Juiced Bikes ODK U500 Review

Juiced Riders Odk U500 Electric Bike Review 1
Juiced Riders Electric Cargo Bike
500 Watt Front Geared Hub Motor
Battery Charger Port Lithium Manganese
Twist Shifter Battery Indicator
Rear Chain Protector
Juiced Riders 48v Battery
Juiced Riders Odk
Internally Geared Rear Hub Shimano
Chain Guard
Juiced Cargo Bike Child Seat
Juiced Riders Rear End Battery
Yepp Child Seat Rear Rack
Juiced Riders Odk U500 Electric Bike Review 1
Juiced Riders Electric Cargo Bike
500 Watt Front Geared Hub Motor
Battery Charger Port Lithium Manganese
Twist Shifter Battery Indicator
Rear Chain Protector
Juiced Riders 48v Battery
Juiced Riders Odk
Internally Geared Rear Hub Shimano
Chain Guard
Juiced Cargo Bike Child Seat
Juiced Riders Rear End Battery
Yepp Child Seat Rear Rack

Summary

  • A sturdy, thoughtfully designed cargo bike with a low center of gravity that's easy to mount and handle
  • Super strong 500 watt front hub motor paired with 48 volt Lithium Manganese battery pack
  • Long lasting 15 amp hour battery gets awesome range and includes one year warranty
  • Very affordable but packed with extras including upgraded pedals, fenders, chain guard and tires

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Juiced Riders

Model:

ODK U500

Price:

$2,199 USD

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Cargo

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Frame, 1 Year Battery

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2013

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

72.5 lbs (32.88 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Geometry Measurements:

70.2” x 29” x 44” (178 cm x 73 cm x 112 cm)

Frame Types:

Step-Thru, Cargo

Frame Fork Details:

JMF02 Steel, 6 mm Anti-Torque Dropouts

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Front Basket Bosses

Gearing Details:

3 Speed 1x3 Sram i-3 Internally Geared Rear Hub

Shifter Details:

Twist Grip

Cranks:

170 mm

Pedals:

Wellgo Aluminum Alloy Platform

Stem:

Promax 180 mm

Handlebar:

Moto Style

Brake Details:

Tektro HD-E710 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors

Grips:

Velo Lock On

Saddle:

Velo Comfort, Wide

Seat Post:

Quick Release

Rims:

Double Wall, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Front: 12G, Rear: 13G

Tire Brand:

Kenda 924

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Accessories:

Heavy Duty Welded Rear Rack, Optional Front Basket, Front and Rear Fenders with Mud Guards, Rear LED Light, Side Kickstand (Optional Center Kickstand), Bash Guard on Gear Shifter in Rear

Other:

Maximum Weight (Rider + Payload) 330 lbs, Cruise Control

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Bafang BPM

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

15 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

720 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

LED Console on Left Bar

Readouts:

Battery Level 1-5, Cruise Control

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Juiced Riders ODK U500 has one of the worst names I’ve seen but offers one of the best electric cargo bikes I’ve come across. Please note that this review is for the 2013 model, to learn about the most recent version check out the ODK V3 review. The ODK U500 is available as a standard non-electric cargo bike for just $899 or a very reasonable $2,199 as an ebike. For the money, you’ll get strength, range, durability and a decent one year warranty on the frame, components and battery system! Unlike some other entries in this space such as the the Pedego Tandem that optionally converts to cargo bike by removing the rear seat, the Juiced Riders ODK U500 was purpose built with hauling in mind and it really shows.

The hub motor on this bike offers 500 watts of power (as you might have guessed from the U500 name) and is designed to work with 48 volts of power input which is at the upper end of mainstream ebikes. It’s a geared motor meaning it offers more torque but has internal parts that could wear out a little faster over time. You’ll be able to ride with large loads (up to 330 lbs including rider) and easily manage small and medium sized hills without pedaling. The motor runs smooth and quiet (see the video review above) and is so powerful that the front wheel will actually spin out if the throttle is twisted abruptly from stop.

The battery configuration chosen for the ODK U500 is Lithium Manganese which strikes a balance between the high performance, low weight benefits of Lithium-ion and the lower cost but fewer cycles offered by Lead Acid. All things considered, given the generous one year warranty and low price of this bike, this battery choice makes sense. In terms of positioning on the bike, the battery is protected very well in a long aluminum case that is mounted in the rear rack area and completely surrounded by aluminum tubing. The front of the pack has an on/off switch and the rear has a twist cover for charging. Unfortunately this battery is not so easy to take off so you’ll want to charge it while on the bike. The battery offers 15 amp hours of capacity which is 50% more than most electric bikes and that extends range dramatically, especially when paired with the higher 48 volts of power which creates efficiency in riding. This bike gets over 30 miles on a charge and that’s without pedaling!

Beyond the motor and battery chosen for the ODK U500, the frame and components are all very solid and well thought out. I have very few complaints other than the relatively stiff ride quality. The wheels are 20″ in diameter which is smaller than the standard 26″ or 29″/700c that most bikes use. This makes the bike easier to mount, load and balance on at stop signs but doesn’t smooth over bumps quite as gently. Also, there are no shock absorbers and while the tires are oversized, they are made with extra thick rubber that takes some of the softness out. The seat is oversized and fairly soft which helps but I recommend considering a seat post shock if you live in an especially bumpy area or will be riding a lot.

