EV Global Motors ebike SX Review

Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Electric Bike Review
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx 500 Watt Motor
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Battery
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Controller
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Headlight
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Electric Bike Review
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx 500 Watt Motor
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Battery
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Controller
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Headlight

Summary

  • A high powered, feature rich electric bike ahead of its time designed by Lee Iacocca (the pioneering engineer behind classic Ford and Chevy automobiles)
  • Discontinued, EV Global Motor Company went out of business
  • Strong 500 watt geared rear hub motor by Heinzmann paired with capable 36 volt SLA battery
  • Full of extras and creature comforts including front and rear headlights, side mirror, fenders, a horn and a shock on the fork and seat post

{{title}} {{distance | number:2}} miles away

{{excerpt}}

National eBike Shops

Propel Bikes
134 Flushing Ave
Brooklyn,  NY  11205
Electric Cyclery
900 N Coast Hwy
Laguna Beach,  CA  92651

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

EV Global Motors

Model:

ebike SX

Price:

$ 2000.00 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2005

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

75 lbs ( 34.01 kg )

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Fork Details:

Nitro DH Triple Suspension with 75 mm Travel

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7

Shifter Details:

Grip Twist

Cranks:

170 mm

Pedals:

Aluminum Alloy Platform

Brake Details:

Mechanical Disc in Front, V-Brake in Rear

Seat Post:

Suspension Shock

Rims:

26" x 1.5" Double Wall, Rear 36 Hole, Front 32 Hole

Spokes:

14 Gauge Stainless

Tire Brand:

26" x 1.95"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in ( 66.04 cm )

Accessories:

Front and Rear Fenders, Front and Rear lights, Single Side Kickstand, Built-in Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Heinzmann

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub (brushed)
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

288 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Sealed Lead Acid

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles ( 24 km )

Estimated Max Range:

20 miles ( 32 km )

Display Type:

LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level

Display Accessories:

Horn, Cruise Control

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

17.5 mph ( 28 kph ) (12.5 mph in Economy Mode)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The ebike SX was one of the higher end EV Global Motor electric bikes designed by Lee Iacocca who is famous for engineering the Ford Mustang and Ford Pinto cars. After leaving Ford he served as President and CEO of Chrysler from 1978 and as chairman from 1979 until retirement in 1992. In 1999 he became the head of EV Global Motors, a company formed to develop and market electric bikes in the US. It is said that he was inspired by innovation happening in Asian markets and wanted to bring his expertise from the automotive space to enhance bikes in America.

Powering the ebike SX is a beefy 500 watt geared brushed rear hub motor made by Heinzmann (known for their high quality systems). This is one of the more powerful motors of its time and is capable of moving larger riders. That said, motors from this time period were more prone to having gears stripped if used forcefully up hills without assistance. The motor is activated by using a trigger on the right handle bar. The left handle bar features a grip shifter which controls 7 gears on a standard rear cassette. It also features an adjustable side mirror for keeping track of passing cycles and vehicles.

The battery pack on this bike was built right into the oversized downtube and consisted of a 36 volt 8 amp hour sealed Lead-acid pack. This technology was state of the art at its time but does not rival modern Lithium-ion cells which tend to be much lighter and more capable of enduring thousands of charge cycles before losing capacity. That, compared with just ~250 estimated for the ebike SX and other bikes using SLA technology. In addition to the battery pack being located within the frame there is also a controller board and charging system. Newer ebikes tend to externalize the charger converter in a brick attached to the cord with the plug.

While the range, charge cycles and top speed on this bike are not very impressive by today’s standards, the fenders, horn, shock absorber, built in cruise control and design aesthetics still ring true. In fact, the SX and other EV Global ebike models look strikingly similar to the popular R series by Optibike. By integrating the wires, battery pack and controller into the oversized downtube, the chances of direct damage and weathering are greatly reduced. Considering the 75lb weight of this bike, the front disc brake was a welcome edition for riding in wet conditions. In terms of ride quality, this bike doesn’t feel as stiff as many newer ebikes but that’s due in large part to the weight.

