Sun Seeker T3 CX Electric Trike Review

Sun Seeker T3 Cx Electric Bike Review
Sun Seeker T3 Cx
Sun Seeker T3 Cx Geared Hub Motor In Rear 500 Watt
Sun Seeker T3 Cx 48 Volt 10 Amp Hour Lithium Ion Battery Rack Mounted
Sun Seeker T3 Cx Sleek Backlit Lcd Display Steering
Sun Seeker T3 Cx Vented Mesh Seat Adjustable
Sun Seeker T3 Cx Kenda Kwest Tires 20 1 25
Sun Seeker T3 Cx 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor Pedelec
Sun Seeker T3 Cx Winzip Mm Mechanical Disc Brakes 160 Mm
Sun Seeker T3 Cx Sram X4 Drivetrain 24 Speed
Sun Seeker T3 Cx 3 Amp Portable Battery Charger
Sun Seeker T3 Cx Electric Bike Review
Sun Seeker T3 Cx
Sun Seeker T3 Cx Geared Hub Motor In Rear 500 Watt
Sun Seeker T3 Cx 48 Volt 10 Amp Hour Lithium Ion Battery Rack Mounted
Sun Seeker T3 Cx Sleek Backlit Lcd Display Steering
Sun Seeker T3 Cx Vented Mesh Seat Adjustable
Sun Seeker T3 Cx Kenda Kwest Tires 20 1 25
Sun Seeker T3 Cx 12 Magnet Cadence Sensor Pedelec
Sun Seeker T3 Cx Winzip Mm Mechanical Disc Brakes 160 Mm
Sun Seeker T3 Cx Sram X4 Drivetrain 24 Speed
Sun Seeker T3 Cx 3 Amp Portable Battery Charger

Summary

  • A sleek, lightweight, recumbent electric trike with higher top speed and 24 gears, as a tadpole design your body and arms are more aerodynamic and laid back
  • Completely adjustable frame and mesh seat accommodate taller and shorter riders, those looking for a leaned-back body position as well as upright, it's easy to work with and change
  • Some generic parts keep the price down but you get reinforced rims, larger spokes, a SRAM drivetrain and a nice display here along with a solid one year warranty, shipping costs $350
  • Rear heavy design with both the motor and battery towards the back, generic mechanical disc brakes work well enough, no bottle cage bosses but the battery rack works with trunk bags and panniers

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Sun Seeker

Model:

T3 CX Electric Trike

Price:

$2,285 ($350 Shipping, Fully Assembled Ready to Ride)

Body Position:

Recumbent

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2), Speed Pedalec (Class 3)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

66 lbs (29.93 kg)

Battery Weight:

9.3 lbs (4.21 kg)

Motor Weight:

9.4 lbs (4.26 kg)

Frame Material:

Tig Welded Cro-Mo Steel

Geometry Measurements:

39″ (99 cm) Wheel Base, 65″-73″ (165.1-185 cm) Overall Length, 33″ (85 cm) Width, 13″-14″ (33-35.5 cm) Seat Height

Frame Types:

Trike

Frame Colors:

Metallic Red

Frame Fork Details:

High Tensile Steel, Rigid

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

24 Speed 3x8 SRAM X-4, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

SRAM Grip Shift on Left and Right

Cranks:

170 mm Cranks, 30-42-52T Chainrings

Pedals:

Wellgo LU-812 Metal Cage

Headset:

Sealed Mechanism Alloy

Handlebar:

Alloy, Roadster Style

Brake Details:

Winzip-MM Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors, Wuxing Levers with Motor Inhibitor and Parking Latch

Grips:

Flat Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Alloy Frame, Padded Mesh

Seat Post:

Rans Style Seat Slide

Rims:

Alloy, Stainless Nipples and Eyelets, 36 Hole

Spokes:

Front Stainless 14G Black, Rear Stainless 12G Silver

Tire Brand:

Kenda Kwest, 20" x 1.25"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

75 to 100 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Bolt-on Rack with Pannier Blockers 25 kg Max Weight, Adjustable Angle Seat with Removable Cover, Adjustable Length Boom, Heavy-Duty Torque Arm for Motor Mount

Other:

Locking Removable Battery, 1.5 lb 3 Amp Charger, KMC Z Chain, 300 lb Max Load

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Electric Bike Technologies

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

1000 watts

Motor Torque:

45 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Electric Bike Technologies

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

480 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

King Meter, Fixed, Backlit, Monochrome LCD

Readouts:

Battery Level (5 Bars), Speed, Avg. Speed, Max Speed, Power Level (0-5), Odometer, Trip A, Trip B

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Pedelec Sensor)

Top Speed:

26 mph (42 kph) (Adjustable Speed, PAS Sensitivity, Current)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The T3 CX Electric Trike is a conversion by Electric Bike Technologies using a Sun Seeker platform. This is their top of the line model with higher top speeds and a more performance oriented geometry. You sit low, leaned back and the tires are narrow and efficient with higher PSI. Weighing in at 66 lbs, this is one of the lighter tadpole electric trikes I’ve tested but it doesn’t skimp on utility. There’s a solid rack with pannier guards on either side and the battery sandwiched between platforms. While this does position weight high and towards the back (along with the motor), I found the steering to be tight and responsive… there are better designs out there such as the BionX frame mounted battery on the HP Velotechnik Scorpion but it costs about three times as much. What you don’t get with the Sun Seeker T3 CX E-Trike is suspension, lights, fenders or regenerative braking. Instead, you get acceptable mechanical disc brakes, a decent 24 speed SRAM drivetrain and a highly adjustable frame (the boom extends and the seat slides and pivots). You can set it up like a race car if you’d like or turn down the top speed and bring the seat to a more upright position for relaxed neighborhood use and grocery getting.

Driving the T3CX is a 500 watt nominal geared hub motor spoked into the rear wheel. Notice the thicker spokes with reinforcement eyelets and nipples… check out the oversized torque arm on the left side of the frame. They went above and beyond here because the motor can peak at 1,000 watts transporting you up to 26 miles per hour. Since the battery is also positioned above the rear wheel, it’s good that things are overbuilt, especially if you bring along a trunk bag or panniers. In the video, you can hear the motor whirring a bit and that’s common with geared designs which tend to be more compact and lighter than gearless. Be careful with the cable leading into the axle if you’re transporting the trike or tipping it onto one side for transport, this is one area that’s vulnerable on many electric bikes. I hear from some owners that a small trailer works well for transporting it behind your car vs. inside (something you’d find at Harbor Freight). None of the wheels offer quick release so consider adding extra tools to your bag and an inner tube or two for flats and check the tire pressure before each ride.

