Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Electric Bike Review
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Shengye 500 Watt Motor
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon 48 Volt 11 6 Ah Battery
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon King Meter Lcd Console
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Independent Rear Light And Fender
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Integrated Headlight And Deflopilator
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Shimano Alivio Crankset
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Shimano Tourney Derailleur
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Tektro Novella Disc Brakes Qr Wheel
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Electric Bike Review
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Shengye 500 Watt Motor
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon 48 Volt 11 6 Ah Battery
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon King Meter Lcd Console
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Independent Rear Light And Fender
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Integrated Headlight And Deflopilator
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Shimano Alivio Crankset
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Shimano Tourney Derailleur
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Tektro Novella Disc Brakes Qr Wheel

Summary

  • Affordable, feature rich cargo style electric bike with a stiffer and lighter frame because it's not quite as long as some others
  • Offers five levels of pedal assist, throttle mode and throttle override as well as regenerative braking to recoup power and reduce wear on brake pads
  • Standardized rear rack and runners should work with traditional cargo bike accessories, several nice extras are already included such as wood decks, plastic wheel guards, full length fenders, lights, adjustable stem, oversized kickstand, deflopilator, adjustable stem and ergonomic grips
  • Only available in one size and color, no quick release on the rear wheel, some cheaper components, solid one year warranty

Search EBR

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Rad Power Bikes

Model:

RadWagon

Price:

$1,699 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Cargo

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20152016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

75 lbs ( 34.01 kg )

Battery Weight:

7 lbs ( 3.17 kg )

Motor Weight:

9 lbs ( 4.08 kg )

Frame Types:

Cargo, Mid-Step

Frame Sizes:

17 in ( 43.18 cm )

Geometry Measurements:

Reach: 22

Frame Material:

Steel

Frame Colors:

Orange

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

21 Speed 3x7 Shimano Tourney TX (Rear Derailleur) and Shimano Alivio (Front Derailleur), 28-33-48 Tooth

Shifter Details:

Shimano Tourney SIS Thumb Shifters Left and Right

Cranks:

Aluminum Alloy

Pedals:

Wellgo M111 Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Neco

Stem:

Zoom, Adjustable Angle, Aluminum

Handlebar:

Zoom, Aluminum Aloy, Low Rise

Brake Details:

Tektro Novella Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitor

Grips:

Velo, Semi-Ergonomic (Black and Gray)

Saddle:

Velo Plush With Integrated Lifting Handle

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Wall Aluminum Alloy, 30 mm Width, 36 Hole, CNC Side Wall

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 12 Gauge

Tire Brand:

Kenda K-Rad All Purpos, 26" x 2.3"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in ( 66.04 cm )

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

28" Cargo Rack With Wood Pannels, Integrated 200 Lumen LED Headlight, Battery Powered LED Rear Light, Deflopilator Spring (Keeps Front Wheel Straight for Loading), Sturdy Spring-Loaded Double Leg Kickstand, Full Length Plastic Fenders with Mud Flaps, Neoprene Slap Guard, Basic Flick Bell

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 48 Volt 15 Amp Sine Wave Controller (20 Amps Peak), Regenerative Braking, KMC Z7 Rustbuster Chain, Female USB Charging Port and Fuse on Battery, USB Port on Display

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Shengyi

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

750 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung, 29E Cells

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles ( 24 km )

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles ( 64 km )

Display Type:

Fixed Backlit Monochrome LCD, SW-LCD by-King Meter

Readouts:

Speedometer, Wattmeter, Odometer, Assist Level (0-5), Battery Charge Level (5 Bars)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad near Left Grip, Throttle on/ off Near Right Grip

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (12 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph ( 32 kph )

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The RadWagon is the second electric bicycle from Rad Power Bikes which started out with a fat ebike called the RadRover (crowdfunded through Indiegogo in early 2015) and has been working in the space since 2007. The Wagon emphasizes value and is one of the most affordable electric cargo bikes I’ve ever seen… To keep the price low a few components have been stepped down including the Shimano Tourney TX drivetrain, basic adjustable stem, independent rear light and cheap grips. But where it counts, things are done right and there’s a lot to appreciate including wood platforms on the rack and running boards, full length fenders, front and rear lights, oversized 180 mm disc brakes and a sturdy double legged kickstand. Compared with similar electric offerings from Yuba and Xtracycle the Rad Wagon is shorter in length and quite a bit heavier at ~75 lbs. It’s built on a steel frame that helps to dampen vibration and features large Kenda tires and a Velo Plush saddle to smooth things out further. The most impressive aspect to me is the price… which is enabled through the “online only” sales model that Rad Power Bikes uses. You will have to assemble parts of the bike on your own (or with the help of a shop) and cannot try it in person first which means the ~17″ frame may or may not fit your body perfectly (I’m ~5’9″ and it felt comfortable). You do get a one year warranty here and even though the company is relatively new I feel like they are well funded and operating in a professional manner.

