3 Peak DS Review

  • MSRP: $4,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A value-driven full suspension electric cross country mountain bike with higher end drive system and components from Bosch, SRAM and RockShox, it's $300 cheaper than prior year with lots of upgrades. Beautiful hydroformed frame with inset battery mount and tapered head tube, the motor hangs down…...

2016 IZIP E3 ProTour Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the coolest looking, most feature rich high-speed electric bicycles I've tested... the battery is beautifully integrated and the small motor stays almost completely hidden behind the chainring. Pedal assist gets you 28 mph using speed, cadence and torque sensing and you can…...

2016 IZIP E3 Sumo Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the lighter weight, higher powered and more affordable off-road capable fat bikes I've tested, you get 15 mm and 12 mm thru-axles with quick release and punched out rims. Sturdy Shimano M396 hydraulic disc brakes front and rear, no motor inhibitors in the levers…...

IZIP E3 Peak Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A 650B hardtail trail or mountain ebike with a powerful 73 Nm mid-drive motor, it's one of the quieter motors but less responsive (mostly cadence sensing) and no shift sensing. Nice 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes, quick release for both wheels and a 15 mm…...

2016 IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A feature complete speed pedelec (capable of ~28 mph top speeds) with a high torque mid-drive motor from TranzX. Quality full length plastic fenders from SKS with integrated mud flaps, mid-level suspension fork with…...

IZIP E3 Path+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An efficient, light weight commuter electric bike available in two frame sizes and high-step or step-thru styles, the adjustable stem and swept back bars support a surprisingly comfortable upright body position. Narrower tires, firm saddle and all-Aluminum frame and fork provide great power transfer when pedaling…...

IZIP E3 Vibe+ Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An approachable electric bike with deep low-step frame, adjustable stem, swept back handle bars and a large comfortable saddle. Simple linear pull brakes work well and are easy to adjust, quick release skewers on…...

IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high powered, cruiser style electric bike with four levels of zippy pedal assist and a twist throttle drive mode. Available in two high-step sizes (18" and 20") and one step-thru (18") for easier mounting,…...

2015 IZIP E3 Sumo Review

  • MSRP: $3,650
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the only fat tire style electric bikes I've tested to date that is legally capable of 25+ mph top speeds in pedal assist mode. Good value considering the custom fat frame in two sizes, solid warranty and availability, hydraulic…...

2015 IZIP E3 Peak DS Review

  • MSRP: $4,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Full suspension electric bike with powerful mid-drive motor for effective climbing and balanced weight, higher ~28 mph top speed. Removable battery pack and quick release wheels make charging and servicing convient, reduce weight when…...

2015 IZIP E3 Peak Review

  • MSRP: $3,100
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Hardtail trail-ready electric bike with powerful centerdrive motor for effective climbing and balanced weight, ~28 mph top speed. Removable battery pack for convenient charging and reduced transport weight, lockout suspension fork by RockShox…...

2015 IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,550
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Cruiser style electric bike with two frame styles, two frame sizes, 11 custom colors and a wonderfully balanced purpose-built frame. Removable battery can be charged on or off the bike, optional matching fenders, rear rack…...

2015 IZIP E3 Path+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,600
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Near-silent commuter style electric bike offering pedal assist and throttle mode, fenders and a carry rack. Comfortable ride with upright seating position, swept back handlebars and oversized Velo comfort saddle...

2015 IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High performance city style electric bike that offers throttle mode up to 20mph and pedal assist up to 28mph. Comfortable ride with oversized 700x45c tires, suspension fork with lockout and updated Velo Street saddle...

IZIP E3 Twn:exp Review

  • MSRP: $2,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

A sturdy, highly adjustable city bike that's perfect for rentals or fleets. High torque 400 watt direct drive motor is quiet and extremely durable, encased in rear…...

2014 IZIP E3 Path+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,200
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

An active urban-style electric bike with near-silent motor operation and clean design helping it blend in. Strong 500 watt motor paired with large 48 volt battery that's removable and uses premium…...

IZIP E3 Metro Review

  • MSRP: $2,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy, stiff and capable of hauling cargo with the reinforced front basket and welded rear rack. Oversized tires, adjustable stem and seat post suspension improved comfort when riding...

2014 IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,400
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Clean design with integrated battery pack improves balance, eight frame colors to choose from. Delivers smooth pedal assist and twist throttle mode for easy start from rest...

2014 IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,600
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

High quality features and well rounded drive system at an excellent price. Strong but quiet 500 watt gearless rear hub motor offers throttle mode and torque-sensing pedal…...

2014 IZIP E3 Peak Review

  • MSRP: $3,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Mid-level off road electric mountain bike with excellent weight distribution. Centerdrive motor offers high-torque, leverages rear cassette and makes servicing wheels and tires much easier...

2013 IZIP E3 Metro Review

  • MSRP: $2,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Strong 500 watt motor is capable of moving heavier riders and heavier loads in the integrated racks. Weight is spread out from rear and kept low to the ground with battery built…...

IZIP E3 Compact Review

  • MSRP: $2,150
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Built on the industry leading Dahon single speed folding bicycle frame. Offers both pedal assist and twist and go throttle mode...

IZIP E3 Path Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

An affordable, classic style electric bike with balanced features. Weaker 250 watt motor offers less torque but also weighs less...

2013 IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Solid frame with oversized cushy tires and seat delivers a fluid enjoyable ride. Powerful 500 watt geared rear hub motor paired with 36 volt Lithium-ion battery offers torque…...

IZIP Express Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2012, 2013

Ultra powerful and rugged long-range electric bike, originally designed for use by the Los Angeles police force for urban patrols. Unique mid-drive belt system delivers high torque for climbing and accelerating, speed pedelec design capable…...

