Yuba Spicy Curry Review

Yuba Spicy Curry Electric Bike Review
Yuba Spicy Curry
Yuba Spicy Curry Tranzx Currie Electrodrive Motor
Yuba Spicy Curry 48 Volt Lithium Battery Removable
Yuba Spicy Curry Ergonomic Grips Backlit Display Panel
Yuba Spicy Curry Bread Basket Rack Integrated Led Headlight
Yuba Spicy Curry Hydraulic Tektro Vela Disc Brakes
Yuba Spicy Curry Monkey Bars Soft Spot Rack Addon
Yuba Spicy Curry 8 Speed Shimano Altus Drivetrain
Yuba Spicy Curry Electric Bike Review
Yuba Spicy Curry
Yuba Spicy Curry Tranzx Currie Electrodrive Motor
Yuba Spicy Curry 48 Volt Lithium Battery Removable
Yuba Spicy Curry Ergonomic Grips Backlit Display Panel
Yuba Spicy Curry Bread Basket Rack Integrated Led Headlight
Yuba Spicy Curry Hydraulic Tektro Vela Disc Brakes
Yuba Spicy Curry Monkey Bars Soft Spot Rack Addon
Yuba Spicy Curry 8 Speed Shimano Altus Drivetrain


  • A smooth but powerful electric-assist cargo bike with optional boost button to make starting from standstill easier
  • Compatible with a wide assortment of accessories including child seats, cargo racks, running boards and even a frame mounted front basket
  • Integrated LED lights with an automatic light sensor on the display panel, reflective tire stripes for larger visual footprint and full length plastic fenders to keep you dry
  • No shift sensing on the drive system but the motor operates smoothly, higher price tag (especially when you start to add in accessories)

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers





Spicy Curry



Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Cargo, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1), Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


2 Year Comprehensive


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

62 lbs (28.12 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.1 lbs (2.76 kg)

Motor Weight:

9.5 lbs (4.3 kg)

Frame Material:

7000 Series Aluminum Alloy

Frame Sizes:

17 in (43.18 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

17" Seat Tube, 24" Stand Over Height, 23.5" Reach, 82" Length

Frame Types:


Frame Colors:


Frame Fork Details:

Rigid Chromoly Steel

Attachment Points:

Rear Rack Bosses, Front Rack Bosses, Fender Bosses, Frame Lock Bosses

Gearing Details:

8 Speed 1x8 Shimano Altus, 11-32T

Shifter Details:

Shimano Triggers on Right


Lasco EB05, 48T Chainring with Alloy Guide


VP-565 Aluminum Alloy Platform


VP T501TM Semi-Integrated Ahead, 1.5" Diameter Steerer Tube, 7 Riser Stacks


Forged Alloy 31.8 mm


Zoom Aluminum Alloy, 31.8 mm Diameter, 620 mm x 38 mm Rise

Brake Details:

Tektro Vela Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Front and 160 mm Rear Rotors


Velo Dual Density Anatomic with Lock Rings


Velo Urban

Seat Post:

Promax Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

470 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm


Weinmann HL32 Safety Line, Aluminum Alloy


Stainless Steel 13 Gauge

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Big Apple Plus Balloon 26" x 2.15" Front, 20" x 2.15" Back

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)26 in (66.04cm)

Tire Details:

Reflective Sidewall Stripe, Performance Line GreenGuard Puncture Protection

Tube Details:

Schrader Valve


Deflopilator, Integrated LED Headlight, Integrated LED Backlight Lineo by Spanninga, Full Length Plastic Fenders with Mud Flaps, Single Side Kickstand, Optional Oversized Double-Leg Kickstand, Shorter 370 mm Seat Post or Longer 470 mm Seat Post


Locking Removable Battery Pack, 2 Amp 2 Pound Charger, Payload Carrier Max 300 lbs (135 kg), Behind Axle Max 55 lbs (25 kg), Sideloaders Max 65 lbs (30 kg) Per Side, KMC X8 Chain

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Currie Electro-Drive® (TranzX), M07

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Motor Peak Output:

400 watts

Motor Torque:

73 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

Samsung or LG

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8.7 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

417.6 wh

Battery Chemistry:


Charge Time:

5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Estimated Max Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Display Type:

Fixed Backlit Monochrome LCD with Adjustable Angle


Speed, Odometer, Battery Capacity (5 Bars), Assist Level (0-4), Range Estimation

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad on Left

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Measures Speed, Cadence and Torque, Optional Button Throttle)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The Spicy Curry is a mid-drive powered electric cargo bike from Yuba! I’ve covered several of their earlier electric bicycle including the smaller elBoda Boda and very similar elMundo but prefer the Spicy Curry for several reasons. The primary benefit is efficiency and power because the drive system leverages the same eight speed drivetrain that you do as a rider! If you shift down, the motor can spin faster and work more efficiently to climb. If you shift up, the motor can help you reach and maintain higher speeds (up to 20 mph). This design also brings motor weight in towards the center of the bike improving balance and allowing the rear wheel to use a quick release skewer just like the front.

