BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 2 27.5 Plus Review

Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Electric Bike Review
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Brose Mid Drive 90 Nm Torque Motor
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus High Capacity Downtube Battery
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Transflective Button Pad Ergonomic Grips
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Suntour Xcr 32 Air Fork
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Suntour Epixon Air Shock Rear
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus 20 Speed Shimano Deore Xt Drivetrain
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus 180 Mm Tektro Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Ebike Battery
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Electric Bike Review
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Brose Mid Drive 90 Nm Torque Motor
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus High Capacity Downtube Battery
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Transflective Button Pad Ergonomic Grips
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Suntour Xcr 32 Air Fork
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Suntour Epixon Air Shock Rear
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus 20 Speed Shimano Deore Xt Drivetrain
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus 180 Mm Tektro Hydraulic Disc Brakes
Bulls E Stream Evo Fs 2 27 5 Plus Ebike Battery

Summary

  • One of the cleanest looking full suspension cross country electric bikes I've reviewed, the battery and motor are built into the frame and match the matte black paint perfectly
  • Extra large battery capacity for longer rides, EnergyBus magnetic charging standard works on or off the bike and won't get bent or tip the bike over as easily if snagged
  • Uses the smallest plus sized tire standard 2.6" for precision and nimble handling but you still get improved traction and comfort, solid 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes
  • Compact transflective display stays out of the way and has a Micro-USB charging port built in, 20-speed drivetrain offers a wider range of cadence options, no dropper post

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

BULLS

Model:

E-Stream EVO FS 2 27.5 Plus

Price:

$4,099

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Trail, Mountain

Electric Bike Class:

Pedal Assist (Class 1)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Warranty:

2 Years Motor and Battery, 5 Years Frame

Availability:

Europe, Canada, United States, Australia, New Zealand

Model Year:

2017

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

55.1 lbs (24.99 kg)

Battery Weight:

7 lbs (3.17 kg)

Motor Weight:

6.61 lbs (2.99 kg)

Frame Material:

7005 Aluminium Alloy

Frame Sizes:

18.11 in (45.99 cm)20.07 in (50.97 cm)

Geometry Measurements:

31.5" Stand Over Height

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Colors:

Matte Black with Gray and Neon Yellow Accents

Frame Fork Details:

SR Suntour XCR-32 RLR Air 650+, Bronze Stanchions, Remote Lockout, 120 mm Travel, 110 mm Width (Boost), 15 mm Diameter Thru Axle with Quick Release Skewer

Frame Rear Details:

SR Suntour Epixon-LO D, Air Shock with Rebound and Lockout Clickers, 120 mm Travel, 148 mm Width (Boost),12 mm Diameter Thru-Axle with Quick Release

Attachment Points:

Bottle Cage Bosses

Gearing Details:

20 Speed 2x10 Shimano Deore XT Shadow Plus (One Way Clutch), 11-36T, Shimano Deore Front Derailleur

Shifter Details:

Shimano Deore XT Triggers on Left and Right

Cranks:

FSA Cranks 170 or 175 mm Length, 38T / 24T Chainrings

Pedals:

Wellgo Alloy Platform, Cage Style

Headset:

FSA Tapered 1-1/8" to 1-1/2"

Stem:

Alloy, 7° Angle, (70 mm, 80 mm)

Handlebar:

Low Rise, 740 mm Length, 25 mm Rise, 9° Bend

Brake Details:

Tektro HD-M285 Hydraulic Disc with 180 mm Rotors, Tektro Levers with Adjustable Reach, Two-Finger Levers

Grips:

Velo VLG-168283 Locking, Flat

Saddle:

Bulls Branded Selle Royal, Active

Seat Post:

Styx, Aluminum Alloy

Seat Post Length:

350 mm

Seat Post Diameter:

30.9 mm

Rims:

Aluminum Alloy, Doublewal, 32 Hole

Spokes:

Stainless Steel, 14 Gauge Front 13 Gauge Rear, Black with Nipples

Tire Brand:

Schwalbe Smart Sam, 27.5" x 2.6"

Wheel Sizes:

27.5 in (69.85cm)

Tire Details:

Active Line K-Guard Puncture Protection

Tube Details:

Presta Valve

Accessories:

Velo Battery Protector Pad

Other:

IP56 Ingress Rating, Boost Adds 10 mm to Hub Length in Font and 6 mm in the Rear, KMC X10E Chain, Formula Hubs

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Brose

Motor Type:

Mid-Mounted Geared Motor
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

250 watts

Motor Peak Output:

530 watts

Motor Torque:

90 Newton meters

Battery Brand:

BMZ

Battery Voltage:

37 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

17.5 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

647.5 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Lithium-ion

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

50 miles (80 km)

Estimated Max Range:

130 miles (209 km)

Display Type:

BULLS CSI, Fixed, Backlit Transflective LCD

Readouts:

Speed, Battery Level (5 Bars), Assist Level (None, Eco, Tour, Sport)

Display Accessories:

Independent Button Pad with Tactile Feedback on Left, 6 Volt Micro USB Port on Base of Display

Drive Mode:

Advanced Pedal Assist (Rear Wheel Speed, Pedal Cadence, Pedal Torque)

Top Speed:

20 mph (32 kph)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

Bulls offers an extensive line of electric mountain bikes and the E-Stream EVO FS 2 27.5 Plus is their cross country model with 120 mm air suspension from SR Suntour. Actually, to me this is something of a cross country / trail hybrid because I’m used to seeing 80 to 100 mm travel for pure cross country. The longer travel and larger Plus sized tires offer a bit more comfort but you lose some efficiency. Given that it’s an e-bike, that’s not a huge deal… and the battery capacity on offer is impressive. This is an efficient electric bike in part because it uses a high-end mid-drive motor but also because you get remote lockout for the fork and a clicker lockout for for the rear. The linkage driven single pivot suspension design keeps cost low because it’s not proprietary and it provides space for a water bottle cage or accessory to mount on top of the downtube. Bulls is one of the few electric bike makers to provide this sort of provision and I love it. There are even holes on the left chainstay for adding a kickstand if you wanted! At just over $4k, this is one of the more affordable name brand, premium motor and battery, full suspension electric bikes I have tested. Many competing offerings are in the $4.5+ or $5k+ range and they don’t look as good. It’s available in two frame sizes so you can dial in fit and the color matching extends to both suspension elements and the saddle. Some unique accessories include the locking ergonomic grips, compact transflective control panel (with Micro-USB charging port for phones etc.), and magnetic EnergyBus charging connector. I love that you can charge the battery on or off the bike but have some grips about how it fits onto the frame. Overall, it’s an easy ebike to appreciate, one that’s relatively quiet but plenty powerful.