IZIP E3 Ultra Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Powerful 500 Watt motor paired with strong 36 Volt battery for acceleration and climbing ability. Sensitive pedal assist mode becomes jerky when climbing hills but is otherwise very responsive...

IZIP E3 Vibe Review

  • MSRP: $999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Upright seating with high-rise handlebars, wide sprung saddle and seat post shock for improved comfort. 250 watt brushless rear hub motor works well with pedal assist or throttle mode for…...

IZIP Trekking Enlightened Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2009

Discontinued in 2009, replaced with the E3 Path which is sturdier, less expensive and features twist throttle as well as pedal assist. Designed to be pedaled, the Trekking Enlightened lacks throttle mode but features 24 speed, lights,…...

IZIP Urban Cruiser Enlightened Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2009

A relaxed, comfortable and stable cruiser style electric bike with integrated downtube-battery that keeps weight low and center. Smooth torque sensing pedal assist is responsive but requires more care when working on the…...

june kato
7 months ago

Hey Court,

Thanks for all your reviews, and they have given me a lot of insights into getting my first e-bike, which is this iZip Dash! I love it! I live in L.A. and I have in the past been using a bus to commute 20 miles one way 3 days a week, and once a week on my Subauru. Now, I’m doing the e-bike commute and it takes about an hour each way! Less than the bus ride, and a little more or about the same as the car.

I don’t have any reference to compare this to any other e-bikes other than the Sondors, but I can feel the quality of this bike. I do not really like the lag between pedaling and when the electric assist kicks in, since it’s a cadence sensor. I also do not like the lack of gear change sensor: I have to basically stop pedaling for a split second when I change gears so I don’t mash the gears.

I did find that back-pedaling slightly seems to help with the delay associated with the electric assist stopping after when I stop pedaling. The delay seems shorter that way: Please confirm this next time you have a chance to ride this bike (what I do when I want to change gears without mashing them is to back-pedal slightly so that the motor stops quicker than when you simply stop pedaling: it seems to help the sensor to register the lack of pedal motion).

What I like about the bike are:

  1. It has front suspension which helps with rough pavement.
  2. the fenders are a great feature to have for commuting.
  3. the rack is a must-have for commuting as well!
  4. the wide tires a great for speed riding because it makes it feel more stable.
  5. relatively low price point for the feature it has!
  6. iZip is a respected brand, and I have a dealer I can visit if I have issues or need adjustment.

What I don’t like are:

  1. As mentioned earlier, I do not like the slight delay when pedaling or stop pedaling, but this can be overcome by getting used to it.
  2. Gear change can be tricky because of #1 but this also can be overcome with time.
  3. I wish they had more color options, since I would have loved to got a white one!

Thanks Court, and keep up the great work!
June Kato

7 months ago

Hi June,

I will definitely try the slight-backpedal approach to cutting the motor when shifting. I want to be careful so as not to shift while pedaling backwards, but I see the logic and think that’s a unique approach. Glad to hear that overall, the bike is performing well and seems like a good value for you. I like IZIP and agree that having a helpful dealer nearby is a big deal. It’s interesting that you say you want white because I also prefer the light colors for safety.

Thanks for the support and kind words, I’ve got more reviews on the way and you can always share more feedback here or connect with others in the EBR IZIP forums!

June kato
7 months ago

Hey Court,

Yeah, the slight backpedaling before the gear change seems to help, and yes, I agree about being careful about not shifting while pedaling backwards: I try to shift after stopping / slight backpedaling.

I was really wanting to go for the Smartmotion Pacer (I hope I got it right, the commuter) in white, but I couldn’t find a dealer nearby, and was a little more pricey than the iZip Dash. I was not sure the extra $500 was worth it or not… and iZip was having a sale for their 2017 Dash models.

7 months ago

Any thoughts about the e3 dash versus the Magnum Peak? It would mainly be a pavment and hard pack dirt daily commuter with occasional light trail riding. I’m a bigger guy – about 5’11 and 220 lbs. There are a bunch of reviews out there about the e3 but @court is the only good Magnum Peak review I could find.

7 months ago

Hi Corbin, I like how the throttle is setup on the Magnum Peak and feel that it would perform better on hard packed dirt. You miss out on the fenders and rack but those could be added aftermarket if you need them. Magnum has done an excellent job with their products and they have a growing network of dealers where you might be able to take a test ride. IZIP has been around longer and their mid-drive is going to be more efficient but the shifting may require some finesse, check out June Kato’s comment about pedaling backwards briefly to cut power before shifting. An alternative would be to search around for a 2017 Haibike hardtail on sale. They use Yamaha and Bosch which I like better than TranzX and their designs are lighter and more refined than Magnum but won’t have a throttle. I hope this helps :)

6 months ago

Court, Thanks for the review. I just bought this bike. Is there any reason you know of to change the programming of the bike through the CAN bus system? What setting do you think is reasonable for the amperage on the Support page of the display. You dialed it up to 15 for the test ride. I was thinking about putting an adjustable stem on. Have any recommendations for one? Thanks!

6 months ago

Hi Bob! I’m not very knowledgeable when it comes to tuning the IZIP E3 Dash, but perhaps someone else will chime in or you can repost in the IZIP forums to see if anyone there is keen. I hope it works great for you in any case, ride safe out there!

6 months ago

Thanks for the quick reply. I’ll try it out.

Abe Alexander
2 days ago

Hi Court, I noticed that the stand over height on the “Geometry” section was missing for this bike. I went to the manufacturer’s website and looked it up. The stand over height is posted as 749.0 mm which converts to approximately 29.5 inches. The reference for that spec sheet is here (torwards the bottom of the page) Thanks! – Abe


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

4 days ago


My battery is dying and it's hard to find a replacement. I found only one place online, where I can get it for ~800 with shipping and taxes. Sounds a lot. I know that there alternatives, line Luna Cycle battery, but they don't have anything in stock and where some questions and it'll match my bike.

