ProdecoTech Mariner 7 Review

Prodeco Mariner 7 Electric Bike Review 1
Prodeco Tech Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner Front Hub Motor 1
Prodeco Mariner Battery Back 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Throttle 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Folded 1
Prodeco Mariner Disc Brakes 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Battery 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Electric Bike Review 1
Prodeco Tech Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner Front Hub Motor 1
Prodeco Mariner Battery Back 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Throttle 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Folded 1
Prodeco Mariner Disc Brakes 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Battery 1

Summary

  • An affordable, but heavy, folding electric bike with twist throttle only
  • Available primarily online, offers solid two year warranty including battery pack
  • Lithium Iron Phosphate battery chemistry is stable and long lasting but heavier than other Lithium-ion technologies

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

ProdecoTech

Model:

Mariner 7

Price:

$1,399 USD

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 30 Day Replacement

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20132014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

46 lbs (20.86 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Geometry Measurements:

Folded Dimensions 36" x 29" x 16"

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, Folding

Frame Colors:

White

Frame Fork Details:

Zoom Suspension with 30 mm Travel

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 SRAM X5, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

SRAM X7 Grip Twist on Left Bar

Pedals:

HTI Folding Aluminum Nylon Platform

Headset:

Integrated Cartridge Bearing

Stem:

Promax Folding, Aluminum

Handlebar:

Promax T-Bar 500 mm, Aluminum

Brake Details:

Avid BB5 Mechanical Disc with 180 mm HS1 Rotors, Avid Speed Dial 7 Black Levers

Grips:

Kraton with Alloy Lock Rings

Saddle:

Velo Plush Vacuum

Seat Post:

Suspension Shock

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Wall 24 mm Aluminum

Spokes:

18/8 Black Stainless Steel 12G

Tire Brand:

Continental Contact 20" x 1.75"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Accessories:

Adjustable Single Leg Kickstand, 43.8V 2 Amp Charger, Aluminum Bash Guard on Front Ring, Bell on Left Bar

Other:

Quick Release Front Wheel, Optional 12 Amp Hour Battery Upgrade

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

FSG

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

300 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Battery Voltage:

38.4 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

9 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

345.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Iron Phosphate (LiFePO4), 24 Cells

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level (Green, Yellow, Red)

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

18 mph (29 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The ProdecoTech Mariner 7 is a folding electric bike that costs significantly less than competitors but takes a hit on weight, drive mode options, frame balance and in-person support. All ProdecoTech electric bikes cost less than competing brands because they are primarily sold online, bypassing a physical bike shop outlet. This savings is passed on to the buyer but it also means you may not have a chance to test ride the bike or get maintenance support as easily when the bike inevitably needs repairs. You’ll also have to build it yourself the first time. Still, with a 2 year warranty on all parts including the battery pack this could be an efficient way to step into the world of ebikes.

The motor driving the Mariner 7 offers 300 watts of power with a 500 watt peak and it’s geared meaning you get more torque. This is fairly standard for ebikes where 350 watt geared hub motors have been the most popular choice for full sized offerings. Given the frame size and reduced torque here, this bike is probably ideal for riders under 200 pounds.

The battery pack fueling that hub motor offers 38.4 volts of power and 9 amp hours of range. Again, fairly standard offering and enough to power the bike up to 35 miles in perfect conditions. The cell technology is Lithium Iron Phosphate which provides more cycles than other Lithium-ion types but has a lower energy density meaning in order to reach the 345 watt hours this pack delivers, it ends up being heavier. And this is where the real trade offs begin…

It seems to me that one of the primary benefits of any folding electric bike is the ability to fold and store it. With the Mariner 7 this action becomes more challenging due to the overall system weight. This folding bike weighs nearly 50 pounds while other competing offerings weigh closer to 40. This starts matter when you’re trying to the bike down in a boat compartment or up in an RV closet. Thankfully, the battery pack is removable so this challenge can be somewhat mitigated. Please just be careful when storing this bike so as not to hurt your back.

