Sun Seeker EZ-3 HD Electric Trike Review

Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd Electric Trike Review
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd Direct Drive Gearless Hub Motor 500 Watts
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd 48 Volt 10 Amp Hour Battery
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd Contoured Foam Seat
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd Comfort Mesh Back Rest
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd High Tensile Tig Steel Frame Handlebars
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd Sram 21 Speed Cassette
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd Sram X3 Drivetrain
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd Portable 3 Amp Charger
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd Electric Trike Review
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd Direct Drive Gearless Hub Motor 500 Watts
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd 48 Volt 10 Amp Hour Battery
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd Contoured Foam Seat
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd Comfort Mesh Back Rest
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd High Tensile Tig Steel Frame Handlebars
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd Sram 21 Speed Cassette
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd Sram X3 Drivetrain
Sun Seeker Ez 3 Hd Portable 3 Amp Charger

Summary

  • A heavy duty electric trike designed to support up to 400 lbs of weight, powered by a 1,000-Watt peak gearless hub motor running off a 48 volt Lithium-ion battery pack
  • Open platform allows you to swap battery brands, adjust the top speed and amp flow to change performance vs. efficiency, large bright display panel is easy to work with
  • Delta layout (two wheels in the back) is easier to mount but rear-heavy, the front wheel can spin easier, there's no cargo rack and the battery covers both bottle cage bosses
  • The display panel isn't mounted as securely, the trike itself is heavy at 99 lbs, the front wheel flops to the side and requires more strength to steer at times, the suspension is basic with short-travel and minimal adjustment

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Sun Seeker

Model:

EZ-3 HD Electric Trike

Price:

$2,305 ($350 Shipping, Fully Assembled Ready to Ride)

Body Position:

Recumbent

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

99 lbs (44.9 kg)

Battery Weight:

9.3 lbs (4.21 kg)

Motor Weight:

12.8 lbs (5.8 kg)

Frame Material:

High Tensile Tig Welded Steel

Geometry Measurements:

59.5″ (151 cm) Wheel Base, 78″ (198 cm) Overall Length, 32″ (81 cm) Width, 18″ (45 cm) Seat Height

Frame Types:

Trike

Frame Colors:

Silver

Frame Fork Details:

High Tensile Steel, KSPEED 261 Mid-Frame Bumper Suspension

Gearing Details:

21 Speed 3x7 SRAM X-3, 13-28T

Shifter Details:

SRAM Grip Shift on Left and Right

Cranks:

170 mm Cranks, 30-42-52T Chainrings, Microshift Derailleur

Pedals:

Wellgo LU-812 Alloy Platform, Cage Style

Headset:

1″ Steel

Stem:

Alloy

Handlebar:

Steel

Brake Details:

Winzip-MM Mechanical Disc with 160 mm Rotors in Back Wheels, Promax Linear Pull in Front Wheel, Wuxing Levers with Motor Inhibitor and Parking Latch

Grips:

Flat Rubber, Locking

Saddle:

Alloy Frame, Contoured Foam Seat, Padded Mesh Back

Seat Post:

Rans Style Seat Slide

Rims:

Alloy Double Walled, 48 Hole, Stainless Nipples and Eyelets

Spokes:

Front Stainless 12G Silver, Rear Stainless 14G Black

Tire Brand:

Maxxis Hookworm, 20" x 1.95"

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)

Tire Details:

85 to 110 PSI

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

Adjustable Angle Seat with Removable Cover, Heavy-Duty Torque Arm for Motor Mount

Other:

Locking Removable Battery, 1.5 lb 3 Amp Charger, 400 lb Max Weight Limit

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Electric Bike Technologies

Motor Type:

Front-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

1000 watts

Motor Torque:

33 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Electric Bike Technologies

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

10 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

480 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

10 miles (16 km)

Estimated Max Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Display Type:

King Meter, Fixed, Backlit, Monochrome LCD

Readouts:

Battery Level (5 Bars), Speed, Avg. Speed, Max Speed, Power Level (0-5), Odometer, Trip A, Trip B

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle (12 Magnet Pedelec Sensor)

Top Speed:

26 mph (42 kph) (Adjustable Speed, PAS Sensitivity, Current)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The Sun Seeker EZ-3 HD is a “heavy duty” stand alone recumbent Delta trike. That is, a three-wheeled bicycle with two wheels in the back Delta style that can accommodate up to 400 lbs of passenger weight… and most of the weight will likely be coming from the rider because there aren’t any racks and the add-on battery pack that Electric Bike Technologies added is taking up most of the seat back support arms. There are two bottle cage bosses here but they are covered up on this model. So why not have two wheels in the front and a rack in the rear? Why not mount the battery somewhere else? This design is much easier to stand over and sit down on than most Tadpole style trikes (those with two wheels up front). As for the battery, I believe this was just the best option for accessibility given that it’s easier to plug into and even remove from this spot. All in all, I’d call this an average electric bike, one that has some real trade-offs to consider in design (uncomfortable throttle placement, basic suspension, generic brakes) but keeps the price low and makes it possible for a different audience to engage. If you’re a heavier person, this is one of the few e-trikes available at all and it’s sportier and more bicycle-like than the Worksman Cycles PAV3 (also converted by Electric Bike Technologies). One thing that I really love about it is how adjustable the control settings are and how open the battery and controller are to being upgraded or replaced by third-party options.

Driving the trike is an impressive 500 watt gearless hub motor mounted into the front wheel. The side effects of having such a large and powerful motor are that it can move the heavier frame and rider… but also takes more work to steer and may spin out. Perhaps the settings on my demo bike were mellowed out however because it did not feel especially zippy. Smoother acceleration saves power and is more predictable so that’s not a bad thing. I noticed the extra-large torque arm connecting the motor axle to the fork arm and was impressed by how quiet it performed. For those who live in hilly areas (even medium weight riders), do not expect this trike to carry you up hills without helping. The motor performs best when you gather some speed going in and if you help out by pedaling. And since you’ve got 21 gears to work with, pedaling is comfortable and a wide range of speeds. There’s even an extra large ring specifically for climbing in the rear cluster.

Powering the bike is a 48 volt 10.5 amp hour Lithium-ion battery with lightweight long lasting characteristics. The cells are contained in an Aluminum box with plastic end caps and the top has a handle making it easy to carry. I’m not thrilled with how and where it’s mounted but I can’t think of a better option without some custom designed platform mount which would likely increase the price. During my rides it worked well and was actually easier to take off than some of the in-basket designes on other trikes. The key is required to unlock and remove the pack (which slides off the left side of the seat rails) as well as to operate it. You insert the key, turn it all the way to on and then press the M button on the button pad control ring. This is something I love to gripe about because the key can jingle when riding if you’ve got a keychain connected… or even snag. Thankfully, at least inthe case of the Sun Seeker EZ-3 HD, the key is behind you and very clear of feet and arm movement while riding. Note that the battery charger resembles the battery itself, having an Aluminum case. It’s relatively light and compact but might still be difficult to cart along without some sort of custom bag solution. I often wear a backpack on the front of my body when testing trikes like this but that limits airflow… Perhaps a little trailer would do?

