Rad Power Bikes RadWagon Review

Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Electric Bike Review 1
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Shengye 500 Watt Motor
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon 48 Volt 11 6 Ah Battery
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon King Meter Lcd Console
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Independent Rear Light And Fender
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Integrated Headlight And Deflopilator
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Shimano Alivio Crankset
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Shimano Tourney Derailleur
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Tektro Novella Disc Brakes Qr Wheel
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Electric Bike Review 1
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Shengye 500 Watt Motor
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon 48 Volt 11 6 Ah Battery
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon King Meter Lcd Console
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Independent Rear Light And Fender
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Integrated Headlight And Deflopilator
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Shimano Alivio Crankset
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Shimano Tourney Derailleur
Rad Power Bikes Radwagon Tektro Novella Disc Brakes Qr Wheel

Summary

  • Affordable, feature rich cargo style electric bike with a stiffer and lighter frame because it's not quite as long as some others
  • Offers five levels of pedal assist, throttle mode and throttle override as well as regenerative braking to recoup power and reduce wear on brake pads
  • Standardized rear rack and runners should work with traditional cargo bike accessories, several nice extras are already included such as wood decks, plastic wheel guards, full length fenders, lights, adjustable stem, oversized kickstand, deflopilator, adjustable stem and ergonomic grips
  • Only available in one size and color, no quick release on the rear wheel, some cheaper components, solid one year warranty

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

Rad Power Bikes

Model:

RadWagon

Price:

$1,599 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Urban, Commuting, Cargo

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

20152016

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

75 lbs (34.01 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

9 lbs (4.08 kg)

Frame Material:

Steel

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

Reach: 22

Frame Types:

Cargo, Mid-Step

Frame Colors:

Orange

Frame Fork Details:

Rigid

Attachment Points:

Fender Bosses, Rack Bosses

Gearing Details:

21 Speed 3x7 Shimano Tourney TX (Rear Derailleur) and Shimano Alivio (Front Derailleur), 28-33-48 Tooth

Shifter Details:

Shimano Tourney SIS Thumb Shifters Left and Right

Cranks:

Aluminum Alloy

Pedals:

Wellgo M111 Aluminum Alloy Platform

Headset:

Neco

Stem:

Zoom, Adjustable Angle, Aluminum

Handlebar:

Zoom, Aluminum Aloy, Low Rise

Brake Details:

Tektro Novella Mechanical Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Motor Inhibitor

Grips:

Velo, Semi-Ergonomic (Black and Gray)

Saddle:

Velo Plush With Integrated Lifting Handle

Seat Post:

Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Diameter:

27.2 mm

Rims:

Double Wall Aluminum Alloy, 30 mm Width, 36 Hole, CNC Side Wall

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 12 Gauge

Tire Brand:

Kenda K-Rad All Purpos, 26" x 2.3"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve

Accessories:

28" Cargo Rack With Wood Pannels, Integrated 200 Lumen LED Headlight, Battery Powered LED Rear Light, Deflopilator Spring (Keeps Front Wheel Straight for Loading), Sturdy Spring-Loaded Double Leg Kickstand, Full Length Plastic Fenders with Mud Flaps, Neoprene Slap Guard, Basic Flick Bell

Other:

Locking Removable Battery Pack, 48 Volt 15 Amp Sine Wave Controller (20 Amps Peak), Regenerative Braking, KMC Z7 Rustbuster Chain, Female USB Charging Port and Fuse on Battery, USB Port on Display

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Shengyi

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Peak Output:

750 watts

Battery Brand:

Samsung, 29E Cells

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

11.6 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

556.8 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

40 miles (64 km)

Display Type:

Fixed Backlit Monochrome LCD, SW-LCD by-King Meter

Readouts:

Speedometer, Wattmeter, Odometer, Assist Level (0-5), Battery Charge Level (5 Bars)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad near Left Grip, Throttle on/ off Near Right Grip

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle (12 Magnet Pedelec Disc)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The RadWagon is the second electric bicycle from Rad Power Bikes which started out with a fat ebike called the RadRover (crowdfunded through Indiegogo in early 2015) and has been working in the space since 2007. The Wagon emphasizes value and is one of the most affordable electric cargo bikes I’ve ever seen… To keep the price low a few components have been stepped down including the Shimano Tourney TX drivetrain, basic adjustable stem, independent rear light and cheap grips. But where it counts, things are done right and there’s a lot to appreciate including wood platforms on the rack and running boards, full length fenders, front and rear lights, oversized 180 mm disc brakes and a sturdy double legged kickstand. Compared with similar electric offerings from Yuba and Xtracycle the Rad Wagon is shorter in length and quite a bit heavier at ~75 lbs. It’s built on a steel frame that helps to dampen vibration and features large Kenda tires and a Velo Plush saddle to smooth things out further. The most impressive aspect to me is the price… which is enabled through the “online only” sales model that Rad Power Bikes uses. You will have to assemble parts of the bike on your own (or with the help of a shop) and cannot try it in person first which means the ~17″ frame may or may not fit your body perfectly (I’m ~5’9″ and it felt comfortable). You do get a one year warranty here and even though the company is relatively new I feel like they are well funded and operating in a professional manner.

