EV Global Motors ebike SX Review

Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Electric Bike Review
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx 500 Watt Motor
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Battery
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Controller
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Headlight
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Electric Bike Review
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx 500 Watt Motor
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Battery
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Controller
Ev Global Motors Ebike Sx Headlight

Summary

  • A high powered, feature rich electric bike ahead of its time designed by Lee Iacocca (the pioneering engineer behind classic Ford and Chevy automobiles)
  • Discontinued, EV Global Motor Company went out of business
  • Strong 500 watt geared rear hub motor by Heinzmann paired with capable 36 volt SLA battery
  • Full of extras and creature comforts including front and rear headlights, side mirror, fenders, a horn and a shock on the fork and seat post

Search EBR

Video Review

Trusted Advertisers

Introduction

Make:

EV Global Motors

Model:

ebike SX

Price:

$2,000 USD

Body Position:

Forward

Suggested Use:

Neighborhood, Urban

Electric Bike Class:

Throttle on Demand (Class 2)
Learn more about Ebike classes

Availability:

United States

Model Year:

2005

Bicycle Details

Total Weight:

75 lbs (34.01 kg)

Frame Types:

High-Step

Frame Fork Details:

Nitro DH Triple Suspension with 75 mm Travel

Gearing Details:

7 Speed 1x7

Shifter Details:

Grip Twist

Cranks:

170 mm

Pedals:

Aluminum Alloy Platform

Brake Details:

Mechanical Disc in Front, V-Brake in Rear

Seat Post:

Suspension Shock

Rims:

26" x 1.5" Double Wall, Rear 36 Hole, Front 32 Hole

Spokes:

14 Gauge Stainless

Tire Brand:

26" x 1.95"

Wheel Sizes:

26 in (66.04cm)

Accessories:

Front and Rear Fenders, Front and Rear lights, Single Side Kickstand, Built-in Charger

Electronic Details

Motor Brand:

Heinzmann

Motor Type:

Rear-Mounted Geared Hub (brushed)
Learn more about Ebike motors

Motor Nominal Output:

500 watts

Battery Voltage:

36 volts

Battery Amp Hours:

8 ah

Battery Watt Hours:

288 wh

Battery Chemistry:

Sealed Lead Acid

Charge Time:

4.5 hours

Estimated Min Range:

15 miles (24 km)

Estimated Max Range:

20 miles (32 km)

Display Type:

LED Console

Readouts:

Battery Level

Display Accessories:

Horn, Cruise Control

Drive Mode:

Twist Throttle

Top Speed:

17.5 mph (28 kph) (12.5 mph in Economy Mode)

Trusted Advertisers



Written Review

The ebike SX was one of the higher end EV Global Motor electric bikes designed by Lee Iacocca who is famous for engineering the Ford Mustang and Ford Pinto cars. After leaving Ford he served as President and CEO of Chrysler from 1978 and as chairman from 1979 until retirement in 1992. In 1999 he became the head of EV Global Motors, a company formed to develop and market electric bikes in the US. It is said that he was inspired by innovation happening in Asian markets and wanted to bring his expertise from the automotive space to enhance bikes in America.

Powering the ebike SX is a beefy 500 watt geared brushed rear hub motor made by Heinzmann (known for their high quality systems). This is one of the more powerful motors of its time and is capable of moving larger riders. That said, motors from this time period were more prone to having gears stripped if used forcefully up hills without assistance. The motor is activated by using a trigger on the right handle bar. The left handle bar features a grip shifter which controls 7 gears on a standard rear cassette. It also features an adjustable side mirror for keeping track of passing cycles and vehicles.

The battery pack on this bike was built right into the oversized downtube and consisted of a 36 volt 8 amp hour sealed Lead-acid pack. This technology was state of the art at its time but does not rival modern Lithium-ion cells which tend to be much lighter and more capable of enduring thousands of charge cycles before losing capacity. That, compared with just ~250 estimated for the ebike SX and other bikes using SLA technology. In addition to the battery pack being located within the frame there is also a controller board and charging system. Newer ebikes tend to externalize the charger converter in a brick attached to the cord with the plug.

While the range, charge cycles and top speed on this bike are not very impressive by today’s standards, the fenders, horn, shock absorber, built in cruise control and design aesthetics still ring true. In fact, the SX and other EV Global ebike models look strikingly similar to the popular R series by Optibike. By integrating the wires, battery pack and controller into the oversized downtube, the chances of direct damage and weathering are greatly reduced. Considering the 75lb weight of this bike, the front disc brake was a welcome edition for riding in wet conditions. In terms of ride quality, this bike doesn’t feel as stiff as many newer ebikes but that’s due in large part to the weight.