A few drawbacks to this bike include the lack of pedal assist, although there is a unique cruise control feature built in. This is an interesting feature, rare in the world of ebikes, that could serve to relax the hand of a rider who might otherwise have to twist the throttle unendingly over the course of long commutes. I also would have liked integrated lights, especially given the extra capacity of the 15 amp hour battery. The control unit on this bike is very simple and won’t display your speed, distance or other fancy statistics. One other drawback is the lack of a rear disc brake, only the front wheel has it. In wet conditions and with heavy loads disc brakes are preferred and it would be nice to have them on both wheels but I think this decision was made to keep the rear wheel simple, inexpensive and to more easily accomodate the hub gearing system in the rear.

My favorite part of this bike is the rear rack itself. I was delighted to find that the cross bar configuration works perfectly with child seats, food boxes and other after market accessories. There are five cross bars to work with along the top and three along each side. The top bars on the rear rack are oversized, providing strength and durability but the extra side bars are narrow gauge and match standard bicycle racks exactly! This is a big deal because it opens up a whole world of pannier accessories. Many electric bikes require double sided panniers that sling over the top because the rear racks are too fat (having to support a battery and extreme forces), but that’s not the case here.

Other pleasing features of this bike include the internally geared rear hub which makes shifting from stand still possible. While it only offers three gears, this bike wasn’t built for speed and three works well enough while keeping the bike light, simple and avoiding derailleurs. The chain itself is relatively tight because there aren’t any rings for shifting gears, this means it won’t slap the chainstay or fall off as easily when riding over bumps. The chain is also protected with an extended chain guard to keep your pants clean and snag free. The metal studded Welgo pedals work well and will hold up in wet conditions or if the bike tips over onto its side. The rear hub has a protective metal cage surrounding the cable inclosure. The spokes on both wheels are wide gauge, offering increased strength for heavy loads.

In case you couldn’t tell, I’m a big fan of this bike. I was delighted by the features and quality I found when inspecting and riding it. The combination of thoughtful design choices, durability, warranty and low price combined with three fun colors make this bike a strong competitor in the world of electric cargo bikes and even as a stand along electric bike! It’s not as smooth riding as a bike with 700c wheels and oversized balloon tires with a sprung saddle, but it more than delivers in almost every other way. Especially if you’re using it as a delivery bike ;)

Pros:

  • Extra thick tires are durable and thorn resistant
  • Rear rack provides numerous top mounting points that work seamlessly with Yepp child seat, mobile food boxes, seat pads and other accessories
  • Rear rack provides side bars made with narrow gauge tubing that match standard bicycle racks, making it compatible with nearly all pannier bags
  • Smaller 20″ wheels keep the weight of this bike low to the ground
  • Low step design makes mounting, and resting with one foot very easy, this is especially helpful when hauling heavy loads
  • Super strong 500 watt motor and 48 volt battery combination
  • Large sized 15 amp hour battery will go 30+ miles
  • Ultra durable aluminum battery case is protected on all sides by rear rack
  • Internal hub gear can be shifted from standstill, helpful when hauling large loads
  • Solid Welgo pedals, high end Tektro ebike brake levers and quality fenders
  • Built in “cruise control” button allows twist-free riding over long distances
  • Plastic chain guard keeps pants clean and snag free, rear derailleur cage protects shifting mechanics
  • Wide gauge spokes and additional cross bar supports on frame support heavy loads up to 330 lbs (150 kg)

Cons:

  • Lower grade Lithium Manganese battery pack won’t get as many charge cycles as Lithium-ion but keeps the bike affordable
  • Only three gears available, work well enough but more limiting than other comparable bikes
  • Smaller wheels combined with thick tires make this bike more jarring when riding over bumps, no shocks but the soft wide seat helps some, consider a seat post shock absorber
  • Battery is meant to be left on the bike, cannot easily remove for charging
  • No computer console to show speed, distance or precise battery level, instead opts for a cheaper LED indecator
  • No pedal assist mode, must twist throttle or use cruise control
  • No lights included, must buy separately and power from separate sources
  • Wires are not run through the bicycle frame but do stay out of the way and are managed well enough

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Juiced Bikes Reviews

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent S Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017, 2018

A high-speed, feature complete, value priced electric bike that comes in four frame sizes, high-step and mid-step frame style, and three colors. Relatively comfortable thanks to fatter tires, a suspension fork with compression slider and lockout, Velo…...

Juiced Bikes OceanCurrent Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable high-speed cruiser electric bike, available in traditional cantilever high-step or relaxed mid-step for easy mounting, choice of five fun colors including traditional black or red. Excellent frame balance, the downtube battery keeps weight low and center, the compact hub motor…...

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Air Review

  • MSRP: $1,195
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An affordable speed pedelec with high-definition cadence sensor, mechanical disc brakes and a nine-speed Shimano Altus drivetrain, it's well balanced and relatively light weight. Removable battery and quick release front wheel make it easier to lock securely and fill-up…...

Juiced Bikes CrossCurrent Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An affordably priced speed pedelec that's well balanced, not too heavy and available in three frame sizes for a good fit, you can also upgrade the battery size. Comes stock with a powerful 48 volt battery but lower 7.8 amp hours, uses a…...

