IZIP E3 Peak DS Review

2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Electric Bike Revew
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Chain Lift Pulley Guide
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Bosch Intuvia Display Panel Removable
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Sram Guide Hydraulic Brake Levers Locking Velo Grips
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Rockshox Monarch Rt3
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds 200 Mm Front Disc Brake Rotor
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds 11 Speed Sram Nx
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Rockshox Reba Air Suspension Rear
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Vented Alloy Skid Plate For Motor
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Electric Bike Revew
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Chain Lift Pulley Guide
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Bosch Intuvia Display Panel Removable
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Sram Guide Hydraulic Brake Levers Locking Velo Grips
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Rockshox Monarch Rt3
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds 200 Mm Front Disc Brake Rotor
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds 11 Speed Sram Nx
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Rockshox Reba Air Suspension Rear
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Vented Alloy Skid Plate For Motor


  • A value-driven full suspension electric cross country mountain bike with higher end drive system and components from Bosch, SRAM and RockShox, it's $300 cheaper than prior year with lots of upgrades
  • Beautiful hydroformed frame with inset battery mount and tapered head tube, the motor hangs down a little compared to some other designs I've seen with the Bosch motor but I love the alloy skid plate
  • Large grippy pedals performed well compared to the standard cages I see a lot and wouldn't need replacing, stiff thru-axles on both wheels with quick release, large hydraulic disc brakes with adjustable levers
  • Unique rear suspension design felt stiffer to me, white fork doesn't seem to match the rest of the frame and wasn't my favorite look, solid two-year warranty with a decent dealer network in the USA

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers





E3 Peak DS



Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

51.2 lbs (23.22 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.4 lbs (2.44 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminium Alloy, Hydroformed

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Large: 19" Seat Tube, 31" Stand Over Height, 23" Reach, 76.5" Length

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:

Matte Black with White and Neon Green Accents

Frame Fork Details:

RockShox Reba Air Suspension with 120 mm Travel, Compression Clicker with Lockout, Rebound Clicker, 71° Slack Angle, 100 mm / 15 mm Thru-Axle with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

RockShox Monarch RT3 Air Suspension with 120 mm Travel, Compression Clicker with Lockout, Rebound Clicker, 142 mm / 12 mm Thru Axle with Quick Release

Attachment Points:

Threaded Eyelet on Fork Arch

Gearing Details:

11 Speed 1x11 SRAM NX Derailleur, 11-42 Cogset

Shifter Details:

SRAM NX Triggers on Right


Aluminum Alloy Cranks, 175 mm Length, 18T Narrow-Wide Chainring with Alloy Bash Guard, Chain Pulley Wheel NW with Plastic Guide


Aluminum Alloy Platform, Oversized with Adjustable Pins


FSA, Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2"


Alloy, 6° Rise, 31.8 mm Bore, 90 mm Length


Alloy Flat, 720 mm Length

Brake Details:

SRAM Guide Hydraulic Disc with 200 mm Front Rotor and 180 mm Back Rotor, 4 Piston Calipers, SRAM Guide Levers with Tool-Free Adjustable Reach


Velo Flat Rubber, Locking


Velo Racing

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, 73° Seat Tube Angle

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm


Alexrims MD21, Alloy, Double Wall, 21 mm Width, 32 Hole


Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda Honey Badger, 27.5" x 2.2"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

30 to 50 PSI, 30 TPI Casing, Wire Bead

Tube Details:

Presta Valve


Rubber Slap Guard, Alloy Vented Motor Protector Skid Plate


Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.6 lb 4 Amp Charger, SRAM PC1130 Chain

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Line CX

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

75 Newton meters

Battery Brand:


Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

65 miles (105 km)

Display Type:

Bosch Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD


Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left (Up, i, Down), 5 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50% 40 Nm, Tour 120% 50 Nm, Sport 210% 60 Nm, Turbo 300% 75 Nm)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

IZIP is one of the older electric bike companies operating in the United States, they’ve been a leader in the mid-level product space for several years and are now owned by the Accell Group which has Raleigh Electric and Haibike as well. It’s a company with good customer support, a solid network of dealers (mostly independent electric bike shops) and a whole range of products. The IZIP E3 Peak DS is at the top end of the spectrum with high-performance components from SRAM and light weight air suspension from RockShox. With 120 mm of travel, and 27.5″ x 2.2″ tires, this is more of a cross country style electric mountain bike. It’s very sturdy and serviceable thanks to 15 mm and 12 mm thru-axles with quick release and an oversized tapered head tube. And since it’s running a 1×11 drivetrain, shifting between gears is smoother (shorter jumps than 8 or 10) but you still get comfortable cadence options for climbing and riding fast. The top assisted speed is 20 mph and it’s easy to hit with the Bosch CX high torque motor. This motor offers software driven shift sensing as well, so the chain, sprockets and derailleur won’t take a beating. Further bolstering the drivetrain is an elevated chain pulley with surrounding guide and a narrow-wide tooth pattern on both the pulley cog and chainring sprocket. This system elevates the chain, reduces chain slap, eliminates kickback and chain slip. Hardware wise, I was very impressed with the new Peak DS and stunned by the price drop of $300 over prior-year model considering the upgraded motor and battery from Bosch vs. TranzX before. The older motor system just wasn’t as responsive or smart as this… still good, but not great.

The Bosch Performance Line CX motor offers 350 watts of nominal output but peaks above 550 and produces a maximum of 75 Newton meters of torque. That’s a lot, it’s exactly what you want for mountain biking and is capable of steep climbs. The motor weight is positioned low and center, mounted to an integrated plate that seamlessly connects it to the seat tube and downtube. More and more, I hear from shops that are specializing in Bosch powered ebikes because they are so reliable… but if it did fail, the motor can be replaced all at once, a new one bolted in place where the old one was. Thes motors aren’t silent but the high pitched whirring noise is mostly eclipsed by the knobby tires on pavement or hard packed Earth. instead of spinning a traditionally sized chainring (or chainrings) the sprocket is smaller (18 tooth) and spins roughly twice for every pedal rotation. This empowers the motor with a mechanical advantage and allows the chain to start and stop very quickly. It does not however, elevate the chain as a normal sprocket would and thus, the chain pully system is extra important. The motor controller measures rear wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque 1,000 times per second and that makes it perfect for navigating unstable terrain where starting and stopping is critical.

