Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Electric Bike Review 1
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Shengye 500 Watt Motor
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon 48 Volt 11 6 Ah Battery
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon King Meter Lcd Console
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Independent Rear Light And Fender
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Integrated Headlight And Deflopilator
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Shimano Alivio Crankset
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Shimano Tourney Derailleur
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Tektro Novella Disc Brakes Qr Wheel
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Electric Bike Review 1
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Shengye 500 Watt Motor
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon 48 Volt 11 6 Ah Battery
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon King Meter Lcd Console
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Independent Rear Light And Fender
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Integrated Headlight And Deflopilator
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Shimano Alivio Crankset
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Shimano Tourney Derailleur
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Tektro Novella Disc Brakes Qr Wheel

Summary

  • Affordable, feature rich cargo style electric bike with a stiffer and lighter frame because it's not quite as long as some others
  • Offers five levels of pedal assist, throttle mode and throttle override as well as regenerative braking to recoup power and reduce wear on brake pads
  • Standardized rear rack and runners should work with traditional cargo bike accessories, several nice extras are already included such as wood decks, plastic wheel guards, full length fenders, lights, adjustable stem, oversized kickstand, deflopilator, adjustable stem and ergonomic grips
  • Only available in one size and color, no quick release on the rear wheel, some cheaper components, solid one year warranty

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Rad Power Bikes

Model:

RadWagon

Price:

$1,599 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Cargo

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20152016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

75 lbs (34.01 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

9 lbs (4.08 kg)

Frame Material:

Steel

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Reach: 22

Frame Types:

Cargo, Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Orange

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

21 Speed 3x7 Shimano Tourney TX (Rear Derailleur) and Shimano Alivio (Front Derailleur), 28-33-48 Tooth

Shifter Details:

Shimano Tourney SIS Thumb Shifters Left and Right

Cranks:

Aluminum Alloy

Pedals:

Wellgo M111 Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Neco

Stem:

Zoom, Adjustable Angle, Aluminum

Handlebar:

Zoom, Aluminum Aloy, Low Rise

Brake Details:

Tektro Novella Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitor

Grips:

Velo, Semi-Ergonomic (Black and Gray)

Saddle:

Velo Plush With Integrated Lifting Handle

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Wall Aluminum Alloy, 30 mm Width, 36 Hole, CNC Side Wall

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 12 Gauge

Tire Brand:

Kenda K-Rad All Purpos, 26" x 2.3"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

28" Cargo Rack With Wood Pannels, Integrated 200 Lumen LED Headlight, Battery Powered LED Rear Light, Deflopilator Spring (Keeps Front Wheel Straight for Loading), Sturdy Spring-Loaded Double Leg Kickstand, Full Length Plastic Fenders with Mud Flaps, Neoprene Slap Guard, Basic Flick Bell

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 48 Volt 15 Amp Sine Wave Controller (20 Amps Peak), Regenerative Braking, KMC Z7 Rustbuster Chain, Female USB Charging Port and Fuse on Battery, USB Port on Display

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Shengyi

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

750 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung, 29E Cells

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

Fixed Backlit Monochrome LCD, SW-LCD by-King Meter

Readouts:

Speedometer, Wattmeter, Odometer, Assist Level (0-5), Battery Charge Level (5 Bars)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad near Left Grip, Throttle on/ off Near Right Grip

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (12 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The RadWagon is the second electric bicycle from Rad Power Bikes which started out with a fat ebike called the RadRover (crowdfunded through Indiegogo in early 2015) and has been working in the space since 2007. The Wagon emphasizes value and is one of the most affordable electric cargo bikes I’ve ever seen… To keep the price low a few components have been stepped down including the Shimano Tourney TX drivetrain, basic adjustable stem, independent rear light and cheap grips. But where it counts, things are done right and there’s a lot to appreciate including wood platforms on the rack and running boards, full length fenders, front and rear lights, oversized 180 mm disc brakes and a sturdy double legged kickstand. Compared with similar electric offerings from Yuba and Xtracycle the Rad Wagon is shorter in length and quite a bit heavier at ~75 lbs. It’s built on a steel frame that helps to dampen vibration and features large Kenda tires and a Velo Plush saddle to smooth things out further. The most impressive aspect to me is the price… which is enabled through the “online only” sales model that Rad Power Bikes uses. You will have to assemble parts of the bike on your own (or with the help of a shop) and cannot try it in person first which means the ~17″ frame may or may not fit your body perfectly (I’m ~5’9″ and it felt comfortable). You do get a one year warranty here and even though the company is relatively new I feel like they are well funded and operating in a professional manner.

Driving the bike is a quiet and smooth 500 watt gearless hub motor. Not having gears, this motor is able to offer regeneration as well as power but it also weighs more and isn’t as strong at low speeds. Many people ask “can you pedal an electric bike to charge it” but that’s not really the point here given the 10% to 15% efficiency. Basically, with a larger and heavier bike like this the regen feature just lets you save wear on your brake pads and extend range slightly if you’re coasting down hills for part of your ride. The top speed of the bike is ~20 mph and you can operate in either pedal assist or throttle mode. I love that there’s a throttle only setting (level zero) and that you can override assist at any time with full power using the twist throttle. You can also completely disable the throttle using the red on/off button near the right grip. I noticed a quick disconnect point in the wire running to the hub motor which will make tuneups and fixes easier but there’s no quick release back here… just in the front. The bike uses a sine wave controller that puts out up to 20 Amps and controls power in a smooth way.

