8Fun BBS02 750w Mid-Drive Kit Review

8fun Bbs02 Electric Bike Kit Review 1
Bafang Bbs02 Mid Drive 1
Bafang Bbs02 Nuvinci Cvt Hub 1
Bafang Bbs02 Lithium Battery 1
Bafang Bbs02 Lcd Display 1
Bafang Bbs02 Lcd Console Assist 1
Bafang Bbs02 Bottom Bracket 1
Bafang Bbs02 720w Motor 1
Bafang Bbs02 Twist Throttle Buttons 1
8fun Bbs02 Center Drive 1
8fun Bbs02 720w Motor 1
8fun Bbs02 Allcell Battery 1
8fun Bbs02 Display Panel 1
8fun Bbs02 Recumbent Trike 1
8fun Bbs02 Electric Bike Kit Review 1
Bafang Bbs02 Mid Drive 1
Bafang Bbs02 Nuvinci Cvt Hub 1
Bafang Bbs02 Lithium Battery 1
Bafang Bbs02 Lcd Display 1
Bafang Bbs02 Lcd Console Assist 1
Bafang Bbs02 Bottom Bracket 1
Bafang Bbs02 720w Motor 1
Bafang Bbs02 Twist Throttle Buttons 1
8fun Bbs02 Center Drive 1
8fun Bbs02 720w Motor 1
8fun Bbs02 Allcell Battery 1
8fun Bbs02 Display Panel 1
8fun Bbs02 Recumbent Trike 1

Summary

  • One of the only mid-drive electric bike conversion kits around, 8Fun is an established brand
  • Offers both pedal assist and throttle mode configurations, great LCD screen with lots of options
  • Not sophisticated enough to sense when shifting gears and let up, may wear chain and cassette faster
  • Keeps weight low and center on bike, makes fixing wheels and flats easier than hub motors

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

8Fun

Model:

BBS02

Price:

$800 USD

Suggested Use:

Urban, Trail

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

1 Year Comprehensive

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2014

Bicycle Details

Motor Weight:

8.5 lbs (3.85 kg)

Cranks:

Integrated with Bottom Bracket Motor

Brake Details:

Wuxing Levers with Electronic Motor Cutoff

Accessories:

Plastic Bash Guard, Speed Sensor (Mounts on Chain Stay with Magnet on Rear Spoke), Quick Connect Wiring

Other:

Fits 68 mm to 73 mm Bottom Brackets, Built in Motor Controller, 46 Tooth Chain Ring, Estimated Charge Cycles for Sealed Lead Acid Batteries ~600, Estimated Charge Cycles for Lithium Polymer ~800, Estimated Charge Cycles for Lithium-ion ~1,000, Battery Used in Review is a 48 Volt 10 Amp Hour Lithium-ion ~$700, Can Update Settings with LCD to Reach Higher Speeds

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

8Fun

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

750 watts

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Chemistry:

Compatible with SLA, LiPo or Lithium-ion

Display Type:

Bafang C961 Backlit LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Odometer, Battery Level, Assist Mode (Programmable 3 to 9 Levels)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Cadence Sensing Pedal Assist, Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The 8Fun or “Bafang” BBS02 electric bike kit consists of a 750 watt mid-drive motor, chain ring, cranks and LCD screen with button attachment. It’s designed to mount at the bottom bracket of a bicycle (replacing the standard ring and cranks) and pull the chain to propel the bike and rider forward. Before we get too far here, I realize there may be some confusion about the brand name… The full name is Suzhou Bafang Diandonchi Gongsi and this translates to Suzhou, 8 directions electric motor company (Suzhou is the town name). The “8 directions” part means “every direction” which is roughly equivalent to “Universal Motor” so altogether that’s City of Suzhou Universal Motor Company. Their marketing department came up with 8Fun which is short and catchy in English. In America, the motor is labeled as 8Fun but the LCD display still says Bafang. The company is well known for mass producing mid-level geared hub motors. What I love about this kit is that it’s one of the only mid-drive ebike kits anywhere and can be used on all types of setups including recumbent, cargo, road and mountain bikes (with bottom brackets between 68mm and 73mm). Unfortunately, there are physical constraints that limit its use on fat-tire bikes given the width of their bottom brackets at 100mm.

The BBS02 motor is a 750 watt geared design (as powerful as is legal in the USA) located in the black canister that sits just below the bottom bracket when attached (see picture below). It’s relatively quiet and leverages the rear cassette for improved climbing or speed depending on the gear you’re in. As with other centerdrive electric bike systems (like those from Bosch or Panasonic) this thing is fairly efficient if used properly. For example, if you start from rest and are in a high (hard / fast) gear you’ll strain the motor and eat through your battery quickly but if you start in a low gear and shift up as you gain speed (just like a manual transmission car) you’ll extend your range and get more torque. Because the BBS02 completely replaces the bottom bracket, cranks and chain ring you will only have one gear in the front after installing this kit. This means if you had a 21 speed before with 7 cogs in the rear cassette and 3 rings on the front you will now only have a 7 speed bike.

The battery setup with these 8Fun middrive kits is variable because they don’t come standard with a battery. You can work with a shop to choose one that will mount easily to your frame (either as a rear rack or downtube design) and get the size you need for power or distance. For the 750 watt motor setup shown here I was using a 48 volt 10 amp hour pack with longer lasting Lithium-ion cells and we just put it in the panniers hanging on the rear rack of the KMX recumbent trike. Just make sure the pack you choose is compatible with the system so you don’t have to manually cut and adapt wires. Depending on the shop you work with they may be able to configure the kit for you, my review was done with help from Long Island Electric Bikes that had several kits installed on different bikes by Surly and KMX.

Considering how integrated this kit looks it’s actually not that difficult to install. You will need a crank puller and spanner wrench and worst case your local bike shop could help. One of the nice parts about a mid-drive is that it leaves the front and rear wheels, cassette and derailleur alone. This reduces unsprung weight, keeps the bike balanced and make truing wheels and fixing flats much easier. I love that the kit works with pedal assist as well as throttle and the LCD display and break-out button interface is beautiful, backlit and intuitive. There’s a power button, a plus and a minus symbol that let you choose different levels of assist or navigate menus. You can see your speed, trip distance, battery level and get into wheel size settings, readout preferences, levels of assist and more. The display isn’t easily removable but it does swivel if you take one of the screws out on the back which is useful if you’re mounting this on a vertical bar (like on a recumbent) vs. a standard straight bar.

This is absolutely one of my favorite electric bike kits because it’s so versatile, well balanced and powerful. The price isn’t bad at all and if you’re willing to screw around a bit with the installation this could transform your bike into something really unique. Compared with purpose built centerdrive systems this one doesn’t have the ability to sense when you shift gears so that could lead to some grinding and wear the chain and cassette down faster… the key is to learn how to work with the system and shift when the bike already has some forward momentum vs. when it’s really pulling the chain. 8Fun has created something special with this kit and opened all kinds of new ebike possibilities that just wouldn’t work with hub motors. I’m thinking pedicab drivers could have a blast with this and as you can see from the review of this and the less expensive, less powerful BBS01 it also works great with cargo bikes.

Pros:

  • Can be operated above 20 miles per hour depending on wheel size and bike setup
  • Offers both pedal assist and throttle mode for different styles of riding
  • Leverages rear cassette for improved climbing or high speed riding, more efficient than a hub motor
  • Keeps weight low and center on bike, reduces unsprung weight as compared with a hub motor
  • Mid-drive electric bikes are easier to service (wheels and tires are easier to get at)
  • 8Fun (Bafang) is a well established, trusted hardware supplier in China with solid track record
  • Kit is compatible with a range of bottom bracket sizes (68mm to 73mm) but unfortunately not super wide 100mm fat-tire bikes
  • Display is back lit, has a nice break out button console and lets you change lots of settings like number of pedal assist levels, speed readout and wheel size

Cons:

  • Not smart enough to detect gear changing and therefore does not let off which can mash gears
  • A bit louder than most gearless hub motors I’ve tested, stands out on bike (not very stealth)
  • Have to install yourself or work with a shop, not the hardest kit I’ve worked with
  • Cadence sensing pedal assist isn’t as smooth as torque, batteries are sold separately from kit
  • Gear range limited by single front ring, could increase gears by using a dual drive setup in the rear

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More 8Fun Reviews

8Fun BBS01 350w Mid-Drive Kit Review

  • MSRP: $650
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014

One of the only mid-drive electric bike conversion kits around, 8Fun is an established brand. Offers both pedal assist and throttle mode configurations, great LCD screen with lots of options...