Powering the Bulls E-Stream EVO FS 2 is a compact, smooth, geared center-motor. Brose makes this unit and I’m always impressed with how well it fits onto a bike frame, it nearly fades away! The black casing matches the matte black frame on the E-Stream Evo perfectly and the two-chainring setup almost completely conceals it from the right. This is one of the blurry areas of the bike to me because you’d think that more gears are better right? But on an electric bike, especially one that offers 90 Newton meters of peak torque output and three modes of power… one that responds as quickly as the Brose does, do you really need so many pedal cadence options? Yes, this is a cross country electric bike which means that it’s designed to be pedaled more and possibly go further than a downhill bike. The gears let you interact more directly with the bike and use human power to move those 55 lbs of weight. But perhaps it would weigh less and require less maintenance with a 1×11 setup? The Brose motor is smart and fast but it doesn’t offer shift detection. That’s up to you to as a rider, definitely ease off as you shift in order to let the motor ease back as well. I do appreciate the higher end Shimano Deore XT rear derailleur with Shadow Plus one-way clutch. This little grey clutch lever lets you tighten the chain to reduce bounce on bumpy terrain. But the bike also has a slap guard to help, and the front derailleur clears debris and acts as a chain guide. This motor is quiet when it is new but I have heard some other models that had a sandy sound, just a bit rougher, and perhaps that’s due to heavy riding at demo events? There’s a carbon / rubber belt inside, much like you’d find in a car engine like a timing belt, and it’s durable but also smoother than gear-on-gear designs like Bosch which produce more of a humming noise.

Powering the bike, an efficient little display panel, and the Micro-USB charging port built into the base of said panel is a 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack that I would describe as “very large” in terms of capacity. Most other batteries, like the Bosch Powerpack 500 only offer ~500 watt hours but you get 647.5 watt hours here! That’s a lot of juice and it means you can ride further or climb longer… but also more weight. About 1.5 lbs additional weight in fact. Add to that, the second derailleur and chainring and you can see why the bike is slightly heavier than competing models. I should be fair here though, this is a more application specific ebike, I don’t know of many other cross country models, very few have more than 11 gears, so in many ways the weight is just fine or even pretty good. This battery contains long lasting Lithium-ion cells, it’s protected by a foam sticker along the bottom, and the downtube mostly hides it from the sides. I like how it looks but feel that taking it off is a bit more difficult and precarious. There isn’t a clear handle to grab and since you pull down vs. lifting up, it seems easier to drop. Unlocking the pack is a two-step process where you insert a key and then pull a spring latch before the pack sort of drops down and then you pull it the rest of the way. When you put it back on the bike, you can click it in without locking it with the key. I feel like Bulls should have a spring lock so you always have to use the key to get it off the bike. It would be a bummer to forget to lock it and have someone steal the pack or accidentally bump the lever and drop the pack out the bottom. I also feel that the locking core is positioned dangerously close to the left crank arm and that the little rubber flap which covers the charging port (when the battery is mounted to the frame) does not seat easily or as tightly as most competing products. Who wants water, dust, or mud to get in there? I would probably leave the battery in the bike most of the time and just store the entire thing inside for safe keeping. The magnetic charging cord would be connected regularly and I love how easy it is to connect vs. pushing in or trying to line up, and if it gets tripped over there’s a lot less that can go wrong.

Operating the bike is very straightforward. You don’t have to press the power button on the battery to get it started like you used to. Now, that power button is more of an LED power indicator readout. To get the main display switched on, just press the little button along the top of the button pad (located near the left grip) and it bursts to life. Your current speed, battery charge level, and assist level are shown… and that’s it. You don’t get the additional stats like trip distance, average speed, max speed, or range estimate, but it also takes up less space. The display uses a transflective readout that looks great in harsh sunlight and even though it’s a bit further to reach with your left thumb, it’s intuitive to use. Just click up or down to increase or decrease power. You can feel it click, thank goodness, because the assist level indicator graphic is tiny. Four boxes communicate off, level 1, 2, or 3. I tested walk mode for the video review and noted that it works well but depends on the gear you choose to alter the walk speed. If you’re in a low gear, as I was, then walk mode is going to be very slow. The display panel is a great compromise in a world with lots of bulky, overdone, glaring screens… but it is not removable. I’ve already mentioned the Micro-USB charging port but it’s an awesome feature worth describing a bit more. A rubber cover (that seats well) keeps it clean and the port is situated just below the main button pad, if you plugged a smartphone or Garmin GPS device in, you could tap into that massive battery for longer use. Even a headlight or something fun like external speakers would work. I dislike wearing headphones while cycling because it’s dangerous to your surroundings (not hearing animals, cars, or other riders) and the sound of wind really disrupt the tunes. I don’t want to wreck the peace and tranquility for other riders but an electronic bell / speaker product like this could be a good way to get some tunes going safely when you’re riding alone.

I had a blast riding this bike on some access road terrain in Southern California and can easily overlook some of the inconveniences around the battery for how great it looks. Weight is well distributed and even though the Tektro brakes strike me as mid-level, the drivetrain is great. I’m used to seeing round flat grips vs. ergonomic but these were locking and rather thin so I think they would work well and provide a comfort boost on longer cross country rides. It’s neat to see an application specific electric bike here and the 27.5″ x 2.6″ tires performed great. They offered precision and quickness with a dash of comfort and traction. Thru-axles with quick release mean easy trail maintenance and transport. The solid 2+ year warranty, two frame size options, and extensive dealer network makes it easy to find, buy, and enjoy. Big thanks to Bulls for partnering with me on this review, meeting me on the trails, and allowing for some back to back rides. I got to compare different models and get a sense for how one geometry and hardware setup was different than the next. Please note that the suspension was not sagged for me and rode a little stiffer than it should have (especially the rear). This is the kind of setup that a shop could help you get right but I often have limited time and they set bikes up for heavier riders at demo events (I weigh 135 lbs).

Pros:

  • The bike looks amazing, both the motor and battery are well hidden in the frame and blend perfectly with the matte black paint
  • You can ride cross country or trail with this bike, the 120 mm travel is versatile and highly adjustable here, both shocks are air so they keep weight down and can be sagged to fit your body weight more precisely
  • This is one of the very few mid-drive electric bikes with a high-end motor and more than 11 gears, you get a front and rear derailleur with a total of 20 gear combinations, this fits the cross country climbing and trail scenarios well
  • Sturdy thru-axles on the front and rear wheels improve stiffness and support longer Boost hubs, the 2.6″ tires are at the low end of Plus size (2.6″, 2.8″, and 3.0″) so you save weight and get precision along with some float and bump deflection, another great choice for cross country and trail
  • Available through a wide network of dealers so you can get help setting it up and keeping it running right, Bulls offers a solid 2 year comprehensive 5 year frame warranty on their products
  • Two frame sizes allow you to find a proper fit and the $4.1k price point is pretty good for a full suspension model with mainstream drivetrain in my opinion
  • The Brose motor is exceedingly quiet and smooth, it uses a Carbon belt drive to transition power internally and that dampens vibration
  • Quick wheels and seat tube as well as a removable battery let you reduce weight and size for transport, I always take the battery off when hanging bikes on car racks and usually take at least one wheel off when putting it in the back of a station wagon
  • I appreciate the color-matched suspension fork, rear shock, and saddle, I also like that you can mount a bottle cage on the downtube where the plastic battery casing extends up
  • The Shimano Deore XT derailleur is pretty high up on the Shimano groupset offering and I like that it comes with Shadow Plus clutch here so you can tighten the chain for bumpy terrain (just push the grey lever up and towards the back of the bike to enable it)
  • Powerful 180 mm Tektro hydraulic disc brakes perform well and keep weight down with a dual-piston setup on each caliper, the ergonomic grips lock in place and felt good, I also appreciate the threaded wire connectors (for strength and keeping water out)
  • I like that the suspension fork has a remote lockout, there are provisions for mounting a kickstand on the left chainstay, you can turn the bike on directly from the button pad now vs. pressing the battery first, and the battery charging port cover fit a bit better than some of the other Bulls e-bikes I’ve tested
  • The small transflective display panel stays out of the way and reduces clutter on the handle bars (especially important when you have two sets of shifters for the two derailleurs) and it even has a Micro-USB charging port built in to fill your phone or other portable electronic device
  • Walk mode actually works on this electric bike, which is great considering that it’s ~55 lbs, just make sure you’re in one of the three levels of assist first and then hold the walk button, changing gears will make the bike walk faster or slower
  • The Brose motor is incredibly quiet and responsive, it uses standard sized chainrings and just works well… at least the brand new ones do, I have heard some demo models with louder motors that might have been pushed harder? I owned one for over a year myself however and it stayed quiet

Cons:

  • The suspension design appears to be Linkage Driven Single Pivot which is an open design (costing less than a licensed proprietary design) which does produce some braking feedback and isn’t as efficient for pedaling… although that’s less of an issue on an ebike, the rear shock does have lockout so that helps a lot, you may still experience some kickback when pedaling over fast bumps
  • The bike’s a little heavy at ~55 lbs but that’s partially due to the high-capacity battery pack which weighs 7 lbs vs. 5.5 lbs on competing standard battery models and the Boost setup with larger tires
  • Offering 90 Newton meters of torque, the Brose mid-drive is incredibly powerful for climbing but it doesn’t offer shift detection like Bosch, considering the dual-derailleur setup here, that could put more strain on the drivetrain and require more maintenance… at least it measures pedal torque so you can back off a bit as you shift to keep it smooth
  • The locking core for the battery is very near the left crank arm, along with the charging port… it’s all a bit crowded and I wish the charging port cover seated more securely, at least the charging plug is magnetic so it can get popped out without causing damage if someone trips over the cord
  • I love how the battery looks and appreciate the foam sticker underneath to prevent chips and scrapes but struggled to get the pack on and off since it seats up into the frame vs. down from the top, it’s not something you want to drop and it doesn’t have any handles or good gripping points like some other packs
  • I’m getting pretty used to dropper seat posts on full suspension e-bikes but I guess in the cross country world, you don’t need it as much? Still, with 120 mm travel vs. 80 to 100 I could see trail riding with this and think a dropper could be worth having, consider the 30.9 mm Magura Vyron wireless dropper post for easy install and swapping between ebikes
  • I like how simple the display is and feel that it shows the most important menus such as speed, battery capacity, and assist level… but it doesn’t show range, odometer, trip distance, clock, or any other useful stats like the larger displays do

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

More BULLS Reviews

BULLS SIX50 E 1.5 Review

  • MSRP: $3,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A hardtail trail ready e-bike with comfortable plus sized tires and a spring suspension fork (with lockout), sturdy tapered head tube, rigid thru-axles, and Boost. Capable as a commuting platform if you prefer a mountain bike vs. hybrid or city…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Step-Thru Review

  • MSRP: $4,099
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An active, sporty looking, commuter style electric bike with low standover height, available in three frame sizes to improve fit and comfort. High-end drivetrain and motor systems, you get eleven gears with a tough mountain bike level…...

BULLS SIX50+ E FS 3 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

An all-mountain electric bike with plus sized tires for improved stability, traction and comfort, 150 mm air suspension with compression and rebound adjust. Battery and motor mount design are tighter than older Bosch systems, weight is kept low…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,199
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A high quality full suspension e-mountain bike that's also a speed pedelec (capable of 28 mph top speeds), solid hydraulic disc brakes, wide thru-axles with Boost Technology. Adjustable 150 mm RockShox suspension front and rear, four-bar rear swing arm to reduce brake…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO 3 Carbon 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A Carbon fiber electric cross country mountain bike with premium components and ultra-integrated motor and battery system, excellent weight distribution. The Brose motor is quiet and responsive offering up to 90 Nm of torque output,…...

BULLS DAIL-E Grinder Review

  • MSRP: $5,799
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

One of the first Gravel Grinder style electric bikes to make it to America! Made with premium components, high performance lights and a purpose built frame in three sizes. Capable of high speed 28 mph performance, the Bosch centerdrive motor measures bike speed, pedal…...

BULLS SIX50 E2 Street Review

  • MSRP: $3,899
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A fully equipped speed commuter capable of 28 mph operation, running on the proven Bosch Performance mid-drive motor and updated 500 watt hour Samsung battery. Extra large 203 mm hydraulic disc brakes offer smooth solid stops without requiring exorbitant hand…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E8 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A versatile urban electric bike well suited to commuting, touring and trekking because of its efficient mid-drive motor and larger than average battery capacity, durable internal gearing and belt drive. Available in five frame sizes and three frame styles including wave, mid-step and high-step diamond…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Plus Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

A stealthy full suspension all-mountain electric bike with longer travel 150 mm suspension, fully adjustable air fork by RockShox, color matched to frame. Larger 37 volt 17.5 amp hour battery pack to assist with steeper climbs and longer…...

BULLS Monster E FS Review

  • MSRP: $5,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Full suspension fat bike with a high quality mid-drive motor from Bosch and their updated 500 watt hour battery pack for extended range. Cool fluorescent paint job that extends all the way through the fork, rear shock housing,…...

BULLS Lacuba EVO E45 Review

  • MSRP: $4,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2017

Available in four frame sizes, two styles (high-step and mid-step) with an adjustable stem, active-comfort saddle and ergonomic grips, this bike can fit well and feel good at speed and over long distances. Capable of 28 mph top speeds, this is a Class 3 electric bike with an…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS 3 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $4,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An all-mountain electric bike with beautifully integrated battery, motor and display... it blends in more than most other e-mountain bikes I've tested and runs quiet. Sturdy 15 mm thru axle in the front and 12 mm axle in the rear…...

BULLS SIX50 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A loaded full suspension mountain bike with premium electric drivetrain from Bosch offering 75 Nm of climbing torque with the CX motor and a 400 watt hour Samsung battery. RockShox air suspension with 120 mm travel front and rear for solid trail or all…...

BULLS Monster E S Review

  • MSRP: $4,299
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Premium hardtail electric fat bike with all the fixins, highlights include rear rack bosses, tubeless-ready tires and punched out rims, RockShox air fork with remote lockout and high torque Bosch CX motor. Quality 180 mm hydraulic disc brakes from Shimano for excellent stopping power and modulation, impressive…...

