EV Global Motors ebike SX Review

Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Electric Bike Review
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx 500 Watt Motor
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Battery
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Controller
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Headlight
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Electric Bike Review
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx 500 Watt Motor
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Battery
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Controller
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Headlight

Summary

  • A high powered, feature rich electric bike ahead of its time designed by Lee Iacocca (the pioneering engineer behind classic Ford and Chevy automobiles)
  • Discontinued, EV Global Motor Company went out of business
  • Strong 500 watt geared rear hub motor by Heinzmann paired with capable 36 volt SLA battery
  • Full of extras and creature comforts including front and rear headlights, side mirror, fenders, a horn and a shock on the fork and seat post

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

EV Global Motors

Model:

ebike SX

Price:

$2,000 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2005

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

75 lbs ( 34.01 kg )

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Fork Details:

Nitro DH Triple Suspension with 75 mm Travel

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7

Shifter Details:

Grip Twist

Cranks:

170 mm

Pedals:

Aluminum Alloy Platform

Brake Details:

Mechanical Disc in Front, V-Brake in Rear

Seat Post:

Suspension Shock

Rims:

26" x 1.5" Double Wall, Rear 36 Hole, Front 32 Hole

Spokes:

14 Gauge Stainless

Tire Brand:

26" x 1.95"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in ( 66.04 cm )

Accessories:

Front and Rear Fenders, Front and Rear lights, Single Side Kickstand, Built-in Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Heinzmann

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub (brushed)
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

288 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Sealed Lead Acid

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles ( 24 km )

Estimated Max Range:

20 miles ( 32 km )

Display Type:

LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level

Display Accessories:

Horn, Cruise Control

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

17.5 mph ( 28 kph ) (12.5 mph in Economy Mode)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The ebike SX was one of the higher end EV Global Motor electric bikes designed by Lee Iacocca who is famous for engineering the Ford Mustang and Ford Pinto cars. After leaving Ford he served as President and CEO of Chrysler from 1978 and as chairman from 1979 until retirement in 1992. In 1999 he became the head of EV Global Motors, a company formed to develop and market electric bikes in the US. It is said that he was inspired by innovation happening in Asian markets and wanted to bring his expertise from the automotive space to enhance bikes in America.

Powering the ebike SX is a beefy 500 watt geared brushed rear hub motor made by Heinzmann (known for their high quality systems). This is one of the more powerful motors of its time and is capable of moving larger riders. That said, motors from this time period were more prone to having gears stripped if used forcefully up hills without assistance. The motor is activated by using a trigger on the right handle bar. The left handle bar features a grip shifter which controls 7 gears on a standard rear cassette. It also features an adjustable side mirror for keeping track of passing cycles and vehicles.

The battery pack on this bike was built right into the oversized downtube and consisted of a 36 volt 8 amp hour sealed Lead-acid pack. This technology was state of the art at its time but does not rival modern Lithium-ion cells which tend to be much lighter and more capable of enduring thousands of charge cycles before losing capacity. That, compared with just ~250 estimated for the ebike SX and other bikes using SLA technology. In addition to the battery pack being located within the frame there is also a controller board and charging system. Newer ebikes tend to externalize the charger converter in a brick attached to the cord with the plug.

While the range, charge cycles and top speed on this bike are not very impressive by today’s standards, the fenders, horn, shock absorber, built in cruise control and design aesthetics still ring true. In fact, the SX and other EV Global ebike models look strikingly similar to the popular R series by Optibike. By integrating the wires, battery pack and controller into the oversized downtube, the chances of direct damage and weathering are greatly reduced. Considering the 75lb weight of this bike, the front disc brake was a welcome edition for riding in wet conditions. In terms of ride quality, this bike doesn’t feel as stiff as many newer ebikes but that’s due in large part to the weight.

The front and rear lights are ultra-bright and massive when compared with more modern offerings that often forgo lights altogether. The seat post shock makes a difference when riding over bumps and compliments the front shock well. If you see this bike at a garage sale or used bike store be sure to consider the lack of replacement parts available. Everything from the twist throttle to the controller and especially the batteries are hard to find. In the video review above you may notice the bike I was testing has a battery pack strapped onto a rear rack. This is due to the challenge of finding custom sized batteries that can fit inside the downtube. I’ve been told that if the trigger throttle on this bike breaks you can sometimes retrofit a throttle from Currie Technologies.