Powering the motor and display panel is a 48 volt 10 amp hour battery pack that’s housed in a generic Aluminum alloy box. It felt sturdy to me, slid into the rack easily and offers on or off-bike charging with a port under the flip-up handle. The only thing I dislike about the design is that the key must be left in for operation. It’s not a huge deal as the ignition slot is out of the way for riding (to the lower left of the rider’s back) but if you’ve got a keychain, it might jingle… and when it comes time to take the battery off, you’ll have to pull the key out because it collides with the rack tubing. Be delicate with this, bending or breaking the key could damage the battery and compromise security. One thing that’s cool about the more “generic” design of the battery is that they can be repacked more easily or even replaced down the line using a third party product. Electric Bike Technologies uses more open source systems so you can rest assured that there will always be a way to keep your bike on the road even if they change designs. They even offer the battery, motor and control system as an aftermarket kit so you could convert a standard Sun Seeker T3 CX on your own :)

I’ve already started on this topic but powering the bike on is a two-step process with the keyed ignition followed by a press and hold of the “M” button on the control pad near the left grip. From here, the display flickers to life showing battery capacity, speed, assist level and some other ride stats (press M repeatedly to cycle through). I love that the system offers pedal assist as well as throttle mode but was a bit disappointed that throttle power and top speed are limited by the five levels of assist. I prefer that the throttle override at full power since the lever is on a spring and offers variable output on its own. This is handy for passing other riders or climbing a hill without reaching down to the control pad to click up, up, up. And while we’re on this subject, I feel that the control pad is difficult to reach and mounted in a hazardous spot on the Sun Seeker T3CX. The handlebars are vertical and very close to the wheels so there’s not a lot of room to reach around. Be extra wary after braking hard too because the disc brake rotors can heat up and are also near the grips and control pad. On the right bar, where the throttle is, there are a few options for how and where to mount the trigger but the default I was shown kind of interfered with shifting. Both grips have twist shifters and the cockpit feels a little crowded with the button pad, trigger throttle and longer brake levers all packed in. And on that topic, I would much prefer hydraulic disc brakes here but appreciate that the levers they chose have motor inhibitors and a parking brake latch to keep the trike stable when mounting and parking. It’s a cheaper, less elegant setup all around (brakes, throttle, control pad) but it works well enough and the price tag reflects all of the compromises you have to make. This is a three-wheeled ebike after all so things remain stable even if you’re distracted for a moment with the drive systems. The display panel is another mixed area for me with this e-trike. It’s large and thin but not removable, the bracket they use is flexible, allowing for some minor bumps without letting it crack or break, but it just doesn’t feel as solid as some others. You can angle the screen forward and back to reduce glare and turn the backlighting on or off using the button pad, which is great for those who dislike the view-obstruction and distraction of bright lights in your face at night. In closing, I like how open the system is, it lets you adjust more things like battery discharge curve, top speed, current or even assist sensitivity.

The T3CX Electric Trike is sporty, fast and much lighter and less expensive than alternatives. If you ride on mostly smooth streets, the trike will feel great. I love the tadpole design for many reasons… it allows for a rack, reduces weight steering and it feels sporty. However, it can be more difficult to mount (requiring you to squat down). The folks at ElectricTrike.com offer many recumbent options and this is their high-end sport model. It’s not perfect and you will have to pay $350 additional for shipping unless you can drive to Croydon Pennsylvania but it’s one of the few options out there at all right now and I trust the company. these guys have been around for several years doing kits under the name E-BikeKit. They have a warehouse with several employees and a solid one year warranty with good phone support. While it may not look as sleek as a purpose built e-trike, it offers a lot more customizability. Aside from how it rides and adjusting my own fit and body position, I would definitely look into some lights and maybe even a flag pole to stay visible. The battery rack keeps the rooster tail down but the mesh seat might leak and there are no fenders up front so perhaps that’s another area for some creative aftermarket solutions. Front fenders can rattle on recumbents and I think the rear is really the most important to address for this model.

Pros:

  • This thing is fast, smooth rolling and efficient with narrow tires and the seat and steering is all kept low to the ground, it corners well and is one of the sportiest electric recumbent trikes I’ve tested
  • I appreciate the platform and pannier guards on the rear rack, it would easily fit a trunk bag on top and clip-on panniers for either side which is perfect for commuting… don’t forget to clip a light on or maybe add a flag pole for safety
  • The Sun Seeker T3 CX offers 24 speeds (three up front and eight in the rear), that’s nice to have on a speed pedelec so you can find a more comfortable pedal cadence, it’s also handy for starting and climbing since this trike weighs more than a standard two wheel ebike
  • At just 66 lbs I feel like the T3CX is reasonable, many of the other recumbents weigh a lot more and even though it’s rear heavy, the bike is very stable due to the three-wheel design and the battery rack feels sturdy
  • Highly adjustable frame and seat allow you to dial in the leg reach and ride in a more upright or aerodynamic way-back body position, it’s fun to experiment with and easy to change
  • The motor and battery combine for zippy performance but don’t add as much weight as a gearless design, I love that the charger is encased in an Aluminum box for protection and that it isn’t too large or heavy (I’d consider bringing it along on trips in case you decide to ride further)
  • I’m a big fan of pedal assist plus throttle mode because it allows you to ride efficiently with bursts of energy and I also like starting out with the pedal so as not to strain my knees… though I wish the throttle mode here would offer full power regardless of assist mode chosen (as it is, you are limited in power and speed which means more button pressing to go faster or a constant use of high power which drains the battery)
  • Being a recumbent trike with rear-mount motor, the front wheels are light and easy to steer, I like the steering setup because my arms go naturally down and stay out of the way… it keeps weight low and opens the view
  • The wheels uses thicker spokes and have eyelets and nipples to help strengthen the rim, this is especially nice for the rear wheel given how powerful the motor is (peak 1,000 watt output and 45 Newton meters) as well as the weight of the battery and rack overhead
  • You can charge the battery on or off the frame, it’s easy to plug in and very easy to remove and carry thanks to a plastic handle… the only thing I dislike is that you need to leave the key in while operating it and that can cause some jingling (it’s way out of the way for pedaling, just be careful for bags)
  • I love the parking brake design (both levers cut power to the motor and one has a latch so the trike won’t roll away), the brake also stabilizes the trike for getting on and off more safely
  • Decent disc brakes, one on each wheel, let you corner sharper and stop the trike quickly, they aren’t hydraulic but they worked well enough for me
  • The folks at Electric Bike Technologies have optimized their controller for the specific battery in use on each model, that means your battery gauge should be more accurate… and they left the system open so you can dial in your own top speeds (lower for stability if you’d like or for legal purposes in some countries) and experiment current output, pedal assist sensitivity or even swap out the battery and use a different third-party option, it’s just more open
  • I really like how the display backlight can be manually turned on or off because sometimes the automatic ones can be distracting and too bright
  • They’ve installed a massive torque arm at the rear drop out (on the left side) to distribute force and keep the frame in tact given the more powerful motor

