EV Global Motors ebike SX Review

Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Electric Bike Review
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx 500 Watt Motor
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Battery
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Controller
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Headlight
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Electric Bike Review
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx 500 Watt Motor
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Battery
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Controller
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Headlight


  • A high powered, feature rich electric bike ahead of its time designed by Lee Iacocca (the pioneering engineer behind classic Ford and Chevy automobiles)
  • Discontinued, EV Global Motor Company went out of business
  • Strong 500 watt geared rear hub motor by Heinzmann paired with capable 36 volt SLA battery
  • Full of extras and creature comforts including front and rear headlights, side mirror, fenders, a horn and a shock on the fork and seat post

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away


National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers



EV Global Motors


ebike SX


$2,000 USD

Body Position:


Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes


United States

Model Year:


Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

75 lbs ( 34.01 kg )

Frame Types:


Frame Fork Details:

Nitro DH Triple Suspension with 75 mm Travel

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7

Shifter Details:

Grip Twist


170 mm


Aluminum Alloy Platform

Brake Details:

Mechanical Disc in Front, V-Brake in Rear

Seat Post:

Suspension Shock


26" x 1.5" Double Wall, Rear 36 Hole, Front 32 Hole


14 Gauge Stainless

Tire Brand:

26" x 1.95"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in ( 66.04 cm )


Front and Rear Fenders, Front and Rear lights, Single Side Kickstand, Built-in Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:


Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub (brushed)
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

288 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Sealed Lead Acid

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles ( 24 km )

Estimated Max Range:

20 miles ( 32 km )

Display Type:

LED Console


Battery Level

Display Accessories:

Horn, Cruise Control

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

17.5 mph ( 28 kph ) (12.5 mph in Economy Mode)

Trusted Advertisers

Written Review

The ebike SX was one of the higher end EV Global Motor electric bikes designed by Lee Iacocca who is famous for engineering the Ford Mustang and Ford Pinto cars. After leaving Ford he served as President and CEO of Chrysler from 1978 and as chairman from 1979 until retirement in 1992. In 1999 he became the head of EV Global Motors, a company formed to develop and market electric bikes in the US. It is said that he was inspired by innovation happening in Asian markets and wanted to bring his expertise from the automotive space to enhance bikes in America.

Powering the ebike SX is a beefy 500 watt geared brushed rear hub motor made by Heinzmann (known for their high quality systems). This is one of the more powerful motors of its time and is capable of moving larger riders. That said, motors from this time period were more prone to having gears stripped if used forcefully up hills without assistance. The motor is activated by using a trigger on the right handle bar. The left handle bar features a grip shifter which controls 7 gears on a standard rear cassette. It also features an adjustable side mirror for keeping track of passing cycles and vehicles.

The battery pack on this bike was built right into the oversized downtube and consisted of a 36 volt 8 amp hour sealed Lead-acid pack. This technology was state of the art at its time but does not rival modern Lithium-ion cells which tend to be much lighter and more capable of enduring thousands of charge cycles before losing capacity. That, compared with just ~250 estimated for the ebike SX and other bikes using SLA technology. In addition to the battery pack being located within the frame there is also a controller board and charging system. Newer ebikes tend to externalize the charger converter in a brick attached to the cord with the plug.

While the range, charge cycles and top speed on this bike are not very impressive by today’s standards, the fenders, horn, shock absorber, built in cruise control and design aesthetics still ring true. In fact, the SX and other EV Global ebike models look strikingly similar to the popular R series by Optibike. By integrating the wires, battery pack and controller into the oversized downtube, the chances of direct damage and weathering are greatly reduced. Considering the 75lb weight of this bike, the front disc brake was a welcome edition for riding in wet conditions. In terms of ride quality, this bike doesn’t feel as stiff as many newer ebikes but that’s due in large part to the weight.

