BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 2 27.5 Plus Review

Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Electric Bike Review
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Brose Mid Drive 90 Nm Torque Motor
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus High Capacity Downtube Battery
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Transflective Button Pad Ergonomic Grips
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Suntour Xcr 32 Air Fork
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Suntour Epixon Air Shock Rear
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus 20 Speed Shimano Deore Xt Drivetrain
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus 180 Mm Tektro Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Ebike Battery
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Electric Bike Review
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Brose Mid Drive 90 Nm Torque Motor
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus High Capacity Downtube Battery
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Transflective Button Pad Ergonomic Grips
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Suntour Xcr 32 Air Fork
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Suntour Epixon Air Shock Rear
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus 20 Speed Shimano Deore Xt Drivetrain
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus 180 Mm Tektro Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Ebike Battery

Summary

  • One of the cleanest looking full suspension cross country electric bikes I've reviewed, the battery and motor are built into the frame and match the matte black paint perfectly
  • Extra large battery capacity for longer rides, EnergyBus magnetic charging standard works on or off the bike and won't get bent or tip the bike over as easily if snagged
  • Uses the smallest plus sized tire standard 2.6" for precision and nimble handling but you still get improved traction and comfort, solid 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes
  • Compact transflective display stays out of the way and has a Micro-USB charging port built in, 20-speed drivetrain offers a wider range of cadence options, no dropper post

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

BULLS

Model:

E-Stream EVO FS 2 27.5 Plus

Price:

$4,099

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Motor and Battery, 5 Years Frame

Availability:

Europe, Canada, United States, Australia, New Zealand

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

55.1 lbs (24.99 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

6.61 lbs (2.99 kg)

Frame Material:

7005 Aluminium Alloy

Frame Sizes:

18.11 in (45.99 cm)20.07 in (50.97 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

31.5" Stand Over Height

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Gray and Neon Yellow Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCR-32 RLR Air 650+, Bronze Stanchions, Remote Lockout, 120 mm Travel, 110 mm Width (Boost), 15 mm Diameter Thru Axle with Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

SR Suntour Epixon-LO D, Air Shock with Rebound and Lockout Clickers, 120 mm Travel, 148 mm Width (Boost),12 mm Diameter Thru-Axle with Quick Release

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

20 Speed 2x10 Shimano Deore XT Shadow Plus (One Way Clutch), 11-36T, Shimano Deore Front Derailleur

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore XT Triggers on Left and Right

Cranks:

FSA Cranks 170 or 175 mm Length, 38T / 24T Chainrings

Pedals:

Wellgo Alloy Platform, Cage Style

Headset:

FSA Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2"

Stem:

Alloy, 7° Angle, (70 mm, 80 mm)

Handlebar:

Low Rise, 740 mm Length, 25 mm Rise, 9° Bend

Brake Details:

Tektro HD-M285 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Adjustable Reach, Two-Finger Levers

Grips:

Velo VLG-168283 Locking, Flat

Saddle:

Bulls Branded Selle Royal, Active

Seat Post:

Styx, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy, Doublewal, 32 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge Front 13 Gauge Rear, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Smart Sam, 27.5" x 2.6"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

Active Line K-Guard Puncture Protection

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Velo Battery Protector Pad

Other:

IP56 Ingress Rating, Boost Adds 10 mm to Hub Length in Font and 6 mm in the Rear, KMC X10E Chain, Formula Hubs

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Brose

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

530 watts

Motor Torque:

90 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

BMZ

Battery Voltage:

37 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

17.5 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

647.5 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Estimated Max Range:

130 miles (209 km)

Display Type:

BULLS CSI, Fixed, Backlit Transflective LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Battery Level (5 Bars), Assist Level (None, Eco, Tour, Sport)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Base of Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Rear Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence, Pedal Torque)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Bulls offers an extensive line of electric mountain bikes and the E-Stream EVO FS 2 27.5 Plus is their cross country model with 120 mm air suspension from SR Suntour. Actually, to me this is something of a cross country / trail hybrid because I’m used to seeing 80 to 100 mm travel for pure cross country. The longer travel and larger Plus sized tires offer a bit more comfort but you lose some efficiency. Given that it’s an e-bike, that’s not a huge deal… and the battery capacity on offer is impressive. This is an efficient electric bike in part because it uses a high-end mid-drive motor but also because you get remote lockout for the fork and a clicker lockout for for the rear. The linkage driven single pivot suspension design keeps cost low because it’s not proprietary and it provides space for a water bottle cage or accessory to mount on top of the downtube. Bulls is one of the few electric bike makers to provide this sort of provision and I love it. There are even holes on the left chainstay for adding a kickstand if you wanted! At just over $4k, this is one of the more affordable name brand, premium motor and battery, full suspension electric bikes I have tested. Many competing offerings are in the $4.5+ or $5k+ range and they don’t look as good. It’s available in two frame sizes so you can dial in fit and the color matching extends to both suspension elements and the saddle. Some unique accessories include the locking ergonomic grips, compact transflective control panel (with Micro-USB charging port for phones etc.), and magnetic EnergyBus charging connector. I love that you can charge the battery on or off the bike but have some grips about how it fits onto the frame. Overall, it’s an easy ebike to appreciate, one that’s relatively quiet but plenty powerful.

Powering the Bulls E-Stream EVO FS 2 is a compact, smooth, geared center-motor. Brose makes this unit and I’m always impressed with how well it fits onto a bike frame, it nearly fades away! The black casing matches the matte black frame on the E-Stream Evo perfectly and the two-chainring setup almost completely conceals it from the right. This is one of the blurry areas of the bike to me because you’d think that more gears are better right? But on an electric bike, especially one that offers 90 Newton meters of peak torque output and three modes of power… one that responds as quickly as the Brose does, do you really need so many pedal cadence options? Yes, this is a cross country electric bike which means that it’s designed to be pedaled more and possibly go further than a downhill bike. The gears let you interact more directly with the bike and use human power to move those 55 lbs of weight. But perhaps it would weigh less and require less maintenance with a 1×11 setup? The Brose motor is smart and fast but it doesn’t offer shift detection. That’s up to you to as a rider, definitely ease off as you shift in order to let the motor ease back as well. I do appreciate the higher end Shimano Deore XT rear derailleur with Shadow Plus one-way clutch. This little grey clutch lever lets you tighten the chain to reduce bounce on bumpy terrain. But the bike also has a slap guard to help, and the front derailleur clears debris and acts as a chain guide. This motor is quiet when it is new but I have heard some other models that had a sandy sound, just a bit rougher, and perhaps that’s due to heavy riding at demo events? There’s a carbon / rubber belt inside, much like you’d find in a car engine like a timing belt, and it’s durable but also smoother than gear-on-gear designs like Bosch which produce more of a humming noise.

Powering the bike, an efficient little display panel, and the Micro-USB charging port built into the base of said panel is a 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack that I would describe as “very large” in terms of capacity. Most other batteries, like the Bosch Powerpack 500 only offer ~500 watt hours but you get 647.5 watt hours here! That’s a lot of juice and it means you can ride further or climb longer… but also more weight. About 1.5 lbs additional weight in fact. Add to that, the second derailleur and chainring and you can see why the bike is slightly heavier than competing models. I should be fair here though, this is a more application specific ebike, I don’t know of many other cross country models, very few have more than 11 gears, so in many ways the weight is just fine or even pretty good. This battery contains long lasting Lithium-ion cells, it’s protected by a foam sticker along the bottom, and the downtube mostly hides it from the sides. I like how it looks but feel that taking it off is a bit more difficult and precarious. There isn’t a clear handle to grab and since you pull down vs. lifting up, it seems easier to drop. Unlocking the pack is a two-step process where you insert a key and then pull a spring latch before the pack sort of drops down and then you pull it the rest of the way. When you put it back on the bike, you can click it in without locking it with the key. I feel like Bulls should have a spring lock so you always have to use the key to get it off the bike. It would be a bummer to forget to lock it and have someone steal the pack or accidentally bump the lever and drop the pack out the bottom. I also feel that the locking core is positioned dangerously close to the left crank arm and that the little rubber flap which covers the charging port (when the battery is mounted to the frame) does not seat easily or as tightly as most competing products. Who wants water, dust, or mud to get in there? I would probably leave the battery in the bike most of the time and just store the entire thing inside for safe keeping. The magnetic charging cord would be connected regularly and I love how easy it is to connect vs. pushing in or trying to line up, and if it gets tripped over there’s a lot less that can go wrong.

