BionX SL 350 Review

Bionx Sl 350 Electric Bike Conversion Kit 1
Bionx Sl 350 Surly Neck Romancer Pug
Bionx Sl 350 Surly Conversion
Xtracycle Edgerunner Bionx 350 48v Battery
Xtracycle Edgerunner Bionx 350 Display Panel
Xtracycle Edgerunner Bionx 350 Disc Brake
Bionx Sl 350 Motor Internals
Bionx Sl 350 Electric Bike Conversion Kit 1
Bionx Sl 350 Surly Neck Romancer Pug
Bionx Sl 350 Surly Conversion
Xtracycle Edgerunner Bionx 350 48v Battery
Xtracycle Edgerunner Bionx 350 Display Panel
Xtracycle Edgerunner Bionx 350 Disc Brake
Bionx Sl 350 Motor Internals

Summary

  • Top of the line kit, 350 watt motor is ~2.5 lbs lighter than the older PL 350 model, includes advanced security features
  • Available in two designs to fit most bikes: mount to down tube or integrated into a rear carry rack
  • Increased torque output with 48 volt XL battery, the strongest BionX makes
  • Versatile drive system offers throttle mode, pedal assist or regen mode in addition to regenerative braking

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

BionX

Model:

SL 350

Price:

$1,999 USD

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Commuting, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Covering Manufacturer Defects (1,000 Charge Cycles)

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2013

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

16.1 lbs (7.3 kg) (Optional Rear Rack Configuration 18.9 lbs)

Motor Weight:

9.5 lbs (4.3 kg)

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)26 in (66.04cm)28 in (71.12cm)

Other:

Optional Black or Silver Rim and Spokes, Battery Comes in Mid-Frame or Rear-Rack Configuration, Rear-Rack Battery Has an Integrated LED Light, System Locks Motor if Display is Removed

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

BionX

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

350 watts

Battery Voltage:

48 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8.8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

422.4 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4 hours

Estimated Min Range:

45 miles (72 km)

Estimated Max Range:

65 miles (105 km)

Display Type:

Removable Backlit Monochrome LCD

Readouts:

4 Proportional Assist and Generate Modes, Lighting Controls, Battery Voltage, Trip Distance, Odometer, Chronometer, Average Speed, Clock

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The BionX SL “Super Light” 350 takes the proven, solid performance of the long-lived PL 350 and makes the motor 2.5 pounds lighter while upgrading the 37 volt battery to 48 volts for increased power, awesome! This is one of the highest quality, most feature rich electric bike conversion kits you can buy. It comes with throttle mode, four levels of pedal assist, regenerative “negative mode” and regenerative braking. Instead of using pedelec sensors to track rider input, it uses torque sensors built right into the hub motor making it less jerky and easier to install on the bike. Everything about this kit is high quality, and that’s why it costs about as much as a fully built electric bike.

Now that you know the up side, here’s the down side. BionX kits like this have to be installed onto a bike you already own. That’s a negative because it is time consuming, requires tools or further spend to have a bike shop do it for you. Sure, you probably already know this, it is an electric bike “kit” after all. But unlike some other electric bike kits, BionX systems take more finessing because they replace the entire rear wheel of a bike and that means you have to deal with the derailleur and chain rings. The other tricky bit is adjusting the brake lever system which controls regenerative braking in addition to normal “stop” braking.

Most full electric bikes come with Tektro brake levers that have sensors preinstalled. They tell the motor to shut off whenever you pull the brakes, or they tell the regen system to kick in. That’s also what the sensor does on a BionX kit except it isn’t built into the brake lever. You have to mount it yourself on the outside of the brake lever making it more exposed and ultimately vulnerable. It also means you can only mount the sensor to one brake lever, not both like most fully integrated bikes. The other negative about this and the rest of the BionX kits is that the power cables going from the battery pack to the hub motor and the computer and brake sensor to the battery pack aren’t integrated into the bike frame. It’s a bit less aesthetically pleasing, but it’s not the end of the world and wireless kits are just around the corner.