What's the usual route people are taking here? DIY with attaching custom batter to frame? (My battery is rear)

My bicycle seems like share the same battery with IZIP E3 Plus, same model


Nova Haibike
4 days ago

The rotor size is independent of the brake itself. You just need to mount the caliper to the appropriate bracket, which is already on your bike (usually a black aluminum bracket between the caliper and fork, and in the rear between the caliper and the left chain stay.

4 days ago

Do the HY/RD's only work on rotors up to 160mm or will they work on 180mm? I have 180mm on the front and 160mm on the back of my Izip E3 Dash.

7 days ago

Drew, I know exactly what you're talking about - I had to get rid of a perfectly good iZip due to a lack of battery replacement. Although I appreciate Ann M's attempt to put a good face on an untenable situation the fact of the matter is that anyone buying an eBike, even from a so-called top tier vendor at top prices can't count on being able to get spare parts (many of which are proprietary) in the future. As for the cell phone comment, look at the press Apple is getting for purposely slowing thier phones as the battery wore down to force people to upgrade. The battery situation makes ebikes an incredibly ungreen solution - they end up getting dumped in landfills. Yes lithium technology has issues, but as car manufacturers have shown if the vendor isn't greedy and takes this into account by not allowing severe discharge and trying to inflate range claims they can actually last a long time. Anyway, my solution has been to buy the cheapest, simplest eBike available knowing full well that it won't have much of a life span. With a $1500 eBike that's doable, but not so much fun with a $5,000 bike. And yes, the top tier vendors supposedly have these long warranties that people go on about, but when you read the fine print such as that of Haibike the coverage is laughable - such as not covering labor costs, or excluding so many items - this is never pointed out in the reviews, but we sure hear about it from forum members who have had problems with their expensive bikes and are trying to get warranty repairs.

Ann M.
7 days ago

Sorry that you feel that way, @ew. As a 17 year veteran of this industry; I can concur that the batteries are a real issue. There are reputable battery rebuilding companies or individuals out there and the beauty of this is that those new cells will have a much greater capacity and potentially range, depending upon how it's built. You certainly will get more charge cycles if the battery is built with known good cells. We have dealt with this dilemma and have a couple of options at our shop. One is to order a whole new battery with a box from a known good manufacturer or to have a known competent electronics specialist rebuild it using the case and possibly the BMS (if it's still good) providing a bit of savings over a whole new battery.

A replacement battery is a lot less expensive than a whole new ebike. Now with that said, the technology and styling has changed a bit since your 2012 Zuma. Those have good strong hub motors but a bit more weight in the back than is optimal. If you like how this bike rides, then replace or rebuild the battery or if you like some of the newer styles; get a new bike. The last Izip Zuma battery our shop purchased from Currie Tech for a customer cost $800 plus shipping, so a build by a battery manufacturer or a rebuild from a good service provider would save a bit of money.

Your ebike shop didn't burn you; 6 years is a good run on a new technology product. Can you say the same for your cell phone? ;)

7 days ago

It's was so easy to say that, wasn't it? But it sounds like you haven't been on the e-bike scene for very long.

Because the reality is, there are no "OEM" batteries for a lot of not-so-old bikes.

For instance, Currie does not have any OEM replacement batteries for my 2012 iZip E3 Zuma.

And my e-LBS, where I bought the bike, referred me to batteryrefill.com.

Rather than pour $600 into the speculative venture of rebuilding a battery for a bike with 5000 miles on it, I am simply buying a new bike.

And it ain't gonna be no Currie. And I ain't buying it from my e-LBS. Once burned, twice shy on both counts.

1 week ago

Really good explanation from Tora on the advantages of having a throttle in stop start urban riding. For the past 18 months I have been using a bafang BBS01 kit as a pedelec motor without the throttle, but I've experienced issues Tora mentioned a couple of times I've struck my derailleur or my right pedal against a curbstone at low speed passing cars curbside, or found myself in the wrong gear at a stop light facing uphill, so I'm swapping out my derailleur for an IGH so I can shift down when stationary and fitting the throttle so I can coast without pedalling when necessary. I appreciate the versatility of a kit motor that lets me switch over from a Class 1 to a Class 2 by simply adding a throttle, the optional boost button on Raleigh and Izip ebikes does the same thing.

I also find walk assist useful when pushing my heavy ebike up ramps when towing a trailer or up the 3 steps into my backyard. Trek and other manufacturers are wrong not to activate walk assist on Bosch powered ebikes in the US. I know it's not legal in New York state at present to have a throttle but walk assist is capped to like 3mph so this is just stupid corporate BS. On the bright side I'm encouraged the People for Bikes model ebike legislation is being adopted by more and more states that legalizes both Class 1 and 2 riding on bike paths and sidewalks.

2 weeks ago

Took my izip out today for the first time this year. No way could I get that thing on my car. I love it but really need something portable. for the most part I will be riding streets, but I bought a camper last year and eventually want to be able to ride trails. I am leaning toward the rad mini as it has the fat tires. Anyone have any experience with that one?

bob armani
3 weeks ago

Surfstar-I agree with you on many of your points and your suggestions in your post. Everyone likes a great deal during the winter/spring sales. Can't beat it! Paying retail sucks when there are bargains out there with much better components. I also have issues with Haibikes missing wanted components. Somehow you'll have to mix and match comparisons on those bikes to get close to what you really want in an ebike. The Urban Plus is great, I just wish it had an option to either use COBI or use a traditional center mount display like an Intuvia or something similar.
Not sure if one can be retrofitted or not??

I also like Surface604 as well. Their full Carbon Oryx for 4k is a real beauty of a bike, however, never discounted. Looks like a very solid company for well built ebikes.