The front and rear lights are ultra-bright and massive when compared with more modern offerings that often forgo lights altogether. The seat post shock makes a difference when riding over bumps and compliments the front shock well. If you see this bike at a garage sale or used bike store be sure to consider the lack of replacement parts available. Everything from the twist throttle to the controller and especially the batteries are hard to find. In the video review above you may notice the bike I was testing has a battery pack strapped onto a rear rack. This is due to the challenge of finding custom sized batteries that can fit inside the downtube. I’ve been told that if the trigger throttle on this bike breaks you can sometimes retrofit a throttle from Currie Technologies.

The ebike SX is an electric bike that led the way, inspired others to join in and ultimately proved to be ahead of its time. It’s not a very useful machine these days due to the limited replacement parts and abundance of new high-tech offerings but it’s still iconic and fun. For a collector or tinkerer this could be a worthwhile project but for most people it’s just something to be appreciated and acknowledged as a forerunner to modern ebikes.

Pros:

  • Powerful motor capable of moving larger riders and ascending medium hills with pedal assistance
  • Super bright front and rear headlights keep you safe at night
  • Front fork shock and seat post shock smooth out the bumps
  • Front and rear fenders keep dust, mud and water away
  • Front disc brake provides great stopping power in wet conditions
  • Includes a kickstand and metal bash guard on front chain ring

Cons:

  • No longer being produced, replacement parts becoming rare
  • Stock sealed Lead-acid battery was heavy and could only endure ~250 charges before losing capacity
  • No pedal assist mode, throttle only
  • Heavy bike with awkward frame that’s hard to lock up and a challenge to fit on hanging style car racks due to the lack of a top tube
  • Brushed style motors wear out faster and this older gear style may be prone to stripping if pushed too hard
  • Built in cruise control made riding over longer distances easier on the thumb

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

Hanle van Niekerk
3 years ago

We bought an Electric Bike a few years ago and struggling to get it working again. We are based in South Africa.

Can you please advise us on how to get the wiring diagram for the bike or who we can contact to assist us in this matter.

Thank you and regards,
Hanle van Niekerk

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hello Hanle, there are ways to get the ebike SX and other EV Global Motors electric bikes going again. Usually it has to do with replacing the battery but it sounds like you're looking for help with wiring. There is a thread talking about this over on the forums at https://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/evg-ebike-upgrades.244/ and some more information at NYCeWheels http://www.nycewheels.com/ebike.html

I hope this helps you! The biggest challenge may be finding the right components in Africa to fix your existing bike. Feel free to join the discussion in the forums and ask for more advice :)

Sally Dillon
2 years ago

Hi, I have 2 ebikes in my garage. They are probably 15 years old? Need new batteries and tires. What is the best place to source these items, or to resell my bikes to other ebike enthusiasts?

Court Rye
2 years ago

That is a great question Sally... I really have no idea about this but have seen some of the older EV Global ebikes on display at shops in California and Florida just for fun (like a museum). You could always post them in the deals forum here for sale or ask around for help from other ebike enthusiasts in the EV Global Motors forum.

Eric Borcherding
2 years ago

On the EVG SX36 e-bike by Lee Iaocca. What a machine, and what a dream! One can convert these bikes to quite good performance:

1) Using the stock battery case fit in a LiNiMnCo 37V 10.8 AHr from BatterySpace (special order). At an astounding 6pds greatly lowers 15pds from L.A. 6 pack conversion of 6 x 6V * 9Ahr Powersonics (21 Pds). Big step...
2) Or try a 38.4V 15AHr LiFePO4 imotor @12pds bearing phenominal range / speed. 32KPH max, range of 60KM alone. This pack is simply, Kick-Ass. Snug fit into compartment with required BMS and connector mod; try 6 pack trailer connector. This is bested by 2 x 18.5V 18650 Lions self-build 7pd packs with a tricky BMS, dual chargers and stuffed full battery compartment fill, for more range.
3) Change 12V35W Halogen to Xenon QuteQueen LED H3mod 5W@14V, 82% energy saved for motor in night rides.
4) Alternately the Heinzmann PE speed motor at 470W vs. 500W brushed motor adds a few KPHs.
5) Choose tires with solid narrow center rubber, pumped at ~45PSI, like German made Chamberlands brown walls.
6) Keep the bike lubed and drivetrain / bearings clean, adjust brakes for no-drag.