Just like the motor, the battery is mounted low and center along the downtube of the frame. It’s actually inset slightly and blends in with the dark gray paint. With the Bosch Powerpack 400 and 500, you get convenience and access to the battery with quick removability but it’s not as hidden as the Brose batteries and some others from Easy Motion and other companies. You can charge the battery on or off the bike and it only weighs ~5.5 lbs so carrying it around by the plastic loop handle feels secure. The only consideration is with mounting and dismounting the pack because it’s sort of wedged below the top tube and rear suspension shock. The pack pops upwards and could collide with these other sections of the bike and get scratched… not a huge issue, but there definitely isn’t room for a bottle cage in there and the top tube might have been raised more than otherwise necessary to accommodate this battery design. Note also that the latest Bosch powerpack 500 is compatible with the interface here. What you get is the older more standard Bosch Powerpack 400 with roughly 396 watt hours of capacity. It’s a solid pack with excellent range, an integrated LED charge level indicator on the side and a solid locking core with metal slat to keep secure. One final compliment here goes to IZIP for their large rubber plug design that fits in to keep dust and water out of the charging port area on the left side of the downtube below the battery pack. It felt solid but wasn’t difficult to remove and would be easy to use with gloves on. So many other charge port covers are small, difficult to press in, prone to coming loose and just plain frustrating. The only catch here is that the plug doesn’t have any sort of connection to the frame and could get left behind if you set it down while charging.

Operation of the electronic systems on this bike feels professional and natural. Once the battery is charged and mounted, just press the power button on the lower left of the Bosch Intuvia display panel. From there, the screen flickers to life showing speed, a battery icon and an assist level chart with a little power graph next to it. This power graph jumps up and down as you pedal and helps to demonstrate how much energy the motor is using to give you support. I tend to ride in the second level of assist with quick jumps up to the highest level for climbing. Range can vary between 30 and 60 miles per charge which is very impressive for a mountain bike with knobby tires. The motor naturally works with you and requires pedaling to activate… but doesn’t quite as you pedal faster and faster. Some competing products seem to offer a limited RPM while Bosch is much wider. As a rider with hurt knees, I love being able to quickly reach over with my left thumb to arrow up or down on the button pad then immediately feel a boost of energy even while spinning quickly. I tend to go for cardio spinning vs. lumbering hard pushes due to my sensitivity and Bosch feels the best to me for this style. While the display is removable, it isn’t as small as some of the other options out there and might get scratched or broken off if you take a hard fall. For this reason, I sometimes take the display completely off before bombing a big descent. In addition to a soft backlight glow and the option to integrate LED lights with help from your dealer, the Intuvia display panel has a little Micro USB port on
the right side for charging a portable electronic device.

The experience I had with the IZIP E3 Peak DS was great, a big step up from the 2015 and 2016 models and on par with Haibike and other brands that also use Bosch. The biggest downside was style… the design and color scheme just didn’t excite me the way that some other models have and it seems like the white front fork didn’t match the gray and green frame. This is especially true when comparing to the 2015 model with red and black integrated throughout. When riding… I’d never notice and maybe a coat of trail dust would completely eliminate this vanity consideration. For the price, though it may sound high to someone new to the ebike space, I feel like you get a solid product here, very solid. And being able to choose from two frame sizes means you’ll get a bike that fits you and rides better. The dealer network cannot be overstated but given the reputation for reliability that Bosch has built in Europe and the USA it’s possible that you could buy this once from an ebike shop then have it serviced at any normal bicycle outlet. The wheels and shifting mechanisms are all standard bicycle hardware that won’t intimidate or require additional training to service. Big thanks to IZIP for partnering with me on this review and letting me hang out at their headquarters for a few days to see the new stuff :)


  • Significant motor and battery upgrade from the 2015 model, you get Bosch vs. TranzX which delivers shift sensing, a nicer motor integration (with alloy skid plate) and larger removable display panel yet it costs $300 less!
  • IZIP went above and beyond with their battery integration here, notice how the downtube is molded around the pack letting it inset and blend in at both the top and bottom
  • Unique rear suspension isolates vertical travel and felt stiffer to me, should handle the higher speeds of an electric bike well and is optimized for cross country riding from what I could tell
  • Awesome pedals, they’re large and stiff with great traction points (metal pins), way better than some of the prior-year cage style pedals in my opinion
  • Smart chain guide system with elevated pulley wheel designed to eliminate kickback and phantom shifting as the rear swing arm travels up and down, it also keeps the chain from dropping with a full-surround guide piece and raises it to reduce chain slap
  • The chain guide and chainring use narrow wide tooth patterns to prevent chain slip and rattling, the teeth on the cogs fit more snugly into the alternating chain links
  • Great rubber slap guard on the rear right chainstay, many bikes aiming to be affordable use a clear plastic sticker but this one felt higher quality and is probably more important on a dual suspension setup
  • Great choice of motor with the Bosch CX high-torque model, it offers 75 Nm of torque which is perfect for climbing and trail riding
  • Given that the Bosch system only currently offers a single front chainring option, I like that IZIP put an 11 speed cogset on this bike vs. 10, it helps you hit and maintain the 20 mph top speed comfortably while still climbing efficiently at low speeds given the 51.2 lb curb weight of the bike
  • Awesome hydraulic disc brakes with larger rotors (I found it strange that the front rotor is 200 mm vs. the more common 203 mm but perhaps it’s a SRAM thing vs. Shimano), the levers offer tool-free adjustable reach which is convenient
  • The bike is available in two different sizes, this is great for tall and short riders alike… especially given the diamond high-step frame design used to boost strength and accommodate the rear suspension
  • Sturdy thru-axle design for both the front and rear wheels, both offer quick release systems for easy trail maintenance or transport, overbuilt tapered head tube also adds stiffness for off-road riding strength
  • I like the rubber plug design they’ve created for the battery charge port on the left side of the frame, it’s large and stays put but be careful not to set it down and ride off without it (there’s no leash system to keep it with the bike)
  • Great internal routing on the shifter cables and braking mechanisms, the frame looks clean and won’t snag or bend as easily in rugged conditions
  • The Bosch battery charger is great, not only is it relatively light weight and compact but it puts out 4 Amps vs. 2 Amps on most other chargers so you can fill your bike faster
  • I love that both the battery pack and display can be locked to the frame but are also easily removable, this is convenient for moving the bike (to reduce weight) or if you need to park it outside and want to keep the sensitive bits nice
  • The display panel has a built-in Micro USB charging port on the left side, this could be useful for charging a light or keeping your phone topped off if you use Strava or another GPS app
  • Solid two-year warranty backed by larger companies (the Accell Group which owns IZIP and Bosch), there are also more dealers for this brand so you can maybe test ride it and get fitted locally


  • I don’t love the color scheme, the fork is bright white while the rest of the frame is dark gray with green accents, it just doesn’t look like it matches
  • Bosch has a new 500 watt hour battery pack that would take you further but the Peak DS comes with the older 400 watt hour (still great) probably to keep the cost down… the good news is that the mounting interface is forward compatible so you could upgrade later if you wanted
  • The battery pops “up” instead of sliding out to the sides and given the tight inner triangle of the frame here (especially with the rear suspension) it can be a little bit trickier to put on and off and I think it forces them to raise the top tube height which changes the stand over height of the bike
  • While the battery is easier to access for removal and is more standardized for future replacement, it isn’t as hidden as some other designs like those from Brose and people might know your bike is electric as a result, for mountain biking sometimes it’s nice to blend in more if you can


More IZIP Reviews

IZIP E3 ProTour Review

  • MSRP: $3,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An efficient, feature-complete, speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speed with excellent frame balance but limited suspension and comfort options. Alloy fenders and minimalist rear rack stay quiet on bumpy terrain, an alloy chain guide…...