Back to the good stuff! The motor on the SL 350 kit is really the center piece. It’s an upgraded design from what is offered in the PL 350 kit and weighs 2.5lbs less. It’s brushless and gearless so it coasts silently and last longer than other geared hub motors. It also looks great, having seen the cutaway demo at Interbike myself and feeling the light weight of the motor when it was off the bike, it’s an amazing piece of technology. This light weight design combined with the 48v XL battery pack offers the kind of power that heavier riders will appreciate. It would also suit heavier mountain bike conversions well) and perform better in steep, off road environments.

BionX kits are perfect for people who already have bikes they love and just want to add electric assist. Whether your bike is a recumbent, folding or super light full suspension carbon mountain bike, this kit will take it to the high end of the ebike spectrum for $2K. The computer console has been designed to help you protect your very expensive bike and has two built in security features. If the LCD computer is removed from the bike the motor locks by engaging the highest torque regeneration setting. Also, the console comes with a password built in so even if it’s on the bike, a thief won’t be able to turn it on. With all of this said, if the SL is just too expensive and you’re willing to sacrifice a bit in terms of weight and power, you can spend ~$500 less and pick from one of the PL 350 options.

When choosing between the DT or RR version of this kit, take into consideration the mounting options given your frame and the weight distribution you care most about. I am always a fan of the down tube “mid-frame” battery mounting design because it distributes weight more evenly across the frame from front to rear. This makes the bike easier to pick up and carry, mount on car racks and handle when riding by avoiding tail slide-outs but it also takes the spot where you would otherwise put a water bottle cage. The rear rack by comparison, leaves the bike rear-heavy but provides a great space for hanging panniers or putting a saddle bag. The rear rack design weighs more than the down tube but for some bikes it may be the only option. The first picture below shows the DT (down tube) option with the gray triangle pack and the second picture shows the RR (rear rack) option which mounts to a metal rack. If you choose the second option make sure your bike has threaded braze-on eyelets for mounting a rack.

Note that some users have successfully drilled their own mounting holes for the down tube battery kit but that can compromise the structural integrity of the bike or may not be an option at all with carbon frames. Both battery designs are lockable and the rear rack design has a built in tail light for safety.

Depending on your bike setup, this kit is available with three wheel diameter options including 20″, 26″ or 700c which is equivalent to 29″. The rims themselves are available in silver or black spoke options to match your setup which is nice. Whichever version of this kit you decide on you’ll be getting technology that is feature rich and high quality backed by a solid brand.

Pros:

  • Lightweight, redesigned hub motor is 2.5lbs lighter and more stylish than PL 350
  • Battery pack offers extra power at 48 volts, great for climbing hills or supporting heavier riders
  • Works with almost any bike, including those with smaller diameters like folding bikes and recumbents
  • Both battery configurations lock to the frame for security and can be charged on or off of the bike
  • Hub motor runs smooth and quiet (gearless and hubless) and has built in torque sensing and regenerative braking
  • Rear-wheel hub motor exerts force onto the part of the frame that is designed to handle it vs. front hub designs, great if you mount to a bike with a front shock
  • Works with disc brake setups as well as v-brakes

Cons:

  • The amp hours of the 48 volt pack are 8.8 vs. 9.6 on the highest end PL kit meaning it won’t go quite as far. Still, 8.8 is much better than the low end 6.4 amp hour PL kit from BionX
  • Installation is a bit complicated, time consuming or expensive if you hire it done
  • With kits like this the wires and cables aren’t integrated into the frame vs. buying a pre-built ebike that might look a little nicer
  • Trade offs in how you mount the battery: rear rack is heavier and unbalanced, mid mount takes water bottle spot
  • This kit alone costs as much as a high end, fully assembled electric bike
  • Throttle and computer may not mount as easily to road bikes with drop handle bars due to shape and size of tubes and grip tape
  • The rear rack battery design includes a built in light but in many cases you still have to get your own front light vs. an integrated solution feeding from one battery source
  • This kit is only compatible with 135 mm axle size so check your mountain bikes carefully or bikes with thru axles

Resources:

More BionX Reviews

BionX D-500 Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Top of the line 500 watt electric bike kit with a focus on acceleration and low end torque for climbing. Unique center-spoked design for improved comfort and wheel durability, narrow casing accommodates a larger cassette…...

BionX S-350 Review

  • MSRP: $2,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Versatile electric bike conversion set with four levels of assist, four levels of regen and throttle mode. Available with five battery pack configurations including two rear mount and three downtube mounted...

