ProdecoTech Mariner 7 Review

Prodeco Mariner 7 Electric Bike Review 1
Prodeco Tech Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner Front Hub Motor 1
Prodeco Mariner Battery Back 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Throttle 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Folded 1
Prodeco Mariner Disc Brakes 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Battery 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Electric Bike Review 1
Prodeco Tech Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner Front Hub Motor 1
Prodeco Mariner Battery Back 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Throttle 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Folded 1
Prodeco Mariner Disc Brakes 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Battery 1

Summary

  • An affordable, but heavy, folding electric bike with twist throttle only
  • Available primarily online, offers solid two year warranty including battery pack
  • Lithium Iron Phosphate battery chemistry is stable and long lasting but heavier than other Lithium-ion technologies

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

ProdecoTech

Model:

Mariner 7

Price:

$1,399 USD

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 30 Day Replacement

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20132014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

46 lbs (20.86 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Geometry Measurements:

Folded Dimensions 36" x 29" x 16"

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, Folding

Frame Colors:

White

Frame Fork Details:

Zoom Suspension with 30 mm Travel

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 SRAM X5, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

SRAM X7 Grip Twist on Left Bar

Pedals:

HTI Folding Aluminum Nylon Platform

Headset:

Integrated Cartridge Bearing

Stem:

Promax Folding, Aluminum

Handlebar:

Promax T-Bar 500 mm, Aluminum

Brake Details:

Avid BB5 Mechanical Disc with 180 mm HS1 Rotors, Avid Speed Dial 7 Black Levers

Grips:

Kraton with Alloy Lock Rings

Saddle:

Velo Plush Vacuum

Seat Post:

Suspension Shock

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Wall 24 mm Aluminum

Spokes:

18/8 Black Stainless Steel 12G

Tire Brand:

Continental Contact 20" x 1.75"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Accessories:

Adjustable Single Leg Kickstand, 43.8V 2 Amp Charger, Aluminum Bash Guard on Front Ring, Bell on Left Bar

Other:

Quick Release Front Wheel, Optional 12 Amp Hour Battery Upgrade

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

FSG

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

300 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Battery Voltage:

38.4 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

9 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

345.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Iron Phosphate (LiFePO4), 24 Cells

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level (Green, Yellow, Red)

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

18 mph (29 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The ProdecoTech Mariner 7 is a folding electric bike that costs significantly less than competitors but takes a hit on weight, drive mode options, frame balance and in-person support. All ProdecoTech electric bikes cost less than competing brands because they are primarily sold online, bypassing a physical bike shop outlet. This savings is passed on to the buyer but it also means you may not have a chance to test ride the bike or get maintenance support as easily when the bike inevitably needs repairs. You’ll also have to build it yourself the first time. Still, with a 2 year warranty on all parts including the battery pack this could be an efficient way to step into the world of ebikes.

The motor driving the Mariner 7 offers 300 watts of power with a 500 watt peak and it’s geared meaning you get more torque. This is fairly standard for ebikes where 350 watt geared hub motors have been the most popular choice for full sized offerings. Given the frame size and reduced torque here, this bike is probably ideal for riders under 200 pounds.

The battery pack fueling that hub motor offers 38.4 volts of power and 9 amp hours of range. Again, fairly standard offering and enough to power the bike up to 35 miles in perfect conditions. The cell technology is Lithium Iron Phosphate which provides more cycles than other Lithium-ion types but has a lower energy density meaning in order to reach the 345 watt hours this pack delivers, it ends up being heavier. And this is where the real trade offs begin…

It seems to me that one of the primary benefits of any folding electric bike is the ability to fold and store it. With the Mariner 7 this action becomes more challenging due to the overall system weight. This folding bike weighs nearly 50 pounds while other competing offerings weigh closer to 40. This starts matter when you’re trying to the bike down in a boat compartment or up in an RV closet. Thankfully, the battery pack is removable so this challenge can be somewhat mitigated. Please just be careful when storing this bike so as not to hurt your back.

The ride quality of the Mariner 7 is acceptable. The pedals are plastic and therefore not that stiff. The weight of the battery is elevated high off the ground and all towards the rear which makes it a bit less stable than mid-frame designs but the inclusion of a built in rear light is a nice touch. Since the hub motor is built into the front wheel, that actually helps balance out the weight. I appreciate the seat post shock and idealism of the front shock but honestly, the travel is so short and the springs so stiff that it was hardly noticeable when I rode. The bike could save weight and would ride nearly the same without a front shock of this quality.