Operating the trike is fun and interesting once they key is inserted and turned to “on” because you get lots of options and adjustments. Whether you want to limit the top speed, disable the throttle or pedal assist or adjust the Amp output (for smoother riding). Even adjust how quickly pedal assist responds! It’s all doable here and I was told that the controller was setup with a custom power curve to match the battery pack for improved power drain accuracy. This is a great update considering some of the older batteries and displays used by Electric Bike Technologies were just basic LED readouts using sensitive Lead Acid batteries. In short, this trike is more open to adjustment which results in less complex unwanted behavior, slower riding for people with balance challenges and extended range for those who are willing to sacrifice the feelign of zippiness. The display itself is beautiful, very thin but large and easy to read. It’s adjustable forward and back, to reduce glare, but is not removable. This concerned me a little given how nice it looks… consider draping a shirt over it or something when parking to deter unwanted attention? I noticed that the wires from the display, motor, battery and controller were professionall gathered and strung along the frame and love that both brake levers have motor inhibitors built in (to cut power to the ebike systems the instant you pull them) and there’s a parking brake latch system to keep the trike from rolling away when you leave it.

At 99 lbs this trike can be a handful and there’s a $350 charge for shipping unless you can drive to Pennsylvania and pick it up. The team making these is US based, does a lot of hands on work to get products setup before delivery and you should be greeted by a large box with a product that is “ready to ride” as soon as you open and unpack it. While I love the idea of suspension, I feel that the larger tires, padded seat and upright body position all contribute equally to the comfort felt with the EZ-3. The suspension bumper itself offers limited travel and very limited adjustability. I’m not a super large rider myself and might steer towards another trike from ElectricTrike.com but completely appreciate that this one exists. It could be a real life changer for someone who hasn’t ridden bikes for a while and doesn’t have the flexibility, balance or endurance to ride with others but who still wants to go along (or maybe replace their car for short trips). Yes, I’m bummed about the limited storage but that can be overcome… just like the lack of lights and flag. Depending on where you live, with a bit of creativity this could turn into an awesome platform and be a joy to ride.

Pros:

  • You get 21 gear combinations to pedal with on this trike (along with an extra large 34 tooth sprocket in the back) which is great considering it weighs more, whether you’re climbing or striving to maintain the top assisted speed of 20 mph those gears will make it easier
  • For me, this trike was easier to stand over and mount because there’s just one wheel up front (vs. two on a tadpole trike) and the seat is slightly higher
  • In addition to the larger name brand tires (Maxxis Hookwork, nearly 2″ diameter) the padded saddle, flexible back rest and mid-frame bumper shock add to the comfort of the Sun Seeker EZ-3 HD, that’s important if you’re a larger person or just traveling faster and further than on an unpowered trike
  • I love that the seat slides forward and back to accommodate different leg lengths and that you can adjust the back rest angle for comfort, I tend to ride upright mysel
  • The wheels are reinforced with sturdy spokes (48 in the rear), reinforcement eyeletts and nipples to reduce cracking and breaking due to heavier loads and more force (especially the front wheel which has the motor spoked in)
  • Decent brakes with motor inhibitors in the brake levers and a parking latch so the trike won’t roll away, while the rear brakes are mechanical vs. hydraulic you do get two disc brakes vs. just one on the Sun Seeker Eco Delta
  • This e-trike gives you pedal assist, throttle on demand and has an open computer system allowing for integration with more after-market battery packs, you can also dial down the top speed and amp output for safety and efficiency
  • A 12-magnet cadence sensor detects pedal motion (and stops) much faster than some of the cheaper 6-magnet designs I’ve seen, because it’s cadence sensing you don’t need to push especially hard in order to activate the motor, you can just stretch your legs and pedal gently if you want but still get a boost
  • I think it’s great that you can order the Sun Seeker EZ-3 HD completely converted to electric, shipped directly to you ready to ride… but Electric Bike Technologies also sells the kits on their own so you could convert an existing trike too (they even have video tutorials)
  • I like the pedals they chose for this trike because they offer good traction, more surface area, they match the frame and just seemed sturdier
  • Given the added mechanical forces and weight at plan in the front wheel, I like that Electric Bike Technologies added an oversized torque arm to the front fork

Cons:

  • This is a heavier electric trike, weighing in at just under 100 lbs the Steel frame and handle bars are strong and lend to the Heavy Duty (HD) hame which can accommodate up to 400 lbs but as a result the bike itself weighs more too and may be difficult to transport or pedal (especially if it runs low on battery)
  • There’s no rear rack to mount a trunk bag or pannier to, it’s one of the big trade-offs I’ve seen with the Sun Seeker Delta trikes (that have two wheels in the back and one up front)
  • Electric Bike Technologies had to get creative when mounting their battery pack to the EZ-3 HD frame because there’s no rack, instead, they clamped it to the seat support arms which blocks both bottle cage mounting points
  • The trigger throttle was fit onto the right portion of the handle bars and set between the grip and twist shifter. For me, this felt uncomfortable and blocked shifting, I think it would be worth exploring a different trigger throttle design that could mount behind the grip twist and stick out further for easier use
  • The gearless hub motor they chose is powerful and seemed sturdy (they tend to be bulletproof) but adds more weight compared to geared and this impacts steering, when you let go of the bars the front wheel wants to flop to one side or the other so it takes a bit of extra arm strength to maneuver this thing
  • There are no integrated lights or flag pole accessories included here, these would be nic to have because they would improve convenience while enhancing safety… but you do get reflectors and the silver frame is more visible
  • At $2,305 you get a lot of bang for your buck with this trike but keep in mind their shipping is an extra $350 anywhere in the contiguous USA
  • The key must be left in the battery pack and switched to on when riding, it stays out of the way on this trike but might still jingle a bit if you’ve got a keychain attached
  • Because this bike uses a gearless hub motor, there is a bit of cogging (magnetic drag) happening with the front wheel vs. a geared hub motor

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Sun Seeker Reviews

Sun Seeker Fat Tad Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,435
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A full suspension, fat tire, recumbent electric trike designed for off-road fun on trails, sand or snow, powerful 500 watt rear-motor with throttle and pedal assist modes. Adjustable length boom and tilting seat accommodate a range of riders, large backlit display offers…...

