Sun Seeker Fat Tad Electric Trike Review

Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Electric Bike Review
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Rear Mounted 500 Watt Geared Hub Motor Sram Derailleur
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Battery Handle And Key Slot Rack Closeup
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Seat Steering Cockpit
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Trigger Throttle Right Shifter Bar
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Fixed Lcd Display Panel Closeup
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Sram 24 Speed 3 Chain Rings Plastic Tubing
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Rear Spring Suspension And Swing Arm
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Front Suspension And Disc Brake
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Chao Yang Tire Punched Rim Red Tire Liners
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Plastic Wellgo Pedals 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Rack Mounted Battery 48 Volt 10 Amp Hours
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx 3 Amp Charger With Aluminum Case
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Electric Bike Review
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Rear Mounted 500 Watt Geared Hub Motor Sram Derailleur
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Battery Handle And Key Slot Rack Closeup
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Seat Steering Cockpit
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Trigger Throttle Right Shifter Bar
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Fixed Lcd Display Panel Closeup
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Sram 24 Speed 3 Chain Rings Plastic Tubing
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Rear Spring Suspension And Swing Arm
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Front Suspension And Disc Brake
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Chao Yang Tire Punched Rim Red Tire Liners
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Plastic Wellgo Pedals 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx Rack Mounted Battery 48 Volt 10 Amp Hours
Sun Seeker Fat Tad Cx 3 Amp Charger With Aluminum Case

Summary

  • A full suspension, fat tire, recumbent electric trike designed for off-road fun on trails, sand or snow, powerful 500 watt rear-motor with throttle and pedal assist modes
  • Adjustable length boom and tilting seat accommodate a range of riders, large backlit display offers adjustable speed and power settings but isn't removable
  • Rear-mounted battery and motor make the bike rear-heavy but afford space for bags and there are four pairs of bottle cage bosses for fluids or accessories
  • Heavier and a bit flexy due to the larger wheels and battery rack mount design, this is a conversion ebike vs. purpose built so there's more wire clutter, key must be left in to ride but collides with the rack if you pull the battery out for independent charging

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Sun Seeker

Model:

Fat Tad Electric Trike

Price:

$2,435 ($350 Shipping, Fully Assembled Ready to Ride)

Body Position:

Recumbent

Suggested Use:

Trail, Sand and Snow

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

80.5 lbs (36.51 kg)

Battery Weight:

9.3 lbs (4.21 kg)

Motor Weight:

9.4 lbs (4.26 kg)

Frame Material:

Chromoly Steel

Geometry Measurements:

59" (150 cm) Wheel Base, 78" - 83.5" (198 - 212 cm) Overall Length, 33.25" (92 cm) Width, 16.5"- 17.75" (42-45 cm) Seat Height, 20" - 21.5" (51-55 cm) Bottom Bracket Height

Frame Types:

Trike

Frame Colors:

Gloss Red with Black Accents

Frame Fork Details:

High Tensile Steel with Integrated Suspension

Frame Rear Details:

Coil Over Suspension, 190 mm Axle Length

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

24 Speed 3x8 SRAM S4, 13-28T

Shifter Details:

SRAM Grip Shift 3.0

Cranks:

170 mm Cranks, 22-32-42T Chainrings

Pedals:

Wellgo B223 Plastic Platform

Headset:

Steel, Sealed Mechanism

Handlebar:

Chromoly Steel, Roadster Style

Brake Details:

Promax Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Wuxing Levers with Motor Inhibitor and Parking Latch

Grips:

Flat Foam, Locking

Saddle:

Alloy Frame, Padded Mesh

Seat Post:

Rans Style Seat Slide

Rims:

Alloy, 20x54mm 36 Hole, Punched Out

Spokes:

Stainless 14G, Black

Tire Brand:

Chao Yang, 20" x 4"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

5 to 20 PSI, 1.4 Bar, Nylon

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Bolt-on Rack with Pannier Blockers 25 kg Max Weight, Adjustable Angle Seat with Removable Cover, Adjustable Length Boom, Heavy-Duty Torque Arm for Motor Mount

Other:

Locking Removable Battery, 1.5 lb 3 Amp Charger, KMC Z Chain, 300 lb Max Load

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Electric Bike Technologies

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

1000 watts

Motor Torque:

45 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Electric Bike Technologies

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

480 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

30 miles (48 km)

Display Type:

King Meter, Fixed, Backlit, Monochrome LCD

Readouts:

Battery Level (5 Bars), Speed, Avg. Speed, Max Speed, Power Level (0-5), Odometer, Trip A, Trip B

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Pedelec Sensor)

Top Speed:

26 mph (42 kph) (Adjustable Speed, PAS Sensitivity, Current)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Sun Seeker Fat Tad fills me with excitement and a sense of “go anywhere” adventure even without the electric motor systems that Electric Bike Technologies has added here… The fat tires, full suspension setup and soft adjustable seat make it feel like floating as you ride over grass mounds. In the video review above, one of the engineers (Alec) and I rode around a gravel parking lot, over some concrete blocks and across some hilly sections of grass occasionally catching air and skidding. It made me feel like a kid again, pushing the limits and grinning when we got away with a daring maneuver like riding on two wheels. While the rear mounted motor and nine-pound battery pack make it rear-heavy (and there is a bit of frame flex and wheel tilt), the trike performed surprisingly well and felt solid. An oversized torque arm secures the hub motor on the left rear dropout while a 90-degree metal angle protects the derailleur and motor cable on the right. You get 24 gears to pedal with, and that’s very nice given the 80 lbs of weight you’re moving around (in addition to yourself) but the trigger throttle with instant power significantly helps when starting. This is the kind of electric bike that you don’t have to pedal if you don’t want to… unless you’re ascending a steep hill starting from zero. There are grip shifters on both bars, a button pad on the left to control your power and speed and a trigger throttle on the right. To me, it sort of feels like a fighter jet, just the way you’re sitting and situated. Many times with recumbents, I get a headache from the weight of my helmet adding to my head, straining my neck so I can’t enjoy riding around. This is exacerbated by skinny tires and lack of suspension… so with the Fat Tad, the ride is much more comfortable and enjoyable. In some ways, it’s a large, heavy and inefficient platform but the battery and motor are powerful enough together that you overcome and end up go places and do things that other electric bikes and trikes just can’t… like sand, snow and soft Earth. It’s also more stable at rest and the seat is higher so mounting (squatting down) didn’t agitate my sensitive knee the way some of the sportier lower models sometimes do. Sure, you might have to buy a trailer for your car to pull this thing around (check Harbor Freight for cheap ones) and yes, there’s a $350 shipping fee unless you can drive to Pennsylvania and pick it up, but the price isn’t ridiculous at ~$2,500 and you get a solid warranty backed by a company that has been in the ebike business since 2010.

