BionX PL 250 Review

Bionx Pl 250 Electric Bike Conversion Kit 1
Bionx Pl 250 1
Bionx Pl 250 2
Bionx Pl 250 3
Bionx Pl 250 4
Bionx Pl 250 5
Bionx Pl 250 6
Bionx Pl 250 Electric Bike Conversion
Custom Made Electric Bike
Bionx Downtube Mounted Battery
Bionx Gen 2 Lcd Computer
Bionx Pl 250 Electric Bike Conversion Kit 1
Bionx Pl 250 1
Bionx Pl 250 2
Bionx Pl 250 3
Bionx Pl 250 4
Bionx Pl 250 5
Bionx Pl 250 6
Bionx Pl 250 Electric Bike Conversion
Custom Made Electric Bike
Bionx Downtube Mounted Battery
Bionx Gen 2 Lcd Computer

Summary

  • One of the lightest electric bike conversion kits available anywhere, just 7.3kg (16.1 lbs)
  • Mounts to water bottle eyelets on downtube of, distributes weight evenly front to rear
  • Less powerful than other ebikes and kits, 26v battery with 250w motor, best for light riders and smaller bikes
  • Offers regenerative braking, pedal assist and throttle mode. Can be a hassle to install

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

BionX

Model:

PL 250

Price:

$1,199 USD

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Commuting, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Year Covering Manufacturer Defects (1,000 Charge Cycles)

Availability:

United States, Canada

Model Year:

2013

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

16 lbs (7.25 kg)

Battery Weight:

6.5 lbs (2.94 kg)

Motor Weight:

9.5 lbs (4.3 kg)

Wheel Sizes:

20 in (50.8cm)26 in (66.04cm)28 in (71.12cm)

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

BionX

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Gearless Direct Drive Hub
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Battery Voltage:

26 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

9 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

234 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

3 hours

Estimated Min Range:

35 miles (56 km)

Estimated Max Range:

55 miles (89 km)

Display Type:

Digital LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Odometer, Battery Capacity, Assist Level

Drive Mode:

Torque Sensing Pedal Assist, Trigger Throttle

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

If you’ve got a lightweight bike and want to electrify it, the BionX PL 250 is one of your best options. This kit works very well for folding bikes and recumbents because of its versatile mounting options. At first glance it may seem expensive, especially compared to other more basic kits, but you get a lot of features and quality with this package. Regenerative braking, pedal assist, locking design, throttle mode and a sophisticated computer set it apart.

The 250 label in the BionX PL 250 M name stands for its 250 watt motor. This is the lowest power kit BionX offers and it complies with European electric bike standards. If you live in America or somewhere that’s less strict, you may feel a sense of regret when comparing it with your friends’ electric bikes or more powerful BionX options like the PL 350. It’s not going to push you up large or even medium sized hills but it does well on the flats. As previously mentioned, this kit is ideal for foldable bikes. You can even find them pre-assembled at some local bike dealers or online retailers like NYCeWheels.

I’ve always wanted to combine this kit with my ultra lightweight carbon roadbike because at just 16 pounds including the computer and battery, it’s possible to create a sub 40lb electric bike and that’s amazing! It would be easy to carry up stairs (except the battery pack on the downtube might get in the way) and it would provide the the same responsive human-powered acceleration and handling I love. Because this kit mounts on the rear wheel, it can be a pain to install but it won’t put your frame under as much stress as if it were on the front fork, as with many other electric bike kits.

You can order the PL250 kit with a 20″, 26″ or 700c sized wheel and the brushless hub motor comes built right in. Generally speaking, 20 inch wheels are the small ones used on folding bikes, 26″ is the standard for most mountain bikes but if you have a “29er” that’s the equivalent of the 700c which is standard for road and city style bikes. Note that if you do have a mountain bike, the rims that came with your frame may be double walled or composed of extra tough materials that the BionX kit doesn’t match.