BULLS Outlaw E45 Review

  • MSRP: $3,999
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A sporty looking, fairly comfortable speed pedelec capable of ~28 mph top speeds, it's running on an optimized geared hub motor design with heat pipe technology for maximum performance. Unique mid-mount battery box fills the main frame triangle keeping weight low and centered while…...

BULLS Sturmvogel E EVO Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A beautifully designed urban electric bike painted white for visibility and modern appeal, white walled tires, reflective sidewall stripes, LED lights. Extra sturdy and durable thanks to a 15 mm thru-axle on the front wheel (with…...

BULLS TWENTY9 E FS 3 RSI Review

  • MSRP: $4,599
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

A full suspension, Bosch powered, cross country style electric bike with efficient 29" wheels, it's available in three sizes for good fit and would feel taller and larger for riders with long legs but still fits some shorter riders given the angled top tube. Quick release for both wheels ads convenience for fixes and transporting the bike, I love…...

BULLS Cross Lite E Review

  • MSRP: $3,699
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

Fully loaded urban electric bicycle with great accessories for commuting including an aluminum rear rack, full length fenders with mud flaps and integrated LED lights. Relatively light weight at under 50 lbs, this is due in part to the nicer…...

BULLS E-Stream EVO FS Enduro 27.5 Review

  • MSRP: $5,399
  • MODEL YEAR: 2016

An enduro style full suspension electric mountain bike with longer 160 mm suspension travel, seat post dropper, 27.5" wheelset and premium hydraulic brakes. Downtube-integrated battery pack is out of sight and keeps weight low and centered across the…...


Be the First to Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Edward Kean
6 hours ago

Comparo caveat - 60yrs old, 190lb w/15yrs of un-assisted Colorado, Utah, and New Mexico trail and mtn riding- I ride hyper technical tight turny steep loose babyhead granite sandstone rooty sandy complicated random bushwacky w/ lots of stumps, logs, rocks, jumps, drops and occasionally "singletrack" and also a bit of paved and dirt roads. The more weird, surprising and challenging, the better.

Spec Turbo Levo FSR vs. Bulls E-Stream Evo FS3 27.5+

Both - creamy sweet quiet forgiving Brose, bitchen plush ride, sticky planted plus tires, balanced fork angle for both turning and decending.

Battery - Spec -460Wh, Bulls 650Wh - game over, don't need to read further (650W is a compromise (650 gets me to about 5 hrs of the above so I have another in my backack).

Further(?)

BB - Spec - low and modern (crunch/slam obstacles) Bulls - awesome clearance (ride)

Controls - Spec - on side of down tube (down tube? side?) or phone (phone?) Bulls - on the handlebar by the grip (steep section - engage meth squirrel mode)

Walk mode - Spec (walk mode?) Bulls (bike will crawl up three flights of condo stairs at 3am after the Bluegrass Festival)

USB outlet - Spec - na (and phone is dead) Bulls - plug in and call a chopper if I forgot to put it in airplane mode

Disclosure- I'm with Small Planet EBikes in Colorado and although not carrying Spec I did buy one at my LBS and loved it for the super cool looks, Brose motor, nifty software, enduro geometry & vibe, plush ride, and top notch dealers (an awesome bike for short groomy).

Edward Kean
7 hours ago

Nice to hear. I'm in the process of getting an ebike and torn between the Bulls E-stream fs3 and the Specialized Turbo Levo. I did demo the Levo HT and was very pleased. Couldn't get my hands on the Bulls FS3 but any feedback on comparisons would be appreciated.

Edward Kean
7 hours ago

I'm getting close to buying an E-Stream EVO 45 and I'm wondering if you have any feedback on what size to get or what size you have and how you like it? I'm 5'11" with a 31" inseam in pants or a 33" inseam using the book all the way up to your crotch method to measure where the seat would be with no shoes on...

Thank you!
5'11 / 34" inseam - 49cm E-Stream Evo FS3 27.5+ is perfect. Note- running slightly taller Maxxis Chronicle 27.5 x 3's.

jwf1racin
5 days ago

I'm in the process of selecting a new E-Bike with the following requirements. I'm looking for a 28 mph petal assist with enough torque to climb 10° inclines (pavement) I am primarily using this bike for commuting and some gravel bike paths but would like a suspension to handle rough roads. I'm looking at a Stromer ST2 or a Bulls outlaw E45 or BULLS E-Stream EVO 45 FS.

Which bike would better meet my requirements of speed and torque?

I'm 190 pounds and 5'9"

Shaun MacDonald
5 days ago

Nice choice! The minute you ride in water, mud, snow or even small pebbles, you'll be glad you got the fenders. Those really wide and knobby tires displace matter a LOT more than any regular bike tire. I remember going through water at good speed without any fenders; the front wheel actually propelled a stream of water straight up a few feet in the air! guess who drank dirty water a second later? :rolleyes::rolleyes: And the rear one is a life saver for the bike, your back and strangely enough, your bottom. I can home once without a fender once again and my butt was drenched, much worse than my back.

Assembly is easy and you will get a multi-tool gizmo that is enough to assemble the bike and tighten all screws around the bike (good thing to do for safety in case something left the factory not tight enough.

And before I forget, some screws must be left alone though, like the ones on the derailleur. The top 3 here are adjustment screws :)

Thanks for the picture!

america94
6 days ago

Bought the Red Limited - you mentioned to make sure I get the fenders. Will arrive on Wednesday. Beniot was great to deal with. Called me on a sunday afternoon. I had many correspondence with him by email. Bit more than the Voltbike but Beniot said it was worth it and from what I read from everyone on this thread that is true. I will certainly take you up on the assembly. Mechanical and me don't get along sometimes. Hoping there is not too much to put together.
Nice choice! The minute you ride in water, mud, snow or even small pebbles, you'll be glad you got the fenders. Those really wide and knobby tires displace matter a LOT more than any regular bike tire. I remember going through water at good speed without any fenders; the front wheel actually propelled a stream of water straight up a few feet in the air! guess who drank dirty water a second later? :rolleyes::rolleyes: And the rear one is a life saver for the bike, your back and strangely enough, your bottom. I can home once without a fender once again and my butt was drenched, much worse than my back.

Assembly is easy and you will get a multi-tool gizmo that is enough to assemble the bike and tighten all screws around the bike (good thing to do for safety in case something left the factory not tight enough.

And before I forget, some screws must be left alone though, like the ones on the derailleur. The top 3 here are adjustment screws :-)

1/1
dusail
2 weeks ago

Yesterday I let a friend ride my E-Stream FS3 27.5+. He'd only ridden Bosch ebikes before this, and didn't remember that I'd told him there were two front chain rings. Although he's an experienced cyclist, he ended up audibly cross-chaining, but I didn't think it necessary to check the chain for damage - OOPS!