Driving the bike is a quiet and smooth 500 watt gearless hub motor. Not having gears, this motor is able to offer regeneration as well as power but it also weighs more and isn’t as strong at low speeds. Many people ask “can you pedal an electric bike to charge it” but that’s not really the point here given the 10% to 15% efficiency. Basically, with a larger and heavier bike like this the regen feature just lets you save wear on your brake pads and extend range slightly if you’re coasting down hills for part of your ride. The top speed of the bike is ~20 mph and you can operate in either pedal assist or throttle mode. I love that there’s a throttle only setting (level zero) and that you can override assist at any time with full power using the twist throttle. You can also completely disable the throttle using the red on/off button near the right grip. I noticed a quick disconnect point in the wire running to the hub motor which will make tuneups and fixes easier but there’s no quick release back here… just in the front. The bike uses a sine wave controller that puts out up to 20 Amps and controls power in a smooth way.

Powering the motor and front light on the RadWagon is a high quality 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery. Inside are Samsung 29E cells that use a Lithium-ion chemistry aimed at being light weight and long lasting. To extend their life, store the pack in a cool dry location (avoid extreme heat and cold) and if you’re not going to be riding for a while leave the pack at ~50% instead of plugging it in. Check in on the battery every few months and fill it back up if power has been draining. I like the mounting location of the battery here because it’s out of the way and somewhat protected by the frame. The pack weighs about seven pounds and that weight is kept low and center for improved handling and balance. I did notice that when braking the rear tire can skid more frequently than on shorter non-cargo bikes because there’s less weight over the rear wheel. Getting back to the battery, one of the downsides I noticed is that you have to turn the pack on independent from the display console (so that’s two on/off steps). It’s not a huge deal but there is more potential for accidentally leaving the battery on which could drain its power. Same deal for the rear light, it’s independent from the main battery and runs on separate cells… if you turn it on but forget to turn it off while parking overnight you may come back to a non-functioning light in the morning. I would prefer that all systems run off of one main battery and that there be only one on/off switch to make it fast and easy but this design still gets the job done and saves money. The battery casing is a generic “dolphin” style and the rear light doesn’t require extra wires as it would if it were integrated.

Operating the bike requires a couple of extra steps but also includes some nice extras. Once the battery is charged and locked to the downtube you press on and then on again at the button pad near the left grip. The LCD display comes to life and shows your power, assist level, speed and distance stats. At this point, you can hold mode to activate the headlight and then reach back to click the on/off switch for the tail light. At any point if you want to go, make sure the red button on the twist throttle is in and then twist! For improved range and a bit of exercise you can arrow up through five levels of assist and the 12 magnet cadence sensor (near the right crank arm) will sense movement and activate the motor. It’s great that they used a higher end cadence sensor because it’s very responsive but the brake levers are wired in to cut power to the motor so if you ever feel out of control just squeeze. Another benefit to cadence sensing vs. torque on an e-bike like this is that you don’t have to push hard to get the motor going, it just listens for movement and then puts out the specified power and speed (low for level 1 and higher for level 5). I tend to ride in level two or three and then use the twist throttle for a boost of power when passing fellow cyclists or topping hills.

In recent years, established electric bike companies have been investing more and more money into designs. Some bikes like the EdgeRunner have a smaller rear wheel for lower center of gravity when hauling and use a mid-drive motor for increased torque and efficiency. This is awesome but it also costs 2x to 3x as much money. The RadWago is a competent electric cargo bike that could empower you to haul groceries, bring kids along or completely eliminate your car or motorcycle. It’s a solid platform with thoughtful accessories, a good warranty and a lot of potential. It might not go as far as a mid-drive bike but the charger is small and light weight… in ~1 hour you could refill to ~70% and easily get home. If you’ve been considering a utility oriented bicycle but weren’t sure about the added weight and size, this bike addresses those concerns by adding electric power and being a bit shorter. It feels sturdy and stiff and also comfortable but you could add something like a Thudbuster to smooth things out even more. Just remember to turn that battery and light off when you’ve reached your destination ;)

Pros:

  • Compatible with many of the leading cargo bike accessories from companies like Yuba and ExtraCycle, add a child seat, sidecar, extra set of handlebars and many other utility-oriented extras
  • Shorter wheelbase than traditional cargo bikes, makes it stiffer to ride and somewhat easier to store if you have limited space
  • Durable gearless motor operates quietly and offers regeneration to help recoup energy when coasting down large hills (and save wear on your brake pads)
  • Quick release on the front wheel and removable battery pack (makes bike lighter for transport) there’s also a quick disconnect in the power cable going to the motor but taking it off requires a wrench because it uses standard nuts
  • Very stable when parked thanks to the oversized double legged kickstand, there’s also a deflopilator spring running from the fork to the downtube to keep it straight when loading gear
  • Protective clear plastic guards are mounted to both sides of the rear wheel, this should keep strapping from packs away from spokes and the tire (reduced rubbing and snagging potential)
  • Useful accessories including full length plastic fenders with mudguards, front and rear lights (though the rear light runs off of independent batteries and not the main pack) and reflectors
  • Comfortable saddle with integrated handle for easy lifting when repositioning the bike, larger tires smooth out bumps, ergonomic grips relax hands a bit and the adjustable stem helps to optimize body position when riding
  • Offers throttle only mode as well as throttle override offering full power that overrides assist, five levels of pedal assist help to conserve power and extend range
  • Responsive pedal assist uses 12 magnets vs. 5 or 6 on more basic ebikes, this helps it get going quicker and stop when you discontinue pedaling, I like that the brake levers have motor inhibitors and also activate regeneration mode
  • The steel frame helps to reduce vibration but you could add even more comfort by adding a seat post suspension like the Thudbuster (just make sure you get the 27.2 mm diameter to fit or use a shim if you buy a smaller post)
  • Two integrated USB charging ports! One is located on the right side of the battery pack but can get in the way if you’re pedaling so the second one is right up on the display (right side) so you can charge your phone or other portable electronic devices