Cons:

  • Shipping costs a lot extra, you’ll have to pay $350 if you live in the contiguous USA or drive to Pennsylvania and pick it up for free, the nice thing is that it arrives fully assembled and ready to go (they even try to set it up based on your height if you ask)
  • I feel like they should work in some lights that could run off the main battery pack, one up front and one in the back for safer riding, maybe also upgrade to reflective tires since the trike is so low and you can go faster on it than some of the others
  • Since this is more of a kit build, the controller box and wires aren’t internally routed like some others… it keeps the price down but doesn’t look as nice and might not be as durable (easier to snag while riding or moving)
  • None of the wheels have quick release so bring some tools and an extra tire tube because the high-pressure narrow tires get flats easier (make sure you check their PSI before each ride or at least squeeze them, low tires get snake-bite flats easier), I hear that some people buy cheap trailers from Harbor Freight to load their trikes onto
  • Unfortunately, due to the fancier seat design on the SunSeeker T3CX you don’t get bottle cage bosses… consider a trunk bag with integrated holster like this
  • The display mount on this trike felt less sturdy than on some of the other ElectricTrike.com conversions, it was flexible and I like how the screen could angle but you cannot remove it easily (which is nice when parking in public spaces for protection)
  • Since this trike has grip shifters on both handle bars, they get a little crowded and the throttle mounting position isn’t perfect (they sandwiched it between the grip and shifter for me which felt cramped)
  • With narrower tires that require high pressure and the lack of suspension, you tend to feel the bumps more, the mesh seat helps a little :)
  • Mounting this trike requires a bit more balance and leg strength, it’s super low which is awesome for handling while riding but you have to squat to get on/off (I usually step over the boom, rest a hand on the top of one tire or handlebar arm then ease myself in)
  • The cadence sensor is a bit exposed at the left crank arm, be careful not to accidentally kick it (and if you do, take a moment to straighten it out again for best performance)
  • Much like the throttle position (sort of crowded and awkward) the control pad is positioned in such a way that you have to take your hand off to change assist levels and the tire is very close so be careful with your hands and fingers while riding
  • When putting the battery on or taking it off the key must be removed or it will collide with the rack tubing, be careful not to force it and accidentally bend the key

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Sun Seeker Reviews

Sun Seeker Fat Tad Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,435
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A full suspension, fat tire, recumbent electric trike designed for off-road fun on trails, sand or snow, powerful 500 watt rear-motor with throttle and pedal assist modes. Adjustable length boom and tilting seat accommodate a range of riders, large backlit display offers…...

Sun Seeker EZ-3 HD Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,305
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A heavy duty electric trike designed to support up to 400 lbs of weight, powered by a 1,000-Watt peak gearless hub motor running off a 48 volt Lithium-ion battery pack. Open platform allows you to swap battery brands, adjust the top speed and amp flow…...

Sun Seeker Eurus Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,435
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A fast, highly adjustable electric trike in the Delta style (with two wheels in the rear and one up front), easy to mount and park, camber in rear wheels keep it stable. Beautiful large display is easy to read and offers on/off backlighting control, optional top speed…...

Sun Seeker Eco Tad Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $1,875
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the most affordable recumbent tadpole trikes I've tested, you do have to pay an additional $350 for shipping but it comes "ready to ride" so you can hop right on. The 48 volt battery supports increased power and higher speeds for the 500 watt internally…...

Sun Seeker Eco Delta Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $1,835
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A recumbent electric trike with a higher seat, more relaxed bars and lower price point, the delta frame design positions one wheel in the front and two in the back. Highly adjustable seat angle and overall bike length for comfortable reach and pedaling, the chain…...


Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

emco5
19 mins ago

The Electric Shopping Cruiser Any opinions?

A 250 watt hub is minimal assistance for a lightweight two wheeler. That trike is heavy. Slight boost would be noticed on level ground but there wouldn't be much energy on inclines and zip on hills, especially with a load of stuff in the basket.

If you need a trike, get one and put a stronger mid-drive kit on it. https://tinyurl.com/yd2bjn9q

The forum host has info on the drives https://electricbikereview.com/?s=8fun+mid+drive

Skyhawk4754
6 days ago

Hi
New to the forum.
Introduction: 64 years young, male, 6'2" 280 lbs live in the Texas Hill Country.
I bought a Terratrike Allroad Rambler with BionX P350 DX20 electric assist , 24" tires about 90 days ago.
I really like the trike. However we have about 1/2 mile of a 12% increase in elevation and the electric assist just doesn't have it. What can I do to improve my situation?
Thanks

JohnT
2 weeks ago

I own a Fat Tad. I bought it a couple years ago, planning to convert it to electric, but haven’t gotten around to it. I’ve only put on a few miles but would be happy to answer any questions you might have.

It’s a big heavy trike, but the suspension and fat tires make for a nice, comfortable ride. Ride height isn’t very low, so ground clearance is good and getting in and out of the seat is relatively easy. I wobble when I pedal, but I assume that’ll go away with practice. I haven’t gone very fast on it yet.

It doesn’t roll though standard doorways and is heavy and awkward to carry. Im hoping it’s not too much worse when converted with the battery removed. I wouldn’t want to have to carry it twice every time I rode. I have it I my garage.

Most of the components are acceptable quality. I don’t think I’ll be swapping them out for better ones. I’m not that picky.

Overall, I’d recommend it, but it’s obviously not the right ride for everyone.

rich c
2 weeks ago

This summer I started riding my full suspension mtb along the Hennepin Canal. It's like 75 miles of basically a straight line and little elevation change. We also have a crushed rock rail trail that goes about 30 miles in a similar fashion. I'm thinking a Fat-Tad from Electric Trikes on slicks would be the perfect nature cruiser for those rides. Heads up and a relaxed position for the miles. The canal ride is so enjoyable with birds and water views the entire distance, I think the heads-up ride would let me enjoy the view better. Any opinions about the recumbent trike?

ScorpionKing
3 weeks ago

I have successfully modified a tool to pop pins out of white connectors so I can do unplanned things behind the axle nut. I put fork stiffener struts on made of aluminum angle. So I took a pick from big lots store ($2.89), and ground the tip down almost needle fine, using a bench grinder. use Safety glasses. Don't overheat. Then I could push on the tabs of the pins to flatten them, and let the pins back out of the block. When putting the pins back you have to rebend the tabs out to pop out a bit again and hook the connector body.
The reason you can't use an actual needle, they are not long enough and you need a handle to hold the needle with and apply force.Sears also used to sell a .050" thick pick in a handle. Also General Tool. The big lots one was so fat it was almost scrap to start with.
Good luck on the uncooperative vendor.