The front and rear lights are ultra-bright and massive when compared with more modern offerings that often forgo lights altogether. The seat post shock makes a difference when riding over bumps and compliments the front shock well. If you see this bike at a garage sale or used bike store be sure to consider the lack of replacement parts available. Everything from the twist throttle to the controller and especially the batteries are hard to find. In the video review above you may notice the bike I was testing has a battery pack strapped onto a rear rack. This is due to the challenge of finding custom sized batteries that can fit inside the downtube. I’ve been told that if the trigger throttle on this bike breaks you can sometimes retrofit a throttle from Currie Technologies.

The ebike SX is an electric bike that led the way, inspired others to join in and ultimately proved to be ahead of its time. It’s not a very useful machine these days due to the limited replacement parts and abundance of new high-tech offerings but it’s still iconic and fun. For a collector or tinkerer this could be a worthwhile project but for most people it’s just something to be appreciated and acknowledged as a forerunner to modern ebikes.

Pros:

  • Powerful motor capable of moving larger riders and ascending medium hills with pedal assistance
  • Super bright front and rear headlights keep you safe at night
  • Front fork shock and seat post shock smooth out the bumps
  • Front and rear fenders keep dust, mud and water away
  • Front disc brake provides great stopping power in wet conditions
  • Includes a kickstand and metal bash guard on front chain ring

Cons:

  • No longer being produced, replacement parts becoming rare
  • Stock sealed Lead-acid battery was heavy and could only endure ~250 charges before losing capacity
  • No pedal assist mode, throttle only
  • Heavy bike with awkward frame that’s hard to lock up and a challenge to fit on hanging style car racks due to the lack of a top tube
  • Brushed style motors wear out faster and this older gear style may be prone to stripping if pushed too hard
  • Built in cruise control made riding over longer distances easier on the thumb

Resources:

Trusted Advertisers

Hanle van Niekerk
3 years ago

We bought an Electric Bike a few years ago and struggling to get it working again. We are based in South Africa.

Can you please advise us on how to get the wiring diagram for the bike or who we can contact to assist us in this matter.

Thank you and regards,
Hanle van Niekerk

Court Rye
3 years ago

Hello Hanle, there are ways to get the ebike SX and other EV Global Motors electric bikes going again. Usually it has to do with replacing the battery but it sounds like you're looking for help with wiring. There is a thread talking about this over on the forums at https://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/evg-ebike-upgrades.244/ and some more information at NYCeWheels http://www.nycewheels.com/ebike.html

I hope this helps you! The biggest challenge may be finding the right components in Africa to fix your existing bike. Feel free to join the discussion in the forums and ask for more advice :)

Sally Dillon
3 years ago

Hi, I have 2 ebikes in my garage. They are probably 15 years old? Need new batteries and tires. What is the best place to source these items, or to resell my bikes to other ebike enthusiasts?

Court Rye
3 years ago

That is a great question Sally... I really have no idea about this but have seen some of the older EV Global ebikes on display at shops in California and Florida just for fun (like a museum). You could always post them in the deals forum here for sale or ask around for help from other ebike enthusiasts in the EV Global Motors forum.

Eric Borcherding
2 years ago

On the EVG SX36 e-bike by Lee Iaocca. What a machine, and what a dream! One can convert these bikes to quite good performance:

1) Using the stock battery case fit in a LiNiMnCo 37V 10.8 AHr from BatterySpace (special order). At an astounding 6pds greatly lowers 15pds from L.A. 6 pack conversion of 6 x 6V * 9Ahr Powersonics (21 Pds). Big step...
2) Or try a 38.4V 15AHr LiFePO4 imotor @12pds bearing phenominal range / speed. 32KPH max, range of 60KM alone. This pack is simply, Kick-Ass. Snug fit into compartment with required BMS and connector mod; try 6 pack trailer connector. This is bested by 2 x 18.5V 18650 Lions self-build 7pd packs with a tricky BMS, dual chargers and stuffed full battery compartment fill, for more range.
3) Change 12V35W Halogen to Xenon QuteQueen LED H3mod 5W@14V, 82% energy saved for motor in night rides.
4) Alternately the Heinzmann PE speed motor at 470W vs. 500W brushed motor adds a few KPHs.
5) Choose tires with solid narrow center rubber, pumped at ~45PSI, like German made Chamberlands brown walls.
6) Keep the bike lubed and drivetrain / bearings clean, adjust brakes for no-drag.