IZIP E3 Peak+ Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A mean looking cross country style hardtail electric mountain bike, beautifully integrated battery pack and motor keep weight low and center, has rear-rack bosses!. Locking removable battery pack can be charged on or off the bike, the display is…...

IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A value-priced urban electric bike that includes fenders, integrated LED lights, a rear rack, and hydraulic disc brakes, it's available in three frame sizes but only high-step. This is a high-speed Class 3 ebike that can reach ~28 mph assisted and because…...

IZIP E3 Sumo Review

  • MSRP: $3,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A rigid electric fat bike with provisions for front and rear racks, available in two frame sizes for improved fit, designed with a steep top tube for comfortable stand over and steadying. Beautifully integrated Bosch Performance Line CX motor and battery pack, downtube is cut away and…...

IZIP E3 Go Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A purpose-built electric tricycle with efficient and well-balanced middrive motor system, powerful 48 volt battery and optional second battery bay for increased range, rear wheel drive offers good traction. Comfortable swept-back handlebar with ergonomic grips, massive padded saddle with springs and hybrid tires keep…...

2016 IZIP E3 ProTour Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the coolest looking, most feature rich high-speed electric bicycles I've tested... the battery is beautifully integrated and the small motor stays almost completely hidden behind the chainring. Pedal assist gets you 28 mph using speed, cadence and torque sensing and you can…...

2016 IZIP E3 Sumo Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the lighter weight, higher powered and more affordable off-road capable fat bikes I've tested, you get 15 mm and 12 mm thru-axles with quick release and punched out rims. Sturdy Shimano M396 hydraulic disc brakes front and rear, no motor inhibitors in the levers…...

IZIP E3 Peak Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A 650B hardtail trail or mountain ebike with a powerful 73 Nm mid-drive motor, it's one of the quieter motors but less responsive (mostly cadence sensing) and no shift sensing. Nice 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes, quick release for both wheels and a 15 mm…...

2016 IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A feature complete speed pedelec (capable of ~28 mph top speeds) with a high torque mid-drive motor from TranzX. Quality full length plastic fenders from SKS with integrated mud flaps, mid-level suspension fork with…...

IZIP E3 Path+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An efficient, light weight commuter electric bike available in two frame sizes and high-step or step-thru styles, the adjustable stem and swept back bars support a surprisingly comfortable upright body position. Narrower tires, firm saddle and all-Aluminum frame and fork provide great power transfer when pedaling…...

IZIP E3 Vibe+ Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An approachable electric bike with deep low-step frame, adjustable stem, swept back handle bars and a large comfortable saddle. Simple linear pull brakes work well and are easy to adjust, quick release skewers on…...

IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high powered, cruiser style electric bike with four levels of zippy pedal assist and a twist throttle drive mode. Available in two high-step sizes (18" and 20") and one step-thru (18") for easier mounting,…...

2015 IZIP E3 Sumo Review

  • MSRP: $3,650
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the only fat tire style electric bikes I've tested to date that is legally capable of 25+ mph top speeds in pedal assist mode. Good value considering the custom fat frame in two sizes, solid warranty and availability, hydraulic…...

2015 IZIP E3 Peak DS Review

  • MSRP: $4,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Full suspension electric bike with powerful mid-drive motor for effective climbing and balanced weight, higher ~28 mph top speed. Removable battery pack and quick release wheels make charging and servicing convient, reduce weight when…...

2015 IZIP E3 Peak Review

  • MSRP: $3,100
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Hardtail trail-ready electric bike with powerful centerdrive motor for effective climbing and balanced weight, ~28 mph top speed. Removable battery pack for convenient charging and reduced transport weight, lockout suspension fork by RockShox…...

2015 IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,550
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Cruiser style electric bike with two frame styles, two frame sizes, 11 custom colors and a wonderfully balanced purpose-built frame. Removable battery can be charged on or off the bike, optional matching fenders, rear rack…...

2015 IZIP E3 Path+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,600
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Near-silent commuter style electric bike offering pedal assist and throttle mode, fenders and a carry rack. Comfortable ride with upright seating position, swept back handlebars and oversized Velo comfort saddle...

2015 IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High performance city style electric bike that offers throttle mode up to 20mph and pedal assist up to 28mph. Comfortable ride with oversized 700x45c tires, suspension fork with lockout and updated Velo Street saddle...

IZIP E3 Twn:exp Review

  • MSRP: $2,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

A sturdy, highly adjustable city bike that's perfect for rentals or fleets. High torque 400 watt direct drive motor is quiet and extremely durable, encased in rear…...

2014 IZIP E3 Path+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,200
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

An active urban-style electric bike with near-silent motor operation and clean design helping it blend in. Strong 500 watt motor paired with large 48 volt battery that's removable and uses premium…...

IZIP E3 Metro Review

  • MSRP: $2,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy, stiff and capable of hauling cargo with the reinforced front basket and welded rear rack. Oversized tires, adjustable stem and seat post suspension improved comfort when riding...

2014 IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,400
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Clean design with integrated battery pack improves balance, eight frame colors to choose from. Delivers smooth pedal assist and twist throttle mode for easy start from rest...

2014 IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,600
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

High quality features and well rounded drive system at an excellent price. Strong but quiet 500 watt gearless rear hub motor offers throttle mode and torque-sensing pedal…...

2014 IZIP E3 Peak Review

  • MSRP: $3,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Mid-level off road electric mountain bike with excellent weight distribution. Centerdrive motor offers high-torque, leverages rear cassette and makes servicing wheels and tires much easier...

2013 IZIP E3 Metro Review

  • MSRP: $2,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Strong 500 watt motor is capable of moving heavier riders and heavier loads in the integrated racks. Weight is spread out from rear and kept low to the ground with battery built…...

IZIP E3 Compact Review

  • MSRP: $2,150
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Built on the industry leading Dahon single speed folding bicycle frame. Offers both pedal assist and twist and go throttle mode...