The ebike SX is an electric bike that led the way, inspired others to join in and ultimately proved to be ahead of its time. It’s not a very useful machine these days due to the limited replacement parts and abundance of new high-tech offerings but it’s still iconic and fun. For a collector or tinkerer this could be a worthwhile project but for most people it’s just something to be appreciated and acknowledged as a forerunner to modern ebikes.

Pros:

  • Powerful motor capable of moving larger riders and ascending medium hills with pedal assistance
  • Super bright front and rear headlights keep you safe at night
  • Front fork shock and seat post shock smooth out the bumps
  • Front and rear fenders keep dust, mud and water away
  • Front disc brake provides great stopping power in wet conditions
  • Includes a kickstand and metal bash guard on front chain ring

Cons:

  • No longer being produced, replacement parts becoming rare
  • Stock sealed Lead-acid battery was heavy and could only endure ~250 charges before losing capacity
  • No pedal assist mode, throttle only
  • Heavy bike with awkward frame that’s hard to lock up and a challenge to fit on hanging style car racks due to the lack of a top tube
  • Brushed style motors wear out faster and this older gear style may be prone to stripping if pushed too hard
  • Built in cruise control made riding over longer distances easier on the thumb

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

Hanle van Niekerk
3 years ago

We bought an Electric Bike a few years ago and struggling to get it working again. We are based in South Africa.

Can you please advise us on how to get the wiring diagram for the bike or who we can contact to assist us in this matter.

Thank you and regards,
Hanle van Niekerk

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hello Hanle, there are ways to get the ebike SX and other EV Global Motors electric bikes going again. Usually it has to do with replacing the battery but it sounds like you're looking for help with wiring. There is a thread talking about this over on the forums at https://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/evg-ebike-upgrades.244/ and some more information at NYCeWheels http://www.nycewheels.com/ebike.html

I hope this helps you! The biggest challenge may be finding the right components in Africa to fix your existing bike. Feel free to join the discussion in the forums and ask for more advice :)

Sally Dillon
2 years ago

Hi, I have 2 ebikes in my garage. They are probably 15 years old? Need new batteries and tires. What is the best place to source these items, or to resell my bikes to other ebike enthusiasts?

Court Rye
2 years ago

That is a great question Sally... I really have no idea about this but have seen some of the older EV Global ebikes on display at shops in California and Florida just for fun (like a museum). You could always post them in the deals forum here for sale or ask around for help from other ebike enthusiasts in the EV Global Motors forum.

Eric Borcherding
2 years ago

On the EVG SX36 e-bike by Lee Iaocca. What a machine, and what a dream! One can convert these bikes to quite good performance:

1) Using the stock battery case fit in a LiNiMnCo 37V 10.8 AHr from BatterySpace (special order). At an astounding 6pds greatly lowers 15pds from L.A. 6 pack conversion of 6 x 6V * 9Ahr Powersonics (21 Pds). Big step...
2) Or try a 38.4V 15AHr LiFePO4 imotor @12pds bearing phenominal range / speed. 32KPH max, range of 60KM alone. This pack is simply, Kick-Ass. Snug fit into compartment with required BMS and connector mod; try 6 pack trailer connector. This is bested by 2 x 18.5V 18650 Lions self-build 7pd packs with a tricky BMS, dual chargers and stuffed full battery compartment fill, for more range.
3) Change 12V35W Halogen to Xenon QuteQueen LED H3mod 5W@14V, 82% energy saved for motor in night rides.
4) Alternately the Heinzmann PE speed motor at 470W vs. 500W brushed motor adds a few KPHs.
5) Choose tires with solid narrow center rubber, pumped at ~45PSI, like German made Chamberlands brown walls.
6) Keep the bike lubed and drivetrain / bearings clean, adjust brakes for no-drag.

