EV Global Motors ebike SX Review

Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Electric Bike Review
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx 500 Watt Motor
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Battery
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Controller
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Headlight
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Electric Bike Review
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx 500 Watt Motor
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Battery
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Controller
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Headlight

Summary

  • A high powered, feature rich electric bike ahead of its time designed by Lee Iacocca (the pioneering engineer behind classic Ford and Chevy automobiles)
  • Discontinued, EV Global Motor Company went out of business
  • Strong 500 watt geared rear hub motor by Heinzmann paired with capable 36 volt SLA battery
  • Full of extras and creature comforts including front and rear headlights, side mirror, fenders, a horn and a shock on the fork and seat post

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651
Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

EV Global Motors

Model:

ebike SX

Price:

$ 2000.00 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2005

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

75 lbs ( 34.01 kg )

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Fork Details:

Nitro DH Triple Suspension with 75 mm Travel

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7

Shifter Details:

Grip Twist

Cranks:

170 mm

Pedals:

Aluminum Alloy Platform

Brake Details:

Mechanical Disc in Front, V-Brake in Rear

Seat Post:

Suspension Shock

Rims:

26" x 1.5" Double Wall, Rear 36 Hole, Front 32 Hole

Spokes:

14 Gauge Stainless

Tire Brand:

26" x 1.95"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in ( 66.04 cm )

Accessories:

Front and Rear Fenders, Front and Rear lights, Single Side Kickstand, Built-in Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub (brushed)
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Motor Brand:

Heinzmann

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

288 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Sealed Lead Acid

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles ( 24 km )

Estimated Max Range:

20 miles ( 32 km )

Display Type:

LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level

Display Accessories:

Horn, Cruise Control

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

17.5 mph ( 28 kph ) (12.5 mph in Economy Mode)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The ebike SX was one of the higher end EV Global Motor electric bikes designed by Lee Iacocca who is famous for engineering the Ford Mustang and Ford Pinto cars. After leaving Ford he served as President and CEO of Chrysler from 1978 and as chairman from 1979 until retirement in 1992. In 1999 he became the head of EV Global Motors, a company formed to develop and market electric bikes in the US. It is said that he was inspired by innovation happening in Asian markets and wanted to bring his expertise from the automotive space to enhance bikes in America.

Powering the ebike SX is a beefy 500 watt geared brushed rear hub motor made by Heinzmann (known for their high quality systems). This is one of the more powerful motors of its time and is capable of moving larger riders. That said, motors from this time period were more prone to having gears stripped if used forcefully up hills without assistance. The motor is activated by using a trigger on the right handle bar. The left handle bar features a grip shifter which controls 7 gears on a standard rear cassette. It also features an adjustable side mirror for keeping track of passing cycles and vehicles.

The battery pack on this bike was built right into the oversized downtube and consisted of a 36 volt 8 amp hour sealed Lead-acid pack. This technology was state of the art at its time but does not rival modern Lithium-ion cells which tend to be much lighter and more capable of enduring thousands of charge cycles before losing capacity. That, compared with just ~250 estimated for the ebike SX and other bikes using SLA technology. In addition to the battery pack being located within the frame there is also a controller board and charging system. Newer ebikes tend to externalize the charger converter in a brick attached to the cord with the plug.

While the range, charge cycles and top speed on this bike are not very impressive by today’s standards, the fenders, horn, shock absorber, built in cruise control and design aesthetics still ring true. In fact, the SX and other EV Global ebike models look strikingly similar to the popular R series by Optibike. By integrating the wires, battery pack and controller into the oversized downtube, the chances of direct damage and weathering are greatly reduced. Considering the 75lb weight of this bike, the front disc brake was a welcome edition for riding in wet conditions. In terms of ride quality, this bike doesn’t feel as stiff as many newer ebikes but that’s due in large part to the weight.

The front and rear lights are ultra-bright and massive when compared with more modern offerings that often forgo lights altogether. The seat post shock makes a difference when riding over bumps and compliments the front shock well. If you see this bike at a garage sale or used bike store be sure to consider the lack of replacement parts available. Everything from the twist throttle to the controller and especially the batteries are hard to find. In the video review above you may notice the bike I was testing has a battery pack strapped onto a rear rack. This is due to the challenge of finding custom sized batteries that can fit inside the downtube. I’ve been told that if the trigger throttle on this bike breaks you can sometimes retrofit a throttle from Currie Technologies.