IZIP E3 Path Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

An affordable, classic style electric bike with balanced features. Weaker 250 watt motor offers less torque but also weighs less...

2013 IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Solid frame with oversized cushy tires and seat delivers a fluid enjoyable ride. Powerful 500 watt geared rear hub motor paired with 36 volt Lithium-ion battery offers torque…...

IZIP Express Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2012, 2013

Ultra powerful and rugged long-range electric bike, originally designed for use by the Los Angeles police force for urban patrols. Unique mid-drive belt system delivers high torque for climbing and accelerating, speed pedelec design capable…...

IZIP E3 Ultra Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Powerful 500 Watt motor paired with strong 36 Volt battery for acceleration and climbing ability. Sensitive pedal assist mode becomes jerky when climbing hills but is otherwise very responsive...

IZIP E3 Vibe Review

  • MSRP: $999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Upright seating with high-rise handlebars, wide sprung saddle and seat post shock for improved comfort. 250 watt brushless rear hub motor works well with pedal assist or throttle mode for…...

IZIP Trekking Enlightened Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2009

Discontinued in 2009, replaced with the E3 Path which is sturdier, less expensive and features twist throttle as well as pedal assist. Designed to be pedaled, the Trekking Enlightened lacks throttle mode but features 24 speed, lights,…...

IZIP Urban Cruiser Enlightened Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2009

A relaxed, comfortable and stable cruiser style electric bike with integrated downtube-battery that keeps weight low and center. Smooth torque sensing pedal assist is responsive but requires more care when working on the…...

Jim Taylor
12 months ago

So how would this bike compare with the Bull’s bike with the Bosch CX motor? Thanks

12 months ago

Hi Jim! There are several full suspension options from Bulls including ones with the Bosch CX and others with the Brose motor. If the drive system is the same I’d say the big differences will be wheel size, suspension design, frame sizes and a bit of geometry along with the look and price. Unfortunately, I’m not expert enough to dive too much deeper into the details of one frame vs. another but I always consider weight and stand over height when I choose an ebike. I hope this helps a little! Feel free to ask in the forums for more advice too :)


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

6 days ago


My battery is dying and it's hard to find a replacement. I found only one place online, where I can get it for ~800 with shipping and taxes. Sounds a lot. I know that there alternatives, line Luna Cycle battery, but they don't have anything in stock and where some questions and it'll match my bike.

What's the usual route people are taking here? DIY with attaching custom batter to frame? (My battery is rear)

My bicycle seems like share the same battery with IZIP E3 Plus, same model


Nova Haibike
6 days ago

The rotor size is independent of the brake itself. You just need to mount the caliper to the appropriate bracket, which is already on your bike (usually a black aluminum bracket between the caliper and fork, and in the rear between the caliper and the left chain stay.

6 days ago

Do the HY/RD's only work on rotors up to 160mm or will they work on 180mm? I have 180mm on the front and 160mm on the back of my Izip E3 Dash.

1 week ago

Drew, I know exactly what you're talking about - I had to get rid of a perfectly good iZip due to a lack of battery replacement. Although I appreciate Ann M's attempt to put a good face on an untenable situation the fact of the matter is that anyone buying an eBike, even from a so-called top tier vendor at top prices can't count on being able to get spare parts (many of which are proprietary) in the future. As for the cell phone comment, look at the press Apple is getting for purposely slowing thier phones as the battery wore down to force people to upgrade. The battery situation makes ebikes an incredibly ungreen solution - they end up getting dumped in landfills. Yes lithium technology has issues, but as car manufacturers have shown if the vendor isn't greedy and takes this into account by not allowing severe discharge and trying to inflate range claims they can actually last a long time. Anyway, my solution has been to buy the cheapest, simplest eBike available knowing full well that it won't have much of a life span. With a $1500 eBike that's doable, but not so much fun with a $5,000 bike. And yes, the top tier vendors supposedly have these long warranties that people go on about, but when you read the fine print such as that of Haibike the coverage is laughable - such as not covering labor costs, or excluding so many items - this is never pointed out in the reviews, but we sure hear about it from forum members who have had problems with their expensive bikes and are trying to get warranty repairs.

Ann M.
1 week ago

Sorry that you feel that way, @ew. As a 17 year veteran of this industry; I can concur that the batteries are a real issue. There are reputable battery rebuilding companies or individuals out there and the beauty of this is that those new cells will have a much greater capacity and potentially range, depending upon how it's built. You certainly will get more charge cycles if the battery is built with known good cells. We have dealt with this dilemma and have a couple of options at our shop. One is to order a whole new battery with a box from a known good manufacturer or to have a known competent electronics specialist rebuild it using the case and possibly the BMS (if it's still good) providing a bit of savings over a whole new battery.

A replacement battery is a lot less expensive than a whole new ebike. Now with that said, the technology and styling has changed a bit since your 2012 Zuma. Those have good strong hub motors but a bit more weight in the back than is optimal. If you like how this bike rides, then replace or rebuild the battery or if you like some of the newer styles; get a new bike. The last Izip Zuma battery our shop purchased from Currie Tech for a customer cost $800 plus shipping, so a build by a battery manufacturer or a rebuild from a good service provider would save a bit of money.

Your ebike shop didn't burn you; 6 years is a good run on a new technology product. Can you say the same for your cell phone? ;)

1 week ago

It's was so easy to say that, wasn't it? But it sounds like you haven't been on the e-bike scene for very long.

Because the reality is, there are no "OEM" batteries for a lot of not-so-old bikes.

For instance, Currie does not have any OEM replacement batteries for my 2012 iZip E3 Zuma.

And my e-LBS, where I bought the bike, referred me to batteryrefill.com.

Rather than pour $600 into the speculative venture of rebuilding a battery for a bike with 5000 miles on it, I am simply buying a new bike.

And it ain't gonna be no Currie. And I ain't buying it from my e-LBS. Once burned, twice shy on both counts.

1 week ago

Really good explanation from Tora on the advantages of having a throttle in stop start urban riding. For the past 18 months I have been using a bafang BBS01 kit as a pedelec motor without the throttle, but I've experienced issues Tora mentioned a couple of times I've struck my derailleur or my right pedal against a curbstone at low speed passing cars curbside, or found myself in the wrong gear at a stop light facing uphill, so I'm swapping out my derailleur for an IGH so I can shift down when stationary and fitting the throttle so I can coast without pedalling when necessary. I appreciate the versatility of a kit motor that lets me switch over from a Class 1 to a Class 2 by simply adding a throttle, the optional boost button on Raleigh and Izip ebikes does the same thing.