The ride quality of the Mariner 7 is acceptable. The pedals are plastic and therefore not that stiff. The weight of the battery is elevated high off the ground and all towards the rear which makes it a bit less stable than mid-frame designs but the inclusion of a built in rear light is a nice touch. Since the hub motor is built into the front wheel, that actually helps balance out the weight. I appreciate the seat post shock and idealism of the front shock but honestly, the travel is so short and the springs so stiff that it was hardly noticeable when I rode. The bike could save weight and would ride nearly the same without a front shock of this quality.

Aside from the weight and balance concerns with the Mariner 7, the lack of pedal assist also gives me pause. While this isn’t the only “non pedal assist” electric bike out there, it doesn’t include a cruise control setting which means you’ll need your hand on the grip shifter at all times in order to keep the assist. It’s one of the sacrifices you make for that lower price point. I think of this and other ProdecoTech bikes as entry level scooters. The battery is durable, the components and frames are mid grade and the system works, it’s just less refined. Compare this bike with the EZ Pedaler F300 that weighs less and does include pedal assist but costs $600 more or the IZIP E3 Compact that weighs over 6 pounds less, keeps the battery weight much lower and also offers pedal assist for $1,899.

Pros:

  • One of the cheapest folding electric bikes available
  • Battery pack is removable and features a built in rear light
  • Fantastic 2 year warranty, free shipping for fixes in the first 30 days
  • Seat post shock smooths out the bumps but don’t lift by the seat as the shock may become loose or break
  • 300 watt geared motor offers good torque and power with 500 watt peak output
  • Oversized disc brakes offer great stopping power
  • Aluminum bash guard protects front chain ring when folding and storing

Cons:

  • Challenging to find and test ride in person, mostly sold online
  • Battery tends to be heavier due to lower energy density of LiFePO4
  • Battery is positioned high off the ground creating a less stable ride
  • Overall weight of bike makes it less convenient for stowing
  • Frame components are mid-grade, twist throttle is basic, pedals are soft, front shock hardly works
  • No magnets or other fasteners to keep the bike in folded position
  • Can’t mount anything on top of the rear battery pack, also won’t work with panniers

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More ProdecoTech Reviews

ProdecoTech Mariner 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Powerful geared hub motor and high voltage battery pack for excellent torque and climbing ability. Compact folding design with removable battery, comfortable suspension fork and seat post shock...

ProdecoTech Phantom X2 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Full sized electric bike with unique mid-frame folding feature for easier transport and storage. 500 watt direct drive gearless motor is quiet and strong but only operates on a…...

ProdecoTech Scorpion 27 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Extremely light weight hardtail electric bike with 27 speeds and an efficient friction drive motor. Keyde drivetrain blends in, motor is very small and battery is shaped like a water…...

ProdecoTech Outlaw SS Review

  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

High speed, off-road only electric bike that's not legal to ride in most states without modification and insurance. Quality SRAM, Truvativ and ZOOM components, hand assembled in the USA, solid two year warranty...

ProdecoTech Titanio 29er Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Well priced hardtail mountain bike with light weight titanium frame and larger 29" wheels. Excellent balance and aesthetic appeal with grip drive front hub motor and bottle style battery…...

ProdecoTech Storm 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Inexpensive full sized folding electric bike with 26" wheels and basic suspension fork. Rear-heavy design with hub motor and battery mounted towards the back, single support strut...

ProdecoTech Genesis 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Inexpensive full sized folding electric bike with 26" wheels and basic suspension fork. Rear-heavy design with hub motor and battery mounted towards the back, single support strut...

ProdecoTech Stride R Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Affordable,highpowerelectricbikewithadecentwarrantybutrearheavydesign. Basicsuspensionforkwithcushyseatandlargertirestosmoothoutthebumps...

ProdecoTech Oasis Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Affordable, high power electric bike with a decent warranty but rear heavy design. Limited suspension, relies on cushy seat and balloon tires to smooth out the bumps...

ProdecoTech Phantom X3 Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

More solid than earlier Phantom ebikes, does not fold and has reinforced battery pack supports. High end RockShox fork with lockout, upgraded pedals (that don't fold) and hydraulic Avid DB…...

ProdecoTech Phantom X Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

500 watt direct drive motor is quiet and capable but offers less torque and weighs more, no regen modes. Simple to operate with LED console and twist throttle only, no pedal assist or LCD…...