Cons:

  • Adjustable angle stems like the one used here can come loose over time if you go off-road or ride off of curbs… consider checking it regularly
  • Only available in one medium ~17″ frame size, the mid-step frame and low seat post makes it accessible to shorter riders but some larger people could feel cramped
  • Currently only available online so it may be difficult to test out in person, the warranty is solid and Rad Power Bikes has been in business for many years
  • In order to start the Rad Wagon you first have to activate the battery pack and then press power again on the button pad, this adds time and makes it easier to forget to de-activate the battery after a ride
  • The battery pack takes up most of the space where a bottle cage might mount and the controller box is already fastened to the seat tube so no bottle cages… consider a saddle rail adapter or something like a Camelbak

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Rad Power Bikes Reviews

Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A funky miniaturized folding fat tire bike with two cargo racks! Truly capable of sand and snow riding, LED lights guide and keep you safe, the bike offers assist and throttle drive modes. Basic seven speed drivetrain from Shimano, plastic chain guide keeps things on track, metal derailleur…...

Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A value priced but featured packed urban commuter style electric bike with everything from fenders, to LED lights, rear carry rack and regenerative braking. Solid driving and braking performance with a 750 watt gearless hub motor and 180 mm…...

Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Strikes an excellent balance delivering high power with mid-level components for a reasonable price, you get throttle and pedal assist with an on/off on the throttle! solid one year warranty for the original owner, flat rate $175 shipping in the US. Even though the battery and controller box are bolted on vs. integrated into the frame,…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A folding fat tire electric bike with front and rear cargo racks and double-tube frame for improved strength (good option for larger riders). Powerful 750 watt internally geared fat-bike specific motor paired with a large 48 volt 11.6…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An Indiegogo funded electric fatbike with a powerful 500 watt motor, ample 48 volt battery and seven speed drivetrain. Comfortable saddle, ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout, two color choices but only one…...


Kelley
1 year ago

Thanks for your review. You mention the bike should be compatible with some Yuba and ExtraCycle components. Do you know if specific components are compatible or if there is a resource for this information?

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Kelley, I got the impression that all or most accessories would be compatible (at least with the rear rack tubing portion of the bike) but I've reached out to Rad Power Bikes to get more info and will chime in again once they respond :)

Mandy
1 year ago

Thanks for all the great review on your site, they are extremely helpful! I am interested to hear the reply about the accessories, in particular the Hooptie and/or Monkey Bars. I will purchase this bike if one of those options work. With a three year old I've been very interested in the "family style" options of cargo bikes with the rear decks, but have been put off by the price point of the assisted Xtracycle and Yuba. The RadWagon seems like it may be a great choice, but would love the added piece of mind the inner and outer rails of the Hooptie and Monkey Bars provide for kids on the back.

Sharon
1 year ago

http://cambriabike.com

I ordered my Rad Wagon accessories on line from the link above. I ordered the handlebars, breadbasket and padded seat. Hope this helps.

Sharon
1 year ago

I just googled accessories for Yuba Mundo and several sites appeared....Merry Christmas!!!!

Court Rye
1 year ago

Cool, thanks Sharon!

Mohcine Chaouki
12 months ago

Do you know if anyone was able to retrofit the Monkey bars on this bike? ~Thanks!
I bought the bars from the cambria site, but they are a bit longer than the back seat dimensions.

Mike
12 months ago

Hi Mohcine,

We will have a great solution for this listed on our website for sale within the next 30 days. The length and mounting hole locations of the other accessories on the market make it challenging to install on the RadWagon, but we expect that you will really like what we will be offering, stay tuned, and thanks for the support!

-Mike from Rad Power Bikes

George
7 months ago

Radwagon owners, how is the bike holding up? Also, to the company--how long have you been in business? Are parts readily available? Tech support offered? Thanks.

Rad Power Bikes
6 months ago

Hi George,

We have been in business since 2007 and replacement parts are readily available and stocked in our Seattle warehouse. We have an experienced tech support team ready to help as needed and we strive to provide same day responses as well as same day replacement part shipments if anything is needed on your end!

  • Mike from Rad Power Bikes
N. KANTH
5 months ago

How to buy please send the details, about price and buying

Court Rye
5 months ago

This bike is sold through their website here. You can buy it and other models and they will ship them directly to your house :)

TenBlinkers
5 months ago

My RadWagon experience so far. I have 1,500 miles on it since February, and I like it a lot.

