EV Global Motors ebike SX Review

Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Electric Bike Review 1
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx 500 Watt Motor
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Battery
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Controller
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Headlight
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Electric Bike Review 1
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx 500 Watt Motor
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Battery
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Controller
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Headlight

Summary

  • A high powered, feature rich electric bike ahead of its time designed by Lee Iacocca (the pioneering engineer behind classic Ford and Chevy automobiles)
  • Discontinued, EV Global Motor Company went out of business
  • Strong 500 watt geared rear hub motor by Heinzmann paired with capable 36 volt SLA battery
  • Full of extras and creature comforts including front and rear headlights, side mirror, fenders, a horn and a shock on the fork and seat post

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

EV Global Motors

Model:

ebike SX

Price:

$2,000 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2005

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

75 lbs (34.01 kg)

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Fork Details:

Nitro DH Triple Suspension with 75 mm Travel

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7

Shifter Details:

Grip Twist

Cranks:

170 mm

Pedals:

Aluminum Alloy Platform

Brake Details:

Mechanical Disc in Front, V-Brake in Rear

Seat Post:

Suspension Shock

Rims:

26" x 1.5" Double Wall, Rear 36 Hole, Front 32 Hole

Spokes:

14 Gauge Stainless

Tire Brand:

26" x 1.95"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Accessories:

Front and Rear Fenders, Front and Rear lights, Single Side Kickstand, Built-in Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Heinzmann

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub (brushed)
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

288 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Sealed Lead Acid

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Display Type:

LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level

Display Accessories:

Horn, Cruise Control

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

17.5 mph (28 kph) (12.5 mph in Economy Mode)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The ebike SX was one of the higher end EV Global Motor electric bikes designed by Lee Iacocca who is famous for engineering the Ford Mustang and Ford Pinto cars. After leaving Ford he served as President and CEO of Chrysler from 1978 and as chairman from 1979 until retirement in 1992. In 1999 he became the head of EV Global Motors, a company formed to develop and market electric bikes in the US. It is said that he was inspired by innovation happening in Asian markets and wanted to bring his expertise from the automotive space to enhance bikes in America.

Powering the ebike SX is a beefy 500 watt geared brushed rear hub motor made by Heinzmann (known for their high quality systems). This is one of the more powerful motors of its time and is capable of moving larger riders. That said, motors from this time period were more prone to having gears stripped if used forcefully up hills without assistance. The motor is activated by using a trigger on the right handle bar. The left handle bar features a grip shifter which controls 7 gears on a standard rear cassette. It also features an adjustable side mirror for keeping track of passing cycles and vehicles.

The battery pack on this bike was built right into the oversized downtube and consisted of a 36 volt 8 amp hour sealed Lead-acid pack. This technology was state of the art at its time but does not rival modern Lithium-ion cells which tend to be much lighter and more capable of enduring thousands of charge cycles before losing capacity. That, compared with just ~250 estimated for the ebike SX and other bikes using SLA technology. In addition to the battery pack being located within the frame there is also a controller board and charging system. Newer ebikes tend to externalize the charger converter in a brick attached to the cord with the plug.

While the range, charge cycles and top speed on this bike are not very impressive by today’s standards, the fenders, horn, shock absorber, built in cruise control and design aesthetics still ring true. In fact, the SX and other EV Global ebike models look strikingly similar to the popular R series by Optibike. By integrating the wires, battery pack and controller into the oversized downtube, the chances of direct damage and weathering are greatly reduced. Considering the 75lb weight of this bike, the front disc brake was a welcome edition for riding in wet conditions. In terms of ride quality, this bike doesn’t feel as stiff as many newer ebikes but that’s due in large part to the weight.

The front and rear lights are ultra-bright and massive when compared with more modern offerings that often forgo lights altogether. The seat post shock makes a difference when riding over bumps and compliments the front shock well. If you see this bike at a garage sale or used bike store be sure to consider the lack of replacement parts available. Everything from the twist throttle to the controller and especially the batteries are hard to find. In the video review above you may notice the bike I was testing has a battery pack strapped onto a rear rack. This is due to the challenge of finding custom sized batteries that can fit inside the downtube. I’ve been told that if the trigger throttle on this bike breaks you can sometimes retrofit a throttle from Currie Technologies.

The ebike SX is an electric bike that led the way, inspired others to join in and ultimately proved to be ahead of its time. It’s not a very useful machine these days due to the limited replacement parts and abundance of new high-tech offerings but it’s still iconic and fun. For a collector or tinkerer this could be a worthwhile project but for most people it’s just something to be appreciated and acknowledged as a forerunner to modern ebikes.

