ProdecoTech Mariner 7 Review

Prodeco Mariner 7 Electric Bike Review 1
Prodeco Tech Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner Front Hub Motor 1
Prodeco Mariner Battery Back 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Throttle 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Folded 1
Prodeco Mariner Disc Brakes 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Battery 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Electric Bike Review 1
Prodeco Tech Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner Front Hub Motor 1
Prodeco Mariner Battery Back 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Throttle 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Folded 1
Prodeco Mariner Disc Brakes 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 1
Prodeco Mariner 7 Battery 1

Summary

  • An affordable, but heavy, folding electric bike with twist throttle only
  • Available primarily online, offers solid two year warranty including battery pack
  • Lithium Iron Phosphate battery chemistry is stable and long lasting but heavier than other Lithium-ion technologies

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

ProdecoTech

Model:

Mariner 7

Price:

$1,399 USD

Body Position:

Upright

Suggested Use:

Urban, Travel

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Comprehensive, 30 Day Replacement

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20132014

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

46 lbs (20.86 kg)

Frame Material:

Aluminum Alloy

Geometry Measurements:

Folded Dimensions 36" x 29" x 16"

Frame Types:

Mid-Step, Folding

Frame Colors:

White

Frame Fork Details:

Zoom Suspension with 30 mm Travel

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 SRAM X5, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

SRAM X7 Grip Twist on Left Bar

Pedals:

HTI Folding Aluminum Nylon Platform

Headset:

Integrated Cartridge Bearing

Stem:

Promax Folding, Aluminum

Handlebar:

Promax T-Bar 500 mm, Aluminum

Brake Details:

Avid BB5 Mechanical Disc with 180 mm HS1 Rotors, Avid Speed Dial 7 Black Levers

Grips:

Kraton with Alloy Lock Rings

Saddle:

Velo Plush Vacuum

Seat Post:

Suspension Shock

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Wall 24 mm Aluminum

Spokes:

18/8 Black Stainless Steel 12G

Tire Brand:

Continental Contact 20" x 1.75"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Accessories:

Adjustable Single Leg Kickstand, 43.8V 2 Amp Charger, Aluminum Bash Guard on Front Ring, Bell on Left Bar

Other:

Quick Release Front Wheel, Optional 12 Amp Hour Battery Upgrade

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

FSG

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

300 watts

Motor Peak Output:

500 watts

Battery Voltage:

38.4 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

9 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

345.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium Iron Phosphate (LiFePO4), 24 Cells

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

25 miles (40 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level (Green, Yellow, Red)

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

18 mph (29 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The ProdecoTech Mariner 7 is a folding electric bike that costs significantly less than competitors but takes a hit on weight, drive mode options, frame balance and in-person support. All ProdecoTech electric bikes cost less than competing brands because they are primarily sold online, bypassing a physical bike shop outlet. This savings is passed on to the buyer but it also means you may not have a chance to test ride the bike or get maintenance support as easily when the bike inevitably needs repairs. You’ll also have to build it yourself the first time. Still, with a 2 year warranty on all parts including the battery pack this could be an efficient way to step into the world of ebikes.

The motor driving the Mariner 7 offers 300 watts of power with a 500 watt peak and it’s geared meaning you get more torque. This is fairly standard for ebikes where 350 watt geared hub motors have been the most popular choice for full sized offerings. Given the frame size and reduced torque here, this bike is probably ideal for riders under 200 pounds.

The battery pack fueling that hub motor offers 38.4 volts of power and 9 amp hours of range. Again, fairly standard offering and enough to power the bike up to 35 miles in perfect conditions. The cell technology is Lithium Iron Phosphate which provides more cycles than other Lithium-ion types but has a lower energy density meaning in order to reach the 345 watt hours this pack delivers, it ends up being heavier. And this is where the real trade offs begin…

It seems to me that one of the primary benefits of any folding electric bike is the ability to fold and store it. With the Mariner 7 this action becomes more challenging due to the overall system weight. This folding bike weighs nearly 50 pounds while other competing offerings weigh closer to 40. This starts matter when you’re trying to the bike down in a boat compartment or up in an RV closet. Thankfully, the battery pack is removable so this challenge can be somewhat mitigated. Please just be careful when storing this bike so as not to hurt your back.