Juiced may not be a bad choice considering Tora has made some improvements and looks like his heart is into making a good product. A lot of bike for the $$$ and you can also make mods later if you see fit. I myself like rear hub drives with a TMM4 torque sensor on any ebike. Mid-drives have their place, but for commuting, that is my preference. Love the zippy feeling off the line in any gear from the powerful 350/500 watt motor. :p

3 weeks ago

I don't mean to be rude but to find one of those %50 mid drive deals, I did a lot of homework and in the end I could have easily gotten "screwed" by at least $600-1000 because no one bothered to decrease even $50 (When I got in touch with one of the dealers on this forums he wasn't even taking one step back from the 2300+tax of a 2016 xduro cross which I eventually got it from another online store "brand new" for $700 less after tax. The same dealer advertised that bike for $1700 after a month,another one ,a lbs, was trying to sell me a 2016 demo fullnine RC for 3000+tax now 2017 fullnine 6.0 (same components + 500W battery) is sold $2200 Brand New.) .

You should understand that you are lucky and having those really nice deals without even having to worry about it, quite frankly for those prices you can just get a non-electric version of those bikes. I understand wanting throttle but I have to say your range with a throttle may not be much. If you are fit and if you don't want to tire yourself out just put it to the highest assist level and you will have a very comfortable ride.

3 weeks ago

Another set of test rides yesterday at a different shop (I wanted to ride my mtb there, but somehow the rear tire has gone completely flat and won't hold air - WTH)

Still trying to find a "cheap" hub motor setup to simulate riding a RadCity. The shop didn't carry the $1550 bike they showed online. Their only hub motor was a $3000 setup (emotion evo street), but I still took that for a spin, and then a couple mid-drive Giant bikes.

This was good, as it cemented a major realization for me:
I prefer the "lazy" ability of a throttle. All of the mid-drive, torque sensors are really just like riding a bike, but faster/easier. They still require a workout, which is not what I'm actually looking for. I want a faster, non-sweaty, biking commute. Its funny, though, as I am someone who prefers to be active - we run, hike, rock climb, surf, etc., and I do like biking; I just want to have the ability to not have to push when pedaling up a slight hill, and the mid-drive torque motors aren't meeting that for my needs - they require too much push on the pedals to give full assist, for me. Also, the mid-drives require you to stay on top of your shifting for best performance - just like riding a real bike. If I wanted to get a workout and everything, I would just buy a hybrid city commuter, for like $500, that was a little bit faster than my current mtb and ride a regular bike to work. That's not what I'm looking for in an ebike, I've realized.

The other conflict, is that I love a great deal (who doesn't!?!) - and all of the crazy 50% off deals I've been finding, are mid-drives!

If I was short, I'd grab the Raleigh Sprint IE - one left on their website for $1499, and you can add a boost (throttle) to it. If I could somehow know that the IZIP/Raleigh boost button would be able to adapt to the Haibike Urban Plus, I'd go that route (same TranzX motor, but Haibike may use a different controller? The Haibike does offer shift detection vs the others). If someone wants to buy this bike, they should click-through ActiveJunky.com for another 3% discount (use this link: https://www.activejunky.com/invite/18072 and you get an extra $10 if its your first time - so figure a small frame Sprint IE for $1450 after discounts!) https://raleighelectric.com/sprint-ie

Then I also see a Misceo IE Sport for half off - again, great price, hydraulic brakes, decent components, but mid-drive, no throttle. For anyone else looking: https://www.bikesourceonline.com/product/raleigh-electric-misceo-sport-ie-255681-1.htm

As, you can see, I'm good at finding deals online, but have yet to find one on a bike that will fit my "wants." Missed a quick deal on a Surface 604 Colt http://www.ebikesofne.com/Colt-Surface604-p/colt-surface-604.htm $1539, but now out of stock. That I should have jumped on.

So, I'm now leaning towards the Juiced CrossCurrent S - but, I hate to pay full retail, plus tax (CA). That puts it into the same price range as all of the Haibikes I've been looking at. And those seem like a better bike, although I would prefer the hub motor and throttle. As part of my deal finding knack - I hate paying full price for something ;) and feel that the RadCity and CCS would suit me well, IF I snagged a deal on one - like $200 off or something - lol. Just hard for me to pay the same price for a direct to consumer RadCity/CCS, when the fit and finish of a Haibike is much better! I do enjoy getting a good value for my dollar, but the lack of throttle is preventing me from the Haibikes. I realize that I'm such a sucker for a good deal / value, and that is strongly pulling me towards the Urban Plus. If only it could adapt the boost-throttle!

Just some more insight into my thought process as I figure this thing out. Ironically, I may go full circle and just get the RadCity which is what originally got me looking at ebikes...!

4 weeks ago

Hi Over50, I hate to resurrect this topic, but I too am struggling with the “right size” question. I’m 5-10 with a 31-inch inseam. I am 53 years old and want an ebike for use on paved bike paths and maybe some very light off-road. I am looking at the 2017 xduro cross 4.0, which appears to be identical to the xduro trekking 4.0 bike w/o the fenders, lights, etc. I started this process thinking the 56(M) would be the most appropriate frame size – because I have always been a medium. Fortunately, I spoke to some very knowledge folks who were well aware of Haibike’s useless size designations for this bike. The choice is now between the S and XS. It looks like you went with the XS 48. I read some feedback you provided shortly after you got the bike in July. I got the sense you thought it was a good fit, but you had some concern with the reach. Has your opinion of the size changed after six or seven months? Any suggestions for me on the size decision? I hate the idea of a bike that is too small. My one complaint with my old 1989 mountain bike is that my hands go numb on long rides. I assume that one explanation for that problem is that I’m riding a bike that is too small (18-inch frame) - but I suspect the real explanation may be more complicated. Alternatively, if I got the XS, I think my 5-5 wife could ride this bike in a pinch (until she gets her own.) I fear that if I got the S(52), that would not be an option – but maybe I’m wrong. Any insight you can provide on any of this would be greatly appreciated.