Rob
3 years ago

Terrific review, Court. Answered a bunch of questions I had about this system. One day I’d like a great fat bike with a mid-drive for serious hill climbing. This system isn’t quite there yet but things appear to be moving in the right direction.

Court Rye
3 years ago

Awesome! So glad the review helped you out. I try my best to think of questions and cover the product thoroughly but also objectively and make it fun. Always open to suggestions and ideas to improve going forward as well :)

Silversurfer(cv)
3 years ago

Thanks for the review! I have a “joe-bike ” cargo and was considering this kit to help me get my kiddos to school on time I. The fall… The thing I’m wondering is how much clearance do you think there’d be if I mounted it with the drive directly below the Bottom Bracket?

Ian
3 years ago

Where would be a good place to pickup a battery to go along with this kit? I’d love to get a 555Wh battery like on the BionX D kits. I’d love to see where I would go to to compare battery options!

Court Rye
3 years ago

I’m not super familiar with the Joe-Bike but I did a Google image search and it looks like your weeks are ~26″ which is pretty standard. There should be good clearance with this kit… I realize the wheel base is longer though so just be careful going over curbs and stuff because the motor might be more vulnerable in these cases. For help with this kit you might reach out to a shop that carries them like Long Island Electric Bikes.

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Ian! Good question… There may be different websites that sell batteries, the ones on the bike I tested here were from All Cell I believe. The bikes were built up by Long Island Electric Bikes and they might be able to help you get a compatible battery. They ship all over the US.

Raymond Lord
3 years ago

Bonjour from Québec, Canada ;O)

Court, thanks for the excellent review! I own a RANS Screamer tandem and wish to electrify it! With its 145mm rear dropout, the motor hub option is limited. Could this kit be “reversed” and used on the captain’s front chain ring?

Thank you in advanced / Merci à l’avance

Craigo the Great
3 years ago

Hi…Thanks for a comprehensive review…As I am seriously considering this exact kit… I just was wondering about something not included in the review.. What is it like to pedal the bike without using any electric assist.? Thanks in advance..

Court Rye
3 years ago

Great question Craigo, the bike feels pretty normal when riding without any power or assist. It’s a bit heavier than a normal bike and you’ve only got one front chain ring but besides that, it feels standard and operates quietly. I think there is a freewheel inside so it’s not like you have to turn gears inside the mid-drive or anything, and there’s no magnetic cogging that I could feel. If you end up with this kit I’d love to hear your feedback when riding unassisted.

R3d_N3ck
3 years ago

Terrific Review. I have one of these and you’re pretty much spot on. Mine was from China, Conhismotor and came with the bike. I don’t think I could have managed fitting a kit to a bike.

– Price: Paid about 2k AUD which worked out at about 500 for the bike, 500 for the kit, 500 for the battery and 500 for freight.
– Range: at full power about 30km mostly flat with the 48V 10Ah battery
– Top Speed: typical cruise is 46km/h with me peddling a bit
– Battery: have 10Ah LiF3PO4 but was offered a 18Ah LiMn for the same price. Same volume. Can’t get the same capacity LiPo in the same size as a LiMn. A smaller battery would stsruggle with this motor.
– Charge Time: 2 hours with a 5 amp charger – a LiPo will charge faster
– Ride Time: 1 hour at full power with the 10Ah battery, would be 6 at minimum assist (always use full).
– Charge Cycles: they promise > 1000 for a LiPo
– Warranty: Conhismotor has been very good. He answers the emails promptly and has sent some replacement parts free. However, if something expensive went wrong, I know I don’t have the same legal protection I would if I bought locally.
– Other: The front crank has a built in free wheel in it that allows the motor to drive the chain while the pedals are stationary. This means you probably can’t make any mods to the front crank. Also, there is a bit of a delay when using the thumb throttle. The throttle will lift the front wheel in 1st gear. Standing starts are best in 2nd. The road is rough on a bike at speed; I expect this will be true for any bike with a big motor. Everything rattles and things fall off the bike. The chain came off a lot initially and eventually broke. The bike shop shortened the new chain and adjusted the gears for me. It’s been good since. Always apply the brakes before gearing down – stops the motor from flicking the chain off. The bike feels heavy without the power on. There is no resistance from the motor with power off, but you’re pushing a 26kg bike. With the power on it feels light and agile. 1400km and still very happy. The electrics have been flawless.

Court Rye
3 years ago

This is a great first hand account, thanks for sharing your experience with the 8Fun BBS02! I agree with your points and appreciate the perspective on how additional weight changes the overall feel of the bike when powered off, how the chain can fall off or break more easily with a mid-drive and how the front chain rings probably can’t be modified or replaced. Also, just the reminder to people who might not be familiar with these high powered ebikes or moving so fast that they can feel bumpy… This is one of the first things I had to grapple with initially and what has driven me to explore full suspension ebikes and seat post shocks.

Mike
3 years ago

Hello
I also fitted a 48V 20A BBS02 motor with a 48V 13ah LiPo bottle type battery to my bike this summer which I bought from China for about 700€ altogether. It doesn’t say how many Watts on the motor, but 48 x 20 gives 960W I think. I fitted it to 700C wheel “city” bike to which I’ve fitted 2.3 inch MTB tyres to as I ride on a lot of dirt tracks and the other tyres were just too scarey! I think the kit is really easy to fit. I changed the 48T chainring for a 38T ring as I wanted help climbing hills over top speed. I have a seven speed 32T-11T cassette on the back. It will hit about 32 kph on the flat without pedalling with this gearing. With the 48T chainring it would hit 50+ kph. I ride mostly on level 4 of 9 and mostly just use the pedal assist. I always pedal. If you abuse the throttle on levels 5-9 (even if you are pedalling) the battery starts to suffer. Using it as I do, sometimes coming home after 35km it’s still only dropped one bar on the battery meter. I do live in a fairly flat area so probably 70% of this distance is fairly flat. The most i’ve done at one go was 60km and I still had over half the battery left. I intend to get a Watt meter in order to get a more accurate measurement of this. The motor has a considerable amount of torque for hills and makes riding a real pleasure. I’ve done about 800km this summer so far. The brakes come with micro switches which kill power to the motor. I gently apply my left brake when changing gear (without actually braking). This gives a smooth gear change. You don’t really need to do this on the lower power levels unless the chain is under a lot of tension, but on the higher levels the gears can really crunch if you’re not careful. Wouldn’t want to snap my chain when far from home. I’m sure that if you did this often on the higher power levels you could soon do this! In first gear on level 9, if you hold the handlebars and give it full power (standing next to the bike) it literally flies into the air! Smiles from ear to ear! Probably not good for the chain/cassette though! I’m really happy I bought this kit. It would be nice to have a 48V 20Ah battery which matches the power of the motor.

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hi Mike, thanks for providing this great testimonial! It’s always nice to hear from people who have tried the different bikes or kits and experimented with varied terrain and riding conditions.

Bridgett
3 years ago

Hi, I have been thinking about investing in a conversion kit and this review was the most helpful review I have found so far. I have only one question… My bike has twist grip gear changers, is that a problem with this kit? I have looked at some other kits and it would involve changing the gear changers on the bike and it’s starting to sound easier to buy an electric bike. As I live out in the bush it’s not possible for me to try out bikes to make sure I get one that is comfortable for me, so I am keen to keep my current bike and convert it.