The front and rear lights are ultra-bright and massive when compared with more modern offerings that often forgo lights altogether. The seat post shock makes a difference when riding over bumps and compliments the front shock well. If you see this bike at a garage sale or used bike store be sure to consider the lack of replacement parts available. Everything from the twist throttle to the controller and especially the batteries are hard to find. In the video review above you may notice the bike I was testing has a battery pack strapped onto a rear rack. This is due to the challenge of finding custom sized batteries that can fit inside the downtube. I’ve been told that if the trigger throttle on this bike breaks you can sometimes retrofit a throttle from Currie Technologies.

The ebike SX is an electric bike that led the way, inspired others to join in and ultimately proved to be ahead of its time. It’s not a very useful machine these days due to the limited replacement parts and abundance of new high-tech offerings but it’s still iconic and fun. For a collector or tinkerer this could be a worthwhile project but for most people it’s just something to be appreciated and acknowledged as a forerunner to modern ebikes.


  • Powerful motor capable of moving larger riders and ascending medium hills with pedal assistance
  • Super bright front and rear headlights keep you safe at night
  • Front fork shock and seat post shock smooth out the bumps
  • Front and rear fenders keep dust, mud and water away
  • Front disc brake provides great stopping power in wet conditions
  • Includes a kickstand and metal bash guard on front chain ring


  • No longer being produced, replacement parts becoming rare
  • Stock sealed Lead-acid battery was heavy and could only endure ~250 charges before losing capacity
  • No pedal assist mode, throttle only
  • Heavy bike with awkward frame that’s hard to lock up and a challenge to fit on hanging style car racks due to the lack of a top tube
  • Brushed style motors wear out faster and this older gear style may be prone to stripping if pushed too hard
  • Built in cruise control made riding over longer distances easier on the thumb


Trusted Advertisers

Hanle van Niekerk
3 years ago

We bought an Electric Bike a few years ago and struggling to get it working again. We are based in South Africa.

Can you please advise us on how to get the wiring diagram for the bike or who we can contact to assist us in this matter.

Thank you and regards,
Hanle van Niekerk

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hello Hanle, there are ways to get the ebike SX and other EV Global Motors electric bikes going again. Usually it has to do with replacing the battery but it sounds like you're looking for help with wiring. There is a thread talking about this over on the forums at https://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/evg-ebike-upgrades.244/ and some more information at NYCeWheels http://www.nycewheels.com/ebike.html

I hope this helps you! The biggest challenge may be finding the right components in Africa to fix your existing bike. Feel free to join the discussion in the forums and ask for more advice :)

Sally Dillon
2 years ago

Hi, I have 2 ebikes in my garage. They are probably 15 years old? Need new batteries and tires. What is the best place to source these items, or to resell my bikes to other ebike enthusiasts?

Court Rye
2 years ago

That is a great question Sally... I really have no idea about this but have seen some of the older EV Global ebikes on display at shops in California and Florida just for fun (like a museum). You could always post them in the deals forum here for sale or ask around for help from other ebike enthusiasts in the EV Global Motors forum.

Eric Borcherding
2 years ago

On the EVG SX36 e-bike by Lee Iaocca. What a machine, and what a dream! One can convert these bikes to quite good performance:

1) Using the stock battery case fit in a LiNiMnCo 37V 10.8 AHr from BatterySpace (special order). At an astounding 6pds greatly lowers 15pds from L.A. 6 pack conversion of 6 x 6V * 9Ahr Powersonics (21 Pds). Big step...
2) Or try a 38.4V 15AHr LiFePO4 imotor @12pds bearing phenominal range / speed. 32KPH max, range of 60KM alone. This pack is simply, Kick-Ass. Snug fit into compartment with required BMS and connector mod; try 6 pack trailer connector. This is bested by 2 x 18.5V 18650 Lions self-build 7pd packs with a tricky BMS, dual chargers and stuffed full battery compartment fill, for more range.
3) Change 12V35W Halogen to Xenon QuteQueen LED H3mod 5W@14V, 82% energy saved for motor in night rides.
4) Alternately the Heinzmann PE speed motor at 470W vs. 500W brushed motor adds a few KPHs.
5) Choose tires with solid narrow center rubber, pumped at ~45PSI, like German made Chamberlands brown walls.
6) Keep the bike lubed and drivetrain / bearings clean, adjust brakes for no-drag.