Happy Trails... Eric

Court Rye
2 years ago

Awesome information on conversion Eric! Thanks for sharing this. I checked out your website on LED's and found it interesting. Looks like you're pretty skilled with electronics and hardware :)

greg znamenacek
9 months ago

Where might I find use parts for ebike LX thank greg

Court Rye
9 months ago

I've visited a couple of shops that have units in the back and they might be willing to sell you parts or the entire bike for a good price. One such shop is The Electric Bike Shop in Sacramento, California and the other is Myron's Extreme Machines in Fullerton, California. No guarantees on either, they may or may not still have them but I have seen this unit in both shops over the past several years. Also, you could ask around in the EBR Community Forums here under For Sale or Q&A and ask for Ann M. who used to own a shop in Austin, Texas. She might know :)

GB
6 months ago

You can also get parts from: electricwheelsofflorida on eBay. They have OEM parts for the e-bike. Good Luck!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Thomas Jaszewski
22 hours ago
Chris Nolte
Pretty cool Tom! I used to manage a garden center before I got into the ebike biz. I'll have a new appreciation for the plants at Mirage next time in Vegas. Do you live in Vegas btw?
Nope retired in 2007. When Wynn sold everything changed. MGM went uber cheap. No more rare plants and travel to collect cool stuff. Now just Home Depot quality greenery. I can hardly stand to look at pictures...
I retied to tropical SE corner of MN.
THANKS!
Chris Nolte
22 hours ago
Pretty cool Tom! I used to manage a garden center before I got into the ebike biz. I'll have a new appreciation for the plants at Mirage next time in Vegas. Do you live in Vegas btw?
Wes Lem
23 hours ago
I am a big fan of Schwalbe Bike Tires and Tubes. Specifically any Schwalbe in the Marathon series offers tremendous protection against flats. I use Schwalbe exclusively on my road bikes and hybrids in Goats Head season in the SF Bay area and I have not experienced any flats. One of the first upgrades performed on my new Juiced Cross Currents Electric Bike is swapping the oem Kenda EBike Tires (700x45) and tubes with Schwalbe Marathon Supremes in the 700 x 40C folding tires and Schwalbe standard tubes with the presta valve. Improved rolling distance due to the high pressure tires, currently inflated to 85 PSI and most of my riding is on the pavement sothe tread pattern is optimal for my riding profile. Less rolling resistance equals improved battery life and a peppier acceleration off the line and at lower speeds.
Thomas Jaszewski
24 hours ago
Buy from California eBike.
George S.
1 day ago
JRA
"Some of the throttles are terrible. You can't tune the throttles or the speed controls decently."

With a CA V.3 you can and more. Not a cheap part but I have found it essential to better understanding what the capabilities of my bike are in regards to range and tracking my wh/mi. You can tune your throttle parameters and enable cruise control easily. I use a standard cheap thumb throttle and have put it through some water torture and it keeps working but I think that there could be a better one that is thinner, fits different bar diameters and definitely waterproof made for sure. View attachment 12597

Pardon the clunky throttle mount. I feel the placement is right where it is, just need to get a better solution going than a chunk of handlebar, some bar end plugs, a washer and zip ties covered in electrical tape. Anybody out there have a 3D printer?
Hi,

I use some high amperage displays I get on Amazon for watts and watt hours. That's set up. I bought a Bluetooth setup for the GM MP5, but it's been kind of a bust. For most of my riding, where the road is smooth enough, the speed control works of. There are things that should be accessories for the Golden Motors, mostly PAS stuff, but it's poorly thought out. I hate throwing money at a problem. Nothing is ever perfect. If I need the CA it's going to end up on three ebikes. Bit too much. They should make the Bluetooth and the app and the controller programming work.

I'm not sure how to make ebikes work for people. In 2010, when oil was high, a lot of people were pushing transportation alternatives. But it's a hard sell in the West, and the momentum seems to have vanished around here.

The big thing to me is battery prices. Musk/Tesla are now saying their cell cost on the Reno facility is around $125 per kWh. That means a cell cost for an ebike, basic, is around $70. You can't get that cost, now, but a price is a price and it has to filter down eventually. With these bigger Tesla cells, you do a few spot welds, add some control circuitry and a case, and what does it cost?

I see a huge mass market for very basic bikes and very basic power systems. That has to take off, I think, before you can sell a lot of refined bikes. There are bike purists who bring the road bike fanatic mindset to ebikes, endless refinement with very little payoff for real basic riders. And there are performance junkies who can't stop pushing everything beyond what normal people, generally 50 and up, need. They see a cheap thrill. I see a long hospital stay.