Happy Trails... Eric

Court Rye
2 years ago

Awesome information on conversion Eric! Thanks for sharing this. I checked out your website on LED's and found it interesting. Looks like you're pretty skilled with electronics and hardware :)

greg znamenacek
1 year ago

Where might I find use parts for ebike LX thank greg

Court Rye
1 year ago

I've visited a couple of shops that have units in the back and they might be willing to sell you parts or the entire bike for a good price. One such shop is The Electric Bike Shop in Sacramento, California and the other is Myron's Extreme Machines in Fullerton, California. No guarantees on either, they may or may not still have them but I have seen this unit in both shops over the past several years. Also, you could ask around in the EBR Community Forums here under For Sale or Q&A and ask for Ann M. who used to own a shop in Austin, Texas. She might know :)

GB
9 months ago

You can also get parts from: electricwheelsofflorida on eBay. They have OEM parts for the e-bike. Good Luck!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Ann M.
2 hours ago

@Derek S-H, as you have noted, there's a perfect bike for everyone! Glad you found the BESV PS1. :)

@KidWok, thanks for your balanced review of the GoCycle G3; please keep us updated as you spend more time & miles on this ebike.

zap016VOLTAGE
18 hours ago

EMP - Ebike Market Place

While I have no issues with my Mariner's battery:), although lowering bike's tyres inflation pressure zaps the battery quickly so the Mariner could use a 52V battery in IMHO;), nonetheless I've explored replacement battery optionso_O. My hope was find a company, located here in the USA, that not just sold high capacity - i.e.: 20ah - Silverfish style batteries, but could repair existing batteries as well. Some time ago, I contacted Luna Cycles inquiring about this. Their reply was that they had no plans to offer them:(. Recently I came across EMP, ebike market place, online. EMP not only can replace old battery packs, they sell a 48V 16ah Silver fish style ebike battery as well:). At some point, I may reach out to them about either upgrading my battery or purchasing a new one. Stay Tuned!:D

Cnugget
23 hours ago

PS @flbum I would love to see some photo updates of the bell and new bits of the new Mariners out of curiosity of course. Please post.. Yay! :D

Looking forward to the new Tesla 21070 batteries coming out... I am sure that will change ebike batteries soon enough. :)

skypup
23 hours ago

What I like about the Rad Power Bikes selection is they are affordable, good selection to pick from, excellent customer service for only being a Seattle based company, and you have the 1 year warranty. I don't think I would have dipped my toe in the ebike pond without Rad Power Bikes as an option. I was able to get 2 Radrovers the same price or cheaper than one ebike with similar features from other manufactures. Volt 750 bikes come close; but, Rad had some extra flexibility I liked better (after market battery upgrade, more bottle bosses, larger hand grips, 60 tpi tires, heavy duty controller, color options). Sondors was first on my list;but, no dealer network, less than half the power of Rad ebikes, and 30 day warranty make me drop them off the list real quick.

I agree. The price point helped finalize the order for me. I never would have bought one for 3 grand.

PedegoElectricBikes
1 day ago

Pedego’s growing family of fat-tire electric bikes are brash and bold as ever — with a size for almost everyone

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif., March 22, 2017 — The original Pedego® Trail Tracker fat-tire trail bikes roared into the electric bike world two years ago bringing extra excitement to electric cycling. Pedego Electric Bikes today announced two new smaller-sized models of the Pedego Trail Tracker that will make bike riding on terrain as wild as sand, gravel or snow an exciting excursion for the whole family.

Available at Pedego stores and select electric bike dealers worldwide, the smaller Trail Trackers are specially sized and designed for smaller riders. These smaller 20” and 24” bikes round out the Trail Tracker line, which includes the original 26” Trail Tracker, a powerful bike that takes riders through all kinds of terrain for extra-exciting fun.

The Trail Tracker family is now available in three sizes to fit every member of the family:

· The 20” Trail Tracker — Designed for riders who are 4’11” to 5’3”. This bantam-sized Trail Tracker empowers smaller riders to zoom up and down the trail on exciting bike trips. Yet, the smallest of the Trail Tracker family is designed with safety in mind. It boasts a 36-volt, 11.6 amp-hour battery and is governed to a top speed of 12MPH — plenty of power to add thrills and fun while gentle enough for a less-experienced cyclist to manage. The bike’s throttle-only system allows riders to maintain manual control over their speeds. Available in striking matte black with neon orange rims, this rugged bike appeals to anyone seeking adventure.

· The 24” Trail Tracker — Designed for riders who are 5’4” to 5’9”. This feisty Trail Tracker is a little larger than the 20” Trail Tracker yet is designed to be more accessible than the larger 26” model. This size boasts the same advanced features as the larger bike, including a Pedal Assist LCD featuring Pedego’s exclusive PedalSense Technology™ — six levels of power that make automatic control of the bike more responsive than ever. The bike also has a throttle for easy manual control. Governed to a top speed of 20 MPH, the 36-volt, 11.6 amp-hour battery is a great fit for teens or smaller adults, providing plenty of power to keep up with bigger bikes while zooming up and down trails. Available in superhero-style matte black with matte black or shiny blue rims, this model is eye candy to all thrill seekers.

