IZIP E3 Peak DS Review

2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Electric Bike Revew
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Chain Lift Pulley Guide
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Bosch Intuvia Display Panel Removable
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Sram Guide Hydraulic Brake Levers Locking Velo Grips
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Rockshox Monarch Rt3
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds 200 Mm Front Disc Brake Rotor
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds 11 Speed Sram Nx
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Rockshox Reba Air Suspension Rear
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Vented Alloy Skid Plate For Motor
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Electric Bike Revew
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Bosch Powerpack 400 Battery
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Chain Lift Pulley Guide
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Bosch Intuvia Display Panel Removable
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Sram Guide Hydraulic Brake Levers Locking Velo Grips
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Rockshox Monarch Rt3
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds 200 Mm Front Disc Brake Rotor
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds 11 Speed Sram Nx
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Rockshox Reba Air Suspension Rear
2017 Izip E3 Peak Ds Vented Alloy Skid Plate For Motor

Summary

  • A value-driven full suspension electric cross country mountain bike with higher end drive system and components from Bosch, SRAM and RockShox, it's $300 cheaper than prior year with lots of upgrades
  • Beautiful hydroformed frame with inset battery mount and tapered head tube, the motor hangs down a little compared to some other designs I've seen with the Bosch motor but I love the alloy skid plate
  • Large grippy pedals performed well compared to the standard cages I see a lot and wouldn't need replacing, stiff thru-axles on both wheels with quick release, large hydraulic disc brakes with adjustable levers
  • Unique rear suspension design felt stiffer to me, white fork doesn't seem to match the rest of the frame and wasn't my favorite look, solid two-year warranty with a decent dealer network in the USA

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

IZIP

Model:

E3 Peak DS

Price:

$4,199

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, Lifetime Frame

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

51.2 lbs (23.22 kg)

Battery Weight:

5.4 lbs (2.44 kg)

Motor Weight:

8.8 lbs (3.99 kg)

Frame Material:

6061 Aluminium Alloy, Hydroformed

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)19 in (48.26 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Large: 19" Seat Tube, 31" Stand Over Height, 23" Reach, 76.5" Length

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with White and Neon Green Accents

Frame Fork Details:

RockShox Reba Air Suspension with 120 mm Travel, Compression Clicker with Lockout, Rebound Clicker, 71° Slack Angle, 100 mm / 15 mm Thru-Axle with Quick Release

Frame Rear Details:

RockShox Monarch RT3 Air Suspension with 120 mm Travel, Compression Clicker with Lockout, Rebound Clicker, 142 mm / 12 mm Thru Axle with Quick Release

Attachment Points:

Threaded Eyelet on Fork Arch

Gearing Details:

11 Speed 1x11 SRAM NX Derailleur, 11-42 Cogset

Shifter Details:

SRAM NX Triggers on Right

Cranks:

Aluminum Alloy Cranks, 175 mm Length, 18T Narrow-Wide Chainring with Alloy Bash Guard, Chain Pulley Wheel NW with Plastic Guide

Pedals:

Aluminum Alloy Platform, Oversized with Adjustable Pins

Headset:

FSA, Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2"

Stem:

Alloy, 6° Rise, 31.8 mm Bore, 90 mm Length

Handlebar:

Alloy Flat, 720 mm Length

Brake Details:

SRAM Guide Hydraulic Disc with 200 mm Front Rotor and 180 mm Back Rotor, 4 Piston Calipers, SRAM Guide Levers with Tool-Free Adjustable Reach

Grips:

Velo Flat Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Velo Racing

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy, 73° Seat Tube Angle

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

31.6 mm

Rims:

Alexrims MD21, Alloy, Double Wall, 21 mm Width, 32 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Kenda Honey Badger, 27.5" x 2.2"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

30 to 50 PSI, 30 TPI Casing, Wire Bead

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Rubber Slap Guard, Alloy Vented Motor Protector Skid Plate

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 1.6 lb 4 Amp Charger, SRAM PC1130 Chain

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bosch Performance Line CX

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Torque:

75 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

396 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Estimated Max Range:

65 miles (105 km)

Display Type:

Bosch Intuvia, Removable, Adjustable Angle, Grayscale, Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Assist Level (Eco, Tour, Sport, Turbo), Battery Level (1-5), Odometer, Trip Distance, Estimated Range, Clock, Max Speed, Average Speed, Trip Time, Shift Assist Recommendation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left (Up, i, Down), 5 Volt Micro USB Port on Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence and Pedal Torque, Power Output Relative to Pedal Input: Eco 50% 40 Nm, Tour 120% 50 Nm, Sport 210% 60 Nm, Turbo 300% 75 Nm)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

IZIP is one of the older electric bike companies operating in the United States, they’ve been a leader in the mid-level product space for several years and are now owned by the Accell Group which has Raleigh Electric and Haibike as well. It’s a company with good customer support, a solid network of dealers (mostly independent electric bike shops) and a whole range of products. The IZIP E3 Peak DS is at the top end of the spectrum with high-performance components from SRAM and light weight air suspension from RockShox. With 120 mm of travel, and 27.5″ x 2.2″ tires, this is more of a cross country style electric mountain bike. It’s very sturdy and serviceable thanks to 15 mm and 12 mm thru-axles with quick release and an oversized tapered head tube. And since it’s running a 1×11 drivetrain, shifting between gears is smoother (shorter jumps than 8 or 10) but you still get comfortable cadence options for climbing and riding fast. The top assisted speed is 20 mph and it’s easy to hit with the Bosch CX high torque motor. This motor offers software driven shift sensing as well, so the chain, sprockets and derailleur won’t take a beating. Further bolstering the drivetrain is an elevated chain pulley with surrounding guide and a narrow-wide tooth pattern on both the pulley cog and chainring sprocket. This system elevates the chain, reduces chain slap, eliminates kickback and chain slip. Hardware wise, I was very impressed with the new Peak DS and stunned by the price drop of $300 over prior-year model considering the upgraded motor and battery from Bosch vs. TranzX before. The older motor system just wasn’t as responsive or smart as this… still good, but not great.

The Bosch Performance Line CX motor offers 350 watts of nominal output but peaks above 550 and produces a maximum of 75 Newton meters of torque. That’s a lot, it’s exactly what you want for mountain biking and is capable of steep climbs. The motor weight is positioned low and center, mounted to an integrated plate that seamlessly connects it to the seat tube and downtube. More and more, I hear from shops that are specializing in Bosch powered ebikes because they are so reliable… but if it did fail, the motor can be replaced all at once, a new one bolted in place where the old one was. Thes motors aren’t silent but the high pitched whirring noise is mostly eclipsed by the knobby tires on pavement or hard packed Earth. instead of spinning a traditionally sized chainring (or chainrings) the sprocket is smaller (18 tooth) and spins roughly twice for every pedal rotation. This empowers the motor with a mechanical advantage and allows the chain to start and stop very quickly. It does not however, elevate the chain as a normal sprocket would and thus, the chain pully system is extra important. The motor controller measures rear wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque 1,000 times per second and that makes it perfect for navigating unstable terrain where starting and stopping is critical.