Powering the motor and front light on the RadWagon is a high quality 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery. Inside are Samsung 29E cells that use a Lithium-ion chemistry aimed at being light weight and long lasting. To extend their life, store the pack in a cool dry location (avoid extreme heat and cold) and if you’re not going to be riding for a while leave the pack at ~50% instead of plugging it in. Check in on the battery every few months and fill it back up if power has been draining. I like the mounting location of the battery here because it’s out of the way and somewhat protected by the frame. The pack weighs about seven pounds and that weight is kept low and center for improved handling and balance. I did notice that when braking the rear tire can skid more frequently than on shorter non-cargo bikes because there’s less weight over the rear wheel. Getting back to the battery, one of the downsides I noticed is that you have to turn the pack on independent from the display console (so that’s two on/off steps). It’s not a huge deal but there is more potential for accidentally leaving the battery on which could drain its power. Same deal for the rear light, it’s independent from the main battery and runs on separate cells… if you turn it on but forget to turn it off while parking overnight you may come back to a non-functioning light in the morning. I would prefer that all systems run off of one main battery and that there be only one on/off switch to make it fast and easy but this design still gets the job done and saves money. The battery casing is a generic “dolphin” style and the rear light doesn’t require extra wires as it would if it were integrated.

Operating the bike requires a couple of extra steps but also includes some nice extras. Once the battery is charged and locked to the downtube you press on and then on again at the button pad near the left grip. The LCD display comes to life and shows your power, assist level, speed and distance stats. At this point, you can hold mode to activate the headlight and then reach back to click the on/off switch for the tail light. At any point if you want to go, make sure the red button on the twist throttle is in and then twist! For improved range and a bit of exercise you can arrow up through five levels of assist and the 12 magnet cadence sensor (near the right crank arm) will sense movement and activate the motor. It’s great that they used a higher end cadence sensor because it’s very responsive but the brake levers are wired in to cut power to the motor so if you ever feel out of control just squeeze. Another benefit to cadence sensing vs. torque on an e-bike like this is that you don’t have to push hard to get the motor going, it just listens for movement and then puts out the specified power and speed (low for level 1 and higher for level 5). I tend to ride in level two or three and then use the twist throttle for a boost of power when passing fellow cyclists or topping hills.

In recent years, established electric bike companies have been investing more and more money into designs. Some bikes like the EdgeRunner have a smaller rear wheel for lower center of gravity when hauling and use a mid-drive motor for increased torque and efficiency. This is awesome but it also costs 2x to 3x as much money. The RadWago is a competent electric cargo bike that could empower you to haul groceries, bring kids along or completely eliminate your car or motorcycle. It’s a solid platform with thoughtful accessories, a good warranty and a lot of potential. It might not go as far as a mid-drive bike but the charger is small and light weight… in ~1 hour you could refill to ~70% and easily get home. If you’ve been considering a utility oriented bicycle but weren’t sure about the added weight and size, this bike addresses those concerns by adding electric power and being a bit shorter. It feels sturdy and stiff and also comfortable but you could add something like a Thudbuster to smooth things out even more. Just remember to turn that battery and light off when you’ve reached your destination ;)

Pros:

  • Compatible with many of the leading cargo bike accessories from companies like Yuba and ExtraCycle, add a child seat, sidecar, extra set of handlebars and many other utility-oriented extras
  • Shorter wheelbase than traditional cargo bikes, makes it stiffer to ride and somewhat easier to store if you have limited space
  • Durable gearless motor operates quietly and offers regeneration to help recoup energy when coasting down large hills (and save wear on your brake pads)
  • Quick release on the front wheel and removable battery pack (makes bike lighter for transport) there’s also a quick disconnect in the power cable going to the motor but taking it off requires a wrench because it uses standard nuts
  • Very stable when parked thanks to the oversized double legged kickstand, there’s also a deflopilator spring running from the fork to the downtube to keep it straight when loading gear
  • Protective clear plastic guards are mounted to both sides of the rear wheel, this should keep strapping from packs away from spokes and the tire (reduced rubbing and snagging potential)
  • Useful accessories including full length plastic fenders with mudguards, front and rear lights (though the rear light runs off of independent batteries and not the main pack) and reflectors
  • Comfortable saddle with integrated handle for easy lifting when repositioning the bike, larger tires smooth out bumps, ergonomic grips relax hands a bit and the adjustable stem helps to optimize body position when riding
  • Offers throttle only mode as well as throttle override offering full power that overrides assist, five levels of pedal assist help to conserve power and extend range
  • Responsive pedal assist uses 12 magnets vs. 5 or 6 on more basic ebikes, this helps it get going quicker and stop when you discontinue pedaling, I like that the brake levers have motor inhibitors and also activate regeneration mode
  • The steel frame helps to reduce vibration but you could add even more comfort by adding a seat post suspension like the Thudbuster (just make sure you get the 27.2 mm diameter to fit or use a shim if you buy a smaller post)
  • Two integrated USB charging ports! One is located on the right side of the battery pack but can get in the way if you’re pedaling so the second one is right up on the display (right side) so you can charge your phone or other portable electronic devices

Cons:

  • Adjustable angle stems like the one used here can come loose over time if you go off-road or ride off of curbs… consider checking it regularly
  • Only available in one medium ~17″ frame size, the mid-step frame and low seat post makes it accessible to shorter riders but some larger people could feel cramped
  • Currently only available online so it may be difficult to test out in person, the warranty is solid and Rad Power Bikes has been in business for many years
  • In order to start the Rad Wagon you first have to activate the battery pack and then press power again on the button pad, this adds time and makes it easier to forget to de-activate the battery after a ride
  • The battery pack takes up most of the space where a bottle cage might mount and the controller box is already fastened to the seat tube so no bottle cages… consider a saddle rail adapter or something like a Camelbak

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Rad Power Bikes Reviews

Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A funky miniaturized folding fat tire bike with two cargo racks! Truly capable of sand and snow riding, LED lights guide and keep you safe, the bike offers assist and throttle drive modes. Basic seven speed drivetrain from Shimano, plastic chain guide keeps things on track, metal derailleur…...

Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A value priced but featured packed urban commuter style electric bike with everything from fenders, to LED lights, rear carry rack and regenerative braking. Solid driving and braking performance with a 750 watt gearless hub motor and 180 mm…...

Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Strikes an excellent balance delivering high power with mid-level components for a reasonable price, you get throttle and pedal assist with an on/off on the throttle! solid one year warranty for the original owner, flat rate $175 shipping in the US. Even though the battery and controller box are bolted on vs. integrated into the frame,…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A folding fat tire electric bike with front and rear cargo racks and double-tube frame for improved strength (good option for larger riders). Powerful 750 watt internally geared fat-bike specific motor paired with a large 48 volt 11.6…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An Indiegogo funded electric fatbike with a powerful 500 watt motor, ample 48 volt battery and seven speed drivetrain. Comfortable saddle, ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout, two color choices but only one…...


Kelley
2 years ago

Thanks for your review. You mention the bike should be compatible with some Yuba and ExtraCycle components. Do you know if specific components are compatible or if there is a resource for this information?

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Kelley, I got the impression that all or most accessories would be compatible (at least with the rear rack tubing portion of the bike) but I’ve reached out to Rad Power Bikes to get more info and will chime in again once they respond :)

Reply
Mandy
2 years ago

Thanks for all the great review on your site, they are extremely helpful! I am interested to hear the reply about the accessories, in particular the Hooptie and/or Monkey Bars. I will purchase this bike if one of those options work. With a three year old I’ve been very interested in the “family style” options of cargo bikes with the rear decks, but have been put off by the price point of the assisted Xtracycle and Yuba. The RadWagon seems like it may be a great choice, but would love the added piece of mind the inner and outer rails of the Hooptie and Monkey Bars provide for kids on the back.

Reply
Sharon
2 years ago

http://cambriabike.com

I ordered my Rad Wagon accessories on line from the link above. I ordered the handlebars, breadbasket and padded seat. Hope this helps.

Reply
Sharon
2 years ago

I just googled accessories for Yuba Mundo and several sites appeared….Merry Christmas!!!!

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

Cool, thanks Sharon!

Reply
Mohcine Chaouki
2 years ago

Do you know if anyone was able to retrofit the Monkey bars on this bike? ~Thanks!
I bought the bars from the cambria site, but they are a bit longer than the back seat dimensions.

Reply
Mike
2 years ago

Hi Mohcine,

We will have a great solution for this listed on our website for sale within the next 30 days. The length and mounting hole locations of the other accessories on the market make it challenging to install on the RadWagon, but we expect that you will really like what we will be offering, stay tuned, and thanks for the support!

-Mike from Rad Power Bikes

Reply
George
1 year ago

Radwagon owners, how is the bike holding up? Also, to the company–how long have you been in business? Are parts readily available? Tech support offered? Thanks.

Reply
Rad Power Bikes
1 year ago

Hi George,

We have been in business since 2007 and replacement parts are readily available and stocked in our Seattle warehouse. We have an experienced tech support team ready to help as needed and we strive to provide same day responses as well as same day replacement part shipments if anything is needed on your end!

– Mike from Rad Power Bikes

Reply
N. KANTH
1 year ago

How to buy please send the details, about price and buying

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

This bike is sold through their website here. You can buy it and other models and they will ship them directly to your house :)

Reply
TenBlinkers
1 year ago

My RadWagon experience so far. I have 1,500 miles on it since February, and I like it a lot.

Pros:

  • Motor has a lot of power. Me+bike+a bunch of gear = 400lbs, and I’ve yet to meet a hill I can’t climb.
  • Speed is rated at 20mph, but you’ll get assist for a bit more than that. I can maintain 21mph+ for 10+ miles.
  • You really can carry just about anything/everything you can think of.
  • I love that RadPower doesn’t have proprietary batteries! This means if you need another battery (my commute is long – one won’t get me there), you can get the most up-to-date cells at market prices, not 2-year old tech at a stiff markup, like most other ebike companies.
  • RadPower’s light they sell separately is good, and I recommend it.
  • Great price. Can’t be beat for the money.