Happy Trails... Eric

Court Rye
2 years ago

Awesome information on conversion Eric! Thanks for sharing this. I checked out your website on LED's and found it interesting. Looks like you're pretty skilled with electronics and hardware :)

greg znamenacek
8 months ago

Where might I find use parts for ebike LX thank greg

Court Rye
8 months ago

I've visited a couple of shops that have units in the back and they might be willing to sell you parts or the entire bike for a good price. One such shop is The Electric Bike Shop in Sacramento, California and the other is Myron's Extreme Machines in Fullerton, California. No guarantees on either, they may or may not still have them but I have seen this unit in both shops over the past several years. Also, you could ask around in the EBR Community Forums here under For Sale or Q&A and ask for Ann M. who used to own a shop in Austin, Texas. She might know :)

4 months ago

You can also get parts from: electricwheelsofflorida on eBay. They have OEM parts for the e-bike. Good Luck!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

5 hours ago
I think for the majority of people.....probably not much. If you ask a lot of people who live in the city they might say; "what's the point of owning a car, I do fine without one"? My point, everyone's circumstance is different. If you live in a rural area where distances between destinations is greater, a higher watt motor and a higher overall speed make the ebike a useful tool. If you happen to also live in an area with a lot of fairly long steep grades you may want the higher watt motor for the added torque.

I started out three years ago with two BH Emotion bikes, Carbon and Cross, so my wife and I could do longer rides with less strain....I live in a fairly hilly area. I also wanted to commute to work, a 28 mile round trip with quite a few hills some long and steep. The BH bikes were good but slightly less capbale (under-powered) when climbing long hills, and the 20 MPH restriction meant my commute was about 40-45 minutes. I wanted to climb those hills without a significant reduction in speed and I wanted my one way commute to be around 30-35 minutes. After converting a number of bikes, and learning a lot about various configurations and capabilities I have settled on a configuration that is capable of sustained 28 MPH and allows me to climb any of the hills on my commute. I generally ride the bike at around 25 MPH and it is sufficiently capable to make it a good commuting bike for distance (ie...a useful tool).

However, if I lived in a city or suburban area, I don't think the bike I've settled on would be optimal, the slower less powerful BH bikes would be a better fit.

Court J.

I echo those spec requirements for commuting, as did EM rider. I have 8 years of commuting experience. Being able to hit 28-30 with assist and hold it via motor wattage + pedaling is nice to have. Likewise, typical 25mph seems to be a safe, but efficient speed against wind without the need to tuck and get fancy. The tradeoff then becomes battery size => range, or less for less weight and more bike feel.

I would not want a 20mph limited ebike for any commuting location. I usually limit speed by the assist level, and it's nice to have the capability if needed.
5 hours ago
I'm a MTB and think eBikes and eMTB especially European mid drive ones are brilliant. The MTBer that oppose eMTBs seems strange coming a group of people that rely in latest technology to make their sport fun. If they were riding 1980s hard tails I might understand, but a lot are on high tech full suspension bikes that cost considerably more than a good ebike.

In 5-10yrs most of these fanatics will be riding eMTBs, especially if they don't want to be left behind.
Great insights.
George S.
6 hours ago
Eric Hicks
spot welding packs is not the time consuming part at all.... cnc spot welders have been around for years.

Hi Eric,

It’s all a little new to me, and pretty fast moving. I had LiFePo cells in my Prodeco. I bought LiPo packs from HK for my first build, and then went to another LiFePo from China. These batteries worked well and held their voltage, but they were just big pouches soldered together.

Tesla must be assembling packs with machines. There were 7,000 in the first Tesla. A few years ago it seems like an ebike pack was 30 cells, so less motivation to move to automation. Luna is on the cutting edge of the bigger and higher voltage packs.

