EV Global Motors ebike SX Review

Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Electric Bike Review 1
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx 500 Watt Motor
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Battery
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Controller
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Headlight
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Electric Bike Review 1
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx 500 Watt Motor
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Battery
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Controller
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Headlight

Summary

  • A high powered, feature rich electric bike ahead of its time designed by Lee Iacocca (the pioneering engineer behind classic Ford and Chevy automobiles)
  • Discontinued, EV Global Motor Company went out of business
  • Strong 500 watt geared rear hub motor by Heinzmann paired with capable 36 volt SLA battery
  • Full of extras and creature comforts including front and rear headlights, side mirror, fenders, a horn and a shock on the fork and seat post

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

EV Global Motors

Model:

ebike SX

Price:

$2,000 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2005

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

75 lbs (34.01 kg)

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Fork Details:

Nitro DH Triple Suspension with 75 mm Travel

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7

Shifter Details:

Grip Twist

Cranks:

170 mm

Pedals:

Aluminum Alloy Platform

Brake Details:

Mechanical Disc in Front, V-Brake in Rear

Seat Post:

Suspension Shock

Rims:

26" x 1.5" Double Wall, Rear 36 Hole, Front 32 Hole

Spokes:

14 Gauge Stainless

Tire Brand:

26" x 1.95"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Accessories:

Front and Rear Fenders, Front and Rear lights, Single Side Kickstand, Built-in Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Heinzmann

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub (brushed)
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

288 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Sealed Lead Acid

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Display Type:

LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level

Display Accessories:

Horn, Cruise Control

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

17.5 mph (28 kph) (12.5 mph in Economy Mode)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The ebike SX was one of the higher end EV Global Motor electric bikes designed by Lee Iacocca who is famous for engineering the Ford Mustang and Ford Pinto cars. After leaving Ford he served as President and CEO of Chrysler from 1978 and as chairman from 1979 until retirement in 1992. In 1999 he became the head of EV Global Motors, a company formed to develop and market electric bikes in the US. It is said that he was inspired by innovation happening in Asian markets and wanted to bring his expertise from the automotive space to enhance bikes in America.

Powering the ebike SX is a beefy 500 watt geared brushed rear hub motor made by Heinzmann (known for their high quality systems). This is one of the more powerful motors of its time and is capable of moving larger riders. That said, motors from this time period were more prone to having gears stripped if used forcefully up hills without assistance. The motor is activated by using a trigger on the right handle bar. The left handle bar features a grip shifter which controls 7 gears on a standard rear cassette. It also features an adjustable side mirror for keeping track of passing cycles and vehicles.

The battery pack on this bike was built right into the oversized downtube and consisted of a 36 volt 8 amp hour sealed Lead-acid pack. This technology was state of the art at its time but does not rival modern Lithium-ion cells which tend to be much lighter and more capable of enduring thousands of charge cycles before losing capacity. That, compared with just ~250 estimated for the ebike SX and other bikes using SLA technology. In addition to the battery pack being located within the frame there is also a controller board and charging system. Newer ebikes tend to externalize the charger converter in a brick attached to the cord with the plug.

While the range, charge cycles and top speed on this bike are not very impressive by today’s standards, the fenders, horn, shock absorber, built in cruise control and design aesthetics still ring true. In fact, the SX and other EV Global ebike models look strikingly similar to the popular R series by Optibike. By integrating the wires, battery pack and controller into the oversized downtube, the chances of direct damage and weathering are greatly reduced. Considering the 75lb weight of this bike, the front disc brake was a welcome edition for riding in wet conditions. In terms of ride quality, this bike doesn’t feel as stiff as many newer ebikes but that’s due in large part to the weight.

The front and rear lights are ultra-bright and massive when compared with more modern offerings that often forgo lights altogether. The seat post shock makes a difference when riding over bumps and compliments the front shock well. If you see this bike at a garage sale or used bike store be sure to consider the lack of replacement parts available. Everything from the twist throttle to the controller and especially the batteries are hard to find. In the video review above you may notice the bike I was testing has a battery pack strapped onto a rear rack. This is due to the challenge of finding custom sized batteries that can fit inside the downtube. I’ve been told that if the trigger throttle on this bike breaks you can sometimes retrofit a throttle from Currie Technologies.

The ebike SX is an electric bike that led the way, inspired others to join in and ultimately proved to be ahead of its time. It’s not a very useful machine these days due to the limited replacement parts and abundance of new high-tech offerings but it’s still iconic and fun. For a collector or tinkerer this could be a worthwhile project but for most people it’s just something to be appreciated and acknowledged as a forerunner to modern ebikes.