Both the motor and battery are positioned at the middle of the frame and while I love the protection this offers for the battery it does make it more difficult to reach for charging and especially removing. Furthermore, because this battery has to be powered on and off independently from the display console, you have to reach down every time you want to go for a ride and that’s a drag… it might also lead to confusion at times when you wonder why the primary display isn’t turning on. But hey, maybe that will also confuse a thief or bystander at a rack who decides to mess with your display ;) I like the display well enough and appreciate that it swivels to reduce glare but feel that it takes too long to turn on. You have to hold the power button near the left grip for several seconds (after activating the battery) and once the signal is received the display does a seven second countdown. In a time when you can find similar e-cargo bikes with removable displays and USB charging ports on something like the Xtracycle it feels a bit outdated. But hey, that bike costs $800 more and given the integrated lights on the Spicy Curry maybe there’s less need for an accessory power outlet.

The display console is large, easy to read and feature rich with a dynamic range estimator to help you select the appropriate power level (to make it home with some juice left) and I like the small 2 amp charger that you get with the bike, small and light enough to bring along and charge on-location. Some quick tips with the display panel and button pad near the left grip… Hold the up button for a couple of seconds to force the lights on and hold the box icon towards the bottom to switch from mph to km/h. At first when I was testing the Spicy Curry I thought you were always stuck in pedal assist 1-4 (and thus, the motor would activate any time you pedaled) and this means you’d use the battery more quickly and couldn’t just run the lights and the display like a cycle computer. Eventually I discovered that if you arrow down to assist level 1 then hold the power button on the button pad for a couple of seconds it will switch to zero.

The Yuba Spicy Currie does value pretty well but it’s not cheap by any means, especially when you add racks, the upgraded two-leg kickstand and possibly a front basket… why get a cargo bike without the racks after all? The color is nice, the tires are premium with reflective sidewalls and best of all the mid-step frame is easy to mount and accommodates shorter riders. It’s a solid platform and nearly everyone who hops on has a great time. I was impressed with the frame stiffness and noticed some gusseting where the downtube meets the head tube. I love that the optional “Bread Basket” rack that connects to the frame vs. the fork and appreciate the “deflopilator” spring that keeps the front wheel straight for loading. For now there’s only one frame size and color but it’s a nice unisex light green they call “avacado” – this limited selection keeps the price low. Areas where I feel like they put extra emphasis into the bike include the larger 13 gauge spokes front and rear for increased strength and carrying capacity, clear stickers where the chain bounces into the right stay tube, a bell for signaling fellow riders and hydraulic disc brakes (with a larger front rotor for improved stopping power). One other quick tidbit about the smaller rear wheel is that it’s easier to turn than a large one and thus, better for hauling weight and climbing.

The motor operates smoothly and quietly (especially in the middle and high gears) and behaved more like a cadence sensing drive unit than torque sensing. Apparently the sensors used measure rear wheel speed, pedal cadence and pedal torque and I did notice an increase in power output when I pushed down hard on the pedals but it almost always felt like the motor was helping out… even if I was slacking off and just pedaling lightly. Frankly, I love this! It does mean the battery will drain quicker and that’s got to be why Yuba lists the range as 16+ miles vs. 20+ but it will save your knees in the long run and makes riding more enjoyable. For those who want throttle power, there is an optional accessory called a boost button that can be wired in and held down to make the motor go without pedaling. It will change the class rating from Class 1 to Class 2 possibly limiting where the bike is allowed and I found that it was difficult to reach from the right grip and not very fun to hold for long periods… but at least it’s an option. All things considered, I enjoyed the Spicy Curry quite a bit and while I’d love to pay less for the base unit so I could spend more on accessories, the two year battery warranty, lifetime frame and one year “other” goes a long way creating value as with Yuba’s longstanding reputation in the cargo bicycle space.