Sun Seeker T3 CX Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,285
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A sleek, lightweight, recumbent electric trike with higher top speed and 24 gears, as a tadpole design your body and arms are more aerodynamic and laid back. Completely adjustable frame and mesh seat accommodate taller and shorter riders, those looking for a…...

Sun Seeker Eurus Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $2,435
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A fast, highly adjustable electric trike in the Delta style (with two wheels in the rear and one up front), easy to mount and park, camber in rear wheels keep it stable. Beautiful large display is easy to read and offers on/off backlighting control, optional top speed…...

Sun Seeker Eco Tad Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $1,875
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the most affordable recumbent tadpole trikes I've tested, you do have to pay an additional $350 for shipping but it comes "ready to ride" so you can hop right on. The 48 volt battery supports increased power and higher speeds for the 500 watt internally…...

Sun Seeker Eco Delta Electric Trike Review

  • MSRP: $1,835
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A recumbent electric trike with a higher seat, more relaxed bars and lower price point, the delta frame design positions one wheel in the front and two in the back. Highly adjustable seat angle and overall bike length for comfortable reach and pedaling, the chain…...


Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

MikeDD
3 weeks ago

My wife has a Liberty trike. I would not let the smaller wheels stop you from buying. It has plenty of power and is able to climb very steep hills.

One thing you do not get pedal assist, the hand throttle is how you control the electric assist. My wife has MS and the low height of the Liberty makes it easier to climb on since she has to lift one of her legs with her hands

Good luck in your search.

Bicyclista
4 weeks ago

Have you considered electric trikes? Court has reviewed a number of them. Personally, I would go for the "tadpole" style, where there two wheels in front and one in back. The tadpole configuration is more stable in turns. (I remember as a child being thrown off my trike because I took a turn too quickly!) Yes, most of the tadpole trikes are recumbent, and that may or may not appeal to you.

Matt A
1 month ago

So, Rohloff Delite GX HS it was. I reached out to Chris Nolte of Propel and (at my prodding) he was kind enough to offer a modest discount on his floor model, but with the proviso that I had to wait for him to take delivery of another one before he sent the demo to me. Fair enough. Chris was good to his word re: estimated delivery time. Three weeks passed and sure enough, he got the new demo in and made arrangements to have the bike brought to my office on a Sunday afternoon (I live in a small city an hour or so north of NYC). Nice of him to go out of the way and offer to deliver as I had some personal things going on that would have kept me from picking it up within the next week or so.

First impressions: Sweet! Only 22 demo miles on the odometer. I already had a few alterations and additions in mind (guess that is the male version of "accessorizing") , but the essential core was all there - substantial frame, nice components, obviously well thought out, maybe a bit over-engineered - if that is even possible. Being purpose built exclusively as an e-bike, nothing about it has that "aftermarket-afterthought" feel. Solid as can be. No pretensions of being anything but a steady road warrior, capable of taking hard knocks and shrugging off the usual daily insults from the two ton motorized behemoths one encounters on the daily commute. Yeah, kind of a motorcycle feel, but still very much a vehicle that requires human input to motivate. Pretty heavy, but I had spent a lot of time in another life piloting touring bikes loaded down with four panniers and 50-69 additional lbs of gear, so I knew I wouldn't be phased by the weight that the two batteries and Bosch motor entailed. This thing knows it's purpose: built to bull through most stuff, on or off road, without the rider wondering if something is going to crack, snap off, or otherwise make things unpleasant.

As things go, the first week that I had it turned out to be nasty weather-wise. Record low temps, mixed precipitation. I think I clicked maybe 15 miles total over the over the first few days. On the first nice day, the following Sunday, I put 30 + miles on it. Super happy with it. Went on road and on trail. The brakes, suspension, beefy 27.5" tires, and power package all work well together. It's not a "pocket rocket", as we used to refer to certain motorcycles way back when, but the whole package works as advertised. I am liking it a lot. The Rohloff gives it an awesome low range, though I would like to get a bit more headroom at high speed ie. have pedal input over 30 mph. I did get the bike over 40 mph, but that was going down a big hill with inertia being the only motivator. In day to day riding, that really isn't a factor and I guess I could always put a smaller cog on the Rohloff at some point (but probably won't). At high speed, I had total confidence and the suspension ably handled a surprise pothole around 35 mph. Why potholes in NY in the spring should be a surprise, I don't know, but it was a substantial one nonetheless and the bike pretty much took it in stride. Power assist is just about right. At first you find yourself obsessing over the (4) available ranges, but I find myself pretty much either running it on tour or turbo mode. You definitely know that all those micro adjustments for shifting and human pedal effort are going on in the Bosch brain, but for the most part it just does that job well and it works rather seamlessly. After the first 100 or so miles, I was over any second thoughts about not having gotten a "throttle" type e-assist or opting for more power. Despite the added weight of the electric assist components, the pedal effort vs. a non-electric bike is reduced by maybe 50%, Works for me. The Intuvia controller is pretty straight forward. Almost like a typical bike computer but with power functions added. It took some getting used to not having the wealth of detailed data that the Cycle Analyst produces on my EcoSpeed trike setup, but simplicity is a good thing too. I am curious, Matt, how your Nyon is working out for you.

Time to start using the bike on a daily commuting basis. And then a few hiccups occur . . .
I enjoyed reading everything you wrote. I am glad I got the NuVinci, but only because of my riding stlye. The Rohloff is definitely better. I use the bike for going to a number of destinations around the city and I like to get done quickly, so I am constantly shifting as I ride around very quickly. If I owned a Rohloff, I'd likely get used to it but when I tried a demo I just hated it. I have been testing the limits of the bike a lot, and have crashed a number of times. The bike never gets hurt really, and the Nyon back is scuffed up from a couple spills but still works great. It is very detailed and I like looking at my rides afterwards. I ride almost always in Turbo, I only ride in Tour if I will be running out of battery. Hard to believe I know, but I frequently do over 60 miles on the bike at once. I am really looking forward to upgrading the suspension on the bike and having a set of MTB tires for off-roading. I have been testing the limits of the bike and have fallen off a number of times, so once I upgrade the rear shock and fork, I want to avoid scratching them lol.

There are a lot of paved trails near me and also some dirt and gravel trails too. I went up a steep climb on a 6 inch wide dirt path covered in roots and boulders like it was nothing. Coming back down was a bit scary with the Super Moto X tires that have 1500 miles of wear on them, I am sure I will feel much more confident with some nobby nics on like the GX has I believe. I never did any trail riding before, but I really had a blast trying it out and will be doing a lot of it in the future.