Operating the bike is very straightforward. You don’t have to press the power button on the battery to get it started like you used to. Now, that power button is more of an LED power indicator readout. To get the main display switched on, just press the little button along the top of the button pad (located near the left grip) and it bursts to life. Your current speed, battery charge level, and assist level are shown… and that’s it. You don’t get the additional stats like trip distance, average speed, max speed, or range estimate, but it also takes up less space. The display uses a transflective readout that looks great in harsh sunlight and even though it’s a bit further to reach with your left thumb, it’s intuitive to use. Just click up or down to increase or decrease power. You can feel it click, thank goodness, because the assist level indicator graphic is tiny. Four boxes communicate off, level 1, 2, or 3. I tested walk mode for the video review and noted that it works well but depends on the gear you choose to alter the walk speed. If you’re in a low gear, as I was, then walk mode is going to be very slow. The display panel is a great compromise in a world with lots of bulky, overdone, glaring screens… but it is not removable. I’ve already mentioned the Micro-USB charging port but it’s an awesome feature worth describing a bit more. A rubber cover (that seats well) keeps it clean and the port is situated just below the main button pad, if you plugged a smartphone or Garmin GPS device in, you could tap into that massive battery for longer use. Even a headlight or something fun like external speakers would work. I dislike wearing headphones while cycling because it’s dangerous to your surroundings (not hearing animals, cars, or other riders) and the sound of wind really disrupt the tunes. I don’t want to wreck the peace and tranquility for other riders but an electronic bell / speaker product like this could be a good way to get some tunes going safely when you’re riding alone.

I had a blast riding this bike on some access road terrain in Southern California and can easily overlook some of the inconveniences around the battery for how great it looks. Weight is well distributed and even though the Tektro brakes strike me as mid-level, the drivetrain is great. I’m used to seeing round flat grips vs. ergonomic but these were locking and rather thin so I think they would work well and provide a comfort boost on longer cross country rides. It’s neat to see an application specific electric bike here and the 27.5″ x 2.6″ tires performed great. They offered precision and quickness with a dash of comfort and traction. Thru-axles with quick release mean easy trail maintenance and transport. The solid 2+ year warranty, two frame size options, and extensive dealer network makes it easy to find, buy, and enjoy. Big thanks to Bulls for partnering with me on this review, meeting me on the trails, and allowing for some back to back rides. I got to compare different models and get a sense for how one geometry and hardware setup was different than the next. Please note that the suspension was not sagged for me and rode a little stiffer than it should have (especially the rear). This is the kind of setup that a shop could help you get right but I often have limited time and they set bikes up for heavier riders at demo events (I weigh 135 lbs).

Pros:

  • The bike looks amazing, both the motor and battery are well hidden in the frame and blend perfectly with the matte black paint
  • You can ride cross country or trail with this bike, the 120 mm travel is versatile and highly adjustable here, both shocks are air so they keep weight down and can be sagged to fit your body weight more precisely
  • This is one of the very few mid-drive electric bikes with a high-end motor and more than 11 gears, you get a front and rear derailleur with a total of 20 gear combinations, this fits the cross country climbing and trail scenarios well
  • Sturdy thru-axles on the front and rear wheels improve stiffness and support longer Boost hubs, the 2.6″ tires are at the low end of Plus size (2.6″, 2.8″, and 3.0″) so you save weight and get precision along with some float and bump deflection, another great choice for cross country and trail
  • Available through a wide network of dealers so you can get help setting it up and keeping it running right, Bulls offers a solid 2 year comprehensive 5 year frame warranty on their products
  • Two frame sizes allow you to find a proper fit and the $4.1k price point is pretty good for a full suspension model with mainstream drivetrain in my opinion
  • The Brose motor is exceedingly quiet and smooth, it uses a Carbon belt drive to transition power internally and that dampens vibration
  • Quick wheels and seat tube as well as a removable battery let you reduce weight and size for transport, I always take the battery off when hanging bikes on car racks and usually take at least one wheel off when putting it in the back of a station wagon
  • I appreciate the color-matched suspension fork, rear shock, and saddle, I also like that you can mount a bottle cage on the downtube where the plastic battery casing extends up
  • The Shimano Deore XT derailleur is pretty high up on the Shimano groupset offering and I like that it comes with Shadow Plus clutch here so you can tighten the chain for bumpy terrain (just push the grey lever up and towards the back of the bike to enable it)
  • Powerful 180 mm Tektro hydraulic disc brakes perform well and keep weight down with a dual-piston setup on each caliper, the ergonomic grips lock in place and felt good, I also appreciate the threaded wire connectors (for strength and keeping water out)
  • I like that the suspension fork has a remote lockout, there are provisions for mounting a kickstand on the left chainstay, you can turn the bike on directly from the button pad now vs. pressing the battery first, and the battery charging port cover fit a bit better than some of the other Bulls e-bikes I’ve tested
  • The small transflective display panel stays out of the way and reduces clutter on the handle bars (especially important when you have two sets of shifters for the two derailleurs) and it even has a Micro-USB charging port built in to fill your phone or other portable electronic device
  • Walk mode actually works on this electric bike, which is great considering that it’s ~55 lbs, just make sure you’re in one of the three levels of assist first and then hold the walk button, changing gears will make the bike walk faster or slower
  • The Brose motor is incredibly quiet and responsive, it uses standard sized chainrings and just works well… at least the brand new ones do, I have heard some demo models with louder motors that might have been pushed harder? I owned one for over a year myself however and it stayed quiet

Cons:

  • The suspension design appears to be Linkage Driven Single Pivot which is an open design (costing less than a licensed proprietary design) which does produce some braking feedback and isn’t as efficient for pedaling… although that’s less of an issue on an ebike, the rear shock does have lockout so that helps a lot, you may still experience some kickback when pedaling over fast bumps
  • The bike’s a little heavy at ~55 lbs but that’s partially due to the high-capacity battery pack which weighs 7 lbs vs. 5.5 lbs on competing standard battery models and the Boost setup with larger tires
  • Offering 90 Newton meters of torque, the Brose mid-drive is incredibly powerful for climbing but it doesn’t offer shift detection like Bosch, considering the dual-derailleur setup here, that could put more strain on the drivetrain and require more maintenance… at least it measures pedal torque so you can back off a bit as you shift to keep it smooth
  • The locking core for the battery is very near the left crank arm, along with the charging port… it’s all a bit crowded and I wish the charging port cover seated more securely, at least the charging plug is magnetic so it can get popped out without causing damage if someone trips over the cord
  • I love how the battery looks and appreciate the foam sticker underneath to prevent chips and scrapes but struggled to get the pack on and off since it seats up into the frame vs. down from the top, it’s not something you want to drop and it doesn’t have any handles or good gripping points like some other packs
  • I’m getting pretty used to dropper seat posts on full suspension e-bikes but I guess in the cross country world, you don’t need it as much? Still, with 120 mm travel vs. 80 to 100 I could see trail riding with this and think a dropper could be worth having, consider the 30.9 mm Magura Vyron wireless dropper post for easy install and swapping between ebikes
  • I like how simple the display is and feel that it shows the most important menus such as speed, battery capacity, and assist level… but it doesn’t show range, odometer, trip distance, clock, or any other useful stats like the larger displays do

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More BULLS Reviews

BULLS Cross E Review

  • MSRP: $2,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Well priced considering the quality Bosch-made electric drive system, four frame size choices, and three frame styles (high, mid, and low-step). Integrated LED lights and premium Continental tires with reflective sidewall stripes help to keep you…...