Pros:

  • Powerful motor capable of moving larger riders and ascending medium hills with pedal assistance
  • Super bright front and rear headlights keep you safe at night
  • Front fork shock and seat post shock smooth out the bumps
  • Front and rear fenders keep dust, mud and water away
  • Front disc brake provides great stopping power in wet conditions
  • Includes a kickstand and metal bash guard on front chain ring

Cons:

  • No longer being produced, replacement parts becoming rare
  • Stock sealed Lead-acid battery was heavy and could only endure ~250 charges before losing capacity
  • No pedal assist mode, throttle only
  • Heavy bike with awkward frame that’s hard to lock up and a challenge to fit on hanging style car racks due to the lack of a top tube
  • Brushed style motors wear out faster and this older gear style may be prone to stripping if pushed too hard
  • Built in cruise control made riding over longer distances easier on the thumb

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

Hanle van Niekerk
3 years ago

We bought an Electric Bike a few years ago and struggling to get it working again. We are based in South Africa.

Can you please advise us on how to get the wiring diagram for the bike or who we can contact to assist us in this matter.

Thank you and regards,
Hanle van Niekerk

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hello Hanle, there are ways to get the ebike SX and other EV Global Motors electric bikes going again. Usually it has to do with replacing the battery but it sounds like you’re looking for help with wiring. There is a thread talking about this over on the forums at https://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/evg-ebike-upgrades.244/ and some more information at NYCeWheels http://www.nycewheels.com/ebike.html

I hope this helps you! The biggest challenge may be finding the right components in Africa to fix your existing bike. Feel free to join the discussion in the forums and ask for more advice :)

Sally Dillon
3 years ago

Hi, I have 2 ebikes in my garage. They are probably 15 years old? Need new batteries and tires. What is the best place to source these items, or to resell my bikes to other ebike enthusiasts?

Court Rye
3 years ago

That is a great question Sally… I really have no idea about this but have seen some of the older EV Global ebikes on display at shops in California and Florida just for fun (like a museum). You could always post them in the deals forum here for sale or ask around for help from other ebike enthusiasts in the EV Global Motors forum.

Eric Borcherding
3 years ago

On the EVG SX36 e-bike by Lee Iaocca. What a machine, and what a dream! One can convert these bikes to quite good performance:

1) Using the stock battery case fit in a LiNiMnCo 37V 10.8 AHr from BatterySpace (special order). At an astounding 6pds greatly lowers 15pds from L.A. 6 pack conversion of 6 x 6V * 9Ahr Powersonics (21 Pds). Big step…
2) Or try a 38.4V 15AHr LiFePO4 imotor @12pds bearing phenominal range / speed. 32KPH max, range of 60KM alone. This pack is simply, Kick-Ass. Snug fit into compartment with required BMS and connector mod; try 6 pack trailer connector. This is bested by 2 x 18.5V 18650 Lions self-build 7pd packs with a tricky BMS, dual chargers and stuffed full battery compartment fill, for more range.
3) Change 12V35W Halogen to Xenon QuteQueen LED H3mod 5W@14V, 82% energy saved for motor in night rides.
4) Alternately the Heinzmann PE speed motor at 470W vs. 500W brushed motor adds a few KPHs.
5) Choose tires with solid narrow center rubber, pumped at ~45PSI, like German made Chamberlands brown walls.
6) Keep the bike lubed and drivetrain / bearings clean, adjust brakes for no-drag.

Happy Trails… Eric

Court Rye
3 years ago

Awesome information on conversion Eric! Thanks for sharing this. I checked out your website on LED’s and found it interesting. Looks like you’re pretty skilled with electronics and hardware :)

greg znamenacek
1 year ago

Where might I find use parts for ebike LX thank greg

Court Rye
1 year ago

I’ve visited a couple of shops that have units in the back and they might be willing to sell you parts or the entire bike for a good price. One such shop is The Electric Bike Shop in Sacramento, California and the other is Myron’s Extreme Machines in Fullerton, California. No guarantees on either, they may or may not still have them but I have seen this unit in both shops over the past several years. Also, you could ask around in the EBR Community Forums here under For Sale or Q&A and ask for Ann M. who used to own a shop in Austin, Texas. She might know :)

GB
10 months ago

You can also get parts from: electricwheelsofflorida on eBay. They have OEM parts for the e-bike. Good Luck!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Salim
6 hours ago

Hello everyone,

I am ready to purchase my first ebike and wanted to ask for advice on what the best "bang for the buck" ebike would be? I am 91kg, in the Army and stationed in Germany. My commute would be both on paved and dirt bike trails, with rolling hills, to and from work with a 1 way trip of 17km.

I am looking for a high quality, speed pedelec commuter that would hold up well off pavement and one that includes a city kit with a good lighting system. I am currently looking at the Specialized Vado Expert (comes out in July here in Stuttgart and I think it is the same as the Vado 5.0) and also a "used (10km)" 2016 Specialized Turbo S. They are both priced the same but the Turbo S does not have the city kit so that would be extra (if I can find a store online that will ship to an APO, AE address). Also, I'm not sure if a mid drive or hub drive would be best since both motors offered by Specialized have been praised for their performance!