· The Original 26” Trail Tracker IV — Designed for riders over 5’5”. This sporty fat-tire bike is designed for riders over 5’5” tall who want to glide over sand, gravel or snow. This bike boasts 500 watts of acceleration and hill-climbing strength fueled by an integrated, down-tube 48-volt, 14 amp-hour lithium ion battery. Complete with LCD display and USB charging port, the Trail Tracker includes Pedego’s exclusive PedalSense Technology with six levels that make digital control of the bike more responsive than ever. The twist-and-go throttle adds instant speed for maximum command, and top-of-the-line SRAM disc brakes provide reliable stopping power. The bike’s enhanced frame geometry offers sporty handling and a relaxed, forward-riding position while leading the pack. Available in matte black with a choice of black, blue, red or green rims for extreme path appeal.

Riders will love the power and fun of these more-accessible Trail Tracker family additions. These high-quality electric bikes allow energetic riders to hop on and pedal away for exciting exploration and exercise, enabling smaller riders to zoom along with their taller friends and family members. Now couples and families can thrill to great journeys of discovery that will bring them closer. As cycling parents say, Families that tour together, endure together.

“Pedego is one of the only companies to offer smaller bikes. We aim to delight all our customers — of every size,” said Don DiCostanzo, CEO and co-founder, Pedego Electric Bikes. “The new low-set Pedego Trail Trackers are opening up the bike trails to more riders as everyone can ride along and make it a real family adventure.”

Pedego Electric Bikes also offers 10 “pedal or not” electric bike models, including cruisers, commuters, mountain bikes and specialty bikes including the Latch folding electric bike and Stretch cargo bike.

About Pedego
Pedego® Electric Bikes is the Number 1 electric bike brand in the United States, according to Navigant Research. Pedego manufactures 10 high-quality, innovative models, including cruisers, tandems, commuters, fat-tire bikes, mountain bikes, cargo bikes and a convenient electric folding bike. Sold at more than 90 Pedego-branded stores and hundreds of independent electric bike dealers worldwide, Pedego’s stylish “pedal or not” electric bikes boast powerful, whisper-quiet motors that let riders sail up hills and breeze through headwinds with a smile. Available in hundreds of color combinations, Pedego electric bikes deliver a green alternative for transportation, exercise and recreation — transforming lives with fun and delight. Founded in 2008, Orange County, Calif.-based Pedego inspires riders to say, “Hello, Fun!”

PR CONTACTS:
Teri Sawyer, T&Co.
714-801-1687
TeriSawyer@me.com

Sandra Eckardt, T&Co.
949-400-2258
Sandra@EckardtStrategies.com

mrgold35
1 day ago

What I like about the Rad Power Bikes selection is they are affordable, good selection to pick from, excellent customer service for only being a Seattle based company, and you have the 1 year warranty. I don't think I would have dipped my toe in the ebike pond without Rad Power Bikes as an option. I was able to get 2 Radrovers the same price or cheaper than one ebike with similar features from other manufactures. Volt 750 bikes come close; but, Rad had some extra flexibility I liked better (after market battery upgrade, more bottle bosses, larger hand grips, 60 tpi tires, heavy duty controller, color options). Sondors was first on my list;but, no dealer network, less than half the power of Rad ebikes, and 30 day warranty make me drop them off the list real quick.

mrgold35
1 day ago

Hey Vincent. thanks for the tip about riding paths in Flagstaff. We usually stop for a gas or hotel in Flagstaff and love hitting Diablo Burger downtown or Fractured Prune Doughnuts at the Aspen Place at the Sawmill.

I'm not planning to hit the parks until the 2nd week in May. My kid runs college track and their Mountain West Conf Championships are in Logan, Utah. It worked out pretty good to be in Utah at the same time as the Bike Expo in Salt Lake City at the end of the week after the track meet. I was planning to take a detour either up there or back home to hit 1 or 2 of parks if I can (Arches & Canyonlands). I will need to dig a little deeper and find out if some or all parks are even bike friendly (let alone ebike friendly). Having to share to the main roads with distracted tourist in cars, SUVs, and huge travel trailers doesn't feel that safe to me on our usual 10-15 mph ebike cruising speed.. I rather be on a separate dirt or paved trail parallel to the roadway if possible. I had to share the road a little bit at the Grand Canyon and you are either holding up traffic or having very close calls with almost every vehicle pass (no paved or dirt shoulder lanes with park roads).

I have another trip planned to Las Vegas in September (wife is a Bruno Mars fan). Thinking about making another detour to check out the other parks closer to that area. Thinking about spending a 4-5 days at the north rim of Grand Canyon, Bryce Canyon, and Zion National park before heading to Las Vegas for the weekend.

Chris Nolte
1 day ago

We’re excited to have Heiko Müller, the co-founder of Riese & Müller in Brooklyn to help introduce his brand to the US. Heiko will give a talk about the history of the brand and the future of e-mobility. We’ll have German beer and eats, along with music and some really awesome bikes!