BULLS SIX50 E 1.5 Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A hardtail trail ready e-bike with comfortable plus sized tires and a spring suspension fork (with lockout), sturdy tapered head tube, rigid thru-axles, and Boost. Capable as a commuting platform if you prefer a mountain bike vs. hybrid or city…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Step-Thru Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An active, sporty looking, commuter style electric bike with low standover height, available in three frame sizes to improve fit and comfort. High-end drivetrain and motor systems, you get eleven gears with a tough mountain bike level…...

BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An all-mountain electric bike with plus sized tires for improved stability, traction and comfort, 150 mm air suspension with compression and rebound adjust. Battery and motor mount design are tighter than older Bosch systems, weight is kept low…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high quality full suspension e-mountain bike that's also a speed pedelec (capable of 28 mph top speeds), solid hydraulic disc brakes, wide thru-axles with Boost Technology. Adjustable 150 mm RockShox suspension front and rear, four-bar rear swing arm to reduce brake…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 3 Carbon 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A Carbon fiber electric cross country mountain bike with premium components and ultra-integrated motor and battery system, excellent weight distribution. The Brose motor is quiet and responsive offering up to 90 Nm of torque output,…...

BULLS DAIL-E Grinder Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the first Gravel Grinder style electric bikes to make it to America! Made with premium components, high performance lights and a purpose built frame in three sizes. Capable of high speed 28 mph performance, the Bosch centerdrive motor measures bike speed, pedal…...

BULLS SIX50 E2 Street Review

  • MSRP: $3,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A fully equipped speed commuter capable of 28 mph operation, running on the proven Bosch Performance mid-drive motor and updated 500 watt hour Samsung battery. Extra large 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes offer smooth solid stops without requiring exorbitant hand…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A versatile urban electric bike well suited to commuting, touring and trekking because of its efficient mid-drive motor and larger than average battery capacity, durable internal gearing and belt drive. Available in five frame sizes and three frame styles including wave, mid-step and high-step diamond…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A stealthy full suspension all-mountain electric bike with longer travel 150 mm suspension, fully adjustable air fork by RockShox, color matched to frame. Larger 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack to assist with steeper climbs and longer…...

BULLS Monster E FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Full suspension fat bike with a high quality mid-drive motor from Bosch and their updated 500 watt hour battery pack for extended range. Cool fluorescent paint job that extends all the way through the fork, rear shock housing,…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Available in four frame sizes, two styles (high-step and mid-step) with an adjustable stem, active-comfort saddle and ergonomic grips, this bike can fit well and feel good at speed and over long distances. Capable of 28 mph top speeds, this is a Class 3 electric bike with an…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all-mountain electric bike with beautifully integrated battery, motor and display... it blends in more than most other e-mountain bikes I've tested and runs quiet. Sturdy 15 mm thru axle in the front and 12 mm axle in the rear…...

BULLS SIX50 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A loaded full suspension mountain bike with premium electric drivetrain from Bosch offering 75 Nm of climbing torque with the CX motor and a 400 watt hour Samsung battery. RockShox air suspension with 120 mm travel front and rear for solid trail or all…...

BULLS Monster E S Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Premium hardtail electric fat bike with all the fixins, highlights include rear rack bosses, tubeless-ready tires and punched out rims, RockShox air fork with remote lockout and high torque Bosch CX motor. Quality 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano for excellent stopping power and modulation, impressive…...

BULLS Outlaw E45 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty looking, fairly comfortable speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speeds, it's running on an optimized geared hub motor design with heat pipe technology for maximum performance. Unique mid-mount battery box fills the main frame triangle keeping weight low and centered while…...

BULLS Sturmvogel E EVO Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautifully designed urban electric bike painted white for visibility and modern appeal, white walled tires, reflective sidewall stripes, LED lights. Extra sturdy and durable thanks to a 15 mm thru-axle on the front wheel (with…...

BULLS TWENTY9 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension, Bosch powered, cross country style electric bike with efficient 29" wheels, it's available in three sizes for good fit and would feel taller and larger for riders with long legs but still fits some shorter riders given the angled top tube. Quick release for both wheels ads convenience for fixes and transporting the bike, I love…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fully loaded urban electric bicycle with great accessories for commuting including an aluminum rear rack, full length fenders with mud flaps and integrated LED lights. Relatively light weight at under 50 lbs, this is due in part to the nicer…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS Enduro 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $5,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An enduro style full suspension electric mountain bike with longer 160 mm suspension travel, seat post dropper, 27.5" wheelset and premium hydraulic brakes. Downtube-integrated battery pack is out of sight and keeps weight low and centered across the…...


Bob
2 months ago

Hey! Looking to buy a bike to commute to work/trail fun and was wondering if this would be a good option or should I just stick with the Haibike urban plus 2017 I dont see the review for that bike on here just yet to I am hesitant on buying that one. This bike does look like a great bike and I like the design of it. Just want to make sure it would be a good option for commuting to work 20 miles roundtrip every day. Thanks for your hard work!

Reply
Court Rye
2 months ago

Hi Bob! Sorry for the delayed reply here. Have you already chosen an e-bike? I love the full suspension setup of this and other bikes because it offers great comfort and allows for some trail and mountain riding between commuting. Adding a rack for transporting gear to and from work won’t be as easy since it’s not a hardtail but wearing a backpack would work fine. Haibike makes awesome electric bikes but the Urban Plus is way different from the Bulls E-Stream EVO, it has no suspension so it will be more efficient but probably less comfortable. Both of these electric bikes should have no problem with your 20 mile round trip commute and both have removable batteries so you could charge half way if necessary (though I think you’d be fine doing the whole trip on a single charge).

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Rudder
2 days ago

I'm using a Felt Massload CL-KA89 kickstand on my Bulls E-Stream Evo FS 3 27.5 Plus.
I think it's made to fit on Felt Lebowske or Outfitter bikes. ($24)
It requires the 2 threaded mounting points built into the frame just forward of rear axle.
http://www.feltb2b.com/kickstand-massload-lebowske-cl-ka89-outfitter-9000265

Rudder
2 days ago

I have a 49 cm frame and want to add a Dropper Seat Post Which ones fit easily, works well, and lasts a long time? My comfortable seat rail height is 195 mm above the bottom of the seat post clamp. I pushed the seat post down the seat tube and it bottoms out after accepting 238mm of it.
Has anyone installed one?

Steve Pierce
3 days ago

Just received a new 2016 Bulls 27.5 ebike from SanDiegoFlyRides last Friday. Shipping only took a week and the bike arrived with just very minor damage. Front disk rotor was slightly bent and a couple of small dings to the paint job but overall in good shape. Thanks for the fast delivery.
The bike looks to be of very high quality. I weigh about 265 and was concerned with the suspension holding enough air pressure. Had to pump up the rear RockShox to 300 psi to get the right amount of sag. Seems to be holding the pressure. The ride is very plush. The drive system will get you to 20mph in a hurry. I have to get used to that because I ended up flying down a tight trail way too fast. 20mph through trees and winding trails is pretty intimidating. The battery is huge and well hidden in the frame. After riding for 2 hours, the battery indicator had only dropped one bar.
I am very please with this bike overall. It feels and looks like a serious mountain bike.
Very good price drop on the 2016 models also.