The ride quality of the Mariner 7 is acceptable. The pedals are plastic and therefore not that stiff. The weight of the battery is elevated high off the ground and all towards the rear which makes it a bit less stable than mid-frame designs but the inclusion of a built in rear light is a nice touch. Since the hub motor is built into the front wheel, that actually helps balance out the weight. I appreciate the seat post shock and idealism of the front shock but honestly, the travel is so short and the springs so stiff that it was hardly noticeable when I rode. The bike could save weight and would ride nearly the same without a front shock of this quality.

Aside from the weight and balance concerns with the Mariner 7, the lack of pedal assist also gives me pause. While this isn’t the only “non pedal assist” electric bike out there, it doesn’t include a cruise control setting which means you’ll need your hand on the grip shifter at all times in order to keep the assist. It’s one of the sacrifices you make for that lower price point. I think of this and other ProdecoTech bikes as entry level scooters. The battery is durable, the components and frames are mid grade and the system works, it’s just less refined. Compare this bike with the EZ Pedaler F300 that weighs less and does include pedal assist but costs $600 more or the IZIP E3 Compact that weighs over 6 pounds less, keeps the battery weight much lower and also offers pedal assist for $1,899.

Pros:

  • One of the cheapest folding electric bikes available
  • Battery pack is removable and features a built in rear light
  • Fantastic 2 year warranty, free shipping for fixes in the first 30 days
  • Seat post shock smooths out the bumps but don’t lift by the seat as the shock may become loose or break
  • 300 watt geared motor offers good torque and power with 500 watt peak output
  • Oversized disc brakes offer great stopping power
  • Aluminum bash guard protects front chain ring when folding and storing

Cons:

  • Challenging to find and test ride in person, mostly sold online
  • Battery tends to be heavier due to lower energy density of LiFePO4
  • Battery is positioned high off the ground creating a less stable ride
  • Overall weight of bike makes it less convenient for stowing
  • Frame components are mid-grade, twist throttle is basic, pedals are soft, front shock hardly works
  • No magnets or other fasteners to keep the bike in folded position
  • Can’t mount anything on top of the rear battery pack, also won’t work with panniers

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More ProdecoTech Reviews

ProdecoTech Mariner 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015

Powerful geared hub motor and high voltage battery pack for excellent torque and climbing ability. Compact folding design with removable battery, comfortable suspension fork and seat post shock...

ProdecoTech Phantom X2 Review

  • MSRP: $1,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Full sized electric bike with unique mid-frame folding feature for easier transport and storage. 500 watt direct drive gearless motor is quiet and strong but only operates on a…...

ProdecoTech Scorpion 27 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Extremely light weight hardtail electric bike with 27 speeds and an efficient friction drive motor. Keyde drivetrain blends in, motor is very small and battery is shaped like a water…...

ProdecoTech Outlaw SS Review

  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

High speed, off-road only electric bike that's not legal to ride in most states without modification and insurance. Quality SRAM, Truvativ and ZOOM components, hand assembled in the USA, solid two year warranty...

ProdecoTech Titanio 29er Review

  • MSRP: $4,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Well priced hardtail mountain bike with light weight titanium frame and larger 29" wheels. Excellent balance and aesthetic appeal with grip drive front hub motor and bottle style battery…...

ProdecoTech Storm 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Inexpensive full sized folding electric bike with 26" wheels and basic suspension fork. Rear-heavy design with hub motor and battery mounted towards the back, single support strut...

ProdecoTech Genesis 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Inexpensive full sized folding electric bike with 26" wheels and basic suspension fork. Rear-heavy design with hub motor and battery mounted towards the back, single support strut...

ProdecoTech Stride R Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Affordable,highpowerelectricbikewithadecentwarrantybutrearheavydesign. Basicsuspensionforkwithcushyseatandlargertirestosmoothoutthebumps...

ProdecoTech Oasis Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Affordable, high power electric bike with a decent warranty but rear heavy design. Limited suspension, relies on cushy seat and balloon tires to smooth out the bumps...