BionX P-350 Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A more affordable, less powerful electric drive kit from BionX with rear-mount battery design only. G2 console offers four levels of assist, four levels of regen and throttle mode with…...

BionX PL 350 Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

A line of three 350 watt, 37 volt electric bike conversion kits. Available in mid-frame or rear rack styles to fit just about any bike...

BionX PL 250 Review

  • MSRP: $1,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

One of the lightest electric bike conversion kits available anywhere, just 7.3kg (16.1 lbs). Mounts to water bottle eyelets on downtube of, distributes weight evenly front to rear...


PAUL DEGARIE
5 years ago

I installed the BionX 350XL 48V on a Raliegh 5.2- 27 SPD. Mountain Bike . I have over 3000 mi. of riding pleasure on this bike. My best millage is 49 mi. on one charge Utilizing the right mix of bike gearing and electric assist with re-gen whilst pedaling. Thumb throttle when necessary utilizing mostly plus mode to 4 to start and down assist to plus 2 average speed 12.5 MPH. Re-gen minus 1 except when going down a steep or long downhill grades then a higher re-gen -3 or 4 slow the bike down to 20 mph. Love to watch the battery bar accumulate energy on the plus side during re-gen thus increasing range. So I know I could achieve 60 plus miles in range under ideal weather conditions less than 5 mph headwind. My total cost of the bike with bells and whistles less than $2,600.00. ADVANTAGE I ride a bike that fits Me. Instead of riding a bike I have to fit into. Thanks Team BionX

Reply
E.Lynn Leaverton
2 years ago

I had a sl 350 ht rr installed on my Rambler tadpole in 2013 and have ridden well over 6000 miles by January 2016.. My best power mileage was 52 miles Westbound on Idaho’s Trail of the Coeur da Alene. The motor has been strong and dependable. The only problem I had was a battery that would not take a charge which was in warranty and replaced quickly by Gary at NWrecumbent Cycles in Post Falls. You meet the nicest people on the bike trails in the Pacific Nortwest.

Reply
court
2 years ago

Awesome! Sounds like you’ve had a great experience. Thanks for sharing the excellent service by NWrecumbent Cycles, they sound like a great shop :)

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Falco Support
14 hours ago

Dear Mr. Nelson,

I wish to thank you for your continued interest in our company and products. Please see answers below:

1. Are you still pushing the six-phase motor?
Our motor technology is based on 5-phase motor architecture and is now patented. You may read about it here: http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/blog/review-of-ebike-motor-technologies/. We have two patents granted and several pending. Our latest evolution called eDrive is the integration with virtual reality training program such as Zwift. Here is the link to that: http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/Falco-edrive/.
Here are some comparisons for you to review:
http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/blog/falco-vs-bionx-dseries-comparison-with-falco-f7-series/
http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/blog/falco-vs-bionx-pseries-comparison-with-falco-e5-series/
http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/blog/falco-comparison-with-the-copenhagen-wheel-superpedestrian/

2. How many US dealers sold more than 3 last year?
In order to stay a dealer, they have to sell a minimum of six systems a year. I am happy to send a dealer application and agreement if you like.

3. Why Trikes, recumbents, tandems, and cargo bikes? What's up with regular bicycles?
Our product is quite premium. Regular bicycle market has gone to very low price points and bicycle owners do not have the budget to afford our system.

4. Why were you selling the product when it apparently did not work reliably?
We offer 5-year warranty in the market. Why do we offer that warranty if there were reliability concerns? Even Bosch does not offer more than 2 years. Why are they selling their product even after having recalled twice? Why does Toyota continue to sell its cars after having recalled so many times? Why does Pedego continue to sell their bikes after having recalled 5000 Lithium batteries not so long ago?

5. What is your lowest price functional motor kit?
Kit is a derogatory word to describe our product. I request you not to use it. Here is the http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/ebike-systems/?setCurrencyId=1 of our systems. Lowest is $1895.

6. If the UK dealer was so poorly equipped to handle your product, why did you allow him to become a dealer?
In business, it is called the learning curve. Business is a great teacher. You learn from your mistakes.