I also find walk assist useful when pushing my heavy ebike up ramps when towing a trailer or up the 3 steps into my backyard. Trek and other manufacturers are wrong not to activate walk assist on Bosch powered ebikes in the US. I know it's not legal in New York state at present to have a throttle but walk assist is capped to like 3mph so this is just stupid corporate BS. On the bright side I'm encouraged the People for Bikes model ebike legislation is being adopted by more and more states that legalizes both Class 1 and 2 riding on bike paths and sidewalks.

3 weeks ago

Took my izip out today for the first time this year. No way could I get that thing on my car. I love it but really need something portable. for the most part I will be riding streets, but I bought a camper last year and eventually want to be able to ride trails. I am leaning toward the rad mini as it has the fat tires. Anyone have any experience with that one?

bob armani
4 weeks ago

Surfstar-I agree with you on many of your points and your suggestions in your post. Everyone likes a great deal during the winter/spring sales. Can't beat it! Paying retail sucks when there are bargains out there with much better components. I also have issues with Haibikes missing wanted components. Somehow you'll have to mix and match comparisons on those bikes to get close to what you really want in an ebike. The Urban Plus is great, I just wish it had an option to either use COBI or use a traditional center mount display like an Intuvia or something similar.
Not sure if one can be retrofitted or not??

I also like Surface604 as well. Their full Carbon Oryx for 4k is a real beauty of a bike, however, never discounted. Looks like a very solid company for well built ebikes.

Juiced may not be a bad choice considering Tora has made some improvements and looks like his heart is into making a good product. A lot of bike for the $$$ and you can also make mods later if you see fit. I myself like rear hub drives with a TMM4 torque sensor on any ebike. Mid-drives have their place, but for commuting, that is my preference. Love the zippy feeling off the line in any gear from the powerful 350/500 watt motor. :p

4 weeks ago

I don't mean to be rude but to find one of those %50 mid drive deals, I did a lot of homework and in the end I could have easily gotten "screwed" by at least $600-1000 because no one bothered to decrease even $50 (When I got in touch with one of the dealers on this forums he wasn't even taking one step back from the 2300+tax of a 2016 xduro cross which I eventually got it from another online store "brand new" for $700 less after tax. The same dealer advertised that bike for $1700 after a month,another one ,a lbs, was trying to sell me a 2016 demo fullnine RC for 3000+tax now 2017 fullnine 6.0 (same components + 500W battery) is sold $2200 Brand New.) .

You should understand that you are lucky and having those really nice deals without even having to worry about it, quite frankly for those prices you can just get a non-electric version of those bikes. I understand wanting throttle but I have to say your range with a throttle may not be much. If you are fit and if you don't want to tire yourself out just put it to the highest assist level and you will have a very comfortable ride.

4 weeks ago

Another set of test rides yesterday at a different shop (I wanted to ride my mtb there, but somehow the rear tire has gone completely flat and won't hold air - WTH)

Still trying to find a "cheap" hub motor setup to simulate riding a RadCity. The shop didn't carry the $1550 bike they showed online. Their only hub motor was a $3000 setup (emotion evo street), but I still took that for a spin, and then a couple mid-drive Giant bikes.

This was good, as it cemented a major realization for me:
I prefer the "lazy" ability of a throttle. All of the mid-drive, torque sensors are really just like riding a bike, but faster/easier. They still require a workout, which is not what I'm actually looking for. I want a faster, non-sweaty, biking commute. Its funny, though, as I am someone who prefers to be active - we run, hike, rock climb, surf, etc., and I do like biking; I just want to have the ability to not have to push when pedaling up a slight hill, and the mid-drive torque motors aren't meeting that for my needs - they require too much push on the pedals to give full assist, for me. Also, the mid-drives require you to stay on top of your shifting for best performance - just like riding a real bike. If I wanted to get a workout and everything, I would just buy a hybrid city commuter, for like $500, that was a little bit faster than my current mtb and ride a regular bike to work. That's not what I'm looking for in an ebike, I've realized.

The other conflict, is that I love a great deal (who doesn't!?!) - and all of the crazy 50% off deals I've been finding, are mid-drives!

If I was short, I'd grab the Raleigh Sprint IE - one left on their website for $1499, and you can add a boost (throttle) to it. If I could somehow know that the IZIP/Raleigh boost button would be able to adapt to the Haibike Urban Plus, I'd go that route (same TranzX motor, but Haibike may use a different controller? The Haibike does offer shift detection vs the others). If someone wants to buy this bike, they should click-through ActiveJunky.com for another 3% discount (use this link: https://www.activejunky.com/invite/18072 and you get an extra $10 if its your first time - so figure a small frame Sprint IE for $1450 after discounts!) https://raleighelectric.com/sprint-ie

Then I also see a Misceo IE Sport for half off - again, great price, hydraulic brakes, decent components, but mid-drive, no throttle. For anyone else looking: https://www.bikesourceonline.com/product/raleigh-electric-misceo-sport-ie-255681-1.htm

As, you can see, I'm good at finding deals online, but have yet to find one on a bike that will fit my "wants." Missed a quick deal on a Surface 604 Colt http://www.ebikesofne.com/Colt-Surface604-p/colt-surface-604.htm $1539, but now out of stock. That I should have jumped on.

So, I'm now leaning towards the Juiced CrossCurrent S - but, I hate to pay full retail, plus tax (CA). That puts it into the same price range as all of the Haibikes I've been looking at. And those seem like a better bike, although I would prefer the hub motor and throttle. As part of my deal finding knack - I hate paying full price for something ;) and feel that the RadCity and CCS would suit me well, IF I snagged a deal on one - like $200 off or something - lol. Just hard for me to pay the same price for a direct to consumer RadCity/CCS, when the fit and finish of a Haibike is much better! I do enjoy getting a good value for my dollar, but the lack of throttle is preventing me from the Haibikes. I realize that I'm such a sucker for a good deal / value, and that is strongly pulling me towards the Urban Plus. If only it could adapt the boost-throttle!

Just some more insight into my thought process as I figure this thing out. Ironically, I may go full circle and just get the RadCity which is what originally got me looking at ebikes...!