Court Rye
3 years ago

That’s a great question Bridgett, this kit will replace your front chain ring or chain rings (some bikes have multiple rings in the front). It should work fine with your rear cassette and that’s one of the advantages of a mid-drive, it gives you more leverage for climbing or speed applications. with this said, the kit does come with a twist throttle that is usually meant to go on the right grip. If you’ve already got one or two grip shifters, you might have to take one off and replace it with this (it would be okay to move the shifter that controls the front chain ring because you won’t need that derailleur anymore). I guess what I’m saying here is that you probably could get this kit to work but there will definitely be some work involved and it may permanently change your setup. If you like your bike then I would recommend considering a pre-built ebike because the wires will be more hidden and all of the gears and shifters will already be set. Most ebikes that have throttles us trigger shifters to avoid the issue you laid out. One ebike that comes with the weaker version of this motor but still works very well is the Volton Alation Mid-Drive 350. If you want, feel free to share your height, weight and budget in the Compare section of the forum where more people could chime in and try to help guide you with finding a great ebike.

Bo
3 years ago

Thanks for a nice review. I have a question. What do you mean with “fits bottom brackets between 68mm and 73mm”? Is there two separate kits with different length of the bottom bracket or are you able to fit the 68mm bracket in to a 73mm frame with a slightly left centered q factor? Thanks in advance – Bo

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hello Bo, I have not installed this kit before myself but I was told that it will adjust to fit sizes between 68mm and 73mm and I assume the mounting point will stay fixed on the chain side and expand on the other side so that the chain will not be pulled too far out. The reason I included this information is mostly to let people who have fat bikes know that this won’t work on their setup, those bikes have bottom brackets that are just too wide :)

Dusty Trailhead
3 years ago

Wow, I’m still confused. 21 down to 7 speeds and that doesn’t effect performance on either flats or hills? It seems if you want to use it as pedelec, you will have to choose a big ring and walk it up the steeps. Otherwise, you have a small ring for the steeps and use it as a scooter on the flats. What I mean is you don’t want to be walking, so you choose a “top” gear that your legs can’t keep up with on the flats but keeps you riding up the steeps. If you could use a couple of chainrings with it, then I think you would have both. It seems that hub with torque is the sweet spot for pedelec.

Charles
3 years ago

If anyone is looking for a Bafang BBS-02 Mid Drive system with adapters that will fit a Fatbike with a 100 mm bottom bracket, you can find it for sale at the California Ebike Store here and here’s a short video they produced to show it in action!

Court Rye
3 years ago

Thanks for the heads up Charles, it appears that this conversion system takes the stock BBS02 or 01 and then extends the crankshaft to fit the wider application of a fat bike? Neat stuff, appreciate the notice and you can also post this in the 8Fun Forums here if you’d like.

Rusty Rail
3 years ago

Can I purchase in Canada from a dealer

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hey Rusty! I have no idea… wish I could help more but I don’t know of many dealers to begin with in Canada and this kit is sort of unique and rare. I’ve heard of a couple US shops offering it online. You could ask around in the 8Fun forum here and see is any fellow Canadians could help you locate a dealer!

Jeremy E.
2 years ago

Hello, I have a 17 mile commute, 12 highway miles, 5 city miles, 34 miles both ways. I have a low end cyclocross bike (motobecane fantom cx). What ebike conversion kit would you recommend? I am currently stuck between this 8fun bbso2 and a 500 watt kit from ebikekit. If I choose the one from ebikekit, I think I’ll go with the 20ah lithium ion battery, but not sure if I’d want direct drive or geared. If I choose the 8fun I don’t know what company to buy a battery from, and I also can’t get very much information from 8funs site. Thank you for any help anyone can give

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Jeremy, great question. If I were in your position and money was not an option I’d go with the BionX S-350 because it’s powerful with 48 volt system, has regen, offers throttle and has a really nice pedal assist setup (which I prefer for commuting vs. throttle only). My second choice would be the 8Fun BBS02 because it also has assist and throttle and the mid-drive is very efficient and well balanced. That said, it only has one front chain ring which might alter the number of gears your Motobecane Fantom CX can use. If you’d like help finding a dealer for batteries and stuff just reach out and I’ll check with some of the people I know who are either nearby or can ship etc. or you can ask around in the 8Fun forums here. My last choice would be E-BikeKit because they’re throttle-only and the batteries can’t mount to the downtube easily so weight becomes rear-heavy. If I was going with their kit however, I’d choose the geared motor because it’s much lighter and it freewheels so you won’t have cogging as with the gearless design. Hope this helps!

Peter Lee
2 years ago

I have 2006 Velomobile Go One3. What kit do you recommend that might fit it? I have a rohloff 18 select gear changer so using a hub motor is not an option. Noise is a factor as any motor inside the body will resinate louder than with traditional bicycles that don’t have covers. I’ve seen some pictures of center style motors with chain to the front work. Thanks

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Peter, what a beautiful velomobile! I just looked up some pictures on Google and was very impressed. I see your point about wanting a quieter motor because the confined, hard space will likely amplify noise… I actually think this BBS02 kit would be a great choice, it’s not too loud and I have seen it used on recumbent tadpole trikes before (just look at the images above). I cannot guarantee a fit as I have never seen a Velomobile Go One3 but I think it’s probably your best bet! If you do get it working, please share some pictures and advice in the 8Fun Forum for others who might be considering something like this :)

Peter Lee
2 years ago

I take possetion of the Go One3 next week so I can get detailed measurements. I need help in the recommended place to order the Bafang. Is it better to order straight from China or local dealer. Seems hard to find any order address. Any help on a good Li on battery set up an place to order I live in Florida USA is there any place close by me I can drive too? Also, I notice the kit does not have a controller. I see the crank w/motor and the display. I know you order the battery separate. Where is the controller? Thanks

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Peter, great questions here. The shop that let me test this kit (on Surly bikes and a recumbent) was Long Island Electric Bikes in New York. They have experimented with different bikes and have a lot of knowledge about fit (they might be able to help you determine whether it will work with the Go One3). I’m not exactly sure about where the controller is located (possibly in the motor unit) but it definitely comes with the display, twist throttle and brakes. You have to buy a battery separately but Long Island Electric Bikes sells many options so you can do a downtube setup or a rear rack. I recommend visiting their site here and giving them a call at (631) 306-4542

Maker1618
2 years ago

Hi everyone, Sure appreciate your reviews on the BBS 02. As a custom builder your opinions mean a great deal when deciding on components. The question I have regarding the mid-drive is: do the pedals rotate backwards when rolling the bike backwards or are they disconnected until pedaling forward? The reason I ask is because my latest folding bike project won’t allow the crank to turn while folded although this is necessary for portability. I see there are two clutches in the drive and wonder if one of them will free the crank completely. Thanks Maker1618

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hey, great question! I’ve double checked on your question with a shop that caries these (Long Island Electric Bikes) who just tested it for us and they said that the pedals do go backwards when the bike is rolled backwards. There is however a freewheel in the crank which means you can manually turn the crank backwards without the drivetrain moving (including the sprocket and chain). So basically, you can pedal backwards when riding… but if you move the bike backwards then the pedals will be forced to go backwards.

Peter Lee
2 years ago

Installed the Bafang BBSo2 last week. Chose the 22ah Lithium-ion. It’s a very quiet motor which I ordered the 52T as my rohloff 14 gear with rear sprocket at 15 and the front sprocket at 48T when going 20 to 25mph my legs are spinning to keep up. I’ll let you know when the 52T come in and see if it solves the problem. Yes I did set to 16″ wheels to trick the system and it works top speed about 30mph. By chance the speedo cable was to short and while waiting for the extension to arrive I drove the Velomobile with out the speedo. Result 34.9mph with throttle PA I could not spin fast enough to keep up with the speed. Now back with speed cable connected and wheels to 26″ and the controller will cut out between 19 & 20 mph. This is comfortable and probably saves on battery and engine life. Nice to know what to do if the need ever arises.