Don Clark
2 months ago

Have 1 2016 E3 Dash I purchased 2nd hand from friend. Only 100 miles on odometer. She really didn't ride it that mu ch.

I didn't know first thing about controls and played around one evening and got it working fine...

A few evenings later, tried it - couldn't get any motor to come on.

Battery 4 green, control power comes on and cycles through menu and levels.

When I pedal no motor comes on and though the LED Screen is on and normal - the miles per hour stays at zero.

I just don't get any power to the motor. There is also the optional BOOST Control installed - it has no effect.

All seems to light up and indicate but the motor and the MPH.

Any ideas besides a blown motor???? Fuse somewhere, Control need to be reset?????

Thanks for any help....

3 months ago

HELP: Would appreciate thoughts on buying my first e-bike. It MUST be from a local shop as I like to support local businesses, prefer to deal with a human in person, and I’m not handy.
So, from those carried locally what are your thoughts on the Electra Townie Go!, Magnum Peak and Mangum +, and the iZip E3 Dash.

4 months ago

Hi All,

I've recently moved, and now have the opportunity to bike commute (previously I lived 0.5 miles from work, so I walked)

New commute is 4.5miles each way, with a large hill in the middle.

Looking for a well-built commuter bike that can be used daily and or taken on local paths, to grocery store, etc etc.

Live in sunny CA, so little risk of cold/rain. Per CA law, class 1/2 look to be the most permissive. Class 3 is banned from bike paths (not bike lanes).

I've narrowed things down to two bikes.

2017 HaiBike Trekking 4.0 (20mph, class 1)
2017 Izip E3 dash (28mph, class 3)

Working with both a local dealer and a remote dealer.

After some negotation, I can get the Izip E3 via remote dealer for ~$1550 OTD or the Haibike trekking for $2200 OTD via local dealer.

Does the Haibike command a $700 increase over the iZip in anyone's opinion?

Is there another key bike I am leaving out?

Thanks !

6 months ago

SIMI VALLEY, Calif. (Interbike 2017) – No matter the adventure, https://pitchengine.com/izip/2017/09/14/izip-unveils-2018-line-of-electric-bikes-that/izipusa.com, a leader in fun-focused electric bikes, has a bike that will amplify your fun so you can travel further and faster. Whether you’re looking to explore endless miles of unknown dirt roads and trails, change your commute to work by skipping the car ride in favor of your city’s bike paths, or spending your weekend cruising along the coast in comfort, IZIP will enable and inspire you.

Heading into this year’s https://www.interbike.com/ trade show, IZIP unveils four new models for 2018 that span a variety of riding styles that integrate modern performance – from pavement to trails.

E3 Moda (MSRP $3,749)
Bold style compliments practicality in the speedy new E3 Moda bike that combines a max 28 MPH pedal-assist German-made Brose motor that’s integrated into the downtube with bright lights and a rear rack for cargo versatility. A workhorse commuter, the Moda efficiently clocks miles on the way to work or while you're getting some extra exercise in on the way to yoga class. With a 504Wh battery, 27.5-inch wheels for fun and stability, disc brakes, and Shimano Deore 10-speed drivetrain, the Moda, simply put, is a practical speedster.

E3 Moda

E3 Moda

E3 Dash (MSRP $2,699)
The reputable E3 Dash is a proven performer that gets you where you need to go … fast. Well known in speed pedal-assist circles as a seriously fun transporter, the Dash flattens hills and takes on long commutes with ease. Sporting a 28 MPH TranzX Center Motor, 700c wheels, RockShox Paragon front suspension fork, robust alloy fenders, and a rear pannier rack, potholes and bumps are no match for the Dash as you comfortably ride in style.

E3 Dash

E3 Zuma (MSRP $2,299)
The E3 Zuma, inspired by the beach lifestyle found at world famous Zuma Beach in southern California, blends comfort with style. The relaxed frame geometry makes it feel like your flip-flops never left the ground, but the bike remains perfectly balanced with a low center of gravity thanks to a downtube-mounted battery pack and powerful mid-drive motor. The Zuma’s long-range 417Wh battery, 26-inch wheels, disc brakes, and lightweight aluminum alloy frame powers weekend surf adventures, as well as mid-week errands around town.

E3 Zuma

E3 Zuma

E3 Peak DS (MSRP $4,599)
With 130mm of RockShox full-suspension, 27.5-inch all-mountain wheels, and Enduro-inspired geometry, the new E3 Peak DS eMTB is built to conquer the toughest terrain – up and down. The super-responsive 6061 aluminum ally frame is built with proven trail engineering to inspire any rider, but it's the best-in-class Bosch Performance CX mid-motor with a 500Wh battery that really amps things up. Magura disc brakes, SRAM NX 1X 11-speed drivetrain, and short chainstays give the Peak DS excellent handling performance for an unforgettable ride on your favorite dirt.

E3 Peak DS

IZIP is also leading the charge in helping preserve our environment with its new, first in the cycling industry http://www.call2recycle.org/ battery-recycling program. Batteries contain hazardous materials, and if dumped or disposed of incorrectly the harmful elements can find their way into our water sources and adds to pollution. IZIP’s program disposes of old batteries in an environmentally responsible manner, and collection sites are located throughout the U.S. and Canada. After collecting and sorting, the batteries are processed and turned into new batteries, stainless steel products, and other products. For more, please check: http://www.call2recycle.org/.