Happy Trails... Eric

Court Rye
2 years ago

Awesome information on conversion Eric! Thanks for sharing this. I checked out your website on LED's and found it interesting. Looks like you're pretty skilled with electronics and hardware :)

greg znamenacek
7 months ago

Where might I find use parts for ebike LX thank greg

Court Rye
7 months ago

I've visited a couple of shops that have units in the back and they might be willing to sell you parts or the entire bike for a good price. One such shop is The Electric Bike Shop in Sacramento, California and the other is Myron's Extreme Machines in Fullerton, California. No guarantees on either, they may or may not still have them but I have seen this unit in both shops over the past several years. Also, you could ask around in the EBR Community Forums here under For Sale or Q&A and ask for Ann M. who used to own a shop in Austin, Texas. She might know :)

GB
3 months ago

You can also get parts from: electricwheelsofflorida on eBay. They have OEM parts for the e-bike. Good Luck!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Bike_On
21 mins ago
flymeaway
JMO......throttles should not be allowed on an e/"bike". Putting a throttle on a "bike" disqualifies it's classification as a bike.

Court J.
Court J,
I think we know and respect each other enough for me to call you out for e-snobbery. What you just said has been repeated a thousand times more by the mainstream population that says: [Putting a (Motor) on a "bike" disqualifies it's classification as a bike.] You know that ebikers hate when people make such statements, and now I am hearing the same self-protective, snobbery within the ebike community.

I just posted this on another thread:
WE, the ebike community, need to support all manufacturer classes, DIY, progressive designs, and application types. When we get protective and start eliminating "throttles" or a meager 0.5-1.5hp types, we hurt ourselves. Live together, die together.

Putting a motor on a bike is certainly a "line" separating a classes of "bikes". ALL ebikes ARE motorbikes, and ALL ebikes are MOPEDS. The next line of differentiation is not throttles, but should be the line between a valid moped and a real motorcycle. Note that throttle only, 28mph ebikes will weight, handle, accelerate, brake, etc just like a 28mph PAS, class 3 speed pedelec. There is no safety advantage to PAS. In fact , throttle is probably safer for rider awareness. If you want to throw throttles under the moped bus, then Class 3 pedelecs belong there too, and we are now set back 15 years to 20 mph limits. The upper line for ebikes is at the top of the moped class, with legit pedals and gearing. These are bikes-ebikes, not pedal-less motorcycles.

Hey , that statement get a 4 star on the hypocrite scale.... feel free to disagree.
Bike_On
41 mins ago
MLB
I don't have a problem with Stealth and the motorcyclist types that like it. I was clearly responding to the guy that said the Bosch was gutless.
It's all good MLB. I was trying to be a bit tongue-n-cheek about perceptions of being WEAK. Some want more torque, some don't.

WE, the ebike community, need to support all manufacturer classes, DIY, progressive designs, and application types. When we get protective and start eliminating "throttles" or a meager 0.5-1.5hp types, we hurt ourselves. Live together, die together.
grench
3 hours ago
mamerc
Always arguing with others, the eBike is more a "helper" than a Free Ride mode of transportation. On days my wife and I ride, assist will be used when needed, we enjoy the option that we can free pedal on our rides. I find no issues riding 70 miles and only using one or two bars.
We live in a very bike friendly town that has many streets, and side streets equipped with bike lanes. I ride daily from home to office 6 miles in 95% bike lane commute... So here is what happened today.....
Some guy in a 30mph+ eBike passed me in a 3 foot wide bike lane. He was traveling with ongoing traffic and keeping up with the cars next to him Sitting low with feet up on the forks I was unsure if he even had pedals! Now I know this is often the argument with non "e" mountain bikes and us...
Should 30+ be allowed on a bike lane?
My vote...yes hypocrite...
J.R.
11 hours ago
Schwalbe has added new Marathon Plus tires for cross and mtb. They all have the same flat protection as the original road tires and are ebike rated. The cross tire sounds perfect for your needs. It's called the Marathon Plus Tour HS 404. I purchased the new mtb tires, I'm as impressed as I was with the original Marathons, I hope to be as flat free.