If you could get Tesla to release some of their cells from the Gigafactory into the ebike market, those would be US cells. (GM is making their pouches in Michigan). If you had a couple of CNC spot welders in Reno we could have US made ebike packs.

I started with pouches and I like pouches. Take a 20 amp hour pouch and solder a few in series and you have a battery pack. Easy to maintain, easy to troubleshoot. But if you can buy those $4 Samsung 30q cells on your website and assemble them with a machine in 3 minutes, what the heck.

The RC market is interesting. Titan is trying to shift that market from LiPo to quality cells like the GA. I like RC chargers and the external balance leads, versus a BMS. That is a market that could transition and could work for DIY ebike folks. If there are other significant costs in an ebike pack, then simple 18650 packs made for the RC market will work. Again, I'd like to see 15 amp hour pouches that are similar to what LG makes for the Bolt because it seems simple. I think Zero uses Farasis pouches, and they have made significant advances in their chemistry over the past few years.

There isn't much innovation in the ebike market. Endless Sphere used to be a place for ideas to develop, now it seems like more of a hospice for ideas. They go there to die. People selling stuff. I'm not selling anything. I'll just do what works for me.
12 hours ago
Hi MLB, I too have read of some issues people have had with Brose. Also I have read some issues some people have had with Bosch and every other ebike motor manufacturer. The motor is based on Brose technology produced for the automotive industry millions of times already. Take a look at: http://www.brose-ebike.com/en/the-motor/
Any issues can be resolved with your supplier. Brose are rolling out new service centres worldwide. There will soon be one in Australia and New Zealand!
20 hours ago
I put on Vee-Rubber Speedsters. Cost more than the bike did originally. They roll easy and they roll quiet for street riding. Now I need to find the equivalent, as far as easy mounting, in a regular knobby tire.
Vee-rubber snowshoes. Right out of the container, all folded up, next to the original wire beaded tires, which were OK, as long as you never needed to remove them, and didn't care that they weighed 2x more, 6.0 pounds vs 2.6 pounds.
22 hours ago
I've read that narrow tires have poorer comfort and grip then fatter tires that's all. I'm going to be on sidewalk not asphalt so the Dillinger tires seemed thinner but the picture doesn't really offer multiple perspectives.
Ann M.
No can do! Tires & rims have to match in this case. The vertical offset to the rim for non-disc brakes or the size of the suspension forks is matched to the wheel size. Just out of curiosity, do you have a problem with the tires that come with the Dillenger bike? Sometimes the terms "Rim" and "Wheel" are used interchangeably although it's not totally correct. Did you mean that you want to put a 26" hybrid Tire on a 700c Rim? It cannot fit; the 700c rim is larger. If you want to change out the tire, choose one that is the same 700c size that will work for the width of rim that comes on the bike. An extremely narrow road bike rim wouldn't be able to hold a much wider hybrid tire and the same for the opposite. Generally, there are numbers on the rim that will indicate the rim's width and sometimes the range of tire widths it can safely accommodate.

BTW, the only 'dumb question' is the one you don't ask. Thank you for asking; there are a lot of details for every bike or ebike, so this gives us the opportunity to share info with everyone.
1 day ago
Hi guys and gals, I've heard from a few people recently in cities that are considering allowing ebikes on mountain bike trails in the US. Not everyone is for it and I want to fully understand the concerns that are raised so I'm hoping you can all chime in with what you've observed or heard. Please share why ebikes should not be allowed on mountain biking trails. If you're from Europe or elsewhere, I'd love to hear your thoughts as well, it seems like people in other parts of the world have a "don't care" attitude and the US is catching up

The most common reason's I've heard is that ebikes could damage trails, create more noise and go too fast. Please be completely objective and vulnerable here... why really should they not be allowed? What are the best arguments you've heard, the ones that really make sense? How about the ones that are the most common but clearly invalid. I'd like to hear them all so I can help to address the concerns with a video I'm working on.