  • Smaller diameter rear wheel brings the cargo deck down making it easier to load and handle while riding, the mid-mounted motor and battery stay completely out of the way
  • High emphasis on safety with this ebike, you get integrated LED lights (though the headlight is a little dim) and reflective sidewall tape on the tires
  • The Schwalbe Balloon tires are large and comfortable (especially if you run them a bit under the max PSI) and they incorporate GreenGuard to stymie punctures and flats
  • Highly adjustable seat hight thanks to an extra long 18.5″ seat post (optional 14.5″ post for shorter riders) the stem is also raised up with seven spacers and I love the swept-back “gull wing” handlebars and ergonomic grips
  • Integrated cables keep the frame looking beautiful and reduce snags, I love that the Spicy Curry comes stock with full length fenders because it could be wasteful to get two different sizes on your own (having to buy two separate sets then mix)
  • Solid grippy pedals with plenty of room to stand and balance, the optional double-legged metal kickstand keeps the bike upright when loading with gear (and the deflopilator keeps the front wheel straight)
  • Lots of options for adding a passenger seat and bars at the back, running board “side loaders” and cargo platforms, a front basket or a Yepp! child seat because the tubing is compatible with all of Yuba’s existing kit
  • The mid-drive motor is powerful (offering up to 73 Newton meters of torque!) but operates smoothly and quietly in the mid and high gears, even though it doesn’t offer shift sensing it felt smooth – possibly due to the longer chain
  • Yuba did a great job with the chainring, it’s relatively large with 48 teeth to balance out the smaller rear wheel and includes an Aluminum alloy chain guide that also functions as a chain guard for the sprocket and your pant leg (reducing snags and grease stains)
  • Both wheels offer quick release so you can take them off quickly and easily to true wheels, replace flat tubes or work on the derailleur, cassette, etc.


  • I love that the battery pack is removable but feel that it’s difficult to unlock and actually remove because it’s surrounded by tubing
  • As with many of the TranzX Currie Electro-Drive systems the battery has to be powered on and off independent from the main display, so it’s a two step process and the main button pad takes a long time to initiate (like three seconds of holding)
  • I love the display backlight and automatic light-sensors but sometimes would like to make the display completely dark so it’s not distracting at night
  • No bottle cage bosses on the frame but plenty of other mounting points, the display is fixed and non-removable but it does swivel to reduce glare
  • Especially for a large heavy cargo bike it would be nice to have a throttle to get going from standstill but at least with the Yuba Spicy Curry you can get a boost button that acts as a throttle and I believe it’s priced under $50
  • Be careful bringing the bike down off of the kickstand or even walking with it if you get the running boards as shown in the video review above as they can scrape the back of your legs, I also noticed they can collide with curbs and other low obstacles since they hang down (this is an issue with all cargo bike platforms not just Yuba)


More Yuba Reviews

Yuba Spicy Curry Bosch Review

  • MSRP: $4,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A powerful, well balanced and feature-rich electric cargo bike from Yuba, it offers a wide range of accessories and mounting points for hauling gear, passengers or children. Purpose built frame with internally routed cables, inset battery mount, high-clearance motor interface and smaller…...

Yuba elMundo Review

  • MSRP: $3,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

Sturdy cargo style elctric bike with lots of add-ons for transporting groceries, supplies or kids. BionX drive system offers four levels of pedal assist, four levels of regeneration mode and…...

Yuba elBoda Boda Review

  • MSRP: $2,797
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Comfortable to ride with many options for child seats, racks and accessories. High end BionX motor, controller and battery system offers pedal assist, throttle and regenerative braking...

2012 Yuba elMundo Review

  • MSRP: $2,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2012

Sturdy cargo bike with add-on electric kit that struggles in some areas. Lots of great mounting points for baskets, cargo racks and a rear seat sold separately...

Mark Dale
2 years ago

Court, Is it possible to compare and contrast this bike with a V4 or V5 Mundo equipped with a Bionx D series? I understand that, theoretically, center drive makes far more sense for a cargo bike but given that the Currie/TranzX is ‘not quite a Bosch’ and that the Bionx D series is an improvement over the 350W systems that you reviewed in the past, I was curious how far apart these bikes might be.

