ProdecoTech Mariner 7 Review

Prodeco Mariner 7 Electric Bike Review 1
Prodeco Tech Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner Front Hub Motor 1
Prodeco Mariner Battery Back 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Throttle 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Folded 1
Prodeco Mariner Disc Brakes 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Battery 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Electric Bike Review 1
Prodeco Tech Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner Front Hub Motor 1
Prodeco Mariner Battery Back 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Throttle 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Folded 1
Prodeco Mariner Disc Brakes 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Battery 1

Summary

  • An affordable, but heavy, folding electric bike with twist throttle only
  • Available primarily online, offers solid two year warranty including battery pack
  • Lithium Iron Phosphate battery chemistry is stable and long lasting but heavier than other Lithium-ion technologies

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

ProdecoTech

Model:

Mariner 7

Price:

$1,399 USD

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 30 Day Replacement

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20132014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

46 lbs (20.86 kg)

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, Folding

Geometry Measurements:

Folded Dimensions 36" x 29" x 16"

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Colors:

White

Frame Fork Details:

Zoom Suspension with 30 mm Travel

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 SRAM X5, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

SRAM X7 Grip Twist on Left Bar

Pedals:

HTI Folding Aluminum Nylon Platform

Headset:

Integrated Cartridge Bearing

Stem:

Promax Folding, Aluminum

Handlebar:

Promax T-Bar 500 mm, Aluminum

Brake Details:

Avid BB5 Mechanical Disc with 180 mm HS1 Rotors, Avid Speed Dial 7 Black Levers

Grips:

Kraton with Alloy Lock Rings

Saddle:

Velo Plush Vacuum

Seat Post:

Suspension Shock

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Wall 24 mm Aluminum

Spokes:

18/8 Black Stainless Steel 12G

Tire Brand:

Continental Contact 20" x 1.75"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Accessories:

Adjustable Single Leg Kickstand, 43.8V 2 Amp Charger, Aluminum Bash Guard on Front Ring, Bell on Left Bar

Other:

Quick Release Front Wheel, Optional 12 Amp Hour Battery Upgrade

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

FSG

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

300 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Battery Voltage:

38.4 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

9 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

345.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Iron Phosphate (LiFePO4), 24 Cells

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level (Green, Yellow, Red)

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

18 mph (29 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The ProdecoTech Mariner 7 is a folding electric bike that costs significantly less than competitors but takes a hit on weight, drive mode options, frame balance and in-person support. All ProdecoTech electric bikes cost less than competing brands because they are primarily sold online, bypassing a physical bike shop outlet. This savings is passed on to the buyer but it also means you may not have a chance to test ride the bike or get maintenance support as easily when the bike inevitably needs repairs. You’ll also have to build it yourself the first time. Still, with a 2 year warranty on all parts including the battery pack this could be an efficient way to step into the world of ebikes.

The motor driving the Mariner 7 offers 300 watts of power with a 500 watt peak and it’s geared meaning you get more torque. This is fairly standard for ebikes where 350 watt geared hub motors have been the most popular choice for full sized offerings. Given the frame size and reduced torque here, this bike is probably ideal for riders under 200 pounds.

The battery pack fueling that hub motor offers 38.4 volts of power and 9 amp hours of range. Again, fairly standard offering and enough to power the bike up to 35 miles in perfect conditions. The cell technology is Lithium Iron Phosphate which provides more cycles than other Lithium-ion types but has a lower energy density meaning in order to reach the 345 watt hours this pack delivers, it ends up being heavier. And this is where the real trade offs begin…

It seems to me that one of the primary benefits of any folding electric bike is the ability to fold and store it. With the Mariner 7 this action becomes more challenging due to the overall system weight. This folding bike weighs nearly 50 pounds while other competing offerings weigh closer to 40. This starts matter when you’re trying to the bike down in a boat compartment or up in an RV closet. Thankfully, the battery pack is removable so this challenge can be somewhat mitigated. Please just be careful when storing this bike so as not to hurt your back.

The ride quality of the Mariner 7 is acceptable. The pedals are plastic and therefore not that stiff. The weight of the battery is elevated high off the ground and all towards the rear which makes it a bit less stable than mid-frame designs but the inclusion of a built in rear light is a nice touch. Since the hub motor is built into the front wheel, that actually helps balance out the weight. I appreciate the seat post shock and idealism of the front shock but honestly, the travel is so short and the springs so stiff that it was hardly noticeable when I rode. The bike could save weight and would ride nearly the same without a front shock of this quality.