https://www.schwalbetires.com/bike_tires/road_tires/marathon_plus_tour
Bike_On
12 hours ago
kennyzzz
well, to throw gas on a fire, I had my first experience with an ebike rider, was at a very crowded campground in Michigan,(Lake port state park) walking back from the beach through the trailer sites i see a older guy in bike clothing messing with an older 24 volt ebike , ( it had the battery on the rack facing down towards the ground, that not the important part ) I mind my own business and walk by just looking, well 2 minute later, this clown goes flying full speed threw the campground well faster then the 5 mile speed limit , my point it this clown,, jerk was going full speed in the campground, this is a very crowded campground with children everywhere. so i could see how very easy it would be to ban ebikes, yes that was just one bad example, but that was my first experience with a ebiker and it was not good.
Kenny,

Does anyone really just ride 5 mph in a campground all the time? If it bothers you, you gotta say something or don't complain...
mamerc
12 hours ago
Cant help to think he's digging that hole deeper to all the eBike nay sayers and just making them dislike us all that much more,
Cnugget
19 hours ago
Trying my best to use the ebike before the car when possible. Intending to extend the life of my car, reduce emissions etc. Having an eBike makes for good entertainment value too. I tend to be OUT more now which can incur extra costs (dining, shopping).. So I guess it's good for the economy too but not quite for my pocket book as of yet. :p
J.R.
20 hours ago
The frame size is far more important than wheel size. I have 700c, 26 inch and 29 inch wheel size bikes. The frames are all different as well, because the frames are designed for different things.

Generally speaking larger wheels will give a longer wheelbase and more ground clearence. Neither wheel size fits a taller, longer inseam person better than a shorter person. I've known shorter riders to ride 29'ers, but with 16 inch frames.

Frame size determines whether a bike fits or not. It's possible to make an educated guess, but with ebikes, that could be an expensive mistake. If you don't know the best size bike, it's best to get a professional fitting and do test rides. Your local ebike shop may be able to do it, if not Google bike fitters near you. Everyone has access to a good bike fitter these days. I've seen fitters charge $60 and up. They generally have reviews online.
kennyzzz
21 hours ago
well to guess the ebike rider's speed in the campground, i'd say about 20 , but my point is also you could here the motor as he was flying threw the campground, this one sounded like an electric drill . i ride a 3 speed peddle bike, so i have a good reference , yes i'm not an expert, but that was my first experience with a ebike rider, every person in the campground with a brain could see he was not pedaling and and the whine of the motor would conclude something fishy was up with his bike. just think back a couple years ago when all those cheep 2 stroke skateboards >> the ones with a handlebars well they banned them,, i think more examples of the kind i had with an ebike rider will push people to ban them.. I know it was just one example , but i guess the point i'm trying to make is if the person hit a child at that speed, yes I know regular bikes are fast too. but everyone focus the fact that it was an electric bike.. yes a couple of jerks will ruin it for everyone..
ebikes rock
22 hours ago
I've been shopping (drooling over) ebikes for several months. once my employment situation is finalized, I plan to pull the trigger on an ebike for me and wifey each. we already bike frequently, including work commute ...I actually made it a point to drive the station wagon on the highway over the weekend (GREAT problem to have, btw). we're looking at e-bikes as way to BIKE MORE, like for those "fringe trips" that are more than 3 miles away
George S.
22 hours ago
GM and LG have been cited numerous times as saying their cell cost of the Bolt is $145 a kWh. That's a 50 AH pouch, apparently. The bolt is 60 kWh and there are 288 cells.

Since average ebikes still have around 500 watt hours, half a kWh, that's $70 at the GM price. The trend doesn't work so much for ebikes. Even at the Lunacycle retail price for cells, the cost of the cells is pretty low.