The ebike SX is an electric bike that led the way, inspired others to join in and ultimately proved to be ahead of its time. It’s not a very useful machine these days due to the limited replacement parts and abundance of new high-tech offerings but it’s still iconic and fun. For a collector or tinkerer this could be a worthwhile project but for most people it’s just something to be appreciated and acknowledged as a forerunner to modern ebikes.

Pros:

  • Powerful motor capable of moving larger riders and ascending medium hills with pedal assistance
  • Super bright front and rear headlights keep you safe at night
  • Front fork shock and seat post shock smooth out the bumps
  • Front and rear fenders keep dust, mud and water away
  • Front disc brake provides great stopping power in wet conditions
  • Includes a kickstand and metal bash guard on front chain ring

Cons:

  • No longer being produced, replacement parts becoming rare
  • Stock sealed Lead-acid battery was heavy and could only endure ~250 charges before losing capacity
  • No pedal assist mode, throttle only
  • Heavy bike with awkward frame that’s hard to lock up and a challenge to fit on hanging style car racks due to the lack of a top tube
  • Brushed style motors wear out faster and this older gear style may be prone to stripping if pushed too hard
  • Built in cruise control made riding over longer distances easier on the thumb

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

Hanle van Niekerk
2 years ago

We bought an Electric Bike a few years ago and struggling to get it working again. We are based in South Africa.

Can you please advise us on how to get the wiring diagram for the bike or who we can contact to assist us in this matter.

Thank you and regards,
Hanle van Niekerk

Court Rye
2 years ago

Hello Hanle, there are ways to get the ebike SX and other EV Global Motors electric bikes going again. Usually it has to do with replacing the battery but it sounds like you're looking for help with wiring. There is a thread talking about this over on the forums at https://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/evg-ebike-upgrades.244/ and some more information at NYCeWheels http://www.nycewheels.com/ebike.html

I hope this helps you! The biggest challenge may be finding the right components in Africa to fix your existing bike. Feel free to join the discussion in the forums and ask for more advice :)

Sally Dillon
2 years ago

Hi, I have 2 ebikes in my garage. They are probably 15 years old? Need new batteries and tires. What is the best place to source these items, or to resell my bikes to other ebike enthusiasts?

Court Rye
2 years ago

That is a great question Sally... I really have no idea about this but have seen some of the older EV Global ebikes on display at shops in California and Florida just for fun (like a museum). You could always post them in the deals forum here for sale or ask around for help from other ebike enthusiasts in the EV Global Motors forum.

Eric Borcherding
2 years ago

On the EVG SX36 e-bike by Lee Iaocca. What a machine, and what a dream! One can convert these bikes to quite good performance:

1) Using the stock battery case fit in a LiNiMnCo 37V 10.8 AHr from BatterySpace (special order). At an astounding 6pds greatly lowers 15pds from L.A. 6 pack conversion of 6 x 6V * 9Ahr Powersonics (21 Pds). Big step...
2) Or try a 38.4V 15AHr LiFePO4 imotor @12pds bearing phenominal range / speed. 32KPH max, range of 60KM alone. This pack is simply, Kick-Ass. Snug fit into compartment with required BMS and connector mod; try 6 pack trailer connector. This is bested by 2 x 18.5V 18650 Lions self-build 7pd packs with a tricky BMS, dual chargers and stuffed full battery compartment fill, for more range.
3) Change 12V35W Halogen to Xenon QuteQueen LED H3mod 5W@14V, 82% energy saved for motor in night rides.
4) Alternately the Heinzmann PE speed motor at 470W vs. 500W brushed motor adds a few KPHs.
5) Choose tires with solid narrow center rubber, pumped at ~45PSI, like German made Chamberlands brown walls.
6) Keep the bike lubed and drivetrain / bearings clean, adjust brakes for no-drag.