Just like the motor, the battery is mounted low and center along the downtube of the frame. It’s actually inset slightly and blends in with the dark gray paint. With the Bosch Powerpack 400 and 500, you get convenience and access to the battery with quick removability but it’s not as hidden as the Brose batteries and some others from Easy Motion and other companies. You can charge the battery on or off the bike and it only weighs ~5.5 lbs so carrying it around by the plastic loop handle feels secure. The only consideration is with mounting and dismounting the pack because it’s sort of wedged below the top tube and rear suspension shock. The pack pops upwards and could collide with these other sections of the bike and get scratched… not a huge issue, but there definitely isn’t room for a bottle cage in there and the top tube might have been raised more than otherwise necessary to accommodate this battery design. Note also that the latest Bosch powerpack 500 is compatible with the interface here. What you get is the older more standard Bosch Powerpack 400 with roughly 396 watt hours of capacity. It’s a solid pack with excellent range, an integrated LED charge level indicator on the side and a solid locking core with metal slat to keep secure. One final compliment here goes to IZIP for their large rubber plug design that fits in to keep dust and water out of the charging port area on the left side of the downtube below the battery pack. It felt solid but wasn’t difficult to remove and would be easy to use with gloves on. So many other charge port covers are small, difficult to press in, prone to coming loose and just plain frustrating. The only catch here is that the plug doesn’t have any sort of connection to the frame and could get left behind if you set it down while charging.

Operation of the electronic systems on this bike feels professional and natural. Once the battery is charged and mounted, just press the power button on the lower left of the Bosch Intuvia display panel. From there, the screen flickers to life showing speed, a battery icon and an assist level chart with a little power graph next to it. This power graph jumps up and down as you pedal and helps to demonstrate how much energy the motor is using to give you support. I tend to ride in the second level of assist with quick jumps up to the highest level for climbing. Range can vary between 30 and 60 miles per charge which is very impressive for a mountain bike with knobby tires. The motor naturally works with you and requires pedaling to activate… but doesn’t quite as you pedal faster and faster. Some competing products seem to offer a limited RPM while Bosch is much wider. As a rider with hurt knees, I love being able to quickly reach over with my left thumb to arrow up or down on the button pad then immediately feel a boost of energy even while spinning quickly. I tend to go for cardio spinning vs. lumbering hard pushes due to my sensitivity and Bosch feels the best to me for this style. While the display is removable, it isn’t as small as some of the other options out there and might get scratched or broken off if you take a hard fall. For this reason, I sometimes take the display completely off before bombing a big descent. In addition to a soft backlight glow and the option to integrate LED lights with help from your dealer, the Intuvia display panel has a little Micro USB port on
the right side for charging a portable electronic device.

The experience I had with the IZIP E3 Peak DS was great, a big step up from the 2015 and 2016 models and on par with Haibike and other brands that also use Bosch. The biggest downside was style… the design and color scheme just didn’t excite me the way that some other models have and it seems like the white front fork didn’t match the gray and green frame. This is especially true when comparing to the 2015 model with red and black integrated throughout. When riding… I’d never notice and maybe a coat of trail dust would completely eliminate this vanity consideration. For the price, though it may sound high to someone new to the ebike space, I feel like you get a solid product here, very solid. And being able to choose from two frame sizes means you’ll get a bike that fits you and rides better. The dealer network cannot be overstated but given the reputation for reliability that Bosch has built in Europe and the USA it’s possible that you could buy this once from an ebike shop then have it serviced at any normal bicycle outlet. The wheels and shifting mechanisms are all standard bicycle hardware that won’t intimidate or require additional training to service. Big thanks to IZIP for partnering with me on this review and letting me hang out at their headquarters for a few days to see the new stuff :)

Pros:

  • Significant motor and battery upgrade from the 2015 model, you get Bosch vs. TranzX which delivers shift sensing, a nicer motor integration (with alloy skid plate) and larger removable display panel yet it costs $300 less!
  • IZIP went above and beyond with their battery integration here, notice how the downtube is molded around the pack letting it inset and blend in at both the top and bottom
  • Unique rear suspension isolates vertical travel and felt stiffer to me, should handle the higher speeds of an electric bike well and is optimized for cross country riding from what I could tell
  • Awesome pedals, they’re large and stiff with great traction points (metal pins), way better than some of the prior-year cage style pedals in my opinion
  • Smart chain guide system with elevated pulley wheel designed to eliminate kickback and phantom shifting as the rear swing arm travels up and down, it also keeps the chain from dropping with a full-surround guide piece and raises it to reduce chain slap
  • The chain guide and chainring use narrow wide tooth patterns to prevent chain slip and rattling, the teeth on the cogs fit more snugly into the alternating chain links
  • Great rubber slap guard on the rear right chainstay, many bikes aiming to be affordable use a clear plastic sticker but this one felt higher quality and is probably more important on a dual suspension setup
  • Great choice of motor with the Bosch CX high-torque model, it offers 75 Nm of torque which is perfect for climbing and trail riding
  • Given that the Bosch system only currently offers a single front chainring option, I like that IZIP put an 11 speed cogset on this bike vs. 10, it helps you hit and maintain the 20 mph top speed comfortably while still climbing efficiently at low speeds given the 51.2 lb curb weight of the bike
  • Awesome hydraulic disc brakes with larger rotors (I found it strange that the front rotor is 200 mm vs. the more common 203 mm but perhaps it’s a SRAM thing vs. Shimano), the levers offer tool-free adjustable reach which is convenient
  • The bike is available in two different sizes, this is great for tall and short riders alike… especially given the diamond high-step frame design used to boost strength and accommodate the rear suspension
  • Sturdy thru-axle design for both the front and rear wheels, both offer quick release systems for easy trail maintenance or transport, overbuilt tapered head tube also adds stiffness for off-road riding strength
  • I like the rubber plug design they’ve created for the battery charge port on the left side of the frame, it’s large and stays put but be careful not to set it down and ride off without it (there’s no leash system to keep it with the bike)
  • Great internal routing on the shifter cables and braking mechanisms, the frame looks clean and won’t snag or bend as easily in rugged conditions
  • The Bosch battery charger is great, not only is it relatively light weight and compact but it puts out 4 Amps vs. 2 Amps on most other chargers so you can fill your bike faster
  • I love that both the battery pack and display can be locked to the frame but are also easily removable, this is convenient for moving the bike (to reduce weight) or if you need to park it outside and want to keep the sensitive bits nice
  • The display panel has a built-in Micro USB charging port on the left side, this could be useful for charging a light or keeping your phone topped off if you use Strava or another GPS app
  • Solid two-year warranty backed by larger companies (the Accell Group which owns IZIP and Bosch), there are also more dealers for this brand so you can maybe test ride it and get fitted locally

Cons:

  • I don’t love the color scheme, the fork is bright white while the rest of the frame is dark gray with green accents, it just doesn’t look like it matches
  • Bosch has a new 500 watt hour battery pack that would take you further but the Peak DS comes with the older 400 watt hour (still great) probably to keep the cost down… the good news is that the mounting interface is forward compatible so you could upgrade later if you wanted
  • The battery pops “up” instead of sliding out to the sides and given the tight inner triangle of the frame here (especially with the rear suspension) it can be a little bit trickier to put on and off and I think it forces them to raise the top tube height which changes the stand over height of the bike
  • While the battery is easier to access for removal and is more standardized for future replacement, it isn’t as hidden as some other designs like those from Brose and people might know your bike is electric as a result, for mountain biking sometimes it’s nice to blend in more if you can

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More IZIP Reviews

IZIP E3 Peak+ Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A mean looking cross country style hardtail electric mountain bike, beautifully integrated battery pack and motor keep weight low and center, has rear-rack bosses!. Locking removable battery pack can be charged on or off the bike, the display is…...

IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A value-priced urban electric bike that includes fenders, integrated LED lights, a rear rack, and hydraulic disc brakes, it's available in three frame sizes but only high-step. This is a high-speed Class 3 ebike that can reach ~28 mph assisted and because…...

IZIP E3 Sumo Review

  • MSRP: $3,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A rigid electric fat bike with provisions for front and rear racks, available in two frame sizes for improved fit, designed with a steep top tube for comfortable stand over and steadying. Beautifully integrated Bosch Performance Line CX motor and battery pack, downtube is cut away and…...

IZIP E3 Go Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A purpose-built electric tricycle with efficient and well-balanced middrive motor system, powerful 48 volt battery and optional second battery bay for increased range, rear wheel drive offers good traction. Comfortable swept-back handlebar with ergonomic grips, massive padded saddle with springs and hybrid tires keep…...

IZIP E3 ProTour Review

  • MSRP: $2,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the coolest looking, most feature rich high-speed electric bicycles I've tested... the battery is beautifully integrated and the small motor stays almost completely hidden behind the chainring. Pedal assist gets you 28 mph using speed, cadence and torque sensing and you can…...

2016 IZIP E3 Sumo Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

One of the lighter weight, higher powered and more affordable off-road capable fat bikes I've tested, you get 15 mm and 12 mm thru-axles with quick release and punched out rims. Sturdy Shimano M396 hydraulic disc brakes front and rear, no motor inhibitors in the levers…...

IZIP E3 Peak Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A 650B hardtail trail or mountain ebike with a powerful 73 Nm mid-drive motor, it's one of the quieter motors but less responsive (mostly cadence sensing) and no shift sensing. Nice 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes, quick release for both wheels and a 15 mm…...

2016 IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A feature complete speed pedelec (capable of ~28 mph top speeds) with a high torque mid-drive motor from TranzX. Quality full length plastic fenders from SKS with integrated mud flaps, mid-level suspension fork with…...

IZIP E3 Path+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An efficient, light weight commuter electric bike available in two frame sizes and high-step or step-thru styles, the adjustable stem and swept back bars support a surprisingly comfortable upright body position. Narrower tires, firm saddle and all-Aluminum frame and fork provide great power transfer when pedaling…...

IZIP E3 Vibe+ Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An approachable electric bike with deep low-step frame, adjustable stem, swept back handle bars and a large comfortable saddle. Simple linear pull brakes work well and are easy to adjust, quick release skewers on…...

IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A high powered, cruiser style electric bike with four levels of zippy pedal assist and a twist throttle drive mode. Available in two high-step sizes (18" and 20") and one step-thru (18") for easier mounting,…...

2015 IZIP E3 Sumo Review

  • MSRP: $3,650
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

One of the only fat tire style electric bikes I've tested to date that is legally capable of 25+ mph top speeds in pedal assist mode. Good value considering the custom fat frame in two sizes, solid warranty and availability, hydraulic…...

2015 IZIP E3 Peak DS Review

  • MSRP: $4,500
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Full suspension electric bike with powerful mid-drive motor for effective climbing and balanced weight, higher ~28 mph top speed. Removable battery pack and quick release wheels make charging and servicing convient, reduce weight when…...

2015 IZIP E3 Peak Review

  • MSRP: $3,100
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Hardtail trail-ready electric bike with powerful centerdrive motor for effective climbing and balanced weight, ~28 mph top speed. Removable battery pack for convenient charging and reduced transport weight, lockout suspension fork by RockShox…...

2015 IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,550
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Cruiser style electric bike with two frame styles, two frame sizes, 11 custom colors and a wonderfully balanced purpose-built frame. Removable battery can be charged on or off the bike, optional matching fenders, rear rack…...

2015 IZIP E3 Path+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,600
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Near-silent commuter style electric bike offering pedal assist and throttle mode, fenders and a carry rack. Comfortable ride with upright seating position, swept back handlebars and oversized Velo comfort saddle...

2015 IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

High performance city style electric bike that offers throttle mode up to 20mph and pedal assist up to 28mph. Comfortable ride with oversized 700x45c tires, suspension fork with lockout and updated Velo Street saddle...

IZIP E3 Twn:exp Review

  • MSRP: $2,900
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

A sturdy, highly adjustable city bike that's perfect for rentals or fleets. High torque 400 watt direct drive motor is quiet and extremely durable, encased in rear…...

2014 IZIP E3 Path+ Review

  • MSRP: $2,200
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

An active urban-style electric bike with near-silent motor operation and clean design helping it blend in. Strong 500 watt motor paired with large 48 volt battery that's removable and uses premium…...

IZIP E3 Metro Review

  • MSRP: $2,800
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy, stiff and capable of hauling cargo with the reinforced front basket and welded rear rack. Oversized tires, adjustable stem and seat post suspension improved comfort when riding...

2014 IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,400
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Clean design with integrated battery pack improves balance, eight frame colors to choose from. Delivers smooth pedal assist and twist throttle mode for easy start from rest...

2014 IZIP E3 Dash Review

  • MSRP: $2,600
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

High quality features and well rounded drive system at an excellent price. Strong but quiet 500 watt gearless rear hub motor offers throttle mode and torque-sensing pedal…...

2014 IZIP E3 Peak Review

  • MSRP: $3,000
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Mid-level off road electric mountain bike with excellent weight distribution. Centerdrive motor offers high-torque, leverages rear cassette and makes servicing wheels and tires much easier...

2013 IZIP E3 Metro Review

  • MSRP: $2,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Strong 500 watt motor is capable of moving heavier riders and heavier loads in the integrated racks. Weight is spread out from rear and kept low to the ground with battery built…...

IZIP E3 Compact Review

  • MSRP: $2,150
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Built on the industry leading Dahon single speed folding bicycle frame. Offers both pedal assist and twist and go throttle mode...

IZIP E3 Path Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

An affordable, classic style electric bike with balanced features. Weaker 250 watt motor offers less torque but also weighs less...

2013 IZIP E3 Zuma Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Solid frame with oversized cushy tires and seat delivers a fluid enjoyable ride. Powerful 500 watt geared rear hub motor paired with 36 volt Lithium-ion battery offers torque…...

IZIP Express Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2012, 2013

Ultra powerful and rugged long-range electric bike, originally designed for use by the Los Angeles police force for urban patrols. Unique mid-drive belt system delivers high torque for climbing and accelerating, speed pedelec design capable…...

IZIP E3 Ultra Review

  • MSRP: $2,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Powerful 500 Watt motor paired with strong 36 Volt battery for acceleration and climbing ability. Sensitive pedal assist mode becomes jerky when climbing hills but is otherwise very responsive...

IZIP E3 Vibe Review

  • MSRP: $999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Upright seating with high-rise handlebars, wide sprung saddle and seat post shock for improved comfort. 250 watt brushless rear hub motor works well with pedal assist or throttle mode for…...