Pros:

  • Motor has a lot of power. Me+bike+a bunch of gear = 400lbs, and I've yet to meet a hill I can't climb.
  • Speed is rated at 20mph, but you'll get assist for a bit more than that. I can maintain 21mph+ for 10+ miles.
  • You really can carry just about anything/everything you can think of.
  • I love that RadPower doesn't have proprietary batteries! This means if you need another battery (my commute is long - one won't get me there), you can get the most up-to-date cells at market prices, not 2-year old tech at a stiff markup, like most other ebike companies.
  • RadPower's light they sell separately is good, and I recommend it.
  • Great price. Can't be beat for the money.

Cons:

  • Beware the spokes. They use 12g spokes for durability. That's good. Very few shops can cut or thread 12g spokes. That's bad. And the ones that can, don't stock them. When I broke mine, RadPower was out of spokes with no ETA, and the shop didn't have any, so I had to order a box of them myself from Amazon. That's fine I guess, but it sets you back a week waiting on them (2-day delivery wasn't available). Also, the spokes get loose about every 300 miles. Finally after 1200 miles and 4 trips to the shop to have them tighten them (which I could have done myself, but was afraid to knock the wheel out of true), the shop recommended a full rear wheel rebuild. They rebuilt it with 13/14g spokes instead. Again, not the end of the world, but the bike was out of commission for an extended period.
  • Invest in some kevlar tires. Non-kevlar tires + ebikes = nonsensical.
  • My LBS isn't all that happy when they see me coming. They don't appreciate the 75lb weight, nor how difficult it is to get the rear wheel on/off. This is no fault of RadPower, just the nature of cargo bikes with hub motors.
  • Their Ballard Bags are just ok. Don't try using them without the runners, and don't expect them to be waterproof. Decent enough for the price.
  • Caveat Emptor on the cargo bike. If you're picking the Wagon, you no doubt understand the pros/cons of cargo bikes, but sometimes it's a hassle. They're hard to fit in cars, hard to buy racks for with the extended wheelbase, they don't fit on bus bike racks.

On balance though, for my first ebike it's been a lot of fun and I don't regret the choice. Now to convince the wife I need a speed pedelec for 'backup'...

Court Rye
5 months ago

Excellent points, I enjoyed reading your cons and can relate to some of the difficulty working with shops (either for parts or just outside of their specialty). Most of the bikes I test are new so spokes aren't loose but I have asked about this sort of thing before and heard that Loctite Blue can help to keep them secure. I hope the 13 and 14 gauge spokes hold up for you!

Lyn
4 months ago

I'm seriously considering the rad wagon as my first e-bike. Tested the spicy curry and a couple front boxes and loved them, big am balking at their price tag. On the other hand, I'm reading a few reviews that indicate that quality may be list due to the lower price. Given that I'm not an experienced bike person, how much maintenance will I be doing in this bike? How much more did you spend on the upgrades? I currently commute to work by bike and will now be adding a stop to drop off my son at preschool. It's a total commute of four miles one way. In a perfect world, I don't drive at all when in town. Thanks for any guidance you can provide. I'm really trying to make the right choice here. Oh yes, and finally, do you find it easy to keep the bike safe from theft?

George J
4 months ago

Purchased my bike 3 months ago and already logged in over 700 miles. Runs well and no issues yet. I was worried about the non standard spokes so purchased a few --just in case. Last week I was caught in a very heavy down pour 10 miles from home, soaked when I got home but bike ran without difficulty. I would buy it again. No regrets.

Court Rye
4 months ago

That's awesome feedback George! Ride safe in the rain, glad the spokes are holding up and the bike hasn't had any issues even with the weather :D

bill
2 weeks ago

Eventually, the electronics will fail. The company Rad may not exist by then. Will I end up having a non functional e-Bike? Are there any third party electronic controllers?

-bill

Court Rye
2 weeks ago

Hey Bill, sure! There are companies that repack batteries and others that sell controllers. Rad Power Bikes uses less proprietary stuff and the controller box is separate. Given their success and the thousands of people that own the product I'm guessing a third party after market solution would pop up. There might already be options you could find on Ebay. I'm not much of a hacker when it comes to ebikes but you can check out Endless Sphere forums and ask for tips in the event that you need technical help... also the forums here to some extent :)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Barkme Wolf
7 days ago
Kingsinger
Why would you have been disappointed about the regen on Radcity? Tech specs indicate it has regen also. Does it work differently than on the Radwagon?
I did not see that. They dropped the mini and city so fast I didn't have a chance to check them both. Then it's just the frame. If I could I would trade my Rw for a RC I think. Again, I have not road tested the RC so who knows. The front "shocks" are a huge factor. The RW is a rough ride, no joke.
Kingsinger
7 days ago
Why would you have been disappointed about the regen on Radcity? Tech specs indicate it has regen also. Does it work differently than on the Radwagon?
Barkme Wolf
1 week ago
Kingsinger
If the Rad City had been available when you bought your Radwagon, do you think you might have opted for the Radcity instead?
Due to the ability to take on the bus and front suspension I would have absolutely opted for the RadCity but would have been disappointed about the re-gen and the frame alloy (RadWagon is steel). I would rather have the RC and wish I had the RW than vice versa.
Kingsinger
1 week ago
Barkme Wolf
I have not tried the Radcity but it seems like it is the only practical design they have that works with a bus commute. I am using mine for commute, grocery runs and camping so the cargo is sort of essential (a mini-van). I sure would love to have a second bike to use exclusively for work that complied with the bus rack standards.
If the Rad City had been available when you bought your Radwagon, do you think you might have opted for the Radcity instead?
Kingsinger
1 week ago
Barkme Wolf
Hate to differ with you and maybe I am confused but my research shows:
https://www.seattle.gov/transportation/steepest.htm