ProdecoTech Phantom X3 Review

  • MSRP: $1,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

More solid than earlier Phantom ebikes, does not fold and has reinforced battery pack supports. High end RockShox fork with lockout, upgraded pedals (that don't fold) and hydraulic Avid DB…...

ProdecoTech Phantom X Review

  • MSRP: $1,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

500 watt direct drive motor is quiet and capable but offers less torque and weighs more, no regen modes. Simple to operate with LED console and twist throttle only, no pedal assist or LCD…...

ProdecoTech Stride 500 Review

  • MSRP: $1,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

One of the most affordable, but still decent quality, entry level electric bikes. Low step design is easy to mount, adjustable neck and shock add comfort, twist throttle…...

ProdecoTech Outlaw EX Review

  • MSRP: $2,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013, 2014

Unstable due to steep long travel shock angle and high battery pack position. Relatively low price but tough to test ride as it's primarily available only online...


Ronald Boykin
3 years ago

It would be nice if it was possible to put fenders on this bike!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

zap016VOLTAGE
32 mins ago

Hi Zap,
I just found this forum and very useful.
Is there any update to the battery? I called Volt Bike and asked for any plan to upgrade ah. Their reply was no plan because it will be too expensive, and most customers are happy with the current battery. I usually ride from Manhattan to Jamaica Bay area (sometimes extended to Rockaway Beach), so I need 30+ miles battery life. I could line up and take a ferry back to downtown, but I know the queue is way too long. I wish we could have more battery capacity option.

Oh, we might run into each other in this small city ;)

Ciao.

Hola @Moooo :cool:
Thirty Mile commute WoW:eek:!
There are a few Voltbike Mariners in NYC.
Should create a Mariner owners meet up group.

@Voltbike has recently increased the Ah for some of their offerings including the Mariner.
For the Mariner, its battery Ah grew from 10.6 Ah to 11.6 Ah, a small amount.

Electric bikes encourage their users to travel greater distances because of the ease that they can be ridden.
However, I wonder if some vendors failed to understand this?
Just a few vendors, such as Storm Sondors of Sondors and @Tora Harris of Juiced Bikes, make available larger capacity batteries for their ebikes.

While I don't need a larger battery, nonetheless I would purchase one intended for the Mariner.
I've found not all Silverfish batteries are created equal.
At this time, I've sourced E-Bike Marketplace to rebuild my bike's battery (ground freight ship my battery to them as ebike batteries are considered hazardous material) .
E-Bike Marketplace also sells a 48V 16 Ah Silverfish style battery.

Share your experiences please.;)

Thanks:D

Cnugget
3 days ago

Just an update on the Liteloks we have owned since September 2016... We have a pair for two bikes so two of the same keys for both locks. This option has been handy to make a larger lock or join two bikes together in lower risk areas. As of today one lock is not unlocking or... should I say, it will unlock but then you cannot remove the key without a lot of effort. The problem occurs when trying to then relock using the key to set the metal tabs into place. Maybe there is a spring out of alignment?o_O The plastic section of one key broke off from the metal and came apart so now we are down to one key working with one lock until the other is re-glued or replaced. I am unsure if this is an ongoing issue with one of the two locks or if something else happened. I believe both keys will still work in the functioning lock but as it is in pieces it is hard to verify at the moment. :confused: The lock no longer working, has been used 3-4 x's per day over the last month with about 2 months of light use last year. It does seem that one of the two locks has always been more co-operative than the other. Perhaps it was partially defective or warped inside from the start? There are no signs of it being tampered with. Additionally, lubricating the lock to get things working did not appear to help. Will be reaching out to Litelok shortly.

On other notes: I found this review on Sweethome Article (the best bike lock) http://thesweethome.com/reviews/best-bike-lock/
At the bottom of the article they mention that bolt cutters can defeat the lock quite easily at the keyed point, which is a bit disappointing, but it makes sense when you look at the metal locking tabs on the interior. I hope they find a way to make this more hardy in future versions...