IZIP Trekking Enlightened Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2009

Discontinued in 2009, replaced with the E3 Path which is sturdier, less expensive and features twist throttle as well as pedal assist. Designed to be pedaled, the Trekking Enlightened lacks throttle mode but features 24 speed, lights,…...

IZIP Urban Cruiser Enlightened Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2009

A relaxed, comfortable and stable cruiser style electric bike with integrated downtube-battery that keeps weight low and center. Smooth torque sensing pedal assist is responsive but requires more care when working on the…...


Jim Taylor
3 months ago

So how would this bike compare with the Bull’s bike with the Bosch CX motor? Thanks

Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Jim! There are several full suspension options from Bulls including ones with the Bosch CX and others with the Brose motor. If the drive system is the same I’d say the big differences will be wheel size, suspension design, frame sizes and a bit of geometry along with the look and price. Unfortunately, I’m not expert enough to dive too much deeper into the details of one frame vs. another but I always consider weight and stand over height when I choose an ebike. I hope this helps a little! Feel free to ask in the forums for more advice too :)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

GuruUno
4 days ago

$999!!!!!

only 350 miles

Great deal and opportunity to get a great deal for a fantastic price.

Cash sale only, local pickup Metuchen, NJ 08840

Interested parties reply to this posting via methods here within, as me posting my e-mail and/or phone number only encourages spammers.

Also posted on Craigslist (CNJ)
https://cnj.craigslist.org/bik/6188270957.html
Back problems, getting a different style bike.

Although I love this, I'm too old for a mountain bike.

Hardtail trail-ready electric bike with powerful center-drive motor for effective climbing and balanced weight, ~28 mph top speed
Removable battery pack for convenient charging and reduced transport weight, lockout suspension fork by RockShox for improved efficiency on flat terrain, upgraded 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes with motor cutoff, quick release wheels for easy maintenance

MAKE: IZIP
MODEL: E3 Peak
MSRP PRICE: $3,100 USD
BODY POSITION: Forward
SUGGESTED USE: Urban, Trail
ELECTRIC BIKE CLASS: Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
MODEL YEAR: 2015

Bicycle Details
TOTAL WEIGHT: 49 lbs (22.22 kg)
FRAME MATERIAL: 6061 Aluminum Alloy
FRAME SIZES: 19 in (48.26 cm)
GEOMETRY MEASUREMENTS: (Wheelbase 1125 mm and 1150 mm, Stand Over Height 753 mm and 791 mm)
FRAME TYPES: High-Step
FRAME COLORS: Black with Orange Accents
FRAME FORK DETAILS: RockShox XC30 TK 27.5" Suspension with 100 mm Travel
ATTACHMENT POINTS: Rear Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses
GEARING DETAILS: 10 Speed 1x10 SRAM X7, 11-36T
SHIFTER DETAILS: SRAM X7 Triggers on Right Bar
CRANKS: Lasco, 38T Sprocket
PEDALS: Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform
HEADSET: VP Semi-Integrated Ahead
STEM: Zoom 3D Forged Aluminum Alloy
HANDLEBAR: Tranz-X ATB, Low Rise
BRAKE DETAILS: Tektro Auriga E-Sub Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitor
GRIPS: Velo Locking, Flat Rubber
SADDLE: Velo Racing
SEAT POST: TranzX Alloy with Micro Adjust
SEAT POST LENGTH: 350 mm
SEAT POST DIAMETER: 31.6 mm
RIMS: Alex Volar 2.1 Doublewall
SPOKES: Stainless Steel
TIRE BRAND: CST Patrol 650b, 27.5" x 2.25"
WHEEL SIZES: 27.5 in (69.85cm)
TUBE DETAILS: Schrader Valve
ACCESSORIES: Aluminum Alloy Bash Guard and Chain Guide
OTHER: Quick Release on Front and Rear Wheels, Locking Removable Battery Pack, KMC X10eRB High Torque Rust Proof Chain

Electronic Details
MOTOR BRAND: TranzX
MOTOR TYPE: Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
MOTOR NOMINAL OUTPUT: 350 watts
BATTERY VOLTAGE: 48 volts
BATTERY AMP HOURS: 8.7 ah
BATTERY WATT HOURS: 417.6 wh
BATTERY CHEMISTRY: Lithium-ion
CHARGE TIME: 5 hours
ESTIMATED MIN RANGE: 25 miles (40 km)
ESTIMATED MAX RANGE: 35 miles (56 km)
DISPLAY TYPE: Backlit Monochrome LCD, Fixed with Adjustable Angle
READOUTS: Speed, Odometer, Battery Capacity, Assist Level (1-4), Range Estimation
DISPLAY ACCESSORIES: Independent Button Pad on Left Bar
DRIVE MODE: Advanced Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (Measures Speed, Cadence and Torque)
TOP SPEED: 28 mph (45 kph) (6 mph Throttle Only, 20 mph Throttle with Pedaling)

1/1
Mark Peralta
4 days ago

The ST2 was AMAZING!! It is exactly the feeling I was looking for. I couldn't believe how fine tune-able it was. It was super easy to "fly" on that thing but it's 7K!!! What is it about the ST2 that achieves such a nice feel and why aren't there any other bikes with the same ride feel! The bike was definitely heavy and I felt the weight but it can just take off! The shop also told me about the ST1X but they didn't have one to test ride it.

For sure. The shop is offering me a brand new Quick.E for 2.5K. The stromer ST2 is 7K. They didn't have a program where I could rent the ST2. It really is a hard decision to make with only a 30 minute test ride. I never thought I would one day contemplate spending 7K on a bike but here we are!

You can only get that "continuous acceleration feeling" on hub driven ebikes since there is no power interruption when shifting. If 7k is too much for you, then you may certainly try the St1. Other hub driven options that you may be interested in are the following:

OHM Urban or Sport
BULLS Outlaw E45
Easy motion Nitros
Magnum Peak
Smartmotions
Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent
leftover Specialized turbos
leftover 2015 Izip E3 Dash

Good luck!

Al P
1 week ago

My 250w motor will reach 500w at peak, but even when shifting down, I still have to apply considerable force to get up steep hills. Add to that high speed pedaling while going nowhere. This defeats the whole purpose for buying an ebike. My 500w bike has 750w peak power and climbs steep Adirondack hills with no problem. Even my wife's 350w motor climbs with ease. If it didn't, she would be clamoring for a new bike. I would never buy another bike with a 250w motor unless I lived in a place like southern Florida, where there are no steep hills.

JRA
2 weeks ago

I ride a bike that will maintain 28+ on level ground and am 195.

While it is possible to get to 28 just by putting a Vado, or the equivalent EU-US spec class III bike, in turbo getting it in the highest gear ratio and pedaling to activate the PAS I don't see how one could maintain that speed for very long given that their peak power output is at the most 700 or so watts. And at that you are going to be burning wh's much like as represented above. Few that I have seen have a final drive ratio high enough also that won't have both the motor and your legs rpm's maxed out. My setup does however allowing for a comfortable cadence at speed while adding as much wattage of my own as desired.