As always, thanks for your contributions here and! I appreciate your feedback
Hi Court. I think the trail issue depends on 1) walking only trails, vs Multi Use Trails. In my area we have a great local trail system but its walking only. The folks that 'own' these trails are very protective and lobby town government against any and all bicycle friendly plans irrespective of ebike or regular. They see bikes as the enemy of peaceful walking, hiking and fear that more bikes on approved trails will mistakenly encroach on their walking trails.

For multi use trails, I think it's speed of bikes vs walkers. Walkers tend to walk side by side as do many slow rollers. However an ebike coming head on at 20 mph often isn't perceived as that fast and a last minute panic jump to avoid a BonP collision is scary. Net result is scared pedestrians will complain. The analogy is NYC and Chinese ebike delivery vs sidewalk pedestrians. Net result is ban the ebike in NYC. Too many collisions and not something cops want to spend time writing up.

So with respect to e MTB on trails , I believe it will come down to safety for regulation. And banning is cheaper than enforcement.

I did read somewhere that horses cause more damage to trails than mETH's but can't recall the source. Sorry. Maybe you can find it for your video.

As for licensing, regardless of motor power or mph, if there's money to be made, NYS and big government will try. Just look to drone registrations as a harbinger for things to come for ebikes. A hobby exploited by a few knuckleheads, causes fear and then new laws. Sound familiar?

Net net, safety and potential revenues will govern our regulators. Ultimately anti eMTB folks will distill their arguments down to this in support of their arguments.
Ann M.
2 days ago
No can do! Tires & rims have to match in this case. The vertical offset to the rim for non-disc brakes or the size of the suspension forks is matched to the wheel size. Just out of curiosity, do you have a problem with the tires that come with the Dillenger bike? Sometimes the terms "Rim" and "Wheel" are used interchangeably although it's not totally correct. Did you mean that you want to put a 26" hybrid Tire on a 700c Rim? It cannot fit; the 700c rim is larger. If you want to change out the tire, choose one that is the same 700c size that will work for the width of rim that comes on the bike. An extremely narrow road bike rim wouldn't be able to hold a much wider hybrid tire and the same for the opposite. Generally, there are numbers on the rim that will indicate the rim's width and sometimes the range of tire widths it can safely accommodate.

BTW, the only 'dumb question' is the one you don't ask. Thank you for asking; there are a lot of details for every bike or ebike, so this gives us the opportunity to share info with everyone.
2 days ago
FOR ebike kits there are ZERO fees and duties to Canada.
It simply rear wheel with display and wires.
IF you dont use courier of course, USPS can be used box just simply crosses border with no fees. With courier is the different story - criminal brokerage fees we are so pissed off.
console is just the matter of rain proofing.
Ann M.
2 days ago
Thanks, Mark! Court puts a lot of heart & work into doing all of the reviews and building this Forum where we all get to share. We try to encourage the manufacturers to participate and communicate with their ebike owners & those who might be ebike owners.

Looking forward to seeing what bike you choose @SteelHorseRider and all the pics and stories about your ebike!
3 days ago
@mrgold35 If I had to do it over again I would have forgone buying the Radrover and just bought a frame to build an ebike with.
Yeah, but you have to admit the Radrover is a pretty amazing price for a motor, 48v/11ah battery AND a bike. The BBSHD and battery alone are probably as expensive as the Radrover.

Are you glad you converted to mid-drive? What have you gained over stock? I ask because I just did a BBSHD conversion on a MTB, and I am looking at doing a fatbike cruiser ebike conversion, but these Radrovers are turnkey and inexpensive.
Alex M
3 days ago
Does the kit have PAS? Does PAS work with throttle override? What display looks like? What motor? Does it include battery? Are you OK with heavy battery on rear rack or will you attach it to downtube and if so, is downtube sturdy enough?