Steve

Over50
6 days ago

I just stumbled upon the new reise and muller supercharger. It seem to have the distance I am looking for with the new dual battery setup built into the frame for the main stream look. Just wandering about the Gates belt drive setup and its reliability...Anyone list some pros and cons on any of these setups. Also the supercharger already comes with fox front suspension forks.
I'm a big fan of the belt drive. I have it on the Charger and on my human powered bike (Spot bike with Shimano Alfine hub). So far they have been very reliable and it eliminates a lot of maintenance. What I'm becoming less of a fan of is the Nuvinci hub that comes with the belt drive bikes for R&M. At least in my case, the Nuvinci leaves me wanting a bit more gear range. While it is simple to use and so far reliable, if I were making my purchase decision again I might reconsider the Nuvinci version and select the chain driven Shimano 11 speed (Rohloff would be overkill for my flat terrain use). I kinda wish R&M would offer a belt drive version with the Shimano Alfine 11 speed IGH. Seems like that would be a good option for someone like me who prefers an IGH paired with a carbon belt but who really doesn't care for the Nuvinci.

RookieCommuter
6 days ago

I just stumbled upon the new reise and muller supercharger. It seem to have the distance I am looking for with the new dual battery setup built into the frame for the main stream look. Just wandering about the Gates belt drive setup and its reliability. The down side is it doesn't come out till December. The plus side is the price compared to the st2. Also with the St5 coming out theres a lot to think over. Anyone list some pros and cons on any of these setups. Also the supercharger already comes with fox front suspension forks.

Fran Fabrizio
1 week ago

I think it's pretty apparent at this point that they did not expect to sell out the entire first container as pre-orders. All the language they had on their site during the pre-order period and all that has happened since points to this. They said that all pre-orders would arrive late August and ship soon thereafter, and that all pre-orders would have the upgraded brakes. Clearly they were expecting that pre-orders would only be a fraction of that first shipment. Oops. Growing pains. Will be interesting to see if the company learns from this, which will be shown both in how they handle rollouts of future generations of bikes but also in how they treat those of us who do not have our bikes yet and feel excluded from the brake upgrade that was described.

There's some business 101 going on here. They have a product and price point that has generated high demand and currently has little competition in the market. This is why we're all willing to put up with the headaches - because we want the bike we've decided is the right bike for us and there's nowhere else to go get it at this price. So that's opened an opportunity where a company can currently do things like work connections in China and do some thoughtful design and sourcing of parts and put together a compelling bike package that seriously undercuts the competitor's pricing and entices people to pre-order and be early adopters. That gap will close, it always does - e-bikes will continue to get more popular, tech will get better, part prices will come down as manufacturing increases, and that market opportunity will be harder and harder to exploit. Of course there are companies right now looking at the CrossCurrent S and figuring out how can I assemble that cheaper or build a better bike for the same price? They'll eventually figure it out, then Juiced will need to either have to find a different, less mature segment of the market to attack, or find other ways to differentiate themselves.

This is where good customer service now could pay dividends later. As consumers that's what would make us loyal repeat buyers. On the other hand, it could be a perfectly valid business plan to decide that generating repeat buyers is not a priority and that they're always going to look to ride that wave of bringing the first truly affordable well-spec'ed bikes to different segments of the e-bike market, or some other market altogether, such that they aren't competing with many other products in the marketplace and therefore they will continue to have a customer stream. As a company, they have limited resources and although of course most companies want to do well in all aspects of their business, these niche companies in immature markets rarely have the resources and experience to pull it all off, so they play to their strengths (which in Juiced's case is clearly on the design side). As consumers, we of course want it all - great designs at a great price with great customer service sooner than everyone else. There are very few companies who figure out how to do that well consistently while in immature markets. Once things become more commodity it's relatively easier to do that, and you see lots of market consolidation at that point. There are way too many small e-bike companies right now - the marketplace will work itself out and it will be interesting to observe how that plays out over the next several years.

RookieCommuter
2 weeks ago

Hello everyone. New to ebikes/bikes in general other then having them as a kid. I have done a lot of research and looking at several different brands. The two in particular is the optibike pioneer carbon and stromer st2. So lets start by my specs and purpose for the bike. I am a 5'5 male 160 lbs. Not very active due to the busyness of life. I live in Atlanta and due to the new beltline being built and traffic in the city I really want to "ditch" the car as much as possible and commute by bike. Using the bike as my main transportation.

With that being said most of my biking will be within 24-30 miles max round trip of my house. With that being said I don't want to be limited as I get in better shape with going further. Also we have hot summers and not looking to be soaked in sweat when I get where I am going (work, grocery store, out on town, etc).

I want maximum range, comfort, handling, exceptional quality built. So I have come down the stromer st2 and optibike. Heres the aftermarket parts I am looking to pair with the bike to achieve desired outcome. The Kinekt seat posts and fox suspensions forks. From what I have read these upgrades will make a world of difference. What I like most about the pioneer carbon is the weight, thumb throttle, and I can buy a extra battery to achieve the same max distance as the st2. The biggest pro about the stromer is the reputation they seem to have as being the best built bike on the market.

Open to other brands also but really like that both of these have a appearance of just a beefier main stream bike. Lets hear some opinions. I am here to learn.

Kathy Smith
2 weeks ago

OK. We all have our riding styles. My wife never shifts hears either althoughshe learned to drive on a 4 speed Ford. A hub motor may fit you better, and my thinking is a geared unit is good for non-shifting. However, the small wheel on a 20" is like a lower gear too. Limits top speed, but easier for starts and hills.

The US laws, such as they are, and restrictive Euro policy on throttles have made it difficult for main stream bike makers to build models that can be sold in either market, so we do see more throttle-less ebikes here.

If you remove the battery on some of the heavier bikes, they might meet your weight limits for carrying upstairs. Keep looking.
Yes, I'll keep looking...

harryS
2 weeks ago

OK. We all have our riding styles. My wife never shifts hears either althoughshe learned to drive on a 4 speed Ford. A hub motor may fit you better, and my thinking is a geared unit is good for non-shifting. However, the small wheel on a 20" is like a lower gear too. Limits top speed, but easier for starts and hills.

The US laws, such as they are, and restrictive Euro policy on throttles have made it difficult for main stream bike makers to build models that can be sold in either market, so we do see more throttle-less ebikes here.

If you remove the battery on some of the heavier bikes, they might meet your weight limits for carrying upstairs. Keep looking.

Camac
3 weeks ago

I don't think the battery level has much to do with it. I've had my E-stream EVO/FS 3 29 for 8 months now and during that time I have only once used more than 20% of the battery capacity. Rides have been generally 25km with some up to 40k. Since the upgrade to the latest software and controller 2 months ago which gave another 4 levels of power I have had power to the motor cut out on 5 or 6 occasions. These occasions have been when I'm using full power, high cadence, and climbing hills. The power to the motor has cut out but the motor has stayed connected to the drive so I'm pedaling against the drive too. The agent is 2 hours away so it will be a week or so before I get down to see him.

MarkH
4 weeks ago

hi,
I am looking for someone who uses an e-bike off road. I currently own a Cannondale electric bike ( Cannondale Kinneto ) and I am really happy with it. I only use it on road.
But now I am thinking about starting ride off road. But I am not sure about my current one off road. If anybody is riding off road with an e-bike please help. If this bie can't handle off road suggest some bikes that can(I will need it to take on the road too. Since if I buy a new one I will be selling the current.).

I have a Felt Outfitter, which I use both on the road and on trails. It has taken everything I have thrown at it,including muddy singletrack, stream fordings, and riding on soft sand at the beach. With the assist, I am also able to use it in place of my road bike. I am not sure how it would handle extreme downhilling, as it is not suspended, but with its fat tires, it may. My technical riding ability will have to improve before I try it.

SuperGoop
4 weeks ago

@tinotino This is the pannier I bought. I picked it up from a local Sportchek store.

http://www.cheap-bicycles-online.com/louis-garneau-beta-stream-pannier

Denis Shelston
1 month ago

By Michael Skopes. August 2017
With permission

A 2017 E-Bike Adventure

One day, not so long ago, I opened a door to enter an area where I am employed. I was hit, full on, with the fact that I no longer have any passion for what it is I do there. My days there are only a passing of time spent wondering about other things more important to me; my family, my home,...me, and other more fun activities.