Powering this tadpole style recumbent electric trike is a rear-mounted internally geared hub motor putting out 500 to 1,000 watts at up to 45 Newton meters of torque. It’s zippy and you an hear a bit of electronic whirring in the video… but it’s not too pronounced given the large studded tires. I like that the motor is in the rear because you get more traction, especially with the battery pack and possibly some gear mounted above. The rack is done about as well as it can be from my perspective but the front struts are longer and nearly 10 of your 55 lb max weight is taken by the battery. Honestly, given the way the rack sways and flexes a bit, I’m not sure I’d overload it with gear. Probably aim for pannier side bags to keep weight low and reduce some of the flex. I love that there are extra bottle cage bosses to spread out cargo and make it easier to reach and I like the adjustable mesh saddle.

Powering the motor and LCD display is a sturdily packed 48 volt 10 amp hour battery pack. It’s filled with long lasting, lighter weight Lithium-ion cells but they aren’t the highest energy density or quality. I don’t love that the key has to be left in the battery pack and turned to on in order to ride the bike with power. It’s a minor gripe but there’s reasoning behind it because it can be difficult to reach in this position when pannier bags are added, it can snag them and if you try to pull the pack out without removing the key it will collide with the support rods on the rack and could bend or break. Not perfect but not a huge price to pay for a more open-source design. You can replace this battery more easily and with third party options down the line. The Electric Bike Technologies company, which owns E-BikeKit.com sells a range of options, has a long history of supporting their products and have not locked them off to other brands. So in the future when batteries are lighter or cheaper or just higher capacity you can still use your trusty old platform. And the Fat Tad is made from sturdy Steel tubing that should last. I guess the only other wish-list item I have regarding the battery is that it would power some lights or have a USB port for running portable electronics. It’s just a simpler design and that’s part of what keeps the price reasonable.

Activating the bike involves charging the battery (on or off the rack), inserting and turning the key, then pressing the power button on the control pad near the left grip. From here, the beautiful backlit LCD comes to life showing battery charge level, speed, power level and some ride stats. Depending on the level chosen, both pedal assist and throttle mode will be limited. This was a bit of a bummer to me because I sometimes ride in lower levels of assist then BOOST with the throttle to climb hills or catch up with friends. As it stands, you have to arrow up, up, up then boost. Now, the benefit of this moderated design is that it’s harder to get out of control and doesn’t require the fine hand motor skills to ease into the throttle at all times. You can set the power to level one or two and completely open the throttle without risk of getting out of control or going too fast. Depending on your courage to enter and explore the display, you can also adjust the power output, lower the maximum speed, turn off pedal assist or throttle and even map the power curve of a new battery so the display reads more accurately. That’s pretty cool, very few ebike systems I’ve tried allow all of this.

All things considered, this is not only a unique electric bike, it’s well supported and well priced. It might just be my favorite in the lineup from ElectricTrike.com but I actually love the Sun Traditional as well, just for how simple and useful it is with the rear basket. The knobby tires here do cut into your maximum achievable range and can make you feel paranoid that a hive of bees is right on your tail (due to the distinct noise they make). Do air them up to ~20 PSI for maximum efficiency and then down to as low as 5 PSI to handle snow and sand well. Note that the faster you ride, especially above 20 mph, the faster your battery will drain. This trike uses a few basic parts like the cheap plastic pedals and I wasn’t thrilled with how the cadence sensor was mounted (blocking the smallest chainring) or the limited range and adjustability of the suspension… but it got the job done. There’s only one size but the frame is fairly adjustable to fit a range of body types and the classic red color is fun. I’d like to thank Alec and Electric Bike Technologies for partnering with me on this review, they flew me out to see all of their ebikes and even filmed with me when I was sick! Thankfully no one got ill. This trike made me laugh and smile and I admired their American-built philosophy even though some of the parts just couldn’t be found without going direct to Asia. They partner with J&B for the frames but do some custom stuff locally as well as assembly, shipping and support. The bike is designed to arrive “ready to ride” in a huge box… that your cat or kids will love :)

Pros:

  • I love that in addition to offering rack-mounted storage in the back, there are several sets of bottle cage bosses (on the support bars of the seat and on the steering bars), this spreads weight out and allows for things like locks or fluids to be more accessible when riding
  • Given the 80 lb weight of the trike, I love that they offer 24 gears to work with and have upgraded to SRAM components
  • This is one of the only fat tire recumbent electric trikes I’ve ever seen and I love that it offers full suspension to boot! some of the components are lower-end but the price point is fantastic at ~$2,500
  • Highly adjustable boom and seat accommodates a range of riders and offers different body positions, I tend to prefer a more upright seat but others like the way-back aerodynamic setup… it’s all possible here
  • The wheels are all the same size making it easier to replace tubes and tires, I appreciate how comfortable fat-bike tires are when riding off-road as they span cracks and absorb vibration
  • You get lots of adjustability with the Electric Bike Technologies display including max speed, power and battery curve… their system is more open-source so you can use your own battery down the line if you want and even map its discharge for accurate battery readouts
  • I love that this trike offers throttle on demand to help you get moving as well as pedal assist, the throttle overrides assist for extra help if you’re pedaling along and need to pass someone or climb a hill
  • You can buy the motor, battery and display kit from Electric Bike Technologies and transform your own Sun Seeker Fat Tad if you’d like… they even have video tutorials and stuff
  • The hub motor was customized specifically for this bike, it offers more torque and is spoked into a fat tire with a longer 190 mm axle
  • Electric Bike Technologies is the parent company of E-BikeKit.com which has been doing kits since 2010 and is based in the US where much of the labor, accessorizing and customizing is performed… they still sell replacement parts and do service on some of their oldest kits which is reassuring
  • I liked how the seat was a little higher due to the fat tires, I didn’t have to bend down quite so far to sit and get back up
  • Three amp charger will fill the battery quicker and it’s built into an Aluminum case for strength, I’d probably toss it into a trunk bag and keep it with the bike on the rack all the time
  • Since this thing is kind of a beast and might take damage on rough terrain, I love that they sell replacement parts and it’s more modular… probably less expensive to repair

Cons:

  • Heavy and flexy, the Fat Tad Electric looks awesome but those big tires, rear-mounted battery, rear-mounted motor and mid-frame pivot point create a ride that isn’t especially stiff or responsive… it does feel stable however, given the three-wheel design
  • I’d probably limit how much cargo I stow on the rear rack because it’s mounted further out and already supports the 9.3 lb battery pack
  • I appreciate the disc brakes, one on each wheel which helps you corner, but would have opted for 180 mm rotors vs. 160 given the size and weight of the bike… I’d also love hydraulic vs. mechanical
  • Note that shipping costs $350 extra but the Sun Seeker Fat Tad arrives fully assembled and ready to ride, I like that you can opt to drive to Croydon Pennsylvania and pick it up if you so choose and save on shipping
  • The display panel is larger than normal which helps you read it but it’s mounted way up front, thankfully the control pad is on the left grip and easy to access while seated
  • Only one color option and one frame size but it’s adjustable and this simplification keeps the price down
  • This is a conversion trike meaning the motor, battery, display and wires were added to an existing non-electric bike… they did a good job setting it up and adding a torque arm but the overall look is less clean and some compromises were made to fit the throttle and button pad in, they aren’t perfectly easy to reach and use
  • I noticed that the cadence sensor sort of interfered with the front chainrings, perhaps that will be refined or was just setup incorrectly on my demo bike
  • Throttle power is limited by the level of pedal assist you choose, for a more aggressive off-road bike like this it would be nice if you could use full power at any time given the variable speed design of the trigger throttle… but at least the system does let you disable throttle or pedal assist, set a max speed or limit Amperage so it can be toned down for mellow riders or those with special needs
  • The key must be left in the battery pack when riding and if you have a keychain it could rattle around or snag on a pannier bag, you have to take the key out in order to pull the pack off or it could collide on the rack bars and bend

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Sun Seeker Reviews

Sun Seeker T3 CX Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,285
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sleek, lightweight, recumbent electric trike with higher top speed and 24 gears, as a tadpole design your body and arms are more aerodynamic and laid back. Completely adjustable frame and mesh seat accommodate taller and shorter riders, those looking for a…...

Sun Seeker EZ-3 HD Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,305
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A heavy duty electric trike designed to support up to 400 lbs of weight, powered by a 1,000-Watt peak gearless hub motor running off a 48 volt Lithium-ion battery pack. Open platform allows you to swap battery brands, adjust the top speed and amp flow…...

Sun Seeker Eurus Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,435
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A fast, highly adjustable electric trike in the Delta style (with two wheels in the rear and one up front), easy to mount and park, camber in rear wheels keep it stable. Beautiful large display is easy to read and offers on/off backlighting control, optional top speed…...

Sun Seeker Eco Tad Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $1,875
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the most affordable recumbent tadpole trikes I've tested, you do have to pay an additional $350 for shipping but it comes "ready to ride" so you can hop right on. The 48 volt battery supports increased power and higher speeds for the 500 watt internally…...

Sun Seeker Eco Delta Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $1,835
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A recumbent electric trike with a higher seat, more relaxed bars and lower price point, the delta frame design positions one wheel in the front and two in the back. Highly adjustable seat angle and overall bike length for comfortable reach and pedaling, the chain…...


adam
9 months ago

Thank you for another excellent review Court. I own quite a few ebikes that all vary from one another quite a bit, but after watching your video of the test ride of this particular style and model, I have to say this might be the most fun. I can imagine just going full speed ahead on private property and doing all sorts of crazy maneuvers. I could even see this as the future of getting a really interesting electric trike racing league going . One complaint I have always had with my electric fat bikes is that you really have to be very careful when making sharp turns. This style looks like the turning part could now be the most fun. Thanks again and take care.

Reply
Court Rye
9 months ago

Hey Adam! Sounds like you’ve got a whole quiver of ebikes going. Indeed, the three-wheel fat tire design is pretty cool and empowering. You can still get it on two wheels when turning but it also slides a little depending on the surface. If you get one and start a racing league give me a ring so I can join in on the fun :P

Reply
Edward McDonald
8 months ago

I like to ride on trails and being in Florida most trails have sections of loose sand. A normal two wheel fat bike would just slide out and I would end up walking and pushing. Would a fat tire three-wheeler like the Sub Seeker Tad Electric bike allow me to ride through these soft sections or would the rear tire just spin? How about hills? Can this bike start and stop on hills using electric power only or is human power required?

I would like to hear from anyone with experience with this three wheeler. Thanks in advance for your help.

Reply
Court Rye
8 months ago

Hi Edward! I’ve done some riding on sand with two-wheel fat bicycles and noticed a huge difference when deflating the tires to 5 PSI. It sounds really low, but this allowed the tire to grip and not sink in. It also helps with steering. Here’s an example of me riding in the sand on a beach in Mexico with some friends.

As for the Sun Seeker Fat Tad, I think it could handle sand if the tire pressure was lowered too… it would be more stable than a two-wheel bike but you might need to pedal along and help if the sand got soft and you started climbing a hill. Most ebikes struggle when starting from zero and climbing or pushing through difficult terrain. I hope this feedback helps and do study the video so you can get your own insights.

Reply
Dana Pearson
7 months ago

Started looking at this as I’m in the market but noticed much higher price from their website ($2962) and THAT is for the dinky, 9 ah raw battery in a bag which sits on TOP of the rack, not the metal encased one that fits in the middle, which is up to $366 for the larger 20ah model. Price starts adding up fast so I’ll now look in a higher price range

Love ALL you do… this IS the real revolution we should be focusing on!

Reply
Court Rye
7 months ago

Glad you’ve enjoyed the site Dana, and yeah, sometimes prices change or I’m given the base price but shown a higher end product. Glad you’re finding your way and thanks for sharing your discoveries and thoughts here :)

Reply
Dana Pearson
7 months ago

As I’ve just relocated to northern Idaho where it’s snowy I’ve been pouring over your fat bike reviews… It seems the recombinant would be best for my 67 year old bad knees but I’m torn between this and the Rad mini, for portability… Or just a normal fat bike with a sturdy hitch mounted bike rack! So many choices, and never using a bike before! Primary use would b for improving my lower body leg strength and trips to the store… At these prices, versus the high-end bikes I could probably get both in the long run but which to choose first?

Small town, Post Falls… So no way to test um as I do full-time home care for my 90-year-old mom now… Decisions decisions! So glad there’s so much happening in this area of mobility. Thanks again for your passion and awesome detailed reviews

Reply
Court Rye
7 months ago

Hi Dana, I’m glad you’re enjoying the site! I know it can be tough to decide when there are so many choices AND you don’t have access to try in person. The RadMini is fairly stable because of the fat tires but those recumbents are cool too… just a lot heavier.