2 years ago

Hi Mark! I really like the D-Series from BionX because it’s quiet, super powerful and offers a throttle! Since you can add the “Boost Button” to the Spicy Curry here that last point is somewhat negated. Downsides for the mid-drive are noise and increased wear on the drivetrain but they allow for a smaller 20″ diameter rear wheel which brings your cargo closer to the ground and improves balance. You don’t get regenerative braking (which would save your pads a bit) but only offers ~10% efficiency from what I’ve been told by techs at these different companies. I personally like the way the Spicy Curry looks vs. the V5 Mundo but might opt for the D-Series if my commute was shorter and I wasn’t as concerned about the height of my cargo. With the mid-drive you get more power and torque if you’re in a low gear but what if you’re not? The instantaneous power of the hub motor is going to win in that scenario so my guess is that you’d be shifting a lot more on the Spicy Curry and that in combination with the no-torque sensing will mean more chain, sprocket and derailleur wear… it’s fine just a trade off. I do really like the new BionX display and button ring too, very polished. I’d say it’s the winner if it also had the small wheel in the back but this becomes a closer call since it does not. Other considerations and upsides are that the tires and tubes will match for easier replacement, it might ride more comfortably (smaller wheels can be jarring) and the chain is higher off the ground but smaller wheels also tend to be sturdier.

Shonda Murphy
2 years ago

Did the Spicy Curry actually have the boost button installed on the bike? I was told by my local bike shop that the boost button could not be installed on my Spicy Curry, b/c it didn’t have the port in the frame. I would love to have one installed on my Spicy Curry. Thanks

2 years ago

Hmm, I was told by reps at the Accell Group (when I visited) that the button pad would work with the Spicy Curry but they were moving at the time so things were busy and I did not test it out myself. Sometimes I get misinformation, even directly from companies, and my contact there is out right now so I can’t check for you. It sounds like your dealer is knowledgeable because the port on the frame is exactly how the button would be installed (it’s actually a wire that comes out near the other wires on the downtube, perhaps it slipped back into the tube?) you could poke around yourself and watch some of the other IZIP and Raleigh reviews I did recently which do show the button. Sorry I can’t help much more at the moment, I’d love to hear what you find out!

Shonda Murphy
2 years ago

Thanks for getting back to me. I emailed Yuba directly and they also said the throttle could be installed but I’m asking for clarification b/c I don’t see a third wire to connect the throttle. Maybe it did just slip back down the tube.? I’ll keep you updated to see if I can actually get this done.

2 years ago

Hey, I also got a boost button for a Spicy Curry and also wasn’t able to connect it. Any luck?

2 years ago

Ouch, that’s a huge bummer! I hope I’m not misleading people… sometimes I get misinformation directly from dealers and in this case I was at the Currie Tech headquarters but maybe they don’t know Yuba as well or just made a mistake! Please chime in if you get it working and again OR if you find out for sure that it won’t work :(

Shonda Murphy
2 years ago

I did try to get a boost button and it didn’t work for my bike. They are now saying it’s b/c the first of the Spicy Curries were made with an in-line 3 connector not a round connecter, or something along those lines. Yuba was willing to send new programing for my bike to take the boost button but I was told I could add a variable throttle without changing the programing. So the new goal is to get a variable throttle added in the next few weeks. My bike had already been in the shop for about 10 days (they replaced the quick release on the back tire so it would not fall off anymore) so I was just ready to get it back home instead of waiting for the parts to get here. I’ll update when it gets added or we find out something else.

1 year ago

i have my spicy curry about three months and i have mixed feelings about it. For the past month or so the back wheel has been slipping forward and causing the gears to change erratically which is dangerous whilst on a hill with a small person on the back. i brought this to my bike guy and after a few trips back and forth he replace the lock/lever that goes through the back wheel with one that i can tighten with an allen key. For me this is frustrating as its only been a few months with an expensive bike and already having to replace parts. The other problem I’ve had is that the battery has been cutting in and out and now no matter how long i plug the battery in won’t charge completely. Again a bit frustrated and now reluctant to take the bike out with child on board as I’ve been caught on hills with the battery not working which is a bit dangerous. Any ideas as to why this is happening? Cheers

1 year ago

Hi Mac! That’s not the kind of feedback I like to see at all… what a bummer! I wish I had noticed the wheel issues you’re describing or had the chance to ride it more and notice the battery challenges (if they are widespread). Currie Technologies has a good customer support center where you can actually call in and get help and even replacement parts. I know they worked hard on this with Yuba for this bike and were very proud of it. I have seen it at the Ebike Expo events and am sure it has taken some abuse there so maybe these are isolated or known and being addressed? In any case, thank you for sharing and I hope these thoughts guide you towards solutions that make the bike feel safer for you and your child :(


Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

14 hours ago

I think their Stretch $ is the one that doesn't have really a competition for it at a lower price. I looked at the Yuba bikes. By time time I got what I wanted, Yuba was pricier. There is also the extracycle, but if I recall right, has a lower weight limit too. AND lower seats, so if you have a tall passenger or bigger loads, it gives less space (and I think is longer?) The Pedego Stretch bike fits a VERY nice niche and is in line with price.