In comparison there is a big difference between going 20 mph and 28 in regards to pushing though the air and how much power that takes. This is from a more typical ride

Both were done with active but no sweat pedaling in similar terrain although the longer ride had one decent climb, another wh drain. Almost twice the distance and half the wh/mi at the slower average pace is a substantial gain and why most of my riding is done averaging in the high teens to lower 20mph.

Although motorcycles get decent gas mileage I have always thought they should do better given their power to weight ratio, but now I think it is because of the poor aero dynamics of the human form at speeds over 25mph.

1/2
Jax
2 weeks ago

I recently bought the 2016 Dash on sale for $1499 and wish I had sprung for a higher quality motor like on the Bulls bikes. The TranzX motor on the Dash uses a cadence sensor, which is way less fun to ride than a good torque sensing motor. Court just posted on the 2017 IZIP Peak, which uses a Bosch mid-drive. He said it compares well to the budget Bulls option.

Jax
2 weeks ago

After a week or two riding the Dash, I've come to appreciate some of its strengths. The mid-drive motor is much more efficient and more powerful up hills than my other bike with the hub motor, despite similar nominal wattage. The integrated lights and rack are nice too. Its plenty zippy. And I've gotten used to the shifting, as you guys suggested. It's counterintuitive to stop pedaling for a full second before shifting, but it's not that bad.

Unfortunately, my wife doesn't like the feel of the cadence sensor and she feels the motor makes her go faster than she wants to go, even on low assist. I'll probably keep it around for a while in case she gets used to it and as a backup bike for my commute for days when I want an easier ride. It's actually not a bad bike, I just prefer a torque sensor.

Now the 2017 Peak+ and the similar Bulls model that both have the Bosch mid-drive look awesome, even if they top out at 20 mph.

Sonoboy
3 weeks ago

Look for the words 'nominal' and 'peak' when reading motor specs. This may explain the different numbers you described. I usually play it safe and use the nominal figures when comparing equipment; the problem is, without an e-bike standard, many manufacturers cite the figure that makes their product look good, regardless of how it may perform in the real world. The automotive industry solved this issue decades ago by developing a standard dynamometer test to determine horsepower ratings. The e-bike world needs to follow suit.

JeffDG
3 weeks ago

Hello!
WOW! I knew e-bikes were emerging, but until my research research I had no idea the number of brands and offerings! Cost is still a factor, so I'm looking to merge the capabilities of a mountain bike with a commuter. Right now, I have a Trek 29er but because of the hills around here and asthma I don't go out much. That and I'm not overly sold on the 29er concept...

So...here is a rundown of my "must haves" and my "like to haves" followed by a couple options that seem to fit the bill.

Price: $2k (give or take)
Wheel size: strongly prefer 27.5"
Tires: not particularly relevant as I'd probably have to change to something amenable to both activities.
Drive: prefer a mid-drive
Suspension: Must have 100mm front suspension... full suspension would be wicked!!... could do front rack in that case (e.g., Thule pack n pedal)?????
Method of drive: prefer torque sensing with throttle
Accessories: needs to have the ability for a rack, fenders, and lights; prefer if they come pre-installed with lights integrated into the electric system
Class: Must be class III (20mph throttle / 28mph assist)

So far I found two that fit these criteria and two more that, well, might just be shooting for the stars:
1. Magnum Peak: a geared hub-driven mountain bike with bolt ons for racks etc.
2. M2S XC Sport - there is a dearth of info on this brand - but this site has done a review of the impressive drive system. The range seems low... are they just a conservative bunch?

is there an option for a 500W motor upgrade
is there an option for battery upgrades
Possible to add a throttle?
is there a gear-shift sensor?
Are the head/tail lights integrated into the electric system?

3. M2S Dual Sport - this is a full-suspension mountain bike...not sure it would work, but it would be incredibly cool if it could!
4. M2S All Go - this looks so cool! And so light! 37 lbs! What!?!?! Looks like there's an option for front suspension based on their photos, but it's not listed on the drop down menus.

It seems that Magnum has been around for at least 7 years...which is a good sign. The M2S fits more criteria but they seem to be an incredibly new company, which has its risks...on the other hand... the parts seem to be all available elsewhere (Bafang Max drive system... shimano shifters, etc.)... M2S' website, while looks great and is nicely navigable, does leave some questions.

I'm open to other options and/or input on the ones above...

THANKS!!

EDIT: Add to the short list the Biktrix Monte 1000... that also seems to fit the criteria. Has a BBS02 motor, hard tail, etc etc.

Dewey
4 weeks ago

Hi Nazar,

Luna Cycle have an Aussie location in Perth selling their kits and offering free shipping on parts (not batteries or bikes) from California when you pay $1,000 through their Australian website (easily done with motor and battery). You might consider converting something like a Fuji Beartooth 1.3 with 3 inch wide tires, front suspension fork, and Tektro hydraulic disc brakes, the bike is $1400 AUD and a BBSHD motor with battery is $1750 AUD with tax, so just a bit over your $3k budget. The 30A controller and 52V battery combo means peak power of around 1500W, half again more powerful and 30lb lighter than the bike in the link you posted.

mrgold35
4 weeks ago

I have two Radrovers with the newer controller programming. The old controller would put my max PAS at level 2 for most inclines to keep the watts under 500. The newer controller allows me to use PAS 3 with no problems with any incline and up toPAS 4 with peak watts at 540-550. I like the newer programming because I can increase my mph and less time fighting the hill. I also factor in my weight (260 lbs+gear), bike weight (+75 lbs), elevation (4900-5400 ft on work commute), and headwind (10-15 mph with 20-25 mph gusts). I do apply the throttle on short really steep inclines up to the 750 watts; but, that is only for a 15-30 seconds on average. I really don't use PAS 5 that often with the new programming.

I figure the Hub motor doesn't feel much difference between an incline, headwind, or extra weight. I just try and keep the sustained watts at 550 or less in all riding conditions. I try to keep peak sustained watts 600-750 for short runs for a few minutes max.

Mark Peralta
1 month ago

Here is some data from a ride today. Distance was 9.95 miles each way. All data was collected using a Garmin Edge 1000 and Garmin Connect. At the end of each leg, data was uploaded to Strava. There was a positive elevation change of 200-250 feet on each leg.

On the outbound leg I rode with my daughter's unassisted bike using ECO50% on my Specialized base Turbo (200W nominal motor). I averaged 16.1 mph using 11% of my 691 Wh battery. This suggests a total range of around 90 miles, a consumption of 7.7 Wh/mile, and battery consumption of 124 watts/ hour. Strava estimated I was averaging 137 W power output (me and the bike). Average heart rate was 91 bpm with a max of 116 bpm. Average cadence was 74 rpm. At this speed and heart rate, I felt like I could ride all day.

On the return leg, I rode by myself in full TURBO mode as fast as I practically could. I averaged 21.1 mph using 23% of the battery. This suggests a total range of around 43 miles and a consumption of 16 Wh/mile and a motor consumption of 338 watts/hour. Strava estimated I was averaging 271 W average power output. Average heart rate was 118 bpm with a max of 132 bpm. Average cadence was 84 rpm. Note that due to an MI in 2000, I take beta blockers, so the average and peak heart rates in this regime are flirting with my aerobic/anerobic threshold. I doubt I could ride at this level for the entire 40+ mile range. I would need to back off and cruise to bring heart rates down every 5-10 miles or so.