At the same time, I appreciate the compensation that my job affords me - money and health care benefits. You know, all that boring stuff like an IRA, 401k, and such. But, all that, is for the most part, pleasureless. The most pleasing aspect of that crap is the toys I can buy to make my life more FUN.

The following sentence involves a subject, which to me, borders on the surreal. Retirement...is...just...around...the...corner. Hell, retirement is something old people do. I don't qualify as an old person. At least, not in my mind, I don't.

I don't know how my twenties turned into my sixties so quickly. My brain, my heart, and my soul, all tell me it's time for another game of 500 in the park, or a few high dives off of top board at my hometown swimming pool. But, uh oh...the deep end no longer has those old diving boards! In fact, the entire pool has been completely re-built and almost unrecognizable. And, unfortunately, what my body tells me about physical activity is not quite the same as what my brain, heart, and soul communicate.

Go for a long endorphin filled cross country type run? Uh uh. Don't even think about it. My lower back and knees won't take the pounding. Damn, I loved running so much. Extend my body airborne for that long pass at the goal line like I once often did? Not a good idea. Hitting the green grass wearing pads at one time was exhilarating, not debilitating. Hey, how about attacking a radical mogul course on freshly fallen snow? Get real fella! Not anymore. Oh, the knees, the hips, the lower back. Skiing became my all time favorite winter activity while in my mid to late twenties.

Get this, though. Physical exertion is far from a thing of my youthful past. Hooray for the bicycle! Hip hip hooray for the electric bicycle! I'll get to the e-bike in just a minute. Allow me to back track for a moment.

One of my very first loves, as a young boy, was learning how to ride a bicycle. And, after mastering that marvelous activity, the extended range that became my daily excitement, grew longer and longer. Soon, I disappeared from my parents' view for hours at a time as I biked with my pals from one end of town to the other. Minutes, hours, and miles meant nothing to us. We had trusty mechanical steeds whose rolling wheels seemed capable of endless, small town, summer time adventures. If we weren't kicking up dust, pebbles, and basic dirt while racing around Chapin Park's baseball field, we were busy slamming on our brakes while screaming down swimming pool hill.

That excellent downhill activity, of melting bicycle tire rubber, left twenty foot long black streaks on the blacktop. Bald tires? We never cared. That was part of the deal. And when those rubber burning slides ended, we just might opt to take a little detour out to the long abandoned strip mines. Out there, on the outskirts of town, the giant coal digging machines of old left us with huge mounds of gray/white earth. Over time, outstanding trails developed throughout those sometimes treacherous hills which were intertwined with deep, blue pools of water that stretched for hundreds of feet. Riding those paths brought many a boy, and a few girls, to the point of total exhaustion, and in some cases...broken frames and fractured bones.

Yes, my childhood relationship with my Monark bicycle was a love affair. Many of my friends had that same love affair. Several of us participated in the annual Corn Festival bicycle parade. We decorated our bikes with crepe paper, flags and banners. Some kids wore costumes. I donned a Marlon Brando type motorcycle cap - the tough guy look like from his fifties movie, "The Wild One".

But that love affair broke my heart when some criminal stole my beloved Monark. Sadness became my middle name. Consolation on the part of my mother didn't even help. And I adored my mother, and how she did so much for me and my two sisters. My father offered a matter of fact response to my long face with a few well chosen words and a simple pat on my shoulder. All that did little to mend my deep psychological wound. But Dad had a quiet way about him that endeared me to him just as much as Mom.

In time, a replacement two-wheeler appeared. That tale is one whose details I won't divulge in this story. I would rather keep that for anyone interested in reading my book "My Little Skinny Greek Life: On Liberty Street". Find it on Amazon. I don't want to spoil that story here. What I will go into here, is the flash forward to today.

FLASH!

For years, various physical problems have kept me from fully enjoying the activity that I had loved for so much of my life. Before losing the ability to travel by bicycle, I had the pleasure of making two long road trips. The first, at age twenty nine and turning thirty, went on for 1500 miles from California to Illinois.

Some of the information written in an unsolicited newspaper article about that tour - going all the way to Maine, down to Florida, and back to California - never happened. Those plans had to be changed for several reasons. I actually can't recall the primary reason. It may have been that being a touring novice, I bit off more than I could pedal.

I have read, in my current research, that the number one reason for many new bike touring enthusiasts cutting their tours short is because of unrealistic goals. Their mental and physical preparations couldn't match up with their lofty plans. Really. Just imagine coming up with the idea of riding a heavily outfitted bicycle for 7,000 miles without ever having done any touring at all prior to that. Hmm...you see what I mean? However, I did go over 1,500 miles on my Centurion two wheeler.

My second major distance bicycle adventure took me from Monterey, California south to Los Angeles and specifically, Northridge to attend a Super Bowl party. However, I only managed to put in about 155 miles because I strained my knee and had to grab a bus for part of the remaining distance.

So, as I mentioned above, hip hip hooray for the electric bike. Because now, I am so happy to say that I have returned to the joyful activity of riding a long distance tour by bicycle. I am in the middle of one as I write this story. It is forty miles this time. Nowhere near 1,500...yet.

This time, so many calendar years later and with bike technology that is light years ahead of 1982, I now ride a RadRover from Rad Power Bikes, out of Seattle, Washington. They have created a beauty that comes in two colors; black or white. I chose black. It is an electrically powered fat bike which I have modified to fit my practical and esthetic needs.

It is known as a fat bike partly because it has four inch wide knobby, fat, tires. It is, in essence, a mountain bike which is very capable as a road bike at the same time. The 750 watt motor and the 48 volt battery can take me up to 25 miles with my leg power added. With a second battery stowed away in my Burley Nomad trailer, my distance doubles. When that runs out, I hopefully am already camped or in a hotel where I can re-charge for the next day of travel.

My interest in bicycle touring was recently re-kindled by stumbling upon a few videos on YouTube. Seeing the various examples of which panniers to purchase, how and what to pack in them, brought back memories of my past pannier preparations. There is a certain excitement related to the process of deciding upon what to buy, where, and how much to spend. So, familiar tour preparation became a big part of my daily thoughts. This was particularly true while at my personally unsatisfying job.

Every day, while at work, my mind wandered away from vocational duties to adventurous daydreams. I couldn't help it. Every day, as I commuted to and from work, all I could think about was bike touring. Could I even physically do it anymore? I would soon find out.

Suffering through the slow stop and go crawl of heavy rush hour traffic turned into something completely different. My mind turned off the disgust associated with this daily grind and welcomed the fantasies I conjured up instead. Rather than mutter under my breath my roadway discontent with hundreds of other cars and trucks that surrounded me, I was smiling internally at the prospect of my next, long awaited, two wheeled adventure. Hot damn!

Well, the days passed by. Each night after work I would stitch together more and more ideas that percolated in my mind in the hopes of making my fantasy adventure come true. I pulled down my old Centurion Super Le Mans twelve speed that had been hanging in the garage for years and started the process of giving it new life. Yes, the very same bike that took me to Illinois from California thirty five years ago. It needed new tubes and tires for sure, and a good amount of service all totaling $240. That figure was just under what I paid for the bike new from Joslyn's Bike Shop in Monterey thirty seven years earlier. Ouch.

After that, an expense that ultimately turned out to be an unnecessary one, I rode it around my neighborhood for about a mile with no bags other than the old handlebar bag. It felt very familiar and good. The next day, I added the matching rear Eclipse panniers I had stored away from those past tours. I partially filled them with a few items to ease into a touring weight. I rode for three miles. That was not bad, but I did feel the difference and the need to get into better shape if a real extended tour were to take place. By the way, I tried desperately to figure out a way to once again use those great old blue bags on my Rover. I couldn't quite get their proprietary configuration to conform to my new ride satisfactorily, so I had to let them go back into storage after the third and final test run coming up. Bummer!