Happy Trails... Eric

Court Rye
2 years ago

Awesome information on conversion Eric! Thanks for sharing this. I checked out your website on LED's and found it interesting. Looks like you're pretty skilled with electronics and hardware :)

greg znamenacek
6 months ago

Where might I find use parts for ebike LX thank greg

Court Rye
6 months ago

I've visited a couple of shops that have units in the back and they might be willing to sell you parts or the entire bike for a good price. One such shop is The Electric Bike Shop in Sacramento, California and the other is Myron's Extreme Machines in Fullerton, California. No guarantees on either, they may or may not still have them but I have seen this unit in both shops over the past several years. Also, you could ask around in the EBR Community Forums here under For Sale or Q&A and ask for Ann M. who used to own a shop in Austin, Texas. She might know :)

GB
2 months ago

You can also get parts from: electricwheelsofflorida on eBay. They have OEM parts for the e-bike. Good Luck!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Kaldeem
1 hour ago
Funny though, Pedego reports a lot of profits, and for a while here in CO, there was really only a few eBike shops locally you could check out. Small planet eBikes (independent Pedego dealer) and eSpokes4folkes which is a Pedego dealer, but now there are Pedego stores popping up all over the state. I looked into opening one, but 78K to start a eBike shop in the heart of CO is a no brainer. I'd be out of business by years end. So many "traditionalist" don't want to accept it, and everyone else that's uneducated about eBikes, believe they get zero exercise from them... Personally, I probably wouldn't be able to compete with the other stores who have the funds.
Green Machine
2 hours ago
yeah very true George...difficult business....the ebike business in general is very tough. I had a store go out of business back in early 2000... i had 3 stores actually one in fishermans wharf san francisco, one in berkely, and one in downtown san Francisco. It was one of the worst feelings i ever had to see liquidate my stores etc....very painful

Also i noticed as a reporter that few ebike producers make it. .... its crazy to see all the new ebike companies pop up at innerbike each year and the next year they are gone.

currie i heard has declared bankrupt several times and has been revived by new investors etc.

A few years back i did a ebike graveyard to document this effect: https://www.electricbike.com/ebike-graveyard/

Also ebike kit dealers.... through the years I have seen many of them come and go....

The fact is everyone always things that these ebikes are so cool that everyone is gong to wake up and the market is going to explode at any moment....but the truth is it hasnt.

And the ebike market in this country has never been here..... just always seems its at the cusp....

but not even as big as australias..... not even close to europes.... and china of course is blowing everybody away when it comes to ebike business.
Kaldeem
3 hours ago
Here's some more info I have on the bike. I'm selling on CL for 2500$ so if you are local to CO and want a bike I'll give you the EBR discount of 1800$.

CL= I'm selling a DIY eBike. Commuter set up. The tires are ebike rated Continental's It's a 26x1.75". The motor is a Go-Swiss 500 watt rear-hub motor, with a 10.3 ah battery. The Scott frame is a 24 speed Speed Utility bike.

It has Shimano XTR shifters and derailleurs, with 160/180 hydraulic disc brakes. The front light is wired to a front hub dynamo, so it never needs charging. Battery charger is included, along with commuter rack and "Jones handlebars" for extra comfort, w/o sacrificing that aggressive stance.

The bike roughly has 800-1000 miles on it, the ODO resets when the battery is left off for a long periods. (Winter storage) The battery has been well kept with 80% charge during the non-riding season and never been discharged fully.