I still like the lock and it does appear to the on-looker as sturdy but as to it's actually security, I am not certain... Bike locks in general seem to be a bit of a frustrating field of research when it comes to the net where someone somewhere will say so and so's lock is the worst and it's hard to verify whom to believe. In the end, if someone wants a bike with enough effort and time they can succeed. It's sad there are not better or more anti-theft or "get my bike back" options available. :(

I posted some pics of this lock with the Volt Mariner here on how we have been using them here:
https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/volt-bike-mariner-2016-so-far-so-happy-observations-as-they-happen.7239/page-7

Cheers

Cnugget
2 weeks ago

MARINER AND SEDAN TRUNK:
3000 km's today YAY! My bike had a special surprise in store for me to celebrate this occasion memorably.

While heading to work in the rain I got a flat! Ak o_O Then it tipped over onto the gear side while trying to sort out a ride. :oops: I pulled everything off of the bike and then my battery (which was minding it's own business) got by bumped and tipped over too!! Ahhhhh..:eek: The taxi arrived and just fit my bike into the back trunk of the Toyota Corolla (newer model) but alas the lid would not close.. So for all you people wondering if it might fit in a standard sized trunk of a sedan, the answer is likely no.. UNLESS... you like to keep an open trunk with bungees or have a larger that average trunk.. :D Of note:

I don't have the gear protector like the new versions have(yes I am a bit envious) .. This may impair getting a bike into the trunk. .

I will be going to an LBS today (they groaned when I said it was a rear hub electric with a flat on the back). Oh dear..:confused: Just trying to get it up and running ASAP. I must learn to be more mechanically sound. Unsure of the required repairs involved at this point. Hopefully it won't be a exciting as the morning. Fingers & toes crossed...

-Keep you gear shift-r protected

Cnugget
2 weeks ago

Hello Mariner owners. I'm curious if the Mariner can be rolled in any way when folded. My wife is concerned it may be too heavy to carry otherwise.

Thanks!
Yes it can.. I uploaded a not well made video clip. It's on this thread here:
https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/volt-bike-mariner-2016-so-far-so-happy-observations-as-they-happen.7239/page-4

One way is better than the other though.. :p

Archaeonic
2 weeks ago

Hi guys,
So my 12 year old son had a little spill on my new Mariner this afternoon at the local park :oops: Unfortunately, his fall caused a slight out and upwards bend in the right brake lever. This seems to be causing a controller error 05E "Brake Error" and the motor will no longer engage.:eek:
I wiggled the brake lever a little and it is still fully functional but it is inhibiting the motor :(
N.b., I'm arguably below average in mechanical aptitude and tool skills :confused: so I thought I'd throw out a little SOS call.
I imagine I'll need to take it to the local bike shop but I was wondering if anyone had any other ideas to share keeping my aptitude in mind ;)
Thanks!

Cnugget
3 weeks ago

RE: Lock for Mariner.
Court has a nice over view vid on locking a bike in general.

I have the https://www.litelok.com/
It's rated at the Gold standard purchase overseas shipped to CAN. We bought two and they can be joined together to make one long lock or be used individually (two with the same keys).
The lock feels solid and is a large visible piece.. It is indeed wider and heavier than I pictured in my mind. You can see the lock on my bike back in photos on Page 4 of this thread.

I have struggled to get the lock closed sometimes because I'm a bit of a wimp but it gets easier with understanding. It more like setting a tight spring that would rather stay flat if you can imagine.
:rolleyes:
It does have a limited circumference as a single lock. The diameter is between 8-9.5" possibly more if you are able to squeeze it into a more oval shape but the might require fighting with the lock and the bike rack more than you'd like. The length when straight is 29"(one lock, not including the interlocking section). It weighs 39.2oz or ~2.5lbs for each lock. Now is that lightweight?

Because the tires are 4" and the spokes from a 20" wheel are closely spaced it leads to complications getting it around the rear tire/frame and what ever you are securing it too. It is possible, but not always. Usually this mean a compromise of just securing the frame to the bike rack or the tire (with the motor). I think I have only once been able to lock it with the rear tire, frame and bike rack. Perhaps it was due to lack of imagination or time.

