IZIP E3 Dash Review

2017 Izip E3 Dash Electric Bike Review
2017 Izip E3 Dash
2017 Izip E3 Dash Tranzx M16 Mid Motor
2017 Izip E3 Dash 48 Volt Panasonic Battery
2017 Izip E3 Dash Currie Electro Drive Lcd Display Ergonomic Grips
2017 Izip E3 Dash Rockshox Paragon Air Suspension Fork
2017 Izip E3 Dash 42t Chainring With Chain Guide
2017 Izip E3 Dash Alloy Rack And Kickstand
2017 Izip E3 Dash Sks Plastic Fenders And Spanninga Solo Led Light
2017 Izip E3 Dash 10 Speed Sram X7 Drivetrain
2017 Izip E3 Dash Portable 2 Amp Battery Charger
2017 Izip E3 Dash Electric Bike Review
2017 Izip E3 Dash
2017 Izip E3 Dash Tranzx M16 Mid Motor
2017 Izip E3 Dash 48 Volt Panasonic Battery
2017 Izip E3 Dash Currie Electro Drive Lcd Display Ergonomic Grips
2017 Izip E3 Dash Rockshox Paragon Air Suspension Fork
2017 Izip E3 Dash 42t Chainring With Chain Guide
2017 Izip E3 Dash Alloy Rack And Kickstand
2017 Izip E3 Dash Sks Plastic Fenders And Spanninga Solo Led Light
2017 Izip E3 Dash 10 Speed Sram X7 Drivetrain
2017 Izip E3 Dash Portable 2 Amp Battery Charger

Summary

  • A value-priced urban electric bike that includes fenders, integrated LED lights, a rear rack, and hydraulic disc brakes, it's available in three frame sizes but only high-step
  • This is a high-speed Class 3 ebike that can reach ~28 mph assisted and because it relies on a cadence sensor, you don't have to push as hard to get there, excellent weight distribution
  • Custom frame with internally routed cables and a bottle cage mounting point, turning the bike on and off requires extra steps, the display panel is not removable
  • Only one color choice but the silver looks cool and keeps you visible at night, the cadence sensing motor does not have shift sensing and the brake levers don't have motor inhibitors

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

IZIP

Model:

E3 Dash

Price:

$2,599

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting

Electric Bike Class:

Speed Pedalec (Class 3), Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

53 lbs (24.04 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.8 lbs (2.63 kg)

Motor Weight:

9.5 lbs (4.3 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

15 in (38.1 cm)17 in (43.18 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Medium 17": 17" Seat Tube, 31" Stand Over Height, 73" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Silver with White and Black Accents

Frame Fork Details:

Rock Shox Paragon Air Suspension, 65 mm Travel, Lockout, 9 mm Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

Alloy 142 / 12 mm Thru-Axle with Quick Release

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

10 Speed 1x10 SRAM X7, 11-32T Cassette

Shifter Details:

SRAM X7 Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Lasco EB05 Crank Arms, 175 mm Length, Chainring with Alloy Guide, 42T

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform, Black

Headset:

FSA 1-1/8"

Stem:

Promax, 7° Angle, 95 mm Length, Two 10 mm Stacks, One 5 mm Stack

Handlebar:

Tranz-X DB Alloy 31.8 mm Diameter, 650 mm x 25 mm Low Rise

Brake Details:

Shimano M355 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front Rotor and 160 mm Rear Rotor

Grips:

Velo Dual Density, Ergonomic Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Velo Street

Seat Post:

Tranz-X Alloy with Quick Release Collar

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Alex DH19 Doublewall, Aluminum Alloy, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 13 Gauge, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda Kuick Bitumen, 700 x 45c (28" x 1-5/8")

Wheel Sizes:

28 in (71.12cm)

Tire Details:

50 to 85 PSI

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Integrated Front and Rear LED Lights (AXA Blueline50 and Spanninga Solo), SKS Plastic Full Length Fenders with Rubber Mud Guards, Aluminum Alloy Rack (18 kg, 40 lb Max Load), Single Side Adjustable Length Kickstand

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.8 Pound 2 Amp Charger, Hold + Button to Activate Lights, Hold the Page Button to Swap Metric and Standard, Hold + and Page Buttons for 10 Seconds for Options

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Currie Electro-Drive® (TranzX, Model M16)

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Motor Torque:

68 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Panasonic

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8.7 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

417.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

16 miles (26 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

Currie Electro Drive, Fixed Monochrome, Backlit LCD, Adjustable Angle

Readouts:

Speed, Odometer, Trip, Battery Capacity (5 Bars), Assist Level (0-4), Range

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Left (+, -, Page, On/Off), Hold Page to Change Units, Hold + to Activate Lights, Hold + and Page for Menu

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist (Optional Boost Button Throttle)

Top Speed:

28 mph (45 kph) (20 mph Throttle Only)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The E3 Dash has long been one of my favorite IZIP electric bike models. It looks great, is value priced, offers great urban accessories (fenders, integrated lights, and a rear rack in this case) and comes in several sizes for improved fit. While the 2017 version does not come in multiple colors, I feel like the silver and black looks professional and approaches unisex while also improving your visual footprint from the side. This is a Class 3 Speed Pedelec capable of reaching ~28 mph top speeds and it uses a cadence sensor so you don’t have to work as hard to hit and maintain top speeds. Most other mid-drive ebikes I’ve been seeing form premium brands use Bosch, Yamaha, or Brose but the E3 Dash has gone with TranzX, probably to keep the cost down. The motor is compact, relatively quit but not as quiet as Brose or Yamaha, and uses a standard sized chainring. I like that they added alloy guides on this chainring to keep the chain from bouncing off if you take the bike across a bumpy section of road. And the new Dash has a 65 mm air fork along with medium-width tires to really improve the comfort of your ride. This is a huge deal for people like me who have a sensitive back and neck but also want a light weight frame. The 2017 IZIP E3 Dash weighs about 53 lbs, which I would consider good for having the fenders, rack, and a larger 48 volt battery pack. My biggest gripes center on the lack of shift sensing and brake lever motor inhibitors as well as the two-step on and off process. If you’re unable to shift smoothly, the chain, cassette, and derailleur will wear out faster and that goes for the display panel as well because it’s not removable. Now the battery pack is removable and both wheels use quick release so maintenance and flat fixes aren’t such a hassle… so it’s a mixed bag. For the price, I see this is a very capable electric bicycle, and if you ride it thoughtfully, it should hold up well over time. Plus, you get a comprehensive two-year warranty from the Accell Group (which owns IZIP) and their systems use CAN bus which allows for fast, easy diagnostics by shops who sell the product.

Driving this bike is a powerful mid-drive from TranzX called the M16. It offers up to 63 Newton meters of torque and can be powered through cadence sensing pedal assist (by default) or a boost button throttle which is sold separately. The boost button sounds neat, but because it doesn’t become active until the bike is moving ~2 mph, I feel that it loses a lot of its potential value. I like to use throttles to help get me started… especially on cadence sensing electric bikes which take a pedal rotation or two before the motor kicks in. Thankfully, the TranxZ motor responds fairly quickly in pedal assist mode and also cuts out fast when you stop. It produces a bit of whirring noise when operating, more at the higher RPM, but if you shift gears effectively I feel like it fades away with the sound of the tires on the road, through the sound of air passing, and a bit of fender rattle. Yes, the fenders do rattle a little bit… the rear one especially. It is not connected to the rack the way that some other fenders are and it doesn’t have an extra set of support arms at the middle which would keep it quieter. The fenders are plastic and won’t rust or bend the way that Steel and Aluminum might. Visually, the motor looks good with a silver metal base that matches the frame color. It does bulge out a bit towards the front but doesn’t hang down lower than the 42 tooth chainring. And the 10-sprocket SRAM X7 drivetrain on this bike is a great choice because it offers enough steps to pedal comfortably at a range of speeds. It’s roughly equivalent to Shimano Deore and is considered to be the upper end of entry level or the lower end of mid-level which fits the value pricing of the bike. You get trigger shifters on the right that are easy to actuate and those Shimano M355 hydraulic disc brakes to slow things down. The brake levers are fairly large and easy to reach with adjustable reach settings to accommodate small or large hands and people who ride with gloves.