Cons:

  • Beware the spokes. They use 12g spokes for durability. That’s good. Very few shops can cut or thread 12g spokes. That’s bad. And the ones that can, don’t stock them. When I broke mine, RadPower was out of spokes with no ETA, and the shop didn’t have any, so I had to order a box of them myself from Amazon. That’s fine I guess, but it sets you back a week waiting on them (2-day delivery wasn’t available). Also, the spokes get loose about every 300 miles. Finally after 1200 miles and 4 trips to the shop to have them tighten them (which I could have done myself, but was afraid to knock the wheel out of true), the shop recommended a full rear wheel rebuild. They rebuilt it with 13/14g spokes instead. Again, not the end of the world, but the bike was out of commission for an extended period.
  • Invest in some kevlar tires. Non-kevlar tires + ebikes = nonsensical.
  • My LBS isn’t all that happy when they see me coming. They don’t appreciate the 75lb weight, nor how difficult it is to get the rear wheel on/off. This is no fault of RadPower, just the nature of cargo bikes with hub motors.
  • Their Ballard Bags are just ok. Don’t try using them without the runners, and don’t expect them to be waterproof. Decent enough for the price.
  • Caveat Emptor on the cargo bike. If you’re picking the Wagon, you no doubt understand the pros/cons of cargo bikes, but sometimes it’s a hassle. They’re hard to fit in cars, hard to buy racks for with the extended wheelbase, they don’t fit on bus bike racks.

On balance though, for my first ebike it’s been a lot of fun and I don’t regret the choice. Now to convince the wife I need a speed pedelec for ‘backup’…

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

Excellent points, I enjoyed reading your cons and can relate to some of the difficulty working with shops (either for parts or just outside of their specialty). Most of the bikes I test are new so spokes aren’t loose but I have asked about this sort of thing before and heard that Loctite Blue can help to keep them secure. I hope the 13 and 14 gauge spokes hold up for you!

Reply
Lyn
1 year ago

I’m seriously considering the rad wagon as my first e-bike. Tested the spicy curry and a couple front boxes and loved them, big am balking at their price tag. On the other hand, I’m reading a few reviews that indicate that quality may be list due to the lower price. Given that I’m not an experienced bike person, how much maintenance will I be doing in this bike? How much more did you spend on the upgrades? I currently commute to work by bike and will now be adding a stop to drop off my son at preschool. It’s a total commute of four miles one way. In a perfect world, I don’t drive at all when in town. Thanks for any guidance you can provide. I’m really trying to make the right choice here. Oh yes, and finally, do you find it easy to keep the bike safe from theft?

Reply
George J
1 year ago

Purchased my bike 3 months ago and already logged in over 700 miles. Runs well and no issues yet. I was worried about the non standard spokes so purchased a few –just in case. Last week I was caught in a very heavy down pour 10 miles from home, soaked when I got home but bike ran without difficulty. I would buy it again. No regrets.

Reply
Court Rye
1 year ago

That’s awesome feedback George! Ride safe in the rain, glad the spokes are holding up and the bike hasn’t had any issues even with the weather :D

Reply
bill
10 months ago

Eventually, the electronics will fail. The company Rad may not exist by then. Will I end up having a non functional e-Bike? Are there any third party electronic controllers?

-bill

Reply
Court Rye
10 months ago

Hey Bill, sure! There are companies that repack batteries and others that sell controllers. Rad Power Bikes uses less proprietary stuff and the controller box is separate. Given their success and the thousands of people that own the product I’m guessing a third party after market solution would pop up. There might already be options you could find on Ebay. I’m not much of a hacker when it comes to ebikes but you can check out Endless Sphere forums and ask for tips in the event that you need technical help… also the forums here to some extent :)

Reply
Antia
7 months ago

I have now had my Radwagon for over a year. Overall I am pretty happy with the bike but as a learned more about e-bikes and about my own use, I have modified the bike to better fit my needs.

I use the bike for commuting and for taking my kids (2 and 4) to daycare, a total distance of 7 miles each way. I also live on a very steep hill. I bought the aluminium accessory deck and the caboose to transport the kiddos. The bike works great as stock but it is limited in the amount of torque it can provide at low speeds, which meant that I could not get up the hill I live on with the two kids on board and I could just about manage with one and pedaling furiously. I have to say that the hill is beyond the specified capabilities of the bike, so this is not a ding on rad but rather a reality of where I live. Once on the not so hilly areas, the bike worked great and my kids absolutely loved riding in the back. This issue with the hill made me look into possible modifications and I ended up mounting a mid drive motor (BBSHD) onto the frame, which was straightforward. I took out the rear wheel with motor and associated electronics and moved them only another bike. With the mid-drive motor, the radwagon frame is fantastic and works perfectly for my application. I like that it is just slightly longer than a normal bike and behaves in a very natural way. I use the motor as an assist and pedal all the time, so I appreciate that the bike behaves “normally”. The battery was plenty for my commute and back with either the original motor or the middrive, I never had any issue. As someone mentioned in one of the other comments, rad uses non-proprietary batteries so I was able to use my original battery with the new motor without any issues. Recently I also upgraded the stock handlebar to a Jones loop handlebar. Again, there was nothing fundamentally wrong with the original, I just find that I don’t particularly like straight handlebars and prefer a different geometry. I originally bought the Ballard cargo bags and I have to say they are just ok. One of them had 2 of the holding straps break off within the first few months. The way to mount them to the bike is also not very convenient if the deck is installed (which typically would be). I would not buy the bags again if given the opportunity. The caboose is very nice for carrying the kids. I just changed the nuts they provided with butterfly nuts so that it is easier to take on and off.

Overall, I really like the frame of the bike and the fact that it is fundamentally a non-proprietary design, just a very sensible selection of parts that work well together. This meant that I started with a reasonably priced bike that works great and was able to slowly upgrade bits and pieces to customize it to my use case. It is a shame rad does not offer this bike as a pure frameset as it makes for a great platform for a custom ebike.

