ProdecoTech Mariner 7 Review

Prodeco Mariner 7 Electric Bike Review
Prodeco Tech Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner Front Hub Motor 1
Prodeco Mariner Battery Back 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Throttle 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Folded 1
Prodeco Mariner Disc Brakes 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Battery 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Electric Bike Review
Prodeco Tech Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner Front Hub Motor 1
Prodeco Mariner Battery Back 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Throttle 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Folded 1
Prodeco Mariner Disc Brakes 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Battery 1

Summary

  • An affordable, but heavy, folding electric bike with twist throttle only
  • Available primarily online, offers solid two year warranty including battery pack
  • Lithium Iron Phosphate battery chemistry is stable and long lasting but heavier than other Lithium-ion technologies

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

ProdecoTech

Model:

Mariner 7

Price:

$1,399 USD

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 30 Day Replacement

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20132014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

46 lbs ( 20.86 kg )

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, Folding

Geometry Measurements:

Folded Dimensions 36" x 29" x 16"

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Frame Colors:

White

Frame Fork Details:

Zoom Suspension with 30 mm Travel

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 SRAM X5, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

SRAM X7 Grip Twist on Left Bar

Pedals:

HTI Folding Aluminum Nylon Platform

Headset:

Integrated Cartridge Bearing

Stem:

Promax Folding, Aluminum

Handlebar:

Promax T-Bar 500 mm, Aluminum

Brake Details:

Avid BB5 Mechanical Disc with 180 mm HS1 Rotors, Avid Speed Dial 7 Black Levers

Grips:

Kraton with Alloy Lock Rings

Saddle:

Velo Plush Vacuum

Seat Post:

Suspension Shock

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Wall 24 mm Aluminum

Spokes:

18/8 Black Stainless Steel 12G

Tire Brand:

Continental Contact 20" x 1.75"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in ( 50.8 cm )

Accessories:

Adjustable Single Leg Kickstand, 43.8V 2 Amp Charger, Aluminum Bash Guard on Front Ring, Bell on Left Bar

Other:

Quick Release Front Wheel, Optional 12 Amp Hour Battery Upgrade

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

FSG

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

300 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Battery Voltage:

38.4 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

9 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

345.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Iron Phosphate (LiFePO4), 24 Cells

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles ( 40 km )

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles ( 56 km )

Display Type:

LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level (Green, Yellow, Red)

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

18 mph ( 29 kph )

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The ProdecoTech Mariner 7 is a folding electric bike that costs significantly less than competitors but takes a hit on weight, drive mode options, frame balance and in-person support. All ProdecoTech electric bikes cost less than competing brands because they are primarily sold online, bypassing a physical bike shop outlet. This savings is passed on to the buyer but it also means you may not have a chance to test ride the bike or get maintenance support as easily when the bike inevitably needs repairs. You’ll also have to build it yourself the first time. Still, with a 2 year warranty on all parts including the battery pack this could be an efficient way to step into the world of ebikes.

The motor driving the Mariner 7 offers 300 watts of power with a 500 watt peak and it’s geared meaning you get more torque. This is fairly standard for ebikes where 350 watt geared hub motors have been the most popular choice for full sized offerings. Given the frame size and reduced torque here, this bike is probably ideal for riders under 200 pounds.

The battery pack fueling that hub motor offers 38.4 volts of power and 9 amp hours of range. Again, fairly standard offering and enough to power the bike up to 35 miles in perfect conditions. The cell technology is Lithium Iron Phosphate which provides more cycles than other Lithium-ion types but has a lower energy density meaning in order to reach the 345 watt hours this pack delivers, it ends up being heavier. And this is where the real trade offs begin…

It seems to me that one of the primary benefits of any folding electric bike is the ability to fold and store it. With the Mariner 7 this action becomes more challenging due to the overall system weight. This folding bike weighs nearly 50 pounds while other competing offerings weigh closer to 40. This starts matter when you’re trying to the bike down in a boat compartment or up in an RV closet. Thankfully, the battery pack is removable so this challenge can be somewhat mitigated. Please just be careful when storing this bike so as not to hurt your back.