The following day, for that final test run, I went out for six miles. This time I had to walk up a few hills and also stop for a good rest or two along the way. It occurred to me, that there was no way I could realistically take this sentimental bike for a long tour ever again. My hopes faded. The idea of embarking on another tour adventure looked pretty much impossible. Then, I stumbled upon the e-bike world and everything changed.

I discovered a video, among many others, that was created by a young man named Adamm Jarvis. He produced an interesting review of the RadRover. It can be found on YouTube easily enough. I watched it a couple of times and thought the Rover was worth a better look, so I went to the Rad web site to learn more. I was impressed with the company and its young founders. Still, I needed to look around for other choices, which I did, just to be sure I was satisfied with my research.

I kept going back to Rad. I spoke with them on the phone a few times, telling them my plans and they thought the Rover would work best for my touring idea. I saw more reviews - EBR, Electric Bike Review, was another good one.

I returned to Adamm's video. There was something about it that spoke to me. It had an easy going vocal delivery by Adamm himself, music, and good production value. Along with the bike itself, featured in the video, that twenty something minute video helped me make up my mind. The Rover is what I wanted.

It is now June, 30th 2017. Today, I have pedaled my Rover twenty miles to the Sycamore Campground at the beach near Malibu, CA. Roughly ten miles on roads and streets, and ten miles on the great trail from inland to the beach. I am the only person in the hike and bike area. My campsite begins to take shape.

This may only be a shorter overnight adventure, but boy, am I ever loving it. The ride was wonderful - not hot at all, but perfect. I took this trail part way three other times. Having taken this trail now for the fourth time, and adding the camp out element to it, I am filled with a sense of adventure. I've longed for this touring/camping feeling. This short bike tour brings back all the experiences that my other longer tours gave me - scenery, fresh air, camping, exercising by bike, saying hello to new people as they go about their camping fun. The little kids on their bikes smile as they ride past me among the camp sites. I think one of those smiling little ones was the same one who woke up early the next morning and would not stop screaming. Seriously, for well over an hour, I struggled with those screams and the incessant small dog barking that complimented the shrieking. So much for a peaceful way to wake up with the great outdoors.

My penthouse suite tent is roomy and functional, but it isn't sound proof. It has enough room to hold my Rover and trailer all secured, dry and safe without a need to lock it up. I think it is fine with me right beside it. Even so, ever since my first bike was stolen so many years ago, I have never forgotten the hollow feeling of having lost such a treasured possession to some cold hearted thief. However, in my actual garage at home, my Rover is kept securely locked.

I kid around when asked about the space inside my voluminous tent.
"I have a garage, a bedroom, kitchen, and bathroom."
When people hear me say that, they often chuckle. It's true. I really make good use of the giant tent...I create a garage, a bedroom, a kitchen, and a bathroom within the nylon walls.

Many a campground will have a tendency to gross me out when it comes to the bathroom facilities. I decided to take my self contained idea to new heights by incorporating the survivalist style bathroom. I have a sliced section of a pool noodle circling the rim of a small bucket lined with a plastic waste bag, a hospital urinal, a hospital wash basin (I've spent a few days in hospital care recently), plenty of t. p., small trash bags, wet wipes, wash cloths, towels, soap, and I fill up one or two gallon plastic bottles with water from the campground source. All these comforts ease the hassle of having to walk to the facilities in the middle of the night if necessary. In fact, I am now so spoiled by this, I can't help but think that this is the only way to camp by bicycle.

Having my indoor kitchen is convenient, too. Boiling water for morning coffee without going outside is great. Oatmeal and coffee at my fingertips - perfect. My only concern is if Yogi Bear's cousins come snooping around. I had better start keeping the bulk of my minimalist food stuffs outside during the night. Ya think?

My bedroom set up is an important one. I have to be comfortable with my necessary pillow configuration, and mattress combo. My ground tarp is the first protective layer followed by the tent floor, a one half inch thick layer of foam rubber, topped with my air mattress, the Klymit Insulated Static V Sleeping Pad. I researched the mattresses and knew I had to have a top of the line product. It inflates with only about twelve deep breaths. The Klymit I bought is not their most expensive version. That said, I was not going to sacrifice my comfort to save a few bucks by going any lower.

My new sleeping bag, the OutdoorsmanLab sleeping bag is not of the mummy type. I feel way too restricted if and when I can't sprawl as part of my comfort zone. The bag also allows for poking your feet out when it gets too hot. I like that for sure. Everything is lightweight, and compact. That, my friends, is more than just desirable when biking. It is imperative.

There is so much room to work in my tent garage. I'm away from any flying pests or crawling bugs as I work. I fabricated a kick stand/tent floor protector out of a plastic coffee can lid, cardboard and gaff tape. I need to prevent holes in the tent floor. Spreading out my tools and parts inside my tent near my Rover and Nomad bicycle trailer makes it easier to be a do-it-yourselfer. Very convenient.

Here are some thoughts as the sun sinks behind the dry mountain a few yards west of my camp site.

We're taught from an early age to share. Share that Popsicle, or candy bar. Back in 1982, a lanky gray haired gentleman walked out of a small grocery store in Glacier National Park and saw I was bicycle touring. He had just unwrapped his candy bar and offered to share it with me. I think it was a Hershey bar - kindness.

"Here, have a bite of my Slim Jim, or half of my sandwich." That's a comment that may sound familiar to many of us from times past. Similarly, at another stop at a campground in northern Montana, an older retired couple, who upon learning I was in the middle of a cross country bicycle tour, offered dinner and homemade blueberry pie in their motor home camper. I will never forget the look on the woman's face, and her exclamation;

"You're doing what?? You must be hungry!"

I find it touching when on the receiving end of kindness and generosity. At the same time, I see the compassion and satisfaction on the faces of those who offer it. Those moments lead me into a more spiritual place where I often ponder the bigger picture, and how little things we do can have so much meaning.

Ah, the wonder of it all. The world going by at 70 to 80 miles per hour in a car is quite different from the world I see at 5 to 25 miles an hour by bicycle. The world I witness from a slower perspective has a more complete way of becoming a part of me. I see more. I hear more. I feel more. I acutely sense the wonder of it all.

I guess my philosophical nature comes from being Greek. My ancestors managed to produce a few good ones way back when. I'm sure you can recall their names.

This trip is only the beginning. I'd like to make several of these e-bike journeys to help re-capture some of the youthful times I loved so much. I want to retire soon and take advantage of the physical abilities I still have before they wither away never to be again. I can't see myself spending anymore precious days than I absolutely have to working in an unsatisfying job. I want to feel the wind against my face as I bike along a secluded trail. I want to hear the birds calling, see the squirrels, lizards, and rabbits dart across the trail in front of me as they rush toward their own little palaces. I want to cross the shallow stream that meanders across the trail in three different locations and get wet, muddy, and laugh about it to myself.

I travel alone. I don't mind the solitude, the mud, the sweat, the tough hills, and the occasional mechanical repair. They're all part of the smile. My smile. And I will savor all of these moments as they find me - as nature comes to me. I won't wonder, one day, why I didn't take advantage of the mountains, the beaches, the nights under the stars. Nope. That little boy who ate up the streets of small town USA while pedaling on his Monark still exists. He is just a little bigger, wiser, and definitely more gray. He continues to occupy the space between my ears and the heart of my soul.

So, this is my camp/biking story that replaced the original, longer, Santa Barbara round trip which had to be cancelled. Some of you have been waiting for this documentary of sorts for too long. I apologize for the delay. Perhaps I will get to the Santa Barbara adventure before my legs tell me to give it up. I hope to make that tour soon. For now, I hope you found this little story interesting. Perhaps even inspiring. Thanks for taking the time to share my adventure.

alesandra leckie
1 month ago

I did the same thing this weekend and rode both the Brose and Bosch versions of the Bulls bikes. I ended up going with the eStream Evo 45 FS (demo) -- so, you probably rode my bike! I took it for a 10mi ride and really had fun with it. I like the riding position better than the Evo8 and the FS was very comfortable. While I didn't plan on getting a MTB -- I really liked the flexibility it offered. Despite the bigger tires, it still rode great on the street.
What is the range on your bike, also is the shifting a issue? I'm looking at the
BULLS E-STREAM EVO 2 27.5 PLUS 2017, any comments on that bike.