I am open to any suggestions, or brands, so I spend my money wisely and can get a long lasting, quality machine.

Thanks in advance for your help,

Salim

Ericmacfan
6 hours ago

Yeah I remember talking about the Radrover at the time! Back then there were like 2 fat options from the bigger ebike companies - guess we were a little impatient, look at the landscape now - and they are charging the same or close prices as non-fat bikes as well. It is actually quite amazing how much the industry has progressed in the last 2 years as well - the big brands are really refined, and the value brands are emerging and competing a ton for that sub-$2k market.

Have you received your bulls yet? It is SUCH a nice bike. I wish I had gotten the plus version, but I'm not losing sleep over it. I'm also probably getting an easy motion evo 27.5 Pro+ (the new one with the thru axle hub motor and 600wh battery) - BH bikes go a few miles over 20mph when pedaling - I've owned a BH before and really liked it, and plan to use this for commuting home several days a week (maybe more...but its 27 miles one way; going to take the bus in the morning, ride home at night).

Funny thing over the last 2 days - I had just the radrover up for sale on craigslist, but planned on selling my haibike as well afterward (haibike is super nice, but I rode it again 2 weeks ago and just don't think I'd go back to it now that I have the bulls). Long story short, I mentioned the haibike to one guy who inquired about the radrover...turns out he wanted to test the waters with the radrover but really wanted a mid-drive...so he bought the haibike instead and I had another buyer already lined up for the radrover the same night - sold them both this morning!
Congrats on the quick sale !!

LimboJim
9 hours ago

My limited understanding of lithium batteries comes from roughly two years of casual "research" as my burgeoning eMTB zealotry developed, and on what industry folks that I respect have told me. That disclaimer aside, I have to wonder why the ebike industry offers so little info about the Battery Management Systems (BMSs) used on ebikes. Aren't they often the cause of the sporadic yet spectacular fires we hear about? I believe that they also regulate the charging/discharging such that lithium batteries never reach true "100%" or "0%" levels, which can dramatically extend lifespan.

LimboJim
11 hours ago

A Massachusetts ebike company, Fifield, has been hand-making a couple of nice looking leisure models for a few years. They also have a couple of factory-built models - hopefully @Court will venture east and review them soonly, along with my buddy's PEBL hemp-based velomobile, also being made here in MA.

As an eMTB enthusiast, however, I was keen to learn that Fifield's now offering an e-fattie with choices of Bafang mid-drive or hub motors for just $1399 to the first 5 Kickstarter backers. 14.5Ah batteries with Panasonic cells, an attractive Bafang display, Shimano Alivio 9-speed gearing (I'd replace that in short order), Tektro hydraulic brakes, and 4" CST tires... seems like a helluva deal to me!

Nice folks, too (I called them)... they seem genuinely interested in getting more folks (back) on bikes.

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/244394430/the-rogue-wave-the-electric-bike-for-everyone/description

Thomas Jaszewski
12 hours ago

I recommend buying the 72V Cycle Satiator over the 48V version. It won't charge as fast (5A max vs. 8A) but it will charge up to 96V systems so it should be more future proof. I have one and think it's well worth the money especially if you're getting one of the bigger (more expensive) batteries. I normally charge my 17.4aH battery to 80% at a slow 1A charge rate using my Cycle Satiator.
I chose the satiator originally because I could also do a 12V SLA. Something the 72V can't do. I do not agree that 72V is the coming way. I think there will be some serious problems moving up to that voltage. It's now in the danger range for anyone making a mistake in handling. There's really no earthly good reason for a eBike to be 72V. Not when 48V can drive a bike at speeds above the capacity of most bikes to safely stop. I did buy a 72V to experiment with. I may keep it and pitch all the cheap finless and unreliable luna chargers.

Thomas Jaszewski
12 hours ago

Hi! I vist a half dozen spots and honestly have never heard many comments at all about throttles, except my EU friends looking for workarounds to having stealth throttles. The only people I've heard ANY comment from were also eBike haters. I seldom use my throttle but I use maximum assist most of the time. Being disabled I can't pump the pedals, but I can spin them and I get at least that much movement. More than once I've gone to far and throttled home. I just have learned to pay no attention. When I rode Vespa scooter (250CC) I intend to the asshats that said "get a real bike(motorcycle). There's always someone. In all my groups, here, Facebook, Endless_Sphere.com, no on DARES start the complaint. That's why I was surprised. I honestly have never seen the discussion in an eBike forum. I gave up on MTB forums even though I and a paying member of the Mountain Bike Assoc. I keep it up to support the local MTB club at the high school here. But this guys are near impossible to talk to about eBikes, so I don't bother. I like my eBikes best because of the low skill and I always have 4 running and can invite guests. LOTS more fun than the MC and scooter days. They grumps lose. We get to ride in places they'll never see without a bike. I'll never look back and miss the smell or the noise.

