IZIP E3 Peak DS Review

2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Electric Bike Revew
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Chain Lift Pulley Guide
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Bosch Intuvia Display Panel Removable
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Sram Guide Hydraulic Brake Levers Locking Velo Grips
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Rockshox Monarch Rt3
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds 200 Mm Front Disc Brake Rotor
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds 11 Speed Sram Nx
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Rockshox Reba Air Suspension Rear
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Vented Alloy Skid Plate For Motor
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Electric Bike Revew
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Chain Lift Pulley Guide
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Bosch Intuvia Display Panel Removable
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Sram Guide Hydraulic Brake Levers Locking Velo Grips
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Rockshox Monarch Rt3
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds 200 Mm Front Disc Brake Rotor
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds 11 Speed Sram Nx
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Rockshox Reba Air Suspension Rear
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Vented Alloy Skid Plate For Motor

Summary

  • A value-driven full suspension electric cross country mountain bike with higher end drive system and components from Bosch, SRAM and RockShox, it's $300 cheaper than prior year with lots of upgrades
  • Beautiful hydroformed frame with inset battery mount and tapered head tube, the motor hangs down a little compared to some other designs I've seen with the Bosch motor but I love the alloy skid plate
  • Large grippy pedals performed well compared to the standard cages I see a lot and wouldn't need replacing, stiff thru-axles on both wheels with quick release, large hydraulic disc brakes with adjustable levers
  • Unique rear suspension design felt stiffer to me, white fork doesn't seem to match the rest of the frame and wasn't my favorite look, solid two-year warranty with a decent dealer network in the USA

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

IZIP

Model:

E3 Peak DS

Price:

$4,199

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

51.2 lbs (23.22 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.4 lbs (2.44 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminium Alloy, Hydroformed

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Large: 19" Seat Tube, 31" Stand Over Height, 23" Reach, 76.5" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with White and Neon Green Accents

Frame Fork Details:

RockShox Reba Air Suspension with 120 mm Travel, Compression Clicker with Lockout, Rebound Clicker, 71° Slack Angle, 100 mm / 15 mm Thru-Axle with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

RockShox Monarch RT3 Air Suspension with 120 mm Travel, Compression Clicker with Lockout, Rebound Clicker, 142 mm / 12 mm Thru Axle with Quick Release

Attachment Points:

Threaded Eyelet on Fork Arch

Gearing Details:

11 Speed 1x11 SRAM NX Derailleur, 11-42 Cogset

Shifter Details:

SRAM NX Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Aluminum Alloy Cranks, 175 mm Length, 18T Narrow-Wide Chainring with Alloy Bash Guard, Chain Pulley Wheel NW with Plastic Guide

Pedals:

Aluminum Alloy Platform, Oversized with Adjustable Pins

Headset:

FSA, Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2"

Stem:

Alloy, 6° Rise, 31.8 mm Bore, 90 mm Length

Handlebar:

Alloy Flat, 720 mm Length

Brake Details:

SRAM Guide Hydraulic Disc with 200 mm Front Rotor and 180 mm Back Rotor, 4 Piston Calipers, SRAM Guide Levers with Tool-Free Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Velo Flat Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Velo Racing

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, 73° Seat Tube Angle

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Alexrims MD21, Alloy, Double Wall, 21 mm Width, 32 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda Honey Badger, 27.5" x 2.2"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

30 to 50 PSI, 30 TPI Casing, Wire Bead

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Rubber Slap Guard, Alloy Vented Motor Protector Skid Plate

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.6 lb 4 Amp Charger, SRAM PC1130 Chain

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Line CX

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

75 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

65 miles (105 km)

Display Type:

Bosch Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left (Up, i, Down), 5 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50% 40 Nm, Tour 120% 50 Nm, Sport 210% 60 Nm, Turbo 300% 75 Nm)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

IZIP is one of the older electric bike companies operating in the United States, they’ve been a leader in the mid-level product space for several years and are now owned by the Accell Group which has Raleigh Electric and Haibike as well. It’s a company with good customer support, a solid network of dealers (mostly independent electric bike shops) and a whole range of products. The IZIP E3 Peak DS is at the top end of the spectrum with high-performance components from SRAM and light weight air suspension from RockShox. With 120 mm of travel, and 27.5″ x 2.2″ tires, this is more of a cross country style electric mountain bike. It’s very sturdy and serviceable thanks to 15 mm and 12 mm thru-axles with quick release and an oversized tapered head tube. And since it’s running a 1×11 drivetrain, shifting between gears is smoother (shorter jumps than 8 or 10) but you still get comfortable cadence options for climbing and riding fast. The top assisted speed is 20 mph and it’s easy to hit with the Bosch CX high torque motor. This motor offers software driven shift sensing as well, so the chain, sprockets and derailleur won’t take a beating. Further bolstering the drivetrain is an elevated chain pulley with surrounding guide and a narrow-wide tooth pattern on both the pulley cog and chainring sprocket. This system elevates the chain, reduces chain slap, eliminates kickback and chain slip. Hardware wise, I was very impressed with the new Peak DS and stunned by the price drop of $300 over prior-year model considering the upgraded motor and battery from Bosch vs. TranzX before. The older motor system just wasn’t as responsive or smart as this… still good, but not great.

The Bosch Performance Line CX motor offers 350 watts of nominal output but peaks above 550 and produces a maximum of 75 Newton meters of torque. That’s a lot, it’s exactly what you want for mountain biking and is capable of steep climbs. The motor weight is positioned low and center, mounted to an integrated plate that seamlessly connects it to the seat tube and downtube. More and more, I hear from shops that are specializing in Bosch powered ebikes because they are so reliable… but if it did fail, the motor can be replaced all at once, a new one bolted in place where the old one was. Thes motors aren’t silent but the high pitched whirring noise is mostly eclipsed by the knobby tires on pavement or hard packed Earth. instead of spinning a traditionally sized chainring (or chainrings) the sprocket is smaller (18 tooth) and spins roughly twice for every pedal rotation. This empowers the motor with a mechanical advantage and allows the chain to start and stop very quickly. It does not however, elevate the chain as a normal sprocket would and thus, the chain pully system is extra important. The motor controller measures rear wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque 1,000 times per second and that makes it perfect for navigating unstable terrain where starting and stopping is critical.