ProdecoTech Stride 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

One of the most affordable, but still decent quality, entry level electric bikes. Low step design is easy to mount, adjustable neck and shock add comfort, twist throttle…...

ProdecoTech Outlaw EX Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Unstable due to steep long travel shock angle and high battery pack position. Relatively low price but tough to test ride as it's primarily available only online...


Ronald Boykin
3 years ago

It would be nice if it was possible to put fenders on this bike!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Alex_G
1 week ago

I am 61 years old, 5 foot 9 inches tall, and weigh about 260lbs and I'd like to get an eBike to help me get back in shape, something with throttle on demand and power assisted peddling and free peddling if possible. I would like a folding bike as I drive an SUV and live in a rural area. Being 260 lbs. I think I would need about 350 to 500 watts, 2" plus 20" wheels, a comfortable saddle. Something that will bring me home if I run out of leg power :) It would also have to be durable. I have been looking at the Voltbike Mariner being I am from Canada but I am not sure if the 4" x 20" tires would make it too rough on road and too awkward to fold and put in the SUV. I am more thinking of a 2" x 20" wheel ebike that is lighter and easier to lift and carry, I am really looking for help here, I have a list of conditions and my doctors say I am ok to exercise and I hate tread mills and bikes that take you no where. My budget is less important than getting a good quality ebike that might extend my life.

vincent
2 weeks ago

hey dave

i like the fat tire bikes and most of mine are fat tire

have a rad rover and radmini, these are decent bikes for the price- 48 volt 750 watt - excellent customer service - replacement parts/batteries easy to get
on all the cadence sensing bikes i have ridden/owned like these the pas is not great
in my experience they all tend to be too fast in the lower levels, rad has worked on this and my bikes have an older controller that is pretty controlled in level 1 and 2

an 2016 easy motion street torque sensor 48 volt 500 watt which is my most expensive/higher end bike- excellent warranties
it is a nice bike but i do a decent amount of dirt/gravel roads and do not like the skinny tires so will be selling/trading it
it was a good deal

have a 2016 prodeco mariner folder which is a decent bike , throttle only but my lightest bike, easy to fold up and put in a car

a couple of cheap chinese bikes i bought at interbike- both 48 volt 500 watt cadence, although one has 9 levels of pas and is actually pretty good control/smoothness in pas and throttle
one is so ridiculous fast in pas i have it turned off and only use throttle on that one

and have a folding full suspension cheap mtn bike called a cemoto that was my first bike and fine but i would not buy that one again
the battery is in the frame which is a major hassle and cheap full suspension bikes are just cheap
this bike is going on 2 years old so a lot of stuff has changed battery wise etc since then

personally i am a big fan of having the throttle option, think it has a lot of good uses like being able to get the bikes home if something breaks or i get hurt somehow, especially on cadence bikes the ability to go slow is nice

this being said all my throttles act different and some seem to be touchy/wide open or off which i do not like
all my bikes are hub motors

i am looking to sell a few and get down to 4-5
most likely will buy a juiced hyper fat if the frame fits me ok, very excited for this bike to get released
also want a plus size tire mid drive yamaha or brose

at this point my riding time is limited and i am aggravated having to adjust disc brakes etc too often, would like all my bikes to be higher end with hydraulic brakes etc
since i like fat tire bikes finding 20 inch fat tires with torque sensor/throttle and hydraulic brakes is not easy, so my 20 inch fat tires/pretty much friend bikes may eventually get mid drive kits on them with those options...

just reread all this and i agree with some of the other comments, you wont be unhappy spending more money and getting a better bike
since you have a lot of hills a mid drive might be better but most of them are more expensive

i think the rad power bikes and voltbikes are good starter bikes, both companies seem to have very good customer service

hope this helps some

vincent
3 weeks ago

these are 20 inch bikes and fat but what about the radmini or voltbike mariner
think a lot of people have put smaller tires on them like 2.5 inch wide tires if you dont want a fat bike

i know for sure the radmini does throttle from a stop- with or without pas on
and pretty sure the voltbike does too

know what you mean about the pas - even at level 1 being too fast
that was a big turnoff for me on a lot of bikes also

Olrocker
3 weeks ago

I ended up getting two RadMinis for my wife and me (hers is white, mine black.) They will be here Tuesday. The Mariner looks fine, but it has the same frame and features as a number of other Chinese-made folding ebikes, so I went with the more unique style. The 750W hub motor on the Rad appealed to me as well.