Mark Peralta
14 hours ago

With the 48x11 top gear, you get about 33 mph at a cadence of 90 rpm. You can cruise at 28mph in the 48x13 next to top gear at the same cadence. With a 40T chainring and 40x11 top gear, you can still get to 28 mph, but have to hit a cadence of 95 rpm in the top gear. OTOH, a nice 80 rpm cadence in the 40x13 next to top gear (9 or 10 depending on mech) would be 20.5 mph.
.

At 28 mph, I want to be contributing as much power as I can to help the motor and to prevent it from over heating. At that speed I want to maintain my cadence to be at least 100 rpm. I don't even use the tenth gear of my 2015 Izip Dash (that ebike is over geared at the top end). The mid drive can be a different story since it has a limit on the maximum allowable rpm to effectively operate (some 80 rpm, others 90 rpm or 100 rpm, Bosch 110-120 rpm)

romagjack
14 hours ago

Lots of good comments on all sides of the debate. I like to ride the Greenway near my house where there are multiple "switchbacks", all very hilly and with very tight turns to get on and off. Without a throttle that can be used at slow speeds, I would have to walk my 55# bike up and down these hills. Since I don't have the balance and coordination of my youth, churning the pedals while navigating the uphill tight turns only happens in my dreams. I have viewed all of Court's great videos and still come up short on my dream bike. The technology is there and I hope to see some offerings soon:

Mid- drive with throttle to override all gears, Must have torque sensing
IGH, Nuvinci or Shimano, or Rohloff (belt drive preferred)
Prefer dual suspension that allows for upright riding position, (Body float, Thudbuster ok if just front suspension)
Must be stealthy and not look like an ebike (Like Bulls or Easy Motion bikes)

Lots of bikes come close. I was hopeful the newer Bafang Max based bikes offer torque sensing and throttle, but it appears they added torque sensing but dropped the throttle.

mrgold35
14 hours ago

So what I understand from your reply is that an e-bike is a very fun device to use, but you would only use it as a mean of transportation if you know you have a safe place inside to store it (and possibly charge it) at your destination. With this said, you would still count on a car in a few occasions. Does that sum it up?

Pretty much sums it up.

I still like to have a car for after-work errands once I get home, doctor's appt during the day, just feeling too tired to ride that day, or bad weather (extreme wind or rain/snow). I would still ride my bike to work if I couldn't store indoors because I can remove the battery to re-charge in my office (probably keep a water proof bike cover in my office to use when needed). I just moved my errands to the weekends mostly (or one day during the week) to combine my car trips to 1-2 outings. I think I would still ride my Radrover to/from work if my mileage was up to 15-20 miles one-way. E-biking +20 miles one-way would be harder because of the inclines and windy afternoons impacting my range sometimes. Ran out of juice once about a mile from home after taking a +20 mile single track trail ride detour near the Rio Grande River on a windy day. Didn't enjoy pedaling a +70lbs fat tire ebike with zero power in a +15 mph headwind.

tinynja98
15 hours ago

I've had my Radrover ebike since Sept/2016. I have a 700X40c pedal bike (Transeo GT) I've had for almost 4 years. I'm at 5000-5400ft, +95 degree summer heat, a lot of inclines, and usually 10-15 mph winds with gust +25 mph in the springtime. It was getting too hard to enjoy exercising when it is faster to walk compared to riding in a +20 mph headwind and the hills were getting to me at 51 yrs old.

I enjoyed riding the Radrover so much, I started riding the 6.5 miles to work. My server room is next to my office on the 2nd floor and I park my ebike there to recharge the battery. The bike rack in front of the security guard station is exposed to the elements in the front of the building. I started out with fun and now use my ebike to replace my vehicle to commute to work. I don't like to ride if it is extremely windy, snowy, or raining. I would gas my car up every week when I drove to work. I now gas up about 1-2 times a month (mostly use car on weekends) and have over 2000 miles on the bike.

I couldn't go 100% ebike. It nice to have the option for using an ebike or driving depending on what I need to do that day.

So what I understand from your reply is that an e-bike is a very fun device to use, but you would only use it as a mean of transportation if you know you have a safe place inside to store it (and possibly charge it) at your destination. With this said, you would still count on a car in a few occasions. Does that sum it up?

Dewey
17 hours ago

If you combine [a mid-drive motor] with a Gates carbon belt and an IGH (Nuvinci, Shimano Alfine, Rohloff......) then you will probably have the quietest mid drive ebike you can get at the moment.

Gates have a list of ebikes using the Gates Carbon Drive on their website.

J.R.
18 hours ago

Hi @Franklo

I just looked at your profile page to try and see what bike you have, it's an Easy Motion Evo? If that's the case, your controller is up high inside the frame and is fully potted in RTV silicone.