Pros:

  • Powerful motor capable of moving larger riders and ascending medium hills with pedal assistance
  • Super bright front and rear headlights keep you safe at night
  • Front fork shock and seat post shock smooth out the bumps
  • Front and rear fenders keep dust, mud and water away
  • Front disc brake provides great stopping power in wet conditions
  • Includes a kickstand and metal bash guard on front chain ring

Cons:

  • No longer being produced, replacement parts becoming rare
  • Stock sealed Lead-acid battery was heavy and could only endure ~250 charges before losing capacity
  • No pedal assist mode, throttle only
  • Heavy bike with awkward frame that’s hard to lock up and a challenge to fit on hanging style car racks due to the lack of a top tube
  • Brushed style motors wear out faster and this older gear style may be prone to stripping if pushed too hard
  • Built in cruise control made riding over longer distances easier on the thumb

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

Hanle van Niekerk
4 years ago

We bought an Electric Bike a few years ago and struggling to get it working again. We are based in South Africa.

Can you please advise us on how to get the wiring diagram for the bike or who we can contact to assist us in this matter.

Thank you and regards,
Hanle van Niekerk

Reply
Court Rye
4 years ago

Hello Hanle, there are ways to get the ebike SX and other EV Global Motors electric bikes going again. Usually it has to do with replacing the battery but it sounds like you’re looking for help with wiring. There is a thread talking about this over on the forums at https://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/evg-ebike-upgrades.244/ and some more information at NYCeWheels http://www.nycewheels.com/ebike.html

I hope this helps you! The biggest challenge may be finding the right components in Africa to fix your existing bike. Feel free to join the discussion in the forums and ask for more advice :)

Reply
Sally Dillon
3 years ago

Hi, I have 2 ebikes in my garage. They are probably 15 years old? Need new batteries and tires. What is the best place to source these items, or to resell my bikes to other ebike enthusiasts?

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

That is a great question Sally… I really have no idea about this but have seen some of the older EV Global ebikes on display at shops in California and Florida just for fun (like a museum). You could always post them in the deals forum here for sale or ask around for help from other ebike enthusiasts in the EV Global Motors forum.

Reply
Eric Borcherding
3 years ago

On the EVG SX36 e-bike by Lee Iaocca. What a machine, and what a dream! One can convert these bikes to quite good performance:

1) Using the stock battery case fit in a LiNiMnCo 37V 10.8 AHr from BatterySpace (special order). At an astounding 6pds greatly lowers 15pds from L.A. 6 pack conversion of 6 x 6V * 9Ahr Powersonics (21 Pds). Big step…
2) Or try a 38.4V 15AHr LiFePO4 imotor @12pds bearing phenominal range / speed. 32KPH max, range of 60KM alone. This pack is simply, Kick-Ass. Snug fit into compartment with required BMS and connector mod; try 6 pack trailer connector. This is bested by 2 x 18.5V 18650 Lions self-build 7pd packs with a tricky BMS, dual chargers and stuffed full battery compartment fill, for more range.
3) Change 12V35W Halogen to Xenon QuteQueen LED H3mod 5W@14V, 82% energy saved for motor in night rides.
4) Alternately the Heinzmann PE speed motor at 470W vs. 500W brushed motor adds a few KPHs.
5) Choose tires with solid narrow center rubber, pumped at ~45PSI, like German made Chamberlands brown walls.
6) Keep the bike lubed and drivetrain / bearings clean, adjust brakes for no-drag.

Happy Trails… Eric

Reply
Court Rye
3 years ago

Awesome information on conversion Eric! Thanks for sharing this. I checked out your website on LED’s and found it interesting. Looks like you’re pretty skilled with electronics and hardware :)

Reply
greg znamenacek
2 years ago

Where might I find use parts for ebike LX thank greg

Reply
Court Rye
2 years ago

I’ve visited a couple of shops that have units in the back and they might be willing to sell you parts or the entire bike for a good price. One such shop is The Electric Bike Shop in Sacramento, California and the other is Myron’s Extreme Machines in Fullerton, California. No guarantees on either, they may or may not still have them but I have seen this unit in both shops over the past several years. Also, you could ask around in the EBR Community Forums here under For Sale or Q&A and ask for Ann M. who used to own a shop in Austin, Texas. She might know :)

Reply
GB
1 year ago

You can also get parts from: electricwheelsofflorida on eBay. They have OEM parts for the e-bike. Good Luck!

Reply

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Over50
44 mins ago

I purchased a Wallerang last week after testing 6 different bikes in one day...

Congrats on such a nice bike. I rode it last year at an ebike expo and it has a lot to offer. I sure like the looks of their new Tapper with the Steps 8000. Looks like Wallerang is building some great product.

PCDoctorUSA
3 hours ago

@RoadWrinkle, I noticed you're in Wailuku. I'm getting ready to order my first ebike (Voltbike or E-Glide) and having it shipped to Honolulu. I'm hoping for a better experience than yours since there's no middleman involved with my options. Like you, I tried the LBS route first, but the brands/models represented were either out of my price range or simply not what I was looking for. Both Voltbike and E-Glide are offering shipping to Hawaii for under $200. Everyone else acts as if Hawaii is on another planet.

Rooster
4 hours ago

Font triangle is the same as the CCS.
https://shop.juicedbikes.com/pages/crosscurrent-frame-geometry
Took all of the juiced bike's decals off my ocean current and replaced with American flyer. Gonna have ebike.ca build me a controller to replace the P.O.S. that's on it. Thank you very much.