Just like the motor, the battery is mounted low and center along the downtube of the frame. It’s actually inset slightly and blends in with the dark gray paint. With the Bosch Powerpack 400 and 500, you get convenience and access to the battery with quick removability but it’s not as hidden as the Brose batteries and some others from Easy Motion and other companies. You can charge the battery on or off the bike and it only weighs ~5.5 lbs so carrying it around by the plastic loop handle feels secure. The only consideration is with mounting and dismounting the pack because it’s sort of wedged below the top tube and rear suspension shock. The pack pops upwards and could collide with these other sections of the bike and get scratched… not a huge issue, but there definitely isn’t room for a bottle cage in there and the top tube might have been raised more than otherwise necessary to accommodate this battery design. Note also that the latest Bosch powerpack 500 is compatible with the interface here. What you get is the older more standard Bosch Powerpack 400 with roughly 396 watt hours of capacity. It’s a solid pack with excellent range, an integrated LED charge level indicator on the side and a solid locking core with metal slat to keep secure. One final compliment here goes to IZIP for their large rubber plug design that fits in to keep dust and water out of the charging port area on the left side of the downtube below the battery pack. It felt solid but wasn’t difficult to remove and would be easy to use with gloves on. So many other charge port covers are small, difficult to press in, prone to coming loose and just plain frustrating. The only catch here is that the plug doesn’t have any sort of connection to the frame and could get left behind if you set it down while charging.

Operation of the electronic systems on this bike feels professional and natural. Once the battery is charged and mounted, just press the power button on the lower left of the Bosch Intuvia display panel. From there, the screen flickers to life showing speed, a battery icon and an assist level chart with a little power graph next to it. This power graph jumps up and down as you pedal and helps to demonstrate how much energy the motor is using to give you support. I tend to ride in the second level of assist with quick jumps up to the highest level for climbing. Range can vary between 30 and 60 miles per charge which is very impressive for a mountain bike with knobby tires. The motor naturally works with you and requires pedaling to activate… but doesn’t quite as you pedal faster and faster. Some competing products seem to offer a limited RPM while Bosch is much wider. As a rider with hurt knees, I love being able to quickly reach over with my left thumb to arrow up or down on the button pad then immediately feel a boost of energy even while spinning quickly. I tend to go for cardio spinning vs. lumbering hard pushes due to my sensitivity and Bosch feels the best to me for this style. While the display is removable, it isn’t as small as some of the other options out there and might get scratched or broken off if you take a hard fall. For this reason, I sometimes take the display completely off before bombing a big descent. In addition to a soft backlight glow and the option to integrate LED lights with help from your dealer, the Intuvia display panel has a little Micro USB port on
the right side for charging a portable electronic device.

The experience I had with the IZIP E3 Peak DS was great, a big step up from the 2015 and 2016 models and on par with Haibike and other brands that also use Bosch. The biggest downside was style… the design and color scheme just didn’t excite me the way that some other models have and it seems like the white front fork didn’t match the gray and green frame. This is especially true when comparing to the 2015 model with red and black integrated throughout. When riding… I’d never notice and maybe a coat of trail dust would completely eliminate this vanity consideration. For the price, though it may sound high to someone new to the ebike space, I feel like you get a solid product here, very solid. And being able to choose from two frame sizes means you’ll get a bike that fits you and rides better. The dealer network cannot be overstated but given the reputation for reliability that Bosch has built in Europe and the USA it’s possible that you could buy this once from an ebike shop then have it serviced at any normal bicycle outlet. The wheels and shifting mechanisms are all standard bicycle hardware that won’t intimidate or require additional training to service. Big thanks to IZIP for partnering with me on this review and letting me hang out at their headquarters for a few days to see the new stuff :)

Pros:

  • Significant motor and battery upgrade from the 2015 model, you get Bosch vs. TranzX which delivers shift sensing, a nicer motor integration (with alloy skid plate) and larger removable display panel yet it costs $300 less!
  • IZIP went above and beyond with their battery integration here, notice how the downtube is molded around the pack letting it inset and blend in at both the top and bottom
  • Unique rear suspension isolates vertical travel and felt stiffer to me, should handle the higher speeds of an electric bike well and is optimized for cross country riding from what I could tell
  • Awesome pedals, they’re large and stiff with great traction points (metal pins), way better than some of the prior-year cage style pedals in my opinion
  • Smart chain guide system with elevated pulley wheel designed to eliminate kickback and phantom shifting as the rear swing arm travels up and down, it also keeps the chain from dropping with a full-surround guide piece and raises it to reduce chain slap
  • The chain guide and chainring use narrow wide tooth patterns to prevent chain slip and rattling, the teeth on the cogs fit more snugly into the alternating chain links
  • Great rubber slap guard on the rear right chainstay, many bikes aiming to be affordable use a clear plastic sticker but this one felt higher quality and is probably more important on a dual suspension setup
  • Great choice of motor with the Bosch CX high-torque model, it offers 75 Nm of torque which is perfect for climbing and trail riding
  • Given that the Bosch system only currently offers a single front chainring option, I like that IZIP put an 11 speed cogset on this bike vs. 10, it helps you hit and maintain the 20 mph top speed comfortably while still climbing efficiently at low speeds given the 51.2 lb curb weight of the bike
  • Awesome hydraulic disc brakes with larger rotors (I found it strange that the front rotor is 200 mm vs. the more common 203 mm but perhaps it’s a SRAM thing vs. Shimano), the levers offer tool-free adjustable reach which is convenient
  • The bike is available in two different sizes, this is great for tall and short riders alike… especially given the diamond high-step frame design used to boost strength and accommodate the rear suspension
  • Sturdy thru-axle design for both the front and rear wheels, both offer quick release systems for easy trail maintenance or transport, overbuilt tapered head tube also adds stiffness for off-road riding strength
  • I like the rubber plug design they’ve created for the battery charge port on the left side of the frame, it’s large and stays put but be careful not to set it down and ride off without it (there’s no leash system to keep it with the bike)
  • Great internal routing on the shifter cables and braking mechanisms, the frame looks clean and won’t snag or bend as easily in rugged conditions
  • The Bosch battery charger is great, not only is it relatively light weight and compact but it puts out 4 Amps vs. 2 Amps on most other chargers so you can fill your bike faster
  • I love that both the battery pack and display can be locked to the frame but are also easily removable, this is convenient for moving the bike (to reduce weight) or if you need to park it outside and want to keep the sensitive bits nice
  • The display panel has a built-in Micro USB charging port on the left side, this could be useful for charging a light or keeping your phone topped off if you use Strava or another GPS app
  • Solid two-year warranty backed by larger companies (the Accell Group which owns IZIP and Bosch), there are also more dealers for this brand so you can maybe test ride it and get fitted locally

Cons:

  • I don’t love the color scheme, the fork is bright white while the rest of the frame is dark gray with green accents, it just doesn’t look like it matches
  • Bosch has a new 500 watt hour battery pack that would take you further but the Peak DS comes with the older 400 watt hour (still great) probably to keep the cost down… the good news is that the mounting interface is forward compatible so you could upgrade later if you wanted
  • The battery pops “up” instead of sliding out to the sides and given the tight inner triangle of the frame here (especially with the rear suspension) it can be a little bit trickier to put on and off and I think it forces them to raise the top tube height which changes the stand over height of the bike
  • While the battery is easier to access for removal and is more standardized for future replacement, it isn’t as hidden as some other designs like those from Brose and people might know your bike is electric as a result, for mountain biking sometimes it’s nice to blend in more if you can

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More IZIP Reviews

IZIP E3 ProTour Review

  • MSRP: $3,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An efficient, feature-complete, speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speed with excellent frame balance but limited suspension and comfort options. Alloy fenders and minimalist rear rack stay quiet on bumpy terrain, an alloy chain guide…...