One of the coolest features this kit offers is regenerative braking which activates as you begin to pull your brake lever. You have to set this system up manually when building the kit and it just uses a little magnet sensor stuck onto the outside of your brake lever which can be delicate. The sensor itself can be positioned for quick activation with the slightest pull on the brakes or only when you pull the brake lever all the way back. Regeneration mode acts like regenerative braking but doesn’t require you to pull the brake lever. You can activate it by using the computer console and setting it to negative mode which has four levels. This is perfect for coasting down large hills or if you’ve just got extra energy and want to pedal the bike manually for part of your ride.

There are two computer consoles available for this kit and you might see both when shopping around. The the G1 or “generation 1” console is smaller, more simple and actually integrates the thumb throttle trigger right into the computer display mount. This option provides limited flexibility when mounting and works best right next to the grips so you can reach it easily when riding. If you plan to only use pedal assist mode with this kit, it might not matter so much because you’ll never be pushing the trigger. The G2 option separates the throttle trigger from the computer completely, providing more options when mounting. But, depending on your handlebar size and configuration this could be a challenge to work with as well. It’s designed to fit onto standard sized round handlebars so just double check before you buy, especially if your bike has roadbike or triathlon drop bars that tend to be more oval shaped. The throttle might be impossible to mount anywhere on this type of bar and you might just want to save the cash and go with G1 instead.

Depending on how price sensitive you are, this kit might be just out of reach. Even if you can afford it, it might feel a bit less powerful than desired. It’s a niche offering that works well for smaller bikes, European markets and lightweight setups. The BionX PL 250 puts the battery pack in a good spot for balancing weight but takes up the water bottle eyelets and since it doesn’t come in a rear-mount option like other BionX kits it may not work at all for certain bikes. It’s not easy to configure this kit yourself, especially the regenerative brake setup, and if you’re not comfortable working on your bike to begin with this could be over your head. Overall this is an exciting, proven electric bike conversion kit and one worth considering for smaller, lightweight bikes. It’s high quality meets mid level performance at a low price.

Pros:

  • Battery mounts to the mid section of the frame distributing weight more evenly from front to rear of bike, easier to lift bike and mount on car racks
  • Battery locks to the frame and can be removed for charging on or off the bike
  • Hub motor is brushless and gearless meaning it may have less power going up hills but runs very quietly, coasts without resistance and is more durable
  • Offers pedal assist, throttle mode and regenerative braking. Advanced computer system
  • Provides some of the longest rides of any ebike conversion kit
  • Hub motor comes on the rear wheel exerting force where the bike was designed to take it
  • Works with disc brakes
  • Uses a torque sensor built into the rear hub vs. pedalec sensor near the crank arms making it easier to instal
  • Provides four levels of power assist and four levels of regeneration, easy to use computer
  • Complies with European regulations limiting speed to 32 km/h (20 mph) and motor size to 250 watts

Cons:

  • Takes up your water bottle mounting eyelets, gets in the way when trying to carry a bike on your shoulder
  • Doesn’t come in different color options, can always spray paint it…
  • More expensive than other ebike kits but way more advanced
  • Throttle and computer may not mount well to road bike handlebar setups
  • More challenging to install than other conversion kits because it mounts to the rear wheel and requires swapping the cassette and messing with the brake levers
  • Regenerative braking setup is sensitive and more precise to get right
  • System requires you to reach 2mph on your own pedaling strength before the throttle will engage, this is designed as a safety feature
  • Wires can be long and a pain to deal with, less aesthetically pleasing than wireless or integrated options on complete ebikes
  • No lights included, will have to add them separately and cannot integrate with the battery pack unless you’re amazing with electronics and willing to void your warranty
  • Wheel may need to be trued after shipment arrives if the package experienced compression
  • Kit is only compatible with 135 mm axle size so check your mountain bikes carefully or bikes with thru axles

Resources:

More BionX Reviews

BionX D-500 Review

  • MSRP: $2,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2015, 2016

Top of the line 500 watt electric bike kit with a focus on acceleration and low end torque for climbing. Unique center-spoked design for improved comfort and wheel durability, narrow casing accommodates a larger cassette…...