Reply
Court Rye
7 months ago

Hey Antia, great overview… thanks for checking in after a year of use with this bike. I’m glad the frame is holding up for you and that you took a risk and tried modifying it to fit your needs better. Sounds like you and your kids are enjoying it :)

Reply
John
7 months ago

I’m 6’2″ — will the Radwagon be too small to ride comfortably?

Reply
Court Rye
7 months ago

High John, you might be at the upper end but with a raised saddle slid back on the rails and maybe a longer solid stem it could work well. There aren’t many cargo ebikes that come in multiple sizes, especially at this price. You’d be well served to look at different bars, different stems and even a longer seat post to make this work. I like suspension seat posts and Thudbuster makes longer ones. Hope this helps… you didn’t mention your weight but there are a number of mid-drive cargo bikes now from Xtracycle and Yuba that would climb better if your budget permits. I’m about to review the Bosch powered Yuba today so it’s kind of top of mind :)

Reply
Robert W Green
6 months ago

Court, I love this bike, it’s like a two wheel pickup truck! Those mtb handlebars have to go though. I’d rather have cruiser handlebars so I can ride sitting up straight. Next year when I get my tax refund I’m going to get one of these and cruiserize it. Only kink in the plan is I don’t see any slack in the wires and that will make populating the extra real estate on the longer bars very difficult. Can they add extra long wires and cables to accommodate different handle bars?

Reply
Court Rye
6 months ago

That’s a great question, Robert… Now that Rad Power Bikes has a retail outlet in Seattle Washington, I bet you could call and ask for some feedback and maybe even a customized version. I can’t say for sure, but maybe they would be able to adjust yours before shipping it out?

Reply
Aaron G
3 months ago

The caboose on the radpower site has been out of stock for a while. Does anyone know if the Yuba Mini Monkey Bars would mount on the radwagon?

Reply
Court Rye
3 months ago

Great question Aaron, maybe this is something the folks at Yuba could help answer for you? They sell an ebike too, called the Spicy Curry, and might be familiar with the RadWagon. I’m just going to go out on a limb here and say that I think they would be interchangeable, and you could probably return them if not… if you try it, please let us know!

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Molly
1 week ago

looking on their website it doesnt' show the Uv500 v3 any more.. my guess is that they are focusing on the cross current, ocean current and the hyperfat.

I just purchased a CCS in September.... I love its.. solid bike... and fast. but not really fitting your needs. Look into Magnum Bikes as well.

for your needs i'd look at a Tern or a Rad Wagon. I am not familiar with a Boda Boda and the doesn't list any real specs on their website, but looks like they would fit your needs. Find a local dealer and ask lots of questions.

I would highly recommend something with hydraulic disk breaks especially if your caring around a little one. Mechanical disk breaks are nice but you'll have to squeeze hard to stop quickly. Definitely make sure it has a 48v battery system as well.

from Tern the GSD looks awesome - https://www.ternbicycles.com/us/ but will not be out until 2018.
from Magnum I'd shy away from the cheaper bikes because they have an older battery system and have less torque. But they seem to be solid bikes.

if you can find a local bike shop. They will help you maintain and service your bike.

Andy

Thanks so much Andy,

I appreciate you taking the time to reply with all that information. I'm still waiting for Juiced to get back to me but it's been a couple days. I will check out the Tern & Agnus bikes. I'm looking for a dealer here in Vancouver that has a Radwagon so I can test drive it. I'm pretty tall (5 '10) so I need something that's not too tiny. Looking cute as I drive about is also important

Thank you Andy,
Molly.

Molly
1 week ago

This is my review that I posted on google. Does anyone have anything to say about ODK

I bought a ODK bike a month a go. I think it is the best design, Best price bike I could possible get for my needs.

ODK is really a very cool bike, It is unlike almost any other E-Bike.

Mine is the one speed.

The low step through frame and the Super large battery size make the perfect Mini Cargo Bike.

Now, I can not get a rear seat because, They will not have a run on seats, Until next year; But I can wait !

And also, They are all sold out of ODK Bikes. So you can not get a ODK Bike or a rear seat anytime soon.

To bad for you! I already got mine, And I love it!

Nothing could be better for cursing in Down Town Minneapolis!

Thank you Tor
This is my review that I posted on google. Does anyone have anything to say about ODK

I bought a ODK bike a month a go. I think it is the best design, Best price bike I could possible get for my needs.

ODK is really a very cool bike, It is unlike almost any other E-Bike.

Mine is the one speed.

The low step through frame and the Super large battery size make the perfect Mini Cargo Bike.

Now, I can not get a rear seat because, They will not have a run on seats, Until next year; But I can wait !

And also, They are all sold out of ODK Bikes. So you can not get a ODK Bike or a rear seat anytime soon.

To bad for you! I already got mine, And I love it!

Nothing could be better for cursing in Down Town Minneapolis!

Thank you Tor

Hello,

I was looking at the Juiced U 500 V 3 and it too is sold out. Does that mean they'll never offer that bike again or do I have to wait for a new model or are they going out of business? I'm debating between Juiced, RadWagon and the Boda Boda. Why did you chose the Juiced? I babysit a four year old during the week and would need to drive him about - would it be practical to have him ridding on the space behind me in a child carrier seat? Your thoughts would be appreciated.

Molly

Molly
1 week ago

Hi, new here, been contemplating a cargo bike for about a year to haul my two kids (3 and 5) to school on. Gone back and forth on a RadWagon, a Madsen, or a no-name Chinese bakfiets.

