ProdecoTech Mariner 7 Review

Prodeco Mariner 7 Electric Bike Review 1
Prodeco Tech Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner Front Hub Motor 1
Prodeco Mariner Battery Back 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Throttle 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Folded 1
Prodeco Mariner Disc Brakes 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Battery 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Electric Bike Review 1
Prodeco Tech Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner Front Hub Motor 1
Prodeco Mariner Battery Back 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Throttle 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Folded 1
Prodeco Mariner Disc Brakes 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Battery 1

Summary

  • An affordable, but heavy, folding electric bike with twist throttle only
  • Available primarily online, offers solid two year warranty including battery pack
  • Lithium Iron Phosphate battery chemistry is stable and long lasting but heavier than other Lithium-ion technologies

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

ProdecoTech

Model:

Mariner 7

Price:

$1,399 USD

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 30 Day Replacement

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20132014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

46 lbs (20.86 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Geometry Measurements:

Folded Dimensions 36" x 29" x 16"

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, Folding

Frame Colors:

White

Frame Fork Details:

Zoom Suspension with 30 mm Travel

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 SRAM X5, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

SRAM X7 Grip Twist on Left Bar

Pedals:

HTI Folding Aluminum Nylon Platform

Headset:

Integrated Cartridge Bearing

Stem:

Promax Folding, Aluminum

Handlebar:

Promax T-Bar 500 mm, Aluminum

Brake Details:

Avid BB5 Mechanical Disc with 180 mm HS1 Rotors, Avid Speed Dial 7 Black Levers

Grips:

Kraton with Alloy Lock Rings

Saddle:

Velo Plush Vacuum

Seat Post:

Suspension Shock

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Wall 24 mm Aluminum

Spokes:

18/8 Black Stainless Steel 12G

Tire Brand:

Continental Contact 20" x 1.75"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Accessories:

Adjustable Single Leg Kickstand, 43.8V 2 Amp Charger, Aluminum Bash Guard on Front Ring, Bell on Left Bar

Other:

Quick Release Front Wheel, Optional 12 Amp Hour Battery Upgrade

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

FSG

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

300 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Battery Voltage:

38.4 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

9 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

345.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Iron Phosphate (LiFePO4), 24 Cells

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level (Green, Yellow, Red)

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

18 mph (29 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The ProdecoTech Mariner 7 is a folding electric bike that costs significantly less than competitors but takes a hit on weight, drive mode options, frame balance and in-person support. All ProdecoTech electric bikes cost less than competing brands because they are primarily sold online, bypassing a physical bike shop outlet. This savings is passed on to the buyer but it also means you may not have a chance to test ride the bike or get maintenance support as easily when the bike inevitably needs repairs. You’ll also have to build it yourself the first time. Still, with a 2 year warranty on all parts including the battery pack this could be an efficient way to step into the world of ebikes.

The motor driving the Mariner 7 offers 300 watts of power with a 500 watt peak and it’s geared meaning you get more torque. This is fairly standard for ebikes where 350 watt geared hub motors have been the most popular choice for full sized offerings. Given the frame size and reduced torque here, this bike is probably ideal for riders under 200 pounds.

The battery pack fueling that hub motor offers 38.4 volts of power and 9 amp hours of range. Again, fairly standard offering and enough to power the bike up to 35 miles in perfect conditions. The cell technology is Lithium Iron Phosphate which provides more cycles than other Lithium-ion types but has a lower energy density meaning in order to reach the 345 watt hours this pack delivers, it ends up being heavier. And this is where the real trade offs begin…

It seems to me that one of the primary benefits of any folding electric bike is the ability to fold and store it. With the Mariner 7 this action becomes more challenging due to the overall system weight. This folding bike weighs nearly 50 pounds while other competing offerings weigh closer to 40. This starts matter when you’re trying to the bike down in a boat compartment or up in an RV closet. Thankfully, the battery pack is removable so this challenge can be somewhat mitigated. Please just be careful when storing this bike so as not to hurt your back.