Juiced Bikes ODK U500 V3 Review

  • MSRP: $1,995
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

A sturdy, high torque, cargo style electric bike with enormous range thanks to a 48 volt 15 amp hour battery pack with premium Panasonic Lithium-ion cells. Powerful 500 watt internally geared front hub motor by 8Fun, benefits from a smaller wheel…...


Angelo
4 years ago

How the heck can the “ride time” be 1.5 hours with a 48 volt 15 amp hour Lithium Manganese battery, yet the “range” is 35 to 40 miles? I know the road, wind and weight of the rider makes a difference but what a difference.

Reply
Court Rye
4 years ago

Hi Angelo! That’s a great point and I bet the bike would actually go for upwards of two hours but since it’s a cargo bike with smaller diameter wheels there are a couple of other factors to consider in there. It’s got excellent torque but also weighs 70+ pounds without rider or cargo and honestly the range spec is more of an estimate. I’ll try to get a more detailed response from the founder of Juiced. Thanks for chiming in!

Reply
Angelo
4 years ago

By the way. Great blog. I’m spend alot of time here tonight.

Reply
Steve Loar
4 years ago

On the Juiced site it says it’s a 48v 22amp Panasonic Lithium battery that will get over 50 miles of travel. And the price is now $3199, which is not cheap. That’s for the Version 3, this one must be the Version 2?

Reply
Court Rye
4 years ago

Yeah, they are constantly tweaking the models and V3 has even undergone some improvements and refinements since I reviewed it a while back :)

Reply
Dennis Figueroa
2 years ago

PLEASE try your best to review the Juiced Cross Current electric bicycle. New for 2016, Thank you, Dennis

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Dennis, it’s definitely on the list and I’m speaking with a dealer about doing a review soon. Thanks for making the suggestion!

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Ravi Kempaiah
4 weeks ago

Hello members of EBR. I wanted to get some insights of real Juiced Bike owners on how well the various models perform in wet and rainy conditions. Living in the SF Bay Area, we do get our fair share of rainy weather and having a reliable ebike is the key to making a regular work commute possible.

I've had a pre-order for the HyperFat since the middle of this year and want to manage my expectations about overall reliability of the components in wet weather. Many DIYers have told me the MAC motor is very reliable, but how about the other components like the connectors, control panel, and throttle?

My only point of comparison is my current Haibike. I'll be holding onto this bike, since it's good to have two different setups. The one thing I can say about the Haibike and Bosch system is that when it rains, I don't worry at all about water ingress with the controls, since they're all IP rated.

For all of you that own any model of Juiced bike, how well does it work in the wet and have you had any component issues with the drivetrain, motor, or controls?

The new Air and ocean current bikes may not have the highest level of water proofing but the original ODK U500 cargo bikes are built like a tank. They are the real workhorse. Used by several pizza delivery companies.
Tora put this bike through some very rigorous testing. He basically rode the bike in rain for 2 hrs straight. Here is a video.

Dewey
2 months ago

If you're looking at a 'long tail' cargo bike for putting children on the back, from Yuba I'd suggest the Spicy Curry or an alternative such as the Xtracycle Edgerunner - both have smaller 20" wheels on the back which lower the center of gravity of the cargo deck versus full size wheels. If you are only carrying one child on the bike, a less expensive alternative might be a 'mid-tail' such as the Juiced ODK U500 which has 20" wheels both front and rear and a step through frame, it has a throttle and cruise control but no pedal assist, it's sold out on the Juiced website but you might find one still in stock at one of their dealers eg 5 left at this Canadian dealer. Check out Court's review. Here's a review by a parent. Here are some first impressions from parents in hilly Seattle, and a one year update.

The Tern GSD is really nice, like the Juiced U500 it has 20" wheels both front and rear, but the Bosch motor on the Tern provides power via pedal assist with no throttle - which one you like is a matter of personal preference. I like to ride along using pedal assist with no throttle, whereas other folks like to use a throttle when starting off. If you'd like both pedal assist and a throttle there are some cargo ebikes that offer both like the RadWagon, or you might look into converting a regular pedal cargo bike with a kit motor from Bafang/eRad, Dillenger, E-BikeKit, or BionX.

Ravi Kempaiah
2 months ago

Hey guys! So lucky to have access to such a great website and community. I'm a bike messenger based out of New York and thought it was a good idea to invest in an electric bike/system. Weekend days, I ride upwards of 50 miles in a single day. After a while, it began to take a toll on my back, I ultimately ride 200 miles a week. Initially I was looking for an entire bike for $3,000 but haven't found a single one that can manage a 50 mile range. If you know a bike that fits my budget and has 50 miles or range, please comment. I've stumbled upon the BionX D-500 and it seems to be the choice to go with. I figured I'll most likely be converting my bike. Should I go with the BionX D-500? Based on the reads, BionX seems to be the industry leader. Will it be able to handle 10,000 miles in a course of a year? How much would I have to spend on maintenance? There are other conversion kits that cost significantly less, around $700 for 25 miles. I was thinking on installing two slots for batteries, like the Riese & Müller bike https://electricbikereview.com/riese-muller/delite-gt-nuvinci-hs/ and make it more affordable. Are their other routes I can take? Thanks for reading. Please feel free to share.

https://shop.juicedbikes.com/collections/e-bikes/products/odk-u500-v3?variant=9745115461
With 48V, 32Ah, you could easily do 50 miles.