The difference btw a good kit and purposely made ebike with similarly good components could be from $200 to $1000. At $300-400 it might be not worth the trouble especially if you're not into DIY.

When the difference is more than $500 it means there is something in ebike (often a lot) made purposely different than in a stock prototype. Frame reinforced in all the right places, wires hidden in the frame tube. Often battery hidden/integrated in the frame (though I have reservations about this, namely - you're stuck with one and only battery model).

Step-through THAT low is rare indeed. My friend was considering Biria but low ground clearance scarred him off. Try slightly higher commercial step-through, there are decent cruising models in 1.5-2.0K range.
3 days ago
Great find Sid! Looks like they have it pictured with a Sonders ebike. And some other fat bike pics. If anyone gets these, please post some feedback with pics.

3 days ago
Thanks for the super quick feedback fella's! This RR forum is great and has a good community to be sure. I see that Mike, owner and designer of Rad Power Bikes posts here often and seems to be really concerned with his customers! That's great to see and gives me even more confidence in making my RR purchase.

I have been reading through all the threads and have gotten tons of really useful to info on the Rover. I will be ordering my RR soon, then soon after be tearing up the streets of San Francisco on my steel horse!

A big thanks to Court for setting these super useful and informative forums for RR riders! As well as his many ebike video reviews and dedication to the ebike scene. They have really helped me get educated and make my decision to buy a Rad Rover.

Keep up the Great Work Court!

3 days ago
Mike in Spokane
After riding 200 miles with this bike stock, I decided I needed some changes. 1) I added a bottle holder. 2) I went with a new seat and a Cane Creek Thudbuster post. I would have preferred the bodyfloat but couldn't justify its costs. 3) I put on an Ibera PakRak rear rack. 4) The ugliest part of the bike was the battery which really stood out and screamed ebike. So I mounted a Ibera triangle pack. I didn't even notice until after installation that the orange on the bag matches the radrover orange, I like that. 5) I added a device to the throttle that acts as a cruise control. It's a little gimmicky but a fun option. It attaches on and off the bike in seconds. I rarely use it, mainly on long bicycle path type of rides. 6) I wanted to sit more upright so I added an adjustable stem that brought the handlebars both closer and higher. 7) The biggest change would be the tires. During the summer I realized I wanted to go on longer pavement type of rides. I went with the Vee Speedster. A much quieter ride, with the knobbies people would hear me coming a hundred feet away. I gained 2 mph with throttle only. These tires stick like glue on hard surfaces. The trade-off is when I do go off payment you have to be more careful, they do slide out on loose gravel fairly easily. I do live where there is snow in the winter so I will go back to the stock tire in the fall so I can ride in the snow a little bit. View attachment 6391View attachment 6392
Thank you so much for this bag mod info! Looks freaking great. And the Ibera rack is awesome with the quick release Ibera Commuter Bag!!! This is exactly what I wanted when I get my RR! And it looks great on the RR with matching orange highlights. Sweeeeeet!

Do you have the Commuter bag for your rack? I
On Amazon it looks like they make two models. One that has pop out panniers on each side.
3 days ago
An ebike is perfect for a five mile commute, but if you are set on taking the bus, it might not be worth loading one for a mile ride. They're often too heavy for bus racks, and taking a folding one inside can't be easy.

The only kick scooter I've ridden was an EcoReco. I don't recall which model, but I think it was full suspension. I rode it over cobblestones, and it was pretty bouncy. It's probably fine on a regular surface. It felt weak compared to the bikes I'm used to, but again, that's fine. It seemed well made.

I would consider one for a last mile thing, but personally, I'd probably look at skateboards, too, because I used to skate as a kid.
3 days ago
do you guys think that ebikes are good last mile solutions to the daily commute?
since the job is willing to pay for transportation subsidy, i've been inclined to use the metro to get to work... as opposed to my 5mile bike ride, i'll have a 1 mile congested bus ride to the metro stop... 1 mile is too little in my opinion to pack an bike/ebike so thinking about other last mile solutions... anyone with any experience with electric kick scooters? or have any online resources to do some research?