2 days ago

@whannah, I would suggest a cargo ebike as a car replacement. It allows you to carry a lot of stuff. You may take your wife along for the ride as a passenger, and in the future, your wife and your new baby, depending on the cargo bike you choose. There are many options: https://www.ternbicycles.com/us/bikes/471/gsd, http://yubabikes.com/cargobikestore/spicy-curry-bosch, https://www.xtracycle.com/choosing-an-xtracycle/, https://electricbikereview.com/felt/bruhaul/, https://electricbikereview.com/rad-power-bikes/2015-radwagon/, etc.

3 weeks ago

Reading about Frank Stronachs departure from Magna taking Bionx with him and giving Magna a minority share might this have been the beginning of the end if they no longer had the resources of the larger company to fall back on? The subsequent history of dabbling in powerboat motors, then creating Elby, then lobbying for and getting a development grant from the Canadian Government in 2017, it seems he did try a few things before the end. I was intrigued to read Justin Lemire-Elmore’s attempt to get Bionx interested in his statorade, if they could solve the heat build up issue with DD motors might Bionx have kept Yuba interested and made a come back in the cargo bike/utility market?

3 weeks ago

Yep, so is Elby which was founded by Frank Stronach who just pulled the plug on Bionx. Yuba and Public dropped Bionx for 2018, Evo's HB1 model uses their D500 motor but most of their other ebikes use Shimano Steps so I expect they'll just go all Shimano. My local bike shop has an Evo HB1 in their window and just sprang for the Bionx diagnostic software so they'll be pissed.

2 months ago

It seems there are two versions of the Yuba breadbasket. Does anyone know if it is the older or newer version of the breadbasket that fits on the Radwagon?

2 months ago

Yuba elBodaBoda - the V3 frame is the same on the unassisted BodaBoda making that bike a good donor for a step through cargo bike conversion provided you can fabricate a battery bracket by bending and drilling aluminum sheet as this is not yet available as a separate part from the complete ebike. On this revised V3 frame Yuba made space for an ebike battery behind the seat post enabling them to lower the deck that previously was raised up for a rack mounted battery.

3 months ago

well, the Ariel dropped out of the running and the Yuba was just too big and expensive. I bought a radwagon and it is being delivered tomorrow. Got it for a great price and couldn't refuse. most people go for the burnt orange one but I chose the dark blue. Will report back. have already bought a Wald big front basket to put on the rear and carry my dog. We'll see about that!

3 months ago

I owned a 2016 Spicy Curry for almost a year before deciding that it was going to require too much maintenance for me. I had a really hard time with the rear wheel slipping out of the dropouts...it happened at least 3 times, and the last time was scary. And it was really hard to get it tightened back up enough on my own. I have been told that the 2017 model fixes this problem. Other than that big problem, I only had one small issue - the double kickstand. I had to replace mine twice in less than a year because it would crack at the weld points. Hopefully Yuba has fixed this problem. I never had electrical or mechanical issues with the Currie motor and battery, but now that I own a Bosch e-bike, I can tell you there is no comparison. Bosch's motor is practically silent compared to the Currie's sound output, and the Bosch is a whole lot smoother. So even though the 2016 is probably a really good deal, I would definitely spend the extra dough for the new version. It'll be in the shop less often and more techs/mechanic know what to do with Bosch than with Currie. Hope my experience helps and Happy Riding!

3 months ago

So i have a one-day chance to buy a lightly used Yuba Spicy curry Bosch, which retails for like 4500, I think, but I can get it for 2575. The other option is the Radwagon, on sale for $1349, which is 200 off the normal price. Price diff is $1200, in favor of the Rad. That said, which do you think would be the better bet for me, given that:

-- I'll be going up some pretty steep hills.
-- I need a bike that's very easy to step through. looks like the Yuba might be better on this front, though I don't know for sure.
-- I need as much stability as possible, especially since I plan to carry my 20 lbs dog on the front or the back.
-- the Yuba weighs around 60 lb, the Radwagon about 71 lbs. How much real world difference does that 10 lbs diff make to ease of handling?
-- and so forth.