If you want to make something heftier with a 2 or 3 kWh battery, this helps. The battery used in the Eagle, on Kickstarter, is pretty far out there. @Chris Barnes has introduced the product. I know there is a future for something like this.

Right now people are getting bogged down on the legal stuff. What's an ebike, what's a three wheel car? The ebike market is in great shape right now, as far as batteries go. But it's clear if you can make a 3 kWh battery for $1000, people might shift to more powerful designs. Storm Sondors is trying to raise money for an EV, I assume a small car. There's the Sion, which is cute. A lot of this stuff doesn't take a GM or Tesla, at this point, so it's really exciting. That's what the battery tech is driving, so it is very exciting.

The scale to make batteries is huge, but small enterprises can still take batteries and build an ebike or an EV of some other kind. That makes this period interesting.
Ann M.
1 day ago
@tenbee, if you're concerned about how long it may take to get the Litelok have you considered one of the super strong yet light Abus Bordo Granit locks? These use a superior quality of steel and have the advantage of being compact and very hard for a thief to cut; worth the approximately $100 investment. Don't wait a long time if you need to be locking your bike now. As a matter of fact, it won't hurt to have 2 good locks if you've got to park your ebike in a lot of big city places ;)

View attachment 10661
munchmeister
1 day ago
Nutella
CO state law only applies to state DOT roadways and bike paths, otherwise, it's up to the local folks to decide. The state parks are a no go at this point, as well as all USFS and BLM land. A lot depends on if they consider an ebike a motorized vehicle which would prohibit it from signed "no motorized vehicles" bike paths and trails. They are not "motor vehicles" under state law, but that's a different classification. I've looked, but I couldn't find any park system that allows them on mtb or hiker singletrack.
Agree completely. It is all about the definition of "motorized vehicle." State parks: are non e-bikes allowed? If so, would the park ranger issue a citation to me on my e-bike? Would it depend on what mode I was riding in? How would he know? Ask me? Am I required to disclose my riding mode? Do I have a right not to answer questions? Is it a matter of my speed? I don't have answers to these but a pretty good idea that it would be very problematic for a park ranger and a court to deal with this in an area where the real world (where we now have e-bikes) has screamed past regulations.