Court will also be at the party which is really awesome too! Come celebrate with us.

Special guests include:
Heiko Müller | Co-Founder of Riese & Müller
Dr. Sandra Wolf | Brand Specialist & Managing Director of Riese & Müller
Court Rye | Founder of Electric Bike Review

April 8th 6-9pm @ Propel 134 Flushing Ave, Brooklyn, NY, 11205

Feel free to reach out for more info.

1/1
ofthenorthvt
2 days ago

I live in northern Vermont where we have limited access to full-fledge ebike dealers. I have learned a great deal watching a great many of Court's reviews and reading the discussions. It has been invaluable. Based my local terrain and the solid Bosch reputation, I became convinced that a Bosch ebike made the most sense to me. I scoured the excellent web sites of the New Wheel and Propel Bikes and have had excellent phone advice from Karen at the New Wheel and Chris and Kyle at Propel. Chris has also been very responsive to email correspondence.

I ended up purchasing an Electra townie Go from our local Trek dealer. This allows me to get into ebiking with a Bosch drive, internal gear hub, rack, fenders, lights, and local support. Our locals are quickly coming up to speed on the Bosch-based bikes. Although our coastal friends didn't make a sale (this time), I want to thank them for the tremendous ambassadorship for ebikes they are providing. They provided a foundation of information along with EBR that allowed me to really understand the state of the art and to get into the market where I otherwise would have stayed on the sidelines. I hope that someday my budget will allow me to get back in touch with these guys to special order an awesome Riese & Muller bike (maybe a Nevo Nuvinci high speed) as a future step along my ebike pathway.

Many thanks,

Dennis from Vermont

obee
2 days ago

@bob armani, search within your state's transportation code, that's where you will find the legal definition and rules governing electric bikes. J.R.'s right- although the federal law should supersede any state code, there are provisions that allow local entities like cities and park departments to have their own variations of the laws.

http://www.evelo.com/ohio-state-electric-bike-laws/ <<< the state of ohio does not legally define ebikes. Therefore an ebike is a bicycle that can go anywhere bikes go? How would one challenge an Ohio sub-park rule prohibiting any electric assisted bicycle? Get a ticket for the violation, take it to municipal, common pleas or administrative court? ....and hope to get a final answer at the appellate or supreme court?

mrgold35
2 days ago

If you want to take a chance. I think the overseas websites have the silverfish batteries in 15ah and 20ah sizes. I just don't know if they will fit in the same space on the Mini?

48v/15ah, $358: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Silver-fish-ebike-battery-with-top-discharge-Samsung-cell-48v-15Ah-electric-bike-lithium-ion-battery/32761656083.html?spm=2114.40010208.4.16.bY5die

48v/20ah, $668: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Shuangye-48V20AH-electric-bike-Lipolymer-silver-fish-pack-battery-with-charger-and-BMS/1423778171.html?spm=2114.40010208.4.26.EaFG6O

Rough battery math:
48v X 11.6ah = 556.8 watt hr / 25 watts per mile = 22.2 miles
48v X 15ah = 720 watt hr / 25 watts per mile = 28.8 miles
48v X 20ah = 960 watt hr / 25 watts per mile = 38.4 miles

52v X 14ah = 728 watt hr / 25 watt per mile = 29.12 miles (I think you can only use a 52v charger for this battery)

PSBenoit
2 days ago

Hei there ebike fans.
Now that I belong to the ebike community, I thought I would give it a spin.
Am leaving in probably what it is the least bike friendly city in the US, where you are more a target on your bike than anything else, ...still, after seeing that 2016 bike review here and the online catalog, I could not resist any longer...had to get one of those full fat six....
...and I do not think I had that much fun in my entire cyclist life. It is super heavy (over 50lbs), quite a bit of rolling resistance, but with the top 2 levels of assistance I am at 20mph without breaking a sweat on the road.
Fun on the road, ...an absolute blast off road. Managed to find a few places last week end to put dirt on it. Exhilarating is not exaggerating.
Quick word on the Yamaha motor: I realized I was never spinning over 70rpm, so the motor configuration is more than OK with me. Super quiet and really gives quite a boost, but in a way that really feels natural (or otherwise said which really makes you think you are back in your 20s).
I just wish I had some more battery life (that rolling resistance, ...in the top 2 assistant modes running dry after about 40miles), and I wish Yamaha could develop a similar module to the Bosch Nyon controller with their advanced GPS.
Anyone interested in cool week end rides in the Houston South West area (Sugar Land), let me know.
Happy ride.