Powering the bike is a 48 Volt 8.7 Amp hour battery pack with premium Panasonic cells inside. I’d call it average in terms of capacity and appreciate the clean, aerodynamic aesthetic of the plastic pack. Note that the downtube is flat on top to bring the battery lower and help it blend into the frame. At the base, a metal cup supports the dock interface and continues the bulge look of the pack into the bottom bracket. This is mostly aesthetic but I like how it looks much better than a big black box just hanging out with no smoothing on either side. The pack seats in from the left side vs. down from the top and this makes it easier to get on and off. Note that IZIP was able to squeeze in a pair of bottle cage bosses near the base of the seat tube. If you do add an accessory here, the pack won’t bump into it and get scratched as easily as if it were to seat from the top down. And I love that the battery has a rigged handle type design at the top because I often take my batteries into the office for charging during the day. One thing to note is that IZIP estimates a low range for this bike at 16 to 30 miles per charge. This really depends on your weight, the terrain, and even the wind speed, temperature outside, and speed that you’re riding at. Anything above 20 mph significantly cuts into range because of air resistance. Thankfully, the display panel has a range estimate readout that’s dynamic so you can arrow through the four levels of assist and make sure you’ve got enough juice to get to your destination. Even if you do run out, those 10 speeds, efficient 700c tires, and active geometry make the bike reasonable to pedal unassisted. I want to call out the ergonomic grips and large, grippy platform pedals as being nice upgrades while we’re focused on pedaling.

Operating the bike is not as intuitive as I’d like because there’s a two-step power on and off process. First, you have to press the power button at the base of the battery (on the left side) and then you press power on the control pad (mounted near the left grip). The display comes to life and shows a bunch of trip stats that you an explore by pressing the box “page” button. If you hold this button for a couple of seconds, it will switch from Miles to Kilometers and if you hold Page and + together for 10 seconds or so, you can open the menu. This area allows you to adjust screen brightness, backlighting sensitivity, and even power output. To change power output, navigate to the SU are and adjust from -15 to 15 to remove or add three Amps to create a smoother or zippier feel. Note that shops can also adjust the maximum speed that this ebike can reach, which is cool for people who don’t want to go so fast in order to feel safer or maximize range. So, you can arrow up from assist level one through four to increase power and speed, and you will need to actively shift gears to reach the maximum speed of the bike but this is part of what makes a mid-drive efficient. It leverages the same gears that you do to pedal with. And there is one extra drive mode buried in there as well, if you hold the power button for a couple of seconds while the bike is on, you will see the display change to assist level zero… which allows you to ride as a normal bicycle while still having access to the display readouts (like speed, trip distance, odometer) and power the lights. Why they didn’t just allow the minus button to go down from level one to level zero is a mystery to me. This would have been easier to do while riding and saved a bunch of time when powering off the bike (because you have to press power once… and then again for a full shutoff) The plus button also has a second feature which is to activate the headlight and backlight during the day, just hold plus for a couple of seconds to turn it on. All things considered, the display delivers the features I like but is annoying to use after seeing so many other simpler, more intuitive designs. It doesn’t remove which means it will take more weather wear and potentially tampering at racks, but it does swivel to reduce glare. Many of my friends put their helmets over their displays or a glove to hide it. There’s not USB or Mini-USB charging port to fill your phone or other portable electronics even though the lower-end TranzX display does have this. It’s the one area of the bike that seems a little outdated, but at least the button pad is easy enough to reach and seems well sealed against water.

Instead of celebrating the value price point of the IZIP E3 Dash I found myself nitpicking the minor inconveniences and feeling concerned about the lack of shift sensing and motor inhibitors on the cadence sensing drive system. As a reviewer, I get hyperfocused on details because many of these electric bikes are so similar and polished now. You save money with the IZIP E3 Dash, get the support of a larger international company (the Accell Group), have access to a wide network of dealers, get the multiple frame sizes and all of the safety and utility extras that you could want that look great and work pretty well. I think the systems actually work quite well and while the chain may wear a bit faster, this is not a difficult part to replace. I feel like the boost button is a missed opportunity and has been nerfed, taking away the value of starting from standstill, but at least it’s an option at all. For someone who commutes, this would be a solid platform and I suppose the final gripe is that the rack doesn’t accommodate as much weight (about 40 lbs vs. 55 lbs on a lot of others) but again, it looks good and uses standard gauge tubing. It’s good enough. With the addition of a suspension seatpost and proper use of the RockShox Paragon Air fork, this can be a comfortable, enjoyable ebike. I’d like to thank IZIP for partnering with me on this post and inviting me to their headquarters to ride different models back to back. I believe I was riding the size Medium 17″ frame for this review.

Pros:

  • The IZIP E3 Dash has long been a favorite electric bike model for me because the price is reasonable and you get a lot of useful accessories like fenders and lights, this model is a Class 3 speed pedelec so it’s useful for commuters who need to get to work quickly
  • The IZIP ebikes use a CAN bus system that allows the different electronic components to communicate with each other, making maintenance much easier for shops because the system can tell if something is wrong
  • The display has deeper settings which allow you to raise or lower the amperage which increases or decreases the feeling of power (and in turn, uses more or less electricity from the battery)
  • Considering that this is a speed pedelec, it’s great to see a suspension fork with decent travel (65 mm) and it’s an air fork so it doesn’t raise the weight of the bike very much, it can be locked out
  • The Kenda Kuick Bitumen tires are wider than road tires which improve traction and increases air volume for comfort… but they run at a higher PSI which means that you might want to swap the saddle or add a 31.6 mm seat post suspension to further improve comfort
  • Being seen is increasingly important if you ride on streets with cars frequently and since this is designed for urban environments, I love that they went with a silver paint color and have integrated front and rear lights (the headlight has windows on the side so you can be seen easier as well as see where you’re going)
  • The bike comes in three different frame sizes to dial in fit for a range of riders (tall or short)
    and the top tube and seat tube are fairly low for a diamond “high-step” frame
  • Because the motor controller uses cadence sensing instead of torque, you don’t have to push very hard to get it going but you might not get the same range and fluid feel that some other ebikes offer… it’s a trade off but their system works pretty well
  • I like that IZIP is offering a 10-speed drivetrain here given the wide range of speeds (up to 28 mph assisted) and that the chainring has an alloy guide to reduce chain drops and keep your pants from touching the chain
  • Excellent frame balance with both the motor and battery positioned low and center, this improves handling and since the battery is removable it also makes it easier to mount on center-hang racks
  • The center of the frame is fairly open and they managed to squeeze in a pair of bottle cage bosses along the seat tube, so many ebikes (especially mid-level products) don’t have these and I find them useful for fluids, mini-pumps, and locks
  • The rear rack uses standard gauge tubing and should be compatible with a wide range of trunk bags and panniers, the fenders look great and offer good coverage, and I love the kickstand choice and mounting position because it stays clear of the pedals
  • I like that the battery pack has a sort of built-in handle at the top so you can carry it more securely, this is useful if you bring the pack inside to charge during the day if you work in an office etc.
  • At ~53 lbs with the battery, I would consider this to be a relatively light weight electric bike because it does have a suspension fork, fenders, alloy platform pedals, and a rack
  • Both wheels have quick release and the drivetrain is not changed by this being an electric bike (the way hub motor powered ebikes are) so you can do maintenance and change flats a lot easier, shops may feel more comfortable working on this bike as well
  • Custom tubing work with internally routed cables and some extra supports at the base of the battery mount, it looks very nice and I like that the battery slides out from the side vs. clipping-in up and down because you’re less likely to bump the frame when mounting/removing it
  • The rear wheel uses a 12 mm thru-axle that’s stronger and stiffer than a standard 9 mm skewer and I noticed that the spokes are slightly thicker as well, 13 gauge
  • One of the menus in the display panel is range estimate and I think this is much more useful than the five bar battery infographic, it’s cool to change power levels and see how it impacts range on the fly
  • I think you can work with your local IZIP dealer to actually change the top assisted speed on this bike so you don’t have to go the full 28 mph if you don’t want to… of course you can always just use a lower level of assist and not shift gears which will influence how fast you go as well

Cons:

  • This model is only available in high-step which means it could be difficult to mount for some people with shorter inseams, especially if you’ve got bags added to the rear rack
  • The TranzX motor is positioned well (low and center on the frame) and it offers good power but it does not deliver shift sensing and could mash the gears if you don’t shift thoughtfully, this is especially true because it uses a cadence sensor vs. a shift sensor
  • It’s neat that IZIP offers a throttle button option but I don’t enjoy using it very much because you have to reach over with your thumb and hold the button constantly to make the motor go, the rubberized buttons appear to be well sealed against water but aren’t super easy to push and my hand gets tired, also, it doesn’t work from standstill (you must be going ~2 mph) so that defeats the point for me
  • You get 180/160 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano which offer solid stopping power but I was surprised to not see motor inhibitors built in, this used to be very common for cadence sensing ebikes but I guess they feel the motor responds quickly enough to not require them now
  • The display panel is fairly large, easy to use, and adjustable in terms of angle but it is not removable which means it could take more abuse when left outside at the rack and people could tamper with the bike if your battery is left in
  • I was a little surprised to see that the maximum recommended weight for the rear rack is 18 kg vs.
    25 kg on most other racks, perhaps this is because it has a light wired in or is paired with fenders? Maybe it has to do with the high-speed operation of the bike?
  • The fenders look great but I noticed a bit of rattling noise during my test ride, I don’t think the rear fender has as many support arms as some others I’ve seen and plastic just isn’t as solid as Aluminum but it also doesn’t bend as easily and won’t rust like Steel
  • Powering the bike on is a two-step process, you have to press a power button near the left base of the battery pack and then press another power button on the display… so if you forget the first step, you might have to get off or strain to reach way down which is annoying
  • If you hold the power button for a second (while the bike is on) it will take you from the 1-4 levels of pedal assist down to zero… which is kind of neat (you could ride with the motor off but the lights on for safety if you’re low on power) but it can also be confusing when you want to turn the bike off… it’s like another two-step process where you have to hold the power button twice just like turning the bike on
  • There’s no USB or Micro-USB port on this display or button pad to charge your phone or other electronic devices, some of the simpler non-LCD displays from TranzX now offer this so it’s a bummer that the really nice display does not

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More IZIP Reviews

IZIP E3 ProTour Review

  • MSRP: $3,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An efficient, feature-complete, speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speed with excellent frame balance but limited suspension and comfort options. Alloy fenders and minimalist rear rack stay quiet on bumpy terrain, an alloy chain guide…...

IZIP E3 Peak+ Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A mean looking cross country style hardtail electric mountain bike, beautifully integrated battery pack and motor keep weight low and center, has rear-rack bosses!. Locking removable battery pack can be charged on or off the bike, the display is…...

IZIP E3 Sumo Review

  • MSRP: $3,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A rigid electric fat bike with provisions for front and rear racks, available in two frame sizes for improved fit, designed with a steep top tube for comfortable stand over and steadying. Beautifully integrated Bosch Performance Line CX motor and battery pack, downtube is cut away and…...

IZIP E3 Go Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A purpose-built electric tricycle with efficient and well-balanced middrive motor system, powerful 48 volt battery and optional second battery bay for increased range, rear wheel drive offers good traction. Comfortable swept-back handlebar with ergonomic grips, massive padded saddle with springs and hybrid tires keep…...

IZIP E3 Peak DS Review

  • MSRP: $4,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A value-driven full suspension electric cross country mountain bike with higher end drive system and components from Bosch, SRAM and RockShox, it's $300 cheaper than prior year with lots of upgrades. Beautiful hydroformed frame with inset battery mount and tapered head tube, the motor hangs down…...

2016 IZIP E3 ProTour Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the coolest looking, most feature rich high-speed electric bicycles I've tested... the battery is beautifully integrated and the small motor stays almost completely hidden behind the chainring. Pedal assist gets you 28 mph using speed, cadence and torque sensing and you can…...

2016 IZIP E3 Sumo Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the lighter weight, higher powered and more affordable off-road capable fat bikes I've tested, you get 15 mm and 12 mm thru-axles with quick release and punched out rims. Sturdy Shimano M396 hydraulic disc brakes front and rear, no motor inhibitors in the levers…...

IZIP E3 Peak Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A 650B hardtail trail or mountain ebike with a powerful 73 Nm mid-drive motor, it's one of the quieter motors but less responsive (mostly cadence sensing) and no shift sensing. Nice 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes, quick release for both wheels and a 15 mm…...

2016 IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A feature complete speed pedelec (capable of ~28 mph top speeds) with a high torque mid-drive motor from TranzX. Quality full length plastic fenders from SKS with integrated mud flaps, mid-level suspension fork with…...

IZIP E3 Path+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An efficient, light weight commuter electric bike available in two frame sizes and high-step or step-thru styles, the adjustable stem and swept back bars support a surprisingly comfortable upright body position. Narrower tires, firm saddle and all-Aluminum frame and fork provide great power transfer when pedaling…...

IZIP E3 Vibe+ Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An approachable electric bike with deep low-step frame, adjustable stem, swept back handle bars and a large comfortable saddle. Simple linear pull brakes work well and are easy to adjust, quick release skewers on…...

IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high powered, cruiser style electric bike with four levels of zippy pedal assist and a twist throttle drive mode. Available in two high-step sizes (18" and 20") and one step-thru (18") for easier mounting,…...

2015 IZIP E3 Sumo Review

  • MSRP: $3,650
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the only fat tire style electric bikes I've tested to date that is legally capable of 25+ mph top speeds in pedal assist mode. Good value considering the custom fat frame in two sizes, solid warranty and availability, hydraulic…...

2015 IZIP E3 Peak DS Review

  • MSRP: $4,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Full suspension electric bike with powerful mid-drive motor for effective climbing and balanced weight, higher ~28 mph top speed. Removable battery pack and quick release wheels make charging and servicing convient, reduce weight when…...

2015 IZIP E3 Peak Review

  • MSRP: $3,100
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Hardtail trail-ready electric bike with powerful centerdrive motor for effective climbing and balanced weight, ~28 mph top speed. Removable battery pack for convenient charging and reduced transport weight, lockout suspension fork by RockShox…...

2015 IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,550
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Cruiser style electric bike with two frame styles, two frame sizes, 11 custom colors and a wonderfully balanced purpose-built frame. Removable battery can be charged on or off the bike, optional matching fenders, rear rack…...

2015 IZIP E3 Path+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,600
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Near-silent commuter style electric bike offering pedal assist and throttle mode, fenders and a carry rack. Comfortable ride with upright seating position, swept back handlebars and oversized Velo comfort saddle...

2015 IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High performance city style electric bike that offers throttle mode up to 20mph and pedal assist up to 28mph. Comfortable ride with oversized 700x45c tires, suspension fork with lockout and updated Velo Street saddle...

IZIP E3 Twn:exp Review

  • MSRP: $2,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

A sturdy, highly adjustable city bike that's perfect for rentals or fleets. High torque 400 watt direct drive motor is quiet and extremely durable, encased in rear…...

2014 IZIP E3 Path+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,200
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

An active urban-style electric bike with near-silent motor operation and clean design helping it blend in. Strong 500 watt motor paired with large 48 volt battery that's removable and uses premium…...

IZIP E3 Metro Review

  • MSRP: $2,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy, stiff and capable of hauling cargo with the reinforced front basket and welded rear rack. Oversized tires, adjustable stem and seat post suspension improved comfort when riding...

2014 IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,400
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Clean design with integrated battery pack improves balance, eight frame colors to choose from. Delivers smooth pedal assist and twist throttle mode for easy start from rest...

2014 IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,600
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

High quality features and well rounded drive system at an excellent price. Strong but quiet 500 watt gearless rear hub motor offers throttle mode and torque-sensing pedal…...

2014 IZIP E3 Peak Review

  • MSRP: $3,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Mid-level off road electric mountain bike with excellent weight distribution. Centerdrive motor offers high-torque, leverages rear cassette and makes servicing wheels and tires much easier...

2013 IZIP E3 Metro Review

  • MSRP: $2,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Strong 500 watt motor is capable of moving heavier riders and heavier loads in the integrated racks. Weight is spread out from rear and kept low to the ground with battery built…...

IZIP E3 Compact Review

  • MSRP: $2,150
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Built on the industry leading Dahon single speed folding bicycle frame. Offers both pedal assist and twist and go throttle mode...

IZIP E3 Path Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

An affordable, classic style electric bike with balanced features. Weaker 250 watt motor offers less torque but also weighs less...

2013 IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Solid frame with oversized cushy tires and seat delivers a fluid enjoyable ride. Powerful 500 watt geared rear hub motor paired with 36 volt Lithium-ion battery offers torque…...