Reply
Terry Ward
3 months ago

Is there financing avalable

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Terry! I’m not sure but this would be a great thing to ask and you can reach the folks at ElectricTrike.com on their contact page here, the phone number is listed near the top of the page. Many e-bikes companies are indeed now offering financing.

Reply
Tom Nelson
3 months ago

Hi Court. Your and Alec’s Youtube video of this trike was the selling point for me to get for my wife. She loves it having only ridden 13 miles so far! One of the main features is the full suspension. The rear works great on our Trike. The front is immobile and by 200 lbs will not budge any movement out of either side in the front. When you watch your video review from the 21:15 to 21:39 section, you can see the front suspension travel. Any idea why I might not be getting any travel? I have had initial contact with Alec but I don’t think I am making myself clear to him, unfortunately. Kinda jarring at times with no operational front suspension. Anyway it is a great bike and because of you and your reviews, I now own 3 different electric bikes besides this one. Help, I cant afford a larger garage! Thanks

Tom

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Hi Tom! The suspension issue is perplexing, maybe yours is adjusted differently? It’s difficult to say without being there in person, can you get it to move by pushing down (like if you get off the bike and push on it?) I hope Alex is also able to chime in because other than what was shared in this video, I don’t have much experience with the product. I’m glad you could at least use it to show what “should” be happening, even if yours is stuck for some reason?

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

emco5
4 days ago

The Electric Shopping Cruiser Any opinions?

A 250 watt hub is minimal assistance for a lightweight two wheeler. That trike is heavy. Slight boost would be noticed on level ground but there wouldn't be much energy on inclines and zip on hills, especially with a load of stuff in the basket.

If you need a trike, get one and put a stronger mid-drive kit on it. https://tinyurl.com/yd2bjn9q

The forum host has info on the drives https://electricbikereview.com/?s=8fun+mid+drive

Skyhawk4754
1 week ago

Hi
New to the forum.
Introduction: 64 years young, male, 6'2" 280 lbs live in the Texas Hill Country.
I bought a Terratrike Allroad Rambler with BionX P350 DX20 electric assist , 24" tires about 90 days ago.
I really like the trike. However we have about 1/2 mile of a 12% increase in elevation and the electric assist just doesn't have it. What can I do to improve my situation?
Thanks

JohnT
2 weeks ago

I own a Fat Tad. I bought it a couple years ago, planning to convert it to electric, but haven’t gotten around to it. I’ve only put on a few miles but would be happy to answer any questions you might have.

It’s a big heavy trike, but the suspension and fat tires make for a nice, comfortable ride. Ride height isn’t very low, so ground clearance is good and getting in and out of the seat is relatively easy. I wobble when I pedal, but I assume that’ll go away with practice. I haven’t gone very fast on it yet.

It doesn’t roll though standard doorways and is heavy and awkward to carry. Im hoping it’s not too much worse when converted with the battery removed. I wouldn’t want to have to carry it twice every time I rode. I have it I my garage.

Most of the components are acceptable quality. I don’t think I’ll be swapping them out for better ones. I’m not that picky.

Overall, I’d recommend it, but it’s obviously not the right ride for everyone.

rich c
2 weeks ago

This summer I started riding my full suspension mtb along the Hennepin Canal. It's like 75 miles of basically a straight line and little elevation change. We also have a crushed rock rail trail that goes about 30 miles in a similar fashion. I'm thinking a Fat-Tad from Electric Trikes on slicks would be the perfect nature cruiser for those rides. Heads up and a relaxed position for the miles. The canal ride is so enjoyable with birds and water views the entire distance, I think the heads-up ride would let me enjoy the view better. Any opinions about the recumbent trike?

ScorpionKing
4 weeks ago

I have successfully modified a tool to pop pins out of white connectors so I can do unplanned things behind the axle nut. I put fork stiffener struts on made of aluminum angle. So I took a pick from big lots store ($2.89), and ground the tip down almost needle fine, using a bench grinder. use Safety glasses. Don't overheat. Then I could push on the tabs of the pins to flatten them, and let the pins back out of the block. When putting the pins back you have to rebend the tabs out to pop out a bit again and hook the connector body.
The reason you can't use an actual needle, they are not long enough and you need a handle to hold the needle with and apply force.Sears also used to sell a .050" thick pick in a handle. Also General Tool. The big lots one was so fat it was almost scrap to start with.
Good luck on the uncooperative vendor.

You really should not need a tool or at least we shouldn’t have to pop any pins out or remove any plug. Prior to the sale I was told specially we needed to use two torque arm kits by this company. The reason given was the cassette version of the axle was 12mm vs the freewheel version which is 14mm.

That should have been reason enough to ship the Motor without the small wires in the contacts mounted in the White Plastic Plug causing a problem for the buyer.

In addition, instructions were never sent with shipment. We were finally send an email after being told their “One Drive was down” (maybe this is there file sever), from there own company in emai, that clear states in writing on page paragraph 6, that until the motor is fitted to the Bike the White Plastic Plug should not be fitted on the contacts on the end of the electric wire, because it will prevent the Nuts and Washers from sliding off and on.

Those are not the exact words as written but I have printed the email and can scan and upload it if necessary. I am past this point unless PayPal or American Express wants it for evidence.

Point being, Motor should have been shipped end user ready from this vendor. There are a lot of first time builders out there like us. It does not mean we are stupid just because we might be inexperienced at building or converting to an E-bike/Trike at this time. This is only our first attempt. Many of us own multiple bikes s/Trikes. I personally own 5. What that means to this vendor is that by treating me poorly as he did he at least lost 4 potential future sales. Also I am not likely to say good things about this vendor to others on the forums I regularly participate in, or when I am out riding events like Ragbrai.

Lastly it should not have been assumed I was going to purchase a controller or other parts from this vendor. Motors have the capability of using various controllers. This company was told up front I was not using their controller. I will have to check my email but I believe I told them I was using a Phase Runner.

Seems there were and are enough reasons to have left that White Plastic Plug off instead of shipping the way they did.

Jason

RobMatthies Vancouver
1 month ago

Look at the YouTube video of an unedited ride through the rain puddles. The EFF rider screams as he gets his pants soaked. Anybody contemplating purchasing an electric trike should watch that video.

That was exactly my thought when I saw an ELF yesterday in Vancouver (nickname: Raincouver), BC.

All my e-rides have been heavily modified, and all (10+ easily, maybe even 20, since 1998) of them were working well when I either sold, gave away, or stolen.