Aside from the weight and balance concerns with the Mariner 7, the lack of pedal assist also gives me pause. While this isn’t the only “non pedal assist” electric bike out there, it doesn’t include a cruise control setting which means you’ll need your hand on the grip shifter at all times in order to keep the assist. It’s one of the sacrifices you make for that lower price point. I think of this and other ProdecoTech bikes as entry level scooters. The battery is durable, the components and frames are mid grade and the system works, it’s just less refined. Compare this bike with the EZ Pedaler F300 that weighs less and does include pedal assist but costs $600 more or the IZIP E3 Compact that weighs over 6 pounds less, keeps the battery weight much lower and also offers pedal assist for $1,899.

Pros:

  • One of the cheapest folding electric bikes available
  • Battery pack is removable and features a built in rear light
  • Fantastic 2 year warranty, free shipping for fixes in the first 30 days
  • Seat post shock smooths out the bumps but don’t lift by the seat as the shock may become loose or break
  • 300 watt geared motor offers good torque and power with 500 watt peak output
  • Oversized disc brakes offer great stopping power
  • Aluminum bash guard protects front chain ring when folding and storing

Cons:

  • Challenging to find and test ride in person, mostly sold online
  • Battery tends to be heavier due to lower energy density of LiFePO4
  • Battery is positioned high off the ground creating a less stable ride
  • Overall weight of bike makes it less convenient for stowing
  • Frame components are mid-grade, twist throttle is basic, pedals are soft, front shock hardly works
  • No magnets or other fasteners to keep the bike in folded position
  • Can’t mount anything on top of the rear battery pack, also won’t work with panniers

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More ProdecoTech Reviews

ProdecoTech Mariner 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Powerful geared hub motor and high voltage battery pack for excellent torque and climbing ability. Compact folding design with removable battery, comfortable suspension fork and seat post shock...

ProdecoTech Phantom X2 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Full sized electric bike with unique mid-frame folding feature for easier transport and storage. 500 watt direct drive gearless motor is quiet and strong but only operates on a…...

ProdecoTech Scorpion 27 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Extremely light weight hardtail electric bike with 27 speeds and an efficient friction drive motor. Keyde drivetrain blends in, motor is very small and battery is shaped like a water…...

ProdecoTech Outlaw SS Review

  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

High speed, off-road only electric bike that's not legal to ride in most states without modification and insurance. Quality SRAM, Truvativ and ZOOM components, hand assembled in the USA, solid two year warranty...

ProdecoTech Titanio 29er Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Well priced hardtail mountain bike with light weight titanium frame and larger 29" wheels. Excellent balance and aesthetic appeal with grip drive front hub motor and bottle style battery…...

ProdecoTech Storm 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Inexpensive full sized folding electric bike with 26" wheels and basic suspension fork. Rear-heavy design with hub motor and battery mounted towards the back, single support strut...

ProdecoTech Genesis 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Inexpensive full sized folding electric bike with 26" wheels and basic suspension fork. Rear-heavy design with hub motor and battery mounted towards the back, single support strut...

ProdecoTech Stride R Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Affordable,highpowerelectricbikewithadecentwarrantybutrearheavydesign. Basicsuspensionforkwithcushyseatandlargertirestosmoothoutthebumps...

ProdecoTech Oasis Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Affordable, high power electric bike with a decent warranty but rear heavy design. Limited suspension, relies on cushy seat and balloon tires to smooth out the bumps...

ProdecoTech Phantom X3 Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

More solid than earlier Phantom ebikes, does not fold and has reinforced battery pack supports. High end RockShox fork with lockout, upgraded pedals (that don't fold) and hydraulic Avid DB…...

ProdecoTech Phantom X Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

500 watt direct drive motor is quiet and capable but offers less torque and weighs more, no regen modes. Simple to operate with LED console and twist throttle only, no pedal assist or LCD…...

ProdecoTech Stride 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

One of the most affordable, but still decent quality, entry level electric bikes. Low step design is easy to mount, adjustable neck and shock add comfort, twist throttle…...

ProdecoTech Outlaw EX Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Unstable due to steep long travel shock angle and high battery pack position. Relatively low price but tough to test ride as it's primarily available only online...