I'm asking $2500.00 firm. Call me for a test-ride. Serious buyers only, cash and local. I will not ship it.
ragtopjoek
1 day ago
bazzapage
The Turbo base model is a fine bike at could be a steal at the right price. It is fast enough and powerful enough for most uses. However it has some weaknesses that will likely be addressed by the new model. Decide for yourself if these are showstoppers and worth the wait or the savings you will make by picking up the run-out model.
  • It isn't very torquey, and struggles up very steep hills. 40Nm of torque. The Brose motor is very torquey (90Nm) and operates through your gears so will grind up anything.
  • The weight is all in the back wheel. I don't see that as a problem but YMMV
  • The motor isn't especially battery efficient. Most of us are burning through the full battery in around 35-40km. I suspect the Brose-powered unit will do much better if the Levo is anything to go by
  • There are some minor design issues with the fenders
  • The controller is a bit flimsy and unintuitive to do anything other than basic functions. New one looks better
  • You can only get a suspension fork with the Turbo X (which is also a great option if you can get the 2016 version at the right price because it has the 250W motor, bigger battery and Mission Control app). There will be more options in the new range.
In favour of the old:
  • It is dead-silent. The Brose motor is the quietest mid-drive around, but it still makes a noise
  • The drive train will last longer as it isn't also handling motor torque
  • You might save some money, and still get a great bike
Thank you very much for pointing out some of the weaknesses of the base Turbo. I have tested a few ebikes and two of the things I liked the most about the Turbo S was how quiet it is and I was not mashing the gears when I shifted. I do like front suspension forks and did not know the Turbo X can also use the Mission Control app. Having a 250W motor with a bigger battery is also a big plus. I can deal with the fenders and a direct drive rear motor seems like a plus to me. For the last week I have been thinking of ordering an ebike, just can't make up my mind on which one. I look forward to the cool autumn days and love the winter too for bicycling. I am now looking past the base Turbo model and will most likely talk to my Specialized dealer this week about getting the Turbo X, espically if it won't be for sale in 2017. Thanks again
EddieJ
1 day ago
Sorry Ravi, I deleted on the cross over of your reply, when I realised that you were talking high volume. :)

I don't think that there is a glitch with Strava, as my ebike rides are now showing KOM's as well. I suspect that there is now a catch up where ebike KOM's are slowly being registered outside of the normal pedal bike KOM's
John46
1 day ago
flymeaway
Hi John,

That's a good bike. I used it on my 3rd DIY project, and was my primary commuting bike until I built the Titanium framed 52V 750W BBS02 this spring. In my picture it's the 2nd bike from the left. My wife uses it exclusively and the bike has around 4,000 miles, with only normal maintenance required. You asked a lot of question and I'll give you my $.02 on the ones I can help you with.

Did you get the thumb or twist throttle?

I don't put throttles on any of my DIY's

I am confused on the wheel sizes they show DM, DX and DH what does this mean. Was the Alex wheel black or silver?

Used to delineate type of riding BMX, MTB, Road. The wheel I got was Silver DH19. So far no broken spokes or loosening spokes.

Do all 700 wheels fit 40mm tire widths?

No...go to the MFG.'s website and check the tire sizes that fit the rim.

I planned on using a Shark 48v 13.5ah NCRB battery, what do you think?

For a MAC install great, for a 48V BBS02 or HD use a 52V pack. If you do the BBSXX you can buy the programming cable and adjust the maximum AMP output so you can "de-rate" the motor. I have my contoller set at 20A, which equates to a little over 1,000 watts when the pack is fully charged. That's plenty of power to ride at 28 mph on flats.

I think for now I will just go with the PAS display & sensor and think about the CA latter if I like the ebike.

That's a good compromise, but the CA allows you to program all the variables that effect performance. It really is a very good addition if you go with the MAC.

What size motor did you all get? I was thinking about the 8t or maybe the 6t.

8t

Is a torque arm necessary on a rear wheel?

Absolutely! If you look at the picture you can see the one I made. It's the white metal plate just above the axle cap.

Court J do you like the bbs02 better than the mac? If so why? Torque or speed? Seems like the bbs02 may not be a speedy on flat ground.

I like both, but I'm kind of stuck on the BBS mid-drives for a couple of reasons. The cost is comparable between the MAC and BBS. The BBS is a shorter install and even though I didn't have any trouble with the MAC install there are more opportunities to make a mistake. I believe the speed torque issue is not as significant as it appears when you read blogs. Both motors will drive the respective bikes a their top speeds without any problem. It may be a perception issue but when I ride the MAC it does seem to accelerate and achieve a top speed faster, however it isn't so noticeable that I'd say the BBS doesn't accelerate well. For me the "torque" issue is real, particularly on long grades. The advantage the BBS has is you can set the pedal cadence you want on almost any grade and keep the mid-drive running at a high RPM. But the MAC will turn at the speed of the wheel which is a disadvantage when the bike is moving very slowly at higher power settings. Heat can become an issue so power and speed management is more important with the MAC. Probably the biggest reason I favor the mid-drive is it allows me to use an IGH where the hub drive won't. I converted my two 750W 48V BBS's to Rohloff IGH's and my 500W 36V BBS to Nuvinci 360. Now that I've used IGH's I won't go back to derailleurs and gear clusters, simplicity, wheel strength, and reliability make the switch easy, assuming you're willing to accept the steep cost.