If I owned an ELF electric trike, here's how I would mod them, for reliability:

- Install water splash shields by cutting coreplast and installing with zipties

- Make a partial floorboard of some kind. If would be a partial cover due to the components that would prevent building a complete floorboard.

- Liquid Tape in specific areas (a lot)

- Spray MG Chemicals Super Contact Cleaner where needed

- Add lockwashers on nuts

- Create a splash shield for the motor and other components underneath that are vulnerable to salt/rust

- Install two chain-cleaning wells as oil baths

- Get an air-bottle air horn

- Prevent the rubber grommets (where cables enter the ELF trike's body) from loosening, as seen on the one I saw yesterday.

For a future ELF trike re-design, or mod:

- Change to a gearless, brushless hub motor on the rear wheel, preferably a QSmotor with a matching sine-wave controller.

For those new to electric trikes: This "industry" has a history of failure. Look up the "cemetery" of electric bikes and electric trikes, at EValbum.com

For 10-year, daily drive durability, an ELF owner will need to do what I did to my electric rides. There are very few electric bikers in Vancouver with a working 8+ year electric rides. I still have all of my electric scooters in working order.

Dewey
2 months ago

Wondering if anyone has or thought of leasing an E-Bike? It would be nice to use the bike for two years then either buy it out or up it

Bicycle Blue Book use local bike shops with their trade in program, it covers ebikes. All Performance Bike stores use it. If it’s in good mechanical condition you will get a certain % of what you had paid towards a new model.

https://www.bicyclebluebook.com/partnerdirectory.aspx

I’ve also seen independent stores/chains offer their own trade in programs, locally a chain called Conte’s offers up to 40%. Some brands like Woom and Trek offer a loyalty/buy-up program on children’s bikes which seems a good way to help your child ride a bike that fits them.

If you sell privately I’ve noticed some higher end cargo ebikes hold their value, I saw a fairly new imported electric Nicola trike on sale on CL recently in my city for 2/3 of its new cost. But those are the exception, buying used ebikes you’ve gotta assume you’ll have to replace the battery.

Wormburger
2 months ago

By my math, I would have gotten less than 40% back, after I pay for all the shipping.
As it stands now, I have the trike, I will rip off all their electronic crap, bring it down to the frame, and just rebuild it somehow, as motor kits are becoming cheaper now.
It is literally just a normal trike, that was modified to become a "purpose-built electric". you can see the where they added holes to bolt in the motor and battery cage.
luckily I think I can use the same holes to mount a different motor. possibly even a gas lawn mower. turn it into a hybrid electric/gas. lol

yeah, they have my money, and it would cost me more to fight them. But I can warn others away from them, and that I can do for free!

SomeGuy
2 months ago

About me:

The biggest reason for wanting an electronic bike is to help me get over hills. My price range is no more than $2,000 ($2,199 absolute max) (but not including accessories or shipping/tax). I'm 5'11", weigh 190 lbs (with a 10-15 lbs variance over time). Eventually, I'll live somewhere in the outer Boston area and will commute into Boston, (mostly on roads/sidewalks) possibly 6 - 18 miles one way (16- 36 both ways), 5 days a week. This bike will be my primary source of transportation.

I will be riding in the rain and snow. Eventually I’ll either buy or make a rain/snow shield. (which will increase drag). I’d also rather buy snow tires than a fat bike.

Features I want:

Mid-drive with throttle (prefer a trigger throttle, and that the mid-drive and throttle can handle being used together)
Class 3
Riser bar
Rear rack to be able to carry groceries and things.
Removable Display in center of handlebars
high step
Prefer a 28mph bike (the speed demon in me)
Long lasting battery (I’ll charge the battery at work, and eventually will buy a 2nd one)
Durability to handle New England weather (hot and cold temps, rain, snow)

Features I do NOT want:

Twist throttle
Half-twist throttle
Low step
Drop handlebars
Small tires
Small frame
Tandem
Trike
Fat bike

What frame size should I buy? Any suggestions on which electronic bike to purchase with these guidelines? I do understand that there won't be a perfect bike for a low price. Thank you.

Dewey
2 months ago
Kim S
2 months ago

Something like this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/332133596775 (Not electric,but a trike)
Or this: http://www.riderungu.com/shop/product/2017-kilimanjaro/ (electric trike)

Dewey
2 months ago

The Sunseeker Eco Tad would be about $2300 with shipping, it doesn't have suspension but it is a recumbent tadpole trike with a mesh seat.

ReallyGoodEbikes
2 months ago

Based on your particular needs, I would strongly recommend taking a look at the electric trike from Priority Electric Transportation. They build a high quality etrike that is quite affordable. Call me if you have any questions.

FlaDeziner
2 months ago

I am a casual rider who now needs to be concerned about stability when riding. I'm in Florida and it's flat, flat, flat. I have tried riding a regular trike and find it very uncomfortable and unstable because the trike does not tilt on turns. I want the ability to bike to the store and get some power if needed.

I'm convinced a trike with 2 wheels and some type of suspension in the front will work for me, but I'm not in the market to spend $6k on a Butchers & Bicycles trike or even $2,300 on a PFIFF

Certainly, there is a source in the USA to purchase this China Made trike I have posted above or something similar. Can someone direct me to a source? Thanks in advance for the assist.

1/1
BreakAes
3 months ago

Hi all,

I'm going to be getting an Azub Fat trike: http://azub.eu/recumbent-bikes-and-trikes/trikes/26-wheels/fat/ and I'll need an electric conversion kit with both a throttle and pedal-assist.

It seems like the best motor option for me is a 750 watt Bafang mid-drive motor. I'd like to have a torque-sensing motor, but I understand that Bafang is behind on releasing theirs, and they only have a cadence-sensing system at the moment.

I'm wondering what the difference in practice would be between a 48v and 52v battery. I also want at least a 17 amp hour battery, and if it's not too heavy, something around 20 amp hours or more would be nice.

I'm looking for suggestions on where the best place is to get the kit. And how hard would it be to install it? Should I have a shop do it, or is it easy enough to do it by one's self?

Here are the stores I know of for electric conversion kits:

https://www.eradkits.com

https://lunacycle.com

http://www.ebikeco.com

http://www.rosecityrecumbentcycles.com

Let me know what you think, thanks!

bob armani
4 months ago

I have a Hilltopper 250W 24V front wheel on my 7-speed Schwinn. I don't use it for sport, just for day-to-day transportation. (I almost never use my car any more.) My terrain is flat city roads, and my typical trip is 2 to 4 miles one way.My kit has no throttle, just a push button to kick in the motor.