Aside from the weight and balance concerns with the Mariner 7, the lack of pedal assist also gives me pause. While this isn’t the only “non pedal assist” electric bike out there, it doesn’t include a cruise control setting which means you’ll need your hand on the grip shifter at all times in order to keep the assist. It’s one of the sacrifices you make for that lower price point. I think of this and other ProdecoTech bikes as entry level scooters. The battery is durable, the components and frames are mid grade and the system works, it’s just less refined. Compare this bike with the EZ Pedaler F300 that weighs less and does include pedal assist but costs $600 more or the IZIP E3 Compact that weighs over 6 pounds less, keeps the battery weight much lower and also offers pedal assist for $1,899.

Pros:

  • One of the cheapest folding electric bikes available
  • Battery pack is removable and features a built in rear light
  • Fantastic 2 year warranty, free shipping for fixes in the first 30 days
  • Seat post shock smooths out the bumps but don’t lift by the seat as the shock may become loose or break
  • 300 watt geared motor offers good torque and power with 500 watt peak output
  • Oversized disc brakes offer great stopping power
  • Aluminum bash guard protects front chain ring when folding and storing

Cons:

  • Challenging to find and test ride in person, mostly sold online
  • Battery tends to be heavier due to lower energy density of LiFePO4
  • Battery is positioned high off the ground creating a less stable ride
  • Overall weight of bike makes it less convenient for stowing
  • Frame components are mid-grade, twist throttle is basic, pedals are soft, front shock hardly works
  • No magnets or other fasteners to keep the bike in folded position
  • Can’t mount anything on top of the rear battery pack, also won’t work with panniers

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More ProdecoTech Reviews

ProdecoTech Mariner 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Powerful geared hub motor and high voltage battery pack for excellent torque and climbing ability. Compact folding design with removable battery, comfortable suspension fork and seat post shock...

ProdecoTech Phantom X2 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Full sized electric bike with unique mid-frame folding feature for easier transport and storage. 500 watt direct drive gearless motor is quiet and strong but only operates on a…...

ProdecoTech Scorpion 27 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Extremely light weight hardtail electric bike with 27 speeds and an efficient friction drive motor. Keyde drivetrain blends in, motor is very small and battery is shaped like a water…...

ProdecoTech Outlaw SS Review

  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

High speed, off-road only electric bike that's not legal to ride in most states without modification and insurance. Quality SRAM, Truvativ and ZOOM components, hand assembled in the USA, solid two year warranty...

ProdecoTech Titanio 29er Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Well priced hardtail mountain bike with light weight titanium frame and larger 29" wheels. Excellent balance and aesthetic appeal with grip drive front hub motor and bottle style battery…...

ProdecoTech Storm 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Inexpensive full sized folding electric bike with 26" wheels and basic suspension fork. Rear-heavy design with hub motor and battery mounted towards the back, single support strut...

ProdecoTech Genesis 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Inexpensive full sized folding electric bike with 26" wheels and basic suspension fork. Rear-heavy design with hub motor and battery mounted towards the back, single support strut...

ProdecoTech Stride R Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Affordable,highpowerelectricbikewithadecentwarrantybutrearheavydesign. Basicsuspensionforkwithcushyseatandlargertirestosmoothoutthebumps...

ProdecoTech Oasis Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Affordable, high power electric bike with a decent warranty but rear heavy design. Limited suspension, relies on cushy seat and balloon tires to smooth out the bumps...

ProdecoTech Phantom X3 Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

More solid than earlier Phantom ebikes, does not fold and has reinforced battery pack supports. High end RockShox fork with lockout, upgraded pedals (that don't fold) and hydraulic Avid DB…...

ProdecoTech Phantom X Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

500 watt direct drive motor is quiet and capable but offers less torque and weighs more, no regen modes. Simple to operate with LED console and twist throttle only, no pedal assist or LCD…...

ProdecoTech Stride 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

One of the most affordable, but still decent quality, entry level electric bikes. Low step design is easy to mount, adjustable neck and shock add comfort, twist throttle…...