This is the biggest battery pack I have seen 52V, 34Ah

https://lunacycle.com/roam-fusion/

Needs a bit of maintenance from your side. you will get a long life and 75+ miles per charge on this one.

BKS
3 months ago

I purchased a U500 in February and have had 3 motors with the same issues, less than 500 miles. The local franchise holder is not too helpful, loves to sell not service so much. I have lost confidence in the product.

Timpo
3 months ago

hey all, my wife and are kicking around the idea of using an ebike for an around town fast food delivery service. Ill list my setup idea as far as the bike is concerned but I'd like feedback from those with more ebike exp as to wether it would be viable or not.

The bike- Juiced CC Air with the ext 12ah battery. I'm going with the 2 12ah batts as they would have longer range than 1 21ah batt for almost the same cost. There is also the option of purchasing two CCAs and keep one stored as a backup but use both batts as needed.

I looked at the ODK but I don't think its the right bike plus the u500 is sold out and who knows when of if it'll be back and so are the parts needed to upgrade a u350 to be as useful, so its pretty much out of the running.

I'm picking the Air over the S due to its rigid fork making front rack mounting less of a hassle- here is the rack I'm looking at - http://m.waldsports.com/index.cfm/store/front-baskets/257gb-black-ewalds-multi-fit-front-rack/

Rear rack is a PDW payload which i already have on hand and will prob slap on a set of their soda pop fenders as well.

Im not hell bent of getting the Juiced bike but just looking at costs, speed and fairly reputable company it seemed like a solid choice. Alternate suggestions are appreciated.

So are ebikes at the point where they'd make viable workhorse delivery vehicles? Post your thoughts.

Thanks.
The CC Air is not really a cargo bike.. have you considered the Juiced U500?
https://shop.juicedbikes.com/collections/e-bikes/products/odk-u500-v3

It comes with 15Ah battery but long range 32Ah option available.

Va. Bch. Electric Bike Center
3 months ago

hey all, my wife and are kicking around the idea of using an ebike for an around town fast food delivery service. Ill list my setup idea as far as the bike is concerned but I'd like feedback from those with more ebike exp as to wether it would be viable or not.

The bike- Juiced CC Air with the ext 12ah battery. I'm going with the 2 12ah batts as they would have longer range than 1 21ah batt for almost the same cost. There is also the option of purchasing two CCAs and keep one stored as a backup but use both batts as needed.

I looked at the ODK but I don't think its the right bike plus the u500 is sold out and who knows when of if it'll be back and so are the parts needed to upgrade a u350 to be as useful, so its pretty much out of the running.

I'm picking the Air over the S due to its rigid fork making front rack mounting less of a hassle- here is the rack I'm looking at - http://m.waldsports.com/index.cfm/store/front-baskets/257gb-black-ewalds-multi-fit-front-rack/

Rear rack is a PDW payload which i already have on hand and will prob slap on a set of their soda pop fenders as well.

Im not hell bent of getting the Juiced bike but just looking at costs, speed and fairly reputable company it seemed like a solid choice. Alternate suggestions are appreciated.

So are ebikes at the point where they'd make viable workhorse delivery vehicles? Post your thoughts.

Thanks.
Pedego Stetch..hot box rear, cold box on front rack

Voodoosix
3 months ago

hey all, my wife and are kicking around the idea of using an ebike for an around town fast food delivery service. Ill list my setup idea as far as the bike is concerned but I'd like feedback from those with more ebike exp as to wether it would be viable or not.

The bike- Juiced CC Air with the ext 12ah battery. I'm going with the 2 12ah batts as they would have longer range than 1 21ah batt for almost the same cost. There is also the option of purchasing two CCAs and keep one stored as a backup but use both batts as needed.

I looked at the ODK but I don't think its the right bike plus the u500 is sold out and who knows when of if it'll be back and so are the parts needed to upgrade a u350 to be as useful, so its pretty much out of the running.

I'm picking the Air over the S due to its rigid fork making front rack mounting less of a hassle- here is the rack I'm looking at - http://m.waldsports.com/index.cfm/store/front-baskets/257gb-black-ewalds-multi-fit-front-rack/

Rear rack is a PDW payload which i already have on hand and will prob slap on a set of their soda pop fenders as well.

Im not hell bent of getting the Juiced bike but just looking at costs, speed and fairly reputable company it seemed like a solid choice. Alternate suggestions are appreciated.

So are ebikes at the point where they'd make viable workhorse delivery vehicles? Post your thoughts.

Thanks.