Don't think you need an eBIKE but a nice small folder like a brompton might work well??
dm nelson
3 days ago
Ken from Philadelphia
Good morning.
I'm a old guy wanting to get a ebike or a kit. I'm 68 years young, around 5'8 and 250 lbs. I bike mostly in the summer on flats. My current bike is a 26" men's Schwinn.
I'm thinking of buying a Biria Low Step 7 speed Aluminum bike. This bike has steel forks, and then buying a kit for it. I like the idea of the Low Step.
The bike is about $600 and from what I can find, the kit would be about $1000. ( 500 Watt Leed's, E-Bike Kit, EBO etc.)
I have seen a few bikes in the $1400-$1800 price range, so the question is Kit or Build??
I'm a little leary of buying a bike unseen or not ridden.
Please share you thoughts, opinions, and recommendations.
Thank you.
E-bikes can be a lot of fun. DIY experience varies with bike expertise. Perhaps taking some test rides, if it's possible, nearby. Many ready-made bikes are not much more than DIY these days. When bikes arrive in the mail many find they need to do a bit of tuning them up or even replacing damaged parts. Yet, they end up being happy ebikers. I would also check out recent reviews to help make a decision, Ken. Good luck
Highway Star
7 months ago

Also I restored the original battery by running a razor along the top edge
of the plastic lid then popping it off exposing the battery fill cells that
have rubber caps that pop off with a screwdriver then filled with battery
acid from the local auto parts and it works great again after 12 years of
sitting. Plenty of videos on restoring sealed battery's on youtube.

Highway Star
7 months ago

got me a new 36V BATTERY from Jerry and it fits perfectly into the case,
but it does not have screw in terminals only lead tabs. So I didn't want to
cut the original wires so I made 2-2 inch jumpers and soldered them to the
eye leads then plugged them to the battery works great with no chopping....

Highway Star
7 months ago

got me a new 36V BATTERY from Jerry and it fits perfectly into the case,
but it does not have screw in terminals only lead tabs. So I didn't want to
cut the original wires so I made 2-2 inch jumpers and soldered them to the
eye leads then plugged them to the battery works great with no chopping....

Cyclo TeChTwIsTeR
1 year ago

This is the man that has all the parts you will need and yes a battery to
fit inside as it should.

He also has the bikes For sell
Call 305 687 8484 for Free Tech SupportWe have the largest inventory
of original parts for the EVG EBikes.

David Clein
2 years ago

The controller is not in the battery case. it is housed in the body. Lead
acid is available (36v 9Ah) to rebuild the original battery pack. putting
the primary battery pack on the rear rack is stupid.

David Clein
1 year ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Six 6 volt / 9 AH (5.95" x 1.34" x 3.70") SLA
batteries with F2 terminals wired in series fit into the battery box. With
a little crimping and soldering these are the closest thing to a drop in
replacement for the original discontinued 36V "Long" battery. With this
set-up expect range of 8 miles in full power mode with little to no
pedaling and 15 miles in low power mode.

1 year ago

+David Clein Great feedback David, thanks for chiming in! I was doing my
best to piece together the facts about this bike but was doing it with
limited input. You're welcome to share your expertise here anytime :)

2 years ago

I have the 24 volt version, and I'm trying to figure out what some of the
switches do on the left side of the handlebar. Battery pack can be
refurbished with UPS batteries. I did it to mine

Adam Feathers
2 years ago

I bought 2 eBikes in 1999 at a Oldsmobile Dealer in central Pa. and put
them away in 2001 after one fell down and broke the key switch . They both
look like brand new but I'm not sure what to do with them since I don't
know if they're is any place to get parts or the repairs done (in Pa.).
When I put them away I replaced both batteries (probably shot now). It
would be a shame to just junk them . I would like to get them repaired this
spring and use them again, they were great and a lot of fun to ride !