The ride quality of the Mariner 7 is acceptable. The pedals are plastic and therefore not that stiff. The weight of the battery is elevated high off the ground and all towards the rear which makes it a bit less stable than mid-frame designs but the inclusion of a built in rear light is a nice touch. Since the hub motor is built into the front wheel, that actually helps balance out the weight. I appreciate the seat post shock and idealism of the front shock but honestly, the travel is so short and the springs so stiff that it was hardly noticeable when I rode. The bike could save weight and would ride nearly the same without a front shock of this quality.

Aside from the weight and balance concerns with the Mariner 7, the lack of pedal assist also gives me pause. While this isn’t the only “non pedal assist” electric bike out there, it doesn’t include a cruise control setting which means you’ll need your hand on the grip shifter at all times in order to keep the assist. It’s one of the sacrifices you make for that lower price point. I think of this and other ProdecoTech bikes as entry level scooters. The battery is durable, the components and frames are mid grade and the system works, it’s just less refined. Compare this bike with the EZ Pedaler F300 that weighs less and does include pedal assist but costs $600 more or the IZIP E3 Compact that weighs over 6 pounds less, keeps the battery weight much lower and also offers pedal assist for $1,899.

Pros:

  • One of the cheapest folding electric bikes available
  • Battery pack is removable and features a built in rear light
  • Fantastic 2 year warranty, free shipping for fixes in the first 30 days
  • Seat post shock smooths out the bumps but don’t lift by the seat as the shock may become loose or break
  • 300 watt geared motor offers good torque and power with 500 watt peak output
  • Oversized disc brakes offer great stopping power
  • Aluminum bash guard protects front chain ring when folding and storing

Cons:

  • Challenging to find and test ride in person, mostly sold online
  • Battery tends to be heavier due to lower energy density of LiFePO4
  • Battery is positioned high off the ground creating a less stable ride
  • Overall weight of bike makes it less convenient for stowing
  • Frame components are mid-grade, twist throttle is basic, pedals are soft, front shock hardly works
  • No magnets or other fasteners to keep the bike in folded position
  • Can’t mount anything on top of the rear battery pack, also won’t work with panniers

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More ProdecoTech Reviews

ProdecoTech Mariner 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Powerful geared hub motor and high voltage battery pack for excellent torque and climbing ability. Compact folding design with removable battery, comfortable suspension fork and seat post shock...

ProdecoTech Phantom X2 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Full sized electric bike with unique mid-frame folding feature for easier transport and storage. 500 watt direct drive gearless motor is quiet and strong but only operates on a…...

ProdecoTech Scorpion 27 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Extremely light weight hardtail electric bike with 27 speeds and an efficient friction drive motor. Keyde drivetrain blends in, motor is very small and battery is shaped like a water…...

ProdecoTech Outlaw SS Review

  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

High speed, off-road only electric bike that's not legal to ride in most states without modification and insurance. Quality SRAM, Truvativ and ZOOM components, hand assembled in the USA, solid two year warranty...

ProdecoTech Titanio 29er Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Well priced hardtail mountain bike with light weight titanium frame and larger 29" wheels. Excellent balance and aesthetic appeal with grip drive front hub motor and bottle style battery…...

ProdecoTech Storm 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Inexpensive full sized folding electric bike with 26" wheels and basic suspension fork. Rear-heavy design with hub motor and battery mounted towards the back, single support strut...

ProdecoTech Genesis 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Inexpensive full sized folding electric bike with 26" wheels and basic suspension fork. Rear-heavy design with hub motor and battery mounted towards the back, single support strut...

ProdecoTech Stride R Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Affordable,highpowerelectricbikewithadecentwarrantybutrearheavydesign. Basicsuspensionforkwithcushyseatandlargertirestosmoothoutthebumps...