IZIP Express Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2012, 2013

Ultra powerful and rugged long-range electric bike, originally designed for use by the Los Angeles police force for urban patrols. Unique mid-drive belt system delivers high torque for climbing and accelerating, speed pedelec design capable…...

IZIP E3 Ultra Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Powerful 500 Watt motor paired with strong 36 Volt battery for acceleration and climbing ability. Sensitive pedal assist mode becomes jerky when climbing hills but is otherwise very responsive...

IZIP E3 Vibe Review

  • MSRP: $999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Upright seating with high-rise handlebars, wide sprung saddle and seat post shock for improved comfort. 250 watt brushless rear hub motor works well with pedal assist or throttle mode for…...

IZIP Trekking Enlightened Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2009

Discontinued in 2009, replaced with the E3 Path which is sturdier, less expensive and features twist throttle as well as pedal assist. Designed to be pedaled, the Trekking Enlightened lacks throttle mode but features 24 speed, lights,…...

IZIP Urban Cruiser Enlightened Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2009

A relaxed, comfortable and stable cruiser style electric bike with integrated downtube-battery that keeps weight low and center. Smooth torque sensing pedal assist is responsive but requires more care when working on the…...


june kato
2 months ago

Hey Court,

Thanks for all your reviews, and they have given me a lot of insights into getting my first e-bike, which is this iZip Dash! I love it! I live in L.A. and I have in the past been using a bus to commute 20 miles one way 3 days a week, and once a week on my Subauru. Now, I’m doing the e-bike commute and it takes about an hour each way! Less than the bus ride, and a little more or about the same as the car.

I don’t have any reference to compare this to any other e-bikes other than the Sondors, but I can feel the quality of this bike. I do not really like the lag between pedaling and when the electric assist kicks in, since it’s a cadence sensor. I also do not like the lack of gear change sensor: I have to basically stop pedaling for a split second when I change gears so I don’t mash the gears.

I did find that back-pedaling slightly seems to help with the delay associated with the electric assist stopping after when I stop pedaling. The delay seems shorter that way: Please confirm this next time you have a chance to ride this bike (what I do when I want to change gears without mashing them is to back-pedal slightly so that the motor stops quicker than when you simply stop pedaling: it seems to help the sensor to register the lack of pedal motion).

What I like about the bike are:

  1. It has front suspension which helps with rough pavement.
  2. the fenders are a great feature to have for commuting.
  3. the rack is a must-have for commuting as well!
  4. the wide tires a great for speed riding because it makes it feel more stable.
  5. relatively low price point for the feature it has!
  6. iZip is a respected brand, and I have a dealer I can visit if I have issues or need adjustment.

What I don’t like are:

  1. As mentioned earlier, I do not like the slight delay when pedaling or stop pedaling, but this can be overcome by getting used to it.
  2. Gear change can be tricky because of #1 but this also can be overcome with time.
  3. I wish they had more color options, since I would have loved to got a white one!

Thanks Court, and keep up the great work!
June Kato

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi June,

I will definitely try the slight-backpedal approach to cutting the motor when shifting. I want to be careful so as not to shift while pedaling backwards, but I see the logic and think that’s a unique approach. Glad to hear that overall, the bike is performing well and seems like a good value for you. I like IZIP and agree that having a helpful dealer nearby is a big deal. It’s interesting that you say you want white because I also prefer the light colors for safety.

Thanks for the support and kind words, I’ve got more reviews on the way and you can always share more feedback here or connect with others in the EBR IZIP forums!

Reply
June kato
2 months ago

Hey Court,

Yeah, the slight backpedaling before the gear change seems to help, and yes, I agree about being careful about not shifting while pedaling backwards: I try to shift after stopping / slight backpedaling.

I was really wanting to go for the Smartmotion Pacer (I hope I got it right, the commuter) in white, but I couldn’t find a dealer nearby, and was a little more pricey than the iZip Dash. I was not sure the extra $500 was worth it or not… and iZip was having a sale for their 2017 Dash models.

Corbin
2 months ago

Any thoughts about the e3 dash versus the Magnum Peak? It would mainly be a pavment and hard pack dirt daily commuter with occasional light trail riding. I’m a bigger guy – about 5’11 and 220 lbs. There are a bunch of reviews out there about the e3 but @court is the only good Magnum Peak review I could find.

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Corbin, I like how the throttle is setup on the Magnum Peak and feel that it would perform better on hard packed dirt. You miss out on the fenders and rack but those could be added aftermarket if you need them. Magnum has done an excellent job with their products and they have a growing network of dealers where you might be able to take a test ride. IZIP has been around longer and their mid-drive is going to be more efficient but the shifting may require some finesse, check out June Kato’s comment about pedaling backwards briefly to cut power before shifting. An alternative would be to search around for a 2017 Haibike hardtail on sale. They use Yamaha and Bosch which I like better than TranzX and their designs are lighter and more refined than Magnum but won’t have a throttle. I hope this helps :)

Reply
Bob
1 month ago

Court, Thanks for the review. I just bought this bike. Is there any reason you know of to change the programming of the bike through the CAN bus system? What setting do you think is reasonable for the amperage on the Support page of the display. You dialed it up to 15 for the test ride. I was thinking about putting an adjustable stem on. Have any recommendations for one? Thanks!

Reply
Court Rye
1 month ago

Hi Bob! I’m not very knowledgeable when it comes to tuning the IZIP E3 Dash, but perhaps someone else will chime in or you can repost in the IZIP forums to see if anyone there is keen. I hope it works great for you in any case, ride safe out there!

Reply
Bob
1 month ago

Thanks for the quick reply. I’ll try it out.

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Mark Peralta
1 week ago

very helpful! I also tried eflow E3 Nitro 2013 model. its motor is maxed at 20m. I was able to ride at about 21-24 miles consistently, and was able to max at 26 miles with my best effort. Based on the above info, i am starting to wonder whether class 3 (max at 28m) is 20% to 30% faster than a class 2(max at 20m) for a 17 miles one way commute???
When I first had my 500 watt hub drive (2015 Izip Dash) I can barely pedal faster than 25 mph on max assist level. Now I only use level 2 assist most of the time, and switch to level 3 to reach to 28 mph. I rarely used the max assist (level 4).

Srikant
2 weeks ago

I like the bike and enjoyed my first "long" ride of 8 miles. I consider myself bit of lazy and it helped me coast through the 8 miles without much effort. Do you guys have any advice or tips for maintaning/making best use of my dash. Thx!

Verde
2 weeks ago

SIMI VALLEY, Calif. (Interbike 2017) – No matter the adventure, IZIP, a leader in fun-focused electric bikes, has a bike that will amplify your fun so you can travel further and faster. Whether you’re looking to explore endless miles of unknown dirt roads and trails, change your commute to work by skipping the car ride in favor of your city’s bike paths, or spending your weekend cruising along the coast in comfort, IZIP will enable and inspire you.

Heading into this year’s Interbike trade show, IZIP unveils four new models for 2018 that span a variety of riding styles that integrate modern performance – from pavement to trails.

E3 Moda (MSRP $3,749)
Bold style compliments practicality in the speedy new E3 Moda bike that combines a max 28 MPH pedal-assist German-made Brose motor that’s integrated into the downtube with bright lights and a rear rack for cargo versatility. A workhorse commuter, the Moda efficiently clocks miles on the way to work or while you're getting some extra exercise in on the way to yoga class. With a 504Wh battery, 27.5-inch wheels for fun and stability, disc brakes, and Shimano Deore 10-speed drivetrain, the Moda, simply put, is a practical speedster.

E3 Moda

E3 Moda

E3 Dash (MSRP $2,699)
The reputable E3 Dash is a proven performer that gets you where you need to go … fast. Well known in speed pedal-assist circles as a seriously fun transporter, the Dash flattens hills and takes on long commutes with ease. Sporting a 28 MPH TranzX Center Motor, 700c wheels, RockShox Paragon front suspension fork, robust alloy fenders, and a rear pannier rack, potholes and bumps are no match for the Dash as you comfortably ride in style.

E3 Dash

E3 Zuma (MSRP $2,299)
The E3 Zuma, inspired by the beach lifestyle found at world famous Zuma Beach in southern California, blends comfort with style. The relaxed frame geometry makes it feel like your flip-flops never left the ground, but the bike remains perfectly balanced with a low center of gravity thanks to a downtube-mounted battery pack and powerful mid-drive motor. The Zuma’s long-range 417Wh battery, 26-inch wheels, disc brakes, and lightweight aluminum alloy frame powers weekend surf adventures, as well as mid-week errands around town.