7. Referencing #6, why did you sell him so much product?
We did not sell him a lot. He had a number of prototypes and sales samples which were developed during the development stage and used during Eurobike.

8. Does Harry receive a salary, or straight commission?
Mr. Harry does not receive a salary or commission. He has placed his order recently and is very excited about it. He shared his excitement with this forum.

9. What turn-key ebikes are manufactured using your motor kit?
Our product is expensive for OEM applications. OEMs are normally looking for extremely low price points. Nevertheless, here are some who use Falco Systems.
Terra Trike EVO
Utah Trikes
WeWatt
Santana Tandem
Cobrane
etc.

10. Does anyone else on the planet make a controller compatible with your motor?
No. Our controller is embedded inside the motor.

11. Do you know who Eric Hicks is, and why he is not pushing his "double-speed, double-torque" motor anymore?
I know Mr. Hicks very well. I do not know about his products or his business model in great detail. I am Sorry.

Please do let us know additional questions or comments.

Sincerely,
Rakesh Dhawan

Rakesh Dhawan
23 hours ago

Dear Mr. Nelson,

Thank you for your interest in Falco.

Mr. Harry forwarded this thread to me. I thought it necessary to clarify few points as you have some knowledge about Falco.

I am afraid to say that Your facts are incorrect and outdated about Falco. That Dealer you refer to was a great friend of mine in the UK. I miss him everyday. We were like two brothers from different mothers. We were starting in Electric Bike business and he chose to become a dealer. He was trying to get into electric bike business with little or no resources and no ability to provide after sales support. Also, He and his staff thought they knew a lot about electric bike business and they dictated the specs of how the system should be used in spite of our repeated warnings. We learnt a great lesson. We do not allow that kind of discretion to any of our dealers today unless you are an OEM. When that Dealer faced a medical problem, he chose to get out of electric bike business. That was back in 2013.

Other fact is called Product evolution. Here are some questions for you to think about which could provide you some insight into Falco as a brand, as a philosophy and as a way to engineer.

1. Is BionX still in business?
2. What year did they start?
3. What customers do they have?
4. What problems did they face?
5. How did their product evolve over the years?
6. How many times did Bosch do a recall of their products in Europe?
7. Why Bosch is still in Business?
8. What year did Falco start?
9. What products Falco offered before and now?
10. How has Falco product evolved over the years?
11. What other products does Falco market or sell?
12. And the last but not the least, which company has the highest warranty in the world?

Answer to these questions will lead you to how Falco thinks about Electric Bike industry and how we plan to move forward.

Otherwise, please try not to downplay our tremendous sacrifice, blood and sweat, passion, commitment and entrepreneurship in making a small difference in the electric Bike space.

We have over 150 dealers in the US and several small OEMs. We specialize in converting Trikes, Recumbents, Tandems, Cargo bikes etc.

Our journey, Mr. Nelson has been to stay focused and deliver an extraordinary product to the market. We learn and improve every day and we have a very long list of extremely passionate and committed fans who use their Falco everyday for last several years. These fans know about our tremendous passion and staying power.

We have succeeded in making a difference in the life of countless number of our seniors and we will continue to do so.

I do not wish to sell my product to you or anyone. I do care about making a difference in people’s lives using our technology. That has been our driving force and our greatest passion.

I am happy to answer any additional questions or comments you may have.

Sincerely,
Rakesh Dhawan
President
Falco eMotors Inc.

bowzette
2 days ago

Harry i don't have a ebike but I have been studying e-assist kits for a Catrike recumbent trike. The recumbent shop where I bought my trike loves the Bionx and has more than he wished he had in stock=expensive paper weights. Falco looks like it would perform similar to the Bionx but the battery isn't proprietary, but they site states the five year warranty is void if you don't use their battery. Falco seems to appeal to the same market as Bionx. My concern is from reading various internet comments, for whatever that is worth, your credit card is charged at the time of purchase and a number of purchasers have experienced several months of delay before delivery. Sometimes all the parts are not in the delivery and it has taken more time to get everything. Utah Trikes recommends the wired display, not the wireless as they experienced problems with the wireless. I've read a couple of complains of controller over-heating but don't know if this is generally a problem or not. The up side is that it is highly programmable, check out Youtube videos, can run up to 28 mph, and has a good torque sensor which is a high priority for me. The down side is I suspect (I am just guessing) Falco is under capitalized and they use current cash coming in on new orders to complete and ship older orders. Additionally the owner is an electrical engineer, the product may be good or not, but I bet engineers are running the company and not someone with business experience. My "guess" is Falco will go the way of Bionx. I like what their website says about the product and apparently how it operates but I don't want to spend $2,200 for a Bionx like paper weight!