I ride from Renton to Redmond and run up several long steep hills greater than 15%. I keep my PAS set at 2 regular and 3 on hills, haven't had an issue in over 2000 miles although I have been passed up by people on Radrovers and other electrics, I assume they did not read the manual.
Doesn't the Radrover have a geared hub, rather than a direct drive motor like on the Radwagon? That would mean better torque on hills, no?

JL
Marc V
1 month ago
WilliamT
So I got a chance to test a second rider today.

Cyclist: weight 145lb (5' 6") adult
Passenger: weight 105 lb (4' 10") adult
Assist mode on bike: Level 2
Bike Weight: 75 lbs

It felt pretty good with no need to counter steer from any rear weight shifting. I had to do some pedaling but nothing too strenuous even with winds at 14 mph today. We stopped and switched seats and she was carrying me around pretty comfortably on Lvl 2 and down to Lvl 1 because she wanted more of a workout.
It was a lot of fun sitting in the back. She also enjoyed sitting in the back too. Its a bit hard to start but once you get going it's very easy.

Going back on a slight incline, I set it to Level 3 and was good all the way back. At Level 4, it doesn't even feel like your carrying a passenger LOL.

If your regularly carrying a passenger, I would probably carry with me a second battery. It drains a lot faster with the extra weight.

We did about 8.6 miles and it used up 70% of the charge riding down a gradual decline and then coming back on an incline.
Very helpful! thanks for the detailed response and very relative to me since I am 5' 4" but have a few more pounds than you do hehe (Maybe I should limit my Throttle/pedal assist and actually bike like normal to lose some of those pounds! lol)

Sounds like fun, I'll see if any of my local shops have a radwagon I can test ride...

Marc V
Marc V
2 months ago
WilliamT
Just wanted to introduce myself. I occasionally commute to work on a hybrid bike (2x week - 24 miles each day round trip). With my panniers the bike and bags came out to be about 52 lbs so its not an easy ride.

I really enjoyed riding my hybrid but there are days that I'm just exhausted after going to the gym after work and then having to commute back 12 miles in 30 degree weather.

My goal is to try to eliminate the use of my car altogether (40 minutes going in, 75 minutes to 2 hrs going home depending on the time). By hybrid bike (50 minutes going in, 75 minutes going back uphill regardless of time)

I'm hoping to cut the commute time down in half going home. I just did my first commute on the RadWagon and didn't break a sweat. I'm fortunate to have trails to ride home so I don't have to deal with sharing the road with cars.

I'll post my thoughts on the RadWagon soon.
Sounds like an upgrade from a car to me with those commute times and without breaking a sweat

Noticed you have a second passenger setup on the cargo portion, have you tried it with a full adult second passenger or was it just child passenger? And what are your thoughts on the second passenger with the radwagon?

Thanks for sharing.

Take care, ride safe
Marc V
mrgold35
2 months ago
Nice write up.

What made you decide on the Radwagon vs the Radcity or Radrover?

I added a suspension seatpost (Suntour SP12 NCX) and the Sunlite cloud-9 (12 X 11 size) to my Radrover and that really smoothed out the road for my commute.

The Radrover only has 7 gears and we max out also around 20-22 mph depending on the incline. I noticed I don't need to shift as much as I was expecting I would with PAS. I usually just downshift when coming to a stop just to help the motor out when I need to accelerate. It still feels like fun riding my bike to work (even at 22 degrees at 5:30am).
Marc V
2 months ago
Barkme Wolf
Got my Radwagon 2 months ago and will turn over 1000 miles on my way home tonight.
Awesome! I got my eBike around mid October and clocked in 400 miles just recently with first flat! lol So I need to catch up to you, but I doubt I will as it is starting to get cold here in Chicago and I don't think I will ride much when the slush and snow hit hehe.

I am thinking down the line that my next eBike will be a cargo bike and was looking into either the Pedego Stretch, Yube Spicy Curry, Juiced ODK U500, or what you got: the Rad Wagon. Besides hauling Cargo, I am interested in hauling people lol. I know some recommend a certain weight limit or just doing kids but have you tried a second passenger and what are your reviews with having a second passenger? Fun? Hard to ride? lol

walawn
It's all about being low and aerodynamic lol
Second post I have seen where you have a hilarious bike pic! haha do you have a bunch saved? lmao Keep 'em coming...hilarious hehe
Dennis Reid
2 months ago
littlebuddha
Hi guys, my wife and I are looking for a second ebike to compliment our radwagon. The two that we have seen are the Radcity and the Surface 604 Rook. The pricing is actually not too different once you factor in that the shipping is free for the Surface 604 (+5% discount code) so I did some research on the features - here is what I found for a short comparison since I have not found one online. Not sure if I am missing anything crucial but despite the slightly higher price point - the Surface 604 models seem like better value despite the 130 dollar price difference once the various discounts have been applied due to the slightly higher quality components- especially the hydraulic brakes, the torque sensors and step through frame/color options?