Cheers!

SuperGoop
3 weeks ago

I'm not sure if I posted my findings on this thread. Here is what I've been able to gather from various sources for my Voltbike Yukon 750 (maybe same for the Voltbike Mariner?). Hopefully someone will be able to add to it:

S7 - (km/mile)

bL1 - backlight brightness display (3)

OFf - auto time(min) display off (5)

W d - wheel diameter (26)

bU0 - voltage set (48V)

PSd - password (1919)

SPL - speed limit (45km) - gov cuts off at 32km

CUL - MAX Current Limit set (default 15A)

HAL - Magnetic Pole numbers of speed sensor (default=1. Use Unknown ???)

ASs(AS5) - 1-15 ??? (default 12) # of Cadence magnets?

Hd6 - sets the throttle to 6km/h; 1=ON, 0=OFF (default 0)

HdP - toggles the throttle power/current level to match the PAS level. 1=ON; 0=OFF (default 0, full power independent of PAS level)

PAs - levels of assist (set to 0-9; default 1-5)

Cnugget
4 weeks ago

Sure. I'm interested in upgrading to a higher Ah battery than originally came on my Voltbike Mariner (10.4 Ah). I asked George of Voltbike how much Ah can the controller handle and he said 15Ah. He does not recommend going over 15Ah.

Thanks for the update. :)

america94
4 weeks ago

On a number of occasions, I'd asked @Voltbike George about offering higher Ah batteries. I mentioned to him that others, sold nearly identical, Mariner clones that had 20ah batteries. My suggestion to him was for Voltbike to offer a couple of battery options, which is inline with a number of retailers. I'm NOT attempting to disparage George, I understand he's very busy, however he never clearly stated his aversion.

Perhaps he should partner with a 3rd party - maybe EMP for the American market, some other for Canada - for replacement batteries, upgrades and repairs?
On a funny note, that Mariner clone you cited has a value of $6500 according to the seller, now on "sale" at $2200! lol! Speaking of that 20Ah battery, they have "made a deal with Panasonic and have installed their newest battery which is NOT available elsewhere yet!" I had some good laughs reading some of their stuff. There's a lot more funny stuff to read about ;-)

zap016VOLTAGE
4 weeks ago

Sure. I'm interested in upgrading to a higher Ah battery than originally came on my Voltbike Mariner (10.4 Ah). I asked George of Voltbike how much Ah can the controller handle and he said 15Ah. He does not recommend going over 15Ah.

On a number of occasions, I'd asked @Voltbike George about offering higher Ah batteries. I mentioned to him that others, sold nearly identical, Mariner clones that had 20ah batteries. My suggestion to him was for Voltbike to offer a couple of battery options, which is inline with a number of retailers. I'm NOT attempting to disparage George, I understand he's very busy, however he never clearly stated his aversion.

Perhaps he should partner with a 3rd party - maybe EMP for the American market, some other for Canada - for replacement batteries, upgrades and repairs?

Cargo Bike Trailer Josh
1 month ago

Care to elaborate?

Sure. I'm interested in upgrading to a higher Ah battery than originally came on my Voltbike Mariner (10.4 Ah). I asked George of Voltbike how much Ah can the controller handle and he said 15Ah. He does not recommend going over 15Ah.

Cnugget
1 month ago

Thanks Cnugget. There was an ad on here for two nearly new Mariners in my area (Raleigh NC); $2K for both but I missed the opportunity. I was thinking about splitting the difference and getting the Radmini for me and the Mariner for my wife; then I could really do a comparison.

Cheers!
Haha.. Now that would be a worthy video and I would watch. :)

Some things are hard to tell until you get on them. Looks like the bike has had some new updates... Hopefully it's all good. I wasn't sure if I would use an ebike at all. My bow and I decided it would be better to have two bikes at ~3,000 instead of just one.. It is a great cheap date and we have fun saving the money and commuting. It is a good launcher into the world of ebikes.. I don't expect it to last forever nor compete with some of the other amazing things out there but happy so far.. but that is just me. Good luck with your purchase. Rad or Volt or whatever.. May it be fun and give you lots of grins and chuckles.