ProdecoTech Oasis Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Affordable, high power electric bike with a decent warranty but rear heavy design. Limited suspension, relies on cushy seat and balloon tires to smooth out the bumps...

ProdecoTech Phantom X3 Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

More solid than earlier Phantom ebikes, does not fold and has reinforced battery pack supports. High end RockShox fork with lockout, upgraded pedals (that don't fold) and hydraulic Avid DB…...

ProdecoTech Phantom X Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

500 watt direct drive motor is quiet and capable but offers less torque and weighs more, no regen modes. Simple to operate with LED console and twist throttle only, no pedal assist or LCD…...

ProdecoTech Stride 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

One of the most affordable, but still decent quality, entry level electric bikes. Low step design is easy to mount, adjustable neck and shock add comfort, twist throttle…...

ProdecoTech Outlaw EX Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Unstable due to steep long travel shock angle and high battery pack position. Relatively low price but tough to test ride as it's primarily available only online...


Ronald Boykin
3 years ago

It would be nice if it was possible to put fenders on this bike!

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

PCDoctorUSA
2 days ago

So looking at my first ebike, and after spending countless hours settled on a Mariner. Have tried multiple times to contact VoltBike with a simple capacity question, but have never received a response? This makes me nervous to commit purchasing from VoltBike, as one has to wonder if support is ever needed, will they be there?

Any VoltBike owners recently contacted support, and received replies?

I hate to start the search over, but may have to look at other manufacturers at this point?
I usually got a response within one business day if not the same day.

Ann M.
3 days ago

That's odd, @Sundance; Voltbike is in business. They have 3 ways to contact them on their website- phone # (800) 350-4840, email- sales@voltbike.com or by using the submission form on their contact page. The Mariner is a great bike and there are several happy EBR owners. Keep trying.

Sundance
3 days ago

So looking at my first ebike, and after spending countless hours settled on a Mariner. Have tried multiple times to contact VoltBike with a simple capacity question, but have never received a response? This makes me nervous to commit purchasing from VoltBike, as one has to wonder if support is ever needed, will they be there?

Any VoltBike owners recently contacted support, and received replies?

I hate to start the search over, but may have to look at other manufacturers at this point?

draf
1 week ago

@Cnugget Thank you very much for your answers! Great explanation and details, as always!
I intend to use the Mariner as a daily commute in the Montreal metropolitan area and the terrain has around 60m elevation from home to work for ~24km distance. Google Maps says it should take me around 1h 20min to complete the commute one way, but it seems they use a conservative 16km/h average speed. If the Mariner can travel comfortably to 32km/h (using pedal power + power assist), this should cut the commuting time in half which would be faster then by car (due to regular congestion)! I can't wait spring to order the bike! The temperature is expected to drop bellow freezing point in a couple of days here... Or maybe I should order now and benefit of the 11% off sale price?

Cnugget
1 week ago

@draf I have used the Mariner as a commuter for just over a year now. It did ride very well at higher speeds (going downhill 65km/hr) without any steering wheel wobble until a few crashes changed that. Not really the bikes fault though. I believe it may have some whip-it but not bad. That has never bothered me though.

It is possible to ride the bike without power. If you have flat terrain this is not a problem but will feel like you are a good 20-40lbs or more (60lbs) heavier. The sac of potatoes is a great idea for a trial feel maybe even flatten your tires as well. Going uphill is where you will notice gravity at it's worst. Because the bike only has 6 gears no low end climbing gears exist. You really need to crank it out hard or walk it at that point. If you are looking for a really great workout though... nothing could be finer :p. A slick tire would likely help a bit too but rolling resistance 4" tire will slow you more overall than a 1-2" tires. Higher PSI will also result in better rolling resistance and battery life on pavement. I have heard of people considering a smaller tire width but have not tried that myself (still running factory on my front).