ProdecoTech Outlaw EX Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Unstable due to steep long travel shock angle and high battery pack position. Relatively low price but tough to test ride as it's primarily available only online...


Ronald Boykin
3 years ago

It would be nice if it was possible to put fenders on this bike!

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Cristina
4 hours ago

Thanks for the replies. I did look at the Radmini and Mariner but they're not quite what I was looking for, though it did offer some advantages with a lower stand over height. Also great to see that the RadRover works for someone who is 4'11". I am 5'4" so hopefully it won't be too much of a struggle. I am guessing that the RadRover and Yukon are pretty similar in size, but the RadRover seems to have a more upright position for riding.

Pedego Trail Tracker looks very nice, but it is out of my budget at the moment, especially for a first e-bike. It is too bad because they are local for me.

I saw that M2S Bikes (https://m2sbikes.com/) offer different frame sizes which is nice, but it seems they are already out of pre-orders next month, and I haven't really seen a lot of reviews online about their bikes.

The touring saddle is a good idea. I have read some people trim the post of their bike, but I would rather not do that right away since I'm sure it would void the warranty. I am thinking maybe wearing boots with a heel might help out a little bit too. Really leaning towards the Voltbike Yukon at the moment, for all of the features for the price.

Ravi Kempaiah
1 day ago

Electric Bike Review reviewed a 24" fat tire bike that was pretty nice in the past month or so. That would drop the seat height substantially versus 26". As noted the 20" wheels would have the seat even lower.

I concur MLB's idea.
@Cristina ,

a 24" Pedego trailtracker would be a good choice.

You could also look at Radmini, Voltbike mariner or Sondors fold and use the forums to gain some knowledge on the basics of maintenance.

Dewey
1 day ago

Wheel size makes a height difference. Folding fat tire ebikes like the Sondors Fold X and Voltbike Mariner typically use smaller 20" wheels that lower the bike. Also hub motors have mechanical advantage when threaded into smaller wheels.

Mark Peralta
6 days ago

I am trying to figure out ways to add some range to the voltbike mariner before I buy it. I have read a lot of reviews on range from people - but none based on purely using the throttle. First off, it would be nice to know the range of this bike based purely on using the throttle. In addition, it would also be nice if anyone could confirm whether I could use a battery like this in tandem with the stock battery and if not, could I just use the battery quoted below, it has twice the capacity and would surely be nice to get a range close to the 50 - 60 KM range full throttle.

https://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Ebike-Battery-48v-20Ah-1000W-Electric-Bike-Battery-48V-with-Charger-BMS-Lithium-Battery-48V/806274_32480815407.html
In pure throttle, your range maybe 15 miles (24 km). Why ruin a brand new ebike by messing up the electrical system? You are going to put custom battery mounting that will completely occupy the rear rack, you will need extra parallel circuit wiring, dangling around that will destroy the appearance of your ebike, you will need to disconnect the batteries every time you recharge them separately, and you would need different charger for the 2 batteries. For me, the extra mileage is not worth the hassle and inconvenience. If I plan to have longer rides then I would just carry a spare factory battery. If you pedal a little bit, then your battery may take you 20-25 miles (32-40 km). So 2 batteries can take you 50 miles (80 km) ride.

Uphill
6 days ago

C Nugget --I got a flat on my rear tire also, but was super lucky -- a slow leak happened overnight and so I wasn't stuck miles from a road somewhere. A bike shop reluctantly agreed to fix the flat and I watched them with all their equipment labor through it for about 40 minutes. If I was on my own along some trail, I know I'd have been there for hours. I asked the repairman if he had heard of Slime & he encouraged me not to use it, because he said the next bike shop which repaired a flat or changed my tire would hate me.
But there's no other great options out there, and I loaded about 7/8 of a bottle into each tire about 3 months ago and it's given me great piece of mind. I do a lot of trail riding with my Mariner (just topped 400 miles, at least half of which are off road) and I used to be pretty worried. Knock on wood, not worried at all now, no matter how rough the terrain or how far from a road I am. On the Slime website, people say they pull briars out of their tires when they get home and there's no leak.
I can't notice any difference in the ride at all. I'm a little reluctant to see what happens if I want to deflate the tires for any reason --not sure whether it will squirt out the valve stem or not. But until then, I'm happy.