IZIP E3 Peak+ Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A mean looking cross country style hardtail electric mountain bike, beautifully integrated battery pack and motor keep weight low and center, has rear-rack bosses!. Locking removable battery pack can be charged on or off the bike, the display is…...

IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A value-priced urban electric bike that includes fenders, integrated LED lights, a rear rack, and hydraulic disc brakes, it's available in three frame sizes but only high-step. This is a high-speed Class 3 ebike that can reach ~28 mph assisted and because…...

IZIP E3 Sumo Review

  • MSRP: $3,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A rigid electric fat bike with provisions for front and rear racks, available in two frame sizes for improved fit, designed with a steep top tube for comfortable stand over and steadying. Beautifully integrated Bosch Performance Line CX motor and battery pack, downtube is cut away and…...

IZIP E3 Go Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A purpose-built electric tricycle with efficient and well-balanced middrive motor system, powerful 48 volt battery and optional second battery bay for increased range, rear wheel drive offers good traction. Comfortable swept-back handlebar with ergonomic grips, massive padded saddle with springs and hybrid tires keep…...

2016 IZIP E3 ProTour Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the coolest looking, most feature rich high-speed electric bicycles I've tested... the battery is beautifully integrated and the small motor stays almost completely hidden behind the chainring. Pedal assist gets you 28 mph using speed, cadence and torque sensing and you can…...

2016 IZIP E3 Sumo Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the lighter weight, higher powered and more affordable off-road capable fat bikes I've tested, you get 15 mm and 12 mm thru-axles with quick release and punched out rims. Sturdy Shimano M396 hydraulic disc brakes front and rear, no motor inhibitors in the levers…...

IZIP E3 Peak Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A 650B hardtail trail or mountain ebike with a powerful 73 Nm mid-drive motor, it's one of the quieter motors but less responsive (mostly cadence sensing) and no shift sensing. Nice 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes, quick release for both wheels and a 15 mm…...

2016 IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A feature complete speed pedelec (capable of ~28 mph top speeds) with a high torque mid-drive motor from TranzX. Quality full length plastic fenders from SKS with integrated mud flaps, mid-level suspension fork with…...

IZIP E3 Path+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An efficient, light weight commuter electric bike available in two frame sizes and high-step or step-thru styles, the adjustable stem and swept back bars support a surprisingly comfortable upright body position. Narrower tires, firm saddle and all-Aluminum frame and fork provide great power transfer when pedaling…...

IZIP E3 Vibe+ Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An approachable electric bike with deep low-step frame, adjustable stem, swept back handle bars and a large comfortable saddle. Simple linear pull brakes work well and are easy to adjust, quick release skewers on…...

IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high powered, cruiser style electric bike with four levels of zippy pedal assist and a twist throttle drive mode. Available in two high-step sizes (18" and 20") and one step-thru (18") for easier mounting,…...

2015 IZIP E3 Sumo Review

  • MSRP: $3,650
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the only fat tire style electric bikes I've tested to date that is legally capable of 25+ mph top speeds in pedal assist mode. Good value considering the custom fat frame in two sizes, solid warranty and availability, hydraulic…...

2015 IZIP E3 Peak DS Review

  • MSRP: $4,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Full suspension electric bike with powerful mid-drive motor for effective climbing and balanced weight, higher ~28 mph top speed. Removable battery pack and quick release wheels make charging and servicing convient, reduce weight when…...

2015 IZIP E3 Peak Review

  • MSRP: $3,100
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Hardtail trail-ready electric bike with powerful centerdrive motor for effective climbing and balanced weight, ~28 mph top speed. Removable battery pack for convenient charging and reduced transport weight, lockout suspension fork by RockShox…...

2015 IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,550
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Cruiser style electric bike with two frame styles, two frame sizes, 11 custom colors and a wonderfully balanced purpose-built frame. Removable battery can be charged on or off the bike, optional matching fenders, rear rack…...

2015 IZIP E3 Path+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,600
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Near-silent commuter style electric bike offering pedal assist and throttle mode, fenders and a carry rack. Comfortable ride with upright seating position, swept back handlebars and oversized Velo comfort saddle...

2015 IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High performance city style electric bike that offers throttle mode up to 20mph and pedal assist up to 28mph. Comfortable ride with oversized 700x45c tires, suspension fork with lockout and updated Velo Street saddle...

IZIP E3 Twn:exp Review

  • MSRP: $2,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

A sturdy, highly adjustable city bike that's perfect for rentals or fleets. High torque 400 watt direct drive motor is quiet and extremely durable, encased in rear…...

2014 IZIP E3 Path+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,200
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

An active urban-style electric bike with near-silent motor operation and clean design helping it blend in. Strong 500 watt motor paired with large 48 volt battery that's removable and uses premium…...

IZIP E3 Metro Review

  • MSRP: $2,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy, stiff and capable of hauling cargo with the reinforced front basket and welded rear rack. Oversized tires, adjustable stem and seat post suspension improved comfort when riding...

2014 IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,400
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Clean design with integrated battery pack improves balance, eight frame colors to choose from. Delivers smooth pedal assist and twist throttle mode for easy start from rest...

2014 IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,600
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

High quality features and well rounded drive system at an excellent price. Strong but quiet 500 watt gearless rear hub motor offers throttle mode and torque-sensing pedal…...

2014 IZIP E3 Peak Review

  • MSRP: $3,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Mid-level off road electric mountain bike with excellent weight distribution. Centerdrive motor offers high-torque, leverages rear cassette and makes servicing wheels and tires much easier...

2013 IZIP E3 Metro Review

  • MSRP: $2,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Strong 500 watt motor is capable of moving heavier riders and heavier loads in the integrated racks. Weight is spread out from rear and kept low to the ground with battery built…...

IZIP E3 Compact Review

  • MSRP: $2,150
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Built on the industry leading Dahon single speed folding bicycle frame. Offers both pedal assist and twist and go throttle mode...

IZIP E3 Path Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

An affordable, classic style electric bike with balanced features. Weaker 250 watt motor offers less torque but also weighs less...

2013 IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Solid frame with oversized cushy tires and seat delivers a fluid enjoyable ride. Powerful 500 watt geared rear hub motor paired with 36 volt Lithium-ion battery offers torque…...