The ride quality of the Mariner 7 is acceptable. The pedals are plastic and therefore not that stiff. The weight of the battery is elevated high off the ground and all towards the rear which makes it a bit less stable than mid-frame designs but the inclusion of a built in rear light is a nice touch. Since the hub motor is built into the front wheel, that actually helps balance out the weight. I appreciate the seat post shock and idealism of the front shock but honestly, the travel is so short and the springs so stiff that it was hardly noticeable when I rode. The bike could save weight and would ride nearly the same without a front shock of this quality.

Aside from the weight and balance concerns with the Mariner 7, the lack of pedal assist also gives me pause. While this isn’t the only “non pedal assist” electric bike out there, it doesn’t include a cruise control setting which means you’ll need your hand on the grip shifter at all times in order to keep the assist. It’s one of the sacrifices you make for that lower price point. I think of this and other ProdecoTech bikes as entry level scooters. The battery is durable, the components and frames are mid grade and the system works, it’s just less refined. Compare this bike with the EZ Pedaler F300 that weighs less and does include pedal assist but costs $600 more or the IZIP E3 Compact that weighs over 6 pounds less, keeps the battery weight much lower and also offers pedal assist for $1,899.

Pros:

  • One of the cheapest folding electric bikes available
  • Battery pack is removable and features a built in rear light
  • Fantastic 2 year warranty, free shipping for fixes in the first 30 days
  • Seat post shock smooths out the bumps but don’t lift by the seat as the shock may become loose or break
  • 300 watt geared motor offers good torque and power with 500 watt peak output
  • Oversized disc brakes offer great stopping power
  • Aluminum bash guard protects front chain ring when folding and storing

Cons:

  • Challenging to find and test ride in person, mostly sold online
  • Battery tends to be heavier due to lower energy density of LiFePO4
  • Battery is positioned high off the ground creating a less stable ride
  • Overall weight of bike makes it less convenient for stowing
  • Frame components are mid-grade, twist throttle is basic, pedals are soft, front shock hardly works
  • No magnets or other fasteners to keep the bike in folded position
  • Can’t mount anything on top of the rear battery pack, also won’t work with panniers

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More ProdecoTech Reviews

ProdecoTech Mariner 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Powerful geared hub motor and high voltage battery pack for excellent torque and climbing ability. Compact folding design with removable battery, comfortable suspension fork and seat post shock...

ProdecoTech Phantom X2 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Full sized electric bike with unique mid-frame folding feature for easier transport and storage. 500 watt direct drive gearless motor is quiet and strong but only operates on a…...

ProdecoTech Scorpion 27 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Extremely light weight hardtail electric bike with 27 speeds and an efficient friction drive motor. Keyde drivetrain blends in, motor is very small and battery is shaped like a water…...

ProdecoTech Outlaw SS Review

  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

High speed, off-road only electric bike that's not legal to ride in most states without modification and insurance. Quality SRAM, Truvativ and ZOOM components, hand assembled in the USA, solid two year warranty...

ProdecoTech Titanio 29er Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Well priced hardtail mountain bike with light weight titanium frame and larger 29" wheels. Excellent balance and aesthetic appeal with grip drive front hub motor and bottle style battery…...

ProdecoTech Storm 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Inexpensive full sized folding electric bike with 26" wheels and basic suspension fork. Rear-heavy design with hub motor and battery mounted towards the back, single support strut...

ProdecoTech Genesis 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Inexpensive full sized folding electric bike with 26" wheels and basic suspension fork. Rear-heavy design with hub motor and battery mounted towards the back, single support strut...

ProdecoTech Stride R Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Affordable,highpowerelectricbikewithadecentwarrantybutrearheavydesign. Basicsuspensionforkwithcushyseatandlargertirestosmoothoutthebumps...

ProdecoTech Oasis Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Affordable, high power electric bike with a decent warranty but rear heavy design. Limited suspension, relies on cushy seat and balloon tires to smooth out the bumps...

ProdecoTech Phantom X3 Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

More solid than earlier Phantom ebikes, does not fold and has reinforced battery pack supports. High end RockShox fork with lockout, upgraded pedals (that don't fold) and hydraulic Avid DB…...

ProdecoTech Phantom X Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

500 watt direct drive motor is quiet and capable but offers less torque and weighs more, no regen modes. Simple to operate with LED console and twist throttle only, no pedal assist or LCD…...

ProdecoTech Stride 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

One of the most affordable, but still decent quality, entry level electric bikes. Low step design is easy to mount, adjustable neck and shock add comfort, twist throttle…...