1/1
dick fitsgood
6 days ago

I am trying to figure out ways to add some range to the voltbike mariner before I buy it. I have read a lot of reviews on range from people - but none based on purely using the throttle. First off, it would be nice to know the range of this bike based purely on using the throttle. In addition, it would also be nice if anyone could confirm whether I could use a battery like this in tandem with the stock battery and if not, could I just use the battery quoted below, it has twice the capacity and would surely be nice to get a range close to the 50 - 60 KM range full throttle.

https://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Ebike-Battery-48v-20Ah-1000W-Electric-Bike-Battery-48V-with-Charger-BMS-Lithium-Battery-48V/806274_32480815407.html

Uphill
6 days ago

MARINER AND SEDAN TRUNK:
3000 km's today YAY! My bike had a special surprise in store for me to celebrate this occasion memorably.

While heading to work in the rain I got a flat! Ak o_O Then it tipped over onto the gear side while trying to sort out a ride. :oops: I pulled everything off of the bike and then my battery (which was minding it's own business) got by bumped and tipped over too!! Ahhhhh..:eek: The taxi arrived and just fit my bike into the back trunk of the Toyota Corolla (newer model) but alas the lid would not close.. So for all you people wondering if it might fit in a standard sized trunk of a sedan, the answer is likely no.. UNLESS... you like to keep an open trunk with bungees or have a larger that average trunk.. :D Of note:

I don't have the gear protector like the new versions have(yes I am a bit envious) .. This may impair getting a bike into the trunk. .

I will be going to an LBS today (they groaned when I said it was a rear hub electric with a flat on the back). Oh dear..:confused: Just trying to get it up and running ASAP. I must learn to be more mechanically sound. Unsure of the required repairs involved at this point. Hopefully it won't be a exciting as the morning. Fingers & toes crossed...

-Keep you gear shift-r protected

Alex M
7 days ago

Are the only smaller folding e-bike options the Rad Mini, Sondors Fold, and VoltBike Mariner? I saw this guy pitching his Hoverfly e-bikes in a YouTube video, and it looks like they're rebranded Mariners, or copies.
Copies. As soon as you start manufacturing something at a Chinese factory - and this is where 99% of ebikes are being made - a dozen clones come out few weeks later, from several factories nearby (could be even from the same factory).

Traveling with a truck and camper, carrying a trike will be a pain. Leave this for the last, if two-wheel won't work for you.
I understand the appeal of a folding bike, given a limited space inside. But... There is a price to pay. Smaller wheels, heavier weight (than a comparable rigid bike), fewer choice of handlebars style, fewer suspension options. Unless you are absolutely sure you need it to fold.

Just my 2 cents.

BreakAes
1 week ago

Thanks for the help.

Are the only smaller folding e-bike options the Rad Mini, Sondors Fold, and VoltBike Mariner? I saw this guy pitching his Hoverfly e-bikes in a YouTube video, and it looks like they're rebranded Mariners, or copies. I think the Rad Mini is superior to the Mariner.

Interesting that the Vee8 tires were that much of an upgrade.

And yeah, Sondors only has a 30 day warranty, so that's another point.

I probably will go for the Rad Mini if I feel like an e-bike will work for me, and there's nothing better out there. The 750 watt motor is the main draw in my mind, and I think I'd need the racks. An e-trike would probably be the best option for me, but those are large and heavy, and more expensive. I'll have to see how I feel after testing the Rad Mini.

I think the main thing I need to consider with riding a bike and having this injury is the effect on the function of my legs, and if that would make things too difficult to ride. I thought I would deal with getting suspension down the line, however, my roommate works for Cirrus Cycles, and he was telling me their BodyFloat is the best suspension seatpost in the industry, so I might go for that if I really want it...so much money. Several years ago I bought an SR Suntour SP-8 NCX seatpost, but the BodyFloat does seem better. Any thoughts on the BodyFloat?

I actually did join the Sondors Facebook group, and the Sondors Forums where I started a thread. I'm thinking the Rad Mini would be the better option, but I'll keep looking into Sondors since their Fold models just got released, and there's not much info on them yet.

Chris_x
2 weeks ago

Hi Chris,

My Enduro uses an ambient light sensor to determine whether or not it should have the headlight on. Is that the same for the Mariner? And if so is it possible that you've covered it somehow, tricking it into thinking its always dark? Just spitballing ideas.
Hi! Yeah I was thinking about maybe being a sensor, but the manual doesn't say anything about it, for what I have read on the manual you turn them on and off manually.