Question: The other day I rode 80 miles with pedal assist to 4 & 5 and some throttle. The battery indicator bar is still on full. I was expecting at least one bar down by now. Any idea on this? I will continue to ride without charging to see how far I can go on this 22ah Li on battery. I also have a converter that brings it down to 12v that runs the lights, and fan and with all that on the bar is still on full charge. I am expecting that the battery charge indicator is not accurate and will run out of juice at the worst time. But I have to take that chance to see how far I can go on a charge. If I peddle backwards the motor will stop. There are no hills here but the bridges have a steep grade and had no problem climbing up. Going down I am doing about 50mph and need a higher gear if I want to keep up with the speed. I used my GPS for speed and distance and found the speedo and miles very accurate. I am so happy with this unit I will buy a spare so I wouldn’t have to wait for a repair. Spare parts seem to be hard to come by another reason to buy a spare. Without the battery just the crank motor should be less than $400 about what a repair would cost with parts and labor. Installing was very easy and needed to buy some special tools to finish the job. I had to extend the power cord to the battery which came with the hardware to do that. I have a bad left knee and the first time I used the PA the pressure was off the knee and a pleasure to ride again. Till later, Peter Lee

Court Rye
2 years ago

Great comment Peter, it sounds like the BBS02 is working well for you (except for the battery level indicator). Given the large size, 22 amp hours, maybe it still shows as full because it is keeping the voltage high in the system? I’m really not sure… would love to hear how it turns out. Which little tools did you have to get for installing the BBS02?

Peter Lee
2 years ago

Yes, when pushing the bike (my Velomobile) backwards the peddles do move backwards. When pushing the bike forward the peddles do not move. You can peddling backwards when stationary.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Awesome feedback Peter, thanks for jumping in to help answer this question for us :)

Peter Lee
2 years ago

Installed the T52 with the Rohloff 14 gear and 16 sprocket it back. Still seems I need a higher gear when the bafang is set at level 3 for assist. Will do more checking and report back

Mike leroy
2 years ago

Very informative review, Court. I checked one detail that leaves some doubt. This Lectric Cycles FAQ Page mentions “Throttle Only Operation with pedal assist (PAS) turned off (Set to “0”)”. I am unsure whether Bafang updated the unit, or if electriccycles is mistaken? You mention no throttle-only mode, which is very important to me. I want the PAS to work like a turbo charger, not cruise control, for a steep hill. 80% of the time, I do not need any assist. I envision leaving PAS set to 0 all the time.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Mike, I think it all depends on how the reseller sets the unit. I’ve heard Hi-Power Cycles talk about offering a throttle only mode in “H” or “High Power” mode which I’m going to update in their reviews because I didn’t notice it or the unit wasn’t setup right when I did my tests. Some resellers lock the unit at 20 mph and others may leave it open. It sounds like you can get a throttle only mode to work on the unit… even if you can’t, the throttle basically overrides pedal assist so it isn’t a huge deal, you basically just don’t pedal and use the throttle but risk the occasional power burst when you forget and pedal by accident.

Peter Lee
2 years ago

My Bafang came with 20mph throttle limit. If I set the wheel at 16″ it will go to 32mph on my gps.
If I disconnect the speedo I will get to 34.9mph and an error message which I ignore. I’m happy with the wheels set at 16″ as I use the gps anyway for speed. I very rarely use the throttle. I start out with 0 PAS find a comfort gear and if I need a little assist go to 2 as 1 is too low. That gets me to 16mph. If I want to keep up with the racing crowed I go to 3pas and that will get me a constant 24mph. As I get in better shape that will change but with a bad knee and rebuilt hip that the best I can do for now. 4 & 5 uses a lot of battery and never had to use it yet. But 5pas will get me to 32mph constant if I need to catch up to anyone.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Thanks for the tips about getting a higher top speed with the Bafang BBS02 kit, sounds like you’re really enjoying it.

LP
10 months ago

How do you set the wheels at 16 and how do you disconnect speedometer

Peter Lee
2 years ago

Update on the BBS02 Bafang. I needed the hex socket to install the cranks, needed a special tool for the lock ring for the lower crank but could not find the right tool so I used a lock wrench that did the job. I did buy a socket to remove the inside of the hub bearings and the local bike shop had it. Yes, I leave the PAS at “0” I can just use the throttle only. I’m very happy with this product, when looking at posts from a few years ago there was no such option and price. I may order another set and battery for spare parts and the extra battery. That way if on a long trip out of town I can fix it quick and have the extra battery. I am using the PAS and throttle less and less as time goes by. If I use just the throttle I can get it up to 15 mph shut off the throttle and stay at that speed for a long time. The screen has a WATT meter so it I use the throttle I can see how many WATTS was used. I note the speed and gear and if I do the same without the throttle I know how much human power I am using. If on PAS I can bring the WATTS down the harder I peddle. About the 5 bars on the display, 60 miles with PAS on 2 to 3 the bars will go to 3 and 2 than 1 and shut down. I have installed a 12v converter to the 48v Li on and run the GPS, Iphone charger, fan for the Velomobile when hot or windshield starts to fog, heater fan for heavy fog, sound sys amp and small radio. All of that and still made an easy 60 miles. If I want to go further I would not use the Bafang until I really needed it to extend my distance. By using the PAS at level one would also increase the distance. The Go One3 Velomobile weight is 66lbs and with the Bafgang and battery with tools electronics and parts with a water bottle would bring me to about 90lbs. Is there a way to post pic here? I have been ridding almost ever day, each time with new experience. It takes about 5 ot 6 hours to recharge the battery.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Awesome update Peter! I would love to see your images and hear more about this custom velomobile you’ve created. Feel free to post about it in the 8Fun Community Forum and reach out to me there or using the contact form here if you have any questions or need help!

Tom Bardolph
4 months ago

I just bought a Go-0ne3, plan on installing an electric motor, and am considering the BBS02. I already have one on my ICE Vortex, so I’m familiar with it, but am undecided between getting another or using a hub motor this time. How has your experience been with yours, any tips or tricks to suggest, and have you posted any pics or videos of it anywhere online? … thanks

Brad
2 years ago

Thanks for the review! I am thinking of putting this kit on my existing full suspension Giant Anthem, which has hydraulic brakes. Do you know if the brake switches from the kit can be fitted/adapted to hydraulic levers, instead of the cable brakes shown?

Court Rye
2 years ago

Great question Brad, I don’t think the brake inhibitors are easily transferrable from one lever to the next. You might look around for hydraulic levers with integrated inhibitors from Tektro like the ones used on the Raleigh Tekoa-iE. I’m not sure what they’re called specifically but I know they exist and are used on many ebikes. The alternative would be to simply forego motor inhibitors but with a larger motor like BBS02 and off-road riding I prefer to use them… It makes stopping and shifting gears much smoother and probably safer. Some of the BMEBIKES do skip inhibitors and I call it out on the BM-Helio because it has a BBS01 running at 25 amps that feels like it could benefit from motor cutoff.

Jerome
2 years ago

Hi Brad, i just bought a 27.5 Giant Anthem last may and the utlimate goal is to convert it with a bafang kit. I realize yesterday that i have hydraulic brakes, so i will have problem to make the conversion. Where are you now in your project? Does it works? have you solved brakes problem? thanks a lot for your help, Jerome

dillon
2 years ago

Hey I was wondering if anyone could link me to a website that sells these, I saw a fake one on amazaon and want to be sure to get the right one.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Dillon, the shop where I tried this kit (and the BBS01) is called Propel Electric Bikes (formerly Long Island Electrics) and you can visit their site with this product here. The owner, Chris, is friendly and very responsive if you write or call :)

Matt Hughes
2 years ago

http://www.EMPoweredCycles.com sells the 8fun Bafang BBS02 mid drive electric bike kit programmed for full throttle available in PAS levels 1-9. This means that you can be in any PAS level except for 0 and have full throttle on demand. Units are also programmed so max speed limit only applies to PAS and is ignored by throttle input. Buy from a trusted vendor who offers 2 year warranty support. Many have talked about having full throttle in PAS 0, this is not a good idea and when programmed as such, also forces full speed PAS in level 0 which is very dangerous. PAS 0 should remain PAS 0 for safety reasons. The only way to disable PAS is to disconnect a wire between the controller and the motor.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Great feedback Matt, thanks for adding your voice here in a way that’s constructive and not overly promotional. It’s great that you guys sell these and I’ve heard good things about your company. Feel free to share your experiences in the 8Fun forums as well.