Mark Peralta
3 months ago

Right from day 1, I am rooting for @Tora Harris because he has a track record that shows he is honest, has skills and drive to bring out some of the innovation that has already happened in China.
Look at his Wiki page: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tora_Harris
I want to add to the qualifications of Tora Harris, he graduated from Princeton University in 2002 with a degree in mechanical and aerospace engineering. Aside from his engineering schooling, a highly disciplined Olympian with multiple awards, and a track record of successfully marketed internationally his prior product (the Juiced ODK U500), he is also directly involved in all stages of production, shipment, and after sales customer care, with hands on to all the details and R&D. He doesn't need to hire a bunch of intellectual (and expensive) people, and since he speaks Chinese, he also knows many manufacturing connections in China and Taiwan. With that remarkable talent, he is extremely capable of producing affordable but impressive ebikes.
http://www.juicedbikes.com/about/

john peck
4 months ago

It's pricy, if you get the hyper-extended range battery pack & coming on the market next month, but
Juiced Bike's Hyperfat fat bike has boocoo power to get you anywhere. At 1000 watts it may have
a bit more power than is exactly legal, but having once weighed #350, the extra watts are a plus.
it's solid, but may be faster than you're comfortable with. It's a beast! I just bought Juiced's CCS,
I've waited for years for an electric bike with this kind of range & features. I've looked a lot of
$5k bikes that don't get close. $2400 with the long range battery pack, $1700 standard. Not
cheap, but not outrageous. Image shown is the CCS, 650 watts totally street legal in U.S. 100 mi +.
Their U500 might also suit your needs.

1/1
Ann M.
4 months ago

@Sami Joseph, you might benefit from a heavier duty cargo bike like the RadWagon. Court has a comprehensive review of the RadWagon. It's been around for several years now and is sold primarily online. Just be sure to purchase some spare spokes and check the spoke tension in the rear wheel where the hub motor is. The motor is stout and you can carry a bunch o' stuff on the longer back end. Price is around $1600, so with shipping you should be within budget.

Another option would be the Juiced Bikes ODK U500; this ebike has several options for battery size and offers one of the largest batteries available. It's a little more compact cargo bike but has lots of capacity to haul stuff. Price starts at $1995; maybe a bit more with a larger battery but worth it for the extra range. Check out Court's review of the ODK U500 for a bit more perspective. Juiced sells both online and through dealers.

Both of these bikes come with pretty beefy, wider tires; however, you will probably want to add some extra protection like a Tire Liner to prevent flats on those unpaved roads. Good luck on your enterprise!

Dewey
5 months ago

It isn't lightweight, the battery doesn't easily detach, and it doesn't offer pedal assist only throttle with a cruise control function, but another suggestion would be the Juiced ODK U500 that can be serviced in Vancouver by Grin - their website says they don't have the standard battery version new in stock so you might consider a refurbished one from Juiced - get the 500 not the 350 for just over a grand and use the money you save on the accessories listed on this one year owner review on Reddit from a parent in Seattle. Here's a photo of one towing a child trailer, and here's Court's review.

Dewey
6 months ago

There was a long term review of the Juiced ODK U500 the other day on the Ebikes sub-Reddit. There's also a cargo bikes sub-Reddit you could ask this question on. There's a national Pedal Parents Facebook group. Also see if there is a local group to you, I've found the D.C. Family Biking Facebook group and the local Kidical Mass groups very friendly and helpful answering questions and offering test rides.

Kelda McGurk
6 months ago

I am considering a U500 for getting around my farm. A bike with this amount of payload capacity would be helpful for carrying light tools, checking fences, etc. I am 260 lbs and am wondering if a non fat tire bike would be suitable for my dirt roads & trails.

We recently rented this bike to look for our dog. We drove it over bumpy grass, through weeds over our head, and along tire-rutted dirt trails. It tackled it all with ease.

W Mc
6 months ago

I am considering a U500 for getting around my farm. A bike with this amount of payload capacity would be helpful for carrying light tools, checking fences, etc. I am 260 lbs and am wondering if a non fat tire bike would be suitable for my dirt roads & trails.

Shannon
6 months ago

Just wondering if anyone has had any first hand experience with the Ariel Rider bikes? I have been looking at getting an EBike and due to my weight have been looking at the C Class Ariel Rider or potentially the ODK U500 v3 from Juiced Bikes.

I would appreciate any feedback anyone has with these bikes or even other options.

Thanks.

Hagrid
7 months ago

Juiced Bikes Announced Upgrades to the HyperFat on their blog 5/3/2017 (3rd of May 2017)
http://www.juicedbikes.com/updates/2017/5/3/hyperfat-hf1000-update-for-pre-orders.html

I wanted to discuss the upgrades and see if any of you would chime in on my questions, confirm my stance on the upgrades, or provide alternative views for or against.

Suspension Fork:
Con: Added weight.
Pro: Free. Deals with variation better?
Comments: Its a free upgrade everyone gets so I don't see the harm. I'm working on getting a Hitch Bike Rack for two e-bikes and the added couple pounds or so shouldn't make or break it for me.

More Torque:
Quote: "The production HyperFat is set up with a 9T winding which was selected to target a top speed performance of 30+ mph with pedal assist, yet provide good hill climbing performance."
"For riders who are heavier or have more hills, we have a 12T motor winding option which provides more torque performance, but reduced top speed. The estimated top speed of around 25-26 mph with the 12T setup. With this option chosen, only the motor is changed everything else remains that same. "
Comments: I live around a lot of hills. I've ordered the OceanCurrent and the HyperFat. My understanding is the OceanCurrent has the same 500W Bafang motor as the U500 Utility bike, but in the rear wheel so its not going to potentially spin out on hills. If the OceanCurrent I get this month can deal with all the hills in my area shouldn't the 1000w normal 9T winding also suffice?

