Juiced Bikes ODK U500 Review

Juiced Riders Odk U500 Electric Bike Review 1
Juiced Riders Electric Cargo Bike
500 Watt Front Geared Hub Motor
Battery Charger Port Lithium Manganese
Twist Shifter Battery Indicator
Rear Chain Protector
Juiced Riders 48v Battery
Juiced Riders Odk
Internally Geared Rear Hub Shimano
Chain Guard
Juiced Cargo Bike Child Seat
Juiced Riders Rear End Battery
Yepp Child Seat Rear Rack
Juiced Riders Odk U500 Electric Bike Review 1
Juiced Riders Electric Cargo Bike
500 Watt Front Geared Hub Motor
Battery Charger Port Lithium Manganese
Twist Shifter Battery Indicator
Rear Chain Protector
Juiced Riders 48v Battery
Juiced Riders Odk
Internally Geared Rear Hub Shimano
Chain Guard
Juiced Cargo Bike Child Seat
Juiced Riders Rear End Battery
Yepp Child Seat Rear Rack


  • A sturdy, thoughtfully designed cargo bike with a low center of gravity that's easy to mount and handle
  • Super strong 500 watt front hub motor paired with 48 volt Lithium Manganese battery pack
  • Long lasting 15 amp hour battery gets awesome range and includes one year warranty
  • Very affordable but packed with extras including upgraded pedals, fenders, chain guard and tires

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers



Juiced Riders


ODK U500


$2,199 USD

Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Urban, Cargo

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Year Frame, 1 Year Battery


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

72.5 lbs (32.88 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Geometry Measurements:

70.2” x 29” x 44” (178 cm x 73 cm x 112 cm)

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Cargo

Frame Fork Details:

JMF02 Steel, 6 mm Anti-Torque Dropouts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Front Basket Bosses

Gearing Details:

3 Speed 1x3 Sram i-3 Internally Geared Rear Hub

Shifter Details:

Twist Grip


170 mm


Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform


Promax 180 mm


Moto Style

Brake Details:

Tektro HD-E710 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors


Velo Lock On


Velo Comfort, Wide

Seat Post:

Quick Release


Double Wall, 36 Hole


Front: 12G, Rear: 13G

Tire Brand:

Kenda 924

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)


Heavy Duty Welded Rear Rack, Optional Front Basket, Front and Rear Fenders with Mud Guards, Rear LED Light, Side Kickstand (Optional Center Kickstand), Bash Guard on Gear Shifter in Rear


Maximum Weight (Rider + Payload) 330 lbs, Cruise Control

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang BPM

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

15 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

720 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

LED Console on Left Bar


Battery Level 1-5, Cruise Control

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Juiced Riders ODK U500 has one of the worst names I’ve seen but offers one of the best electric cargo bikes I’ve come across. Please note that this review is for the 2013 model, to learn about the most recent version check out the ODK V3 review. The ODK U500 is available as a standard non-electric cargo bike for just $899 or a very reasonable $2,199 as an ebike. For the money, you’ll get strength, range, durability and a decent one year warranty on the frame, components and battery system! Unlike some other entries in this space such as the the Pedego Tandem that optionally converts to cargo bike by removing the rear seat, the Juiced Riders ODK U500 was purpose built with hauling in mind and it really shows.

The hub motor on this bike offers 500 watts of power (as you might have guessed from the U500 name) and is designed to work with 48 volts of power input which is at the upper end of mainstream ebikes. It’s a geared motor meaning it offers more torque but has internal parts that could wear out a little faster over time. You’ll be able to ride with large loads (up to 330 lbs including rider) and easily manage small and medium sized hills without pedaling. The motor runs smooth and quiet (see the video review above) and is so powerful that the front wheel will actually spin out if the throttle is twisted abruptly from stop.

The battery configuration chosen for the ODK U500 is Lithium Manganese which strikes a balance between the high performance, low weight benefits of Lithium-ion and the lower cost but fewer cycles offered by Lead Acid. All things considered, given the generous one year warranty and low price of this bike, this battery choice makes sense. In terms of positioning on the bike, the battery is protected very well in a long aluminum case that is mounted in the rear rack area and completely surrounded by aluminum tubing. The front of the pack has an on/off switch and the rear has a twist cover for charging. Unfortunately this battery is not so easy to take off so you’ll want to charge it while on the bike. The battery offers 15 amp hours of capacity which is 50% more than most electric bikes and that extends range dramatically, especially when paired with the higher 48 volts of power which creates efficiency in riding. This bike gets over 30 miles on a charge and that’s without pedaling!