Matt Hughes
2 years ago

Thanks Court for the welcome and for a creating a place we can collaborate on the BBS02!
If anyone out there has a throttle that acts like an on/off switch you can purchase a USB cable at the following link, http://www.empoweredcycles.com/collections/8fun-bafang-bbs02-accessories/products/usb-programming-cable-8fun-bbs02-mid-drive-motor then download the software and change your throttle to behave linearly like a throttle should. I can also provide you with a file to download to your controller that will add full throttle in PAS 1-9, many people have reported they like the motor programming like this and they grow to enjoy the PAS system without wanting to disable it.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Very cool! Maybe you’ve already posted in the forums as well but feel free to share the same advice, I’m sure it will help some people :)

Scott
2 years ago

Hi guys, I’ve just ordered my kit and I’m wondering if there are any strong bash guards or skid plates that will help protect the low hanging Bafang motor while riding off road?

Court Rye
2 years ago

That is an awesome question Scott! I never thought about skid plates for mid-drives before (the Bosch Centerdrive does use a plastic casing for protection). Many bicycles and ebikes use metal bash guards on the front chainring and I believe you can switch out the chainring on the BBS02 for a Race Face or other ring and change the size and number of teeth… so it seems like adding a bash guard could be possible. I’ve just never heard of it? This might be a great topic for the 8Fun Forum and you can learn more about the Race Face chainring on the BM-Night Hawk review (and some of the other BMEBIKES). They offer it as an upgrade since their bikes are designed to be ridden on trail or mountain terrain. Check out the second picture on the Night Hawk review to see it up close.

Scott
2 years ago

Thanks Court Rye, My other question is about suggested chainring sizes. I’m planning on mostly trail use and a few miles on paved paths to the trails. I live near Seattle and we have large hills and mud. My coworker who rides his ebike for hunting trips suggested the 34T raceface chainring for great torque and around 20mph top speed while never heating up the motor. My bike is a 1997 Specialized Ground Control with 8 speed Shimano cassette. Some questions for thought: What chainring sizes does everyone like? Have you noticed heat coming from your motor? How would you describe the torque and speed with your setup?

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Scott, I have never owned this system or the BMEBIKS I shared in the last response, I just demo them while visiting shops around the country. I have heard that some BBS01 systems can heat up and struggle with climbing while using the stock chainring. I like the Race Face personally but have only used it for a few hours on the demo bikes. I’m sorry I can’t offer more advice, if you plan to do trail and mountain riding it might be a great direction to go. I have also seen Hi-Power Cycles use this on some of their bikes.

Roy Prince
2 years ago

Hi Court, Thanks for your great website!

I have been watching the BBS02 space for a while now. I have 3 installs under my belt: One on a tandem tadpole trike, another on a Specialized Rockhopper 29, and one for me on a Townie but moving to a Specialized Hardrock 29. All are doing well and my clients are very happy – makes me happy too.

I think all the negatives you mentioned in the video have now been solved by the eRad BBS02 system from LectricCycles. As a disclaimer: I do not work for them but did get my systems from them. The new eRad system has a device that eliminates the mashing of gears when shifting and all the delays and not quite right delays, and a 100mm BB model for fat-bikes, have been solved. I think it’s time for you to do another video with the new system because this new BBS02 system is on par with the much more expensive Bosch and other systems.

Also because the stock chain rings are a bit tall – there are now spiders out there to allow users to go to smaller more torque-e chain rings. Especially the Raceface narrow-wide ones that help keep the chain from jumping off. My two cents, Roy from http://www.RPEV.org

Court Rye
2 years ago

Great feedback Roy, thanks for the heads up! I’ve added the link to LectricCycles and will do my best to spend some time with their solutions down the road. I also checked out your website, cool stuff! Looks like you’re a big fan of the mid-drive solution for ebikes :)

Gangadhar Chiplunkar
2 years ago

Hi, I am from Pune (India). I got my Bafang 750 W, 48 V mid drive kit and mounted it on my bicycle. Tried it out with 4 lead acid batteries just to test the system. It works well. Now I want li-ion battery pack for it. I can build one myself. I just don’t know the maximum voltage this kit can accept. It says 48 V nominal, but what is the Minimum and Maximum limit? The kit is delivered without any manual and the answer to this question is very difficult to find. Can anybody provide me with the answer. Thanks.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Gangadhar! This is a great question… I’m glad you’re enjoying the kit and I’d like to help you find an answer. I think your best shot is to ask the same thing (just copy and paste) in the 8Fun forums I’ve setup here. There are some very knowledgeable members and even some shop owners who could probably help you out :)

Tushar Dube
1 year ago

Hello Mr. Gangadhar, I also live in pune. I wanted to buy a electric bicycle kit, but none are available in India. Can you please share from where you bought the kit and the price for the same. Thanks and regards, Tushar

Adelle Nothnagel
2 years ago

Hi, Thank you for your review. Can the 8Tun 350W mid motor be fiiited to a Giant FD806 & Giant Expressway 1 folding bikes? What are the cons for fitting a mid motor to a folding bike? Thanks

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Adelle! I’m honestly not sure. My experience actually converting electric bikes is limited but there are people in the 8Fun Forums here that can probably help to answer this for you. Just copy and paste your question :)

Brian
2 years ago

Hey there, I just ordered one of these last week along with a 48v 20 ah battery. It hasn’t come yet but I plan to initially install it on a fat tire road bike and use it to commute to a train station. Does the LCD display easily come off? Does the battery lock to the frame? I’m just wondering how theft deterrent I can make those parts. I’ll be parking in a gated parking garage but there is still theft there. If the LCD doesn’t easily remove I wonder if I can put in some quick disconnects into the wires so I can take it with me?

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Brian! Most of the displays I have seen are not designed to be taken off, someone would need a set of tools… there are some versions that swivel to help reduce glare but they still don’t “come off” with like a quick release. Battery packs are also a bit varied, most are locking and can be removed from the frame. If you’ve got a fat bike I’d strongly recommend getting an E-RAD kit because they can customize it to fit 100 mm bottom brackets. I’m not sure I’ve seen a fat tire “road” bike but I’m assuming you’ve looked into sizing and everything. If not, you might be able to get some parts or work with E-RAD they do a lot of cool stuff :)

Brian
2 years ago

i’m running a regular british 68mm bb shell. when I say fat tire road bike I’m saying more around the 38-42mm range :) I wonder if I can cut up the wiring for the LCD and add a connector so I can take it off easily.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hmm… I’m not really sure? Might be able to get some input on the Endless Sphere forums or share your idea and ask for advice in the EBR Community. I’d love to hear how it turns out for you! There might be others who have considered the same thing and your feedback could help them :D

Tim
2 years ago

Hi, I about to put a Bafang 750watt on my Scott Scale 29er Hard Tail. It currently has tubeless Schwalbe tyres which are great for offroad stuff but a bit of a pain on the road/paths. I was thinking of getting a 2nd set of tyres for me to ride on paths/roads/commuting like Continental City Tyres and going back to tubes…Do you think the speed would be much better with this Bafang to run tubed slicks?

Court Rye
2 years ago

Great question… hybrid and slick tires definitely roll smoother and make less noise when I do reviews. If you were to just always use your tubeless Schwalbe tires I think the nubs would wear down over time and they would basically become slicks… but in the process your range would be somewhat limited, speed would probably be reduced (not by a lot) and your traction might also suffer on pavement whereas traction off-road would be worse with slicks.

Tim
2 years ago

Thanks for the reply, I have decided to get a 2nd wheelset, keep by tubeless with cassette and discs for offroad and setup the 2nd wheelset/discs/cassette to change over for road/paths. I do worry if I do any offroaf firetrail riding with the bafang that I might go through a puddle and damage the mid drive/battery….should I be worried about this? Also a bit worried on motor burn out if I was in Granny gear trying to go up a steep hill offroad, your thoughts on both of these possible issues would be helpful.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Tim! Most ebike components are well sealed against water (maybe not waterproof but fairly water and mud resistant). Here’s a quick video from a shop owner talking about ebike maintenance. AS for climbing… if you use the lower gears (easier to pedal with) that will empower the motor and you to climb more effectively and is the exact right thing to do! Most motors are designed to automatically shut down if they are overheating but it’s good to treat them with care to help them last. I really like your idea of having two wheelsets :)

Zoltan87
2 years ago

Extremely helpful review but I would have a question regarding gearing: I want to make a bike conversion for my parents to a system like this. But the main use would be between 3-7 MPH for helping them climbing really steep hills. Is that kind of low speed achievable for assisted cycling with this kit? Let’s say I would be using a 32 teeth chainring (is it possible to use such a small chainring at all??) and a 12-36 cassette at the rear. With this setup would be my mentioned speed range attainable? I really would like to make them able to keep up with my speed so we could do cycle trips together again as we have a holiday house in the mountains, but some of those hills are just too steep for their strengths. And it seems like all these electric bike conversion kits (especially the hub motors) are concentrating on higher speeds. I would greatly appreciate anyone’s thoughts on this matter.