With two locks joined together you get much more range of use. I could flatten the two together to get a radius of ~25?" (maybe a wee bit more even).. Lots of play to setup around something awkward or fold the bike in half and lock the frame front and back tires :D. The down side is you could give potential thief enough play to make it easier to cut. If someone wants something they will find a way to take it. This bike does catch the attention of others so it might be good to lock it down.

The exterior casing looks almost new (minus a few stray bits). Pretty sturdy and seems to shed dirt well.. (unlike my bike)..

1/5
america94
3 weeks ago

You can keep your rims. Mariner is 20x4 I believe. So you can fit 20in tires in width between 2.5 and 4.0. If you go wider, tire might grab on frame or other parts. The Maxxis I installed on mine were 2.5 in wide (although we have the same 4in Kendas) and I think that is the widest Maxxis offers for the Hookworms. But Vee8 (another great option as per @mrgold35 ) is available in 4in, not sure about 20in diameter.

With 4in wide, you can keep your tubes. with the 2.5, I got new tubes (2.35 to 2.75).

harryS
3 weeks ago

Indeed, the Sondors is a good looking bike, but not shipping til this Fall. Probably $99-199 to ship, putting it at $1099-1199 with a seven speed. The Mariner probably performs the same, but has the external battery. The Mariner appears to be a hot seller at Voltbike, as it's out of stock.

Archaeonic
3 weeks ago

Advice for a newbee bicyclist and Mariner owner?
How would I go about outfitting my Mariner with the Maxiss Hookworm tires?
What size or exact model?
Do I need new rims?
Thanks!
Andy

america94
3 weeks ago

I would stick with voltbike the teo does not even look good nor is it price competitive looks like someone bombing the thread with their ads for teo we have 2 Mariner Voltbike's and totally enjoy them
I am curious to know what you base yourself on stating the Teo price is not competitive. Even Yukon owners agree that the Teo offers more for almost the same price. Just the 17.4ah battery with a much longer range and high quality hydraulic brakes are enough to put the Teo on top. Pretty much all components are of higher quality.

I got to compare them side by side and drive them BOTH on the same day. You own a Mariner, not even a Yukon, right? The Yukon is slower, feels flimsy, is not very well designed to resist water/humidity damage compared to the Teo and the brakes are ok, but never as effective. Although they look pretty much the same, you have to drive them both to immediately feel the difference. The Yukon is a decent bike don't get me wrong and I am sure I would love it if I never got to compare it with something superior. But even just on paper without trying them both, I can't see how you can argue that the Yukon is a better deal.

Cargo Bike Trailer Josh
3 weeks ago

Hi guys,
Very helpful comments in this thread! I'm new to all the Ebike world and wanted to make the Mariner my first Ebike. I purchased it on 5/29 but my order is still in processing status. It's shipping to Ohio, USA. Do you know how long it takes before it changes status to Shipping?

Another one: how do you lock your bikes? I'm mainly using it for commuting to work nearby a Uni campus. I know I should buy a Gold rated lock, but have you tried any specific U-locks for this model? I wouldn't mind buying two U-locks to secure this bike!

I'd recommend getting the biggest most intimidating lock possible as well as running a cable through your wheels, seat, and battery. I have 18mm thick Forgetaboutit U-lock. It weighs a ton but well worth it. I've seen motor cyclists even use it for their motorcycles!

keyboardmashing
3 weeks ago

I think I've narrowed it down to these three. I live in Buffalo, NY - very flat, and very snowy. Most rides would be 10+ miles.

Must have: PAS and Throttle (thumb, not twist), 350W+, folding, $1,600USD or less.

Voltbike Urban: The price is great ($1100), Motor and Battery weaker than the other two. Easier to transport. No-name cells.
Voltbike Mariner: 6lb heavier than the Urban, Motor and Battery are stronger too but the fat tires probably compensate for this. Name-brand battery cells. Claims longer range than the urban. Better derailer than the other two. No suspension but the fat tires probably help. I'd really enjoy off-road capabilities but 90% of my riding will be on-road.
E-Joe EDPIK: More expensive, softer suspension, lighter than the other two, fun colors, longer battery range.