Beyond the motor and battery chosen for the ODK U500, the frame and components are all very solid and well thought out. I have very few complaints other than the relatively stiff ride quality. The wheels are 20″ in diameter which is smaller than the standard 26″ or 29″/700c that most bikes use. This makes the bike easier to mount, load and balance on at stop signs but doesn’t smooth over bumps quite as gently. Also, there are no shock absorbers and while the tires are oversized, they are made with extra thick rubber that takes some of the softness out. The seat is oversized and fairly soft which helps but I recommend considering a seat post shock if you live in an especially bumpy area or will be riding a lot.

A few drawbacks to this bike include the lack of pedal assist, although there is a unique cruise control feature built in. This is an interesting feature, rare in the world of ebikes, that could serve to relax the hand of a rider who might otherwise have to twist the throttle unendingly over the course of long commutes. I also would have liked integrated lights, especially given the extra capacity of the 15 amp hour battery. The control unit on this bike is very simple and won’t display your speed, distance or other fancy statistics. One other drawback is the lack of a rear disc brake, only the front wheel has it. In wet conditions and with heavy loads disc brakes are preferred and it would be nice to have them on both wheels but I think this decision was made to keep the rear wheel simple, inexpensive and to more easily accomodate the hub gearing system in the rear.

My favorite part of this bike is the rear rack itself. I was delighted to find that the cross bar configuration works perfectly with child seats, food boxes and other after market accessories. There are five cross bars to work with along the top and three along each side. The top bars on the rear rack are oversized, providing strength and durability but the extra side bars are narrow gauge and match standard bicycle racks exactly! This is a big deal because it opens up a whole world of pannier accessories. Many electric bikes require double sided panniers that sling over the top because the rear racks are too fat (having to support a battery and extreme forces), but that’s not the case here.

Other pleasing features of this bike include the internally geared rear hub which makes shifting from stand still possible. While it only offers three gears, this bike wasn’t built for speed and three works well enough while keeping the bike light, simple and avoiding derailleurs. The chain itself is relatively tight because there aren’t any rings for shifting gears, this means it won’t slap the chainstay or fall off as easily when riding over bumps. The chain is also protected with an extended chain guard to keep your pants clean and snag free. The metal studded Welgo pedals work well and will hold up in wet conditions or if the bike tips over onto its side. The rear hub has a protective metal cage surrounding the cable inclosure. The spokes on both wheels are wide gauge, offering increased strength for heavy loads.

In case you couldn’t tell, I’m a big fan of this bike. I was delighted by the features and quality I found when inspecting and riding it. The combination of thoughtful design choices, durability, warranty and low price combined with three fun colors make this bike a strong competitor in the world of electric cargo bikes and even as a stand along electric bike! It’s not as smooth riding as a bike with 700c wheels and oversized balloon tires with a sprung saddle, but it more than delivers in almost every other way. Especially if you’re using it as a delivery bike ;)


  • Extra thick tires are durable and thorn resistant
  • Rear rack provides numerous top mounting points that work seamlessly with Yepp child seat, mobile food boxes, seat pads and other accessories
  • Rear rack provides side bars made with narrow gauge tubing that match standard bicycle racks, making it compatible with nearly all pannier bags
  • Smaller 20″ wheels keep the weight of this bike low to the ground
  • Low step design makes mounting, and resting with one foot very easy, this is especially helpful when hauling heavy loads
  • Super strong 500 watt motor and 48 volt battery combination
  • Large sized 15 amp hour battery will go 30+ miles
  • Ultra durable aluminum battery case is protected on all sides by rear rack
  • Internal hub gear can be shifted from standstill, helpful when hauling large loads
  • Solid Welgo pedals, high end Tektro ebike brake levers and quality fenders
  • Built in “cruise control” button allows twist-free riding over long distances
  • Plastic chain guard keeps pants clean and snag free, rear derailleur cage protects shifting mechanics
  • Wide gauge spokes and additional cross bar supports on frame support heavy loads up to 330 lbs (150 kg)