BionX S-350 Review

  • MSRP: $2,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

Versatile electric bike conversion set with four levels of assist, four levels of regen and throttle mode. Available with five battery pack configurations including two rear mount and three downtube mounted...

BionX P-350 Review

  • MSRP: $1,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2014, 2015

A more affordable, less powerful electric drive kit from BionX with rear-mount battery design only. G2 console offers four levels of assist, four levels of regen and throttle mode with…...

BionX SL 350 Review

  • MSRP: $1,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

Top of the line kit, 350 watt motor is ~2.5 lbs lighter than the older PL 350 model, includes advanced security features. Available in two designs to fit most bikes: mount to down tube or integrated into…...

BionX PL 350 Review

  • MSRP: $1,499
  • MODEL YEAR: 2013

A line of three 350 watt, 37 volt electric bike conversion kits. Available in mid-frame or rear rack styles to fit just about any bike...


Dan
5 years ago

I think you did a great job noting the benefits as well as limitations of the Bionx system. I think what I like most about it is it’s amazing pedal assist. I had an El Mundo cargo bike for a little while and I missed the assist greatly. When people ask me what it’s like using the Bionx, I say it’s just like riding a regular bike if I had super strong legs. I commute to work daily and really enjoy the feeling of riding a bike. I liked keeping that feel but also reducing commute time and sweating less in the Texas summers.

I chose the Bionx system after reading up on them at http://nycewheels.com and then testing one at Alien Scooters on South Lamar in Austin. I liked the ease of installation thinking I could transfer the system to another bike later on if I needed to. I also liked having the option of throttle or pedal assist. When I was researching systems I found very few that had both and the ones that did would take some serious mechanical work to mount the pedal sensor on my bike. On the other hand, Bionx systems are easily one of the most expensive available options to retrofit a bike. And they use proprietary components which makes it harder to repair or replace cheaply and easily. I remember reading a review that likened the difference between the Bionx system and other ebike systems to that of the difference between a pc and a mac.

Reply
PAUL DEGARIE
5 years ago

I have over six Years plus 25,000 miles experience with BionX systems. The nicest feature is You can mount the system on a bicycle that fits the rider as opposed the bike the rider must adopt to considering design practicality for fit and use for the owner rider.

PL 250 suitable for most folding, touring, recumbent and road bikes. Wheel sizes 20.24,26 inch and 700cc It can give up and over 25 miles of use on a single charge providing the rider owner understands the system is an assist not exclusively throttle only.
I also have the 24V lion battery and the 22V lion battery. The 24V has more torque and range than the lighter 22V but both systems can exceed 20 miles because of the re-gen feature.
The 22V can go just as far because it is easy to re-gen smaller battery voltage and amps while pedaling. 22V weighs only 6.7 lbs. verses the 24V. 13.3 lbs.

PL 350 good for heaver bikes suitable for 26 and 29 inch wheels can be used on certain mountain ,touring, and tandem bikes suggest with front shock forks. Suitable for heavier riders up to 200 lbs. 36V Re-gen is more difficult because of the battery voltage and amps give more resistance to the rider.

In closing to the cons about installation mostly is location of the G2 consul solution is procure and mount a light bar to the handle bar . Mount towards the rider to protect from head on collisions. Use dielectric grease on all connections.
You can mount battery rail on a generic rear rack locate predrill through holes and mount with spacers. or procure the rectangular rear battery mount from BionX.

I have used stainless steel gear clamps pre-tighten to the profile of the battery rail use either a good vise to squeeze the clamp into the profile mount to a straight tube on the bike frame slide the battery on and off recalibrate fit tighten up gear clamp with battery use red loctight on gear worm drive. Also can use water bottle mount make sure fastener is not fowling with battery rail. I use 5 mm counter fit Philips head stainless steel screws fits flush to the rail not to cause interference with sliding battery on and off usually spacer shims are required.