One last point. The disc clearance on the MAC (rear wheel install) is a real issue. I had to use spacers and modify the caliper mount on a milling machine before I was satisfied with the clearances and brake installation and the clearance was "tight".

Here's a link to my Titanium frame build with the Rohloff 500/14 install. You'll have a great bike no matter which way you go. Have fun with your build!

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/my-next-build.3862/page-3#post-47731



Court J.
CJ, what a nice build!!
Thanks to all of you so much for your help. After thinking things through for the nth time I have decided to go with the BBS02 750. I was going to get the Motobecane Elite Trail but is has integrated shifters and brakes. Since I won't need the FD I don't want the shifter to be there and I want the brake levers to match but maybe the brake lever that comes with the kit is almost identical to the lever on the integrated unit. I am trying to find out if the Motobecane Adventure has the same issues. It is $50 more. I am also getting the Shark 52v 13.5ah NCRB battery. I thought about the HD kit but figured the extra power was overkill for me? .
What sprocket size should I get? Maybe 44t
Is the C965 display good enough and do I need the programming cable?
Gear Sensor?
Should I stick with the ebrakes that come with the kit or stay with the stock brake handles and get the senors?
I have a fair amount of tools but none that are bike specific. I think where I am going to have a problem is getting the bottom bracket apart since I don't have a puller. I am thinking it may be more cost effective to take to a local bike shop. I think I know one that will pull it for a twenty. It looks like a tool is also required to tighten the BBS02 or isn't that the case?
Any other advice before I order everything? Hopefully this is the end of my questions, but who knows.
John
flymeaway
2 days ago
John46
I am also thinking I will get the Motobecame Elite Trail
Hi John,

That's a good bike. I used it on my 3rd DIY project, and was my primary commuting bike until I built the Titanium framed 52V 750W BBS02 this spring. In my picture it's the 2nd bike from the left. My wife uses it exclusively and the bike has around 4,000 miles, with only normal maintenance required. You asked a lot of question and I'll give you my $.02 on the ones I can help you with.

Did you get the thumb or twist throttle?

I don't put throttles on any of my DIY's

I am confused on the wheel sizes they show DM, DX and DH what does this mean. Was the Alex wheel black or silver?

Used to delineate type of riding BMX, MTB, Road. The wheel I got was Silver DH19. So far no broken spokes or loosening spokes.

Do all 700 wheels fit 40mm tire widths?

No...go to the MFG.'s website and check the tire sizes that fit the rim.

I planned on using a Shark 48v 13.5ah NCRB battery, what do you think?

For a MAC install great, for a 48V BBS02 or HD use a 52V pack. If you do the BBSXX you can buy the programming cable and adjust the maximum AMP output so you can "de-rate" the motor. I have my contoller set at 20A, which equates to a little over 1,000 watts when the pack is fully charged. That's plenty of power to ride at 28 mph on flats.

I think for now I will just go with the PAS display & sensor and think about the CA latter if I like the ebike.

That's a good compromise, but the CA allows you to program all the variables that effect performance. It really is a very good addition if you go with the MAC.

What size motor did you all get? I was thinking about the 8t or maybe the 6t.

8t

Is a torque arm necessary on a rear wheel?

Absolutely! If you look at the picture you can see the one I made. It's the white metal plate just above the axle cap.

Court J do you like the bbs02 better than the mac? If so why? Torque or speed? Seems like the bbs02 may not be a speedy on flat ground.