  • Lower grade Lithium Manganese battery pack won’t get as many charge cycles as Lithium-ion but keeps the bike affordable
  • Only three gears available, work well enough but more limiting than other comparable bikes
  • Smaller wheels combined with thick tires make this bike more jarring when riding over bumps, no shocks but the soft wide seat helps some, consider a seat post shock absorber
  • Battery is meant to be left on the bike, cannot easily remove for charging
  • No computer console to show speed, distance or precise battery level, instead opts for a cheaper LED indecator
  • No pedal assist mode, must twist throttle or use cruise control
  • No lights included, must buy separately and power from separate sources
  • Wires are not run through the bicycle frame but do stay out of the way and are managed well enough


More Juiced Bikes Reviews

Juiced Bikes RipCurrent S Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2018

An affordable yet feature-rich electric fat bike with higher speed operation, advanced torque + cadence pedal assist, trigger throttle power on demand, and a great display panel. Available in three frame sizes and three color options! You get large plastic fenders and…...

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A high-speed, feature complete, value priced electric bike that comes in four frame sizes, high-step and mid-step frame style, and three colors. Relatively comfortable thanks to fatter tires, a suspension fork with compression slider and lockout, Velo…...

Juiced Bikes OceanCurrent Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable high-speed cruiser electric bike, available in traditional cantilever high-step or relaxed mid-step for easy mounting, choice of five fun colors including traditional black or red. Excellent frame balance, the downtube battery keeps weight low and center, the compact hub motor…...

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Air Review

  • MSRP: $1,195
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable speed pedelec with high-definition cadence sensor, mechanical disc brakes and a nine-speed Shimano Altus drivetrain, it's well balanced and relatively light weight. Removable battery and quick release front wheel make it easier to lock securely and fill-up…...

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An affordably priced speed pedelec that's well balanced, not too heavy and available in three frame sizes for a good fit, you can also upgrade the battery size. Comes stock with a powerful 48 volt battery but lower 7.8 amp hours, uses a…...

Juiced Bikes ODK U500 V3 Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

A sturdy, high torque, cargo style electric bike with enormous range thanks to a 48 volt 15 amp hour battery pack with premium Panasonic Lithium-ion cells. Powerful 500 watt internally geared front hub motor by 8Fun, benefits from a smaller wheel…...

4 years ago

How the heck can the “ride time” be 1.5 hours with a 48 volt 15 amp hour Lithium Manganese battery, yet the “range” is 35 to 40 miles? I know the road, wind and weight of the rider makes a difference but what a difference.

4 years ago

Hi Angelo! That’s a great point and I bet the bike would actually go for upwards of two hours but since it’s a cargo bike with smaller diameter wheels there are a couple of other factors to consider in there. It’s got excellent torque but also weighs 70+ pounds without rider or cargo and honestly the range spec is more of an estimate. I’ll try to get a more detailed response from the founder of Juiced. Thanks for chiming in!

4 years ago

By the way. Great blog. I’m spend alot of time here tonight.

Steve Loar
4 years ago

On the Juiced site it says it’s a 48v 22amp Panasonic Lithium battery that will get over 50 miles of travel. And the price is now $3199, which is not cheap. That’s for the Version 3, this one must be the Version 2?

4 years ago

Yeah, they are constantly tweaking the models and V3 has even undergone some improvements and refinements since I reviewed it a while back :)

Dennis Figueroa
2 years ago

PLEASE try your best to review the Juiced Cross Current electric bicycle. New for 2016, Thank you, Dennis

2 years ago

Hi Dennis, it’s definitely on the list and I’m speaking with a dealer about doing a review soon. Thanks for making the suggestion!


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

29 mins ago

I'd love to get on that list. ;)

40 mins ago

Yeah, I watched his Rad Rover videos a long time ago when I was first getting into e-bikes. He said in one of these videos that Juiced Bikes would be loaning him a RipCurrent S to try out as well.

Bruce Arnold
2 hours ago

If you're interested in a cargo bike/people mover, you might also consider the Pedego Stretch. Here's Court's review:


There have been upgrades since this review was published. For instance, I saw one recently at a local dealer and it had pads on the seat and back rest, making it more comfortable for a passenger. Built pretty strong and lots of ways to haul stuff on it.