Ravi Kempaiah
1 month ago

Totally off subject observance...

While I think this is a neat bike, I was captivated by the objet d’art in the background. It's not often one sees something like that occupying a spot on a muddy looking stream bank. Anyone know where this is?

It was shot in Netherlands, the biking capital of the world.

1/1
Sonoboy
2 months ago

Totally off subject observance...

While I think this is a neat bike, I was captivated by the objet d’art in the background. It's not often one sees something like that occupying a spot on a muddy looking stream bank. Anyone know where this is?

Craig Crowder
2 months ago

Affected models:

-2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 2 27.5 PLUS
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 2 FS 27.5 PLUS
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 3 27.5 PLUS
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 3 29
- 2017 BULLS E-STREAM EVO 45 FS 27.5
- 2017 BULLS CROSS LITE E
- 2017 BULLS DAIL E GRINDER 45
- 2017 BULLS SIX50 E 1.5
- 2017 BULLS SIX50 E 2 STREET
- 2017 BULLS SIX50+ E FS 2 27.5
- 2017 BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 27.5

James Alderson
2 months ago

I like my Bosch-powered LebowskE (not a CX motor though), but I like my Bulls E-Stream EVO FS3 Plus with Brose a lot more. I've never ridden the Specialized, but it has the same motor (tuned differently) as my Bulls and comes with Plus tires. If there's a chance you'll eventually find yourself on more technical trails like I did, this is the pick of your three, IMO.

I really like the Bulls Plus bike, but I found the non plus bike from last year for 3K.. the current 27.5 Plus is 4600... I read there are some bigger tires you can put on the non plus, but for 1600 bucks more, is the plus worth the extra???

Lastly, I agree 100% with Bicyclista about the local service aspect, and am equally perplexed about the "non-transferable" warranty on a Demo. My best guess is that it was purchased and returned, making it a used bike, Without a warranty, they should charge at least $1000 less!

Well that would be my guess too. I am guessing its a used bike they are simply selling as its a 7500 dollar bike and I am getting it for 4600, but thats if its a demo. If its used, which I will check on, then I agree. 3500 would be reasonable and I would buy it in a heartbeat.

LimboJim
2 months ago

Thats a great point on the bike being useless without the battery. Now, two things come to mind about this though. One is that you can repack a battery at any battery shop from what I understand. My biggest concern in buying a Specialized Turbo Levo or a Bulls E-Stream is that the battery is built into the frame and I am not sure how long I can expect these companies to support the market for those batteries in the future. Two is that I have been wondering if it might be better to buy something like the mountain bike models from Luna Cycle where they take an existing good quality full suspension bike and strap on a high power mid motor setup that can be removed should it become useless or need to be replaced with the newest version.
The main problem with Luna's eMTBs, IMO, is that they're using powerful but not very sophisticated motors that tend to lag on kicking in and easing off. They're also much more herky-jerky than Bosch, Yahama, and Brose as a result.

This, along with the protruding nature of the motors' placement in front and/or below the bikes' cranks, can make for some tricky traversing on technical trails (downright dangerous, in my experience). Even if you keep to "easy" trails, don't ever try to hop a log or that motor will catch it and the bike will come to a dead stop (but you will not)!

Motor and battery replacements might be easier and cheaper through Luna, but I believe that well-established bike manufacturers will support older models for many years to come...

LimboJim
2 months ago

Hey, I have done a LOT of reading and watching videos etc, and I might just be asking this to feel like I am getting some advice from those who might have experience, or maybe just to write my thoughts down and see if I have already made a decision while doing so.. lol.

I am looking for an e-mtb to do (in order or priority) 1) fitness riding for weight loss 2) Fun rides with the kids in greenways and parkways around the area and 3) Light trail riding. I don't want to be a jumping crazy speedster youngster, but would be fun to get out on some easy trails.

I have a couple options local, and one that I would have to order. They vary in price, but not enough that it will sway me completely, but is a factor. Looking for feedback on which way any of you guys went if you were looking at the same or similar bikes.

1) Specialized Turbo Levo Expert Demo - this is a demo from a shop around the corner from me. That is a huge consideration when it comes to maintaining the bike, however, comes with no warranty as it is not transferable. The bike is $4600 plus taxes etc. The battery size is about average and the brose motor seems half decently reliable.

2) Felt LEBOWSKe 10 - clearance unit from a shop about 30 minutes from me in the downtown area. Stil, good access to maintenance and warranty work if required. It's a fat bike with no suspension except the big ass tires on it, but unsure if that is enough to do light off road stuff. The warranty is a great factor as is the bosch motor. The bike is $3500 on clearance plus taxes.

3) Bulls E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 - This is a bike that I would be ordering from a dealer in NYC. There are zero dealers around me that carry this bike so I would be taking a chance on the warranty. This is NOT the Plus version with the bigger tires, but is still a great bike with great reviews. Its on clearance as well at $3100 but not taxes and 100 dollars delivery drop shipped from Bulls in Germany. I am concerned with the distance for warranty, but the price is pretty good.

So, that didn't help me... I still see the good and bad with each.

Any thoughts???
Like Fitzy, I've reduced my load from 220 to 185 lbs riding my eMTBs. I live on a narrow, busy scenic byway with no real bike lanes, so I avoid riding on roads. I live right next to ~3000 acres of State Park with singletrack trails, fire roads and ATV trails galore, however, so I seldom have to...

My first ebike purchase was made assuming I'd never get back to the challenging, technical trails I rode in my younger daze - like you, I just wanted to get back on a bike, get fitter and maybe ride some "easy" trails. It was an "original" Sondors - single-speed, fat tires, but low torque and limited range.

I quickly outgrew it, however, and soon got into increasingly offroad-capable eMTBs. Now I'm not only riding the trails of my youth, I'm delving deeper, climbing higher, and riding twice as long as I ever did, even in my 20s and 30s. I've never been particularly athletic, but eMTBs nake me feel like I am!

I like my Bosch-powered LebowskE (not a CX motor though), but I like my Bulls E-Stream EVO FS3 Plus with Brose a lot more. I've never ridden the Specialized, but it has the same motor (tuned differently) as my Bulls and comes with Plus tires. If there's a chance you'll eventually find yourself on more technical trails like I did, this is the pick of your three, IMO.

On a well designed and equipped bike like Specialized, Plus tires make mincemeat out of rock gardens/roots etc., yet offer much tighter handling than fat tires. I have a full suspension Haibike with 27.5x2.4 tires, too, and come back from technical rides on it sore from the added jostling that my cushy Plus eMTB virtually negates.

The primary advantage of the Bulls is its 650WH battery. The LebowskE is only 400WH, and I believe the Levo is ~500WH. Again, you may eventually find that extended range to be a godsend.

Lastly, I agree 100% with Bicyclista about the local service aspect, and am equally perplexed about the "non-transferable" warranty on a Demo. My best guess is that it was purchased and returned, making it a used bike, Without a warranty, they should charge at least $1000 less!

James Alderson
2 months ago

Hey, I have done a LOT of reading and watching videos etc, and I might just be asking this to feel like I am getting some advice from those who might have experience, or maybe just to write my thoughts down and see if I have already made a decision while doing so.. lol.

I am looking for an e-mtb to do (in order or priority) 1) fitness riding for weight loss 2) Fun rides with the kids in greenways and parkways around the area and 3) Light trail riding. I don't want to be a jumping crazy speedster youngster, but would be fun to get out on some easy trails.