1/1
EriderM
3 days ago

http://www.ncleg.net/Sessions/2015/Bills/House/PDF/H959v6.pdf

This is the link to some changes that Went into effect 1 Oct 2016. It clearly defines ebike vs moped vs motor driven cycle. I interpret it to mean that my Spedelec is classified as a bicycle.

Steve Barsby
3 days ago

I am having trouble finding out anything about ebikes in NC. Does anyone know what the rules are in NC in regards to ebikes.

I live in Raleigh,NC and have never even seen an ebike here. The only ebikes I am aware of are the advertisements for ebike tours downtown.

I live in a neighborhood on the Neuse River Greenway. The rules say no motorized vehicles, but not sure if this applies to ebikes, because one of the ebike tour groups does a greenway tour (however no idea if they have special permission).

Anyone from the area that could shed some light? Rules? Perception? Haters? LOL

Thanks!

William

I just check NC law, William. The speed limit applies to speed without input from the cyclist. And it's 20mph unassisted on a level road. So what the law is saying, if one uses a throttle-controlled bike, 20 is the maximum it can drive the rider. On the other hand, there's no limit on the speed of a bike with PAS other than the road's speed limit.

There must be other reasons for so few e-bikes in NC.

I've just converted my road bike with a kit. I have gearing that will permit me to bike 40mph as long as I'm working along with the motor. And it's NEVER a good idea to ride on a sidewalk, regardless of the bike.

Mark Peralta
3 days ago

No, and that would be a deal breaker for me if I was in the market for a commuter. The new Specialized Vado will have suspension.
Dumbar, For the same price of the super commuter,
https://www.trekbikes.com/us/en_US/bikes/city-bikes/electric-city-bikes/super-commuter/super-commuter-8s/p/1367000-2017/
you can get this full suspension ebike (STARCKBIKE Asphalt Ebike) with the same other features.
https://www.motostrano.com/MOUSTACHE-Starkbike-Asphalt-Ebike-p/mstarka.htm
This is another worthy alternative with front suspension.
https://www.motostrano.com/BULLS-Six50-E2-Street-Ebike-p/bulls-620e2.htm

Al P
3 days ago

Raleigh and iZip electrics are subsidiaries of Currie, one of the major players in the ebike market. They are probably just changing their web marketing presence. I can vouch for Currie's customer support. Last year, the motor on my wife's iZip E3 Vibe+ went dead after only about 200 miles. I called their support line and the guys couldn't have been more helpful. My dealer is over 100 miles away, so they contacted a local bike shop that used to sell standard Raleigh bikes and he agreed to do the warranty repair. A week later we had the bike back with a new motor and display. It's been good ever since. I thought I might give them a plug for the way they handled the situation.

raymann112
3 days ago

Rob - with all the options I want and shipping it'll be just under 2 grand.

Mark - like I said, I don't have an ebike now and I'm in the market now so I'm not going to wait.

J.R.
3 days ago

Hi
I'm 4 days into E-bike ownership!!
More than 1 person suggests that the battery be removed while transporting a bike.
Why?
Thanks in anticipation of what is likely to be overwhelmingly obvious answer.
I would also add that it's the one item an owner could save from a mishap, with 2 seconds of effort. Since the battery is about 25 to 50% of the value of an ebike, that's a big savings.

MarkP
3 days ago

@raymann112 - I am going to purchase one. I am not concerned about losing any money. I believe Juiced Bikes is first rate. Tora Harris seems have his soul in these bikes. What he is doing is pushing the other ebike companies to improve performance and value. I admire someone with the backbine to do so.

The only thing I must decide is do I want one from the first batch or wait until a later runs so any early production problems (if there are any-there might not be) are discovered and worked out for later runs.

But like I said if Juiced Bikes is willing to take the chance that people will want this bike, I am willing to take the chance on a first batch build.

I am assuming the controller software can be upgraded as new versions are developed/improved.

Nicolas
3 days ago

Specs are meaning less without sufficient engineering. This looks like a kit project where they are attempting to marry a standard road bike with a large motor. This is a recipe for disaster. I'd stay as far away from this as possible and pay the monies for a ground up engineered eBike. Plus, eBikes require factory support for warranty issues and most startups are woefully short on post sale support.

That's also a good point. I think in this case, he's appealing to budget-oriented folks. There is no mention of warranty.

Rob02150
3 days ago

Chatted online with a juiced rep yesterday, I'm seriously considering the 1000 with the 17th battery. I just really don't want to lose $2000. :)

But this would be my first ebike, im 260lbs, and I live in a very hilly area so I want a quality one

Why would you lose $2,000?

raymann112
3 days ago

Chatted online with a juiced rep yesterday, I'm seriously considering the 1000 with the 17th battery. I just really don't want to lose $2000. :)

But this would be my first ebike, im 260lbs, and I live in a very hilly area so I want a quality one

86 and still kicking
3 days ago

Specs are meaning less without sufficient engineering. This looks like a kit project where they are attempting to marry a standard road bike with a large motor. This is a recipe for disaster. I'd stay as far away from this as possible and pay the monies for a ground up engineered eBike. Plus, eBikes require factory support for warranty issues and most startups are woefully short on post sale support.

mrgold35
3 days ago

What type of bike does he have, how many miles per week, average mph, and is it mostly paved road, hard packed trail, single track, or down hill?