Driving the bike is a quiet and smooth 500 watt gearless hub motor. Not having gears, this motor is able to offer regeneration as well as power but it also weighs more and isn’t as strong at low speeds. Many people ask “can you pedal an electric bike to charge it” but that’s not really the point here given the 10% to 15% efficiency. Basically, with a larger and heavier bike like this the regen feature just lets you save wear on your brake pads and extend range slightly if you’re coasting down hills for part of your ride. The top speed of the bike is ~20 mph and you can operate in either pedal assist or throttle mode. I love that there’s a throttle only setting (level zero) and that you can override assist at any time with full power using the twist throttle. You can also completely disable the throttle using the red on/off button near the right grip. I noticed a quick disconnect point in the wire running to the hub motor which will make tuneups and fixes easier but there’s no quick release back here… just in the front. The bike uses a sine wave controller that puts out up to 20 Amps and controls power in a smooth way.

Powering the motor and front light on the RadWagon is a high quality 48 volt 11.6 amp hour battery. Inside are Samsung 29E cells that use a Lithium-ion chemistry aimed at being light weight and long lasting. To extend their life, store the pack in a cool dry location (avoid extreme heat and cold) and if you’re not going to be riding for a while leave the pack at ~50% instead of plugging it in. Check in on the battery every few months and fill it back up if power has been draining. I like the mounting location of the battery here because it’s out of the way and somewhat protected by the frame. The pack weighs about seven pounds and that weight is kept low and center for improved handling and balance. I did notice that when braking the rear tire can skid more frequently than on shorter non-cargo bikes because there’s less weight over the rear wheel. Getting back to the battery, one of the downsides I noticed is that you have to turn the pack on independent from the display console (so that’s two on/off steps). It’s not a huge deal but there is more potential for accidentally leaving the battery on which could drain its power. Same deal for the rear light, it’s independent from the main battery and runs on separate cells… if you turn it on but forget to turn it off while parking overnight you may come back to a non-functioning light in the morning. I would prefer that all systems run off of one main battery and that there be only one on/off switch to make it fast and easy but this design still gets the job done and saves money. The battery casing is a generic “dolphin” style and the rear light doesn’t require extra wires as it would if it were integrated.

Operating the bike requires a couple of extra steps but also includes some nice extras. Once the battery is charged and locked to the downtube you press on and then on again at the button pad near the left grip. The LCD display comes to life and shows your power, assist level, speed and distance stats. At this point, you can hold mode to activate the headlight and then reach back to click the on/off switch for the tail light. At any point if you want to go, make sure the red button on the twist throttle is in and then twist! For improved range and a bit of exercise you can arrow up through five levels of assist and the 12 magnet cadence sensor (near the right crank arm) will sense movement and activate the motor. It’s great that they used a higher end cadence sensor because it’s very responsive but the brake levers are wired in to cut power to the motor so if you ever feel out of control just squeeze. Another benefit to cadence sensing vs. torque on an e-bike like this is that you don’t have to push hard to get the motor going, it just listens for movement and then puts out the specified power and speed (low for level 1 and higher for level 5). I tend to ride in level two or three and then use the twist throttle for a boost of power when passing fellow cyclists or topping hills.

In recent years, established electric bike companies have been investing more and more money into designs. Some bikes like the EdgeRunner have a smaller rear wheel for lower center of gravity when hauling and use a mid-drive motor for increased torque and efficiency. This is awesome but it also costs 2x to 3x as much money. The RadWago is a competent electric cargo bike that could empower you to haul groceries, bring kids along or completely eliminate your car or motorcycle. It’s a solid platform with thoughtful accessories, a good warranty and a lot of potential. It might not go as far as a mid-drive bike but the charger is small and light weight… in ~1 hour you could refill to ~70% and easily get home. If you’ve been considering a utility oriented bicycle but weren’t sure about the added weight and size, this bike addresses those concerns by adding electric power and being a bit shorter. It feels sturdy and stiff and also comfortable but you could add something like a Thudbuster to smooth things out even more. Just remember to turn that battery and light off when you’ve reached your destination ;)

Pros:

  • Compatible with many of the leading cargo bike accessories from companies like Yuba and ExtraCycle, add a child seat, sidecar, extra set of handlebars and many other utility-oriented extras
  • Shorter wheelbase than traditional cargo bikes, makes it stiffer to ride and somewhat easier to store if you have limited space
  • Durable gearless motor operates quietly and offers regeneration to help recoup energy when coasting down large hills (and save wear on your brake pads)
  • Quick release on the front wheel and removable battery pack (makes bike lighter for transport) there’s also a quick disconnect in the power cable going to the motor but taking it off requires a wrench because it uses standard nuts
  • Very stable when parked thanks to the oversized double legged kickstand, there’s also a deflopilator spring running from the fork to the downtube to keep it straight when loading gear
  • Protective clear plastic guards are mounted to both sides of the rear wheel, this should keep strapping from packs away from spokes and the tire (reduced rubbing and snagging potential)
  • Useful accessories including full length plastic fenders with mudguards, front and rear lights (though the rear light runs off of independent batteries and not the main pack) and reflectors
  • Comfortable saddle with integrated handle for easy lifting when repositioning the bike, larger tires smooth out bumps, ergonomic grips relax hands a bit and the adjustable stem helps to optimize body position when riding
  • Offers throttle only mode as well as throttle override offering full power that overrides assist, five levels of pedal assist help to conserve power and extend range
  • Responsive pedal assist uses 12 magnets vs. 5 or 6 on more basic ebikes, this helps it get going quicker and stop when you discontinue pedaling, I like that the brake levers have motor inhibitors and also activate regeneration mode
  • The steel frame helps to reduce vibration but you could add even more comfort by adding a seat post suspension like the Thudbuster (just make sure you get the 27.2 mm diameter to fit or use a shim if you buy a smaller post)
  • Two integrated USB charging ports! One is located on the right side of the battery pack but can get in the way if you’re pedaling so the second one is right up on the display (right side) so you can charge your phone or other portable electronic devices

Cons:

  • Adjustable angle stems like the one used here can come loose over time if you go off-road or ride off of curbs… consider checking it regularly
  • Only available in one medium ~17″ frame size, the mid-step frame and low seat post makes it accessible to shorter riders but some larger people could feel cramped
  • Currently only available online so it may be difficult to test out in person, the warranty is solid and Rad Power Bikes has been in business for many years
  • In order to start the Rad Wagon you first have to activate the battery pack and then press power again on the button pad, this adds time and makes it easier to forget to de-activate the battery after a ride
  • The battery pack takes up most of the space where a bottle cage might mount and the controller box is already fastened to the seat tube so no bottle cages… consider a saddle rail adapter or something like a Camelbak

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More Rad Power Bikes Reviews

Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A funky miniaturized folding fat tire bike with two cargo racks! Truly capable of sand and snow riding, LED lights guide and keep you safe, the bike offers assist and throttle drive modes. Basic seven speed drivetrain from Shimano, plastic chain guide keeps things on track, metal derailleur…...

Rad Power Bikes RadCity Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016, 2017

A value priced but featured packed urban commuter style electric bike with everything from fenders, to LED lights, rear carry rack and regenerative braking. Solid driving and braking performance with a 750 watt gearless hub motor and 180 mm…...

Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Strikes an excellent balance delivering high power with mid-level components for a reasonable price, you get throttle and pedal assist with an on/off on the throttle! solid one year warranty for the original owner, flat rate $175 shipping in the US. Even though the battery and controller box are bolted on vs. integrated into the frame,…...

2016 Rad Power Bikes RadMini Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A folding fat tire electric bike with front and rear cargo racks and double-tube frame for improved strength (good option for larger riders). Powerful 750 watt internally geared fat-bike specific motor paired with a large 48 volt 11.6…...

2015 Rad Power Bikes RadRover Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

An Indiegogo funded electric fatbike with a powerful 500 watt motor, ample 48 volt battery and seven speed drivetrain. Comfortable saddle, ergonomic grips and suspension fork with lockout, two color choices but only one…...


Kelley
2 years ago

Thanks for your review. You mention the bike should be compatible with some Yuba and ExtraCycle components. Do you know if specific components are compatible or if there is a resource for this information?

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Kelley, I got the impression that all or most accessories would be compatible (at least with the rear rack tubing portion of the bike) but I’ve reached out to Rad Power Bikes to get more info and will chime in again once they respond :)

Mandy
2 years ago

Thanks for all the great review on your site, they are extremely helpful! I am interested to hear the reply about the accessories, in particular the Hooptie and/or Monkey Bars. I will purchase this bike if one of those options work. With a three year old I’ve been very interested in the “family style” options of cargo bikes with the rear decks, but have been put off by the price point of the assisted Xtracycle and Yuba. The RadWagon seems like it may be a great choice, but would love the added piece of mind the inner and outer rails of the Hooptie and Monkey Bars provide for kids on the back.

Sharon
1 year ago

http://cambriabike.com

I ordered my Rad Wagon accessories on line from the link above. I ordered the handlebars, breadbasket and padded seat. Hope this helps.

Sharon
1 year ago

I just googled accessories for Yuba Mundo and several sites appeared….Merry Christmas!!!!

Court Rye
1 year ago

Cool, thanks Sharon!

Mohcine Chaouki
1 year ago

Do you know if anyone was able to retrofit the Monkey bars on this bike? ~Thanks!
I bought the bars from the cambria site, but they are a bit longer than the back seat dimensions.

Mike
1 year ago

Hi Mohcine,

We will have a great solution for this listed on our website for sale within the next 30 days. The length and mounting hole locations of the other accessories on the market make it challenging to install on the RadWagon, but we expect that you will really like what we will be offering, stay tuned, and thanks for the support!

-Mike from Rad Power Bikes

George
10 months ago

Radwagon owners, how is the bike holding up? Also, to the company–how long have you been in business? Are parts readily available? Tech support offered? Thanks.