You really should not need a tool or at least we shouldn’t have to pop any pins out or remove any plug. Prior to the sale I was told specially we needed to use two torque arm kits by this company. The reason given was the cassette version of the axle was 12mm vs the freewheel version which is 14mm.

That should have been reason enough to ship the Motor without the small wires in the contacts mounted in the White Plastic Plug causing a problem for the buyer.

In addition, instructions were never sent with shipment. We were finally send an email after being told their “One Drive was down” (maybe this is there file sever), from there own company in emai, that clear states in writing on page paragraph 6, that until the motor is fitted to the Bike the White Plastic Plug should not be fitted on the contacts on the end of the electric wire, because it will prevent the Nuts and Washers from sliding off and on.

Those are not the exact words as written but I have printed the email and can scan and upload it if necessary. I am past this point unless PayPal or American Express wants it for evidence.

Point being, Motor should have been shipped end user ready from this vendor. There are a lot of first time builders out there like us. It does not mean we are stupid just because we might be inexperienced at building or converting to an E-bike/Trike at this time. This is only our first attempt. Many of us own multiple bikes s/Trikes. I personally own 5. What that means to this vendor is that by treating me poorly as he did he at least lost 4 potential future sales. Also I am not likely to say good things about this vendor to others on the forums I regularly participate in, or when I am out riding events like Ragbrai.

Lastly it should not have been assumed I was going to purchase a controller or other parts from this vendor. Motors have the capability of using various controllers. This company was told up front I was not using their controller. I will have to check my email but I believe I told them I was using a Phase Runner.

Seems there were and are enough reasons to have left that White Plastic Plug off instead of shipping the way they did.

Jason

RobMatthies Vancouver
1 month ago

Look at the YouTube video of an unedited ride through the rain puddles. The EFF rider screams as he gets his pants soaked. Anybody contemplating purchasing an electric trike should watch that video.

That was exactly my thought when I saw an ELF yesterday in Vancouver (nickname: Raincouver), BC.

All my e-rides have been heavily modified, and all (10+ easily, maybe even 20, since 1998) of them were working well when I either sold, gave away, or stolen.

If I owned an ELF electric trike, here's how I would mod them, for reliability:

- Install water splash shields by cutting coreplast and installing with zipties

- Make a partial floorboard of some kind. If would be a partial cover due to the components that would prevent building a complete floorboard.

- Liquid Tape in specific areas (a lot)

- Spray MG Chemicals Super Contact Cleaner where needed

- Add lockwashers on nuts

- Create a splash shield for the motor and other components underneath that are vulnerable to salt/rust

- Install two chain-cleaning wells as oil baths

- Get an air-bottle air horn

- Prevent the rubber grommets (where cables enter the ELF trike's body) from loosening, as seen on the one I saw yesterday.

For a future ELF trike re-design, or mod:

- Change to a gearless, brushless hub motor on the rear wheel, preferably a QSmotor with a matching sine-wave controller.

For those new to electric trikes: This "industry" has a history of failure. Look up the "cemetery" of electric bikes and electric trikes, at EValbum.com

For 10-year, daily drive durability, an ELF owner will need to do what I did to my electric rides. There are very few electric bikers in Vancouver with a working 8+ year electric rides. I still have all of my electric scooters in working order.

Dewey
2 months ago

Wondering if anyone has or thought of leasing an E-Bike? It would be nice to use the bike for two years then either buy it out or up it

Bicycle Blue Book use local bike shops with their trade in program, it covers ebikes. All Performance Bike stores use it. If it’s in good mechanical condition you will get a certain % of what you had paid towards a new model.

https://www.bicyclebluebook.com/partnerdirectory.aspx

I’ve also seen independent stores/chains offer their own trade in programs, locally a chain called Conte’s offers up to 40%. Some brands like Woom and Trek offer a loyalty/buy-up program on children’s bikes which seems a good way to help your child ride a bike that fits them.

If you sell privately I’ve noticed some higher end cargo ebikes hold their value, I saw a fairly new imported electric Nicola trike on sale on CL recently in my city for 2/3 of its new cost. But those are the exception, buying used ebikes you’ve gotta assume you’ll have to replace the battery.

Wormburger
2 months ago

By my math, I would have gotten less than 40% back, after I pay for all the shipping.
As it stands now, I have the trike, I will rip off all their electronic crap, bring it down to the frame, and just rebuild it somehow, as motor kits are becoming cheaper now.
It is literally just a normal trike, that was modified to become a "purpose-built electric". you can see the where they added holes to bolt in the motor and battery cage.
luckily I think I can use the same holes to mount a different motor. possibly even a gas lawn mower. turn it into a hybrid electric/gas. lol

yeah, they have my money, and it would cost me more to fight them. But I can warn others away from them, and that I can do for free!

SomeGuy
2 months ago

About me:

The biggest reason for wanting an electronic bike is to help me get over hills. My price range is no more than $2,000 ($2,199 absolute max) (but not including accessories or shipping/tax). I'm 5'11", weigh 190 lbs (with a 10-15 lbs variance over time). Eventually, I'll live somewhere in the outer Boston area and will commute into Boston, (mostly on roads/sidewalks) possibly 6 - 18 miles one way (16- 36 both ways), 5 days a week. This bike will be my primary source of transportation.

I will be riding in the rain and snow. Eventually I’ll either buy or make a rain/snow shield. (which will increase drag). I’d also rather buy snow tires than a fat bike.

Features I want:

Mid-drive with throttle (prefer a trigger throttle, and that the mid-drive and throttle can handle being used together)
Class 3
Riser bar
Rear rack to be able to carry groceries and things.
Removable Display in center of handlebars
high step
Prefer a 28mph bike (the speed demon in me)
Long lasting battery (I’ll charge the battery at work, and eventually will buy a 2nd one)
Durability to handle New England weather (hot and cold temps, rain, snow)

Features I do NOT want:

Twist throttle
Half-twist throttle
Low step
Drop handlebars
Small tires
Small frame
Tandem
Trike
Fat bike

What frame size should I buy? Any suggestions on which electronic bike to purchase with these guidelines? I do understand that there won't be a perfect bike for a low price. Thank you.