Ronald Boykin
3 years ago

It would be nice if it was possible to put fenders on this bike!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Cargo Bike Trailer Josh
2 days ago

Hello everybody, I'm pleased to join your group. I have just bought myself an IGO Explorer E-Bike and I look forward to using it once the snow is gone. It is equiped with a 500 watt motor ( Maximum of 700 Watt capacity) and a 48 Volts and 13 amp Battery, it is designed and build in Montreal, Quebec but sold all over North America.. See you soon on the roads.
Robert

Bienvenue!

I'm also in Montreal, downtown. I have the Voltbike Mariner. It's fun to connect!

Joshua

Voltman
3 days ago

The Mariner is a terrific snow bike. See my illustrated post here. -VOLTMAN

Voltman
3 days ago

That's a big chainring! I can pedal my Voltbike Mariner at 37 kph after the motor cuts out at 31 kph. -VOLTMAN

SuperGoop
3 days ago

@Ian in Alberta It is very easy to change the settings. Just double-click quickly to get into the setup. As you page down the menus, one of them require you to enter a password. For my Yukon 750, it is "1919". It opens a new set of advanced settings. Be sure to write down the original default values in case you mess it up. I believe the last one is to change the PAS mode.

I summarized the settings and their meanings here:
https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/volt-bike-mariner-2016-so-far-so-happy-observations-as-they-happen.7239/page-5#post-90537

Ian in Alberta
4 days ago

Elegant in appearance, to my eye at least. I look forward to seeing the final version.

For the record, Voltbike made several upgrades to the Mariner that I just bought, I think in response to comments made in this forum - a neoprene protector for the lower stay (not sure of the formal term), a derailleur protector are examples. I'm guessing they will do the same with the "Elegant".

Ian in Alberta
4 days ago

Hi, everyone...I've had my Mariner for just over a week. My first (short) ride took place in 8 inches of snow, but that's all gone now and I've had some good longer rides, in and out of the coulees, since. I like many things about this bike, but the biggest factor so far is that I no longer have to worry about either the coulee hills (if I want to go across town) or the west wind (just in case I want to come home again after my ride). I CAN ride the hills on my other bikes, and I can beat myself up against the wind, but I really would rather not. More later.

I do have one question, though. Yesterday I took my first longish ride - 25 km. - and the battery indicator did not change at all. It showed 5 bars at the beginning of the ride, and the same at the end of it. Also, the percentage indicator is not view-able. I don't think this is normal, but is there a setting I have not found to make this work? I don't want to have to push my bike uphill against the wind...

Thanks...Ian in Alberta

Cnugget
4 days ago

@SuperGoop
Wire beads are tough.. Same deal on the Mariner 20x4".. Bought some replacement tires (flexible bead Vee's) for when replacement needs arrive. No way would I be able to change a tire on the road if I get a flat on this thing cuz of the bead... Travel with communication to the someone else is a must... hahaha..

Olrocker
6 days ago

Brand-new to e-bikes and the forum. My wife and I are looking for a pair of e-bikes to take with us on our RV travels. After some research on this site and others, we've pretty much narrowed it down to the Radmini and Voltbike Mariner since we like the idea of something we could take on the beach or off-road as well as the street.

The reviews for these two bikes have them neck-and-neck in our view. Similar weight, style, and capabilities. We'd be carrying them in the bed of our Tundra (we tow a 27' travel trailer.) Does anyone with experience with both have a preference? One question I have regarding the Radmini: it has two reviews on EBR; the older one says it has a 12 magnet cadence sensor and plastic pedals and the more recent one says a 6 magnet sensor and aluminum pedals. Was that a change made for the production run?

Any other observations are welcome. Thanks in advance!

Uphill
1 week ago

I just got a new Mariner 500W Limited and I put mine in my sedan back seat on a bunch of towels, bungee cording it to the back headrests.

My real reason for this post, though, is to talk about off road riding on this great bike. No one had posted much about that and so I had to buy it a bit on faith. Verdict after 3 days of plowing through puddles, crossing 6” deep rainwater streams, navigating heavy gravel and soft sand, weaving along bumpy root and rut filled single track trails and up long steep gravel roads: Wow Yes! It's great off road. So fun.
Not to mention hill climbing. Hikers catching their breath on long steep grades were dumbfounded watching me pedal past them at Olympic athlete speed.
I've got several "Cool Bike, Man!" comments on my mud-splattered machine.
On pavement I wondered if I would like it as much as my wife's new folding e bike, a dream machine for smooth pavement. The answer: also Yes. If my wife's bike can feel a little like an ice skater, mine is at least like a daydreaming hockey player. I was doing effortless loops around a paved campground road just loving the sensation of pedal, pedal, glide. It's really smooth. And it cleans up well for bike path excursions with my wife on her e bike, on more civilized terrain.
I couldn't be more thrilled with my purchase. I should mention that I've actually never been a mountain biker. I just wanted to be able to ride a lot of the trails I've hiked a lot. What I've found is not only can I do that, I've extended my range significantly. I think nothing of exploring side trails, or going much further on out and back routes, and due to the uneven terrain challenges and the fun PAS, every trip's an adventure.

