ProdecoTech Mariner 7 Review

Prodeco Mariner 7 Electric Bike Review 1
Prodeco Tech Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner Front Hub Motor 1
Prodeco Mariner Battery Back 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Throttle 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Folded 1
Prodeco Mariner Disc Brakes 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Battery 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Electric Bike Review 1
Prodeco Tech Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner Front Hub Motor 1
Prodeco Mariner Battery Back 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Throttle 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Folded 1
Prodeco Mariner Disc Brakes 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Battery 1

Summary

  • An affordable, but heavy, folding electric bike with twist throttle only
  • Available primarily online, offers solid two year warranty including battery pack
  • Lithium Iron Phosphate battery chemistry is stable and long lasting but heavier than other Lithium-ion technologies

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

ProdecoTech

Model:

Mariner 7

Price:

$1,399 USD

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 30 Day Replacement

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20132014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

46 lbs (20.86 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Geometry Measurements:

Folded Dimensions 36" x 29" x 16"

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, Folding

Frame Colors:

White

Frame Fork Details:

Zoom Suspension with 30 mm Travel

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 SRAM X5, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

SRAM X7 Grip Twist on Left Bar

Pedals:

HTI Folding Aluminum Nylon Platform

Headset:

Integrated Cartridge Bearing

Stem:

Promax Folding, Aluminum

Handlebar:

Promax T-Bar 500 mm, Aluminum

Brake Details:

Avid BB5 Mechanical Disc with 180 mm HS1 Rotors, Avid Speed Dial 7 Black Levers

Grips:

Kraton with Alloy Lock Rings

Saddle:

Velo Plush Vacuum

Seat Post:

Suspension Shock

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Wall 24 mm Aluminum

Spokes:

18/8 Black Stainless Steel 12G

Tire Brand:

Continental Contact 20" x 1.75"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Accessories:

Adjustable Single Leg Kickstand, 43.8V 2 Amp Charger, Aluminum Bash Guard on Front Ring, Bell on Left Bar

Other:

Quick Release Front Wheel, Optional 12 Amp Hour Battery Upgrade

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

FSG

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

300 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Battery Voltage:

38.4 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

9 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

345.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Iron Phosphate (LiFePO4), 24 Cells

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level (Green, Yellow, Red)

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

18 mph (29 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The ProdecoTech Mariner 7 is a folding electric bike that costs significantly less than competitors but takes a hit on weight, drive mode options, frame balance and in-person support. All ProdecoTech electric bikes cost less than competing brands because they are primarily sold online, bypassing a physical bike shop outlet. This savings is passed on to the buyer but it also means you may not have a chance to test ride the bike or get maintenance support as easily when the bike inevitably needs repairs. You’ll also have to build it yourself the first time. Still, with a 2 year warranty on all parts including the battery pack this could be an efficient way to step into the world of ebikes.

The motor driving the Mariner 7 offers 300 watts of power with a 500 watt peak and it’s geared meaning you get more torque. This is fairly standard for ebikes where 350 watt geared hub motors have been the most popular choice for full sized offerings. Given the frame size and reduced torque here, this bike is probably ideal for riders under 200 pounds.

The battery pack fueling that hub motor offers 38.4 volts of power and 9 amp hours of range. Again, fairly standard offering and enough to power the bike up to 35 miles in perfect conditions. The cell technology is Lithium Iron Phosphate which provides more cycles than other Lithium-ion types but has a lower energy density meaning in order to reach the 345 watt hours this pack delivers, it ends up being heavier. And this is where the real trade offs begin…

It seems to me that one of the primary benefits of any folding electric bike is the ability to fold and store it. With the Mariner 7 this action becomes more challenging due to the overall system weight. This folding bike weighs nearly 50 pounds while other competing offerings weigh closer to 40. This starts matter when you’re trying to the bike down in a boat compartment or up in an RV closet. Thankfully, the battery pack is removable so this challenge can be somewhat mitigated. Please just be careful when storing this bike so as not to hurt your back.