Thanks!
Nirmala
2 days ago
Thanks Ann. That is helpful. It does seem like the motor is trying to do regenerative braking!

I rode my wife's bike today and it was remarkably quiet.....so I think it is something inside the motor. The Pedego store only works on Pedego bikes, but I found someone nearby who works on ebikes and I am taking the bike over there tomorrow. It will be nice to have a quiet ebike for a change.
NateM
2 days ago
Dunbar
I went to a local e-bike expo this weekend and rode a bunch of e-bikes. The Cross Current is hard to beat for <$2k. I would highly recommend spending the extra $300 to get the 500wH battery. The throttle is nice for climbing and maxing out the power from low speeds. The one complaint I have about the Cross Current is the low end responsiveness. It feels pretty flat below 15mph but it's a rocket ship above that speed. If you deal with a lot of stop and go traffic you might want to go with something else. If you can increase your budget I was very impressed with the Smart Motion Pacer and Catalyst. They are more responsive down low, peak at an impressive 900w, and come very well equipped. The Pacer with the bigger battery reminds me a lot of the Stromer ST2 at half the price. I would probably add a suspension fork (which Smart Motion says they can do) and the optional Body Float seat post (which comes with the bigger battery) if I was commuting on it.
The Smart Motion Pacer looks incredible! I wish I could justify paying that much for a bike! Any suggestions on how I could land a deal on one of those before next summer? I'll probably end up with a Crosscurrent which I'm sure I'll be satisfied with as my first ebike!
Marc V
2 days ago
This weekend me and buddy were going to go play ping pong and we were both on bicycles, I was on my eBike and he was on his Trek Tour bike.

He runs the ping pong club and we were running a bit late so he told me he would jump on the train because we were running late and it was cold.

So we left at the same time and I beat him to the venue! haha

It was in the low 30 degrees Fahrenheit and I wasn't freezing but I was a bit nippy, so will try an to continue to incorporate everyone's tips on this thread, thanks again! lol
Marc V
2 days ago
Nice eBike, if I win the lottery, I'll add it to my buy list after getting my, Tesla Solar Roof, Tesla Power Walls and Tesla Cars lol
Thomas Jaszewski
2 days ago
George S.
I love two of my DIY bikes. I love the motor on the third, the Mac, but the frame is wrong and there's no front suspension.

I used to want a Haibike, but I won't go along with the small and proprietary battery. People should argue about battery safety, but let's face it. You can weld a pack together, use a basic BMS, and make sure the case is decent. Beyond that, what are you buying in terms of safety, and what does it cost?

I'm camping out in the desert. I have solar to charge everything, including the ebike. The terrain is flat, but very uneven and very rocky. The cheap Trek 820 handles it very well, with Marathon MTB tires. (Golden MP5 rear). You need a 2.xx tire for bad terrain. I just plow through everything except deep gravel.

I noticed that Prodeco Tech and Lectric are both sponsoring Crowdfunders, basically for BMX bikes. This is what I love. New bikes or bikes from my early years with a power plant. I don't know if these things will catch on, but we need DIY outfits to partner and do crowdfunders where there is a higher level of trust.

Eric is right, the alt-ebikers are winning. I don't think Bosch will go away, but they shouldn't count on high priced bikes and proprietary systems for a lot of sales. But the power argument is self-defeating. If we lose 750 watt ebikes because 1500 to 3000 watt bikes create problems, then we are Europe.

Most of what people know about ebikes is marketing garbage. Mid-drives are OK, but they bring their own issues and the cost structure is not very good for entry level ebikes. Most configurations of DIY ebikes work OK. The rider adapts and balances the bike. I've loaded 35 pounds of motor and battery on the back and it works OK. Some of it is better traction. DIY systems have marginal controls. Some of the throttles are terrible. You can't tune the throttles or the speed controls decently. Work on that.

I ride ten miles through here every day. There are maybe 50,000 RV's out here, scattered on dozens of miles of desert. (Quartzsite, Az) I never see another ebike. So I zip along the main roads at maybe 16 mph and try to make it seem like this is the most fun anyone could have. This would be a great place to sell ebikes. Lots of ATV's. I'm silent and I can go anywhere. I wonder if I can haul a portable dump behind my bike?