Mark Peralta
6 hours ago

There are simple hand signals that are important for the safety of the riders behind you. I happened to follow a professional cyclist and he was making hand signals in front of me and I did not understand what he was doing. One time he made a hand "shower" gesture to his left, indicating rough surface (unsafe) and at the same time I passed him on that very same surface that he pointed to. He must have thought that I was a jerk. Good thing I was riding a full suspension ebike at that time.

This may happen to you that somebody wants to draft behind you or you may happen to follow a group of cyclists. It's wise to at least know the hand signals so everybody will be safe.

Ann M.
7 hours ago

Trace, it does sound like you've been charging the battery a bit much; however you do still have 6 months warranty on the bike. If you haven't registered it before now and still have your original receipt or can get a copy of it from where you bought the bike, register it now. ProdecoTech has a very simple online registration form on their site. Then contact ProdecoTech; I've found Luis to be very helpful on repairs or warranty issues. It is possible that some of the cells are starting to go and could be replaced by PTech. You will have to pay for shipping to them and the special box required for a lithium battery; however, it's worth it to see if your battery situation could be improved.

Rich is correct too, cold weather does take a bite out of battery range; however, with a full charge indoors, all 4 battery lights should still come up.

Durukan Devrim
8 hours ago

Any damage should reveal itself pretty quickly. Have you hooked up the charger yet? I would place a call to where you bought it, and get a phone number for Bosch technical support before I would plug in the charger. They do have an email contact on their website.
https://www.bosch-ebike.com/us-en/service/contact/
I've already contacted Bosch. I think it'll be fine. This is their answer:

Dear Durukan.

Thank you for contacting us.

The battery is designed to take an impact like this yes, but it might have caused some internal damage that will effect the battery later on...

If the battery seems to work fine and behaves normal, then there would be no need to worry.

Best regards William

Your Bosch eBike team

Robert Bosch GmbH

rich c
9 hours ago

Any damage should reveal itself pretty quickly. Have you hooked up the charger yet? I would place a call to where you bought it, and get a phone number for Bosch technical support before I would plug in the charger. They do have an email contact on their website.
https://www.bosch-ebike.com/us-en/service/contact/

Dewey
10 hours ago

Corratec Lifebike

Blix Komfort Prima

Evelo Galaxy ST

Gazelle Arroyo C8 (personal favorite)

Kalkhoff Agattu

EasyMotion Evo City Wave Pro

Riese & Muller Homage Nuvinci HS (the only full suspension step through ebike)

Thomas Jaszewski
20 hours ago

Has anyone tried the Luna charger with a Juiced Bikes battery? Seems like it would work fine with the available adapter and give me the ability to do a 80 or 90% charge when desired and add the ability to fast charge at 4Ah if the need ever arose.
I have two failed Luna chargers. M6 experience is a high fail rate.

hurricane56
21 hours ago

Hey all, so quick check in after commuting home with this beast of a bike. I just finished a 17 mile ride with the HF and the power available is borderline insane. The one thing I noted is the power assist levels even in the ECO mode are good enough to keep me going around 24-26 mph at a decent cadence, maybe 80rpms with not too much effort. My point of comparison is with my other bike, 2016 Haibike Trekking S. I don't think this bike is going to replace the Haibike, but it'll give me another platform to use if I'm tired or just want something different. I'd compare the personalities of the HF to a high performance v8 pickup truck, vs the Haibike which is much more like buttery smooth straight six.

Battery life with the 21ah is incredible. I rode a total of 17 miles this evening and used about 5ah of capacity. My route is mostly flat with about 200 ft elevation gain.

There are a couple of subtle characteristics that set apart each bike. Obviously, the fit/finish and geometry of the Haibike is something to be admired. I feel that many people that bash "expensive factory bikes" tend overlook this. The Bosch mid-drive is seamless and very organic. The HF has it's strengths as well, and that is raw power at speed. There were a few times where I wanted to go slow in city traffic, and you can start to feel the bike wanting to really get up and go. Since I was riding with other ebike buddies most of the way back, I left the bike in ECO most of the time.

Overall, I'm happy with the performance thus far and hope that this bike will be a reliable platform for 2000+ miles of riding each year. The bike will need some additional tuning and add-ons to make this a daily commute beast:

1. Installation of rear rack - I ran a backpack today, but panniers are so much better for a longer ride.
2. Installation of bar end mirror.
3. Tuning of the suspension fork - The threads on the schrader valve are either not fully to spec or somewhat coarse. I needed to use a wrench to tighten my shock pump to the valve.
4. Installation of tire tube sealant - Once again this bike has no service disconnect near the motor assembly. There is enough slack on the cable after cutting the zip ties to remove the wheel, but doing a tube change in the field would be cumbersome with one person.

Oh yeah, top speed today was easily 35mph. I think I could sustain that for maybe 3-4 miles at most. Some might argue that having such a fast bike is dangerous. It is in the wrong hands, but now that I know I can go that speed, I feel it makes me safer when I can keep up with traffic taking a lane or on streets without protected bike lanes.