Most of the time I pedal in gear 5, and just use the motor for assist when I get below 10 MPH, and usually only goose myself until I'm back up to 12-14 MPH. Even pulling a bike trailer loaded with 20 pounds of groceries, I have no trouble cruising along at 12 MPH or so, although I do use the motor more when I'm fully loaded. (I'm only 150 lbs myself.) I don't need more speed than that since, at age 72, my reaction time isn't as quick as it used to be, and I find 15 MPH to be very comfortable, and 20 MPH to be a little on the "break-neck" side for me. hehe.

So as far as power is concerned, I seem to have all I need. What I'm wondering is, is there any efficiency advantage to a higher voltage, or higher power motor? Could I maybe get more range, or less battery wear by using a system that has more power than I really need, rather than pushing my 250W motor harder? I see that so many bikes use higher voltages and wattages, even when they are still topped out at 20MPH, so I assume there must be some advantage.

I'm also looking into these issues because I'm thinking about making a home-built trike just for fun, and as a better grocery-getter.

Gary-I agree with Mark's comment. You are only 150lbs and with a 250 watt motor, sounds like it is pushing you just fine. I asked the same question when purchasing my ebike. I am at 135lbs and my 350 watt motor on my ebike pushes me along at fast and furious speeds that are more than adequate. I can top out at 22.5 mph without a whole lot of exertion I asked about a 500 watt motor and they indicated it is too much power for someone in my weight class.

I like the concept of the Hilltopper. I was thinking on making one of my mtn bikes into an electric with the kit. Sounds like it is performing well! Ride safe!

BreakAes
4 months ago

I need some help finding the best electric conversion kit for my needs.

I'm probably going to end up buying a Sun Seeker Fat Tad trike, since it seems to offer the best bang for the buck when it comes to fat tire trikes for off-roading.

My questions are, what's the best electric conversion kit for this trike? And should I have it done professionally, or attempt to do it myself to save money?

So far I'm aware of the E-Bike Kit company from the EBR video on the Fat Tad e-trike. They sell a completed, ready to ride out of the box e-trike here: https://www.electrictrike.com/collections/electric-trikes/products/fat-tad-cxs-tadpole-electric-trike

And I called Utah Trikes earlier and got their pricing: Fat Tad CXS: $1,899, with 500 watt Bafang mid-drive motor: http://www.utahtrikes.com/PROD-11619645.html - $795, and 36v 13.5 amp hour Panasonic battery (I believe it's this one: https://lunacycle.com/36v-panasonic-bottle-battery-sondors-compatible-upgrade-replacement/ but I'll need to confirm on Monday): $389 - Total: $3,083. And I'll need to get installation charge, and shipping pricing.

There's also a somewhat local company that could do it. I'd need to call them for specifics.

I want to get the absolute best products for the best prices that I can, so are there other recommendations for converting the Fat Tad trike to an e-trike?

Let me know, thanks!

BreakAes
4 months ago

Today I was able to try the Rad Mini, and a step-through Electra. It's not safe for me to ride a bike, at least for now. I am thinking about getting a scooter that I can go off-road with, for traveling with a truck camper though. Any thoughts on what would be good for that? Something like a scooter version of a Rad Mini might be cool.

I was able to try a Catrike Trail, non-electric version. For working out my legs, I'm strongly leaning towards getting something like the Sun Seeker Fat Tad e-trike: https://electricbikereview.com/sun-seeker/fat-tad-electric-trike/

I want the fat tires for off-roading, so is this the e-trike to get? Or are there competitors?

If I want it, should I get it from here: https://www.electrictrike.com/collections/electric-trikes/products/fat-tad-cxs-tadpole-electric-trike

Or should I buy a battery and motor kit elsewhere, and do a custom electric conversion?

Ideally I'd like to find a used one in excellent condition to save money. Any ideas on where these might pop up for sale? I'll ask at the Bent Rider Online forums as well.

Thanks.

Robert W Green
4 months ago

So I'm about to pull the trigger and buy an e-bike (yay!). However, I am concerned about service. I'm OK traveling 30 or 40 miles to an e-bike shop once or twice for the initial purchase, but not basic maintenance year after year.

Do you have any suggestions for finding a local e-bike mechanic (Long Beach, CA) competent to work on (my) bike? Questions to ask, things to look for when visiting the shop, etc.? Are the differences between e- and non-e bikes small enough that skilled bike mechanics can work on everything other than the motor and battery? Does it matter in this regard whether the bike's mid-drive or hub drive? ... Sorry for all the Q's!!

Beeline bikes will come to you in their awesome mobile bike shops and fix your nonebike issues and depending on the tech some of your ebike issues. Also Southern California is the ebike capitol of the USA, do a google search and I bet you'll find a lbs that will help you. Things have have changed since I bought a recumbent trike and a ridekick power trailer. Back then I was a double heretic for the recumbent nature of my bike and the electric motor in my trailer. Now my lbs has an entire section for ebikes and recumbent and erecumbents. Is that a word?

MikeDD
6 months ago

My wife has a Liberty trike. I would not let the smaller wheels stop you from buying. It has plenty of power and is able to climb very steep hills.

One thing you do not get pedal assist, the hand throttle is how you control the electric assist. My wife has MS and the low height of the Liberty makes it easier to climb on since she has to lift one of her legs with her hands

Good luck in your search.

Bicyclista
7 months ago

Have you considered electric trikes? Court has reviewed a number of them. Personally, I would go for the "tadpole" style, where there two wheels in front and one in back. The tadpole configuration is more stable in turns. (I remember as a child being thrown off my trike because I took a turn too quickly!) Yes, most of the tadpole trikes are recumbent, and that may or may not appeal to you.

Matt A
7 months ago

So, Rohloff Delite GX HS it was. I reached out to Chris Nolte of Propel and (at my prodding) he was kind enough to offer a modest discount on his floor model, but with the proviso that I had to wait for him to take delivery of another one before he sent the demo to me. Fair enough. Chris was good to his word re: estimated delivery time. Three weeks passed and sure enough, he got the new demo in and made arrangements to have the bike brought to my office on a Sunday afternoon (I live in a small city an hour or so north of NYC). Nice of him to go out of the way and offer to deliver as I had some personal things going on that would have kept me from picking it up within the next week or so.