Rad Power Bikes
9 months ago

Hi George,

We have been in business since 2007 and replacement parts are readily available and stocked in our Seattle warehouse. We have an experienced tech support team ready to help as needed and we strive to provide same day responses as well as same day replacement part shipments if anything is needed on your end!

– Mike from Rad Power Bikes

N. KANTH
9 months ago

How to buy please send the details, about price and buying

Court Rye
9 months ago

This bike is sold through their website here. You can buy it and other models and they will ship them directly to your house :)

TenBlinkers
9 months ago

My RadWagon experience so far. I have 1,500 miles on it since February, and I like it a lot.

Pros:

  • Motor has a lot of power. Me+bike+a bunch of gear = 400lbs, and I’ve yet to meet a hill I can’t climb.
  • Speed is rated at 20mph, but you’ll get assist for a bit more than that. I can maintain 21mph+ for 10+ miles.
  • You really can carry just about anything/everything you can think of.
  • I love that RadPower doesn’t have proprietary batteries! This means if you need another battery (my commute is long – one won’t get me there), you can get the most up-to-date cells at market prices, not 2-year old tech at a stiff markup, like most other ebike companies.
  • RadPower’s light they sell separately is good, and I recommend it.
  • Great price. Can’t be beat for the money.

Cons:

  • Beware the spokes. They use 12g spokes for durability. That’s good. Very few shops can cut or thread 12g spokes. That’s bad. And the ones that can, don’t stock them. When I broke mine, RadPower was out of spokes with no ETA, and the shop didn’t have any, so I had to order a box of them myself from Amazon. That’s fine I guess, but it sets you back a week waiting on them (2-day delivery wasn’t available). Also, the spokes get loose about every 300 miles. Finally after 1200 miles and 4 trips to the shop to have them tighten them (which I could have done myself, but was afraid to knock the wheel out of true), the shop recommended a full rear wheel rebuild. They rebuilt it with 13/14g spokes instead. Again, not the end of the world, but the bike was out of commission for an extended period.
  • Invest in some kevlar tires. Non-kevlar tires + ebikes = nonsensical.
  • My LBS isn’t all that happy when they see me coming. They don’t appreciate the 75lb weight, nor how difficult it is to get the rear wheel on/off. This is no fault of RadPower, just the nature of cargo bikes with hub motors.
  • Their Ballard Bags are just ok. Don’t try using them without the runners, and don’t expect them to be waterproof. Decent enough for the price.
  • Caveat Emptor on the cargo bike. If you’re picking the Wagon, you no doubt understand the pros/cons of cargo bikes, but sometimes it’s a hassle. They’re hard to fit in cars, hard to buy racks for with the extended wheelbase, they don’t fit on bus bike racks.

On balance though, for my first ebike it’s been a lot of fun and I don’t regret the choice. Now to convince the wife I need a speed pedelec for ‘backup’…

Court Rye
9 months ago

Excellent points, I enjoyed reading your cons and can relate to some of the difficulty working with shops (either for parts or just outside of their specialty). Most of the bikes I test are new so spokes aren’t loose but I have asked about this sort of thing before and heard that Loctite Blue can help to keep them secure. I hope the 13 and 14 gauge spokes hold up for you!

Lyn
8 months ago

I’m seriously considering the rad wagon as my first e-bike. Tested the spicy curry and a couple front boxes and loved them, big am balking at their price tag. On the other hand, I’m reading a few reviews that indicate that quality may be list due to the lower price. Given that I’m not an experienced bike person, how much maintenance will I be doing in this bike? How much more did you spend on the upgrades? I currently commute to work by bike and will now be adding a stop to drop off my son at preschool. It’s a total commute of four miles one way. In a perfect world, I don’t drive at all when in town. Thanks for any guidance you can provide. I’m really trying to make the right choice here. Oh yes, and finally, do you find it easy to keep the bike safe from theft?

George J
7 months ago

Purchased my bike 3 months ago and already logged in over 700 miles. Runs well and no issues yet. I was worried about the non standard spokes so purchased a few –just in case. Last week I was caught in a very heavy down pour 10 miles from home, soaked when I got home but bike ran without difficulty. I would buy it again. No regrets.

Court Rye
7 months ago

That’s awesome feedback George! Ride safe in the rain, glad the spokes are holding up and the bike hasn’t had any issues even with the weather :D

bill
4 months ago

Eventually, the electronics will fail. The company Rad may not exist by then. Will I end up having a non functional e-Bike? Are there any third party electronic controllers?

-bill

Court Rye
4 months ago

Hey Bill, sure! There are companies that repack batteries and others that sell controllers. Rad Power Bikes uses less proprietary stuff and the controller box is separate. Given their success and the thousands of people that own the product I’m guessing a third party after market solution would pop up. There might already be options you could find on Ebay. I’m not much of a hacker when it comes to ebikes but you can check out Endless Sphere forums and ask for tips in the event that you need technical help… also the forums here to some extent :)

Antia
1 month ago

I have now had my Radwagon for over a year. Overall I am pretty happy with the bike but as a learned more about e-bikes and about my own use, I have modified the bike to better fit my needs.