Eglon
1 day ago

Has anyone tried the Luna charger with a Juiced Bikes battery? Seems like it would work fine with the available adapter and give me the ability to do a 80 or 90% charge when desired and add the ability to fast charge at 4Ah if the need ever arose.
That looks like a great option. I like that the upper voltage and the amperage can be adjusted. Time is definitely on my side for overnight charges and if 1A is better for the life of the pack then that's fine by me. It looks like the barrel adapter would fit the four prong adapter for the HF. The price is pretty good as well.

Alastair Lyon
1 day ago

Has anyone tried the Luna charger with a Juiced Bikes battery? Seems like it would work fine with the available adapter and give me the ability to do a 80 or 90% charge when desired and add the ability to fast charge at 4Ah if the need ever arose.

Dewey
1 day ago

For folks seeking a step-through donor pedal bicycle frame to convert to an ebike with a DIY motor kit, the Reddit City Bikes spreadsheet has a column indicating where a step-through frame is available together with price, type of drivetrain, and web link:
https://www.reddit.com/r/citybike/comments/45zbr3/the_rcitybike_spreadsheet_updated_for_spring_2016/

Common features of ebikes used in urban bikeshare systems such as the Smoovengo E-Bike (Paris), Social Bicycles JUMP (Washington, DC), Bewegen Pedelec (Baltimore), and BCycle Dash+ (designed by Trek, coming in 2018), are a step-through frame, 26" wheels, 3 or 7 speed IGH, Class 1 pedelec, 250w front hub or 350w mid-drive motor, and rollerbrakes. Dock based systems recharge off the bikeshare dock vs dockless systems like JUMP incorporate a GPS locator chip and require you lock up the ebike with a provided U-lock and a maintenance guy either swaps out the battery or recharges it at a hub collection point every 2-3 days.

Ann M.
2 days ago

@Trace martini, why didn't you get a copy of your receipt from Best Buy and send it over to Luis at ProdecoTech? Best Buy has all of those records in their computer system. PT just wants proof of ownership. Stolen ebikes are a real problem; we get reports all the time from folks about stolen bikes. BTW, most ebike shops could purchase a rim that would work for your tire size, cut and thread new spokes and re-lace your motor; you don't have to have only that brand of rim :). It does make it easier to measure for new spokes, though.

Mark Peralta
12 mins ago

I came across the internet about "ebike efficiency" from endless sphere
https://endless-sphere.com/w/index.php/EBike_Efficiency
and I thought it is worth sharing. The beauty of ebikes is there is a second source of motive power and that is your pedal power. It talks about the very basic principle about ebike motors. Here , it relates to a hub motor but the principle is still the same for the smaller mid drives. The road speed on the chart is just changed to cadence on mid drives. First, the power (watts) that comes out from the battery does not completely translates to actual watts to the wheels. There is a certain speed at which the conversion to mechanical power (motor efficiency) is highest.

In this example, the motor efficiency is highest at speeds somewhere between 25-31 mph. The lower the speed, the less efficient is the motor.

Those watt meters on some ebike displays do not always represent the watts to the wheels but these are the wattage that came out from the battery. And if you are on the wrong speed, most of those watts are wasted as heat. Or if you are in the wrong cadence in the case of mid drives.

To minimize energy waste at lower speed, a controller is used to limit the max current.

In the old days, simple resistors were used to control the current but these are very inefficient and obsolete and are now replaced by pulse width modulation controllers (PWM) with the use of metal–oxide–semiconductor field-effect transistors (MOSFET). The electrical current is then controlled to different levels. Example of this simple controller with different current settings at different assist levels is from a chart from Bafang mid drive (cadence is used at the x axis instead of road speed). The orange curve represents 100% (current decay is another user adjustable parameter in the Bafang controller)

https://electricbike-blog.com/2015/06/26/a-hackers-guide-to-programming-the-bbs02/

However, it is also important to know the power demand of an ebike at different speeds brought about by many factors and most especially the air resistance (aerodynamic drag), in order to further minimize power wastage when it is not needed and only apply power to when it is really needed.

You don't really need a lot of power at low speed but a simple controller's output is opposite (Cheap Chinese controllers). No wonder the cheap ebikes and ebike kits cannot reliably provide good battery mileage since you thought you are saving battery by going slower but you actually wasted a lot of power there. Most of the time, I notice that simple controllers feel "punchy" and tend to lurch ahead from a dead stop (great for showing off to friends) but once the ebike is already moving and you needed more assist, sometimes the power isn't there anymore, when you needed it the most.

Enter the Smart Controllers from the big players where more brain capacity is added to the controller's program in order to determine and match power requirement with the power output of the motor. And added measures are incorporated to cut the assist if the motor speed is at the inefficient range. This is made possible with the use of torque sensors and sophisticated program algorithms. An example of this is the "dynamic assist" from Juicedbikes.

http://juicedbikes.com.au/bikes/2017-crosscurrent/

I cannot find the controller charts of other big players but that is understandable (trade secret). It only goes to show that it's not only the motor efficiency that is important but how sophisticated the controllers are made. Not all controllers are created equal.