IZIP Express Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2012, 2013

Ultra powerful and rugged long-range electric bike, originally designed for use by the Los Angeles police force for urban patrols. Unique mid-drive belt system delivers high torque for climbing and accelerating, speed pedelec design capable…...

IZIP E3 Ultra Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Powerful 500 Watt motor paired with strong 36 Volt battery for acceleration and climbing ability. Sensitive pedal assist mode becomes jerky when climbing hills but is otherwise very responsive...

IZIP E3 Vibe Review

  • MSRP: $999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Upright seating with high-rise handlebars, wide sprung saddle and seat post shock for improved comfort. 250 watt brushless rear hub motor works well with pedal assist or throttle mode for…...

IZIP Trekking Enlightened Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2009

Discontinued in 2009, replaced with the E3 Path which is sturdier, less expensive and features twist throttle as well as pedal assist. Designed to be pedaled, the Trekking Enlightened lacks throttle mode but features 24 speed, lights,…...

IZIP Urban Cruiser Enlightened Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2009

A relaxed, comfortable and stable cruiser style electric bike with integrated downtube-battery that keeps weight low and center. Smooth torque sensing pedal assist is responsive but requires more care when working on the…...


Jim Taylor
5 months ago

So how would this bike compare with the Bull’s bike with the Bosch CX motor? Thanks

Reply
Court Rye
5 months ago

Hi Jim! There are several full suspension options from Bulls including ones with the Bosch CX and others with the Brose motor. If the drive system is the same I’d say the big differences will be wheel size, suspension design, frame sizes and a bit of geometry along with the look and price. Unfortunately, I’m not expert enough to dive too much deeper into the details of one frame vs. another but I always consider weight and stand over height when I choose an ebike. I hope this helps a little! Feel free to ask in the forums for more advice too :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Timpo
3 days ago

Hello everyone, I'm thinking about buying an Amego Elevate, it's a Canadian bicycle.
https://www.amegoev.com/buy-electric-bikes/electric-bicyles/amego-elevate.html

As you can see, the speed(with pedal, non throttle) is limited to 40km/h (25mph)

But if you look at Magnum Peak, it goes up to 45km/h (28mph)
https://www.magnumbikes.com/product/magnum-peak/

They look very similar, probably come from same manufacture, anyways, what do I need to make Amego Elevate a full Class 3 ebike? Is it just as easy as swapping the display?

I called Amego and they said they can't raise it to 45km/h(28mph)...also I don't want to buy Magnum Peak since the shipping & US/Canada conversion rate won't be cheap.

Thanks

BreakAes
7 days ago

Thanks for the input y'all.

I used to ride a Downtube Mini, so I'm familiar with riding a folding bike, and that one is probably about the smallest you can get. Of course that was before I got injured, but I understand the fat tires help a lot in terms of making the ride friendly.

One of the big reasons I think I need a folder is because the main tube is lower, and I have trouble getting on a regular bike. Yesterday I tried to straddle my roommates' bikes and I had to lay them down, step through the frame twice, then pick them up. It made me nervous, and I think I'd need to hold on to something while doing that. And I may want to low-ride, so I think the folders would be better for that. Also, if the seat is low enough, I might be able to get on the bike from the back. I'm going to have to see what happens when I test ride. With the Downtube Mini, my main gripe was the difficulty in climbing hills. If I feel the fat tire e-bikes are stable for me, then the electric power should take care of my main gripe with small folders.

Does anybody know if a BodyFloat would have a long enough seatpost to work with these folding e-bikes?

One of the things I was surprised by was the weight of the Rad Mini. I'll go with whatever's best overall, but of course less weight is preferable.

I was chatting with someone at the Sondors Facebook group, and he said, "The motor isn't what determines the power. The battery voltage and controller do. The Fold X is 48V (battery) x 15A (controller) = 720 watts stock. The Rad mini also uses a 48V battery but no mention of the controller amperage. Since they say it's limited to 20mph, it's probably a 10A or 15A controller which is the same or less than the Sondors..You should ask them what the controller output is. The Rad also has less capacity/range than the Sondors Fold X. The Sondors is 14Ah versus 11.6Ah for the Rad Mini. That's 20% more range for the Sondors. We also know that we can remove the speed limiter on the Sondors, AND add at least 30% more power at a cost of less than $60 (a 20A controller will give you 960W of power). As a bonus you would pay $600 more for the Rad Mini with less range and less power. Your decision though"

And I asked him why manufacturers mention the motor wattage, and he said,

"Because it's sexy and easy We've had folks running the stock 350w motor in the fat bikes at over 1000W by upgrading the controller and battery. The Bafang motors will handle way more power than their rating. My guess is that the 500W motor will handle 1200W of power just fine. We've had some members swap their 350W motors for 750W motors because they went from 36V to 52V and put in 35A controllers. Those monsters are doing 1800W. The motor wattage is pretty much a rating, not an output. A 500W motor will handle more power than a 350W motor, for example. But it's not the motor determining the power."

Is this info true? I assume he's correct. I'll send Rad an email to see what the Mini's controller output is.

One thing I don't like about the Rad Mini is that the battery is smaller, and if I wanted a spare it'd be $500! Anybody know about how much a spare battery would be for the Fold X?

Also, if I buy the Fold X, I want to purchase the Shimano gear option, right?

Thanks.

Edit: So I saw this at the Rad Mini's tech specs page: CONTROLLER: 48V 12 Amps Continuous (22 Amps Peak). Does this mean the Fold X has a better stock controller? Nevermind, apparently the Rad Mini has the better stock controller.

mrgold35
1 week ago

I was on the fence about a year ago between Sondors, Radrover, and Volt 4" fat tire bikes. I marked Sondors off the list because of the 30 day warranty and small motor. No one ever said "My ebike has too much power and I wish I've gone with a much smaller watt motor."

I'm about 270lbs and I add about another 20-25 lbs with bike accessories, rack+gear, and commuter back pack. The Radrover weights the same as the Radmini. I have zero issue pedaling in PAS 2-4 and/or using the throttle to get going across intersections in a hurry or up inclines. The Rad Power bikes have a nice feature of an on/off button for the twist throttle AND you have full 750 watts of power at any PAS level from 0-5. I added a clip on thumb throttle for easier access and better control. Also nice to have the throttle if you need to walk your bike up inclines or stairs. I trail ride a lot and thumb attachment makes it easier to access the gears, brake, throttle, and holding tight on handlebar grips. I would check with the Sondors X to see how the throttle works compared to the Radmini.

I ended up with purchasing two Rad Rovers and put over 3000 miles between them both in less than a year. I would also factor in a suspension seat post since the folding ebikes don't have a front suspension.