If you plan to pedal the entire way and go more bike speed and not ebike speed you should be able to go 30mi /50km as a rough estimate. To maintain or cancel out the effects of the heavier bike etc.. level 3 or 4 of 9 PAS would likely be where you would maintain.. ~18km/hr or ~11mi/hr. My new controller replaced by Volt Bike does take me above the 32km/hr threshold.. but not much and at a reduced rate. I think max 35km/hr is more realistic MAX if in ideal conditions (no wind, flat terrain, good psi, no hills). If you have downhill on your commute well then.. expect faster speeds as a benefit to gravity... and prepare to hold on. :D

I pedal the entire distance to work and use full PAS Level 9 but I have hills both up and down. It takes me 35-40mins to get to work travelling about 16km with 1600ft / 500m total eGain. :eek: It really DOES depend.. In this case and after 5500km my battery will die in under 32km. I can make it last if I choose but usually I charge at work for the way home. This was not the case until about 2500km? mark I believe and before the first winter.

Cnugget
1 week ago

Hi guys! What is the maximum comfortable cruising speed for you in PAS mode? I mean how fast can you go on the Mariner for extended periods of time, until the battery is drained?

How fast? Comfortable cruising speed? Likely to get some personal opinion responses. Here's mine. :p
The battery will give you everything it's got until it's pretty much done. The top of the battery does tend to give you a bit more punch fresh off a charge. But the steady drain till almost dead are benefits of lithium battery power. To me that also means knowing how much charge you actually have left is a challenge and not to expect your battery indicator to be as accurate. Personal experience is usually the better judge. If you have a limiter on, it will max out at 32km/hr or 20mi/hr. My bike will still give me limited power above that on flat terrain so I can cruise round about 35km/hr or ~21.5mi/hr. Comfortable to me, would that be for you? Your max speed will be less and less the steeper up the hill and dependent on the controller and tire friction with the road/pavement or dirt. Maybe I could go faster or have the battery last longer if I had slicks on and weighed less. ~180lbs + what ever is in my bag (20lbs?).

How fast really depends on a variety of factors. The terrain, speed, temps, wind, hills, how fast you dare to go etc etc. I went over 60km in distance the other day on flat terrain but not at full speed with good temps, no wind and using some leg power and still had some battery left. Ave speed was 17km/hr or 10.6mi/hr PAS was 3-6 out of 9. I have not done a test at full speed on flat terrain (mostly because it is hard to find flat terrain where you can go max speed). :D My battery is also 1+ years of use now and the older 10.4ah not the 11.6ah. Conservative guess would be 30mi or 50km distance going as fast as 35km/hr or 21mi/hr.. but I do think distance would be longer on a battery under 1500 mi or 2500km odo.

Another FYI.. The Volt Bikes are small batch so that means there could be variety or changes that occur from set to set. What I experience may not be what you experience. To me both a pro and a con. :)

Hope that helps.

draf
1 week ago

Hi guys! What is the maximum comfortable cruising speed for you in PAS mode? I mean how fast can you go on the Mariner for extended periods of time, until the battery is drained?

draf
2 weeks ago

Hello,

I am looking to buy a Voltbike Mariner 500w Limited and use it as my daily commuter (around 50km total per day). I did a lot of reading about this bike on this forum (thank you all for your tremendous contribution, I have learnt a lot!), but I still have questions that you could help me find answers to :). Thank you in advance!

1. I believe it is possible to use the bike without power assist, like a normal bike. How would it compare in this case with other non-electric bikes in terms of effort and speed?

2. Given flat terrain and around 180lbs total load, what range should I expect from the battery considering I intend to pedal the entire distance and use the electric motor only to assist in order to reduce the effort and maintain the speed?

3. What cruising speed should I expect in power assist mode? I believe the controller will cut the power above 32km/h, but is it possible to maintain higher speeds (at least 40km/h) for extended periods of time, if pedaling and using the power assist in the same time?

Thank you so much!

Ian in Alberta
3 weeks ago

I bought a Mariner. It's a fun bike, and I love riding it. It's more versatile than the Elegant, perhaps, because of the fat tires and foldability.