Controller location:

About as water proof as any ebike controller could be. The connections on the bike are water resistant, but these should be checked for tightness when cleaning or performing regular maintenance. I also like to check the machine screws on the hub motor, using a torque wrench set to 4 NM.

I've been caught in some serious rain with my BH Evo and haven't had any issues, but I do try to keep the bike dry. I'm in the Northeast as well and enough with the rain already! Farmers are even starting to complain. I hope you get to enjoy your ride this weekend!

1/1
Mark Peralta
20 hours ago

Vado all-weather full fenders.
This new Vado has an extended front fender close to the ground although it doesn't look like it has a flexible lower lip. I knew that the front fender has to extend all the way down in order the protect the mid drive from road splash and dirt. More especially if you have the low lying Bafang BBS. The modifications I did to my fender effectively kept my BBS and my shoes splash free and dirt free. However, when I carry my ebike through stairs the lower lip actually touches the steps, good thing it's made up of flexible rubber.

Addendum:
I take that back. After reviewing the video, there is actually a flexible rubber mud flap that is flush mounted to the fender. Sweet!

1/1
E-Wheels
1 day ago

Absolutely new to Ebikes, and this website, and with that comes outstanding ignorance.

I'm looking for an Ebike that can make it up hills with a bit of ease (so mid-drive?), that doesn't have too many wires and cables, uses a hydraulic brake system, has a rear and/or front racks, doesn't make much or any noise when using the motor, and looks "professional" or "polished."

This would be a commuter/urban/cargo bike. I am in the USA, male, 5' 11,'' 160 lbs.

I've looked at how some of the specs for an Ebike effect performance (motor output in watts, battery voltage in amp/watt hours, motor torque in newton meters), yet I don't know to what degree all of these matter. I've also seen some bikes were the variables are almost identical yet the mile range difference is drastic.

I also don't know what brands are quality and which aren't. I also don't know how much I should be paying for anything.

I've looked at these bikes so far:

Faraday Cortland: (https://electricbikereview.com/faraday/cortland/)
Gazelle NL C7 HMB (https://electricbikereview.com/gazelle/nl-c7-hmb/)
Walleräng M.01 (https://electricbikereview.com/wallerang/m-01/)

The Faraday is what I first started looking at, but I have no clue if it has enough power or not/if it's worth the price. It is, however, quiet and looks amazing.

The Gazelle has great colors, but some of the main parts of the bike look non-durable or ready to break, there are many wires hanging about, and front basket is too clunky.

The Walleräng looks fantastic, has mid-drive, 500w motor output at max, and has (what I think to be) high quality parts and pieces, but it's seems a bit loud. Is that standard? This is the best ebike out of the 3 I have really examined.

For anyone willing to help me out, this is a sizable post, I am open to all knowledge of Ebikes, opinions on brands, opinions on bikes I've listed, and any suggestions you have of Ebikes that would be best fit for me.

Thank you in advance.
The quietest mid drive on the market at the moment is the Brose motor. If you combine the Brose system that with a Gates carbon belt and an IGH (Nuvinci, Shimano Alfine, Rohloff......) then you will probably have the quietest mid drive ebike you can get at the moment. If you want to research some Brose mid drive ebikes I suggest you check out the Scott E-Silence, Specialized Vado and Bulls Lacuba range. What is your budget.

Larry Ganz
1 day ago

I would expect that for a fairly heavy person that a more powerful motor with a lot of torque is more important than it's speed rating.

For example, if you were considering something from Trek (which I researched a lot before buying), I would have recommended the 20mph 75NM Powerfly over the 28mph 63NM XM700+ speed pedelec, because the slower bike has more torque to get a heavier person moving, especially on hills. At 215 lbs I didn't have any trouble climbing with a 50NM Dual Sport+ at 200%, but the 75NM Powerfly makes steep hills almost effortless at 300% assist.

The Vado 5.0 seems to give you both high speed and 90NM torque, with a larger battery to support the extra power you might draw (350W vs 250W of the 3.0). Regardless, with the mid-drive taking advantage of the gearing I'd expect most of these bikes with over 50NM to work up to 250lbs (max rating for Trek), depending on the number of hills you have to pull.

With both offering 90NM torque, maybe your choice could be based on (1) big price difference and (2) whether you will be riding in places that only allow a class 1 eBike (eliminating the 5.0).

However, Court has the Vado 3.0 and 5.0 both listed as providing lower % levels of assist than Trek, at 20% ECO, 50% Sport, and 100% Turbo. I don't know if that is a typo, but I fear that you'd have to own extremely powerful legs to get the full 90NM out of the motor at only 100% assist. I've run into some hills that have required the 200% support level that the Trek eBikes offer, and some where I was stuck at 5-7 mph uphill if I chose to stick with only 100% support, but I am disabled with only one working lung and fibromyalgia.