Surface 604:
Frame -
comes in step through configuration + color options - which is great.
more of an integrated battery into the frame which I love
has chain guard + more reflective accents
integrated front and rear lights, compared to just the front for the RadCity
hydraulic 160mm brakes vs 180mm mechanical discs on the RadCity (has regen braking)
10 Speed 1x10 SRAM X5 vs 7 speed shimano on the Radcity
Slightly lighter at 57.5 vs 60.5lb weight for the RadCity
rear rack may not be compatible with easyfit yepp child seat like th RadCity which is a direct fit.

Electronics
3 year warranty on the frame, 1 year electronic vs 1 year warranty for the RadCity
500w (peak 750w) Geared Hub motor vs the more powerful 750w Direct Drive Hub motor on the RadCity
torque sensing setup vs cadence setup for the Radcity
Does not have throttle override (thumb) compared to the twist throttle for the RadCity
Has a smaller 10.6ah Samsung lipo vs 11.6ah Panasonic lipos for the RadCity
has higher (thinner) wheels - 15g front and 13g rear - compared to 12 gauge for Radcity
single button to turn everything on - auto shut off.

Other Considerations
Surface 604 website has 0% APR financing and can use Paypal + the 5% EBR discount
Radrover are having a 100 off promo for the first 75 orders of the Radcity.

Anything else important that I'm missing? The only other bike I am looking forward to is the Mate on indiegogo - seems like a cool little bike but not much in terms of details so keeping an eye on that one as well.

RadPower is having an Internet Monday Sale on Nov.21. No $175 shipping cost.

That being said, the Surface 604 Colt has more extended fenders and an enclosed chain guard that would be better for wet weather. I also like the adjustable handlebars for longer trips and carpel tunnel wrist issues.

Because I live in a hilly area, I think the 750w hub motor and 7 gears is a better way to go with the Rad City. I don't want to have to be changing gears all the time to get the equivalent with the 500w and 10 gears on the 604.

There is also a USB port on the left side of the Rad Display Monitor.

I was one of the first 75 pre-orders for the Rad City.
RyanConway
2 months ago
mrgold35
You have to enter the LCD set-up screen to set the top speed from 32 km/h (around 20 mph) to the max of 40 km/h (a touch under 25 mph). The 7-speed gearing will make it almost impossible to peddle the Radcity at 25 mph under muscle power.
I don't know about the fit for motor on the Rover, but on the Radwagon (which looks to have the same motor as the Radcity) it's very easy to swap in a 11-28 DNP freewheel.

On my wagon this is a no-brainer mod IMO. Not only is it geared higher, but the PAS modes make better sense with with the resistance from the pedals especially when you raise the max speed to 40km/hr. On my Radwagon there is a spacer washer and then the torque washer inside the freewheel, for some reason the shimano FW was binding up in there. I initially chalked it up to the drag of a DD motor, but after changing the FW it rolls much better, is faster, more efficient and accelerates faster.

Note- the DNP freewheels don't all space the same from the hub/motor, AND if anyone does this I highly recommend that you put a little thread lock on the locking nut. The first DNP FW I tried (a 11-32) exploded when the locking nut came off on it's own. Also the 11-28 has a built in spacer, the 11-32 maybe needs the spacer that is installed on there stock.

The one thing I will say about the RadCity is if you run out of battery without the small chainring up front you will be walking that bike.
Dunbar
2 months ago
eobanb
The Juiced CrossCurrent is more of a bare-bones recreational toy that goes fast but lacks much of the useful equipment that comes standard on the RadCity and RadWagon.
It's only barebones in the sense that it doesn't come with all of the accessories the Rad bikes do. The torque sensing, hydraulic discs and suspension fork make for a very good high speed commuting platform. You can add a rack, fenders and some basic lights to the Cross Current for $125-150. And to be fair you would need to get the $1800 Cross Current to get comparable battery size to the Rad City. Juiced also just announced the Cross Current Air cadence sensing version of the bike with a rigid fork and mechanical disks for $1k on pre-order. That ought to give you some sense of how much a manufacturer can save by ditching the torque sensor and hydraulic disc brakes. Like Ravi mentioned, everybody should test ride a torque sensing bike and cadence sensing bike before making a decision.

http://www.juicedbikes.com/crosscurrent-air/
Ravi Kempaiah
2 months ago
eobanb
I don't understand why people consider the RadCity and the Juiced CrossCurrent to be in the same class of bike. The RadCity is a fully-equipped utility/commuter bike with lights, heavy-duty rack, fenders, bell, thick-gauge spokes, fat tires, etc.