ProdecoTech Outlaw EX Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Unstable due to steep long travel shock angle and high battery pack position. Relatively low price but tough to test ride as it's primarily available only online...


Ronald Boykin
3 years ago

It would be nice if it was possible to put fenders on this bike!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Cnugget
7 days ago
ace20ri
APT Intelligent LCD (800S) as the Mariner...
I believe the HD6 parameter sets the throttle to 6km/h; 0 for off and 1 for on. HDP toggles the throttle power/current level to match the PAS level (1 for on) or off (0) for full power independent of PAS level.

I would like to know what ASs (or may be it is AS5) does. Input choices are 1-15 so I'm wondering if this parameter is supposed to match the number of magnets on the bike? Yukon 750 has 12 magnets near the pedals.


Of course still curious what the outstanding ASs or AS5 does as well if you connect the dots..
love2cruz
3 weeks ago
My Mariner is getting shipped within Canada and it's coming via Vitran Express.
I paid $40 shipping and was told it would go to Vitrans closest depot.
With my tracking number email it stated that I be home on the expected date of deliver so I can help the driver unload my box.

I guess we'll see where it ends up.
zap016VOLTAGE
3 weeks ago
SuperGoop
A 48v 20Ah battery will likely cost almost twice as much as a 48v 10Ah battery, so the benefit is not cost savings, but convenience of not having to carry a spare battery.

You could buy two 48v 10Ah batteries (to double your distance) and bring the spare only on long trips.

Better yet, since the price of the battery alone is already around 40% of a complete bike, you could justify buying another bike for a family member, and "borrow" their battery when not riding together.

For example, the 48V 10Ah battery for the Yukon 500 is listed for US$550 today. I would estimate that a brand new 48V 20Ah version (if available) will cost around US$1,000. For US$350 more, you could buy an entire new Yukon 500 (US$1,350) with the battery included!

Also, the smaller 10Ah batteries will be lighter. If your routine includes a stopover (like the office), simply keep the extra battery in the office to swap to double you distance.
Impractical

Carrying a 2nd battery -
• A 48V 20ah battery is believed to deliver approximately 100km/62 mile range!
• It won't have to charged as often that may increase its life.
• I could be wrong, but I assume that if the battery is purchased in quantity the battery won't cost that much more:
Example 2.

It's inevitable for battery tech to improve resulting in more power and greater range.
zap016VOLTAGE
3 weeks ago
Roflo
Are these battery definitely compatible with the Mariner? Since my Mariners expected to arrive by the end of this week and I have no experience with it thus far,if i am using moderate levels of PAS with occasional moderate hills (nothing too crazy). How long will the mariner included battery last in terms of total distance traveled averaging 12-15 MPH, of course leaving a bit of charge left at the end of the ride so I dont end up walking the bike home the last 5 miles.
Are there currently GOOD HIGH QUALITY cell 48 Volt 20 AH battery that are currently available that would be compatible. I don't recognize the brand name of the one mentioned, and I would be hesitant to purchase. I sure hope Volt offers this choice in the very near future both as something you substitute for there current battery they offer when purchasing their bikes and also in accessories for people that already own one of their bikes.
COME ON VOLT....THIS IS A NO BRAINER option!
Your Actual Milage May Vary

The distance that the bike can traverse depends on a number of factors.
Such as terrain, overall weight of the bike, tyre inflation pressure et al.
Generally, a 48V 10ah battery will render approximately 20 t0 24 mile range.

A number of ebike manufacturers are now offering multiple battery options.
Enabling the bikes to be ridden farther.

Greater range is now a thing.

Toynut
3 weeks ago
Hmmm....
I like the forward pivoting seatpost as a means to quickly access/remove the battery. It would look to be a useful upgrade to the Radmini or the Voltbike Mariner bikes. Any thoughts?
Roflo
4 weeks ago
Just got word my Mariner will be shipped out on Monday. This weekend looks like my maiden voyage.......yeah Im psyched.....I waited a long time, my wifes had her bike for over 2 months now......glad I didnt cave and waited for the Mariner!
Cnugget
4 weeks ago
Running out your battery is a great way to get an extra workout in. Hills are fun until you need to go up them and gravity kicks in on a 50+lb bike has been my experience so far. Not terrible on flats, you just don't go as fast. I have a Volt Mariner.
Cnugget
4 weeks ago
Cnugget
@zap016VOLTAGE I was just wondering when you started to notice your battery start to degrade on the Mariner if you happened to recall?
You happen to know how many miles you've put it so far with no battery degrade? I figure I have lost between 10-15 km's on a charge. Still looking for a possible source of the issue. Could be the lights, could be the rain, could be a tad heavier winter rain gear load. Overall, there still seems to be some battery overall loss though. Will be doing a battery swap soon to see if is my bike or the battery.
RayH
4 weeks ago
love2cruz
I ordered a Mariner from this shipment. Might get lucky and have it by Friday.
I wanted green but I got white instead due to black being the most popular.