A bit later, while climbing a steep hill, the chain broke and the motor spun to what sounded like well over 1k RPMs - it made a frighteningly loud, extremely high-pitched whine for maybe 5-10 seconds before shutting off. While it behaved/performed normally after we fixed the chain (chain tools and spare links are good to keep handy), I worry about the internal (belt/gear) wear and long-term effects this incident might've caused.

Any thoughts? Has this happened to any of you with other Brose (or any brand) equipped ebikes?

I have a new Evo FS 3, and with just about 10 miles on the bike, experienced a chain break. The motor over-revved, and then quit, as you reported. No cross-chaining was involved, but I'd been having random chain clunks, and some hopping between gears on the climb. I was almost to the top, when the chain went. I contacted the dealer, (about 90 miles away) and they told me to have the bike serviced at the local shop. According to them, the OEM chain was a low end type, and probably had a "frozen link". I upgraded to a "best" quality SRAM chain, and since have gone about 150 miles, with lots of climbing, and no issues. The dealer was super responsive and refunded my out-of-pocket expenses (Cynergy e-Bikes in Portland, Or).

irl
2 weeks ago

Good afternoon, sorry for this issue the team will process this shortly. We are integrating all of the communication channels preferred by our customers into a steady stream as you know juggling between platforms is a bit challenging.

For any doubts please contact us at support@juicedbikes.com

Thanks and have a great day
<3 thank you for taking care of this, Luis!

Luis Mtz
2 weeks ago

Good afternoon, sorry for this issue the team will process this shortly. We are integrating all of the communication channels preferred by our customers into a steady stream as you know juggling between platforms is a bit challenging.

For any doubts please contact us at support@juicedbikes.com

Thanks and have a great day

The Annoyed Man
2 weeks ago

PS: .45 ACP 1911 all the way :pI own and carry pistols in both platforms and calibers, so I don't really have a dog in the fight.:)

@Pa1adin, thanks for that video. I had previously seen one of his reviews after having owned the bikes for maybe a year, and it was positive; but this review above answered a lot more questions.

@mrgold35, thanks for the information on payload capacity. That was very helpful, and has completely alleviated my concerns about weight.

I'm pretty much settled on at least one of these RadRovers. I just showed the Barnacules video to my wife, and showed her how she could have either another RadRover, or a RadWagon. Both appeal to her. We are retired and take care of our grandbabies during the day while our son and daughter in law are at work - a 3 year old granddaughter and a 1 year old grandson - and the RadWagon would be cool for taking them both for a ride in the local parks here in Grapevine, of which there are a lot of them. I like the RadRover's configuration for its versatility on and off road, but just like Barnacules, I also own a really nice mountain bike, a Giant Trance, that I am not able to ride right now. My goal, like his, would be to get back into good enough shape to be able to realistically ride that bike again.

The part of Texas that I live in - the northwestern outskirts of the DFW metroplex - is mostly rolling prairie with lots of hardwood forest, and plenty of lakes and streams. There's nothing like the real technical mountain biking that I started off with in the mountains of Southern California, but there are lots and lots of trails, both paved and improved, and the occasional single track around those lakes and stream beds. The area where my home is located is hilly - not much compared to so-cal's mountainous areas, but hilly enough to get an old fat guy like me to breathing pretty hard in 1st gear, or even getting off and pushing, which is endlessly embarrassing.

Anyway, you guys have been very encouraging, for which I am very grateful. Thank you.

zap016VOLTAGE
2 weeks ago

Anyone know if the Juice batteries are actually software/firmware locked to only Juiced bikes? Both the video and their website says that they only work on their bikes. Not sure how that's possible. Yukon uses the same Dorado plus case so wondering if I could purchase the larger Amp hour battery and install it on the Yukon.

Unlike vehicles, ebikes have the capability to use the same batteries. I would think Juice could blow the industry open for that form factor if other bikes could used their batteries. Another revenue stream for them as well. At approximately $4 a cell due to their volumes, a 48v pack is roughly $210 dollars and the extrusion case is probably $50 max. Depending on their BMS they are making a killing on their margins.

Very interest observation @ace20ri! :cool:
Perhaps you should post your splendid idea to @Tora Harris in the Juiced Bikes forum?
Thank you!;)

ace20ri
2 weeks ago

Anyone know if the Juice batteries are actually software/firmware locked to only Juiced bikes? Both the video and their website says that they only work on their bikes. Not sure how that's possible. Yukon uses the same Dorado plus case so wondering if I could purchase the larger Amp hour battery and install it on the Yukon.

Unlike vehicles, ebikes have the capability to use the same batteries. I would think Juice could blow the industry open for that form factor if other bikes could used their batteries. Another revenue stream for them as well. At approximately $4 a cell due to their volumes, a 48v pack is roughly $210 dollars and the extrusion case is probably $50 max. Depending on their BMS they are making a killing on their margins.

Denis Shelston
4 weeks ago

@JayVee
I would also like to thank you for this, very much appreciated.

I have dashcams in my vehicles and have been using Dashcam Viewer and it works well. Essentially it syncs video and GPS data, both from the dashcam and while the video plays in one window, you see other windows with a bunch of other info, like a Google map with the moving point. Cool. Every dashcam manufacturer treats GPS data differently, some integrate GPS data with the video stream, some have separated video and data. But then when it comes to sharing with others, it fails miserably and had not found a way. Until now.

Now your idea is fantastic, love it. I will try it. I have a wannabe GoPro and a phone. A great idea for ebike enthusiasts.

fxr3
1 month ago

Yesterday I let a friend ride my E-Stream FS3 27.5+. He'd only ridden Bosch ebikes before this, and didn't remember that I'd told him there were two front chain rings. Although he's an experienced cyclist, he ended up audibly cross-chaining, but I didn't think it necessary to check the chain for damage - OOPS!

A bit later, while climbing a steep hill, the chain broke and the motor spun to what sounded like well over 1k RPMs - it made a frighteningly loud, extremely high-pitched whine for maybe 5-10 seconds before shutting off. While it behaved/performed normally after we fixed the chain (chain tools and spare links are good to keep handy), I worry about the internal (belt/gear) wear and long-term effects this incident might've caused.

Any thoughts? Has this happened to any of you with other Brose (or any brand) equipped ebikes?
I have a thought. Stop worrying about it. You've got a lot of warranty left and the peeps at brose likely have better things to worry about than what may happen down the road because of high speed spin up. There are no rod, valves, or any timing issues like a gasser. A belt and a couple of horizontal bearings that likely could spin to 10k.

TruTru9
2 months ago

Where do I go to check these things?

I have noticed some comments about this bike where people were saying it's a great commuter bike. I thought you couldn't ride mountain bikes on the road? Am I misunderstanding something? I apologize. I don't know anything about MTB!

TruTru9
2 months ago

You sound like a very nice brother and generous.

I don't think you want to suprise your brother with this.....special needs or not.

Does he currently ride a bicycle on a regular basis? Cause if he doesn't he's going to be overwhelmed by a really fast bicycle..