I have a couple options local, and one that I would have to order. They vary in price, but not enough that it will sway me completely, but is a factor. Looking for feedback on which way any of you guys went if you were looking at the same or similar bikes.

1) Specialized Turbo Levo Expert Demo - this is a demo from a shop around the corner from me. That is a huge consideration when it comes to maintaining the bike, however, comes with no warranty as it is not transferable. The bike is $4600 plus taxes etc. The battery size is about average and the brose motor seems half decently reliable.

2) Felt LEBOWSKe 10 - clearance unit from a shop about 30 minutes from me in the downtown area. Stil, good access to maintenance and warranty work if required. It's a fat bike with no suspension except the big ass tires on it, but unsure if that is enough to do light off road stuff. The warranty is a great factor as is the bosch motor. The bike is $3500 on clearance plus taxes.

3) Bulls E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 - This is a bike that I would be ordering from a dealer in NYC. There are zero dealers around me that carry this bike so I would be taking a chance on the warranty. This is NOT the Plus version with the bigger tires, but is still a great bike with great reviews. Its on clearance as well at $3100 but not taxes and 100 dollars delivery drop shipped from Bulls in Germany. I am concerned with the distance for warranty, but the price is pretty good.

So, that didn't help me... I still see the good and bad with each.

Any thoughts???

James Alderson
2 months ago

Hi James. When I had an old ebike I didn't even try to sell it, I just donated it to Goodwill. As Rich pointed out batteries are such a huge part of the cost of an ebike and they degrade so quickly that if I were going to buy a used bike I would consider a regular bike which can last forever but never an ebike which without a battery is pretty much worthless. This is a problem not only for ebikes but for all electric vehicles. Outside of Teslas which have a somewhat cult following take a look at the price of used Leafs or Volts - the depreciation is unreal.

Thats a great point on the bike being useless without the battery. Now, two things come to mind about this though. One is that you can repack a battery at any battery shop from what I understand. My biggest concern in buying a Specialized Turbo Levo or a Bulls E-Stream is that the battery is built into the frame and I am not sure how long I can expect these companies to support the market for those batteries in the future. Two is that I have been wondering if it might be better to buy something like the mountain bike models from Luna Cycle where they take an existing good quality full suspension bike and strap on a high power mid motor setup that can be removed should it become useless or need to be replaced with the newest version.

1/1
Ravi Kempaiah
2 months ago

As the crow flies my mountain commute would be relatively short- but by road it's about 26 miles round trip and with an elevation of 1200 ft up/down each way. The good news is that it's all paved, but the last part of my climb home is very steep with the majority of the 1200ft climb within less than a mile.
I'd also like to have the option of single track trail riding in the mountains as well. The trails can be very rocky and technical at times. So if any of you experienced riders can recommend a tougher e-mountain bike, I would appreciate very much.
Thank you! -Nikki

The new models from Trek (Powerfly series) and Giant (Dirt E) are really good. The big advantage would be extensive dealer network for you test it out and get service down the line.

There are few E-MTB with speed motors:
E.g., Haibike Full Seven S 7.0 and Bulls E-stream EVO 45 FS.

You could put Thule pack-pedal on most full suspension bikes for commuting purposes.

Have you tried any of the eMTB so far?
Personal preference plays a big role in selecting a proper bike.

Alphbetadog
2 months ago

I have a '16 E-Stream Enduro FS and absolutely love it. Since I often ride 4 miles on the pavement to and from the trails I didn't want the plus sized tires thinking they would a lot more "draggy". The 2.35" wide Hans Dampf tire work excellent on the terrain I encounter here in Arizona.

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA
2 weeks ago

Court Bulls bike battery charging port rubber sucks wish they used the magnetic cover vs rubber like on the Bulls E45 Outlaw, all these big companies cutting corners when it comes to building these e bikes except for Scott!!! Hopefully you can review an Scott E bike soon!!!

Imran Iqbal
2 months ago

Wish u would post price at the beginning, coz I got all excited until I find the price lol

Greg McMahon
2 months ago

I think the Brose mid drive sounds the best to me of all the manufacturers you have featured.

Larry Conger
2 months ago

Greg McMahon Bosch system is by far the best just an all around good product including the very simple intuvia display

seydina diagne
2 months ago

Please do the sondors X not the fold but the regular X. the battery is different and it seems like a big upgrade to the previous ones thanks

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Thanks for the request! I'll keep an eye out for the new Sondors models, thanks Seydina :D

CypressRacing
2 months ago

Would you trade it for your Levo Expert? lol

Larry Conger
2 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com I'm still a fan of the Bulls fat bike u reviewed the Monster E FS but the paint job sux near the seat tube but it has the best motor the Bosch system! I love the Haibikes Xduro s of course which is a little cheaper and a very good product in my opinion.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

No, I like the geometry of the Stumpjumper and Levo (designed around the same frame) for a bit more all mountain riding vs. cross country. The Bulls display is easier to work with and I love the Micro-USB but I don't need 20 speeds so the cross country setup here just doesn't suit my ride style. Also, the Levo was out a lot earlier so I wouldn't have had the choice. I do appreciate the $2,500 I would have saved getting this vs. the Levo Expert though. Specialized gave me a dealer cost discount because I reviewed it but I still spent what seems like a fortune.

Mark Elford
2 months ago

Very nice machine, cant wait to pick through these expensive bikes in a few year for DIY ebike parts.

Karl Fonner
2 months ago

Did you have the rear suspension adjusted right ?it looks like it wouldn't even move

Karl Fonner
2 months ago

ElectricBikeReview.com makes sense thanks for your response

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

I don't think so, they usually set them up with too much air pressure for me because I only weight 135 lbs... they put higher PSI for demo events since a wide range of people will be trying the bike and they don't want it to bottom out. Great observation ;)

SteveCrosby789
2 months ago

I really like to watch the reviews but lately I have been skipping them at the first mention of the prices. These are breaking into used car territory. A BIKE over $1500 is a very serious purchase for many people. I realize these are very high end, well featured and equipped bikes, but there are those of use that will never be able to get one of these. Your reviews are very comprehensive and thorough and that is very appreciated. Would it be possible to feature some lower end bikes as well, as you pass through the market place? I know they won't be as much fun to test and put through their paces but there has to be more economically priced bikes out there. Thanks as always.

DiGiTaLGrAvEDiGGA
2 weeks ago

Juiced Bikes make a decent bike and price ranges from 1200-2000

Go Ya
2 months ago

It's not really that hard to find some value e-bikes... you can buy plenty of them from http://www.aliexpress.com or (alibaba.com). You can even just pay $200 for a conversion kit.

I know you may say made in China, but many of these high-end bikes are made in China as well. Shenzen is a higher-end manufacturing center in China (like their silicon valley).

Worth looking at products from there... also I read those with a high number of positive customer reviews:

https://www.aliexpress.com/w/wholesale-electric-bike.html?spm=2114.search0104.0.0.1gP3BY&site=glo&SearchText=electric+bike&g=y&SortType=total_tranpro_desc&groupsort=1&tc=af&initiative_id=RS_20170723031410

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Yeah, there have been a lot of expensive ebikes lately. I try to mix in the value products but am limited on funds to buy them and very few shops carry them. As I travel around, I do seek them out and I'll keep doing that for you :)

James Mason
2 months ago

that black with the yellow looks great

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

You're right, it helps the motor and battery blend in and I love how they carried it all the way through to the suspension and saddle. Very nice :D

Chris Stassis
2 months ago

does anyone have 4 grand I can borrow?

Chris Stassis
2 months ago

Baron Of Hell ata boy

Baron Of Hell
2 months ago

Yeah I'm going to send you a couple of diamonds from my diamond mine.

Timmy
2 months ago

I really like this one ☝️

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 months ago

Looks sweet... Do you ride cross country? or just commenting on the design and paint :)