I like both, but I'm kind of stuck on the BBS mid-drives for a couple of reasons. The cost is comparable between the MAC and BBS. The BBS is a shorter install and even though I didn't have any trouble with the MAC install there are more opportunities to make a mistake. I believe the speed torque issue is not as significant as it appears when you read blogs. Both motors will drive the respective bikes a their top speeds without any problem. It may be a perception issue but when I ride the MAC it does seem to accelerate and achieve a top speed faster, however it isn't so noticeable that I'd say the BBS doesn't accelerate well. For me the "torque" issue is real, particularly on long grades. The advantage the BBS has is you can set the pedal cadence you want on almost any grade and keep the mid-drive running at a high RPM. But the MAC will turn at the speed of the wheel which is a disadvantage when the bike is moving very slowly at higher power settings. Heat can become an issue so power and speed management is more important with the MAC. Probably the biggest reason I favor the mid-drive is it allows me to use an IGH where the hub drive won't. I converted my two 750W 48V BBS's to Rohloff IGH's and my 500W 36V BBS to Nuvinci 360. Now that I've used IGH's I won't go back to derailleurs and gear clusters, simplicity, wheel strength, and reliability make the switch easy, assuming you're willing to accept the steep cost.

One last point. The disc clearance on the MAC (rear wheel install) is a real issue. I had to use spacers and modify the caliper mount on a milling machine before I was satisfied with the clearances and brake installation and the clearance was "tight".

Here's a link to my Titanium frame build with the Rohloff 500/14 install. You'll have a great bike no matter which way you go. Have fun with your build!

https://electricbikereview.com/forum/threads/my-next-build.3862/page-3#post-47731



Court J.
Chris Ransom
2 days ago
View attachment 9500 Hey there!!!

Well I just finished putting the bike together, I must say it was pretty easy!!!! As a matter of fact I'm kinda proud that I could do it myself with a few simple tools. Now I have to give u a little background about myself. I have a workshop with tools and the space to work on my toys!!! Lol. Basicly I LOVE everything on two wheels, and between me and my wife we have 4 Bikes and two motorcycles so I felt competent enough to put a bicycle together!!! And after un-boxing and checking out the package I was stoked to at least try, First I have to say it was well packed!!!! NO Damage at all considering it was shipped from Florida, thanks Fed EX. Second Kevin the owner of Flaunt basically talked me thru it over the phone in about 15 mins, mostly due to my questions on how to reassemble it, Front tire, handle bars, peddles, seat post, charge the battery. Watch video online on how to turn on the bike and its functions really the hardest thing to do was the rear fender, I've got fat fingers lol, So we will see how my first test ride goes!!! And yes I will have it checked out by a EBike Tech first thing Monday just in case I missed something!!!!
That's my wife chiming in!!! Lol safety first.

Ok off to bed can't wait for morning

E-bike Chris.
John46
2 days ago
HarryS, There is no cost advantage to the hub drive vs the bbs02, at least not if you get the mac and I don't want dd. Round numbers the bbs02 is $525 shipped. The mac is $600 by the time you get the torque arms and pas display (not even digital) so price is not a consideration. I want ease of use and the ability to go up to 30 mph if I want to, not that I should nor do I really need to. This is why this decision has been so difficult for me. It is nice to hear from people that have had both and it is also interesting to see that no so far has gone from a bbso2 to a geared hub motor, at least that I know of. I am hoping for those, like you, who have or had both to tell me what they like and don't like about both in terms of performance and ease of use. If I understand you correctly so are saying that shifting down and up is not an issue. On my non-motorized bike I tend to not shift much, leave in a lower gear most of the time. I don't care about stealth since where i live i cannot ride an ebike on the 15 mile paved trail that cost us tax payers $30 million and counting. You can ride a segway, go figure. Makes me think.
John46
2 days ago
I really appreciate the time you have all taken to respond to my questions. I has become a more difficult decision than I had originally thought because there are multiple good choices. I really think I would be happy with the either the bbs02 or the mac. I am leaning toward the mac because I don't to have to bother shifting all of the time and worrying about stressing the drive components, plus I really don't need much torque for hills since there are none in my town. Court J do you like the bbs02 better than the mac? If so why? Torque or speed? Seems like the bbs02 may not be a speedy on flat ground. The comparison that i once heard was a bbs02 is a motorcycle because you need to shift gears and the mac or any dd hub motor is like a scooter. I have had lots of scooters.