First impressions: Sweet! Only 22 demo miles on the odometer. I already had a few alterations and additions in mind (guess that is the male version of "accessorizing") , but the essential core was all there - substantial frame, nice components, obviously well thought out, maybe a bit over-engineered - if that is even possible. Being purpose built exclusively as an e-bike, nothing about it has that "aftermarket-afterthought" feel. Solid as can be. No pretensions of being anything but a steady road warrior, capable of taking hard knocks and shrugging off the usual daily insults from the two ton motorized behemoths one encounters on the daily commute. Yeah, kind of a motorcycle feel, but still very much a vehicle that requires human input to motivate. Pretty heavy, but I had spent a lot of time in another life piloting touring bikes loaded down with four panniers and 50-69 additional lbs of gear, so I knew I wouldn't be phased by the weight that the two batteries and Bosch motor entailed. This thing knows it's purpose: built to bull through most stuff, on or off road, without the rider wondering if something is going to crack, snap off, or otherwise make things unpleasant.

As things go, the first week that I had it turned out to be nasty weather-wise. Record low temps, mixed precipitation. I think I clicked maybe 15 miles total over the over the first few days. On the first nice day, the following Sunday, I put 30 + miles on it. Super happy with it. Went on road and on trail. The brakes, suspension, beefy 27.5" tires, and power package all work well together. It's not a "pocket rocket", as we used to refer to certain motorcycles way back when, but the whole package works as advertised. I am liking it a lot. The Rohloff gives it an awesome low range, though I would like to get a bit more headroom at high speed ie. have pedal input over 30 mph. I did get the bike over 40 mph, but that was going down a big hill with inertia being the only motivator. In day to day riding, that really isn't a factor and I guess I could always put a smaller cog on the Rohloff at some point (but probably won't). At high speed, I had total confidence and the suspension ably handled a surprise pothole around 35 mph. Why potholes in NY in the spring should be a surprise, I don't know, but it was a substantial one nonetheless and the bike pretty much took it in stride. Power assist is just about right. At first you find yourself obsessing over the (4) available ranges, but I find myself pretty much either running it on tour or turbo mode. You definitely know that all those micro adjustments for shifting and human pedal effort are going on in the Bosch brain, but for the most part it just does that job well and it works rather seamlessly. After the first 100 or so miles, I was over any second thoughts about not having gotten a "throttle" type e-assist or opting for more power. Despite the added weight of the electric assist components, the pedal effort vs. a non-electric bike is reduced by maybe 50%, Works for me. The Intuvia controller is pretty straight forward. Almost like a typical bike computer but with power functions added. It took some getting used to not having the wealth of detailed data that the Cycle Analyst produces on my EcoSpeed trike setup, but simplicity is a good thing too. I am curious, Matt, how your Nyon is working out for you.

Time to start using the bike on a daily commuting basis. And then a few hiccups occur . . .
I enjoyed reading everything you wrote. I am glad I got the NuVinci, but only because of my riding stlye. The Rohloff is definitely better. I use the bike for going to a number of destinations around the city and I like to get done quickly, so I am constantly shifting as I ride around very quickly. If I owned a Rohloff, I'd likely get used to it but when I tried a demo I just hated it. I have been testing the limits of the bike a lot, and have crashed a number of times. The bike never gets hurt really, and the Nyon back is scuffed up from a couple spills but still works great. It is very detailed and I like looking at my rides afterwards. I ride almost always in Turbo, I only ride in Tour if I will be running out of battery. Hard to believe I know, but I frequently do over 60 miles on the bike at once. I am really looking forward to upgrading the suspension on the bike and having a set of MTB tires for off-roading. I have been testing the limits of the bike and have fallen off a number of times, so once I upgrade the rear shock and fork, I want to avoid scratching them lol.

There are a lot of paved trails near me and also some dirt and gravel trails too. I went up a steep climb on a 6 inch wide dirt path covered in roots and boulders like it was nothing. Coming back down was a bit scary with the Super Moto X tires that have 1500 miles of wear on them, I am sure I will feel much more confident with some nobby nics on like the GX has I believe. I never did any trail riding before, but I really had a blast trying it out and will be doing a lot of it in the future.

More on the Nyon, I really am glad I upgrades. It just looks so much cooler and gives you a ton of information. I know the exact battery percentage as well which is a plus since steep sections of a ride can really distort the range for the overall ride. You can see a map of your path and can see your altitude, cadence, speed, and power output and any point along the ride. I like the navigation, but it is not as good as Google Maps. It is just like using a tomtom or garmin sat nav. The directions are fine but the city has a lot of close streets, it would be nice to see the street names on the map but it just shows the roads with no names. Sometimes of course navigation lags a little, so it would be nice to see the name of the roads on screen. It does not show the names of random streets around you on the map, nor the name of the street you are supposed to turn onto next, and also not the street you are currently on. No street names, just an animation to follow. I really just like the Nyon for how it looks, the Intuvia works fine but it is such a simple display on a bike that has so much more to offer (not to mention it looks high tech).

The Nyon display does take a few extra seconds to load up, and sometimes restarts during a ride (not often). The good thing though is that the power assist works from the second you hit the power button, even though the display is loading. And when the Nyon restarts mid-ride for no reason, the assist never stops, so really doesn't bother me. One other thing is that the Nyon does not allow me to turn on the High Beam of my Supernova M99 Pro. The Intuvia light button worked for the high beam and also for turning it on during the day, but with the Nyon connected, the headlight is completely independent. It won't turn on when the sun is out, and won't turn off at night nor turn the high beam on, the light button is useless even though the light icon appears when I click it. Perhaps I need it to be changed to switchable from a shop, I have not checked yet. Worst case scenario I will have to attach the high beam button that came with the light, but it will not reach my handlebars since the light is mounted on the fork crown. I like it better there, the lighting is perfect and cars can see my lights better in their mirrors because it is at the same level as car headlights. I will have to epoxy the button onto the actualy light or something lol.

Hugh
7 months ago

I have decided to use the brakes and electrics on my Bionx 500 equipped EVO road bike and build a 3 wheeled electric recumbent trike. I bought the plans, got the steel tube and have started the project. The style is called a tadploe trike which means the 2 wheels are in front and 1 wheel in back It is called the Warrior and i got the plans from a site called Atomic Zombie. The frame is made from 1/16" or 16 gauge 1 1/2" square tubing. You need a few parts from discarded bikes. The headsets from 3 old bikes are cut down and used in the steering assembly. A bottom bracket from one bike is also used. After i bought the plans there was the annual police bicycle auction where stolen and not claimed bikes are auctioned off. It just happens to be less than a block from my home. So i picked up 3 old bikes for $20 apiece. A grinder with cut wheels and a flap disc was used to cut them up and polish the pieces i needed. I also have a small 110 volt welder which is more the sufficient for the job. The BionX wheel is 28" in diameter and will be used as the rear drive unit. The EVO has 2 180 mm Tektro disc rotors which fit the front wheels. The front wheels were the most expensive components so far. You need 20" rims BMX style rims so I used my LBS and ordered 2 20mm disc ready hubs, 2 double wall 36 spoke 20" rims and had them lace the wheels up. Two 6" long 5/8th" fine thread bolts will be the front axles, those needed some 5/8ths" bronze bushings and one wrap of .010 shim to make them fit the 20mm hubs nice and snug. So far I have the main part of the frame built, the wheels all ready and will be making the front arms that hold the wheels and steering. It is a step by step process. The reason for this build is one - comfort and two- i like building things and 3 - bikes, in particular electric bikes are great.