If you guys argue too much, you are losing sight of expanding the market. Places like this are full of people with expensive rigs, so an ebike could be an impulse buy.

I'm glad to see Ravi (or is it Crazy Ravi now) and Eric engaged. There's a lack of energy in ebikes. I don't understand why the darned thing hasn't taken off.
I hate to see another match of insults as on other forums and that narrow view. Unless it stays civil. Lenny and Madison is a big market. Developers of city trail systems are not anxious to see 30-40mph bikes on the multiuser trails. They will bring regulations. Right, wrong, or indifferent, that will be the outcome.
Ann M.
2 days ago
49 lbs is reasonably light in the world of electric bikes @Mark Troncale. If you purchase a purpose built ebike then there can be structural differences in the frame designed to help with the extra stress and torque of an electric motor and protect the battery. Mountain bikes are not the lightest weight bikes to begin with, so allow for that weight and enjoy the power. You could go the DIY route with a future ebike and do a setup with a mid drive on a lighter bike; that might shave a bit of weight off but your Specialized Levo is a nice bike.
Buderim
3 days ago
Ann M.
Good points, @Berry78; like the negotiating tips too!

@NateM, ask the owner if they will allow you to take the bike (with an appropriate deposit or owner goes with you) to a reputable ebike shop for a check over by a tech who's knowledgeable about Easy Motion bikes. Call ahead to the shop to see if they can schedule a time for you. I am also concerned about the age/amount of miles on this bike. If it's a 2014, the actual manufacture time may be in 2013 (so 3 years old) which isn't bad but also not really brand new. Be sure to test ride the bike on some hills and check the acceleration to get a feel for how well this motor & battery perform. BH ebikes are well built, so this could be a good buy, but work the price for certain.
What is the best way to store the battery ?

I will not be using my neo race for the next 4 months and dont want to damage the battery .

Thanks
Ian
bob armani
3 days ago
Mark Troncale
I absolutely love it! It has more torque than my other ebike and it look cool. My only complaint is it weights 49 pounds.
I am with you Mark on the weight of most of these mtn ebikes. Get them down to about 40lbs or so and the market will pick up considerably IMHO.
Ann M.
3 days ago
@Nirmala, what happened when you swapped bikes with your wife? If you are considerably larger than her, you're putting more of a load on the motor so it might have to work harder. Definitely make sure that any external mechanical drag isn't happening. There will be some sound with a geared motor and different brands have their own hum but if yours is considerably louder then having a shop check the motor. It may not be the gears but alignment of other pieces inside or a slightly stuck clutch.

Geared hub motors were not designed to do engine braking on an ebike.
George S.
3 days ago
I love two of my DIY bikes. I love the motor on the third, the Mac, but the frame is wrong and there's no front suspension.

I used to want a Haibike, but I won't go along with the small and proprietary battery. People should argue about battery safety, but let's face it. You can weld a pack together, use a basic BMS, and make sure the case is decent. Beyond that, what are you buying in terms of safety, and what does it cost?

I'm camping out in the desert. I have solar to charge everything, including the ebike. The terrain is flat, but very uneven and very rocky. The cheap Trek 820 handles it very well, with Marathon MTB tires. (Golden MP5 rear). You need a 2.xx tire for bad terrain. I just plow through everything except deep gravel.

I noticed that Prodeco Tech and Lectric are both sponsoring Crowdfunders, basically for BMX bikes. This is what I love. New bikes or bikes from my early years with a power plant. I don't know if these things will catch on, but we need DIY outfits to partner and do crowdfunders where there is a higher level of trust.

Eric is right, the alt-ebikers are winning. I don't think Bosch will go away, but they shouldn't count on high priced bikes and proprietary systems for a lot of sales. But the power argument is self-defeating. If we lose 750 watt ebikes because 1500 to 3000 watt bikes create problems, then we are Europe.

Most of what people know about ebikes is marketing garbage. Mid-drives are OK, but they bring their own issues and the cost structure is not very good for entry level ebikes. Most configurations of DIY ebikes work OK. The rider adapts and balances the bike. I've loaded 35 pounds of motor and battery on the back and it works OK. Some of it is better traction. DIY systems have marginal controls. Some of the throttles are terrible. You can't tune the throttles or the speed controls decently. Work on that.