Dewey
2 months ago
Kim S
2 months ago

Something like this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/332133596775 (Not electric,but a trike)
Or this: http://www.riderungu.com/shop/product/2017-kilimanjaro/ (electric trike)

Dewey
2 months ago

The Sunseeker Eco Tad would be about $2300 with shipping, it doesn't have suspension but it is a recumbent tadpole trike with a mesh seat.

ReallyGoodEbikes
2 months ago

Based on your particular needs, I would strongly recommend taking a look at the electric trike from Priority Electric Transportation. They build a high quality etrike that is quite affordable. Call me if you have any questions.

FlaDeziner
2 months ago

I am a casual rider who now needs to be concerned about stability when riding. I'm in Florida and it's flat, flat, flat. I have tried riding a regular trike and find it very uncomfortable and unstable because the trike does not tilt on turns. I want the ability to bike to the store and get some power if needed.

I'm convinced a trike with 2 wheels and some type of suspension in the front will work for me, but I'm not in the market to spend $6k on a Butchers & Bicycles trike or even $2,300 on a PFIFF

Certainly, there is a source in the USA to purchase this China Made trike I have posted above or something similar. Can someone direct me to a source? Thanks in advance for the assist.

1/1
BreakAes
3 months ago

Hi all,

I'm going to be getting an Azub Fat trike: http://azub.eu/recumbent-bikes-and-trikes/trikes/26-wheels/fat/ and I'll need an electric conversion kit with both a throttle and pedal-assist.

It seems like the best motor option for me is a 750 watt Bafang mid-drive motor. I'd like to have a torque-sensing motor, but I understand that Bafang is behind on releasing theirs, and they only have a cadence-sensing system at the moment.

I'm wondering what the difference in practice would be between a 48v and 52v battery. I also want at least a 17 amp hour battery, and if it's not too heavy, something around 20 amp hours or more would be nice.

I'm looking for suggestions on where the best place is to get the kit. And how hard would it be to install it? Should I have a shop do it, or is it easy enough to do it by one's self?

Here are the stores I know of for electric conversion kits:

https://www.eradkits.com

https://lunacycle.com

http://www.ebikeco.com

http://www.rosecityrecumbentcycles.com

Let me know what you think, thanks!

bob armani
4 months ago

I have a Hilltopper 250W 24V front wheel on my 7-speed Schwinn. I don't use it for sport, just for day-to-day transportation. (I almost never use my car any more.) My terrain is flat city roads, and my typical trip is 2 to 4 miles one way.My kit has no throttle, just a push button to kick in the motor.

Most of the time I pedal in gear 5, and just use the motor for assist when I get below 10 MPH, and usually only goose myself until I'm back up to 12-14 MPH. Even pulling a bike trailer loaded with 20 pounds of groceries, I have no trouble cruising along at 12 MPH or so, although I do use the motor more when I'm fully loaded. (I'm only 150 lbs myself.) I don't need more speed than that since, at age 72, my reaction time isn't as quick as it used to be, and I find 15 MPH to be very comfortable, and 20 MPH to be a little on the "break-neck" side for me. hehe.

So as far as power is concerned, I seem to have all I need. What I'm wondering is, is there any efficiency advantage to a higher voltage, or higher power motor? Could I maybe get more range, or less battery wear by using a system that has more power than I really need, rather than pushing my 250W motor harder? I see that so many bikes use higher voltages and wattages, even when they are still topped out at 20MPH, so I assume there must be some advantage.

I'm also looking into these issues because I'm thinking about making a home-built trike just for fun, and as a better grocery-getter.

Gary-I agree with Mark's comment. You are only 150lbs and with a 250 watt motor, sounds like it is pushing you just fine. I asked the same question when purchasing my ebike. I am at 135lbs and my 350 watt motor on my ebike pushes me along at fast and furious speeds that are more than adequate. I can top out at 22.5 mph without a whole lot of exertion I asked about a 500 watt motor and they indicated it is too much power for someone in my weight class.

I like the concept of the Hilltopper. I was thinking on making one of my mtn bikes into an electric with the kit. Sounds like it is performing well! Ride safe!

BreakAes
4 months ago

I need some help finding the best electric conversion kit for my needs.

I'm probably going to end up buying a Sun Seeker Fat Tad trike, since it seems to offer the best bang for the buck when it comes to fat tire trikes for off-roading.

My questions are, what's the best electric conversion kit for this trike? And should I have it done professionally, or attempt to do it myself to save money?

So far I'm aware of the E-Bike Kit company from the EBR video on the Fat Tad e-trike. They sell a completed, ready to ride out of the box e-trike here: https://www.electrictrike.com/collections/electric-trikes/products/fat-tad-cxs-tadpole-electric-trike

And I called Utah Trikes earlier and got their pricing: Fat Tad CXS: $1,899, with 500 watt Bafang mid-drive motor: http://www.utahtrikes.com/PROD-11619645.html - $795, and 36v 13.5 amp hour Panasonic battery (I believe it's this one: https://lunacycle.com/36v-panasonic-bottle-battery-sondors-compatible-upgrade-replacement/ but I'll need to confirm on Monday): $389 - Total: $3,083. And I'll need to get installation charge, and shipping pricing.

There's also a somewhat local company that could do it. I'd need to call them for specifics.

I want to get the absolute best products for the best prices that I can, so are there other recommendations for converting the Fat Tad trike to an e-trike?

Let me know, thanks!

BreakAes
4 months ago

Today I was able to try the Rad Mini, and a step-through Electra. It's not safe for me to ride a bike, at least for now. I am thinking about getting a scooter that I can go off-road with, for traveling with a truck camper though. Any thoughts on what would be good for that? Something like a scooter version of a Rad Mini might be cool.

I was able to try a Catrike Trail, non-electric version. For working out my legs, I'm strongly leaning towards getting something like the Sun Seeker Fat Tad e-trike: https://electricbikereview.com/sun-seeker/fat-tad-electric-trike/

I want the fat tires for off-roading, so is this the e-trike to get? Or are there competitors?

If I want it, should I get it from here: https://www.electrictrike.com/collections/electric-trikes/products/fat-tad-cxs-tadpole-electric-trike

Or should I buy a battery and motor kit elsewhere, and do a custom electric conversion?

Ideally I'd like to find a used one in excellent condition to save money. Any ideas on where these might pop up for sale? I'll ask at the Bent Rider Online forums as well.

Thanks.

Robert W Green
4 months ago

So I'm about to pull the trigger and buy an e-bike (yay!). However, I am concerned about service. I'm OK traveling 30 or 40 miles to an e-bike shop once or twice for the initial purchase, but not basic maintenance year after year.