So on the commuting question: My wife and I both use ebikes for commuting and errands. It has been only 2 months but so far so good. We have committed to selling our 2nd car to our daughter when she graduates from nursing school in May, so we are only using one car now to get used to it. We don't have dreadful winters here but have had to contend with freezing temps and precipitation during this time. Not that different from Livermore; I was a bicycle messenger in San Francisco in the 1970s and winter weather in that part of CA was much like it is here in eastern NC. Our summers are a lot hotter and more humid, so we'll have to contend with that. "There is no bad weather, only bad clothing" as they say in Finland.

Her commute is 8 miles round trip, mine is 14. She rides a Pedego City Commuter and I ride a Juiced Bikes Crosscurrent S. You might like the CCS if you like that road bike, it's pretty sporty. You could easily knock out that 6 mile commute in 15 minutes, which is not too shabby.

Happy to share more if you have specific questions.

Bruce Arnold
3 days ago

This is not accurate, at least not with the Crosscurrent S. I have the old 17.4 Ah battery and regularly get 60 miles on a charge. I can hit 28 in the 2 level of assist, flat ground, no wind, and me+gear=300lbs. Level 2 on the CCS would be level 3 on another bike; with Juiced Bikes it goes Eco-1-2-3-Sport instead of 1-5 (which I'd prefer, for ease of discussion.) With the 19 Ah and 21 Ah batteries now available, you could figure on 10-20 miles extra per charge. Let me say, for clarity clarity's sake, that I don't ride at 28 mph all the time. The greatest obstacles above 20 mph is air resistance. Since I favor longer rides over faster rides, keeping it in the 18-22 mph range is no sacrifice. The CCS with the 52 volt 21 Ah battery is within your stated budget. I am saving for that battery. More power and improved range!

J Miller
4 days ago

The black 19Ah model was finally (briefly) in stock earlier today, so I went ahead and pulled the trigger on it! I still plan to do a DIY eventually for fun, but now that will be a hobby project I can take lots of time on, while the CCS should work reliably right out of the box for years.

That's impressively cheap, and I admit I really liked the feel of the Stromer I tried out, but it wasn't quite the right choice for me - I wanted a throttle as backup, I was worried about the 630Wh being enough for me, and I plan to haul more weight than the rack was rated for, and I really wanted to be able to manually set the speed limit easily for legal reasons in a certain part of town I've had some close calls in.

That said, the Stromer had the best feeling assist of any bike I've ridden, including other torque-sensor equipped bikes. I almost bought one then and there after riding it because of that haha. And I like direct drives better than geared... Still, I think I made the right choice with the CCS.

bob armani
4 days ago

Xeon- I agree with Chris regarding the Juiced bikes in either a step thru or a size small frame. The Voltbike looks like it fits also. Not sure where you are located, but there are some shops that stock Juiced for a test ride to see how the geometry on the bike fits your stand over and reach to the handlebars.

I also recommend Easy Motion -The Easy Go bikes listed on their website in the Prior Models category. I particularly like the 'Easy Go Street' which would be a candidate in your price range. We own one and is a great bike for the $$ and carries a great warranty if needed. https://emotionbikesusa.com/easygo-street/

bob armani
4 days ago

Xeon- I agree with Chris regarding the Juiced bikes in either a step thru or a size small frame. Not sure where you are located, but there are some shops that stock them for a test ride to see how the geometry on the bike fits your stand over and reach to the handlebars.

I also recommend Easy Motion -The Easy Go bikes listed on their website in the Prior Models category. I particularly think the Easy Go Street would be a candidate in your price range being we own one and it is a great bike for the $$


Chris Hammond
5 days ago

I have been in your situation for months now. I debated the pro's and con's of built vs. the CCS. For a while I was sure I was going to build. I had done many kit configurations on Grin's motor simulator. I had a bike picked out from BikesDirect online, and had built the kit online; I was going to be ordering motor kit from Grin and a battery from EM3EV. Total cost of bike and build kit would have been ~$1850, and that is without adding fenders, lights, and rear rack for commuting.
Fortunately I was debating all this during the winter and not in a hurry.
Once Juiced upgraded their battery offerings, my decision was made. I actually went "all-in" and ordered the 52V battery option due to the long distance commute that I have (30 miles each way).
I do all my own maintenance as well. Most of the electrical components on the CCS are unique to Juiced. So if you have a failure you are going to need to order from Juiced, or plan on doing a bit of conversion depending on the part you are replacing.
I am not worried about this much. Tora Harris (Juiced founder) has been very forward thinking in his design and development of Juiced bikes. Older bikes were built with new technology in mind and he has deliberately built them to make them not become obsolete in a few years. The biggest issue they seemed to have was a rear spoke failure problem, that seems to be fixed by some design and build changes.

bob armani
1 week ago

Okay great. I am now understanding the physics behind the concept of braking more here. Thanks very much for clarifying! Looks like a nice addition (downgrade) to your bike for the $.