1/4
RayH
1 week ago

I have *TWO* Voltbike electric folding fat bikes. Virtually new - ridden less than 5 miles each. These are AWESOME machines. No scratches, dirt, or mud anywhere.

We bought them for use on land from our boat. They were questionable to fit in the storage location I had, and I couldn't get definitive measurements of the folded dimensions. When I received them, I modified the storage location to increase the opening, and there is still just not enough room for them. They just will not store on board. We are very sad about this.

The bikes are in perfect condition - as new. I am sure you have already seen the specifications at the Voltbike site at: http://www.voltbike.ca/voltbike-mariner/voltbike-mariner.html and the review at: https://electricbikereview.com/voltbike/mariner/

These are $1260+$70 shipping new. Including $100 storage bag each and moped half-helmets, size M. We will sell one for $1200. or both for $2000. This is a savings of $860!!!! These will not last.

The bikes are in Cary, NC (near Raleigh). I do not have the facilities to ship these. They are for local pickup only. They are currently listed on my local Craigslist.

I would be willing to drive a couple of hours in any direction from Raleigh for an additional reasonable transportation cost.....

PM or email for any questions (sad day for me),
Ray.

These are our bikes on the Voltbike customer gallery: http://www.voltbike.ca/images/customers/mariner/ray_mariner_3.jpg

1/2
america94
1 week ago

Hi @america94, we do stock both fat tires and inner tubes Kenda for both our Voltbike Yukon and Voltbike Mariner series. In fact we also offer either free helmet or free inner tube if you decide to purchase Voltbike Yukon or Voltbike Mariner.
I understand is hard to find in Canada, but I can assure you we have enough of those in-stock.
Here is the direct page of the Kenda Krusde 20x4" Tire.
http://www.voltbike.ca/replacement-parts/electric-bike-parts/kenda-krusade-sport-tire-20-x-4.html
thanks for the info. I wrote to @Voltbike a while ago to inquire about the tires but did not hear back. I don't believe they were showing on the website either at the time (although the tube was). I find that 75$ for a tire and 28$ for a tube quite expensive (before tax and shipping) compared to regular 26X2 wheels, but it is nice to know you have both in stock.

JoshG
1 week ago

Really good looking out!

Don't have a Mariner, but I will check my bike for similar issues.

(A little ironic that the Mariner of all bikes would not be water tight...)

Cargo Bike Trailer Josh
1 week ago

Hello!

It's been a week now with my Mariner. Love it to death! Having so much fun and feeling like a kid again.

I too noticed this hole. I was thinking of just some good ol duck tape across it. What are you planning on doing as a solution?

I really appreciate the full coverage fenders that @Voltbike added to this model bike. They didn't have to but they did. However, I did notice that due to the massively wide 4" tires some spray does get through. To protect this vulnerable electrical area I was thinking of adding a "mud flap" to the bottom of the front fender. We're getting a snow storm for the next 2 days so I should have some time to fix it up. Let us know what solutions you come up with! Thanks again!

Bsbs
1 week ago

I just got my Mariner and was fiddling with the construction to understand how the bike was built. I rode around 40kms on both road and off road. I opened up the box where the controller is located. Upon opening, I noticed crap load of sand, dirt, grass, bird poop, etc. inside the compartment, probably from my off road excursions. Then I noticed an opening to the compartment that is not sealed used for the wiring.

I strongly advise you seal this opening to prevent water and debris from entering the controller compartment. The wiring side of the controller is also placed facing the hole, so if there are any water entering through this hole then it will make the controller wiring stack wet.

See photo.

There's also a hole at the rear and another small on at the bottom, that you should seal too.

1/1
Bsbs
1 week ago

I too, have been trying to figure out how to remove the speed limit. This is just an great option to keep with traffic, if you're riding on the road.

I have a Mariner and believe the controller is similar to the Yukon 750. Here's a photo of the Mariner controller. I was able to decipher/trace majority of the wires, but none that seems to be able to disable the speed limit. Perhaps it is wired inside the Hub motor?