In my research I haven't seen a whole lot of real world experience with people putting the caboose on and throwing a couple kids on the back. I'm wondering if any owners here do that. The rear rack is shorter than a full on longtail like Xtracycle or Yuba so I'm wondering if they'd fit, and if so until what age. The Madsen has a lower CG and can haul a lot, but isn't electric w/o an aftermarket setup.

Thanks
Hello, wondering what you ended up buying? I too am in the market and I've narrowed it down to a RadWagon or a Yoda Yoda. I can't decide. What did you end up buying and why? Thanks for any info :)

Briggs Anderson
1 week ago

I am curious if these electric bikes can tow a bike trailer like a Burley D'Light? Probably weighs 80#s with both my kids in it. I like that idea better than having the child seat on the back of the bike itself. Then I could easily attach/detach the trailer.

Lost
1 week ago

Hello,

I'm thinking of buying myself a Radwagon very soon but was wondering if one can pedal the bike without the assist of motor so that I can get a bit of a workout on the way home from work? Thank you!
You absolutely can. And since the Rover is somewhere north of (depending on additions) 60lbs, you will likely get more of a workout than you want.

Molly
1 week ago

Hello,
Radwagon- Flat, full throttle no pedal, about 20 miles.
With hills (see pic)- Assist level 2 max 30 miles. Assist level 3 max 19 miles.
I have a 20 mile commute. Last summer I rode with assist 2 for about 6 months and had a full bar left.
Now I use assist 3 and have to change to my spare battery at about 18 miles depending on head wind and atmospheric temperature.
It seems to lose a mile or two depending on temp.
Assist level 3 makes some of the hills manageable.

Not sure this information is applicable because they have updated the firmware on the controller and the assist levels are managed in a different format. For mine the assist levels manage the power output but I think the new ones get you to a certain speed and then power down when you exceed that speed. As long as I am pedaling and traveling under 20 mph, the motor is always running. In power assist 3 my power output maxes out at about 530 watts and that is on steep hills.

I'm thinking of buying myself a Radwagon very soon but was wondering if one can pedal the bike without the assist of motor so that I can get a bit of a workout on the way home from work? Thank you!

Molly
1 week ago

Hello, I too am thinking about buying a Cargo e bike. I'm torn between a RadWagon and Boda Boda? Did anybody debate between these two & Which one is better and why? I'm 5 '10' and expect to carry groceries, sometimes a 4 year old and travel to work each day about 16 miles a day. I also want to be able to get a good workout & can I ride this with the motor turned down or off so I get to use my own force? Do you suggest I buy it from a bike store or order it on line? Any information & tips would be much appreciated. Thank You so much.

Tom Meara
3 weeks ago

I was in Home Depot today and stumbled upon a Ridgid tool storage box. I bought it on the spot and some hardware to mount it. At 22 inches, it is a nice size for the rear rack.

I wanted to make it easy on / easy off so I put a pannier hook on the back with a bolt/wingnut in front to hold it down. Hook the back end down, thread the bolt through a hole in the rack platform, and tighten with the wingnut. It easily holds two shopping bags.

There may be better ways to mount it but this was the first I tried and it works. I've put some foam on the bottom to keep it steady.

1/2
Voodoosix
3 weeks ago

I'm trying to keep speed and range up while keeping costs and weight down so Ill prob steer clear of the cargo bikes.
That Tern GSD looks like a winner but will prob cost more than I can spend as well.
The Radwagon is in the right price range but size and weight (70lb) would prob be an issue as the bike will need to on a trunk rack on occasion.
Motive Sherpa may be doable but it'll be slower, heavier and have less range than the CCAir.

The CCAir is coming in at $1400 with class3 speed and 30+mi range with the upgraded 614wh battery. I'm not seeing much that can hang with it for near the cost.

One thing I'm not liking is the proprietary battery casings, not just for Juiced but for all ebikes that have one. It just seems inevitable to me that with all the start up ebike companies, sooner or later some will go under and leave people without the ability to buy a new battery when the time comes.

Drew
4 weeks ago
OrangeWagon
4 weeks ago

I got the RadWagon, and got the Caboose with this cheap seat, and PVC pegs

I had a forward seating Yepp on another bike. When I got the Wagon I decided against getting the rear one because the Wagon rack is high to start with, and with the needed adapter it will be even higher. That will make the bike very top heavy.

Then my daughter is just turning 4yo, and I didn't feel comfortable for her to just hold on a handlebar. Maybe a 6yo wouldn't need the Caboose, but for younger kids is a must IMO (unless you are using a restraining seat like the Yepp).

1/2
OrangeWagon
4 weeks ago

Great review! I love mine too, but you are correct: it is heavy and components are low end.

Once thing I noticed, is that the battery bar display accuracy is marginal at best. Also, it will vary (go down when you draw a lot in a climb, and then go up when it's flat). So I wouldn't take it seriously to extrapolate. I'm eager to hear about your full ride until depletion.

On my experience, I use the bike to get to work on a bike as fast as I can. It's a 13mi route (one way), with lots of climb (1500ft):

I do it on PAS 5
carry about 12lbs of cargo (removed floorboards)
I weight 160lbs
wear cycling shoes/clips
and haul ass all the way (average 20mph)

After that, I seem to have 25% left charge. So I always need to charge at work for the trip home. My round trip with my 17lbs road bike is about 2hrs, with the RadWagon on PAS 5 and riding hard is about 1:15 hr. It has shaved my commute almost by half!