I'm open to other suggestions, corrections, or thoughts on the above three. Thanks!

Joaquin V
3 weeks ago

Hi guys,
Very helpful comments in this thread! I'm new to all the Ebike world and wanted to make the Mariner my first Ebike. I purchased it on 5/29 but my order is still in processing status. It's shipping to Ohio, USA. Do you know how long it takes before it changes status to Shipping?

Another one: how do you lock your bikes? I'm mainly using it for commuting to work nearby a Uni campus. I know I should buy a Gold rated lock, but have you tried any specific U-locks for this model? I wouldn't mind buying two U-locks to secure this bike!

Mike Burns
3 weeks ago

I'm needing to commute about 20 miles each day, and will be in bike lanes on the pavement, for the most part. Wanting to see what you would think the effect would be by swapping out the knobby tires for some more appropriate street tires. Mariner has a bigger engine and looks like more zip.

Maxxis Hookworms if they are available in your size! My e-bike was scary over 25 mph with mountain bike tires. Hookworms at 45 MPH increase range by 25 percent at 15-25 MPH and handle wonderfully at 45-50 MPH. On my e-bike (full-suspension 26" endure bicycle), better cornering than any cruiser motorcycle at that speed. Wouldn't try that kind of speed if you are new to bikes (I used to race motocross and MotoGP.)

westwood
3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for putting this thread up! Great resource :)
Here's my first question as a brand new VB Mariner owner:

How does one reset the trip odometer on the LCD controller?

I have no problem navigating through the various speed and odometer settings, I just can't figure out how to "zero" the trip odo...
Thanks again!

Data Clean: If you press Up/Down buttons both
together for few seconds, this will reset several
temporary data including AVG Speed, MAX Speed,
Trip and Time.

Archaeonic
3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for putting this thread up! Great resource :)
Here's my first question as a brand new VB Mariner owner:

How does one reset the trip odometer on the LCD controller?

I have no problem navigating through the various speed and odometer settings, I just can't figure out how to "zero" the trip odo...
Thanks again!

Trac1
3 weeks ago

I would stick with voltbike the teo does not even look good nor is it price competitive looks like someone bombing the thread with their ads for teo we have 2 Mariner Voltbike's and totally enjoy them

Claudio
3 weeks ago

anyone know if the gears inside the mariner 500w motor are plastic or metal gears? And the lifetime expectancy of this motor?

Thanks

Jazzcat
4 weeks ago

Hi Claudio,
I ended up getting neither the Yukon nor the Mariner. I found another Canadian company called Teo Fat Bike with a great product. Apparently the bike frame is an upgrade and the bike has 15 other important upgrades, making it a better bike all around. The upgrades that sold me on it were the 17 amp hour battery vs the 10.4 amp hour one the Yukon LTD uses, this means nearly twice the range, and the Teo has hydraulic disc brakes vs the mechanical ones on the Yukon and Mariner.

The list price for both basic versions is the same, though there is a $200 off sale on the Yukon currently. The Teo S Ltd version is a couple hundred more, but is well worth it. I believe it to be a better bike all around. You can check out the Teo Fat Bike here:

https://teofatbike.com/boutique/index.php?route=common/home&tracking=59305d1c8d490

If you decide to buy one, please use the above link and I'll get a small commission for promoting the bike. You can sign up for that too once you buy a Teo. Not that I do it for the few bucks it makes me, the important thing is that this is a great bike and the owner of the company, Benoit, is a really nice guy, very helpful, and his goal is to make happy customers.

I got the medium frame version in White with Brown seat and handlebar grips. See below. :)

1/1
zap016VOLTAGE
4 weeks ago

Well the mariner is on the way, I tracked it this morning... should be here next week. I just hope I made the right decision by buying the mariner vs the yukon!

Good luck with your ebike.
Don't forget to share your experiences.