Conclusions:

The 200W Specialized Turbo is a pedal assist, but clearly I am working and contributing a lot of my own "watts".
The system is very efficient to be able to run at well under 7.7 Wh/mi at ECO50%.
With the large Turbo S battery, this bike has a LOT of range.
Unlike the Stromer ST-2 or Specialized Turbo S, even though the bike is a speed pedelec, it is not an "average 25+ mph" type of bike. I would consider the base Turbo an "average 18-20 mph" type of bike at ECO70% to full TURBO settings.
Motor output (nominal 200W) and motor power consumption are two different things. At full TURBO, my bike was consuming 338 Watts per hour, while it would not have averaged much over 200 W of actual power output.
Increasing speed from 16.1 mph to 21.1 mph increased the electrical demand per mile by a factor of 2.08 (Wh/mile) and increased battery usage per unit time by a factor 2.72 (Watts per hour).

Those are nice figures but those information are extrapolated via the bike's computer algorithm.

How about real world range from fully charged to full discharge or 1 flashing bar? How many miles does your bike goes with combined usage (both high and low PAS)?

Douglas Ruby
1 month ago

Here is some data from a ride today. Distance was 9.95 miles each way. All data was collected using a Garmin Edge 1000 and Garmin Connect. At the end of each leg, data was uploaded to Strava. There was a positive elevation change of 200-250 feet on each leg.

On the outbound leg I rode with my daughter's unassisted bike using ECO50% on my Specialized base Turbo (200W nominal motor). I averaged 16.1 mph using 11% of my 691 Wh battery. This suggests a total range of around 90 miles, a consumption of 7.7 Wh/mile, and battery consumption of 124 watts/ hour. Strava estimated I was averaging 137 W power output (me and the bike). Average heart rate was 91 bpm with a max of 116 bpm. Average cadence was 74 rpm. At this speed and heart rate, I felt like I could ride all day.

On the return leg, I rode by myself in full TURBO mode as fast as I practically could. I averaged 21.1 mph using 23% of the battery. This suggests a total range of around 43 miles and a consumption of 16 Wh/mile and a motor consumption of 338 watts/hour. Strava estimated I was averaging 271 W average power output. Average heart rate was 118 bpm with a max of 132 bpm. Average cadence was 84 rpm. Note that due to an MI in 2000, I take beta blockers, so the average and peak heart rates in this regime are flirting with my aerobic/anerobic threshold. I doubt I could ride at this level for the entire 40+ mile range. I would need to back off and cruise to bring heart rates down every 5-10 miles or so.

Conclusions:

The 200W Specialized Turbo is a pedal assist, but clearly I am working and contributing a lot of my own "watts".
The system is very efficient to be able to run at well under 7.7 Wh/mi at ECO50%.
With the large Turbo S battery, this bike has a LOT of range.
Unlike the Stromer ST-2 or Specialized Turbo S, even though the bike is a speed pedelec, it is not an "average 25+ mph" type of bike. I would consider the base Turbo an "average 18-20 mph" type of bike at ECO70% to full TURBO settings.
Motor output (nominal 200W) and motor power consumption are two different things. At full TURBO, my bike was consuming 338 Watts per hour, while it would not have averaged much over 200 W of actual power output.
Increasing speed from 16.1 mph to 21.1 mph increased the electrical demand per mile by a factor of 2.08 (Wh/mile) and increased battery usage per unit time by a factor 2.72 (Watts per hour).

Mike H.
1 month ago

very close to getting a Peak - I wish it came in a larger 20 or 21 inch frame tho.

Ann M.
1 month ago

@GuruUno are you trying to figure out wiring for this battery? If so, you need it to go to the controller first, not directly to the motor. The Izip E3Peak was first produced in 2014 and Currie Tech/Raleigh has some technical information on its old site that may help. I've included a link to page with images of a TransX motor replacement which has a couple of pics with wiring visible that may help.

Also, consider contacting RPE (Rechargeable Power Energy) in Nevada, they specialize in rebuilding ebike batteries along with other lithium power packs. You ship them the battery, they do diagnostics and come back with recommendations and pricing.

GuruUno
1 month ago

Which one of these connectors is in the motor off of the mount for the downtube on the iZip E3 Peak?
I attempted to remove the mount but the wires go deep inside and without removing the side cover access plate on the motor, I will not know.
I only want to remove 1 time, hence asking here 1st.
The battery I need is from AliExpress, anywhere for $250 to $450, 48 to 52v, up to 16Ah....so I may pull the trigger on this.
Any experiences for a similar attempt?

DubNation
1 month ago

Hi,
I'm new to e-bikes and would like to purchase one soon. I'd like one that has a 28mph top speed, can be used on moderately difficult trails, and is under 3k. I live in the Bay Area and only ride on the weekends for fun. Usually I ride on flat and smooth dirt trails, but if I get an e-bike, I'd also like to ride some easy trails in the Santa Cruz Mountains. Of the bikes I've researched on-line, the Juiced CrossCurrent, Trek XM700, Trek Powerfly 5, and Magnum Peak look really cool to me. Let me know if these bikes would work for me, or if you have any other recommendations.
Thanks
Chris

GuruUno
1 month ago

"proprietary battery with different voltage output at different pins"
I noticed this while trying to get a readout, and saw the different voltages, which is another thing that has been bugging me.
There is a thread about using a 48v horn on an e-bike.....I can't get any activation of the horn when connecting to the 48v pins.
Last year I posted on this with no replies:

I've read that some have used a 48v electric horn on their 48v e-bikes.
I bought 2 of them, as I was of the belief the 1st one was no good.
The second one I got also did not work.
I take the battery off of my iZip E3 Peak, I take a voltmeter/tester to verify the voltage from the proper pins are correct (one set reads 48v, another reads 36v), and I test the horn by placing one wire on each terminal that shows voltage (the 48v set), and I get zero response from the horn.
Am I missing something?
I make reference to this link that discusses the use and installation, I sent the author an e-mail months ago, zero reply.
(link: http://www.ebikeschool.com/review-a-super-loud-ebike-horn-for-only-3/ )
Anybody have any ideas how/why?
I really, really want this horn.

GuruUno
1 month ago

"not until most recently"
As far as I know, they have been always available, where else recently?
Called Currie (Raleigh now) today, said $589.88 + tax + $50 shipping.
OUCH!
BUT, several bike shops have last years model of E3 Peak for $1250, so do I open almost $700 for a new battery or replace the bike?
Also, at what cost/who can rebuild existing battery for a spare?
One would think that the cost would have come down in all these years....

Mikey
1 month ago

Aloha! I find it hard to believe a 250w/37v/15a brose system can climb as well as a 750w/48v/25a Bafang set-up. The numbers just don't support the contention.

Also, that squealing sound you hear when your brose motor is at peak RPMs is most likely the belt slipping despite being notched to align with the cog. That the brose system feels under powered as compared to the other mid drive motors is objective fact, born out by numerous rider accounts, and eMTB mag time trials. The cause is most likely due to a conservative motor regime to protect that belt I am guessing. That puts the question well beyond subjective experience, IMO.