I wish I could take credit for the idea. It was one of his co-worker's that had the idea to get him an ebike.

He has a single speed bike that he has been riding to work. He is starting to dislike buses. He takes back roads and neighborhoods to avoid the bike lane as much as possible. It takes him hours to get to work. One of his co-workers came up with the idea to hook him up with an electric bike so the commute doesn't have to be so 'hard' and a little bit more 'fun'

I thought I made a decision and ordered the raleigh redux small but the order ended up not going through and of course I'm having second thoughts now.

We have a few special needs customers, and they tend to be hard on their bikes and greatly benefit from having us nearby to help with any issues. If possible, I suggest buying from someone within riding distance.

This is exactly why I wanted to find something that's low maintenance as possible. So I was looking at bikes with internal hubs, nuvinci harmony, belt drives etc etc just so that everything can be as simple as possible and it's not so overwhelming but then I decided to just break the surprise. I TOLD him he is getting an ebike and I regret it so much because now he has a FAVORITE and of course it's the fastest and the super super expensive one. He doesn't understand money :) He wanted the Bulls E-stream FS 45 which doesn't even look like it's street legal. So now, no matter what else I get, it's going to be the 2nd best :(

LimboJim
2 months ago

Yesterday I let a friend ride my E-Stream FS3 27.5+. He'd only ridden Bosch ebikes before this, and didn't remember that I'd told him there were two front chain rings. Although he's an experienced cyclist, he ended up audibly cross-chaining, but I didn't think it necessary to check the chain for damage - OOPS!

A bit later, while climbing a steep hill, the chain broke and the motor spun to what sounded like well over 1k RPMs - it made a frighteningly loud, extremely high-pitched whine for maybe 5-10 seconds before shutting off. While it behaved/performed normally after we fixed the chain (chain tools and spare links are good to keep handy), I worry about the internal (belt/gear) wear and long-term effects this incident might've caused.

Any thoughts? Has this happened to any of you with other Brose (or any brand) equipped ebikes?
Disappointment in Bulls' customer service has prevailed thus far...

Correspondence has ceased from
Bulls regarding my eMTB's Brose motor winding out loudly after a chain break. While the bike continues to perform normally for now, I'm genuinely concerned about long term effects and/or this happening again.

Their last email three weeks ago said I'd have a response from their German HQ tech department two weeks ago (or maybe Brose), but I've heard nothing, nor have they replied to my weekly follow ups. Next time I post on this I really hope it's better news, like maybe a software glitch that can be updated on some such.

Lenny
2 months ago

Ken,

We don't like it when customers try to blackmail.
When your Haibike did not come on time, you were offered a floor bike. It was specifically mentioned to you that it was a floor model (3 month old) and offered a you huge discount for that.
While doing a software update on that bike, we realized that the rear shock needs to be replaced and we offered you another floor model (E-stream FS3 29er). Both of these bikes were on the floor but still new. They did not have more than 15 miles on the ODO.
Few people had test ridden on rainy days and that's why you notice some dust on the bottom bracket but everything else was in great shape.

When we heard you were not happy with the bike you received, we immediately sent you free return label and offered you few other options for a brand new bike.
What really irks me most is that when you speak on the phone, you agree to get a floor model and then you come here talking as if we duped you.

In the end, we completely refunded him ( bike, onward and return shipping ) etc and ate a $500 loss.

kennyzzz
2 months ago

This is my experience with a Wisconsin dealer I ordered from.
I ordered a new bicycle (haibike and after 10 days of no information from them , I called them and asked for a update and was told that the haibike was moving from California to Denver. they offered a better bike but at more money . I repeatably asked if it was a new bike,, I ok the extra money. 4 days later i see a tracking number, I repeatably asked if I was getting a new bike. was told yes. when my bike came i see it was a different model on the box, so before opening i called them, was told they used a different box. they sent me the the upgraded bike i pay extra for... Now remember i was told it would be a new bike.
but it was used. these were the pictures i sent them.

and they still insisted it was new.
how can you say this is a new bike. their was a bottle mounted on the down tube,( when does a new bike have stains like that a the down-tube) obvious ware marks on the chain ring, bash plate bashed and scratched .. i sent them these Pictures and they still said they said it a new bicycle, this was part owner of company that I sent pictures too and was talking too. What really upset me was that they waited two days after I sent these pictures to them too admit it while it the same time trying to up-sale a different bicycle and pay more shipping charge.
I lost all Trust in them when they insisted they sent me a new Bike when these pictures obviously are of a used machine .( they Finally admitted their mistake but after only after 2 days of me trying to get a return shipping )
Try to boil it down to bulletin points ..
1--- ordered a haibike waited 10 days for tracking # I call them to ask for update was told my salesman was off duty and was scheduled the next day.
2 -- Part owner of company calls me offers me upgraded Bike at a great price .
But then I still have to talk to my salesman the next day because for some reason the part owner can't Complete the transaction .Call and my original salesman next day and he thinks the bike I was offered by part owner might be too tall for me so he suggests same bike brand but different model which there would be a great deal .. And so after four days later I get tracking number figure four days for a bike to be shipped to them. as you see in the above pictures this was obviously a used bike, I was talking to part owner after he seen these pictures
but (part owner) was like trying to make me feel like I was being a bad guy by not accepting the used bike.

Well that's my experience with them. He kept saying he wanted me to have a good experience but when you send me a used bike and will not admit it.
they lost all trust with me... I mean, they look at the pictures and try to tell me it was a new bike .
I sent him those pictures and (part owner )was trying to tell me it was a new bike.
well that was my experience with them.
*( they Finally admitted their mistake but after only after 2 days of me trying to get a return shipping )*
I came to this site doing research on ebikes.
anyway this was my experience with them.

For those that had great luck online, I'm happy for you, I'm sharing my experience. My heart sank. I had such excitement waiting for the bicycle, and then when I start to put it together and I looked at the bottle cage, the leaver to remove the battery is rusting, then looking at the chain ring and seeing severe usage, so then I look underneath and I see mud and scratches /mud stains motor. This definitely looks way more than just a test ride in a rain. (maybe it was tested at mountain bike trail.) Nobody was more upset than myself, especially when obviously these pictures show a used machine. And then I'm been told I was sent a new bicycle, I wanted to be one of the people that had a great experience online. That was not my experience.
looks like more then 15 miles

rust

that looks like more then tested on a rain day

I have no idea how much water or mud was inside that hole on the bottom.. it is their to drain water from the engine. their was mud stain around the inside hole,

(my response to this post is in blue color )
From post # 3
We don't like it when customers try to blackmail.
I'm not trying to blackmail anyone, just sharing my experience with my buying experience with your company.

When your Haibike did not come on time, you were offered a floor bike. It was specifically mentioned to you that it was a floor model (3 month old) and offered a you huge discount for that.
I repeatedly asked if I was getting a new bike,was told it would be a new bike.