Bruce Arnold
1 week ago

And they're located in Chula Vista. Sounds like that would be close by. I have the Crosscurrent S, but if you liked the Interceptor, I'd agree with Chris about the Ocean Current. (My wife likes her Pedego City Commuter but it's considerably more expensive than the budget you mentioned. Definitely go for the largest battery you can afford, you won't be sorry!

1 week ago

A bike with normal sized tires is easier to pedal and the "650W" rating of, say, the Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S is that of sustainable maximum power, which is about equivalent to a relatively loggy to pedal fat tire bike requiring 750W for equivalent pulling. Either style will pull the trike very well, and at surprisingly high speeds on level ground, where wind resistance growing in magnitude nearing 20mph will be the main drag.

Chris Hammond
1 week ago

Juiced bikes Ocean Current is a bike you should look at. Price point starts at $1399, and you can more than double the size of the battery for another $500 which still puts it below the price of most of the others you are looking at. Certainly worth a look.

Ravi Kempaiah
4 months ago

The new Air and ocean current bikes may not have the highest level of water proofing but the original ODK U500 cargo bikes are built like a tank. They are the real workhorse. Used by several pizza delivery companies.
Tora put this bike through some very rigorous testing. He basically rode the bike in rain for 2 hrs straight. Here is a video.

5 months ago

If you're looking at a 'long tail' cargo bike for putting children on the back, from Yuba I'd suggest the Spicy Curry or an alternative such as the Xtracycle Edgerunner - both have smaller 20" wheels on the back which lower the center of gravity of the cargo deck versus full size wheels. If you are only carrying one child on the bike, a less expensive alternative might be a 'mid-tail' such as the Juiced ODK U500 which has 20" wheels both front and rear and a step through frame, it has a throttle and cruise control but no pedal assist, it's sold out on the Juiced website but you might find one still in stock at one of their https://shop.juicedbikes.com/pages/dealers eg 5 left at http://www.ebikes.ca/shop/cargo-ebikes/full-bikes/juiced-odk-u500-standard-range.html Canadian dealer. Check out https://electricbikereview.com/juiced-bikes/odk-v3/. Here's a https://humofthecity.com/2015/11/14/we-tried-it-juiced-riders-odk-u500/ by a parent. Here are some https://www.reddit.com/r/ebikes/comments/4awj8b/over_a_month_with_our_juiced_odk_u500s/ from parents in hilly Seattle, and a https://www.reddit.com/r/ebikes/comments/6hxds9/more_than_a_year_with_two_juicedbikes_odk_u500s/ update.

The Tern GSD is really nice, like the Juiced U500 it has 20" wheels both front and rear, but the Bosch motor on the Tern provides power via pedal assist with no throttle - which one you like is a matter of personal preference. I like to ride along using pedal assist with no throttle, whereas other folks like to use a throttle when starting off. If you'd like both pedal assist and a throttle there are some cargo ebikes that offer both like the RadWagon, or you might look into converting a regular pedal cargo bike with a kit motor from Bafang/eRad, Dillenger, E-BikeKit, or BionX.

Mark Peralta
6 months ago

I want to add to the qualifications of Tora Harris, he graduated from Princeton University in 2002 with a degree in mechanical and aerospace engineering. Aside from his engineering schooling, a highly disciplined Olympian with multiple awards, and a track record of successfully marketed internationally his prior product (the Juiced ODK U500), he is also directly involved in all stages of production, shipment, and after sales customer care, with hands on to all the details and R&D. He doesn't need to hire a bunch of intellectual (and expensive) people, and since he speaks Chinese, he also knows many manufacturing connections in China and Taiwan. With that remarkable talent, he is extremely capable of producing affordable but impressive ebikes.