I'm thinking of painting it satin brown...wonder if that would be an issue with warranty.
Did you receive your bike or have a tracking number yet? I also ordered, and was just wondering about the turn-around time......
Thanx
Roflo
4 weeks ago
Thanks Cnugget for taking time to do the pics and vid. Looks like I should be fine, being a shorter man, seat height has always been an issue for myself. That is one of the reasons for picking a 20" wheel size. Most 26" bike are just to much for me to handle comfortably. George at Volt said my Mariner would be shipped today but so far no word on shipment. On a separate note , I also wish there was a longer lasting battery option , like a silverfish style Samsung 48 Volt/ 20 AH battery and also a way to work around the governor speed limiter! Come on Volt, make us happy and give us some more choices. I would definitely pay more for a better longer lasting battery option. And the speed limiter thang.....dont get me started........come on hackers .....start hacking!
zap016VOLTAGE
4 weeks ago
Cnugget
@zap016VOLTAGE I was just wondering when you started to notice your battery start to degrade on the Mariner if you happened to recall? I was trying to establish if this is expected at my mileage or unusual.

The usual suspects haven't turned up a smoking gun yet:
Tire pressure is 20 - 25 on factory tires (plenty almost too hard for the road). Harder than I'd like really if you use a fatter tire for cushion.
Temps have dropped but not excessively. No weather related heat issues going on here. Consistent temps but lots of rain. Maybe things getting wet have caused a conduction temp loss?
I think the wheels and brakes are okay or, at least no worse than they have been.. Something I could looking into more.

I may be having a change of heart on the whole (20Ah battery option). I just assumed the 10Ah battery would last longer... but that concept may be flushing down the toilet as we speak.

I did go out for a test run against my bow's bike and it does appear I have some battery loss... but the WHY part is still unclear. I've mentioned before that my lights don't always go on or stay on so there could be a minor "short" or draw occurring that could be causing the battery loss... Maybe?? The test run we did wasn't a good side by side so I will be trying a few different things just to see if I can isolate if it's the battery or something else on the bike.

As a side note: While doing this side by side test run, my bike hiccuped.. as in stopped and then started up and just kept going like it never happened. It was up a mountain side soo.. maybe it got a little hot or is feeling a little sick with all the rain around.
Couple of thingys:
• Your battery may be degrading prematurely as mine is - knock wood@Voltbike for an explanation.
• The motor controller is stored under the battery on the Mariner's and on bikes having similar frame designs.
• My understanding is that the bike's motor controller would have to be hacked to increase the bike's speed beyond 33kph/20mph.
• If you Google it, a number possible hacks will turn up.
• The other solution would be to replace the Mariner's controller with one that will allow you to set the bike's maximum speed through 8fun's C965A LCD display settings.

I wish that
Cnugget
4 weeks ago
@zap016VOLTAGE I was just wondering when you started to notice your battery start to degrade on the Mariner if you happened to recall? I was trying to establish if this is expected at my mileage or unusual.

The usual suspects haven't turned up a smoking gun yet:
Tire pressure is 20 - 25 on factory tires (plenty almost too hard for the road). Harder than I'd like really if you use a fatter tire for cushion.
Temps have dropped but not excessively. No weather related heat issues going on here. Consistent temps but lots of rain. Maybe things getting wet have caused a conduction temp loss?
I think the wheels and brakes are okay or, at least no worse than they have been.. Something I could looking into more.

I may be having a change of heart on the whole (20Ah battery option). I just assumed the 10Ah battery would last longer... but that concept may be flushing down the toilet as we speak.

I did go out for a test run against my bow's bike and it does appear I have some battery loss... but the WHY part is still unclear. I've mentioned before that my lights don't always go on or stay on so there could be a minor "short" or draw occurring that could be causing the battery loss... Maybe?? The test run we did wasn't a good side by side so I will be trying a few different things just to see if I can isolate if it's the battery or something else on the bike.