I use the bike for commuting and for taking my kids (2 and 4) to daycare, a total distance of 7 miles each way. I also live on a very steep hill. I bought the aluminium accessory deck and the caboose to transport the kiddos. The bike works great as stock but it is limited in the amount of torque it can provide at low speeds, which meant that I could not get up the hill I live on with the two kids on board and I could just about manage with one and pedaling furiously. I have to say that the hill is beyond the specified capabilities of the bike, so this is not a ding on rad but rather a reality of where I live. Once on the not so hilly areas, the bike worked great and my kids absolutely loved riding in the back. This issue with the hill made me look into possible modifications and I ended up mounting a mid drive motor (BBSHD) onto the frame, which was straightforward. I took out the rear wheel with motor and associated electronics and moved them only another bike. With the mid-drive motor, the radwagon frame is fantastic and works perfectly for my application. I like that it is just slightly longer than a normal bike and behaves in a very natural way. I use the motor as an assist and pedal all the time, so I appreciate that the bike behaves “normally”. The battery was plenty for my commute and back with either the original motor or the middrive, I never had any issue. As someone mentioned in one of the other comments, rad uses non-proprietary batteries so I was able to use my original battery with the new motor without any issues. Recently I also upgraded the stock handlebar to a Jones loop handlebar. Again, there was nothing fundamentally wrong with the original, I just find that I don’t particularly like straight handlebars and prefer a different geometry. I originally bought the Ballard cargo bags and I have to say they are just ok. One of them had 2 of the holding straps break off within the first few months. The way to mount them to the bike is also not very convenient if the deck is installed (which typically would be). I would not buy the bags again if given the opportunity. The caboose is very nice for carrying the kids. I just changed the nuts they provided with butterfly nuts so that it is easier to take on and off.

Overall, I really like the frame of the bike and the fact that it is fundamentally a non-proprietary design, just a very sensible selection of parts that work well together. This meant that I started with a reasonably priced bike that works great and was able to slowly upgrade bits and pieces to customize it to my use case. It is a shame rad does not offer this bike as a pure frameset as it makes for a great platform for a custom ebike.

Court Rye
1 month ago

Hey Antia, great overview… thanks for checking in after a year of use with this bike. I’m glad the frame is holding up for you and that you took a risk and tried modifying it to fit your needs better. Sounds like you and your kids are enjoying it :)

John
3 weeks ago

I’m 6’2″ — will the Radwagon be too small to ride comfortably?

Court Rye
3 weeks ago

High John, you might be at the upper end but with a raised saddle slid back on the rails and maybe a longer solid stem it could work well. There aren’t many cargo ebikes that come in multiple sizes, especially at this price. You’d be well served to look at different bars, different stems and even a longer seat post to make this work. I like suspension seat posts and Thudbuster makes longer ones. Hope this helps… you didn’t mention your weight but there are a number of mid-drive cargo bikes now from Xtracycle and Yuba that would climb better if your budget permits. I’m about to review the Bosch powered Yuba today so it’s kind of top of mind :)

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Barkme Wolf
15 hours ago

Yesterday I got trekking handle bars and accoutrements. Set up went OK but when I tried to ride it, my front shifter didn't work properly. Apparently the cable got twisted- easy fix. For some reason it rides faster, much faster. There is a hill I coast down every day and hit about 24-26mph, this morning I had to start breaking at 30mph. Caught me off guard.

1/2
windmill
3 days ago

@windmill :rolleyes:!

Anyone know what that proper spoke tension should be for those RadWagon wheels? Particularly the rear motor wheel.
Our shop repaired a RadWagon that was about to tear up the motor wires. The lock nut that Rad Power uses is not strong enough for such a heavy cargo bike. We replaced it with a heavier duty one; there wasn't enough room for the GRIN torque arm to fit which is what we wanted to use. Need a slightly thinner torque arm. For cargo bikes in general torque arms would be a better choice than the lock nut.
Who knows, and its dubious as the spokes are short and thick. I simply did it by feel and sound. I agree a torque arm would be best, but the Problem Solvers nuts seem to be up to the task as one can really tighten them down.

Ann M.
3 days ago

@windmill :rolleyes:!