Hydraulic Disc Brakes:
Quote: "We have sourced Tektro Dorado HD-E715 which are regarded as one of the best Hydraulic disc brake systems designed for e-bikes."
"Upgrade to Tektro Hydrulic HD-E715 Disc Brakes (+$249)"
Comments: Everyone I've talked to in person is all about the Hydraulic Disc Brakes, but is it worth the $250? (~10% more for the bike if you're getting the bike with the 21Ah Battery for $2,198 - $2,347.00.)

Frame Sizes:
I'm 6'2" so I should be fine with the stock frame (that fits most) and since I've already purchased the bike, I'm not sure this does much for me.

Rear Racks:
Yup I want them.

Mud Guards/Fenders:
Yup I want them.

Revised LED Headlight:
I'm glad it comes with a waterproof headlight and Juiced Bikes is taking care of the wiring.

Price increase and Crowd-Funding Campaign:
I'm sure glad I already ordered the HyperFat!

Test Rides:
Since I live in the South-East of USA I really doubt I'll get my hands on this pre-production model. I would much rather @Court provide a review of the pre-production than put my hands on it! What am I really going to gain from riding it around a test track? If I can't try it in my environment I'm not sure what the test ride is really going to do for me.

Marc V
8 months ago

Welcome Dave!

What are you using for your capacity tests? I ended up getting the knock off iMaxB6 for a bit cheaper than the official one (truth be told I didn't know it was a knock off till my friend pointed it out lol).

Also, how big will your battery be as well as configuration?

I was going to make a larger spare eBike battery for my 1st eBike but ended up getting the Juiced Bikes ODK U500 V3 eBike with the 48v 32ah battery which is more than enough range for me, so ended up using my harvested lithium cells for my backup solar generator battery bank haha.

Good luck on the build!

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

Marc V
8 months ago

Hey All!

After owning the Juiced ODK U500 V3 for a few weeks and really liking it, I finally got around to doing a full range test.

Long story short I got about 50 miles with the 32ah battery on a single full charge.

Long story even longer see below lol

I chose to ride it in an almost worst case scenario for my "real world" conditions. I live in a city with mostly flat riding a few minor hills here and there and windy days etc.

I finally found a nice enough day where I was free to put it to the test.

I road the bike pretty hard, meaning I did little to no pedaling, using throttle even from dead stop. I know that is a lot to ask of from your motor and battery, but wanted to test it, like I said, in an almost worse case scenario where maybe there might be some days where I am injured and have a hard time pedaling. Bike is pretty heavy so even on normal everyday commuting I need to do a standing pedal down to get going if I don't use the throttle to deal with the weight. Good time to give bike and personal info...

Some info on my setup:
I have the heavier MoPed tires
Rear passenger seat kit from Juiced Bikes (works great! but be aware rpassenger will feel bumps etc so make sure to warn them if possible of upcoming bumps, we learned that the hard way hehe)
Milk Crate mounted on rear rack as well
Some basic accessories (couple of Ulocks with cables, Headlights, speed/odometer, phone mount)

Some info on me:
Around 185 pounds, 190ish with clothing give or take

So that being said i was asking a lot out of the motor and battery hauling that much weight with no assistance from me, but it hauls like a champ as I have ridden it with myself and another adult!

Took it all around northside chicago, down to the lake up to navy pier for those who are familiar with the area and back, I had so much juice left from that 30 mile trip was just cruising around the neighborhoods going down streets I've never been down, trying to remember which are the bad ones to stay away from haha :)

So dealt with traffic, people, stop signs, stop lights, so a lot of stop and goes and again riding it hard with throttle from dead stop and little pedaling. By the lakefront dealt with a lot of front winds so, motor was fighting with that as well. But never needed to pedal because the motor couldn't handle the job, I ended up catching myself pedaling out of pure habit! Had to tell myself, "remember you are doing a no pedal range test!" lol

There was still juice left when I had ridden it for some time on one battery dot/light, I considered the range test done and bike was still moving with this riding style but I did notice reduced performance so I called it then because at that point if I was out and about not in a semi controlled environment, I would be thinking I need to find a place to charge haha. So I might have squeezed more miles, but ~50miles covers almost all, if not all of my possible commutes (round trip! and if this wasn't a range test and I decided to charge in between here and there with the fast charger, forget about it! haha)

So had a great time as I have never seen the city from this perspective, I was an avid city bicycle rider before, but it was mostly point A to B and limited by my endurance/stamina lol. No joke, eBikes has gotten me out more and wanting to go cruise around weather permitting as I stopped riding bicycles for years for whatever reason :)

The ODK U500 V3 handled Chicago like a champ, but if you have researched or even ridden the bike, you will already know there is no suspension, so flats are great but you feel the bumps and if you have a passenger they REALLY feel the bumps lol.

Built in/standard taillight is bright at night and can be seen pretty far away, I added reflector stickers to my milk crate as well as my helmet hehe. Just mounted a LED flashlight DIY style to handle bars and works well at night both for my own visibility and being visible to others.

Oh also, it took me even longer to do the range test because eBikes are not as popular here in Chicago as compared to other big cities in Cali or NY, etc. I've only seen a handful on the road where I ride, so I kept getting flagged down and getting asked questions about the bike, which was fun lol

So conclusion, for real world city commuting for sub 200lb rider, expect 50+ range on a single charge with the 32ah batt if you ride it like a scooter/moped for days you are injured, tired, or plain LAZY lmao. I can easily see 80-100 mile range on a single charge that others have been reporting if you are lighter, pedal, and have great riding conditions (flat, downhills, tailwinds, etc).