Ann M.
7 months ago

@Sami Joseph, you might benefit from a heavier duty cargo bike like the RadWagon. Court has a comprehensive https://electricbikereview.com/rad-power-bikes/radwagon/. It's been around for several years now and is sold primarily online. Just be sure to purchase some spare spokes and check the spoke tension in the rear wheel where the hub motor is. The motor is stout and you can carry a bunch o' stuff on the longer back end. Price is around $1600, so with shipping you should be within budget.

Another option would be the Juiced Bikes ODK U500; this ebike has several options for battery size and offers one of the largest batteries available. It's a little more compact cargo bike but has lots of capacity to haul stuff. Price starts at $1995; maybe a bit more with a larger battery but worth it for the extra range. Check out Court's https://electricbikereview.com/juiced-bikes/odk-v3/ for a bit more perspective. Juiced sells both online and through dealers.

Both of these bikes come with pretty beefy, wider tires; however, you will probably want to add some extra protection like a Tire Liner to prevent flats on those unpaved roads. Good luck on your enterprise!

8 months ago

It isn't lightweight, the battery doesn't easily detach, and it doesn't offer pedal assist only throttle with a cruise control function, but another suggestion would be the Juiced ODK U500 that can be serviced in Vancouver by http://www.ebikes.ca/about-us/contact-grin.html - their website says they don't have the standard battery version new in stock so you might consider a https://shop.juicedbikes.com/collections/refurb-shop/products/juiced-bikes-u350-v3-refurb?variant=29244020050 one from Juiced - get the 500 not the 350 for just over a grand and use the money you save on the accessories listed on this one year owner review on https://www.reddit.com/r/ebikes/comments/6hxds9/more_than_a_year_with_two_juicedbikes_odk_u500s/ from a parent in Seattle. Here's a https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/this-is-a-cool-bike.1513/page-2#post-32574 of one towing a child trailer, and here's https://electricbikereview.com/juiced-bikes/odk-v3/.

9 months ago

There was a long term review of the Juiced ODK U500 the other day on the https://www.reddit.com/r/ebikes/comments/6hxds9/more_than_a_year_with_two_juicedbikes_odk_u500s/. There's also a https://www.reddit.com/r/CargoBike you could ask this question on. There's a national https://www.facebook.com/groups/PedalParents/ Facebook group. Also see if there is a local group to you, I've found the D.C. Family Biking Facebook group and the local Kidical Mass groups very friendly and helpful answering questions and offering test rides.

9 months ago

Just wondering if anyone has had any first hand experience with the Ariel Rider bikes? I have been looking at getting an EBike and due to my weight have been looking at the C Class Ariel Rider or potentially the ODK U500 v3 from Juiced Bikes.

I would appreciate any feedback anyone has with these bikes or even other options.


Marc V
11 months ago

Welcome Dave!

What are you using for your capacity tests? I ended up getting the knock off iMaxB6 for a bit cheaper than the official one (truth be told I didn't know it was a knock off till my friend pointed it out lol).

Also, how big will your battery be as well as configuration?

I was going to make a larger spare eBike battery for my 1st eBike but ended up getting the Juiced Bikes ODK U500 V3 eBike with the 48v 32ah battery which is more than enough range for me, so ended up using my harvested lithium cells for my backup solar generator battery bank haha.

Good luck on the build!

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

Marc V
11 months ago

Hey All!

After owning the Juiced ODK U500 V3 for a few weeks and really liking it, I finally got around to doing a full range test.

Long story short I got about 50 miles with the 32ah battery on a single full charge.

Long story even longer see below lol

I chose to ride it in an almost worst case scenario for my "real world" conditions. I live in a city with mostly flat riding a few minor hills here and there and windy days etc.

I finally found a nice enough day where I was free to put it to the test.

I road the bike pretty hard, meaning I did little to no pedaling, using throttle even from dead stop. I know that is a lot to ask of from your motor and battery, but wanted to test it, like I said, in an almost worse case scenario where maybe there might be some days where I am injured and have a hard time pedaling. Bike is pretty heavy so even on normal everyday commuting I need to do a standing pedal down to get going if I don't use the throttle to deal with the weight. Good time to give bike and personal info...