E-bikes come along to fit into a category that was not considered at the time when the regulations leading to the "no motorized vehicles allowed" were painted onto those signs. Up to date laws and regs (local ones) attempt to address this by keeping the definition of "motorized" to, I believe, under 750 watts, no throttle, etc. This leads the manufacturers to keeping their motors to 500-749 watts and led to the development of the "pedal assist." Where a "non motorized" bike is allowed, I guess it will take some brave soul(s) to take their e-bikes on trail and get a citation and challenge that in court. Laws might change before that happens. Especially if the manufacturers making all the cool e-bike MTBs manage to sell a lot of them to the MTB crowd. That would pressure lawmakers/land managers/regulators to update their laws & regulations. Maybe. Interesting issue. Ride on.
RCM
2 days ago
kennyzzz
well, to throw gas on a fire, I had my first experience with an ebike rider, was at a very crowded campground in Michigan,(Lake port state park) walking back from the beach through the trailer sites i see a older guy in bike clothing messing with an older 24 volt ebike , ( it had the battery on the rack facing down towards the ground, that not the important part ) I mind my own business and walk by just looking, well 2 minute later, this clown goes flying full speed threw the campground well faster then the 5 mile speed limit , my point it this clown,, jerk was going full speed in the campground, this is a very crowded campground with children everywhere. so i could see how very easy it would be to ban ebikes, yes that was just one bad example, but that was my first experience with a ebiker and it was not good.
Not supporting the guy riding too fast in the campground, but how fast was "full speed"? Since the speed limit was only 5mph and he was going faster than that, the fact he was on an ebike was probably irrelevant since any cyclist on a regular human powered rig could easily blow through that. He's giving cyclists a bad name for sure, but it seems in this case the electricity probably had zippo to do with the problem, and if there's a push to ban ebikes there they should ban all bikes. A 5mph speed limit?
MLB
2 days ago
Yes, you're on the right track with all your thinking I'd say.
Since you ride a regular bike and presumably understand how to shift to the gear you need BEFORE hitting the hill then you'll have no problem. You shift when the load on the chain is light, THEN accelerate.
A geared hub motor may well do just fine on that climb, it's ------------------- where I live, so hard to tell. LOL My dual hub motored Big Bud outclimbed (barely) my Haibike (mid drive Bosch) up a hill (in Michigan) where I had to pedal smoothly to not have the front end up on each stroke. And that's 600w COMBINED motors, so a big hub motor can presumably climb a bunch. And might be the lightest setup.
Bafang will pull it with ease. You can build an awesome bike with a Bafang. Fair amount of posters have had warranty issues too.
Internally geared hubs very heavy. Just like E motors. And batteries. ;)
Use a good, solid, preferably steel bike to begin with. More weight, but you want an aluminum bike DESIGNED to be an Ebike. JMO!!
No rim brakes.
Decent wheels are a must at the speeds and weight or you'll regret not.
Nutella
2 days ago
Just a heads up, in your video, you state that in the 750w setting its by federal definition a bicycle and can go anywhere a bicycle can go, which is not accurate. The federal CPSA defines what you can sell as an ebike, it doesn't say where you can ride them at all, that's left up to your state or town to decide. Which quite honestly with that bike, won't be many places that are both legal and public, even in California. With 10kw on tap, you can't even call it a moped. Electric vehicles like yours masquerading as an ebike only threaten everyone else's access.
Nutella
2 days ago
munchmeister
J.R., Nutella, thank you for the info and links. I've read everything linked to, and other stuff I can find. I have not read local, municipal codes unique to each municipality and I do note that state law does leave the door open for cities to enact such laws, enforceable in the confines of their city boundaries. In my municipality, Fort Collins, CO, they have done so from what I can tell and have added a definition for "electrical assist" 2 wheelers with motors under 750 watts. But such 2 wheelers are allowed (or more correctly "not prohibited") if I recall correctly. Guess I'm gonna have to put my thinking cap on again and " open a file" on this as I used to say in my (legal) business. As a retired lawyer, this is really bugging me and my old retired brain has gotten lazy. But thanks again for the info/links.
CO state law only applies to state DOT roadways and bike paths, otherwise, it's up to the local folks to decide. The state parks are a no go at this point, as well as all USFS and BLM land. A lot depends on if they consider an ebike a motorized vehicle which would prohibit it from signed "no motorized vehicles" bike paths and trails. They are not "motor vehicles" under state law, but that's a different classification. I've looked, but I couldn't find any park system that allows them on mtb or hiker singletrack.
kennyzzz
2 days ago
well, to throw gas on a fire, I had my first experience with an ebike rider, was at a very crowded campground in Michigan,(Lake port state park) walking back from the beach through the trailer sites i see a older guy in bike clothing messing with an older 24 volt ebike , ( it had the battery on the rack facing down towards the ground, that not the important part ) I mind my own business and walk by just looking, well 2 minute later, this clown goes flying full speed threw the campground well faster then the 5 mile speed limit , my point it this clown,, jerk was going full speed in the campground, this is a very crowded campground with children everywhere. so i could see how very easy it would be to ban ebikes, yes that was just one bad example, but that was my first experience with a ebiker and it was not good.
Cnugget
2 days ago
Ann M. ">@
Ann M.
I imagine a car mechanic would bite my head off if I was to enter the shop and look over the shoulder so.. it makes sense a bike mechanic might react in a similar fashion. If you hadn't suggested this, I might not have thought it over. Thanks for the heads up. :) I did call a shop to get a price quote for a fix and ensure they would be willing to work on a Ebike. It seems like a non-starter for some shops even if the repair has nothing to do with electronic parts. The tire size feels like it is harder to source a replacement? Or, am I just imagining that? Voltbike is out of stock at the moment on the tubes gosh-darn-it-all. :confused: I'm wondering if the recent puncture could have been related to running at a lower pressure making it more susceptible to a nail puncture? Up until now the tires have been running wonderfully but at a higher PSI. Maybe I just have had good luck up until now? :D Hopefully I haven't run out of this luck . If I can replace the tube, I will, and add a liner to boot but it may just come down to a fix for now dependent on what is on hand. Should have been more prepared for the inevitable. o_O
jbk
2 days ago
Dicks Sporting Goods gave me a very big courtesy discount coupon on any 1 item from there online store because of a very aggravating disservice and very long dispute I went through with them. I purchased this specific bike because I was always interested in this EBIKE but have since decided to sell it. I have all receipts and Dicks sporting good stores do a free assembly on any bikes purchased from them online. I also do not plan on shipping this item because it would be a huge hassle and a pricey shipping fee
J.R.
2 days ago
munchmeister
How did you come to this conclusion? I'd really like to research this and get to the source regulations/laws. If we're gonna make any changes, or propose them, I'd need to see the source but I'm having a time trying to find the actual language.
I don't think you are allowed to ride assisted on trails and paths in Colorado. You can ride them with an ebike, unassisted.