Don't forget accessories will cost ya as well.. I've probably dropped about $500 on stuff for the bike since I've picked it up. It's a can of worms so save some dollars for that too.. :D

Cnugget
1 month ago

Haha.. Ya I have the Mariner Volt Bike for myself but was hoping to find a nice step thru for my mom that might not launch her off and be easy to get on and off.. Mine also has a swift take off rocket launcher effect which is fine for me but maybe not so fine for my mom. Thanks for the info. Still love the look of this bike. :)

Cnugget
1 month ago

Lollolololol.. Mmk. Chuckles..:) It could take that weight likely without snapping it in half... but it would likely not be covered by warranty. I've had ~280lb on the bike. I still would be concerned with lack of real estate/reach. When you peddle and any(if any) molson muscle exists you end up moving that with each pedal stroke. If you don't have this issue (not sure of your body type) then at a very min you would need a longer seat post??? Maybe @flbum could help ya out a bit more than I for height I think he is 6' 2"... mention's some info here: https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/volt-bike-mariner-2016-so-far-so-happy-observations-as-they-happen.7239/page-7

Hope that helps :)

Olrocker
1 month ago

Thanks Cnugget. There was an ad on here for two nearly new Mariners in my area (Raleigh NC); $2K for both but I missed the opportunity. I was thinking about splitting the difference and getting the Radmini for me and the Mariner for my wife; then I could really do a comparison.

Cheers!

flbum
1 month ago

Here are pictures of the new bell, derailleur cage and chainstay protector on the Mariner. I have also included a picture of the entire bike which includes the longer seat post that I have added due to my height of 6'2". I rode 24.5 miles yesterday. I still had more battery, but had to quit due to seat pain. I'm definitely going to get a new seat!

1/3
flbum
1 month ago

I tested the range of the battery on my new Mariner. I set the display parameter so that manual full throttle would match the PAS level. I used full throttle without peddling at a constant PAS level of 4. I took several breaks during the trip. This was my 3 rd charge of the battery. So, I expect that I am probably experiencing the peak performance of the battery. I returned to the same location from which I started. So, I went downwind as much as I went upwind. Still, I'm sure that the wind decreased my overall range. Here are the parameters and results of the test:

Range: 16.7 miles

Payload: 250 pounds
Average Moving Speed: 11.8 mph
Terrain: Flat paved surface
Tire Pressure: 30 psi

Measuring Device: Garmin Vivoactive HR (GPS)
PAS: 4 (Throttle only / no pedaling)
Total elapsed time: 1:53:37 (including breaks)
Moving Time: 1:24:57
Max Speed: 13.9 mph
Wind speed: 10 mph

The display speed and distance were pretty close to those measured by my GPS. I had the wheel diameter set at 22". I'll bet that the display computer adds 2" inches to the wheel diameter to account for the increase in diameter resulting from an average tire. However, our tires probably add closer to 4 inches to the wheel diameter. This is probably why a 22" wheel diameter yields the best match for the GPS measurements.

I thought that the resulting range with no pedaling was pretty good considering the large payload. :)

Cnugget
1 month ago

Mariner.. but I am biased. :D I don't have the most recent upgrades they have done to the Mariner. Never tried a RadMini.
Easier to fold/lift. If you can at all test drive them, I recommend it.

Cnugget
1 month ago

Great find! Thank you!

I found out the the controller in the latest version of the Voltbike Mariner can only handle up to a 15Ah battery.
Care to elaborate?

Cargo Bike Trailer Josh
1 month ago

EMP - Ebike Market Place

While I have no issues with my Mariner's battery:), although lowering bike's tyres inflation pressure zaps the battery quickly so the Mariner could use a 52V battery in IMHO;), nonetheless I've explored replacement battery optionso_O. My hope was find a company, located here in the USA, that not just sold high capacity - i.e.: 20ah - Silverfish style batteries, but could repair existing batteries as well. Some time ago, I contacted Luna Cycles inquiring about this. Their reply was that they had no plans to offer them:(. Recently I came across EMP, ebike market place, online. EMP not only can replace old battery packs, they sell a 48V 16ah Silver fish style ebike battery as well:). At some point, I may reach out to them about either upgrading my battery or purchasing a new one. Stay Tuned!:D

Great find! Thank you!