VLee
3 weeks ago

Hey Kiwi..so howdy you like the GB500? I was thinking of getting one or the prodecotech Mariner 5. How many miles do you ride?

zap016VOLTAGE
3 weeks ago

Just an update.. I had my bike into visit George @Voltbike to change out the controller to see if this would address the issue of my lights (cutting out/not working). For a short bit my lights worked but then they turned off again. Bummer!:oops: There must be a loose wire somewhere. I will have it in sometime soon for a longer visit.. Hopefully during a long rainy section. It will take more time to find the culprit wire. Thanks to @Voltbike for being so helpful. :) One day my lights will work properly.

NEW CONTROLLER (different than the old IMHO):
The new controller acts different to the the old one. At least if feels this way to me (Not sure what model it is). It seems more subtle on taking off.. which I always thought would be nice to have. :) It also doesn't instant cut out at 31 km's but gradually rolls off the power on the top end. It feels like it has a bit less power/ now overall.. Full speed at level 9 (highest PAS) takes longer to achieve, which means I am biking mostly in this level through out the ride. . This is more noticeable when going uphills where the bike has a bit less pull.. I hate to say this, but I sort of miss the full raw power the old controller had... sometimes. :D Wouldn't it be nice to have the best of both worlds.. haha..

OH NO!
@Cnugget said "It feels like it has a bit less power/ now overall.":eek:

The Mariner's "RAW POWER," - Rocket launches from a stand still - is the Mariner's best feature.:D
Love how quickly the eMoto accelerates to 33Kph.
Some times, I could out accelerate gassers from stop light to stop light.
On occasions, I've been able to wheelie it.

Sad :(

Cnugget
3 weeks ago

The Mariner is still working through the wind and the rain.. I will be reaching 5,600km's tomorrow. Just hit my 90th commute since starting to eBike back in August of 2016. It's getting colder now so each time I make it out, I feel really happy I did. It seems to come down to perseverance.. Keep the wheels a rolling.. well at least until the ice arrives for me... :D

The narrow bike seat has changed how I ride the bike now. More balance and connection to the bike, less luxury & leisure. It's more like what I would think a spinning class would be like.. outside and in the rain. :p

I've come up with some home made gear that has been helping with the chillier wind and sort of the rain. It's a bit rough but it gets the job done with no excessive extra costs. I bought a paint suit at a hardware store and made chaps and some mitt covers.

My bike telescoping neck has a little play to it.. Has had so for quite some time after a bigger fall I had last winter in the snow. While I used to enjoy hands free with out the shudder effect.. it's more hands on now for control. Hand signals and turning while going downhill and trying to brake all at the same time can be a challenge. Not lying. Sometimes I wish I had turn signals. All said and done though, if there was one thing I would add to the bike it would be better brakes. Saving up. :)

1/1
Alcide
4 weeks ago

Thanks to all those who have shared their experiences so I could learn the easy way. I'm wondering if anyone else has had the misfortune of battery failure. I placed my battery on my sidewalk while getting my bike out of storage, and it fell onto its side. Within one day it was no longer working. I have nearly 500 km on my new Mariner and have contacted Voltbike support a few days ago, with no reply from them yet. I'm hoping that it can be repaired locally, if it needs to be.

I have taken many precautions, adjusting my brakes as needed, sealing the control box with silicone as was suggested, added a bash-guard on the inside of the crank, checked all bolts and screws for tightness, added a mirror, found a good helmet and added a powerful light on it, and added slime in my tires.