Hmm but I'll check thoroughly if there is a sensor, just in case, thanks for the advice!

ShumaBike
2 weeks ago

Hi Chris,

My Enduro uses an ambient light sensor to determine whether or not it should have the headlight on. Is that the same for the Mariner? And if so is it possible that you've covered it somehow, tricking it into thinking its always dark? Just spitballing ideas.

Chris_x
2 weeks ago

Hi Everyone! I just got a Voltbike Mariner, all good but I'm having a little issue with the lights... they just won't turn off :/

Everytime I turn on the battery the lights turn on. And if I click the UP button the LCD panels changes from on to off and vice versa but tje lights stay on.

Anyone knows a way to reset them? or a fix for this?

Thanks!

Chris_x
2 weeks ago

Hi! so far are you happy with the bag @RayH ? Is this the same as yours?
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01A0U3DVM

Comparing the dimensions of the folded Mariner (39"x29"x22" (length x height x width)) with the ones of the bag (130x25x82CM) it looks like it wouldn't fit

Does the bag expand more than what is specified on the site? Or am I looking at another bag?

I would really appreciate your input, I´ve been looking for a bag for my Mariner like crazy, but no luck

Thanks!

Ian in Alberta
2 weeks ago

Hi, Mariner owners...I could use some help. The screen/controller on my Mariner stopped showing speed and distance a few weeks ago, though everything else seemed to function. I emailed Voltbike, and George sent me a new controller, which I've installed. Same problem.

Has anyone had this issue, and if so, have you found a solution? Is it perhaps in the settings? Any help would be appreciated. I live 800 miles from the Voltbike location, so it's hard to get there for service. But I'm pretty discouraged now.

Thank you Ian in Alberta

Denis Shelston
4 weeks ago

Hi Denis, I haven't watched it but here's a review of the Mariner.... https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/1-month-with-the-voltbike-mariner.14025/#post-111467

Thank you, yes I have seen it.

My wife wants to wait for now, she's just not sure what she wants...

tarhead
4 weeks ago

As a

Thanks for the suggestion.

As a matter of fact I did, or should I say 'she' did, she does not particularly like the look of it, industrial, delivery bike, steampunk are some of the words she used... Guess the front rack is an issue for her. Mind you she was not thrilled with the Mariner's look initially, but she warmed up to it.

It's a tad more expensive too, the Voltbike is currently $1599. CAD.

Call me Canadian but, given a choice, I'd rather encourage a Canadian enterprise.
Hi Denis, I haven't watched it but here's a review of the Mariner.... https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/1-month-with-the-voltbike-mariner.14025/#post-111467

Reema Ylla
4 weeks ago

Hello,
A fellow youtube by the name of GixrGuy brought to my attention that i should post my review and get some feedback! Thanks for taking the time to watch it.

Ill be bring more videos about my experience through the year, i hope to get feedback from all you.

Denis Shelston
1 month ago

As a
Hi Denis just wondered if you had looked at the small foldable bike at RadPower. Given @america94's comments about the Volt bikes it might be a better bet particularly if you travel to the US a lot. I had looked a Rad Rover but it cost $400 to have it delivered to Canada which was a deal killer. @america94 said it appears to be well built bike so hopefully the quality on the small folder would be the same.

Thanks for the suggestion.

As a matter of fact I did, or should I say 'she' did, she does not particularly like the look of it, industrial, delivery bike, steampunk are some of the words she used... Guess the front rack is an issue for her. Mind you she was not thrilled with the Mariner's look initially, but she warmed up to it.

It's a tad more expensive too, the Voltbike is currently $1599. CAD.

Call me Canadian but, given a choice, I'd rather encourage a Canadian enterprise.

america94
1 month ago

I am sure the experience cannot be comparable to flying and the hotel life. Freedom!!! Although I totally envy you, I'll console myself with the 40mpg with my Corolla ;);) Mariner in white looks good and their owners are very satisfied.

Denis Shelston
1 month ago

You know gas is not cheap in Canada, true. But we love visiting everywhere, next spring we're leaving for our Western trek for 4-5 months: North West US and Canada. We have relatives on the island, so we'll take the ferry to Victoria for sure. Even at 9 mpg, it's still cheaper than flying in most cases. It's a whole different experience too.