The Juiced CrossCurrent is more of a bare-bones recreational toy that goes fast but lacks much of the useful equipment that comes standard on the RadCity and RadWagon.
That's because, Juiced CC comes with a more refined Torque sensor, whereas the RadCity comes with a simple $10 cadence sensor. The ride experience is vastly different. On cadence sensors, after certain cadence RPM lets say 70, you're just freewheeling and this gives a very un-intuitive ride feel whereas the torque sensor equipped bikes give a very smooth ride feel.
If you're looking to get from Pt A to Pt B, any RadCity, BBS-HD, BBS02 suffices, if you're after refined ride feel and certain sense of finesse, torque sensor is the way to go. On the BBS systems, you can re-program it and can get somewhat better ride quality. There is no doubt that big motors like BBS-HD have a ton of power but not everyone likes to drive a truck. Some people enjoy Lexus...I don't mean to say Juiced CC is lexus among E-bikes, but in terms of experience, it is far better.
Barkme Wolf
4 months ago
I had some trouble with my Radwagon. Got the tires "trued", all better. Eventually the spokes broke. Keeping the spokes tightened regularly is essential. I found out the hard way that the torque from the motor causes stress on the spokes. I have over 2000 miles on my bike.
007vsMagua
4 months ago
James Kohls
Hello, fellow Minnesotan! The RadWagon is pretty great looking. If I could afford to have multiple e-bikes, I would love to have one of those for shopping. Regarding the police, in Minnesota laws are 20MPH max assistance and brakes with motor cutoffs. My bike doesn't meet either of those requirements, but I haven't had any run-ins with the police yet. I'm guessing the homemade e-bike you saw wasn't speed limited like a commercial model would be.

It is never too early to start researching. Bike prices keep falling as the market gets more and more saturated. That being said, my Specialized Turbo X was $1400 lower being a previous model year bike. So looking at last years models where available is a good way to save some money!
Yeah, the RadWagon is a great concept, but I'd like a bike that is more fun, faster, lighter, handles different road and trail types with a good sized tire, and has a well designed rear rack that is attached to the frame beneath the seat using a floating attachment with two strong supports going to the rear axle that have built-in shock absorbers, and of course a nice rear light. I have no idea why rear racks are being attached to the fenders? ...bad idea. (The concept of that rear bike rake just came to me as I was writing this reply)

I'll be going down the road at 20 mph in traffic and be passed by all kinds of bikes going faster. I have no idea why they picked 20mph as the limit. I kind of like the idea of having both brakes with motor cutoffs.

I went to YouTube and watched Court's year old review of the Specialized Turbo X and the Turbo X comes very close to the ST1. The down tube battery placement is perfect. I just went to the Specialized web site to look at their latest Turbo X but was somewhat disappointed that more specific information on the motor type and battery specifications were lacking. I'm assuming that the motor is brushless and gearless. I also noticed at their website they had no direct link to Support for downloading information. I really like the front fork and the newer design has suspension under the seat. I also really like their kickstand.

So, how long James have you owned your Turbo X? Do you use it for commuting, recreation, or both? Is it pretty easy to maintain? Has it been reliable?

It was chilly last night and the furnace kicked in for the first time this year.
James Kohls
4 months ago
Hello, fellow Minnesotan! The RadWagon is pretty great looking. If I could afford to have multiple e-bikes, I would love to have one of those for shopping. Regarding the police, in Minnesota laws are 20MPH max assistance and brakes with motor cutoffs. My bike doesn't meet either of those requirements, but I haven't had any run-ins with the police yet. I'm guessing the homemade e-bike you saw wasn't speed limited like a commercial model would be.

It is never too early to start researching. Bike prices keep falling as the market gets more and more saturated. That being said, my Specialized Turbo X was $1400 lower being a previous model year bike. So looking at last years models where available is a good way to save some money!
Orcinas
4 months ago
Sorry in advance for the sideways profile pic. Couldn't figure out how to rotate it. I live in Port Orchard and work at Harbor Island between SODO and West Seattle. I can clear the 4.2 miles between the ferry and work in around 10 minutes on my RadWagon.
Barkme Wolf
4 months ago
I took upgrades into consideration when I bought the Radwagon. I can drop 1000 bucks on it and still be under what the next best thing costs. I am local so shipping is not an issue. So far I have not had any issue that were unexpected.

If I get better spokes and they last a year longer than the cheap ones OK but if I am only getting an extra couple months out of them it might not be worth the expense.
zbikenut
2 weeks ago

Great video on this bike. 27.2 suspension seat posts are very available and
cheap on ebay.

Mary McGuirk
3 weeks ago

many years ago, i owned a package delivery service, and really appreciate
your BEST PRACTICES and TIPS... Ours was auto, not bike, but there were
similar things to remember to avoid major disasters. Great Review...Could
you add some emphasis points your review to have some OVERLAYS to make
bullet points of your ideas. Just an idea for increasing value of your
future reviews...I used movie maker successfully, so it can't be too hard
to add titles to make something great even better.

DocCanFixIt
2 months ago

Nice! I Think I Found My Next Bike!

djkenny
2 months ago

So cheap for what it is! I just paid over $1500 for a new Surly Big Dummy,
last year's model. I imagine the quality of components is a little lower to
compensate for adding electric.

Bob Linton
3 months ago

I wish it could carry the load of an extra adult.

Michael Taylor
3 months ago

You Can!

Sovereign Knight
4 months ago

This is great and all but what is the range if used without pedal assist?
As with all electric stuff range tends to be really poor vs gas
counterparts.