Anyone know what that proper spoke tension should be for those RadWagon wheels? Particularly the rear motor wheel.
Our shop repaired a RadWagon that was about to tear up the motor wires. The lock nut that Rad Power uses is not strong enough for such a heavy cargo bike. We replaced it with a heavier duty one; there wasn't enough room for the GRIN torque arm to fit which is what we wanted to use. Need a slightly thinner torque arm. For cargo bikes in general torque arms would be a better choice than the lock nut.

windmill
3 days ago

To date at 810 miles

Headlight light circut, Busch & Muller IQ-X E
Headlight battery, Specialized Flux Expert
Tail light light circut, Spanninga Elips XE
Flashing tail light battery, Cateye Reflex
Handelbars, Soma Sparrow
Grips, Ergon GP1 Biokork
Stem clock, Stem Captain
Front fender exxtension, SKS velo 55
Brake pads, Shimano resin
Brake & shift cables, Jagwire Mountain Pro
Extended seat post, Cansuc 450mm
Saddle, Selle Royal Becoz Biokork
Pedals, Shimano M324
Axle nuts, Problem Solvers
Rear derailleur, Shimano Deore
Tires, Schwalbe Big Ben Plus
Rear spokes, Sapim
Tool bag, Avener
Panniers, 90L De Poot newspaper bags
Lock, Onguard Pitbull

1/6
Barkme Wolf
3 days ago

4000 miles on a Radwagon here- Keep your spokes tight and true. Keep your chain oiled and have regular tune ups for your derailleur system. Upgrades on derailleur and seat advised. Additional lights a must.
My biggest issue has been spoke breakage. Otherwise it's all good. I ride 40+ miles daily, all hills.
Also the front fender is a bit of in the way of the peddles when you turn. No clearance.

Barkme Wolf
4 days ago

4000 miles on a Radwagon here- Keep your spokes tight and true. Keep your chain oiled and have regular tune ups for your derailleur system. Upgrades on derailleur and seat advised. Additional lights a must.
My biggest issue has been spoke breakage. Otherwise it's all good. I ride 40+ miles daily, all hills.

Barkme Wolf
5 days ago

There are some holes drilled in the radwagon but they have not fit any water bottle mount I have found. 4 inches apart. Same on bothe sides.

1/1
Barkme Wolf
7 days ago

I am thinking about getting some of these Trekking handlebars. Has anyone else used them?

1/1
John49
1 week ago

What kit would work best for a Radwagon? I adjusted the bars up with the stock setup but need to come up a few inches to reduce leaning over. I like an upright position as much as possible.

Mike Radenbaugh
1 week ago

@Eric Bresnahan We have seen a number of customers adapt various alternative child carrying accessories on the back of the RadWagon, but have not seen any that fit without significant modifications, homemade adapters, DIY work. I have a DIY background, and appreciate this type of stuff but Rad Power Bikes cannot recommend any third party accessories since we have not put them through their paces. The RadWagon is competitively priced, and we try to keep the accessory costs down as low as possible. The caboose and deckhand are made about an hour outside of Seattle in a small 2nd generation family owned manufacturing facility, so our margins are next to nothing, but we like to make what we can locally. Happy biking!

Barkme Wolf
1 week ago

Radwagon- Flat, full throttle no pedal, about 20 miles.
With hills (see pic)- Assist level 2 max 30 miles. Assist level 3 max 19 miles.
I have a 20 mile commute. Last summer I rode with assist 2 for about 6 months and had a full bar left.
Now I use assist 3 and have to change to my spare battery at about 18 miles depending on head wind and atmospheric temperature.
It seems to lose a mile or two depending on temp.
Assist level 3 makes some of the hills manageable.

Not sure this information is applicable because they have updated the firmware on the controller and the assist levels are managed in a different format. For mine the assist levels manage the power output but I think the new ones get you to a certain speed and then power down when you exceed that speed. As long as I am pedaling and traveling under 20 mph, the motor is always running. In power assist 3 my power output maxes out at about 530 watts and that is on steep hills.

1/1
Eric Bresnahan
1 week ago

Can't decide which one to get, interested to hear your experiences

John49
1 week ago

So far I have just been conversing through E-Mails trying different diagnosis methods. The weather here in Michigan is finally breaking so I can spend some time working on it.

Update: Spoke with Tech Support at RadPower and after a couple of diagnostic checks they decided to send out a new motor and wheel. I am excited to get back on the road since I just a had a full knee replacement and chose the RadWagon as part of my physical therapy.

So far very good service from RadPower.

windmill
1 week ago

I want to upgrade the shifting system on my Radwagon. Any advice would be nice- :)
Although I am usually dirt poor, I have a few dollars to put into the bike. I am getting a Thudbuster seatpost and a Diamond Back pillow top saddle. Looking into changing out the handle bars as well.
Most importantly I want to upgrade my shifters because I can't use all my gears and I have nothing but hills on my commute.
Someone suggested this in another thread-
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B003OWPRLI/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=2MN9PPS13UNW3&coliid=I2OUD3FOJRWK58&psc=1
That's the derailleur I used to upgrade.

Once you upgrade the derailleur, the OE shifters will work perfectly, and you won't gain anything by changing them.
Replacing the OE cables with Jagwire mountain pro cables will also make a noticeable improvement.
https://www.amazon.com/Jagwire-Mountain-Shift-Cable-Carbon/dp/B001C4VS5E/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1492329733&sr=8-1&keywords=jagwire+mountain+pro+shift+kit

I replaced the handlebars with Soma swallow bars, and they are a real improvement. I did need to replace the brake and shift cables as I have the stem set at max elevation, and the OE cables were a little on the short side, but the Jagwire cables improve shifting, and braking so it was worth it.
http://www.treefortbikes.com/product/333222409417/1430/Soma-Fabrications-Sparrow.html?utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&scid=scplp33322240941726141&sc_intid=33322240941726141&gclid=CKHV9ILDqNMCFc5bfgodLNACxA

Antia
1 week ago

As someone said above, a cargo bike will work for you, but it is not your only option. I take my 2 and 4 year olds on my radwagon cargo bike, but my husband has his fat bike (radrover) set up for carrying one kid and if works great too and is great fun when riding kidneys.