About IZIP
No matter how you ride, IZIP has a fun, fast, and efficient ebike for you. From commuters, cruisers, and cargo bikes to full-suspension, trail, and touring models, IZIP covers every riding option for leisure, trails, and pavement. With more than 10 years of experience in the ebike industry, IZIP is now a veteran and a leader in ebike technology in the U.S. A division of Accell North America, IZIP is supported by a network of authorized dealers and backed by the Electric Bike Competence Center of North America. For more about IZIP, please check: izipelectric.com.

MEDIA CONTACT: Keith Cozzens, Verde Brand Communications, keith@verdepr.com, 970-259-3555 x122

Don Severs
6 months ago

Sounds familiar. I got my 2016 E3 Dash a month ago and have loved it, almost to death it turns out. I've put 800 miles on it and strained my relationship with my dealer/friend. Here's what happened.

The front brake started leaking fluid after 2 weeks. Using the back brake more often and braking from higher ebike speeds caused the back brake pads to wear completely away in 800 miles. I took the bike in for warranty brake replacement because the front brake leaked fluid and they couldn't bleed and recharge it because the reservoir cap was stripped. The dealer said Shimano won't replace just one brake, only both of them, under warranty. But he didn't think about labor. Running the back brake cables required that they remove the motor and they ran up 5 hours of labor, which Shimano doesn't cover. And I didn't even want the back brake replaced, only the pads, which I could have done myself.

Anyway, any idea what happened with my back brakes? How many miles should I get from brake pads? I know it depends on many factors, but wondered if you thought 800 miles was way too low or not. I think my case was a perfect storm of riding with no front brake plus lots of miles in my honeymoon phase...

Going forward, I'm going to check the pads every few hundred miles, and I'll upgrade them if I have any further problems.

Also getting a new battery and headlight under warranty. I'm only getting 15 miles, which is on the low end of normal. But I'm also getting lots of flashing-red on the charger, indicating the battery or charger is too hot. This has led to no charge when I need it: if I plug it in and don't notice the flashing-red, it doesn't start charging>

The headlight issue is this. It has several detent clicks to adjust the throw of the beam. In the bottom click, the light turns off, which Izip support hadn't ever heard of. It wouldn't be a problem but sometimes the light clicks off when going over a bump on dark trails. So, they agreed to swap it out.

Glad izip has good support! I look forward to a few years from now when ebikes are as reliably as my 1998 Schwinn Mesa.

BTW, I wonder when Shimano, etc will update their warranties for the ebike era. Conventional components can't take the higher stopping speeds, etc. I expect the warranties to become more car-like, "2 years or 1000 miles, whichever comes first" and for the components to have an 'ebike' rating, and the warranty will be voided if you use non-ebike-rated components on your ebike.

art newcomer
8 months ago

Josh, I bought the Lacuba EVO 8 with the gates belt drive. Love it. I am just slightly thinner than you. My bike climbs the hills just fine with me onboard.
I highly recommend it!

Colorado Colin
9 months ago

I was going through a similar dilemma a couple of months back and my decision was really made for me when I went into my local Bicycle Village and they had the 2016 Izip E3 Dash on sale and with everything in I got it for just over $1500. What I liked about this bike was that it had everything I wanted for commuting, rack, fenders, lights, hydraulic disc brakes, mid-drive, nice livery... the only drawback was the battery as I have an 18 mile commute each way. Having done nearly 600 miles in the first month here are my thoughts on the bike. It is a nice well balanced bike that is stable at speed (I have a hill and often reach 35mph+ down it) and will cruise at 24mph easily (having got a Class 3 bike, I cannot imagine riding a Class 2 as I rarely go below 20mph on the flat). For your commute you can easily run it at speed setting 3 (out of 4) in both directions and you will still have battery to spare, this will allow you to cruise at 20mph+ easily. I carry my charger with me as I have about 20% left on my battery when I get to work.

It is a reasonably comfortable bike, but get a suspension seat post ! There is no give in the tires and you will notice EVERY bump in the road without it. I have also added Panniers (I got these https://www.amazon.com/Seattle-Sports-Fast-Pack-Pannier/dp/B0024AVUE4/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1499361926&sr=8-2&keywords=pannier+seattle) and a bell as you do come up on other riders quite quickly. The riding style is quite upright and forward and after about 10 miles or so I have to sit up and shake my hands out because of pins and needles (I think I have to look at the configuration and change some things).

The other major considerations for me, were the Warranty and customer service. on the Izip the warranty is 1 year on the battery, 2 years on the motor and lifetime on the frame. On the Customer Service, reading various forums / posts, the customer service is meant to be excellent (backed by Raleigh) and this gives me some peace of mind.

My biggest frustration with this bike is that when I start my commute I put it in setting 1 or 2 and get up to 20mph+ and can sustain that quite easily until I get to some hills. I then put it up to setting 3 and I get the boost I need, but when I come to the flats again I want to drop it into 2 again, but it often feels like I fight against the motor (I actually sent my first bike back as it was so annoying) and I don't feel the same boost from that setting as when I first started my ride. This is frustrating because of the length of my commute I do have to conserve my battery and I know in time the battery pack will degrade and I will be pushing the limits of its capacity. I will talk to their technical group to see if this is 'just the way it works' or whether I am doing something wrong.

Overall, I am loving my commute because of the bike. My drive time is normally about 35 minutes in the car, but just over 45 minutes on the bike, largely on dedicated bike trails, so until the snow comes, the car will stay at home !

I hope this helps give you a view on the Izip. I was very close to getting a CrossCurrent because of the company and bike reviews which were all really positive. Good luck on your decision and ultimately joining the Ebike community !

9 months ago

I also got it from Amazon and found the transformer missing and the reflectors broken when it arrived. After we got a transformer to charge the battery, we took it on a 12 mile ride. I found that I’m probably too tall, 5’ 10”. To get a comfortable pedal position, I put too much pressure on my wrists and they started going numb.