Ann M.
2 days ago

Yeah, Rakesh is very sharp and good communicating with customers. I've known him since his days at E+.
And yes, that is an older BionX system. We've installed a couple of these on other recumbents; very easy, straightforward install with good support from BionX. We're all hoping they find a buyer for the company; very messy situation they got into with GM Canada. Enuf! On to happy rides on that bent :)

HarryB
2 days ago

@Ann, yes me too. As i did the research (hours and hours) It really came down to the only choice. Rakesh is one SMART guy. I had lengthy conversation with him. I am an electrical engineer working for Siemens in the industrial controls business unit. I know motors. Albeit, 3 phase induction motors, not DC motors. He has been refining and perfection this system for many years. There is nothing like it in the industry.
EXPENSIVE! but any other choice would have included compromises I was not willing to make. The open architecture, customization capabilities. 5 year warranty, software, engineering, both torque and speed sensors, on and on and on.

Rakesh is clearly very committed to his ideals. His energy is infectious!

I see a BionX on your avatar. They went belly up. Did they not? That sucks! Their system is quite the opposite of open architecture.

Alex M
4 days ago

Not anymore ;) ...

If budget is a priority or if you live in remote area - stay away from proprietary systems. Ebikes are not bomb-proof and are not going to be in foreseeable future. Replacing generic parts is cheaper in the long run than buying proprietary, and can be less hassle than having a dealer to do it.

I wonder where the OP found all those 5-star reviews. There are no stars in Court reviews, they are neutral. Sometimes even too neutral. And there is always a list of Pros and Cons at the end. When you need to find out more about particular model, there are no reviews anywhere else, other than occasional feedback from members here and short Yutube clips. Endless Sphere is a good source too, but it's more technical.

jhoblo
4 days ago

Hmmm, can you say BIONX? That's what I've got now, unfortunately. People had the same view of that kit before the company tanked, and now if I want to keep the motor I'll have to get the battery rebuilt- maybe not if I want to forgo some functions of the console. I'll take a Bafang BBSHD if I keep my current bike or a Grin kit for the Brompton, thank you. Riding pleasure for me has been based on me being able to diagnose and fix stuff myself, especially since I live in the boonies where most LBSs don't deal with electric motors.

jhoblo
4 days ago

I actually prefer 20" wheels. The fold for 20" wheels is more compact and much simpler.

I actually have a Monty and I've considered a BBSHD conversion, but I've learned to really hate this bike... I'm trying to make peace with it for lack of better alternatives.

I've had problems with the Bionx kit, so even though I've had it for two years my mileage is very low. I was on the forum before with a different gmail account that I forgot the password to- I've even forgotten the user name I used then. I still fight this thing throwing on resistance for seconds after I've applied the brakes, and no bike mechanic knows what's up and I never found a decent Bionx dealer. I was told to override that with the throttle, hehe, but I had it reprogrammed to CA Class 3, so I don't have throttle anymore, bad choice :( Yeah, I feel more than a bit of schadenfreude about what happened to the company...

I thought I had buyers for this damn thing a couple of times, but ABQ isn't a place where people know about e-bikes and I can't sell it for half of what I bought it for, so I'm trying to make it a more comfortable. I'm resigned to folding, unfolding, taking on and off the front wheel four times a day. It sucks. It sucks big.

Normally I have to fold it and roll it inside on my Travoy trailer here at the university, but in the summer I get away with bringing it inside w/o folding it :)

What I do like about it is I can use great tires (Schwalbe Marathon Tour Plus) unlike the fat tire bikes, it's lighter (only 50 lbs) than the fatties, and I seem to be able to ride this on windy days when MrCoffee in ABQ doesn't ride his Rad Rover. I have 28 gears (Paratrooper Pro.) It would make a nice BBSHD conversion, and a straightforward one, too but I have lots of work to do to make this thing comfortable. I just bought Jones H Bar handlebars so that I can ride in a more upright position to prevent my hands from going numb before 5 miles, and I need a seat with springs, as I can't use a seatpost suspension system with my Travoy trailer hitch. I have a bad knee and throwing it over this high frame scares me sometimes, depending on how much it is swollen. I would definitely do better with a smaller folder.