Tom Meara
4 weeks ago

I've had the bike all of three days and it has exceeded expectations. Yes, it is heavy and yes, the components are low-end but the bike balances value and function quite well.

I live in far western New York state about 1 hour south of Buffalo. It is a small town where just about everything is reachable in a 10 mile round trip but it is very hilly. I've been riding non-powered bikes since I was a kid and until recently rode about 3000 miles per year, mostly in club rides and long distance touring. Now that I'm retired I should be riding more but have found myself riding less and gaining weight. The purpose of this bike is to use it for all of those short trips where I had to carry things so I was not too concerned about range. It is to be a cargo bike with power assist for the hills. My question was, "How far could I go if I wanted to?"

The route used for the test was about as flat as I can find around here with a total of 600 feet of elevation change over 19.6 miles.

The conditions were stock components (my Schwalbles come today), little wind, a PAS level set to 1 and never use the throttle. My tires were inflated to 55 psi. I had to work but found that under most conditions the level one assist compensated for the extra weight and drag of the motor while providing a little boost. On flat to rolling roads I maintained an average speed of 15-16 which is what I would normally do on my non-powered road bikes. At that level of assist and speed I would draw 70 watts as indicated by the photo.

Notice the battery level is still showing 5 bars after 12.6 miles. This is why the Radwagon has exceeded my expectations. Since I had gone farther on less power than I was expecting I resolved to take a photo at every mile starting at 13 and continuing till the end. For safety reasons I stopped for the mile 13 photo.

At this point I started to do some math wondering if I could do 13 miles on one bar could I really do 65 miles on a single charge? Unfortunately, soon after taking this photo I started to fiddle with the computer to display average speed and held the mode button too long, resetting the trip mileage. I didn't time myself but I estimate the average speed to be 12-14 mph since there is only one stoplight on this route and the only thing that really slowed my down was the hills with PAS 1.

The first bar disappeared at the 14.5 mile mark and the battery meter stayed at 4 bars until just before I got home. The last 1/4 mile is downhill and the regen brought the battery back to 5 bars as I pulled into the yard as you can see in the last photo. Google maps has this route at 19.6 and I think I reset the computer at 13.3 or 13.4 so my wheel circumference setting for mileage, speed, etc. is pretty good.

I think I can safely say that I traveled at 14-16 mph on a flat to slightly rolling route for 20 miles and use only 20% of my battery. I will have to try for 60 miles on a single charge, if I can find a flat 60 miles around here. Stay tuned.

1/4
CargoEd
1 month ago

It was the hub making the noise. I took it to a shop and took a video of it, see this thread
https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/new-radwagon-has-clicking-sound-in-back-wheel.14468/

I spoke with Rad and they are sending me a replacement tire

CargoEd
1 month ago

I just got my Rad Wagon and assembled it myself. I had to realign the disk brakes and fix the gearing which I did with help of lots of Youtube videos.

However even after that is a loud series of clicking sound when the back wheel spins. It clicks even when I spin it slowly off the ground and when I ride it, its very loud any annoying. It sounds like its getting worse and more places are clicking. It sounds like someone is spinning the wheel in Wheel of Fortune. It sounds like it is coming from the hub but it definitely sounds loudest when the wheel is at a certain part of the the full rotation.

This is a brand new bike so its frustrating that its happening and I don't want to ride it in case it gets worse. Rad Power Bikes is not responding to my calls and emails and local bike shops don't want to touch it saying that they don't work on electric bikes so I'm even more frustrated. Can anyone help?

Antia
1 month ago

Hi there,
I carry my 3.5 year old and my almost 5 year old on a radwagon with a caboose. It works well. Wether you need it for the older kid I think depends a lot on the terrain and the traffic conditions around you.

CargoEd
1 month ago

Thanks so much @Dewey for the details, this is great information! I looked at the Qibbel but it said the rack pipe diameter needs to be smaller than 16mm and the radwagon is 12. I bought the Polisport so hope it fits, it didn't mention the max diameter and the installation video looks like it should fit.

dugblack
1 month ago

Hello all. Also looking to customize my handlebars. Barkme are those trekking bars still working well for you? What handlebar bore size does the radwagon accept? I ordered the 31.8mm thinking that'd be the case but I'm not sure. My wagon is in the post and I'm already ordering a bunch of personal touch parts. Thanks.

BiscoMaloney
1 month ago

I am thinking about purchasing a radwagon to haul my 2 kids (3 and 6) to school so trying to understand the must have accessories.

I'm planning on using the yepp seat for my 3 year old for just a little longer but wondering if I need the caboose. Is it just better to have the kids riding with handlebars or a similar grab bar in the back? Or does the caboose help in a way that I am not thinking of?

Anyone have any experience with the caboose and if it's a must have? I'm concerned about the size of the caboose and the ease of the kids getting in and out.

Dewey
1 month ago

I just bought a Radwagon to ride with my daughter that is 6 years old. Do I need a caboose?

Yes, get their accessory bars if you need to get them, This Seattle parent mentioned difficulty finding compatible accessories from other brands that could fit the RadWagon cargo deck.