The three speed internal gears worked well. It allowed shifting while waiting at a intersection not moving.

The motor was enough power for hills where I previously got tired, but steep hills around our house and our moderately steep driveway were too much for it.

I found the screen hard to see in bright sun, but might not have made it full brightness since it was all in Chinese. I used google translate on my phone to recognize the display using the camera, but in regular riding mode, the menu for the assist was not too hard to figure out.

I found the app nice, but functionally not that useful. It’s not something I would run with a phone mounted. The mapping function doesn’t appear to work where we live.

I had hoped the 16” wheels would have made it much smaller than our other, cheap, 20” folding bike, but it’s not a significant difference. I wanted to get something that would fit in the front trunk of our Tesla, but it’s still too big to close the hood. Also the way it folds up, makes it harder than bikes that split in the center sideways. Compounded with no kick stand, makes me worried I would scratch the nice matte paint.

I also worry about lack of warranty support and the display all in Chinese and showing only KPH and KM instead of miles. I will probably end up returning it and getting something else. If the price were more like the price in China, around $400-$500 i might keep it and replace the handlebars with ones that are a little higher.

9 months ago

Hey all - happy to have found this great community & all its resources! I'm looking to buy my first ebike for my 13-mile (mostly flat) commute to work 2x/week. Pedelec / 28mph is important as I'm looking to cut down the commute time. I've read a lot abt rear hub, geared rear hub vs mid-drive & each seems to have its pros/ cons.

The bikes I am looking at are the Juiced crosscurrent- found a used one with only 50miles on it for $1k. The 2016 Haibike SDURO Cross SL (which dealer told me could add on a bypass to increase sped to 28). These are on sale for ~$2k. And the 2016 Izip E3 dash.

I'm leaning towards the Juiced (even though I think the Haibike is a better bike), as the cost is so much less & it's my first ebike. I figure I could ride it for a year or so & then know more about what I want. By then technology will keep improving & prices drop...

Any thoughts, pointers, or recommendations for a newbie? (I saw one other thread comparing the juiced & izip saying the former was a smoother ride, but can no longer find that thread)... many thx!

Mark Peralta
9 months ago

You can only get that "continuous acceleration feeling" on hub driven ebikes since there is no power interruption when shifting. If 7k is too much for you, then you may certainly try the St1. Other hub driven options that you may be interested in are the following:

OHM Urban or Sport
BULLS Outlaw E45
Easy motion Nitros
Magnum Peak
Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent
leftover Specialized turbos
leftover 2015 Izip E3 Dash

Good luck!

1 month ago

Why don't you have a go pro on your helmet?

Cliff Louie
3 months ago

Fabulous bike. Love mine. Thanks Court.

michael Solana
4 months ago

Hey Court! Can't Thank  you enough for your reviews, I feel like I've watched so many! I own the Radcity (3000+ miles) mostly in part because of your review. Now, I'm the new owner of the 2017 IZIP E3 thanks to your review! I was on the fence between this bike and the E3 PROTOUR COBI
DIAMOND FRAME - the air suspension and cavity of the battery when taken out to store or charge was the most prominent reasons for my choice. I usually take the battery with me when locking my bike, so adding some duct tape over the  connections on the IZIP seems more reasonable than leaving a cavity opening, not only to thieves but to weather (tips on how to disguise this bike are welcome). I'm upgrading because i wanted, speed, improved components and style. It looks like this bike includes all three upgrades along with mid drive (which will be a first for me). I'm a little disappointed with the lack of throttle from stop, but I am looking forward to higher speeds while paying extra attention to PAS levels and shifting - as i normally shift down when coming to a stop. Plus, I'm usually pedaling so no big deal. 

This will be my third purchase of an Ebike with guidance of your reviews! We need more bike reviews and opinions, agree? 
Couple of questions for you: why don't you review Luna Cycles? Sorry in advance if this question was answered previously. Since these bikes are not cheap, I think a helpful point would be digging into the warranties and customer services quality on the brand name bikes. I think you mentioned it on this review, but making that a high point is worth giving it some spotlight. I'm sure you know, but its worth mentioning Radpower Bikes is top notch customer service. I actually just convinced my 73 year old dad to but the Radmini while watching your review. 

On that note I love the 2 year warranty on battery and and 1 year on the motor and the weight of the bike, 53 lbs! One more question - any opinion on riding this in inclement weather such as rain and snow? This is concerning the electronics on the bike, as I'm not to educated on mid drives and their shortcomings in contrast to hub motors. 

Thanks Court! Keep pedaling and posting! I'm so excited and buzzed for my new ride!

Cliff Louie
4 months ago

I purchased this bike 2 weeks ago after much research watching a lot of Court’s videos. His insights on this particular bike is what impressed me. I own 9 bikes, fixed gear, various mountain and road bikes. But, this ebike introduced me a new way of looking at bikes and how I use them daily. The E3 is zippy, stable, and confidence inspiring. For me, an experienced cyclist, not having a gear sensor isn’t an issue. Just ease up on pedal pressure and press shifter with a confident technique which results in no gear mashing. Thanks EBR and all you do.

Joey Love
5 months ago

I recently purchased this bike. It’s amazing.

5 months ago

Nice, glad you're enjoying it Joey :D

9 months ago

You have so much experience with electric bikes I'm surprised one of these companies doesn't hire you as a consultant...

9 months ago

I have had some little offers to do consulting but have so much excitement about building the website and forums, helping people see new products and trying to be independent... I just haven't switched. I took a huge pay cut going from a product manager to building EBR (basically made no money for the first two years), so getting an offer to be a consultant feels like a step backward in a way. I tend to share my feedback openly when companies ask

Brian Rubenstein
9 months ago

hey, love your videos!! other than look, what does the 2017 dash have that the 2016 didn't? are they basically the same? trying to decide if it's worth the extra $$$ for this year's. thanks!