I have to flip the bike, attach the front wheel, unfold, flip the bike, take off the front wheel, fold, etc. so many times a day that I'm getting an upper body workout. I'm resigned to that for now, and I suppose it takes less time for that than going to the gym. I suppose that I hate gyms more than I've hated this bike. I use it more than my car now.

BionicShark
6 days ago

I have a 350W Bionx EVO (s) with the same issue - very little from the strain sensor. Not sure we have the settings right but I can't imagine it being anything but a hardware issue. I had it on BII for 15 mins and the shop said no codes, played with the settings with little or no change. It does work but barely. My EVO HB1 (large) was just stolen - and rode like mad (I had it chipped/unlimited). I got this other EVO (s) off craigs, but it's a small, so I fixed it up for my wife and she's riding it using the throttle. Loves it!

So here's my issue - I have 2 chargers, 2 batteries do I put NEW Bionx kit on her Liv bike?? That's the plan now, it's in the shop waiting a DL350W kit from back east. I like the Bionx system and have "spares" - but... warranty, who knows.

[MEDIA=instagram]BjlrSUXAIfq[/MEDIA]

jhoblo
1 week ago

The benefit for me is my health. I was (I’m ashamed to admit) 70 lbs less when I rode my non-motorized mountain bike everywhere, stacked with groceries, laundry, whatever. An ebike will make that so much more pleasurable. I will die sooner if I don’t lose this weight. I want to enjoy whatever time I have left, and biking was the only excercise that I really enjoyed, but I lived in a rural area where I wasn’t breathing vehicle exhaust, dealing with heavy traffic, etc. The biggest drag was that I didn’t like non-motorized touring, which will be much more pleasurable with assist!

Hugh
1 week ago

I started out 3 years ago with a BionX HD 500 road bike, an EVO disc brake model with 700C tires. Rode that for about 1 year then transfered the hub drive and battery into a tadpole trike I built over one winter. 1000 km's were put on the DF bike and in the ensuing 2 years another 1500 plus km's on the trike. Since the trike is so comfortable I often go on 40 km rides with litttle to no rider fatigue. After 3 years the bionx will still go 100 km,s or 60 miles to a charge if I keep the assist low and of course pedal as well. And it is mostly flat land around here. And zero maintenance issues. The 2nd ebike is a KHS fat tire bike I installed a Bafang 1000 watt mid drive motor into. That bike now has 1600 plus km's on it. It gets ridden year round, with the qualifer that winter use is on groomed single track trails most of which are 7 km's in length and I ride these 2 times around at a minimum per use. I did make an insulated foam cover for the battery and if the temp drops below minus 10 C I will sometimes slip a chemical hand warmer into the cover. It also has had zero maintenance issues. For the record I am 65 and now retired. Also these bikes are NOT economical to buy, build or operate in the short term. The only way to bring operating costs down is to ride and pile on the mileage. They are cheap to charge up but since each cost $3000 roughly it takes awhile to realize a financial benefit. How ever the benefits of all the cycling is priceless.

gblendstrup
2 weeks ago

It has some cool features especially when connected to heart rate monitor, offers turn to turn navigation, gps map plus great analytics after your ride. However i found it still buggy, heart to pair with blue tooth second time around after stop start, mph to kmh conversion and frozen screens. Hope there will be soon an upgrade to fix these issues. Last release was early 2017.

Richard Challis
3 years ago

Does anyone have a dead SL 350 battery. The control board in my wife's battery has corroded but the batteries are still fine.. Bionx will not sell me a new controller . . . I have to but a new battery and throw away all those lithium cells . . . not very environmentally responsible !

DDuB420
4 years ago

Recently my friends and I have been going out on night rides. We usually roll 3 deep (2 http://electricbikereview.com/bionx/sl-350/ and a 500w http://electricbikereview.com/stromer/st1-platinum/) Between the 3 of us we are pumping over 2000 lumens from our combined flashlights on the trails. Needless to say its a pretty bright ride. Here's a quick video I made from my iPhone last night. Still saving for my garmin camera :) Thanks again for the heads up James.