One side note: I always used PAS 5 on my work commutes with the standard Kenda tires and my top cruising speed was around 18-19 mph with peak (downhills) around 21-22 mph. I wore my rear Kenda out in around 800 miles and replaces with Vee8 tires. I can now cruise 19-20.5 mph in PAS 3-4 (depending on wind and how level) and my top peak speed is 23-25 mph on the same inclines. I never use PAS now and just use the throttle if I need full power for a short run.

fredi
1 week ago

This is my first ebike and my decision to buy her was based on getting the best ebike for me at the best price. First a little about me, I’m 60 years old, 6’1” and 230 lbs. A have a 34” Class-A RV and travel the east coast. On long trips I normally tow a Jeep Wrangler with a tray-style bike rack loaded with two or three mountain bike from a big box store. On short trips I leave the Jeep at home and mount the bike rack to the RV. Typical use of the bikes is for recreational riding in National and State parks. I thought it was time for a better bike and was intrigued with the idea of using ebikes and leaving the Jeep at home more.

I originally looked at Evelo because of their mid-drive with the NuVinci hub. They didn’t offer any local sales but work with local bike shops to provide service in conjunction with their 4-year/20,000-mile warranty. I was drawn to the Delta with the 750 watt mid-drive since all I’ve ever owned was mountain bikes and I wanted to make sure that it would get me up the hills. I soon discovered that where I live they only allow 500 watts and mid-drives are more efficient using the power, so while a 750 watt hub drive may struggle to get me up the hill, a 350 watt mid-drive should have less problems because they have higher performance, more torque and use less battery power. I also have always hated not being in the right gear at the right time and gnashing the gears and an Internally Geared Hub (IGH) like the NuVinci would solve those problems. Since I was planning on adding lots of comfort accessories like a plush seat, road tires, rear rack, fenders, lights, etc. and the Galaxy comes with all of those so I felt it was a better fit for me.

The Galaxy is billed as a comfort cruiser with an upright riding position, 27.5″ wheels and 2” tires on a ridge frame. Evelo makes two models the Galaxy, the GT with a step-through frame and the TT a traditional top tube frame. Each model comes in two versions, Premium or Fully Loaded. The Fully Loaded version upgrades the NuVinci N380 transmission to the Harmony fully automatic transmission and adds hydraulic brakes. So I ordered the Fully Loaded Galaxy TT version with a list price of $3899.

The bike came in about a week. She was double boxed and very well packed. The hardest part was getting the bike out of the box. I recommend having a little help here. Evelo isn’t kidding when they say the bike come almost fully assembled. Install the brake caliper, front wheel and fender, handlebars, headlight, and you’re done. They recommend charging the battery for 12 hours before the first use, so I plugged it in to charge overnight and then set about the process of assembling the bike which took about 30 minutes. They provided several allen wrenches, a couple of “real” boxed end wrenches and armed with the step by step instructions it was much easier to assemble than any bike I’ve ever bought from a big box store. My recommendation is that you put the fender on before you install the front wheel and then attach the brake caliper. The front wheel comes with a “Quick Release” so it’s really not a big deal.

The Galaxy is one of a small number of electric bikes that offer the NuVinci Harmony Automatic Transmission which allows me to enjoy the ride while it takes care of the shifting. In automatic it finds the proper gear while I dial in a comfortable cadence and set the assist level for my perfect ride. No more gnashing the gears and getting stuck on a hill because I was in the wrong gear. A simple button press changes the hub to manual mode, but I mostly I keep it in automatic on the lowest setting. The brushless motor combined with the Gates belt drive and the Harmony makes the ride smooth and virtually silent. I set the tire pressure to 50 lbs for a softer ride.

She comes with a 350 watt Bafang Max mid-drive motor (peak 600 watts) and uses a torque sensor (internal to the motor) and speed to determine how much power is drawn from the battery. The torque sensor uses a strain gauge inside the motor to measure pressure on the pedals. This allows for quick engagement and better sensitivity. I was concerned about the Galaxy’s uphill performance but found that she can easily climb hills at 8-12 mph that would normally bring me to a crawl. On level roads I can quickly reach the 20+ mph limit. At those speeds it’s nice to have the Tektro 180mm hydraulic disc brakes that provide great stopping power and simultaneously cut power to the motor. Once you stop there is a double fork kickstand to keep her upright.

The large backlit LCD display panel (made by King) is mounted center of the handlebars and can swivel forward or back to reduce glare. It’s easy to read and offers information about speed, distance, pedal assist, watts and a five segment battery charge level indicator. The control pad is located near the left grip, from there you can turn the bike on/off and select the level of assist. I really liked that holding the UP button turns on/off the backlight and holding the DOWN button activates “Walk” mode which moves the bike forward at about two mph. Pressing both the UP and DOWN buttons for 3 seconds puts you in the settings menu where you can increase the maximum speed to 25 mph, set the backlight level, and miles or kilometers. I set the wheel diameter to 27.5 inches since it defaulted to 26.

The bike has a thumb throttle but as a safety feature it doesn't engage unless the bike is moving. I originally thought I would need the throttle to get across an intersection or when starting up a hill, but the bike's torque sensor measures pressure on the pedals, so it quickly engages. It is so responsive and natural feeling that I haven't used the throttle much but I certainly have used “walk” mode several times.

The rear tail light is mounted directly beneath the battery rack so it isn’t blocked by my pannier and is powered by a couple of AA batteries. The LED Head Light has five modes and is USB rechargeable. It quickly installs on the handlebars with a rubber strap and the single large button on top makes it easy to turn on and change modes while riding.

Powering the bike is a 36 volt, 13 amp (468 wh) battery pack with an advertised 50 miles of range. I rode for over twenty miles before the charge indicator dropped from five to four bars. The battery weighs 8 lbs, can be charged on or off the bike and has its own level indicator. The small rubber cap protecting the charge terminal opens easily and stays closed. The battery is nicely protected in the full-size cargo rack and has a key lock which keeps it there and provides anti-theft security. You don’t need to leave the key in while riding and there’s a built-in handle to help remove the battery and carry it. Removing the battery makes it easier to lift the 46 lb bike onto my tray style carrier. The battery placement in the rack makes the bike a little heavy in the back, but frees up space for bottle cage bosses on the seat tube and allowed me to mount my folding lock on the down tube. All I did was add my Cloud-9 seat, bottle cage, pannier and a suspension seat post and I was ready to go.

After about a week of riding I took her to a local dealer for a full checkup. They did a minor adjustment to the brakes and gave her a clean bill of health, no charge. They were impressed at how well “I” put the bike together (LOL) and they loved the belt and throttle. I’ll be sure to make the checkup an annual event and return to that dealer.

Let me know if you have any questions

1/1
WilliamT
1 week ago

The Magnum Peak looks like a pretty nice bike that will have no problems with the hills. If your looking at that one, you should also look at Luna's Hardtail

https://lunacycle.com/luna-alite-hard-tail/

Two different technologies; one geared hub and the other a mid-drive. For steep hills, I would probably go with the mid-drive. I believe all the ones mentioned in this thread are mid-drives too.