Claudio
4 weeks ago

Well the mariner is on the way, I tracked it this morning... should be here next week. I just hope I made the right decision by buying the mariner vs the yukon!

zap016VOLTAGE
4 weeks ago

Does that 48V 17AH battery from amazon you linked really work on the voltbike mariner? how can it be 100% compatible? have you tried it?

thanks

Hi @Claudio

At this time, I have not purchased a new or upgraded my existing battery.
I'm still researching battery options.
Some people have posted their experiences here which is great.
We can learn from one another so I hope that people continue to post their experiences.
From what I've gathered, while silverfish battery's may appear identical, there differences with their bottom electrical connections.
The solution would be @Voltbike to offer a higher Ah battery.
Because they - @Voltbike - do not, my feeling would be to have a service such as EMP upgrade my existing battery.
EMP did tell me that they could do 16ah and they have asked that I provide them specs on higher Ah batteries.

Thank you.

Claudio
4 weeks ago

Does that 48V 17AH battery from amazon you linked really work on the voltbike mariner? how can it be 100% compatible? have you tried it?

thanks

Archaeonic
4 weeks ago

Hi,

I ordered my first ebike yesterday from voltbike.ca, I chose the mariner 500w limited. I'm 6'0, 260lbs.. Will it be a comfortable ride for me in general? I'm used to a 27.5" louis garneau regular hybrid bike for the past year. Thanks.

Claudio

Hi Claudio,
Congrats on your forthcoming folding fatbike!
I just received my Mariner Limited and rode it for about 8 miles tonight.
I'm 6', 240 lbs and I was mostly comfortable on the ride. I don't think I have the handlebar and seatpost height adjustments calibrated and dialed in for my height & weight yet...
I'll be riding it again tomorrow evening and will report back.

FoodNationHeroine
2 years ago

Hello, I'm thinking of buying an electric bike to ride to work and I'm looking at the 2015 prodeco mariner 8 and ejoe epik we. Which of them is a better choice consider the price specs, and warranty? Thank you.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Tuyen Nguyen I like the integrated e-Joe battery and suspension fork. You get pedal assist as well as throttle on that bike and the fenders and rack are pretty useful so it's a winner all the way around in my opinion http://electricbikereview.com/e-joe/epik-se/

FoodNationHeroine
2 years ago

Ejo epik se

Juanchi
3 years ago

I just bought it and i ride it once and then i charge it and the hub motor starting to do a Lot of Noise! and when i do the throttle does not work everytime .. so sad!

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

That's a bummer! They offer a solid 2 year warranty... I think they would help you out if the motor is having issues and you haven't voided the warranty in any way. What do the noises sound like, is it something you could film and link to here?

Juanchi
3 years ago

Hello Sir !  i'm going to upgrate my i-zip i and was wondering which one would you choose from this 2 bikes: the prodeco mariner? or the cyclamatic bicycle electric foldaway ?

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Good question! I've never tried the Cyclamatic before but it appears to have a rear mounted hub motor and includes fenders and a usable rack with the battery placed near the downtube vs. the rear. For all of these design reasons I'd go with it but considering that ProdecoTech is a large well known brand they might be better for getting customer service and having a warranty. I hope this helps! By the way, this is the image I was using for comparison, if this is not the bike you meant please let me know and share a link so I an provide more thoughts: http://c910383.r83.cf3.rackcdn.com/f419c5a6-c475-42dd-8bb0-d0ad3f544d8d_500_Category.jpg

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Hey Christopher, for some reason it won't let me respond to you with a reply (You might have replies turned off?) so I'm just making a new comment. While these bikes are repairable and do work alright, I'm less of a fan when it comes to the high center of gravity and plastic case that can crack and fall off (I've heard this from several shops). Another inexpensive folding ebike that is better in my opinion is the Epik Ejoe and it comes in two flavors (one with rack, fenders and lights for city stuff and one without that's more for off road riding). I haven't posted those reviews yet but the bike is solid.

Nothing against ProdecoTech, I just think your money will go further with Ejoe in this case. If you do get the Mariner 7 I think you can order straight from their website and have it shipped direct. You'll have to do some configuring with the handlebars, maybe true the wheels but that's true of any online ebike :)

Mo Ramahi
1 year ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Is this model any different from the mariner 8?