We'll be re-doing the South West US in 2019. We missed a few spots in Utah and around.

A white Mariner looks like the ticket. I'll work on protecting all the exposed wiring, and those holes at the bottom, close to the controller.

Tires seem to be a tad easier to get too.

Will keep you posted.

EBs_are_fun
1 month ago

I am also considering the Mariner. Just sitting on the fence at the moment and have watched every Youtube video made (as of July 12). Some good, come bad. Had considered the eJoe and Magnum 48v but still leaning toward the Voltbike Mariner.

If I could afford the Magnum Premium, it seems like an extremely nice bike. How will you be riding your bike? Commuting? Mostly on road, or other surfaces?

america94
1 month ago

Very impressive rig indeed! You have to get out of Canada ASAP to enjoy normally priced fuel, right? :rolleyes:

I thought the Mariner would be a great compromise for your wife between a regular bike and a large fat one. There must be some sandy areas that are super enjoyable where she would not have been able to follow you with a regular bike. If you ever get by Las Vegas, try the Red Rock Canyons with the bikes. That's where my son and I tried ebikes for the first time and it was phenomenal. Shout out to Allison and John, owners of Red E Bike Tours!

Denis Shelston
1 month ago

Looks like the Voltbike Mariner will fit the bill for my wife.

Will fit easy with my Téo at the back of our RV 5th Wheel.

The rack at the back is rated for 450 lbs.

More to follow.

1/1
Poincare
1 month ago

I am also considering the Mariner. Just sitting on the fence at the moment and have watched every Youtube video made (as of July 12). Some good, come bad. Had considered the eJoe and Magnum 48v but still leaning toward the Voltbike Mariner.

FoodNationHeroine
2 years ago

Hello, I'm thinking of buying an electric bike to ride to work and I'm looking at the 2015 prodeco mariner 8 and ejoe epik we. Which of them is a better choice consider the price specs, and warranty? Thank you.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Tuyen Nguyen I like the integrated e-Joe battery and suspension fork. You get pedal assist as well as throttle on that bike and the fenders and rack are pretty useful so it's a winner all the way around in my opinion http://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/epik-se/

FoodNationHeroine
2 years ago

Ejo epik se

Juanchi
3 years ago

I just bought it and i ride it once and then i charge it and the hub motor starting to do a Lot of Noise! and when i do the throttle does not work everytime .. so sad!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

That's a bummer! They offer a solid 2 year warranty... I think they would help you out if the motor is having issues and you haven't voided the warranty in any way. What do the noises sound like, is it something you could film and link to here?

Juanchi
3 years ago

Hello Sir !  i'm going to upgrate my i-zip i and was wondering which one would you choose from this 2 bikes: the prodeco mariner? or the cyclamatic bicycle electric foldaway ?

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Good question! I've never tried the Cyclamatic before but it appears to have a rear mounted hub motor and includes fenders and a usable rack with the battery placed near the downtube vs. the rear. For all of these design reasons I'd go with it but considering that ProdecoTech is a large well known brand they might be better for getting customer service and having a warranty. I hope this helps! By the way, this is the image I was using for comparison, if this is not the bike you meant please let me know and share a link so I an provide more thoughts: http://c910383.r83.cf3.rackcdn.com/f419c5a6-c475-42dd-8bb0-d0ad3f544d8d_500_Category.jpg

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Hey Christopher, for some reason it won't let me respond to you with a reply (You might have replies turned off?) so I'm just making a new comment. While these bikes are repairable and do work alright, I'm less of a fan when it comes to the high center of gravity and plastic case that can crack and fall off (I've heard this from several shops). Another inexpensive folding ebike that is better in my opinion is the Epik Ejoe and it comes in two flavors (one with rack, fenders and lights for city stuff and one without that's more for off road riding). I haven't posted those reviews yet but the bike is solid.

Nothing against ProdecoTech, I just think your money will go further with Ejoe in this case. If you do get the Mariner 7 I think you can order straight from their website and have it shipped direct. You'll have to do some configuring with the handlebars, maybe true the wheels but that's true of any online ebike :)

Mo Ramahi
1 year ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Is this model any different from the mariner 8?