I won't set the battery down on end any longer. I'm surprised it only took one fall to damage the battery.

dabanasa
4 weeks ago

I would caution anyone from buying a bike direct from Prodeco. I own two Mariner 7's that I purchased through a bike shop, and was happy with them. Giving these bikes to grandchildren and needing step-through models, I purchased two Stride 500's directly from Prodeco. M.C., senior national account manager, was happy to take my order on Aug 25, 2017 and instantly charge my credit card. He suggested by bikes would be shipped within a week. On Aug. 29 I called because I had no tracking number nor even an invoice. He sent me an invoice with a shipping date of Sept 1. The bikes finally shipped Sept 22, after I threatened cancelling my order and disputing the credit card charge (I stress the need to use a credit card such as AMEX which allows charges to be disputed and money refunded). Others at Prodeco promised delivery dates but did not follow through: D.A., vp business development and L.C.

The bikes finally arrived. The Stride 500 has a Promax 25.4 Cruise 600mm adjustable Handlebar which requires a 6mm t-handle wrench to attach to the frame. (Neither the manual nor "quick start guide" have been updated to show this handlebar.) This critical tool is missing. Attempting to ride the bike without sufficiently tightening the handle bar is potentially life-threatening. Contacting the online support about this went unanswered. I had to threaten a BBB formal complaint before the tool was finally shipped. However, the e-mail confirming shipment stated "The tools were shipped this morning. It was not an easy task as they were discontinued 2 years ago, but we did find them and got them in for your bikes. 2 #6 allen head full size tools were sent." So even though this tool is necessary and specified in the assembly instructions, Prodeco does not apparently intend to include it. I have filed a safety complaint with the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) on this issue.

On a related issue, I believe it took my negative BBB review to get them to ship a replacement battery, ordered before my new bikes, for my Mariner 7. Prodeco bikes are well-built (if heavy) and are entry-level priced. Purchasing through a dealer who has them in stock may be appropriate, but consider the poor customer support and long delay in getting parts.

Dwight Anderson
4 weeks ago

I too, have been trying to figure out how to remove the speed limit. This is just an great option to keep with traffic, if you're riding on the road.

I have a Mariner and believe the controller is similar to the Yukon 750. Here's a photo of the Mariner controller. I was able to decipher/trace majority of the wires, but none that seems to be able to disable the speed limit. Perhaps it is wired inside the Hub motor?

Any insights by other members???

As far as I can decipher:

Thick Red/Black: Power to the controller

Thick Y/G/Blue: Power to the Hub Motor
Attached R/Blk/W: Some sort of signal relayed from the Hub Motor (most likely the throttle)

Controller R/Blk to Exterior Blk/Blk-w: Power to attached bike lights (on/off controlled by an unknown signal (wire) going into the controller)

Controller Light Blue/R/Blk: Cadence sensor (the 12 magnets disc)

Now here comes the fun part:

Exterior R/B/Blk/G/Y: This is the cable strip that connects to the LCD Controller (R, Blk: is most likely power; rest is most likely transmission of data)

Controller R/Blk/Green-Yw to Exterior Grey/Purple: ???? Unknown (My guess is brake lever cut-off sensor)

Controller Dual Grey/Blk to Exterior White: Unknown. I trial and error this wire hoping is the speed limit but unfortunately is not. If unplugged, then brake lever motor cut-off would not function. If plugged to the Single Grey/Blk connector, appears to make no difference - both brake lever motor cut-off still works.

Controller Single Grey/Blk: Unplugged. Unknown

Controller Grey/Red *male: Unplugged. Unknown - some how the plug appears reversed, controller plugs mostly female.......so my deduction is this is some sort of power feeding to bike accessories just like the bike lights plugs????

Exterior Brown *female: Unplugged. Unknown. Based on the manual simplified wiring diagram, the bike lights is labeled "Brown". So my deduction is this wire is to control brake light if the bike is equipped???

The Blk wire loop: This loops one ground to another. Probably has nothing to do with speed.