Reply
ART RUPIO
5 years ago

I ride a 48 v 350 on my cyclocross bike, I ride it with roadies, fast mountainbike riders,and just a suggestion,get a better salesperson than a person that does,nt ride .

and looks like they have never worked out in their life,im trying to get the facts on the 250 for my wife,she rides 150 miles a week and it,s a hard sale trying to convince her watching the video,by the way ,my wife weighs 115lbs and im trying to get her to ride an electric bike

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Falco Support
1 day ago

Dear Mr. Nelson,

I wish to thank you for your continued interest in our company and products. Please see answers below:

1. Are you still pushing the six-phase motor?
Our motor technology is based on 5-phase motor architecture and is now patented. You may read about it here: http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/blog/review-of-ebike-motor-technologies/. We have two patents granted and several pending. Our latest evolution called eDrive is the integration with virtual reality training program such as Zwift. Here is the link to that: http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/Falco-edrive/.
Here are some comparisons for you to review:
http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/blog/falco-vs-bionx-dseries-comparison-with-falco-f7-series/
http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/blog/falco-vs-bionx-pseries-comparison-with-falco-e5-series/
http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/blog/falco-comparison-with-the-copenhagen-wheel-superpedestrian/

2. How many US dealers sold more than 3 last year?
In order to stay a dealer, they have to sell a minimum of six systems a year. I am happy to send a dealer application and agreement if you like.

3. Why Trikes, recumbents, tandems, and cargo bikes? What's up with regular bicycles?
Our product is quite premium. Regular bicycle market has gone to very low price points and bicycle owners do not have the budget to afford our system.

4. Why were you selling the product when it apparently did not work reliably?
We offer 5-year warranty in the market. Why do we offer that warranty if there were reliability concerns? Even Bosch does not offer more than 2 years. Why are they selling their product even after having recalled twice? Why does Toyota continue to sell its cars after having recalled so many times? Why does Pedego continue to sell their bikes after having recalled 5000 Lithium batteries not so long ago?

5. What is your lowest price functional motor kit?
Kit is a derogatory word to describe our product. I request you not to use it. Here is the http://www.electricbicycleworld.com/ebike-systems/?setCurrencyId=1 of our systems. Lowest is $1895.

6. If the UK dealer was so poorly equipped to handle your product, why did you allow him to become a dealer?
In business, it is called the learning curve. Business is a great teacher. You learn from your mistakes.

7. Referencing #6, why did you sell him so much product?
We did not sell him a lot. He had a number of prototypes and sales samples which were developed during the development stage and used during Eurobike.

8. Does Harry receive a salary, or straight commission?
Mr. Harry does not receive a salary or commission. He has placed his order recently and is very excited about it. He shared his excitement with this forum.

9. What turn-key ebikes are manufactured using your motor kit?
Our product is expensive for OEM applications. OEMs are normally looking for extremely low price points. Nevertheless, here are some who use Falco Systems.
Terra Trike EVO
Utah Trikes
WeWatt
Santana Tandem
Cobrane
etc.

10. Does anyone else on the planet make a controller compatible with your motor?
No. Our controller is embedded inside the motor.

11. Do you know who Eric Hicks is, and why he is not pushing his "double-speed, double-torque" motor anymore?
I know Mr. Hicks very well. I do not know about his products or his business model in great detail. I am Sorry.

Please do let us know additional questions or comments.

Sincerely,
Rakesh Dhawan

Rakesh Dhawan
2 days ago

Dear Mr. Nelson,

Thank you for your interest in Falco.

Mr. Harry forwarded this thread to me. I thought it necessary to clarify few points as you have some knowledge about Falco.