The ride quality of the Mariner 7 is acceptable. The pedals are plastic and therefore not that stiff. The weight of the battery is elevated high off the ground and all towards the rear which makes it a bit less stable than mid-frame designs but the inclusion of a built in rear light is a nice touch. Since the hub motor is built into the front wheel, that actually helps balance out the weight. I appreciate the seat post shock and idealism of the front shock but honestly, the travel is so short and the springs so stiff that it was hardly noticeable when I rode. The bike could save weight and would ride nearly the same without a front shock of this quality.

Aside from the weight and balance concerns with the Mariner 7, the lack of pedal assist also gives me pause. While this isn’t the only “non pedal assist” electric bike out there, it doesn’t include a cruise control setting which means you’ll need your hand on the grip shifter at all times in order to keep the assist. It’s one of the sacrifices you make for that lower price point. I think of this and other ProdecoTech bikes as entry level scooters. The battery is durable, the components and frames are mid grade and the system works, it’s just less refined. Compare this bike with the EZ Pedaler F300 that weighs less and does include pedal assist but costs $600 more or the IZIP E3 Compact that weighs over 6 pounds less, keeps the battery weight much lower and also offers pedal assist for $1,899.

Pros:

  • One of the cheapest folding electric bikes available
  • Battery pack is removable and features a built in rear light
  • Fantastic 2 year warranty, free shipping for fixes in the first 30 days
  • Seat post shock smooths out the bumps but don’t lift by the seat as the shock may become loose or break
  • 300 watt geared motor offers good torque and power with 500 watt peak output
  • Oversized disc brakes offer great stopping power
  • Aluminum bash guard protects front chain ring when folding and storing

Cons:

  • Challenging to find and test ride in person, mostly sold online
  • Battery tends to be heavier due to lower energy density of LiFePO4
  • Battery is positioned high off the ground creating a less stable ride
  • Overall weight of bike makes it less convenient for stowing
  • Frame components are mid-grade, twist throttle is basic, pedals are soft, front shock hardly works
  • No magnets or other fasteners to keep the bike in folded position
  • Can’t mount anything on top of the rear battery pack, also won’t work with panniers

Resources:

More ProdecoTech Reviews

ProdecoTech Mariner 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Powerful geared hub motor and high voltage battery pack for excellent torque and climbing ability. Compact folding design with removable battery, comfortable suspension fork and seat post shock...

ProdecoTech Phantom X2 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Full sized electric bike with unique mid-frame folding feature for easier transport and storage. 500 watt direct drive gearless motor is quiet and strong but only operates on a…...

ProdecoTech Scorpion 27 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Extremely light weight hardtail electric bike with 27 speeds and an efficient friction drive motor. Keyde drivetrain blends in, motor is very small and battery is shaped like a water…...

ProdecoTech Outlaw SS Review

  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

High speed, off-road only electric bike that's not legal to ride in most states without modification and insurance. Quality SRAM, Truvativ and ZOOM components, hand assembled in the USA, solid two year warranty...

ProdecoTech Titanio 29er Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Well priced hardtail mountain bike with light weight titanium frame and larger 29" wheels. Excellent balance and aesthetic appeal with grip drive front hub motor and bottle style battery…...

ProdecoTech Storm 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Inexpensive full sized folding electric bike with 26" wheels and basic suspension fork. Rear-heavy design with hub motor and battery mounted towards the back, single support strut...

ProdecoTech Genesis 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Inexpensive full sized folding electric bike with 26" wheels and basic suspension fork. Rear-heavy design with hub motor and battery mounted towards the back, single support strut...

ProdecoTech Stride R Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Affordable,highpowerelectricbikewithadecentwarrantybutrearheavydesign. Basicsuspensionforkwithcushyseatandlargertirestosmoothoutthebumps...

ProdecoTech Oasis Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Affordable, high power electric bike with a decent warranty but rear heavy design. Limited suspension, relies on cushy seat and balloon tires to smooth out the bumps...

ProdecoTech Phantom X3 Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

More solid than earlier Phantom ebikes, does not fold and has reinforced battery pack supports. High end RockShox fork with lockout, upgraded pedals (that don't fold) and hydraulic Avid DB…...