What say ya'll? I know this topic has come up before, with the Radwagon given the nod by most people. Then again, there weren't many Yuba riders around at that time, and the price for the Yuba was 4500 not 2575. Sure, I'd love to save $1,200 but maybe the Yuba, with the mid Bosch motor, is that much much better.

Thanks for any thoughts you might have!

late contender that I don't know much about: Ariel c class cargo bike. retails for $2200 but if I drive 3 hrs north, i can get a lightly used one for $1220. this one can go up to 30mph w 500watt motor. wow. https://www.amazon.com/Ariel-Rider-C-Class-Electric-Cargo/dp/B06WD13GK8 . weight is 72 lbs. it's a very good looking bike, imo, and comes with a nifty bamboo basket on the front.

I dunno. But at the very least I have to decide on the Yuba by later today or it'll be gone.


5 months ago

I'd also go with the Tern GSD, it's a very well thought out and built bike (from looking at specs - I've never ridden it). My wife and I have a Yuba Mundo with a Tongsheng mid drive kit on it, which we are enjoying. But if we were buying new, it would likely be the Tern GSD. The Yuba Spicy Curry Bosch is also a very nice looking bike, but that Tern... I just like it better.

We use our Mundo a lot, we only have 1 vehicle and it's how my wife gets our kids to daycare / school. I also have a separate eMtb which I use for commuting. Sometimes our SUV will sit in the garage for long periods of neglect...

Go for it, you will not regret it! Good luck and enjoy.

5 months ago

If you're looking at a 'long tail' cargo bike for putting children on the back, from Yuba I'd suggest the Spicy Curry or an alternative such as the Xtracycle Edgerunner - both have smaller 20" wheels on the back which lower the center of gravity of the cargo deck versus full size wheels. If you are only carrying one child on the bike, a less expensive alternative might be a 'mid-tail' such as the Juiced ODK U500 which has 20" wheels both front and rear and a step through frame, it has a throttle and cruise control but no pedal assist, it's sold out on the Juiced website but you might find one still in stock at one of their https://shop.juicedbikes.com/pages/dealers eg 5 left at http://www.ebikes.ca/shop/cargo-ebikes/full-bikes/juiced-odk-u500-standard-range.html Canadian dealer. Check out https://electricbikereview.com/juiced-bikes/odk-v3/. Here's a https://humofthecity.com/2015/11/14/we-tried-it-juiced-riders-odk-u500/ by a parent. Here are some https://www.reddit.com/r/ebikes/comments/4awj8b/over_a_month_with_our_juiced_odk_u500s/ from parents in hilly Seattle, and a https://www.reddit.com/r/ebikes/comments/6hxds9/more_than_a_year_with_two_juicedbikes_odk_u500s/ update.

The Tern GSD is really nice, like the Juiced U500 it has 20" wheels both front and rear, but the Bosch motor on the Tern provides power via pedal assist with no throttle - which one you like is a matter of personal preference. I like to ride along using pedal assist with no throttle, whereas other folks like to use a throttle when starting off. If you'd like both pedal assist and a throttle there are some cargo ebikes that offer both like the RadWagon, or you might look into converting a regular pedal cargo bike with a kit motor from Bafang/eRad, Dillenger, E-BikeKit, or BionX.

5 months ago

Sounds interesting. Is the motor pretty quiet?
What connectors does this motor use?

Oh, I see it in the video, nevermind.

1 day ago

One of our former salesmen who has two young children and runs a daycare went car free about 4 years ago. I do not see him very frequently any more but last time I saw him he said it was working very well for him. Both him and his wife own Stromer ST2 they use Burley and custom made trailers. The also have a Spicy curry. He said he would never go back to owning a car. Madison is a very bike friendly city with an extensive trail system, much easier to get around with a bike. The weather is not so bike friendly but I know a lot of year round riders even with children. I see him riding around and he sure looks happy with his decision.