E3 Zuma

E3 Zuma

E3 Peak DS (MSRP $4,599)
With 130mm of RockShox full-suspension, 27.5-inch all-mountain wheels, and Enduro-inspired geometry, the new E3 Peak DS eMTB is built to conquer the toughest terrain – up and down. The super-responsive 6061 aluminum ally frame is built with proven trail engineering to inspire any rider, but it's the best-in-class Bosch Performance CX mid-motor with a 500Wh battery that really amps things up. Magura disc brakes, SRAM NX 1X 11-speed drivetrain, and short chainstays give the Peak DS excellent handling performance for an unforgettable ride on your favorite dirt.

E3 Peak DS

IZIP is also leading the charge in helping preserve our environment with its new, first in the cycling industry Call2Recycle battery-recycling program. Batteries contain hazardous materials, and if dumped or disposed of incorrectly the harmful elements can find their way into our water sources and adds to pollution. IZIP’s program disposes of old batteries in an environmentally responsible manner, and collection sites are located throughout the U.S. and Canada. After collecting and sorting, the batteries are processed and turned into new batteries, stainless steel products, and other products. For more, please check: call2recycle.org.

About IZIP
No matter how you ride, IZIP has a fun, fast, and efficient ebike for you. From commuters, cruisers, and cargo bikes to full-suspension, trail, and touring models, IZIP covers every riding option for leisure, trails, and pavement. With more than 10 years of experience in the ebike industry, IZIP is now a veteran and a leader in ebike technology in the U.S. A division of Accell North America, IZIP is supported by a network of authorized dealers and backed by the Electric Bike Competence Center of North America. For more about IZIP, please check: izipelectric.com.

MEDIA CONTACT: Keith Cozzens, Verde Brand Communications, keith@verdepr.com, 970-259-3555 x122

1/6
Don Severs
3 weeks ago

I have had 2 Dashes. Both had troublesome Shimano brakes. I replaced the Shimanos on my 2014 with Sram BB7 brakes and problem solved.

Sounds familiar. I got my 2016 E3 Dash a month ago and have loved it, almost to death it turns out. I've put 800 miles on it and strained my relationship with my dealer/friend. Here's what happened.

The front brake started leaking fluid after 2 weeks. Using the back brake more often and braking from higher ebike speeds caused the back brake pads to wear completely away in 800 miles. I took the bike in for warranty brake replacement because the front brake leaked fluid and they couldn't bleed and recharge it because the reservoir cap was stripped. The dealer said Shimano won't replace just one brake, only both of them, under warranty. But he didn't think about labor. Running the back brake cables required that they remove the motor and they ran up 5 hours of labor, which Shimano doesn't cover. And I didn't even want the back brake replaced, only the pads, which I could have done myself.

Anyway, any idea what happened with my back brakes? How many miles should I get from brake pads? I know it depends on many factors, but wondered if you thought 800 miles was way too low or not. I think my case was a perfect storm of riding with no front brake plus lots of miles in my honeymoon phase...

Going forward, I'm going to check the pads every few hundred miles, and I'll upgrade them if I have any further problems.

PS
Also getting a new battery and headlight under warranty. I'm only getting 15 miles, which is on the low end of normal. But I'm also getting lots of flashing-red on the charger, indicating the battery or charger is too hot. This has led to no charge when I need it: if I plug it in and don't notice the flashing-red, it doesn't start charging>

The headlight issue is this. It has several detent clicks to adjust the throw of the beam. In the bottom click, the light turns off, which Izip support hadn't ever heard of. It wouldn't be a problem but sometimes the light clicks off when going over a bump on dark trails. So, they agreed to swap it out.

Glad izip has good support! I look forward to a few years from now when ebikes are as reliably as my 1998 Schwinn Mesa.

BTW, I wonder when Shimano, etc will update their warranties for the ebike era. Conventional components can't take the higher stopping speeds, etc. I expect the warranties to become more car-like, "2 years or 1000 miles, whichever comes first" and for the components to have an 'ebike' rating, and the warranty will be voided if you use non-ebike-rated components on your ebike.

Mark Peralta
1 month ago

I put 1500 miles on a Sondors Fat, then wanted a different kind of ride. I bought a Haibike XDURO Full Seven S RX. It is a class 3 bike, 28mph, but no throttle. The Bosch mid drive will actually pull the suspension forks up in Turbo mode, so don't need a throttle as long as you can just move your legs. Large dia. rotors and hydraulic brakes to haul you quickly to a stop from 28mph. Then I bought a second bike, a Haibike XDURO Trekking S RX. Same Bosch mid drive, 28mph. But it has a 500whr battery instead of the 400 on the mtb. It also has smaller gravel type tires, full fenders, a rear rack, and 10 speeds vs 11. I've now put on 2500 miles on the two Haibikes, the Sondors collects dust in the corner until snow flies in the winter. I'm crazy about the quality and precision of Haibike and Bosch.
I'm a little similar to your situation but different brands and different combinations. I have 2 ebikes sharing the same battery, one mid drive and the other hub drive (Raleigh Tekoa and Izip Dash). And a third one with mid drive that does not share battery with the rest (Luna BBSHD) .

Redskulls
1 month ago

The lights is also my only rear light, gets shored with Green hornet and silver bullet.
Borrowing it for now till I get another one for Red Baron:

Front lights:
http://cygolite.com/product/dash-350-usb/

Rear tail light:
http://ecom1.planetbike.com/3070.html

Trunk Bag:
Evo Koolbox 2

After the rack upgrade I will be getting slick tires for the spring/summer/fall pavement.

Once winter comer the knobbies will be on.

Mark Peralta
2 months ago

I have the old models. A 2015 Izip Dash and a 2009 lead acid powered Rayos with regeared sprocket that I sold away. You might want to try the Evo city+ and see if you like it.
https://emotionbikesusa.com/evo-city/

topcatken
2 months ago

Well I owned a Stromer, the bastion of reliability. The battery died at 60 miles. My lbs did not sell them and I went to another shop in Dallas that did. They did not know me and did little to advocate for me. I called the manufacturer and got it resolved. As a result I am reluctant to own anything my regular lbs does not support. But my 2015 Dash has 3000 miles on it. I sold my 2014 Dash when it had 2000 miles.

ArmyHokie
2 months ago

On six occasions now my '16 Dash would not go into an assist level higher than 1. It will allow me to switch to zero, then back to 1, or turn off; but not to 2 or higher. I try cycling the display on/off and removing/reinstalling the battery. A couple times I moved the display back and forth and that seemed to cure it, which makes me think it is a loose wire somewhere in the loom. Anyone else had this problem? It is really frustrating to hop on you bike after work to learn that you will pedalling 8 miles uphill on assist level 1. This is the second major problem I've had with this bike. The first is that the boost button does not work. Their tech sent me some troubleshooting materials, but I don't have time. Should I just send it back and buy a different brand? Anyone have a similar bike (mid-drive speed pedelec commuter) that's been bulletproof? Thanks.

hydrocrust
2 months ago

Hi, Folks, Long-time lurker, writing to thank the forum and and offer some info. I have an iZip Dash E3 2015. I ride about 11-12 miles/day, commute includes long uphill to work, downhill home. Original battery lost range, especially in last 6 months, (caused a challenge for adding more miles to the commute, like trip to store or ride kids to school) and there was back order for replacement. This thread and some others pointed me to LunaCycle options, purchased and installed a Dolphin 13.5 Ahr battery as replacement. LunaCycle is very DIY, no phone number to call, but responsive by email. The Dolphin is old design, but wanted external switch without removing battery from bike. The mounting bracket was not a perfect fit, had to drill a hole (like GadgetGuy), also reamed out back of bracket with Dremel tool to make room for the "mounting nubs" on the downtube. Not too hard. Used longer bolts, added some 1/8" rubber sheet stock below bracket, so I had something to tighten against with the bolts. The wiring from bike was 2xRed (together: big, small), 2xBlack (together: big, small), plus white and blue in middle. Original battery had four terminals. I disassembled both original bracket and battery to see how Blue and White were set up, these come from the BMS. New battery did not have this, so did not try to connect these - just disables battery status/range indicator on display (like GadgetGuy said). Soldered up the wires: 2xRed (together: big, small) to red on new battery bracket, 2xBlack (together: big, small) to black on bracket, protected with heat shrink, etc. Sealed up blue/white...in case I figure out how to connect these later. Added velcro strap to help hold battery on bracket/tube. Batt is a bit heavier than original, but narrower profile. It works, I like the external battery on/off button. Will see how it performs and will post an update later. This forum was helpful in selecting the Dash, which I like...overall. Smooth ride, lots of grunt from CurrieTech motor, etc. Upgraded disk brakes this year to double caliper, better stopping power. Should be good for another few years, with about 50% more capacity on the battery, less range anxiety. Very helpful to have this forum, appreciate people taking time to post.