More on the Nyon, I really am glad I upgrades. It just looks so much cooler and gives you a ton of information. I know the exact battery percentage as well which is a plus since steep sections of a ride can really distort the range for the overall ride. You can see a map of your path and can see your altitude, cadence, speed, and power output and any point along the ride. I like the navigation, but it is not as good as Google Maps. It is just like using a tomtom or garmin sat nav. The directions are fine but the city has a lot of close streets, it would be nice to see the street names on the map but it just shows the roads with no names. Sometimes of course navigation lags a little, so it would be nice to see the name of the roads on screen. It does not show the names of random streets around you on the map, nor the name of the street you are supposed to turn onto next, and also not the street you are currently on. No street names, just an animation to follow. I really just like the Nyon for how it looks, the Intuvia works fine but it is such a simple display on a bike that has so much more to offer (not to mention it looks high tech).

The Nyon display does take a few extra seconds to load up, and sometimes restarts during a ride (not often). The good thing though is that the power assist works from the second you hit the power button, even though the display is loading. And when the Nyon restarts mid-ride for no reason, the assist never stops, so really doesn't bother me. One other thing is that the Nyon does not allow me to turn on the High Beam of my Supernova M99 Pro. The Intuvia light button worked for the high beam and also for turning it on during the day, but with the Nyon connected, the headlight is completely independent. It won't turn on when the sun is out, and won't turn off at night nor turn the high beam on, the light button is useless even though the light icon appears when I click it. Perhaps I need it to be changed to switchable from a shop, I have not checked yet. Worst case scenario I will have to attach the high beam button that came with the light, but it will not reach my handlebars since the light is mounted on the fork crown. I like it better there, the lighting is perfect and cars can see my lights better in their mirrors because it is at the same level as car headlights. I will have to epoxy the button onto the actualy light or something lol.

Hugh
1 month ago

I have decided to use the brakes and electrics on my Bionx 500 equipped EVO road bike and build a 3 wheeled electric recumbent trike. I bought the plans, got the steel tube and have started the project. The style is called a tadploe trike which means the 2 wheels are in front and 1 wheel in back It is called the Warrior and i got the plans from a site called Atomic Zombie. The frame is made from 1/16" or 16 gauge 1 1/2" square tubing. You need a few parts from discarded bikes. The headsets from 3 old bikes are cut down and used in the steering assembly. A bottom bracket from one bike is also used. After i bought the plans there was the annual police bicycle auction where stolen and not claimed bikes are auctioned off. It just happens to be less than a block from my home. So i picked up 3 old bikes for $20 apiece. A grinder with cut wheels and a flap disc was used to cut them up and polish the pieces i needed. I also have a small 110 volt welder which is more the sufficient for the job. The BionX wheel is 28" in diameter and will be used as the rear drive unit. The EVO has 2 180 mm Tektro disc rotors which fit the front wheels. The front wheels were the most expensive components so far. You need 20" rims BMX style rims so I used my LBS and ordered 2 20mm disc ready hubs, 2 double wall 36 spoke 20" rims and had them lace the wheels up. Two 6" long 5/8th" fine thread bolts will be the front axles, those needed some 5/8ths" bronze bushings and one wrap of .010 shim to make them fit the 20mm hubs nice and snug. So far I have the main part of the frame built, the wheels all ready and will be making the front arms that hold the wheels and steering. It is a step by step process. The reason for this build is one - comfort and two- i like building things and 3 - bikes, in particular electric bikes are great.

1/3
Drumulac
1 month ago

So, Rohloff Delite GX HS it was. I reached out to Chris Nolte of Propel and (at my prodding) he was kind enough to offer a modest discount on his floor model, but with the proviso that I had to wait for him to take delivery of another one before he sent the demo to me. Fair enough. Chris was good to his word re: estimated delivery time. Three weeks passed and sure enough, he got the new demo in and made arrangements to have the bike brought to my office on a Sunday afternoon (I live in a small city an hour or so north of NYC). Nice of him to go out of the way and offer to deliver as I had some personal things going on that would have kept me from picking it up within the next week or so.

First impressions: Sweet! Only 22 demo miles on the odometer. I already had a few alterations and additions in mind (guess that is the male version of "accessorizing") , but the essential core was all there - substantial frame, nice components, obviously well thought out, maybe a bit over-engineered - if that is even possible. Being purpose built exclusively as an e-bike, nothing about it has that "aftermarket-afterthought" feel. Solid as can be. No pretensions of being anything but a steady road warrior, capable of taking hard knocks and shrugging off the usual daily insults from the two ton motorized behemoths one encounters on the daily commute. Yeah, kind of a motorcycle feel, but still very much a vehicle that requires human input to motivate. Pretty heavy, but I had spent a lot of time in another life piloting touring bikes loaded down with four panniers and 50-69 additional lbs of gear, so I knew I wouldn't be phased by the weight that the two batteries and Bosch motor entailed. This thing knows it's purpose: built to bull through most stuff, on or off road, without the rider wondering if something is going to crack, snap off, or otherwise make things unpleasant.

As things go, the first week that I had it turned out to be nasty weather-wise. Record low temps, mixed precipitation. I think I clicked maybe 15 miles total over the over the first few days. On the first nice day, the following Sunday, I put 30 + miles on it. Super happy with it. Went on road and on trail. The brakes, suspension, beefy 27.5" tires, and power package all work well together. It's not a "pocket rocket", as we used to refer to certain motorcycles way back when, but the whole package works as advertised. I am liking it a lot. The Rohloff gives it an awesome low range, though I would like to get a bit more headroom at high speed ie. have pedal input over 30 mph. I did get the bike over 40 mph, but that was going down a big hill with inertia being the only motivator. In day to day riding, that really isn't a factor and I guess I could always put a smaller cog on the Rohloff at some point (but probably won't). At high speed, I had total confidence and the suspension ably handled a surprise pothole around 35 mph. Why potholes in NY in the spring should be a surprise, I don't know, but it was a substantial one nonetheless and the bike pretty much took it in stride. Power assist is just about right. At first you find yourself obsessing over the (4) available ranges, but I find myself pretty much either running it on tour or turbo mode. You definitely know that all those micro adjustments for shifting and human pedal effort are going on in the Bosch brain, but for the most part it just does that job well and it works rather seamlessly. After the first 100 or so miles, I was over any second thoughts about not having gotten a "throttle" type e-assist or opting for more power. Despite the added weight of the electric assist components, the pedal effort vs. a non-electric bike is reduced by maybe 50%, Works for me. The Intuvia controller is pretty straight forward. Almost like a typical bike computer but with power functions added. It took some getting used to not having the wealth of detailed data that the Cycle Analyst produces on my EcoSpeed trike setup, but simplicity is a good thing too. I am curious, Matt, how your Nyon is working out for you.