If your comfortable fixing your own bike, you could also just buy the kit to put on your Stunt Jumper for about $1k. (assuming the battery fits in your frame)

Bicyclista
1 week ago

This a work in progress, and ignoring the extreme peak, you can get a general idea of peak output from a recent ride that completed using a Bosch CX motor with 50wh battery pack.

Watts V altitude.

Watts V speed of climb.

Very cool graphs, @EddieJ ! It shows that an electric motor can produce many times its nominal rating. Now, can your software show a smoothed average?

And, why should we ignore the extreme peaks? If sometimes they are needed, and the motor can deliver them without overheating, I welcome them!

EddieJ
1 week ago

There is a big difference between claimed figures to comply with regulations and actual "peak" numbers which all the motors are capable of. It seems that Brose is more compliant to regulations. On the plus side, Brose is more likely to have superior mileage per battery charge.

This a work in progress, and ignoring the extreme peak, you can get a general idea of peak output from a recent ride that completed using a Bosch CX motor with 50wh battery pack.

Watts V altitude.

Watts V speed of climb.

1/3
Dewey
2 weeks ago

Worksman trike, side by side seating, independent pedals, the 500w (750w peak) direct drive motor has a reverse gear (3mph). Low top speed (10mph) but you don't want to corner quickly on a trike. Short range (12 miles) but heavy weight capacity (600lb). A reviewer said it can handle moderate hills with pedaling.

Mark Peralta
2 weeks ago

Bosch themselves say that the CX motor maxes out at 120 rpm. So there's no way that it produces 400w at that speed. That's the main point. The 120 rpm is the crank speed. it's irrelevant what the actual motor speed is. The shape of the efficiency curve will be the same. The only thing that changes with gearing is the scale at the bottom of the graph.
There is a big difference between claimed figures to comply with regulations and actual "peak" numbers which all the motors are capable of. It seems that Brose is more compliant to regulations. On the plus side, Brose is more likely to have superior mileage per battery charge.

NikkiK
2 weeks ago

Thanks guys, there's a lot of information in here to digest. After thinking about it some more, I wonder if I should not try to get the best out of all worlds (trail and road) because I may end up getting a mediocre at everything type of bike. I'm a traditionalist with my actual mtn. bike - Stunt Jumper hard tail from mid 90's. Every time I go to upgrade, I have a hard time justifying the purchase of something that doesn't have a motor. In this case of an ebike I guess I can make that justification a little better, but going up to the $5-7K range seems like I should be driving an entire car around (albeit a cheap car). I'm headed out to go 'test drive' a few bikes in Salt Lake and hope to be able to get a better feel for it. Considering the Magnum Peak as an all around, but will give the longer range ones a try too. Chris, the Riese & Muller Delite Mtn. looks like the top of the line and of course once I try one of those on (or it's equiv. bike in SLC) I'm sure I'll throw all caution out the wind and then want the best / most expensive. At this point though, I'm trying to keep the range closer to 2K. Maybe that's a pipe-dream, but I'll want to save some $$ to upgrade my actual mtn. bike one day. ;-)

One quick question though, how important is weight on these bikes? I noticed that some 'carbon fiber' bikes are only a few pounds difference than some other bikes and I would assume with the bike the Chris mentioned weight would really be a factor. Is there a different SOTP (seat of the pants) feel when driving vs peddling all that weight up hill / long distances?

kevind
2 weeks ago

I'm with you
Bought my Peak a month ago and they told me they don't even have a manual for it. To use the Mi5 Manual - which doesn't cover that topic either...

J.R.
2 weeks ago

Hi,JimBow ,Thanks for the reply > I listen cause I am 66 and no nothing about E bikes ,and we have forgot more than the young people know ! But I have to rely on what other people know about ebikes ,I likeded xtream bikes cause of the power and the fwd sounded good .I f you find any bikes with 1000w or more let me know . Have you heard about the fat bikes from NY ,been out about 3 yrs .? Thanks Dogdad.
Don't let that advertised watt number be the deciding factor in the bike you purchase. To add some perspective, I have a friend with a stock 500 watt E-Bike Kit brand kit on a Diamondback bike that peaks at 1035 watts on my 18% grade road. Big hill that's 2.2 miles long, culminating in that grade, and he's going 15 mph, not breaking a sweat. I have a 350 watt bike, peaks just around 750 watts and a 500 watt bike that hits 800 watts. Then there are several bikes available today with the advertised 750 watt motors that never peak over 850 watts. Some of that information is available in the professional reviews, some from the manufacturers and some by user reviews. They all can do the job in most cases. The best way to get a sense of what will work for you would be to test ride some bikes. Many bikes will surprise you, some will disappoint. Another surprise is the amount of us baby-boomers on here ;) Good luck!

Mark Peralta
2 weeks ago

I certainly feel that both Yamaha and Brose put out more torque.
I found this chart for the Brose 2018 motor to be interesting.

That Brose torque vs rpm graph is very interesting. My calculated guess is that the red curve comes from the new Brose S drive. The peak torque has been expanded about 35% in both the lower and upper RPM range, so if the original upper was in the 80 rpm, the S drive continues to supply 90 NM up to ~108 rpm. That also correspond to 35 percent increase in power from 350 watts to about 475-500 watts. That would put it's performance profile somewhere in between the Bosch and the Shimano Drive.

Yamaha also has it's upgrade, the PW-X, but it looks like Yamaha focused it's performance improvement at the lower end of the rpm range and not much at the upper rpm range. Yamaha's strong point is the zero cadence that applies full torque from a standstill. If abused, it can also overheat the motor.

1/2
JRA
2 weeks ago

"JRA, those extra 7-9 lbs in front are good for weight distribution, but the traction will be affected. This will be felt more with powerful 1,000-1,200W motors that they have."

After a couple of thousand miles on these 1,240w peak bikes I do like the overall weight distribution of the bikes handling wise. Traction on very loose surface steep terrain has to be paid attention to but by pedaling a complementary gear to the amount of power the hub is getting so as to keep the wheels rotating in close to the same rpm as stated and proper body weight positioning it is not a problem. Otherwise the front wheel pulling works on the same basic principal as a front wheel drive car.

1/1
Dan Brandon
3 weeks ago

Hi, new member here, and just got a new Magnum Peak. I really like it and I've a lot to learn. Found his forum and looking forward to learning and helping.

I am having trouble getting into the set mode on my Magnum Peak. Says to hold down set button for two seconds but nothing happens. Am I doing something wrong? Want to change from kilometers to mph. Appreciate any help.

Dan Brandon
3 weeks ago

Hi, new member here, and just got a new Magnum Peak. I really like it and I've a lot to learn. Found his forum and looking forward to learning and helping.