As a side note: While doing this side by side test run, my bike hiccuped.. as in stopped and then started up and just kept going like it never happened. It was up a mountain side soo.. maybe it got a little hot or is feeling a little sick with all the rain around.
Cnugget
4 weeks ago
love2cruz
Here's what appears to be an updated manual with a bit more info. Unfortunately it appears the max speed is set by the controller (housed within the battery?)
I have previewed this manual before looking for code definitions. This manual does look like an update but does not show the same layout or some of the codes (but many other options that could be fun to have) in the Mariner display. The missing codes that I have yet to sort through are these ASs - ?, Hd6 - ?, HdP - ?. The prior post does show the order progression inside the settings menu you should find on your bike once you get it. Perhaps there are a few codes that are the same in function but have somehow had a change in abbreviation? I would assume the max speed is set by the controller & housed in the box below the battery.
View attachment 11858
love2cruz
1 month ago
I ordered a Mariner from this shipment. Might get lucky and have it by Friday.
I wanted green but I got white instead due to black being the most popular.

I'm thinking of painting it satin brown...wonder if that would be an issue with warranty.
sexton Tom
1 month ago
Josh88
Welp, just ordered a Volt bike Yukon 750. I've done a lot of research over the past month and decided to go with this over the Rover. I like the integrated controller/battery and I like how the battery blends in with the down tube. Anyone else got this bike? How do you like it? Also the 70$ shipped is a lot nicer than almost 200$ shipped. Any feedback would be great.

Good luck and keep us posted !! I'm on the fence between the new Volt Mariner and Rad-Mini .
SuperGoop
1 month ago
Cnugget
Inside the monitor settings(double click Power Button to reach) of the Mariner(and Yukon for that matter) are some symbols I have not been able to un-code. Anyone able to help?
It's an APT 800S of some kind. It appears to have more functions than the 2013 manual suggests.. I can't find a few of the codes and what they mean. Here is what I've got so far:

S7 - (km/mi)
bL1 - backlight brightness display
OFf - auto time(min) display off
W d - wheel diameter (set to 22)
bU0 - voltage set (42V)
PSd - password (enter 1919)
SPL - speed limit (45km) - gov cuts off before 32km
CUL - MAX Current Limit set (default 15A)
HAL - Magnetic Pole numbers of speed sensor (set to 1. Not sure what impact this would have if adjusted)
ASs - ?
Hd6 - ?
HdP - ?
PAs - levels of assist(set to 0-9 not the default setting)

Before I go off and clicking, does someone happen to understand this computer/programming speak?
Were you able to decipher more of the codes, and did you make any changes to the default settings?
James Kohls
1 month ago
I just ordered a $330 eBike accessory

Even tho it is 70 degrees in Minnesota today, Winter is coming! I really don't want to go back to driving every day and my old road bike just isn't in a condition it can go another winter.

I mentioned previously considering a fat tire bike for winter commuting. The Rad Mini and Voltbike Mariner looked like nice options. But when I thought about it seriously, the number of days when roads in my area are too dangerous to ride are few. Maybe 30-50 days out of the year. Even in winter, there are a number of days the roads are plowed and ice-free enough to take the Turbo. So do I really want to spend $1500+ on a bike I only ride 30 days a year?

A big problem is keeping the bike clean. I don't have a garage, so any cleaning needs to be done inside. The only area suitable for that on the main level is my kitchen. I've thought about getting a kids plastic snow sled to set under the rear wheel and drive train so I could clean it during the winter. But then I have to clean that too. Maybe once in a while, but not regularly. This is probably one of my biggest reasons for not wanting to ride my Turbo X in the winter. Keeping my $3,000 investment in clean working condition is a big deal to me.

Next, I considered my plans to eventually get rid of my car...or rather, not to replace it when it dies. I still have a number of trips that are out of my Turbos reach. Buses in my immediate area are very infrequent. But only 2 miles away, I have access to a very frequent (every 10 minute pickup) rapid transit system—it even has heaters in the winter! Two miles is an easy bike ride to me (even without an e-bike), but a bit much in the winter to walk. Plus the buses and trains don't get me quite close enough to my frequent destinations. So there is a 1-3 mile last-leg trip I would need to make.