As far as I know, the bike is not limited to 32 km/hr. I think it is somewhere around 48.

zap016VOLTAGE
4 weeks ago

Columba 26 inch Folding Bike Bag
When the need arise, I've folded and stored the Mariner in Columba's 26 in Folding Bike Bag that I sourced on Amazon.
• Can swallow whole the bike's girth
• Inside is vinyl coated
• Strong:D - The Mariner weights in around 60lbs! :eek:
• Inexpensive
• Foldable - It can be folded and placed in a bicycle backpack

1/4
zap016VOLTAGE
4 weeks ago

@zap016VOLTAGE. Thank you for your posts and review.

Which model of the 2kSilver Columba bag did you get?

The Bag 20 or the Bag 26? Just want to make sure it fits, they're on sale right now and I need one, good timing.

You happy with the bag?

Thank you @Denis Shelston. ;)
I'd purchased the Columba 26 inch Folding Bike Bag on Amazon.
The bag was inexpensive and it is well made, its inside is vinyl coated.
While the bag hasn't seen regular use, however considering that the Mariner weights in around 60 lbs - the Mariner is hardly a Brompton, it has held up.:)
Overall Very Good!:D

harryS
1 month ago

You can chew on these too .

The Ancheer 20" on ebay for $600 shipped.

Also the Voltbike Mariner fpr $1289 plus $70 shipping,
These fat tire folders weigh over 50 pounds. Not light. A 20" folder with 36V battery has a top speed around 18 mph. If your students want more speed, then a 48V battery is needed, although I don't know if I would want to ride over 20 mph in traffic. You're too small. Not easily seen, and your speed will be misjudged by motorists.

I'd treat them like bikes that can make a 15 mile trip less of a chore, but it will still take an hour and you will use up over half your battery so there's no guarantee you won't do the return trip on the motor.

Chris_x
2 months ago

Hi guys!

I don’t have much experience on bikes, I’m kinda new to all of this. Got a Voltbike Mariner a month ago and yesterday I got a flat tire, a tiny nail punctured it. -_-

What should I do? Just replace the tube? Or do I need to get a new tire too?

Can I patch the tire? How?

Here is the photo of the situation lol

Thanks for your help!

1/3
attyjenkins
2 months ago

Cnugget, I am jealous. I have waited half a month for my Mariner to be delivered, and it finally arrived today. You have 5,000 km, and I have zero.

I think this is a new model of Mariner. It has that fancy bell for the left thumb. The throttle is now a twist grip (just the final two inches, under the thumb and index finger). There is a bash guard over the derailleur and a slap guard under the chain. Here are some photos.

But the frustrating part is that Voltbike has included a charger that won't fit. The battery has an outlet the size of a dime, with 3 small numbered holes. But the charger cable ends with a single round plug. Voltbike indicated that this may be a common problem with their new production from China. They promised to send me a new charger, and I hope it comes soon.

This is worse than waiting for delivery -- now I can see and touch my shiny new bike, but I just can't use it.

1/4
attyjenkins
2 months ago

Well, my Voltbike Mariner arrived (after some struggle with the shipper, who did not want to come down my street at first, but wanted me to meet him at an intersection a quarter-mile away). The box was banged up, but the inner packaging was very good and the bike had not a scratch.

Here are some pictures.

It looks like some changes from what I expected. Primarily, the throttle is a twist grip (and the red button a cut-off). There is now a guard over the fragile right rear axle, and a neoprene guard between the frame and the chain.

But the main problem is this -- the charger's plug does not match the battery. Apparently, this new shipment has mismatched parts. So now I have to wait until Voltbike can send me a new charger.

This may be worse than waiting for the delivery -- now I can see and touch my new bike, but I cannot use it.