Do you have any suggestions for finding a local e-bike mechanic (Long Beach, CA) competent to work on (my) bike? Questions to ask, things to look for when visiting the shop, etc.? Are the differences between e- and non-e bikes small enough that skilled bike mechanics can work on everything other than the motor and battery? Does it matter in this regard whether the bike's mid-drive or hub drive? ... Sorry for all the Q's!!

Beeline bikes will come to you in their awesome mobile bike shops and fix your nonebike issues and depending on the tech some of your ebike issues. Also Southern California is the ebike capitol of the USA, do a google search and I bet you'll find a lbs that will help you. Things have have changed since I bought a recumbent trike and a ridekick power trailer. Back then I was a double heretic for the recumbent nature of my bike and the electric motor in my trailer. Now my lbs has an entire section for ebikes and recumbent and erecumbents. Is that a word?

MikeDD
6 months ago

My wife has a Liberty trike. I would not let the smaller wheels stop you from buying. It has plenty of power and is able to climb very steep hills.

One thing you do not get pedal assist, the hand throttle is how you control the electric assist. My wife has MS and the low height of the Liberty makes it easier to climb on since she has to lift one of her legs with her hands

Good luck in your search.

Bicyclista
6 months ago

Have you considered electric trikes? Court has reviewed a number of them. Personally, I would go for the "tadpole" style, where there two wheels in front and one in back. The tadpole configuration is more stable in turns. (I remember as a child being thrown off my trike because I took a turn too quickly!) Yes, most of the tadpole trikes are recumbent, and that may or may not appeal to you.

Matt A
7 months ago

So, Rohloff Delite GX HS it was. I reached out to Chris Nolte of Propel and (at my prodding) he was kind enough to offer a modest discount on his floor model, but with the proviso that I had to wait for him to take delivery of another one before he sent the demo to me. Fair enough. Chris was good to his word re: estimated delivery time. Three weeks passed and sure enough, he got the new demo in and made arrangements to have the bike brought to my office on a Sunday afternoon (I live in a small city an hour or so north of NYC). Nice of him to go out of the way and offer to deliver as I had some personal things going on that would have kept me from picking it up within the next week or so.

First impressions: Sweet! Only 22 demo miles on the odometer. I already had a few alterations and additions in mind (guess that is the male version of "accessorizing") , but the essential core was all there - substantial frame, nice components, obviously well thought out, maybe a bit over-engineered - if that is even possible. Being purpose built exclusively as an e-bike, nothing about it has that "aftermarket-afterthought" feel. Solid as can be. No pretensions of being anything but a steady road warrior, capable of taking hard knocks and shrugging off the usual daily insults from the two ton motorized behemoths one encounters on the daily commute. Yeah, kind of a motorcycle feel, but still very much a vehicle that requires human input to motivate. Pretty heavy, but I had spent a lot of time in another life piloting touring bikes loaded down with four panniers and 50-69 additional lbs of gear, so I knew I wouldn't be phased by the weight that the two batteries and Bosch motor entailed. This thing knows it's purpose: built to bull through most stuff, on or off road, without the rider wondering if something is going to crack, snap off, or otherwise make things unpleasant.

As things go, the first week that I had it turned out to be nasty weather-wise. Record low temps, mixed precipitation. I think I clicked maybe 15 miles total over the over the first few days. On the first nice day, the following Sunday, I put 30 + miles on it. Super happy with it. Went on road and on trail. The brakes, suspension, beefy 27.5" tires, and power package all work well together. It's not a "pocket rocket", as we used to refer to certain motorcycles way back when, but the whole package works as advertised. I am liking it a lot. The Rohloff gives it an awesome low range, though I would like to get a bit more headroom at high speed ie. have pedal input over 30 mph. I did get the bike over 40 mph, but that was going down a big hill with inertia being the only motivator. In day to day riding, that really isn't a factor and I guess I could always put a smaller cog on the Rohloff at some point (but probably won't). At high speed, I had total confidence and the suspension ably handled a surprise pothole around 35 mph. Why potholes in NY in the spring should be a surprise, I don't know, but it was a substantial one nonetheless and the bike pretty much took it in stride. Power assist is just about right. At first you find yourself obsessing over the (4) available ranges, but I find myself pretty much either running it on tour or turbo mode. You definitely know that all those micro adjustments for shifting and human pedal effort are going on in the Bosch brain, but for the most part it just does that job well and it works rather seamlessly. After the first 100 or so miles, I was over any second thoughts about not having gotten a "throttle" type e-assist or opting for more power. Despite the added weight of the electric assist components, the pedal effort vs. a non-electric bike is reduced by maybe 50%, Works for me. The Intuvia controller is pretty straight forward. Almost like a typical bike computer but with power functions added. It took some getting used to not having the wealth of detailed data that the Cycle Analyst produces on my EcoSpeed trike setup, but simplicity is a good thing too. I am curious, Matt, how your Nyon is working out for you.

Time to start using the bike on a daily commuting basis. And then a few hiccups occur . . .
I enjoyed reading everything you wrote. I am glad I got the NuVinci, but only because of my riding stlye. The Rohloff is definitely better. I use the bike for going to a number of destinations around the city and I like to get done quickly, so I am constantly shifting as I ride around very quickly. If I owned a Rohloff, I'd likely get used to it but when I tried a demo I just hated it. I have been testing the limits of the bike a lot, and have crashed a number of times. The bike never gets hurt really, and the Nyon back is scuffed up from a couple spills but still works great. It is very detailed and I like looking at my rides afterwards. I ride almost always in Turbo, I only ride in Tour if I will be running out of battery. Hard to believe I know, but I frequently do over 60 miles on the bike at once. I am really looking forward to upgrading the suspension on the bike and having a set of MTB tires for off-roading. I have been testing the limits of the bike and have fallen off a number of times, so once I upgrade the rear shock and fork, I want to avoid scratching them lol.

There are a lot of paved trails near me and also some dirt and gravel trails too. I went up a steep climb on a 6 inch wide dirt path covered in roots and boulders like it was nothing. Coming back down was a bit scary with the Super Moto X tires that have 1500 miles of wear on them, I am sure I will feel much more confident with some nobby nics on like the GX has I believe. I never did any trail riding before, but I really had a blast trying it out and will be doing a lot of it in the future.

More on the Nyon, I really am glad I upgrades. It just looks so much cooler and gives you a ton of information. I know the exact battery percentage as well which is a plus since steep sections of a ride can really distort the range for the overall ride. You can see a map of your path and can see your altitude, cadence, speed, and power output and any point along the ride. I like the navigation, but it is not as good as Google Maps. It is just like using a tomtom or garmin sat nav. The directions are fine but the city has a lot of close streets, it would be nice to see the street names on the map but it just shows the roads with no names. Sometimes of course navigation lags a little, so it would be nice to see the name of the roads on screen. It does not show the names of random streets around you on the map, nor the name of the street you are supposed to turn onto next, and also not the street you are currently on. No street names, just an animation to follow. I really just like the Nyon for how it looks, the Intuvia works fine but it is such a simple display on a bike that has so much more to offer (not to mention it looks high tech).