I am having trouble getting into the set mode on my Magnum Peak. Says to hold down set button for two seconds but nothing happens. Am I doing something wrong? Want to change from kilometers to mph. Appreciate any help.

Mark Peralta
3 weeks ago

Using the GearCalculator app android with wheel 700x40c, cadence of 90 rpm, plate of 48 teeth and cassette of 11 teeth you have a top speed of 52km / h but if you change the plate of 48 teeth for a 22 teeth of bosh the top speed is 23 , 8 km / h, the rest of speed and effort is made by the bosh engine with the consequent higher consumption in peak watts.
The teeth of the bosch chain ring multiplied by 2.5 is equivalent to the non-bosch chain ring. The 22 teeth is actually the same as the 55 teeth to the non-bosch chain ring. So at 90 rpm cadence, it would be running at 59.6 kph.

Manu
3 weeks ago

My surprise is the consumption in watts of certain engines that supposedly are 250w to 350w of shimano and bosh ..... in theory they would now be working above their usual consumption. The one that cuts the revolutions to 100 or 130 is determined By the controller, yamaha I am not surprised the consumption because it has engines 250w to 500w to attend 45km / h.

I think that that excess consumption in the bosh and shimano is given by the size of teeth in the plates and cassette.

I think that maybe having more teeth in a dish gives more range of top speed to less cadence and that helps the engine in more percentage and maximum speed can remove extra charge and therefore consumption in extra watts ....... . In this section the yamaha are leaders because it has option until double plate of 34/44 and 38/48 teeth, the human force accompanies the engine in much more regime of speed and saves watts hours.

Using the GearCalculator app android with wheel 700x40c, cadence of 90 rpm, plate of 48 teeth and cassette of 11 teeth you have a top speed of 52km / h but if you change the plate of 48 teeth for a 22 teeth of bosh the top speed is 23 , 8 km / h, the rest of speed and effort is made by the bosh engine with the consequent higher consumption in peak watts.

emco5
3 weeks ago

Motorcycle engines in sport bikes tend to have peaky powerbands. That narrowness of energy creates a ride where you keep the engine revs boiling while you tap the shifter to maintain the rpm. Good fun with a motorcycle on a twisty backroad. Mid-drive PAS eBikes with the same narrow peak power range are not as fun because it’s your legs that keep the crank spinning at the required rpm. As terrain varies, so does your need to spin. Motorcycles best suited to everyday commuting have flatter powerbands. That applies to eBikes, too. A mid-drive that provides a useable level of assist over a wide rpm range is going to be less frenetic. Having a Yamaha or Bosch PL system, as reflected in that chart, would drive me nuts.

JayVee
3 weeks ago

The Yamaha has the correct curve generally speaking, although it doesn't drop off nearly that quickly. The peak is around 85 RPMs and it starts fading at about 95 RPMs. However you can still get good power out of it over 100 RPMs even in ECO mode. In fact it's a great way to save battery life. I often ride at 105RPMs on flatter sections, and it's clear to me that the chart is way off the mark above 100RPMs. I'm a really lazy person and I think I'd notice it if the drive provided close to 0 Watts assistance at that cadence... :D

pxpaulx
3 weeks ago

I've very surprised by the Brose curve, notably the poor peak performance. I have both a full suspension emtb with the Bosch CX motor and one with the Brose. I actually like the performance of the Brose better. Feels to me like it has as much power, but almost silent. I do tent to ride the Brose in the #2 power setting (out of 3) and rarely change it, whereas with the Bosch I constantly switch between Tour & Turbo modes depending on assistance needed in my effort to extend range. Just got the new emtb update yesterday and haven't been able to try it yet.

I'll be curious to see what you think of the new bosch emtb mode. I had my bulls updated in the spring with the latest firmware, I could tell the difference (and a 4th level of assist was also added). I much prefer the Brose power delivery than bosch, it feels like a more natural riding experience. Bosch may provide a little more power, but it also feels slightly detached from the riding experience.

Also agreed with @Sonoboy - it would be much nicer to have an independent testing group. I appreciate that emtb magazine article discussing the strengths and weaknesses of the current mid-drive motors out there, maybe that and actually riding the different motors are really all that is needed!

Alphbetadog
3 weeks ago

I've very surprised by the Brose curve, notably the poor peak performance. I have both a full suspension emtb with the Bosch CX motor and one with the Brose. I actually like the performance of the Brose better. Feels to me like it has as much power, but almost silent. I do tent to ride the Brose in the #2 power setting (out of 3) and rarely change it, whereas with the Bosch I constantly switch between Tour & Turbo modes depending on assistance needed in my effort to extend range. Just got the new emtb update yesterday and haven't been able to try it yet.

carl2017
3 weeks ago

Li-ion battery 36V10.4AH $116/pc

Specification:
Using 18650 3.7v2600mah cell 10s4p;
With BMS, continuous discharge current 15A,peak discharge current 40A
PVC shrink package
Battery size according to requirement;
With cell holder;

Above price without include charger.

carl2017
3 weeks ago

18650 3.7v2600mah cell for electric bike battery, electric scooter battery using

Specification:
Capacity:2600mah
Voltage:3.7v
Inner resistance:<35mΩ
Continuous discharge current:2C
Peak discharge current 3C
Price: $1.75/pc

MoneyJB 4real
1 month ago

how much is the price?

Erik Villegas
1 month ago

proud owner of an izip nice Customer bike support.

Evil Component
5 months ago

0:35 "so the whole rear end goes up and down like that, it feels a little stiffer"

Mark Elford
5 months ago

Good review, nice bike...ive been ghost watching for a while.

Carlos Pedro
5 months ago

Nice Bike bela bicicleta 😅👌🚴🚵🚴🚵🚴♥

Dave Caldwell
5 months ago

Nice bike, not a fan of the white fork though !

R D
5 months ago

👍🏻🇨🇦

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Glad you enjoyed it! More in the works

sharrafshow
5 months ago

can you do a video on best economy e-bikes? you know someting good for students.
live ur vids

sharrafshow
5 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com thnx bro will be waiting 😁

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Sure, I've created a section on the site with more "affordable" electric bikes and just for you, I'll review a new one called the Juiced CrossCurrent Air today. Keep an eye out for it: https://electricbikereview.com/category/affordable/

joes joey
5 months ago

very nice bike this thing hawls assss seems pretty fast!

joes joey
5 months ago

nice!

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

It can definitely ride faster than 20 mph if you pedal or go down a hill like I was doing with some of the shots but the max assisted speed is 20 mph since it's a Class 1 Ebike

Fat Bike Freak
5 months ago

Can you say dongle in your next video please...

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Ha! I'll keep that in mind when I head back to NYC soon and film more reviews. I'm just processing some of the video from my last trip to SoCal at the moment :P

LivingLifeElectric
5 months ago

IZIP. UZIP. WE ALL ZIP FOR IZIP...