ProdecoTech Phantom X Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

500 watt direct drive motor is quiet and capable but offers less torque and weighs more, no regen modes. Simple to operate with LED console and twist throttle only, no pedal assist or LCD…...

ProdecoTech Stride 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

One of the most affordable, but still decent quality, entry level electric bikes. Low step design is easy to mount, adjustable neck and shock add comfort, twist throttle…...

ProdecoTech Outlaw EX Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Unstable due to steep long travel shock angle and high battery pack position. Relatively low price but tough to test ride as it's primarily available only online...


Ronald Boykin
4 years ago

It would be nice if it was possible to put fenders on this bike!

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Ann M.
1 day ago

@ccstelmo, not sure which number you were calling, I just spoke with them a couple of weeks ago and ordered parts for a repair we're doing on a ProdecoTech bike. Use 800-943-6190, Mon- Fri 9am-5pm EST. Usually a receptionist picks up; ask to speak with Luis, their tech specialist. You will need the whole rack if your Mariner is the 48V version. They do seem to be slower returning calls if you leave a message, so keep calling until you get a person. No one is there on weekends and if you happened to call during the tropical storm a couple of weeks ago, their phones or business may have been down for a few days.

Here's a link to the https://www.prodecotech.com/contact on their website; try the email too.

Drew
2 days ago

The Prodecotech website is still up.

https://www.prodecotech.com/

The dealer tab shows something like 8-9 Prodecotech dealers in the greater Denver area.

Also there is an email address on the contact page.

ccstelmo
2 days ago

Hello new friends, neighbors, and e-bike enthusiasts. We live in an old ghost town in the Rockies. St. Elmo by name and reputation. Our daughter, however, abides in Fort Collins. She owns a Prodecotech Mariner 500 and wrecked it a while back. Accident was only a fender bender except that the cast-aluminum mount that supports the battery pack from the seat neck broke. I had a fellow weld it but he said it'd probably break again. Sooo .. I began my as-yet-unsuccessful quest for Prodecotech parts information.

My conclusion at this point is that Prodecotech has closed up shop and left the planet. Calls to the phone number go unanswered and appeals to Colorado e-bike shops result only in referrals to the phone number. What's a guy supposed to do? Well, it turns out the answer to that question is "Join A Forum" and beg for help. So here i am. Would someone please embrace me?

It seems like a simple thing in this brave new world of the internet age. I would like to purchase a new or used support neck for a Prodecotech Mariner 500.

Will one of you fine, generous, eco-friendly folks point me in a direction? Any direction?

ccstelmo

ralph cramden
4 days ago

1. If you are talking tough, you would have to go German or Dutch. There is a company that sells genuine Dutch bikes in California. They are the toughest. The problem is weight. These type bicycles prioritize weight below ruggedness. I can expand more on this theme if anyone wants me to.

2. Yes - don't order online. Why? You might want support in the future. I ordered my bicycle online, from "Sports Authority." A month after I bought it, they went out of business. I ended up ordering parts online from Alibaba. I was getting warranty support by shipment from Prodecotech. My bike was offline during these periods. Finally I learned to use Alibaba and correspond directly with Chinese companies. Now after three years I have a new improved motor hub on my bike and a $350 10.5Ah battery. I am doing a mileage test and at 101.61 miles on a single charge (with minimum assist). Bottom line, the most rugged and supported system is Bosch mid-drive from a Trek dealer.

3. Electricity and water still don't mix. This is the Achilles' heel of e-bikes. You have to know the weather report and if you are dashing through a lot of puddles or streams, may the force be with you. Make sure you have a fully charged cellphone (in a waterproof case).

4. Good quality genuine SRAM components are among the best and most rugged. They are lightweight and durable. Everything is sealed and maintenance free.

TML
5 days ago

The bike build was "finished" over the weekend.

After putting about 2 miles on it I decided there was no point in keeping the throttle. I took this off and replaced the grips (as I had already cut into the previous one.)

Another five miles in and I sheared a screw that was holding on the rear rack. (The battery case is quite heavy.) I've replaced both screws with a machine bolt that runs through the pipe secured by two nuts.