3 months ago

A simple aluminum clip is all that is needed to keep the first gen curry axle in place. My curry has over 1200+ miles and axle has not slipped since. (seen others with way more miles, upto 5000+)
Good points by Goosewiththefur about more bosch mechanics out there, true! it is the most wide spread power unit and they are boringly reliable. The new curry has redisigned the dropout so it should be ok on the newer bikes.
With that said, I own a TranzX drive curry and I love it. I have many bikes and the curry is most often my go to bike for random rides. A few things to note on the tranzX drive. 1. TrnzX is mostly cadence sensing which is nice when you are hauling big loads like 150lbs of kids or one 180lbs nephew shooting his next blockbuster youtube video ;). 2. Speed cut off is a little higher and not as sudden as on the bosch unit. 3. TranzX drive is very smooth with power at 0, pedals quiet and more freely than bosch ( if you are in a area that you are riding alot of paved trail this is nice because you end up riding maybe 25-33% with no assist even with a load.) 4. the idler wheel on the bosch is irritating. I have ridden so many bosch bikes with this and it detracts from the silent ride with power off. Both versions of the Spicy Curry are the best cargos on the market. They are strong, lite (62lbs), low center of gravity, and ride awesome. I will post pictures of that bracket. I have made many of the brackets for my spicy curry friends.


Jon B.
4 months ago

Hi All,

A local shop as a 2016 Spicy Curry Floor model (with the Currie motor) at a discount. I'm considering this but have a couple of questions/concerns as compared to the 2017 with the Bosch motor.

Here are my questions/concerns
1. I've seen some issues people have had online with support from Currie since they've been bought by another company. Anyone have any thoughts on this?
2. The 2016 looks to have an issue with the rear wheel slipping in the drop outs and needing to be consistently tightened. Is this resolved in the 2017?
3. Any other thoughts or suggestions between the 2016 (green one) and buying a new one? My goal is to haul kids around!


5 months ago


I am currently planing on getting an e-bike for commuting to my college and work, which is about a 16-mile ride 4 days a week. I am 6'7 and weight about 300lbs (figure I can loose weight by biking a bit) and I've been interested in cargo bikes (i'd like to be able to carry a child, as I have a couple of nieces and nephews that I sometimes need to take to various places they need to go); however I don't know what I should look for with my height and all. I have looked at the Radwagon and Yuba Spicy Curry Bosch so far, however I don't know if it would work with my height and weight. Any suggestions, tips, or help would be greatly appreciated!

- Loubar

Edit: I forgot to add, but I'd also like to be able to use it in light rain/snow, thanks!

mc chatt
8 months ago

I was hoping to get some opinions on cargo bikes I'm considering. We have a really good bike shop in town and a passionate shop owner who really believes in his products, but I'm wanting some other opinions. I bought 3 ebikes from him and my wife and I enjoy a biking life, but we live up a very steep hill and she was just diagnosed with MS. Thus, she often doesn't feel like biking, so I want an option where I can put her on the back of a bike with me and we can still enjoy biking together on the days she doesn't feel like expending that energy.

So, I'm really looking at the cargo bikes and my main important features are:
- comfortable seating options for passenger
- really strong electric motor so that I can receive some considerable assistance getting close to 400 lbs worth of human flesh up some fairly steep hills (between my wife and I). I bike a lot and go up and down these hills with relative ease, even as a big guy, but throwing my wife on the back is another topic.

Thinking about the Felt Bruhaul, the Radwagon, the Pedego stretch, the Yuba Spicy Curry....

Since I understand more than the basics about electric bikes and bikes in general, I'm really posting this because I don't understand how the Radwagon can be so much cheaper than the other options, based on the incredible reviews. Yeah, it's heavy, but so am I. What else am I missing? Longevity? Ease of operation? Any professional opinions out there?

San Diego Fly Rides
9 months ago

Hey Kelda,

I'd check out the https://shopsandiegoflyrides.com/products/izip-yuba-spicy-curry?variant=30647458051. They've upgraded to a Bosch motor this year and we've been loving it. They allow for some extra carrying room in the back as well in comparison to the Juiced Models. They other bike (trike, technically) you might want to consider is an https://shopsandiegoflyrides.com/products/izip-e3-go. But I think the Yuba would be more what you are looking for.

9 months ago


A couple bikes I would recommend are:

Moustache Tandem

Gepida Tandem

Or, for carrying a person on the back, the Bruhaul is my favorite


as long as the person is smaller, say under 5:4.

Also the new Yuba Spicy Curry is up to the task but has a low frame on the back


I've carried kids and girlfriends on the back with good success.

The above bikes are all available in our stores.


5 months ago

this is a copy of the rad wagon

Jean-Francois Houle
11 months ago

Do you know where I could buy the "turbo ring"? I've just bought a Spicy curry. And that could be great add on. But I can't find it.

11 months ago

I'm kind of caught between the Bosch Electric Edgerunner 9E, ,Spicy Curry, and El Mundo 5v/Super Mundo.