This might be helpful:

http://colobikelaw.com/coloradolaw.html

https://www.codot.gov/programs/bikeped/information-for-bicyclists/bike-ped-manual
Highway Star
6 months ago
Also I restored the original battery by running a razor along the top edge of the plastic lid then popping it off exposing the battery fill cells that have rubber caps that pop off with a screwdriver then filled with battery acid from the local auto parts and it works great again after 12 years of sitting. Plenty of videos on restoring sealed battery's on youtube.
Highway Star
6 months ago
got me a new 36V BATTERY from Jerry and it fits perfectly into the case, but it does not have screw in terminals only lead tabs. So I didn't want to cut the original wires so I made 2-2 inch jumpers and soldered them to the eye leads then plugged them to the battery works great with no chopping....
Highway Star
6 months ago
got me a new 36V BATTERY from Jerry and it fits perfectly into the case, but it does not have screw in terminals only lead tabs. So I didn't want to cut the original wires so I made 2-2 inch jumpers and soldered them to the eye leads then plugged them to the battery works great with no chopping....
Cyclo TeChTwIsTeR
12 months ago
This is the man that has all the parts you will need and yes a battery to fit inside as it should. http://www.ebay.com/usr/electricwheelsofflorida?_trksid=p2047675.l2559 He also has the bikes For sell Jerry Call 305 687 8484 for Free Tech SupportWe have the largest inventory of original parts for the EVG EBikes.
David Clein
1 year ago
The controller is not in the battery case. it is housed in the body. Lead acid is available (36v 9Ah) to rebuild the original battery pack. putting the primary battery pack on the rear rack is stupid.
David Clein
1 year ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Six 6 volt / 9 AH (5.95" x 1.34" x 3.70") SLA
batteries with F2 terminals wired in series fit into the battery box. With
a little crimping and soldering these are the closest thing to a drop in
replacement for the original discontinued 36V "Long" battery. With this
set-up expect range of 8 miles in full power mode with little to no
pedaling and 15 miles in low power mode.

ElectricBikeReview.com
1 year ago

+David Clein Great feedback David, thanks for chiming in! I was doing my
best to piece together the facts about this bike but was doing it with
limited input. You're welcome to share your expertise here anytime :)

wolfman9999999
1 year ago
I have the 24 volt version, and I'm trying to figure out what some of the switches do on the left side of the handlebar. Battery pack can be refurbished with UPS batteries. I did it to mine
Adam Feathers
2 years ago
I bought 2 eBikes in 1999 at a Oldsmobile Dealer in central Pa. and put them away in 2001 after one fell down and broke the key switch . They both look like brand new but I'm not sure what to do with them since I don't know if they're is any place to get parts or the repairs done (in Pa.). When I put them away I replaced both batteries (probably shot now). It would be a shame to just junk them . I would like to get them repaired this spring and use them again, they were great and a lot of fun to ride !
ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Adam Feathers Hi Adam! Sounds like a fun project. I'm sure there are
people who will collect these someday, even a few who want parts or
originals right now. You could just keep them stored and eventually sell
them on eBay or the forums:
http://electricbikereview.com/community/forums/for-sale/