At this point, I reset the display to factory default and configured all the settings the way I like them. One problem I've found is the display won't power on if I leave the bike off for a day. I have to disconnect and re-connect a bullet connector then the power switch works. (I'll be emailing Em3ev to see what they advise.)

With around 12 miles on the bike since the reset; I've found a few things.

1) I'll be needing a wider saddle. This one isn't very comfortable for up-right riding. (I'm used to 20-30 miles per day, so I don't think its just fatigue as you feel it after about a mile.)
2) I'll probably go to a lower tooth chain ring. Using the 46 tooth ring I am getting 35mph on the 7th out of 9 gears. I haven't gone faster than that as I tend to run out of road and it would cause me to break the speed limit.)
3) Major hills I'm able to do about 10mph up with limited effort. (These are seriously steep long hills.)
4) My 8 mile commute to work used 12% of the battery with me barely putting in any effort. (I was hurting due to the saddle so I kept the speeds at 20-25mph rather than 30-35mph.)
5) I want a kickstand. This is a big pain without it as the bike is heavy. I've got one on order that should come in tomorrow or Thursday.
6) PAS is so much better than throttle only!!! Seriously loving this mid drive. It feels a lot more like a bicycle than my Prodecotech did.
7) With the power the motor puts out I don't notice the weight over the rear wheels at all. I've added my chain to the frame. I'll try more aggressive cornering once the seat is more comfortable.

Velome
1 week ago

I purchased an XM700+ last year and they did list the weight then of 46.3 lbs for 55 cm size.

ralph cramden
1 week ago

Trek has good bikes and well supported. However the weight is not the best considering the price tag. The Super Commuter 8+, which is more expensive, is listed at 52 lbs. They don't list the weight specification for the 7+ (too embarrassing?). Under the Weight section they just say the combined weight of rider and bike cannot be over 300lbs. People, even knowledgable people, will try to tell you weight does not matter. When you are stuck in a rural area with big hills and a discharged battery, you will find out how much weight matters.

I'm in my third year of electric bike ownership. After the second year I had to buy a new motor directly on Alibaba, because Prodecotech stopped supporting my model. However the new motor (Keyde) is very good. I also bought a new battery - 10.5Ah. I am doing a mileage test now, currently have 86.57 miles on a single charge. This is with some steep hills but not a lot. I am carrying a spare battery, about 6.5 lbs. I am carrying one pannier, and Serfas puck lock. Using the lowest assist setting, 1 out of 5.

I think a suspension fork is essential for long trips. I rode it from Maryland to Northern New York, about 380 miles, doing 50 miles a day. The fork is good because I have aero bars. They are dangerous enough but without suspension would be suicidal. I needed the aero bars because the bike has a straight handlebar. Who can stay in one riding position for 50 miles? My bike is lighter than the Trek models, has a small rear hub motor which is friction drive. Very smooth and no cogging when not powered. If you are big you might want a Trek. But otherwise for the price you can get a lighter bike.

Ravi Kempaiah
3 weeks ago

It's going to be a powerful bike!
Why not use your Prodeco X2 and its front triangle? You could just swap the rear wheel for a normal one.

Lots of good used bikes on eBay if you want to pick a used one. I saw some really nice Salsa and Trek bikes...

Amish David
3 weeks ago
TML
3 weeks ago

After spending a few months with a 2014 Prodecotech Phantom X2 in a very hilly area; I decided its time to get a bike with a rear rack and a mid drive. All of the options with the range and speed I wanted were way out of my price range. I spent a good bit of time comparing battery builders and settled on Em3ev due to their build quality and cost. I just ordered everything for the build and will be updating this thread as the parts arrive and build continues.