Court Rye
2 years ago

Great question! You can adapt the chainring on the BBS01 and BBS02 mid-drive motor kits using a spider and aftermarket chainring (many companies use RaceFace). Regardless of the chainring size and your cassette range, you can always choose the level of assist desired and there are 1 to 5 or sometimes 1 to 9 speeds. That’s with pedal assist, you can also just squeeze the throttle more gently to go slower. I think lower speeds are definitely possible here but if you’re about to buy one of these kits I recommend checking out E-RAD as they have a wider range of sizes, offer shift detection and can get you a battery that will work.

Joe
2 years ago

I am considering building an e-bike for my daily commute. It is 7 miles each way and all flat. I would like to be able to get to 25 MPH. I am interested in the mid drive but am new enough to this to be confused to whether this is my best option. Weight distribution being low sounds like a good idea. I currently have no bike so I will be starting from scratch and would appreciate your suggestions. Thanks!

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hi Joe! Sorry for the delayed reply to your comment here… I really like the 8Fun motor systems and they can indeed perform at higher levels. You can save money by doing a kit, have fun and use a bicycle platform that fits your style or body type more closely than a purpose built ebike… but of course there’s more work involved. Stock 8Fun kits are fine but lack shift sensing and aren’t easy to modify if you have a wider bottom bracket. For that reason I really like the e-RAD kits that are basically a custom configured BBS02 that does include a shift sensor. These kits can still hit the higher top speeds and e-RAD sells a bunch of different battery options, check them out here. Mid-drive motors tend to be a little louder and put more strain on the chain, sprockets and derailleur than a hub motor but the balance is good, efficiency and climbing is great and they blend in nicely and make wheel maintenance easy. If you were going to get a hub motor I’d recommend BionX because they are super quiet, have a great display that’s removable, excellent batteries with “deep sleep” to last longer and even offer regeneration! The only downside is a higher cost… one of my favorites is the D-Series 500 Watt Kit which you can get preinstalled on some ebikes like those from OHM. Hope this helps! You can also ask for advice in the Community Forums or go to the Endless Sphere forums where they chat about custom ebike builds all the time and are a bit more advanced (but also sometimes less patient or friendly)

Rod
1 year ago

I built up a mountain bike, hard tail 27.5 fluid from anaconda in Australia. The process was quite easy basic bike tool set from aldi to remove bottom bracket and install drivetrain. The bike has hydraulic brakes, which means I could not install brake levers from kit. I did however install lever on left to give a nuetral, just used a hair tie to get it to rebound back and switch nuetral off. It means I have 2 levers, the brake lever and basically a clutch. Works ok but to be honest I rarely use it. By feeling the bike it will tell you when to change and you get smooth changes.

I installed a 22 amp 48 volt battery as I have a 50km commute. It does it easy with 40% battery left. I took it out for a 80km ride to test limit of battery, I ran out before it did and I still had 20% battery left (I was on 3 setting and averaged 25km per hour). To be honest i have yet to expend battery before recharge.

I have only one problem with setup being a single ring on front you end up crossing up your chain in lowest and highest gears ( with 3 rings you would only use your lower gears on the back derailleur in the front small ring and the top rear gears on the largest front ring). This means that you find it hard to adjust your gears properly and in top and lowest gears it tends to be a bit noisy and can skip up and down under load. To adjust I listen to the bike and change down when approaching hills and very rarely if ever need 1st gear.

Overall I would say its as I said to my wife “the best toy ever”. Have done 1500+km and am yet to have a major problem only improvements I would have is to put on slicks, which I will do when nobblies wear out. Ps in Aussie dollars 75% of American dollar it cost me:

  • Bike. $600
  • Kit. $650
  • Battery $670
  • Rack. $40
  • Tools. $40
  • Total. $2000 or about $1500 american

Rod

Court Rye
1 year ago

Hi Rod! I like your idea with the extra brake with motor inhibitor to act as a clutch when shifting gears. These BBS02 units are very powerful and it can strain the chain and mash gears, sounds like your solution is very clever. Thanks for listing out the pricing details of your bike, it sounds like you’re enjoying it and didn’t have to spend so much money by building yourself :)

John
1 year ago

I use my brake to act as a clutch when shifting gears too. You can also buy an aftermarket shift sensor for about $50 which cuts the motor out automatically when you shift.

Brian Bassett
10 months ago

I have 737 miles on a Bafang 750W center drive system with an aftermarket Lekkie Bling Ring sprocket. (Without replacing the original steel sprocket, off-set Will be an issue.) Battery: 50V (9P) Triangle Pack, High Energy-29E, 50V 24.8Ah. (18.8 lbs.) The Bike is a Panamericana, fully suspended, steel tour bike with 26” wheels, manufactured in Germany. Power is transmitted through a Rohloff 14-speed, speed hub and sporting hydraulic disc brakes. I have climbed 30,717 feet, 50 hours moving time in 33 total rides. Longest ride: 55.9 miles in 3.28 hrs. Elev chg + 1746 / – 1726 ft. (Note: I charge the pack to 80% and have never depleted it trying to extend the life of the battery so additional performance can be achieved.) The bike has been setup in a training/everyday configuration. Two full front panniers 20 lbs. each, an over full bar bag 6 to 10 lbs., two mirrors, umbrella, K-bar, 5 lbs. of Bluetooth speaker, GPS, 6’ cable lock, Litelok, dynamo and high density light, rear side-stand, leather seat bag and leather mud-flaps on full fenders, and water bottles. In this configuration she weighs 120 lbs. Rider weight is 300 lbs. The battery has been charged 15 times. Using the 8Fun motor has more of a learning curve than you would guess. Because I am using a Rohloff hub I disconnected the break lever cut-out switches. They were causing more problems than helping anyway. BUT, I stop peddling to shift, 1st to 14th and back without peddling. Quiet, smooth and 100% sure. Coming to a fast stop at a mistimed light would lead to a multi second power time-out and often a cpu lock-up (error 30H), leaving me floundering at the intersection. The power IS either on or off. The least peddle movement will activate the drive at whatever assist level it is set for. Applying torque to the peddles is only necessary if you wish to conserve battery or once at top speed to go faster. Unlike others I notice no drag from the motor when set at 0 PAS (assist)… but, my bike weighs 117 lbs. without my ass on it. Distance is of utmost importance to me not speed. I am truly hoping to reach distances of 100 miles as training progresses. I have mine set for levels 0-9 in pedal assist. I only use levels 0-3 all the time, most of the time, a lot of the time. I have found that using anything above PAS 3 is a luxury only. To feel the wind in your face. Speed is very very addictive. And distance is most important to me. I peddle with PAS when going uphill at all times. This sounds obvious but remember there is a throttle to bypass the peddle assist. On level ground you can pause peddling, feather in the throttle and actually increase speed a mile or 2 an hour, hold it there until you reach an incline that would bog the motor down or until the battery runs dry. To combat a head wind, you can go to a higher PAS level, peddle harder, use the throttle, or… down shift and KBO like you don’t have a motor. How Far OR How Fast. I use the throttle as little as possible knowing that it all decreases my maximum possible distance. But I can’t describe the feeling of timing an intersection correctly, going to level 9 on PAS, shifting to 14th gear and sailing through the light with little to no effort. I do believe that your claims of 100+ miles are very optimistic.

auto-ebike.com
9 months ago

the BBSHD will instead of BBS02 if the price more cheap

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

RoadWrinkle
2 days ago

Given the carrying load, I think you might be disappointed with anything under these minimum specs: 500w/48v/20a system. Try the PAS 250w/36v/15a mid-drive bikes to see what I mean. On your budget you might look for an inexpensive Bafang BBS02 build (750w/48v/25a with a throttle) if you want a mid drive. The advantages of a HUB motor are that they have more power, they are less expensive and easy to find in 500w/48v/20 configurations, and most have a throttle which allows larger riders to better control the amount of assist the motor gives you when you need it. They have less climbing torque than a mid-drive which leverages power with the gearing, while a Hub motor system runs on the motor with the addition of your pedaling (so you can add power but not leverage power).