Some info on my setup:
I have the heavier MoPed tires
Rear passenger seat kit from Juiced Bikes (works great! but be aware rpassenger will feel bumps etc so make sure to warn them if possible of upcoming bumps, we learned that the hard way hehe)
Milk Crate mounted on rear rack as well
Some basic accessories (couple of Ulocks with cables, Headlights, speed/odometer, phone mount)

Some info on me:
Around 185 pounds, 190ish with clothing give or take

So that being said i was asking a lot out of the motor and battery hauling that much weight with no assistance from me, but it hauls like a champ as I have ridden it with myself and another adult!

Took it all around northside chicago, down to the lake up to navy pier for those who are familiar with the area and back, I had so much juice left from that 30 mile trip was just cruising around the neighborhoods going down streets I've never been down, trying to remember which are the bad ones to stay away from haha :)

So dealt with traffic, people, stop signs, stop lights, so a lot of stop and goes and again riding it hard with throttle from dead stop and little pedaling. By the lakefront dealt with a lot of front winds so, motor was fighting with that as well. But never needed to pedal because the motor couldn't handle the job, I ended up catching myself pedaling out of pure habit! Had to tell myself, "remember you are doing a no pedal range test!" lol

There was still juice left when I had ridden it for some time on one battery dot/light, I considered the range test done and bike was still moving with this riding style but I did notice reduced performance so I called it then because at that point if I was out and about not in a semi controlled environment, I would be thinking I need to find a place to charge haha. So I might have squeezed more miles, but ~50miles covers almost all, if not all of my possible commutes (round trip! and if this wasn't a range test and I decided to charge in between here and there with the fast charger, forget about it! haha)

So had a great time as I have never seen the city from this perspective, I was an avid city bicycle rider before, but it was mostly point A to B and limited by my endurance/stamina lol. No joke, eBikes has gotten me out more and wanting to go cruise around weather permitting as I stopped riding bicycles for years for whatever reason :)

The ODK U500 V3 handled Chicago like a champ, but if you have researched or even ridden the bike, you will already know there is no suspension, so flats are great but you feel the bumps and if you have a passenger they REALLY feel the bumps lol.

Built in/standard taillight is bright at night and can be seen pretty far away, I added reflector stickers to my milk crate as well as my helmet hehe. Just mounted a LED flashlight DIY style to handle bars and works well at night both for my own visibility and being visible to others.

Oh also, it took me even longer to do the range test because eBikes are not as popular here in Chicago as compared to other big cities in Cali or NY, etc. I've only seen a handful on the road where I ride, so I kept getting flagged down and getting asked questions about the bike, which was fun lol

So conclusion, for real world city commuting for sub 200lb rider, expect 50+ range on a single charge with the 32ah batt if you ride it like a scooter/moped for days you are injured, tired, or plain LAZY lmao. I can easily see 80-100 mile range on a single charge that others have been reporting if you are lighter, pedal, and have great riding conditions (flat, downhills, tailwinds, etc).

Hope they keep going with this bike with V4, V5, etc!

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

Marc V
11 months ago

I have a Juiced ODK U500 V3 and live in Chicago, I got it towards the end of winter so only road it a few times when there was snow. I mostly use it to commute to work (~20miles round trip) and Chicago is pretty good on clearing the roads when it snows but I felt the bike handles well in both light snow as well as wet conditions, it has been raining heavy the last few days here in Chicago. Of course with any mode of transportation in foul weather, you need to proceed with caution and reduced speed for safety.

I've had similar experiences of dialing in how I ride in certain conditions with braking at stop signs or lights. It varies with different loads, weather, etc. But I am getting the hang of it now.

I have taken my battery out many times messing with different stuff on the rack (easier to get different things mounted with the battery off) and I have done it so many times it doesn't bother me to do it, but everyone is correct, it is not easy to be removed compared to others :) Currently I have the rear passenger seat kit and a milk crate mounted on the rear rack which work well for most of my commutes.

I have the same issues with loading it with cargo, I have the standard kickstand that came with bike. When I go grocery shopping I like to load the bike while it is leaning against the bike lock/park pole thing :) if I am by myself, if I am with someone, I get on the bike and hold it up while they load then they get on. If it is light loading turning the front wheel the opposite direction of the kickstand lean helps a lot surprisingly for me.