I am afraid to say that Your facts are incorrect and outdated about Falco. That Dealer you refer to was a great friend of mine in the UK. I miss him everyday. We were like two brothers from different mothers. We were starting in Electric Bike business and he chose to become a dealer. He was trying to get into electric bike business with little or no resources and no ability to provide after sales support. Also, He and his staff thought they knew a lot about electric bike business and they dictated the specs of how the system should be used in spite of our repeated warnings. We learnt a great lesson. We do not allow that kind of discretion to any of our dealers today unless you are an OEM. When that Dealer faced a medical problem, he chose to get out of electric bike business. That was back in 2013.

Other fact is called Product evolution. Here are some questions for you to think about which could provide you some insight into Falco as a brand, as a philosophy and as a way to engineer.

1. Is BionX still in business?
2. What year did they start?
3. What customers do they have?
4. What problems did they face?
5. How did their product evolve over the years?
6. How many times did Bosch do a recall of their products in Europe?
7. Why Bosch is still in Business?
8. What year did Falco start?
9. What products Falco offered before and now?
10. How has Falco product evolved over the years?
11. What other products does Falco market or sell?
12. And the last but not the least, which company has the highest warranty in the world?

Answer to these questions will lead you to how Falco thinks about Electric Bike industry and how we plan to move forward.

Otherwise, please try not to downplay our tremendous sacrifice, blood and sweat, passion, commitment and entrepreneurship in making a small difference in the electric Bike space.

We have over 150 dealers in the US and several small OEMs. We specialize in converting Trikes, Recumbents, Tandems, Cargo bikes etc.

Our journey, Mr. Nelson has been to stay focused and deliver an extraordinary product to the market. We learn and improve every day and we have a very long list of extremely passionate and committed fans who use their Falco everyday for last several years. These fans know about our tremendous passion and staying power.

We have succeeded in making a difference in the life of countless number of our seniors and we will continue to do so.

I do not wish to sell my product to you or anyone. I do care about making a difference in people’s lives using our technology. That has been our driving force and our greatest passion.

I am happy to answer any additional questions or comments you may have.

Sincerely,
Rakesh Dhawan
President
Falco eMotors Inc.

bowzette
3 days ago

Harry i don't have a ebike but I have been studying e-assist kits for a Catrike recumbent trike. The recumbent shop where I bought my trike loves the Bionx and has more than he wished he had in stock=expensive paper weights. Falco looks like it would perform similar to the Bionx but the battery isn't proprietary, but they site states the five year warranty is void if you don't use their battery. Falco seems to appeal to the same market as Bionx. My concern is from reading various internet comments, for whatever that is worth, your credit card is charged at the time of purchase and a number of purchasers have experienced several months of delay before delivery. Sometimes all the parts are not in the delivery and it has taken more time to get everything. Utah Trikes recommends the wired display, not the wireless as they experienced problems with the wireless. I've read a couple of complains of controller over-heating but don't know if this is generally a problem or not. The up side is that it is highly programmable, check out Youtube videos, can run up to 28 mph, and has a good torque sensor which is a high priority for me. The down side is I suspect (I am just guessing) Falco is under capitalized and they use current cash coming in on new orders to complete and ship older orders. Additionally the owner is an electrical engineer, the product may be good or not, but I bet engineers are running the company and not someone with business experience. My "guess" is Falco will go the way of Bionx. I like what their website says about the product and apparently how it operates but I don't want to spend $2,200 for a Bionx like paper weight!

Ann M.
3 days ago

Yeah, Rakesh is very sharp and good communicating with customers. I've known him since his days at E+.
And yes, that is an older BionX system. We've installed a couple of these on other recumbents; very easy, straightforward install with good support from BionX. We're all hoping they find a buyer for the company; very messy situation they got into with GM Canada. Enuf! On to happy rides on that bent :)

HarryB
3 days ago

@Ann, yes me too. As i did the research (hours and hours) It really came down to the only choice. Rakesh is one SMART guy. I had lengthy conversation with him. I am an electrical engineer working for Siemens in the industrial controls business unit. I know motors. Albeit, 3 phase induction motors, not DC motors. He has been refining and perfection this system for many years. There is nothing like it in the industry.
EXPENSIVE! but any other choice would have included compromises I was not willing to make. The open architecture, customization capabilities. 5 year warranty, software, engineering, both torque and speed sensors, on and on and on.