Mikey
2 days ago

Juiced bike or BBS02 on a donor bike with that budget.

Dewey
3 days ago

Go to Ballard and check out a RadCity, it may be all you need.
Rad does have a hub motor but it's a 7 speed and a replacement battery is $500. Could replace with a 52v Luna mighty Mini for $300 but that would only offer half the range/amp hrs (6 v 12) so would depend on how far he needs to travel. Luna Alite has 8 speeds, a 750w bbs02 Mid drive motor that will get you up any hill, and a 13.5 ah replacement battery is $400.

RoadWrinkle
3 days ago

My BBS02 has a 42 tooth lekkie front sprocket vs the FS3 28 tooth. The FS3 also has 40 tooth rear sprocket vs my BBS02 34 tooth rear sprocket. That's why I credited the Evo's drive train giving it the mechanical advantages to climb just as well as my BBS02. If my BBS02 had a similar drive train, it would pop a wheelie constantly on any steep climb.

From the pictures I've seen, the belt on the Brose motor is a synchronous belt with toothed sprocket. If the belt was jumping teeth, there'd be a distinct vibration and sound and definite power loss.
There your bikes so you would know the best how they perform. So any thoughts on what you think that squealing was? I have never experienced that climbing a 12%-15% so far.

Mikey
3 days ago

Aloha! I find it hard to believe a 250w/37v/15a brose system can climb as well as a 750w/48v/25a Bafang set-up. The numbers just don't support the contention.

Also, that squealing sound you hear when your brose motor is at peak RPMs is most likely the belt slipping despite being notched to align with the cog. That the brose system feels under powered as compared to the other mid drive motors is objective fact, born out by numerous rider accounts, and eMTB mag time trials. The cause is most likely due to a conservative motor regime to protect that belt I am guessing. That puts the question well beyond subjective experience, IMO.

My BBS02 has a 42 tooth lekkie front sprocket vs the FS3 28 tooth. The FS3 also has 40 tooth rear sprocket vs my BBS02 34 tooth rear sprocket. That's why I credited the Evo's drive train giving it the mechanical advantages to climb just as well as my BBS02. If my BBS02 had a similar drive train, it would pop a wheelie constantly on any steep climb.

From the pictures I've seen, the belt on the Brose motor is a synchronous belt with toothed sprocket. If the belt was jumping teeth, there'd be a distinct vibration and sound and definite power loss.

RoadWrinkle
2 days ago

I weight 215 and my Evo can climb just as good as my BBS02 mountain
Aloha. I find it hard to understand how a 250w/37v/15a brose system can climb as well as a 750w/48v/25a Bafang set-up. The numbers just don't support the contention.

That the brose system feels under powered as compared to the other mid drive motors is objective fact, born out by numerous rider accounts, and eMTB mag time trials. The cause is most likely due to a conservative motor regime (relaxed sensor settings in the firmware) to protect that belt I am guessing. That puts the question well beyond subjective experience, IMO.

Also, that squealing sound you hear when your brose motor is stressed and at peak RPMs could be the belt slipping despite being notched to align with the cog; better than a torn belt.

Mikey
3 days ago

Hi PaulGee. I have an Evo FS3 and I think you won't have any issue with the Brose motor. I weight 215 and my Evo can climb just as good as my BBS02 mountain bike that can push twice as much wattage thanks to the Evo's 22 speed drive train. Both of my bikes struggle on climbs where traction and wheelies becomes an issue so I don't think Brose is lacking in power.

Recently my Brose motor started making squealing noise under max power on very steep climbs. I'm not sure what it is but it's not effecting performance so I'm ok with it for now. It sounds almost like a noisy belt but I think Brose motor use ribbed belt to prevent slippage.

Dewey
4 days ago

Luna Alite is $1759 with a 750w bbs02 mid-drive motor, 48v battery, gear sensor, brooks b67 sprung saddle option and front suspension. It will do everything you want.

Joe Remi
5 days ago

The kind of attitude that discriminates against an entire class of ebike users. Should they only be for fit riders in your estimation? Please enlighten us all.
That dumb comment was a response to me saying months ago that mid-drives don't need a throttle, which he interpreted as "shouldn't have one." That wasn't what I was saying (I still don't think mid-drives NEED throttle), and I mentioned later in the thread that I now have a BBS02 with one. To say that anybody with a throttle should buy a motorcycle is just silly: I pedal most of the time, and occasionally use the button as an assist in certain situations. I like having both, and much prefer it to my days on motorbikes when all rides required being in the car lane doing car speeds. Forget that jazz.

RoadWrinkle
1 week ago

Not just the reviews on EBR, almost none of the online reviews or even the manufacturers marketing info mentions what an ebikes controller peak amperage is. This is key information in determining what the motors peak wattage output will be (V x A=pW) . The controller is the flood gate between the battery and the motor and usually the component most susceptible to heat related issues. Those Bafang builds running 750w BBS02's at 52v/30A are actually pushing 1560w. Controller design and peak amperage are vital info that gets little consideration from buyers

flymeaway
2 weeks ago

or is this thing going to fail under pressure every time?
It's a little late in the game, but someone mentioned Rohloff Speedhub in a prior post and that really is the long term solution. I have three bikes (including a tandem) with the Rohloff installed, all driven with Bafang BBS02 750W mid-drives. My regular commuting bike has over 3,000 miles over the last year and the Rohloff IGH runs flawlessly. I also have an N360 on a BBS02 500W installed bike, and I haven't had any problems (yet) but I do tend to be much more attentive to the terrain and the gearing. Even though the Rohloff is very expensive, any mid-drive bike I build will have one installed.

Court J.

Paul Bridle
2 weeks ago

Hi. I am just about to fit a bafang bbs02 to a scott aspect 910 and being a bit of a novice does anyone here know what tools I will need to do it? I have general tools like a socket set, screw drivers and alike but was wondering what special tools I would need.

Does anyone have any links as to what I would need to buy?

Thanks Paul

Paul Bridle
2 weeks ago

Hi all

I am in the UK and have an Aspect 910 that I have just ordered an 750w bbs02 bafang kit for. I have joined the forum a I have a few questions.

Paul

Lost
2 weeks ago

I'm loving the bbso2 though! It was an easy project done in an afternoon. Compared to the Rover I bought first, it is a total different experience. Much lighter, much more "bike like", and much more powerful. The BBS02 came from luna with higher wattage available, about 1100 watts using my rover battery, and 1300 watts on a 52 volt battery. Not having a suspension relegates it to smooth roads only, but sure seems more efficient I'll know after a few trips in each for some data points. It uses a 48tooth chainring, and yes, I have to remember to "downshift" when coming up to a stop.

Asunder
2 weeks ago

<---Same here, Alfine 8 along with the BBS02 750w.

What cog have you on the Alfine? I`m presently on the 18T, have a 16T to try but not sure if i`ll loose climbing ability with it.

I`m on 26" wheels btw.

Tbh i find i`m changing two gears at a time with this setup, could do with only 4 or 5 i reckon

^
I am running an 18T, sorry. That does look smooth. I will have to put a pic of mine up, now that I have it where I want it to be. And I only change 2 gears at a time when I am in a high level of assist (4 or 5 out of 5). But that could just be my personal riding style.

RoyL
2 weeks ago

<---Same here, Alfine 8 along with the BBS02 750w.

What cog have you on the Alfine? I`m presently on the 18T, have a 16T to try but not sure if i`ll loose climbing ability with it.

I`m on 26" wheels btw.