ArmyHokie
2 months ago

I've got some hills on the commute to work and find myself spinning like a hamster down them after the motor tops out at ~30MPH. Thoughts on the best way to get a higher gear? Anyone install a bigger chainring? Replace the cassette?

Also, I don't find myself shifting out of the highest gear going up those hills. Am I risking overheating the motor? I always downshift for stops to get started again. I use PAS 3 or 4 the whole way. Thanks.

art newcomer
3 months ago

Hi all,
I am a 42 year old 6'0" chubby guy pushing 280 lbs and I need to get back on the bike to commute for health and sanity sake. I ride 16-22 miles round trip to work over some hilly roads. Right now on my commuter bike I take about an hour to do the trip when I am feeling good. I want an e-bike to speed things up a bit for the commute. I have narrowed down my choices between the Izip E3 Dash or the Bulls Lacuba Evo for a commuter e-bike and need some input. Price wise the Izip is a little easier to digest where as the Bulls looks like a better motor and battery. So looking for suggestions and input?

Josh, I bought the Lacuba EVO 8 with the gates belt drive. Love it. I am just slightly thinner than you. My bike climbs the hills just fine with me onboard.
I highly recommend it!

Colorado Colin
4 months ago

Right on. It does look good - I'd want to find a local dealer to test ride one first. I was also comparing to the Magnum Mi5 https://electricbikereview.com/magnum/mi5/ which is the same price, though it tops at 22mph. Courts review points out some important drawbacks of the Mi5, including the wonky use of throttle, no lockout on fork, etc. The 350W motor & 36v 13a battery will go a much larger distance (max 55 miles on charge), but I won't get the speed I'm wanting. By contrast, it seems like the 650w motor on the Juiced CC-S will pack a lot more punch, but the w/48v 12.8a battery will burn up a lot faster limiting the range... The Mi5 also has a small delay in pedal assist due to only having a cadence sensor... Also, no integrated lights or fenders... If the new Juiced CC-S rides well it does seem like a better fit for what I'm wanting... Just wish it were coming out sooner!

Very open to any other thoughts, comments or ideas you or anyone else might have on a decent Class 3 Pedelec under $2k!

I was going through a similar dilemma a couple of months back and my decision was really made for me when I went into my local Bicycle Village and they had the 2016 Izip E3 Dash on sale and with everything in I got it for just over $1500. What I liked about this bike was that it had everything I wanted for commuting, rack, fenders, lights, hydraulic disc brakes, mid-drive, nice livery... the only drawback was the battery as I have an 18 mile commute each way. Having done nearly 600 miles in the first month here are my thoughts on the bike. It is a nice well balanced bike that is stable at speed (I have a hill and often reach 35mph+ down it) and will cruise at 24mph easily (having got a Class 3 bike, I cannot imagine riding a Class 2 as I rarely go below 20mph on the flat). For your commute you can easily run it at speed setting 3 (out of 4) in both directions and you will still have battery to spare, this will allow you to cruise at 20mph+ easily. I carry my charger with me as I have about 20% left on my battery when I get to work.

It is a reasonably comfortable bike, but get a suspension seat post ! There is no give in the tires and you will notice EVERY bump in the road without it. I have also added Panniers (I got these https://www.amazon.com/Seattle-Sports-Fast-Pack-Pannier/dp/B0024AVUE4/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1499361926&sr=8-2&keywords=pannier+seattle) and a bell as you do come up on other riders quite quickly. The riding style is quite upright and forward and after about 10 miles or so I have to sit up and shake my hands out because of pins and needles (I think I have to look at the configuration and change some things).

The other major considerations for me, were the Warranty and customer service. on the Izip the warranty is 1 year on the battery, 2 years on the motor and lifetime on the frame. On the Customer Service, reading various forums / posts, the customer service is meant to be excellent (backed by Raleigh) and this gives me some peace of mind.

My biggest frustration with this bike is that when I start my commute I put it in setting 1 or 2 and get up to 20mph+ and can sustain that quite easily until I get to some hills. I then put it up to setting 3 and I get the boost I need, but when I come to the flats again I want to drop it into 2 again, but it often feels like I fight against the motor (I actually sent my first bike back as it was so annoying) and I don't feel the same boost from that setting as when I first started my ride. This is frustrating because of the length of my commute I do have to conserve my battery and I know in time the battery pack will degrade and I will be pushing the limits of its capacity. I will talk to their technical group to see if this is 'just the way it works' or whether I am doing something wrong.

Overall, I am loving my commute because of the bike. My drive time is normally about 35 minutes in the car, but just over 45 minutes on the bike, largely on dedicated bike trails, so until the snow comes, the car will stay at home !

I hope this helps give you a view on the Izip. I was very close to getting a CrossCurrent because of the company and bike reviews which were all really positive. Good luck on your decision and ultimately joining the Ebike community !

Tummy
4 months ago

Many of you may have heard of the Xiaomi QiCycle. It's a 250 watt front hub drive foldable. Battery is 5.8 amp/hour based on Panasonic 18650 cells. Currently, it isn't available in the USA, but someone decided to import and sell on Amazon, so I bought one. Fit and finish are outstanding, but it is a 220V 50Hz charging system. The seller promised a step-up transformer, but it wasn't in the package. I bought my own, and the seller credited the price back to me. The transformer arrives today, so I plan on posting more information after a few rides.

I still have my first generation Currie E3 Dash, and it's still a much better bike for longer trips, but a small foldable with >20 mile range should be very handy.

More Info:
https://www.cnet.com/products/xiaomi-mi-qicycle/preview/

It cost $800......
I also got it from Amazon and found the transformer missing and the reflectors broken when it arrived. After we got a transformer to charge the battery, we took it on a 12 mile ride. I found that I’m probably too tall, 5’ 10”. To get a comfortable pedal position, I put too much pressure on my wrists and they started going numb.

The three speed internal gears worked well. It allowed shifting while waiting at a intersection not moving.

The motor was enough power for hills where I previously got tired, but steep hills around our house and our moderately steep driveway were too much for it.

I found the screen hard to see in bright sun, but might not have made it full brightness since it was all in Chinese. I used google translate on my phone to recognize the display using the camera, but in regular riding mode, the menu for the assist was not too hard to figure out.

I found the app nice, but functionally not that useful. It’s not something I would run with a phone mounted. The mapping function doesn’t appear to work where we live.

I had hoped the 16” wheels would have made it much smaller than our other, cheap, 20” folding bike, but it’s not a significant difference. I wanted to get something that would fit in the front trunk of our Tesla, but it’s still too big to close the hood. Also the way it folds up, makes it harder than bikes that split in the center sideways. Compounded with no kick stand, makes me worried I would scratch the nice matte paint.

I also worry about lack of warranty support and the display all in Chinese and showing only KPH and KM instead of miles. I will probably end up returning it and getting something else. If the price were more like the price in China, around $400-$500 i might keep it and replace the handlebars with ones that are a little higher.

Mark Peralta
4 months ago

Why didn't you just buy another Voltbike if you wanted to have a compatible battery?

Good recommendation. Joe EE. you can buy a mid drive version of Volt bike
https://electricbikereview.com/voltbike/enduro/
with superior climbing power and a change of cycling experience for an expanded overall exposure to electric bikes. Makes cycling even more exciting!

I had a similar dilemma in the past where I had a hub drive (2015 Izip Dash) and I wanted to have an extra battery. The battery at that time was hard to find and was very expensive. I saw a highly discounted mid drive with the same battery (2015 Raleigh Tekoa). I grabbed the opportunity and now I am rotating my ebikes everytime I go out for a ride and appreciate the unique advantages of each drive system.