Hope they keep going with this bike with V4, V5, etc!

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

Marc V
8 months ago

I have a Juiced ODK U500 V3 and live in Chicago, I got it towards the end of winter so only road it a few times when there was snow. I mostly use it to commute to work (~20miles round trip) and Chicago is pretty good on clearing the roads when it snows but I felt the bike handles well in both light snow as well as wet conditions, it has been raining heavy the last few days here in Chicago. Of course with any mode of transportation in foul weather, you need to proceed with caution and reduced speed for safety.

I've had similar experiences of dialing in how I ride in certain conditions with braking at stop signs or lights. It varies with different loads, weather, etc. But I am getting the hang of it now.

I have taken my battery out many times messing with different stuff on the rack (easier to get different things mounted with the battery off) and I have done it so many times it doesn't bother me to do it, but everyone is correct, it is not easy to be removed compared to others :) Currently I have the rear passenger seat kit and a milk crate mounted on the rear rack which work well for most of my commutes.

I have the same issues with loading it with cargo, I have the standard kickstand that came with bike. When I go grocery shopping I like to load the bike while it is leaning against the bike lock/park pole thing :) if I am by myself, if I am with someone, I get on the bike and hold it up while they load then they get on. If it is light loading turning the front wheel the opposite direction of the kickstand lean helps a lot surprisingly for me.

Only clocked in a few hundred miles and no major issues, handlebars were loose as others have reported, I tightened them and haven't had a problem since. Did a range test recently and got 50miles in riding around Chicago with virtually no pedaling lol. But when after charging the bike over night I came in to unplug it and the standard charger that came with it was blinking RED, it still charged the bike, and I asked Juiced support and they mentioned that it was most likely the cells being balanced and that cut off the charge port (juiced support is great by the way, so that helps a lot in my book to know they got your back!). Been riding it the last few days and it has been charging and riding as normal and it has been heavy rain lately. Wish it had full suspension as I travel mostly on paved roads, but Chicago like most cities can have bumpy roads with potholes, and rear passenger kit seat rider feels it even worse, which we found out the hard way haha. So on my to do list is get a suspension float seat and look what I can do for my passenger, maybe a thicker heavy cushion or seat with springs/suspension to help with the bumpy rides :)

I park it outside with a couple of locks and try and wipe it down in my garage after it gets wet from riding and parked in the rain, during winter I only brought in the battery a couple of times, during winter. but I mostly leave it in the garage to charge, not heated but it is insulated so pretty cold still.

So to answer your initial question, the bike seems to handle the winter weather ok, you just need to be mindful of the conditions as it will mostly likely change how you ride, I mostly didn't like riding in winter because it got so dang cold lmao! But I'm still alive and the way Chicago is pretty soon I will be complaining that it got so dang hot! haha.

But I agree with everyone else, it aint perfect, but I really REALLY LIKE my Juiced ODK U500!!! hehe

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

Marc V
8 months ago

Traded in my 1st eBike for the Juiced Bikes ODK U500 V3 and so far got a little over 200 miles clocked in and really enjoying the bike! Unfortunately I have not tried the pedego cargo although I was debating that and spicy and other cargo bikes, I eventually chose the ODK U500 because it was a midtail and I wasn't really in need of a full cargo bike. I also chose this for the range.

I got the 32ah battery and just recently did a range test just to see how it was for me. I'm around 185lbs so 190ish with clothing, I also have the heavy moped tires, and a few accessories that added another pound or two. Test was around the city of Chicago as I mostly use the bike for urban commuting to work as well as point A to B for recreational activities, so mostly paved roads, mostly flat, but Chicago does have bumpy terrain and potholes here and there lol.

Anyway was able to get around 50miles! That is riding it hard though lol. Little to no pedaling. Fought some wind by the lakefront and the bike was still moving around 50miles but it was slowing down, so who knows how many more miles I could have squeezed out at reduced performance but I considered the range test done at that point hehe.

I agree on the suspension, I have it stock on that and it can get bumpy, and I have the rear passenger seat kit from them as well and that can feel bumps even more. So I might look into adding a suspension seat as well as more cushion for my passengers lol.

But if you are into these type of eBikes, I recommend the ODK u500, I am really glad I got it.

Of course, if you have the ability to test ride multiple eBikes that will help you decide.

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

Marc V
8 months ago

Wow, sorry to hear and I will keep an eye on this thread as I currently own a Juiced Bike, hope you get it worked out!

I currently own a Juiced ODK U500 V3 (2nd eBike) and have worked with Juiced Support on a few support cases and they have been very helpful (even Tora himself responded to one of my support cases).

I couldn't tell by your post if you already have a current support case with Juiced Bikes? If not, I recommend getting one ASAP so you can nip this in the bud. UPDATE: I see you said Luis called you, which I assume you are talking about Luis from Juiced. Either way I hope it all gets sorted out!

Good luck!

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

Dewey
8 months ago

Want to be able to get around with my five year old- towing him on a wheehoo or trail-a-bike. I am 5'6" and have a just over 30" inseam- Ideally I'll have a bike we can also use to cruise the local rail trail. I am wondering about step-thru models and their ability to deal with towing...