Tbh i find i`m changing two gears at a time with this setup, could do with only 4 or 5 i reckon

^

1/1
Joe Remi
3 weeks ago

Just remember the BBS02 likes to run at max RPM, don't take off without shifting down to a reasonable gear. As you would if pedaling.
I apologize if that's obvious. But many a motor has been cooked by rising it like a scooter.
I definitely DON'T think it's obvious, and anyone who owns one of these systems needs to be reminded to downshift and use the pedals as well as throttle when crawling around at stop/start speeds.

I started with a torque-sensing mid-drive sans throttle, and still ride the BBS02 most of the time as if it didn't have the button. I mostly use throttle for occasional bursts to a hit a higher top speed than my leg speed will create. It's a nice backup in emergency situations.

Thomas Jaszewski
3 weeks ago

I'm about to build (convert a 20 year old hybrid that I have had since new) a mid drive bafang 750 watt bbs02. Instead of a throttle, I am going to put a push button for max power, as I find that's all I ever used the throttle for, mostly just launching.
Just remember the BBS02 likes to run at max RPM, don't take off without shifting down to a reasonable gear. As you would if pedaling.
I apologize if that's obvious. But many a motor has been cooked by rising it like a scooter.

Lost
3 weeks ago

I'm about to build (convert a 20 year old hybrid that I have had since new) a mid drive bafang 750 watt bbs02. Instead of a throttle, I am going to put a push button for max power, as I find that's all I ever used the throttle for, mostly just launching.

Joe Remi
3 weeks ago

Am I sleeping through something? Where is the throttle bashing? From the lycra crowd or just reactions to the very few?
There's a guy at Bike Forum that keeps invading threads with his "no throttles" manifesto..I think they finally banned him. I have a Haibike with PAS and a Luna-built BBS02 folder with PAS and throttle. I like both.

RoadWrinkle
3 weeks ago

Why would you want to mount a scooter motor to a bicycle frame triangle? They have purpose built mid-drive systems that mount into your BB. They offer much better weight-to-power efficiency. Bafang bbs02(750w nom) or bbshd (1000w nom), check out eRad as well and the Bafang system kit suppliers like Luna. Find a good sturdy bike for your conversion and make sure the battery will fit your frame first. You will need to know the BB size for the bike you choose before you order the motor system. Many MTB's have the stout design to be conversion ready.

Joe Remi
3 weeks ago

So, from reading this thread it seems like there are relatively few middrives with throttles. I was thinking about the izip protour, but the range is giving me pause. Someone mentioned that bosch doesn't like throttles at all. What about something like the Giant Quick-E+ with SyncDrive by Yamaha? Would the controller on one of these allow an aftermarket thumb throttle to be added?

Sort of, maybe, but it's not a plug-and-play operation. You're best bet, IMHO, if you don't want to build a bike is to look for a Bafang mid-drive-with-throttle model like the Biktrix Monte 1000, or a bike put together by Luna Cycles. I have a BBS02 folding bike from Luna, and it's pretty sweet.

Joe Remi
4 weeks ago

I believe I said earlier in this thread that I didn't think a throttle was necessary on a mid-drive. Then I bought a Bafang BBS02-kitted folding bike with throttle. It's quite handy, especially when you need to move fast in a dicey situation. Wrong, I was. I like it.

Dewey
4 weeks ago

I would prefer pedal assist to throttle only. I see that you suggested a bike with quite a powerful motor- is that because that is what is necessary to get up the hills?

I understand, I adapted my bicycle with a mid-drive motor and I ride it using pedal assist no throttle. Among a convenience sample of other riders on a recent ride with my neighborhood family bike group 3 of 6 parents towing children had adapted their bicycles with the same type of ebike motor which is a Bafang BBS01/BBS02 rebranded and sold under several names such as 8fun, Dillenger, Lunacycle, Empowered, EM3EV, eRad, and my preferred supplier California Ebike (Doug the owner is super helpful). It isn't a turn key solution like a complete ebike, I needed help from my local bike shop to remove the bottom bracket and replace the chain/make sure the gearing worked because in the conversion process you lose your other front chain rings, turning my 21 speed bike into a 7 speed. I have the lower powered BBS01 with a 36v battery and I programmed the controller to 18a, but the more powerful BBS02 48V model with a 25A controller setting is powerful enough (1200 watts peak power) to get up most hills. Power is necessary to climb hills when you are hauling extra weight. One of the links I posted above is from two parents with the Juiced ODK, one of whom claimed to be able to achieve 7mph up a 23% hill at full throttle. With my much less powerful controller/battery settings (648 watts peak power) I would be standing on my pedals to achieve the same speed on that grade hill. Because I adapted my old 1990's heavy steel hybrid bike, the added weight of me, my daughter, the trailer, the motor, and battery, means my system is underpowered for the weight I'm trying to haul uphill, it works most of the time if I'm not carrying anything else but I get a real workout when we haul the weekly groceries.

VEEZER1
1 week ago

Recommend Juiced air or this on my Schwinn mountain bike?

Andrew Stewart
4 weeks ago

I've worked with the Bosch and shimano steps motors, and they dont have all the sensors. they simply detect the torque coming in thru the cranks, and then just add a multiplier to it. no brake sensing etc, doesnt need it.

its so intuitive, I could do mad wheelies straight away with it

Joe N
2 months ago

Brother I'm impressed! Does this sell in Canada? Being an older mountain biker, my legs ain't young anymore. This would be an advantage riding say up the Niagara Escarpment where its a long hill. What's the price if I could ask?

Ben Adriance
3 months ago

Where did you say you could get this kit?

Paul Wood
4 months ago

Top speed on a flat, with rider peddeling (lets say 200w of human power)??

Tforce Sims
7 months ago

Do kits automatically come with a battery?

Jaime Magana
7 months ago

Two things i'm interested in with e-bikes- Top speed and Range.

nicolas vago
8 months ago

Hi , could you please tell me the autonomy without pedalling? thank you very much

Keenon Carter
9 months ago

What tools did you need to install it or was it all in the box?

Garmashua
9 months ago

So... this kit you can install on another electric bike and have two motors bike. Interesting if anybody has done it already?

v1nce n7
10 months ago

Would love to see BBS02 comparison with other kits like the Bewo, TSDZ-1 or Xofo kits

Stephen J Ward
11 months ago

They also do a motor that detects the gears & when you change, you can also buy the sensor that does the same thing, I think you need to read up a bit more on what the BBS01/BBS02 Mid Drive motor kits do.

Stephen J Ward
11 months ago

I thought all their kits are street legal from the 250w to 1000w has the speed is governed either with the control box on older models or internally in the motor on the newer models.

monstercolorfun co
12 months ago

its 300 usd in 2016, battery is same.cim is more.

monstercolorfun co
6 months ago

endless-sphere.com for info
ebikes.ca "shop" for high end easy connection gear (grinfineon controller 100, 9C motor 180, throttle 10,cycleanalyst optional)
ali-express for samsung/lg triangle packs and cheaper than analyst, amp meters... samsung 12ah 48v =170usd, https://www.aliexpress.com/af/watt-meter-60v.html?ltype=wholesale&d=y&origin=n&isViewCP=y&catId=0&initiative_id=SB_20161124204627&SearchText=watt+meter+60v&blanktest=0

kushagra K
6 months ago

what website ?

ray castro
12 months ago

finished building mine today....   this motor is scary powerful   www.facebook.com/thegreenwaybeast         by the way... 38 miles per hour baby.....oh yeah....

HTFAT
12 months ago

I’d shredding those cables wrapped around the motor pretty quick

visualray
1 year ago

Can you install this on a Tern or Dahon with 20" wheels?

brian hoffman
1 year ago

How fast is it

JV
1 year ago

5:12 you can program these anyway you like. There are up to 9 levels of assist and you can also turn on thumb throttle only mode. Some of these can be done only via the programming cable and others through the head unit alone.

scstudios8
1 year ago

This pretty much is exactly what I want, but the kit costs more than some entire electric bikes.  I mean, if the battery runs $800, I may as well buy an entire bike.  Does anyone know of a good mountain bike type mid drive that has the nuvinci?  I don't want a mid drive without that.