My BBS02 has a 42 tooth lekkie front sprocket vs the FS3 28 tooth. The FS3 also has 40 tooth rear sprocket vs my BBS02 34 tooth rear sprocket. That's why I credited the Evo's drive train giving it the mechanical advantages to climb just as well as my BBS02. If my BBS02 had a similar drive train, it would pop a wheelie constantly on any steep climb.

From the pictures I've seen, the belt on the Brose motor is a synchronous belt with toothed sprocket. If the belt was jumping teeth, there'd be a distinct vibration and sound and definite power loss.

RoadWrinkle
1 month ago

I weight 215 and my Evo can climb just as good as my BBS02 mountain
Aloha. I find it hard to understand how a 250w/37v/15a brose system can climb as well as a 750w/48v/25a Bafang set-up. The numbers just don't support the contention.

That the brose system feels under powered as compared to the other mid drive motors is objective fact, born out by numerous rider accounts, and eMTB mag time trials. The cause is most likely due to a conservative motor regime (relaxed sensor settings in the firmware) to protect that belt I am guessing. That puts the question well beyond subjective experience, IMO.

Also, that squealing sound you hear when your brose motor is stressed and at peak RPMs could be the belt slipping despite being notched to align with the cog; better than a torn belt.

GuruUno
1 month ago

Looking as to where the freshest and least cost battery exists. Also here in NJ as to where to get one. And who can rebuild the original one for a spare. Expected costs. Optional increase in configuration like ah etc. is this something to consider or just stay with OEM?
Finally might consider just getting a new 2017 with Bosch motor style newer version of iZip or similar if a shop accepts trade in and offers a decent price.
Sooner than later replies would be greatly appreciated. Existing battery is fine it's just that I'm approaching 2 years 4000 miles and although I've replaced the tires casette and chain I'm wanting to be pro active rather than reactive.

RoadWrinkle
1 month ago

I can get to 40-42 kmph without wind when I work with the bike
I always pedal with a fair amount of effort on all ebikes I ride (even the throttled cruiser). I think the issue here is that my subjective experience with my 250w motor is not the same as your subjective experience with your 250w motor. I am guessing your not 250 lbs or more(?). No question the power performance would be different for a smaller rider with less motor load. The European manufacturers "massage" the 250w maximum laws by having larger amperage controllers that push peak wattage up to 100% of nominal, and the motors can take it. Why not offer a 500w/48v/25a configuration that peaks at 1200w if your going to offer a 250w/36v/20a system peaking at 720w?

PRW
1 month ago

I am looking at selling my Hanebrink X2 - the 48v version. I am not riding it as much as I thought I would - just too many bikes! Please, no silly offers - I would rather keep it for the future than sell it for a silly price. $3,000 plus shipping cost from Sunnyvale, CA

Details are here:

https://www.electricbike.com/hanebrink/

http://www.electricbikeaction.com/and-n ... different/

Highlight features:

FASTACE Dual Crown Triple Clamp 740mm 8" travel
Magura MT2 Hydraulic Brakes 160mm rotors
Full Speed Ahead Crank & FSA Pig Headset
Hussefelt Truvativ bar, stem and seatpost
Bontrager seat clamp & fasteners throughout
Anderson Connectors throughout
Shimano SORA components w dual left hand shifter (custom! Leaves all electric controls on right side, very slick)
20" x 8" Tubeless ATV tires on 1lb custom USA built rims
Custom low standover (for offroad) aircraft aluminum frame
Optional 48v system upgrade
Optional Megarange 14-32T 7th speed
Optional BOXGUIDE DH Chain Guide/Tensioner
Optional Cycle Analyst fully programmed
ODI grips

Pretty much will climb ANYTHING and does a steady 25mph on throttle only. 35+ with pedal assist. Of course it's mid drive with 2 front sprockets (after the front drive! Hanebrink exclusive) so you can pretty much dial in any gear and keep the motor spinning at peak torque. It's amazingly reliable and cool running.

Website Description: http://danhanebrinkbikes.com/models/hanebrink-x2/
A 750-watt/1200-watt peak brush-less electric motor drives a fourteen (14) speed gear configuration that drives this bike. Steep grades are easily handled by the motor’s unparalleled torque.

The 51″ wheelbase and 20 inch diameter x 8 inch wide tubeless monocoque wheels and tires, widest in the industry, provide stability in tight turns and traction on dirt, sand or snow.

Shock absorption is easily handled by the dual crown triple clamp fork. Eight inches of travel provides shock absorption in uncomfortable terrain and is able to manage the most unforgiving of mountain terrains.

Our made and designed in the USA frames are manufactured from aircraft aluminum which is both lightweight and durable. Carbon fiber handlebars and seat-post connect the rider to this extreme machine.

Hydraulic disc brakes, front and rear, provide stopping power to aggressively attack corners or steep descents.

Base Price: $7,650 USD (Reflects average range)
Color: Matte Black Standard, Custom Colors Available
Weight: 85lbs (38 kg)
Battery Pack: 48 Volt LiNMC
Range*: 40 miles
Motor: 750/1200 Watt Sealed Brushless
Gearing: Motor Integrated 14 speed with low-range gearing available
Tires: Tubeless 20″ x 8″ (50cm x 20cm)
Wheels: Monocoque, Aluminum Axles, Sealed Bearings
Wheelbase: 129 cm – 51 inches
Frame: 6061- T6 Aircraft Seamless Aluminum Tubing
Fork: Dual Crown Triple Clamp 8″ Adjustable Travel
Brakes: Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Derailleur: Shimano
Heavy Duty Rear Rack: 8″ x 21″ Aluminum

Additional notes: additional options
low range gearing,
higher capacity controller
cycle analyst.

1/1
RoadWrinkle
1 month ago

Most likely your 1000w/48v system came with a 25 amp controller, so your peak output would not exceed 1200w. Could be that you find after converting that heavy trike that it cannot go much faster than 20 mph to begin with. Also, this may sound counter intuitive, but a handicapped person would benefit from more, not less, available power at whatever speeds the rider is comfortable with.

Evil Component
3 months ago

0:35 "so the whole rear end goes up and down like that, it feels a little stiffer"

Mark Elford
3 months ago

Good review, nice bike...ive been ghost watching for a while.

Carlos Pedro
3 months ago

Nice Bike bela bicicleta 😅👌🚴🚵🚴🚵🚴♥

Dave Caldwell
3 months ago

Nice bike, not a fan of the white fork though !

R D
3 months ago

👍🏻🇨🇦

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Glad you enjoyed it! More in the works

sharrafshow
3 months ago

can you do a video on best economy e-bikes? you know someting good for students.
live ur vids

sharrafshow
3 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com thnx bro will be waiting 😁

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Sure, I've created a section on the site with more "affordable" electric bikes and just for you, I'll review a new one called the Juiced CrossCurrent Air today. Keep an eye out for it: https://electricbikereview.com/category/affordable/

joes joey
3 months ago

very nice bike this thing hawls assss seems pretty fast!

joes joey
3 months ago

nice!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

It can definitely ride faster than 20 mph if you pedal or go down a hill like I was doing with some of the shots but the max assisted speed is 20 mph since it's a Class 1 Ebike

Fat Bike Freak
3 months ago

Can you say dongle in your next video please...