DanielGlacial
2 weeks ago

Your preferred bike, the Haibike Sduro FullSeven, is an excellent choice. I have the 2016 version, and I really like the 3-inch tires and the full suspension. I believe the 2017 model has a new Yamaha motor with more torque and a higher capacity battery. It should do everything you expect the bike to do, including your 22-mile commute and fun riding trails.

EXCEPT, you mention picking up your kid from kindergarten. You want your kid to ride on the bike with you? It's difficult to fit a rack and a second saddle (or cushion) on a full-suspension mountain bike. If you want to carry a passenger you would be better served by a cargo bike like the Radwagon.

How is your bike holding up, about how many miles or km u got on it ? Will it last 2-3 years u think ?
I was thinking to put a thule bike trailer on it, would that be possible you think ? Then i dont have to pack things on the bike, and can even go shop with it, since i got luggage compartment as well.

The bike i mention cost 4300 euro about, what do you get except a bit better torque battery and full suspension if you compare it to the Haibike SL hard tail around 2000 euro cheaper.

Bicyclista
2 weeks ago

Your preferred bike, the Haibike Sduro FullSeven, is an excellent choice. I have the 2016 version, and I really like the 3-inch tires and the full suspension. I believe the 2017 model has a new Yamaha motor with more torque and a higher capacity battery. It should do everything you expect the bike to do, including your 22-mile commute and fun riding trails.

EXCEPT, you mention picking up your kid from kindergarten. You want your kid to ride on the bike with you? It's difficult to fit a rack and a second saddle (or cushion) on a full-suspension mountain bike. If you want to carry a passenger you would be better served by a cargo bike like the Radwagon.

Eric Bresnahan
2 weeks ago

I noticed that the caboose (really all the official accessories) are on the higher end price-wise. Are there any good alternatives to the aluminum accessory deck, the deckhand, and the caboose?

Also, it's between the wagon and the rover, will this bike rack work for both? (I know I'm pushing it with the weight limit on the wagon)
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ASSQYK4/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pd_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=1D5OWUGABZQKM&coliid=I34QI1U20DFHPB

And yes, I am extremely new to electric bikes, really just bikes in general.

Thanks for the help guys!

Barkme Wolf
2 weeks ago

I want to upgrade the shifting system on my Radwagon. Any advice would be nice- :)
Although I am usually dirt poor, I have a few dollars to put into the bike. I am getting a Thudbuster seatpost and a Diamond Back pillow top saddle. Looking into changing out the handle bars as well.
Most importantly I want to upgrade my shifters because I can't use all my gears and I have nothing but hills on my commute.
Someone suggested this in another thread-
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B003OWPRLI/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=2MN9PPS13UNW3&coliid=I2OUD3FOJRWK58&psc=1

Barkme Wolf
2 weeks ago

I like my Radwagon. Glad I bought it.

Danielle
2 weeks ago

I have had a Radwagon for about 9 months now and I'm ready to just buy the Yuba basket too. Were you able to put the front headlight back on after installing the basket? I would really like to keep my light but would LOVE to have a basket up front.

Dewey
3 weeks ago

Thank you for the thorough and helpful response! Any thoughts on U500 vs. RadWagon? Looks like both will be in the $1600-1800 range, which I may be willing to go to if it really gets me what I need.

Juiced sell refurbished ODK 500 for $1119

windmill
3 weeks ago

My rear derailleur isn't working properly. It would never get me into the highest gear, so I tried adjusting it and now can't get into the lowest gear. Upon inspection, the top cog of the derailleur is canted about 20 degrees, which may have something to do with my problem. It's really cheap, so I wanted to get a better high quality derailleur to replace it.

What derailleur's are compatible, with a Shimano Deore XT 9 speed work on a 7 speed?
Yes, perfect for the application.

This is the one I have on my Radwagon,,
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003OWPRLI/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Significant improvement over the OE derallieur.

1/1
King Pluto
20 hours ago

which one is better? the one from HPC or Radpower?

Andrew Mullen
2 weeks ago

I don't think I can resist much longer...just have to convince my wife to let me get one. Maybe I'll just buy her a rad rover 1st!

Eugene Hanc
2 months ago

How Obtrusive is the wiring? Looks very loose and hanging.

Daryl Parsons
2 months ago

I like your reviews but I sure wish you would quit waving your hand in front of the camera.

zbikenut
4 months ago

Great video on this bike. 27.2 suspension seat posts are very available and cheap on ebay.