The Nyon display does take a few extra seconds to load up, and sometimes restarts during a ride (not often). The good thing though is that the power assist works from the second you hit the power button, even though the display is loading. And when the Nyon restarts mid-ride for no reason, the assist never stops, so really doesn't bother me. One other thing is that the Nyon does not allow me to turn on the High Beam of my Supernova M99 Pro. The Intuvia light button worked for the high beam and also for turning it on during the day, but with the Nyon connected, the headlight is completely independent. It won't turn on when the sun is out, and won't turn off at night nor turn the high beam on, the light button is useless even though the light icon appears when I click it. Perhaps I need it to be changed to switchable from a shop, I have not checked yet. Worst case scenario I will have to attach the high beam button that came with the light, but it will not reach my handlebars since the light is mounted on the fork crown. I like it better there, the lighting is perfect and cars can see my lights better in their mirrors because it is at the same level as car headlights. I will have to epoxy the button onto the actualy light or something lol.

Hugh
7 months ago

I have decided to use the brakes and electrics on my Bionx 500 equipped EVO road bike and build a 3 wheeled electric recumbent trike. I bought the plans, got the steel tube and have started the project. The style is called a tadploe trike which means the 2 wheels are in front and 1 wheel in back It is called the Warrior and i got the plans from a site called Atomic Zombie. The frame is made from 1/16" or 16 gauge 1 1/2" square tubing. You need a few parts from discarded bikes. The headsets from 3 old bikes are cut down and used in the steering assembly. A bottom bracket from one bike is also used. After i bought the plans there was the annual police bicycle auction where stolen and not claimed bikes are auctioned off. It just happens to be less than a block from my home. So i picked up 3 old bikes for $20 apiece. A grinder with cut wheels and a flap disc was used to cut them up and polish the pieces i needed. I also have a small 110 volt welder which is more the sufficient for the job. The BionX wheel is 28" in diameter and will be used as the rear drive unit. The EVO has 2 180 mm Tektro disc rotors which fit the front wheels. The front wheels were the most expensive components so far. You need 20" rims BMX style rims so I used my LBS and ordered 2 20mm disc ready hubs, 2 double wall 36 spoke 20" rims and had them lace the wheels up. Two 6" long 5/8th" fine thread bolts will be the front axles, those needed some 5/8ths" bronze bushings and one wrap of .010 shim to make them fit the 20mm hubs nice and snug. So far I have the main part of the frame built, the wheels all ready and will be making the front arms that hold the wheels and steering. It is a step by step process. The reason for this build is one - comfort and two- i like building things and 3 - bikes, in particular electric bikes are great.

1/3
Drumulac
7 months ago

So, Rohloff Delite GX HS it was. I reached out to Chris Nolte of Propel and (at my prodding) he was kind enough to offer a modest discount on his floor model, but with the proviso that I had to wait for him to take delivery of another one before he sent the demo to me. Fair enough. Chris was good to his word re: estimated delivery time. Three weeks passed and sure enough, he got the new demo in and made arrangements to have the bike brought to my office on a Sunday afternoon (I live in a small city an hour or so north of NYC). Nice of him to go out of the way and offer to deliver as I had some personal things going on that would have kept me from picking it up within the next week or so.

First impressions: Sweet! Only 22 demo miles on the odometer. I already had a few alterations and additions in mind (guess that is the male version of "accessorizing") , but the essential core was all there - substantial frame, nice components, obviously well thought out, maybe a bit over-engineered - if that is even possible. Being purpose built exclusively as an e-bike, nothing about it has that "aftermarket-afterthought" feel. Solid as can be. No pretensions of being anything but a steady road warrior, capable of taking hard knocks and shrugging off the usual daily insults from the two ton motorized behemoths one encounters on the daily commute. Yeah, kind of a motorcycle feel, but still very much a vehicle that requires human input to motivate. Pretty heavy, but I had spent a lot of time in another life piloting touring bikes loaded down with four panniers and 50-69 additional lbs of gear, so I knew I wouldn't be phased by the weight that the two batteries and Bosch motor entailed. This thing knows it's purpose: built to bull through most stuff, on or off road, without the rider wondering if something is going to crack, snap off, or otherwise make things unpleasant.

As things go, the first week that I had it turned out to be nasty weather-wise. Record low temps, mixed precipitation. I think I clicked maybe 15 miles total over the over the first few days. On the first nice day, the following Sunday, I put 30 + miles on it. Super happy with it. Went on road and on trail. The brakes, suspension, beefy 27.5" tires, and power package all work well together. It's not a "pocket rocket", as we used to refer to certain motorcycles way back when, but the whole package works as advertised. I am liking it a lot. The Rohloff gives it an awesome low range, though I would like to get a bit more headroom at high speed ie. have pedal input over 30 mph. I did get the bike over 40 mph, but that was going down a big hill with inertia being the only motivator. In day to day riding, that really isn't a factor and I guess I could always put a smaller cog on the Rohloff at some point (but probably won't). At high speed, I had total confidence and the suspension ably handled a surprise pothole around 35 mph. Why potholes in NY in the spring should be a surprise, I don't know, but it was a substantial one nonetheless and the bike pretty much took it in stride. Power assist is just about right. At first you find yourself obsessing over the (4) available ranges, but I find myself pretty much either running it on tour or turbo mode. You definitely know that all those micro adjustments for shifting and human pedal effort are going on in the Bosch brain, but for the most part it just does that job well and it works rather seamlessly. After the first 100 or so miles, I was over any second thoughts about not having gotten a "throttle" type e-assist or opting for more power. Despite the added weight of the electric assist components, the pedal effort vs. a non-electric bike is reduced by maybe 50%, Works for me. The Intuvia controller is pretty straight forward. Almost like a typical bike computer but with power functions added. It took some getting used to not having the wealth of detailed data that the Cycle Analyst produces on my EcoSpeed trike setup, but simplicity is a good thing too. I am curious, Matt, how your Nyon is working out for you.

Time to start using the bike on a daily commuting basis. And then a few hiccups occur . . .

WaderII
4 weeks ago

Alec looks a lot like Actor Kevin Sussman from The Big Bang Theory! Good video!! Thanks very much!!

Kurtwell
3 months ago

Is this legal in Europe? How are you going to climb sidewalks with it?

Paul
9 months ago

How often do people crash these? How easy do they roll over?