Ron Warrick
2 years ago
I bought a 24v about ten years ago for $650 and it is still going, but I really need to upgrade to make it faster and also get away from SLA's. Any ideas appreciated. 
ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Hi Ron! So glad to hear the eBike worked well for you. As for your next
bike, I guess it depends on what your cycling needs are. I've created a
full list of some of my favorite bikes in each category including one value
and one performance here:
http://electricbikereview.com/top-10-electric-bikes/ check it out, each
review has a video and all the specs, chime in if you have any comments,
there's also a forum to discuss with other riders and owners:
http://electricbikereview.com/community/

HostileHST
3 years ago
On the throttle, almost any 5k ohm potentiometer controlller will work on these ebikes.
ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Thanks for the great tips +HostileHST

HostileHST
3 years ago
I had the 24 volt version that would only go 12 mph under power, but it sure did help going up hills. The 36 volt version I believe would go around 18 mph and if you pushed into the 48 volt range (controller needs replaced or modified), you could see about 23 mph. 36 volt packs can easily be made with some soldering abilities. The batteries to do this are still being made.
Kit Babcock
2 years ago

Ron....the 24v heinzmann rear hub can be over volted to 50v, though using a
stock EVG ebike 36v controller starts to get hot and "beeps". Shutting off
the power and back on again resets it, but I'm running 46.2v's and it's
fine.

DON'T over volt the stock EVG ebike 24v controller, as it has a max voltage
around 29v before it blows the 26v range capacitors! If done, the lights
will still work, but you get NO throttle response!. This was a common error
when a 36v SLA battery box was put in a 24v ebike. I'm using the
24v/400watt rear hub on a 36v setup bike. Because of spun one-way stock
bearings in the 36v hubs. Or I'm swapping in 36v motors into the 24v hubs
that don't have spun bearings.

The 400watt hubs are setup for speed and not torque like the 36v 500watts
hubs.

Though understand that there is a design flaw in the hubs as they use a
pressed on one-way bearing. BIG guys riding these bikes and giving them
full throttle can spin them! The motors works, but your now stuck in "mud"
and slipping. :-)

Here is an article on ES for the spun bearing:

http://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4190&start=25

I'm looking into using a laser welder to fix this problem. You want low
heat as the sealed bearing has a plastic cap to hold in the grease. Your
welding the bearing to the axle.

Made sense?

Ron Warrick
2 years ago

+Kit Babcock Good stuff. Can you clarify whether you are talking about
converting a 24 v, or a 36v? It sounds like you are shooting for 40 volts
or so here. Mine is 24v, so I don't want to burn it out. Thanks.

HostileHST
3 years ago

Oops, didn't see that was for Kit, but it's all good info he shares and I
would have gone that way, but had to sell mine so we had money to move a
little over a year ago. Wish I could get another one, but haven't seen one
for sale recently.

HostileHST
3 years ago

NP at all, always trying to help when I can. Glad you put it on the forum.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Kit Babcock Kit, this is awesome! Thanks for the tips. If you don't mind,
I also shared your words on the forum where another individual was trying
to figure out how to replace his 24v battery for an EV Global Mini
http://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/ev-global-mini-ebike-battery-replacement.262/
feel free to amend or add your voice there as well. I referenced your
comment and linked here so he might reply as well.

SuperPapadzul
3 years ago
It reminds me of a Velosolex, but cooler because it is electric.
BiknutProductions
3 years ago
Sort of resembles an early caveman version of an Opti Bike. Obviously ahead of it's time.
Aaron Martin
3 years ago
Ya in 2002 i did not know that there was a e-bike for sale.
ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago
I agree Aaron, this thing was full of neat features and way ahead of its time. With a lighter weight battery it could be on-par or even at the leading edge of more modern bikes.
Aaron Martin
3 years ago
That is a cool bike.
ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago
Yep, it's one of the first ebikes ever in the US and... you are the first to comment ;)
Vũ Nguyễn
3 years ago
First