I ride ten miles through here every day. There are maybe 50,000 RV's out here, scattered on dozens of miles of desert. (Quartzsite, Az) I never see another ebike. So I zip along the main roads at maybe 16 mph and try to make it seem like this is the most fun anyone could have. This would be a great place to sell ebikes. Lots of ATV's. I'm silent and I can go anywhere. I wonder if I can haul a portable dump behind my bike?

If you guys argue too much, you are losing sight of expanding the market. Places like this are full of people with expensive rigs, so an ebike could be an impulse buy.

I'm glad to see Ravi (or is it Crazy Ravi now) and Eric engaged. There's a lack of energy in ebikes. I don't understand why the darned thing hasn't taken off.
dm nelson
5 days ago
Makes me happy seeing all the places y'all are taking ebike adventures. Someday I'll put a motor on my nice mtn bike and spend some quality time on single track. The rover likes roads and packed trails. Here's me going down the river road enjoying today in freedom!

View attachment 12530
Ann M.
5 days ago
Good points, @Berry78; like the negotiating tips too!

@NateM, ask the owner if they will allow you to take the bike (with an appropriate deposit or owner goes with you) to a reputable ebike shop for a check over by a tech who's knowledgeable about Easy Motion bikes. Call ahead to the shop to see if they can schedule a time for you. I am also concerned about the age/amount of miles on this bike. If it's a 2014, the actual manufacture time may be in 2013 (so 3 years old) which isn't bad but also not really brand new. Be sure to test ride the bike on some hills and check the acceleration to get a feel for how well this motor & battery perform. BH ebikes are well built, so this could be a good buy, but work the price for certain.
Highway Star
9 months ago

Also I restored the original battery by running a razor along the top edge
of the plastic lid then popping it off exposing the battery fill cells that
have rubber caps that pop off with a screwdriver then filled with battery
acid from the local auto parts and it works great again after 12 years of
sitting. Plenty of videos on restoring sealed battery's on youtube.

Highway Star
9 months ago

got me a new 36V BATTERY from Jerry and it fits perfectly into the case,
but it does not have screw in terminals only lead tabs. So I didn't want to
cut the original wires so I made 2-2 inch jumpers and soldered them to the
eye leads then plugged them to the battery works great with no chopping....

Highway Star
9 months ago

got me a new 36V BATTERY from Jerry and it fits perfectly into the case,
but it does not have screw in terminals only lead tabs. So I didn't want to
cut the original wires so I made 2-2 inch jumpers and soldered them to the
eye leads then plugged them to the battery works great with no chopping....

Cyclo TeChTwIsTeR
1 year ago

This is the man that has all the parts you will need and yes a battery to
fit inside as it should.
http://www.ebay.com/usr/electricwheelsofflorida?_trksid=p2047675.l2559

He also has the bikes For sell
Jerry
Call 305 687 8484 for Free Tech SupportWe have the largest inventory
of original parts for the EVG EBikes.

David Clein
2 years ago

The controller is not in the battery case. it is housed in the body. Lead
acid is available (36v 9Ah) to rebuild the original battery pack. putting
the primary battery pack on the rear rack is stupid.

David Clein
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Six 6 volt / 9 AH (5.95" x 1.34" x 3.70") SLA
batteries with F2 terminals wired in series fit into the battery box. With
a little crimping and soldering these are the closest thing to a drop in
replacement for the original discontinued 36V "Long" battery. With this
set-up expect range of 8 miles in full power mode with little to no
pedaling and 15 miles in low power mode.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+David Clein Great feedback David, thanks for chiming in! I was doing my
best to piece together the facts about this bike but was doing it with
limited input. You're welcome to share your expertise here anytime :)

wolfman9999999
2 years ago

I have the 24 volt version, and I'm trying to figure out what some of the
switches do on the left side of the handlebar. Battery pack can be
refurbished with UPS batteries. I did it to mine

Adam Feathers
2 years ago

I bought 2 eBikes in 1999 at a Oldsmobile Dealer in central Pa. and put
them away in 2001 after one fell down and broke the key switch . They both
look like brand new but I'm not sure what to do with them since I don't
know if they're is any place to get parts or the repairs done (in Pa.).
When I put them away I replaced both batteries (probably shot now). It
would be a shame to just junk them . I would like to get them repaired this
spring and use them again, they were great and a lot of fun to ride !