I commute to work and trail ride with my 4" fat tire ebike about 45-75 miles per week. So far, every mis-hap on the trail was usually 100% my fault. My worst spill so far was when I flipped over the bike on a muddy turn, ended up snapping 2 of the bolts and bending a 3rd that secure the handle bars, landed on my left shoulder blade, and my head bounced of the dirt. I know the helmet saved me from a concussion and my Osprey backpacked acted like an airbag to cushion my fall.

I haven't had any spills work commuting; but, I've had a few close calls. Every single time it was from a distracted driver zoning out, they were on the phone, or the driver was assuming they had the right away because they had the bigger vehicle (rolling stop signs or traffic circle stuff). Adding in road and trail accident together mouth/teeth injuries are extremely low % compared to head, limbs, and torso.

I would lean toward making sure he is visible 1st and protected 2nd if the worst happens.
- good LED headlight that can be seen day/night in any mode. Distracted drivers will see a blinking LED light better than a solid light in the day (I use Niterider Pro 3600). The good thing about this light is it cast a extremely bright wide and long beam down the road. The light is bright enough at night to be seen from the rear and my bike silhouette is clearly outlined for added safety. I just need low for commuting and use med or hi for night trail riding.
- blinking rear tail light that can be clearly seen during the brightest daylight. I use Light and Motion Vis 180 and it has an added feature of a yellow follow light you can switch to if he likes to ride in a pack (so he doesn't night blind the bikes in the rear).
- helmet light (Niterider Pro 2200), nice to have a back-up if primary fails. I also use my helmet light when street riding to see around corners, highlight/avoid road debris/potholes, and to shine oncoming cars to get their attention at intersections if they might do a rolling stop.
- helmet rear light, I use the same Vis 180 tail light and mount it to my Fox helmet.
- bright neon colored riding gear with reflective areas (neon for day, reflective for night). Helps with the side view since most bike are very hard to see from that angle at night.
- he might want to add reflective tape to help with the side view if it doesn't take away from the bike's aesthetics.

If he is a road bike person that travels +20 mph on average. I would think about padded leg and arm protection to help with spills that might result in road rash. The protection will also help limit sunburns and UV exposure if he sweats off the sunblock.

Highway Star
1 year ago

Also I restored the original battery by running a razor along the top edge of the plastic lid then popping it off exposing the battery fill cells that have rubber caps that pop off with a screwdriver then filled with battery acid from the local auto parts and it works great again after 12 years of sitting. Plenty of videos on restoring sealed battery's on youtube.

Highway Star
1 year ago

got me a new 36V BATTERY from Jerry and it fits perfectly into the case, but it does not have screw in terminals only lead tabs. So I didn't want to cut the original wires so I made 2-2 inch jumpers and soldered them to the eye leads then plugged them to the battery works great with no chopping....

Highway Star
1 year ago

got me a new 36V BATTERY from Jerry and it fits perfectly into the case, but it does not have screw in terminals only lead tabs. So I didn't want to cut the original wires so I made 2-2 inch jumpers and soldered them to the eye leads then plugged them to the battery works great with no chopping....

Cyclo TeChTwIsTeR
1 year ago

This is the man that has all the parts you will need and yes a battery to fit inside as it should.
http://www.ebay.com/usr/electricwheelsofflorida?_trksid=p2047675.l2559

He also has the bikes For sell
Jerry
Call 305 687 8484 for Free Tech SupportWe have the largest inventory of original parts for the EVG EBikes.

David Clein
2 years ago

The controller is not in the battery case. it is housed in the body. Lead acid is available (36v 9Ah) to rebuild the original battery pack. putting the primary battery pack on the rear rack is stupid.

David Clein
2 years ago

+ElectricBikeReview.com Six 6 volt / 9 AH (5.95" x 1.34" x 3.70") SLA batteries with F2 terminals wired in series fit into the battery box. With a little crimping and soldering these are the closest thing to a drop in replacement for the original discontinued 36V "Long" battery. With this set-up expect range of 8 miles in full power mode with little to no pedaling and 15 miles in low power mode.