On mid drives, the gear reduction ratio is also set up so that the motor is most efficient at a cadence rate preferred by most cyclists (normal cadence range) .

https://www.electricbike.com/bosch-cannondale/

This principle in actual application made it possible for a small motor (mid drive) to achieve a very very impressive efficiency of 100 miles in 1 charge of the 500wh battery or 5 wh/mile!
https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/range-100-miles-giant-road-e.14617/#post-121767

This highest mileage potential is demonstrated by the small mid drive, but at a slower average speed. The mid drives also has an advantage for the ability to climb very steep hills, as long as the gear ratio in the drive train is appropriate, but at the expense of even much slower, snail paced, speed (sometimes it feels like being pulled up by a winch!).

However, hub drives are not far behind. Especially with increasing sophistication of the controllers and more efficient motor designs like the Maxon.
http://partir-en-vtt.com/fsb2/index.php?p=search&mode=author&id=52

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/hub-vs-mid-drive-how-can-i-compare.14635/page-5

Hub drives are also more appropriate for high speed commuting, such as riding regularly at higher average speeds (above 23 mph) since the bicycle drive train at that higher crank output will wear out prematurely in less than a couple thousand miles. Or for transporting heavy loads such as the delivery ebikes.

There is still a bright future for efficient hub drives since, aside from the above mentioned strengths, hub drives are also very user friendly, preserve the life of the drive train (high durability), and is superior in stop and go city streets.

1/1
Chris Nolte
2 days ago

Chris, I really like the comfort and versatility of the Tinker. I have a few questions about configuring the Tinker:
1) Ideally i'd like more seatpost suspension combined with an original Tinker seatpost: Can R&M fit it with a Cane Creek Thudbuster LT instead of an ST, or even a Body Float? I know they don't show those options online, but maybe you have inside info. I'd prefer not to use shims, and to get the adjustment tick marks and the full range of height adjustments of the original unsuspended seatpost.
2) Is R&M's CCT ST seatpost just as long as their unsuspended seatpost? I'm 6'6" and the Tinker felt comfortable only at the highest unsuspended seatpost setting. My wife is much shorter, so I'm also wondering if the ST adds to the minimum seat height (maybe not since I think the unsuspended seatpost doesn't go all the way down either)?
3) Are there any pneumatic suspension fork options (from R&M or Propel)? Seems like this should be an option for a ~$5k ebike.

Thank you!
Joe
Joe,

The Thudbuster that is available for the Tinker is a 33.9 post, but the seat tube diameter is 34.9. So there is a shin used. The LT version is available as an aftermarket option. This will impact the minimum seat height though, although you are correct, none of the posts go all the way down in their stock length. How tall is your wife?

For the suspension, we’ve been very happy the stock fork, but we could upgrade the fork to a pneumatic version. They run around 500-700 though. White Brothers, Suntour and MRP make one, but 20” suspension forks aren’t all that common.

Joseph Green
2 days ago

Kenny - We have one in the shop that I have ridden several times. My initial thoughts are: Compact bike made to fit a variety of riders. It rides like a full size bike due to the stiff frame and wider tires and it's a lot of fun and very easy to handle making it great for urban environments.

Let me know if I can answer any questions.

Chris, I really like the comfort and versatility of the Tinker. I have a few questions about configuring the Tinker:
1) Ideally i'd like more seatpost suspension combined with an original Tinker seatpost: Can R&M fit it with a Cane Creek Thudbuster LT instead of an ST, or even a Body Float? I know they don't show those options online, but maybe you have inside info. I'd prefer not to use shims, and to get the adjustment tick marks and the full range of height adjustments of the original unsuspended seatpost.
2) Is R&M's CCT ST seatpost just as long as their unsuspended seatpost? I'm 6'6" and the Tinker felt comfortable only at the highest unsuspended seatpost setting. My wife is much shorter, so I'm also wondering if the ST adds to the minimum seat height (maybe not since I think the unsuspended seatpost doesn't go all the way down either)?
3) Are there any pneumatic suspension fork options (from R&M or Propel)? Seems like this should be an option for a ~$5k ebike.

Thank you!
Joe

Trace martini
2 days ago

No ebike is perfect, this is a thread dedicated to sharing known issues or problems with electric bikes from Prodeco Tech as well as any help and solutions you know of. Sometimes that means a DIY fix and other times it can mean a recall, software update or part replacement by a dealer.

Please be respectful and constructive with feedback, this is not a space for hate speech. In many cases, representatives from the company will see feedback and use it to improve their product. In the end, the goal is to enjoy riding and help each other go further and be safer.
No ebike is perfect, this is a thread dedicated to sharing known issues or problems with electric bikes from Prodeco Tech as well as any help and solutions you know of. Sometimes that means a DIY fix and other times it can mean a recall, software update or part replacement by a dealer.