While doing a software update on that bike, we realized that the rear shock needs to be replaced and we offered you another floor model (E-stream FS3 29er). Both of these bikes were on the floor but still new. They did not have more than 15 miles on the ODO.
Few people had test ridden on rainy days and that's why you notice some dust on the bottom bracket but everything else was in great shape.
this is not dust,, these are the pictures i sent to your shop, and i was told it was a new bike,was this bike test in a mountain bike race for less than 15 miles on it. Also as the consumer, their is no odometer on this model,( bulls E-stream FS3 29er) show only miles per hour not how miles are ridden,( from reading about the bike online, it could have 400 miles , we the consumer have no way of knowing how many miles are on the bike)

When we heard you were not happy with the bike you received, we immediately sent you free return label and offered you few other options for a brand new bike.

NO i was made to feel like a fool for not accepting a used bike, it was 2 days later that i was sent a return shipping label.

What really irks me most is that when you speak on the phone, you agree to get a floor model and then you come here talking as if we duped you.
I 'm just sharing my experience i had for your store online. unfortunately my experience was not very good. I am sharing what happened to me, this was my experience. to those that Those that had a great experience,, I too wanted to be one of them,, I order a new ebike from you,I was sent a used bicycle. and then I spent a couple of sleepless nights trying to get a return shipping label while still being told (talking to a part owner of your company on the telephone that I was sent a new bicycle when obviously these pictures show a used a machine. )

In the end, we completely refunded him ( bike, onward and return shipping ) etc and ate a $500 loss.

unfortunately my experience was not very good. I am sharing what happened to me, this was my experience. to those that Those that had a great experience,, I too wanted to be one of them,, I order a new ebike from them was sent a used bicycle. and then I spent a couple of sleepless nights trying to get a return shipping label while still being told that I was sent a new bicycle when obviously these pictures show a used a machine.

PaulGee
2 months ago

RoadWrinkle - Sorry about your experience with the online dealer. You seem to have taken it much better than I would have but it is good to know you eventually were able to sort it out. I am thinking about purchasing a Bulls e-stream MTB in the future and curious what your specific problem was with the Bulls motor performance that was "100%" resloved with the manufacturer? I think I read on the forum somewhere that they recently did a software update but not sure if it improved the power delivery.

I completely agree with your statements about the Brose motor. It is really not a subjective observation since it is documented elsewhere that the motor is less powerful than all the other major mid-drive systems out there, especially compared to the Bosch system. Like you said it is probably not the ideal setup for heavier riders like yourself. Court who is a lightweight at 135 lbs mentioned he does not have any real problems climbing with any of these mid-drives. Have you (or others reading this) taken your Brose bike on any paved or off-road patths with grades in the 12-15% range? I am curious how much pedaling effort is required in the lower gears in full assist mode? Of course, at minimum one has to consider the weight load on the bike (rider and gear) to make any useful comparisons. With my aging body, I am lucky to pedal at 4 mph up such grades on a 20 lb bike ... without significant pedal assist I would never be able to make it up the hills around here with a 54 lb bike.

Peter Polling
2 months ago

Not sure we can think of torque and power as separate aspects. You can measure torque with a meter, but power is a product of torque and the motors rpm's, as with the equation for horsepower ( hp=T x rpm/ 5252). Torque at the wheels is the torque at the motor combined with the additional leverage given by the chain through gearing. With a 10-speed cassette and dual chain rings, the BULLS "transmission" definitely has the climbing torque 'potential'; but the drive train receives only the power coming from the motor and your pedaling, even though the rear wheel gets the resulting force combination. So if you lack power, you lack torque.

Bottom line, I was not getting the amount of assist I need to even get up to 15-20mph on flat ground with no headwind. However, the bike climbs well as long as you are working the pedals fairly hard. I have discussed this at length with BULLS USA and they explain the design is for "riders" who want help getting up hills, as well as the look and feel of a classic bike. Their website reads in part: "The E-STREAM EVO models are classic bikes with a little extra push, whether you’re pedaling on or off road."

My point is that I think they went a little too far with the classic bike feel to the point that the e-assist is so weak it does not justify the 52 lbs overall weight of the bike. I am a large 6-2" 250 lbs rider in fairly good shape and this bike is just more of a workout than I want on an electric bike. I have owned a 350w Bosch CX Haibike and, although it does not have the power of my older 500w/48v/20a motiv cruiser with a hub motor; I never felt like it did not have enough assist. The BULLS/Brose bike is noticeably under powered as compared to my old stuff; and this was a surprise to me. The bike performs extremely well in terms of overall design and components, my problem is with the Brose 250w/37v/20a system. So I have learned by this experience that the larger riders like me really need a minimum 500w/48v/30a configuration. Also, the manufacturers should not be advertising these 250w/36-37v systems as "powerful"...that is a misrepresentation.

I disagree. I can get to 40-42 kmph without wind when I work with the bike. My wifes Flyer works a little bit harder, so she doesnt have to work as hard, both have 250 watt motor.

RoadWrinkle
2 months ago

is it power or torque you feel is lacking
Not sure we can think of torque and power as separate aspects. You can measure torque with a meter, but power is a product of torque and crank/motor shaft RPM (hp=T x rpm/ 5252). Torque at the rear wheel is the torque at the motor combined with the additional leverage given by the chain through gearing. The BULLS 29er has a 10-speed cassette and dual chain rings, so the "transmission" definitely has the climbing torque potential; but the drive train receives only the power coming from the motor and your pedaling, even though the rear wheel gets the resulting force combination. So if you lack power, you lack torque.

Bottom line, I was not getting the amount of assist I need to even get up to 20mph on flat ground with no headwind and brisk pedaling. However, the bike climbs well as long as you are working the pedals fairly hard. I have discussed this at length with BULLS USA and they explain the design is for "riders" who want help getting up hills, as well as the look and feel of a classic bike. Their website reads in part: "The E-STREAM EVO models are classic bikes with a little extra push, whether you’re pedaling on or off road."

My point is that I think they went a little too far with the classic bike feel to the point that the e-assist is so weak it does not justify the 52 lbs overall weight of the bike. In fairness, I am a large 6-2" 250 lbs rider in fairly good shape, but this bike is more of a workout than I want on an electric bike. I have owned a 350w Bosch performance line Haibike and, although it does not have the power of my older 500w/48v/20a motiv cruiser with a hub motor; I never felt like it did not have enough assist. The BULLS/Brose bike is noticeably under powered as compared to my old stuff; and this was a surprise to me. The bike performs extremely well in terms of overall design and components, my problem is with the Brose 250w/37v/20a system. So I have learned by this experience that the larger riders like me really need a minimum 500w/48v/30a configuration. Also, the manufacturers should not be advertising these 250w/36-37v systems as "powerful"...that is a misrepresentation.

fxr3
2 months ago

I also just purchased a Bulls Evo Stream FS 2 Plus. This is my 2nd e-bike. I have to agree with John F here. For something like an expensive e-bike, it's in the customer's best interest to buy from a local dealer who can service the bike. The software update just barely came out, so I don't see how it is fair to criticize Bulls. It sounded like they were trying to make it right for the buyer. I want to see e-bikes and all the manufacturers and local dealers flourish. It's better for everyone. I bought my e-bike from Great Western E-Bikes in North Salt Lake, Utah. The customer service has been fantastic. The Bulls bike doesn't have quite the same power of my other e-bike, but I can still make it up all of the steep hills, and I get 3 times the range, which is so much better for peace of mind while riding. This is a high quality bike. So far I love it and would encourage anyone to buy from a local dealer.
Everyone would perfer to buy from local dealer. But depending on ones abilitys and past experiences- a case could be made to buy from afar. Examples: you don't like local dealer and he wasn't much support last time around. Volume dealers discounts are tempting, In Bulls case, they don't discourage it- for sure. Me- 400 miles away from Bulls dealer, I'll buy from my friend 900 miles away. And feel good about giving him the sale.