Just after I made this video, we came up to a concession road that intersects the bike path. Out of nowhere red and blue flashing lights appear. We all stop, because the cop who stopped us, blocked the bike path. As soon as he got out of his vehicle, the three of us turned our lights off.

With a dumbfounded look on the cops face, He told us he had been chasing us for 20 mins down the parallel concession rds to the trail. He was shocked that we were just bikes. He then said you guys were really ripping it up out there have a safe ride. Then we were on our way again :)

I love electric biking.

Court
4 years ago

Hey Mike! Welcome to the forum, that's a beautiful bike there... I know the feeling and concern about converting a nice regular bicycle to electric. Some of the kits that I've reviewed are easily removable, like the http://electricbikereview.com/clean-republic/hill-topper/ and http://electricbikereview.com/leed/30k-e-bike-kit/, but others like the http://electricbikereview.com/bionx/sl-350/ almost become permanent because they mount in the rear wheel.

I love the option of pedal assist and throttle but you'll pay extra for that and have to do some screwing around to get it setup vs. plug and play on the simpler kits. Here's a http://electricbikereview.com/tag/kits/ of the ebike kits I've reviewed. The http://electricbikereview.com/falco/hx-500/ is pretty sweet and can go on the front or rear wheel (front would make it easier to swap in and out so you could do regular riding).

One of the best resources I know of for getting tips and advice on creating your own electric bike is a forum called http://endless-sphere.com/forums/. Some of the guys there are interested in performance modding (where you get a higher top speed and more power than is legal) but they're all really smart and might be able to help you out!

Maybe a couple more people will chime in here to help you as well, let me know if you have any questions about the kits I've got listed and definitely share what you end up with! I'd love to hear how it goes and see some pictures of the finished product :D

murat dogusan
2 years ago

price of this kit?

Steve Birks
4 years ago

Wow I would love one of those be ideal for our twin grand children one day - one day !!!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

I agree Steve, very cool use of technology and lots of versatility with the different add-ons. Xtracycle announced a new version of their EdgeRunner at Interbike last month which uses the Bosch mid-drive and is even more powerful and efficient. Very cool stuff... compatible with the same great accessories. Review coming soon!

Anthony Lobino
4 years ago

I've got a Big Dummy and I'm looking into the 350 HT kits but I'm unsure whether or not the spending an extra $500-600 from 36 volt to 48 volt is worth it; what are your thoughts? Would I be able to buy a 48 volt battery later on and use it with my 36 volt kit?

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

I believe you can upgrade to 48 volt packs and they will work with older 36 volt motors. From what I've gathered, all of the new BionX systems run 48 volt packs which improves efficiency and of course power. If you do get an older kit, check how old it is because batteries slowly lose their full capacity just sitting on the shelf.  $500 to $600 is quite a bit extra and I'm not sure how much you may or may not need the additional power, I've had good luck with the older 36 volt systems and BionX offers good support if you buy through a local dealer. Hope this helps!

Joe G.P.
4 years ago

that's the quietest electric motor i've seen you review.
Also i heard one of cheap electric bikes a few days ago, sounded like he was dragging a 2by4 behind him

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Yeah, this thing is so quiet... Really impressed with the setup. Climbs well, has regen, mounts to the downtube. Good stuff all around and the Xtracycle is a neat platform :)

Torian Allen
4 years ago

+Electric Bike Review, are there any other electric velomobiles's out there worth testing? 

Torian Allen
4 years ago

Ok, perfect! Thank you!

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Hi Torian (cool name btw) this is one of my favorites but Yuba also has one called the elMundo http://electricbikereview.com/yuba/elmundo/ and you can see a few other recumbent/cargo style ebikes here http://electricbikereview.com/tag/recumbent/

ForbinColossus
4 years ago

Please do a review of the iZip Express Electric Bike w/ the 750watt motor. Thx

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Great request... It's on my list but I just haven't seen it in the wild! There was one at Currie's headquarters a few months back but it was being repaired. I'm not sure if they even sell it anymore?