4 weeks ago

Hi Over50, I hate to resurrect this topic, but I too am struggling with the “right size” question. I’m 5-10 with a 31-inch inseam. I am 53 years old and want an ebike for use on paved bike paths and maybe some very light off-road. I am looking at the 2017 xduro cross 4.0, which appears to be identical to the xduro trekking 4.0 bike w/o the fenders, lights, etc. I started this process thinking the 56(M) would be the most appropriate frame size – because I have always been a medium. Fortunately, I spoke to some very knowledge folks who were well aware of Haibike’s useless size designations for this bike. The choice is now between the S and XS. It looks like you went with the XS 48. I read some feedback you provided shortly after you got the bike in July. I got the sense you thought it was a good fit, but you had some concern with the reach. Has your opinion of the size changed after six or seven months? Any suggestions for me on the size decision? I hate the idea of a bike that is too small. My one complaint with my old 1989 mountain bike is that my hands go numb on long rides. I assume that one explanation for that problem is that I’m riding a bike that is too small (18-inch frame) - but I suspect the real explanation may be more complicated. Alternatively, if I got the XS, I think my 5-5 wife could ride this bike in a pinch (until she gets her own.) I fear that if I got the S(52), that would not be an option – but maybe I’m wrong. Any insight you can provide on any of this would be greatly appreciated.

6 months ago

SIMI VALLEY, Calif. (Interbike 2017) – No matter the adventure, https://pitchengine.com/izip/2017/09/14/izip-unveils-2018-line-of-electric-bikes-that/izipusa.com, a leader in fun-focused electric bikes, has a bike that will amplify your fun so you can travel further and faster. Whether you’re looking to explore endless miles of unknown dirt roads and trails, change your commute to work by skipping the car ride in favor of your city’s bike paths, or spending your weekend cruising along the coast in comfort, IZIP will enable and inspire you.

Heading into this year’s https://www.interbike.com/ trade show, IZIP unveils four new models for 2018 that span a variety of riding styles that integrate modern performance – from pavement to trails.

E3 Moda (MSRP $3,749)
Bold style compliments practicality in the speedy new E3 Moda bike that combines a max 28 MPH pedal-assist German-made Brose motor that’s integrated into the downtube with bright lights and a rear rack for cargo versatility. A workhorse commuter, the Moda efficiently clocks miles on the way to work or while you're getting some extra exercise in on the way to yoga class. With a 504Wh battery, 27.5-inch wheels for fun and stability, disc brakes, and Shimano Deore 10-speed drivetrain, the Moda, simply put, is a practical speedster.

E3 Moda

E3 Moda

E3 Dash (MSRP $2,699)
The reputable E3 Dash is a proven performer that gets you where you need to go … fast. Well known in speed pedal-assist circles as a seriously fun transporter, the Dash flattens hills and takes on long commutes with ease. Sporting a 28 MPH TranzX Center Motor, 700c wheels, RockShox Paragon front suspension fork, robust alloy fenders, and a rear pannier rack, potholes and bumps are no match for the Dash as you comfortably ride in style.

E3 Dash

E3 Zuma (MSRP $2,299)
The E3 Zuma, inspired by the beach lifestyle found at world famous Zuma Beach in southern California, blends comfort with style. The relaxed frame geometry makes it feel like your flip-flops never left the ground, but the bike remains perfectly balanced with a low center of gravity thanks to a downtube-mounted battery pack and powerful mid-drive motor. The Zuma’s long-range 417Wh battery, 26-inch wheels, disc brakes, and lightweight aluminum alloy frame powers weekend surf adventures, as well as mid-week errands around town.

E3 Zuma

E3 Zuma

E3 Peak DS (MSRP $4,599)
With 130mm of RockShox full-suspension, 27.5-inch all-mountain wheels, and Enduro-inspired geometry, the new E3 Peak DS eMTB is built to conquer the toughest terrain – up and down. The super-responsive 6061 aluminum ally frame is built with proven trail engineering to inspire any rider, but it's the best-in-class Bosch Performance CX mid-motor with a 500Wh battery that really amps things up. Magura disc brakes, SRAM NX 1X 11-speed drivetrain, and short chainstays give the Peak DS excellent handling performance for an unforgettable ride on your favorite dirt.

E3 Peak DS

IZIP is also leading the charge in helping preserve our environment with its new, first in the cycling industry http://www.call2recycle.org/ battery-recycling program. Batteries contain hazardous materials, and if dumped or disposed of incorrectly the harmful elements can find their way into our water sources and adds to pollution. IZIP’s program disposes of old batteries in an environmentally responsible manner, and collection sites are located throughout the U.S. and Canada. After collecting and sorting, the batteries are processed and turned into new batteries, stainless steel products, and other products. For more, please check: http://www.call2recycle.org/.

About IZIP
No matter how you ride, IZIP has a fun, fast, and efficient ebike for you. From commuters, cruisers, and cargo bikes to full-suspension, trail, and touring models, IZIP covers every riding option for leisure, trails, and pavement. With more than 10 years of experience in the ebike industry, IZIP is now a veteran and a leader in ebike technology in the U.S. A division of Accell North America, IZIP is supported by a network of authorized dealers and backed by the Electric Bike Competence Center of North America. For more about IZIP, please check: https://izipelectric.com/.

MEDIA CONTACT: Keith Cozzens, Verde Brand Communications, keith@verdepr.com, 970-259-3555 x122

1 year ago

My mistake that is the peak not the ds

Sai Kodi
1 year ago

Hey, where did you find the MSRP dropped to 1999? The 2017 model is 4K+. Are you referring to the E3 Peak DS model with full suspension?

Sai Kodi
1 year ago


I have been looking for a full suspension mountain bike to do some offroading and some commuting (about 5 miles each way) and after considering several full suspension bikes, I have finally decided to go with the 2016 IZip E3 Peak DS. I was wanting to go with the HaiBike Xduro FullSeven RX but then it costs an additional $1200.

I am about to place an order for the Peak DS and wanted to check here to see how many of you have it and what your opinion is about it? I am getting the bike for $2400 + free shipping. I looked at the review that Court did (thanks a lot for that Court!!) and he seemed to have a high regard for it.

At the price point of $2400 I think the full suspension is a bargain. Let me know if any of you would recommend against it.


Ravi Kempaiah
1 year ago

2015 model year ~ assist upto 28mph.
2016 model year ~ assist was limited at 20mph.

Both have identical specs, so it's hard to tell the difference.

1 year ago

Considering an upgrade to buy a 2016 iZip E3 Peak DS from my old 2013 E3 Peak, just because I can, I want to and I'd like the DS suspension.
However, I'm told that 2016 no longer goes 28MPH, and I do enjoy that ability.
However, the vendor selling the 2016's state on their site that they do go 28Mph.
Actually, it says this: "IZIP has decided to continue the Peak DS as a 28mph class 3 eMTB though the 2016 model year. This sets it apart from any other eMTB on the market at anywhere the price range. The included throttle operates at full power and functions from 0-6 mph to help you through those more technical trails areas and then will function through 20 mph while you are pedaling. We like to run this bike in power level 3 and when we need the extra power, just use the throttle to bump you up to power level 4."
Calling iZip, they too say, it's limited to 20Mph.
So, is the vendor somehow wrong?
Or, are these 2015 models (how can I tell the difference between 2015 and 2016)?