10 months ago

Its crazy that this motor that has 100 watts more than my haibike Yamaha... has less power...

10 months ago

Marketers right? :D
I must say im super happy with my AllMtn SL. Its the lower end of haibike but still at 2700 it was quite pricey! But the yamaha motor is very impressive, it has so much power its unreal. Shame about the 15.5mph restrictor (which was super easy to hack with an arduino and electromagnet). The power output is fine but to me it sounds like the power to torque conversion is a lot worse on this bike. I get about 70nm on my yamaha, which is plenty. If I ride it on tarmac with my restrictor on and decent hybrid wheels I can ride about 30mph quite comfortably. Though I think the haibike could benefit from a bigger chainring at the front. Because as you know if it doesnt detect you pushing it wont push either :)
Anyway im waffling, thanks for another good video.

10 months ago

Yeah, some of it is misleading... watts vs. amps being sent through? I use torque ratings a bit more now but also try to explain how it feels and show on video. Yamaha still makes an awesome mid-drive and their new one will offer higher RPM output (up to 120 like Bosch and Brose)

F r e e l e e
10 months ago

Why are batteries still put on the frame as an after thought in this day and age.

10 months ago

I think it reduces the cost and makes it easier to mount. More and more ebikes are putting them in the downtube or hiding them better, will be posting some of those shortly

10 months ago

Hi Court! You inspired me to buy an electric bike. I'm on the heavy side and I live in an area with a lot of hills and really almost no flat roads. Didn't ride bikes since I moved here 7 years ago. I hope my new bike that should ship next week will help me be more active and outside. :) Bought an Cube Reaction Hybrid HPA Race 500. Would love to see a review from you on that one. Hope it was the right decision to get that one. Did an test ride at a shop today and had a blast! Thanks for your videos. Best greetings from Germany! Have a nice weekend. :) Edit: Also a little suggestion for your website. Would be nice if you add filters to show where they are available (EU, US and so on). Also would be nice if it would be possible to type in price ranges instead of using that slider which isn't really precise.

Will Nettles
10 months ago

15:50 -- 15:56 the amazing backward, then stationary chain! It's a frame rate affect, but it looks real. How soon will you have a drone flying in circles?
And watch those dangling straps on your day bag. Anything that can get hooked, will get hooked in the worse possible way. Don't go Isadora Duncan on us.

Dezső Nagy
10 months ago

how musch is ebike, and sipped to me in Ireland? cost all?

Arnold Winters
10 months ago

Court, the Dash has no slap guard but the chain is high and since this is a commuter you won't get too much bounce.

I bought the Voltbike ENDURO based on your review. I expect delivery from WA on June 2nd. I will let you know how my experience is. So far George in Canada has been very nice and we had good communication. THANKS.

10 months ago

Do a review on the "Carbon SUV Motoparilla", it's an interesting looking bike.


David White
10 months ago

25.99? Ooh! Cheap.......

10 months ago

Yeah, it's not cheap, but I try to offer a relative gauge like "cheap for these parts" or "cheap for this much power and warranty support" type of thing :)

Bruce Ballad
10 months ago

Throttle option is a must and this bike has it. Cool bike with nice ride. I just dislike this type of battery packs for the looks. People often unnecessarily comment when they see those.

michael Solana
4 months ago

Hey Bruce, I'm thinking of putting a triangle bag over mine. Not sure it'll fit neatly though. Any tips on hiding the battery?

10 months ago

Yeah, we're right at the edge of integrated battery packs... I just reviewed a few more that are completely built in or hidden on the frame. Keep an eye out, will post soon :)

10 months ago

Great review as usual. I did notice the front tire was installed with the tread rotation backwards. 53 LBS AND 10 gears, love it.

10 months ago

Good catch, looks like someone just put the tire onto the rim in the wrong direction

Luis Figueroa
10 months ago

Nice to have an air fork on an e-bike. I love how clean the bike looks and having those fenders won't stop you from going faster even if it is wet or raining. Btw, I've been looking for one of your videos where you were riding with a friend with a really cool helmet that looks like a hat. I couldn't find the video. I ended up buying that helmet and love it. I wear it everyday at work and everyone loves it. I loved your "Living in a Car" video. Soon I will take the whole summer off and will try to ride as many trails as I can with my brother. I want to go to Bentonville AR, Moab UT, Colorado, Ashville NC. It will be amazing. I love your channel and keep doing what you love.

10 months ago

Hey, thanks, Luis! It sounds like you've got an incredible summer planned, good for you, get out there and have a blast :D

Mark H.
10 months ago

What is the best $3500.00 e-bike?

Mark H.
10 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Will do ! thank you

10 months ago

Hey Mark, that's a really big question because there are so many types... try using the advanced search back at the site and setting the max to 3501 https://electricbikereview.com/ there are lots more reviews coming... like 30+ that I have filmed and will be posting

George Herman
10 months ago

So mid drive seems to be the most popular drive systems now. What happens when they fail? Will you still be able to pedal home on your own power? And what about the ease and cost of repair? With a hub motor you can just replace the whole wheel. In other words which is more costly to repair or replace, the mid drive or the hub motor system?

George Herman
10 months ago

Thanks Court

10 months ago

Hey George, yeah, you can still pedal most mid-drive motors if they fail. They are designed to work even if the bike is off so it shouldn't be an issue. Repair is done by replacing the entire bottom bracket and I haven't heard of many situations where it was required, they just seem to be reliable. You do end up with more chain, sprocket and derailleur wear however. I'd say that mid-motors are probably more expensive to replace than hub motors but they usually have a good warranty and don't impact the spokes and rim the way that some hub motors do.