I could certainly take my Turbo on the bus. I've done it before:


(listen to bus driver's comment @ 1m45s)

But a Turbo X or any 50lb e-bike is not a great experience mounting and un-mounting on a bus bike rack. For the above video, I actually took the battery off the bike and put it in my backpack. A lot of fuss and muss during the freezing cold months in Minnesota.

What I really wanted was a really light weight version of a Rad Mini or Voltbike Mariner. Well light weight means, not an e-bike—even some of the smaller 16" folding e-bikes are nearly 50lbs. But the idea of a folding bike really appealed to me. So I decided on a folding pedal bike.



At ~$330, the Citizen Bike Seoul, doesn't break the bank. I can easily justify the cost for an infrequently used bike. It folds up small, so I can even take it inside the bus, if I wanted to, and store it in a closet when not in use. It is only 26 pounds, so I can drag it to my basement where there is a sink with a floor drain for cleaning. I will probably buy some winter studded tires for it, so it is safer on freshly plowed roads.

Anyway, my plan is to use my folding bike this winter, when the salt hits the roads, in combination with busses. Even if it doesn't work out as great as I planned, I still think having a little folding bike for throwing in the car on vacations or last-leg transportation on bus trips in the summer, would be a nice thing to have. I could even put it in my cargo trailer and use it in case of a flat...haha.

Still trying to figure out this (eventual) car-free life I've dreamed of. Hopefully this will be a significant piece of the puzzle.
vincent
2 months ago
roflo that is exactly my thoughts on the pas with the mini also
1 and 2 are slow but 2 cuts out a little too early speed wise and 3 is ridiculous...

very anxious to hear what cnugget finds out on her throttle stuff and how you find the pas on the mariner limited edition...

good chance i am going to push a friend to order a mariner this week
FoodNationHeroine
2 years ago

Hello, I'm thinking of buying an electric bike to ride to work and I'm
looking at the 2015 prodeco mariner 8 and ejoe epik we. Which of them is a
better choice consider the price specs, and warranty? Thank you. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Tuyen Nguyen I like the integrated e-Joe battery and suspension fork. You
get pedal assist as well as throttle on that bike and the fenders and rack
are pretty useful so it's a winner all the way around in my opinion
http://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/epik-se/

FoodNationHeroine
2 years ago

Ejo epik se

Juanchi
2 years ago

I just bought it and i ride it once and then i charge it and the hub motor
starting to do a Lot of Noise! and when i do the throttle does not work
everytime .. so sad!

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

That's a bummer! They offer a solid 2 year warranty... I think they would
help you out if the motor is having issues and you haven't voided the
warranty in any way. What do the noises sound like, is it something you
could film and link to here?

Juanchi
2 years ago

Hello Sir ! i'm going to upgrate my i-zip i and was wondering which one
would you choose from this 2 bikes: the prodeco mariner? or the cyclamatic
bicycle electric foldaway ?

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Good question! I've never tried the Cyclamatic before but it appears to
have a rear mounted hub motor and includes fenders and a usable rack with
the battery placed near the downtube vs. the rear. For all of these design
reasons I'd go with it but considering that ProdecoTech is a large well
known brand they might be better for getting customer service and having a
warranty. I hope this helps! By the way, this is the image I was using for
comparison, if this is not the bike you meant please let me know and share
a link so I an provide more thoughts:
http://c910383.r83.cf3.rackcdn.com/f419c5a6-c475-42dd-8bb0-d0ad3f544d8d_500_Category.jpg

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Hey Christopher, for some reason it won't let me respond to you with a
reply (You might have replies turned off?) so I'm just making a new
comment. While these bikes are repairable and do work alright, I'm less of
a fan when it comes to the high center of gravity and plastic case that can
crack and fall off (I've heard this from several shops). Another
inexpensive folding ebike that is better in my opinion is the Epik Ejoe and
it comes in two flavors (one with rack, fenders and lights for city stuff
and one without that's more for off road riding). I haven't posted those
reviews yet but the bike is solid.

Nothing against ProdecoTech, I just think your money will go further with
Ejoe in this case. If you do get the Mariner 7 I think you can order
straight from their website and have it shipped direct. You'll have to do
some configuring with the handlebars, maybe true the wheels but that's true
of any online ebike :)

Mo Ramahi
8 months ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Is this model any different from the mariner 8?