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Adam Feathers Hi Adam! Sounds like a fun project. I'm sure there are
people who will collect these someday, even a few who want parts or
originals right now. You could just keep them stored and eventually sell
them on eBay or the forums:
http://electricbikereview.com/community/forums/for-sale/

Ron Warrick
2 years ago

I bought a 24v about ten years ago for $650 and it is still going, but I
really need to upgrade to make it faster and also get away from SLA's. Any
ideas appreciated. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Hi Ron! So glad to hear the eBike worked well for you. As for your next
bike, I guess it depends on what your cycling needs are. I've created a
full list of some of my favorite bikes in each category including one value
and one performance here:
http://electricbikereview.com/top-10-electric-bikes/ check it out, each
review has a video and all the specs, chime in if you have any comments,
there's also a forum to discuss with other riders and owners:
http://electricbikereview.com/community/

HostileHST
3 years ago

On the throttle, almost any 5k ohm potentiometer controlller will work on
these ebikes.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Thanks for the great tips +HostileHST

HostileHST
3 years ago

I had the 24 volt version that would only go 12 mph under power, but it
sure did help going up hills. The 36 volt version I believe would go around
18 mph and if you pushed into the 48 volt range (controller needs replaced
or modified), you could see about 23 mph. 36 volt packs can easily be made
with some soldering abilities. The batteries to do this are still being
made.

Kit Babcock
2 years ago

Ron....the 24v heinzmann rear hub can be over volted to 50v, though using a
stock EVG ebike 36v controller starts to get hot and "beeps". Shutting off
the power and back on again resets it, but I'm running 46.2v's and it's
fine.

DON'T over volt the stock EVG ebike 24v controller, as it has a max voltage
around 29v before it blows the 26v range capacitors! If done, the lights
will still work, but you get NO throttle response!. This was a common error
when a 36v SLA battery box was put in a 24v ebike. I'm using the
24v/400watt rear hub on a 36v setup bike. Because of spun one-way stock
bearings in the 36v hubs. Or I'm swapping in 36v motors into the 24v hubs
that don't have spun bearings.

The 400watt hubs are setup for speed and not torque like the 36v 500watts
hubs.

Though understand that there is a design flaw in the hubs as they use a
pressed on one-way bearing. BIG guys riding these bikes and giving them
full throttle can spin them! The motors works, but your now stuck in "mud"
and slipping. :-)

Here is an article on ES for the spun bearing:

http://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4190&start=25

I'm looking into using a laser welder to fix this problem. You want low
heat as the sealed bearing has a plastic cap to hold in the grease. Your
welding the bearing to the axle.

Made sense?

Ron Warrick
2 years ago

+Kit Babcock Good stuff. Can you clarify whether you are talking about
converting a 24 v, or a 36v? It sounds like you are shooting for 40 volts
or so here. Mine is 24v, so I don't want to burn it out. Thanks.

HostileHST
3 years ago

Oops, didn't see that was for Kit, but it's all good info he shares and I
would have gone that way, but had to sell mine so we had money to move a
little over a year ago. Wish I could get another one, but haven't seen one
for sale recently.

HostileHST
3 years ago

NP at all, always trying to help when I can. Glad you put it on the forum.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Kit Babcock Kit, this is awesome! Thanks for the tips. If you don't mind,
I also shared your words on the forum where another individual was trying
to figure out how to replace his 24v battery for an EV Global Mini
http://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/ev-global-mini-ebike-battery-replacement.262/
feel free to amend or add your voice there as well. I referenced your
comment and linked here so he might reply as well.

SuperPapadzul
3 years ago

It reminds me of a Velosolex, but cooler because it is electric.

BiknutProductions
3 years ago

Sort of resembles an early caveman version of an Opti Bike. Obviously ahead
of it's time.

Aaron Martin
3 years ago

Ya in 2002 i did not know that there was a e-bike for sale.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

I agree Aaron, this thing was full of neat features and way ahead of its
time. With a lighter weight battery it could be on-par or even at the
leading edge of more modern bikes.

Aaron Martin
3 years ago

That is a cool bike.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Yep, it's one of the first ebikes ever in the US and... you are the first
to comment ;)

Vũ Nguyễn
3 years ago

First