2 years ago

+Adam Feathers Hi Adam! Sounds like a fun project. I'm sure there are
people who will collect these someday, even a few who want parts or
originals right now. You could just keep them stored and eventually sell
them on eBay or the forums:

Ron Warrick
2 years ago

I bought a 24v about ten years ago for $650 and it is still going, but I
really need to upgrade to make it faster and also get away from SLA's. Any
ideas appreciated. 

2 years ago

Hi Ron! So glad to hear the eBike worked well for you. As for your next
bike, I guess it depends on what your cycling needs are. I've created a
full list of some of my favorite bikes in each category including one value
and one performance here:
http://electricbikereview.com/top-10-electric-bikes/ check it out, each
review has a video and all the specs, chime in if you have any comments,
there's also a forum to discuss with other riders and owners:

3 years ago

On the throttle, almost any 5k ohm potentiometer controlller will work on
these ebikes.

3 years ago

Thanks for the great tips +HostileHST

3 years ago

I had the 24 volt version that would only go 12 mph under power, but it
sure did help going up hills. The 36 volt version I believe would go around
18 mph and if you pushed into the 48 volt range (controller needs replaced
or modified), you could see about 23 mph. 36 volt packs can easily be made
with some soldering abilities. The batteries to do this are still being

Kit Babcock
2 years ago

Ron....the 24v heinzmann rear hub can be over volted to 50v, though using a
stock EVG ebike 36v controller starts to get hot and "beeps". Shutting off
the power and back on again resets it, but I'm running 46.2v's and it's

DON'T over volt the stock EVG ebike 24v controller, as it has a max voltage
around 29v before it blows the 26v range capacitors! If done, the lights
will still work, but you get NO throttle response!. This was a common error
when a 36v SLA battery box was put in a 24v ebike. I'm using the
24v/400watt rear hub on a 36v setup bike. Because of spun one-way stock
bearings in the 36v hubs. Or I'm swapping in 36v motors into the 24v hubs
that don't have spun bearings.

The 400watt hubs are setup for speed and not torque like the 36v 500watts

Though understand that there is a design flaw in the hubs as they use a
pressed on one-way bearing. BIG guys riding these bikes and giving them
full throttle can spin them! The motors works, but your now stuck in "mud"
and slipping. :-)

Here is an article on ES for the spun bearing:


I'm looking into using a laser welder to fix this problem. You want low
heat as the sealed bearing has a plastic cap to hold in the grease. Your
welding the bearing to the axle.

Made sense?

Ron Warrick
2 years ago

+Kit Babcock Good stuff. Can you clarify whether you are talking about
converting a 24 v, or a 36v? It sounds like you are shooting for 40 volts
or so here. Mine is 24v, so I don't want to burn it out. Thanks.

3 years ago

Oops, didn't see that was for Kit, but it's all good info he shares and I
would have gone that way, but had to sell mine so we had money to move a
little over a year ago. Wish I could get another one, but haven't seen one
for sale recently.

3 years ago

NP at all, always trying to help when I can. Glad you put it on the forum.

3 years ago

+Kit Babcock Kit, this is awesome! Thanks for the tips. If you don't mind,
I also shared your words on the forum where another individual was trying
to figure out how to replace his 24v battery for an EV Global Mini
feel free to amend or add your voice there as well. I referenced your
comment and linked here so he might reply as well.

3 years ago

It reminds me of a Velosolex, but cooler because it is electric.

3 years ago

Sort of resembles an early caveman version of an Opti Bike. Obviously ahead
of it's time.

Aaron Martin
3 years ago

Ya in 2002 i did not know that there was a e-bike for sale.

3 years ago

I agree Aaron, this thing was full of neat features and way ahead of its
time. With a lighter weight battery it could be on-par or even at the
leading edge of more modern bikes.

Aaron Martin
3 years ago

That is a cool bike.

3 years ago

Yep, it's one of the first ebikes ever in the US and... you are the first
to comment ;)

Vũ Nguyễn
3 years ago