Court J or George (or anyone else that has the answer)
Since you have/had a rear mount hub did you get the 7 sp freewheel from em3ev and did it fit in the 135mm rear space without any mods?

Apparently the 8sp freewheel needs a spacer and that will make them too big. I also see that the mac will not accept a typical cartridge because it is a screw on unit. I think I also need the removal/install tool that they sell for $5.

Did you get the thumb or twist throttle?

I am confused on the wheel sizes they show DM, DX and DH what does this mean. Was the Alex wheel black or silver?

Do all 700 wheels fit 40mm tire widths?

I planned on using a Shark 48v 13.5ah NCRB battery, what do you think?

I think for now I will just go with the PAS display & sensor and think about the CA latter if I like the ebike.

What size motor did you all get? I was thinking about the 8t or maybe the 6t.

Is a torque arm necessary on a rear wheel?

I am also thinking I will get the Motobecame Elite Trail since it is kind of middle ground between a mtn bike and a cruiser, the 400 x40 c tires may be better than the 26" inch on the mtn bike. Thoughts anyone? Enough questions :)
John
Ann M.
3 days ago
EBR respects everyone's right to privacy and when each new member creates their login, they have the option to include information about where they live or what they ride; however, to require it would be over reaching. Lots of members post what they ride; it's a lot of fun to see the pics and see where they ride. Others just want access to the information about electric bikes.

The best place to start a search for an ebike in person would be a local bike shop where you could do a test ride and get to know the staff that would be your support team while you own the bike. Each specific brand forum on EBR is another way to connect with people who already own what you might be considering purchasing.Many owners are passionate about their ebikes and write about them in those forums. And there's nothing stopping you from posting on that forum where you are and that you'd like to meet somewhere public to see a particular bike in person. If you get a response, great.

Another method to meet electric bike riders would be to post a proposed meetup in your town in the Events, Rides & Shows forum. So just a few thoughts on how to achieve what you want without violating privacy.
George S.
3 days ago
Va. Bch. Electric Bike Center
Listening to your bike needs, I would suggest an internally geared rear hub. DD is heavy and can be like dragging an anchor around due to cogging.
I have a Magic Pie 5. It's 22 pounds. It's too heavy. But it's simple and it's pretty tough. The thing is, it's built for 3,000 watts, with an external controller. So yeah, it cogs. I don't run over 1,000 watts. It's a satisfying motor. It responds. It starts up on a hill, and it climbs reasonable hills. It does everything you would want.

I have three hubs and guess how many times I've ridden back without power (out of 600 odd rides)? Zero. None have failed. It only cogs when you don't have power, which is why the simple design counts for something.

I have a Smart Pie which is 11 pounds. You notice it, when it cogs, but it isn't that bad. If you want to ride an ebike without the motor, any motor power, this is not the motor of choice. For sure.
George S.
3 days ago
I would never have built a Mac if @flymeaway hadn't shared his build. There were issues with the BBS02 and a front motor seemed easy. I ended up with a steel fork, when I figured out it was not a 350 watt motor, but an 800 watt motor. Put a 48 volt battery on it and it becomes a 1200 watt motor. So the way they describe these motors is nuts.

The motor that seems to be 'universal' is the Bafang geared hub. You can see nice pictures of it here. The Mac has more durable composite gears, and it is a huskier build. But the Bafang retails around $150, much less wholesale. They use it in the Sondors bikes and a lot of other bikes. The 'hobbyists' bump the controllers to 48v and run 700 watts through it. It holds up OK. You can replace the motor and keep the case on the rim. You can't even really buy this motor for DIY. The geared configuration keeps the weight down, reduces the profile.

The US market lets people run 750 watts. In Europe, with 350 watts (Britain is 250 watts) you need a mid-drive for hills. The jump from the basic Bafang to a Golden DD or Mac geared is not a lot of money. And any 750 - 1000 motor is going to move you along, and even up 7% grades.