Time to start using the bike on a daily commuting basis. And then a few hiccups occur . . .

Drumulac
1 month ago

How's it going with everything?

Wow, how time flies! I've been looking for a chunk of time to do a comprehensive review of my GX Rohloff and it is just not happening. So, I'll just do it piecemeal as time permits.

I've had the bike for maybe 5-6 weeks. Obviously, a quality piece of machinery, which it should be considering the "investment"! This is my second juiced pedal machine - as mentioned in previous posts, I have owned a Greenspeed GTO trike for 8 yrs now and installed an EcoSpeed boom mount kit on it last year. Comparison to the Delite is kind of an apples and oranges thing - the EcoSpeed motor is 1000 + watts vs. 350 watts for the Bosch, EcoSpeed is a throttle type vs. the Bosch pedelec system, I'm using (2) 48V 20 ah batteries for the EcoSpeed vs. (2) 36V 11 ah batteries for the Bosch, and of course, I'm comparing a three wheel vs. two wheel machine. The trike weighs a bit more with both batteries but has a much smaller wind resistance footprint. No suspension on the trike (could use it!) & the Delite is fully sprung. Similarities in that both machines are fully internally geared and both have a Rohloff as the final rear gearbox. Two different animals, for sure, utilizing different approaches to electric assist. I'll try to minimize my comparisons between the two (this is an R&M forum after all), but forgive me if I do so occasionally.

Reason for buying the Delite: I've been riding bicycles for umm . . . many years now, both recreation and commuting, and self-contained long distance touring. Owned/have owned way too may bikes (just ask my wife). Recently I came to the realization that my old body just ain't what it used to be and since electric assist technology is finally getting ironed out/practical, maybe it was time to give it a shot. Besides, it looked like it would add another fun dimension to the mix. I also had stopped commuting to work due to some knee issues. Pretty good hills along the route + you have to go up 15%-20% grades for a few blocks to get back to my house. Commuting on the newly juiced trike was not an option - not a great choice for in-town travel due to visibility issues. So, I thought I'd maybe mount an EcoSpeed on one of my road bikes. The more I considered it, the better the purpose built e-assist bikes looked; and besides, it is always more fun to get a new ride (wife does not agree). All the armchair online research inevitably led to the R&M bikes and from there it wasn't too much of a jump to the Delite Rohloff. I won't repeat my previous posts re: the Rohloff choice. I simply went with the known quantity (and quality) there, based on 8 yrs. experience with one. The proverbial "no-brainer" in gearing choice for me. I did go through some changes regarding pedelec vs. throttle type. The EcoSpeed on the trike has quite a bit of torque and can jump you off the line quickly with no pedal input at all, a consideration in sketchy traffic stop light situations, etc., but . . . I had demoed a few pedelec bikes and liked that they feel more like a bicycle than a moped.

To be continued - lunch break over!

mams99
1 month ago

That Tandem trike is gone... (being picked up tomorrow)... Really, we could do a regular tandem, probably with electric assistance, but even the ones I see, tall riders are usually in the front? Women in back? (though it would/could be my husband and I switching back and forth). Egad... stuff is so expensive and it's a double whammy because of special needs.

Ann M.
2 months ago

No ebike is perfect, this is a thread dedicated to sharing known issues or problems with electric trikes from Liberty Trikes as well as any help and solutions you know of. Sometimes that means a DIY fix and other times it can mean a recall, software update or part replacement by a dealer.

Please be respectful and constructive with feedback, this is not a space for hate speech. In many cases, representatives from the company will see feedback and use it to improve their product. In the end, the goal is to enjoy riding and help each other go further and be safer.

Sally
3 months ago

Hi all. :)

I'm addicted.

I got into having an electric assist bike last fall when I purchased a pedicab just for my own personal enjoyment.

I want to share what led up to me buying the Latch:

We had a disaster last month: The battery (Rechargeable Power Energy aka: RPE) ignited and caused a serious garage fire. The contents of my garage and the bike were a total loss. It could have been worse - the garage is detached from the house (so no significant fumes got in the house) and there was no loss of life, etc. Had the fire started at a different time, it could have easily taken down the neighbor's house if the garage had blown, etc.

In the end, there is probably about $40,000-$50,000 worth of loss that happened - but think of how it could have been a million dollar house and loss of life, etc. This was *petty* in perspective to a company that supposedly does big business. But RPE could *not* be worse to deal with. Just horrible beyond belief.

This made me soooo sad!!! I truly enjoyed having the "trike"...

RPE wouldn't even discuss the situation and they avoid this issue (just rude and they hang up the phone!) by saying I was not their customer! Horrible. (and I have a packing slip from them showing they sent the battery to me!) Anyway... just had to share that.

Here was happier times...

I'm still getting another cab like this - we're picking it up next week. But to satiate my need for a little sunshine and outdoors time, I got the Latch.

Gotta say that coming off of my trike on on to a 2-wheeler was a bit of a transition!

I do not commute anywhere (I work from home) .. but I like having a bike to do little runs to the grocery store or to go to the coffee shop, etc. I try to take the bike whenever the weather is decent (dry and above 30 degrees.)

I decked out my Latch with the pannier bags. I also have a set of bungees that hold that market basket on the back. My computer bag can fit inside that basket. I also have a speaker bungee'd under the seat (pedicabber trait - tunes go hand in hand with biking) :)

I'll say that I'm spoiled by having the assist for being able to scoot across intersections, etc. The cab (it had a mid drive motor) was fun because when you pull up to somewhere and have to stop, you just *stop*, *sit*, and hang out. When it's time to get movin', you can just throw some weight into the crank and get the bike moving easier than starting on a 2 wheeler. I do love that... so going to a 2 wheeler is .. .well... getting back into having a bike instead of the trike. :) I am thinking that when the new pedicab gets here, this Latch might not get used as much. The cabs are just so fun.

But.. I bought the Latch to have some versatility. I can't easily take my cab anywhere I go without dealing with a trailer, etc... but the Latch can come with me on any trips by just putting it in the back of the SUV or my RV.

The power of the assist on the Latch really did surprise me. I am not out for speed... I'm out to enjoy the ride and get some exercise. I leave the bike on "3" (highest gear) and I usually leave the assist on 1 or 2 (it goes to 5).

So far, the longest ride/day I've had it out was about 15 miles. The display said I still had well over 50% of juice left. Not bad.

I do like the display. It indicates how much power you are pulling from the assist. So, I try to keep that down to one bar while cruisin'. :)

I've read some reviews about the Latch being heavy, etc. I personally think that's a good thing. I appreciate the way this is built.