If you do not want bars but your wife would like more safety than a grab handle, consider the aluminum accessory deck and Yepp EasyFit adapter to fit the Yepp Junior seat that fits a child from 5-9 years old and comes with bolt-on footpegs, it's probably a good investment to get the accessory deck for when you sell the bike because a future owner would then be able to fit Yepp child seats for younger and older children. The back of the Yepp Junior seat is cut out which this reviewer said their child found uncomfortable. Alternatively the Polisport Junior seat or the Qibbel Junior seat do the same job but with a full seat back and do not need the accessory deck and adapter. Check the measurements with the manufacturer before you buy, but I suspect both will fit because the Polisport is designed to clamp onto racks up to 175mm wide and the Qibbel onto racks up to 180mm wide, the Radwagon deck is 6.75" (171mm wide). This reviewer reported clamp-on seats scratch up the rack/frame paintwork so if that matters get the Yepp seat instead. Another rack seat for older children is the Bobike Junior but it does not fit onto the Radwagon deck only racks up to 160mm wide.

CargoEd
1 month ago

I just bought a Radwagon to ride with my daughter that is 6 years old. Do I need a caboose or will she be safe enough with handle bars to hold on to? My wife is worried that with a speed of a ebike she won't be safe without some safety bars around her an it may offer more protection from cars. ButI feel like she is old enough to hold on fine with some handle bars attachments. My daughter has been riding her own bike for about a year so she is comfortable on a bike.

CargoEd
1 month ago

I just bought a Radwagon to ride with my daughter that is 6. Do I need a caboose or will she be safe enough with handle bars to hold on to?

SnowyMonk
1 month ago

Just wanted to add that I got an e-mail from RadWagon saying that tension should be 80-85 Kfg. And use the park tools SW-3. Also... I know the specs says 12 gauge spokes, but the tool that came with the tensionometer has my spokes measuring 2.16 mm... which is somewhere between 13 and 14 gauge right? Anyway.... figured I'd add this info as this page has been helpful for my tru-ing needs.

richard rowlodge
1 week ago

reminds me of a Japanese "rickshaw"

Screww Googlle
2 months ago

Just bought myself one of these RadWagons...USED 15 Miles on it....$1100.00.
Runs Great...Like New....SUPER FIND ON CRAIGSLIST... CORVALLIS, OREGON.
Thanks Jean !
Great Video EBR Liked/Subscribed

elected12
2 months ago

You inspired me to get one we like it a lot. however I'm concerned about drag on the back wheel. With the bike on the kickstand, battery off, rear brake removed, rear wheel off of the ground, peddling as fast as I could. the rear tire stops in 8 seconds. Is this typical? (I discovered this while in the process of using the reflectors to balance the wheels)

adjtogo
3 months ago

One of my neighbors not only bought one of these, but two, because he liked the first one so much!! I see him every day ride by my house on his RadWagon very quietly. He told me that he researched e-bikes, and the RadWagon was the best option out there. The price is mid-range compared to some e-bikes I've personally seen in name brand bicycle shops, where the average price is $2995 and up!! Maybe that's another reason why my neighbor bought two of them? Anyway, I'd love to buy one of these, but they are a little out of my budget for now, as I recently retired.

Brian Brooks
4 months ago

Thanks for a great review. I wish there were a shop here in the DC area that had these to test drive. It seems like an excellent solution to urban living.

Secret Number
5 months ago

This Bike is useless for UBER DRIVER and for other bike messenger jobs because it comes with a battery size of 48v by 11.6 ah, which equals to 556whr (48×11.6) . Moreover it doesn't have the type of pedal assist mode that prolongs the battery. A work delivery bike must have a minimum if 1200 whr battery and a battery saving type of pedal assist mode in order for you to do deliveries all day. In manahtanb they sell those types of Chinese electric bikes for $1500.

jerome grzelak
5 months ago

Life is so hard u have to push 2 buttons

Friar Talk
5 months ago

I love the reviews of my favorite bikes but WHY is it always these ultra-femmy guys doing the reviews? I am tired of effeminate men, stop taking vaccines and watching tv, you are all being made into jellyfish and jellyfish won't survive what it coming. Straighten up.

nbookie
6 months ago

break is over so I can't watch the whole video. can I ride on motor only? no pedaling?

Nikko A.
6 months ago

which one is better? the one from HPC or Radpower?

Andrew Mullen
6 months ago

I don't think I can resist much longer...just have to convince my wife to let me get one. Maybe I'll just buy her a rad rover 1st!

Eugene Hanc
7 months ago

How Obtrusive is the wiring? Looks very loose and hanging.

Daryl Parsons
8 months ago

I like your reviews but I sure wish you would quit waving your hand in front of the camera.

zbikenut
10 months ago

Great video on this bike. 27.2 suspension seat posts are very available and cheap on ebay.

Mary McGuirk
10 months ago

many years ago, i owned a package delivery service, and really appreciate your BEST PRACTICES and TIPS... Ours was auto, not bike, but there were similar things to remember to avoid major disasters. Great Review...Could you add some emphasis points your review to have some OVERLAYS to make bullet points of your ideas. Just an idea for increasing value of your future reviews...I used movie maker successfully, so it can't be too hard to add titles to make something great even better.

DocCanFixIt
11 months ago

Nice! I Think I Found My Next Bike!

djkenny
11 months ago

So cheap for what it is! I just paid over $1500 for a new Surly Big Dummy, last year's model. I imagine the quality of components is a little lower to compensate for adding electric.

Bob Linton
1 year ago

I wish it could carry the load of an extra adult.

Michael Taylor
1 year ago

You Can!

Sovereign Knight
1 year ago

This is great and all but what is the range if used without pedal assist? As with all electric stuff range tends to be really poor vs gas counterparts.

Peter Q
1 year ago

Whats better this or the Juiced u500?