1 year ago

The IZIP E3 Peak DS allow you to go 28mph on pedal assist, 20mph on throttle.

2 years ago

Wow @icyclista, it looks like you did your homework. If you're like me, you've probably already started talking yourself into the AllMtn Plus. At the risk of introducing just a twinge of cognitive dissonance, may I humbly make a bold suggestion? Check out the Izip E3 Peak DS. I know, I know, Yamaha and Bosch totally blow away the Transx mid drive, but if you get a chance, check it out. The Izip actually has 73 n/m of torque, and even though it's not too kosher now, a quick start throttle. That's the one thing my Bosch doesn't have that I miss. It offers 650b tires. You may have to put a chain stay on the front. This is a great bike, and I've seen it going for about half of what you would pay for a Yamaha (so hello extra battery). Yeah, there's a bit of "trash talk" given to the Izip Peak line, but that comes from people who have never tested them. My Mtm bike with the Transx is the best workhorse. Best of all, it is a speed pedalec. So you've got more torque and more speed. No one can beat me in on my Transx, if it's all pedal and no throttle use. Yes, the gauntlet has been drop; the proverbial line in the sand has been drawn, bring me your best on a neck-to-neck pedal battle.

Anyway, if you haven't consider it, I would definitely encourage you to at least look at the specs: more torque, higher speed, and cheaper. The components aren't bad, either. . . . gee, now, I'm talking myself into one. Actually, I came pretty close to getting one, but I already have one of the Izip Peak models, so I opted for a Bosch. Hands down the Bosch system is the best (albeit the Tranx is faster). I would put the Izip second to the Bosch over the Yamaha. Granted, the Yamaha is a bit smoother but not for the price differentiation. Hope that helps.

3 years ago

updated today.

Shea N Encinitas
3 years ago

Had a Haibike between my knees today, felt nice. Did not ride. So what is up with the print on the top tube stating 250 watt motor, 36 volt, 20 mph. All the reviews are specifying 350 motor. My dealer was a little meh on the Haibikes, one needed a firmware update and another had a dead light. I told him I was considering the FS, but I doubt he will stock it anytime soon. The E3 Peak DS would be a good match since I already have 2 batteries, but I do like the Haibike build, tapered head tube, large brakes, etc. -S

Edit: Just saw Larry say it is 350 watts, so it is probably a euro centric label. I wonder what is the life expectancy of the Bosch drive.

4 years ago

Here is my short list of bikes that can handle it, by weight.http://electricbikereview.com/haibike/xduro-amt-pro/
[*]Nicolai E-Boxx2, 42 lb, 36V/11 Ahr, 350/550W, Gen2 Bosch mid drive, 60nm, $5.5k
[*]Haibike Xduro AMT Prohttp://electricbikereview.com/haibike/xduro-amt-pro/
[*]Easy Motion Bosch Jumper, 47lb, 36V/11Ahr, 350/550W, Bosch Gen2, 60nm, 27.5" wheels, $5.2k
[*]Haibike XDURO Fullseven RX , 48lb, 36V/11Ahr, 350W, Bosch Gen2, 60nm, 27.5" wheels, $5.5k
[*]BMEBikes Apollos, 48lb, 36V/8.8Ahr, 350/600W, 8fun mid, 40nm, 26" wheels, $3.9k
[*]Haibike Xduro FS RXhttp://electricbikereview.com/haibike/xduro-amt-pro/
[*]Focus Thron Impulse Speed, 48 lb, 36V/17Ahr, 350W, Impulse II mid drive, 70nm, 27.5" wheels, $7k
[*]Specialized S-Works Turbo Levo FSR 6Fattie, 48.5 lb, 36V/14Ahr, 250/530W, Brose MD, 90nm, 27.5x3" wheels, $9k
[*]Haibike Xduro Nduro Pro, 49 lb, 36V/11Ahr, 350W, Gen2 Bosch mid drive, 60nm, 26" wheels, $9.1k
[*]Haibike Xduro AMT RXhttp://electricbikereview.com/haibike/xduro-amt-pro/
[*]IZIP E3 Peak DS, 50lb, 48V/8.7Ahr, 350W, Tranzx geared mid, 27.5" wheels, $4.5k
[*]Haibike Xduro Nduro RXhttp://electricbikereview.com/haibike/xduro-amt-pro/
[*]M1 Sporttechnik Spitzing , 58lbs, 48V, 18.4Ahr, 800/920W, TQ-Systems Germany / 120 nm, 27.5" wheels, $8.95k
[*]http://electricbikereview.com/optibike/r8/, 59 lb, 37V/26Ahr, 750W, Optibike MBB mid drive, 165nm, 26" wheels, $12k
[*]http://electricbikereview.com/optibike/r11/, 63 lb, 48V/18Ahr, 1100W, Optibike MBB mid drive, 165nm, 26" wheels, $14k
[*]http://electricbikereview.com/m55/terminus/, 65 lb, 43.2V/37.2Ahr, 3000W, mid drive, 26" ? wheels, $38k
[*]http://electricbikereview.com/stealth/fighter/, 75 lb, 48V/20Ahr, 3000W, dd rear hub, 24" wheels, $7.9k
[*][URL='http://electricbikereview.com/stealth/fighter/']Stealth Bomber[/URL], 116 lb, 72V/20Ahr, 4500W, dd rear hub, 24" wheels, $9.9k

Updated 8/6/14
Updated 4/17/15
Updated 9/16/15

JayBee 4real
8 months ago

how much is the price?

Erik Villegas
8 months ago

proud owner of an izip nice Customer bike support.

Evil Component
12 months ago

0:35 "so the whole rear end goes up and down like that, it feels a little stiffer"

Mark Elford
12 months ago

Good review, nice bike...ive been ghost watching for a while.

Carlos Pedro
12 months ago

Nice Bike bela bicicleta 😅👌🚴🚵🚴🚵🚴♥

12 months ago

Nice bike, not a fan of the white fork though !

12 months ago


12 months ago

Glad you enjoyed it! More in the works

12 months ago

can you do a video on best economy e-bikes? you know someting good for students.
live ur vids

12 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com thnx bro will be waiting 😁

12 months ago

Sure, I've created a section on the site with more "affordable" electric bikes and just for you, I'll review a new one called the Juiced CrossCurrent Air today. Keep an eye out for it: https://electricbikereview.com/category/affordable/

joes joey
12 months ago

very nice bike this thing hawls assss seems pretty fast!

joes joey
12 months ago


12 months ago

It can definitely ride faster than 20 mph if you pedal or go down a hill like I was doing with some of the shots but the max assisted speed is 20 mph since it's a Class 1 Ebike

Fat Bike Freak
12 months ago

Can you say dongle in your next video please...