Rakesh is clearly very committed to his ideals. His energy is infectious!

I see a BionX on your avatar. They went belly up. Did they not? That sucks! Their system is quite the opposite of open architecture.

Alex M
5 days ago

Not anymore ;) ...

If budget is a priority or if you live in remote area - stay away from proprietary systems. Ebikes are not bomb-proof and are not going to be in foreseeable future. Replacing generic parts is cheaper in the long run than buying proprietary, and can be less hassle than having a dealer to do it.

I wonder where the OP found all those 5-star reviews. There are no stars in Court reviews, they are neutral. Sometimes even too neutral. And there is always a list of Pros and Cons at the end. When you need to find out more about particular model, there are no reviews anywhere else, other than occasional feedback from members here and short Yutube clips. Endless Sphere is a good source too, but it's more technical.

jhoblo
5 days ago

Hmmm, can you say BIONX? That's what I've got now, unfortunately. People had the same view of that kit before the company tanked, and now if I want to keep the motor I'll have to get the battery rebuilt- maybe not if I want to forgo some functions of the console. I'll take a Bafang BBSHD if I keep my current bike or a Grin kit for the Brompton, thank you. Riding pleasure for me has been based on me being able to diagnose and fix stuff myself, especially since I live in the boonies where most LBSs don't deal with electric motors.

jhoblo
5 days ago

I actually prefer 20" wheels. The fold for 20" wheels is more compact and much simpler.

I actually have a Monty and I've considered a BBSHD conversion, but I've learned to really hate this bike... I'm trying to make peace with it for lack of better alternatives.

I've had problems with the Bionx kit, so even though I've had it for two years my mileage is very low. I was on the forum before with a different gmail account that I forgot the password to- I've even forgotten the user name I used then. I still fight this thing throwing on resistance for seconds after I've applied the brakes, and no bike mechanic knows what's up and I never found a decent Bionx dealer. I was told to override that with the throttle, hehe, but I had it reprogrammed to CA Class 3, so I don't have throttle anymore, bad choice :( Yeah, I feel more than a bit of schadenfreude about what happened to the company...

I thought I had buyers for this damn thing a couple of times, but ABQ isn't a place where people know about e-bikes and I can't sell it for half of what I bought it for, so I'm trying to make it a more comfortable. I'm resigned to folding, unfolding, taking on and off the front wheel four times a day. It sucks. It sucks big.

Normally I have to fold it and roll it inside on my Travoy trailer here at the university, but in the summer I get away with bringing it inside w/o folding it :)

What I do like about it is I can use great tires (Schwalbe Marathon Tour Plus) unlike the fat tire bikes, it's lighter (only 50 lbs) than the fatties, and I seem to be able to ride this on windy days when MrCoffee in ABQ doesn't ride his Rad Rover. I have 28 gears (Paratrooper Pro.) It would make a nice BBSHD conversion, and a straightforward one, too but I have lots of work to do to make this thing comfortable. I just bought Jones H Bar handlebars so that I can ride in a more upright position to prevent my hands from going numb before 5 miles, and I need a seat with springs, as I can't use a seatpost suspension system with my Travoy trailer hitch. I have a bad knee and throwing it over this high frame scares me sometimes, depending on how much it is swollen. I would definitely do better with a smaller folder.

I have to flip the bike, attach the front wheel, unfold, flip the bike, take off the front wheel, fold, etc. so many times a day that I'm getting an upper body workout. I'm resigned to that for now, and I suppose it takes less time for that than going to the gym. I suppose that I hate gyms more than I've hated this bike. I use it more than my car now.