A refurbished Juiced ODK U500 is $1200 and offers nearly 900 watts peak power, low step, smaller 20" tires, cruise control, long range, hydraulic disk brakes, lots of bolt on accessories including a huge sturdy front basket, and a dealer network so you can take a test ride before you buy. Check out Court's review. Here's a review by a parent. Here are some first impressions from parents in hilly Seattle, they recommend adding a wide double kickstand like the Ursus Jumbo but check with Juiced if they will fit one or what they suggest would work. Two Wheeling Tots has a buying guide on trailer cycles, one consideration is to check the measurements of the trailer cycle arm to make sure it will clear the extra long rear rack of the Juiced ODK, you might want to ask Juiced what they suggest might work - you might need some sort of extension piece or a trailer cycle arm that bolts onto the rack rather than the seat post. Or skip the trailer cycle and get rack mounted bars, seat pad, and foot pegs/boards for a passenger. One issue is the ODK uses Kenda K-924 tires that are not standard bicycle tires but use a harder rubber compound which makes them stiff and difficult to get off the wheel rim in the event of a puncture, you could either swap them out for something more puncture resistant like the Schwalbe Big Ben Plus tires, or buy some Park Tool steel tire levers and have a plan B e.g. a cell phone with GPS and if you are a member of AAA and you can push the bike to a road they can arrange for a tow truck to take you and your bike home.

lark
8 months ago

I know I'm resurrecting a dead topic, but this is a pretty dead subforum. ;)

We purchased two U500's in the winter. We live in Seattle, where we got about 11" of rainfall in our first month of riding. Also, we work downtown, which is a 328-ft. gain in less than a mile. Not too steep if you're constantly going uphill like on a mountain road, but when you consider that they're short city blocks, you could get an idea of how steep the hills are (a bunch of 5% grade blocks with 0% grade intersecting cross-streets). We've also taken it up 12% grades with a kiddo on the back.

This bike is very capable of winter riding. The only issue I've had with any sort of traction loss is if I stop at a stop sign that's just before the crest of a hill. So I either ride up further than the stop sign into the cross-walk, or go very slowly and not stop at all. At a hill like this on my way home from work, if it is raining, I like to stand over the handlebars. Never any traction issues with doing that.

Most important is maintenance. If your tires and brakes are in proper working order, you'll be fine. I actually deflated our front tires from 55 PSI to 30 PSI in order to gain a bit more traction. It did have a noticeable effect on the wear of the tire and the drain of the battery, but I decided that more traction was important.

As for the battery – remember, cold weather will drain your battery. I had a motorcycle that would die overnight every dang time. Then I started bringing the battery inside and leaving it on the tender.

If you have an outlet in your garage, that might help. Charging the battery generates heat. Contact the owner of Juiced. He's always willing to help and pretty quick to respond! tora AT juicedbikes.com

Hi CafeRoaster
So hows it going?, still riding? Any new observations?

I'd have problem with severe cold also. Odk battery is listed as not easily removable. Could you say what's involved with that? How much of a pita it is?

Regarding standing over bar for more traction. have you tried loaded front basket? Someone said that helped alot

lark
8 months ago

@Emily D, there is a fine balance between the cost of producing a high powered cargo bike with a good battery, quality components and adequate range for a reasonable price for the buyer and creating your ultimate cargo ebike. You might want to consider doing a conversion of another bike with a mid drive. For the money, the Juiced bike is a good deal. And Torra Harris, the owner is very responsive to his ebike owners. Anything with Bosch or Yamaha motors is definitely in a different price bracket. You have to think about what terrain is like where you're going to ride and what your personal needs are for a cargo bike and determine how much you want to spend. Most cargo bikes are ridden on a paved road and are designed to carry a substantial load. You can do upgrades on your own and add suspension forks or a suspension seatpost for greater comfort. I'd also recommend doing a test ride before purchasing any ebike to be certain that the model you're considering buying is really the best for you.

Perhaps you have not spent a lot of time riding electric bikes with geared motors; they all have some sound but produce more torque or climbing power than a typical gearless or direct drive hub motor. That's normal for all brands, including Bosch (it's not silent). Hub motors and mid drive motors are two different beasts and each has its sweet spot in performance, price and serviceability, so one is not better than the other. Take the time to learn a little bit about each; Court did a nice overview of the main types of electric motors and another focused on mid drive motors that may give you some perspective.

Hi Ann,

Do you know this to be true, that one can put suspension forks on U500? v3. Know I had trouble converting a rigid fork bike once.

kitsunegari
9 months ago

HEY NICE RACK

Peter Q
1 year ago

Whats better this or the Rad Wagon?

j lin
6 months ago

this one holds more in lb not much

Chris Hvid
4 years ago

Pedal you fool! Is the gearing high enough at top speed?

Chris Hvid
4 years ago

Thanks...ebikes are HYBRID vehicles! Human power will help you live with a smile!  :-)

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Are you referencing Gandalf from Lord of the Rings... because if so, that's awesome. To answer your question, the three speed internally geared hub works alright at low and high speeds (top speed on this ebike with the motor is 20mph). I didn't ride it at full speed a whole lot but your cadence would probably be higher than if this were a seven speed ebike. The gears are sort of middle-range. Sorry for the very qualitative answer here... it has been a while since I rode this particular bike :)

LiveCheapAndProsper
5 years ago

Excellent review. Looks great bike.