Please be respectful and constructive with feedback, this is not a space for hate speech. In many cases, representatives from the company will see feedback and use it to improve their product. In the end, the goal is to enjoy riding and help each other go further and be safer.
Just a heads up on prodecotech service. I live in gulf and was hit by hurricane Harvey a few months back. A friend grabbed my bike when the storm surge left my house in 4 ft of water. I was loving the fact my bike was saved because my car and truck was flooded, both useless. Only problem was my neighbor got the bike but left the charger. I called prodecotech to order a new charger and they said since I didn't register the bike they won't sell me a charger. I told them I wasn't wanting a charger under warranty, just needed to buy one at whatever price they wanted so I can have transportation around town while trying to get house and life fixed from devastating storm. They said they won't sell me one at any price since it wasn't registered. I then bought one on eBay that wasn't correct, went to Best buy where I got the bike and the only way they would sell me a charger was if I bought another $1500 bike. I ended up getting a computer geek friend to make one for me, no thanks to prodecotech. When I did get it running about 2 weeks after the storm I hit a curb with back rim going about 15 mph and it put a flat spot on rim. I called prodecotech about a new rim and they said they could MAYBE get me another rim in 8-12 weeks, but it could be as much as 6 months. I liked the bike a lot until this incident occurred and now I hate the sight of it. Try pedaling that heavy ass bike a couple miles with a couple bags of groceries. It was brutal. I cussed prodecotech everyday for a month and will never, ever buy anything from them again. I do love ebikes, I spent 80-100 on diesel a week, now I spend 20-30. Drive to store and back did cost me $5, now it's 5¢. Loving that, so does mother nature im sure

Trace martini
2 days ago

I ran across this:

http://www.batteryrefill.com/Ebike/Prodeco/index.phtml

From the site:

Quote "We found that Electric bicycle batteries are very expensive. These batteries become useless after depleting their own useful chemical life. We can re-use the casing and all the electronics inside the battery pack and refill them with factory brand new, higher capacity cells. We replace the necessary components on the control circuit or reset the controller on the board if necessary to make them perform brand new.

The problem with the rechargeable battery pack industry is shelf life. Li-ion (LiFePo4 and LiMnO2), Ni-Mh, and Ni-Cd battery cells have a maximum around 3-5 year chemical/shelf life. This means that they lose capacity through time regardless if they are used or not. How long do you think the battery that you are thinking of buying from a retailer/suppler has been sitting on their shelf or stuck in a manufacturer's warehouse? You will pay full price for a brand new battery but you might be getting less than the remaining 80% battery capacity.

We use factory brand new cells all the time, so there is no wasted shelf life or chemical life. We also have a 30 day full money back guarantee including shipping and an 1 year warranty service on all of our refilled batteries. Don't trash your pricy Electric bicycle batteries; send them to us for a refill. We can save you a lot of money and we will give you the maximum battery life.

Try our battery refill service. All you have to do is mail us your old battery together with charger; we will need the charger to test your battery, so don't forget to ship it together with the battery. (We email you a pre-paid postage label with delivery confirmation - US customers only). After we receive it, we will send you a 100% tested Refilled Higher Capacity Battery Pack to you. Every battery comes with a 1 Year Warranty !!!

There is a resonably high possibillity (over 95%) that your battery can be refilled to a new super-capacity battery even if it is completely dead.

NOTE: If your battery is completely dead, you may still send it to our facility for refill service. If we are unable to refill the battery, we will send you back your battery pack and credit you a full refund, including shipping. (Applicable to this battery model only.)
So, with nothing to lose, why not try our battery refill program today!! " End quote.

Had I the need I would certainly look into it. I think we will likely see this kind of service more and more. Price, shipping and warranty look good, but I would want to know the cell brand. It's possible brand may change frequently with the orders they receive, so if that's important to you get it in writing.
A new battery is like $700, all it is is 50 18650 batteries, which you can buy for $2-$3 a piece. I just took the screws out of the battery case and soldered new 18650 batteries to replace the old ones. Cost me about $100 and an hour and a half of my time. That's $400 an hour I saved doing it myself. It was easier than I thought. I actually made a second battery that fits in handlebar pouch to double my range, total spent was under $200. Just an idea for anybody needing to replace battery. All you need is screwdriver, soldering gun and flux and your in business.

PowerOnBikes
2 days ago

PowerOn Electric Bikes has come out with an awesome new City Commuting eBike..The City Slicker. It has a powerful 48V 500 Watt Bafang motor & a 13.6ah Samsung battery.

The City Slicker is Sleek & Stylish and has enough power to get you where you need to go!
Available in Orange/Gray or Gloss Black

Get free shipping & $100 Off any of our ebikes now until 12/15! Use Code: SAVE100

PowerOn Electric Bikes

PowerOnBikes
2 days ago

PowerOn Electric Bikes has come out with an awesome new electric fat bike...The Road Warrior. It has a powerful 48V 750 Watt Bafang motor & torque sensor and has a 13.6ah Samsung battery. It's also equipped with Tektro Hydraulic Disc Brakes for fast, reliable stopping power.