Current order: Total: $1,495.0
BBS02 48V 25A Kit × 1: $379.0
DCP14 (TFT Colour Display) × 1: $85.0
Throttle Type - Right Half Twist × 1: $8.0
Ebrake Type - 1pc Generic Sensor (Hydraulic Brakes) × 1: $10.0
Chainwheel - 46T × 1: $10.0
https://em3ev.com/shop/lekkie-buzz-bars-bbs-crank-arms/ $90.0
https://em3ev.com/shop/gearsensor/?attribute_pa_gearsensor=universal-gearsensor-igh-and-derailleur × 1: $45.0
50V 25.7Ah High-Energy Pack With 60A Smart BMS (14S9P-PF) × 1: $649.0
58.8V Charger (with 90/100% Switch) × 1: $60.0
Shipping: 159.00

Since it is after business hours on Friday in China right now I don't expect the parts to ship until the end of next week. The motor has been programmed to have full throttle available at every PAS setting including 0. It also has the speed limit removed (although I may re-set it around 30mph once I get it. That is plenty fast for the side streets in my area.)

I'm looking for a front suspension donor bike with hydraulic disc brakes and Shimano Acera or higher grade componentry. One option I found locally is a 2013 Giant Talon 29er 1 for $300. If its in good shape; I hope to pick it up Monday. My goal is to keep this thread fully up to date with all of the steps for anyone else considering a similar sub $2k mid drive build.

The battery is a large triangle. I don't want to have to remove it from the frame when I'm gone, so my plan is to build a custom box to fit in the triangle of the frame and screw it together using Torx Security screws. Since there are multiple bottle cage bosses, I may use washers and extended bolts in the boss holes to keep the box stabilized. We'll see after I pick up the bike, but weight will be centered/low and it is the most secure option I can think of other than removal. Any suggestions are highly appreciated!

TML
3 weeks ago

Hi Rudy and welcome to the forum!

What are you looking for in a bike? With that price point; you can get a lot more than you think. I am currently transitioning from a Prodecotech Phantom X2 to a BBS02 driven Giant build. Have spent the last few months trying different things and pricing about every option. Would be happy to help with your search :).

Is $1500-$2000 what you're wanting to spend total?
Do you already have a bike you'd be willing to electrify?
Are you willing to (or is there a shop near you) that would install a simple kit if it meant getting you a much better bike for the money?
Is your commute mostly flat, or are there a decent amount of hills?
What is the total distance you plan on riding per day?
What speed are you shooting for?
Are you trying to get a lot of exercise while riding or have the bike do most of the work?
What is your weight including you and any gear you'll have on the bike?

There are more questions to ask but those should get us a long way in helping you find a great bike for your budget!

dean1
1 month ago

Hello from Los Angeles, Juiced fans,

This is kind of a thinking-out-loud post. I plan on replacing my 5-year old Prodeco Phantom X (https://electricbikereview.com/prodecotech/phantom-x/) and have narrowed my choice down to the CCS or RCS. What are the real differences, besides the fat tires?

The specs and descriptions give different values for the meat and potatoes

CCS - 650W
RCS - 750W - but they seem like the same motor in product descriptions

CCS - Narrow format 12.8A battery (I think I read a post mentioning its on the wide mount?)
CCS - Wide format 13A battery (yes, both batteries are mentioned as std in specs and options)
RCS - Wide format 13A battery

The shopping cart options for CCS have 12.8A standard, upgradable to the wide format 48/19.2 and 52/21. The specs mention 48/13 std for CCS, just like it does for the RCS.

I am leaning toward the CCS due to its step-thru frame option -- and its about 14 pounds lighter, but I am flexible enough to go for the diamond frame RCS if these differences are meaningful. And the fat tires may come in handy sometimes. On the other hand, it seems that the RCS should be more expensive than the CCS if these physical differences are real

So, are these power spec differences meaningful? What say you?

Thanks!

dabanasa
8 months ago

I would caution anyone from buying a bike direct from Prodeco. I own two Mariner 7's that I purchased through a bike shop, and was happy with them. Giving these bikes to grandchildren and needing step-through models, I purchased two Stride 500's directly from Prodeco. M.C., senior national account manager, was happy to take my order on Aug 25, 2017 and instantly charge my credit card. He suggested by bikes would be shipped within a week. On Aug. 29 I called because I had no tracking number nor even an invoice. He sent me an invoice with a shipping date of Sept 1. The bikes finally shipped Sept 22, after I threatened cancelling my order and disputing the credit card charge (I stress the need to use a credit card such as AMEX which allows charges to be disputed and money refunded). Others at Prodeco promised delivery dates but did not follow through: D.A., vp business development and L.C.