Brian Salisbury
2 months ago

Long time lurker and decided to sign-up and post to this thread. I don't have a dog in this fight. My bike is from another manufacturer and I have no relationship with Bulls but I felt compelled to post because I don't like at all what I'm reading here. Maybe there are some extenuating circumstances but based on what I've read here the buyer's conduct is similar to what buyers try to do in other situations relating to different products and needs to be challenged.

I believe the manufacturer who said all bikes have the current firmware when they are shipped from the warehouse. Buyer decided to not support local bike shops and maybe save some money buying out of the area. Not a problem - his choice. The out of area retailer is at fault for not flashing the latest firmware. Now the buyer is angry because the local shops are expected to support him for free after he chose to not support them. The manufacturer appears to have made a good faith effort to help him, but his anger is directed at the manufacturer because they would not either cover the cost of of a local shop's labor or otherwise try to coerce a local shop to perform the upgrade for free. A better recourse would have been to contact the out of area dealer and see if they would reimburse $100 of what he paid to cover the cost of the local shop's labor.

What is offensive to me is is the use of social media, this forum in particular, into trying to intimidate the manufacturer to cover for the choice the buyer made or punish the manufacturer for not complying. Would have been better and in my opinion more honorable to suck up the costs and realize the $100 offsets the probable lower price he paid to the out of area shop. The customer is not always right.

I also just purchased a Bulls Evo Stream FS 2 Plus. This is my 2nd e-bike. I have to agree with John F here. For something like an expensive e-bike, it's in the customer's best interest to buy from a local dealer who can service the bike. The software update just barely came out, so I don't see how it is fair to criticize Bulls. It sounded like they were trying to make it right for the buyer. I want to see e-bikes and all the manufacturers and local dealers flourish. It's better for everyone. I bought my e-bike from Great Western E-Bikes in North Salt Lake, Utah. The customer service has been fantastic. The Bulls bike doesn't have quite the same power of my other e-bike, but I can still make it up all of the steep hills, and I get 3 times the range, which is so much better for peace of mind while riding. This is a high quality bike. So far I love it and would encourage anyone to buy from a local dealer.

Imran Iqbal
1 week ago

Wish u would post price at the beginning, coz I got all excited until I find the price lol

Greg McMahon
2 weeks ago

I think the Brose mid drive sounds the best to me of all the manufacturers you have featured.

Larry Conger
1 week ago

Greg McMahon Bosch system is by far the best just an all around good product including the very simple intuvia display

seydina diagne
2 weeks ago

Please do the sondors X not the fold but the regular X. the battery is different and it seems like a big upgrade to the previous ones thanks

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Thanks for the request! I'll keep an eye out for the new Sondors models, thanks Seydina :D

CypressRacing
2 weeks ago

Would you trade it for your Levo Expert? lol

Larry Conger
1 week ago

ElectricBikeReview.com I'm still a fan of the Bulls fat bike u reviewed the Monster E FS but the paint job sux near the seat tube but it has the best motor the Bosch system! I love the Haibikes Xduro s of course which is a little cheaper and a very good product in my opinion.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

No, I like the geometry of the Stumpjumper and Levo (designed around the same frame) for a bit more all mountain riding vs. cross country. The Bulls display is easier to work with and I love the Micro-USB but I don't need 20 speeds so the cross country setup here just doesn't suit my ride style. Also, the Levo was out a lot earlier so I wouldn't have had the choice. I do appreciate the $2,500 I would have saved getting this vs. the Levo Expert though. Specialized gave me a dealer cost discount because I reviewed it but I still spent what seems like a fortune.

Mark Elford
2 weeks ago

Very nice machine, cant wait to pick through these expensive bikes in a few year for DIY ebike parts.

Karl Fonner
2 weeks ago

Did you have the rear suspension adjusted right ?it looks like it wouldn't even move

Karl Fonner
2 weeks ago

ElectricBikeReview.com makes sense thanks for your response

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

I don't think so, they usually set them up with too much air pressure for me because I only weight 135 lbs... they put higher PSI for demo events since a wide range of people will be trying the bike and they don't want it to bottom out. Great observation ;)

SteveCrosby789
2 weeks ago

I really like to watch the reviews but lately I have been skipping them at the first mention of the prices. These are breaking into used car territory. A BIKE over $1500 is a very serious purchase for many people. I realize these are very high end, well featured and equipped bikes, but there are those of use that will never be able to get one of these. Your reviews are very comprehensive and thorough and that is very appreciated. Would it be possible to feature some lower end bikes as well, as you pass through the market place? I know they won't be as much fun to test and put through their paces but there has to be more economically priced bikes out there. Thanks as always.

Go Ya
8 hours ago

It's not really that hard to find some value e-bikes... you can buy plenty of them from http://www.aliexpress.com or (alibaba.com). You can even just pay $200 for a conversion kit.

I know you may say made in China, but many of these high-end bikes are made in China as well. Shenzen is a higher-end manufacturing center in China (like their silicon valley).

Worth looking at products from there... also I read those with a high number of positive customer reviews:

https://www.aliexpress.com/w/wholesale-electric-bike.html?spm=2114.search0104.0.0.1gP3BY&site=glo&SearchText=electric+bike&g=y&SortType=total_tranpro_desc&groupsort=1&tc=af&initiative_id=RS_20170723031410

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Yeah, there have been a lot of expensive ebikes lately. I try to mix in the value products but am limited on funds to buy them and very few shops carry them. As I travel around, I do seek them out and I'll keep doing that for you :)

James Mason
2 weeks ago

that black with the yellow looks great

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

You're right, it helps the motor and battery blend in and I love how they carried it all the way through to the suspension and saddle. Very nice :D

Chris Stassis
2 weeks ago

does anyone have 4 grand I can borrow?

Chris Stassis
2 weeks ago

Baron Of Hell ata boy

Baron Of Hell
2 weeks ago

Yeah I'm going to send you a couple of diamonds from my diamond mine.

Mark
2 weeks ago

I really like this one ☝️

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 weeks ago

Looks sweet... Do you ride cross country? or just commenting on the design and paint :)