Get free shipping & $100 Off any of our ebikes now until 12/15! Use Code: SAVE100

PowerOn Electric Bikes

David Sorrentino
2 days ago

While I was very pleased with the Brose, remember there are other variables. Specialized claims to have tuned the motor, and that this tuning differs on the different Vado models (apparently the more expensive models feel ‘zippier’. ) And there are other threads on this forum where a number of riders have concluded that the Brose motor feels weak and underpowered (not my experience, but worth considering as a data point.) Finally (and more encouragingly) if you poke around you’ll find links to a website by a NZ ebike reviewer, who rides a bunch of ebikes up a steep hill while tracking his speed, heart rate and etc. He tests some 20 different ebikes and finds the Vado 3 climbs the hill fastest and easiest of all those tested. This is pretty persuasive evidence for me, since my interest in ebikes is pretty much all about climbing hills.

Thanks! I did manage to find the NZ review which is encouraging as tackling hills (and staying cool) are my main thing as well. I seem to also read that how the bike company tunes it seems to matter. As well.

Think I'm going to take the leap and do this....

Scooter
3 days ago

First time here, so like dig it man and greetings dude and dudetts. I purchased a RadRover kind of on impulse on Cyber Monday. I love this thing. I am a Motorcycle Rider for some 45 years and presently own three. I might very well give up ONE. This is such a fun and handy rig. Took the Rover to the store, rode all over, main streets and back streets. I am getting the hang as one does drive differently on an ebike than a Motorcycle, like anything there is a learning curve. It is so much fun to break all the rules, cut across the street, hop a curb and go across the park. I know there are (probably) rules, even laws but I will remain ignorant if I can (get away with it). I am not a good example for children either. I saw how to over-ride the "Speed" Limiter and reset the the thing. I have seen 23 mph on the Speedo. That is a nice clip really. My only complaint is that the Rad Company should have called this a CLOSE OUT SALE ! It does not feel good to buy a new, rather expensive toy and then with less than 25 miles after riding ONE day find there is a New Improved 2018 to be sold for the same PRICE ??? I would have waited, buying a bike in winter anyway I did not expect a ton of use so waiting till after New Years would have made little difference. It just would have been the right thing for this Company to do, clearly they knew they had an all new line. I do understand business and by not telling the average Joe they maximized profits but this is my 2 Cents worth of complaints. Perhaps they will toss us a bone, free fender kit or how about a spare battery at COST as $500 seems a little steep. So howdy one and all, I know little or nothing about ebikes except they are a GAS! Well no, I guess they are NOT ........

So, like I will plant you now and dig you later ................

richiebike
3 days ago

Thank you all for the replies and information. I live in western Pennsylvania, and believe me, it's hilly and sometimes very steep. I live only 20 miles from Canton Avenue, probably the steepest(37%) residential street in the US. (See Bicycling Magazine p. 38 January/Feb. 2018 issue) So I'll probably stick with the cassette when the time comes for a new ebike.

SelfEsteemArchitect
2 months ago

Wow! I have a yellow mini ebike. I'm going to do a lithium conversion-I think it will be worth it. Got it at a church thrift. Also my is foldable which is awesome!.

Steven Mckay
4 months ago

The bolt holding the seat clamps together/on broke off. I need a replacement bolt but wasn't sure the size of the bolt needed

Michigan Mister
8 months ago

'ol Lee didn't do much before saving Chrysler's behind. (K-cars)(except for designing the Mustang) Court, I believe these retailed for around 500.00. a lot for a bike back then, but ahead of it's time for sure.

Highway Star
2 years ago

Also I restored the original battery by running a razor along the top edge of the plastic lid then popping it off exposing the battery fill cells that have rubber caps that pop off with a screwdriver then filled with battery acid from the local auto parts and it works great again after 12 years of sitting. Plenty of videos on restoring sealed battery's on youtube.

Highway Star
2 years ago

got me a new 36V BATTERY from Jerry and it fits perfectly into the case, but it does not have screw in terminals only lead tabs. So I didn't want to cut the original wires so I made 2-2 inch jumpers and soldered them to the eye leads then plugged them to the battery works great with no chopping....

Highway Star
2 years ago

got me a new 36V BATTERY from Jerry and it fits perfectly into the case, but it does not have screw in terminals only lead tabs. So I didn't want to cut the original wires so I made 2-2 inch jumpers and soldered them to the eye leads then plugged them to the battery works great with no chopping....

Cyclo TeChTwIsTeR
2 years ago

This is the man that has all the parts you will need and yes a battery to fit inside as it should.
http://www.ebay.com/usr/electricwheelsofflorida?_trksid=p2047675.l2559

He also has the bikes For sell
Jerry
Call 305 687 8484 for Free Tech SupportWe have the largest inventory of original parts for the EVG EBikes.

David Clein
3 years ago

The controller is not in the battery case. it is housed in the body. Lead acid is available (36v 9Ah) to rebuild the original battery pack. putting the primary battery pack on the rear rack is stupid.