12 months ago

Ha! I'll keep that in mind when I head back to NYC soon and film more reviews. I'm just processing some of the video from my last trip to SoCal at the moment :P

12 months ago


12 months ago

Ha! Awesome :D

12 months ago

Paying that much Id prefer a higher end haibike. Imo they look a bit more sturdy and you seem to get more for your money. At least in europe.

12 months ago

Yeah, I lean that direction too. This bike performed well and the drive system is exactly the same as Haibike but it doesn't look as cool and I don't think the frame engineering is quite as dialed in... at least from just looking at it, it rode well tough ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

12 months ago

Are we suspicious about its odd rear suspension setup?? As Court pointed out earlier, the Horst-link is a type of four-bar linkage suspension design that is now allowed to be used by every manufacturer and seems to be regarded as the best 'full-squish' setup.
History here:
And pinkbike has more analysis on rear suspension variants with copious photos:

12 months ago

Yeah, thanks for the links. I didn't know how to respond to the suspension but the Raleigh Electric product manager was stoked on it... hard to tell if marketing or actually a better design. To me, that connected metal part is just strange? Maybe they will chime in to help explain :)

Jeff Perteet
12 months ago

nice test ride

12 months ago

Thanks Jeff! I've been trying to show more of how the bikes work, especially when I have time and am at cool locations. Knowing you appreciate it is good feedback

Tahir Rana
12 months ago

4199$, I guess only NASA employees can afford this as they do steal tax $$$ to give the sheep fake space!

12 months ago

Yeah, I wish we didn't have baby formula, cordless tools, ear thermometers, golf clubs, invisible braces, MRI or CAT scans, memory foam, shoe insoles, water filters, UV blocking sunglasses or solar panels... what was NASA thinking inventing all of that stuff in pursuit of space technology and exploration! Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NASA_spinoff_technologies in case you're just looking for a less expensive ebike, here's a long list: https://electricbikereview.com/category/affordable/

12 months ago

The white fork looks odd with the rest of the bike. Very nice bike though.

12 months ago

I tend to agree with you... it just doesn't look mean or beautiful or tight the way that some other bikes do, but it does cost a little less and the ride was good :)

12 months ago

wow,that's a awesome E- bike

12 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com that's a great price.

12 months ago

Agree! Big step up from last year and $300 cheaper, very cool

Seb K
12 months ago

Did you hear about the NYC cops seizing those Ebikes recently ?!!! It's all over the cycling communites . Absolute idiots. I don't understand why NYC doesn't lift the ban . Cars kill on a daily basis . What the hell does an Ebike do compared to 2 tonnes of metal - a lot of people are very angry as a lot of the riders were delivery riders so customers won't be getting their goods . I'm glad I don't live in NYC .

Seb K
12 months ago

Won't surprise me if they ban pedal assist too .

Propel Electric Bikes
12 months ago

It's not really scientific. They made a law in 2004 before ebike were even really a thing. The law was designed to ban all bikes and scooters that can't be registered so they used the words "can be propelled without human power" and frankly pedal assist is kind of a loophole for now until we get some clear laws which should hopefully happen soon.

Seb K
12 months ago

Cheers Chris . I wish they could give a clear statement as to why they don't allow throttle activated Ebikes . Maybe the higher top speeds but if you stick a 50T chainring and use the 11t sprocket with an Ebike you are going to hit well over 20mph . Heck I even it 30mph on my traditional bike . Could be the torque of the motor . I don't know but they need to be more clear as to why they are apposed to throttle Ebikes .

Propel Electric Bikes
12 months ago

This was just throttle activated bikes. It still kind of stinks. Throttle activated bikes have been illegal in NYC since 2004 and the enforcement has been sporadic. There seems to be a new approach for handling this now, particularly in some precincts.

This is bringing some much needed attention to this issue in NYC and NYS. I feel we're getting closer and closer to having clear laws for ebikes in NY, but it's always been the case that bikes with throttles are illegal in NYC. Unfortunately the press often don't take the time to make this distinction, but we're clear on it. We've even went to court to prove that pedal-assist bikes are not illegal under NYC law, but throttle bikes are.

It would be our preference to allow for both, but through speaking with many politicians and city officials, it seems pretty clear that they're not going to support any legislation that allows for both. - Chris

Seb K
12 months ago

I think any electrically assisted bicycle . Also the officers were parked IN THE BIKE LANE when handing out tickets !!!


12 months ago

I like the "moustache asphalt" but the "I zip E 3 peak DS" design is more sporty-looking to me. Which is more my style. The fenders on these bikes (the asphalt) make them look more vintage and old fashioned.

And the top speed on this model totally sucks. Why such a low speed on such a cool, sporty bike ?. I must admit courtney, it was you who greatly influenced me too appreciate the Bosch drive systems. I had heard of them before but, I really didn't pay them that much attention. I was more focused on the "bafang BBSHD" motor.

Now the Bosch is one of my favorites. I hope they offer this model with a higher top-speed in the future.

12 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Thanks Courtney. We truly appreciate what you do fellow.

12 months ago

There are other bikes with the Class 3 speed pedelec motor from Bosch but it's rare, I think the full suspension models usually avoid it unless the tires are slicks and there are fenders because they aren't allowed on off-road trails in California and elsewhere that follow the Classes. In this case, the Peak DS is Class 1 so you can mountain bike with it :)

12 months ago

Drive gear turns 2.5 times per crank revolution. I've ridden about 18 thousand miles on the Bosch and can honestly not tell the difference between 'shift detect' enabled or disabled. Seems like all it does is enable the shift prompt (arrows) in the display. That pulley is so high and forward it reduces the length of engagement on the critical drive gear, let's see how that goes and if a divorce is eminent. Funky engineering. -S

12 months ago

Size of the chainring has nothing to do with what is happening internally, it could be 48 feet and would maintain the 2.5:1 ratio. I have not measured the CX line but would bet you a taco it is the same. I'd like to see 'shift sensing' in action on a bench, when roadies try one of my haibikes they always mash until they learn to backoff for the shift. For now I call hooey ;) - Thanks for the reply and continuous reviews. -S

12 months ago

Thanks for the feedback! I usually say "about 2 times" because Bosch lets manufacturers choose the chainring size (like 15 to 20 teeth) and I thought that would change from exactly 2.5 to more of a range. I believe the shift recommendation has more to do with the motor RPM and recommending you to shift to enable it to help more. Shift sensing tells the motor to ease off for a moment when the derailleur is in action but I'm not sure exactly how it works, I think it senses strain and is software driven... it's not perfect but I'd rather have it than not :)