Sacramento Electric Bike Cyclist
12 months ago

Nicely done. Where can i get that lock above the battery and what is it's purpose? Thanks

Léo Da Carreta Do Trenzinho Ituiutaba Minas
1 year ago

Quando Vai Vim Pro Brasil

1 year ago

Very good as a delivery bike with funky color👍🏻🇨🇦

Darren PI
1 year ago

There is a 0 mode, you get to it by double tapping the power button.

2 years ago

Trying to decide between this and the Radwagon. If anyone has any input, I'd love to hear it.

2 years ago

radwagon is a better deal in general but this mid drive is ideal for loads

2 years ago

The wider a cargo bike gets - as when using the side-loaders - the more i think a trike design would do the job better. The bulky cargo could be carried between two rear wheel and be a large compartment or box that could be watertight against rain and even lock. Seniors and ADA folks could benefit greatly from a machine that balances itself too.

2 years ago

+ForbinColossus Yeah, I see very few tricycle and tadpole style ebikes... even the ones with large heavy front bins like the Urban Arrow https://electricbikereview.com/urban-arrow/family/ I could see this making sense with three wheels

2 years ago

Definitely a pretty great cargo bike! Love it's features! Though having to switch on/off the battery right where the dirty/greasy chain is, is a downsight. Great review!

2 years ago

+nerdexproject Thanks, the battery placement is good and bad here... it's balanced but you do end up spending more time and kind of twisting your wrist to get in there (and having to bend down). At least it can be charged on the frame vs. taking it off every time like the Shiman STePs system :)

Zeev Kirsh
2 years ago

i rode this, it's no bosch, but this thing is already more than a used car so if they included a bosch it would be like 6 grand or something stupid.

that said, the spicy currry form factor is the latest evolution of the compact long tail with 20' inch back wheel. i believe this will evolve to become the ultimate solution in the future for the bike truck or so called 'car replacement'.

Always Be Shooting
2 years ago

Very cool. I like these SUV style Ebikes. I'm surprised you don't monetize your channel.

2 years ago

+Veggie Choppa Yeah, they're super useful! I've experimented with ads... I think they annoyed people when placed in the middle so I just turned that off. I do monetize the website a bit but try to keep it mostly good content and only allow advertisers I respect. I don't want it to turn into a distracting, confusing junk show :P

2 years ago

I admit that I cringe when I see parents hauling their young ones on a two wheel bike. it seems to me that this bike would be best as a three wheel.

G Henrickson
9 months ago

Two wheel rear and one wheel front is the most unstable wheel configuration possible. Two wheels total is SO much more stable and maneuverable. And if you misjudge and catch a curb...well..you may be testing your helmet. I cringe when I see parents transporting their kids with no flag, nothing bright on the back and making little effort to ride on wider roads that offer some pavement outside the auto lane.

2 years ago

+DrZarkloff I like how low the rack is and even the downtube, it's easy to handle this bike but yeah... anytime you've got "precious cargo" the stakes go up!

Ahmed Shaker
2 years ago

Love you videos keep up the good work :)

2 years ago

+Ahmed Shaker Thanks Ahmed, if there's anything you'd like to see more or less of please chime in! I realize I go over many of the same aspects for each bike and am trying to keep them balanced for newbies and returning viewers like you :D

David Macdonald
2 years ago

I have to say there's something about the having a cycle bike as your car , that has for a cyclist a certain allure.

David Macdonald
2 years ago

Yes I understand what you mean, it's brilliant.

2 years ago

+David Macdonald Absolutely! It doesn't work for everyone (depending on how far you work) but it's amazing to take the plunge and convert to bike-only. I gave up my car for a while before committing to doing ElectricBikeReview.com full time and it was great, changed my perspective on time and distance to a degree but I felt happier and more connected with my neighbors and events going on in town.

Jone Gomez
2 years ago

OK partly Norwegian, now we are talking, that's my segment keep them coming. As always top notch review!

2 years ago

+Juan Nieve Thanks Juan, I'm doing my best to present a variety of ebikes and mix the reviews up a bit. Appreciate your feedback and support ;)

2 years ago

It always seems like your seat height is too low

2 years ago

+Walter Mizak Reall! I've had people say my seat was too high before, I usually crank it up high enough that I can get near-full pedal extension. Sometimes I ride a little low based on frame size or so that I can film with my other hand and not be leaning super far forward :)