Paul
7 months ago

Thank you

Richard Sanabia
7 months ago

With the 26" rear wheel the tendency to lift the wheel came a lot sooner than with the 20 or 16" wheels. Steer smooth and slow, lean and you'll be safe

Richard Sanabia
7 months ago

I think I would rework the rack and lower the battery pack to lower the center of gravity. The 20" wheel is much less prone to rollover than the 26" or 700 wheels so popular nowadays. On a twisty fast downhill I easily lift the inside wheel and with the 20 or 16" wheels I can go a lot faster through the same corners.

Ramon McNally
10 months ago

perfect for UberEats delivery in NYC. 😂

Seb K
10 months ago

With trikes in the city could be a problem as cycle lanes are very narrow and this thing would either take up the entire lane or go over the line .

Also with potholes if you try and avoid them and turn sharply you could lose control and flip, if you hit one it could disrupt your handling abruptly and make you lose control and if you try and get the hole between the wheels you will hit it with the rear wheel .

Finally being so low to the ground it would make it hard for drivers to see you and half of them are blind as it is .

Seb K
9 months ago

No but then on a bike you can shift your body and tuck your elbows in .

Pops Bents
9 months ago

Not entirely true. On a quick look a trike is wider than a bike, however, when you factor in the width of the rider (elbow to elbow) there is not really that much difference. Most trikes are not much wider than a riders distance from elbow to elbow.

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

All valid points, recumbents are imperfect for me, my back and neck are sensitive to the body position (especially with a helmet) but some people say it works super well for them. I just cover what's there and try to let people decide for themselves, it's nice if you can test ride first or maybe visualize what it would be like riding and encountering different conditions like you described. Thanks for sharing Seb

Alex Paulsen
10 months ago

Radial lacing on a hub motor... I hate electric bikes for compromising the years of development in bicycle standards, and I make my living selling and servicing electric bikes.

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Hey Alex, can you please clarify what you mean by radial lacing on a hub motor? I'd like to better understand so maybe I can call this out on future reviews and gain perspective

Tom Thumb
10 months ago

I really like this trike. The price is right, fast and good looking. The thing I don't like is that it is very noisy.

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Hey Tom! I think it could be adjusted to quiet down a little... I noticed the "click, click, click" happening when editing this footage, lol

Fubritzu
10 months ago

Excellent. I really like this trike. Man you need to see a doctor about your immune system. You're getting sick way too often.

Richard
2 months ago

Fubritzu I

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Haha, thanks! I've been spending more money lately to stay at Airbnb vs. sleeping in my car. Maybe I'm just not that tuff? Can't drink milk, have allergies and just seem to get under the weather even though I'm full of energy most of the time :D

Brad Fregger
10 months ago

What impresses me the most is the production quality of these video reviews. As the cameraman, reviewer, etc. he does a fantastic job. Sure would like to know how he does it.

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Thanks for the positive energy, if you feel like supporting the site you can donate to PayPal through the forum (there's a little statement and link after the first posts on all threads). That money goes towards supporting Ann M. she's the moderator and used to run an ebike shop! In this way, it sort of gets reinvested in the community: https://electricbikereview.com/forum/ currently the forum is offline due to database issues... difficult week for site stability ;)

NovaColonel
10 months ago

So do I, Court's channel is among the most sophisticated on youtube. There's few other channels dedicated to electric bikes and none comes even close to his level of quality and quantity. The website is of another world, so comprehensive.
I'd love if there was a way to tip him....

Brad Fregger
10 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com I'm the old guy living in Austin and moving to Iowa. I wanted a wanted a simple form of transportation for small town Iowa and you were kind enough to make a suggestion as a good choice. Regardless, I love your reviews so I watch them.

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Hey Brad! Thanks for the compliment... I just do my best, learning as I go and enjoying the connections along the way. I believe in community, health and sustainability so it's kind of inspiring to help get the word out and maybe make the space accessible for people on a budget or in a tight space looking for options. I also live in my car occasionally to stay humble while traveling the beautiful countryside :P how did you get into ebikes?!

Jamesdavis911
10 months ago

Was waiting for this review then last night I found my x-seam is to long for this model. :( tad bit over 47inches with shoes on.
The Sun-Ecotad looks fun as well and might be a better fit. I'm also a bigger guy in general 6'2 close to 300lbs(which I carry very well) but even big guy like to ride sporty things :-) .

Great reviews I been watching over a dozen reviews so far with upright bikes, i knew nothing about E-bikes until this past month watching EBR thanks for the work you put in Court.

Also Alec seems like a cool guy.

Jamesdavis911
10 months ago

I noticed they include stock the XL boom with the cobra and wonder if the XL adds more length or is that still the considered stock from factory?.I need to ask Utah trikes a lot of questions it's where i spend half my day looking at trikes online due to their selection lol.

So how do you like the seat on the cobra? i may have to get a custom wider seat for my big butt, that just adds more money to the thing.
I think a little off road is okay like on dirt path with tiny dips and twigs, no mountain bike off roading like some use the cobra for.

I appreciate the replies thanks once more.

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

My left knee hurts me after lots of riding and climbing... sometimes after sitting a lot (driving) and even doing short ride test reviews. Sux

DragonsKindler
10 months ago

Jamesdavis911 42/32 with a x-seam 2 inches longer the manufacturer recommends. The Cobra is the on I got and has a 300lbs road limit. Off-road rated @ 210lbs but I had a bit of a joyride through the roots and into a new house construction site (for kicks) the construction is 45x45mm square tube with a 1.2mm wall thickness seems strong enough. the manufacturer and UtahTrikes answered all my questions. food for thought tho

Jamesdavis911
10 months ago

I will wait until I get my weight under control before I get an ebike, I lost 30lbs last summer and put most of that back on because of a very stressful situation.
I want an ebike to help with hills because my right knee bothers me after long periods of riding and hill climbing. I have a specialized Hardrock mountain bike I converted into and upright computer type bike and somehow it holds my lard butt.

Thank you.

Jamesdavis911
10 months ago

Thanks for the reply, guess I will have to ask the shop I may buy from in the future what they think about the x-seam length.
we may be about the same height but i could have a longer x-seam or shorter for that matter. I was looking at the KMX cobra but heard the frame is rather weak for what it is and at my weight I need to lose some Lbs first before taking the plunge and destroying the trike. Trike buying is Tough especially when I don't have a shop around here to test any :-(.

ShimShamFPV
10 months ago

Dude has fangs

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

You're right?!! Wow... interesting topic actually. I ground my teeth down as a kid before I got braces and later on had a dentist add back the normal shapes so my little friendly fangs are actually FAKE! But Alec has real ones >:D