Only clocked in a few hundred miles and no major issues, handlebars were loose as others have reported, I tightened them and haven't had a problem since. Did a range test recently and got 50miles in riding around Chicago with virtually no pedaling lol. But when after charging the bike over night I came in to unplug it and the standard charger that came with it was blinking RED, it still charged the bike, and I asked Juiced support and they mentioned that it was most likely the cells being balanced and that cut off the charge port (juiced support is great by the way, so that helps a lot in my book to know they got your back!). Been riding it the last few days and it has been charging and riding as normal and it has been heavy rain lately. Wish it had full suspension as I travel mostly on paved roads, but Chicago like most cities can have bumpy roads with potholes, and rear passenger kit seat rider feels it even worse, which we found out the hard way haha. So on my to do list is get a suspension float seat and look what I can do for my passenger, maybe a thicker heavy cushion or seat with springs/suspension to help with the bumpy rides :)

I park it outside with a couple of locks and try and wipe it down in my garage after it gets wet from riding and parked in the rain, during winter I only brought in the battery a couple of times, during winter. but I mostly leave it in the garage to charge, not heated but it is insulated so pretty cold still.

So to answer your initial question, the bike seems to handle the winter weather ok, you just need to be mindful of the conditions as it will mostly likely change how you ride, I mostly didn't like riding in winter because it got so dang cold lmao! But I'm still alive and the way Chicago is pretty soon I will be complaining that it got so dang hot! haha.

But I agree with everyone else, it aint perfect, but I really REALLY LIKE my Juiced ODK U500!!! hehe

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

Marc V
11 months ago

Traded in my 1st eBike for the Juiced Bikes ODK U500 V3 and so far got a little over 200 miles clocked in and really enjoying the bike! Unfortunately I have not tried the pedego cargo although I was debating that and spicy and other cargo bikes, I eventually chose the ODK U500 because it was a midtail and I wasn't really in need of a full cargo bike. I also chose this for the range.

I got the 32ah battery and just recently did a range test just to see how it was for me. I'm around 185lbs so 190ish with clothing, I also have the heavy moped tires, and a few accessories that added another pound or two. Test was around the city of Chicago as I mostly use the bike for urban commuting to work as well as point A to B for recreational activities, so mostly paved roads, mostly flat, but Chicago does have bumpy terrain and potholes here and there lol.

Anyway was able to get around 50miles! That is riding it hard though lol. Little to no pedaling. Fought some wind by the lakefront and the bike was still moving around 50miles but it was slowing down, so who knows how many more miles I could have squeezed out at reduced performance but I considered the range test done at that point hehe.

I agree on the suspension, I have it stock on that and it can get bumpy, and I have the rear passenger seat kit from them as well and that can feel bumps even more. So I might look into adding a suspension seat as well as more cushion for my passengers lol.

But if you are into these type of eBikes, I recommend the ODK u500, I am really glad I got it.

Of course, if you have the ability to test ride multiple eBikes that will help you decide.

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

Marc V
11 months ago

Wow, sorry to hear and I will keep an eye on this thread as I currently own a Juiced Bike, hope you get it worked out!

I currently own a Juiced ODK U500 V3 (2nd eBike) and have worked with Juiced Support on a few support cases and they have been very helpful (even Tora himself responded to one of my support cases).

I couldn't tell by your post if you already have a current support case with Juiced Bikes? If not, I recommend getting one ASAP so you can nip this in the bud. UPDATE: I see you said Luis called you, which I assume you are talking about Luis from Juiced. Either way I hope it all gets sorted out!

Good luck!

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

12 months ago


Peter Q
2 years ago

Whats better this or the Rad Wagon?

j lin
9 months ago

this one holds more in lb not much

Chris Hvid
4 years ago

Pedal you fool! Is the gearing high enough at top speed?

Chris Hvid
4 years ago

Thanks...ebikes are HYBRID vehicles! Human power will help you live with a smile!  :-)

4 years ago

Are you referencing Gandalf from Lord of the Rings... because if so, that's awesome. To answer your question, the three speed internally geared hub works alright at low and high speeds (top speed on this ebike with the motor is 20mph). I didn't ride it at full speed a whole lot but your cadence would probably be higher than if this were a seven speed ebike. The gears are sort of middle-range. Sorry for the very qualitative answer here... it has been a while since I rode this particular bike :)

5 years ago

Excellent review. Looks great bike.