BionicShark
7 days ago

I have a 350W Bionx EVO (s) with the same issue - very little from the strain sensor. Not sure we have the settings right but I can't imagine it being anything but a hardware issue. I had it on BII for 15 mins and the shop said no codes, played with the settings with little or no change. It does work but barely. My EVO HB1 (large) was just stolen - and rode like mad (I had it chipped/unlimited). I got this other EVO (s) off craigs, but it's a small, so I fixed it up for my wife and she's riding it using the throttle. Loves it!

So here's my issue - I have 2 chargers, 2 batteries do I put NEW Bionx kit on her Liv bike?? That's the plan now, it's in the shop waiting a DL350W kit from back east. I like the Bionx system and have "spares" - but... warranty, who knows.

[MEDIA=instagram]BjlrSUXAIfq[/MEDIA]

jhoblo
2 weeks ago

The benefit for me is my health. I was (I’m ashamed to admit) 70 lbs less when I rode my non-motorized mountain bike everywhere, stacked with groceries, laundry, whatever. An ebike will make that so much more pleasurable. I will die sooner if I don’t lose this weight. I want to enjoy whatever time I have left, and biking was the only excercise that I really enjoyed, but I lived in a rural area where I wasn’t breathing vehicle exhaust, dealing with heavy traffic, etc. The biggest drag was that I didn’t like non-motorized touring, which will be much more pleasurable with assist!

Hugh
2 weeks ago

I started out 3 years ago with a BionX HD 500 road bike, an EVO disc brake model with 700C tires. Rode that for about 1 year then transfered the hub drive and battery into a tadpole trike I built over one winter. 1000 km's were put on the DF bike and in the ensuing 2 years another 1500 plus km's on the trike. Since the trike is so comfortable I often go on 40 km rides with litttle to no rider fatigue. After 3 years the bionx will still go 100 km,s or 60 miles to a charge if I keep the assist low and of course pedal as well. And it is mostly flat land around here. And zero maintenance issues. The 2nd ebike is a KHS fat tire bike I installed a Bafang 1000 watt mid drive motor into. That bike now has 1600 plus km's on it. It gets ridden year round, with the qualifer that winter use is on groomed single track trails most of which are 7 km's in length and I ride these 2 times around at a minimum per use. I did make an insulated foam cover for the battery and if the temp drops below minus 10 C I will sometimes slip a chemical hand warmer into the cover. It also has had zero maintenance issues. For the record I am 65 and now retired. Also these bikes are NOT economical to buy, build or operate in the short term. The only way to bring operating costs down is to ride and pile on the mileage. They are cheap to charge up but since each cost $3000 roughly it takes awhile to realize a financial benefit. How ever the benefits of all the cycling is priceless.

gblendstrup
2 weeks ago

It has some cool features especially when connected to heart rate monitor, offers turn to turn navigation, gps map plus great analytics after your ride. However i found it still buggy, heart to pair with blue tooth second time around after stop start, mph to kmh conversion and frozen screens. Hope there will be soon an upgrade to fix these issues. Last release was early 2017.

Adam Kobis
1 year ago

I have a KTM e-bike Trek with Bionx driver. Overall I am very satisfied, but I have a small dilemma.
The battery charge indicator shows 90% of the time that it is 100% charged. It is only at the end that the rate drops sharply to 0%, even though the support is still full. What could be the cause, wrong indications and how to fix it?

dasyochannel
5 years ago

Good information but the reporter needed to stop trying to be funny/clever and let the information be shared. The lady had a hoarse voice and just wanted to share her product info. Be quieter next time.

TheEdge008
5 years ago

The other two things I don't like about it are the tiny throttle and the very large hub. [sigh] At least I can quickly pass by people without them noticing the hub.

TheEdge008
5 years ago

I have the 36v, 10A-h kit on my bike. The things I like about this kit are the 4 levels of Assist, 4 levels of Generative Braking, and silence of the motor. Motor silence is great! I ride by pedestrians and other riders without drawing attention to myself.

What I don't like about it is the unsprung weight makes for a ride that's not cushy. The whole thing is heavy and unbalanced too. Also, because it is a hub motor, the battery drains down faster on very hilly rides.