1/4
mrgold35
2 months ago

Sounds like a 4" folding fat tire bike from Radmini, Indegogo MOAR, Volt Mariner, Ride Scoozy VeeGo Fat tire, or Sondors to name a few. I like the option of:
- store back of RV on bike rack or inside the RV because of weather or protect from thieves (even place inside a towed vehicle if have a car on the hitch)
- all terrain with snow, sand, paved roads, and soft to hard trails
- usually have enough utility and power for shopping and grocery runs with added rack+bags
- prices can range from $700 to $1500 compared to $1500 to $4000 for eMTB
- hub motor fold bikes can have PAS and throttles (throttles very handy in urban settings getting across a 6 lane intersection in a hurry)
- don't need a bike rack to transport in your hometown if you don't have hitch or trunk mounted bike rack for your other vehicles
- minimal prep time to place on bike rack or fold for storage inside (can remove seat and lower handle bars for an even smaller footprint)
- easy to store at home after the vacation.

Dewey
2 months ago

A trio of 20" folding fat tire ebikes include:

Sondors Fold X $900 for the single speed, $1k for the 7-speed, plus $200 shipping.
VoltBike Mariner $1300 all in.
RadMini $1500 all in

ReallyGoodEbikes
2 months ago

There are a few folders that you might want to consider at that price point, but make sure they have a sturdy build quality. I would recommend taking a look at, in ascending order by price, the E-Mojo Lynx, Prodecotech Mariner LD V5, Joulvert Playa Desert, and Ride Scoozy VeeGo (available in late October).

Ed Sm
5 days ago

I love the sound of the motor of this bike , i bought one like 2 years ago , and change the frame to another foldable with double suspension with front and rear disk breaks , the battery sadly in my backpack , but any way , become a monster but with the angelical sound of his motor ... max speed 30 mph , i will not flight to the future but is god enough , still under torrential rains ...

FoodNationHeroine
3 years ago

Hello, I'm thinking of buying an electric bike to ride to work and I'm looking at the 2015 prodeco mariner 8 and ejoe epik we. Which of them is a better choice consider the price specs, and warranty? Thank you.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Tuyen Nguyen I like the integrated e-Joe battery and suspension fork. You get pedal assist as well as throttle on that bike and the fenders and rack are pretty useful so it's a winner all the way around in my opinion http://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/epik-se/

FoodNationHeroine
3 years ago

Ejo epik se

Juanchi
3 years ago

I just bought it and i ride it once and then i charge it and the hub motor starting to do a Lot of Noise! and when i do the throttle does not work everytime .. so sad!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

That's a bummer! They offer a solid 2 year warranty... I think they would help you out if the motor is having issues and you haven't voided the warranty in any way. What do the noises sound like, is it something you could film and link to here?

Juanchi
3 years ago

Hello Sir !  i'm going to upgrate my i-zip i and was wondering which one would you choose from this 2 bikes: the prodeco mariner? or the cyclamatic bicycle electric foldaway ?

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Good question! I've never tried the Cyclamatic before but it appears to have a rear mounted hub motor and includes fenders and a usable rack with the battery placed near the downtube vs. the rear. For all of these design reasons I'd go with it but considering that ProdecoTech is a large well known brand they might be better for getting customer service and having a warranty. I hope this helps! By the way, this is the image I was using for comparison, if this is not the bike you meant please let me know and share a link so I an provide more thoughts: http://c910383.r83.cf3.rackcdn.com/f419c5a6-c475-42dd-8bb0-d0ad3f544d8d_500_Category.jpg

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Hey Christopher, for some reason it won't let me respond to you with a reply (You might have replies turned off?) so I'm just making a new comment. While these bikes are repairable and do work alright, I'm less of a fan when it comes to the high center of gravity and plastic case that can crack and fall off (I've heard this from several shops). Another inexpensive folding ebike that is better in my opinion is the Epik Ejoe and it comes in two flavors (one with rack, fenders and lights for city stuff and one without that's more for off road riding). I haven't posted those reviews yet but the bike is solid.

Nothing against ProdecoTech, I just think your money will go further with Ejoe in this case. If you do get the Mariner 7 I think you can order straight from their website and have it shipped direct. You'll have to do some configuring with the handlebars, maybe true the wheels but that's true of any online ebike :)

Mo Ramahi
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Is this model any different from the mariner 8?