The bikes finally arrived. The Stride 500 has a Promax 25.4 Cruise 600mm adjustable Handlebar which requires a 6mm t-handle wrench to attach to the frame. (Neither the manual nor "quick start guide" have been updated to show this handlebar.) This critical tool is missing. Attempting to ride the bike without sufficiently tightening the handle bar is potentially life-threatening. Contacting the online support about this went unanswered. I had to threaten a BBB formal complaint before the tool was finally shipped. However, the e-mail confirming shipment stated "The tools were shipped this morning. It was not an easy task as they were discontinued 2 years ago, but we did find them and got them in for your bikes. 2 #6 allen head full size tools were sent." So even though this tool is necessary and specified in the assembly instructions, Prodeco does not apparently intend to include it. I have filed a safety complaint with the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) on this issue.

On a related issue, I believe it took my negative BBB review to get them to ship a replacement battery, ordered before my new bikes, for my Mariner 7. Prodeco bikes are well-built (if heavy) and are entry-level priced. Purchasing through a dealer who has them in stock may be appropriate, but consider the poor customer support and long delay in getting parts.

vincent
2 years ago

I love the look of the radmini

Thinking about selling my Mariner 7 and buying the rad

My question is which one do you think rides more comfortable---- the rad with the fat tires or the Mariner with the suspension fork ?

vincent
3 years ago

ended up buying a used mariner 7, think it is a 2013 model

riding on the dirt road by my house the battery set up rattles a lot and concerns me

does anyone have pics of the old mounts and the newer better mounts?

would like to see if it was upgraded or not
and deciding between contacting prodeco to buy a new set up from them or talking to the bike shop here about maybe fabricating something stronger

any suggestions/info would be great

vincent713
3 years ago

Vincent - may I ask how you paid for the Prodeco Mariner 7? I know they go for $1400 retail. To me this bike is made to cruise around the marina hence the name. Since it's small with 20" wheels makes it limit to riding places like dirt trails or any kind of off roading. The huge rear battery placement gives it a high center of gravity making the ride less of a balance. From my experience with this battery placement, the bike will either sway too much to the right or left especially when you're standing and pedaling. It has a front wheel motor which will tend to make the steering a bit shaky and less stable. It's good for portability and to just cruise around like at a camp site or marine.
The Cemoto is just the opposite of the Mariner 7 with one thing in common is that they both fold. It has a larger 26" wheels, full size frame, rear hub motor, dual suspension and the battery placement is on the frame which evenly distribute the weight through out the bike. This will give it a more balance ride. You get the best of both world, portability and able to ride on or off road. It's much less expensive and for the quality it possess, you're really getting a good value for the money. What I also like about this bike is you're able to upgrade, so far I've added all kinds of accessories and upgraded parts. It's a bike that will grow with me for a long time.

vincent
3 years ago

so far really happy with the bike, rained a lot here today and is supposed to be rainy the next few days

but the build quality seems very good for the price

also bought a used prodeco mariner 7 last week
i was originally buying a new single speed mariner, but this guy on craigslist had mariner he wanted to get rid of that day and said he would take 200
knew it was not running, but had it repaired for 80 and they said it is a good bike

both of them just got home in the past couple of days so have not ridden either

in comparison folded up the mariner handlebars fold down so it is a little thinner and smaller because the tires are smaller
but the weight should be less on the mariner and picking them up i cannot tell

if the cemoto handlebars would swivel it would be perfect

sitting on the cemoto the bike just feels better to me, dont know if that is the bigger tires or what
feels more sturdy
it seems easier to get on the cemoto than the mariner also

hopefully it will not rain for the next 3 days and i will get to ride them a little

Court
4 years ago

Hey Rich! Sounds like you're on the right track and I appreciate the details regarding your car size, RV and budget. I can see how an ebike might help you get out there in a fun but not overwhelming way to stay in shape and enjoy the places you visit a bit more thoroughly.