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Ha! I'll keep that in mind when I head back to NYC soon and film more reviews. I'm just processing some of the video from my last trip to SoCal at the moment :P

LivingLifeElectric
3 months ago

IZIP. UZIP. WE ALL ZIP FOR IZIP...

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Ha! Awesome :D

Festivejelly
3 months ago

Paying that much Id prefer a higher end haibike. Imo they look a bit more sturdy and you seem to get more for your money. At least in europe.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Yeah, I lean that direction too. This bike performed well and the drive system is exactly the same as Haibike but it doesn't look as cool and I don't think the frame engineering is quite as dialed in... at least from just looking at it, it rode well tough ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

ForbinColossus
3 months ago

Are we suspicious about its odd rear suspension setup?? As Court pointed out earlier, the Horst-link is a type of four-bar linkage suspension design that is now allowed to be used by every manufacturer and seems to be regarded as the best 'full-squish' setup.
History here:
https://www.bikeschool.com/blog/horst-of-a-different-color-the-history-of-the-horst-link-four-bar-linkage/
And pinkbike has more analysis on rear suspension variants with copious photos:
https://www.pinkbike.com/forum/listcomments/?threadid=146074

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Yeah, thanks for the links. I didn't know how to respond to the suspension but the Raleigh Electric product manager was stoked on it... hard to tell if marketing or actually a better design. To me, that connected metal part is just strange? Maybe they will chime in to help explain :)

Jeff Perteet
3 months ago

nice test ride

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Thanks Jeff! I've been trying to show more of how the bikes work, especially when I have time and am at cool locations. Knowing you appreciate it is good feedback

Tahir Rana
3 months ago

4199$, I guess only NASA employees can afford this as they do steal tax $$$ to give the sheep fake space!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Yeah, I wish we didn't have baby formula, cordless tools, ear thermometers, golf clubs, invisible braces, MRI or CAT scans, memory foam, shoe insoles, water filters, UV blocking sunglasses or solar panels... what was NASA thinking inventing all of that stuff in pursuit of space technology and exploration! Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NASA_spinoff_technologies in case you're just looking for a less expensive ebike, here's a long list: https://electricbikereview.com/category/affordable/

Rob02150
3 months ago

The white fork looks odd with the rest of the bike. Very nice bike though.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

I tend to agree with you... it just doesn't look mean or beautiful or tight the way that some other bikes do, but it does cost a little less and the ride was good :)

BOB NIEVES
3 months ago

wow,that's a awesome E- bike

BOB NIEVES
3 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com that's a great price.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Agree! Big step up from last year and $300 cheaper, very cool

Seb K
3 months ago

Did you hear about the NYC cops seizing those Ebikes recently ?!!! It's all over the cycling communites . Absolute idiots. I don't understand why NYC doesn't lift the ban . Cars kill on a daily basis . What the hell does an Ebike do compared to 2 tonnes of metal - a lot of people are very angry as a lot of the riders were delivery riders so customers won't be getting their goods . I'm glad I don't live in NYC .

Seb K
3 months ago

Won't surprise me if they ban pedal assist too .

Propel Electric Bikes
3 months ago

It's not really scientific. They made a law in 2004 before ebike were even really a thing. The law was designed to ban all bikes and scooters that can't be registered so they used the words "can be propelled without human power" and frankly pedal assist is kind of a loophole for now until we get some clear laws which should hopefully happen soon.

Seb K
3 months ago

Cheers Chris . I wish they could give a clear statement as to why they don't allow throttle activated Ebikes . Maybe the higher top speeds but if you stick a 50T chainring and use the 11t sprocket with an Ebike you are going to hit well over 20mph . Heck I even it 30mph on my traditional bike . Could be the torque of the motor . I don't know but they need to be more clear as to why they are apposed to throttle Ebikes .

Propel Electric Bikes
3 months ago

This was just throttle activated bikes. It still kind of stinks. Throttle activated bikes have been illegal in NYC since 2004 and the enforcement has been sporadic. There seems to be a new approach for handling this now, particularly in some precincts.

This is bringing some much needed attention to this issue in NYC and NYS. I feel we're getting closer and closer to having clear laws for ebikes in NY, but it's always been the case that bikes with throttles are illegal in NYC. Unfortunately the press often don't take the time to make this distinction, but we're clear on it. We've even went to court to prove that pedal-assist bikes are not illegal under NYC law, but throttle bikes are.

It would be our preference to allow for both, but through speaking with many politicians and city officials, it seems pretty clear that they're not going to support any legislation that allows for both. - Chris

Seb K
3 months ago

I think any electrically assisted bicycle . Also the officers were parked IN THE BIKE LANE when handing out tickets !!!

http://www.bicycling.com/culture/nypd-initiates-e-bike-crackdown-and-cyclists-are-outraged?utm_source=plus.google.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebutton

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS
3 months ago

I like the "moustache asphalt" but the "I zip E 3 peak DS" design is more sporty-looking to me. Which is more my style. The fenders on these bikes (the asphalt) make them look more vintage and old fashioned.

And the top speed on this model totally sucks. Why such a low speed on such a cool, sporty bike ?. I must admit courtney, it was you who greatly influenced me too appreciate the Bosch drive systems. I had heard of them before but, I really didn't pay them that much attention. I was more focused on the "bafang BBSHD" motor.

Now the Bosch is one of my favorites. I hope they offer this model with a higher top-speed in the future.

CLOTHED IN SHADOWS
3 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com Thanks Courtney. We truly appreciate what you do fellow.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

There are other bikes with the Class 3 speed pedelec motor from Bosch but it's rare, I think the full suspension models usually avoid it unless the tires are slicks and there are fenders because they aren't allowed on off-road trails in California and elsewhere that follow the Classes. In this case, the Peak DS is Class 1 so you can mountain bike with it :)

SheaDesign
3 months ago

Drive gear turns 2.5 times per crank revolution. I've ridden about 18 thousand miles on the Bosch and can honestly not tell the difference between 'shift detect' enabled or disabled. Seems like all it does is enable the shift prompt (arrows) in the display. That pulley is so high and forward it reduces the length of engagement on the critical drive gear, let's see how that goes and if a divorce is eminent. Funky engineering. -S

SheaDesign
3 months ago

Size of the chainring has nothing to do with what is happening internally, it could be 48 feet and would maintain the 2.5:1 ratio. I have not measured the CX line but would bet you a taco it is the same. I'd like to see 'shift sensing' in action on a bench, when roadies try one of my haibikes they always mash until they learn to backoff for the shift. For now I call hooey ;) - Thanks for the reply and continuous reviews. -S

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Thanks for the feedback! I usually say "about 2 times" because Bosch lets manufacturers choose the chainring size (like 15 to 20 teeth) and I thought that would change from exactly 2.5 to more of a range. I believe the shift recommendation has more to do with the motor RPM and recommending you to shift to enable it to help more. Shift sensing tells the motor to ease off for a moment when the derailleur is in action but I'm not sure exactly how it works, I think it senses strain and is software driven... it's not perfect but I'd rather have it than not :)

carteek a
3 months ago

Nice!
Good bike

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

I like your comment and your icon :D

Mr C C SASIN
3 months ago

The white fork is nice... like a pair of crisp white trainers/sneakers ;P

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 months ago

Glad you like it! I was a little uncertain but the downtube decal and little mark on the head tube help it match :)