People are retailing or crowdfunding nice bikes these days, under $1200. Battery prices are down, so we see Panasonic and Samsung cells and good capacities. My local ebike dealer folded up shop recently. But he sold higher end bikes. I have 3 simple builds, different bikes. I can get parts and do the repairs.
grench
3 days ago
Here is a night video showing how the mounts for the light and camera perform. I got a little bit of vibration on the gravel and the sound of the motor resonates through the frame. I made two four mile loops with a little commentary after each loop. The first loop is around 15 mph and the second is over 20 mph. The video quality was reduced to speed up the upload. The Garmin Virb makes high quality Vid.

If your a big guy looking for an Ebike to make you feel like you dropped 100 lbs...the Bulls is a good candidate.

Greg and Jackie
3 days ago
Saratoga Dave
We are walking the same path. My wife and I tried Pedego City Commuters, 26" and 28", which we liked very much, but they're a little expensive (you get what you pay for though, I am sure). Looked at eVelo but I just have a bug up my butt about a rear hub as opposed to the eVelo's mid, and I don't like the look of the motor just hanging off the thing like a soda can. Nice bike for sure, strong, but I can't get past the appearance.

Ran into a woman on a bike path riding something I'd never heard of, an e-Joe. Hers was an Anggun model and when I asked if I could chat with her about it, she was very enthusiastic about the thing. She had bought it at a nearby dealer, which I liked as well. I drove over there the next day and am now the owner of an e-Joe Koda, which is very comparable in my mind to the Pedego, but at a far lower price. I have been out on it every day so far, did 30 miles this morning. Very sporty feeling bike for something so heavy. Nicely stealthy as far as the ebike aspect of it, very well designed.

My wife tried an Anggun yesterday and will probably go with that when she gets over the fact that she thinks the thing pulls a bit too strongly when you kick on the assist. She was trying it in a smallish parking lot, and going very slow like that, it does get your attention.

You do sit up nice and straight on that Anggun as well.

Obviously there are a million great choices out there, and people FAR more educated on all this than me, but when I read your post I felt like I'd written it myself a week ago. I am super satisfied with the Koda as a drive all over the place, almost always pavement bike. We'll see what Vicky ends up with and I'll report back on how all that goes.

This whole ebike thing is a wonderful world indeed. Lots of nice people out there riding these things, it turns out.
Thanks everyone for the help ,
"Saratoga Dave" , I loved your reply.
I have allot of work to do !!!
Greg and Jackie ,
vincent713
1 month ago
foolofsand
i saw that....do you think we can purchase the 5 level assist and that it will work on our original bikes???
I think it's possible to do that but I have never tried it. The only thing I can suggest is take out the controller in your Cemoto and look at the plugs to see if it matches any of the LED 5 level assist that is out in the market. Do a search for these LED 5 level PAS. Something like this.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/RisunMotor-...879032?hash=item25bc982af8:g:a2AAAOSwQTVWA8Cr
Cameron Newland
1 month ago
Check out this really cool ebike shop in Vienna, Elektrobiker:

http://www.elektrobiker.com/aboutus/

Their address is Westbahnstrasse 26, Wien.

Elektrobiker carries an interesting local brand called 'A Bike Called Quest' that stores its battery just below the seat, mounted on the rear brake boss, and they also carry the Austrian brand Puch, which is famous for making mopeds. Elektrobiker also carries Focus/Kalkhoff, Moustache, and M1 Sporttechnik (maker of the Spitzing R-pedelec).
George S.
1 month ago
Charlie,

There's a ton of stuff out there. Court rides more than anyone else, so go to the Reviews and click 'Affordable'. Try to narrow it down a little.;) I'm sure a decent ebike would do exactly what you want. You can pedal at a constant pace.
grinch72
1 month ago
Ravi Kempaiah
I think this is a great opportunity for enthusiasts to join hands with KTM and create awareness about their brand and eBikes.

They offer you a bike, KTM branded cycling gear etc.

Take a look: https://www.ktmbikeindustries.com/ebike-ambassadors
I applied yesterday and was accepted this morning! Ordering my bike today :)