1/3
Drumulac
7 months ago

So, Rohloff Delite GX HS it was. I reached out to Chris Nolte of Propel and (at my prodding) he was kind enough to offer a modest discount on his floor model, but with the proviso that I had to wait for him to take delivery of another one before he sent the demo to me. Fair enough. Chris was good to his word re: estimated delivery time. Three weeks passed and sure enough, he got the new demo in and made arrangements to have the bike brought to my office on a Sunday afternoon (I live in a small city an hour or so north of NYC). Nice of him to go out of the way and offer to deliver as I had some personal things going on that would have kept me from picking it up within the next week or so.

First impressions: Sweet! Only 22 demo miles on the odometer. I already had a few alterations and additions in mind (guess that is the male version of "accessorizing") , but the essential core was all there - substantial frame, nice components, obviously well thought out, maybe a bit over-engineered - if that is even possible. Being purpose built exclusively as an e-bike, nothing about it has that "aftermarket-afterthought" feel. Solid as can be. No pretensions of being anything but a steady road warrior, capable of taking hard knocks and shrugging off the usual daily insults from the two ton motorized behemoths one encounters on the daily commute. Yeah, kind of a motorcycle feel, but still very much a vehicle that requires human input to motivate. Pretty heavy, but I had spent a lot of time in another life piloting touring bikes loaded down with four panniers and 50-69 additional lbs of gear, so I knew I wouldn't be phased by the weight that the two batteries and Bosch motor entailed. This thing knows it's purpose: built to bull through most stuff, on or off road, without the rider wondering if something is going to crack, snap off, or otherwise make things unpleasant.

As things go, the first week that I had it turned out to be nasty weather-wise. Record low temps, mixed precipitation. I think I clicked maybe 15 miles total over the over the first few days. On the first nice day, the following Sunday, I put 30 + miles on it. Super happy with it. Went on road and on trail. The brakes, suspension, beefy 27.5" tires, and power package all work well together. It's not a "pocket rocket", as we used to refer to certain motorcycles way back when, but the whole package works as advertised. I am liking it a lot. The Rohloff gives it an awesome low range, though I would like to get a bit more headroom at high speed ie. have pedal input over 30 mph. I did get the bike over 40 mph, but that was going down a big hill with inertia being the only motivator. In day to day riding, that really isn't a factor and I guess I could always put a smaller cog on the Rohloff at some point (but probably won't). At high speed, I had total confidence and the suspension ably handled a surprise pothole around 35 mph. Why potholes in NY in the spring should be a surprise, I don't know, but it was a substantial one nonetheless and the bike pretty much took it in stride. Power assist is just about right. At first you find yourself obsessing over the (4) available ranges, but I find myself pretty much either running it on tour or turbo mode. You definitely know that all those micro adjustments for shifting and human pedal effort are going on in the Bosch brain, but for the most part it just does that job well and it works rather seamlessly. After the first 100 or so miles, I was over any second thoughts about not having gotten a "throttle" type e-assist or opting for more power. Despite the added weight of the electric assist components, the pedal effort vs. a non-electric bike is reduced by maybe 50%, Works for me. The Intuvia controller is pretty straight forward. Almost like a typical bike computer but with power functions added. It took some getting used to not having the wealth of detailed data that the Cycle Analyst produces on my EcoSpeed trike setup, but simplicity is a good thing too. I am curious, Matt, how your Nyon is working out for you.

Time to start using the bike on a daily commuting basis. And then a few hiccups occur . . .

Joel Caputo
1 day ago

croydon!

Baz D
3 weeks ago

Why is there nothing like this in the UK for disabled or limited mobility persons?

MultiChaga
3 weeks ago

Ever thought about having bigger spokes on the wheels?? As is, it does nt look complete...

Naaman Geist
3 weeks ago

Where is this available for $2500? I'm not finding it for less than $3000

Derek Thompson
1 month ago

good Trike with what looks like a very uncomfortable seat a real saddle would be much better.

tom walter
1 month ago

I have watched a couple of your reviews, regarding the sunseeker recumbent electric trikes. Regarding the Fat-tire model. How high from ground level can the seats be raised?
Is there any place in Florida to test ride one one of these?

Nicholas Kinney
1 month ago

Does the bike have pass-through charging so that you can retrofit solar or 900 watt generator or something

MrDavee1
2 months ago

Having suspension, and then putting all your extra weight(rack/battery/motor) 0n the back axle seems rather pointless to me. Means you've got well over 10kg of unsprung weight. Not good. Would work a lot better with the battery mounted to the back of the seat.

MOISES F IZURIETA
2 months ago

Too expensive, am out.

Adam Schreiner
2 months ago

That shock is way too stiff

Eye on art
2 months ago

Sondors makes ebikes that are affordable for everyone!

Eye on art
2 months ago

I want the other trike with the basket! I hope Sondors comes out with one!

jonathan g
2 months ago

There is a lot of chain slack.

Ryan Keshet
3 months ago

That thing looks like the "funnest" thing ever

Mike v
3 months ago

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BrxR2SLXEZc

Mike Hare
3 months ago

Anyone know who makes the rack they have on the back of this trike?

adie kaswara
4 months ago

Chit chat!!!! No try

Torian Allen
4 months ago

Hey man! Just going through your old videos and really enjoyed this one. Hope your visit back to Cali was fun, and when ever ypu cone back in town just let me know. I will say that you did a great job on this video. I like the level of detail you went in, but I would suggest you keep a few talking points short. For instance in relation to the driving dynamics before you start riding. I feel like it causes you to backtrack a few times. Again, great video, I just want you making the best so I have to criticize something. :D

Stephen Dufort
4 months ago

Fastest ,slowest,more time riding ,action,demo,less details ,less talking

Candace Cassidy
4 months ago

I think they need to redesign the twist part.