I do like having the doggie basket on the front of my bike.. but dealing with that weight just isn't suitable for this little bike - at least for me. I don't think I'd feel safe with any weight moving around up there.

One "con"... I'm not impressed with the headlight. I feel I have avoided using the Latch at night because it doesn't feel as safe as my well-lit pedicab. I truly enjoy riding at night.. so I might try to see what other options I could use to get a better headlight on this thing.

Overall, I'm loving this bike. I know I have a weird situation... I just wanted something that would be versatile to own alongside having the pedicab around for most uses. I'm pleased with my decision. This is a great little thing to own. :)

I also want to give a plug to Blue Monkey Bikes in Salt Lake City. They were exceptionally wonderful to deal with! Being 59, a woman, and overweight... it's easy to get snubbed when you go into a bike shop. ( I went into one bike shop last year - they didn't have the bike I was thinking of - and when I said I was interested in something "priced under about 4", the dude thought I meant $400 - omg - even though the other bike I came in to see was in the $3k range. Just sayin'... :) )

The guys at Blue Monkey were awesome and didn't throw any stupid attitude. It was a great transaction.

Ognyan Bozhilov
3 months ago

Hi,

my name is Ognyan Bozhilov. I'm leading a small team, based in Sofia (Bulgaria) and we're developing a new type of small, electric vehicle for city commuting. It's called 'Narcine' - a tilting, foldable trike. We already have a working prototype and we even raced it against a car to compare real life commuting times (see the link below:))Here're the brief technical specs:

Motor:500W, direct drive
Battery: 11,6 Ah
Max. Speed : 25km/h
Range: 20km.
Weight: about 25 kg.

https://www.narcine.com/

I'd love to hear your comments on the video and on the trike in general.
Cheers,
Ognyan.

Tom899
3 months ago

I have a new Mini, less than 10 miles on it. I think the bike is great and am really going to enjoy it! Like the rest of you I think it needs higher gearing. For me it's not so much that I want to go faster than 20-24mph, I'm not comfortable at cadence speeds above 80. I have an electric pedal assist recumbent trike that I put on a Schlumpf High-Speed drive. It is great! It increases both low and high gearing dramatically. I usually just leave it in the higher gear setting because it's flat where I live. I'm wondering if one will fit in the bottom bracket of the Mini? I'm going to research it. Here's my review of it on my trike. http://www.bentrideronline.com/messageboard/showthread.php?t=126797
And here is what it is all about. http://www.schlumpf.ch/hp/schlumpf/faq.getriebe.engl.htm#A
The disadvantage is cost.
Well, in the short time researching I did a measurement on the Mini bottom bracket and it's about 100 mm wide, which I think is way to wide for any of the Schlumpfs made. So far I come up with a spec of 68 up to 72mm and BSA size.

Tom899
3 months ago

I have a new Mini, less than 10 miles on it. I think the bike is great and am really going to enjoy it! Like the rest of you I think it needs higher gearing. For me it's not so much that I want to go faster than 20-24mph, I'm not comfortable at cadence speeds above 80. I have an electric pedal assist recumbent trike that I put on a Schlumpf High-Speed drive. It is great! It increases both low and high gearing dramatically. I usually just leave it in the higher gear setting because it's flat where I live. I'm wondering if one will fit in the bottom bracket of the Mini? I'm going to research it. Here's my review of it on my trike. http://www.bentrideronline.com/messageboard/showthread.php?t=126797
And here is what it is all about. http://www.schlumpf.ch/hp/schlumpf/faq.getriebe.engl.htm#A
The disadvantage is cost.

Oilseed
3 months ago

Hi JR.

Thank you very much for the reply and links to other solutions.
I checked them both.
The liberty looks good and has the twist grip, but the wheel are too small. if we could ge the larger diameter wheels, then it could be an option.
the Pedego (the model that was reviewed) is no longer being offered. They are revamping their trike solution. The rep at Pedego said 1t batch will ship end of March.
All presold to dealers.
the next production run will be end of July.
No specs or pics on their website, so I don't have the details on this yet. if anyone 'does' have the new info, please post.

just to note (to others reading this thread) the 'intent' was to 'inform' other elderly buyers of Electric TRIKEs that IZIP does NOT offer a proper throttle for this bike.
so before you put down your hard earned cash, be sure to ask the dealer (and tell them clearly, what you want.)

cheers

J.R.
3 months ago

Checkout these two trikes with throttle on demand as standard equipment. They might be better suited to your needs, especially the Liberty.

https://electricbikereview.com/liberty-trike/electric-tricycle/

https://electricbikereview.com/pedego/trike/

Alex M
3 months ago

I'm 'sure' they could offer a twist grip throttle for an electric bike/trike. yes?)

Bummer. Poor dealer/salesperson quality.

Why, of course twist throttles exist - at least as numerous as push-button, if not more. If you already got rid of your Izip, you can buy Sun Trike for much less: https://electricbikereview.com/sun-bicycles/24-traditional-electric-tricycle/. The red button is - I believe - reverse speed for throttle. Though I don't like the mere presence of the reverse - can be confusing for some people. Your dad wants it to be something like a scooter or Tesla car for a fraction of the cost, but ebike throttle is not designed to be used at all times. Wrist can get tired of twisting. Or a thumb, if this is a trigger/button. And, most of them are "zippy", with boost increasing from zero to full with a slight twist, like half-inch movement of the wrist.

Most shops would be able to replace the push-button with a twist-grip and move it from left to right handlebar for a modest fee.

Oilseed
3 months ago

My father, (who's 87 years young) ordered and received a IZIP E3Go recently. This is a TRIKE, and due to his age, his kids felt it would be 'safer' for him to ride (more stable than a 2 wheeler). He's had an electric 2 wheel bike for 8 years now. rides it everywhere. However, his current 2 wheel bike came with (and has) a 'twist grip throttle'. Not being electric bike owners ourselves (his children) but have owned and ridden motorcycles and scooters, we made the 'assumption' that 'ALL" electric bikes/trikes or power vehicles come equipped (standard) with 'twist grip throttles'. we discovered, too late, that this is not the case.
Al that is offered is a 'push button' 'boost' control. which does not perform as a throttle (similar to a motorcycles. scooter or like a foot control on a car.)
Not having this feature is a deal breaker, for my Dad (and I suspect it would be for many elderly people who just need a form of powered transportation, not a tool for exercise).

So, for those out there looking for a TRIKE with twist grip Throttle control, this is NOT your solution.
( I'm sure IZIP could offer this, why they do not.... Is a mystery. maybe they can reply?)