Addendum: I think you can also unlock the speed limit of the mid drive using the display setting.

Bicyclista
4 months ago

All three bikes you are considering are good bikes, with the Juiced CrossCurrent and the Izip Dash being better adapted for commuting while the Haibike SDURO Cross SL is better for mountain biking (not that it cannot double as a commuter as well).

I would go with the CrossCurrent if only because its low price will allow room in your budget to upgrade to a torque+cadence sensor, a sport display, a throttle, and a bigger battery. The torque+cadence sensor may help getting to 28mph. (Court tested a bike that only had a torque sensor.) You may also want to change the front chainring to make pedaling effective when you're going 28mph, i.e. you're spinning as fast as you can but you're not really assisting. A bike shop can help you with that, but I would wait until you've ridden the bike a few weeks and you're familiar with it.

Also, budget for accessories such as a suspension seatpost, lights, and a rear rack (check the used CrossCurrent frame to see if it is one that has bosses for a rack; my understanding is that the early ones did not whereas all the current ones do). I see that Juiced just announced a fully-loaded CrossCurrent S for $1699 for delivery in August 2017.

OJS
4 months ago

Hey all - happy to have found this great community & all its resources! I'm looking to buy my first ebike for my 13-mile (mostly flat) commute to work 2x/week. Pedelec / 28mph is important as I'm looking to cut down the commute time. I've read a lot abt rear hub, geared rear hub vs mid-drive & each seems to have its pros/ cons.

The bikes I am looking at are the Juiced crosscurrent- found a used one with only 50miles on it for $1k. The 2016 Haibike SDURO Cross SL (which dealer told me could add on a bypass to increase sped to 28). These are on sale for ~$2k. And the 2016 Izip E3 dash.

I'm leaning towards the Juiced (even though I think the Haibike is a better bike), as the cost is so much less & it's my first ebike. I figure I could ride it for a year or so & then know more about what I want. By then technology will keep improving & prices drop...

Any thoughts, pointers, or recommendations for a newbie? (I saw one other thread comparing the juiced & izip saying the former was a smoother ride, but can no longer find that thread)... many thx!

Ann M.
4 months ago

Sad to say, @Mark Peralta, IZip has had a couple of stupendous sales in early June and the 2015 Dash's are wiped out :(. Really liked the hub motor version better than the mid drive....but gotta move on!

Mark Peralta
4 months ago

The ST2 was AMAZING!! It is exactly the feeling I was looking for. I couldn't believe how fine tune-able it was. It was super easy to "fly" on that thing but it's 7K!!! What is it about the ST2 that achieves such a nice feel and why aren't there any other bikes with the same ride feel! The bike was definitely heavy and I felt the weight but it can just take off! The shop also told me about the ST1X but they didn't have one to test ride it.

For sure. The shop is offering me a brand new Quick.E for 2.5K. The stromer ST2 is 7K. They didn't have a program where I could rent the ST2. It really is a hard decision to make with only a 30 minute test ride. I never thought I would one day contemplate spending 7K on a bike but here we are!

You can only get that "continuous acceleration feeling" on hub driven ebikes since there is no power interruption when shifting. If 7k is too much for you, then you may certainly try the St1. Other hub driven options that you may be interested in are the following:

OHM Urban or Sport
BULLS Outlaw E45
Easy motion Nitros
Magnum Peak
Smartmotions
Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent
leftover Specialized turbos
leftover 2015 Izip E3 Dash

Good luck!

Hookwormer29
4 months ago

I just got my motor replaced on my Dash, which I owned for less than 30 days before it pooped out. After almost two weeks waiting for a replacement motor it came, but my bike shop didn't bother to get me the headlight I need (snapped off wire after clipping cables coming from display when display was tilted down) or do a bunch of other stuff they said they'd do, and now I'm having a weird problem.

While riding all of a sudden when I stopped pedaling the motor was still going. I tried to stop it and it ended up moving the pedals, cranks and chainwheel backwards, instead of just the pedals and cranks. Now it pedals backwards and even when the battery is off it makes a whirring sound in the motor like it's running (I know it's not running, it just sounds like it).

I ran the diagnostics and the values are all just a tad off and the cadence sensor only registers when I use the boost button, which makes me think there's some sort of problem with at least the cadence sensor mechanism and possibly the bottom bracket. The OBD reading designates a motor replacement is needed.

I am furious, I don't understand this, and I don't want to deal with my bike shop - I'm the first ebike customer there and they act like I'm a royal pain in the ass simply because I know more about this stuff than them because I've researched it. Plus I get the feeling they screwed something up on the install - all of the motor mount bolts are stripped up and nasty looking - the job looks really, really amaterurish and this bike has become a money pit of regret that I can't afford.

Does anyone have any knowledge of what may be the issue? Is there a way I can contact someone at IZIP and bypass my dealer because they aren't helping me with a thing.

Bud
4 months ago

I am about 2500 miles deep into my 2014 Izip Dash. Haven't posted here in a while, but when I was early on in my ebike investigation and ownership I spent a good deal of time pouring over these pages and left impressed by the community's knowledge and commitment. So I wade in again in need of some real help, advice and guidance.

I purchased my a Dash at a local shop where I'd purchased bikes, accessories and services over the years. When I saw the Dash on their showroom floor I fell hard and purchased a few weeks later. My first 1000 miles were sublime. I was able to turn my commute into a sweatless event (my main purchase priority), although I soon found myself using it for weekend rides and explorations. Even my wife ultimately got on board and "authorized" the purchase of a (slightly) used Path+ for her and she loves it. And we love riding together. We've used them to tour NYC, Asheville, Charleston, the coasts of Florida and Maine to name just a few.

Unfortunately, many of those memories are marred by persistent problems with my Dash (the motor on my wife's Path+ failed but was replaced under warranty and has been fine since). I have been through two bottom brackets, a rear wheel, and a new motor over many too many service trips, customer service calls and emails. Yet here I sit, with trips to Pittsburgh, Burlington, and Montreal on the horizon and the bike is in the garage broken - again! (I acknowledge the "1st World" nature of my "problems", but it's where I live and what I'd like to change! Wah wah wah!)

Let me say: I love the bike. I have serious miles in my legs (including three 200+ mile-in-a-day endurance rides). Never have I ridden a more stable platform. I have upgraded the disk brakes and added fenders, rack, file cut tires and a few accessories. Izip customer service and warranty decisions have been excellent - in fact fantastically beyond expectation. I even got a few email responses from the Larry, the president of the company.

So with that background out of the way, I am currently in search of a well-experienced, knowledgeable and capable repair shop or independent mechanic who can help me sort this out. Currently the motor engages only occasionally in response to pedal stroke or pressure. For the past few months I decided to settle by riding with throttle only, but even in "T" the motor now cuts out when pedal effort increases (hills). I have several error codes and blank screens that get thrown intermittently and my odometer recently cleared back to "0" for some reason.

Chawn from Izip technical/warranty support has been great. He had provided every possible assistance. My limitations are the time, skills and tools necessary to carry out his suggestions. So I need a referral to a a shop or mechanic where I can take the bike for that "once-and-for-all" fix. Anywhere within a reasonable drive from northeast New Jersey. The mechanic to whom my local shop deferred to on the ebike repairs has left and I think I need to move on anyway.

Thanks for your interest and in advance for your reply.

PS - I recently learned Izip was running an incredible sale by offering a 2015 model for under $1,000. I almost pulled the trigger but I can't yet accept that I need to spend that kond of money again in order to restore the joy when I believe that in the right hands my wonderful ride can be healed. Peace and thanks.

Bud
4 months ago

MY 2014 Izip Dash has s*it the bed and I need to find a no nonsense, capable and knowledgeable shop in my area. Any recommendations? Thanks in advance.

Mark Peralta
4 months ago

Basing on my experience on 3 ebikes, it needs at least 300 watts plus your own pedal power to reach 28 MPH.

Ebike #1, 500 watt direct hub drive (2015 Izip Dash). I keep the assist level in 2 (~ 300-ish watts?) out of 4 and sometimes 3 (~400 watts?) to keep my speed above 20 mph and then hit 26-28 mph on some slight down hills.

Ebike #2, 350 watt mid drive (2015 Raleigh Tekoa). I keep the assist level in 3 (~ 300-ish watts?) out of 4 to keep my speed above 20 mph and also hit 26-28 mph on some slight down hills.