As you can tell fro my reviews for the http://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/epik-lite/ and SE I really like these bikes for all the reasons you mentioned (price, weight balance and throttle + pedal assist). It's true that smaller diameter tires have a lower attack angle and are less ideal for bumps and rocks but the SE has that nice suspension fork which helps along with the wider tires. During my ride tests it felt stable and I also didn't experience any speed wobble. I personally wish e-Joe offered the gears and rack of the Lite with the suspension of the SE... Maybe they would do a custom order for you?

Of all the folding ebikes I've reviewed the e-Joe's are my favorites and some of the only models under $200 with shipping as you specified. I prefer to keep my bikes inside (out of sight) and with your car and RV that's going to work well and it will also keep them clean and dry. The only question is height and weight because as jayvan mentions, the full size feel is nice at times. For me being 5'9" and 130lbs the smaller step-through design of the Epik bikes is fine. Your thoughts on a DC to AC converter are also spot on and I http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004MDXS0U/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B004MDXS0U&linkCode=as2&tag=ebrcta-20 recently that has been working well (I'm on the road right now myself).

You may have already discovered the http://electricbikereview.com/tag/folding/ section of the site but if not, feel free to sort through. The other two models that come to mind are the http://electricbikereview.com/ez-pedaler/f300/ (I'm about to review the F350 which has a more powerful motor) and the http://electricbikereview.com/prodecotech/mariner-7/ which is less balanced but still has the suspension fork and an affordable pricepoint.

Ed Sm
7 months ago

I love the sound of the motor of this bike , i bought one like 2 years ago , and change the frame to another foldable with double suspension with front and rear disk breaks , the battery sadly in my backpack , but any way , become a monster but with the angelical sound of his motor ... max speed 30 mph , i will not flight to the future but is god enough , still under torrential rains ...

TrinAda
3 years ago

Hello, I'm thinking of buying an electric bike to ride to work and I'm looking at the 2015 prodeco mariner 8 and ejoe epik we. Which of them is a better choice consider the price specs, and warranty? Thank you.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Tuyen Nguyen I like the integrated e-Joe battery and suspension fork. You get pedal assist as well as throttle on that bike and the fenders and rack are pretty useful so it's a winner all the way around in my opinion http://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/epik-se/

TrinAda
3 years ago

Ejo epik se

Juanchi
4 years ago

I just bought it and i ride it once and then i charge it and the hub motor starting to do a Lot of Noise! and when i do the throttle does not work everytime .. so sad!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

That's a bummer! They offer a solid 2 year warranty... I think they would help you out if the motor is having issues and you haven't voided the warranty in any way. What do the noises sound like, is it something you could film and link to here?

Juanchi
4 years ago

Hello Sir !  i'm going to upgrate my i-zip i and was wondering which one would you choose from this 2 bikes: the prodeco mariner? or the cyclamatic bicycle electric foldaway ?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Good question! I've never tried the Cyclamatic before but it appears to have a rear mounted hub motor and includes fenders and a usable rack with the battery placed near the downtube vs. the rear. For all of these design reasons I'd go with it but considering that ProdecoTech is a large well known brand they might be better for getting customer service and having a warranty. I hope this helps! By the way, this is the image I was using for comparison, if this is not the bike you meant please let me know and share a link so I an provide more thoughts: http://c910383.r83.cf3.rackcdn.com/f419c5a6-c475-42dd-8bb0-d0ad3f544d8d_500_Category.jpg

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Hey Christopher, for some reason it won't let me respond to you with a reply (You might have replies turned off?) so I'm just making a new comment. While these bikes are repairable and do work alright, I'm less of a fan when it comes to the high center of gravity and plastic case that can crack and fall off (I've heard this from several shops). Another inexpensive folding ebike that is better in my opinion is the Epik Ejoe and it comes in two flavors (one with rack, fenders and lights for city stuff and one without that's more for off road riding). I haven't posted those reviews yet but the bike is solid.

Nothing against ProdecoTech, I just think your money will go further with Ejoe in this case. If you do get the Mariner 7 I think you can order straight from their website and have it shipped direct. You'll have to do some configuring with the handlebars, maybe true the wheels but that's true of any online ebike :)

Mo Ramahi
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Is this model any different from the mariner 8?