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Ha! Awesome :D

Festivejelly
5 months ago

Paying that much Id prefer a higher end haibike. Imo they look a bit more sturdy and you seem to get more for your money. At least in europe.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Yeah, I lean that direction too. This bike performed well and the drive system is exactly the same as Haibike but it doesn't look as cool and I don't think the frame engineering is quite as dialed in... at least from just looking at it, it rode well tough ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

ForbinColossus
5 months ago

Are we suspicious about its odd rear suspension setup?? As Court pointed out earlier, the Horst-link is a type of four-bar linkage suspension design that is now allowed to be used by every manufacturer and seems to be regarded as the best 'full-squish' setup.
History here:
https://www.bikeschool.com/blog/horst-of-a-different-color-the-history-of-the-horst-link-four-bar-linkage/
And pinkbike has more analysis on rear suspension variants with copious photos:
https://www.pinkbike.com/forum/listcomments/?threadid=146074

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Yeah, thanks for the links. I didn't know how to respond to the suspension but the Raleigh Electric product manager was stoked on it... hard to tell if marketing or actually a better design. To me, that connected metal part is just strange? Maybe they will chime in to help explain :)

Jeff Perteet
5 months ago

nice test ride

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Thanks Jeff! I've been trying to show more of how the bikes work, especially when I have time and am at cool locations. Knowing you appreciate it is good feedback

Tahir Rana
5 months ago

4199$, I guess only NASA employees can afford this as they do steal tax $$$ to give the sheep fake space!

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Yeah, I wish we didn't have baby formula, cordless tools, ear thermometers, golf clubs, invisible braces, MRI or CAT scans, memory foam, shoe insoles, water filters, UV blocking sunglasses or solar panels... what was NASA thinking inventing all of that stuff in pursuit of space technology and exploration! Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NASA_spinoff_technologies in case you're just looking for a less expensive ebike, here's a long list: https://electricbikereview.com/category/affordable/

Rob02150
5 months ago

The white fork looks odd with the rest of the bike. Very nice bike though.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

I tend to agree with you... it just doesn't look mean or beautiful or tight the way that some other bikes do, but it does cost a little less and the ride was good :)

BOB NIEVES
5 months ago

wow,that's a awesome E- bike

BOB NIEVES
5 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com that's a great price.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Agree! Big step up from last year and $300 cheaper, very cool

Seb K
5 months ago

Did you hear about the NYC cops seizing those Ebikes recently ?!!! It's all over the cycling communites . Absolute idiots. I don't understand why NYC doesn't lift the ban . Cars kill on a daily basis . What the hell does an Ebike do compared to 2 tonnes of metal - a lot of people are very angry as a lot of the riders were delivery riders so customers won't be getting their goods . I'm glad I don't live in NYC .

Seb K
5 months ago

Won't surprise me if they ban pedal assist too .

Propel Electric Bikes
5 months ago

It's not really scientific. They made a law in 2004 before ebike were even really a thing. The law was designed to ban all bikes and scooters that can't be registered so they used the words "can be propelled without human power" and frankly pedal assist is kind of a loophole for now until we get some clear laws which should hopefully happen soon.

Seb K
5 months ago

Cheers Chris . I wish they could give a clear statement as to why they don't allow throttle activated Ebikes . Maybe the higher top speeds but if you stick a 50T chainring and use the 11t sprocket with an Ebike you are going to hit well over 20mph . Heck I even it 30mph on my traditional bike . Could be the torque of the motor . I don't know but they need to be more clear as to why they are apposed to throttle Ebikes .

Propel Electric Bikes
5 months ago

This was just throttle activated bikes. It still kind of stinks. Throttle activated bikes have been illegal in NYC since 2004 and the enforcement has been sporadic. There seems to be a new approach for handling this now, particularly in some precincts.

This is bringing some much needed attention to this issue in NYC and NYS. I feel we're getting closer and closer to having clear laws for ebikes in NY, but it's always been the case that bikes with throttles are illegal in NYC. Unfortunately the press often don't take the time to make this distinction, but we're clear on it. We've even went to court to prove that pedal-assist bikes are not illegal under NYC law, but throttle bikes are.

It would be our preference to allow for both, but through speaking with many politicians and city officials, it seems pretty clear that they're not going to support any legislation that allows for both. - Chris

Seb K
5 months ago

I think any electrically assisted bicycle . Also the officers were parked IN THE BIKE LANE when handing out tickets !!!

http://www.bicycling.com/culture/nypd-initiates-e-bike-crackdown-and-cyclists-are-outraged?utm_source=plus.google.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebutton

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
5 months ago

I like the "moustache asphalt" but the "I zip E 3 peak DS" design is more sporty-looking to me. Which is more my style. The fenders on these bikes (the asphalt) make them look more vintage and old fashioned.

And the top speed on this model totally sucks. Why such a low speed on such a cool, sporty bike ?. I must admit courtney, it was you who greatly influenced me too appreciate the Bosch drive systems. I had heard of them before but, I really didn't pay them that much attention. I was more focused on the "bafang BBSHD" motor.

Now the Bosch is one of my favorites. I hope they offer this model with a higher top-speed in the future.

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS.
5 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Thanks Courtney. We truly appreciate what you do fellow.

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

There are other bikes with the Class 3 speed pedelec motor from Bosch but it's rare, I think the full suspension models usually avoid it unless the tires are slicks and there are fenders because they aren't allowed on off-road trails in California and elsewhere that follow the Classes. In this case, the Peak DS is Class 1 so you can mountain bike with it :)

SheaDesign
5 months ago

Drive gear turns 2.5 times per crank revolution. I've ridden about 18 thousand miles on the Bosch and can honestly not tell the difference between 'shift detect' enabled or disabled. Seems like all it does is enable the shift prompt (arrows) in the display. That pulley is so high and forward it reduces the length of engagement on the critical drive gear, let's see how that goes and if a divorce is eminent. Funky engineering. -S

SheaDesign
5 months ago

Size of the chainring has nothing to do with what is happening internally, it could be 48 feet and would maintain the 2.5:1 ratio. I have not measured the CX line but would bet you a taco it is the same. I'd like to see 'shift sensing' in action on a bench, when roadies try one of my haibikes they always mash until they learn to backoff for the shift. For now I call hooey ;) - Thanks for the reply and continuous reviews. -S

ElectricBikeReview.com
5 months ago

Thanks for the feedback! I usually say "about 2 times" because Bosch lets manufacturers choose the chainring size (like 15 to 20 teeth) and I thought that would change from exactly 2.5 to more of a range. I believe the shift recommendation has more to do with the motor RPM and recommending you to shift to enable it to help more. Shift sensing tells the motor to ease off for a moment when the derailleur is in action but I'm not sure exactly how it works, I think it senses strain and is software driven... it's not perfect but I'd rather have it than not :)