I've tried the same steep hill with a 50NM Dual Sport+ and 75NM Powefly 7, and 100% was almost not enough in some parts of my climb, although it was doable at slower speeds. But the 120% assist of the Powerfly in Tour mode was a noticeable bump over the 100% of the Dual Sport+ in NORM mode - and that same hill with 200% pedal assist doesn't make me stop to rest and sees 10+ mph speeds (while my 300% feels like cheating).

I'll have to go watch Court's video reviews now.

EDIT - I mention the hills, even though your ride is flat, because hills make the bike perform as if I'm heavier than I am, which could replicate your experience with an extra 30 lbs to push.

Zoumios
1 day ago

Absolutely new to Ebikes, and this website, and with that comes outstanding ignorance.

I'm looking for an Ebike that can make it up hills with a bit of ease (so mid-drive?), that doesn't have too many wires and cables, uses a hydraulic brake system, has a rear and/or front racks, doesn't make much or any noise when using the motor, and looks "professional" or "polished."

This would be a commuter/urban/cargo bike. I am in the USA, male, 5' 11,'' 160 lbs.

I've looked at how some of the specs for an Ebike effect performance (motor output in watts, battery voltage in amp/watt hours, motor torque in newton meters), yet I don't know to what degree all of these matter. I've also seen some bikes were the variables are almost identical yet the mile range difference is drastic.

I also don't know what brands are quality and which aren't. I also don't know how much I should be paying for anything.

I've looked at these bikes so far:

Faraday Cortland: (https://electricbikereview.com/faraday/cortland/)
Gazelle NL C7 HMB (https://electricbikereview.com/gazelle/nl-c7-hmb/)
Walleräng M.01 (https://electricbikereview.com/wallerang/m-01/)

The Faraday is what I first started looking at, but I have no clue if it has enough power or not/if it's worth the price. It is, however, quiet and looks amazing.

The Gazelle has great colors, but some of the main parts of the bike look non-durable or ready to break, there are many wires hanging about, and front basket is too clunky.

The Walleräng looks fantastic, has mid-drive, 500w motor output at max, and has (what I think to be) high quality parts and pieces, but it's seems a bit loud. Is that standard? This is the best ebike out of the 3 I have really examined.

For anyone willing to help me out, this is a sizable post, I am open to all knowledge of Ebikes, opinions on brands, opinions on bikes I've listed, and any suggestions you have of Ebikes that would be best fit for me.

Thank you in advance.

Over50
1 day ago

When online vs. local conversation is on- always reminds me of California gun buying. Some people- NOT ME, will buy online- save $100.00, then use local dealer for $25.00 transfer fee. Talk about the walk of shame!!!! Local dealer knows what you did, then spend 15 minutes face to face with the store owner doing paperwork. They should take all his guns away!

I think we're confusing a couple of things here. The original thread was not buying local vs online but buying from local vs from a non local dealer. Which is also what I was referring to. Your gun scenario implies you can get the same gun from the local dealer as you buy online. The original thread was "unable to buy the bike I want locally". This was the situation I described for both my regular bike and my ebike. Particularly for the ebikes, I had a pretty limited local selection. And I wouldn't describe my final purchase as an online purchase but rather one from a non local dealer (in my case I flew to Brooklyn, met the dealer, rode the bike and had it shipped). So while the money part of the transaction was online, it wasn't like I was buying the bike from Amazon (or a gun off of Gunbroker). At least for ebikes, I think the lack of local product might be a primary motivation for many customers who buy from distant sellers (moreso than saving a buck although I'm sure that occurs too).

mrgold35
1 day ago

I've had my Radrover ebike since Sept/2016. I have a 700X40c pedal bike (Transeo GT) I've had for almost 4 years. I'm at 5000-5400ft, +95 degree summer heat, a lot of inclines, and usually 10-15 mph winds with gust +25 mph in the springtime. It was getting too hard to enjoy exercising when it is faster to walk compared to riding in a +20 mph headwind and the hills were getting to me at 51 yrs old.

I enjoyed riding the Radrover so much, I started riding the 6.5 miles to work. My server room is next to my office on the 2nd floor and I park my ebike there to recharge the battery. The bike rack in front of the security guard station is exposed to the elements in the front of the building. I started out with fun and now use my ebike to replace my vehicle to commute to work. I don't like to ride if it is extremely windy, snowy, or raining. I would gas my car up every week when I drove to work. I now gas up about 1-2 times a month (mostly use car on weekends) and have over 2000 miles on the bike.

I couldn't go 100% ebike. It nice to have the option for using an ebike or driving depending on what I need to do that day.

Marc V
2 days ago

Wow, sorry to hear and I will keep an eye on this thread as I currently own a Juiced Bike, hope you get it worked out!