I found out the the controller in the latest version of the Voltbike Mariner can only handle up to a 15Ah battery.

StacksAMilli
1 month ago

Hi, very excited to order a Voltbike but have a few questions for those who have ordered or have experience with there newest model of the Voltbike Mariner 500W Limited.

Would it be suitable for a larger man? 6 foot, 6 foot 1, 300 pounds, without any hardware failure (Knowing the seat can be upgraded to a softer seat, and the bike may go a little bit slower, but will it still do the job and won't just snap like a toy?)

How long does it take to arrive / did it take to arrive after purchasing and sending the money, how long it took to ship once paid and how long did it take to arrive once shipped, and did it include tracking?

These are my two final questions to make me pull the trigger on purchasing so I really need some clarification on both, thanks.

zap016VOLTAGE
1 month ago

EMP - Ebike Market Place

While I have no issues with my Mariner's battery:), although lowering bike's tyres inflation pressure zaps the battery quickly so the Mariner could use a 52V battery in IMHO;), nonetheless I've explored replacement battery optionso_O. My hope was find a company, located here in the USA, that not just sold high capacity - i.e.: 20ah - Silverfish style batteries, but could repair existing batteries as well. Some time ago, I contacted Luna Cycles inquiring about this. Their reply was that they had no plans to offer them:(. Recently I came across EMP, ebike market place, online. EMP not only can replace old battery packs, they sell a 48V 16ah Silver fish style ebike battery as well:). At some point, I may reach out to them about either upgrading my battery or purchasing a new one. Stay Tuned!:D

Cnugget
1 month ago

I am hoping that someone might have advice on an issue that I'm having with my new Voltbike Mariner... The battery on my Mariner tends to bounce around making a lot of noise with every little bump. So, it is constantly rattling. The noise is generated by the entire assembly shaking and not the components inside the battery.... Has anyone else experienced this problem? If so, do you have a better solution?

SCREW ON BATTERY RAIL CHECK:
I'm not sure if this is the issue but definitely something to check. Mine was rattling when I first got it. Pull out the battery and check the rail is screwed in all the way to the frame. You can see in the photos below mine was rattling and yanked around before the we found the screw and tightened it up. Once it was tightened up it hasn't need re-tightening since but we check it now and again. Here are some photos of the screw to check. Hope it helps.. If not post some photos of the issue maybe @Voltbike can help. :)

1/3
flbum
1 month ago

I am hoping that someone might have advice on an issue that I'm having with my new Voltbike Mariner. I haven't seen a reference to this problem in any of the posts. So, I'm wondering if it is unique to my one bike.

The battery on my Mariner tends to bounce around making a lot of noise with every little bump. So, it is constantly rattling. The noise is generated by the entire assembly shaking and not the components inside the battery. I believe that the assembly is shaking on the slide rail that holds the battery as the fit is loose. There is also a gap between the seat tube and the battery. As a temporary solution, I have rolled up a handi-wipe cloth and wedged it between the seat tube and the battery assembly. That is not an elegant solution, but it works for now. I'm considering attaching an adhesive rubber strip to the side of the battery which faces the seat tube to push it tight against the slide rail.

Has anyone else experienced this problem? If so, do you have a better solution?

flbum
1 month ago

I just got my new Mariner a few days ago. I'm grateful to find all the useful information which has been shared here. Overall, I'm pleased with the bike. In particular, I noticed that there are a number of nice improvements since @Court published his awesome review. There is now a derailleur guard, a chainstay protector, and a truly awesome bell. These escaped my notice in the new Voltbike Mariner commercial video. However, I can see them now that I am looking for them. Although I am used to going an average of 15 mph on my full sized manual bicycle, there is just a totally different feeling when the motor is doing it for me and I'm not busting my gut to maintain my speed. I'm still picking the bugs out of my teeth from riding with the grin. :)