Peter Q
4 months ago

Whats better this or the Juiced u500?

Darren Million
5 months ago

What a joke I have a 2 Stroke gas bike and I get way more mileage on just a
3/4 gallon tank of gas and it does 50+ MPH LOL. and it did not cost me
$1500+ more like $300 HAHAHAHA

djkenny
2 months ago

There is nothing legally saying an electric bike is not street legal. They
are just like any other bike. A gas powered bike is a grey area. Your bike
"could" handle carrying 2-3 kids with a $550 Xtracycle freeloader kit,
absolutely. It would make it into a long tail style MTB. We know the
pollution levels due ot it being simple knowledge of a 2 Stroke. If it even
got 4-5 times better gas mileage than a Hummer (and it might) that does not
make up for the fumes emitted. It is 10 folds higher. Just what you get for
a $300 gas powered engine. They are also much louder than electric. I am
glad it works for you, though.

Darren Million
2 months ago

Well that goes for your E Bike too you dumb ass kid

Some Body
2 months ago

None of them are street legal you dumb fuck

Darren Million
2 months ago

+djkenny I would like to know something how do you get my bike can't carry
big things? How do you get that it Pollutes more than a Hummer.? How do you
know it won't carry kids? How do you know its loud? How does any of you
know it's not street legal? YOU DON'T

Darren Million
2 months ago

+djkenny Really? you all are just mad HAHAHAHAHA thats fucking funnny.

Marc Dupont
6 months ago

Just got mine yesterday. Thank you so much for your reviews. you were
instrumental in my final choice. keep up the good work

Alex Paulsen
6 months ago

Drop by my shop here in New Zealand and I'll find a bike or two you can
review :P

alaskanhybrid
7 months ago

This looks cool. Its almost like a BMX with a rack to carry stuff and a hub
mounted electric motor.

Co Mo
7 months ago

great review..thank you for posting...just began researching electric cargo
bikes for my company and personal use and the reviews from electric bike
review has been so very helpful...will absolutely make my research and
decision easier...thank you all so much

ElectricBikeReview.com
7 months ago

Awesome! So glad it helped, hope you enjoy whatever bike you end up
choosing :D

Ona Luna
8 months ago

Do these batteries get hot?

Recreational Voodoo
8 months ago

I have been looking at the Radwagon but just saw a Yuba Mundo 750watt for
sale $1500 (have to find out why first). I assume the Yuba has better
components because of the manufacture original price being so much higher.

Lobesanft
10 months ago

According to the price of the bike it´s got a very clean and neat
construction as far as cables and wires are concerned. The common entry
level bikes usually seen on the market have a more or less chaotic bunch of
cables from the handlebar to the back. Beside the uncomparably attactive
price alltogether I would recommend some tuning, esp. on the brakes at
least when carrying heavy load regularly.

Zeev Kirsh
10 months ago

its a shame they didn't knockoff the 20'' back wheel. but still it was
inevitable that someone did a half price chinese knockoff of the mundo.
only a matter of more time before they knockoff the xtracycle/spicy curry
design, which imho is the far superior design.

the bike is less than half price an electric mundo.

juiced riders does a good job of this but their bike has the dual 20''
wheels so handles more like a scooter and the rear rack is not so nice, but
it has the really nice fully integrated frame like the spicy curry,
however---------------you cannot remove the battery readily so hard to
charge!.

why has no one just set out to make the CORRECT version of the perfect and
cheap electric cargo bike. ?they will.

Bill Donaldson
9 months ago

+LiveCheapAndProsper
Agree regarding 26" rear... yuba mundo with 26" rear eats up bumps and
potholes even when fully loaded and I have never found it unstable. I
expect the smaller rear wheels on cargo bikes will just be a fad: having to
deal with bumps of any size with a small wheel on a heavy bike makes not a
lot of sense.

LiveCheapAndProsper
9 months ago

+Zeev Kirsh I personally wouldn't look at a cargo bike with a 20" rear
wheel. A LWB 26'x26" is incredibly stable with the centrifugal force of
both wheels keeping it balanced. The 26" rear wheel can also handle road
irregularities far better which is highly desirable when the bike is
loaded. I once had 5 children on the back of a yuba mundo, two standing on
the side rails, and didn't experience any problems with stability.

Adam Fairchild
10 months ago

Does the rear light run off the battery pack or does it need its own
battery?

GVoidV2
4 months ago

Double AA

Richard Prince
11 months ago

Love the design and Colour of the Bike and that it's a rugged Cargo Bike,I
can't see any faults in the Bike even the Centre Stand is awesome

Hie Do
1 year ago

Thank for give the review on this bike. It on craglist for a while, I
needed info. Thank.
Question: I wondering if I can move that motor to the front wheel, Anyone?
cusze I want to put Faster motor on the back, 45 to 50 mph motor, Or any
one know where to buy this without motor? Thanks

andrews2547
10 months ago

+Hieu Don It can probably do 45-50 mph as it is. It's just limited to 20
mph because of the law. I'm sure there is a way to take the limiter off,
but it will probably void the warranty.

Scott BikeDawg
1 year ago

Nice review. thank you!