I currently own a Juiced ODK U500 V3 (2nd eBike) and have worked with Juiced Support on a few support cases and they have been very helpful (even Tora himself responded to one of my support cases).

I couldn't tell by your post if you already have a current support case with Juiced Bikes? If not, I recommend getting one ASAP so you can nip this in the bud. UPDATE: I see you said Luis called you, which I assume you are talking about Luis from Juiced. Either way I hope it all gets sorted out!

Good luck!

Take care, ride safe!
Marc V

Mark Peralta
20 hours ago

I knew that the front fender has to extend all the way down in order the protect the mid drive from road splash and dirt. More especially if you have the low lying Bafang BBS. The modifications I did to my fender effectively kept my BBS and my shoes splash free and dirt free. This new Vado also has an extended fender although it doesn't have the flexible lower lip. When I carry my ebike through stairs the lower lip actually touches the steps, good thing it's made up of rubber.

Addendum:
I take that back. After reviewing the video, there is actually a flexible rubber mud flap that is flush mounted to the fender. Sweet!

1/1
Mickey
1 day ago

Help! I realize that there's this thread
https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/help-troubleshoot-assist-just-stops.5121/
but I would apppreciate your advice.

In the middle of a ride, the controller turned blank and there was no power. The battery light showed that there was a charge and in fact the battery was fully charged the evening before.

I now can't get the controller to turn on and I can't get any electric power. Luis called and said the battery can overheat, but in my opinion that shouldn't be the case 5 miles into a ride on flat paths.

Even if I can fix it, how can I (or anyone) go out for a long ride in the middle of nowhere and have the electric system break again? I should add that this is my third eBike, so I'm not a complete novice.

If anyone has solutions please let me know. I think the design and concept behind the CrossCurrent is excellent and the price is a bargain. Thanks.

Maury decoster
2 days ago

No ebike is perfect, this is a thread dedicated to sharing known issues or problems with electric bikes from Magnum as well as any help and solutions you know of. Sometimes that means a DIY fix and other times it can mean a recall, software update or part replacement by a dealer.

Please be respectful and constructive with feedback, this is not a space for hate speech. In many cases, representatives from the company will see feedback and use it to improve their product. In the end, the goal is to enjoy riding and help each other go further and be safer.

Glad you started this. Love my new bike. Am extolling its virtues to our bike group comprised of older folks. At present Mi where I reside does not have a lot of E-bike owners.

mrgold35
2 days ago

I just saw they changed the dates of the Salt Lake City eBike Expo to the following week (now on May 19th to 21st). I won't be able to make the Expo. :(

mrgold35
2 days ago

My Radrover is my starter bike to get me into the ebike world. I want to eventually upgrade to a full suspension mid-drive for lighter weight, balance, front/rear quick release rims, TQ, and longer range. I was thinking about getting a second set of rims and have commuter slicks on one and knobby for trails on the other set. It is hard to find an affordable fat/plus size tire mid-drive with a full power throttle on any PAS level like the Radrover.

Highway Star
1 year ago

Also I restored the original battery by running a razor along the top edge of the plastic lid then popping it off exposing the battery fill cells that have rubber caps that pop off with a screwdriver then filled with battery acid from the local auto parts and it works great again after 12 years of sitting. Plenty of videos on restoring sealed battery's on youtube.

Highway Star
1 year ago

got me a new 36V BATTERY from Jerry and it fits perfectly into the case, but it does not have screw in terminals only lead tabs. So I didn't want to cut the original wires so I made 2-2 inch jumpers and soldered them to the eye leads then plugged them to the battery works great with no chopping....

Highway Star
1 year ago

got me a new 36V BATTERY from Jerry and it fits perfectly into the case, but it does not have screw in terminals only lead tabs. So I didn't want to cut the original wires so I made 2-2 inch jumpers and soldered them to the eye leads then plugged them to the battery works great with no chopping....

Cyclo TeChTwIsTeR
2 years ago

This is the man that has all the parts you will need and yes a battery to fit inside as it should.
http://www.ebay.com/usr/electricwheelsofflorida?_trksid=p2047675.l2559

He also has the bikes For sell
Jerry
Call 305 687 8484 for Free Tech SupportWe have the largest inventory of original parts for the EVG EBikes.

David Clein
2 years ago

The controller is not in the battery case. it is housed in the body. Lead acid is available (36v 9Ah) to rebuild the original battery pack. putting the primary battery pack on the rear rack is stupid.