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+David Clein Great feedback David, thanks for chiming in! I was doing my best to piece together the facts about this bike but was doing it with limited input. You're welcome to share your expertise here anytime :)

wolfman9999999
2 years ago

I have the 24 volt version, and I'm trying to figure out what some of the switches do on the left side of the handlebar.  Battery pack can be refurbished with UPS batteries.  I did it to mine

Adam Feathers
2 years ago

I bought 2 eBikes in 1999 at a Oldsmobile Dealer in central Pa. and put them away in 2001 after one fell down and broke the key switch . They both look like brand new but I'm not sure what to do with them since I don't know if they're is any place to get parts or the repairs done (in Pa.). When I put them away I replaced both batteries (probably shot now). It would be a shame to just junk them . I would like to get them repaired this spring and use them again, they were great and a lot of fun to ride !

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

+Adam Feathers Hi Adam! Sounds like a fun project. I'm sure there are people who will collect these someday, even a few who want parts or originals right now. You could just keep them stored and eventually sell them on eBay or the forums: http://electricbikereview.com/community/forums/for-sale/

Ron Warrick
2 years ago

I bought a 24v about ten years ago for $650 and it is still going, but I really need to upgrade to make it faster and also get away from SLA's.  Any ideas appreciated. 

ElectricBikeReview.com
2 years ago

Hi Ron! So glad to hear the eBike worked well for you. As for your next bike, I guess it depends on what your cycling needs are. I've created a full list of some of my favorite bikes in each category including one value and one performance here: http://electricbikereview.com/top-10-electric-bikes/ check it out, each review has a video and all the specs, chime in if you have any comments, there's also a forum to discuss with other riders and owners: http://electricbikereview.com/community/

HostileHST
3 years ago

On the throttle, almost any 5k ohm potentiometer controlller will work on these ebikes.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Thanks for the great tips +HostileHST 

HostileHST
3 years ago

I had the 24 volt version that would only go 12 mph under power, but it sure did help going up hills. The 36 volt version I believe would go around 18 mph and if you pushed into the 48 volt range (controller needs replaced or modified), you could see about 23 mph. 36 volt packs can easily be made with some soldering abilities. The batteries to do this are still being made.

Kit Babcock
2 years ago

Ron....the 24v heinzmann rear hub can be over volted to 50v, though using a stock EVG ebike 36v controller starts to get hot and "beeps". Shutting off the power and back on again resets it, but I'm running 46.2v's and it's fine.

DON'T over volt the stock EVG ebike 24v controller, as it has a max voltage around 29v before it blows the 26v range capacitors! If done, the lights will still work, but you get NO throttle response!. This was a common error when a 36v SLA battery box was put in a 24v ebike. I'm using the 24v/400watt rear hub on a 36v setup bike. Because of spun one-way stock bearings in the 36v hubs. Or I'm swapping in 36v motors into the 24v hubs that don't have spun bearings.

The 400watt hubs are setup for speed and not torque like the 36v 500watts hubs.

Though understand that there is a design flaw in the hubs as they use a pressed on one-way bearing. BIG guys riding these bikes and giving them full throttle can spin them! The motors works, but your now stuck in "mud" and slipping.  :-)

Here is an article on ES for the spun bearing:

http://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4190&start=25

I'm looking into using a laser welder to fix this problem. You want low heat as the sealed bearing has a plastic cap to hold in the grease. Your welding the bearing to the axle.

Made sense?

Ron Warrick
2 years ago

+Kit Babcock   Good stuff.  Can you clarify whether you are talking about converting a 24 v, or a 36v?  It sounds like you are shooting for 40 volts or so here.  Mine is 24v, so I don't want to burn it out.  Thanks.

HostileHST
3 years ago

Oops, didn't see that was for Kit, but it's all good info he shares and I would have gone that way, but had to sell mine so we had money to move a little over a year ago. Wish I could get another one, but haven't seen one for sale recently.

HostileHST
3 years ago

NP at all, always trying to help when I can. Glad you put it on the forum.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

+Kit Babcock Kit, this is awesome! Thanks for the tips. If you don't mind, I also shared your words on the forum where another individual was trying to figure out how to replace his 24v battery for an EV Global Mini http://electricbikereview.com/community/threads/ev-global-mini-ebike-battery-replacement.262/ feel free to amend or add your voice there as well. I referenced your comment and linked here so he might reply as well.

SuperPapadzul
3 years ago

It reminds me of a Velosolex, but cooler because it is electric.

BiknutProductions
3 years ago

Sort of resembles an early caveman version of an Opti Bike. Obviously ahead of it's time.

Aaron Martin
3 years ago

Ya in 2002 i did not know that there was a e-bike for sale.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

I agree Aaron, this thing was full of neat features and way ahead of its time. With a lighter weight battery it could be on-par or even at the leading edge of more modern bikes.

Aaron Martin
3 years ago

That is a cool bike.

ElectricBikeReview.com
3 years ago

Yep, it's one of the first ebikes ever in the US and... you are the first to comment ;)

Vũ Nguyễn
3 years ago

First