Ebike #3, 1,000 watt mid drive (BBSHD 2015 Giant Stance 2). I keep the assist level in 3 (I programmed PAS-3 at 350 watts ) to keep my speed above 20 mph. In this case, I can sustain longer high speed rides of 28 mph due to the higher wattage and I don't have range anxiety on this ebike since it also has a much higher battery capacity.

Jax
4 months ago

I recently bought the 2016 Dash on sale for $1499 and wish I had sprung for a higher quality motor like on the Bulls bikes. The TranzX motor on the Dash uses a cadence sensor, which is way less fun to ride than a good torque sensing motor. Court just posted on the 2017 IZIP Peak, which uses a Bosch mid-drive. He said it compares well to the budget Bulls option.

Joey Love
4 days ago

I recently purchased this bike. It’s amazing.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 days ago

Nice, glad you're enjoying it Joey :D

stitchergary
4 months ago

You have so much experience with electric bikes I'm surprised one of these companies doesn't hire you as a consultant...

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 months ago

I have had some little offers to do consulting but have so much excitement about building the website and forums, helping people see new products and trying to be independent... I just haven't switched. I took a huge pay cut going from a product manager to building EBR (basically made no money for the first two years), so getting an offer to be a consultant feels like a step backward in a way. I tend to share my feedback openly when companies ask

Brian Rubenstein
4 months ago

hey, love your videos!! other than look, what does the 2017 dash have that the 2016 didn't? are they basically the same? trying to decide if it's worth the extra $$$ for this year's. thanks!

Festivejelly
5 months ago

Its crazy that this motor that has 100 watts more than my haibike Yamaha... has less power...

Festivejelly
5 months ago

Marketers right? :D
I must say im super happy with my AllMtn SL. Its the lower end of haibike but still at 2700 it was quite pricey! But the yamaha motor is very impressive, it has so much power its unreal. Shame about the 15.5mph restrictor (which was super easy to hack with an arduino and electromagnet). The power output is fine but to me it sounds like the power to torque conversion is a lot worse on this bike. I get about 70nm on my yamaha, which is plenty. If I ride it on tarmac with my restrictor on and decent hybrid wheels I can ride about 30mph quite comfortably. Though I think the haibike could benefit from a bigger chainring at the front. Because as you know if it doesnt detect you pushing it wont push either :)
Anyway im waffling, thanks for another good video.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Yeah, some of it is misleading... watts vs. amps being sent through? I use torque ratings a bit more now but also try to explain how it feels and show on video. Yamaha still makes an awesome mid-drive and their new one will offer higher RPM output (up to 120 like Bosch and Brose)

F r e e l e e
5 months ago

Why are batteries still put on the frame as an after thought in this day and age.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

I think it reduces the cost and makes it easier to mount. More and more ebikes are putting them in the downtube or hiding them better, will be posting some of those shortly

Tronnic
5 months ago

Hi Court! You inspired me to buy an electric bike. I'm on the heavy side and I live in an area with a lot of hills and really almost no flat roads. Didn't ride bikes since I moved here 7 years ago. I hope my new bike that should ship next week will help me be more active and outside. :) Bought an Cube Reaction Hybrid HPA Race 500. Would love to see a review from you on that one. Hope it was the right decision to get that one. Did an test ride at a shop today and had a blast! Thanks for your videos. Best greetings from Germany! Have a nice weekend. :) Edit: Also a little suggestion for your website. Would be nice if you add filters to show where they are available (EU, US and so on). Also would be nice if it would be possible to type in price ranges instead of using that slider which isn't really precise.

Will Nettles
5 months ago

15:50 -- 15:56 the amazing backward, then stationary chain! It's a frame rate affect, but it looks real. How soon will you have a drone flying in circles?
And watch those dangling straps on your day bag. Anything that can get hooked, will get hooked in the worse possible way. Don't go Isadora Duncan on us.

Dezső Nagy
5 months ago

how musch is ebike, and sipped to me in Ireland? cost all?

Arnold Winters
5 months ago

Court, the Dash has no slap guard but the chain is high and since this is a commuter you won't get too much bounce.

I bought the Voltbike ENDURO based on your review. I expect delivery from WA on June 2nd. I will let you know how my experience is. So far George in Canada has been very nice and we had good communication. THANKS.

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
5 months ago

Do a review on the "Carbon SUV Motoparilla", it's an interesting looking bike.

"CLOTHED IN SHADOWS"👤

David White
5 months ago

25.99? Ooh! Cheap.......

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Yeah, it's not cheap, but I try to offer a relative gauge like "cheap for these parts" or "cheap for this much power and warranty support" type of thing :)

Bruce Ballad
5 months ago

Throttle option is a must and this bike has it. Cool bike with nice ride. I just dislike this type of battery packs for the looks. People often unnecessarily comment when they see those.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Yeah, we're right at the edge of integrated battery packs... I just reviewed a few more that are completely built in or hidden on the frame. Keep an eye out, will post soon :)

HackHunter1835
5 months ago

Great review as usual. I did notice the front tire was installed with the tread rotation backwards. 53 LBS AND 10 gears, love it.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Good catch, looks like someone just put the tire onto the rim in the wrong direction

Luis Figueroa
5 months ago

Nice to have an air fork on an e-bike. I love how clean the bike looks and having those fenders won't stop you from going faster even if it is wet or raining. Btw, I've been looking for one of your videos where you were riding with a friend with a really cool helmet that looks like a hat. I couldn't find the video. I ended up buying that helmet and love it. I wear it everyday at work and everyone loves it. I loved your "Living in a Car" video. Soon I will take the whole summer off and will try to ride as many trails as I can with my brother. I want to go to Bentonville AR, Moab UT, Colorado, Ashville NC. It will be amazing. I love your channel and keep doing what you love.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Hey, thanks, Luis! It sounds like you've got an incredible summer planned, good for you, get out there and have a blast :D

Mark H.
5 months ago

What is the best $3500.00 e-bike?

Mark H.
5 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Will do ! thank you

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Hey Mark, that's a really big question because there are so many types... try using the advanced search back at the site and setting the max to 3501 https://electricbikereview.com/ there are lots more reviews coming... like 30+ that I have filmed and will be posting

George Herman
5 months ago

So mid drive seems to be the most popular drive systems now. What happens when they fail? Will you still be able to pedal home on your own power? And what about the ease and cost of repair? With a hub motor you can just replace the whole wheel. In other words which is more costly to repair or replace, the mid drive or the hub motor system?

George Herman
5 months ago

Thanks Court

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Hey George, yeah, you can still pedal most mid-drive motors if they fail. They are designed to work even if the bike is off so it shouldn't be an issue. Repair is done by replacing the entire bottom bracket and I haven't heard of many situations where it was required, they just seem to be reliable. You do end up with more chain, sprocket and derailleur wear however. I'd say that mid-motors are probably more expensive to replace than hub motors but they usually have a good warranty and don't impact the spokes and rim the way that some hub motors do.

spymaster41
5 months ago

did you get to try any other bikes while you were there? I was looking at getting the peak +.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Yes indeed! I'll be posting that one shortly... it was my favorite in their entire line. Looks sweet and uses one of the best drive systems, Bosch

Tony
5 months ago

The paint flaked off on the aluminum rear fender on my new 2016 Dash E3, purchased in April of 2017 (had about 50 miles on it at the time). I contacted the seller about the problem, he contacted the distributor and I received a new set of replacement fenders in about a week. Customer service at the highest level.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Wow! That's awesome Tony, thanks for chiming in with some real world feedback :D

A H
5 months ago

It looks like a cheap self build ebike. I will stick with my Haibike Hardnine 6.0

A H
5 months ago

I was shocked how thick the frame was and the width of the tyres. But when I tested it, I understood why the bike was designed the way it is. It is very powerful and I get a lot of looks and comments from people. I could send you some pics if you wish?

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Haibikes are definitely some of the BEST looking ebikes around, how do you like yours so far?

dmitry manzano
5 months ago

I've bought Bafang BBSHD mid drive motor on aliexpress and now I wait for the battery I've ordered which is 52v 17.5 ah 14s5p Sanyo GA cells. I'll use a pretty cheap but strong frame Bergamont Vitox 7.0 for becoming electric. I waited for this moment 3 years, can't wait. I've had just 2 hub motors bikes with 36 volts batteries before, they were pretty boring to ride.