David Clein
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Six 6 volt / 9 AH (5.95" x 1.34" x 3.70") SLA batteries with F2 terminals wired in series fit into the battery box. With a little crimping and soldering these are the closest thing to a drop in replacement for the original discontinued 36V "Long" battery. With this set-up expect range of 8 miles in full power mode with little to no pedaling and 15 miles in low power mode.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+David Clein Great feedback David, thanks for chiming in! I was doing my best to piece together the facts about this bike but was doing it with limited input. You're welcome to share your expertise here anytime :)

wolfman9999999
2 years ago

I have the 24 volt version, and I'm trying to figure out what some of the switches do on the left side of the handlebar.  Battery pack can be refurbished with UPS batteries.  I did it to mine

Adam Feathers
2 years ago

I bought 2 eBikes in 1999 at a Oldsmobile Dealer in central Pa. and put them away in 2001 after one fell down and broke the key switch . They both look like brand new but I'm not sure what to do with them since I don't know if they're is any place to get parts or the repairs done (in Pa.). When I put them away I replaced both batteries (probably shot now). It would be a shame to just junk them . I would like to get them repaired this spring and use them again, they were great and a lot of fun to ride !

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Adam Feathers Hi Adam! Sounds like a fun project. I'm sure there are people who will collect these someday, even a few who want parts or originals right now. You could just keep them stored and eventually sell them on eBay or the forums: http://electricbikereview.com/community/forums/for-sale/

Ron Warrick
3 years ago

I bought a 24v about ten years ago for $650 and it is still going, but I really need to upgrade to make it faster and also get away from SLA's.  Any ideas appreciated. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Hi Ron! So glad to hear the eBike worked well for you. As for your next bike, I guess it depends on what your cycling needs are. I've created a full list of some of my favorite bikes in each category including one value and one performance here: http://electricbikereview.com/top-10-electric-bikes/ check it out, each review has a video and all the specs, chime in if you have any comments, there's also a forum to discuss with other riders and owners: http://electricbikereview.com/community/

HostileHST
3 years ago

On the throttle, almost any 5k ohm potentiometer controlller will work on these ebikes.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Thanks for the great tips +HostileHST 

HostileHST
3 years ago

I had the 24 volt version that would only go 12 mph under power, but it sure did help going up hills. The 36 volt version I believe would go around 18 mph and if you pushed into the 48 volt range (controller needs replaced or modified), you could see about 23 mph. 36 volt packs can easily be made with some soldering abilities. The batteries to do this are still being made.

Kit Babcock
3 years ago

Ron....the 24v heinzmann rear hub can be over volted to 50v, though using a stock EVG ebike 36v controller starts to get hot and "beeps". Shutting off the power and back on again resets it, but I'm running 46.2v's and it's fine.

DON'T over volt the stock EVG ebike 24v controller, as it has a max voltage around 29v before it blows the 26v range capacitors! If done, the lights will still work, but you get NO throttle response!. This was a common error when a 36v SLA battery box was put in a 24v ebike. I'm using the 24v/400watt rear hub on a 36v setup bike. Because of spun one-way stock bearings in the 36v hubs. Or I'm swapping in 36v motors into the 24v hubs that don't have spun bearings.

The 400watt hubs are setup for speed and not torque like the 36v 500watts hubs.

Though understand that there is a design flaw in the hubs as they use a pressed on one-way bearing. BIG guys riding these bikes and giving them full throttle can spin them! The motors works, but your now stuck in "mud" and slipping.  :-)

Here is an article on ES for the spun bearing:

http://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4190&start=25

I'm looking into using a laser welder to fix this problem. You want low heat as the sealed bearing has a plastic cap to hold in the grease. Your welding the bearing to the axle.

Made sense?

Ron Warrick
3 years ago

+Kit Babcock   Good stuff.  Can you clarify whether you are talking about converting a 24 v, or a 36v?  It sounds like you are shooting for 40 volts or so here.  Mine is 24v, so I don't want to burn it out.  Thanks.

HostileHST
3 years ago

Oops, didn't see that was for Kit, but it's all good info he shares and I would have gone that way, but had to sell mine so we had money to move a little over a year ago. Wish I could get another one, but haven't seen one for sale recently.

HostileHST
3 years ago

NP at all, always trying to help when I can. Glad you put it on the forum.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Kit Babcock Kit, this is awesome! Thanks for the tips. If you don't mind, I also shared your words on the forum where another individual was trying to figure out how to replace his 24v battery for an EV Global Mini http://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/ev-global-mini-ebike-battery-replacement.262/ feel free to amend or add your voice there as well. I referenced your comment and linked here so he might reply as well.

SuperPapadzul
3 years ago

It reminds me of a Velosolex, but cooler because it is electric.

BiknutProductions
3 years ago

Sort of resembles an early caveman version of an Opti Bike. Obviously ahead of it's time.

Aaron Martin
3 years ago

Ya in 2002 i did not know that there was a e-bike for sale.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

I agree Aaron, this thing was full of neat features and way ahead of its time. With a lighter weight battery it could be on-par or even at the leading edge of more modern bikes.

Aaron Martin
3 years ago

That is a cool bike.

ElectricBikeReview.com
4 years ago

Yep, it's one of the first ebikes ever in the US and... you are the first to comment ;)

Vũ Nguyễn
4 years ago

First