Oilseed
3 months ago

I'm new to the forum, so please forgive my ignorance.
I'm writing this reply for my Father (who's 87 years young). He's had 2 wheel electric bike for 8 years now.
it was built in Taiwan (Sorry, I don't know the model or Manufacturer). he rides it frequently to the store and to Church. Because of his age, we (his kids) were concerned that riding a
2 wheel bike (at his age) was a bit too risky and wanted him to get an ELECTRIC TRIKE. After scouring the internet for solutions, we found a local dealer who offered the IZIP E3GO.
Looking at the specification, it seems to be a great fit. My Dad placed the order (with the dealer saying "if you don't want the Trike, when delivered, it's a 25% restocking fee.)
the Trike cost $2500.
When the trike was delivered to the dealer and setup, my Dad went there to pick it up. After adding some options (basket etc) he gave them a Check (yes, he still does business with Checks)
He noticed that the Trike did not come equipped with a throttle (Twist Grip, like his current 2 wheel electric bike). so he asked for this to be added.
the Dealer said "we'll have to order that it will take another 4 weeks. So we waited.... The "throttle" arrived, and was installed. then they delivered the Trike to my Dad's home.
He looked at the trike and said "where's the twist grip throttle?" they showed him the PUSH BUTTONS you use for boost (on the left side of the handle bar, no less).
He tried to use those, but it was like riding a roller coaster, speed up.... then coast down... then speed up... Not acceptable.
I contacted IZIP directly to see if they could provide a Twist grip throttle. their reply. "Sorry, no bueno"! What???
not having a twist grip throttle on an electric bike is like ordering a hot dog (from a cart vendor) and getting no Bun. :-(

Not making (or providing) a twist grip throttle control for electric bikes makes NO sense. especially for 'anyone' who is in need of a 'TRIKE".
think about it for a second. Elderly people just want to 'go'. they don't want to pedal. if they wanted to do that. they would get a regular bike, yes?
again, my Dad is 87. so before you begin flying is with rebuttals. please keep this in mind.
Suffice it to say, the IZIP E3GO is headed back to the dealer (and my dad is out $650). and we're Not happy customers, with the dealer OR IZIP.
(note: if they can put a foot throttle on an electric car (i.e. Tesla), I'm 'sure' they could offer a twist grip throttle for an electric bike/trike. yes?)
or maybe the Tesla owners, 'peddle' their cars (like the Flintstones) to get it moving?? I'm just saying....

Fdiblasi
4 months ago

Hi Ann,

Here you can find the details of the tricycle:
https://jorviktricycles.com/product/jorvik-20-aluminium-electric-trike-adults-childs-tricycle-250w-36v-e-trike/

And this is an image of the piece that is currently broken. It has the info on voltage.

I cannot get a picture of the cables but if you don't manage to find the model I will upload it asap to this post.

Thank you very much!

1/1
Fred in Seattle
4 months ago

I was looking at Brooks seats for the Rad Mini which I don't have yet. (debating between between the Mini or Mariner but leaning toward the Mini).
I'm 65 years old and usually ride an ICE electric trike. I want the Mini for it's folding capability.
Seat and back comfort is important. I'm thinking of a BodyFloat seat post and Brooks Saddle. Brooks makes many models and recommends a C19 Cambium for more upright position.
So, my question is, would the Mini be considered upright riding position? And, anyone using a BodyFloat and or Brooks saddles on their Mini?
Thanks,
Tom
I am using the body float. I'm on the short side 5'8" and get back aches when hunched over. I moved my stock seat forward and raised the hade bars . I now sit mostly upright and am comfortable after 30th + mile rides.

Matt A
4 months ago

O.K. Matt, Good idea - I'll post to this thread.

Here's the funny thing: You've ridden my new bike, I have not! Just bought it this week (as a demo) totally on faith without a test ride. As you mentioned, there isn't much out there yet re: reviews. I've been looking for an ebike with the right combination of components that would come from a manufacturer with a sterling reputation, purchased from an reputable/knowledgeable dealer. After spending this winter researching, I decided that I'd finally hit on it - contacted Propel and we made the deal. Probably the easiest sale of a high end bike that Chris has made in a while! Actually, I'm in the northern ex-burbs of NYC, so Propel is only a 1 hour drive away, so it is stranger still that I haven't been to the shop (but that's a different story). Yes, a leap of faith - or a very expensive disappointment - but I don't see how you can go wrong with an R&M. Sometimes you just have to roll the dice. Life is too short, etc.

Main motivation for getting this - daily commute and possible long distance touring. My office moved to a "commutable" location a while back. I was doing the commute on my human powered Cannondale, but eventually found it was just a bit too hilly to arrive at work without being too sweaty, etc. Plus, I'm now aged 63 (and counting!), so the body does tend to revolt. Last year, I thought I'd solve that issue by electrifying my Greenspeed trike. I purchased an EcoSpeed boom mount kit for the trike and installed it last spring. Figured that the boost would allow me to neutralize any visibility issues that the low seating position creates by being able to keep up with traffic and accelerating faster. Well, the conversion went well and riding the "enhanced" trike is a total kick (it flies!), but . . . after a few trips to work on it, I realized that I was arriving sweat free but entirely too tense - still not a real street friendly vehicle, at least with the drivers in my area (where Redneck meets the Bronx). So I'm back to using the trike for bike paths and country roads. It did sell me on the ebike concept though.

Having used a Rohloff for over 8 years, forking over the extra bucks for this option on the Delite was a no-brainer. The Rohloff on my trike has 20,000 + rough miles on it and has proven to be bulletproof, even with the addition of the powerful EcoSpeed mid-drive motor. Won't take delivery for another few weeks - Chris needs it on the floor to sell from while waiting for a new one to arrive - not a problem considering that it is 22 degrees outside at the moment (!).

And yes, I hope to eventually do some extended touring on it once I've set up the bike and gotten any kinks ironed out. Having been cross country and through Alaska on two wheels "self contained" without electric assist, this should prove to be an interesting alternative. Yeah, a few extra battery packs in the panniers might be helpful. I may just get spoiled.
I think you made a good purchase, the bike is great, and I like the orange color too. Don't worry you'll love it. I would have went with a Rohloff if I had the experience with it that you do. I just wanted the belt drive though:)

That sounds cool about the trike, I would probably be scared to ride that! I was actually riding yesterday for a few hours and it was absolutely freezing lol. It sounds like you have been on some really cool rides and I hope to take some similar ones on this bike one day. You should post pictures on here of any ebike travels you do once you get your new bike!