Any insights by other members???

As far as I can decipher:

Thick Red/Black: Power to the controller

Thick Y/G/Blue: Power to the Hub Motor
Attached R/Blk/W: Some sort of signal relayed from the Hub Motor (most likely the throttle)

Controller R/Blk to Exterior Blk/Blk-w: Power to attached bike lights (on/off controlled by an unknown signal (wire) going into the controller)

Controller Light Blue/R/Blk: Cadence sensor (the 12 magnets disc)

Now here comes the fun part:

Exterior R/B/Blk/G/Y: This is the cable strip that connects to the LCD Controller (R, Blk: is most likely power; rest is most likely transmission of data)

Controller R/Blk/Green-Yw to Exterior Grey/Purple: ???? Unknown (My guess is brake lever cut-off sensor)

Controller Dual Grey/Blk to Exterior White: Unknown. I trial and error this wire hoping is the speed limit but unfortunately is not. If unplugged, then brake lever motor cut-off would not function. If plugged to the Single Grey/Blk connector, appears to make no difference - both brake lever motor cut-off still works.

Controller Single Grey/Blk: Unplugged. Unknown

Controller Grey/Red *male: Unplugged. Unknown - some how the plug appears reversed, controller plugs mostly female.......so my deduction is this is some sort of power feeding to bike accessories just like the bike lights plugs????

Exterior Brown *female: Unplugged. Unknown. Based on the manual simplified wiring diagram, the bike lights is labeled "Brown". So my deduction is this wire is to control brake light if the bike is equipped???

The Blk wire loop: This loops one ground to another. Probably has nothing to do with speed.

1/2
Voltbike
2 weeks ago

Hi @america94, we do stock both fat tires and inner tubes Kenda for both our Voltbike Yukon and Voltbike Mariner series. In fact we also offer either free helmet or free inner tube if you decide to purchase Voltbike Yukon or Voltbike Mariner.
I understand is hard to find in Canada, but I can assure you we have enough of those in-stock.
Here is the direct page of the Kenda Krusde 20x4" Tire.
http://www.voltbike.ca/replacement-parts/electric-bike-parts/kenda-krusade-sport-tire-20-x-4.html

Cnugget
2 weeks ago

@america94 Congrats on choosing a bike! :) May you have many bliss filled days on it. Hard to compete with Costco's return policy. An ebike is better than no ebike. :P

Curious about the disappointed Mariner users.. Care to link? I'd love to read just haven't been looking at reviews.

The Costco supplied ebike Urban Ryder or Cruzer is also based out of Burnaby Canada like Volt Bike.

Marc V
2 weeks ago

I've been towing this 300 +- pound homemade trailer for my business with my single speed (geared 46 x 18) for 6 months last year. No hills ha ha! I decided to go with an ebike to extend my range and to tackle some of the hills in my service area.

I just purchased the Voltbike Mariner and will be doing towing tests starting tomorrow. It is nominal 500 watts and peaks out at 850 watts.
I was looking at the Mariner as well but decided to go with the Juiced Bikes ODK U500 V3 instead. Let me know how it goes! Take care, ride safe! Marc V

Cargo Bike Trailer Josh
2 weeks ago

I've been towing this 300 +- pound homemade trailer for my business with my single speed (geared 46 x 18) for 6 months last year. No hills ha ha! I decided to go with an ebike to extend my range and to tackle some of the hills in my service area.

I just purchased the Voltbike Mariner and will be doing towing tests starting tomorrow. It is nominal 500 watts and peaks out at 850 watts.

1/1
america94
2 weeks ago

@america94 I have the Heavy Duty Kenda tubes purchased for replacement you mentioned but.. when I got a nail in my tire, I had it patched. I know some people say change the tube when you get a hole but I've put on almost 500 miles since with no problems and now likely to patch vs replace (knock on wood). My tire tread is showing little wear and still running well at about 1200 miles.. (mostly road miles & higher psi). I have picked up some replacement tires from Vee that were not cheap (from the USA and has a flexible bead) that gives the option to go tubeless when replacement arrives. I think George had some tires for 20 x 4 (Kenda's) on the website for a short period of time around $80 a tire so... I think it is better to go with a more expensive as opposed to cheap tire. My thought is that the factory tires on the Volt bike Mariner (Kenda's) are quite decent ones.. but perhaps I have been lucky.
thanks for the info @Cnugget. I decided to pull the plug (pun intended) on the Mariner due to the ridiculous tire/tube situation for canadians (although I agree that with patch and decent luck, you can put a lot of miles on the Mariner without necessarily having to replace any of the 2 parts). It is also due to a few more reports of disappointed Mariner users that seems to come up a bit more online.