Mary McGuirk
4 months ago

many years ago, i owned a package delivery service, and really appreciate your BEST PRACTICES and TIPS... Ours was auto, not bike, but there were similar things to remember to avoid major disasters. Great Review...Could you add some emphasis points your review to have some OVERLAYS to make bullet points of your ideas. Just an idea for increasing value of your future reviews...I used movie maker successfully, so it can't be too hard to add titles to make something great even better.

DocCanFixIt
5 months ago

Nice! I Think I Found My Next Bike!

djkenny
5 months ago

So cheap for what it is! I just paid over $1500 for a new Surly Big Dummy, last year's model. I imagine the quality of components is a little lower to compensate for adding electric.

Bob Linton
6 months ago

I wish it could carry the load of an extra adult.

Michael Taylor
6 months ago

You Can!

Peter Q
8 months ago

Whats better this or the Juiced u500?

Darren Million
8 months ago

What a joke I have a 2 Stroke gas bike and I get way more mileage on just a 3/4 gallon tank of gas and it does 50+ MPH LOL. and it did not cost me $1500+ more like $300 HAHAHAHA

djkenny
5 months ago

There is nothing legally saying an electric bike is not street legal. They are just like any other bike. A gas powered bike is a grey area. Your bike "could" handle carrying 2-3 kids with a $550 Xtracycle freeloader kit, absolutely. It would make it into a long tail style MTB. We know the pollution levels due ot it being simple knowledge of a 2 Stroke. If it even got 4-5 times better gas mileage than a Hummer (and it might) that does not make up for the fumes emitted. It is 10 folds higher. Just what you get for a $300 gas powered engine. They are also much louder than electric. I am glad it works for you, though.

Darren Million
5 months ago

Well that goes for your E Bike too you dumb ass kid

Some Body
5 months ago

None of them are street legal you dumb fuck

Darren Million
5 months ago

+djkenny I would like to know something how do you get my bike can't carry big things? How do you get that it Pollutes more than a Hummer.? How do you know it won't carry kids? How do you know its loud? How does any of you know it's not street legal? YOU DON'T

Darren Million
5 months ago

+djkenny Really? you all are just mad HAHAHAHAHA thats fucking funnny.

Marc Dupont
9 months ago

Just got mine yesterday. Thank you so much for your reviews. you were instrumental in my final choice. keep up the good work

Alex Paulsen
10 months ago

Drop by my shop here in New Zealand and I'll find a bike or two you can review :P

alaskanhybrid
10 months ago

This looks cool. Its almost like a BMX with a rack to carry stuff and a hub mounted electric motor.

Co Mo
10 months ago

great review..thank you for posting...just began researching electric cargo bikes for my company and personal use and the reviews from electric bike review has been so very helpful...will absolutely make my research and decision easier...thank you all so much

Co Mo
1 week ago

actually, I have not as some of my requirements are changing..hoping to buy one in June...

Piercerson
2 weeks ago

Did you eventually buy an electric cargo bike? I'm currently searching.

ElectricBikeReview.com
10 months ago

Awesome! So glad it helped, hope you enjoy whatever bike you end up choosing :D

Ona Luna
11 months ago

Do these batteries get hot?

Recreational Voodoo
12 months ago

I have been looking at the Radwagon but just saw a Yuba Mundo 750watt for sale $1500 (have to find out why first). I assume the Yuba has better components because of the manufacture original price being so much higher.

Lobesanft
1 year ago

According to the price of the bike it´s got a very clean and neat construction as far as cables and wires are concerned. The common entry level bikes usually seen on the market have a more or less chaotic bunch of cables from the handlebar to the back. Beside the uncomparably attactive price alltogether I would recommend some tuning, esp. on the brakes at least when carrying heavy load regularly.

Zeev Kirsh
1 year ago

its a shame they didn't knockoff the 20'' back wheel. but still it was inevitable that someone did a half price chinese knockoff of the mundo. only a matter of more time before they knockoff the xtracycle/spicy curry design, which imho is the far superior design.

the bike is less than half price an electric mundo.

juiced riders does a good job of this but their bike has the dual 20'' wheels so handles more like a scooter and the rear rack is not so nice, but it has the really nice fully integrated frame like the spicy curry, however---------------you cannot remove the battery readily so hard to charge!.

why has no one just set out to make the CORRECT version of the perfect and cheap electric cargo bike. ?they will.

Bill Donaldson
12 months ago

+LiveCheapAndProsper
Agree regarding 26" rear... yuba mundo with 26" rear eats up bumps and potholes even when fully loaded and I have never found it unstable. I expect the smaller rear wheels on cargo bikes will just be a fad: having to deal with bumps of any size with a small wheel on a heavy bike makes not a lot of sense.

LiveCheapAndProsper
1 year ago

+Zeev Kirsh I personally wouldn't look at a cargo bike with a 20" rear wheel. A LWB 26'x26" is incredibly stable with the centrifugal force of both wheels keeping it balanced. The 26" rear wheel can also handle road irregularities far better which is highly desirable when the bike is loaded. I once had 5 children on the back of a yuba mundo, two standing on the side rails, and didn't experience any problems with stability.