There are a few minor mods that I had to make when I got the bike. There was a lot of play in the folding mechanism for the handlebars. A trivial adjustment of the latch fixed that once I figured out that was available. I'm 6' 2" tall, 240 pounds. I purchased a Gusset 450 mm seat post in anticipation of needing it to get proper leg extension with my Mariner. As expected, I did need a longer seat post. I would have been able to get by with 400 mm at the minimum insertion line. However, I'm glad that I got the extra post length inside the seat tube. A little more set back would have been nice. I thought that I might need some sort of riser extension to raise the handlebars. I might look at upgrading the seat, but haven't done that yet. I was a little sore after riding 21 miles the other day. However, it seems that the maximum height is close enough to avoid an extension. I'm pleased with the fit for a Clydesdale like me considering the advantages obtained by having a versatile folding electric bike. Overall, the bike was well adjusted upon receipt. I was very pleased to find that the spokes were tight and the wheels were true. I have not had good luck with that on my last few manual bicycle purchases.

I need some advice on one issue which I'll put in a separate post.

I'm looking forward to obtaining years of enjoyment out of my new Voltbike Mariner!

Cargo Bike Trailer Josh
1 month ago

Hello everybody, I'm pleased to join your group. I have just bought myself an IGO Explorer E-Bike and I look forward to using it once the snow is gone. It is equiped with a 500 watt motor ( Maximum of 700 Watt capacity) and a 48 Volts and 13 amp Battery, it is designed and build in Montreal, Quebec but sold all over North America.. See you soon on the roads.
Robert

Bienvenue!

I'm also in Montreal, downtown. I have the Voltbike Mariner. It's fun to connect!

Joshua

FoodNationHeroine
2 years ago

Hello, I'm thinking of buying an electric bike to ride to work and I'm looking at the 2015 prodeco mariner 8 and ejoe epik we. Which of them is a better choice consider the price specs, and warranty? Thank you.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Tuyen Nguyen I like the integrated e-Joe battery and suspension fork. You get pedal assist as well as throttle on that bike and the fenders and rack are pretty useful so it's a winner all the way around in my opinion http://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/epik-se/

FoodNationHeroine
2 years ago

Ejo epik se

Juanchi
3 years ago

I just bought it and i ride it once and then i charge it and the hub motor starting to do a Lot of Noise! and when i do the throttle does not work everytime .. so sad!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

That's a bummer! They offer a solid 2 year warranty... I think they would help you out if the motor is having issues and you haven't voided the warranty in any way. What do the noises sound like, is it something you could film and link to here?

Juanchi
3 years ago

Hello Sir !  i'm going to upgrate my i-zip i and was wondering which one would you choose from this 2 bikes: the prodeco mariner? or the cyclamatic bicycle electric foldaway ?

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Good question! I've never tried the Cyclamatic before but it appears to have a rear mounted hub motor and includes fenders and a usable rack with the battery placed near the downtube vs. the rear. For all of these design reasons I'd go with it but considering that ProdecoTech is a large well known brand they might be better for getting customer service and having a warranty. I hope this helps! By the way, this is the image I was using for comparison, if this is not the bike you meant please let me know and share a link so I an provide more thoughts: http://c910383.r83.cf3.rackcdn.com/f419c5a6-c475-42dd-8bb0-d0ad3f544d8d_500_Category.jpg

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Hey Christopher, for some reason it won't let me respond to you with a reply (You might have replies turned off?) so I'm just making a new comment. While these bikes are repairable and do work alright, I'm less of a fan when it comes to the high center of gravity and plastic case that can crack and fall off (I've heard this from several shops). Another inexpensive folding ebike that is better in my opinion is the Epik Ejoe and it comes in two flavors (one with rack, fenders and lights for city stuff and one without that's more for off road riding). I haven't posted those reviews yet but the bike is solid.

Nothing against ProdecoTech, I just think your money will go further with Ejoe in this case. If you do get the Mariner 7 I think you can order straight from their website and have it shipped direct. You'll have to do some configuring with the handlebars, maybe true the wheels but that's true of any online ebike :)

Mo Ramahi
1 year ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Is this model any different from the mariner 8?