I then found a fat ebike seller right here in Montreal that had interesting bikes but a bit pricey now (price went up 500$ last week) and no user feedback available.

So now, I chose to go the "Costco Urban Ryder" route due to several factors:

big rebate in April = very decent price;
regular size tires at 26x1.95;
regular bike with regular parts = easy to replace or upgrade
an extremely high ratio of very satisfied users;
ability to return the bike to Costco for your money back for a full year;
very good comments about the manufacturer's customer service;
reasonably priced parts (ie: battery at 400$).

The only thing I will really miss about the Mariner is the ability to fold it. I started another thread this week that confirmed the inability to use a ebike rack on my car - the Mariner would have been perfect for that!

Fred in Seattle
2 weeks ago

I was looking at Brooks seats for the Rad Mini which I don't have yet. (debating between between the Mini or Mariner but leaning toward the Mini).
I'm 65 years old and usually ride an ICE electric trike. I want the Mini for it's folding capability.
Seat and back comfort is important. I'm thinking of a BodyFloat seat post and Brooks Saddle. Brooks makes many models and recommends a C19 Cambium for more upright position.
So, my question is, would the Mini be considered upright riding position? And, anyone using a BodyFloat and or Brooks saddles on their Mini?
Thanks,
Tom
I am using the body float. I'm on the short side 5'8" and get back aches when hunched over. I moved my stock seat forward and raised the hade bars . I now sit mostly upright and am comfortable after 30th + mile rides.

Bsbs
3 weeks ago

I just bought a Mariner and would fit in a CT200h trunk if I remove spare tire and all the panels on top of the spare tire, including the tray in top of the battery tray.

0-28kmh is quick but 28-32kmh cut off need time to wind up. I'm 150lbs.

It is absolutely amazing and I have the biggest smile on my face!

FoodNationHeroine
2 years ago

Hello, I'm thinking of buying an electric bike to ride to work and I'm looking at the 2015 prodeco mariner 8 and ejoe epik we. Which of them is a better choice consider the price specs, and warranty? Thank you.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Tuyen Nguyen I like the integrated e-Joe battery and suspension fork. You get pedal assist as well as throttle on that bike and the fenders and rack are pretty useful so it's a winner all the way around in my opinion http://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/epik-se/

FoodNationHeroine
2 years ago

Ejo epik se

Juanchi
3 years ago

I just bought it and i ride it once and then i charge it and the hub motor starting to do a Lot of Noise! and when i do the throttle does not work everytime .. so sad!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

That's a bummer! They offer a solid 2 year warranty... I think they would help you out if the motor is having issues and you haven't voided the warranty in any way. What do the noises sound like, is it something you could film and link to here?

Juanchi
3 years ago

Hello Sir !  i'm going to upgrate my i-zip i and was wondering which one would you choose from this 2 bikes: the prodeco mariner? or the cyclamatic bicycle electric foldaway ?

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Good question! I've never tried the Cyclamatic before but it appears to have a rear mounted hub motor and includes fenders and a usable rack with the battery placed near the downtube vs. the rear. For all of these design reasons I'd go with it but considering that ProdecoTech is a large well known brand they might be better for getting customer service and having a warranty. I hope this helps! By the way, this is the image I was using for comparison, if this is not the bike you meant please let me know and share a link so I an provide more thoughts: http://c910383.r83.cf3.rackcdn.com/f419c5a6-c475-42dd-8bb0-d0ad3f544d8d_500_Category.jpg

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Hey Christopher, for some reason it won't let me respond to you with a reply (You might have replies turned off?) so I'm just making a new comment. While these bikes are repairable and do work alright, I'm less of a fan when it comes to the high center of gravity and plastic case that can crack and fall off (I've heard this from several shops). Another inexpensive folding ebike that is better in my opinion is the Epik Ejoe and it comes in two flavors (one with rack, fenders and lights for city stuff and one without that's more for off road riding). I haven't posted those reviews yet but the bike is solid.

Nothing against ProdecoTech, I just think your money will go further with Ejoe in this case. If you do get the Mariner 7 I think you can order straight from their website and have it shipped direct. You'll have to do some configuring with the handlebars, maybe true the wheels but that's true of any online ebike :)

Mo Ramahi
11 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Is this model any different from the mariner 8?