GX vs. GT: So Matt, I'm going to be interested in comparing your on-road experience with your GT vs. my GX. As a long time member and advocate for the Rails to Trails Conservancy, I love to get on these paths, which more often than not are ballast. Also, when touring in the West or Alaska, the more interesting roads are gravel/graded dirt. So, in addition to a comfortable commuter, I wanted a touring capable sprung bike with beefier tires. The GX fits the bill w/27.5 x 2.35 Rock Razors standard. I do expect to be swapping them out for a more street friendly tire for the daily commute - most likely Schwalbe Marathon Supreme 27.5 x 2.00 tires. The expectation is that the e-assist will even out the disadvantage of the extra rolling resistance on the road. Will see.

I have enjoyed the GT tires on there, the Super Moto-x, this edition of them has the reflective sidewalls which is great. I did like the GX tires, and with the assist you will have no problem with any tire, it just may affect the range. I did feel I could turn faster and maybe even stop faster with the GX tires, they felt more in control. The GT tires though are great for me in the city and I would take them on light trails no problem. I have ridden on some dirt/muddy trails a little bit, and the tires do fine. I definitely enjoy the GT.

Drumulac
4 months ago

... Thanks! Congrats on your purchase as well! I did try that bike out, it was great. It would be cool if you could share your experience on this thread about the bike. I think anything Delite is free game in here. I think it would be helpful to everyone here if we continue this thread with new experiences and stories, I don't think mine alone could keep this thread going :) But it's up to you, I don't want to stop you from doing your own thread either!

O.K. Matt, Good idea - I'll post to this thread.

Here's the funny thing: You've ridden my new bike, I have not! Just bought it this week (as a demo) totally on faith without a test ride. As you mentioned, there isn't much out there yet re: reviews. I've been looking for an ebike with the right combination of components that would come from a manufacturer with a sterling reputation, purchased from an reputable/knowledgeable dealer. After spending this winter researching, I decided that I'd finally hit on it - contacted Propel and we made the deal. Probably the easiest sale of a high end bike that Chris has made in a while! Actually, I'm in the northern ex-burbs of NYC, so Propel is only a 1 hour drive away, so it is stranger still that I haven't been to the shop (but that's a different story). Yes, a leap of faith - or a very expensive disappointment - but I don't see how you can go wrong with an R&M. Sometimes you just have to roll the dice. Life is too short, etc.

Main motivation for getting this - daily commute and possible long distance touring. My office moved to a "commutable" location a while back. I was doing the commute on my human powered Cannondale, but eventually found it was just a bit too hilly to arrive at work without being too sweaty, etc. Plus, I'm now aged 63 (and counting!), so the body does tend to revolt. Last year, I thought I'd solve that issue by electrifying my Greenspeed trike. I purchased an EcoSpeed boom mount kit for the trike and installed it last spring. Figured that the boost would allow me to neutralize any visibility issues that the low seating position creates by being able to keep up with traffic and accelerating faster. Well, the conversion went well and riding the "enhanced" trike is a total kick (it flies!), but . . . after a few trips to work on it, I realized that I was arriving sweat free but entirely too tense - still not a real street friendly vehicle, at least with the drivers in my area (where Redneck meets the Bronx). So I'm back to using the trike for bike paths and country roads. It did sell me on the ebike concept though.

Having used a Rohloff for over 8 years, forking over the extra bucks for this option on the Delite was a no-brainer. The Rohloff on my trike has 20,000 + rough miles on it and has proven to be bulletproof, even with the addition of the powerful EcoSpeed mid-drive motor. Won't take delivery for another few weeks - Chris needs it on the floor to sell from while waiting for a new one to arrive - not a problem considering that it is 22 degrees outside at the moment (!).

And yes, I hope to eventually do some extended touring on it once I've set up the bike and gotten any kinks ironed out. Having been cross country and through Alaska on two wheels "self contained" without electric assist, this should prove to be an interesting alternative. Yeah, a few extra battery packs in the panniers might be helpful. I may just get spoiled.

Michael Workinger
4 months ago

Any motorized bike should have pedal gearing that allows the rider to add power at the full speed potential of the motor.

Michael Workinger
4 months ago

--I can pedal with it up to a about 25 now and it top ends at about 43mph. If I could pedal with the motor up to 40 mph, the bike would hit 50mph not problem.

Michael Workinger
4 months ago

--This simple low-tech concept will make every electric bike 40-80 % faster / more efficient. Just a matter of re-working the gear system for motorized. I put a 52t front sprocket on my ole school 43cc motorbike so I can pedal with the motor past 18 mph for instance.

augsburg
4 months ago

Great review. We ride The Loop multi-use trail in Tucson and see a lot of similar recumbent trikes, both pedal power and e-bike versions. They appear to be a great option for older riders and who knows, maybe I will need one some day.

George Herman
4 months ago

Man I really like this trike.

gareatouai
4 months ago

I got this bike 6 years ago with a Bionic motor setup to walk/run my big 110 pounds Malamute dog during the summer. Since the tires are very sleek, having the motor in front provide a bit more traction (2 wheels drive) to help you on a steep uphill on loose gravel, wet leaves or light snow. However, the need for a control arm on one side means that you need to keep control of the front wheel at all times and should never let go of the handle. I am very rough with it going off road and it still hold up. The middle bolt on the swing arm needs to be checked and tightened from time to time. Rear disc brakes are a must. The center of gravity is high on that bike, so you need to be careful to slow down to take sharp turns especially if a dog is pulling on the outside. I would recommend a rear derailleur with a shorter arm and adding a chain tensioner in front so that the chain hangs higher from the ground in the lowest gear and prevent it from scraping or bending it on uneven terrain, catch rocks or pack full of long grass or leaves.

Stouxsie X
4 months ago

hello looks like the pedals only drive 1 of the rear wheels am i correct?

Rob K
4 months ago

Court... Yes the Delta trikes (1 front 2 back) are comfortable...Yet..you have to be very careful when turning and braking as they tend to be unstable and tip over. The Tadpole (2 back 1 front) are very stable because your weight is lower and in between the front wheels. Hope you and Mony are doing well. :)

R D
5 months ago

Very well explained 👍🏻🇨🇦

David Macdonald
5 months ago

that trike is fantastic.

NovaColonel
5 months ago

Are there no sidewalks?

Seb K
5 months ago

Not a fan of front drive and even moreso and electric bike with RIM BRAKES !!!

Mike B
5 months ago

Two wheels in back is known as a Delta.

John Moura
5 months ago

Cool trike - - Great review! I have seat envy.

Enrico Kitzler
5 months ago

please make a video about the Haibike sduro allmtn 8.0
😀

eph5121
5 months ago

really cool, built for me.. nz 3200.00 .. i'd need to build a trailer for it tho.

/Pol/Ack The Polack
5 months ago

First

Seb K
5 months ago

Last (sigh) !!!

Jordan Smith
5 months ago

Second

Tom Thumb
5 months ago

99 pounds, WOW. Would it break if I rode it?