David Clein
3 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Six 6 volt / 9 AH (5.95" x 1.34" x 3.70") SLA batteries with F2 terminals wired in series fit into the battery box. With a little crimping and soldering these are the closest thing to a drop in replacement for the original discontinued 36V "Long" battery. With this set-up expect range of 8 miles in full power mode with little to no pedaling and 15 miles in low power mode.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+David Clein Great feedback David, thanks for chiming in! I was doing my best to piece together the facts about this bike but was doing it with limited input. You're welcome to share your expertise here anytime :)

wolfman9999999
3 years ago

I have the 24 volt version, and I'm trying to figure out what some of the switches do on the left side of the handlebar.  Battery pack can be refurbished with UPS batteries.  I did it to mine

Adam Feathers
3 years ago

I bought 2 eBikes in 1999 at a Oldsmobile Dealer in central Pa. and put them away in 2001 after one fell down and broke the key switch . They both look like brand new but I'm not sure what to do with them since I don't know if they're is any place to get parts or the repairs done (in Pa.). When I put them away I replaced both batteries (probably shot now). It would be a shame to just junk them . I would like to get them repaired this spring and use them again, they were great and a lot of fun to ride !

Michigan Mister
8 months ago

I saw another vid just today about this bike. the fellow being interviewed said there' a place in so cal that has lots of parts.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Adam Feathers Hi Adam! Sounds like a fun project. I'm sure there are people who will collect these someday, even a few who want parts or originals right now. You could just keep them stored and eventually sell them on eBay or the forums: http://electricbikereview.com/community/forums/for-sale/

Ron Warrick
3 years ago

I bought a 24v about ten years ago for $650 and it is still going, but I really need to upgrade to make it faster and also get away from SLA's.  Any ideas appreciated. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Hi Ron! So glad to hear the eBike worked well for you. As for your next bike, I guess it depends on what your cycling needs are. I've created a full list of some of my favorite bikes in each category including one value and one performance here: http://electricbikereview.com/top-10-electric-bikes/ check it out, each review has a video and all the specs, chime in if you have any comments, there's also a forum to discuss with other riders and owners: http://electricbikereview.com/community/

HostileHST
4 years ago

On the throttle, almost any 5k ohm potentiometer controlller will work on these ebikes.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Thanks for the great tips +HostileHST 

HostileHST
4 years ago

I had the 24 volt version that would only go 12 mph under power, but it sure did help going up hills. The 36 volt version I believe would go around 18 mph and if you pushed into the 48 volt range (controller needs replaced or modified), you could see about 23 mph. 36 volt packs can easily be made with some soldering abilities. The batteries to do this are still being made.

Kit Babcock
3 years ago

Ron....the 24v heinzmann rear hub can be over volted to 50v, though using a stock EVG ebike 36v controller starts to get hot and "beeps". Shutting off the power and back on again resets it, but I'm running 46.2v's and it's fine.

DON'T over volt the stock EVG ebike 24v controller, as it has a max voltage around 29v before it blows the 26v range capacitors! If done, the lights will still work, but you get NO throttle response!. This was a common error when a 36v SLA battery box was put in a 24v ebike. I'm using the 24v/400watt rear hub on a 36v setup bike. Because of spun one-way stock bearings in the 36v hubs. Or I'm swapping in 36v motors into the 24v hubs that don't have spun bearings.

The 400watt hubs are setup for speed and not torque like the 36v 500watts hubs.

Though understand that there is a design flaw in the hubs as they use a pressed on one-way bearing. BIG guys riding these bikes and giving them full throttle can spin them! The motors works, but your now stuck in "mud" and slipping.  :-)

Here is an article on ES for the spun bearing:

http://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4190&start=25

I'm looking into using a laser welder to fix this problem. You want low heat as the sealed bearing has a plastic cap to hold in the grease. Your welding the bearing to the axle.

Made sense?

Ron Warrick
3 years ago

+Kit Babcock   Good stuff.  Can you clarify whether you are talking about converting a 24 v, or a 36v?  It sounds like you are shooting for 40 volts or so here.  Mine is 24v, so I don't want to burn it out.  Thanks.

HostileHST
4 years ago

Oops, didn't see that was for Kit, but it's all good info he shares and I would have gone that way, but had to sell mine so we had money to move a little over a year ago. Wish I could get another one, but haven't seen one for sale recently.

HostileHST
4 years ago

NP at all, always trying to help when I can. Glad you put it on the forum.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

+Kit Babcock Kit, this is awesome! Thanks for the tips. If you don't mind, I also shared your words on the forum where another individual was trying to figure out how to replace his 24v battery for an EV Global Mini http://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/ev-global-mini-ebike-battery-replacement.262/ feel free to amend or add your voice there as well. I referenced your comment and linked here so he might reply as well.

SuperPapadzul
4 years ago

It reminds me of a Velosolex, but cooler because it is electric.

BiknutProductions
4 years ago

Sort of resembles an early caveman version of an Opti Bike. Obviously ahead of it's time.

Aaron Martin
4 years ago

Ya in 2002 i did not know that there was a e-bike for sale.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

I agree Aaron, this thing was full of neat features and way ahead of its time. With a lighter weight battery it could be on-par or even at the leading edge of more modern bikes.

Aaron Martin
4 years ago

That is a cool bike.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Yep, it's one of the first ebikes ever in the US and... you are the first to comment ;)

Vũ Nguyễn
4 years ago

First